PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

MatrixFanatic
01-08-2004, 07:09 PM
Originally posted by beckz11

his style is very very similiar to fletcher sia the way he pass n dribble

Not to mention that both are skinny.:rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
01-08-2004, 07:26 PM
channel 22 will be showing the vodafone cup

utd vs psv , tue 355am

utd vs urawa , fri 355am

:D

Ch3tah_39
01-08-2004, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by rethel
eh can i post porn here ?

:alien: :alien:

Ronaldo7
01-08-2004, 09:56 PM
United will compete in transfer market, says Gill

Manchester United supremo David Gill has warned their main Premiership rivals they can and will compete with them in the transfer market.

In a thinly-veiled reference to money-bags Chelsea and the £90m the Londoners have spent in the close season, chief executive Gill was defiant.

Although Gill discounted any move for Wayne Rooney at the reported £30m-plus price tag, he insisted United had the financial muscle to compete for the best players.

Gill told Radio 5 Live's Sportsweek programme: "We may not be top kings any more but we are nearly there when it comes to money. If you look at it, we can compete aggressively and sensibly in the transfer market and will continue to do so.

"We will continue to invest heavily in the squad. We have spent £14m in the close season, and roughly £12m on Louis Saha in January. We are investing in the squad and we should not be throwing our hands up in horror and saying we cannot compete.

"We can compete, we are a very profitable company and a very well supported club. That means we have the financial assets to compete in the transfer market. Anyone who thinks we can't should watch this space!"

United are on their way back from the USA after their tour ended with a 1-1 draw with AC Milan, and they are again being linked with Everton's England striker Rooney.

But Gill claims they are not about to snap up the 18-year-old star.

He said: "You look at prices being mentioned as to being £30m to £50m, and that is way off the mark.

"We do not comment on transfers but on this occasion I can say that there has been no direct contact."

;)

RVN
01-08-2004, 10:10 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson believes the young kids on the block have good reason to be proud of themselves.

While Manchester United lost all three games on tour of the United States, there were some encouraging performances during the three-game 10-day stay.

Players like Phil Bardsley, Chris Eagles, Jonathan Spector and Kieran Richardson were all given lengthy run-outs.

They all performed to a good level and Ferguson took heart from their displays.

Asked whether he felt his side had given the American fans who packed into the Giants Stadium good value for money, the Old Trafford boss said: "We are very conscious of that, that is why I brought Paul (Scholes) and Mikael Silvestre out.

"But it is hard for American people to understand the culture of Manchester United.

"We do play young players, we have a great history and culture of playing young players.

"This was an opportunity for them to prove what they are worth and give them the incentive to push on. The young players who played in America have not done themselves any harm."

United went down 9-8 on penalties to AC Milan after being only seven seconds away from achieving victory.

Andriy Shevchenko equalised to take the game into a penalty shoot-out after Scholes had put United ahead.

But goalkeeper Tim Howard missed his spot kick to hand the Italians an unlikely victory.

The defeat came on the back of losses to Bayern Munich, also on penalties, and Celtic.

Ferguson, however, would swap pre-season success for a safe passage in Europe as his side look ahead to a Champions League qualifier first leg against either MSK Zilina or Dynamo Bucharest on August 11.

"You would like to win pre-season friendlies but the important thing is to get to the August 11 and to get my best 11 players to take us hopefully into the next stage of European football," he said.

"You have to look at the long view and it is about bringing players on gradually.

"The important thing is to come away with something from a game.

"Wes Brown, Mikael Silvestre, Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs got back into the fray and that was a bonus for me.

"Milan had good experience about them and it was a decent game.

"We are not unhappy with the result. Considering the heat and the dry pitch, we still managed to control the game."

United made the breakthrough in the 33rd minute following a mistake by Alessandro Nesta.

He directed a cross from David Bellion straight into the path of Scholes.

It was a gilt-edged chance for the midfielder, who scored 12 goals last season, and he wasted no time in rattling a shot beyond Dida.

United dictated the pace of the game until Shevchenko's late late equaliser which took the game into penalty kicks, which stretched over 17 minutes.

Howard handed the game to Milan when his spot-kick came back off the post but Ferguson was in no mood to criticise his goalkeeper.

Ferguson joked: "Thank God Tim missed because Carlo Ancelotti (Milan coach) and I were next.

"You have to say the quality of penalties was absolutely fantastic. There was only one direct save and the whole thing took 17 minutes.

"I didn't say anything to Tim at the end of the match. I thought he played well and had a good game."

United were due home on Sunday but will have little time for rest as they host the Vodafone Cup this week.

Next up are PSV Eindhoven at Old Trafford on Tuesday when Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha are expected to play their first pre-season matches.

Darren Fletcher and Quinton Fortune have been pencilled in for the match on Thursday against Urawa Red Diamonds after recovering from injury.

Ferguson said: "The thing uppermost in my mind is how van Nistelrooy, Saha, Fletcher and Fortune are.

"If they have trained at the right levels then they will play.

"I am quite sure about van Nistelrooy and Saha for Tuesday and Thursday.

"Fletcher may play on Thursday as well as Quinton Fortune."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/08/01/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Nightlead.html&TEAMHD=soccer

beckz11
01-08-2004, 11:43 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic

Not to mention that both are skinny.:rolleyes:

and SLOW....

RuMmYtUb
01-08-2004, 11:50 PM

and SLOW....

Eagles way faster than Fletcher wor :D

beckz11
02-08-2004, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

agree

guoquanyap
02-08-2004, 12:43 AM

but fletcher more physical and stronger...and i believe fletcher will be the nx scholes...i am jus too impress w his vision and reading of the game....

Spock
02-08-2004, 12:45 AM
I think he's more light weighted, resembles beckham more than scholes both in the way he plays and his stamina..

Originally posted by guoquanyap

but fletcher more physical and stronger...and i believe fletcher will be the nx scholes...i am jus too impress w his vision and reading of the game....

usjag_18
02-08-2004, 03:53 AM

keano take a gd penalty but the keeper make a better save....

Oh okay. I thought he missed the penalty kick hitting the post or what.

Btw, I don't think it's bad that there is takeover if I am a business person. HOWEVER, being a life-long fan of Manchester United, I am hopping that there will be no TAKEOVER. Anyway, there won't be one. Glazier just want to increase his shares, I don't think he will have the power to takeover Manchester United yet.

Another thing is Glazier is not super rich. He is a billionaire, BUT, he's only 1/10 of what Roman Abramovich having. If we really hope that Man Utd attracts any rich men attention, we should aim for someone richer than Roman Abramovich which WE DO NOT NEED because those rich people who destroy the important issue in the club. Just like Roman, all he wanna is the BEST PLAYERS, but he never really think of what a club really need, all he's thinking is PROFIT.

Regards,
O'

RVN
02-08-2004, 04:38 PM
Diego Forlan has urged Manchester United not to do the inevitable and sell him this summer.

The Uruguayan has been lined up for a loan move to Atletico Madrid but would dearly love another chance to prove he is worthy of a regular place at Old Trafford.

After appearing in the Copa America for his country, the much-maligned striker joined United on their American tour but, although he could argue he had little chance to rest, his performances once again did little to suggest he will oust Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha or Alan Smith from the starting line-up.

"I do not want to leave United," he pledged.

"I am aware of all the speculation about my future, but nobody at the club has told me I am being sold.

"And, certainly, I do not want to go.

"I still think I can do a good job for the team.

"I have proved that, when I get a decent run of games, I start scoring. But the longest run I have had is six matches.

"I just need another chance to show the manager and the fans that I can still be a part of the future of the team.

"I love this club and I want to go on being a United player."

Nevertheless, a switch to La Liga may be in the best interests of the South American, who has struggled to impress since arriving from Independiente.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=217263

RVN
02-08-2004, 04:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39909000/jpg/_39909598_manutd_203x152gi.jpg

Manchester United's forward line should be at full strength this week as Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha are set to return to the side.
The duo, who stayed in Manchester to work on their fitness instead of going on the US tour, should face PSV Eindhoven in Tuesday's Vodafone Cup.

"The thing uppermost in my mind is how Van Nistelrooy and Saha are," said United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

"If they have trained at the right levels I'm certain they'll play."

After relying on Van Nistelrooy for much of last season, Ferguson will be pleased he has more attacking options ahead of the new campaign.

New £7m signing Alan Smith has already staked his claim to a first-team spot by impressing during the friendlies in America.

"He has been away with the team and shown the type of player he is," said Ferguson.

"He plays with great heart, is a busy centre-forward and I think he will do well."

Midfielders Darren Fletcher and Quinton Fortune are also ready to start their competitive pre-season tune-ups.

But the midfield pair are more likely to face Japan's Urawa Red Diamonds at Old Trafford on Thursday.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3527086.stm

Ch3tah_39
02-08-2004, 04:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Diego Forlan has urged Manchester United not to do the inevitable and sell him this summer.

The Uruguayan has been lined up for a loan move to Atletico Madrid but would dearly love another chance to prove he is worthy of a regular place at Old Trafford.

After appearing in the Copa America for his country, the much-maligned striker joined United on their American tour but, although he could argue he had little chance to rest, his performances once again did little to suggest he will oust Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha or Alan Smith from the starting line-up.

"I do not want to leave United," he pledged.

"I am aware of all the speculation about my future, but nobody at the club has told me I am being sold.

"And, certainly, I do not want to go.

"I still think I can do a good job for the team.

"I have proved that, when I get a decent run of games, I start scoring. But the longest run I have had is six matches.

"I just need another chance to show the manager and the fans that I can still be a part of the future of the team.

"I love this club and I want to go on being a United player."

Nevertheless, a switch to La Liga may be in the best interests of the South American, who has struggled to impress since arriving from Independiente.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=217263

:( sad to see if he is really being sold

guoquanyap
02-08-2004, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39

:( sad to see if he is really being sold

no point letting forlan go on cheap...unless we hav some other striker in mind to bring in, we should let forlan stay to hav a healthy number of strikers....

RVN
03-08-2004, 07:17 AM
omg look at rio hair. :alien:

:laugh:

http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/51136161.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DE5CC12330C0B846087206A8D575AB4505442F5DBB9B6EE89D

uRiZEn
03-08-2004, 09:58 AM
Originally posted by RVN

http://cache.gettyimages.com/comp/51136161.jpg?x=x&dasite=MS_GINS&ef=2&ev=1&dareq=E2399169AC85D6DE5CC12330C0B846087206A8D575AB4505442F5DBB9B6EE89D

got error.

usjag_18
03-08-2004, 01:49 PM

no point letting forlan go on cheap...unless we hav some other striker in mind to bring in, we should let forlan stay to hav a healthy number of strikers....

We do have a healthy number of strikers, but either too young w/o experience or cannot play 4 man utd yet. For eg, there are Eddie Johnson, Dong Fangzhou. But it's good for them to experience outside world...

Btw, I don't think we should sell Forlan cheap. Need to wait for awhile more. At least, we can rest Saha and RVN sometimes and put Forlan and Smith together. However, I hope Forlan will change his one-man show attitude. It's really wrong for him 2 control the ball all the way, and truthfully, he's not even half as good as Ryan Giggs or Ronaldo when it comes to controlling ball.

As for other topic like Eagles like Fletcher, I never see Eagles play before, I can't comment but I will comment something on Fletcher. He's good but sometimes, he hesitates too much when it comes to shooting or passing ball. I dun think he's like Scholes @ all. At least when it comes to shooting, Scholes never hesitates. Whereas, Fletcher is more cautious type. And he's not like Beckham too, Beckham also like shooting too. Fletcher either hesitates when it comes to shooting or passing. It's a very bad habit. If you guys never notice, you guys should really notice. He's not really slow, he's more like HESITATING.

Regards,
O'

beckz11
03-08-2004, 02:18 PM
btw
fangzhou cannot play for us coz he dun have a permit
&
ya i agree forlan like to take ball n solo and most of the time either spoil man utd play or lose the ball...
the only thing i like about him is he shoots hard
long shot power

cracker
03-08-2004, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by usjag_18

We do have a healthy number of strikers, but either too young w/o experience or cannot play 4 man utd yet. For eg, there are Eddie Johnson, Dong Fangzhou. But it's good for them to experience outside world...

Btw, I don't think we should sell Forlan cheap. Need to wait for awhile more. At least, we can rest Saha and RVN sometimes and put Forlan and Smith together. However, I hope Forlan will change his one-man show attitude. It's really wrong for him 2 control the ball all the way, and truthfully, he's not even half as good as Ryan Giggs or Ronaldo when it comes to controlling ball.

As for other topic like Eagles like Fletcher, I never see Eagles play before, I can't comment but I will comment something on Fletcher. He's good but sometimes, he hesitates too much when it comes to shooting or passing ball. I dun think he's like Scholes @ all. At least when it comes to shooting, Scholes never hesitates. Whereas, Fletcher is more cautious type. And he's not like Beckham too, Beckham also like shooting too. Fletcher either hesitates when it comes to shooting or passing. It's a very bad habit. If you guys never notice, you guys should really notice. He's not really slow, he's more like HESITATING.

Regards,
O'

we cant the compare the present Scholes with Eagels or Fletcher (both abt 19 ~21).

Scholes is almost 10 yrs the senior of the other 2 !

Players tat we had seen from 18 to 30s is Ryan Giggs and Michael Owen from 18 till now.

Beckham, Scholes, Nevile make the starting 11 for Utd when they were abt 22 to 23,,,during the 96 season. Though they did make quite alot of appearances in the 95 season when cantona was banned for his kung-fu kick. Prior to tat we only saw them making a few sub appearance in the 95 season.

So let's give this players the new season to prove their capability instead of making constant comparison with the current squad.

LiquidSilver
03-08-2004, 10:34 PM
I believe the Dong fangzhou signing is purely marketing. Remember I read in Red Cafe of 1 report where he turned out for the loan side n totally cannot make it. maybe he's worth 50K, but definitely not the 3+ million paid. but if u consider the free transfers recently like eh... forgot the name of the guy who just left man U :p, he aint better than any of them. I'll be surprised if he ever do play in a senior game even years later

Ronaldo7
03-08-2004, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by RVN

wtf :rolleyes: he kana influence by ivan campo ?

guoquanyap
03-08-2004, 11:13 PM
OMG scholes quit england...really came as a massive shocked....happy cos he wont go for international duty which in turn benefit us as he will be fresher....

sad for england as hthey lost a great player at his peak.....

RuMmYtUb
03-08-2004, 11:38 PM
OMG scholes quit england...really came as a massive shocked....happy cos he wont go for international duty which in turn benefit us as he will be fresher....

sad for england as hthey lost a great player at his peak.....

Heck care England, he'll become a better player for us :evil:

guoquanyap
04-08-2004, 01:23 AM
vodafone cup starting tonite and ch22 showing all matches....hope manu can find another gem like wat how found ronaldo when playing pre-season match against sporting....:)

RuMmYtUb
04-08-2004, 01:27 AM
Yea hope so too... PSV are churning out so many gd young players..

RVN
04-08-2004, 06:16 AM
only won 1-0. Silvestre header goal.

RVN
04-08-2004, 07:54 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson believes Paul Scholes has quit international football for family reasons.

And the Manchester United boss said he had discussed the player's England future as far back as the beginning of last season.

Speaking after United's 1-0 Vodafone Cup win over PSV Eindhoven at Old Trafford, Ferguson said: "It's straightforward - he wants to spend more time with his family.

"I spoke to Paul nearly a year ago about it when he came to see me and wanted to think about it.

"At the end of the season before he left he said he'd speak to Sven (Goran Eriksson) about it and he did that and he's come to his decision."

Ferguson went on to pay tribute to Scholes' contribution for his country.

He said: "Paul has made a great contribution to England and I don't think he feels he's missing anything now.

"I think 66 caps is beyond an average international career, he is going out at the top and we respect his decision."

Ferguson went on to rubbish reports from Spain that Diego Forlan was set for a loan move to Levante.

Ferguson said: "I'm sure they are interested but they will not be getting him."

http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_1044321.html?menu=sport.football

Ronaldo7
04-08-2004, 01:33 PM
a brave decision by scholes :( now he can fully concentrate on manchester united :evil:

kennynaz
04-08-2004, 03:43 PM
good news for man utd about scholes retirement but not so good news about the forlan thing though....:(

to fergie, let that blonde crap go to Levante or anywhere he wants to... pleeaaseeee......:sad:

RVN
04-08-2004, 06:39 PM
1 - Tim Howard
2 - Gary Neville
3 - Phil Neville
4 - Gabriel Heinze
5 - Rio Ferdinand
6 - Wes Brown
7 - Cristiano Ronaldo
9 - Louis Saha
10 - Ruud Van Nistelrooy
11 - Ryan Giggs
12 - David Bellion
13 - Roy Caroll
14 - Alan Smith
15 - Kleberson
16 - Roy Keane
17 - Liam Miller
18 - Paul Scholes
19 - Eric Djemba Djemba
20 - Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
21 - Diego Forlan
22 - John O'Shea
23 - Kieran Richardson
24 - Darren Fletcher
25 - Quinton Fortune
26 - Phil Bardsley
27 - Mikael Silvestre
29 - Jon Spector
30 - Luke Steele
31 - David Jones
33 - Chris Eagles
35 - Ricardo
37 - Kenny Cooper
38 - Tom Heaton
39 - Paul Tierney

Source: RedCafe

http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=54432

greycat87
04-08-2004, 07:27 PM
wtf miller should be 8... and smith 17

Ronaldo7
04-08-2004, 07:31 PM
nvm lah . number don't really matters much :)

RVN
04-08-2004, 09:11 PM
Manchester United are signing Cologne youngster Ron-Robert Zieler on a three-year contract.

The 15-year-old keeper impressed Old Trafford officials with his performances in a youth tournament in Manchester and is due to link up with his new club next July.

The Premier Cup displays caught the eye and Zieler has done enough to clinch a dream move to the Premiership giants.

His father Raimunt Zieler confirmed the news to local Cologne newspaper Express.

"Despite this gigantic opportunity, Ron-Robert is quiet and remains calm," Zieler Senior told the German publication.

"In sporting terms he gives his best, but he is hardly talking about the subject, he is entirely focused on finishing school."

Sir Alex Ferguson is continuing his worldwide mission to bring some exciting young talent to United.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1146339,00.html

Yueming
04-08-2004, 10:23 PM

Oh okay. I thought he missed the penalty kick hitting the post or what.

Btw, I don't think it's bad that there is takeover if I am a business person. HOWEVER, being a life-long fan of Manchester United, I am hopping that there will be no TAKEOVER. Anyway, there won't be one. Glazier just want to increase his shares, I don't think he will have the power to takeover Manchester United yet.

Another thing is Glazier is not super rich. He is a billionaire, BUT, he's only 1/10 of what Roman Abramovich having. If we really hope that Man Utd attracts any rich men attention, we should aim for someone richer than Roman Abramovich which WE DO NOT NEED because those rich people who destroy the important issue in the club. Just like Roman, all he wanna is the BEST PLAYERS, but he never really think of what a club really need, all he's thinking is PROFIT.

Regards,
O'

hurhur.....anyone can imagine if we have microsoft on the red devils jersey? :P

guoquanyap
04-08-2004, 11:06 PM
ya prefer smith to take 17 as well then miller can take 14 lor....

RuMmYtUb
04-08-2004, 11:34 PM
4 for Heinze..

If he's a flop, i think the number 4 is cursed for Argentine players.

beckz11
04-08-2004, 11:37 PM
4 for Heinze..

hope not so coincidental bah.....

uRiZEn
04-08-2004, 11:41 PM
Originally posted by Yueming

hurhur.....anyone can imagine if we have microsoft on the red devils jersey? :P

No way!!
I will write an email to Steve Jobs to get him to bring his ideas and motivate the players heheh:D

RVN
05-08-2004, 07:38 AM
Paul Scholes arrived at his surprise decision to retire from international football after learning that his wife, Claire, is expecting the couple's third child, prompting him to put his family ahead of England.
Although the 29-year-old first discussed the possibility of quitting England with his Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson last summer, he remained uncertain until confirmation that his wife was pregnant. The arrival of a third child, expected in December, was decisive.

The attacking midfielder is expected to start this evening's Vodafone Cup game with Urawa Red Diamonds along with the fit-again Darren Fletcher and, possibly, Liam Miller, the signing from Celtic.

Scholes's decision to retire internationally has been warmly welcomed both by Ferguson and United colleagues.

"Paul's a world-class player . . . for United it can only be good," said Alan Smith. "It's important people realise Scholes is a family man. He will have thought about it but I think it's easier when you're an established player who's won over 60 caps rather than me, who's had a handful."

Metz have appealed to Fifa over money they claim is owed by Fulham after the sale of Louis Saha to United. The French club say they should have received 15% of the profit Fulham made after the striker was sold in January for £12.8m. Metz contend that they are still owed about £1.3m.

United will play Dinamo Bucharest in the Champions League third qualifying round, with the first leg in Romania next Wednesday, after Dinamo beat MSK Zilina 1-0 last night for a 2-0 aggregate success.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1276306,00.html

beckz11
05-08-2004, 01:26 PM
when is next man utd match ?

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 03:59 PM
when is next man utd match ?

fri morning at 3.55am...ch22 against the jap side....vodafone cup

beckz11
05-08-2004, 04:12 PM

yea today got match to watch :D
heard that scholes liam miller n fortune will play

RuMmYtUb
05-08-2004, 04:35 PM

Hmm that means tonite hor

uRiZEn
05-08-2004, 05:15 PM

Hmm that means tonite hor

Technically yea....sleepless night liao tonight.

beckz11
05-08-2004, 05:28 PM
do u guys know each other ???

RuMmYtUb
05-08-2004, 05:56 PM
do u guys know each other ???

No ler, haven't met any of the guys in this thread... how about organising outing one of these days ai mai ?

We go somewhere watch Man Utd vs Arsenal or Chelsea... :D

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 06:09 PM

miller should hav some action maybe for 30mins...

serioulsy speaking, while watching all the 4 matches ( Us tour and PSV ) our football are not flowing at all, though we hav quality striker up front like saha ruud....the service is like **** when scholes is not playing....there is no link btw the forward and midfield at all

it's okie if u make chances but cant score....right now is that we dun make enough chances at all!

we should really get someone who play behind the striker and feed them ball and create chances...right now onli scholes can do that

beckz11
05-08-2004, 06:20 PM

miller should hav some action maybe for 30mins...

serioulsy speaking, while watching all the 4 matches ( Us tour and PSV ) our football are not flowing at all, though we hav quality striker up front like saha ruud....the service is like **** when scholes is not playing....there is no link btw the forward and midfield at all

it's okie if u make chances but cant score....right now is that we dun make enough chances at all!

we should really get someone who play behind the striker and feed them ball and create chances...right now onli scholes can do that

yea we need somebody like pirlo!! superb vision n creativity

MatrixFanatic
05-08-2004, 06:20 PM

After that Community Shield against Gunners.:o

beckz11
05-08-2004, 06:21 PM

No ler, haven't met any of the guys in this thread... how about organising outing one of these days ai mai ?

We go somewhere watch Man Utd vs Arsenal or Chelsea... :D

k self introduce

me 20m/chi/sg
supported man utd since pri 4 (cause my dad likes them) and never changed since

Ch3tah_39
05-08-2004, 06:31 PM
4 for Heinze..

RVN
05-08-2004, 06:50 PM
Diego Forlan remains committed to Manchester United - at least until Sir Alex Ferguson taps him on the shoulder to tell the Uruguayan he is leaving.

http://www.soccernet.com/images/ah/forlan1104_lg.jpgForlan: Opportunities will be limited at Old Trafford (LaurenceGriffiths/GettyImages)Ferguson was quick to dismiss suggestions on Tuesday night that Forlan was heading to Spanish outfit Levante on a year-long loan.

It is the kind of rumour Forlan has become used to since arriving from Independiente in a £7million deal two-and-a-half years ago, since when he has scored 17 goals in 95 appearances.

While he was on Copa America duty last month in Peru, Atletico Madrid were believed to be preparing a bid, while Middlesbrough were linked with a player snatched from under their noses by United until Steve McClaren signed Mark Viduka and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink instead.

Forlan no longer finds the gossip disconcerting. Instead he tries to make the most of every chance he gets.

The 25-year-old came close to scoring in the Vodafone Cup win over PSV Eindhoven at Old Trafford on Tuesday and is now hoping for another chance to shine in tonight's encounter with Urawa Red Diamonds.

'I read things or hear what people are saying but that doesn't mean it is true,' he said.

'I am still here and I have two years left on my contract. I am a Manchester United player and I am happy to be here.

'Only one person will decide if I am going to leave or not and that is the manager. When he comes and tells me I have to go, I know I will be going. Until then I won't even think about it.'

Forlan insists he can still make it at Old Trafford but the big-money arrivals of Louis Saha and Alan Smith over the past six months, plus the continued speculation that Wayne Rooney will eventually move from Everton, make it highly unlikely.

The popular forward has never established himself as a first-team regular and though he has showed admirable perseverance after failing to find the net in his first 26 games, he is expected to move on before the transfer window closes on August 31.

And if he does eventually leave, he will lament the fact United fans have not seen the best of him.

'I get better when I play quite a few games on the trot,' he said.

'Playing once in a while is not the same as playing every game. When I was at Independiente, I was playing in every match and that builds your confidence.'

RuMmYtUb
05-08-2004, 06:53 PM

k self introduce

me 20m/chi/sg
supported man utd since pri 4 (cause my dad likes them) and never changed since

same age as u.. supported since p5..

Quick, who wanna go MAn Utd match outing ?
Don't anti social ler

Ronaldo7
05-08-2004, 07:57 PM

After that Community Shield against Gunners.:o

don't like the feeling of losing to arsenal , but don't want utd to win the shield also :rolleyes:

MatrixFanatic
05-08-2004, 10:17 PM
I just hope Manu can manage a draw against Chelsea. Chelsea looks ... strong.:(

As for Arsenal, I think draw and then penalty shootout will be good.;)

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7

don't like the feeling of losing to arsenal , but don't want utd to win the shield also :rolleyes:

then which one u wan ? :o

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 10:31 PM
so far we hav been very quiet on the transfer market...gills close cheaque bk liao? :mad: :(

RVN
05-08-2004, 10:39 PM
I want us to beat arse whatever sort of match it is, don't be superstitious about team who win charity shield or now called community shield don't win premiership title, fact is we were not good enough last season. :(

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by RVN
I want us to beat arse whatever sort of match it is, don't be superstitious about team who win charity shield or now called community shield don't win premiership title, fact is we were not good enough last season. :(

something u jus got to believe in it...:cool:

RuMmYtUb
05-08-2004, 10:52 PM
Wah lau seems like nobody interested in outing !? :mad:

Ronaldo7
05-08-2004, 10:55 PM
more information ? :rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
05-08-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN

yep.. last season we were okie..
defence prob
and
Arsenal simply too power last season.

RVN
05-08-2004, 11:07 PM
The Spanish press are insisting that Levante are far from ready to give up their quest to prise Uruguayan striker Diego Forlan from Premiership side Manchester United.
Levante are targeting Forlan for the forthcoming season, and the striker's confession that he wants to remain at Old Trafford appears not to have dented their desire.

Levante are prepared to pay around £2.2 million for the forward, who they view as a good investment for the future.

The media have suggested that the last three days has seen Levante step up their negotiations for the player.

Levante have made Forlan the focal point of their transfer market this summer, but also launched a cheeky bid for Newcastle icon Alan Shearer.

The chances of landing Forlan are much greater - and it remains to be seen if the Uruguay international is sold on by his Premiership club.

Meanwhile, Quinton Fortune has been called up into the South Africa to face Tunisia on August 18.

Another international, Cristiano Ronaldo, scored for Portugal in a 5-0 win against Paraguay in a warm-up game for the Olympic football tournament.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1146565,00.html

usjag_18
05-08-2004, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn

No way!!
I will write an email to Steve Jobs to get him to bring his ideas and motivate the players heheh:D

I don't think both Bill Gates and Steve Jobs will be interested in soccer currently. Maybe in the future. But not all Americans are so into soccer.

Moreover, I won't hope to have both of them in Man Utd, they might turn Man Utd into a club like Chelsea.

Regards,
O'

guoquanyap
05-08-2004, 11:35 PM

yeah lah!! :D

Ch3tah_39
05-08-2004, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN
The Spanish press are insisting that Levante are far from ready to give up their quest to prise Uruguayan striker Diego Forlan from Premiership side Manchester United.
Levante are targeting Forlan for the forthcoming season, and the striker's confession that he wants to remain at Old Trafford appears not to have dented their desire.

Levante are prepared to pay around £2.2 million for the forward, who they view as a good investment for the future.

The media have suggested that the last three days has seen Levante step up their negotiations for the player.

Levante have made Forlan the focal point of their transfer market this summer, but also launched a cheeky bid for Newcastle icon Alan Shearer.

The chances of landing Forlan are much greater - and it remains to be seen if the Uruguay international is sold on by his Premiership club.

Meanwhile, Quinton Fortune has been called up into the South Africa to face Tunisia on August 18.

Another international, Cristiano Ronaldo, scored for Portugal in a 5-0 win against Paraguay in a warm-up game for the Olympic football tournament.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,7-1146565,00.html

2.2mil..:rolleyes:
woot ronaldo scored.. thats good

RuMmYtUb
06-08-2004, 12:07 AM

yeah lah!! :D

wah lau buay on ler :(

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 12:19 AM
What a beauty. Boa Morte put in a crooked shot, Cris got on the end of it and back heeled it with the goalkeeper diving in the opposite direction. He only played in the first half and as a mobile forward. 5-0 final score.

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 12:20 AM

I guess U need to PM everyone, hehehee...=p, everyone still sleeping. hehehee....

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 12:32 AM

2.2mil..:rolleyes:
woot ronaldo scored.. thats good

2.2million also cannot sell, crazy, got him so expensive, at least must get back half of what we got. Anyway, Sir Fergie already mentioned that Forlan will be in his plan for the new season due to the injured Solskjaer.

Anyway, even Solskjaer is not injured, also shouldn't sell him so fast and cheap.

One thing I never get it, why did he play so well for Uruguay but when it comes to Man Utd, he's like so WEAK. Ain't Man Utd the one who pay for his salary? Or Uruguay the one who pay for his salary? :confused: :mad:

As for Scholes retirement, I guess it's fated. Even the reason he wanna to retire is due to the position he playing for England, I am not surprise and won't be blaming him. He's a 100% attack-midfielder, but they just put him @ the left-wing as if he's Ryan Giggs. It's really sickening, I am glad that he quit international games for another reason is because he can concentrate more on the club games which are much more important for his age.

Regards,
O'

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 12:33 AM
Manchester United have announced their squad numbers for the Champions League Third Round qualifier against Dynamo Bucharest.

The numbers have been registered for the qualifying round only; changes are likely to be made to the list should United reach the Group Stages.

New signing Alan Smith will take the No.14 shirt as Tim Howard moves to No.1. Fellow United new-boys Gabriel Heinze and Liam Miller have been handed the No.4 and No.17 shirts respectively.

The first leg of the qualifier will be played on Wednesday 11 August - kick off 19:45BST - at the national stadium in Romania. The second leg will be played at Old Trafford on Wednesday 25 August - kick off 20:10BST.

URO SQUAD NUMBERS
1. Howard
2. Neville, G
3. Neville, P
4. Heinze
6. Brown
7. Ronaldo
9. Louis Saha
10. Van Nistelrooy
11. Ryan Giggs
12. Bellion
13. Carroll
14. Smith
15. Kleberson
16. Keane
17. Miller
18. Scholes
19. Djemba Djemba
21. Forlan
22. O'Shea
25. Fortune
27. Silvestre
29. Spector
32. Djordjic 35. Ricardo
39. Tierney

Additional players registered
23. Richardson
24. Fletcher
26. Bardsley
30. Steele
31. Jones, D
33. Eagles
34. McShane
38. Heaton

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=90169

RVN
06-08-2004, 12:40 AM
Ronaldo and Heinze won't be in the squad cos they are both in the olympics. :(

Kleberson injury could also rule him out along with Ole. :(

Ch3tah_39
06-08-2004, 12:44 AM

One thing I never get it, why did he play so well for Uruguay but when it comes to Man Utd, he's like so WEAK. Ain't Man Utd the one who pay for his salary? Or Uruguay the one who pay for his salary? :confused: :mad:

Regards,
O'

hmmm.. the style of play?.. pressure..
play in man utd alot of pressure one lehz...
furthermore, he got not much chance to play.. once got the chance, want to score goal and perform. the more he want to perform, more mistake made.. :)

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 12:49 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo and Heinze won't be in the squad cos they are both in the olympics. :(

Kleberson injury could also rule him out along with Ole. :(

I thought Kleberson is just slight injured?

RVN
06-08-2004, 12:58 AM

I thought Kleberson is just slight injured?

I heard he be out for 3 weeks. :alien:

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 12:58 AM

hmmm.. the style of play?.. pressure..
play in man utd alot of pressure one lehz...
furthermore, he got not much chance to play.. once got the chance, want to score goal and perform. the more he want to perform, more mistake made.. :)

True, I don't denied that there are a lot of pessure, but I don't see why when others can do it, he can't. That's why when he got the chances, he should try to calm himself and do it the right way.

Anyway, as long as he can performs this coming season, no one will remember whether he performed bad or not.

Btw, do you guys think there is a chance that the new squad will be playing 4-3-3 to accomodate A.Smith or continue with 4-4-2? I mean last time got no choice, so need to play for 4-4-1-1, with RVN as the lone striker, but now got so many strikers, this shouldn't be a problem (personally opinions). Even D.Bellion is a striker, but I don't think he got much chances. Especially when there are 5 strikers with injured Solskjaer.

But I guess D.Bellion is the FUTURE for Man Utd as in Sir Fergie is planning him as one of the future strikers. What do you guys think?

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by RVN

I heard he be out for 3 weeks. :alien:

My goodness, is there a curse for every South American player if they are playing for Man Utd?

I hope Henize and Kleberson can change the fate. Otherwise, I don't think Man Utd will get anymore South Americans.

usjag_18
06-08-2004, 01:09 AM
Though it's none of Man Utd's fans on how Chelsea spending their money. But I think they are really sh***y. After spending so much on Mutu, Veron. They are either on loan or sold to other club. And Crespo is also loan out to Milan.

They are really N**S. Luckily, Man Utd is not as crazy as them.
I wonder, where did Veron gone to?

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 01:56 AM
Though it's none of Man Utd's fans on how Chelsea spending their money. But I think they are really sh***y. After spending so much on Mutu, Veron. They are either on loan or sold to other club. And Crespo is also loan out to Milan.

They are really N**S. Luckily, Man Utd is not as crazy as them.
I wonder, where did Veron gone to?

veron is at inter now...:cool:

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 03:26 AM
ref called every back to the dressing rm...if condition din improve in 10mins, he gng to abandon the match...

wau lau manchester every time rain rain rain....

boca leading psv 1-0

beckz11
06-08-2004, 04:02 AM
hey!! abandoned liao ah !!????
knn wake up to watch gei gou abandoned....

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 04:06 AM
hey!! abandoned liao ah !!????
knn wake up to watch gei gou abandoned....

i nv slp at all...tml morning still hav to wake up at 8am....:alien:

now better go get some slp..nitez....:mad: :mad: :alien:

samwise
06-08-2004, 07:10 AM
well, i guess this solves fergie's headache of choosing 2 strikers.... dunno true anot...

Hernia Puts Ruud Out Of Action
Ruud van Nistelrooy will be out of action for up to four weeks after suffering a sportsman's hernia.

The Dutch striker will undergo surgery this week after a club spokeswoman confirmed the injury to ManUtd.com.

She said: "Ruud van Nistelrooy has suffered a sportsman's hernia. He will be out for up to four weeks."

The news will come as a bitter blow to Sir Alex Ferguson as he prepares for United's crucial Champions League double-header with Dinamo Bucharest in the third qualifying round - the first leg takes place next Wednesday in Romania followed by the return match at Old Trafford on Tuesday 24 August.

Van Nistelrooy will also miss the opening day Premiership clash at Chelsea, and further league matches against Norwich, Blackburn and Everton.

He could, however, make his return against Bolton Wanderers at the Reebok Stadium on Saturday 11 September.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=90386&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ronaldo7
06-08-2004, 07:17 AM
think it's true :( :mad:

http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4390646,00.html

samwise
06-08-2004, 07:24 AM
No rvn, ronaldo, heinze...

back to square one....:mad:

hate to see chelski win....

kengbeng
06-08-2004, 09:48 AM
Oh well...
At least this gives the chance for Saha and Smith to impress.
Maybe another SAS partnership to be born. =p

Ch3tah_39
06-08-2004, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Oh well...
At least this gives the chance for Saha and Smith to impress.
Maybe another SAS partnership to be born. =p

maybe:)

Spock
06-08-2004, 11:51 AM
ruud injured for one month?

RVN
06-08-2004, 12:16 PM
Damm it, knn :mad:

RuMmYtUb
06-08-2004, 01:08 PM
FARK

RVN
06-08-2004, 01:14 PM
Ronaldo
Heinze
Ruud
Solskjaer
Kleberson
Rio

All out for the first month or more for the start of the season, what an awful pre-season build-up to the new campaign. :mad:

orca_sea
06-08-2004, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo
Heinze
Ruud
Solskjaer
Kleberson
Rio

All out for the first month or more for the start of the season, what an awful pre-season build-up to the new campaign. :mad:

Yah.. a veri bad start indeed if we tink passively .. but on the other hand mayb those youngster like Eagles, Richerson, Bellion might hav more 1st team appearances which iz veri crucial to them establishing themselves asap for our future!.. Endure guyz..things will nt b so bad then.. mayb we'll hav some surprises along the way :D

leo_llw
06-08-2004, 02:57 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo
Heinze
Ruud
Solskjaer
Kleberson
Rio

Arsenal got transfer prob.
Newcastle players injuried after sparring match with Mohd Ali
Looks like Chelsea and Liverpool must be quietly confident of getting a great start :(

beckz11
06-08-2004, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ronaldo
Heinze
Ruud
Solskjaer
Kleberson
Rio

y are we so suay ?!?!?!:mad:

beckz11
06-08-2004, 03:02 PM
i think fortune too..he called up for an international game on 18 august

RVN
06-08-2004, 04:22 PM
No luck injury curse on us again. :mad:

Still we still got options upfront with Smith and Saha upfront, I think we have to keep Forlan for the moment to act as cover.

chyehock
06-08-2004, 04:35 PM
Do not fred, remember we where like this many years back and people was saying david beckham cannot take over kancheski. See what happen later.

y are we so suay ?!?!?!:mad:

RuMmYtUb
06-08-2004, 05:29 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw

Arsenal got transfer prob.
Newcastle players injuried after sparring match with Mohd Ali
Looks like Chelsea and Liverpool must be quietly confident of getting a great start :(

Liverpool is a team to watch IMO... not Chelski..

RVN
06-08-2004, 08:39 PM
MANCHESTER (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is concerned his team are "not in the best shape" with several key players missing before the start of the Champions League campaign and the premier league kickoff.

United play Arsenal in the Community Shield on Sunday before facing Dinamo Bucharest in the first leg of their Champions League third round qualifying tie next Wednesday. They open their premier league campaign at Chelsea on August 15.

"We're not in the best shape," Ferguson told reporters on Friday. "We have seven players out for the game on Wednesday, which is a blow, so hopefully we will get through Sunday's game without any more hiccups."

Striker Ruud van Nistelrooy became the latest casualty with a hernia problem that requires surgery.

The Dutch international, who scored 20 league goals for United last season, could be out for a month after sustaining the injury in a match against PSV Eindhoven on Tuesday.

"It is a blow and it was a shock for us," Ferguson said.

"It was his first game back and we have to think whether seven days was enough training for him before playing a match.

"It's very disappointing, and I'm just hopeful that with (Alan) Smith and (Louis) Saha as my partnership I have them both fit."

Brazilian Kleberson, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Liam Miller are all injured, while Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze are preparing for this month's Athens Olympics with Portugal and Argentina respectively.

Defender Rio Ferdinand's eight-month suspension for failing to take a drugs test does not end until next month.

Ferguson hopes midfielders Paul Scholes and Darren Fletcher will be match-fit in time for the Champions League game and they will start against Arsenal at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Solskjaer will have another knee operation on Saturday and Ferguson was optimistic it would clear up the injury that forced the Norway striker to miss most of last season.

Squad: Howard, Carroll, G Neville, Brown, Silvestre, O'Shea, P Neville, Keane, Djemba-Djemba, Giggs, Smith, Saha, Bardsley, Tierney, Richardson, Forlan, Fletcher, Scholes, Spector, Bellion, Fortune.

guoquanyap
06-08-2004, 09:18 PM
not to worry guys, remember wat happen during the 2002-2003 season....we oso hav alot of injures but fergie decided to sent all of them to the treatment during the christmas period....

wat happen nx? we got all the best players available during the finale of the championship and we caught up arsenal....:D

might as well injured now then later....;)

Ronaldo7
06-08-2004, 11:21 PM
United Announce Euro Squad Numbers

Manchester United have announced their squad numbers for the Champions League Third Round qualifier against Dynamo Bucharest.

The numbers have been registered for the qualifying round only; changes are likely to be made to the list should United reach the Group Stages.

New signing Alan Smith will take the No.14 shirt as Tim Howard moves to No.1. Fellow United new-boys Gabriel Heinze and Liam Miller have been handed the No.4 and No.17 shirts respectively.

The first leg of the qualifier will be played on Wednesday 11 August - kick off 19:45BST - at the national stadium in Romania. The second leg will be played at Old Trafford on Wednesday 25 August - kick off 20:10BST.

EURO SQUAD NUMBERS
1. Howard
2. Neville, G
3. Neville, P
4. Heinze
6. Brown
7. Ronaldo
9. Louis Saha
10. Van Nistelrooy
11. Ryan Giggs
12. Bellion
13. Carroll
14. Smith
15. Kleberson
16. Keane
17. Miller
18. Scholes
19. Djemba Djemba
21. Forlan
22. O'Shea
25. Fortune
27. Silvestre
29. Spector
32. Djordjic 35. Ricardo
39. Tierney

Additional players registered
23. Richardson
24. Fletcher
26. Bardsley
30. Steele
31. Jones, D
33. Eagles
34. McShane
38. Heaton

:evil:

usjag_18
07-08-2004, 05:29 AM
Injuries, injuries, injuries...

I have no idea why there are so much injuries, but one thing for sure, the more injuries we have, the more the remaining players will try even harder to win the match, especially, when we have a so-called "weaker" team than others.

Don't U guys agree?

Rgds,
O' (:D with confidence)

samwise
07-08-2004, 07:30 AM
luckily it was rvn that got a slight injury (too much rough humping?), we can see the saha-smith combination trying their darn best, but i sense that it could be more competition rather than cooperations. darn, the yorke-cole combination was sweet while it lasted.

my worry is little ronaldo. he is a marked man in a competition full of hot-blooded under-23 youths. the way they tackle may not be technically competent, especially versus teams like iraq, who fark care and just cham the fanciful dribbler. morroco and costa rica somemore... sigh...

RVN
07-08-2004, 01:43 PM
Manchester United's striker worries have intensified after Louis Saha was rated doubtful for tomorrow's Community Shield with a knee injury.
Sir Alex Ferguson is already without Ruud van Nistelrooy, who will undergo hernia surgery next week, and had hoped to field Saha alongside Alan Smith in Cardiff so that the pair could develop an understanding before Wednesday's Champions League game at Dinamo Bucharest.

Saha tweaked his knee in the Vodafone Cup victory over PSV Eindhoven on Tuesday. "We'd hope Louis would be fit for Bucharest, but it's doubtful we'll be able to play him from the start on Sunday," Ferguson said.

He needs Saha and Smith "to click straight away". "They are the strikers I'll consider as my main strike partnership for the start of the season," he said. "The important thing is that we remain patient and don't get into a flap about it."

Ferguson would be excused some concerns. United will be without at least seven players for the game in Bucharest, with Rio Ferdinand suspended, Gabriel Heinze and Cristiano Ronaldo away on Olympic duty and Kleberson (knee), Liam Miller (groin), Quinton Fortune (knee), Van Nistelrooy (groin) and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer all injured. The Norwegian striker will undergo surgery on a long-standing knee problem and is expected to be out until October.

"We're not dead sure what the problem is exactly but we are optimistic it'll be sorted out if it's what we think it is," Ferguson said. This specialist he goes to in Sweden is one of the best in the world and Ole has got a lot of faith in him.

"Losing Ruud came as a shock, and you have to wonder whether seven days of training was enough before he played in his first per-season match. He came in on Wednesday after his 45 minutes against PSV and was feeling his groin.

"At least Smith has been fantastic, a revelation with his enthusiasm for everything. He gives his all in training and all the lads have been impressed and are talking very highly of the boy. He's a winner and he's also got that bit of Yorkshire grit about him, too."

Van Nistelrooy's injury means there is no longer any chance that United will sell Diego Forlán before the closure of the transfer window at the end of the month.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1278118,00.html

uRiZEn
07-08-2004, 01:51 PM
A very bad start to the new season man.
:(

jacqles
07-08-2004, 03:04 PM
woohoo alan smith and forlan combi :D

Ch3tah_39
07-08-2004, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by jacqles

saha and smith upfront, den forlan attacking mid or winger.. haha..i find him more suitable for these roles.. long shot power:D

usjag_18
07-08-2004, 07:17 PM
Relax guys, as I mentioned earlier on, the more the weaker team Man Utd is, the more we will fight on. Moreover, to think about it, a team that no one understand, aint that better?

LIke Porto FC, no one understand their strength, didn't they beat us too? Just like other small teams who used to beat Man utd once or twice, it's the same, becos we dun understand them just like most team dun understand the new Man Utd's strength.

Most of the time, the more problems they have, the better they can be. Who knows, maybe this is also part of Sir Fergie's mind-game strategy?

Rgds,
O'

kengbeng
07-08-2004, 10:49 PM
Nevermind, let Arsenal beat us in the Community Shield. ;)
(For obvious reasons that I shall not utter.) :laugh:

guoquanyap
07-08-2004, 11:58 PM

:D :laugh: :angel:

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2004, 12:01 AM

chyehock
08-08-2004, 11:20 AM
Maybe a good combination as forlan has an eye for goal. Just give him more games and he will be good. It will be good to try him on the wing and may expect ununexpected results.

chyehock
08-08-2004, 11:23 AM
Remember the 2003 season where we beat liverpool and arsenal. We we totally under strength and play defensive game but we win both games. Remember we were without kean, scholes, beckham. We rely on phil, fortune and butt.

Relax guys, as I mentioned earlier on, the more the weaker team Man Utd is, the more we will fight on. Moreover, to think about it, a team that no one understand, aint that better?

LIke Porto FC, no one understand their strength, didn't they beat us too? Just like other small teams who used to beat Man utd once or twice, it's the same, becos we dun understand them just like most team dun understand the new Man Utd's strength.

Most of the time, the more problems they have, the better they can be. Who knows, maybe this is also part of Sir Fergie's mind-game strategy?

Rgds,
O'

guoquanyap
08-08-2004, 11:23 AM
wonder wat will the starting line-up today....seem like both team dun wan to win today....

leo_llw
08-08-2004, 11:50 AM
for previous season when it is a 2 horse race, maybe lah.

this year, got 2 more rejuv teams(chelski, liverpool)...even the team who lose the shield might not be the one at the finishing line :(

Ronaldo7
08-08-2004, 12:18 PM
wonder wat will the starting line-up today....seem like both team dun wan to win today....

should be something like this ? :rolleyes:

howard

g.neville-brown-silvestre-o'shea

fletcher-keane-djemba-giggs

scholes

smith

Ronaldo7
08-08-2004, 12:19 PM

this year, got 2 more rejuv teams(chelski, liverpool)...even the team who lose the shield might not be the one at the finishing line :(

the gap is closing fast :angel:

orca_sea
08-08-2004, 01:27 PM

Yah true on this.. so itz coming season will b damn exciting then keke :D

usjag_18
08-08-2004, 07:08 PM

:D :laugh: :angel:

Wah, you guys are really unbelievable, seems like U guys noe what is he toking about.

I am very slow, can explain the reason???

Rgds,
O'

kengbeng
08-08-2004, 07:28 PM

Wah, you guys are really unbelievable, seems like U guys noe what is he toking about.

I am very slow, can explain the reason???

Rgds,
O'
This thread will roughly tell you why...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=796489&forumid=20

guoquanyap
08-08-2004, 09:18 PM
line-up for today...

--------Howard-----------

Gaz-OShea-Mickey-Fortune

-Bellion-Keane-DJDJ-Giggs-

----------Scholes---------

-----------Smith----------

guoquanyap
08-08-2004, 10:51 PM
overall a gd first half...missed ruud, saha, ronaldo, wes, rio and heniz....

uRiZEn
08-08-2004, 10:53 PM
overall a gd first half...missed ruud, saha, ronaldo, wes, rio and heniz....

how to miss rio when he has not played for quite some time?And heinze is new.No doubt missing ruud physical presence upfront.

Kyubi
08-08-2004, 11:15 PM
smith score oready! lolz 1-1

Ch3tah_39
08-08-2004, 11:19 PM

how to miss rio when he has not played for quite some time?And heinze is new.No doubt missing ruud physical presence upfront.

:rolleyes: :alien:

greycat87
08-08-2004, 11:48 PM
Man United's defence is in tatters :(

RuMmYtUb
08-08-2004, 11:52 PM
Lose le, hope the curse is on :D

Kyubi
08-08-2004, 11:56 PM
:(

RVN
09-08-2004, 12:02 AM
**** I knew we would lose. :(

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:03 AM
yeah defence is really a joke....jus compare the number of chances created by us and arsenal...:mad: :alien:

well nice workout though and smith score a cracker! :eek:

most impt is the match coming this wed ( CL ) and against chelsea this sun! better dun start a season w a lost......

RVN
09-08-2004, 12:05 AM
Defence were awful, good goal by Smith though. I don't care about this result though, the CL match against Burcharest is the one that matters, we have to win. :evil:

Ronaldo7
09-08-2004, 12:06 AM
think we need to improve more on our set pieces . our corners & free kicks are really not that good :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:06 AM
and wtf is AW toking to CQ....somemore tok until so happy....:alien:

Ronaldo7
09-08-2004, 12:07 AM

issit ? switch off my tv immediately after the final whistle :laugh:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:08 AM
now going to find the goal scored by smith...i still hav the goals for last season CS....:D :cool:

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 12:14 AM
ManU will really need to buck up this season....

both fielding half teams but Manu has shown their second stringers are not up to the crunch

Jass_02
09-08-2004, 12:15 AM
is there any significance to the yellow bangles some of the players were wearing on their wrists? :confused:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:18 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02
is there any significance to the yellow bangles some of the players were wearing on their wrists? :confused:

they are supporting the charity drive initiated by Lance Armstrong...

Lots of sporting personalities are supporting the cancer drive.

I band one dollar i think

Jass_02
09-08-2004, 12:21 AM

they are supporting the charity drive initiated by Lance Armstrong...

Lots of sporting personalities are supporting the cancer drive.

I band one dollar i think

can we get that in singapore?

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:23 AM
Originally posted by Jass_02

can we get that in singapore?

i make one for you free one...:angel:

RVN
09-08-2004, 12:23 AM

both fielding half teams but Manu has shown their second stringers are not up to the crunch

we got about 9 players missing for us, what to expect, I didn't think we did too bad, but sloppinese in our backline cost us though. :(

Even though we lost, it means Arsenal have the curse rather than us. :laugh:

Ch3tah_39
09-08-2004, 12:28 AM
:( hmmm

hope the curse is on haha

Ronaldo7
09-08-2004, 12:29 AM
http://www.goal.com/NewsDetail.aspx?idNews=15641

couto to join us ? :laugh:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 12:33 AM
http://www.goal.com/NewsDetail.aspx?idNews=15641

couto to join us ? :laugh:

like blanc like that....but really its a joke

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 12:35 AM
Originally posted by RVN

we got about 9 players missing for us, what to expect, I didn't think we did too bad, but sloppinese in our backline cost us though. :(

9 players? Besides Ruud, Saha and Rio who else is missing from that first team?

In comparision, Arsenal is also not fielding Vieira and Campbell.

Both tested out hordes of youth players....Arsenal even started Francesc Fabregas Soler who is youngest in the entire match.

what to expect? :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2004, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by RVN

:laugh: :laugh:
I don't care man, as long as they're cursed :evil:

MaSSiVeAttacK
09-08-2004, 12:45 AM

not to mention Pires,Ljungberg and Edu r missin too..so all in all, i wld say its fair , wldnt u?? ;)

aniwae, i tink Smiths goin to a huge huge hit at old trafford!! he scored a top draw goal!! beauty!! :D

RVN
09-08-2004, 01:47 AM

9 players? Besides Ruud, Saha and Rio who else is missing from that first team?

Both tested out hordes of youth players....Arsenal even started Francesc Fabregas Soler who is youngest in the entire match.

what to expect?

Bottom line: a friendly not worth two hoots. If either team thought they'd be gaining a psychological advantage by winning this game, they're in gaga-land. Tin pot trophy season opener, nothing else.

:laugh: :laugh:
I don't care man, as long as they're cursed :evil:

agreed. :D

arse fans will gloat about this results, but it doesn't mean anything in the title race. ;)

Thinker
09-08-2004, 04:08 AM

yah, because logically you should be fielding and playing to your best regardless of a more important tie ahead.

MatrixFanatic
09-08-2004, 08:33 AM

Wenger asking Carlos how is it to work at Real Madrid.:rolleyes:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 10:18 AM

Wenger asking Carlos how is it to work at Real Madrid.:rolleyes:

u know lip reading...:eek:

MatrixFanatic
09-08-2004, 10:34 AM

u know lip reading...:eek:

It's just a joke.:eek:

Lol.:angel:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 10:44 AM

It's just a joke.:eek:

Lol.:angel:

well i am joking as well...:angel:

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by RVN

agreed. :D

arse fans will gloat about this results, but it doesn't mean anything in the title race. ;)
Me as an Arsenal fan agree with you.

nothing to gloat about esp this season will be tougher than usual. Middle table teams(Boro, Birmingham, Fulham, Bolton, Villa) have strengthened their squads with more quality players....not to mention Chelsea and Pool.

If ManU or Arsenal should to win this year, I believe it will be less than 72 points. ;)

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2004, 11:57 AM

Me as an Arsenal fan agree with you.

nothing to gloat about esp this season will be tougher than usual. Middle table teams(Boro, Birmingham, Fulham, Bolton, Villa) have strengthened their squads with more quality players....not to mention Chelsea and Pool.

If ManU or Arsenal should to win this year, I believe it will be less than 72 points. ;)

ur avatar is u or ur gf ? :eek:

Ronaldo7
09-08-2004, 12:31 PM
This is the worst start we've ever had to a season' says Ferguson

Sir Alex Ferguson tried to conjure a smile, though his was the grimace of a man against whom the fates are conspiring. Louis Saha and Wes Brown have joined his ranks of walking wounded, the new campaign appearing ever more daunting with each strained achilles or twisted knee. "This is the worst start we've ever had to a season," growled the Scot. "No doubt about that."

It will be a makeshift squad which travels to Romania tomorrow for the first leg of the Champions League qualifier against Dinamo Bucharest, a two-legged tête-a-tête effectively worth upwards of £15m to the winners. Saha and Brown will stay behind for treatment on medial knee ligament and achilles injuries respectively, with rehabilitation expected to take up to three weeks.

Ferguson has been left scowling in their absence. Rio Ferdinand, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Kleberson, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gabriel Heinze, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and Liam Miller are all either suspended, crocked or about to compete in the Olympic Games. Darren Fletcher featured here, but he will be suspended from the opening two Premiership matches.

Ferguson has been left to take heart in small mercies. "It was just a bonus that we didn't pick up any more injuries, to be honest," he said. "This game on Wednesday is a killer for us and we're suffering for that in the sense that we haven't been able to give the players the rest they need. The Nevilles and (Mikaël) Silvestre have had five days training, that's all.

"It's got a lot to do with summer football, though it's not down to the European Championships. You wonder why the Copa America can't be played at the same time. That harmony in the calendar is never quite right, from Africa to America to Europe. Something should be done about that, but they've been talking about the problems for yonks. It seems perfectly simple to me - it clearly isn't."

The Olympics have merely added to the turmoil, with Heinze and Ronaldo not due back at Carrington until August 19 and immediately due to link up with their national squads for international fixtures.

"So what's the point of me taking them back?" asked Ferguson. "Really, I've just got to tell the boys to have a rest. We've never seen Heinze, never even met the guy. When he turns up he'll have a beard."

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 01:46 PM
This is the worst start we've ever had to a season' says Ferguson

"So what's the point of me taking them back?" asked Ferguson. "Really, I've just got to tell the boys to have a rest. We've never seen Heinze, never even met the guy. When he turns up he'll have a beard."

:laugh: but on the serious note whenever we hav a bad or not so gd start....we go on to win things we are always known to be late starter in the league, take for last season we hav one of the best start in yrs but wat happen nx....i can see this season is ours....;) :cool:

kengbeng
09-08-2004, 02:07 PM

:laugh: but on the serious note whenever we hav a bad or not so gd start....we go on to win things we are always known to be late starter in the league, take for last season we hav one of the best start in yrs but wat happen nx....i can see this season is our....;) :cool:
That is true. What's important is not how we start, but how we end. :)

RVN
09-08-2004, 02:30 PM
You can get quite a good team out of the players we haven't got for various reason. :(

---------------------GK------------------

----Brown------Ferdinand---Heinze----

--Solskjaer--Miller---Fletcher---Ronaldo--

-----------------Kleberson---------------

------van Nistelrooy-----Saha----------

Only need a GK to complete the list. :laugh:

beckz11
09-08-2004, 02:39 PM
haiz the first match vs chelsea i totally no confidence in man united...
just dun lose too badly will do

usjag_18
09-08-2004, 02:48 PM
Originally posted by RVN
You can get quite a good team out of the players we haven't got for various reason. :(

---------------------GK------------------

----Brown------Ferdinand---Heinze----

--Solskjaer--Miller---Fletcher---Ronaldo--

-----------------Kleberson---------------

------van Nistelrooy-----Saha----------

Only need a GK to complete the list. :laugh:

Aint T.Howard the GK?

Anyway, what's wrong with the defence team for yesterday game? And how did Scholes n Smith partnership go?

Rgds,
O'

beckz11
09-08-2004, 03:00 PM
the defence in the 2nd hald is in disarray
ashley cole can dribble past 2-3 players
the defence obstruct each other many times and let opponent go past
see liao very sian
silvestre is a great defender but he sure can't marshal the defense like Rio

Totti76
09-08-2004, 03:14 PM

Aint T.Howard the GK?

Anyway, what's wrong with the defence team for yesterday game? And how did Scholes n Smith partnership go?

Rgds,
O'
wats wrong?? ohh too many...I saw gary slide in to tackle bellion..players blocking one another..some even tackle each others..not once but at least thrice....gary almost head in an own goal...well just told myself...that they r trying to entertain me in another way..clowning ard...sad to see that the standard has drop...but they r still my MAN U...or shld i say OUR MAN U...dun disappoint us again on wed...:D
wondering any live telecast??

orca_sea
09-08-2004, 03:26 PM
the defence in the 2nd hald is in disarray
ashley cole can dribble past 2-3 players
the defence obstruct each other many times and let opponent go past
see liao very sian
silvestre is a great defender but he sure can't marshal the defense like Rio

Yah n he seems still jinx fr his Euro trip leh..:(

RuMmYtUb
09-08-2004, 03:31 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea

His morale still low from euro :(

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 04:04 PM

That is true. What's important is not how we start, but how we end. :) :laugh:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 11:21 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea

give away 2 penalty in 2 sucussive game...:alien:

quite surprised that brown din played kana injured again...need him back quickly...rio has to wait until sept 20...:alien:

Ronaldo7
09-08-2004, 11:24 PM
anyone knows whether channel 5 is going to show the CL qualifying match ? don't think cable is showing :rolleyes:

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 11:31 PM
anyone knows whether channel 5 is going to show the CL qualifying match ? don't think cable is showing :rolleyes:

either one is showing jus read on newspaper today....dun worry tml they oso show liverpool match....

guoquanyap
09-08-2004, 11:47 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson has claimed Alan Smith reminds him of Eric Cantona with the way he drifts away from defenders.

Despite initial suggestions that Smith would be little more than back-up to Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha following his £7million move from Leeds this summer, the 23-year-old will shoulder the weight of Manchester United's attacking expectation this month.

The injury jinx that has rocked Old Trafford ahead of the new campaign leaves Smith as the only forward available to Ferguson, with the exception of Diego Forlan, whose record in his two-and-a-half years with the club suggests he may not be up to the task.

Smith was United's outstanding performer on the club's recent US tour and opened his Red Devils' goals account in sensational style at the Millennium Stadium yesterday, slamming home a 20-yard volley in an otherwise disappointing 3-1 Community Shield defeat to title rivals Arsenal.

In front of England coach Sven Goran Eriksson, the goal emphasised the Yorkshireman's claims to a place in the squad for the August 18 encounter with Ukraine at St James' Park.

But it was his movement that impressed Ferguson, particularly Smith's willingness to drift out to the wings, and earned the kind of comparison with another former Leeds player that few could have expected.

"It's good that Alan drifts along the line," he said.

"It is the type of thing Eric was so good at, and if you think about Thierry Henry, he does most of his damage by pulling out to the left.

"Overall, I couldn't be more pleased with the way Alan has settled in. He has a really good attitude. He is strong and is willing to work hard and I am sure over the years, he will prove to be an excellent player for us."

hopefully smith will do wat eric did for us...

guoquanyap
10-08-2004, 02:36 AM
well more bad new, ole out for rest of the season...time to open cheque bk david gills...

RVN
10-08-2004, 02:56 AM
Knn, heard Brown out for 2 weeks, Saha out for 3 weeks, Ruud out for a month and now Ole out fo the season, why are we so unlucky with injuries err. I am pissed off. :mad:

Time to buy a new winger, Gill. :evil:

greycat87
10-08-2004, 03:03 AM
Ole out for whole season? I think its the end of his Man United Career liao :(

MatrixFanatic
10-08-2004, 07:07 AM
Originally posted by greycat87
Ole out for whole season? I think its the end of his Man United Career liao :(

So sad. Never mind forlan will step in.:rolleyes:

Ch3tah_39
10-08-2004, 07:59 AM
woah so suay... ole out for whole season:(

Ch3tah_39
10-08-2004, 07:59 AM

So sad. Never mind forlan will step in.:rolleyes:

yeah:D

Ronaldo7
10-08-2004, 08:32 AM
sian 1/2 . so afterall , we are left with smith & forlan as our only fit strikers . what a way to start our season :( feel for ole , he really don't derserve this :sad:

Ch3tah_39
10-08-2004, 09:16 AM
sian 1/2 . so afterall , we are left with smith & forlan as our only fit strikers . what a way to start our season :( feel for ole , he really don't derserve this :sad:

ya he dun deserve this..:(

MatrixFanatic
10-08-2004, 11:09 AM

yeah:D

He will score a last minute goal against chelsea and Kleberson will be the provider. Just like what Veron did.:cool:

Ch3tah_39
10-08-2004, 11:12 AM

He will score a last minute goal against chelsea and Kleberson will be the provider. Just like what Veron did.:cool:

forlan GO GO GO!!:D
time for him to prove his worth

RuMmYtUb
10-08-2004, 11:32 AM
Haiz, i still don't have much faith in Poorlan...

His morale like not too gd becoz of news linking him to Levante...

beckz11
10-08-2004, 09:48 PM
lemme cfm..man utd vs dinamo no lvie telecast right ?

beckz11
10-08-2004, 09:48 PM
lemme cfm..man utd vs dinamo no live telecast right ?

cracker
10-08-2004, 10:55 PM
with all the injuries problem,,,,,Utd will have problem on the right side ....time to give Chris Eagle a starting line up?

The first 11 will be

Howards,
G. Nevile, O'Shea, Silvestre, P. Nevile
Eagles, Keane, Fletcher, Giggs
Scholes, Smith.

Sub
Caroll, Djemba Djemba, Forlan, Spector, Richardson

Yueming
10-08-2004, 11:05 PM
i said before we needed another striker in the ranks...........because forlan bellion is never in the picture at all...see wad i mean......

the squad really lack one midfielder one defender and one striker else we have slim chances of fighting with the rest............injuries will kill our chances man......

cracker
10-08-2004, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by cracker
with all the injuries problem,,,,,Utd will have problem on the right side ....time to give Chris Eagle a starting line up?

The first 11 will be

Howards,
G. Nevile, O'Shea, Silvestre, P. Nevile
Eagles, Keane, Fletcher, Giggs
Scholes, Smith.

Sub
Caroll, Djemba Djemba, Forlan, Spector, Richardson

o ya forgotten we still have bellion and fortune....

so maybe the sub bench will be

caroll, djemba djemba, forlan, bellion, fortune.

Bellion, looks good when he comes on as a sub,,,but as for making the starting 11,,he seldom shines..

Maybe SAF will use Fortune on the left and Giggs on the right again...but tat will be wasting giggs' skill !

beckz11
10-08-2004, 11:22 PM
nobody answer my question...
btw fletcher plays on the right for man utd

guoquanyap
10-08-2004, 11:32 PM
lemme cfm..man utd vs dinamo no live telecast right ?

should be....but i read somewhere got leh...but cant find the newsapaper...

see today liverpool got live or not if no mean tml oso no

guoquanyap
10-08-2004, 11:34 PM

o ya forgotten we still have bellion and fortune....

so maybe the sub bench will be

caroll, djemba djemba, forlan, bellion, fortune.

Bellion, looks good when he comes on as a sub,,,but as for making the starting 11,,he seldom shines..

Maybe SAF will use Fortune on the left and Giggs on the right again...but tat will be wasting giggs' skill !

but giggs did score 2 impt goals when fergie played him at the right last season....to me he is dangerous no matter where he play....:D :cool:

guoquanyap
10-08-2004, 11:54 PM
Speculation is mounting that Manchester United are getting ready to make a late transfer plunge to bridge the gaping hole in their strikeforce.

With leading scorer Ruud van Nistelrooy out for the first month of the season and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer set to miss the whole of the campaign, Sir Alex Ferguson is expected to make an 11th hour bid to bring in new blood.

Everton and England hitman Wayne Rooney would seem the obvious choice, but United could turn their attention elsewhere because of the Goodison Park club's demands for a £30m-plus fee.

Ferguson is more likely to play a waiting game for the 18-year-old, a make him his main target during either the January transfer window or next summer, with Rooney said to be keen to switch to Old Trafford an demanding a get-out clause in his next contract should he agree to stay on at Everton.

Arsenal's Sylvain Wiltord is the latest name to be linked with United while in the meantime Ferguson has blocked all transfer talk involving Uruguayan striker Diego Forlan.

He was said to be ready to move to Spain last week but instead finds himself favourite to partner new-boy Alan Smith as United begin their competitive season on Wednesday night with a Champions League qualifier in Romania.

"Solskjaer is a miss which is why I'm not inclined to let Diego go," said Ferguson. "There has been a lot of coming and going in the last couple of weeks regarding clubs in Spain trying to get him in on the cheap.

"But nothing has really excited us to let him move so since what has happened to Solskjaer and now van Nistelrooy it means he won't be going out now."

david gills u better give fergie the money... :alien:

Spock
10-08-2004, 11:54 PM
today pool's game got live telecast.

Think bellion should play wide right and giggs play centre support striker

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2004, 01:13 AM
Sian.. :(
Hate to see the squad so thin...
we really need new players!!

cracker
11-08-2004, 07:45 AM
nobody answer my question...
btw fletcher plays on the right for man utd

for ur question,,,,I had checked starhub website,,there will be telecast ( should be ch 22).....sometime it is faster to do ur own search instead of relying on the thread to give answer.

as for fletcher case..he wont be playing cos he is suspended !:(

guoquanyap
11-08-2004, 08:04 AM

for ur question,,,,I had checked starhub website,,there will be telecast ( should be ch 22).....sometime it is faster to do ur own search instead of relying on the thread to give answer.

as for fletcher case..he wont be playing cos he is suspended !:(

fletcher is not suspended...he is only suspended for domestic game....not european game....most likely he will play since we missed so many player

cracker
11-08-2004, 08:26 AM

fletcher is not suspended...he is only suspended for domestic game....not european game....most likely he will play since we missed so many player

But paper said he wont be playing :confused:

anyway do hope he will be playing.

as for the live telecast tat someone was asking more than once.

Utd game will be shown on Ch 21. Real Madrid game is on Ch 22.

Kick-off time should be either 0230 or 0300.

Ronaldo7
11-08-2004, 09:10 AM
fletcher can play for us tomorrow :) anyway , i don't like the idea of bellion on the right wing :rolleyes:

Ronaldo7
11-08-2004, 09:15 AM
http://football.guardian.co.uk/championsleague/story/0,13885,1280645,00.html

van nistelrooy out until october ? :mad:

RVN
11-08-2004, 11:36 AM
Cracker, Fletcher is out for 2 premiership games but available to play in Europe, get it. :rolleyes:

Ruud 6 weeks out then, Saha out for 3 weeks, we need to bring in a striker. Forlan isn't up to the task. :(

jacqles
11-08-2004, 04:09 PM
Morientes Morientes Morientes!!

cracker
11-08-2004, 05:33 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Cracker, Fletcher is out for 2 premiership games but available to play in Europe, get it. :rolleyes:

Ruud 6 weeks out then, Saha out for 3 weeks, we need to bring in a striker. Forlan isn't up to the task. :(

gotten IT RVN !!!!!!!

beckz11
11-08-2004, 08:23 PM
we shld get somebody on loan instead of buying coz after 1 month rvn n saha will b back and we cannot accomodate 4 top class strikers!!! surely will cause unrest

blizzy
11-08-2004, 08:25 PM
is the game tonite showing on scv?

y02chs153
11-08-2004, 08:37 PM
should have got their wayne rooney haha

beckz11
11-08-2004, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by blizzy
is the game tonite showing on scv?

yea chn 21

beckz11
11-08-2004, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by y02chs153
should have got their wayne rooney haha

rooney also injured till sept
so no difference

Javier07
11-08-2004, 11:05 PM

yea chn 21

eh brudder. you sure got telecast? i checked starhub's online schedule. bo leh?:confused:

Javier07
11-08-2004, 11:07 PM
we shld get somebody on loan instead of buying coz after 1 month rvn n saha will b back and we cannot accomodate 4 top class strikers!!! surely will cause unrest

I think SAF shld get a F LC or AM /F LC. In this way... can cover for ryan giggs too :)

buy no problem.. so long as he doesnt buy another out and out striker?

RuMmYtUb
11-08-2004, 11:17 PM
Morientes :D :D :D

guoquanyap
11-08-2004, 11:37 PM
Originally posted by Javier07

eh brudder. you sure got telecast? i checked starhub's online schedule. bo leh?:confused:

yup...very sure

guoquanyap
11-08-2004, 11:39 PM
Morientes :D :D :D

his heart will always w REal....but will prove to be a gd short term capture but too slimiar to Ruud...

guoquanyap
11-08-2004, 11:44 PM
let's get owen...:cool:

genesis113
12-08-2004, 12:17 AM
owen won't come to OT
better grab Morientes or Samuel E'to.

jacqles
12-08-2004, 12:27 AM
seriously Morientes is the PERFECT person to fit this role .. get him get him!

i wouldnt wanna see him playing for Arsenal also .. he's been linked quite strongly with them for some time now

uRiZEn
12-08-2004, 12:28 AM
Loan Vieri:D
Heard he's not happy at Inter

Kyubi
12-08-2004, 12:53 AM
seriously Morientes is the PERFECT person to fit this role .. get him get him!

i wouldnt wanna see him playing for Arsenal also .. he's been linked quite strongly with them for some time now ya i oso tink get morientes !!! :D

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 01:24 AM
gng catch heniz and ronaldo in action in olympic....now got heniz in acton in suria

genesis113
12-08-2004, 01:41 AM
avoid Vieri, he's no longer the danger man since 2002.
He played a "big role" for Italy's early exit from Euro2004 and world cup 2002.

Avoid him.

Loan Vieri:D
Heard he's not happy at Inter

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 02:45 AM
match starting better get some goals and avoid defeat....:cool:

Kyubi
12-08-2004, 02:57 AM
own goal by fortune :( ... seems like scholes gonna perform in this match

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 04:42 AM
gd result despite missing so many players....1-2 reslut make the return leg easier....

RVN
12-08-2004, 04:48 AM
Scholes was class throughout, deserving win. Smith unlucky not to score, hit the post. O'Shea in midfield didn't really work that well and Fletcher was garbage on the right. Miller looked good when he came on, as long as he stays fit he should be able to challenge for a first team spot. Great results for us now chelski on Sunday. a bit scare of this one. :look:

Ronaldo7
12-08-2004, 06:21 AM
Originally posted by Kyubi
ya i oso tink get morientes !!! :D

and he got 2 goals for real today :eek:

btw , heinze got on the scoresheet for argentina in the olympic

RVN
12-08-2004, 06:23 AM

Morientes is class, but I doubt Real are dumb to let him go though.

As for Heinze goal, saw it on suria, malay channel, a great looping header. :eek:

genesis113
12-08-2004, 07:29 AM
so he is euro cup-tied now if he did come to OT later.

RVN
12-08-2004, 07:40 AM
Originally posted by genesis113
so he is euro cup-tied now if he did come to OT later.

yep, cup-tied since he now play in the CL qualifers.

usjag_18
12-08-2004, 10:23 AM
Coolx... Though it's not a superb win, but at least from the report, I can see that the players already tried their best to panic Dinamo. I guess this will be really a good shot of encouragement for both the fans and players.

Since I am at a place where no one cares much about soccer though their local soccer club just won their local league champion not long ago, can someone please tell me how's the performance of Liam Miller and Djemba-Djemba?

Seriously, whenever someone (including Sir Fergie) praised Quinton Fortune, I will felt a punch into my face. To me, I always felt that he's a player who's performance is inconsistence. I still don't understand why people thinks that he's good, can someone explain? He's always making mistakes, at least whenever I tried to concentrate in front of the TV, he will definitely complete the passing ball with some mistakes that I can never understand. If I am not wrong, this is not the first time he had scored an own goal. That's really terrible.
I am hoping someone can explain to me the good point of him being a player in Man Utd. Seriously, since I supported Man Utd for so long, he's the only player that I cannot understand how come when he performs so badly, people still praising him!

Regards,
O'

Ronaldo7
12-08-2004, 11:08 AM
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=55111

ratings for the match ;)

Spock
12-08-2004, 11:47 AM
Simply put, his work rate is excellent,good crossing too.

Coolx... Though it's not a superb win, but at least from the report, I can see that the players already tried their best to panic Dinamo. I guess this will be really a good shot of encouragement for both the fans and players.

Since I am at a place where no one cares much about soccer though their local soccer club just won their local league champion not long ago, can someone please tell me how's the performance of Liam Miller and Djemba-Djemba?

Seriously, whenever someone (including Sir Fergie) praised Quinton Fortune, I will felt a punch into my face. To me, I always felt that he's a player who's performance is inconsistence. I still don't understand why people thinks that he's good, can someone explain? He's always making mistakes, at least whenever I tried to concentrate in front of the TV, he will definitely complete the passing ball with some mistakes that I can never understand. If I am not wrong, this is not the first time he had scored an own goal. That's really terrible.
I am hoping someone can explain to me the good point of him being a player in Man Utd. Seriously, since I supported Man Utd for so long, he's the only player that I cannot understand how come when he performs so badly, people still praising him!

Regards,
O'

RuMmYtUb
12-08-2004, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Scholes was class throughout, deserving win. Smith unlucky not to score, hit the post. O'Shea in midfield didn't really work that well and Fletcher was garbage on the right. Miller looked good when he came on, as long as he stays fit he should be able to challenge for a first team spot. Great results for us now chelski on Sunday. a bit scare of this one. :look:

Agreed :D

1920_me
12-08-2004, 01:31 PM
I think john o'shea was terrible in the first half..even if he does that against chelski. we are definitely screwed.

Did anyone notice that O'Shea is like first to join the celebrations...first to hug miller(he was so happy for his Irish team-mate) and first to hug smith for the disallowed goal.

Other than that i thought Giggs and Scholes were awesome..if only both their long-range shots had go in..terrfic technique

rethel
12-08-2004, 02:02 PM
http://www.terra.es/personal7/howardx5/22/1.html

beckz11
12-08-2004, 02:15 PM
o shea is an disaster in centre mid...
fortune inconsistent meh
i think he is really very gd as left back
man united only started to play in 2nd half
the lst half i see liao i feel very sad coz i know if play like tt sure lose epl title

Yellowfin
12-08-2004, 03:34 PM
This article will be of interest to you guy. :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics_2004/football/3557006.stm

Anyway, have faith with Man U youngster even though they might not perform consistently.

Last night result is a good one, at least the squad players step up and be counted in their performance.

Just my 2 peso.

beckz11
12-08-2004, 03:48 PM
saw him play...really can see tt he is a hard tackler robust

cracker
12-08-2004, 04:33 PM
Having watched the game only after abt 15 min gone,,,,hence missed Fortune's own goal.

IMHO,Utd was really terrible in all areas until the equaliser by Giggs. There were times when the romanian easily went pass Utd's back 4,,but poor finishing or cross prevented them from capitalising on such opportunities.

It seems like they were totally out of ideas how to penetrate the home team.

The second half was better with keane playing in central defence.

Fletcher, maybe due to lack of match fitness, kept loosing the ball easily..as for his sub, Liam Miller; he did make a good impression.

He provided the cross tat was turned in by the home team for the winner goal of the game. QUestion was: did he attempt to cross or was he trying to wack the ball thru hoping for someone to tap it into the net ?

Alan Smith had a good game,,,he is forever the hard tackling player...earning a yellow for one of his fouls. He could have scored if not for a mis-kick.

Overall based on Utd's first half, they will be thrashed by Chelsea...if based on second half,,,might be able to hold out for a draw.

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 04:34 PM
saw him play...really can see tt he is a hard tackler robust

and he can jump damn high....:o like wat i say he is excellent in arieal abitily...

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 04:37 PM

Overall based on Utd's first half, they will be thrashed by Chelsea...if based on second half,,,might be able to hold out for a draw.

agreed...this sunday match against chelsea doesnt look gd....w so many first teamer out...draw will be a gd result, a win will be over the moon.....:D

MatrixFanatic
12-08-2004, 05:49 PM

agreed...this sunday match against chelsea doesnt look gd....w so many first teamer out...draw will be a gd result, a win will be over the moon.....:D

I scared Chelsea thrash us man ... but Manu usually play well at Stamford Bridge right? But then again that was the pre-Roman Abrakjnkjfakjndfaskdjk days right?:(

cracker
12-08-2004, 06:22 PM

I scared Chelsea thrash us man ... but Manu usually play well at Stamford Bridge right? But then again that was the pre-Roman Abrakjnkjfakjndfaskdjk days right?:(

nope.....Chelsea had thrashed MU 5-0 when Zola was still there...

and also won 3-0 at OT in the early 2000s season.

RVN
12-08-2004, 08:32 PM
Manchester United have confirmed their Premiership squad numbers for the new season.

New additions Alan Smith, Gabriel Heinze and Liam Miller are handed shirt numbers 14, 4 and 17 respectively.

The No.8 shirt remains tantalising vacant after Nicky Butt departed for Newcastle during the close-season.

Premiership Squad Nos:
1. Howard (GK)
2. Neville, G
3. Neville, P
4. Heinze
5. Ferdinand
6. Brown
7. Ronaldo
9. Louis Saha
10. Van Nistelrooy
11. Ryan Giggs
12. Bellion
13. Carroll (GK)
14. Smith
15. Kleberson
16. Keane
17. Miller
18. Scholes
19. Djemba Djemba
20. Solskjaer
21. Forlan
22. O'Shea
23. Richardson
24. Fletcher
25. Fortune
26. Bardsley
27. Silvestre
29. Spector
30. Steele (GK)
31. Jones
32. Djordjic
33. Eagles
34. McShane
35. Ricardo (GK)
37. Cooper
38. Heaton (GK)
39. Tierney

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=94915&itype=466&icategoryid=120

samwise
12-08-2004, 09:03 PM
Alex!!!

Pls Buy TEVEZ!!!!

Give him the Number 8 shirt!!!

leo_llw
12-08-2004, 09:53 PM
Originally posted by samwise
Alex!!!

Pls Buy TEVEZ!!!!

Give him the Number 8 shirt!!!
Tevez nt too impressive....

might as well buy cesar delgardo on the left....power man ;)

RVN
12-08-2004, 10:49 PM
10 players out of chelsea match. :alien: :mad:

Ronaldo
Ruud
Heinze
Kleberson
Rio
Saha
Brown
Solskjaer (out for the whole season anyway, poor thing):(
Kleberson
Fletcher

guoquanyap
12-08-2004, 11:41 PM
no point buying tevez or cesar delgardo both are too young to settle in EPL further more they will not be granted work permit

beckz11
13-08-2004, 12:13 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Ronaldo
Ruud
Heinze
Kleberson
Rio
Saha
Brown
Kleberson
Fletcher

WAH!!!
GAWD SAVE MAN UTD!!

RuMmYtUb
13-08-2004, 12:37 AM
Originally posted by RVN

Ronaldo
Ruud
Heinze
Kleberson
Rio
Saha
Brown
Kleberson
Fletcher

Erm, i'm not too optimisic of chances against Chelski :(

Feador
13-08-2004, 01:07 AM
nothing short of a miracle to even draw man sighx...

RVN
13-08-2004, 04:31 AM
THE first month of this season’s Premiership is likely to be highly significant in Manchester United’s pursuit of honours.

With 10 senior players unavailable for Sunday’s opening match at Chelsea, manager Sir Alex Ferguson will be keen to ensure his team are not playing catch-up from day one of the campaign.

The Reds’ preparations for 2004/05 have been disrupted by injuries, the loss of Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze to the Olympic Games and Rio Ferdinand’s continuing suspension.

Even for a club as massive as Manchester United, the loss of so many key players is a crushing blow.

And as most won’t be reappearing until mid-September, Ferguson must hope United haven’t already lost considerable ground in the title race.

It is certainly a worry, especially as Arsenal appear to be firing on all cylinders, judging by their 3-1 victory over the Reds in the FA Community Shield.

United’s pre-season build-up has been little short of disastrous.

The Reds took little more than a reserve side on their tour of America and even the Vodafone Cup saw Ferguson field weakened line-ups.

Sunday’s FA Community Shield, for which nine players were unavailable, was the dress rehearsal for the new campaign and it proved United face some difficult days in the weeks to come.

Ferguson will be praying the next month will be one of damage limitation until his big guns return.

The problems start up front where Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer are all sidelined.

Alan Smith, who has scored twice during pre-season matches, has impressed, but it is asking a lot of him and Diego Forlan to carry the attack.

Ferguson’s only other options are to push Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes up from midfield.

Ronaldo and Kleberson are midfield absentees, while Brown, Heinze and Ferdinand are defenders who will miss the big kick- off.

Once Ferguson has most of his key players available, he should have a squad to rival those of Arsenal and Chelsea.

With van Nistelrooy, Saha, Smith and Forlan, they have considerable fire power, especially with Giggs and Ronaldo supplying the ammunition from wide.

And the midfield looks solid, even though Roy Keane remains an indispensible figure.

Ferguson, looking to the future, has high hopes that Liam Miller will eventually succeed him.

Once Brown and Ferdinand are restored to the Reds’ defence and new-boy Heinze is integrated into the back-line there should be few meaner defences in the Premiership.

The big question, though, is: will it be too late?

By Ferguson’s own admission, he has never endured such a troubled start to a season.

It will be interesting to see if he can work his magic and create a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

http://www.oldham-chronicle.co.uk/SPORTTH04.html

leo_llw
13-08-2004, 10:26 AM
no point buying tevez or cesar delgardo both are too young to settle in EPL further more they will not be granted work permit
true also :(

can throw them to your feeder clubs first?