PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

greiver
16-07-2002, 06:12 PM
Originally posted by joecan

i think striker enough already, defender more urgent

Agree!Defence is the weakest link 4 Man U.

Devilboy
16-07-2002, 08:30 PM
Get Rio! He is a hungary fellow. He will be useful to Man Utd title chase. BTW, according to the radio, Rio Ferdinand has announce that he is really desperate to get out of Leeds and hoping Man Utd will buy him, after he discuss with his family members. Man Utd is willing to offer 30 million pounds but Leeds is not willing to let go unless the price hit 35 million pounds.

ralliart_ray
18-07-2002, 03:53 PM
man U will sign Rio Ferdinand hopefully:D

Devilboy
18-07-2002, 09:18 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
man U will sign Rio Ferdinand hopefully:D

Leeds finally accept Man Utd offer for Rio Ferninand! Hopefully Man Utd will sign him! We will know the result by tomorrow (The earliest).:bounce:

kengbeng
19-07-2002, 12:32 AM

i think striker enough already, defender more urgent
Come to think of it, wonder who will take over the number 9 jersey next season? If no new strikers coming in, my guess is Ole. :)

k4
19-07-2002, 02:04 AM
seems like Rio's not going anywhere

pyu
19-07-2002, 08:17 AM
He's only 23. He will simply refuse to sign an extension of the contract and walk away from the club when it expires in 4 years time.

Or even better, he has a clause that allows him to move next season. Albeit for only 20 million pounds. And a foreign club.

Time is on his side. Risdale can bluster and talk, but he is a fool to believe that he can keep Ferdinand when he has made plain his intention to leave.

Just like the people at Tottenham when they thought they can persaude Sol Campbell to stay. :laugh:

kengbeng
19-07-2002, 03:06 PM
Rio Ferdinand is there for the taking. The only obstacle is how much Man Utd are prepared to pay. Risdale's comments are obviously there to drive his price up and make himself look good in front of Leeds' fans.

Hamstar
19-07-2002, 06:02 PM
Yes i support Rio go to Man Utd!!! Man Utd needs him!!! :P

:bounce:

ralliart_ray
20-07-2002, 01:37 AM
Originally posted by Hamstah
Yes i support Rio go to Man Utd!!! Man Utd needs him!!! :P

:bounce: wat abt duff?:rolleyes: :rolleyes: after seeing yr rover's avatar

Magia
20-07-2002, 03:04 PM
Originally posted by Devilboy

Leeds finally accept Man Utd offer for Rio Ferninand! Hopefully Man Utd will sign him! We will know the result by tomorrow (The earliest).:bounce:

accept meh ? leeds has rejected 29 million from man u :confused:

Devilboy
20-07-2002, 09:49 PM
Originally posted by Magia

accept meh ? leeds has rejected 29 million from man u :confused:

Accept doesn't neccessary means selling! They only accept the bid but not saying that they will sell! They rejected 29M this morning! But Man Utd will bid once more.

Magia
20-07-2002, 11:22 PM

Accept doesn't neccessary means selling! They only accept the bid but not saying that they will sell! They rejected 29M this morning! But Man Utd will bid once more.

ok i get ur pnt .... hope man u can get their man soon :)

k4
21-07-2002, 01:16 AM
seems like Leeds juz rejected another 30m bid.. hmm.. am wondering wots if AF says NO DEAL to Leeds???

Shevchenko7
21-07-2002, 10:06 AM
Don't understand why they bid so much for Rio Ferdinand... Don't think he's that good leh... ;)

dredd
21-07-2002, 01:25 PM
No matter what....i hope they will sign some good players.....haiz.....this Ferdinand transfer saga is getting a bit boring......hope they settle it fast.....

hartly
21-07-2002, 02:44 PM
Originally posted by Shevchenko7
Don't understand why they bid so much for Rio Ferdinand... Don't think he's that good leh... ;)

Well, after the Nike deal, they don't know how to spend the money. So, they think why not spend it on Fedinand and break the British transfer record.

kengbeng
21-07-2002, 03:17 PM
Both sides playing mind games. One side trying to push the sale, the other side trying to raise the price.

pyu
21-07-2002, 03:22 PM
Originally posted by k4
seems like Leeds juz rejected another 30m bid.. hmm.. am wondering wots if AF says NO DEAL to Leeds???

I would understand it. "F**k you Risdale, I rather go buy Nesta!"

:laugh:

verydead
21-07-2002, 04:24 PM
nesta reported wans to stay in italy.

kh
21-07-2002, 04:35 PM
its just a matter of time before rio moves over to old trafford.

Shingoz
21-07-2002, 06:36 PM
Originally posted by kengbeng
Both sides playing mind games. One side trying to push the sale, the other side trying to raise the price.
Eh $30million pound for a def is really TOO MUCH leh....

kengbeng
21-07-2002, 06:42 PM
Originally posted by Shingoz

Yah it is too much. But try telling that to Ferguson.

However, I feel Rio will be a great addition to the squad.

pyu
21-07-2002, 09:04 PM
Kenyon respects Ferguson.. so he will let him have Ferdinand.

Got much moola too. Nike + 300 million pounds! OMFG! Godsend!. Though unlikely all that money going into transfer kitty.

BTW, ain't it time to start a new Man U thread for new season? :)

kengbeng
21-07-2002, 10:09 PM
Breaking News!
http://msn.skysports.com/skysports/article/0,,1-1058294,00.html

UNITEDS AGREE £30M FEE FOR RIO

Manchester United have agreed a record British transfer fee of £30million with Leeds for England centre-back Rio Ferdinand.

The agreement brings to an end weeks of speculation following Ferdinand's fine performances at the World Cup, and the 23-year-old will now discuss personal terms with the Old Trafford heavyweights.

Leeds chairman Peter Ridsdale confirmed: "Subject to him agreeing personal terms and passing a medical he will be a Man Utd player. Everyone at Leeds wishes him the best in his future career."

The club's supporters may be less magnanimous than their chairman, and Ferdinand is assured of a lively reception should he line up for his new club at Elland Road in September 14, in front of the Sky Sports cameras.

Should the deal go through as expected, Ferdinand will reclaim the title of the world's most expensive defender, a feat he first achieved when Leeds forked out £18million to bring him north from West Ham.

Alex Ferguson has been after a big-money signing to bolster his defence ever since his side shipped 47 goals on the way to relinquishing their Premiership title to Arsenal last season.

He earmarked Ferdinand as the man, and with Leeds aiming to rake in 15million this summer to balance the books at Elland Road and Ferdinand eager to move on, the transfer was inevitable.

Ridsdale turned down two bids from his club's rivals, but after abandoning a noon deadline for the transfer to go through, he finally thrashed out the deal with Manchester United counterpart Peter Kenyon.

I think the Bowyer deal collapse had an influence in the deal going through this time.

stam
21-07-2002, 10:19 PM
looks like we going to sign RIO! :)

ifiron
21-07-2002, 10:22 PM
Fee agree !!! :D

Dolphin1977
21-07-2002, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by stam
looks like we going to sign RIO! :)

stam when u changing ur nick to RIO?:D

Dolphin1977
21-07-2002, 11:06 PM

why not? we are the richest club in the world...
as long as the shopping spree dun stop here..

need at least one more "world class" player in the defence or attack..

RVN alone doesn't seem to be threatening enough..

MU already full of "good and world class" players...dun point investing in unknown players and expecting them to turn out to become a "star player"

we are a serious contender for CL not aiming for 2nd class league cup... :)

cheers

joecan
22-07-2002, 10:17 AM
Originally posted by Dolphin1977

why not? we are the richest club in the world...
as long as the shopping spree dun stop here..

need at least one more "world class" player in the defence or attack..

RVN alone doesn't seem to be threatening enough..

MU already full of "good and world class" players...dun point investing in unknown players and expecting them to turn out to become a "star player"

we are a serious contender for CL not aiming for 2nd class league cup... :)

cheers

RVN alone, I think it's about time everybody recognised this guy call Ole.....but honestly I feel Manu is still short of two, if one look back at ManU's best season, they always have 4 strikers in the squad, Ole, Cole, Yorke, Sheringham, and when there wasn't 4, something like last season will happen.....even good old Houllier from Liverpool is trying to emulate that formula.....

verydead
22-07-2002, 11:12 AM

RVN alone, I think it's about time everybody recognised this guy call Ole.....but honestly I feel Manu is still short of two, if one look back at ManU's best season, they always have 4 strikers in the squad, Ole, Cole, Yorke, Sheringham, and when there wasn't 4, something like last season will happen.....even good old Houllier from Liverpool is trying to emulate that formula.....

GH has five...........:)

Dolphin1977
22-07-2002, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by verydead

GH has five...........:)

but only "Owen" is gd.......

nWo
22-07-2002, 02:33 PM
Apparently, if you go to Man Utd's on-line Megastore, you can no longer order Man Utd replica kits with Dwight Yorke's name and squad number any more.

Looks like rumours of Yorke not being given a squad number for the upcoming season are most probably true, and he'll probably join Blackburn Rovers soon.

So that leaves RVN, Solskjaer and Forlan as United's attack. Of course Giggsy is always an interesting option, but that'll mean Fortune or Phil Neville operating on the left wing. Ugh.

In comparison, Liverpool now have Owen, Heskey, Litmanen, Diouf and Baros.

nWo
22-07-2002, 02:55 PM
MANCHESTER UTD SQUAD NUMBERS

1 Fabien BARTHEZ
2 Gary NEVILLE
4 Juan Sebastian VERON
5 Rio FERDINAND?
6 Laurent BLANC
7 David BECKHAM
8 Nicky BUTT
10 Ruud van NISTELROOY
11 Ryan GIGGS
12 Philip NEVILLE
13 Roy CARROLL
14 David MAY
15 Luke CHADWICK
16 Roy KEANE
17 Luke STEELE?
18 Paul SCHOLES
19 Dwight YORKE?
20 Ole Gunnar SOLSKJAER
21 Diego FORLAN
24 Wes BROWN
25 Quinton FORTUNE
27 Mickael SILVESTRE
28 Michael STEWART
30 John O'SHEA
31 Darren FLETCHER
32 Bojan DJORDIC
34 Lee ROCHE
36 Jimmy DAVIS
37 Danny WEBBER
40 Daniel NARDIELLO

verydead
22-07-2002, 03:43 PM

but only "Owen" is gd.......

u fogot england's strike force consist of who?

nWo
22-07-2002, 03:49 PM
Surely you cannot be serious that Heskey can be termed as "good"? LOL. :)

verydead
22-07-2002, 03:52 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Surely you cannot be serious that Heskey can be termed as "good"? LOL. :)
well, wasnt he chosen b4 sheringham and andy cole?
and was one of the certainities in the england squad.........

nWo
22-07-2002, 03:58 PM
Heskey was chosen mainly for his bulk, so that he can get the ball and shove the opponents around. :)

In general consensus, Heskey did not have a great WC.

Robbie Fowler would be one player that I would call "good". Too bad he and Owen plays too similar a role.

cracker
22-07-2002, 04:06 PM

well, wasnt he chosen b4 sheringham and andy cole?
and was one of the certainities in the england squad.........

gentlemen,,,now that rio is/has joined utd....ever consider wat will be the apt name for him and blanc or Brown?

it will be called the "BF" combination,,,in the event of failure BF = Blur Fxxx....

verydead
22-07-2002, 04:27 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Heskey was chosen mainly for his bulk, so that he can get the ball and shove the opponents around. :)

In general consensus, Heskey did not have a great WC.

Robbie Fowler would be one player that I would call "good". Too bad he and Owen plays too similar a role.

i think diff players have diff strengths lah....... heskey is for being a target man and creating space for owen.
he did not have a great WC but not a poor one either.
if u assess the england squad, there are many who did not have a gd WC............ if not bias, that includes beckham.........(general consensus as well):)

nWo
22-07-2002, 04:45 PM
Just imagine, if Beckham did not shy away the challenge from Carlos, then perhaps Ronaldinho would not have scored...

Heh. :)

joecan
22-07-2002, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Just imagine, if Beckham did not shy away the challenge from Carlos, then perhaps Ronaldinho would not have scored...

Yeah, and if Season did not decide to take a break, England would not have lost..........

joecan
22-07-2002, 05:14 PM

Yeah, and if Season did not decide to take a break, England would not have lost..........

....and if I did not say Season instead of Seaman, i didn't have to post again, right?

ralliart_ray
22-07-2002, 05:15 PM
woHooo...i going to penisular to get the manutd jersey with "Ferdinand" on the back~~~~~~~~~~~~~ hope the deal wont collapse..choY!!!!

nWo
22-07-2002, 05:21 PM
He will most likely be allocated squad number 5, same as his squad number for England.

Dolphin1977
22-07-2002, 06:29 PM

i think diff players have diff strengths lah....... heskey is for being a target man and creating space for owen.
he did not have a great WC but not a poor one either.
if u assess the england squad, there are many who did not have a gd WC............ if not bias, that includes beckham.........(general consensus as well):)

only butt and rio have a impressive WC outing..

Dolphin1977
22-07-2002, 06:31 PM
Originally posted by nWo

it rivaldo who scored.....ronaldinho scored from free kick..
dun flame mi if i am wrong...cos i didn't watch that match..

nWo
22-07-2002, 07:01 PM
My apologies, it is indeed Ronaldo.

Devilboy
22-07-2002, 07:10 PM
woHooo...i going to penisular to get the manutd jersey with "Ferdinand" on the back~~~~~~~~~~~~~ hope the deal wont collapse..choY!!!!

Hurray! Fergi goes for Ferdi! What a combo!

Dolphin1977
22-07-2002, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by nWo
My apologies, it is indeed Ronaldo.

it rivaldo..
:mad:

nWo
22-07-2002, 07:27 PM
Haha... Alright. Maybe it's Rambo. :)

ralliart_ray
22-07-2002, 07:49 PM
rivaldo kana free transfer -_- .......mayb manU should snap him uP ^^

stam
22-07-2002, 11:29 PM
i hope more new players follow!! :D

ralliart_ray
23-07-2002, 12:36 AM
wohooOOOo.. ferdinand officially a red devil:evil: :evil:

ralliart_ray
23-07-2002, 12:38 AM
any1 know where/when the new this coming season manU jersey is selling/coming in singapore? i wanna get it with "ferdinand" at the back

tranze
23-07-2002, 02:14 AM
early august

nWo
23-07-2002, 03:08 PM
Hold on to your horses fellas,

cos' Diego Forlan got the number 9 shirt this season!

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 03:25 PM
Originally posted by nWo

Huh? Wow...hmm are there really no more better strikers?
Or is he that good?

Btw yorke was featured in the friendly match...
Does that means a start for him? Or...

nWo
23-07-2002, 03:40 PM
Blackburn and Man Utd may yet strike a deal on Yorke soon. Matt Jansen is out for the first few months following a car crash, and Souness knows he needs to enhance his team's attacking firepower. Plus, Andy Cole seems to recommend Yorke highly.

I think Yorke's starting pre-season training WITH Man Utd FOR Blackburn! :)

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 03:44 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Blackburn and Man Utd may yet strike a deal on Yorke soon. Matt Jansen is out for the first few months following a car crash, and Souness knows he needs to enhance his team's attacking firepower. Plus, Andy Cole seems to recommend Yorke highly.

I think Yorke's starting pre-season training WITH Man Utd FOR Blackburn! :)
Ah...so showcase he's talent huh? :D

kengbeng
23-07-2002, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by nWo

Just hope his luck improves this season. He was unlucky not to score from several chances last season. Well....was hoping that Ole got the number 9 jersey instead.

nWo
23-07-2002, 05:24 PM
Just confirmed:

Rio Ferdinand will wear the Number 6 shirt, with Laurent Blanc changing to Number 5.

stam
23-07-2002, 05:53 PM
sian.... man utd not signing any more new players.. :alien:

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 07:14 PM
Originally posted by stam
sian.... man utd not signing any more new players.. :alien:
Broke.

pyu
23-07-2002, 07:40 PM
I don't think they are broke. 300 million pounds from Nike.. how can they be broke? ;)

nWo
23-07-2002, 08:08 PM
Click on either one of the links to view Man Utd's 5-0 win over Shelbourne in the pre-season friendly.

AVI File - 3.6MB (Requires DivX CODEC) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/Utd%205-0%2020-7-02d.avi)

Windows Media Video - 904k (Windows Media Player) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Shelbourne.wmv)

Real Media - 836k (Requires RealOne Player) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Shelbourne.rm)

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 09:16 PM
Originally posted by pyu
I don't think they are broke. 300 million pounds from Nike.. how can they be broke? ;)
Hmm my impression is always man utd's board's one of the stingest in the world. :D

kengbeng
23-07-2002, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by pyu
the 300 million pounds will last for 10 years. not wise to spend too much so soon. besides 30 million pounds a season will only barely pay for the wages of beckham, ferdinand, giggs, scholes, keane, blanc, veron...

ralliart_ray
23-07-2002, 10:30 PM

Hmm my impression is always man utd's board's one of the stingest in the world. :D
dats y they r rich :D

Devilboy
23-07-2002, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Click on either one of the links to view Man Utd's 5-0 win over Shelbourne in the pre-season friendly.

AVI File - 3.6MB (Requires DivX CODEC) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/Utd%205-0%2020-7-02d.avi)

Windows Media Video - 904k (Windows Media Player) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Shelbourne.wmv)

Real Media - 836k (Requires RealOne Player) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Shelbourne.rm)

Do you notice something? The way RVN scores his goals is pretty outstanding, especially the second one.

tranze
24-07-2002, 02:48 AM
where do u guys download man u goals from??

any1 can say?

nWo
24-07-2002, 08:21 AM
The following are Man Utd's pre-season fixtures:

20/07/02 Shelbourne 0-5 Man Utd (Tolka Park)
27/07/02 Chesterfield v Man Utd (Saltergate)
27/07/02 Bournemouth v Man Utd (Dean Court)
30/07/02 Valerengen v Man Utd (Bislett Stadium)
02/08/02 Ajax v Man Utd (Amsterdam ArenA)
04/08/02 Parma v Man Utd (Amsterdam ArenA)
06/08/02 Aarhus v Man Utd (TBC)
10/08/02 Man Utd v Boca Juniors (Old Trafford)

=====

Rio Ferdinand will make his debut for Manchester United in Saturday's friendly against Bournemouth on Saturday.

Rio wasn't originally in the travelling party for the Dean Court game, but asked Sir Alex Ferguson whether he could play. He will join Juan Veron and Ryan Giggs in the match, and should play alongside Roy Carroll, Mikael Silvestre, Dwight Yorke, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and John O'Shea - who returns to the club at which he spent time on loan a couple of seasons ago.

Meanwhile, Ruud van Nistelrooy will be the star attraction at Saltergate, and should start upfront alongside Diego Forlan against Chesterfield in John Duncan's testimonial.

Roy Keane, Fabien Barthez, Phil Neville and Laurent Blanc will also play a part in the match as Sir Alex's squad is split in two.

Chesterfield squad:
Barthez, Roche, Blanc, Tate, Tierney, Keane, P Neville, Davis, Richardson, van Nistelrooy, Forlan, M Williams, Jowsey, Webber, Wood, Hilton.

Bournemouth squad:
Carroll, Lynch, O'Shea, Silvestre, Pugh, Veron, Giggs, Stewart, Djordjic, Yorke, Solskjaer, Muirhead, Nardiello, B. Williams, Ferdinand.

Kiwi8
24-07-2002, 01:40 PM

Do you notice something? The way RVN scores his goals is pretty outstanding, especially the second one.

Simple tap-ins....:rolleyes:

Shingoz
24-07-2002, 02:26 PM
Err hehe i dunno they play friendlies with mixed players?

joecan
24-07-2002, 03:29 PM
Err hehe i dunno they play friendlies with mixed players?

and both games will be played on the same day, but donno whether same time?

pyu
24-07-2002, 03:30 PM

dats y they r rich :D

That's why the rest of the footballling world is poor while Man U bucks the trend.

Heck, its the club that earns the most every year right?? :rolleyes:

Kiwi8
24-07-2002, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by pyu

That's why the rest of the footballling world is poor while Man U bucks the trend.

Heck, its the club that earns the most every year right?? :rolleyes:

A club that earns the most doesn't necessarily mean the most successful, in terms of trophies. :rolleyes:

Shingoz
25-07-2002, 05:51 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

A club that earns the most doesn't necessarily mean the most successful, in terms of trophies. :rolleyes:
ehe he didnt say that mah did he? :D

edwinz
25-07-2002, 09:55 PM
whe i t will come here? the webbie in uk say 1 augest,how about here? like the sleeveless though

pyu
25-07-2002, 10:17 PM

ehe he didnt say that mah did he? :D

yep.

but think about it. The manager doesn't need to worry too much about the financial side of things. Whatever you say about Man U, you must admit what drives them is their solid financial background. No need Jack Walker or Silvio Berlusconi-type chairmans ... :)

ifiron
26-07-2002, 11:03 AM

Simple tap-ins....:rolleyes:

As long a striker is delivering the goods, does it matter whether it's long range goal, overhead kick or some other spectacular goals ?

joecan
26-07-2002, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by pyu

yep.

but think about it. The manager doesn't need to worry too much about the financial side of things. Whatever you say about Man U, you must admit what drives them is their solid financial background. No need Jack Walker or Silvio Berlusconi-type chairmans ... :)

It would not be fair to say that the manager does not have to worry about the financial side of things, this is basically a chicken and egg argument, money generate success and success generate more money, but of course I believe ManU have a very strong team of biz guys to make sure that the money is well managed.

If he spend all the money and there is no success then he will end up like David O'leary.

Kiwi8
26-07-2002, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by ifiron

As long a striker is delivering the goods, does it matter whether it's long range goal, overhead kick or some other spectacular goals ?

It doesn't matter, of course. What's more important is that a striker scores more & scores often.

I was referring to the quote where Devilboy said the way RVN scores his goals. The way the goals are scored is nothing fantastic, though the workrate is indeed high in terms of the number of goals scored.

vamos
26-07-2002, 07:20 PM
Zalaegerzek or FC Zagreb vs Manchester United

to be played 13/14 Aug & 27/28 Aug

:bounce:

ralliart_ray
27-07-2002, 04:57 PM
:D season going to kick off....get ready for EPL action soon

ralliart_ray
27-07-2002, 07:39 PM
the news juz came in~~~

Juan Sebastian Veron could be on his way back to Lazio if Manchester United agree to a swap deal for Argentina striker Hernan Crespo.
The Rome club, where Veron enjoyed his finest years, have put together a package that would enable the two players to swap clubs, with United agreeing to forfeit the £8million they are still owed by Lazio from last season's Jaap Stam transfer.

United have not yet been contacted officially but will be sounded out in the next few days. With the Champions League looming, manager Sir Alex Ferguson is in the market for a centre forward after the sale of Dwight Yorke to Blackburn yesterday left him with just three - Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and the unproven Diego Forlan.

In common with most of Europe's top clubs, United have been contacted by Barcelona about the availability of Brazilian striker Rivaldo but have shown no interest.

Crespo has been a prolific striker in Serie A during his time with Parma and Lazio. The 27-year-old has scored 101 goals in 170 appearances in Italy and was briefly the world's most expensive player two summers ago when Lazio paid £37m for him.

He remains a potent force but with Lazio in financial trouble, they are prepared to offload him if it means the return of Veron and the cancellation of their debts on the Stam transfer.

The United boss remains reluctant to try to sell midfielder Veron and still feels that the 27-year-old may yet prove himself to be worth the £28m paid to Lazio last summer.

However, if Lazio make a formal attempt to pull this deal off then Ferguson would be presented with a clear opportunity to solve two pressing problems in one go.

United were yesterday given a comparatively easy test in the Champions League final qualifying round by being drawn against either Hungary's Zalaegerszegi or NK Zagreb of Croatia.

waLaLa
27-07-2002, 08:08 PM
the news juz came in~~~

Juan Sebastian Veron could be on his way back to Lazio if Manchester United agree to a swap deal for Argentina striker Hernan Crespo.
The Rome club, where Veron enjoyed his finest years, have put together a package that would enable the two players to swap clubs, with United agreeing to forfeit the £8million they are still owed by Lazio from last season's Jaap Stam transfer.

United have not yet been contacted officially but will be sounded out in the next few days. With the Champions League looming, manager Sir Alex Ferguson is in the market for a centre forward after the sale of Dwight Yorke to Blackburn yesterday left him with just three - Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and the unproven Diego Forlan.

In common with most of Europe's top clubs, United have been contacted by Barcelona about the availability of Brazilian striker Rivaldo but have shown no interest.

Crespo has been a prolific striker in Serie A during his time with Parma and Lazio. The 27-year-old has scored 101 goals in 170 appearances in Italy and was briefly the world's most expensive player two summers ago when Lazio paid £37m for him.

He remains a potent force but with Lazio in financial trouble, they are prepared to offload him if it means the return of Veron and the cancellation of their debts on the Stam transfer.

The United boss remains reluctant to try to sell midfielder Veron and still feels that the 27-year-old may yet prove himself to be worth the £28m paid to Lazio last summer.

However, if Lazio make a formal attempt to pull this deal off then Ferguson would be presented with a clear opportunity to solve two pressing problems in one go.

United were yesterday given a comparatively easy test in the Champions League final qualifying round by being drawn against either Hungary's Zalaegerszegi or NK Zagreb of Croatia.

great.. finally siah..

finally that Veron can get his butt off and get Man Utd another striker as well.

pyu
27-07-2002, 09:20 PM
Ah.. , but is Crespo willing to leave? :rolleyes:

Devilboy
27-07-2002, 09:41 PM
Originally posted by waLaLa

great.. finally siah..

finally that Veron can get his butt off and get Man Utd another striker as well.

Most people still think Veron is a pain in the ass for Man Utd. But having a extra striker may not give Man Utd better chance to contend for the title, Crespo may struggle to find goals in EPL. Since Veron has already been in Man Utd for a season, he should be adapted to the English League. Dun trade him away, he is crucial in Ferguson 4-4-1-1 formation. He is very hungary now, let him repay the both the club and fans.

cracker
27-07-2002, 10:04 PM
is crespo really tat gud ?

I was re-watching the Argentine-Sweden game couple of weeks ago..seem tat Veron made lots of difference when he came on in the second half..all his passes were very accurate....I think he should be retained this season..but then the overcrowding of the midfield dept might prompt Fergie to go for the exchange..

pyu
28-07-2002, 09:43 AM
If I were Fergie, I would not sell Veron. Give him a chance. And given the current state of the Italian game, don't think Veron would relish a return there.

Heck, if the Serie A authorities carry out their threat, Lazio might not even be playing professional football this coming season! :laugh:

kengbeng
28-07-2002, 03:26 PM
I will say give Veron another chance to prove himself too. :)

Devilboy
28-07-2002, 03:42 PM
I will say give Veron another chance to prove himself too. :)

Agree:)

nWo
29-07-2002, 07:33 AM
Pre-season Friendlies

Here's more good stuff to share with Utd fans:

AFC Bournemouth 2 : 3 Man Utd

AVI (5MB DivX) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/goals%201.avi)

Real Video (919kB RM) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Bournemouth.rm)

Chesterfield 0 : 5 Man Utd

AVI (5MB DivX) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/goals3.avi)

Real Video (1MB RM) (http://www.adzv19.manufree.net/United%20v%20Chesterfield.rm)

joecan
29-07-2002, 10:22 AM

great.. finally siah..

it's about time. Give him another chance?, that's what ManU did last season and see what happened. I have always thought that he was in ManU to solve his passport problem, I think ManU should stop playing nanny and ask him to solve his own problem....he has cost them enough already. He was given his first chance in the EPL last season, and then he was given another chance in the biggest stage of them all.....I think it's about time to rate him a failure>.......

mUsCuLaRboI
29-07-2002, 12:49 PM
F U C K .. now AK wants to sign Paolo Di Canio ....
haiz wats he thinking sia
is crespo not worth than this old man from italy?!?!?

nWo
29-07-2002, 01:36 PM
Paulo Di Canio is relatively cheap at the 2 million bracket (and could be funded fully by Yorke's sale).

Lazio are asking for a player swap between Veron and Crespo, plus a waiver of 10 million pounds Lazio still owed to Man Utd over the transfer of Jaap Stam. That'll translate to 28.1 million + 10 million = 38.1 million for Hernan Crespo.

I believe the Man Utd board would rather just take the money instead given the transfer market depression currently.

I would personally prefer Di Canio in the lineup as he'll make Man Utd more exciting. Plus he would have adapted to EPL after so many seasons in Sheff Wed and West Ham.

Dolphin1977
29-07-2002, 01:45 PM

it's about time. Give him another chance?, that's what ManU did last season and see what happened. I have always thought that he was in ManU to solve his passport problem, I think ManU should stop playing nanny and ask him to solve his own problem....he has cost them enough already. He was given his first chance in the EPL last season, and then he was given another chance in the biggest stage of them all.....I think it's about time to rate him a failure>.......

last season is veron first season in EPL leh...

Devilboy
29-07-2002, 10:15 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Paulo Di Canio is relatively cheap at the 2 million bracket (and could be funded fully by Yorke's sale).

Lazio are asking for a player swap between Veron and Crespo, plus a waiver of 10 million pounds Lazio still owed to Man Utd over the transfer of Jaap Stam. That'll translate to 28.1 million + 10 million = 38.1 million for Hernan Crespo.

I believe the Man Utd board would rather just take the money instead given the transfer market depression currently.

I would personally prefer Di Canio in the lineup as he'll make Man Utd more exciting. Plus he would have adapted to EPL after so many seasons in Sheff Wed and West Ham.
Strongly agreed:) Di Canio will be a very good supporting striker, he got good soccer brain but..... Van Nisterooy must be very alert as Di Canio is very fast when executing short passes. Not to say that Scholes is not good, but he should stay in the midfield, that is where he excel best. 2 seasons ago, Scholes plays like what Ljungberg plays for Arsenal, storm in from midfield and produced highlight goals.

Devilboy
29-07-2002, 10:22 PM

Rate him failure? No way man! Joecan, think this way, he is inconsistant but was never a failure. In Midfield, he was given a role where he himself got doubts fitting in, sometimes on the right, sometimes on the left and hardly plays in the center (Dominated by Roy Keane). Remember the game againist Deportivo last season? He got to stay in the center, as Roy Keane is out due to injury and Beckham got a boken foot, Veron gave 2 deft touches and lead Man Utd to Victory. He is the type of player that can turn the whole game around! For your information, he has been an centre midfield when he is playing for Argentina, Parma (Lead Parma to Uefa Cup) and Lazio (Lead Lazio to Serie A Champ) but Fergie uses him just about everywhere in the midfield! Given you that kind of task, I doubt even Zindane can perform.

mUsCuLaRboI
30-07-2002, 09:01 AM

Rate him failure? No way man! Joecan, think this way, he is inconsistant but was never a failure. In Midfield, he was given a role where he himself got doubts fitting in, sometimes on the right, sometimes on the left and hardly plays in the center (Dominated by Roy Keane). Remember the game againist Deportivo last season? He got to stay in the center, as Roy Keane is out due to injury and Beckham got a boken foot, Veron gave 2 deft touches and lead Man Utd to Victory. He is the type of player that can turn the whole game around! For your information, he has been an centre midfield when he is playing for Argentina, Parma (Lead Parma to Uefa Cup) and Lazio (Lead Lazio to Serie A Champ) but Fergie uses him just about everywhere in the midfield! Given you that kind of task, I doubt even Zindane can perform.

agree... maybe ferguson should drop scholes .. keke

joecan
30-07-2002, 10:07 AM

The game against Deportivo?, I sure remember because that is probably the only decent pass he made the whole season............In all honesty, I am not a fan of Veron and his performance in the EPL and World Cup have carved that disbelief in stone.........I might sounds extreme but at 28 million pound, he is expected to create a bigger miracle then Cantona did....I am a ManU fan and I am willing to take any sticks thrown at me if proven wrong and I hope I will be proven wrong. He might not be a failure as a player, but as a player in ManU he is the biggest of them all.......sorry, to change my view about him, you need more then the memory of 1 good pass....

.....deep down inside, by the end of the season I hope he can make me look like an idiot making the above comment......

ifiron
30-07-2002, 10:27 AM

Are you a Man U fan btw ?

verydead
30-07-2002, 11:09 AM

did u read the post above yours?
he juz said that he is ...........

joecan
30-07-2002, 01:58 PM

since 1977 and counting.....

Devilboy
30-07-2002, 09:12 PM

The game against Deportivo?, I sure remember because that is probably the only decent pass he made the whole season............In all honesty, I am not a fan of Veron and his performance in the EPL and World Cup have carved that disbelief in stone.........I might sounds extreme but at 28 million pound, he is expected to create a bigger miracle then Cantona did....I am a ManU fan and I am willing to take any sticks thrown at me if proven wrong and I hope I will be proven wrong. He might not be a failure as a player, but as a player in ManU he is the biggest of them all.......sorry, to change my view about him, you need more then the memory of 1 good pass....

.....deep down inside, by the end of the season I hope he can make me look like an idiot making the above comment......

Well....I guess his performance in the new season will change your point of views! I still believe in him just like I still believe Argentina is the best soccer nation even their early exit in the WC2002. Actually, the game againist Deportivo is only one of his best game. It is sometimes unfair to judge a player abilities for just one season, for example, if you are a gifted attacking midfield and has been playing that particular position for the past 10 years, suddenly ask you to become just an average midfield role with no specific task, you will look lost! That is what has happen to Veron. Cantona? He came in and took up the position because there is lack of one then! He is sucessful because everyone follows his suit.

Devilboy
30-07-2002, 09:28 PM
Veron is man enough to admitted his inconsistency, Look forward to a New Season guys! He will prove worthy!

Veron: Last season was a 'catastrophe'

Manchester United midfielder Juan Sebastian Veron has admitted his first season at Old Trafford was a 'catastrophe'.

Veron: Annus horribilis
(AlexLivesey/Allsport)
United manager Sir Alex Ferguson paid Lazio £28.1million for Veron.

But the Argentinian's arrival could not prevent United ending the season without a trophy.

And in the summer Argentina failed to live up to their billing as World Cup favourites, making a shock exit and adding to Veron's woe.

'Both things happened one after the other - and that makes last season a catastrophe,' Veron told The Sun.

'I would like a bit more consistency. I want to start the way I played for the first 10 games of last season - then keep going for the whole year.'

Veron is convinced United will be stronger this season following the £30million arrival of defender Rio Ferdinand from Leeds.

'Rio has class and ability beyond his years. Football seems to be a stroll for him,' he said.

mUsCuLaRboI
31-07-2002, 08:37 AM
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/cgi/NewsNow/NewsLink.htm?Theme=Manchester+United&NLID=20000921221543:13162

share wif u guys

joecan
31-07-2002, 10:33 AM

Well....I guess his performance in the new season will change your point of views! I still believe in him just like I still believe Argentina is the best soccer nation even their early exit in the WC2002. Actually, the game againist Deportivo is only one of his best game. It is sometimes unfair to judge a player abilities for just one season, for example, if you are a gifted attacking midfield and has been playing that particular position for the past 10 years, suddenly ask you to become just an average midfield role with no specific task, you will look lost! That is what has happen to Veron. Cantona? He came in and took up the position because there is lack of one then! He is sucessful because everyone follows his suit.

The same was told to me before the WC. In fact I made a comment in one of the thread, when somebody told me he "will" be the star of WC, I replied along the line that "what if WC cannot perform, another EPL season"? I guess you are suggesting that now.

As for Cantona, what is it that made people follow his suit (I interpret that you are saying why people are following his leadership/style of play?), that's because that's what he is ...a leader. I remember in the year when ManU won their first double, he was the sole provider of some of the most needed 1-0 victories, now that is what I call turning the season around.

Veron, whether he is playing in position or not, did not demonstrate that ability.

People had suggested that he was saving himself for the WC, so right now, the WC has come and gone, and if there is anyone who want to suggest anything that he is saving himself for, be heard now, because the season of reckoning for him is just around the corner.

Again, deep down inside me, I "will" be most happy to look like an idiot by the end of May 2003

nWo
31-07-2002, 05:36 PM
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=19730&itype=466

Manchester United's squad numbers were released today - with the number nine shirt still vacant.

Despite rumours in the national press of showdown talks over the players' future, Phil Neville is handed the number 3 jersey. The most noticeable addition is Rio Ferdinand, who will wear number 6, as Laurent Blanc takes up his preferred shirt, the number 5 vacated by Ronny Johnson.

United fans have been able to pre-order the new kit online and sales suggest Beckham, van Nistelrooy, Keane and Giggs are the most popular personalised shirts, although new signing Rio Ferdinand could yet challenge the big four.

Promising youngsters Michael Stewart, Bojan Djordjic and Kirk Hilton, who returns from a loan spell at Royal Antwerp, are promoted to more prestigious shirt numbers, 17, 23 and 28 respectively.

The squad numbers are announced in time for the launch of United's new Nike kit on Thursday.

waLaLa
31-07-2002, 06:43 PM
whoa.. Fergie's ready to bid for the impressive Duff..

http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0731/20020731mufcduffbrfc.html

Devilboy
31-07-2002, 08:12 PM

Looks like Fergie is going for the kill! EPL trophy, here we come!

Dolphin1977
31-07-2002, 08:24 PM

Duff who? gd enough for MU meh?
with Lazio owning MU over 10 million pounds, rather than paying that kind of $$$ for Duff...

MU could jus topup another 20million to get Crespo...

Hamstar
31-07-2002, 08:26 PM

Duff who? gd enough for MU meh?
with Lazio owning MU over 10 million pounds, rather than paying that kind of $$$ for Duff...

MU could jus topup another 20million to get Crespo...

Mau U dun need Duff ... they have Giggs :)

Spock
01-08-2002, 01:56 AM
Originally posted by Hamstah

Mau U dun need Duff ... they have Giggs :)

They do have Giggs.But when he's injured, they do have any good dribblers, except...luke chadwick.Duff was quite impressive during the world cup.Hes willing to take on defenders and scored quite a few goals for blackburn last season.His work rate is also superb.

Anyway who better than to snatch it from Liverpool?hehe.:D

Shingoz
01-08-2002, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by Spock

They do have Giggs.But when he's injured, they do have any good dribblers, except...luke chadwick.Duff was quite impressive during the world cup.Hes willing to take on defenders and scored quite a few goals for blackburn last season.His work rate is also superb.

Anyway who better than to snatch it from Liverpool?hehe.:D hmmm yeah buy duff...i DONT WANT to see the stupid fortune play when gigg's injured ~

mUsCuLaRboI
01-08-2002, 10:06 AM
Originally posted by nWo

Manchester United's squad numbers were released today - with the number nine shirt still vacant.

Despite rumours in the national press of showdown talks over the players' future, Phil Neville is handed the number 3 jersey. The most noticeable addition is Rio Ferdinand, who will wear number 6, as Laurent Blanc takes up his preferred shirt, the number 5 vacated by Ronny Johnson.

United fans have been able to pre-order the new kit online and sales suggest Beckham, van Nistelrooy, Keane and Giggs are the most popular personalised shirts, although new signing Rio Ferdinand could yet challenge the big four.

Promising youngsters Michael Stewart, Bojan Djordjic and Kirk Hilton, who returns from a loan spell at Royal Antwerp, are promoted to more prestigious shirt numbers, 17, 23 and 28 respectively.

The squad numbers are announced in time for the launch of United's new Nike kit on Thursday.

Phil gets no.3 .. then silvestre leh .. haiyo poor he.. lol

verydead
01-08-2002, 10:15 AM
hmmm yeah buy duff...i DONT WANT to see the stupid fortune play when gigg's injured ~

but will duff wan to sit on the bench while waiting for giggs to get injured?

mUsCuLaRboI
01-08-2002, 10:19 AM

but will duff wan to sit on the bench while waiting for giggs to get injured?

ya lor .. spend 20 million for a player and put him on the bench? lol...

dredd
01-08-2002, 11:37 AM
hmmm yeah buy duff...i DONT WANT to see the stupid fortune play when gigg's injured ~

sometimes i wonder y is Fortune still in Man Utd...hmmm.....

Shingoz
01-08-2002, 07:47 PM

but will duff wan to sit on the bench while waiting for giggs to get injured? he usually dont have to wait for long. :D
i think giggs only play like 50% every season ~
just take it as they're rotating lor :D
1/2 each

verydead
01-08-2002, 07:59 PM
he usually dont have to wait for long. :D
i think giggs only play like 50% every season ~
just take it as they're rotating lor :D
1/2 each

but it wld still play in his mind that he is not 1st choice..........he is juz a standby..........
furthermore, no gd team mate shld hope for a fellow player to get an injury...............

Devilboy
01-08-2002, 11:51 PM
Originally posted by nWo

Looks like Fergie has reserved number 9 for Duff......:D

Devilboy
01-08-2002, 11:57 PM
Originally posted by mUsCuLaRboI

ya lor .. spend 20 million for a player and put him on the bench? lol...

Duff is a attacking midfield/striker. Very flexible and useful. He can partner RVN in attack. If Man Utd really purchase Duff, maybe Forlan and Solksjear are back to their usual position, subs. Scholes maybe used as a sub too, recent performance from Veron in the friendlies has been good and should be the starting line up with Giggs, Becks and Keane.

joecan
02-08-2002, 09:30 AM

Duff is a attacking midfield/striker. Very flexible and useful. He can partner RVN in attack. If Man Utd really purchase Duff, maybe Forlan and Solksjear are back to their usual position, subs. Scholes maybe used as a sub too, recent performance from Veron in the friendlies has been good and should be the starting line up with Giggs, Becks and Keane.

I hope you are wrong..........I prefer scholes over Veron, even Butt is still ok, at least he will fight for the ball

mUsCuLaRboI
02-08-2002, 09:38 AM

like tat their sub bench will only have 1 defender ... wow..

Dolphin1977
02-08-2002, 11:25 AM
Originally posted by mUsCuLaRboI

like tat their sub bench will only have 1 defender ... wow..

wat toking u?
G.Neville Rio Blanc Silvester
Brown, Shea, Philip

more than enough....

Shingoz
02-08-2002, 03:57 PM

wat toking u?
G.Neville Rio Blanc Silvester
Brown, Shea, Philip

more than enough....
i think he's talking about choosing who for substitute bench?
btw 1 def in the sub bench is ok mah. no?

nWo
02-08-2002, 05:50 PM
Manchester United Squad Numbers for Season 2002/03

1 Fabien Barthez
2 Gary Neville
3 Phil Neville
4 Juan Veron
5 Laurent Blanc
6 Rio Ferdinand
7 David Beckham
8 Nicky Butt
9 -
10 Ruud van Nistelrooy
11 Ryan Giggs
12 -
13 Roy Carroll
14 David May
15 Luke Chadwick
16 Roy Keane
17 Michael Stewart
18 Paul Scholes
19 -
20 Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
21 Diego Forlan
22 John O'Shea
23 Bojan Djordjic
24 Wes Brown
25 Quinton Fortune
26 -
27 Mikael Silvestre
28 Kirk Hilton
29 -
30 Ben Williams
31 Darren Fletcher
32 -
33 -
34 Lee Roche
35 -
36 Jimmy Davis
37 Danny Webber
38 Mark Lynch
39 Paul Tierney
40 Daniel Nardiello
41 Alan Tate
42 Kieran Richardson

Devilboy
02-08-2002, 11:03 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Manchester United Squad Numbers for Season 2002/03

1 Fabien Barthez
2 Gary Neville
3 Phil Neville
4 Juan Veron
5 Laurent Blanc
6 Rio Ferdinand
7 David Beckham
8 Nicky Butt
9 -
10 Ruud van Nistelrooy
11 Ryan Giggs
12 -
13 Roy Carroll
14 David May
15 Luke Chadwick
16 Roy Keane
17 Michael Stewart
18 Paul Scholes
19 -
20 Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
21 Diego Forlan
22 John O'Shea
23 Bojan Djordjic
24 Wes Brown
25 Quinton Fortune
26 -
27 Mikael Silvestre
28 Kirk Hilton
29 -
30 Ben Williams
31 Darren Fletcher
32 -
33 -
34 Lee Roche
35 -
36 Jimmy Davis
37 Danny Webber
38 Mark Lynch
39 Paul Tierney
40 Daniel Nardiello
41 Alan Tate
42 Kieran Richardson

I can see that fortune is one smart bloke! Sits there, gets on a few games occasionally and still gets a medal! Better than being in teams that seems will take forever to even grab a league cup.

Kiwi8
02-08-2002, 11:14 PM

I can see that fortune is one smart bloke! Sits there, gets on a few games occasionally and still gets a medal! Better than being in teams that seems will take forever to even grab a league cup.

He still needs to play a minimum number of games before he can qualify to collect a medal lah..... :rolleyes:

mUsCuLaRboI
02-08-2002, 11:55 PM

i think he's talking about choosing who for substitute bench?
btw 1 def in the sub bench is ok mah. no?

yup yup .. i saying choosing for subsitute.. keke
well.. for me 2 def, 2 mid/att and 1 GK is the best..

cracker
03-08-2002, 09:58 AM
did any1 watch the friendly game with AJax tis molin ?

as usual,,man utd always seem lethagic in all these pre-season friendlies...IMHO,,they were outclassed by the home team...only Ferdinand, Keane seemed to be "interested" in the game...I gave up after Ajax scored the second goal,,hence missed Paul Scholes' goal.

hope they will get back to full fitness when they start the champion league qualifier !!

btw,,the jersey do looks better with the black stripe..

EdwinTeoh
03-08-2002, 10:36 AM
Yes, I did and as usual they played the way they played most of last season - lethargic, unimaginative up front, and sometimes seemed complacent.

Only Rio and Keane seemed to be interested and Butt was there as usual, slugging it out in midfield. Veron only had one super pass - bugger has rubber legs man.

And I still think RVN is too slow and hangs on to the ball too long.

That 18 year old van der Vaart guy impressed me. Sikora too.

Just hope they play better against Parma.

kengbeng
03-08-2002, 11:06 AM
Originally posted by EdwinTeoh

That 18 year old van der Vaart guy impressed me. Sikora too.

Just hope they play better against Parma.
Yeah, the Van der Vaart guy is promising. I remember getting him in my CM game.

pyu
03-08-2002, 07:05 PM
Van der Vaart is Ajax's captain right?

You guys got it right, he's a damn great young player. :D

Devilboy
03-08-2002, 11:01 PM
Its a great start for Man Utd! Ajax is a team of speedsters, fast in attack and recovery to defence, Man Utd seems abit out of sort.

kh
04-08-2002, 10:22 AM
how did barthez fare in the ajax match ?

cracker
04-08-2002, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by kh
how did barthez fare in the ajax match ?

only watched till Ajax scored the second goals,,,seemed like picking the ball from the net was only the serious thing he had to do.

ralliart_ray
05-08-2002, 03:13 PM
yipEee...i tink tml i getting the new manU jersey

Devilboy
05-08-2002, 09:52 PM
The match between Man Utd and Parma shows that Man Utd really need a fourth striker! And hopefully the directors at Man Utd will bring Crespo in http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0804/20020804mufccrespo.html
Although Veron produced a five star performance, not only did he score the deft lob over Frey, his through passes give the Parma defence on hell of a headache. The Man Utd strike force looks pretty bad! Please, please & please bring Crespo in!

Devilboy
05-08-2002, 09:57 PM
Judging the play of Roy Carrol during the match againist Parma, I think he is a star in making and most problably will be in the England Squad soon. I afraid Barthez may have to be benched more often.

kengbeng
05-08-2002, 11:57 PM
Judging the play of Roy Carrol during the match againist Parma, I think he is a star in making and most problably will be in the England Squad soon. I afraid Barthez may have to be benched more often.
Roy Caroll is a Northern Ireland International already.

Devilboy
06-08-2002, 12:09 AM

Roy Caroll is a Northern Ireland International already.

Opps.....mistaken....=p

kh
06-08-2002, 06:10 AM
Haha veron might not be perfoming what he was like against parma when the season starts. The always-known-to-be-strong strikeforce of Man U is now so weaked!

The match between Man Utd and Parma shows that Man Utd really need a fourth striker! And hopefully the directors at Man Utd will bring Crespo in http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0804/20020804mufccrespo.html
Although Veron produced a five star performance, not only did he score the deft lob over Frey, his through passes give the Parma defence on hell of a headache. The Man Utd strike force looks pretty bad! Please, please & please bring Crespo in!

Dolphin1977
06-08-2002, 01:09 PM

Northern Ireland leh..

Devilboy
06-08-2002, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by kh
Haha veron might not be perfoming what he was like against parma when the season starts. The always-known-to-be-strong strikeforce of Man U is now so weaked!

I personally think Forlan is a quality player! He got excellent pace and ball control and good passes. But he just haven't found the first goal in an important match that will give him the confident. It is just like a baby learning to walk, the first step is always the most important one. Hopefully he found his goal soon, best if he can do it againist Barca.

Kiwi8
06-08-2002, 08:02 PM

I personally think Forlan is a quality player! He got excellent pace and ball control and good passes. But he just haven't found the first goal in an important match that will give him the confident. It is just like a baby learning to walk, the first step is always the most important one. Hopefully he found his goal soon, best if he can do it againist Barca.

I feel that this baby may never learn to walk properly. :rolleyes:

Devilboy
06-08-2002, 08:05 PM

I feel that this baby may never learn to walk properly. :rolleyes:

Hard to say! Andy Cole was also suffering a long period of goal drought and people even label him as "Anti-Goals", but Coles' hardwork and patience pays off eventually. Hopefully Forlan will be able to produce that kind of results.

Kiwi8
06-08-2002, 08:11 PM

Hard to say! Andy Cole was also suffering a long period of goal drought and people even label him as "Anti-Goals", but Coles' hardwork and patience pays off eventually. Hopefully Forlan will be able to produce that kind of results.

For Diego Forlan to be as good as Andy Cole, he has to have his sense of Andy Cole taikoness with him, to enable him to score goals with ease.:rolleyes:

Shingoz
06-08-2002, 08:48 PM

Northern Ireland leh..
and i think he's already a star in his national side liao. :D

Devilboy
06-08-2002, 10:22 PM

For Diego Forlan to be as good as Andy Cole, he has to have his sense of Andy Cole taikoness with him, to enable him to score goals with ease.:rolleyes:

Looks like he have to perform or else, he may have to be bench and Man Utd will be on course for the 4th striker and hopefully Crespo.

kh
07-08-2002, 05:33 AM
forlan most likely will be benched unless an injury strikes van Nistelrooy. Think that van Nistelrooy will start of with Solskjaer or as a lones triker. Unless the mysterious fourth striker makes his way to MUFC.

Tazzy1972
07-08-2002, 01:57 PM
think Fergie will start RVN with Ole up front :D

Scholes will miss the 1st few matches and he said that Butt would be playing more... and also he supports Veron...wonder what team he will put out.... :D

Shingoz
07-08-2002, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Tazzy1972
think Fergie will start RVN with Ole up front :D

Scholes will miss the 1st few matches and he said that Butt would be playing more... and also he supports Veron...wonder what team he will put out.... :D
i heard he's injured.(scholes)
anyway looking at the situation now, anyone from midfield suffer any injury fergie will not have to worry ~ :D
he needs a large squad for his euro competitions too.

Devilboy
07-08-2002, 09:57 PM
United talks over Escude and Sorin
By Ian McGarry and Alan Nixon

Manchester United are in talks to sign two left-sided players and could seal deals for Frenchman Julien Escude and Argentina's Juan Pablo Sorin this week.

Escude: United meeting
(Photo/Empics)
Officials from Old Trafford and Rennes will meet on Sunday to discuss Escude's transfer, while Sorin has been offered to United to wipe out an £8million debt.

Lazio still owe United half of the £16m fee they agreed to pay for Jaap Stam last year. Sorin can play as a left wing back or on the left of midfield and it is possible that he will be signed despite Sir Alex Ferguson's desire to recruit Escude.

At the moment, Rennes are demanding £5m for the 22-year-old while United are willing to pay £3m.

Rennes spokesman Jerome Poupard said today: 'We have not received any offer from Manchester United for Julien but they have asked to meet us on Sunday.'

It is understood that a compromise will be suggested by the French club at Friday's meeting which would see the talented left back remain at Rennes for another season and join United next summer.

In that case, a deal for Sorin would be convenient for United as they strive to fill the gaps in defence left by the departures of Denis Irwin, Ronny Johnsen and Ronnie Wallwork. Lazio are currently on a pre-season tour of England and are due to meet Blackburn on Friday.

As a plc United would be quizzed by their shareholders if they do not claw back the Stam cash and talks were going on in Manchester yesterday with one of the top transfer brokers. Agents working for Lazio have offered Sorin to Leeds United but cash restrictions at Elland Road may have put paid to any deal.

Shingoz
08-08-2002, 01:19 AM
err why do we need so much left sided players?

kh
08-08-2002, 07:33 PM
why do we need these 2 players ??

Devilboy
08-08-2002, 08:54 PM
err why do we need so much left sided players?

Maybe to prepare for the worst, when Giggs is injured (!!!Touch wood!!!=p ). Most of us know that Giggs contribute very much to the sucess of Man United, when Giggs is injured, the Man Utd attacking force is greatly reduced, at least by 30%. Buying these two players is like insurance.

Shingoz
08-08-2002, 10:40 PM

Maybe to prepare for the worst, when Giggs is injured (!!!Touch wood!!!=p ). Most of us know that Giggs contribute very much to the sucess of Man United, when Giggs is injured, the Man Utd attacking force is greatly reduced, at least by 30%. Buying these two players is like insurance.
i dun mind him buying them if his intention's to kick fortune away! :D

kh
09-08-2002, 07:39 AM
haha doest that means that the two left sided players will not be in use unless giggs is out ?

Devilboy
09-08-2002, 03:18 PM

i dun mind him buying them if his intention's to kick fortune away! :D

Agree! But I think Fortune would stick his butt with Man Utd.

Devilboy
09-08-2002, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by kh
haha doest that means that the two left sided players will not be in use unless giggs is out ?

Any player who wants to play for Man Utd must learn how to keep the bench warm first! Fergie rotating system is also one of the main reason some player does not want to play for Man Utd!

kh
09-08-2002, 06:54 PM
but not only fergie plays the rotation system..
Fortune won't get much of a chance to play, considering now that Butt has been promoted.

Shingoz
10-08-2002, 12:32 AM
Originally posted by kh
but not only fergie plays the rotation system..
Fortune won't get much of a chance to play, considering now that Butt has been promoted.

Err what has butt's position got to do with fortune?
At least not very directly ah....
Butt's direct competition's from verson and scholes while Fortune's Giggs....(might take into consideration Fergie to prefer scholes on the left than Fortune)

kh
10-08-2002, 01:11 PM
oh ya .. i forgot that butt's promotion doesnt really affect the left hand side.

Btw, is blomqvist still in Man U or if not, where's he ?

tranze
10-08-2002, 01:44 PM
might be on his way to Boro

Shingoz
10-08-2002, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by kh
oh ya .. i forgot that butt's promotion doesnt really affect the left hand side.

Btw, is blomqvist still in Man U or if not, where's he ?
Blomqvist :rolleyes:
He's already playing in everton for a season now isnt he?

kengbeng
10-08-2002, 06:00 PM
Blomqvist was at Everton on a short term contract till the end of last season. After that, he was released and was on trial at Boro, looking for a deal to play for them.

Last news heard of him is here...
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/middlesbrough/2161280.stm

Pity the guy, he had very bad luck with injuries.

Shingoz
10-08-2002, 06:05 PM
Blomqvist was at Everton on a short term contract till the end of last season. After that, he was released and was on trial at Boro, looking for a deal to play for them.

Last news heard of him is here...
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/middlesbrough/2161280.stm

Pity the guy, he had very bad luck with injuries.
Oh? Hmm i thought he was released free to Everton back then.
Anyway he used to be a promising player.....well from what i see now he isnt exactly outstanding.....maybe the because of the injuries ?

Devilboy
10-08-2002, 08:19 PM
Man Utd has change into a more defensive play, and that may not be a good sign for fans.

cracker
10-08-2002, 10:10 PM
so guess most of us will be watching man utd and borca junior game,,,last chance for fergie to experiment b4 wed champion league qualifier .

Kiwi8
11-08-2002, 01:11 AM
Man Utd has change into a more defensive play, and that may not be a good sign for fans.

What cost Man U last season is a poor defence, so it would be good to plug this loophole....

waLaLa
11-08-2002, 02:36 AM
bad news for our 30m Ferdinand..

Making his Old Trafford debut against Argentina's Boca Juniors, Ferdinand sprained his ankle after falling awkwardly under pressure from Marcelo Delgado as the pair leapt to avoid the onrushing Roy Carroll after 25 minutes of an anything but friendly clash.

Ferguson walked anxiously down to the touchline as the stretcher was called for, but although Ferdinand managed to get to his feet he could not continue on the damaged left ankle and hobbled unhappily down the tunnel.

'It doesn't look as though he will make the game in Hungary but we will try everything we can to get him right for next Saturday,' said Ferguson.

'He was trying to hurdle Roy Carroll but landed straight on the Boca player's foot, then went over on his ankle.'

http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2002/0810/20020810mufcferdinand.html :(

cracker
11-08-2002, 09:51 AM
Seem like Rio's departure from the game didnt affect MU much,John O Shea was an excellant cover.,not sure wat the impact will be if they faced a tougher team. The good news in the game was Veron's contributions and passings...most of them were pin point...

Devilboy
11-08-2002, 12:04 PM
I don't think Ferdinand injury departure has much impact on Man Utd squad. Yes. He is great in the air but O'Shea, Brown didd effeciently well to kill off aerial threat. If anyone notice, Blanc did exceptionally well last night. Making excellent tackles and intercepting passes. I think We will still be fine in defence but hopefully Ferdinand recover soon.

Devilboy
11-08-2002, 12:07 PM
Veron well remarkable last night! His display what he is famous for, trick passes. Hope he found his confident again and blast those critics off during the Season.

Kiwi8
11-08-2002, 12:29 PM
Veron well remarkable last night! His display what he is famous for, trick passes. Hope he found his confident again and blast those critics off during the Season.

His performances are quite inconsistent..... hope to him being more consistent this coming season.......

Dolphin1977
11-08-2002, 01:05 PM

His performances are quite inconsistent..... hope to him being more consistent this coming season.......

he's a most exciting player to watch in the team, his passes, his dribble and shooting....
5 star performance last night.....

kengbeng
11-08-2002, 03:18 PM
Signs of better things to come from Veron.

O'Shea is promising, hope he gets more chances to establish himself, especially since the current Man Utd system gives little chance for young players to play themselves into the first team.

Tazzy1972
11-08-2002, 03:31 PM
think that O'shea would prove to be potentially one of the bets defenders alongside Ferdinand.... wonder where that puts Brown, who I rate highly though.... rightback as cover to Gazza?? :D

Blanc is too old and slow to last the entire season.... maybe useful at the start to teach the younger defenders round him :D

Devilboy
11-08-2002, 05:51 PM

he's a most exciting player to watch in the team, his passes, his dribble and shooting....
5 star performance last night.....

In fact, he highlighted the whole match. Whenever he gets the ball, there is bound to be some tricks out from his sleeves. Brillant=p In fact, thats the way Roy Keane should play, stay back, fight for the ball and send it to Veron for distribution.

Devilboy
11-08-2002, 05:53 PM
Originally posted by Tazzy1972
think that O'shea would prove to be potentially one of the bets defenders alongside Ferdinand.... wonder where that puts Brown, who I rate highly though.... rightback as cover to Gazza?? :D

Blanc is too old and slow to last the entire season.... maybe useful at the start to teach the younger defenders round him :D

I think O'shea and Brown are 2 very fine defenders, they both got the height, size and speed to counter opposition attacks.;) They will only get better! Good for Man Utd!

Devilboy
11-08-2002, 05:57 PM
Anyone of you think that Man Utd strike force is over rely on RVN? Solksjear is good but only best when used as a Sub Forlan is still lost in the dark, last night he looks more like a Midfield than Striker.

EdwinTeoh
12-08-2002, 12:49 AM
Anyone of you think that Man Utd strike force is over rely on RVN? Solksjear is good but only best when used as a Sub Forlan is still lost in the dark, last night he looks more like a Midfield than Striker.

I think so too. Depending on RVN too much.

Also, I think RVN is too slow. :( He gets clamped down so fast by the defenders.

Arsenal and Liverpool have such pacy attack that they make Man Utd's attack look like damn turtle. :mad:

Shingoz
12-08-2002, 12:53 AM
Hmm i missed the match but glad to see that Veron played well. :D
That's one of the best thing that can happen now. :D
Yes Oshea's promising..and he's got the height of a central defender too. :D
Wes Brown hmmmm no idea too. :D

Dolphin1977
12-08-2002, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by EdwinTeoh

I think so too. Depending on RVN too much.

Also, I think RVN is too slow. :( He gets clamped down so fast by the defenders.

Arsenal and Liverpool have such pacy attack that they make Man Utd's attack look like damn turtle. :mad:

precisely....but cant do anything abt it..

last season manu spend 28.1 + 19 - 16 = 31.1 million
this season till now they spent 30-33.1 million...
may next season, they will add another 30 million world class striker?..

if MU continue to spend this way, it could easily become another real madrid...woww.......1 world class player every season....

wat to do? we are the richest club in the world.. :D

cheers

Devilboy
12-08-2002, 06:22 PM

precisely....but cant do anything abt it..

last season manu spend 28.1 + 19 - 16 = 31.1 million
this season till now they spent 30-33.1 million...
may next season, they will add another 30 million world class striker?..

if MU continue to spend this way, it could easily become another real madrid...woww.......1 world class player every season....

wat to do? we are the richest club in the world.. :D

cheers

I dun think this is a feasible choice. Dun wanna see Man Utd end up like Lazio.... Better get from youth squad.

Kiwi8
12-08-2002, 06:26 PM

I dun think this is a feasible choice. Dun wanna see Man Utd end up like Lazio.... Better get from youth squad.

Yah lor....... something's bound to give in the event that much money was spent & there is no returns in terms of trophies won & such...... :rolleyes:

ShINodAraPPer87
13-08-2002, 07:09 PM
No way man.... They haf good prospects...
Got kieran richardson and many more... how eva i feel that they shldnt haf let Alex notman out the season b4 last

Devilboy
13-08-2002, 08:17 PM
At current situation, RVN may be forced to play as a lone striker with Veron and Scholes supporting him! While Giggs and Beckham providing the flank! I still dun think Butt gonna be the starting eleven.
Possible strategy is 4 5 1, Man Utd cannot afford to play 4 4 2, due to the fact that they only have 3 strikers.

Shingoz
14-08-2002, 04:10 PM
At current situation, RVN may be forced to play as a lone striker with Veron and Scholes supporting him! While Giggs and Beckham providing the flank! I still dun think Butt gonna be the starting eleven.
Possible strategy is 4 5 1, Man Utd cannot afford to play 4 4 2, due to the fact that they only have 3 strikers. Hmm you read the article on Butt promised to be a regular this season?

ShINodAraPPer87
14-08-2002, 04:29 PM
I'm very sure butt will start due to his good recent form... He is very promising....

ShINodAraPPer87
14-08-2002, 04:31 PM
I haf a feeling Man u will play sumthing like
4-3-1-2

Shingoz
14-08-2002, 05:08 PM
Think he better stick with 4-4-2 :)

Devilboy
15-08-2002, 12:42 AM
Think he better stick with 4-4-2 :)

I think with every player's hunger now, 4-5-1 should be good for Man Utd. Hopefully Veron gets his position and not Butt, not to say that Butt is a bad player but his capabilities is based on his defensive skills, by playing 2 defensive mid, there will be very limited options in attack. Given a choice, I hope Fergie stick to Veron after his recent display of skills and form in the friendlies.

Shingoz
15-08-2002, 05:38 AM
Damn..what a stupid match......
Man Utd's attack was like crippled....
Their defense isnt that bad...but still lost in the end. -_-!

pyu
15-08-2002, 10:10 AM
Must be a shock to loyal fans.

ifiron
15-08-2002, 10:43 AM
Oh man !!!! 0-1

mUsCuLaRboI
15-08-2002, 12:19 PM
where are their hunger!!!
i remember i read something about beckham saying they are hungerier than ever..
wat rubbish .... look how they play yesterday
OMG...
disappointed....

tranze
15-08-2002, 12:48 PM
sigh..............
sadness man
i thot after beating boca 2-1 got chanz liao

Spock
15-08-2002, 01:46 PM
Beckham and keane showed a lot of hunger.Screaming about decisions going against them and running around the field..

Its just that they missed a lot of chances.The goal scored was also phil neville's fault(again).It was the only chance for the home team in the second half.:mad:

kh
15-08-2002, 05:54 PM
relax !! relax !! there's still another leg and I believe man u will cruise through the second leg, especially if its played at Old Trafford!

kengbeng
15-08-2002, 06:22 PM
Let's cross our fingers and hope they improve greatly from last night's result.

Kiwi8
15-08-2002, 06:28 PM
Manchester United 2 Zalaegerszeg 1

Zalaegerszeg qualifies on away goals rule.

Shingoz
15-08-2002, 06:54 PM
Originally posted by kh
relax !! relax !! there's still another leg and I believe man u will cruise through the second leg, especially if its played at Old Trafford!
Hmm losing away 1-0 with no away goal dont sounds so good.
I rather the players start to worry rather than "relax relax".

kh
15-08-2002, 07:12 PM
we relax they relapse hahaha..
i tink neville is more of a liability nowadays. I think he flunked in one of England's matches also. But now its really hard for Man U to come back with so many players out..Ferdinand,Brown,Barthez,Gary Neville...

Devilboy
15-08-2002, 08:24 PM
Originally posted by pyu
Must be a shock to loyal fans.

Disappointed!:( I believe Keane's public outburst in his book has brought alot of disharmoney in the squad. Sometimes, why dun he just keep his mouth shut, he seems like creating more tension between him and the players rather than pushing them forward. I somehow got a feeling that he just want limelight after he has been axed from the Ireland squad, he got a new hunger, not for the club prospect but for his popularity and celebrity status.....:mad:

Devilboy
15-08-2002, 08:28 PM
This is the first time I saw the entire Man Utd midfield collaspe! Becks isn't like he used to be, Keane seems like a madman on pitch, Giggs runs seems to come to an end and Veron is a lone ranger trying to figure out how to break down the defence alone, one of the worst play. Though they lost, the only thing good was the defence, stopping every Zala's attempt for 89min.

Devilboy
15-08-2002, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by kh

They need to wake up and not relax, nowadays, Old Trafford is no longer the unbeatable stronghold of Man Utd that used to be, every team with the right players and mindset will snatch a victory. Perhaps Old Trafford is really too old to defend the eager minds of sucess from the rivals.

kh
16-08-2002, 03:44 PM
i think ferguson will do something about it. I kinda agree that Keane's book have increased tension between him and his teammates.

pyu
17-08-2002, 05:43 AM
I think Fergie must do something to discipline Keane - he can't simply let him get away with all these antics.

Let this be a warning to all footie players - write your memoirs and biographies after your career!

windowsXP
17-08-2002, 09:22 AM
Originally posted by tranze
sigh..............
sadness man
i thot after beating boca 2-1 got chanz liao

they beat boca 2-0

windowsXP
17-08-2002, 09:25 AM
Originally posted by pyu
I think Fergie must do something to discipline Keane - he can't simply let him get away with all these antics.

Let this be a warning to all footie players - write your memoirs and biographies after your career!

the only way for Fergie to discipline keane is only when keane empties his drinks cabinet =p =p

vamos
17-08-2002, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by windowsXP

the only way for Fergie to discipline keane is only when keane empties his drinks cabinet =p =p

Does Keane have a drinking problem???

verydead
17-08-2002, 10:36 AM
Originally posted by pyu

but AF favors and protects keane.............
plus, mu cant really cope without the bad boy..............

Devilboy
17-08-2002, 08:09 PM

but AF favors and protects keane.............
plus, mu cant really cope without the bad boy..............

I support keane (as a captain) all the time, but recently, he has began to stamp his authority all over everybody. The way he does things is reckless and thinks that he is the Big Boss in Old Trafford! Thats not the way! Now that everyone has begin to dislike him, how can Man Utd gel as a team? End up blaming Veron again?

kengbeng
17-08-2002, 08:43 PM
I sense more drama to come. Like last season.

Devilboy
19-08-2002, 12:07 AM
Although Man Utd win the match againist WBA but their performance was below par! Anyway, thumbs up for Solksjear scoring his 100th Man Utd goal!

joecan
19-08-2002, 02:51 PM
Although Man Utd win the match againist WBA but their performance was below par! Anyway, thumbs up for Solksjear scoring his 100th Man Utd goal!

And one thing positive about Sir Alex, he made his substitution at around 70th minute. Given last season, he would have made the subs no earlier then 80th minute, so I can only say that he want it real bad this time.

kengbeng
19-08-2002, 05:28 PM

And one thing positive about Sir Alex, he made his substitution at around 70th minute. Given last season, he would have made the subs no earlier then 80th minute, so I can only say that he want it real bad this time.

And he left only 2 real defenders (Blanc and O'Shea) in the closing stages of the match, throwing on all the attacking players!

Shingoz
19-08-2002, 05:38 PM

And he left only 2 real defenders (Blanc and O'Shea) in the closing stages of the match, throwing on all the attacking players!
That is because wba has no intention on attacking....

Devilboy
19-08-2002, 11:03 PM

The pity is that the player (Veron) who play best was subsituted. Man Utd strike force fail to convert their chances early in the first half, should have been a 2 goals up by first half.

Devilboy
19-08-2002, 11:05 PM
Sometimes we can't blame Forlan for not scoring, when he was sub in, Man Utd was starting to control the midfield and slow down the attack, Forlan looks very lost. No balls going to him and no where to run!:(

joecan
20-08-2002, 11:41 AM

The pity is that the player (Veron) who play best was subsituted. Man Utd strike force fail to convert their chances early in the first half, should have been a 2 goals up by first half.

Veron played best? The record books will show that ManU scored after he left the field....he might be good, but I think it is proven once more that he is the extra man in midfield that ManU doesn't need....

Devilboy
20-08-2002, 08:47 PM

Veron played best? The record books will show that ManU scored after he left the field....he might be good, but I think it is proven once more that he is the extra man in midfield that ManU doesn't need....

But records also shows that the one (Scholes) who set up and the one (Solksjear) who score is isn't anyone from the starting 11 either! Does it means that the remaining 9 are also extra man from the Man Utd squad???:confused:

joecan
21-08-2002, 09:23 AM

But records also shows that the one (Scholes) who set up and the one (Solksjear) who score is isn't anyone from the starting 11 either! Does it means that the remaining 9 are also extra man from the Man Utd squad???:confused:

No it does not, but what is does mean is that ManU with Veron is not as good a combination as ManU without Veron......there should not be any confusion about this.....

joecan
21-08-2002, 09:26 AM

No it does not, but what is does mean is that ManU with Veron is not as good a combination as ManU without Veron..........the same happened last season and it happened again last Saturday, so there should not be any confusion over this.....but if you are a Veron fan, don't worry, he will still have a lot of chance to slow down ManU, Sir Alex seems to be in love with him although his lack of ability to combine with the rest is obvious....

Dolphin1977
21-08-2002, 12:37 PM

No it does not, but what is does mean is that ManU with Veron is not as good a combination as ManU without Veron..........the same happened last season and it happened again last Saturday, so there should not be any confusion over this.....but if you are a Veron fan, don't worry, he will still have a lot of chance to slow down ManU, Sir Alex seems to be in love with him although his lack of ability to combine with the rest is obvious....

the strike force looks so lost without scholes, without his short passes, long range shot, the strikers have problems cracking down stuborn opposition defence

joecan
21-08-2002, 01:42 PM

the strike force looks so lost without scholes, without his short passes, long range shot, the strikers have problems cracking down stuborn opposition defence

I am a freak for 4-4-2, I think ManU midfield should be Giggs-Scholes-Keane-Beckham, with Veron in it, that is the extra link I am talking about. In fact Veron can contribute by deputising for Keane and Scholes, together with Butt as backup,not like now, running around losing balls and losing himself.

Last season I heard there was a clause in his contract saying the Sir Alex have to play him when he is fit, donno whether true or not, even if true , now is the time to reverse that clause as Veron got no where to go now, no Serie A club will be able to afford him at this moment.

But again, it was good to see Sir Alex taking him out on Saturday, maybe he is also slowly losing confidence in him....he was playing more like a 2.8 million pound player

Devilboy
21-08-2002, 08:56 PM

I am a freak for 4-4-2, I think ManU midfield should be Giggs-Scholes-Keane-Beckham, with Veron in it, that is the extra link I am talking about. In fact Veron can contribute by deputising for Keane and Scholes, together with Butt as backup,not like now, running around losing balls and losing himself.

Last season I heard there was a clause in his contract saying the Sir Alex have to play him when he is fit, donno whether true or not, even if true , now is the time to reverse that clause as Veron got no where to go now, no Serie A club will be able to afford him at this moment.

But again, it was good to see Sir Alex taking him out on Saturday, maybe he is also slowly losing confidence in him....he was playing more like a 2.8 million pound player

Still got faith in him:D Let's see what happens this Saturday.

Inix
21-08-2002, 11:40 PM

But he is already playing better then last year. More willing to chase for the ball, had a good shot, and a couple of good passes.

Devilboy
22-08-2002, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by Inix

But he is already playing better then last year. More willing to chase for the ball, had a good shot, and a couple of good passes.

Good points from you!:)

ralliart_ray
24-08-2002, 01:35 PM
2-2 ...wat a result....

i like beckham's goal~ very nice counter-attack there

Devilboy
24-08-2002, 08:40 PM
2-2 ...wat a result....

i like beckham's goal~ very nice counter-attack there

Dun you thnk the way they play is abit slow and looks tired?

joecan
26-08-2002, 09:34 AM

Dun you thnk the way they play is abit slow and looks tired?

Do not be too negative about this draw, Chelsea is a good team after all. Its only 2 games into the season, during this warm up period as long as they don't lose is a good sign. Do not be like our "expert" sports journalist from New paper and starts to hail Arsenal as the Champion after only 90 mins of the season had gone by........

Kiwi8
26-08-2002, 11:17 AM

Do not be too negative about this draw, Chelsea is a good team after all. Its only 2 games into the season, during this warm up period as long as they don't lose is a good sign. Do not be like our "expert" sports journalist from New paper and starts to hail Arsenal as the Champion after only 90 mins of the season had gone by........

Dun bother about Edwin Yeo..... often a "tua pao sian".... :rolleyes:

joecan
26-08-2002, 11:41 AM

Dun bother about Edwin Yeo..... often a "tua pao sian".... :rolleyes:

damn! like that you also can guess right.....:laugh:

chyehock
26-08-2002, 11:59 AM

yeah, it's an away game and a draw is a good result. Make sure that we wins all the home games this time round. Like what joecan said, chelsea is a good team.

ignoramus
26-08-2002, 12:22 PM
Hi all....This is my first time to the soccer forum.

I agreed that this is only the beginning of the season. Man U always performs when the odds are down. BTW Keano is starting to get on my nerve. I really dislike players who wrote books, it tends to disrupt the team spirits especially when the media blow it out of proportion. I really loves Stam but look what happens. Why can't they just stick to doing what they are best in.

Devilboy
26-08-2002, 09:24 PM
Originally posted by ignoramus
Hi all....This is my first time to the soccer forum.

I agreed that this is only the beginning of the season. Man U always performs when the odds are down. BTW Keano is starting to get on my nerve. I really dislike players who wrote books, it tends to disrupt the team spirits especially when the media blow it out of proportion. I really loves Stam but look what happens. Why can't they just stick to doing what they are best in.

I never loses my faith in the Man Utd squad! They will emerge victorious! Since 1991.

Spock
27-08-2002, 12:21 AM
Dun bother about Edwin Yeo..... often a "tua pao sian"....

Edwin Yeo is a fooker.One day a football team plays gd he says wonders about it.The next day it play bads, he say its relegation candidates.:mad:

ignoramus
27-08-2002, 10:01 AM

I never loses my faith in the Man Utd squad! They will emerge victorious! Since 1991.

Even if they do end up empty handed, I will still support them till my last day on earth.

ralliart_ray
27-08-2002, 07:52 PM
tonite
manU vs blahblah in CL qualifer..... lets do it~=p

Kiwi8
27-08-2002, 09:21 PM
Zalaegerszeg qualifies on away goals.... :rolleyes:

ralliart_ray
28-08-2002, 01:13 AM