View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Ronaldo_7
25-02-2005, 10:16 PM
RUUD TO START AGAINST POMPEY
Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed Ruud van Nistelrooy will start the Barclays Premiership encounter with Portsmouth at Old Trafford.
Van Nistelrooy made a 30-minute appearance against AC Milan in midweek after three months out with an Achilles injury and the Dutchman will now step up his drive for match fitness by taking his place in what is likely to be a much-changed starting line-up.
“Ruud will be in from the start, no doubt about that,” Ferguson told the Manchester Evening News.
“It is always difficult coming on off the bench, especially after a long time out with injury and in a match like that. But Ruud did really well.”
Prior to the FA Cup win over Everton, Ferguson said some of his senior stars would need a rest this weekend, so Roy Keane is almost certain to stand down, while Wayne Rooney might also be granted a break.
Roy Carroll is expected to continue in goal despite his slip against Milan, while Mikael Silvestre and Phil Neville are hoping for a recall.
Pompey coach Joe Jordan believes his players have been rejuvenated this week by the prospect of facing in-form United.
Portsmouth are bottom of the Barclays Premiership form table after a run of only one win in their last nine league games.
But Jordan believes Saturday's match can spark an upturn in their fortunes and prompt an impressive end to the season.
Former United striker Jordan said: “This is a fixture that the players must relish.
“It is a game that only comes round once, maybe twice a season if you are lucky enough to draw Manchester United in a cup competition.
“The stadium holds 67,000 people, it is a fantastic atmosphere and you get to play against some of the best players in the world.
“These matches are what the Premiership is all about and if we can go there and give a good account of ourselves that will give us a lot of confidence for the games to come.”
Former Scotland international Jordan, who scored 37 goals in 109 league games for United in the 1980s, is expecting to see a different United performance from the one he witnessed against AC Milan on Wednesday night.
Jordan added: “I thought the quality levels from both sides on Wednesday were extremely high.
“I think Milan surprised United a little bit with the way they put them on the back foot but this will be a totally different game.
“We cannot expect to go there and keep the ball the way Milan did because they have got some of the best players in the world.
“Going to Old Trafford is never easy, especially with the form United are in at the moment. We are expecting a tough game.”
Goalkeeper Jamie Ashdown and midfielder Patrik Berger must pass fitness tests ahead of the game.
Both were forced to miss training this week with flu but are expected to be named in the starting line-up if they recover in time.
Captain Arjan De Zeeuw is fit after a shin injury while striker Lomana LuaLua is hoping for a recall, but Hayden Foxe, Svetoslav Todorov and Vincent Pericard are still out with long-term injuries.
Manchester United (from): Carroll, Howard, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Brown, Silvestre, Heinze, O’Shea, Spector, Fortune, Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Giggs, Miller, van Nistelrooy, Smith, Saha, Rooney, Bellion, Rossi.
Portsmouth (from): Ashdown, Cisse, De Zeeuw, Stefanovic, Taylor, Stone, O’Neil, Hughes, Berger, Kamara, Yakubu, Primus, Griffin, LuaLua, Skopelitis, Mezague, Rodic, Chalkias.
yeah man.. hope Ruud will provide more attacking edge to the team and bring the morale to a sky high before the Milan game.. :)
Raul7
25-02-2005, 10:22 PM
yeah man.. hope Ruud will provide more attacking edge to the team and bring the morale to a sky high before the Milan game.. :)
hope he can score againt portmouth this coming epl game :)
usjag_18
25-02-2005, 10:22 PM
Getting rid of Tim was coward's way, claims U.S. coach
Sir Alex Ferguson has been blamed for the goalkeeping problems that have blighted Manchester United's season. US coach Bruce Arena insists that the United manager was wrong to ditch Tim Howard when the Amercian goalkeeper made mistakes in consecutive matches last September. He said: "It was clearly the easy option to blame the American goalkeeper. Instead of sticking by him and building his confidence, it was decided that Tim should be out of the picture. I still believe he will become United's No.1 for a long time and I know he will be the American No.1."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
I disagree with B.Arena. To be fair, did he choose T.Howard? NOt that Sir A.Fergie not giving him chances. Though I support T.Howard, but seriously, I am also very supersitious person, I believe that T.Howard just dun have R.Carroll's luck even though I felt that in skills and speed terms wise, he's better, but he still need some luck.
Rgds,
O'
blackevil_2000
25-02-2005, 10:24 PM
Ferguson targets Robinson
Sir Alex Ferguson has responded to Manchester United's goalkeeping crisis by stepping up his interest in England No.1 Paul Robinson. United have already sounded out Tottenham via third parties and now the London club are steeling themselves for a summer bid for Robinson, whom they picked up for a bargain £2m from cash-strapped Leeds. Spurs will want at least £5m now for the 25-year-old whose brilliant form at White Hart Lane has helped displace David James in the England team.
Staff reporter, Daily Express
Can Fergie repeat triumph of Turin?
AC Milan's Clarence Seedorf believes Manchester United are capable of repeating one of their most memorable European achievements when they travel to Italy in a fortnight. He said: "Yes, we must remember what United did at Juventus in 1999. That showed what they are capable of. So, although we have got a good result, this is not over yet. This will make United even more determined at the San Siro."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
The ref's a bleeper
English clubs look set to test a new bleeper system which will tell refs when a ball is over the goal-line. FA chiefs will volunteer to be guinea pigs for the space-age technology when football’s rule-makers meet in Cardiff tomorrow. A microchip inside the ball will alert refs when it crosses the goal-line. It will help avoid incidents like last month’s Roy Carroll controversy, when the Manchester United keeper spilled a long-range Spurs shot at least a yard over the line but no goal was given. The idea will be looked at by the International FA Board — the four home associations plus FIFA.
Staff reporter, The Sun
i think they dun wanna carroll liao
Raul7
25-02-2005, 10:26 PM
i think they dun wanna carroll liao
kau, so $ for robinson sia.....
blackevil_2000
25-02-2005, 10:29 PM
kau, so $ for robinson sia.....
but realli carroll will leave 4 free cuz he dun wanna to sign
mclarenfan
25-02-2005, 10:34 PM
Everytime i see Ronaldinho...he keep reminding me ....how would it be if he was at Man utd...sigh....hope to see a brazil striker at united one day.
United one of 4 clubs after Essien
Four of Europe's biggest clubs have contacted Michael Essien's agent according to the man himself Fabien Piveteau.
The versatile midfielder is very highly regarded and enhanced his growing reputation in a defensive role when helping Lyon triumph 3-0 against Werder Bremen in the UEFA Champions League in midweek.
After impressing against Manchester United in the group stages of the competition, The Red Devils are one of the clubs trailing the Ghanaian.
Sir Alex Ferguson is believed to be pondering options for a long-term replacement for skipper Roy Keane after the signing of Eric Djemba-Djemba failed to work out, with the Cameroon international departing for Aston Villa after failing to make the grade at Old Trafford.
Arsenal, Juventus, Real Madrid and Barcelona will compete for Essien's signature should Lyon decide to cash in on his talents in the summer.
"I know Juventus are attracted to him," Piveteau told L'Equipe.
"However, I haven't had direct contact. But that is the case with people from Manchester United, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Arsenal."
Juventus vice-chairman Roberto Bettega was apparently in the Monaco stands last Friday to see the defensive midfielder compete in the crunch League One fixture.
Source (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=258284&CPID=24&CLID=1&lid=&title=Four+contact+Essien's+agent&channel=Premiership)
Raul7
25-02-2005, 10:37 PM
but realli carroll will leave 4 free cuz he dun wanna to sign
ya, all the best to him if he leave Utd.
gxelan
25-02-2005, 11:04 PM
yea....and robinson seems too ex to buy..and might nt be really worth it ...
Ultimate10002000
25-02-2005, 11:23 PM
Everytime i see Ronaldinho...he keep reminding me ....how would it be if he was at Man utd...sigh....hope to see a brazil striker at united one day.
I remember last time Man U want to buy Ronaldinho is to replace Beckham who left the club for Real Madrid. Even if he really play for Man U think he will be a winger more than a striker. He is a left side player who might compete for a staring role with Giggs. C.Ronaldo is a good replacement anyway so not too bad.
Raul7
25-02-2005, 11:28 PM
I remember last time Man U want to buy Ronaldinho is to replace Beckham who left the club for Real Madrid. Even if he really play for Man U think he will be a winger more than a striker. He is a left side player who might compete for a staring role with Giggs. C.Ronaldo is a good replacement anyway so not too bad.
c.ronaldo is confirm a good buy no matter what..... :)
Ronaldo_7
25-02-2005, 11:44 PM
Ronaldo is an investment for the future.. SAF going to groom him into one of the best players known globally :)
kahmun7
25-02-2005, 11:49 PM
yea....and robinson seems too ex to buy..and might nt be really worth it ...
not really.. if really 5 mil nia.. I would have jump at the deal, Caroll well would like him to stay but I still wonder why he don;t want to sign the bloody contract.he's already considered the top choice keeper, what more he wants? well if he do leave... Robbo will really be a good deal for a replacement
usjag_18
25-02-2005, 11:51 PM
I WILL NOT WANNA MAN. UNITED SPENDING ANOTHER 12M POUNDS ON P.ROBINSON, DEFINITELY NOT WHEN HE HAVEN'T PROVE HIS WORTHES YET!!!
usjag_18
25-02-2005, 11:54 PM
not really.. if really 5 mil nia.. I would have jump at the deal, Caroll well would like him to stay but I still wonder why he don;t want to sign the bloody contract.he's already considered the top choice keeper, what more he wants? well if he do leave... Robbo will really be a good deal for a replacement
R.Carroll got the luck and skills larh. But P.Robinson is not bad. However, he's not worths Man. United paying 12m pounds for him. I think Spurs is RIDICULOUS! They can go and dream for the future.
Raul7
25-02-2005, 11:56 PM
Ronaldo is an investment for the future.. SAF going to groom him into one of the best players known globally :)
confirm...... :)
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 01:01 AM
if really 5million pounds for robinson, then i dun mind... and since carroll seems set to leave, we really nid a gd and experienced GK... all our departments have been fixed except GK department
well, we just signed 16-year old German GK for the future. :s22:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/england/manutd/zieler_ferguson.jpg
Ron-Robert Zieler has been paraded by Manchester United after completing his move from Cologne.
The young keeper agreed a three-year contract with The Red Devils in August as earlier reported and will bid to make a name for himself at Old Trafford.
"It is a great feeling," said Zieler recently. "Something entirely special.
"The chance to play at such a world-class club comes along very rarely.
"I have already been very impressed. I saw many pros like striker Ruud van Nistelrooy and also coach Alex Ferguson.
"I will be in good hands. I have the ambition, the discipline and, in addition, the will.
"Money played no role in my decision. I only want to play football."
United scouts have informed the German media that they rate the 16-year-old as the best keeper of his age group in Europe.
Zieler will have a pal from his homeland at United in the shape of young midfielder Markus Neumayr.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=258401
MatrixFanatic
26-02-2005, 08:28 AM
^ Ho sey liao. Howard first choice and Zieler second. :D
kahmun7
26-02-2005, 08:36 AM
R.Carroll got the luck and skills larh. But P.Robinson is not bad. However, he's not worths Man. United paying 12m pounds for him. I think Spurs is RIDICULOUS! They can go and dream for the future.
the news clipping says 5mil nia.. 12 mil maybe not lar...
but actually Robbo is not that bad lar.. or you prefer Calamity James??? :s8:
Caroll is not bad.. but he wouldn't sign the bloody contract.. what to do?
Ronaldo7
26-02-2005, 11:11 AM
^ Ho sey liao. Howard first choice and Zieler second. :D
we still got luke steele in the reserves . wonder is he any good anot :s22:
Haha, more crap from the sun. :s39:
Barca in Giggs swoop
By BEN KINSELLA
BARCELONA are ready to turn up the heat on Ryan Giggs’ contract talks at Manchester United.
Giggs’ deal runs out in the summer of 2006 but he is unhappy at United’s offer of just a one-year extension and a 20 per cent PAY CUT
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005091528,00.html
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 02:55 PM
another crap news lar
Raul7
26-02-2005, 03:06 PM
Barca in Giggs swoop
By BEN KINSELLA
BARCELONA are ready to turn up the heat on Ryan Giggs’ contract talks at Manchester United.
Giggs’ deal runs out in the summer of 2006 but he is unhappy at United’s offer of just a one-year extension and a 20 per cent PAY CUT
barca really ** :s27:
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 03:10 PM
barca really ** :s27:
Relax Raul7, I think this is another rubbish news from "The Sun". Anyway, why will Barca aimed for R.Giggs, so no point angry with them.
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 03:12 PM
the news clipping says 5mil nia.. 12 mil maybe not lar...
but actually Robbo is not that bad lar.. or you prefer Calamity James??? :s8:
Caroll is not bad.. but he wouldn't sign the bloody contract.. what to do?
All I can say that R.Carroll's agent is a crappy person. What does he expecting from Man. United to pay R.Carroll. It's not as if he won CL for us like P.Schmeichel. If he did, then got nothing to say, but nowadays, a lot agents are very crappy!
D.James is not bad, just that he got no luck. As for P.Robinson, I have never say he's not good, but not worth for 12m pounds. Even 5m pounds will be too much, 3-4m pounds will be alright.
Rgds,
O'
Raul7
26-02-2005, 03:13 PM
Relax Raul7, I think this is another rubbish news from "The Sun". Anyway, why will Barca aimed for R.Giggs, so no point angry with them.
hahaha..okok ;) hope giggs will retire in Man Utd
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 03:30 PM
Mourinho ends silence with fighting talk
http://www.soccernet.com/images/ph.1/Mourinho_180.jpg
Mourinho: 'Barca was not a real defeat' (NealSimpson/GettyImages)
Defiant Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho today taunted Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger and insisted both would want to swap places with him.
Chelsea, who face Liverpool in Sunday's Carling Cup final, have endured a difficult week with Newcastle knocking them out of the FA Cup and Barcelona securing a 2-1 Champions League first-leg lead in the Nou Camp.
But an indignant Mourinho denies that the Blues are experiencing the blip that Manchester United and Arsenal have been waiting for and insists that, of the three sides, Chelsea are the most likely to go through to the Champions League quarter-finals.
'They (Manchester United and Arsenal) can't speak to us about blips because they're not in a better position than us,' Mourinho said.
'Do they want to change positions with us? We are top of the league by nine points and in the Carling Cup final.
'The only thing they can say they are in a better position than us in is the FA Cup.
'In the Champions League all three teams can either go through or go out but the one team that is in the best position is still Chelsea.'
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326041&cc=4716)
**********************************************************************************************
My goodness, why will Sir A.Ferguson jealous of him or what do he mean by Chelsea got the best position among the 3 clubs? Rubbish man. They didn't even scored during CL match. That goal was an OWN GOAL, not even scored by their own player! Even though Man. United lost by a goal, but at least, they didn't allow opposition players to score more than 2-3 goals! Ridiculous. He's really starting to getting my nerves man.
In the first place, Man. United & Sir A.Ferguson will not need to jealous him. No matter how much rubbish decision SAF made, at least, we are still behind for the past yrs, whereas, Chelsea got the worst records with their managers. He tot this Portugal League arh. Kept giving nonsense comments nowadays. The way he toks like our players are much more lousier than his players. Kaoz, if not because P.Kenyon betrayed us, will A.Robben goes over to Chelsea. All becos of $$$, still dare to talk so big over here.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 03:34 PM
hahaha..okok ;) hope giggs will retire in Man Utd
Hope so too. If anyone dare to stop R.Giggs from staying in Man United, we should :s27:
Raul7
26-02-2005, 03:35 PM
Hope so too. If anyone dare to stop R.Giggs from staying in Man United, we should :s27:
we should kick those ass who wants him to leave........ :s27: hahahaa.... :s13:
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 03:37 PM
we should kick those ass who wants him to leave........ :s27: hahahaa.... :s13:
ya, I click wrongly the face just now. Putting a laughing face instead of the shooting face. Not only kick ass, shld shot them down man.. hehehee...
Just kidding larh... I think mebbe some Man United supporters might vandalised D.Gills's hse.
Ronaldo_7
26-02-2005, 03:39 PM
Barca in Giggs swoop
By BEN KINSELLA
what the hell.. GIGGSY wun move!! he will only play for one club.. and thats Manchester United :)
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 03:40 PM
giggs will end his career at man utd de
cutieboy86
United and Arsenal in hunt for Essien
Manchester United and Arsenal are among a group of top clubs chasing Lyon's star midfielder Michael Essien, according to the player's agent.
Fabien Piveteau claims the Barclays Premiership pair, along with Juventus, Real Madrid and Barcelona are keen on the 22-year-old Ghanaian who has been instrumental in the French title-holders Champions League progress this season.
'I know that Juventus are interested in Michael,' Piveteau told the French press.
'I have not, however, had any direct contact with them yet, which is not the case with Manchester United, Real Madrid, Barcelona and Arsenal.'
Lyon thrashed Werder Bremen 3-0 in Germany this week in the first leg of their last-16 tie. Essien has scored three goals in Europe and three in the domestic league.
Ronaldo_7
Defiant Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho today taunted Sir Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger and insisted both would want to swap places with him.
Chelsea, who face Liverpool in Sunday's Carling Cup final, have endured a difficult week with Newcastle knocking them out of the FA Cup and Barcelona securing a 2-1 Champions League first-leg lead in the Nou Camp.
But an indignant Mourinho denies that the Blues are experiencing the blip that Manchester United and Arsenal have been waiting for and insists that, of the three sides, Chelsea are the most likely to go through to the Champions League quarter-finals.
'They (Manchester United and Arsenal) can't speak to us about blips because they're not in a better position than us,' Mourinho said.
'Do they want to change positions with us? We are top of the league by nine points and in the Carling Cup final.
'The only thing they can say they are in a better position than us in is the FA Cup.
'In the Champions League all three teams can either go through or go out but the one team that is in the best position is still Chelsea.'
**********************************************************************************************
My goodness, why will Sir A.Ferguson jealous of him or what do he mean by Chelsea got the best position among the 3 clubs? Rubbish man. They didn't even scored during CL match. That goal was an OWN GOAL, not even scored by their own player! Even though Man. United lost by a goal, but at least, they didn't allow opposition players to score more than 2-3 goals! Ridiculous. He's really starting to getting my nerves man.
In the first place, Man. United & Sir A.Ferguson will not need to jealous him. No matter how much rubbish decision SAF made, at least, we are still behind for the past yrs, whereas, Chelsea got the worst records with their managers. He tot this Portugal League arh. Kept giving nonsense comments nowadays. The way he toks like our players are much more lousier than his players. Kaoz, if not because P.Kenyon betrayed us, will A.Robben goes over to Chelsea. All becos of $$$, still dare to talk so big over here.
Rgds,
O'
haha.. we shld ignore what he said.. as they made no sense at all.. all rubbish.. :) he's a crapster
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 03:43 PM
yeah... we shld ignore him... if everyone ignore him and he still tokin crap there, everyone will tink he is an idiot instead...lol
Raul7
26-02-2005, 03:44 PM
what the hell.. GIGGSY wun move!! he will only play for one club.. and thats Manchester United :)
yeahhhhhhhhhhhh
Raul7
26-02-2005, 03:45 PM
haha.. we shld ignore what he said.. as they made no sense at all.. all rubbish.. :) he's a crapster
chelsea is going down..... :evil:
Ronaldo_7
26-02-2005, 03:46 PM
yeah... we shld ignore him... if everyone ignore him and he still tokin crap there, everyone will tink he is an idiot instead...lol
hahahaha.. evil sia.. but! i like it.. lolz :s13:
chelsea is going down..... :evil:
Just love it if they blew their 9-point lead away and Mourinho eat his own words. Well just a slim hope. :o
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 04:08 PM
Just love it if they blew their 9-point lead away and Mourinho eat his own words. Well just a slim hope. :o
Tat's hard to say. If J.Mourinho continues with his "FULL" strength defending tactics, there will be a chance. I think he's waiting for A.Robben to come back from injuries. But seriously, if U got watch the match between Barca and Chel tat nite, U will be shock that Chelsea is just like any other English teams, just kept PROTECTING when they scored and facing stronger team.
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 04:10 PM
I will love to ignore him BUT whatever he said, not only insulted Sir A.Ferguson, he also insulting the intelligent of the clubs' players & supporters. Just like saying how stupid the players & supporters can be to believe in Sir A.Ferguson.
chengsun
26-02-2005, 04:52 PM
Tat's hard to say. If J.Mourinho continues with his "FULL" strength defending tactics, there will be a chance. I think he's waiting for A.Robben to come back from injuries. But seriously, if U got watch the match between Barca and Chel tat nite, U will be shock that Chelsea is just like any other English teams, just kept PROTECTING when they scored and facing stronger team.
well, this is because chealsea is JUST ANY OTHER ENGLISH CLUBS, nothing to shout about one lah.
Y do some a sia kia like to talk big big, talk nonsense? becuase got a wu lui daddy loh.
come lah, if he manages Norwich and lead them to EPL 1st 6 then I say he GREAT. I have more respect to Harry Rednapp, Kevin Keegan and Oleary than to him. His working tactics is similar to Phil Jackson, if you guys watch NBA u will know him. This Phil was just a average, or maybe below average, player when he was playing. But he good at choosing team, joined then very strong LA Lakers, and won the championship ring. So, when he coached, he very good at choosing team, he only chose those teams very championship calibre, he joined Chicago Bulls, with Jordan, Pippen, Paxon, Grant, and led them to 6 championship. Then he joined Lakers with O'near and Kobe n co, n got another 3 championship.
of coz he is good, but he chooses also. N he talks with more sense than This crapster.
Porto is oledi a strong team in Portugal league, a traditional strong team, with lots of portugal national players. Then now Chelski with a sugar daddy. it is LOGIC if he makes it, it is a JOKE if he doesnt.
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 05:17 PM
well, this is because chealsea is JUST ANY OTHER ENGLISH CLUBS, nothing to shout about one lah.
Y do some a sia kia like to talk big big, talk nonsense? becuase got a wu lui daddy loh.
come lah, if he manages Norwich and lead them to EPL 1st 6 then I say he GREAT. I have more respect to Harry Rednapp, Kevin Keegan and Oleary than to him. His working tactics is similar to Phil Jackson, if you guys watch NBA u will know him. This Phil was just a average, or maybe below average, player when he was playing. But he good at choosing team, joined then very strong LA Lakers, and won the championship ring. So, when he coached, he very good at choosing team, he only chose those teams very championship calibre, he joined Chicago Bulls, with Jordan, Pippen, Paxon, Grant, and led them to 6 championship. Then he joined Lakers with O'near and Kobe n co, n got another 3 championship.
of coz he is good, but he chooses also. N he talks with more sense than This crapster.
Porto is oledi a strong team in Portugal league, a traditional strong team, with lots of portugal national players. Then now Chelski with a sugar daddy. it is LOGIC if he makes it, it is a JOKE if he doesnt.
:s13: :s13: I can see that someone over here dislikes Phil Jackson as much as I do.
keltan
26-02-2005, 07:35 PM
Rgds,
O'
Sorry to hijack..
notice he left out liverpool so he could say that his team is in the best position out of the 3 clubs to qualify for the next rd...
he is scared, afraid that the whole world will crumble down soon..
Man Utd play flowing football, they did not try to park a mountain in front of their goal. When Man Utd lost 1-0, Ferguson called their players to perform the second italian job and triump over in italy for the return leg, not claiming some idiot kicked his ass or that anclelloti was having tea with the refereee...
but its ok, anti-mourinhos, by looking at this sore-losers' face will give us delight..
Newcastle has destroyed their quad. hopes.
May Liverpool destroy their treble hopes, and barca do likewise to their double ones..
And May Man Utd do the greatest damage of nicking away the EPL title from right under their noses..
I would love to see HOR-SEY's face then to see whether he really hor say boh...
:)
RuMmYtUb
26-02-2005, 08:14 PM
Sorry to hijack..
notice he left out liverpool so he could say that his team is in the best position out of the 3 clubs to qualify for the next rd...
Man Utd play flowing football, they did not try to park a mountain in front of their goal. When Man Utd lost 1-0, Ferguson called their players to perform the second italian job and triump over in italy for the return leg, not claiming some idiot kicked his ass or that anclelloti was having tea with the refereee...
but its ok, anti-mourinhos, by looking at this sore-losers' face will give us delight..
May Liverpool destroy their treble hopes, and barca do likewise to their double ones..
And May Man Utd do the greatest damage of nicking away the EPL title from right under their noses..
Perfect end to chelsea's fairty tale season..
asantosa
26-02-2005, 08:28 PM
Sorry to hijack..
Finally, the "Special one" booted out by his suggar daddy abramovich...
Ronaldo7
26-02-2005, 09:00 PM
but i don't mind seeing him managing man utd one day :s22:
Raul7
26-02-2005, 09:28 PM
Sorry to hijack..
i curse chelsea win nothing this seaon..... let that roman LPPL :s27:
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 09:55 PM
Fergie: We’ll cut gap to three points
Alex Ferguson plans to turn up the heat on Chelsea — by slashing their lead at the top of the Premiership to just THREE POINTS. The Manchester United chief is convinced the pacesetting Blues are showing signs of choking as they arrive at the business end of the season. United can edge to within six points of the top if they record a victory against struggling Portsmouth at Old Trafford tonight. Then three more points against Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park next Saturday would leave United breathing down Chelsea’s neck ahead of the Blues’ tricky evening trip to Carrow Road to tackle Norwich. Ferguson said: “If we win our next two games, we’ll be just three points behind Chelsea. They are grasping for their form and if they were to lose a league game at any point before they play us or Arsenal, they haven’t got any real form to fall back on. Both ourselves and Arsenal have the tradition and experience of winning championships.”
Tony Little, The Sun
Glazer’s £20m transfer kitty
Malcolm Glazer will offer Sir Alex Ferguson the chance to buy a new superstar with a transfer war-chest of up to £20million put aside for buying players. The Manchester United board have already allocated next season’s transfer budget by buying Wayne Rooney days before the transfer window closed last summer. That blew all of the finances for new players for 2005-6 and the Old Trafford plc have already made that clear with a Stock Exchange announcement. But Glazer’s masterplan is to ensure that the United “brand” remains a market leader, notably with Champions League success where Ferguson has managed just one title.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
o0KelviN0o
26-02-2005, 09:58 PM
Glazer knows nuts about soccer... he only knows football!!!
*punt intended*
Glazer won't supply us with the money, he is only going to take the club money away and keep it into his own pocket. :s27:
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 10:14 PM
Sorry to hijack..
but i don't mind seeing him managing man utd one day :s22:
:s13: It's alright to hijack. Anyway, I am really very disappointed with how J.Mourinho becoming after coming to EPL. I felt the way he treated A.Wenger & Sir A.Ferguson comments initially with positive ways of getting back @ them, makes me felt that he will be a good choice to replace Sir A.Ferguson after he retired. But now, J.Mourinho looks like a gorilla tat anyone can :s27: him back to Africa.
He's not acting like a champ @ all, asking people dun stress him or claiming someone kick him or something. Kept coming up with nonsensical thingy. Very :s31:
Rgds,
O'
Raul7
26-02-2005, 10:30 PM
Glazer knows nuts about soccer... he only knows football!!!
*punt intended*
he better go buy coca cola...... :s13:
usjag_18
26-02-2005, 11:31 PM
HIP HIP HOORAY!!! HIP HIP HOORAY!!! HIP HIP HOORAY!!!
GO GO GO MANCHESTER UNITED!!!
GLORY GLORY GLORY UNITED!
cutieboy86
26-02-2005, 11:40 PM
go man u go
Keane and Rio are both rested. O'Shea and Phil starts in midfield together. :s22:
Starting line-up v Pompey
Howard
G. Neville
Silvestre
Brown
Heinze
Ronaldo
Phil Neville
O'Shea
Scholes
Rooney
Van Nistelrooy
Subs: Ricardo, Fortune, Giggs, Smith, Saha
Raul7
27-02-2005, 12:57 AM
Keane and Rio are both rested. O'Shea and Phil starts in midfield together. :s22:
Starting line-up v Pompey
Howard
G. Neville
Silvestre
Brown
Heinze
Ronaldo
Phil Neville
O'Shea
Scholes
Rooney
Van Nistelrooy
Subs: Ricardo, Fortune, Giggs, Smith, Saha
hope RVN will score
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 12:59 AM
hope RVN will score
yeah man.. hope he will comeback with a bang! :D
Raul7
27-02-2005, 01:15 AM
yeah man.. hope he will comeback with a bang! :D
time for hat trick liaooooooooooo :s13:
OKK77
27-02-2005, 01:24 AM
Rooney scores!
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 01:27 AM
Yes Man.. early goal.. signs of things to come from man utd :D
Kyubi
27-02-2005, 01:28 AM
yeah keep going for more!
o0KelviN0o
27-02-2005, 02:09 AM
go man u go
man u always pah buay toh!
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 02:13 AM
hope they score another goal in the 2nd half to seal the game
Kyubi
27-02-2005, 02:15 AM
hope they score another goal in the 2nd half to seal the game
hopefully!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
G Neville seem to have picked up a knock on his shin and he was limping badly, hope it isn't serious. :o
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 02:23 AM
Wah lao! :s27:
Kyubi
27-02-2005, 02:23 AM
wah lao!!! starting second half let portsmouth score ..aargh!
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 02:26 AM
ARGHZ!! sux man.. wah lao eh
Raul7
27-02-2005, 02:34 AM
Now whoose fault issit??? Howard? he abit out of position i think
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 02:35 AM
Manu need to show some urgency in their play!!! :s27:
Raul7
27-02-2005, 02:37 AM
Manu need to show some urgency in their play!!! :s27:
ya...see the way they played like ai mai ai mai.... i cant feel the sense of winning in this game.... :s27:
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 02:53 AM
Most likely draw liao. :(
Raul7
27-02-2005, 02:56 AM
Rooney..............
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 02:57 AM
Roonneey!!!
Kyubi
27-02-2005, 02:57 AM
GOAL!@!!! rooney again!! another one to his hat trick!!
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 02:59 AM
YEAH!!.. Rooney hits Hot Form!!
Kyubi
27-02-2005, 03:09 AM
YEAH!!.. Rooney hits Hot Form!!
yeah FT .. time to slp :D
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 03:10 AM
FT Man Utd 2 - 1 Portsmouth
Great Double by Rooney!! He saves the day for MU.. and Ronaldo ends up with the captain band? haha
Thank goodness Rooney came to the rescue act, we needed the winning goal badly. :)
cracker
27-02-2005, 03:24 AM
Only watched the game from the 30 min mark,
the defence was very shaky and indecisive; too many "ping pong" game whenever portsmouth attacked..which resulted in their equaliser. Howard only major job of the game was to pick out the ball from the net...he was hardly troubled after tat goal.
midfield and striker wise, were still OK...
the 2 goals from rooney were great....the 3 pts was a welcome result and the gap between arsenal and mu is now 4.
travmufc
27-02-2005, 03:29 AM
FT Man Utd 2 - 1 Portsmouth
Great Double by Rooney!! He saves the day for MU.. and Ronaldo ends up with the captain band? haha
really arh? i thought it was giggsy? thot i heard the commentator said that.
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 03:54 AM
really arh? i thought it was giggsy? thot i heard the commentator said that.
haha i nt sure.. i see from the text commentary from www.manutd.com
Sh!t, Gary gone for an X-ray, hope its not serious. :(
Sir Alex Singles Out Rooney For Special Praise
Like most people inside Old Trafford, Sir Alex Ferguson was eulogising over Wayne Rooney's performance in the 2-1 win over Portsmouth.
Fergie spoke to Sky Sports after the vital win, and here's what he had to say...
A vital late winner
"Time was running out, but as we've seen so many times over the years their determination and perseverance gets them over the line. That was one of these games."
Tricky Old Trafford surface
"The pitch was a bit lively. It had dried up a great deal and that happens here because the drainage is so good. It wasn't comfortable for the players in terms of quick passing. They're always having to take a touch and I think that was a reason for some of the passing being short."
Wayne Rooney's solo show
"He was fantastic. I thought he was by far our best player and he was magnificent today. He's a winner. He's the one who was taking the baton up, making the run for the line and all day he was on-song."
Ruud's comeback
"A terrific performance. It was his first 90 minutes in three months and he was terrific. I was really pleased and with the winning goal, the speed of the pass to Wayne and the control of Wayne killed the centre half and he scored a really nice goal."
No finger-pointing for Pompey goal
"I think there was a bit of luck attached to it. When the ball came into our box, I think it was Alan Smith who blocked it and it just fell nicely to the boy. He's got it on the half volley and I think it was a well-taken goal really."
Importance of the win
"It was a terrific result for us today for a lot of reasons. Sometimes it can be difficult after a Wednesday night with such emotions and importance for the club. Plus Rio Ferdinand has a hamstring injury, I felt Roy Keane had to be rested and then Gary Neville was taken off at half-time. He's gone for an x-ray, hopefully it's not serious.
"All these changes don't help you in terms of continuity, but the most important thing is that we won the game. Over the years, these kinds of results have resulted in us going for championships, and they also stress the perseverance and determination of Manchester United."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=153859&itype=466&icategoryid=122
Raul7
27-02-2005, 10:18 AM
Thank goodness Rooney came to the rescue act, we needed the winning goal badly. :)
yeah man..... :)
nakitas
27-02-2005, 10:28 AM
Hoo... We r closing t gap with some help frm our rivals...
mclarenfan
27-02-2005, 10:40 AM
If there was a match where 1 guy played brilliantly and the rest of them were crap.... it was the match Man utd vs Portsmouth.... lucky portsmouth score early in the match unlike Fulham score last minute... Man utd too relac in the first 70% of the match..
Raul7
27-02-2005, 10:43 AM
If there was a match where 1 guy played brilliantly and the rest of them were crap.... it was the match Man utd vs Portsmouth.... lucky portsmouth score early in the match unlike Fulham score last minute... Man utd too relac in the first 70% of the match..
ya loh.....
Ronaldo7
27-02-2005, 10:53 AM
rooney did it again :s8:
great play by ruud to release rooney :evil:
Kiwi8
27-02-2005, 11:05 AM
Rgds,
O'
Eh hello!! Did u even watch the Barcelona vs Chelsea match or not? For that own goal, even if the Barcelona player did not touch the ball, the Chelsea players behind him would have the ball liao. That's why he had to try to clear the ball. For this type of own goal u can't take credit away from Chelsea.
Hating Chelsea is one thing. But u gonna scold with the correct reasons. :s22: :s22:
RuMmYtUb
27-02-2005, 11:11 AM
Do u guys think that the Pompey's goal was partially Howard's fault ?
I noticed he was like a few yards off his goal line..
cutieboy86
27-02-2005, 11:43 AM
dun tink is howard's fault for porthsmouth goal... it is a gd goal... however man u still win... the gap is down to 6pts although chelsea still got a game in hand... hu got the video clips of the goals?
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 12:20 PM
You should have seen his face when he conceded that goal. :s13:
MatrixFanatic
27-02-2005, 12:24 PM
Blatter backs fans over Glazer bid
FIFA president Sepp Blatter has backed Manchester United fans in their bitter opposition to a takeover by American tycoon Malcolm Glazer - but insisted he is powerless to intervene.
The businessman and his family and advisers are expected to decide in the coming week on their next course of action after spending several days studying the detailed United accounts.
Blatter has sent a letter of support to the opposition groups and, speaking in Cardiff after a meeting of the International FA Board, said it was important that football clubs were not just viewed as businesses.
He said: 'I have sent a letter to the fans' organisation of Manchester United supporting them in their fight against this takeover by Mr Glazer.
'This is only our philosophy because we cannot intervene in the market - here we are powerless in the commercial forces of the market, we can do nothing.
'But the fans' organisation have received a letter because the basis of a club is its supporters.
'Football started in England in 1863 and a club was attached to and part of a city. Now because of the universality of football the club is an industry.
'But we have to make sure that it is not only an industry, we have to protect the club ethic because football is a game for everybody.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326149&cc=4716
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 12:47 PM
Eh hello!! Did u even watch the Barcelona vs Chelsea match or not? For that own goal, even if the Barcelona player did not touch the ball, the Chelsea players behind him would have the ball liao. That's why he had to try to clear the ball. For this type of own goal u can't take credit away from Chelsea.
Hating Chelsea is one thing. But u gonna scold with the correct reasons. :s22: :s22:
Of course, I got watch that game. Ya, I know that goal is conceded because the player was trying to clear it away. What I am trying to say is even though it's their one of few chances that they are having @ that match.They were playign DEFENDING more than ATTACKING, whereas, Man. United been playing ATTACKING games no matter how many goals they conceded. If not, how can they win over Arsenal @ Highbury. And somemore, their players are not even fast enuff to score that goal. I think it's a great pass by D.Duff.
I dun dislike Chelsea, I dislike its owner & dun really dislike J.Mourinho. But I just cannot endure the way he toks against Man. United manager. They way he's toking really insulting Man. United's manager & players.
***********************************************************************************************************
Now whoose fault issit??? Howard? he abit out of position i think
Not T.Howard's fault. It's a good goal. When they replay, can see he's just few inches away. It's a sudden goal lor... Didn't expected O'Neil to score.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 12:49 PM
Not really, just a few inches, in fact, if U saw the replay, he almost got it. He's near, just that never expected O'Neil will have that volley. Superb goal, I have to say.
jujube
27-02-2005, 01:08 PM
so quick to fault the GK these days huh :s13:
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 01:17 PM
so quick to fault the GK these days huh :s13:
Not all Man United supporters think it's goalie's fault. At least, a few of us didnt think it's T.Howard's fault. Did U read what some of us posted?
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 01:21 PM
Premier League referee suspended
Premier League referee Mike Dean has been suspended indefinitely over his involvement in a betting website.
Professional Game Match Officials Ltd, which supplies Premiership referees, is investigating whether Dean's links with Arbitros Racing violate his contract.
The website offers shares in a racehorse syndicate as well as advice on how to bet on horses to win or lose.
Dean had been due to referee Sunday's game between Newcastle and Bolton at St James' Park.
A statement from PGMO said referees must seek approval before they take on additional employment or use their status "for commercial purposes".
The statement read: "The board will investigate whether Mike Dean has breached his employment contract with PGMO.
"The contract requires officials to notify and seek approval of various other activities - including additional employment or the use of their status as a PGMO official for promotional purposes.
"The board has taken this prompt action to protect all parties concerned, and it is right that Mike Dean should not officiate until this matter is resolved to the board's satisfaction."
source (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_prem/4301613.stm)
Premiership referee Dean suspended
Premier League referee Mike Dean has been suspended after officials were told of his involvement in a betting website.
Dean - who had been due to referee tomorrow's Barclays Premiership fixture between Newcastle and Bolton at St James' Park - has been suspended indefinitely by the Professional Game Match Officials Ltd who provide all officials for top-flight fixtures.
Premier League bosses have also launched an investigation after being alerted to Dean's involvement with Arbitros Racing, a betting website where punters are given advice on how to bet on horses to win or lose.
A Premier League spokesman told the News of the World: 'Mike Dean has been suspended indefinitely. He is a public figure, and certain standards are expected of him. People here have looked at what he is doing.'
A statement added: 'The board of the Professional Game Match Officials Ltd have suspended referee Mike Dean with immediate effect after receiving information regarding his involvement in an on-line racehorse syndicate.
'The board will now investigate whether Mike Dean has breached his employment contract with PGMO, which requires officials to notify and seek approval of various other activities - including additional employment or the use of their status as a PGMO official for promotional purposes.
'The board has taken this prompt action to protect all parties concerned, and it is right that Mike Dean should not officiate until this matter is resolved to the board's satisfaction.'
source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326245&cc=4716)
Another scandal after German referee's case of corruption. :s27:
Seals
27-02-2005, 02:48 PM
did u guys notice after portmouth score that goal... fergie was talking carlos... wtf r they doing...
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 03:19 PM
did u guys notice after portmouth score that goal... fergie was talking carlos... wtf r they doing...
Wat do U think they are doing? I dun get what U trying to say. But I am thinking if they dun tok, that means they dun care about this game. If they are talking, I got the feelings that they are discussing something, like who to subs and wat kinda of tactics should they used. Becos when R.Giggs replace P.Scholes, I saw Giggsy was talking something to O'Shea.
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 03:42 PM
asking for opinions?
Raul7
27-02-2005, 03:44 PM
asking for opinions?
maybe who we wanna take out which player? hahahaa
Hmm whats wrong with that? There always conversation on the bench. :s22:
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 04:06 PM
Hmm whats wrong with that? There always conversation on the bench. :s22:
Maybe SEALS will like to see them being angry and look @ the players and the field all the time w/o doing anything.
Ronaldo7
27-02-2005, 04:16 PM
carlos queiroz is good . heard alot of good things about him but kana made the scapegoat by real madrid last season . knn :mad:
OnizUk4
27-02-2005, 04:38 PM
If u did watched the match, there is one player bargging all the way nearly into the penalty box.
He was trying to minimise the angle as well as rush out to gather if the player did get pass the last line of defence. He was well in the correct position all the while, the volley was just in a split second as the ball soar and swerve just out of his reach. No offend, its a very lucky volley.
Raul7
27-02-2005, 04:39 PM
If u did watched the match, there is one player bargging all the way nearly into the penalty box.
He was trying to minimise the angle as well as rush out to gather if the player did get pass the last line of defence. He was well in the correct position all the while, the volley was just in a split second as the ball soar and swerve just out of his reach. No offend, its a very lucky volley.
heng heng goal nia....tyco
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 04:45 PM
carlos queiroz is good . heard alot of good things about him but kana made the scapegoat by real madrid last season . knn :mad:
He's just being unlucky to take over the problematic Real Madrid team. In fact, no matter how, he's not the first manager to take over such a star-studded team. Everyone in the team wanna to play, so how he make decision. If he let player A to play, then player B will be angry. So it's really hard to control.
But when D.Becks said that he's not good, L.Figo hit back on his comments. Lolx... :s13: Can show L.Figo really respect C.Queiroz.
Raul7
27-02-2005, 04:49 PM
ya loh, i feel unfair for him also....basket :s27:
chengsun
27-02-2005, 04:49 PM
He's just being unlucky to take over the problematic Real Madrid team. In fact, no matter how, he's not the first manager to take over such a star-studded team. Everyone in the team wanna to play, so how he make decision. If he let player A to play, then player B will be angry. So it's really hard to control.
But when D.Becks said that he's not good, L.Figo hit back on his comments. Lolx... :s13: Can show L.Figo really respect C.Queiroz.
of coz figo respect him, basically the golden generation of portugal are bred by him one, he was the one who behind all those players since they were in youth team, so confirm they respect him a lots.
so there are pl saying that maybe figo will come Man U after he quit real, because of carlos
but then, i remember there is rumours before that actually SAF sent carlos to real, just to break them down...hahaha
Raul7
27-02-2005, 04:50 PM
confirm, he is a portual peole mah, heard that carlos queiroz undiscover figo ?
Raul7
27-02-2005, 04:52 PM
of coz figo respect him, basically the golden generation of portugal are bred by him one, he was the one who behind all those players since they were in youth team, so confirm they respect him a lots.
so there are pl saying that maybe figo will come Man U after he quit real, because of carlos
but then, i remember there is rumours before that actually SAF sent carlos to real, just to break them down...hahaha
serious ah.... like that Sir Alex wicked leh....
chengsun
27-02-2005, 04:53 PM
serious ah.... like that Sir Alex wicked leh....
cant beat u in front so i beat u from behind, hahaha
Raul7
27-02-2005, 04:53 PM
hahahaa...... :s13:
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 05:12 PM
Ya, I know they are mostly bred by him. But I was surprised that a person who loves $$$ so much will still continue supporting someone who just bred him to the soccer world. I guess maybe Barca's fans are really too nasty to him, until he decided to betray Barca 4 $$. I guess if fans/supporters are nice to the players and the players know when to stop asking TOO MUCH, then the club will still keep them. Just like P.Maldini. The one and only started in AC Milan and will continue until the end of the playing days.
:s13: :s13: :s13: But I dun think it's true larh. I dun think Sir A.Fergie will be so silly to do such things. hahahaa..
Keane urge United board to keep Giggs
FOOTBALL: WE'LL BE LEFT RY AND DRY
Feb 27 2005
ROY KEANE has warned Manchester United not to risk losing contract rebel Ryan Giggs.
Sources close to Barcelona are claiming that Giggs has been offered to the Spanish giants for next season.
And the Welsh winger is refusing to sign the one-year contract extension that is on offer.
The 31-year-old, whose current deal expires at the end of next season, is holding out for a two-year contract.
But United are refusing to waver on their policy of offering 12-month deals to stars in their 30s.
United skipper Keane fears that the club will find it impossible to replace Giggs.
And he admits that United will only appreciate Giggs's true value to the team when he quits.
Keane said: "Players like Giggsy, Ronaldo, Damien Duff and Arjen Robben can all beat a man and that is why they are sought after.
"Ryan has been playing well and scoring goals and that makes a difference.
"I admire Giggsy because he has been one of the top wingers for such a long time.
"A lot of wingers pop up for a couple of years and then disappear, but Ryan won't be fully appreciated until he retires."
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=15235862%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=football%2d%2dwe%2dll%2dbe%2dleft%2dry%2dand%2ddry-name_page.html
Can the bloody United board just give Giggsy a 2-year deal soon instead of making a big fuss about and keep delaying it, what that stupid policy of 1-year contract for players in the 30s, its utter bollox. :s27:
United_Treble
27-02-2005, 07:38 PM
heng heng goal nia....tyco
knn, dun be bias, that goal in fact is most beautiful of e match
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 07:43 PM
haiz.. ya lor.. they got this policy that cause alot of unrest and problems regarding contract renewals.. :(
Raul7
27-02-2005, 07:45 PM
think in the first place, kindly mind ur language, i just say tyco goal then u knn me which is not a good thing to me:s8: .
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 08:35 PM
think in the first place, kindly mind ur language, i just say tyco goal then u knn me which is not a good thing to me:s8: .
The Terror is back... hehehe... =:p
Raul7
27-02-2005, 08:38 PM
The Terror is back... hehehe... =:p
no la... since when i'm a terror...hahahaa... just that his language not sound gd to me. :)
OKK77
27-02-2005, 08:40 PM
Oh hello, retard.
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 08:42 PM
Can the bloody United board just give Giggsy a 2-year deal soon instead of making a big fuss about and keep delaying it, what that stupid policy of 1-year contract for players in the 30s, its utter bollox. :s27:
Relax, RVN. In the first place, I dun think it's just the 2-yrs contact problem only. Maybe the salary also is a problem. And also, Man. United needs to think the problem in the future, what if the same thing happens to other players. Will they request the same thing or not? ANd other reasons larh.
BUT I also have one thing to tell Man Utd too.
JUST BL00DY H3LL GIVE HIM (GIGGSY) THE 2-YRS CONTRACT & GIVE HIM WHATEVER AMOUNT OF SALARY HE WANTS!!! =:p :s13:
Anyway, he's going to retire soon after 2-yrs, just give him whatever he wants now. Not going to make Man. United lose out anything.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 08:43 PM
no la... since when i'm a terror...hahahaa... just that his language not sound gd to me. :)
I dun meant U larh, Raul7 Bro. I meant that "United_Treble" larh. Why will I call U Terror... Aiyoyo....
cutieboy86
27-02-2005, 08:44 PM
raul7, usjag_18 dun mean u are a terror but referrin to United_Treble... sch holiday started le ar? as for whether the goal is the most beautiful goal of the match, nah nah nah... it's totally tyco for chelsea to get an away goal thru an own goal...
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 09:03 PM
as for whether the goal is the most beautiful goal of the match, nah nah nah... it's totally tyco for chelsea to get an away goal thru an own goal...
Bro, U are excellent man. This is the best sentence today... Sentence of the DAY.
Raul7
27-02-2005, 09:04 PM
I dun meant U larh, Raul7 Bro. I meant that "United_Treble" larh. Why will I call U Terror... Aiyoyo....
Oooo....i get when u mean liao..... :) no worries... :D . paiseh i misunderstand ur words :o so is that fool keep saying his prediction here n there one right ? no wonder.....cant be bother with this tye of people, simply wasting my time... :s8:
Raul7
27-02-2005, 09:06 PM
Bro, U are excellent man. This is the best sentence today... Sentence of the DAY.
hahaha..... :)
Raul7
27-02-2005, 09:07 PM
Oh hello, retard.
hahahahaa..... :s13:
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 09:08 PM
Relax, RVN. In the first place, I dun think it's just the 2-yrs contact problem only. Maybe the salary also is a problem. And also, Man. United needs to think the problem in the future, what if the same thing happens to other players. Will they request the same thing or not? ANd other reasons larh.
BUT I also have one thing to tell Man Utd too.
JUST BL00DY H3LL GIVE HIM (GIGGSY) THE 2-YRS CONTRACT & GIVE HIM WHATEVER AMOUNT OF SALARY HE WANTS!!! =:p :s13:
Anyway, he's going to retire soon after 2-yrs, just give him whatever he wants now. Not going to make Man. United lose out anything.
Rgds,
O'
hahaha.. u tell pple to relax then ur font more bigger.. haha.. but seriously i totally agree.. when the contract settle.. he can fully focus and perform to his best without worries!! :)
cutieboy86
27-02-2005, 09:10 PM
haha... thx for ur compliment
Raul7
27-02-2005, 09:13 PM
hahaha.. u tell pple to relax then ur font more bigger.. haha.. but seriously i totally agree.. when the contract settle.. he can fully focus and perform to his best without worries!! :)
ya, hope giggs contract can settle asap....
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 09:22 PM
Ya larh, trying to express my thinking marh. Hope D.Gills will not be like P.Kenyon, so cheapo!
Aiya, how come Sir B.Charlton never come out and make any comments. Wah, if he makes any comments, I think those stupid management team shld be doing sth abt it liao.
Ronaldo_7
27-02-2005, 09:26 PM
Ya larh, trying to express my thinking marh. Hope D.Gills will not be like P.Kenyon, so cheapo!
Aiya, how come Sir B.Charlton never come out and make any comments. Wah, if he makes any comments, I think those stupid management team shld be doing sth abt it liao.
haha ya lor.. Sir Bobby Charlton never say any comments de.. :(
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 09:52 PM
Manchester United have won The Cup a record 11 times and ten of those were post-war: 1909, 1948, 1963, 1977, 1983, 1985, 1990, 1994, 1996, 1999 and 2004. They hold the record for Final appearances (16) jointly with Arsenal. Their 23 semi-finals are just one behind Arsenal.
source (http://www.thefa.com/TheFACup/TheFACup/Round-by-Round/Postings/2005/02/FACup_SixthRound.htm)
One more SEMI-FINAL, one more FINAL and one more WIN, Manchester United will be one and only club shared the same semi-final record with Arsenal BUT record of winning The Cup for 12 times, 17 times of FINAL appearences. So wat do U guys think? Shld we go for it? Or concentrating on others?
Rgds,
O'
LiquidSilver
27-02-2005, 10:03 PM
I think maybe losing the league cup semi may be a blessing in disguise. I believe we have a chance to narrow the lead to 3 pts b4 chelsea plays its next league game so thus giving them more pressure rather than compared if we r playing this final and chelsea creates a 12 pt lead
cutieboy86
27-02-2005, 10:11 PM
gd pt... i agree... usjag_18, i tink every match we must concentrate and not juz for tt record
United's Van Nistelrooy: 'Give me time'
Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy is pleading for patience as he battles back to full fitness.
The prolific Holland international earned the praise of Sir Alex Ferguson for his performance in the 2-1 win over Portsmouth yesterday but, despite playing the pass to set up Wayne Rooney for the winner, still looked off the pace.
It was van Nistelrooy's first league start for three months after a 30-minute appearance against Milan in midweek following his recovery from an Achilles injury.
The 28-year-old admits it will take time to reach the level of fitness that brought him 122 goals in just 161 first-team starts.
But the former PSV Eindhoven striker does not want to be judged too quickly and aims to be fully fit for the Milan return on March 8.
'It was fantastic to start against Portsmouth, it felt like my first game again,' he said.
'That is what I worked so hard for but I also have to be patient.
'I have been out for a while and I can feel it. I have been training with the first team squad for a week and a half but I know I am still missing a bit of timing, so now I just need games.
'At least I feel fresh and have got virtually a full game under my belt. Now I build on that performance and move on.'
Ferguson has confirmed van Nistelrooy will start next Saturday's Barclays Premiership clash with Crystal Palace when victory will reduce Chelsea's lead at the top to three points.
For virtually the first time since he moved to England, van Nistelrooy has competition in the United scoring stakes with Wayne Rooney's double yesterday moving him onto 15 for the season, three clear of his fellow forward.
But van Nistelrooy is happy to have competition for places in the United line-up as they continue their quest for silverware this season.
'Wayne is having a great season,' van Nistelrooy added.
'For his age, he is a tremendous player and it is great to have someone like that on our side.
'Saturday is a really big game for us. We want to close the gap on Chelsea to three points, but we also want a good result to lift confidence before we go to Milan.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326254&cc=4716
usjag_18
27-02-2005, 10:44 PM
United's Van Nistelrooy: 'Give me time'
Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy is pleading for patience as he battles back to full fitness.
The prolific Holland international earned the praise of Sir Alex Ferguson for his performance in the 2-1 win over Portsmouth yesterday but, despite playing the pass to set up Wayne Rooney for the winner, still looked off the pace.
It was van Nistelrooy's first league start for three months after a 30-minute appearance against Milan in midweek following his recovery from an Achilles injury.
The 28-year-old admits it will take time to reach the level of fitness that brought him 122 goals in just 161 first-team starts.
But the former PSV Eindhoven striker does not want to be judged too quickly and aims to be fully fit for the Milan return on March 8.
'It was fantastic to start against Portsmouth, it felt like my first game again,' he said.
'That is what I worked so hard for but I also have to be patient.
'I have been out for a while and I can feel it. I have been training with the first team squad for a week and a half but I know I am still missing a bit of timing, so now I just need games.
'At least I feel fresh and have got virtually a full game under my belt. Now I build on that performance and move on.'
Ferguson has confirmed van Nistelrooy will start next Saturday's Barclays Premiership clash with Crystal Palace when victory will reduce Chelsea's lead at the top to three points.
For virtually the first time since he moved to England, van Nistelrooy has competition in the United scoring stakes with Wayne Rooney's double yesterday moving him onto 15 for the season, three clear of his fellow forward.
But van Nistelrooy is happy to have competition for places in the United line-up as they continue their quest for silverware this season.
'Wayne is having a great season,' van Nistelrooy added.
'For his age, he is a tremendous player and it is great to have someone like that on our side.
'Saturday is a really big game for us. We want to close the gap on Chelsea to three points, but we also want a good result to lift confidence before we go to Milan.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326254&cc=4716
Seriously, this is the 2nd time I posted to reply this posting, duno what happen to my previous posting. Oddd..
Anyway, wat I said previously was, I like Ruud v.Nistelrooy's styles of playing. One of the important points abt him is he will rather winning the game than trying to make himself looks good in front of everyone and everytime only trying to aim for his own personal records. I felt that he wanna the silverware more than his own records which I find it's very important for a team.
Rgds,
O'
Ronaldo7
28-02-2005, 11:14 AM
we need ruud to be match-fit in this crucial period of the season now :s7:
palace is next :evil:
padixiong
28-02-2005, 11:22 AM
if we winat palace ...
we would be only 3 pts away from chelsea ..albert playing 2 games more .. :D
majongfreak
28-02-2005, 11:23 AM
Have to say that Ruud played pretty ok in Sat's match though he didnt score...His physical presence, his ability to release useful balls to teammates and the ability to intimidate opposing defenders are plain for all to see. The way he and Rooney work together looks promising too. Hopefully their partnership may flornish further and RVN van can get his scoring touch back against Palace and be able to give Milan a match of a lifetime at San Siro.....
Keeping fingers crossed!!!!
nakitas
28-02-2005, 12:43 PM
RVN will b working harder to make up for tos he missed out while he's injured... N wif Rooney in form now, RVN will b able to perform better... He'll put less stress on his shoulder n juz carry on wif his usual game, not worrying abt scoring... It's important for strike-partners to share t load of scoring...
cutieboy86
28-02-2005, 06:03 PM
Rio's Tribute To Fearless Duo
Rio Ferdinand has paid tribute to his "fearless" team-mates Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney.
Rooney was once again the star of the show at the weekend after his two goals earned United a crucial 2-1 win over Portsmouth to cut Chelsea's lead at the top of the Premiership to just six points.
Ronaldo has also been enjoying a good run of goalscoring form lately having bagged 5 goals in his last 10 games, and he was recently described as "one of the most technically-gifted players around," by Milan veteran Paolo Maldini.
Ferdinand echoed those sentiments, saying: "The likes of Ronaldo, Rooney and Giggs all possess fantastic ball dribbling skills and pace. As a defender, they're two of the things you least like when you come up against players.
"In the case of Ronaldo and Rooney, they both hold no fear of any of the players they face. They obviously have respect for others but they go out there and play their game as if they were playing in their back garden!
"That's a sign of two players who have great talent and a great temperament and I'm just pleased we've got them on our side."
cutieboy86
28-02-2005, 06:04 PM
Fergie has a Tim-plant
Sir Alex Ferguson has primed Tim Howard to take over from Roy Carroll in goal for Manchester United's crunch Champions League showdown with AC Milan. Fergie said: "Roy made a bad mistake against Milan. I think in those situations it's sometimes best to take the player out of the firing line. We've got a vital game coming up in Italy so it's important to see how Tim responds to the challenge." Carroll's latest gaffe appears to have forced Fergie into making a permanent change, with Howard expected to stay in the side for the rest of the season if he proves his worth.
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror
blackevil_2000
28-02-2005, 06:07 PM
Fergie has a Tim-plant
Sir Alex Ferguson has primed Tim Howard to take over from Roy Carroll in goal for Manchester United's crunch Champions League showdown with AC Milan. Fergie said: "Roy made a bad mistake against Milan. I think in those situations it's sometimes best to take the player out of the firing line. We've got a vital game coming up in Italy so it's important to see how Tim responds to the challenge." Carroll's latest gaffe appears to have forced Fergie into making a permanent change, with Howard expected to stay in the side for the rest of the season if he proves his worth.
fnally SAF is starting to do the right thing
ben0704
28-02-2005, 06:12 PM
support SAF. although both make mistake, but i tin howard is a better keeper than carroll. carroll jus cannot make it in the PL standard..
MatrixFanatic
28-02-2005, 06:19 PM
Hope Howard will have the game of his life at the San Siro and cement his place as No.1 for many years to come. :s7:
blackevil_2000
28-02-2005, 07:11 PM
support SAF. although both make mistake, but i tin howard is a better keeper than carroll. carroll jus cannot make it in the PL standard..
carroll is a gk who think that manUtd cannot do without him..WRONG he like dun wanna to sign dun wanna to sign like that.... i think that once he leave manUtd the GK problem will be solved!so caroll get out!!!!!!!!!!!
usjag_18
28-02-2005, 07:16 PM
Guys, seriously, I am just asking this qns for fun. Is it true that U guys will like S.Gerrard to replace R.Keane? For once, I find that I really cannot endure this matter. I will NOT like him to appear in Red Devils' jersey. He's really not that kinda of person I will like to see appearing in our bench or even our lineups. Not becos of ytd OWN GOAL but a lot of things tat happen for the past few yrs that makes me dislike him.
MatrixFanatic
28-02-2005, 07:19 PM
Guys, seriously, I am just asking this qns for fun. Is it true that U guys will like S.Gerrard to replace R.Keane? For once, I find that I really cannot endure this matter. I will NOT like him to appear in Red Devils' jersey. He's really not that kinda of person I will like to see appearing in our bench or even our lineups. Not becos of ytd OWN GOAL but a lot of things tat happen for the past few yrs that makes me dislike him.
I think his committment is questioned. I mean saying that his team have no chance? Captain somemore. I wouldn't want him in a Manu shirt but seriously he also don't want Manu too hahahaha.
blackevil_2000
28-02-2005, 07:25 PM
what he did y u didn't like hm so much?
usjag_18
28-02-2005, 07:29 PM
Fergie has a Tim-plant
I hope that Sir A.Ferguson will also give R.Lopez a chance. If R.Carroll thinks that he got the lucky charm in him, so he can be asking too many things, then I think he can forget about it. It's not just about $, we wanna a player who requesting things that are reasonable. For R.Giggs's case, I dun find it any problem to agree with his requests if NOT too unreasonable. Afterall, he been with us since his youth days. Whereas, R.Carroll just joined us not too long and didn't really starting on the lineup until recently. So for once & all, if R.Carroll really wanna 2 continue playing for Man. United, I think he shld clear his mind & think ccarefully what he really wanna to do. Becos I felt that he shld be glad that Man. United brought him over from lower division to give him a chance to prove himself.
Lastly, I hope that T.Howard can start to prove his worth and importance for the club. If even P.Schmeichel thinks that he's the man tat can replace him, I am willing to give him my voting. Since personally, I really think he's a good goalie with speed, skills and determination, just someone lacks of luck and communication with his 4 defenders. I think he can do better.
Last but not least, the RUBBISH of THE DAY.....
Jose: Gesture was at Media
His answer seemed to give hope to Sir Alex Ferguson that he could yet unsettle the Chelsea boss as he closes in on Chelsea's title lead.
Mourinho declared: 'It is not about me, it is about us. And you cannot put pressure on my group - no chance.
'There is another thing you forgot. We have not lost [our rearranged game] against West Brom. If we beat them, the gap would be nine points again.'
There is nothing like encouraging a siege mentality within a squad to refocus players, although Chelsea should hardly require any extra motivation.
He concluded: 'Someone asked me if I wanted to be loved by the football world or to win trophies.
'I said that I just want to win trophies. I don't want to be in love with you.
'You can say what you want to about me - it does not put pressure on me. The day the Chelsea fans or the Chelsea board want me to go then I will go the next morning.
'So you cannot put pressure on me - no way. I have trophies; I have money; I can live without my job at Chelsea. My life will carry on.
source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326307&cc=4716)
When did anyone but Chelsea fans and R.Abramovich given him the "BIG HAT" to wear and said it LOUD AND CLEAR that he's able to WIN EVERYTHING? It's all tok BIG by those so-called Chelsea fans (who only cares abt the $ but not the club) and R.Abramovich. Everything he said nowadays are rubbish. And who cares abt him winning the trophies. Even he won tons of them and still having that kinda of shi**y of attitude, I rather to ignore them. Dun even have to jealous of them. Who wanna to be in his shoes. Bullsh*tting man. :mad:
usjag_18
28-02-2005, 07:34 PM
what he did y u didn't like hm so much?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=13164066&postcount=41
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=13164334&postcount=44
usjag_18
28-02-2005, 07:37 PM
I think his committment is questioned. I mean saying that his team have no chance? Captain somemore. I wouldn't want him in a Manu shirt but seriously he also don't want Manu too hahahaha.
Ya, I am glad too that he's not interested in coming to Man Utd. Seriously, he will be punished by someone one of these days for his arrogance. Maybe his arrogance is something I appreciate earlier on no matter hw I dislike him. But the day he said that Liverpool got no chances to win CL (even though they really got no chances, but he shldn't say that. Lower down his team morale). Another thing is for the past few yrs, he's just like another D.Beckham, too much of spotlight until he becoming less concentrating on his soccer. For the past 2-yrs, he's not really performing consistently. Seriously, even though D.Beckham might not be giving full commitment sometimes, but still he always tried his best and he never said such RUBBISH things about Man. United doesn't have a chance to win anything this yr. This kinda of things doesn't makes him look good @ all.
Ronaldo7
28-02-2005, 09:12 PM
you all seriously don't want to see gerrard playing for us ?
he said that liverpool can't win the cl this season because liverpool has been underperforming for quite a time and is saying it out of frustration . do you all think that he really don't want to win the cl for his beloved club ? w/o him , pool won't finished 4th last season :s22:
United_Treble
28-02-2005, 09:21 PM
u peo still believe gerrard leaving, no he wun, juz a small cup lost to chelsea, u think he will go?
ben0704
28-02-2005, 09:32 PM
he said that liverpool can't win the cl this season because liverpool has been underperforming for quite a time and is saying it out of frustration . do you all think that he really don't want to win the cl for his beloved club ? w/o him , pool won't finished 4th last season :s22:
us as in? man u? i wan. i wan him to play for man u!! he may not be better than roy keane, but he will do his part one. he surely got somewhere tat is skill. if not, i won wan him either. :)
Ronaldo7
28-02-2005, 09:35 PM
yes . man utd :)
but the chances of him joining us IF he decides to go is as good as :s22: :s22:
1920_me
28-02-2005, 10:51 PM
videos of e goals from portsmouth game...please post them
keltan
28-02-2005, 11:06 PM
Ya, I am glad too that he's not interested in coming to Man Utd. Seriously, he will be punished by someone one of these days for his arrogance. Maybe his arrogance is something I appreciate earlier on no matter hw I dislike him. But the day he said that Liverpool got no chances to win CL (even though they really got no chances, but he shldn't say that. Lower down his team morale). Another thing is for the past few yrs, he's just like another D.Beckham, too much of spotlight until he becoming less concentrating on his soccer. For the past 2-yrs, he's not really performing consistently. Seriously, even though D.Beckham might not be giving full commitment sometimes, but still he always tried his best and he never said such RUBBISH things about Man. United doesn't have a chance to win anything this yr. This kinda of things doesn't makes him look good @ all.
i beg ya pardon??
gerrard not performing consistently for the past 2 yrs?
hmmm.. tt's a thought..
nakitas
28-02-2005, 11:20 PM
As long as ManUtd bothers to sign someone, gd enuff... Tos stingy misers up there wont even spare a cent... Gerrard, if he really gonna go, i'll love to have him in t ManUtd ranks... Y let him fall into t rival teams??? He's condemn becos of he's last boo-boo but tat doesnt mean he's a bad player... Which player guaranteed wont score OG one??? We got a black sheep in t likes of Wes Brown dnt we??? Y no one curse n swear at him??? He cos ManUtd more points than Gerrard did...
1920_me
01-03-2005, 12:39 AM
u can say he not performing this season...gerrard is no attention-freak like becks...i think he just distracted about his future..who wouldnt be
ben0704
01-03-2005, 12:46 AM
u can say he not performing this season...gerrard is no attention-freak like becks...i think he just distracted about his future..who wouldnt be
ya. becks su*k anyway. :D
IMO no chance of Gerrard ever joining us, we don't have that big amount of money after the Rooney capture, plus pool will never sell him to us. :s22:
Keane appears in cout
Manchester United captain Roy Keane grabbed a frightened teenager around the neck after the youngster swore at him, a court heard on Monday.
Mr Keane also shouted at him and swung a punch at the 16-year-old, his fist stopping just before his face, Trafford Magistrates' Court was told.
He denies a charge of criminal damage after snapping the youngster's chain near his Greater Manchester home.
He also denies assault and a public order offence on 4 September 2004.
The two had clashed after the young student had been riding his moped with a friend near Mr Keane's £1.4m mansion in Hale.
Mr Keane, an Irish international, had been walking his dogs near his home when the boy beeped his horn to acknowledge the star, the court heard.
As the teenager and his friend passed the footballer, Mr Keane swung out with his walking stick.
The teenager drove past and turned round to make a gesture with his hand towards the footballer.
A few weeks later the youngster was on his moped again with a friend visiting a house across the road from Mr Keane's home, the court was told.
Mr Keane was in his garden but came over to approach the pair. The court was shown a video recording of an interview the youngster gave to police after the second incident.
The boy told police he was sat on his bike when he noticed the footballer walking towards him.
"I felt a bit like, 'God, what's going to happen now'", the boy told officers.
He said Mr Keane asked why he had sworn at him.
The teenager said he replied: "Because you nearly hit me; you swung for me with your walking stick.
"He walked up to me and I'm not sure what he said next; he was being a bit aggressive.
"The next thing he did was swing at my face with his right fist. He said, 'that's nearly hitting you'. I flinched backwards."
The trial is expected to last two days.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/manchester/4304855.stm
Sounds like a load of bollocks to me, the statement made the kid sound as though he was just being friendly and Keane went mental for no reason. Highly unlikely that was the case! :s8:
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 01:38 AM
IMO no chance of Gerrard ever joining us, we don't have that big amount of money after the Rooney capture, plus pool will never sell him to us. :s22:
agree.. man utd has no more money for big signings like gerrard who will take up a certain amount of transfer fees.. but my impression of him changed after the OG yest.. haiz.. but cannot really blame him too..
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 01:40 AM
Hope Howard will have the game of his life at the San Siro and cement his place as No.1 for many years to come. :s7:
haha.. if he plays well at San Siro.. i think carroll maybe can say bye bye liao..
TOKARA
01-03-2005, 02:33 AM
how possibly can gerrard seek attention like beckham? he doesnt have look, he cant cross like him....?
how?
*but then again, i'm not siding with beckham, i do like gerrard's style but when one speaks of beckham, almost instanteously one would think of freekicks and crosses...when one speaks of gerrard, what do yer get? hard tackles?
Cheers.
Raul7
01-03-2005, 07:34 AM
haha.. if he plays well at San Siro.. i think carroll maybe can say bye bye liao..
Caroll can tio 1 boot from Sir Alex then go for f.o.c...hahahaha :s13:
Raul7
01-03-2005, 07:37 AM
Jaap Stam should be available to face Manchester United, with the Milan defender hoping to make a speedy return from the injury that kept him out of the first leg.
Milan take a 1-0 advantage into the home leg of the UEFA Champions League match, and will be delighted that Stam should be fit to face his former side.
The giant Dutchman was missing for that victory and also the 1-0 win against Milan rivals Internazionale at the weekend.
However, the club may well play Stam in the Serie A fixture against Atalanta - paving his way to a starting spot against United.
A series of medical scans revealed that muscular damage was not as serious as first feared and Stam is already on the road to recovery.
However, Milan could be without Kakha Kaladze who picked up a back injury against Inter.
The Georgian is still hoping to be back fit for the European tie, but is expected to sit out this weekend, making him a doubt to face the English side.
Raul7
01-03-2005, 07:39 AM
agree.. man utd has no more money for big signings like gerrard who will take up a certain amount of transfer fees.. but my impression of him changed after the OG yest.. haiz.. but cannot really blame him too..
well...if gerrard joins Utd, i think all the liverpool fans out there sure hate him to the core but if he join chelsea, all the pool fans will curse him all the way..... :s13:
mclarenfan
01-03-2005, 08:15 AM
Keane appears in cout
Sounds like a load of bollocks to me, the statement made the kid sound as though he was just being friendly and Keane went mental for no reason. Highly unlikely that was the case! :s8:
This kid is trying to profit from this case...through compensation and pride to see their names/ actions in the papers... Just like streakers who dare to go nude in front of 50,000 ppl.. just to catch others attention.... This kid reminds me of another kid who is causing headache to Michael Jackson... In the past MJ paid several millions to the family for accusing him of sexual harassment... i dont think he was guilty then... he hoped the issue was settled ....but another family now are trying the same tactic against MJ... These ppl s@ck big time.... My opinion Keane and MJ are both innocent...
mclarenfan
01-03-2005, 08:28 AM
Keane accused:
The boy told police he was sat on his bike when he noticed Keane walking towards him.
'I felt a bit like, 'God, what's going to happen now', the boy told officers. 'Then he said, 'Did you call me a wxxxxr? Why did you do that?''
The teenager said he replied: 'Because you nearly hit me; you swung for me with your walking stick.
'He walked up to me and I'm not sure what he said next; he was being a bit aggressive.
'The next thing he did was swing at my face with his right fist. He said, 'That's nearly hitting you'. I flinched backwards.'
Keane denies a charge of criminal damage after snapping the youngster's chain.
He also denies assault and a public order offence on September 4, last year.
The trial is expected to last two days.
After Keane swung the punch 'within touching distance' of the youngster's face, the boy walked away, threatening to call the police. 'He just started laughing,' the teenager told the court.
'I started to walk past him, he grabbed my arm and turned me around to talk to him as I was walking away.
'I said, 'I'm definitely telephoning the police now' and he started laughing and said 'Go on.'
'I was quite intimidated, I was quite shocked. He was saying how I thought I was a big, hard man because I had a moped and that I was being dangerous and exceeding the speed limit.
'He said something like, 'Come back later and we'll see who's a big, hard man', like offering a fight.'
The youngster added: 'I don't like fighting anyone. I have never been in a fight in my life.'
Keane then walked around the corner, back towards his house, out of sight.
The boy then turned to his friend and said: 'What a wxxxxr.'
The youngster added: 'I was talking to my friend about what had happened. He obviously must have heard me.'
Keane then appeared again to confront the teenager, who was still sitting on his moped.
'He approached me quite fast, walking over, pointing at me, saying 'Did you call me a wxxxxr?'
'I said 'I don't know.' He was being pretty scary. He looked quite aggressive, the expression on his face. He was repeating 'Did you call me a wxxxxr?' He had his head right up against mine. He grabbed my shirt and must have caught my chain and was pointing.
'His forehead was touching mine. I was quite scared.
'When he was speaking he was spitting as well.'
The boy told the court his chain fell to the ground and Keane seemed to calm down and back off as a result.
The teenager added: 'He said, 'Give it to me, I will get it fixed for you and you can get it back tomorrow.'
Keane suggested he would get the chain welded but the boy told him you could not weld silver. Keane then said: 'Oh, it's silver, is it? As if like he's got lots of money. Then he just laughed and smirked.'
The youngster went to police to report the incident immediately after Keane walked away, the court was told.
Sure kid you are an angel...
The report looks more like reading a story book to me...and as though keane got nothing better to do...
majongfreak
01-03-2005, 09:34 AM
Actually hor, I dun mind seeing SG in Man U jersey though I think it is highly unlikely... However I think there is a cheaper alternative but equally effective as a replacement for our skipper....His name is Gutusso of AC Milan. I think he is greatly underrated in the current Milan team but is one hell of an anchor man. Additional advantage is dat he has played in Scotland before so language and climate would not be a problem. Not too sure about his age though....late 20s?
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 09:43 AM
Seriously, that's just my personal thinking. Maybe you guys never find S.Gerrard too attention seeker or performing inconsistently. But that's how I felt everytime I saw him playing for Liverpool (I have to catch Liverpool's match so often due to my little cousin who loves them). So thru those matches, I felt that the difference when he was active and not active. But maybe we see him @ a different angle/POV. To me he's just not too good for Man. United.
Anyway, it's true that he won't come 2 Man. United. Didn't U guys see someone posted a foto which shows that Josè Mourinho touched his face? (which I guess J.Mourinho was trying to comfy him) - What a NICE person Mourinho is?? :s11:
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 09:50 AM
As long as ManUtd bothers to sign someone, gd enuff... Tos stingy misers up there wont even spare a cent... Gerrard, if he really gonna go, i'll love to have him in t ManUtd ranks... Y let him fall into t rival teams??? He's condemn becos of he's last boo-boo but tat doesnt mean he's a bad player... Which player guaranteed wont score OG one??? We got a black sheep in t likes of Wes Brown dnt we??? Y no one curse n swear at him??? He cos ManUtd more points than Gerrard did...
Tat's becos W.Brown is MANUTD player. ANd already said, it's not becos of that own goal started to dislike him.
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 09:55 AM
It's NOT OUT OF FRUSTRATION lor. Moreover, what kinda of a CAPTAIN will R.Keane be if he said the same thing??? Liverpool might be underperforming, but who does? Moreover, it's still the first season that R.Benitez was there in liverpool and also have more new players inLiverpool. He needs to try out who's more suitable to play on the field and who's NOT.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 10:27 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=955386
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 10:37 AM
Silvestre: Gunners goaded me at Highbury
Mikael Silvestre has accused Arsenal of setting a trap for him at Highbury earlier this month.
The Frenchman was sent off for the first time in his United career after headbutting Freddie Ljungberg during the Red Devils' 4-2 win.
There was little doubt Silvestre deserved to be dismissed by referee Graham Poll after the altercation with Ljungberg, which followed a clash with Dennis Bergkamp.
But Silvestre believes the Arsenal players tried to goad him into a dismissal, and he admits he fell for it.
'I have never, never been sent off for United before,'' Silvestre told United Review.
'I remember being sent off at Rennes in my first season when I had two yellow cards but never a straight red.
'I fell into a trap. It was a mistake. I'll know next time what is going to happen, so I won't fall into that trap again.
'Also, I wasn't prepared for the game mentally - I was prepared to win the game, to win battles, to win challenges, but not to face that attitude.''
Silvestre returned from his three-match suspension on Saturday when he partnered Wes Brown in the centre of United's defence during the 2-1 win over Portsmouth.
The Frenchman will be hoping to retain his place for next Tuesday's Champions League trip to Milan and a return to the magnificent San Siro, where Silvestre spent 13 months as an Inter player.
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326388&cc=4716)
MatrixFanatic
01-03-2005, 10:44 AM
^That's some bull. :s13:
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 10:45 AM
Team of the Week
Alex Sharratt
Only seven Premiership matches took place this week, with Chelsea and Liverpool contesting the Carling Cup final on Sunday in Cardiff. Still, there was enough football for me to spot several individual performances good enough to earn a place in the ESPN Soccernet Team of the Week.
Leading this week's bunch of merry men is the quite sensational Jose Mourinho, who managed his Chelsea side to Carling Cup success in Cardiff on Sunday.
Mourinho had to cope all week with talk of a 'blip' following successive defeats - first in the FA Cup against Newcastle, then in Barcelona on Wednesday. How did he respond? By putting on his best suit-scarf-jacket combo and claiming his club's first piece of silverware in five years.
That guy rocks my world.
Southampton rookie Paul Smith is the young man claiming the sweaty Soccernet goalkeeping gloves this week following his excellent display in the 1-1 draw against Arsenal at St Mary's on Saturday lunchtime.
Smith, a 25-year-old replacement for the injured Antti Nieme, made a number of high-quality saves to deny Thierry Henry et al, and has impressed everyone at St Mary's since he made his debut at the start of January - not least with his trendy haircut.
In front of Smith sit Gary Neville, John Terry and Jamie Carragher.
Neville only played 45 minutes in Manchester United's victory over Portsmouth at Old Trafford on Saturday evening, but he was excellent in both defence and attack.
It was his left-foot cross that set up Wayne Rooney's first goal, and he swung over several more dangerous balls over the course of the first half before he withdrew at half-time with an ankle injury.
Neville is one of the most maligned footballers in the Premiership - and I just can't see why. He seems such a nice lad; always on hand to defend his team-mates, helping the referee understand the rules of the game with a quiet word in his ear, quick to offer sporting gestures towards opposition players.
If I was a betting man, I'd be sticking a fiver on him to be given an honourable mention in the forthcoming FIFA Fair Play Awards.
Terry and Carragher, meanwhile, were superb in Sunday's extra-time thriller in Cardiff. Both strong, commanding centre-backs, they put their bodies on the line for 120 minutes as they climbed in to aerial challenges and threw themselves in the way of shots and crosses.
Of course, it will be Terry who takes the plaudits after his side went on to win the game, but Carragher was superb also; Chelsea's £24million Didier Drogba barely got a kick all match.
Back in Saturday's Premiership matches, young Tim Cahill and Leon Osman led Everton to yet another superb away victory, this time a 3-1 triumph against Aston Villa.
Former Millwall star Cahill ran the match from his advanced midfield position, scoring one and creating the other two for Osman, a revelation this term since returning from a loan spell at Championship side Derby County.
Cahill's curling cross from the left allowed Osman to poke him his sixth goal of the season, before he netted himself with a header from Marcus Bent's cross.
The Australian international then danced through the Villa defence before slipping a pass to Osman to score his second of the game. The young duo have helped Everton make light of the losses of Rooney and Thomas Gravesen and promise a bright future for the Toffees.
In the same game, Nolberto Solano was unlucky to finish on the losing side. It emerged this week that Solano had been the subject of a transfer window bid by Newcastle boss Graeme Souness, obviously as flummoxed as the rest of us as to why Sir Bobby Robson let the Peruvian winger leave St James Park in the first place.
Solano scored Villa's equaliser just after half-time, prodding home from close range after Nigel Martyn failed to hold Thomas Hitzlsperger's shot. Solano also hit the post twice, once in the first half and once in the closing stages, in another enterprising attacking display.
At White Hart Lane, another winger was causing untold damage to a Premiership defence as Tottenham scored two late goals to beat London rivals Fulham.
Andy Reid has only played two games since he joined the club in January, but has made an impact on both occasions. On Saturday, he showed his versatility by operating down both right and left wings, and won the free-kick that resulted in Spurs' breakthrough goal.
Wayne Rooney, Andy Johnson and Kieron Dyer are the men charged with scoring the goals in this wonderful Soccernet Team of the Week.
Playing an old club is always an excuse to turn in your performance of the season, and Andy Johnson didn't waste the chance when Birmingham came to Crystal Palace on Saturday.
Johnson netted his 17th and 18th Premiership goals of the season against his former club. Both were penalties - he now has nine penalties this season - but the now-England man was a constant threat to the Birmingham defence and earns his place here on merit.
He did, however, receive the criticism of former boss Steve Bruce after the match, who accused Johnson of falling a little too easily in the box.
'He goes into the box, and does very well at falling over,' Bruce said. 'He does it remarkably well.' Sour grapes? Not a bit
Dyer, meanwhile, was the star man in Newcastle's home victory against Bolton on Sunday. Playing just behind the strikers, Dyer finally turned in the kind of performance that made him an England favourite only three years ago.
The former Ipswich man scored an excellent 68th-minute winner when he latched on to a loose ball in the Bolton area to lash in to the top corner from just inside the area.
Meanwhile, Rooney was at his very best against Portsmouth at Old Trafford on Saturday evening. The young Lion netted both United goals, including a superb second when it looked as though the visitors would hold out for an undeserved draw.
Rooney collected a pass from Van Nistelrooy before holding off a defender and sliding the ball past the goalkeeper. Like all the best players, he knows when to move up a gear. Unfortunately for Portsmouth, he chose Saturday evening.
Well done everyone.
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=326309&cc=4716)
What a choice of Manager of the Week?? :s8:
A person who taunting the fans/supporters. I felt that being the manager of the week, shldn't be only winning the game so easy. It also needs the manager to perform well in both in & out of the field.
Anyway, glad that G.Neville & W.Rooney are inside.
usjag_18
01-03-2005, 10:55 AM
^That's some bull. :s13:
Though I admit that M.Silvestre was wrong to push F.Ljungberg away but it's also partly true that F.Ljungberg went over to disturb Silvestre when he was trying to walk away. And also at the same time, I think M.Silvestre shld calm himself down which he intended to do @ tat time. However, if he had not push F.Ljungberg's face away, he might be getting a YC only. Who noes?
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 11:32 AM
Actually hor, I dun mind seeing SG in Man U jersey though I think it is highly unlikely... However I think there is a cheaper alternative but equally effective as a replacement for our skipper....His name is Gutusso of AC Milan. I think he is greatly underrated in the current Milan team but is one hell of an anchor man. Additional advantage is dat he has played in Scotland before so language and climate would not be a problem. Not too sure about his age though....late 20s?
hmm... he's not too bad a player.. though i personally dun really like him.. but i agree he's a good anchorman who go all out for his team.. if gerrard ever move to chelsea.. maybe can get makelele but he a little too old bah.. haiz..
keltan
01-03-2005, 12:42 PM
It's NOT OUT OF FRUSTRATION lor. Moreover, what kinda of a CAPTAIN will R.Keane be if he said the same thing??? Liverpool might be underperforming, but who does? Moreover, it's still the first season that R.Benitez was there in liverpool and also have more new players inLiverpool. He needs to try out who's more suitable to play on the field and who's NOT.
Rgds,
O'
Okok.. i get your point...
u stick to your roy keane for the next 10 yrs.
we stick to our stevie g for the next 10 yrs...
stop complaining tt gerrard is not gd enuff for Man Utd, when he isn't going to join them anyway..
sorry, but it really irks me.. hope u can stop dwelling on this matter, as nobody is forcing gerrard to Man Utd..
Peace Out.
Forget it United
CHELSEA star Glen Johnson last night told rivals Manchester United: Forget about winning the title — we’re not going to blow it.
And Blues’ Carling Cup final goal hero Didier Drogba wound up United even more, insisting: We are already the champions.
Sunday’s win over Liverpool ended a horror week which saw Chelsea crash to two cup defeats and United close the gap to six points in the Premiership.
But England star Johnson, 20, rapped: “A lot of people want us to lose, especially United. So it was important to bounce back.
“United are clutching at straws when they question our form.
“If I was in their shoes, I’d want us to lose every game and for other teams to make us struggle.
“But the less we struggle, the worse it is for them.”
Drogba boasted: “We have already won the title, everybody knows we’re the best.
“OK, United play well and Arsenal of course. But we are the best team and good enough to win lots of trophies, that is our aim.”
Drogba, 26, grabbed Chelsea’s vital second goal in Cardiff — four days after his red card in the 2-1 Champions League defeat by Barcelona.
The £24million striker admitted: “I owed that goal to my club, to my manager and to my team-mates because I left them in trouble in Barcelona.
“I always score against Liverpool. I scored in both UEFA Cup games with Marseille last season.
“My goal at Anfield was a beauty but this one was more important.
“When I saw it cross the line from a yard out, I felt such happiness.”
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005092357,00.html
arrogant b@stards, just love it if they blow up the title now. :s8:
keltan
01-03-2005, 01:54 PM
wah lau...so arrogant... as usual...
although their next 4 games against relegation candidates.. dun underestimate their power as they fight for survival. Hope they will drop points... and heres to Man Utd as they pip Chelski to the title...
I would love to ask drogba who are the champions then..
Freemanz
01-03-2005, 01:59 PM
Wah arrogant and confident is different leh .. too me they are just too arrogant instead of the confident which they always say.
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 04:39 PM
Hello all, a man utd fan here. I am now in australia, so there is no epl action here. now i cant watch all the matches coz my house here no cable. anyone can update me with the form and etc on the team news also. australia people only play tennis, rugby and cricket here. this is so frustrating! :(
hahaha... relax bro... im sure there will be updates available here so check back here often ya? :)
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 04:41 PM
if they are not arrogant, they wun be in chelsea liao loh.. lets hope they self-destruct and lose the lead to man utd.. cheers to man utd :D
MatrixFanatic
01-03-2005, 05:26 PM
although their next 4 games against relegation candidates.. dun underestimate their power as they fight for survival. Hope they will drop points... and heres to Man Utd as they pip Chelski to the title...
Relegation teams no nice to play at this last quarter of the season. They think it's easy... We shall see. :s13:
MatrixFanatic
01-03-2005, 05:28 PM
Patient Glazer has United rushing for cure
The board at Manchester United are making a last effort to fend off Joel Glazer's takeover bid while he is in hospital. The takeover has been temporarily halted as Glazer recuperates in Florida after an emergency appendectomy, but there are only two weeks remaining for the United board to come up with an alternative. One of the possibilities is to 'gear up the new balance sheet', borrowing new funds to pay a one-off super-dividend to persuade John Magnier and JP McManus not to sell their decisive 29% to the Glazer family.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
Hope this bloody kuku bird die fast.
Ronaldo_7
01-03-2005, 05:29 PM
hahaha.. yeah man.. they fight the bravest and the hardest to save their teams.. really admire their courage man.. maybe drogba never play them at this critical period before bah..
Raul7
01-03-2005, 06:55 PM
if they are not arrogant, they wun be in chelsea liao loh.. lets hope they self-destruct and lose the lead to man utd.. cheers to man utd :D
curse them tio red card n injuries..... :evil:
kahmun7
01-03-2005, 08:12 PM
aiya... relax brothers... look at the source...
Raul7
01-03-2005, 08:21 PM
Relegation teams no nice to play at this last quarter of the season. They think it's easy... We shall see. :s13:
they will fight till the end!!!!!!!
Ronaldo7
01-03-2005, 08:46 PM
just bring on any team :s7:
we can't afford any more slip if we want to maintain our slim chance of catching up with chelsea
Raul7
01-03-2005, 08:48 PM
just bring on any team :s7:
we can't afford any more slip if we want to maintain our slim chance of catching up with chelsea
ya loh.....cannot afforrd to lose liao....
RuMmYtUb
01-03-2005, 08:48 PM
Fingers crossed, i'm still hoping Man Utd can edge Chelsea out even the slightest of chances..
cutieboy86
01-03-2005, 09:46 PM
Smith's call for a glory charge
Manchester United striker Alan Smith has set his team-mates the challenge of remaining unbeaten until the end of the season. The Red Devils have not lost in the Premiership since the defeat at Portsmouth in October, and the abrasive Leeds-born forward is calling on United to maintain their own outstanding form. "The run we are on at the moment is a credit to everyone at the club," said Smith. "Even if we don't win the title, if we can remain unbeaten until the end of the season we can look back and say in other years we would've won it."
Lee West, Daily Mirror
Neville KO fear
Gary Neville faces a race against time to be fit for United's do-or-die clash against AC Milan. The England full-back was forced out of Saturday's win over Portsmouth at half-time after a clash with Matt Taylor. Neville was rushed to hospital for X-rays that revealed nothing more than heavy bruising. But despite escaping serious injury, the defender could still face a two-week spell on the sidelines - and that could force him out of next week's trip to the San Siro.
Staff reporter, Daily Mirror
Roon spurs Saha
Wayne Rooney is impressing his Manchester United team-mates so much that striker Louis Saha is taking football lessons from him. Saha has played double the games of England striker Rooney but is still in awe of the teenager. Rooney, 19, scored twice on Saturday to secure a crucial win over Portsmouth and take his tally for the season to 15. Saha was crocked by a knee injury for large chunks of the season — but used his time out to study Rooney’s game. He said: “I look at the way Wayne controls the ball and the way he takes in information from the players around. He is a someone I have learned from this season.”
Tony Little, The Sun
cutieboy86
01-03-2005, 09:48 PM
United Roar Inspires Ruud For Trophy Chase
Ruud van Nistelrooy was moved by the rousing reception he received as a second-half substitute against AC Milan last week, and is now relishing United's hunt for silverware.
The 28-year-old striker was returning from an Achilles injury and hadn't experienced United fans singing his name in three months.
"I was very proud," said van Nistelrooy. "First of all, I was so happy just to be back and able to play. When you walk out and get a reception like that it is difficult to describe. I am very thankful to United's fans.
"It's great to get a reception like that and it makes you want to go out and give it everything - it's what you play football for.
"It was a disappointing night to lose 1-0. Our task is difficult but, in a way, it is made easier in that we know exactly what we need to do out there; we need to go and win. In that sense it's simple."
Van Nistelrooy admits to feeling rusty after his spell on the sidelines. Although the Dutchman may not have found the net in his first two games back, he was involved in both of Rooney's goals against Portsmouth.
Such is the striker's presence that Arjen de Zeeuw was pre-occupied with the Dutchman when Gary Neville's cross was flighted into the box. Rooney moved into the space vacated by the Portsmouth captain and applied the finish.
For the winner, Ruud proved he has lost none of his ability for close ball control. Receiving a pass into his feet, van Nistelrooy spun away from his marker and found Rooney, who got his second of the match, the crucial winning goal.
Ruud's ability to hold the ball up outside the box and his deadly finishing inside it are complimented perfectly by Rooney's livewire presence anywhere in the final third. But it is a combination upfront that Ferguson has rarely had at his disposal.
Sir Alex has only been able to start the pair on 10 occasions, but in those games the pair have been productive to say the least, scoring 17 goals between them.
Rooney took his total to 15 for the season with his brace on Saturday, while van Nistelrooy has 12 goals in 16 games this term. However, Ruud insists he needs more games to reach top form.
"I need more games to get myself back to full match fitness," Ruud told Manchester United Radio. "I realised that in my first week of training. But I am working on my fitness in every minute I have in training and on the pitch.
"I am hoping to get back to my best level as soon as possible. It's been frustrating. This is the longest spell out I have had since I came to United.
"Not being able to play is hard, but seeing the lads play made it even more difficult because you want to be part of it."
Van Nistelrooy will be fitter and sharper for United's Champions League second-leg trip to the San Siro next week, but first he is concentrating on making Chelsea go into their next Premeirship fixture - against Norwich this Saturday evening - with the Reds within touching distance and the title race very much on.
If Ferguson's men defeat Crystal Palace in their rare three o'clock start this Saturday, United will be within three points of Jose Mourinho's league leaders.
"With the situation as it is at the top, every game from now until the end of the season is a must-win," says Ruud, relishing the challenge. "Having that pressure is a good thing though.
"If you can win the title early then great. But it is good to be involved in a title race that is tight like this one is. If we keep playing the way we are playing, it gives us a great chance."
cutieboy86
01-03-2005, 09:57 PM
FLETCHER TARGETS EARLY APRIL RETURN
Frustrated Manchester United midfielder Darren Fletcher is targeting a Barclays Premiership return against Blackburn Rovers on April 2.
Fletcher is hoping to do some light jogging later this week as he continues to battle back to fitness from the knee ligament injury he picked up in the derby-day win over at City last month.
The 21-year-old Scotland international was initially told he would be absent for at least six weeks, a diagnosis which would rule him out of his country's key World Cup qualifier with Italy later this month.
But Fletcher has confirmed he appears to be ahead of schedule in his recovery programme, raising the possibility he could link up with Walter Smith's squad for the trip to Milan.
Whether Sir Alex Ferguson would allow the Edinburgh-born player to report for international duty without the benefit of even a Barclays Premiership Reserve League North appearance is open to question, so a more realistic comeback date is the first visit of former Red Devils' hero Mark Hughes to Old Trafford as Blackburn manager.
"I have been out for two weeks so far and am making good progress," Fletcher told MUTV.
"Six or seven weeks is the timescale I have been given, so anything before that would be a bonus and hopefully it won't be that long.
"I have been doing some hard work in the gym and hopefully I will get on with some light jogging later this week."
Fletcher has already been a frustrated spectator for the FA Cup win over Everton and the disappointing Champions League defeat to Milan last week.
He is already resigned to missing out on the return leg at the San Siro but knows he should be available for the quarter-final should Ferguson's side complete a remarkable recovery in Italy.
But Fletcher, who has suffered more than his fair share of injuries during his short career, knows the huge importance of not rushing his rehabilitation and is prepared to be patient and ensure he is fully fit when he does eventually return.
"I can't afford to rush back and risk long term damage," he said.
"If I came back too soon, the problem could get even worse but obviously to be out for this length of time at this stage of the season is very disappointing."
blackevil_2000
01-03-2005, 10:40 PM
got a feelin that manUtd can do treble this time
mclarenfan
01-03-2005, 10:55 PM
one step at a time...
mclarenfan
01-03-2005, 10:57 PM
Keane acquitted on assault charge :D .. glad its over...
cutieboy86
01-03-2005, 11:08 PM
woah.. happy for keane...
Raul7
01-03-2005, 11:20 PM
heng man........ :)
jumpmanz
02-03-2005, 01:18 AM
wah. heng. but that 16 year old kid also quite guai lan.
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 01:52 AM
really? glad that nothing happens to our dear captain Keano :D
usjag_18
02-03-2005, 02:27 AM
got a feelin that manUtd can do treble this time
Relax, we need to do things slowly. One @ a time.
Just hope we can do well in the follow games.
Carroll facing dilemma
Roy Carroll's agent has admitted the keeper's costly blunder against Milan could have harmed the keeper's future prospects at Manchester United.
Francis Martin has been trying to negotiate a new deal for the Northern Ireland international, who is out of contract in the summer, but Carroll is concerned that he is not Sir Alex Ferguson's long-term choice for the number one slot.
Ferguson reacted to Carroll's slip in the UEFA Champions League by recalling Tim Howard for the Premiership win against Portsmouth.
It is anticipated that United, despite denials, will buy a new keeper in the summer and the ball seems to be in Carroll's court regarding whether he stays to fight for his place or moves to pastures new.
"We are not trying to drum up ant extra interest," said Martin. "It is purely a professional decision on Roy's part.
"His preference would still be to stay at United but he wants to be clear in his mind that he is seen as a long-term first team prospect.
"A month ago, it looked like that was the case but, unfortunately, he has made a couple of mistakes recently and that might have put doubt in the manager's mind again.
"It is a big decision for him [Carroll] to make and is certainly nothing to do with money."
The 25-year-old has been offered a three-year deal by United but his high-profile mistakes against Milan and Tottenham, when he luckily escaped spilling Pedro Mendes's harmless lob over the line, appear to have cast doubts over his suitability as The Red Devils' long-term number one.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=259229&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Carroll+facing+dilemma&channel=Football_Home
Keane charges dismissed
Manchester United's captain Roy Keane has been cleared of charges of assault and criminal damage.
Keane had been accused of assaulting a 16-year-old and breaking his necklace, but the court has acquitted the footballer.
The Red Devils star gave evidence on Tuesday after being accused of assault, a public order offence and criminal damage.
District Judge Paul Richardson said he felt that there had not been enough proof to convict, stating: "Accordingly I dismiss these three charges.
"It was clear to me this was a young man who enjoyed the attention that the incident had given him.
"Given his motive was, at the best, very questionable, I could not rely on his evidence."
The judge added that the three charges of common assault, criminal damage and the public order offence arose out of the same incident and so all stood or fell together.
"Throughout this matter, Roy has always maintained his innocence," said solictor Maurice Watkins.
"He has been vindicated today and he is very relieved that justice has been done."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=259132&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Keane+charges+dismissed&channel=Football_Home
usjag_18
02-03-2005, 02:44 AM
Carroll facing dilemma
Roy Carroll's agent has admitted the keeper's costly blunder against Milan could have harmed the keeper's future prospects at Manchester United.
Francis Martin has been trying to negotiate a new deal for the Northern Ireland international, who is out of contract in the summer, but Carroll is concerned that he is not Sir Alex Ferguson's long-term choice for the number one slot.
Ferguson reacted to Carroll's slip in the UEFA Champions League by recalling Tim Howard for the Premiership win against Portsmouth.
It is anticipated that United, despite denials, will buy a new keeper in the summer and the ball seems to be in Carroll's court regarding whether he stays to fight for his place or moves to pastures new.
"We are not trying to drum up ant extra interest," said Martin. "It is purely a professional decision on Roy's part.
"His preference would still be to stay at United but he wants to be clear in his mind that he is seen as a long-term first team prospect.
"A month ago, it looked like that was the case but, unfortunately, he has made a couple of mistakes recently and that might have put doubt in the manager's mind again.
"It is a big decision for him [Carroll] to make and is certainly nothing to do with money."
The 25-year-old has been offered a three-year deal by United but his high-profile mistakes against Milan and Tottenham, when he luckily escaped spilling Pedro Mendes's harmless lob over the line, appear to have cast doubts over his suitability as The Red Devils' long-term number one.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=259229&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Carroll+facing+dilemma&channel=Football_Home
I think F.Martin is bullsh*tting. If nothing got to do with $$$, then why he was already given a 3-yr contract and still dun sign the contract. In fact, I dun think Sir A.Fergie had blamed him for that mistake he made against Spurs, if not, he won't be given so many chances after tat match. Moreover, didn't he said b4 himself, in Man United, no one are in the first-team. It's very obvious that u need to rest, we give U a rest. But after the rest, still mistake occured in one of the most important match. What does he expect Man UNited to do? Seriously, I dun think it's the players who are making decision nowadays. More like the agents who are making decisions.
TOKARA
02-03-2005, 03:56 AM
I think F.Martin is bullsh*tting. If nothing got to do with $$$, then why he was already given a 3-yr contract and still dun sign the contract. In fact, I dun think Sir A.Fergie had blamed him for that mistake he made against Spurs, if not, he won't be given so many chances after tat match. Moreover, didn't he said b4 himself, in Man United, no one are in the first-team. It's very obvious that u need to rest, we give U a rest. But after the rest, still mistake occured in one of the most important match. What does he expect Man UNited to do? Seriously, I dun think it's the players who are making decision nowadays. More like the agents who are making decisions.
if he signs it and isnt the first choice at Man Utd, his VALUE could drop faster than a descending roller coaster. At 25, money prolly aint his concern, FUTURE is, yer can bet on it.
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:34 AM
wah. heng. but that 16 year old kid also quite guai lan.
should hire other people to kick his ass :s7:
Ultimate10002000
02-03-2005, 12:59 PM
Keane charges dismissed
Manchester United's captain Roy Keane has been cleared of charges of assault and criminal damage.
Keane had been accused of assaulting a 16-year-old and breaking his necklace, but the court has acquitted the footballer.
The Red Devils star gave evidence on Tuesday after being accused of assault, a public order offence and criminal damage.
District Judge Paul Richardson said he felt that there had not been enough proof to convict, stating: "Accordingly I dismiss these three charges.
"It was clear to me this was a young man who enjoyed the attention that the incident had given him.
"Given his motive was, at the best, very questionable, I could not rely on his evidence."
The judge added that the three charges of common assault, criminal damage and the public order offence arose out of the same incident and so all stood or fell together.
"Throughout this matter, Roy has always maintained his innocence," said solictor Maurice Watkins.
"He has been vindicated today and he is very relieved that justice has been done."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=259132&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Keane+charges+dismissed&channel=Football_Home
Funny arh i wonder why Keane is always being face with such charges of scaring kids, maybe it is because his face looks very scary to the kids.
The kid went to provoke Keane I feel. :s22:
usjag_18
02-03-2005, 02:48 PM
if he signs it and isnt the first choice at Man Utd, his VALUE could drop faster than a descending roller coaster. At 25, money prolly aint his concern, FUTURE is, yer can bet on it.
OT QNS: Are U an Aussie or Sporean? If U are a Sporean, I think U are trying too hard to act like a caucasian...
In the first place, from a lower division player to become one of the top clubs' goalies. He was given the chances he wants. If he's nt interested in signing and wanted to go other clubs, then why bother making Man. United to wait for his answer. Seriously, I am not blaming R.Carroll. In fact, I am blaming his agent for making this nonsense. I dun believe that players will take up such a long time to decide whether he will be signing for long-term contract or not. Moreover, the contract is already given to him even long b4 he made the two mistakes.
cutieboy86
02-03-2005, 06:05 PM
Clanger Carroll to quit if he's stuck on bench
Roy Carroll will leave Manchester United in the summer if he cannot win back his first-team place. Carroll, who is out of contract in July, is stalling over United's offer of a four-year deal worth £18,000 a week and his agent Francis Martin claims he will not stay if he remains on the bench. The Northern Ireland keeper was dropped on Saturday after enjoying his best run in the side. Carroll, who is being tracked by his old club Wigan, expects manager Sir Alex Ferguson to sign another keeper in the summer and fears he could slip to third in the pecking order. "Money is not the issue here and Manchester United have made clear what they're prepared to offer," said Martin. "Instead, it's a question of whether Roy feels he's going to be there next season as No.1, No.2 or even No.3 and that's the key to it all. You can have all the money in the world, but it's no good if you're sitting in the stands and Roy's not the sort of person to do that. Once you've had such a long run in the side, like Roy's had, and played for the biggest club in the world, it's difficult to play second or third fiddle to someone else. Roy thinks United will bring in another goalkeeper in the summer so instead of just Tim Howard, he could be fighting two top-class goalkeepers for his place."
David Anderson, Daily Mirror
Carroll's No 1 demand risks Fergie wrath
Roy Carroll may be about to drop the biggest clanger of his career - by pushing Sir Alex Ferguson into stating whether he will be Manchester United's No 1 goalkeeper next season. The timing of the ultimatum could not have been worse after United launched a Europe-wide search that identified Villareal's 22-year-old prospect Jose Reina as a potential signing. Reina has a £5.5million escape clause in a Villareal contract until 2012.
Peter Ferguson, Daily Mail
Smith ready to role
Alan Smith says a medal will not mean anything to him unless he has a big say in Manchester United’s run-in. Smith made his first appearance in 11 games during Saturday’s win against Portsmouth. The former Leeds striker had been out injured for eight matches and named on the bench for the last three. He will have been particularly disappointed at not seeing any Champions League action against AC Milan last week. Now he wants boss Alex Ferguson to play him - even if it means taking up a role in the centre of midfield. Smith, 24, said: “When people come to Manchester United they say they want to be here to win things. But I want to be an essential part in winning those things. For me it is vital that you have that sort of attitude. You have to want to be part of it and make sure you give something to the team. I don’t just want to be a bit-part player and then pick up a trophy. It is important to try and make the team better - that is why I came here.”
Neil Custis, The Sun
blackevil_2000
02-03-2005, 06:36 PM
i still think that roy shld go somewhere like spur
staying in manUtd does not help is 4 both manUtd n his good
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:02 PM
Southampton's Niemi No1 Man Utd target
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has made Southampton's Antti Niemi his No1 choice to solve his goalkeeping problems next season.
The Times says Ferguson has been impressed by Niemi, but his concern about several of the contenders - one shared by Arsene Wenger, the Arsenal manager - is that the challenge of keeping goal for a top club requires a different discipline from that at Southampton, for example.
Francesco Toldo, of Inter Milan, and Jussi Jaaskelainen, of Bolton Wanderers, have been identified as alternatives, while the United manager will also consider signing a younger man if Tim Howard, the United States goalkeeper, fails to make the most of the second chance.
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:09 PM
wow....Ronaldo_7 congrates man....Snr member liao :)
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 07:11 PM
wow....Ronaldo_7 congrates man....Snr member liao :)
lolz! wah lau eh.. paiseh liao lar.. lolz juz kidding =:p
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 07:13 PM
Southampton's Niemi No1 Man Utd target
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has made Southampton's Antti Niemi his No1 choice to solve his goalkeeping problems next season.
The Times says Ferguson has been impressed by Niemi, but his concern about several of the contenders - one shared by Arsene Wenger, the Arsenal manager - is that the challenge of keeping goal for a top club requires a different discipline from that at Southampton, for example.
Francesco Toldo, of Inter Milan, and Jussi Jaaskelainen, of Bolton Wanderers, have been identified as alternatives, while the United manager will also consider signing a younger man if Tim Howard, the United States goalkeeper, fails to make the most of the second chance.
Niemi quite good i think.. last time hear my friend say.. he concede alot at soton because always block the shot and pple juz take a second shot and hit the back of the net.. because his defenders are slow to react..
cutieboy86
02-03-2005, 07:13 PM
man u is linked wif many GKs
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:17 PM
lolz! wah lau eh.. paiseh liao lar.. lolz juz kidding =:p
haahahaa.....well done... :)
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:18 PM
ya...hope they can buy a gd one... :)
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 07:21 PM
yupz.. once they say want buy someone, all the rumours come knocking liao.. be it true or not..
RuMmYtUb
02-03-2005, 07:27 PM
Niemi's a gd shot stopper.
Hairstyle and gk skills, as gd as Canizaires
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 07:30 PM
they look quite alike dun u think so? haha
Raul7
02-03-2005, 07:31 PM
they look quite alike dun u think so? haha
really abit... :s13:
TOKARA
02-03-2005, 07:36 PM
OT QNS: Are U an Aussie or Sporean? If U are a Sporean, I think U are trying too hard to act like a caucasian...
In the first place, from a lower division player to become one of the top clubs' goalies. He was given the chances he wants. If he's nt interested in signing and wanted to go other clubs, then why bother making Man. United to wait for his answer. Seriously, I am not blaming R.Carroll. In fact, I am blaming his agent for making this nonsense. I dun believe that players will take up such a long time to decide whether he will be signing for long-term contract or not. Moreover, the contract is already given to him even long b4 he made the two mistakes.
i'm a singaporean and no, i'm not an aussie cause i hate arstralia and nope i'm not trying to act like a white cause i dont fancy to be in their shoes with their noses up in the air.
Enough's said.
*if yer going for personal attacks, go ahead...i'm immune to kids.
Also been linked with Kameni, that esponyal keeper who makes some terrific saves against barcelona last night.
Raul7
02-03-2005, 08:27 PM
Also been linked with Kameni, that esponyal keeper who makes some terrific saves against barcelona last night.
yup...si bei hor ah...... :D
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 09:06 PM
wahz! he saved alot of shots last night also been linked to man utd?
Raul7
02-03-2005, 09:09 PM
wahz! he saved alot of shots last night also been linked to man utd?
no la, before he saved a lot of shots from barca last nite already linked liao... :) i just scared that if man u were to sign him think need work permit for him play in epl...
1920_me
02-03-2005, 09:24 PM
can some1 tell,where i can regularly find man utd goals clips every weekend
Ronaldo7
02-03-2005, 09:25 PM
how many keepers have we been linked with ?
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=259423&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Proto+race+hots+up&channel=Football_Home
aother one but the good thing is that he is cheap :s22:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
kameni
van der sar
toldo
niemi
cudicini
robinson
casillas
jaaskelainen
hildebrand
proto
anymore you all can think of ?
cutieboy86
02-03-2005, 09:31 PM
proto is quite unheard of... i tink we nid a more experienced GK...
cutieboy86
02-03-2005, 09:33 PM
i would love to see either robinson or casillas tho... the former will require at least 5million pound, the latter we will not be sure but it would not be cheap... maybe hildebrand or niemi can oso
cutieboy86
02-03-2005, 09:34 PM
Debut Boy Miller Makes It Five In A Row
Full Reserves Results and Fixtures List
Barclays FA Premier Reserve League
Liverpool 0
Manchester United 1
The Racecourse Ground, Wrexham
Liam Miller's volley on his Reserve team debut kept the Reds in the title chase and gave Ricky Sbragia's side a fifth consecutive victory.
The Irish midfielder hit the 20-yard winner ten minutes after half-time, calmly taking down a half-cleared corner before dummying and then firing home left-footed.
In truth, United should have had far more goals to show for their domination.
The hosts were often indebted to goalkeeper Harrison, while Smith also cleared two efforts off the line.
Guiseppe Rossi almost opened the scoring early on, but blazed over from close-range under heavy pressure from Harrison, who soon afterwards made a decent near-post save from Colin Heath.
David Bellion came inches away from a fine goal before half-time, but saw his powerful effort cannon back off the Liverpool crossbar.
Before Miller's goal, Smith did well to anticipate David Jones' curled effort to knock it away to safety, and later on the same player superbly hooked Rossi's clever lob off the line.
United, who collected their fifth consecutive clean sheet, were rarely troubled - although Ricardo was forced to parry Partridge's 20-yard effort late on.
United team: Ricardo, Picken, Eckersley, Pique, Spector, Miller, Heath, D Jones, Bellion, Rossi, Martin
AhHuat
02-03-2005, 09:39 PM
when is the next match?
this sat ?
MatrixFanatic
02-03-2005, 10:26 PM
when is the next match?
this sat ?
Starsports 10.55pm Saturday. Crystal Palacce. Difficult game. :o
usjag_18
02-03-2005, 11:23 PM
Starsports 10.55pm Saturday. Crystal Palacce. Difficult game. :o
Hey Matrix bro, what makes U think so? I also think it's not going to b an ez game. *sigh* duno what Man Utd going to do against Crystal Palace after wat they did to Birmingham. Are we playing @ Crystal Palace home ground?
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 11:25 PM
i would love to see either robinson or casillas tho... the former will require at least 5million pound, the latter we will not be sure but it would not be cheap... maybe hildebrand or niemi can oso
haha.. out of these four, most preferably shld be casillas bah.. but its impossible as man utd dun have the funds now.. i would prefer niemi or robinson bah.. imo as i duno who is hildebrand
chengsun
02-03-2005, 11:27 PM
haha.. out of these four, most preferably shld be casillas bah.. but its impossible as man utd dun have the funds now.. i would prefer niemi or robinson bah.. imo as i duno who is hildebrand
bunderliga stugart gk, germany 3rd gk after kahn n lehman
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.