View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Next 4 matches are cruical for us. Man City and Newcastle look the tougher opponents for us, especially away to Newcastle. :slant:
3rd Nov UEFA Champions League
Manchester United v Sparta Prague
7th Nov Premiership
Manchester United v Manchester City
10th Nov Carling Cup
Manchester United v Crystal Palace
14th Nov Premiership
Newcastle v Manchester United
kahmun7
01-11-2004, 10:41 AM
Next 4 matches are cruical for us. Man City and Newcastle look the tougher opponents for us, especially away to Newcastle. :slant:
3rd Nov UEFA Champions League
Manchester United v Sparta Prague
7th Nov Premiership
Manchester United v Manchester City
10th Nov Carling Cup
Manchester United v Crystal Palace
14th Nov Premiership
Newcastle v Manchester United
The way Man U is playing now, even the Home match against Crystal Palace is a tough game to me... Seriously they need to win every single game. Can't even afford any Draws.
cracker
01-11-2004, 10:48 AM
just did a quick calculation,,
with chelsea and arsenal abt 9 pts ahead.
MU will need to win the next 5 games, while chelsea and arsenal can only draw or lose, in order to play catchup !
almost mission impossible.. :alien:
kahmun7
01-11-2004, 11:07 AM
Our hopes lies with the Champs League and FA Cup this season, If we don't win that, it's probably going to be a Trophyless season again. Playing catch up with 1 team is tough enough but still possible, but playing catch up against 2 teams who are both worthy, almost impossible, doable, but barely possible. Need a lot of luck. we can only hope to win every single game for the remaining 25 games...
OreoCookies
01-11-2004, 12:28 PM
We don't have time for that, if this goes on we'll be playing in the UEFA cup next season.
Just a sidenote... LoL...
If we do eventually end-up in the UEFA Cup next season, at least that'll let us have a go at getting the only European trophy that we've never won in the history of the club... :s13:
Still, I'd rather the CL than the UC... Hope we can pick up some kind of momentum going ASAP sia...
OreoCookies
01-11-2004, 12:34 PM
just did a quick calculation,,
with chelsea and arsenal abt 9 pts ahead.
MU will need to win the next 5 games, while chelsea and arsenal can only draw or lose, in order to play catchup !
almost mission impossible.. :alien:
Nothing is impossible... :D
But then again, the team almost always seem to have a knack for pushing themselves into an awkward position, no? And then we bounce back up again from there... As much as I'd rather the team be consistent, it seems almost always the case that Man Utd thrives best when the odds are stacked up high against us... ;)
OreoCookies
01-11-2004, 12:38 PM
Whether we win anything come May/June 2005 is one thing... I'd safely say that as long as the team plays to the best of itz ability, the supporters will always be there to cheer them on... And I guess that's what the team really needs to do now, to find the right tempo and start producing the football that will have people sit up and drool... ;)
1920_me
01-11-2004, 01:56 PM
it easy to accept if opponents are better than u..but most of the games we are lacking effort and most players not performing to the best of their abilities..erm..but this cant continue forever..soon we might fall out of contention of a champions league spot...i am 100% behind ferguson and united though!
Ronaldo7
01-11-2004, 01:57 PM
keep the faith :) football is a funny game :bandit:
kahmun7
01-11-2004, 01:58 PM
well... what to do if we fall out of contention of a champions league spot? DO LIKE REAL MADRID... win it instead... ha ha ha
asantosa
01-11-2004, 02:42 PM
if man u fail to get cl ticket, the financial consequences will be big, somemore many star players prefer a club that play in cl.
cracker
01-11-2004, 03:16 PM
UEFA is pushing forward for a limitation on foreign developed players on each team in their competitions. The last time such practise was done...it was 1994 to 1996 where each team was only allowed 4 foreign players in their team...for English team it refered to players outside UK. For MU, the campaign was a disaster; with Barcelona thrashing them 4-0.
SAF lamented tat was his best team but the policy prevented him from fielding his fav 11 !!!
anyway back to the current MU's woe,,,,we cant do anything abt it.
Just try to enjoy watever games tat comes along and stay United.
Don't give up fighting for a CL spot yet, although it be real tough for us to get it this season, we really need to up the tempo of our game.. :frus:
kahmun7
01-11-2004, 04:34 PM
List of things to do :-
1. Beat Arsenal away (tough) +3 on Arsenal
2. Beat Chelsea at home +3 on Chelsea
3. Hope Chelsea and Arsenal draw each other in both matches +2+2=+4 on both teams
4. get 2 more points somehow somewhere...
hehehe...
Fergie fury at strikers
A FURIOUS Sir Alex Ferguson could not hide his anger with his sloppy strikers after seeing Portsmouth end Manchester United's 14-game unbeaten run - and has demanded an immediate response.
Having been given a tremendous boost following the victory over Arsenal, the Reds chief could not believe how United fluffed their lines so badly, particularly as they squandered a number of chances before losing 2-0 at Fratton Park.
The gap between United and joint- leaders Arsenal and Chelsea has opened to nine points, and Ferguson is well aware that there can be no more slips if they want to get back into the title race.
United return to Champions' League duty against Sparta Prague on Wednesday night, before locking horns with City in next Sunday's Old Trafford derby. And Ferguson has made it clear that he will accept nothing other than two victories.
"It was a real kick in the teeth to be honest," fumed the manager. "The result of last week has been absolutely destroyed. We missed a number of chances and sometimes didn't hit the target.
"You can't have that. It's just terrible. I couldn't tell you why it was. With the quality that we have, we should at least be hitting the target. Once we went 1-0 down it became a difficult place to play.
"They have great power and strength up front. Yakubu and Lua Lua are as good as any partnership in the Premiership. They're a real handful. They have such pace and Harry Redknapp has got a decent set-up.
"We should have been well in front. If you don't press home your advantage, it starts to become difficult. We have let everyone down. We can't have that. It's a bad, bad result. Every game is important now. I'm not interested in Arsenal. I'm only bothered about what we are doing, and we aren't good enough."
Ferguson never had chance to share a glass of wine with his good friend Redknapp after the game, but the Portsmouth manager still had time to offer some words of encouragement.
He does not believe that United are out of the title race at all, and said: "It's going to be difficult for them but there is a lot to play for. Everything can turn around. On their day, United will give anyone a game. I would never write them off."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/135/135400_fergies_fury_at_strikers.html
stipe
01-11-2004, 10:30 PM
List of things to do :-
1. Beat Arsenal away (tough) +3 on Arsenal
2. Beat Chelsea at home +3 on Chelsea
3. Hope Chelsea and Arsenal draw each other in both matches +2+2=+4 on both teams
4. get 2 more points somehow somewhere...
hehehe...
you missed out that:
(5) Need to win other teams when Arsenal and Chelsea are winning (aka Portsmouth Incident)
MatrixFanatic
01-11-2004, 10:52 PM
you missed out that:
(5) Need to win other teams when Arsenal and Chelsea are winning (aka Portsmouth Incident)
Yes. As someone said before(Forgot who)
"You win the league by beating smaller clubs, not the bigger clubs."
kengbeng
02-11-2004, 12:58 AM
I feel that our season has been largely ruined due to a very poor pre-season. With injuries and international commitments, the squad hasn't been able to gel effectively together, especially since we have so many new players coming in these past 2 years. Hence we see that there's none of the nice link-up play we are so used to in the past seasons, which can only be achieved by players understanding how each other plays. Now, it's more like each player playing individually for themselves, quite a contrast to our usual team game of the recent past. In my opinion, the title is out of the question this season. Hopefully, the lads will get their act together to secure a Champions League place.
Whatever the end result is, we still have to stand United by the team. Let us show that we're not the glory-hunting part-time fans that the other fans like to make us out to be.
usjag_18
02-11-2004, 03:02 AM
in trying to build a dream team,,,,we have to tolerate a nightmare dream.
actually if u track MU's record,,,they havent been consistence since the banning of Rio back in Jan !! I believed it started with the defeat by Wolves. No doubt they had beaten Liverpool (home), Spur (A) and recently Arsenal (home) this season...but draws against teams which they should have beaten will plague them.
When they beat Liverpool, every1 said "the season starts from here",,,when they beat Arsenal,every1 said " this will jump start their season..."
Well lets see if they can get the 3 pts of Sparta Prague this midweek,,to qualify from their grp.
Most fans who supported Man Utd more than 10-20 years, should have understand the pain to endure bad season or the nightmare. As one of the older friend of mine said, this is not the worst season we ever seen. There are seasons before that are even worse.
No throphy, no Euro Cup qualification, and nothing going Man Utd way. So I guess this season is really not our worst, so cheer up guys.
AS for mission impossible that are mentioned by some of the people over here. It's not totally impossible. I mean soccer is a game that required 30% of skills & 70% of LUCK! So we never know.
Rgds,
O'
cracker
02-11-2004, 07:31 AM
Most fans who supported Man Utd more than 10-20 years, should have understand the pain to endure bad season or the nightmare. As one of the older friend of mine said, this is not the worst season we ever seen. There are seasons before that are even worse.
No throphy, no Euro Cup qualification, and nothing going Man Utd way. So I guess this season is really not our worst, so cheer up guys.
AS for mission impossible that are mentioned by some of the people over here. It's not totally impossible. I mean soccer is a game that required 30% of skills & 70% of LUCK! So we never know.
Rgds,
O'
o yes.... I had seen worst !!!! but back then..we only relied on BBC for the live commentary..
So no chance to see how awful they were until the game highlights were shown on Star Soccer or Big League Soccer...
kahmun7
02-11-2004, 09:46 AM
Well, in recent years, I admired United's ability to get something out of nothing... I mean the way they almost lose the Champs League Finals to Bayern in 1999 and get 2 Extra time Goal is fascinating, the way they trailed by 12 points to Arsenal but managed to catch up and win the league 2 years ago is incredible. The thing is, they have always been able to turn things around when things are bad...
This season it's like the other way around, I mean they managed to beat Liverpool but after that, they had a mediocre win against Tottenham and draws against Boro and Birmingham. Just when u think they have turned things around with the win over Arsenal they lost to Portsmouth, A game which everyone would expect them to have won with little trouble. Seriously, We need to find our scoring boots soon, if it takes another Flying Boot from Fergie please aim it at Djemba- Djemba... hehehe
About Ronaldo's recent performance, well my opinion is more that he's not becoming a selfish player, more of a frustrated player, as most of his crosses either did not find the targetted players, or there's no one in the box for him to cross it to when it mattered. So he might as well try some for himself. I'm not a professional footballer, but I think these things needs instant decision to be made within seconds, to cross, to pass or to shoot. It would also give the opponent something to think about... will he shoot, will he cross, will he pass? And if he feels he is confident enough to shoot it himself, I would say go ahead. If he miss, at least it's a good try. Give him some credit would ya?
cutieboy86
02-11-2004, 11:02 AM
SMITH: GOALS WILL FLOW
Alan Smith has insisted Manchester United's strike force will eventually come good.
Despite boasting a forward line containing Smith, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Wayne Rooney and Louis Saha, the Red Devils drew their fourth blank in 11 Barclays Premiership outings as they slumped to a 2-0 defeat at Portsmouth on Saturday.
They have failed to score in the first 15 minutes of any league match this season and with just 11 goals to their name, the Old Trafford outfit currently rank 14th in the Barclays Premiership goalscoring charts.
Sir Alex Ferguson knows the situation will have to be reversed quickly if his team are to stand any chance of pulling back the nine-point deficit on major title rivals Arsenal and Chelsea.
But Smith is confident a change in fortune is not far away. The former Leeds man, who has netted seven times in all competitions since his move from Elland Road last summer, feels there is too much talent in the United line-up for the goal drought to continue.
Smith told the club’s official website www.manutd.com: “I think we have a good blend.
“Ruud’s goalscoring record speaks for itself - everybody knows what he is about.
“Wayne can drop in and play behind one or two strikers, while Louis has got fantastic pace, is great in the air and has an unbelievable left foot.
“I can hold the ball up and bring other people into play, and my finishing is all right. The main thing is we are all different.”
Ironically, Smith’s place in the starting line-up to face Sparta Prague at Old Trafford on Wednesday is in doubt as Van Nistelrooy is available after serving the second of his three-match domestic ban by missing the ill-fated Fratton Park encounter.
Though the prolific Dutchman has had a relatively lean time in the Barclays Premiership this term, with just two penalties to his name, his phenomenal European strike rate - 31 goals in 35 appearances since his £18.5million switch from PSV Eindhoven in 2001 - means it is virtually unthinkable for Ferguson to leave him out, particularly as he Nistelrooy must sit out next weekend’s Manchester derby.
Having secured five points from their opening three Champions League outings, another three against Sparta on Wednesday will virtually guarantee United’s passage into the last 16.
After that, Kevin Keegan will head to Old Trafford looking to lead City to their first derby-day win on opposition soil since 1974.
Anything other than a home win is unthinkable if United are to stand a chance of reclaiming the title. But while some pundits are already writing the eight-time Premiership champions off, Cristiano Ronaldo insists they can still come back.
“There is still time to come back,” he told Marca. “I am still confident in the team.
“Against Arsenal we gave a lesson in how to play under difficult circumstances and take the points.
“If we can keep doing that, I am confident little by little, we can reduce the gap.”
JirQUEST
02-11-2004, 11:29 AM
in trying to build a dream team,,,,we have to tolerate a nightmare dream.
actually if u track MU's record,,,they havent been consistence since the banning of Rio back in Jan !! I believed it started with the defeat by Wolves. No doubt they had beaten Liverpool (home), Spur (A) and recently Arsenal (home) this season...but draws against teams which they should have beaten will plague them.
When they beat Liverpool, every1 said "the season starts from here",,,when they beat Arsenal,every1 said " this will jump start their season..."
Well lets see if they can get the 3 pts of Sparta Prague this midweek,,to qualify from their grp.
if u ask me, it is still too early. the months of nov/early dec is mostly bad for man utd. in seasons that they dun win the league, nov/dec turns out to be dream months for them...
asantosa
02-11-2004, 11:33 AM
if u ask me, it is still too early. the months of nov/early dec is mostly bad for man utd. in seasons that they dun win the league, nov/dec turns out to be dream months for them...
yup. 9 pts is still catchable.
cutieboy86
02-11-2004, 06:04 PM
Edu for United? That will make Wenger boil
Sir Alex Ferguson can further stoke up the lingering animosity between Old Trafford and Highbury by 'stealing' one of Arsene Wenger's coveted midfield players without paying a transfer fee. Ferguson is understood to be looking closely at Brazilian midfielder Edu, whose contract runs out next summer.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
kahmun7
02-11-2004, 06:07 PM
Edu for United? That will make Wenger boil
Sir Alex Ferguson can further stoke up the lingering animosity between Old Trafford and Highbury by 'stealing' one of Arsene Wenger's coveted midfield players without paying a transfer fee. Ferguson is understood to be looking closely at Brazilian midfielder Edu, whose contract runs out next summer.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
Wanna steal steal Vieira... har har har... then just watch how Ruud and Vieira react being in the same team. just kidding...
Edu as replacement for Giggs... hmm... possible. but doubt he will come to Man U..
cutieboy86
02-11-2004, 06:14 PM
NEVILLE SINGS PRAISES OF RIO
http://www.premierleague.com/en/images/news_premier_league/rio18410.jpg
Gary Neville has hailed Rio Ferdinand as one of the best defenders England has ever produced and insisted Manchester United will come through their current form crisis
Neville has followed Sir Alex Ferguson’s lead in admitting last weekend’s defeat at Portsmouth was a major “kick in the teeth” coming so soon after the momentous victory over Arsenal
The result means United have slipped nine points behind the Gunners and major title rivals Chelsea and currently languish in seventh spot, a position that would not even earn the Old Trafford club a place in the UEFA Cup if they were still in it at the end of the season.
Yet Neville insists there is too much talent in the Red Devils squad for the club to struggle for long.
And in Ferdinand, who capped an almost seamless return to action after his eight-month suspension with the finest performance of his entire career against the Gunners, Neville reckons they have a true star, to rank alongside the likes of another former West Ham legend, Bobby Moore.
“Rio Ferdinand is one of the best defenders England has ever had and I am not being too kind to him when I say that,” said the 29-year-old full-back.
“He has absolutely everything you would want. He is 6ft 4in and has a towering presence. He can read the game, he has speed, reaction and composure on the ball. He really is an unbelievable player.
“He is a towering figure at Manchester United, in the same manner Sol Campbell is at Arsenal.
“Everywhere he needs to be, he seems to be there. Hopefully the players he has around him at Old Trafford can give him the trophies his career will deserve because I truly believe Rio can go on to become whatever he wants to be.”
Having missed out on the FA Cup final win over Millwall last May because of his lengthy ban, Ferdinand so far has only one Premiership winners’ medal to show for his time at United and, unless there is a dramatic form reversal, he will not be getting another one at the end of this season.
As Neville has identified, it is not at the back where the major problems for his club lie. Almost unbelievably for a squad containing Ruud van Nistelrooy, Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Alan Smith, it is a lack of goals.
United have scored just 11 times in the Barclays Premiership this season, with their illustrious forward quartet contributing just six, two less than Crystal Palace’s Andy Johnson has managed on his own.
It is a stark contrast with the free-flowing, high-scoring teams that have become such a hallmark of Ferguson’s 18-year reign, although Neville is confident the situation will change very soon.
“I can’t add to anything the manager said about Saturday’s game - it was a kick in the teeth.
“The momentum and confidence we got from the Arsenal win should have taken us on to better things but it didn’t.
“We need to become a bit more ruthless and clinical in front of goal. There would be times in the past where we wouldn’t get a chance in the first 30 minutes and would be absolutely battered but the first opportunity in their half and we’d score. Before you know it we would then be 3-0 up and the game was over.
“United traditions have been built on scoring and attacking. That has never been our problem but at the moment it is not happening. But I promise you, we will get there.”
source (http://www.premierleague.com/fapl.rac?command=setSelectedId&nextPage=enNewsLatest&id=699855&type=com.fapl.website.news.NewsItem&)
MatrixFanatic
02-11-2004, 07:24 PM
Wanna steal steal Vieira... har har har... then just watch how Ruud and Vieira react being in the same team. just kidding...
Edu as replacement for Giggs... hmm... possible. but doubt he will come to Man U..
How Edu replace Giggs? If he comes he should be replacing Keane. Doubt he will come anyway. :angel:
cutieboy86
02-11-2004, 07:44 PM
haha... i oso dun tink edu will cum to man utd unless the pay tt man utd wan to gif him is too irresistable for edu to reject... lol
no arsenal reject here, no thanks. I think there are better option than Edu lol. :s13:
Keane: United must find form fast
Roy Keane has told his Manchester United team-mates they will win nothing this season unless they find consistency.
United's recent run of erratic form has left them trailing leaders Arsenal and Chelsea by nine points and suggests they may go through a trophyless campaign.
Keane says: "The attitude of the players has been spot on. Training has been great, really focused but while you can analyse the game too much, it boils down to the fact that if we are going to miss the chances we are creating - like at Portsmouth on Saturday - you are going to cause yourself trouble.
"It's all about putting the ball in the back of the net and if we don't do that, then that's looking for trouble."
Keane, who is back in action after missing two starts because of a virus, says he has seen enough to convince him that United have the ability to raise their game, but it needs to be done quickly.
He adds: "It's great being good in training but you have got to do it on the pitch on matchday.
"Over the years you see a lot of players who were outstanding in training but in the matches, it doesn't quite happen.
"It's transferring that to the pitch which matters and that boils down to the players.
"Our preparation is spot on, the work we do on the opposition but we need to get more consistent. We missed too many chances and gave two bad goals away on Saturday and that is a recipe for disaster at any level.
"We should be hitting the target more often and scoring more often and that is down to the whole team."
Keane is expected to be back to lead United against Sparta Prague in Wednesday night's Champions League clash.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_148161,00.html
Ronaldo7
02-11-2004, 08:24 PM
brown to stay with us ? :)
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1341447,00.html
MatrixFanatic
02-11-2004, 08:27 PM
Yes man. Brown staying. :s21:
cutieboy86
02-11-2004, 08:42 PM
haha... gd tt he is stayin... at least he is not listenin to his agent...
Yeah, come on Brown sign the new contract soon. =:p
I also prefer him to partner Rio rather than Silvestre. Shame Fergie isn't doing that. :frus:
Ruud to return against Sparta Prague
SIR Alex Ferguson is banking on his number one hitman Ruud van Nistelrooy firing United back to winning ways against Sparta Prague tomorrow night.
And the Reds' boss admits the Dutchman's return is more important to a United fightback than the inclusion from the start of captain Roy Keane after his recovery from a debilitating virus.
Van Nistelrooy missed the Reds' 2-0 defeat at Portsmouth last Saturday as he served out the second match of the three-game domestic ban imposed by the FA for his tackle on Arsenal's Ashley Cole in the Battle of Old Trafford 10 days ago.
In his absence £49m worth of United strike talent blew a series of golden first half chances.
Fergie has confirmed that Old Trafford's most prolific European scorer - van Nistelrooy has a record breaking 31 goals - will be back to face the Czechs even though he'll miss next Sunday's derby match against City when he completes his suspension.
Despite splashing big on Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Alan Smith Fergie has hailed his Dutch ace as the club's top striker.
"Ruud will be back. I can guarantee that he will be playing," Sir Alex told M.E.N. Sport.
"Ruud's the best. We need him back more than anyone. We need van Nistelrooy up there again because we missed some incredible chances at Portsmouth.
"After 20 minutes we had numerous chances. Not half chances but real opportunities. We missed those and suffered because of it.
"However, give Ruud four chances in a game and he'll take three of them.
"He has missed chances, of course, but that is the nature of being a goalscorer. However, his percentage of chances to goals scored is very, very high."
Ferguson is contemplating changes for the Group D game against Sparta Prague but admits he has to be careful after the Pompey setback.
"It is important not to be too drastic with changes after a defeat like Saturday," the United manager added.
"You can get caught up in a disappointment. I could make ten changes from Saturday easily but that could be counter productive.
"It is a Catch 22 situation. Sometimes you want to shake things up but we have to look for consistent selection because not being able to do that this season hasn't helped us.
"Getting over disappointments is all part and parcel of football. You have to do it. Sometimes it can be the making of you."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/135/135584_ruuds_the_best.html
MatrixFanatic
02-11-2004, 09:47 PM
I also prefer him to partner Rio rather than Silvestre. Shame Fergie isn't doing that. :frus:
Brown can also take over Gary's place. =:p
kahmun7
03-11-2004, 12:17 AM
Edu can be left midfielder... that's why all the hoo har about converting him into English Nationality so that he can solve England's natural left midfield problem. but then there are better choices out ther of course... sigh... If only we signed Duff.
kahmun7
03-11-2004, 12:18 AM
Yeap... Brown is better than Silvestre and Neville... remember end of Season 2002/2003 when he partnered Rio in central defence... was one of the best partnership for United for a long time..
cutieboy86
03-11-2004, 12:25 AM
yar... tt was 1 of best pairin since pallister and the hu durin the early 90s... wes brown is a gd player and he shld partner ferdinand at the centre instead of silvestre
JirQUEST
03-11-2004, 07:42 AM
steve bruce u mean.... too bad no stam and rio :o
gxelan
03-11-2004, 08:37 AM
whatever it is ...it is nt our def that is a prob ..its the midfield...man utd can dominate the midfield as b4.... the better team is always the one that can dominate the midfield...
like that they can have better chances of scoring... lets just hope man utd midfielders will have a better performance at the cl tml ..
kahmun7
03-11-2004, 09:34 AM
midfield... I thought Butt was a good replacement for Keane... Sigh, why do we have to sell him?
Giggs need to be replace, he's running out of ideas... Scholesy needs some inspiration... Ronaldo needs more experience...
asantosa
03-11-2004, 10:14 AM
if only he can be free of injury...
cutieboy86
03-11-2004, 11:48 AM
Fergie: RVN certain to face Sparta
LONDON, Nov 2 (Reuters) - Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson says striker Ruud van Nistelrooy will definitely return to the starting line-up for the Champions League Group D clash at home to Sparta Prague on Wednesday.
Van Nistelrooy missed Saturday's 2-0 Premier League defeat at Portsmouth because he is serving a three-match domestic ban for a high tackle on Arsenal defender Ashley Cole in United's bad-tempered 2-0 win last month.
'Ruud will be back. I can guarantee that he will be playing,' Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News on Tuesday.
'We need Van Nistelrooy up there again because we missed some incredible chances at Portsmouth. Ruud's the best.'
England striker Alan Smith, who started against Portsmouth, is likely to make way with Van Nistelrooy partnering Wayne Rooney up front.
United drew 0-0 in Prague two weeks ago and Ferguson says he is thinking of making other changes for the home clash but does not want to go overboard.
'It is important not to be too drastic with changes after a defeat like Saturday,' Ferguson added.
'You can get caught up in a disappointment. I could make 10 changes from Saturday easily but that could be counter productive.'
source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=315144&cc=4716)
cutieboy86
03-11-2004, 06:51 PM
Score or I'll pick myself
Alex Ferguson has warned his misfiring strikers to shape up or he will start picking himself. The 62-year-old Scot was, of course, joking. But you can understand Fergie’s frustration after watching his side score just 11 goals in as many Premiership games this season. Fergie said: “I have to pick the right team to beat Sparta Prague. But if I’m picking it on the evidence of Saturday at Portsmouth, then I might get a game myself. My father and my coaches always told me to make sure you hit the target. That’s the only advice I can give my strikers right now. For years we have been known as an attacking side which scores a lot of goals every season. It is possible our confidence has been affected in front of goal. Having played up front myself, I know that when you’re scoring you don’t think you’re ever going to stop. When you’re not, you don’t know where the next goal will come from. Even the best strikers feel it. We have not had this kind of problem before or indeed a problem at any level of the game.”
Neil Custis, The Sun
find tis news funny... fergie to start himself if the strikers still misfire...lol
Ronaldo7
03-11-2004, 07:08 PM
he was a striker when he was a player :s13:
cutieboy86
03-11-2004, 07:17 PM
yaya... can u imagine ferguson playin as a striker right nw... sure on target de... tt time he kick the boot at beckham... so accurate... lol
usjag_18
03-11-2004, 08:53 PM
yaya... can u imagine ferguson playin as a striker right nw... sure on target de... tt time he kick the boot at beckham... so accurate... lol
:s13: :s13: :s13:
usjag_18
03-11-2004, 08:56 PM
Edu can be left midfielder... that's why all the hoo har about converting him into English Nationality so that he can solve England's natural left midfield problem. but then there are better choices out ther of course... sigh... If only we signed Duff.
huh? Edu can play as left-winger @ Man Utd meh? I scare wait Wenger or Arsenal fans willl kill afterwards if he comes to Man Utd.
Regards,
O'
Kyubi
04-11-2004, 04:15 AM
hmm now watching man u match against sparta ... gd link up sia .. i was wondering .. our left winger ?? y not ronaldo play .? rite we can have miller ? hes not bad after all .. ?
darrenlee78
04-11-2004, 05:54 AM
2nd 1/2 abit sloppy defending but overall a good 3 points...
kleberson really looked lost and out of sorts..
Ronaldo n rooney seem to be linking up well.. =)
CL: 12 goals in 4 games :love: , PL: 11 goals in 11 games :alien:
Something not right there! :s8:
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 08:00 AM
CL: 12 goals in 4 games :love: , PL: 11 goals in 11 games :alien:
Something not right there! :s8:
LOlx... maybe this prove that our strikers are better @ BIGGER stages? hahahaa... Or they are calculations sucked up big time as they forget that they need more goals to survive in EPL to go into CL?
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 08:03 AM
Why is Kleberson always in trouble with Man Utd fans?
When he contributes, not much people praise him, when he's lost, everyone will mentioned abt him. Please give him some credits man. It's not an easy life man...Lolx...
Regards,
O'
kengbeng
04-11-2004, 08:43 AM
Sounds like a great result.
I haven't seen the match, but I suspect Sparta don't play the way our opponents do in the EPL, i.e. a tight closing down game. That's why our players have plenty of space to express themselves. Unfortunately, that's not the case in the EPL, where we have struggled to score due to this reason.
gxelan
04-11-2004, 08:47 AM
personal thoughts... european teams are nt exposed to man utd's style of play as much as epl team .... so they cant realli counter...
as for epl teams , they have met man utd lotsa times n they know the way to break man utd ....
anyways...that was quite a good match ...Roy Carroll prove that he can be NO.1 wif the saves he made .... n finally what every one is hoping for... wes brown partner Rio in central def !!!
Despite the win, the performances were far from convincing, score-line a bit flattering, 4th goal was offside, but a win is a win.
Our midfield were lightweight and sloppy. Prague's one touch passing cut us up while the midfield stood and watched them attack our back four. Prague's goal was 2 v 4 !!!! Good goal, but still 2 v 4 in OUR favour. They then had another half decent attack which resulted in a shot-cross that fizzed across the face of goal with a Prague player COMPLETELY UNMARKED at the back post. I think shakiness in our defence is caused by our midfield to be honest. Team's shouldn't be directly attacking our back four as much as they do, that is why we are seeing so many chances at our goal end, and inevitably they lead to the odd goal here and there. It seems as though we make the two walls of four and get behind the ball well enough, but once the mids have been penetrated, they literally have nothing else to add to the defensive effort and it's down to our defence to sort it out. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's how it appears to me. :s22:
darrenlee78
04-11-2004, 10:30 AM
Why is Kleberson always in trouble with Man Utd fans?
When he contributes, not much people praise him, when he's lost, everyone will mentioned abt him. Please give him some credits man. It's not an easy life man...Lolx...
Regards,
O'
the times where he have contributed does not compare to the time that he under performs :p
gxelan
04-11-2004, 11:05 AM
well...we have to face the fact.... if u dont contribute....fans are going to criticise u .... at man utd...i guess he is well prepared for it ....
MatrixFanatic
04-11-2004, 12:04 PM
Anyone got the goal clips? I missed the match. :frus:
Yellowfin
04-11-2004, 01:20 PM
Tonight, SCV will telecast the match at 8pm. Correctly if I am wrong.
cutieboy86
04-11-2004, 02:10 PM
last nite match will be telecast on scv chn 23 at 5pm later
MatrixFanatic
04-11-2004, 02:16 PM
Hope Ronaldo7 got links again. My blardy sister won't let me watch the TV one. :alien:
cutieboy86
04-11-2004, 02:16 PM
later must watch the match... last nite miss it again due to GP Alevel paper today... hmm...the 4th goal by ruud is a lucky goal cos he is offside but man utd nid him right nw to score the goals... roy carroll make a spendid double save at the 43min... finally see brown and ferdinand pairin up again... nw ferguson must be tinkin his threat of startin himself has worked since ruud score 4 goals... his 1st in man utd colors
kengbeng
04-11-2004, 02:44 PM
There is another telecast at 5PM on Channel 23.
The 8PM one is on Channel 24.
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 03:19 PM
Sir Alex hails four-star Ruud
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has hailed four-goal hero Ruud van Nistelrooy as the most clinical finisher he has ever worked with.
The Dutch maestro hammered home his first Red Devils four-timer as United put their Premiership scoring woes behind them to record a 4-1 Champions League win over Sparta Prague to realistically move within a point of a place in the last 16.
Van Nistelrooy's phenomenal European goals tally now stands at 35 in 36 outings for United since his £18.5million move from PSV Eindhoven three years ago.
And though he now has Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Alan Smith among his team-mates, Ferguson admits he is in a class of his own.
'His record is unbelievable,' said the United chief. 'He is definitely the most clinical finisher I have had at Manchester United.
'He is so quick with his feet and so cool with his finishing.
'If you go back to all the great strikers, the likes of Johann Cruyff, Alfredo di Stefano and Gerd Muller, the platform where they really excelled was in Europe and I think Ruud wants that stage as well.'
Having drawn a blank in Van Nistelrooy's absence at Portsmouth last Saturday, Ferguson had expressed the hope that all his team's chances would fall at the 28-year-old's feet tonight.
It did not quite work out like that as Sparta contributed fully to an entertaining contest which could have been far closer than it actually was.
But crucially for the hosts, Van Nistelrooy was presented with five excellent opportunities, Jaromir Blazek saving the only one that did not find the net just before the striker slotted home his fourth.
The rout leaves United in the bizarre position of having scored more goals, 12, in four Champions League games than they have mustered, 11, in 11 Premiership outings this season.
'It was a strange game,' reflected Ferguson.
'Sparta approached the match in a completely different manner to the way we expected. That was why it ended up so open. It could have been 4-4 after 20 minutes but thankfully Ruud killed them off in the end.'
Providing they avoided a four-goal slaughter in their final game against Fenerbahce, a home draw against already-qualified Lyon at Old Trafford on November 23 would see United take their customary place in the knock-out phase.
Of more immediate importance though is Sunday's Manchester derby, for which Mikael Silvestre is a doubt after picking up a flu virus that is lingering around United's training ground.
Ferguson has already seen his side immediately lose the momentum from a succession of major victories this season, most latterly following up the win over Arsenal with the defeat at Fratton Park.
And he is anxious not to suffer the same problem again.
'All tonight has done is confirm the abilities of the team,' he said.
'We keep saying we have to maintain the momentum but no matter which team I pick this weekend, we all deserve better than we saw on Saturday.
'We have to move on because every game is so important to us.'
Fenerbahce's defeat in France means Sparta still have a chance of qualifying for the UEFA Cup, although, as coach Frantisek Straka admitted, they could do without facing anyone like Van Nistelrooy again.
'I have always told my strikers finishing is the most important aspect of their game,' he said.
'Tonight Van Nistelrooy provided the perfect example of why.'
sources (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=315289&cc=3436)
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 03:23 PM
Hahaha, I find it so funny. Nowadays, there are so many people saying hoping to see W.Brown to partner with R.Ferdinand. Last time, people kept critising him being not good or what... Hahahaa... It's like 360degrees change.... It shows there are so many Man Utd fans with different opinions man... Lolx....
For one thing, I dun mind whoever partner with R.Ferdinand. What I care is whether can the central defenders doesn't MAKE silly mistakes. It's either R.Ferdinand with M.Silvestre or R.Ferdinand with W.Brown or W.Brown with M.Silvestre.... All these 3 combinations are alright for me as long as they can produce good defending.
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
04-11-2004, 03:54 PM
Sir Alex hails four-star Ruud
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has hailed four-goal hero Ruud van Nistelrooy as the most clinical finisher he has ever worked with.
The Dutch maestro hammered home his first Red Devils four-timer as United put their Premiership scoring woes behind them to record a 4-1 Champions League win over Sparta Prague to realistically move within a point of a place in the last 16.
Van Nistelrooy's phenomenal European goals tally now stands at 35 in 36 outings for United since his £18.5million move from PSV Eindhoven three years ago.
And though he now has Wayne Rooney, Louis Saha and Alan Smith among his team-mates, Ferguson admits he is in a class of his own.
'His record is unbelievable,' said the United chief. 'He is definitely the most clinical finisher I have had at Manchester United.
'He is so quick with his feet and so cool with his finishing.
'If you go back to all the great strikers, the likes of Johann Cruyff, Alfredo di Stefano and Gerd Muller, the platform where they really excelled was in Europe and I think Ruud wants that stage as well.'
Having drawn a blank in Van Nistelrooy's absence at Portsmouth last Saturday, Ferguson had expressed the hope that all his team's chances would fall at the 28-year-old's feet tonight.
It did not quite work out like that as Sparta contributed fully to an entertaining contest which could have been far closer than it actually was.
But crucially for the hosts, Van Nistelrooy was presented with five excellent opportunities, Jaromir Blazek saving the only one that did not find the net just before the striker slotted home his fourth.
The rout leaves United in the bizarre position of having scored more goals, 12, in four Champions League games than they have mustered, 11, in 11 Premiership outings this season.
'It was a strange game,' reflected Ferguson.
'Sparta approached the match in a completely different manner to the way we expected. That was why it ended up so open. It could have been 4-4 after 20 minutes but thankfully Ruud killed them off in the end.'
Providing they avoided a four-goal slaughter in their final game against Fenerbahce, a home draw against already-qualified Lyon at Old Trafford on November 23 would see United take their customary place in the knock-out phase.
Of more immediate importance though is Sunday's Manchester derby, for which Mikael Silvestre is a doubt after picking up a flu virus that is lingering around United's training ground.
Ferguson has already seen his side immediately lose the momentum from a succession of major victories this season, most latterly following up the win over Arsenal with the defeat at Fratton Park.
And he is anxious not to suffer the same problem again.
'All tonight has done is confirm the abilities of the team,' he said.
'We keep saying we have to maintain the momentum but no matter which team I pick this weekend, we all deserve better than we saw on Saturday.
'We have to move on because every game is so important to us.'
Fenerbahce's defeat in France means Sparta still have a chance of qualifying for the UEFA Cup, although, as coach Frantisek Straka admitted, they could do without facing anyone like Van Nistelrooy again.
'I have always told my strikers finishing is the most important aspect of their game,' he said.
'Tonight Van Nistelrooy provided the perfect example of why.'
sources (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=315289&cc=3436)
he is a legend :)
Yellowfin
04-11-2004, 04:09 PM
There is another telecast at 5PM on Channel 23.
The 8PM one is on Channel 24.
Great, then I don't have to wait until 8pm to watch the match.
Ch3tah_39
04-11-2004, 04:17 PM
woot when heard the news man utd win 4:1 in skool haha so happy.
den know tat ruud scored 4 all four goals.. :eek:
btw roy is superb... make two brilliant save consecutive... :)
Ch3tah_39
04-11-2004, 04:21 PM
Hahaha, I find it so funny. Nowadays, there are so many people saying hoping to see W.Brown to partner with R.Ferdinand. Last time, people kept critising him being not good or what... Hahahaa... It's like 360degrees change.... It shows there are so many Man Utd fans with different opinions man... Lolx....
For one thing, I dun mind whoever partner with R.Ferdinand. What I care is whether can the central defenders doesn't MAKE silly mistakes. It's either R.Ferdinand with M.Silvestre or R.Ferdinand with W.Brown or W.Brown with M.Silvestre.... All these 3 combinations are alright for me as long as they can produce good defending.
Regards,
O'
yep all these combinations are alright for me as long as they can produce good defending.
i would prefer brown on the right side.. i never criticize him lor haha.. so i no 360 degree change haha :s34:
cutieboy86
04-11-2004, 04:21 PM
ruud has always been an exceptional striker... class of his own... 35 goals in 36 european matches...
OreoCookies
04-11-2004, 05:23 PM
Regards,
O'
I agree with you on that... Although the Silvestre-Brown defensive pairing doesn't seem too tantalising an idea at the moment, considering that they haven't actually played all that much together...
Anyway, does anyone know about Brown's contract situation? I'd hate to see him leave OT at any price, let alone for a cut-price deal or even worse, for free... :(
AhHuat
04-11-2004, 05:24 PM
i still see ah brown as a weakest link in manutd defense....
after last night match...i can see a few nervous moments by this defender
OreoCookies
04-11-2004, 05:26 PM
Well, theoretically not yet... His legend will be complete come the end of his OT career, when all his goals and contributions can finally be tallied and added to the grand hall of fame... ;)
OreoCookies
04-11-2004, 05:29 PM
yep all these combinations are alright for me as long as they can produce good defending.
i would prefer brown on the right side.. i never criticize him lor haha.. so i no 360 degree change haha :s34:
Well, Brown does seem a little hesitant at times in his defending, but I guess everyone has his good/bad days... I reckon all he needs is a good run in the first XI in order to gain the calmness and composure befitting of an England centreback... :)
OreoCookies
04-11-2004, 05:31 PM
i still see ah brown as a weakest link in manutd defense....
after last night match...i can see a few nervous moments by this defender
He'll come good... Just think Stam and Ferdinand... They were both criticised heavily early in their OT careers, but they have both developed into worldclass defenders, haven't they? ;)
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 05:45 PM
He will become a legend when he hang his boots for Man Utd.. lolx... Now, still far away... Maybe another 140 goals, then he can counted as LEGENDS. Last week, he's still 2 goals away from paul scholes & ole gunnar solskjaer total goals, this week, he already over them liao.
Next is R.Giggs's 124 or 125 goals, then play for Man Utd for another 5-6 years time, then scored around 140 -150 goals to break B.Charlton's 247 or 257 goals, then counted as legend. Now still a bit far, but half-way through liao.
As for W.Brown, not worry about him, I think he's good, just that injuries making hard for him to play 1st team match.... For his contract, I tot someone mentioned that day that he had decided to sign a new contract? Anyway, he's not N.Butt, no one will wanna 2 sign him now, especially he got injuries these few months, so maybe his AGENT should OPEN UP his $$$ eyes to let W.Brown to sign a new contract with Man Utd.
Another issue, R.Carroll, is he going to be given a new contract? Seriously, I have no idea what is Man utd thinking... Though I like T.Howard to be the 1st choice GK, but still, I think we should always secured @ least with 3 GKs with 2 subsitutes.
Regards,
O'
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 05:49 PM
Well, Brown does seem a little hesitant at times in his defending, but I guess everyone has his good/bad days... I reckon all he needs is a good run in the first XI in order to gain the calmness and composure befitting of an England centreback... :)
No matter how much he hesitates, it won't be WORSE than D.Fletcher... Since I supported Man Utd, he's the only player i ever seen always hesitating. I mean if U are thinking who to pass the ball to, I can understand, but some of the games, he's just trying to shoot the ball, but still needs to hesitates...
If wanna to shoot the ball, DON'T HESITATE larh. So auntie-alike man. Thinking so much. Don't knwo what is he thinking. If ask me who is the HESITATE KING, w/o any doubts, I will vote for D.Fletcher.
Regards,
O'
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 06:05 PM
Hi Ronaldo7, got video clips for the goals yet?
Regards,
O'
1920_me
04-11-2004, 06:34 PM
you can try go here d/l the full game video
http://football.hn.org:6969/
u got to register first..its free..i took me around a hour and half to d/l e game..fast speed
alvinoyw
04-11-2004, 06:37 PM
yah I need the clips cuz I can't watch the match tonite, got exam tommorow.
Fergie: We must move on from here
United's 4-1 victory over Sparta Prague has provided the Reds with another platform to grasp some elusive momentum in their season.
Sir Alex Ferguson has warned his players not to throw this opportunity away.
Too many times this season - in particular, the 6-2 victory over Fenerbahce and the 2-0 win against Arsenal - United have failed to capitalise on positive results.
"We keep saying that all the time," said Sir Alex after watching his side put four past the Czechs. "No matter what team I pick, we all deserve to see better than we did on Saturday [against Portsmouth].
"Tonight [Wednesday] is really confirming the ability of the team, that is all.
"Sparta showed an attacking enterprise which surprised us because we didn't see anything like that in the first game against them.
"In their previous games in the Champions League they played nothing like that. So you have to congratulate them on their performance.
"What it did lead to was a game that was open. Within the first 20 minutes it could have been 4-4.
"But we got the goals that mattered - particularly the third goal, which was the deciding goal really. They [Sparta Prague] had some momentum at that time. Ruud's third killed them off."
Lyon clinched qualification to the knockout stages in Group D's other fixture, scoring two injury-time goals to seal a 4-2 win over Fenerbahce.
United, on eight points, trail the French side by two points at the top of the group. Lyon are United's next European opponents at Old Trafford later this month.
"We would probably have preferred Lyon to get a draw on Wednesday night," said Ferguson. "They are safe now and have qualified. We don't want to be going to Fenerbahce needing a draw so we need to win our match against Lyon."
The Reds would seal their passage into the knockout rounds with a win over the group leaders.
"We'll be going for the win like we normally do" said Ferguson positively. "Getting through to the next stage is our first priority."
United now focus on the Manchester Derby at Old Trafford on Sunday. Sir Alex, already without van Nistelrooy who serves out the final game of his three-match suspension, may be without flu virus-victim Mikael Silvestre.
"There is a bit of a virus going about at the moment. Gary Neville had a bit at the weekend, which is why we took him off against Portsmouth. Carlos [Queiroz] has a bit of a virus as well. Mikael has come down with it. Hopefully it's nothing other than that."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=122716&itype=466&icategoryid=122
Yellowfin
04-11-2004, 07:02 PM
I just finished watching the match. I don't see anything wrong with kleberson. He just do his part in the midfield, like what most midfielder do.
I think the subsitution of kleberson and P. Nevile is to stabilse the defend at the later stage of the game. So that no silly goal will be given away.
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 07:55 PM
you can try go here d/l the full game video
http://football.hn.org:6969/
u got to register first..its free..i took me around a hour and half to d/l e game..fast speed
Ya, I know. But I just wanna to see the goals... hehehee.. Moreover, my campus doesn't have FREE internet services, I need to pay for it... So don't intend to download until I return home. So now, I can only statisfied myself with video clips of goals.
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 07:58 PM
Fergie: Ruud Most Clinical Striker I've Worked With
http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_7981.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=230&hei=159&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg
Sir Alex Ferguson rates Ruud van Nistelrooy as the most clinical finisher he has ever worked with having watched the Dutchman score four against Sparta Prague.
The predatory striker struck all United’s goals against their Group D opponents at Old Trafford – marking his 35th goal in 36 European matches.
Ferguson said after the game: "He’s certainly the best, most clinical finisher we’ve ever seen here.
"His record is unbelievable. It’s amazing. He’s cool with his finishing. He doesn’t panic and he has a quickness of feet as well. You hope all the chances fall to him.
"Going back to all the great strikers in Europe; Cruyff, Gerd Muller, Puskas, Di Stefano. European football has always been a big stage for those players. I think Ruud loves playing on the European stage."
Van Nistelrooy is two games into a three-match domestic suspension, and so hasn’t played since the victory over Arsenal 10 days ago.
Ferguson, who said in his pre-match press conference that he wished every chance would fall to the prolific Dutchman, expected nothing less than the sharpness shown from van Nistelrooy.
"His last game was only ten days ago and he has also trained in that time. There was no problem in that sense. I don’t think we expected anything less than the sharpness we saw tonight.
"It's a disappointment not to have him for Sunday [against Man City]. But that is why I have a good squad of players. I've got Saha, Smith and Wayne Rooney and, whoever I pick, I expect them to perform well."
Report by Ben Hibbs, at Old Trafford.
source (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=122688&itype=466&icategoryid=122)
usjag_18
04-11-2004, 08:03 PM
Hi everyone,
I made a slight calculation mistake just now. If i am not wrong, Sir B.Charlton's record of scoring is 247 or 248, so if RVN wanna to break his record, it will be another 129-130 goals. Not what I mentioned as 140 or 150. But of course, we wanna to break the record pretty. So it's better he can scored more.
Regards,
O'
p.s: made another mistake, to break the record is to have 130-131, not 129 or 130, these 2 figures are just to level up the record.
LOL Ruud now has scored 41 goals in 45 matches in Europe, 6 of them for PSV, 35 for United. And he is top-scorers this season in the Champions League with 7 goals. =:p
Van Nistelrooy 7 Man. United
Klasnic 5 Bremen
Adriano 4 Internazionale
Makaay 4 Bayern
Drogba 3 Chelsea
González 3 Panathinaikos
Raúl 3 Real Madrid
Rooney 3 Man. United
Shevchenko 3 Milan
Terry 3 Chelsea
http://www.uefa.com/Competitions/UCL/Statistics/Players/TypeStat=GS/index.html
Ronaldo7
04-11-2004, 08:54 PM
Hi Ronaldo7, got video clips for the goals yet?
Regards,
O'
http://pranay.myftp.org/CL/manuvssprague.zip
you can find it at
http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=45475
vivre
04-11-2004, 09:36 PM
you can find it at
Thanks dude.
cutieboy86
04-11-2004, 09:42 PM
BROWN AGREES NEW REDS DEAL
Manchester United defender Wes Brown has agreed a new four-year contract at the Old Trafford club.
The 25-year-old England international, who had been in the final year of his previous deal, has committed himself to the club until June 2008.
Brown said: “I’ve always wanted to stay at Manchester United, I’ve grown up here, I’ve developed my career here and I’m delighted to be staying.
“United is the best club in the world and I want to continue being a part of that. I am looking forward to winning more trophies and competing in the best tournaments.”
woah... brown has signed a new deal... yeeah :s21: :love:
leslielai_III
04-11-2004, 09:48 PM
oh no ****it. more own goals to come
Err thats a bit harsh, other than the deportivo match at OT about 3 years ago. He hasn't done that. :s8:
leslielai_III
04-11-2004, 10:00 PM
Err thats a bit harsh, other than the deportivo match at OT about 3 years ago. He hasn't done that. :s8:
thats ONLY because he hasn't been getting much appearances since then .. busy getting himself INJURED and then busy with REHAB. kinda like his life, being paid so much to train, train and train and yet well liked by so many Man Utd "fans" despite not having not produced any convincing performance for god knows how long :s8: :s8: :s8:
cutieboy86
04-11-2004, 10:01 PM
http://www.premierleague.com/en/images/news_special_features/Keaneo1541.jpg KEANE ENTERS HALL OF FAME
Manchester United captain Roy Keane has been officially confirmed as one of the British game's greats.
The Republic of Ireland international is to be inducted in the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame.
Museum spokesman Richard Cuthbert said: "Roy has turned out to be one of Sir Alex Ferguson's most important signings.
"He is an inspirational figure, his never-say-die attitude has carried Manchester United to victory on so many occasions."
Keane is one of eight present and former players to be inducted along with Alan Shearer, Wilf Mannion, Billy Bremner, Geoff Hurst, Viv Anderson, Tony Adams and Sue Lopez.
The late Leeds manager Don Revie and Crewe boss Dario Gradi are also being honoured at Bolton's Reebok Stadium.
For all the latest Barclays
oh no Glazer just won't leave us alone. :mad:
Glazer makes fresh offer to Irish duo
Manchester United's future appeared to be thrown back into doubt with the Press Association reporting that United States businessman Malcolm Glazer had made a fresh offer to buy the 28.9 percent stake of majority sharholders John Magnier and J P McManus.
Talks between the Irish duo, whose stake is owned by a company called Cubic Expression, and Glazer collapsed last month after the two sides failed to reach agreement.
It is thought that Glazer was prepared to pay approximately 270 million pounds (500 million dollars) for Magnier and McManus's shares.
However, this was conditional on Glazer, owner of the Tampa Bay Bucaneers NFL team, being able to gain control of 75 percent of United's shares.
Glazer's latest move is bound to cause concern among members of the United board who ended negotiations with him because of the high level of debt involved in his plans to complete a takeover.
Widespread protests by United fans against a Glazer buy-out of the Old Trafford club have failed to dampen his enthusiasm.
Within three days of Cubic's original snub Glazer took his stake in United from 19.1 percent to 28.1 percent.
If Glazer cut a deal with Cubic he would own more than 50 percent of United and, under British company law, he would be obliged to make an offer to buy the remainder of the club's shares.
http://www.wldcup.com/news/2004Nov/20041104_27091_world_soccer.html
Ronaldo7
04-11-2004, 11:07 PM
he can simply fug off :mad:
Quantong
04-11-2004, 11:34 PM
Rich Big FUG~~~
kahmun7
04-11-2004, 11:41 PM
Give Brown a break... he's good if we just give him a chance... at least I find him better than Silvestre...
Cheers to Keano... and Boo to Glazer...
darrenlee78
04-11-2004, 11:44 PM
lol Terry defender also 3...
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 12:25 AM
lol Terry defender also 3...
??? chealsea's Terry?
kahmun7
05-11-2004, 12:27 AM
urrrhhh 3 wat??
Its official the FA hates us, they given Mutu 7 months ban after for failing his drug test and taking concaine where as Rio miss his test, didn't took drugs but still get 8 months. :s27:
So in the eye of FA its worse to miss a drugs test rather than fail one and take concaine? :alien:
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 12:34 AM
yar lor... tis is so unfair... FA is aalways bias against us... 7mths for failin a drug test and 8mths for plain forgetfulness to take a drug test... is tis FAIR???
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 12:37 AM
for goodness' sakes, even jaap stam got own goal before. so what's the big deal? relax larh guys... he's good.. just injury prone a bit... I think as long as less injuries, he will be consistence...
give him some credits. he did perform well when he's not injured. Not all the times, but at least 35%- 65% of the time, he did well.
as for silvestre, i can only say one thing, he's not good last time when he first starting with the central defending, but i guess he's starting to get hand of it...
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 12:41 AM
you can find it at
Thanks a lot Ronaldo!!! Ermm, I went there, but just can't find it... Also don't know why... Funny....
leslielai_III
05-11-2004, 12:50 AM
for goodness' sakes, even jaap stam got own goal before. so what's the big deal? relax larh guys... he's good.. just injury prone a bit... I think as long as less injuries, he will be consistence...
give him some credits. he did perform well when he's not injured. Not all the times, but at least 35%- 65% of the time, he did well.
as for silvestre, i can only say one thing, he's not good last time when he first starting with the central defending, but i guess he's starting to get hand of it...
makes me wonder why a big and great club like United are willing so undertake such big risks to field a player and prays that he produces a DECENT display every few match apart. we shld be tough on our defenders. theres no use having such an impressive army of striking options like ours but clowns at the rear are constantly making such disgraceful, yes disgraceful, defensive errors and conceding so many goals as a result.
silvestre is good but only for probably 45 mins of the game. the rest of the time, he's asleep. his concentration level is one of the worst ive seen among professional defenders. use him sparingly, fielding him in central defence for the entire 90 minutes will only spell doom.
the key is identifying a player's strength and making full use of it. Fergie isn't doing so for the defence now. all subs made are either swapping attackers or throwing in another attacker for a defender. im not saying thats wrong, its just not right when the defence needs sorting out and the attention of Fergie, not the front guns.
i still stick by my stand of Wes Brown being trash. along with Darren Fletcher.
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 12:57 AM
I have just watched the clips... Ermmm.. Interesting... The 3rd goal i something that I think if the GK didn't come out, then maybe he can save the ball, but there's also a possibility that RVN might or might not scored.
Rgds,
O'
OreoCookies
05-11-2004, 09:15 AM
??? chealsea's Terry?
urrrhhh 3 wat??
Three own-goals? LoL... :s13:
OreoCookies
05-11-2004, 09:20 AM
I guess the thing that is affecting Brown's performances most is him being in and out of the team every so often... I don't think any player can be expected to perform 75%-100% of his abilities if he isn't given an extended run in the team... Think Diego Forlan... ;)
As for Silvestre... I'd prefer him at leftback actually... His pace and crosses from the left can complement Giggsy's runs... And he's definitely better using his abilities on the left then in the middle...
OreoCookies
05-11-2004, 09:27 AM
makes me wonder why a big and great club like United are willing so undertake such big risks to field a player and prays that he produces a DECENT display every few match apart. we shld be tough on our defenders. theres no use having such an impressive army of striking options like ours but clowns at the rear are constantly making such disgraceful, yes disgraceful, defensive errors and conceding so many goals as a result.
silvestre is good but only for probably 45 mins of the game. the rest of the time, he's asleep. his concentration level is one of the worst ive seen among professional defenders. use him sparingly, fielding him in central defence for the entire 90 minutes will only spell doom.
the key is identifying a player's strength and making full use of it. Fergie isn't doing so for the defence now. all subs made are either swapping attackers or throwing in another attacker for a defender. im not saying thats wrong, its just not right when the defence needs sorting out and the attention of Fergie, not the front guns.
I guess Fergie believes that a settled and consistently fielded back four is important... And I guess every player has their worth... I'd even suggest that even if we buy a defender from the lower leagues, if he is given a decent number of games in a row in our defence, he'll be able to perform pretty well in time to come too... So our defenders aren't actually clowns... What they need is more games together, and perhaps a little more support from the club's supporters too... Gary Neville isn't exactly a worldclass defender, but he does perform pretty well, and I'd say that's down to him being a regular in the first XI... ;)
As for Silvestre, I stand by my previous statement of fielding him on the left side of defence... He won't be happy, but I still feel that's the best position for him...
And Fletcher isn't trash either... He may seem hesitant, but considering that he does make some pretty impressive passes and assists with his "hesitant" stance, that still makes him an integral part of the team... :)
vivre
05-11-2004, 09:38 AM
And Fletcher isn't trash either... He may seem hesitant, but considering that he does make some pretty impressive passes and assists with his "hesitant" stance, that still makes him an integral part of the team... :)
I'd take Miller over Fletcher any day!
Wth isn't Miller playing more?
kahmun7
05-11-2004, 09:38 AM
on the left I prefer Heinze...
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 10:01 AM
I agree that D.Fletcher is still not good enough and W.Brown also doesn't have enough of games to prove himself. However, I don't think them as "TRASH", that's really very nasty way to say them.
As for Silvestre, I stand by my previous statement of fielding him on the left side of defence... He won't be happy, but I still feel that's the best position for him...
Me too, I am thinking maybe can try putting Henize @ the central defence since he's good @ both left-side and central defending. I saw the pass from him to RVN to let him scored the hat-trick, which is a good pass. However, I think it's also good that if he can play as a central defender, so that we can see which side is he better @.
However, TOO MUCH HESITATING is not going to be good if he's trying to score! He can hesitate/think when it's just passing balls. Even passing also shouldn't be hesitating, it's going to be easier to let opponents to steal the ball from him. But if so many people think so well of him in UK, I think they got their reasons. Of course, if you ask me, I will sell him off. But he's still young, maybe can give him some more chances. I have to admit that he did play some good passing and crossing.
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
05-11-2004, 10:15 AM
i think fletcher looks more impressive in the centre than on the right wing thou . maybe fergie can try a midfield pairing of miller and fletcher in the carling cup or the fa cup .
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 10:16 AM
I'd take Miller over Fletcher any day!
Wth isn't Miller playing more?
Hahahaa... I will like to see L.Miller to play more often too. I think he needs more game to improve his games.
Ermm, btw, i think L.Miller is playing right-hand side and C.Ronaldo is playing on the left-hand side that day against Sparta Prague. Don't know why they commentated that L.Miller is playing left-hand side for R.Giggs... Lolx... Funny.
Anyway, why ain't R.Giggs playing that day?
Regards,
O'
Ronaldo7
05-11-2004, 10:18 AM
to rest him for man city ? :evil:
Giggs isn't the same player he used to be, he has lost his pace and has been off-form the last couple of years. :(
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 11:52 AM
Giggs isn't the same player he used to be, he has lost his pace and has been off-form the last couple of years. :(
I admit that he lost his pace, but I disagree with what you said about him being off-form. What do you expecting from him? He's already a player in his 30s. But he's still a wonder man. Still think he's one of the best players on field.
Regards,
O'
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 12:09 PM
yup i totally agree wif usjag_18
gxelan
05-11-2004, 02:28 PM
tts y at the start ..man utd wasted too much money on rooney .... he is nt worth tt much ..instead manutd should spent the money to rebuild the midfield....like getting replacement for keane or giggs
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 02:30 PM
but if man utd dun buy rooney, maybe nw he will be at newcastle and we may lose yet another talent le
uRiZEn
05-11-2004, 03:16 PM
Think Tevez is much more of a talent then Rooney.
I feel Heinze shd stay on as leftback.He impresses me with his attackin run.
But defend-wise he need to improve more.
kahmun7
05-11-2004, 03:18 PM
Think Man U should try getting Fernando Torres...
MatrixFanatic
05-11-2004, 03:19 PM
But Tevez need work permit.
asantosa
05-11-2004, 03:32 PM
Think Man U should try getting Fernando Torres...
not another striker please
kahmun7
05-11-2004, 03:35 PM
oops sorry.. tott we are talking bout strikers...
well, i was hoping beginning of the season Robben will keep Duff out of Chelsea First XI... fat hope now...
cutter
05-11-2004, 04:36 PM
Wes Brown Agrees New Contract
Manchester United is pleased to announce that the club has agreed terms with Wes Brown on a new contract that will keep him at the club at least until the end of June, 2008.
Sir Alex Ferguson said: “We are all delighted by the news. Over the last few weeks there has been a great deal of uncertainty and that has been a worry. I have known Wes since he was 13 years old and have watched and seen him grow into a splendid young man.
"I couldn’t bear to lose him, I didn’t want to lose him. I am thrilled that Wes has decided to commit his future here and I hope that he will enjoy his career at Manchester United."
Wes Brown said: “I’ve always wanted to stay at Manchester United, I’ve grown up here, I’ve developed my career here and I’m delighted to be staying. United is the best club in the world and I want to continue being a part of that.
"I am looking forward to winning more trophies and competing in the best tournaments."
Communications Office, Manchester United PLC
Thursday 4 November 2004
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=122964&itype=466&icategoryid=123
Settling Roy Carroll's contract is more important IMO. Given a choice between a superstar keeper and an excellent/lucky keeper like Carroll, give me the lucky player anytime :D
Ronaldo7
05-11-2004, 05:24 PM
oops sorry.. tott we are talking bout strikers...
well, i was hoping beginning of the season Robben will keep Duff out of Chelsea First XI... fat hope now...
maybe we should go for downing then . don't think he will cost that much too
asantosa
05-11-2004, 05:28 PM
maybe we should go for downing then . don't think he will cost that much too
he's not that expensive, but will be very expensive if man u is going to buy him.
all the clubs seems to get as much as possible from man u.
remember ferdinand, rooney, saha?
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 05:39 PM
Wes Brown Agrees New Contract
Manchester United is pleased to announce that the club has agreed terms with Wes Brown on a new contract that will keep him at the club at least until the end of June, 2008.
Sir Alex Ferguson said: “We are all delighted by the news. Over the last few weeks there has been a great deal of uncertainty and that has been a worry. I have known Wes since he was 13 years old and have watched and seen him grow into a splendid young man.
"I couldn’t bear to lose him, I didn’t want to lose him. I am thrilled that Wes has decided to commit his future here and I hope that he will enjoy his career at Manchester United."
Wes Brown said: “I’ve always wanted to stay at Manchester United, I’ve grown up here, I’ve developed my career here and I’m delighted to be staying. United is the best club in the world and I want to continue being a part of that.
"I am looking forward to winning more trophies and competing in the best tournaments."
Communications Office, Manchester United PLC
Thursday 4 November 2004
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=122964&itype=466&icategoryid=123
Settling Roy Carroll's contract is more important IMO. Given a choice between a superstar keeper and an excellent/lucky keeper like Carroll, give me the lucky player anytime :D
It's true, R.Carroll is really a lucky person. Maybe is luck or what, but whenever he played, Man Utd players seem to be on lucky strike or what... Lolx... Maybe he got smoked the cigarette - "Lucky Strike".
Hahaha, just a lame joke, dun mind me....
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
05-11-2004, 05:44 PM
yup i totally agree wif usjag_18
Thank you.
as 4 Fernando Torres, maybe for the future Man Utd, but hor, still, left-winger is urgently needed. Even we got C.Ronaldo to take over sometimes, but still, he may have to rest sometimes after some games or suay suay got injuries. *choy* *choy* *choy* but still, we should always be PREPARED!!!
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 05:58 PM
Scholes Looks To Halt Goal Drought
Reds midfielder Scholes has failed to find the net in 13 starts for United so far this season.
Feature: Quiet Man Must Find His Voice
Paul Scholes is hoping to end his recent barren spell in front of goal, with Sunday's Manchester Derby presenting him with the perfect opportunity.
Though his campaign has been disrupted by injury, Scholes hasn't lived up to his usually high standards.
Without a goal in 13 starts for United this term, his focus is heavily centred around getting his name on the scoresheet.
"I'm having a bit of a bad spell in terms of goals," he admitted in an interview with Manchester United Radio. "Hopefully that will end soon.
"Just to get one goal would be nice at the moment. Hopefully if I can get one, more will follow," he added.
"The team enjoys playing attacking football. But we need to win games so we’ve got to get the goals."
Scholes went close against Sparta Prague in midweek but, just as Old Trafford held its breath expecting the ball to nestle into the back of the net, the header drifted wide and his frustrating dry spell continued.
The problem is not exclusive to Scholes. As a team United have only managed a goal-a-game ratio in the league.
Of the four midfielders that started on Wednesday, only Liam Miller has has found the net this season - and that goal came in the Carling Cup against Crewe.
United will be without Ruud van Nistelrooy for Sunday's Derby. His four midweek goals represented a rare healthy scoreline for the Reds. The baton now falls to United's other forwards, and would be further bolstered by a contribution from midfield.
Scholes boasted an impressive record against Manchester City last term; scoring in all three of last season's Derbies.
A brace in the 3-1 league win at Old Trafford was followed with a goal in the 4-2 FA Cup fifth round victory and United's solitary goal in the 4-1 league defeat at the City of Manchester Stadium.
As United attempt to gather consistency in their results and with bragging rights at stake this Sunday tea time, it represents an ideal opportunity for Scholes to open his season's account.
Report by Ben Hibbs.
hope he will score tis wkend in the Manchester Derby ba... he score in all three of last season's Derbies.
leslielai_III
05-11-2004, 07:48 PM
oh forgot to mention Liam Miller. this guy is extremely promising. id love to see much more of him :D
MatrixFanatic
05-11-2004, 07:57 PM
oh forgot to mention Liam Miller. this guy is extremely promising. id love to see much more of him :D
I feel that he can take over Roy Keane's position(not leadership role). He plays calmly from what I see and looks comfortable on the ball.
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 08:00 PM
hmm... liam miller is a gd young player and he has the potential... he still young too... see him play a few times and his performance has been stable...
Fergie bolstered by fully fit squad
Alex Ferguson has a fully-fit squad to choose from going into Sunday's Derby with Manchester City.
Although without Ruud van Nistelrooy, who grabbed four goals against Sparta Prague midweek, Ferguson can select from an otherwise healthy squad.
Sir Alex told us on Friday: "Mikael was back in training today. There has been a bit of a virus going around. Hopefully it doesn't spread. Fingers crossed with that.
"Everyone else is fit. Quinton Fortune is back training. He will play in Wednesday's game against Crystal Palace. I have the same squad from Wednesday's Champions League game.
"Plus we have David Bellion, Darren Fletcher and John O'Shea also available. John O'Shea had a bit of groin strain but he's OK now."
United haven’t lost to City at Old Trafford in 30 years; a trend Ferguson does not want to break.
”Our record has been terrific against them at Old Trafford," he said. "We want to keep that. Winning the game would give us three points to hopefully set us on a run.
United scored four goals against Sparta Prague on Wednesday, and although they will be with out the perpetrator of all four finishes, Ferguson hopes even without van Nistelrooy that United can build on his clinical finishing.
"We had eighteen chances against Portsmouth and never scored," he said. "We can’t accept that. The players are better than that and the know it. We need a bit of concentration [in front of goal] and hopefully we can get that.
"Winning every game is important to us now. The win against Sparta Prague was important because of the disappointment of last Saturday [against Portsmouth].
"The great thing about football is that you have always got that next game to recover from. It's the great beauty of it - you have a disappointment like we did on Saturday, but you can come back with a performance like on Wednesday night.
"What pleased me most was the number of chances we created against Sparta Prague. There was a great penetration to our play. We played with great speed, which made for a terrifically entertaining match,” the boss added.
"But sometimes in Derby games you are happy just to scrape through. They can be nervous and tense affairs, we expect that situation all the time in a Derby match.”
Likely squad: Carroll, Howard, Ricardo, G Neville, P Neville, Heinze, Ferdinand, Brown, Silvestre, Keane, O'Shea, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Bellion, Fletcher, Giggs, Scholes, Smith, Rooney, Saha.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=123038&itype=466&icategoryid=122
cutieboy86
05-11-2004, 11:03 PM
Ferguson tips Keane for management
Sir Alex Ferguson has hailed Roy Keane as the finest player of his 18 years at Old Trafford - and tipped the Irishman to be a managerial success in the future.
Ferguson celebrates 18 years in the Old Trafford hotseat tomorrow, 24 hours before his side entertain City in the first Manchester derby of the campaign.
Providing Keane has come through Wednesday's Champions League win over Sparta Prague with no problems, the 33-year-old will almost certainly lead United out against Kevin Keegan's men.
And while he has seen the likes of Peter Schmeichel, Eric Cantona, David Beckham and Bryan Robson pass through during his time at United, Ferguson has no doubt Keane, bought for Nottingham Forest for #3million in 1993, is the best of the lot.
'He is my best player,' Ferguson said.
'It's not just the quality of his game, it is also his influence and great determination. There are a lot of parts to making a great player - he has fulfilled them all.'
Keane was making only his 10th appearance of the campaign in midweek after suffering cracked ribs early in the season and then being hit by a flu virus.
Ferguson limits his selection anyway these days as he looks to nurse the Cork-born star through the final years of a career in which he has been forced to battle back from two serious fitness problems, ruptured cruciate knee ligaments and pioneering hip surgery.
Keane is currently attempting to gain his UEFA coaching badges, so he could enter the management arena if he wished to. And Ferguson feels if he follows that path, his captain will be a success.
'He is going in the right direction,' said Ferguson.
'You never know with the present day players because they are quite wealthy young men and they might not want to be managers. But if he has the desire, he certainly has the qualities.'
www.soccernet.com
gxelan
06-11-2004, 08:02 AM
Fergie bolstered by fully fit squad
Alex Ferguson has a fully-fit squad to choose from going into Sunday's Derby with Manchester City.
Although without Ruud van Nistelrooy, who grabbed four goals against Sparta Prague midweek, Ferguson can select from an otherwise healthy squad.
Sir Alex told us on Friday: "Mikael was back in training today. There has been a bit of a virus going around. Hopefully it doesn't spread. Fingers crossed with that.
"Everyone else is fit. Quinton Fortune is back training. He will play in Wednesday's game against Crystal Palace. I have the same squad from Wednesday's Champions League game.
"Plus we have David Bellion, Darren Fletcher and John O'Shea also available. John O'Shea had a bit of groin strain but he's OK now."
United haven’t lost to City at Old Trafford in 30 years; a trend Ferguson does not want to break.
”Our record has been terrific against them at Old Trafford," he said. "We want to keep that. Winning the game would give us three points to hopefully set us on a run.
United scored four goals against Sparta Prague on Wednesday, and although they will be with out the perpetrator of all four finishes, Ferguson hopes even without van Nistelrooy that United can build on his clinical finishing.
"We had eighteen chances against Portsmouth and never scored," he said. "We can’t accept that. The players are better than that and the know it. We need a bit of concentration [in front of goal] and hopefully we can get that.
"Winning every game is important to us now. The win against Sparta Prague was important because of the disappointment of last Saturday [against Portsmouth].
"The great thing about football is that you have always got that next game to recover from. It's the great beauty of it - you have a disappointment like we did on Saturday, but you can come back with a performance like on Wednesday night.
"What pleased me most was the number of chances we created against Sparta Prague. There was a great penetration to our play. We played with great speed, which made for a terrifically entertaining match,” the boss added.
"But sometimes in Derby games you are happy just to scrape through. They can be nervous and tense affairs, we expect that situation all the time in a Derby match.”
Likely squad: Carroll, Howard, Ricardo, G Neville, P Neville, Heinze, Ferdinand, Brown, Silvestre, Keane, O'Shea, Ronaldo, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Bellion, Fletcher, Giggs, Scholes, Smith, Rooney, Saha.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=123038&itype=466&icategoryid=122
dont know if we will win ....we have been losing to man city for the past dunno how many match .... just pray hard that man utd will get their consecutive win ...
btw...someone posted the link to this man utd song some time ago ..wonder if tt person is kind enuff to do it again cos i cant seem to find the song cos this thread is too long..
leslielai_III
06-11-2004, 02:10 PM
theres only one man to mark - Shaun Wright Phillips
MatrixFanatic
06-11-2004, 02:57 PM
What about Anelka?
leslielai_III
06-11-2004, 02:58 PM
you stop the supply, Anelka can't do ****.. heh heh.
OreoCookies
06-11-2004, 04:33 PM
If there's one thing that Anelka has, its definitely pace... No matter what, it won't hurt for our defence to keep a keen eye on him... ;)
stop both of them I say. :)
trax06
06-11-2004, 08:56 PM
I thought Anelka injured ? im not real sure.
Where you heard it from, he isn't injured and he definately play. :s8:
o0KelviN0o
06-11-2004, 09:02 PM
we got HEINZE... sibei siao on! :)
SMITH: HEARING UNITED FANS SING MY NAME IS BRILLIANT
ALAN SMITH admitted he still finds it hard to believe his ears when he hears Manchester United fans chanting his name.
Smith was the scourge of United fans when playing for their arch rivals Leeds but has undergone a remarkable transformation since his £7million move from Elland Road to Old Trafford.
And if he scores tomorrow in his first taste of a hot-house Manchester derby, those Old Trafford cheers will be deafening because Smith will have become an instant United legend.
"I never thought I'd hear the Stretford End sing my name," said Smith. "But when it happened it was ******g brilliant.
"The fans have been unbelievable since I joined. In the back of your mind you have a little bit of doubt when you join a new club, but you just want to prove to people you will always do do your best. I knew that with me coming from Leeds - and being a Leeds lad as well - people may have been thinking 'he's not trying as much for us as he did for Leeds.'
"But that's not me. People have got to realise that my loyalty to Leeds was the same kind of loyalty players like Gary Neville and Nicky Butt have shown to United.
"I think people appreciate you can support the team where you come from but that when you go to another team it doesn't take away your desire to do well for them. People realise that when I play for Manchester United I'm going to give 110 per cent. That's the most important thing. I wanted to prove I was willing to do that."
Smith has certainly proved his commitment to United with seven goals in 16 games since his controversial summer switch.
He scored five times in his first six appearances before Ruud van Nistelrooy's return from groin surgery forced him onto the United bench.
And had United not completed the record-breaking £30m signing of Wayne Rooney on transfer deadline day, it is likely Smith would have started more games and scored more goals. But the 24-year-old England star will start tomorrow's derby against Manchester City alongside Rooney as United attempt to keep alive their hopes of catching Arsenal and Chelsea in the title race.
With van Nistelrooy serving the last game of his three-match ban for his stamp on Ashley Cole, Smith has assured United fans he will not lose his cool in the heat of derby combat.
Already sent off nine times in his relatively short career, including once for England, Smith claimed he has learned to keep a firm grip on his volatile temperament and is a more mature player as a result.
"You want to prove to people you're trying but you don't want to try too hard because you can end up going over the top," said Smith.
"I think at Leeds I sometimes got carried away and got sent off loads of times, but that's all about growing up.
"I've learned since coming here that no-one likes Manchester United.
"I've experienced it first hand and it's down to jealousy. When you're a player and not playing for Manchester United, you have respect for what they've achieved.
"But that makes you want to beat them all the more. If anyone manages to beat Manchester United, it's a big scalp for them."
Smith admitted that his biggest concern after agreeing to join United was the reaction of their fans to a player they had treated with contempt during his time at Leeds.
But as Sir Alex Ferguson explained, United fans were instantly won over by his commitment and desire to give everything for his new club. "Smith is the kind of player who gives everyone a lift," said the United manager. "When he's on the pitch he gives his fellow team-mates and supporters a massive lift.
"Fans like to see commitment from players and he's such a committed player. He's been a revelation for us since he joined us and is a fantastic character to have around the place."
Although Smith has encountered no problems when it comes to settling in on the field, it has been a different matter off it.
By his own admission, Smith finds it hard to sit still for any length of time and revealed that his boredom levels had increased following his summer move to United.
"I live on my own and when I'm on my own I'm a nightmare," he said. "I get so bored. I need people there all the time or I just go insane.
"I try to stay at the training ground for as long as I can unless I've got someone coming to see me. If we get a day off I go back home to see family and friends.
"But when I'm here I don't like going back to my flat and doing nowt. I just can't do it. I'm hyperactive."
City will no doubt be hoping Smith is in one of his less hyperactive moods when the two sides meet tomorrow as they go in search of their first win at Old Trafford in 30 years.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/sporttop/tm_objectid=14840803%26method=full%26siteid=50143%26headline=hearing%2dunited%2dfans%2dsing%2dmy%2dname%2dis%2dbrilliant-name_page.html
cutieboy86
06-11-2004, 09:29 PM
18 years and still rollin'
Alex Ferguson will take up the one-year rolling option on his contract and continue as Manchester United boss next season. Ferguson celebrates 18 years in charge at Old Trafford in the Manchester derby tomorrow. With the club struggling in the League, rumours had begun to spread Fergie may decide to step down in the summer. But yesterday the Scot, who this year underwent a heart operation, said he will carry on as long as he still feels healthy. Ferguson, 62, said: "It is difficult to say how much longer I’ll be here. When you get to my age, it all depends on your health. But I feel fit and fresh and, as long as I keep enjoying the job, I’ll carry on."
Neil Custis, The Sun
I could not leave United knowing I'd slackened off
Sir Alex Ferguson celebrates 18 years in charge at Manchester United today vowing he will not retire until he has restored the club to superpower status. Ferguson, who was due to retire in 2002 only to change his mind, said: "What I want to do is leave here having done my best. I don't want to have slackened off. I don't want to leave knowing the next man will have a headache. I want to solve any problems before I leave."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
Ronaldo7
06-11-2004, 09:41 PM
his record speaks for himself , it's time for another great team :)
SAHA CONFIDENT OF UNITED SUCCESS
Louis Saha is confident Manchester United will be back in the title hunt by January at the latest.
The French forward is hoping to be handed a rare Barclays Premiership start by Sir Alex Ferguson on Sunday as top scorer Ruud van Nistelrooy sits out the derby-day encounter with City at Old Trafford.
After an explosive start to his Red Devils career which saw him score six times in his first seven appearances following his controversial £12.8million move from Fulham last January, Saha has been beset by injuries.
First it was the troublesome Achilles problem which meant Ferguson had to nurse him through the latter stages of the last campaign.
Then it was a knee injury that ruled him out of the pre-season tour to the United States but he was just about recovered from when he went away on international duty with France and promptly aggravated it again.
The fitness problems have limited Saha to just three senior starts this term and while he was an influential substitute in the recent win over Arsenal, he has largely been a frustrated spectator as United tripped through a difficult first few months of the campaign.
But though his new club head into Sunday's encounter with Kevin Keegan's men trailing badly behind major title rivals Arsenal and Chelsea, Saha is convinced it will not be long before United are joining the London duo in the annual battle for domestic supremacy.
"By January, everyone will know where they are going," he said.
"There are three big teams in England at the moment and eventually they will all be fighting for the same thing.
"We have to make a lot of changes so far in the Premiership, which has been difficult but I am sure we will get the balance right."
To emphasise the point Saha is making about the constant tinkering with the side, Ferguson has used an incredible 26 players in league combat alone this season thanks to a combination of injury, suspension and international calls.
The United manager has already admitted the number is far too high and Saha is immensely frustrated that he is one of the men who has been unavailable.
"I don't feel like the season has started for me," he revealed.
"It's been difficult to watch the team getting some bad results while I was injured but you just have to accept the situation, keep working hard and see how it goes.
"My main target now is to remain fit for as long as possible, then I will have a better chance to break into the team.
"The best way to get your fitness back is to play matches and I will be trying to do that as much as possible."
Saha's hunger to report for duty was seen in two appearances for the United reserve side during last month's international break, while he is likely to find himself in the Carling Cup side to face Crystal Palace on Wednesday if he is not handed van Nistelrooy's starting berth on Sunday.
The odds are that Saha will miss out as Ferguson favours top scorer Alan Smith to partner Wayne Rooney, although there remains the possibility that all three could play, with Paul Scholes shunted out of central midfield as the former England man's struggle for form continues.
Either way, United know victory is essential, not just for local pride but to retain any realistic hope of catching Arsenal and Chelsea, and that means taking a greater percentage of chances than they did at Portsmouth last weekend.
The hosts, who have not lost a home game against City for three decades, must also find a way of keeping out Blues' danger man Shaun Wright-Phillips, who scored twice in three meetings with the Red Devils last term, including the injury-time wonder goal that completed a famous 4-1 rout at Eastlands.
"Wright-Phillips is very quick and has now got himself into the England squad," observed Ferguson, who watched City draw 1-1 with Norwich on Monday night.
"He scored twice against us last season, so we will have to make sure we keep him quiet this time.
"We know the adrenalin will be pumping on both sides, so we need to keep our concentration levels high.
"Derby games can be nervous, tense affairs and we have to expect that. But we have an excellent home record against City during my time here and we must maintain that.
"We have to go on a winning run - that is the most important factor of all."
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/06/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Nightlead.html&TEAMHD=soccer
MatrixFanatic
06-11-2004, 09:55 PM
I think Fergie should play Saha and Smith and let Rooney rest. What you guys think? And the way Rooney has been playing, he looks like he is going to get a red anytime. :alien:
uRiZEn
06-11-2004, 10:06 PM
He lost form liao....Rooney shd rest.
Somemore derby match tension high wait he zham somebody's leg siao liao.
jujube
06-11-2004, 10:24 PM
dun be a idiot and quote the entire post leh. esp when its so long :s7:
leslielai_III
07-11-2004, 12:07 AM
Rooney should be rested. would love to see a Saha-RVN frontline backed by Smith
mate, Ruud is suspended. :(
kahmun7
07-11-2004, 12:16 AM
isn't Ruud supposed to be suspended for 3 matches?? how come papers today says he's serving the last leg of his suspension? this is just the 2nd match right?
leslielai_III
07-11-2004, 12:21 AM
oh fugs. forgot ruud's suspended .. Saha-Smith then!
isn't Ruud supposed to be suspended for 3 matches?? how come papers today says he's serving the last leg of his suspension? this is just the 2nd match right?
no the city game is his last one, he already miss the crewe match in the carling cup and last week against portsmouth. :)
Ch3tah_39
07-11-2004, 01:17 AM
oh fugs. forgot ruud's suspended .. Saha-Smith then!
dun like saha la... i prefer looney lor...
:s22: :s22: :s22:
MatrixFanatic
07-11-2004, 01:29 AM
dun like saha la... i prefer looney lor...
:s22: :s22: :s22:
For such matches, it's safer to play Saha.
leslielai_III
07-11-2004, 01:31 AM
Saha has that spark .. that moment of brilliance .. Rooney is burning out soon if he's being played so often .. give him a rest. is Scholes available? trust in him to come up with smth ;)
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 04:02 AM
Saha has that spark .. that moment of brilliance .. Rooney is burning out soon if he's being played so often .. give him a rest. is Scholes available? trust in him to come up with smth ;)
1.I think Fergie should play Saha and Smith and let Rooney rest. What you guys think? And the way Rooney has been playing, he looks like he is going to get a red anytime. :alien:
2.For such matches, it's safer to play Saha.
Following are my points: -
1. I do agree that Rooney needs a rest, but at the same time, I think that he will be more suitable than Saha to play the game because he's an Englishman who been thru more local derby than Saha who might not really understand the meaning of such Derby. Being an ex-Evertorian and a Liverpool fan, I believe Rooney will understand about English derby than Saha.
2. However, I believe a lot of fans have TOO HIGH AND MANY expectations from him since his SENSATIONAL debut, so everyone are expecting too much from him. Most people forget that he's still on recovering injuries recently and he's still young and we all know he's YOUNG, RESTLESS and also a bit bad-tempered. But all of us should noe how many BAD-TEMPERED players we have in Man Utd history. Who will forget E.CAntona, current captain, R.Keane, and the famous ex-Red Devils, a fashion icon cum FORGOTTEN soccer player, D.Beckham? Aint all of them becoming part of the group of legends in Man Utd now? Hahaha... So I guess Rooney is just one of them who has BAD-TEMPERED and BAD TACKLE Skills who haven't up to the standard to become a legend yet. But I do agree he gets agitated too easily. So need to tame him down a bit will be up to the manager.
3. I will hope that Smith play a lone-striker position which RVN used to play. And the following is the formation: -
------------------------Howard/Carroll------------------------
-------Neville-------Ferdinand-------Silvestre/Brown**-------Heinze-------
----------Ronaldo---------Keane----------Miller*----------Giggs----------
--------------------------------Scholes*-------------------------
------------------Smith--------------------------------
**Note: Both also can, but preferred Silvestre if he's not having injuries recently. And Brown still needs time to train and prove himself.
*Note: Means that Saha can replace the either of them, but most probably Saha will play behind Smith if Scholes is playing as center-midfield position.
dun be a idiot and quote the entire post leh. esp when its so long :s7:
Hey jujube, I don't know who are you talking about, but please mind your language. People are kind and nice enough to post the whole news over here because not everyone are free or know where to find the news. Or even specially go over to the website to read it. So the best place to read and fast reply will be this forum which is specially used it for.
Regards,
O'
We should play 2 strikers, we need the 3 points badly, play 1 alone upfront won't really worked.
-----------------Carroll-------------
G.. Neville--------Brown---------Rio-------Heinze
Ronaldo--------Keane--------Scholes-------Giggs
----------Smith---------Rooney----------
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 04:53 AM
We should play 2 strikers, we need the 3 points badly, play 1 alone upfront won't really worked.
-----------------Carroll-------------
G.. Neville--------Brown---------Rio-------Heinze
Ronaldo--------Keane--------Scholes-------Giggs
----------Smith---------Rooney----------
I don't know, I won't wanna to tired Rooney out and risk him getting injured or getting red card. ANd i think he does need a rest. And people are starting to getting HIGH HOPES, WAY TOO HIGH until I think he should have a breathing area and time.
Everyone young players need some times to grow. So I guess it goes the same for him and Ronaldo. If Ronaldo needs a rest, I don't see why he doesn't need it. Maybe 2nd half will be good for him. If really there's a need to play 2nd striker, then Saha can take it for awhile. But I still think by playing 4-4-4-1-1 doesn't mean we doesn't have a chance to score. Don't forget, we got 3 attacking mid-fielders. Only Keane is the only one that is more like a DM.
But your point is taken. I guess different people got different "tastes" on formation.
Rgds,
O'
MatrixFanatic
07-11-2004, 08:16 AM
Ho sey liao. Arsenal drew. Time for us to cut the difference to 7 points. :bandit:
kahmun7
07-11-2004, 09:25 AM
Ho sey liao. Arsenal drew. Time for us to cut the difference to 7 points. :bandit:
Chelsea still leads by 9 though.. .that is if Man U win tonight... But hope they do well tonight...
Ronaldo7
07-11-2004, 10:29 AM
don't really care which strikeforce turn up at old trafford tonight . the most important thing is to get the 3 points and try and close the gap :evil:
cutieboy86
07-11-2004, 10:43 AM
tis is a gd chance to close the gap on arsenal 1st le... would like to see saha and smith strikeforce wif rooney playin behind them
cutieboy86
07-11-2004, 11:27 AM
Sir Alex looks to fans
Sir Alex Ferguson reckons the Old Trafford crowd will have a big bearing on the outcome of tomorrow's Manchester derby.
Often derided for their lack of passion, the United fans have really got behind their team in recent weeks, responding to their Barclays Premiership struggles after years of success.
The potential takeover of American business tycoon Malcolm Glazer has inadvertently helped too as passions run high in the attempt to keep the club out of his hands.
And while Ferguson has offered no opinion on the possible takeover, he feels the fans will have a big part to play if United are to extend their 30-year unbeaten home record over City and retain any hope of reclaiming the Premiership title.
'The crowd have been fantastic recently,' said the Scot.
'They have been really vocal and really got behind the team. Hopefully, they will maintain that tomorrow. I expect them to because they can have a great input into how the team performs.'
Ferguson passed the remarkable milestone of 18 years in the Old Trafford hot seat today, a period that has seen the club win eight league titles, five FA Cups and the Champions League in 1999.
Not that the Scot has spent any time celebrating the anniversary.
Ferguson has far more important matters to contend with, such as trying to claw back the nine-point lead his team allowed Arsenal and Chelsea to open up last week with their defeat at Portsmouth.
Wednesday's Champions League hammering of Sparta Prague has done nothing to dull the United chief's acute disappointment at his team's 2-0 defeat at Fratton Park, which came just six days after the win over Arsenal.
It also means the Red Devils go into tomorrow's game having scored just 11 times in 11 Premiership games this term, compared to 12 in four Champions League outings.
'The disappointment last week was that we had 18 chances and didn't score,' said Ferguson. 'We cannot accept that because the players are better than that.
'We know the goals are there. It is not as if we have players who are incapable of scoring.
'But we are not turning some of our more productive play into goals and that is a worry because we are now into November and we need to start scoring.'
Ferguson's hope is not helped by the absence of Ruud van Nistelrooy. The prolific Dutch striker must take an immediate break following his four-goal haul in midweek as he serves the final game of his three-match domestic suspension.
It leaves the United boss to decide which of his remaining trio of strikers to play against City, with Alan Smith favoured to get the nod over Louis Saha to partner Wayne Rooney.
At the back, Mikael Silvestre is available again after being laid low by the same virus which ruled Roy Keane out of four matches, so Wes Brown's celebration at earning himself a new four-year contract may be cut short.
Nevertheless, Ferguson is delighted that Brown has committed his long-term future to the club and has confidently predicted if the 25-year-old can remain injury free, he will go on to become an influential member of his squad.
'I am delighted Wes has signed because he can go on to have a great career here,' said Ferguson.
'We were concerned for a while because we made an offer which his agent turned down. Deep down we knew Wes wanted to sign and I didn't want him to leave.
'All we can hope now is he gets the break he needs and stays clear of injuries because he has had a few.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=315520&cc=4716
1920_me
07-11-2004, 01:04 PM
18 years and still rollin'
Alex Ferguson will take up the one-year rolling option on his contract and continue as Manchester United boss next season. Ferguson celebrates 18 years in charge at Old Trafford in the Manchester derby tomorrow. With the club struggling in the League, rumours had begun to spread Fergie may decide to step down in the summer. But yesterday the Scot, who this year underwent a heart operation, said he will carry on as long as he still feels healthy. Ferguson, 62, said: "It is difficult to say how much longer I’ll be here. When you get to my age, it all depends on your health. But I feel fit and fresh and, as long as I keep enjoying the job, I’ll carry on."
Neil Custis, The Sun
I could not leave United knowing I'd slackened off
Sir Alex Ferguson celebrates 18 years in charge at Manchester United today vowing he will not retire until he has restored the club to superpower status. Ferguson, who was due to retire in 2002 only to change his mind, said: "What I want to do is leave here having done
my best. I don't want to have slackened off. I don't want to leave knowing the next man will have a headache. I want to solve any problems before I leave."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
I never thought I'd ever hear the Stretford End chanting my name
Alan Smith admitted he still finds it hard to believe his ears when he hears Manchester United fans chanting his name. "I never thought I'd hear the Stretford End sing my name," said Smith. "But when it happened it was ******g brilliant. The fans have been unbelievable since I joined. In the back of your mind you have a little bit of doubt when you join a new club, but you just want to prove to people you will always do do your best. I knew that with me coming from Leeds - and being a Leeds lad as well - people may have been thinking 'he's not trying as much for us as he did for Leeds.' But that's not me. People have got to realise that my loyalty to Leeds was the same kind of loyalty players like Gary Neville and Nicky Butt have shown to United. I think people appreciate you can support the team where you come from but that when you go to another team it doesn't take away your desire to do well for them. People realise that when I play for Manchester United I'm going to give 110 per cent."
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror
Rooney won't go loony says Fergie
Sir Alex Ferguson is convinced Wayne Rooney will stay cool in the heat of the Manchester derby tomorrow. United's teenage striker was booked in their last Premiership clash at Portsmouth after a scuffle and is developing a fiery reputation. But Ferguson believes his £30million England star will thrive against City. Ferguson won't be handing his 19-year-old any special instructions, insisting: "I won't need to have a word with him before the game, there is no problem with that. The boy has a great temperament, I'm not worried about him. Wayne has played in a lot of important games for England and there are a lot of big games for us in the Premiership too."
James Nursey, Daily Mirror
1920_me
07-11-2004, 01:15 PM
http://img106.exs.cx/img106/2970/man_utd.jpg
all these stuff from manutd.com
gxelan
07-11-2004, 01:35 PM
for me i will play saha n smith .... rooney ought to be rested.. he haf one hell of a temper and that might cos man utd ... think shld play smith in a withdrawn position n saha shld play the position where RVN usually play
my First XI
----------------Carroll------------------
--Neville-----Rio----Silvestre----Heinze
--miller---keane------scholes----Giggs--
----------------smith---------------------
--------------------Saha-----------------
if silves can play ...all the more better... but if cant..shld be replace by brown ...
anywyay...feel that ronaldo is not that sharp at the moment... didnt make the best of decision in the last few matches... so shld start on the bench rather than start the match .... think ronaldo n rooney will perform better if they are sub out later in the game....
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 01:51 PM
for me i will play saha n smith .... rooney ought to be rested.. he haf one hell of a temper and that might cos man utd ... think shld play smith in a withdrawn position n saha shld play the position where RVN usually play
my First XI
----------------Carroll------------------
--Neville-----Rio----Silvestre----Heinze
--miller---keane------scholes----Giggs--
----------------smith---------------------
--------------------Saha-----------------
if silves can play ...all the more better... but if cant..shld be replace by brown ...
anywyay...feel that ronaldo is not that sharp at the moment... didnt make the best of decision in the last few matches... so shld start on the bench rather than start the match .... think ronaldo n rooney will perform better if they are sub out later in the game....
hahaha.. one he** of temper he has there... I think he's super bad temper. Suits Man Utd's RED DEVILs style though. If he can put the temper into his way of playing, then good, but dun get yellow card or red card unnecessarily.
Rgds,
O'
vivre
07-11-2004, 05:31 PM
http://img106.exs.cx/img106/2970/man_utd.jpg
all these stuff from manutd.com
Why Ronaldo wear no. 10 & Smith no. 15???
cutieboy86
07-11-2004, 05:41 PM
haha... maybe they juz take and wear for fun... it doesnt mean anyting de
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 06:50 PM
It's just a training session, so why they bother so much about what they are wearing?
MatrixFanatic
07-11-2004, 07:22 PM
They wear different numbers during training session.
Still remember that time when Veron came to Manutd, and the media was saying how he has taken over Beckham's Number 7, there are even pictures. In the end, it's just that he wore number 7 during training sessions, and that's that. :s13:
cutieboy86
07-11-2004, 08:31 PM
Roy told to keep calm
Roy Keane has revealed he has been ordered to go easy on his Manchester United team-mates. It was noticable how Keane was continually handing out pats on the back rather than his usual brickbats during the midweek Champions League beating of Sparta Prague. And he said: "We all know as a team that we have been inconsistent - myself included - and we don't need any experts to keep telling us that. But to be honest, I have been quite relaxed about it. I have been told by the manager that I need to lighten up a little bit and I have done. The thing is that despite the frustration, we are still focused and we certainly aren't panicking just yet. I suppose this is a bit of a transitional period because when new players come in it does take time to settle. We can't use it as an excuse because we've brought in new players before and still won things. That's why I don't think it will be too long before the whole thing really clicks."
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror
Roo owe me
Sir Alex Ferguson last night fired out a stark warning to Wayne Rooney and his misfiring strikers: Your failure could cost us the title. Fergie blasted: "My big frustration is that we are creating chances but not taking them. It is a real worry. There has to be more concentration in their finishing. I don't know what's happened. Their finishing in training is terrific. It's hard to put a finger on it."
James Fletcher, News of the World
Saha goal pledge
Louis Saha has told Sir Alex Ferguson he can score the goals to win today's Manchester derby. He said: "I am confident that I can score goals for United and with Ruud out of the City game maybe this will be my chance. I have waited for my time to come and when it does I will be ready to take it. I always back myself to score goals. This is a difficult time for me, but I have always kept strong mentally and worked hard."
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror
Robbo fires title warning[/B]
Bryan Robson has warned Manchester United: One more defeat and you can forget about winning the Premiership. He said: "United can't afford any more slip-ups. Arsenal and Chelsea are having unbelievable runs and I can't see them slipping up in too many games."
Sports reporter, Sunday Mirror
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 11:06 PM
Robbo fires title warning
Bryan Robson has warned Manchester United: One more defeat and you can forget about winning the Premiership. He said: "United can't afford any more slip-ups. Arsenal and Chelsea are having unbelievable runs and I can't see them slipping up in too many games."
Sports reporter, Sunday Mirror
Seriously, all these talks about chasing Arsenal & Chelsea, I find it a bit disrespect to other teams. Currently, Man Utd is @ position no.8, even though I am a Man Utd and have faith in Man Utd all times. However, we should not forget the other teams that are before us. It's so incredible that everyone are thinking of beating Arsenal and Chelsea but forget that b4 us, there are still Everton, Bolton, Boro, Liverpool and Aston Villa currently. Not that I am not confident in Man Utd even though I do admit sometimes I will be disappointed and lost confident with some of their performances, still we should remember, before beating the 1st 2 teams, we cannot forget that we still have @ least 5 more teams to catch up with. No point thinking of beatig the other two when we can't even go past these 5 teams, especially Everton and Bolton been performing quite well this season. And Boro too. And @ the same time, we cannot forget there are still teams behind chasing after us. It's very important. I cannot imagine Bryan Robson, a legend from Man Utd will forget these important points or he forget about other teams' existence except knowing the league only got 3 clubs, hahaha....
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
07-11-2004, 11:27 PM
Blatter backs Utd fans over Glazer
FIFA president Sepp Blatter has backed Manchester United supporters' groups in their opposition to Malcolm Glazer's attempts to buy the club - though insists he cannot use his position of power to intervene directly.
Blatter: Backing Utd fans (StuartFranklin/GettyImages)
The figurehead of the sport's world governing body wrote to Shareholders United, a group representing minority shareholders in the club, who are determined to head off the American businessman's efforts to seize control of the club.
In his letter to SU, Blatter said: 'Football has indeed changed over the years, but not all change has been for the better, and the continued commercialisation of football, as we can observe it, is one case in point.
'The good it produces for the few is the harm it does to the sport in the long run.
'The ideas (SU) propose are excellent but FIFA cannot interfere in national issues, nor must we do so. I shall give your initiative my utmost consideration and assure you we will not hesitate to include some of your thoughts and suggestions in our internal discussions without delay.'
SU have also been boosted by news that US-based law firm Weil Gotshal and Manges have offered to advise them for free in their fight against Glazer, who has redefined the terms of an offer for the 29% stake held by Cubic Expression pair John Magnier and JP McManus.
sources (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=315680&cc=3436)
Comments: -
I think as long as he don't come and ka jiao(disturb) Man Utd, I will be very thankful liao. Always finding ways and means to make Man Utd in misery. If not because of his interference, I think R.Ferdinand will not be sitting on the bench for 8mths liao. Then always complaining about Man Utd this and that. And then comes up with all those stupid ideas. His actions are all abnormal and UNACCEPTABLE. So he don't need to come and be busybody or be "GOOD" man now. I don't think he's COOLX @ all. So he can keep his support to himself man.
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 02:06 AM
Another draw. I starting to think whenever R.Carroll played, we will only draw.. Smith was good, but too reckless.
greycat87
08-11-2004, 02:06 AM
players are given a random training number when they first enter the team... that number will stick with them until they leave the club
greycat87
08-11-2004, 02:07 AM
Anyway, another disappointing game. With so much attacking flair in the team, i just can't understand why United can't score. Damn it.
Kyubi
08-11-2004, 02:07 AM
our title hope gone rite ? sigh .. arsenal draw we gain nth again
pathetic, terrible. :frus: :alien:
**** Midfield = No Ammunition = No Goal.
We'd be lucky to get a UEFA Cup spot at this rate :mad:
Kyubi
08-11-2004, 02:12 AM
really frustrated .. hmm i sometimes wonder isit man u problem or the other side .. cos whenever they play .. their opponents defensive side always looks so pro to me .. sigh
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 02:13 AM
Another bore draw performance... face it, 11 points from Chelsea, 9 from Arsenal, unless some miracle happen both Chelsea and Arsenal suddenly stutter, I believe one of them will stutter, but not both... so our realistic target is for the Champions League.
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:15 AM
and when these teams face arsenal or chelsea , they defence will open itself... :alien:
against manutd , :s8:
knns SAF shuld retire back then. :frus:
Kyubi
08-11-2004, 02:18 AM
sigh and i remember theres one time when dunno whu kicks the ball and hit one man c defenders arm .. i thought it was a handball .. but ref din saw .. sigh ..
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:21 AM
ok apart from the penalty debates.....
a few players had golden chances but they blew it....
giggs and saha especically :frus:
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:22 AM
no giggs from the start... is that right? Miller can't penetrate... Ronaldo isn't playing @ 100%... look @ his expression today man... giving up too easy...
refree fails to give penalties where it's due, offisdes galore from Saha, no predator instinct from 6 yards by the strikers... if not, might scrap a few in today
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:23 AM
ok apart from the penalty debates.....
a few players had golden chances but they blew it....
giggs and saha especically :frus:
RVN's ban left how long huh?
Kyubi
08-11-2004, 02:24 AM
haiz ... its over .. sigh .. but we are still crapping about here. . :sad:
AhHuat
this match last one
Kyubi
ended today lor ....
over liao, but we should still win matches without him. But we are not doing it. :frus:
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:25 AM
haiz ... its over .. sigh .. but we are still crapping about here. . :sad:
come on buddy , until saf find the right ingredient.....
we cant do anything abt it..... :bandit:
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:26 AM
gotta score BIG man... got points & goal difference to catch up on...
Is the Charity Shield still a jinx? :D
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:27 AM
over liao, but we should still win matches without him. But we are not doing it. :frus:
we need someone who has the instinct from 6 yards... looks like only RVN has it...
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:28 AM
sad to say....i think it is.....
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:30 AM
sad to say....i think it is.....
ok... so Arsenal cannot win EPL!!! Let Chelsea have it if Man U can't win it...
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:32 AM
ok... so Arsenal cannot win EPL!!! Let Chelsea have it if Man U can't win it...
frankly speaking , i rather chelsea win it than arsenal
chelsea got the good players. AND a champion manager
they deserve it.
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:35 AM
they deserve it.
yup... starting to hate Henry's expression everytime he scores a goal nowadays... so sian to score goals, dun score lah.. or score @ the other end lor...
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:39 AM
Prior to this game, Carling Cup Man Utd v Crystal Palace on the 10/11
So, it's 2 psyched up teams we face next...
AhHuat
unless something happens to arsenal and chelsea along the way.....which i dun think so
i cant see the day where manutd lifting the trophy again.
period. haiz
spinelli
they deserve it.
the only thing jose is better than wenger is...jose's eye sight is better,well,much better =:p
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:41 AM
unless something happens to arsenal and chelsea along the way.....which i dun think so
i cant see the day where manutd lifting the trophy again.
period. haiz
we gotta see this 2 months how lor...
uRiZEn
08-11-2004, 02:47 AM
the only thing jose is better than wenger is...jose's eye sight is better,well,much better =:p
and his nose.The guy said b4 he can smell which way the flow of the game is goinng and whether is the opposition giong to sub anyone.
The guy think he's a mutant liao.
I rather Bolton win.Haha
Man Utd (1)2 - 1(0) Norwich
Blackburn (1)1 - 1(0) Man Utd
Man Utd (0)0 - 0(0) Everton
Bolton (0)2 - 2(1) Man Utd
Birmingham 0 - 0 Man Utd
Portsmouth 2 - 0 Man Utd
Man Utd 0 - 0 Man City
Nothing coincidental, we have drawn or lost every match against these type of teams apart from norwich in which we struggled mightily. I am sick of this cr@p results. :mad:
JirQUEST
08-11-2004, 02:48 AM
ehhh this is just a bad run, and u guys are slamming them so fast already? relax lah! now nov nia.... the championship race really gets exciting only in jan.
AhHuat
08-11-2004, 02:49 AM
ehhh this is just a bad run, and u guys are slamming them so fast already? relax lah! now nov nia.... the championship race really gets exciting only in jan.
lmao....wat if we keep drawing , losing till jan ?
like that really jialak :s13:
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:50 AM
ya lor... if these 2 months CMI, that's it... like I said
o0KelviN0o
08-11-2004, 02:51 AM
yes... by then, half season gone, dunno how points & goals behind liao.
yes it's good to have Rio back, but if the attack ain't scoring... 1 point ain't enough for the championship... only good for "unbeaten" runs
JirQUEST
08-11-2004, 02:52 AM
there is no need to worry. in fact, man utd's stutter should continue till abt christmas.
I want the stutter to stop soon, I probably had enough of it and it just getting pure frustrating.
I hate this, all possession, all dominating, and bloody 0-0!!!:frus:
We are so pathetic in front of goal, just cannot score. :mad:
JirQUEST
08-11-2004, 03:23 AM
I want the stutter to stop soon, I probably had enough of it and it just getting pure frustrating.
I hate this, all possession, all dominating, and bloody 0-0!!!:frus:
We are so pathetic in front of goal, just cannot score. :mad:
relax lah... u get mad also no pt. sit back and enjoy the show can liao.
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 07:48 AM
Har har... I'm not sure, but there is 2 curses Arsenal needs to break to win the league, that is the Charity Shield Curse and the Lead at the beginning of the Season curse...
gxelan
08-11-2004, 08:44 AM
this bad run is far to bad.... at least some consolation ... man utd are starting to look hungy .... for the past few matches like portsmouth... blackburn ...blah blah blah ... we were dominated by the opposition ....
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 09:32 AM
In truth, we have been losing and drawing to poor teams since last season. I don't know but of course if I am the gaffer for a poor team, I'd play very defensively against a team like Man U, and it didn't help that Man Utd players are hitting left , right, anything but the target. I've lost count of how many times the ball just missed the post by inches yesterday vs Man City. But credit to Dunne and Distin. They did good in snuffing out Man U's attacking threat. Our strikers are just not confident enough at the moment... And it shows with Smith losing his patience at the end. Heck I lost my patience too screaming at the bloody TV for them to stop crossing high balls into the area, can't they see that it's ineffective against the tall Dunne and Distin who managed to head away almost every crosses into the box? Ah well, with that said... we have to move on and hope next game with Ruud returning, we bring on the goals again.
majongfreak
08-11-2004, 09:35 AM
I think we should stop all the talk about winning the league title liao.......
The truth is Man U is not gd enuff...We simply cant beat the so called 'weaker teams'. Let's change our target to gtting at least a 4th placing come end of season coz at this rate Man U is going, we diffinitely wont be enjoying CL football next season. Judging the way Crystal Palace played against the Gunners over the weekend, I wont be surprised if we got beaten against them in the next game....... :sad:
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 09:54 AM
we mustn't give up so easily... well if we really failed to get fourth... We can get into Champs League by winning it. Real did that 2-3 seasons ago. Things don't always go our teams way, but we, their fans must be behind them thru the good and the worst.
OreoCookies
08-11-2004, 10:46 AM
I feel that the team is under an intense amount of pressure to win matches... Somehow somewhere, I guess all the stress of such expectations is getting to them...
I guess what they'll need is a little time, some relaxation, and a whole lot of encouragement... I mean, footballers are humans too... And most people perform much better when relaxed than they do when under pressure, no?
Anyway, as long as they are playing well, I'm sure the goals will come sooner or later... As long as we do not lose anymore, we'll be somewhere up there come next May/June... One point in the bag is better than three points lost, I'd reckon... ;)
JirQUEST
08-11-2004, 11:51 AM
this bad run is far to bad.... at least some consolation ... man utd are starting to look hungy .... for the past few matches like portsmouth... blackburn ...blah blah blah ... we were dominated by the opposition ....
yup... this run is probably one of the worst since epl. but isnt that what makes it exciting? LOL
Ch3tah_39
08-11-2004, 12:27 PM
I hate this, all possession, all dominating, and bloody 0-0!!!
We are so pathetic in front of goal, just cannot score. :
hiya... dunno wat they dOING LA!!!! :mad: :mad:
miss so many chances... :frus:
Yellowfin
08-11-2004, 12:35 PM
Not only Man U are playing against 11 players but also 3 match official that are afraid to award any penalty or free kick to Man U in fear of..............
The team have not gel well and luck are not on Man U side. Somehow there will be a leg here or a hand there to deflect the ball. Hang on for a rough ride in the rest of the season.
A few of the players need to train on crossing the ball and not just passing squarely to teammate.
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 12:56 PM
frankly I don't see much problem with the crossings, they just need taller players int he box, with better positioning??? yesterday was just plain unlucky that the 2 central defenders Distin and Dunne made good use of their height over Saha and Smith, and everything that was crossed into the box, they handled well... nobody can outjump them yesterday. Maybe we need to get Duncan Ferguson in...
cutieboy86
08-11-2004, 01:06 PM
hai... so many chances last nite but still 0-0 again... if ruud was ard, it could have easily been 6-0... smith overhead kick was beautiful but was suay suay clear off the line...tis show how unlucky man utd is...i tink the strikers nid to score a goal b4 they can get their confidence back... wat lackin nw for the strikers beside ruud is the confidence infront of goal... they have alot of chances but they cant convert is due to the lack in confidence... scholes oso nid to find back his confidence in scorin too... in the past we can depend on his long shots and sneak run into the penalty box to score the impt goals... but nw he is oso lackin some confidence
1920_me
08-11-2004, 01:17 PM
Ruud will be back for e next game..i hope we had drew 5-5 rather tha 0-0
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 01:23 PM
I'd rather draw 0-0 then 5-5.... 5-5 would mean we have a real BIG problem in our defence!!!
darrenlee78
08-11-2004, 01:29 PM
hai... so many chances last nite but still 0-0 again... if ruud was ard, it could have easily been 6-0... smith overhead kick was beautiful but was suay suay clear off the line...tis show how unlucky man utd is...i tink the strikers nid to score a goal b4 they can get their confidence back... wat lackin nw for the strikers beside ruud is the confidence infront of goal... they have alot of chances but they cant convert is due to the lack in confidence... scholes oso nid to find back his confidence in scorin too... in the past we can depend on his long shots and sneak run into the penalty box to score the impt goals... but nw he is oso lackin some confidence
maybe approach yaoming and see if he wanna play soccer instead.. his height header sure can win lolzz
1920_me
08-11-2004, 02:39 PM
I'd rather draw 0-0 then 5-5.... 5-5 would mean we have a real BIG problem in our defence!!!
with a mean defence..we can get a draw..possibly wif a good attack..we can win games...no goals..no wins...juz a silly thought..we will never concede 5 goals with rio and silvestre around
Ronaldo7
08-11-2004, 02:42 PM
we are a different team w/o ruud . saha and smith did well yesterday , but ruud is still our most important player in the team . can't wait to have him back for the next game and i think ronaldo need a rest badly :s22:
cutieboy86
08-11-2004, 02:53 PM
yar... ronaldo nid a rest... he has been playin since last season to euro to olympics till nw... shld rest him and let him recharge
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 02:55 PM
with a mean defence..we can get a draw..possibly wif a good attack..we can win games...no goals..no wins...juz a silly thought..we will never concede 5 goals with rio and silvestre around
with a good defence, if we don't let in any goals and keep a clean sheet, we secure at least a point. with a poor defence, we risk losing all three points... I always stress on defence... clean sheet is very important... my silly thoughts :)
1920_me
08-11-2004, 03:01 PM
haha:) to me..either we finish first or our season is a failure...we will get stronger with the season and yesterday performance was good..we pinned back man city almost for 90 mins
1920_me
08-11-2004, 03:02 PM
yar... ronaldo nid a rest... he has been playin since last season to euro to olympics till nw... shld rest him and let him recharge
i concur with you
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 05:18 PM
wah, AhHuat, stop being so pessimistic larh. We shouldn't be in such a low spirits... High spirits then can help out team.
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 05:27 PM
*sigh*
I think not only Ronaldo needs a rest, all our players should practice how to aim man. Missing so many chances are a bit unacceptable. However, still need to place my faith with them.
Not to mention luck is very important too, I think Man Utd really lack of luck this season. So many problems come up during these 2 seasons. Buey tahan man. Like a curse sia.
Rgds,
O'
kahmun7
08-11-2004, 05:56 PM
well put it this way.. don't really believe Giggs need to be replaced.. until I saw him play yesterday... very disappointing.. think he should have stayed on the bench and let Miller played on.
But then, I still hope he'll rediscover his form, and proof me wrong. :)
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 06:55 PM
well put it this way.. don't really believe Giggs need to be replaced.. until I saw him play yesterday... very disappointing.. think he should have stayed on the bench and let Miller played on.
But then, I still hope he'll rediscover his form, and proof me wrong. :)
Ermmm.... If that's what U think, then there must be something wrong with those commentary that I read and the report that I read. Most said due to R.Giggs's appearance, Man Utd is having a better game @ 2nd half. Maybe they are wrong.
But I am sure, he's not off-form. Really duno how many Man Utd fans have said this before. He's in his 30s, NOT OFF-FORM, it's moire like due to his age and also PEOPLE are asking too much from him. Just like how everyone expected from W.Rooney & C.Ronaldo. Just expectation, even though he rested the last game, but doesn't mean anything. Can U imagine he been playing more than 600 games for Man Utd, U can think that he's like playing non-stop for Man Utd lor. Of course he needs more than 1 game rest.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 07:01 PM
Wah.... 5-5, mister, you must talking about another team in EPL. Getting 5-5 means there are something wrong with our defenders leh. Even we got scoring problem, I think gettting 5-5 a draw means our defenders need to check their problems liao lor...
cutieboy86
08-11-2004, 07:02 PM
ya... giggs in his thirties le... u can expect him to run his trickery run like usual as he did in the past... age has possibly slow down him abit le...
usjag_18
08-11-2004, 09:18 PM
ya... giggs in his thirties le... u can expect him to run his trickery run like usual as he did in the past... age has possibly slow down him abit le...
High 5... Wah, I think so many people don't understand. Ermm.. In fact, all players are the same... Even though not all old players will be getting slower, but because R.Giggs always been UP to expectation, that's why no one complains. But the moment, he's slower a bit, everyone is complaining about him being off-form.
I think that's why E.Cantona retired before he also kanna the same treatment man.
Rgds,
O'
cracker
08-11-2004, 10:01 PM
A player will need to know when his days are number..For a winger, if he has lost his pace; days are numbered liao. Take a look at Sherringham; when he joined Utd, he was already 33 or 34. He didnt have the pace but he supplement it with his reading of the game to score vital goals for Utd and England ( in the qualifying game with Greece).
Some players just dun noe when to quit, as a result we may remember more for his mistake. David Seaman was a hero during Euro 96 shutting out Spain during the penalty shootout, but during the 2002 World Cup , he was remembered for being caught out-position by ROnaldihno.
gxelan
08-11-2004, 10:51 PM
actually what we need now is a replacement for giggs .... u cant keep playing ronaldo ... think the fatigue of playing match after match have affected his decision quite a lot and many players are getting use to his stepovers n style of play ...resting ronaldo will no doubt be able to recharge him ..at the same time players get little contact of him .. os the next time when ronaldo plays... he will be much more effective
kahmun7
09-11-2004, 01:30 AM
Ermmm.... If that's what U think, then there must be something wrong with those commentary that I read and the report that I read. Most said due to R.Giggs's appearance, Man Utd is having a better game @ 2nd half. Maybe they are wrong.
But I am sure, he's not off-form. Really duno how many Man Utd fans have said this before. He's in his 30s, NOT OFF-FORM, it's moire like due to his age and also PEOPLE are asking too much from him. Just like how everyone expected from W.Rooney & C.Ronaldo. Just expectation, even though he rested the last game, but doesn't mean anything. Can U imagine he been playing more than 600 games for Man Utd, U can think that he's like playing non-stop for Man Utd lor. Of course he needs more than 1 game rest.
Rgds,
O'
he lose lots of pace.. I understand it's because of his age... but form wise, think he's still not performing 100%
cracker
09-11-2004, 07:23 AM
Rgds,
O'
giggs' entrance in the second half did give Utd more flair on the flank ( me refering to the Utd-City game)..prior it was only Ronaldo crossing from the right. In the first half, crosses from the left flank was pathetic with Heinze skying most of the shots. Previously it was Silvestre who do the crossing but he was playing left central back...so didnt really move up to join the attack.
SAF should start to utllize his younger players more often....Eagles, Fletcher..but prob is these 2 players are more comfortable on the right flank.
majongfreak
09-11-2004, 08:58 AM
I think the greatest mistake has committed is his failure to get Robben and Ronaldinho to Old Trafford. Robben wud hv been a great replacemnet for Giggs and rhe Barca man would be the perfect playmaker to spray defence spilting passes for RVN and co. to gobble up....
Sigh!!!! IF only..................
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.