PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

MatrixFanatic
26-11-2004, 09:01 AM
Against West Brom.

alvinoyw
26-11-2004, 09:38 AM
They haven't confirm the matches they are showing, Starhub only put the timing but never say what matche

Totti76
26-11-2004, 12:30 PM
They haven't confirm the matches they are showing, Starhub only put the timing but never say what matche
Well cfm not showing man u match this wkend.... :look:

cutieboy86
26-11-2004, 01:00 PM
ROBSON HAILS MENTOR'S STAYING POWER
West Bromwich Albion manager Bryan Robson believes his mentor Sir Alex Ferguson will only quit football when he is carried out of Old Trafford 'in a wooden box'.
Robson will come face to face with his one-time Manchester United boss in Saturday’s Barclays Premiership clash at The Hawthorns.

The former England captain is quick to recognise the help and advice that he has received from Ferguson after stepping into management.

But their friendship will be put on hold for 90 minutes on Saturday with Albion desperate for points to climb out of the drop zone and the Red Devils needing victory to continue their title challenge.

Robson said: “I spoke to Sir Alex on the phone when I got the job here and he wished me all the best - apart from for this weekend!

“When I went to manage Middlesbrough he was always on the phone in the early days, giving me advice, and when I left he asked me to go to Old Trafford to keep my hand in by working with the reserves and the squad players.

“He’s still so enthusiastic and passionate about the game. The only thing that surprised me was when he considered retiring.

“For me, Sir Alex and Sir Bobby Robson are alike. You’ll be putting Sir Alex in a wooden box before he packs in the game!”

Robson admitted: “My playing career went on a lot longer because of working under him. He came in and had this dedication to the job which is why he’s achieved what he has.

“He lives for football, which he breeds into his players. No matter what result you get he wants more which is why he’s had the success he’s had.”

Robson added: “I’ve tried to take bits of what I think is good from all the managers I’ve worked with.

“I haven’t really worked under a bad manager. With England it was Ron Greenwood, Bobby Robson and Terry Venables who all had great success in the game. At club level it was Don Howe, Ron Atkinson and Sir Alex who have also been successful.”

Robson is hoping to capitalise on United’s inconsistent form as the Baggies look to build on their impressive draw with Arsenal at Highbury.

He said: “There is a little bit of doubt in United minds at the moment with Chelsea and Arsenal quite a way in front of them.

“It is a period where Sir Alex is making changes and they are finding their feet so, hopefully, we can take advantage.

“It’s important we don’t get beaten. We’ve got to try and put a run together and if we get through the weekend unbeaten I’ll be fairly pleased.

“The lads are going to have to be right up for it to get something out of it because we know they’ve got great players. We’ll show them respect but we must not be overawed by them.

“The lads showed on Saturday they didn’t get overawed by Arsenal but they showed respect by the way they worked in the game which is why we got something.”

usjag_18
26-11-2004, 03:05 PM
i tink neville does not haf any expression when he score is because he is too affected by the virus... fergie was abt to sub him juz b4 he score...
Thank goodness, he scored b4 being sub... Lolx....

usjag_18
26-11-2004, 03:13 PM
Hey guys, what do you think about recent incident about racism in soccer world? Ermm... I also duno what to say. Because Man Utd also got so many black players, and most of them are alright, quite good in fact. So I think even white players also respected them. How come the spanish coach will b so old-fashioned thinker one?

I hope it won't affects Man Utd's black players.

As for L.Saha & W.Brown having injuries. I find some fans/supporters are a bit critical in black players. I find that a lot of them purposely finding faults @ these black players. However, the only black players who are from Man Utd that make me finding faults on them, will be only 2 - Q.Fortune & A.Cole.

Quinton Fortune - Perform well whenever he likes, having the same attittude like D.Fletcher. Happy, perform good. Not happy, perform like ****.

Andy Cole - Even though he's holding a well record of scoring in different clubs, but someitmes, it's those STUPIDEST missing chances that make him look bad. Whenever, there are chances that he shouldn't missed for man Utd, he missed them! ANd Missed them UNREASONABLE AND STUPIDLY.

But I dun think I will dislike them ebcos they are black. But some people purposely kept saying them this not good, that not good. Injuries not something they can stop one marh. however, I do have to admit that when rep. their countries,t hey do get injuries a bit easily.

Rgds,
O'

Seals
26-11-2004, 03:13 PM
bryan robson my idol.... he should come back to man utd and help out fergie in reservers like mcclair..

ROBSON HAILS MENTOR'S STAYING POWER
West Bromwich Albion manager Bryan Robson believes his mentor Sir Alex Ferguson will only quit football when he is carried out of Old Trafford 'in a wooden box'.
Robson will come face to face with his one-time Manchester United boss in Saturday’s Barclays Premiership clash at The Hawthorns.

The former England captain is quick to recognise the help and advice that he has received from Ferguson after stepping into management.

But their friendship will be put on hold for 90 minutes on Saturday with Albion desperate for points to climb out of the drop zone and the Red Devils needing victory to continue their title challenge.

Robson said: “I spoke to Sir Alex on the phone when I got the job here and he wished me all the best - apart from for this weekend!

“When I went to manage Middlesbrough he was always on the phone in the early days, giving me advice, and when I left he asked me to go to Old Trafford to keep my hand in by working with the reserves and the squad players.

“He’s still so enthusiastic and passionate about the game. The only thing that surprised me was when he considered retiring.

“For me, Sir Alex and Sir Bobby Robson are alike. You’ll be putting Sir Alex in a wooden box before he packs in the game!”

Robson admitted: “My playing career went on a lot longer because of working under him. He came in and had this dedication to the job which is why he’s achieved what he has.

“He lives for football, which he breeds into his players. No matter what result you get he wants more which is why he’s had the success he’s had.”

Robson added: “I’ve tried to take bits of what I think is good from all the managers I’ve worked with.

“I haven’t really worked under a bad manager. With England it was Ron Greenwood, Bobby Robson and Terry Venables who all had great success in the game. At club level it was Don Howe, Ron Atkinson and Sir Alex who have also been successful.”

Robson is hoping to capitalise on United’s inconsistent form as the Baggies look to build on their impressive draw with Arsenal at Highbury.

He said: “There is a little bit of doubt in United minds at the moment with Chelsea and Arsenal quite a way in front of them.

“It is a period where Sir Alex is making changes and they are finding their feet so, hopefully, we can take advantage.

“It’s important we don’t get beaten. We’ve got to try and put a run together and if we get through the weekend unbeaten I’ll be fairly pleased.

“The lads are going to have to be right up for it to get something out of it because we know they’ve got great players. We’ll show them respect but we must not be overawed by them.

“The lads showed on Saturday they didn’t get overawed by Arsenal but they showed respect by the way they worked in the game which is why we got something.”

usjag_18
26-11-2004, 03:22 PM
bryan robson my idol.... he should come back to man utd and help out fergie in reservers like mcclair..

Ermm.... I think he should go out instead of coming back. He needs to explore more before he can be a good coach. A good player doesn't mean he's a good coach.

Rgds,
O'

Seals
26-11-2004, 03:28 PM
read somewhere.... good players dun make good coach.. agree...

Ermm.... I think he should go out instead of coming back. He needs to explore more before he can be a good coach. A good player doesn't mean he's a good coach.

Rgds,
O'

vivre
26-11-2004, 04:04 PM
read somewhere.... good players dun make good coach.. agree...

Johan Cryuff was a great player and he was a good coach/manager. If not for his health, he would still be managing.

Frank Riikaard was a good player too... He's doing not too bad now...

cutieboy86
26-11-2004, 05:31 PM
these are some of the exception tt gd players can be gd coach... but not all can do it oso

cutieboy86
26-11-2004, 06:06 PM
Neville Issues Rallying Title Call

Gary Neville believes United's Premiership objectives remain the same as they were at the start of the season: to be in touch with Arsenal and Chelsea at the turn of the year.

That the task has been made more difficult by an erratic start to the Premiership campaign is no longer a variable for United’s players according to Neville, who says the team’s only target is to prove their title credentials by closing the gap on Chelsea and Arsenal.

"Obviously we are disappointed because we are not where we would like to be at this stage," said Gary. "But we still believe our objectives at the start of the season remain our objectives now.

"We still believe we can win the championship, we still believe we can win the European Cup," added Neville.

"We have to close the gap and over the next month we have a great opportunity to do just that. A few of the teams are playing against each other - Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool.

"There is an opportunity in those games alone to close the gap on the teams above us. That is not counting Middlesbrough and Everton.

"People keep talking about us catching Arsenal and Chelsea but there are other teams above us as well - Bolton, Middlesbrough and Everton."

United remain unbeaten in six matches following the midweek European victory over Olympique Lyonnais. And, returning to Premiership duty on Saturday with consecutive league victories under their belt, Neville is urging United continue to let the results do the talking.

"We just have to go out there and do it," he said. "The important thing is not to talk about what we are going to do, it is to go out there and do it."

Neville's annotations mirror those of Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson, who said of the title race: "It is absolutely imperative that we win our matches against the teams in the bottom half of the league. If we win these matches, by the time the New Year comes around we will hopefully be much, much closer."

ninkuboy
26-11-2004, 07:58 PM
Is there a match tomorrow? against West Brom? Not on SCV schedule if it is.

United_Treble
26-11-2004, 09:36 PM
Is there a match tomorrow? against West Brom? Not on SCV schedule if it is.
ya man, against west brom

ninkuboy
26-11-2004, 09:51 PM
Hey its not showing on TV then?

I got GOALTV already, it shows MUTV programmes :D go get it

United_Treble
26-11-2004, 09:59 PM
Hey its not showing on TV then?

I got GOALTV already, it shows MUTV programmes :D go get it
how u noe no live> even no live still can watch other match what

RVN
26-11-2004, 10:30 PM
Reds' triple fitness boost

Ruud van Nistelrooy, Roy Keane and Ryan Giggs have all been passed fit for Manchester United's trip to West Brom.

Van Nistelrooy (calf) and Keane both limped out of Tuesday's Champions League triumph over Lyon, while Giggs did not even make the game after suffering a minor hamstring strain in training.

However, the virus that swept through United's Carrington training complex this week has not yet disappeared and both Gary and Phil Neville, plus Cameroon midfielder Eric Djemba-Djemba, remain doubtful.

United (from): Carroll, Howard, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Brown, O'Shea, Heinze, Fortune, Ronaldo, Bellion, Keane, Scholes, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Fletcher, Giggs, van Nistelrooy, Rooney, Smith.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_184188,00.html

RVN
26-11-2004, 10:33 PM
United in Owen Hargreaves approach

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/germany/bayernmunich/hargreaves-gold.jpg

Manchester United are understood to have made an enquiry for England star Owen Hargreaves.

The Bayern Munich midfielder has never hidden his desire to play in The Premiership.

However, so far the likes of Tottenham and Middlesbrough are the only sides to show a real interest and that has seemingly not really been enough to persuade Hargreaves to give up regular UEFA Champions League football in Munich.

But the interest from United could very well test both Bayern and Hargreaves's resolve.

The 23-year-old's all-action combative style would no doubt see him fit into the English game with relative ease.

United - who despite having youngsters Darren Fletcher, Liam Miller and Cristiano Ronaldo in their midfield - are obviously concerned that there are no ready-made replacements in their squad for the likes Paul Scholes and more importantly captain Roy Keane.

Liverpool and Arsenal are also said to be keeping tabs on Hargreaves's situation and a battle amongst England's elite could very well develop.

Hargreaves is contracted to Bayern until 2006 and has overcome problems with coach Felix Magath and he is now very much part of the club's first team plans.

Leading German daily Kicker has reported that Sir Alex Ferguson made contact with Bayern before their 5-1 hammering of Maccabi Tel Aviv in midweek - a game which saw Hargreaves stretchered off after half an hour following a clash of heads.

It remains to be seen what Bayern's response was, although it is unlikely to have been favourable - but should United be keen, a summer or even January bid could be in the pipeline.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=240260

jujube
26-11-2004, 11:08 PM
United in Owen Hargreaves approach

I remeber Hargreaves once stated he and his dad are anti-man u.

United_Treble
26-11-2004, 11:22 PM
I remeber Hargreaves once stated he and his dad are anti-man u.
money more important

cutieboy86
27-11-2004, 12:06 AM
gd tt nistelrooy, keane and giggs haf been passed fit for the match tml... must show arsenal tt man utd can defeat west brom not like arsenal cant last wk

United_Treble
27-11-2004, 12:26 AM
gd tt nistelrooy, keane and giggs haf been passed fit for the match tml... must show arsenal tt man utd can defeat west brom not like arsenal cant last wk
muz hope livepool wun disappoint me, beat down gunners, would like to c wengers face bcum more darker, c he still dare to hao lian or not

ninkuboy
27-11-2004, 12:48 AM
how u noe no live> even no live still can watch other match what

Theres NO POINT in watching if my Utd is not playing!!

United_Treble
27-11-2004, 01:04 AM
Theres NO POINT in watching if my Utd is not playing!!
ur UTD? pui, even e cleaner at old trafford oso dunno u

ninkuboy
27-11-2004, 03:59 AM

A little bit tightly wound arent we? Geez twas just a term of endearment. Yes I call United my team.

If you feel thats somehow an insult, you're an overly aggressive individual or you're somewhat an idiot. I'm leaning towards the latter. Or do you just not know how supporting a team feels like?

United_Treble
27-11-2004, 09:29 AM
A little bit tightly wound arent we? Geez twas just a term of endearment. Yes I call United my team.

If you feel thats somehow an insult, you're an overly aggressive individual or you're somewhat an idiot. I'm leaning towards the latter. Or do you just not know how supporting a team feels like?
the time i start support club, still dunno whether u r born boy

MatrixFanatic
27-11-2004, 09:30 AM

I'm sure the cleaner at SG pools will know you.

Eh, you still betting? Don't bet anymore ok.

United_Treble
27-11-2004, 10:01 AM
I'm sure the cleaner at SG pools will know you.

Eh, you still betting? Don't bet anymore ok.
nv bet already

kengbeng
27-11-2004, 12:19 PM
Hope to see Ruud open his account from open play in tonight's game.

ninkuboy
27-11-2004, 01:27 PM

Bravo! You were born earlier than me. I bow down to your abounding knowledge on this club and its history. I'm sure you're a more worthy individual than I can ever be, what with your recent Nov 2004 registration you will be an invaluable addition to this forum with your keen insights that you gathered all these years.

How dumb I was to take on someone who "said" he supported a club longer than me! :s8:

Here I thought all supporters mattered to the club.

ralliart_ray
27-11-2004, 03:33 PM
later wat time the match har? got telecast?

Ronaldo7
27-11-2004, 03:35 PM
nope . cable not showing the match :sad:

usjag_18
27-11-2004, 03:48 PM
Johan Cryuff was a great player and he was a good coach/manager. If not for his health, he would still be managing.

Frank Riikaard was a good player too... He's doing not too bad now...

I only said "A good player doesn't mean he's a good coach", I never said it apply to ALL or SOME.
Anyway, did u notice the managers U mentioned are all Dutch? hehehe....

Anyway, back to the topic, u might be able to name a few of them who are good players and coaches/managers, but most of them are not. I am just saying it in my own way, I am not saying all are bad, so dun need to name them all out... Hahaha....

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
27-11-2004, 03:51 PM
money more important
Ya lor, United_Treble, for U, everything is $$$ one. hehehe....:P

Anyway, i Dun think he will come over to Man Utd, unless Man Utd really pay him very well. which I dun think it will happen.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
27-11-2004, 04:26 PM

Yayaya.... Everyone don't know in which black hole and you are already in this world supporting MaN UTd. For goodness' sake, if you are really a big fan of Man Utd, then by doing your parts as a supporters, support your own club and keep quiet about other clubs. Do U noe that all your comments towards other clubs very hurtful? And it really make people pi**ed off with Man Utd. If you really support Man Utd, den stop making others to dislike Man Utd. Even they dislike Man Utd, also not due to your childishness. Always go and commenting bad things about other clubs. Some supporters may insult the other clubs @ THIS thread, but none of them like U, go around to other people clubs to insult them.

Anyway, no matter how long you support Man Utd is not important nowadays, it's the way you present yourself as a supporter and also I totally agreed with what ninkuboy said about all supporters mattered to the club.

Here I thought all supporters mattered to the club.

No point thinking you are superior but by disrespect others won't make U more superior than others.

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
27-11-2004, 07:48 PM
O’Shea fears United axe
John O’Shea fears he will be sold by Manchester United in the January transfer window. The Irish international, 23, has told close friends the writing was on the wall once boss Alex Ferguson brought in Argentine international left-back Gabriel Heinze in the summer. Meanwhile, Ferguson is confident he can keep Ryan Giggs, despite the Welsh winger chasing two more years instead of the one on offer. Ferguson said: “Ryan has not told me he is unhappy. Negotiations always take some time.”
Neil Custis, The Sun

usjag_18
27-11-2004, 07:56 PM
O’Shea fears United axe
John O’Shea fears he will be sold by Manchester United in the January transfer window. The Irish international, 23, has told close friends the writing was on the wall once boss Alex Ferguson brought in Argentine international left-back Gabriel Heinze in the summer. Meanwhile, Ferguson is confident he can keep Ryan Giggs, despite the Welsh winger chasing two more years instead of the one on offer. Ferguson said: “Ryan has not told me he is unhappy. Negotiations always take some time.”
Neil Custis, The Sun
Lolx.... sometimes, this english tabloid papers are really crazy. Why willl SAF sell J.O'Shea? I mean even though his performance is not too good. But @ the moment he's still can be quite useful as players need to take turn to rest.

Anyway, i think that's all rubbish. As long as Man Utd official webby haven't give out any news, I won't believe it.

Rgds,
O'

Yellowfin
27-11-2004, 08:20 PM
I just wonder how many Man Utd fans that read this thread have supported Man U for more than 25 years. :)

kengbeng
27-11-2004, 08:26 PM
I just wonder how many Man Utd fans that read this thread have supported Man U for more than 25 years. :)
I've only been alive for 24 years so far! :s13:

jujube
27-11-2004, 09:29 PM
i admit i'm not one of them. I only started the year Man Utd finished fourth or fifth during around 1990.

MatrixFanatic
27-11-2004, 09:37 PM

I only started supporting Manutd when I was in Pri 6. I didn't know Manutd won the Treble before until I was Secondary 1. :s13:

Watched the free telecast back then on SportsCity then loved their style of play and players so support Manutd liao lo. :D

cutieboy86
27-11-2004, 09:57 PM
i started supportin man utd since i pri 4 ba

cutter
27-11-2004, 10:02 PM

wait 2 more years then I tio quarter centurian fan liao... still got my old Panini cards with Stapleton, Whiteside etc... that time not as fashionable to support Utd... my primary school team majority Liverpool or Everton supporters... that time got Big League Soccer with Brian Moore on SBC.

Ronaldo7
27-11-2004, 10:07 PM
8 years nia . still got a long long way to go

RVN
27-11-2004, 10:12 PM
I started supporting United in 1992, Cantona era. =:p

Kyubi
27-11-2004, 10:55 PM
where to c online live matches ?

kengbeng
28-11-2004, 12:17 AM
Live Commentary on the radio (BBC) in the 2nd half.

West Brom 0 Man Utd 1

Scholes the scorer! :D

sublade
28-11-2004, 12:17 AM
Sweet, scholes just scored. Watching at http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=153378&cc=4716

kengbeng
28-11-2004, 12:30 AM
Ruud just scored the second goal!
0-2 in our favour!

kengbeng
28-11-2004, 12:40 AM
0-3!

Scholes with his second goal from a corner by Giggsl!

usjag_18
28-11-2004, 12:46 AM

Ermm... I am not even 25 yrs old. I think there are surely more people out there who are supporting more than 40 years.I still remember thjere's one year ago, someone in Manchester area, an old man and his partner or grandson(cannot remember) are given 1 free tickets becos of his long time support. i think that old man is more than 70 yrs old 2 that time.

oh, i supported Man utd abt 14 years. but is it really so important? i tot that's the heart that counts.
i wonder when will those pundits start to say "W.Rooney is drought of goals" den "whoa, P.Scholes scoring again and did well". Cannot stand them man. No matter the pundits or tabiold or those bookies. Purposely say until people so lousy...

Rgds,
O'

OKK77
28-11-2004, 12:48 AM
Scholes! Woohoo!

kengbeng
28-11-2004, 12:52 AM
Final Score: West Brom 0 Man Utd 3

We go 4th in the table.

bryan09
28-11-2004, 12:52 AM
Man vs. Boys

RVN
28-11-2004, 12:54 AM
Great result..........Well done lads! Scholes...MOM! :D

cutter
28-11-2004, 12:55 AM
nb... scholes kosong for so long... last week score, now flood gates open up...

MatrixFanatic
28-11-2004, 12:55 AM
Woohoo Manutd won. :s12:

Ch3tah_39
28-11-2004, 12:57 AM
haha working... sianz... yeah man utd won..

ragnarok95
28-11-2004, 01:00 AM
well done man u...keep this goin all the way!

usjag_18
28-11-2004, 01:11 AM
The team did well today. I think 3 goals are good.

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
28-11-2004, 01:12 AM
yeah well done guys... hope more to cum frm scholes

usjag_18
28-11-2004, 01:15 AM
Final Score: West Brom 0 Man Utd 3

We go 4th in the table.
still got Bolton and Everton to chase!!! *sigh*

don't know how Everton will perform tmr... as for arsenal, i got a feeling they will *slaughter* liverpoolm tmr.. as liverpool dun Baros who are injured. Then Cisse is not onform...

hope liverpool will do well tomorrow.so tt make our players' lives easier.

Rgds,
O'

Kyubi
28-11-2004, 01:17 AM
yeah ... scholes is back on form .. rvn oso start scoring in epl ? lolz .. i wan to watch .. looks like tmr dun have repeat .. sian

hush66
28-11-2004, 01:19 AM
A good 3 points!

Then Cisse is not onform...

Eh ... he's out for the rest of the season.

RVN
28-11-2004, 01:33 AM

don't know how Everton will perform tmr... as for arsenal, i got a feeling they will *slaughter* liverpoolm tmr.. as liverpool dun Baros who are injured. Then Cisse is not onform...

Rgds,
O'

we are already ahead of Bolton and they lose today, now only 2 points behind everton, hope newcastle beat them tomorrow, but chelsea keep on winning though, hard to catch them. :(

cutieboy86
28-11-2004, 01:36 AM
finally scholes is back to form and ruud started to score frm open play in EPL
below is the match highlight:

Paul Scholes and Ruud van Nistelrooy secured another three points on the road for United - with a confident 3-0 win over West Bromwich Albion at The Hawthorns.

Scholes had gone 18 league matches without a goal until his strike against Charlton last weekend, but the Reds midfielder grabbed his third in a three games with a wonderful 25-yard strike and a close-range header against West Brom.

Van Nistelrooy grabbed United's other goal to secure a comfortable victory and extends United's unbeaten run to five games.

cutter
28-11-2004, 01:42 AM

Rgds,
O'

Boro lah fren.. Bolton falling down table liao. Cisse leg broken to pieces few weeks ago
yuks...
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40477000/jpg/_40477411_cisse_break270gi.jpg

RVN
28-11-2004, 01:55 AM
Some pics from the West Brom-Man United match

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40572000/jpg/_40572351_scholes.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40572000/jpg/_40572353_unitedsecond.jpg

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/empics/769513

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/afpji/20041127/041127174610.d951nj710b.jpg

alvinoyw
28-11-2004, 01:58 AM
We'll be back in the top 3 by January :)

United_Treble
28-11-2004, 02:11 AM
We'll be back in the top 3 by January :)
muz wait everton start losing

jujube
28-11-2004, 02:23 AM
wow Man Utd seldom score from corner nowadays

hope clips of the goals will be available

cal127
28-11-2004, 04:39 AM
Wow the first goal was a real cracker. Vintage scoles and absolute top class. Hope he keep this up.

Clips here (http://football.hn.org:6969/torrent.html?info_hash=5177404424a6a8fdcd8994bffee4e940d4a0eed2)

Yellowfin
28-11-2004, 08:01 AM
oh, i supported Man utd abt 14 years. but is it really so important? i tot that's the heart that counts.
i wonder when will those pundits start to say "W.Rooney is drought of goals" den "whoa, P.Scholes scoring again and did well". Cannot stand them man. No matter the pundits or tabiold or those bookies. Purposely say until people so lousy...

Rgds,
O'

Agreed with you. The most important thing is to support Man Utd and their players thru good time and bad time.

Anyway, how long does one person support Man Utd are not really that important or does it make one consider to be a better Man Utd supporter.

Just my 2 peso.

Yellowfin
28-11-2004, 08:03 AM
Great result..........Well done lads! Scholes...MOM! :D

Is there a live telecast of this match on Maxonline?

oo_lala_cantonah
28-11-2004, 09:14 AM
damn.... 9am delay match today NOT showing ManU vs West Brom at ch24!

vivre
28-11-2004, 10:18 AM
Can download the goal highlights from here:

ManUMovies.co.uk (http://www.manumovies.co.uk/)

Click on latest highlights to access the video files.

Use the following password when prompted: USER=manchester PASS=united

RVN
28-11-2004, 10:25 AM
found these on Red issue ;)

Scholes 1-0.avi (http://s13.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=9DD2D980183C833A0A1AA20268E62CC0)

Ruud 2-0.avi (http://s21.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=E2F04DF9CDBEE698F198A269E17C1931)

Scholes 3-0.avi (http://s13.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2E3A63722873861BDFFB498C23B96277)

vivre
28-11-2004, 10:27 AM
Good match and good goals by Scholes... Can see that he's really happy to be back scoring again... can see that the way is play is full of confidence again.

Really happy for him and for Man U .

cracker
28-11-2004, 10:30 AM

the first live MU live match tat I watched was
a FA Cup Semi Final against Leeds Utd...

Few weeks later watched MU faced Liverpool in the FA Cup Final.

3 days later....watched Liverpool faced Borussia Mochengladbach in the European Cup Final.

Which yr did this happen ????

1977 ....the same yr also saw Spore winning the Malaysia Cup live on TV !!!

United_Treble
28-11-2004, 10:33 AM

3 days later....watched Liverpool faced Borussia Mochengladbach in the European Cup Final.

u get from which internet web site?

RVN
28-11-2004, 10:37 AM
Fergie hail best display so far

"Best Performance Of The Season" Beams Fergie

http://tinyurl.com/6nvpy

Sir Alex Ferguson believes United produced their most rounded performance of the season in the 3-0 victory over West Brom on Saturday.

United secured their third consecutive win in the Premiership with the 3-0 result at The Hawthorns - a match in which the Reds had to be patient to break down Bryan Robson’s stubborn defence.

"Over the 90 minutes it was our best performance of the season," Ferguson told MUTV. "The consistency of our performance was there as well – I thought we played very, very well today.

"We didn’t have a shot on target in the first half, but West Brom set their stall out to make it difficult for us.

"We upped the tempo in the second half and started to open them up. The key was to make sure we kept our patience.

"We kept possession very well against them and that made it difficult and once we scored the first goal, it was even more difficult in terms of them having the energy to get back.

"Don't underestimate the Manchester United performance - it was outstanding."

Ferguson was delighted to see Paul Scholes score his third goal in three matches, calling the 30-year-old midfielder "one of the best in the world" at timing his runs in and around the penalty area.

"You don't lose what he's got," Sir Alex said. "He's one of the best in the world at appearing at the right time on the edge of the box and his timing is always fantastic."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=129303&itype=466&icategoryid=122

Scholes urge Reds to go on a run

Scholes: We Must Make Up For Lost Time

http://tinyurl.com/49nrn

Paul Scholes grabbed his third goal in three games with a brace against West Brom on Saturday, and then urged United to make up for their sluggish start to the campaign.

The Reds secured their third consecutive Premiership win with a 3-0 victory at The Hawthorns. Scholes scored a wonderful 25-yard strike and a close-range header either side of Ruud van Nistelrooy's first league goal from open play this term to secure all three points.

"If we are to stand any chance of winning the league these are the games we have to win," said Scholes after the game.

United failed to register a shot on target in the first 45 minutes, but showed a second-half perseverence that moved boss Sir Alex Ferguson to describe the display as the team's most accomplished of the season.

"There was a little bit of a concern that we hadn’t got a shot on target in the first half," added Scholes. "But, we always felt that, as long as we persevered in the second half, we could open up their defence.

"We created a lot of chances in the second half and thankfully got the win. We needed the goal early and it seemed to settle us down as soon as we got it."

Scholes drilled the opening goal into the bottom corner from just outside the penalty area, but praised team-mate Ryan Giggs' clever lay-off in setting up the opportunity.

"It was a great touch from Ryan Giggs," the 30-year-old told MUTV. "I didn’t even have to break my stride; straight in my path and easy for me to strike.

Scholes had gone 18 league matches without a goal before his acrobatic volley against Charlton last weekend. The midfielder, who looks far more comfortable in United's newly-employed five-man midfield, hopes a rush of goals can follow his brace against West Brom.

"It makes a difference when you get that first one," he said. "It really helps your confidence. I think a lot of people have a spell where they can’t get the goals and feel like they can’t do anything right. As soon as you get one they seem to come in bundles. I’m hoping I can get a few more."

Scholes is now looking for United to maintain the momentum shown in the Premiership. A midweek distraction against Arsenal in the Carling Cup - in which only Wes Brown of the players that played against West Brom is likely to start - is followed by the visit of Southampton to Old Trafford.

"It’s important to have some momentum to your play – we’ve not put ourselves in a great position in the league, but we know that we need to win our games now. We’ve got to follow that up now against Southampton.

"There are a lot of difficult matches coming up, but we know that we’re capable of winning every game. For a chance of winning the league we have to more or less do that," he added.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=129310&itype=466&icategoryid=120

usjag_18
28-11-2004, 10:45 AM
A good 3 points!

Eh ... he's out for the rest of the season.

Oh, I told my friend he's out for the season, he said cisse is off-form. Dam*. make a fool out of me.

we are already ahead of Bolton and they lose today, now only 2 points behind everton, hope newcastle beat them tomorrow, but chelsea keep on winning though, hard to catch them. :(

No worries man, we must have faith in the players and manager. Lets not give up so easily. Surely they will drop points, but these few years, those bottom and middle rank teams really CMI, cant even give them threatening feelings.

Rgds,
O'

United_Treble
28-11-2004, 10:48 AM
yeah man, hope mu can win ars in e carling cup

Ronaldo7
28-11-2004, 10:52 AM
brillant goal by scholes to break the deadlock :eek: this is the real scholes we want to see :)

usjag_18
28-11-2004, 12:35 PM
Boro lah fren.. Bolton falling down table liao. Cisse leg broken to pieces few weeks ago
yuks...
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40477000/jpg/_40477411_cisse_break270gi.jpg
Friend, i didn't notice it larh. paiseh paiseh... hehhee... never mind, let's see wehther will Boro do us a favour or not.

Rgds,
O'

Yellowfin
28-11-2004, 05:47 PM

Hmm, I can't remember this matches as I can only afford to buy monday newspaper and read the weekend result.

jujube
28-11-2004, 06:18 PM
I noticed Alan Smith has abandoned his new but horrible hairstyle and gone back to spikes! :s13:

RVN
28-11-2004, 06:18 PM
Fergie stirs Arsenal's pot

Manchester United's manager rekindles the war of words with Arsenal's Arsène Wenger in the build-up to their Carling Cup clas, writes Jonathan Northcroft

SIR ALEX FERGUSON claims to live by one of Jock Stein’s maxims — don’t go looking for trouble, because trouble has a habit of finding you — but he has been unable to resist stirring the pot ahead of Manchester United’s Carling Cup meeting with Arsenal.
Responding to news that the Football Association have shelved plans for a peace summit between his club and their north London rivals, Ferguson said: “I don’t think Arsenal wanted to go (to such a meeting), did they? I don’t think they wanted to get involved. Arsène (Wenger) would have been too embarrassed, wouldn’t he?” Although Ferguson spoke with only a semi-serious tone, there was a barb within his remarks, as is often the case with jokes. Wenger is due to appear before an FA disciplinary committee — possibly the day after the Carling Cup tie — on a disrepute charge, after saying Ruud van Nistelrooy “can only cheat people” following United and Arsenal’s recent ill-tempered League meeting.

It is understood that while the FA put their peace plans on the back burner due to a lack of enthusiasm on the part of both clubs, Arsenal’s disinterest in the summit was the more marked, partly because of the situation regarding their manager.

Asked whether he would be saying anything different to his players to help make Wednesday’s encounter a calmer affair than its Premiership predecessor, Ferguson’s response was: “Why? We didn’t do anything wrong in that last game, so there’s nothing I can say to my players that would change anything. Our behaviour was right. We have excellent discipline and I have no worries on that score.”

Ferguson also promised that, just like Wenger, he will continue to use youth and reserve players in the competition — the average age of United’s squad in the last round was only a year more than Arsenal’s team.

Goalkeeper Tim Howard will be given a start on Wednesday, but otherwise Ferguson’s line-up will feature emerging players such as Jonathan Spector, Giuseppe Rossi and Gerard Pique.

“Rossi’s a good talent and he can score, too. He’s only 17 and not very big but he’s got quick feet and a quick brain. Pique’s marvellous, too,” Ferguson said.

“I won’t particularly be comparing our young players with Arsenal’s, although that’s one way of looking at it. I think the best way to evaluate your young players is to play them in competitions like the Carling Cup and it doesn’t matter who you play, it’s still a step up. What’s important is how they react to the game and how they handle playing for the first team.

“I don’t see Wednesday as any different kind of issue to the League game against Arsenal because we want to win. I think whichever of us wins the match could go all the way to the final and even win the competition.”

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,2093-1378530,00.html

AhHuat
28-11-2004, 06:35 PM
I noticed Alan Smith has abandoned his new but horrible hairstyle and gone back to spikes! :s13:
i lub him alot....
he very hansome..... :o

vivre
28-11-2004, 07:52 PM
i lub him alot....
he very hansome..... :o

:eek: erm... :s11:

MatrixFanatic
28-11-2004, 08:20 PM
:eek: erm... :s11:

Forgive him he has gone mad.

ericsoon72
28-11-2004, 10:00 PM
will the carling cup match vs arse be shown live on scv?

ralliart_ray
28-11-2004, 10:03 PM
go scholes go!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RVN
29-11-2004, 12:43 AM
Boro losing 2-0 to Spurs, we stay in 4th position. :)

ericsoon72
29-11-2004, 12:45 AM
the threadstarter has spoken again!

Kyubi
29-11-2004, 02:02 AM
we are closing in with arsenal ... hahah lfc won 2-1

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 02:03 AM
yes well done liv, they played veri well today, they deserve tat 3 pts

goukiakuma
29-11-2004, 02:05 AM
yeah.. nice mellor

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 02:21 AM
yeah.. nice mellor
hope mu can get 3pt next wk against saints

RVN
29-11-2004, 02:28 AM
3 points behind everton and 4 points behind arsenal now. =:p

Good weekend for United, all the results apart from Chelsea are going our way. I'd rather Arsenal beat Chelsea to blow the title race wide-open, or atleast draw. :D

cal127
29-11-2004, 02:30 AM
Mourinho must be a damn happy man today. :s13:

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 02:32 AM

Good weekend for United, all the results apart from Chelsea are going our way. I'd rather Arsenal beat Chelsea to blow the title race wide-open, or atleast draw. :D
nvm chelsea will find it hard next wk to get 3 pts

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 03:15 AM
the threadstarter has spoken again!
we might win over Arsenal this wednesday's game.. since the THreadstarter has spoken again.. I think he needs to open his "golden" mouth more often liao.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 03:17 AM
Mourinho must be a damn happy man today. :s13:
I hope both him and A.Wenger will not be a happy man from now onwards.

Seals
29-11-2004, 08:39 AM
ask u...

who can take over ryan giggs as left winger..we need to look at this dept.. practically keane...scholes when they retire..

sengkangboy
29-11-2004, 08:46 AM
ANyone knows where can see the goals for the match ? SCV didn't show it live last weekend..

LittleToy
29-11-2004, 08:56 AM
ask u...

who can take over ryan giggs as left winger..we need to look at this dept.. practically keane...scholes when they retire..

Its likely that Giggs will be taken over by Ronaldo with Darren Fletcher on the other flank. Fletcher is one of the best that has arrived through the academy and broken into the 1st team, though, experience is lacking... NEeds more Euro game experience...

As for Scholes, I think it'll be Rooney who is being moulded. Alan Smith is another possibility as well. The main problem seems to be Keane's position. Djemba is not up to it, neither is Phil Neville. Butt was good, but he couldn't wait. We'll have to see what happens next summer. Wondering who Fergie will sign to replace Keane..

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 10:44 AM
yeah... we have close in on everton and arsenal... we must thank those team tt has helped us like liverpool... a nice goal by liverpool's mellor to condemn arsenal to 2nd defeat of the season... nw the christmas and new yr season is a gd time for us to climb back to the top since there is alot of games in b/w...
the threadstarter golden mouth indeed bought some luck to the team...lol

Ronaldo7
29-11-2004, 11:02 AM
looking forward to arsenal vs chelsea in 2 weeks :evil:

sengkangboy: http://www.manumovies.co.uk/

Ch3tah_39
29-11-2004, 11:48 AM
looking forward to arsenal vs chelsea in 2 weeks :evil:

sengkangboy: http://www.manumovies.co.uk/

haha... best is draw lor... :s13:

Feador
29-11-2004, 12:17 PM
no point being happy if later on our engine breaks down again which i hope certainly not...

RVN
29-11-2004, 12:51 PM
no point being happy if later on our engine breaks down again which i hope certainly not...

Thats why we got to keep on winning our own matches to keep up the pressure and hope other results falls our way. :D

MatrixFanatic
29-11-2004, 01:35 PM
haha... best is draw lor... :s13:

It would be better for Arsenal to defeat Chelsea. I just don't like Chelsea wahaha.

JirQUEST
29-11-2004, 01:37 PM

oh that will happen :D

Totti76
29-11-2004, 02:05 PM
It would be better for Arsenal to defeat Chelsea. I just don't like Chelsea wahaha.
From the league table pt of view...draw is the best result....but then..if i hv to choose a loser...I will pick arsenal's ass.. :s13:
If Utd dun win the league..Chelsea will b my next prefer choice..

o0KelviN0o
29-11-2004, 02:16 PM
better for Arsenal to beat Chelsea... then everton lose next 2 games... we win next few games... woo hoo!!!

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 03:32 PM
u peo really naive

o0KelviN0o
29-11-2004, 03:40 PM
as fans... we hope that our club will win... like that consider naive?

Ch3tah_39
29-11-2004, 03:48 PM
u peo really naive

can someone tell me wat is wrong with hiM?? :s8:

stipe
29-11-2004, 03:49 PM
Thats why we got to keep on winning our own matches to keep up the pressure and hope other results falls our way. :D

yep... just dun bother what the rest are doing, just heads down and win all remaining matches and see what happens at the end of the season...

Yellowfin
29-11-2004, 03:51 PM
better for Arsenal to beat Chelsea... then everton lose next 2 games... we win next few games... woo hoo!!!

This will be a good christmas present to all Man Utd fans. :D

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 04:04 PM
ask u...

Ermm.... C.Ronaldo can take up both sides, but I think we need him @ the left-wing more than the right wing. Or Kieran Richardson can too. As for right-wing, D.Fletcher or C.Eagles can take over too.

As for center-midfielder(s), I think can give J.Kleberson and A.Smith a chance. Can test A.Smith in the center.

Rgds,
O'

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:12 PM
This will be a good christmas present to all Man Utd fans. :D
gd for mu fan, but sad for many team, why u all cant consider others feeling?

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:13 PM
Ermm.... C.Ronaldo can take up both sides, but I think we need him @ the left-wing more than the right wing. Or Kieran Richardson can too. As for right-wing, D.Fletcher or C.Eagles can take over too.

As for center-midfielder(s), I think can give J.Kleberson and A.Smith a chance. Can test A.Smith in the center.

Rgds,
O'
ronaldo sometime gd onli, at most time he dribble too much

smith? he shot ten time maybe can shot one in, most no. of time falling onto ground is him

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 04:15 PM
u peo really naive

I think there's nothing wrong with him. It's just his way of getting attn from others. As long as we ignore him, he can do nothuing. Unless U guys wanna to ban him from this thread. lolx... :s13: or u wanna to :s27: him. LOlx....

Anyway, seriously, it is really a bit naive but in a good way. It's just different ways to support your own soccer club. So no poitn bother with what he said.

Rgds,
O'

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:15 PM
im alright thanks, dun u really think they naive, this team beat this and the other team lose two time? wan me add? mu win win all fixtures until new yr, i more solid right

jujube
29-11-2004, 04:21 PM
I think Kleberson needs to get a run of games.
I believe he is talented enough

Yellowfin
29-11-2004, 04:32 PM

Put on ignore list.

Ronaldo7
29-11-2004, 04:36 PM

IF you are a manchester united supporter and when someone ask you do you wantyour team win the league , the answer is obviously a yes right :s13:

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:37 PM
I think there's nothing wrong with him. It's just his way of getting attn from others. As long as we ignore him, he can do nothuing. Unless U guys wanna to ban him from this thread. lolx... :s13: or u wanna to :s27: him. LOlx....

Anyway, seriously, it is really a bit naive but in a good way. It's just different ways to support your own soccer club. So no poitn bother with what he said.

Rgds,
O'
u so rough wan box me? come hendon camp find me A Pl02 section 2

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:38 PM
IF you are a manchester united supporter and when someone ask you do you wantyour team win the league , the answer is obviously a yes right :s13:
dun say can win, too early and too hao lian

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 04:44 PM

Look who's talking now. You are the one who goes to other clubs' forums to talk nonsensical things over there and let people come over here to complain abt U. Anyway, all they saying is just their feelings, what going to happen is still depends on Man Utd players and manager, strategy, luck and other reasons and etc and etc....

ronaldo sometime gd onli, at most time he dribble too much

smith? he shot ten time maybe can shot one in, most no. of time falling onto ground is him

I think both of them are good. Just need more time & games. Anyway, players good or not, is not determined by a few games or few persons. So I guess we should let the players to play more games and have more understanding with their partners who are their team-mates too.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 04:46 PM
Ya, I agree too.

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:46 PM
call cantona back

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 04:47 PM
u so rough wan box me? come hendon camp find me A Pl02 section 2
hahaha.. I dun wanna 2 be rough with you. what I am saying is giving them suggestions and commentings... I am not being rough.

Moreover, U sounds more threatening than me.

United_Treble
29-11-2004, 04:50 PM
hahaha.. I dun wanna 2 be rough with you. what I am saying is giving them suggestions and commentings... I am not being rough.

Moreover, U sounds more threatening than me.
giving comments mean u even more evil, back stab? i noe u and jeff dun like mu, but oso dun mention beat or ban ma

RVN
29-11-2004, 04:56 PM
O'Shea wants to stay at United

John O'Shea has denied rumours he is leaving Manchester United in January.
The Republic of Ireland defender, 23, has lost his first-team place to Gabriel Heinze but told MUTV: "There is no way I am leaving Old Trafford.

"I am definitely staying, without a doubt, and, fingers crossed, I will be here for a long time to come.

"When you are playing for Manchester United, you are going to face pressure. I have faced it before, no doubt I will face it again in the future."

He added: "What you have to do is make sure when you get a chance, you put the manager under pressure not to leave you out."

O'Shea, who has not started a Premiership game since early October, has been linked with Newcastle.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4050939.stm

Ch3tah_39
29-11-2004, 05:24 PM

ya... :D(ten words pls)

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 05:32 PM
giving comments mean u even more evil, back stab? i noe u and jeff dun like mu, but oso dun mention beat or ban ma
hahaha... aiyo, i am just kidding nia... hw come suddenly, i become the wicked person... klolx... first, must correct u. I dun like or dislike U as i duno who u are.

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 05:45 PM
u peo really naive

naive??? i dun tink so though... all man utd fans will wan to see man utd climb back to the top and win back the premiership... like tt call naive meh... however i smtimes feel tt united_treble is tokin no sense in tis thread though... feel tt smtimes he is always pessimistic towards man utd...

as for klberson, i tink fergie shld let him haf a gd run of games so tt we will be able to see how he really perform...

nw we can onli hope man utd's worries at the start of the season is over and nw start on our own run of winnin games and do our own jobs, at the same time pray the top 3 teams drop points along the way... nw is onli 15 games to the EPL, there is still 23 games and tings can change still... like a few season ago, it was thought arsenal will win the EPL until leeds do us a favour by beatin arsenal and in the end we won the title... tt says tt tings are unpredictable and tings can change still... all man utd nid to do is try to win as many games as possible and not lose again

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 06:01 PM
as for klberson, i tink fergie shld let him haf a gd run of games so tt we will be able to see how he really perform...

Ya, I think he should be given more chances to show what is he make up off. Hope that he can be featured in the Carling Cup this week. Ermm... I will like to see the followng young players during this week Carling Cup: -

G.Rossi
C.Eagles
K.Richardson
G.Pique
J.Spector

I really hope this players can be featured. As long as young players got chances. I think w/o doubts, J.Kleberson & E.Djemba should be featured. Anyway, will there be live telecast on tv?

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 06:03 PM
i dun tink there is any live telecast for the match leh cos The New Paper nv put any timin for the match... it onli put the timin for next wkend matches nia

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 06:50 PM
i dun tink there is any live telecast for the match leh cos The New Paper nv put any timin for the match... it onli put the timin for next wkend matches nia
I am starting to think *hub needs to broadcast more games, if they wanna viewers to pay more.

alvinoyw
29-11-2004, 07:27 PM
The Mickey mouse cup is shown live, I heard the commentators in ESPN say it.

RVN
29-11-2004, 08:07 PM

Sure or not :s11:

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 08:08 PM
mickey mouse cup? ermm I think I been away for too long. what's mickey mouse cup? hahaha....:-P

ericsoon72
29-11-2004, 08:09 PM
I am starting to think *hub needs to broadcast more games, if they wanna viewers to pay more.

we are already paying more...twice in fact...so where are the live matches? :alien: :mad:

kahmun7
29-11-2004, 08:30 PM
mickey mouse cup? ermm I think I been away for too long. what's mickey mouse cup? hahaha....:-P
League CUp lar.. or whatever it is called nowadays..
cos it's unimportant to most.. so mah call it mickey mouse cup lor

RVN
29-11-2004, 08:35 PM

This carling cup is worthless, its the least priority for us, CL and EPL more important for us, we always use this competition to give some of our youngsters a run-out.

MatrixFanatic
29-11-2004, 08:40 PM
This carling cup is worthless, its the least priority for us, CL and EPL more important for us, we always use this competition to give some of our youngsters a run-out.

But Manu will receive money from the competition.

alvinoyw
29-11-2004, 08:41 PM
Yep the Mickey Mouse Cup is the worthless league cup, I remember seeing a picture of Man Utd fans holding up a giant banner taunting Liverpool that they had won the Micky mouse treble in 2001 lol. The UEFA cup, FA cup and league cup = Mickey Mouse Treble

Ch3tah_39
29-11-2004, 08:41 PM
But Manu will receive money from the competition.

CL IS MUCH MUCH MORE LOR...

alvinoyw
29-11-2004, 08:42 PM
Sure or not :s11:

Yah quite sure, they are showing other lower division LC games as well.

Ch3tah_39
29-11-2004, 08:42 PM

ya lor.. utd alwez uses reserve to play in this competition.. :D

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 08:52 PM
we are already paying more...twice in fact...so where are the live matches? :alien: :mad:

ya, sorry larh... i am sorta of putting in that way.. thanks for rephases me. But really damn pi**ed off leh... $16 is not cheap lor. But still no live telecast. Not even repeat telecast. Ridiculous man. :mad:

Hahaha.. Not really worthless larh. At least with Carling Cup, it let our youngsters to have changes to prove themselves and @ the same time, there are winner $$$ that we can used leh. Sometmes, it's those small mini cups that can help us to train our youngsters.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
29-11-2004, 08:58 PM
Hahaha.. Not really worthless larh. At least with Carling Cup, it let our youngsters to have changes to prove themselves and @ the same time, there are winner $$$ that we can used leh. Sometmes, it's those small mini cups that can help us to train our youngsters.

Rgds,
O'

I see your point, this cup would meant a lot to some of our youngsters so that they can claim for a first-team spot. ;)

as for the $$$, if we go far as we can in the CL as possible or even win it(I hope we do), we get a lot more. :D

AhHuat
29-11-2004, 09:41 PM
hmm manu youth got someone like fabregas ?
would like to see one though :D

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 09:54 PM
I see your point, this cup would meant a lot to some of our youngsters so that they can claim for a first-team spot. ;)

as for the $$$, if we go far as we can in the CL as possible or even win it(I hope we do), we get a lot more. :D
Sorta of larh. I still think it's good to earn $$$ from Carling Cup too. Why not, As lkong as it's money, we should have it!

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 09:55 PM
hope tis wkend will see players like Rossi, Pique, ricardson etc play and beat arsenal and go on to semi finals

MatrixFanatic
29-11-2004, 10:34 PM
hmm manu youth got someone like fabregas ?
would like to see one though :D

Spector!!! Surprisingly Fergie left him out of the picture liao....

alvinoyw
29-11-2004, 11:01 PM
Spector!!! Surprisingly Fergie left him out of the picture liao....

Spector is a defender -_-
anyway he's going out on loan soon

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 11:08 PM

really??? where did u hear it frm?

chengsun
29-11-2004, 11:16 PM
really??? where did u hear it frm?
bryan robson going to loan him

alvinoyw
29-11-2004, 11:23 PM
Yeh he's going to WBA, good for that boy to get some first team apps

http://msn.foxsports.com/story/3193568

usjag_18
29-11-2004, 11:38 PM

Hope they are not putting him on bench for posting nia.. otherwise, will be very disappointed with Bryan Robson.

cutieboy86
29-11-2004, 11:41 PM
oic... ok lar let him experience more 1st team football...

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 12:37 AM
Agreed with you. The most important thing is to support Man Utd and their players thru good time and bad time.

Anyway, how long does one person support Man Utd are not really that important or does it make one consider to be a better Man Utd supporter.

Just my 2 peso.
High 5, totally agree with wat u said. Time is nothing. Just like last time, supporting a club is just like how u treating your gf or bf... Some people dated or married more than 10 years, in the end still divorce or break up.. Whereas some people just know each other less than 10 years, still marry and together leh.
I guess it's the heart that counts... No matter good or bad times.

RVN
30-11-2004, 12:41 AM

That is from the tabloids tales. Nothing confirmed yet. :s22:

although would be great to see him gain some experience in the premiership with west brom. ;)

MatrixFanatic
30-11-2004, 08:29 AM

But he's a youth. -_- =:p

alvinoyw
30-11-2004, 09:20 AM
Woooo, Scholes is the OPTA player of the month

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=240795&cpid=8&CLID=14&lid=&title=Opta+Player+of+the+Month

alvinoyw
30-11-2004, 09:25 AM
We haven't done this have we? List your top 5 favourite players of all time, they don't have to be the best. Please don't say stuff like Bobby Charlton unless you've seen him play, video clips don't count -_-

1) Cantona
2) Scholes
3) Giggs
4) Schmeichel
5) Keane

Beckham, Sheringham and Ole just outside the list :s22:

MatrixFanatic
30-11-2004, 09:39 AM

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=240795&cpid=8&CLID=14&lid=&title=Opta+Player+of+the+Month

He deserves it. :s12:

Top 5 favourite players?
Paul Scholes
Roy Keane
Ryan Giggs
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Sheringham

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:32 AM
We haven't done this have we? List your top 5 favourite players of all time, they don't have to be the best. Please don't say stuff like Bobby Charlton unless you've seen him play, video clips don't count -_-

1) Cantona
2) Scholes
3) Giggs
4) Schmeichel
5) Keane

M.Hughes ( I am lucky enough see him played for Man Utd soon after he returned to Man Utd from Barcelona)
E.Cantona (Devil among Devil - the most suitable player to call himself a RED DEVIL)
R.Giggs (Indeed a WIZARD)
T.Sheringham (Truely an old but perservance player)
P.Scholes (Use his skills instead of his mouth)
R.van Nistelrooy (Hehhee... I think one of the record breakers, hope he can break thru and win us the CL again)
O. Gunnar Solskjaer (Who can win the perservance of an super sub plus an assassin who "kills" with his skills)

Ermmm, sorry too many liao. 5 is a small number, I guess I like most of them but those I listed are those I really like due to their commitment and their persistenence towards soccer.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:44 AM

Coolx... I guess he deserves it after scoring 3 goals in 2 games and his passing sense is coming back too.

Anyway, hope all the players will start to show their skils. I just finish watching the match between WBA vs Man Utd and Lyon vs Man Utd. Both games are good. I think W.Brown starting to show his form again. As for D.Fletcher, he did perform well this couple of times, but still I think he really needs to change his dilly-dally way of passing the ball.

But overall, well done players. Keep it up!!!

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
30-11-2004, 11:01 AM
top 5 fav players?

1. Cantona
2. Mark Huges
3. Roy Keane
4. Scholes
5. Ruud

there is juz too many players and is diff to try list them in top 5

cutieboy86
30-11-2004, 11:03 AM
Smith: 'Our Confidence Is Increasing'

Confidence among United's players is continuing to grow after the Reds extended their unbeaten run to seven matches with victory over West Brom on Saturday.

United consolidated their position nine points behind Chelsea after the weekend's round of Premiership results, whilst also closing the gap on Arsenal, who lost 2-1 to Liverpool at Anfield, to just four points.

November has seen a rapid change in form at the club; United have taken 10 points from a possible 12 - double the amount garnered from the same number of games in October.

Four clean sheets and 16 goals in all competitions this month represent an impressive four weeks for the Reds, a run of form striker Alan Smith insists United must now sustain.

"From a distance, everyone knows how good Manchester United are," he said. "Over the last three or four games we have looked like we are getting back to our usual selves. Hopefully we can continue like that.

Fergie's side achieved greater consistency in November, with 16 goals and 4 clean sheets.

"Results breed confidence. That is what we have needed," Smith told BBC GMR. "We have had some big wins this season, then let ourselves down in the games afterwards.

"We need to get the consistency back. When Manchester United come to town everyone wants to beat them. It was the same when I was at Leeds.

"The opposition seems to find an extra 10%. It is their cup final. Everyone wants to beat you so much. Now I have seen it first hand. It is something you have to get used to at this club. We will do that as a team, collectively as we grow together."

Smith has been called upon to play in midfield in recent weeks; his fiery enthusiasm has been likened to Roy Keane and, with an ability to tackle, he is seen by some as a possible future central midfield player at Old Trafford.

However, his ability to pressurise defenders and enter into full-blooded tackles are perhaps better served as an additional asset up front rather than the core element to his game as a midfielder. Smith says he will apply his commitment and endeavour to any position in the team.

"I am willing to play anywhere the manager puts me," he said. "If I can do a good job for the team, that is the most important thing.

"There is always someone else hoping to pinch your place and they are all as capable as the next person of doing a job," Smith said of the competition in United's squad.

Considering the 24-year-old made such an emotive move from Leeds over the summer, Smith has made short work of endearing himself to United's fans - a relationship reciprocated by his intent not to let the supporters down.

"The fans have been really good," he said. "You have to make sure you do your best for them. When you get a chance you have to make sure your performance is up to scratch. They back every single player and I am no different."

Despite reducing the distance between United and Arsenal to just four points the Reds remain nine points adrift of league leaders Chelsea. According to Smith, hard graft before the New Year is needed to close in on Jose Mourinho's side.

"We need to get our heads down and get some good performances in," he added. "We are definitely in with a chance. There is only a third of the season gone. You can't write our chances off yet."

Yellowfin
30-11-2004, 11:58 AM
Not in order of merit.

1) Bobby charlton
2) Lou Macari
3) Dennis Irvwin
4) OGS
5)RVN

Actually, there are alot more but forget their name. :)

alvinoyw
30-11-2004, 12:49 PM
Not in order of merit.

1) Bobby charlton
2) Lou Macari
3) Dennis Irvwin
4) OGS
5)RVN

Wow you must be like 50 years old :eek:

alvinoyw
30-11-2004, 12:58 PM
No one here likes Pallister, Bruce, Ince,Mclair or Kenchelskis? I like Hughes too but I haven't seen him alot to like him that much. Most be people tend to put Eric The King at number 1 tho :p

Javier07
30-11-2004, 03:47 PM
is the carling cup match with arsenal telecasted?

Ronaldo7
30-11-2004, 04:46 PM
don't think so :sad:

el_leumas
30-11-2004, 06:33 PM
Not in order of merit.

1) Bobby charlton
2) Lou Macari
3) Dennis Irvwin
4) OGS
5)RVN

No George Best????? How can?

The international matches abit screwed...the whole football calender screwed...too many matches causing too many injuries

cutieboy86
30-11-2004, 07:59 PM
tml possible team:

Manchester United (from): Howard, P Neville, Brown, O’Shea, Fortune, Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Richardson, Smith, Bellion, Spector, Eagles, Rossi, Ricardo, Ngalula.

hu is Ngalula btw?

RVN
30-11-2004, 08:18 PM
No idea about Ngalula either. But Fergie seem to have high hopes on him. :)

Fergie To Stick With Young Guns

http://tinyurl.com/7xsvk

Sir Alex Ferguson is pondering starting United youngsters Giuseppe Rossi and Chris Eagles in United's Carling Cup clash with Arsenal on Wednesday night.

The Reds boss confirmed to reporters he will field a similar side to the one deployed against Crystal Palace in the last round of the competition, adding that both young forward Rossi and midfielder Eagles have a chance of making the starting eleven.

"I will play the same squad as against Crystal Palace, albeit with Louis Saha not involved," confirmed the boss. "Young Giuseppe Rossi comes into the picture, as does Chris Eagles.

"Rossi is one we would like to include," said Ferguson. "He has impressed us with the games he has played since he arrived at the club from Italy. Rossi, Gerard Pique and Floribert N'Galula have been absolutely fantastic. We’re very pleased with them.

"You always learn about your players in these matches. It is an area where you can test the players; test their character, their temperament and their ability to play at the top level. It’s a great moment for all the young players here."

There has been a buzz around the club and among supporters about Rossi’s performances in the reserves this season. Chris Eagles has also been receiving positive reviews for his displays for United’s second string.

Rossi, a 17-year-old summer signing from Serie A side Parma, does not turn 18 until February but has earned himself a place in the manager’s plans for the quarter final clash with Arsenal.

And it may be the ideal time to include the younger players in the squad. A run of seven matches unbeaten in November will have doubtless filtered down through the squad and is a far better environment for the young players to gain first-team experience.

"You’re seeing the return of confidence," remarked Sir Alex ahead of the game. "There is no doubt that has played a part. With the return of confidence you see the results we are getting now."

The Reds boss expects his opposite number at Arsenal, Arsene Wenger, to stick to his policy of using young players in the competition when he brings his team to Old Trafford.

"I think he will keep to his promise," Sir Alex said. "I only know of one or two of their young players. They have got some good, impressive results against Everton and Manchester City.

"It will be a game of high quality and I am looking forward to it. It’s the quarter final of the league cup, so you expect it to be a competitive game.

"It doesn’t matter who you play against or what game it is. On Tuesday night there is Fulham-Chelsea and Watford-Portsmouth, on Wednesday there is Tottenham-Liverpool. You have a chance of getting to the semi final and everyone wants to get there.

"I think whoever wins our game has a great chance of reaching the final," he added.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=129791&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Yellowfin
30-11-2004, 08:30 PM
No George Best????? How can?

I admit George Best are talented and good to watch when he is at his best but I feel that he don't contribute as much as Bobby charlton to Man Utd.

Javier07
30-11-2004, 08:51 PM
don't think so :sad:
damn.. if you checked SCV's schedule..

theres a special channel for United in e digital tier where you can watch red hot news etc.. and if i am not wrong... the telecast for the carling cup match will be shown in that channel!! :s27: :s27:

Ronaldo7
30-11-2004, 09:24 PM

theres a special channel for United in e digital tier where you can watch red hot news etc.. and if i am not wrong... the telecast for the carling cup match will be shown in that channel!! :s27: :s27:

i don't have digital cable :(

ngalula is a defensive mid i think and is highly rated by many over at the redcafe forum :)

cracker
30-11-2004, 09:27 PM
I admit George Best are talented and good to watch when he is at his best but I feel that he don't contribute as much as Bobby charlton to Man Utd.

u had the chance to watch either Bobby Charlton or George Best in action ?

alvinoyw
30-11-2004, 09:45 PM
Yeah you can't name them in ur top 5 if you haven't seen him play, why do you think we only name the recent players in the club. You can name George Best but you've probably never seen him play a full match. -_-

jujube
30-11-2004, 10:07 PM
its nice to see Smith talk like that :)

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:09 PM
tml possible team:

Manchester United (from): Howard, P Neville, Brown, O’Shea, Fortune, Fletcher, Djemba-Djemba, Kleberson, Richardson, Smith, Bellion, Spector, Eagles, Rossi, Ricardo, Ngalula.

hu is Ngalula btw?
One of the top rookies.

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:12 PM

Dun think it will be telecast, checked it a few days ago.

RVN
30-11-2004, 10:14 PM
tml possible team:

hu is Ngalula btw?

Why no Miller or Pique in the squad, think they should be in there. :s11:

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:28 PM
u had the chance to watch either Bobby Charlton or George Best in action ?
I think he should have. Because he sounds old to put B.Charlton inside his top 5 list.

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 10:41 PM
Why no Miller or Pique in the squad, think they should be in there. :s11:
Lolx...Mebbe Miller not young enuff... hahahaa...

From his guessing, I think 3 of them will not be in, they are W.Brown, Q.Fortune and D.Fletcher. Reasons? Because Q.Fortune is injured again, W.Brown and D.Fletcher already played the game against WBA the past wkend. So they need to be rest. Especially, now G.Neville is still having the virus.

Rgds,
O'

trax06
30-11-2004, 10:45 PM
will the ManUtd vs Arsenal match be telecast on SCV ?? which channel ?

___jeff
30-11-2004, 10:53 PM
will the ManUtd vs Arsenal match be telecast on SCV ?? which channel ?

not on basic sports channel but goal tv 1

usjag_18
30-11-2004, 11:33 PM
not on basic sports channel but goal tv 1
Are U 100% sure? Because that day, I check the time schedule, didn't show leh.

el_leumas
01-12-2004, 12:46 AM
Yeah you can't name them in ur top 5 if you haven't seen him play, why do you think we only name the recent players in the club. You can name George Best but you've probably never seen him play a full match. -_-
I did see George Best in a full match b4, VCD and some old video tapes....

Going by this, your top 5 is very biased, isnt it?

I DEFINITELY DONT SUPPORT LIVERPOOL(disclaimer), but can you argue successfully that John Barnes, Kenny Dalglish and Kevin Keegan are not in Liverpool's top 10 players of all time?

usjag_18
01-12-2004, 12:54 AM

I DEFINITELY DONT SUPPORT LIVERPOOL(disclaimer), but can you argue successfully that John Barnes, Kenny Dalglish and Kevin Keegan are not in Liverpool's top 10 players of all time?
Hahaha... But he's right too. What's the point of naming some players that U never seen before? If he's talking about OVERALL, then maybe we can choose from there.

Rgds,
O'

alvinoyw
01-12-2004, 02:55 AM

I mean your top 5 FAVOURITE PLAYERS, they don't have to be the best. Geez people have to open their eyes and start reading.

cracker
01-12-2004, 07:11 AM
Just read TODAY paper,,, SCV Ch 22 will show the MU-Arsenal game while Ch 21 will show Spur-Liverpool game...Telecast begins at 3:40 AM (Thursday)

___jeff
01-12-2004, 09:14 AM
Just read TODAY paper,,, SCV Ch 22 will show the MU-Arsenal game while Ch 21 will show Spur-Liverpool game...Telecast begins at 3:40 AM (Thursday)

wow thanks for the info

usjag_18
01-12-2004, 11:31 AM
Saha's France call-ups worry Sir Alex

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has voiced his concerns about releasing Louis Saha for international duty with France in the future.

Saha: International injuries (MikeEgerton/Empics) (http://www.soccernet.com/images/jb2/saha_me180.jpg)

The former Fulham striker again suffered a knee injury playing for his country two weeks ago and is expected to be out until the new year.

Ferguson said: 'He's had a terrible time and every injury has been with France. It is unbelievable.

'He has not been injured with us at all. It gives us concerns about him going to play for France again.'

Saha, who joined United from Fulham during last January's transfer window, has been plagued by problems since the summer.

He missed the club's pre-season trip to the United States then the opening four games of the new campaign and after making his comeback at the end of August, was injured while on international duty with France.

The £12.8million signing has made only 15 starts in all competitions since his move to Old Trafford with his latest setback coming when he was again injured playing for his country two weeks ago.

source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=317940&cc=3436)

Seriously, I think this is really a very serious problem. Everytime he got injured, Man Utd is the one that suffered. Not only lost on $$$, also on the choices of players too. I think maybe it's time to stop him to play for France if they can't make sure our players will be safe from getting injured during international game. I mean I understand that players got injured is unpredictable, but I think it's too much if Man Utd is paying the salary and France is the one who destroy our game and choices.

Aiya, dun U guys think France and Frenchmen are always making our lives difficult? First is A.Wenger, then Arsenal players(most of them are frenchmen),and their FFA. Kaoz... Man Utd should bombard them with all kinds of promises to keep our players safe from injuries even though I think it's a bit dumba**, hehehe...:-P but still it's really unfair to Man Utd.

Rgds,
O'

Milner_24
01-12-2004, 12:39 PM

swee swee lah...battle of the youngster!!

Ronaldo7
01-12-2004, 01:47 PM
but i don't agree with fergie on this issue

'He has not been injured with us at all. It gives us concerns about him going to play for France again.'

don't really make any sense imo . just bad luck :s22:

usjag_18
01-12-2004, 01:55 PM
swee swee lah...battle of the youngster!!
lolx....it's the BATTLE OF YOUNGSTERS!!!

usjag_18
01-12-2004, 01:58 PM
but i don't agree with fergie on this issue

don't really make any sense imo . just bad luck :s22:
Hahaha... but the truth is he did get injuries easily during international game. However, i think L.Saha also doesn't have much chances to get injuried when he's playing for Man UTd. Since he didn't play 1st team game most of the time.

Rgds,
O'

ronaldo_785
01-12-2004, 02:28 PM
yeah man.. saha seems to get less of a runout these days since de inclusion of rooney n smith whu have been performing well this season.. he's more like de 4th choice striker nowadys.. but still we need 4 strikers till de end of de season.. u cant expect rooney n rvn to play every game dont u? remember 1999 when we had 4 top strikers and we won de treble? so yeah get saha back quickly n hopefully he starts firin in some goals 4 us as well.. :P

kahmun7
01-12-2004, 03:17 PM
har har har.. not sure about that.. maybe the training technique for France does not suit Saha???
just my 2 cents

usjag_18
01-12-2004, 05:55 PM
yeah man.. saha seems to get less of a runout these days since de inclusion of rooney n smith whu have been performing well this season.. he's more like de 4th choice striker nowadys.. but still we need 4 strikers till de end of de season.. u cant expect rooney n rvn to play every game dont u? remember 1999 when we had 4 top strikers and we won de treble? so yeah get saha back quickly n hopefully he starts firin in some goals 4 us as well.. :P
Ya, if not becos of T.Sheringham & O.G. Solskjaer be the backup, I dun think @ tat time A.COle and D.Yorke will be able to break the lock man, especially, A.Cole. The mistakes he made were silly and unnecessary.

Rgds,
O'

cutieboy86
01-12-2004, 08:00 PM
Fergie Looks For Character Among Cup Kids

For United’s aspiring young players given the chance to prove their credentials against Arsenal on Wednesday, it will be a test of temperament as much as a test of talent.

There are high hopes for a number of players breaking through the ranks at Old Trafford; Kieran Richardson, Chris Eagles and David Jones have all made progressive strides from FA Youth Cup winners in 2002/03 to United’s Reserves.

Summer signings Giuseppe Rossi and Gerard Pique, and Floribert N’Galula - all aged 17 - have entered more recently into Sir Alex Ferguson’s plans, although equally impressively so.

Although Sir Alex plans to use the squad that beat Crystal Palace in the last round - the starting eleven comprising of Phil Neville, O'Shea, Brown, Kleberson, Djemba, Miller and Fletcher - the game will be used to blood some of the club's emerging talents.

Ferguson this week took the opportunity to take a closer look at his young hopefuls in training. He was impressed with what he saw.

"The younger ones joined in the sessions this week," he told Manchester United Radio. "The young players trained with us and were great. They showed great enthusiasm for it.

"The kids have been great, I must say that," he beams. But Wednesday night provides a different kind of test.

"It is one of the great things about this club - we always search for the temperament in young players. Playing in these games finds that out," admits the boss.

Sir Alex believes a mixture of promising youngsters and experienced first team players could take United to the final of the competition.

"It’s important to the players that play against Arsenal. They could go on and win the cup - quite easily. They are good enough - a really good bunch of boys.

"There is the right blend of players, some with first team experience like John O’Shea, Wes Brown and Phil Neville.

"It shouldn’t be too difficult for the players to gel because they have good ability and they train everyday together."

Ronaldo7
02-12-2004, 12:20 AM
can't wait to see some of our promising youngsters in action :)

cutter
02-12-2004, 01:42 AM

1) Cantona
2) Scholes
3) Giggs
4) Schmeichel
5) Keane

top 5 Man Utd players for me (as a TV viewer):
Cantona
Schmeichel
Keano
Robson
Solskjaer

other favs:
van Nistelrooy
Giggs
Whiteside
McGrath
Sparky
Kanchelskies
Pally

Top 5 overall (TV)...all playmakers :D :
Cantona
Maradona
Zidane
Hagi
Platini

Top 5 overall (as a paying stadium spectator):
Cantona
Zidane
Ronaldo (buck-toothed fatty)
Keano
Zola

MatrixFanatic
02-12-2004, 06:32 AM
Miller my man of the match. :s7:

Milner_24
02-12-2004, 06:48 AM
oh no we face chelsea...the 2nd string is like..... :angel:

RVN
02-12-2004, 07:06 AM
we probably get hammered, chelsea will play their first-teamers while we stick with our reserves. :o :(

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 09:51 AM
woah... we won the match again thx to a bellion goal... must oso thank their gk for lettin in that goal... initially i tot it wouldnt go in... juz a 19sec goal and tt settled the match... haha

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 10:19 AM
match report as follow:

Lightning Strike Sends Reds Into Semis
Carling Cup: United 1 Arsenal 0

David Bellion's goal barely twenty seconds into this Carling Cup fifth round with Arsenal was enough to guarantee United a place in the semi-finals to be played early next year.

The next eight-nine minutes plus provided plenty of honest endeavour and not a little good football, but neither side could muster another goal.

This intriguing tie attracted an enormous attendance of 67,103, the biggest in history to watch a League Cup tie away from finals held at the Millennium Stadium and Wembley.

Both managers were true to their word when they said that they would stick with the second string teams which had seen them arrive at this quarter-final tie. Sir Alex Ferguson named the same nucleus of players which had steered United past Crewe Alexandra and Crystal Palace, whilst Arsene Wenger also stuck to his guns sending out the squad which had eliminated Manchester City and Everton on the way to the last eight.

Many were pondering what type of game these teams would produce considering the fireworks, which are normally let out of the box when the ‘seniors’ meet. Only time would provide the answer to that poser, but at least the crowd didn’t have long wait to celebrate the first goal.

This was the sixth meeting between the clubs in the League Cup with United having won three of the previous five. Arguably, the most memorable being the 6-2 win at Highbury in November 1990 on the night when Lee Sharpe grabbed three of United’s goals. Then there was the 1983 semi-final when the Reds won both legs to rack up a 6-3 aggregate win.

There was no pre-amble, United just raced upfield to make a dream start with David Bellion, the lone striker on United’s teamsheet, who hurtled through to place his shot wide of Arsenal goalkeeper, and skipper for the night, Manuel Almunia.

United proceeded to build on their unexpected start to the game and were desperately unlucky not increase their lead in the 13th minute. Bellion the scorer turned into the provider with a beautiful threaded ball that sent Eagles away en route for Arsenal’s area. The youngster from Hemel Hempstead did every right except put a finish on his good work. Eagles’ shot fizzing away the wrong side of Almunia’s far post. Bellion was probably better placed to receive a return pass, but no one could blame Eagles for having a dip at goal.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s team continued to be the dominant force in the first half with the Gunners restricted to only rare excursions into United’s area.

Liam Miller almost got his head to left wing cross as United sought a second goal and Kieran Richardson was inches away from beating Almunia to a loose ball.

Arsenal’s best chance of the half arrived shortly before the break when Arturo Lupoli was fouled by United defender Wes Brown on the edge of the penalty area. Jermaine Pennant swerved the free-kick around the United wall, but Tim Howard got down rapidly to push the ball away.

Seconds into the restart and the fierce rivalry that always bubbles under when these sides meet broke through the surface once again. Richardson and Robin Van Persie were involved in a scuffle on the near touchline and within seconds pretty well every player on the field had converged on the spot. Fortunately, the referee Mike Halsey was quick to calm tempers and eventually took the heat out of the situation by booking both players.

Arsenal came more into the game after the break with Van Persie and Pennant the players causing United the most trouble. Not that there was any great anxiety in the United defence because most the improvement shown by the visitors was in the middle of the field.

Both managers made changes as the half wore on with Southport-born David Jones leaving the bench to make his senior competitive debut. Giuseppe Rossi also stepped into the fray with Eagles and Kleberson the players making way. Arsene Wenger replaced three players as the Gunners strove to save the game.

The second half, and the game as a whole, was one of few clear cut chances in front of goal. Both sides attacked at every opportunity but little of any real quality materialised where it matters most.

MANCHESTER UNITED: Howard; Neville P., Brown, O’Shea, Fortune; Eagles (Rossi, 79), Miller, Kleberson (Jones, 79), Djemba-Djemba, Richardson; Bellion.
Substitutes: Pique, Ricardo, Ebanks-Blake.

ARSENAL: Almunia; Hoyte, Djorou, Senderos, Clichy; Pennant, Larsson (Cregg, 72), Flamini, Owusu-Abeyie; Van Persie, Lupoli (Smith, 68).
Substitutes: Simek, Karbassiyoon, Wright.

Attendance: 67,103

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 10:25 AM
Fergie To Stick With Young Guns

Here's what else he had to say to MUTV after the game...

Comfortable Win
"I think we were comfortable and they only had one shot at goal from a free-kick. That was maybe our biggest problem though - the players knew they were only a step away from the semi-finals and I think we tended to sit back on what we had which was a bit disappointing."

Bellion Quick Off The Mark
"It was certainly a very quick goal! I think Arsenal might have been caught off guard and one of their players slipped in the build-up to it. It was a good start for us and we should really have finished them off in the first half. We played some good stuff and created some good opportunities but just didn't take our chances. I thought Arsenal played some nice football in terms of possession in the second half but they never really threatened."

Praise For Players
"There were some good performances out there. David Bellion did very well and I thought Liam Miller was outstanding, as were Wes Brown, John O'Shea and Phil Neville. David Jones also did well when he came on in midfield."

Van Persie A Lucky Boy
"He was lucky to stay on and I think the FA must look at that because he threw an elbow at Richardson. I asked the referee why he had booked both players and he said for aggressive behaviour. He said he didn't see the elbow so it'll be interesting to see what happens when it comes up."

Sticking With The Same Squad
"The same players will play in the semi-final. Hopefully we can do well again because it would be terrific to get to Cardiff."

Report by Gemma Thompson.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=130242&itype=466&icategoryid=122

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 10:38 AM
Bellion Savours Cup Winner

http://picsrv.manutd.com/fif=/manu/img_10_8616.fpx&obj=iip,1.0&wid=230&hei=159&rgn=0,0,0,0&cvt=jpeg

David Bellion was delighted to have scored the winning goal that sent United through to the Carling Cup semi-finals.

The Frenchman struck after just nineteen seconds in United's 1-0 win over Arsenal at Old Trafford.

The Reds now face Chelsea in the semi-finals of the competition - the first leg of which will take place on 11/12 January at Stamford Bridge. The second leg will be played at Old Trafford on 25/26 January.

"I don't think I've ever scored a goal as quickly as that!" Bellion told MUTV at the final whistle. "I remember getting the ball and I decided to take my chance - I was very pleased to see it go in.

"My goal was good for confidence and we kept the result well because they had a few opportunities.

"The important thing for us was to play well, keep the ball and not lose it. We had to concentrate very hard and we're delighted to be in the semi-finals.

"It was a difficult match for us," he added. "There was a lot of tension and everyone was hungry to win the game - it was like a fight, a battle.

"It was also a good opportunity for the youngsters and people who have not played too many games to impress the manager and get a place in the first team."

Report by Gemma Thompson.

kahmun7
02-12-2004, 10:44 AM
we probably get hammered, chelsea will play their first-teamers while we stick with our reserves. :o :(
Chelsea have enough good players to field 2 great teams. even their B squad will be as good as their A squad..

MatrixFanatic
02-12-2004, 10:54 AM
Chelsea's second team can be in the top 5 in the EPL. :s22:

ronaldo_785
02-12-2004, 11:03 AM
haha.. yeah man chelsea's squad is just too strong.. but gd job by the youngsters to score de victory over de gunners.. :)

Ronaldo7
02-12-2004, 11:47 AM
it's actually more like our fringe first-teamers that were in the lineup this morning that include 8 full internationals :s22: good thing about the draw is that we got the first leg away

Yellowfin
02-12-2004, 12:27 PM
The repeat telecast is at 5pm.

cracker
02-12-2004, 12:56 PM
The repeat telecast is at 5pm.

just make sure u on ur TV in time for the only goal !!!
after tat u may skip the rest of the first half....but do watch the first 10 min of the second half where V.Pierse tried to elbow Richardson.....after tat u may go for a walk and return to see SAF shaking the hands of a gloomy Wenger when the final whistle was blown!!!

Yellowfin
02-12-2004, 01:02 PM
after tat u may skip the rest of the first half....but do watch the first 10 min of the second half where V.Pierse tried to elbow Richardson.....after tat u may go for a walk and return to see SAF shaking the hands of a gloomy Wenger when the final whistle was blown!!!

The game is that boring. I hope when playing with chelsea, the match will be more exciting.

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 01:12 PM

lol... ya tt's rite... quite a borin match on the whole... wanted to see rossi in action but onli haf to wait till the 79 min then see him play... pique and blake didnt even get to play

usjag_18
02-12-2004, 03:23 PM
First, I will like to compliment the youngsters and also the older players.

But still, I have to admit that Arsenal's youngsters are also very good. Some of them are definitely better in performance wise during this mornign's game. Even though they duidn't have much chances to perform.

Secondly, youngsters seems to be a bit defensive instead of attacking opposition (which means it's BORING). But i will like to compliment a few of them, like K.Richardson and C.Eagles, they are really performoing well in this game. As for E.Djemba^2, really very disappointed with the way he played this morning. Made too many mistakes. As for J.Kleberson, I am disappointed that he got injured. I guess he tried his best too yesterday but made a few mistakes too before he was structch out of the field.

Some players get injuried easily when playing 4 Man Utd, some players get injured easily. So odddddd.....

Hey, dun U guys think that Dutch men are always the people who being blamed when something happen between these two clubs recent years? Lolx... Before that, D.Bergkamp, then now R. van Nistelrooy, then now R. van Persie. hahaa... it's really something i can never understand... hehehe.. Anyway, I think Robin van Persie is quite a good player. I think if not because due to the battle between Man Utd & Arsenal, whoi knows, he might becoming our player some day... hahaha.. see, i am dreaming again... hehehee....

RGds,
O'

el_leumas
02-12-2004, 06:50 PM
what about Miller? You never include him? he was fantastic...

MatrixFanatic
02-12-2004, 10:18 PM
what about Miller? You never include him? he was fantastic...

Yeah. I woke up at about 4.30(Overslept :s22: ) then I thought it was Roy Keane who was playing until the cameraman did a close-up.

cutieboy86
02-12-2004, 10:53 PM
No Further Action On Van Persie Incident
The FA will seek no further action on Robin van Persie's alleged elbow on Reds youngster Kieran Richardson. Sir Alex Ferguson wanted the FA to take action for what he saw as "an elbow at Richardson". But a statement on the FA's website on Thursday reads: "In relation to the Robin van Persie/Kieran Richardson incident last night, we can confirm that The FA has reviewed the actions of all the players involved in the incident and is satisfied that no further disciplinary action is required."
Source: ManUtd.com News

Eight United Players Make Fan List
The result of a national survey has seen eight current and former United players named in the Top 30 of the most sought after player’s autographs of all time. George Best, Eric Cantona, David Beckham, Wayne Rooney, Bobby Charlton, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Duncan Edwards and Roy Keane are among the 30 most craved footballer signatures. The survey, conducted by The Football Fans Census on behalf of Into Football, asked which player’s autograph fans would most like to own - more than 2000 football fans from over 120 clubs took part.
Source: ManUtd.com News

fergie must be furious tt there is no action frm the FA against van persie

Ronaldo7
02-12-2004, 11:47 PM
he is damn lucky to get away lah :mad: southampton is next :s12:

Ch3tah_39
02-12-2004, 11:49 PM
he is damn lucky to get away lah :mad: southampton is next :s12:

ya lor... he darn lucky to get away lor... :@

usjag_18
03-12-2004, 09:44 AM

Hahhaa... small matter nia.... Moreover, he's a junior player and soemmore NOT a Man Utd player. If he's a Man Utd player, he's goign to get fine for sure.. Since he won't be ban for main games.

Rgds,
O'

___jeff
03-12-2004, 10:16 AM
Hahhaa... small matter nia.... Moreover, he's a junior player and soemmore NOT a Man Utd player. If he's a Man Utd player, he's goign to get fine for sure.. Since he won't be ban for main games.

Rgds,
O'

i thought FA always favours Manutd ?

Milner_24
03-12-2004, 10:20 AM

that is wat u think...but it's not the case...jus the opposite...

RVN
03-12-2004, 10:38 AM
Toon want Giggs?

NEWCASTLE are lining up a £4million New Year swoop for unsettled Manchester United star Ryan Giggs.

An approach has already been made and the Welsh winger is aware of their interest.

Toon boss Graeme Souness is ready to make his move during the January transfer window.

Now Giggs, 31, could be ready to end a 14-year association with Old Trafford.

He has grown angry after being left on the bench for recent games against Manchester City and Newcastle.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004560878,00.html

Hope not. And its utter bull**** from the SUN to suggest he has been angry about being left out, Fergie has say he is resting him since he has played almost every game for us at the start of the season. :s8:

Ronaldo7
03-12-2004, 10:53 AM
no worry . look at the source :s13:

cutieboy86
03-12-2004, 11:01 AM
NEVILLE: I'M GOING NOWHERE
Manchester United's Phil Neville is determined to tough it out at Old Trafford and win back a regular place in the team.
The 27-year-old made only his fifth start of the season when he captained the side which defeated Arsenal in the Carling Cup quarter-finals.

Neville admits he has become frustrated at his lack of league appearances but is not one to walk away.

“It is still the club I want to play for at the moment,” he said. “The way I see it, the bigger challenge for me is to stay and fight for my place.

“The easy way out is to go and play football elsewhere.

“Captaining this side has made me a proud man and I would like to continue playing for this club.”

Neville emphasised his long-term commitment to United in the summer when he signed a new five-year deal.

“The boss (Sir Alex Ferguson) tells me he still wants me and that is the most important person I should listen to,” he told Sky Sports.

“There are some great players and it is a great team.

“Over the years I have contributed and the boss has made sure I have contributed, even though I have not played week in, week out.

“This year has been a little bit different. I have probably not played the amount of games I have done in the past but he assures me I will make a contribution.

“As long as I feel I am making a contribution and still feel as if I am good enough to play for this team, I will stay and fight for my place.”

Despite resting a number of senior players ahead of the game against Southampton on Saturday, Ferguson was still able to field eight internationals against Arsenal.

The average age of the visitors outfield players, in contrast, was 19.

Neville added: “If there is an injury in the first team the manager knows there are players knocking on the door.

“Competition has always been our strength at this club and at the moment it is better than ever.

“You look at the players left out and those that have played.”

Neville says he loves facing Arsenal, no matter the names on the team sheet, because there is always a feisty atmosphere.

“I think these games are always teetering on the brink. It makes them special,” he added. “I don’t play in any other game like it.

“You see two of the best teams in the country over the last 10 years fighting it out and nobody giving an inch.

“Maybe it was not the first choice players out there but it does not matter one bit.

“Even though there was only one goal in the game you are probably on the edge of your seat because there is always something happening.”

MatrixFanatic
03-12-2004, 11:09 AM

:s8: :s8: :s8:

ronaldo_785
03-12-2004, 11:33 AM
p.neville has been a great servant to de club.. hes de kind of utility player u can call on to do de job.. he does de job no complains at club.. i tink he should be given more chances for first team football.. but with so much competition around its kinda hard to see which position he can play in..

usjag_18
03-12-2004, 12:26 PM

Rgds,
O'

Wahahaa, the funniest but lame joke I ever heard. Seriously, if FA always favours Man Utd, I guess Man City's player who took drugs or Chelsea's player who took drugs too will have pay HIGH PRICE for their actions. Instead, R.Ferdinand had to pay a higher price than the other two players (who I think it's inconvenient to say their names). 8 MONTHS leh!!! Can't believe it man. Just because missed the drug tests.

Rgds,
O'

bwaysiansibo
03-12-2004, 12:28 PM
hi guys.

in the name of bwaysaigan

RVN
03-12-2004, 12:40 PM

Rio 8 month-ban. :s8:

The FA always favour arsenal since David Dein is there.

Very oddly, when Wenger complain about Ruud tackle on Cole, straight away 3-match ban, how come Fergie does the same on Van Perise for an elbow on Richardson yesterday, FA turn a deaf ears, sound like double standard. Must be the work of Dein influences on the FA. :mad:

kahmun7
03-12-2004, 12:47 PM
think it's because Ruud and Fergie decided not to contest against the charges... which might hold up and delay the ban to affect more important matches...

OKK77
03-12-2004, 02:12 PM

Sure, FA treated Cantona and Ferdinand really really leniently.

el_leumas
03-12-2004, 03:46 PM
Sure, FA treated Cantona and Ferdinand really really leniently.
yah right...and u muz be a Arsenal fan

CRAWL back to the abyss lah, bloody idiot

windcloud03
03-12-2004, 04:03 PM
wat's with david dein's influence on FA? care to share?