View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 11:28 PM
Hey Matrix bro, what makes U think so? I also think it's not going to b an ez game. *sigh* duno what Man Utd going to do against Crystal Palace after wat they did to Birmingham. Are we playing @ Crystal Palace home ground?
yes.. we are playing against Palace at their home ground
Ronaldo_7
02-03-2005, 11:31 PM
bunderliga stugart gk, germany 3rd gk after kahn n lehman
oh.. thanks alot for the information.. :) any links that has his information mar? thanks in advance
chengsun
02-03-2005, 11:52 PM
oh.. thanks alot for the information.. :) any links that has his information mar? thanks in advance
i think u can easily get his info just by a search on google, he is quite popular in germany, quite yandao also if im not wrong.
contracts finish this summer, rumour to go over bayern munich to replace kahn but denied.
ben0704
02-03-2005, 11:58 PM
robinson or casillas is a good choice. but i disagree wif signing niemi, wat for tat we go and sign a 30+ player? we mind as well give horward another chance.. and tat carroll, he can left on a free transfer. no one will miss him. if he refuse to sign a contract and see himself as buffon. then all the best to him lor. :s22: maybe he can go arsenal and help them solve their GK problem. :D
chengsun
02-03-2005, 11:59 PM
i got a thought, we have been talking abt getting giggs replacement for a long long time, is it better, if we move ronaldo to the left, then instead, we get a right winger, which is actually much easier, n cheaper?
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:04 AM
i got a thought, we have been talking abt getting giggs replacement for a long long time, is it better, if we move ronaldo to the left, then instead, we get a right winger, which is actually much easier, n cheaper?
no worry. don u remember tat we got Fletcher on the right? unless u see him as a central midfielder.
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 12:06 AM
i think u can easily get his info just by a search on google, he is quite popular in germany, quite yandao also if im not wrong.
contracts finish this summer, rumour to go over bayern munich to replace kahn but denied.
oh ok.. sure.. thanks
chengsun
03-03-2005, 12:07 AM
no worry. don u remember tat we got Fletcher on the right? unless u see him as a central midfielder.
but seriously, i dun find he is really good......
SimpleDude
03-03-2005, 12:12 AM
Fletcher needs to work on his first touch and build on his mass. Lose the ball very often more than Ronaldo.
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:15 AM
but seriously, i dun find he is really good......
i tin fletcher got a creative football mind. he is one from the youth system tat pass well. know how to pass bit of through ball. i tin he is better than his senior in passing through ball. although i must say tat he look rather weak in strength. or maybe can give him a season more to train himself up for the EPL.
tin we should look into the center of midfield. keane and scholes r old liao.. we need fresh blood. miller hor.. hai.. don wan to say more.. kleberson lei, weak in strength as well. though i tin he got the potential, but he is too weak to play in EPL. we need new young player in tat department.
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:18 AM
Fletcher needs to work on his first touch and build on his mass. Lose the ball very often more than Ronaldo.
ya, EPL is jus too tough. player weak in mass/strength will find it hard to survive. personally tin tat if there is one day of figo or aimar coming to EPL. they won be as good as they r in real and valencia.
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 12:18 AM
hmm.. i feel fletcher need to improve further bah before he can be a first team regular..
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 12:24 AM
United fans warned over mask plans
Crystal Palace have confirmed that "any supporters visiting Selhurst Park on Saturday will not gain admission to the stadium or will be ejected from the ground in possession of any kind of face mask." The statement comes in response to rumours that United's travelling contingent had planned to designate the day as an Eric Cantona tribute - including the possibility of wearing rubber Cantona masks.
Source: ManUtd.com News
Saints will host Man Utd in Cup
Southampton will meet Manchester United at home in the FA Cup quarter-finals after despatching Brentford. Saints knocked out the Bees after a replay on Tuesday and will now take on United in a re-run of the 1976 final. Bolton host Arsenal after their shoot-out victory over Sheffield United and Leicester will visit Blackburn, who beat Burnley in a replay on Tuesday. Newcastle will be at home to either Tottenham or Nottingham Forest, with that replay taking place on Wednesday. The ties will be played on the weekend of 12-13 March.
Source: BBC Sport
ben0704
03-03-2005, 01:07 AM
hmm.. i feel fletcher need to improve further bah before he can be a first team regular..
he got the potential there la. i don tin he will turn out to be another luke chadwick! :D
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 01:14 AM
haha.. i know he got the potential.. juz forget to put it down in the earlier post :D
Raul7
03-03-2005, 07:57 AM
he cannot make it .....can leave utd liao :s7:
Ronaldo7
03-03-2005, 08:08 AM
actually fletcher looks more impressive in the centre of midfield than on the right imo
Raul7
03-03-2005, 08:13 AM
actually fletcher looks more impressive in the centre of midfield than on the right imo
i feel he need to build up his mass more so that people wun any go knocking him also...in EPL very physical one....
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 09:01 AM
hmm..i sort of think that way too.. i think he played better when SAF played him in the center than on the right flank..
majongfreak
03-03-2005, 09:17 AM
Hi guys,
Just a thought ....
As the season comes to a close and we might or might not win any trophy, if u were Fergie and Quineroz, wat wud be your verdict on this season?? Wat are the things that u think that need to be improved or done in preparation for assault on next season??
As for me I think first of all, we have a pretty gd season with or without trophy. The youngsters like Smith, Ronaldo, Rooney are gradually blended into the team, the old timers like Keane, Scholes and Giggs are performing to expectations and we have a world class ** in Rio and a industrious left back in Henze. We have a pretty gd record against our arch rivals like Arsenal and Liverpool. The only reason we were so far behind Chelsea was only becoz of our erratic early season form due to injuries and our failure to beat the lesser teams like Portsmouth, Bolton, Fullahm etc. In addition, I think we need to settle certain issues before the next season:
1) Give Giggs his deserved contract.
2) Get a reliable gk that is gd enf for epl and cl... My personal favourite Casillas of Real Madrid
3) Improve the potency of our set pieces like freekicks and corners. Currently the most glaring weakness. Hardly scores from freekicks and corners directly.
4) Improve the scoring abilities of our defenders like Rio and Silvestre. Notice that our centre backs hardly score in set pieces as compared to the likes of Sol Cambell, John Terry and Sami Hypia? If we can get them to be able to exploit from corners or free kicks, we would score even more goals.
5) Begin sourcing for replacement for Keane, Giggs and Scholes. I think Klberson cmi, and Fletcher need toughening up and Miller needs more games to assess his usefulness.
Any other issues that I left out???
ben0704
03-03-2005, 09:46 AM
Hi guys,
Just a thought ....
As the season comes to a close and we might or might not win any trophy, if u were Fergie and Quineroz, wat wud be your verdict on this season?? Wat are the things that u think that need to be improved or done in preparation for assault on next season??
As for me I think first of all, we have a pretty gd season with or without trophy. The youngsters like Smith, Ronaldo, Rooney are gradually blended into the team, the old timers like Keane, Scholes and Giggs are performing to expectations and we have a world class ** in Rio and a industrious left back in Henze. We have a pretty gd record against our arch rivals like Arsenal and Liverpool. The only reason we were so far behind Chelsea was only becoz of our erratic early season form due to injuries and our failure to beat the lesser teams like Portsmouth, Bolton, Fullahm etc. In addition, I think we need to settle certain issues before the next season:
2) Get a reliable gk that is gd enf for epl and cl... My personal favourite Casillas of Real Madrid
3) Improve the potency of our set pieces like freekicks and corners. Currently the most glaring weakness. Hardly scores from freekicks and corners directly.
4) Improve the scoring abilities of our defenders like Rio and Silvestre. Notice that our centre backs hardly score in set pieces as compared to the likes of Sol Cambell, John Terry and Sami Hypia? If we can get them to be able to exploit from corners or free kicks, we would score even more goals.
5) Begin sourcing for replacement for Keane, Giggs and Scholes. I think Klberson cmi, and Fletcher need toughening up and Miller needs more games to assess his usefulness.
1) giggs deserve a contract, but support man u on one year rather than 2 year. don u all feel tat, giggs alway perform better when he need to prove his worth? giing him a 2 year contract, and he don need to prove it anymore.
2) casillas reflex is very good. i won mind him. but will be costy. another problem is, he wan to leave real?
3) i don like beckham, but i agree tat after he leave, we seldom score as much as we like, on freekicks and corners.
4) all i wan is rio and silvestre produce rock solid performace on the defence and concede the lessest goal in EPL. have the best defensive record. it all i ask for. and i tin this is more important than scoing goal by them.
5) for kleberson, wat cmi? fletcher need to toughen up. i agree. as for miller, i tin he is jus another p.neville. a player tat play where SAF need him. i don think he will be a big hit for us. will fail to command a first team regular even after few year.
mclarenfan
03-03-2005, 11:02 AM
Last match when Alam Smith played in the midfield ..i cannot make up mind whether was he good or bad?... i certainly want to see him play more midfield roles cos i believe he could replace Keane... He got skill but the question is on his vision?...
mclarenfan
03-03-2005, 11:08 AM
Did u ppl notice Saha in the last match... he was paiseh a bit...cos SAF wanted to subs him, just when Saha was going to be subs...SAF call him back and ask fortune to go instead.. :D ...feel sorry for Saha...hope he play next match...
MatrixFanatic
03-03-2005, 11:09 AM
I think it's not that Kleberson cannot make it, it just that he's always injured and not given enough chances, same goes for Miller.
leslielai_
03-03-2005, 11:28 AM
Fletcher passes well no doubt. But the other aspects of his game are almost rubbish.
Unless he improves a great deal within the very near future, there is no use retaining his services. Everytime his name appears on the team list, I get very worried.
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 11:29 AM
i feel he need to build up his mass more so that people wun any go knocking him also...in EPL very physical one....
True, in physical wise, he really needs to buck up. Find him easily knocked down by others. Not ever time you will be fouled by others. Sometimes, if the tackled is legal, then still get injuries, really not worth it.
Totally agreed. He deserves the contract for two-yrs. Afterall, he proves himself for the past few yrs.
GKs wise, I think we should give T.Howard & R.Lopez chances to prove their worth. Moreover, the GKs most people tok about over here will definitely not going to be CHEAP. So no point changing our current goalies if giving them chances. Just imagine tat period of time when we are having the GREAT DANE, if he made a couple of mistakes initially and Sir A.Fergie never given him another chance, do you think he will did well for us? Anyway, I still think they deserves a chance. Some more, T.Howard & R.Lopez have not been even representing us for more than 3 yrs. Why not giving them more chances. Afterall, T.Howard did perform well in his first season.
As for freekicks & corner kicks, seriously, I admit that w/o D.Beckham, we really did badly this season not the last season though. I think if Sir A.Ferguson can trained D.Beckham to a freekick & corner kick expert, I dun see why he cannot trained another person to be the freekick & corner kick. It's just matters of time.
I dun think that's a problem or issue for us. Basically, I think it's all up to the each individual player's abilities. I just hope we got more players that belong to the attacking typed of players can scored more goals. In fact, I think M.Silvestre already count as not bad recent seasons, he already scored a few goals that are quite important for Man Utd. Seriously, I rather them to have a better communication with the GKs... In fact, sometimes, I felt the reasons that our defending is so lousy sometimes, it's all due to miscommunication. Last time when Great Dane still around, he always have the good communication together with the defenders. I think COMMUNICATION is still quite important behind.
Disagreed that Kleberson is CMI. He's just lack of luck and maybe physical ability needs some more training. Seriously, I think he got the skills that can be one of the play-makers of the club. As for L.Miller, still got time to make him another big hit if he can play more games.
Raul7
03-03-2005, 12:02 PM
Last match when Alam Smith played in the midfield ..i cannot make up mind whether was he good or bad?... i certainly want to see him play more midfield roles cos i believe he could replace Keane... He got skill but the question is on his vision?...
i don't think smith can make, is time to look for replacement....
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:06 PM
ya, i also agree tat smith cannnot make in midfield. i prefer him to be striker.
anyway, spot this at today gossip column at BBC.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Manchester United will bid in the summer for £10m-rated Lyon midfielder Michael Essien as Roy Keane's long-term replacement. (Daily Star)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/4313653.stm
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
did;t get to see him play before. any one got? how good is he?
Raul7
03-03-2005, 12:12 PM
ya, i also agree tat smith cannnot make in midfield. i prefer him to be striker.
anyway, spot this at today gossip column at BBC.
Manchester United will bid in the summer for £10m-rated Lyon midfielder Michael Essien as Roy Keane's long-term replacement. (Daily Star)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/4313653.stm
did;t get to see him play before. any one got? how good is he?
this Essien news quite recently, cos he helped lyon alot in their CL games.... i also have not seen him play too... any guys out there got comment on Essien? smith should play as a striker better... :)
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:16 PM
this Essien news quite recently, cos he helped lyon alot in their CL games.... i also have not seen him play too... any guys out there got comment on Essien? smith should play as a striker better... :)
actually the first time i head bout him, he is been link with arsenal. not long after, he is link wif man u as well.
Raul7
03-03-2005, 12:26 PM
actually the first time i head bout him, he is been link with arsenal. not long after, he is link wif man u as well.
i see....what i see from his picture he is something like makalele type....
ben0704
03-03-2005, 12:34 PM
i see....what i see from his picture he is something like makalele type....
wah, u so pro. see pic can know liao.. for me lei, i see the FM 2005 one. haha.. he don seen too bad, but is not a DM lei.. :)
We definately need a new DM in the summer, hopefully get a quality one. :)
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 03:05 PM
I think it's not that Kleberson cannot make it, it just that he's always injured and not given enough chances, same goes for Miller.
Agreed!
As for A.Smith, I still think he's just like any other players that need more games to prove themselves.
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 03:31 PM
hmm i feel he okok nia lor.. no doubt he performs better as striker :)
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 04:32 PM
No doubt he's a better striker but I think he's also not too bad as a midfielder. Just that he needs more games to improve himself @ a different field.
trax06
03-03-2005, 05:59 PM
ManUtd should try to seal the deal before the season end.he might come at a later date but atleast you know he is coming.
AhHuat
03-03-2005, 06:55 PM
we need ML and DMC.....giggs and keane old liao...must get cover...
smith steady la....his work rate is superb....agressive....i like his style of playin
Raul7
03-03-2005, 07:55 PM
no doubt!!! =:p
cutieboy86
03-03-2005, 08:01 PM
Rossi Set For Promising Reds Career - Fergie
Ferguson Highlights Rossi Potential
United's 18-year-old striker Giuseppe Rossi is earmarked for a bright Old Trafford future having made huge strides in the Reserves following his arrival from Parma in the summer.
Ten goals from 14 starts for United's Reserves has created a buzz around Rossi's development at Old Trafford.
The America-born striker, who holds an Italian passport, was recently instated in United's 25-man Champions League squad as recognition for his impressive performances this term.
His name has been increasingly mentioned among the precious but fervent few that travel to Reserve matches and those who watch the second string on MUTV.
"Giuseppe Rossi is improving all the time," enthuses Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson. "He has got a bright future ahead of him.
"He is probably the coolest player at the club in terms of his play around the penalty box." Praise indeed.
However, United captain Roy Keane, although acutely aware of the youngster's potential, recently counselled that undue pressure should not be placed on a talent very much in the development stage.
But it is difficult to keep the reins on such a precocious talent; a player that made two appearances as a 17-year-old for the Reds - against Crystal Palace and Arsenal in the League Cup - and one who continues to make inroads into the first-team.
"We had him in the squad for our match at Everton recently," added Ferguson. "He has an absolutely wonderful temperament for a striker."
Raul7
03-03-2005, 08:21 PM
Rossi Set For Promising Reds Career - Fergie
Ferguson Highlights Rossi Potential
United's 18-year-old striker Giuseppe Rossi is earmarked for a bright Old Trafford future having made huge strides in the Reserves following his arrival from Parma in the summer.
Ten goals from 14 starts for United's Reserves has created a buzz around Rossi's development at Old Trafford.
The America-born striker, who holds an Italian passport, was recently instated in United's 25-man Champions League squad as recognition for his impressive performances this term.
His name has been increasingly mentioned among the precious but fervent few that travel to Reserve matches and those who watch the second string on MUTV.
"Giuseppe Rossi is improving all the time," enthuses Reds boss Sir Alex Ferguson. "He has got a bright future ahead of him.
"He is probably the coolest player at the club in terms of his play around the penalty box." Praise indeed.
However, United captain Roy Keane, although acutely aware of the youngster's potential, recently counselled that undue pressure should not be placed on a talent very much in the development stage.
But it is difficult to keep the reins on such a precocious talent; a player that made two appearances as a 17-year-old for the Reds - against Crystal Palace and Arsenal in the League Cup - and one who continues to make inroads into the first-team.
"We had him in the squad for our match at Everton recently," added Ferguson. "He has an absolutely wonderful temperament for a striker."
upcoming player in Utd.... seen his goals in the reserves....chio ah
Raul7
03-03-2005, 09:33 PM
Man Utd to bid £10M for Lyon midfield ace Essien
Manchester United are ready to bid big for Lyon midfield ace Mikael Essien in the summer.
The Ghana international is being lined up by United boss Sir Alex Ferguson as Roy Keane's eventual successor and will attract a £10 million offer from the Premiership giants in June, says the Daily Star.
Essien has been outstanding in the Champions League for Lyon this season and has also attracted concrete enquiries from Spanish pair Real Madrid and Barcelona.
Ferguson is aware of the growing interest in the young African, who came close to joining Everton 18 months ago, and hopes to tie up a deal quickly with Lyon before his price-tag rises.
Raul7
03-03-2005, 09:35 PM
we need ML and DMC.....giggs and keane old liao...must get cover...
smith steady la....his work rate is superb....agressive....i like his style of playin
yup..me too man... :)
Raul7
03-03-2005, 09:37 PM
One more news.......
Manchester United reserve Mads Timm has been sentenced to 12 months in a young offenders' institute for dangerous driving.
Danish star Timm scored for the reserves on Wednesday, but the 20-year-old now faces jail-time after being held partly responsible for a car crash that left two people injured.
Timm, along with 19-year-old Callum Flanagan, stood accused of racing each other on a 40mph road in Partington, Manchester.
Flanagan, a former Manchester United reserve, pleaded guilty to dangerous driving and was handed an eight-month sentence for driving the car involved in the crash.
Timm had been in the car in front, but pleaded not-guilty - and was hit with a heavier sentence.
They were both also disqualified from driving for three years.
Flanagan lost control of his black Honda Civic on a bend and crashed with another car driven by Angela Bourne.
She suffered heel and knee injuries and a passenger in Flanagan's car, team-mate Phil Marsh, 17, had to be cut from the wreckage.
Judge Adrian Smith said: "Having heard all the evidence, it is quite clear to me this was a serious and deliberate course of dangerous driving.
"You chose to engage in game-playing in high-powered vehicles on a busy stretch of road.
"It is pure luck that nobody was killed. The result was, nevertheless, serious for Angela Bourne, who happened to be driving in the opposite direction."
Raul7
03-03-2005, 09:38 PM
wah, u so pro. see pic can know liao.. for me lei, i see the FM 2005 one. haha.. he don seen too bad, but is not a DM lei.. :)
errr. no la, saw his picture in some webby. =:p
Ronaldo7
03-03-2005, 09:47 PM
One more news.......
Manchester United reserve Mads Timm has been sentenced to 12 months in a young offenders' institute for dangerous driving.
Danish star Timm scored for the reserves on Wednesday, but the 20-year-old now faces jail-time after being held partly responsible for a car crash that left two people injured.
Timm, along with 19-year-old Callum Flanagan, stood accused of racing each other on a 40mph road in Partington, Manchester.
Flanagan, a former Manchester United reserve, pleaded guilty to dangerous driving and was handed an eight-month sentence for driving the car involved in the crash.
Timm had been in the car in front, but pleaded not-guilty - and was hit with a heavier sentence.
They were both also disqualified from driving for three years.
Flanagan lost control of his black Honda Civic on a bend and crashed with another car driven by Angela Bourne.
She suffered heel and knee injuries and a passenger in Flanagan's car, team-mate Phil Marsh, 17, had to be cut from the wreckage.
Judge Adrian Smith said: "Having heard all the evidence, it is quite clear to me this was a serious and deliberate course of dangerous driving.
"You chose to engage in game-playing in high-powered vehicles on a busy stretch of road.
"It is pure luck that nobody was killed. The result was, nevertheless, serious for Angela Bourne, who happened to be driving in the opposite direction."
he deserved it and his future at utd is gone :s22:
Raul7
03-03-2005, 09:49 PM
ya...gone case liao
Ronaldo_7
03-03-2005, 09:55 PM
haiz.. soccer players always kena this kind of thing one.. one incident and thats it.. future gone
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 09:55 PM
U meant which one? If U are toking about Mads Timm, he's still playing for Man. United. It's the other kid that was sacked by Man. United. I think maybe Man UNited will still be keeping this Mads Timm. Afterall, he's quite good.
Raul7
03-03-2005, 10:05 PM
U meant which one? If U are toking about Mads Timm, he's still playing for Man. United. It's the other kid that was sacked by Man. United. I think maybe Man UNited will still be keeping this Mads Timm. Afterall, he's quite good.
Timm kena 12 mths also right.... somemore wanna race...siao kia
OKK77
03-03-2005, 11:16 PM
Woot, we're linked with Toldo, but heck, give us Buffon! *snickers*
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 11:26 PM
Timm kena 12 mths also right.... somemore wanna race...siao kia
Aiya, also cannot blame him marh. He's still young. Who didn't do wrong things when they are young.
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 11:27 PM
I dun think BUFFON will leave Juventus and he's TOO EXPENSIVE. We must be realistic larh. We have already spending too much $ on youngsters nowadays. Dun think got that kinda of budget to buy MOST EXPENSIVE GK in the world now!
Raul7
03-03-2005, 11:31 PM
ya i rather buffon also...Toldo old liao...
Raul7
03-03-2005, 11:32 PM
Aiya, also cannot blame him marh. He's still young. Who didn't do wrong things when they are young.
hahahaa...okok =:p
usjag_18
03-03-2005, 11:42 PM
ya i rather buffon also...Toldo old liao...
Toldo is old, but he's still quite skillful. Dun forget, P.Schmeichel is also old when he's still with us. Never doubt a player's abilities even they are old. Even Sir Matthew of England from Stoke City also played until he's mid 40s. So I believe everyone shld be given a chance. But the problem is dun think F.Toldo will surely come. And we really must be realistic. Do U think G.Buffon will come to Man. United?
Raul7
03-03-2005, 11:52 PM
Toldo is old, but he's still quite skillful. Dun forget, P.Schmeichel is also old when he's still with us. Never doubt a player's abilities even they are old. Even Sir Matthew of England from Stoke City also played until he's mid 40s. So I believe everyone shld be given a chance. But the problem is dun think F.Toldo will surely come. And we really must be realistic. Do U think G.Buffon will come to Man. United?
you mean Sir Stanley Matthew ? he is good..... respect him also... :) i also think buffon wun join Utd also, Utd still can sign Toldo if he agree to join Utd. linked with him quite few seasons liao...
Ronaldo_7
04-03-2005, 12:04 AM
haha.. youngster like to chiong mar.. no choice
Raul7
04-03-2005, 12:05 AM
haha.. youngster like to chiong mar.. no choice
see too much initial D liao..... :s13:
cutieboy86
04-03-2005, 12:24 AM
DOWIE TIPS ROONEY TO SURPASS CANTONA
Iain Dowie believes 'sublime' Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney can become a bigger legend than the mercurial Eric Cantona.
Rooney heads to Selhurst Park on Saturday, the very ground where a decade ago Cantona, clad in black and fuming at being sent-off, launched himself kung-fu style into the crowd.
It was an assault that earned Cantona a nine-month ban and has overshadowed memories of a player whose audacious talent lit up the Premiership.
Comparisons between the two players seem easy to make.
But in the way Rooney controlled himself on his return to Goodison Park last week, Dowie has seen one crucial difference.
"I think that short fuse will change with Wayne. We all did things when we were 18 or 19 - I know I did. Some of the dance routines I came up with at university were embarrassing. We have all done silly things," said Dowie.
"But let's not expect 19-year-old boys to be any different than 19-year-old boys just because they are footballers. You have got to let people make mistakes. That is how they learn. Rooney is still young and Cantona came as an established player.
"Rooney is an outstanding player. He is a total footballer. There is nothing he can't do. It is scary what he can achieve in the game and he is only 19.
"Cantona had gravitas, that aura. I think Rooney is a bit more down to earth but he can develop into that big, big personality."
Raul7
04-03-2005, 12:26 AM
DOWIE TIPS ROONEY TO SURPASS CANTONA
Iain Dowie believes 'sublime' Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney can become a bigger legend than the mercurial Eric Cantona.
Rooney heads to Selhurst Park on Saturday, the very ground where a decade ago Cantona, clad in black and fuming at being sent-off, launched himself kung-fu style into the crowd.
It was an assault that earned Cantona a nine-month ban and has overshadowed memories of a player whose audacious talent lit up the Premiership.
Comparisons between the two players seem easy to make.
But in the way Rooney controlled himself on his return to Goodison Park last week, Dowie has seen one crucial difference.
"I think that short fuse will change with Wayne. We all did things when we were 18 or 19 - I know I did. Some of the dance routines I came up with at university were embarrassing. We have all done silly things," said Dowie.
"But let's not expect 19-year-old boys to be any different than 19-year-old boys just because they are footballers. You have got to let people make mistakes. That is how they learn. Rooney is still young and Cantona came as an established player.
"Rooney is an outstanding player. He is a total footballer. There is nothing he can't do. It is scary what he can achieve in the game and he is only 19.
"Cantona had gravitas, that aura. I think Rooney is a bit more down to earth but he can develop into that big, big personality."
hope rooney dun kung fu kick people...hahahaa
cutieboy86
04-03-2005, 12:28 AM
'68 Stars Hopeful Reds Can Claim San Siro Win
European Cup winners' Sir Bobby Charlton and Nobby Stiles are confident United can overcome Milan and progress to the quarter-finals of the Champions League.
United face a tall order to qualify for the last eight when they visit the San Siro next Tuesday having gone down 1-0 at Old Trafford in the first leg of the knock-out stages.
Nevertheless, Stiles and Charlton believe United are more than capable of seeing off the Rossoneri on their own patch even though they admit they were hugely impressed by Milan's first leg display.
"Milan played well over here and I think they considered it to be one of their best performances of the season," Charlton told MU.tv.
"They're a strong side but I don't think there's any team strong enough to withstand us if we play really well."
Both Stiles and Charlton were involved in one of United's greatest comebacks of all time on their way to winning the trophy in 1968. 3-1 down at half-time away to Real Madrid, despite having won the first leg 1-0, United looked to be fighting a lost cause.
But a goal from David Sadler and another from Bill Foulkes made it 4-3 to United on aggregate and in turn one of the greatest nights in the club's history.
"There's no reason why United can't do what we did in Madrid in Milan," insists Stiles. "Especially with the players we've got in our side like Keane and Scholes.
"We went to Madrid in the '68 semi-final and even though we were 3-1 down at half-time, we managed to get the result.
"This thing of thinking we're never beaten is part and parcel of the club. Sir Matt Busby had it and Sir Alex has it - it's ingrained into them.
"There have been a number of times when I've expected our lads to go under," adds Sir Bobby. "But they've managed to come through and I think they'll be ready for it on Tuesday.
"What a challenge to go to the San Siro for a place in the quarter-finals - it would be great if we can do it."
Ronaldo_7
04-03-2005, 12:28 AM
whahaha.. he dun kung fu kick.. he drag the person out and chokeslam nia.. no lar.. hope he dun get fed up can liao.. then he will play well..
Raul7
04-03-2005, 12:33 AM
whahaha.. he dun kung fu kick.. he drag the person out and chokeslam nia.. no lar.. hope he dun get fed up can liao.. then he will play well..
hahahaha...maybe he see too much WWE liao :s13:
Ronaldo7
04-03-2005, 08:20 AM
read from tnp that fan wearing cantona mask is not alllow to enter the stadium for the match tomorrow :s8:
Seals
04-03-2005, 08:36 AM
when will cheesea be deducted points :)
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 12:36 PM
read from tnp that fan wearing cantona mask is not alllow to enter the stadium for the match tomorrow :s8:
Already reported a few days ago liao. TNP is always giving OLD news. SG sport news division is make up by a bunch of lazy people, I think. Dun even edit a little bit, just copy whole piece of the news on their newspaper.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 12:37 PM
when will cheesea be deducted points :)
Will they? Who knows, maybe the moment we got the hard-earn 3 pts from Crystal Palace, they will be deducted by 3 pts, then we can be @ the same pts as they do.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 12:41 PM
you mean Sir Stanley Matthew ? he is good..... respect him also... :) i also think buffon wun join Utd also, Utd still can sign Toldo if he agree to join Utd. linked with him quite few seasons liao...
Ya, Sir S.Matthew. I tot seldom got people know him, so dun bother to put his full name... LOlx... :s13: wah, u also like to go and do research with those old players arh, RAUL7 bro.
In fact, I dun mind signing F.Toldo. But I still hope that T.Howard will be given chances to play as first team goalie since he's still young. =:p
Those palace fans don't have a sense of humour. :s8:
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 02:27 PM
How could they got the sense of humour when E.Cantona gave one of their gang a "ding-dong" kick like Chun LI from Street fighter? hahaha... But it's a bad timing. He also punished by banning him from games. *sigh*
Kiwi8
04-03-2005, 02:30 PM
Bro, it's not appropriate leh... Tell me whether u'll still have a sense of humour after a footballer lup at u with his kungfu kick during the match? :s22: :s22: :s22:
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 02:30 PM
United fans plan to 'remember' Cantona
Manchester United fans are preparing to defy Crystal Palace's ban on wearing Eric Cantona masks on Saturday to commemorate the 10th anniversary of his kung fu assault on a fan.
United fanzine Red Issue has designated March 5 as 'Cantona Day' and called on travelling supporters to dig out their old Cantona masks despite the ban.
Palace's stadium manager Kevin Corner has said anyone wearing such a mask will be refused entry and those who don them inside Selhurst Park 'will be immediately ejected on safety grounds'.
One Red Issue contributor warned that many United fans would ignore the order.
He told the Press Association: 'It is an absolute joke. It is not against the law so who are they to say what we can and cannot do.
'It is typical of football in the modern day where the authorities and safety officers give spurious reasons for ruining the enjoyment of fans. United themselves can be as bad.
'I will be wearing a mask and many other United fans will be as well.'
The contributor insisted the Cantona Day was not intended to provoke rival fans at Selhurst Park.
He added: 'Eric Cantona will be remembered as a great Manchester United player but the one thing no other players has done is what he did at Selhurst Park 10 years ago. It set him apart and showed he was different.
'It is not meant to be provocative or to taunt the Palace fans - there's no rivalry there, Crystal Palace away is a non-event.
'It is just to bring a bit of colour, atmosphere and enjoyment to the match.'
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326615&cc=4716)
******************************************************************************************************************
I think so too. Man Utd supporters are kinda of stubborn when it comes to their legendary players. :s7:
Moreover, we are toking about ERIC CANTONA leh. If others, maybe won't have such problems. However, this is the KING we are talking about. So I think there's not way, they will give up the MASKS of E.Cantona.
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 02:33 PM
Bro, it's not appropriate leh... Tell me whether u'll still have a sense of humour after a footballer lup at u with his kungfu kick during the match? :s22: :s22: :s22:
I think wat he's trying to say is not sense of humour after such a long time. But it's really a time which no one can forget abt it.
Ultimate10002000
04-03-2005, 02:37 PM
Hope Man U can win over Milan on the upcoming second leg matchup. Dont wish to see any English team get eliminated at this stage.
But it won't happen to me. ;)
It was meant as a joke, just don't think it anything wrong wearing a mask into the stadium.
of course Eric action was uncalled for and I won't condone it.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 02:49 PM
Mourinho escapes FA action
Jose Mourinho will not face any Football Association charge over his `silence' gesture that saw him sent from the Chelsea dug-out in Sunday's Carling Cup final.
Mourinho was forced to watch the climax of his side's victory over Liverpool on television after being ushered away from the touchline by fourth official Phil Crossley.
Although Mourinho claimed he was merely making a point to the media - who were sitting at the other side of the ground - it was widely anticipated the FA would charge the former Porto coach.
Instead, they have confirmed Mourinho has escaped punishment, although he has been warned not to repeat the gesture in future.
'There will be no further action taken in respect of this matter,' confirmed an FA statement.
'Jose Mourinho has been reminded of his responsibilities to the game.'
It is understood Chelsea will not offer any response to the development, although it will no doubt be a relief to Mourinho he is not facing the possibility of a touchline ban.
'I don't regret it,' he said in the aftermath of Sunday's win.
'The only thing I have to understand is I am in England, so maybe even when I think I am not wrong, I have to adapt to your country and I have to respect that.'
It is not the first time Mourinho has let him emotions get the better of him at times of high excitement.
Last season, he raced out of his dug-out and down the touchline at Old Trafford when Costinha scored the last-minute goal that saw Porto dump Manchester United out of the Champions League.
While the FA have made it clear they regard this evening's statement as the end of the matter, it is not the end of Mourinho's battle with authority.
He is still facing a Soho Square investigation into his allegation that Manchester United's players 'cheated' during January's Carling Cup semi-final at Stamford Bridge, while UEFA could also launch disciplinary action following Mourinho's failure to attend a compulsory post-match press conference after his side lost their Champions League clash with Barcelona last week.
In addition, at some stage this month Chelsea must also answer a charge of failing to control their players during the Premiership win at Blackburn in February, while a charge of failing to control their supporters following crowd trouble at a Carling Cup meeting with West Ham earlier this season has still to be heard.
A Premier League inquiry is also continuing investigations into allegations Chelsea officials held an illegal meeting with Arsenal defender Ashley Cole in January.
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326534&cc=4716)
Again this shows how UNFAIR is English FA. If it's by Sir A.Ferguson, I guess now he will be fined @ least 15K pounds or banned for @ least 3 games. Ridiculous. I have no idea what is English FA thinking now. :mad: :mad: :mad:
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 02:51 PM
Hope Man U can win over Milan on the upcoming second leg matchup. Dont wish to see any English team get eliminated at this stage.
Ultimate, let's NOT go there yet. We still have another important game this Saturday. I believe Man Utd noes what to do and what not to do. DUn go until so fair, still got so many games we shld concentrate. Not only CL.
Smith wants to play more games
Alan Smith says that he is not happy sitting on the Old Trafford bench and wants to play more games for Manchester United.
Smith played his first game in 11 against Portsmouth on Saturday, and wants more involvement in Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
"When people come to Manchester United they say they want to be here to win things," said Smith. "But I want to be an essential part in winning those things.
"For me it is vital that you have that sort of attitude. You have to want to be part of it and make sure you give something to the team.
"I don't just want to be a bit-part player and then pick up a trophy.
"It is important to try and make the team better - that is why I came here."
MatrixFanatic
04-03-2005, 03:01 PM
Yes please give Rooney a rest. Let Smith play.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 03:03 PM
Pete sizes up Reds
Peter Crouch last night warned Manchester United that Southampton's "Little and Large" act can wipe the smile off their faces. The 6ft 7in hitman fired Harry Redknapp's side to an FA Cup quarter-final with the in-form holders on Saturday week. Crouch said: "I really enjoy working with Kev [Phillips]. We work well together and, with Henri Camara, we are all players who can score."
Steve Goodman, Daily Star
Whoa, still long leh, next match, already thinking so much. We got so many games to fight off man. Where got time to entertain this kinda of challenging in words.
keltan
04-03-2005, 03:29 PM
Mourinho escapes FA action
Jose Mourinho will not face any Football Association charge over his `silence' gesture that saw him sent from the Chelsea dug-out in Sunday's Carling Cup final.
Mourinho was forced to watch the climax of his side's victory over Liverpool on television after being ushered away from the touchline by fourth official Phil Crossley.
Although Mourinho claimed he was merely making a point to the media - who were sitting at the other side of the ground - it was widely anticipated the FA would charge the former Porto coach.
Instead, they have confirmed Mourinho has escaped punishment, although he has been warned not to repeat the gesture in future.
'There will be no further action taken in respect of this matter,' confirmed an FA statement.
'Jose Mourinho has been reminded of his responsibilities to the game.'
It is understood Chelsea will not offer any response to the development, although it will no doubt be a relief to Mourinho he is not facing the possibility of a touchline ban.
'I don't regret it,' he said in the aftermath of Sunday's win.
'The only thing I have to understand is I am in England, so maybe even when I think I am not wrong, I have to adapt to your country and I have to respect that.'
It is not the first time Mourinho has let him emotions get the better of him at times of high excitement.
Last season, he raced out of his dug-out and down the touchline at Old Trafford when Costinha scored the last-minute goal that saw Porto dump Manchester United out of the Champions League.
While the FA have made it clear they regard this evening's statement as the end of the matter, it is not the end of Mourinho's battle with authority.
He is still facing a Soho Square investigation into his allegation that Manchester United's players 'cheated' during January's Carling Cup semi-final at Stamford Bridge, while UEFA could also launch disciplinary action following Mourinho's failure to attend a compulsory post-match press conference after his side lost their Champions League clash with Barcelona last week.
In addition, at some stage this month Chelsea must also answer a charge of failing to control their players during the Premiership win at Blackburn in February, while a charge of failing to control their supporters following crowd trouble at a Carling Cup meeting with West Ham earlier this season has still to be heard.
A Premier League inquiry is also continuing investigations into allegations Chelsea officials held an illegal meeting with Arsenal defender Ashley Cole in January.
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326534&cc=4716)
Again this shows how UNFAIR is English FA. If it's by Sir A.Ferguson, I guess now he will be fined @ least 15K pounds or banned for @ least 3 games. Ridiculous. I have no idea what is English FA thinking now. :mad: :mad: :mad:
Rgds,
O'
mebbe roman make generous donation to the FA liaoz...
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 03:31 PM
Yes please give Rooney a rest. Let Smith play.
I think can let A.Smith played against Crystal Palace this wkend, let W.Rooney rest for awhile. Then play Rooney on the 9th March.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 03:33 PM
mebbe roman make generous donation to the FA liaoz...
:s13: :s13: :s13:
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 03:37 PM
Lineker's Fergie dig
Gary Lineker has branded Alex Ferguson childish in an astonishing attack on the Manchester United manager. The former England star, who is now a high-profile BBC presenter, also turned his verbal blowtorch on Jose Mourinho, accusing the Chelsea boss of trying to influence the referee for the return Champions League leg with Barcelona on March 8. Lineker is frustrated by Fergie’s refusal to answer post-match questions. He blasted: “With the amount of money being pumped into the sport, players and managers should be aware of their responsibility to talk to the media. Supporters want to hear their views. It all gets very childish. We get shoals of letters from United supporters accusing us of bias when it is THEIR manager who has caused the problem."
Pat Sheehan, The Sun
When did Sir A.Fergie refused to answer post-match questions when against AC Milan? Did he mean Josè Mourinho or Sir A.Ferguson?
cutter
04-03-2005, 06:46 PM
SAF has had a long-time feud with BBC. He never deals with BBC from the time when the bosses were Liverpool fans and tended to hire ex-Pool players as commentators. Lineker may not be ex-Pool but he is the face of BBC.
SAF also stopped giving TV interviews to all British broadcasters other than MUTV and Sky/Star/Fox. International broadcasters like ECL, etc are more ok.
Raul7
04-03-2005, 07:55 PM
Sebastien Frey has declared that he will leave Parma in the summer and would definitely consider a move to Manchester United.
The highly-rated French keeper has been targeted by United for a number of years and, considering the fact that the Old Trafford outfit are likely to be seeking a new number one in the summer, Frey will undoubtedly feature again in the gossip columns.
Internazionale are also tracking the Gialloblu keeper and a desire to remain in Italy could mean the Giuseppe Meazza side are slight favourites to land the 24-year-old.
The ex-Cannes man played for Inter before arriving at Ennio Tardini.
"This is my last season at Parma," he told Gazzetta dello Sport.
"I made sacrifices this year because everyone knows what situation Parma are in.
"I feel good here. I have a contract until 2007 but I can't deny that my dream is to have an important experience and I think I deserve it.
"I have already been at Inter but I was young. Now, with [Massimo] Moratti's esteem, it would be beautiful but it's hard to think about it.
"I see the problems facing Francesco Toldo. He is criticised and jeered for his first mistake. I confess I have a little fear and many things would have to change in this aspect.
"The English idea is charming. Surely, Manchester are a big side but, in these years, I've become really attached to Italy.
"I don't deny I could also stay in Italy.
"I admit I would like it."
Frey is now likely to remain silent until the close season as he focuses on life at Parma.
"I can't think about these things - the future and what it will be - until the end of the season," he stated. "Because we will struggle until the end of the season to stay up.
"It's a matter of respect towards the club and my team-mates.
"I don't know what I will do. It isn't known yet and it is too soon to tell it."
chengsun
04-03-2005, 07:57 PM
Sebastien Frey has declared that he will leave Parma in the summer and would definitely consider a move to Manchester United.
The highly-rated French keeper has been targeted by United for a number of years and, considering the fact that the Old Trafford outfit are likely to be seeking a new number one in the summer, Frey will undoubtedly feature again in the gossip columns.
Internazionale are also tracking the Gialloblu keeper and a desire to remain in Italy could mean the Giuseppe Meazza side are slight favourites to land the 24-year-old.
The ex-Cannes man played for Inter before arriving at Ennio Tardini.
"This is my last season at Parma," he told Gazzetta dello Sport.
"I made sacrifices this year because everyone knows what situation Parma are in.
"I feel good here. I have a contract until 2007 but I can't deny that my dream is to have an important experience and I think I deserve it.
"I have already been at Inter but I was young. Now, with [Massimo] Moratti's esteem, it would be beautiful but it's hard to think about it.
"I see the problems facing Francesco Toldo. He is criticised and jeered for his first mistake. I confess I have a little fear and many things would have to change in this aspect.
"The English idea is charming. Surely, Manchester are a big side but, in these years, I've become really attached to Italy.
"I don't deny I could also stay in Italy.
"I admit I would like it."
Frey is now likely to remain silent until the close season as he focuses on life at Parma.
"I can't think about these things - the future and what it will be - until the end of the season," he stated. "Because we will struggle until the end of the season to stay up.
"It's a matter of respect towards the club and my team-mates.
"I don't know what I will do. It isn't known yet and it is too soon to tell it."
he is getting desperate liao? maybe market value turning bad...
Raul7
04-03-2005, 07:59 PM
maybe loh....today newpaper, man u linked with cech understudy sia, dun know good or not?
Kyubi
04-03-2005, 08:02 PM
wah seh .. seriously ... whu should come to man u as no. 1 keeper ? lolz
Ronaldo_7
04-03-2005, 08:06 PM
haha.. maybe bah.. he rejected man utd before mar?? i nt sure.. juz asking
Pete sizes up Reds
Peter Crouch last night warned Manchester United that Southampton's "Little and Large" act can wipe the smile off their faces. The 6ft 7in hitman fired Harry Redknapp's side to an FA Cup quarter-final with the in-form holders on Saturday week. Crouch said: "I really enjoy working with Kev [Phillips]. We work well together and, with Henri Camara, we are all players who can score."
Steve Goodman, Daily Star
Whoa, still long leh, next match, already thinking so much. We got so many games to fight off man. Where got time to entertain this kinda of challenging in words.
Ignore their taunt, we prove it on the pitch and make them eat their words. ;)
Ronaldo7
04-03-2005, 10:46 PM
red devils vs saints :evil:
Fergie hails Rooney and Ronaldo
MANCHESTER United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has tipped Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo to become the best in the world.
The youngsters have been major influences on United's current Barclays Premiership charge that has seen them record 14 wins in 16 games, with victory at Crystal Palace tomorrow closing the gap on leaders Chelsea to just three points.
Such has been the pair's improvement over the past three months, Ferguson is convinced they will eventually go on to rival Ronaldinho, the man he famously missed out on, as the finest player on the planet.
"We are very fortunate to have these two young players," he said.
"They are both in fantastic form at the moment and along with Ronaldinho, I think they will become the best players in the world in a couple of years' time."
United supporters are set to pay homage to Eric Cantona - who 10 years' ago infamously leapt into the Selhurst Park crowd to attack Palace fan Matthew Simmons - and Ferguson believes his impressive duo have can match the Frenchman's achievements.
Rooney's 15-goal tally, including the brace against Portsmouth last weekend that kept United in the title hunt, has allowed the England striker to grab the headlines - but Ronaldo's form has been equally good.
The Portugal winger may lack Rooney's finesse in front of goal but, as the most fouled player in the Premiership, Ronaldo is clearly a difficult man to stop and Ferguson wishes some times he was afforded a bit more protection.
"The game I was really disappointed with was the FA Cup tie at Everton," he said.
"There were nine fouls against him, with Mikel Arteta committing six of them on his own, and still no-one got booked. It was absolutely ridiculous.
"It is an unfortunate issue we have to deal with but the one thing it tells you is that he gives defenders problems. If they have to foul him and bring him down all the time, it tells you he is doing well."
Ronaldo seems certain to start at Palace but, with Ruud van Nistelrooy also due to play, Ferguson might finally be tempted to rest Rooney ahead of the Milan trip, even though the 19-year-old England man shows no sign of needing a break.
"He has not shown any sign of needing a rest with the form he is in at the moment," said Ferguson
"He is looking so strong at the moment and his performance against Portsmouth last week just emphasised the improvement he has made.
"When you consider he missed almost five months with the injury he picked up in the European Championships, it took us a long time to get him to the sharpness and fitness he has reached at the moment.
"Every week he seems to be adding something else to his game."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/148/148297_fergie_hails_his_world_beaters.html
Ruud starts, but Gary Neville out of Palace match
Ruud van Nistelrooy will start against Crystal Palace as Sir Alex Ferguson attempts to boost the striker's match sharpness ahead of the trip to the San Siro on Tuesday.
United resume their Champions League last 16 tie with the Italian champions next week, but first face the possibility of closing the gap on Chelsea in the Premiership to just three points - if only temporarily.
"Absolutely. Ruud will start," Sir Alex told us.
But the United boss was dealt a defensive blow with the news that Gary Neville misses the trip to Selhurst Park and with his starting place at the San Siro uncertain.
"I would rule Gary Neville out against Crystal Palace," said the United boss. "And we're fighting hard to get him ready for Milan.
"It was a real blow he got on his leg against Portsmouth. Fortunately there was no break. That is the blessing to come out of it.
"Nonetheless, he'll miss Saturday's game and leaves us pushing to get him ready for Tuesday."
"Chelsea may look upon games as being easy, but there are no easy games at this time of year. We've been there before and we know what it is like."
Sir Alex Ferguson
Ferguson knows the importance of closing the gap on Chelsea to three points on Saturday, but most have an eye on Tuesday's European tie with Milan.
"It's going to be a difficult week with the European game on Tuesday," admits the United manager. "That's a massive game for us. It won't be an easy week, but it's something we have to get through.
"We hope the gap will be reduced to three points. Chelsea's players will expect to win at Norwich, but that doesn't mean to say making the gap only three points will make it difference. But it just might.
"Chelsea may look upon games as being easy, but there are no easy games at this time of year. We've been there before and we know what it is like.
"Teams are fighting for survival, take Crystal Palace for example. They're four points clear of Southampton at the moment. It's a little cushion, but not a big one. It gives them something worth fighting for. I expect that tomorrow.
"That's the point of winning against Palace and being in a position where we are so close. For our own confidence, it does us not harm. Whether it affects Chelsea we will have to wait and see."
Report by Ben Hibbs, at Carrington.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=156549&itype=466&icategoryid=120
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 10:52 PM
Firstly, is this S.Frey really going to come to Man Utd? And is it confirm that Man Utd wanted him or it's just him talking BIG to make him looks good, so that some other clubs with GKs problems will come and look for him.
mclarenfan
04-03-2005, 10:54 PM
Smith wants to play more games
Alan Smith says that he is not happy sitting on the Old Trafford bench and wants to play more games for Manchester United.
Smith played his first game in 11 against Portsmouth on Saturday, and wants more involvement in Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
"When people come to Manchester United they say they want to be here to win things," said Smith. "But I want to be an essential part in winning those things.
"For me it is vital that you have that sort of attitude. You have to want to be part of it and make sure you give something to the team.
"I don't just want to be a bit-part player and then pick up a trophy.
"It is important to try and make the team better - that is why I came here."
Funny...how media can interpret one-thing into many ways... i saw that interview on smith on MU tv... The question asked by the interviewer was " what made u come to united?" (something like that) ...and smith gave his answer...part of the answer can be seen above... and now the media makes it look as though smith is complaining... sigh...
blackevil_2000
04-03-2005, 10:56 PM
manUtd gonna to win... i think that howard can do it but still SAF can't risk it so will sure buy a new keeper....
Firstly, is this S.Frey really going to come to Man Utd? And is it confirm that Man Utd wanted him or it's just him talking BIG to make him looks good, so that some other clubs with GKs problems will come and look for him.
Basically Frey talking big, I have no idea which keepers we are looking at, we been linked with too many keepers in the past few months ever since Carroll blooper against Spurs. :s22:
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 10:57 PM
Funny...how media can interpret one-thing into many ways... i saw that interview on smith on MU tv... The question asked by the interviewer was " what made u come to united?" (something like that) ...and smith gave his answer...part of the answer can be seen above... and now the media makes it look as though smith is complaining... sigh...
Ermm, maybe this is one of the questions they asked him?
He did he wants to play more games but he didn't said the word unhappy, the media go and make it up. :s8:
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 11:03 PM
Ignore their taunt, we prove it on the pitch and make them eat their words. ;)
I am not angry/mad @ all.. I just find that still got a few days more than it's their turn to play, why are they so excited now... lolx... :s13: My cousin said they are excited and waiting to lose tt's why.... Hahaha... :s13:
Cannot tahan man... hehehe.. Anyway, it's just a joke... I still think we shld take every team seriously. No matter, is it Crystal Palace or AC Milan or Saints. As long as the ball is round, I believe that our players will take every team seriously.
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 11:04 PM
He did he wants to play more games but he didn't said the word unhappy, the media go and make it up. :s8:
Aiya, that's media what... But seriously, even media never said he's unhappy. Dun U guys will be unhappy if U are on the bench all the time?
FERGIE HITS BACK AT DROGBA
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has criticised Didier Drogba after the Chelsea striker intimated that the Premiership title race is over.
By the time Chelsea kick-off their match at Norwich City on Saturday evening, United could be within three points of the Premiership leaders and Ferguson is determined to keep the pressure on.
SIR ALEX FERGUSON "I've read what the Chelsea players are saying. They clearly think they'll win at Norwich," said Ferguson.
"Chelsea may look upon these games as easy but we've been there and I can tell them, no matter who they are playing, they're not.
"Look at Crystal Palace. They're four points in front of Southampton, which is only a little cushion but gives them something worth fighting for.
Earlier in the week, Drogba had said: "We've won the title. This season we are the best.
"Everybody knows we are now six points in front of United but we have one game in hand so we will do our best to keep the nine points and keep the distance.
"Okay, Manchester United are playing well and there is still Arsenal of course. But I think we are the best team."
http://www.4thegame.com/club/mufc/news/167766/fergie_hits_back_at_drogba.html?cC=1
usjag_18
04-03-2005, 11:20 PM
:s13: :s13: :s13:
blackevil_2000
04-03-2005, 11:25 PM
haha
mind games again?
Ferguson and Rooney claim February awards
http://tinyurl.com/4nnq7
Manchester United have won both manager and player of the month awards for February, with Sir Alex Ferguson and Wayne Rooney reaping the rewards for an impressive four weeks.
United won each of their four Premiership matches in February; including the epic 4-2 victory over Arsenal at the start of the month and wins over Birmingham, Manchester City and Portsmouth.
Ferguson is modest of his own role in the recent run of form.
"The great thing for a manager is that he can reflect on how his team has done over the month," he told us.
"But it's because of the performance of the team that they've given me this nice award. It's very good of them to give me this award, but it's the team that has won it."
Rooney scored four goals in four games in February, but it is the striker's growing maturity and developing game that has impressed his manager most.
"Wayne Rooney's form has been absolutely fantastic and he thoroughly deserves the award. Last week against Portsmouth emphasised the form he is in. It also highlighted the improvement he is making as a player.
"Every week he seems to be adding something to his game. In that kind of form he really deserves the award.
"Wayne Rooney's form has been absolutely fantastic - he thoroughly deserves the award. Every week he seems to add something to his game."
Sir Alex Ferguson
This is the 15th Manager of the Month Award of Sir Alex Ferguson's career, no other manager has won the accolade more times. In contrast, this is the first time his teenage strike sensation Rooney has picked up the Player of the Month Award.
United scored 10 goals in four games in February largely thanks to the in-form Wayne Rooney. The 19 year old boy wonder has been the catalyst for United's unbeaten run with four crucial goals, all of them worthy contenders for goal of the month, taking his tally for the season to nine.
"He's looking so strong at the moment," added Ferguson. "He had a long break from football when he suffered the metatarsal fracture in the European Championships.
"He had 96 days without football. He also missed the pre-season training. So, you're talking about five months before he at full strength.
"It took him a while to get him to the sharpness and fitness he is showing at the moment, and that has just been through giving him games. He's no showing any signs of needing a rest."
The Barclays Awards Panel, which includes representatives from football's governing bodies, the media and fans, made the decision on the accolades.
Nic Gault, from the Barclays Awards Panel, said: "Sir Alex's award not only marks a fantastic month for Manchester United but reinforces his position as one of the most successful managers in club and league history.
"Wayne Rooney also deserves recognition for his first Barclays Player of the Month Award as his fantastic strike rate has been instrumental in the club's recent run of form."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=156559&itype=466&icategoryid=120
MatrixFanatic
05-03-2005, 09:05 AM
Moreira Is No.1 Pick For Fergie
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has put Portuguese keeper Jose Felipe Moreira at the top of his hit list. Ferguson sent brother Martin - United's chief European scout - to watch the Benfica star shut out Porto as he seeks a long-term solution to his problem position. United have been checking on the 22-year-old for a few weeks, also sending a delegation to Benfica's recent game with Sporting Lisbon. Moreira has plenty of experience for someone of his age and has played in European competition as well as being Portugal's current second choice. Ferguson wants a new keeper at a reasonable price in the wake of Tim Howard and Roy Carroll's poor form.
Alan Nixon, Daily Mirror
Kleberson Handed Last Chance
Kleberson was last night handed a final chance to salvage his faltering Manchester United career. The Brazilian midfield man, who is linked with a move to Corinthians, returned to training on Tuesday after an ankle op. But United boss Alex Ferguson insisted: "We are going to see how he does now he’s over this latest setback."
Sports staff, The Sun
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326739&cc=4716
I don't want to leave insists Carroll
Roy Carroll insists he wants to remain at Manchester United next season.
The Northern Ireland goalkeeper, who has lost his place in the United team to Tim Howard, is out of contract in the summer.
He has not signed a new deal on offer and could leave Old Trafford on a free transfer at the end of the season.
However Carroll told UTV's Football Show: 'I'd love to stay. I've been at United for nearly four years now and the time has flown by.
'I've really enjoyed being at the club and hopefully I can get a few more years under my belt.
'This is the biggest club in the world and we are always in with a chance of winning trophies and that's what you want as a player.
'We are still in three competitions at this stage of the season with lots of big games to come against the likes of AC Milan and Chelsea.
'There is a lot to play for and I hope to be part of that.'
Carroll was dropped by Ferguson for last weekend's Premiership victory over Portsmouth following an error which led to AC Milan's goal in their 1-0 win in the Champions League.
He had kept 10 clean sheets in 12 games before that match, but now Howard has retaken the jersey and looks certain to face Crystal Palace tomorrow.
Carroll claimed: 'I'm not a machine. In this game you are going to make mistakes.
'I am the last line of defence and I have known that ever since I picked up a pair of gloves.
'You get stick some times but you have to take it on the chin.
'You have to keep going and don't let it get you down.
'I believe my record at Manchester United has been really good.
'I have kept a lot of clean sheets, although that's not just down to me - it's down to the defence and the rest of the team.
'Anytime I go out to play I want to keep a clean sheet, be it for Northern Ireland or Manchester United.'
Raul7
05-03-2005, 10:16 AM
Manchester United have won both manager and player of the month awards for February, with Sir Alex Ferguson and Wayne Rooney reaping the rewards for an impressive four weeks.
United won each of their four Premiership matches in February; including the epic 4-2 victory over Arsenal at the start of the month and wins over Birmingham, Manchester City and Portsmouth.
"The great thing for a manager is that he can reflect on how his team has done over the month," he told us.
"But it's because of the performance of the team that they've given me this nice award. It's very good of them to give me this award, but it's the team that has won it."
Rooney scored four goals in four games in February, but it is the striker's growing maturity and developing game that has impressed his manager most.
"Wayne Rooney's form has been absolutely fantastic and he thoroughly deserves the award. Last week against Portsmouth emphasised the form he is in. It also highlighted the improvement he is making as a player.
"Every week he seems to be adding something to his game. In that kind of form he really deserves the award.
"Wayne Rooney's form has been absolutely fantastic - he thoroughly deserves the award. Every week he seems to add something to his game."
Sir Alex Ferguson
This is the 15th Manager of the Month Award of Sir Alex Ferguson's career, no other manager has won the accolade more times. In contrast, this is the first time his teenage strike sensation Rooney has picked up the Player of the Month Award.
United scored 10 goals in four games in February largely thanks to the in-form Wayne Rooney. The 19 year old boy wonder has been the catalyst for United's unbeaten run with four crucial goals, all of them worthy contenders for goal of the month, taking his tally for the season to nine.
"He's looking so strong at the moment," added Ferguson. "He had a long break from football when he suffered the metatarsal fracture in the European Championships.
"He had 96 days without football. He also missed the pre-season training. So, you're talking about five months before he at full strength.
"It took him a while to get him to the sharpness and fitness he is showing at the moment, and that has just been through giving him games. He's no showing any signs of needing a rest."
The Barclays Awards Panel, which includes representatives from football's governing bodies, the media and fans, made the decision on the accolades.
Nic Gault, from the Barclays Awards Panel, said: "Sir Alex's award not only marks a fantastic month for Manchester United but reinforces his position as one of the most successful managers in club and league history.
"Wayne Rooney also deserves recognition for his first Barclays Player of the Month Award as his fantastic strike rate has been instrumental in the club's recent run of form."
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=156559&itype=466&icategoryid=120
wow...good for them.... :)
usjag_18
05-03-2005, 10:53 AM
haha
mind games again?
Too much mind games from Chelsea manager & players until I felt a little bit unneccesary. Even Sir A.Ferguson also never played so much mind games, except against Mr A.Wenger. Anyway, I think if Sir A.Ferguson really interested in S.Frey, I dun think he will said it out. If he said it out, wait everyone said Sir A.Fergie copy-cat, what people going for that player, he also going for the same player. In fact, I dun think SAF needs to be a copycat, he just go for the same player b4 that player reallly got the style & also SAF got his bro in Europe looking and scoting for him.
Raul7
05-03-2005, 10:58 AM
Too much mind games from Chelsea manager & players until I felt a little bit unneccesary. Even Sir A.Ferguson also never played so much mind games, except against Mr A.Wenger. Anyway, I think if Sir A.Ferguson really interested in S.Frey, I dun think he will said it out. If he said it out, wait everyone said Sir A.Fergie copy-cat, what people going for that player, he also going for the same player. In fact, I dun think SAF needs to be a copycat, he just go for the same player b4 that player reallly got the style & also SAF got his bro in Europe looking and scoting for him.
ya,got his bro martin ferguson.... :)
usjag_18
05-03-2005, 06:01 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson
GLORY GLORY GLORY UNITED!!!
Raul7
05-03-2005, 06:06 PM
GLORY GLORY GLORY UNITED!!!
tonite they will win.......
usjag_18
05-03-2005, 06:14 PM
Moreira Is No.1 Pick For Fergie
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has put Portuguese keeper Jose Felipe Moreira at the top of his hit list. Ferguson sent brother Martin - United's chief European scout - to watch the Benfica star shut out Porto as he seeks a long-term solution to his problem position. United have been checking on the 22-year-old for a few weeks, also sending a delegation to Benfica's recent game with Sporting Lisbon. Moreira has plenty of experience for someone of his age and has played in European competition as well as being Portugal's current second choice. Ferguson wants a new keeper at a reasonable price in the wake of Tim Howard and Roy Carroll's poor form.
Alan Nixon, Daily Mirror
I will be glad if Man Utd decided to choose a younger GK to play for the future. However, I still rather T.Howard continue to be No.1 in Man Utd. Afterall, he only played less than 2-yrs, so I think he shld be given another chance.
Kleberson Handed Last Chance
Kleberson was last night handed a final chance to salvage his faltering Manchester United career. The Brazilian midfield man, who is linked with a move to Corinthians, returned to training on Tuesday after an ankle op. But United boss Alex Ferguson insisted: "We are going to see how he does now he’s over this latest setback."
Sports staff, The Sun
All I can say Josè Kleberson is a very unlucky player. Kept getting injuries when he's over here. Every player seems like to attack him everytime when he's on the field. Damn SUAY! BTW, what's his jersey no huh?
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=326739&cc=4716
I don't want to leave insists Carroll
Roy Carroll insists he wants to remain at Manchester United next season.
The Northern Ireland goalkeeper, who has lost his place in the United team to Tim Howard, is out of contract in the summer.
He has not signed a new deal on offer and could leave Old Trafford on a free transfer at the end of the season.
However Carroll told UTV's Football Show: 'I'd love to stay. I've been at United for nearly four years now and the time has flown by.
'I've really enjoyed being at the club and hopefully I can get a few more years under my belt.
'This is the biggest club in the world and we are always in with a chance of winning trophies and that's what you want as a player.
'We are still in three competitions at this stage of the season with lots of big games to come against the likes of AC Milan and Chelsea.
'There is a lot to play for and I hope to be part of that.'
Carroll was dropped by Ferguson for last weekend's Premiership victory over Portsmouth following an error which led to AC Milan's goal in their 1-0 win in the Champions League.
He had kept 10 clean sheets in 12 games before that match, but now Howard has retaken the jersey and looks certain to face Crystal Palace tomorrow.
Carroll claimed: 'I'm not a machine. In this game you are going to make mistakes.
'I am the last line of defence and I have known that ever since I picked up a pair of gloves.
'You get stick some times but you have to take it on the chin.
'You have to keep going and don't let it get you down.
'I believe my record at Manchester United has been really good.
'I have kept a lot of clean sheets, although that's not just down to me - it's down to the defence and the rest of the team.
'Anytime I go out to play I want to keep a clean sheet, be it for Northern Ireland or Manchester United.'
My goodness, I admit that everyone will make mistakes, but what is he thinking when he kept delaying signing the contract? When he dun have contract, he requested, Man Utd give him, then after having contract, he complaint or his agent complaining. I really dun understand players nowadays. *sigh*
It's not as if he contributing as much as R.Giggs, so that he can request this & that. He shld noe tat SAF is a very strong personality person, if he wanna to punish U, den he meant good for the team. Then U have to accept the facts that the mistakes U made must be very serious.
usjag_18
05-03-2005, 06:15 PM
tonite they will win.......
HIGH5, RAUL7 bro
Raul7
05-03-2005, 06:21 PM
HIGH5, RAUL7 bro
yoyoyoyo...high5 too!!! =:p
chengsun
05-03-2005, 07:46 PM
i just cant wait till the end of season to see Man U shut the drogba up!
fxxx up managers really bring fxxx up players along
United_Treble
05-03-2005, 08:01 PM
knn, drogba say title is their, if really certain the they gg win, he shd not boast. knn
Raul7
05-03-2005, 08:03 PM
knn, drogba say title is their, if really certain the they gg win, he shd not boast. knn
sibei buay song him also :s27: same pattern as bloody jose...
United_Treble
05-03-2005, 08:11 PM
i really hope barca can hold them draw
Raul7
05-03-2005, 08:12 PM
i really hope barca can hold them draw
all out to win themmmm :s13:
Raul7
05-03-2005, 08:40 PM
Man Utd boss: Rooney matching Cantona heroics
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is convinced Wayne Rooney can make the same impact at Old Trafford as club legend Eric Cantona.
Fergie said: "There is no doubt he can be as influential as Eric Cantona. He is having the same impact now already and he is only 19.
"You just have to look at last week's game against Portsmouth as an example of that.
"He carried the baton for us and took us over the line when it looked like the game might finish as a draw.
"The way he took his winning goal, drawing his foot back and making the goalkeeper move, was very good.
"Like Eric he has the knack of scoring goals when we need them."
Rooney's brace in that 2-1 win over Pompey took him to 15 goals from 26 starts in all competitions this season.
United striker Alan Smith said: "There is definitely a huge belief we can catch Chelsea. We wouldn't be up there challenging and we wouldn't have put this run together if we didn't think we were capable of doing it.
"Ever since I came to United I have seen that there is a belief at the club.
"I think there has always been a belief that the team will win every game it plays.
"From now until the end of the season, we believe we can do that. There is a long way to go yet. They've got difficult fixtures coming up
Raul7
05-03-2005, 08:56 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson shoot him back!
Man Utd boss rubbishes Drogba's title Chelsea claims
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has scoffed at Didier Drogba's claims that the title is theirs.
The £24million hitman roared: "We have won the title. Manchester United are playing well but we are the best team."
Fergie hit back, saying: "Drogba is saying they have already won the title.
"But that's bullish with 10 games to go because football can be a cruel game. I don't know whether it is all confidence or bravado . . . or whether they are just trying to convince themselves."
Fergie believes Drogba is showing a massive lack of respect and the Ivory Coast striker's boast could come back to haunt him.
United face Crystal Palace at 3pm today and could be just three points behind Chelsea by the time Blues kick off at Norwich at 5.15pm.
Ferguson added: "I don't know why Drogba has said it. They seem to be going to Norwich thinking it will be an easy game.
"We are approaching our game against Crystal Palace believing it will be tough. No game is easy at this time of year."
chengsun
05-03-2005, 09:01 PM
come on norwich, pls make Proton proud by at least drawig chealsea!
MatrixFanatic
05-03-2005, 09:57 PM
BTW, what's his jersey no huh?
15 I think...
blackevil_2000
05-03-2005, 11:57 PM
manUTd gonna win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MatrixFanatic
06-03-2005, 12:17 AM
WTF Manutd is playing like pang sai!!! :s27:
AhHuat
06-03-2005, 01:03 AM
lousy game.
right from the start.....he choose to rest ronaldo and rooney and scholes....farking shiat
why not start them score goals and sub them out eventually.....knns :s8:
cracker
06-03-2005, 01:05 AM
utd finishing was awful...ruud was missing chances after chances.
chelsea will go 8 pts clear with the expected victory against norwich, with a game in hand.
AhHuat
06-03-2005, 01:09 AM
ok man.... let be realistic liao.
lets focus on CL.....we need revenge against ac milan
the EPL gone for good....we MAY catch them if chelsea slip......otherwise....we WILL BE BACK next season.
The crossing today was abysmal. The strikers had no supply. :s27:
cracker
06-03-2005, 01:13 AM
another negative result in san siro on midweek,,Utd season will only have the fa cup to play for.
blackevil_2000
06-03-2005, 01:17 AM
manUtd how can??????
!? !? ?! ?!
0 0
______
omg Ruud miss 2 gilt-edge chances to score, we should have won. :mad:
United couldn't even break down a 10-man palace team, how we we going to break down Milan defence. :s27:
MatrixFanatic
06-03-2005, 01:19 AM
another negative result in san siro on midweek,,Utd season will only have the fa cup to play for.
Haven't play the match yet, so not negative la. Sure can make it. :s27:
OKK77
06-03-2005, 01:28 AM
Played like crap. League is gone for good this season. I'm not too hopeful for CL with the way we are playing. Gosh, we need a miracle. At least, we need Milan's defence to fall asleep like last year's Deportivo game.
Coolsmurf
06-03-2005, 01:48 AM
crap...chelsea is going to rollover norwich..thanks for bringing a premature end to the season even closer now..
Raul7
06-03-2005, 01:49 AM
sian 1/2 liao...... hope they will do well against milan...
**** the bloody linesman, Keane goal in the first half should have stand, bloody robbery. :s27:
Freemanz
06-03-2005, 01:58 AM
RVN is still "rusty" ... will be better with more matches.
usjag_18
06-03-2005, 02:02 AM
Hey guys, dun whine now larh. C'mon, we should support our team.
Seriously, I admit today's linesup really sucks up big time. Every single of our players really played badly in the first half and the first 35mins of the 2nd half. But they their best in the last 10-14mins.
Okie, let's compile what is today's problem(in fact shld be what ARE TODAY'S PROBLEMS)
In the first place, I am really disappointed with M.Silvestre today. He was playing like schoolboy. Kept giving the ball away. Not only him. Even R.Giggs did the same thing too a few times. Even I am his supporter, I cannot do it w/o condemning him 4 today's game.
Today, our attacking players just lost their magic touch and THE FINAL MAGIC TOUCH.
Secondly, I think Q.Fortune & P.Neville are super lazy or should I said they are just like two PIECES of WOODS standing down there. A few times, they did attack and defends, but when it comes to tackling, I have no idea why P.Neville lost his usual tackling style when we needed him to move. As for Q.Fortune, his boots are like sticking into the field and there's super glue under his feet that his feet cannot moved.
As for official reasons, 2 IMPORTANT DECISIONS are made WRONGLy by the linesmen. One is the offside decision about R.Keane which is really a BAD one. Second one is in fact numerous times of corner kick are not given when replayed show that Giggs, Heinze & Ronaldo should be given corner kick but not given.
Thirdly & lastly, Ruud v.Nistelrooy is sorta of missing some of the important goals, but still i think he got some improvement, definitely better than the day he's playing against AC Milan. And also, today A.Smith did some wonderful jobs. But I guess today Crystal Palace defenders are closing in on RVN.
However, I am glad that finally, the communication among our back 4 and GK is getting better, at least, we didn't conceded any goal today. But Silvestre still made a few mistakes. Hope he doesn't make the same mistakes during Thursday against AC Milan.
Still, I guess overall, though they didn't win, I still think they did fairly well. Due to a few important missing goals scoring chances and wrong decisions made by linesmen, we still quite alright. I think Rooney needs to calm himself down. Dun get YC for such small matters (even though they are not small).
Rgds,
O'
P/S: Anything to add?
Kyubi
06-03-2005, 02:54 AM
haiz .. today they play not very gd leh .. sian .. now chelsea is 8 pts clear them liao~ and 1 game in hand. .
genesis113
06-03-2005, 03:00 AM
and chelsea next game will play bottom club West Brom, no way to drop point. Maybe the mistakes from Fergie today, has handed Chelsea title earlier. Hopefully, United can do well against Milan, I hope...................
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 03:00 AM
haiz.. i think the referees affected the game today bah.. i saw some posts that say some errors were made.. one even ruled out a goal by keano.. yeah chelsea 8 point clear liaoz.. norwich not strong enough to resist them.. haiz :(
title officially can kiss goodbye, let hope we finish 2nd and get past Milan on Wednesday morning which is going to be tough. :o
genesis113
06-03-2005, 03:17 AM
second spot oso under threat, as Gooners oso won today, just 2 pts gap now.
I think United need to play all the in-form players in the rest of the games, no more resting now.
Fergie too full of himself lah, always 1st half ask players to anyhow play. Only 2nd half then they always produce goals for the past matches. Today, Man U deserve the draw.
genesis113
06-03-2005, 03:34 AM
no use to blame refs, remember that we had favored from some big decisions from refs, including Caroll's howler against Spurs.
Today, we had only ourselves to blame.
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 03:35 AM
no use to blame refs, remember that we had favored from some big decisions from refs, including Caroll's howler against Spurs.
We had only ourselves to blame.
yeah.. agreed.. SAF shld start regulars then rest when the game is secure
yeha agree, look at chelsea, they play a strong line-up against norwich, where as we go and left Scholes, Ronaldo and Rooney on the bench, bad mistake from Fergie and costly 2 points dropped.. :s27:
Raul7
06-03-2005, 03:51 AM
title officially can kiss goodbye, let hope we finish 2nd and get past Milan on Wednesday morning which is going to be tough. :o
ya loh...kiss goodbye to epl liao....haiz
Raul7
06-03-2005, 03:55 AM
yeah.. agreed.. SAF shld start regulars then rest when the game is secure
maybe Sir Alex want to rest them for Milan game....
Who doesn't wanna rest players? But against team like Crystal Palace, at least win a goal rite?
Chelsea won, Arsenal won, what can you say?
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 04:01 AM
that is what i think also lor...
Who doesn't wanna rest players? But against team like Crystal Palace, at least win a goal rite?
All you seem to do is to wind man utd and fergie up. :s22:
granted he made a mistake today, but the team he put out was more than good enough to beat palace, the players left their shooting boots at home. :(
Raul7
06-03-2005, 04:07 AM
Utd did not field all the good players,what you expect me to say? is the manager decision not mine... :look:
Raul7
06-03-2005, 04:08 AM
All you seem to do is to wind man utd and fergie up. :s22:
hahahaa..... :s13: think should let carlos to take over liao...
RuMmYtUb
06-03-2005, 09:27 AM
Sian ah, frustating 0-0 draw, arse closing the gap by 2 points...
Raul7
06-03-2005, 10:33 AM
Man Utd boss Ferguson: Title slipping away
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson admits the title is slipping away after yesterday's 0-0 draw with Crystal Palace.
Palace had Vassilis Lakis sent off midway through the second half but United failed to break down their stubborn resistance despite intense pressure in the final 10 minutes.
The result - coupled with Chelsea's 3-1 win at Norwich later in the evening - leaves United eight points adrift of the leaders and Ferguson knows time is running out if they are to retain any hope of catching the Londoners before the end of the campaign.
Ferguson admitted: "It is a bad result for us. When you are going for the Premiership you need to win these games and we haven't done that today. We have given ourselves a real mountain to climb.
"We have given a great advantage to Chelsea. But I am pleased with the commitment of the team. They worked their socks off in the second half and should have won it.
"I thought the first 25 minutes was very lively on a tough pitch. We had one chance in the first half but no settled play really.
"Once I put Paul Scholes and Cristiano Ronaldo on, then the game turned in our favour and from that moment on we really dominated. We had some chances and penalty claims but at the end of the day Palace have dug in and got a point.
"You have to expect that teams at the bottom of the league are going to fight. They are going to fight for their lives and we saw that today.
"They made it difficult for us. Normally we can find away to get through that and when Scholes and Ronaldo came on the opportunities increased.
"I don't think the sending-off was that important because they had all the players back in their box anyway. It's hard to break teams down when they are all in the box. We are a bit disappointed we didn't."
Ronaldo7
06-03-2005, 10:50 AM
sian . our slim hope of catching up chelsea now looks more or less gone :(
a fully-match fit ruud should be able to put all those chances away :s22:
milan is next
Can't see us getting past Milan on our current form. I am afraid we are about to get knocked out. :s27:
Finishing 2nd in EPL and winning FA Cup is now the more realistic target for us, i would actually be quite happy with that. :)
mclarenfan
06-03-2005, 01:16 PM
very disappointing... Man utd would have won..if our best 11 were playing for 90mins but then we got the CL on wed morning... important for our players to be rested....
Our attack is blunted cos Ruud not up there yet...
Scholes and ronaldo come on and make Man utd dominate..... which raises question mark on the vision of P.Neville and Fortune...
Last but not least....What the hell! anyway... we lost..and Chelsea won, Arsenal won... 2nd place at risk..
nakitas
06-03-2005, 02:30 PM
Once again, we r disappointed... ManUtd always flop during easy games like tis... Cant Fergie juz show his weaker opponents some respect??? Field a better team... Tis r easy points to pocket, right frm t start... But he chose to clown around n disgrace himself...
For t late couple of season, such problems have surface in ManUtd... Fergie old fool is losing his touch, he's stubborn n toothless now... His old methods n mindgames no longer work... He'll have to admit tat ManUtd is taking a plunge now, n if things dnt improve, we'll end up like Liverpool or Newcastle (Once upon a time teams)...
I'm really sad to see ManUtd tis way, but u juz get so disappointed everything tis happens... Seriously, i aint expecting much off San Siro...
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 02:34 PM
Once again, we r disappointed... ManUtd always flop during easy games like tis... Cant Fergie juz show his weaker opponents some respect??? Field a better team... Tis r easy points to pocket, right frm t start... But he chose to clown around n disgrace himself...
For t late couple of season, such problems have surface in ManUtd... Fergie old fool is losing his touch, he's stubborn n toothless now... His old methods n mindgames no longer work... He'll have to admit tat ManUtd is taking a plunge now, n if things dnt improve, we'll end up like Liverpool or Newcastle (Once upon a time teams)...
I'm really sad to see ManUtd tis way, but u juz get so disappointed everything tis happens... Seriously, i aint expecting much off San Siro...
hmm.. i do agree that fergie always choose too weak a team when meeting weaker teams.. he shld field a team that is capable of securing the game then sub players..
Raul7
06-03-2005, 02:39 PM
sian . our slim hope of catching up chelsea now looks more or less gone :(
a fully-match fit ruud should be able to put all those chances away :s22:
milan is next
ya epl no chance liao.....
Raul7
06-03-2005, 02:41 PM
hmm.. i do agree that fergie always choose too weak a team when meeting weaker teams.. he shld field a team that is capable of securing the game then sub players..
maybe he see those weak team no upz!
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 02:49 PM
maybe he see those weak team no upz!
hmm.. i rather he play safe.. haiz.. nvm its all over.. we gt to move on
AhHuat
06-03-2005, 03:36 PM
ronaldo_7......its not a matter of over anot....
issit necessary for fergie to learn his lesson of fielding weak teams against struggling clubs???....right now at this situation, he have to win 3 pts every game. he got no choice. he cant field weak teams like this. yes there is mid week game against ac milan....either he want to focus on epl (pushing chelsea all the way) or probably dreaming of lifting the CL...... but we got it all wrong during ac milan first leg game.....and we could'nt possibly win the title as it is chelsea's title to lose now.....
wat can we do now?
1. pray that chelsea start to draw and lose some important league games.
2. pray that we can repeat deportivo success at san siro
all we can do is pray.....and hope fergie start to realise the relegation battling teams are not pushover , he himself told chelsea that norwich is a tough game....but he did not remind himself abt it :s8:
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 03:43 PM
ronaldo_7......its not a matter of over anot....
issit necessary for fergie to learn his lesson of fielding weak teams against struggling clubs???....right now at this situation, he have to win 3 pts every game. he got no choice. he cant field weak teams like this. yes there is mid week game against ac milan....either he want to focus on epl (pushing chelsea all the way) or probably dreaming of lifting the CL...... but we got it all wrong during ac milan first leg game.....and we could'nt possibly win the title as it is chelsea's title to lose now.....
wat can we do now?
1. pray that chelsea start to draw and lose some important league games.
2. pray that we can repeat deportivo success at san siro
all we can do is pray.....and hope fergie start to realise the relegation battling teams are not pushover , he himself told chelsea that norwich is a tough game....but he did not remind himself abt it :s8:
ya i understand he sort of got no choice because Milan is next.. pray that miracle will happen on wed :)
usjag_18
06-03-2005, 03:56 PM
Fergie too full of himself lah, always 1st half ask players to anyhow play. Only 2nd half then they always produce goals for the past matches. Today, Man U deserve the draw.
I disagreed with what u meant by anyhow play. I just find it it's a little bit unlucky for our players today. Don't forget, already said before, ball is ROUND. ANything can happens.
What's wrong in resting players? You cannot expect our players who are playing the whole season most of the times to play against Crystal Palace & AC Milan, then Saints every now and then bah. For goodness's sake, if that day, T.Henry is not injuried, do U think A.Wenger won't field him against Sheff Utd? Just becos others are not resting their main players, means we are going to do the same. Moreover, let's be fair to SAF and the team, who really played as 1st 11men recently? Aint they all the same person? Dun they need rest? When Ronaldo wasn't given a rest, everyone complaining. Now give him rest awhile, also complain. Btw, I didn't think they did totally badly. At least, I think Howard and the back 4 did their best not to conceded any goals!
We shouldn't always blaming the managers or the referees only. Shouldn't the players be blamed too? Aint Ron too selfish too when he's near the corner? Shouldn't he had pass a couple of balls to his team-mates who might be able to score? Or shouldn't RVN to be more accurate in shooting even though he's injuried earlier on? Didn't P.Neville & Q.Fortune kept losing the ball or acting selfishly that tot they are the USUAL SCORER of the team or passing stupid ball that never reached our own players? Let's not only pinpoint @ Sir A.Ferguson. No, I am definitely NOT his biggest fan in the world, I do disagree with some of his tactics. But seriously, if ytd, we didn't draw but WIN, will you guys blaming him for choosing so many reserves players? Let's be fair. I think a match that went wrong, not only manager or referees' faults. It's the WHOLE TEAM that goes wrong. But so what's the point of blaming them now. Let's concentrate on the NEXT MATCH!
P/S: Bro Raul7, relax larh. U also leh. Be more supportive marh... U long-time supporter liao leh. Still dun understand the needs to rest important players 4 BIG game meh. U shld understand one marh. hehehe... =:p Sounds like a little person telling a bigger person wat 2 do huh.. hehee.. paiseh huh...
chengsun
06-03-2005, 04:26 PM
i agree with resting players, especially before a big game against Milan, n this shows that actually our main focus is CL, n EPL is sort of secondary, this is what i think. I got the feeling that, if we heng heng win the CL this or next seaon, SAF will retire, n let others, maybe carloz take over.
Actually in a major team like us, even our second team players shld be able to play n beat teams at the bottom half of the league, they shld have the capability. U cant expect 1st team players to do the job each n every game, n this is the great time for the 2nd team players to show n proof that they are as good as the 1st teamers!
Ronaldo_7
06-03-2005, 04:34 PM
i agree with resting players, especially before a big game against Milan, n this shows that actually our main focus is CL, n EPL is sort of secondary, this is what i think. I got the feeling that, if we heng heng win the CL this or next seaon, SAF will retire, n let others, maybe carloz take over.
Actually in a major team like us, even our second team players shld be able to play n beat teams at the bottom half of the league, they shld have the capability. U cant expect 1st team players to do the job each n every game, n this is the great time for the 2nd team players to show n proof that they are as good as the 1st teamers!
yeah..i also think that SAF will pass the light to someone else when man utd end the season on a high.. true that our second team must also be good enough so that we will nt be over reliant on the main players like scholes, ronaldo and giggs (juz to name a few)
:)
Had we played full strength and one of our key players got an injury before the Milan game then people would be moaning about "why NOT using squad rotation?" The team that was put out should have finished Palace off; its not a tactical thing IMO cos we did create the odd chance that on another day we would have buried and hung on for the win, especially the last 10 minuteds, Giggs, Ruud, guilty of wasteful finishings. It wasnt the best of performances but although we weren't at full strength, we should have won the game.
Ronaldo7
06-03-2005, 08:04 PM
aiyar . the palace game is history liao . no point talking about it anymore. lets look forward to the milan game instead :evil: we need to settle down quickly and get the first goal in san siro to stand a chance of going through . lets hope howard can make up for this mistake against porto last season and put in an outstanding performance :s7:
Ronaldo7
06-03-2005, 08:18 PM
Gattuso keen on Old Trafford move
AC Milan midfielder Gennaro Gattuso would consider joining Champions League rivals Manchester United.
Gattuso, 26, faces United on Tuesday in a second-leg showdown at the San Siro, with Milan leading 1-0 after leg one.
"My dream is to play for Manchester United," the ex-Rangers player told the Mail on Sunday.
"I have always been fascinated by them. I would love to have a new experience, even in the next year or two. I would choose United ahead of Chelsea."
However, Gattuso, who would arguably be an ideal future replacement for United skipper Roy Keane, is not expecting any move to be imminent.
I respect Keane because he has a similar game to mine and he is full of spirit
"When a club has been good to you, as Milan have been to me, and they say you are not for sale, it is difficult to know what you can do," Gattuso added.
"I have always been happy at Milan and I still am but I think you need a new stimulus in your career. It is a question of the circumstances being right.
"I am sure Sir Alex knows all about me because last year his assistant was Walter Smith, who had faith in me when I was young at Rangers."
Gattuso also praised Keane, comparing him to legendary Milan defender Paolo Maldini.
"I respect Keane because he has a similar game to mine and he is full of spirit," said Gattuso.
"Above all, I like the way he leads. He has the stature at United that our own captain, Paolo Maldini, has at Milan."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4323221.stm
:s22:
Zeroplus1
06-03-2005, 08:19 PM
palace put 10 men behind ball, so no clear chance to shoot.....haiz...
MatrixFanatic
06-03-2005, 08:32 PM
Gattuso keen on Old Trafford move
AC Milan midfielder Gennaro Gattuso would consider joining Champions League rivals Manchester United.
Gattuso, 26, faces United on Tuesday in a second-leg showdown at the San Siro, with Milan leading 1-0 after leg one.
"My dream is to play for Manchester United," the ex-Rangers player told the Mail on Sunday.
"I have always been fascinated by them. I would love to have a new experience, even in the next year or two. I would choose United ahead of Chelsea."
However, Gattuso, who would arguably be an ideal future replacement for United skipper Roy Keane, is not expecting any move to be imminent.
I respect Keane because he has a similar game to mine and he is full of spirit
"When a club has been good to you, as Milan have been to me, and they say you are not for sale, it is difficult to know what you can do," Gattuso added.
"I have always been happy at Milan and I still am but I think you need a new stimulus in your career. It is a question of the circumstances being right.
"I am sure Sir Alex knows all about me because last year his assistant was Walter Smith, who had faith in me when I was young at Rangers."
Gattuso also praised Keane, comparing him to legendary Milan defender Paolo Maldini.
"I respect Keane because he has a similar game to mine and he is full of spirit," said Gattuso.
"Above all, I like the way he leads. He has the stature at United that our own captain, Paolo Maldini, has at Milan."
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/4323221.stm
:s22:
What the kuku is this man. If it's a mind game it is a damn funny one. :s13:
o0KelviN0o
06-03-2005, 09:55 PM
but if it's for real... we got a damn good DM as a replacement for Keano!!! :s12:
Raul7
06-03-2005, 10:40 PM
but if it's for real... we got a damn good DM as a replacement for Keano!!! :s12:
power man if can get him.... :)
kahmun7
06-03-2005, 11:02 PM
palace put 10 men behind ball, so no clear chance to shoot.....haiz...
just hope they do the same against Chelsea.. :(
nakitas
06-03-2005, 11:17 PM
Gd gd, another one of my fav players gonna b joining t ManUtd ranks... Cant wait tat to happen...
OKK77
06-03-2005, 11:17 PM
I don't think Ancelotti will let him go bah.
Raul7
06-03-2005, 11:47 PM
I don't think Ancelotti will let him go bah.
hope he will let him go... :)
Raul7
06-03-2005, 11:48 PM
Man Utd stunned by £7.2M Milan demands for Abbiati
Manchester United have been stunned by AC Milan's asking price for reserve goalkeeper Christian Abbiati.
The Daily Star Sunday says United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was keen on bringing the Italian to Old Trafford as his new No1 next season, but was rocked onto his heels by Milan's staggering £7.2 million valuation.
nakitas
07-03-2005, 12:13 AM
Wah, i enjoy speculations... Always sound so gd but nver true...
Ch3tah_39
07-03-2005, 12:20 AM
aiyar . the palace game is history liao . no point talking about it anymore. lets look forward to the milan game instead :evil: we need to settle down quickly and get the first goal in san siro to stand a chance of going through . lets hope howard can make up for this mistake against porto last season and put in an outstanding performance :s7:
ya lor... history liao, no pt toking ler... :s7:
orca_sea
07-03-2005, 01:14 AM
What the kuku is this man. If it's a mind game it is a damn funny one. :s13:
hahaha agree :s13: or mayb realli itz his own agenda :s13: :s13:
orca_sea
07-03-2005, 01:15 AM
Man Utd stunned by £7.2M Milan demands for Abbiati
Manchester United have been stunned by AC Milan's asking price for reserve goalkeeper Christian Abbiati.
The Daily Star Sunday says United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was keen on bringing the Italian to Old Trafford as his new No1 next season, but was rocked onto his heels by Milan's staggering £7.2 million valuation.
It would b to get either him or Sebastien Frey hahaha :s13: :s13:
Ronaldo_7
07-03-2005, 01:54 AM
hahah.. yea i agree he's good though i personally dun like him.. haha.. :)
rza29
07-03-2005, 06:38 AM
SAF needs to buy someone to replace keano and a more reliable GK if possible. dump carroll since he wont sign new contract. gattuso is a strong tough tackling nut. he is the most suitable to replace keano. doubt ac willing to let him go. he is a good player. but they may let abbiatti go since he cant be 1st choice since dida is there.
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:12 AM
It would b to get either him or Sebastien Frey hahaha :s13: :s13:
but frey said he wanna join Inter..... :look:
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:12 AM
hahah.. yea i agree he's good though i personally dun like him.. haha.. :)
hahahaaa....... :s13:
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:26 AM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson believes Italian starlet Giuseppe Rossi has the world at his feet.
The teenager only arrived at Old Trafford from Parma in the summer, but he has produced commanding displays in the reserves and has forced his way into the first team squad of late.
Rossi has impressed Ferguson in his first season in Manchester and the Scot believes the 18-year-old could be a star of the future for The Red Devils.
"Giuseppe Rossi is improving all the time," Ferguson told the club's website. "He has got a bright future ahead of him.
"He is probably the coolest player at the club in terms of his play around the penalty box.
"We had him in the squad for our match at Everton recently. He has an absolutely wonderful temperament for a striker."
usjag_18
07-03-2005, 09:27 AM
I dun think Gattuso's action as mind games. Seriously, I think the managers in Italian Serie A are not those GOOD mind gamers. However, I dun mind Gattuso wearing a Man Utd's jersey. Anyway, I just hope that R.Keane can calm himself down. I guess by not paying 1999 final really affecting him. He seems to be seriously nervous tat day when against AC Milan. I guess this shld be one of his biggest games. I have no idea why is he acting so nervously abt AC Milan when he played against Real Madrid, Juventus and other big clubs b4. I guess even the strongest man in the whole squad also got times that makes him worry... Lolx... :s13:
edit: word in bold.
TOKARA
07-03-2005, 09:31 AM
I dun think Gattuso's action as mind games. Seriously, I think the managers in Italian Serie A are not those mind gamers. However, I dun mind Gattuso wearing a Man Utd's jersey. Anyway, I just hope that R.Keane can calm himself down. I guess by not paying 1999 final really affecting him. He seems to be seriously nervous tat day when against AC Milan. I guess this shld be one of his biggest games. I have no idea why is he acting so nervously abt AC Milan when he played against Real Madrid, Juventus and other big clubs b4. I guess even the strongest man in the whole squad also got times that makes him worry... Lolx... :s13:
yer should work for CIA lolx...take it as a joke will ya?
usjag_18
07-03-2005, 09:35 AM
Not one United player could get in my Milan side
Milan boss Carlo Ancelotti last night taunted Sir Alex Ferguson by claiming: "I wouldn't pick any of your players for my first team." Ancelotti said: "Milan are better than United. If we both play at our maximum, then Milan will win. If my team play their top game, United can't win. I know my players better than anyone and what they can give when they perform at their best. I wouldn't change any of my players for anyone from United. There are United players with quality but I wouldn't change any of my players with any player from United. I may have taken Paul Scholes for my squad without changing anyone from my first-team, and that's it."
Antony Kastrinakis, News of the World
SOURCE (http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=156884&itype=466&icategoryid=365)
:s8: if he's trying to play a mind game, this is really a bad one.... Only proven that I am right about Italian manager is bad a playing mind games.
Anyway, let's cheer for Man Utd.
HIP HIP HOORAY!!!
:evil: Let's show them our DEVILISH side!!!
yer should work for CIA lolx...take it as a joke will ya?
Ermm... CIA arh... I dun think so larh. I m not those typed of person can keep secret sia... hehehee... =:p
Ch3tah_39
07-03-2005, 10:41 AM
but frey said he wanna join Inter..... :look:
Inter tat time sold him away.. now he wanna join back inter :s11: :s13:
Ronaldo7
07-03-2005, 11:10 AM
7.2m for a reserve keeper ? :s13:
i say keep the money instead
Ch3tah_39
07-03-2005, 11:44 AM
ermm quite true.. but if tat keeper really good, can buy lor.... :D
kudosz
07-03-2005, 11:50 AM
Very sad man.. To see man utd goaless with CP
I always treat CP as a regalated team..
Hope they can beat AC MILAN this week!!!!
Ac Milan please off form this CL match!
usjag_18
07-03-2005, 01:45 PM
Depends on his worth. If he's good and still continue playing for us in the future, maybe it will be a good investment. IT all depends on validation on the worth.
Kudosz: Why v.sad? We should never signed any team off. Personally, I dun think AC Milan will be off form, but Man Utd can strongly fight them off with our determination, skills & team-work. Manchester United do not need their opponents to be off-form, then we can beat them!
nakitas
07-03-2005, 02:44 PM
No dnt keep t money, nver let ManUtd keep any money... Cos if ManUtd pockets t money, u'll nver see it again... Let them spend it on other players if they t not signing a reserve keeper... :s13:
Ronaldo7
07-03-2005, 03:51 PM
no question about abbiati's quality . but asking for 7.2m for a keeper that has not been in the first team for the past 2 1/2 seasons is :s22:
mclarenfan
07-03-2005, 04:21 PM
Man utd must die die win the Champions league :s12: ... EPL seems to be almost taken by Chelsea.. so if Mourinho says Chelsea is the best in England... Alex Ferguson can say that Man utd is the best in Europe.. =:p
Wednesday morning is Judgement Day... Defeat is unthinkable..
Ronaldo_7
07-03-2005, 05:13 PM
no question about abbiati's quality . but asking for 7.2m for a keeper that has not been in the first team for the past 2 1/2 seasons is :s22:
haha... ya lor.. he missing in action v.long le..
Ronaldo_7
07-03-2005, 05:14 PM
Very sad man.. To see man utd goaless with CP
I always treat CP as a regalated team..
Hope they can beat AC MILAN this week!!!!
Ac Milan please off form this CL match!
yeah man.. but i dun think AC Milan will be off form.. hope Man Utd wins this tie.. :)
nakitas
07-03-2005, 06:21 PM
Man utd must die die win the Champions league :s12: ... EPL seems to be almost taken by Chelsea.. so if Mourinho says Chelsea is the best in England... Alex Ferguson can say that Man utd is the best in Europe.. =:p
Wednesday morning is Judgement Day... Defeat is unthinkable..
True, at least we still can boost abt our ability in t region...
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:17 PM
Inter tat time sold him away.. now he wanna join back inter :s11: :s13:
hahaha...ya loh....Frey not really that good also...
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:18 PM
abit steep.... :look:
o0KelviN0o
07-03-2005, 07:24 PM
yeah man.. but i dun think AC Milan will be off form.. hope Man Utd wins this tie.. :)
i think it's pretty tough... RVN ain't there yet...
and of course when he's on form... :evil: <-- Red Devil
Raul7
07-03-2005, 07:27 PM
Benfica winger Simao Sabrosa has snubbed reported interest from Manchester United.
Speculation over the weekend claimed that the Portugal international has emerged as the latest target for United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
With Ryan Giggs' future at Old Trafford still uncertain, Simao was put forward as a possible replacement for the Welshman on the left flank.
But the 25-year-old has asserted that he has no desire to follow compatriot Cristiano Ronaldo to United at this stage of his career.
The former Sporting Lisbon and Barcelona winger is tied to Benfica until 2010 and is happy with the Portuguese giants.
He admits that, despite The Red Devils being one of the world's biggest clubs, Simao is not interested in joining the Premiership outfit.
"I have nothing to comment about that matter," Simao told Record.
"I have a contract here until 2010 and I am tranquil.
"During a long career, happily, I have had several clubs interested.
"But that interest [of Manchester United], at 25 years of age, does not stir anything in me."
blackevil_2000
07-03-2005, 07:52 PM
We know SAF style we won't sign old keeper he would go 4 young one... i dun think frey will cum it will be some1 else... winger.... downing la he is like so dam bloody good.... keano...slow slow la wait n see sure will get some1 la.... n last hope that manUTD will win AC
MANUTD FOREVER
Ronaldo7
07-03-2005, 09:10 PM
gary & saha are out for the game
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=260975&CPID=5&CLID=&lid=2&title=Duo+out+for+United&channel=Football_Home
so the lineup aga aga should be something like this
howard
brown-silvestre-ferdinand-heinze
ronaldo-keane-scholes-giggs
rooney
ruud
AhHuat
07-03-2005, 09:43 PM
gattuso linked with manutd?
knn he say he wanna join manutd.....
obviously trying to spice up mind game
Ronaldo7
07-03-2005, 09:46 PM
gattuso linked with manutd?
knn he say he wanna join manutd.....
obviously trying to spice up mind game
he just said that he was kana misquoted by the media :s27:
OKK77
07-03-2005, 09:59 PM
:evil: Let's show them our DEVILISH side!!!
Eh, go check out Milan's nickname. (-;
Raul7
07-03-2005, 10:15 PM
he just said that he was kana misquoted by the media :s27:
ya loh.... :s7:
RuMmYtUb
07-03-2005, 10:24 PM
Haha Gattuso is a gd Keane's replacement, hope that day will come..
Kyubi
07-03-2005, 10:37 PM
yeah man .. hope gattuso come man u :D
Gattuso said he was mis-quoted from the english press. :s22:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=260995&CPID=21&CLID=&lid=2&title=Gattuso+denies+United+talk&channel=Football_Home
usjag_18
08-03-2005, 01:14 AM
Gattuso said he was mis-quoted from the english press.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=260995&CPID=21&CLID=&lid=2&title=Gattuso+denies+United+talk&channel=Football_Home
:s7:
ridiculous, den it must be english press trying to play MIND games with Man Utd. :s8:
but think again, quite funny.... :s13:
Trying to distract us now. Kaoz... sometimes, I really dun understand these English press.
Knn I can't believe Saha is injured yet again, how many times already this season, We might as well sell him, cut our loss on him and promote Rossi into the first-team.
Devilboy
08-03-2005, 01:42 AM
Knn I can't believe Saha is injured yet again, how many times already this season, We might as well sell him, cut our loss on him and promote Rossi into the first-team.
I think Saha will be sold next season. No doubt he is a powerful forward but he is always not there when Manchester needed him most. To me I think he is just high power but low on intelligent.
Devilboy
08-03-2005, 01:46 AM
Gattuso said he was mis-quoted from the english press. :s22:
I don't think he is good enough for Manchester United. He is a hot-temper matador, will get mentally drain by the English football culture.
TOKARA
08-03-2005, 05:10 AM
I don't think he is good enough for Manchester United. He is a hot-temper matador, will get mentally drain by the English football culture.
to date, not many italians have survived the EPL...prolly zola? lol
TOKARA
08-03-2005, 05:12 AM
:s7:
ridiculous, den it must be english press trying to play MIND games with Man Utd. :s8:
but think again, quite funny.... :s13:
Trying to distract us now. Kaoz... sometimes, I really dun understand these English press.
Seems like the only things that arent considered mind games in yer eyes, are the ones that are favourable to MU.
=:p
*Give them a break, journalists write for a living, the pen is their bread and butter.
MatrixFanatic
08-03-2005, 06:59 AM
And Alessandro Pistone. :o
hisart
08-03-2005, 07:07 AM
i got a feeling ac milan would be strong for them to make a comeback.AC MILAN here we r talking not ordinary club.if man u respect their opponent then they got a chance,but we got man u players n their manager talking that they get beat AC MILAN.>so brave.
Raul7
08-03-2005, 07:41 AM
what abt Paolo Di Canio? :D
TOKARA
08-03-2005, 08:47 AM
what abt Paolo Di Canio? :D
Di Canio is OK, but Pistone got sold from News to Evertons to...? *sorry i have lost touch, nonetheless, these are not starters for the Italians national squad. What i mean was players like Ruud...foreign player + national squad player.
ben0704
08-03-2005, 09:00 AM
Di Canio is OK, but Pistone got sold from News to Evertons to...? *sorry i have lost touch, nonetheless, these are not starters for the Italians national squad. What i mean was players like Ruud...foreign player + national squad player.
i tin one reason is becos, seldom have italy national player moving to EPL. tat is y. if they move, and fail. then we can suan them mah. :)
TOKARA
08-03-2005, 09:12 AM
i tin one reason is becos, seldom have italy national player moving to EPL. tat is y. if they move, and fail. then we can suan them mah. :)
my friend told me about EPL, i'm not sure if it was quoted by some italian players but honestly i believe so that it was mentioned somewhere...and that
EPL is UNCLASS
but come to think of it, i believed so...jus look at maldini..at 36? Cafu at 34? lolz...look at the english ... they prolly be dunking themselves in beer barrels.
People here drinks beer for lunchs, dinners and suppers.
I think Gary has already been ruled out. :(
Saha Misses Milan Trip & Neville's Still Struggling
Louis Saha is out of United's Champions League trip to Milan, while Gary Neville faces a race against time to be fit for the match.
Neville is still struggling with a leg injury he sustained against Portsmouth nine days ago, while Saha picked up a knock in training ruling him out of tomorrow night's visit to the San Siro.
United fly out to Italy this morning ahead of their must-win second leg with Milan. The Reds are currently 1-0 down on aggregate after Hernan Crespo's goal gave the Rossoneri a first leg advantage at Old Trafford almost two weeks ago.
Squad travelling to Milan: Howard, P. Neville, O’Shea, Rooney, Ronaldo, Scholes, Bellion, Fortune, Ricardo, Silvestre, Miller, Giggs, Brown, Carroll, Heinze, Ferdinand, Keane, van Nistelrooy, Smith, Rossi, G. Neville.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=157171&itype=466&icategoryid=120
usjag_18
08-03-2005, 12:26 PM
Seems like the only things that arent considered mind games in yer eyes, are the ones that are favourable to MU.
=:p
*Give them a break, journalists write for a living, the pen is their bread and butter.
Not really, personally, I never said that. Please DO NOT PUT WORDS INTO MY MOUTH. In the first place, why shld I be giving them a break? I am not really saying anything wrong about them. And even whatever comments I made here, they will not care or listen to.
Btw, are u having problems with my comments? Anyway, I disagreed that I only considered that things that are favourable to Man Utd are not mind games. Seriously, I am just thinking, it's kinda of funny that they give such news @ this period of time when Man Utd is going to face AC Milan soon. Why dun they give someone else name instead but given an opponent's player name. I just find it FUNNY and make short comment that is English press trying to play mind games with Man Utd together along with other club managers. Tat's all I am saying. Wat's wrong with it? Btw, if SAF making comments or playing mind games, what should I said? Hey, he's playing mind games again? Seriously, I think there's nothing wrong with playing mind games. And I dun really think that playing mind games is UNFAVOURABLE to Man Utd. In fact, I think it will be a good medicine that will make the players (Man Utd players) to fight even better. I have no idea what makes U think that by playing mind games, it's BAD for our players.
P/S: Anyway, U are located in UK? Good, did u get the anti-racism wristbands? U should. Promote anti-racism.
MatrixFanatic
08-03-2005, 12:34 PM
I think Gary has already been ruled out. :(
Saha Misses Milan Trip & Neville's Still Struggling
Louis Saha is out of United's Champions League trip to Milan, while Gary Neville faces a race against time to be fit for the match.
Neville is still struggling with a leg injury he sustained against Portsmouth nine days ago, while Saha picked up a knock in training ruling him out of tomorrow night's visit to the San Siro.
United fly out to Italy this morning ahead of their must-win second leg with Milan. The Reds are currently 1-0 down on aggregate after Hernan Crespo's goal gave the Rossoneri a first leg advantage at Old Trafford almost two weeks ago.
Squad travelling to Milan: Howard, P. Neville, O’Shea, Rooney, Ronaldo, Scholes, Bellion, Fortune, Ricardo, Silvestre, Miller, Giggs, Brown, Carroll, Heinze, Ferdinand, Keane, van Nistelrooy, Smith, Rossi, G. Neville.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=157171&itype=466&icategoryid=120
Put Wes Brown as right-back can liao.
:D
usjag_18
08-03-2005, 12:39 PM
my friend told me about EPL, i'm not sure if it was quoted by some italian players but honestly i believe so that it was mentioned somewhere...and that
EPL is UNCLASS
but come to think of it, i believed so...jus look at maldini..at 36? Cafu at 34? lolz...look at the english ... they prolly be dunking themselves in beer barrels.
People here drinks beer for lunchs, dinners and suppers.
It's true that they are always drinking and drinking. Tat's Aussie style too. :s13: I guess it's just their ways to relieve their so-called stress. But it's really bad for mentally & physically.
But is it true that most players in EPL drinks? I believe so. Can see so many players nowadays got into drunk & drive situation. Drink too much is not good for players.
TOKARA
08-03-2005, 04:41 PM
P/S: Anyway, U are located in UK? Good, did u get the anti-racism wristbands? U should. Promote anti-racism.
bo leh...if i wear, prolly i should wear the white one, or maybe wear 10 on each hands...10 white bands hehehe
Ciao.
kahmun7
08-03-2005, 04:57 PM
hmm dun forget, Milan was leading 4-1 last year in the first leg, and lose 4-0 in the second for the q-finals. but then they were away last year, but anything could happen in football. let's hope Ruud finds his touch tonight. Ronaldo, Giggs, Scholes and Keano, time to earn your medals..
traax06
08-03-2005, 05:00 PM
Milan 0 : 3 MUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ;)
MU go go go :s12:
Raul7
08-03-2005, 06:57 PM
hmm dun forget, Milan was leading 4-1 last year in the first leg, and lose 4-0 in the second for the q-finals. but then they were away last year, but anything could happen in football. let's hope Ruud finds his touch tonight. Ronaldo, Giggs, Scholes and Keano, time to earn your medals..
hope all the man u players on form..... :)
blackevil_2000
08-03-2005, 07:56 PM
manUtd gonna to win............
Devilboy
08-03-2005, 09:18 PM
Glory Glory Man Utd.
Just our game and victory will be guaranteed.
Ronaldo7
08-03-2005, 09:29 PM
feeling excited for the match already . it's now or never :s7:
Raul7
08-03-2005, 09:45 PM
ya loh..... :)
FA look at Untied actions
Manchester United could find themselves in hot water with The Football Association after it was confirmed that the English governing body are looking into an incident following the recent game at Crystal Palace.
United saw their title hopes suffer a massive blow when they were held to a 0-0 draw by Premiership strugglers Palace on Saturday and temperatures were high at the end of the 90 minutes.
A number of United players felt aggrieved that key decisions, including a last-minute penalty claim, had not gone their way and surrounded referee Mark Clattenburg at the end of the Selhurst Park encounter to vent their frustrations.
It would appear that the incident caught the eye of Soho Square officials who will study video evidence and Clattenburg's report before deciding on whether to mete out any punishment on The Red Devils.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=261269
f@cking bullsh!t. The FA want to pick on us again. :s27:
blackevil_2000
08-03-2005, 10:19 PM
ac wait 4 us to beat u n soon manU will lift the cl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
manUtd forever n ever
Yellowfin
08-03-2005, 10:54 PM
FA look at Untied actions
Manchester United could find themselves in hot water with The Football Association after it was confirmed that the English governing body are looking into an incident following the recent game at Crystal Palace.
United saw their title hopes suffer a massive blow when they were held to a 0-0 draw by Premiership strugglers Palace on Saturday and temperatures were high at the end of the 90 minutes.
A number of United players felt aggrieved that key decisions, including a last-minute penalty claim, had not gone their way and surrounded referee Mark Clattenburg at the end of the Selhurst Park encounter to vent their frustrations.
It would appear that the incident caught the eye of Soho Square officials who will study video evidence and Clattenburg's report before deciding on whether to mete out any punishment on The Red Devils.
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/Article.asp?id=261269
f@cking bullsh!t. The FA want to pick on us again. :s27:
This type of incident have happen before from other EPL clubs also but punishment only reserve for Man Utd. :mad:
Ronaldo_7
09-03-2005, 12:43 AM
yeah.. its do or die for us.. hope we managed to overcome AC at San Siro :D
Ronaldo_7
09-03-2005, 12:43 AM
This type of incident have happen before from other EPL clubs also but punishment only reserve for Man Utd. :mad:
ya lor.. seems that the FA keeps picking on Man Utd sia.. duno why man.. haiz
Glazer to put in a new bid by the end of the week
LONDON (Reuters) - U.S. tycoon Malcolm Glazer is putting the finishing touches on a revised takeover proposal for Manchester United and is likely to approach the club's board by the end of the week, people close to the deal say.
"They're at the point of finalising what they think is their revised business plan and at that point they can unleash it back to Manchester United," one of the sources said on Tuesday.
Glazer and his two sons, Joel and Avi, are hoping the proposal will be enough to win over United's board, which has rejected their two earlier attempts to buy the world's richest soccer club.
A debt-free business with one of the best-known brands globally, Manchester United has fallen prey to rampant takeover speculation because of its huge marketing and cash-generating potential.
The club faces AC Milan in a crunch European Champions League match in Italy on Tuesday night, trailing 1-0 from the first leg and in danger of being eliminated from the money-spinning competition.
United's management agreed to open the books to Glazer on February 11 but warned it would likely reject the tycoon's 800 million pound offer on the grounds it could damage the club by piling on too much debt.
"They've done their due diligence and now they're substantiating and changing the business plan in the hopes of demonstrating it's not too aggressive," the source said.
Another source said the revised plan would likely still include 300 million pounds of debt, however, but it would also include other detailed concessions intended to win United's board round.
But the board needs to tread carefully to avoid incurring the wrath of United's fans, many of whom are ferociously against a Glazer takeover. Among other things, they believe the American will hike ticket prices to pay back the debt he used to buy the club.
The sources said Glazer could raise prices but said it would likely be on the top-priced tickets, such as those sold to corporations. He is also willing to allow the club's fans to retain up to a 25 percent stake in the business, they said.
To have any chance of succeeding Glazer needs to get the board to recommend the bid to shareholders. They include Irish race horse magnates JP McManus and John Magnier who between them own nearly 30 percent of the 15 times champions.
Glazer's last bid attempt fell apart after he failed to win the support of the Irish shareholders.
Cubic Expression, the investment vehicle of the Irish investors, has insisted the pair are still long-term investors, although sources close to the matter say they will agree to sell if the price is right.
http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/050308/2/9jgh.html
Expect the board to reject it, just hope those 2 irish duo don't sell their shares to him or else f*cked liao. :mad:
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.