View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Ronaldo7
16-12-2004, 10:50 PM
milan vs mu is mouth-watering , but i don't know which team to support :s13:
I am not confident of our chance facing milan:frus:. juve maybe cos we always seem to beat them. :D
The CL draw will be at 6.00pm(s'pore time).
Ronaldo7
17-12-2004, 01:18 AM
to be the best , we got to beat the best :)
Some of our players went to the hospital to visit the kids. Nice gesture from them. ;)
http://tinyurl.com/3m8q3
http://tinyurl.com/44wrr
jujube
17-12-2004, 03:24 AM
Some of our players went to the hospital to visit the kids. Nice gesture from them. ;)
looks like all injured or out of favor players :D
ragnarok95
17-12-2004, 09:07 AM
ole ole ole...when you coming back? we miss you!!!!!!!!!
usjag_18
17-12-2004, 01:16 PM
looks like all injured or out of favor players :D
where got out of favor?
usjag_18
17-12-2004, 01:24 PM
already tell u draw liao, still wan reason from me, juz hope they can beat palace this sun
U cannot just say draw marh. Must have a reason to backup your saying one marh. U canoot just say draw because you like to say draw means draw. Even they really draw, so what? U never give a reasonable reason.
Rgds,
O'
Ch3tah_39
17-12-2004, 02:07 PM
ya agree!! :)
kahmun7
17-12-2004, 02:20 PM
U cannot just say draw marh. Must have a reason to backup your saying one marh. U canoot just say draw because you like to say draw means draw. Even they really draw, so what? U never give a reasonable reason.
Rgds,
O'
aiya
I also can say say syiok... then hit mah here talk big lor...
if wrong, mah like the guy tok cok liverpool win will chop kkj...
if he thinks he really psychic or expert then this weekend every match guess the final score lor...
see if your expertise and experience is really that good as you claim or not.
Ruud injury concern deepens, Smith now also injured. :mad:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=244736
cutieboy86
17-12-2004, 06:34 PM
Ronaldo and Heinze given a breather
Ryan Giggs has backed Manchester United's decision to give over-worked pair Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze a Christmas break. Giggs reckons Ronaldo, in particular, will come back with all guns blazing for the second half of the season. "I am not surprised the boss has decided to give Cristiano and Gabriel a break," said Giggs. "They haven't really had much of a breather. When the gaffer rested Ronaldo last season he came back looking refreshed and was absolutely flying for the rest of the year. We're all hoping it will have the same effect again, with both him and Gabby."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express
Wenger stung
Edu has told Arsenal to pay him the wages he is worth or watch him join one of their greatest Champions League rivals - including Manchester United - for nothing. The Brazil midfielder will be out of contract in the summer and is free to agree terms with other clubs from January 1. "Arsene Wenger says I've ben offered £45,000-a-week, that's not true," said Edu. "The biggest clubs in the world want me, yes, including Manchester United."
Duncan Castles, Daily Mail
Smith injury blow leaves United short of firepower
Manchester United face a striker crisis ahead of tomorrow's Premiership clash with Crystal Palace after Alan Smith was ruled out with a gashed foot. It is understood Smith received six stitches in his foot yesterday after an accidental clash with a team-mate in training and will definitely miss tomorrow's must-win game at Old Trafford.
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
There is also another story about arsenal want Carroll, tell them to stick their head up a turkey, we wouldnt sell him to arsenal. :s27:
Can't see us buying Edu either. :s8:
MatrixFanatic
17-12-2004, 07:23 PM
VS Ac Milan. Bring them on. :evil:
cutieboy86
17-12-2004, 07:45 PM
yar... if we wan to show ppl tt we can win the CL again, we nid to beat the best teams... juz like in 1999, we beat some of the best teams like jtus, bayer munich en route to winnin the CL
alvinoyw
17-12-2004, 08:02 PM
Bring on Milan, I feel that if we can beat them, then no team can stop us already. Well, except Barca.
alvinoyw
17-12-2004, 08:05 PM
Btw if anyone noticed, if we had topped our group stage we would have met Bremen.
OKK77
17-12-2004, 08:07 PM
Milan is the last team I'd want to meet.
cutieboy86
17-12-2004, 08:14 PM
Btw if anyone noticed, if we had topped our group stage we would have met Bremen.
i dun tink so cos it may change
ragnarok95
17-12-2004, 08:25 PM
if we cant even beat milan....we can forget about winning the cup...
Err what made you say that, we could also face real and barca too. :s22:
MatrixFanatic
17-12-2004, 10:29 PM
Err what made you say that, we could also face real and barca too. :s22:
If Manutd won the group, they would have been in the 1st pot or something. Then it's very different already right?
AhHuat
17-12-2004, 10:31 PM
quite true....if we cant beat milan.......
how on earth can we beat barca and the rest.....en route to the cup....
Ronaldo7
17-12-2004, 10:31 PM
Milan is the last team I'd want to meet.
i am a milan supporter too :(
i hope the winner will go on and win the cup
jujube
17-12-2004, 10:57 PM
where got out of favor?
djemba and fletcher
If Manutd won the group, they would have been in the 1st pot or something. Then it's very different already right?
Of course it be different, but we are by no means certain to face Bremem. It all depends on the luck of the draw.
Move on, fact is we are now drawn against Milan, we have to try and beat them. :s8:
Ronaldo7
17-12-2004, 11:09 PM
yes . every team in the last 16 got to be taken seriously & united seems to perform better against those 'big' team imo
United_Treble
17-12-2004, 11:09 PM
Of course it be different, but we are by no means certain to face Bremem. It all depends on the luck of the draw.
Move on, fact is we are now drawn against Milan, we have to try and beat them. :s8:
do u think its possible to beat milan?
I don't know, but it be really tough. We have to play really well to do that.
United_Treble
17-12-2004, 11:17 PM
hope 0-0 draw at old trafford and 1-1 0r 2-2 draw at san siro, best of the worst
Disagree, we have to look for a win in the first leg to take to the San Siro.
alvinoyw
17-12-2004, 11:27 PM
Are we playing at home first or what? Cuz it really makes a difference if you play away first.
LiquidSilver
17-12-2004, 11:27 PM
we probably got the toughest of the lot, although people say that barca is the form team now, they still finish second fiddle to milan. but worry not! we can n will beat them!
LiquidSilver
17-12-2004, 11:28 PM
Are we playing at home first or what? Cuz it really makes a difference if you play away first.
we play home first. cause we finished second
cutieboy86
17-12-2004, 11:38 PM
yup... we nid to haf a gd result at home 1st b4 goin over to san siro... a best result means a win or a 0-0 draw... then when at san siro we haf to try to not lose or if draw, get away goals
Ch3tah_39
18-12-2004, 02:34 AM
woah man utd versus ac :s31:
exciting match sial la.. hope man utd can win man..
cutieboy86
18-12-2004, 11:01 AM
Fergie Admits To Fulham Hammer Blow
Sir Alex Ferguson admits Fulham’s late goal on Monday night was a crushing blow to United’s title hopes – but has been pleased by his players’ subsequent reaction.
Pape Bouba Diop’s 87th-minute strike scuppered United’s chances of closing the gap on Chelsea at the top of the Premiership to seven points, and was a hammer blow for Ferguson.
”Monday night – I still can’t get over it,” he told Manchester United Radio. "It was one of these gutting experiences that you hope you don’t get very often. But when you do get it, it lasts for a long time.
"The only thing I can console myself with is that we played so well and made so many chances that there is nothing wrong with the form. But to lose that goal right at the death was a real kick in the teeth to us.”
However, the midweek reaction from his players has been one of responsibility, a sign that has given Ferguson hope.
"I don’t think it will affect our confidence, but it can affect the result of the league – and the players know that.
"I wasn’t at training on Wednesday, but Carlos Queiroz told me there was a deep sense of disappointment running right through the team. I think they all felt responsible. And that’s not a bad thing.
"If you see that reaction, it is good. Too often in the game these days, too many players abstain from responsibility; their patch is clear. But Carlos was telling me that there was a deep sense of responsibility among all the players.
"It will only be proved in the next few weeks if the players have that determination to put it right."
Ferguson’s right-hand man has seen at close hand the mood among United’s players, and says there is a mental toughness among the squad that can carry the team through a hectic festive schedule that sees the Reds play a game every three days.
"The schedule is tough, but so are we," he said. "We are well prepared going into the New Year. We have a very difficult schedule coming up. But we have everything under control – the preparation is fantastic.
"The best teams will take advantage from this period; we believe we can do that."
And the Reds assistant refuses to see the draw at Craven Cottage, which leaves United nine points adrift of Chelsea, as a backwards step.
"I wouldn't say it was a step back," Carlos added. "I would say that we feel disappointed and frustrated, especially because we believe we performed well.
"The players did the right things most of the time. But there are things in football you cannot control - like luck.
"I feel more comfortable if we play well, create opportunities but drop points once in a while, than doing the opposite: not performing and winning games 1-0.
"We have to believe we are doing the right things. We have to believe that, if we perform against other teams like we did against Fulham, we will score three or four goals.
"We just have to be cool, rational and take the right approach. We are not perfect. We cannot say that our performances are always perfect. But we were happy with how we performed against Fulham."
Ronaldo7
18-12-2004, 11:46 AM
Manchester United will send Ruud van Nistelrooy for a scan on the calf problem that continues to sideline him.
Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze have been given a break by Sir Alex Ferguson while Darren Fletcher and John O'Shea return to the squad.
Crystal Palace are hoping striker Wayne Andrews will shrug off a flu bug.
Uruguayan defender Gonzalo Sorondo came through a reserve run-out and will return from a lengthy absence with a hamstring injury.
Man Utd (from): Carroll, Howard, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Fortune, Brown, Bellion, Keane, Scholes, Djemba-Djemba, Fletcher, Giggs, Rooney, Smith.
i think smith should be fit to face palace tonight :evil:
cutieboy86
18-12-2004, 11:53 AM
ronaldo and heinz deserve a break... pray tt smith will be fit in time for tonite match
United_Treble
18-12-2004, 11:56 AM
FT Man Utd 1-1 Palace or 2-1
Don't jinx us with your prediction. :s27:
cutieboy86
18-12-2004, 01:17 PM
dun listen to his crap... i sure man utd will win tonite... maybe paul scholes or rooney will score
ralliart_ray
18-12-2004, 03:31 PM
tonite 1 am got telecast rite?
cutieboy86
18-12-2004, 05:34 PM
tonite 1 am got telecast rite?
ya... on chn 23
cutieboy86
18-12-2004, 05:36 PM
Reds Turn Down Blake Loan Move
Young Reds striker Sylvan Ebanks-Blake has emerged as Walsall's latest loan target at Old Trafford, but the move has been turned down by Sir Alex Ferguson.
Walsall manager Paul Merson has made previous attempts to take midfielders Chris Eagles and Kieran RIchardson to the Bescot on loan deals, only to be denied by the Reds boss.
The former Arsenal midfielder's latest approach, for Cambridge-born 18-year-old forward Blake, has been met with a similar rebuttal from Ferguson.
"I have inquired about players who I thought would be good in our team but none of them have been allowed to come," Merson told the Express and Star.
"It is difficult because they have two reserve teams and they have to make sure they have enough players to fulfil all their fixtures.
"I asked about Blake, who I think could have done us a job, but they said no. The kind of players you would take are the likes of Chris Eagles and Kieran Richardson, but they just won't let them go."
Blake, who was part of United's FA Youth Cup winning side in 2003/04, made his first-team debut this season in the Carling Cup third round clash with Crewe at Gresty Road.
Although yet to add to that appearance, Blake was an unused substitute against Arsenal in the Carling Cup, and travelled with the squad to Istanbul for the 3-0 defeat to Fenerbahce.
weicheng
18-12-2004, 11:59 PM
Oh no.. RVN has been sidelined for 10 weeks! OMG!
jujube
19-12-2004, 12:19 AM
where's the source dude
Ch3tah_39
19-12-2004, 12:22 AM
why not possible... everything is possible.!! i believe that man utd hav wat it take to win milan!! :s27:
Ch3tah_39
19-12-2004, 12:23 AM
NLNT :s13:
weicheng
19-12-2004, 02:06 AM
Nistelwoe and whine
Manchester United's title hopes have been dealt a stunning blow after crocked striker Ruud van Nistelrooy was ruled out of the Christmas and New Year games. United sent van Nistelrooy for a scan on his calf injury and Sir Alex Ferguson fears the striker may need at least four weeks' rest. The Dutch international could be out for up to 10 matches, including the key clash with Liverpool at Anfield on January 15. "There is a bit of concern because Ruud is the best striker in the business and we want him back," said Ferguson. "We're sending Ruud to an orthopaedic specialist. The problem has resurfaced again this week and it's a bit of a worry."
David Anderson, Daily Mirror
Sry, 10 matches. not 10 weeks
jujube
19-12-2004, 02:21 AM
Sry, 10 matches. not 10 weeks
10 matches is worse than 10 weeks i think
AhHuat
19-12-2004, 02:23 AM
3-2......
conceded two stupid goals...
see how we fare against milan :s8:
Kyubi
19-12-2004, 02:28 AM
4 - 2 liao la ... scholes really siao liao .. after he open his first goal .. now like evvery game keep scoring.. :D
AhHuat
19-12-2004, 02:29 AM
3 goals in 4 mins...
thats crazy man
AhHuat
19-12-2004, 02:32 AM
today is the first time i saw giggs on fire......
he is brilliant today ....exceptional........
United_Treble
19-12-2004, 02:51 AM
better sell fletcher away
Flecther is playing piss poor, lack of ball control and gave the ball away too often. :s27:
Ronaldo7
19-12-2004, 03:15 AM
time to sell ruud away in my fantasy pl team :(
3 points in the bag . giggs was outstanding today :eek:
Impressive game by Kiraly tough!got some great saves!
The score shoud have been 8 or 9-2! :D
Scholes, Giggs, Keane, Smith were all magnificent. :)
cracker
19-12-2004, 03:22 AM
time to sell ruud away in my fantasy pl team :(
3 points in the bag . giggs was outstanding today :eek:
yup agreed with u..giggs had one of his better game today...
United_Treble
19-12-2004, 03:27 AM
CHE 43
EVE 37
ARS 35
MAN 34
MID 32
GD thing that everton drew
Ruud out for 4 weeks. Fergie just said at his post-match conferences. Its an achillies injury now and he need rest. :o :(
JirQUEST
19-12-2004, 05:12 AM
Ruud out for 4 weeks. Fergie just said at his post-match conferences. Its an achillies injury now and he need rest. :o :(
hmmm.... good in a sense, coz he gets a break as well...
cutieboy86
19-12-2004, 11:11 AM
last nite match there is a VIP sittin in the stands... tt is Eric Cantona... giggs, scholes, keane, smith had a gd game... keane played one of his best games tis season, for giggs it was another gd performance... 2 wks ago, he oso played 1 of his best games... happy for scholes tt he really found his goalscorin boots, happy to see him keep scorin as i nv doubt his ability... smith is a really hardworkin player and happy to see him score again... he seldom has chance to start in a game
cutieboy86
19-12-2004, 11:13 AM
MANCHESTER UNITED v CRYSTAL PALACE, 5-2 Sat 18 Dec 2004
With guest of honour Eric Cantona watching from the stands, Manchester United turned on the style to maintain their pursuit of Barclays Premiership leaders Chelsea.
Fittingly, it was three of Cantona’s old team-mates - Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane - who played the major roles in United’s biggest Barclays Premiership win of the season.
Victory did not come without a scare. Wayne Rooney missed a penalty at 0-0 and relegation-threatened Palace twice stunned Old Trafford with surprise levellers.
But, with Scholes scoring twice and Alan Smith also finding the net before John O’Shea’s injury-time effort, United were in command long before the final whistle, although it did need an Emmerson Boyce own goal during a frenetic start to the second period to eventually put them into a lead they would not lose.
The result dumps Palace back into the bottom three but the victory, and just as importantly the goals, will restore Ferguson’s faith that the title can be won again even though United might have to do without Ruud van Nistelrooy for the next few games.
A recurring theme of Ferguson’s assessment of his team’s recent form is that they need to start converting a greater percentage of their chances.
With Louis Saha also sidelined, it will be left to Wayne Rooney and Smith to shoulder United’s ailing Premiership title hopes - not a problem to the ebullient Smith, but definitely a concern as far as Rooney’s form is concerned.
The memory of his debut hat-trick against Fenerbahce will linger long, but currently Rooney is suffering a dip, as 19-year-olds tend to do.
Confident enough to take the eighth-minute penalty after Darren Fletcher had fallen under the weight of Danny Granville’s challenge, he then struck a weak effort at the perfect height for Gabor Kiraly, who kept it out with a low, one-handed stop.
It was the prelude to a personal first-half performance from the £27million former Everton man which in common football speak amounted to a ‘mare’. Passes went astray, crosses were too long or too short and even Rooney’s first-touch let him down at times.
Fortunately, some of his more senior colleagues were doing rather better - notably Giggs, Scholes and Keane - who are running out of chances to add to their Premiership medal collection, and decided this was not the time to surrender another.
Scholes may have taken the headlines with his brace but Keane was perpetual motion in midfield and a galvanising force when the game threatened to go against his team.
For 90 glorious minutes it was a throwback to the days when the Irishman rampaged on a regular basis at home and abroad. Ferguson can profess his contentment with Eric Djemba-Djemba and Kleberson all he likes but how he must wish his fellow Celt was a decade younger.
Giggs too appears to be enjoying a revival, perfectly timed with another contract to negotiate.
Two second-half runs provided a cameo of the type of flowing bursts for which he will be remembered and, had either ended with a shot flying into the net, there would have been genuine discussion over whether it eclipsed his famous FA Cup semi-final effort against Arsenal five years ago.
Kiraly has reason to remember his Old Trafford visit with fondness given the number of times he saved his team but, in all likelihood, the Hungarian’s mind will always drift back to his crucial mistake immediately after Joonas Kolkka had scored his side’s second equaliser 50 seconds after the re-start.
Granville had already levelled once after Scholes had helped United shrug off Rooney’s miss with a textbook example of pass and move, running into the box after taking a short corner, then receiving Keane’s excellent through ball and firing into the top corner.
When Smith rose to restore United’s lead with his eighth goal of the campaign, an inch-perfect header from Scholes’ corner, Palace appeared doomed. Instead Kolkka nodded Michael Hughes’ cross past Roy Carroll immediately after the break.
If Palace had been able to hold the hosts for any length of time, Ferguson’s side could have been consumed by nerves.
Unfortunately, Kiraly chose the wrong time to make his blunder, failing to do anything more than brush a deep Gary Neville cross onto adjacent defender Emmerson Boyce, who diverted the ball into the net off the back of his head.
Scholes, who went eight months without scoring before breaking his duck against Charlton four weeks ago, cannot stop now and even the loss of support from his standing foot couldn’t prevent him stroking home his sixth in six games.
It was the third goal in the opening four minutes of the second half and, despite the former England man’s best efforts at completing a hat-trick, proved to be United’s last until O’Shea broke his seasonal duck with virtually the final kick.
MatrixFanatic
19-12-2004, 11:20 AM
Smith's goal is the nicest. Great technique shown by him. Then O'shea also lose some weight, runs faster.
And Fortune gets injured again. :o
hmmm.... good in a sense, coz he gets a break as well...
even worse it could be 6 weeks. :s27:
Sir Alex Ferguson is hoping Manchester United hit-man Ruud van Nistelrooy will be able to return to action before the end of January.
The Dutch ace underwent a scan on Friday to determine the extent of the damage of a calf complaint which has been troubling him in recent weeks.
Tests showed the injury has now infiltrated his Achilles and he will require up to six weeks of recuperation before he is ready to return.
Though van Nistelrooy will not need an operation, his absence will be a blow to The Red Devils, with Louis Saha also sidelined until the New Year.
United boss Ferguson had been upset with van Nistelrooy after he felt his prolific hot shot had kept the injury from him for a couple of weeks.
Ferguson lamented the injury bulletin on the former PSV Eindhoven man and now hopes the condition does not worsen.
"It's not great news for us at all," Ferguson told Prem Plus.
"What started off as a calf injury is now an Achilles injury. The problem is what to do next.
"The recommended treatment is therapy and doing a complete rehab on his injury.
"Hopefully, it's four weeks or six weeks at the very most, but we don't know for certain."
Ferguson's mood had been lifted by his side's thumping 5-2 victory over Crystal Palace, which was a fillip after Monday's 1-1 draw at Fulham.
The United chief was surprised at the open nature of the Old Trafford contest, but was buoyed by the quality of his team's attacking play.
"It was a really good performance attacking-wise, so that's good," he said.
"It's the kind of positive result you're looking for. It was like a Christmas Day game - it was so open."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=245120
Ronaldo7
19-12-2004, 04:31 PM
the good thing is that smith gets to play in place of ruud :evil:
jujube
19-12-2004, 05:40 PM
the good thing is that smith gets to play in place of ruud :evil:
I always have a soft spot for Smith and I'm glad he has played well in the last 2 games and scored as well.
I hope he gets more influential in the side
;)
United_Treble
19-12-2004, 05:47 PM
his performance temp onli, u c hext few match he will score zero
EDU GETS DOUBLE MONEY LURE FROM FERGIE :s11:
EDU will turn his back on Arsenal and join the Manchester United gravy train - where he will more than double his money to £60,000 a week.
As first reported in The SP on September 24th, Edu is keen on joining Sir Alex Ferguson's side after his representatives were told he would be welcomed with open arms at Old Trafford.
But instead of teaming up with his fellow Brazilian Kleberson, Edu is likely to pass him on the way in to United's training complex at Carrington.
Fergie is keen to recruit 26 year-old Edu but he knows he must offload at least one big money buy before chief executive David Gill will sanction any more imports into the club.
That's likely to be World Cup winner Kleberson, who has flopped since arriving 18 months ago and is likely to head for Spain. Sources close to Edu confirmed last night that he has already decided to quit Arsenal and make a fresh start elsewhere. Barcelona and Real Madrid are also interested.
Edu currently earns around £25,000-a-week at Highbury but United will pay £60,000-a-week for a player who could eventually replace Roy Keane.
He is recovering from a broken toe that has kept him out of the Arsenal first team in recent weeks but he is close to fitness.
It's unlikely the Gunners will offer him the deal he wants to sign, and with Cesc Fabregas and Mathieu Flamini both making strides in the first team Wenger may decide to deliver another snub to the Brazilian.
United, however, won't be tempted to pay for Edu's January release. They will try to find a market for Kleberson before the season is over and then make a free transfer swoop for a star who cost Arsenal £6 million from Corinthians four years ago.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14992429%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=edu%2dgets%2ddouble%2dmoney%2dlure%2dfrom%2dfergie-name_page.html
Dun talk crap, Smith has show desire and commitment to the team.
United_Treble
19-12-2004, 07:22 PM
since he sign mu till now how he plays u still dunno, u c he will score lesser though he gt 100% commitment
MatrixFanatic
19-12-2004, 08:03 PM
since he sign mu till now how he plays u still dunno, u c he will score lesser though he gt 100% commitment
Please don't talk kukujiao here. If he didn't play in the early part of the season, I think Manutd now fighting for 4th Champions League spot liao.
jujube
19-12-2004, 08:39 PM
EDU GETS DOUBLE MONEY LURE FROM FERGIE :s11:
Fergie is keen to recruit 26 year-old Edu but he knows he must offload at least one big money buy before chief executive David Gill will sanction any more imports into the club.
That's likely to be World Cup winner Kleberson, who has flopped since arriving 18 months ago and is likely to head for Spain.
They will try to find a market for Kleberson before the season is over and then make a free transfer swoop for a star who cost Arsenal £6 million from Corinthians four years ago.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=14992429%26method=full%26siteid=55768%26headline=edu%2dgets%2ddouble%2dmoney%2dlure%2dfrom%2dfergie-name_page.html
i dun want Kleberson to go
cutieboy86
19-12-2004, 09:25 PM
RUUD INJURY BLOW FOR UNITED
Sir Alex Ferguson has ruled Ruud van Nistelrooy out of action for up to six weeks - but the worry around Old Trafford is the lethal Dutchman may be missing for far longer.
The news tempered the optimism that accompanied a thrilling 5-2 win over Crystal Palace, keeping United within nine points of Barclays Premiership leaders Chelsea.
And with Louis Saha missing for another three weeks, Van Nistelrooy’s absence leaves Ferguson desperately hoping his strikers avoid any further injuries over the festive period.
After missing United’s last five games, and being substituted in the previous three with a calf problem picked up in November which refused to go away, Van Nistelrooy was sent for a scan yesterday with Ferguson already fearing the worst.
The Red Devils boss confirmed his worries have now been realised.
And while the initial treatment could see Van Nistelrooy back in action for the February 1 trip to Arsenal and fully fit in time for the Champions League clash with AC Milan later that month, it is the season-wrecking operation which may follow that will cause Ferguson worries over Christmas.
“What started as a calf injury has now spread to his Achilles,” confirmed Ferguson. “That was our fear and our gut feeling during the week.
“The recommended treatment is complete rehabilitation which will rule him out for four to six weeks.
“It is far too early to talk about an operation but the Achilles is such a delicate area and we will have to treat it carefully.”
It was not the end of Ferguson’s injury woe either as Quinton Fortune, making only his 10th appearance of a campaign ravaged by a thigh strain, limped off after half an hour with a hamstring problem.
Ferguson at least has obvious cover in that area with Gabriel Heinze due to return from his short break on Thursday, while Fortune’s replacement John O’Shea also caught the eye with his injury-time goal which rounded off United’s biggest win of the season.
It is what went on before that though which will ease Ferguson’s concern somewhat, in particular the performances of two-goal Paul Scholes and fellow veterans Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane.
All three produced outstanding displays, a throwback to their time as team-mates to guest of honour Eric Cantona.
Keane lifted his team when they needed it with some crunching tackles and lung-bursting runs, setting up Scholes for the hosts’ opener.
Alan Smith put United back in front after Danny Granville had levelled, then, after Joonas Kolkka had pulled Palace back on terms again 50 seconds after the re-start, an Emmerson Boyce own-goal turned the game in the Red Devils’ favour again, before Scholes netted his sixth in six games.
“Paul had a disappointing pre-season because we had to call him onto the American tour after only three days training,” said Ferguson.
“It was too early and that was my fault. But now he is back to the form we expect of him and he has always been capable of scoring goals.”
It was Giggs, however, who took man-of-the-match honours after searing through the Palace defence at regular intervals.
Two second-half runs carried him almost the length of the field and if either had ended in a goal, there would have been instant comparisons with his 1999 FA Cup semi-final winner against Arsenal.
For a player in well-publicised negotiations over a new contract, his return to form is superbly timed. And his manager could not be more pleased.
“Ryan was absolutely fantastic,” said Ferguson. “When he is on that form, there is nobody like that in the world.”
United could even afford to waste an eighth-minute Wayne Rooney penalty, saved by Kiraly, and still stroll to victory, a result which leaves Palace back in the bottom three.
Ronaldo7
19-12-2004, 09:30 PM
i dun want Kleberson to go
i don't see him staying with us :(
Cantona joins Glazer fight
Eric Cantona has backed the fight against Malcolm Glazer's attempted takeover of Manchester United, telling the American tycoon to "buy Coca-Cola" instead.
The United great, who won four Premier League titles and two FA Cups in five glorious years at Old Trafford, threw his support behind the Shareholders United group which is determined to keep the club out of private hands.
Asked about the possible takeover, the Frenchman told MUTV: "I don't think it would be a good thing. Not at all. For me, what I like and what I love about this club is the identity, the philosophy.
"If someone was to come here, we would lose everything. I am against this kind of thing because I'm like a child - I'm a dreamer. I don't want these kind of people to come here.
"If it's not Manchester United, if it's not a club where he can earn so much money, do you think he would love to come? I don't think so. If it's not like that, he can stay [in America] and buy Coca-Cola."
Reports today suggested Glazer had renewed his takeover bid for the club after talks broke off in October, restructuring the offer due to fears his initial plan would leave the club lumbered with a considerable debt.
The Tampa Bay Buccaneers owner has already used the muscle afforded by his 28.1% stake in the club to force three directors off the board.
Shareholders United vice-chairman Oliver Houston has warned Glazer he will continue to encounter dissension from the club's fan base, particularly those who own a stake in the Red Devils.
He was far from shocked, however, to learn another bid could be around the corner.
"It's not a surprise," said Houston .
"We always warned that Glazer is not someone who gives up easily.
"We have to show him it's not worth his while. There's now some talk of reducing the amount of borrowing that relies on being able to increase the profits drastically.
"That will mean fans getting hit in the pocket with higher ticket prices and over-exposure of the brand with more sponsorship.
"Malcolm Glazer will probably have United players looking more like Formula One drivers."
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_223061,00.html
leslielai_
20-12-2004, 06:19 AM
Edu would make a great bargain for us. Kleberson has tried but has shown that he isn't quite up to the mark so its best to offload him now for some fees rather than have him getting paid to warm the bench.
if we can't get Edu, Gravesen is the player we should snap up.
ragnarok95
20-12-2004, 09:22 AM
well...with ruud out...we still have smith and rooney...we must believe in this two young guns...
cutieboy86
20-12-2004, 11:24 AM
Cantona Looks Back On Red Days Gone By
Cantona Reflects On His Reds Career
"There have been a lot of great moments at the club but for me the best one was when we won the Championship for the first time."
In a special one-off programme, the Frenchman looked back on his four and a half-year tenure with the club and picked out United’s first Championship triumph under Sir Alex Ferguson back in May 1993 as the most memorable highlight of a hugely successful career with the Reds.
”There have been a lot of great moments at the club,” explained Cantona. “When we won the league with a new generation of players [in 1996] was a great moment, but for me the best one was when we won the Championship for the first time - it was a fantastic feeling.
”I will always look back on the game against Sheffield Wednesday towards the end of that season when Steve Bruce scored twice in the last few minutes as a great moment and an important one during that season.”
Cantona was the major catalyst behind United’s domestic dominance during the 1990s, helping the team to six major honours including two league and Cup doubles.
His retirement from the game in 1997 came as a great shock to everybody involved with the club, but as Cantona explains, the loss of his passion for the game together with a number of off-the-field issues were the main reasons behind his decision to quit Old Trafford.
”When I first came to United everything was about football,” recalls Cantona. “But at that point in time the business became more important than the football.
”I could not accept that I was unable to control my image. I spoke to the important people at the club two or three times about this but nothing changed.
”That, together with passion I lost for the game, meant I didn’t want to fight any more and give all I had – football was no longer the most important thing to the club.
”I do not regret it [retiring]," he adds. "Sometimes I dream about coming back. But to play you need to train all the time, watch what you eat and also what time you go bed. To do that you need to have the passion of a young player and concentrate 100 per cent on football.
”I didn’t have that same passion and I felt like I had lost something. It was difficult but it was right to finish.”
During his weekend-long stay in Manchester Cantona also attended United’s 5-2 Barclays Premiership victory over Crystal Palace.
The 38-year-old’s name was chanted throughout the match and Cantona admits he still feels immensely proud of the unique relationship he still holds with the United supporters.
”It is always a great moment when they sing my name,” he beams. “I was at the game at the weekend [against Crystal Palace] and I heard the crowd singing my name and it made me very proud. But at the same time I am afraid that maybe one day it will stop.
”During the time I was banned the fans helped me a lot. When you go through a bad moment you know who your friends are and I realised that with them. It was a difficult time for me but their support, along with that from my team-mates and the manager, helped me a lot.
”It’s like a love story but there’s always a worry that it will finish one day.”
well...with ruud out...we still have smith and rooney...we must believe in this two young guns...
and Bellion? :s22:
And don't forget Scholes too who can chip with the goals, Saha also due to come back in mid-January. ;)
Ronaldo7
20-12-2004, 01:08 PM
knn , he is back :mad:
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1377383,00.html
knn , he is back :mad:
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1377383,00.html
He's only coming to rape the club of it's profits and then fck off. We might be a worldwide brand but no one at manu wants this kind of takeover right down from the manager to the fans. He's a fool if he thinks hes gunna get anywhere carrying on like this. :s27:
usjag_18
20-12-2004, 02:30 PM
Even though those players will not be here reading our comments, but can u be more encouraging? He may not be able to show his potential @ Leeds Utd, but dun forget, he's currently @ MAN UTD, we are one of the clubs that is famous for building up youngsters' confident and abilities. So I disagree with what you said. Moreover, from these 2 games, he shows commitments and confident. The only thing I think he's not like RVN who will go and pressed on opponent's goalkeeper, he did pressed on, but seldom, not like RVN. However, I think we should give him some credits and we should praise him for showing his commitment towards our club.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
20-12-2004, 02:41 PM
Dun be so negative.
usjag_18
20-12-2004, 02:45 PM
He's only coming to rape the club of it's profits and then fck off. We might be a worldwide brand but no one at manu wants this kind of takeover right down from the manager to the fans. He's a fool if he thinks hes gunna get anywhere carrying on like this. :s27:
Glazer is going to get himself into trouble some of these days. Don't know why he likes to challenge a group of supporters. It's like an egg go and knock itself into a STONE.
Rgds,
O'
jujube
20-12-2004, 06:06 PM
You never know.. Smith might develop to become an English Cantona.
whynot? he uses the ball well and his play is intelligent. dun forget he is still young
as for Kleberson, i think he needs to be injury free and have a run of 1st team games before we can truly say that he is flop. He is not like Forlan who has been given so many chances.
I'm quite excited about Bellion. He just needs to carry on scoring and he might will turn into another OLE
Even though those players will not be here reading our comments, but can u be more encouraging? He may not be able to show his potential @ Leeds Utd, but dun forget, he's currently @ MAN UTD, we are one of the clubs that is famous for building up youngsters' confident and abilities. So I disagree with what you said. Moreover, from these 2 games, he shows commitments and confident. The only thing I think he's not like RVN who will go and pressed on opponent's goalkeeper, he did pressed on, but seldom, not like RVN. However, I think we should give him some credits and we should praise him for showing his commitment towards our club.
Rgds,
O'
what wrong did I say, I even praise Smith , it was United_Treble that slag Smith off, not me. :s11:
cutieboy86
20-12-2004, 07:48 PM
Cantona: The truth - at last
Eric Cantona last night revealed how the money men drove him out of Manchester United - and pleaded with the club to boot out Malcolm Glazer's takeover bid. He revealed for the first time how a row over image rights contributed to his shock decision to quit football in 1997. He said: "I had a problem with merchandising. When I came to United everything I dreamed about was there but business became more important than football. I can't accept seeing myself everywhere and not control those things. I like to control my image, but at the time the chairman of the merchandising wasn't fair. I came to see people at the club, some important people - once, twice, three times - and nothing changed. I felt that the football wasn't the most important thing. And I lost my passion for the game. Subconsciously I didn't want to give all I had."
Lee Rogers, Daily Mirror
cutieboy86
20-12-2004, 08:25 PM
Spector To Head Out On Loan
United defender Jonathan Spector will face a New Year challenge out on loan, Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed.
The 18-year-old had a run of three games at left-back in August, but has only forced his way into the side twice since; against Crystal Palace and Fenerbahce – both times from the bench.
However, Spector has made huge strides in his 16 months at Old Trafford, and it is perhaps only the consistency shown by new arrival Gabriel Heinze that has limited his first-team opportunities.
Ferguson believes a loan move will make the American defender, from Arlington Heights, Illinois, mentally and physically stronger.
"We're looking at letting Jonathan Spector go out on loan in the next couple of weeks," Ferguson told Manchester United Radio.
"We feel that Jonathan is the type that needs that challenge now. He is very close to first-team level. The challenge of going out on loan will test him and bring him on that bit further."
Ferguson has tested many young players with loan moves to lower division clubs. John O’Shea enjoyed a spell in Belgium with Royal Antwerp.
"We feel that Jonathan needs the challenge of going out on loan. He is very close to first-team level."
Sir Alex Ferguson
And the potential benefits of sending players on loan cannot be mentioned without looking at the positive affect it had on David Beckham early in his career.
"It’s part of their football education," says Sir Alex. "We’ve always done it. I’ve always found that when a player comes back having been out on loan, that they are mentally and physically stronger.
"I don’t think they change as people. They just gain that mental strength of playing at a different level and seeing life at another football club."
A step away from the off-field limelight at Old Trafford is as much an eye-opener as the lessons learned in the physically challenging lower division matches.
"They go to clubs that are maybe not doing that well. It gives them an insight into life away from Old Trafford, because everything is luxury here," adds Ferguson.
"They go to some clubs and they have to wash their own kit, or clean their own boots. That’s good because it gives them a glimpse of the other side of the picture and toughens them up."
Sir Alex admits that he rarely phones the players whilst on loan, but instructs his coaching staff to stay in touch, and receives regular updates from the loan club’s manager.
"It’s usually Ricky Sbragia or Jim Ryan that phones the players to see how they are getting on," he said.
"Some managers will phone me and tell me how the players are doing. Stan Ternent did it when he had players at Burnley. Alan Pardew did it at Reading when he had Luke Chadwick.
"Peter Reid at Coventry phones me now to let me know how Luke Steele and Eddie Johnson are getting on. The managers let me know how the players are progressing
a young prospect will be goin out on loan... hope when he cum back to man utd, his skills will improve and gain even more experience
Ronaldo7
20-12-2004, 09:11 PM
good news . i hope to see more of our youngsters going out on loan soon
cutieboy86
20-12-2004, 09:46 PM
we haf to keep some youngsters in the team oso... still waitin to see rossi live in action
Giggs in contract plea
Ryan Giggs' agent insists the Manchester United veteran is not 'asking for the world' over a new contract to stay at Old Trafford.
The Wales winger is currently in deadlock with the United board over an extension to his present deal which expires in 2006.
Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed the long-serving Giggs has been offered a one-year top-up, in line with the club's contract policy for over-30s.
Ferguson perceives no reason to change this stance simply because Giggs is one of the most heralded players in the club's illustrious history.
But the 31-year-old's representative Harry Swales wants the club to break with tradition and offer Giggs a two-year deal.
Swales is adamant that Giggs is not looking for a king's ransom to prolong his association with The Red Devils, with the in-form winger having passed through the 600 appearances barrier this season.
Bolton Wanderers and Newcastle United have been linked with a bid for the attacker but Swales, and Giggs himself, are not looking to manoeuvre a departure from Old Trafford.
"We are not banging on desks and slamming doors," said Swales.
"We are just waiting for the gentlemen in grey suits to get back in touch with us.
"Ryan isn't asking for any more money and he certainly doesn't want to leave Manchester United. If he had his way, he would stay with them for the rest of his career.
"What he does want is a two-year contract and I don't think he is asking for the world.
"Ryan is fit and dedicated and you can't buy the kind of enthusiasm he has amassed.
"We have got on well with the board at United and long may that continue. But just at the moment, the ball is in their court."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=245388
MatrixFanatic
21-12-2004, 04:57 PM
Giggs deserves it I feel. Just give him the freaking contract. If he leaves, who will take over him? :s22:
Yah he shouldn't go, let him see out his career with us, wtf are our board doing, so stingy only offer 1 -year deal? :s27:
cutieboy86
21-12-2004, 06:40 PM
saw in the newspaper tt man utd say it is a policy tt the club onli offer 1 yr extension to players over 30 in the team... a new policy... tt's y i tink it is causin the prob nw... but i dun tink giggs will leave... cant see him leavin us
cutieboy86
21-12-2004, 08:18 PM
United turn up heat on Glazer
Manchester United last night challenged Malcolm Glazer to lodge an offer in writing, having been informally told that the US tycoon is ready to make a new bid to buy the club. United made public Glazer's latest move to the Stock Exchange but effectively demanded "show us your money" following the latest contact from him last Thursday. Within five minutes of issuing the statement, the takeover panel contacted the club and informed them they were now officially in a "takeover period." This is the third time United have been in this situation since Glazer first set his sights on United.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
usjag_18
22-12-2004, 03:59 PM
what wrong did I say, I even praise Smith , it was United_Treble that slag Smith off, not me. :s11:
RVN, I am sorry, I quoted the wrong paragraph, I am trying to talk about United_Treble, NOT U... paiseh... misunderstanding... sorryyyyyyy
Yellowfin
22-12-2004, 04:05 PM
Gigg contract run-out in 2006. I think he will be 32 by then.
I think Man Utd board are wise in the sense that they offer to extend one more year until he is 33. Nobody can tell what will happen to Giggs when he is at 34, will he be injury prone.
I do wish Giggs finish his career at Man Utd.
Just my 2 peso.
cutieboy86
22-12-2004, 08:11 PM
below is an interview wif wes brown... quoted frm man utd webby:
Brown Focused On A Bright Future
Wes Brown signed a new deal in November and is relishing another four years at United.
Having put pen to paper on a new long-term deal, Wes Brown is now hoping for a chance to bolster United’s four-pronged attack on silverware this season.
You’ve just signed a new four-year deal with United; do you feel more settled now?
"Yes. It’s always great to get it out of the way. I’ve signed now and all parties are happy. I’m just glad I’m going to be here for another four years, so I can show what I can do again."
You’ve played three different positions so far this season; which one do you prefer?
"Well, I’ve always played centre back but I started at right back when I first came into the team and I love playing there as well. It doesn’t really bother me; as long as you’re playing you’re happy. I’ve been in and out this season. And with everyone fit I’m not in the team at the moment. But I have to keep playing and training well. I’ve had my chances and I think I’ve done okay so I’ll just have to keep doing the same thing."
United now seem to be playing with more of a flow. Why do you think that is?
"I just think that we have our rhythm going now. We always knew it was there, we just couldn’t get it going. Now, everyone is gelling; the strikers are scoring, the defenders are not letting any in. We’ve just got to keep it going."
When you came back from injury last year you seemed eager to prove a point to everyone…
"Yes, definitely. That’s what you have to do. When you are coming in to that sort of situation you’ve got to show what you can do."
How did it feel to win your first FA Cup medal?
"It felt great! When we won the Treble I was just in the squad for the Cup and didn’t get on the bench, so to be a part of it, winning one by playing through the games, was a great honour."
And it was your goal-line clearance against Arsenal in the semis that set up the final; what do you remember about that?
"As a defender in a situation like that – where Dennis Bergkamp was through and Roy Carroll wasn’t in his net – my first reaction was just to get on the line. I was in the right place at the right time and managed to get it away."
This season you had to come back from an Achilles injury and a calf strain. You must have thought, “Oh no, not again”… "
You do, but I’m not one to put my head down. It has happened before and I’m not going to let something like that knock me. I’ve had a lot worse. I came in [against Bolton] and it was fine. I had to concentrate hard because it was my first game and I just got back into it. We were lucky to come away with a draw, but for myself it was just good to be back in the team."
How has fitness instructor Valter di Salvo changed the set-up at Old Trafford?
"With Valter it’s a matter of making sure everyone is warmed up and ready, rather than just going straight out there. He looks at stats on each player, on how much running they have done – some people might need extra work to keep their fitness up, some people might need less or they are already doing enough. That’s where Valter comes into it."
Heinze scored on his debut, Gary Neville scored the other week; the defenders seem to be trying to outscore each other, though Rio hasn’t got one yet…
"If we can make it a competition then we’ll score a few more! It’s always good for defenders to score and we should really be scoring more. Rio had another chance the other week but he missed it – so we had a little laugh at that. But hopefully it will happen for him."
It’s great that United have made the semis of the Carling Cup; is the approach any different from that of previous years?
"We have always played the young lads and the gaffer has said that he’ll keep the same team using some of the younger players. I think that’s good – the gaffer doing that gives the younger lads confidence. And it makes them want to win even more. Obviously it’s up to Sir Alex but the young lads would love it if he stuck with the same team and they got the opportunity to show what they can do. You’ve seen how good they are, the likes of Chris Eagles, Kieran Richardson and David Jones. The more games we can all play in the first team the better."
How did it feel to be captain for the Carling Cup game against Crewe?
"It was a great night for myself – and we won as well! Because Phil Neville wasn’t there, I think I was the next most senior player."
How disappointed were you not to make England’s 2004 squad, even though you’d not been back from injury for long…?
"Everyone always says that. I’d only been back in the second half of the season and I didn’t start that well, so I was trying to get my rhythm back. As the season came to an end I was getting better and better as I’d hoped, but I didn’t think for one minute I’d get in the squad. Some of the players had been playing well for the whole season. Obviously I’d have liked to go but that wasn’t the case. To tell you the truth, I don’t really think about it. I just play for United and we’ll see what happens from there, that’s all you can do really."
Do you think United can win the title this year?
"We are always capable of it but we have to be consistent. We have done well in the past four or five weeks so we’ve just got to keep going from there. Arsenal are looking good but I think Chelsea are looking stronger at the moment. I’m not going to say they are a bigger threat but they are currently top of the league. You’ve got to look at it like that, and at the moment we are catching Chelsea. Like I said, we started off badly and have got into a nice little run now, so let’s hope it continues."
Ronaldo7
22-12-2004, 08:34 PM
good player but too injury prone . looks impressive on the right side of defence this season
cutieboy86
22-12-2004, 08:51 PM
yar... actually wes brown is a gd defender but juz tt he is injury prone... sad case... hope he will try to remain injury-free frm nw on and show his true potential
Agent: Carroll will sign
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/england/manutd/carroll_arm.jpg
Roy Carroll is set to commit his future to Manchester United, according to the keeper's agent Francis Martin.
The Northern Ireland international has been keeping goal for United since ousting Tim Howard from the first team, but has reportedly been concerned that Sir Alex Ferguson might be eyeing a new number one and that he currently earns less than Howard.
With Carroll free to leave next summer, a number of clubs have been watching the situation closely.
However, the former Wigan Athletic man has made fresh salary demands to the Old Trafford outfit and Martin is hopeful a deal can be struck.
"We have put a new proposal to the club and now we are waiting for their response," he told The Manchester Evening News.
"It has dragged on a little longer than we'd have hoped, but it has got to be right for all parties.
"He is not asking to be the highest-paid player at the club. He just wants to be on a par with some of the senior players at the club.
"We will reach an agreement.
"Roy is really happy at United and I am sure a solution can be found.
"It will be resolved. Probably after Christmas and New Year, something will be sorted."
The 27-year-old joined United from Wigan for £3 million after previously representing Hull City.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=245703
MatrixFanatic
22-12-2004, 10:17 PM
Who wanna bet that, after Carroll signed liao, Fergie will play Howard? :s13: :s13: :s13:
My friend suggested that to me the other day lol.
JirQUEST
23-12-2004, 12:55 AM
Who wanna bet that, after Carroll signed liao, Fergie will play Howard? :s13: :s13: :s13:
My friend suggested that to me the other day lol.
yeah i got that feeling too :s13:
leslielai_
23-12-2004, 05:05 AM
stick to Carroll, won't go wrong especially when he's gaining confidence the more he plays.
he's more commanding of the back line than Howard and is definitely more consistent.
kahmun7
23-12-2004, 09:50 AM
the problem with Howard I noticed is, he don't have a good grip of the ball. when an attacker shoots, he usually punch the ball away, and if an opponent follow up with the shot, that's it... sigh...
Dear Fergie, Merry Xmas
http://images.thesun.co.uk/picture/0,,2004590845,00.jpg
By BEN KINSELLA
GABRIEL HEINZE has thanked Alex Ferguson for letting him “chill out” in Argentina.
Fergie sent Heinze on a sunshine break to recharge his batteries for the second half of the season.
The Argentine defender, 26, played in the Olympic Games and the Copa America in the summer.
And after returning to a hero’s welcome in his hometown of Crespo near Buenos Aires, he said: “It’s been a hectic year and I really needed to chill a bit.
“The truth is I didn’t expect to be given the holiday and I’m very thankful to the technical staff and to Ferguson in particular.
“I’m so appreciative and I want to make a point of being grateful for the gesture. Ferguson has been marvellous to me ever since I arrived and it’s a pleasure to be coached by him.
“I’ve felt comfortable since my first day. I’ve been given everything I needed to do my job well and treated in a first class way.”
Heinze is now ready to put his fervent Catholic beliefs to one side to play over the Christmas period, starting with the Boxing Day clash against Bolton.
He picked up a special ambassador’s award from Crespo’s local authorities and added: “I’ve made the most of my break, basking in the affection of my family, chatting to friends and having barbecues.
“But I’m a professional and I must turn out for every game the club wants me to — and I’ll play on the 26th without any problems at all."
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004592159,00.html
Ch3tah_39
23-12-2004, 02:36 PM
the problem with Howard I noticed is, he don't have a good grip of the ball. when an attacker shoots, he usually punch the ball away, and if an opponent follow up with the shot, that's it... sigh...
howard problem is handling not gd mahz.. he pretty fast lor i tink
Have never seem Howard play for the first-team again ever since his error against Bolton and Lyon away. Has Fergie lost faith in him?:o
usjag_18
23-12-2004, 03:18 PM
Seriously, I think Carroll is luckier. Howard got the speed, skills but unlucky. Carroll got skills too, but sometimes, I have no idea what he intends to do. He acted so oddly sometimes. The way he handles the ball really makes me feeling confusing.
Rgds,
O'
kahmun7
23-12-2004, 04:16 PM
har har har
another way of looking at it is, when Howard was keeper, Rio is still suspended, when Rio came back , he was already replaced by Caroll...so of course when we have Rio in, our back line is tougher to beat.
usjag_18
23-12-2004, 06:30 PM
har har har
another way of looking at it is, when Howard was keeper, Rio is still suspended, when Rio came back , he was already replaced by Caroll...so of course when we have Rio in, our back line is tougher to beat.
Tat's why I said he (Carroll) is luckier. He has less problems when he took over from Howard. Of course, he got the skills. I am not dening his contributions. But to be fair, Howard really damn suay.
Rgds,
O'
United_Treble
23-12-2004, 08:31 PM
of course muz punch away, if he grab, e ball might slip into e net
cutieboy86
23-12-2004, 09:29 PM
ROY'S KEANE TO STAY ON BEYOND 2006
Roy Keane has declared himself ready to stay on at Manchester United beyond 2006.
The United captain will now look to justify an extension to his contract, which expires in 18 months’ time.
Keane will turn 35 in the summer of 2006, and the hip injury which has blighted his game over recent seasons had led many to believe he would retire upon the expiry of his present deal.
Yet he has sprung back to top form for United of late, and Keane is optimistic that his Old Trafford career, which began after a move from Nottingham Forest in 1993, could still have several years to run.
“I could not be happier at the club and my biggest challenge is to keep going as long as I can,” Keane told the Daily Mail.
“I have another year and a half left and I intend to see that out. If I am still able to play on after that, then I hope it will be at United.
“If I feel as good as this physically in a year’s time, then I will hopefully try to play on.”
Keane recognises that any decision is out of his hands, however his long service could persuade United to reward the skipper with an extension.
“As long as United want me, then I’m happy to stay,” he added.
“I don't like looking too far ahead as things can change quickly.
“But if, please God, I can stay fit and feel strong and doing okay, then it’s possible I could stay.
“I hope that there will be some more highlights to come in my career with this club.”
cutieboy86
23-12-2004, 09:48 PM
Ruud picks van load of talent
Ruud van Nistelrooy has revealed his regret at Manchester United's failure to sign newly-crowned world player of the year Ronaldinho. Van Nistelrooy picks the Brazilian and his Holland team-mate Roy Makaay as the strikers he would most like to play alongside in club football. "He's the most in-form player in Europe," Van Nistelrooy said of Ronaldinho. "Some of the things he does with the ball are amazing. I have to say that all the strikers at United are very different and talented, but I also like playing upfront with Roy Makaay for Holland. He would be very well suited for the Premiership."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express
cutieboy86
23-12-2004, 09:51 PM
Heinze and Ronaldo Return To Festive Action
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that both Gabriel Heinze and Cristiano Ronaldo are in contention for starting places in United's Boxing Day clash with Bolton Wanderers.
The pair were allowed to return to their respective homes for festive breaks, but will now both be available for the Trotters' visit.
Sir Alex broke the news at his pre-game press conference
jujube
23-12-2004, 10:55 PM
their break like abit too short right??
Ronaldo7
23-12-2004, 11:03 PM
but we need the points badly :(
their break like abit too short right??
Becuase we got loads of matches in the coming days, we need all our players available, shame Saha and Ruud are both out injured with lengthy lay-off. :o
Sir Alex Ferguson has revealed that both Gabriel Heinze and Cristiano Ronaldo are in contention for starting places in United's Boxing Day clash with Bolton Wanderers.
The pair were allowed to return to their respective homes for festive breaks, but will now both be available for the Trotters' visit.
"Both Gabby Heinze and Cristiano Ronaldo are back from their breaks," Sir Alex told journalists at his Friday press briefing. "They'll both be added to the squad which will give me more cards to deal with.
"It's a hectic period and like most clubs with strong squads we'll be using ours," added the Boss. "We'll make changes at the right time though. We'll have had an eight-day break [when we play Bolton] since the last game so it's very difficult to make changes straight away. It'll depend on how the lads are who performed last week."
United go into Sunday's festive clash looking to continue in their quest to catch the leading pack of Arsenal, Chelsea and Everton. Aside from the late blip against Fulham, the Reds have picked up 16 points from a possible 18 during the last six Barclays Premiership games.
Sir Alex says he has been delighted with his side's recent performances but insists they cannot afford any more slip-ups.
"There's been a great consistency in our performances, but what we want now is consistency in our results," explains the Boss. "I wouldn't say this time of year is the peak of the season but it's certainly the start of the run-in; I've always looked upon it in that way.
"When you go through December there are sometimes casualties in terms of teams dropping points that they don't expect to drop. What's pleased me so far is that we've hit form at the right time and if we can get through this period up to the FA Cup tie with Exeter, we can then assess where we are and assess where the whole league is. Hopefully we'll be right on the tails of the leaders."
Bolton head to Old Trafford low on confidence, having taken just two points from seven games and failed to register a Premiership victory since 31 October. Nevertheless, Sir Alex is not underestimating a highly experienced Bolton side, who always seem to do well on United's home patch.
"Bolton have had a little hiccup recently but all teams have those," he insists. "Sometimes you can get one or two injuries and it can upset the balance of the team.
"Sides like Bolton rely on a particular way of playing and you need those 11 or 12 players who fit into that model all the time. So that may be a reason for it. But another could simply be because they've hit bad form.
"Sam's done a fantastic job at Bolton," adds the Boss. "And he's done it with meagre resources as opposed to those at the likes of United, Chelsea and Arsenal.
"He's also resurrected a lot of careers. Some people probably thought players like Gary Speed, Fernando Hierro and Ivan Campo were at the end of their playing days. But Sam's given them that extra surge in their careers which has been fantastic and has put Bolton in a very good position."
On the injury front, Sir Alex is expecting to have Louis Saha available around the middle of January, while Ruud van Nistelrooy is continuing with his rehabilitation work on his injured Achilles.
"Ruud's injury is a difficult one to assess but we're giving him the right rehabilitation and we hope to have him back for the AC Milan game [in February].
"I expect Louis Saha to be back around the middle of January - certainly not any later than the end of the month."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=136123&itype=466&icategoryid=122
Ch3tah_39
24-12-2004, 02:01 AM
Becuase we got loads of matches in the coming days, we need all our players available, shame Saha and Ruud are both out injured with lengthy lay-off. :o
saha darn suay lor.. start so little game for us nia.... injured all the way
kahmun7
24-12-2004, 02:35 AM
of course muz punch away, if he grab, e ball might slip into e net
urrh... have you ever heard of catching the ball and holding on to it? what I meant is his grip on the ball not that good... always let the ball slip
United_Treble
24-12-2004, 03:28 AM
urrh... have you ever heard of catching the ball and holding on to it? what I meant is his grip on the ball not that good... always let the ball slip
ya i noe, i said 'MIGHT' onli
jujube
24-12-2004, 03:36 AM
ya i noe, i said 'MIGHT' onli
NOT YOU AGAIN :s7:
United_Treble
24-12-2004, 03:47 AM
NOT YOU AGAIN :s7:YES IT ME, WHAT UP
OKK77
24-12-2004, 09:54 AM
The degree of your retardness.
United_Treble
24-12-2004, 10:06 AM
The degree of your retardness.
dun talk nonsense
OKK77
24-12-2004, 11:11 AM
I'm proud our club can attract even the mentally-disabled.
Theychosenone
24-12-2004, 12:05 PM
I'm proud our club can attract even the mentally-disabled.
I'm thinking, he likes to claim to be a "commando".. :s13:
But since when did CDO take in spastic kids? :s13:
cutter
24-12-2004, 01:10 PM
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_138070.shtml
Latest News
Spector joins Rovers
Thursday December 23 2004
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed promising young defender Jonathan Spector will join Blackburn Rovers on loan for the rest of the season.
The 18-year-old American made his Premiership debut against Rovers in August, but opportunities have been limited since due to the arrival of Gabriel Heinze.
Spector did feature as a second-half substitute during the recent Champions League encounter with Fenerbahce in Istanbul, but Ferguson revealed his intention to let the former Chicago Sockers player further his footballing education away from Old Trafford.
United old boy and current Rovers boss Mark Hughes was quick to express an interest in Spector, who was also called up to the USA national squad for the first time in November.
"Hopefully it will provide Jonathan with the chance to play first team football and he will benefit from that more than he would playing for our reserves," Ferguson told MUTV.
"It is a fantastic move for him and we are sure he will come back a far better player. We feel Jonathan has an outstanding chance of becoming a first team player with Manchester United and this move will allow him to accelerate that development."
wah best of luck to Spector... hope he gains valuable experience... he may be facing Utd later in the season when Blackburn visit OT... SAF helping out Sparky as well, they certainly need proper defenders :D
kahmun7
24-12-2004, 01:15 PM
hmm joining Rovers is better than joining some lower division clubs. In Rover at least he got Sparky to help nurture him, and he'll be playing premiership football. that is good experience. hope Rovers field him as often as possible. :)
Ronaldo7
24-12-2004, 04:10 PM
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1379431,00.html
ruud set to be rule out until march :(
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1379431,00.html
ruud set to be rule out until march :(
yet there isn't quotes saying it will be 10 weeks??Fergie said yesterday was looking towards 6-8 weeks not 10, I hope this is bull****. But its still a bitter blow to be without Ruud. :s27:
MatrixFanatic
24-12-2004, 07:12 PM
I saw CNA today and they say 8 weeks :s11:
United order starlet to Sporting
Manchester United have instructed Sao Paulo to release Brazilian starlet Rincon a year early - so he can join Sporting Lisbon next season.
The young defender has progressed better than expected over the past 12 months and is now the captain of Brazil's Under-17 side.
United signed Rincon, full name Carlos Eduardo Castro Lourenco, in 2003 and immediately agreed to loan him back for two years - before a move to Sporting.
The deal was struck as United brokered their partnership with Sao Paulo - similar to the one they already have with a host of clubs around the world including Sporting and Royal Antwerp.
United are now cancelling the last year of Rincon's stay at Sao Paulo, so he can begin next season at the Jose Alvalade.
Sporting have already been informed and they are understood to be more than happy to have a player who is now emerging as a real talent.
The 17-year-old was due to stay at Sporting for two years from 2006 - but now it looks as if he could have an extended stay in Portugal.
Rincon is contracted to United until 2010, after signing a five-year deal with an option for another two and the English giants hope he will be ready for Old Trafford after his stint at Sporting - which should finish in 2008.
United's Academy chief Les Kershaw confirmed that they had moved to get Rincon to Sporting early.
"It is best to give him the push in his career," Kershaw told Portuguese paper Record.
Kershaw revealed that the deal set up by United could be the first of many deals.
"He is the first of many young Brazilians who can be moved in this new partnership between the three clubs."
Meanwhile, young American striker Kenny Cooper is heading back to Old Trafford after an ill-fated loan move to Portuguese outfit Academica.
United are reportedly annoyed at the lack of first team action Cooper has been seeing.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=246170
usjag_18
25-12-2004, 02:44 AM
I hope all of yOu will have a Merry X'mas and all our players will recover from their injuries ASAP!
MERRY X'MAS EVERYONE, including United_Treble though U tok a lot of things tat I cannot understand or most people cannot understand.
Merry X'mas to every United fans here on board and a Happy New Year. Hope 2005 be a successful year for United. :D
Hope the likes of Saha and Ruud return to action soon. :)
http://www.dnahelix.com/santa/santa_design_santa.gif
OKK77
25-12-2004, 10:46 AM
Happy holidays. (-;
cutieboy86
25-12-2004, 10:54 AM
Merry Xmas to everyone
Ch3tah_39
25-12-2004, 11:29 AM
Merry Christmas Ppl!! :d
guoquanyap
25-12-2004, 11:49 AM
merry christmas!
United_Treble
25-12-2004, 12:00 PM
merry x mas
Merry X,Mas and HO.. HO.. HO.. HO...HOPE Man Utd go on a winning run.
Ronaldo7
25-12-2004, 01:08 PM
I saw CNA today and they say 8 weeks :s11:
should be somewhere around there :(
merry xmas to all fellow red devils here :)
bolton is next :evil:
weicheng
25-12-2004, 02:01 PM
Now, I said he would be out for 10 weeks. Nobody believed me :(
blackevil_2000
25-12-2004, 04:12 PM
merry xmas n the manU will win the epl!!!!!!!!
United_Treble
25-12-2004, 07:46 PM
merry xmas n the manU will win the epl!!!!!!!!
not logical
cutieboy86
25-12-2004, 08:35 PM
not logical
juz stop ur crappin tok and haf confidence in our team... a new yr has arrive and we hope u can start to tok more logical and stop ur crap
cutieboy86
25-12-2004, 08:36 PM
Neville: Milan Tie Will Hinge On February's Form
Gary Neville insists that form will be the crucial factor when United meet Italian giants AC Milan in their Champions League second-round tie.
The atmosphere among Reds fans is, by turns, apprehensive and giddy ahead of the high-profile tie, but United's right-back reckons such emotions should be shelved until nearer the time.
Neville told the Manchester Evening News: "People were asking who do you want in the draw before it was made? But teams who are the in-form sides now, who you might have hoped to avoid, may not be the in-form teams in February and March.
"This time a year ago, everyone was rubbing their hands because we'd got Porto. They thought it was a nice little draw for us.
"But come February when we played them, they were on a fantastic run. They were in the form of their lives and, of course, went on to beat us and eventually win the trophy.
"You wouldn't really have thought that 12 months ago when the last-16 draw was made.
"AC Milan are in fantastic form at this moment, but they could lose four or five players through injury or suspensions. You just never know what is going to happen.
"Until February comes and you know who is in form or who is struggling in their league and has a battle on their hands. Until then, you don't know what is a good or bad draw and you can't even think about European Cup favourites."
Report by Steve Bartram.
Ronaldo7
25-12-2004, 10:22 PM
should be an excellent european night at old trafford . can't wait liao :D
United_Treble
25-12-2004, 10:33 PM
juz stop ur crappin tok and haf confidence in our team... a new yr has arrive and we hope u can start to tok more logical and stop ur crap
i understand, now che 43 mu 34, 9 pts diff, if he say mu can close up e gap or hope mu keep winning i still can believe, but he straightaway said win epl, so soon, i oso hope they can win what
Preview: Manchester United v Bolton
MANCHESTER United welcome Cristiano Ronaldo and Gabriel Heinze back into their side for the Boxing Day clash with Bolton Wanderers.
Both players were given a break for the 5-2 hammering of Crystal Palace, but return to boost the Reds for the crucial festive programme.
And Bolton have reason to fear both men as Heinze, set to earn an instant recall at left-back in place of hamstring injury victim Quinton Fortune, scored for the visitors in a 2-2 draw at the Reebok in September.
Ronaldo produced a devastating debut performance against the Trotters at Old Trafford last season, coming off the bench to ravage a tired Bolton defence in United's comprehensive 4-0 win.
"He was fantastic that day," said boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
"The boy has done exceptionally well for us and will hopefully have benefited from the break."
Ronaldo could be on the bench again given his team produced their best attacking performance of the season against Palace.
It clearly will not be long before the Portuguese teenager is required though as United head into the busiest period of the campaign.
"It is a hectic period, so you would expect most teams with strong squads to use them," said Ferguson.
"But we will have had an eight-day break by the time we get to Sunday, so there is no need to make changes just yet."
The striking burden will fall on the young shoulders of Wayne Rooney and Alan Smith, and Ferguson will be praying neither of those two sustain an injury.
Ruud van Nistelrooy could be out for up to eight weeks with an Achilles problem, while Louis Saha (knee) is likely to be sidelined until the middle of January. Kleberson (ankle) will miss the Bolton game.
For Bolton, El Hadji Diouf is available after a three-match suspension imposed for spitting at Portsmouth's Arjan De Zeeuw.
Defender nicky Hunt also returns after a ban, but Radhi Jaidi is doubtful with a hamstring strain as Bolton aim to protect their league head-to-head record against the Reds.
In their previous meetings Bolton have won 40, lost 39 and drawn 10 against the Reds.
Manchester United (possible): Carroll, G Neville, Heinze, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Keane, Fletcher, Scholes, Giggs, Rooney, Smith.
Bolton (possible): Jaaskelainen, N'Gotty, Jaidi, Hierro, Hunt, Campo, Okocha, Nolan, Speed, Diouf, Davies.
United v Bolton - The stats
Latest form:
United: W D L W W
Bolton: D L L L L
Head to head
Sep 11 2004, Bolton 2 United 2
Jan 7 2004, Bolton 1 United 2
Aug 16 2003, United 4 Bolton 0
Feb 22 2003, Bolton 1 United 1
Sep 11 2002 United 0 Bolton 1
Top scorers
United: Van Nistelrooy 12, Smith 9, Rooney 7, Scholes 6
Bolton: Pedersen 8, Davies 6, Okocha 5, Jaidi 4
Key opponent
Jay-Jay Okocha: The kind of game that may inspire Okocha to find his form again.
Referee
Dermot Gallagher: No problems handling this fixture at the Reebok in January.
prediction: United 3 Bolton 0
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/141/141221_preview_manchester_united_v_bolton.html
leo_llw
25-12-2004, 11:34 PM
With Bolton having a D L L L L run, it's hard to envisioned United losing but i suspect it to be a draw :s7:
kahmun7
26-12-2004, 12:18 AM
i understand, now che 43 mu 34, 9 pts diff, if he say mu can close up e gap or hope mu keep winning i still can believe, but he straightaway said win epl, so soon, i oso hope they can win what
you straight away say it's not logical is also not logical what...
it's tough, but it is possible, and as long as it's possible, we should have believe and faith in our team.
United_Treble
26-12-2004, 03:44 AM
I hope all of yOu will have a Merry X'mas and all our players will recover from their injuries ASAP!
MERRY X'MAS EVERYONE, including United_Treble though U tok a lot of things tat I cannot understand or most people cannot understand.
thanks veri much, i feel like kissing u, when times passed u will auto understand my talking
JirQUEST
26-12-2004, 06:25 AM
thanks veri much, i feel like kissing u, when times passed u will auto understand my talking
if u piss off, i will understand everything :)
Ronaldo7
26-12-2004, 04:48 PM
http://www.tribalfootball.com/december/spanishnews2261204.html
we make a bid for joaquin according to AS as stated in the above link. not sure how true it is :s22: :s22:
mOOnfish
26-12-2004, 05:24 PM
god~!! we going to face the crucial xmas period without ruud, worried~ :eek:
blackevil_2000
26-12-2004, 05:54 PM
wow later heng heng che LLLL than ManU WWWW wow then man u will then overtake che
ragnarok95
26-12-2004, 06:47 PM
even without ruud...there is still our all-england strike force of rooney and smith
Wayne Rooney - Still a boy at heart
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/2004/12/26/sfnfat26.jpg
Head the ball: Wayne Rooney
By Simon Hart (Filed: 26/12/2004)
The first thing that strikes you when you come face to face with Wayne Rooney is how improbably young he looks. And sounds. On the pitch, it is easy to forget that the player who bulldozed defences in Portugal, bamboozled Zinedine Zidane and announced his arrival at Manchester United with a Champions League hat-trick has only recently turned 19. But take away his footballing stage and the precocity that has transformed him from a talented youth into a national icon quickly evaporates. "So what are you hoping to receive for Christmas?" I ask. "A BMX bike," he replies, quick as a flash. "I'm only messing," he laughs, but one cannot escape the thought that, were it not for the gold dust in his boots, he would probably still be performing wheelies on the streets of Croxteth.
After a year when his reputation and his bank balance were swollen by a string of displays that elevated him beyond David Beckham as the talisman of English football, Rooney's preferred mode of transport is now a Cadillac Escalade, though beneath the trappings of fame lurks a shy and remarkably ordinary teenager. When he talks about his life on and off the pitch, he repeatedly refers to himself as 'you' rather than 'I'. The egotism that stalks professional football is something that is still apparently alien to him.
"At home I'm still the same person but obviously you've had to change some of the things you do and grow up a bit faster than a normal 19-year-old would, but I think it is a change for the better. Obviously, sometimes it's difficult when you go out somewhere with your girlfriend and there are people watching and taking photographs. But, having said that, I wouldn't swap my job for anything."
The photographs are a sore point. Last week, having been given a few days off by Sir Alex Ferguson before the Christmas football programme, he treated his fiancée, Coleen McLoughlin, to a night in a luxury Parisian hotel and a spot of shopping and sightseeing. The couple were unaware that they were being followed by a photographer working for a national newspaper, who published the pictures under the headline Blingtime in Paris.
Rooney accepts such intrusions with a shrug. "You don't want people following you around but if it happens, it happens," he says. "I didn't see the people taking the pictures, so they're obviously sneaking around, but there's nothing I can do about it. You have got to get on with life and accept that you will be followed around and people will take pictures. You can't let it affect you."
Rooney's agent, Paul Stretford, is rather more strident about the invasion of the couple's privacy. He is particularly irritated by the repeated demonisation of McLoughlin as a shopaholic with expensive tastes.
"The thing is that Wayne has the opportunity to answer back when he walks on to a football pitch and is hero-worshipped by 60,000 fans, but Coleen does not have that opportunity," he says. "The tabloids seem determined to turn Wayne and Coleen into the new Posh and Becks, but the difference is that Posh was already in the entertainment business so she needed and courted publicity whereas Coleen is just a very nice girl who happens to be Wayne's girlfriend. Sometimes the coverage can be very unfair."
For Rooney, the business of dealing with the media is now a by-product of the commercial deals negotiated by Stretford that will add further riches to the £22-million, six-year contract he has signed at Old Trafford. One of them is a tie-up with Pringles crisps and last week, after fulfilling his interview obligation, he could be found training with nine young competition winners in a Manchester sports hall. As someone who admits he is "most at home on the pitch", this was the easy part of his afternoon assignment. While he chatted to the youngsters, one of whom was only three years younger than himself, a ball never strayed more than a few inches from his feet.
Although his life is now unrecognisable from his early days on Merseyside, Rooney is determined not to let his celebrity go to his head. That was the advice Steven Gerrard gave him when the pair became friends during Euro 2004, and the same message has come from other colleagues in the England and Manchester United dressing rooms.
"All the players try and help you and give you bits of advice when they can and the advice they've given me I've taken on board," he says. "They told me to keep my feet on the ground and just don't be doing stupid things.
"There's always a chance there's going to be a photographer around, plus there are lots of young people who look up to footballers, so I think you've always got to watch what you're doing for their sake as well as yours because if they see you doing something bad then they are going to think it is okay for them to do it as well."
The friendships he formed on the playing fields of Portugal have also helped ease the £27-million move from Goodison Park to Old Trafford, which began so spectacularly with his stunning hat-trick against Fenerbahce in September.
"I have been close to all the England players really since I came to United," he says. "It was good to see familiar faces already here in the dressing room and they helped me settle in. I knew six or seven players already so that made it easy to settle down. If I needed anything or needed to ask a question, then I could always turn to them and they could help me along.
"Walking in on my first day, there actually weren't many players around. I think the day I came there was only Wes Brown, Ruud van Nistelrooy and John O'Shea, who were injured. I met them first so it wasn't as if I walked in when everyone was there. Everyone came in after that in dribs and drabs and they all welcomed me to the club, and that made me feel at home."
Rooney also pays tribute to the role of Ferguson and Sven-Goran Eriksson in helping to shape his fledgling career. It is surely no coincidence that he has picked up just four bookings while wearing an England or a United shirt, despite his hot-headed display against Spain last month, compared to the 20 yellow cards and one dismissal he received during his two seasons in the Everton first team.
"I think they're both different people and both different managers," he says. "Sven is a calm manager and doesn't really say a lot. The boss [Alex Ferguson] is tough and lets you know when he thinks you're doing things wrong, but he also lets you know when you are doing things right as well, which is good. They're both very different but they are both among the top coaches in the world and you can only learn from them.
"The boss has been really great with me. He is always talking to me before and after games, telling me how he thinks I have played. He has been different to what I thought he might be, but he's been brilliant since I signed. He always backs his players through everything and that makes him a great manager. All the players here respect him and I don't think that will ever change."
While his performances in Portugal and the day he signed for United remain his most memorable moments of 2004, his experiences at United's training ground in Carrington have also made a deep impression.
"At United I think the best part has been playing and training with all these great players," he says. "I learn a lot every day in training and it's brilliant to be surrounded by so many experienced players.
"Roy Keane makes sure training is a serious affair. If you make a mistake, even in training, he's always on at you, telling you to concentrate and trying to keep you from making mistakes. It's proper training, believe me. You have to do the best you can and put your tackles in because everyone wants to win, even in a training game.
"I think [Cristiano] Ronaldo and [Ryan] Giggs are the two players who have surprised me most with their skill. I'd seen them on TV before I came to the club and seen some of the skills they do in the games, but when you see them doing it during training all the time and practising it, it's amazing how they do it. Their feet are so quick."
Rooney believes their influence can only improve his own game, and he has already taken a leaf out of their book by staying behind after training to hone his skills.
"I think you are always looking to develop all areas of your game," he says. "A lot of the players at United stay out after training and concentrate on finishing with their left and right feet and practising their heading. They work at things and try to get better. I just like striking the ball and shooting. Once a ball is there it's difficult to get me off it and get me back into the changing room."
This time next year he hopes he will have earned his first silverware – "a Premiership, FA Cup or Champions League medal, any of those" – and that England will be playing the kind of football that will make them one of the favourites for the 2006 World Cup. "If we get there, we will have a good chance of winning it," he insists.
But what of the immediate future? A BMX apart, is there really anything that he really wants for Christmas? Rooney screws up his face in thought but is unable to come up with an answer. "Three points against Bolton?" Stretford suggests. "Yeah, that'll do," says Rooney. For the boy who has everything, it is not too much to ask.
cracker
26-12-2004, 10:51 PM
with chelsea and arsenal getting max pt from their boxing game fixture..Utd will need the win !!
Javier07
26-12-2004, 11:51 PM
i thought its a very good performance in the middle by fletcher.. good distribution and surging runs into the box!
that ben haim guy can go kiss the grd more often.. falling to grd so theatrically.
Saw this pic from redcafe.
http://img69.exs.cx/img69/80/rooneyhaimlol1uo.gif
That diver Ben Haim can win an oscar, fell down as if he been shot. :s22:
But really dumb move by Rooney to push his arm across his face, the fa could give him a 3-match ban for that, not what we want. When will Rooney keep his cool? :frus:
We be down to Alan Smith as our lone striker if that happen. :s27:
Raul7
27-12-2004, 07:30 AM
But really dumb move by Rooney to push his arm across his face, the fa could give him a 3-match ban for that, not what we want. When will Rooney keep his cool? :frus:
haha..that stupid Ben Haim is another Rivaldo... somemore bring down Giggs in the penalty box..arghhhh
chengsun
27-12-2004, 08:58 AM
i got a feeling, the FA will review the match thru tape, n come back to us again, everytime like dat
vivre
27-12-2004, 10:08 AM
that ben haim guy can go kiss the grd more often.. falling to grd so theatrically.
But the way he runs when he dribbles the ball....urm... not very steady looking leh..
United_Treble
27-12-2004, 10:32 AM
But the way he runs when he dribbles the ball....urm... not very steady looking leh..
ronney agressive attitude haven changed, how can he push other players down
kahmun7
27-12-2004, 10:36 AM
was so worried everytime Nolan got the ball, he have a habit of scoring against Man Utd, glad we won in the end. Class performance by Giggs, he should have scored that one on one against Jaaskalainen, but still a superb performance by the welsh wizard.
United_Treble
27-12-2004, 11:07 AM
was so worried everytime Nolan got the ball, he have a habit of scoring against Man Utd, glad we won in the end. Class performance by Giggs, he should have scored that one on one against Jaaskalainen, but still a superb performance by the welsh wizard.
dun forget scholes he currently scored every match
i got a feeling, the FA will review the match thru tape, n come back to us again, everytime like dat
They will, just like they did with Ruud, bloody ****. :mad:
kahmun7
27-12-2004, 12:16 PM
They will, just like they did with Ruud, bloody ****. :mad:
sigh... another striker down, think have to push Scholesy up again.
United_Treble
27-12-2004, 12:21 PM
sigh... another striker down, think have to push Scholesy up again.
4-4-2
carroll, ferdinand, silvestre, o shea, heinze, keane, ronaldo, smith (mid field better), giggs, scholes, bellion (hes gd)
fletcher need rest
Ch3tah_39
27-12-2004, 12:37 PM
That diver Ben Haim can win an oscar, fell down as if he been shot.
But really dumb move by Rooney to push his arm across his face, the fa could give him a 3-match ban for that, not what we want. When will Rooney keep his cool?
We be down to Alan Smith as our lone striker if that happen.
hiya... alamak wat a stupid move by looney sial la :s27: ... the guy ben haim is really supeb actor lor.. :s8:
How ridiculous, that with Ruud and Saha out, Rooney should do that and risk making himself unavailable at such a busy time of year.
I am sick of it. This is unnecessary and totally unwanted problem for us. :s27:
Ronaldo7
27-12-2004, 12:48 PM
sian . rooney really should learn how to control his temper and not get frustrated easily . he gots the potential to become one of the best in the world , but not with this kind of attitude . now it's up to fergie to get him back on the right track again
blackevil_2000
27-12-2004, 05:00 PM
shld not have buy wayne... use the money get steve or another midfielder
kahmun7
27-12-2004, 05:09 PM
who steve? gerrard? he wouldn't come... he would have chose Real and Chelsea over Man Utd.
forget it mate, we got Rooney, we'll work with Rooney, no point discussing about players we don't have.
It's not like Sir Fergie has not handled this kind of players before, Cantona, Hughes, even Keano. he'll get him back in the right track.
cutieboy86
27-12-2004, 06:01 PM
Carlos is the boss
Carlos Queiroz is set to become Manchester United's next manager. The biggest question in football has always been who will replace Sir Alex Ferguson after his historic 18 years at Old Trafford and an amazing 17 major trophies. And it's now become clear that Queiroz - Fergie's 51-year-old No.2 for the second time in his career - will be handed one of the hottest jobs in soccer to keep the golden bandwagon rolling.
Steve Millar, Daily Star on Sunday
Raul7
27-12-2004, 07:00 PM
Well..have a feeling that Man Utd will going to be unbeaten all the way till end of season. :)
United_Treble
27-12-2004, 07:18 PM
Well..have a feeling that Man Utd will going to be unbeaten all the way till end of season. :)even r madrid fan oso support us
cutieboy86
27-12-2004, 07:40 PM
Well..have a feeling that Man Utd will going to be unbeaten all the way till end of season. :)
let's hope tis will cum true... our wish for the new yr
Raul7
27-12-2004, 07:44 PM
yeah..in EPL i like Great Manchester United... There can be only 1 utd...hahahaha..used to be Man U fan but after Sir Alex sold off Stam to Lazio...stop supporting it liao..haiz..jaap stam...:(
pls dun flame me.... :)
Raul7
27-12-2004, 07:50 PM
even r madrid fan oso support us
yeah..although no longer a 100% Man Utd fan but still like them to win win win.....Even when Man Utd meet Real Madrid in Chamipions League..still the same old saying; may the best team win.. :)
Ronaldo7
27-12-2004, 08:30 PM
Carlos is the boss
Carlos Queiroz is set to become Manchester United's next manager. The biggest question in football has always been who will replace Sir Alex Ferguson after his historic 18 years at Old Trafford and an amazing 17 major trophies. And it's now become clear that Queiroz - Fergie's 51-year-old No.2 for the second time in his career - will be handed one of the hottest jobs in soccer to keep the golden bandwagon rolling.
Steve Millar, Daily Star on Sunday
with keano/cantona as assistant ? :o
LOL don't say that, we got lots of tough matches coming up. :look:
Raul7
27-12-2004, 08:32 PM
LOL don't say that, we got lots of tough matches coming up. :look:
Relax man..Utd Fans must have faith in them. must support them all the way even though they are going thru a rough patch...if not is not consider a 100% Man Utd fans :)
United_Treble
27-12-2004, 08:34 PM
Relax man..Utd Fans must have faith in them. must support them all the way even though they are going thru a rough patch...if not is not consider a 100% Man Utd fans :)
i 101% mu fan but i still dun dare to say mu will win all e way
Raul7
27-12-2004, 08:37 PM
i 101% mu fan but i still dun dare to say mu will win all e way
ok then,i take back abit of my words. all the best to Man Utd :) wanna see them crown Champions of EPL :)
cutieboy86
27-12-2004, 08:50 PM
GIGGS: MY FORM IS DOWN TO BREAK
Ryan Giggs believes Sir Alex Ferguson's decision to rest him at the beginning of November is the major reason for his current stunning run of form.
The 31-year-old sat out the Barclays Premiership encounters with Manchester City and Newcastle United, plus the Champions League victory over Sparta Prague at Old Trafford, leading some to question his Red Devils' future.
Those doubts are still there, but purely because of Giggs' failure to agree a new contract extension. Any lingering doubts over his influence on Ferguson's newly-constructed United side have been dispelled by a succession of superb performances.
Bolton Wanderers felt the full impact of Giggs' force as he netted the acrobatic ninth-minute volley that enabled United to maintain their pursuit of table-toppers Chelsea with a 2-0 win.
And, as Ferguson's side head towards testing trips to Aston Villa and Middlesbrough over the next six days, Giggs acknowledged the Scot's contribution to his well being.
"The manager rested me about six weeks ago and I am really feeling the benefit now,'' he said.
"I feel really good and my confidence is high, so hopefully I can carry on playing like this for quite a long time.
"It's not just me either. The form of the whole team is good just now and that rubs off on everyone.
"We have some tough games coming up over the next few days but we are confident of going anywhere and getting a result that could move us that bit closer to Chelsea.
"They haven't slipped up yet but if they do, we need to be in a position to take advantage.''
nw we noe the reason y giggs didnt play for tt few matches le... the reason is for him to take a break like heinz and ronaldo... indeed it has proven well again
We are so bloody unlucky with all the injuries and now flu bug plus Rooney facing a possible ban, seem like we have to do things the hard way. :o
Flu bug rules out duo
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has ruled Gary Neville and Eric Djemba-Djemba out of Tuesday's trip to Aston Villa.
Neither player has shaken off the flu bug that saw them sent home prior to the Boxing Day home win over Bolton, leaving Ferguson to select from the same squad that recorded a sixth win in seven Premiership outings.
Changes to the starting line-up are likely though, with Paul Scholes set to return following his substitute appearance, probably at the expense of either Darren Fletcher or Cristiano Ronaldo.
Manchester United (from): Carroll, Howard, O'Shea, Heinze, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Bellion, Keane, Ronaldo, Scholes, Fletcher, Miller, Giggs, Rooney, Smith, Richardson.
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_231958,00.html
Raul7
27-12-2004, 09:17 PM
sibei suay man.... :s27:
cutieboy86
27-12-2004, 09:41 PM
tis season we are quite unlucky... so many injuries, flu bugs etc
blackevil_2000
27-12-2004, 09:46 PM
who steve? gerrard? he wouldn't come... he would have chose Real and Chelsea over Man Utd.
forget it mate, we got Rooney, we'll work with Rooney, no point discussing about players we don't have.
It's not like Sir Fergie has not handled this kind of players before, Cantona, Hughes, even Keano. he'll get him back in the right track.
but after keano go liao.... then now they no money n SAF going soon dunnoe the new manger can handle like this...hu r going to replace keano?work on what he hav?i think is veri hard
blackevil_2000
27-12-2004, 10:21 PM
tis season we are quite unlucky... so many injuries, flu bugs etc
sianz y manu got this kinda of this thing arsenal hav this kinda of thing chelsea dun hav! not fair
Ch3tah_39
28-12-2004, 01:30 AM
agreeeeddddd :D
kahmun7
28-12-2004, 10:24 AM
but after keano go liao.... then now they no money n SAF going soon dunnoe the new manger can handle like this...hu r going to replace keano?work on what he hav?i think is veri hard
Liam Miller.... and I think he have the potential too. even Smithy, combative, high workrate, can play as a midfield, have a little of Keano like qualities in him don't you think? Let's not forget, how Sir Fergie managed to build a top class team from our youth ranks. the likes of Giggsy, Scholesy, Becks and Buttsy(which I have to say would have been a perfect replacement for Keano, sad that he can't wait), all came from our youth academy. Give some credit to Queroz, he has an excellent record with youths. And if you pay attention to our youth squad now, you'll notice there's lots of them just waiting to break into the first team. Last year we have O' Shea, this year we have Fletcher.
blackevil_2000
28-12-2004, 06:37 PM
Liam Miller.... and I think he have the potential too. even Smithy, combative, high workrate, can play as a midfield, have a little of Keano like qualities in him don't you think? Let's not forget, how Sir Fergie managed to build a top class team from our youth ranks. the likes of Giggsy, Scholesy, Becks and Buttsy(which I have to say would have been a perfect replacement for Keano, sad that he can't wait), all came from our youth academy. Give some credit to Queroz, he has an excellent record with youths. And if you pay attention to our youth squad now, you'll notice there's lots of them just waiting to break into the first team. Last year we have O' Shea, this year we have Fletcher.
ok hu do u think will replace keano?smithy or liam miller or any1
I think there be a lot of people here that will disagree with Fergie shielding Rooney in public. :s8:
Fergie jump into defence of Rooney
Sir Alex Ferguson exploded into a rage yesterday when asked whether his Manchester United and England striker Wayne Rooney should expect a Football Association inquiry into his Boxing Day clash with Bolton Wanderers defender Tal Ben Haim.
The United manager banged the desk at his club's Carrington training ground and shouted abuse at his questioners when the issue of Rooney was raised as part of a media briefing for tonight's Premiership match at Aston Villa.
Reporters' tape recorders were knocked to the ground as Ferguson went ballistic in defence of his teenage player, who may anyway have escaped a three-match suspension. The failure of Alan Wiley, the fourth official at Sunday's Old Trafford fixture, to bring the matter to the attention of referee Dermot
Gallagher indicates that he did not feel the offence was serious enough to be punished.
If that message is conveyed to the FA when they re-open for business tomorrow after their Christmas break, then no action will be taken against Rooney. If, however, the authorities decide an offence of violent conduct was committed, a three-match ban is likely to imposed from New Year's Day.
An irate Ferguson insisted that Rooney, shown on television pushing his hand into the face of Ben Haim, who fell in feigned agony, "had done nothing that deserved going up before the FA". He argued that Ben Haim should be the one taken to task for the way he reacted to the confrontation – action that has been criticised by Bolton manager Sam Allardyce and experienced team-mate Gary Speed, both of whom observed that he "went down too easily".
Ferguson maintained that it was his respect for the way Allardyce runs Bolton's affairs that made him tone down his attack on the Israeli defender. Privately, however, he is seething, and took out his frustrations on astonished football writers.
He described Ben Haim as "a disgrace" and complained that not enough is done to rid the game of players who deliberately strive to get opponents sent off.
"Because it's Wayne Rooney and Manchester United there tends to be more of a focus, but the biggest concern is what the other player did," said Ferguson.
"He went down on the ground for two minutes. He should be the one going up before the FA, not Rooney. It's a disgrace. He [Ben Haim] should be on a disrepute charge for rolling about in agony when all Rooney did was that [he gestured an open-palmed pushing movement]. Did he [Rooney] punch him? Of course he didn't. Wayne Rooney is only 19 – what do you want... blood?"
Ferguson's behaviour might have stemmed from the fact that he already has two of his four strikers – Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha – unavailable through injury and that the loss of a third at a time when United are desperately trying to revive their title challenge could have a serious impact on results.
However, fourth official Wiley may come to his rescue. He is understood to have told Bolton assistant manager Phil Brown during the half-time interval that he witnessed the incident, which followed a heavy challenge by Ben Haim on Rooney, but dismissed it as "nothing".
The key now is whether Wiley makes those observations official in his report. If he declares that he did not deem the incident worthy of reporting to Gallagher, the matter would effectively have been dealt with by the match officials at the time, and no further action could be taken against Rooney.
If, however, Wiley's official verdict is that he did not see the incident then the FA can study the video evidence, which would probably condemn Rooney under the new fast-track disciplinary system.
http://sport.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2004/12/28/sfnfro28.xml&sSheet=/sport/2004/12/28/ixfooty.html
Raul7
28-12-2004, 07:22 PM
yeah..utd youth quite good man.... :)
Ronaldo7
28-12-2004, 08:25 PM
villa vs man utd
live on channel 24 , 355am tomorrow :evil:
Javier07
28-12-2004, 09:55 PM
just to share some of my favourite United links with everyone here.
Though i think they might have been mentioned in this gigantic 1064 page archive or some of you dudes have already been visiting them regularly.
My fav link
The only link you will need for EVERYTHING-Manchester United
this is the first link i click every morning when i wake up.
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/newsfeed/?name=Manchester+United
Another worthy mention..
United Rant
I like their comments and the nicknames they give to footballers. Quite funny
http://www.unitedrant.co.uk/
of course.. great links would include thesun, sky sports with opta analysis and planetfootball. All these are nicely indexed with newsnow :D
Enjoy.. Fellow United supporters! :)
Best regards,
Jav
Raul7
28-12-2004, 10:07 PM
villa vs man utd
live on channel 24 , 355am tomorrow :evil:
Utd all the way......... :)
cutieboy86
28-12-2004, 11:31 PM
FERGIE: COLD CAN'T TEMPER RED-HOT SCHOLES
After confounding his manager’s belief that he was not fit enough to be involved by netting his seventh goal in as many games, Paul Scholes has received the praise of Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson ahead of the trip to Aston Villa.
The former England midfielder should return to the starting line-up, with either Cristiano Ronaldo or Darren Fletcher standing down from he team which defeated Bolton Wanderers 2-0 on Boxing Day.
Along with fellow old stagers Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane, Scholes has been one of the key figures in United’s recent resurgence and Ferguson admits he could not be playing much better than he is right now.
“Paul is red hot at the moment,” said the Scot.
“He didn’t train all week prior to Christmas Day and even though he said he felt okay, he didn’t look it.
“We couldn’t afford to risk him, so we felt the best thing to do was put him on the bench but he still came up with the goal that settled the match.
“His form over recent weeks has been great and, because he contracted the bug a little bit earlier than the others, I expect him to be okay to face Villa.”
Ferguson used the pre-match build-up to watch TV coverage of Villa’s narrow defeat at Chelsea and was suitably impressed by David O’Leary’s men.
However, Ferguson will believe his team can record yet another win on a ground where they emerged victorious on three separate occasions last term, including their momentous FA Cup semi-final win over Arsenal.
And this will be fueled by the knowledge that Villa have mustered just one point from their last five Barclays Premiership outings and have seen defender Mark Delaney added to an extensive injury list.
“Villa Park has been a good ground for us over the years, although our games down there are always tight affairs and we never have many big scorelines,” said Ferguson.
“But we are on a run of really consistent results just now and we have to try to keep it going.
“What happens to the teams above us is out of our control. All we can do is win our games and hope the teams above us start dropping points.”
Ferguson has ruled Gary Neville and Eric Djemba-Djemba out with the flu bug that saw them sent home prior to Sunday’s home win, leaving Ferguson to select from the same squad that recorded a sixth win in seven Barclays Premiership outings.
stipe
29-12-2004, 06:05 AM
good game for utd to get 2 wins in the busy period. everton finally had a hiccup and for once the results are in utd's favour which saw them move up to 3rd place, keeping the pressure on arsenal who will meet up with newcastle.
my take on the villa game ->
smith had a good game, hold up the ball well when he had to and was chasing for possession when the ball was lost, but my words that he was not an out and out striker showed when he lifted the ball onto the bar from 3 metres out in extra time
fletcher was way terrible in the game. looked lost (as usual) and did not bother to put in a few decent tackles. i think he will follow the path of luke chadwick... out of utd... :)
once again, heinze was solid in the left :)
fletcher was way terrible in the game. looked lost (as usual) and did not bother to put in a few decent tackles. i think he will follow the path of luke chadwick... out of utd... :)
He was muscled off the ball a lot today.
He needs to toughen up his body. I think he is too lightweight and thus got brushed off too easily by opponent.
Cristiano Ronaldo played well, looked fresh, kept the ball in one corner of the pitch whilst giving Giggs a breather when he came on. Man of the match went to Giggsy, hopefully he can put the same performance against Middlesbrough, a team I'm never confident about facing especially at the Riverside, they are a bogie team. :o
cracker
29-12-2004, 06:46 AM
fergie should give bellion a chance...
Raul7
29-12-2004, 07:43 AM
good game for utd to get 2 wins in the busy period. everton finally had a hiccup and for once the results are in utd's favour which saw them move up to 3rd place, keeping the pressure on arsenal who will meet up with newcastle.
my take on the villa game ->
smith had a good game, hold up the ball well when he had to and was chasing for possession when the ball was lost, but my words that he was not an out and out striker showed when he lifted the ball onto the bar from 3 metres out in extra time
once again, heinze was solid in the left :)
hmm dun know y dun feel fletcher really deserve a place in the line-up...
Ronaldo7
29-12-2004, 08:24 AM
no doubt that MOM belongs to giggs . smith should got his goal towards the end but the shot hit the bar :s27: btw , i think fletcher had a decent game imo :s22:
cracker
29-12-2004, 08:25 AM
hmm dun know y dun feel fletcher really deserve a place in the line-up...
there used to be a guy who also likes to condemn Fletcher to the core.....
but have since disappeared............hmmm
ragnarok95
29-12-2004, 08:32 AM
hmmm....its been a while since rooney and smith scores...
chengsun
29-12-2004, 08:37 AM
fergie should give bellion a chance...
agree, he is fast, can play right wing or striker, not a bad choice
kahmun7
29-12-2004, 09:26 AM
not taking credit away from Giggsy, He had a solid performance yesterday, but I also want to shine some light on our unsung hero, Caroll. He had a good game yesterday. Those saves he made... sheer quality.
cracker
29-12-2004, 10:35 AM
not taking credit away from Giggsy, He had a solid performance yesterday, but I also want to shine some light on our unsung hero, Caroll. He had a good game yesterday. Those saves he made... sheer quality.
also like to take this opportunity to give credit to a player who is fast becoming Mr.Reliable..aka Gabriel Heinze....but he needs to improve on his crosses to be on par with the legendary Mr. Denis Irwin.
United_Treble
29-12-2004, 01:06 PM
ronaldo played some exciting football as a sub in, only he could replace fletcher earlier............
Ch3tah_39
29-12-2004, 01:37 PM
never watch the match lor.. aniwae gd that man utd won!! :D GIGGS!!
United_Treble
29-12-2004, 01:41 PM
never watch the match lor.. aniwae gd that man utd won!! :D GIGGS!!
ryan giggs and scholes mainly ran the whole show, juz two of them can mess up villa defence, we need some more this kind of people
I see both O'Shea and Rooney pick up knock on their thigh, Rooney heavily strapped with blood coming out, injuries again. :s27:
And am I the only one who was a bit disappointed with a certain 'strike force'..? Rooney likes to come deep to collect the ball and shoot from long. Fair enough, when you've got someone prowling in the 18yd box. Smith plays with his back to goal for 90 minutes, and as has been said above 'shows off his best work in deep'. God help us if we have to play a half decent team without Ruud, or maybe even Saha.
kahmun7
29-12-2004, 03:16 PM
I see both O'Shea and Rooney pick up knock on their thigh, Rooney heavily strapped with blood coming out, injuries again. :s27:
And am I the only one who was a bit disappointed with a certain 'strike force'..? Rooney likes to come deep to collect the ball and shoot from long. Fair enough, when you've got someone prowling in the 18yd box. Smith plays with his back to goal for 90 minutes, and as has been said above 'shows off his best work in deep'. God help us if we have to play a half decent team without Ruud, or maybe even Saha.
har har... yeah, noticed that too, our attacking players stayed back too often. there's even once when Rooney was deep in defence, I was wondering what is he freaking doing there??? Same with Ronaldo, he was often seen performing defensive duty. Anyway, Ruud also like to stray offside... but of course he also gets into position more often than the others... and score some much needed goals.
blackevil_2000
29-12-2004, 03:27 PM
ya even without van n saha manU still can't can handle villa.... they should go the seson unbeaten liao
dnsfpl
29-12-2004, 03:32 PM
giggs rulez
usjag_18
29-12-2004, 04:00 PM
First of all, I will like to pay tribute to P.Scholes & R.Giggs, especially after so many insults and reprimand from those people who lost faith in them.
Secondly, the game. I am a bit disappointed with our two strikers. Though they did try their best for the club. Still, I am hoping they can show more of the their attacking skills. Especially for Rooney, if last time people kept saying he can replace P.Scholes, I am hoping he can show what P.Scholes did and not just using mouth to talk. I hope that he can be like P.Scholes, using ACTIONS to prove his worthes and NOT all talking but NO ACTIONS.
Lastly, I think overall the team still need improvement. During these 2 games, I think the older players are performing better than the youngsters. I think like what I said earlier on, I am hoping our strikers can use more of their attacking skills and not their defending skills as they are NOT playing for their COUNTRY, England, which is good @ defending but su*ks up big time when ask them to attack. Don't know what are they scared of. The way they are playing really shows that they DO NOT HAVE CONFIDENT with our defenders whcih is really very bad!
What do you guys think?
Rgds,
O'
Raul7
29-12-2004, 08:24 PM
there used to be a guy who also likes to condemn Fletcher to the core.....
but have since disappeared............hmmm
hahaha..i see.... :) i personally feel he is diff class from becks when becks was young...
cutieboy86
29-12-2004, 09:19 PM
Villa Spark For Giggs
There will always be something special about the combination of night games at Villa Park and Ryan Giggs. No one who saw it will ever forget the magnificent goal Giggs scored here to win an FA Cup semi-final replay against Arsenal in Manchester United's treble season five years ago. And last night, wearing a similar white away shirt to the one he whirled around his head like a dervish that night in 1999, Giggs turned it on again under the floodlights. His goal four minutes before half-time capped a superb display from the Welshman and turned up the pressure on a United board stalling on his demand for a new two-year contract. Giggs ran Villa ragged in a superb display that recalled his glory, glory days.
Oliver Holt, Daily Mirror
cutieboy86
29-12-2004, 09:30 PM
ROONEY FIT FOR RIVERSIDE CLASH
Manchester United's Wayne Rooney should be available to face Middlesbrough on Saturday.
The 19-year-old Manchester United striker limped out of Tuesday night’s 1-0 win at Aston Villa after suffering a badly cut thigh in a challenge with Liam Ridgewell.
The England international immediately had an ice-pack applied to the injury and is likely to undergo further treatment this week in an effort to ensure he is available for the trip to the Riverside.
“Wayne took a knock on the thigh but he should be fine for Saturday,” Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed to MUTV.
With Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha both on the injured list, Ferguson is desperate to have Rooney in his team to face Steve McClaren’s high-flyers.
Meanwhile, Ferguson confirmed that Gary Neville, who has missed the first two matches of the Christmas schedule with a flu bug, is likely to make a welcome return against Boro as John O’Shea is a major doubt with a thigh strain.
ROONEY FIT FOR RIVERSIDE CLASH
Manchester United's Wayne Rooney should be available to face Middlesbrough on Saturday.
The 19-year-old Manchester United striker limped out of Tuesday night’s 1-0 win at Aston Villa after suffering a badly cut thigh in a challenge with Liam Ridgewell.
The England international immediately had an ice-pack applied to the injury and is likely to undergo further treatment this week in an effort to ensure he is available for the trip to the Riverside.
“Wayne took a knock on the thigh but he should be fine for Saturday,” Red Devils boss Sir Alex Ferguson confirmed to MUTV.
With Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha both on the injured list, Ferguson is desperate to have Rooney in his team to face Steve McClaren’s high-flyers.
Meanwhile, Ferguson confirmed that Gary Neville, who has missed the first two matches of the Christmas schedule with a flu bug, is likely to make a welcome return against Boro as John O’Shea is a major doubt with a thigh strain.
He might not play if the FA charged him though. :s27:
United_Treble
30-12-2004, 01:58 AM
dun worry, we have in form giggs and scholes
Rooney, Ben Haim latest
Wednesday, 29 December 2004.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Manchester United's Wayne Rooney has been charged with a breach of FA Rule E3 for violent conduct.
In addition, Bolton Wanderers defender Tal Ben Haim has been charged with a breach of FA Rule E3 for improper conduct. The charges relate to an incident involving the two players during the match at Old Trafford on Sunday 26 December.
In line with The FA's new Fast Track disciplinary system, Wayne Rooney is required to respond to the charge by 6pm on Thursday 30 December. If he accepts the charge, the automatic penalty is a three match suspension. If he denies the charge, the case will be heard at a Disciplinary Commission on Friday, 31 December.
Tal Ben Haim has until 20 January to respond to the charge. The Fast Track disciplinary system does not apply to this case.
http://www.thefa.com/TheFA/Disciplinary/NewsAndFeatures/Postings/2004/12/Disciplinary_RooneyBolton.htm
As expected Rooney been charged.He might as well plead guilty cos he got no chance of escaping the ban. :(
jujube
30-12-2004, 02:19 AM
i wld suggest he appeal so that delay his suspension till Saha returns from injury next month :D
kahmun7
30-12-2004, 09:59 AM
just wondering, if he appeals will his ban gets lengthen or remains the same?
blackevil_2000
30-12-2004, 10:11 AM
but really loony nvr push so hard until Ben Haim fal n roll right?
Totti76
30-12-2004, 10:58 AM
Its not a matter u push hard or not...intention is there...good enough. U tackle with two foot in...stubs showing but din touch the guy u still get yellow card..Rooney really need to curb his temper..sooner or later his action will cause the team points. At 1st I thot Smith is gg to cause some problems...but i was wrong...Rooney is much worse. :sad:
just wondering, if he appeals will his ban gets lengthen or remains the same?
remain the same.
i wld suggest he appeal so that delay his suspension till Saha returns from injury next month :D
No chance for the ban to be delayed even if he appeals under the new FA rule. :s8:
Rooney has until the end of today to either "admit or deny" the charge before an FA disciplinary commission meets tomorrow to decide the punishment. Unlike the previous system, which still operates for certain cases, Rooney has no right to request a personal hearing. That means United are powerless to delay the ban and they will not have the option of representing the player at tomorrow's commission.
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=596773
Ronaldo7
30-12-2004, 05:24 PM
just treat it as rest for him :s22:
blackevil_2000
30-12-2004, 06:29 PM
so sad 4 loony,manU n SAF
Raul7
30-12-2004, 10:27 PM
that idiot is a ****ing actor..... :s27:
AhHuat
31-12-2004, 12:35 AM
i wonder when will rooney learn from alan smith to curb his farking attitude and temperament
:s8:
of all signings....i fully respect alan smith. he is a role model . he make neccesary challenges and chase for balls and score crucial goals also.
jujube
31-12-2004, 01:36 AM
of all signings....i fully respect alan smith. he is a role model . he make neccesary challenges and chase for balls and score crucial goals also.
i agree. i cant wait for the day Alan Smith becomes a Sheringham for us
Raul7
31-12-2004, 07:48 AM
i wonder when will rooney learn from alan smith to curb his farking attitude and temperament
:s8:
yeah..i also like smith when he was at leeds utd.... :s13:
MatrixFanatic
31-12-2004, 10:51 AM
I'm back! :evil:
:s12: :s12: :s12:
Rooney in crisis summit
ALEX FERGUSON held crisis talks with Wayne Rooney yesterday in a bid to curb the England striker’s hair-trigger temper.
And the Manchester United boss drafted in skipper Roy Keane to the morning summit to help the teenage superstar’s footballing education.
The Old Trafford chief said: “We have had a meeting with myself, Wayne and Roy Keane this morning to talk about it all and Wayne will be all right. He is a fantastic prospect.”
Republic of Ireland star Keane is no stranger to controversy in a career littered with bust-ups with players and run-ins with officials.
But Fergie believes that makes Keane the ideal man to offer advice to the fiery England hitman.
Fergie and Keane told Rooney that he simply cannot afford to be involved in the situation he had with Bolton’s Tal Ben Haim that earned the striker a three-match ban.
However, Ferguson is adamant he does not want to rip out the competitive heart of the player — even if it does get him in trouble.
And he says Rooney must simply learn to live with being the biggest superstar in British football.
Rooney finds himself on the front and back pages with more regularity than any teenage football star in modern times. This week it was for the off-the-ball incident with Ben Haim when he shoved the Bolton player in the face in United’s 2-0 win on Boxing Day.
Ferguson believes Rooney was guilty of nothing but being ‘silly’ in that case.
But when you are England’s new ‘Boy Wonder’ you cannot afford even a moment’s madness.
Ferguson said: “The profile he gets in normal life is unusual for a 19 year old.
“He has to accept the responsibility of being the most talked-about player in Britain, and that’s difficult.
“He is expected to behave like a 30 year old.”
While Ferguson will help him grow up, he will not temper the aggression that makes Rooney the player he is.
He said: “If you take the heart out of him you will not have the same player.
“I don’t want him to lose that explosive nature because that is part of the make-up that makes him.
“All the great players like Pele and Maradona had that.
“The thing about forwards is that they are an explosive type of player anyway.
“But it is about channelling your aggression.
“Wayne is going to play many, many competitive games and situations that will arise from them and he will have to deal with them.”
Rooney was charged with violent conduct for the Ben Haim incident on Wednesday and yesterday decided it would be fruitless to appeal.
Ferguson said: “It’s just a lesson he has had to learn. Experience teaches you many things. I’ve spoken to him about that, he just doesn’t need it.
“He may have been silly but he did not put a strong hand in his face he just pushed him away because he has given him verbals.
“They have charged Wayne Rooney with violent conduct but everyone can see that it wasn’t violent conduct.”
Ferguson was obviously still sore about the incident that has cost him the services of his striker for three games and yesterday cited incidents that he believed were worse than Rooney’s but went unpunished.
Not least one at Old Trafford during United’s League Cup tie with Arsenal on December 1.
Robin van Persie threw an elbow at Kieran Richardson but the young Gunners star escaped any punishment.
Ferguson said: “Look at the Robin van Persie incident. The referee did not see that as violent conduct and no action was deemed appropriate.
“The FA went back to the referee and he said he did not see that as violent conduct — but they go to the referee in our case and he said he would have sent him off!”
Ironically, Ferguson believes that Bolton’s Ben Haim cannot possibly now be charged with improper conduct. Ferguson said: “How can he be charged if Rooney has been charged with violent conduct?”
Rooney would have been fit for tomorrow’s trip to Middlesbrough despite having suffered a gashed leg at Aston Villa.
Ferguson is now left with just one recognised striker for that game in Alan Smith. Ruud van Nistelrooy is missing with Achilles trouble until the middle of February and Ole Solskjaer is out for the season.
Ferguson hopes Louis Saha’s persistent Achilles problem should have cleared up by the middle of January.
United will donate 50p from every programme sold at the matches against Tottenham and Exeter City to the Tsunami Earthquake Appeal.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004602543,00.html
MatrixFanatic
31-12-2004, 02:26 PM
Smith alone upfront again liao... :o
Ronaldo7
31-12-2004, 03:45 PM
he is our best player so far this season :evil:
Raul7
31-12-2004, 05:39 PM
Smith alone upfront again liao... :o
hmm giggs might partner him upfront... :)
MatrixFanatic
31-12-2004, 05:54 PM
hmm giggs might partner him upfront... :)
Not really la. Giggs behind him I think.
cutieboy86
31-12-2004, 06:10 PM
nah... i tink scholes will be the player behind smith
cutieboy86
31-12-2004, 06:11 PM
Keane: Over-Reaction Must Stop
Roy Keane has criticised players who try to get fellow professionals into trouble, describing their actions as “disgraceful.”
The United captain’s comments follow an incident on Boxing Day when Bolton defender Tal Ben Haim seemed to over-react after clashing with Wayne Rooney.
With Rooney now suspended for three matches on a charge of violent conduct, Keane has been moved to speak out on what he sees as unsporting behaviour.
"A lot of players seem to be looking to get others booked or sent off," explains Keane. "That’s definitely something that’s crept into the game over the last year or two.
"I know Wayne has his own case to answer, but in a lot of other cases players are reacting and trying to get their fellow professionals into trouble which is disgraceful and it needs to stop."
Rooney's subsequent three-game ban for what the Football Association deemed as violent conduct has infuriated Sir Alex Ferguson, who will be without his young striker for the trip to Middlesbrough on New Year's Day, as well as the home games with Tottenham and Exeter (FA Cup).
Fergie labelled the behaviour of Haim as 'embarrassing' and his skipper believes it's something that is becoming a more frequent occurrence in the Premiership.
"I'm not sure what you can do about it," admits Keane. "That's maybe something the likes of the PFA and the FA need to look at.
"It’s not just about the case involving Wayne. Lots of stuff goes on in a game and if you were to go down whenever anyone touched you, then every player would be down.
"But you see it every weekend now. Players go down as soon as they’re touched and try to con the referee, the crowd and their fellow players which drives me crazy."
Roy Keane was speaking to ManUtd.com, PA and local radio.
cutieboy86
31-12-2004, 06:45 PM
STRIKER PUZZLE FOR UNITED
Sir Alex Ferguson can call on only one experienced striker in Alan Smith for the Barclays Premiership match at Middlesbrough.
Wayne Rooney is beginning a three-match ban while Ruud van Nistelrooy and Louis Saha are both injured.
Ronaldo and David Bellion are pushing to partner Smith as United look to record their eighth win in nine Barclays Premiership outings.
England defender Gary Neville and Eric Djemba-Djemba return after a flu virus but John O’Shea is ruled out with a thigh injury.
Middlesbrough boss Steve McClaren will make late checks on Chris Riggott and Mark Viduka.
Both men have been receiving treatment all week for hamstring problems, while George Boateng will be out for another five weeks with a broken toe.
Ugo Ehiogu (calf) and Malcolm Christie (broken leg) have returned to training, but will only be called upon in an emergency over the remaining days of the holiday period.
Middlesbrough (from): Schwarzer, Nash, Reiziger, Queudrue, McMahon, Southgate, Riggott, Cooper, Davies, Zenden, Doriva, Parlour, Downing, Morrison, Wilson, Hasselbaink, Viduka, Job, Nemeth.
Manchester United (from): Carroll, Howard, G Neville, Heinze, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, Bellion,Keane, Ronaldo, Scholes, Fletcher, Miller, Giggs, Smith, Richardson, Djemba-Djemba.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.