PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565

Ultimate10002000
22-01-2005, 11:47 PM
perhaps you can say referee kayu ahahah

Kyubi
23-01-2005, 12:32 AM
saha finally score!!! phew!!!

Kyubi
23-01-2005, 12:33 AM
yeah!!! another one rite after saha's goal !!! paul scholes!!!

Ch3tah_39
23-01-2005, 12:42 AM
yeah!!! another one rite after saha's goal !!! paul scholes!!!

yeah haha.. nice shot by ronaldo though :)

Raul7
23-01-2005, 12:44 AM
ronaldo might be MOM...:)

RVN
23-01-2005, 12:44 AM
We've lost our clean sheet record now though :s27:
OHHH KEANO shot saved.
He's gonna get a goal soon to have his 50th goals for us!! :o

OKK77
23-01-2005, 12:48 AM
Fergie never really know who are the exact players needed by the club. He see a player play quite well currently then he sign. After signing then regret and cant wait to get rid of the player.
I wonder which phantom got us Cantona and Keane. (-;

Raul7
23-01-2005, 12:50 AM
I wonder which phantom got us Cantona and Keane. (-;

maybe was his brother Martin. :)

OKK77
23-01-2005, 12:52 AM
If things go well for a few minutes more, we will be second for a few hours more!

RVN
23-01-2005, 12:53 AM
lol - Rio's hair :s13:, he's turing into Becks changing his hair once a month :s11:

http://tinyurl.com/4uj22

Ch3tah_39
23-01-2005, 12:55 AM
caroll also not bad wor.. making a few good saves

Kyubi
23-01-2005, 12:56 AM
wah tonight is ronaldo's nite!

Raul7
23-01-2005, 12:57 AM
If things go well for a few minutes more, we will be second for a few hours more!

yup. Utd are 2nd for the moment....hope arsenal lose.......hahahaaha :D

OKK77
23-01-2005, 12:57 AM
Ronaldo should be MOM, I guess.

Raul7
23-01-2005, 12:58 AM
lol - Rio's hair :s13:, he's turing into Becks changing his hair once a month :s11:

http://tinyurl.com/4uj22

think he also got hair fashion also.... :D

cutter
23-01-2005, 12:59 AM
caroll also not bad wor.. making a few good saves

Ya the Carroll luck keeps Utd's unbeaten run going... when the team is so solid, never upset the balance... those chop-n-change merchants calling for him to be replaced don't understand football... play too much CM liao....

Ch3tah_39
23-01-2005, 01:00 AM
wah tonight is ronaldo's nite!

yep he perform very well lor.. his speed is :eek:

Ch3tah_39
23-01-2005, 01:01 AM
caroll luck really good lor.. aston miss a clear cut lor .... :s13:

RVN
23-01-2005, 01:01 AM
Job well done We kinda switched it on and off today looked a bit nervie after villa scored but then we upped our game and got the 2 goals. :D

cutter
23-01-2005, 01:02 AM
When the Utd crowd started to chant "Argentina, Argentina!!" after Heinze's surging run in teh second half damn funny... some of the Villa crowd started to sing the "In-gur-lund" in response... :D

kahmun7
23-01-2005, 01:05 AM
Anybody witnessed the push on Silvestre's face from Solano??
wonder how long would it take for someone to complain Hooligan behaviour from Solano... like they did when Rooney did the same thing... :s8:

blackevil_2000
23-01-2005, 01:07 AM
let hope the gunner lose tomolo hehe.......

Raul7
23-01-2005, 01:11 AM
wonder how long would it take for someone to complain Hooligan behaviour from Solano... like they did when Rooney did the same thing... :s8:

that bloody Solano should get a red card instead of yellow after pushing Heize to the ground. :s27:

blackevil_2000
23-01-2005, 01:50 AM
all crap one la going to lose liao then anyhow play

United_Treble
23-01-2005, 01:58 AM
let hope the gunner lose tomolo hehe.......
ars draw, we oso 2nd yahoooo

Raul7
23-01-2005, 01:59 AM
ars draw, we oso 2nd yahoooo

hahaha.... :D

United_Treble
23-01-2005, 01:59 AM
wah lao .. ronaldo tio card ... i thought its suppose to be that guy whu foul ronaldo leh .. zz
but ronaldo later push that guy

blackevil_2000
23-01-2005, 02:02 AM
yeah man gunner dun win can liao haha...........

jujube
23-01-2005, 05:03 AM
i like roy Carroll's new haircut

RVN
23-01-2005, 05:48 AM

http://img144.exs.cx/img144/5131/52047587.jpg

:mad:

Solano should be handed a 3-match ban, well the FA won't investigate since it isn't a United player. :s27:

Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 08:53 AM
Clearly from the photo it is an unprofessional foul, there should be at least a yellow card for Solano.

RVN
23-01-2005, 09:03 AM
For anyone here that didn't see any of todays game.

Manchester United 3-1 Aston Villa - 13mb (http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mufc-villa.zip)

Cristiano Ronaldo Analysis - 4mb (http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ronnie.zip)

Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 09:07 AM
Hey thanks for sharing, it has been interesting and useful.

jackjack
23-01-2005, 10:18 AM
For anyone here that didn't see any of todays game.

Manchester United 3-1 Aston Villa - 13mb (http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/mufc-villa.zip)

Cristiano Ronaldo Analysis - 4mb (http://www.shokz.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/ronnie.zip)
anyone got prob viewing the video:? how come when i play the video came out as BLUE BLUE and GREEN GREEN colour, as in the colours are all messed up!

MatrixFanatic
23-01-2005, 10:35 AM
Yeah Manutd won! :s12:

United_Treble
23-01-2005, 10:39 AM
Yeah Manutd won! :s12:
now then u know ah

Yellowfin
23-01-2005, 10:45 AM
Clearly from the photo it is an unprofessional foul, there should be at least a yellow card for Solano.

I wonder the FA will give Solano a 3 match ban just like Rooney incident.

But since Solano is not from Man Utd, mostly likely the FA will say there is no violence conduct committed.

Ronaldo7
23-01-2005, 11:08 AM
rio looks like richardson with his new hairdo :s22:

ronaldo got 3 goals this season and is still 7 short of his target of 10 but is improving :s7:

heinze is just class . can see that solano was very frustrated :s13:

chelsea is next in the carling cup :evil:

cutieboy86
23-01-2005, 11:15 AM
Fergie Acknowledges Sparkling Ronaldo Display

Sir Alex Ferguson praised Cristiano Ronaldo's "absolutely outstanding" performance in the 3-1 win over Aston Villa.

The victory over the Midlands' club failed to close the gap on league leaders Chelsea, who beat Porsmouth 3-0 at Stamford Bridge and remain eleven points clear.

But Ferguson was pleased with his side's win and highlighted Ronaldo, who got his second goal in two matches, as a constant menace to David O'Leary's team.

"Cristiano Ronaldo had his best game of the season for us," said Ferguson. "I thought he was absolutely outstanding."

The manager revealed earlier in the season that he has a bet with the 19-year-old winger on whether he can score ten goals this season. The United boss admitted the Portuguese international had taken another step toward a pay-out.

"It was good to for him to get another goal following the one he got on Wednesday," he said. "He's going for that target of ten goals, and maybe he will get them."

"He could maybe have had two or three, but the goal he did get was an important one. He also had a fantastic shot which allowed Paul Scholes to score our third goal. I'm pleased for him."

"Cristiano Ronaldo had his best game of the season for us. He was absolutely outstanding"
Sir Alex Ferguson

Louis Saha got only his second goal of the season, albeit via a deflection off Villa defender Liam Ridgewell. The Frenchman's contribution to the game attracted praise from his manager.

"He was absolutely terrific," Sir Alex said of Saha. "And he is going to get better all the time. He's needing games, obviously, but there are some important matches coming up."

With his squad nearing full strength, Sir Alex will have a few midweek decisions to make when Chelsea come to Old Trafford to resolve the League Cup semi final.

"Hopefully Alan Smith will be ready for Wednesday," Ferguson said pondering his line-up. "That will start to give us that strength up front.

"We'll just have to wait. Darren Fletcher has picked up an injury, so that will probably rule him out. We will have a look at our resources. Roy Keane misses the Middlesbrough FA Cup game after getting a booking today. That is a blow for us.

"But I'm pleased with the result and at times our football was good. The players found it difficult with the pitch and we may need to look into that because we are getting to an important stage of the season and we need a good surface."

cutieboy86
23-01-2005, 11:17 AM
ya... heinz had a gd game but ronaldo sort of silence his critics for awhile... ronaldo play an excellent game last nite...gd to see saha back on the scoresheet although his goal is via a deflection but still a gd shot

usjag_18
23-01-2005, 12:02 PM
http://img144.exs.cx/img144/5131/52047587.jpg

:mad:

Solano should be handed a 3-match ban, well the FA won't investigate since it isn't a United player. :s27:
Solano is a good player but he got a fiery temper. However, before this, he was pushing with Heinze, so I guess maybe when Silvestre trying to tok sense to him, he was using his hands to push Silvestre away. I guess it's really unfair to Silvestre. Even Silvestre said anything wrongly, he still shouldn't do that to him.

Yes, I agreed, FA is really being unfair to Man Utd players. Shouldn't do that to them. Even though they are Man Utd players, they are still single, individual players who deserve respect!!!

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
23-01-2005, 12:06 PM
I wonder the FA will give Solano a 3 match ban just like Rooney incident.

But since Solano is not from Man Utd, mostly likely the FA will say there is no violence conduct committed.

:s27: those idiots from FA! I have no idea how can they be so BLOODY UNFAIR(in English accent) to MAn Utd players and Man Utd! Kaoz...

usjag_18
23-01-2005, 12:26 PM
now then u know ah
why must u tok in that way? MatrixFanatic just trying to show his happiness. Can't U be nicer.

Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 12:59 PM
Well FA seems to be more strict with the top teams in EPL and more lenient with the other teams. There is always bias in football. All i can say is that Man U is very unlucky.

chengsun
23-01-2005, 01:12 PM
shld we be proud? we kena aimed coz we arethe best team in EPL history, everyone is taking us as the team to beat, even FA!
in some way, we shall be proud of it. try asking toon, or everton, they experienced this kind of treatment or not?

usjag_18
23-01-2005, 01:13 PM
Well FA seems to be more strict with the top teams in EPL and more lenient with the other teams. There is always bias in football. All i can say is that Man U is very unlucky.
This only shows one thing. English FA s*cks up big time. How can they be unfair to big clubs? Is it because players from BIG CLUBs is richer, so they wanna to fine them more $$$. This is totally crazy action.

Rgds,
O'

Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 01:21 PM
Well pal you never know....but arh this is from my observation. Everytime if there is fine, ban, suspension, red card most of it is being targeted at club like Man U and Arsenal. Smaller clubs seems to be more safe

blackevil_2000
23-01-2005, 11:09 PM
stupid fa i hate them!!!!!!!!!!

RVN
23-01-2005, 11:16 PM
Plus the press didn't mention this in their article and no video replay of the incident, the FA won't do anything about it. :s27:

Yet when its Rooney or any United players, they report the incident to the FA and we got punished, Selective bias and bloody hypocrite if you ask me. :mad:

usjag_18
24-01-2005, 03:27 AM
I guess it's better to fine bigger clubs since they are the richer sides of the league. Moreover, currently, those small clubs are mostly in debts or on the verge of bankcrupcy. Wat do U guys think? Tat's hw i think. Otherwise, I cannot think of any reasons why they only fine and ban players from big clubs.

Rgds,
O'

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 08:54 AM
Well maybe people tend to be more observance of whats happening to the bigger club than the smaller club. So when there is something happen to the bigger club, everyone will be alert and take action quickly. For smaller club people does not really care. You see most of the news appearing in the newspaper are circulating around bigger clubs than smaller clubs.

Ronaldo7
24-01-2005, 09:18 AM
United refute Ronaldo row

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=251587&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=United+refute+Ronaldo+row&channel=Football_Home

usjag_18
24-01-2005, 09:24 AM
United refute Ronaldo row

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=251587&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=United+refute+Ronaldo+row&channel=Football_Home

Another rumours about this: -

Ron stalls United deal
Cristiano Ronaldo has been stalling for six months on talks over a new deal to keep him at Manchester United. The winger has just 18 months left on his current deal and United are desperate to keep him. Despite attaining superstar status at United, Ronaldo is still picking up £14,000 a week - compared to the £90,000 weekly pay-packet of Roy Keane. While the 20-year-old has not ruled out staying at United and has put talks on hold until the summer, he knows he has the chance of picking up a deal worth at least £50,000 a week.
Antony Kastrinakis, News of the World

source (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=144564&itype=466&icategoryid=365)

I am not sure whether Man Utd will make decision in such a short while when C.Ronaldo still got another 3 & 1/2 years to go. I think maybe there's some mistakes.

Rgds,
O'

SirAlex
24-01-2005, 09:24 AM
The FA need the cash to pay Eriksson's 4mil/year salary... they will tax the rich at every opportunity.

SirAlex
24-01-2005, 09:31 AM
Another rumours about this: -

Ron stalls United deal
Cristiano Ronaldo has been stalling for six months on talks over a new deal to keep him at Manchester United. The winger has just 18 months left on his current deal and United are desperate to keep him. Despite attaining superstar status at United, Ronaldo is still picking up £14,000 a week - compared to the £90,000 weekly pay-packet of Roy Keane. While the 20-year-old has not ruled out staying at United and has put talks on hold until the summer, he knows he has the chance of picking up a deal worth at least £50,000 a week.
Antony Kastrinakis, News of the World

I am not sure whether Man Utd will make decision in such a short while when C.Ronaldo still got another 3 & 1/2 years to go. I think maybe there's some mistakes.

Rgds,
O'

Don't worry... I'm on that case. I don't know where the "18mths" number came from... idiot pressmen again... the boy's contract is till June 2008.

Like i called those rag-clowns a few years ago: "Youse are all f****** idiots."

cutieboy86
24-01-2005, 11:30 AM
hai... arsenal win 1-0 over newcastle... man utd back to 3rd again

usjag_18
24-01-2005, 12:39 PM
hai... arsenal win 1-0 over newcastle... man utd back to 3rd again
Relax brother. Man Utd will get back on Arsenal as soon as we settle the game with Chelsea.

usjag_18
24-01-2005, 12:40 PM
Don't worry... I'm on that case. I don't know where the "18mths" number came from... idiot pressmen again... the boy's contract is till June 2008.

Nope, they just having problems in maths. All the reporters returned their basic calculation skills back to their kindergaten teachers. =:p

Rgds,
O'

RVN
24-01-2005, 12:43 PM
Our next league game will be against arsenal. ;)

Before that 2 cup competions we still have to play, Chelsea in the Carling cup semi-final 2nd leg, and Boro in the FA Cup, some big games coming up for us.

usjag_18
24-01-2005, 12:52 PM
Our next league game will be against arsenal. ;)

Before that 2 cup competions we still have to play, Chelsea in the Carling cup semi-final 2nd leg, and Boro in the FA Cup, some big games coming up for us.

Ya, I know. What I meant is we have to face Chelsea first to settle Carling Cup, then facing Arsenal.

Rgds,
O'

rza29
24-01-2005, 01:30 PM
chelski will probaly lose to man utd since the cup to them is not that impt..man u playas are more determined to win the cup coz the league is almost over for them..but who knows, maybe chelski will draw with everton,arsenal and then lose to man city and man u? and man u to win all their games and claim the league! :) hope RVN comes back soon to bolster the attack. but man u still playing pretty well without RVN, imagine arsenal without TH or chelski without JT.

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 03:29 PM
Well i doubt Chelsea will in anyway lose to Man U, as the Chelsea Manager is quite hungry for success and silverware. All the cup matches he will field the first team players to trash any opponents to come in the way. Even if he field the reserve players the overall team standard is still consider high.

Ronaldo7
24-01-2005, 04:27 PM
chelski will probaly lose to man utd since the cup to them is not that impt..man u playas are more determined to win the cup coz the league is almost over for them..but who knows, maybe chelski will draw with everton,arsenal and then lose to man city and man u? and man u to win all their games and claim the league! :) hope RVN comes back soon to bolster the attack. but man u still playing pretty well without RVN, imagine arsenal without TH or chelski without JT.

nope . you are wrong . the carling cup is just as important to them as the league . they want to win everything this season but i hope man utd can stop them this thurs :evil:

MatrixFanatic
24-01-2005, 05:02 PM

Knn you really sound like Fergie. :s13:

Raul7
24-01-2005, 06:56 PM
Well i doubt Chelsea will in anyway lose to Man U, as the Chelsea Manager is quite hungry for success and silverware. All the cup matches he will field the first team players to trash any opponents to come in the way. Even if he field the reserve players the overall team standard is still consider high.

but i dun think chelesa can win all 4 cups this season.... :s27:

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 07:00 PM
Hahaha...nothing is for sure you never know. I think Chelsea can get at least 2 cup this season.

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 07:01 PM
In CM 4 i got lead Man U to win 4 cups in one season....haha Played for 7 seasons and win 7 EPL and 6 UEFA Champ League.

RVN
24-01-2005, 07:12 PM

Dosen't mean our players ain't hungry for trophies, I hope we beat them on Thursday and go to the final. :evil:

SirAlex
24-01-2005, 07:25 PM
Knn you really sound like Fergie. :s13:

Sound like...? I AM myself!

Get back in line before I send a boot your way... :mad: :D

SirAlex
24-01-2005, 07:30 PM
nope . you are wrong . the carling cup is just as important to them as the league . they want to win everything this season but i hope man utd can stop them this thurs :evil:

Worry not.... my aim is to upset their momentum by beating them.. just like how that Highbury lot got upset after we ended their lucky unbeaten run earlier this season... knock them off course and they will lack the experience to get quickly back on track :D....

RVN
24-01-2005, 07:54 PM

hahaha, who are you trying to bluff? :s13:

Raul7
24-01-2005, 08:02 PM

hahhaaa..this time hit who? hahahaa... :s13:

MatrixFanatic
24-01-2005, 11:06 PM
hahaha, who are you trying to bluff? :s13:

Let him be. It's quite funny! :s13:

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 11:12 PM
Worry not.... my aim is to upset their momentum by beating them.. just like how that Highbury lot got upset after we ended their lucky unbeaten run earlier this season... knock them off course and they will lack the experience to get quickly back on track :D....

You must really be a fergie die hard fan....if not you are trying to be funny here. But nonetheless i enjoy your funny entertaining act.

blackevil_2000
24-01-2005, 11:33 PM
hi sir alex............. hu u going to buy next huh? go buy sg keeper he betta then all the keeper u hav leh............haha

Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 11:40 PM
Sir Alex went to sleep liaoz...guess he had throw too many boots today so dammn tired. haha

Raul7
24-01-2005, 11:46 PM
Sir Alex went to sleep liaoz...guess he had throw too many boots today so dammn tired. haha

hahahaa.... :s13:

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 12:29 AM
hi sir alex............. hu u going to buy next huh? go buy sg keeper he betta then all the keeper u hav leh............haha

No worries... all will be revealed in due time.

Destiny awaits the brave. ;)

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 09:08 AM
Then Sir Alex do you think there is any hope for Man U to win the title this season ? Moreover for UEFA Champ League do you think your team can move on to the next round with AC Milan being the obstacle now ?

cutieboy86
25-01-2005, 11:26 AM
RONALDO HAPPY AT OLD TRAFFORD

Cristiano Ronaldo has insisted he is happy with life at Manchester United.
Red Devils officials have been quick to scotch rumours Ronaldo is stalling on contract negotiations, pointing out the Portugal winger’s current deal does not expire until 2008.

The 19-year-old has surprised Sir Alex Ferguson with the speed of his development since his £12.2million move from Sporting Lisbon 18 months ago and it would be no surprise if chief executive David Gill did want to open talks in the summer.

However, for now, Ronaldo is happy enough to carry on helping United in their own quadruple bid and has no thought of moving elsewhere.

“I am very happy at Manchester United,” Ronaldo told MUTV.

“At the moment, I am not worrying about what is being written about me, I am just trying to play as well as I can.

“When people decide they want to talk to me, I will talk to them. Until that point, I am not worried about it.”

Ferguson claimed Ronaldo produced his best performance of the season in the 3-1 win over Aston Villa on Saturday.

The youngster netted his third goal of the campaign to give United the lead, then inspired a second-half revival after Gareth Barry’s equaliser.

Ronaldo hopes to take that form into Wednesday night’s Carling Cup semi-final with Chelsea as the Old Trafford outfit look to derail Jose Mourinho’s own quadruple bid as well as booking their place in the Millennium Stadium decider.

“Saturday was good for me and the team and hopefully we can carry on like that,” he added.

“Every player has good and bad moments. I promised to work hard and that is what I have been doing. I want to carry on doing that and try to help the team continue to get good results.”

nakitas
25-01-2005, 11:40 AM
Greetings fellow Red Devils...

I'm new to tis forum... Juz popping in to tis thread of my FAV club to say HI...

Cheers... :D

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 11:41 AM
Ronaldo can play football at Man U of course happy la, recent performance is quite good too. But too bad he is not a frequent scorer. This has been a worthy deal....good vision by Ferguson.

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 11:42 AM

I'm new to tis forum... Juz popping in to tis thread of my FAV club to say HI...

Hi welcome to the Man U forum, try to be more active and contribute more to the topics being discuss here.

RVN
25-01-2005, 01:03 PM
I've only won BMX medal

ALAN SMITH has warned Carling Cup rivals Chelsea he is on a personal mission to end his career-long trophy drought.

The Manchester United striker has only ever won one thing — a BMX medal!

But he believes United, who start level after their first-leg scoreless draw, can rock Jose Mourinho’s men at Old Trafford tomorrow.

Smith, 24, is set to return from a two-week ankle injury lay-off and with United trailing the Blues by 11 points in the Premiership this competition could offer Alex Ferguson’s men their best chance of derailing Chelsea’s bid for an historic quadruple.

The £7million buy from Leeds has a Community Shield runners-up medal but admits he is desperate to land a winners’ medal to justify his decision to choose football ahead of a career riding bikes!

Smith said: “When I was seven, I started doing BMX racing. I could do tricks and when I was eight, I was the British champion.

“I still love my bikes to this day and the BMX trophy is the only thing I’ve ever won! That’s why I would love to win something because I’ve never won anything in football.

“My dad used to ride motocross, so I was brought up on it. From the age of six I was riding motorbikes and I still love it to this day but I can’t really do it now because of insurance.

"None of the lads can understand why I like it so much. You’re either into them or you’re not, but it’s in my blood.

“We still have a chance in all of the competitions and this club is all about winning silverware. I want to be a part of that.

“My move to United has lived up to all expectations so far but I want to top it off by winning some silverware at the end of the season.”

Despite Chelsea’s mammoth lead in the league, Smith is refusing to throw in the towel on United’s title bid.

He added: “Chelsea and Arsenal may be above us but I still think that every team wants to beat us more than them.

“All we can do is win games. Over the last couple of months, we’ve played some of our best football and we want to carry that on.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005040141,00.html

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 03:42 PM
Then Sir Alex do you think there is any hope for Man U to win the title this season ? Moreover for UEFA Champ League do you think your team can move on to the next round with AC Milan being the obstacle now ?

We just have to keep winning every match. Chelsea will stagger once they hit a blip. I have to admit that the likes of Cech, Terry, Lampard, Robben (that sneaky little sh***) etc are a top class spine that can turn in top class performances day in day out... a couple of them have to suffer injuries to shake their form.

However, confidence is also more fragile for the less experienced teams... and they don't have as strong a dressing room unity as we have. When they take losses and bad performances, some weak links will start blaming each other to avoid blame. Lose the temporal unity that winning brings and not having a deeper sense of identity will lead to disharmony.

Milan just got their blip over the weekend. If they follow it up by failing to win their next match, it'll lead on nicely to our matchup. We'll take them with the form that we're in.

We're regarded as outsiders in the league and in Europe, and suits us fine... the pressures on the opposition. :evil: ;)

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 03:47 PM
We just have to keep winning every match. Chelsea will stagger once they hit a blip. I have to admit that the likes of Cech, Terry, Lampard, Robben (that sneaky little sh***) etc are a top class spine that can turn in top class performances day in day out... a couple of them have to suffer injuries to shake their form.

However, confidence is also more fragile for the less experienced teams... and they don't have as strong a dressing room unity as we have. When they take losses and bad performances, some weak links will start blaming each other to avoid blame. Lose the temporal unity that winning brings and not having a deeper sense of identity will lead to disharmony.

Milan just got their blip over the weekend. If they follow it up by failing to win their next match, it'll lead on nicely to our matchup. We'll take them with the form that we're in.

We're regarded as outsiders in the league and in Europe, and suits us fine... the pressures on the opposition. :evil: ;)

But arh Sir Alex i heard of alot of weird rumours of what you will do to your players in the changing room. You will try to be "funny" towards your players and do weird stuff to them.

OrangeApple
25-01-2005, 03:47 PM
Hi, a Manchester United fan saying hello! :s21:

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 03:54 PM
Hi, a Manchester United fan saying hello! :s21:

Hi welcome to the forum....feel free to participate

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 04:01 PM
Many managers chew gum...keeps the throat moist in our colder, drier climate...so that we won't "break" our voice when we need to bellow orders or give someone a piece of our mind...just like like a running motor in winter keeps the car ready to go... you need to keep warmed up ;)

Yes ... I do funny things in the dressing room to maintain good spirits... all the players love my humour and laugh at all the jokes that I tell them... those who can't appreciate my fine humour are not United material.

Seals
25-01-2005, 04:19 PM
i also chew my gums like u...sir

Hey Ferguson, can you stop chewing gum during every match? I see already feel very irritated and disturbed!!! :mad: :frus:

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 04:20 PM
Chew gum is ok but after chewing please do not anyhow spit the gum

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 04:30 PM
Chew gum is ok but after chewing please do not anyhow spit the gum

I'm the Boss. I can throw it anywhere I want. We have the youth players to pick it up as part of their humility training, so it is a necessary responsibility for me to carry out.

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 05:05 PM
I'm the Boss. I can throw it anywhere I want. We have the youth players to pick it up as part of their humility training, so it is a necessary responsibility for me to carry out.

Hey what kind of boss are you ? Ask players go and pick up your gum when you anyhow spit. You are not setting a good example here you know. Shame on you

blackevil_2000
25-01-2005, 07:20 PM
i didn't noe that sir alex will understand broken english....
he understand what i am askin him when it is full of short form n broken english leh.......

Bearbasher
25-01-2005, 07:29 PM
Sir Alex
i have a question
who is going to take over giggsy position when he retire???

usjag_18
25-01-2005, 08:30 PM

Welcome to Man Utd forum. Hope you will enjoy ur stay here. ;)

Rgds,
O'

usjag_18
25-01-2005, 08:34 PM
i didn't noe that sir alex will understand broken english....
he understand what i am askin him when it is full of short form n broken english leh.......
Lolx... This is the "Singapore Sir Alex", not the one in England, so he will be able to understand ur broken english.

Ronaldo7
25-01-2005, 09:29 PM
Man Utd v Chelsea
Score: 0-0 after first leg

Manchester United could hand a start to striker Alan Smith after he recovered from an ankle injury.

Darren Fletcher (ankle) definitely misses out but Roy Keane may start his first game in the tournament this term.

Chelsea could welcome defender Robert Huth back into their squad after two months out with an ankle injury.

Eidur Gudjohnsen may start in preference to Didier Drogba in attack, while Carlo Cudicini is expected to return in goal in place of Petr Cech.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Brown, Heinze, Fortune, Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Djemba-Djemba, Miller, Giggs, Rooney, Saha, Smith, Bellion.

jujube
25-01-2005, 09:38 PM
Man Utd v Chelsea
Score: 0-0 after first leg

Manchester United could hand a start to striker Alan Smith after he recovered from an ankle injury.

Darren Fletcher (ankle) definitely misses out but Roy Keane may start his first game in the tournament this term.

Chelsea could welcome defender Robert Huth back into their squad after two months out with an ankle injury.

Eidur Gudjohnsen may start in preference to Didier Drogba in attack, while Carlo Cudicini is expected to return in goal in place of Petr Cech.

Man Utd (from): Howard, Carroll, Ricardo, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Silvestre, O'Shea, Brown, Heinze, Fortune, Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Djemba-Djemba, Miller, Giggs, Rooney, Saha, Smith, Bellion.

what time is the match?

usjag_18
25-01-2005, 10:28 PM
what time is the match?
3:55am if I am nt wrong, same time but different date as Liverpool vs Watford.

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 10:30 PM
Sir Alex
i have a question
who is going to take over giggsy position when he retire???

Ronaldo can do a good job on the left. After all, he plays for Portugal as left winger with Figo on the right. Didn't do too badly in Euro 2004.

Alan can do a job on the right, as well as the boy Darren and even Rooney... but they are not natural wingers. We'll see if we can budget for Joaquin. Robben was earmarked but he's turned out to be a sneaky bas****.

In any event, all will be revealed in due time. ;)

Bearbasher
25-01-2005, 10:37 PM
Ronaldo can do a good job on the left. After all, he plays for Portugal as left winger with Figo on the right. Didn't do too badly in Euro 2004.

Alan can do a job on the right, as well as the boy Darren and even Rooney... but they are not natural wingers. We'll see if we can budget for Joaquin. Robben was earmarked but he's turned out to be a sneaky bas****.

In any event, all will be revealed in due time. ;)

then how about any replacement to take over scholes and keane when they both retire??

usjag_18
25-01-2005, 10:56 PM
then how about any replacement to take over scholes and keane when they both retire??
Lolx... this is really getting a bit funny liao... Starting to ask "SirAlex" questions...

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 10:58 PM

Our scouts have drawn up a long list for every position.. but we will act when it is right. Did anyone predict that we would soon have the likes of Heinze and Rooney at the end of last season? Ole is on the mend as well, and can do a job next season. Darren still needs more muscle mass and better movement, but he has that rare unteachable talent for the killer pass. He's a good reader of the game and will only get better with experience. Lacks the box-to-box aggression of a midfield dynamo that Keano is though.

Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 11:12 PM
So Sir Alex when you think is the right time for you to retire ? You are getting old lioaz. Chew so much gum later got tooth decay.

Bearbasher
25-01-2005, 11:14 PM
SirAlex
so when you retire,who's going to take over your position???

United_Tremble
25-01-2005, 11:21 PM
i behind chelsea for tis one, 2-0 chelsea

my predition very zhun, so far i predited that Morientes go Newc

today i decided to predit that porto win champion league last year. zhun or not?

not happy? i watch soccer when you all drinking milk. milk is good, build strong bone give culcium

Raul7
25-01-2005, 11:22 PM
i think Ole can retire liao....which is good for him also...

SirAlex
25-01-2005, 11:23 PM
My decision. Not many managers can say that. I can. Right now, that's not in my mind. I'm on a rolling contract and will only think about such things in the close season.

Now back to preparing my boys for tonight's victory over Chelsea.

Bearbasher
25-01-2005, 11:24 PM
i think Ole can retire liao....which is good for him also...

noooo
he is my favourite player in man utd

Raul7
25-01-2005, 11:32 PM
noooo
he is my favourite player in man utd

no choice...so many injuries...really cannot liao..better hang up the boots.feel sad for him also.

LeGodCantona
25-01-2005, 11:35 PM
I have arrived.

LeGodCantona
25-01-2005, 11:48 PM
SirAlex
so when you retire,who's going to take over your position???

I have penciled myself in and will take over from Sir Alex's replacement when I have shown Manchester United fans my managerial ability with another club.

usjag_18
26-01-2005, 12:26 AM

today i decided to predit that porto win champion league last year. zhun or not?

not happy? i watch soccer when you all drinking milk. milk is good, build strong bone give culcium
Are UNited_Treble's twin brother? As arrogant as he....

nakitas
26-01-2005, 12:47 AM
Lets see wat tat Chelski trumpet gonna blow after his team loses to us!!!

RVN
26-01-2005, 01:38 AM
United_tremble or whatever clown you are, get out of our thread. :s27:

Ronaldo7
26-01-2005, 08:16 AM
now even got cantona in here . when is queiroz coming to hwz ? :s13:

Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 08:41 AM
Soon you people might see Roy Keane the Captain coming in for a speech or 2

RVN
26-01-2005, 08:47 AM
Ole optimistic on Reds return

Solskjaer Faces February Assessment

Solskjaer Determined To Stay Positive
http://tinyurl.com/6mtcx
Upbeat: Ole is waiting for the green light from the knee specialist to start running again.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is scheduled to meet the surgeon who operated on his knee injury next month and hopes he will be given the go-ahead to start running again.

Solskjaer, who has endured a torrid two seasons, admits he is "missing the best years of my career”.

Despite turning 32 in late-February and having not played since coming on as a late substitute for Cristiano Ronaldo in the FA Cup final win over Millwall, Solskjaer is resolute about his future with United.

"I'm still smiling," the striker said. "It is frustrating, of course it is. I want to play football. I'm losing maybe the best years of my career.

"My last full season was possibly my first as a first-team player; starting every game and expected to play a quite few matches. But that is what happens in football. Why should I be negative? Nothing good comes from having a negative attitude.

"I'm going to see the surgeon again in February," explains Ole. "They always want to monitor your situation. They have the most experience of these types of injuries.

"I'm just waiting for them to say 'you can start running now'. I've been training a little bit harder recently, but I'm still not running. I'm just doing everything that the medical staff tell me to do because I don't want to rush things. I'm relying on the experience of the surgeons."

The nightmare began almost innocuously just three games into the 2003/04 season against Wolves.

Solskjaer began the season in a newfound position on the right of a five-man midfield; his relocation to the flank had cushioned the departure of David Beckham, seen by some as difficult to replace.

"I'm still smiling. Nothing good comes from being negative. I'm just waiting for the specialist to say 'you can start running now'."
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

But, despite there being no clear sign of a crunching tackle or a twisting fall, Solskjaer pulled up with about 20 minutes remaining and signalled to the bench that he could no longer carry on.

He made a substitute appearance against Charlton Athletic nearly three weeks later, then started and scored against Panathinaikos in the 5-0 win at Old Trafford in September, but surgery was needed to cure the problem.

Tuesday 23 September 2003 is not a day to be remembered fondly at United. It was the day Rio Ferdinand failed to turn up for his drugs test and was consequently banned for eight months. But it was also the day that the club announced Solskjaer who undergo surgery on his knee.

"It just went bang in the game against Wolves. The articular cartilage was damaged,” Ole recalls of how the injury occured. "The articular cartilage is more or less the cushion between the thighbone (femur) and the shinbone (tibia). So, I had a transplant of cartilage."

However, despite a return as a substitute to a rousing Old Trafford reception in the 1-1 draw with Leeds in February later that season, the initial operation had failed to cure the problem.

Eleven appearances staggered until the end of the season followed, but it became clear over the summer that a second operation was needed. Solskjaer headed for surgery in July last year.

His hopes are increased by a successful second operation. "The surgeon told me the rest of the knee is perfect," he says. "Nothing else in the knee was damaged. That gives me hope to carry on.

Homage to a legend: A banner on tier two of the Stretford End pays tribute to Solskjaer.

"There have been quite a few injuries like this worldwide, but not at this club. I'm doing work on the bike in the gym, and also walking and swimming. There are lots of things I can do even though I haven't been given the go ahead to start running.

"I'm setting targets for myself everyday and I am achieving them. That is all I can do; set a daily target and try to reach it.

"I'm not a laid back character. I just have to deal with what is the truth and reality now. You can't dwell on the past or look too far forward. You can only concentrate on what is happening now.

"I've seen a lot more of my family than I did before. That is a bonus. That is the way I look at it. You have to find a positive in every negative. I'd love to be playing football again, but being able to spend a little more time with my family can make up at least for some of the frustration.

"But you can't escape from football. I certainly can't. I'm at Carrington (United’s training ground) almost every day and I still speak to all the players and watch all the games. They are playing good football at the moment."

United’s fans rarely go a game without singing Solskjaer’s name, hoping soon to once more see the intelligent runs and clinical finishing of United’s No.20.

Report by Ben Hibbs. Ole was speaking to Manchester United Radio.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=144786&itype=466&icategoryid=120

Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 08:52 AM
Hope to see this fella back in action soon, been out for too long liaoz.

Bearbasher
26-01-2005, 11:48 AM
now even got cantona in here . when is queiroz coming to hwz ? :s13:

next we are going to have david gill

mclarenfan
26-01-2005, 04:08 PM
Man Utd must win against Chelsea in the carling cup....very important, cos chelsea right now will be feeling 'invincible' or like they 'cannot be beaten'....Man Utd must destroy their feeling....
Hope SAF will field a stronger side today...

Chelsea :frus: Vs :bandit: Man Utd...
i will be watching the match despite it is at 4am...

mclarenfan
26-01-2005, 04:16 PM
Btw ....Man Utd fans in this thread pls increase the thread Ratings! ....it was 3* stars...before i gave it a 5*stars...now the thread rating increased to 4*stars....pls give your ratings cos it reflects on Man Utd Thread value.. :s27:

nakitas
26-01-2005, 04:25 PM
Btw ....Man Utd fans in this thread pls increase the thread Ratings! ....it was 3* stars...before i gave it a 5*stars...now the thread rating increased to 4*stars....pls give your ratings cos it reflects on Man Utd Thread value.. :s27:

Yup noticed tat change... Hoot~~~

Hey juz like t recent poll in TNP abt fans in singapore... ManUtd fans in a declining state meh??? Y so little fans dare stand up n own out??? Or is it, tat ManUtd fans r not tat stupid to waste t money and call TNP for t poll??? :D

Bearbasher
26-01-2005, 04:25 PM

i have put a 5* rating already

blackevil_2000
26-01-2005, 04:49 PM
but tis sir slex still acting veri good leh.....

usjag_18
26-01-2005, 05:14 PM
United_tremble or whatever clown you are, get out of our thread. :s27:
Lolsx....RVN, realx, dun bother with him.. Maybe he's just another clown...Anyway, maybe he's United_Treble's enemy....
lolx...

Bearbasher
26-01-2005, 05:19 PM
where is SirAlex today???

usjag_18
26-01-2005, 05:21 PM
Man Utd must win against Chelsea in the carling cup....very important, cos chelsea right now will be feeling 'invincible' or like they 'cannot be beaten'....Man Utd must destroy their feeling....
Hope SAF will field a stronger side today...

Chelsea :frus: Vs :bandit: Man Utd...
i will be watching the match despite it is at 4am...

Lolx... U sounds like complaining abt the timing... In fact, I tot it's starting @ 3:55am?
Just record it if U cannot endure till 4am... I got record it down....

Rgds,
O'

kahmun7
26-01-2005, 05:27 PM

hey nimwit..
Morientes went to Liverpool not Newcastle... zhun my ar$e
Get out and stay out.

MatrixFanatic
26-01-2005, 05:32 PM
hey nimwit..
Morientes went to Liverpool not Newcastle... zhun my ar$e
Get out and stay out.

Relax la I think he's just poking fun at United_Treble. :s13:

usjag_18
26-01-2005, 05:32 PM

Solskjaer Faces February Assessment

Upbeat: Ole is waiting for the green light from the knee specialist to start running again.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is scheduled to meet the surgeon who operated on his knee injury next month and hopes he will be given the go-ahead to start running again.

Solskjaer, who has endured a torrid two seasons, admits he is "missing the best years of my career”.

Despite turning 32 in late-February and having not played since coming on as a late substitute for Cristiano Ronaldo in the FA Cup final win over Millwall, Solskjaer is resolute about his future with United.

"I'm still smiling," the striker said. "It is frustrating, of course it is. I want to play football. I'm losing maybe the best years of my career.

"My last full season was possibly my first as a first-team player; starting every game and expected to play a quite few matches. But that is what happens in football. Why should I be negative? Nothing good comes from having a negative attitude.

"I'm going to see the surgeon again in February," explains Ole. "They always want to monitor your situation. They have the most experience of these types of injuries.

"I'm just waiting for them to say 'you can start running now'. I've been training a little bit harder recently, but I'm still not running. I'm just doing everything that the medical staff tell me to do because I don't want to rush things. I'm relying on the experience of the surgeons."

The nightmare began almost innocuously just three games into the 2003/04 season against Wolves.

Solskjaer began the season in a newfound position on the right of a five-man midfield; his relocation to the flank had cushioned the departure of David Beckham, seen by some as difficult to replace.

"I'm still smiling. Nothing good comes from being negative. I'm just waiting for the specialist to say 'you can start running now'."
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer

But, despite there being no clear sign of a crunching tackle or a twisting fall, Solskjaer pulled up with about 20 minutes remaining and signalled to the bench that he could no longer carry on.

He made a substitute appearance against Charlton Athletic nearly three weeks later, then started and scored against Panathinaikos in the 5-0 win at Old Trafford in September, but surgery was needed to cure the problem.

Tuesday 23 September 2003 is not a day to be remembered fondly at United. It was the day Rio Ferdinand failed to turn up for his drugs test and was consequently banned for eight months. But it was also the day that the club announced Solskjaer who undergo surgery on his knee.

"It just went bang in the game against Wolves. The articular cartilage was damaged,” Ole recalls of how the injury occured. "The articular cartilage is more or less the cushion between the thighbone (femur) and the shinbone (tibia). So, I had a transplant of cartilage."

However, despite a return as a substitute to a rousing Old Trafford reception in the 1-1 draw with Leeds in February later that season, the initial operation had failed to cure the problem.

Eleven appearances staggered until the end of the season followed, but it became clear over the summer that a second operation was needed. Solskjaer headed for surgery in July last year.

His hopes are increased by a successful second operation. "The surgeon told me the rest of the knee is perfect," he says. "Nothing else in the knee was damaged. That gives me hope to carry on.

Homage to a legend: A banner on tier two of the Stretford End pays tribute to Solskjaer.

"There have been quite a few injuries like this worldwide, but not at this club. I'm doing work on the bike in the gym, and also walking and swimming. There are lots of things I can do even though I haven't been given the go ahead to start running.

"I'm setting targets for myself everyday and I am achieving them. That is all I can do; set a daily target and try to reach it.

"I'm not a laid back character. I just have to deal with what is the truth and reality now. You can't dwell on the past or look too far forward. You can only concentrate on what is happening now.

"I've seen a lot more of my family than I did before. That is a bonus. That is the way I look at it. You have to find a positive in every negative. I'd love to be playing football again, but being able to spend a little more time with my family can make up at least for some of the frustration.

"But you can't escape from football. I certainly can't. I'm at Carrington (United’s training ground) almost every day and I still speak to all the players and watch all the games. They are playing good football at the moment."

United’s fans rarely go a game without singing Solskjaer’s name, hoping soon to once more see the intelligent runs and clinical finishing of United’s No.20.

Report by Ben Hibbs. Ole was speaking to Manchester United Radio.

http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=144786&itype=466&icategoryid=120

I hope Man Utd won't give up on Ole Gunnar Solskjaer. I believe that he will recovered. He's one of those players who will not give up on himself until he really tried it out.

Rgds,
O'

MatrixFanatic
26-01-2005, 05:48 PM
where is SirAlex today???

Preparing for Chelsea game. :s12:

mclarenfan
26-01-2005, 05:58 PM

i like his hairstyle ...looks good to me and also very easy to maintain, if any....but iam not sure if i can go for an Job interview with this hairstyle =:p

kahmun7
26-01-2005, 06:35 PM
Relax la I think he's just poking fun at United_Treble. :s13:
I thought he's a United_Treble clone... :s8:

blackevil_2000
26-01-2005, 06:42 PM
i rather a david grill than United_Treble or united all crap one

Ronaldo7
26-01-2005, 09:16 PM
can't wait for ole to be back . what a player he is :)

SirAlex
26-01-2005, 10:44 PM
Ole is on the mend.... fantastic man which is what he is. Just having him around is a good motivating factor to the youngsters and a hero to look up to.

We'll win tonight so that he'll have a good chance of having at least one trophy to defend next season. :evil:

Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 10:53 PM
So Sir Alex when Ole is ready for action and come back to kick some ball, can you assure him of a starting 11 role in most of the matches. Cos you will have quite a few strikers to choose from...so which 2 will it be to start ?

stam
26-01-2005, 11:15 PM
hi, i am EX-United dutch defender, Jaap Stam :)

Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 11:28 PM
Haha...another joker has come to this forum and join in the fun. lol

usjag_18
27-01-2005, 12:49 AM
Haha...another joker has come to this forum and join in the fun. lol
Lolx, now we have Sir Alex, RVN, Ronaldo, Stam, who's next?

Yellowfin
27-01-2005, 02:12 AM
Lolx, now we have Sir Alex, RVN, Ronaldo, Stam, who's next?

They will have a long list of Man Utd players nickto choose from whoever going to use it as their nick. :s13:

kahmun7
27-01-2005, 05:55 AM
sigh.. I think it's time we say goodbye to Howard, all the good work.. gone to waste because of his mistake...

RVN
27-01-2005, 06:05 AM
Sianz, Howard cost us the goal. Great goal from Giggs though.

Well feck lets move on now, we got to beat Boro in the FA Cup on Saturday, can't afford to screw that up. :o

cracker
27-01-2005, 06:06 AM
he might claim lack of match practise....

sad sad...he was full of hope in the beginning of last season...but after today game... :s31:

RVN
27-01-2005, 06:23 AM
We need to get a proper keeper for a change, Howard and Carorll are prone to blunders. The reason chelsea doing so well not only because of their defence but also they got 2 great and reliable keepers, Cech and Cudicini. :s27:

blackevil_2000
27-01-2005, 06:30 AM
manU now reallli need to get a good keeper if thhey even wanna to get 2nd...............

blackevil_2000
27-01-2005, 06:38 AM
sir alex betta buy new keeper u nvr buy u die
losing to chelsea becuz u hav a lousy keeper
a strong attack
a strong midfield
a strong defend
but a s_h_i_t kepper

cracker
27-01-2005, 06:59 AM
Where is SIR ALEX?

probably still sleeping....or preparing to go to school.

cracker
27-01-2005, 07:10 AM
actually from this game....u can see the difference between the current and the pre 2003 MU team.....for the current team there is lack of support from the flank..no one could cross a decent ball into the penalty box !! with giggs playing as a striker..the left flank was totally gone..

IMHO...the current best player to cross the ball is Gary Nevile and his success rate is less than 60 percent. Heinze has the speed but his crossing is ?????
Ronaldo is supposed to be the right or left flank player, but he prefers to do his side-stepping routine and usually ended with him trying at goal by himself..

the pre 2003 team has giggs running on the left flank to supply the cross or pretty boy DB sending his pinpoint missile into the penalty box from the right.

nowaday the MU's strikeforce is just relying on sheer strength to bulldoze their way into the penalty box...rooney, smith , saha and even ruud.

for tonight game...i thought our midfield dept did well to match the chelsea quartet... just tat our finishing was poor.

As for Howard's mistake, not sure if SAF will call tat a fluke goal or a schoolboy error by the american.

Raul7
27-01-2005, 07:28 AM
Haiz, i personally think once Becks gone liao, Utd performance not that really good compare when Becks is ard doing all the crossing and free kicks.haiz......

RVN
27-01-2005, 07:28 AM
Ferguson is never going to publicly blame one of his players and rightly so! His job is now to pick the team up, there were some positives from the game even though the outcome wasn't, and although I would personally blame Howard for the goal his reaction was too slow.

And one more thing, the ref was pathetic, we should have a penalty in the first half and Makelele should have been sent off. :s27:

Ronaldo7
27-01-2005, 08:11 AM
Haiz, i personally think once Becks gone liao, Utd performance not that really good compare when Becks is ard doing all the crossing and free kicks.haiz......

ronaldo is a good replacement for beckham , but our set pieces really cmi at times :s22:

i won't blame howard for the goal thou , it's never easy in that sort of situation :s22: great goal by giggs btw . please offer him the contract extension he deserved :s7:

cracker
27-01-2005, 08:30 AM
ronaldo is a good replacement for beckham , but our set pieces really cmi at times :s22:

i won't blame howard for the goal thou , it's never easy in that sort of situation :s22: great goal by giggs btw . please offer him the contract extension he deserved :s7:

ronaldo has the speed but his crosses arent really up to mark..the last time he made a brilliant cross was in the game against everton (last season) where it was met by Ruud who headed it in during the last min.

anyway no pt lamenting,,just have to pick up the pieces from here.

kahmun7
27-01-2005, 10:51 AM
agreed... I thought Ronaldo was pretty good at set pieces situation when he first came.. but recently.. that is almost non existant... We need Ruud in the penalty box really. desperately missing his predatory instinct in there... Saha...really a bit of a disappointment this match. At least when Rooney came on, there were more chances.. (ahem, where are all those people who says Rooney came to Man Utd to be below Everton, now???)

Other than the blooper by Howard, I think we did quite good. We dominated the midfield. We just need to work more on our finishing. even Rooney. I think it's time we concentrate on winning the FA Cup now. League is a bit far fetched.. Champs League, will have to see how we do against AC Milan ( my other favourite team, unfortunately). I believe if we face Chelsea again, be it in FA Cup or Champs League, we won't make any mistake again. :evil:

Bearbasher
27-01-2005, 10:52 AM
i agree with you guys
tat ronaldo is a good replacement but he always try for goal instead of letting the strikers to do the job

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 11:49 AM
I would personally blame Howard for the goal his reaction was too slow.

correction....there was no reaction from howard.

Anyway....SAF will be disappointed a bit thats all....cos remember the match against Arsenal and before....it was the youth team that played....so if the youth team lost, we would have lost the carling cup quite early....
carling cup match against chelsea was just an attempt to break their confidence thats all....

Having said that....in the match i can clearly see the non-quality players standing out from the rest of squad..... They are, Fortune and Howard.

Chelsea you can have the carling cup.... Man utd you can have the Champions league.... Am i being fair ? :D

Hey Ronaldo learn from Giggs la...learn to pass the ball la....When you see your striker in better position pass the ball la....dont always go for glory....have a balance....

Thanks la Ref for not giving the penalty....everyone can see it is a penalty except you....you blindf@ck!

vivre
27-01-2005, 12:00 PM
correction....there was no reaction from howard.

Hey Ronaldo learn from Giggs la...learn to pass the ball la....When you see your striker in better position pass the ball la....dont always go for glory....have a balance....

Have you seen the younger Giggs in action? If you have, you'd know that Giggs was exactly like Ronaldo is now... less the fancier stepovers. Giggs used to play a more individual game when he was younger, I think it's only with experience and a lot of self-reflection that he has learnt to pass/cross the ball to his team-mates. Considering how long Giggs has been playing, give Ronaldo a few more years. It takes time to accumulate experience and adapt your game to the benefit of the team.

nakitas
27-01-2005, 12:07 PM

Agree!!! Many ppl will juz wanna tough thru it, saying, 'We can do better w/o Becks'... Hey i dnt see a better crosser or passer since Becks left... None in t current squad can do a decent cross... T closest will got to b G.Neville...

I think ManUtd should improve in various departments not juz GK-ing... T team lacks t touch n supply... They need someone who can send in t magic passes n throw life into t squad... ManUtd is merely surviving on luck to win nowadays lor...

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 12:51 PM
i miss becks too....

and i think Ronaldo will be at his best probably when he is 24 yrs old.... my estimate..

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 01:04 PM
is it possible for becks to make a comeback....i know he wants to but will SAF allow? one must consider his age also....

kahmun7
27-01-2005, 01:59 PM
supply department is quite ok... finishing is a problem...
how many times you see Fletcher, Scholesy, or Ronaldo making a good pass into the box, but no one there to follow up with the shot? how many times you see Saha, Rooney and Smith receive the ball in the box, but fail to make a decent shot, if any shot at all?

Becks... is a virus... as long as he let's his wife rule over his life and career it's going to affect his teammates. He was a decent lad before he got married, after he got married, he demanded lots like higher pay, shirt rights... etc, etc... good for him, bad for the team as they will start becoming more individualistic and less a team. True his crosses are superb, we can't survive on him alone. he ain't going to last forever...

blackevil_2000
27-01-2005, 02:20 PM
i think they mus need howard to play 90min everyday he alway last last part then make mistake one n oso that i wish that there is a REAL SAF here so we can advice him or tell him our feelin abt his team

Bearbasher
27-01-2005, 03:21 PM
wonder whether will SirAlex blow his top cos of the loss against chealsea??

Yellowfin
27-01-2005, 03:37 PM
Forget about Beck coming back, I feel that he won't make a different.

I have not watch the whole match but was able to watch the last 10mins of it. If Man Utd lost the match and the players give it a good performance then we got nothing to blame.

The 2nd goal is not entirely the goalkepper fault, the whole defence also have to be blame. The cross from Duff is a tricky one. It is almost the same as Ronaldo or Giggs free kick that whip it in to the far post.

Coolsmurf
27-01-2005, 03:54 PM
there was a decent lack of penetration until rooney came on and made the formation more balanced out but i think it was to no avail because of the gk

RVN
27-01-2005, 04:08 PM
Should have play 2 upfront from the start. SAF won't bring Becks back and I won't want us to bring him back either, the media hype surrounding him plus his form has been poor too for Real.

Lets move on, 2 important games coming up now, we can't afford to screw it again, Boro in the FA Cup and Arse away in the league.

MatrixFanatic
27-01-2005, 04:26 PM
I'm with SirAlex. Howard wasn't at fault. Just too bad Manutd didn't win. :s27:

MatrixFanatic
27-01-2005, 04:27 PM

Agree. I can't remember the last time United scored directly from a freekick.
:o

RVN
27-01-2005, 04:32 PM
Agree. I can't remember the last time United scored directly from a freekick.
:o

Rooney debut against Fenerbahnce, too long liao. :o

1920_me
27-01-2005, 04:46 PM
ya..howard had a couple of good saves as well...and darn we lack e clinical edge..saha and rooney ought to score more often

MatrixFanatic
27-01-2005, 05:53 PM
ya..howard had a couple of good saves as well...and darn we lack e clinical edge..saha and rooney ought to score more often

Saha first touch really cannot make it. Hope he gets match fit soon.

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 06:13 PM
Iam sure alot of us must have hurt by the result....me?...i did not sleep last night until 6am cos i was afraid i might oversleep and miss the match...i guess only consolation we can create for ourselves is by coming face to face with chelsea in the FA cup and kick them out....Will be perfect! ... :evil:

blackevil_2000
27-01-2005, 06:25 PM
ya we were so sad manUTD look so much of the winner until duff freak kick but realli howard or other defender try to clear the ball...............
we fail to prove that $$ can win trophy

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 06:26 PM
Becks... is a virus... as long as he let's his wife rule over his life and career it's going to affect his teammates. He was a decent lad before he got married, after he got married, he demanded lots like higher pay, shirt rights... etc, etc... good for him, bad for the team as they will start becoming more individualistic and less a team. True his crosses are superb, we can't survive on him alone. he ain't going to last forever...

I find nothing wrong with Becks...he is a player and businessman...he uses himself as a product and sells it....and a strong character.....and i dont believe in all the **** the media is ditching on him or anyone else....i read what the player says and make my own interpretation and not the press' interpretation....Becks making comeback to Man Utd is more like a dream now which may not happen, though i wish it could....sigh...

Imagine...midfield..
Giggs- Scholes-Keane-Ronaldo-Beckham :eek:

mclarenfan
27-01-2005, 06:31 PM
Pls dont forget to give ratings for this thread....iam hoping to reach 5* stars before any other rival threads :s12:

AhHuat
27-01-2005, 07:48 PM
so sir alex's record against jose mourinho is getting worse.....
since porto CL match last season till now....SAF had not win mourinho once..... :s8:

Ultimate10002000
27-01-2005, 08:19 PM
Too bad for Man U to be kick out of a Cup Tournament, i think Man U may have to end this season without any silverware.

Ronaldo7
27-01-2005, 08:26 PM
i think the only person we miss is ruud . he can hold up the ball well , gets into good scoring posistion in the box etc . can't wait for him to be back :evil:

Ultimate10002000
27-01-2005, 08:32 PM
Think the only possible way for Man U to get back their power form is when Ruud returns from his injuries, which will be consider good timing as Man U will face AC Milan.

Raul7
27-01-2005, 09:00 PM
supply department is quite ok... finishing is a problem...
how many times you see Fletcher, Scholesy, or Ronaldo making a good pass into the box, but no one there to follow up with the shot? how many times you see Saha, Rooney and Smith receive the ball in the box, but fail to make a decent shot, if any shot at all?

ya..his wife is really a virus to him.....arghhhhhhh :s27:

chengsun
27-01-2005, 10:47 PM
I find nothing wrong with Becks...he is a player and businessman...he uses himself as a product and sells it....and a strong character.....and i dont believe in all the **** the media is ditching on him or anyone else....i read what the player says and make my own interpretation and not the press' interpretation....Becks making comeback to Man Utd is more like a dream now which may not happen, though i wish it could....sigh...

Imagine...midfield..
Giggs- Scholes-Keane-Ronaldo-Beckham :eek:
seriously, i cant imagine a midfield like this, Giggs 31 yo, Scholes n Becks 30 yo, Keane 33 yo, and Ronaldo 19 yo, it is very terrible......

RVN
27-01-2005, 11:19 PM
Too bad for Man U to be kick out of a Cup Tournament, i think Man U may have to end this season without any silverware.

We still support the club faithfully even if we don't win anything, however we still in the FA Cup, I thinks that our best chance of silverware. CL and EPL will be too hard. :o

kahmun7
27-01-2005, 11:22 PM
since porto CL match last season till now....SAF had not win mourinho once..... :s8:
sigh Mourinho 3 Ferguson 0
:(

usjag_18
27-01-2005, 11:27 PM
Hey guys,

Maybe you guys may think I am crazy or what. But still I am very proud of our players today. They really fight their way. I even cried when R.Giggs scored that very goal against Chelsea. Even though it's not our best performance over the years, but still they are really playing very well. I felt that they are starting to have the fighting spirits like last time. It MIGHT NOT be as strong as the one earlier on, but still I find that they are really starting to fight like a TEAM, they really fighting for the club, manager, supporters & themselves. At least, when people said that Chelsea will win by 2 goals, Man Utd scored once to make them conceded one goal. I am so touched.

The players really did their best. Even they don't win any silverware this season, I am really, really very PROUD of the guys!

Let's us give them 3 cheers! Hip Hip Hooray, Hip Hip Hooray, Hip Hip Hooray!!! Let's not give up on them.

Rgds,
O'

RVN
28-01-2005, 12:00 AM
Giggs: We had Chelsea rattled

Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane are convinced Manchester United have every reason to remain positive despite having Alex Ferguson’s proud domestic semi-final record wrecked by Chelsea.

Having seen last night’s Carling Cup clash built up as the game which could pitch Jose Mourinho’s side into the form slide they have yet to suffer on their march towards an unprecedented quadruple, defeat for the hosts at Old Trafford could leave United fans worrying about the hangover effect their own side will suffer.

The League Cup may never have been a particularly lucky competition for the Red Devils and it certainly ranks a miserable fourth on Ferguson’s list of priorities.

But given the desire and hunger with which the Red Devils approached their task, an eventual 2-1 home loss to a side that already holds a massive 11 point advantage in the title race does not inspire any belief that it will eventually be clawed back.

Instead of looking on the negative side though, Giggs and Keane prefer to focus on the more pleasing aspects of their night’s work.

For the Welshman it was the knowledge that Chelsea found themselves on the rack at times as they struggled to contain United’s second-half surge, while his captain is experienced enough to see the signs that indicate an immediate return to winning ways in the FA Cup against Middlesbrough on Saturday.

“When we upped the tempo of our play in the second half, I didn’t think Chelsea could live with us,” said Giggs, whose brilliant equaliser looked set to turn the contest United’s way.

“We all recognise Chelsea are a quality side but I have not seen them rattled like that before. Once we scored, it looked like there would only be one winner.

“Even when they got the second we had a couple of chances to equalise. We definitely felt we did enough to get something out of the game but I suppose if you make mistakes in a semi-final against a team as good as they are, you will get punished.”

Keane’s theme was remarkably similar and though the veteran Irishman will be suspended for the weekend visit of Steve McClaren’s men, he has no doubt United will recover.

“We will be fine,” he said. “We will bounce back from this.

“We feel hard done by because we were the better side after half-time. Although it looked like we were heading for extra-time, the momentum was with us.

“People can be quick to criticise but you have to give credit to Chelsea as well. We don’t believe we got the rub of the green but in some senses you make your own luck and they have benefited from us giving them too soft goals.”

Neither man was prepared to blame Tim Howard for Damien Duff’s late winner, following the lead of their manager who condemned the failure of his team’s defence to clear the free kick that floated over a sea of bodies before creeping in.

Though condemnation of Howard is harsh given the American produced two outstanding second half saves to keep United in the contest, coming just three weeks after Roy Carroll’s blunder against Tottenham, it just highlighted the goalkeeping problems Ferguson has suffered since Peter Schmeichel quit in 1999.

In contrast, Chelsea have two players of immense talent at their disposal, with Mourinho so confident in his number two that Carlo Cudicini has already been installed as his final keeper even though Petr Cech’s last-gasp stop to deny Cristiano Ronaldo prevented the game heading into extra-time.

With Arsenal to come next Tuesday, AC Milan limbering up for their forthcoming Champions League visit and no time to bring in a reinforcement, Ferguson must hope Carroll and Howard can cut out the mistakes otherwise his team will end the season empty-handed.

Howard is likely to keep his place for the Middlesbrough encounter but changes appear inevitable with Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney certainties to start following Louis Saha’s below-par performance.

“After last night’s disappointment another big game on Saturday is exactly what we need,” said Giggs.

“It’s not as though we ended the game poorly or didn’t play well. The first half could have been better but we can take a lot out of our performance and hopefully we will get back on the winning track against Middlesbrough.”

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/01/27/story186629.html

usjag_18
28-01-2005, 12:32 AM
Giggs: We had Chelsea rattled

Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane are convinced Manchester United have every reason to remain positive despite having Alex Ferguson’s proud domestic semi-final record wrecked by Chelsea.

Having seen last night’s Carling Cup clash built up as the game which could pitch Jose Mourinho’s side into the form slide they have yet to suffer on their march towards an unprecedented quadruple, defeat for the hosts at Old Trafford could leave United fans worrying about the hangover effect their own side will suffer.

The League Cup may never have been a particularly lucky competition for the Red Devils and it certainly ranks a miserable fourth on Ferguson’s list of priorities.

But given the desire and hunger with which the Red Devils approached their task, an eventual 2-1 home loss to a side that already holds a massive 11 point advantage in the title race does not inspire any belief that it will eventually be clawed back.

Instead of looking on the negative side though, Giggs and Keane prefer to focus on the more pleasing aspects of their night’s work.

For the Welshman it was the knowledge that Chelsea found themselves on the rack at times as they struggled to contain United’s second-half surge, while his captain is experienced enough to see the signs that indicate an immediate return to winning ways in the FA Cup against Middlesbrough on Saturday.

“When we upped the tempo of our play in the second half, I didn’t think Chelsea could live with us,” said Giggs, whose brilliant equaliser looked set to turn the contest United’s way.

“We all recognise Chelsea are a quality side but I have not seen them rattled like that before. Once we scored, it looked like there would only be one winner.

“Even when they got the second we had a couple of chances to equalise. We definitely felt we did enough to get something out of the game but I suppose if you make mistakes in a semi-final against a team as good as they are, you will get punished.”

Keane’s theme was remarkably similar and though the veteran Irishman will be suspended for the weekend visit of Steve McClaren’s men, he has no doubt United will recover.

“We will be fine,” he said. “We will bounce back from this.

“We feel hard done by because we were the better side after half-time. Although it looked like we were heading for extra-time, the momentum was with us.

“People can be quick to criticise but you have to give credit to Chelsea as well. We don’t believe we got the rub of the green but in some senses you make your own luck and they have benefited from us giving them too soft goals.”

Neither man was prepared to blame Tim Howard for Damien Duff’s late winner, following the lead of their manager who condemned the failure of his team’s defence to clear the free kick that floated over a sea of bodies before creeping in.

Though condemnation of Howard is harsh given the American produced two outstanding second half saves to keep United in the contest, coming just three weeks after Roy Carroll’s blunder against Tottenham, it just highlighted the goalkeeping problems Ferguson has suffered since Peter Schmeichel quit in 1999.

In contrast, Chelsea have two players of immense talent at their disposal, with Mourinho so confident in his number two that Carlo Cudicini has already been installed as his final keeper even though Petr Cech’s last-gasp stop to deny Cristiano Ronaldo prevented the game heading into extra-time.

With Arsenal to come next Tuesday, AC Milan limbering up for their forthcoming Champions League visit and no time to bring in a reinforcement, Ferguson must hope Carroll and Howard can cut out the mistakes otherwise his team will end the season empty-handed.

Howard is likely to keep his place for the Middlesbrough encounter but changes appear inevitable with Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney certainties to start following Louis Saha’s below-par performance.

“After last night’s disappointment another big game on Saturday is exactly what we need,” said Giggs.

“It’s not as though we ended the game poorly or didn’t play well. The first half could have been better but we can take a lot out of our performance and hopefully we will get back on the winning track against Middlesbrough.”

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/01/27/story186629.html
Giggs & Keane are right!!!

usjag_18
28-01-2005, 12:42 AM

This is not about the record between the manager. I felt that both players & manager will be sharing the responsibility. And I still think that no matter what happen, the players tried their best. It's also depending on luck, I guess we just dun have the luck. From the first half, when Q.Fortune was being fouled by W.Bridge and not given a penalty and a handball during second half, already shown that Man Utd doesn't have the luck. Instead, our players using their talented and hardworking attitude and never give up (NEVER SAY DIE) attitude fought back and got ourselves a goal. Even though T.Howard conceded the 2nd goal, he did saved Man Utd twice earlier on and most important, all our players tried their best. Even Q.Fortune who I despise most did his best. So let's not blame the players or the manager!
And remember, after so many games, Man Utd become the 1st team to score against Chelsea, so this shows that Chelsea is not UNBREAKABLE!

Now let's go on with our lives and get back our feet & prepare for the next game!

Rgds,
O'

SirAlex
28-01-2005, 07:21 AM
Thanks to such fan loyalty, we are the best supported club in the world, not no-marks like some other clubs with transient fly-by-night converts.

The boys will set things right after our unlucky loss in the Carling Cup. Boro and the Highbury outfit will have to face fired-up opposition.

Raul7
28-01-2005, 07:32 AM
Think Boro should not be a problem to Man Utd..

Ultimate10002000
28-01-2005, 08:50 AM
'We had Chelsea rattled' - Giggs
Ryan Giggs and Roy Keane are convinced Manchester United have every reason to remain positive despite having Sir Alex Ferguson's proud domestic semi-final record wrecked by Chelsea.

Having seen last night's Carling Cup clash built up as the game which could pitch Jose Mourinho's side into the form slide they have yet to suffer on their march towards an unprecedented quadruple, defeat for the hosts at Old Trafford could leave United fans worrying about the hangover effect their own side will suffer.

The League Cup may never have been a particularly lucky competition for the Red Devils and it certainly ranks a miserable fourth on Ferguson's list of priorities.

Instead of looking on the negative side though, Giggs and Keane prefer to focus on the more pleasing aspects of their night's work.

For the Welshman it was the knowledge that Chelsea found themselves on the rack at times as they struggled to contain United's second-half surge, while his captain is experienced enough to see the signs that indicate an immediate return to winning ways in the FA Cup against Middlesbrough on Saturday.

'When we upped the tempo of our play in the second half, I didn't think Chelsea could live with us,' said Giggs, whose brilliant equaliser looked set to turn the contest United's way.

'We all recognise Chelsea are a quality side but I have not seen them rattled like that before. Once we scored, it looked like there would only be one winner.

'Even when they got the second we had a couple of chances to equalise. We definitely felt we did enough to get something out of the game but I suppose if you make mistakes in a semi-final against a team as good as they are, you will get punished.'

Keane's theme was remarkably similar and though the veteran Irishman will be suspended for the weekend visit of Steve McClaren's men, he has no doubt United will recover.

'We will be fine,' he said. 'We will bounce back from this.

'We feel hard done by because we were the better side after half-time. Although it looked like we were heading for extra-time, the momentum was with us.

'People can be quick to criticise but you have to give credit to Chelsea as well. We don't believe we got the rub of the green but in some senses you make your own luck and they have benefited from us giving them too soft goals.'

Neither man was prepared to blame Tim Howard for Damien Duff's late winner, following the lead of their manager who condemned the failure of his team's defence to clear the free-kick that floated over a sea of bodies before creeping in.

Though condemnation of Howard is harsh given the American produced two outstanding second half saves to keep United in the contest, coming just three weeks after Roy Carroll's blunder against Tottenham, it just highlighted the goalkeeping problems Ferguson has suffered since Peter Schmeichel quit in 1999.

In contrast, Chelsea have two players of immense talent at their disposal, with Mourinho so confident in his number two that Carlo Cudicini has already been installed as his final keeper even though Petr Cech's last-gasp stop to deny Cristiano Ronaldo prevented the game heading into extra-time.

Howard is likely to keep his place for the Middlesbrough encounter but changes appear inevitable with Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney certainties to start following Louis Saha's below-par performance.

'After last night's disappointment another big game on Saturday is exactly what we need,' said Giggs.

'It's not as though we ended the game poorly or didn't play well. The first half could have been better but we can take a lot out of our performance and hopefully we will get back on the winning track against Middlesbrough.'

Ultimate10002000
28-01-2005, 08:50 AM
English media berate Howard
Associated Press
MANCHESTER -- Tim Howard lost his job as Manchester United's starting goalkeeper for Premier League games back in September. Now the American's role as starter for cup games could be in jeopardy.

Howard is under scrutiny for letting in the winning goal in Man U's 2-1 loss to Chelsea in the second leg of the League Cup semifinal Wednesday night at Old Trafford.

Howard stood frozen as Damien Duff's long-range free kick from the right wing bounced in front of the goal and curled inside the far post late in the game.

Chelsea reached the Feb. 27 final against Liverpool, while Man U lost for the first time in 20 domestic cup semifinals under manager Alex Ferguson.

Howard made two standout saves earlier to keep the Red Devils in the game, but his indecision on Duff's goal was the major talking point.

Duff's kick floated over the heads of all the strikers and defenders. Howard didn't react, apparently expecting his defenders to clear the ball.

Howard was not available to speak to reporters after the game. Publicly, Ferguson isn't blaming Howard. "As far as I am concerned, the defenders should be attacking the ball,'' Ferguson said. "Instead we have let it bounce and left Tim Howard rooted to his line. We are disappointed because we are in a semifinal and we have thrown it away.''

Several commentators said Howard should have either come out of his goal to punch the ball away or moved to block it on the line. British newspapers were more blunt.

"Dim Howard,'' the Daily Mail said in a backpage headline. Howard must now wait to find out whether Ferguson will keep him in the lineup for Saturday's FA Cup fourth-round game at home to Middlesbrough.

Ferguson could switch to Irish keeper Roy Carroll, who is the club's starter for league games and most Champions League matches. Howard, who moved to the Reds two seasons ago from Major League Soccer's MetroStars, has played in all United's games in the League Cup and FA Cup competitions.

He started in the first seven league games and three Champions League matches but lost his place after conceding 11 goals in his first nine appearances.

"Saturday will be a test and a challenge for us,'' Ferguson said. "I am not really worried about having to pick the players up but their recovery from this game is important. We will give them plenty of rest before the Middlesbrough game and hopefully we will get into the next round.''

kahmun7
28-01-2005, 10:36 AM
Boro is a tricky and dangerous opposition, with McClaren at helm..Man Utd's record against them has never been really good with the encounter at Old Trafford earlier this season ending at 1-1. And we should never underestimate the likes of Stewart Downing, Hasselbaink and Zenden... though their defence looked a bit shaky recently, with Norwich coming from 3 goals behind to draw the game 4-4 against them, I still think we should watch out, and keep the pressure on them.

MatrixFanatic
28-01-2005, 05:57 PM
Siao liao jinx opposition Boro... but with United's current form, I think should be able to make it. :D

mclarenfan
28-01-2005, 07:51 PM
When talking about the carling cup...everyone points out that...it was lost because of Howard mistake....Even myself too
It just occured to me...Hey...what about the first goal scored by Lamp-part ....where is the marking? There....that was the first blunder that everyone overlooked especially the media...

Lamb-art if you are reading this thread..iam sorry for the spelling..we usually get the opponent players name wrong....erhem...a bit often...hope you dont mind....erhem...we definetly dont....Er...this is man utd thread..you are not supposed to be here...so....(opens the door)..Btw i thought i saw your coach...took a pic of him.. :s45:

usjag_18
28-01-2005, 08:04 PM
When talking about the carling cup...everyone points out that...it was lost because of Howard mistake....Even myself too
It just occured to me...Hey...what about the first goal scored by Lamp-part ....where is the marking? There....that was the first blunder that everyone overlooked especially the media...

Lamb-art if you are reading this thread..iam sorry for the spelling..we usually get the opponent players name wrong....erhem...a bit often...hope you dont mind....erhem...we definetly dont....Er...this is man utd thread..you are not supposed to be here...so....(opens the door)..Btw i thought i saw your coach...took a pic of him.. :s45:
Seriously, stop blaming T.Howard is the first thing everyone should do. Becos wat Howard did is not as bad as Dudek. Moreover, why always blaming the GKs for conceeding goals? What abt the defence in front of them? Shouldn't them be responsible for such problems too?
Anyway, i think we should stop toking abt this topic and go on wif our next game.

Rgds,
O'

Ultimate10002000
28-01-2005, 10:10 PM
Djemba-Djemba out to prove his worth

Eric Djemba-Djemba has set himself a 30-game target for Manchester United this season as he attempts to prove he is worthy of a place in Sir Alex Ferguson's squad.

Djemba-Djemba: Intrest from Benfica and PSG. (Alex Livesey /GettyImages)

The Cameroon midfielder has failed to win over the United support since his £3.5million move from Nantes 18 months ago and Ferguson has hinted he would be prepared to release the 24-year-old if a suitable offer was made.

Benfica and Paris St Germain are both believed to have inquired about Djemba-Djemba but unless they make a firm bid before Monday's transfer deadline, the Doula-born player will be staying where he is.

And that suits the Djemba-Djemba just fine because he is not prepared to give up on his United dream just yet, insisting he can still improve and cement a regular place in Ferguson's first team plans.

'I have played 17 matches so far this season,' he said. 'If I can reach 30 by the end of the season that would be very good for me.

'I know I can play and I have progressed a lot since I came here but I am still learning. Manchester United is a big team, with big players, so I have to wait for my time.'

Although he started the season in Ferguson's side, his more recent appearances have been limited to domestic cup competitions and scope for another run-out in the Carling Cup came to an end with Wednesday's semi-final exit to Chelsea.

However, he should play against Middlesbrough tomorrow as United look to make up for their midweek disappointment by advancing to the fifth round of the FA Cup at the expense of Old Trafford old-boy Steve McClaren.

Ferguson's former assistant has tended to make life difficult for the Red Devils on his return trips and Boro had the better of a 1-1 draw the last time they headed to the north-west.

Since then though, United have cruised to a 2-0 win at the Riverside on New Years Day and will start heavy favourites to confirm that form.

Ferguson already knows he will be without suspended skipper Roy Keane and ankle-injury victim Darren Fletcher and is likely to freshen his squad up in the hope of getting a far more convincing performance from his team than the one which pitched them into an unwanted third-round replay in Exeter three weeks ago.

Alan Smith is in line for a recall providing the former Leeds man recovers from an ankle problem.

Wayne Rooney, whose introduction for the final half-hour against Chelsea sparked a vast improvement in form, should also play along with goalkeeper Tim Howard, who has been exonerated by his manager for Damien Duff's cruel late winner on Wednesday.

Ronaldo7
28-01-2005, 10:47 PM
just bring on boro , arsenal etc :evil:

lets see how the players respond :s7:

RVN
28-01-2005, 11:26 PM
Greedy ******* Glazer back again. :mad:

Tycoon renews bid for Man Utd

David Bond, Evening Standard
28 January 2005
AMERICAN sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer is launching a new takeover bid for Manchester United. Despite massive supporter opposition to his plans to seize control of Old Trafford, the US billionaire and his two sons, Joel and Avi, are pressing ahead in their attempt to buy the club.

As the news emerged, Manchester United shares, which had been broadly flat this morning, fell 6¾p to 245¾p.

According to City sources, Glazer, who owns 28.1% of United, has new backing for an £800m bid and is trying to secure a deal with the club's major shareholders, the Irish entrepreneurs JP McManus and John Magnier.

It is understood he has made contact with representatives of their Cubic Expression investment company, which owns 29% of the club, but that they are not, at this stage, interested in opening negotiations.

Glazer failed in his last attempt to buy United in November after his bankers JP Morgan pulled out after refusing to back his move to vote three directors off the United plc board at the club's AGM.

His City public relations advisers, Brunswick, also withdrew as supporters mounted an aggressive campaign to derail his attempt to buy the club.

But the Evening Standard, This is Money's sister title, has learned that Glazer's representatives have been back in touch with Brunswick over the past two weeks to see if they would be prepared to get back on board - a move which has been rebuffed by the spindoctors.

It has also emerged that he now has the backing of a major investment bank, believed to be NM Rothschild. The legal firm Allen & Overy, who backed his previous bid, are still on board and are playing a central role in the fresh takeover move.

Unlike his previous bid, Glazer believes he has come up with a proposal which is less reliant on debt. United ended talks on the first bid with Glazer and his family, saying it was 'overly leveraged'.

According to sources, Glazer has come up with a new scheme which reduces borrowings but that will be covered by a 20% increase in ticket prices in the second year of the new regime - a move certain to infuriate fans.

Glazer could announce his latest approach as early as next week and that is certain to spark a new round of protests. United manager Sir Alex Ferguson expressed his opposition to the move in November when he said: 'We don't want the club to be in anyone else's hands.'

However, the club's board have indicated in the past that they would be prepared to back a 300p a share offer from Glazer. But just before Christmas they told him during a meeting in Florida that they would not open talks unless he made a formal offer for the company. United's shares were trading unchanged on the London Stock Exchange today at 252p a share, valuing the company at £663m.

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=397536&in_page_id=2

usjag_18
29-01-2005, 12:20 AM
Greedy ******* Glazer back again. :mad:

Tycoon renews bid for Man Utd

David Bond, Evening Standard
28 January 2005
AMERICAN sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer is launching a new takeover bid for Manchester United. Despite massive supporter opposition to his plans to seize control of Old Trafford, the US billionaire and his two sons, Joel and Avi, are pressing ahead in their attempt to buy the club.

As the news emerged, Manchester United shares, which had been broadly flat this morning, fell 6¾p to 245¾p.

According to City sources, Glazer, who owns 28.1% of United, has new backing for an £800m bid and is trying to secure a deal with the club's major shareholders, the Irish entrepreneurs JP McManus and John Magnier.

It is understood he has made contact with representatives of their Cubic Expression investment company, which owns 29% of the club, but that they are not, at this stage, interested in opening negotiations.

Glazer failed in his last attempt to buy United in November after his bankers JP Morgan pulled out after refusing to back his move to vote three directors off the United plc board at the club's AGM.

His City public relations advisers, Brunswick, also withdrew as supporters mounted an aggressive campaign to derail his attempt to buy the club.

But the Evening Standard, This is Money's sister title, has learned that Glazer's representatives have been back in touch with Brunswick over the past two weeks to see if they would be prepared to get back on board - a move which has been rebuffed by the spindoctors.

It has also emerged that he now has the backing of a major investment bank, believed to be NM Rothschild. The legal firm Allen & Overy, who backed his previous bid, are still on board and are playing a central role in the fresh takeover move.

Unlike his previous bid, Glazer believes he has come up with a proposal which is less reliant on debt. United ended talks on the first bid with Glazer and his family, saying it was 'overly leveraged'.

According to sources, Glazer has come up with a new scheme which reduces borrowings but that will be covered by a 20% increase in ticket prices in the second year of the new regime - a move certain to infuriate fans.

Glazer could announce his latest approach as early as next week and that is certain to spark a new round of protests. United manager Sir Alex Ferguson expressed his opposition to the move in November when he said: 'We don't want the club to be in anyone else's hands.'

However, the club's board have indicated in the past that they would be prepared to back a 300p a share offer from Glazer. But just before Christmas they told him during a meeting in Florida that they would not open talks unless he made a formal offer for the company. United's shares were trading unchanged on the London Stock Exchange today at 252p a share, valuing the company at £663m.

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/news/article.html?in_article_id=397536&in_page_id=2
He really should just fark off & go to h*ll!

Raul7
29-01-2005, 12:41 AM
ya loh he better go and buy coca cola...**** him.... :(

usjag_18
29-01-2005, 02:13 AM
ya loh he better go and buy coca cola...**** him.... :(
He got no $$$ to buy such a big company like coca-cola... lolx...

RVN
29-01-2005, 02:20 AM
Smith a doubt for Boro match

Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has praised Middlesbrough ahead of the FA Cup fourth round tie with Steve McClaren's men.
Ferguson stresses United are determined to retain the trophy they won last May after beating Millwall in Cardiff and feels it was important the club sent out the right message after their sensational withdrawal from the competition in 2000.
"You have to be satisfied with a home draw," he told Sky Sports News. "I'm very conscious it's a Premier League team and Middlesbrough have a very good record over the years.
"It should be a cracking cup tie and we want to make it a real cup tie. When you get an atmosphere like we had on Wednesday, I'd say there's no better place.
"Roy Keane is suspended and young [Darren] Fletcher is still injured although, hopefully, he'll be okay for Tuesday [against Arsenal].
"Alan Smith, we thought was okay on Wednesday morning but then he had a little twinge that stopped him playing so we have to make a decision if it's worth risking him or saving him for Tuesday."
Ferguson maintained his belief that United are among the top two clubs in the country, despite their current league position of third, and he also continues to blame Damien Duff's midweek winner on his defenders rather than under-fire keeper Tim Howard.
"I think both [United and Chelsea] showed their form is terrific. I don't think anyone can disagree that both sides are currently playing the best football.
"We've been undefeated since October and Chelsea are on a fantastic run. You saw that on Wednesday.
"I think modern day journalism is definitely sometimes negative in these situations [with Duff's goal]. But I have no qualms about responsibilities and who caused the goal on Wednesday and all the defenders know they should have cleared that ball. It's come 45 yards or something like that and they deal with that all the time in the Premier League so it was a giveaway from us."
Switching his focus to the tough assignment against Middlesbrough, Ferguson welcomes the challenge posed by his former assistant McClaren and his side.
"Steve obviously knows the players but I don't think it gives him a greater insight than other managers," he continued.
"A lot play five in midfield, slow it down and try to cause problems but Middlesbrough have a good record here going back to Bryan Robson's time.
"But the FA Cup is a little bit different as we have got a great record here in the FA Cup.
"Steve's done exceptionally well and balanced out young players from the youth team. Stewart Downing, in particular, and the young boy [James] Morrison and [Tony] McMahon and I think they have a vibrant youth team. They've added [Michael] Reiziger, [Ray] Parlour, [Mark] Viduka and [Jimmy Floyd] Hasselbaink and that's given Steve an experienced and strong squad.
"The great benefit of winning the cup is you've got to defend it. Only one team can defend it and that's the winner.
"I'm proud of it. We exorcised the ghosts around the club from the time we didn't appear in the cup when, quite rightly, there was criticism.
"It was something I didn't want to happen but we were forced into it in a way. Not everyone understood but I understand the criticism but I also understand the policy of going to Brazil."
Ferguson admitted there is "absolutely nothing" going on in the transfer market with United ahead of Monday's deadline.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=252617&cpid=1&CLID=1&lid=&title=Fergie+expecting+tough+tie&channel=Premiership

Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 09:08 AM
Well Boro is really a very tricky team, it is neither strong or weak. If the opponent is weak it is weak and if the opponent is strong it is strong. So Man U must be careful when playing against such team. But still i believe Man U should be able to win this match based on their current good form.

Raul7
29-01-2005, 09:13 AM
He got no $$$ to buy such a big company like coca-cola... lolx...

hahaha...as quoted from King Cantona :s13:

Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 09:19 AM
Well guess he will just go to the vending machine and buy 1 can of coca cola.

Raul7
29-01-2005, 09:20 AM
Well guess he will just go to the vending machine and buy 1 can of coca cola.

hahahahaha....LMAO.... :D

mclarenfan
29-01-2005, 10:35 AM
Why not Glazer go after Liverpool ?...I heard before the start of season...something like Liverpool being taken over by Thailand's someone....but not sure what was the progress of it....Anyway maybe Glazer has better chance there right?....But i hate to see a club like Liverpool being taken over....cos of their history...they look respectful as they are right now....
Hey Glazer got offer wan or not?....Buy Norwich get Exeter free! :D

outofmyway
29-01-2005, 01:42 PM
Actually I think why Man Utd got themselves in such a difficult situation is because they took a gamble in investing in young players and when the young players don't turn out as good as they were thought to be, the club loses out to other top teams which has more established players in their ranks.

RVN
29-01-2005, 01:53 PM
Actually I think why Man Utd got themselves in such a difficult situation is because they took a gamble in investing in young players and when the young players don't turn out as good as they were thought to be, the club loses out to other top teams which has more established players in their ranks.

I personally think Rooney and Ronaldo will turn out to be great buy for us in the future, give them time.

Yeah there has been some poor buy from us, Djemba, Kleberson, Bellion to name a few, we should sell them. :s27:

Raul7
29-01-2005, 02:14 PM
I personally think Rooney and Ronaldo will turn out to be great buy for us in the future, give them time.

Yeah there has been some poor buy from us, Djemba, Kleberson, Bellion to name a few, we should sell them. :s27:

yup totally agree. so far the youth i have seen was scholes,giggs,becks,neville brothers. :)

ragnarok95
29-01-2005, 02:37 PM
I believe bellion is not bad...

Ronaldo7
29-01-2005, 04:40 PM
bellion is a mystery :s22:

i believe kleberson is a good player , but just not suitable for the epl just like veron & forlan

djembax2 needs to improve more on his passing . lose the ball too often liao

Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 05:19 PM
I think the hot prospect for Man U will be Ronaldo who can take over from Gigg when he retire

United_Tremble
29-01-2005, 06:27 PM
hope middelsbr can win tis one, 1-0 to middelsbr

wednesday predition ars win manu 2-0

my other predition, there will be someone drinking milk somewhere.

not happy? cum changi village find me we tok

kahmun7
29-01-2005, 06:38 PM

har har.. I wonder where the real United_Treble is hiding liao...

United_Treble
29-01-2005, 07:50 PM
wa, got peo faked me, dare to say mu lose, damn

RVN
29-01-2005, 08:10 PM

No one give a bother about your prediction, you stupid freak. :s8:

United_Treble
29-01-2005, 08:17 PM
RVN, we r two diff person, that freak is anti mu, say mu lose

kahmun7
29-01-2005, 09:34 PM
speak of the devil, me and my big fat mouth... :s8:

nakitas
29-01-2005, 09:47 PM
Any predictions for tml morning's match against Boro???

ManUtd have dropped a league cup, hope they wont miss out on tis FA cup also... :)

Raul7
29-01-2005, 09:55 PM
I think the hot prospect for Man U will be Ronaldo who can take over from Gigg when he retire

if not for the bloody chelsea, Utd already got Robben to replace Giggs..ccb chelsea... :s27:

Raul7
29-01-2005, 09:55 PM
Any predictions for tml morning's match against Boro???

ManUtd have dropped a league cup, hope they wont miss out on tis FA cup also... :)

Man Utd 2 Boro 1 :)

SirAlex
29-01-2005, 10:11 PM
We are ready for action. Enjoy the match :evil: :)

Raul7
29-01-2005, 10:15 PM
We are ready for action. Enjoy the match :evil: :)

yeah.....will be watching.... :s13:

mclarenfan
29-01-2005, 10:19 PM
you all chiong for the 1am match..till 3am leh..sian man..i whole day out now eyes very sleepy, but i wanna watch!

Have a coffee 10mins before match....it will help...i will have coffee myself...

United_Tremble
29-01-2005, 10:22 PM

cum changi village find mi, we tok cock sing song drink milk, make zhun predition together

United_Tremble
29-01-2005, 10:24 PM
hope man u lose to middelsbr today, middelsbr e bogey team for man u

blackevil_2000
29-01-2005, 11:15 PM
i think joaquin will cum jose dun like his lifestyle leh........

Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 11:21 PM
I personally think Man U will be able to win this one based on current form. A small victory for Man U perhaps.

RVN
29-01-2005, 11:23 PM
hope man u lose to middelsbr today, middelsbr e bogey team for man u

http://www.soccergaming.tv/images/smilies/puke.gif

sour graphes. you life is only bent on seeing us losing, you cunt.

mclarenfan
29-01-2005, 11:26 PM
sleep at 3am wakeup at 9am....6 hrs sleep...can wat?...if cannot think about BMT...during range ...we get to sleep only 4-5 hrs at best....hmmm...i dunno la...me?..i can go to sleep even after having coffee about 15 mins ago.........(goes to make coffee =:p )...

Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 11:37 PM
Wa...you people are really into it man. Salute.....well for me i cant stay up till that time. Guess i will just look at the result tomorrow morning from Soccernet.

jujube
29-01-2005, 11:53 PM
when and what time is the match with boro?

AhHuat
30-01-2005, 12:05 AM

RVN
30-01-2005, 03:10 AM
3-0 we are winning. :D

Rooney with 2 wonderful goals. :s12:

OKK77
30-01-2005, 03:18 AM
Superb strikes by our No. 8.

trax06
30-01-2005, 03:19 AM
great goals by the kid.

LeGodCantona
30-01-2005, 03:23 AM
A good commanding performance. His double is of my standard, of which I am satisfied. The No. 8 has a future at United.

RVN
30-01-2005, 03:25 AM
Rooney's volley, amazing technique and timing to hit that, just out of this world. His chip was also amazing, first touche, what a finish!

How awesome was ronaldo's little flick where he looked the opposite way and flicked it back to giggs Just like ronaldinho does.

We pretty much dominated, without hitting top gear. They did mess around with it quite a bit, but you always felt they could step it up if needs be Great performances from the lads

Hope we do the same against arse on Tuesday. ;)

trax06
30-01-2005, 04:03 AM
what happened to Alan Smith?

United_Treble
30-01-2005, 09:10 AM
Rooney's volley, amazing technique and timing to hit that, just out of this world. His chip was also amazing, first touche, what a finish!

How awesome was ronaldo's little flick where he looked the opposite way and flicked it back to giggs Just like ronaldinho does.

We pretty much dominated, without hitting top gear. They did mess around with it quite a bit, but you always felt they could step it up if needs be Great performances from the lads

Hope we do the same against arse on Tuesday. ;)
it will be difficult at highbury

blackevil_2000
30-01-2005, 09:22 AM
i dun think so see how gunner form see manU form!!!!!!!!!!!1

Ultimate10002000
30-01-2005, 09:29 AM
A great victory for Man U by trashing Boro 3-0...well done. It was a great game. Man U is really on a very good form right now.

blackevil_2000
30-01-2005, 09:35 AM
yeah wif all the star performing if van is back it wil be free scoring

Ultimate10002000
30-01-2005, 09:37 AM
Van will be back for the most important match and that is against AC Milan. But not sure whether he will be a sub or in the starting lineup. Depends on how his injuries progress, think it is more or less ok already.

blackevil_2000
30-01-2005, 09:47 AM
yeah think ac will lose!!!!!!!!!!!1

Ronaldo7
30-01-2005, 10:34 AM
what happened to Alan Smith?

ankle injury . should be back soon :s22:

didn't watch the 2nd half , too tired liao . anyone knows whether is there a replay for this match ?

arsenal is next :evil:

Raul7
30-01-2005, 10:41 AM
Utd will overcome Arsenal once again with Rooney..hehehee:)