PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

1920_me
18-10-2004, 11:12 PM
glad he realises we need goals..and it was a bad decision to throw on 4 strikers at a time...but we will be back..better than ever and we need to be better against arsenal

AhHuat
18-10-2004, 11:14 PM
we got full squad out there....so many good attacking players....
if we cant bring down arsenal....i really got nothing to say :s8:

AhHuat
19-10-2004, 12:55 AM
want to talk come out here and talk
dun come and deduct my reps pts behind .. u think im 3yr old kid?
scared by such reps points?
dun be a dickhead :s8:

Alienz
19-10-2004, 03:47 AM
Fergie praise for Poborsky

Sir Alex Ferguson has lavished praise on Karel Poborsky ahead of Manchester United's Tuesday night Champions League clash with Sparta Prague.

The Scot revealed he had nothing but admiration for Poborsky when the Czech Republic winger, now plying his trade at Sparta, played under him at Old Trafford.

The Czech arrived at Old Trafford on the back of an impressive Euro 2006 campaign and went on to spend one and a half seasons at the club before being sold to Benfica.

"Karel is a very good player, he did very well for me. We were looking to sign a right-sided midfielder, after he had done so well at the European Championships in 1996, and at that time we didn't expect David Beckham to break through the way he did, so he was unfortunate.

"But he played many good games for us, the problem was that he was coming from another country with a young player like Beckham emerging.

"I was always pleased with the way he performed for us, and since then there's been evidence, in the summer (at Euro 2004) that he has carried on a great career. He was always a terrific professional, a great lad and he never caused us any problems at all."

Alienz
19-10-2004, 03:47 AM
Fergie longs for settled side

Sir Alex Ferguson will cling to every good luck charm available tomorrow and pray his team come through their Champions League encounter with Sparta Prague unscathed.

Though precious European points will be at stake in the Toyota Arena, even Ferguson was forced to concede the game pales into insignificance alongside Sunday's must-win Barclays Premiership encounter with Arsenal.

Even at this early stage, Ferguson knows his side have to end the Gunners' incredible 49-game unbeaten run to retain any realistic hope of snatching the title back off Arsene Wenger's men.

The Highbury outfit moved 11 points clear of their old rivals at the weekend, taking full advantage of the Red Devils' disappointing goalless draw at Birmingham by hammering Aston Villa on home soil.

United's challenge has been badly undermined by a crippling run of injuries and suspensions, exacerbated by a foolhardy pre-season trip to the United States which they are still suffering from, with Roy Keane and Quinton Fortune ruled out of the trip on fitness grounds, while Rio Ferdinand will spend tomorrow attending the funeral of his grandmother.

And Ferguson fears unless they can fly home from the Czech Republic with a clean bill of health, their chances of beating Arsenal, this weekend and beyond, could be fatally damaged.

``There is a big focus on Sunday's game because it is so vital in the English calendar,'' said Ferguson, ``but at the moment we are making too many changes to the team.

``It's been a bad start to the season as far as injuries are concerned and the pre-season tour didn't help.

``For the first time, we had everyone fit the week before last and immediately they all go away on international duty.

``We were hoping Saturday's game at Birmingham would be the start of us being able to field a regular side. But then Gabriel Heinze doesn't come back from his game in Santiago until Friday afternoon, so he couldn't be considered, we lose Ryan Giggs to gastroenteritis and because we knew about Rio's situation, Wes Brown had to play in defence just so he could get some match practice.

``When we get the full compliment back, I am sure that will make a difference but we are having to change the team in every game for all sorts of different reasons and we have another three players missing tomorrow.''

One of the major victims of United's early season woes has been Paul Scholes, who despite the major surgery Ferguson has performed on his squad over the last 18 months, remains the player most likely to provide their vast array of strikers with the chances they crave.

Scholes had his summer break cut short and was forced to fly across the Atlantic for the final game of United's US trip at the end of July and has suffered the consequences, picking up a troublesome groin problem that eventually required an injection and rest.

There are some who have questioned Scholes' Old Trafford future following the £27million arrival of Wayne Rooney from Everton but even in a brief cameo as a St Andrews substitute on Saturday, he provided a moment of inspiration that would have set up Louis Saha for the winner had the Frenchman not slipped as he tried to latch onto the astute through ball.

``We made a mistake in pre-season by bringing back some players too quickly and Paul was one of them,'' said Ferguson.

``He picked up an injury that necessitated him needing a break and finally we had to give him an injection.

``Hopefully, with that out of the way, we will start to see the real Paul Scholes again because he remains very important to our club.''

Keane's absence with a flu virus only increases the importance of Scholes to a United midfield in which neither Kleberson nor Eric Djemba-Djemba have convinced anyone they are up to the task.

Ferguson's decision to limit Phil Neville and Darren Fletcher to a combined total of three appearances this season remains a complete mystery given the impact of their displays last term were enough to hasten the departure of Nicky Butt to Newcastle.

New arrival Liam Miller has been injured too often to make an impact, so John O'Shea could partner Scholes even though he is regarded as no more than a fill-in in midfield.

Mikael Silvestre and Gabriel Heinze are automatic choices to replace Ferdinand and Fortune, while, having recovered from a dead leg, Rooney is expected to be given his second European start after that unbelievable hat-trick against Fenerbahce three weeks ago.

cutieboy86
19-10-2004, 11:01 AM
[B]GLAZER RAISES UNITED STAKE
American business tycoon Malcolm Glazer bought another six million shares in Manchester United on Monday.
Glazer, who on Friday splashed out £45million to take his stake in the Old Trafford club to 25.3%, has now invested another £17million in United.

The owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers NFL franchise now owns 27.63% of United, although this is still slightly less than the 28.9% stake of major shareholders John Magnier and JP McManus, who it was confirmed on Friday had broken off discussions with Glazer.

MatrixFanatic
19-10-2004, 11:37 AM
Glazer can go drink milk. :frus:

guoquanyap
19-10-2004, 11:49 AM
today away to sparta...kinda tricky game but we need to win to and scores to gain confidence ahead of sunday big clash.....

cutieboy86
19-10-2004, 01:20 PM
i tink tonite man utd can show their form like in the last CL match... free flow of goals and main supply frm rooney

RuMmYtUb
19-10-2004, 03:02 PM

Hi bro, u also Man Utd supporter :D

Ch3tah_39
19-10-2004, 03:34 PM
today away to sparta...kinda tricky game but we need to win to and scores to gain confidence ahead of sunday big clash.....

ya lor.. :)

cracker
19-10-2004, 03:49 PM
i tink tonite man utd can show their form like in the last CL match... free flow of goals and main supply frm rooney

higher expectation,,bigger disapppointment !!!

just get the 3 pts...anything else will be bonus. :)

RVN
19-10-2004, 04:21 PM
Glazer can **** off and die. :frus:

As for tonight match, We need the win to set up a morale-booster against arsenal on sunday. :angel:

OreoCookies
19-10-2004, 04:27 PM
higher expectation,,bigger disapppointment !!!

just get the 3 pts...anything else will be bonus. :)

Agreed... Must be like Everton, slug out the victories... 1-0 also not a problem, as long as three points in the bag (be it for EPL or CL) can liaoz... :)

Ch3tah_39
19-10-2004, 04:27 PM
really i dun tink Glazer has any chance lor.. :s7: that old freak can f*** off liao

Kyubi
19-10-2004, 04:30 PM
wth .. glazier get lost la .. sigh ..

RVN
19-10-2004, 04:38 PM
really i dun tink Glazer has any chance lor.. :s7: that old freak can f*** off liao

Problem he is close to that 30%, he is now up to about 27.6%, If he reach 30%, he is entitled to launch a full takeover bid under the takeover panel rule.. :frus: :mad:

cutieboy86
19-10-2004, 05:50 PM
We Can Stop Them
Alex Ferguson is determined to end Arsenal’s unbeaten run — for the good of the Premiership. The Gunners aim to make it 50 league games without defeat when they visit Old Trafford on Sunday. But Manchester United boss Fergie is ready to bring them down and kick-start his own team’s challenge for the title. He said: "I know we are capable of winning this game. If we can beat Arsenal and stop their run it could turn the season on its head."
Neil Custis, The Sun

MatrixFanatic
19-10-2004, 08:07 PM
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=117698&itype=466&icategoryid=123

Glazer Increases Stake To 28.11%
Glazer: Click to visit our Investor Relations site
Holding in Company

Manchester United PLC has today been advised that Malcolm I Glazer Family Limited Partnership has, as at 19 October 2004, a holding of 73,711,458 ordinary shares representing approximately 28.11 per cent of the issued share capital of the Company.

The issued share capital of the Company is 262,187,628 ordinary shares.

Manchester United PLC, Tuesday 19 October.

:mad:

usjag_18
19-10-2004, 08:12 PM
Hey, relax guys.... Don't argue larh.... Small matters only.

usjag_18
19-10-2004, 08:15 PM
Seriously, I think we should have less expectation and putting less stress on W.Rooney and the team. In fact, they are facing too much stress this season. With new players coming in and still behind the group. I think they need to relax a bit. I think maybe too many fans, too much expectation, it makes them a bit going to kuku stage.

Regards,
O'

Alienz
19-10-2004, 08:37 PM
DON'T WRITE OFF UNITED - POBORSKY

Manchester United's performances have been a let-down over the past 18 months but Old Trafford old-boy Karel Poborsky is certain a massive change in fortune will not be long in coming.

Arsene Wenger has already stoked the fires ahead of Sunday's Premiership crunch with Arsenal by claiming United's decade of dominance is well and truly at an end, a statement which has brought a stinging rebuke from Sir Alex Ferguson.

But while Poborsky, who won a Premiership title in 1997 during his 18 months with the Red Devils, can understand why his former club have been on the receiving end of such blunt criticism recently, he has followed United's fortunes closely since his departure and remains convinced they will be challenging for the championship again by the end of the season.

"We all know last season wasn't exactly the best for United and the start of this one hasn't been particularly good for them either," said the 32-year-old, who is desperately hoping he will shrug off a calf strain to play for Sparta Prague in their Champions League encounter with United.

"But they have had to put up with a number of injuries and I do think they are starting to improve a little bit.

"If they continue to get better all the time, I am pretty sure they will get back towards the top of the table and be battling for the title again.

"They remain the greatest team in the world for me and I have nothing but the utmost respect for them."

While United will look for at least another away point to keep their Group D qualification drive on track, even Sir Alex Ferguson could not disguise the enormous shadow Sunday's encounter has cast over the Old Trafford club.

"All European matches are important to us but there is a big focus on Sunday's game because it is such a vital one in the English calendar," said the long-serving Scot.

It was almost an understatement given United are already 11 points adrift of their old rivals, who will complete 50 Premiership matches unbeaten should they avoid defeat at the weekend.

Ferguson's side may have lost only once themselves this term, but five draws from nine league outings - all against teams they would normally expect to beat - has left them in the unenviable position of having to beat Wenger's men just to instil a semblance of uncertainty in the Gunners' impressive army.

Like Poborsky, Ferguson insists better times are not far away, but he accepts there have been far too many changes to his side during an horrific start to the campaign scarred by constant injury and suspension.

"We are making too many changes to the team," he said.

"It's been a bad start to the season as far as injuries are concerned and the pre-season tour didn't help.

"For the first time, we had everyone fit the week before last and immediately they all go away on international duty.

"We were hoping Saturday's game at Birmingham would be the start of us being able to field a regular side.

"But then Gabriel Heinze doesn't come back from his game in Santiago until Friday afternoon, so he couldn't be considered, we lose Ryan Giggs to gastroenteritis and because we knew about Rio's situation (he is due to attend his grandmother's funeral), Wes Brown had to play in defence just so he could get some match practice.

"When we get the full complement back, I am sure that will make a difference but we are having to change the team in every game for all sorts of different reasons and we have another three players missing."

That trio comprises skipper Roy Keane, who has flu, record signing Ferdinand and midfielder Quinton Fortune, who picked up a calf strain in Saturday's goalless draw at Birmingham.

It leaves Ferguson again trying to patch up his team, desperately hoping they fly out of the beautiful Czech capital with no fresh concerns.

Paul Scholes returns for Keane in central midfield, while Mikael Silvestre and Heinze will take over from Ferdinand and Fortune.

With Cristiano Ronaldo looking tired at St Andrews he may be rested ahead of the Gunners' encounter, which could mean a rare opportunity for Darren Fletcher.

There has also been talk that Ruud van Nistelrooy could be omitted, a move which would be likely to see Louis Saha partner £27million wonderboy Wayne Rooney in United's attack for the first time.

source (http://www.sportinglife.com/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/10/19/manual_065654.html)

Alienz
19-10-2004, 08:41 PM
Seriously, I think we should have less expectation and putting less stress on W.Rooney and the team. In fact, they are facing too much stress this season. With new players coming in and still behind the group. I think they need to relax a bit. I think maybe too many fans, too much expectation, it makes them a bit going to kuku stage.

Regards,
O'
I dont think need to stress Rooney, he should be very hunger for trophy =:p

cutieboy86
19-10-2004, 10:09 PM
yeah... tink shld let rooney do his own job.. dun stress him...

Ronaldo7
19-10-2004, 11:05 PM
We Can Stop Them
Alex Ferguson is determined to end Arsenal’s unbeaten run — for the good of the Premiership. The Gunners aim to make it 50 league games without defeat when they visit Old Trafford on Sunday. But Manchester United boss Fergie is ready to bring them down and kick-start his own team’s challenge for the title. He said: "I know we are capable of winning this game. If we can beat Arsenal and stop their run it could turn the season on its head."
Neil Custis, The Sun

we must stop them . even a draw is not a good result :s22:

Alienz
20-10-2004, 04:40 AM
Wenger tells Fergie to calm it

Arsene Wenger hopes that Sir Alex Ferguson will 'calm down' before his Arsenal side meet Manchester United on Sunday at Old Trafford.

Ferguson has already insisted that Arsenal were lucky to get away with their actions from last season's encounter which saw a number of ugly scenes following the final whistle.

Wenger, though, is insistent that he does not want to get involved in a 'war of words' with the United chief and wants them both to set and example and forget about their previous encounter,

"I hope that he will calm down," he declared.

"As managers, we have a responsibility to prepare this game the way it has to be - to make sure it is a football game, not one full of resentment or un-needed aggression.

"I think he has a good sense of humour, you cannot deny that. Maybe it would have better if you had put us against the wall and shot us.

"Seriously though, you have to consider that he and I are not in the best position to judge that.

"The whole story has been judged by the Football Association and you have to accept it.

"I can only guarantee you that it doesn't influence us at all. We will, as ever, focus on the way we play football and make sure that everyone has a football game to watch.

"When the game starts, no matter what you have said five days before, it's a question of who passes the ball best and how you win the ball back."

source (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=232586&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Wenger+tells+Fergie+to+calm+it)

usjag_18
20-10-2004, 04:42 AM
Draw with Sparta Prague. Unbelievable. After reading the update from Man Utd official website. I can only say one thing. It's either the players too arrogant or too sloppy. Totally unbelievable. It's so unlike Man Utd. What's wrong with the players? Are they too tired or over-confident? Ermm.. I have no idea. But I will look fwd for the next game.

Regards,
O

P/S: It sure is a very quiet night for Man Utd & we are currently @ 2nd place.

usjag_18
20-10-2004, 04:46 AM
Lolx... Joke of the year. If he didn't start to comment on Man Utd first, will Sir Fergie comments on anything about them? Maybe he will, maybe he will not. But for sure, if he can't calm himself down, please ask him don't expect people to calm down.

Those who are CRAZY will never admit they are CRAZY, it's the same for Wenger, he never admit that he started the war first even though he is the one who commented on Man Utd first.

Regards,
O'

cracker
20-10-2004, 04:48 AM
Very poor game by MU !!!!
second consecutive goal less draw by MU...

no flow...every1 looked tired...seem like SAF is happy with a pt from the game.

With such performance...Wenger must be smiling !!

so those who spoke of big win by MU..

greater expectation = Super disappointment !!!

darrenlee78
20-10-2004, 04:55 AM
with such performances.. i dont have high hopes for this weekend's match....

RVN
20-10-2004, 04:55 AM
Terrible performances, were lucky to escape with a draw. Seems weve become somewhat of an average side. :frus:

we are still not able to score, dont know where's the problem, probably some players are just too tired, dont know why they are playing.
yes, look a lost cause against arsenal.

The service from midfield is ****in' shocking at the moment.When was the last time we saw two nil-nil draws back to back?

Fergie said today he's been picking the wrong team,then puts O'Shea in midfield.

We are in dire state with this crap display. :alien:

Ronaldo7
20-10-2004, 06:59 AM
i hope fergie can get his first 11 right on sunday :s39:

AhHuat
20-10-2004, 07:45 AM
guys i duno whether to remain optimistic when manu faced arsenal....
haiz :s8:

MatrixFanatic
20-10-2004, 07:53 AM
Sh*t no hope against Arsenal liao. Don't know what Manu doing!! :alien:

Thinker
20-10-2004, 08:30 AM
sparta is not exactly a team like norwich.

gxelan
20-10-2004, 09:43 AM
haiz...i beginning to think that sir alex is no longer the right person to lead manu..... the problem wif manu now is their midfield..not the strkers...whats the point of having good strikerforce when ur midfield cant supply the balls to them ? get some good croser....

PeterPan
20-10-2004, 11:25 AM
actually the only thing missing in the current team is someone like Robson, Cantona and the old Keane, thats what we are missing, a true and ruthless ballwinner. Face it Keane is just a former shadow of his old self......we really and badly need to find a replacement for him..........and why the heck did they sell Butt?? Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson can't make it lah......

cracker
20-10-2004, 11:39 AM
actually the only thing missing in the current team is someone like Robson, Cantona and the old Keane, thats what we are missing, a true and ruthless ballwinner. Face it Keane is just a former shadow of his old self......we really and badly need to find a replacement for him..........and why the heck did they sell Butt?? Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson can't make it lah......

currently the only players who will go for every 50-50 ball are:

phil nevile and alan smith....
the rests will either hesistate or hope the ball will somehow lands on their feet.

for the last few games...ruud wasnt getting any service from either flank...yesterday night was worst !!!

gxelan
20-10-2004, 11:49 AM
well..they make a good decison to sell butt...u can see he wasnt motivated anymore to play for manu...but dunno y ..the moment he went to newcastle..u see his playing style totally change...suddenly become motivated..

anyways...i agree that the oni good player is smith...manu needs a good crosser who can cross realli well to supply the ball to the strikers....ronaldo cant realli do that..his forte is juz his dribbling... they should get players like joaquin , van der vaart , van der myde , gattuso and those that cross well and get a replacement for keane....djemba djemba and liam millner is just not good enough...

stam
20-10-2004, 12:27 PM
another blanks... :frus:

asantosa
20-10-2004, 01:16 PM
haiz...i beginning to think that sir alex is no longer the right person to lead manu..... the problem wif manu now is their midfield..not the strkers...whats the point of having good strikerforce when ur midfield cant supply the balls to them ? get some good croser....
yup, should have bought a midfielder (steven gerrard?) instead of rooney.

Alienz
20-10-2004, 03:18 PM
Manchester United strikers fail again

http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2004-10/20/xin_221001200951562138206.jpg

Manchester United lost pole position in Champions League Group D after a goalless draw against Sparta Prague.

Lyon's 3-1 victory in Fenerbahce allowed the French outfit to move into the driving seat on a night when Sir Alex Ferguson's star-studded attack again failed to find the net.

It could have been a lot worse for the visitors had Sparta - in front of a rousing home crowd - converted the better of the first-half chances.

Zelenka should have broken the deadlock after 24 minutes but he flashed his shot wide after a neat move, while goalkeeper Roy Carroll was forced into a fine one-handed save as Old Trafford old-boy Karel Poborsky tried to break the net.

Jun also headed against the upright on the stroke of the interval.

United threatened only sporadically and all the evidence suggested Wayne Rooney and Ruud van Nistelrooy would need time to shine as a partnership. Sparta started in similar vein after the restart and Carroll again had to save from Poborsky while Vorisek had the Northern Ireland goalkeeper scrambling to gather the ball.

John O'Shea almost clipped a half-chance past Blazek but more defensive frailties allowed Jun to sneak past Wes Brown only to fire straight at Carroll's legs with the goal at his mercy.

Not even the introduction of Portugal flyer Cristiano Ronaldo and France livewire Louis Saha could inspire United, who lacked the craft and invention in the final third to punish a determined Sparta outfit.

source (http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2004-10/20/content_384025.htm)

Alienz
20-10-2004, 03:20 PM
Ferguson Feeling Frustrated

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson was frustrated that his side left Prague empty-handed after their 0-0 Champions League draw against Sparta.
Ferguson said: "I felt that we had goals in us so it’s a bit frustrating not getting anything.

"It’s not a bad result away from home. They played quite well and got a few chances due to a few mistakes at the back that I’m not happy with.

"But we played quite well, worked hard and had some good counter attacks."

source (http://www.goal.com/NewsDetail.aspx?idNews=28325&idSez=1)

Ronaldo7
20-10-2004, 03:49 PM
seriously , o'shea can't play in midfield . wonder why he is in the lineup instead of p.neville :s22:

Kyubi
20-10-2004, 03:53 PM
seriously , o'shea can't play in midfield . wonder why he is in the lineup instead of p.neville :s22:
ya i second that .. o shea juz cant play midfield ... i rather phil to play ... y not miller lolz ..

usjag_18
20-10-2004, 05:44 PM
There's definitely disappointment, but let's not think so much. Maybe the players need more time to adjust with themselves.

It's not true that our mid-field players are not working hard, maybe, they still need time to adjust. Most of them just played for a few games, so really cannot blame the for not being able to perform. But still, :(....
*sigh*

However, let's not worry about this weekend's match. We must show faith in them. The more we acted like this, the less they will perform.

Rgds,
O'

jujube
20-10-2004, 08:18 PM
the midfield .. esp in the middle is very weak. and boring too

jujube
20-10-2004, 08:18 PM
actually i think its not that the forwwards can't score.

there just aint enough chances

AhHuat
20-10-2004, 08:20 PM
but lets face it man. we cant always protect them and shield them from comments...
i seriously hope arsenal will let water if not i dun see a reason why manutd can whack the candy a.s.s of arsenal. but we all noe wenger will do all he can to further inject damages. :s8:

gxelan
20-10-2004, 08:35 PM
be prepared to lose.... can slavage a draw is already a good result for manu

usjag_18
20-10-2004, 09:41 PM
but lets face it man. we cant always protect them and shield them from comments...
i seriously hope arsenal will let water if not i dun see a reason why manutd can whack the candy a.s.s of arsenal. but we all noe wenger will do all he can to further inject damages. :s8:
Ermmm... Even we really comments here, they won't know... It's just depends on each individual thinking. No one is shielding the players. But the truth is seriously, when you watch the game yesterday, how many mid-field players, other than Giggs, played more than 10 games straight? So seriously, it's all on the testing period.
Didn't you guys ever heard of a saying? "Rome is not built in 1 day". so how can a strong Man Utd team to be built within 1 season?

Even the 1999 team also needs a lot of years before becoming the champions.

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
20-10-2004, 09:45 PM
be prepared to lose.... can slavage a draw is already a good result for manu
Even though the current Man Utd team is not the best. But still, win lose or draw is not depend on what we said. Moreover, ball is round. Just remember one thing, other than having 11 good or bad players, we still need LUCK!!! I always remember someone said before, "no matter how good the team is, they still need luck. Soccer is a game that needs 30% of talent players and the remaining 70% will the players luck." Just like playing against Ferhenbauce, not only we have the talent, we also got LUCK. Can U imagine 6 goals in one night? People are expecting too much, tat's why when they are disappointed, they started to think negatively. I am not saying anyone, but that's hwo I felt.

Regards,
O'

JirQUEST
20-10-2004, 10:15 PM
aiya u guys dun worry too much lah... it wont be long b4 man utd wins again :D

MatrixFanatic
20-10-2004, 10:21 PM
Actually, I don't think Manu's first-half performance against Sparta was bad. I just watched the repeat on Ch 23. :)

RVN
21-10-2004, 02:01 AM
LONDON (Reuters) - Manchester United's unconvincing 0-0 Champions League draw with Sparta Prague on Tuesday suggests that their manager Alex Ferguson has still not worked out how best to deploy his attacking resources.

Ferguson has admitted that his mistakes in team selection have contributed to United's faltering start to the season, and he faces tough decisions before Sunday's Premier League showdown against Arsenal.

ADVERTISEMENT

The feisty Scot would like nothing more than to end the champions' 49-match unbeaten run at Old Trafford, but he needs to get more from his players to cut an 11-point deficit on the league leaders.

"It's always a concern when you don't score, particularly with a team that has such a great strike rate," Ferguson said after the game in Prague, three days after United's 0-0 draw at Birmingham City.

"Some of our approach play was good but we let ourselves down with the final ball," Ferguson added.

United's main problem has been a lack of cohesion and creativity in midfield, an area they dominated for years thanks to the combination of Roy Keane, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and David Beckham.

Beckham has left the club, however, and Keane is clearly not the powerhouse he was, while Scholes and Giggs have also failed to sparkle this season.

Ferguson has several central midfielders in his squad, but Kleberson, Eric Djemba-Djemba, Darren Fletcher and Liam Miller have all looked lightweight in their limited first-team opportunities.

Defender John O'Shea has been handed the midfield holding role but while the Irishman does a good job of protecting the defence he contributes little as an attacking force.

BRIGHT SPOTS

One of the few bright spots for United, sixth in the Premier League, has been the form of Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Portuguese winger's pace and trickery always pose a threat and now that his crossing and decision-making have improved he should be a rich source of supply for whichever two strikers Ferguson plays.

Ruud van Nistelrooy and Wayne Rooney seem to be his preferred combination but the predatory Dutchman has failed to fire recently, while Rooney is still finding his feet at Old Trafford despite his stunning debut hat-trick against Fenerbahce.

Frenchman Louis Saha and England's Alan Smith give Ferguson quality attacking options and if he can improve the supply lines goal-scoring should not be a long-term problem.

Although United have struggled to find the net, the return of England defender Rio Ferdinand from his eight-month suspension for missing a drugs test has at least shored up their defence.

Ferdinand will have to be at his best, however, to shackle Arsenal's rampant attack, in which the pace and sublime skills of Thierry Henry and Jose Antonio Reyes combine with the guile of Dennis Bergkamp to produce a lethal cocktail.

Ferguson will take heart from the fact that his side did not lose to Arsenal in three matches last season, successfully throttling Henry and company in the 1-0 FA Cup semi-final victory which was the high-point of United's campaign.

If Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira is ruled out with an ankle injury then United's chances of victory will only improve, particularly if Ferguson finally hits upon the right attacking combination.

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/041020/2/7535.html

Alienz
21-10-2004, 02:46 AM
United eye new Reyes

Skysports.com understand that Manchester United's latest target in Spain is Sevilla starlet Diego Capel - who is being dubbed as the 'new' Jose Antonio Reyes.

The 16-year-old was a member of the Spanish squad which finished runner-up to France in the European Under-17 championships last year.

Arsenal's Cesc was a member of that side, as was Gerard Pique - who joined United from Barcelona in the summer.

United also failed with a bid for Real Madrid's Javi Garcia - again a member of that squad - and so Sir Alex Ferguson's scouting network are obviously huge fans of the Spanish youth system and are trying their best to land as many Iberian youngsters as possible.

Now Capel - full name Diego Capel Trinidad - is being tracked by United, who have been secretly scouting him while he has been playing for Sevilla's 'B' team.

Capel is already on the brink of the Sevilla first team and has been on professional terms since he was 15.

He is likened to Reyes because of his left-sided role, along with his pace and eye for goal.

Capel has been with Sevilla since 2002, after originally being with Barcelona's youth set-up and he is tied to the club on bumper five-year deal.

Sevilla, though, are confident that Capel will remain with them and emerge as one of their most important players of the future, along with fellow starlets Jesus Navas and Sergio Ramos.

Sporting director Ramon 'Monchi' Rodriguez stated to skysports.com that they had no intention of letting Capel leave.

"The situation is under control," said Rodriguez about Capel.

source (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=232755&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=United+eye+new+Reyes)

Alienz
21-10-2004, 02:47 AM
Neviller: 'We need early goal'

Boxed-in Manchester United will look to come off the ropes and hit Arsenal with a killer early punch at Old Trafford on Sunday.

Only nine games into the new campaign, the Red Devils already find themselves badly cornered, knowing unless they can prevent their old rivals making it 50 league matches unbeaten this weekend, their chances of regaining the title will almost be at an end.

With just three wins and five draws so far, United have been performing well below their own lofty expectations and nothing that happened in last night's disappointing Champions League stalemate with Sparta Prague suggests they will be able to shoot down the Gunners, let alone claw back the ominous 11-point gap that has opened up between the pair.

Amazingly for a squad containing Ruud van Nistelrooy, Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Alan Smith, the major problem appears to be in front of goal.

Van Nistelrooy has not scored in open play in domestic combat yet this season, while both Rooney and Saha have still to open their Premiership accounts and United's nine-goal league tally is completely overshadowed by Arsenal's 29 strikes from the same number of games.

Even Sir Alex Ferguson has been forced to admit he is concerned at a paltry total of one goal in the past three games, although the Scot is confident the cutting edge will return very soon.

Gary Neville is equally convinced but what the England full-back really thinks United need this weekend is to find the net early.

``An early goal opens up every single game of football,'' said the 29-year-old.

``There is no doubt we have the players who can get us the goals, we just have to keep putting the ball into the correct areas.

``We got into better situations last night than we did at Birmingham on Saturday but we are not getting the breaks.

``I'm confident it will come pretty quickly, so on Sunday we will be looking to get the early goal that would be so useful to us. If we can do that, I am sure we will be okay.''

United's embattled players could be forgiven for approaching this weekend with an unusual degree of trepidation given Arsenal's glorious start to the campaign.

They will recall, however, that the Gunners were also in sublime form when they faced the Old Trafford outfit twice in successive weekends last April and on neither occasion did they come out on top.

United will need the same endeavour and commitment they showed in their famous FA Cup semi-final win at Villa Park and the added bonus is that for the first
time this season, providing Roy Keane has recovered from the flu virus that prevented him flying to Prague, Ferguson will be able to name what constitutes his first-choice team, with Rio Ferdinand and Cristiano Ronaldo also returning.

Neville feels with a frenzied capacity crowd behind them, United have plenty of reasons to feel optimistic.

``We won't have any problems with confidence on Sunday because we know we are a team that can beat Arsenal at Old Trafford,'' he said.

``We will play our usual pattern for a game at Old Trafford and we'll see how they handle that.

``We know we will have to handle certain things they throw at us but we hope to cause them a problem because we are at home.

``People will build Sunday up as a must-win game. But to be honest, I have never played a game at Old Trafford in my 12 years that wasn't a must-win match.

``In that respect, Sunday is no different for any of us.''

Bizarrely, for all the Premiership trials and tribulations of the past four years, United have always maintained a sense of calm in their European adventures.

Only last term, when bowing out at the first knock-out stage to FC Porto have they really let themselves down and history now notes United went out to a last-minute goal against the eventual champions having had a perfectly good Paul Scholes effort ruled out earlier in the game.

Last night's draw may not have set the pulses racing but it means successive home wins over Sparta and Group D leaders Lyon in their next two outings will clinch a passage into the last 16 and ensure their season does not peter out completely no matter what the outcome of Sunday's eagerly-awaited encounter.

``It is not a bad situation to be in,'' he said.

``You always say if you win your home games and draw away in the group stages then you will be okay.

``We still have the major part of that to do because we now have two home matches and we have to win both those matches. If we do then we will win the
group.''

source (http://www.football365.co.uk/news/premiership_news/story_130778.shtml)

Ronaldo7
21-10-2004, 01:21 PM
can't wait for the match on sunday :evil:

RVN
21-10-2004, 01:50 PM
Will be very tough for us to win though, maybe if Lemann can make a few more blunder like he did against panathinaikos, it might give us hope. :angel:

cutieboy86
21-10-2004, 02:13 PM
if man utd can show the form like they did against arsenal last season when they face arsenal 2 times in a row which ended in a draw and a win in FA cup, then we will be able to beat them... hope our strikers can start scorin all the goals

OreoCookies
21-10-2004, 04:43 PM
Can't help but detect a sense of irony... Whilst our problems last season were mostly due to our defensive frailities, it has been the inconsistency in getting the goals that has characterised our slow start to this season...

I sure hope that we can get back to the good old winning ways with a comprehensive defensive/attacking display against Arsenal (and hopefully get all three points from the match too)... :D

usjag_18
21-10-2004, 06:10 PM
Can't help but detect a sense of irony... Whilst our problems last season were mostly due to our defensive frailities, it has been the inconsistency in getting the goals that has characterised our slow start to this season...

I sure hope that we can get back to the good old winning ways with a comprehensive defensive/attacking display against Arsenal (and hopefully get all three points from the match too)... :D
Lolx... that's life man, brother.

Anyway, I think this will be a very important game. AS both team dropped points during CL... The only advantage that Arsenal is having currently is they have people to score goals, whereas us, we need someone to provide and score!

Hope the whole team can give something SPECIAL on wkend.

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
21-10-2004, 06:14 PM
Will be very tough for us to win though, maybe if Lemann can make a few more blunder like he did against panathinaikos, it might give us hope. :angel:
Dun have to wish him to make blunders... Should wish our midfield players to PROVIDE and our strikers to SCORE!!!

Anyway, what do you guys think the best formation this week will be suitable for this game?

I was hoping to see Smith team up with RVN and the other 2 strikers to rest. Maybe 4-4-1-1?

Regards,
O'

Alienz
21-10-2004, 07:02 PM
FACTBOX-Five Manchester United-Arsenal showdowns

LONDON, Oct 21 (Reuters) - Following are brief summaries of five memorable showdowns between Alex Ferguson's Manchester United and Arsene Wenger's Arsenal, English soccer's two fiercest rivals.

On Sunday at Old Trafford Arsenal bid to go 14 points clear of United with barely two months of the season gone. They also hope to extend their unbeaten league run to 50 matches.

- - - -

April 3, 2004

Manchester United 1 Arsenal 0, FA Cup semi-final

Arsenal almost score twice at the start of a thrilling first half before Paul Scholes's ruthless finish after 32 minutes from a Ryan Giggs cross proves enough to give United a victory their ferocious commitment deserved.

The Villa Park victory is made even sweeter for United as it was achieved without striker Ruud van Nistelrooy and ended Arsenal's hopes of a third successive FA Cup triumph.

- - - -

September 21, 2003

Manchester United 0 Arsenal 0, Premier League

The match erupts when Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira is sent off after 81 minutes for kicking out at United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy. Vieira makes no contact but Van Nistelrooy falls to the ground, infuriating the Arsenal team.

With time running out the bad blood boils over. United earn a penalty but Van Nistelrooy slams it against the bar. The Arsenal players taunt and jostle the Dutchman.

The mayhem sees United's Cristiano Ronaldo and Giggs, and Arsenal's Martin Keown, Ray Parlour, Lauren and Ashley Cole involved in heated confrontations.

The FA eventually bans Lauren for four matches, Keown for three and Parlour and Vieira for one match each. Arsenal are fined 175,000 pounds ($316,600) for failing to control their players.

- - - -

May 8, 2002

Manchester United 0 Arsenal 1, Premier League

French striker Sylvain Wiltord pounces in the second half after fine work by Freddie Ljungberg to secure Arsenal the sweetest of FA Cup and premier league Doubles in a bear-pit atmosphere inside Old Trafford.

United, despite an outstanding display by captain Roy Keane, look second best throughout, as they had for most of the season.

- - - -

February 25, 2001

Manchester United 6 Arsenal 1, Premier League

Dwight Yorke strikes a hat-trick in the Old Trafford sunshine as lumbering Arsenal defender Igor Stepanovs, a Latvian born in the town of Ogre, endures a personal nightmare.

Yorke scores three times in the first 22 minutes and United lead 5-1 at halftime.

Arsenal, featuring David Seaman in goal, Ashley Cole, Robert Pires, Patrick Vieira and Thierry Henry, never recovered and eventually finished 10 points adrift of champions United.

- - - -

April 14, 1999

Manchester United 2 Arsenal 1, FA Cup semi-final replay

Ryan Giggs's extra-time zig-zag through the Arsenal defence, voted the greatest goal in FA Cup history, settles a titanic struggle in United's favour.

David Beckham gave United the lead at Villa Park before Dennis Bergkamp equalised and then missed the chance to win it in stoppage time when Peter Schmeichel saved his penalty.

By then United's Keane had been sent off. In extra-time Giggs had the last word before embarking on a crazy, shirt-twirling celebration pursued, it seemed, by half of Manchester.

RVN
21-10-2004, 07:13 PM
Ruud could face uefa ban :frus:

RUUD VAN Nistelrooy faces a UEFA probe and likely three-match ban for elbowing in Manchester United's Champions League draw with Sparta Prague.

The Dutch striker clashed with Sparta defender Pavel Pergl as they challenged for a high ball in the first half of Tuesday's 0-0 bore-draw. The Czech defender was left with blood streaming from his nose after van Nistelrooy appeared to lead with his elbow.

Although the clash was not spotted by the match officials, it was caught on camera and seems certain to be viewed as an act of violent conduct.

A UEFA spokesman said: "We have not received the reports from either the referee or our match delegate so far, and we will await them to see if any action is recommended.

"But we are aware of the incident and have already received a number of calls about it. We have the right to study video evidence when incidents are not spotted by the officials and act accordingly."

That would mean a three-match suspension for van Nistelrooy, ruling him out of the three remaining group games.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14779743%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=ruud%2dfears%2dban-name_page.html

Fooking hell. :frus:

Ronaldo7
21-10-2004, 07:18 PM
Dun have to wish him to make blunders... Should wish our midfield players to PROVIDE and our strikers to SCORE!!!

Anyway, what do you guys think the best formation this week will be suitable for this game?

I was hoping to see Smith team up with RVN and the other 2 strikers to rest. Maybe 4-4-1-1?

Regards,
O'

yes . smith to start the game for me too .

carroll

g.neville - rio - silvestre - heinze

ronaldo - keane - scholes - giggs

rvn - smith

MatrixFanatic
21-10-2004, 09:12 PM
Actually, feel kind of sad for smith. He's like giving more than 100% every match he has played in and yet he is not starting every match. He should start against Arsenal. :s7:

gxelan
21-10-2004, 11:22 PM
carroll

fletcher - keane - p.neville - giggs

rvn - smith

that would be my ideal team...for the match against arsenal....

Ch3tah_39
21-10-2004, 11:36 PM
caroll

brown rio silves heinze

keane

ronaldo kleberson giggs

rooney

ruud

imo play lone striker would be better against arsenal.. need to defend more..
rooney got help defend, so gd :)

jujube
21-10-2004, 11:38 PM
well its from THE MIRROR :s8:

RUUD VAN Nistelrooy faces a UEFA probe and likely three-match ban for elbowing in Manchester United's Champions League draw with Sparta Prague.

The Dutch striker clashed with Sparta defender Pavel Pergl as they challenged for a high ball in the first half of Tuesday's 0-0 bore-draw. The Czech defender was left with blood streaming from his nose after van Nistelrooy appeared to lead with his elbow.

Although the clash was not spotted by the match officials, it was caught on camera and seems certain to be viewed as an act of violent conduct.

A UEFA spokesman said: "We have not received the reports from either the referee or our match delegate so far, and we will await them to see if any action is recommended.

"But we are aware of the incident and have already received a number of calls about it. We have the right to study video evidence when incidents are not spotted by the officials and act accordingly."

That would mean a three-match suspension for van Nistelrooy, ruling him out of the three remaining group games.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14779743%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=ruud%2dfears%2dban-name_page.html

Alienz
22-10-2004, 03:55 AM
Man U's title hopes are on the line

http://feeds.foxsports.com/id/1591473

If Man U don't win on Sunday, they can't win the title. That is the stark enormity facing Sir Alex Ferguson's side. And they'll be taking on the Muhammad Ali of football, says football's most Scottish pundit Andy Gray.

Arsenal at the moment are like Tiger Woods or Muhammad Ali in their pomp - the fear factor means that they've beaten many opponents before they've even begun. They feel invincible and their opponents help them feel that way by never quite believing they can beat them.

But Woods and Ali were eventually beaten and Arsenal will be too. Manchester United fans will be hoping that will happen on Sunday because if they don't win, I don't believe they can win the title. It is absolutely that clear-cut. That is the enormity of the situation.

You cannot see that United team winning their next ten games on the bounce and you cannot imagine Arsenal losing more than two or three this season. And that would be the only way that an 11 or 14-point gap could be breached.

Man United's players will enter the pitch knowing that they need to win but also knowing that they are up against the best team in the country at the moment. They will acknowledge that but they will know that if anyone can beat them, United can.

They will go out there to disrupt Arsenal's game, to hassle them, to get in their faces and to rush them into making mistakes. From a spectator's point of view we just have to hope that the referee understands that, that he will know that players like Roy Keane will be putting in tackles and be firm without spoiling the game.

I seriously don't think we're going to get a repeat of last year's scenes because the players will have had it drummed into them about discipline. We will see a physical and combative game but not a nasty one, I hope.

The plaudits for Arsenal come thick and fast and I have to join the chorus - they are exceptional at the moment. They have something special that we do not see too often, if at all. They are truly in a different class, in a zone that you don't often see in football. I hope people are enjoying it because at the moment we are privy to something very rare.

The difference between them and other sides was in evidence when I saw them play Middlesbrough the other week. They were two goals down with 30-odd minutes to go and they just found another gear and won 5-3. They don't get phased and that belief is something you just can't buy.

On the other hand, United are searching for a system, a formation, a line-up that will work. When they find it - and they will sooner rather than later - they will damage a few teams. But whether this Arsenal game will be the one when it all comes together or not, remains to be seen. It's a game that could make or break their season.

United have certainly got the personnel to be scoring the mountains of goals we see from Arsenal, but the difference is that that attacking line-up at Arsenal (barring Jose Reyes) has been together for the last four or so years. Thierry Henry, Robert Pires, Dennis Bergkamp and Freddie Ljungberg have an instinctive way of playing that only comes from familiarity.

Sir Alex Ferguson, meanwhile, has got Alan Smith, Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Cristiano Ronaldo who have all been there a season or less. It's an entirely new attacking line-up and they're not going to gel straight away.

The hardest part about football is creating and scoring goals because you need movement, communication and an almost sixth sense about where your teammates will be. That can't come overnight like a decent defence can because it's not about just turning up and doing a job.

So Sir Alex will be hoping that his players can suddenly find each other on Sunday. Otherwise, they'll have another ten months to get acquainted before a championship challenge comes round again.

source (http://feeds.foxsports.com/story/3098484)

gxelan
22-10-2004, 05:14 AM
caroll

brown rio silves heinze

keane

ronaldo kleberson giggs

rooney

ruud

imo play lone striker would be better against arsenal.. need to defend more..
rooney got help defend, so gd :)

i wont realli play rooney..he make rush tackles and usually mistimes his tackles...comparingly smith is better and gives more than rooney

RVN
22-10-2004, 12:27 PM
Reserves thump Liverpool

United Reserves 5
Liverpool Reserves 2

Birthday boy Kieran Richardson crowned a fantastic performance for the Reserves with two goals in their 5-2 victory over Liverpool at Moss Lane.

The United skipper, who turned 20 today, opened the scoring 20 minutes in with a fierce drive from the edge of the area having cut in from the left-hand side.

His second followed nine minutes later thanks to another powerful shot into the bottom corner. That put United 3-1 ahead after Neil Mellor’s reply for the visitors three minutes earlier.

Sandwiched in between Richardson’s brace was yet another goal from Sylvan Ebanks-Blake who bundled the ball home following good work from Phil Picken down the right.

The second half began as the first had finished with United on top. Three minutes after the restart Ricky Sbragia's went 4-1 up through an unstoppable Chris Eagles free-kick on the left edge of the box which crashed in off the underside of the cross-bar.

Liverpool pulled a goal back on 73 minutes through a Mellor penalty after he was brought down by Heaton in the area.

But it was left to substitute Colin Heath to wrap up the victory for United a minute from time with a 20-yard shot which was fumbled by Liverpool keeper Patrice Luzi.

All in all it was a successful night for United with Darren Fletcher also enjoying a useful run-out in midfield.

The win leaves the Reds fourth in the table on 14 points, seven adrift from leaders Manchester City.

United XI: Heaton (GK), Picken, Lawrence, Pique, Spector, Fletcher, Eagles (Heath, 76), Jones, Ebanks-Blake, Rossi, Richardson (Poole, 76).

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=118077&itype=466&icategoryid=624

Alienz
22-10-2004, 02:06 PM
‘Keeper not tempted by Manchester United Football Club

Carlos Kameni has no interest in signing for Manchester United Football Club in the New Year.

The Reds are reportedly lining up a bid for the Espanyol number one, yet the Cameroon international is not interested in a move to Old Trafford.

"No club or intermediary has called me, but I have heard things about the possibility that Manchester wants me," Kameni said. "If they do come to me, I will say to them that I do not want to go away. I am a player of Espanyol, I left my previous club to play and for that reason I will remain here."

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to sign a top-class goalkeeper as he remains unconvinced about the duo of Tim Howard and Roy Carroll.

source (http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=131652)

Ronaldo7
22-10-2004, 03:02 PM
‘Keeper not tempted by Manchester United Football Club

Carlos Kameni has no interest in signing for Manchester United Football Club in the New Year.

The Reds are reportedly lining up a bid for the Espanyol number one, yet the Cameroon international is not interested in a move to Old Trafford.

"No club or intermediary has called me, but I have heard things about the possibility that Manchester wants me," Kameni said. "If they do come to me, I will say to them that I do not want to go away. I am a player of Espanyol, I left my previous club to play and for that reason I will remain here."

United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to sign a top-class goalkeeper as he remains unconvinced about the duo of Tim Howard and Roy Carroll.

source (http://www.fansfc.com/frontpage/frontpagenews.asp?newsid=131652)

i rather stick with howard

Ch3tah_39
22-10-2004, 04:15 PM

ya lor :) :)

MatrixFanatic
22-10-2004, 04:24 PM

I second that. :s7:

cutieboy86
22-10-2004, 04:28 PM
yar me too... tim howard is juz off-form awhile... tis kind of experience always face by every new player in their 2nd season

cutieboy86
22-10-2004, 04:48 PM
Glazer in cash pledge to win over fans
Malcolm Glazer has made a move to try to win round scepital Manchester United fans who are opposing his proposed takeover of the club. The American tycoon has promised to spend big in the transfer market to make United top dogs again in the Premiership and Champions League. A source close to the owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers American football team said: "The belief is that the club should be unrivalled in the transfer market with the necessary funds always available for the best players in the world."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express

cutieboy86
22-10-2004, 04:49 PM
It's Gunner get ugly
Gabriel Heinze has revealed how Arsenal’s unbeaten run is making Manchester United more determined than ever to give Arsene Wenger a bloody nose. Arsenal are already 11 points clear of United and can obliterate United’s title hopes by winning this weekend. But Heinze, 26, said: “We’re going to do everything we can to stop Arsenal’s record. Records are there to be broken and it’s an extra boost to know that we are the ones who can do it. The aim is to win whatever the cost. If we can do it playing fantastic football, great, but if not it will be with fight and spirit. We simply have to give it everything."
Dave Kidd, The Sun

Kyubi
22-10-2004, 04:55 PM
It's Gunner get ugly
Gabriel Heinze has revealed how Arsenal’s unbeaten run is making Manchester United more determined than ever to give Arsene Wenger a bloody nose. Arsenal are already 11 points clear of United and can obliterate United’s title hopes by winning this weekend. But Heinze, 26, said: “We’re going to do everything we can to stop Arsenal’s record. Records are there to be broken and it’s an extra boost to know that we are the ones who can do it. The aim is to win whatever the cost. If we can do it playing fantastic football, great, but if not it will be with fight and spirit. We simply have to give it everything."
Dave Kidd, The Sun
cant wait for the big match //

MatrixFanatic
22-10-2004, 04:59 PM
Malcolm Glazer has made a move to try to win round scepital Manchester United fans who are opposing his proposed takeover of the club. The American tycoon has promised to spend big in the transfer market to make United top dogs again in the Premiership and Champions League. A source close to the owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers American football team said: "The belief is that the club should be unrivalled in the transfer market with the necessary funds always available for the best players in the world."

Top my head. Look what happen to Chelsea.

Anyway, first time see Heinze speak out. Hope he gives some Arsenal players some tackling lesson this Sunday. :s8:

RVN
22-10-2004, 06:47 PM

Am I missing something here ? The guy hasn't even got enough money to buy the club without getting a loan - so where's the money going to come from that ensures we are not outbid on transfers ?? Don't try and fool us, you are not wanted. :frus:

Ronaldo7
22-10-2004, 07:13 PM
i can't help but laugh at the comment . he can never win over the fans one lah :s13: and it's rooney's birthday on sunday :evil:

cutieboy86
22-10-2004, 08:22 PM
woah... rooney's bday... hope he will haf a nice bday by beatin arsenal and score a few goals

Alienz
22-10-2004, 09:47 PM
same here. Rather stick with howard better.

RVN
22-10-2004, 10:34 PM
Fergie: Arsenal game a must-win

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has conceded that Sunday's clash with bitter rivals Arsenal is a must-win game for his side.

The Red Devils are 11 points adrift of Arsene Wenger's champions and the North Londoners are odds-on to retain the Premiership title after stretching their unbeaten league run to 49 games.

Ferguson revealed there is a "buzz" around Old Trafford going into the Sky Sports 1 showdown and he expects his side to collect the three points and bring Arsenal's incredible run to an end.

"For us to win the league, I think winning is a very important issue for us on Sunday," Ferguson stated.

"Arsenal could come and get a draw and still be 11 points clear of us and they would be delighted with that at this stage of the season.

"But leagues can turn very easily.

"We were 12 points behind Newcastle once and won the league, so it can change. What we need is for Manchester United to win the game on Sunday and see how that affects the whole thing."

Although Roy Keane is being rated doubtful with a virus, United will hope their captain leads the team out and urges them on to a key victory.

"Everyone is looking forward to it," said Ferguson. "Every game is important to this club but these are the special games; the ones you feel you're challenged in and your players are looking forward to.

"There's a general good buzz about the place.

"I've got a group of players who are well and truly capable of winning this match and that's what I expect us to do."

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=233203&CPID=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Fergie:+We+must+win

Milner_24
22-10-2004, 11:15 PM
wat so great abt howard.....caroll is man the true unsung hero who can forget the amazing saves he made last yr when vs arsena FA semi-final.....

fergie need to play howard becos manu need to get into the US market but for caroll who is fr N.Ireland...there is no market over there....

MatrixFanatic
23-10-2004, 12:01 AM
wat so great abt howard.....caroll is man the true unsung hero who can forget the amazing saves he made last yr when vs arsena FA semi-final.....

fergie need to play howard becos manu need to get into the US market but for caroll who is fr N.Ireland...there is no market over there....

Howard is not as bad as you think. Carroll gets to play when Ferdinand comes back of course Carroll is better. Not that I think Carroll is a lousy Keeper but I feel Howard is still the man. :s7:

usjag_18
23-10-2004, 01:05 AM

I admit that Carroll is good but I still think Howard will be the man. Even P.Schmeichel thinks so too. As for what you mentioned about the market, it's not true. Market or no market, it still depends on the players themselves that can caught attention from the manager. :)

But currently, I don't think T.Howard will be chosen due to so many mistakes made for the past few mths. Maybe it's a good rest for him.

Howard is not as bad as you think. Carroll gets to play when Ferdinand comes back of course Carroll is better. Not that I think Carroll is a lousy Keeper but I feel Howard is still the man. :s7:

I agreed. T.Howard is not bad. He's quite flexible and also tall enough to block most ball, maybe he's just not himself. Also partly mebbe he's used to play with Ferdinand. However, that's not the point, the point is he still should be able to pair up with any defenders in front of him. Oh, there's one point I need to point. Something must be wrong with the GKs & W.Brown, they can never seem to communicate well one. No matter from F.Barthez to T.Howard or even R.Carroll. It seems like mis-communication always made among the GKs & W.Brown.

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
23-10-2004, 01:11 AM
yes . smith to start the game for me too .

carroll

ronaldo - keane - scholes - giggs

rvn - smith
I like this formation, but I don't think R.Keane will be there due to the flu. However, still hope he can battle out against the flu.

If he's not playing, I was hoping maybe J.Kleberson can take over. J.O'Shea is really not really a good choice for midfield, especially, he's not really being himself this season.

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
23-10-2004, 01:14 AM

it's really ridiculous. No wonder, players nowadays don't give a damn to referees. Even the own association do not believe in what the referees said, how can players believe in them.

Rgds,
O'

Alienz
23-10-2004, 02:20 AM
Massive ask for United

http://www.itv-football.co.uk/mediastore/Story_Images/ITV_Pics/ITV_ManUnited/fergie_wenger150.jpg

So the murderous mob take on a team that have been on the slide since they peaked three years ago, or presumably that is how Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger would like us to view Sunday's showdown between Arsenal and Manchester United.

The build-up to each contest between these sides is becoming like a boxing match - some might say entirely appropriately - with the rival fighters each insulting the other in carefully calculated attempts to boost interest and sell tickets.

Such sledging and mind-games are pretty much superfluous on these occasions though, as meetings between these two have become the most eagerly-anticipated clashes of the Premiership season. Except this time, it hardly needs to be said, there is even more at stake.

Much has been written and said about Arsenal's astonishing unbeaten run, but it bears repeating. Not since the third-last game of the 2002-2003 season have they been beaten in the league - and then by Leeds of all teams.

They are 49 not out and just need a single to complete the half-century. That their opponents at such a stage are Manchester United only adds pressure and expectation to both teams.

It goes without saying that United, Ferguson especially, will be desperate to end that run, and also desperate for victory, if only to keep themselves within touching distance in the race for the title.

A year in football can usher forth the most dramatic changes. Nowhere have those changes in fortunes been more noticeable than in the relative standings of Arsenal and United.

Think back to the 'battle of Old Trafford' on September 21 last year - just two days before Rio Ferdinand walked out of United's training ground without taking a drugs test - and it was the then-reigning champions United who were regarded as very much the team to beat.

Fast forward 13 months and the roles have not just been reversed, but United are struggling to maintain parity with not just the Gunners, but also Chelsea.

So what has happened? Wenger might well have been closer to the mark than he intended when he claimed that United had peaked in 2001. The Arsenal manager may just have been firing the latest salvo in the verbal battle with Ferguson but there are shades of truth in that suggestion.

The reality is that even in 2003, the last time United won the Premiership, Arsenal were on the way up while Ferguson's side narrowly won the league while on their way down.

They of course will think differently, especially with Ferdinand back from suspension and Wayne Rooney added to the squad and, despite by their high standards an awful start to this season, they will look back to last season to the FA Cup semi-final when Paul Scholes' goal was enough to beat Arsenal.

But United are an unsettled team at the moment and Ferguson himself has admitted that he has tinkered needlessly. The reason he has done so must be because he himself does not know his best team - Rooney may have been a fantastic signing, but his arrival has also caused his manager some selection dilemmas.

By contrast, Arsenal have been stable, playing the same electric brand of attacking football with often exactly the same personnel as last season.

In fact there may just be one Arsenal player on Sunday who did not play a major part in last season's campaign, the brilliant 17-year-old Cesc Fabregas, who has probably brought as much satisfaction to Wenger as Rooney's arrival at Old Trafford has to his manager.

Arsenal will come a cropper one day, they only need some bad luck and that will be enough to end the run.

It will be tense, frenetic, physical and emotional at Old Trafford on Sunday, but United will have to play a hell of a lot better than they have done this season if they are to stop Arsenal erecting another landmark in English football.

source (http://www.itv-football.co.uk/Features/story_131050.shtml)

RVN
23-10-2004, 04:05 AM
Nomura 'eyed for Man Utd defence'

Nomura, the Japanese bank, has confirmed that it is involved in a plan to block any bid for Manchester United by the US tycoon Malcolm Glazer.
The bank said it was in talks with Keith Harris, a former Football League chairman, about plans to create a new ownership structure for the club.

Mr Harris is believed to want to buy shares on behalf of fans, thus giving them a veto over any Glazer bid.

According to newspaper reports, Nomura could provide £200m in funding.

Nomura declined to give details of its proposals but said that it was working with Seymour Pierce, the investment bank headed by Mr Harris.

"Nomura confirms its Asset Finance Group is in discussions with Seymour Pierce about providing finance to assist them and the supporters with a view to developing a strategy that will provide a long-term future for Manchester United that is in the best interests of the club," it said in a statement.

Mr Harris, a Manchester United shareholder and life-long fan, is believed to have approached Nomura several weeks ago as part of his attempt to stop Mr Glazer taking control of Manchester United.

It is believed that Mr Harris wants to build up a stake in the club of more than 25%.

This would ensure that, in the event of a takeover, Mr Glazer would not be able to remove the club from the stock market without the agreement of supporters.

Keith Harris believes football clubs should be run as private businesses

Supporters' groups fiercely oppose Mr Glazer's ambition to take over the club.

Mr Glazer has increased his stake in the club from 19.2% to 28.1% last week.

He recently approached Manchester United about a possible takeover bid although he has yet to make a firm offer.

Mr Harris is an expert in football financing.

He advised former Chelsea chairman Ken Bates on the club's sale to Roman Abramovich and has worked with a number of other clubs including Spurs and Milwall on raising finance.

According to a report in the Financial Times, Nomura's would provide funding in the form of debt, which would be partly repaid by a securitisation of future ticket sales or broadcasting revenues.

However, City analysts have expressed scepticism about the proposals.

They argue that since Mr Glazer holds more than a 25% stake in the club, he would be able to block any proposed securitisation plan.

"It is difficult to do anything with Manchester United because so many of the shares are tied up," Rick Denteith, an analyst with Royal London Asset Management, told the BBC.

"It is going to be a very difficult one to get through."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/3943861.stm

RVN
23-10-2004, 04:25 AM
Nomura 'eyed for Man Utd defence'

Nomura, the Japanese bank, has confirmed that it is involved in a plan to block any bid for Manchester United by the US tycoon Malcolm Glazer.
The bank said it was in talks with Keith Harris, a former Football League chairman, about plans to create a new ownership structure for the club.

Mr Harris is believed to want to buy shares on behalf of fans, thus giving them a veto over any Glazer bid.

According to newspaper reports, Nomura could provide £200m in funding.

Nomura declined to give details of its proposals but said that it was working with Seymour Pierce, the investment bank headed by Mr Harris.

"Nomura confirms its Asset Finance Group is in discussions with Seymour Pierce about providing finance to assist them and the supporters with a view to developing a strategy that will provide a long-term future for Manchester United that is in the best interests of the club," it said in a statement.

Mr Harris, a Manchester United shareholder and life-long fan, is believed to have approached Nomura several weeks ago as part of his attempt to stop Mr Glazer taking control of Manchester United.

It is believed that Mr Harris wants to build up a stake in the club of more than 25%.

This would ensure that, in the event of a takeover, Mr Glazer would not be able to remove the club from the stock market without the agreement of supporters.

Keith Harris believes football clubs should be run as private businesses

Supporters' groups fiercely oppose Mr Glazer's ambition to take over the club.

Mr Glazer has increased his stake in the club from 19.2% to 28.1% last week.

He recently approached Manchester United about a possible takeover bid although he has yet to make a firm offer.

Mr Harris is an expert in football financing.

He advised former Chelsea chairman Ken Bates on the club's sale to Roman Abramovich and has worked with a number of other clubs including Spurs and Milwall on raising finance.

According to a report in the Financial Times, Nomura's would provide funding in the form of debt, which would be partly repaid by a securitisation of future ticket sales or broadcasting revenues.

However, City analysts have expressed scepticism about the proposals.

They argue that since Mr Glazer holds more than a 25% stake in the club, he would be able to block any proposed securitisation plan.

"It is difficult to do anything with Manchester United because so many of the shares are tied up," Rick Denteith, an analyst with Royal London Asset Management, told the BBC.

"It is going to be a very difficult one to get through."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/3943861.stm

Alienz
23-10-2004, 05:16 AM
Fergie: Losing won't do

Sir Alex Ferguson is convinced Manchester United will end Arsenal's 49-game unbeaten run on Sunday - because they simply have to.

The Gunners saunter into Old Trafford this weekend having not lost in the Premiership since May 2003 and already boasting an 11-point lead over their long-standing rivals.

Every available form line suggests Arsene Wenger's side will make it 50 not out, and may even extend their advantage to a title-busting 14 points.

United have won only three times in the league this season, have scored just once in their last three games and stand on the brink of recording a third successive goalless draw for the first time since 1921.

But despite their current lack of form, Ferguson has no doubts that his squad are capable of reviving their interest in the championship chase by shooting down the Gunners.

"I have a group of players who are well and truly capable of winning the game on Sunday and that is what I expect us to do," he said.

"For us to win the league, winning is a big issue for us on Sunday. I am sure Arsenal would be delighted if they got a draw and stayed 11 points clear of us.

"But we know from past experience that leagues can turn very easily. We were 12 points behind Newcastle in 1996 and won it and 12 points ahead of Arsenal in 1998 and lost it.

"What we have to do is get a victory on Sunday and then see how that affects things."

Aside from the importance of victory itself, the build-up has been centred around the ugly ending to last season's corresponding fixture, when Ruud van Nistelrooy was manhandled by a posse of Arsenal players celebrating the Dutchman's last-minute penalty miss, but Ferguson doesn't believe discipline will be a problem for his side this year

"It's an important game but we know how to handle it," he said. "Earlier this week, Arsene Wenger made the point about being responsible but as manager of Manchester United I have always felt that. That is why our disciplinary record is so good."

source (http://msn.foxsports.com/story/3101366)

MatrixFanatic
23-10-2004, 08:30 AM
Woohoo can't wait for Sunday make or break match for season. :s8:

Ronaldo7
23-10-2004, 10:59 AM
I like this formation, but I don't think R.Keane will be there due to the flu. However, still hope he can battle out against the flu.

If he's not playing, I was hoping maybe J.Kleberson can take over. J.O'Shea is really not really a good choice for midfield, especially, he's not really being himself this season.

Regards,
O'

IF keano can't make it on sunday , then maybe i hope rooney will start the match , with smith maybe playing just behind the 2 strikers . :s8:

Kyubi
23-10-2004, 01:29 PM
IF keano can't make it on sunday , then maybe i hope rooney will start the match , with smith maybe playing just behind the 2 strikers . :s8:
so u mean scoles will not play la ... seriously speaking if keane is not playing .. i dun one oshea to be on the pitch .. i rather miller lolz .. cant wait .. 1 more day ..

MatrixFanatic
23-10-2004, 01:32 PM
Djemba should play if Keane doesn't recover in time.

RVN
23-10-2004, 02:27 PM
Djemba should play if Keane doesn't recover in time.

No, Djemba is crap, I rather Phil plays, I am bemused why he still hasn't play for us this season. However I do think keane will play, don't think a simple virus will deter him from playing. :angel:

cutieboy86
23-10-2004, 02:41 PM
ya... i oso prefer phil to Djemba... phil has played well in the midfield b4 but duno y tis season SAF haf not really play him

Ronaldo7
23-10-2004, 02:51 PM
so u mean scoles will not play la ... seriously speaking if keane is not playing .. i dun one oshea to be on the pitch .. i rather miller lolz .. cant wait .. 1 more day ..

nope . scholes will still play with smith dropping back to midfield to add some defensive steel and support the attack if needed

ronaldo - scholes - smith - giggs

rvn- rooney

Ch3tah_39
23-10-2004, 02:54 PM
No, Djemba is crap, I rather Phil plays, I am bemused why he still hasn't play for us this season. However I do think keane will play, don't think a simple virus will deter him from playing. :angel:

he okie la.... djemba

OreoCookies
23-10-2004, 03:54 PM
nope . scholes will still play with smith dropping back to midfield to add some defensive steel and support the attack if needed

ronaldo - scholes - smith - giggs

rvn- rooney

Not so sure about Smith playing in midfield... SAF did mention that Smith is first and foremost a striker at OT... And I'm not so sure if we should experiment with Smith's versatility in such a crucial clash...

OreoCookies
23-10-2004, 03:56 PM

Phil, Djemba, or Kleberson is fine with me, as long as Fergie doesn't try O'Shea in midfield anymore... He's okay at full-back, but just doesn't cut it in the midfield holding role...

cutieboy86
23-10-2004, 08:00 PM
Fergie: Don't take your eyes off it for a minute
Sir Alex Ferguson hailed tomorrow's showdown with Arsenal as "the biggest game of the decade" and insisted his Manchester United side will emerge triumphant. Fergie is convinced United will re-ignite the title race by winning at Old Trafford to stop Arsene Wenger's side from making it 50 games unbeaten in the Premiership. "I expect us to win against Arsenal," said Fergie. "It's the biggest game of the decade and in these situations we don't let ourselves down. Arsenal know they're going to have a difficult game and that we're the one team capable of beating them. There's no doubt about that. And we're the one team they'd prefer not to have to play to make it 50 games."
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror
We don't want revenge
Rio Ferdinand insists Manchester United are NOT looking for revenge when they take on Arsenal in the game of the season tomorrow. Defender Ferdinand said: "We don’t need to talk about the past to get us up for this game. We would be up for it anyway. Many different things change a season. There are lots of incidents and we could go on and on talking about revenge for this and revenge for that. Do we still want revenge for when Ian Wright fouled Peter Schmeichel? Just how far back do you go? Too much is made of grudges and revenge. What we have to do is concentrate on getting some better results. We need consistency. We have the players and the talent - it is just a question of turning it into results."
Shaun Custis, The Sun

Alienz
23-10-2004, 11:55 PM
FERDINAND CONSIDERED RETIREMENT

http://www.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/allsportferdinandwales.jpg

Rio Ferdinand thought about quitting England in the wake of his eight-month ban for a missed drugs test.

So disgusted was the Manchester United centre-back over his treatment by the Football Association that the £29million defender spent 48 hours seriously considering his international future.

Thankfully for Sven-Goran Eriksson, Ferdinand quickly changed his mind and returned for this month's World Cup double-header against Wales and Azerbaijan.

However, the 25-year-old has clearly not forgotten the anger which boiled over when the FA handed down their verdict in December last year and in an exclusive interview with MUTV this evening, outlined the depth of his despair.

"The day I got the punishment I was really bitter, angry and upset," he said.

"If someone had asked me that day, or the day after, whether I would play for England again, I would have said no.

"But as time passes, you come to your senses. I am not the first person to feel like I did about your national association and you have to remind yourself that every kid in the world wants to play football for their country.

"To not have done so would have been disrespectful and now I want to carry on playing for England for as long as possible."

There were many times during his ban, especially towards the end of last season, when Ferdinand's United future was called into question.

A big money move back to his native London to either Arsenal or Chelsea was mentioned, although Sir Alex Ferguson scoffed at the speculation, stood by his man and even made him skipper on only the third match into his comeback against Fenerbahce, a clear indication of who is likely to succeed Roy Keane when the Irishman eventually stands down.

And now Ferdinand, in his third season at the club following his move from Leeds, is even talking about extending his stay beyond the remaining two years of his contract.

"I am really happy here," he insisted.

"I have heard people say I am going to move back to London but I love where I live up here and love all the people around me.

"The results may not be brilliant just now but I would have walked from Leeds to join this club and I am still enjoying myself."

Ferdinand broke his ever-present record since his return against Liverpool last month on Tuesday, when he missed the Champions League trip to Sparta Prague in order to attend his grandmother's funeral.

Despite being pictured leaving a London nightclub in the early hours of Tuesday morning, he is almost certain to return for Sunday's key encounter with Arsenal, which United must win to retain any realistic hope of reclaiming their Premiership crown.

While Arsenal's last 49 Premiership opponents have found the Gunners to be unbeatable, the Old Trafford outfit have no inferiority complex, especially as they emerged victorious on their last competitive meeting, the FA Cup semi-final at Villa Park in April.

Ferdinand missed that game, so was unable to improve an unhappy record that has seen him win just one of his 10 career battles against the Gunners, with West Ham, Leeds and Manchester United.

Yet rather than fear facing Thierry Henry and company, the Peckham-born player is relishing the confrontation.

"For the last few years, Thierry Henry has consistently been one of the best forwards in the world," Ferdinand told the Manchester Evening News.

"Each year, he has not only been scoring but he has been setting them up as well.

"He can do most things and that sets him apart from the other players and he will have to be taken care of on Sunday without a doubt.

"But this is no bigger test for me than all my games have been since my comeback. If it's me in direct combat with Henry then I will be ready for it."

source (http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/manu/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/10/22/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ferdinand.html&TEAMHD=manu)

Ch3tah_39
24-10-2004, 01:00 AM
ya lor.. of course angry la... miss drug test ban him for eight months :frus:

usjag_18
24-10-2004, 10:40 AM
Phil, Djemba, or Kleberson is fine with me, as long as Fergie doesn't try O'Shea in midfield anymore... He's okay at full-back, but just doesn't cut it in the midfield holding role...

Hahaha... I think Alex Fergie trying to create another Mikael Silvestre. Because M.Silvestre used to be midfield player until coming to Man Utd, A.Fergie forced him to play in defending position.

However, I think he shouldn't play J.O'shea this season @ all. Not because he's not consistent, because he's not even playing for many games. But because he's not even having the spirits or way of playing really like school-boys.

As for today, if R.Keane is not playing, I think the formation should be follow: -

Ronaldo ------ Rooney ------- Scholes -------- Giggs
----------------- V.Nistelrooy -------------- Smith -----------------------

OR

Ronaldo ------ Rooney ------- Scholes -------- Giggs
-------------------------------Smith ------------------------
----------------- V.Nistelrooy ---------------------------------

I think either one of this formations will be coolx. As for defending, as usual, I think the back four will still be the same. GK too. Unless A.Fergie decided to give Lopez or T.Howard another chance. Lolx :s13: which is quite impossible now, especially today's game.
What do you guys think?

Rgds,
O'

Ronaldo7
24-10-2004, 10:49 AM
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1334831,00.html

MatrixFanatic
24-10-2004, 01:18 PM
Wah seh sibei kan jiong. Can't wait for the match.

uRiZEn
24-10-2004, 02:54 PM
Hahaha... I think Alex Fergie trying to create another Mikael Silvestre. Because M.Silvestre used to be midfield player until coming to Man Utd, A.Fergie forced him to play in defending position.

ur kidding me.Silvestre has never been a midfielder when he was at Rennes or Inter.
:bandit:

stam
24-10-2004, 03:32 PM
Tonite Big Match! Man Utd Vs Arsenal!!! :)

cutieboy86
24-10-2004, 04:03 PM
too bad i cant watch the match cos tml hafin alevel phy prac exam

Ronaldo7
24-10-2004, 04:06 PM
too bad i cant watch the match cos tml hafin alevel phy prac exam

good luck for your paper :) 7 more hours to go :evil:

cutieboy86
24-10-2004, 04:10 PM
good luck for your paper :) 7 more hours to go :evil:

thx ronaldo7 :)

Alienz
24-10-2004, 05:02 PM
Fergie tips Keane for boss role

http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/26989.jpg

Roy Keane is preparing himself for management with speculationmounting that he could be the man to succeed Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford.

Veteran midfielder Keane is currently collecting the credentials needed to make the transition from player to coach and could end his playing days just as boss Ferguson steps into the background at Old Trafford.

Whether United would turn to someone without proven top-level experience when the club's most successful manager hands over his post remains to be seen, but Ferguson is convinced Keane will make it to the top as a coach.

"That's a bit of a way ahead but I think that if Roy wants to stay in the game he will do well at it because he has great abilities," Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News Sunday Pink.

"He is an intelligent guy and he'll be a good coach.

"At present he's going for his Uefa licence which is important but that is

all in the future."

Ferguson already has three of his former players on his senior staff in first-team coach Mike Phelan, youth team chief Brian McClair and

goalkeeping supervisor Tony Coton, with every possibility there will also be a place for Keane when he hangs up his boots.

After skippering club and country for many years, he is unlikely to want a

supporting role on the backroom staff.

Ferguson celebrates his 63rd birthday on New Year's Eve and recently revealed he has no definite plans to stand down - but came close to retirement two years ago.

"I've got the perfect situation as far as my contract is concerned. I've got

a roll-on contract which means I can decide when to retire, or not to

retire. There is no date on me retiring.

"Once you get into your sixties you're not guaranteed your health any more. At the moment I am in control of that but not tomorrow maybe. Who knows?"

source (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,2483_132168,00.html)

jacqles
24-10-2004, 05:08 PM
make keano the vice boss behind carlos queiroz first. queiroz will make a brilliant manager.

orca_sea
24-10-2004, 06:39 PM
ya lor.. of course angry la... miss drug test ban him for eight months :frus:

i wonder wat punishment will the FA give if Mutu realli took drug... :s22:

orca_sea
24-10-2004, 06:40 PM
make keano the vice boss behind carlos queiroz first. queiroz will make a brilliant manager.

yup yup :)

RVN
24-10-2004, 07:05 PM
Frey claimed United interest

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/italy/parma/frey.jpg

Manchester United are keeping tabs on Parma keeper Sebastian Frey and the clubs' director's are reported to have already met with the French keeper's agent.

Sir Alex Ferguson has gone with Roy Carroll recently between the sticks for The Red Devils following a poor start to the season by Tim Howard.

United have been linked with a host of keepers of late with Middlesbrough Mark Schwarzer and Rennes' Swedish international Andreas Isaksson mentioned.

Frey, 24, has been an ever-present for Parma, but has conceded 11 goals in Serie A this season with the Stadio Ennio Tardini side struggling for form.

Frey has confirmed his agent Giovanni Branchini has met with United's directors and that he has reached an agreement with Parma to aid his release.

"I know United are following my progress and my agent, Giovanni Branchini, recently met their directors," said Frey to the News of the World.

"Inter Milan also want me and I have reached an agreement with Parma that they will not complicate things if I get a good offer."

Source (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=233484&cpid=21&CLID=&lid=2&title=United+eye+Parma+keeper)

AhHuat
24-10-2004, 07:23 PM
frey is not bad..... :bandit:

MatrixFanatic
24-10-2004, 07:24 PM
frey is not bad..... :bandit:

Yeah man second that. But what will happen to Howard? :alien:

Edit:Actually, quite sad to know that Silvestre is our second top-scorer going into the match. Never mind I'm sure things will change after the match.

stipe
24-10-2004, 07:50 PM
Edit:Actually, quite sad to know that Silvestre is our second top-scorer going into the match. Never mind I'm sure things will change after the match.

the strikers are fantastic. but teams are learning to choke man utd's supply line to the strikers, without good supply of assists, the strikers cannot do much... the midfield needs to impose themselves more... sadly, scholes remain man utd's only creative spark from central mid-field

usjag_18
24-10-2004, 08:51 PM
ur kidding me.Silvestre has never been a midfielder when he was at Rennes or Inter.
He is.... There's one article saying that he always wanted to play at midfield when he came over to Man Utd from Inter, but he neve got a chance.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
24-10-2004, 08:54 PM
Fergie tips Keane for boss role

http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/26989.jpg

Roy Keane is preparing himself for management with speculationmounting that he could be the man to succeed Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford.

Veteran midfielder Keane is currently collecting the credentials needed to make the transition from player to coach and could end his playing days just as boss Ferguson steps into the background at Old Trafford.

Whether United would turn to someone without proven top-level experience when the club's most successful manager hands over his post remains to be seen, but Ferguson is convinced Keane will make it to the top as a coach.

"That's a bit of a way ahead but I think that if Roy wants to stay in the game he will do well at it because he has great abilities," Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News Sunday Pink.

"He is an intelligent guy and he'll be a good coach.

"At present he's going for his Uefa licence which is important but that is

all in the future."

Ferguson already has three of his former players on his senior staff in first-team coach Mike Phelan, youth team chief Brian McClair and

goalkeeping supervisor Tony Coton, with every possibility there will also be a place for Keane when he hangs up his boots.

After skippering club and country for many years, he is unlikely to want a

supporting role on the backroom staff.

Ferguson celebrates his 63rd birthday on New Year's Eve and recently revealed he has no definite plans to stand down - but came close to retirement two years ago.

"I've got the perfect situation as far as my contract is concerned. I've got

a roll-on contract which means I can decide when to retire, or not to

retire. There is no date on me retiring.

"Once you get into your sixties you're not guaranteed your health any more. At the moment I am in control of that but not tomorrow maybe. Who knows?"

source (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,2483_132168,00.html)
I think he will be asst. coach first.

btw, cutieboy86, All the best 4 ur exams.
Hope both Man Utd & U can do excellent!

dredd
24-10-2004, 09:05 PM
i do hope that the players rise to the occasion n beat Arsenal...... :)

greycat87
24-10-2004, 09:15 PM
i do hope that the players rise to the occasion n beat Arsenal...... :)

They will. :)

cutieboy86
24-10-2004, 09:20 PM
I think he will be asst. coach first.

btw, cutieboy86, All the best 4 ur exams.
Hope both Man Utd & U can do excellent!

okok thx... yep man utd will do excellent :s13:

cutieboy86
24-10-2004, 09:37 PM
United eye Capel
Manchester United are targeting Seville winger Diego Capel. Old Trafford talent scouts first noticed 16-year-old Capel when he played for Spain under-17s with United defender Gerard Pique.
Sports reporter, Daily Star on Sunday

For sale!
Malcolm Glazer could sensationally sell Old Trafford to help finance his Manchester United takeover. Top secret documents seen by the Daily Star Sunday reveal that Yank multi-millionaire Glazer is being advised to sell the Theatre of Dreams - for around £100m - if he succeeds in taking over United. And City experts fear his high-risk strategy could place the future of the entire club in jeopardy. His controversial plans include the sale of Old Trafford before leasing it back.
Harry Harris, Daily Star Sunday

RVN
24-10-2004, 09:46 PM
For sale!
Malcolm Glazer could sensationally sell Old Trafford to help finance his Manchester United takeover. Top secret documents seen by the Daily Star Sunday reveal that Yank multi-millionaire Glazer is being advised to sell the Theatre of Dreams - for around £100m - if he succeeds in taking over United. And City experts fear his high-risk strategy could place the future of the entire club in jeopardy. His controversial plans include the sale of Old Trafford before leasing it back.
Harry Harris, Daily Star Sunday

Go to hell Glazer. Does this guy not know what the consequences would be if he did such a thing? he is a twat head... nobody wants him here so why don't he just get lost :mad:

Kyubi
24-10-2004, 11:02 PM
wah lucky no oshea on the starting upline... phew~

ragnarok95
24-10-2004, 11:44 PM
haiz...saf should play this way meh....

carroll
g.nevile, ferdinand, silvestre, heinze
ronaldo, scholes, rooney, giggs
smith , ruud

Kyubi
24-10-2004, 11:47 PM
din noltice howard is on the bench .. lolz

Alienz
24-10-2004, 11:47 PM
haiz...saf should play this way meh....

carroll
g.nevile, ferdinand, silvestre, heinze
ronaldo, scholes, rooney, giggs
smith , ruud
Cannot la. we need one centre mid to be defensive.

Kyubi
24-10-2004, 11:49 PM
actually i rather smith to b on the starting upline ... but then think abit .. he always do some miracle goals in second half ..

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 12:00 AM
i prefer that defensive player to be exchange with a skillful player that is able to perform and cause chaos againest the gunners...

Kyubi
25-10-2004, 01:03 AM
man u kicks arse ass ... rooney did it again!! wahahha

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:04 AM
yesh... arsenal unbeaten record stop here..
MAN UTD.. RUUD AND LOONEY :s22:

Ronaldo7
25-10-2004, 01:07 AM
what a game . i feel for ruud . just look at his reaction after he scored . p.neville had a good game too . this is the real united we want to see :evil:

cracker
25-10-2004, 01:08 AM
HArd to imagine tat penalty kick was Ruud's first attempt on Arsenal goal !!!!!

anyway it is 3 pts..hope MU will play more potitive football from now on 1!1 :)

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:08 AM
GREAT WIN!! haha cnnt sleep liao.. :s22:

Kyubi
25-10-2004, 01:09 AM
what a game . i feel for ruud . just look at his reaction after he scored . p.neville had a good game too . this is the real united we want to see :evil:
yeah and i cant sleep lolz

trickle_on
25-10-2004, 01:09 AM
We are the champions my friends.....we'll keep on....

erm....a little too early for this I know.

I'll just stick with.... "Ooh Ahh Cantona"

or would "Neh Neh Rooneh" be better???

A good win no doubt!!

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:10 AM
we have did something that in the past 49 epl matches that other teams cant, we beat the gunners 2-0! Now, this is the united we want to see!

AhHuat
25-10-2004, 01:13 AM
since ruud missed that penalty last season....my heart had been very heavy till today....
thank goodness man.....payback time :bandit:

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:15 AM
yeah and i cant sleep lolz

same same.. haha wat u gonna do.. :s22:

RVN
25-10-2004, 01:15 AM
Great performances from the lads, it was vital we won and we did it. :)

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:16 AM
Great performances from the lads, it was vital we won and we did it. :)

yeah!!! :s21: :s21:

Kyubi
same same.. haha wat u gonna do.. :s22:
no idea. . play pes3 .. or cm .. hahahah trash trash trash =x

uRiZEn
hope that after this match man u will be more confident in their play.

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:18 AM
rooney turn 19 today and boy...what a present!

Ch3tah_39
OT: why rvn rep pt keep dropping one

Ch3tah_39
rooney turn 19 today and boy...what a present!

great birthdae for that guy sial la... LOONEY :)

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:20 AM
fr manutd.com:

Play it again, Wayne
Sir Alex Ferguson has urged Wayne Rooney to end Arsenal's record-breaking unbeaten run at Old Trafford today by scoring another sensational winning goal. Rooney scored against the Gunners for Everton with a superb last-minute strike when just 16 years old in 2002. That October day he ended Arsenal's unbeaten 30-match run and Ferguson said: "He did it then - maybe he can do it again."

He DID it again.

alvinoyw
Anyone make banners here? I want a Rooney one :)

Ronaldo7
OT: why rvn rep pt keep dropping one

because he scored against arsenal :s13:

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:21 AM
fr manutd.com:

Play it again, Wayne
Sir Alex Ferguson has urged Wayne Rooney to end Arsenal's record-breaking unbeaten run at Old Trafford today by scoring another sensational winning goal. Rooney scored against the Gunners for Everton with a superb last-minute strike when just 16 years old in 2002. That October day he ended Arsenal's unbeaten 30-match run and Ferguson said: "He did it then - maybe he can do it again."

He DID it again.

looney the jinx of arsenal :s21:

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:21 AM
because he scored against arsenal :s13:

:s13: :s13: :s13:

uRiZEn
25-10-2004, 01:22 AM
today is a special day im giving all man u fan's rep points:)

o0KelviN0o
25-10-2004, 01:24 AM
we need to open a thread to balance back our points... :s8:

AhHuat
cheers everryone :)

kengbeng
Great result. Hope this will finally kickstart our season.

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:25 AM
cheers everryone :)

woot :s7:

goukiakuma
good match.. man utd rules. rooney :love: :love:

o0KelviN0o
since ruud missed that penalty last season....my heart had been very heavy till today....
thank goodness man.....payback time :bandit:

buried the ghost... :)

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:26 AM
we won! ;)

alvinoyw
25-10-2004, 01:27 AM
Hope this will kickstart our own 50 game unbeaten run :)

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:28 AM
I HOPE ARSENAL CARRY ON LOSING!! :s22:

goukiakuma
25-10-2004, 01:29 AM
no need la.. 28 straight win can liao

uRiZEn
25-10-2004, 01:31 AM
haha cannot give out liao.

o0KelviN0o
25-10-2004, 01:32 AM

we still hold the TREBLE... :)

who cares about 50?

Ch3tah_39
U Man Utd fan? If so please don't bring yourself down to a certain Arsenal fan's level. :)

:s8: :s8: cnnt hope arr... i also never do it in arsenal forumm..
okie lor :s7:

Kyubi
hope man u will start winning after arsenal match .. and win throughout :D

o0KelviN0o
haha cannot give out liao.

got give me a not?

i up u back to 10 :D

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 01:33 AM
hope man u will start winning after arsenal match .. and win throughout :D

yeah.. hope they are back on form :s22:

alvinoyw
25-10-2004, 01:34 AM
we still hold the TREBLE... :)

who cares about 50?

True, who the hell will remember that you went 49 games unbeaten and only win 1 trophy?

LiquidSilver
25-10-2004, 01:38 AM
this is soo sweeet

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:39 AM
i goin to party the whole night long!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AhHuat
25-10-2004, 01:40 AM
True, who the hell will remember that you went 49 games unbeaten and only win 1 trophy?
quoted by jose mourinho: "You are NOTHING if you had never won the champions league"

Ronaldo7
25-10-2004, 01:40 AM
yes . a victory against arsenal is always sweet . to end their unbeaten run is even sweeter

Souljer
25-10-2004, 01:41 AM
I have to put my hands up and conceded that Manu was the better team today, whether in terms of commitment and tenacity. The second half was owned by u lot. I think our rythmn was disrupted by ur superior physical play. Congratz.

ragnarok95
25-10-2004, 01:42 AM
and its at our home ground...thats sweet to the core!

alvinoyw
Anyone took part the THE NEW PAPER'S "guess when will Arsenal's unbeaten run end" competition? They said the competition will end when Arsenal's run end, so the competition only last 1 day!!! :s13:

Kyubi
and oso thx phil for playing so well in the midfield lolz

KongLanJiaoWei
sweet victory, cheers

bizkit86
25-10-2004, 01:43 AM
glory glory man united :) heh 'shameful arsenal, always cheating' was damn clear sia

RVN
25-10-2004, 01:45 AM
Thought Rio was fantatsic, Having him back to shore up our back-line. We are keeping clean sheet which is great. :s7:

GreySpot
25-10-2004, 01:48 AM
Thought Rio was fantatsic, Having him back to shore up our back-line. We are keeping clean sheet which is great. :s7:
Very confident look on his face during the early minutes of the game, I thought he is gonna have a good game and he did.

Kyubi
25-10-2004, 01:49 AM
really gd to have him back ... after his return .. man u's defense is like getting stronger and stronger ... silvestre made less mistakes ...

KongLanJiaoWei
25-10-2004, 01:51 AM
yep, rio really gave an A STAR performance tonite,

guoquanyap
25-10-2004, 01:56 AM
today match was really a hard hard battle!! i think i saw tears in Ruud eyes when he scored the penalty.... :) and the birthday boy created one and scored one... :s21:

RVN
25-10-2004, 02:00 AM
Man Utd 2-0 Arsenal

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40450000/jpg/_40450815_van270.jpg
More Premiership photos
Ruud van Nistelrooy and Wayne Rooney each scored to give Manchester United a valuable win that ended Arsenal's unbeaten League run on 49 games.
Van Nistelrooy got the opener when he stroked in a contentious penalty after Sol Campbell's challenge on Rooney.

Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry had Arsenal's best chances but they were denied by good saves from United keeper Roy Carroll.

Rooney slotted in from six yards to complete victory on his 19th birthday.

The win helped United reduce the gap on Premiership leaders Arsenal to eight points.

It also helped Van Nistelrooy avenge the taunts from Arsenal players after he missed a last-minute spot-kick in the corresponding fixture last season.

The game had been billed as a must-win encounter for United in the build-up and Rio Ferdinand led them out as stand-in captain, with regular skipper Roy Keane ruled out because of the flu.

Arsenal midfielder Patrick Vieira had overcome his fitness battle to play but his early error almost proved costly.

He let a pass slide under his foot and almost gifted United striker Rooney an early goal on his birthday.

But Kolo Toure flung himself to block Rooney's shot and, when Paul Scholes gathered the rebound and again played in Rooney, the teenager cut the ball back to an unmarked Ryan Giggs.

Giggs struck a true shot, only for some more desperate Arsenal defending to come to their rescue, with Campbell getting his body in the way of the strike.

Campbell (right) conceded a penalty for a challenge on Rooney

Arsenal were then left bewildered when the referee waved play on after Freddie Ljungberg went down after a challenge from Ferdinand as he raced on to an Edu through ball.

The attack served as a warning to United as Arsenal started to get their free-flowing passing game into gear and a well-engineered move led to Bergkamp being played in on the United goal by Jose Antonio Reyes.

But home keeper Carroll quickly came out to save at the striker's feet.

Arsenal looked dangerous whenever they held on to possession and Henry was put clear by Edu, only for the alert Carroll to again rescue his side by quickly coming off his line and blocking at the French striker's feet.

Tempers were on a knife-edge at a tension-filled Old Trafford and threatened to boil over on a couple of occasions before the half-time whistle.

United had to endure some tense moments in their goalmouth as Arsenal began to dominate following the interval with Bergkamp dragging a shot wide in a promising opening for the visitors.

But United did threaten, with Heinze heading wide, and they took the lead when Rooney earned a penalty after a foul by Campbell.

Van Nistelrooy stroked in the spot-kick and United could have had another penalty when Cole brought down Ronaldo as Arsenal pressed for an equaliser.

A Cole shot then went high, while Giggs saw a shot saved at the other end.

But a valuable win was wrapped up for United when Rooney added a late second from six yards.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Man Utd: Carroll, Gary Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Heinze, Ronaldo (Smith 85), Phil Neville, Scholes, Giggs, Rooney, van Nistelrooy (Saha 90). Subs Not Used: Howard, Brown, Miller.

Booked: Gary Neville, Phil Neville.

Goals: van Nistelrooy 73 pen, Rooney 90.

Arsenal: Lehmann, Lauren, Campbell, Toure, Cole, Ljungberg, Vieira, Edu, Reyes (Pires 70), Bergkamp, Henry. Subs Not Used: Van Persie, Taylor, Fabregas, Cygan.

Booked: Cole, Vieira, Edu.

Att: 67,862

Ref: M Riley (W Yorkshire).

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/3727552.stm

Rume
25-10-2004, 02:04 AM
Love them! WIN IT~~~~~~ :D :D :D

nayfus
25-10-2004, 02:11 AM
I Just LOVE IT

Love the Feeling when Van the Man scores from penalty and I can really feel for him wihen he did the celebration... That is what I call .. nothing sweeter than sweet revenge..Martin Keown should have Been there man!!!!

RVN
25-10-2004, 02:13 AM
Some great pic from the match.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Ruud.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Celebration1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/RooneyCele.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Ferguson.jpg

usjag_18
25-10-2004, 03:29 AM
Some great pic from the match.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Ruud.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Celebration1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/RooneyCele.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v290/SRA196899/Ferguson.jpg
the sources of those fotos?

Kyubi
25-10-2004, 03:33 AM
nice fotos!! victory!

usjag_18
25-10-2004, 03:43 AM
When W.Rooney scored the 2nd goal, KILLING is SWEET. But when Ruud Van Nistelrooy scored, REVENGE is EVEN SWEETER.

The reasons are W.Rooney twice ruining Arsenal's UNBEATEN RUN, Ruud V.Nistelrooy was insulted last season, so I think REVENGING against them is EVEN SWEETER than any games he ever played, I guess.

All the players really did well today and this will be continue non-stop for all the games. The players finally bring out the FIGHTING SPIRITS today. So let's this be on non-stop.

Finally, it's just a trivial that I notice not long ago @ one of the man utd forums or on newspaper, can't really remember, anyway, the trivial is that there was one season, they said that most of RVN's penalty kick, not matter, whether is he being brought down or someone else being brought down, today's referee, M.Riley was the referee that always happen to be there when Ruud Van Nistelrooy scored. He never missed when this referee is around.

Regards,
O'

RVN
25-10-2004, 04:23 AM
the sources of those fotos?

From getty images, there are many pics on it. :)

http://tinyurl.com/6wnj2

pickupball
25-10-2004, 04:42 AM
hmn..this game very physical!!! Rooney seems to jinx it everytime for arsenal

greycat87
25-10-2004, 06:26 AM
Great result! :)

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 06:59 AM
Conclusion: Man U have to be hooligans to beat Arsenal.

All is fair in football :P

Congrats :)

cracker
25-10-2004, 07:13 AM
phil nevile's inclusion added lots of bites to the midfieldd dept. he made a few crucial tackles. Rio, as mentioned, was rock solid in defence with silvestre; though he was very lucky to be still playing after his foul on lundberg which was not punished by pat reiley !!

Ruud had a quiet game until he scored from the penalty spot ( it was his only shot on target the whole evening !)...... If the first goal was controversial, the second goal was just a result of Arsenal's frantic search for the equaliser; leaving gap behind..It was either generous or tactical of Smith to pass the ball to Rooney instead of going for goal.

anyway like all said,,,let's MU will REALLY start winning games from now on.

We had same euphoria after the 2-1 victory over Liverpool...

Btw why my rep point was reduced to 9 ?

k4
25-10-2004, 07:32 AM
So glad to see Manu2-0Arsenal on Soccernet just now... Ooo...

OT: Where can I get Manu car decal?

FLiNcHY
25-10-2004, 07:52 AM
Come come, all man utd fans start RE-worshipping your heroes now. Even Silvestre has been reinstated :spin: :eek:

Wait till the next 0-0 draw or 1-0 loss to a lesser team

All of them will be villified again :s13:

RVN
25-10-2004, 08:25 AM
Come come, all man utd fans start RE-worshipping your heroes now. Even Silvestre has been reinstated :spin: :eek:

I detact a sour graphes and bitterness from a gooner after losing their unbeaten record to us and still upset about it. :s13:

Thinker
25-10-2004, 08:27 AM

look what came out of the can of worms again...

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 08:39 AM
look what came out of the can of worms again...

But its true right? :)

Ch3tah_39
25-10-2004, 08:50 AM

den next time we shall see lor.. :s8:

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 09:11 AM
Conclusion: Man U have to be hooligans to beat Arsenal.

All is fair in football :P

Congrats :)

Obviously you don't watch football, nor do you sound like you follow it too much :s8: Perhaps you need reading lessons as well, since this is a Manchester United thread? The Arsenal thread is a few llines down :s8:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 09:18 AM
Obviously you don't watch football, nor do you sound like you follow it too much :s8: Perhaps you need reading lessons as well, since this is a Manchester United thread? The Arsenal thread is a few llines down :s8:

Well, I am no Gooners fan lolz.. but I do realise the defensiveness of some of the fans here.. heh :P

Its an interesting game between Manure & Gooners.. cheers :)

jacqles
25-10-2004, 09:47 AM
despite winning that game yesterday, i still do not think we stand a chance of winning the league this year. so don't get too carried away about this talk on winning the league because you know we jolly well can't.

it was very comforting and shiok to see that the 2nd goal was the combined efforts of all our strikers (minus Ruud). very timely pass by Saha and great vision by Smith and Rooney. hope they keep this up.

jacqles
25-10-2004, 09:51 AM
Phil did a great job last night .. but really .. Butt is missed :(

Thinker
25-10-2004, 09:53 AM
But its true right? :)

and arsenal are angels.

FLiNcHY
25-10-2004, 10:36 AM
I am not a sore loser. If it were a team to lose to, i would have wanted it to be man utd

I'm just saying, you idolise and then villify your players as often as you change clothes

Its not true?

Go search back in your threads in after every man utd draw or loss

JirQUEST
25-10-2004, 10:43 AM
I am not a sore loser. If it were a team to lose to, i would have wanted it to be man utd

I'm just saying, you idolise and then villify your players as often as you change clothes

Its not true?

this i gotta protest. i have been looking thru this thread for the past few weeks prior to this match. some of our guys here stuck up for the team regardless of their form. and i remember saying somewhere in the past few pages that man utd will win again. if u wan to, i can even pull out that for u.

ur guys aint any better either. the bashing of edu is all too clear hey?

Thinker
25-10-2004, 10:48 AM

Its not true?

Until the next Lehmann howler, right?

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 10:50 AM
What to do, most Singaporeans still have the narrow minded "Anything But United" mentality

But...to be fair, there are United "fans", maybe not in this forum, who do criticise the team like mad when they lose, but when they win, wah, everything forgotten...it's common for all teams, not just for United :alien:

Ronaldo7
25-10-2004, 11:42 AM
for those who are looking for the goals clip , it's here

http://pranay.myftp.org/prem/arsenal/manutdvsarsenal.zip

Yellowfin
25-10-2004, 12:17 PM
What to do, most Singaporeans still have the narrow minded "Anything But United" mentality

But...to be fair, there are United "fans", maybe not in this forum, who do criticise the team like mad when they lose, but when they win, wah, everything forgotten...it's common for all teams, not just for United :alien:

It is so true and you can find it in fans of every football teams.

Last night game, Man Utd finally have some support in the center of midfield which was somehow missing from the previous game.

FLiNcHY
25-10-2004, 01:06 PM
Until the next Lehmann howler, right?

what to do. if they can hate the legendary david seaman, they will do that too.

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 01:08 PM

Hahaha.. you might notice that the feeling is globally mutual ;)

1920_me
25-10-2004, 01:10 PM
i loved that fact was united was chopping down arsenal players...but i have sympathy for reyes...he's a nice lad....henry and ashley cole..deserved it in my opinion..but anyway if you look at the footballing terms..united were awful and still didnt create any obvious chances.

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 01:26 PM
Hahaha.. you might notice that the feeling is globally mutual ;)

I guess you haven't stepped out Singapore much, but I guess I should probably let you know that when United played Bayern in the CL final a couple of years back, all the JCRs in my Uni in UK were jam packed with students, and EVERYONE was cheering for United, no matter what team they supported. That is the kind of love for the game that you and so many other people in Singapore cannot understand. But I suppose I can't expect everyone to love the game as much as some of us do :s8:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 01:32 PM
I guess you haven't stepped out Singapore much, but I guess I should probably let you know that when United played Bayern in the CL final a couple of years back, all the JCRs in my Uni in UK were jam packed with students, and EVERYONE was cheering for United, no matter what team they supported. That is the kind of love for the game that you and so many other people in Singapore cannot understand. But I suppose I can't expect everyone to love the game as much as some of us do :s8:

You forget that since that is the CL match final ( 1999? ) btw an English club and a non-English club, naturally the peeps in UK will support MU.

I know you meant well, but that is a lousy example, IMO.

Btw, I am not a Singaporean but I can see that the narrow thinking does not just extend to non-MU fans.. heh :P

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 02:00 PM
You forget that since that is the CL match final ( 1999? ) btw an English club and a non-English club, naturally the peeps in UK will support MU.

I know you meant well, but that is a lousy example, IMO.

Btw, I am not a Singaporean but I can see that the narrow thinking does not just extend to non-MU fans.. heh :P

Obviously your short-sightedness extends beyond not being able to read thread headings. I said "people in Singapore", which is a much bigger group of people than "Singaporeans". If you enjoy being such an annoying ABU, there are plenty of Arsenal and Liverpool threads for you to post in. Heck you can even start your own ABU thread, I'm sure there are more than enough other narrow-minded people that would love to join you.

So what's wrong with supporting another club when they are playing against a common enemy? It shows a love of the game that I seriously doubt you possess. They can hurl abuse at United for the entire season, but to show any modicum of support at all to United for a Champion's League game demonstrates passion for the sport that some people are obviously lacking.

MatrixFanatic
25-10-2004, 02:03 PM
YES MAN! MANUTD WON WOOHOO. Oh, I'm late. Anyway felt very happy for Ruud when he converted the penalty.

And Manutd better win at Portsmouth next Saturday if not the win over Arsenal is as good as a loss. :s7:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 02:15 PM
Obviously your short-sightedness extends beyond not being able to read thread headings. I said "people in Singapore", which is a much bigger group of people than "Singaporeans". If you enjoy being such an annoying ABU, there are plenty of Arsenal and Liverpool threads for you to post in. Heck you can even start your own ABU thread, I'm sure there are more than enough other narrow-minded people that would love to join you.

So what's wrong with supporting another club when they are playing against a common enemy? It shows a love of the game that I seriously doubt you possess. They can hurl abuse at United for the entire season, but to show any modicum of support at all to United for a Champion's League game demonstrates passion for the sport that some people are obviously lacking.

First of all, it is not ABU.... Please do not say anything bad about the other clubs which ended with the word United.

The correct terminology would be ABMU :)

In addition, when you are replying to my postings earlier, you brought up the phrase ".. Most Singaporeans.. ". Hence, you have the misguided preception, which I have to correct you.

Lastly you gave a wrong example in regards to disagreeing with me the fact that ABMUs are everywhere. I am pretty sure the ABMUs in UK will support an English club irregardless of club affliation in regards to a match in the CL. Hmmm, come to think about it, if you admit that they love to curse at MU, that means that there are also ABMUs overseas too!

Hence, you have proven my point and I would like to thank you for your kind words.. :s8:

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 02:46 PM
First of all, it is not ABU.... Please do not say anything bad about the other clubs which ended with the word United.

The correct terminology would be ABMU :)

In addition, when you are replying to my postings earlier, you brought up the phrase ".. Most Singaporeans.. ". Hence, you have the misguided preception, which I have to correct you.

Lastly you gave a wrong example in regards to disagreeing with me the fact that ABMUs are everywhere. I am pretty sure the ABMUs in UK will support an English club irregardless of club affliation in regards to a match in the CL. Hmmm, come to think about it, if you admit that they love to curse at MU, that means that there are also ABMUs overseas too!

Hence, you have proven my point and I would like to thank you for your kind words.. :s8:

Wow you have demonstrated an ignorance of the culture of football and knowledge of the game to such a great degree that I doubt that even the Arsenal and Liverpool threads would want you posting in them. I could talk you through the history of football from its conception to present day twice and you still wouldn't understand it. To even try and debate this topic with you is like trying to explain astrophysics to a worm. At least the Arsenal and Liverpool supporters know what they want out of football, you're just a narrow-minded ABU who probably doesn't even watch a full match live. :s8:

MaSSiVeAttacK
25-10-2004, 02:57 PM
I detact a sour graphes and bitterness from a gooner after losing their unbeaten record to us and still upset about it. :s13:

a win is a win, so kudos to fergie and his charges! :)

till nxt time, at highbury!! :s7:

MatrixFanatic
25-10-2004, 03:05 PM
a win is a win, so kudos to fergie and his charges! :)

till nxt time, at highbury!! :s7:

Maybe FA cup as well. :bandit:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 03:06 PM
Wow you have demonstrated an ignorance of the culture of football and knowledge of the game to such a great degree that I doubt that even the Arsenal and Liverpool threads would want you posting in them. I could talk you through the history of football from its conception to present day twice and you still wouldn't understand it. To even try and debate this topic with you is like trying to explain astrophysics to a worm. At least the Arsenal and Liverpool supporters know what they want out of football, you're just a narrow-minded ABU who probably doesn't even watch a full match live. :s8:

I am quite happy that you have to resort to irrational replies to prove your point! :D

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 03:11 PM
I am quite happy that you have to resort to irrational replies to prove your point! :D

So says the person who barely even watches football, much less know anything about it :s13:

MaSSiVeAttacK
25-10-2004, 03:12 PM
Maybe FA cup as well. :bandit:

or even mayb in the CL, and League Cup too!! ahahahaha :s13:

pale
25-10-2004, 03:17 PM
Mouth is ppl one. They want say what we also cannot stop them. I have long given up trying to talk reason with them. Just ignore la. :)

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 03:25 PM
Mouth is ppl one. They want say what we also cannot stop them. I have long given up trying to talk reason with them. Just ignore la. :)

That's true lah...but you know some people very extra one lah...thread heading say Manchester United thread but come in and talk cock, some people never kena F* before cannot grow up...you know the Hokkien saying "buay gan buay dua" :)

Seals
25-10-2004, 03:28 PM
u miss out.. buay gan buay dua han

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 03:30 PM
u miss out.. buay gan buay dua han

pai seh pai seh i type too fast and miss out the last word :s13:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 03:35 PM

I basically agree with what you say lar in regards to him.. but he's quite okay in person except on IRC and forums...

pale
25-10-2004, 03:44 PM
I basically agree with what you say lar in regards to him.. but he's quite okay in person except on IRC and forums...

???????...Errrr...I was refering to u. This is a Man Utd thread. Why would I come in and say bad things about Man Utd? Even as Man Utd Fan. I was the first few to go into the Arsenal thread to congrat them when they broke the unbeaten streak of Nott Forrest.

Yellowfin
25-10-2004, 03:47 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,2483_134100,00.html

"The Times report that Ferguson was "spattered with soup, sandwiches and pizza by an Arsenal player" and had to change his suit before coming out for television interviews in a tracksuit.

Unqoute.

Shake head. They can't beat Man U so take it out on the manager.

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 03:49 PM

OMG some people are so stupid and buay pai seh that they think everyone else is behind them and their stupid posts

Seals
25-10-2004, 03:52 PM
wht i can say more of gangster team?? wonder who so daring... viera??? henry(cannot be)... edu.. lehman( high chance)...

Seals
25-10-2004, 03:52 PM
dun really like phil....

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 03:54 PM
???????...Errrr...I was refering to u. This is a Man Utd thread. Why would I come in and say bad things about Man Utd? Even as Man Utd Fan. I was the first few to go into the Arsenal thread to congrat them when they broke the unbeaten streak of Nott Forrest.

Apologies then. I did put a congrats note earlier on, maybe Ryan never notice.. heh.

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 03:58 PM
Apologies then. I did put a congrats note earlier on, maybe Ryan never notice.. heh.

Oh sorry, maybe you tried too hard to be sarcastic so no one noticed lah, maybe next time we should go into and Arsenal thread when they win and say "You suck, you cheat, you can't play football for nuts. But congrats for winning" :s8:

Hexlord
25-10-2004, 04:01 PM
Oh sorry, maybe you tried too hard to be sarcastic so no one noticed lah, maybe next time we should go into and Arsenal thread when they win and say "You suck, you cheat, you can't play football for nuts. But congrats for winning" :s8:

Hey, nobody's stopping you ;)

ryanseah
25-10-2004, 04:10 PM
Hey, nobody's stopping you ;)

Ya but I'm not so lame as to go into other clubs' threads to flame them, after all everyone has the right to support their own clubs, even (most of) the Arsenal fans aren't coming here to make noise, so why are you when you don't even support any club? :s8: