View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Wot if.... they lose to everton too?
Erikkson
30-04-2002, 08:58 AM
Originally posted by stam
i muist admit, the title is arsenal's even they lose to united at old trafford..
Its not over yet...Arse nal still got 2 more games to play =p
Don't forget the FA Cup semi-final of 1999 :D
we can just hope.
blame it on the derby draw and boro loss. :(
Erikkson
30-04-2002, 09:34 AM
someone mentioned before the club to finish above man utd will win the league ;)
Shingoz
30-04-2002, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by k4
Wot if.... they lose to everton too?
I think if they lose to man utd and draws @ everton man utd can win in goal difference....
Devilboy
30-04-2002, 08:54 PM
It is not the end yet! I am still keeping my finger cross! Stop saying things that haven't happen yet! Man Utd are still able to turn things now! Forget the EPL for now, let's concentrate on the Champion League! Bayer Leverkusen looks comfortable for now but wait till Man Utd triple threat strike force(Giggs, Solksjear, RVN) hit them..................We will be going to Scotland, Glasgow. That the bottomline! Roy Keane will guide Man Utd to victory to regained what he have not achieve in 1999. Everyone in Man Utd is desperate to go to the Champion League Finals. Tonight Bayer Leverkusen 1-3 Man Utd.
Pr0t0type
30-04-2002, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by Devilboy
It is not the end yet! I am still keeping my finger cross! Stop saying things that haven't happen yet! Man Utd are still able to turn things now! Forget the EPL for now, let's concentrate on the Champion League! Bayer Leverkusen looks comfortable for now but wait till Man Utd triple threat strike force(Giggs, Solksjear, RVN) hit them..................We will be going to Scotland, Glasgow. That the bottomline! Roy Keane will guide Man Utd to victory to regained what he have not achieve in 1999. Everyone in Man Utd is desperate to go to the Champion League Finals. Tonight Bayer Leverkusen 1-3 Man Utd.
THATS THE SPIRIT!!!! :bounce:
Originally posted by Shingoz
I think if they lose to man utd and draws @ everton man utd can win in goal difference....
which mean the title is not even arsenal.. wot are they screaming abt now?? 2 more games.. anything can happen.. n i say it again.. i PROMISE i wun LOL if the title is not theirs.... :rolleyes:
Shingoz
30-04-2002, 09:37 PM
Hmm being confident and hopeful for the team you support is good.
Just make sure it dont sounds like boastful or complacent.
Esp so when there's so many ppl who have got something with man utd fans.
Devilboy
01-05-2002, 12:53 AM
Hmm being confident and hopeful for the team you support is good.
Just make sure it dont sounds like boastful or complacent.
Esp so when there's so many ppl who have got something with man utd fans.
Those anti-Man Utd fans are pathetic! Just because Man Utd kept winning silverwares, they got really jealous and sick that their beloved team did not make it, they start to label Man Utd as arrogant and blah blah blah. I got used to it! And for those Anti-Man Utd fans out there! Listen to this! Man Utd is a "MULTI-BILLION" dollar club! Even if Alex Ferguson were to retire, topple Man Utd off the EPL and other campaign will be "HARDER" than climbing up Mount Everest, maybe you need agent Ethan (Mission Impossible) to help. We got the "CASH" and many many more than any team in the EPL or should I say the world? For those Anti-Man Utd fans out there who still insist that Man Utd are arrogant and blah blah blah, think again, maybe you have to continue hating and bad mouthing Man Utd for the next 10 years or maybe until the day you are on your dying bed. HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 01:08 AM
Err i just happened to need some bad and good examples..... :laugh:
OnizUk4
01-05-2002, 01:15 AM
I think best is tt
Man Utd get CPL
Chelsea get FA Cup
Arsenal get EPL Champ(hard to admit, they already won it)
man utd win the double!! :D
Kiwi8
01-05-2002, 02:29 AM
Those anti-Man Utd fans are pathetic! Just because Man Utd kept winning silverwares, they got really jealous and sick that their beloved team did not make it, they start to label Man Utd as arrogant and blah blah blah. I got used to it! And for those Anti-Man Utd fans out there! Listen to this! Man Utd is a "MULTI-BILLION" dollar club! Even if Alex Ferguson were to retire, topple Man Utd off the EPL and other campaign will be "HARDER" than climbing up Mount Everest, maybe you need agent Ethan (Mission Impossible) to help. We got the "CASH" and many many more than any team in the EPL or should I say the world? For those Anti-Man Utd fans out there who still insist that Man Utd are arrogant and blah blah blah, think again, maybe you have to continue hating and bad mouthing Man Utd for the next 10 years or maybe until the day you are on your dying bed. HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Yeah..... negative demonstration alpha.
Total biased fan who only thrives on a club's fortune. :rolleyes:
Originally posted by OnizUk4
I think best is tt
Arsenal get EPL Champ(hard to admit, they already won it)
already? havem lar! till e last game of the league.. its not over yet! glory manu~ win or not.. its still manU!
Erikkson
01-05-2002, 03:06 AM
Manchester has to win the game tonight.
They can't afford to draw or lose because of away goals.
vamos
01-05-2002, 03:15 AM
28th min
GOAL!!!!
ROY KEANE!!!!! What a captain......:bounce:
flea_pepper
01-05-2002, 03:20 AM
Originally posted by vamos
28th min
GOAL!!!!
ROY KEANE!!!!! What a captain......:bounce:
i may not support man utd.
But in dis case, I've to support it cos I really dislike German clubs.
If Man Utd wins, I'll be glad to know it has done well :)
Nice shot by Roy Keane in an acute angle.
hwah e referee darn tall..
beautiful one by bayer :bounce:
Erikkson
01-05-2002, 03:35 AM
and I thought u guys were sleeping :rolleyes:
:laugh:
vamos
somehow can see extra time being played
flea_pepper
Originally posted by k4
beautiful one by bayer :bounce:
3 - 3 on aggregate now
so, if da score still da same..
got any extra time or will man utd win on away goal ?
OnizUk4
01-05-2002, 03:36 AM
Wtf
Neuville got an 1/2 chance and he juz put it in.
vamos
01-05-2002, 03:37 AM
Originally posted by flea_pepper85
3 - 3 on aggregate now
if the same then leverkusen wins on away goals........if it ends at 2-2 then there will be extra time
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 03:38 AM
3 - 3 on aggregate now
If the score stays the same man utd lose. (Agregrate score 3-3 i mean)
Man Utd got to draw this match 2-2 for extra time and 3-3 and above to win if they draw.
ayo.. hear those females screamin in female soccer... :rolleyes: interesting..
we need goals we need goals!! :bounce:
vamos
01-05-2002, 03:40 AM
we need goals we need goals!! :bounce:
supersub solkjaer to the rescue!!
trickle_on
01-05-2002, 03:43 AM
Originally posted by OnizUk4
Wtf
Neuville got an 1/2 chance and he juz put it in.
yeah man....that guy is a lucky *******!!
hope Man U can come back....
OnizUk4
01-05-2002, 03:44 AM
So true
Maybe Barthez juz wander abit out of position.
wot a mess! see until :rolleyes:
flea_pepper
01-05-2002, 04:40 AM
Hmm...Man Utd Lost.
If Oni dat Forlan scored....best.
Too Bad Placente headed da ball out.
If Real goes to da final, I am 100% sure Real will win.
BAYER LEVER SUCKS !!!
kengbeng
01-05-2002, 04:41 AM
A lot of uncertain long balls were being played because the players kept getting pinned back by the Leverkusen players. No penetration at all! :frus:
No width in attack, thought the team lacked the services of Beckham.
i cant blif it.. manU deserves to win. no luck.. it was a great match tho! v.exciting.. tt header was nv meant to be!
anyway i cannot say much fer veron.. he needs oil, man.
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 04:43 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
A lot of uncertain long balls were being played because the players kept getting pinned back by the Leverkusen players. No penetration at all! :frus:
No use blaming anyone now.
Both team did their best.....
Sad result.....sad year for Man Utd. :(
Pr0t0type
01-05-2002, 04:44 AM
We must accept the results. We are Manchester United and WE WILL BE BACK!!
flea_pepper
01-05-2002, 04:44 AM
Originally posted by kengbeng
No width in attack, thought the team lacked the services of Beckham.
yA LOR..
Beckham should play...haiz..injured .. too bad :(
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 04:45 AM
Originally posted by Pr0t0type
We must accept the results. We are Manchester United and WE WILL BE BACK!!
Hopefully.
A new season is still a long way to come..we still have the world cup as the big buffer.
flea_pepper
01-05-2002, 04:46 AM
So, anybody wanna watch Baywatch now ? hehe:D
trickle_on
01-05-2002, 04:49 AM
I just don't understand WTF Veron was doing the whole night??.....he was stroking the ball the whole night.....he picks up the ball just inside his own half and then pumps a high ball into Bayer's penalty box....and that's basically all he ever did.....
another thing is he totally sucks at defending.....
Silvestre was half there, half somewhere else mentally.....
I am so enraged because I have never seen Man U play like this on such a big occasion. No urgency....only Forlan showed some urgency when he came on.
Keane tried his best....but alas....haiz...
In the end, the better team won.
I am a Man Utd supporter, always will be. But I do hope that they can show some resilience in their last 2 matches in the EPL at least.
I apologise if this is a little too long. It's 4.50am and I'm feeling damn 'du lan'....haiz...cannot even sleep.
:mad:
maybe i will feel sad only after this anger has passed.
So, anybody wanna watch Baywatch now ? hehe:D
:)~ baywatch
Pr0t0type
01-05-2002, 04:50 AM
Nah. I think I am going to install FIFA2002 again and play. :P
Kiwi8
01-05-2002, 04:51 AM
Originally posted by trickle_on
I just don't understand WTF Veron was doing the whole night??.....he was stroking the ball the whole night.....he picks up the ball just inside his own half and then pumps a high ball into Bayer's penalty box....and that's basically all he ever did.....
another thing is he totally sucks at defending.....
Silvestre was half there, half somewhere else mentally.....
I am so enraged because I have never seen Man U play like this on such a big occasion. No urgency....only Forlan showed some urgency when he came on.
Keane tried his best....but alas....haiz...
In the end, the better team won.
I am a Man Utd supporter, always will be. But I do hope that they can show some resilience in their last 2 matches in the EPL at least.
I apologise if this is a little too long. It's 4.50am and I'm feeling damn 'du lan'....haiz...cannot even sleep.
:mad:
Yeah.... Veron didnt seem to gel with the team, & Forlan didnt seem to be able to get a goal consistently.
But kudos to Bayer Leverkusen for defending stoutly (even when their forte is attacking) to earn the draw.
Devilboy
01-05-2002, 01:48 PM
We will be back! We had a great season! Remember when Arsenal won a double in 199 and Man Utd had nothing? The next year, we won treble. Let's stay focus!
Kenshin79
01-05-2002, 03:07 PM
why so many pple think man u unlucky? why not say that the bayer defenders are so committed and do all they can to stop man u from scoring? seriously, man u scored 3 goals in this tie, but only keane's one is excellent, ole one was an own goal & ruud's penalty is also 50-50, as roberto did clear the ball first & some reft would not have given it... so which the lucky team?
bayer's oliver nevuille's 9(spelling) goal not luck ok... he hit it nicely, dip just beyond barthez... and dun complain that ronny slip -> he slip when he tried to get close to oliver, but even if he did not slip, it was too late, for he had dropped off too much to allow oliver just enough time & space to tee up a good shot.
i think they were also lucky tat their atrocious defending allow the bayer players to attack so often but the bayer players screwed up those chances...
man u has always been very lucky in the past few seasons, but your luck will eventually run out, and it is time fergie eat his humble pie & accept he got things wrong this season... otherwise, man u wont improve much & get back their "luck" again
imo, fergie is the man to blame for man u failure this season. why?
1) sell stam juz becos of some stupid negative publicity
2) get blanc to step in when he's not ready & obviously not primed for such games
3) using 4411 tactic -> giggs is the best "support" player, but tat means taking out the width already... wth is fergie thinking?
4) get the prima donna veron who really dun deserve 28m pound... how much better is he compared to other playmaking mf? he is not zidane/figo/rivaldo, for goodness.... not even near pires or dunn or litmanen etc..
5) becos of his pride & face, he refused to admit his tactics were not good & veron juz cant fit in
6) hence, players like scholes get played out of position and confidence go away -> wif tat the ability too.
7) similar to above, Solskjaer is not getting the games he deserves juz becos the old man dun admit his tactics dun work. worse, ask ole to play left or right winger, JUST to accomodate the ineffective veron.
8) the inside story of how fergie's son & partners are actually contemplating taking a big role & share in man u and player dealings.. all those with fergie's contract matters really disrupt the team.
9) too much arrogance, hardly show respect for other teams.. obviously fergie had not studied how bayer can defeat so many good teams, especially the way they scored at will against pool
10) arrogance again shown all the time, keep saying his team is the best & "unlucky"... how much luck he wants? his team has been lucky for seasons. your luck will run out eventually.
it is a good thing for man u that fergie is still one of the best manager around & he can still bring man u to glory in the next few years.... but seriously, it is time the "great" man himself learn to be humble and accept that he and his team are just not good enough and that he has made the mistakes... otherwise, i dun see how a stubborn arrogant guy like him can still help man u forward... he is being caught out this season, is he going to do things his way so much & cant accept his mistakes & learn from them? if not, man u gonna have darker days. and seriously, those business dealings behind the scenes are going to affect man u again.
MadwolfNemesis
01-05-2002, 04:13 PM
Originally posted by Kenshin79
why so many pple think man u unlucky? why not say that the bayer defenders are so committed and do all they can to stop man u from scoring? seriously, man u scored 3 goals in this tie, but only keane's one is excellent, ole one was an own goal & ruud's penalty is also 50-50, as roberto did clear the ball first & some reft would not have given it... so which the lucky team?
bayer's oliver nevuille's 9(spelling) goal not luck ok... he hit it nicely, dip just beyond barthez... and dun complain that ronny slip -> he slip when he tried to get close to oliver, but even if he did not slip, it was too late, for he had dropped off too much to allow oliver just enough time & space to tee up a good shot.
i think they were also lucky tat their atrocious defending allow the bayer players to attack so often but the bayer players screwed up those chances...
man u has always been very lucky in the past few seasons, but your luck will eventually run out, and it is time fergie eat his humble pie & accept he got things wrong this season... otherwise, man u wont improve much & get back their "luck" again
imo, fergie is the man to blame for man u failure this season. why?
1) sell stam juz becos of some stupid negative publicity
2) get blanc to step in when he's not ready & obviously not primed for such games
3) using 4411 tactic -> giggs is the best "support" player, but tat means taking out the width already... wth is fergie thinking?
4) get the prima donna veron who really dun deserve 28m pound... how much better is he compared to other playmaking mf? he is not zidane/figo/rivaldo, for goodness.... not even near pires or dunn or litmanen etc..
5) becos of his pride & face, he refused to admit his tactics were not good & veron juz cant fit in
6) hence, players like scholes get played out of position and confidence go away -> wif tat the ability too.
7) similar to above, Solskjaer is not getting the games he deserves juz becos the old man dun admit his tactics dun work. worse, ask ole to play left or right winger, JUST to accomodate the ineffective veron.
8) the inside story of how fergie's son & partners are actually contemplating taking a big role & share in man u and player dealings.. all those with fergie's contract matters really disrupt the team.
9) too much arrogance, hardly show respect for other teams.. obviously fergie had not studied how bayer can defeat so many good teams, especially the way they scored at will against pool
10) arrogance again shown all the time, keep saying his team is the best & "unlucky"... how much luck he wants? his team has been lucky for seasons. your luck will run out eventually.
it is a good thing for man u that fergie is still one of the best manager around & he can still bring man u to glory in the next few years.... but seriously, it is time the "great" man himself learn to be humble and accept that he and his team are just not good enough and that he has made the mistakes... otherwise, i dun see how a stubborn arrogant guy like him can still help man u forward... he is being caught out this season, is he going to do things his way so much & cant accept his mistakes & learn from them? if not, man u gonna have darker days. and seriously, those business dealings behind the scenes are going to affect man u again.
I smell a strong taste of prejudiced and hatred.
Kenshin79
01-05-2002, 04:22 PM
hey, just my opinions only, ok?
me not man u fan nor anti man u
but i seriously think that fergie had screwed up this season...
no offence everyone, juz my views, i may be wrong for some points too :D
MadwolfNemesis
01-05-2002, 04:30 PM
Originally posted by Kenshin79
hey, just my opinions only, ok?
me not man u fan nor anti man u
but i seriously think that fergie had screwed up this season...
no offence everyone, juz my views, i may be wrong for some points too :D
This sound much much better, brother. At least Man Utd fans won't be so pissed off. Haha. But u'd got a point I must agree. Veron is not coping well in Man Utd. And it's a mistake, I feel, to sell off Jaap Stam
Fearless
01-05-2002, 05:22 PM
If you were a player in Man Utd, how would you feel when your manager sold off your best defender becasue of some remarks he made?
Personally I will never trust my manager ever again. If he can treat another fellow player like meat, he will and can do the same to me.
Think about that.
AF has lost the trust of some (i won't say all) of his players. They saw right through his this season.
(1)Stam incident
(2)playing unfmailiar formation to fit in a new, ineffective (most of the time) player
(3)playing people out of position just to fit in JSV4.
I'd be sick and disillusioned with my manager if he did something like that.
No doubt Man Utd has good players .. not all, more notably, Solskjaer, Giggs, Keane .. but in the end, its the manager who makes the difference too.
Good luck next season,
Fearless
Shingoz
01-05-2002, 07:21 PM
Blah......next season is one thing....i really hope man utd can defeat ARSE!!! :bounce:
At least let fergie win some small pride...
Sounds like if man utd lose to arse again...it's really a sucky season.
Losing to everyone....
vamos
01-05-2002, 08:24 PM
Originally posted by Fearless
If you were a player in Man Utd, how would you feel when your manager sold off your best defender becasue of some remarks he made?
Personally I will never trust my manager ever again. If he can treat another fellow player like meat, he will and can do the same to me.
Think about that.
AF has lost the trust of some (i won't say all) of his players. They saw right through his this season.
(1)Stam incident
(2)playing unfmailiar formation to fit in a new, ineffective (most of the time) player
(3)playing people out of position just to fit in JSV4.
I'd be sick and disillusioned with my manager if he did something like that.
No doubt Man Utd has good players .. not all, more notably, Solskjaer, Giggs, Keane .. but in the end, its the manager who makes the difference too.
Good luck next season,
Fearless
My opinions:
The reason he played a unfamiliar formation is because for the previous seasons they have been found to be very predictable, quater finals defeats to real and bayern, he tried to change especially for champions league and compared to those past two years they actually improved (semi finals) and they almost did it (finals).
As for the Stam affair, if you read what Stam actually wrote about, its too "revealing", like Fergie behaving like a madman by kicking the table etc, it may be true but you just dont tell the world such things especially when Fergie protects his players in public. Team affairs should be kept internal, especially when you are still in it, I wont be comfortable if my team mate starts writing a book and revealing all the **** that is happening in the changing room. Write the book when you leave the place.
2 cents worth.
;)
aFTerLiF3
01-05-2002, 08:33 PM
Well, at least we are eliminated by the away goals and not actually being beaten in a traditional way by them.. at least we did not lost 4-2 and did not use the magnificent negative football :laugh:
yeah.. i welcome any flame from our brothers .... i already get used to it in this forum.
aFTerLiF3
01-05-2002, 08:43 PM
i pity keane, he has work his arse off for this match... no wonder in one part of the game ,he scolded a defender ( wes brown?) for doing something stupid.
Don't you guys think we looked more dangerous after Fergie switched to 4-4-2 ?
I also salute Lucio, he twisted his knees,ankle,etc ... limping , but yet he still manage to play full 90 minutes. Salute ! :)
About Veron, i think he was better in the 2nd leg compared to the 1st leg
Man u defence last nite was horrible, if against another team united would have concede a few goals. bayer's players were given lots of 1 on 1 with barthez only fail to score.
but man u oso unlucky to have a few chances cleared off the
line....
Ballack oso very good, need more than 1 player to stop him!
aFTerLiF3
01-05-2002, 09:47 PM
Bayer also unlucky for not utilizing our errors..
Devilboy
02-05-2002, 08:51 PM
Look on the bright side gentleman! There is always a tomorrow. Defeats are wake-up call for Victories! Man Utd will be more powerful the next season!
ccloh
02-05-2002, 08:56 PM
no worries, last time when man utd won nothing in that season, they win the treble the next.
gds thing that they won nothing this season, this will make those players even more hunger for success and more committed and determine to win more next season.
let look forwards to next season where the like of arsenal, liverpool, bayern, etc will pay for what they have mocked man utd this season.
cool man !!!!
cheers
vamos
02-05-2002, 10:06 PM
Originally posted by ccloh
no worries, last time when man utd won nothing in that season, they win the treble the next.
gds thing that they won nothing this season, this will make those players even more hunger for success and more committed and determine to win more next season.
let look forwards to next season where the like of arsenal, liverpool, bayern, etc will pay for what they have mocked man utd this season.
cool man !!!!
cheers
:bounce: hear! hear! :bounce:
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0503/20020503mufcthuram.html
man utd could sign thuram.
kaoz he 30 yr old liao still would cost 20-25million.
IMO its a waste of money. 15m still can buy.
Shingoz
03-05-2002, 05:15 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0503/20020503mufcthuram.html
man utd could sign thuram.
kaoz he 30 yr old liao still would cost 20-25million.
IMO its a waste of money. 15m still can buy.
Yeah...i noticed an inflation of player value in recent years.....now any better players cost around >10million pound.
I think it's the italian and spanish leagues that's spoiling the market.
Devilboy
03-05-2002, 10:22 PM
Yeah...i noticed an inflation of player value in recent years.....now any better players cost around >10million pound.
I think it's the italian and spanish leagues that's spoiling the market.
Seriously speaking...........even Zidane doesn't worth that much. Real Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, AC Milan and etc........must have some powerful backing. Every season, they can easily spend 20-50 Million pounds buying players. Seldom see that in EPL. The most expensive one is only Veron at 28.5 million pounds.
i think Real Madrid got govt paying for their debts or what.
Devilboy
05-05-2002, 09:44 AM
Hahahahahahah I am so happy for Arsenal, they may have won the F.A cup but they will be very tired on Wed againist us. I can see that Man Utd will kill off Arsenal in a hope of salvaging a EPL trophy. Man Utd trashed them 5-1 last season, what will this game be?
swalk21
05-05-2002, 09:46 AM
we live the cup at old trafford .that what devilboy:evil:
Devilboy
06-05-2002, 01:04 AM
Like what I always said, anything can happen in football. Inter Milan are favourites to lift the Serie A trophy but they lost in their final match to Lazio and handed the title to Juventus. A month ago, Valencia also creep from behind to overtake Real Madrid in the La Liga. Now it is Man Utd turn to overtake Arsenal, it may looks as if it is a up hill task but anything can happen. Do not loss any faith as long as the final whistle is not been blown.:)
woonbock
06-05-2002, 01:31 AM
Hahahahahahah I am so happy for Arsenal, they may have won the F.A cup but they will be very tired on Wed againist us. I can see that Man Utd will kill off Arsenal in a hope of salvaging a EPL trophy. Man Utd trashed them 5-1 last season, what will this game be?
indeed many man u fans pretend to ignore the fact in the 6-1 loss that the defence were being marshalled by grimandi and stephanovs. still no excuse for such a heavy defeat. but if man u fans still hope for a repeat this season, only this to say. tan gu gu :)
ralliart_ray
06-05-2002, 08:36 AM
it is quite sad to see MANU fall~
of cos its almost impossible to see a similiar scoreline to last season. thats a 1 off.:)
ccloh
06-05-2002, 02:13 PM
just hope that man utd defeats arsenal in this coming match be it 6-1 or 1-0.
cheers
Devilboy
06-05-2002, 11:59 PM
Originally posted by woonbock
indeed many man u fans pretend to ignore the fact in the 6-1 loss that the defence were being marshalled by grimandi and stephanovs. still no excuse for such a heavy defeat. but if man u fans still hope for a repeat this season, only this to say. tan gu gu :)
No need to tan gu gu. This Thursday will be it:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
woonbock
07-05-2002, 12:31 AM
No need to tan gu gu. This Thursday will be it:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
well like henry say, we dun call if u thrash us 100-0! :laugh:
trickle_on
07-05-2002, 02:06 AM
well like henry say, we dun call if u thrash us 100-0! :laugh:
maybe a case of counting his chicks before they hatch....it ain't over till the fat lady sings!!
;)
ralliart_ray
07-05-2002, 08:54 PM
arsenal r too "yaya" ... last season manU won the title..n didnt even say a thing... looks wat wenger said.
Monday, May 6, 2002
Wenger: It's our turn to rule
Arsene Wenger has told Manchester United that Arsenal are ready to replace them as the dominant side in English football for the foreseeable future.
The Highbury manager's boast is bound to incense Sir Alex Ferguson ahead of what promises to be a highly-charged Premiership clash with United on Wednesday.
Wenger watched his team lift the FA Cup in Cardiff on Saturday and now expects them to complete a second domestic Double in four years at Old Trafford.
He said: 'We have the potential to dominate as Manchester United have done over the next few years. We have shown that we are a side that plays exciting football, that can play on any pitch. It is a big game on Wednesday because the championship is at stake but we want to show just how strong we are away from home.'
ralliart_ray
08-05-2002, 06:51 PM
wohooo
manU vs arsenal tonite:D
ccloh
08-05-2002, 09:33 PM
arsene wegner even has problem in retaining patrick vieria how to boost abt able to replace man utd as the england no. 1. typical arrogant french. u can't expect every season to purchase a zidane and inspire u to win all the trophies. very naive thinking arsene wegner. never even proceed further than man utd or liverpool in this season CL and leeds in last season CL. poor french day-dreaming !!!!
cheers
arsene wegner even has problem in retaining patrick vieria how to boost abt able to replace man utd as the england no. 1. typical arrogant french. u can't expect every season to purchase a zidane and inspire u to win all the trophies. very naive thinking arsene wegner. never even proceed further than man utd or liverpool in this season CL and leeds in last season CL. poor french day-dreaming !!!!
cheers
let him dream on :)
Talev
08-05-2002, 11:23 PM
Good luck to all you MU fans out there for the match tonight. Though Arsenal looks the likely winner now, at least get something over them. Must say this MU season was quite surprising...
woonbock
08-05-2002, 11:37 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
arsenal r too "yaya" ... last season manU won the title..n didnt even say a thing... looks wat wenger said.
Monday, May 6, 2002
Wenger: It's our turn to rule
Arsene Wenger has told Manchester United that Arsenal are ready to replace them as the dominant side in English football for the foreseeable future.
The Highbury manager's boast is bound to incense Sir Alex Ferguson ahead of what promises to be a highly-charged Premiership clash with United on Wednesday.
Wenger watched his team lift the FA Cup in Cardiff on Saturday and now expects them to complete a second domestic Double in four years at Old Trafford.
He said: 'We have the potential to dominate as Manchester United have done over the next few years. We have shown that we are a side that plays exciting football, that can play on any pitch. It is a big game on Wednesday because the championship is at stake but we want to show just how strong we are away from home.'
duh? just look at wat Ferguson been saying? like how man u played the best soccer in England? or being the best team this season? and saying all these w/o winning anything yet as well?
http://www.soccernet.com/columns/2002/0508/20020508feathart.html
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 12:37 AM
duh? just look at wat Ferguson been saying? like how man u played the best soccer in England? or being the best team this season? and saying all these w/o winning anything yet as well?
http://www.soccernet.com/columns/2002/0508/20020508feathart.html
Such a pro wenger article.
Devilboy
09-05-2002, 12:47 AM
Wenger is just playing those stupid mind games. The last time when they won their double, they sold away Petite and Overmars. This time if they really happens to do another Double again, they already send their Midfield general to Real Madrid for the next Season. When the new season comes by, my favourite Man Utd will take back the title. Maybe another Treble. HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa:laugh:
Devilboy
09-05-2002, 12:53 AM
Man Utd 3-1 Arsenal that will be my predictions! That true, that is damn true!
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 03:55 AM
Man Utd 3-1 Arsenal that will be my predictions! That true, that is damn true!
0-0 at half time and it dont look good on man utd.
puzzle
09-05-2002, 03:56 AM
Van Nis will come on and boom...1-0...
still as many holes in e defence...
Kiwi8
09-05-2002, 04:54 AM
Man U doesnt seem to want to attack, even at home. So few pple committed to attack. :rolleyes:
puzzle
09-05-2002, 05:01 AM
dammz..
hate to say this...but man ud realli deserve to lose this season...absolute blunder..
hope fergie will wake up and strengthen his defence man...mayb one more striker??
:(
Dun fret....the last time Arsenal won the double, ManU came back with the treble the following year....:D
ManU will be back, stronger n better than before!!!! :D
trickle_on
09-05-2002, 05:14 AM
Originally posted by fire
Dun fret....the last time Arsenal won the double, ManU came back with the treble the following year....:D
Yeah. That's the spirit. This championship was meant to be Arsenal's....
Always another time, Another Season.
Manchester United WILL be back stronger and better.
:bounce:
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 05:18 AM
Are you a man utd fan?
Hmmm it just felt weird seeing one posting with smileys all over after man utd just lost it.
Are you a man utd fan?
Hmmm it just felt weird seeing one posting with smileys all over after man utd just lost it.
Yup, i am...it's sad that they lost out this season but there is always tom...no point showing a gloomy face.
Kiwi8
09-05-2002, 05:23 AM
Are you a man utd fan?
He's just being optimistic & making the best of this year's failing season lah.. :rolleyes:
Originally posted by Kiwi8
He's just being optimistic & making the best of this year's failing season lah.. :rolleyes:
ya...this loss will motivate them, making them hungrier for success next season. they seem to have lost some hunger n fighting spirit after winning the treble. This will be a gd wake-up call.
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 06:47 AM
ya...this loss will motivate them, making them hungrier for success next season. they seem to have lost some hunger n fighting spirit after winning the treble. This will be a gd wake-up call.
Hope so. :)
cracker
09-05-2002, 07:56 AM
I gave up watching after 80 min,,,,,to me the game was practically over after 15 min when Utd though dominated possession,,lack penetration...those robust challenges by Scholes, Neville were totally uncalled for..
Maybe the players interpretation of Fergie " We will not go down without a GOOD FIGHT"..was different. However Keane's challenge on Vierra was legal. Btw we really have to admire Keane's leadership and professionalism,,,he was everywhere covering every blade of the field...and this is guy who jsut came back from a hamstring injury !!! SOmething which Beckham did in the England-Greece game.
The goal summed up Utd' defence this season,,lobang here there everywhere !!!!!
Guess Giggs'statement tat "We Dun Deserve Anything" this year was right.
As for Veron,,,,well Martin Tyler' groan when he skied the ball prior to his departure said it all ...but he should stay,,and be given one more year to try. Sherringham was also a "flop" when he joined Utd in 1998 with the Arsenal singing "U will neber win anything with Utd too !!"
SO after this disastrous season,,,Fergie needs to regroup and improve next season which is the 10th anniversary of his first title !!!
puzzle
09-05-2002, 09:39 AM
Fergie will not sell veron.....he need time..perhaps too long to settle in Man Utd for a player fo his status.
On paper...a midfield of veron,beckham, giggs and keane lacks nothing..i think this even liverpool and arsenal fans have to admit....
It has defence capabilities...excellent wingers and creative players...
Wht i think was a fluke buy was forlan but i think i will be wrong on him..Fergie might be old...but he knows wht a player has or else he wont lead United to the treble.
CHEER UP GUYZ...ITS TIME FOR THE WORLD CUP LIAOZ
ralliart_ray
09-05-2002, 09:44 AM
lets look forward to next season...lets see wat players will go and who will come in. as for veron i tink he should be given enough time to settle.....once settle u will see his POWER*
We will go on n on!!!!!!!
joecan
09-05-2002, 10:02 AM
It was another vintage performance from Veron, lose ball here, lose ball there, walk here , walk there, stand here, stand there.
I think 1 season is more then enough for any player to settle down, and for a player with Veron's percepted "skill", he should only need about 10 games. He is good, in fact according to many people, very good, he might even shine like hell in the coming world cup, but his performance, or the lack of it , while playing for ManU, says he doesn't have a place at OT.
If ManU is ready for one more trophyless season then let him stay, otherwise it's a no-brainer.
One might argue that one player cannot be blame for the whole season but if you are a play maker worth 28 million pounds, you are expected to make a difference, and so far, Veron hasn't done that.
tranze
09-05-2002, 10:17 AM
It has sure been a rollercoaster season for the EPL
This is a good sign and i am sure the old gaffer would learn from his mistakes and bring in defenders to fill in the gap left by stam and wes brown and silvestre sure is improving...
its gonna be another exciting season
GlORY UNITED!!!
aFTerLiF3
09-05-2002, 01:23 PM
Well.. Arse deserve to win the league more than us and other competing teams.
What bother me about Veron is.. his early premiership performance was very good. Did you guys notice that ?
maybe its true that he is carrying his injury through out the season and he doesn't want to risk it with tackles.
Shingoz
09-05-2002, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by joecan
It was another vintage performance from Veron, lose ball here, lose ball there, walk here , walk there, stand here, stand there.
I think 1 season is more then enough for any player to settle down, and for a player with Veron's percepted "skill", he should only need about 10 games. He is good, in fact according to many people, very good, he might even shine like hell in the coming world cup, but his performance, or the lack of it , while playing for ManU, says he doesn't have a place at OT.
If ManU is ready for one more trophyless season then let him stay, otherwise it's a no-brainer.
One might argue that one player cannot be blame for the whole season but if you are a play maker worth 28 million pounds, you are expected to make a difference, and so far, Veron hasn't done that.
Were you sleeping when he made those tackles when he lost the ball?
Yes he did miss a few passes in the first few minute but i dont think he performed as bad as scholes, and yet no one complained about him.
Everyone's saying veron veron veron....... =/
joecan
09-05-2002, 04:11 PM
Lets not turn this into a Anti Veron thing, as a Manu fan I will be trilled if he plays well. But if you compare him to Scholes, I think Scholes have a much better season overall.
I always believe Veron is the extra link in ManU's midfield, somebody they don't need.
Giggs, Kean, Scholes, Beckham - this has been the winning formulae.
Yes, I wasn't sleeping and I saw his tackles, but they wouldn't have been necessary if he had not lost the ball.
For 28 million pounds, he is expected to make another 280 tackles like this for the whole season....I think ManU will be better off if they use the money to pay Keane, easily worth a thousand Verons....er, I mean tackles.
Kiwi8
09-05-2002, 04:21 PM
Somehow, I feel that Man U should not let Veron go. He is just off form.
Maybe the participation in the World Cup will make his form come back.
The rigours of the World Cup will definitely do some good for Veron, making him refreshed & confident to face the new season.
MadwolfNemesis
09-05-2002, 04:33 PM
Well, as for Veron, there's potential in him. perhaps it's his achilles problem that's getting the better of him? It's true that he's underachieving. But, think about it. look at his play for Man utd in the 1/4 Finals against Deportivo, 1st Leg. His perfomance was exceptional and he couldn easily by my Man of The Match. True, that's the only match I saw that he'd performed.
Nevertheless, he has the potential and let Ferguson decide. If I were ferguson, my stand would be:
Give him time to settle down and wait for another season. 28 million pounds will be worth it.
Devilboy
09-05-2002, 08:52 PM
Cheer up guys! We will be back!
ralliart_ray
09-05-2002, 08:59 PM
WE SHALL BE BACK~~ MARK MY WORDS~~ WE WILL RETURN STRONG~~~ IF NOT MUCH MUCH STRONGER~~:cool:
ccloh
09-05-2002, 09:46 PM
sad to win nothing this season but i'm very very sure that next season the red devils would be better even stronger and more hungry for success. remember last time they won nothing for the season and they win the treble in the next season.
for the squad issue, just retain them and get in more better players. nowadays the amt of game u play u have to have a very very deep squad if not cannot compete in all competitions.
cheers
sad to win nothing this season but i'm very very sure that next season the red devils would be better even stronger and more hungry for success. remember last time they won nothing for the season and they win the treble in the next season.
:rolleyes: u've spoken almost exactly the same view as mine... :D =p
cheers
Shingoz
10-05-2002, 04:13 PM
Nice article --> http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0510/20020510mufcbarthez.html
Shingoz
10-05-2002, 10:08 PM
Another nice one. :)
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0510/20020510afcwengermufc.html
ralliart_ray
10-05-2002, 10:14 PM
read liao.......
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
so boring....
Shingoz
11-05-2002, 12:58 AM
read liao.......
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
so boring....
What do u want? Another fergie ****ing article?
Hahaha.....
ralliart_ray
11-05-2002, 02:10 AM
What do u want? Another fergie ****ing article?
Hahaha..... LoLx...i tink i will like to be entertained by transfer news....especially those linking wit manU
Shingoz
11-05-2002, 02:38 AM
LoLx...i tink i will like to be entertained by transfer news....especially those linking wit manU
It's too early i think.
Most club would want to release their star players after the world cup.
Time for the world cup, interesting to see who will man utd sign!
kengbeng
11-05-2002, 10:08 PM
It's official!
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?inewsid=15751
Beckham signs new contract
11/5/02 1:30 PM
Manchester United is pleased to announce that terms have been agreed with David Beckham on a new contract that will keep him at the club at least until the end of June, 2005.
Peter Kenyon, Chief Executive, said everyone at Manchester United was delighted that David had agreed a new contract. He explained: “As everyone knows, it has taken a long time for us to reach agreement on this new deal.
"The process of every player contract negotiation is different, and one of the unique aspects of David’s was understanding how his global image could best be utilised to the mutual benefit of Manchester United and David himself.
“We believe we have agreed a contract that does just that. It is important to point out that we never once doubted that David wanted to stay at United.
"He has made a big contribution to the club’s achievements over the past decade, and we all look forward to enjoying more success together in the coming seasons.”
Sir Alex Ferguson also expressed his delight at the news, saying: “I’m really pleased David has signed a new contract. It’s taken a long time to get here, and we’re all relieved it’s over.
"He is a terrific player who has played a big part in the team’s successes, and with his new deal signed we can now settle down to enjoying the next few years with David as an important part of the team.”
David Beckham said: “I would like to say a personal thank you to Peter Kenyon, David Gill and Sir Alex Ferguson for their vital support in helping me to finalise my contract before the World Cup.
"The club has bent over backwards to be fair in their dealings with me and I always knew that Manchester United were the only club I ever want to play for.
“I was never really worried about the contract, but I did want it all sorted out before the World Cup. Sir Alex had made it very clear that he wanted me to be an important part of the club’s future and his word was good enough for me.
"The Manchester United fans are part of my family and they have supported me through all the highs and lows of my career at Old Trafford. I know I owe them a big thank you and if anything the bond between myself and the club and the fans is stronger than ever before. All the players at Manchester United feel that special bond and there is not a day passes when I do not feel very lucky and privileged to be part of such a fantastic club.”
David Beckham factfile
Birthplace & date
Leytonstone, 2 May 1975
Signed for United
8 July 1991 (trainee), 23 January 1993 (professional)
Senior United debut
23 September 1992 v Brighton & Hove Albion (League Cup tie, sub for Andrei Kanchelskis)
United record (first team only)
League - 210 (24) appearances, 56 goals
FA Cup – 19 (2) appearances, 5 goals
League Cup – 5 (2) appearances, 0 goals
Europe – 69 (2) appearances, 12 goals
Others – 7 (2) appearances, 1 goal
Total: 310 (32) appearances, 74 goals
United honours (first team only)
Premiership – 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001
FA Cup – 1996, 1999
European Cup – 1999
Inter-Continental Cup - 1999
England record
Debut: 1 September 1996 v Moldova
Record: 48 appearances, 6 goals
Communications Office,
Manchester United, Saturday 11 May.
Devilboy
11-05-2002, 10:20 PM
I think Man Utd needs 2 good defenders to replace the Blanc and Johnsen (Due to age and injury prone). The rest of the team is fine! We got more than enough fire power up front to destroy the whole England.
Devilboy
11-05-2002, 10:23 PM
Man Utd set to sign youngster
Manchester United look set to sign Peterborough starlet Luke Steele.
The 17-year old goalkeeper had a loan spell with United earlier this season.
Peterborough's Barry Fry said: "Nothing will happen until Monday at the earliest, because I'm in Cardiff for the play-off finals, and I haven't signed anything."
"Luke travelled up there yesterday and trained with them this morning, but they've got a match this afternoon so nothing will happen until after the weekend."
ccloh
11-05-2002, 11:15 PM
hmm....was thinking if man utd ended in 3rd position for this season which is very likely as liverpool is 3-0 up against ipswich at this time and no way they end up draw or loose then man utd has to play the qualifying rnd of next season CL. ironically, the season when man utd won nothing and go on to win treble in the next season, they also have to play the qualify rnd in the CL. well perhaps it is a strong indication that next season man utd will win the CL in their home soil.
interesting !!!
yeah beckham sign new deal is good news, but dropping to 3rd place is bad news, first time lower than 2nd place since preimer league started! :(
Shingoz
12-05-2002, 12:00 AM
Sucks...the result sums up our season.
How funny....all the defeats hasnt inspire us to win at all.
salutes our leaving heros : denis irwin, raimond van der gouw and ronny johnsen.
welcome a new young keeper: luke steele 17yr old, england under18
chyehock
12-05-2002, 04:03 PM
salutes our leaving heros : denis irwin, raimond van der gouw and ronny johnsen.
welcome a new young keeper: luke steele 17yr old, england under18 ;)
;) ;) ;)
Shingoz
12-05-2002, 09:54 PM
Ah....why Fergie let Johnson go?
ccloh
12-05-2002, 10:24 PM
well according to rumor report on skysports, fergie has 51m pounds to spend. potential targets are Nesta, Herman Crespo, Thuram, David James, Zanetti and Steve Finnan
http://msn.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1860-1051312,00.html
well according to rumor report on skysports, fergie has 51m pounds to spend. potential targets are Nesta, Herman Crespo, Thuram, David James, Zanetti and Steve Finnan
http://msn.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1860-1051312,00.html
51m? dun think so, more like 20m.
hahah abit unrealistic, 6 players, 76million.
Shingoz
12-05-2002, 11:06 PM
Did i see David James on the list. :rolleyes:
ralliart_ray
12-05-2002, 11:34 PM
Did i see David James on the list. :rolleyes: *bleh*
cracker
13-05-2002, 07:57 AM
Ah....why Fergie let Johnson go?
Johnsen was too injury-prone,,so Fegie has to let him go,,a real pity considering when he did play along Blanc, their understanding was quite gud.
maybe he will get thuram to partner blanc (if he is staying) or Brown.
but why on Earth is David James name being mentioned ?/??? do they need another eccentric keeper ?
ccloh
13-05-2002, 09:45 AM
couldn't they find a better keeper than david james. remember he blunder against man utd while still liverpool keeper seasons ago.
Kiwi8
13-05-2002, 09:52 AM
couldn't they find a better keeper than david james. remember he blunder against man utd while still liverpool keeper seasons ago.
Blunder in the past, doesn't mean will blunder in the future.
Didnt blunder in the past, doesn'tmean will not blunder in the future. =p
joecan
13-05-2002, 10:51 AM
David james is basically a good goal keeper it's just that he lack a little discipline in his private life, I think Fergie thinks that he can control him and if that happens he will be good. David james is basically in the class of Stan Collymore, good but lack a little guidance.
As for Johnson, it's a shame, but with all the Seire A defenders coming in, I think Fergie is trying to avoid making the same mistake that he make with the midfield with the intoduction of Veron.
And what about Veron, sell him and he will have a more stable midfield + extra 20 million to spend...seems like a good deal to me.
Shingoz
13-05-2002, 11:51 AM
David james is basically a good goal keeper it's just that he lack a little discipline in his private life, I think Fergie thinks that he can control him and if that happens he will be good. David james is basically in the class of Stan Collymore, good but lack a little guidance.
As for Johnson, it's a shame, but with all the Seire A defenders coming in, I think Fergie is trying to avoid making the same mistake that he make with the midfield with the intoduction of Veron.
And what about Veron, sell him and he will have a more stable midfield + extra 20 million to spend...seems like a good deal to me.
Hmm funny seeing the comparison of a keeper and striker.
Anyway i admit Jame's reflexes are good but when it comes to air ball i think he is prone to mistakes.
Not to mention he tends to let in silly goals too.
Noticed Man Utd havent been selling any players recently.
Irwin and Van retired.
Blomqvist and Johnson were let go.
ccloh
13-05-2002, 11:57 AM
perhaps fergie should wait till WC to hunt ard a keeper. make sure he is looking for a keeper that is good by nature rather than a keeper is good 'cos the 4 defenders in front of him is good to make him good.
Shingoz
13-05-2002, 01:26 PM
perhaps fergie should wait till WC to hunt ard a keeper. make sure he is looking for a keeper that is good by nature rather than a keeper is good 'cos the 4 defenders in front of him is good to make him good.
Haiz...i think spotting player's abilities is not his ace.
Look at houlier and wenger, i think fergie depended largely on his scouts...his bro maybe.
cracker
14-05-2002, 08:07 AM
Haiz...i think spotting player's abilities is not his ace.
Look at houlier and wenger, i think fergie depended largely on his scouts...his bro maybe.
but are these the scouts who spotted a young david beckham in London ?...bought a chubby looking baby assasin , a certain giant dane and a speedy ukraine..but I believed they are also the same grp of pple tat bought veron..
btw since 1992,,,how many big mony flops has MU bought ?
only a few come to my mind....namely veron (maybe world cup is more impt to him),,probosky (cant fit in), dun think barthez can be considered a flop yet..
back in 80s all those million pounds players signed by MU was almost certain flops....remember Gary Birtles,,Alan Brazil (couldnt repeat his Ipswich form)..
Neil Webb etc etc...
Shingoz
14-05-2002, 01:04 PM
Originally posted by cracker
but are these the scouts who spotted a young david beckham in London ?...bought a chubby looking baby assasin , a certain giant dane and a speedy ukraine..but I believed they are also the same grp of pple tat bought veron..
btw since 1992,,,how many big mony flops has MU bought ?
only a few come to my mind....namely veron (maybe world cup is more impt to him),,probosky (cant fit in), dun think barthez can be considered a flop yet..
back in 80s all those million pounds players signed by MU was almost certain flops....remember Gary Birtles,,Alan Brazil (couldnt repeat his Ipswich form)..
Neil Webb etc etc...
Hmm my point is that fergie depended on scouts, not that the scouts are bad. :D
joecan
14-05-2002, 04:26 PM
In all fairness, I think Gary Birtles was a good goal keeper, only forced to retire by knee injury.
tranze
14-05-2002, 11:46 PM
place ur bets on the defenders that fergie would buy
only 2 choices guys
1. THURAM
2. AYALA
walter smauel(dunno spelling) from roma?
Kiwi8
15-05-2002, 07:11 AM
walter smauel(dunno spelling) from roma?
Wah lau! A simple name like Samuel can be corrupted to become like that ah?? :confused:
Shingoz
15-05-2002, 07:55 AM
Wah lau! A simple name like Samuel can be corrupted to become like that ah?? :confused:
perhaps he didnt know it's pronouced as samuel or something.
i do spelling according to my pronunciation....if i got it wrong then most prob i spell it wrong too.
cracker
15-05-2002, 08:21 AM
In all fairness, I think Gary Birtles was a good goal keeper, only forced to retire by knee injury.
Gary Birtles was the star strikers signed from Nottm FOrest,,,the keeper u r refering to is Gary Bailey who I believed was either a free transfer or was spotted and enlisted in MU youth team.
Ironically Fergie's stay in Old Trafford was saved by a youth player back in 1990 by the name of Mark Robbins who scored against Forest in the 1990 FA Cup 3rd Round !
joecan
15-05-2002, 09:25 AM
Gary Birtles was the star strikers signed from Nottm FOrest,,,the keeper u r refering to is Gary Bailey who I believed was either a free transfer or was spotted and enlisted in MU youth team.
you are right ,shame on me:(
Shingoz
15-05-2002, 02:47 PM
Originally posted by cracker
Ironically Fergie's stay in Old Trafford was saved by a youth player back in 1990 by the name of Mark Robbins who scored against Forest in the 1990 FA Cup 3rd Round !
1990.....wow i dont know all these....i was hmmm 8 yrs old back then. :o
damn, i only watched soccer after 1994 world cup
cracker
16-05-2002, 08:11 AM
1990.....wow i dont know all these....i was hmmm 8 yrs old back then. :o
it is okie...heheh
guess u neber see how man utd was being thrashed back in the 80s !!!!....but then again u were able to witness their 5-0 lost to newcastle, chelsea,,6-3 to southampton. etc etc
ralliart_ray
16-05-2002, 06:15 PM
wow, saw ferguson at ECL final there...
he sure impressed by zidane's goaL:eek: :eek: :eek:
sign zidane!! :eek: :laugh:
Devilboy
16-05-2002, 08:51 PM
Fabian Capello(Roma Manager) were there and siting right beside Alex Ferguson.
ccloh
16-05-2002, 09:34 PM
sign zidane!! :eek: :laugh:
wanted to sign him some season ago to replace cantona.
Devilboy
18-05-2002, 09:47 PM
Ronaldo maybe coming to Man Utd.
Check this out:
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0518/20020518mufcronaldo.html
ralliart_ray
20-05-2002, 03:10 AM
Ronaldo maybe coming to Man Utd.
Check this out:
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0518/20020518mufcronaldo.html woHoooo ronaldo parnter van Nistelrooy
dredd
20-05-2002, 08:05 PM
wah...If Ronaldo join ManYoo on loan next season....powerhouse liaoz....just hope that they buy some solid defenders.....
Shingoz
20-05-2002, 08:53 PM
Barcelona is also interested...anyway this is really sudden.....hmmm sounds exciting.
Anyone know how much would it be?
dredd
21-05-2002, 06:28 AM
Barcelona is also interested...anyway this is really sudden.....hmmm sounds exciting.
Anyone know how much would it be?
Loan mah...becos Nike is going to be ManYoo's Official Kit provider next season.....
chyehock
21-05-2002, 07:59 PM
heard that mu is interested in anelka in a 15m deal.
Devilboy
21-05-2002, 09:12 PM
Originally posted by chyehock
heard that mu is interested in anelka in a 15m deal.
That is a good news! Anelka is a quality striker.....he can turn the game around.
Shingoz
21-05-2002, 09:15 PM
That is a good news! Anelka is a quality striker.....he can turn the game around.
Maybe Fergie can consult Houlier on why he rejected Anelka before buying.
There is surely some reasons behind it...
ccloh
21-05-2002, 10:44 PM
manchester united or manchester city ????
Devilboy
22-05-2002, 01:10 AM
Maybe Fergie can consult Houlier on why he rejected Anelka before buying.
There is surely some reasons behind it...
The reason is simple! Anelka is still unable to get off his bad boy tag! Liverpool has being chasing Cisse for sometime, if signed both Anelka and Cisse, who will be the starting eleven? Not many people can coax their players on the bench like Ferguson do. :D
verydead
22-05-2002, 10:26 AM
The reason is simple! Anelka is still unable to get off his bad boy tag! Liverpool has being chasing Cisse for sometime, if signed both Anelka and Cisse, who will be the starting eleven? Not many people can coax their players on the bench like Ferguson do. :D
if both liverpool and france prefer cisse to anelka, cisse must be better. although 12m is not alot for a big club like man u, it is for liverpool. and liverpool juz cant take such a risk.
Devilboy
22-05-2002, 09:32 PM
Originally posted by verydead
if both liverpool and france prefer cisse to anelka, cisse must be better. although 12m is not alot for a big club like man u, it is for liverpool. and liverpool juz cant take such a risk.
Yes, France may pick Cisse for the world cup, but will he get to play if the starting eleven is fit? Anelka is different, even though he is not selected for the World Cup or Liverpool, he is already a proven player. Anyone remember the year(2000) when Real Madrid Champions League Quarter Final against Bayer Munich? Anelka scored both crucial goals from each leg to bring Real Madrid to the finals. He is also Arsenal's goal machine when he helped Arsenal to the 1998 doubles. No doubt Cisse is a highly rated player, but have he proven himself in the World Stages or any League? The abilities in scoring alot doesn't mean anything but the ability to help the team to win is.
verydead
23-05-2002, 09:49 AM
Yes, France may pick Cisse for the world cup, but will he get to play if the starting eleven is fit? Anelka is different, even though he is not selected for the World Cup or Liverpool, he is already a proven player. Anyone remember the year(2000) when Real Madrid Champions League Quarter Final against Bayer Munich? Anelka scored both crucial goals from each leg to bring Real Madrid to the finals. He is also Arsenal's goal machine when he helped Arsenal to the 1998 doubles. No doubt Cisse is a highly rated player, but have he proven himself in the World Stages or any League? The abilities in scoring alot doesn't mean anything but the ability to help the team to win is.
yes, cisse is not proven on the big stage. anelka is. but as the french national coach reasoned, he left anelka out after seeing him play against russia. he felt that anelka flunked the test............ whereas for cisse, he feels that, "u never gonna know what u gonna get."
in a sense, its a gamble............. but if coach already noes that anelka cant do the job, y not take a chance on cisse?
as for anelka's past acheivements, well, they are past. he might still be gd...........but how gd? there is juz too much uncertainty over him. france, liverpool, psg, real all didnt want him anymore. is that something amiss? one who think so.
karoon
23-05-2002, 02:46 PM
cisse reminds me of the other auxerre guy stephan guivarch. Top scorer french league and good international but come to newcastle cannot play. Go Rangers also cannot play. Finally go back home.
Devilboy
24-05-2002, 12:05 AM
yes, cisse is not proven on the big stage. anelka is. but as the french national coach reasoned, he left anelka out after seeing him play against russia. he felt that anelka flunked the test............ whereas for cisse, he feels that, "u never gonna know what u gonna get."
in a sense, its a gamble............. but if coach already noes that anelka cant do the job, y not take a chance on cisse?
as for anelka's past acheivements, well, they are past. he might still be gd...........but how gd? there is juz too much uncertainty over him. france, liverpool, psg, real all didnt want him anymore. is that something amiss? one who think so.
I do agree at some points! But Anelka is really a quality player! It is just his luck with the club managers, thanks to his brother/agent, asking for lots of fees and stuff! I personally think Anelka need a season to prove himself. Liverpool has not been focusing him as the key striker, therefore his ability to score in Liverpool games is greatly affect. As for Cisse, all the best for him in the upcoming WC.
Devilboy
24-05-2002, 12:06 AM
Roy Keane is out off WC! I guess Ireland will never make it to the quarterfinals!
ralliart_ray
24-05-2002, 12:15 AM
keane is so aggressive as ever
Shingoz
24-05-2002, 08:28 AM
keane is so aggressive as ever
The fact tat even other players backed the coach makes me feel that keane is really in the wrong.
Kiwi8
24-05-2002, 08:50 AM
The fact tat even other players backed the coach makes me feel that keane is really in the wrong.
Keane is just an egomaniac who doesn't respect people. When the coach asked him to don keeper's gloves for training, he refused to do it & went berserk. Deserves to get the boot.
verydead
24-05-2002, 09:09 AM
Keane is just an egomaniac who doesn't respect people. When the coach asked him to don keeper's gloves for training, he refused to do it & went berserk. Deserves to get the boot.
no matter how gd keane is, if he messes up team spirit, he gotta go. no player is bigger than the team.
and apparently, he is not popular with other players as well.
Kiwi8
24-05-2002, 09:18 AM
no matter how gd keane is, if he messes up team spirit, he gotta go. no player is bigger than the team.
and apparently, he is not popular with other players as well.
I still remember the time when Newcastle played against Man U (4-3 to Newcastle) where Roy Keane threw a ball at Alan Shearer. Unnecessary gesture by him. :eek:
verydead
24-05-2002, 09:30 AM
I still remember the time when Newcastle played against Man U (4-3 to Newcastle) where Roy Keane threw a ball at Alan Shearer. Unnecessary gesture by him. :eek:
wrong person to pick on.
shearer is an ex-england captain held in high esteem.......
if he think that he is bigger than shearer, and can dun respect him, shows that his ego is juz too big.
Shingoz
24-05-2002, 01:31 PM
wrong person to pick on.
if he think that he is bigger than shearer, and can dun respect him, shows that his ego is juz too big.
you think he pick on shearer to do that?
i believe on that occasion whoever was holding the ball would have gotten it as well.
hmmmm well maybe he will vent his anger on anyone except fergie.
verydead
24-05-2002, 01:39 PM
you think he pick on shearer to do that?
i believe on that occasion whoever was holding the ball would have gotten it as well.
hmmmm well maybe he will vent his anger on anyone except fergie.
yup..... he wld have done it to any newcastle player........
what i was trying to say was, if it was shearer, then he shld have backed off.
coz shearer is not some small time player that he can try a ball at.
Shingoz
24-05-2002, 01:45 PM
yup..... he wld have done it to any newcastle player........
what i was trying to say was, if it was shearer, then he shld have backed off.
coz shearer is not some small time player that he can try a ball at.
aiyah through this recent incident you should know how his brain operates.
whenever he's angry he just wack, even his country's national coach.
shearer may be nothing to him. :D
but i wonder what does fergie has to say?
he is the one who persuaded him to stay in japan.
Devilboy
24-05-2002, 04:41 PM
Keane will still be my number one captain for Man Utd! As for the WC, Ireland isn't a team I am interested in!
trickle_on
24-05-2002, 04:47 PM
Keano is just to passionate about winning....
sometimes it just clouds the way he sees everything else....
You know what they say "All the great ones were a little bit eccentric".....
I believe this saying, because without that special quality and will to win, he would not be what he is now.....
but, still, what he did was out of order......
maybe he should take up some anger management classes.....but then, he may not be the same old keane we now know him to be....
;)
ccloh
24-05-2002, 05:19 PM
alan shearer is nothing but an arrorgant jerk. when he played for england as a captain, he gets the ball passed to him in the attack then he will be good captain if not he doesn't even bother to booast the morale of the team just blame their lack of services to him.
verydead
24-05-2002, 06:06 PM
alan shearer is nothing but an arrorgant jerk. when he played for england as a captain, he gets the ball passed to him in the attack then he will be good captain if not he doesn't even bother to booast the morale of the team just blame their lack of services to him.
dun get me wrong..........
i m not saying that shearer is perfect. of coz there are critism abt him too. but no 1 can deny the fact that he is held in high esteem. an icon for the FA.
verydead
24-05-2002, 06:09 PM
aiyah through this recent incident you should know how his brain operates.
whenever he's angry he just wack, even his country's national coach.
shearer may be nothing to him. :D
but i wonder what does fergie has to say?
he is the one who persuaded him to stay in japan.
true.
even fergie sometimes get into a row with him.....but not so serious thats all i think. acutally, its fine for him to voice his opinons.............but when he abuses, ppl are bound to get angry.
ccloh
24-05-2002, 06:16 PM
england had place alan shearer as the golden boy in england while he was captain of the nation. any bad things abt him will be sheilded off by FA. very bad. now owen is the golden boy of england so same things will happen again.
verydead
24-05-2002, 06:33 PM
england had place alan shearer as the golden boy in england while he was captain of the nation. any bad things abt him will be sheilded off by FA. very bad. now owen is the golden boy of england so same things will happen again.
yes, as i said, i do not think that he is perfect. the FA might have shielded him alot...........
what i m saying is that, he is held in high esteem, not only by the public but also by the players. and he did make gd contibutions to england and was one of the true stars of his generation, be it the doing of the FA or not. as for owen, no one has any thing bad to say or said abt his character rite?:)
Shingoz
27-05-2002, 11:44 AM
30million pound.
Is ferdinand worth that much?
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0526/20020526mufcferdinandlufc.html
verydead
27-05-2002, 01:57 PM
30million pound.
Is ferdinand worth that much?
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0526/20020526mufcferdinandlufc.html
1000% not worth that much!!
he is a gd defender though............ but not worth that much.........
but hack, if mu has an abandunce of money, y not?
Dumb_Terminal
27-05-2002, 05:16 PM
Originally posted by trickle_on
Keano is just to passionate about winning....
sometimes it just clouds the way he sees everything else....
You know what they say "All the great ones were a little bit eccentric".....
I just cant wait till he Shadow Kick Somebody... with a nice Kung-Fu move...
ralliart_ray
28-05-2002, 11:30 AM
Originally posted by Dumb_Terminal
I just cant wait till he Shadow Kick Somebody... with a nice Kung-Fu move... -_-"
i wont wan to see him do that
Devilboy
02-06-2002, 09:41 PM
Beckham and Scholes have start for England in the opening match againist Sweden. Beckham played very well in the first half, creating the first goal through a corner and pin point crosses, but was quiet in the 2nd half. Scholes did more defending than offence. Hopefully both of them can play better in the match againist Argentina.:bounce: :bounce:
ralliart_ray
30-06-2002, 10:04 PM
world cup juz ended........graTz to brazil on winning
:D
ifiron
04-07-2002, 04:40 PM
Alright guys, EPL season starting !!!! July the 5th, cross our fingers dude !!!
Shingoz
04-07-2002, 05:05 PM
Still no confirmation of any major signings...
ifiron
04-07-2002, 05:13 PM
Cross your fingers 5th of July :)
Shingoz
04-07-2002, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by ifiron
Cross your fingers 5th of July :)
How many times u wanna cross ya fingers?
Got tangled up? :D
ifiron
04-07-2002, 06:05 PM
How many times u wanna cross ya fingers?
Got tangled up? :D
Lol :D .......... I think something is going to happen tommorrow leh. That's what ManUtd.Com said... I hope too man !!!
ifiron
04-07-2002, 06:06 PM
Let's start to speculate.
Christian Doni to OT
Alessandro Nesta to OT
This two I think highly possible.
Shingoz
04-07-2002, 06:43 PM
I thought thuram is the highest priority now?
Devilboy
04-07-2002, 09:13 PM
I thought thuram is the highest priority now?
I think Man Uts has a problem with new signings! They should quickly get the players they want and get them gel with the team! Like last season, last minute purchase like Blanc and Forlan, quality players but lack of teamwork which eventually led to the downfall of their title defend! Sucks man!:(
ralliart_ray
04-07-2002, 09:25 PM
07/04/2002. Manchester United chief executive Peter Kenyon has dismissed claims that Nicky Butt is set for a £10million move to Italian giants Inter Milan.
The Daily Express reported that Inter were targeting the midfielder, who was one of England's best performers at the World Cup.
"There has been no approach for Nicky Butt, and the article is inaccurate," Kenyon told the club's official website.
Shingoz
05-07-2002, 01:44 AM
Butt also poor fellow...staying also no 100% soccer for him.
ifiron
05-07-2002, 10:23 AM
I think Man Uts has a problem with new signings! They should quickly get the players they want and get them gel with the team! Like last season, last minute purchase like Blanc and Forlan, quality players but lack of teamwork which eventually led to the downfall of their title defend! Sucks man!:(
Agree !!! :D
ifiron
05-07-2002, 10:24 AM
Man United hopefully can get :
1) Thuram
2) Nesta
3) Doni
4) Carlos
5) Ronaldinho
Shingoz
05-07-2002, 03:55 PM
Man United hopefully can get :
1) Thuram
2) Nesta
3) Doni
4) Carlos
5) Ronaldinho
You mean either one or either few?
I think you would have to be realistic here. :D
ifiron
05-07-2002, 05:55 PM
Okay, then i hope for Nesta, Carlos and Ronaldinho
ralliart_ray
05-07-2002, 06:44 PM
y they put carlos face at the manutd webbie??
carlos going manU arr:)
mavicaste
05-07-2002, 06:51 PM
Okay, then i hope for Nesta, Carlos and Ronaldinho
No Brazilians at Old Trafford.
Devilboy
05-07-2002, 10:01 PM
Man Utd needs a good defender! Maybe they should stop thinking about those big names, like Nesta, Thuram or Carlos. Look for youth squad or EPL based defenders, they are more accustomised to the EPL playing style and more likely to gel in better with the rest of the squad. Last seasons purchase of Blanc and Veron show that the best players from other league may not be the best in EPL! A new striker would bring in more options in attacking but preferbly an experience one like Sheringham (Smart player that dun relied on fitness to win games). Start thinking Fergie! or else suffer the same fate like last year! Sad man! :(
Shevchenko7
05-07-2002, 10:10 PM
Man Utd should sign Shevchenko... =p
Shingoz
05-07-2002, 10:23 PM
Man Utd needs a good defender! Maybe they should stop thinking about those big names, like Nesta, Thuram or Carlos. Look for youth squad or EPL based defenders, they are more accustomised to the EPL playing style and more likely to gel in better with the rest of the squad. Last seasons purchase of Blanc and Veron show that the best players from other league may not be the best in EPL! A new striker would bring in more options in attacking but preferbly an experience one like Sheringham (Smart player that dun relied on fitness to win games). Start thinking Fergie! or else suffer the same fate like last year! Sad man! :(
He tried Di Canio but failed. :D
Who elsE? Hmm...
I think it was mentioned he aiming players like Carlos for years already.
Devilboy
06-07-2002, 01:53 AM
He tried Di Canio but failed. :D
Who elsE? Hmm...
I think it was mentioned he aiming players like Carlos for years already.
I just pray the Man Utd still got their luck! Every team in EPL knows how Man Utd plays....With the rise of Newcastle and Liverpool, Man Utd chance of getting the EPL title looks very slim! Buying players in the later stages will not help in club success! Starts to worry for my fav team!
Devilboy
06-07-2002, 09:06 PM
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
tranze
07-07-2002, 03:30 AM
another exiciting season coming your way soon
but in the first place watch out for the transfer markets!!!!!
Devilboy
07-07-2002, 06:17 PM
Originally posted by tranze
another exiciting season coming your way soon
but in the first place watch out for the transfer markets!!!!!
Nah! I doubt Man Utd can buy any wonders......
ralliart_ray
09-07-2002, 05:00 PM
rurmors
Player Position Current Club Value £ First Reported
Claudio Lopez Forward Lazio Swop for Veron News of the World, 7 July
Kiwi8
09-07-2002, 05:33 PM
rurmors
:confused:
ifiron
09-07-2002, 05:38 PM
rurmors
What he meant was :
Player : Claudio Lopez
Position : Forward
Current Club : Lazio
Value : Swop for Veron
First Reported : News of the World , 7 July
Kiwi8
09-07-2002, 06:13 PM
What he meant was :
OIC.... thanks. :)
Devilboy
10-07-2002, 01:13 AM
Prefer Hernan Crespo! Man Utd don't need 2 speedster on the left!
ralliart_ray
10-07-2002, 05:07 PM
What he meant was :
yahyah....i copy n paste from manutd webbie directly ...so i didnt change...
thx for the modifcation:)
ralliart_ray
10-07-2002, 08:16 PM
07/10/2002. Turkish goalkeeper Rustu Recber has turned down a move to Manchester United, while vowing to see out the remaining year of his contract at Fenerbahce.
Rustu became one of the stars of the World Cup with sensational performances in helping Turkey to finish third in only their second ever World Cup.
He said: "I told the fans before the World Cup that I'd still be at Fenerbahce next season.
"I received offers before the tournament began and I have received more since it finished, which is no surprise as I put in some good performances over there.
"Manchester United and other teams have made offers, but the fact remains that I made a promise to the fans.
"Maybe I will live to regret the decision. But we will see what happens when my contract ends next year. Maybe then it will be time to move on."
Devilboy
10-07-2002, 08:46 PM
07/10/2002. Turkish goalkeeper Rustu Recber has turned down a move to Manchester United, while vowing to see out the remaining year of his contract at Fenerbahce.
Rustu became one of the stars of the World Cup with sensational performances in helping Turkey to finish third in only their second ever World Cup.
He said: "I told the fans before the World Cup that I'd still be at Fenerbahce next season.
"I received offers before the tournament began and I have received more since it finished, which is no surprise as I put in some good performances over there.
"Manchester United and other teams have made offers, but the fact remains that I made a promise to the fans.
"Maybe I will live to regret the decision. But we will see what happens when my contract ends next year. Maybe then it will be time to move on."
I hope Man Utd will use Roy Carroll more! I think he is going to be a star goalkeeper in the making! He has a pair of stable hands and no nonsense keeper, he should be good enough to handle all those threats from the opposition.
ifiron
11-07-2002, 03:00 PM
yahyah....i copy n paste from manutd webbie directly ...so i didnt change...
thx for the modifcation:)
No prob :D, I visit www.manutd.com 3 times a day hahaha... talk about "kan cheiong" for transfer news.heheh :D
Shingoz
11-07-2002, 06:29 PM
No prob :D, I visit www.manutd.com 3 times a day hahaha... talk about "kan cheiong" for transfer news.heheh :D
I've stop visiting them since they changed the interface...very difficult to navigate and i find it too "red"...very stressful to the eyes after sometime.
ralliart_ray
11-07-2002, 10:52 PM
I've stop visiting them since they changed the interface...very difficult to navigate and i find it too "red"...very stressful to the eyes after sometime.
so far so quiet..........ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzz no transfer yet:(
ifiron
12-07-2002, 02:25 PM
Yeah lor, too quiet liao..... *anxious* ... "The Calm Before the Storm ? " heheh.
harryyeo
12-07-2002, 04:15 PM
I hope Man Utd will use Roy Carroll more! I think he is going to be a star goalkeeper in the making! He has a pair of stable hands and no nonsense keeper, he should be good enough to handle all those threats from the opposition.
u mean better than Barthez?:D
Devilboy
12-07-2002, 11:56 PM
Originally posted by harryyeo
u mean better than Barthez?:D
May not be better! They are of different class. Barthez is more fanciful while Roy has the needed attribute to be one of the best keeper in the EPL.
ralliart_ray
13-07-2002, 01:14 AM
Fergie: New players will arrive
By Andy Hooper
Sir Alex Ferguson has assured Manchester United supporters that new faces will appear soon at Old Trafford, despite his failure to secure any incoming transfers so far during the off-season.
Ferguson: 'Getting a bit edgy'
(ShaunBotterill/Allsport)
Although the Red Devils manager has just suffered a season without silverware for the first time since 1998, he has yet to reinforce his squad - and the widely-anticipated swoop for England centre-half Rio Ferdinand has still to materialise.
Out-of-contract defenders Denis Irwin, Ronny Johnsen, Ronnie Wallwork and goalkeeper Raimond van der Gouw have left the club, and Ferguson admits he is 'getting a bit edgy' about the lack of arrivals.
He told the Manchester Evening News: 'It has been disappointing that we haven't secured anyone yet.
'But it won't be the case that we will go into the season with less players in the squad. We will have new players in place.'
Leeds United star Ferdinand remains the number one target, but the arrival of new manager Terry Venables at Elland Road has complicated matters for Ferguson.
And the Yorkshire club's sale of Lee Bowyer to Liverpool, plus a possible deal for Frenchman Olivier Dacourt, has eased the pressure on the former England coach as he seeks to recoup £15m for the Leeds coffers.
Ferguson acknowledged that any cross-Pennine move from Ferdinand was 'not clear-cut'.
He explained: 'The Rio Ferdinand thing is an issue and we are waiting on things developing at the moment.
'It is not our job to antagonise people and there'll be no war of words but Leeds have said themselves that we are the club that has talked to them about Rio so it is no secret. If he's available then we'd be interested.
'We will work away and we have alternatives and other thoughts.'
Ferguson admitted that his target list was limited, and his pursuit of certain players had not been helped by impressive performances at the World Cup.
While Ferdinand starred for England, Blackburn's versatile Republic of Ireland striker Damien Duff, another to have been linked with United, also caught the eye at Korea-Japan.
Ferguson continued: 'With the quality and type of player we want to bring to the club you only have a list of four or five players who are operating at the highest level who you feel would could come here and enhance the team.
'The World Cup beat us because two or three players emerged over there who we had made enquiries for before the World Cup started.'
Devilboy
13-07-2002, 01:47 AM
Fergie: New players will arrive
By Andy Hooper
Sir Alex Ferguson has assured Manchester United supporters that new faces will appear soon at Old Trafford, despite his failure to secure any incoming transfers so far during the off-season.
Ferguson: 'Getting a bit edgy'
(ShaunBotterill/Allsport)
Although the Red Devils manager has just suffered a season without silverware for the first time since 1998, he has yet to reinforce his squad - and the widely-anticipated swoop for England centre-half Rio Ferdinand has still to materialise.
Out-of-contract defenders Denis Irwin, Ronny Johnsen, Ronnie Wallwork and goalkeeper Raimond van der Gouw have left the club, and Ferguson admits he is 'getting a bit edgy' about the lack of arrivals.
He told the Manchester Evening News: 'It has been disappointing that we haven't secured anyone yet.
'But it won't be the case that we will go into the season with less players in the squad. We will have new players in place.'
Leeds United star Ferdinand remains the number one target, but the arrival of new manager Terry Venables at Elland Road has complicated matters for Ferguson.
And the Yorkshire club's sale of Lee Bowyer to Liverpool, plus a possible deal for Frenchman Olivier Dacourt, has eased the pressure on the former England coach as he seeks to recoup £15m for the Leeds coffers.
Ferguson acknowledged that any cross-Pennine move from Ferdinand was 'not clear-cut'.
He explained: 'The Rio Ferdinand thing is an issue and we are waiting on things developing at the moment.
'It is not our job to antagonise people and there'll be no war of words but Leeds have said themselves that we are the club that has talked to them about Rio so it is no secret. If he's available then we'd be interested.
'We will work away and we have alternatives and other thoughts.'
Ferguson admitted that his target list was limited, and his pursuit of certain players had not been helped by impressive performances at the World Cup.
While Ferdinand starred for England, Blackburn's versatile Republic of Ireland striker Damien Duff, another to have been linked with United, also caught the eye at Korea-Japan.
Ferguson continued: 'With the quality and type of player we want to bring to the club you only have a list of four or five players who are operating at the highest level who you feel would could come here and enhance the team.
'The World Cup beat us because two or three players emerged over there who we had made enquiries for before the World Cup started.'
I wonder what happens to Man Utd scouts?? They used to bring in unknown quality players (Solksjear/Johnsen/Silvestre) early. Sleeping I guess.:D
ralliart_ray
13-07-2002, 10:12 AM
07/12/2002. SoccerAge.com sister site Rete.it can exclusively reveal that Juan Veron will be staying at Manchester United next season despite Lazio's best efforts to sign him.
"Veron has begun preparations with Manchester United and will remain in England next season," said an associate of the player's agent Gustavo Mascardi. "True, Lazio had offered Sorin in exchange for the player, but the negotiation has failed. Therefore, Veron will remain with United and Sorin with Lazio."
Devilboy
13-07-2002, 10:48 AM
07/12/2002. SoccerAge.com sister site Rete.it can exclusively reveal that Juan Veron will be staying at Manchester United next season despite Lazio's best efforts to sign him.
"Veron has begun preparations with Manchester United and will remain in England next season," said an associate of the player's agent Gustavo Mascardi. "True, Lazio had offered Sorin in exchange for the player, but the negotiation has failed. Therefore, Veron will remain with United and Sorin with Lazio."
Excellent!!! Veron will show the critics who he really is! I believe in him!
ralliart_ray
13-07-2002, 04:58 PM
Excellent!!! Veron will show the critics who he really is! I believe in him! i really wish to see veron playing at his best this coming season:D
Devilboy
14-07-2002, 02:52 AM
i really wish to see veron playing at his best this coming season:D
More importanly Man Utd must play like a team and not a team of ego-manics!
Kiwi8
14-07-2002, 03:04 AM
More importanly Man Utd must play like a team and not a team of ego-manics!
Very hard, with the captain Roy Keane already a super ego-maniac. The others will be affected by him. :rolleyes:
Shingoz
14-07-2002, 02:54 PM
Very hard, with the captain Roy Keane already a super ego-maniac. The others will be affected by him. :rolleyes:
I thought he was rather okie when playing for man utd?
The most i've heard is him quarreling with some team mates because they're not performing/serious.
ifiron
14-07-2002, 10:18 PM
This Season, ManUtd has really serious defensive problems. Better sign new players soon, else will be worst than last year.
My wish list for Man Utd... hehe.
1x S
2x DC
1x AM
Devilboy
14-07-2002, 10:20 PM
According to newpaper today. Rio Ferdinand wants to get out of Leeds! Man Utd may move in this time!
Shingoz
14-07-2002, 10:38 PM
According to newpaper today. Rio Ferdinand wants to get out of Leeds! Man Utd may move in this time!
Dont think rio will leave hmm...
I heard Nesta's for sale...and errr where is thuram?
ifiron
15-07-2002, 10:13 AM
I think Rio is smart enough to leave :)... with Leeds in debts, and has to sell, he will not be foolish to stay. What is Leeds without Bowyer and Dacourt ? They claim they want to built the team around him as a leader.
Rio will be a smart guy with the right decisions :).
joecan
15-07-2002, 02:58 PM
Excellent!!! Veron will show the critics who he really is! I believe in him!
aiyah, I don't think so lah, there was so much hype when he join Manu but when he flopped, people say," wait till the world cup and you will see the real Veron", and if that was the real Veron we saw in Japan, I still maintain my opinion...Sell!! I think Fergie better sell him to break even before his value go down.
I hate to think that Manu fans have to go through another season with a over-hyped non-performer. The English game is just too tight for him, he needs the whole field to himself inorder to play......Serie A is more suitable for him...
Shingoz
15-07-2002, 04:04 PM
I hate to think that Manu fans have to go through another season with a over-hyped non-performer. The English game is just too tight for him, he needs the whole field to himself inorder to play......Serie A is more suitable for him...
You mean the way they play in serie A, they let you have all the midfield by youself?
demon_
15-07-2002, 08:40 PM
wah best if Veron go back lazio and so Manu can swap nesta....lazio still own manu tansfer fee from jaap stam u noe...Manu better concentrate on their defence....they are "scoring 5 goals let in 4 goals" type of games very time..see also sianz...:wobble:
Devilboy
15-07-2002, 09:25 PM
aiyah, I don't think so lah, there was so much hype when he join Manu but when he flopped, people say," wait till the world cup and you will see the real Veron", and if that was the real Veron we saw in Japan, I still maintain my opinion...Sell!! I think Fergie better sell him to break even before his value go down.
Still believe in the little witch! He is good...
Shevchenko7
16-07-2002, 09:13 AM
Man Utd should get a good striker as well... ;)
ralliart_ray
16-07-2002, 01:46 PM
Originally posted by Shevchenko7
Man Utd should get a good striker as well... ;) :D :D :D defence more important~
ifiron
16-07-2002, 01:53 PM
Defence 1st priority ..................
Attack 2nd :D
joecan
16-07-2002, 02:34 PM
You mean the way they play in serie A, they let you have all the midfield by youself?
easy lah, I just exaggerating, but Serie A do have more space, the players don't close down on each other so fast......
joecan
16-07-2002, 02:36 PM
Originally posted by Shevchenko7
Man Utd should get a good striker as well... ;)
i think striker enough already, defender more urgent
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.