View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
RuMmYtUb
23-08-2004, 04:13 PM
arse are playing with a swagger like what we used to do during the treble days... but we ain't giving up w/o a fight
Alienz
23-08-2004, 06:01 PM
15-year drought await United
Manchester United skipper Roy Keane reckons that failure to win the Premiership title this season may result in a 15-year title drought for the Old Trafford club.
The Irish midfielder drew comparisons with arch-rivals Liverpool - who dominated the English game in the 1980's, but have not won the league for the past 15 seasons.
"If things do not go well this year we could be like Liverpool and go 14 to 15 years without winning the title," Keane told the Scottish Sunday Herald.
The 33-year-old, who has had major cruciate ligament and hip surgery through his career, also indicated that he may retire when the remaining two years of his current contract expires in 2007.
"Realistically, that will probably be it," said the captain.
"When I did my cruciate I said I would be lucky to get to 32, 33 but the trouble with football is that you want to hang in there as long as you can.
"But when I say that I do not mean to be a bit-part player because I want to have an influence."
Keane, who has also been helping the Red Devils out in defence this season because of the club's major injury problems, also stressed that he does not see this as a long-term option.
"No, I'll not drop back," he said. "Yes, people talk about Turin but I remember my positioning in the first half-an-hour when we could have been three down.
"We weren't and there is a fine line. I don't see myself as going to the back."
greycat87
23-08-2004, 06:50 PM
15 yrs is a long time :(
Kyubi
23-08-2004, 06:52 PM
keane old liao la .. he dun have pace in the last match .. sigh~
MatrixFanatic
23-08-2004, 07:01 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
Player exchange Djemba over better.Pay $8million for unknown is really high.But well if hes really good i think best to pay now then later pay high price if he's really worlclass.
Djemba good ok.:cool:
RuMmYtUb
23-08-2004, 07:49 PM
Originally posted by Kyubi
Anyway pace was always not in Keane's game...
His game is all about agression and precise reading and tackling
vivre
23-08-2004, 08:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Nice photo of our squad of players for this season. :D
http://tinyurl.com/6svl2
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v251/a_devil_inside/UnitedSquad.jpg
Where's Heinze?
Ronaldo7
23-08-2004, 08:11 PM
Originally posted by vivre
Where's Heinze?
on international duty with argentina :rolleyes:
Ronaldo7
23-08-2004, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic
Djemba good ok.:cool:
he is improving :)
Ronaldo7
23-08-2004, 08:12 PM
he is not the solution in the defence :(
Alienz
23-08-2004, 10:04 PM
Gill fears late signing flop
Manchester United may not strengthen their squad ahead of the transfer deadline because chief executive David Gill is worried they could sign another lame last-minute flop.
The United man was quizzed by supporters over the prospect of United landing Everton star Wayne Rooney in the wake of Diego Forlan's departure for Villarreal.
The Uruguayan's exit has left The Red Devils rather short of options in attack with Alan Smith the only fit forward available to Sir Alex Ferguson and the manager himself has admitted the squad seems a little light with Ole Gunnar Solskjaer sidelined for the season.
However, Gill believes Louis Saha and Ruud van Nistelrooy will return to boost the Old Trafford outfit, who are already looking up the table at joint-leaders Arsenal and Chelsea.
"We could go out tomorrow and borrow the money to buy Wayne Rooney for £30 million or £40 million," Gill is quoted as saying. "But it is bad business to end up with long-term debt for a short-term asset such as a player.
"We sat down with the manager in the early part of the summer and he identified Smith and (Gabriel) Heinze as the two players he wanted in.
"We got them and had a squad of 25 or 26.
"We assumed Ole Gunnar Solskjaer would be back at that stage, and that's why Diego Forlan would be transferred.
"Now Louis Saha will be fit in a week or so and Ruud will be back next month. Plus, of course, we have Paul Scholes to play up there.
"The manager is happy with that situation going into the season.
"But, if the question is whether there is a discussion about certain players we might want, of course there is, and it is a healthy debate.
"But our track record on last-minute purchases is not great.
"We can all name our favourite bad last-minute signing, and we have subsequently had problems getting rid of them."
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
on international duty with argentina
He hasn't even met his team-mates either, all this calling up by argentina is screwing his career with us. :mad:
guoquanyap
24-08-2004, 12:23 AM
GABRIEL Heinze has added to Manchester United's injury misery.
The Reds' new Argetine defender was taken to hospital during his country's 4-0 win over Costa Rica and he is likely to miss the Olympic semi-final against Italy tomorrow.
Sir Alex Ferguson, who now has 10 first- teamers unavailable, had feared such a scenario when Heinze announced that he intended to go to the Games rather than launch his Premiership career.
After playing in Argentina's first three matches, the former Paris St Germain defender lasted just 18 minutes on Saturday night.
Coach Marcelo Bielsa confirmed: "He went to hospital to have it checked out. He seemed to have done some damage to his hips."
Only last week, Heinze had sent a message of re-assurance to Ferguson and informed him that he was fit and would return with a gold medal.
well how abt some compensation....we sent a fit player there...got a injured player in return.... :mad:
Alienz
24-08-2004, 12:35 AM
Originally posted by guoquanyap
well how abt some compensation....we sent a fit player there...got a injured player in return.... :mad:
:frus: :pissed: :mad:
usjag_18
24-08-2004, 12:38 AM
The Reds' new Argetine defender was taken to hospital during his country's 4-0 win over Costa Rica and he is likely to miss the Olympic semi-final against Italy tomorrow.
Sir Alex Ferguson, who now has 10 first- teamers unavailable, had feared such a scenario when Heinze announced that he intended to go to the Games rather than launch his Premiership career.
After playing in Argentina's first three matches, the former Paris St Germain defender lasted just 18 minutes on Saturday night.
Coach Marcelo Bielsa confirmed: "He went to hospital to have it checked out. He seemed to have done some damage to his hips."
Only last week, Heinze had sent a message of re-assurance to Ferguson and informed him that he was fit and would return with a gold medal.
I don't think Argentina got the $$$ to compensate us. If they got the $$$, I believe they already changed their coach, Marcelo Bielsa when they got out in WC2002. They don't even have the $$ to pay the coach. How can they compensate us some $$$. Anyway, let's not get so worry, he might not be injured seriously, so let's see what's the further news.
Rgds,
O'
Kyubi
24-08-2004, 12:41 AM
wah lao .. add one more injuries .. -.-"
usjag_18
24-08-2004, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by vivre
Where's Heinze?
Wahahaa, how to get his photo when he's not even there to wear the new jersey? hehehee...
GIVE US BACK HEINZE!!!! :mad: :mad:
usjag_18
24-08-2004, 01:35 AM
No point blaming Argentina, I felt that even Henize himself willing to play for Argentina. He got a choice to reject the chance to play in Olympics, but can U imagine, this is his only chance to play in Olympics, so he must really appreciate this chance.
Anyway, no fear, i got a feeling, he will be alright. hehehee.. Woman's 6th sense.=p
OKK77
24-08-2004, 03:44 AM
Originally posted by usjag_18
No point blaming Argentina, I felt that even Henize himself willing to play for Argentina. He got a choice to reject the chance to play in Olympics, but can U imagine, this is his only chance to play in Olympics, so he must really appreciate this chance.
Anyway, no fear, i got a feeling, he will be alright. hehehee.. Woman's 6th sense.=p
Hopefully not a time-of-the-month feeling. *guffaws*
cracker
24-08-2004, 07:23 AM
Originally posted by Alienz
Gill fears late signing flop
Manchester United may not strengthen their squad ahead of the transfer deadline because chief executive David Gill is worried they could sign another lame last-minute flop.
The United man was quizzed by supporters over the prospect of United landing Everton star Wayne Rooney in the wake of Diego Forlan's departure for Villarreal.
The Uruguayan's exit has left The Red Devils rather short of options in attack with Alan Smith the only fit forward available to Sir Alex Ferguson and the manager himself has admitted the squad seems a little light with Ole Gunnar Solskjaer sidelined for the season.
However, Gill believes Louis Saha and Ruud van Nistelrooy will return to boost the Old Trafford outfit, who are already looking up the table at joint-leaders Arsenal and Chelsea.
"We could go out tomorrow and borrow the money to buy Wayne Rooney for £30 million or £40 million," Gill is quoted as saying. "But it is bad business to end up with long-term debt for a short-term asset such as a player.
"We sat down with the manager in the early part of the summer and he identified Smith and (Gabriel) Heinze as the two players he wanted in.
"We got them and had a squad of 25 or 26.
"We assumed Ole Gunnar Solskjaer would be back at that stage, and that's why Diego Forlan would be transferred.
"Now Louis Saha will be fit in a week or so and Ruud will be back next month. Plus, of course, we have Paul Scholes to play up there.
"The manager is happy with that situation going into the season.
"But, if the question is whether there is a discussion about certain players we might want, of course there is, and it is a healthy debate.
"But our track record on last-minute purchases is not great.
"We can all name our favourite bad last-minute signing, and we have subsequently had problems getting rid of them."
who are those famous bad last minute purchases ?
is he those tat were signed after the season had started meaning the Jan or Aug deadline ?
for such category,can only recall Andy Cole..Diego Forlan (both joined in Jan).
I don't remember any last-minute signing failure either apart from Forlan oh and Cole prove to be a success.
Sound like Gill not willing to release funds for Fergie to spend. :mad:
just as I say that, the sun reckons united have bid £5m for Figo.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004391001,00.html
uRiZEn
24-08-2004, 09:25 AM
Originally posted by RVN
just as I say that, the sun reckons united have bid £5m for Figo.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004391001,00.html
sounds more like a temporary signing then for the future.:(
But then at least Figo can gives us the extra width and creativity.
cracker
24-08-2004, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by RVN
I don't remember any last-minute signing failure either apart from Forlan oh and Cole prove to be a success.
Sound like Gill not willing to release funds for Fergie to spend. :mad:
Cole ,inspite of his success at OT, will always remembered for missing lots of chances in the crucial game against West Ham in 1995. Utd drew the match while Blackburn led by Daglish lost at Anfield; but the latter won the title by a pt.
leo_llw
24-08-2004, 01:12 PM
Originally posted by RVN
must admit you arse play like a swagger of champion i know we are struggling but I still reckon we can push you harder once we get our injured players back.
champion dun get raped at the back....still not very satisfied at Arsenal's performances....:(
Chelsea's a bigger threat....winning while playing like ****e :mad:
PeterPan
24-08-2004, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by uRiZEn
sounds more like a temporary signing then for the future.:(
But then at least Figo can gives us the extra width and creativity.
agreed but his wages will be a problem....:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
RuMmYtUb
24-08-2004, 03:33 PM
I wanna see Heinze :mad: :mad:
Wes Brown hopes to return to training with Manchester United this week.
The England international defender has had a torrid time with injuries over the past couple of years, with an Achilles problem his latest setback.
Brown was injured in the early stages of pre-season but after receiving treatment he feels he is ready to return to training.
He has not missed too much football and the 24-year-old could even play a part in Monday's clash with Everton.
"I had a needle (on the injury) two weeks ago and ever since it has felt great," Brown told MUTV.
"I started to run from the end of last week and have done some football now. It is fine.
"Hopefully I will be back in training at the end of this week. I will be looking at next week (to play) if everything goes fine.
"The injury happened the first few days into training. I carried on thinking it might be because I had not done anything for a few weeks.
"It has not been that long - only a couple of weeks - that is the main thing. But it did my head in a bit."
Brown's return will be a welcome relief for United boss Sir Alex Ferguson, who has been short of defensive cover.
Roy Keane has been playing in the heart of the defence recently but the skipper is keen to revert to his central midfield role.
Meanwhile, United are believed to have offered a trial to 17-year-old Canadian striker Jamies Peters.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=221610&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Brown+ready+to+return
Alienz
24-08-2004, 04:45 PM
Man Utd trials for Canadian kid Peters (http://www.tribalfootball.com/august/englishnews9240804.html)
Manchester United have taken Canadian youngster Jamie Peters on trial.
The 17 year-old striker is available as a free agent and is keen to pursue a career in England.
Alienz
24-08-2004, 05:31 PM
Fletcher and Ronaldo set for Champions League return
Darren Fletcher and Ronaldo are certain to feature when Manchester United face Dinamo Bucharest in the Champions League at Old Trafford.
Fletcher is available again after suspension while Ronaldo aims to build on the four-minute run-out he had in the 2-1 Premiership victory against Norwich.
Kleberson (knee) and Quinton Fortune (thigh) could also come into the frame on Wednesday with Sir Alex Ferguson's side holding a 2-1 advantage and determined to go into the draw on Thursday.
Manchester United (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, P Neville, G Neville, O'Shea, Silvestre, Keane, Fortune, Miller, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Kleberson, Scholes, Smith, Giggs, Richardson, Bellion, Ronaldo.
Alienz
24-08-2004, 05:34 PM
Keane wants centre stage back
Roy Keane has spoken of his determination to reclaim his central midfield position with Manchester United.
The United skipper insists that his current position at centre-back is just to help out the club's selection crisis and is adamant that he will return to midfield as soon as possible.
He said: "Central midfield is my position, it is where I have played all my career and it is where I hope I will play for the rest of my career.
"I have been at the back recently because of all the players missing and I feel I have done okay but my priority is to play in midfield. I will not drop back permanently."
Keane, 33, also believes that he has only two years left of his career at United and that when his current contact runs out he will call it a day.
He added: "Realistically, that will probably be it. When I did my cruciate I said I would be lucky to get to 32, 33 but the trouble with football is that you want to hang in there as long as you can.
"But when I say that I do not mean to be a bit-part player because I want to have an influence.''
Ronaldo7
24-08-2004, 11:23 PM
yeah . we need him in the middle of the park :cool:
Alienz
24-08-2004, 11:26 PM
yeah . we need him in the middle of the park :cool:
Brown is coming back soon and Keano can move back to his old place but then i worry about Brown error :(
guoquanyap
25-08-2004, 12:06 AM
Brown is coming back soon and Keano can move back to his old place but then i worry about Brown error :(
wats wrong w brown...to mi he is fantastic...if he stay injuring free....he and rio will be the heart of defence in MAnu and England in yrs to come....
Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson is hoping a little bit of Brazilian magic will propel the club into the group stages of the Champions League.
Kleberson will make his first start of the season tomorrow when Dinamo Bucharest visit Old Trafford after recovering from a knee injury.
He suffered the setback playing for Brazil in the Copa America and was ruled out of the opening games of the campaign.
It has been a difficult time for the World Cup winner, who made only 10 league starts last season following his £5.5m (€8.2m) move from Paramaense.
But Ferguson is banking on the 25-year-old midfielder to make an impact in the coming months starting at Old Trafford.
“He has trained well and is looking good,” said the United boss. “We will give him a go tomorrow.
“In my experience it takes South Americans longer to settle here. I think that is the case with Kleberson.
“He was also travelling back to Brazil for matches and that was difficult for him. It was not as if he was popping down to London.
“But there are a lot of good things about him. He is a very mobile player, quick and two-footed. He is also a very good professional.
“He has a desire to play like all Brazilians. The physical side of our game does not bother him.”
Ferguson confirmed that Darren Fletcher will start as well as Kleberson with the Scotland midfielder free from suspension.
Cristiano Ronaldo aims to build on the four-minute run-out he had in the victory against Norwich while Quinton Fortune (thigh) could also come into the frame with United holding a 2-1 advantage.
However Louis Saha is likely to be pencilled in for the game against Blackburn on Saturday following a knee injury.
Ferguson knows there is a lot of hard work ahead if they are to secure a place in the draw on Thursday.
Dinamo took the lead in Romania and he said: “The first goal was a good example of the counter-attack. They showed great quickness.
“European football is all about guarding against the counter-attack. It is a danger sign and we must eradicate that.
“With our experience we have to make sure we get control of the game...as long as we are not careless.
“That’s always a danger. The players always want to go forward. It is human nature.
“We want to be in the next stage. We need to get to that stage.
“We don’t need any warnings. Football in itself is a warning.”
Meanwhile Ferguson’s fears about the fitness of defender Gabriel Heinze appear to be unfounded.
The new recruit was in the Argentina line-up that faced Italy tonight in the Olympic semi-final after reportedly picking a hip problem.
Ferguson said: “We had heard about a possible injury then I get a note from the Argentina FA this morning asking Heinze to report for the World Cup qualifiers in September. Thank you!
“We will see him sometime...I hope.”
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has remained typically tight-lipped about any move for Everton's Wayne Rooney.
The Old Trafford supremo also refused to discuss newspaper speculation linking the club with a bid for Real Madrid wide man Luis Figo.
However, Ferguson was a little more forthcoming about his line-up to play Dinamo Bucharest on Wednesday and the sale of Diego Forlan to Villarreal.
"It remains unlikely (that he will make any pre-deadline signings)," said Ferguson. "You say 'unlikely' and I agree with you.
"Yes (Newcastle have made a bid for Rooney)," said Ferguson. "And that is all you will get from me.
"It is difficult to spend two-and-a-half years on the bench and Diego became frustrated.
"It is understandable.
"But the more frustrated he becomes, the less important he becomes to us.
"With his contract up in two years, we have done the right thing.
"(Figo) did well in training this morning, I must say," joked the Scot, when asked if there was any truth in the latest bout of transfer speculation.
"Who wrote that one? I wish he was."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=221757&lid=2&cpid=8&title=Fergie+tight-lipped+on+Rooney
Alienz
25-08-2004, 01:16 AM
wats wrong w brown...to mi he is fantastic...if he stay injuring free....he and rio will be the heart of defence in MAnu and England in yrs to come....
yes he is fantastic.... me too, like him went started playing for United but season back he make alot of errors and mistake.....
btw, i tot Brown and Rio both play in center right back :confused:
guoquanyap
25-08-2004, 09:24 AM
haiz look like there will be no more signing....onli spent 14million on smith and heniz....no major signing quiet summer....
BOBBY ROBSON last night taunted Alex Ferguson over Newcastle’s bid for Wayne Rooney — claiming the biggest club in Britain COULD NOT afford him.
Robson hit out after allegations that the Toon’s £20million offer for the England whizkid was part of a plot hatched by Everton to get the price up.
It is a conspiracy theory that Geordie boss Bobby Robson dismisses out of hand.
And he questioned why the Red Devils have not matched the Magpies’ offer if they want the Goodison striker.
Robson crowed: “Manchester United can’t buy Rooney. The most famous and richest club in the country can’t buy him!
“I know Alex Ferguson would love him, so why don’t they make an offer for him?
“All I can tell you is that we’ve made a £20m cash offer for Rooney. It’s been rejected — but I also understand the chairman has left the bid on the table.
“The bid is £20m and it is genuine. You could buy a club for that amount but Wayne Rooney’s not just another striker.”
Old Trafford chiefs appear determined to wait until the January transfer window to land Roon at a cut-price £22m.
They are convinced they have become victims of a plot to get them to pay a top-whack £30m for the 18-year-old superstar.
However, Rooney’s advisors have been in talks with the Toon, who are desperate to show their ambitions, over a possible deal for the Everton hotshot.
Their interest, exclusively revealed by SunSport on Saturday, has done Newcastle no harm and they have also set the price everyone else has to beat.
But, at Old Trafford, they are not prepared to take the bait and get involved in an auction.
Robson and United chief Ferguson are in agreement over what Rooney could do for their respective clubs.
The teenager proved his worth at Euro 2004. And, with at least 10 years of football ahead of him, he would be a sound investment for any club.
Robson explained: “You’re talking about buying the most exciting, brilliant young player in Europe — and you can’t blame me for trying to bring him in. Whether he’ll come, we don’t know.”
The worry for Everton is that he will not move at all before Tuesday’s transfer deadline.
The asking price would then start to drop. United chief executive David Gill has told Ferguson that the money simply is not there for the £30m Everton want.
But Ferguson and Gill are also comfortable in the knowledge that Rooney wants to move to Old Trafford — and nowhere else.
That is why the Reds are ready to bide their time and spend what they think the player is worth.
Rooney is nowhere near signing a new deal at Goodison and Gill believes United will be able to land him for £8m less in January.
The fact Rooney is still recovering from a broken bone in his foot — which means he will be out for three more weeks — has also kept United quiet.
Yesterday, Ferguson could not suppress a smile when it was put to him that Newcastle had made a big-money move for Rooney. He said: “Yes, they have. And that’s all you’re getting from me.”
At least at St James’ Park the bid proves chairman Freddy Shepherd is prepared to back Robson after a pre-season of turmoil.
There have been disagreements between the pair over players and whether Robson should go on beyond this season.
And the £15m sale of Jonathan Woodgate to Real Madrid was something the boss did not want. But at least Shepherd will re-invest that money — and more besides.
Robson said: “There’s money available. Now it’s what we do with it. The chairman has bankrolled my judgment.”
The Toon boss is already eyeing a replacement for Woodgate. And he has just had a £3.5m bid for Coventry defender Callum Davenport turned down.
Robson added: “The possible purchase of Rooney will not stop us bringing in a centre-half.
“We’re aware of what we’ve lost and we’re fully aware we need a replacement and we’re working on that — but you will appreciate it’s not easy.
“We’re looking for a genuine quality player, someone who can play in the Premiership and who doesn’t have to be long-term.”
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004391429,00.html
Ronaldo7
25-08-2004, 10:23 AM
read from somewhere that newcastle is interested in getting o'shea :rolleyes:
guoquanyap
25-08-2004, 10:39 AM
right now only left abt 1wk...not possible to put off any major transfer at all....this summer tansfer activity has been a disappointment....
read from somewhere that newcastle is interested in getting o'shea :rolleyes:
they have rubbish this stories.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=221712&lid=2&cpid=8&title=Magpies+rubbish+Roon+rumours
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed Darren Fletcher and Kleberson will start.
Fletcher is available again after suspension while Kleberson has recovered from a knee injury playing for Brazil in the Copa America.
Cristiano Ronaldo aims to build on the four-minute run-out he had in the victory against Norwich.
Quinton Fortune could also come into the frame after recovering from his thigh problem.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, P Neville, G Neville, O'Shea, Silvestre, Keane, Fortune, Miller, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Kleberson, Scholes, Smith, Giggs, Richardson, Bellion, Ronaldo.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/3594376.stm
Ronaldo7
25-08-2004, 08:35 PM
now or never :evil:
Ronaldo7
25-08-2004, 08:44 PM
Heinze in soup with Ferguson
Daniel Taylor
Wednesday August 25, 2004
The Guardian
Gabriel Heinze, Manchester United's costly yet elusive summer signing, is running the serious risk of causing irreparable damage to his relationship with Sir Alex Ferguson after the latest breakdown in contact between the Argentinian international and his increasingly irritated manager.
Since learning Heinze was taken to hospital after Argentina's 4-0 defeat of Costa Rica in the Olympics on Sunday, Ferguson revealed last night he had been desperately trying to get hold of the £6.9m signing, only to discover the defender has not left his mobile number with anyone at the club.
Subsequent attempts to contact him via his agent and the Argentinian football authorities have also failed and an exasperated Ferguson was still in the dark about the seriousness of Heinze's injury until he switched on his television yesterday to see him back in the Argentina team. Although initially relieved, Ferguson is livid that Heinze has not contacted his new employers.
"We understand he got an injury but nobody from Argentina has even been in touch," said Ferguson, making little attempt to conceal his irritation ahead of tonight's Champions League qualifying tie against Dinamo Bucharest. "We read that it's a hip injury and that he was taken to hospital, so it was obviously a concern. But we haven't been able to get hold of him."
:rolleyes:
Kyubi
25-08-2004, 08:49 PM
Heinze in soup with Ferguson
Daniel Taylor
Wednesday August 25, 2004
The Guardian
Gabriel Heinze, Manchester United's costly yet elusive summer signing, is running the serious risk of causing irreparable damage to his relationship with Sir Alex Ferguson after the latest breakdown in contact between the Argentinian international and his increasingly irritated manager.
Since learning Heinze was taken to hospital after Argentina's 4-0 defeat of Costa Rica in the Olympics on Sunday, Ferguson revealed last night he had been desperately trying to get hold of the £6.9m signing, only to discover the defender has not left his mobile number with anyone at the club.
Subsequent attempts to contact him via his agent and the Argentinian football authorities have also failed and an exasperated Ferguson was still in the dark about the seriousness of Heinze's injury until he switched on his television yesterday to see him back in the Argentina team. Although initially relieved, Ferguson is livid that Heinze has not contacted his new employers.
"We understand he got an injury but nobody from Argentina has even been in touch," said Ferguson, making little attempt to conceal his irritation ahead of tonight's Champions League qualifying tie against Dinamo Bucharest. "We read that it's a hip injury and that he was taken to hospital, so it was obviously a concern. But we haven't been able to get hold of him."
:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
wadeva_lah
25-08-2004, 11:54 PM
bullocks. doesnt he have an agent?
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
bullocks. doesnt he have an agent?
Subsequent attempts to contact him via his agent and the Argentinian football authorities have also failed
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 12:03 AM
really wish david gills can come up w the $$ to rival newcastle....even newcastle willing is spend so much....come on at least table a bid....maybe ronney only wan to come manu so everton bo bian has to accept our offer....
maybe maybe....:angel:
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 12:15 AM
really wish david gills can come up w the $$ to rival newcastle....even newcastle willing is spend so much....come on at least table a bid....maybe ronney only wan to come manu so everton bo bian has to accept our offer....
maybe maybe....:angel: ya i juz saw soccernet news ... rooney wans to leave everton ... but not sure whether man u wans to spend on him or not ... :slant:
RuMmYtUb
26-08-2004, 12:47 AM
Get Rooney ler :(
Quantong
26-08-2004, 01:42 AM
get rooney then I wonder how to play RVN, Saha, Smith and rooney at the same time liao
fungusmoan
26-08-2004, 02:02 AM
Originally posted by Quantong
get rooney then I wonder how to play RVN, Saha, Smith and rooney at the same time liao
No sweat for Sir Alex, I'm sure he'll find a way to play all of 'em at the same time...
Remember his masterstroke in playing Giggs upfront...he cleverly adapted Wenger's gamble of playing Henry as striker to his own success story...the logic must have been:
hmm...Henry played on the left for Juventus, he's fast - he scored s*itloads of goals playing up front for Arsenal
hey...Giggs plays on the left, he's fast...
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:25 AM
Man Utd bid for Rooney
Everton striker Wayne Rooney
Career statistics: Wayne Rooney
Manchester United have entered the race to sign Wayne Rooney by offering £20m for the Everton striker.
The Old Trafford bid comes after Newcastle had a similar offer rejected by the Goodison Park club for the 18-year-old England star.
The Magpies are believed to have made an improved, £22m offer since then, and are awaiting Everton's response.
Now United have moved for the sought-after striker, but have offered less than their Premiership rivals.
Everton manager David Moyes earlier issued a warning to Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson, insisting Rooney was worth much more than Chelsea's £24m star Didier Drogba.
He said: "I would like to quote Bobby Robson's words: 'You're talking about buying the most exciting, brilliant young player in Europe'.
"If that is what he thinks then he has got to pay the most exciting and brilliant price. He is well short now."
Newcastle's offer is not on my table because we don't want it there
Everton manager David Moyes
Moyes added: "Newcastle said that the offer is still on the table. Well it's not on my table because we don't want it there and it's certainly not enough.
"Didier Drogba went to Chelsea for £24m so Wayne's price should be well more than that.
"He is English and if you want to buy English you have to pay a higher premium.
"We don't want to lose Wayne but if we do the only way is at the top price and the value we want."
BBC Sport understands Everton will not even discuss the possibility of Rooney leaving the club unless they receive an official cash bid in excess of £27m - and even then are more likely to demand £30m.
It has been reported that Newcastle are willing to go as high as £28m to land England's star of Euro 2004.
Newcastle boss Sir Bobby Robson remains confident of securing the services of the 18-year-old, despite their initial bid being rebuffed by Everton.
He said: "I don't think this is all over to be honest.
"Everton are short of money and need to sell players and he is a saleable asset at the moment.
"We have put in a bid that no-one else has put in. There are other people trying to buy clubs for £20m at the moment, never mind just one player.
"In my mind that is a sizeable amount for a young boy who is only 18. I am not saying it is a risk. He is a young footballer with immense talent and with a great future."
Rooney has so far refused to sign a new five-year contract worth £50,000-a-week and it is now increasingly likely Everton will have to sell their prize asset.
Woodgate signs for Real
Newcastle bid for Rooney even though the England star is still two weeks away from kicking a ball after breaking a bone in his foot in Portugal.
Chairman Freddy Shepherd said at the weekend that fans would be "pleasantly surprised at what results from the Woodgate deal".
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3592494.stm
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:28 AM
Finally!! Come on ronney...we give u jersery No.8!
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:30 AM
ONLY LEFT 5 DAYS TO SEAL THE DEAL!! COME ON DAVID GILLS!!
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:31 AM
Reds Confirm Rooney Bid
Manchester United have confirmed they have made an offer to Everton for striker Wayne Rooney.
The bid is believed to be in the region of £20million.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=98952&itype=466&icategoryid=120
fungusmoan
26-08-2004, 02:33 AM
Finally!! Come on ronney...we give u jersery No.8!
great news!
a chance for Sir Alex to employ his footballing brain:
Fabregas is a teenager, he's got a bad haircut, he's short - and he's playing like a lion in Arsenal's midfield
hmmm...Rooney's a teenager, his hair's not too hot either, he's not too tall...hey! he'd make a great central midfielder!
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 02:34 AM
ooo tats a gd news .. hope man u can seal the deal!
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:36 AM
COME ON...i am damn exceited...but lets dun bring our hope too high....i believe we wont get him be the transfer window, 6 days is too short....:(
but i am happy that at least we bid for him...:D :cool:
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 02:37 AM
watch this place!!
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 02:40 AM
lolz ... 6 days is short .. but at least theres hope rite :P
Alienz
26-08-2004, 03:51 AM
Keane suffers injury blow
Manchester United captain Roy Keane has been ruled out of action for three weeks with cracked ribs.
Manager Sir Alex Ferguson told MUTV: "He has been in a bit of pain the last two or three games and it is too big a risk to play him now.
"We took him for a scan and it (the injury) was much more pronounced than before.
"If he took a bang in a game he could puncture a lung and that could put him out for months."
The absence of the 32-year-old, who has dropped back to centre-half, will come as a blow for United who are still without the suspended Rio Ferdinand.
Wes Brown is still making his comeback from an Achilles injury and Gabriel Heinze is at the Olympics with Argentina, leaving United short of defensive cover.
Keane's injury is also bad news for Republic of Ireland boss Brian Kerr as he prepares for World Cup qualifiers against Cyprus (4 September) and Switzerland (8 September).
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 04:00 AM
bad news ... sian
RuMmYtUb
26-08-2004, 04:04 AM
ROONEY BOY!!!!! :D :D
ONLY LEFT 5 DAYS TO SEAL THE DEAL!! COME ON DAVID GILLS!!
Go and beat newcastle to the rooney deal, Robson word must have infuriated us to make a bid. :D
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 04:43 AM
3-0 currently .. isit necessary to get rooney .. i was wondering .. currently .. the match .. all youngsters played very well .. defense and attack likewise very gd .. its not like those matches in epl .. so different .. dunno y .. isit Dinamo lousy or wat ? hmm :slant:
RuMmYtUb
26-08-2004, 04:53 AM
3-0 currently .. isit necessary to get rooney .. i was wondering .. currently .. the match .. all youngsters played very well .. defense and attack likewise very gd .. its not like those matches in epl .. so different .. dunno y .. isit Dinamo lousy or wat ? hmm :slant:
Yes, this match don't see too much into it.. Dynamo, with due respects, are not the type of team to survive in Europe
guoquanyap
26-08-2004, 05:06 AM
well gd performance....but cannot really read much into it....was more like a reserve match....
samwise
26-08-2004, 07:07 AM
why another striker and not a cheap winger?
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=308240&cc=4716
Sir Alex Ferguson signalled his intentions to sign Wayne Rooney, a player he considers to have a "great chance" of making it to the very top.
Everton have made it clear they will reject United's offer, but Sir Alex remains confident of landing the 18-year-old striker.
"We will discuss it again tomorrow," he said. "But at this stage we are making our intentions clear that we would like to have the boy. And that is the first time we have actually said it.
Ferguson spoke passionately about his desire to bring Rooney to Old Trafford on Wednesday night, just hours after it became known United had lodged a bid, believed to be around £20million for the player.
Whether United can sign Rooney before next Tuesday's transfer deadline remains to be seen.
"We just have to wait and see what Everton say, that is the next stage," said Sir Alex after his side beat Dinamo Bucharest 3-0.
"Newcastle making a bid activated the whole thing. But don't forget, Everton have not said he is for sale."
Sir Alex Ferguson
The Reds boss revealed he feared he had missed the opportunity to make Rooney a United player this summer, but says Newcastle's £20million bid forced United's hand.
"Newcastle making a bid probably activated the whole thing. Don't forget, Everton haven't said he is for sale. It's always a difficult situation, that's why we've never really done anything.
"I was always hopeful, but time was running out. You start to think there is no chance.
"He is only 18. Nobody is the finished article at 18. He's an emerging talent and he has got a great chance."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=98967&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Man Utd 3-0 Dinamo Bucuresti
MANCHESTER, England, Aug 25 (Reuters) - Manchester United eased into the Champions League group phase with a comfortable 3-0 victory over Dinamo Bucharest at Old Trafford on Wednesday.
http://www.soccernet.com/images/england/20040825/alansmith_lg_g.jpg
Alan Smith scores Man United's first goal. (LaurenceGriffiths/GettyImages)
Two second-half goals by England striker Alan Smith and one from Frenchman David Bellion sealed a 5-1 aggregate victory in the third qualifying round tie.
'I was happy to get that one out of the road,' United manager Alex Ferguson told reporters. 'The first goal was the key to it. After that they relaxed and enjoyed themselves and played very well.
'The start of the second half was a good one. But I think the foundation was laid at the back where Mikael Silvestre was absolutely fantastic. His performance laid the foundation to make sure we were secure and solid and did nothing silly.'
United are now guaranteed a minimum cash injection of 15 million pounds to help finance their planned purchase of Everton and England striker Wayne Rooney.
United tabled a £20 million pounds bid for Rooney before looking to build on their 2-1 advantage from the first leg of their qualifying tie against the Romanian champions.
There was never any suggestion that they would fail to take their place in the draw for the group phase as they killed off Dinamo's limited ambition with Smith's double inside the first five minutes of the second half.
Rooney's likely arrival at Old Trafford, rather than at Newcastle United who have also made a comparable offer for the 18-year-old, will provide greater competition for striking roles in Ferguson's side.
But Smith will not give up his place easily as he made it three goals in his first two games for his new club since a summer signing from Leeds United.
The first was a simple tap-in after a free kick from Kleberson was diverted into his path by Dinamo defender George Galamaz and he soon added a second when he swept in a Gary Neville cross from 10 yards out.
Dinamo never looked capable of scoring the two away goals they needed, despite a below-strength United side without captain Roy Keane who is suffering from cracked ribs.
In a re-shuffled defence his place was taken by 18-year-old Jonathan Spector who was handed a full debut along with midfielder Chris Eagles, also 18.
Cristiano Ronaldo was recalled to United's starting line-up after returning from Olympic duty and he produced some dazzling footwork before being withdrawn, along with Smith, after 63 minutes with the result beyond doubt.
Smith's replacement Bellion marked his introduction with his second goal in as many games, latching on to a long pass to fire home 20 minutes from the end.
wadeva_lah
26-08-2004, 10:14 AM
better not lose out on rooney, else david gill's head might roll. :alien:
MaSSiVeAttacK
26-08-2004, 10:37 AM
Smith totalli rox!!! he is fast becmin a real steal for Fergie at 7million!! :D
but hor, wif saha and rvn cmin back sn,and wif smith in such devastatin form, i realie cant see the logic behind united wantin to buy rooney leh...:confused:
leo_llw
26-08-2004, 10:50 AM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
better not lose out on rooney, else david gill's head might roll. :alien:
rooney good lah....but at 20+ mil, tell Everton go fly kite lah...:laugh:
samwise
26-08-2004, 12:38 PM
can roooooney play in winger position?
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 12:41 PM
Originally posted by MaSSiVeAttacK
Smith totalli rox!!! he is fast becmin a real steal for Fergie at 7million!! :D
but hor, wif saha and rvn cmin back sn,and wif smith in such devastatin form, i realie cant see the logic behind united wantin to buy rooney leh...:confused: ya tats the problem .. dunno how he going to play them .. but standard .. man u always have 4 strikers .. solskjaer still out .. left rvn smith and saha only rite ?
leo_llw
26-08-2004, 12:46 PM
ya tats the problem .. dunno how he going to play them .. but standard .. man u always have 4 strikers .. solskjaer still out .. left rvn smith and saha only rite ?
still got Bellion :rolleyes:
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
still got Bellion :rolleyes: he not first team yet wat .
orca_sea
26-08-2004, 01:04 PM
he not first team yet wat .
But he's more consistent than Diego de 'Horlan' Forlan lor :laugh: :D
huhster
26-08-2004, 01:21 PM
rooney come liao
who sit on bench???
himself? saha? smith?
samwise
26-08-2004, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by huhster
rooney come liao
who sit on bench???
himself? saha? smith?
fergie will play 4-4-2
dunno is roooooney can play winger anot...
this is getting exciting... the last time NU and MU fought for player is ALan Shearer
orca_sea
26-08-2004, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by huhster
rooney come liao
who sit on bench???
himself? saha? smith?
We will hav 2 striking configuration .. either R-R (Rooney-RVN) partnership or S-S (Saha-Smith) strikeforce lor hahaha :laugh: :D
Yellowfin
26-08-2004, 01:57 PM
After watching last night match, I feel very happy about the young players and the future of Man Utd.
They are willing to close down on every opposition players that get the ball. :D
There is a lot more movement amount the United players in the game than before.
Just my 2 peso. :)
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by Yellowfin
After watching last night match, I feel very happy about the young players and the future of Man Utd.
They are willing to close down on every opposition players that get the ball. :D
There is a lot more movement amount the United players in the game than before.
Just my 2 peso. :) yup same here .. last nite watch the match .. those youngsters really played well in terms of defense and attacks..
Originally posted by orca_sea
But he's more consistent than Diego de 'Horlan' Forlan lor :laugh: :D lolz true..
huhster
26-08-2004, 02:15 PM
We will hav 2 striking configuration .. either R-R (Rooney-RVN) partnership or S-S (Saha-Smith) strikeforce lor hahaha :laugh: :D
then the last S how...Solskjaer
the F left
RSR?
SSS?
SSR?
RSS?
seems like B (Bellion) is going to be out of favour soon
Ole is out for a year, hate to say, but his career with us could be over, still not convinced about Bellion, althought he play well the last 2 games.
Smith is in great form and will be hard to drop, be a nice headache if we get Rooney and also once Saha and Ruud is back. :D
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 02:27 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Ole is out for a year, hate to say, but his career with us could be over, still not convinced about Bellion, althought he play well the last 2 games.
Smith is in great form and will be hard to drop, be a nice headache if we get Rooney and also once Saha and Ruud is back. :D ya lolz .. dunno how they going to play when all comes back .. sigh ..
Ch3tah_39
26-08-2004, 04:28 PM
bid for rooney for wat??
so many strikers liao.. when rvn and saha come back, who will play forward??
Real Madrid have ended Manchester United's hopes of signing Santiago Solari this season but the winger could make a move to Old Trafford next summer.
Carlos Queiroz is an admirer of the Argentinian from their time together in Madrid and Sir Alex Ferguson believes Solari can put some pressure on Ryan Giggs for the left midfield slot and allow the Welshman to operate in other positions.
Spanish sources claim United explored the possibility of bidding for the South American before the transfer window closes at the end of the month, but his appearance against Wisla Krakow means he is now cup-tied in the UEFA Champions League and less desirable to Ferguson.
In any case, The Red Devils' priority would now appear to be Wayne Rooney as Ferguson hopes to beat Newcastle United to the Everton striker's signature within the next week.
Although Real may offer Solari fresh terms, his existing deal expires next June, and he would be in a position to negotiate a switch to Old Trafford in January.
Internazionale are long-term admirers of the 27-year-old from Santa Fe, but United are considering making an offer to the player in the New Year.
Ferguson did try unsuccessfully to lure Arjen Robben to United before the Dutchman joined Chelsea and, despite rumours of a move for the other Stamford Bridge left winger, Damien Duff, Giggs's only real competition for his place is provided by Kieron Richardson and Quinton Fortune, although the South African has also been deployed at left back.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=222105&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=United+ponder+Solari+move
jacqles
26-08-2004, 06:07 PM
hail Alan Smith!
knn 20 million for that bulldog .. NOOOOOOOOOOOOO :mad:
ragnarok95
26-08-2004, 06:09 PM
ole can play at right mid so left saha, ruud, smith and bellion as striker...if rooney really join us, he may be play in a deeper role, like behind ruud and smith...
Originally posted by jacqles
hail Alan Smith!
knn 20 million for that bulldog .. NOOOOOOOOOOOOO :mad:
seriously it have to be much more than 20m if we are buying him. :mad:
jacqles
26-08-2004, 07:01 PM
that kid will die under fergie serious
and >20 million is way too much for him :mad:
MatrixFanatic
26-08-2004, 07:13 PM
Don't know what Fergie thinking man! Use that money to buy some freaking left winger la!
Kyubi
26-08-2004, 07:17 PM
Don't know what Fergie thinking man! Use that money to buy some freaking left winger la! hahaha yeah .. now left wing oso got problem .. zz
Ronaldo7
26-08-2004, 08:30 PM
giggs - keane - scholes - ronaldo
rvn - smith/saha/rooney ?
Alienz
26-08-2004, 08:40 PM
Man Utd's Saha linked with Everton swap move
Manchester United striker Louis Saha has been linked with Everton.
The Independent says United's bid for Everton striker Wayne Rooney has cast major doubt on Saha's future.
With Alan Smith having impressed Ferguson with his attitude since arriving from Leeds and Ruud van Nistelrooy inviolable, it is hard to see a major role for the Frenchman with Rooney in United's squad.
Its been suggested United will offer Saha in part-exchange to Everton to meet their £30 million asking price for teenager Rooney.
Issit good or bad news :confused:
orca_sea
26-08-2004, 09:09 PM
The Independent says United's bid for Everton striker Wayne Rooney has cast major doubt on Saha's future.
With Alan Smith having impressed Ferguson with his attitude since arriving from Leeds and Ruud van Nistelrooy inviolable, it is hard to see a major role for the Frenchman with Rooney in United's squad.
Its been suggested United will offer Saha in part-exchange to Everton to meet their £30 million asking price for teenager Rooney.
Definitely a Bad one! :mad:
___jeff
26-08-2004, 09:16 PM
manchesterunited 2 - 1 norwich
bellion (http://www.soccerclips.net/2004/august/premiership/2/heplnorwichbellion.zip)
alan smith (http://www.soccerclips.net/2004/august/premiership/2/heplnorwichsmith.zip)
goal clips ,
u need winzip or winrar for this
usjag_18
26-08-2004, 09:20 PM
Ermm.... I don't think Man Utd will use Saha to exchange Rooney, okay. By the way, which website gives such a news? But 20m is really too much for Rooney. But if he really proves himself in Man Utd, then maybe that money is worth it. Just like RVN, before he came 2 Man Utd, a lot of ppl doubts the price-tag on him, but he proves himself. So I guess we all need to give the player a chance.
However, I still think 20m is too much. I think Man Utd just wanna 2 scare Newcastle Utd away.
Regards,
O'
Alienz
26-08-2004, 09:39 PM
if Rooney do really come without the swap, then we have 4 strikers that wants to play in every games (not everyone have the same thinking of Ole)
Alienz
26-08-2004, 09:40 PM
Ermm.... I don't think Man Utd will use Saha to exchange Rooney, okay. By the way, which website gives such a news? But 20m is really too much for Rooney. But if he really proves himself in Man Utd, then maybe that money is worth it. Just like RVN, before he came 2 Man Utd, a lot of ppl doubts the price-tag on him, but he proves himself. So I guess we all need to give the player a chance.
However, I still think 20m is too much. I think Man Utd just wanna 2 scare Newcastle Utd away.
Regards,
O'
if i did not spell wrong, i taken from tribalfootball.com
vivre
26-08-2004, 11:09 PM
Champ Lge draw is out!!!!
Man U avoids big guns of Europe.... (Fingers crossed =p )
GROUP D
Manchester United (England)
Olympique Lyon (France)
Sparta Prague (Czech Republic)
Fenerbahce (Turkey)
Ronaldo7
26-08-2004, 11:11 PM
GROUP D:
Manchester United, Lyon, Sparta Prague, Fenerbahce
watch out for Fenerbache :eek:
GROUP D:
Manchester United, Lyon, Sparta Prague, Fenerbahce
watch out for Fenerbache :eek:
I am wary of fenerbanche, they beaten us at home 1-0 in a CL group stage match in 96, want revenge this time round. :)
Lyon are the french champion, so it won't be easy. But glad we avoid the big guns though. :D
Total bullsh!t :mad: , Saha is going nowhere, beside fergie has always mantain he want 4 quality strikers in the side. If we buy Rooney, its a straight transaction. No player swap. :rolleyes:
Ronaldo7
26-08-2004, 11:36 PM
our bid got rejected
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1291593,00.html
ragnarok95
26-08-2004, 11:44 PM
hey guys...taken this out fr www.manutd.com
Wayne Rooney will become a Manchester United player by the weekend. Alex Ferguson last night entered the bidding for the England wonderboy by matching Newcastle’s £20million offer. And United are prepared to go to £25m to land Rooney, 18, from Everton. The Old Trafford giants will also offer him a wage package that the Toon will not be able to compete with. Boss Fergie is ready to put Rooney among United’s top earners on £90,000 a week over five years. Ferguson last night said: “Newcastle’s bid triggered things for us. I was hoping we could get him but time was running out and I started to think there was no chance. We will now wait to see what Everton say, but we have made our intentions clear that we would like to have the boy.”
Originally posted by ragnarok95
hey guys...taken this out fr www.manutd.com
Wayne Rooney will become a Manchester United player by the weekend. Alex Ferguson last night entered the bidding for the England wonderboy by matching Newcastle’s £20million offer. And United are prepared to go to £25m to land Rooney, 18, from Everton. The Old Trafford giants will also offer him a wage package that the Toon will not be able to compete with. Boss Fergie is ready to put Rooney among United’s top earners on £90,000 a week over five years. Ferguson last night said: “Newcastle’s bid triggered things for us. I was hoping we could get him but time was running out and I started to think there was no chance. We will now wait to see what Everton say, but we have made our intentions clear that we would like to have the boy.”
Thats from the sun. Don't believe anything written from the sun. :alien:
guoquanyap
27-08-2004, 12:02 AM
not a easy draw as SOME ppl may said...lyon was the french champion last season and they some excellent football in last yr CL...no walkover
Sparta Prague, champion of russian...trciky for any team to travel to cold area....see the return of porosky....
fenerbanche....mus wear bulletproof suit to go their stadium....:o
not a easy draw as SOME ppl may said...lyon was the french champion last season and they some excellent football in last yr CL...no walkover
Sparta Prague, champion of russian...trciky for any team to travel to cold area....see the return of porosky....
err sparta prague is from czech republic. :rolleyes:
Of course it won't be easy but we shouldn't be scared whoever we face and I expect us to go through to the 2nd round.
guoquanyap
27-08-2004, 12:13 AM
oh ya paiseh....anyway nice reply fr david gills
Manchester United chief executive David Gill says a lot can happen in five days as the club bids to tie up a move for Wayne Rooney.
Everton may have rejected offers from both Old Trafford and Newcastle United, but the likelihood is that The Red Devils will make a renewed attempt to lure the England striker to Manchester.
"All I can tell you is to reiterate what we put out to the stock exchange this morning," Gill told Sky Sports News. "We confirmed, following media speculation, that we had made a bid for Wayne.
"That is the case and I won't make any further announcement until, and if, we reach agreement with both Everton and the player.
"I'm hearing that (Everton rejecting the bid) but, literally, I've been in the draw and it's been released in the last few minutes so I've not had chance to discuss it with the manager. So it would be inappropriate to discuss it at this moment in time.
"Five days? (Until the deadline). A lot can happen in five days or whatever but we've got to do what is right for Manchester United, what is right for Wayne Rooney and what is right for Everton. It takes three to effect a transfer and we'll see what happens."
As for the UEFA Champions League draw, Gill seemed satisifed with United facing Lyon, Sparta Prague and Fenerbahce.
"I think it's going to be an exciting draw," he continued. "We've not played Lyon before so I'm looking forward to that and Fenerbahce were the first team to beat us in home in Europe so there's added spice there.
"There's Sparta Prague, where Karel Poborsky plays, and I think Alex (Ferguson), although you'll have to ask him directly, will be relatively pleased with the draw we've got.
"Uefa were satisfied with the security aspects of Istanbul, I think they wouldn't have had the final there otherwise, so we'll look at it positively not negatively."
"Five days? (Until the deadline). A lot can happen in five days or whatever but we've got to do what is right for Manchester United, what is right for Wayne Rooney and what is right for Everton. It takes three to effect a transfer and we'll see what happens."
now does this sound like someone thats wants to leave when he is looking forward to playing in the champions league? :rolleyes:
Louis Saha is ready for the challenge of Wayne Rooney should the England star's move to Manchester United go through.
With Sir Alex Ferguson hoping to add the Everton teenager to his squad before next week's transfer deadline, Saha sees his possible arrival as a boost rather than a threat to his own place in the side.
He said: "If United take big players like that, it can only be very good for the team. It is not a problem for me. When you have got strikers like Alan Smith who can perform like he did on Wednesday, you cannot say anything like that and I will be in the same position with Rooney.
"We all know he is a good player but we have a great team and a great spirit and when you bring in an ability like that, it can only be great for the season.
"The players are excited about it. It is a very long season, we have the Champions League and it is going to be important to have a big squad. We would have good competition for every position and there are a lot of games."
With Ruud van Nistelrooy and Alan Smith already challenging for starting places, Saha feels the addition of Rooney would not push anyone down the pecking order.
"When you have a big squad, you have a lot of possibilities to adapt and play 4-4-3 or 4-3-3 and it would make it easier for the manager to chose. When you have players like Ronaldo, Smith, Keane and Giggs it is just unbelievable to be training with them," he said.
Saha is close to a comeback after missing the start of the season with an Achilles injury and is in line for a return against Blackburn on Saturday.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040826/1/62lc.html
Alienz
27-08-2004, 06:31 AM
Rooney to join United - eventually (http://manchesterunited.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=891&p=2&stid=8357684)
Wayne Rooney is still an Everton player and unless United offer more than their initial bid of £20m he will remain one - at least until January.
It appears that United had little intention of bidding for Rooney until January at the earliest and that the Geordies' interest has forced the plc's hand sooner than they would have liked. Newcastle's interest seems strange, given that they already have four strikers to juggle and a gaping hole in the centre of their defence. But their improved offer of £23.5m - also rejected - suggests that their interest is genuine rather than a ruse to ease John O'Shea's move from United to Tyneside in order to help finance our own purchase of the fat kid.
Given a choice of which club to go to it is clear that Rooney would prefer to stay in the North west rather than teleport to 1976. Despite what Bobby Robson says about how 'vibrant' Newcastle is no player in their right mind (hello Alan) would choose Newcastle over United. That is not to say that we should be dismissive of the Geordie's bid though as ultimately it is the bottom line that counts and if Alex wants him then we should be prepared to match anything they can lash out.
Both clubs have until Tuesday to up their offers to a fee nearer to financially troubled Everton's £25-£30m valuation of the player and conclude a deal. However, United probably won't be too upset if time 'defeats' them and they can re-group in January when Rooney will have just 18 months left on his contract (he won't be signing the improved deal offered to him by Everton) and his price is a little more realistic.
Either that or Chelsea will snap him up tomorrow.
usjag_18
27-08-2004, 09:25 AM
I agreed, all teams should not be overlook. We have not been playing these teams for a long time. We do not really not what they are made of. Their teams may be stronger than we know.
As for the bulletproof suit, that's really funny. It's not that bad.
CL fixture list 2004/05
Lyon v United (A) Wed 15 Sept
United v Fenerbahce (H) Tue 28 Sept
Sparta Prague v United (A) Tue 19 Oct
United v Sparta Prague (H) Wed 3 Nov
United v Lyon (H) Tue 23 Nov
Fenerbahce v United (A) Wed 8 Dec
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=98943&itype=466&icategoryid=120&husasads
I hope we can seal qualfication to the 2nd round before we go to turkey on the last game. ;)
Alienz
27-08-2004, 11:39 AM
United to raise the stakes for Rooney
Manchester United are confident that they can win the race to sign Wayne Rooney by matching rather than beating any offer that Newcastle make for the 18-year-old – despite the rejection yesterday to their first £20 million bid for the England striker.
United chief executive David Gill looks set to make an offer of around £23.5 million today to equal Newcastle's second bid and it will remain on the table even if Everton reject it initially. There was some tension between the two clubs yesterday afternoon when the United board discovered that their first bid had been turned down when the news was released on Everton's website.
Gill hinted during an interview at the Champions League draw in Monaco that he felt the club would not have to raise their offer dramatically in order to sign Rooney, who, despite indications to Newcastle that he would have no reservations about joining them, is understood to favour a move to United.
It means that United are reasonably sure that they will be able to tie up a deal for Rooney today with the personal terms set to be finalised over the weekend with the player's agent, Paul Stretford. Now that they have at last seriously entered the bidding to sign him, with the offer on Wednesday night, United feel that they cannot lose out to Newcastle.
There is also a suggestion that if United have to force the issue so close to the transfer deadline they might be prepared to weight the deal with a player. The favourite would be David Bellion, for whom United paid £2 million in compensation to Sunderland last summer, but has failed to make an impression on the first team.
It emerged yesterday that Rooney's meeting with David Moyes on Tuesday, at which he told the Everton manager he no longer wanted to play for his boyhood club, ended in an argument between them in front of other players. Rooney is understood to have told the Scot that he felt Everton were slowing the transfer process and there has been a difficult atmosphere between the two since.
Moyes is also understood to be angry over comments by chairman Bill Kenwright that it would be the manager's decision whether or not the club sold Rooney. However, Everton did receive a £7 million injection yesterday, believed to be an overdraft extension on the understanding that they are to receive new investment next month. They have signed the full-back Djimi Traore from Liverpool.
Ryan Giggs said that the United players would support the signing of Rooney. He said: "You don't get any better than Wayne Rooney right now. Along with Cristiano Ronaldo he is probably the most outstanding player of his age group in Europe.
"To have them both playing in the same side at United would be phenomenal. This club always goes for the most talented players and Wayne has shown in the past couple of years, especially at Euro 2004, just what a special talent he is."
Source (http://www.sport.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2004/08/27/sfnman27.xml&sSheet=/sport/2004/08/27/ixfooty.html)
wadeva_lah
27-08-2004, 01:14 PM
come on guys.
its a bright side if we sign rooney.
who can doubt he's a player of immense quality?
imo, giggs wud soon be relegated to a sub. leaving ronaldo to take the left flank, scholes moving out to right, and either smith or rooney can play the deep striker's role. saha wud make a good backup. we have a rotation of 4 of the best strikers in the Premiership. and from wad i see rooney and saha is versatile to play an attacking midfielder's role, either on flanks or centre coz they're quick enuf. dun forget when smith was at leeds, he played in midfield for most of the season as well. though he didnt do well, but his manager wasnt fergie at that time no? :D
sooner or later giggs and scholes would have to start being subs to allow the younger players to shine and bring the club to the next level.
imagine a subs bench of giggs, saha, miller, bellion, kleberson, DjDj, carroll. not so bad right. :D
£25m plus Bellion for Rooney, but Everton could decide O'Shea instead. :mad:
MatrixFanatic
27-08-2004, 04:08 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We need O'shea!!
trax06
27-08-2004, 06:21 PM
yeah he is..hes fast ala henry.
and got quick feet ala C.Ron
but still needs time
Ronaldo7
27-08-2004, 06:26 PM
Originally posted by RVN
it's a gamble for us :angel:
Alienz
27-08-2004, 07:03 PM
Schmeichel urges Rooney to choose Old Trafford
http://www.servihoo.com/channels/kinews/images_news/AFP/SGE.EHS70.270804091842.photo00.default-170x245.jpg
Former Manchester United keeper Peter Schmeichel has urged Wayne Rooney to choose Manchester United over Newcastle if it is silverware and glory he seeks.
Both clubs have in recent days seen bids for the teenage Everton striker rejected by the Merseyside club, although United are believed to be making an increased bid for the 18-year-old later Friday.
As Rooney makes up his mind, with the likelihood that he will opt for Old Trafford over St James' Park, Schmeichel feels Newcastle just don't have the pedigree to match a player of his talents.
"Wayne Rooney has a lot of ability and he needs to have something to show for that when he retires," the Dane told Radio 5 Live.
"I think the chances are he could go to Manchester United and win championships and win the Champions League.
"The chances of doing that are far better than at Newcastle."
United had an initial bid - reported to be 20 million pounds (36 million dollars) - turned down by Everton. Newcastle's second, improved bid of 23.5 million pounds has also been rejected.
Schmeichel praised Newcastle, but claimed Manchester United were in a different league.
"They (Newcastle) have invested a lot of money in their team and on their facilities in the last five or six years.
"It is a great footballing city but it is not in the same league as Manchester United.
"It would be such a great thing for the club to go and bring a player like Wayne Rooney in.
"To have a player that can get 20 to 25 goals a season is invaluable. You have to say 'he is 18 years of age, he could be doing that for 10 years, how much are we going to get out of that in terms of results?'"
Rooney has two years left on the contract he signed in 2003 but Everton remain hopeful he will still sign the new deal they have offered him.
Ferguson, who at the start of the week claimed United were not interested in the England striker, moved into the race to sign Rooney when United faxed their bid to Everton - who are thought to value the player at around the 30 million pounds mark - on Wednesday.
Ferguson said: "We have made our intentions clear that we would like the boy. This is the first time we have actually said that.
"Don't forget Everton have not said he is for sale."
But, with the transfer deadline next Tuesday, Everton chairman Bill Kenwright has done nothing to quell speculation over Rooney's future by admitting he could not guarantee the Euro 2004 star would be an Everton player next week.
Kenwright knows manager David Moyes may be tempted to let Rooney go if a satisfactory bid is made.
"Whatever happens with the sale, if it happens, it will be down to the manager," said Kenwright.
"It is the manager's final decision," he told Sky Sports News.
Source (http://www.servihoo.com/channels/kinews/v3news_details.php?id=52033&CategoryID=48)
Blackburn V Man Utd
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39981000/gif/_39981580_black_mutd_150.gif
Blackburn's new signing Morten-Gamst Pedersen is poised to make his debut after his £2.5m move from Tromso.
Skipper Barry Ferguson is available after missing Wednesday's 3-0 defeat at Arsenal through suspension.
Manchester United's Jonathan Spector could retain his place at left-back alongside central defender John O'Shea, who is set to replace Roy Keane (rib).
Phil Neville is also pushing for a place in the team as is Louis Saha after recovering from a knee injury.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Blackburn (from): Friedel, Amoruso, Short, Gresko, Emerton, Neill, Gray, Tugay, Ferguson, Thompson, de Pedro, Flitcroft, Stead, Yorke, Matteo, Johansson, Pedersen, Dickov, Enckelman.
Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, P Neville, G Neville, O'Shea, Silvestre, Spector, Ronaldo, Miller, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Kleberson, Scholes, Smith, Saha, Giggs, Bellion.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3586096.stm
Kyubi
27-08-2004, 07:51 PM
lolz rooney confirm leaving everton le :D
kengbeng
27-08-2004, 08:01 PM
Rooney hands in transfer request
Fri 27 Aug, 12:56 PM
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040827/3/63yy.html
LIVERPOOL, England (AFP) - Wayne Rooney formally asked Everton for a transfer in a move that will help clear the way for the 18-year-old England forward to join Manchester United.
The move means Rooney will not be eligible for any compensation for the remaining three years on his contract when he is sold, making it easier for Everton and United to agree a price for the player.
Everton have rejected bids of 20 million and 23.5 million pounds from, respectively, Manchester United and Newcastle.
Although Newcastle have tabled the higher offer, Rooney is understood to favour a move to United, who can offer him the prospect of Champions League football.
"This has been one of the hardest decisions of my life but I feel the time is now right for me to move forward with my career," Rooney said, adding that his decision had been influenced by the impact he had playing for England at Euro 2004.
"The Euros were a fantastic experience for me, it made me realise I could play at the highest level.
"To do that I need to be with a club that is playing in Europe every year. I hope the Everton fans can come to understand my decision and I hope the transfer fee Everton receive will help the club move forward."
Rooney was brought up within walking distance of Everton's Goodison Park stadium in a family of the club's supporters.
"The Everton fans have always been fatastic in their support of me," Rooney added.
"I hope they respect my decision and I also hope that some day in the future I could be welcomed back to watch the team I have supported since boyhood."
:eek:
newcastle not giving up though. according to Shepherd and now they say he favour a move to newcastle, what the heck. :(
Although Fergie is hopeful
Sir Alex Ferguson has laid out the welcome mat for Wayne Rooney, insisting it only "takes a second" for him to commit to Manchester United.
Rooney on Friday handed in a transfer request at Everton, paving the way for United and Premiership rivals Newcastle to slug it out for the England striker's signature.
Ferguson revealed Old Trafford chief executive David Gill is locked in talks with Everton chairman Bill Kenwright - and is confident a deal can be struck before the transfer window closes next Tuesday.
"David Gill is in dialogue with Bill Kenwright," Ferguson told his club's website. "And it only takes a second to say yes.
"The difficulty is in getting a medical done but at this moment we're not at the stage where we should be talking about medicals.
"We're waiting on an agreement with Everton before we can do anything else."
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,880113,00.html
MatrixFanatic
27-08-2004, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Blackburn V Man Utd
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39981000/gif/_39981580_black_mutd_150.gif
Blackburn's new signing Morten-Gamst Pedersen is poised to make his debut after his £2.5m move from Tromso.
Skipper Barry Ferguson is available after missing Wednesday's 3-0 defeat at Arsenal through suspension.
Manchester United's Jonathan Spector could retain his place at left-back alongside central defender John O'Shea, who is set to replace Roy Keane (rib).
Phil Neville is also pushing for a place in the team as is Louis Saha after recovering from a knee injury.
Blackburn (from): Friedel, Amoruso, Short, Gresko, Emerton, Neill, Gray, Tugay, Ferguson, Thompson, de Pedro, Flitcroft, Stead, Yorke, Matteo, Johansson, Pedersen, Dickov, Enckelman.
Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, P Neville, G Neville, O'Shea, Silvestre, Spector, Ronaldo, Miller, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Kleberson, Scholes, Smith, Saha, Giggs, Bellion.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3586096.stm
I think Spector plays better in centre. O'Shea not as fast as he is.
MatrixFanatic
27-08-2004, 09:28 PM
Originally posted by RVN
newcastle not giving up though. according to Shepherd and now they say he favour a move to newcastle, what the heck. :(
Although Fergie is hopeful
Sir Alex Ferguson has laid out the welcome mat for Wayne Rooney, insisting it only "takes a second" for him to commit to Manchester United.
Rooney on Friday handed in a transfer request at Everton, paving the way for United and Premiership rivals Newcastle to slug it out for the England striker's signature.
Ferguson revealed Old Trafford chief executive David Gill is locked in talks with Everton chairman Bill Kenwright - and is confident a deal can be struck before the transfer window closes next Tuesday.
"David Gill is in dialogue with Bill Kenwright," Ferguson told his club's website. "And it only takes a second to say yes.
"The difficulty is in getting a medical done but at this moment we're not at the stage where we should be talking about medicals.
"We're waiting on an agreement with Everton before we can do anything else."
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,880113,00.html
Honestly, I think he will have more chances of playing if he comes to Man United. We have only 3(Saha, RVN, Smith) recognised strikers now with Ole out for the season and Newcastle have got Kluivert, Shearer, Bellamy, Ameobi.
guoquanyap
27-08-2004, 11:19 PM
wow..i am really excieted by the propect pf the future if we really sign Rooney....imagine this line-up
Rooney---Ruud
Giggs-----keano/eric....scholes/flecther.....Ronaldo
heniz.......rio.......brown.....g.neville......
howard
we can still call upon saha and smith ( S-S)
the weak link will be the we still lack a real creative player who can pull the string together other than scholes...ronney is drop back and support Ruud....
oh **** i am thinking too far man...ronney has not even sign! :angel:
trax06
27-08-2004, 11:37 PM
oh **** i am thinking too far man...ronney has not even sign! :angel: [/B]
oh snap..we might not be able to watch em play.
Kyubi
27-08-2004, 11:38 PM
wow..i am really excieted by the propect pf the future if we really sign Rooney....imagine this line-up
Rooney---Ruud
Giggs-----keano/eric....scholes/flecther.....Ronaldo
heniz.......rio.......brown.....g.neville......
howard
we can still call upon saha and smith ( S-S)
the weak link will be the we still lack a real creative player who can pull the string together other than scholes...ronney is drop back and support Ruud....
oh **** i am thinking too far man...ronney has not even sign! :angel: hahah nice layout ... anyway really hope rooney come :P
guoquanyap
27-08-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by trax06
oh snap..we might not be able to watch em play.
:( :mad: HOPEfully lee hsian long son is EPL fanatic lor...:angel:
BUT guys...remember we missed out another 2 R...ronaldoiho and robben....but we got ronaldo....hopefully we can add into rooney into the squad after Ryan, ronaldo and Ruud....:D
cutter
28-08-2004, 12:54 AM
nabei.... I thought Barca insisted that Saviola is not for sale? how come suddenly on the way to Monaco, and even nearly to Celtic? He is surely cheaper than Rooney, and can play both forward as well as playmaker. Also still young... only down side is that he may not settle, like most South Americans at Utd....
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/scottish_news/story_123640.shtml
Celtic to miss out on Saviola
Friday August 27 2004
Celtic have missed out on a loan deal for Javier Saviola, according to Barcelona president Joan Laporta.
Hoops boos Martin O'Neill was keen to borrow the Argentinian and had held talks with Barca before the two clubs were drawn in the same Champions League group on Thursday.
But the player now appears to be on the verge of joining Monaco, Laporta revealed. He told The Scottish Daily Mail: "We were in discussions over the Saviola case, although I think Javier is now closer to signing for Monaco."
He continued: "Celtic knew which players were available to go out on loan and, as we have built a good working relationship in the last year, Saviola was one of a number of possibilities."
ragnarok95
28-08-2004, 01:05 AM
guys..you should see this!
A Slight Difference Of Opinion
‘Manchester United are ready to test Everton's resolve over Wayne Rooney by stalling over an improved bid for the England striker’ – The Guardian.
‘Manchester United will today meet Everton's asking price for Wayne Rooney by increasing their bid to £25million to clinch the signing of England's teenage superstar’ – The Daily Mirror.
‘Manchester United are preparing a new bid worth £25million plus David Bellion to land Wayne Rooney’ – The Sun.
‘Manchester United are ready to play a dangerous waiting game in the Wayne Rooney transfer saga, threatening to retreat from the negotiating table in the belief that they are the only club he truly wants to join’ – The Times
hahah...diff paper, diff story! who to believe? while...all will be answer by this tuesday when the transfer window close!
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 01:29 AM
yes it is a damn dangerous game to play a waiting game....hopefully we will get him b4 tue OR he can jus stay at everton.....remember wat happen to ronaldioho when peter kenyon refused to top up 3million pound to 23million for him....
now try to purchase ronaldioho fr barca for 23million pound.....
alvinoyw
28-08-2004, 01:58 AM
I don't understand how can ManUtd DOUBLE their fee for C.Ronaldo and scrimp on a few million on Ronaldinho and Rooney.
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 02:02 AM
read through all major papers....look like we are contend to play a dangerous waiting game since they are very confident rooney to come manu...
look like we should not hav our hope too high...we hav not a sucussful transfer fight....w robben and ronaldinho.....
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/25093.jpg
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 02:03 AM
Originally posted by alvinoyw
I don't understand how can ManUtd DOUBLE their fee for C.Ronaldo and scrimp on a few million on Ronaldinho and Rooney.
precisely...hopefully david gills will do better than peter kenyon!
Kyubi
28-08-2004, 02:20 AM
lolz ... sad to sae espn stop telecasting epl matches ?? sian leh ..
usjag_18
28-08-2004, 03:13 AM
lolz ... sad to sae espn stop telecasting epl matches ?? sian leh ..
Are U guys serious? ESPN stopping telecast EPL matches? What happen? Is it rest for a while or what?
Regards,
O':confused:
usjag_18
28-08-2004, 03:41 AM
Bad idea. 20m is enough, another 5m is alright, but no way, Man Utd should use any players, no matter it's Bellion or O'Shea just to exchange for Rooney.
I don't mean Rooney is not good, but Bellion n O'Shea are both good players too. I don't think Sir Alex Fergie will do such a silly thing to exchange either of them in exchange for Rooney with 25m. I think 25m is enough for Rooney but I disagree the needs to use a player to exchange him.
Moreover, I never like D. Moyes, so I don't think Man Utd should listen to his sh**. THey should sell Rooney if they want to clear their debts. Because I guess it's their only chance now to get more than 15m for a youngester. They don't have much impressive youth players.
So one sentence for Everton and their manager and president by Mike Tan (not me, my friend), "Surrender or Die", hehehe....=p
I guess they really dun have much choices, might as well sell Rooney away before they dun get a cent.
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
28-08-2004, 08:45 AM
Are U guys serious? ESPN stopping telecast EPL matches? What happen? Is it rest for a while or what?
Regards,
O':confused:
starhub & espn can't agree on a fee . no epl for the rest of the season unless a miracle happens :sad:
Ch3tah_39
28-08-2004, 09:43 AM
25mil +bellion for rooney.. not really worth lehz...
why bellion??
That match against blackburn is at early kick-off at 7.45pm, can't watch though. :(
AhGoh
28-08-2004, 01:17 PM
UTD fan here...but for those who keep siding with bellion and saying that he's good/has potential....THAT'S A FREAKING GOOD JOKE! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
i would raise both my arms and legs if i have a say in the transfer to send him out. Other than good pace, i dun see what good he can do in UTD. I reckon even Porlan has better control than bellion
Alienz
28-08-2004, 01:24 PM
starhub & espn can't agree on a fee . no epl for the rest of the season unless a miracle happens :sad:
only way left is to go over to Malaysia and watch :D
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 04:03 PM
right now argentina vs para....last match....finally we can hav heniz back fr duty....he is part of the 3 man defence which has not conceed a goal at through out the run to the final.....
Ronaldo7
28-08-2004, 04:38 PM
Originally posted by Ch3tah_39
25mil +bellion for rooney.. not really worth lehz...
why bellion??
it's a risk worth taking IMO . he is an excellent prospect and his marketing appeal can slowly help recover back the huge transfer fee
right now argentina vs para....last match....finally we can hav heniz back fr duty....he is part of the 3 man defence which has not conceed a goal at through out the run to the final.....
argentina won gold, heinze can return now then. :)
it's a risk worth taking IMO . he is an excellent prospect and his marketing appeal can slowly help recover back the huge transfer fee
i dun think he got any marketing appeal...hes not David Beckham..
Ronaldo7
28-08-2004, 07:17 PM
read from an article not long ago that his marketing appeal is on the rise after euro2004 and IF he joins us , then it will increase further :rolleyes:
bryan09
28-08-2004, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
argentina won gold, heinze can return now then. :)
Dunno when can see him in action ...
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 07:29 PM
yes got live match!!! yo hoo!!
greycat87
28-08-2004, 07:37 PM
yes got live match!!! yo hoo!!
What time arh?
bryan09
28-08-2004, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by greycat87
What time arh?
7:40pm
Alienz
28-08-2004, 07:45 PM
FERGIE: WE WILL ROOL WORLD WITH WAYNE
SIR ALEX FERGUSON believes the £25million arrival of Wayne Rooney will make his Manchester United side even more formidable than his all-conquering Treble-winning side of 1999. Fergie claimed he will possess the deadliest strike force in Europe with the capture of Rooney, which will get United back to the luxurious position of having four world-class strikers at their disposal. Back in 1999 it was Andy Cole, Dwight Yorke, Teddy Sheringham and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, the latter two being the goalscoring heroes of the dramatic Champions League triumph over Bayern Munich.
United have lacked that kind of strength in depth up front in the intervening five years, but all that will change with the imminent arrival at Old Trafford of England superstar Rooney. Asked if he felt the arrival of Rooney would give United an even better strike force than in 1999, Fergie's response was unequivocal. "Absolutely," said the United boss. "The quality we would have with Rooney would be fantastic. "It's always difficult to compare different players from different eras because they all possess different attributes.
"But there's no doubt we would be back to having four out-and-out strikers and when you get the chance to get a player like Rooney, you shouldn't refuse it. "Back in 1999 it was difficult picking two from the four strikers. Sometimes I picked three, with Solskjaer playing wide left, to alleviate the problem of who to choose. "With Rooney we would have strength, options and goals. But we will have to wait and see, because there is no agreement in place yet and you're never sure until it actually happens." That cautionary note from Fergie over the Rooney deal was in stark contrast to the United manager's relaxed, jovial mood yesterday at the club's Carrington training ground.
Fergie wore the satisfied and content look of a man who knew he was about to clinch the signing of the most exciting and talented young player in Europe, if not the world. Word had already reached the United boss of Rooney's decision to hand in a transfer request and, although he was giving nothing away, Fergie knew he had all but got his man. As Mirror Sport revealed yesterday, Fergie confirmed there had been negotiations between United chief executive David Gill and Everton chairman Bill Kenwright over the proposed Rooney deal. "There has been dialogue between the two of them but no definite agreement has yet been reached," said Fergie.
"And until that happens, all we can do is wait and see. Tuesday's transfer deadline is not insurmountable, but the fact it's a Bank Holiday on Monday may prove a problem. "It only takes a day for a medical, but of course time is running out with the deadline so close. But we feel confident something can be sorted out." Fergie's concern about the Bank Holiday in terms of concluding all the logistics of the deal confirmed his desire to have everything done by tomorrow evening. United take on Everton at Old Trafford on Monday and both clubs would like to have the deal concluded by then to avoid it hanging over their game. Fergie says his current squad is already stronger than last season. And once Rooney becomes a United player this weekend, Fergie will have a squad capable of ruling the world.
TOP 10 BRITISH TRANSFER FEES
RIO FERDINAND (2002) Leeds United to Man U, £29.1m
JUAN SEBASTIAN VERON (2001) Lazio to Man U, £28.1m
NICOLAS ANELKA (1999) Arsenal to Real Madrid, £23.5m
MARC OVERMARS (2000) Arsenal to Barcelona, £21.6m
RUUD VAN NISTELROOY (2001) PSV to Man Utd, £19m
RIO FERDINAND (2000) West Ham United to Leeds, £18m
DAMIEN DUFF (2003) Blackburn Rovers to Chelsea, £17m
JAAP STAM (2001) Man Utd to Lazio, £16.5m
ALAN SHEARER (1996) Blackburn to Newcastle Utd, £15m
JIMMY FLOYD HASSELBAINK (2000) Atletico Madrid to Chelsea, £15m
mirror.co.uk
oh yea baby... come to Man U and join in the ranks of the greatest!!! :)
MatrixFanatic
28-08-2004, 08:37 PM
Knn... Bad omen. I switched on the TV on 17 minutes then Dickov scored.:mad:
Oh, Spector played quite well, but his face like a bit white white.
Damm, we can't afford to lose this one. :mad:
MatrixFanatic
28-08-2004, 08:49 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Damm, we can't afford to lose this one. :mad:
The way we are attacking, we will draw for sure unless there's something really wrong with Manutd. Defence looked vulnerable to counter-attacks.:mad:
bryan09
28-08-2004, 08:50 PM
SAHA!
bryan09
28-08-2004, 08:51 PM
Why take away Klberson ah .. he good mah .. should take away Jamba :D
MatrixFanatic
28-08-2004, 09:03 PM
Originally posted by bryan09
Why take away Klberson ah .. he good mah .. should take away Jamba :D
Djemba better!:cool:
bryan09
28-08-2004, 09:13 PM
he defensive leh ...
Alienz
28-08-2004, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by bryan09
he defensive leh ...
yea... needed him for defensive
Friedel having a blinder, the ball just won't go in for us. :mad:
MatrixFanatic
28-08-2004, 09:39 PM
SMITTHHHH!!!!:bounce:
Alienz
28-08-2004, 09:42 PM
*plew* 1 - 1
that was close :bounce:
kengbeng
Yeah! Smith!
Ronaldo7
FT: 1-1
another good goal by smith :evil:
LKY156
28-08-2004, 09:43 PM
GOOAAALLLL!!!!
Alan Smith is the new saviour.
Unfortunately still didn't win.
bryan09
nice job Smith :)
MatrixFanatic
You guys feel that Ronaldo looked Jaded?
Hail Smithy :bounce:
But shame we can't win. :(
bryan09
28-08-2004, 09:45 PM
You guys feel that Ronaldo looked Jaded?
slightly.
bryan09
28-08-2004, 09:46 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Hail Smithy :bounce:
But shame we can't win. :(
Brad was really good in goal ...
Seals
28-08-2004, 09:47 PM
damn lucky to get a point... blackburn got their keeper to thk for. if not man utd would have slaughter them... at least 12 good chances...
Ronaldo7
28-08-2004, 09:47 PM
give credit to the blackburn keeper for making so many saves . but one thing is for sure , never write us off until the final whistle :evil:
Brad Friedel was sensational. :eek:
wingwizard
28-08-2004, 09:49 PM
it was a manutd-friedel contest.... smith prove to be a gd buy, even it's oni 3 games into the new season. expect more to come from him.
Alienz
28-08-2004, 09:53 PM
good performance to both Smith and Friedel :)
Ronaldo7
28-08-2004, 09:58 PM
full match report at http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3586096.stm
btw , where does spector plays in the defence ? left ? :rolleyes:
LKY156
28-08-2004, 10:03 PM
After 3 games ... wonder what the hell is wrong with Man U.
Our defence looks suspect .... the faster O'Shea gets replaced, the better. He looked completely out of sorts.
The midfield seems shambolic too. Need to replace Keane. Someone to inspire and organise the play.
Strikers .... well, both strikers seem sharp.
It would be nice when RVN returns.
Do you think that Wayne Rooney make us more formidable??
http://itv-football.co.uk/Teams/Manchester_United/story_123808.shtml
jacqles
28-08-2004, 10:10 PM
Kleberson did well but we need a top class INSPIRATIONAL central midfielder. Someone in the mould of Keano.
Its suicidal to put 2 hardly experienced players in central midfield.
jacqles
28-08-2004, 10:11 PM
just forget about Rooney damnit. Our frontline is good enough already.
spend the money on a midfielder please.
Alienz
28-08-2004, 10:12 PM
Originally posted by jacqles
just forget about Rooney damnit. Our frontline is good enough already.
spend the money on a midfielder please.
ya agree....
MatrixFanatic
28-08-2004, 10:13 PM
full match report at http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3586096.stm
btw , where does spector plays in the defence ? left ? :rolleyes:
Spector is good.:cool:
Seals
28-08-2004, 10:18 PM
just now SAF scold who farking ****... he look piss...
Gabriel Heinze flew back to Argentina for the final part of an international mission that has infuriated Manchester United insisting he is not responsible for his prolonged Old Trafford absence.
Heinze added a cherished Olympic gold medal to the runners-up prize he picked up in the Copa America last month as Argentina eased past fellow South Americans Paraguay to clinch the title for the first time in 52 years.
The defender's presence as an over-aged player in Athens has severely irritated Sir Alex Ferguson, who has so far not even seen his £6.9million summer signing from Paris St Germain train, let alone play in a game.
Heinze should finally be available for the trip to Bolton in a fortnight, by which time he will also have played for his country in their World Cup qualifer against Peru.
And while he understands United's frustrations, the 26-year-old does not see what he could do to avoid the situation.
"I don't make the calendar," he said. "I am just a player.
"The problems are for other people to sort out. FIFA and the other governing bodies arrange the games and the tournaments, all I do is play in them if selected."
Contrary to Ferguson's claim that he has not been able to get hold of Heinze while he has been in Greece, the defender stated he has been in contact with United officials virtually every day of his Olympic odyssey.
He is anxious to avoid any kind of confrontation with his new club and though he is suffering bumps and bruises and has played almost continuously throughout the summer, fatigue will not be mentioned when he eventually reports to United's Carrington training ground.
"I have a few niggles like most players but I am fit and young, so I can get through them," he said. "I don't need a rest and I am looking forward to joining up with United."
http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_1083075.html?menu=sport.football
Fergie's Relieved to get Last-Gasp Goal
Sir Alex Ferguson was glad to escape Ewood Park with a point, but frustrated United couldn't makes more of their chances
Here's what he said to the assembled Press after the game...
Frustrated by Friedel
The number of times you hit a door and it doesn't open you start to worry, I mean all credit to the goalkeeper, I don't know how many stops he's had, but it must have been well over half a dozen. The goalkeeper's done a fantastic job, you can't deny that, but we had some good chances, we really should have been putting some of them away.
Controversial goal
Well I haven't seen it you'll have to tell me it's a handball. (He watches playback of the goal) Oh yes. Well that's another wrong decision by the ref today.
Sympathy for Souness after the handball?
Sympathy? I think Graham will be quite happy he's got a point really because we could have won by 6 or 7.
Rooney to be Red?
Nothing to report. We just have to keep working away. I think it's all down to Everton. There's nothing we can do, they're in the driving seat as far as making a decision whether the boy comes to us or goes elsewhere.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=99803&itype=466&icategoryid=122
guoquanyap
28-08-2004, 11:22 PM
*pwew*...last min striker...last season we keeping losing 1-0 w no luck on our side even though we were the better team....finally today we hav some luck and managed to snatch 1 point....
and that Friedel.....:mad:
siao liao, we put in a 2nd bid for Rooney, excceeding Newcastle 23.5m pound bid. :mad:
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by RVN
siao liao, we put in a 2nd bid for Rooney, excceeding Newcastle 23.5m pound bid. :mad:
we should be happy? why the angry face?? i am exceited by his arrival man...hopefully we can get him be the transfer window close
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 12:19 AM
Man Utd up Rooney bid
Will Wayne Rooney choose Newcastle or Man Utd?
Rooney's career statistics
Everton face fan fury
Everton have confirmed that Manchester United have made a second bid for England striker Wayne Rooney.
The club say Manchester United's bid is higher than the £23.5m offer from Newcastle which was rejected last week.
Everton's head of PR Ian Ross told the club's website: "Manchester United made an offer which is in excess of the second bid lodged by Newcastle."
come on everton! let him go!
we should be happy? why the angry face?? i am exceited by his arrival man...hopefully we can get him be the transfer window close
not for 25m to 30m, its an absurb price for an 18-year old. when there are other positions in the team that need to be strengthen, like defence and midfield. :mad:
greycat87
29-08-2004, 02:05 AM
David Beckham believes Sir Alex Ferguson can lead Wayne Rooney's career in the right direction.
The England captain made the comments following recent speculation regarding the Everton starlet's future.
Rooney, who was one of the stars of Euro 2004, has attracted the interest of Premiership rivals Manchester United and Newcastle United, with both clubs tabling substantial bids for the teenage striker.
The Toffees have so far rebuffed those bids, but Rooney's future took a twist on Friday when the youngster shocked the Goodison Park club by handing in a transfer request.
With the 18-year-old likely to be leaving his boyhood club, Beckham believes a move to United would see the striker fulfil his enormous potential.
"I've always been grateful for guidance Sir Alex Ferguson gave me and never criticised it," said the Real Madrid star.
"When players go through tough times, he is a very strong person. He believes players in his team and at United should be looked after.
"As a young player, Wayne has gone through a lot already. It is all about coming through those kinds of thing and I think Wayne has the strength to do that.
"Without Sir Alex's guidance, the players from my time would not have grown up as we have done."
With Tuesday's transfer deadline looming, Ferguson is hopeful The Red Devils can complete their swoop of the England goalscorer and believes Rooney will give him the options he wants in the striking department.
"We are hoping to get an agreement with Everton over Wayne Rooney," said Ferguson.
"If we do sign him, I will be very happy with the squad we have got here.
"I believe it will be just as strong as we had in 1999. Both squads have really good talent, although it is difficult to compare players.
"But what I will have again is four top strikers to choose from. It will give us strength and a lot of options."
greycat87
29-08-2004, 02:07 AM
http://fans.muweekly.com/zbbs/uploads/av-1526.jpg
=p
AhHuat
29-08-2004, 02:21 AM
http://fans.muweekly.com/zbbs/uploads/av-1526.jpg
=p
prefer he wear 9 leh...lol 9 got pple wear?
Alienz
29-08-2004, 02:21 AM
Originally posted by RVN
not for 25m to 30m, its an absurb price for an 18-year old. when there are other positions in the team that need to be strengthen, like defence and midfield. :mad:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif
Alienz
29-08-2004, 02:26 AM
Originally posted by AhHuat
prefer he wear 9 leh...lol 9 got pple wear?
Louis Saha wear no.9
AhHuat
29-08-2004, 02:28 AM
Louis Saha wear no.9
oh paisey lol
:D
usjag_18
29-08-2004, 02:52 AM
Originally posted by RVN
totally agree.... too much for a youngster. But like wat i said b4, if he can prove he's an asset, then 25m is coolx. However, if he doesn't perform, then it's a liability. No point taking in an extra liability.
Btw, what's the formation for Man Utd 2dae?
Regards,
O'
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 03:31 AM
Originally posted by RVN
yes 25million will be alot to gamble on a teenager...but so far he has proven to be someone special...u wan to wait until some other club snatch him away then he become a world beater and start regreting? it's a gamble u hav to take....
but so far we hav no suitable personel and we hav capable cover for all the area...maybe u can tell mi which area we should improve?
furthermore...i believe fergie know wat he is doing and knowwat's best for the team
AhHuat
29-08-2004, 03:34 AM
yes 25million will be alot to gamble on a teenager...but so far he has proven to be someone special...u wan to wait until some other club snatch him away then he become a world beater and start regreting? it's a gamble u hav to take....
but so far we hav no suitable personel and we hav capable cover for all the area...maybe u can tell mi which area we should improve?
furthermore...i believe fergie know wat he is doing and knowwat's best for the team
:cool:
cutter
29-08-2004, 08:13 AM
at that price, Rooney MUST deliver to meet expectations... just like Rio, Veron, RvN, Andy Cole, Keano and any other record transfer footballer. Smith (who is admittedly older and and more mature) does not have the millstone of a huge/record pricetag to pressurise him, even Cristiano Ronaldo came in knowing that there are a few other more costly players before him.
Rooney... with his Gazza-like reputation at only 18 years old and suspect temperament (esp the way he was charging into tackles like a rookie madman at Euro2004), I'm going to hold further judgement beyond my current skepticism until he can show that he can handle the pressure and perform like Ronaldo has.
Still a risk... but one which only a few clubs like Utd can afford to take. Worth trying.
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has indicated that he does not expect any movement on the Wayne Rooney transfer saga before tomorrow.
United moved in with a second bid last night, which is higher than Newcastle's, according to Everton.
That was believed to be £23.5million for the 18-year-old England striker, who has handed in a transfer request.
Speaking before the second bid was lodged, Ferguson told the Manchester-based Sunday Pink: "It is unlikely anything will be concluded before Monday.
"I definitely think it is unlikely. Everton are obviously going to try to get as much as they can out of it, we have got a price and we will not be going above that.
"Tomorrow is a Bank Holiday so medicals are going to be difficult but you have a full day to do that.
"There is a 12 o'clock deadline on Tuesday so really you have got a whole day to get the medical done."
United chief executive David Gill is trying to hammer out a deal with Everton chairman Bill Kenwright before the transfer window closes.
Ferguson added: "We know where we are but that is David's job at the end of the day.
"He is the one who is negotiating, he and Bill Kenwright will be the ones who decide the price not David Moyes (Everton manager) and me."
http://www.ananova.com/sport/soccer/story/sm_1083708.html?menu=sport.football
Ronaldo7
29-08-2004, 10:37 AM
However, it was understood that Everton were awaiting the entrance of a third - as yet unnamed - club to enter what had been a two-horse race between Manchester United and Newcastle United.
wtf ?
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 10:39 AM
look like everton gng to hold on until they get a crazy amount of $$....it gng to backfire if they dun get ronney out by tue.....his vaule gng to drop drastically when the nx window open.....
cutter
29-08-2004, 12:38 PM
wtf ?
Chow-si lor... Moyes himself last month indicated that "only one club" could afford to buy Rooney... they are probably hoping that RA will come in with a last minute deal to meet the BNP of 25 or 30 mil (whichever rumoured figure u believe)
bplus73
29-08-2004, 01:56 PM
I think is a good candidate for Scholes relacement. But may be just too expensive as already double the price of Ronaldo.
greycat87
29-08-2004, 02:09 PM
Guys... i'm looking for a picture of the Red Devil to complete the Man Utd sig i'm making... but i can't find it anywhere... can u guys help me?
usjag_18
29-08-2004, 02:15 PM
look like everton gng to hold on until they get a crazy amount of $$....it gng to backfire if they dun get ronney out by tue.....his vaule gng to drop drastically when the nx window open.....
I think Everton's plab will definitely backfire if they are waiting for the "only club that can afford Rooney" which Chelsea to follow the chase. Moreover, it's ridiculous to ask for anymore than 23.5m, I think they are totally crazy and unreasonable. Even though Rooney might be an asset, but he's still have that vigourous tempered that either can help him or harm him. But that's what make Man Utd special than others. Man Utd always got able to show the best of them. So I guess Sir Alex Fergie will be able to curb his problem for that.
However, we may not get him if Everton continue acting stubbornly.
Rgds,
O'
Guys... i'm looking for a picture of the Red Devil to complete the Man Utd sig i'm making... but i can't find it anywhere... can u guys help me?
How about this
http://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/reddevil.gif
Everton striker Wayne Rooney says he is "disappointed" with the way the club have handled his transfer request.
Newcastle and Manchester United want to sign the 18-year-old who requested a transfer on Friday, and fans chanted abuse about him during Saturday's game.
"I am absolutely gutted at what is happening here. It is clear that it's time for me to leave Everton," he said.
"I'm disappointed at some of the things that Everton have said, especially considering that I know the truth."
Rooney's performances for England at Euro 2004 thrust him into the world spotlight, and his future has been the subject of debate ever since.
But Everton manager David Moyes has made it clear he will not be pressurised into allowing the striker to leave unless it is for the right price.
"He feels he will be better to move on, but if we do not get the fee we want then we will stop him leaving before the deadline," he said last week.
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has continued the club's hard sell of itself to Rooney.
Following on from United manager Sir Alex Ferguson's claim that Rooney would give him a squad as good as the one that won the treble in 1999, Gill said Rooney would benefit more from moving to Old Trafford than Newcastle.
"It's not just the size of Manchester United - but Wayne would have the chance to work with Sir Alex, who has a track record when it comes to dealing with young players and making them even better," Gill told Daily Star Sunday.
"Wayne would also be playing alongside world-class players like Ruud van Nistelrooy and Paul Scholes.
"And his commercial value would be enhanced by becoming a Manchester United player.
"No disrespect to Newcastle, but we can also offer Wayne Champions League football.
"We would hope Wayne would want to come here and we have a powerful all-round package to offer him.
"We hope something can be sorted out before Tuesday's deadline."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3609310.stm
greycat87
29-08-2004, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
How about this
http://members.lycos.co.uk/mufcdevil/net/reddevil.gif
Thanks but i'm looking for something like the devil inside the united logo
http://www.beckfoot.ngfl.ac.uk/Bus_Ecoweb/Bus_Eco_images/man_u_logo.gif
AhHuat
29-08-2004, 03:07 PM
wtf ?
omg...could it be another " ronaldinho kena snatched away "
case?
i hope manu and everton can settle damn deal faster man :mad:
usjag_18
29-08-2004, 03:08 PM
If I am Rooney, I will be disappointed with my boyhood's club too... How can someone stop another person from leaving and get better chances to win something in their lives.
I think Everton is just trying to wait for Chelsea to pay enormous amount for Rooney, then I think they will be disappointed. I got a feeling Chelsea will be slowing down their transactions due to the current CL problems they are having. They need to solve the problems b4 bothering such matters.
D.Moyes is an id***. He said b4 that he will do the same thing for Rooney (like making him to become a better player) what Sir Alex Ferguson do to R.Giggs. But seriously, he doesn't have to ability like Sir Alex Ferguson. LIke what D.Gills and many had said before, Fergie is the one of the few person able to make those youngsters to show their potential even better.
So, ROONEY, FIGHT FOR WHAT U WANNA, COME TO MAN UTD! wahahaa.. I have gone NUTS! (It's not as if W.Rooney is coming to this website.=p
O'
Ronaldo7
29-08-2004, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by AhHuat
omg...could it be another " ronaldinho kena snatched away "
case?
i hope manu and everton can settle damn deal faster man :mad:
now it's all up to rooney to decide where he wants to go . if his heart is set on joining us , even if another club come in with a bigger bid , it's still useless :rolleyes:
I won't be too disappointed if Man Utd does not land Rooney. Rather SAF spend on another defender and creative midfielder.
Even tho the blackburn match was juz a draw. I actually feel Man Utd are starting to get stronger.
The match againist Everton will have a lot of impact. Will this rooney saga spur the Everton team to outperform themselves?
Kyubi
29-08-2004, 04:54 PM
Originally posted by pale
I won't be too disappointed if Man Utd does not land Rooney. Rather SAF spend on another defender and creative midfielder.
Even tho the blackburn match was juz a draw. I actually feel Man Utd are starting to get stronger.
The match againist Everton will have a lot of impact. Will this rooney saga spur the Everton team to outperform themselves? lolz .. get left winger mah .. zz
Alienz
29-08-2004, 04:57 PM
lolz .. get left winger mah .. zz
http://smiley.onegreatguy.net/agreed.gif
if possible, get a left winger that also can play on the right side ;)
usjag_18
29-08-2004, 06:32 PM
now it's all up to rooney to decide where he wants to go . if his heart is set on joining us , even if another club come in with a bigger bid , it's still useless :rolleyes:
Agreed.
Others who said they won't get disappointed even Man Utd doesn't got Rooney. I won't get disappointed too. Me too rather wanna someone that can replaced R.Giggs when he decided to retired or being rested or even when he got injuries. But I don't think Man Utd will get another left winger now. Even they do, I dun think it will be done in short term. He's more like planning 4 the future than now.
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 09:09 PM
yes we need a left-winger to replace giggs in the future....but giggs at least can play another 2 yrs of top flight football...there is no immediate rush to replace him futhermore ronaldo fortune can play at left as well....
whereas for talented footballer,especially young talented footballer dun come every year and easily....my stand is we should get rooney rather then seeing him develop into a worldbeater in other clubs....
guoquanyap
29-08-2004, 09:13 PM
dunno whether tml match vs everton got live or not....expect a hostile atmosphere nan....
Just say on sky sports news that everton still think our 2nd bid of £25m for Rooney is still short of their valuation, greedy pricks, I say stop the deal. :mad:
Kyubi
29-08-2004, 10:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Just say on sky sports news that everton still think our 2nd bid of £25m for Rooney is still short of their valuation, greedy pricks, I say stop the deal. :mad: yup .. stop the bid !
25m is too much even for rooney....at the current market..:mad:
Totti76
29-08-2004, 10:55 PM
I really dunnoe why english players cost so much?? not a world class player(yet). £25-30 milllion?? :rolleyes:
I say why not player like Aimar, Kaka, Tevez, etc. May b these few r not for sale but i believe they r a few more...if we got better scouts who goes to spain, italy, brazil, arg etc & not stay in UK.
I know I know...u guys must think that I play CM4 too much...
but hey I sure u try to change the team too right n buy some spain or italy player right? Times hv change....even our country hv "quality" foreign import to make us a better nation...
why Quality?? If u say flecther is good enough to cement the right side his own ...then i hv nothing to say. He may walk into many team in ELP but in Utd...i thk we need better..Ronaldo yes...someone like that...I noe i gg to get alot of bomb here...hehe but its hurts me to see Utd in such state...
May b i will ask u guys....is there any changes u like to see in the !team???
Me..I say
1)GK...Howard..gd...but sure there is someone who can turn defence into attack in one long throw...Miss the Great Dane
2)Right back...sorry Gary...but i think u spend more time complainin then playing...(think he kana scold by SAF against Rover - he try to kick the ball away when a foul is given against Utd...I din make it up..I always look n listen carefully when the game is on...tell u more what i find out later)
3)Def Mid...Keano old liao...Give me Gattuso any time
4)Creative mid...
What I hv found out from live matches??
1)Smith like to scold at ref..."WATS THAT FOR!!" in his Leeds day...:D
2) Arsenal...esp home ground...when a team try to shoot at ars goal...i will hear a lady scream.."Ahhh..."
:laugh: always the same scream...try listen to it next time
actually quite irritating...wish the ball hit her face n shut her up...hahaha....
guoquanyap
30-08-2004, 12:16 AM
yes more than 25million pound is surely too much...we can play the waiting game....
RuMmYtUb
30-08-2004, 12:22 AM
If not Rooney i also won't be sad... Spend the money on Joaquin or van der Vaart..
We already missed out soild midfielders/fowards like Ronaldinho and Robben... Hope either one of those prodiges joins us
orca_sea
30-08-2004, 01:10 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb
If not Rooney i also won't be sad... Spend the money on Joaquin or van der Vaart..
We already missed out soild midfielders/fowards like Ronaldinho and Robben... Hope either one of those prodiges joins us
I wonder y there iz Man U iz nt interested in the current Argentina play-maker Carlos Tevez who iz the player of the tournament for Olympics... mayb bcos of the Veron case?? He(Tevez) do look gd man for our team :D
orca_sea
30-08-2004, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by Totti76
I really dunnoe why english players cost so much?? not a world class player(yet). £25-30 milllion?? :rolleyes:
I say why not player like Aimar, Kaka, Tevez, etc. May b these few r not for sale but i believe they r a few more...if we got better scouts who goes to spain, italy, brazil, arg etc & not stay in UK.
I know I know...u guys must think that I play CM4 too much...
but hey I sure u try to change the team too right n buy some spain or italy player right? Times hv change....even our country hv "quality" foreign import to make us a better nation...
why Quality?? If u say flecther is good enough to cement the right side his own ...then i hv nothing to say. He may walk into many team in ELP but in Utd...i thk we need better..Ronaldo yes...someone like that...I noe i gg to get alot of bomb here...hehe but its hurts me to see Utd in such state...
May b i will ask u guys....is there any changes u like to see in the !team???
Me..I say
1)GK...Howard..gd...but sure there is someone who can turn defence into attack in one long throw...Miss the Great Dane
2)Right back...sorry Gary...but i think u spend more time complainin then playing...(think he kana scold by SAF against Rover - he try to kick the ball away when a foul is given against Utd...I din make it up..I always look n listen carefully when the game is on...tell u more what i find out later)
3)Def Mid...Keano old liao...Give me Gattuso any time
4)Creative mid...
What I hv found out from live matches??
1)Smith like to scold at ref..."WATS THAT FOR!!" in his Leeds day...:D
2) Arsenal...esp home ground...when a team try to shoot at ars goal...i will hear a lady scream.."Ahhh..."
:laugh: always the same scream...try listen to it next time
actually quite irritating...wish the ball hit her face n shut her up...hahaha....
Interesting analogy hahaha.. i must say Tevez iz realli gd.. nt onli in CM onli hahaha :laugh: :laugh:
Kyubi
30-08-2004, 01:21 AM
Interesting analogy hahaha.. i must say Tevez iz realli gd.. nt onli in CM onli hahaha :laugh: :laugh: yeah tevez is gd
padixiong
30-08-2004, 09:57 AM
strangely is that it seems SAF hav see liam miller or djemba as a suitable replacment for keane ... OMG!!! i think these 2 need to prove themself in the lower league first b4 even qualify to play for man utd ..
cracker
30-08-2004, 10:24 AM
Why is the Man Utd-Everton match is played on a Monday afternoon (Spore time 1900) in UK ?
guoquanyap
30-08-2004, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by cracker
Why is the Man Utd-Everton match is played on a Monday afternoon (Spore time 1900) in UK ?
early kick-0ff lor...cos we kick one match less becos of CL...and coming wks there will be no domestic matches all world cup Q....
cracker
30-08-2004, 11:49 AM
early kick-0ff lor...cos we kick one match less becos of CL...and coming wks there will be no domestic matches all world cup Q....
Just checked my diary...today is UK (excluding Scotland) Summer Bank Holiday...meaning no work in England.....
which explains the noon kickoff !:)
vivre
30-08-2004, 12:27 PM
It's a holiday in UK... therefore can play mid-day match.
RuMmYtUb
30-08-2004, 12:28 PM
I wonder y there iz Man U iz nt interested in the current Argentina play-maker Carlos Tevez who iz the player of the tournament for Olympics... mayb bcos of the Veron case?? He(Tevez) do look gd man for our team :D
:laugh:
Guess SAF is just afraid of another South American flop.. just as some of the fans do
CatLuVer
30-08-2004, 12:46 PM
guys do u know where to buy the new Man U track suit. thks:)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39981000/gif/_39981642_mutd_ev_150.gif
Manchester United could hand a first start of the season to striker Louis Saha, who came off the bench at half-time at Blackburn on Saturday.
Kleberson could make way for the Frenchman with Paul Scholes dropping into a deeper midfielder role.
Everton will welcome back defender Gary Naysmith for the trip to Old Trafford after he served a suspension.
Boss David Moyes has no new injury or suspension worries and Leon Osman should keep his place in the midfield.
Everton (from): Martyn, Naysmith, Hibbert, Pistone, Stubbs, Yobo, Weir, Osman, Gravesen, Carsley, Kilbane, Campbell, Ferguson, Bent, Wright, Watson, McFadden, Clarke.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3586188.stm
RuMmYtUb
30-08-2004, 01:10 PM
Saha, Ronaldo, Giggs, Ronaldo and Scholes...
Wanna see GOALS!
Seals
30-08-2004, 01:21 PM
got live???
Alienz
30-08-2004, 01:26 PM
HEINZE PUTS OFF DEBUT... AGAIN!
Manchester United defender (allegedly) Gabriel Heinze has put off his debut for his new club again and insists he has to play for Argentina in World Cup Qualifiers. After securing his Olympic gold medal yesterday in Athens, Heinze will be continuing international action for Marcelo Bielsa's side against Peru on September 2nd. "I have to play for Argentina. I don't make the schedules. It is a problem for FIFA, for the federations and for the clubs." "After the Olympics, I will go straight to Argentina to prepare for the World Cup match on September 4 and after that I will go to Manchester." The versatile 26-year old has already infuriated boss Sir Alex Ferguson for deciding to play in the Olympics let-alone the Copa America tournament. But Heinze aims not to have a rest and get back into action as soon as possible. "I took a lot of hits and bruises in the final. My body aches but I'm fine, I'm young. I feel like I could play right now." He added: "I am looking forward to getting to England and play for Manchester United. They are the greatest club in the country. "It has always been one of my goals to play in the Premiership. It is the best league in the world"
www.sportnetwork.net
Originally posted by Seals
got live???
7.00pm on ESPN.
Raul7
30-08-2004, 02:18 PM
Originally posted by RVN
7.00pm on ESPN.
ho sei..after work rush home and see...hahaha...alan smith........:D
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.