View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
guoquanyap
13-08-2004, 10:29 AM
portugal lost yesterday!~! :bounce: hope they oso lose their nx match and ronaldo can come hme liao...:cool:
Holy crap, someone at redcafe posted that Saha will be out until 2005, hope it isn't true. :(
But it be printed in tomorrow Mirror: Fergie: "Crocked Saha out until 2005." :mad:
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=55239
Ronaldo7
13-08-2004, 12:27 PM
not again :mad:
Ch3tah_39
13-08-2004, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Holy crap, someone at redcafe posted that Saha will be out until 2005, hope it isn't true. :(
But it be printed in tomorrow Mirror: Fergie: "Crocked Saha out until 2005." :mad:
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=55239
:eek: :eek:
MatrixFanatic
13-08-2004, 02:54 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
not again :mad:
Nevermind Rossi can play liao.
Ch3tah_39
13-08-2004, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
:laugh:
usjag_18
13-08-2004, 03:25 PM
I don't think so. Not so fast. He's still in reserve team or lower than that.
Anyway, let's not worry so much for the moment. Let's see wat happen the match against Chelsea first.
Currently, no point thinking of putting who play and who should Man Utd buy. We should concentrate on seeing who Sir Fergie will be choosing.
Btw, someone mentioned abt Portgual losing and so Ronaldo can come back 2 Man Utd sooner. No worries, I believe there are a lot of ppl will b cursing and swearing, hoping Ronaldo and Henize can be back 2 Man Utd sooner.
Rgds,
O'
****, its really true then. :mad:
Manchester United fear striker Louis Saha could be sidelined until Christmas because of a knee inury.
It is understood scans have revealed Saha's medial ligament injury is worst than first thought and he may face four months out of action.
If United's concerns are confirmed, it leaves manager Sir Alex Ferguson struggling for strikers.
Ruud van Nistelrooy is out for a month after hernia surgery and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will not play this season.
United's summer signing Alan Smith is now United's only recognised striker, along with Diego Forlan.
Saha has suffered a miserable time with injuries since his £12.8m move from Fulham in January.
The 25-year-old suffered an Achilles injury which cast a cloud over his first six months at the club.
United are interested in Everton's Wayne Rooney, but cannot meet the Merseyside club's £30m price tag.
And any immediate move has been ruled out because the 18-year-old will be out for several more weeks after breaking his foot against Portugal in Euro 2004.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3561016.stm
usjag_18
13-08-2004, 04:07 PM
Seriously, I am starting to wondering is there someone cursing Man Utd. Last season, we have defenders and strikers problems. Then b4 the season even started, we have defenders who are either injured or being called up by their national teams, then worse comes to worst, 3 out 5 strikers are injured.
This is worst than other seasons, last time, when we have midfielders who are injured, we can just replaced them as we got lots of midfield players. Now the problem is we got not enough of strikers. Unless, Sir Fergie willing to give chances to the youngsters. Which I think it's impossible though I am hoping that he will let some youngsters to display their abilities.
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
13-08-2004, 04:13 PM
Miller makes impression on Keane
Roy Keane believes Liam Miller could turn out to be Manchester United's secret weapon this season.
Miller, who like Keane is a Cork-born Republic of Ireland international midfielder, came off the bench and played an excellent cameo for United in their 2-1 Champions League qualifying win over Dinamo Bucharest.
It was Miller who forced Dinamo into conceding the own-goal which turned out to be the winner and United skipper Keane believes the fact that the 23-year-old is a relative unknown in the Premiership means he will surprise some sides in the forthcoming campaign.
Keane said: "We saw against Dinamo what he is capable of. He gets into dangerous situations and we have seen with Celtic what a danger he can be.
"I think he can do really well for United because not many people really know about Liam and there's no big pressure on him. So, please God, I think he can be very good for us
time for gill to cut his holiday short and get the chequebook out.
MatrixFanatic
13-08-2004, 05:39 PM
Originally posted by RVN
time for gill to cut his holiday short and get the chequebook out.
Don't need got Forlan.:cool:
kengbeng
13-08-2004, 05:40 PM
I don't think SAF will risk untried youngsters in key positions, especially the main striker role.
If we can't buy a striker, most likely, we'll see Giggs, Scholes or even Ronaldo (when he comes back) play up front along with Alan Smith.
So we had better keep our fingers crossed that these players had better not get injured. Otherwise we can say goodbye to this season.
Not too sure about Forlan, his performance is just not convincing enough to be placed as a sure-starter.
Fergie: Saha Still Training, Contrary To Reports
Sir Alex Ferguson says reports claiming Louis Saha could be out until Christmas are well wide of the mark.
The United manager was bemused by the stories in Friday's English press, saying: "I can't understand journalism when I see stories like that."
"First of all, nobody got in touch with the club [to verify the story]," added Ferguson.
"Louis Saha has been training terrifically well in the last week. He's doing everything possible apart from kicking a ball.
"There is no operation as was stated in this morning's papers."
Sir Alex denied that Saha would be out until Christmas but did not put a time limit on Louis' return to first team duty.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=95027&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Ch3tah_39
13-08-2004, 06:11 PM
bad way to kick off the season..:(
Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is not relishing the idea of his side opening their premier league campaign at big-spending Chelsea.
United travel to Stamford Bridge on Sunday without nine senior players due to injury and suspension for new coach Jose Mourinho's first competitive game in charge of the London club.
"It's a difficult one, there's no doubt about that. We would prefer, under the present situation regarding our player availability, rather not to have played Chelsea at Stamford Bridge," Ferguson told reporters.
However, the United manager is backing his under-strength side to rise to the challenge after a 2-1 win at Dinamo Bucharest in their Champions League third qualifying round first leg on Wednesday.
"I've got a great bunch of players who have the experience to handle all types of competition and, which is most important, to handle pressure games like we had to do on Wednesday.
"We had a situation where a lot of people were maybe hoping we would stumble, but, nonetheless, they showed their experience by not panicking. We kept our patience, kept persevering and got our rewards for it," he added.
Liam Miller, a summer signing from Celtic, is in line to make his full debut after replacing Darren Fletcher, who is suspended on Sunday, as a substitute in Bucharest.
"He did very well and impressed me greatly. I would have no hesitation in starting the lad," said Ferguson.
Striker Louis Saha will again be missing with a knee injury, but Ferguson dismissed newspaper reports about a long-term absence for the France international.
"Louis Saha has been training terrific for the last week. He has been doing everything possible apart from kicking a ball. There will be no operation as was stated in the newspaper."
Under Mourinho, whose Porto side knocked United out of the Champions League on the way to winning the competition last season, Chelsea are seen as strong title contenders.
But Ferguson believes the championship is not restricted to last season's top three of Arsenal, Chelsea and United.
"No-one expected Chelsea to put up such a great performance last year so there's no reason to suggest it's impossible for Liverpool or Newcastle to do the same.
"The competition is fantastic. Every year we hope that there are going to be four or five teams going to compete in the league. Sometimes we have got to December and it all changes and goes back to two or three.
"Liverpool and Newcastle could make it an interesting league and Middlesbrough have bought very impressively ... You would definitely expect Middlesbrough to maybe even challenge up there in the top five."
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040813/2/5lya.html
RuMmYtUb
13-08-2004, 06:27 PM
:mad:
KNN why so farking suay... we nv even win the cursed shield and already so suay
cracker
13-08-2004, 06:28 PM
it is better to lose now in the first mth than in Mar-Apr 05 !
MatrixFanatic
13-08-2004, 09:28 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
I don't think SAF will risk untried youngsters in key positions, especially the main striker role.
If we can't buy a striker, most likely, we'll see Giggs, Scholes or even Ronaldo (when he comes back) play up front along with Alan Smith.
So we had better keep our fingers crossed that these players had better not get injured. Otherwise we can say goodbye to this season.
Not too sure about Forlan, his performance is just not convincing enough to be placed as a sure-starter.
Forlan is mad ok. He will fa siao at times. Hopefully at the right time.
guoquanyap
13-08-2004, 11:44 PM
the omen is there....we lost the CS 3-1 to arsenal...played the CL quafily rd.....:D :cool:
guoquanyap
13-08-2004, 11:47 PM
Originally posted by cracker
it is better to lose now in the first mth than in Mar-Apr 05 !
at least draw lah :cool:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39939000/gif/_39939280_chel_mutd_150.gif
Chelsea's new Dutch winger Arjen Robben (foot) is doubtful and Tiago Mendes (groin) is set to be ruled out, while Robert Huth is suspended.
Adrian Mutu, Wayne Bridge, Joe Cole and Alexei Smertin are available for selection after returning to training.
Man Utd will be without strikers Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha so Alan Smith will continue on his own up front with Paul Scholes in support.
Darren Fletcher and Rio Ferdinand are banned and Liam Miller is set to start.
Chelsea (from): Cech, Cudicini; Johnson, Babayaro, Carvalho, Gallas, Bridge, Ferreira, Terry; Makelele, Smertin, Lampard, Cole, Duff, Geremi, Robben, Parker; Mutu, Kezman, Drogba, Gudjohnsen.
Man Utd (from): Howard, G Neville, Keane, Silvestre, Fortune, Miller, Djemba-Djemba, O'Shea, Giggs, Scholes, Smith, P Neville, Forlan, Bellion, Eagles, Richardson, Spector, Bardsley, Carroll, Ricardo.
Ronaldo7
14-08-2004, 08:35 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
at least draw lah :cool:
anything more than a draw is a bonus . glad that saha's injury is not as serious as reported ;)
wadeva_lah
14-08-2004, 09:53 AM
chelsea like full strength while man utd like crippled. :o
things dun look too good.
ruud, saha, ronaldo and rio the big loss for us. :(
Ronaldo7
14-08-2004, 01:53 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
chelsea like full strength while man utd like crippled. :o
things dun look too good.
chelsea 2nd team is also their 1st team mah :laugh:
Kyubi
14-08-2004, 01:55 PM
chelsea 2nd team is also their 1st team mah :laugh: exactly haha
all the straits time and the new paper column all say not only will we lose to chelsea, we won't be involved in the title race either. I sense they are all abu cunts. :mad:
Now how I ****ing wish we'll prove them wrong. :evil:
beckz11
14-08-2004, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by RVN
all the straits time and the new paper column all say not only will we lose to chelsea, we won't be involved in the title race either. I sense they are all abu cunts. :mad:
nvm la
being the underdogs got advantages too
usjag_18
14-08-2004, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ermm.... why bother with what straits time and TNP said? They are always saying this and that about Man Utd. All their columnists never really like Man Utd.
Regards,
O'
RuMmYtUb
14-08-2004, 05:31 PM
Originally posted by beckz11
nvm la
being the underdogs got advantages too
Yea, actually Utd performs better as underdogs rather than favourites...
Mostly being letdowns when we're fav..
usjag_18
14-08-2004, 05:56 PM
True, I agree.
And no way should we get panic, we should have some faith with the players and manager.
Rgds,
O'
beckz11
14-08-2004, 06:09 PM
cannot imagine how power man utd will be when rvn rio ronaldo gets back :D
greycat87
14-08-2004, 07:33 PM
OT abit... what do you guys think of my sig? made it myself... still new to photoshop...
14-08-2004, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by usjag_18
Ermm.... why bother with what straits time and TNP said? They are always saying this and that about Man Utd. All their columnists never really like Man Utd.
Regards,
O'
They like to criticise Manu. All five star Kukus.
Greycat the sig nice.
usjag_18
14-08-2004, 08:24 PM
They like to criticise Manu. All five star Kukus.
Greycat the sig nice.
:laugh: , not 5 stars, they are extreme Kukus....
Ya, Greycat, your signature is really nice. Coolx.
Guys, let us salute to all our players and the manager no matter what's the results bcos they bring us entertainment.
Another thing, we admire this club, so that's the best way 2 encourage our players and the manager!
Regards,
O'
P.S. Still can't believe Liverpool sold Owen to Real Madrid.:confused:
greycat87
14-08-2004, 08:35 PM
Thanks ppl :)
If you guys need a Man United sig feel free to ask me... i will try to make... :)
14-08-2004, 08:44 PM
Siggy not bad... Smith rules! :evil:
greycat87
14-08-2004, 09:21 PM
Another Smithy sig :D
Who wants to use it tell me... i remove the greycat87 at the bottom then send to you :)
http://img11.exs.cx/img11/8721/signature5edited.jpg
MatrixFanatic
14-08-2004, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
Another Smithy sig :D
Who wants to use it tell me... i remove the greycat87 at the bottom then send to you :)
http://img11.exs.cx/img11/8721/signature5edited.jpg
Me!:cool:
greycat87
14-08-2004, 10:05 PM
Me!:cool:
What text you want to put? or you want the original text?
14-08-2004, 10:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Nice signature. :D
Btw, your sig is much more better... i haven reach that level yet... did u make it yourself?
14-08-2004, 10:25 PM
What text you want to put? or you want the original text?
Btw, your sig is much more better... i haven reach that level yet... did u make it yourself?
none, I ask someone to make one for me, I am still feeling strange as why the pic doesn't appear in my post, just the link. :confused:
Alienz
14-08-2004, 10:29 PM
Originally posted by RVN
none, I ask someone to make one for me, I am still feeling strange as why the pic doesn't appear in my post, just the link. :confused:
i think you have to put your link in between "" and "" tag
greycat87
14-08-2004, 10:34 PM
Originally posted by RVN
It wont appear unless your are a deluxe member
Oh I see, I am not. :(
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by RVN
they are all professiona ( palister, sharp )l...they are jus speaking the truth based on the team selection....even though i hope fergie can prove them wrong...
Alienz
15-08-2004, 12:39 AM
3 ITE students on attachment at Manchester Utd Soccer School
SINGAPORE : Three students from the Institute of Education have been selected for a five-day training attachment at the Manchester United Soccer School in the United Kingdom.
Mastura Kahad, Nur Fadhillah Hassan and Nurul Huda Isnin are among the first ITE women soccer players to undergo such a training programme.
Two of them also play for the National Under-19 squad.
At the school, the trio will be trained by professional coaches who will help them polish their football skills.
Renowned Manchester United ex-soccer legend Lee Sharpe presented the girls with an autographed jersey each to mark the collaboration.
The trip is sponsored by M1 with the support of Manchester United Official South East Asia Supporters' Club.
The girls leave for the United Kingdom on Saturday. - CNA
Ronaldo7
15-08-2004, 03:29 AM
lucky :)
Kyubi
15-08-2004, 03:31 AM
Originally posted by Alienz
3 ITE students on attachment at Manchester Utd Soccer School
SINGAPORE : Three students from the Institute of Education have been selected for a five-day training attachment at the Manchester United Soccer School in the United Kingdom.
Mastura Kahad, Nur Fadhillah Hassan and Nurul Huda Isnin are among the first ITE women soccer players to undergo such a training programme.
Two of them also play for the National Under-19 squad.
At the school, the trio will be trained by professional coaches who will help them polish their football skills.
Renowned Manchester United ex-soccer legend Lee Sharpe presented the girls with an autographed jersey each to mark the collaboration.
The trip is sponsored by M1 with the support of Manchester United Official South East Asia Supporters' Club.
The girls leave for the United Kingdom on Saturday. - CNA wow ... i wish i'm the one =x
Alienz
15-08-2004, 03:34 AM
Originally posted by Kyubi
wow ... i wish i'm the one =x
lucky girls :angel:
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 03:50 AM
Players born after 1 July 1982.
1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Man United, born 1985.First Portuguese winner btw)
2. Wayne Rooney (Everton, 1985)
3. Fernando Torres (Atlético, 1984)
4. Alberto Gilardino (Parma, 1982)
5. Antonio Cassano (Roma, 1982)
6. Arjen Robben (PSV, 1984)
7. Philipp Lahm (Stuttgart, 1983)
8. Wesley Sneijder (Ajax, 1984)
9. Bastian Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern, 1984)
10. Johnny Heitinga (Ajax, 1983)
Winners 1978->2003
1978:
1. Case (Eng/Liverpool), 2. Krimau (Mar/Bastia), 3. Balaci (Rum/Uni Craiova)
1979:
1. Birtles (Eng/Nottingham F), 2. Woodcock (Eng/Nottingham F) & Sulser (Sui/Grasshopper).
1980:
1. H. Müller (Stuttgart), 2. Brady (Irl/Arsenal), 3. Arnesen (Dan/Ajax).
1981:
1. Wark (Sco/Ipswich), 2. Bergomi (Ita/Inter), 3. Genghini (Fra/Sochaux).
1982:
1. Shaw (Eng/Aston Villa), 2. Von Heesen (BRD/Hamburg), 3. Pellegrini (Sui/Xamax).
1983:
1. Bonini (Ita/Juventus), 2. Hewitt (Sco/Aberdeen), 3. Vandenbergh (Bel/Anderlecht).
1984:
1. Righetti (Ita/Roma), 2. Rush (Wal/Liverpool), 3. Falco (Eng/Tottenham).
1985:
1. Butragueño (Esp/Real Madrid), 2. Rush (Wal/Liverpool), 3. Scifo (Bel/Anderlecht).
1986:
1. Butragueño (Esp/Real Madrid), 2. Michel (Esp/Real Madrid), 3. Scifo (Bel/Anderlecht).
1987:
1. Van Basten (Hol/Ajax), 2. Butragueño (Esp/Real Madrid), 3. Futre (Por/FC Porto).
1988:
1. Ohana (Isr/Mechelen), 2. I. Bonetti (Ita/Atalanta), 3. Robert Witschge (Hol/Ajax).
1989:
1. Maldini (Ita/Milan), 2. Hagi (Rum/Steaua), 3. Ferrara (Ita/Napoli).
1990:
1. R. Baggio (Ita/Fiorentina), 2. Casiraghi (Ita/Juventus), 3. Maldini (Ita/Milan).
91: Prosinecki (Jug/Crvena zvezda)
92: Guardiola (Esp/Barcelona)
93: Giggs (Wal/Man United)
94: Panucci (Ita/Milan)
95: Kluivert (Hol/Ajax)
96: Del Piero (Ita/Juventus)
97: Ronaldo (Bra/Barcelona)
98: Ronaldo (Bra/Inter)
99: Buffon (Ita/Parma)
00: Casillas (Esp/Real Madrid)
01: Hargreaves (Eng/Bayern München).
02: Metzelder (Ger/Dortmund)
03: Rooney (Eng/Everton)
http://www.totalfootball.org/swe/home/news.asp?sid=144&mid=3&NewsId=4395&Page=1
Ronaldo7
15-08-2004, 03:56 AM
what a first season in england for him :D
greycat87
15-08-2004, 10:03 AM
Look at whats our good old cantona up to again?
http://image2.sina.com.cn/ty/g/p/2004-08-08/U581P6T12D1051072F44DT20040808023752.jpg
RuMmYtUb
15-08-2004, 10:14 AM
Beach soccer :laugh:
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 10:28 AM
okie wat will the result of today match? hoping compare we hav played 2 matches already and chelsea none, we can better match fittness and more competative than them....
beckz11
15-08-2004, 11:06 AM
either 0-0
arboh lose...
RuMmYtUb
15-08-2004, 01:58 PM
bo ko leng 0-0.
chelski attack is a force to be reckoned with.. and our defense in a louya state...
But i also hope don't lose can liao
Ronaldo7
15-08-2004, 02:40 PM
maybe fergie can show the players the match between greece & portugal at euro 2004 :laugh:
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 04:45 PM
maybe fergie can show the players the match between greece & portugal at euro 2004 :laugh:
greece had such a strong defence which can put us to shame....hopefully we can see some magic fr one of the players
and pls defend as a unit!
MatrixFanatic
15-08-2004, 07:42 PM
Ask Fergie to buy entire Greek Defence.:angel:
Alienz
15-08-2004, 09:18 PM
heard that Defoe is our next target....
MatrixFanatic
15-08-2004, 09:59 PM
I feel Fergie should have got him instead of Saha. I was quite shocked when he went to Spurs.
uRiZEn
15-08-2004, 10:12 PM
Dont think Santini will Defoe go after he scored the equaliser for him in his first match in charged.
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 10:47 PM
match starting!! COME ON!!
usjag_18
15-08-2004, 11:24 PM
Chelsea scored! Damn. 1 goal for Chelsea. Never mind, guys, let's cheer for Man Utd.
edit:
not too bad seriously, chelsea got a lot of chances to score, so the whole team stilll quite alright. Other than Giggs, Scholes, Keane and Smith, other players seems too quiet. Should try to attack more.
usjag_18
15-08-2004, 11:35 PM
okie wat will the result of today match? hoping compare we hav played 2 matches already and chelsea none, we can better match fittness and more competative than them....
Impossible totally good points, there are also bad points, becos we already played 2 matches, it's also more tiring for the players.
Regards,
O'
guoquanyap
15-08-2004, 11:56 PM
not too bad we done really well even though without so many first teamer, jus that we a goal down....:mad: :(
RuMmYtUb
15-08-2004, 11:59 PM
Sibei jia lat, our team always susceptible to counter attacks :(
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 12:25 AM
For goodness's sake, please let p.neville or d.bellion 2 replace q.fortune. He's always making STUPID and silly mistakes unneccessarily.
edit:
Please replace Fortune, he's really another "burden" for Man Utd!
Fortune is crap. :alien:
We miss Ronaldo so much it's unbelievable. :mad:
Can Forlan get ANY worse ... he's given away possession with every touch. Sell him. :alien:
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 12:49 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Fortune is crap. :alien:
We miss Ronaldo so much it's unbelievable. :mad:
Aint that's the reason I said he's a burden for Man Utd. he should be the one who's sold, not Nicky Butt!
Regards,
O'
Alienz
16-08-2004, 12:52 AM
Aint that's the reason I said he's a burden for Man Utd. he should be the one who's sold, not Nicky Butt!
Regards,
O'
if Fortune is the one who sold instead of Butt, then who gonna play Fortune position...... dont think Butt can adopt that position...
only a few minutes remaining, look like we will lose 1-0 just like last season. :( :mad:
Alienz
16-08-2004, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by RVN
only a few minutes remaining, look like we will lose 1-0 just like last season. :( :mad:
three points gone :mad:
RuMmYtUb
16-08-2004, 12:58 AM
Forlan is CRAP!
Damn lazy with the ball... time to cash in on him! :mad:
The result isn't good but the performance (bar the final product) has been more encouraging than I honestly expected with so many first choice players missing.
Bellion and Forlan are NOT players I want to be relying on to come on to save a game. :( :alien:
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:03 AM
we were clearly the better ( even though without so many players ) but at the end of the day, it's the result that count....
P:S someone w a gun pls shoot jose Mourinho dead
cracker
16-08-2004, 01:06 AM
Originally posted by RVN
The result isn't good but the performance (bar the final product) has been more encouraging than I honestly expected with so many first choice players missing.
Bellion and Forlan are NOT players I want to be relying on to come on to save a game. :( :alien:
bellion had one good shot but who else Forlan de Horlan's blocked it ...:mad:
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 01:08 AM
Hey guys, let's not be so upset with the first match, no big deal. It's just first match.
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:11 AM
bellion had one good shot but who else Forlan de Horlan's blocked it ...:mad:
:laugh: :angel: bo bian no players liao....:angel:
orca_sea
16-08-2004, 01:12 AM
Hey guys, let's not be so upset with the first match, no big deal. It's just first match.
Same sendiments. Anyway another veri gd performance by Smith. :D
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:14 AM
well if u see jose Mourinho u really wan to punch him meh....u can only afford to lose not more than 3 games.....fergie damn black man...
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:16 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea
Same sendiments. Any another veri gd performance by Smith. :D
u really think smith did well? for mi miller impressed and DJ finally show why fergie bought him to OT....
cracker
16-08-2004, 01:16 AM
any1 watching badminton?
ronald susilo is leading lin dan 15-12 and 11-8 in the second set !!!
Kyubi
16-08-2004, 01:17 AM
u really think smith did well? for mi miller impressed and DJ finally show why fergie bought him to OT.... yeap .. same here .. i tink miller performs well for his first 2 matches
Originally posted by RVN
r this ur comments or u taken it from some other forum?
haha,i juz find it funny ur comments TOTALLY same wif dat person...
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=55110&page=5&pp=40
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:20 AM
yeap .. same here .. i tink miller performs well for his first 2 matches
though miller did well, i feel he is jus a mould of keano running everywhere chasing for the ball winning back ball....but not really the attacking player which we really need now....
well if u see jose Mourinho u really wan to punch him meh....u can only afford to lose not more than 3 games.....fergie damn black man...
yea.was frustrating we got so many possessions but we still lacked creativity & cutting edge like last season....
everytime i saw forlan he gives the ball away.....
though miller did well, i feel he is jus a mould of keano running everywhere chasing for the ball winning back ball....but not really the attacking player which we really need now....
he is another central midfielder being used as winger.....
when will fergie realise we need a backup winger..........
cracker
16-08-2004, 01:24 AM
any1 watching badminton?
ronald susilo is leading lin dan 15-12 and 11-8 in the second set !!!
WOOWWO
ROnald Susilo had dumped Lin Dan (world no.1) out of the olympic with a 15-12 and 15-10 victory...:bounce: :bounce:
way to go ..
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 01:25 AM
Originally posted by wes
he is another central midfielder being used as winger.....
when will fergie realise we need a backup winger..........
$$ board dun wan to give fergie oso bo bian
alvinoyw
16-08-2004, 01:25 AM
We will be back for the returning match. Just wait and see how we will tear them apart when we get our strikers back. :)
I thought we should have won today, Chelsea were totally cornered in the 2nd half but we didn't have the strikers to finish them off. Plus we have Morinho putting 10 guys behind the ball against our weakened side. -_-
RuMmYtUb
16-08-2004, 02:01 AM
I beg to differ, Miller today didn't do as well as he came on in the Dinamo match..
He seems like not used to the pace of EPL, cheaply losing possession and slow to passes... guess he needs more time...
Djemba great in tackling, poor in passing especially when attacking.. :(
Alienz
16-08-2004, 03:24 AM
Portugal 2 - Monacco 1
Ronaldo score the 1st goal :)
Portugal 2 - Monacco 1
Ronaldo score the 1st goal :)
He should have been playing for us instead, not in the olympics. :(
Alienz
16-08-2004, 01:30 PM
Originally posted by RVN
cant blame him, olympics is not every years event.....
greycat87
16-08-2004, 02:35 PM
Sometimes they say the quality of the bench decides who wins the EPL. With bench warmers like Mutu, Kezman and Robben, i won't be surprised if Chelsea wins the championship this time round
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 05:10 PM
Wahahahaa.... I won't really bother Jose Mourinho. Seriously, if you ask me, he's just another version of Arsene Wenger.
As for the match, I didn't get to watch it but thru the live commentary from Soccernet, I seriously think Forlan n Fortune are the two fools that we need 2 make them practice how 2 pass balls and shoot the balls. Make them go back 2 MU Soccer Schools to learn all over again.
Damn it, two of them never learn!
Regards,
O'
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Patriotic is differ @ differ countries. Players always choose to fight for their own countries first. The reason why SAF never really choose country first becos he did it once and he leave. This can shows that club games are more interesting than competing in games between country vs country.
Regards,
O'
Alienz
16-08-2004, 05:29 PM
Wahahahaa.... I won't really bother Jose Mourinho. Seriously, if you ask me, he's just another version of Arsene Wenger.
for me, Mourinho is worst than Wenger :mad:
Ch3tah_39
16-08-2004, 06:44 PM
well if u see jose Mourinho u really wan to punch him
ya lor:mad:
Ronaldo7
16-08-2004, 07:07 PM
he is arrogant lah , but look at his record . who can blame him ? and he is only 40 . don't mind seeing him replacing fergie in the future seriously :eek:
guoquanyap
16-08-2004, 07:30 PM
for me, Mourinho is worst than Wenger :mad:
to mi both are the same....
come on nw is already 16th less than 2wk b4 the transfer window close....get another striker short term will do ( shearer will be gd, remember terry? ) or another winger...surprised that we didnt make any major signing this summer
RuMmYtUb
16-08-2004, 08:00 PM
Heck care mourinho lar... most important is how our team is performing, and let me say this again:
Forlan's CRAP!
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 08:34 PM
hehehee.... relax, Jose Mourinho is not out worst enemy. Not even Arsene Wenger. Out WORST ENEMIES are our own players.
Seriously, Silvestre starts to talk crap like G.Neville, but that's not the main point too. The main thing is we need 2 get someone else 2 be on the defence instead of Fortune. He's really the worst defender a soccer club can ever have. Whereas Forlan, it's either they give him a punch in a face or wash his brain, otherwise, they won't WAKE UP! Both of them sucks in passing, shooting. Who can be worse than them. Sad, very sad!
Regards,
O'
orca_sea
16-08-2004, 08:38 PM
he is arrogant lah , but look at his record . who can blame him ? and he is only 40 . don't mind seeing him replacing fergie in the future seriously :eek:
Same here.. haha actually he's abit like our SAF..keke juz tat he even more arrogant.. fit us well hahahha :laugh: :laugh:
Ronaldo7
16-08-2004, 08:38 PM
but the problem is we can't sell forlan now , not until the jan transfer window . :(
usjag_18
16-08-2004, 08:46 PM
Same here.. haha actually he's abit like our SAF..keke juz tat he even more arrogant.. fit us well hahahha :laugh: :laugh:
It's true, Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho and Alex Ferguson are all arrogant bast**** but that's what make them better managers than others.
But it's also important to be nice 2 the players.
Rgds,
O'
The board are pathetic if they think Bellion and Forlan can do the job for us. :mad:
Manchester United are unlikely to enter the market for a new striker before the transfer window closes - despite their injury problems.
Sir Alex Ferguson is without three senior forwards - Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer - and last week the United manager said the club were taking stock of the situation before deciding whether to sign another player.
United's current problems were clearly evident in their 1-0 defeat at Chelsea, but it is understood the club's directors have now decided to view the situation as a short-term problem, with Diego Forlan and David Bellion able to support Alan Smith, making it highly unlikely that another striker will be signed.
Meanwhile, French defender Mikael Silvestre insists that United can take some solace from the 1-0 defeat at Chelsea yesterday and get back on track when Norwich visit Old Trafford on Saturday.
Silvestre told the club's official website: 'That game is going to be very important for us to stay in contention. We are at home with all our fans and I am sure all the players are going to be up for that one.
'I think we can stay positive and take something from the Chelsea game.It was the first one, but we have shown we have the spirit and some good movement from all the team and we can be confident for the future.'
Silvestre claimed that United should have taken at least a point from the game.
He added: 'We deserved at least a draw, but in football you have to concentrate for 90 minutes. We conceded the goal very early in the game and while we had some occasions to come back, Chelsea played very tight and made it difficult for us to create a goal.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=307300&cc=4716
usjag_18
17-08-2004, 02:11 AM
Originally posted by RVN
The board are pathetic if they think Bellion and Forlan can do the job for us. :mad:
Hey, relax, dun be so pissed off. Since Peter Kenyon joined Man Utd until now, Man Utd always give such an attitude. But still we survive until now. Though current situation do not allow us to be so relax in getting a new striker, we do not have a choice. Maybe stubborness will make the players even clearer what they should do. Forlan should know that currently, he's lucky enuff not to be sold to the spanish club. So he better do his job. As for Bellion, I am not sure what does he intend to do. It's either he do the job or he can become the next person to be transferred out!
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
17-08-2004, 02:56 AM
Maybe we should try out some youngsters for strikers? Why not? Losing one game doesn't mean the whole season will be down. We should try out. At least, we can try out, we never know if we never try out.
Rgds,
O'
If Ruud and Saha come back, they will give us a cutting edge in the striker department.
However, the real problem has always been the excruciating lack of width. Nowadays, there is hardly a cross from the wings heading into the opponent's penalty box and its quite sad to see its Gary Neville who has the best cross in the entire United team.
The right flank is a horrendous problem with Cristiano Ronaldo playing in the Olympics - when he was around, United always played better.
And on the left Giggs prefers to dribble, or run to the center to create more chances.. This results in more congestion in the middle as everyone knows where the real threat is coming from.
We can't even get a decent pass to Ruud last season and he got 20 goals despite the poor service.
No, we don't need more strikers, we simply need a quality wide player who can deputize or even take over from Giggs, C Ronaldo, etc.
And we also need (or groom) a Keane replacement... *SIGH*
And screw the board for refusing to spend for Arjen Robben. Twats.
Alienz
17-08-2004, 08:26 AM
Solskjaer keen to return
Norway boss Age Hareide has a strong belief Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will once again kick a ball in professional football.
The striker is set to miss the whole of this season through injury on the back of missing the majority of the 2003/04 campaign with Manchester United.
Solskjaer is to undergo knee surgery in Stockholm and many believe the marksman may now be forced to retire.
However, Hareide has spoken to The Red Devil, who has aspirations of playing in the 2006 World Cup, and has every confidence he will return to action.
"He (Solskjaer) said to me that he really wants to come back as a footballer," Hareide told Dagbladet.
"He is very positive, and I think that he will manage it as well."
kengbeng
17-08-2004, 08:50 AM
Yes, I agree with pyu that we seriously lack depth in our wide players. All we have now are central midfielders trying to play as wingers (except Giggs).
RuMmYtUb
17-08-2004, 12:47 PM
Yea that's what we all have been discussing in during the pre-seasons.... a wide midfield player... we need it so badly :mad:
samwise
17-08-2004, 01:16 PM
man utd is one place above relegation :(
Originally posted by samwise
Its only 1 game. suay we have to play chelsea first. But we better beat Norwich on Saturday.
RuMmYtUb
17-08-2004, 05:06 PM
C.Ronaldo wins the young player of the yr. 1st Portugese 2 win the award. Ronaldo beat off the competition from W.Rooney & FernandoTorres who came 2nd & 3rd
usjag_18
17-08-2004, 05:44 PM
Originally posted by pyu
And screw the board for refusing to spend for Arjen Robben. Twats.
Why you guys still not willing to accept the truth? Even we willing to buy Arjen Robben, PSV is not willing to sell him to Man Utd, they purposely have the partnership with Chelsea, so that they can sell their young players to Chelsea. Even Man Utd willing to pay it, PSV already have partnership/tweening program with Chelsea. Moreover, PSV president never like Ferguson's way of handle things. And also Arjen Robben is not a man who keep his words. Before PSV signed on tweening with Chelsea, he came over to Man Utd, he himself said he's interested in coming to Man Utd, but after that, he twisted his mouth again, said that it's his honours to join Chelsea which is such a BIG CLUB? For goodness sake, before Claudio came in, where's Chelsea standing? Then after that got Roman came in, helping them 2 get more players. So let's not complain that Man Utd not willing to spend. No point spending so much and can't get the results! Stop being irrealistic and GET ON WITH LIFE stop acting like a kid and complaining! Do you wanna Man Utd 2 spend and spend until BANKRUPT like Leeds Utd???
Nothing is forever, we can't always be rich club. So STOP WHINING. If you wanna a club that always buying big names, then I think you should go and support Chelsea, not Man Utd. :mad:
usjag_18
17-08-2004, 05:46 PM
Cheer up, samwise. It's the first game. Relax, we just need to endure all the insults for another 1-2 mths time, when RVN and Louis Saha are back, who dare to give another ****ty comments.
Regards,
O'
samwise
17-08-2004, 09:29 PM
i just feel uneasy about the keano versus pacey david bentley competition...
Totti76
17-08-2004, 09:52 PM
Dyer for sale. He may not b the world class playmaker we looking for but he is not a bad option if compare to Kleberson or Djemba
He is pacy and he can play on the right or centre although right is not where he want to play. I say get him get him....:D
i just feel uneasy about the keano versus pacey david bentley competition...
why uneasy of bentley, I think huckerby is more of a threat, whatever we should still beat norwich even with a depleted squad.
I don't think Keane should play in defence, he should play in his usual midfield role. ;)
Originally posted by Totti76
Dyer for sale. He may not b the world class playmaker we looking for but he is not a bad option if compare to Kleberson or Djemba
He is pacy and he can play on the right or centre although right is not where he want to play. I say get him get him....:D
If Dyer don't want to play on the right, then **** him, beside our central midfield is too over-crowded, in any case don't want someone who has attitude problem that moan at his manager. :alien:
MatrixFanatic
17-08-2004, 10:35 PM
Originally posted by RVN
why uneasy of bentley, I think huckerby is more of a threat, whatever we should still beat norwich even with a depleted squad.
I don't think Keane should play in defence, he should play in his usual midfield role. ;)
Yeah O'Shea looked lost in midfield against Chelsea.
Yueming
17-08-2004, 10:39 PM
i've said thruout preseason we need a striker a winger and a defender to shore up the team....
see what i mean now?
Alienz
17-08-2004, 10:46 PM
i did prefer put O'Shea on left back and move Fortune to left mid and Giggs to right mid and Fetcher to center mid....
Originally posted by Yueming
i've said thruout preseason we need a striker a winger and a defender to shore up the team....
see what i mean now?
The winger is the more urgent need. There is a lack of quality cover for Ronaldo and Giggs. :(
guoquanyap
17-08-2004, 11:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
if keano did not play in the heart of defend i am not sure whether we will get a win during the match VS dinamo......
most likely the defence will fare like wat they did against arsenal in the CS....
there is no choice we hav to use keano to organise the defence until brown ( brown should come back earlier than rio ) is back....
Ronaldo7
17-08-2004, 11:08 PM
i think fergie is playing o'shea in the midfield to get him use to it cause there is no place at the back for him once heinze is back :rolleyes:
Roy Keane refuses to use United's injury crisis as an excuse for the Reds' shot-shy opening to the season.
The club captain insists that Sir Alex Ferguson's side need to be more clinical in front of goal, regardless of which players take to the field.
Keane said: "There's absolutely no point in talking about them [the injured players]. No disrespect but they are not involved.
"We have a good squad as it is and it gives the young lads maybe a chance, but we are just lacking that final pass and that is the vital one because it is what can create you a goal.
"Hopefully we can work on that this week and take some of the chances next Saturday. We all thought we deserved something on Sunday, but we have to stay positive, there is a full season to go yet.
"We played some decent stuff on Sunday we had plenty of possession in the second half, but we all know its about putting the ball in the back of the net and we just lacked that cutting edge in the final third of the field.
"We didn't want to be three points behind one of our rivals but that's the way it goes.
"That's why next Saturday is important for us. A few of us are away for internationals but we will lick our wounds and we'll be back."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=96516&itype=466&icategoryid=120
usjag_18
17-08-2004, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by Totti76
I won't get Dyer. From one incident, can see that he's not a player who will listen to the manager. Even Sir Bobby Robson, such a nice manager w/o temper(at least compared to Sir Alex Fergie's angry face), he also want to go against him. If Sir Alex Ferguson, then they might have a 3rd world. I think players and managers must always have common attitudes towards all matters. If that time, Silvestre don't listen 2 Sir Alex Ferguson, kept insist on playing midfield, he won't be one of the top defenders among the french national team. So Dyer won't be the best person to get.
Moreover, we have enough of players who played well or badly depends on their own moods, such as Forlan n Fortune.
Man Utd 3-1 Burnley
Scholes, Phil Neville and Eagles the scorers. :)
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=220393&cpid=10&CLID=1&lid=&title=Red+Devils+overcome+Clarets
ALEX FERGUSON has ruled out a pre-deadline transfer raid to solve his alarming early season injury crisis.
The beleaguered Manchester United boss is already facing a striker shortage just one game into the new Premiership campaign.
Dutch hot-shot Ruud van Nistelrooy is out until October at the earliest with a hernia while Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (knee) is a long-term absentee.
In addition, French ace Louis Saha has missed the build-up to United’s campaign with a damaged knee, although he could make an earlier-than-expected return against Norwich on Saturday.
Fergie admitted he would love to splash out before the August 31 deadline.
But he said: “I would love to bring in a new face, I really would. But if I’m being honest I don’t think it is going to happen.”
South African Quinton Fortune added to United’s woes yesterday when he was ruled out of the first Premiership home match with a thigh problem.
Ferguson last night fielded a strong side in a testimonial for former Burnley boss Stan Ternent.
Almost 9,000 fans turned up at at Turf Moor to net Ternent a bumper £100,000 pay day.
Paul Scholes showed just how much England are going to miss him after his shock decision to quit the international scene with a brilliant volleyed opener.
Phil Neville and Chris Eagles made it 3-0 before Mark Pugh netted a late consolation.
----------------------------
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004381598,00.html
Ronaldo7
18-08-2004, 01:45 PM
fortune out with injury again :mad: lets hope nothing happen to smith tomorrrow
beckz11
18-08-2004, 01:45 PM
knn...
fortune also inujured liao..
OKK77
18-08-2004, 02:30 PM
see what i mean now?
Almost everyone did say we need a winger or two and a playmaker. We also witnessed you fantasising CM situations in real life.
usjag_18
18-08-2004, 03:34 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
Almost everyone did say we need a winger or two and a playmaker. We also witnessed you fantasising CM situations in real life.
usjag_18
18-08-2004, 03:50 PM
Originally posted by beckz11
knn...
fortune also inujured liao..
Seriously, I wish that no one will be injured, but injuries are hard to avoid.
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
18-08-2004, 08:08 PM
Manchester United can wait, says Heinze
(Recasts)
By German Fernandez-Moores
ATHENS, Aug 18 (Reuters) - Manchester United signing Gabriel Heinze said the Premier League club will just have to wait while he is on duty for Argentina at the Athens Olympics.
Heinze insisted his country came first despite warnings from United manager Alex Ferguson that his commitment to play at the Olympic Games will cost him a place in the United team.
"I know what the coach has said and it does not worry me at all," Heinze said on Wednesday.
"I am not affected by it. I really wanted to be here and to play for my country. It was very important to play for Argentina for me. When I finish here I will think of Manchester United.
"I know the coach said a few things but they are not in my mind at all. They have never affected me. I am very proud that I have been selected to play for Argentina."
However, the former Paris Saint-Germain defender expressed sympathy for Ferguson's plight after United lost 1-0 at Chelsea on the opening day of the English season at the weekend.
"For me, it's normal that Manchester United complain because they made a big effort to sign me," said the 26-year-old, who has helped Argentina reach the Olympic quarter-finals in Athens.
"It's normal to protest and of course the player is then caught in the middle. But my head is in this championship here though, and there is no point in my worrying about Manchester," said Heinze, who also played in last month's Copa America.
"I will think of that when I go home."
Argentina have not won an Olympic gold medal in any sport since Helsinki in 1952 but their footballers are tipped to break that barren spell in Athens.
"Playing in the Copa America and now here means I have had a busy summer, but I like it," said Heinze.
"It's a great honour to be selected to play for Argentina and I wanted to be here."
:rolleyes:
Good news is Saha could be back soon. :)
Alienz
18-08-2004, 09:27 PM
fortune out with injury again :mad: lets hope nothing happen to smith tomorrrow
orca_sea
18-08-2004, 10:59 PM
I tink itz ferge's testing of him for the DM role..
usjag_18
18-08-2004, 11:53 PM
y r u guys get mad becos of injuries? If no injuries, we can never know who are the players we can use when there's a need to change our formation. Maybe it's time to change our formation or players.
Relax, guys.=p
beckz11
19-08-2004, 12:29 AM
haiz i book in tml le..
no posting in here for 3 wks...
:(
no man utd action for 2 wks...
:(
Alienz
19-08-2004, 01:09 AM
y r u guys get mad becos of injuries? If no injuries, we can never know who are the players we can use when there's a need to change our formation. Maybe it's time to change our formation or players.
Relax, guys.=p
but we have lot of injuries :(
RuMmYtUb
19-08-2004, 01:43 AM
So this wk no EPL action hor ? :(
Alienz
19-08-2004, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
So this wk no EPL action hor ? :(
there is EPL tis coming weekend..... And United have a match with Norwich at OT on Sat too.....
Alienz
19-08-2004, 02:02 AM
Heinze ignores Ferguson
Gabriel Heinze says he is not bothered by warnings from Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson over his participation in the Olympics.
"I know what the coach has said and it does not worry me at all," United's £6.9m signing from Paris St Germain said.
"I am not affected by it. I really wanted to be here and play for my country - it was very important to play for Argentina for me.
"When I finish here I will think of Manchester United."
Defender Heinze, 26, is at the Olympics along with fellow United team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo who is playing for Portugal.
Both have missed the start of the Premiership season for the Old Trafford outfit who are also depleted by a string of injuries to key players.
Heinze added: "For me, it's normal that Manchester United complain because they made a big effort to sign me.
"It's normal to protest and of course the player is then caught in the middle.
"But my head is in this championship here though, and there is no point in my worrying about Manchester.
"I will think of that when I go home."
Heinze also played in the Copa America during the summer, helping Argentina to quarter-finals in Greece.
"Playing in the Copa America and now here means I have had a busy summer, but I like it," said Heinze.
"It's a great honour to be selected to play for Argentina and I wanted to be here."
guoquanyap
19-08-2004, 03:14 AM
portugal now losing to costa rica 3-2....:bounce: :bounce:
guoquanyap
19-08-2004, 04:46 AM
ronaldo on his way back fr anthes...:cool:
Ronaldo7
19-08-2004, 08:35 AM
he is back sooner than expected :evil: , but an extended break is waiting for him thou
Oh great, ronaldo don't have to waste more time in the olympics. :D
guoquanyap
19-08-2004, 09:29 AM
even though ronaldo will be back...fergie gng to rest him and during the rest period...he will still go back to to portugal for WC2006 quafiying match....:mad:
Thinker
19-08-2004, 10:51 AM
see what i mean now?
so this wonderfully deep analysis is based on a second string Man U team losing only by a goal to a multi-million dollar 1st 11 Chelsea team on their home ground?
We should put you as mod for the Championship Manager forum instead of the Football Clinic.
Ronaldo7
19-08-2004, 07:59 PM
a funny article by the sun :laugh:
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2004381597,00.html
ahgohgoh
19-08-2004, 08:02 PM
http://www.manutdtimes.com/forums/
forum just starting... but got potential... like ronaldo lol
go join it... so we can all talk bout anything and share points...
Alienz
19-08-2004, 08:36 PM
No good Fortune for United
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/21961.jpg
The early-season jinx has struck Manchester United again with left-back Quinton Fortune the latest Red to be struck down with injury.
Fortune looks set to miss Saturday's home game against Norwich after picking up a thigh strain, which has put the South Africa international back in the treatment room.
Fortune missed the latter half of last season after knee surgery but fought his way back to fitness and was in the side which lost at Chelsea on Sunday.
With Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, Wes Brown and Kleberson all sidelined through injury, Darren Fletcher and Rio Ferdinand suspended and Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze on international duty, Sir Alex Ferguson faces an anxious 24 hours as the rest of his squad checks in.
Seven other players were called up for this week's international friendly games but no other problems have been reported.
MatrixFanatic
19-08-2004, 09:30 PM
Wat the ****. Why Fortune like to injure himself so much!
Alienz
19-08-2004, 10:05 PM
Howard Calls For Consistency
Tim Howard says United need to be far more consistent this season if they are to challenge for the major honours.
Despite winning the FA Cup last term, Howard ackowledges that the competition, although steeped in history, is ranked further down the pecking order at United.
"When you prioritise the three trophies [European Cup, Premier League and FA Cup], some people would say that the FA Cup would be third.
"But then, I suppose we can pride ourselves on taking something out of a season that wasn't one of our best.
"Our targets are the same this year in that we want to win silverware and medals. But to do that we need to play consistent football.
"That means going out each week and picking up maximum points; or worse case scenario picking up one point."
Howard took the Premiership by storm in his first season and was named in the Premier League team of the year.
However, he revealed it was a mentally tough introduction to English football, and hopes to improve on his debut season.
"It was difficult," Howard recalls of his first season. "All in all it was OK. But OK isn't good enough.
"There are things that I can do better, things that I can learn from. There were things that I assessed I need to work on and I certainly hope I can put that right."
The American stopper is more settled in England after a year of acclimatisation. The first few months of his time in England were spent staying in a hotel, but Howard feels he has adapted to life in England on and off the field.
Asked if he was enjoying living in England, Tim responded: "More so this year. Last year was difficult in terms of figuring out who's who, and what's what. But this year will be better because everything is stable."
Alienz
19-08-2004, 10:10 PM
Early United return for Ronaldo
Cristiano Ronaldo has returned to Manchester United earlier than expected after Portugal's elimination from the Olympic Games football tournament.
Portugal crashed to a 4-2 defeat at the hands of Costa Rica in a game they needed to win to stand a chance of reaching Saturday's quarter-finals.
Ronaldo could only watch from the sidelines as he was suspended for the clash, while Newcastle United's Hugo Viana, on a season-long loan at Sporting Lisbon, was sent off in what appeared to be a case of mistaken identity.
Ferguson was livid that his player was included in the Olympics squad, especially after the winger's exertions during Euro 2004.
Whether the Red Devils boss throws Ronaldo right back into the mix remains to be seen. Given the long catalogue of first-team absentees through a combination of injuries and suspensions, Fergie may be tempted to play the 19-year-old straight away and give him a break later.
Meanwhile, United's injury problems are showing no signs of easing after Quinton Fortune became the latest player to visit the treatment room.
The utility player suffered a thigh strain during the later stages of the 1-0 defeat at Chelsea on Sunday, causing him to miss South Africa's friendly international win over Tunisia on Wednesday.
Fortune is now extremely doubtful for Saturday's Barclaycard Premiership visit of Norwich City.
Yueming
19-08-2004, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by Thinker
so this wonderfully deep analysis is based on a second string Man U team losing only by a goal to a multi-million dollar 1st 11 Chelsea team on their home ground?
We should put you as mod for the Championship Manager forum instead of the Football Clinic.
no....i said it all along.
and its not championship manager fantasy. I nvr said to splurge excessively on players.
I've said to spend wisely on players that improve the team for all you anal retentives out there.
I'm a man utd fan but I also like to see man utd to be the champions. And it is very obvious we do not have a team that can challenge for titles at all with the likes of AC Milan, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Arsenal, Juventus, Inter Milan.
If you guys want to promote our second string team, so be it. But its still a fact that our second string is nowhere near the second string of those listed above.
And it is also obvious thru pass seasons our players will go thru injuries again in mid season. And the current man utd team cannot tolerate injuries.....scholes out and we have a big problem. Ruud out we have a big problem.....
smith saha forlan solskjaer all over hyped....
I support man utd, but not blindly....not like some hardcore fans with a white walking stick.
Why do you think Smith, Saha, Solskjaer are over-hyed, Smith and Saha are good young strikers for us, Don't forget Ole's contribution in the 99 CL final.
As for Forlan he dosen't need any hype, he is ****. I agree to that extent we do lack quality cover for our first-teamers, but we still have a good first 11 in our side when everyone is back. Don't need for all this gloom and pessmisstic thoughts when the season has only just start. :alien:
Yellowfin
20-08-2004, 12:08 AM
I believe that the team that won the treble start off as unknown and from the youth side.
They are no world beater also.
Man U are going through a bad patch now. :(
usjag_18
20-08-2004, 01:11 AM
no....i said it all along.
and its not championship manager fantasy. I nvr said to splurge excessively on players.
I've said to spend wisely on players that improve the team for all you anal retentives out there.
I'm a man utd fan but I also like to see man utd to be the champions. And it is very obvious we do not have a team that can challenge for titles at all with the likes of AC Milan, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Arsenal, Juventus, Inter Milan.
If you guys want to promote our second string team, so be it. But its still a fact that our second string is nowhere near the second string of those listed above.
And it is also obvious thru pass seasons our players will go thru injuries again in mid season. And the current man utd team cannot tolerate injuries.....scholes out and we have a big problem. Ruud out we have a big problem.....
smith saha forlan solskjaer all over hyped....
I support man utd, but not blindly....not like some hardcore fans with a white walking stick.
Hey guys, RELAX, maybe you should change your tone or prove that U did say all those stuff. People might mistaken the way you put it.
Moreover, no one supporting Man Utd blindly over here. All of us are reasonable supporters here. And also, it's right that our reserves players are not as good as others but that doesn't mean that they are not good enough to play. I trust that our reserves team will be getting better as long as they got more chances to prove themselves.
Btw, just because the other clubs got better reserves team, then we should be following. Those world-class players have to prove themselves b4 they can go to those famous clubs. So I don't see what's the difference by having our very own youth club players. Like someone mentioned after you, those players such as Paul Scholes, David Beckham, Nevilles brothers, Ryan Giggs are all from the youth club. They also got the chances to prove themselves. So let's not always think of those world-class players. Since you said that Man Utd should spend wisely, then if they choose not to buy anymore players, maybe they got their reasons, so guys, not only Yueming, please stop thinking that Man Utd doesn't wanna to buy world-class players. Too many doesn't mean anything and NOT EVERY CLUB can afford to have so many world-class players just to be backup. I guess this is what I think.
Cheers,
O'
usjag_18
20-08-2004, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
I believe that the team that won the treble start off as unknown and from the youth side.
No worries, Man Utd will be back soon. Just relax, guys, we must have faith. Even though we are having problems this season, but who doesn't have problems in each seasons?
Maybe we just kinda of less fortunate this season. Having so many problems, but let's not get worry and less faith with the players and manager. Must show confident and faith! They need lots lots lots of support now!
Rgds,
O':D
http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/reuters/20040820/10/2946930279.jpg
Sir Alex Ferguson thinks things are improving regarding his selection options after admitting having the worst-ever start to the season in terms of injuries.
Louis Saha is due to return to training next week and midfielder Kleberson, who experienced a difficult first season in England, is already back practicing with his colleagues.
With Cristiano Ronaldo available for Saturday's match with Norwich City, Ferguson wants to judge the Portugal winger's fitness before deciding whether to recall the talented teenager.
"Kleberson's back training today," Ferguson told Sky Sports News. "Saha will start training on Monday or Tuesday.
"That is a little break as opposed to what it's been like in the last two weeks.
"Absolutely (it's been the worst start to the season in terms of injuries). No doubt about that.
"We're glad Ronaldo's back. He played two games in the Olympics and we'll just have to assess his fitness."
Ferguson appreciates that Norwich will not be easy opponents in the Old Trafford encounter.
"We've had fantastic games against Norwich," he added. "When I first came down, they were always beating us.
"It doesn't matter what team I played or the circumstances, they always seemed to get the upper hand, but we started to get the upper hand on them from about 1991.
"They will be fighting for their lives tomorrow. They know survival in The Premiership is very difficult.
"We always get promoted teams first or second anyway. West Brom held us until the 85th minute a couple of years ago so we expect a tough game.
"Most teams come with a plan of some sort to Old Trafford, so it depends on not giving goals away. Hopefully, we can come out with a clean sheet."
United then face the second leg of their UEFA Champions League qualifier with Dinamo Bucharest on Wednesday night.
"Hopefully we can manoeuvre ourselves into the group stages of the Champions League," said the Scot.
"It's important for the club, the supporters and the players."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=220964&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Welcome+news+for+Ferguson
Yueming
20-08-2004, 07:42 PM
the side that won the treble had a good strike team of Yorke and Cole whom at that time were two very dangerous strikers....
not to mention solskjaer whos a world class sub
then we had a certain beckham on the right, and a top-form giggs on the left.
our defence had a certain jaap stam and ronny johnsen who were on top form....plus full backs who were on top form.
compare to now....
ruud is the only dangerous striker around....
saha and smith still make good subs only, like it or not. they'll never be automatic first team selections for their country at the moment. maybe in future, but not now.
giggs is getting slower and slower. We lost beckham....but that is replaced by ronaldo.....
our defence is a joke.....silvestre and the nevilles are no longer what they used to be.
so this will not be a team to win titles this season....in future maybe...but definitely not this season...
Yueming
20-08-2004, 07:49 PM
Hey guys, RELAX, maybe you should change your tone or prove that U did say all those stuff. People might mistaken the way you put it.
Moreover, no one supporting Man Utd blindly over here. All of us are reasonable supporters here. And also, it's right that our reserves players are not as good as others but that doesn't mean that they are not good enough to play. I trust that our reserves team will be getting better as long as they got more chances to prove themselves.
Btw, just because the other clubs got better reserves team, then we should be following. Those world-class players have to prove themselves b4 they can go to those famous clubs. So I don't see what's the difference by having our very own youth club players. Like someone mentioned after you, those players such as Paul Scholes, David Beckham, Nevilles brothers, Ryan Giggs are all from the youth club. They also got the chances to prove themselves. So let's not always think of those world-class players. Since you said that Man Utd should spend wisely, then if they choose not to buy anymore players, maybe they got their reasons, so guys, not only Yueming, please stop thinking that Man Utd doesn't wanna to buy world-class players. Too many doesn't mean anything and NOT EVERY CLUB can afford to have so many world-class players just to be backup. I guess this is what I think.
Cheers,
O'
i didn't put mention anything besides a list of player that would be cool to have....plus a suggestion that we should get saviola...
because fact it....SAVIOLA IS CHEAP AT 12MIL.....
and i see him as a better player......hell....he IS a better player than saha and smith.........
but its too bad that some anal retentives choose to associate my mod status with my posts. some people can't see facts you see....
that saviola is cheap at 12 mil and I'm not a mod for this forum.
not my problem.
Ronaldo7
20-08-2004, 07:59 PM
so this will not be a team to win titles this season....in future maybe...but definitely not this season...
hmm , too early to say all these things . you don't need a team of world class players to win title :rolleyes:
Yellowfin
20-08-2004, 08:11 PM
the side that won the treble had a good strike team of Yorke and Cole whom at that time were two very dangerous strikers....
not to mention solskjaer whos a world class sub
then we had a certain beckham on the right, and a top-form giggs on the left.
our defence had a certain jaap stam and ronny johnsen who were on top form....plus full backs who were on top form.
compare to now....
ruud is the only dangerous striker around....
saha and smith still make good subs only, like it or not. they'll never be automatic first team selections for their country at the moment. maybe in future, but not now.
giggs is getting slower and slower. We lost beckham....but that is replaced by ronaldo.....
our defence is a joke.....silvestre and the nevilles are no longer what they used to be.
What I am trying to imply was that before the team that won the treble, they are a bunch of teenager that made the break-thru to the first team.
OKS is an exception in that he was Man Utd top socrer in his first season.
Beckham and Scholes and Butt start off as unknown too.
Most of the new players have not play a full season for Man Utd. So I will not judge them as not good enough to win anything.
I agree our defence are playing below par since Rio got ban.
trax06
20-08-2004, 08:15 PM
when does Rio gets to play ? and What would be his maiden match ?
Originally posted by trax06
when does Rio gets to play ? and What would be his maiden match ?
20th of September, probably against liverpool. :eek:
Ronaldo7
20-08-2004, 08:18 PM
vs liverpool in sept . can't remember the exact date thou :rolleyes:
padixiong
20-08-2004, 08:33 PM
What I am trying to imply was that before the team that won the treble, they are a bunch of teenager that made the break-thru to the first team.
Most of the new players have not play a full season for Man Utd. So I will not judge them as not good enough to win anything.
but if ya all watch the chelsea match .. and really analyis the match tat man u hav played ..
we played really well..
we can keep possession well enough ..
we jus lack that killer goal and that killer pass to get us at least a pt.
we are also alittle bit unlucky ..
chelsea hav only 1 shot at goal and they got the goal.
after that , they played really very very tight at the back.
and with fortune keep kicking in this kind of quality of crosses [ his crosses is either over hit or under hit ] how can we fans expect out team to get at least a pt ?
how much quality service did our striker get durin that match .??
VERY VERY LITTLE lorx...
but the fact is that our players hav show determination to win the match.
but determination without any innovation + tight tight def by chelsea + freaking crosses by fortune + our track record against chelsea is not very good , i think we deserve that lost against them ..
but if judge by last few matches, since rio is ban , i can see that our DEF is really **** up .. give up easy balls make it that even S LEAGUE Team can score against us.
and i strongly believe that if fortune can imrpove his crossing...
and brush up our **** up def.
with our players determination and our improved def, i think we can really win back the EPL title this seaon
RuMmYtUb
20-08-2004, 08:54 PM
Haiz... Saviola like gd buy...
Yueming
20-08-2004, 10:35 PM
all the fergie fledglings are considered starting from unknown cos they are from the academy.
I'm not faulting players like c. eagles, fletcher, liam, djemba.....
in fact players like brown, o shea have shone thru....
but smith is hardly considered new....he's been around epl since like 3 seasons ago?
saha too....
and to speak the truth, they weren't exceptionally eye catching for fulham and leeds.
yes saha looks good at fulham....but why are we even comparing with fulham?
and smith has a big spirit....but skill wise? I'll take viduka anytime for a striker....
so far....the only player that's really eye catching is still ronaldo...and that is since last season....
and the old birds??
forlan, nevilles, fortune, silvestre.....all are crap to me....they certainly aren't playing like they are wearing the man utd shirt....and they certainly have been around too long....
now we can only pray heinze is as good as the media play him out to be.......
for me the first team currently is
howard, brown, oshea, heinze, rio, keane, scholes, giggs, ronaldo, ruud, ????
we are still missing another top striker.
giggs is getting old....keane is getting old too....so we really need a top midfielder....
and we need a top defender.....
Alienz
20-08-2004, 10:36 PM
Welcome news for Ferguson
Sir Alex Ferguson thinks things are improving regarding his selection options after admitting having the worst-ever start to the season in terms of injuries.
Louis Saha is due to return to training next week and midfielder Kleberson, who experienced a difficult first season in England, is already back practicing with his colleagues.
With Cristiano Ronaldo available for Saturday's match with Norwich City, Ferguson wants to judge the Portugal winger's fitness before deciding whether to recall the talented teenager.
"Kleberson's back training today," Ferguson told Sky Sports News. "Saha will start training on Monday or Tuesday.
"That is a little break as opposed to what it's been like in the last two weeks.
"Absolutely (it's been the worst start to the season in terms of injuries). No doubt about that.
"We're glad Ronaldo's back. He played two games in the Olympics and we'll just have to assess his fitness."
Ferguson appreciates that Norwich will not be easy opponents in the Old Trafford encounter.
"We've had fantastic games against Norwich," he added. "When I first came down, they were always beating us.
"It doesn't matter what team I played or the circumstances, they always seemed to get the upper hand, but we started to get the upper hand on them from about 1991.
"They will be fighting for their lives tomorrow. They know survival in The Premiership is very difficult.
"We always get promoted teams first or second anyway. West Brom held us until the 85th minute a couple of years ago so we expect a tough game.
"Most teams come with a plan of some sort to Old Trafford, so it depends on not giving goals away. Hopefully, we can come out with a clean sheet."
United then face the second leg of their UEFA Champions League qualifier with Dinamo Bucharest on Wednesday night.
"Hopefully we can manoeuvre ourselves into the group stages of the Champions League," said the Scot.
"It's important for the club, the supporters and the players."
padixiong
20-08-2004, 10:53 PM
all the fergie fledglings are considered starting from unknown cos they are from the academy.
I'm not faulting players like c. eagles, fletcher, liam, djemba.....
in fact players like brown, o shea have shone thru....
but smith is hardly considered new....he's been around epl since like 3 seasons ago?
saha too....
and to speak the truth, they weren't exceptionally eye catching for fulham and leeds.
yes saha looks good at fulham....but why are we even comparing with fulham?
and smith has a big spirit....but skill wise? I'll take viduka anytime for a striker....
so far....the only player that's really eye catching is still ronaldo...and that is since last season....
and the old birds??
forlan, nevilles, fortune, silvestre.....all are crap to me....they certainly aren't playing like they are wearing the man utd shirt....and they certainly have been around too long....
now we can only pray heinze is as good as the media play him out to be.......
for me the first team currently is
howard, brown, oshea, heinze, rio, keane, scholes, giggs, ronaldo, ruud, ????
we are still missing another top striker.
giggs is getting old....keane is getting old too....so we really need a top midfielder....
and we need a top defender.....
i agree with u .
we need a TOP midfielder ..
but wad we need is a defensive midfielder , and he will paly his hearts out for man utd like roy keane .. where to find ??
top striker i think saviola fits the bill , he play like maradona in the oylampics ..
Alienz
20-08-2004, 11:23 PM
Forlan set to Spanish Move (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=97490&itype=466&icategoryid=123)
Manchester United has reached agreement with Spanish club Villareal for the transfer of Diego Forlan.
The transfer will be completed upon agreement of Diego's personal terms and completion of his medical.
Ronaldo7
20-08-2004, 11:30 PM
all the best :( :)
guoquanyap
20-08-2004, 11:37 PM
Forlan set to Spanish Move (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=97490&itype=466&icategoryid=123)
Manchester United has reached agreement with Spanish club Villareal for the transfer of Diego Forlan.
The transfer will be completed upon agreement of Diego's personal terms and completion of his medical.
no transfer fee?? time to bring another striker in....:cool:
guoquanyap
20-08-2004, 11:38 PM
aiya fergie should buy woodgate hor...onli 14miilion can pair w rio in the middle and brown can play at right back...perfect man
uRiZEn
21-08-2004, 12:23 AM
Now to speculate who will Fergie buy to replace Horlan.
;)
Hope will be Saviola or Anelka or even Koller?
Alienz
21-08-2004, 12:36 AM
Preview: Manchester United v Norwich City
CRISTIANO Ronaldo still may not return to Manchester United action until October as the Reds try to save him from burn-out.
But the Reds still go into their first home match of the league season against Norwich tomorrow (5.15) in good heart.
The Reds will again be without Fletcher, serving the second match of his two-match suspension, which means Liam Miller is likely to make his Old Trafford bow.
United look like being without left-back Quinton Fortune as well, as he cried off international duty with South Africa in midweek, citing a calf strain.
Under FIFA rules, United should not be allowed to field Fortune, even if fit - unless the South African FA give him clearance.
If Fortune is not fit, or not cleared to play, John O'Shea - who will make his 100th appearance for United - is set to be moved from midfield back to his more familiar role, with Phil Neville stepping into the vacant spot.
The Reds have won five and drawn one of their six Premier League meetings with the Canaries.
Latest form: United: WWLWL Norwich: WWLWD
Head to head at OT in Premiership: Man Utd 2 wins, Norwich 0, Draws 1
Referee: Neale Barry: Last season he helped Norwich to promotion, with an “assist” in their winning goal against Reading!
Key opponent: Darren Huckerby - The quicksilver former City man has a big point to prove to the Premiership
RuMmYtUb
21-08-2004, 12:44 AM
aiya fergie should buy woodgate hor...onli 14miilion can pair w rio in the middle and brown can play at right back...perfect man
Cannot lar, like that over flooded with defenders when Rio and Heinze back..
no transfer fee?? time to bring another striker in....:cool:
there is, still undisclosed, probably around 2m or so.
Anyway, glad to see him off.
guoquanyap
21-08-2004, 01:35 AM
hmmm...fergie saying no more signing...but w forlan departure...will we see someone coming in?
Alienz
21-08-2004, 01:51 AM
Forlan set for Villarreal
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39979000/jpg/_39979528_forlan203.jpg
Manchester United striker Diego Forlan is set to join Spanish side Villarreal.
"Forlan has agreed a five-year deal," said Villarreal spokesman Mariam Solsona. "He will be presented on Saturday after his medical."
The 25-year-old joined the Old Trafford club from Argentine side Independiente for £7.5m in January 2002.
United have injury problems up front with Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha currently sidelined and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer out for the season.
United currently have just one fit recognised first-team striker in summer signing Alan Smith.
But both Saha and Van Nistelrooy are closing in on a return to fitness.
Forlan is flying in to Valencia airport on Friday evening and will have a medical before signing for the La Liga side.
His career in England got off to a stuttering start, with the striker taking 27 games to get off the mark.
The striker made 23 Premiership starts for United, with a further 40 appearances from the bench, scoring 10 goals.
But he struggled to establish himself as a first choice at the club and the summer arrival of Smith from Leeds further reduced his chances of regular football.
hmmm...fergie saying no more signing...but w forlan departure...will we see someone coming in?
I hope Fergie has something up his sleeves, but transfer window about to close, got to act fast.
orca_sea
21-08-2004, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Now to speculate who will Fergie buy to replace Horlan.
;)
Hope will be Saviola or Anelka or even Koller?
Saviola will b Perfect(but i doubt Barca will sell him to us) as he will fit into the role which Paul Scholes(forward) iz doin now n Scholes can fall back to the central attack midfield role where iz the most effective at. Anelka? forget him man.. he will b more of a problem to deal wif.. Koller? We hav got 1 of the best hitman(RVN) liao so we still need him for wat? haha juz mi 2 cts thgt:rolleyes: :D
No thanks, don't want another injury-prone player in our side.
Ronaldo7
21-08-2004, 11:32 AM
no vicente for us
http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4437833,00.html
anyone knows whether the match between norwich tonight is delay telecast or it's a late kickoff ? :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
21-08-2004, 12:18 PM
Eh that means Forlan go Villareal for free ar ?
If that's the case why are we always making losses :mad:
Ronaldo7
21-08-2004, 01:57 PM
no lah . not free , but should be around 2m :rolleyes:
no vicente for us
http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4437833,00.html
anyone knows whether the match between norwich tonight is delay telecast or it's a late kickoff ? :rolleyes:
Live at 12.15am. :D
We do seem to be selling players on the cheap, only £2m for Forlan, £2.5m for butt, add together only £4.5m gain. :alien:
usjag_18
21-08-2004, 05:27 PM
I guess tat's because SAha is coming back, therefore, Man Utd decided to sell him off. But who knows, maybe MAn Utd did decide to get another new strikers. It's hard to say.
Another issue is I felt that we shouldn't have too high hopes with Saha and Smith, they are good, but we shouldn't expect too much from them. They are still young strikers. They may be playing in EPL for quite some time, however, having confidence in them is good. Pushing too hard is not good.
Rgds,
O'
uRiZEn
21-08-2004, 06:17 PM
Its Live telecast??Great man....later after it can watch the Milan Lazio match also.
Its Live telecast??Great man....later after it can watch the Milan Lazio match also. yup
1920_me
21-08-2004, 06:50 PM
I guess tat's because SAha is coming back, therefore, Man Utd decided to sell him off. But who knows, maybe MAn Utd did decide to get another new strikers. It's hard to say.
My opinion is that Man utd or Sir Alex already have some1 targetted or even have a deal done which would be announced soon. If not it would be unlikely they would let forlan go..even if so they rather let him go during january then ruud and saha will be back..:cool:
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by 1920_me
My opinion is that Man utd or Sir Alex already have some1 targetted or even have a deal done which would be announced soon. If not it would be unlikely they would let forlan go..even if so they rather let him go during january then ruud and saha will be back..:cool:
well hopefully u hit the nail on the head...:bounce:
Match starting!
Howard
Gaz, Keane, Silver, O'Shea
Bellion, Miller, Djemba, Giggs
Scholes
Smith
Bench:
Carroll, Phizza, Eagles, Richardson, Ronaldo
OKK77
22-08-2004, 12:57 AM
Advertisement displays have been changed. Reminds me of Bernabeu. Heh.
RuMmYtUb
22-08-2004, 01:12 AM
Hope Ronaldo gets some cameo role later :D
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 01:15 AM
as usual...everythings are gd...passing is gd running is gd...but everytime until the third half of the pitch...no one seem to put in the decsive pass...or killer pass....
uRiZEn
22-08-2004, 01:43 AM
Scholes is horrible...the passing is bad.:(
But Smith scored an awesome goal.:)
RuMmYtUb
22-08-2004, 02:07 AM
Smithy rox yet again!
My MOM goes to him :D
Kyubi
22-08-2004, 02:11 AM
i tink ronaldo inspired the whole team in the end leh ... with him its like all those palyers have the moral and confident to play .. seems like age is catching up on keane .. norwich like keep aiming keane's position .. cos keane pace is slow .. sigh
gd play today .. but still defense is bad ...
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 02:13 AM
awesome goal by smith!!
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 02:19 AM
i tink ronaldo inspired the whole team in the end leh ... with him its like all those palyers have the moral and confident to play .. seems like age is catching up on keane .. norwich like keep aiming keane's position .. cos keane pace is slow .. sigh
gd play today .. but still defense is bad ...
pace is nv keano strong pt, reading of the game is excellent n nv afraid to make tackles...but credit to him to play so well even though ** is not his prefer position....
he belong to the heart of midfield....
greycat87
22-08-2004, 02:23 AM
Totally disappointed with United's defence today. Norwich sliced through the defence like a knife through butter. The goal United conceded was pretty weak, they allowed Norwich to string many passes together and eventually led to the goal.
On paper, Silvestre, O'Shea and G.Neville may look good but in reality, they're not. We miss Ferdinand. :(
RuMmYtUb
22-08-2004, 02:25 AM
I prefer to see Silvestre with O shea in the back line... return Keane back to midfield.... we need his tenacity...
Need Rio back soon, our defence is awful. :mad:
1920_me
22-08-2004, 02:38 AM
O'shea is kinda a horrible and clumsy defender...he was at fault for conceding the goal today...Keane has to be there till rio/heinze is back..but i dunno y keane is last man..shldnt it be silvestre..keane last man always beaten for pace...
MY MOM goes to Giggs..he is wonderful..been doing the same thing over and over again for more than a decade...he assisted two goals and created most of utd chance..the last part he ran circles around norwich defence:bounce:
uRiZEn
22-08-2004, 02:49 AM
Yea my MOM goes to Giggs too.He creates chances and keep running and fighting and winning the ball.Somehow to me Keane is a has-been.Cannot run like last time.And the midfield seems to lack of ideas to string passes.Not a really convincing victorry.
Fergie Hails Smith Display
Sir Alex Ferguson has been nothing but impressed by £7million signing Alan Smith.
After another gritty display from the Yorkshireman, capped by a wonderful volley to clinch United's first three points of the season, Ferguson was left comparing Smith to one of the club's most popular strikers...
Praise For Smith
"He's done well for us. He's a real handful for any defender. His goal today was absolutely superb. It was a magnifcent hit.
Similarities With Hughes
"He's a similar player in a lot of ways to Mark Hughes when he was here; terrific leader of the line, tough and resilient. Mark could score goals like Alan did today. It was a Mark Hughes replica goal."
Tight Finish
"I think it was a good performance by us. We kept out momentum and attacking play going. In the main we dominated the game. We would have liked to have got at third goal to make it that bit easier for us. At 2-0, if you lose a goal it can become a bit of a scramble."
Tricky Week
"It's a big week ahead - it's big all the time now. At this moment in time we are stretched in terms of numbers. We've got Ronaldo back today and hopefully his fitness is going to be ok. We'll assess him better during the week. We just need to keep hanging in there and produce the football we are producing at the moment. If we do that then we will do well."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=97794&itype=466&icategoryid=122
SLeeKO
22-08-2004, 05:06 AM
From the beeb:
United makes audacious £35m bid for Barca duo.
Hours after the transfer of ut-of-favour wannabe-hitman Uruguayan striker Diego Forlan to Spanish side Villareal in a £2.5m deal, Manchester United have pulled-off an audacious £35m double swoop for Barca duo Ronaldinho and Javier Saviola.
Ronaldinho is set to fly to Manchester early tomorrow morning to complete a medical and sign a 5 year contract which will see him become united's highest earner. The contract is rumored to be worth a staggering £100,000 a week. He will be unveiled to the media at 3pm tomorrow.
Ronaldinho who was set to join United last season signed for Barcelona instead after contract talks with manchester united stalled. He will be available for united's champions league qualifier match against Dinamo on Tuesday and is set to be given Forlan's old No. 21 shirt.
Meanwhile out of favour wonderkid striker Javier Saviola who is helping his Argentinean side at the Olympics is set to complete his transfer to united earlier next week subject to a medical.
A united spokesman said that transfer talks began last week after united found themselves short of striking options following the injury of trio Nistelrooy, Saha and Solkjaer. United only allowed Uruguayan hitman Forlan to leave after it was certain the duo will be signing. The double swoop means Rooney will not be joining united … for this season at least.
Brazilian midfielder Kleberson welcomed the signing of national teammate Ronaldinho and said: ‘He is the world’s best player and has made the right choice by joining the best team’.
Now Barcelona find themselves short of attacking options following the sale of the two maestro, Luis Garcia, Ricardo Quaresma and Patrick Kluivert added to the retirement of injury hit Marc Overmars and Luis Enrique.
http://www.bbc-news.org.uk/fetchArticle.php?refId=100
Alienz
22-08-2004, 05:37 AM
Originally posted by SLeeKO
From the beeb:
Hours after the transfer of ut-of-favour wannabe-hitman Uruguayan striker Diego Forlan to Spanish side Villareal in a £2.5m deal, Manchester United have pulled-off an audacious £35m double swoop for Barca duo Ronaldinho and Javier Saviola.
Ronaldinho is set to fly to Manchester early tomorrow morning to complete a medical and sign a 5 year contract which will see him become united's highest earner. The contract is rumored to be worth a staggering £100,000 a week. He will be unveiled to the media at 3pm tomorrow.
Ronaldinho who was set to join United last season signed for Barcelona instead after contract talks with manchester united stalled. He will be available for united's champions league qualifier match against Dinamo on Tuesday and is set to be given Forlan's old No. 21 shirt.
What made Ronaldinho change his mind to come to United afterall :confused:
The link is not working and find it weird with this bbc link.....
Ch3tah_39
22-08-2004, 08:23 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Need Rio back soon, our defence is awful. :mad:
ya lor..
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v327/ruudrox3/latest.jpg
a row full of injured and suspended reds watching the norwich game!!!:(
Ch3tah_39
22-08-2004, 08:55 AM
Originally posted by RVN
a row full of injured and suspended reds watching the norwich game!!!:(
:laugh: lucky most of them coming back...
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by SLeeKO
From the beeb:
Meanwhile out of favour wonderkid striker Javier Saviola who is helping his Argentinean side at the Olympics is set to complete his transfer to united earlier next week subject to a medical.
A united spokesman said that transfer talks began last week after united found themselves short of striking options following the injury of trio Nistelrooy, Saha and Solkjaer. United only allowed Uruguayan hitman Forlan to leave after it was certain the duo will be signing. The double swoop means Rooney will not be joining united … for this season at least.
Brazilian midfielder Kleberson welcomed the signing of national teammate Ronaldinho and said: ‘He is the world’s best player and has made the right choice by joining the best team’.
Now Barcelona find themselves short of attacking options following the sale of the two maestro, Luis Garcia, Ricardo Quaresma and Patrick Kluivert added to the retirement of injury hit Marc Overmars and Luis Enrique.
:laugh: :laugh: ****ing joke
MatrixFanatic
22-08-2004, 09:34 AM
Why is bellion playing on the right? When he plays there he always tend to over-dribble leh... he should be playing up front.
And Djemba and Miller played well.:o
cracker
22-08-2004, 09:41 AM
Why is bellion playing on the right? When he plays there he always tend to over-dribble leh... he should be playing up front.
And Djemba and Miller played well.:o
i tot he did quite well...he has the pace and did deliver a few good crosses too...
trax06
22-08-2004, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by RVN
can any of guys name all of em..
i can see brown,ruud,rio,klebrson,ole.
guoquanyap
22-08-2004, 10:06 AM
Originally posted by trax06
can any of guys name all of em..
i can see brown,ruud,rio,klebrson,ole.
i can see specctor, davild gill, ericcsion, flecther,
Yellowfin
22-08-2004, 10:10 AM
The link is not working and find it weird with this bbc link.....
The url of bbc should be news.bbc.co.uk rather than what the previous link stated.
I think the news is false.
Ronaldo7
22-08-2004, 10:25 AM
The url of bbc should be news.bbc.co.uk rather than what the previous link stated.
I think the news is false.
yup . i can't think of any reason for barca to sell ronaldinho :laugh: talking about the norwich game , not a very convincing performance by our defence again . great goal by smith btw :D
greycat87
22-08-2004, 11:24 AM
Would love the both of them to come though :)
LiquidSilver
22-08-2004, 11:30 AM
The duff deal looks promising though:D
uRiZEn
22-08-2004, 12:14 PM
Originally posted by LiquidSilver
The duff deal looks promising though:D
Duff??Where's the link or even story.
RuMmYtUb
22-08-2004, 02:11 PM
We should poach on Duff too.. since Chelski already has Robben :D
Duff??Where's the link or even story.
haha, he probably saw it from soccernet
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=307846&cc=4716
OKK77
22-08-2004, 02:48 PM
Mourinho will let him go meh? And of all places, Manchester?
LiquidSilver
22-08-2004, 03:10 PM
yups thats where i saw it, apologies for not linking:D Well its POSSIBLE, not saying it will happen but still its possible. As long as player is unhappy can liao, cause he not even on the bench when robben is out.
n smith's goals all so chio!
MAN UNITED are on the trail of the new Roy Keane - France's midfield sensation Rio Mavuba.
The Bordeaux kid won his first cap for the full French side last week after just a dozen first-team appearances at club level.
And United boss Sir Alec Ferguson sent super spy Martin Ferguson to run the rule over the lad who has Keane's engine and ability.
Mavuba has already attracted an offer from Chelsea, who tried to steal him after he was voted man of the tournament at Toulon's Under-20 festival.
But United could step in - maybe even before the deadline - as they realise that Keane is no longer up to a full season in their engine room.
The Old Trafford giants would probably have to go to £8million for the 20-year-old but that could yet be a steal because of his growing reputation.
Mavuba has had a meteoric rise since making his Bordeaux debut ten months ago, but his work rate and strong all-round game was bound to catch the eye eventually.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14558565%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=fergie%2ds%2dkeen%2don%2d%2dkeane%2d-name_page.html
Ronaldo7
22-08-2004, 07:43 PM
hmm , another central midfielder ? :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
23-08-2004, 12:29 AM
8million pound for a 20yr old...hmmm...anyway the source oso not reaible
Kyubi
23-08-2004, 12:47 AM
:o whu is he lolz ..
uRiZEn
23-08-2004, 01:13 AM
Player exchange Djemba over better.Pay $8million for unknown is really high.But well if hes really good i think best to pay now then later pay high price if he's really worlclass.
Ronaldo7
23-08-2004, 07:33 AM
Keane reveals title fear
Captain Roy Keane believes Manchester United might not win the Premiership in the next 10 to 15 years - if they fail to secure the title this season.
He told the Scottish Sunday Herald: "If things do not go well this year we could be like Liverpool and go 14 to 15 years without winning the title."
He also hinted he was likely to retire at the end of his current contract, which expires in the summer of 2007.
The 33-year-old added: "Realistically, that will probably be it."
Keane, who has suffered serious cruciate ligament and hip injuries during his career, stated: "I have got two years left at United and I hope I can finish those two years.
"When I did my cruciate I said I would be lucky to get to 32, 33 but the trouble with football is that you want to hang in there as long as you can.
"But when I say that I do not mean to be a bit-part player because I want to have an influence."
United's injury problems this season have led to manager Sir Alex Ferguson deploying Keane as a makeshift central defender.
That was also a position he played in when United beat Juventus 3-0 in Turin the season before last in a Champions League game.
But the Republic of Ireland international revealed he has no plans to play permanently in defence.
"No, I'll not drop back," he said. "Yes, people talk about Turin but I remember my positioning in the first half-an-hour when we could have been three down.
"We weren't and there is a fine line. I don't see myself as going to the back."
padixiong
23-08-2004, 10:49 AM
Keane reveals title fear
Captain Roy Keane believes Manchester United might not win the Premiership in the next 10 to 15 years - if they fail to secure the title this season.
He told the Scottish Sunday Herald: "If things do not go well this year we could be like Liverpool and go 14 to 15 years without winning the title."
He also hinted he was likely to retire at the end of his current contract, which expires in the summer of 2007.
The 33-year-old added: "Realistically, that will probably be it."
Keane, who has suffered serious cruciate ligament and hip injuries during his career, stated: "I have got two years left at United and I hope I can finish those two years.
"When I did my cruciate I said I would be lucky to get to 32, 33 but the trouble with football is that you want to hang in there as long as you can.
"But when I say that I do not mean to be a bit-part player because I want to have an influence."
United's injury problems this season have led to manager Sir Alex Ferguson deploying Keane as a makeshift central defender.
That was also a position he played in when United beat Juventus 3-0 in Turin the season before last in a Champions League game.
But the Republic of Ireland international revealed he has no plans to play permanently in defence.
"No, I'll not drop back," he said. "Yes, people talk about Turin but I remember my positioning in the first half-an-hour when we could have been three down.
"We weren't and there is a fine line. I don't see myself as going to the back."
sad ..
but very true ..
Blame the PLC then for not willing to strengthen the squad further. The board and Gill not willing to release funds available for Fergie to spend. Everyone knows there is lack of creativity in the team and the defence is dodgy. well **** we just got to soldier on with our current squad which IMO not good enough, sad to say. :( :mad:
Nice photo of our squad of players for this season. :D
http://tinyurl.com/6svl2
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/a_devil_inside/UnitedSquad.jpg
PeterPan
23-08-2004, 12:49 PM
Player exchange Djemba over better.Pay $8million for unknown is really high.But well if hes really good i think best to pay now then later pay high price if he's really worlclass.
might as well throw in kleberson also so make it Kleberson and Djemba-Djemba for him! :D
That way no need to splash any $$$ :laugh: :laugh:
leo_llw
23-08-2004, 12:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Blame the PLC then for not willing to strengthen the squad further. The board and Gill not willing to release funds available for Fergie to spend. Everyone knows there is lack of creativity in the team and the defence is dodgy. well **** we just got to soldier on with our current squad which IMO not good enough, sad to say. :( :mad:
wah.....tot i will neber hear this from u :D
orca_sea
23-08-2004, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by OKK77
Mourinho will let him go meh? And of all places, Manchester?
Realli hope itz true like wat written in the rpt.. saying Mourinho will nt keep any1 who dun hav the attitude to match his desire.. if Duff iz realli Man Utd bound then it will b PERFECT! plus a Saviola in the forward and i believe strongly Arsenal can b topple over :D
Originally posted by leo_llw
wah.....tot i will neber hear this from u :D
must admit you arse play like a swagger of champion i know we are struggling but I still reckon we can push you harder once we get our injured players back. ;)
Realli hope itz true like wat written in the rpt.. saying Mourinho will nt keep any1 who dun hav the attitude to match his desire.. if Duff iz realli Man Utd bound then it will b PERFECT! plus a Saviola in the forward and i believe strongly Arsenal can b topple over
Hope so. :D
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.