PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

Milner_24
03-12-2004, 04:06 PM
yah right...and u muz be a Arsenal fan

CRAWL back to the abyss lah, bloody idiot

dun.... ok77 jus trying to be sacastic...

RVN
03-12-2004, 05:02 PM
wat's with david dein's influence on FA? care to share?

he work as the chief executive of the FA. :s8:

OKK77
03-12-2004, 06:07 PM
yah right...and u muz be a Arsenal fan

CRAWL back to the abyss lah, bloody idiot

You are openly inviting flames from the likes of the-kid-above, FlInChY and Mankul.

RVN
03-12-2004, 08:28 PM
Fergie questions Carroll advice

Alex Ferguson believes goalkeeper Roy Carroll is being ill-advised by his management team.

The former Wigan Athletic shot-stopper is out of contract at the end of the season, and is stalling on putting pen-to-paper on a new deal at Old Trafford.

Ferguson is keen for Carroll to commit his future to the Premiership giants, but will not be held to ransom by the Northern Ireland international.

United have been linked with moves for Fulham's Edwin van der Sar and Middlesbrough's Mark Schwarzer, who are both out of contract next summer.

"It is one of those situations that is hard to understand," Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News.

"Players get advice from people but whether it is the best advice, I don't know.

"But the thing is if he walks through that door there are not many Manchester Uniteds waiting, that's for sure."

Meanwhile, The Red Devils have suffered a blow with the news that Brazilian midfielder Kleberson will be out of action for a month.

The former Atletico Paranaense ace collected an ankle injury in United's 1-0 Carling Cup win over rivals Arsenal on Wednesday.

While the injury is not as serious as initially feared, after being stretchered off, he will need to rest for between three to four weeks.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=241670

I hope both Carroll and Giggs sign the fecking contract soon, why the **** delay it so long err? :s27:

Oh tough luck on Kleberson too. :o

cutieboy86
03-12-2004, 10:01 PM
Kleberson Hit By Ankle Injury

Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that Kleberson will be out of action until the New Year after twisting an ankle against Arsenal.

The Brazilian midfielder suffered the injury ten minutes from time in United's Carling Cup quarter-final win at Old Trafford.

”He could be out for three or four weeks," Ferguson told reporters at his Friday press briefing.

"It’s an ankle injury. I don’t think we will see Kleberson or Louis Saha until the New Year.”

The injury is another blow for Kleberson who has found first team appearances few and far between this season.

Gary Neville missed the 3-0 win over West Brom last weekend with a bout of flu, a virus that has affected a number of first-team players at the club.

However, the Reds right-back is likely to make his 430th start for the club against Southampton on Saturday.

"Apart from Kleberson and Saha, everyone is fit. Gary Neville had a terrible bout of virus and flu recently. He is back training, so hopefully he’ll return against Southampton."

cutieboy86
03-12-2004, 10:10 PM
Relief At Scholes Return To Form

Paul Scholes will go from "strength to strength" and emerge as a pivotal figure in United’s season, according to Rio Ferdinand.

The United midfielder has struck three goals in his last three matches, ending a long-running barren spell and hitting home just how important he is to Manchester United's European and Premiership aspirations.

"Scholes is a great player," Rio told Manchester United Radio. "Everyone knew as soon as he got the first one he would go on a bit of a run."

The 30-year-old’s much-lauded return to form arrives in conjunction with an unbeaten run of results for the team – the 1-0 Carling Cup win over Arsenal takes United's sequence to eight without loss. However, the shift in form for Scholes and the Reds may not be as coincidental as they first appear.

Scholes produced arguably the best campaign of his career in the title-winning season of 2002/03 – then playing just off van Nistelrooy as part of a five-man midfield. The pair scored 64 goals between them.

United’s recent displays have seen an upturn since reverting back to the system of five in midfield. Against Newcastle the Reds not only secured a 3-1 win - then only United's second league win since September - but also showed a fluidity the team had previously been frustratingly missing.

Scholes has played an integral part in putting United's back on the front foot. Alongside Keane, and with the interchanging roles shared by Giggs, Ronaldo, Rooney and Fletcher, there is now a greater balance to United's midfield and increased potency in their attacks.

"We all get blips," says Sir Alex, pondering Scholes' return to form. "The amazing statistic – one I could not believe when I heard it – was that his goal against Charlton was his first at Old Trafford since February.

"I really couldn't believe it - that is obviously a blip of enormous proportions by Paul Scholes' standards.

"But, everyone, even the great players, can have little blips," added the boss. "They always come back because class is permanent."

Scholes' team-mate, Rio Ferdinand, is in full agreement with his manager. "The boss has said that you don’t lose the ability that makes you a world class player overnight, and that's true.

"Confidence is so important as a player," he continued. "People sometimes don't take that into consideration.

"When your confidence is high you think you can do anything. Scholes getting those goals has pushed him up a notch. I think now he can go from strength to strength."

The issue of confidence and its elusive nature has been clearly evident this season. Sir Alex even joked recently that he would start himself upfront against Sparta Prague as his strikers were parched from a lack of goals.

Title rivals Arsenal are also testimony to the fickle nature of confidence. Dubbed ‘The Invincibles’ when approaching 50 games unbeaten before facing United at Old Trafford, they have collected just two victories from nine matches since defeat in Manchester.

Ferdinand, however, insists that despite a turnaround in form United’s focus is not on Arsenal or Chelsea's matches.

"We’re looking at our own results," he said. "As long as we keep our house in order and keep on improving our performances, there is nothing more we can ask of ourselves.

"If other teams keep slipping up then that is great. But we don’t want to be looking at other teams and hoping they are slipping up. We have done that in the past and it hasn’t worked because we haven’t kept our own house in order. If we can do that then hopefully the results will keep coming our way."

Report by Ben Hibbs.

Ronaldo7
03-12-2004, 11:25 PM
kleberson is out injured again . i think he is just not suitable for epl :(

RVN
03-12-2004, 11:31 PM
Both he and Saha out until Jan 2005 then.:(

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 12:00 AM
everytime b4 we had a chance to see how kleberson perform for man utd, he will be out injured... sad case sia... tink kleberson must be feelin uneasy oso cos he will nid to perform even beta if he wan to break into 1st team

jujube
04-12-2004, 12:04 AM
everytime b4 we had a chance to see how kleberson perform for man utd, he will be out injured... sad case sia... tink kleberson must be feelin uneasy oso cos he will nid to perform even beta if he wan to break into 1st team

I feel sorry for him as I believe Kleberson is very talented. Hope he will cut it eventualy unlike Forlan

United_Treble
04-12-2004, 12:13 AM
Both he and Saha out until Jan 2005 then.:(
u shd be glad saha is out, played so many games i think he scored onli one, injuries prone, sooner he will be out of old trafford

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 12:28 AM
saha is gd... the reason tt he didnt score many goals is because he hasnt regain full match fitness... u cant juz judge on tt and say he will be out soon... u nid to haf faith in a player...tis season is juz quite unlucky for saha but he will be back soon... and we nid 4 gd strikers everytime for back up

United_Treble
04-12-2004, 12:38 AM
saha is gd... the reason tt he didnt score many goals is because he hasnt regain full match fitness... u cant juz judge on tt and say he will be out soon... u nid to haf faith in a player...tis season is juz quite unlucky for saha but he will be back soon... and we nid 4 gd strikers everytime for back up
ruud, rooney, smith, now scholes can liao

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 12:48 AM
scholes is not a true stiker but an attackin midfielder...

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 01:05 AM
Ferguson demands clarity from FA

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has demanded clarification over the Football Association's disciplinary procedures.

Ferguson learned yesterday that his call for action to be taken against Arsenal's Robin van Persie for apparently elbowing at United winger Kieran Richardson during Wednesday's Carling Cup tie had been ignored by Soho Square officials.

The United boss thought there was a cast-iron case against the Dutchman, who was booked by referee Mark Halsey for a fracas with Richardson immediately after the incident.

Ferguson's belief was reinforced by the knowledge that while Van Persie did not actually make contact with Richardson, Aston Villa's Lee Hendrie was sent off at Manchester City last weekend for aiming a head butt at Danny Mills which also did not make contact.

However, after viewing the incident on TV, the FA opted not to take any action, leaving Ferguson in a state of confusion.

'It's not a matter of being disappointed about the FA not taking action, more that we need clarification over their disciplinary process,' said the Red Devils boss.

'There is a lot of puzzlement about how the system works, how it is conducted and how they reach their conclusions.

'All managers are confused about the situation, especially when you think Lee Hendrie was given a three-match ban for intent.

'Managers just don't know how the procedures are working.'

Old Trafford chiefs were already frustrated with the FA for the failure to take action over Arsenal's conduct following their Barclays Premiership clash six weeks ago.

United compiled an extensive dossier detailing incidents which took place both during and after the game, including tackles by Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry which they deemed to be reckless.

In the end, though, apart from bringing a charge against Arsene Wenger for his post-match comments about Ruud van Nistelrooy, the only disciplinary action taken was against United's Dutch striker for a tackle on Ashley Cole which cost him a three-game suspension.

'We accepted our responsibility with Ruud,' re-asserted Ferguson. 'It was a spur of the moment thing as the player arrived to tackle him and was totally out of character.

'We accepted our responsibility for it but other than that I don't know what we can do.'

RVN
04-12-2004, 02:13 AM
u shd be glad saha is out, played so many games i think he scored onli one, injuries prone, sooner he will be out of old trafford

why shall I be glad when one of our player got injured arr. :s8:

alvinoyw
04-12-2004, 02:32 AM
Saha is a very good player, he's just unlucky to be out with injuries so often. He's probably the fastest player in the team with decent finishing. it's our loss he's injured

el_leumas
04-12-2004, 02:32 AM
You are a bloody idiot...he's good, and he doesnt have a chance yet to prove it, with his present injury and all that... Seen him last season??? apparently not...

OKK77
04-12-2004, 03:07 AM
Ignore the whore crying out loud for attention. He will wither off soon.

RVN
04-12-2004, 11:14 AM
The Sun at it again, Neil Custis especially. :s22:

United target Downing as Giggs replacement

ALEX FERGUSON is targeting Middlesbrough winger Stewart Downing as the long-term replacement for Ryan Giggs.

Manchester United boss Fergie sees Downing, one of the few left-sided Englishmen in the top flight, as having a great future.

SunSport yesterday revealed Giggs has become unsettled at Old Trafford and that the Welsh wideman, 31, is a £4million target for Newcastle.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004561310,00.html

deathblade
04-12-2004, 11:24 AM
ruud, rooney, smith, now scholes can liao

You are the Flinchy and mankul of this thread eh? The once who disgraced and was detested by fellow fans...

At least u guys only have one to deal with.

United_Treble
04-12-2004, 01:09 PM
You are a bloody idiot...he's good, and he doesnt have a chance yet to prove it, with his present injury and all that... Seen him last season??? apparently not...
U BLOODY ASS HOLE, ten match score one, keep on injured, with or without him at mu still e same, last yr ya he gd with FULHAM, i think u start watcing soccer this yr, then SHUT UP

United_Treble
04-12-2004, 01:10 PM
You are the Flinchy and mankul of this thread eh? The once who disgraced and was detested by fellow fans...

At least u guys only have one to deal with.
many guy osos detest u so shut up

el_leumas
04-12-2004, 02:25 PM
U BLOODY ASS HOLE, ten match score one, keep on injured, with or without him at mu still e same, last yr ya he gd with FULHAM, i think u start watcing soccer this yr, then SHUT UP
Man...I didnt want to do it, but you really forced me to flame you...

Just when I think I've read the stupidest post ever, you go and post another. You should offer your posting style to hospital operating theatres as a highly-effective alternative to unconsciousness-inducing medications.

The Anti-Moron™ software on my PC went crazy when I started to read your post. You're just another Internet-addicted idiot suffering from diarrhea of the mouth and constipation of the mind. Oh well, at least you only charge what your free advice is worth. As Robert Wilensky said: "We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true."

In conclusion, why don't you go away and play Russian roulette with all chambers fully-loaded?

ragnarok95
04-12-2004, 04:11 PM
saha is good, not a selfish player too...anyway, this is a forum, so everyone has the freedom to speak, be it good or bad ;)

s_o_h
04-12-2004, 05:05 PM
Taken from Straits Times today,

Rumoured that Barcelona expected to make a bid for Saha during Janauary tranfer windows. They see him as a replacement for Larsson who has been ruled out for the season with knee injury. Fergie may see Saha as a chance to recoup some money spent on Rooney...

Dunno how true is that... :s7:

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 05:12 PM
juz another rumour lar

ragnarok95
04-12-2004, 05:20 PM
rossi to take saha place if saha really go to barca?

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 05:25 PM
rossi still young... he nid more experience in the reserves 1st b4 he wan to take over saha place... but i tink saha will not leave

RVN
04-12-2004, 06:03 PM
Taken from Straits Times today,

Rumoured that Barcelona expected to make a bid for Saha during Janauary tranfer windows. They see him as a replacement for Larsson who has been ruled out for the season with knee injury. Fergie may see Saha as a chance to recoup some money spent on Rooney...

Dunno how true is that... :s7:

and this was taken from tribal football. :alien:

http://www.tribalfootball.com/december/spanishnews4031204.html

OKK77
04-12-2004, 07:05 PM
many guy osos detest u so shut up

You sure? I can throw a stone in any direction and it certainly will hit a forumer who hates your guts.

ragnarok95
04-12-2004, 07:13 PM
pls dun throw to me, thank haha....

United_Treble
04-12-2004, 07:33 PM
pls dun throw to me, thank haha....
dun care abt him la, tlking abt mu, he talk abt stone, maybe he siao already, hope mu win saints tonight

OKK77
04-12-2004, 08:02 PM
Do you have to openly declare that you have no intelligence at all? We can conjecture, you know.

el_leumas
04-12-2004, 08:49 PM
dun care abt him la, tlking abt mu, he talk abt stone, maybe he siao already, hope mu win saints tonight
Hey, your value doesn't even amount to the words used to dismiss you. There is nothing I'd like more than for you to die a slow and painful death in some godforsaken wilderness, you chromozone-botched bobblehead.

AhHuat
04-12-2004, 11:02 PM
anyone know how much is a manutd jacket?
the one sir alex and staffs are wearing one

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 11:41 PM
Middle East moguls may finally smash Glazer bid
City financier Keith Harris is in negotiations with a Middles East government to buy out the Irish stake of 29 per cent in Manchester United from John Magnier and JP McManus for £250million and effectively save the club from a takeover by Malcolm Glazer. An insider said: “They would be seeking some sort of sponsorship link with United although naming the stadium is no on the agenda.” Harris’s master plan is to ensure that United are safe not just from Glazer, but any future predators.”
Harry Harris, Daily Express

Get on down
Alex Ferguson is targeting Middlesbrough winger Stewart Downing as the long-term replacement for Ryan Giggs. Manchester United boss Fergie sees Downing, one of the few left-sided Englishmen in the top flight, as having a great future. SunSport yesterday revealed Giggs has become unsettled at Old Trafford and that the Welsh wideman, 31, is a £4million target for Newcastle.
Neil Custis, The Sun

Fergie’s high five
Sir Alex Ferguson last night claimed he has the five most exciting players in the Premiership and that the best is yet to come from his latest United dynasty. Fergie insisted his fab five of Wayne Rooney, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Ryan Giggs, Cristiano Ronaldo and Alan Smith can prove the inspiration to land a ninth Premiership title this season. “Those five are as good as anything in the Premiership,” said Fergie. “They can all provide us with great combinations and give us many different options.”
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror

if man utd can block the take over plan by Glazar, tt will be gd news for all man utd fans...
hope ferguson can get downing, he can be a replacement for Giggs

cutieboy86
04-12-2004, 11:46 PM
today's line-up there is no ruud...

gk: carroll
defenders: heinze silvestre rio gary
midfielders: giggs keane scholes ronaldo
strikers: rooney smith

Kyubi
05-12-2004, 12:22 AM
2-0 oready yeah ... rooney score .. haha scholes goal continues ///

Ch3tah_39
05-12-2004, 12:44 AM
2-0 oready yeah ... rooney score .. haha scholes goal continues ///

woot.. yeah..

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 12:49 AM
yar... 4 goals in 4 games... he is really back to form...rooney oso score

Kyubi
05-12-2004, 12:50 AM
hahah ronaldo score!

RVN
05-12-2004, 12:52 AM
Ronaldo 3-0!!!!!!!! :s12:

Kyubi
05-12-2004, 12:57 AM
hhaha hope this carries on ... heheh another 3-0 score line :D

Ronaldo7
05-12-2004, 01:06 AM
glad that ronaldo finally got his goal . ruud was injured during training i think . hope it's not too serious :)

jujube
05-12-2004, 01:09 AM
i feel sorry for Alan Smith tho

United_Treble
05-12-2004, 01:23 AM
mu won gd, smith ah unlucky

RuMmYtUb
05-12-2004, 01:55 AM
Great, the goals are flowing :D

RVN
05-12-2004, 02:11 AM

http://tinyurl.com/4o675

That was really nasty. :eek: Hope he is fine now. :look:

jujube
05-12-2004, 02:13 AM
what a gory picture

:s31:

MatrixFanatic
05-12-2004, 02:15 AM
Great performance by Ronaldo. :D Gotta keep the momentum going.

United_Treble
05-12-2004, 02:23 AM
what a gory picture

:s31:
he bleeds and yet u say glory, u go.

United_Treble
05-12-2004, 02:24 AM
many chances wasted due to his dribbling, lucky he pull one goal back, if not peo will start pin point him

MatrixFanatic
05-12-2004, 02:32 AM
he bleeds and yet u say glory, u go.

Gory =/= Glory. :o

jujube
05-12-2004, 02:38 AM

i dun think its Great. he wasted alot of good movement with bad final balls ... much less his finishing

RVN
05-12-2004, 02:45 AM
Giggs was the one more effective, he tormented saint defence all day, unlucky not to score too when his shot hit the bar, now hope we really keep him.

United_Treble
05-12-2004, 02:48 AM
Giggs was the one more effective, he tormented saint defence all day, unlucky not to score too when his shot hit the bar, now hope we really keep him.
no nid worry, he himself say wanna end carreer at mu

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 12:04 PM
Ryan Giggs starred

Ryan Giggs starred as Manchester United maintained their impressive Barclays Premiership form with a 3-0 defeat of Southampton.
The Welshman tormented the visitors all afternoon and while his name might not appear on the scoresheet, his importance to the Red Devils’ fourth successive win cannot be understated.

It did look as though all his hard work would go unrewarded as United struggled to make the much-needed breakthrough.

But once it came, with Paul Scholes' fourth goal in three games eight minutes after the re-start, the visitors did well to avoid being swamped completely.

Wayne Rooney smashed home a second, and his seventh of the campaign, taking advantage of an inspired Giggs through-ball, before Cristiano Ronaldo made amends for his previous profligacy, beating the unlucky Kasey Keller with an outstanding volley from Gary Neville’s cross.

The result keeps United nine points behind Chelsea and four adrift of Arsenal, and with that pair due to meet at Highbury next weekend, the window of opportunity remains open for a late charge.

That will be of little consolation to Saints boss Steve Wigley, whose side remain entrenched in the bottom three.

News of Chelsea’s four-goal hammering of Newcastle United filtered into the Old Trafford stands just before kick-off, reinforcing the belief that victory was essential to maintain a credible challenge to the Londoners.

A six-match winning run, plus the confident words of Sir Alex Ferguson feeling the early season 'blip' was now behind them, fuelled the belief three points would be achieved with ease, even without star striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, who damaged an Achilles in training.

What actually transpired was a return to the wasteful ways of a few months ago as United dominated possession throughout the first half, carved out a huge number of chances, and took precisely none of them.

Keller could claim to have been relatively untroubled during the opening half hour of failed opportunities, although his workload increased significantly when Ronaldo sent a low shot fizzing towards the corner, forcing the American into a scrambling stop, before the on-loan Tottenham Hotspur man had to beat away a powerful 35-yard Rooney blast.

More chances followed but when the teams trooped in for their break, they were still deadlocked, a not insignificant achievement for Southampton given they had seen skipper James Beattie limp off after just 21 minutes.

It looked like there was more misery to come for the hosts as the second half started with Ronaldo and Rooney both failing to keep shots on target. But the frustration was only temporary as Southampton finally cracked.

The hosts needed a helping hand with their opener, as the visitors twice failed to clear a Giggs corner, returning central defender Claus Lundekvam eventually nodding the ball to Ferdinand close to the byline.

Ferdinand immediately lifted a cross into the Saints’ six-yard area, where an unmarked Scholes was waiting to gleefully head it home to continue his impressive recent scoring burst.

If that effort was something of a scramble, United’s second four minutes later was excellent.

First, Heinze found Giggs in space with a perfect pass into his path. Then, the Welshman, having let the ball run on, lifted it over despairing Southampton legs, dropping it right into Rooney’s path, who promptly smashed it into the roof of the net.

It was an obvious reminder of Giggs’ outstanding talent, and with the Welshman for once eclipsing Ronaldo, in both the number and effectiveness of his runs at the Southampton defence, the home fans quickly sang his praises.

Ronaldo spurned a glorious chance to break his duck for the campaign when his audacious attempt to beat Keller with a delicate chip sailed over the bar.

And while he eventually found the target with a fine volley from Neville’s cross, it could not eclipse Giggs’ contribution to such a vital victory.

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 12:05 PM
hu caused smith's head to bleed ar? didnt saw tt incident

RVN
05-12-2004, 12:20 PM
Fergie: United on the up

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson insists his side are getting back to close to their best after notching up a seventh straight win with a 3-0 victory over Southampton.

"You can smell the winning mentality all right," he said. "The confidence is back, the training is going well and we are looking forward to games.

"What we have to do is keep going because we still have a long way to go.

We are nine points behind Chelsea and pulling that back will be a mammoth task, but maybe things will have changed a little by New Years Day."

Cristiano Ronaldo got on the scoresheet for the first time this season and Ferguson is hoping the Portuguese star takes some money off him.

"Cristiano told me he will score 12 this season, so we have had a friendly bet on it," added the Scot.

"That is his first and hopefully he will get there. He has such great ability he always wants to try things.

That is what makes him the player he is and that is why he will win games for us."

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=241955

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 12:37 PM
haha... a friendly bet b/w ronaldo and fergie... hope ronaldo will win his bet and score many goals... tt will be gd for himself and the team... hope he will be like scholes... once the 1st goals arrive, many more will cum soon

United_Treble
05-12-2004, 12:47 PM
haha... a friendly bet b/w ronaldo and fergie... hope ronaldo will win his bet and score many goals... tt will be gd for himself and the team... hope he will be like scholes... once the 1st goals arrive, many more will cum soon
his dribbling not bad, juz that if he could pass more, it would be better

RVN
05-12-2004, 02:28 PM
Our goal-scorers list so far this season.
Ruud van Nistelrooy: 12
Alan Smith: 7
Wayne Rooney: 7
David Bellion: 5
Paul Scholes: 4
Ryan Giggs: 3
Mikael Silvestre: 2
Cristiano Ronaldo: 1
Gary Neville: 1
Louis Saha: 1
Keiron Richardson: 1
Liam Miller: 1
Gabriel Heinze: 1

http://www.manutdzone.com/

Good to see Scholes back on the score-sheet. Just a pity only Ruud have reach double figures so far. :o

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 02:39 PM
dun worry... i sure more goals will cum soon... most of the players like scholes, ruud, rooney, ronaldo have found their scoring touch again... juz a matter of time b4 they will reach double figures

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 02:55 PM
Direct Approach Is The Key, Says Wilf

I have been really pleased with how incisive United’s play has been in recent games. They can sometimes be guilty of trying to overplay things but they’ve been much more direct of late, as we saw against West Brom at the weekend.

West Brom, like Charlton before them, set out to frustrate United. It worked for the first half and I don’t think we knew whether to play a slow and patient game or be a bit more adventurous going forward.

We didn’t really do either and ended up not registering a single shot on goal in the first half. That was a bit worrying but we were much more direct in the second half and that brought us the dividends we deserved.

Paul Scholes’s first goal typified that and I was delighted to see him on the score-sheet again. It was a great flick from Giggs which sent the ball right into Scholesy's path and he hit a really fierce shot. He got his first of the season against Charlton last weekend and now he’s got three in two games.

Hopefully he can carry that goalscoring form forward into the next few matches because when he’s on song United are usually on top form as well. His breaks into the box are so difficult to defend against and it’s that direct approach that I've been talking about that will, I’m sure, help us over the next few games.

Overall, I think the team as a whole have done well over the last few matches. Roy Keane and Rio Ferdinand did particularly well on Saturday and I was also very impressed with Wayne Rooney. I thought he caused West Brom a lot of problems and I was pleased to see him having a few shots on goal and running at defenders.

Ruud popped up with his customary goal but I’m still waiting for him to get that one from outside the area! He’s fantastic and is someone United can always rely on to come up with the goods when we need them.

The next few weeks are going to be very important for United. The Christmas period is always an interesting one and we’ve got a few tricky clashes coming up. We’ve just got to try and get as many points as we can and make sure we stay in touch with the top two; that’s all we can do at the moment.

RVN
05-12-2004, 06:38 PM
Giggs dismisses move rumours

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/england/manutd/giggs_ryan.jpg

Manchester United's Ryan Giggs has played down speculation linking him with a move to Newcastle United.

The 31-year-old has 18 months left on his current contract at Old Trafford and Giggs has already shunned a one-year extension, as he wants a longer deal.

Speculation has linked him with Bolton, but reports this week claimed Newcastle were set to make a £4 million bid in January.

"I saw a story saying they [Newcastle] were going to try and sign me in January, but it's 100 percent speculation," said Giggs.

"I didn't see any quotes. The rumours are because I am in talks with United."

Giggs's future does appear in some doubt and Sir Alex Ferguson is being linked with potential replacements in the shape of Santiago Solari and Stewart Downing.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=241996&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Giggs+dismisses+move+rumours

jujube
05-12-2004, 07:08 PM
C. Ronaldo will never be a great unless he improves his final ball and finishing

of coz i hope its a matter of time.

Rooney is in a different class because of this

MatrixFanatic
05-12-2004, 09:37 PM
But I notice he made some EARLY crosses in the match against Soton. Hope he will learn more about when to release the cross early and not dribble too much. :s22:

Ronaldo7
05-12-2004, 09:54 PM
talking about ronaldo , i think fergie is going to give him a much needed rest soon . he really needs it and i hope he can reproduce the form he shown in the 2nd half of last season after coming back from his break . btw , the draw for the 3rd rd of the fa cup is coming out soon :s22:

cutieboy86
05-12-2004, 09:59 PM
yar fergie had said b4 tt he will gif ronaldo a break tis season like last yr but he is still findin the right time to rest him

ronaldo_785
05-12-2004, 10:55 PM
ronaldo is still young and he's learning.. he needs time to learn to me more of a team player.. once he can establish i beleive he's destined for great things..

newbie_rulz
05-12-2004, 11:20 PM
Sunday, December 5, 2004

PSG target Saha in transfer window

Paris St Germain coach Vahid Halilhodzic has expressed an interest in signing Manchester United striker Louis Saha on loan in the January transfer window.
Saha has slipped down the strike order at Old Trafford since the arrival of Wayne Rooney and Alan Smith to join Ruud van Nistelrooy.

Halilhodzic has ruled out buying Saha but is interested in a loan trade for the French international whose previous clubs include Metz, Newcastle and Fulham.

Halilhodzic, speaking on TF1 TV channel, said: 'Louis Saha is a great player, a good striker and PSG are looking for a striker.

'He is welcome at PSG if he wants to come. The main problem for PSG is we do not have money to buy a player.

'The only solution for PSG is to take a player on loan and anyway I need a striker to give more competition up front in my team.'

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=318436&cc=4716

End to Saha's United Dream? :s27:

alvinoyw
05-12-2004, 11:44 PM
It's only a loan. He'll be better off going on loan and get his fitness back and play well for us again, don't wanna sell him off though.

jujube
06-12-2004, 12:10 AM
If he is allowed to go on loan... tts it for him

RVN
06-12-2004, 12:16 AM
could be a possiblity if he goes out on loan, he have a hard time getting back into the first-team. :o

By the way FA Cup 3rd round draw just been made, we face Exeter at home. Should be easy win. :D

Ch3tah_39
06-12-2004, 12:22 AM
could be a possiblity if he goes out on loan, he have a hard time getting back into the first-team. :o

By the way FA Cup 3rd round draw just been made, we face Exeter at home. Should be easy win. :D

go on loan betta.. stay here nthing much to do.. later rot arhh... :s13:

cutieboy86
06-12-2004, 01:36 AM
Fergie: Our Patience Is Paying Off

Sir Alex Ferguson says he can smell the determination of his players as they continue in their bid to catch Chelsea and Arsenal.

The Reds' 3-0 win over Southampton at Old Trafford was United's fourth consecutive league win and served as another reminder of the team's ever-growing confidence as they continue to build up their momentum in the Barclays Premiership.

Ferguson was delighted with what he described as a 'patient performance' against the Saints, and he was even more pleased to see another sprinkling of goals.

Here's what he had to say to MUTV at the final whistle...

Staying Patient

"Remaining patient was always going to be the name of the game. Teams like Southampton are fighting for every point and they were always going to make it difficult, and they did, particularly in the first half. But you have to keep your patience and make sure you don't get frustrated and try and open them up gradually which we did."

Goal Threat Is Back

"There's a far better goal threat about us now and we're pleased with that. It was nice to see Ronaldo get his first of the season. He's promised to get us twelve this season so hopefully that's just the start! He's an imaginative player who always wants to try things and his ability can win you games."

Another Clean Sheet

"Like us, Arsenal and Chelsea didn't concede any goals today and I think clean sheets are going to be very important."

The Momentum Is Back

"We're still nine points behind Chelsea which is a mammoth gap to make up, but the confidence is back, there's no doubt about that. The players are looking forward to games all the time and the training sessions have been great during the last week; that all comes from winning games. There's still a long way to go and I think we'll know more by New Year's Day."

Ruud Injury Update

"He's got a calf injury which is proving a little troublesome. We felt it was best to leave him out today and again on Wednesday [against Fenerbahce] and try and get him back and 100 per cent fit for the game with Fulham next Monday."

Trip To Turkey

"I'll rest a few of the lads. The players who put on a great show against Arsenal last Wednesday will make the trip. The back four of Phil Neville, John O'Shea, Wes Brown and Quinton Fortune will play and I'll also be taking Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Ronaldo, Giggs, Bellion and Miller. I'll have to see how Alan Smith is because he suffered a cut on the head today."

Transcript by Gemma Thompson

cutieboy86
06-12-2004, 01:41 AM
I want to sign for life
Alan Smith wants to end his career at Manchester United – just four months after moving from deadly rivals Leeds. The striker has already won over the Reds fans by netting seven goals and he is now in the unusual position of becoming a cult hero at two clubs that despise each other. “I have signed to United for the next five years,” said Smith. “And hopefully I will be here longer than that. I hoped I would win the fans over naturally. I’m loving every minute of my time here and it is flying by.”
Gary Ward, News of the World

Ryan: Let’s do it one more time
Ryan Giggs has revealed his last remaining ambition as a Manchester United player – to win the European Cup for a second time. He said: “Perhaps the one big ambition I have left is to win the European Cup again. It’s the clubs who go on to win it again and again who are judged to be the very best in Europe.”
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror

Ferguson in Frey for new goalkeeper
Manchester United are poised to move for Parma’s Sebastien Frey in an effort to solve their goalkeeping dilemma. Frey, 34, was expected to leave cash-strapped Parma last summer. Instead he stayed put but now Parma, heavily in debt, are keen to cash in knowing that his contract runs out at the end of the season.
John Richardson, Sunday Express

gd to see smith pledge his loyalty to man utd... he is a gd and hardworkin player.. juz a pity he had to leave early in sat match due to a cut on his head...

i tink the ting abt saha is juz another rumour

martinweng
06-12-2004, 07:36 AM
I want to sign for life
Alan Smith wants to end his career at Manchester United – just four months after moving from deadly rivals Leeds. The striker has already won over the Reds fans by netting seven goals and he is now in the unusual position of becoming a cult hero at two clubs that despise each other. “I have signed to United for the next five years,” said Smith. “And hopefully I will be here longer than that. I hoped I would win the fans over naturally. I’m loving every minute of my time here and it is flying by.”
Gary Ward, News of the World

Ryan: Let’s do it one more time
Ryan Giggs has revealed his last remaining ambition as a Manchester United player – to win the European Cup for a second time. He said: “Perhaps the one big ambition I have left is to win the European Cup again. It’s the clubs who go on to win it again and again who are judged to be the very best in Europe.”
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror

Ferguson in Frey for new goalkeeper
Manchester United are poised to move for Parma’s Sebastien Frey in an effort to solve their goalkeeping dilemma. Frey, 34, was expected to leave cash-strapped Parma last summer. Instead he stayed put but now Parma, heavily in debt, are keen to cash in knowing that his contract runs out at the end of the season.
John Richardson, Sunday Express

gd to see smith pledge his loyalty to man utd... he is a gd and hardworkin player.. juz a pity he had to leave early in sat match due to a cut on his head...

i tink the ting abt saha is juz another rumour

sry..i was juz browsing thru..but cudnt stop myself from pointing out an error.

wtf? Frey? 34? typo error? pls address that error? thanks.

MatrixFanatic
06-12-2004, 07:43 AM
sry..i was juz browsing thru..but cudnt stop myself from pointing out an error.

wtf? Frey? 34? typo error? pls address that error? thanks.

Lol. I also :eek: . I thought he is in his early 20s? :o

ragnarok95
06-12-2004, 08:38 AM
he's 24 if im not wrong ;)

cutieboy86
06-12-2004, 11:02 AM
yar ... he is 24... tink the man utd website got some typo

RVN
06-12-2004, 11:21 AM
We don't need Frey or any new keeper. :s8:
IMO PSG can **** off as well. They never do us any favours with the Ronaldinho deal, so I don't think we should not do them any favours as well.

Ronaldo7
06-12-2004, 11:37 AM
if we let saha go out on loan in jan , then we only got 3 strikers left entering the 2nd half of the season nia . not a very wise thing to do if suey suey 1 of the remaining 3 got injured or something :s27:

el_leumas
06-12-2004, 11:38 AM
I think we need another keeper, but 1 that is trusted to be able to cope. We do not need another case of Carrol or Howard, which will then add to the fire. They are good keepers, but not GREATS....they are reliable only to a certain extent.

usjag_18
06-12-2004, 12:15 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm back. MIA for a couple of days.
Anyway, saw the match on Saturday. It's a good game, Saints been trying hard 2 keep our players from scoring. In fact, I think our players should been able to score more if not because of Saints' K.Keller. And also the scoring luck for some players still not so good.

Btw, I think R.Giggs & G.Henize did really very well on Saturday. Excellent and *****(5 stars) performance man. It's a pity they didn't scored themselves. I think Ronaldo not happy even though he scored. I guess maybe he tried so many times and still didn't scored, so when he scored, he's still unhappy with his performance.
As for Rooney, he's a bit quiet that nite. P.Scholes also did well.

In the first place, why RVN never played the game? Injury or resting him for the next game?
(Edit:- just saw the news from online webby, said Achilles problem during training)

Rgds,
O'

Edit: - L.Saha will not be leaving even for loan. It's important that we have 4 strikers even though not all of them are playing. Unless D.Bellion is playing as a striker.

stipe
06-12-2004, 01:26 PM
great for you to point out Heinze's contribution. He is one consistent player who is seldom being singled out for his excellent domination of the left flank.

Feador
06-12-2004, 04:09 PM
yea heinze is gd always see him making tackles and getting the ball

Ronaldo7
06-12-2004, 04:27 PM
love his attitude , but i think he still needs to improve on his crossing and must not get caught out of posisiton too often . talking about ronaldo looking unhappy after scoring the goal , check this thread out

http://www.xtratime.org/forums/showthread.php?t=148025

RVN
06-12-2004, 04:37 PM
love his attitude , but i think he still needs to improve on his crossing and must not get caught out of posisiton too often . talking about ronaldo looking unhappy after scoring the goal , check this thread out

I saw from redcafe that Keane was lashing out at Ronaldo because of his selfish play too and also his horrible miss against Southampton too before he scored, and Keane didn't even congratualte him when he eventually scored. Hes Ronaldo was unhappy. I hope it dosen't turn out to be rift between our own players, it won't be good for the morale of the team at all. :o

http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=64415

usjag_18
06-12-2004, 05:35 PM

I saw from redcafe that Keane was lashing out at Ronaldo because of his selfish play too and also his horrible miss against Southampton too before he scored, and Keane didn't even congratualte him when he eventually scored. Hes Ronaldo was unhappy. I hope it dosen't turn out to be rift between our own players, it won't be good for the morale of the team at all. :o

http://www.redcafe.net/showthread.php?t=64415

From what we all should know, R.Keane is the leader of the team. I think not only Ronaldo or Fletcher are getting scolding from him. I believe R.Giggs, RVN, P.Scholes, G.Neville and even E.Cantona got this kind of treatment before too. I think this is one of the ways that he motivates his team-mates. Of course, this is a different generation. And also, like some people @ the redcafe forum or another forum had mentioned, mebbe Ronaldo just unhappy because he didn't scored after so many chances given to him. Afterall, he did make a bet with A.Fergie that he'lll be scoring 12 goals this season and currently, he only scored 1 when he can scored more than 2 goals @ this game. So let's not be so sensitive abt it. I believe R.Keane just using a different way of encouragement towards youngsters in the team. Seriously, I think R.Keane never really congrats Rooney too. So that's his way being strict towards the youngsters. If there is good cop, surely there is a bad cop, since both the manager and Carlos are acting as the good cops, I guess, R.Keane will be the bad cop.

Regards,
O'

cutter
06-12-2004, 06:09 PM
Keane has too much respect for Cantona lah...nobody messed with Eric...Keano took over from Cantona as captain in 97 so no problems there...sorta remebered in Keano's book how much he respected Cantona... Schmikes on the other hand had personal issues with Keano, who thought that he was too much of a poseur at times.

<beware the Cantona Kick> :D

cutieboy86
06-12-2004, 06:24 PM
No Ruud to shoot in Turkey
Ruud van Nistelrooy has given Manchester United an injury scare ahead of the busy Christmas schedule as Sir Alex Ferguson prepares to take a Euro gamble. Van Nistelrooy missed Saturday's win over Southampton with a calf injury that has been troubling him for several weeks and flared up again in training on Friday to raise fears he could be set for a lengthy lay-off. Ferguson said: "Ruud has got this injury at the bottom of his calf and it is proving troublesome. We felt we had to leave him out against Southampton and Fenerbahce to try and get him back 100 percent for the Fulham game."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express

Nev's rant works wonders
Gary Neville's rollicking for Cristiano Ronaldo had the desired effect. Neville could claim both a physical and mental 'assist' as Ronaldo ended three months of frustration by finally breaking his goal duck for the season. He had run 50 yards to bawl his disgust at Ronaldo after he had casually frittered away the easiest of several chances when he tried to lift the ball over Kasey Keller but landed his effort on top of the net. Neville's blunt message was along the line of 'stop fannying around and give it some welly.' Three minutes later Ronaldo scored with a sweetly struck volley from 15 yards. He dared not miss because it was put on a plate for him by none other than his harshest critic.
Tim Gray, Daily Star

We're coming to get you, Keane warns the capital rivals
Manchester United are not in the habit of trying to win the championship from a nine-point deficit before most households have put up their Christmas decorations. Try telling that to Roy Keane. Keane believes ruthlessness and patience have been the cornerstone of United's transformation since they trounced Newcastle 3-1. "It's important to be patient," said Keane. "The fans can get frustrated and that can get to the players, but the experienced players know how to handle it. I'd rather it was not a nine-point deficit but we've been down this road before many times and we will see it take shape in the New Year. We're concentrating on ourselves and not worrying about anyone else."
Colin Young, Daily Mail
Hungry Giggs shows perfect timing
Ryan Giggs could not have picked a more perfect time to deliver emphatic proof of his enduring value to Manchester United - at the ripe old age of 31. "Absolute tosh" is how Sir Alex Ferguson is said to have described a report claiming Giggs was set to follow former United team-mate Nicky Butt to Newcastle in the January transfer window. And on the field, Giggs showed he has not lost any of his hunger with a mesmeric display in Saturday's 3-0 win over Southampton which proved he is still very much a part of Fergie's latest Old Trafford dynasty.

i tink fergie is doin the right ting to rest ruud for last sat and tis wed nite match in case he really got injured... we cant afford to let ruud get injured...

not even keane is yankin at ronaldo tt sat nite when he miss the goal... even neville oso yank at him... luckily it work wonders when he score after tt

as for giggs and heinz... last sat match they really put in an excellent performance... tis must be giggs best performance tis season and heinz has been playin veri consistently since he joined back the team after the olympics

usjag_18
06-12-2004, 06:25 PM
Keane has too much respect for Cantona lah...nobody messed with Eric...Keano took over from Cantona as captain in 97 so no problems there...sorta remebered in Keano's book how much he respected Cantona... Schmikes on the other hand had personal issues with Keano, who thought that he was too much of a poseur at times.

<beware the Cantona Kick> :D
Sometimes, respect is respect. When there's differences, there will be still argument one larh... But I think this will be good for our team if it's effective enuff... As for Schmeichel, I think it's not such a big problem too. I guess sometimes, it's good to be fierce to younger players.

Regards,
O'

usjag_18
06-12-2004, 06:38 PM
No Ruud to shoot in Turkey
Ruud van Nistelrooy has given Manchester United an injury scare ahead of the busy Christmas schedule as Sir Alex Ferguson prepares to take a Euro gamble. Van Nistelrooy missed Saturday's win over Southampton with a calf injury that has been troubling him for several weeks and flared up again in training on Friday to raise fears he could be set for a lengthy lay-off. Ferguson said: "Ruud has got this injury at the bottom of his calf and it is proving troublesome. We felt we had to leave him out against Southampton and Fenerbahce to try and get him back 100 percent for the Fulham game."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express

Hungry Giggs shows perfect timing
Ryan Giggs could not have picked a more perfect time to deliver emphatic proof of his enduring value to Manchester United - at the ripe old age of 31. "Absolute tosh" is how Sir Alex Ferguson is said to have described a report claiming Giggs was set to follow former United team-mate Nicky Butt to Newcastle in the January transfer window. And on the field, Giggs showed he has not lost any of his hunger with a mesmeric display in Saturday's 3-0 win over Southampton which proved he is still very much a part of Fergie's latest Old Trafford dynasty.

i tink fergie is doin the right ting to rest ruud for last sat and tis wed nite match in case he really got injured... we cant afford to let ruud get injured...

not even keane is yankin at ronaldo tt sat nite when he miss the goal... even neville oso yank at him... luckily it work wonders when he score after tt

as for giggs and heinz... last sat match they really put in an excellent performance... tis must be giggs best performance tis season and heinz has been playin veri consistently since he joined back the team after the olympics

I think should be good to rest RVN and also I dun think R.Giggs will be leaving Devils for Toons. Moreover, what TOons need = defenders, != midfielders...

Rgds,
O'

Thinker
06-12-2004, 07:07 PM
Well..to scold someone when he makes a mistake is one thing, but refusing to congratulate when that person scores is a very big ego problem.

usjag_18
06-12-2004, 07:51 PM
Well..to scold someone when he makes a mistake is one thing, but refusing to congratulate when that person scores is a very big ego problem.
lolx...... I am not defending R.Keane. I dislike his attitudes sometimes.. But I guiess this is the way he's treating those youngsters. We never know, maybe they are really coolx wif each other when they are not on the field. Moreover, I guess as there are more youngsters coming out with good playing, he will be replaced. So jealousy can be also partially causes the problems. But I dun think this will affects team work. As there are other older players who are willing to help the young players. In fact, even though G.Neville was praising C.Ronaldo in the earlier stages when he first started. So I guess some scolding and reprimanding, just to encourage the youngsters in a certain ways. Of course, R.keane is using another way to approach the youngsters which most people cannot accept, I guess.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
06-12-2004, 09:05 PM
Calf Problem Rules Ruud Out Of Turkish Trip

Ruud van Nistelrooy will not travel to Turkey for United's Champions League group D finale against Fenerbahce.

The Dutch striker missed out on Saturday's 3-0 win over Southampton at Old Trafford, and Sir Alex Ferguson will leave his goal machine in England to prepare for next Monday's trip to Fulham.

Ferguson said: "Ruud has got this injury at the bottom of his calf and it is proving troublesome."
"We felt we had to leave him out against Southampton and Fenerbahce to try and get him back 100 percent for the Fulham game."

While van Nistelrooy is a definite non-starter on Wednesday night, the rest of Sir Alex's line-up remains subject of speculation as he hints at the inclusion of several fringe players.

"We'll rest a few of Saturday's team," he said. "The boys who played in the Carling Cup against Arsenal on Wednesday will get a chance."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=131534&itype=466&icategoryid=120

alvinoyw
06-12-2004, 09:53 PM
Alrite gotta clear the general misconception about Keano's attitude. He's the United player I respect the most, simply because he knows how to lead the team. The reason he didn't want to celebrate with the youngsters is because he wanted them to keep their feet on the ground and not let success get all over their heads. That's why he only celebrate goals with the senior players, because they have earned his respect. That will probably inspire the youngsters to work harder and hope that they'll one day be accepted by the captain and earn his respect. Btw there's a discussion on the RC forums that he didn't allow Fletcher to celebrate the goal with the seniors when Paul Scholes scored, I guess it was the same idea. Fergie won't give Keano a major role in disciplining the youngsters if he had an attitude problem.

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 12:41 AM
Alrite gotta clear the general misconception about Keano's attitude. He's the United player I respect the most, simply because he knows how to lead the team. The reason he didn't want to celebrate with the youngsters is because he wanted them to keep their feet on the ground and not let success get all over their heads. That's why he only celebrate goals with the senior players, because they have earned his respect. That will probably inspire the youngsters to work harder and hope that they'll one day be accepted by the captain and earn his respect. Btw there's a discussion on the RC forums that he didn't allow Fletcher to celebrate the goal with the seniors when Paul Scholes scored, I guess it was the same idea. Fergie won't give Keano a major role in disciplining the youngsters if he had an attitude problem.

In the first place, I think different people got different opinions, over here, I agreed with what Alvin said. But at the same time, I do agree with some other people said too. Maybe what he(R.Keane) did is a bit extreme larh. Maybe a little pat on the shoulder or back, will also encourage the younger players. It's a give and take world. I think if U give a bit, U will be able to take some from them too. As long as there are encouragement, there will be some well performance.

Btw, I dun think Fergie given Keane the major role in disciplining the youngsters. I think it's still NOT up to Keane to do such jobs. I believe Carlos Queiroz or the reserves team coaches will be the ones who's doing such jobs. I dun think Keane is good enuff to do such jobs. Maybe motivate them, yes. But disciplining them, I dun think so.

Barce on Saha trail

Barcelona are tracking Manchester United’s out-of-favour striker Louis Saha. The Catalan giants are aware that Saha has dropped behind Ruud van Nistelrooy, Wayne Rooney and Alan Smith in the Old Trafford pecking order less than a year after his £12.5million arrival from Fulham. Sir Alex Ferguson has been told he must trim his squad and if Barcelona come up with enough cash, United may decide to cut their losses.
Staff reporter, Sunday Mirror

Source (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsId=130802&itype=466&icategoryid=365)

Must be kidding me man. Already said Man Utd needs 4 strikers!!! Don't they understand what is 4 strikers meaning??? These newspapers are so ridiculous! :mad:

Regards,
O'

cutter
07-12-2004, 12:52 AM
Sometimes, respect is respect. When there's differences, there will be still argument one larh... But I think this will be good for our team if it's effective enuff... As for Schmeichel, I think it's not such a big problem too. I guess sometimes, it's good to be fierce to younger players.

Regards,
O'

Ya but at Utd under SAF, there is no such thing as personal feuds... even those like the infamous Cole-Teddy cold war were kept under control...everyone knows that SAF is the Boss... those like Stratchan, Whiteside, Ince, Stam, even Becks found out soon enough that SAF will not stand any disobedience or disruption in the dressing room, top player or not.

Any big Utd fan should at least read SAF's autobiography "Managing My Life" (can find in bookshops or library). Keano's autobio is also interesting reading. Give the fan an insight into the philosophies and thinking of 2 of Utd's best ever leaders, which have been rated as 2 of the most interesting football books (which is easy, considering that most footballer books are crap incl. all of Beckham's :D ).

RVN
07-12-2004, 12:52 AM
Must be kidding me man. Already said Man Utd needs 4 strikers!!! Don't they understand what is 4 strikers meaning??? These newspapers are so ridiculous! :mad:

Regards,
O'

Those newspaper reporters are daft and annoying, they just write anything they want to sell their story. :s8:

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 01:33 AM
Those newspaper reporters are daft and annoying, they just write anything they want to sell their story. :s8:
Moreover, why would PSG or Barca wanna L.Saha when he's currently injuried and will only available only during January, new year.
They really can twist and turn sia. One moment R.Giggs, another moment L.Saha. Who will be next?

Rgds,
O'

alvinoyw
07-12-2004, 10:38 AM
Moreover, why would PSG or Barca wanna L.Saha when he's currently injuried and will only available only during January, new year.
They really can twist and turn sia. One moment R.Giggs, another moment L.Saha. Who will be next?

Rgds,
O'

Errr actually they are looking to sign him during the January transfer window, now all European clubs cannot buy players.

RVN
07-12-2004, 12:27 PM

Rgds,
O'

Actually Saha will be back in Janaury from his injury, however I don't wish to see him go though.

I think we should keep hold of Saha and not let him out on loan. Rooney won't start every game and with freakish occurances like Ruud injuring a hamstring in training, you never know when you might need a spare striker! I've heard that Fergie is considering not releasing Saha for future internationals because he always seems to get injured playing for France, so I suspect Saha will stay where he is, certainly for the time being.

ragnarok95
07-12-2004, 12:53 PM
somehow...i prefer bellion than saha...

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 01:50 PM
Errr actually they are looking to sign him during the January transfer window, now all European clubs cannot buy players.

Ya, I know. What I am trying to say is he will only be back in January, then why did they bother to give the news now. Man Utd needs to concentrate now, and not disturb by these rumours.

Actually Saha will be back in Janaury from his injury, however I don't wish to see him go though.

I think we should keep hold of Saha and not let him out on loan. Rooney won't start every game and with freakish occurances like Ruud injuring a hamstring in training, you never know when you might need a spare striker! I've heard that Fergie is considering not releasing Saha for future internationals because he always seems to get injured playing for France, so I suspect Saha will stay where he is, certainly for the time being.

I dun think Fergie will let him go. As for international games, it's hard to say. If Fergie really not going to let L.Saha go, then maybe FFF will banned L.Saha for future games and might even fine him. Then I dun think Man Utd will willing to pay the fine for him. It's really shi**y luck to have L.Saha to get injured everytime during international games. :mad:

somehow...i prefer bellion than saha...

D.Bellion is not bad. However, we need someone who's more experienced. L.Saha is due to injuries, therefore, unable to perform well in the team. Moreover, D.Bellion is playing as a midfielder more often than a striker nowadays.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
07-12-2004, 05:08 PM
Fergie takes young squad to Istanbul

Fergie Takes Fledglings To Turkey

http://tinyurl.com/59nva

Sir Alex Ferguson is taking a young squad to Istanbul for Manchester United's finale Group match against Fenerbahce.

Van Nistelrooy is out of the match with a calf strain, but he will remain in Manchester alongside regulars Scholes, Keane, Giggs, Ferdinand, Rooney, Smith, Silvestre, Carroll, Heinze and Gary Neville.

Manchester United are in contest with Olympique Lyonnais for Group D's top spot.

Both teams have secured qualification for the knockout stages. A win for the Reds, on 11 points, would guarantee first place ahead of Lyonnais - who currently have ten points.

But Sir Alex has previously stated that finishing first in the group may not necessarily be to United's advantage.

AC Milan, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Real Madrid and Internazionale are all potential opponents as the five are either likely to or could easily finish second in their respective groups.

The Reds squad depart from Manchester Airport at around 9:30GMT on Tuesday morning and are due to arrive at Istanbul airport at around 15:20 local time (13:20GMT).

United's Travelling Squad
Goalkeepers: Howard, Ricardo.
Defenders: P Neville, Brown, O'Shea, McShane, Spector, Pique, Picken.
Midfielders: Fortune, Fletcher, Jones, Ronaldo, Miller, Richardson, Poole, Eagles, Djemba-Djemba.
Forwards: Blake, Bellion.

Report by Ben Hibbs at Manchester Airport.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=130813&itype=466&icategoryid=120

guoquanyap
07-12-2004, 05:20 PM
indeed very young...great to give those youngster EUropean experince,,,

RVN
07-12-2004, 05:25 PM
I really don't think we can win with that squad :o , but its a good decision by Fergie we don't need to play our best team , so its a good opportunity for the young players to get experience. We still get some tough team in the knock-out stage regardless whether we finish 1st or 2nd in the group.

MatrixFanatic
07-12-2004, 05:33 PM
Swee la looking forward to seeing Miller in action again. :D

ragnarok95
07-12-2004, 06:20 PM
why is rossi not inside?

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 06:22 PM
I really don't think we can win with that squad :o , but its a good decision by Fergie we don't need to play our best team , so its a good opportunity for the young players to get experience. We still get some tough team in the knock-out stage regardless whether we finish 1st or 2nd in the group.

Not really, I still believe that we might have a chance to win even with our young squad because we still have a few experienced players in the team, such as P.Neville, J.O'Shea, W.Brown and etc....

So we can still count on them. But I think the youngsters must be more creative in this match. Hope it will not as boring as the previous match against Arsenal.

why is rossi not inside?
Ermm... Good question. What happen to Rossi? Maybe they missed out his name.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
07-12-2004, 06:54 PM
Rossi was not registered for our CL squad. :(

I think Fergie didn't expect him to make such a great impact in the reserves, plus we have 5 strikers (Ruud, Saha, Smith, Rooney, Bellion) in the team. :s22:

AhHuat
07-12-2004, 07:15 PM
Ferguson has already indicated the difference between finishing winners or runners-up in the group is minimal.

Italian giants Juventus and AC Milan could lie in wait if United fail to triumph and Lyon defeat Sparta Prague while Spanish duo Barcelona and Real Madrid could be their next opponents if they maintain their current advantage over the French outfit.

haiz....we will be facing other european giants...

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 07:26 PM
Rossi was not registered for our CL squad. :(

I think Fergie didn't expect him to make such a great impact in the reserves, plus we have 5 strikers (Ruud, Saha, Smith, Rooney, Bellion) in the team. :s22:
Ermm, that's odd, but I thought Rossi's name is included inside the CL team that are listed @ their webby.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
07-12-2004, 07:30 PM
Ferguson has already indicated the difference between finishing winners or runners-up in the group is minimal.

Italian giants Juventus and AC Milan could lie in wait if United fail to triumph and Lyon defeat Sparta Prague while Spanish duo Barcelona and Real Madrid could be their next opponents if they maintain their current advantage over the French outfit.

haiz....we will be facing other european giants...
I think it's not so bad if we are facing Juventus since we beat them before. But of course, it will still be a tough game.

Regards,
O'

cutieboy86
07-12-2004, 07:46 PM
Fergie's fear of landing big two
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed he is dreading being drawn against Real Madrid or Barcelona in knockout stage of the Champions League. Manchester United take on Fenerbahce tomorrow with their progress in the competition already assured and with the chance to top Group D if they win in Turkey. "I'd love to top the group, don't get me wrong," said Fergie. "But I really don't know whether finishing first or second is best. I was looking at all the possibilities and, if we win the group, we could end being drawn with Real Madrid or Barcelona because both are likely to be second in their groups. I think Real Madrid will beat Roma in Rome and finish second in their group. And I'm pretty sure Barcelona will end as runners-up in theirs. But if we come second in the group, we can get the likes of AC Milan, Inter Milan, PSV Eindhoven, Juventus or Olympiakos - all tough opponents, no question."

Becks out of sight for Fergie
Alex Ferguson will be happy for Manchester United to finish second in their Champions League group — to avoid a potential showdown with old-boy David Beckham. If United beat Fenerbahce in Turkey tomorrow and top their qualifying group, their possible opponents in the last 16 would include Spanish giants Real Madrid and Barcelona. That is more daunting than finishing runners-up and taking on the likes of AC Milan, Inter, Juventus and PSV Eindhoven — especially as a first Fergie-Beckham reunion could prove a huge distraction. Ferguson said: “The important part is qualifying. There are no easy matches after that.”
David Facey, The Sun

cutieboy86
07-12-2004, 08:08 PM
Giggs dismisses move rumours
Manchester United's Ryan Giggs has played down speculation linking him with a move to Newcastle United. The 31-year-old has 18 months left on his current contract at Old Trafford and Giggs has already shunned a one-year extension, as he wants a longer deal. Speculation has linked him with Bolton, but reports this week claimed Newcastle were set to make a £4 million bid in January. "I saw a story saying they [Newcastle] were going to try and sign me in January, but it's 100 percent speculation," said Giggs. "I didn't see any quotes. The rumours are because I am in talks with United."
Source: Sky Sports

Ronaldo7
07-12-2004, 09:59 PM
seems like fergie is going for the 2nd spot by looking at the squad . a bit surprised that ronaldo is included thou :s22:

RVN
07-12-2004, 10:17 PM
Ermm, that's odd, but I thought Rossi's name is included inside the CL team that are listed @ their webby.

Rgds,
O'

http://www.uefa.com/Competitions/UCL/Clubs/Club=52682/index.html

Look at this, there isn't his name on the list. :s22:

cutieboy86
07-12-2004, 10:23 PM
i tink fergie wan to stay 2nd in the grp ba cos he predict real and barcelona will be 2nd in their respective grps and he will not wan man utd to face them in the next rd if man utd top the grp

alvinoyw
07-12-2004, 10:26 PM
Both Man Utd and Fernabache will be fighting for SECOND place. Both will field a second string team because whoever wins will take first place and take on the big guns like Real, Barce and Inter. It might not be very professional to do that but it's better to face them later in the competition and it will generate a few more million pounds for us to buy players if we get into the quarters.

RVN
07-12-2004, 10:31 PM
Both Man Utd and Fernabache will be fighting for SECOND place. Both will field a second string team because whoever wins will take first place and take on the big guns like Real, Barce and Inter. It might not be very professional to do that but it's better to face them later in the competition and it will generate a few more million pounds for us to buy players if we get into the quarters.

:s11:

We are already assured of 2nd place, Fenerbache can't catch us. :s22:

alvinoyw
07-12-2004, 10:50 PM
:s11:

We are already assured of 2nd place, Fenerbache can't catch us. :s22:

Paiseh I meant Lyon hahaha

OreoCookies
08-12-2004, 01:54 AM
Let's not worry too much in advance... Finishing either top or second doesn't really matter too much in terms of our opponents in the next round, considering that any team that makes it this far in the CL would be one of definitive quality... ;)

No matter what, I'm sure the next round of CL matches that our team is to indulge in would definitely be very tight and entertaining fixtures... :)

cracker
08-12-2004, 07:18 AM
If MU is to finish second (most likely),,their opponent will be the group champion.

Grp A...still open. theoretically....Olympiakos, Monaco & Liverpool can still top the grp.( But no team of the same country will be paired in Rd 2,,,tat is wat I heard)

Grp B...Leverkusen must match Real's result in Rome while Kiev just need to better Real's.
Madrid can still finish first if they win while Bayern-Kiev game ends in a draw.

Grp C..Juventus; runner up : Bayern Munich

Grp E..Arsenal (MU wont face them); runner up : PSV

Grp F..AC Milan; runner up : Barcelona

Grp G..Inter Milan; runner up : Werder Breman

Grp H..Chelsea (MU wont face them); runner up: Porto

So high chance MU will be paired against one of the Italian unless sth dramatically happens tonight.

Then again if the result from Grp B is favorable,,,MU might prefer to finish their grp as champion instead !!!

anyway ,,let's monitor tonite games.

stipe
08-12-2004, 08:36 AM
Let's not worry too much in advance... Finishing either top or second doesn't really matter too much in terms of our opponents in the next round, considering that any team that makes it this far in the CL would be one of definitive quality... ;)

No matter what, I'm sure the next round of CL matches that our team is to indulge in would definitely be very tight and entertaining fixtures... :)

yep, agree, and if you want to lift the cup, you must win all opponents...

anyone remember the year MU won the championship?

juventus, inter, bayern....

i remember the juventus match, really a cliff-hanger...

bwaysiansibo
08-12-2004, 11:19 AM
hellos manures foolssy.

Ch3tah_39
08-12-2004, 12:55 PM
yep, agree, and if you want to lift the cup, you must win all opponents...

anyone remember the year MU won the championship?

juventus, inter, bayern....

i remember the juventus match, really a cliff-hanger...

final against bayern worst lor.. tot gonna liao den become 2-1

Ronaldo7
08-12-2004, 01:21 PM
the semi final match away to juventus in 1999 was a classic :)

Ch3tah_39
08-12-2004, 01:24 PM
frm 2 nil down to win 3-2 rite?

stipe
08-12-2004, 01:55 PM
those were the days of the dynamic duo, cole and yorke...

funny how things turned out so differently for them when they left... they couldn't even click together at blackburn...

chengsun
08-12-2004, 02:25 PM

how can i forget this season? away against juventus, against arsenal, against liverpool, and the final game against totenham, soooo beautiful memory in this year......

cracker
08-12-2004, 03:12 PM

it was 2-0 after JUST 10 min !!!!!! tot game over liao...

Keane also kena yellow card which caused him to miss the Final after the 2 Juve goals...but he inspired the team thoroughly....heading in Utd's first goal....Then Cole floated in a cross for Yorke to make it 2-2 !! all this happened within the first half..........Juve totally lost their heart when Utd equalised to 2-2..

5 min from time...Yorke charged thru but was brought down by the Juve keeper...Cole followed thru to squeeze the ball home to make it 3-2..The referee was about to blow for penalty but waved play on cos he saw Cole following in.

Ronaldo7
08-12-2004, 04:57 PM
scholes was booked on that day and missed the final too if i remember correctly

cracker
08-12-2004, 05:37 PM
scholes was booked on that day and missed the final too if i remember correctly

yup scholes and keane were booked...tat why SAF fielded Butts in the final and he was thorughly praised by SAF for his performance..

Yellowfin
08-12-2004, 06:25 PM
Tomorrow 6 am, the turkey match will be telecast. Better sleep early tonight. :)

jujube
08-12-2004, 06:35 PM

that is one of my favourites matches!

cutieboy86
08-12-2004, 08:25 PM
Fergie Aims For Unity Among Young Players

Cristiano Ronaldo will take a well-earned rest as soon as Sir Alex Ferguson finds the right time to take the winger out of the action.

Ronaldo's creativity is now so important to the team that picking the right moment for his break has become an increasingly difficult task for the United boss.

The Champions League trip to Istanbul seemed the ideal opportunity to rest Ronaldo but, unlike the majority of Fergie's first-choice players, the talented teenager is in Turkey and is poised to play against Fenerbahce.

"One of the reasons we (have brought) Ronaldo and Fletcher is for them to be part of the young squad we have now," explained Sir Alex Ferguson.

"We should always remember they (Ronaldo and Fletcher) are still young boys. Bringing the other young players into the squad creates a unity that they can grow up with.

"We don't want them to be separated into youth team, reserve team, first team. On Wednesday night they are Manchester United first team players - all of them."

It is unlikely that Ferguson will oversee a scenario similar to that in 1992 when Giggs, Beckham, Scholes, Butt and the Neville brothers burst onto the scene and helped to create the club's most trophy-laden era. But the boss is clearly very encouraged by the young crop who've won three Carling Cup ties this season without conceding a goal.

"It's very difficult to assess how a group of young players are going to mature together," says Fergie. "But the one thing I am certain about is they have fantastic potential. Hopefully in three or four years time that will be proved correct.

As United's Player of the Year, Ronaldo will undoubtedly be a key figure in the final Group D clash at the Sukru Saracoglu Stadium - even though, at 19, he's still learning his trade

"The boy has fantastic potential," says Fergie. "He is a player that plays with great courage. The first thing he thinks about is to attack defenders.

"We are very pleased with the progress he is making. There will be a time when I give him a rest. We're still trying to decide when is the best time."

As Fergie points out, the next two months will stretch his 25-man squad as they compete on three fronts - even with the Champions League put to bed until late February.

"December is a very busy month for us," says the manager. Unless I play these (young) players now, they won't have any match experience for when I really need to play them.

"The team on Wednesday will contain nine internationals, so I wouldn't say it is a weakened team. It's maybe not the recognised first team. But you shouldn't underestimate Manchester United because the players will be trying to win."

If United do win on Wednesday night, they will finish top of Group D - this could see them drawn against Real Madrid, Barcelona and Bayern Munich, the likely runners-up in other groups. If United finish second, then the Italian trio of AC Milan, Inter and Juventus are possible opponents in the first knock-out round.

Fergie says: "I think the competition is at a stage where the best clubs in European football are all in it. AC Milan, Juventus, Inter, Real Madrid, Barcelona - all these teams are there now.

"I really don't think finishing first or second in the group will make much difference."

cutieboy86
08-12-2004, 09:13 PM
Ex-Red Urges Howard To Grasp Euro Chance

Former Reds midfielder Mickey Thomas says Tim Howard can use Wednesday's clash with Fenerbahce to stake a claim for the No.1 spot at United.

Howard has been limited to just three starts since Roy Carroll was drafted in against Liverpool in September. But Thomas believes this is an ideal opening for the American stopper.

Speaking after watching United's pre-match training at Fenerbahce's Sukru Saracoglu stadium, Thomas said: "It's the opportunity that the likes of Tim Howard need.

"This is his chance to come in and hopefully do well," he told ManUtd.com.

"But it will be a tough night against good opposition. They scored five at the weekend [in the Turkish Superleague against Ankaragücü] and they have a good record at home this season."

Howard is among a number of players on the periphery of United's first eleven hoping to use Wednesday's match to prove his credentials to Sir Alex Ferguson.

At the pre-match press conference at the team hotel on Tuesday afternoon, the Reds manager spoke about creating a unity among a group of young players that can progress together.

"One of the reasons we took Ronaldo and Fletcher is for them to be part of the young squad we have now," reasoned the manager. "Bringing the other young players into the squad creates a unity that they can grow up with."

Thomas expects a hostile atmosphere in the 42,000 capacity stadium, a steep learning curve for the young players Ferguson decides to include.

"In a game like this it's your chance to show the manager that you are good enough to play at the very highest level. You want to produce a performance good enough to be able to say to the boss 'give me another chance'.

"Players can only learn and gain experience by playing in these games. It's a great chance for the players to show what they can do. There will be a full house here on Wednesday night and a hostile atmosphere.

"The more games you play in at that age the better it is for you," Thomas added. "It is also good for the club because Ferguson can rest some of his regulars.

"There are a lot of big names in the the Champions League draw, so it possibly makes little difference if United finish top or second in Group D.

"But the team are on a good run - it would be nice to see them continue that momentum."

el_leumas
09-12-2004, 01:03 AM
how can i forget this season? away against juventus, against arsenal, against liverpool, and the final game against totenham, soooo beautiful memory in this year......
I remembered the last game against Spurs... The league was very tight and Man Utd went into the game with Arsenal breathing down their necks. Think Spurs scored first.. then Ian Walker got lobbed :D I was so relieved...than Cole :D

el_leumas
09-12-2004, 01:06 AM

Who says...Porto qualified but they are really weak..

cracker
09-12-2004, 05:03 AM
Utd is 1-0 down in Turkey while Lyon is 3-0 up against Sparta Prague.
So Fergie's plan to finish second is on track !!!!

cracker
09-12-2004, 05:30 AM
Utd is 2-0 down in Turkey while Lyon is 3-0 up !!

Liverpool is leading Olympiakos 2-1 with 9 min to go ...as of now..

the table topper are:

Grp A: Monaco (most likely confirmed cos they are leading 5-0)
Grp B: Bayern Leverkusen
Grp C: Juventus
Grp D: Lyon (confirmed)
Grp E: Arsenal (Confirmed)
Grp F: AC Milan (confirmed)
Grp G: Inter Milan (confirmed)
Grp H: Chelsea (confirmed)

Steven gerrad had Banged in Liverpool 3rd goal !!!!!

RVN
09-12-2004, 05:48 AM
what a **** result. :o

We were beaten by the better team but I'm not really bothered, we're through and thats all that counts for me, if we can't beat any team we get in the next round then we're not good enough to win the competition, obviously the money men would prefer to get a so-called weaker team but I think last years draw with porto so's they're not always necessarily the weaker side. :s22:

cracker
09-12-2004, 05:52 AM
Steven Gerrad had volleyed Liverpool into RD 2,,,while MU went down 3-0 in turkey

FInal standing

Grp A: Monaco 2nd : Liverpool
Grp B: Bayern Leverkusen 2nd : Real Madrid
Grp C: Juventus 2nd : Bayern Munich
Grp D: Lyon 2nd : Man Utd
Grp E: Arsenal 2nd : PSV
Grp F: AC Milan 2nd : Barcelona
Grp G: Inter Milan 2nd : Werder Breman
Grp H: Chelsea 2nd : FC Porto

So lots of great matches in Rd 2 !!!!

MU will play either..Monaco,Bayern Levrkusen,Juventus, AC or Inter !!!

cracker
09-12-2004, 06:50 AM
Had just watched the Fernabache -MU game's highlight.......

The turks' first goal was great......but do look out for how Richardson failed to score after a good lay on by Bellion !!!

Totti76
09-12-2004, 09:01 AM
Had just watched the Fernabache -MU game's highlight.......

The turks' first goal was great......but do look out for how Richardson failed to score after a good lay on by Bellion !!!
Good lay off??? I think Bellion finished off himself is a better option. or pass side to keano who is arriving better. By passing to Richardson..its narrow the angle..hard for him to score..
Thats wat i think.. =:p

cracker
09-12-2004, 10:19 AM
Good lay off??? I think Bellion finished off himself is a better option. or pass side to keano who is arriving better. By passing to Richardson..its narrow the angle..hard for him to score..
Thats wat i think.. =:p

did keano play ?

i tot it was miller on bellion's right ?

anyway did u see SAF's reaction to tat miss ...he was :eek: and then #$$$#@$#

Totti76
09-12-2004, 10:48 AM
did keano play ?

i tot it was miller on bellion's right ?

anyway did u see SAF's reaction to tat miss ...he was :eek: and then #$$$#@$#
ohh...sorry...miller i mean...Irish all looks the same... :D

Oh ya i did see that...hoho...I think he is more angry with bellion...howard oso die...give he chance to prove himself..and he f**k it up...I think soon we will see the back of him.

Feador
09-12-2004, 11:29 AM
let us face bayer or monaco ba....easiest of all liao..oh i also hope chelsea and arsenal kena real and barca :D

MatrixFanatic
09-12-2004, 11:34 AM
Hard to say... Porto is one good example. I think all should be equally difficult.

Ronaldo7
09-12-2004, 01:03 PM
agreed . no more 'easy' team left in the last 16 . every team stands a chance of winning it

RVN
09-12-2004, 01:50 PM
No easy team in the CL, but I would prefer Leverkusen as I felt they own us for the 2002 CL defeat in the semi-final. :s27:

usjag_18
09-12-2004, 03:33 PM
Personally, I dun think there are anymore weak teams inside the last 16 teams. Especially, 10 of the 16 teams (including Man Utd), are the champions before. So we should respect all of them no matter how they struggled in the first round.

As for who will we be facing, there are only 5 other clubs we will be facing, Monaco, Bayer 04 Leverkusen, Juventus, AC Milan and Inter Milan. Seriously, if ask me, I think all of them are strong. So it will be fine no matter which team we are facing. However, I will like Man Utd to face the German side as we lost to them a few seasons ago. So we must beat the H*LL out of them this time round!
What do you guys think? AC Milan and Juventus are stronger teams than the other 3.

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
09-12-2004, 04:32 PM
ohh...sorry...miller i mean...Irish all looks the same... :D

Oh ya i did see that...hoho...I think he is more angry with bellion...howard oso die...give he chance to prove himself..and he f**k it up...I think soon we will see the back of him.
I dun think Howard will die. Basically, it's really not a chance for him to prove himself. With such a young team, how to prove himself? If this is a stronger team and he still make such mistakes, then I got nothing to say, but what can a young team do? And also, did U even see his performance?

Rgds,
O'

MatrixFanatic
09-12-2004, 04:47 PM
I reckon Howard will do a better job with our current defense than Carroll does. =:p

Speaking of him, the matches I've watched him play in lately... he seems to talking to himself? :s11: He siao liao? :o

MatrixFanatic
09-12-2004, 04:49 PM
No easy team in the CL, but I would prefer Leverkusen as I felt they own us for the 2002 CL defeat in the semi-final. :s27:

Still remember that match... that time I watched half way slept... then woke up saw United didn't make it. :s27: Very sad day indeed. :sad:

Ronaldo7
09-12-2004, 04:59 PM
I reckon Howard will do a better job with our current defense than Carroll does. =:p

Speaking of him, the matches I've watched him play in lately... he seems to talking to himself? :s11: He siao liao? :o

no lah . he is always like that . talking about leverkusen , we were unlucky to lose on away goal rule . leverkusen also suey , finished 2nd in the league , cl and german cup that year

RuMmYtUb
09-12-2004, 06:32 PM
In CL, after the group stages, there's no such thing as easy fixtures..

Every team stands a gd chance of winning..

Exciting to see who's Utd gonna face next... Leverkusen and we'll have revenge ? :evil:

usjag_18
09-12-2004, 06:33 PM

I agree. But too bad, everytime the 4 players in front of him doesn't give him much choices, especially, J.O'Shea recently not helping him(Howard) and himself @ all. :mad: dun help himself, never mind, but kept giving T.Howard problems. Kaoz....

Rgds,
O'

Feador
09-12-2004, 06:48 PM
alright then just bring on the strongest, if we gonna win CL we must show we have the potential to do it :)

usjag_18
09-12-2004, 08:04 PM
In CL, after the group stages, there's no such thing as easy fixtures..

Every team stands a gd chance of winning..

Exciting to see who's Utd gonna face next... Leverkusen and we'll have revenge ? :evil:

Lolx... I think it will be super coolx... Whoa, it will be coolx if we have revenge against Leverkusen!!! :evil:

RVN
09-12-2004, 10:36 PM
I agree. But too bad, everytime the 4 players in front of him doesn't give him much choices, especially, J.O'Shea recently not helping him(Howard) and himself @ all. :mad: dun help himself, never mind, but kept giving T.Howard problems. Kaoz....

Rgds,
O'

Our 2nd-string defence just ain't good enough. Defending was really poor last night. Seem like we can't do without Rio.

usjag_18
10-12-2004, 01:18 PM
Our 2nd-string defence just ain't good enough. Defending was really poor last night. Seem like we can't do without Rio.
Ermm... I think our back four are very good. I dun think what you said abt Rio is true. I admit he's a v.good defender, but still, we need all the other 3 to perform. Other than Rio, I will like to compliment G.Heinze and G.Neville are also doing very well. Even though G.Neville likes to talk alot rubbish last time... But now is better liao. I guess after his backer, D.Beckham, is gone, he tunes down a bit liao.

Rgds,
O'

jujube
10-12-2004, 05:24 PM
And it seems like Silvestre can only play well partnering Rio.

he is the weakest link

chengsun
10-12-2004, 05:29 PM
remember silvestre said before that he prefer the central role, which he played before moving to man u (at inter right?) than the left back role. however, i do feel that he perform better at left back, defence not bad and attacking well, even run into opponent penalty box.

i do think our defnece is very versitile, coz other than rio, most of the other defender can play more than 1 role, though they may not be playign as well as their original one, but this is an asset to us.

MatrixFanatic
10-12-2004, 05:44 PM
remember silvestre said before that he prefer the central role, which he played before moving to man u (at inter right?) than the left back role. however, i do feel that he perform better at left back, defence not bad and attacking well, even run into opponent penalty box.

i do think our defnece is very versitile, coz other than rio, most of the other defender can play more than 1 role, though they may not be playign as well as their original one, but this is an asset to us.

Yeah I remember couple of seasons back his crossing very impressive and got a few assists as left back.

And it seems like Silvestre can only play well partnering Rio.

he is the weakest link

Not only that, I think defence can only play well when Rio is in it. :o Anway, both Rio and Heinze are damn solid. ;)

usjag_18
10-12-2004, 06:47 PM
So do you guys suggesting that Heinze played as central defender and Silvestre played as left-defender?

jujube
10-12-2004, 06:51 PM
So do you guys suggesting that Heinze played as central defender and Silvestre played as left-defender?

whynot? but Silvestre will defintely be unhappy

usjag_18
10-12-2004, 07:02 PM
whynot? but Silvestre will defintely be unhappy
Hahahaa... PErsonally, if it's me, I will still put Heinze on the left side. He did very well @ that position. He's creative and defensive. As for Silvestre, no matter what, I think it's already confirm he can do well together with Rio. I think he's not the weakest link. Instead, I think he's as important as the other 3 defenders. Of course, I will like to have different central defenders to take over when he or Rio are not feeling well or something happen. We always must be prepared.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
10-12-2004, 08:19 PM
Wes out of Fulham match, Ruud face fitness race

Ruud van Nistelrooy is a doubt for United's game at Fulham on Monday night with a calf injury, while Wes Brown has been ruled out with an Achilles injury.

Van Nistelrooy has not played since being substituted during United's 3-0 victory at West Brom two weeks ago.

In a season where United had been finding goals difficult to come by, Ruud's record of 12 goals in 14 matches belies that theory - hence Ferguson's protection of a striker he considers the best he has ever managed.

"We are just safeguarding against the injury Ruud has had at the bottom of his calf," Ferguson told us on Friday. "It is one of these injuries that if we don't deal with it now then it will just keep resurfacing.

"We'll see his progress in training on Friday and Saturday before making a decision on Monday."

Wes Brown is a greater doubt for the game. The 25-year-old defender was part of the shadow squad that travelled to Istanbul in midweek, but was forced off injured in the second half of the 3-0 defeat to Fenerbahce.

"Wes came off with an Achilles injury," Ferguson confirmed. "That is one we will just have to be careful about. I think he'll probably need a rest."

The trip to take on Fenerbahce afforded Ferguson the opportunity to rest key players. Van Nistelrooy, Scholes, Keane, Giggs, Rooney, Ferdinand, Gary Neville, Heinze, Smith and Silvestre all remained in Manchester.

"It was great for them," said Sir Alex. "The opportunity we had to include the younger players was too good to miss. If the group had been any different in terms of Uefa Cup places for Fenerbahce and Sparta Prague then we would have taken a different team.

"You have to respect your opposition. If the opportunity had been there for Sparta Prague to make the Uefa Cup, then we would have helped it by playing a more experienced team.

"Fenerbahce were confirmed as making the Uefa Cup and so the opportunity was too good for us to miss.

"There was no need for me to play all my players. I may need to use some of the players that played on Wednesday night in February. So it was good experience for them."

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=132779&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ronaldo7
10-12-2004, 08:42 PM

nope . keep the way it is . don't fix it if isn't broken :)

jujube
10-12-2004, 10:13 PM
Wes out of Fulham match, Ruud face fitness race

Ruud van Nistelrooy is a doubt for United's game at Fulham on Monday night with a calf injury, [/url]

thats okay cause i want Smith to play and score

MatrixFanatic
10-12-2004, 10:29 PM
thats okay cause i want Smith to play and score

Same here. Unsung hero if not for him don't know where Manutd will be now.

ragnarok95
10-12-2004, 11:32 PM
smith and rooney will start...

usjag_18
11-12-2004, 01:32 AM
nope . keep the way it is . don't fix it if isn't broken :)
That's what I think too, but we can try different people. However not now when we are in the title race.

Rgds,
O'

Ronaldo7
11-12-2004, 11:05 AM
quite surprised that smith has actually become a fan's favourite at old trafford , considering the fact that many people questioned the judgement of fergie when he wanted him from leeds . great player that gives 101% to the club week in and week out and the only player to play in every league match this season for us if i am not wrong :evil:

MatrixFanatic
11-12-2004, 11:17 AM
quite surprised that smith has actually become a fan's favourite at old trafford , considering the fact that many people questioned the judgement of fergie when he wanted him from leeds . great player that gives 101% to the club week in and week out and the only player to play in every league match this season for us if i am not wrong :evil:

Yeah if he didn't sign for Manu I think lose to Bolton and Blackburn liao. :s22:

RVN
11-12-2004, 11:27 AM
Fergie backs resolution to Giggs talks

Ryan Giggs wants to resolve his current contract dilemma at Old Trafford and sign a new deal, with manager Sir Alex Ferguson backing the winger to remain at United.

Ferguson says the club have had to consider the 31-year-old's age when offering a new deal. But the Reds boss dismissed talk of a departure for the long-serving winger and remains hopeful of a resolution to the talks.

"All the speculation in the newspapers is just pure speculation," he said. "When you are negotiating any contract with a player in their thirties, you obviously have to guard against the age factor.

"There is nothing new in that. We did it with Teddy Sheringham and every other player who comes into that category," he told Century radio.

"Ryan's contract does not expire for another 18 months, we have offered him an extension and we will take it from there."

Talk of a move away from the club is met equal with equal derision by Giggs.

The 16 medals major trophies won by Giggs during a Reds career that spans more than 600 appearances have served only to increase his desire to win more silverware with United; leaving only represents a step down in standard.

"I have always said I wanted to stay here as long as possible," Giggs told us. "I have always said leaving United is a step down and I still believe it.

"The papers must have nothing else to write about. It is pure speculation because I am having talks about my contract. They are just going to speculate. That is something I have come to live with and the club are also used to it. But they are the only two parties involved."

Giggs started just two games for the Reds in November - a decision that Ferguson believes has galvanised the Welshman.

"We gave him a break, got some rest into him to freshen him up. When he is fresh he is a phenomenal player and we saw that last Saturday [against Southampton]. When Ryan is on that form we are a different team."

Report by Ben Hibbs, at Carrington.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=132780&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Fergie growls at Giggs delay

Daniel Taylor
Saturday December 11, 2004
The Guardian

Sir Alex Ferguson has shown the first signs of frustration at Ryan Giggs's refusal to sign a new contract at Manchester United. "We've offered him a deal until he's 33, so I don't see what the problem is," he said.
Giggs reiterated last night that he has no desire to leave Old Trafford but he is unhappy that United have offered him only a one-year extension to his current deal, which expires in June 2006.

"We've done that with all our players," said Ferguson. "Teddy Sheringham signed a one-year contract, Bryan Robson did the same and Roy Keane's last contract was only a one-year extension. There's nothing sinister about it."

Giggs hopes to resolve the issue before the turn of the year. He said: "I've always said leaving United would be a step down and that's still the case."

Roy Carroll has moved closer to a compromise over a new contract, having initially rejected United's terms. Carroll, whose contract expires at the end of the season, has been reported as reluctant to commit himself to the club in case they sign a new goalkeeper but Ferguson indicated that it was more a matter of finance. He said: "What do you think the problem is? It's always the same these days."

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1371496,00.html

cutieboy86
11-12-2004, 11:35 AM
haha... 2 different reactions frm fergie and both sound contradictin... but i tink giggs wan to stay at man utd and fergie will wan him to stay oso... giggs will sign the contract soon and he will play at man utd till he retire...

as for smith, since he sign for man utd frm leeds, he has been a fantastic and hardworkin player... always see him give 110% effort durin matches... he has oso save man utd frm the brink of defeat a few times b4...

usjag_18
11-12-2004, 12:53 PM
Fergie backs resolution to Giggs talks

Ryan Giggs wants to resolve his current contract dilemma at Old Trafford and sign a new deal, with manager Sir Alex Ferguson backing the winger to remain at United.

Ferguson says the club have had to consider the 31-year-old's age when offering a new deal. But the Reds boss dismissed talk of a departure for the long-serving winger and remains hopeful of a resolution to the talks.

"All the speculation in the newspapers is just pure speculation," he said. "When you are negotiating any contract with a player in their thirties, you obviously have to guard against the age factor.

"There is nothing new in that. We did it with Teddy Sheringham and every other player who comes into that category," he told Century radio.

"Ryan's contract does not expire for another 18 months, we have offered him an extension and we will take it from there."

Talk of a move away from the club is met equal with equal derision by Giggs.

The 16 medals major trophies won by Giggs during a Reds career that spans more than 600 appearances have served only to increase his desire to win more silverware with United; leaving only represents a step down in standard.

"I have always said I wanted to stay here as long as possible," Giggs told us. "I have always said leaving United is a step down and I still believe it.

"The papers must have nothing else to write about. It is pure speculation because I am having talks about my contract. They are just going to speculate. That is something I have come to live with and the club are also used to it. But they are the only two parties involved."

Giggs started just two games for the Reds in November - a decision that Ferguson believes has galvanised the Welshman.

"We gave him a break, got some rest into him to freshen him up. When he is fresh he is a phenomenal player and we saw that last Saturday [against Southampton]. When Ryan is on that form we are a different team."

Report by Ben Hibbs, at Carrington.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=132780&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Fergie growls at Giggs delay

Daniel Taylor
Saturday December 11, 2004
The Guardian

Sir Alex Ferguson has shown the first signs of frustration at Ryan Giggs's refusal to sign a new contract at Manchester United. "We've offered him a deal until he's 33, so I don't see what the problem is," he said.
Giggs reiterated last night that he has no desire to leave Old Trafford but he is unhappy that United have offered him only a one-year extension to his current deal, which expires in June 2006.

"We've done that with all our players," said Ferguson. "Teddy Sheringham signed a one-year contract, Bryan Robson did the same and Roy Keane's last contract was only a one-year extension. There's nothing sinister about it."

Giggs hopes to resolve the issue before the turn of the year. He said: "I've always said leaving United would be a step down and that's still the case."

Roy Carroll has moved closer to a compromise over a new contract, having initially rejected United's terms. Carroll, whose contract expires at the end of the season, has been reported as reluctant to commit himself to the club in case they sign a new goalkeeper but Ferguson indicated that it was more a matter of finance. He said: "What do you think the problem is? It's always the same these days."

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1371496,00.html

*********************************************************************************************

Personally, I dun give a sh*t abt these tabloids from the UK newspapers, they are totally RUBBISH. :mad: In the first place, why will SAF give such contradicting comments. I believe if anyone wanna R.Giggs to stay on, I believe it would be SAF. Just imagine the 1st time when R.Giggs played for Man Utd. All these years, SAF been supporting him and protecting R.Giggs. So I dun see the stupid comments by those newspapers. They are just trying to scare and make the supporters to be confusing. I believe R.Giggs, as one of the legends of Man Utd, will be staying on, no matter what happen.

*********************************************************************************************

I think A.Smith starting to get used to Man Utd and also starting to show his abilities in a certain way. I hope he can continue to prove his worths. Like previously, i mentioned that I dislike W.Rooney, I also dislike A.Smith due to their attitudes towards soccer playing, too arrogant. But I guess it's the arrogance to make SAF to choose these two youngsters to join Man Utd. To make them survive from all the comments and insults 4 coming to Man Utd. I guess they are really improving under SAF. Hope they can improve their playing more.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
11-12-2004, 04:51 PM
Ruud injury a cause of concern for Fergie. :s27:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4087613.stm

Ferguson rules out Saha PSG move

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4071981.stm

RuMmYtUb
11-12-2004, 05:06 PM

He's been more matured since the move from Leeds. No more easy flare ups, improving as an all round player and has a better goal scoring ratio than Leeds.

Guess our SAF is still the best when grooming and protecting players. :D

Ronaldo7
11-12-2004, 05:44 PM
Ruud injury a cause of concern for Fergie. :s27:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4087613.stm

Ferguson rules out Saha PSG move

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4071981.stm

dream on lah psg :s13: saha already said that he want to stay at old trafford and fight for his place :s7:

United_Treble
12-12-2004, 02:41 AM
rather saha leave mu, u peo until now still think he gd, juz ask urself how many goals he scored so far?

RVN
12-12-2004, 03:21 AM
rather saha leave mu, u peo until now still think he gd, juz ask urself how many goals he scored so far?

Because injury has disrupted him. Also partly due to a lack of first-team action too. :s8:

PSG can get lost, they are trying to screw us up, want saha on loan yet we still have to pay his wages, they think we are stupid or what, feck off, they didn't do us any favour with ronaldinho, why shall we help them:s39:

ragnarok95
12-12-2004, 09:15 AM
smith have became a all-round player liao :D

LiquidSilver
12-12-2004, 11:22 AM
Djordjic set for January Ibrox move

STOCKHOLM, Dec 11 (Reuters) - Manchester United's Swedish midfielder Bojan Djordjic will next week sign for Glasgow Rangers, Swedish daily Aftonbladet reported on Saturday.
'I spoke to (United manager) Alex Ferguson today and I found out that it's ready...I'm going (to Glasgow) on Monday to sign the contract,' Djordjic, told the paper.

Aftonbladet said the contract with the Scottish club would be for 2 1/2 years.

Djordjic joined United in 1999 but has struggled to make the first team.

The 22-year-old played on loan for Danish Superleague club AGF Aarhus during the 2002-2003 season and for Serbian side Red Star Belgrade the following season.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=319010&cc=4716

Ronaldo7
12-12-2004, 11:31 AM
all the best to him :)

cutieboy86
12-12-2004, 11:18 PM
Rooney boosts Ole recovery
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is using the prospect of playing with Wayne Rooney as one of the prime motivating factors in his battle to recover from major knee surgery. The popular Manchester United forward has already written off his chances of playing this season after having a cruciate ligament operation last summer. But Solskjaer refuses to believe his substitute appearance in the FA Cup Final win over Millwall will be his last for the Old Trafford outfit - and the arrival of Rooney has merely increased his determination to get back for the first day of training next term. "I want to play with Wayne," Solskjaer told MUTV. "He is a world-class player and he will learn so much by being here."

RVN
13-12-2004, 01:50 AM
ROONEY'S STOCK RISES FURTHER

http://cache-1.sportinglife.com/pictures/general/rooneyunder21award.jpg

Wayne Rooney has been voted the best under-21 player in Europe.

Rooney topped the poll of 30 leading sports journalists conducted by Italian newspaper Tuttosport.

The Manchester United striker came out ahead of team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, with Chelsea's Arjen Robben in fourth place behind Atletico Madrid's Fernando Torres.

Inter Milan's Nigerian striker Obafemi Martins was fifth.

"There were a lot of great players who were also close to winning this trophy so to have come first is a great honour, although a lot of credit must go to my team-mates," Rooney said.

"Without their support and efforts I would not have been in a position to win."

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/12/12/SOCCER_Rooney.html&TEAMHD=soccer

MatrixFanatic
13-12-2004, 02:00 AM
:eek: Rooney won? Good for him. :D

United_Treble
13-12-2004, 02:29 AM
ars 2-2 che, will this consider gd result for mu?

OKK77
13-12-2004, 02:41 AM
Good only if we can capitalise on it.

cutter
13-12-2004, 03:18 AM
If Utd beats Fulham tomolo, we'll be on 33pts, Arse on 35pts, Everton on 36pts, Chelsea on 40pts.

Still 7 pt gap with Chelsea at best, but only 2 behind Arse while Everton will kana bad patch when they pick up suspensions/injuries... their small squad cannot tahan any such casualties. Arse also becomes suspect when Sol and Viera are missing, and AW keeps insisting on choosing Almunia over Lehmann (please keep it up Mista Wanka!... pick Cygan some more as well! :D ) ... Chelsea is very strong in depth and the hope is that they will draw more games and drop 2 pts every time :D...

Utd traditionally lagi best in the 2nd half of the season and could wipe out the gap by end-Feb :D and even go top in March-Apr :D

d4r3d3vil
13-12-2004, 04:27 AM
manu new boy miller gd?

MatrixFanatic
13-12-2004, 08:41 AM
manu new boy miller gd?

Better than you. =:p

chengsun
13-12-2004, 12:17 PM
there is news that edu is joing valencia after contract expired, does it mean either baraja or albeda is leaving there? if it is, we shld grab them....

Ronaldo7
13-12-2004, 12:55 PM
don't know leh . also got reports in spain that he will sign for real madrid instead :s22: time to continue our winning run against fulham tonight :evil:

RVN
13-12-2004, 02:08 PM
3 points absolute must, not often chelski and arse drop points, we got to take advantage and win tonight. :evil:

Fulham will be tough though. :o

___jeff
13-12-2004, 02:24 PM
any injury update for the match tomorrow morning ?

usjag_18
13-12-2004, 02:31 PM
In fact, I am quite disappointed with the match between Everton and Liverpool. I was hopping that Liverpool can beat Everton, so that @ least we will be able to catch up with Everton, then Arsenal. But from now, we can only catch up with Arsenal first.

And to everyone, why do you care more abt Arsenal than Everton? Everton is really doing quite well nowadays. At least for now, we shjould respect all team. No matter in front or behind the team.

Rgds,
O'

kahmun7
13-12-2004, 03:17 PM
to make it simple.. I have no problems being below Everton or Chelsea. Because I really respect what Moyes has done to Everton but as stated before he have a very small squad, can the players perform match in match out till the end of the season remains to be seen, and Chelsea, well they have the money just like Blackburn about 10 years ago, they may stutter or they may not, but that also remains to be seen. The only thing Man Utd can do is not hope the other teams falter, it is to win as much matches as they possibly can without drawing or worst, losing anymore games.

majongfreak
13-12-2004, 04:32 PM
The stage is set for the Red Devils to exploit the dropped points of Arsenal and Chelsea to move themselves closer to the title chase.... Hopefully they will rise to the occasion and defeat an unpredictable Fulham boasting the likes of ex devil Andy Cole and Van De Saar and Steed Malbrangue(?). Go Man U go!!!

chengsun
13-12-2004, 04:50 PM
man u cannot afford to lose any point liao. i think in this coming game, the most dangerous one are those ex man u player, like cole, who wants to prove man u wrong so much......

United_Treble
13-12-2004, 06:12 PM
man u cannot afford to lose any point liao. i think in this coming game, the most dangerous one are those ex man u player, like cole, who wants to prove man u wrong so much......
mu wun lose point, they will get one point

usjag_18
13-12-2004, 06:56 PM

Personally, I don't think A.Cole got nothing to prove. bEcause no matter how he try, he's still a player who missed silly chances and caused Man Utd a lot of winning chances.

mu wun lose point, they will get one point

United_Treble, please further comments, don't put it this way. If wanna 2 comments, then comments what makes U think so? Don't comment such things, only will caused misunderstanding over here. And stop cursing Man Utd.

Rgds,
O'

United_Treble
13-12-2004, 06:57 PM
where gt curse mu, how i wsih they could win, but i think it will ends as darw

usjag_18
13-12-2004, 07:01 PM
to make it simple.. I have no problems being below Everton or Chelsea. Because I really respect what Moyes has done to Everton but as stated before he have a very small squad, can the players perform match in match out till the end of the season remains to be seen, and Chelsea, well they have the money just like Blackburn about 10 years ago, they may stutter or they may not, but that also remains to be seen. The only thing Man Utd can do is not hope the other teams falter, it is to win as much matches as they possibly can without drawing or worst, losing anymore games.

Don't mind doesn't mean we don't care. We still have to take a notice. Players not only need to prove themselves to manager, but also supporters and themselves and also their team-mates.

where gt curse mu, how i wsih they could win, but i think it will ends as darw

U think it's a draw, then what makes U think so, must have a reason(s) marh. Cannot like to say, den say leh. Even though their past records are not very good against FUlham, but I got confident that Man Utd can @ least score goals against them.

Rgds,
O'

MatrixFanatic
13-12-2004, 10:18 PM
Speaking of Jinx Team, no team is more deserving of that title than Middlesborough. :s27:

el_leumas
13-12-2004, 11:49 PM
The stage is set for the Red Devils to exploit the dropped points of Arsenal and Chelsea to move themselves closer to the title chase.... Hopefully they will rise to the occasion and defeat an unpredictable Fulham boasting the likes of ex devil Andy Cole and Van De Saar and Steed Malbrangue(?). Go Man U go!!!
Van de Sar and Malbranque were from Man Utd? Didn't know that... care to share the story?

AhHuat
14-12-2004, 12:53 AM
Van de Sar and Malbranque were from Man Utd? Didn't know that... care to share the story?
i think he meant ex manu player andy cole....and other players like van der sar and malbranq.....

RVN
14-12-2004, 06:55 AM
1-1

I am ****ing mad we didn't won. :mad:

Our players are getting too selfish in front of goal. Rooney should have squared it to Smith in the final minute, who had a free shot on goal, Ronaldo had a chance in the 2nd to lay it off to smith, but ****ed it up. Smith was fuming! It's like Portsmouth all over again, our rivals slip up and we can make up ground but end up blowing it. :s27:

jujube
14-12-2004, 07:12 AM
1-1

I am ****ing mad we didn't won. :mad:

Our players are getting too selfish in front of goal. Rooney should have squared it to Smith in the final minute, who had a free shot on goal, Ronaldo had a chance in the 2nd to lay it off to smith, but ****ed it up. Smith was fuming! It's like Portsmouth all over again, our rivals slip up and we can make up ground but end up blowing it. :s27:

Ronaldo was WAY too selfish!

Seals
14-12-2004, 08:29 AM
again ronaldo selfish... maybe he need cash...

maybe he tulan smith leh cos his present was smith ex...

Ronaldo was WAY too selfish!

chengsun
14-12-2004, 08:51 AM
again ronaldo selfish... maybe he need cash...

maybe he tulan smith leh cos his present was smith ex...

i tot his gf is a brazilian? younger sister of another brailian striker who played for his own former club b4? thru that player then he hot to know that gal. i read is in some news...

kahmun7
14-12-2004, 10:55 AM
no point crying over spilt milk. Ronaldo is a forward, he is paid to score, or at least try to score. SO i would rather like to see him shoot when he has the chance, rather than see him hesitate or try to pass the ball to someone and let somebody intercept the pass. And you do agree he can score some goals himself, just that he is hitting a bad patch now. there's many options they have when they are on the field. What might seem like a better chance to you might not be as clear to them on the field. They are only human.

We cannot afford anymore slip ups. hope that RVN comes back next week. Sigh.. will be in a bad mood giving my boss a scowling face for the rest of the week. har har har

Ronaldo7
14-12-2004, 11:12 AM
we didn't kill the game off :( great determination shown by smith to win the ball back and get the goal thou it's not enough for us to win the game & it's time for fergie to give ronaldo a rest now . he didn't look convincing for quite a few games already :s27:

kahmun7
14-12-2004, 11:15 AM
er.. he ALREADY have a rest.. think there was a stretch of 3 weeks he didn't play... wat? rest him for half the season? :P but then maybe give Fletcher a try also not a very bad idea.

Ronaldo7
14-12-2004, 01:17 PM
nope . fergie haven't give him a rest yet this season . or maybe you are refering to those few weeks that he was away for olympics duty ? :s22:

kahmun7
14-12-2004, 01:34 PM
he was on the bench for the full match against charlton and subbed in for the last 18 minutes against west brom... is that considered a rest? :P sorry didn't see him much so I thought he was rested.

ragnarok95
14-12-2004, 03:04 PM
to me, i think Fletcher crosses are better than ronaldo...

majongfreak
14-12-2004, 03:08 PM
Sigh! Another wasted chance to pull closer to the leaders......Why cant they play as well as they did in the 1st half?? Hardly see them create any chances in the 2nd half. The only obvious chance for Rooney to claim a glorious match winner, he fluffs it!!!He should hv passed it to the unmarked Smith. Somehow I feel Rooney and Ronaldo has a lacklasture game and Scholes didnt push forward enuff to be a threat. Smith, as always give his 100%, with the goal the best example of his determination and committment. He is certainly the type of player who as a fan u will appreciate very much but will always be cursed and swore by any opposing team......Looks like it becoming unlikely to catch Chelsea and I think a more realistic target will be the 2nd spot occupied by Everton. We also have to watch out for the other bogey team Boro, which is breathing down our necks........

RVN
14-12-2004, 03:14 PM
I am baffled why we sit back in the 2nd half and allow Fulham to come at us, its justs sickening, totally spoil our first-half perofrmances in the end could have lost, although Rooney had a late chance to win it but wasted the chance. :s27:

I think we really miss Ruud , I am sure he covert some of the chances we were guilty of missing. :(

nyleda
14-12-2004, 03:14 PM
hi hi...

do you all know where can I get Man Utd Home Kit set for infants in singapore ?
I know the online megastore have

kahmun7
14-12-2004, 03:34 PM
hi hi...

do you all know where can I get Man Utd Home Kit set for infants in singapore ?
I know the online megastore have
try queensway?
think they have boys but not so sure about infants.

usjag_18
14-12-2004, 04:02 PM
One thing about some of the younger players is they are not consistent when attacking. Seriously, when talking about Ronaldo being selfish, I think W.Rooney also having the problems. And they are not like Ryan Giggs and Ruud Van Nistelrooy or Paul Scholes, they don't go ahead and pressurise the GK. Sometimes, it's important to pressurised the goalkeeper.

What disappointed me about the game this morning is players are weak for crossing and our forwards and wingers are not fighting for more goals. They kept missing important chances.

Rgds,
O'

Ronaldo7
14-12-2004, 11:12 PM
try queensway?
think they have boys but not so sure about infants.

maybe you can try the local megastore too :)

crystal palace is next and the cl draw is on fri :s22:

RVN
15-12-2004, 01:47 AM
Hope to avoid the italians in the CL draw

and a big victory over Palace. ;)

nyleda
15-12-2004, 10:25 AM
oh , have checked ...local megastore only have kids not infants
ok..thanks... will check it out at queensway

RVN
15-12-2004, 12:22 PM
Not sure how true this is, but is from the Sun. :s22:

United patience Rons out

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004400580,00.jpg

CRISTIANO RONALDO has been given an enforced break as his team-mates lose patience with the Portuguese star.

Gary Neville and Alan Smith tore into the Manchester United winger, 19, for his wasteful play in the last two games.

And after Monday’s draw with Fulham, Old Trafford boss Alex Ferguson sent Ronaldo home to Madeira for a fortnight’s breather.

Neville gave Ronaldo a roasting for wasting a golden chance against Southampton when he tried a clever chip and missed instead of being more clinical in front of goal.

Ronaldo scores in United’s 3-0 win but refused to celebrate it and also looked unhappy as part of the second string for the meaningless Champions League game in Istanbul against Fenerbahce.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004580644,00.html

newbie_rulz
15-12-2004, 12:56 PM
I will really be over fumed if Ronaldo gets unhappie and wants a transfer, and Sir Alex is gonna sell him away. First lose Ronaldinho, then if lose C.Ronaldo, i really don't know what is going to happen to the future of ManYoo liao .. :s27:

but personally speaking, is it reall good to give a youngster a hard whack on the head for his performance or should they just encourage him, give him morale support? Any views on this ?

Ronaldo7
15-12-2004, 01:13 PM
i hope the news is true . it's really time to give him a much needed break . fergie did it last season and we all know how ronaldo performed during the 2nd half of the season :)

cutieboy86
15-12-2004, 02:01 PM
yar i tink it is really the time nw to gif him a break le... last yr fergie did it and ronaldo perform beta after the break... hope the news is true but man utd webby has not confirmed it yet

cutieboy86
15-12-2004, 05:51 PM
Fergie fears loss of killer instinct
Alex Ferguson fears his stars have forgotten how to kill teams off. The Manchester United boss hit out after the Red Devils drew 1-1 at Fulham on Monday. He moaned: “We should be killing teams. But what can happen did happen.” The Fulham result means Roy Keane and Co have now won only eight of their 17 Premiership games this season.
Neil Custis, The Sun
We've got another mountain to climb
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson yesterday admitted his team have left themselves "a big hill to climb" after failing to win at Fulham. United dominated the game at Craven Cottage on Monday but failed to press home their superiority after going ahead thanks to Alan Smith's 33rd-minute goal. "Players like Gary Neville, Roy Keane and Gabriel Heinze have plenty of experience. But this should ram home the message that unless you press home your authority you will rue the day. We've got a big hill to climb but we've done it before and we'll do it again."
David Woods, Daily Star

The busiest month of the season, but United plan winter break
Manchester United are considering interrupting their crucial and overcrowded January fixture programme in order to play a friendly in South Africa. United have been offered a game against Orlando Pirates in January 18 and are seriously considering making the trip.
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail

RVN
15-12-2004, 07:04 PM
I will really be over fumed if Ronaldo gets unhappie and wants a transfer, and Sir Alex is gonna sell him away. First lose Ronaldinho, then if lose C.Ronaldo, i really don't know what is going to happen to the future of ManYoo liao .. :s27:

but personally speaking, is it reall good to give a youngster a hard whack on the head for his performance or should they just encourage him, give him morale support? Any views on this ?

Nah Fergie won't sell Ronaldo, don't be pessmisstic about this. :s8:

Give him a couple of weeks off and come back refreshed, he be back to his best.

United_Treble
15-12-2004, 08:06 PM
One thing about some of the younger players is they are not consistent when attacking. Seriously, when talking about Ronaldo being selfish, I think W.Rooney also having the problems. And they are not like Ryan Giggs and Ruud Van Nistelrooy or Paul Scholes, they don't go ahead and pressurise the GK. Sometimes, it's important to pressurised the goalkeeper.

What disappointed me about the game this morning is players are weak for crossing and our forwards and wingers are not fighting for more goals. They kept missing important chances.

Rgds,
O'
already tell u draw liao, still wan reason from me, juz hope they can beat palace this sun

cutieboy86
15-12-2004, 08:18 PM
Stam Hopes For Reds Reunion

When the draw for the first knockout stage of the Champions League is made on Friday, there will be one particularly interested observer sitting at home in the suburbs of Milan.

Former Reds defender Jaap Stam will be in front of his television, hoping to see his wish granted - a return trip to Old Trafford.

"I would really love Milan to play United in the Champions League," says Stam. "Not only would it be a great clash between two teams who could win the tournament, but it would give me the chance to go back to Old Trafford for the first time.

"I have so many happy memories from my time there. It was a shame I didn’t get the chance to say goodbye to the United fans. I appreciated their support and would like to thank them. Hearing them sing ‘Yip Jaap Stam’ was always special. I really liked them, and I hope they liked me too."

In three success-packed seasons at in Manchester, the Dutchman finished every campaign with a Premiership winners’ medal, and in 1999 completed the Treble by adding the Champions League and the FA Cup as well. In 1999 and 2000 he was voted Europe’s best defender by UEFA.

Sir Alex Ferguson chose Stam in his greatest United team of all time, while the other 19 Premiership managers at that time voted Stam as the one player in world football they would sign if given a blank cheque. With Stam in the back four, Old Trafford didn’t hold its breath when an opposition striker bore down on goal. Stam usually had a clean pair of shorts at the end of a game; rarely needing to dive in with sliding tackles, he would simply use his pace to draw level with an opponent before whipping the ball from their feet and starting another attack.

This talent wasn’t always so obvious, however. As late as 19, Stam was still playing amateur football for his local side DOS Kampen in Holland. "I thought my chances of becoming a footballer had gone…I was training to be an electrician," he says. Luckily, former Dutch World Cup player and FC Zwolle manager Theo de Jong saw something special and offered him a contract in summer 1992.

Stam blossomed, and six months later was given a chance to move to England. He was recommended to Sheffield Wednesday manager Trevor Francis, who offered him a trial.

"It was the first time I had even been on an aeroplane," recalls Stam. "Even though the club asked me to stay on, I knew I wasn’t ready for such a big step. But I promised myself I would return to England one day."

Back in Holland Stam passed through Zwolle, Cambuur Leeuwarden and Willem II before joining PSV Eindhoven for £1m in February 1996. Three months later he won the first of his 65 caps for Holland, and by the end of 1996/97 was voted the Dutch Player of the Year after helping PSV win the title.

Glowing reports about this man-mountain defender filtered through to Old Trafford and, in the summer of 1998, Ferguson signed Stam from PSV for £10.75 million. It was a world-record transfer fee for a defender but Ferguson knew it was money well spent. "I have no concerns because we are getting the best," he said.

Stam says of the move: "There was also interest from Juventus, Inter, Chelsea and Liverpool, but I only wanted to go to United. I admit the size of the fee shocked me at the time. It seemed too much for a footballer. I remember my agent said he’d seen a shopping centre built for about the same price!"

However, Ferguson's judgement of his new signing was questioned after losing 3-0 to Arsenal twice in the opening month of Stam’s first season.

"At the start, I was under a lot of pressure," says Stam. "But I didn’t worry too much because I had the support of the manager. I knew I would settle down and begin to show what I could do. It soon went right for me and I could not have had a better first year. We won three trophies and I believe I proved myself. That season contained so many great moments, but, of course, the best one has to be winning the Champions League in Barcelona.

"The pictures show me standing right behind Ole Gunnar Solskjaer when he scored that winning goal, but I can’t remember much about it. It all happened so fast, and then we all piled on top of him. I do remember the celebrations after the game; we had a great party in the dressing room when we were all dancing about, then moved on to a banquet that went on ’til the next morning."

Just two years later, however – despite having signed a new contract only a few months earlier – Stam was on his way out of Old Trafford. In August 2001 United accepted a £16 million bid from Lazio for him.

Stam looked bemused as he was unveiled by Lazio at a press conference the day after leaving United, and things were soon to get a lot worse for him: after a Serie A game against Atalanta in October 2001, he tested positive for the banned substance Nandrolone. He vehemently protested his innocence, but the Italian Football Federation handed down a five-month ban (reduced to four months on appeal) and a £31,000 fine.

"That was a very difficult time in my life," recalls Stam. "I could not believe what had happened and felt sick that people could think I would take drugs."

After serving his ban, Stam returned to find the Lazio empire crumbling around him. Plagued by financial problems, the Rome club even struggled to pay the players’ wages.

"When I left United I thought I was going to a side that would challenge for the title and win prizes, but that didn’t happen," he says. "It was hard to get used to after all the success at United."

Aware of Lazio’s debts, clubs from around Europe, including Real Madrid, queued up to offer Stam an escape route, but the big man knew he wasn’t going to make a quick return to English shores. "There were several bids from Premiership clubs, but they didn’t interest me," says Jaap.

"Once you’ve played for the biggest and best club in England, what is the point of coming back to a smaller team? I was happy to stay in Italy and wait for something else."

That arrived last summer when Milan lured him away from Rome with a lucrative two-year contract. Sadly, a niggling ankle injury has so far limited him to only three appearances for the Rossoneri, but having had surgery on his ankle in November, he is expected to return in January, just in time for that potential Champions League meeting with United.

"I still consider myself a fan of United, as I do of all my former clubs," says the 32-year-old. "You couldn’t go through what I did there and come away untouched. But life goes on, and I am very happy with Milan. United don’t rule my life; they weren’t my everything. It was a special time, but I’m not pining for them… I mean, I haven’t done too badly since I left, have I?"

cutieboy86
15-12-2004, 08:22 PM
if jaap stam is still at man utd and we oso have ferdinand, wat would be the sitation in defense... haha

RVN
15-12-2004, 08:26 PM
if jaap stam is still at man utd and we oso have ferdinand, wat would be the sitation in defense... haha

None I think if we haven't sell Stam, we won't have bought Rio.

United_Treble
15-12-2004, 08:32 PM
None I think if we haven't sell Stam, we won't have bought Rio.
u r wrong, stam and rio can play in central defense

cutieboy86
15-12-2004, 08:35 PM
haha... i mean what if we had both players in the same team... juz make a guess

Ronaldo7
15-12-2004, 10:46 PM
Manchester United are considering interrupting their crucial and overcrowded January fixture programme in order to play a friendly in South Africa. United have been offered a game against Orlando Pirates in January 18 and are seriously considering making the trip.

siao boh :s13:

jujube
15-12-2004, 11:23 PM

wow that would be so awesome !!!

cutter
16-12-2004, 11:10 AM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/premiership_news/story_137157.shtml

Celtic to sign Parker?
Wednesday December 15 2004

Celtic are set to launch a January bid to land out-of-favour Chelsea midfielder Scott Parker on loan, with a view to a permanent transfer.

Parker has only played a bit-part role in Chelsea's trophy hunt so far this season - and has fallen out of the England frame due to his lack of first-team action at Stamford Bridge.

Blues boss Jose Mourinho wants to hang on to the former Charlton playmaker, who has also been linked with a loan return to The Valley, but has admitted he will let any unhappy players leave the Bridge.

According to The Daily Star that has alerted Bhoys boss Martin O'Neill, who wants to bolster his squad as the race for the SPL title hots up.

The champions lead arch rivals Rangers by just one point after 18 games - and O'Neill feels Parker could be the man to help stretch their lead in the coming months.

Parker is unlikely to want a permanent move north of the border - but may see a loan switch as a chance to impress any suitors, with Arsenal believed to admire him as they prepare for Edu's exit from Highbury.

wah lao... Utd should pounce on this chance to snap up a young, English midfield dynamo-playmaker siah... Keano+Scholes need a top-class understudy.. dunno if Jose will allow it though, if their aim is simply to give fringe players match-fit (eg Forsell, Smertin,Carlton Cole)

RVN
16-12-2004, 12:32 PM
Fergie plan to give Heinze a break as well, give chance for O'Shea to stake his claim at left-back. :)

Santa Fergie

http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004580510,00.jpg

By PHIL THOMAS

GABRIEL HEINZE is to get his wish of a break over Christmas — thanks to Alex Ferguson’s festive generosity.

The Argentine defender made no secret of the fact he was dreading the prospect of a hectic schedule.

It had left Heinze, a devout Catholic, facing up to a packed fortnight for the first time in his career having previously played in Argentina, France and Spain.

But boss Ferguson is now set to give John O’Shea a first-team recall and hand Heinze, 26, a mid-term holiday.

O’Shea has been in sparkling form in training and Fergie believes Heinze, who has been on the go since starring in his country’s Olympic bid, deserves a rest.

The Old Trafford chief said: “When you see the improvement O’Shea has made in training and strength-wise, it is remarkable. For 2½ years we played him all the time in different positions, sometimes with injuries, simply because we had to.

“Rio Ferdinand was suspended, Mikael Silvestre was out with an injury, so was Gary Neville and Wes Brown — and really the boy has done fantastically well.

“Now having given him a break, he looks a different player completely. He is fresh and strong and he has been terrific in training.”

Republic of Ireland ace O’Shea, 23, has not started a Premiership game since the Middlesbrough clash at the beginning of October.

And he has made just five appearances since for Fergie’s shadow team in the Carling Cup and Europe.

It is a stark contrast to last season, which saw him start 32 league games, as injuries and Ferdinand’s ban cut United’s squad to ribbons.

O’Shea said: “I’ve had just over two years of playing more or less non-stop in the team but time is on my side and I’m learning.

"This season started off on a bit of a bad note, having to have an operation during early pre-season. Then I had to catch up and do a lot of extra work.

“Fingers crossed, I can be ready for whenever the manager picks me.”

Former United defender Jaap Stam hopes tomorrow’s draw for the last 16 of the Champions League will see his AC Milan side get an Old Trafford date.

The Dutchman feels he has unfinished business following his hasty exit in August 2001.

He said: “Not only would it be a great clash between two teams who could win the tournament but it would give me the chance to go back for the first time. I have so many happy memories from my three years there.”

United midfield starlet Kieran Richardson, 20, is staying put after Wigan boss Paul Jewell was told a loan move was out of the question.

Rio has title pop at rivals

RIO FERDINAND has warned Arsenal and Chelsea: We’re coming to get you.

The Manchester United defender dismissed suggestions the Premiership crown is destined for London.

He said: “Arsenal’s Ashley Cole said the title will end up in London — but he is a bit of a joker.

“In Manchester we don’t see it like that and we will see what happens at the end of the season.

“We know we can go on a winning run but it is too early to talk about the title. It isn’t even Christmas yet.

“But you can’t buy experience and we have it in abundance — we know there is everything still to play for.”

United team-mate Gary Neville agrees.

He said: “Obviously we need to pick up results and we’ve done that recently, even though Monday night’s 1-1 draw at Fulham was a little bit of a setback for us.

“I certainly think we’re capable of challenging. We’ve got to put ourselves in a position where we can get close enough to these teams come March, April and May.”

Pirates ahoy

MANCHESTER UNITED are considering flying to South Africa to play a friendly with Orlando Pirates next month.

The trip is pencilled in for January 18, provided there is a definite result in the FA Cup tie with minnows Exeter.

A United spokesman said: “The decision is very much down to the coaching staff on whether the players would benefit from getting a bit of sun on their backs.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004581142,00.html

cutieboy86
16-12-2004, 08:15 PM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/premiership_news/story_137157.shtml

Celtic to sign Parker?
Wednesday December 15 2004

Celtic are set to launch a January bid to land out-of-favour Chelsea midfielder Scott Parker on loan, with a view to a permanent transfer.

Parker has only played a bit-part role in Chelsea's trophy hunt so far this season - and has fallen out of the England frame due to his lack of first-team action at Stamford Bridge.

Blues boss Jose Mourinho wants to hang on to the former Charlton playmaker, who has also been linked with a loan return to The Valley, but has admitted he will let any unhappy players leave the Bridge.

According to The Daily Star that has alerted Bhoys boss Martin O'Neill, who wants to bolster his squad as the race for the SPL title hots up.

The champions lead arch rivals Rangers by just one point after 18 games - and O'Neill feels Parker could be the man to help stretch their lead in the coming months.

Parker is unlikely to want a permanent move north of the border - but may see a loan switch as a chance to impress any suitors, with Arsenal believed to admire him as they prepare for Edu's exit from Highbury.

wah lao... Utd should pounce on this chance to snap up a young, English midfield dynamo-playmaker siah... Keano+Scholes need a top-class understudy.. dunno if Jose will allow it though, if their aim is simply to give fringe players match-fit (eg Forsell, Smertin,Carlton Cole)

but man utd does not haf enough money to spend durin the jan transfer window

cutieboy86
16-12-2004, 08:37 PM
Ferguson Expects Milan In Friday's Draw

Sir Alex Ferguson fully expects United to be dealt AC Milan in Friday's Champions League last 16 draw.

The draw, at 11:00GMT, sees United definitely facing one of five clubs; either AC Milan, Juventus, Inter Milan, Monaco or Bayer Leverkusen.

However, having not played the six-times European Cup winners during his 18-year tenure at the club, Ferguson admits to a strong feeling that his side will be paired with Carlo Ancelotti's Milan.

"We've played Monaco, Inter Milan and Bayer Leverkusen twice," said the United boss ahead of the draw. "The only team that we haven't met is AC Milan.

"I've been here for 18 years and never met them. We played them in America on the tour, of course.

"But I think fate will probably throw them our way. I have that feeling."

"We've played against Juventus so many times," added Ferguson. "Most of their team is still intact. They have strengthened in one or two positions and have a new manager in Fabio Capello. Nevertheless we know a lot about them having played them over the years."

Milan have twice knocked United out of the European Cup at the semi-final stages. In two previous encounters with the Rossoneri, United were beaten 5-2 on aggregate in the tragic 1957/58 season, and then 2-1 on aggregate as the Reds defended their European Crown 11 years later, in 1968/69.

Under Ferguson's reign, United have played Juventus more than any of the other five possible last 16 opponents, meeting the Bianconeri on eight occasions.

As group runners-up, the first-leg of United's last 16 tie will played be at Old Trafford on Tue 22 or Wed 23 February. ManUtd.com will bring you news of the draw as it happens, and will confirm dates and kick-off times for the ties.