PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

jujube
16-11-2004, 05:26 PM
15,000th post! :s22:

alvinoyw
16-11-2004, 05:33 PM
15,000th post! :s22:

best, never post here b4 but just in time for the 15000th

Kyubi
16-11-2004, 05:34 PM
hahahah very big!

Ch3tah_39
16-11-2004, 05:36 PM
rossi is power mehz.. :)

OreoCookies
16-11-2004, 05:55 PM
rossi is power mehz.. :)

He looks promising, judging by the way he seems to be making an impact in the U19 and reserve teams... ;)

BTW, does anyone know is he more of a striker or a midfielder? He seems to be playing well in either position at the moment...

ragnarok95
16-11-2004, 06:26 PM
he's a striker...but man u is looking at another rossi which is a mid-fielder.

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 06:49 PM
i tot rossi was a attackin midfielder... gee

Fire us up Roo
Roy Keane has challenged Wayne Rooney to propel Manchester United's Premiership revival following his stunning two-goal show against Newcastle. "We saw what Wayne Rooney is all about against Newcastle and hopefully there is more to come, " said the Reds skipper. "He was absolutely outstanding. Besides his two goals, his contribution to the team and all-round performance was great and that is what you need."
George Scott, Daily Star

Roon's like removal man
Wayne Rooney has been told he is built like a furniture removal man. Spanish ace Michel Salgado took a swipe at England’s powerhouse wonderkid ahead of tomorrow’s clash. He said: “Rooney’s so strong he can do anything. He would be the ideal person to help you move house.”
Eric Beauchamp, The Sun

darrenlee78
16-11-2004, 06:58 PM
:eek:

Rossi only 16 reserves team liao? :o
i thought he is 17??

but too bad never get a chance to see him play :(

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 07:29 PM
Fletcher Ready For Belated 'Regular' Status

Darren Fletcher is being tipped to finally claim a regular place in Manchester United's starting line-up.

In stark contrast to the club’s prodigal talents Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo, Darren Fletcher’s integration into the United first team has been a more protracted achievement.

Rooney, fresh from the hype of Euro 2004 and a £27million transfer from Everton, recovered from the now common footballer’s ailment - a broken metatarsal - to burst onto United’s European stage in emphatic, hat-trick-scoring fashion.

Ronaldo got fans off their seats against Bolton 15 months ago on his debut and went on to earn United’s Player Of The Year award.

Fletcher, however, made only his second Premiership start of the season against Newcastle on Sunday. His has been a long and winding road into the side.

Overshadowed somewhat by the finish that followed it, Fletcher’s chipped pass for Rooney’s first goal at St James’ Park was sublime; with pinpoint precision, the pass didn’t even break the United No.8’s stride.

When Fletcher signed for United as a 15-year-old, a number of eye-catching reserve performances brought favourable reviews and the type of conjecture that suggested this was a star in the making.

A superb display in central midfield in the FA Cup semi-final against Arsenal, one of 26 starts last term, implied he was on the cusp of a regular spot in the side.

"Fletcher was excellent at times against Newcastle. I was pleased to see him back involved again."
Darren Fletcher

But, until Sunday, Fletcher hadn’t started a league game for three months. Wilf McGuinness, ex-United boss and Busby Babe, says the expectations have always been high for the Edinburgh-born midfielder.

"Darren has only just left his teens and I think it’s sometimes easy to forget that,” Wilf told ManUtd.com. "We have been speaking about him since he was set to make his first-team debut against Aston Villa four years ago."

Fletcher was then only 16 years old back in May 2000. Sir Alex Ferguson wanted to include him on the bench at Villa Park, only for FA rules to snag his first-team chance; only signed on schoolboy forms, Fletcher could not play.

Well-documented foot injuries followed and a precocious talent’s career was edged temporarily off course. His Reds debut didn’t arrive for another three full years. At just 18, Fletcher started against FC Basel in a free role in central midfield – an indication of how highly his manager rates him.

Another example of Ferguson’s faith in Fletcher arrived at a Champions League press conference recently when ‘Roonmania’ had reached a giddy height. A reporter put to Ferguson the view that, in Rooney and Ronaldo, he was in possession of the two most exciting young players in the game. Ferguson tentatively agreed, not wanting to heap overzealous hype on the two, but immediately tagged Fletcher’s name onto that group.

"The manager always includes him in that bracket of young players," adds McGuinness.

So, why only two Premiership starts this season? Especially when you consider Rooney has made nine appearances in just two months, while only Mikael Silvestre has started more league matches than Ronaldo.

"We all know the player he can be," says Wilf. "If he hadn’t had the injuries so early on in his career, I am sure he would already be a regular in the team by now.

"We just need to persevere with giving him games – as we have always known, he is capable of developing into quite a player. I’m hopeful he can really burst through now, make the transition from a young hopeful to a first-team regular."

Report by Ben Hibbs.

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:08 PM
regular? star in the making? come on man HAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHA

just get out of United.

alvinoyw
16-11-2004, 10:16 PM

just get out of United.

U haven't seen him play izzit? His vision is good and his long passes are accurate, modelled like Beckham.

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 10:22 PM

just get out of United.

tink ur view of fletcher is of biasness... fletcher has perform well a few times last season... tis season he has onli played 2 games in 1st team... u see tt goal tt he provided for rooney 1st goal... it is a veri gd pass and wat we nid nw is gd providers for our strikers to score those goals... our strikers haf not been able to score goals is because there is not much service to them frm the midfielders...

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:31 PM
U haven't seen him play izzit? His vision is good and his long passes are accurate, modelled like Beckham.

ive observed him every match he played, definitely paid more attention to him than you had. that is why im so confident in bashing him

he may be able to put across good passes but do take another look, its only a couple throughout the whole game. the rest of the time he's taking strolls and watching the game. his passes are modelled after beckham yes, thats because he's trying too hard

the percentage of him losing possession of a ball far exceeds that of him being able to put a decent cross that will result in a goal scored. we cannot take that amount of risk just for the few good passes that he MAY put through, geddit?

not only does he lose the ball more often than any other United player, he doesn't know how to FIGHT for possession. he's a total ball-loser and a non-ball-winner

you guys seem to like him alot and i cant understand why. this definitely isnt club loyalty, not the way to show that you guys are diehard fans of the club and portray yourself to support any decision by the club

watch him the next time he's fielded and tell me HONESTLY your views

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:33 PM
tink ur view of fletcher is of biasness... fletcher has perform well a few times last season... tis season he has onli played 2 games in 1st team... u see tt goal tt he provided for rooney 1st goal... it is a veri gd pass and wat we nid nw is gd providers for our strikers to score those goals... our strikers haf not been able to score goals is because there is not much service to them frm the midfielders...

thats because Newcastle sucked in that game. put him in a top game and see if he will even have an opportunity to even get hold of the ball

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 10:39 PM
u are juz bias against him... anyway fletcher is still young and he nids more games to murture... wat makes u so sure oso tt if it were other teams, he could not get hold of the ball... as i haf seen ur posts, most of ur views are always sayin bad abt some players... either u hate and haf some biasness against those players or i duno wat is the other reason le

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:42 PM
you just havent watched enough football, GOOD football and GOOD footballers :)

MatrixFanatic
16-11-2004, 10:43 PM
thats because Newcastle sucked in that game. put him in a top game and see if he will even have an opportunity to even get hold of the ball

He played quite well against Arsenal in the FA Cup last season. =:p

The bad thing about him is that he gets knocked down too easily, thus losing possession. Perhaps it's because he's too skinny. Another thing that I don't like about him is that he runs in a very 'ah-gua' way. Observe his hands when he does that. :s13:

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:46 PM
He played quite well against Arsenal in the FA Cup last season. =:p

The bad thing about him is that he gets knocked down too easily, thus losing possession. Perhaps it's because he's too skinny. Another thing that I don't like about him is that he runs in a very 'ah-gua' way. Observe his hands when he does that. :s13:

ah gua never mind.. its the football he produces that counts. so many top players are eccentric in their own way but no one says anything..why? they let their football do the talking

the only positive about him, is his attitude. he tries and thats good. but no amount of trying will make up for the lack in talent and skills

other than that..not much

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 10:46 PM
and u say his passes and controllin of ball etc are bad everytime, i dun really tink so... every match i haf seen him play in, i agree smtimes he dun play well but there are oso some matches where he perform well 2... players will always able to perform in some matches and u cant expect him to perform exceptionally well everytime... he is still a young player and like ronaldo, they lack those experiences... if u say he always did not perform well as wat u haf said and he shld get out, then i tink quite a few young players would haf be out long ago... they nid more experiences and muturin nw so as to perform to the standard they are expected of... ppl like scholes, giggs, beckham, etc... oso did not really do very well when they 1st started playin but slowly they haf becum even beta players under fergie...

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 10:50 PM
you just havent watched enough football, GOOD football and GOOD footballers :)

and wat makes u tink i havent watch enough football, gd fotball and gd footballers... pls stop ur fallacy

RVN
16-11-2004, 10:50 PM
Well, it never fails to amaze me that a supporter of the team is more keen to criticise players than praise them. :s8:

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:51 PM
the class of 92 was totally different!

each were good in whatever they were doing and showed maturity beyond their age. Ronaldo and Rooney are the only youngsters in our squad that can be mentioned in the same breath as the class of 92. its an insult to compare Fletcher with them

a good player doesnt need to be given that many a chance to show what he's able to contribute. we've been waiting too long and expecting too much from Fletcher

he should just go. at least he's good enough to command a starting place in any of the mid-table regulars

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:54 PM
Well, it never fails to amaze me that a supporter of the team is more keen to criticise players than praise them. :s8:

if you'd noticed, its just Wes Brown and Fletcher whom i've been criticising. why? they're simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH and people fail to see that

i do give praises when they're due

cutieboy86
16-11-2004, 10:54 PM
no pt in arguin wif a person hu views are plain biasness, and much of his views are of fallacy

leslielai_
16-11-2004, 10:59 PM
what a way to end a losing argument. its fans like afew guys in here that make the fans of other clubs call us names.

biased? now who is? you guys simply do not dare to face the criticisms of your fav club (shld i add 'for the moment' to that?)

you need to face reality sometimes, some of our players are simply not good enough

usjag_18
16-11-2004, 11:18 PM
ive observed him every match he played, definitely paid more attention to him than you had. that is why im so confident in bashing him

he may be able to put across good passes but do take another look, its only a couple throughout the whole game. the rest of the time he's taking strolls and watching the game. his passes are modelled after beckham yes, thats because he's trying too hard

the percentage of him losing possession of a ball far exceeds that of him being able to put a decent cross that will result in a goal scored. we cannot take that amount of risk just for the few good passes that he MAY put through, geddit?

not only does he lose the ball more often than any other United player, he doesn't know how to FIGHT for possession. he's a total ball-loser and a non-ball-winner

you guys seem to like him alot and i cant understand why. this definitely isnt club loyalty, not the way to show that you guys are diehard fans of the club and portray yourself to support any decision by the club

watch him the next time he's fielded and tell me HONESTLY your views

I admit that D.Fletcher is not the ideal player I will see for Man Utd. However, like what previously I said, as long as he's still a Man Utd player, I will hope him performs and also if he's good, why not keep him. But he does hesitates a lot when it comes to passing and long shot. I guess, if I can tolerate J.Kleberson and E.Djemba^2 for not performing due to lack of 1st team games, I will also be able to tolerate the same thing for D.Fletcher. Also, maybe he's still young. Need more practice. He maybe prepared for the future.

leslielai, i think you better stop saying Newcastle sucked. It's RUDE n IMPOLITE to look down on your opponents. It's not nice to say that to others. Hope you know what you are doing when you saying something. Newcastle UTd is one of the good teams in EPL. So please mind you language. Even though I am a Man Utd supporter, I disagree with people who like to insult other team. Even I don't like Arsenal or Liverpool, I think I still need to respect the truth that they are superior in their own ways. So please think before you talk. Moreover, you not only insulting those clubs, you also frequently insulting our own players. I think being a supporter, not only being supportive and also need to be optimistic. If you think that R.Giggs, P.Scholes, R.Keane, J.Kleberson, E.Djemba^2 and D.Fletcher are not good for Man Utd, then can U suggest who are the players are REALLY GOOD FOR Man Utd. U can just give comments, but stop calling people sucked. It's NOT NICE & it's making you look really childish.

what a way to end a losing argument. its fans like afew guys in here that make the fans of other clubs call us names.

biased? now who is? you guys simply do not dare to face the criticisms of your fav club (shld i add 'for the moment' to that?)

you need to face reality sometimes, some of our players are simply not good enough

This is really funny. Not that we can't face REALITY. It's just that in our hearts, we are trying to support our players. If supporters cannot support their clubs' players, then how can the clubs be good. No matter how badly did those players played for Man Utd, those Utd supporters @ the game never show any PESSIMISTIC like you. Please be more optimistic towards the players. Even I started to learn that players need time. Not all of them can perform as good as they can.

Rgds,
O'

newbie_rulz
17-11-2004, 12:06 AM
Although some forumers or soccer fans have mixed reviews, i think Fletcher's long ball is superb, but can improve better. Got notice everytime Ronaldo take cross like never eat breakfast like that ? :D

Ch3tah_39
17-11-2004, 12:39 AM
if you'd noticed, its just Wes Brown and Fletcher whom i've been criticising. why? they're simply NOT GOOD ENOUGH and people fail to see that

i do give praises when they're due

brown where got not gd?? :s8: i dun see him performing very badly... :s8:

alvinoyw
17-11-2004, 01:10 AM
brown where got not gd?? :s8: i dun see him performing very badly... :s8:

Maybe u dun see him perform badly is becuz you don't get to see him play at all, always injured. But when he plays, we better pray we score more goals than he concede, although he's not always that bad.

Ronaldo7
17-11-2004, 10:41 AM
check out this interesting thread about fletcher :s22:

http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=63037

jujube
17-11-2004, 01:22 PM
where can i get clips of the goals from the match against Newcastle?

anybody know? :look:

thanks

usjag_18
17-11-2004, 02:12 PM

Look who's talking now. The reason people dislike us not because of us being protective. It's because of people who kept calling other people's clubs names which others don't like.

Rgds,
O'

MatrixFanatic
17-11-2004, 04:05 PM
Although some forumers or soccer fans have mixed reviews, i think Fletcher's long ball is superb, but can improve better. Got notice everytime Ronaldo take cross like never eat breakfast like that ? :D

That's the problem with Fletcher the last few seasons. Always hesitate to cross and cross softly.

I think Ronaldo's crosses okay. But it's just that he always like to do some step-overs or dribbling before he crosses.

jujube
17-11-2004, 05:06 PM
where can i get clips of the goals from the match against Newcastle?

anybody know?

thanks

usjag_18
17-11-2004, 07:00 PM
That's the problem with Fletcher the last few seasons. Always hesitate to cross and cross softly.

I think Ronaldo's crosses okay. But it's just that he always like to do some step-overs or dribbling before he crosses.
Ya, I think Fletcher's biggest problem is he always hesitate when it comes to shooting, crossing and passing. He thinks too long or too much sometimes. I guess the good thing about Beckham is he already decided where to cross, when he wanna 2 shoot. Sometimes, hesitation won't make things happen.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
17-11-2004, 09:05 PM
Saha happy with competition

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/england/manutd/saha_juggle.jpg

Louis Saha is not worried about his Manchester United future, despite seemingly being the club's fourth choice striker.

The France international was brought to Old Trafford in a near £13 million deal from Fulham during January's transfer window.

He made an immediate impact alongside Ruud van Nistelrooy and spent the rest of the campaign as the Dutchman's regular partner in attack.

But during the summer, United boss Sir Alex Ferguson snapped up Alan Smith from Leeds and then added Wayne Rooney to his ranks on the eve of the transfer deadline.

Those two signings have seen Saha slip down the pecking order and there has been speculation he will be sacrificed by Ferguson at the end of the season.

Saha, though, is not concerned about his situation at Old Trafford and is thankful for the quality of forwards at Ferguson's disposal.

The 26-year-old believes he can only improve by staying with The Red Devils and is determined to collect some silverware with the club.

"Competition makes you improve," said Saha. "I feel it can help me to reach a new level.

"It is good to have a rich team.

"This year I really want to participate in something great."

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=238378&lid=2&cpid=8&title=Saha+happy+with+competition

RVN
17-11-2004, 09:10 PM
No rest for Ronaldo - yet

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40534000/jpg/_40534465_ronaldosits203.jpg

Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that he will give Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo a break at some point in the season - but not just yet.
The 19-year-old has made 16 appearances this campaign, following a hectic summer of Euro 2004 and Olympic football for Portugal.

And United's boss told the Manchester Evening News: "There is going to be a spell where Cristiano needs a rest.

"I've no definite plans - he's okay now but we are assessing him all the time."

Ferguson was rewarded for handing Ronaldo a three-week break last season with a series of brilliant performances towards the end of the campaign, and he intends on following the same path this year.

"It is a question of picking the moment - last year we sent him home for a break at Christmas and we will have to see what we do this time," Ferguson added.

Ferguson could be tempted to leave Ronaldo out of Saturday's Old Trafford clash with Charlton given the need for maximum points to guarantee qualification for the Champions League knockout phase against Lyon next Tuesday.

Ryan Giggs is waiting to return after a couple of recent substitute appearances, while Darren Fletcher is also in the picture after playing in the 3-1 win at Newcastle.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4019227.stm

MatrixFanatic
17-11-2004, 09:48 PM
Must be mad. Rest him! Burnout liao! The same is with Rooney too.

cutieboy86
17-11-2004, 09:52 PM
yep... ronaldo surely nid a gd damn rest le... his performance has dropped compared to end of last season... he has been playin since end of last season until nw... he look burn out liaox

usjag_18
18-11-2004, 12:07 AM
Lolx.... Just imagine what will C.Ronaldo do if he sees this forum that people said he's burnout & need a rest. It's true that he does need a rest, there's no question about it. However, to a soccer player, every chances of playing is importnat. However, I do agree that he really need a rest. Not because he's burnout or what. But because he can't think well nowadays when he's playing. Maybe is because he's tired/burnout. WHatever the reason is if he cannot think the welfare of the team, then he really needs to rest. And need a lot of talking to do with him.

Rgds,
O'

P/S: Resting him and if Man Utd win for straight games, then maybe he will knows that no one in this world is irreplaceable.

RVN
18-11-2004, 07:28 AM
Ronaldo scores again for Portugal but play the full 90 minutes. Think he should be rested though.

Another bad news is Ruud suffer a hip injury, Fletcher was also injured, done his thigh muscle in the warm up before the Scotland match, Dont you love international week
:mad:

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=153289&cc=4716

Seals
18-11-2004, 08:33 AM
he is getting tired and want to be solo... no more tricks boy and be quick on ur cross..

Lolx.... Just imagine what will C.Ronaldo do if he sees this forum that people said he's burnout & need a rest. It's true that he does need a rest, there's no question about it. However, to a soccer player, every chances of playing is importnat. However, I do agree that he really need a rest. Not because he's burnout or what. But because he can't think well nowadays when he's playing. Maybe is because he's tired/burnout. WHatever the reason is if he cannot think the welfare of the team, then he really needs to rest. And need a lot of talking to do with him.

Rgds,
O'

P/S: Resting him and if Man Utd win for straight games, then maybe he will knows that no one in this world is irreplaceable.

kahmun7
18-11-2004, 09:36 AM
drats... Ruud is out injured? how bad is the injury?

Ronaldo7
18-11-2004, 11:04 AM
not very sure too :s22: maybe saha will get a start this sat :look:

usjag_18
18-11-2004, 01:41 PM
not very sure too :s22: maybe saha will get a start this sat :look:
mebbe it's not so serious, because he was sub by R.Makaay as soon as he's injured. *sigh*, wtf man. Why our players kept kanna injured one? Old, not so old, but still kept injured. Must b having someone cursing and swearing about us... But luckily, our other 3 strikers are unharmed...

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
18-11-2004, 02:02 PM
haha... tis mornin rooney temp flare and he is substituted by another hot man, smith... hope ruud not seriously injured though as he has started scorin goals for man utd... hope rooney will cool his temper though tis wkend... maybe saha has a chance to start... ronaldo is scorin goals for portugal and he seem impressive in tt match for portugal but he seem tired when playin at man utd

RVN
18-11-2004, 02:19 PM
Rooney totally lost his cool and was lucky not to be sent off, go and hacked down spanish players like hell then go and throw away the black armband onto the pitch after not happy kena subbed. Sigh! when will he ever learn to curb his bad temper and not get into trouble. Hope SAF can sort him out. :s22:

cutieboy86
18-11-2004, 03:29 PM
SCHOLES TO JOIN 300 CLUB
Despite a uncharacteristically slow start to the season, Manchester United fans are sure to have one landmark to celebrate when they welcome Charlton Athletic to Old Trafford on Saturday.
Regardless of the result in the televised encounter, the game looks set to mark yet another highlight in the career of one of the club's most consistent and loyal performers over the past decade.

After 11 seasons of regular success at the pinnacle of the elite English league, Paul Scholes, if selected, will make his 300th Premiership appearance and in doing, will further secure his legacy as one of United's all-time great midfielders.

Not that you will hear the man himself bragging of course. Scholes is notoriously shy with the media, preferring instead to employ the old footballing cliche of letting his feet do the talking. And how he has done that.

Very much a home-grown hero, Salford-born Scholes made his name as part of the legendary United youth side of the early 1990s.

After signing on as a trainee in July 1991, he immediately began to flourish alongside other future stars such as David Beckham, Gary Neville and Nicky Butt.

These promising youngsters were an integral part of both United's victorious FA Youth Cup campaign in 1992 and England's triumphant Under-18 team that claimed the 1993 European Championships.

Consistently displaying a vision and creative talent combined with an incredible calmness in front of goal, Scholes did not have to wait long to make his breakthrough into the United first-team, and was handed his Premiership bow in the 3-2 loss against Ipswich Town in September 1994.

Typically, even when his team-mates under-performed, Scholes revelled in the pressured atmosphere of the top-flight and scored both of United's goals in an impressive first appearance.

Such a remarkable debut proved to be no flash in the pan as Scholes' opening-season performances earnt him another daunting tag, this time 'the new Denis Law' as his guile and flair provided a ready-made replacement for the suspended Eric Cantona.

Scholes even had the chance to end his first season in the senior side with an FA Cup winners' medal, but United lost out to Everton at Wembley.

Ironically, despite such a glorious start for Scholes himself, United ended 1994/95 without silverware for the first time in five years as Blackburn Rovers pipped them to the Premiership title.

The following campaign proved to be more to the liking of the United faithful. With Scholes instrumental in the United engine-room alongside Beckham and Roy Keane, the Red Devils not only held off Newcastle United to claim their third title in four years but also defeated Liverpool to capture the FA Cup and seal a famous double.

Now established as one of the Premiership's finest midfielders, Scholes soon began to emerge as a candidate to play for his country at senior level, as observers began to ear-mark him as having the ability to fill the creative boots left vacant by Paul Gascoinge.

After forcing himself into Glenn Hoddle's thoughts, Scholes made his national debut on home territory in 1997, coming on as a substitute against South Africa at Old Trafford.

True to form, his full debut at international level was typically memorable as he set up one and scored the other as England outclassed Italy in Le Tournoi.

He became a certainty for Hoddle's World Cup squad in 1998 and went on to start all four games for England, scoring against Tunisia. Indeed, in stark contrast to the latter stages of his international career, he soon became reknowned throughout world football for contributing goals on a regular basis from midfield.

In 1998/99, Scholes excelled as United stormed to a magnificent Premiership, FA Cup and Champions League treble, finding the net against Barcelona and Inter Milan in the historic European campaign and, despite missing out on the final against Bayern Munich, contributed performances throughout the campaign still remembered as some of the best ever produced by a United player.

He continued that incredible form at inernational level, producing some inspired displays, including a hat-trick in Kevin Keegan’s first match as manager, a European Championship qualifier against the Poles at Wembley and two crucial goals against Scotland that sealed England's place at Euro 2000.

Since then, the 'Ginger Prince' as he is affectionately known by United fans, has represented his country in the World Cup in Japan and Korea and in the European Championships in Portugal earlier this year, after which he called time on his international career much to the surprise and dismay of many England supporters.

Some of the few to welcome Scholes' decision to call time with England were those from the Red side of Manchester, who craved a renewed vigour to the midfielder's domestic form.

This season, Scholes has been able to start shaping the career of his creative successor with England, Wayne Rooney, after the Evertonian's move to Old Trafford, in addition to continuing to provide the trademark breaks from midfield that have haunted Premiership defenders almost since the league began.

And even after 299 games of warning, it is likely the Charlton back-line will have their hands full on Saturday when Scholes makes another of his little marks on football history.

cutieboy86
18-11-2004, 05:05 PM
Howard Not Giving Up On No.1 Spot

Tim Howard refuses to be downbeat about not being Sir Alex Ferguson's current first-choice goalkeeper.

The American was given the number one shirt at the start of the campaign in anticipation of a continuation of last term’s solid displays.

Howard had started 18 of a possible 19 matches for United at this point last season. But he hasn't featured in the current Premiership campaign since the beginning of September.

Such statistics haven't dampened the American's resolve. "You can't let yourself get too up, or too down.

"I look forward to getting my place back, whenever that may be. I'm optimistic. I'm always optimistic,” he told Manchester United Radio recently.

Howard’s current predicament is a far cry from the standing ovation he received for an incredible save from Joey Barton’s shot on the way to FA Cup victory over Manchester City in February this year.

Sir Alex puts it down to the notoriously difficult task of replicating such an impressive debut season.

"It's just a natural curve in football," shrugs Howard.

"Roy Carroll has been playing well, so I just have to keep fighting to win back a place in the team. You keep fighting and eventually you get it right.

The 25-year-old professes to have a good working relationship with Roy Carroll. According to Howard, an intensity in training has helped both goalkeepers raise their standards.

"Our job is to push ourselves to the limit and then let the manager make his decision. Roy and I get along great. That's the way it has to be. We work like warriors out there in training. But we leave it on the training field."

Howard’s last two starts – both in the Carling Cup, against Crewe and Crystal Palace - have yielded two clean sheets. Improved defensive displays have been an integral part of United’s play in the past two months – six of United’s last eight fixtures have produced a zero in the goals against column.

"We have started to look very cohesive as a defensive unit,” affirms Howard. “We look good defensively and have begun to gel together. I've been delighted with that from a team standpoint.”

MatrixFanatic
18-11-2004, 05:44 PM
drats... Ruud is out injured? how bad is the injury?

I'm not worry about that. There's always Smith and Saha. =:p

RVN
18-11-2004, 06:05 PM
Ruud injury blow

RUUD van Nistelrooy handed Manchester United another injury scare after limping off while on international duty last night.

Van Nistelrooy pulled up sharply after half an hour of the World Cup qualifier between Holland and Andorra.

The United hitman tried to run off the injury, but Roy Makaay was eventually needed to replace him.

Van Nistelrooy then limped off clutching his hip and went instantly to the treatment room.

The Dutch striker now looks certain to miss the Premiership match against Charlton this weekend and could be out for a few weeks.

There were mixed fortunes for United colleagues, Eric Djemba-Djemba and Ronaldo.

Djemba-Djemba was sent off for a second bookable offence in Cameroons' 3-0 friendly defeat in Germany, while Ronaldo scored in Portugal's 5-0 World Cup qualifier in Luxembourg.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/137/137343_ruud_injury_blow.html

RVN
18-11-2004, 06:15 PM
Hmm now newcastle want O'Shea, Souness so fond of buying our players. :s39:

Toon bid for O'Shea- report

Newcastle have reportedly bid £4million for Manchester United's John O'Shea.

The Republic of Ireland star has struggled to hold down a regular starting berth at Old Trafford this season.

And Toon boss Graeme Souness sees the talented 23-year-old as the answer to his defensive problems.

According to The Daily Mirror Souness tried to sign O'Shea while he was in charge of Blackburn.

Souness has bid £4million and while Manchester are reportedly holding out for nearer £6million the Geordies are hopeful of thrashing out a deal.

O'Shea has hardly figured in the Old Trafford first team this season, apart from in the Carling Cup and as an emergency midfielder.

As well as his pursuit of O'Shea, Souness is continuing to monitor Rangers stopper Jean-Alain Boumsong.

He watched the former Auxerre star play for France against Poland on Wednesday night, and could check him out in Saturday's Old Firm clash.

Newcastle are hopeful of landing Boumsong for around £5million.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/18/manual_092011.html&TEAMHD=soccer

MatrixFanatic
18-11-2004, 06:16 PM
No way man. We need O'shea as backup.

RVN
18-11-2004, 06:25 PM
No way man. We need O'shea as backup.

dunno why the press linking our back-up defenders to newcastle, kind of annoying err. First its Brown, then Phil Neville and now O'Shea. :mad:

usjag_18
18-11-2004, 06:25 PM
This season, Scholes has been able to start shaping the career of his creative successor with England, Wayne Rooney

Roonacy
Sven Goran Eriksson accused Wayne Rooney of being ‘disrepectful’ as the teenage wildman lost the plot. Rooney was hauled off before he was sent off, then swore at England No 2 Steve McClaren. Spanish star Joaquin claimed the £30million Manchester United ace was ‘on another planet’ as he lasted just 42 minutes of the Bernabeu un-friendly. Striker Rooney also furiously hurled a black armband worn in memory of former England skipper Emlyn Hughes to the ground as he departed and refused to shake hands with his team-mate Alan Smith.

Mark Irwin, The Sun

Such a big difference between these two. Even position might be playing similarly, but still, I have never see P.Scholes threw temper like W.Rooney did. He really need to start to curb his bad tempered. Even though he's young, but still that's not an excused for him lior.. Hope that SAF can start to make him understand.

Rgds,
O'

P/S: one more thing rooney should learn, RESPECT UR TEAM-MATE no matter who subsitutde you.

usjag_18
18-11-2004, 06:27 PM
dunno why the press linking our back-up defenders to newcastle, kind of annoying err. First its Brown, then Phil Neville and now O'Shea. :mad:
hahaha, maybe becos they think got these players gt potential lor.

Rgds,
O'

kahmun7
18-11-2004, 07:23 PM
think rooney learnt well from Ferguson.... no not SAF Ferguson... Duncan Ferguson!!!!
har har har

cutieboy86
19-11-2004, 12:03 AM
Van Nistelrooy plays down hip injury

Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy hopes to be fit for Saturday's home match with Charlton Athletic despite suffering a hip injury in the Netherlands' 3-0 World Cup qualifying win in Andorra on Wednesday.

Van Nistelrooy was substituted in the first half and Dutch coach Marco van Basten said the striker had been in a lot of pain.

However, van Nistelrooy played down the injury.

'It is just a knock. It is nothing serious,' he said.

The United striker had only just returned to league action after serving a three-match suspension for a poor challenge on Arsenal's Ashley Cole last month.

United's strike force struggled without him, losing 2-0 at Portsmouth and drawing 0-0 with Manchester City before he helped them win 3-1 away to Newcastle United last weekend.

Ronaldo7
19-11-2004, 12:21 AM
Manchester United donate kit to Srebrenica youth team

http://football.guardian.co.uk/breakingnews/feedstory/0,14546,-4623169,00.html

nice gesture :)

RVN
19-11-2004, 10:44 AM
Ferguson gears up for 1,000th United game

Alex Ferguson will celebrate the latest milestone in an astonishing career when he takes charge of Manchester United for the 1,000th time on Tuesday.

Over the past 18 years, the former trade union shop steward from Glasgow has transformed a struggling club into the richest in the world and become British football's most successful manager of all time.

Ferguson, 62, can already look back on a United career that has brought him sporting triumph, personal wealth, a knighthood and the respect of the world game.

Eight league titles, five FA Cups and the 1999 European Cup have been added to United's trophy room since Ferguson made an inauspicious start with a 2-0 defeat at Oxford United in November 1986.

Generations of players have come and gone, boardroom battles over transfer fees have been won and lost, and countless referees have borne the brunt of Ferguson's notorious temper in those 18 years.

When he settles down in the Old Trafford dugout for Tuesday's Champions League game against Olympique Lyon, Ferguson's passion will remain undimmed and his hunger for success unsatisfied.

Ferguson is neither the game's greatest tactician nor the shrewdest wheeler-dealer in the transfer market.

As a manager who instils the right combination of respect, dedication and fear, he has no equal.

United, who won the European Cup in 1968 under Matt Busby, had suffered years of mediocrity under a string of managers including Ferguson's predecessor Ron Atkinson.

DIFFICULT START

The Scot's early years, though, contained few hints of the glories to follow.

After United finished second behind Liverpool in 1988, there followed two disappointing league campaigns and a painful, though successful, battle against the drinking culture among his players.

Ferguson stuck to his task and the turning point in his tenure was a 1990 FA Cup final replay win over Crystal Palace.

Ferguson's revamp of the United youth system paved the way for a new generation of players who would sweep all before them.

David Beckham, Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, Gary and Phil Neville, and Nicky Butt came through Ferguson's academy, and a handful of inspired purchases ensured United's success for the rest of the decade.

None captured the imagination more than a French rebel, artist and poet named Eric Cantona, who got the glory years rolling with United's first league title under Ferguson in 1993 and their 1994 and 1996 doubles.

His surprise retirement in 1997 saw the captain's armband pass to Roy Keane, a combative ball-winner and box-to-box runner.

The young generation, combined with prolific strikers Andy Cole and Dwight Yorke, then propelled United to the club's most successful season, the 1999 treble year.

A Premier League title, the FA Cup and an unforgettable night in Barcelona when United scored twice in stoppage time to beat Bayern Munich 2-1 in the Champions League final impressed even Ferguson's critics.

FIERCE RIVALS

Yet Ferguson has not had everything his own way; Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has become a source of torment for him.

Wenger's English doubles in 1998 and 2002, along with his 2003 FA Cup and 2004 league trophies, have effectively ended United's hegemony.

Ferguson and Wenger are fierce rivals and their teams have turned most of their recent encounters into scraps.

When trouble brews, Ferguson instinctively defends his men to the hilt. Behind closed doors, however, any serious transgressor can expect to face his volatile temper.

In his autobiography "Managing My Life", Ferguson recalls playing for Harmony Row, a team of 10 and 11-year-olds. His description of their manager bears an uncanny resemblance to the future boss of Manchester United.

"Mick McGowan...not only had a passionate enthusiasm for football but a fanatical, one-eyed, all-consuming commitment to Harmony Row," he wrote. "Nothing and nobody came before the interests of the club. He was an impossible man. We all loved him but at one time or another fell out with him."

Ferguson's temper rebounded on him when a wayward boot kicked during a fit of pique after United lost 2-0 to Arsenal in the FA Cup fifth round in February 2003 hit Beckham, cutting him above the eye and giving him the resolve to walk out on the club.

Change has become a recurring theme at United in recent years as Ferguson works on the transition from one era to the next.

Strikers Ruud van Nistelrooy and Wayne Rooney, along with defender Rio Ferdinand, are truly world-class, though at a combined cost of 75 million pounds they ought to be.

Rooney and Portugal winger Cristiano Ronaldo, both 19, will provide a formidable strike threat for years to come, and there is plenty of promise in Scotland's 20-year-old midfielder Darren Fletcher.

That he can continue to spot and groom some of the world's best footballing talent after a career spanning three decades is a testament to Ferguson's passion for the game.

http://www.reuters.co.uk/newsArticle.jhtml?type=footballNewsUK&storyID=6860359&section=news&src=rss/uk/footballNews

cutieboy86
19-11-2004, 10:54 AM
wah... tis sat match got 2 milestone to celebrate... scholes 300th game and ferguson 1000th game in charge of man utd

vivre
19-11-2004, 11:24 AM
Hopefully can win...

cutieboy86
19-11-2004, 11:30 AM
yeah man utd haf to win and start their season nw wif a string of wins if they wan to catch up wif arsenal and chelsea

usjag_18
19-11-2004, 12:23 PM
Hopefully can win...
Not HOPEFULLY can win... It's a MUST WIN situation.

Yaya... 300 games and 1000th games.. COolx... We will win!!

Ronaldo7
19-11-2004, 01:04 PM
charlton away record isn't that good , but we must not take anything for granted . our record against those 'smaller' clubs isn't that good this season either :s22:

RVN
19-11-2004, 07:09 PM
Bloody ****, now Saha injured. This is the 2nd time Saha is injured somemore after returning from international duty. :mad:

Saha suffers new setback

Louis Saha is facing another spell on the sidelines after picking up a knee injury in France's 0-0 draw with Poland on Wednesday.

Saha, who was nursed through the end of last season after developing an Achilles complaint and has only just recovered from a knee problem which has restricted his appearances this term, will have a scan to find out the extent of the problem but is unlikely to figure in Saturday's televised encounter with Charlton.

Sir Alex Ferguson - in his 999th game in charge of the Old Trafford outfit - is hopeful Ruud van Nistelrooy will shake off the hip injury which forced him off during the first half of Holland's World Cup win over Andorra, allowing the striker to take his place in what is likely to be an unchanged starting line-up.

Manchester United (from): Carroll, Howard, Ricardo, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Brown, O'Shea, Heinze, Fortune, Ronaldo, Bellion, Keane, Scholes, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Fletcher, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Rooney, Smith, Saha.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_173049,00.html

United_Treble
19-11-2004, 08:34 PM
im back, how u all think abt mu vs charlton, i think they will not win more then 2 goals

RVN
19-11-2004, 08:42 PM
im back, how u all think abt mu vs charlton, i think they will not win more then 2 goals

I gladly just settle for a win, we can't afford to drop anymore points.

United_Treble
19-11-2004, 08:52 PM
I gladly just settle for a win, we can't afford to drop anymore points.
sorrie, i changed my mind after browsing throuigh the odds, mu to win by 2 or more, cfmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Yellowfin
19-11-2004, 09:05 PM
Bloody ****, now Saha injured. This is the 2nd time Saha is injured somemore after returning from international duty. :mad:

This international week not good for Man U. I hope this season we get all the injury once and for all. Then next season, hopefully, no more injury just like the 1999 season.
;)

JirQUEST
19-11-2004, 10:15 PM
we will win. question is how many goals :P

United_Treble
19-11-2004, 10:16 PM
we will win. question is how many goals :P
we? u think u play ah, mu win la at least 2

RVN
19-11-2004, 10:51 PM
Quieorz: Saha out 3-4 weeks

http://tinyurl.com/4x9m3

Louis Saha will miss Saturday's home game against Charlton - and is likely to be out for the next three weeks.

That was the bad news delivered by Carlos Queiroz, deputising for Sir Alex Ferguson in the regular Friday press briefing.

However, there was some good news regarding United's quartet of strikers - Ruud van Nistelrooy trained, as you can see on ManUtdpics.com.

"There are one or two decisions to make," Carlos told us. "Not because they are serious problems, simply because we need to think about Tuesday's game against Lyon.

"Louis Saha's injury is more serious than we expected. It's not good news. We know that, for the next three or four weeks, we cannot think about Louis Saha."

Saha picked up the knee injury whilst on international duty with France, but Queiroz confirmed the injury is unrelated to a knee problem Saha was suffering from earlier this year.

Reds striker Wayne Rooney has been on the receiving end of criticism this week after England boss Sven Goran Eriksson withdrew the player before half time in the midweek friendly against Spain.

Rooney had been booked for a foul on Joaquin and had pushed goalkeeper Iker Casillas. But Carlos says Rooney should not be portrayed as the “bad guy” in what was a hot-tempered match.

"Players can learn from every game," said the Reds assistant boss. "The lessons from Wednesday night are not just for Rooney. The whole team can learn.

"Watching the game very carefully, I know the tackles were not only from Rooney. Other players produced uglier tackles, worse than Rooney. What I cannot accept is that – and this is what it seems like to me – a footballer from Manchester United can be seen as the bad guy and the others are the nice guys.

"It happened three weeks ago when we played Arsenal; Ruud van Nistelrooy became the bad guy. All the others seem to become the nice guys."

Carlos said he did not want to “put wood on the fire” when asked whether Sven Goran Eriksson had fuelled criticism of Rooney’s display in Spain by substituting the striker three minutes from time.

”It is important that we now create the right environment, the right concentration and the right attitude to beat Charlton. It would be a huge mistake for us if we are still playing Wednesday’s game when we take on Charlton.”

Fergie's No.2 thinks the team is on the cusp of a run of form, and just require "a couple of wins" to get into a ryhthm that will see United challenge for the Premiership title.

"Everybody knows that we dropped points we didn’t expect to drop in the first 13 games," he said. "But we are ready. The team is improving.

"The players are fantastic at the moment. We just need a couple of wins to restore our trust and our confidence.

"I have no doubts that in this next stage – the next 12 or 13 matches – we can perform like we did against Newcastle. If we do, we will be in the final race; ready in the last thirteen matches of the season to fight and compete for the number one spot."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=127179&itype=466&icategoryid=120

MatrixFanatic
19-11-2004, 10:58 PM

If it doesn't happen I will kill you. :D

cutieboy86
19-11-2004, 11:27 PM
haha... smith got a chance again to start... although ruud is trng but i tink he will be rested tis sat and start on wed against Lyon which is more impt

JirQUEST
20-11-2004, 12:09 AM
obviously i am speaking from the viewpt of a supporter, not a punter *too lazy to find smiley face for lama*

kahmun7
20-11-2004, 02:35 AM
haha... smith got a chance again to start... although ruud is trng but i tink he will be rested tis sat and start on wed against Lyon which is more impt
has SMith Suspension started yet?

RVN
20-11-2004, 04:37 AM
has SMith Suspension started yet?

:s11:

He has already complete his suspension. :s8:

cutieboy86
20-11-2004, 10:25 AM
so wat u all tink tonite line-up will be? my view is:
GK: Caroll
Defenders: Gary Ferdinand Silvestre/Brown Heinz
Midfielders: Ronaldo/Fletcher Scholes Keane Giggs
Strikers: Smith Rooney

Ronaldo7
20-11-2004, 11:03 AM
maybe fletcher will replace ronaldo and smith for rvn in the lineup that started against newcastle

cutieboy86
20-11-2004, 11:05 AM
is the match against Charlton... newcastle match is over le

RVN
20-11-2004, 11:09 AM
WE MUST FIND OUR RHYTHM - QUIEROZ

Carlos Queiroz knows Manchester United must dance past Charlton on Saturday if they are to prevent Arsenal or Chelsea waltzing away with the Premiership title.

Sir Alex Ferguson's number two accepts the Reds are under the spotlight following an inconsistent start to the Barclays Premiership season.

Already this season, the Red Devils have beaten Liverpool and Arsenal yet failed to follow up those impressive triumphs by embarking on the kind of sustained unbeaten run for which they are so famous.

Last weekend, Sir Alex Ferguson's side recorded their third outstanding win of the campaign by disposing of Newcastle at St James' Park.

But Old Trafford's vastly experienced management team know that unless United can follow up their latest victory by defeating Charlton, and then take maximum points from four obviously winnable games after that, they will kiss goodbye to any chance of reclaiming the championship crown.

"We should approach every game now as though it was the last dance," said Queiroz, who returned to Old Trafford last summer after an ill-fated year in charge of Real Madrid.

"It is crucial for us to build on the victory at Newcastle because everybody knows that we lost points in the first 13 games which we didn't expect to lose.

"I believe the team is improving and we are ready for the challenge. All we need is a couple of victories that would give us confidence and allow us to build some momentum.

"If we can perform as well as we did at Newcastle over the next 12 games, I have no doubt we will have pushed ourselves back into contention. Then we will be ready to fight over the last 13 games for what we want to achieve, which is to win the league."

The next month will see United travel to West Brom and Fulham, as well as entertaining Southampton and Crystal Palace before a more testing Christmas fixture list that includes encounters with Bolton, Aston Villa and Middlesbrough.

It is only when they emerge from that period will United know whether they will be battling for the title as usual or making up the numbers as they did at the back end of last term.

Their preparations for Saturday's game have not been smooth, as Louis Saha was ruled out for four weeks after the unlucky French striker picked up yet another knee injury on international duty.

Saha has been plagued by fitness problems since his £12.8million move from Fulham last January and had to be nursed through the latter stages of the campaign as he attempted to combat a worrying Achilles injury.

The 25-year-old forward had only just recovered from that knock when he damaged his knee on World Cup duty in the Faroe Islands in September that left him sidelined for five weeks.

When Saha returned to first team action at Birmingham on October 16, he hoped his fitness worries were at an end. Instead, just six games into his comeback, he finds himself out again after coming off worst in a challenge during Wednesday's friendly draw with Poland.

"It is not good news," confirmed Queiroz. "He is going to be out for between three and four weeks.

"It is a problem we could have done without because we have a very intense period of games coming up and we expected Louis to be heavily involved.

"The only good thing is that it is not the same problem as before."

There is better news about Ruud van Nistelrooy though after he reported for training showing few ill-effects for the hip injury that forced him to limp off during the first half of Holland's World Cup win over Andorra.

With Saha sidelined, Van Nistelrooy seems set to keep his place in the side that tackles Charlton at Old Trafford tomorrow looking to maintain the momentum created by last weekend's excellent win at Newcastle.

It will not be an unchanged line-up though as Ferguson looks to keep his side fresh ahead of his 1000th game in charge, Tuesday's Champions League encounter with Lyon.

Wayne Rooney could be stood down, not for his display of petulance in Madrid, but in order to give Alan Smith a rare appearance, while Cristiano Ronaldo's place is in doubt as Ryan Giggs prepares for a first-team return.

"We picked up a couple of knocks on Wednesday but we believe everything is under control," said Queiroz.

"But there will probably be one or two changes, not because we have serious problems but because we need to think about Lyon."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/manu/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/19/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Nightlead.html&TEAMHD=manu&DIV=prem&TEAM=MANCHESTER--UNITED&RH=Manchester--United&PREV_SEASON=2003

Ronaldo7
20-11-2004, 11:10 AM
ya , i was refering to the lineup that started against newcastle :s22:

RVN
20-11-2004, 11:12 AM
UNITED DUO DEFEND ROONEY

Gary Neville and Carlos Queiroz have joined forces to launch a fierce defence of under-fire England striker Wayne Rooney.

The 19-year-old was embarrassingly substituted before half-time against Spain on Wednesday after a series of incidents that left Sven-Goran Eriksson fearing Rooney might end up getting sent off.

Condemnation of Rooney's antics has been massive, particularly his push on Iker Casillas which nearly sent the Spanish keeper hurtling into the crowd.

But Neville sees no reason why he should pull his Manchester United team-mate aside for a quiet word, while Red Devils number two Queiroz believes the uproar just offers more evidence of a co-ordinated anti-United campaign.

"I cannot accept Rooney has emerged as the bad guy from the game," said Queiroz, who returned as Sir Alex Ferguson's assistant last summer after an ill-fated season with Real Madrid.

"There were tackles far more ugly than Wayne's and it is wrong that he is the only one being picked out."

In the immediate aftermath of Rooney's substitution, Ashley Cole and Frank Lampard both made vicious tackles on Spanish players, yet Queiroz believes they are now being conveniently ignored, just as the indiscretions of Thierry Henry and Dennis Bergkamp were brushed aside and Ruud van Nistelrooy's was not in the recent 'Battle of Old Trafford II'.

"I don't want to put wood on the fire because every moment we spend talking about what happened on Wednesday is a waste of time, but just because no-one talks about the other tackles doesn't mean they didn't happen," added Queiroz.

"It just appears that if people are looking for a bad guy, he has to come from Manchester United.

"It was the same three weeks ago when we played Arsenal. Ruud became the bad guy in that game, while everyone else was portrayed as a nice guy."

Queiroz did admit Rooney would learn a valuable lesson from Wednesday's experience, although in Neville the teenager has at least one staunch supporter.

The veteran England full-back has been involved in some feisty encounters during his 73-cap international career and his running feud with Arsenal's Jose Reyes was a feature of Wednesday night's encounter.

But at no stage did Neville feel any of Rooney's tackles deserved the mass of criticism that has been heaped upon the £27million former Everton man over the last 48 hours.

In fact, if it had been a Premiership encounter, the 29-year-old does not think Rooney would even have received a yellow card.

"Wayne has now been booked twice in 20 games for England, so why do people feel the need to start talking about his temperament," said the outspoken Bury-born star.

"Yes, he nudged the keeper in the back but if that had happened in the Premier League, he probably wouldn't even have been booked. Everyone would have just gone back up the pitch and got on with the game.

"The next two tackles were the type you see every week but the fans got up because their players were throwing themselves about and then the referee didn't handle it properly."

Neville also thinks Rooney is suffering because of an over-reaction to any story involving what he thinks has turned into an 'England circus'.

Last month it was David Beckham's 'intentional' foul on Ben Thatcher, last year it was the threatened strike over Rio Ferdinand's axing from Eriksson's squad. Now, just five months after he was being feted as one of the best players to have worn the three lions on his chest, it is Rooney in the firing line.

"People get carried away with England," said Neville.

"It is like a circus every time we play, it seems to be anything but the game itself every time we go away.

"Why are people not looking at everybody else? Wayne Rooney has been built up and that is why he is the focus of all the attention now.

"He is a young lad, a forward who gets back and tackles, which is a good thing.

"But every little thing - and I am not talking about racism - gets blown out of all proportion with England. It can be players' behaviour or just a booking and people have to accept that.

"I don't think it is a case of anyone helping Wayne. Why do we have to help him? I don't believe it is an issue."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/manu/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/19/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Rooney.html&TEAMHD=manu&DIV=prem&TEAM=MANCHESTER--UNITED&RH=Manchester--United&PREV_SEASON=2003

cutieboy86
20-11-2004, 11:34 AM
Wenger hails Ferguson

Arsene Wenger has ailed Sir Alex Ferguson as one of the greatest British managers of all time as the Manchester United boss approaches his 1,000th game in charge at Old Trafford.
Wenger put aside his rivalry with the United manager to congratulate him on the forthcoming record, which he will set in next Tuesday's Champions League tie against Lyon.

On hearing of Ferguson's impending landmark, the Arsenal boss joked: 'I'll be celebrating all week!'

Wenger then added: 'Seriously, no matter what kind of differences we have, that is a fantastic achievement.

'I don't know all the history - but he's certainly one of the greatest British managers, with what he's done. Of course, I respect him for that.'

haha... wenger praisin SAF... lol... tot he hate SAF

chengsun
20-11-2004, 11:39 AM
Aiyah, this is PR, public relationship, say must of coz say this way mah, who knows wat he think in his mind?

kahmun7
20-11-2004, 11:41 AM
:s11:

He has already complete his suspension. :s8:
oh yeah.. I kept on forgetting bout that Carling Cup match..
well guess there's high chances of Smith and Rooney partnering tonight then

cutieboy86
20-11-2004, 12:08 PM
ya since saha is injured and ruud may be rested for wed match

vivre
20-11-2004, 01:53 PM
Wenger hails Ferguson
the Arsenal boss joked: 'I'll be celebrating all week!'

haha... wenger praisin SAF... lol... tot he hate SAF

Wah lau.... He say until damn sarcastic....

ralliart_ray
20-11-2004, 06:57 PM
later manU vs charlton is 8.40pm?

MatrixFanatic
20-11-2004, 08:05 PM
later manU vs charlton is 8.40pm?

Threadstarter has spoken... again. :s13:

Yes 8.40pm

AhHuat
20-11-2004, 08:44 PM

Threadstarter has spoken... again. :s13:

Yes 8.40pm
knns....8.44pm now liao leh..
still showing farking golf.....sibei sian :s27:

or issit star sports? LMAO :o

kengbeng
20-11-2004, 08:45 PM
Man Utd: Carroll, Brown, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Fortune, Fletcher, Keane, Scholes, Giggs, Rooney, van Nistelrooy.
Subs: Howard, Phil Neville, Ronaldo, Smith, O'Shea.

Charlton: Kiely, Young, Perry, El Karkouri, Hreidarsson, Kishishev, Holland, Murphy, Thomas, Bartlett, Johansson.
Subs: Euell, Jeffers, Andersen, Konchesky, Fortune.

kengbeng
20-11-2004, 08:45 PM
knns....8.44pm now liao leh..
still showing farking golf.....sibei sian :s27:

or issit star sports? LMAO :o
Channel 24, not 23.

kengbeng
20-11-2004, 09:33 PM
1-0 at halftime. Giggs scored off a deflection.

Kyubi
20-11-2004, 09:36 PM
aiya .. i thought 955 start ... miss the first half .. sh1t ... but nvm .. haha giggs score .. lolz

newbie_rulz
20-11-2004, 09:53 PM
Felt that ManYoo could bang in a few more goals.. RVN looks abit rusty.. If Jonathan Johannson was a lethal striker, 3 goals conceded lo .. :s22:

Kyubi
20-11-2004, 09:56 PM
scholes finally scored!!! wahhaha gd job!

RVN
20-11-2004, 10:43 PM
Ful Time: 2-0 Not a great game but a very important win in buliding our confidence and unlike last season we are not conceding many goals. Great to see Scholes opening his goal account. ;)

Ronaldo7
20-11-2004, 11:15 PM
fletcher look good in the 2nd half . great goal by scholes btw :s8:

MatrixFanatic
20-11-2004, 11:23 PM
What a boring match. :s22: Manutd played a relaxed style.

Next up! Against WBA. Must win! (excluding CL match)

cutieboy86
20-11-2004, 11:45 PM
not an excitin match and tt's i agree... but at least we are scorin goals nw and our backline is not concedin alot of goals... if tis carry on, the players' confidence will grow and play even beta and we could build on a string of wins like last time... great to see giggs and scholes score and open their premier league scorin account... hope more to cum frm scholes as long time no see him score le... today he scored a nice goal...

cutieboy86
21-11-2004, 12:50 AM
Scholes Relieved To End Goal Drought

Paul Scholes revealed his relief at finally ending his goal drought following his strike in United's 2-0 win over Charlton.

The Reds midfielder had not found the back of the net since United's FA Cup semi-final victory over Arsenal back in April.

But he was delighted to be back amongst the goals again as United secured a second consecutive Premiership victory.

"It's been a while coming and I enjoyed it when it happened," Scholes told Sky Sports.

"I've had a few chances over the last few weeks and I felt that the goal was getting closer and closer.

"I was getting chances but I just could not score - I don't know what was happening.

"It was a sharp chance today so I had no time to think about - it's when you have time to think about it that problems can arise."

United's victory was their second league win in as many games following the 3-1 triumph over Newcastle last weekend.

The Reds still find themselves some way behind pace-setters Arsenal and Chelsea, but Scholes insists the team will not be giving up on the title race just yet.

"In the last few weeks the team have been getting better and hopefully now we can get better and better," he explained.

"We've got six players who can score goals and it was frustrating when we weren't scoring enough goals, but hopefully that is getting better.

"We never think we're out of the title race no matter how many points we are behind. We'll always give it a go and we'll never stop trying."

Report by Gemma Thompson.

guoquanyap
21-11-2004, 01:01 AM
oh yeah arsenal draw...it's time to close the gap... :s12: wooo...fergie 999th matches in charged on MAnu....i salute him.... :)

kengbeng
21-11-2004, 01:23 AM
Chelsea drew too. :D

RVN
21-11-2004, 01:30 AM
9 points from the top, still a big gap, but we could still catch them now we got to keep on winning our matches. :)

alvinoyw
21-11-2004, 01:32 AM
Dammit Rooney could have gotten a hattrick, oh well it was a good performance from us.

kahmun7
21-11-2004, 01:40 AM
we won and we kept a clean sheet...while Arsenal and Chelsea both drew... Good weekend for us..

Kyubi
21-11-2004, 01:52 AM
yeah .. we earn 2 pts .. its winter time soon .. chiong ar man u

cutter
21-11-2004, 01:58 AM
eh... u all dun notice that Everton and Boro are also ahead of Man Utd ah? Heng I never put money on Chelsea and the Arse... odds for Utd was crap so not worth too... but I tio for Everton (1.90) and Boro (2.30)... $$$$ + Utd gaining 2 pts on the evil Londoners :D

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:05 AM
If it doesn't happen I will kill you. :D
NOW I KILL U BABY

RVN
21-11-2004, 02:06 AM
Everton suprise package. :look:

Wtf, we are 5 points behind Everton. :eek:

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:07 AM
after e match i really dun wish giggs to depart, he juz too gd, dunno how fergie think

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:07 AM
Everton suprise package. :look:

Wtf, we are 5 points behind Everton. :eek:
gd result what, i won money haha

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:09 AM
eh... u all dun notice that Everton and Boro are also ahead of Man Utd ah? Heng I never put money on Chelsea and the Arse... odds for Utd was crap so not worth too... but I tio for Everton (1.90) and Boro (2.30)... $$$$ + Utd gaining 2 pts on the evil Londoners :D
i tio everton 1.70 onli but heng won on chelsea and arsenal 5.80 draw

RVN
21-11-2004, 02:10 AM
The 2 goals against Charlton. :)

Here's Scholes' goal in GIF version:

http://members.westnet.com.au/itsu/images/...oal2scholes.gif (http://members.westnet.com.au/itsu/images/utdgoal2scholes.gif)

and Giggs' goal as well:

http://members.westnet.com.au/itsu/images/utdgoal1.gif

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:11 AM
bro RVN, wat u think of rooney, today he like bveri off formmmm

RVN
21-11-2004, 02:13 AM
bro RVN, wat u think of rooney, today he like bveri off formmmm

He was definitely a little "off" this game ,but he did try hard.

Wish he had scored one out of those 3-4 chances though.

cutter
21-11-2004, 02:25 AM
i tio everton 1.70 onli but heng won on chelsea and arsenal 5.80 draw

wah so good ah? I happy enough to open one of my old stock of Johnnie Blacks (20+ year old) with my little winnings :D....

wes
21-11-2004, 02:36 AM
tis kinda week is long overdue...we finally taken adv of chelsea & arsenal's slip..
oso happy dat liverpool lost...haha

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 02:39 AM
tis kinda week is long overdue...we finally taken adv of chelsea & arsenal's slip..
oso happy dat liverpool lost...haha
wa lau, liv lose u oso happy, they offend u meh

cutter
21-11-2004, 03:06 AM
Liverpool are Man Utd's second deadly enemy mah... in between Man City and Leeds Utd... Man City's lack of threat in recent decades has made Liverpool the higher profile deadly rival to poke fun/exchange insults with ;P :D

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 03:09 AM
Liverpool are Man Utd's second deadly enemy mah... in between Man City and Leeds Utd... Man City's lack of threat in recent decades has made Liverpool the higher profile deadly rival to poke fun/exchange insults with ;P :D
i think mc even more threat then liv

ralliart_ray
21-11-2004, 07:28 AM
wah got 1 scholes volley damn chio...but the keeper saved it...
2-0 is a good score...nice to see scholes n giggs on the scoresheet

RuMmYtUb
21-11-2004, 09:25 AM
Decent result.

Adding insult to injury, Utd's main 3 rivals all faltering this weekend :D

Ch3tah_39
21-11-2004, 10:35 AM
not bad.. 3pts... woot... arsenal draw, chelsea draw... wahahaha

cutieboy86
21-11-2004, 10:49 AM
haha... the threadstarter has started to tok for the 3rd time... nw we haf close the gap to 9 pts, it's time to chiong and get back to the top and hope the top 2 drop even more pts...

deathblade
21-11-2004, 10:50 AM
Ok OT a bit, will the Man U fans kindly advise United Treble to not post in other's thread to gloat when there are results going your way? Man U had faltered quite a bit early on and we did not come in here to INFORMED u guys how great it is that we have won and u have not.... Its quite tastless to do so and gives Man U fans in general a bad name.

While i wil not start a war due to this, there are quite a few passionate people in our thread who may start a flame war due to this. My qn to Man U fans is, is that wat u want? While u are welcome to make constructive opinions in our thread, try not to make posts that are potentially anatongising and do not do stuff that give others a poor impression of the fans of Man U in general. Thanks.

PS. To United Treble, pls grow up. U kinda sia sway Man United fans. No?

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 10:50 AM
haha... the threadstarter has started to tok for the 3rd time... nw we haf close the gap to 9 pts, it's time to chiong and get back to the top and hope the top 2 drop even more pts...
yes man........

MatrixFanatic
21-11-2004, 10:54 AM
Ok OT a bit, will the Man U fans kindly advise United Treble to not post in other's thread to gloat when there are results going your way? Man U had faltered quite a bit early on and we did not come in here to INFORMED u guys how great it is that we have won and u have not.... Its quite tastless to do so and gives Man U fans in general a bad name.

While i wil not start a war due to this, there are quite a few passionate people in our thread who may start a flame war due to this. My qn to Man U fans is, is that wat u want? While u are welcome to make constructive opinions in our thread, try not to make posts that are potentially anatongising and do not do stuff that give others a poor impression of the fans of Man U in general. Thanks.

Psst... I don't see him as a Manutd fan. :D

MatrixFanatic
21-11-2004, 10:55 AM

Ever since he has spoken after the Newcastle match, Manutd won 2 times in a row liao. :s13: NExt week vs WBA confirm win liao. :s12:

Ronaldo7
21-11-2004, 10:55 AM
match highlights

http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mufc.avi

credit : redcafe :s12:

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 10:56 AM

i not mu fan, i got wrong meh, i juz apeak the truth in other thread leh

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 10:57 AM
Ever since he has spoken after the Newcastle match, Manutd won 2 times in a row liao. :s13: NExt week vs WBA confirm win liao. :s12:
soccer where gt cfm win, is high% winning

MatrixFanatic
21-11-2004, 11:37 AM
soccer where gt cfm win, is high% winning

Hello? I'm just having a joke. :s22:

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 11:38 AM
Hello? I'm just having a joke. :s22:
i accept ur joke

Ch3tah_39
21-11-2004, 11:41 AM
match highlights

http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mufc.avi

credit : redcafe :s12:

thank you very much... :D

JirQUEST
21-11-2004, 12:42 PM

dude, we discredit him as much as u discredit flinchy :P

RuMmYtUb
21-11-2004, 01:15 PM

:s13: :s13:
Wahaha

RVN
21-11-2004, 01:24 PM
Fergie tell Glazer to back off

We don’t want the club in anyone else’s hands’

SIR ALEX FERGUSON has dealt a serious blow to the attempt by the American tycoon Malcolm Glazer to take over Manchester United, writes Jonathan Northcroft. “We don’t want the club to be in anyone else’s hands,” the United manager says, breaking his silence on the long-running controversy.
Ferguson’s stance will come as a severe disappointment to the Glazer camp, whose last remaining hope of changing supporter opposition to the bid had been to get him to come onside. Through intermediaries, they had made overtures to him and even last week were optimistic they could persuade him to issue a statement of support for Glazer in return, perhaps, for an enhanced contract or guaranteed future role at Old Trafford.

By nailing his colours to the mast, however, Ferguson has dashed those hopes. Glazer, still reeling after the investment bank and public relations firm he had been using disassociated themselves from his bid following his decision to disrupt United’s annual meeting on November 12, must further regroup.

The vast majority of United fans, marshalled by a campaign of the influential Shareholders United group, are against Glazer’s plan to buy their club through borrowing against future ticket sales and take it back into private ownership. The United board also opposes the scheme.

Ferguson said: “I have always tried to be the bridge between the club and the fans. I have tried to support the fans in a lot of their pleas and causes. It’s important for the club to recognise the fans. We are a special club in that respect. Sometimes we can get too emotional with things that are happening (but) I think there is a good balance to it now. When the plc started, there were grave doubts about it — I had them myself — but I think the supporters have come round to that.” In an interview with his club’s website, published online today, Ferguson added: “There’s a stronger rapport between the club and the fans than there’s ever been. We are both of a common denominator; we don’t want the club to be in anyone else’s hands. That is the way that the club stands with that. I support that.”

Meanwhile, the Labour MP Phil Woolas, a patron of Shareholders United, has called on Patricia Hewitt, the trade and industry secretary, to ask America’s Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) for details of its investigation into Glazer. The SEC, which declined to comment, is looking into price movements in Zapata Corp, a company controlled by the Glazer family. In 2002, shares in Zapata soared on takeover speculation.

In his 999th competitive match as United manager, Ferguson saw his team beat Charlton 2-0 at Old Trafford yesterday and move up to fifth in the Barclays Premiership, thanks to goals from Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes. The result helped them gain ground on the leaders, with Chelsea only drawing 2-2 at home to Bolton after leading 2-0 and champions Arsenal surprisingly held 1-1 at Highbury by lowly West Brom.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2093-1368054,00.html

cracker
21-11-2004, 01:26 PM

the yr-end school holiday has begun !!!

cutieboy86
21-11-2004, 02:14 PM
yeah... scholes's goal last nite was provided by fletcher gd cross... last wk, his cross led to a nice goal by rooney... tis wk his cross led to a perfect scissor kick goal by scholes...haha... if every wk his cross will led to a goal by our player, it will be gd...haha

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 04:56 PM
yeah... scholes's goal last nite was provided by fletcher gd cross... last wk, his cross led to a nice goal by rooney... tis wk his cross led to a perfect scissor kick goal by scholes...haha... if every wk his cross will led to a goal by our player, it will be gd...haha
u think every day sunday ah

cutieboy86
21-11-2004, 05:04 PM
u think every day sunday ah

i juz sayin for a joke mah... if it happen it is a gd ting wat.... if not, there are still many other players hu can provide the goals

United_Treble
21-11-2004, 05:09 PM
i juz sayin for a joke mah... if it happen it is a gd ting wat.... if not, there are still many other players hu can provide the goals
hope that rooney find his form back

Ronaldo7
21-11-2004, 05:54 PM
lyon is next . fergie's 1000th game in charge :)

pale
21-11-2004, 06:23 PM

Ppl like him give us a bad name :D

RVN
21-11-2004, 07:10 PM
Neville: Lyon will pose real test

http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/26864.jpg

Gary Neville has warned Manchester United they must be at their "very best" to beat Lyon in Tuesday's Champions League clash at Old Trafford.

Though United have not set the world on fire in Premiership combat this season, they have remained consistent in Europe.

Two comfortable home wins, added to a couple of away draws has left them on the brink of a place in the last 16, with the aim on Tuesday to complete the job, allowing Sir Alex Ferguson the luxury of granting some of his key men a break instead of embarking on the draining last-day trip to Turkey where Fenerbahce lie in wait.

Though United have not been beaten in Champions League combat at Old Trafford for over three years, Neville is warning his team-mates not to take victory over Lyon for granted.

The French side put the Red Devils through a torrid first 45 minutes in their opening group game, establishing a two-goal lead before a quickfire Ruud van Nistelrooy brace brought United back on level terms.

They remain the only points Lyon have dropped in the tournament so far and though Claudio Capapa, Sylvain Wiltord, Giovane Elber and Gregory Coupet have already been ruled out, they remain difficult opposition.

"The first 45 minutes in Lyon was probably the worst we have played all season," admitted Neville.

"But we did come back and show good spirit character, something that we have continued to show throughout the season.

"We are not trying to gloss over things but for everybody saying we have been on a terrible run, we have only lost two matches.

"But we realise we have a difficult job on Tuesday because Lyon are a very good team.

"They got to the quarter-finals last year and we have to make sure we are at our very best.

"We have produced some of our best form at home in Europe this season and we hope to be able to do that on Tuesday.

"Our main goal on Tuesday is to secure qualification for the latter stages of the European Cup.

"Any trip to Turkey is difficult and we wouldn't want to go there needing to draw. We would like to have it tied up on Tuesday night."

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_175760,00.html

Expect G.Neville, Heinze and Ronaldo to return for this match after they were all rested. ;)

wes
21-11-2004, 10:38 PM
wa lau, liv lose u oso happy, they offend u meh

if u noe football u shld noe they r one of our rivals

wes
21-11-2004, 10:43 PM

juz ignore those black sheeps :)

RVN
22-11-2004, 09:20 AM
It say we will sell Giggs in the summer and buy either Solari or Downing. :s8:

Solari heading to Old Trafford in the summer?

Real Madrid wide man Santiago Solari is reportedly heading for Old Trafford as Sir Alex Ferguson continues his search for a long term replacement for Ryan Giggs.

As previously suggested by skysports.com, the talented 28-year-old is high on the wish-list of Ferguson and could be a summer arrival at Manchester United.

Solari has struggled to hold down a regular starting berth in the Spanish capital, but is well regarded by both team-mates and fans alike at El Santiago Bernabeu.

The player has spent the previous four seasons at Real Madrid and tellingly, played under United assistant boss Carlos Queiroz last term.

Queiroz is a known admirer of the Argentine, who in the past, has conceded that he was flattered by the attention showed to him by the Premiership giants.

The United board have already informed Ferguson that finances will be tight in the summer - a situation that could lend itself to a move for Solari, as he will be out of contract in Madrid.

Speculation persists as Giggs is currently stalling on an offer of a one-year contract extension to his current deal that runs until 2006.

The Welsh winger believes he is worth at least a two-year deal, but has seen himself out of favour in the past month, as Ferguson has elected to shuffle his pack.

Damien Duff has previously been linked with a move to United, but a more likely target appears to be Middlesbrough starlet Stuart Downing - who has been in such irrepressible form for the North East club this term.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=239219&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=3&title=Fergie+eyes+Solari+swoop

JirQUEST
22-11-2004, 10:10 AM
Ppl like him give us a bad name :D
yeah loh.... bloody yao siew :mad:

kahmun7
22-11-2004, 10:31 AM

Real Madrid wide man Santiago Solari is reportedly heading for Old Trafford as Sir Alex Ferguson continues his search for a long term replacement for Ryan Giggs.

As previously suggested by skysports.com, the talented 28-year-old is high on the wish-list of Ferguson and could be a summer arrival at Manchester United.

Solari has struggled to hold down a regular starting berth in the Spanish capital, but is well regarded by both team-mates and fans alike at El Santiago Bernabeu.

The player has spent the previous four seasons at Real Madrid and tellingly, played under United assistant boss Carlos Queiroz last term.

Queiroz is a known admirer of the Argentine, who in the past, has conceded that he was flattered by the attention showed to him by the Premiership giants.

The United board have already informed Ferguson that finances will be tight in the summer - a situation that could lend itself to a move for Solari, as he will be out of contract in Madrid.

Speculation persists as Giggs is currently stalling on an offer of a one-year contract extension to his current deal that runs until 2006.

The Welsh winger believes he is worth at least a two-year deal, but has seen himself out of favour in the past month, as Ferguson has elected to shuffle his pack.

Damien Duff has previously been linked with a move to United, but a more likely target appears to be Middlesbrough starlet Stuart Downing - who has been in such irrepressible form for the North East club this term.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=239219&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=3&title=Fergie+eyes+Solari+swoop
Dun think Solari, a "28 year old" can be a "long term" replacement for Giggs...

cutieboy86
22-11-2004, 10:33 AM
yup... solari can onli play a few more yrs nia... downing could be possible

cutieboy86
22-11-2004, 11:10 AM
Rooney enjoys his revenge
Wayne Rooney, branded a national disgrace on Wednesday, was acclaimed a local hero yesterday after returning to his home turf of Old Trafford and helping Manchester United back into the title race. Rooney, desperate to silence the critics who condemned him for angrily hurling away his black armband in Madrid five days ago, was on his best behaviour and his best form against a Charlton side who simply couldn't contain him. Paul Scholes took the honours with a wonder goal in the 2-0 win, but on the occasion of match 999 for Sir Alex Ferguson it was boy wonder Rooney who answered his SOS to make up for his Spanish shame.
Stephen Davies, Mail on Sunday

Arsenal and United's Ed race
Arsenal and Manchester United are locked in a battle to sign Fulham goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar. The Londoners are prepared to sell the Dutch international during the January transfer window for as little as £2m to prevent him walking out on a Bosman free transfer in the summer. His relationship with manager Chris Coleman has broken down after being axed in favour of Mark Crossley. Both Arsenal and United will be offered the keeper at a cut price in an attempt to reclaim part of the £7m Fulham paid Juventus in 2001. Van der Sar said: "Chris Coleman has told me that I am no longer needed in goal. There appears to be no logical reason for him to take this action. He could not even give me a reasonable explanation but he said he was going ahead with it anyway."
Paul Smith, Sunday Mirror

Inter to go for Giggs and Sol
Inter Milan are preparing a double swoop on Manchester United and Arsenal in a bid to take Ryan Giggs and Sol Campbell to Italy. The San Siro giants have been alerted by Giggs's decision to reject a one-year contract extension at Old Trafford as well as Campbell's failure to agree a new deal at Highbury. And they are prepared to offer the Premiership pair one final pay-day as they come to the end of their careers. Inter president Massimo Moratti is a long-term admirer of Giggs, but has so far been unable to persuade the Welsh international to quit.
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror

if inter succeed to get campbell, arsenal defence will be veri weak as u can see these few matches when they play w/o campbell...haha... but i dun tink giggs will leave though

Ronaldo7
22-11-2004, 11:17 AM
don't think inter will get both of them . most likely both of them will stay thou :s22:

kahmun7
22-11-2004, 11:20 AM
don't think inter will get both of them . most likely both of them will stay thou :s22:
Agreed. but wtf are we going after van der Sar for???

chengsun
22-11-2004, 11:31 AM
Agreed. but wtf are we going after van der Sar for???

totally agree, though he is good, but so old liao, just because he is cheap? to use as a back up?
y dun frey? cassilas? even toldo is better!

Ch3tah_39
22-11-2004, 11:31 AM

solari is very gd... skillful player... :)

cutieboy86
22-11-2004, 11:35 AM
man utd has been linked wif many goalkeepers, wonder which 1 is the truth.... but i tink Frey is gd too and he is not old

Ch3tah_39
22-11-2004, 11:35 AM
totally agree, though he is good, but so old liao, just because he is cheap? to use as a back up?
y dun frey? cassilas? even toldo is better!

keeper old never mind one..
if he gd can liao... :s7:

kahmun7
22-11-2004, 11:48 AM
solari is very gd... skillful player... :)
Solari is good, but too old, we need someone younger... Giggs is 31, Solari is only 3 years younger (I didn't know he is actually that old) , we need someone younger who can complement the young squad of the future.

Ch3tah_39
22-11-2004, 11:49 AM
Solari is good, but too old, we need someone younger... Giggs is 31, Solari is only 3 years younger (I didn't know he is actually that old) , we need someone younger who can complement the young squad of the future.

ya true also....

Ch3tah_39
22-11-2004, 11:51 AM
LONDON : Wayne Rooney's petulant display against Spain last week has prompted one of the game's elder statesmen Sir Bobby Robson to suggest the teenage England striker needs guidance rather than criticism.

The 19-year-old Manchester United prodigy was hauled off after a stormy first half at Madrid's Bernabeu stadium where he came within an ace of a red card after spiteful challenges on two Spanish players.

England coach Sven-Goran Eriksson substituted Rooney four minutes before the interval and as he trudged off the young star whose goals lit up Euro 2004 threw away the black armband which the team was wearing in honour of the memory of former England captain Emlyn Hughes.

Rooney came in for criticism in many quarters, and Robson believes the onus is on the experienced older heads at United, such as Gary Neville and Rio Ferdinand, to take him under their wing and make sure he receives guidance.

"He was out of control, petulant, although I've no doubt the Spanish defence were after him slightly," the former England manager told BBC Radio 5 on Sunday.

"But he is going to meet that every time he plays for the rest of his life. As a young kid, he just needs some guidance and some help.

"He is a wonder kid, a wonderful player with the stature and physique of a man in his mid-20s, rather than a 19-year-old.

"We have to harness this boy and look after him. He needs a lot of help from Sven and Sir Alex (Ferguson), although he will naturally get that, but also from the Manchester United players.

"The dressing room at any club is very important and some senior players have a great responsibility with young Rooney."

Commenting on the throwing away of the black armband robson said: "It wasn't a nice thing to do, and at the time when it happened, I thought 'son, you shouldn't do that'.

"Maybe his head wasn't on in that situation and he didn't mean it. I'm sure it was done through irritation and frustration.

"I just think it was an involuntary reaction by young Wayne. I don't think he meant it and I'm sure he had respect for Emlyn Hughes.

"But it's something we should talk to him about and warn him about, and then let it ride."

- AFP

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_sports/view/118312/1/.html

kengbeng
22-11-2004, 12:30 PM
Downing has great potential. :D

MatrixFanatic
22-11-2004, 12:49 PM
Scolari most likely coming liao... cos' Skysports quite zhun one. Maybe Fergie is going to buy him in order to bide his time and search for a young replacement for Ryan Giggs. Just my thoughts. :D

Totti76
22-11-2004, 02:26 PM
y not Van der Vaart..he may not hv a good Euro04..but i feel he is good. he can oso replace Scholes in furture...

MatrixFanatic
22-11-2004, 02:45 PM
y not Van der Vaart..he may not hv a good Euro04..but i feel he is good. he can oso replace Scholes in furture...

No moola.... :o

Totti76
22-11-2004, 05:11 PM
No moola.... :o
wat do u mean by no more?? i feel that he is good...not any worse than Robben..
futher more i think he can strike the ball better than giggsy

kahmun7
22-11-2004, 05:25 PM
i think he meant no moola as in no money... Fergie has been given an order to sell before he buys... who can he sell to raise enough cash for van der Vaart?

alvinoyw
22-11-2004, 05:27 PM
Totti76 reminds me of the real Totti if you get what I mean :)

usjag_18
22-11-2004, 05:51 PM

Please go ahead and do whatever thing you wanna to do to him. No one admit he's a manutd fan.

kahmun7
22-11-2004, 06:05 PM
why is his nick united_treble anyway? very misleading if he's a neutral supporter... make us look bad

usjag_18
22-11-2004, 06:15 PM
why is his nick united_treble anyway? very misleading if he's a neutral supporter... make us look bad
hahaha... mebbe becos he's an IDI*T

usjag_18
22-11-2004, 06:16 PM
i think he meant no moola as in no money... Fergie has been given an order to sell before he buys... who can he sell to raise enough cash for van der Vaart?
Dun buy now lor. Aiya, wait for a while more then see how larh. I dun think Man Utd will sell any players @ the moment.

MatrixFanatic
22-11-2004, 07:31 PM

He won a lot of moola through betting when United won the treble. That's why.

cutieboy86
22-11-2004, 08:29 PM
Plenty of life in the old-boy network
While Ryan Giggs insists he is in no hurry to quit Old Trafford he says Paul Scholes is in a rush - to make up for lost time in the goalscoring stakes. After marking his return to the starting line-up with a goal following three games on the bench, Giggs said: "We're just at the early stages of negotiations. I've got 18 months to go on my current deal so there is no rush, no hurry and no planning." Giggs, who has 609 appearances, will need at least three more seasons to top Sir Bobby Charlton's club record of 759. He added: "I want to finish my career with United. Hopefully I will just play on and get as close to Sir Bobby as I can."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express

Fergie: Ruud is my top dog
Alex Ferguson has hailed Ruud van Nistelrooy as the best striker he has worked with at Manchester United. Boss Fergie clocks up 1,000 games in charge against Lyon tomorrow. And he said: “Ruud has been the best finisher we have ever had at this club. We have had some brilliant centre-forwards at United like Eric Cantona. But Ruud has been the best for me.”
Staff reporter, The Sun

Schmeichel: Alex axed me
Peter Schmeichel has revealed how he was once sacked by Alex Ferguson after a dressing-room row. Schmeichel said: “I went too far during one run-in. It was after our 1994 New Year’s derby against Liverpool when we went 3-0 up in 24 minutes but they fought back to draw 3-3. It was my fault, that is what Fergie said, because all my goal-kicks had gone straight to Razor Ruddock. It was ridiculous and I reacted, giving him a lot of abuse. The following day he called me into his office and sacked me.” Ferguson, famous for his hair-dryer treatment of players which culminated in the notorious boot-in-the-face incident with David Beckham, called a team meeting where he told all the players. Schmeichel added: “Ferguson said what had happened in the Anfield dressing room was unacceptable. He left and I apologised to the other players. I said I was unprofessional. What I didn’t know was that he was listening behind the door. He gave me another chance and, as usual, bore no grudge.”
Vikki Orvice, The Sun

cutieboy86
22-11-2004, 08:33 PM
wah even schmeichel has receive tt treatment frm fergie... i tink if fergie nv listen behind the door, we will not haf be able to see our Great Dane schmeichel's heroics

Totti76
23-11-2004, 08:24 AM
Totti76 reminds me of the real Totti if you get what I mean :)
Ok i got the wrong msg..but u seem to hv a problem with that :s27: or may b with me

Totti76
23-11-2004, 08:29 AM
ic...well..then rumours abt Scolari or Downing will b just a dream too... :o

RVN
23-11-2004, 08:40 AM
Gravesen next, Phil in swap deal?

ALEX FERGUSON wants to swap Phil Neville for £2million Everton ace Thomas Gravesen.

Fergie, who tonight celebrates his 1,000th game as Manchester United boss against Lyon, is desperate to add more steel to his midfield.

Contact has been made between United and Everton to register Ferguson’s interest in the Danish midfielder, 28, who has refused to sign a new deal at Goodison Park.

He will become a free agent in June and Fergie, who has already been told he will have to sell before he can buy, is ready to offer Neville, 27, in a cash/swap deal.

He has started just four of the 23 games this season despite signing a new four-year deal in the summer.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004541686,00.html

kengbeng
23-11-2004, 09:08 AM
Don't mind Gravesen, he's good. But seeing that this news comes from The Sun, :rolleyes: :s8:

kahmun7
23-11-2004, 09:44 AM
Gravesen next, Phil in swap deal?

ALEX FERGUSON wants to swap Phil Neville for £2million Everton ace Thomas Gravesen.

Fergie, who tonight celebrates his 1,000th game as Manchester United boss against Lyon, is desperate to add more steel to his midfield.

Contact has been made between United and Everton to register Ferguson’s interest in the Danish midfielder, 28, who has refused to sign a new deal at Goodison Park.

He will become a free agent in June and Fergie, who has already been told he will have to sell before he can buy, is ready to offer Neville, 27, in a cash/swap deal.

He has started just four of the 23 games this season despite signing a new four-year deal in the summer.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004541686,00.html
too old.... not worth it.

Totti76
23-11-2004, 09:58 AM
too old.... not worth it.
Agree with u...Phil is not in the 1st team..Gravesen comes then who is he gg to replace.. Keano?? I think Kleberson is worry liao... :s22:

Ronaldo7
23-11-2004, 10:53 AM
Don't mind Gravesen, he's good. But seeing that this news comes from The Sun, :rolleyes: :s8:

agreed . he is good , but don't think it's worth to offer p.neville for him . maybe djembax2 + bellion ? :s13:

alvinoyw
23-11-2004, 12:32 PM
agreed . he is good , but don't think it's worth to offer p.neville for him . maybe djembax2 + bellion ? :s13:

No way man I wouldn't trade those 2 for him! Sure, they are worthless but they're not S-league players :s8:

kahmun7
23-11-2004, 12:41 PM
djemba2 yes, Bellion I would keep.. especially not with a much older player.

Ch3tah_39
23-11-2004, 12:57 PM
No way man I wouldn't trade those 2 for him! Sure, they are worthless but they're not S-league players :s8:

they worthless mehz? :s8:

cutieboy86
23-11-2004, 02:01 PM
yar... i would rather keep Djemba^2 and bellion than trade them off for an old player

alvinoyw
23-11-2004, 02:14 PM
they worthless mehz? :s8:

Not Bellion, he was usefel when we didn't have any strikers and scored 4 in 9 games. But now all our strikers our back his future looks bleak. Lots of mid-table clubs would be fighting for his signature. As for Djemba Djemba I think only lower division clubs want him, that pattern king.

kahmun7
23-11-2004, 02:20 PM
I think Bellion will be useful in the future... he's still young.. think only 22-23... not as young as Rooney, but he's got pace...

Beta_Tester
23-11-2004, 02:23 PM
Bellion stil can keep lahz..At least he;s quite a gd striker n young..Hot Prospect for the Future.Hehe

usjag_18
23-11-2004, 06:19 PM
Ermm, I dun think need to use P.Neville or Djemba^2, and D.Bellion to trade for T.Gravsen. Just paid them 1m enuff liao. 1m is mroe than enuff lor... Last time when we bought E.Cantona also that price. But still the price last time is much more than now.(i think so, i just read my exam not long ago).

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
23-11-2004, 06:19 PM
Ermm, I dun think need to use P.Neville or Djemba^2, and D.Bellion to trade for T.Gravsen. Just paid them 1m enuff liao. 1m is mroe than enuff lor... Last time when we bought E.Cantona also that price. But still the price last time is much more than now.(i think so, i just read my exam not long ago).

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
23-11-2004, 06:21 PM
I think Bellion will be useful in the future... he's still young.. think only 22-23... not as young as Rooney, but he's got pace...
he's 22 this year, next yr then 23 yrs old. Same age as me. old liao... *SIGH*

RuMmYtUb
23-11-2004, 07:18 PM
Buy Steward Downing ? :D

alvinoyw
23-11-2004, 07:21 PM
Buy Steward Downing ? :D

Moolah?

10 char

cutieboy86
23-11-2004, 07:21 PM
Dons win was my No.1 match
Few people would guess the game Sir Alex Ferguson rates as the most memorable of his Manchester United reign. It's not the Treble-clinching 1999 Champions League final but a trip to Selhurst Park in 1994. The United boss said: "The one that sticks out for me is going to Wimbledon for an FA Cup tie in 1994. Nobody who was there will ever forget the heights we reached. We won 3-0 and we were magnificent. We looked invincible that day."
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror

guoquanyap
23-11-2004, 11:19 PM
wat a joke!! fergie 1,000th game in charge and chn5 and espn not showing.... :s27:

Kyubi
23-11-2004, 11:37 PM
wat a joke!! fergie 1,000th game in charge and chn5 and espn not showing.... :s27:
espn showing wat .. 6am .. i checked yesterday frm my starhub tv teletext .. unless they change again

guoquanyap
23-11-2004, 11:45 PM
espn showing wat .. 6am .. i checked yesterday frm my starhub tv teletext .. unless they change again

that is delayed telecast... :s27:

Kyubi
23-11-2004, 11:46 PM
oh .. so its not live ?

vivre
24-11-2004, 12:00 AM

Hehe... Australia's ESPN showing Man Utd live...

Real Madrid's match is delayed.. =:p

RVN
24-11-2004, 06:02 AM
2-1 man utd win

through to the last 16 of the UCL. :)

MatrixFanatic
24-11-2004, 06:58 AM
Carroll made a mistake, for the first time???

Time to bring in Howard. :s13:

RVN
24-11-2004, 07:10 AM
Carroll made a mistake, for the first time???

Time to bring in Howard. :s13:

He done a Taibi howler. :s27:

don't think should drop him though, he still save us matches before. ;)

alvinoyw
24-11-2004, 08:07 AM
Just watched the match, and wow, this is the BEST performance from us this season. Our defence did to Lyon what we did to Charlton last week, giving them almost no shots on target. Carroll had nothing to do the whole match, well except to pick up the back from the back of the net.
We could have thrashed them with that performance, considering the number of chances we created. The passing and linkups were superb, almost like those from 1999. Everyone did very very well, esp Ronaldo and Keane. If we can replicate this performance week in week out, we'll be able to match Barce and Juve and finally take back the CL after so many years of fustration.

cracker
24-11-2004, 08:33 AM
Just watched the match, and wow, this is the BEST performance from us this season. Our defence did to Lyon what we did to Charlton last week, giving them almost no shots on target. Carroll had nothing to do the whole match, well except to pick up the back from the back of the net.
We could have thrashed them with that performance, considering the number of chances we created. The passing and linkups were superb, almost like those from 1999. Everyone did very very well, esp Ronaldo and Keane. If we can replicate this performance week in week out, we'll be able to match Barce and Juve and finally take back the CL after so many years of fustration.

i was impressed with every1 effort..esp towards the last few min when Keane was limping ard.....all went back to help out in the defence...

Correct me if I am wrong...was Ruud's header, for the second goal, his first attempt on goal ??? also kudo to ferdinand in providing the cross.

most of the goal attempts were from rooney, scholes, ronaldo and smith.

Smith is being used as an attacking midfield by SAF...he was practically everywhere just like Keane.

RVN
24-11-2004, 08:53 AM
Fergie hails Ruud and United fans

Fergie Pleased To Win In 1,000th Match

http://tinyurl.com/6sr4l

Sir Alex Ferguson celebrated his 1,000th match in charge by hailing the club's fans as "fantastic" and Ruud van Nistelrooy as "unbelievable".

Ruud grabbed his eighth European goal of the season, while United's supporters gave Ferguson a fitting ovation, paying homage to his 1000 games as Reds boss.

"We had a lot of composure in our game," he told ITV Sport. "Of course, it was that man who scored again. He is unbelievable. I was really pleased."

Two defenders played crucial roles in both of United's goals - Gary Neville rifling in the opener, while Rio Ferdinand's trickery in the Lyon box and pin-point cross provided the chance for van Nistelrooy to extend his European goal haul to 34.

"Rio even beat men, got to the byline and chipped in a cross," said a surprised Ferguson. "But, he has got the great skill.

"Lyon were undefeated this season before they came here," added the boss. "It takes a lot to beat teams that are undefeated."

Ferguson admitted that there was a certain element of apprehension leading up to this milestone fixture, his 1,000th in charge of the club.

"I wouldn't say there was any pressure, but there was a hope that everything would fall into place because that isn't always possible in life."

Sir Alex left the final word for United's fans, who gave the boss numerous standing ovations and sang his name throughout the match.

"I was pleased with the fans' reaction tonight," beamed Ferguson. "They were fantastic and I am really proud of them."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=128330&itype=466&icategoryid=122

Ruud doubt for WBA match :(

Ruud Doubtful For Hawthorns Trip

http://tinyurl.com/4ej7a

Ruud van Nistelrooy may miss Saturday's trip to the Hawthorns to take on West Bromwich Albion due to a calf injury.

The Dutchman, who scored his eighth European goal of the season in Tuesday's 2-1 win over Lyon, was forced off in the second half suffering from a calf strain.

Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed after the match: "Ruud is feeling a bit of a calf strain. He was the same on Saturday, we had to take him off towards the end.

"We'll just have to have a look at it now and maybe leave him out on Saturday," he added.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=128351&itype=466&icategoryid=120

alvinoyw
24-11-2004, 09:01 AM
i was impressed with every1 effort..esp towards the last few min when Keane was limping ard.....all went back to help out in the defence...

Correct me if I am wrong...was Ruud's header, for the second goal, his first attempt on goal ??? also kudo to ferdinand in providing the cross.

most of the goal attempts were from rooney, scholes, ronaldo and smith.

Smith is being used as an attacking midfield by SAF...he was practically everywhere just like Keane.

Yeah I think it was his first, I think the rest had so many shots because Lyon were busy marking out RVN. I'm surprised how alert everyone was, every man utd player seemed to know where their teammates were. I also thought Wes Brown had a good game, got some nice passes going and almost scored within 1 min after he came on. And yes they really put in alot of effort for the Boss's 1000th.

vivre
24-11-2004, 09:29 AM
Man U vs Lyon full match BT Link (http://bt.ydy.com/torrent/MANUvsLYON-11.24-www.ydy.com.torrent) (with Mandarin commentating)

chengsun
24-11-2004, 09:41 AM
Yeah I think it was his first, I think the rest had so many shots because Lyon were busy marking out RVN. I'm surprised how alert everyone was, every man utd player seemed to know where their teammates were. I also thought Wes Brown had a good game, got some nice passes going and almost scored within 1 min after he came on. And yes they really put in alot of effort for the Boss's 1000th.

let's hope they can treat every game in the future like fergie's 1000!

Ch3tah_39
24-11-2004, 10:15 AM
woah.. sleep until now den wake up.... :s27:
yeah but gd that mn utd won.. woot :D

Ronaldo7
24-11-2004, 11:18 AM
good performance . another goal for ruud in the CL , raul better watch out :s31: agreed that we should stick with carroll in the next game . one mistake and you are out , abit harsh isn't it ? not forgetting those saves he made to bail us out . he has been excellent since he came in to replace howard . found this site where you can d/l highlight of man u matches

http://www.manumovies.co.uk/

Kyubi
24-11-2004, 12:26 PM
hahah very funny ... y rvn always score in CL .. EPL nth de :( btw juz now din watch the match .. not live de

cutter
24-11-2004, 12:38 PM
good all round performance. Ruud on the way to beat di Stefano's record.... Raul also scored to tie di Stefano's 49 Euro goals (made by Figo for a simple tap-in), but I cannot see him matching Ruud's strike rate.

Carroll can afford to make a bad mistake and still provide the Irish luck to a victory :D... unlike Barthez or Howard. During his time at the club, Utd has only lost twice in the EPL when Carroll played (both times 1-0 to Portsmouth :s27: ... equal blame to strikers for not at least scoring)... if you watch him closely, he is also very "verbal/mouthy" when ordering the defence around, working better with the defence unit... unlike the more quiet Howard.

btw Liverpool in crisis liao... LP drop :D :evil:

RVN
24-11-2004, 12:53 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40558000/jpg/_40558389_neville.jpg

Neville: Did I just score??

Scholes and Rooney : GOAL. YES! :s13:

vivre
24-11-2004, 01:04 PM

How come G. Neville doesn't look happy after scoring???

Isit he to shocked to show emotion?

Kyubi
24-11-2004, 01:10 PM
hahah too shocked ?? eh got repeat telecast ?

Yellowfin
24-11-2004, 02:59 PM
hahah too shocked ?? eh got repeat telecast ?

Yes, at 3pm today.

cracker
24-11-2004, 03:25 PM
How come G. Neville doesn't look happy after scoring???

Isit he to shocked to show emotion?

actually if u had watched the game...the way the camera captured the moment Nevile volleyed the ball .....I tot he had skied it !!!!! but the camera managed to move in time to show the ball was in the net...

I was abt to @#@#@#@# Nevile for missing a sitter.

Kyubi
24-11-2004, 03:31 PM
Yes, at 3pm today.
hahah thx i know le ... haha gary juz scored :P

Seals
24-11-2004, 03:41 PM
he started the moves sia... if only he score regularly like lee dixon...

actually if u had watched the game...the way the camera captured the moment Nevile volleyed the ball .....I tot he had skied it !!!!! but the camera managed to move in time to show the ball was in the net...

I was abt to @#@#@#@# Nevile for missing a sitter.

RVN
24-11-2004, 03:51 PM
****, injury struck again. :(

Ferguson has selection problems for the game at West Brom on Saturday.

Ruud van Nistelrooy (calf strain), Gary Neville (virus) and Ryan Giggs (hamstring) could all be struggling to take part.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/24/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer

Ch3tah_39
24-11-2004, 04:13 PM

Ruud van Nistelrooy (calf strain), Gary Neville (virus) and Ryan Giggs (hamstring) could all be struggling to take part.

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/11/24/SOCCER_Man_Utd_Ferguson.html&TEAMHD=soccer

woah... suay sial la... :s27:

RuMmYtUb
24-11-2004, 04:22 PM
I think Carroll should be able to maintain his place...

Or will it be Howard back at no. 1?

Kyubi
24-11-2004, 05:25 PM

wah sian .. hope all goes well that day :D

RVN
24-11-2004, 06:44 PM
Now there virus as well spreading in our camp. :eek: :s11:

Virus sweeping Old Trafford

The Neville brothers, Gary and Phil, are the latest to be effected even though one of them declared himself fit enough to face Olympique Lyonnais in the Champions League - and scored the opening goal.

Gary Neville was replaced at half-time during the 2-1 victory after feeling unwell during the first 45 minutes.

He joined brother Phil on the sick-list after the midfielder had pulled out of the squad 24 hours earlier.

"We have had a bit of a bug around the place for a while and Carlos [Queiroz] is still bothered with it and has not fully shaken it off.

"Wayne Rooney has had a bit of it and now Gary and Phil. Roy Keane has had it as well as a few others so we just hope it clears up quickly, " said Sir Alex Ferguson.

With Louis Saha sidelined with a knee ligament injury, United have one additional injury problem ahead of Saturday's trip to West Bromwich Albion as Ryan Giggs undergoes intensive treatment after picking up a slight hamstring strain in training.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_180834,00.html

cutieboy86
24-11-2004, 07:08 PM

i tink neville does not haf any expression when he score is because he is too affected by the virus... fergie was abt to sub him juz b4 he score...

MatrixFanatic
24-11-2004, 10:34 PM

Scholes's pose damn funny. :s13:

cutieboy86
24-11-2004, 10:55 PM
FERGIE READY TO RING CHANGES
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson will rest some of his star players for the final Champions League group game against Fenerbache on December 8.
With qualification to the last 16 assured after Tuesday night’s 2-1 win over Lyon, which took them into pole position, the Old Trafford boss will now focus on trying to pick up vital Barclays Premiership points either side of the game in Turkey.

United entertain Southampton at home on December 4 and Fulham away on December 13.

Lyon dropped down to second spot following this defeat but have also qualified.

Speaking about the final group placings, Ferguson said: "Being first or second doesn't really matter on some occasions. It is a difficult one to decide on.

"I will certainly make changes in the last game and put out a few players who need to be playing."

More immediately, Ferguson has selection problems for the game at West Bromwich Albion on Saturday.

Dutch striker van Nistelrooy came off in the 71st minute after scoring the winner to seal a perfect few days for Ferguson, who chalked up his 1,000th game as United manager.

Van Nistelrooy made it an astonishing 36 goals in 37 games at this level for United - and it ended Lyon's spirited resistance.

He got on the end of a Rio Ferdinand cross to head the ball home after the defender showed good skill in the visitors’ box.

Ferguson said: "The man scored again, he is unbelievable. He only had a couple of chances and took up a perfect position to get the goal.

"You have to give Rio Ferdinand some credit in the build-up. He did exceptionally well to get the ball in."

United opened the scoring through a rare Neville goal, the defender lashing the ball home from close range.

While second only to Raul in all-time Champions League appearances - 95 - this was only his second goal at this level.

Ferguson admitted he was about to take the England international off as he was under the weather.

"We thought we would give him a minute but then he scores a goal," revealed the Scot.

Neville was replaced at the break by Wes Brown after Diarra had pulled Lyon level after an error by goalkeeper Roy Carroll.

Ferguson, however, refused to condemn his Northern Ireland shot-stopper.

"Roy has been very consistent," he said. "It can happen, goalkeepers make mistakes.

"I don't think it unbalanced us. We showed composure and gave a performance of real quality."

Ferguson was given some expensive wine by chief executive David Gill in a presentation on the pitch before the game.

And he saluted his team for a champagne display.

"I am proud of my players for the way they presented themselves,” added Ferguson.

"It was an open game and we could have scored a few more goals. Some of our football was great.

"I am pleased to have won the game as Lyon are difficult opponents."

Lyon coach Paul Le Guen gave a positive assessment of his team's performance, despite the defeat.

"We have nothing to be ashamed of," he said. "We played some good football and I was pleased with the display considering the number of injuries we've had.

"Manchester United deserved to win. The crowd drives them forward and that's an important factor.

"They have a good mixture of talented individuals and experienced players and they should do well in the tournament."

Milner_24
24-11-2004, 11:52 PM
I think Carroll should be able to maintain his place...

Or will it be Howard back at no. 1?
caroll all the way!!

MatrixFanatic
25-11-2004, 07:09 AM
Why EPSN/Starsports not showing Manu match?!!!! :s27: This Saturday I mean.

cutieboy86
25-11-2004, 10:38 AM
really not showin ar... how cum sia...hai

Ronaldo7
25-11-2004, 12:57 PM
not even delayed telecast ah ? haven't got my TNP yet . abit weird not watching man u when there is epl :s13:

RVN
25-11-2004, 02:51 PM
Keane: Reds are on the up

ROY Keane believes Manchester United are on the verge of turning their season around - but has warned his team-mates that any more slip-ups would render their fine recent form worthless.

Written off completely after their disastrous defeat at Portsmouth last month, the Reds have since won five games out of six - the one exception a 0-0 home derby-day draw with City.

They have also rediscovered their goalscoring touch and seen key members of the squad, notably Paul Scholes, return to something like top form.

Crucially, they have also confirmed their presence in the knock-out stages of the Champions League with a game to spare, offering Ferguson the option of allowing some of his players to forego the draining eight-hour round trip to Turkey for the final Group D encounter with Fenerbahce on December 8.

And while no-one inside Old Trafford is ready to claim the corner has been turned just yet, after two months of inconsistency, it appears there is genuine reason for optimism once more.

"There have been some good signs over the last few weeks," admitted skipper Keane.

"Our performances have improved, even against Manchester City I thought we played some decent stuff.

"But it is all about putting the ball into the net. Over the past few games, we have managed to do that.

"We have always created chances but once you start taking them, it really makes a hell of a difference to everyone around the club.

"I don't know if this will be a turning point because we have had decent results before, felt we were back and then we have slipped up and had a bad result.

"There is no doubt we have improved over the last few weeks. Now we need to keep it going."

Victory at a cost

Last night's victory over Lyon did come at a cost, with goalscorers Gary Neville and Ruud van Nistelrooy both doubtful for Saturday's encounter at West Brom, along with Ryan Giggs, who missed the Old Trafford win with a hamstring problem.

Neville might not have played at all after picking up a virus in the build-up to the game, while Van Nistelrooy was forced off with a calf strain not long after taking his astonishing European goal tally to 36 in 37 appearances for the Red Devils since his £18.5million move from PSV Eindhoven in 2001.

If all three miss out, the key for Ferguson will be to bring in replacements - probably Darren Fletcher and Wes Brown - plus any other alterations he feels are required, which could involve Keane being rested, without affecting United's momentum.

Clearly, the quality is still there given the way they largely dominated a Lyon side, who have gone four points clear in their pursuit of a fourth successive French league title and took United apart in the previous meeting between the sides in September.

"When you look at their results over the last few years, Lyon are not a bad side," observed Keane.

"They gave us a hard game over there and we knew it would be tough again. But we always fancy ourselves at Old Trafford and fortunately we got the result we wanted and with it another decent performance."

Premiership plans

By the time Ferguson finalises his plans for the Fenerbahce trip, he will hope to have secured six more Premiership points from Saturday's visit to the Hawthorns and the following week's encounter with Southampton, which fall either side of a Carling Cup quarter-final duel with Arsenal.

Only when he assesses the situation at that point will the United boss determine the make-up of the squad that will head to Turkey.

Though qualification has been assured, another win will probably be needed to top the group given Lyon should gain maximum points from their home game with already-eliminated Sparta Prague.

Conventional wisdom suggests that winning the group, which would earn a last-16 tussle with a runner-up with the second leg on home soil, is a major benefit.

However, it did not do United much good last year when they were eliminated by eventual winners FC Porto.

And, given current standings and the impossibility of drawing an English club in the first knock-out stage, Ferguson might be willing to take the risk of landing a runners-up spot, knowing the only two likely winners he would be really desperate to avoid would be Juventus and either Barcelona or AC Milan, one of whom will have to finish second anyway.

"It would be nice to win the group but who knows whether it will be important or not," said Keane.

"Over the years we have always thought it would be but the game works in funny ways.

"I am sure the manager and coaching staff are looking at the bigger picture but from the players' point of view we are just focusing on the next game, which is against West Brom on Saturday."

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/138/138090_keane_reds_are_on_the_up.html

chengsun
25-11-2004, 03:15 PM
y SAF dun play saha nowadays? he is quite good right? good speed, not very selfish.

Ronaldo7
25-11-2004, 03:18 PM
he got injured again

cutieboy86
25-11-2004, 03:55 PM
yar saha will be out for abt 3 wks after he is injured after the international wk

RVN
25-11-2004, 04:00 PM
Saha is getting too injury-prone, follow Wes Brown path err. :o

chengsun
25-11-2004, 04:03 PM
yar saha will be out for abt 3 wks after he is injured after the international wk

seems always like dat, injured, rest for man u match, paid by man u, then recover, selected by france, go for france match, kena injured, so rest for man u match, paid by man u, .....

so man u pay him for france game issit?

kengbeng
25-11-2004, 04:05 PM
Saha is getting too injury-prone, follow Wes Brown path err. :o
Quinton Fortune also. Plays 1 or 2 games, gets injured for more than 3 weeks, comes back and play a few games, gets injured again...

kahmun7
25-11-2004, 04:06 PM
hey... you think he wants to be injured meh...
nobody likes to be injured...
just hope he recovers soon enough.

RVN
25-11-2004, 04:08 PM
Carroll vows to keep his place in the first-team

Manchester United goalkeeper Roy Carroll has vowed to keep hold of the number one shirt despite his blunder in midweek.

The Northern Ireland international was at fault for Lyon's goal in the 2-1 victory on Tuesday night as he let Mahamadou Diarra's long-range shot somehow bounce off his body and into the net.

The mistake has raised doubts over Carroll's place in Sir Alex Ferguson's side with Tim Howard having paid the price earlier this season after a number of errors.

Carroll admits he should have saved the shot, but he is confident that the mistake will not affect him.

"It came straight at me and I tried to get down on it and I know I should have done better," vowed Carroll.

"It was an error but I just have to forget about it and get on with the game. Goalkeepers make mistakes but you just have to get on with your job.

"You can't be worrying about your place in the team when there are 50 minutes to go in a match."

Carroll's future at Old Trafford remains uncertain as he rejected the club's offer of a new deal, and the former Wigan shot-stopper is remaining coy on the subject.

"I don't want to talk about my contract," added Carroll.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=239952&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Carroll+vows+to+keep+place

chengsun
25-11-2004, 04:17 PM
hey... you think he wants to be injured meh...
nobody likes to be injured...
just hope he recovers soon enough.

my point is, sometime, maybe can be exampted from internation match once, just to recover fully 1st, like dat never finish one...some more no match to keep his fitness.

but i do support him in going for international match (contradicting myself?), perform n score goal, put that cannot-score-in-international-game-henry to bench, then i very happy.

kahmun7
25-11-2004, 04:57 PM
har har... well Fergie discourage player for going for International Friendlies. But of course if it's a competitive match I think some players will pride themselves in representing their own country. Of course, International friendlies are a way for the coach (international) to experiment with his players.. after all, these players may play against each other at club level, so no guarantees that they can gel together and work as a team instead of against each other. I guess country and club have to reach a compromise about players.

cutieboy86
25-11-2004, 08:33 PM
Double Bubble
Gabriel Heinze is seeing double — but it is Manchester United’s rivals who are in for a dizzy spell. Argentine defender Heinze reckons born-again United have got what it takes to triumph in Europe AND the Premiership. Alex Ferguson’s team are through to the knockout stages of the Champions League for the ninth successive season. And they have also rediscovered their domestic form after a disastrous spell of one win in five matches. Heinze, 26, said: "We are going for trophies on all fronts. We’re going out to win the Premiership just as hard as we are trying to win in Europe — and the team is capable of winning both."
Janine Self, The Sun

Seals
26-11-2004, 08:17 AM
this sun got game a not...

Totti76
26-11-2004, 08:31 AM
this sun got game a not...
Man U match is on sat i think..but why newpaper din show man u match timing?? does it mean no telecast?? :look:

Seals
26-11-2004, 08:36 AM
maybe no show lah. orrrr...against who ahh....