View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Yellowfin
22-07-2004, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
no leh, seems like they do not show as it was not stated.
Since you are a Man U fan, let me show you where. :D
http://cabletv.starhub.com/eng/highlight/0,1766,160216,00.html
http://cabletv.starhub.com/eng/highlight/0,1766,159274,00.html
chyehock
22-07-2004, 02:58 PM
Thank you very mcuh.
Originally posted by Yellowfin
Since you are a Man U fan, let me show you where. :D
http://cabletv.starhub.com/eng/highlight/0,1766,159274,00.html
http://tinyurl.com/5ovem
http://tinyurl.com/5vzjn
http://tinyurl.com/59mee
http://tinyurl.com/4oely
training session (http://tinyurl.com/6mr9x)
guoquanyap
22-07-2004, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
no leh, seems like they do not show as it was not stated.
jus plain lazy....:rolleyes:
Ronaldo7
22-07-2004, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
They are both going, your source was wrong. :mad:
i got the link from red cafe forum . knn , now then i realise that one is for the under 23 team , and heinze is one of 3 over age players to go . :(
guoquanyap
23-07-2004, 12:03 AM
will heniz and ronaldo be injured b4 the 12aug?? :cool:
guoquanyap
23-07-2004, 12:56 AM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305416&cc=5739
time to open the cheaque bk.....:cool:
Originally posted by guoquanyap
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305416&cc=5739
time to open the cheaque bk.....:cool:
Either Eagles or Smith deployed on the right, but we could do buying another winger, poor Ole is getting injury-prone. :(
RuMmYtUb
23-07-2004, 02:28 AM
Seems like no more player coming in liao :(
Sir Alex Ferguson has admitted he may be tempted to try and draft in another left back as Gabriel Heinze has been called up by Argentina for the Olympics.
It means the £6.9million recruit's debut will be delayed until September - at least.
Ferguson is livid that both Heinze and Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo are heading for Athens.
And the consequences for the Argentinian could be serious.
"The one thing very apparent in this situation is that here's a lad who may be denied an opportunity to get a career at Manchester United, " said Ferguson.
"When I start the season I may have another left back because of this and he may never get a game. He may find it difficult to get in the team.
"At least Ronaldo has proved himself as a Manchester United player so we know where we stand with him.
"For Heinze the opportunity to start his career with us has now been taken away from him."
Ferguson is contemplating giving Ronaldo two months' rest after the Olympics as he also played in Euro 2004.
"We might not use him until November, which is absolutely ridiculous," said the United boss.
"It is a natural thing to want to play for your country but I don't think the two players' careers are being considered here."
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/07/22/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Olympics.html&TEAMHD=soccer
why does Ronaldo need 2 months off after he comes back. One is plenty, sound like Fergie is really pissed off with all this olympic calls. :frus:
Ronaldo7
23-07-2004, 08:44 AM
another left back ? Silvestre , Oshea & Fortune can play there also mah :rolleyes: NO point getting another left back just because Heinze won't be playing for the first few matches .
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
Seems like no more player coming in liao :(
We need to get another winger, we are short of cover there. :mad:
orca_sea
23-07-2004, 12:15 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We need to get another winger, we are short of cover there. :mad:
Veri true.. :(
samwise
23-07-2004, 12:45 PM
imagine if giggs got injured in the US tour, and ronaldo is away in olympics.
then... that's it lah...:eek:
guoquanyap
23-07-2004, 01:42 PM
so far already spent
saha 12.8million pound
smith 7million
heniz 7million
miller free
total 26.8million....that already alot...the board will still allow fergie to spend meh...seriously doubt so...somemore there is no departure...nobody want to buy butt and forlan....:alien:
uRiZEn
23-07-2004, 03:12 PM
Well chance for Christopher Eagles.Heard so much abt him.
Or maybe Djordjic can stake his claim that he's worthy to stay on at OT.
Come on blood the youngsters
Diego Forlan has revealed his agent is aiming to engineer a move to La Liga side Atletico Madrid.
The Uruguayan striker, who is in Peru preparing for the third place play-off of the Copa America, has slipped further down the Old Trafford pecking order following the signing of Alan Smith.
Forlan said: "Of course I would like to play for Atletico Madrid. I know that they have faithful fans. I have spoken to fellow countrymen who have played for Atletico and they say once you have played there, you never want to leave.
"It is a proud moment for a player when a team is interested in you. Atletico are one of the biggest teams in the world and my agent is negotiating a transfer there."
"We could not reach an agreement (with Atletico) when I was with Independiente and then Manchester United came in with an offer."
Diego Forlan was speaking to Marca.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=83954&itype=466&icategoryid=120
jacqles
23-07-2004, 06:04 PM
Bojan Djordjic is godly as an AMC in CM :laugh:
Sir Alex Ferguson's squad is down to the bare bones ahead of United's USA Tour opener against Bundesliga giants Bayern Munich on Sunday.
Euro 2004, the Copa America, injuries and suspensions have enforced the absence of the vast majority of Fergie's first-team squad, ensuring that youth looks set to be given its chance on the big stage.
Sir Alex has already hinted at starts for Phil Bardsley and Jonathon Spector, while the likes of Paul McShane and Chris Eagles may also see substantial action during the tour.
Bojan Djordic and Luke Chadwick both find themselves in the squad after loan seasons at Red Star Belgrade and Burnley respectively, and will be pushing to show what they have learned in their time away from Manchester.
Alan Smith looks assured of making his debut upfront for the Reds, as he is only one of three recognised forwards in the squad - Ryan Giggs and David Bellion are the others.
Sunday's clash will be United's first meeting with Bayern under the helmsmanship of their new boss Felix Magath, who faced United in last season's Champions League as Stuttgart boss.
The Bundesliga giants have injury worries of their own as they prepare for the tour, as rising star Sebastian Schweinsteiger and striker Claudio Pizzaro recover from a knee injury and a fractured skull respectively.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=84226&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Spock
23-07-2004, 09:06 PM
Originally posted by jacqles
Bojan Djordjic is godly as an AMC in CM :laugh:
ya he is good, he's a serb hehehe
Ronaldo7
23-07-2004, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Diego Forlan has revealed his agent is aiming to engineer a move to La Liga side Atletico Madrid.
The Uruguayan striker, who is in Peru preparing for the third place play-off of the Copa America, has slipped further down the Old Trafford pecking order following the signing of Alan Smith.
Forlan said: "Of course I would like to play for Atletico Madrid. I know that they have faithful fans. I have spoken to fellow countrymen who have played for Atletico and they say once you have played there, you never want to leave.
"It is a proud moment for a player when a team is interested in you. Atletico are one of the biggest teams in the world and my agent is negotiating a transfer there."
"We could not reach an agreement (with Atletico) when I was with Independiente and then Manchester United came in with an offer."
Diego Forlan was speaking to Marca.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=83954&itype=466&icategoryid=120
bye diego :( hope you can be a success for them
guoquanyap
24-07-2004, 12:13 AM
maybe we can do a swap? swap w torres? :D
Ronaldo7
24-07-2004, 12:16 AM
think we have to add at least 20m :laugh:
guoquanyap
24-07-2004, 12:19 AM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
think we have to add at least 20m :laugh:
he didnt really impress during the euro2004...value surely will drop abit lah....15-20 ard there lor...
ericsoon72
24-07-2004, 12:41 AM
bye diego :( hope you can be a success for them
:laugh: :angel:
RuMmYtUb
24-07-2004, 03:13 AM
maybe we can do a swap? swap w torres? :D
gd deal :D
More USA Training pics (http://tinyurl.com/4zbyu)
http://tinyurl.com/5telr
:laugh:
guoquanyap
24-07-2004, 08:07 AM
wonder wat jersery number smith get....
Totti76
24-07-2004, 09:51 AM
We may not see Heinze in action...if what SAF stick to his word "Play for ur country & u'll never play for Utd" :(
Sometimes I dun like SAF ways of treating players..too stubborn
Its all me and no u...kind of attitude
:(
Ch3tah_39
24-07-2004, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by ericsoon72
:laugh: :angel:
very funny mehz..
Ronaldo7
24-07-2004, 11:09 AM
Ronaldo in Olympics pledge
Cristiano Ronaldo has said he wants to play for Portugal at August's Olympics despite Manchester United fighting to hold onto him for the season start.
On Thursday United boss Sir Alex Ferguson hit out at Olympic bosses, saying Ronaldo should not have to represent his country.
But Ronaldo said: "Being in the Olympics is a unique opportunity in anyone's career.
"I am very pleased to represent Portugal and I intend to play."
Despite his stance - which will see him miss crucial Champions League and Premiership games - Ronaldo defended Ferguson's stance.
He said: "He is defending his interests and it is natural he wants me to play for Manchester United but I want to play in the Olympic Games."
Ferguson's outburst, though, was heavily criticised by Fifa.
A spokesman for the association told the Sun newspaper: "The Olympics hasn't suddenly been announced, it's been on the calendar for years.
"It's not something new. Managers like Ferguson know this. They also know foreign players often go away on long trips to play for their country."
Ronaldo7
24-07-2004, 11:19 AM
http://www.nicoli.ch/ale/manu3.jpg
GK Home change kit ?
Totti76
24-07-2004, 11:38 AM
http://www.nicoli.ch/ale/manu3.jpg
our new away kit for next season ? :rolleyes:
u sure?? thot there is no change in away?
look nice plain n simple i think i will get this one:D
Ronaldo7
24-07-2004, 12:43 PM
hmm according to kitbag , it's actually the GK home change kit :)
Totti76
24-07-2004, 12:47 PM
ohh GK...but still looks great
mai tu liao...:D
trax06
24-07-2004, 01:15 PM
i think it will be nicer if the word vodafone isnt there...but leave the logo there.
someone do a PS job...
£30m, **** off, overpriced liao. :rolleyes:
Boy wonder to stay at Goodison unless United make £30m offer
By Alan Nixon
24 July 2004
Everton will retain Wayne Rooney's services next season rather than sell him to Manchester United unless the Old Trafford club can come up with a hefty fee.
The Rooney crisis is coming to a head - but one of the most unlikely options is becoming a possibility as the Everton board do their sums. It is now making economic sense to the club's chairman Bill Kenwright, backed by manager David Moyes, to reject any offer less than their latest figure of £30m-plus.
Selling for the £20m or less which United plan to bid would not pay enough of their debts, and make relegation - and the loss of at least £20m in Premiership pay-outs - a possibility.
Kenwright would be vulnerable to a boardroom coup if he were to sell out cheaply, but he now realises he will not get the £50m he talked about during Euro 2004. Weeks have gone by since then, and the only offer on the horizon is set to come from United as Chelsea, Real Madrid and Internazionale hold back.
Old Trafford insiders say a £20m offer is imminent, but as the only apparent bidders they will not go up much beyond £25m - and that will not be enough to convince Everton to part with their prize asset.
"We are looking for an answer from Wayne and his advisers to see if he wants to stay," Moyes said. "We hope to get that shortly. There are reasons why there has been no answer, but we are working on it."
Everton are making a £5m move for PSV Eindhoven's Dutch midfielder Mark van Bommel. However, the question remains as to whether they can afford him. Everton have no extra overdraft facility and only have the potential sale of Tobias Linderoth to FC Copenhagen on the cards. He would fetch just £1m. Everton will offer Thomas Gravesen a new deal to stay. The Danish Euro 2004 player has served notice to leave next summer when his contract runs out.
Everton completed the signing of midfielder Tim Cahill from Millwall for a fee believed to be £2m. The 24-year-old signed a four-year deal. Fulham completed the signing of Everton's Canadian international striker Tomasz Radzinski for an undisclosed fee.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/everton/story.jsp?story=544091
GARY and Phil Neville have become Reds for life after landing new five-year deals with Manchester United.
The brothers flew to Chicago today to join United on the eve of the team's opening American tour game against Bayern Munich with the deals signed, sealed and delivered.
The contracts, which have been negotiated with United's hierarchy by the Bury-born duo's father, Neville Neville, will keep them at Old Trafford until 2009 and into their 30s.
United's top brass and manager Sir Alex Ferguson are keen to keep the local backbone of the club intact and, having successfully secured the Nevilles, are turning their attention to Salford's Paul Scholes and Longsight-born Wes Brown.
The brothers have remained on similar wages approved when they signed their last contracts and will take home around £50,000-a-week.
The contracts will mean that Gary and Phil end their big-time careers with the club they've been attached to since their teens.
England right-back Gary signed as a trainee in 1991 and on completion of his new deal, which might not be his last, his United career will have spanned a phenomenal 18 years.
He has gone from Youth Cup winner with the Class of '92 to senior stalwart with six Premiership title medals, three FA Cups and a European Cup to his name.
Gary, 29, will now be tied to the Reds under contract until beyond his 34th birthday. It's a huge fillip for the defender, who finally gained nationwide approval as England's undisputed right-back with a successful Euro 2004 in Portugal.
For Phil, the five-year deal is a booster following a campaign that saw him establish himself as anchorman in the Reds engine room, elbowing out Nicky Butt.
However, the 27-year-old's season ended in slight disappointment when he failed to make Fergie's first choice XI for the FA Cup final against Millwall, and then he didn't start a game for England in Euro 2004.
Phil, who captained United's 1995 FA Youth Cup-winning team, signed as a trainee in 1993 and his new deal will extend his Old Trafford career to 15 years.
The pair have made almost 800 United first team appearances between them and have bagged 117 caps each for England and are closing in on Sir Bobby and Jack Charlton's record for brothers of a joint collection of 141 caps.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/124/124932_nevilles_are_reds_for_life.html
tianwei
24-07-2004, 11:05 PM
wah...sure anot??Gary's and Phil's father name is their surname repeated twice :Neville Neville??:rolleyes:
guoquanyap
24-07-2004, 11:07 PM
wat a waste that man u Vs Ac milan is not live....haiz....
Originally posted by tianwei
wah...sure anot??Gary's and Phil's father name is their surname repeated twice :Neville Neville??:rolleyes:
Why bother who their father name are called? :rolleyes:
kengbeng
24-07-2004, 11:32 PM
A little bit of trivia for United fans:
Phil and Gary's father is indeed Neville Neville. No, it's not a joke.
RuMmYtUb
25-07-2004, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
A little bit of trivia for United fans:
Phil and Gary's father is indeed Neville Neville. No, it's not a joke.
Hmm with due respect, but Neville Neville sounds dumb :rolleyes:
Btw anything more than 30m for Rooney is definitely not worth!
guoquanyap
25-07-2004, 07:04 AM
smith making his debut in red shirt tml...mouth watering....hope Jonathan Spector will put up a gd performance after so many hype that he is gd....though he is still young....
pickupball
25-07-2004, 10:51 AM
Hmm with due respect, but Neville Neville sounds dumb :rolleyes:
Btw anything more than 30m for Rooney is definitely not worth!
:D
RuMmYtUb
25-07-2004, 12:50 PM
Watch channel 5 now!
The Man Utd players teaching some kids soccer :D
rethel
25-07-2004, 03:12 PM
yea saw it
rethel
25-07-2004, 03:13 PM
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1229173.jpg
Manchester United duo Gary Neville and Phil Neville have handed the club a massive boost by signing new five-year deals.
The pair put pen to paper before jetting off to join United's pre-season tour of the U.S.
The new contracts will keep the England internationals at United well into their 30s and could see them end their careers at Old Trafford.
The brothers have established themselves as key members of Sir Alex Ferguson's side after coming through the youth ranks at Old Trafford.
29-year-old Gary will now remain at United until he is 34, while Phil two years younger at 27 will stay at the club until he turns 31.
Ferguson is keen to keep his top stars on long-term contracts to ward off interest from other clubs and he will be delighted that the Neville brothers have agreed their lucrative new deals.
rethel
25-07-2004, 03:17 PM
nevilles will end their career as a devil
Ronaldo7
25-07-2004, 03:28 PM
Smith seeks to raise his game
Alan Smith can take his game to a higher level now he has switched from Leeds to Manchester United.
That is the verdict of manager Sir Alex Ferguson, who is poised to hand the striker a debut against Bayern Munich on Sunday.
Smith looks certain to be drafted in for their opening match of the ChampionsWorld series in Chicago as Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer are all absent.
Ferguson is delighted to have Smith on board.
"We are all looking forward to seeing him play,'' said the Old Trafford manager.
"In training he has been very impressive.
"There are guarantees bringing Alan Smith in from a general point of view.
"For the last five years he has been a magnificent performer for Leeds.
"So he brings that experience and consistency of performance to Manchester United. Hopefully by coming to us he will keep on improving.
"It is exciting signing someone as young as Alan Smith, knowing that he has fantastic potential and that he comes with certain guarantees.''
Originally posted by rethel
http://static.sky.com/images/pictures/1229173.jpg
Manchester United duo Gary Neville and Phil Neville have handed the club a massive boost by signing new five-year deals.
The pair put pen to paper before jetting off to join United's pre-season tour of the U.S.
The new contracts will keep the England internationals at United well into their 30s and could see them end their careers at Old Trafford.
The brothers have established themselves as key members of Sir Alex Ferguson's side after coming through the youth ranks at Old Trafford.
29-year-old Gary will now remain at United until he is 34, while Phil two years younger at 27 will stay at the club until he turns 31.
Ferguson is keen to keep his top stars on long-term contracts to ward off interest from other clubs and he will be delighted that the Neville brothers have agreed their lucrative new deals.
I already posted before lah. :rolleyes:
rethel
25-07-2004, 07:01 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I already posted before lah. :rolleyes:
den?
greycat87
25-07-2004, 07:31 PM
So will giggs scholes, and keane :)
guoquanyap
25-07-2004, 10:36 PM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has spoken of his delight at tying up Gary and Phil Neville on new five-year contracts.
It effectively means the brothers, aged 29 and 27 respectively, who linked up with the squad yesterday, are likely to see out their careers at Old Trafford.
Speaking ahead of a training session at Soldier Field in Chicago, Ferguson said: "We are always pleased when members of the first-team squad commit themselves to future contracts.
"It retains the consistency in the club and both of them have been great servants to us.
"They have given us great years and they will give us more great years.
"Continuity is very important in a football club."
Gary joined as a trainee in 1991 and Phil followed him down that road two years later and the new contracts will take them into their 30s.
Both players were members of England's Euro 2004 squad with Gary playing a pivotal role as right-back but Phil only made two brief appearances as a substitute.
Ferguson added: "We feel they are good ages to do the deals. Gary is 29, Phil is 27 and this new deal will take them through best years of their life.
"It gives us back up in terms of experienced players, who know the club."
Meanwhile, the Old Trafford boss revealed that Chicago-born defender Jonathan Spector will start on Sunday against Bayern Munich in ChampionsWorld series.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,862335,00.html
orca_sea
26-07-2004, 01:42 AM
They started as one so they will end as one.. hahahaha :evil:
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 01:51 AM
waiting for the match....2months since beating millwall 3-0....cant wait to see keano and co in action especially smith and spector making their debut....:D
uRiZEn
26-07-2004, 02:52 AM
Im still waiting....::yawn::
After Man u game then Copa America.
Later go class panda eyes liao.
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 02:58 AM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Im still waiting....::yawn::
After Man u game then Copa America.
Later go class panda eyes liao.
got to work tml...:(
uRiZEn
26-07-2004, 04:32 AM
got to work tml...:(
you mean later.;)
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 04:59 AM
wow fergie put such a young side against such a experince munich side....defence wise did very well but attack....:mad:
spector and eagles stand out....
what to expect a total reserve line-up only keane and smith.
the youngsters play well to hold bayern to a 0-0 draw.
lost 4-2 on penalties though. :(
Alienz
26-07-2004, 06:50 AM
Originally posted by RVN
what to expect a total reserve line-up only keane and smith.
the youngsters play well to hold bayern to a 0-0 draw.
lost 4-2 on penalties though. :(
wonder why you have to delete your previous post and post the same thing again :confused:
Alienz
26-07-2004, 06:51 AM
Heard that Kleberson was stretchered off in the Copa final...... hope he is ok..............
Originally posted by Alienz
wonder why you have to delete your previous post and post the same thing again :confused:
wrong spelling of my words.
Heard that Kleberson was stretchered off in the Copa final...... hope he is ok..............
Kinda worried about it too, hope it isn't serious, our new boy Heinze go and follow becks and blast his penalty high over the bar though. :laugh:
By the way, Forlan, Kleberson and Heinze will join up with the squad in US now that their Copa America campaign is over.
usjag_18
26-07-2004, 07:04 AM
Please post more news, thank you.
it's not easy to get soccer news over here in Perth, Australia. Funny, the Australians love all kinda of sports, but just don't like soccer, the game that makes the whole world into madness.
These Aussies are so odd.
So wat happen? Why lost in penalties?
Rgds,
O'
Alienz
26-07-2004, 07:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN
our new boy Heinze go and follow becks and blast his penalty high over the bar though. :laugh:
http://www.anchoredbygrace.com/smileys/kopfpatsch.gif
Pics of United v Bayern (http://editorial.gettyimages.com/source/cfw/FrameSet.aspx?s=EventImagesSearchState|1|15|1|51085724|0|0|0|0||0|0&p=7&pk=4)
Fergie's Fledglings Blunt Bundesliga Giants
Manchester United 0 Bayern Munich 0 (Bayern win 4-2 on Penalties)
A youthful United side gamely held German giants Bayern Munich to a scoreless draw in Chicago as the Reds kicked off their American tour in spirited style.
Debutants Paul McShane and Chicago-born Jon Spector were among five teenagers in Sir Alex Ferguson's starting eleven which also saw Alan Smith make his much-awaited bow as a United player.
Bayern named a full-strength line-up for the clash, but were frustrated throughout the 90 minutes as United's youngsters held firm before finally succumbing to their opponents in a penalty shootout.
Smith, who gave a typically tenacious debut, saw his spot-kick palmed away by Oliver Kahn. David Bellion and Roy Keane converted their kicks before Kahn thwarted John O'Shea, leaving Julio Santa Cruz to convert the winning kick.
Neither side could boast of creating clear cut chances in the previous 90 minutes, as both Kahn and Roy Carroll remained virtual spectators throughout.
Although goalmouth action was at a premium, United can take heart from promising showings from Spector, McShane and Smith, while Djemba-Djemba, Richardson and Bellion also shone sporadically.
United side: Carroll, Bardsley, McShane, Spector, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Djordic (Jones), Richardson (Chadwick), Eagles (O'Shea), Smith, Bellion.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=84846&itype=466&icategoryid=120
RuMmYtUb
26-07-2004, 12:11 PM
when's the next match ar ?
against Celtic this Wednesday, followed by Milan on Saturday. =p
beckz11
26-07-2004, 12:28 PM
hmmmm
smith wears 14 next season ?
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 04:09 PM
Originally posted by beckz11
hmmmm
smith wears 14 next season ?
should be....and howard will wear number1 ....:o
howard should wear number 1, Barthez already depart the club.
Ch3tah_39
26-07-2004, 05:04 PM
I think man utd did well already.. able to drew wit bayern....
somemore all the youngster..
caroll looks :eek:
The rating of our younger players at redcafe suggest they done well. :)
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?p=870512#post870512
Yellowfin
26-07-2004, 05:08 PM
Tonite SCV channel 22 got show this match at 10 pm or 10-30pm.
According to this morning's Journal Nicky Butt will complete his move to Newcastle this week when he flies back for the States with Man Utd. The paper claim the fee could be £4m. :rolleyes:
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=14462021%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=butt%2don%2dverge%2dof%2dsigning-name_page.html
RuMmYtUb
26-07-2004, 05:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN
howard should wear number 1, Barthez already depart the club.
Yea agreed. :D
Thx for the match schedule.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is resigned to the fact that he will be without Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze for the start of the new season.
Both players will miss the beginning of the new season as they represent their countries at next month's Athens Olympics.
Argentine defender Heinze and Portugal ace Ronaldo will miss the first four games of the season, as well as the qualifying round for the UEFA Champions League.
Their absence has upset Ferguson, but he admits there is nothing he can do about.
"Regarding the Olympics, we're just going to have to accept the situation," said Ferguson.
"I've been in touch with both players and it looks as though there's nothing much we can do about it.
"It isn't fair on us or them but we just have to accept it."
Ferguson, who saw his young United side begin their tour of the United States with a defeat on penalties to Bayern Munich, was impressed by the performance of new signing Alan Smith and American defender Jonathan Spector.
"Jonathan showed great potential," Ferguson told MUTV. "He has great awareness of his defensive duties and coped very well.
"Playing 90 minutes with Roy Keane is worth 20 games with some others and Roy's composure will have got through to him.
"It was hard for Alan, he had a tough job up front on his own, but he did exceptionally well."
Meanwhile, Ferguson has vowed to help the side back to winning ways at home and abroad next season after a disappointing campaign last term.
"We're ready to win in Europe again and I think that's such a big and important step for us," added Ferguson.
"We were disappointed to lose the title last term after being four points ahead of Arsenal at halfway. We should have done better and we will this season."
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1144721,00.html
Ronaldo7
26-07-2004, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
he looks like ian walker :o quite a good performance by the youngsters , good game for smith too . exciting times ahead ;)
Ronaldo7
26-07-2004, 08:03 PM
Originally posted by RVN
According to this morning's Journal Nicky Butt will complete his move to Newcastle this week when he flies back for the States with Man Utd. The paper claim the fee could be £4m. :rolleyes:
http://icnewcastle.icnetwork.co.uk/newcastleunited/news/tm_objectid=14462021%26method=full%26siteid=50081%26headline=butt%2don%2dverge%2dof%2dsigning-name_page.html
bye butt :( chance to get your place back in the england team
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 08:26 PM
the gk jersery quite nice leh...quite stylelo....:D
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 08:27 PM
especially spector...hopefully he can play the remaining 2 matches....
usjag_18
26-07-2004, 08:40 PM
Totally, very stylish, better than the new jersey that launch last week.
Anyway, I hope Howard will get some other number, instead of No.1. I felt it's like a curse, after Peter Schmeichel, no GK who took No1 is as successful as he does. Maybe I am too supersitious.
As for the match versus Bayern Munich, maybe even first team players also can't perform as well I felt (Personal opinion, hope you guys don't mind). Main reason, the youngsters wanna 2 impress the manager, so have to fight for what they wanna, so put in more efforts than the 1st team players. They will try very hard to outshine the 1st team players. Though not every youngsters think that way.
Regards,
O'
P.S. Of all the clubs in Premier League, I felt Arsenal got the worst GK jersey, (I don't mean to be rude, I respect all clubs, but their jerseys for GK really very ugly).
guoquanyap
26-07-2004, 08:43 PM
AC Milan firmly denied on Monday that their Portuguese midfielder Rui Costa had signed a two-year contract with Manchester United.
A report in the Portuguese press claimed that the player had agreed to join United but the Italian champions say he will play for the Rossoneri next season.
AC Milan's sporting director Ariedo Braida said: "It's nonsense. Rui Costa is staying at Milan and he is non-transferable.''
Rui Costa, 32, is in the latter stages of his career and last season lost his starting place at San Siro to Kaka, the talented youngster from Brazil.
Rui Costa played for the Portuguese at Euro 2004 and did have his moments of brilliance, including a wonder strike from outside the area in their quarter-final win over England.
He made his name at Benfica in a three-year spell from 1991-1994, and then moved to Fiorentina where he spent seven seasons.
The last three years of his career have been in Milan, where he has won titles in both Italy and Europe.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,862837,00.html
wtf is this...nv heard such rumor b4...
Why would we want a 32-year old coming towards the end of his career? :eek:
samwise
27-07-2004, 08:47 AM
bye butt.
so wasted, to have spent 2 of your best years on the bench for the devils.
just hope that the decision to move on is not too late:mad:
confirm liao, bye bye butt, you were a great servert to the club for the last decade. :(
Newcastle United have struck a deal with Manchester United to sign England international midfielder Nicky Butt.
The 29-year-old has left United's pre-season tour of America to fly back and negotiate with The Magpies.
No details of the agreement between the two clubs have, as yet, been released, but it is believed a fee in the region of £2.5 million has been settled upon.
United confirmed in a statement on their official website that Butt was now set for talks with Newcastle to try and agree a switch that would bring to an end to his 13-year association with the Old Trafford outfit.
"Nicky Butt has left the Manchester United tour of America," the statement read.
"Manchester United have agreed terms with Newcastle pending a medical and Nicky Butt's personal terms."
Butt will fill the void left at St James's Park by Gary Speed's recent departure to Bolton Wanderers.
If, as expected, the deal does go through in the coming days, Butt will become Newcastle's second signing of the summer after the recent capture of Patrick Kluivert.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1001-1144863,00.html
Sun reckon Rui Costa could still join us despite Milan denial. :eek:
ALEX FERGUSON wants Rui Costa — the man who helped end England’s Euro dream.
Manchester United boss Fergie is offering to take the Portugal midfielder on loan from AC Milan and pick up his £55,000-a-week salary.
Costa, who scored a 20-yard wonder goal against England, is considering the offer after both clubs agreed terms.
Officially, Milan are adamant they do not want Costa, 32, to leave. Last week they turned down an approach from his former club Benfica.
But Milan are secretly keen to offload Costa from their wage bill as Brazilian star Kaka has moved ahead in the pecking order.
Fiorentina — another former club — have also shown an interest but United’s greater financial muscle puts them in front. Costa retired from international football at the end of Euro 2004 to concentrate on his club and spend more time with wife Rute.
He is on holiday in the Algarve — but his move to United could go through in the next few days.
Fergie wants to add creativity and experience to his midfield and is keen on a player with no commitments to his national team.
Old Trafford No 2 and ex-Portugal boss Carlos Queiroz is a big fan of Costa and handed him his international debut in 1993.
Costa, who scored against England at Euro 2004, is a brilliant passer with excellent close control. He can also run with the ball and Fergie believes he can do plenty of damage in the Premiership.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004341953,00.html
RuMmYtUb
27-07-2004, 02:05 PM
Bye Butt, all the best.
EEE, Rui Costa old pig.
orca_sea
27-07-2004, 03:07 PM
Bye Butt n thx to being such a loyal servant for the past decade n may u blossom at NC ..All the best :(
Ch3tah_39
27-07-2004, 04:18 PM
yeah!!i agree wit u..:D
Forlan next on the exit perhaps. :rolleyes:
Atletico Madrid have confirmed they are interested in Manchester United striker Diego Forlan but insist he is just one of a number of transfer options.
Los Rojiblancos are keen to bring in a right-sided midfielder and a new forward, and their determination was reinforced by an embarrassing InterToto Cup home defeat against Czech minnows FC Zlin last weekend - although they did still progress from the tie.
Modena's Senegal international Diomansy Kamara is known to be very high on the club's wish-list to strengthen their midfield options as attempts to conclude a deal for Celta Vigo's Peter Luccin still drag on.
Atletico are understood to have opened negotiations for the 23-year-old, and want to try and land him on an initial loan deal with an option to convert it to a permanent move.
However, a number of other European clubs are reported to be interested in the African star including Milan and city rivals Internazionale, while an unnamed English side are also monitoring his situation.
However, one player who is definitely being considered by the Madrid outfit is Forlan.
Atletico are desperate to land a quality partner for Fernando Torres and have already been frustrated in their attempts to land long-term target Samuel Eto'o from Mallorca.
Director of sport, Toni Munoz concedes that Forlan is a possibility, but claimed there were other balls in the air.
"We are contemplating the possibility that a striker and someone for the right will come in, but it is not imperative it should be Forlan," Munoz stated.
"Yes, he is in our possibilities, but there are other options."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=216162
Ch3tah_39
27-07-2004, 07:31 PM
No forlaN!!:( go
if inter got him also gd lehz..
MatrixFanatic
27-07-2004, 09:25 PM
Forlan go also good lah... If not he sure no chance to play games.
The sale of Forlan and butt, we should use some of it to buy a winger, we be without Ole or Ronaldo for a while. :(
I don't think our spending should be done yet.
Ronaldo7
27-07-2004, 11:13 PM
Ferguson plans player break
Man Utd boss Sir Alex Ferguson
Ferguson wants his best players to be fit at the end of the season
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed he will give several players a break in December to avoid end-of-season tiredness.
"I will give them two weeks rest at different periods," he said.
"These players will have been involved in Euro 2004, so the month of December looks like the month to do that."
Ruud van Nistelrooy, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mikael Silvestre, Gary Neville and Paul Scholes were all heavily involved in their countries' Euro 2004 campaigns.
Ronaldo also looks set to play in the Olympics for Portugal in August, while new signing Gabriel Heinze will be in Athens with the Argentine squad.
Captain Roy Keane, however, is determined to feature in as many games as possible.
"We have a lot of young players and a lot of competition for places," he said.
"It is a great challenge for me and I want to play as many games as I can and get us back to the top where I feel we belong."
samwise
28-07-2004, 11:42 AM
any fans watching the match against celtic?
http://www.singaporepools.com/Sports?page=display_details&type=all&match=1705
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson reckons Newcastle will land a bargain when they sign Nicky Butt.
Butt will arrive on Tyneside on Wednesday to discuss personal terms on a £2.5m move to the Magpies.
"They have got a bargain really," said Ferguson. "I hope he goes on and enjoys many great years.
"He was a fantastic performer for us but we had difficulty both of us last year in me not picking him and him accepting that situation."
Ferguson added: "He wanted more appearances than I could possibly promise him.
"Young players were breaking through like Darren Fletcher and we also had Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Scholes and Phil Neville.
"The common-sense verdict was to let him get on with another career and we wish him well."
The United manager also paid tribute to Butt's commitment during his lengthy career at Old Trafford.
"Nicky joined us as a 14-year-old boy. He is the same today as he was then," he added.
"He has never changed his attitude or his character."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3931799.stm
Ronaldo7
28-07-2004, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by samwise
will be watching the first half and maybe starting of the 2nd half before going to sch :(
guoquanyap
28-07-2004, 12:47 PM
yup watching...but dunno wan to stay up whole nite or slp then wake up in the morning.....:cool:
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004341242,00.jpg
SMITH ... hoping to start alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy in attack
ALAN SMITH has told Alex Ferguson: “I’ll be your right Van man.”
The new Manchester United striker cannot wait to partner Ruud van Nistelrooy up front.
He believes he is finally going to be played consistently as an out-and-out striker, ensuring Old Trafford will see the best of him.
Smith’s goals record is not great but comes as a result of Leeds switching his positions.
He said: “The manager has told me straight that he wants me playing up front as an out-and-out striker and that’s great for me.
“I can’t wait to play alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy. I have played with great strikers in my time including Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink, Mark Viduka and Robbie Fowler.
“Now I am going to have the chance to play alongside Ruud and Louis Saha which is something I am really looking forward to.”
Ferguson bought Smith to add some bite to the United side and wants to see his bold front-running and the roughing-up of defences.
That suits Smith, who became frustrated by being played on the wing or in deeper roles at Leeds.
He said: “I have not played up front in consecutive seasons for about three years. When you are being moved around like that it can hinder your development.
“I was willing to do whatever to help Leeds because the club needed me in different positions.
“But since I have come here it is clear what the manager wants me to do — after all, we have enough midfielders to fill two teams.”
While Ferguson wants Smith up front, he is also looking for the type of player who can come deep to pick up the ball when needed.
That is what he had in Eric Cantona and Dwight Yorke and sees in Wayne Rooney — but Smith can provide that, too, as a foil to the classic penalty-box poacher Van Nistelrooy. Smith said: “In Europe particularly, where we are obviously looking to do well, you do have to adapt in that sense.”
Smith is relishing the challenge, when Ole Solskjaer gets fit, of four strikers vying for two places and believes the competition will lift his game to a new level.
He said: “When you know you are playing every week your performances can dip, so this is a challenge I am looking forward to.
“We will all want to be involved but I know the manager will be switching things around.”
Smith had a quiet opening game in a disappointing encounter between United and Bayern Munich in Chicago.
The match finished 0-0 with Smith missing a penalty as United went on to lose the shootout.
Van Nistelrooy can have no fears about the former Leeds man wanting to steal his role as penalty taker. Smith said: “I have never been a penalty taker and I don’t think that is going to change.”
Smith will be in the starting line-up again tonight when United take on Celtic in Philadelphia.
Ch3tah_39
28-07-2004, 03:25 PM
hope smith can perform lor..
:D
beckz11
28-07-2004, 05:18 PM
i prefer saha~! :D
Manchester United will look a little more like their old selves when they face Celtic in America - but a number of big names are still missing.
Around £50m of imported talent in the shape of Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha, Cristiano Ronaldo has missed out on the tour but United welcome back local boys Gary and Phil Neville and central defender Wes Brown to inject experience into their line up.
On Sunday, United faced a strong Bayern Munich side with a team made up of players from last season's FA Youth Cup squad and their Under-19 and reserve sides.
The youngsters held Bayern to a 0-0 draw in normal play before losing on a penalty shoot-out, but Sir Alex Ferguson is set to change things around for the second game of the three-match trip which kicks-off at 1am (BST).
The United manager will choose his goalkeeper from a pool of three and after using Roy Carroll on Sunday and could be tempted to give Spanish No 2 Ricardo the chance to rekindle his United career. Ricardo is back at Old Trafford after a year on loan with Racing Santander and might feature as Ferguson saves Tim Howard for Sunday's showdown with AC Milan in the Giants Stadium.
Gary Neville is set to step in at right full-back and if he is fit Brown could partner American youngster Jon Spector or John O'Shea in the centre of the defence with the odd man out switching to left full-back.
Ryan Giggs is not expected to make it as he has more treatment on a thigh injury, with Kieran Richardson favourite to continue on the left, while Phil Neville should step into midfield along with Eric Djemba-Djemba and Roy Keane, who played as a sweeper against Bayern.
As well as van Nistelrooy, Ronaldo and Saha, United began the tour without Paul Scholes, Mikael Silvestre, Darren Fletcher, Jose Kleberson, Diego Forlan and summer signing Gabriel Heinze.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,863824,00.html
RuMmYtUb
28-07-2004, 08:39 PM
Goal scoring form i also prefer Saha, hope Smith improves :D
beckz11
28-07-2004, 08:44 PM
tonights match got live or not ?
uRiZEn
28-07-2004, 08:56 PM
isnt it showing at 7.55am?
Ronaldo7
28-07-2004, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
isnt it showing at 7.55am?
orca_sea
28-07-2004, 09:35 PM
i prefer saha~! :D
Either Smith or Saha iz gd.. i hope tiz small competition for the 1st XI will bring out the best fr all of them :D
RuMmYtUb
28-07-2004, 09:57 PM
Gotta watch it man, i guess it's a 2-0 scoreline :D
samwise
28-07-2004, 09:58 PM
i still think the man utd team is not complete. it looks like fergie is willing to settle for third place again and wait for a few years for the fledglings III to mature in the likes of spector, miller, ronaldo, brown, howard, eagles
very very light weight in the midfield area.
same as last season, very boring midfield. lack of creative spark except for ronaldo. who of course will be in greece for the bulk of first few games.
i think man utd can kiss the epl championship goodbye lah. serious, as man utd fans, dun you guys get worried when you see chelski get players like kezman (5mil pounds!!??), drogba and robben on top of mutu, makelele and liverpool getting cissel and you see the man utd team getting a leeds striker only?
what if giggs get injured? what if ronaldo gets whacked big time and end up long term injury? with solskjaer out now, really no cover on the right side! fletcher is too light weight (.. where is he now ar?...)
I don't get worried what other teams does, I only care about us. We still have depth in our squad to challenge for the title, last season title loss will have spur the players on. Our players wil be hungry to win it back. Boring midfield, what loads of ****, I won't call the likes of Scholes, Giggs, Ronaldo boring, you muppet. :mad:
I agree thought we need to buy another winger to get cover for Giggs and Ronaldo.
guoquanyap
28-07-2004, 11:08 PM
i still think the man utd team is not complete. it looks like fergie is willing to settle for third place again and wait for a few years for the fledglings III to mature in the likes of spector, miller, ronaldo, brown, howard, eagles
same as last season, very boring midfield. lack of creative spark except for ronaldo. who of course will be in greece for the bulk of first few games.
i think man utd can kiss the epl championship goodbye lah. serious, as man utd fans, dun you guys get worried when you see chelski get players like kezman (5mil pounds!!??), drogba and robben on top of mutu, makelele and liverpool getting cissel and you see the man utd team getting a leeds striker only?
what if giggs get injured? what if ronaldo gets whacked big time and end up long term injury? with solskjaer out now, really no cover on the right side! fletcher is too light weight (.. where is he now ar?...)
well u are rite to a certain extend...our squad is really lightweight, cant really compete against chelsea who spend $$ like no tml....but i hav alot of faith in fergie i am sure he will surely get it right and fight to the end....
but fergie going to retire in 2-3 yrs....i really cant imagine life without him....
jujube
28-07-2004, 11:49 PM
this thread is too long
RuMmYtUb
28-07-2004, 11:53 PM
I agree with RvN, i don't care about other teams, the concern is with Utd itself.
usjag_18
29-07-2004, 01:00 AM
Seriously, I don't think Man Utd team is INCOMPLETE. Those who really support Man Utd, should face the good and bad times with them, stop comparing Man Utd with others. We do not need to compare with Chelsea because in terms of spending power wise, we are really losing to them. And players didn't go to Chelsea really because of the new team, it's more like because of the $$$ matters. Do you really think players go Chelsea because they are famous or what? It's more likely due to salary wise. If a club is famous but owe players' money, do you think they will still wanna 2 go 2 that club unless they have no other choices?
As for Kezman, I don't know anything about this player as I do not know much about RVN last time. It all depends on the performance in the field, no point talk so much before the game even starts. Though having confidence is a good attitude, but he's too much, he can say whatever he wants, but he talked too much about breaking the goal records of RVN (during the 3 years, he's with Man Utd). I rather seeing him performing than talking. As I always said, whether a team is good enough, it depends on the whole team performance. So no point talking how Robben or Kezman or even Drogba can do for Chelsea. Moreover, Robben is someone who Man Utd wanted, so what if it's Chelsea who got him due to the partnership between Chelsea and PSV. Otherwise, if Man Utd is the one who got Robben, will anyone comments so much about it? Moreover, not every players worth buying.
Regards,
O'
orca_sea
29-07-2004, 01:07 AM
Originally posted by usjag_18
Seriously, I don't think Man Utd team is INCOMPLETE. Those who really support Man Utd, should face the good and bad times with them, stop comparing Man Utd with others. We do not need to compare with Chelsea because in terms of spending power wise, we are really losing to them. And players didn't go to Chelsea really because of the new team, it's more like because of the $$$ matters. Do you really think players go Chelsea because they are famous or what? It's more likely due to salary wise. If a club is famous but owe players' money, do you think they will still wanna 2 go 2 that club unless they have no other choices?
As for Kezman, I don't know anything about this player as I do not know much about RVN last time. It all depends on the performance in the field, no point talk so much before the game even starts. Though having confidence is a good attitude, but he's too much, he can say whatever he wants, but he talked too much about breaking the goal records of RVN (during the 3 years, he's with Man Utd). I rather seeing him performing than talking. As I always said, whether a team is good enough, it depends on the whole team performance. So no point talking how Robben or Kezman or even Drogba can do for Chelsea. Moreover, Robben is someone who Man Utd wanted, so what if it's Chelsea who got him due to the partnership between Chelsea and PSV. Otherwise, if Man Utd is the one who got Robben, will anyone comments so much about it? Moreover, not every players worth buying.
Regards,
O'
usjag_18
29-07-2004, 01:11 AM
well u are rite to a certain extend...our squad is really lightweight, cant really compete against chelsea who spend $$ like no tml....but i hav alot of faith in fergie i am sure he will surely get it right and fight to the end....
but fergie going to retire in 2-3 yrs....i really cant imagine life without him....
Players and managers join n leave, it's no big deal. When Sir Matt Busby leave, who will thought that there will be Sir Alex Fergie to replace him? As for the spending power, like a lot people said, no point fighting with Chelsea for their spending power, so what if they got the spending power? They still didn't get Deco like they initially wanted. And with their money, they did buy a lot of good players, but from what I see from last season performance, I felt that it's the initial players that they have are performing even better than the NEW, EXPENSIVE players.
Also Jose Mourinho argued back Alex Fergie about richer club doesn't mean they will definitely win(he used Man Utd vs Porto FC last season @ Champion League as an example when Alex Fergie simply just commented that doesn't mean that Chelsea will win everything just because they got the more famous players) and what kinda of a manager willl always thinking about past? He should concentrate on Chelsea now and not talking crap with Alex Fergie. Alex Fergie should also stop his mind game, it's totally rubbish to talk so many craps now.
Btw, have anyone notice that these two managers who bring glory to Man Utd are both Scottish? I got a feeling that Scottish managers are good @ managing Man Utd, hehehee....=p
usjag_18
29-07-2004, 01:16 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea
Thank you for your thumbs up. Just cannot stand people kept comparing man utd and chelsea. I have heard enough of such comments in these 1 year plus. No point comparing. I am not trying to rake up what have been over, even though Man Utd won CL b4 or Jose Mourinho won CL with Porto FC before, that's all in the PAST, no point bother about it. I wanna 2 see how the teams perform this season. We care about now and future, not PAST.
Regards,
O'
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 01:22 AM
u are right to say that we should face the gd and hard times together....but us fans should oso face up the realitly...it is the real world out there.....
and really support manu doesnt mean keep saying manu is the best team out there blah blah blah....
support is from the heart...no matter how bad the times is i will still be there....:cool:
usjag_18
29-07-2004, 01:44 AM
u are right to say that we should face the gd and hard times together....but us fans should oso face up the realitly...it is the real world out there.....
and really support manu doesnt mean keep saying manu is the best team out there blah blah blah....
support is from the heart...no matter how bad the times is i will still be there....:cool:
From starting till the ending of my messages, I never said Man Utd is the best team. I am a realistic person, that's why I said no point fighting with Chelsea about spending more money on those players who everyone think is good. We wanna to spend the right amount of money @ the right players. Though there times that Man Utd got the wrong player(s), but still no point spending so many millions on a player, we need to have a budget if we wanna 2 stay in good shape. Like Leeds, they spent so much and see what happen to them?
No point fight until the club bankrupt.
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 05:03 AM
still waiting for the match....zzZZzz
samwise
29-07-2004, 06:29 AM
From starting till the ending of my messages, I never said Man Utd is the best team. I am a realistic person
Are you saying that this season, man utd has fewer chances of lifting the trophy? i remember in the last decade, man utd will eat up and spit out the bones of their opponents. but in the new millenium, thanks to the tremendous amount of live man utd matches, i witness the opposition team boss man utd around...
that's why I said no point fighting with Chelsea about spending more money on those players who everyone think is good. We wanna to spend the right amount of money @ the right players. Though there times that Man Utd got the wrong player(s), but still no point spending so many millions on a player, we need to have a budget if we wanna 2 stay in good shape.
fren, thats exactly what i meant. i suspect fergie is UNABLE to attract the right stars to the club. I read how robben was offloaded to chelsea even though man utd had the first bite to the cherry. remember the carrington trip by robben jr and robben sr? and why the hell pack 4 strikers when your primary formation consists of only one main striker feeding off a attacking midfielder?
chelsea bought like a mad man last season. but do you notice how they are buying now? they did not only buy a good striker (http://www.psv.nl/show?contentid=6717&id=21372), they bought the provider of that striker too (robben)
if you are saying that man utd can forget about this season and concede that the fruits of fergie's recent buy will only mature in 2-3 yrs time, then i will just shrug my shoulders and say, ok....;)
samwise
29-07-2004, 06:42 AM
anyway, how does psv churn out so many quality players? ronaldo, gullit, romario, rvn, robben, kezmen...
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 09:01 AM
HT 1-1...smith his first manu goal w a header....and cletic look like team possess w martin O'Neill ard....last of all...the new jersery look really cool....:cool:
samwise
29-07-2004, 09:33 AM
smith and keane looks to be running the entire show for the devils.
beckz11
29-07-2004, 10:03 AM
HT 1-1...smith his first manu goal w a header....and cletic look like team possess w martin O'Neill ard....last of all...the new jersery look really cool....:cool:
bought it 80 dollars at peninsular :D
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 10:07 AM
lost 1-2....performance wise really speechless....
samwise
29-07-2004, 10:11 AM
lost 1-2....performance wise really speechless....
sometimes you really wander how fergie is going to pull the entire team back into the title contention...
i know half of the team is made up of 2nd stringers, but there's howard, nevilles, keano, o'shea, smith...
its teh way they play that makes me speechless...
where's the drive?:mad:
****. I hate to see us losing. :mad:
Bellion, Djemba, McShane, Spector, Bardsley, Chadwick, Richardson, Eagles, Forlan - All second string.
Thinker
29-07-2004, 10:13 AM
sometimes you really wander how fergie is going to pull the entire team back into the title contention...
i know half of the team is made up of 2nd stringers, but there's howard, nevilles, keano, o'shea, smith...
its teh way they play that makes me speechless...
where's the drive?:mad:
It's really a stretch to think friendlies are an indication of things to come whether it be a win or a loss.
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 10:16 AM
look like the reputation we bulit last yr in US is going down the drain....remember they are not hardcore manu fans....once u dun perform....they lose interest and that is where we going to lose out in the luracative US market.....
P:S there is already section of the US crowd booing us already....sad to say
samwise
29-07-2004, 10:18 AM
look like the reputation we bulit last yr in US is going down the drain....remember they are not hardcore manu fans....once u dun perform....they lose interest and that is where we going to lose out in the luracative US market.....
P:S there is already section of the US crowd booing us already....sad to say
agree with you fully. if last year's US tour is a success, this year is a major letdown. especially when contrasted against the other teams which played attacking soccer at break neck speed.
american fans is fickle minded.
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004350062,00.jpg
PHIL GOOD FACTOR ... Smith and Keane shape up in Philadelphia
From NEIL CUSTIS in Philadelphia
ALEX FERGUSON has been forced to fly his top stars to New York.
The Manchester United boss acted swiftly to save the club’s reputation.
United suffered enormous criticism after fielding a bunch of youngsters in the 0-0 draw with Bayern Munich in Chicago.
They were booed by the 58,000 crowd and have had pressure put on them by tour organisers Champions World.
Last night against Celtic in Philadelphia he brought in more recognised names like Tim Howard and the Neville brothers.
Now he has buckled under pressure and will fly out top-name stars Ruud van Nistelrooy, Mikael Silvestre, Louis Saha and Paul Scholes for Saturday’s game against AC Milan in New York.
Fergie had originally left them at home to rest after Euro 2004.
He said: “I have had to do this reluctantly but we have suffered a lot of criticism because of the team we played against Bayern Munich.
“We made a big impact in America last year on tour and we want to enhance that.
“We will be bringing out Van Nistelrooy, Silvestre, Saha and Scholes for the game against AC Milan in New York.
“I understand the public want to see the stars and we do not want them to feel as if we take that lightly.
“I had left those players at home to give them a rest after Euro 2004 and others out here have had injuries, but I do not think the American public have appreciated that situation.
“We have had to take this step now for the sake of our reputation in the States.
“I understand that organisers Champions World have come under pressure.
“Last year we captured a lot of people’s minds with our football and we do not now want them to think we take them for granted.”
The players will have to undergo a 13-hour round trip for just one game — coming out on Friday and returning to England on Sunday.
Well **** I rather have a fullly-rested squad for the players at the start of the season though than to please those americans. :rolleyes:
samwise
29-07-2004, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by Thinker
It's really a stretch to think friendlies are an indication of things to come whether it be a win or a loss.
but is friendlies played by the 2nd stringers who should grab the chance to shine (ala joe cole...)... but nvm...
then i guess the vodafone cup matches also not an indication...
guess we have to wait until the Arsenal match at Community shield and the 1st EPL match with chelski then...
i just miss the drive that the red devils had....
like what they say, the batch of young players (nevilles, beckham, scholes, butt) who won the fa youth cup in 92 is once in a lifetime thingie...
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by RVN
From NEIL CUSTIS in Philadelphia
ALEX FERGUSON has been forced to fly his top stars to New York.
The Manchester United boss acted swiftly to save the club’s reputation.
United suffered enormous criticism after fielding a bunch of youngsters in the 0-0 draw with Bayern Munich in Chicago.
They were booed by the 58,000 crowd and have had pressure put on them by tour organisers Champions World.
Last night against Celtic in Philadelphia he brought in more recognised names like Tim Howard and the Neville brothers.
Now he has buckled under pressure and will fly out top-name stars Ruud van Nistelrooy, Mikael Silvestre, Louis Saha and Paul Scholes for Saturday’s game against AC Milan in New York.
Fergie had originally left them at home to rest after Euro 2004.
He said: “I have had to do this reluctantly but we have suffered a lot of criticism because of the team we played against Bayern Munich.
“We made a big impact in America last year on tour and we want to enhance that.
“We will be bringing out Van Nistelrooy, Silvestre, Saha and Scholes for the game against AC Milan in New York.
“I understand the public want to see the stars and we do not want them to feel as if we take that lightly.
“I had left those players at home to give them a rest after Euro 2004 and others out here have had injuries, but I do not think the American public have appreciated that situation.
“We have had to take this step now for the sake of our reputation in the States.
“I understand that organisers Champions World have come under pressure.
“Last year we captured a lot of people’s minds with our football and we do not now want them to think we take them for granted.”
The players will have to undergo a 13-hour round trip for just one game — coming out on Friday and returning to England on Sunday.
why fergie do that? of cos to please the US crowd and get a gd result against AC in order to gain back some support...remember fans are the bread and butter of any teams especially US is such a lucative market.....
cracker
29-07-2004, 11:06 AM
why fergie do that? of cos to please the US crowd and get a gd result against AC in order to gain back some support...remember fans are the bread and butter of any teams especially US is such a lucative market.....
this is a publicity tour....and Nike is Utd's sponsor...Of cos they will expect Fergie to field his best players !!!!
Imagine how will the local if they pay big mony to Utd field their B team in Singapore..tat was wat happen when they came back in 80s....lots of complains were filed....Hence in the last asia tour couple of yrs ago...Fergie bought the whole squad here...It is all for show...
I wouldnt worry abt the results....a win is good but a lost doesnt mean anything....No point going all out in a friendly game and suffers injuries ..!
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 11:08 AM
Originally posted by cracker
this is a publicity tour....and Nike is Utd's sponsor...Of cos they will expect Fergie to field his best players !!!!
Imagine how will the local if they pay big mony to Utd field their B team in Singapore..tat was wat happen when they came back in 80s....lots of complains were filed....Hence in the last asia tour couple of yrs ago...Fergie bought the whole squad here...It is all for show...
I wouldnt worry abt the results....a win is good but a lost doesnt mean anything....No point going all out in a friendly game and suffers injuries ..!
preciesly
Craig Beattie scored the winner as Celtic beat Manchester United 2-1 in the Champions World Series.
Chris Sutton had given Celtic an early lead with a penalty after Jonathan Spector fouled Stilian Petrov.
Alan Smith equalised with a header from a corner before 20-year-old Beattie's winner after Roy Keane lost possession.
But Celtic's evening had already been sullied when Alan Thompson was stretchered off after a heavy challenge from Chris Eagles.
The Celtic players reacted angrily to the challenge and Thompson appeared to be in some distress as he was taken from the field.
Thompson was playing his first match of the tour - Celtic had previously lost to Chelsea and Liverpool - after being troubled by a calf injury.
Celtic manager Martin O'Neill flew in only a few hours before the match in Philadelphia and named a strong team.
United brought back goalkeeper Tim Howard as well as the Neville brothers, Gary and Phil, after losing on penalties to Bayern Munich on Sunday.
After Celtic took the lead through Sutton, United responded strongly.
Kieron Richardson headed wide from close range and Eric Djemba-Djemba shot over from close range.
United equalised after 35 minutes through Smith and the former Leeds striker should have added a second for United in the 50th minute but lofted a shot over the bar.
Celtic's winner came after 71 minutes, with Beattie beating Howard from a tight angle.
United substitute Diego Forlan found himself clear but a poor first touch allowed keeper Magnus Hedman the chance to collect the ball.
Phil Bardsley could have put United level on the stroke of full time but hooked the ball over from a good position.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/3935145.stm
Didn't saw the match, Seem like we had chances to equalise, we squander it. :mad:
fluke48
29-07-2004, 11:27 AM
manu relz! :D
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 11:35 AM
all the chances are really half-chances....reality is that celtic do play better than us in most part of the game....
like wat i said, they played like man in possess w Martin O'neill ard.....maybe the players jus wan to him their manager a lift after wat happen to his gf.....
Sianz, this is the team that liverpool and chelsea thrash and yet we lose to them. :alien:
Hope we can play better against Milan with some of our first-teamers playing, but that match will be even more tough. .:(
Ronaldo7
29-07-2004, 12:06 PM
hmm , don't think too much about this result lah . friendly is the time for the manager to try out new tactics and players . btw , smith got his first goal for us =p
samwise
29-07-2004, 02:23 PM
its really lan pa pa lan...
if wanna rest the stars then rest all the way.. then now fly them over, suffer jet lag, fly back again....
now, i am open to rui costa joining man utd. at least he is in the states. can just change jersey and swop team.
orca_sea
29-07-2004, 02:36 PM
hmm , don't think too much about this result lah . friendly is the time for the manager to try out new tactics and players . btw , smith got his first goal for us =p
Yah itz juz a friendly... must give those kids more exposure then they will improve wan.. i banking on Eagles to b the nxt BIG thing coming up thru the ranks :D
RuMmYtUb
29-07-2004, 02:44 PM
anyway, how does psv churn out so many quality players? ronaldo, gullit, romario, rvn, robben, kezmen...
They have gd scouts and youth system like Ajax.
RuMmYtUb
29-07-2004, 02:44 PM
Smithy! :evil:
Ch3tah_39
29-07-2004, 05:13 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Sianz, this is the team that liverpool and chelsea thrash and yet we lose to them. :alien:
Hope we can play better against Milan with some of our first-teamers playing, but that match will be even more tough. .:(
so wat if chelsea or liverpool trashed them.. does not mean we hav to win mah..:)
beckz11
29-07-2004, 05:34 PM
us support wise i think no need to worry much coz there are 2 americans in our team
so no prob mah americans willl rooot for americans
Champions League draw tomorrow, in case you people forgot. Hope we get a kind draw. :)
Ronaldo7
29-07-2004, 08:01 PM
us support wise i think no need to worry much coz there are 2 americans in our team
so no prob mah americans willl rooot for americans
to a certian extent nia . i am sure some of those us fans are unhappy with the team lineup for the last 2 matches , so fergie is going to bring in those 'big' names in for the AC match :rolleyes:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/n/newcastle_united/3928073.stm
Bye bye Nicky, Happy and sad all at once. He had to go for his own sake, yet....
Great servant to the club, and a Manchester lad.
Good luck to him.
http://homepage.tinet.ie/~redweb3/home/team/butt/butt.jpg
guoquanyap
29-07-2004, 11:07 PM
gonna miss butt great servant and a great player....thumb up for his courage to move away fr manu in order to save his football days....
Spock
29-07-2004, 11:43 PM
They have gd scouts and youth system like Ajax.
If dutch league was richer, they would be one of the best in the world...
RuMmYtUb
30-07-2004, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by Spock
If dutch league was richer, they would be one of the best in the world...
Agreed :D
How comes it changes differently, damm it look very wierd. :rolleyes:
http://www.manutd.com/home/default.sps
Alienz
30-07-2004, 01:42 AM
DJORDJIC DOWN OVER CALF INJURY
Bojan Djordjic is hoping an injury on Manchester United's pre-season tour will not dent his long-term prospects at Old Trafford. The Red Devils have offered Djordjic a 12-month extension to stay at the club but he has yet to put pen-to-paper. The young winger was aiming to use the club's trip to the United States to press his claims for a more regular role in Sir Alex Ferguson's plans.
He featured for 70 minutes of the club's opening friendly Stateside against Bayern Munich but injury prevented him from lining up against Celtic on Wednesday. Djordjic will now be sidelined for three weeks with the calf problem and is cursing his misfortune. The Sweden Under-21 international still expects to ink the deal on offer but is anxious not to have ruined his long-term future with the Premiership giants. "I felt the injury in the Bayern match but I still wanted to play," Djordjic told Expressen.
"During the warm-up, it got worse. It hurt in the calf. "Of course it would have been better to be fit but it was at least fortunate that I got to play 70 minutes against Bayern. "I have got to prove that I have developed. Most probably, I will stay for another season."
www.skysports.com
Alienz
30-07-2004, 01:42 AM
FERGUSON BOWS TO PRESSURE
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has responded to criticism of his side's North American tour by promising to fly in two top stars. United came under fire for playing an under-strength side in the game against Bayern Munich last week. But Ferguson says midfielder Paul Scholes and defender Mikael Silvestre will link up with the squad. "There's been a lot of criticism of the team we put out and I wish I could have put out a better one," said Ferguson.
United were surprised by the strength of the reaction after the game against Bayern in Chicago, which saw a section of the 58,000-strong Soldier Field crowd boo his club. If we bring them over, it will probably be for just half an hour
Sir Alex Ferguson. The pair were told they could rest after Euro 2004 and had been taking part in summer conditioning. "The people here want to see the stars," Ferguson added after their 2-1 loss to Celtic in the Champions World Series. "I don't think they understand why I would leave a player like Ruud van Nistelrooy behind.
"If we bring them over, it will probably be for just half an hour. You may say that's a waste of time for them to come over one day and then go back the next. "But they'd fly first class, it's only a six-and-a-half hour journey, and it may be worth it for our reputation over here." Scholes and Silvestre are both expected to play in the final game of the series against AC Milan in New York while Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha have been pencilled in for the Vodafone Cup at Old Trafford next week.
news.bbc.co.uk
Alienz
30-07-2004, 01:54 AM
I'll play reserve Community side - Fergie
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed he will send a weakend team to face Arsenal
in the Community Shield on August 8, if they get a Tuesday date for their
Champions League qualifier. The draw is being made tomorrow.
'The key game really is what kind of team I have got to play against
Arsenal,' the United boss said.
'It depends on whether we get a Tuesday or a Wednesday game in the
Champions League. That will be crucial.
'If it is a Tuesday game, I would certainly not play a lot of the first
team players in the Arsenal game.
'I would be sure I was protecting the team for Tuesday. A Wednesday game is
different.'
Ferguson is praying for the luck of the draw in Switzerland.
'Obviously I hope we qualify. You can get some difficult ties. You can go
to Russia, Latvia and places like that.
'We are mindful of the draw we could get and I am also hopeful I will have
a stronger squad by that time.
'August 11 is a target day for sharper football, fitter players and a more
Manchester United looking-team.'
Ferguson takes his team into their next match, against Milan, without a
victory in the ChampionsWorld series.
They went down 2-1 to Celtic at Lincoln Financial Field after losing on
penalties to Bayern Munich.
The Scottish giants recovered after losing Alan Thompson to a Chris Eagles
challenge, which was described as clumsy by Ferguson.
He said: 'The boy is not great when it comes to tackling. He is more of a
footballer.
'It is unfortunate a player gets injured in pre-season matches. It is the
last thing you want to see. I know what it is like for us with injured
players.
'The boy Thompson is quite an influential player for Celtic.'
Celtic opened the scoring through a Chris Sutton penalty after 18-year-old
defender Jonathan Spector was judged to have shoved Stilian Petrov.
The young American ended up getting a tongue lashing from captain Roy Keane.
Ferguson said: 'I am not sure it was a penalty. I thought it was pretty soft.
'Losing the ball to begin with was the worst part really.
'He (Spector) will learn. I would think any young boy playing for United
with Roy Keane is the greatest benefit he will ever get in his life.
'If you don't learn from that guy, there is something wrong.
'There is a rough edge to it but that is football.
'You have to learn what the big game is now he is not playing college
football in America. He is in the big league now.'
Meanwhile, striker Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will see a specialist in Sweden on
August 7 after suffering a setback from a knee operation.
usjag_18
30-07-2004, 02:00 AM
so wat if chelsea or liverpool trashed them.. does not mean we hav to win mah..:)
agree... we must save the better performance @ last.
Ronaldo7
30-07-2004, 08:35 AM
Originally posted by RVN
How comes it changes differently, damm it look very wierd. :rolleyes:
http://www.manutd.com/home/default.sps
actually i think it looks bettter than the previous one :rolleyes:
MatrixFanatic
30-07-2004, 03:48 PM
After his performances at the WCS, you guys think Djordic good enough to replace Giggs?
OKK77
30-07-2004, 04:03 PM
actually i think it looks bettter than the previous one :rolleyes:
Designed for IE, I guess. Texts are on top of pictures in some frames. *rolls eyes*
RuMmYtUb
30-07-2004, 04:05 PM
Hope we lose the charity shield :evil:
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
After his performances at the WCS, you guys think Djordic good enough to replace Giggs?
Don't think so. :rolleyes:
Sir Alex Ferguson plans to field a strong side against AC Milan on Saturday at the Giants Stadium after admitting that life is getting tougher in the top flight.
England midfielder Paul Scholes and France defender Mikael Silvestre are likely to play their first games in the ChampionsWorld Series.
Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs, Alan Smith as well as Gary and Phil Neville have also been pencilled in for the final match of the tour.
United have a hectic build up to the new season and before the campaign gets underway will play two matches in the Vodafone Cup next week before the Community Shield clash with champions Arsenal.
Then a few days later the club will be involved in a Champions League qualifier.
Ferguson believes good preparation is vital. "The Premiership is getting harder," said the United manager.
"There is an accent on stocking up and getting bigger squads, which gives each club a better opportunity to achieve success.
"There are also other factors like tradition. Clubs like Arsenal, Newcastle, Liverpool, Tottenham, Aston Villa have fantastic tradition. You can't write them off.
"They have that burning ambition. It could be a great season next year."
Ferguson said the club continues to try to move forward.
"The minute me and my staff stand still everyone [at the club] will stand still with us," he added.
"We have always gone with the attitude to move on, like the moving bus. If you miss the bus, I am sorry we are away.
"We have been as quick as that. We make changes all the time. We are making technical improvements in the club which puts us in the front part of the posse.
"This club is too important to too many people."
New Jersey-born goalkeeper Tim Howard is expected to face the Italians after a superb first season in England.
Ferguson has high hopes for the former MetroStars shot-stopper.
"What we expect this year is a better maturity," he said.
"The experience of last year without doubt will help him in that respect.
"Also another factor is he has had a rest, whereas last year came he straight from Major League Soccer and played non-stop right through to February.
"Maybe we should have rested him them rather than waiting until he showed signs of fatigue. He should be fantastic next season."
England defender Gary Neville added: "Tim has been excellent.
"No-one had really heard of him when he came over but nothing fazed him. He was brilliant right the way through the season.
"He looks to have everything to become a great goalkeeper."
United are still looking for their first win in the series but Ferguson said: "There are lots of ways of measuring what success is.
"Sometimes it is not in the result but in your eyes and what you see."
Certainly he has been delighted with the form of Smith following his £7million move from Leeds.
He scored his first goal for the club in the 2-1 defeat by Celtic in Philadelphia on Wednesday.
Smith is enjoying his new life. "This club wants winners," he said.
"People like Roy Keane, Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville demand youngsters coming through the ranks adopt the same winning mentality as them.
"That feeling goes right through the club. That is what has impressed me most.
"I have fitted in quite well. I have great respect for players who have won so much yet retain the hunger to win even more.
"You see what drives them on - in that aspect the move has lived up to my expectations. As soon as you walk through the doors, you realise why the club has been so successful over the last few years.
"I want to start games - every player would say the same thing. We have a good squad, the manager spoke about resting players for some games, and we all know that will happen if we are to challenge for every trophy."
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/07/30/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer
Champions League 3rd round qualifying draw: We play against either Zilina or Dinamo Bucuresti.
Most likely we play Dinamo Bucuresti. They won 1-0 away against Zilina in the 1st leg.
Ronaldo7
30-07-2004, 06:37 PM
happy with the draw , but football is a funny game . still remember the 1-0 away defeat to a team from hungary the last time we need to qualify for the CL :alien:
RuMmYtUb
30-07-2004, 06:52 PM
What SG time is it for the Man Utd vs AC match ah ??
2004 Champions World Series - Manchester Utd vs AC Milan (Live & Exclusive)1st August 12.55am
RuMmYtUb
30-07-2004, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
2004 Champions World Series - Manchester Utd vs AC Milan (Live & Exclusive)1st August 12.55am
hmm meaning saturday nite ? thx :D
ALAN Smith has become an instant hit in the Manchester United ranks and surprised his new colleagues.
The £6m import from Leeds has taken little under a month of pre-season training and two American tour matches to wow his Old Trafford team-mates.
Smith opened his Reds goal account against Celtic in Philadelphia on Wednesday night and is set to face AC Milan in New Jersey's Giants Stadium tomorrow.
And Ryan Giggs is most impressed.
"There are certain players you see playing for other sides and you don't fully appreciate them. It isn't until you see them first hand playing in training and playing alongside you that you realise how good a player they are. I think Alan Smith is one of those players," Giggs said.
"He has impressed everyone in training and in the two games on this tour. As a striker you want to score goals and it is good that he has got off the mark early. "What has impressed me is his overall game. You can play it up to him and he can hold the ball up well. He has got a good touch and is good in the air. He is strong.
"Louis Saha plays a bit similar to him in the way he holds the ball up. The manager has certainly got a headache now with the quality players he has assembled up front.
Aggression
"That is what we need. It brings the best out of any player in any department knowing that if you don't perform then there is a player who can come in and take your place. Aggression is naturally in Alan's game and I think the fans like that. He is not over-aggressive but he does add power.
"I think maybe we have lacked a little aggression up front but Alan likes that physical aspect of the game. He has shown that already for us. I think once we get the full squad together by the start of the season I think you will see Alan improve and thrive even more.
"I think that being at United he will get more chances than he did at Leeds and the likes of myself and Scholesy will look to create opportunities for him.
"He is a good option to have. It depends on who you are playing against and maybe Alan will be better and more effective in some games than others. It's just a great headache for the manager to have.
"As a wide player you look to areas. You know your own players and I know for instance where Ruud is going to be and I can put the ball in there. I know what sort of player Louis is now and I know what sort of service suits him and I am getting to know Alan."
Paul Scholes and Mikael Silvestre have bolstered Fergie's choice to face the Italians and Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha are set to tone up against Urawa Red Diamonds and PSV Eindhoven in the Old Trafford Vodafone Cup next Tuesday and Thursday.
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/125/125530_giggs_smiths_a_smash_hit.html
guoquanyap
30-07-2004, 11:56 PM
happy with the draw , but football is a funny game . still remember the 1-0 away defeat to a team from hungary the last time we need to qualify for the CL :alien:
but we did win 5-0 at home....:cool:
Ronaldo7
31-07-2004, 12:01 AM
we got the away leg first this time too ;)
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 12:03 AM
giggs....i wan vicente to replace him but dun seem possible...u need pace and gd ball control in order to play at flank....so far onli ronaldo seem capble...richardson seem promising but he seem to not improve at all.....he will fade away eventually....
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 12:27 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Champions League 3rd round qualifying draw: We play against either Zilina or Dinamo Bucuresti.
Most likely we play Dinamo Bucuresti. They won 1-0 away against Zilina in the 1st leg.
prefer to meet zilina leh...dinamo is strong
usjag_18
31-07-2004, 12:40 AM
prefer to meet zilina leh...dinamo is strong
ermm, aint it good 2 meet up with a stronger team now, so that can test the new team spirits and their games. Man Utd seldom failed to qualify though but the team still must be careful with any opponents.
Regards,
O'
RuMmYtUb
31-07-2004, 12:47 AM
Yes i love agression :D
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 01:04 AM
ermm, aint it good 2 meet up with a stronger team now, so that can test the new team spirits and their games. Man Utd seldom failed to qualify though but the team still must be careful with any opponents.
Regards,
O'
test of cos u can test w other matches but surely not at the expense of CL....most impt is to get into the group stage b4 u talk abt testing team spirit and so on....
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 01:08 AM
i dun think any managers is praying to the god b4 the draw is make....'pls let mi meet a very strong team in order to test my team spirit, pls pls pls' that incule fergie as well cos they know they hav lots of matches to test and surely not at CL where u stand to earn up to 20million pound and a trophy which everyone desire....
alvinoyw
31-07-2004, 01:09 AM
Anyone worried that ManUtd havent make any good signings so far, aside from smith? I'm a little worried that Liverpool and Chelsea are getting stronger now
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 01:15 AM
Originally posted by alvinoyw
Anyone worried that ManUtd havent make any good signings so far, aside from smith? I'm a little worried that Liverpool and Chelsea are getting stronger now
well ppl are saying we dun worry abt wat others does...seriously u got to face it...we domimate the epl for a decade so far....
and chelsea hav already spend up to 100+million pound on players and their $$ is jus like bottomless pit....i watch chelsea played against Roma...they are strong
alvinoyw
31-07-2004, 01:25 AM
Yeah but it's not like we're broke or something, at least sign a midfielder fergie!!!
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 01:54 AM
Yeah but it's not like we're broke or something, at least sign a midfielder fergie!!!
dun worry...transfer window end 31aug....:cool:
RuMmYtUb
31-07-2004, 02:16 AM
Seriously i prefer Man Utd to be quieter and not be in the spotlight. Cos the team always succumb to intense media pressure etc...
I'd rather they have a low profile pre-season so the players can perform better.. Don't care about other teams :D
Kleberson out for 3 weeks. :(
United have suffered an injury blow with the news that Brazilian midfielder Kleberson is set to miss the start of the new Premiership season.
Kleberson picked up a knee injury as Brazil won the Copa America in Peru this month and he is set to be out of action for three weeks ruling him out of the big kick-off.
http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,53-1145814,00.html
Scholes and Silvestre join the squad in US. :evil:
http://tinyurl.com/5fmqc
More US training pic (http://tinyurl.com/67lyd)
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 10:07 AM
http://ourworld.cs.com/abbeyebay/butt.jpg
Ronaldo7
31-07-2004, 10:36 AM
Originally posted by RVN
United have suffered an injury blow with the news that Brazilian midfielder Kleberson is set to miss the start of the new Premiership season.
Kleberson picked up a knee injury as Brazil won the Copa America in Peru this month and he is set to be out of action for three weeks ruling him out of the big kick-off.
not again :(
Ronaldo7
31-07-2004, 10:42 AM
http://ourworld.cs.com/abbeyebay/butt.jpg
Butt looking for a new challenge at Newcastle
By Rob Stewart
NEWCASTLE, England, July 30 (Reuters) - Nicky Butt is seeking a new challenge and will not be resting on his laurels following his move to Newcastle United from premier league rivals Manchester United.
The 29-year-old midfielder helped United win six league titles, two FA Cups and the 1999 Champions League trophy before joining Newcastle for a reported two million pounds ($3.63 million).
He comes to a club who have won nothing since the Fairs Cup in 1969. They were last league champions in 1927 and FA Cup winners in 1955.
"I've not come here to sit on my backside, thinking my best days are behind me, I'm here to win more trophies and if I didn't think that was possible I wouldn't be here," Butt told reporters on Friday.
"I'm not really one for looking backwards at what I've achieved, I only look forward and I'm looking forward to winning things here at this club. My trophy count is zero at this club like everyone else here. What I won before is in the past.
"It takes hard work but I'm sure that with the players we've got here that we can win something. We certainly have the potential."
Butt, who struggled to secure a first-team place at United last season following injury problems, said he felt "a mixture of emotions" on his move to Tyneside.
"I feel excited about coming to a club like Newcastle with a massive reputation and massive fan base and great players but I've been at Manchester United since I was 13 and it was very hard to leave there," he added.
"It will be strange pulling on a Newcastle shirt but that's only natural when you come to a new club when you've been somewhere for a long time.
"But it's nice, I'm excited by it and I want to fulfil my potential here, it's as simple as that."
OKK77
31-07-2004, 10:46 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Damn it. |=
leo_llw
31-07-2004, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by OKK77
Damn it. |=
why damn. he's not even in the United starting eleven anyway
he's not like Keane to Spurs or Campbell to Arsenal :rolleyes:
Yellowfin
31-07-2004, 11:10 AM
Before the season start, Man U got players injury and players not available.
Not a good sign..........hopefully by mid-season everything will be ok.
RuMmYtUb
31-07-2004, 11:34 AM
Butt looks nice in the Newcastle jersey, wish him all the best :)
OKK77
31-07-2004, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by leo_llw
why damn. he's not even in the United starting eleven anyway
he's not like Keane to Spurs or Campbell to Arsenal :rolleyes:
I was hoping he could get better this season but at this rate,... oh well.
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 11:53 AM
Originally posted by OKK77
I was hoping he could get better this season but at this rate,... oh well.
i can use my finger to count the number of matches he had play for us....:angel:
OKK77
31-07-2004, 11:56 AM
i can use my finger to count the number of matches he had play for us....:angel:
Yeah, what a waste for a "world cup winner".
OKK77
31-07-2004, 11:57 AM
Good lord, something's wrong with my eyes. I thought he is out for 3 months!
jacqles
31-07-2004, 01:42 PM
We're really gonna miss Butt .. all the best to him :(:(:(:(:(
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004350711,00.jpg
From NEIL CUSTIS
in New York
ALEX FERGUSON wants to beat Arsenal to the Premiership more than he wants the European Cup.
Fergie, here with Manchester United for today’s Champions World match against AC Milan, admitted: “It has become such a competitive league now.
“I remember when we started in the European Cup I just kept talking about the European Cup.
“But the rivalries and intensities in the league are so great you’re sometimes sidetracked into that.
“The rivalries have become more intense — maybe beating each other is more important than beating teams in Europe. Two out of the top four managers lost their jobs last season because they did not win the league.”
Inevitably, United boss Fergie and Arsenal chief Arsene Wenger will be at centre stage — as rivals but never friends.
Ferguson said: “What sets us apart is our teams are successful. That’s as good a reason as any. If we weren’t, who’s to say what might have happened.
“A lot of what people say about the relationship between us is nonsense and I don’t take much notice of it. You don’t have time to, because you have to concentrate on what you’re doing yourself.
“The thing about Arsene is that he never comes into my office for a drink after the game, but I think that is maybe a European thing.”
Fergie finished 15 points behind Arsenal last season, something he does not see happening again.
He said: “You only have to look at how Manchester United have reacted to adversity in the past.
“In seasons after we have not fulfilled expectations we have bounced back.”
The Reds were yesterday drawn against either Dinamo Bucharest or Zilina with the first leg on Wednesday August 11.
The Reds face Arsenal in the Community Shield three days earlier.
And Fergie feared he would have to field an entire reserve side for the Cardiff showpiece if the first-leg clash in either Romania or Slovakia had been on the Tuesday.
But the Old Trafford boss is still likely to rest most of his stars ahead of the trip to Eastern Europe.
Dinamo take a 1-0 lead into Wednesday’s second leg at home to Zilina.
And Fergie admitted: “This is a tricky draw.
“It looks like it’s going to be Dinamo who have a good history in European football and we will not be able to treat them lightly.
“The Community Shield will be difficult in terms of what team I pick.”
guoquanyap
31-07-2004, 02:24 PM
today vs AC....got to field full squad and win today man!! if win today at least can gain back some support and not kana boo again...so far pre-season preparation has not been very gd and smooth....lots of problem leh....
today vs AC....got to field full squad and win today man!! if win today at least can gain back some support and not kana boo again...but will be very hard :( :mad:
Tough to win especially without Ronaldo, Ruud and Saha. :(
Hopefully can see Smithy score. :D
http://msn.foxsports.com/id/2615708_7_1.jpg
Ronaldo7
31-07-2004, 08:12 PM
Ferguson happy with draw
Sir Alex Ferguson found two reasons to be cheerful with the Champions League qualifying draw even if it is set to send United into the unknown.
If, as expected, Dinamo Bucharest can protect the single goal advantage they gained from the away leg of their tussle with MSK Zilina when the sides meet again next Wednesday, United would make their first-ever visit to Romania for a competitive game.
Information on the former army side will not be extensive but, having succeeded in getting the first leg scheduled for Wednesday 11 August and having avoided six-times finalists and dangerous non-seeds Benfica, Ferguson is happy to accept a minor lack of knowledge as the one negative aspect of the draw.
"Bucharest is only two-and-a-half hours away, so we don't have the length of travel that we might have got," admitted the Scot. "And when you look at the draw and see Benfica playing against Anderlecht, that is something else we are glad to have avoided.
"But we know about the history of Dinamo Bucharest and we are aware this could be a tricky tie."
rethel
31-07-2004, 08:41 PM
Ferguson happy with draw
Sir Alex Ferguson found two reasons to be cheerful with the Champions League qualifying draw even if it is set to send United into the unknown.
If, as expected, Dinamo Bucharest can protect the single goal advantage they gained from the away leg of their tussle with MSK Zilina when the sides meet again next Wednesday, United would make their first-ever visit to Romania for a competitive game.
Information on the former army side will not be extensive but, having succeeded in getting the first leg scheduled for Wednesday 11 August and having avoided six-times finalists and dangerous non-seeds Benfica, Ferguson is happy to accept a minor lack of knowledge as the one negative aspect of the draw.
"Bucharest is only two-and-a-half hours away, so we don't have the length of travel that we might have got," admitted the Scot. "And when you look at the draw and see Benfica playing against Anderlecht, that is something else we are glad to have avoided.
"But we know about the history of Dinamo Bucharest and we are aware this could be a tricky tie."
he need to say that to satisfy himself
no, becos he want us to go through.
and what is that in your avatar? :mad:
Ch3tah_39
31-07-2004, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he is juz a :rolleyes:
Alienz
31-07-2004, 11:12 PM
Originally posted by RVN
he need to DO that to satisfy himself
=p
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 12:20 AM
match starting in 1/2 hr time...wonder wat will be the starting line-up....got to win!! :bounce: :bounce:
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 12:30 AM
wont see jaap stam today..:( AC didnt not bring him for the tour...wont see him making debut for AC against Us....:cool:
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 12:54 AM
Starting soon.
This is our starting 11
---------------------Howard------------------
Bardsley-------Brown--------G.Neville-----Silvestre
Bellion---------Keane------Djemba-Djemba---Giggs
--------------------------Scholes----------------
---------------------Smith-----------------------
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 12:59 AM
I want Spector!:(
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 01:01 AM
which chn ?
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 01:10 AM
OKK77
01-08-2004, 01:12 AM
Milan is full strength. kaoz. Crespo partnering Sheva.
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 01:21 AM
Scholes almost...
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 01:44 AM
GOAAALL! Paul scholes scored.
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 02:03 AM
at least today play much like out oldself....giggs missed a very chance...jus shoot lah still pull back....
smith impress...
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 02:05 AM
Ya lor, Giggs deleey daleey.. :(
Smith is gd, nv show much of his holding up skills but milan players keep fouling him
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 02:34 AM
Howard power! Like that also can save. Haha.
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 03:02 AM
Damn lar, stupid foul and shevchenko equalised, down to penalties.
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 03:17 AM
Nabei 9-8 now!!!:o
Howard gonna shoot ....... against Dida
Fook howard missed... hit post. Suay.:(
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 03:19 AM
No victories in USA :(
But today's match was gd for the youngsters, i forsee some gd stuffs coming for Eagles and Spector :D
Gd future for the Red Devils :smoking:
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 03:24 AM
haiz last mins goal again....still remember against porto...:mad: :mad:
knn :mad:
We should have won it, won't have needed penalties. :(
Hope we win the vodafone cup next week to make up for it. ;)
ericsoon72
01-08-2004, 03:48 AM
man u needs to concentrate more in the later part of the matches
Originally posted by ericsoon72
man u needs to concentrate more in the later part of the matches
Added to the fact they should never have been given that freekick they scored from cause it was a dive by crespo!:mad:
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:06 AM
What is the fulltime score?
Never mind, I found it. Missed it just now. Hehehee....=p
Anyway, no big deal, as long as they perform better in CL, Premier League and other league cups, people will soon forget about these 3 matches. What humans are very good @ is FORGETFUL.
After awhile, all of us might just forget unless some newspaper brought it up.
Regards,
O'
Alienz
01-08-2004, 07:07 AM
What is the fulltime score?
fulltime score 1 - 1
33' [1 - 0] P. Scholes
90' [1 - 1] A. Shevchenko
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:11 AM
fulltime score 1 - 1
33' [1 - 0] P. Scholes
90' [1 - 1] A. Shevchenko
Last min goal again? Darn.:mad:
Manchester United rounded off their poor pre-season tour of the United States of America with a penalty shoot-out defeat to Italian giants AC Milan after Andriy Shevchenko struck 7 seconds from time to cancel out a first-half Paul Scholes goal.
The Red Devils suffered penalty misery during their first game against Bayern Munich and lost 2-1 to Scottish champions Celtic prior to this loss.
Members of the American press criticized Sir Alex Ferguson for not taking the tour seriously by bringing youth and fringe players and leaving out his stars but fielded a slightly stronger squad for this fixture.
Euro 2004 competitors Paul Scholes and Mikael Silvestre joined up with he squad to make their first appearance on the tour. Ryan Giggs and Wes Brown also started despite minor injuries.
AC Milan captain Paolo Maldini got the game off to a lively start after heading wide and was involved in a controversial penalty decision moments later.
Maldini tripped Paul Scholes inside the box but much to the surprise of the New York crowd, referee Kevin Scott turned down the strong appeal.
Shevchenko and Kaka went close to breaking the deadlock with respective efforts before Wes Brown headed over from just yards out thanks to a Ryan Giggs cross.
But the deadlock was broken on the 33rd minute. A bad defensive error from Alessandro Nesta allowed Paul Scholes to fire home past AC keeper Dida.
Scholes continued to parade his attacking talents after the interval, heading agonisingly wide from a Mikael Silvestre ball. Diego Forlan replaced the England international soon after.
Great vision and link-up play from Cafu and Hernan Crespo released the latter to attempt an audacious back-heel but has saved by Howard.
United thought they had won the game until a surprise close-range Andriy Shevchenko goal wiped the smiles off the faces of United's player and fans alike.
The Ukrainian forced the game to go into a dreaded penalty-shootout. Diego Forlan, Alan Smith, Chris Eagles, Wes Brown, Kieran Richardson, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Gary Neville and Phil Neville all converted their penalty but Roy Keane and Tim Howard both missed to give the Italians the win.
Full Time - Manchester United 1-1 AC Milan
AC Milan win 9-8 on penalties
Manchester United: Howard, Bardsley (P Neville), G Neville, Brown, Silvestre (Spector), Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Bellion (Eagles), Giggs (Richardson), Scholes (Forlan), Smith
http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s237/st56155.htm?fromrss=1
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:17 AM
Whoa, the new webby design a bit *****(I don't know how 2 describe, so I put asterik, not scolding the webby)
The cursor moved to the wordings and notice they are in YELLOW!! My goodness, I am going blind soon.
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:24 AM
Roy Keane missed PENALTY KICK???
He just commented on the young players for not taking the game seriously and he did the same mistake himself?
Great vision and link-up play from Cafu and Hernan Crespo released the latter to attempt an audacious back-heel but has saved by Howard.
Btw, how did Tim Howard save this ball? It must be very hard to save such ball?
The family of U.S. sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer is in talks with banks to raise cash for a takeover of Manchester United, the world's richest soccer club, the Sunday Times reported.
Glazer, who owns American football team the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, has built up a stake of 50.27 million shares, or 19.17 percent of the British soccer club.
Neither the Glazer family, nor Manchester United could be reached for comment on Saturday evening.
United, which finished third in England's premier league in the 2003-04 season, has been the subject of persistent bid speculation since its two biggest shareholders began building up their stakes in recent months.
Irish racehorse owners John Magnier and J.P. McManus own 28.9 percent, although sources close to them have told Reuters they are long-term investors rather than potential bidders.
Malcolm Glazer's son, Joel, is leading talks with U.S. investment banks, the newspaper said, without citing sources. It said Joel Glazer had also approached Germany's Commerzbank, which has an established relationship with the family.
Although Glazer said in March he had no plans to launch a bid for Manchester United, a source close to the situation told Reuters at that time he could still make an offer in the future.
The Sunday Times said Magnier and McManus have told associates they would be prepared to sell their 28.9 percent stake, held by their investment vehicle, Cubic Expression.
But the paper said there were doubts whether the Glazer family could raise enough cash for a full takeover.
The Glazers are also looking at increasing their stake in the club but keeping it below the 30 percent threshold, after which they would be forced to take over the whole company.
"They want to gain control of United, but want to try to do it as cheaply as possible. A 29 percent stake would be a controlling stake, but not if the Irish also have 29 percent," the newspaper quoted a source familiar with the Glazers' plans as saying.
Shares in Manchester United closed at 253-1/2 pence on Friday, valuing the firm at around 660 million pounds ($1.20 billion).
http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=sportsNews&storyID=5835603
Alienz
01-08-2004, 07:25 AM
Last min goal again? Darn.:mad:
still remember United like to score last min goals during their treble cup season.... now since like pay back time http://www.anchoredbygrace.com/smileys/angryfire.gif
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:49 AM
still remember United like to score last min goals during their treble cup season.... now since like pay back time http://www.anchoredbygrace.com/smileys/angryfire.gif
Ermm.... I feel like laughing out... Because of your smiley. Anyway, that's not the point.
The point is, I guess so, maybe it's pay-back time in your opinion, but to mine, it's either luck or due to defenders' sloppiness:mad:.
Regards,
O'
usjag_18
01-08-2004, 07:51 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Irish racehorse owners John Magnier and J.P. McManus own 28.9 percent, although sources close to them have told Reuters they are long-term investors rather than potential bidders.
The Sunday Times said Magnier and McManus have told associates they would be prepared to sell their 28.9 percent stake, held by their investment vehicle, Cubic Expression.
Are J.Magnier and J.P. McManus prepared to sell their shares? Because if they not willing, I don't think Man Utd fan shareholders willing to sell theirs, so I don't think Glazier family will be able to get more shares.
Regards,
O'
trax06
01-08-2004, 09:12 AM
it better be a gd takeover..with alot of cash. ie Roman.
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 09:30 AM
Originally posted by trax06
it better be a gd takeover..with alot of cash. ie Roman.
Noooo... look what happened to Chelsea in their first season.
Ronaldo7
01-08-2004, 10:10 AM
Noooo... look what happened to Chelsea in their first season.
true , we don't need a sugar daddy lah & i think a takeover won't go down well with some of the fans :rolleyes:
btw , another good game for smith :evil:
Ch3tah_39
01-08-2004, 10:20 AM
wah penalties score is 8-9
:eek:
MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 10:29 AM
true , we don't need a sugar daddy lah & i think a takeover won't go down well with some of the fans :rolleyes:
btw , another good game for smith :evil:
Smith looks skilful man... the way he hold up ball and made Milan players keep fouling him. Good partner for Ruud or Saha... cos he likes to drop deep.
RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 10:46 AM
Smith has always been gd, high commitment levels...
Btw we're NOT FOR SALE!
cracker
01-08-2004, 11:06 AM
having seen the match (only from second half onward)...
not sure how serious both sides treated the match....but quite heartening to see the Utd's youngster putting up a good show against their more established opponent.
We might be seeing more of Chris Eagles in the new season. He will definitely compete with Fletcher for the either the central or right flank.
Ch3tah_39
01-08-2004, 11:19 AM
gd to see smith is performing..:)
rethel
01-08-2004, 11:45 AM
eh can i post porn here ?
beckz11
01-08-2004, 04:44 PM
Originally posted by cracker
having seen the match (only from second half onward)...
not sure how serious both sides treated the match....but quite heartening to see the Utd's youngster putting up a good show against their more established opponent.
We might be seeing more of Chris Eagles in the new season. He will definitely compete with Fletcher for the either the central or right flank.
his style is very very similiar to fletcher sia the way he pass n dribble
eh can i post porn here ?
No, can you please get lost, you retard. :laugh:
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 06:30 PM
Roy Keane missed PENALTY KICK???
He just commented on the young players for not taking the game seriously and he did the same mistake himself?
keano take a gd penalty but the keeper make a better save....
guoquanyap
01-08-2004, 06:38 PM
Smith looks skilful man... the way he hold up ball and made Milan players keep fouling him. Good partner for Ruud or Saha... cos he likes to drop deep.
ya and maldini keep fouling him....lol
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.