PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

kengbeng
29-09-2004, 06:16 PM
Bellion has to work on his skills and passing. More often than not, he had dribbled the ball into the opposition players when passing was a better choice. (Not that he had Ronaldo's dribbling skills anyway.) And when he did pass the ball, he was guilty of several lazy passes that either puts another team-mate in a awkward situation or gives the ball away to the opponent. Having said that, his finishing is impressive, as seen from his record so far this season.

So there's plenty of room for improvement. He really has to work on these areas in order to convince United fans, because this Bellion today is still the same one last season (no improvement at all!). Hopefully he'll realise that and improve with the experience of playing.

padixiong
29-09-2004, 06:50 PM
Originally posted by 1920_me
I THINK kleberson did well today...bellion has had a few odd displays...but its fergie choice who to keep and who not to keep

is kleberson a DMC or AMC ! ?

1920_me
29-09-2004, 07:03 PM
More of AMC....

usjag_18
29-09-2004, 09:00 PM
Fergie Wraps Rooney In Cotton Wool

United v Fenerbahce: Match Reaction

Sir Alex Ferguson threw a protective arm around Wayne Rooney after watching the 18-year-old score a hat-trick on his United debut.

The Reds boss attempted to keep a lid on the hype that is likely to follow an admittedly enthralling debut performance.

"There is nothing I can do to stop you saying what you want about the boy, and rightly so," Ferguson told the assembled press after the match. "I'd rather talk about the game in general."

Ferguson spoke very highly of the £27million signing before the match, but couldn't have imagined his decision to sign Rooney a year earlier than previously planned would begin to pay off so readily.

And it was the teenager's extraordinary start to his Old Trafford career that prompted Ferguson not to go overboard in his public praise of Rooney.

Sir Alex is already known to have limited the teenager's exposure to the press - as was done with Ryan Giggs, and more recently, Cristiano Ronaldo.

"The important thing for me as a coach is to try and allow him to develop naturally without too much press and public attention - to just be as ordinary as possible."

The decision to start Rooney against Fenerbahce was initiated by Ferguson's decision to leave the striker out of his squad's Premiership visit to Tottenham on Saturday.

Sir Alex explained: "By not playing Rooney on Saturday, he was able to get in a few good training sessions. I think that helped him tonight.

"He obviously tired in the last 20 minutes. But, given that it was his first game since the European Championships, we expected that. I think he can only get stronger now."

Having watch Ruud van Nistelrooy and Rooney notch four goals between them, Ferguson was understandably delighted with the partnership the two struck up. "The partnership between Rooney and van Nistelrooy was excellent," he said.

"Our attacking play was the real feature of the game, it was very, very good. But it was Fenerbahce's set-piece moves that kept us under pressure in the second half."

Ferguson's team selection raised a few eyebrows - not because he had decided to start Rooney - but because the likes of Keane and Ronaldo and Wes Brown were missing, while Gary Neville was thrust back into action after recovering from a hairline fracture of his knee cap earlier this month.

"It was one of these situations that was forced upon me," Fergie said. "Wes Brown had picked up a calf strain. Gary Neville has trained for the past week, but there was a bit of risk to that part.

"I felt that the number of games Roy [Keane] has played so far this season made it a good time to give him a break. And I also wanted to see how Kleberson has come on in centre midfield. A lot of the games he has played for us so far have not been in centre.

"I think the boy is a really good talent, and I think he showed that. In the case of Ronaldo, we all know he needs to be given a rest."

Source (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=108897&itype=466&icategoryid=122)

Thinker
29-09-2004, 09:14 PM
Originally posted by pale
Hmmmm....Bellion a ****ty player? with comparsion to who? Rooney? RVN? C.Ronaldo?

Get your perspective right b4 you label players sh***ty.

Bellion natural posotion is striker. If you look at his goal:Match ratio. I think u'll be suprised.

Personally...I'm sick of ppl giving our players stick when they dun deserve it. So when Rooney or RVN stop scoring for a few games. Will u label them as crap or sh**?

STAND BEHIND YOUR TEAM and YOUR PLAYERS.

I understand your concerns, but Bellion is simply not in the same standing as the other 5 strikers.

His finishing is good, but his all-round ability is sorely lacking, and with competitiveness of the EPL, it's hard to survive in the long term. He might end up as a gimmick just like Jordi.

ragnarok95
29-09-2004, 09:20 PM
bellion is diff fr jordi..bellion is better, consider the number of goals he had under his belt...its just sad that man u have too many good striker around that he dun really have a chance to perform.

and yes, kleberson is a DM player...

usjag_18
29-09-2004, 09:40 PM
Bellion did try to provide the ball for his team-mates, but I guess it's also partly luck and also his way of playing is totally different. He's more like hoping that the team-mates will be able to understand what he wanna 2 do. But it's not that easy because he seldom play, so his team-mates willl never have guess what he intend to do sia.

But I guess he needs more time to be nurtured.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
29-09-2004, 10:34 PM
United target Asian market

Manchester United will launch an Asian charm offensive next summer in a bid to extend their 40 million fan base in the region.

Precise details of next July's tour are still to be finalised but United are set to play in China and Japan, countries where they believe there is most room for expansion.

Sir Alex Ferguson has taken his team to the United States for the last two summers, although this year's trip fell some way short of the phenomenally successful expedition in 2003 that saw the Red Devils play a series thrilling, high-scoring encounters to packed houses.

The anonymity of the USA will be missing in Asia, where the opposition has also still to be determined, but with United's board looking to make up a £14m shortfall in revenue, the trip should have significant financial benefits both in the short and long term.

"We want our tours to create a halo effect," said United commercial director Andy Anson. "We have some key international territories and Asia is one of them.

"There are millions of mad, passionate Manchester United fans in that part of the world and I think we are currently under-serving them. We are trying to create a sense of excitement in our target markets, so when we do go on tour we will make sure plenty of the media content we create around it will be directed at the relevant local markets."

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040929/1/6scq.html

alvinoyw
29-09-2004, 10:40 PM
LOL speaking of Jordi Cryuff, after he left man utd he put the words Jordi instead of Cryuff at the back of his shirt. I guess he didn't want to xia suay his legendary father :laugh:

AhGoh
29-09-2004, 10:45 PM
wow you guys sure can come up with reasons to back Bellion up just bcos he's a UTD player :laugh: I am a Utd fan myself but lets face it, Bellion is just another Forlan and its just a matter of time before he leaves also.

Bellion = Forlan's hopeless first touch + Baros' straight line running(minus the little skill and vision that baros has) + phil's hopeless crossing skills
good goal ratio? forlan scored quite a few also! Maybe both of them visit the same church, 2 lucky chaps who once in a while happen to be at the right place at the right time. lets see how long more SAF can stand this bellion before showing him the door :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
29-09-2004, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by padixiong

is kleberson a DMC or AMC ! ?

To be precise it's DM/RC

Defensive Midfielder right/centre

Thinker
29-09-2004, 10:59 PM
Looks like Man U signed Rooney's younger brother, who is reportedly more talented than wayne himself.

orca_sea
29-09-2004, 11:05 PM
Originally posted by Thinker
Looks like Man U signed Rooney's younger brother, who is reportedly more talented than wayne himself.

:laugh: :laugh:

orca_sea
29-09-2004, 11:07 PM
Anyway we r gonna goin to taste Boro's blood tiz wkend!!! hahahaha :evil: :evil:

Ronaldo7
29-09-2004, 11:09 PM
boro won't be easy . they always seem to perform well against us in recent seasons . can't wait to see ronaldo and roonaldo playing together :eek:

usjag_18
29-09-2004, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by alvinoyw
LOL speaking of Jordi Cryuff, after he left man utd he put the words Jordi instead of Cryuff at the back of his shirt. I guess he didn't want to xia suay his legendary father :laugh:

Maybe he just wanna 2 be HIMSELF? To think he has such a legendary father, no matter how good he is, he is still count as lousy compared to his father. I guess if he is treated as an individual and not compared to his father, he will be much more happier and able to perform better.

As for Ah Goh's comment on how Man Utd fan supporting D.Bellion, you don't have to keep emphasising u are a man utd fan. Even U are not, that's your thinking. We like to think D.Bellion in our own ways. We are not stopping people giving comments but no point insulting them. It's good that U commented on his skills.

RVN
29-09-2004, 11:16 PM
Bellion has 4 goals for us though despite spending more time on the bench. level with Ruud too. :eek:

Top scorers:
Alan Smith: 5
Ruud van Nistelrooy: 4
David Bellion: 4
Wayne Rooney: 3
Ryan Giggs: 2
Mikael Silvestre: 2
Gabriel Heinze: 1
Own goal: 1

http://www.manutdzone.com

orca_sea
29-09-2004, 11:20 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Bellion has 4 goals for us though despite spending more time on the bench. level with Ruud too. :eek:

Top scorers:
Alan Smith: 5
Ruud van Nistelrooy: 4
David Bellion: 4
Wayne Rooney: 3
Ryan Giggs: 2
Mikael Silvestre: 2
Gabriel Heinze: 1
Own goal: 1

http://www.manutdzone.com

Yup.. we cnt overlook Bellion's contribution.. i tink he's more consistent than Forlan.. n more effective oso.. i strongly believe if he is given more chance to play.. he will definitely get better furthermore he got 1 strength.. his youth .. our future iz gonna b veri bright :D

derrace
29-09-2004, 11:22 PM
nice goals from the match.

btw, does anyone has a better clip of rooney's freekick?

greycat87
29-09-2004, 11:26 PM

Chun bo?! :eek:

alvinoyw
29-09-2004, 11:32 PM
We should just buy his whole family and make them give birth to more baby Rooneys for our academy.

usjag_18
29-09-2004, 11:35 PM
Originally posted by Ronaldo7
boro won't be easy . they always seem to perform well against us in recent seasons . can't wait to see ronaldo and roonaldo playing together :eek:

That's because their current manager, Steve McClaren, is our assistant manager marh. So, he should know more about our OLDER players and OLD strategy. But currently, he doesn't know C.Ronaldo, W.Rooney(maybe a little bit because of England team but still not so much about club playing), G.Heinze. But I was thinking whether will SAF will let the same team that defeats Fenerbahce to play again or he will make some changes.

I think maybe E.Djemba^2 & D.Bellion will be replaced by R.Keane and C.Ronaldo respectively. Whereas the back-four will be having a slight changing. Maybe J.O'shea will replaced M.Silvestre for this game.

What do u guys think?

-------------------------R.Carroll-------------------------

------G.Neville-----R.Ferdinand-----G.Heinze-----J.O'Shea------

-----C.Ronaldo-----R.Keane-----J.Kleberson-----R.Giggs-----

----------Ruud V.Nistelrooy----------W.Rooney**----------

Subs:- P.Neville, W.Brown, R.Lopez, D.Bellion and A.Smith
**might be A.Smith instead of W.Rooney, maybe will rest him.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
29-09-2004, 11:46 PM

Can U please give the source of your news?:confused:

orca_sea
29-09-2004, 11:50 PM
My pick will b as follows:

------G.Neville-----R.Ferdinand-----M.Silvestre-----G.Heinze------

-----C.Ronaldo-----R.Keane------W.Rooney---------R.Giggs-----

----------Ruud V.Nistelrooy----------A.Smith-----------------------

Subs:- P.Neville, W.Brown, R.Lopez, D.Bellion and A.Smith,J.Kleberson

RVN
29-09-2004, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by usjag_18

Can U please give the source of your news?:confused:

It was from the sun. :rolleyes:

this is the full story.

Manchester United have signed another Rooney - Wayne's little brother. And the Old Trafford side believe 13-year-old John could be even better than his hat-trick hero brother. John, an attacking midfielder, has moved from Everton to join Man Utd's youth academy.

An Old Trafford source told The Sun: "John is a great little player and talent obviously runs in the family.

"He's coming along really well. Don't be surprised if the Rooney brothers lead Manchester United out in a European Cup Final at some point."

Wayne, John and brother Graham, 16, are all talented sportsmen after being encouraged to play football and box by their father.

United signed the England striker for £30m in the summer and he has already made an impact.

The teenager scored a hat-trick on his debut in the 6-2 viictory over Fenerbahce in the Champions League.

usjag_18
30-09-2004, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by RVN

It was from the sun. :rolleyes:

this is the full story.

Manchester United have signed another Rooney - Wayne's little brother. And the Old Trafford side believe 13-year-old John could be even better than his hat-trick hero brother. John, an attacking midfielder, has moved from Everton to join Man Utd's youth academy.

An Old Trafford source told The Sun: "John is a great little player and talent obviously runs in the family.

"He's coming along really well. Don't be surprised if the Rooney brothers lead Manchester United out in a European Cup Final at some point."

Wayne, John and brother Graham, 16, are all talented sportsmen after being encouraged to play football and box by their father.

United signed the England striker for £30m in the summer and he has already made an impact.

The teenager scored a hat-trick on his debut in the 6-2 viictory over Fenerbahce in the Champions League.

Apparently, they took down this news. Because I can't find it @ their online website @ all. Thanks anyway.

Rgds
O'

hush66
30-09-2004, 02:00 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea

Wah! We have 2 A. Smiths in our club huh? Alan and Andy huh? :rolleyes:

RuMmYtUb
30-09-2004, 02:01 AM

Eh Rooney play a deeper role, make it like 4-3-1-2... playing off RvN and Smith...

Schwarzer's gonna have a busy afternoon :D

orca_sea
30-09-2004, 02:09 AM
Originally posted by hush66

Wah! We have 2 A. Smiths in our club huh? Alan and Andy huh? :rolleyes:

Oops! hahaha mi mistake :laugh: :laugh: :rolleyes:

orca_sea
30-09-2004, 02:11 AM
Originally posted by RuMmYtUb

Eh Rooney play a deeper role, make it like 4-3-1-2... playing off RvN and Smith...

Yah tatz gd oso.. or we can adopt Diamond formation so our wingers can b utilise fully ;)

usjag_18
30-09-2004, 04:20 AM

ermm, that's a good idea too... Then mebbe W.Rooney can attack from long distance whereas Ruud V.Nistelrooy and A.Smith can attack with penalty box which means GOALS CAN BE FROM ANYWHERE. hehehee...=p, plus R.Giggs & C.Ronaldo. Indeed, this is one of the stronger attacking format for currently and also M.Schwarzer will really have a buzy day!!! :evil:

Rgds,
O'

asantosa
30-09-2004, 10:33 AM
Heard Saha has back from injury.
who do you think is better to partner ruud, saha or smith?

Dolphin1977
30-09-2004, 11:47 AM

Apparently, they took down this news. Because I can't find it @ their online website @ all. Thanks anyway.

Rgds
O'

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2-2004451891,00.html

ragnarok95
30-09-2004, 11:53 AM
e whole family of rooney is moving to manchester.

RuMmYtUb
30-09-2004, 11:54 AM

Yah tatz gd oso.. or we can adopt Diamond formation so our wingers can b utilise fully ;)

Yup, and Keano protecting the back four :D

usjag_18
30-09-2004, 06:35 PM
Originally posted by asantosa
Heard Saha has back from injury.
who do you think is better to partner ruud, saha or smith?

Ermm...I think SAF won't let L.Saha to play first team match for this week, toooo risky. Moreover, now we got eough of strikers to take over, so it's not really a need.

Anyway, you guys know about K.Cooper (Kenny Cooper), he's from USA too, another striker in our reserves team. I am really hoping to see him and K.Richardson, C.Eagles can play in one of the FA Cup game. To see how good is our future stars. If possible, I think Rossi should also features in the game but I think he's still not name in reserves team. What do U guys think of these 3 players that I mentioned from the reserves team? Got chances to replace our older players in the future or will be sold to other clubs again?

Regards,

O'

RVN
30-09-2004, 06:52 PM

Ermm...I think SAF won't let L.Saha to play first team match for this week, toooo risky. Moreover, now we got eough of strikers to take over, so it's not really a need.

Anyway, you guys know about K.Cooper (Kenny Cooper), he's from USA too, another striker in our reserves team. I am really hoping to see him and K.Richardson, C.Eagles can play in one of the FA Cup game. To see how good is our future stars. If possible, I think Rossi should also features in the game but I think he's still not name in reserves team. What do U guys think of these 3 players that I mentioned from the reserves team? Got chances to replace our older players in the future or will be sold to other clubs again?

Regards,

O'

FA Cup, I think we play mostly our first team, its the Worthignton cup that Fergie will play our reserves players. Cooper is on loan in Academica in Portugal. So I doubt we see him. Would certainly like to see Rossi and also Pique appear though, we already seen Richardson and Eagles appear on the US tour before.

MatrixFanatic
30-09-2004, 07:52 PM

Boro is mad one. Don't know why Manu seems to do so badly against them. *Fingers crossed.*:angel:

ragnarok95
30-09-2004, 09:19 PM
rossi is good, so is c.eagles, dun forget pique

RVN
30-09-2004, 10:32 PM
The tabloids have linked us with Edu and Bolton keeper Jussi Jaaskelainen. :confused:

http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=131079

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=228871&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Bolton+set+Jussi+fee

some rumour say charlton offer a cheeky £7million bid for Saha. :rolleyes:

http://www.fansfc.com/speculation_news.asp?sid=2579

Raul7
30-09-2004, 10:53 PM
Originally posted by MatrixFanatic

Boro is mad one. Don't know why Manu seems to do so badly against them. *Fingers crossed.*:angel:

maybe is the steve mclaren factor...:D

alvinoyw
30-09-2004, 10:53 PM
Edu would be a good signing for us :)

greycat87
30-09-2004, 11:39 PM
If Edu is willing to come why not? but fergie has been told that he has to sell first before he can buy... so i guess if he really goes for edu then maybe p. neville or fortune will go... :(

alvinoyw
30-09-2004, 11:46 PM
Edu should be free if he comes at the end of the season :)

cutieboy86
30-09-2004, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN
The tabloids have linked us with Edu and Bolton keeper Jussi Jaaskelainen. :confused:

http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=131079

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=228871&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Bolton+set+Jussi+fee

dun tink ferguson will let saha go de lar... he had a hard time gettin him frm fulham last jan... and nw he has the dream strike force tt he had tok abt b4 the season start, he can chiong for any titles and beat any team in man utd's way

Ronaldo7
30-09-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by cutieboy86

dun tink ferguson will let saha go de lar... he had a hard time gettin him frm fulham last jan... and nw he has the dream strike force tt he had tok abt b4 the season start, he can chiong for any titles and beat any team in man utd's way

we need 4 strikers in the team . no point getting rooney and selling saha :rolleyes:

cutieboy86
01-10-2004, 12:07 AM
tt's rite... the last time we won the champion league in 1999, man utd oso had 4 strikers in the team... tis season strike force wif rooney in the team nw can say will be better than 1999 season

Alienz
01-10-2004, 01:40 AM
RIO'S KEEN TO BE UNITED CAPTAIN

Manchester United captain-in-waiting Rio Ferdinand has admitted he would be stupid to turn down the skipper's armband at Old Trafford.

While Roy Keane has no immediate intention of relinquishing the captain's responsibility he has held for the past seven years, Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson gave a clear indication of his thoughts for the future by letting Ferdinand lead his side out against Fenerbahce on Tuesday.

Ferdinand has already held down the position at Leeds with success and is viewed as a future England captain by Sven-Goran Eriksson, who is expected to offer the defender an immediate recall for next month's World Cup qualifiers against Wales and Azerbaijan.

Ferguson obviously shares the same opinion as Eriksson about the 25-year-old's leadership qualities and after seeing the defender come through the first two games of the comeback from his eight-month suspension had no hesitation in naming him as captain against the Turks, even though Ryan Giggs and Gary Neville were also in the starting line-up.

Ferdinand insisted he is happy to remain in the ranks behind Keane for as long as the Irishman remains with the Red Devils.

But, with Keane now beyond his 32nd birthday the time for a switch is not far away and the £29million defender has confirmed he would be willing to take the job.

"I would be stupid not to accept the captaincy if it was offered further down the line," he said.

"It was an unbelievable feeling to lead the team out on Tuesday. I didn't know anything about it and I was delighted to be asked to follow the long line of players who have led out a team with such great character and great history.

"To walk out of the tunnel first was great but I will have no problem walking behind Roy Keane against Middlesbrough on Sunday.

"Roy had been a fantastic captain of this club. He has been here for many years and won lots of trophies. The longer he stays here, the better it is for Manchester United."

While Ferdinand will have to be patient if he is to eventually succeed Keane, the honour Ferguson bestowed on him, virtually 12 months to the day since his failure to attend a routine drugs test landed him in such unexpected trouble, is further proof of the Scot's unswerving loyalty.

Ferdinand has already said he owes his manager a huge debt for standing by him during his personal crisis, although he admitted that at no stage did he ever feel Ferguson was not completely supportive of his case.

"To be asked to captain the team just a week after coming off an eight-month ban was a great thing for me," he said.

"It's another example of the way people's faith in me never wavered during the time I was out of the side.

"The way the people treated me at the training ground, the fans, the players and the staff were all first class."

Already Ferdinand has brought a stability to United's rearguard that had been badly missed during his absence.

Even on Tuesday, as Fenerbahce poured forward looking to launch an unlikely comeback, the Red Devils defence failed to buckle completely as it might have done during weeks gone by.

Ferdinand knows he is still some way show of full match sharpness but the organisational qualities that make him such a good captain have bolstered a defence that threatened to cost United any chance of the title before the season was even a month old.

It can hardly be a coincidence that a side that had won just one league game and a couple of low-key Champions League qualifiers all season has suddenly recorded three victories on the trot since Ferdinand returned.

Diplomatically though, the Londoner plays down the impact he has made.

"It is early days into my comeback and the more games I play, the better I will feel," he said.

"I can't do anything about it if people want to assume the improvement is something to do with me - I certainly don't look at the situation in that way.

"Nothing is going to be ironed out in defence overnight. If we have problems at the back it will take longer than one week on the training pitch to correct them.

"All I am thinking about is winning more games and gaining more confidence.

"I am just glad to be back among some great players. The better the results, the happier I will be."

usjag_18
01-10-2004, 03:10 AM
Originally posted by RVN

That's so IMPOSSIBLE, why would SAF want to sell L.Saha when he tried so hard to get hold of him @ that time. Unless he's eyeing on another striker that's even better than L.Saha. Otherwise, he won't be sellng him off, especially, he always emphasing on the need on having 4 strikers on the team. Moreover, currently, our "baby assassin" aka "super-sub", Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, is still injured, so there's no way SAF going 2 get rid of L.Saha. Unless, hehehee... there's someone better coming to our way which is impossible due to the $$$ constrain now....:(

usjag_18
01-10-2004, 03:22 AM
Ermm, I have no idea whether U guys think the same or not, but for me, I definitely feel that way.

Since mebbe E.Cantona onwards, then R.Keane take over. I got a feelings that both of them are FIRED UP... THey are strong in characteristics, haf the power in them to motivate the team. Not saying R.Ferdinand doesn't have these characteristics. But the point I am trying to say, at the SAME TIME, all these two captains also GOT THEMSELVES INTO TROUBLE very OFTEN!!! They are so strong that everyone just dislikes them and causing a lot of trouble. Just imagine, R.Ferdinand not yet become the captain, he already having a ban for 8mths just becos the sh***y FIFA president, Sepp Blatter, insisted that he shall be BANNED and some stupid president of other association going against R.Ferdinand even though Man City got the same problem b4 or even worse. I absolutely have no idea whether is it a curse or a problem for us. Either they LOVE our former captain (Bryan Robson, Bobby Charlton and etc) or they HATE our captains like wanting them to go to H*LL.

I think all those idiO* are so crazy. What do U guys think? :(

Rgds,

O'

RVN
01-10-2004, 04:11 AM
Ruud van Nistelrooy feels there was more to Tuesday's Champions League performance than just Wayne Rooney's hat-trick display.

The Dutchman, who scored his 31st goal in Europe in the 6-2 thrashing of Fenerbahce, acknowledged Rooney deserved the headlines but says there were plenty of other pleasing elements to the night.

Heinze, in particular, produced another steely defensive performance - his arrival appears to have solved the long-standing problem position at left back, while Kleberson showed good vision and some deft touches in midfield.

"There were many plusses," Ruud told MUTV. "It is great to have Rio back and welcome Wayne but it was also good to see Kleberson have such a great game.

"All these things - that is what makes us a team. We had a tough start but hopefully this will get us going."
Impressively, van Nistelrooy has scored four goals in five matches this season after recovering from a hernia injury sustained during pre-season.

"This is my fifth game back. I had no pre-season or friendlies, so I am happy with the way it is going.

"Hopefully I can build on this form as well as the teams form. We did well against Fenerbahce and hopefully we can do the same in the next two games against Sparta."

Suddenly, with three solid victories secured and the additions of Rio Ferdinand and Wayne Rooney, the statistics start shifting in United's favour.

The Reds have conceded just 2 goals at home this term and remain unbeaten at Old Trafford, while Ruud, Smith, Rooney and Bellion have 16 goals between them so far this season.

More importantly, however, it is the manner in which United beat Liverpool and Fenerbahce in particular; Ronaldo enthralling in the Premiership tie, Rooney devastating in Europe.

"It is vital we keep this momentum going against Middlesbrough. We have almost everyone fit now and that will be a key thing to keep this run going on Sunday," added Ruud

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=109291&itype=466&icategoryid=120

usjag_18
01-10-2004, 05:00 AM
Originally posted by RVN

"It is vital we keep this momentum going against Middlesbrough. We have almost everyone fit now and that will be a key thing to keep this run going on Sunday," added Ruud

Totally agree with him. We need to keep this winning thingy goes on. As long as we don't give ways to other teams, I hope we can at least go 2 3rd place for next 2 games. Of course, at the same time, usually, most people will need to hope that other teams will slip their forms. I have no idea which team going to do that. But who cares, all I wanna to know is Man Utd continue with their solid attacking games and also improved a little bit more @ the midfield and also the defending team (especially defending team)hehehee.... :laugh: and most important team spirits of "Red Devils" must CONTINUE TO ROCKS the whole time!!! :evil:

usjag_18
01-10-2004, 05:35 AM

This question been answered by a lot of people, the reason is because of their current manager, Steve McClaren, who used to be our assistant manager before he goes to Boro. ANd also a lot of our older English players, such as Nevilles brothers, P.Scholes, R.Ferdinand, even former player, D.Beckham is playing for him during their times @ England's country team. (Even though Sven Erikkson is the manager of the country team, still, Steve McClaren is the one who knows them better when he's still assistant coach/manager for the England team marh). Like I MENTIONED earlier on, when he's assistant manager, W.Rooney who did play for England before he leave, so I guess he does know a little bit about W.Rooney, so it's not surprising that his team did well against us for the last 2 seasons. So let's not bother so much about it. Because I think this time round, with a more solid team, we should be able to beat them. However, we should not be too happy yet. We still must be careful with their club, especially, now they got two strikers know quite well about our 2 strikers. (M.Viduka and J. Floyd Hasselbaink who knows A.Smith & Ruud V.Nistelrooy better in club & country team respectively).

However, we shall not afraid because their club got a "RED CARD KING", hehehee.....:evil: Mr Frank Queudrue who got more RED CARDS than any of our players for 1 season. Today's UEFA cup, he got his 2nd red card this season. Unbelievable, his total red car @ Boro's career is more than the goals G.Neville ever scored in his career. 5-7 red cards in 3 seasons. What a player, what a player. =p

Rgds,

O'

Ch3tah_39
01-10-2004, 03:01 PM
boro alwez do well against us one lehz.. somemore now playin away rite? hope they keep up wit the form at cL and win boro..:D

IMO man utd 2 : 1 boro.. haha

RVN
01-10-2004, 04:20 PM
We can beat Boro, we are in great scoring-form, time to end our jinx against them, somemore they got injury crisis, hahaha :laugh:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/middlesbrough/3694512.stm

MatrixFanatic
01-10-2004, 06:45 PM
Originally posted by RVN
We can beat Boro, we are in great scoring-form, time to end our jinx against them, somemore they got injury crisis, hahaha :laugh:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/middlesbrough/3694512.stm

Maybe McClaren playing mind games.:o

RVN
01-10-2004, 09:30 PM
Ferguson - Rooney just one of the boys

MANCHESTER, England, Oct 1 (Reuters) - Wayne Rooney will be treated just like any other young Manchester United player, according to his manager Alex Ferguson.
The 18-year-old England striker scored a magnificent hat-trick on his United debut against Fenerbahce in the Champions League on Tuesday.

'It's a straightforward situation,' Ferguson told a news conference on Friday. 'He will have the same treatment as all the young players have had at the club and he will appreciate that.'

Rooney, signed from Everton last month for 27 million pounds ($48.51 million), is fully recovered from the foot injury he suffered at Euro 2004 and is set to make his Premier League debut for United against Middlesbrough on Sunday.

'It's difficult to score hat-tricks nowadays,' Ferguson said. 'You've got to put it into context of how many hat-tricks are scored in a season so that was a marvellous feat.

'The next thing to do now is to let the boy just enjoy his football here. We will give him the same treatment as all the young players.

'There are lot of good, young players in the club, like Cristiano Ronaldo, Darren Fletcher, David Bellion and John O'Shea, and he will be able grow up with them, hopefully for a long, long time.'

United will be without midfielder Paul Scholes (groin), defender Wes Brown (calf) and striker Louis Saha, who is not yet match-fit, against Middlesbrough who have slipped to 11th in the table after two straight defeats.

Ferguson will hope to continue United's recovery from a slow start to the campaign following victories over Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur in the last two league games.

'We don't always have good starts to the season anyway, but when you have the injuries we had at the start of the season then it's unfair to cast your opinion so early,' Ferguson said.

'I always felt that once we got our top players back then you would see the strength of Manchester United.

'We've got to start getting positive results now. We've got the squad to do it. We've got the players and the ability. They are starting to relax and enjoy their football.'

Ferguson confirmed that Ryan Giggs would link up with the Wales squad by Tuesday to prepare for next Saturday's World Cup qualifier against England at Old Trafford, rather than the previous day as Wales had hoped.

'We are just abiding by the FIFA regulations,' Ferguson said. 'Four days before the game he will go there.'

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=312028&cc=4716

MatrixFanatic
01-10-2004, 10:42 PM
Wes brown injured again.:mad:

greycat87
01-10-2004, 11:07 PM
Wes brown injured again.:mad:

God help that guy :rolleyes:

RVN
01-10-2004, 11:11 PM
Hes too injury-prone, think any part of his body cannot stop getting hurt. :rolleyes:

Kyubi
01-10-2004, 11:11 PM
wah y he injured sia .. he played well on the right hand side leh

MatrixFanatic
02-10-2004, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by RVN
Hes too injury-prone, think any part of his body cannot stop getting hurt. :rolleyes:

No more new contract for him liao.:angel:

Ch3tah_39
02-10-2004, 12:10 AM
woah wes gonna injured for how long...:o not again..
he is gd manz

jacqles
02-10-2004, 12:14 AM
my theory of The Wes Brown Cycle is proven correct, once again. :)

RVN
02-10-2004, 03:56 AM
nothing serious about Wes injury. still able to jog and laugh around with his team-mates on Friday. International break coming up anyway, Brown will have 2 weeks of rest to recover. :)

http://tinyurl.com/6telm

http://tinyurl.com/6rryv

greycat87
02-10-2004, 09:14 AM
Is it just me or does Liam Miller looks a lot like Roy Keane?! :laugh:

Ch3tah_39
02-10-2004, 10:51 AM
okie, lucky the injury is not so bad...:D

Ronaldo7
02-10-2004, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by greycat87

more like gary neville :laugh:

RuMmYtUb
02-10-2004, 11:40 AM

more like gary neville :laugh:

Agreed.

kengbeng
02-10-2004, 04:40 PM
http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/sol/shared/img/printer_friendly/sport_logo.gif

Brown 'to leave Man Utd'

England defender Wes Brown looks set to leave Manchester United in January after rejecting a new contract.

The 24-year-old will become a free agent in the summer, but United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said he hoped to recoup some money for the player.

Ferguson told the Guardian newspaper: "We've made the boy an offer and he's turned it down. It's his decision.

"There are no more talks planned that I'm aware of. We'd like to avoid the situation where he leaves on a free."

Brown is believed to be one of the club's lowest earners and is said to have requested a sizeable increase in salary during recent negotiations, a sum United's money men were not willing to meet.

Ferguson said he would still "love" Brown to stay at the club but that "if he wants to look elsewhere, that's up to him".

And he blamed the decision by the United defender on a change in agent.

"He has changed his agent - I don't know why," said Ferguson.

"He's got an agent that has given him advice that I do not understand. I think the problem is with the agent, not the player."

Goalkeeper Roy Carroll is the other main figure out of contract at Old Trafford at the end of the season.

Story from BBC SPORT:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3709464.stm

Published: 2004/10/02 07:44:05 GMT

© BBC MMIV
------------------------

Perhaps it will be better to negotiate a contract with a fixed salary and a bonus based on number of appearances? Especially since the guy is injured ever so often.

greycat87
02-10-2004, 04:58 PM
BBC Sport... is the source accurate?

cracker
02-10-2004, 05:13 PM
Brown to leave????

hmmmm....

Ok lor:)

LiquidSilver
02-10-2004, 05:22 PM
well its BBC (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/3709464.stm)

cutieboy86
02-10-2004, 05:31 PM
Brown snubs United deal
Alex Ferguson has told Wes Brown he can leave Manchester United on a free transfer. The shock news comes after defender Brown refused to sign a new deal with the club. Brown is the lowest-paid first-team player at Old Trafford on £20,000 a week. But United’s new contract offer over four years was barely an improvement on those terms. Brown was furious and turned it down flat. Now boss Ferguson is ready to let the England international go when his current agreement runs out on June 30. Fergie said: "It is his decision. No more talks are scheduled. I would like to avoid the situation of him leaving on a free but if he wants to try elsewhere that’s up to him. But if he wants to stay and enjoy what he’s had for the last few years, that’s fine."
Neil Custis, The Sun

tink is true tt brown goin to leave le... found tis info at man utd official website oso... brown is a gd defender sia

usjag_18
02-10-2004, 06:11 PM
Even though W.Brown is a good player, but his AGENT is a piece of ****. He should have took up the offer. Imagine all this while when he's injured, he still got the $$$ leh, so which means even he's the lowest-paid player, he got $$$ more than injuries. *sigh*

Hope he won't go, but too bad if his agent is a "BLIND mouse".

Rgds,
O'

blizzy
02-10-2004, 06:24 PM
always felt brown was a great potential. but thats the problem. he's a potential. Never did fulfil it. Reminds me of darren anderton...

RVN
02-10-2004, 06:29 PM
Not just Brown but Carroll as well, both of them could be sold in January. as both turned down our new contract offer. :(

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=568041

usjag_18
02-10-2004, 07:12 PM
Originally posted by greycat87

Hehehee.. he does look a bit like the young version of the combination of R.Keane & G.Neville, come to think with it.

Rgds,
O'

jacqles
02-10-2004, 07:19 PM
Carroll deserves something more than being a sub at Man Utd... Ricardo would be good enough

Wes Brown? hahaha. i'd welcome his departure with open arms \o/

Hope he finds a rich club that's willing to give wages just to get injured, rehab, train and appear for 5 times before getting injured again

jacqles
02-10-2004, 07:21 PM
...and not to mention the phenomenal goal scoring ability that he's able to bring along with him during that sub 5 appearances

wrong side of the field though

kengbeng
02-10-2004, 07:29 PM
From http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/041002/4/6u70.html
Brown has switched agents and is now represented by SFX.
No wonder Fergie mentioned the agent. This agent is the same as that of Beckham's. :laugh:

RVN
02-10-2004, 10:24 PM
Wes Brown is very daft and short-sighted if he moves on because of money. :rolleyes:

hes too injury-prone. :rolleyes:

Wes wants to stay though , according to M.E.N

Brown battling to save United career
Stuart Brennan

WES Brown wants to stay at Manchester United - and there is room for manoeuvre over a new contract for the England defender.

It looked like the England defender and goalkeeper Roy Carroll were heading for the Old Trafford exit door when United manager Sir Alex Ferguson said last night they could leave after both turning down new contract offers.

The players' current deals expire next summer, leaving United facing the prospect of both leaving the club on free transfers.

But M.E.N. Sport understands that Brown's agent Paul Martin is expected to meet United chief executive David Gill in the next fortnight to try to break the current stalemate.

Brown, despite being an England international, is still on the contract he signed as a 20-year-old on the fringes of the first team - reported to be £15,000 a week - making him one of the lowest-paid members of the squad.

United are reluctant to up his wage significantly as he continues to suffer from injury problems.

He has been struck down with two cruciate knee ligament injuries and a broken ankle in recent years, as well as a host of smaller niggling injuries. At the moment he is out of action with a calf problem.

Sir Alex fears that the talented England defender, who turns 25 next week, could end up in the same category as Ronny Johnsen.

The Norwegian was released in 2002, despite being highly-rated by the manager, because of his saga of injury problems.

On Brown, Sir Alex said: "We have made the boy an offer and he has turned it down. That's his decision.

"If he wants to try and get something else at the end of the season, that's up to him, there is nothing you can do about modern-day footballers.

"If he wants to stay here and enjoy what he has enjoyed for the last few years here, then fine - we would love that."

Carroll, who has recently become United's No 1 goalkeeper after Tim Howard's gaffes, is also sticking to his guns after turning down a new contract offer.

Says Sir Alex: "We have made Roy Carroll an offer, too. He is in a similar situation to Wes in that he has turned the offer down."

Influence

Trouble over the contracts of two defensive players is not what United need at the moment, with the back four finally getting settled and secure since the return of Rio Ferdinand.

Ferdinand's calming influence has spread throughout the team, and Sir Alex said: "It is mainly the defence that has benefited - that is where the confidence was needed.

"For the last eight months with Rio out of the team, the back four has been fragmented in terms of changes here, there and everywhere.

“There have been a lot of injuries in the back four, and the assurance Rio gives players is definitely transmitted itself right through the back four. “But I also think Gabriel Heinze has been fantastic. He has come in and been an absolute bonus with fantastic performances.

“Rio’s return has been very important but Heinze coming here was important, too.”

Sir Alex also enthused about the state of his whole squad, with players now back from injury, suspension and international duty.

“I think it is a good squad with good ages about it, we have cover in most positions,” he said.

“On the left side, when Quinton Fortune comes back he can cover for Ryan, and young Kieran Richardson is coming on really well.

“And on the right, maybe we don’t have a natural player like Cristiano Ronaldo, but we do have different types of players who can play there – like Darren Fletcher, Liam Miller and David Bellion.”

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/132/132368_brown_battling_to_save_united_career.html

MatrixFanatic
02-10-2004, 10:37 PM
Wes Brown don't leave leh.:mad:

cutieboy86
02-10-2004, 10:58 PM
yar oso hope he dun leave man utd sia... SAF haf put so much faith in him so many times when he injured... like last season when he came back, SAF still protect him and keep faith in him... brown shld at least be glad abt tt and stay put

jacqles
02-10-2004, 11:05 PM
don't understand what you guys want him to stay for :rolleyes:

hope he signs a long-term contract, then we SELL him.

Ronaldo7
03-10-2004, 12:09 AM
he is good lah , but too injury prone liao . it's always sad to see a player that came all the way up from the reserves leave the club :rolleyes:

RVN
03-10-2004, 12:38 AM
If we can afford to pay Ferdinand £90,000 a week for 8 months to sit in the stands and watch some matches plus someone like Phil can pocket £50,000 just for sitting on the bench, surely we can increase Brown's wages. :mad:

hush66
03-10-2004, 12:48 AM
It's not a matter of whether Man Utd can afford to pay him a particular amount of money. It's a matter of whether he's worth that money. In other words, whether the money invested in this player will yield good returns. Given his injury proneness, what's the point of giving him say £50,000 when he's injuried all the time and can't even be on the bench?

Personally, I agree with jacqles. Brown has not turn out consistent performances even when he was injury free.

orca_sea
03-10-2004, 02:21 AM
Haiz onli recently start seeing him starting to play well then he kenna injured again..haiz..sad case leh... i predict mayb Carroll will stay while he goes...:(

Alienz
03-10-2004, 03:29 AM
Originally posted by hush66
It's not a matter of whether Man Utd can afford to pay him a particular amount of money. It's a matter of whether he's worth that money. In other words, whether the money invested in this player will yield good returns. Given his injury proneness, what's the point of giving him say £50,000 when he's injuried all the time and can't even be on the bench?

Personally, I agree with jacqles. Brown has not turn out consistent performances even when he was injury free.
Agree... we cant give efford to give every players high wages.

MatrixFanatic
03-10-2004, 09:09 AM
If brown leaves, then Spector will replace him.

Yellowfin
03-10-2004, 10:48 AM
If Brown want to leave then let him go. He have not prove himself to last one season without being injured.

Man Utd have a few up and coming young defenders, so don't worry.

I believe Brown got a wrong advise from his agent. If Brown have being playing brilliantlly during Rio absent or without being injured.

I believe SAF will offer a contract that will have his wage raise.

Raul7
03-10-2004, 11:46 AM
Aiya that useless brown wants to leave, then let him leave loh...dun think utd need him that much....cannot make it also..wear former stam no. 6 I PUI!!!!!!!:mad:

Yellowfin
03-10-2004, 01:07 PM
Quote "U.S. sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer has lined up a bid worth at least 650 million pounds ($1.17 billion) for the world's richest soccer club, Manchester United , the Financial Mail on Sunday said."

http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4530777,00.html

Not sure whether it is true a not. But he going to take Man Utd to be a private company.

Is it good or bad? I am not sure as I don't know what is his future plan for Man Utd.

RVN
03-10-2004, 01:41 PM
Its real bad, this guy has no long-term interest in United, he just want to make profits for himself, what worst is he could sell some of our assets to line up in his own pockets. :mad:

**** off Glazer. :mad:

yenyenpark
03-10-2004, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by RVN
Its real bad, this guy has no long-term interest in United, he just want to make profits for himself, what worst is he could sell some of our assets to line up in his own pockets. :mad:

**** off Glazer. :mad: think kind of true.. private means he can do anything he wants.. no need to ask any shareholders (who is Manyoo fans most of them)

orca_sea
03-10-2004, 02:27 PM
Originally posted by yenyenpark
think kind of true.. private means he can do anything he wants.. no need to ask any shareholders (who is Manyoo fans most of them)

Ya lor.. hope tiz doesnt happen!:mad:

stam
03-10-2004, 02:41 PM
TONITE : MAN UTD VS BORO!!

padixiong
03-10-2004, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by stam
TONITE : MAN UTD VS BORO!!

we are all looking forward to it .. :D

Ronaldo7
03-10-2004, 04:34 PM
it won't be easy to take over man utd lah :angel:

Kyubi
03-10-2004, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by RVN

**** off Glazer. :mad: if thats so .. better not .!

AhHuat
03-10-2004, 06:01 PM
wat time is the match?

trax06
03-10-2004, 06:13 PM
9.55pm

greycat87
03-10-2004, 06:52 PM
that glazer can go and **** off.... Man Utd should be by the fans and for the fans... i dont wish to see Man Utd become the next Chelsea :mad:

RVN
03-10-2004, 09:45 PM
Man Utd
Carroll , G Neville , Ferdinand , Silvestre , Heinze , Ronaldo , O'Shea , Keane , Giggs , Rooney , Nistelrooy
Subs: Ricardo , Smith , Kleberson , Djemba-Djemba , Fortune

Boro without Hasselbaink and Viduka. :D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/bsp/hi/football/statistics/teams/m/man_utd/html/live_hi.stm

cutieboy86
03-10-2004, 09:52 PM
wat is the team line up tontie

guoquanyap
03-10-2004, 09:53 PM
the power of Rs today....Ronaldo, Rooney and Ruud!!

Kyubi
03-10-2004, 10:51 PM
sian .. 1 goal goes to boro .. man u can do it!

greycat87
03-10-2004, 10:52 PM
sian... got Ronaldo, Ruud, Rooney and Giggs still cant break boro down... :mad:

usjag_18
03-10-2004, 11:45 PM
GOAL!!! Alan Smith scored @ 80mins!!!
C'mon man utd, U can do it!!!

cutieboy86
03-10-2004, 11:47 PM
finally... smith score to level the score

guoquanyap
03-10-2004, 11:59 PM
haiz sian draw again....but great fighting spirit again and great performance fr ronaldo.....

and rooney is virtually shouting to Mark...'GIVE ME THE BALL!' LOL....

Javier07
03-10-2004, 11:59 PM
grrrrr neville!! :mad: 2 glorious chances!

rooney looks a bit lost today...

guoquanyap
04-10-2004, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by Javier07
grrrrr neville!! :mad: 2 glorious chances!

rooney looks a bit lost today...

wau lau expect so much fr a 18yr olds who out for 3mnths....

padixiong
04-10-2004, 12:01 AM
man u players look very sloppy today !

sad. .

AhHuat
04-10-2004, 12:02 AM
i dun understand y manutd cant win that fooking boro
boro can kena slaugther at at highbury....but not old trafford
ccb :mad:

MatrixFanatic
04-10-2004, 12:02 AM
Defence is good but Midfield totally cannot make it until Smith came in.:mad:

And Rooney looks tired.:alien:

Ronaldo7
04-10-2004, 12:06 AM
no surprise actually . give credit to the boro's defence .

Javier07
04-10-2004, 12:06 AM
Defence is good but Midfield totally cannot make it until Smith came in.:mad:

And Rooney looks tired.:alien:

true to a certain extent.. for central midfield

mendieta and boateng had an excellent game.. :(

guoquanyap
04-10-2004, 12:08 AM
no surprise actually . give credit to the boro's defence .

southgate still prove he one of the top defender ard even at his age....

cutieboy86
04-10-2004, 12:09 AM
man utd is unlucky today... so many attack, shots, corner but juz cant score... not their day man... at least smith save the day again for man utd like wat he has done durin early season... today all the players play like match of their life... applause for their fightin spirit...

greycat87
04-10-2004, 12:16 AM
Dropped points yet again. Disappointing. :(

ragnarok95
04-10-2004, 12:17 AM
smith should play up front with rvn with rooney behind them...shea should not even start...

nayfus
04-10-2004, 12:17 AM
If only someone were to stay and lurk outside the penalty area.. Most of the balls bounced off to that area after of boroughs' defender hasty clearance..

Where is Paul Scholes when u need him most..

funny to see SAF storm off after the match though..must be p*** off with his attackers for missing glorious chances..+ G.neville.

AhHuat
04-10-2004, 12:22 AM
come on man...dun blame on luck on EVERY game.
the players just could not finish the game off.

usjag_18
04-10-2004, 12:23 AM
Originally posted by AhHuat
i dun understand y manutd cant win that fooking boro
boro can kena slaugther at at highbury....but not old trafford
ccb :mad:

Aiya, they also got fighting spirit when against Arsenal, shouldn't blame them. They are really good. Of course, they got some "X-Factor" against us but never mind. At least we level with them.

Let's not blame them, anyway, how's our own players' performance?

As for W.Rooney, maybe like what the commentator on what Champion League said, "Give Rooney a big stage, he will performs", mebbe he's not suitable 4 smaller stage, hehehee....=p.
Seriously, he might be tired. I was so surprised that he was playing first 11. I thought SAF will let A.Smith & Ruud V.Nistelrooy to play the front.

But still, it's a good game. And let's not blame anyone or our players. The ball is ROUND, so anyone can win, lose or draw. So let's us see what will happen for the next game.

Rgds,
O'

P/S: what do U guys think abt the match between Eng & Wales?

yenyenpark
04-10-2004, 12:25 AM
think Boro manage to control the game play without letting the Manyoo getting into their game..

i can see Boro try to slow the the pace of Manyoo game... and they hav succeed it by getting a point from Old Trafford...

season stil early... think it will be a interesting season.. ;)

cracker
Originally posted by nayfus
If only someone were to stay and lurk outside the penalty area.. Most of the balls bounced off to that area after of boroughs' defender hasty clearance..

Where is Paul Scholes when u need him most..

funny to see SAF storm off after the match though..must be p*** off with his attackers for missing glorious chances..+ G.neville.

all the players esp the midfield and strikers will be scolded by him !!!!

There was no sting in the attack...no player was going for 50-50 ball...They cant be as tired as Arsenal players who had travelled to the Scandinavia and had to play yesteday.

Boro played their UEFA game on a thursday while Utd had theirs on a Tuesday...But the Boro players looked much charged up than the host.

nayfus
Link: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=312287&cc=4716

United fans tell Glazer: We'll play dirty

Manchester United fans have vowed to fight a 'dirty war' to prevent Malcolm Glazer taking control of the club.
The American billionaire's adviser Mehmet Dalman has confirmed Glazer, who currently owns a 19% stake in the Old Trafford outfit, is keen to own the club, either through further share purchases or board representation.

While there have been long-standing rumours that the owner of former Superbowl winners Tampa Bay Buccaneers was keen to expand his sporting portfolio, the latest revelations are being treated seriously within the Red Devils camp - and certainly by the fans.

United supporters have already succeeded in preventing Rupert Murdoch taking control of the club when their opposition helped block the BSkyB bid in 1999 and were quick to air their views when it appeared Cubic Expression duo John Magnier and JP McManus - who remain United's majority shareholders - were considering a takeover.

They remain confident direct action now will break Glazer's spirit too and are vowing to use any means necessary to block the American.

'We sent Murdoch packing and gave Magnier and McManus a bloody nose,' said Jules Spencer, chairman of the Independent Manchester United Supporters Association.

'If Glazer wants a fight, we will give him one.

'We want to make it clear that he is not welcome or wanted as owner of Manchester United.'

Representative of another influential fans group Shareholders United held a 'Not4Sale' banner protest outside Old Trafford today and, just as they did in 1999, will launch a concerted campaign to counter Glazer's involvement.

It has already been pointed out that Glazer, while bringing success to the Tampa Bay NFL franchise, also massively raised ticket prices and it has not gone unnoticed that the Buccaneers have been unsuccessful in recent times, failing to win a single game so far this year.

Some fans are not happy at the way United is run now, even though chief executive David Gill was able to announce record #58.3million profits before player trading on Monday.

The major fear is that Glazer would have to take on massive loans if he were to launch any takeover bid and the interest, plus the American's personal profit would come through increased ticket prices.

'The interest alone would amount to millions every year and Glazer would look to maximise profits from the club to pay back the debt,' added Spencer.

'This can only be bad news for ordinary supporters and we will do everything we can to stop him.'

Gill was intending to meet Glazer's sons - Joel, Ed and Bryan - to discuss club strategy in light of the latest figures, although this has not yet taken place.

Instead, Gill could find himself in the uncomfortable position of having to decide whether to recommend a takeover to the club's shareholders.

No deal could be done without the involvement of Magnier and McManus, who took their shareholding to 29% earlier in the year but are not thought to be interested in an outright takeover.

Some of the most popular United fans' websites have been besieged by abusive messages towards Glazer and while publicly, supporters group spokesman are maintaining a sense of reason, privately they are gearing themselves up for a very ugly battle.

'Glazer has nothing to offer but fool's gold,' said Shareholders United spokesman Oliver Houston.

'After the turmoil of Rio and Rock of Gibraltar last season, a takeover battle would be severely damaging and Glazer would be made to pay for unleashing civil war at the club.

'The United brand could well suffer too as fans are bound to want to make their feelings clear to the PLC directors, club sponsors and anyone else seen to be colluding in selling off our heritage.

AhHuat
04-10-2004, 12:27 AM
usjag....agree with you...
since ah rio came back...manutd had slowly pick up the game...
lets hope they get back to winning ways...

btw...england can win wales...provided erikkson dun do anything foolish....

cracker
04-10-2004, 12:35 AM

Aiya, they also got fighting spirit when against Arsenal, shouldn't blame them. They are really good. Of course, they got some "X-Factor" against us but never mind. At least we level with them.

Let's not blame them, anyway, how's our own players' performance?

As for W.Rooney, maybe like what the commentator on what Champion League said, "Give Rooney a big stage, he will performs", mebbe he's not suitable 4 smaller stage, hehehee....=p.
Seriously, he might be tired. I was so surprised that he was playing first 11. I thought SAF will let A.Smith & Ruud V.Nistelrooy to play the front.

But still, it's a good game. And let's not blame anyone or our players. The ball is ROUND, so anyone can win, lose or draw. So let's us see what will happen for the next game.

Rgds,
O'

P/S: what do U guys think abt the match between Eng & Wales?

on paper England seems too strong for Wales...then again the same thing was said of england and austria; as well MU and Boro....and the result were..:D :D

anyway do Wales can progress...last chance for Giggs to play in a major football competition.

darrenlee78
04-10-2004, 12:42 AM
dont play o'shea la.. should play smith as an attacking mid to lend support to the attack as well. O'shea quite slow and his dribbling.... :rolleyes: His crossing also zZzz.

Lineup that i want to see

Caroll

Neville Ferdinand Silvestre Heinze

Keane

Ronaldo Giggs

Smith

Ruud Rooney

ragnarok95
04-10-2004, 12:52 AM
smith should team up with rvn with rooney behind them.

stam
04-10-2004, 12:52 AM
2 points lost :(

kengbeng
04-10-2004, 01:15 AM
I really don't know why Fergie is still playing O'Shea in the central midfield role!

RVN
04-10-2004, 02:45 AM
**** result, draw againt under-strength boro. :mad:

SAF make a wrong tactic in putting ohsea...he just sucks....why didnt put smith on earlier.

That was a rubbish result and the gap is becoming bigger with the arse and chelsea. Fergie has to realise that our CENTRAL midfied is just not doing it and O'shea is definitely not the answer there, especially at home when teams just come to Defend!! :mad:

RVN
04-10-2004, 03:57 AM
After United's storming win against Fenerbahce midweek many expected Middlesbrough to be an easy game, but Steve McLaren's men pushed the Reds all the way as the points were shared at Old Trafford.
Here's what the boss had to say after the game...

Below par performance
We should beat these teams really, the number of opportunities we had, the number of opportunities we had to get to the byline and to play balls back or to the back post, you know it's unbelievable the chances we had but when you're 1-0 down with ten minues to go you've got to take something from it and we did. I think the first half we were a bit slow in the build up, we didn't quicken up the pace enough. I think maybe Wayne suffered from his first game, he wasn't as sharp and I think it happens - 96 days without a game and then he plays his first on Tuesday, adrenaline helps him but today he was a bit lead-like I think.

Downing's goal
It was a great finish, a marvellous finish from the boy. Hit it right on the drop, the ball came off the top really quickly, you've got to give him 10 out of 10 for that.

Super sub Smith
Alan did a fantastic job when he came on. He disrupted proceedings, scored a goal and he's done great for us.

Tough team selection
We've got to pay attention to it and make sure we pick the right teams. We've got a great bunch of lads and they all showed their desire today and the ones who come in will show their desire too becausethere's a great buzz about the place now.

Internationals a distraction?
I think it's good to get them out of the road early on. Once you do that then we've got a free run through til March after these Internationals. That gives you plenty of time to build up.

Falling behind in the title race
It's early doors so far, we want to make up ground but as I said a couple of weeks ago, you've got to do that bit by bit. You can't just all of a sudden accumaulate the points and get behind Arsenal in one game, it's going to take time. It's a long marathon, believe me.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=110518&itype=466&icategoryid=122

I hope smith does not become a super sub!!!He should be a starter...:alien:

Ronaldo7
04-10-2004, 07:27 AM
think fergie will give rooney a rest in the next match after international duty . maybe smith will get his chance then . i think heinze also look tired yesterday after all those copa and olympics tournament

Yellowfin
04-10-2004, 09:34 AM
I think the midfield was control by Middlesboro.

In the CPL match, D2 and Keblerson control the midfield and breakup play and collect any lose ball from the center of the field.

Last night match, you hardly see the midfield players doing that and Gigg have to come back and help out.

The defenders just throw long ball to the forwards.

I wish Man U stick to short pass and slowly open the other team defence.

derrace
04-10-2004, 02:25 PM
does anyone have highlights of the match which I could download?

thanks.

=)

Ch3tah_39
04-10-2004, 03:54 PM
hiya draw...:(
really lor, not a bad result...IMO

RuMmYtUb
04-10-2004, 04:48 PM
:mad:
Missed the game, this morning disappointed to see a 1-1 draw...

To add insult to injury, Boro's don't even have a full squad...:(

Now 9 points behind arsenal...

cutieboy86
04-10-2004, 10:35 PM
United Board Confirm Possible Offer

The Board of Manchester United PLC (the "Company") notes the recent press speculation. It confirms that it has received a preliminary approach regarding a possible offer for the Company.

This approach contains a number of significant conditions.

The Company is seeking clarification of this proposal and at this stage it is unclear whether any offer will be made.

The Board will make a further announcement if appropriate.

Manchester United Communications Department, 4 October 2004.

MatrixFanatic
04-10-2004, 10:53 PM
United Board Confirm Possible Offer

The Board of Manchester United PLC (the "Company") notes the recent press speculation. It confirms that it has received a preliminary approach regarding a possible offer for the Company.

This approach contains a number of significant conditions.

The Company is seeking clarification of this proposal and at this stage it is unclear whether any offer will be made.

The Board will make a further announcement if appropriate.

Manchester United Communications Department, 4 October 2004.

Is this good or bad?

Nevertheless, NEH NEH JI LA.:mad:

RVN
04-10-2004, 10:54 PM
Takeover won't mean a Chelski, says expert

Manchester United will lack the spending power of Chelsea even if Malcolm Glazer takes over the club, according to a leading City expert.

United will compete with top European teams in the transfer market if the proposed move is completed, but Barclays stockbroker Henk Potts believes they would lose out in a bidding war with Roman Abramovich’s club.

But a takeover is certain to free more funds for manager Alex Ferguson, who has spent over £100m (€145m) on deals for Rio Ferdinand, Juan Sebastian Veron, Cristiano Ronaldo, Louis Saha, Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney in recent seasons.

Potts said: “Presumably, Abramovich can buy any player he wants but Manchester United probably wouldn’t compete in a bidding war, but they’re in a position to bid for and buy the best.

“He’s (Glazer) a billionaire, got a lot of money to put into Manchester United and I would think they will again be able to compete with the strongest clubs in Europe in the transfer market.

“You’re probably not talking about the same money as Chelsea, but they will be able to spend more freely. Abramovich is in a different league, but Glazer would add fire power. It’s also a club that makes profits – and that’s a powerful combination."

And Potts issued a warning to United fans – who have already voiced concerns about the move – by characterising Glazer as a ruthless businessman, rather than a football-mad club owner.

“Everyone’s talking about him (Glazer) being a Roman Abramovich-type figure, but he is a different animal to Abramovich,” he added. “It will not be for the love of the club or the love of football, it will be to make a big team bigger.”

Potts believes Glazer has seized the opportunity to control the Premiership giants to export the United brand across the Atlantic.

“He has a history of changing clubs into to big successful franchises,” Potts added. “I would think that’s what he’s trying to do now.
“Manchester United have produced one of the great conjuring acts by making profits for shareholders and success on the pitch.

”I would imagine he would want to launch the brand and the franchise in the United States to make them even bigger.”

Although any takeover could take a number of weeks, Potts predicts swift action if there is co-operation from other United shareholders.

He added: “If you assume the takeover bid is from Malcolm Glazer, as long as you’ve got the backing of the two main guys (JP McManus and John Magnier) then it could be done very quickly."

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/10/04/story169460.html

whatever, we do not want a takeover. :mad: :mad: :mad:

greycat87
04-10-2004, 11:22 PM
:mad:
Missed the game, this morning disappointed to see a 1-1 draw...

To add insult to injury, Boro's don't even have a full squad...:(

Now 9 points behind arsenal...

Yeah viduka and hasselbaink wasn't even playing :mad:

usjag_18
05-10-2004, 07:38 AM
There always pros & cons of taking over bid larh... PRos got we can spend more money and will get more chances to go overseas to promote our club, there will be more fans.

However, CONS are it will turn into a BUSINESS, instead of a LOVE TOWARDS THE CLUB!!! And also, he will make used of Man Utd 2 earn $$$ for him!

Kaoz...:mad: , SO MY ANSWER towards this taking over bid is NONOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! If he wanna 2 bid Man Utd, go over LOTS OF MAN UTD fans' DEAD BODIES!!!

Rgds,
O'

edit: - even really need someone to purchase Man Utd, it will be a fan... Not someone wanna 2 make use of Man Utd 2 increase his "pocket $$$"

Thinker
05-10-2004, 07:58 AM
There always pros & cons of taking over bid larh... PRos got we can spend more money and will get more chances to go overseas to promote our club, there will be more fans.

However, CONS are it will turn into a BUSINESS, instead of a LOVE TOWARDS THE CLUB!!! And also, he will make used of Man Utd 2 earn $$$ for him!

Kaoz...:mad: , SO MY ANSWER towards this taking over bid is NONOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! If he wanna 2 bid Man Utd, go over LOTS OF MAN UTD fans' DEAD BODIES!!!

Rgds,
O'

you''re kidding right? Man Utd became a business a loooong time ago.

usjag_18
05-10-2004, 08:04 AM

you''re kidding right? Man Utd became a business a loooong time ago.

Ya, I know. What I am trying to say he's going 2 turn it more like a BUSINESS... At least, now there are still FANS inside the director board. One Chelski is enough, even though people said Roman Abramovich is a soccer fan, still he's not 1 that really support Chelsea...

I think it's always better to have a fan 2 take over the club. At least, even it's Biz, that person still likes the club, will take good care of the club. Won't give up the club when the club is going downhill....

Rgds,
O'

Ronaldo7
05-10-2004, 03:08 PM
Mr Glazer :mad:

RVN
05-10-2004, 05:25 PM
Man Utd director's house attacked

Vandals have daubed red paint over the Jaguar of Manchester United director Maurice Watkins.
The attack took place overnight at Watkins' home in Heaton Moor, south Manchester, and appears to be the latest twist in the on-going row about ownership of the Old Trafford club.

The 61-year-old is thought to have been in the house when the attack occurred, with paint also being sprayed on an Audi and over parts of his house.

Watkins was unavailable for comment this morning but it is thought the attack is part of a concerted campaign to prevent American business tycoon Malcolm Glazer taking control of the Red Devils.

Watkins is the largest individual shareholder on the United board, owning a 1.9% stake, valued at approximately £13million.

He is a long-standing member of the Old Trafford board, is also the club's legal adviser and is widely respected in the football world having worked extensively with UEFA and FIFA drafting the new transfer regulations. He was also the man who publicly announced United's intention to fight Rio Ferdinand's eight month ban for a missed drugs test.

However, he attracted the ire of United fans in April when a million shares he put up for sale ended up in Glazer's hands.

Even though Watkins had no prior knowledge of who the shares would be sold to, fans have accused the solicitor of selling United's heritage and aiding Glazer's attempts to purchase the club.

Glazer, who is also owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFL franchise, is widely believed to be behind the 'preliminary approach' to buy the club, which was confirmed to the Stock Exchange yesterday morning.

United fans' groups are opposed to any takeover. They have vowed to fight a 'dirty war' to keep their club out of Glazer's clutches and it appears Watkins could be the first victim.

Their previous tactics included staging a racecourse protest at Hereford earlier this year in response to the intervention of major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus, who will be pivotal to Glazer's chances of taking control.

The Irish racing duo knew nothing of yesterday's announcement but with their own stake standing at 29.3% agreement is essential for Glazer to stand any chance of succeeding in his aim.

United are currently waiting for clarification of the initial proposals, which saw the club placed into an 'Offer Period' for the second time this year.

At some point, Glazer will either be forced to announce he has made a bid or inform United he has not, which would preclude him from making another attempt to seize control for a further six months.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=312462&cc=4716

kangaroobabe
05-10-2004, 05:58 PM
wah so suay ar.. the glazer fault..

usjag_18
05-10-2004, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by kangaroobabe
wah so suay ar.. the glazer fault..

Wahahaa... Like tat called suay arh?? I think that's already count as "light" for the so-called punishment from those English fans liao. They are nutcases a.k.a the HOOLIGANS of Soccer. At least these small amount of hooligans are still quite alright now. If they go nuts or crazy, I think this director won't be let go so lightly liao.

But also can't blame Glazer for being AMBITIOUS enough to bid for Man Utd. He wanna more $$$, other than Man Utd, there are team who can fullfilled his dreams, but it seems like he SPECIALLY choose Man Utd. So at least, this shows that even though nowadays Man Utd's form is a bit "declining" as those idiots who have written Man Utd off from their list of champions but there are still PEOPLE who think that Man Utd is still champion and can be more recognised than the others.

However, I think Man Utd fans won't let that Glazer man get the club's shares so easy one. Even he will get it, he won't get it so easily... *sigh*

In fact, I was hoping someone else who are richer than him and MUST be a Man Utd fan to bid for Man Utd if there's really a need to have someone to bid for the shares. Not one who only thinking of making use of Man Utd 2 make MORE $$$ 4 himself.....:( :mad:

Rgds,

O'

stam
05-10-2004, 08:44 PM
WE DONT WANT A 'OWNER'!! :mad: DOWN WITH GLAZER!

RVN
05-10-2004, 10:50 PM
ROONEY EYES BIG AMBITION

Wayne Rooney has targeted a Champions League triumph to mark the end of his first season at Manchester United.

The 18-year-old enjoyed a sensational European debut last week, scoring a hat-trick in the 6-2 hammering of Fenerbahce.

Unfortunately for United, he could not maintain that form on his Premiership bow against Middlesbrough on Sunday when a 1-1 draw saw the Red Devils slip nine points adrift of defending champions Arsenal.

Old Trafford boss Sir Alex Ferguson remains confident his side can claw back the Gunners lead, while 18-year-old Rooney has set his sights on even more lofty targets.

"I want to get some silverware this season," the former Everton star told the Manchester United magazine.

"There is no reason why we can't win the European Cup with the squad we've got."

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson has already assured Rooney of his place for Saturday's World Cup qualifier with Wales at Old Trafford after the £27million returned to the national squad after recovering from the broken foot he suffered in the Euro 2004 quarter-final defeat to Portugal.

It is an assurance Ferguson is unlikely to offer the teenager despite his explosive start at United, as prolific Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy, leading scorer Alan Smith and the almost-fit Louis Saha will provide plenty of stiff competition for first team berths.

And Rooney accepts he will have to perform every time he gets a chance, otherwise a stint on the bench beckons.

"If I am not playing well, I can't have any complaints if I am not in the team," he said. "But my aim is to get a regular place in the side.

"I'm only 18 and have still got a lot of prove and learn but there is no better place to do it than here."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/10/05/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Rooney.html&TEAMHD=soccer

Ronaldo7
06-10-2004, 09:55 AM
to be honest , i can't see man utd winning the cl this season . but football is a funny game :rolleyes:

jacqles
06-10-2004, 09:58 AM
forget about winning anything this season..its an experimental season for our squad

and once all the players settle down and Rooney into the 2nd season... hehehehe

asantosa
06-10-2004, 01:09 PM
Originally posted by jacqles
forget about winning anything this season..its an experimental season for our squad

and once all the players settle down and Rooney into the 2nd season... hehehehe

Unless man u can find replacement for keane & giggs, it will be tough to win something.

wadeva_lah
06-10-2004, 01:37 PM
imho, keane's become a shadow of wad he used to be.

Ronaldo7
06-10-2004, 01:57 PM
Originally posted by wadeva_lah
imho, keane's become a shadow of wad he used to be.

he is not the same after his hip surgery :(

cutieboy86
06-10-2004, 04:04 PM
HEINZE HEADS SEPTEMBER ACTIM INDEX
Manchester United defender Gabriel Heinze has wasted no time making his mark in the Barclays Premiership after being named the Actim Index player of the month for September.
The Argentina international - signed from Paris St-Germain for £6.9million in the summer - returned from gold medal-winning Olympic duty in Athens to add some much-needed steel to United's defence.

And his 0.73 score from his first three matches - including a goal on his debut at Bolton Wanderers - saw him edge out Newcastle United full-back Stephen Carr in second place on 0.72 points.

Heinze's Old Trafford team-mate Mikael Silvestre claimed third, partly due to his headed double against rivals Liverpool in his side's 2-1 win.

And with Rio Ferdinand returning from his long-term suspension to score 0.42 in just two games, Sir Alex Ferguson's men now look a different proposition at the back.

the service of heinz and return of ferdinand has indeed brought stability to the back 4... shows the importance of ferdinand back in the team

cutieboy86
06-10-2004, 04:09 PM
Voting will take place in October and a shortlist of three will be produced in November before the winner is unveiled at a ceremony at the Zurich Opera House on 20 December.

Adriano (Brazil)
Roberto Ayala (Argentina)
Michael Ballack (Germany)
Milan Baros (Czech Rep)
David Beckham (England)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
Cafu (Brazil)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Deco (Portugal)
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)
Luis Figo (Portugal)
Steven Gerrard (England)
Ryan Giggs (Wales)
Thierry Henry (France)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
Oliver Kahn (Germany)
Kaka (Brazil)
Frank Lampard (England)
Henrik Larsson (Sweden)
Roy Makaay (Holland)
Paolo Maldini (Italy)
Pavel Nedved (Czech Rep)
Alessandro Nesta (Italy)
Michael Owen (England)
Robert Pires (France)
Raul (Spain)
Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
Ronaldinho (Brazil)
Ronaldo (Brazil)
Wayne Rooney (England)
Andrej Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland)
Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
Zinedine Zidane (France)
--------------------------------------------------------------------

woah... man utd 4Rs--- ronaldo, ruud, ryan giggs and rooney are all norminated... haha

kangaroobabe
06-10-2004, 04:11 PM
cool.. RVN a higher chance?

RVN
06-10-2004, 04:15 PM
I don't expect any united players to win it IMO. To get nominated is an achievement in itself. :D

RuMmYtUb
07-10-2004, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by RVN
I don't expect any united players to win it IMO. To get nominated is an achievement in itself. :D

Agreed :D

cutieboy86
07-10-2004, 03:15 PM
agree too but still hope ruud or rooney or ronaldo in the top 3... hee

RVN
08-10-2004, 12:25 AM
Saha set to make reserves return

Manchester United striker Louis Saha will make his long-awaited comeback in tonight's reserve team encounter with Birmingham at Altrincham.
The French striker has been plagued by injuries since his £12.8million move from Fulham in January and has played only twice for the Red Devils so far this season.

Much to the annoyance of United boss Sir Alex Ferguson, Saha was picked for France immediately after his last Premiership appearance against Everton in August and promptly suffered the knee injury that has ruled him out of United's last six games.

With £27million teenage striker Wayne Rooney now part of the Old Trafford squad, Saha is desperately hoping tonight will mark the start of an injury-free run as he battles for a first team berth along with Alan Smith and prolific Dutchman Ruud van Nistelrooy.

Eighteen members of the United squad are currently away on international duty, so the only regular members of the Red Devils party in action alongside Saha tonight will be Spanish goalkeeper Ricardo and former Sunderland striker David Bellion, who has scored four goals for the seniors already this term.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=312586&cc=4716

usjag_18
08-10-2004, 02:12 AM
Voting will take place in October and a shortlist of three will be produced in November before the winner is unveiled at a ceremony at the Zurich Opera House on 20 December.

Adriano (Brazil)
Roberto Ayala (Argentina)
Michael Ballack (Germany)
Milan Baros (Czech Rep)
David Beckham (England)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
Cafu (Brazil)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Deco (Portugal)
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)
Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)
Luis Figo (Portugal)
Steven Gerrard (England)
Ryan Giggs (Wales)
Thierry Henry (France)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
Oliver Kahn (Germany)
Kaka (Brazil)
Frank Lampard (England)
Henrik Larsson (Sweden)
Roy Makaay (Holland)
Paolo Maldini (Italy)
Pavel Nedved (Czech Rep)
Alessandro Nesta (Italy)
Michael Owen (England)
Robert Pires (France)
Raul (Spain)
Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
Ronaldinho (Brazil)
Ronaldo (Brazil)
Wayne Rooney (England)
Andrej Shevchenko (Ukraine)
Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland)
Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
Zinedine Zidane (France)
--------------------------------------------------------------------

woah... man utd 4Rs--- ronaldo, ruud, ryan giggs and rooney are all norminated... haha

May I ask one question, why is it D.Beckham inside tat list? He's not even playing well these few months.... I mean the others are doing well, but definitely not him and Roberto Carlos....
Weird!!!

Rgds,
O'

RVN
08-10-2004, 03:16 AM

May I ask one question, why is it D.Beckham inside tat list? He's not even playing well these few months.... I mean the others are doing well, but definitely not him and Roberto Carlos....
Weird!!!

Rgds,
O'

They are picked based on past reputation. Its a joke really from Fifa. :rolleyes:

Thinker
08-10-2004, 08:39 AM
Originally posted by RVN

not when the people who nominate you do it because they saw you on TV.

Ronaldo7
08-10-2004, 09:27 AM
United Fans Stage Protest

Around thirty protestors stopped Manchester United's reserve game on Thursday as the battle to keep tycoon Malcolm Glazer away hots up.

The supporters, carrying a 'not for sale' banner strode onto the field half an hour into the game with Birmingham - which United led 2-1 - and marched in front of the MUTV cameras who were covering the game live.

The peaceful demonstration, which lasted around three minutes, ended when the supporters were shepherded off the field by a handful of stewards at Altrincham's Moss Lane ground.

It comes two days after club director Maurice Watkins had his car vandalised in retribution for the one million shares he sold in February, ending up as part of Glazer's 19.1% stake in the Old Trafford outfit.

usjag_18
08-10-2004, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by RVN

They are picked based on past reputation. Its a joke really from Fifa. :rolleyes:

What the...... Then FIFA got no rights to say anything about what Man Utd did too..... They got good past reputation too in controlling their players' problems, just because of one player skip the drug testing, they come against us so strongly, even involved in the decision making when FA will mostly let off Rio Ferdinand with an easy fine. Damn them man.....

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
08-10-2004, 02:16 PM
the fault lies wif tt BLATTER(duno i spell correctly anot)

RuMmYtUb
08-10-2004, 06:16 PM
Glazer :pissed:

RVN
09-10-2004, 03:24 AM
Glazer Approaches Magnier, McManus About Man United

A representative of prospective Manchester United owner Malcolm Glazer have made official contact with the club's major shareholders, just as Red Devils fans were stepping up their fight to block any takeover plan.

Representatives of John Magnier and JP McManus, who through their Cubic Expression holding company own 29.3% of the club, have spent the week rejecting suggestions there had been any contact between themselves and Glazer, who is widely believed to be behind the 'preliminary approach' the Old Trafford club revealed to the Stock Exchange on Monday.

However we understand the situation changed on Thursday night when an official from the Glazer camp made an 'unsolicited call' to representatives of Cubic Expression, to bring to them up to date with their present position.

It is not thought that any share purchase was discussed and there is no suggestion that a deal between the parties is imminent.

But the news though is bound to alarm United fans who staged a noisy protest at Altrincham's Moss Lane ground on Thursday night, briefly halting United's reserve team game with Birmingham.

The Glazer camp are believed to be considering their position but they would certainly require the agreement of Magnier and McManus to proceed with any plan to buy the club.

News of last night's contact between the two parties comes against a backdrop of increasing frustration among United fans.

United's official television station MUTV was targeted by fans who disrupted live coverage of the Altrincham reserve team match.

The group, calling themselves the Manchester Education Committee, claimed MUTV coverage favoured Glazer.

And they vowed to launch a "civil war" against the club and all its interests unless they began to take supporters' views into account.

MUTV - one third owned by United - took the fans' complaints seriously enough today to issue a staunch defence of their editorial policy.

An MUTV spokesman said the interview in question, with a supporters' official of the Glazer-owned Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFL team, was "entirely legitimate in terms of trying to give both sides of the story".

He added: "Nobody should object to any news organisation trying to give a balanced view.

"We also wish to point out that numerous spokesmen from Shareholders United and the Independent Manchester United Supporters Association - who were opposed to the alleged takeover - have been given large amounts of airtime.

"In addition to that, many ordinary fans have been interviewed by the channel or have rung phone-ins on recent days, and have been for the most part opposed to any possible takeover."

United themselves refused to be drawn on the controversy other than to issue a terse statement in response to the three-minute protest, during which around 30 fans invaded the pitch brandishing a 'Not For Sale' banner.

It read: "Encroaching on the field of play is against the law.

"The club does not condone what happened last night. It would be unacceptable at a first team game and it is unacceptable for the reserves."

The peaceful protest came two days after United director Maurice Watkins had red paint splashed over his car in response to a million of his shares making up Glazer's 19% current shareholding.

The MEC were also responsible for disrupting a race meeting at Hereford earlier this year during Sir Alex Ferguson's feud with Irish racing moguls Magnier and McManus.

Immediately after Thursday night's events the MEC issued a statement insisting that if the club continued to turn a deaf ear to fans' concerns they would "render the club ungovernable".

They said they would consider all the club's sponsors and commercial partners as "legitimate targets" for future attacks.

United's influential supporters' groups believe Glazer would have to mortgage the club's future to raise the required stake.

Glazer is still to confirm that he made the initial approach to United last week seeking clarification of a number of issues relating to a possible buy-out.

But Magnier and McManus have distanced themselves from any new bid from the club, leaving Glazer as the only realistic current bidder.

Altrincham secretary Graham Heathcote praised the reaction of his stewards to the incident and played down the chances of it happening again.

United have played second team games at Moss Lane for the last three years and their average 600 crowds are normally attended by 18 stewards.

Heathcote said: "Our stewards followed the procedure laid out and we are quite happy with the way things were handled.

"It was a peaceful protest and an impossible situation to entirely prevent at this level of the game."

Meanwhile Manchester City said they would take note of the events ahead of next Tuesday night's reserve derby adjacent to their new Eastlands stadium.

City are expecting twice the normal average crowd of up to 3,000 for the game.

A spokesman said: "Clearly the events of last night will register in the plans but I don't think we will be looking again at security arrangements.

"It's the biggest reserve game in the calendar, we are expecting a fairly substantial crowd for the game and our stewarding and policing will reflect that."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/10/08/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Nightlead.html

****ing Glazer, you are not welcome. :mad: :mad: :mad:

nayfus
09-10-2004, 12:03 PM
What is the downside to all the takeover?

usjag_18
09-10-2004, 01:11 PM
Relax guys, let's see what will happen about the takeover. Even though, Malcolm Glazer had look for John Magnier and JP McManus but that doesn't mean that he definitely will get their shares.

I hope this won't caused any problems during the first-team games. The players need full concentration on the game and not the battle between Malcolm Glazer & the fans.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
10-10-2004, 06:57 AM
International Round-Up

It was the big 'Battle of Britain' at Manchester United's Old Trafford, but the game was something of a letdown and the result fairly predictable. An early strike from Frank Lampard which deflected in via the boot of Michael Owen settled the nerves of the hosts, with a spectacular long-range lob from former Red Devil David Beckham securing the win later in the game.

England should have scored more but some decent defensive work from Mark Hughes' men and a series of good saves from Paul Jones kept the scoreline at a respectable rate for the visitors. However, Wales rarely threatened and a clean sheet was easy to come by for Paul Robinson with the Welsh attack, that included Ryan Giggs, punchless.

For the first time in his career, Manchester United was a 'visiting' player at Old Trafford, but he struggled to make an impact as England cruised to victory and headed to the top of the World Cup qualification group. For the English, Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand and Wayne Rooney were representing the Red Devils on familiar soil. Alan Smith was brought on late on in the game.

Despite reports suggesting otherwise, Roy Carroll had to sit on the bench as Northern Ireland drew 0-0 in Azerbaijan to draw their second game in succession. The Ulstermen now desperately need three points against Austria during mid-week to get themselves back in contention for a play-off place.
Meanwhile, winger Cristiano Ronaldo was substituted on the hour mark by former Spurs striker Helder Postiga as Portugal only managed a 2-2 draw with Liechtenstein.

Republic of Ireland pair Roy Keane and John O’Shea both completed a full 90 minutes and guided their nation to a good 0-0 draw with Mikael Silvestre’s France, whilst Darren Fletcher’s 10-man Scotland endured a 1-0 defeat by Norway.

Gabriel Heinze and his Argentina side claimed 3 points from Uruguay, maintaining the momentum they gained by winning the Olympics in Athens just recently.

http://www.sportnetwork.net/main/s237/st59745.htm?fromrss=1

Ronaldo7
10-10-2004, 09:01 AM
really hope that giggs will reach a major international tournament before he retires :(

cutieboy86
10-10-2004, 02:18 PM
ya really hope giggs can reach the 2006 World Cup... he is such a gd player and representin Wales for so many yrs, he has not even play in a major tourmanent.... a black mark in his whole career

greycat87
10-10-2004, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by nayfus
What is the downside to all the takeover?

Higer ticket prices

RuMmYtUb
10-10-2004, 04:32 PM
Rooney should deserve a goal for his performances...

Defoe did well too..

usjag_18
10-10-2004, 04:36 PM
ya really hope giggs can reach the 2006 World Cup... he is such a gd player and representin Wales for so many yrs, he has not even play in a major tourmanent.... a black mark in his whole career

I have agreed that he's a very good player, but I don't think w/o playing in a major tourmanent is a black mark for him. In fact, I think it's a blessing for both him & Man Utd. Due to the lack of major tournament, he put in more efforts and energy on club efforts. So I guess this is also good.

Of course, as a R.Giggs fan, I also hope that Wales can reach 2006 as it's really also a bit pity that he didn't able to show his talent & abilities @ the world stage yet.

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
10-10-2004, 08:53 PM
yar i shld not say is a black mark but i feel it is a pity for him not able to show his talent in the world stage wif Wales.... giggs haf said b4 himself tt he always sad not able to lead Wales into a international tournament

cutieboy86
10-10-2004, 09:18 PM
Carlo is ready to move
Chelsea keeper Carlo Cudicini is poised to hand in a transfer request after becoming disillusioned with life under Jose Mourinho and attracting the attention of Manchester United. Cudicini has lost his place to Petr Cech this season and no longer wants to remain on the bench while other clubs are prepared to offer him first-team football. United are one of a number of clubs who are keeping close tabs on the situation. And while Chelsea are very reluctant to listen to offers for a keeper who was widely regarded as the top stopper in the League over the past two seasons, his increasing frustration could eventually lead to his exit.
Paul Smith, Sunday Mirror

Raul7
11-10-2004, 12:21 AM
Carlo is ready to move
Chelsea keeper Carlo Cudicini is poised to hand in a transfer request after becoming disillusioned with life under Jose Mourinho and attracting the attention of Manchester United. Cudicini has lost his place to Petr Cech this season and no longer wants to remain on the bench while other clubs are prepared to offer him first-team football. United are one of a number of clubs who are keeping close tabs on the situation. And while Chelsea are very reluctant to listen to offers for a keeper who was widely regarded as the top stopper in the League over the past two seasons, his increasing frustration could eventually lead to his exit.
Paul Smith, Sunday Mirror

wow...Carlo Cudicini good good.....:D

RVN
16-10-2004, 07:29 PM
Man Utd: Carroll, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, Brown, Fortune, Alan Smith, Kleberson, Keane, Ronaldo, Saha, van Nistelrooy. Subs: Phil Neville, Rooney, Scholes, O'Shea, Ricardo.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/3724050.stm

Giggs, Silvestre and Heinze all completedly left out. WTF Fortune starts. :rolleyes:

Think this is how we line up?

--------------Carroll---------

G Neville--------Rio------Brown------Fortune

--------------Kleberson--------Keane-------

Smith--------Saha--------Ronaldo

------------Ruud------------

Kyubi
16-10-2004, 07:34 PM
yes all the injured players are back .. chiong ar!

kengbeng
16-10-2004, 08:52 PM
Birmingham are man-marking very tightly. Our forwards are hardly getting any space.

Kyubi
16-10-2004, 09:08 PM
all the 4 strikers are on the pitch! ... one goal pls!! man u!

ragnarok95
16-10-2004, 09:37 PM
haiz.........another draw....the gunners must be laughing away....

Kyubi
16-10-2004, 09:43 PM
:sad: haixz .. y like that sia ..

ragnarok95
16-10-2004, 09:51 PM
we pay the price for not fielding our strongest 11....

kengbeng
16-10-2004, 09:52 PM
I reckon teams have already devised a way to stop us, which is bad news. Close man-to-man marking and closing down whenever our players get the ball. Look at how Everton, Boro, and Birmingham have used this tactic to such effectiveness. Our creative players really had no room to maneuver themselves to provide the service to our forwards!

cutieboy86
16-10-2004, 09:57 PM
hai... another disappointin draw... referee oso abit kelong de... few fouls nv gif.... got 1 moment ferdinand almost kick biringham player... tis shows the frustration... today not much attaackin for man utd... like tis how to face arsenal next sat

RVN
16-10-2004, 09:58 PM
We never looked threatening at all today. No midfield, no buildups, just passing from defence into attack with long balls.....hoping for a good bounce I guess...but is that the way we play....don't think so :frus:

cracker
16-10-2004, 09:59 PM
higher expectation = greater disappointment !!!!

there were 4 strikers on the pitch....but their role was questionable...
rooney was on the left...smith in central midfield....saha was just behind Ruud.

it was rojak combination...there was no natural flank player after the exit of ronaldo.

Maybe bellion might be a wiser sub...

JirQUEST
17-10-2004, 12:21 AM
so who thinks we can beat ars? :angel:

Kyubi
17-10-2004, 12:44 AM
so who thinks we can beat ars? :angel:
no idea man ... but we muz have confidence that man u can make it ... if a draw occurs ... i tink man u can still make it .. if lose ... i tink they are out of the title range ..

RVN
17-10-2004, 01:14 AM
Draw is useless, 11 points behind, I think we are already out of the title race even if we do beat arse, its just a glimmer of hope. :(

jacqles
17-10-2004, 01:19 AM
tell me that wasn't Man Utd please.

orca_sea
17-10-2004, 01:36 AM
Haiz.. draw again..tink iz the jinx of Fortune :alien:

Kyubi
17-10-2004, 01:42 AM
giggs rest isit ??

Ch3tah_39
17-10-2004, 01:46 AM
hiya... i tink saha loses ball too easily liao lor..
man utd real lucky lor, Birmingham counter-attack a few times & nearly score...

:( hiya draw again...

RVN
17-10-2004, 01:49 AM
The whole team was unbalanced. playing players out of position. our midfield was non-exsistent, Keane ageing legs is catching up on him, We need new blood in CM. Fortune is **** and we should just get rid of him. All in a poor display and more dropped points. :mad:

Ch3tah_39
17-10-2004, 01:54 AM
The whole team was unbalanced. playing players out of position. our midfield was non-exsistent, Keane ageing legs is catching up on him, We need new blood in CM. Fortune is **** and we should just get rid of him. All in a poor disply and more dropped points. :mad:

now defence is consider to be stable liao...
problem is no supply for striker...
IMO, SAF shld not hav played saha.... i find that he only gd at long shot nia

Ch3tah_39
17-10-2004, 02:14 AM
giggs rest isit ??

shld be ba, he never play...

RVN
17-10-2004, 02:20 AM
well Fergie want to rest Giggs, I think its a bad decision.

Half the team didnt have a ****ing clue where they were meant to be playing. Saha, Rooney, Smith all looked lost for half the game, playing in the wrong positions.

darrenlee78
17-10-2004, 07:13 AM
didnt watch but the result.. so disappointing...
haizz.. nvm la.. look forward to man u vrsus arsenal match.. hope we can end their unbeaten streak

Kyubi
17-10-2004, 11:36 AM
well Fergie want to rest Giggs, I think its a bad decision.

Half the team didnt have a ****ing clue where they were meant to be playing. Saha, Rooney, Smith all looked lost for half the game, playing in the wrong positions.
ya ... i was wondering how come he rest giggs ... haiz ..

Ronaldo7
17-10-2004, 11:44 AM
our formation in the 2nd half yesterday was a joke :angel:

usjag_18
17-10-2004, 06:12 PM
ya ... i was wondering how come he rest giggs ... haiz ..

Huh? U mean U guys don't know? I tot someone put up a post not long ago saying R.Giggs never played for Wales because of a flu or some virus larh; that's why he was rested, so I guess, he was rested for this game too either due to the flu/virus, or another reason is because he was rested to b prepared for the Sparta & Arsenal games.

As for someone mentioned about Fortune, he got NO FORTUNE @ all. Sometimes, he do scored those goals that are important for us, but most of the time, he's totally LOST! I think if really need to sell a player, I think he should be the first to go man. Totally lost with what he's doing. I rather sell him than Brown. At least Brown is good @ something, whereas Fortune, not only injured most of the time, and still always duno what he should do. Let him be defender, he will go to mid-field, when ask him to be mid-fielder, he will go to be defender or trying to be striker! This player is totally out of position & also don't know what he's doing when the ball is with him. Always lose possession of the ball to opposition (even though never watched the match, listen to live commentary), so I think he's just sucked up BIG time. :frus:
Should throw him back to reserves team or schoolboys team, let him do everything all over again!!!

gxelan
17-10-2004, 06:51 PM
what man utd need now is a good supply from the midfield...our def is stable enough now...strikers are good enough also...the problem is the lack of a good defensive midfielder to replace roy keane... man utd midfield is not all conquering like Arsenal's.....simply ...man utd have to be strong in all areas to beat Arsenal...if they were to perform like what they did against bimingha,......they will lose to Arsenal....

Ch3tah_39
17-10-2004, 06:54 PM
man utd cnnt play counter attack well sial...
look at birmingham counter attack so well, and arsenal played well becos most of the time they make use of the counter attack chances..IMO :bandit:

Kyubi
17-10-2004, 06:54 PM
Huh? U mean U guys don't know? I tot someone put up a post not long ago saying R.Giggs never played for Wales because of a flu or some virus larh; that's why he was rested, so I guess, he was rested for this game too either due to the flu/virus, or another reason is because he was rested to b prepared for the Sparta & Arsenal games.

As for someone mentioned about Fortune, he got NO FORTUNE @ all. Sometimes, he do scored those goals that are important for us, but most of the time, he's totally LOST! I think if really need to sell a player, I think he should be the first to go man. Totally lost with what he's doing. I rather sell him than Brown. At least Brown is good @ something, whereas Fortune, not only injured most of the time, and still always duno what he should do. Let him be defender, he will go to mid-field, when ask him to be mid-fielder, he will go to be defender or trying to be striker! This player is totally out of position & also don't know what he's doing when the ball is with him. Always lose possession of the ball to opposition (even though never watched the match, listen to live commentary), so I think he's just sucked up BIG time. :frus:
Should throw him back to reserves team or schoolboys team, let him do everything all over again!!!
lol i tink i remember reading at soccernet news thats hes on flu that day .. mayb becos of that bah.. hmm fortune .. haiz ... see him play i will b bored .. but man u lags left wing rite ?? ronaldo can play .. but i prefer him to play right leh ..

RVN
17-10-2004, 07:26 PM
When you consider the price of Uniteds squad compared to Birmingham's and the amount of money they get paid in comparison then a victory is the least you can expect. :frus:

I think that the problem is much more complex than that. Keano looked jaded, our left wing was completely dominated by Birmingham and the midfield broke down. Our defenders started to hackle the ball up front and SAF brought in all his forwards in a desperate bid to win this game.

What we need is not a new system or a change of attitude. What we need is new qual;ity players able to cover and eventually succeed Keano and Giggs.

Alienz
17-10-2004, 11:31 PM
Arsenal's behaviour worse than Cantona's, says Ferguson

LONDON, Oct 17 (Reuters) - Arsenal "got away with murder" following the ugly scenes at the end of their stormy match at Manchester United last season, according to United boss Alex Ferguson.

A week before their Old Trafford re-match Ferguson said the behaviour of Arsene Wenger's team had been worse than that of former United player Eric Cantona who was banned for nine months after his kung-fu style attack on a fan in 1995.

"Arsenal got off scot-free really, they got away with murder," Ferguson was quoted as saying in The Observer newspaper on Sunday.

Arsenal's 0-0 draw at United in September 2003 ended in fierce controversy when United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy missed a late penalty and was then taunted and jostled by several Arsenal players.

The Football Association (FA) fined Arsenal 175,000 pounds ($315,600), banned defenders Lauren and Martin Keown for four and three matches respectively, and gave one-match bans to midfielders Patrick Vieira, who was sent off during the game, and Ray Parlour.

"The disciplinary treatment was ridiculous when you think that Eric Cantona got nine months for attacking a supporter," added Ferguson, whose team trail champions and league leaders Arsenal by 11 points before next Sunday's clash.

"All right, that was a serious offence and no-one would disagree that something had to be done, but United took their own action in suspending him for four months.

"I don't think Arsenal would suspend one of their own players for four months no matter what he had done.

"The FA said what Eric did set a terrible example to young people.

"Given that he did it in a night match that wasn't on television, while United v Arsenal kicked off at lunchtime with probably about 10 million kids watching live on TV, I wonder what was really the worst example.

"What Arsenal players did that day was the worst thing I've seen in this sport. No wonder they were so delighted at the verdicts.

"They conveniently forget things, that mob. They seemed to think Patrick Vieira was badly done-by, yet he's the captain of Arsenal and he's jeopardised his team by trying to kick Ruud van Nistelrooy.

"OK he missed, but he still tried. There was no criticism of that, even though he was the one sent off."

Ferguson has described Sunday's game as a "must-win" match for his team, while Arsenal are hoping to extend their record unbeaten league run to a remarkable 50 games.

source (http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4556881,00.html)

FLiNcHY
18-10-2004, 12:18 AM
When you consider the price of Uniteds squad compared to Birmingham's and the amount of money they get paid in comparison then a victory is the least you can expect. :frus:

I don't think you can put a price on Soccer.

If so, Chelsea would be top of the league now, and everton and bolton would be at the bottom.

And arsenal would get thrashed by man utd next week because with the exception of henry, pires, reyes, and bergkamp, the rest either came free or cost less than 3 million

trax06
18-10-2004, 01:17 AM
Reyes less then 3 mill ??

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=296125&cc=4716

RuMmYtUb
18-10-2004, 01:30 AM
Fortune was crap, where was Heinze !?

Right flank's attacking totally pwned by Birmingham's make shift left back, Julian Gray.... damn pacey, could match Ronaldo step for step.. :(

4 strikers worth more than 50m pounds and no goals..

I hope we can have the kind of form against liverpool during arsenal's visit.

This is damn true:

Anything less than victory against Arsenal next Sunday will leave Manchester United in a less than familiar position. Before we have even reached November, their title dreams will be virtually at an end and you just wonder how long it won't be before the voices of dissent start to make themselves heard.

FLiNcHY
18-10-2004, 03:03 AM
Reyes less then 3 mill ??

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=296125&cc=4716

Did you read the words "with the exception of"?

Sheesh man

get some glasses

RVN
18-10-2004, 08:39 AM
FERGIE KNOWS UNITED AREN'T FIRING

Sir Alex Ferguson admits Manchester United are not yet showing the kind of form required to haul them back into the Premiership title race after a goalless draw at Birmingham.

The United boss is concerned that his side have been on target only nine times in their last nine games ahead of next weekend's clash with champions Arsenal at Old Trafford.

Ferguson had four strikers on the pitch in the second half at St Andrews in Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Alan Smith but his side still drew a blank in front of goal.

Their best chance fell in the first half to van Nistelrooy but he was foiled at point-blank range by City goalkeeper Maik Taylor.

Ferguson said: "Everybody is right to write us off because we're a few points behind everyone. Football is a funny game and things can change.

"We are capable of winning the league but we need to show the form that is capable of doing that. We're not doing that at the moment.

"The Arsenal game is a must-win one for us and we want to win it, that's the most important thing. Showing great desire will be important next week.

"I didn't know about the statistic of only nine goals in nine games until somebody told me but it would be a concern.

"We are renowned for scoring goals and there is no doubt that we have got the players who are capable of doing that.

"But sometimes when players return from two weeks away on international duty there is some tiredness and they have been having different preparations for their games with national teams than they do with us.

"But we faced that in the past and dealt with it and so we have to make sure we bring in more freshness next time."

Ferguson praised the never-say-die approach of Birmingham who went close themselves in the first half through Emile Heskey and former United striker Dwight Yorke.

He said; "You've got to give Birmingham fantastic credit. It was a real battle. But with the tackles they put in, we never got any composure.

"There was no rhythm to our game and they just kept pressurising the ball and tackled and challenged everywhere. You've got to give them full marks for that.

"Whether they can do that all season I would doubt very much. When it comes to March and April time they will struggle. You can't keep that pace up all the time."

Birmingham assistant manager Eric Black praised the performance of stand-in left-back Julian Gray, who shackled United winger Cristiano Ronaldo before the Portuguese teenager was substituted midway through the second period.

Black said: "Ronaldo is one of the top wingers in the world and Gray was outstanding against him.

"He is not naturally a left-back so to go and give that sort of performance speaks volumes for him.

"The players worked very hard and maybe on another day they might have got something more from the game.

"We created more chances in the first half and in general we've got to be very happy with the performance.

"With the quality of team United have, they are always going to create chances against anyone but it would have been cruel had one of those gone in."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/manu/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/10/16/SOCCER_Birmingham_Quotes.html&TEAMHD=manu&DIV=prem&TEAM=MANCHESTER--UNITED&RH=Manchester--United&PREV_SEASON=2003

usjag_18
18-10-2004, 10:51 AM
Fortune was crap, where was Heinze !?

Right flank's attacking totally pwned by Birmingham's make shift left back, Julian Gray.... damn pacey, could match Ronaldo step for step.. :(

4 strikers worth more than 50m pounds and no goals..

I hope we can have the kind of form against liverpool during arsenal's visit.

This is damn true:

Some of you are really not reading news or read the old posting..... Already said before on the online news, Henize came back on Friday from WCQ which is a day earlier of Saturday, so most people spectate that he was rested on Saturday to prepare the game on Wed/Thurs against Spata Prague & next weekend game against Arsenal.

Anyway, stop whinning about the last match, can? What's over is over. Let's face the next game.

Quoting frm another forum:- "I am slow, but I never look back"

The same thing goes for Man Utd, this season is SLOW, BUT WE SHOULDN'T kept LOOKING BACK!

REgards,
O'

Ronaldo7
18-10-2004, 11:12 AM
we are in for a tough season . lets keep faith in fergie and the players .

usjag_18
18-10-2004, 11:40 AM
we are in for a tough season . lets keep faith in fergie and the players .

TWO HANDS UP AND TWO LEGS UP!!! Totally agreed. As this is a total new season for us. As we are trying out with all the players, new or old. So we will be having a bit of trouble. We must keep faith in our players & the manager.

OreoCookies
18-10-2004, 01:38 PM
Well, I sure hope that as Fergie has mentioned himself, our season will start next week against Arsenal... ;)

Looking forward to a great match... Hope that we will perform much better than in the Charity Shield match...

jacqles
18-10-2004, 02:16 PM
its an experimental season.. don't expect anything ;)

Kyubi
18-10-2004, 02:19 PM
Well, I sure hope that as Fergie has mentioned himself, our season will start next week against Arsenal... ;)

Looking forward to a great match... Hope that we will perform much better than in the Charity Shield match...
ya hope so .. cos all their players are back i dun see reasons y they cant make it ?? or the players not that click yet ?>

jacqles
18-10-2004, 03:10 PM
ya hope so .. cos all their players are back i dun see reasons y they cant make it ?? or the players not that click yet ?>

the problem is not with the depth of players that we have (since we've got a nearly full squad now). if the problem is that, then its pretty easy to solve. not a problem.

the tricky situation we are facing now is PSYCHOLOGICAL. look at the way the players play, ZERO CONFIDENCE, NO WINNERS' MENTALITY (that made us dominate the EPL for one bloody decade).

we've got a fantastic squad of players (with the exception of Fortune, Brown and Fletcher) but we need that arrogance back again, so that we can start winning.

that is why i said this season SHOULD and WOULD be an experimental one because its not something we can solve over a couple of games. the players need time to get used to each others' style and the man utd style football can only exist when that problem is tackled and the boys are comfortable with playing with one another.

Coolsmurf
18-10-2004, 03:12 PM
the swagger is missing and the fear that teams get when playing them is not there anymore

Kyubi
18-10-2004, 03:15 PM
the problem is not with the depth of players that we have (since we've got a nearly full squad now). if the problem is that, then its pretty easy to solve. not a problem.

the tricky situation we are facing now is PSYCHOLOGICAL. look at the way the players play, ZERO CONFIDENCE, NO WINNERS' MENTALITY (that made us dominate the EPL for one bloody decade).

we've got a fantastic squad of players (with the exception of Fortune, Brown and Fletcher) but we need that arrogance back again, so that we can start winning.

that is why i said this season SHOULD and WOULD be an experimental one because its not something we can solve over a couple of games. the players need time to get used to each others' style and the man utd style football can only exist when that problem is tackled and the boys are comfortable with playing with one another.
yup true .. other teams no longer fears the devils anymore ..

RuMmYtUb
18-10-2004, 03:29 PM
Yes, no winning mentality.

I wished there were 11 Keanos or Smithy's.. :(

Ch3tah_39
18-10-2004, 03:44 PM
up next against arsenal, hope they better wake up their ideas and start performing..
defence dun cock up can liao... and hope they link up the play well lor..

RVN
18-10-2004, 05:42 PM
Keane and Rio miss United game against Sparta Prague

Manchester United’s Champions League hopes were dealt a blow this morning when both Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand were ruled out of tomorrow’s encounter with Sparta Prague.

Keane was not with the squad flying out to the Czech capital after contracting a virus and Ferdinand, who would almost certainly have skippered United in the Irishman’s absence, was due to attend his grandmother’s funeral.

Mikael Silvestre is an automatic choice to fill the central defensive vacancy alongside Wes Brown but manager Sir Alex Ferguson does now have a midfield selection dilemma.

Paul Scholes should return to the starting line-up after a substitute appearance in the disappointing 0-0 draw at Birmingham on Saturday, but the other central midfield berth will be between Eric Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Darren Fletcher and Phil Neville.

Gabriel Heinze is likely to replace Quinton Fortune at left-back after the South African was ruled out with a calf problem.

There was some good news for Ferguson with both Wayne Rooney and Ryan Giggs available for the Red Devils’ first competitive trip to Prague.

Rooney suffered a dead leg at St Andrews, while Giggs missed the game altogether with a virus.

However, both men were passed fit to travel and look almost certain to start as United look to consolidate their position at the top of Group D.

With four points and eight goals from their two previous outings in the competition, United’s form has been in sharp contrast to the below-par fare they have produced in the Premiership.

Saturday’s stalemate in the midlands means they have won just three of their nine league matches and have scored only nine goals.

Ferguson’s other main strikers Ruud van Nistelrooy, Alan Smith and Louis Saha were also in the squad, giving the United boss a chance to find the right formation ahead of next Sunday’s must-win encounter with Arsenal.

“I suppose you could look upon the Champions League as a distraction,” said Phil Neville.

“But I have to say we are not too worried about the goal situation. With the strikers we have, scoring goals shouldn’t be a problem.

“Tomorrow’s game is very important for us. We have probably our biggest match of the season on Sunday and we don’t want to be going into it short of confidence.”

Team (from): Carroll, Howard, Ricardo, G Neville, Silvestre, Brown, Heinze, O’Shea, Ronaldo, Scholes, Fletcher, Kleberson, Djemba-Djemba, Miller, P Neville, Bellion, Giggs, Rooney, Saha, Smith, van Nistelrooy.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/10/18/story171606.html

Ronaldo7
18-10-2004, 05:44 PM
save them for arsenal :evil:

Ch3tah_39
18-10-2004, 05:59 PM
save them for arsenal :evil:

:evil: :evil:

MatrixFanatic
18-10-2004, 06:50 PM
Yeah save them for Arsenal match. :s7:

usjag_18
18-10-2004, 07:54 PM
Yes, no winning mentality.

I wished there were 11 Keanos or Smithy's.. :(
Not don't have. Just that how to have the winners' mentality when we still trying out for a team that can WIN? I think this all need times and partnership. We need to test out who got better partnership and also let's put some faith with the players & manager. For now, I don't care whether players are good or bad, as long as they can put in efforts for the team, it's good enough.

I think the current problems are we don't have a fixed 1st 11 players & players are not putting as much efforts in some ways. Not because dun have winning mentality. More like they are not getting used to different ways of playing.

Anyway, I think T.Howard will not be playing again. Don't know why they put his name. I think it's either Sir Fergie is giving up him or scaring him. Let him knows that the feeling of being off-form.

Regards,
O'

Ronaldo7
18-10-2004, 09:12 PM
we need to find a replacement for keano next season . he is just not the player he was after his hip injury . maybe fergie can give p.neville/miller a chance to impress in the next match since keano is out with a virus . :s39:

Alienz
18-10-2004, 09:22 PM
Edu linked with Reds move

ARSENAL midfielder Edu has been offered a deal by Barcelona but could still be set for Old Trafford, claims a report.

The Brazilian has failed to nail down a new contract at Highbury, where he will become a free agent in the summer.

Accoring to the Sunday People. Edu's agents have negotiated a contract deal at the Nou Camp in the region of £38,000.

This would be arise of £12,000 on Edu's Arsenal wage, yet the People believe that United may still be Edu's likelier destination.

Sir Alex Ferguson is believed to be an admirer of the Brazilian, and with most of the transfer budget for next year having been spent on Wayne Rooney, Edu has the added temptation of being avaiable on a free next summer, with only his wage demands needing to be met.

Alienz
18-10-2004, 09:23 PM
No rest for Rooney - Fergie

Sir Alex Ferguson has no plans of resting Wayne Rooney and has told him to prepare for his fourth game in 11 days as Manchester United fly out to Prague today.

The 18-year-old was on the bench against Birmingham yesterday but his manager is not planning on using him sparingly.

Despite only just returning from injury, the England international is set to start against Sparta Prague in the Champions League on Tuesday in a bid to regain match fitness.

Ferguson said: "People who think that are in for a shock," when asked if Rooney will be rested.

"I think Rooney needs games to be honest. He's only 18 years of age and he's been out for 96 days.

"Since then he has played twice for England and twice for us, that is only four games and if you think about it, you would always like to give a player six pre-season games before the start of the season and Wayne hasn't had that.

"Yesterday's game at Birmingham and Tuesday's in Prague makes it six games before we play Arsenal next Sunday and that may be the start of our season."

Leading role

Rooney's name is already down to lead United's attack as they face the bottom club in their Champions League group - and Paul Scholes could also return to the starting line-up.

The midfielder has been out of action with a groin injury but also made a substitute appearance at St Andrews.

cutieboy86
18-10-2004, 09:34 PM
yeah... tink shld let rooney start so tt he can fit into the squad faster and score more goals for us... hope rooney will show his form against sparta prague like in the last CL match again

jacqles
18-10-2004, 09:45 PM
about time Miller gets thrown in for big games and see how he performs. Edu would make a good signing!

cutieboy86
18-10-2004, 10:08 PM
seldom see miller play these few times le... saw him play onli for a few matches startin of the season and the rest of the matches always on the bench le...i doubt edu will cum to man utd cos SAF would like to sign young players to build a team for the future

uRiZEn
18-10-2004, 10:19 PM
Say isnt Miller suppose to be a player in the mould of Keano?

MatrixFanatic
18-10-2004, 10:32 PM
In my opinion, no. He's not determined enough and lacks the 'fierceness' in the Roy Keane.

usjag_18
18-10-2004, 10:47 PM
Say isnt Miller suppose to be a player in the mould of Keano?
Ermm.. IN fact, I think they are totally different types of players. Same position but different spirits of playing. The reason they said he's the mould of R.Keane, is just because of the way he played. Somehow or rather, I think he needs more game. Maybe it's good chance to rest R.Keane and let him & J.Kleberson try out together. Or Paul Scholes & either L.Miller or J.Kleberson.

We shouldn't give up the new and younger players.

usjag_18
18-10-2004, 10:49 PM
In my opinion, no. He's not determined enough and lacks the 'fierceness' in the Roy Keane.
That's why I said, it's just the way of their playing, not because of the spirits of fighting for Man Utd. Moreover, L.Miller is still young. I felt that he got the potential to prove himself.

Regards,
O

jacqles
18-10-2004, 10:52 PM
seldom see miller play these few times le... saw him play onli for a few matches startin of the season and the rest of the matches always on the bench le...i doubt edu will cum to man utd cos SAF would like to sign young players to build a team for the future

EVEN SO, you can expect us to sign ONLY young and talented players. we need a good backup player for the central midfield berth and Edu fits the bill perfectly. :s39:

1920_me
18-10-2004, 11:11 PM
Ruud's striker warning

The Red Devils have slipped off the hot pace set by Arsenal and van Nistelrooy knows they need to take three points against The Gunners at the weekend.

United chief Sir Alex Ferguson has an embarrassment of attacking riches at his disposal and his side finished with Louis Saha, Alan Smith Wayne Rooney and van Nistelrooy all on the pitch in the 0-0 draw at Birmingham on Saturday.

Van Nistelrooy admits he missed a great chance on Saturday, but feels the deployment of four strikers stunts the team's creativity.

"I had a marvellous chance that I missed," said the Dutch marksman. "We had some good attempts on goal, but I don't think we created a lot outside the box.

"By throwing all the strikers on you lack a bit of balance."

Van Nistelrooy is hopeful that Portuguese ace Cristiano Ronaldo, who looked jaded on Saturday following his international exertions, can find his form against Arsenal.

"Cristiano looked tired (against Birmingham)," added van Nistelrooy. "Cristiano didn't look anything like the player we know he is.

"Normally he would be creating something in the game but it wasn't there for him."

Commenting on United's recent record, the Dutchman said: "We have had back-to-back draws and that is not championship form. Championship form is winning games.

"This club is used to winning championships, nothing else.

"Teams can have unbeaten records, bore teams, do what they want to do, but United have always got to win championships.

"We have got to go on a winning run."