View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
mclarenfan
14-03-2005, 10:44 AM
I begin to wonder... did we do wrong to him... bench him too often...then make him play...then bench him again...Look at Ruud after 3 months injury break ..he cannot hit form straight away... somemore Forlan say Keane dont like him... It can affect him u know...
When u play in a team and the team not happy with u... u will be surprised how much your performance can drop..
I wonder...
MatrixFanatic
14-03-2005, 11:04 AM
draw and lose to bb, u still say they nt jinx to mu? ididnt look down on new, juz hope mu v them, we won 2 out of 2 against them in last 2 games, far more postive then bb, hey kid mind ur word
I agree with you that BB is a jinx. :o
Ronaldo7
14-03-2005, 11:07 AM
somehow like veron oso lolz
think epl is too fast pace for him liao . he always seem to perfrom better in CL matches than the league . his long passes were :eek: then
Ronaldo_7
14-03-2005, 01:33 PM
think epl is too fast pace for him liao . he always seem to perfrom better in CL matches than the league . his long passes were :eek: then
hahah.. yeah man... EPL simply too fast.. he gt no space to work at all.. take the ball pple come close down on u liao.. he got no chance to work his magic.. whereas in CL.. slightly slow so he can play well there.. yeah.. his long pass damn good.. i see once he use the outside foot to curl one long pass to rvn or another striker before.. zhun sia !!
Raul7
14-03-2005, 07:44 PM
hahah.. yeah man... EPL simply too fast.. he gt no space to work at all.. take the ball pple come close down on u liao.. he got no chance to work his magic.. whereas in CL.. slightly slow so he can play well there.. yeah.. his long pass damn good.. i see once he use the outside foot to curl one long pass to rvn or another striker before.. zhun sia !!
yes, not really all south amercian players can make it in EPL. mostly all in Serie A n Liga. Veron is better in Serie A...his prime was when he was still in Lazio...sibei skill
Raul7
14-03-2005, 07:45 PM
sibei zhun right.....hahahaha :s13:
Ronaldo7
14-03-2005, 08:32 PM
good that he is enjoying his football again with inter :)
forlan is now scoring goals for fun in the laliga . eto better watch out :s13:
mclarenfan
14-03-2005, 08:55 PM
I will be watching Forlan ...in next match... quite interesting..or curious? , dont know which one... Whatever it is... Forlan definitely has earned respect from everyone now...
Ronaldo7
14-03-2005, 09:42 PM
exciting match ahead :s7:
amore_cuore_sole
14-03-2005, 10:06 PM
manure 0 , milan 1
milan 1, manure 0
british teams sucks !!!!!
AhHuat
14-03-2005, 10:15 PM
manure 0 , milan 1
milan 1, manure 0
u got a farking problem here?
fark back to ur edmw or ur italian teams
manure 0 , milan 1
milan 1, manure 0
another stupid idiot only come here to dish out mindless insults, get lost, you sick twat!!!!!!!!!!
amore_cuore_sole
14-03-2005, 10:19 PM
another stupid idiot only come here to dish out mindless insults, get lost, you sick twat!!!!!!!!!!
sorry man, but the italians are the best in footie ;)
manure 0 , milan 1
milan 1, manure 0
HAHAHAHA
SORRY BOYS...BUT THE ITALIANS ARE JUST BETTER !!!
MatrixFanatic
14-03-2005, 10:21 PM
manure 0 , milan 1
milan 1, manure 0
Don't talk so much yet. Later kena owned by Mourinho.http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/rolleyes.gif
amore_cuore_sole
14-03-2005, 10:22 PM
Don't talk so much yet. Later kena owned by Mourinho.http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/rolleyes.gif
just bring it !!!
the italians are not afraid of that portegess old sheet !!!!
the italians fear no one !!!!
bring on chelsea !!!!
MatrixFanatic
14-03-2005, 10:24 PM
just bring it !!!
bring on chelsea !!!!
Ok troll. :o
just bring it !!!
bring on chelsea !!!!
Go somewhere else to boast all you want, don't come to our thread.
amore_cuore_sole
14-03-2005, 10:36 PM
Go somewhere else to boast all you want, don't come to our thread.
sure manure is a crapy team anyway
dont worry..
this is my last post in ur crappy manure forum
sure manure is a crapy team anyway
dont worry..
this is my last post in ur crappy manure forum
Hmm a crappy team that won the treble in one season that milan can only dream of. =:p
Ch3tah_39
14-03-2005, 10:54 PM
Hmm a crappy team that won the treble in one season that milan can only dream of. =:p
:s13: :s13:
Raul7
14-03-2005, 10:56 PM
hahahaha...well said... :s13:
Ronaldo_7
14-03-2005, 11:59 PM
yes, not really all south amercian players can make it in EPL. mostly all in Serie A n Liga. Veron is better in Serie A...his prime was when he was still in Lazio...sibei skill
hahaha.. yea man.. he played his best when in Lazio.. those were the days.. with Pavel Nedved.. haha.. then both leave Lazio..
Ronaldo_7
15-03-2005, 12:05 AM
hahaha.. best man :s13:
Raul7
15-03-2005, 12:11 AM
hahaha.. yea man.. he played his best when in Lazio.. those were the days.. with Pavel Nedved.. haha.. then both leave Lazio..
ya....... :)
vivre
15-03-2005, 12:16 AM
Man Utd to face Newcastle in FA Cup Semis
BBC Sport (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/fa_cup/4345423.stm)
Raul7
15-03-2005, 12:18 AM
Man Utd to face Newcastle in FA Cup Semis
tight game liao...
vivre
15-03-2005, 12:21 AM
tight game liao...
It's ok.... our defence and midfield is better than Newcastle's. Should be able to control the game...
Kyubi
15-03-2005, 12:39 AM
oo~ against newcastle ar .. muz be prepared! :evil:
Ronaldo_7
15-03-2005, 12:42 AM
oo~ against newcastle ar .. muz be prepared! :evil:
yeah.. hope man utd beat them!!!
die die must win, its our only chance of silverware this season and also deny Shearer his last chance of a trophy would be nice too. :D
blackevil_2000
15-03-2005, 02:16 AM
manUtd !!!!!!!!!!!!
can see them going out n do the job!!!!!!!!!!!
Raul7
15-03-2005, 07:40 AM
die die must win, its our only chance of silverware this season and also deny Shearer his last chance of a trophy would be nice too. :D
hahaha...yeah man...deny him :evil:
MatrixFanatic
15-03-2005, 07:57 AM
It will be sweet. :s13:
nakitas
15-03-2005, 10:29 AM
U guys bear to see tat old man retire in regrets for choosing Newcastle??? So bad ah... Hahaha... :D
Ch3tah_39
15-03-2005, 11:02 AM
U guys bear to see tat old man retire in regrets for choosing Newcastle??? So bad ah... Hahaha... :D
:s13: :s13: :s13:
Ronaldo_7
15-03-2005, 12:05 PM
ahaha... i abit admire him bah.. if he retire w/o trophy will be a little sad.. but for man utd.. no choice :)
kahmun7
15-03-2005, 12:08 PM
er.. he got trophy lar..
he won the league with Blackburn in 95 remember???
TOKARA
15-03-2005, 12:11 PM
er.. he got trophy lar..
the year when the media hyped so much about the SAS combination, dammit never materialise to international level. Sigh.
Raul7
15-03-2005, 01:18 PM
er.. he got trophy lar..
yup when BB won the EPL....
nakitas
15-03-2005, 02:48 PM
Okie, he got his consolation back wif BB... Tat should b enuff for him... :D He can retire in glory holding onto tat EPL medal!!!
Raul7
15-03-2005, 06:46 PM
Okie, he got his consolation back wif BB... Tat should b enuff for him... :D He can retire in glory holding onto tat EPL medal!!!
hahahahaha........ :s13:
Ronaldo7
15-03-2005, 08:18 PM
don't underestimate newcastle :s7:
usjag_18
15-03-2005, 09:35 PM
Ya, no one shld underestimate them.
I don't think anyone is underestimating newcastle, we know it be a tough game, but we do need to win and also win the final against probably arsenal to avoid a trophyless season. :o
United must always fight to the finish!!!!! :evil:
nakitas
15-03-2005, 11:55 PM
Yup we'll b able to put things together n finish this season off on a high...
Ronaldo_7
16-03-2005, 12:15 AM
yeah... never under-estimate any team.. :)
SirAlex
16-03-2005, 01:36 AM
It'll be a difficult game against Newcastle. Sir Bobby had put them on a steady footing and was unlucky to go. Graeme had a few wobbles early on but has had a fantastic run in recent weeks. They are a dangerous side, no doubt. We've seen how Chelsea got buggered from the start and how Newcastle held on to the lead for the rest of the match. They'll be tough to break down. Even poor Butty hasn't been able to get a look-in with the first eleven.
We'll beat them though. The boys are up for it and know that it's the only realistic chance for a trophy this season. It'll be good to keep Mary Poppins from winning anything with Newcastle. It'll serve him right for snubbing us twice in such an unfriendly manner by first joining Blackburn, then again by joining Newcastle.. His win with Blackburn in 95 was only when we failed to win at West Ham on the last match of the season when poor Andy Cole missed a couple of sitters.
I have respect for Newcastle and my friend Graeme but Shearer can go out a heroic loser in his mind. Not when I'm still in charge.
blackevil_2000
16-03-2005, 01:37 AM
haha lame sir alex came out again
Raul7
16-03-2005, 07:42 AM
hahahahaha....LMFAO!!!! :s13:
MatrixFanatic
16-03-2005, 08:55 AM
It'll be a difficult game against Newcastle. Sir Bobby had put them on a steady footing and was unlucky to go. Graeme had a few wobbles early on but has had a fantastic run in recent weeks. They are a dangerous side, no doubt. We've seen how Chelsea got buggered from the start and how Newcastle held on to the lead for the rest of the match. They'll be tough to break down. Even poor Butty hasn't been able to get a look-in with the first eleven.
We'll beat them though. The boys are up for it and know that it's the only realistic chance for a trophy this season. It'll be good to keep Mary Poppins from winning anything with Newcastle. It'll serve him right for snubbing us twice in such an unfriendly manner by first joining Blackburn, then again by joining Newcastle.. His win with Blackburn in 95 was only when we failed to win at West Ham on the last match of the season when poor Andy Cole missed a couple of sitters.
I have respect for Newcastle and my friend Graeme but Shearer can go out a heroic loser in his mind. Not when I'm still in charge.
Exams finished? Tell us the truth quick or I will steal all your wines.
:o
nakitas
16-03-2005, 10:10 AM
I think he went hiding when we r hot on t topic of sacking him... Hahaha!!!
knn f*ck chelski. :s27:
United's financial dominance under threat
MANCHESTER United's position as the richest club in world football could come under threat when Chelsea announce their new shirt sponsorship deal.
Chelsea hope to finalise a deal before the end of the season, with their current agreement with airline Emirates running out in two months.
Talks have begun with a number of contenders who want their company name to adorn the Blues' shirts from next season, the Stamford Bridge club's centenary campaign.
Although club officials could leave the strip devoid of sponsor to mark the 100th year, the likelihood is that a long-term relationship with a major brand will be struck.
"Discussions are ongoing with several global, blue-chip companies who are market leaders in their field," said a Chelsea spokesman. "We are hopeful those discussions will come to fruition in the near future."
Despite announcing record losses recently, Chelsea surged to fourth in this year's Deloitte Football Money League, effectively the sport's rich list.
Progress beyond that of United's in this season's Champions League will close the revenue gap further following swiftly on the back of a new £12million-a-year kit deal with adidas to run for eight seasons from 2006-07.
That represented a rise of around 600% on the previous package and another similarly lucrative sponsorship agreement would increase their financial progress.
However, the club have just reported a pre-tax loss of £88million for last year - the biggest in English football history - after spending £175million on new players and doubling the wage bill to £115million last season.
With clubs' financial wealth based on income, Chelsea's finances having been underpinned by the multi-million pound fortune of owner Roman Abramovich.
United's 13-year deal with kit manufacturers Nike is worth £300million while Vodafone's latest sponsorship brings in a further £36million over four years.
The Old Trafford giants have remained at the head of the rich list for eight years in a row, with an annual income of £172million for the 2003-04 season.
But Chelsea climbed six places from 10th in just 12 months, as their income increased by an astonishing 62% to £143.7million.
The report concluded: "Having devoured two thirds of Manchester United's revenue lead in one season, Chelsea will not think that future overall leadership is beyond them."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/151/151317_uniteds_financial_dominance_under_threat.html
Neville set for return
Defender Gary Neville expects to return from injury on Saturday, but says it is unlikely that Manchester United can catch Chelsea.
United resume their Premiership title bid against Fulham at the weekend, but the long-serving defender says it would now take a "monumental collapse" for Chelsea to lose their grip on the top spot in the league.
Neville missed the disappointing Champions League exit in Milan and last weekend's FA Cup tie against Southampton with an ankle injury but trained on Tuesday and is set to play on Saturday.
And he admits Chelsea now need to suffer a catastrophic loss in form not to clinch their first title in 50 years.
"They can make a mistake but it is looking less likely as each game goes by," Neville told MUTV.
"We still harbour hopes that they could really collapse. But we need more than a blip now, it would be a monumental disaster for them not to win the championship.
"They do have a lot of games coming up and with the Champions League matches as well, you never know what could happen. All we can try and do is make sure we maintain our own form so if they do falter we can capitalise on them."
Even if United do not haul Chelsea back, they are determined not to drop out of the top two as they did towards the end of last season, making sure they avoid an unwanted Champions League qualifier in August.
Neville has every confidence that aim will be achieved at least, particularly as the only defeat suffered since the opening day reverse at Stamford Bridge was a surprise 2-0 loss at Portsmouth at the end of October.
"If we can't get near Chelsea, we should at least look to secure second spot if we can," he said.
"We are defending an unbeaten run that goes back to October and we want to maintain it."
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_354848,00.html
alkhair
16-03-2005, 11:35 AM
no one is to underestimate newcastle. moreover they are on form at the moment. they have managed to discover the rhythm. so man utd must not be careless especially at the back. they should also watch newcastle wingers. they seem to be improving in every game that they play.. and of course rooney has a big part to play in the game. following his big money move to the old trafford. and moreover, he's on song now. he should therefore play van the man more to improve the sharpness of his game.
Ronaldo7
16-03-2005, 03:32 PM
the one thing i like about man utd vs newcastle game is that it's always excitng with plenty of action ;)
blackevil_2000
16-03-2005, 03:43 PM
i am waiting to see chelsea become like leeds
usjag_18
16-03-2005, 09:59 PM
the one thing i like about man utd vs newcastle game is that it's always excitng with plenty of action ;)
Can't wait to see how N.Butt going to perform against his old club, which is Man Utd.
Raul7
16-03-2005, 10:03 PM
Can't wait to see how N.Butt going to perform against his old club, which is Man Utd.
hahahahaa......like to shoot like balloon :s13:
Not even sure if Butt will play though, hope to see Rooney score against newcastle again, the team he rejected to join man united. ;)
usjag_18
16-03-2005, 10:47 PM
Not even sure if Butt will play though, hope to see Rooney score against newcastle again, the team he rejected to join man united. ;)
:s13: Ya, hope Rooney & RVN can both scored. In fact, RVN always scored against them. Anyway, why Butt not playingt? I tot he played for them during the UEFA Cup last week?
Rgds,
O'
Ronaldo_7
17-03-2005, 12:43 AM
i am waiting to see chelsea become like leeds
hahaha.. i think alot pple want that to happen man..
Ronaldo_7
17-03-2005, 12:44 AM
:s13: Ya, hope Rooney & RVN can both scored. In fact, RVN always scored against them. Anyway, why Butt not playingt? I tot he played for them during the UEFA Cup last week?
Rgds,
O'
yeah hope rvn will score and break his duck.. then back to hot form.. it will be so good.. we miss his form badly... :(
Haha, hope its not mis-quoted like what Gattuso said last week. :s13:
Essien would love to play for United
Michael Essien has admitted to Sky Sports News that he would love to play for Manchester United.
The Lyon powerhouse has been attracting admiring glances from most of Europe's top clubs and helped the French champions storm into the quarter finals of the UEFA Champions League when thrashing Werder Bremen over two legs.
Essien, who had a trial with United as a youngster, is being forwarded as a possible long-term replacement for Red Devils skipper Roy Keane.
"I know that [the press reports regarding interest from Premiership clubs], " he told Sky Sports News.
"But, for me, I don't think about that because I have left everything for my manager [agent].
"So I don't think about it and just concentrate on my football.
"I like Manchester. I know most of their players and like them, and would like to play one day in the Premier League.
"I'll be happy to play for Manchester but, at the moment, I'm in Lyon and I have to concentrate on that.
"I like Old Trafford because it's one of the nicest stadiums in Europe and, foremost, I like the coach [Sir Alex Ferguson] very well."
Essien's United admiration (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=263134&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Essien's+United+admiration&channel=Football_Home[Essien's United admiration)
Ronaldo7
17-03-2005, 06:10 AM
but he won't be cheap :s27:
heard £15m a minium requirement price tag from lyon :s27: , knn we don't have that much money unless we sell some big-name players which I hope we don't. :o
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1439218,00.html
Raul7
17-03-2005, 07:36 AM
heard £15m a minium requirement price tag from lyon :s27: , knn we don't have that much money unless we sell some big-name players which I hope we don't. :o
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1439218,00.html
like that Utd die die need to get him to replace keano liao....dun know who they will sell? :s11:
MatrixFanatic
17-03-2005, 10:10 AM
How about loaning Essien for one season before buying him? :o
If he really likes Manutd then Manutd got chance liao. :s12:
nakitas
17-03-2005, 10:43 AM
Heard another news of ManUtd moving in for J. Jenas too... Emre may also b on t shopping list... Sounds gd so far... But still gotta wait for something to really happen...
MatrixFanatic
17-03-2005, 10:57 AM
Heard another news of ManUtd moving in for J. Jenas too... Emre may also b on t shopping list... Sounds gd so far... But still gotta wait for something to really happen...
That one from the sun... not very zhun leh. :s13:
Ruudboi
17-03-2005, 10:59 AM
aye.. emre come good.. then united's squad in FM will be very strong..:)
MatrixFanatic
17-03-2005, 12:29 PM
Guys if you haven't seen this yet, go download it!
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=13375402&posted=1#post13375402
usjag_18
17-03-2005, 03:19 PM
Haha, hope its not mis-quoted like what Gattuso said last week. :s13:
Essien would love to play for United
Michael Essien has admitted to Sky Sports News that he would love to play for Manchester United.
The Lyon powerhouse has been attracting admiring glances from most of Europe's top clubs and helped the French champions storm into the quarter finals of the UEFA Champions League when thrashing Werder Bremen over two legs.
Essien, who had a trial with United as a youngster, is being forwarded as a possible long-term replacement for Red Devils skipper Roy Keane.
"I know that [the press reports regarding interest from Premiership clubs], " he told Sky Sports News.
"But, for me, I don't think about that because I have left everything for my manager [agent].
"So I don't think about it and just concentrate on my football.
"I like Manchester. I know most of their players and like them, and would like to play one day in the Premier League.
"I'll be happy to play for Manchester but, at the moment, I'm in Lyon and I have to concentrate on that.
"I like Old Trafford because it's one of the nicest stadiums in Europe and, foremost, I like the coach [Sir Alex Ferguson] very well."
Essien's United admiration (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=263134&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Essien's+United+admiration&channel=Football_Home[Essien's United admiration)
If jsut say for fun, then keep the "joke" to themselves. Anyway, I felt that we should be able to get him cheaper. At least, we got G.Heinze cheap. Lolx... but that's becos PSG needs the $$$. Lyon might need any $$, but I hope they wion't treat us as the former Man Utd. Kept asking for BIG $$$. If wanna big $$$, ask Chelsea to buy their players lor. :s8:
keltan
17-03-2005, 03:49 PM
If jsut say for fun, then keep the "joke" to themselves. Anyway, I felt that we should be able to get him cheaper. At least, we got G.Heinze cheap. Lolx... but that's becos PSG needs the $$$. Lyon might need any $$, but I hope they wion't treat us as the former Man Utd. Kept asking for BIG $$$. If wanna big $$$, ask Chelsea to buy their players lor. :s8:
Essien is quite highly-rated... so Man Utd will definitely have to part with quite a bit of $$$ to get him...
kahmun7
17-03-2005, 05:54 PM
oh no..
I hope it won't be another player joining rival team (esp Chelski)
We have missed so many, Robben, Ronaldinho, Duff
hope we can secure Essien for next season.
usjag_18
17-03-2005, 06:16 PM
oh no..
I hope it won't be another player joining rival team (esp Chelski)
We have missed so many, Robben, Ronaldinho, Duff
hope we can secure Essien for next season.
I know. But Man Utd is a PLC. A lot of stingy businessmen inside there. Moreover, we already spent so much on W.Rooney. Hope this time, they won't be so stingy. But what if M.Essien didn't do as well as we expect him to do? Are we going to blame Man Utd again or A.Fergie again? Did we all think about it before?
Rgds,
O'
kahmun7
17-03-2005, 06:22 PM
well, it's all a gamble really.
I was cursing Kewell for choosing Liverpool over Man U, but now, I feel so glad.
I was cursing Robben for choosing Chelsea over Man U, right now I'm still cursing.
some players adapt, some players don't
But if we all think that he is not going to adapt and not go and buy him, then we won't improve the squad.
If we must, why not sell some of those who have failed to adapt... to finance for some better players.
keltan
17-03-2005, 06:24 PM
well, it's all a gamble really.
I was cursing Kewell for choosing Liverpool over Man U, but now, I feel so glad.
I was cursing Robben for choosing Chelsea over Man U, right now I'm still cursing.
some players adapt, some players don't
But if we all think that he is not going to adapt and not go and buy him, then we won't improve the squad.
If we must, why not sell some of those who have failed to adapt... to finance for some better players.
i think got some witch doctor put some curse on liverpool...
so whatever player decides to join liverpool instead of another team... u can relax...
cos he will either be injured/sudden loss of form/wadever...
P.S: Above post to be taken with a pinch of salt
haha
Raul7
17-03-2005, 06:51 PM
I know. But Man Utd is a PLC. A lot of stingy businessmen inside there. Moreover, we already spent so much on W.Rooney. Hope this time, they won't be so stingy. But what if M.Essien didn't do as well as we expect him to do? Are we going to blame Man Utd again or A.Fergie again? Did we all think about it before?
Rgds,
O'
hope they can sign M.Essien
mclarenfan
17-03-2005, 07:03 PM
The team that kicked us out of Champions League...AC Milan(aka 'the invincible')...lost to udinese 4-1...and is kicked out of Italian cup...
Raul7
17-03-2005, 07:07 PM
The team that kicked us out of Champions League...AC Milan(aka 'the invincible')...lost to udinese 4-1...and is kicked out of Italian cup...
hahaha..no more treble for them.hahahaaha :s13:
AhHuat
17-03-2005, 08:08 PM
Rgds,
O'
did the world ever qns robben and ronaldinho ability to play at the highest level?
i doubt there will still some pple who will qns it....
this sort of thing really must gamble.....like kleberson....veron.....forlan.....etc
when we bought them.....they could'nt perform after a long time....wat shuld we do?
sell them of coz...can recruit new players...
michael essien does have the potential.....so why not gamble again?
its buy and sell....buy and sell.....
until u got the right mixture of players to challenge for honours....
Raul7
17-03-2005, 08:12 PM
did the world ever qns robben and ronaldinho ability to play at the highest level?
i doubt there will still some pple who will qns it....
this sort of thing really must gamble.....like kleberson....veron.....forlan.....etc
when we bought them.....they could'nt perform after a long time....wat shuld we do?
sell them of coz...can recruit new players...
michael essien does have the potential.....so why not gamble again?
its buy and sell....buy and sell.....
until u got the right mixture of players to challenge for honours....
i think Essien can make it in EPL as he is quite big size.can gamble on him
d4r3d3vil
17-03-2005, 08:40 PM
but manu got the money to buy him anot arhz. seems that need to unload one big name to get the money to get him.
MatrixFanatic
17-03-2005, 08:49 PM
hahaha..no more treble for them.hahahaaha :s13:
2nd string leh. No big deal in losing what. :s22:
AhHuat
17-03-2005, 08:54 PM
but manu got the money to buy him anot arhz. seems that need to unload one big name to get the money to get him.
yea need to sell some....
i think kleberson....miller.....saha....can pack up already
sell them...get essien and downing....
swee lah
mclarenfan
17-03-2005, 09:20 PM
Well Essien maybe a good player...but i doubt what he says is true...
Why? see below...
Essien says: " I like Man Utd"
I say: "ok fine"
Essien says: " I like to play at Man Utd cos its big this big that ..blah blah yoda boga"
Essien says: "I like Alex Ferguson VERY MUCH!!"
I say: "Too much butter and jam" :D
whatever he said above is taken from a report... He reminds me of Ronaldinho..who said something like this and in the end chose another club...
d4r3d3vil
17-03-2005, 09:22 PM
yea need to sell some....
i think kleberson....miller.....saha....can pack up already
sell them...get essien and downing....
swee lah
saha okay what. but he is often injured.
Raul7
17-03-2005, 09:23 PM
Well Essien maybe a good player...but i doubt what he says is true...
Why? see below...
Essien says: " I like Man Utd"
Essien says: " I like to play at Man Utd cos its big this big that ..blah blah yoda boga"
Essien says: "I like Alex Ferguson VERY MUCH!!"
I say: "Too much butter and jam" :D
whatever he said above is taken from a report... He reminds me of Ronaldinho..who said something like this and in the end chose another club...
he wanna carry Sir Alex's balls issit....hahahaha
AhHuat
17-03-2005, 09:32 PM
:s13: they carry his balls abit.....after which....they let SAF balls do bungy jump.....and join other clubs :s13:
nakitas
17-03-2005, 09:47 PM
he wanna carry Sir Alex's balls issit....hahahaha
He havent been thru t 'hairdryer' yet... Tats y... :D
Ronaldo7
17-03-2005, 09:54 PM
buying a player is always a gamble loh . the player can go on and become a legend like cantona or a 28m flop like veron . 15m for essien is a bit expensive and i hope he is not a one season wonder :s22:
d4r3d3vil
17-03-2005, 09:56 PM
is gerrard still in the picture? :s11:
kahmun7
17-03-2005, 11:05 PM
saha okay what. but he is often injured.
Saha is not okay..
he's an early of the season performer...
score lots beginning of the season.. comes second half of season, he disappears..
Saha is not okay..
he's an early of the season performer...
score lots beginning of the season.. comes second half of season, he disappears..
Saha has scored only twice this season. :o
Raul7
17-03-2005, 11:08 PM
He havent been thru t 'hairdryer' yet... Tats y... :D
hahahaha...another thing to add, Sir Alex likes to kick boots also..... :s13:
is gerrard still in the picture? :s11:
No he'll be even more expensive than Essien and Pool will never sell him to us. :s8:
Raul7
17-03-2005, 11:11 PM
:s13: they carry his balls abit.....after which....they let SAF balls do bungy jump.....and join other clubs :s13:
hahahahaa...... :s13:
TOKARA
18-03-2005, 04:48 AM
who the fark will come to MU given a choice of Barca? How much u think Ronaldinho is worth now if he is in EPL, 100million pounds? 80? Liga or the SeriaA are prolly the only leagues to up one's value faster than any league arguably in the world.
Raul7
18-03-2005, 07:49 AM
who the fark will come to MU given a choice of Barca? How much u think Ronaldinho is worth now if he is in EPL, 100million pounds? 80? Liga or the SeriaA are prolly the only leagues to up one's value faster than any league arguably in the world.
think Ronaldinho is the most value player by now.....sibei good....
TOKARA
18-03-2005, 08:35 AM
the 100million pound clause is bo hao siao kekeke.
nakitas
18-03-2005, 09:55 AM
Wat is lost, is lost... We can only admire Ronaldinho frm far...
But hopefully ManUtd learn their lesson n dnt slip on any more deals can liao...
kahmun7
18-03-2005, 10:19 AM
I think it's more a case of...Ronaldinho being south american speaky espanyol....
Barcelona in spain speky espanyol... = easier to adapt
Manchester speaky Engrish... = why so many south americans come Engrand and can't adapt.
padixiong
18-03-2005, 11:14 AM
Wat is lost, is lost... We can only admire Ronaldinho frm far...
But hopefully ManUtd learn their lesson n dnt slip on any more deals can liao...
the world richest club slipping up on transfer deals is a joke man ...
too bad we are a LISTED company ...
chengsun
18-03-2005, 11:42 AM
the world richest club slipping up on transfer deals is a joke man ...
too bad we are a LISTED company ...
world richest not necessay to be the most spending one loh.... must know how to spend n eanr then u can be rich mah, right?
blackevil_2000
18-03-2005, 12:01 PM
manUtd is rich cuz they spend little
mclarenfan
18-03-2005, 12:48 PM
Assessment :s27:
1st Team: (Best 11)
our strikers department is excellent...
our midfield department is excellent...
our defence department is very good...
our GK department is good....
reserves: (not the reserve team but those who are in 1st team but are benched)
strikers department is very good...
midfield department is lacking...
defence department is good...
GK department is good...
If the above assessment is a fair one...i think it should tell us who we need to transfer IN / OUT...
Ronaldo_7
18-03-2005, 02:20 PM
think Ronaldinho is the most value player by now.....sibei good....
yeah.. confirm.. if nt i think will be shevchenko bah.. imo
leslielai_
18-03-2005, 03:23 PM
Assessment :s27:
1st Team:
our strikers department is excellent...
our midfield department is excellent...
our defence department is very good...
our GK department is good....
reserves:
strikers department is very good...
midfield department is lacking...
defence department is good...
GK department is good...
If the above assessment is a fair one...i think it should tell us who we need to transfer IN / OUT...
Ryan Giggs
Paul Scholes
Roy Keane
C. Ronaldo
Q.Fortune
J. Kleberson
D.Fletcher
L. Miller
Looking at our midfield, I can't help but worry. With the exception of the top four, I do not think the others are even good enough to don a Man Utd jersey, much less having to depend on them to step onto the big stage to replace any of the top four should they be out through suspension or injury.
Keano is no longer the player he used to be, covering almost every inch of the pitch for every game and he is due for retirement real soon. Liam Miller.. the next Roy Keane? Lets talk only when he puts on some weight and start playing like a man. We also need someone capable of replacing the great Giggsy. Both Paul Scholes and Ronaldo should last us quite awhile so no worries for that.
How did you derive at an excellent rating for the midfield department then may I ask?
Defence wise there're only two players worth a mention - Rio and Heinze. Gary Neville and Wes Brown are a constant worry. Excellent? FAR from.
I still think both our goalkeepers are good enough though.
mclarenfan
18-03-2005, 03:37 PM
Ryan Giggs
Paul Scholes
Roy Keane
C. Ronaldo
Q.Fortune
J. Kleberson
D.Fletcher
L. Miller
Looking at our midfield, I can't help but worry. With the exception of the top four, I do not think the others are even good enough to don a Man Utd jersey, much less having to depend on them to step onto the big stage to replace any of the top four should they be out through suspension or injury.
Keano is no longer the player he used to be, covering almost every inch of the pitch for every game and he is due for retirement real soon. Liam Miller.. the next Roy Keane? Lets talk only when he puts on some weight and start playing like a man. We also need someone capable of replacing the great Giggsy. Both Paul Scholes and Ronaldo should last us quite awhile so no worries for that.
How did you derive at an excellent rating for the midfield department then may I ask?
Defence wise there're only two players worth a mention - Rio and Heinze. Gary Neville and Wes Brown are a constant worry. Excellent? FAR from.
I still think both our goalkeepers are good enough though.
I think i was not clear in my previous post...so i edited it... :s27: assess it again...
chengsun
18-03-2005, 05:16 PM
seems like everyone is aying that they interested in a move to Man U, kameni, frey, essein, ect, now romours that man u wants emre oso.
so issit players n agents like to use Man U as a tool to "Fry" the transfer fee higher?
jumpmanz
18-03-2005, 05:23 PM
need to solve goal keeper problem 1st.
MatrixFanatic
18-03-2005, 05:52 PM
Howard is good enough for Manutd.
hush66
18-03-2005, 07:08 PM
I think it's more a case of...Ronaldinho being south american speaky espanyol....
Barcelona in spain speky espanyol... = easier to adapt
Manchester speaky Engrish... = why so many south americans come Engrand and can't adapt.
Eh ... Brazilians speak Portugese, not Spanish.
jujube
18-03-2005, 07:13 PM
Silvestre is the weakest link in the first team DEF
i think gary neville is underrated as a right back even tho i dun like him
Raul7
18-03-2005, 07:18 PM
yeah.. confirm.. if nt i think will be shevchenko bah.. imo
ya shevchenko also best! :)
Raul7
18-03-2005, 07:19 PM
Silvestre is the weakest link in the first team DEF
i think gary neville is underrated as a right back even tho i dun like him
silverstre sometime good sometimes very bad....haiz
kahmun7
18-03-2005, 07:30 PM
Eh ... Brazilians speak Portugese, not Spanish.
sorry for me mistake...
but I still find most south americans found it easier to adapt to life in Spain.. even Italy.. just not England..
blackevil_2000
18-03-2005, 09:31 PM
sell wes or silverstre then get top class CD than manUtd win win win n win
Ronaldo_7
18-03-2005, 09:50 PM
silverstre sometime good sometimes very bad....haiz
he nw nt consistent liao haiz.. last time quite solid bah
Yellowfin
18-03-2005, 09:54 PM
sorry for me mistake...
but I still find most south americans found it easier to adapt to life in Spain.. even Italy.. just not England..
It might be the lousy English weather also compare to weather in Spain.
AhHuat
18-03-2005, 10:00 PM
we need three players .....1 defender and two midfielders
vincent kompany (realistic and talented)
michael essien
stewart downing
:s7:
Fergie reveals Gary Neville return
United have been boosted by the news that Gary Neville is fit to face Fulham at Old Trafford on Saturday.
Ryan Giggs, however, remains an absentee as he recovers from the broken nose he sustained in Milan.
Sir Alex Ferguson, speaking at his weekly press conference, also revealed that Brazilian midfielder Kleberson is back in training.
"The only players missing on Saturday are Darren Fletcher, Louis Saha and Ryan Giggs," confirmed the Boss.
"Giggs is fit enough to play but we're going to leave him another week. His nose was reset on Monday but it's still a little bit tender and is not worth risking.
"It's good to see Kleberson back and he's picked the right time now the sun's out!"
Before turning his thoughts to the clash with Fulham, Sir Alex gave his reaction to the ongoing saga surrounding the FA's decision to play both FA Cup semi-finals at the Millennium Stadium.
"Cardiff's obviously the venue for the final so in a way you get the experience of being down," explained the Boss, "and the more times you go there, the more acquainted you become with the place.
"Wembley was a bit like that for us because we played FA Cup finals there, as well as Community Shields and even a FA Cup semi-final game too.
"Quite rightly fans will think it's unfair because of the travelling involved, but now the decision's been taken you just have to get on with it.
"There's a lot of big clubs in this country who would dearly love to win the FA Cup and there's no reason why we shouldn't think that way too," added Sir Alex.
"Every season we hope to win a piece of silverware and the FA Cup is a major tournament for us. It's one of the three tournaments which are our priority along with the Premiership and the European Cup."
Before that Cup semi with Newcastle next month, United will continue in their quest to catch Chelsea at the top of the Premiership.
On reflection, the Boss admits that United's opening day defeat at Stamford Bridge has proved far more decisive than he ever expected it would be.
"Despite losing the match 1-0, I think we all thought we'd be able to make it up," said Fergie. "But we've not been able to do that and the way I maybe look upon that game now is it may have been a league decider.
"We went into that first game of the season with half the team out. We didn't get Heinze and Ronaldo until the end of September, while Ruud and Scholes both had operations and Darren Fletcher was suspended.
"Chelsea just keep getting these 1-0 wins which is good enough for them at the moment. All we can do is hope for a miracle, but the only way we can capitalise on anything that might happen is by making sure we keep winning our matches.
"The form of the team is good and I think we're looking strong. With players like Ruud and Alan Smith back, I've got all the ammunition I need to go on a really good charge towards the finishing tape."
Report by Steve Bartram, and Gemma Thompson at Carrington.
Provisional squad: Carroll, Howard, G Neville, P Neville, Ferdinand, Brown, Silvestre, Heinze, O’Shea, Spector, Kleberson, Fortune, Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Miller, van Nistelrooy, Smith, Rooney, Bellion, Rossi.
http://www.manutd.com/news/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=160305&itype=466&icategoryid=122
Keane backed in senior role
SIR Alex Ferguson is banking on Roy Keane to guide Manchester United's new generation to glory over the next few years.
Keane's future has been the subject of intense debate over the past month, with fluctuating estimates of his retirement date, including some that claim he will call it quits at the end of the season.
Ferguson has already told the 33-year-old Irishman he will be the man who decides when it is time to stand down and having committed his own long-term future to the Red Devils, insists he would not be surprised if Keane remained part of the plans too.
"Over the last couple of years we have been trying to reshape the team and the club," said Ferguson.
"We have made giant strides in that aspect of our development and the great thing is that you don't see any end to it.
"There are some very exciting young players at this club, you can see their progress and you know there is a bright future for this team.
"You could say there are concerns about Roy Keane but when you see Cafu and Paolo Maldini tramping up and down the touchline for Milan, there is no reason why he cannot carry on.
"He is only 33, looks after himself very well and he could surprise a few people."
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/151/151751_keane_backed_in_senior_role.html
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 01:20 AM
My goodness, guys, tat United_Treble is really a terror. Kept going to others' forums to disturb others. Cannot tahan him man.
United_Tremble
19-03-2005, 01:50 AM
mu 1-2 fulhams or 1-1
you sickening brat, get lost!!!
blackevil_2000
19-03-2005, 01:03 PM
michael essien
stewart downing
downing is good so is essien
Ronaldo_7
19-03-2005, 01:06 PM
you sickening brat, get lost!!!
hahaha.. juz ignore him thats it.. no need to get so fed up.. :)
blackevil_2000
19-03-2005, 01:11 PM
mu 1-2 fulhams or 1-1
sick asshole shld ban him :s12: :s12: :s12:
Ruudboi
19-03-2005, 01:15 PM
imo it will be 3-1 to united tonite..also hoping that RvN will be getting a goal.. he was damn suay against soton the other nite..
MatrixFanatic
19-03-2005, 01:15 PM
imo it will be 3-1 to united tonite..also hoping that RvN will be getting a goal.. he was damn suay against soton the other nite..
But can see he was sharper, he also assisted Schole's goal. I think tonight will be the night for him.
Raul7
19-03-2005, 01:59 PM
New doubts for Man Utd target Casillas at Real Madrid
Fresh doubt over the future of Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas has emerged after it was revealed the club has only spoken with him twice about a new contract.
DiarioSport says Casillas is seriously considering his future at Real following this week's revelation that president Florentino Perez has made an inquiry after Juventus No1 Gigi Buffon.
Casillas' current deal expires in 2006 and his agent, Gines Carvajal, has only been invited twice over the last 12 months to the club to discuss a new contract.
Its understood Perez is also refusing to put Casillas on a par with the club's highest wage earners. Indeed, despite his status, Casillas' new offer will be little over half what the likes of Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane are currently earning.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is monitoring the situation very closely. He already has a detailed dossier on Casillas from his assistant and ex-Real Madrid trainer Carlos Queiroz.
Reports in January suggested United were ready to more than double Casillas' current wages to bring him to Old Trafford in the summer.
Ronaldo_7
19-03-2005, 02:07 PM
But can see he was sharper, he also assisted Schole's goal. I think tonight will be the night for him.
yeah.. getting sharper.. we need to be patient with him though we also very anxious.. hope he score tonight! :D
Raul7
19-03-2005, 02:09 PM
yeah.. getting sharper.. we need to be patient with him though we also very anxious.. hope he score tonight! :D
hope he can score tonite..... =:p
kahmun7
19-03-2005, 02:09 PM
michael essien
stewart downing
sigh.. .haven't seen Kompany performed before.. but heard he's highly rated.
but seems like Chelsea is going to pick him up.... :(
Raul7
19-03-2005, 02:11 PM
sigh.. .haven't seen Kompany performed before.. but heard he's highly rated.
but seems like Chelsea is going to pick him up.... :(
ya loh...... :s27:
blackevil_2000
19-03-2005, 02:26 PM
Fresh doubt over the future of Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas has emerged after it was revealed the club has only spoken with him twice about a new contract.
DiarioSport says Casillas is seriously considering his future at Real following this week's revelation that president Florentino Perez has made an inquiry after Juventus No1 Gigi Buffon.
Casillas' current deal expires in 2006 and his agent, Gines Carvajal, has only been invited twice over the last 12 months to the club to discuss a new contract.
Its understood Perez is also refusing to put Casillas on a par with the club's highest wage earners. Indeed, despite his status, Casillas' new offer will be little over half what the likes of Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane are currently earning.
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is monitoring the situation very closely. He already has a detailed dossier on Casillas from his assistant and ex-Real Madrid trainer Carlos Queiroz.
Reports in January suggested United were ready to more than double Casillas' current wages to bring him to Old Trafford in the summer.
wow wow if manUtd get him n a better CD then even chelsea can't score goal liao :s12: :s12: :s12:
Raul7
19-03-2005, 02:34 PM
wow wow if manUtd get him n a better CD then even chelsea can't score goal liao :s12: :s12: :s12:
yeah man......
Sir Alex Ferguson is threatening to pull his Man Utd players out of England's end-of-season US tour. (The Sun)
Ryan Giggs will sign a new three-year contract in the summer to keep him at Man Utd until the end of his career. (The Sun)
Rio Ferdinand says he will stay at Man Utd for the rest of his career. (Daily Star)
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 02:49 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is threatening to pull his Man Utd players out of England's end-of-season US tour. (The Sun)
Ryan Giggs will sign a new three-year contract in the summer to keep him at Man Utd until the end of his career. (The Sun)
Rio Ferdinand says he will stay at Man Utd for the rest of his career. (Daily Star)
Is it confirm that R.Giggs sign 3-yrs contract? :s11:
I hope it's not just another bullshi**ing report.
Raul7
19-03-2005, 02:50 PM
i hope so man....
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 02:53 PM
I dun think G.Buffon will go to Real Madrid. In the first place, R.Madrid is really having too much star players. Life won't b ez over there. As for Casillas, I think he won't come to Man Utd cheaply. Unless Real Madrid can get someone to replace him.
Its not confirmed yet though. :o
Saw it from this sun article. :s22:
http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005123142,00.html
Raul7
19-03-2005, 02:55 PM
I dun think G.Buffon will go to Real Madrid. In the first place, R.Madrid is really having too much star players. Life won't b ez over there. As for Casillas, I think he won't come to Man Utd cheaply. Unless Real Madrid can get someone to replace him.
buffon should stick to juve or join man uuuu.... he go madrid is a wrong step liao... :)
Ronaldo7
19-03-2005, 03:26 PM
if buffon wants to leave we also can't afford him lah . stick with howard and maybe can promote luke steele from the reserves or what since carroll is unlikely to extend his deal and ricardo is most likely to leave :s22:
Raul7
19-03-2005, 03:28 PM
if buffon wants to leave we also can't afford him lah . stick with howard and maybe can promote luke steele from the reserves or what since carroll is unlikely to extend his deal and ricardo is most likely to leave :s22:
thought ricardo was on loan ?
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 03:30 PM
Agree... He's THE MOST EXPENSIVE GK in the world leh, he won't lower himself to come to EPL too.
Ronaldo7
19-03-2005, 03:31 PM
thought ricardo was on loan ?
nope . we signed him and he was out on loan last season :s22:
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 03:39 PM
nope . we signed him and he was out on loan last season :s22:
Hahaha.... :s13: Ronaldo7, what Raul7 meant is he thinks that Ricardo is out for loan.
Raul7
19-03-2005, 05:03 PM
Hahaha.... :s13: Ronaldo7, what Raul7 meant is he thinks that Ricardo is out for loan.
ya...hahahahaa.... :o
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 09:22 PM
ya...hahahahaa.... :o
=:p
Raul7, U mislead people sia. hehehe... didn't say properly....
Anyway, what do u guys think of tonite's match? I hope Man Utd can at least scored 2-3goals since Fulham didn't do well for the past 2-3games, not very stable. Hope that Man Utd can do well this time.
Rgds,
O'
Raul7
19-03-2005, 10:43 PM
=:p
Raul7, U mislead people sia. hehehe... didn't say properly....
Anyway, what do u guys think of tonite's match? I hope Man Utd can at least scored 2-3goals since Fulham didn't do well for the past 2-3games, not very stable. Hope that Man Utd can do well this time.
Rgds,
O'
hahahaa... :o forgot to type he was loan out... :o tonite Utd will cruise through i think... say 2-1 or 3-0?
usjag_18
19-03-2005, 10:46 PM
Fergie crash course with FA over tour
http://www.soccernet.com/images/ph.1/Ferguson_180.jpg
Sir Alex Ferguson: Wants his players fresh for United's tour of Hong Kong no doubt. (MikeEgerton/GettyImages)
Sir Alex Ferguson has been warned not to carry through his threat not to release any of his Manchester United squad for England's post-season US tour.
The Red Devils chief appears to be lining up yet another confrontation with Soho Square after stating his displeasure at the two-match trip across the Atlantic, which will see Sven-Goran Eriksson's men tackle the United States and Colombia on May 28 and 31 respectively.
Providing they were all fit, four United stars - Rio Ferdinand, Wayne Rooney, Gary Neville and Alan Smith - would be certainties for the trip, with another two - Phil Neville and Wes Brown - also likely to be included.
Eriksson already knows he will be without his captain and vice-captain as the extended Spanish season ensures David Beckham and Michael Owen will be required for domestic duties.
The presence of either Chelsea or Liverpool in the Champions League Final on May 25 would also prevent any of their players from making the squad, which heads across the Atlantic a day earlier.
Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has already questioned the wisdom of the trip, with Ferguson adding fuel to the argument with some typically forthright comments.
'It is not a FIFA tournament so we're not obliged to send our players,' said Ferguson.
'We will have to assess who needs to rest and see who actually wants to go because players don't always want to.
'Players with clubs at the top of the league will have had a much harder season than others,' quotes The Sun.
However, a furious FA are likely to crack down hard on United if none of their players are made available.
They believe Eriksson has already bent over backwards to accommodate English clubs by refusing to arrange World Cup qualifiers on the official FIFA fixture date in June.
It has been pointed out that even with the tour commitments, English players will now start their summer break a fortnight before most of their European counterparts.
It now seems certain that if Ferguson does refuse to release players without putting them forward for a formal examination by the FA's medical staff, they will use their own regulations to impose sanctions on the Old Trafford outfit.
FA regulation D1 states: A player selected for an international or other representative team, or tour, or squad, or other call-up arranged by the association shall attend at the time and place notified to the player and comply with the arrangements of the association in every respect save where there is good and sufficient cause not to do so.
D2 says: A club should do all things necessary to ensure that a player referred to in rule D1 complies with the requirements of the association.
D3 adds: Illness or injury shall constitute good and sufficient cause for the purposes of rule D1, where the association is satisfied, following receipt of medical evidence, that such illness or injury is of sufficient seriousness. The player should in any event submit to assessment by a medical advisor appointed by the association.
Failure to comply with these regulations can result in both the club and individual players being fined or reprimanded, although whether this will be enough to dissuade Ferguson from igniting another club versus country feud remains to be seen.
The United boss has never previously taken much consideration of the FA's feelings, most notably two years ago when he claimed Paul Scholes was not even fit enough to be selected for England's squad to face Portugal, then promptly selected him for a Premiership encounter with Middlesbrough.
There are few subjects upon which Ferguson and Wenger agree, but one is the major reason why England have embarked on such a tour, just weeks after Eriksson had his wish granted for a four-week break between the end of next season and the start of the World Cup.
'On one hand you want the England national team to have a four-week break before the World Cup but then you don't want to give them a holiday after a long and exhausting season,' Wenger told the Evening Standard.
'I cannot understand the logic of going to the United States. Half the team will pull out anyway and the other half will be going after having played 55 games.
'I am not at all happy to lose Ashley [Cole] and Sol [Campbell]. But I didn't organise the tour.
'The most important thing is to give the players a breather. But I think money might come into it.'
Eriksson, however, has defended the decision, saying: 'We wanted to play now rather than use empty World Cup qualifying dates in June, to ensure the players have the chance to rest properly over the summer.
'It is a very good opportunity for me to be with the players for a week and to take a close look at some of the newer members of the squad.'
SOURCE (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=328128&cc=4716)
***************************************************************************************
Threatening us again. I hope English FA understand that they are NOT the ones who are PAYING THE PLAYERS!!! MANCHESTER UNITED is the one paying them $$$ and spending time training them! Really testing Sir A.Fergie's patient. In fact, both A.Wenger & Sir A.Ferguson are right. No way they should let their players to travel during that period of time! It's a time for them to concentrate on important things and resting! Why can't England FA just send the under-21s or under-18s to play which they can also do some practice and earn some experience? Why do U guys think about? Should Man Utd players go?
Rgds,
O'
1-0 HT
Ronaldo with a screamer of a goal :s12: , should have score more though. :o
Raul7
20-03-2005, 12:58 AM
wow~~~~ smith nearly become the 2nd beckham to score that goal......well save from van der sar also..
Fulham had couple of chances to equaliser, Jesus christ, thankfully we hang on for the win. :D
Well its finished 1-0. I watched the second half and nothing special. Fulham could have come back into it but Howard played really well. United could have had about 5 goals but just the one today. Smith nearly lobbed VDS!! :s13:
Raul7
20-03-2005, 01:09 AM
Fulham had couple of chances to equaliser, Jesus christ, thankfully we hang on for the win. :D
Well its finished 1-0. I watched the second half and nothing special. Fulham could have come back into it but Howard played really well. United could have had about 5 goals but just the one today. Smith nearly lobbed VDS!! :s13:
ya man, towards the ending...nb!!! heart jumping....
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 01:20 AM
1-0 HT
Ronaldo with a screamer of a goal :s12: , should have score more though. :o
erm.. anyone with clips for that goal?? :)
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 01:21 AM
yeah man.. we managed to grab three points this time.. no last min equaliser frm papa dioup.. phew.. but chelsea also win.. haiz..
Skyline34_
20-03-2005, 01:30 AM
Howard saves the day!!
FERGIE: LUCK PLAYED A PART
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/images/playerpics04_05/football/england/manutd/rio_ronaldo.jpg
Sir Alex Ferguson felt Manchester United were lucky to beat Fulham despite dominating the game for large periods.
The Red Devils took a 21st minute lead through Cristiano Ronaldo, forced 18 corners in all and spurned a number of chances, to leave themselves hanging on at the death against a resolute Fulham side.
Tim Howard made a couple of vital saves and Ferguson was relieved to pick up the three points, even though he feels the title race is as good as over.
"I think that we were lucky in the last 15 minutes," he told Sky Sports News. "We have to thank Tim for a double save then a scramble near the end.
"It would have been ridiculous because we should have won comfortably by a few goals. Our finishing was really disappointing but a win's a win and sometimes you get these things.
"It was there for everyone to see. We lost the momentum of the first hour and a quarter and our control, they put on [Tomasz] Radzinski and had a go in the last 15 minutes, and looked a far more dangerous team.
"I think goalkeepers are like any other player; they are judged on their performance. If they play well, like Tim did today, they get credit. If they perform badly, they will be subjected to outcry. Footballers are footballers, they don't get any special treatment.
"Ronaldo was the one player who kept his level of performance up the whole game. We had to thank him for our victory today.
"Most of these games at home, you've got most of the possession and most teams come and sit deeper. It means the full backs [Gabriel Heinze and Wes Brown] can stand on the halfway line and do nothing or get involved in the game. Our belief is for the full backs to get involved in the game.
"It doesn't look like that [Chelsea slipping up]. In fairness, it's a very good result for them today, they've scored four goals and it can only give them confidence.
"I hope they do well in the Champions League, and Liverpool. It's important for our country to do well but the league is looking beyond us.
"We have to keep going, we want to finish second to ensure qualification for the Champions League without having to go in the preliminaries again.
"It became a difficult game when it shouldn't have today but we got the three points."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=263990&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=FERGIE:+LUCK+PLAYED+A+PART&channel=Premiership
erm.. anyone with clips for that goal?? :)
;)
http://www.hungariansoccer.com/Ronaldo_Vs_Fulham_By_Bentex.mpg
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 01:52 AM
Howard saves the day!!
yeah.. credits go to him for saving and ronaldo for scoring :)
Ch3tah_39
20-03-2005, 01:55 AM
Howard saves the day!!
woot :D :D
Raul7
20-03-2005, 01:58 AM
yeah.. credits go to him for saving and ronaldo for scoring :)
yeah man....... :)
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 02:00 AM
;)
http://www.hungariansoccer.com/Ronaldo_Vs_Fulham_By_Bentex.mpg
thanks alot bro for the link!! nice goal from ronaldo :D
Kyubi
20-03-2005, 02:24 AM
argh i forgot to watch todays match wat the!
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 02:26 AM
haha.. see got repeat anot lor.. relax relax.. after all man utd won :)
Raul7
20-03-2005, 02:34 AM
haha.. see got repeat anot lor.. relax relax.. after all man utd won :)
should have the repeat game
TOKARA
20-03-2005, 02:36 AM
did u guys see how Roy Kean squares the ball to Ronaldo? ** his crappy pass almost stop Ronaldo's transition..**
United_Treble
20-03-2005, 10:56 AM
played for 90 mins scored only one, somemore our defence r damn crappy, really lucky to prevent equaliser
Ronaldo7
20-03-2005, 10:58 AM
but the most important thing is that we got the 3 points at the end of the day ;)
United_Treble
20-03-2005, 10:58 AM
but the most important thing is that we got the 3 points at the end of the day ;)
ya.......................
nakitas
20-03-2005, 11:14 AM
Tis 3 points sure aint easy to get... T last minutes of the game is terrible... Wah, i was like out of my seat... The way ManUtd suddenly turn off, damn scary lor... :s13:
Raul7
20-03-2005, 11:54 AM
Tis 3 points sure aint easy to get... T last minutes of the game is terrible... Wah, i was like out of my seat... The way ManUtd suddenly turn off, damn scary lor... :s13:
ya loh......
MatrixFanatic
20-03-2005, 12:08 PM
Yeah man. Howard rocks. :D
usjag_18
20-03-2005, 01:04 PM
downing is good so is essien
Downing can replace R.Giggs if we can't find someone else to replace him. Btw, is Joaquin playing left-wing? Becos sometimes, I saw him plahying on the left wing.
Rgds,
O'
Howard saves the day!!
Me too! I was so excited and luckily Howard saved most of the important goals and we are also lucky. Ermm.. Shld go to the temple near SLS to pray man. :s13:
MOST IMPORTANT is HOWARD is back BUT RVN still a little bit disappointed that he can't scored. I just duno what's wrong with the ball. Just doesn't seems to go near to his feet for every single cross. Hope that they can practice their crossings and passings.
Maybe I am a little bit negative or what. But no matter how hard Q.Fortune trying, he definitely make a couple of mistakes that I always jumped up from my bed/chair. Also hope tat Heinze continue with his good defending. Credits to HOWY & RON!
Rgds,
O'
usjag_18
20-03-2005, 01:06 PM
did u guys see how Roy Kean squares the ball to Ronaldo? ** his crappy pass almost stop Ronaldo's transition..**
I dun think so. He did his best to pass the ball to Ronaldo. If Ron is good, he doesn't need to bother with a ball that still not near to the position he scored. Anyway, he still playing with the ball awhile before he hit it towards the goal.
mclarenfan
20-03-2005, 02:36 PM
Man utd had a lot of possession but cannot make decent crosses into the box...
Ronaldo can do all the tricks in the world but in the end cannot produce a decent cross/pass to the box...
Fortune can forget about playing on the Left wing...he more suited to CMF/ SB...another one who cannot make decent cross....
Man utd corners and crossing = pathetic.... we seriously need to fix this... :s7: If Man utd continue to play like this..then can forget about next season CL... I miss Beckham now..
Protagonist
20-03-2005, 03:17 PM
Hey didn't catch the 2nd half...was van der sar ok for 2nd half?
usjag_18
20-03-2005, 03:22 PM
Man utd had a lot of possession but cannot make decent crosses into the box...
Ronaldo can do all the tricks in the world but in the end cannot produce a decent cross/pass to the box...
Fortune can forget about playing on the Left wing...he more suited to CMF/ SB...another one who cannot make decent cross....
Man utd corners and crossing = pathetic.... we seriously need to fix this... :s7: If Man utd continue to play like this..then can forget about next season CL... I miss Beckham now..
I dun really miss Beckham. Becos his crossings @ Real Madrid also pathetic sometimes. But I have to admit he still shoot the best crossing & passing sometimes. However, what do U expect when he was in Man Utd, his everyday routine must be practicing his passing and crossing. I still can remember there's a Man Utd supporter in IRC said that we spent 80,000pounds/wk to him to let him practice crossing and freekicks everyday... ehhehee...=:p
wow~~~~ smith nearly become the 2nd beckham to score that goal......well save from van der sar also..
Hey didn't catch the 2nd half...was van der sar ok for 2nd half?
Edwin van der Sar is very tall and with long legs and fast pace, surely he can saved that ball. Run fast enuff what. He's excellent, if not ebcos of him, I guess Man Utd shld be able to score a couple more.
Hope this is bullsh!t, don't think Smith is leaving. :s22:
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=15313085%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=football%2d%2dsouey%2ds%2dsights%2don%2d%2dpound%2d6m%2dsmith-name_page.html
Ronaldo7
20-03-2005, 05:08 PM
well he came out and said last week that he needs to play more games but i think fergie's prefered strikeforce is rvn and rooney :s22:
Rio's foreign fancy
Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand admits he may be tempted by the prospect of playing abroad later in his career.
Ferdinand was United's record signing when he crossed the Pennines in 2002 after opting to quit Leeds United.
He has sporadically been linked with The Premiership's big-spenders Chelsea, particularly as his agent - Pini Zahavi - has close links with The Blues.
The England international concedes Zahavi has occasionally come to him with interest from other clubs.
But Ferdinand has no yearning to quit Old Trafford in the near future, insisting he is happy with Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
The centre half, though, has not closed the door on a spell on foreign soil before he brings the curtain down on his career.
"Pini is a great guy," Ferdinand told Red Issue. "People say 'Oh but he must be talking to you about Chelsea and telling you to go there' but he's not that type of person.
"There's been other clubs interested in me and he's said 'So and so want you, what do you think?'
"And I'd say 'Pini, I don't really want to do that, I don't fancy going there' and he'll tell me it isn't a problem.
"As a kid I always said I'd like to go abroad. Not for the football but the lifestyle.
"I can't see myself wanting to go anywhere while we're winning with United. I don't have a burning desire to go abroad yet.
"But in the future, you never know, your feelings might change."
Ferdinand also admitted his irresponsibility for missing a drugs test in September 2003 which brought him an eight-month suspension from football.
He added: "I apologise [for missing the test] because obviously I wasn't responsible enough on the day.
"If it meant missing eight months of the season then obviously I wasn't being responsible.
"But there's stuff that happened before with other players and precedents were set. They went beyond those in my case."
link (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=264048&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=RIO'S+FOREIGN+FANCY&channel=Premiership)
Rio would be a ungrateful b@stard if he leaves. It be a stab in the back for us after we stick by him during his 8-month ban. :mad:
MatrixFanatic
20-03-2005, 06:47 PM
If Smith leaves, I will be very sad. :(
jujube
20-03-2005, 07:12 PM
me too
:look:
MatrixFanatic
20-03-2005, 07:39 PM
me too
:look:
:angel: :angel:
travmufc
20-03-2005, 08:36 PM
Rio would be a ungrateful b@stard if he leaves. It be a stab in the back for us after we stick by him during his 8-month ban. :mad:
we paid 30m pounds for him cos he will be able to play for us for a v long time. if he wanna leave, then he better not leave on the cheap either. :mad:
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 08:41 PM
yeah.. same here.. haiz hope the news is fake.. :(
usjag_18
20-03-2005, 08:44 PM
But what can U do if he really wanna to go. However, I hope he won't leave w/o an expensive tag put on him. And also hope that he will be sensible enuff to think carefully that we are the clubs that standby him when he was being banned! :s8:
Hope this is bullsh!t, don't think Smith is leaving. :s22:
http://www.sundaymirror.co.uk/sport/tm_objectid=15313085%26method=full%26siteid=106694%26headline=football%2d%2dsouey%2ds%2dsights%2don%2d%2dpound%2d6m%2dsmith-name_page.html
well he came out and said last week that he needs to play more games but i think fergie's prefered strikeforce is rvn and rooney :s22:
Hope that he can be smart enuff to stay on becos he noes wat's the best for him. By staying in Man Utd, doesn't mean he got less chances. It all up to him to fight for his place.
Ronaldo_7
20-03-2005, 09:04 PM
Rio's foreign fancy
Manchester United defender Rio Ferdinand admits he may be tempted by the prospect of playing abroad later in his career.
Ferdinand was United's record signing when he crossed the Pennines in 2002 after opting to quit Leeds United.
He has sporadically been linked with The Premiership's big-spenders Chelsea, particularly as his agent - Pini Zahavi - has close links with The Blues.
The England international concedes Zahavi has occasionally come to him with interest from other clubs.
But Ferdinand has no yearning to quit Old Trafford in the near future, insisting he is happy with Sir Alex Ferguson's side.
The centre half, though, has not closed the door on a spell on foreign soil before he brings the curtain down on his career.
"Pini is a great guy," Ferdinand told Red Issue. "People say 'Oh but he must be talking to you about Chelsea and telling you to go there' but he's not that type of person.
"There's been other clubs interested in me and he's said 'So and so want you, what do you think?'
"And I'd say 'Pini, I don't really want to do that, I don't fancy going there' and he'll tell me it isn't a problem.
"As a kid I always said I'd like to go abroad. Not for the football but the lifestyle.
"I can't see myself wanting to go anywhere while we're winning with United. I don't have a burning desire to go abroad yet.
"But in the future, you never know, your feelings might change."
Ferdinand also admitted his irresponsibility for missing a drugs test in September 2003 which brought him an eight-month suspension from football.
He added: "I apologise [for missing the test] because obviously I wasn't responsible enough on the day.
"If it meant missing eight months of the season then obviously I wasn't being responsible.
"But there's stuff that happened before with other players and precedents were set. They went beyond those in my case."
link (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=264048&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=RIO'S+FOREIGN+FANCY&channel=Premiership)
wah.. its gonna hurt bad if this happens man.. haiz
Ronaldo7
20-03-2005, 09:36 PM
don't think he will leave us . he is going to be the captain when keano quit :s22:
Raul7
20-03-2005, 11:40 PM
don't think he will leave us . he is going to be the captain when keano quit :s22:
ya man...cannot imagine if he leave man u...the defence will left a big hole again.....hope Rio will stay on
TOKARA
20-03-2005, 11:44 PM
I dun think so. He did his best to pass the ball to Ronaldo. If Ron is good, he doesn't need to bother with a ball that still not near to the position he scored. Anyway, he still playing with the ball awhile before he hit it towards the goal.
thats not what i mean, Roy could have push the ball forward and split open the defence, cos one of the Fulham player was running backwards with his eyes fix on Roy...anyhow, talk is cheap lol.
eh yer beginning to sound like a spokesman for ManUtd. :p
Ronaldo_7
21-03-2005, 12:25 AM
ya man...cannot imagine if he leave man u...the defence will left a big hole again.....hope Rio will stay on
yeah man...
usjag_18
21-03-2005, 12:26 AM
thats not what i mean, Roy could have push the ball forward and split open the defence, cos one of the Fulham player was running backwards with his eyes fix on Roy...anyhow, talk is cheap lol.
eh yer beginning to sound like a spokesman for ManUtd. :p
Y leh? Is anyone going to beat me up for being protective towards one of my favourite and longest supported club? Anyway, it's not so easy to split open a defence as U think. Moreover, Roy already tried doing his best liao, he's not those 100% attacking player. He can pass or cross a good ball, I already think he did very good liao. At least, he didn't lose the balls to opponent until very seriously.
Ronaldo_7
21-03-2005, 01:35 AM
Rio Ferdinand has revealed he would snub any attempt by Chelsea to prise him away from Manchester United.
Ferdinand: Not interested in return to London (AlexLivesey/GettyImages)
It has been suggested the England defender would be one of Jose Mourinho's major summer transfer targets, with Blues chief executive Peter Kenyon well-placed to negotiate a deal having signed Ferdinand for United from Leeds three years ago.
Ferdinand's London background also appear to make a return to the capital an enticing possibility.
But, in an interview with the influential Red Issue fanzine, the 26-year-old centre-half insists he has no intention of moving to Stamford Bridge and added that even a long-held desire to ply his trade abroad is some way off being fulfilled.
'There has been talk in the media about Real Madrid and Chelsea but there have been no offers for me while I have been at United and if there were I would dismiss them straight away,' he said.
'I can't see myself wanting to go anywhere while we are winning with United and doing well.
'I am enjoying my football. I am enjoying my life where I am living. I don't think I have ever woken up somewhere that is so comfortable since I left London.
'As a kid, I always said I would like to go abroad, not just for the football but for the lifestyle, to see what it is like.
'In the future you never know, your feelings could change, but I don't see myself having a burning desire to go abroad just yet.'
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has already identified Ferdinand as the next United skipper when Roy Keane eventually quits Old Trafford, although the ?9million signing insists he would happily remain in the background if it meant the Red Devils' Irish inspiration continuing his playing career.
Of more far more importance to Ferdinand is being able to add to his medal collection.
A Premiership winner in his first season with United, he recognises the chance of adding another championship medal to his collection is likely to end in failure this season, leaving him with just the FA Cup to play for.
'Winning the league was the highlight of my career so far,' he said.
'As a kid, it is something you always dream about. It's just a great feeling and you need more of it.
'It's sickening watching anyone else win anything. You can't watch the television or read the papers for weeks when another team wins something.'
Ferdinand would already have been the proud owner of an FA Cup winners' medal if it had not been the eight-month ban imposed following his failure to take a drugs test at United's Carrington training ground in September 2003.
For the first time, the player has admitted to his own failure in the affair, apologising to the Red Devils' supporters, but hinting he had been victimised in receiving such a massive punishment - one month more than Adrian Mutu's suspension for actually failing a test.
'I apologise because obviously I wasn't responsible enough (on the day of the test),' he said.
'If that meant missing eight months of football, then obviously I wasn't responsible enough.
'I could go on for ages and ages, but there is stuff which happened before, with other players, and the precedents that were set, and they went beyond them in my case.
'I take it there is some deep lying thing underneath of what happened.'
Fergie threatens changes
Sir Alex Ferguson has threatened to make changes to his side after Manchester United's lacklustre 1-0 win over Fulham.
Ferguson was in an irritable mood as he summed up the Red Devils' 19th Premiership outing without defeat, in no mood to offer plaudits to players he will not see again until two days before their next league game against Blackburn on 2 April.
"Sixty-seven thousand people come here to watch us play and they are entitled to expect Manchester United to win," grumbled Ferguson.
"Our level of performance is important to this club. We did it at Southampton last week but we need it all the time.
"If our form does not match up to my expectations I will make changes for the semi-final, no question about that."
Raul7
21-03-2005, 07:35 AM
Rio Ferdinand has revealed he would snub any attempt by Chelsea to prise him away from Manchester United.
Ferdinand: Not interested in return to London (AlexLivesey/GettyImages)
It has been suggested the England defender would be one of Jose Mourinho's major summer transfer targets, with Blues chief executive Peter Kenyon well-placed to negotiate a deal having signed Ferdinand for United from Leeds three years ago.
Ferdinand's London background also appear to make a return to the capital an enticing possibility.
But, in an interview with the influential Red Issue fanzine, the 26-year-old centre-half insists he has no intention of moving to Stamford Bridge and added that even a long-held desire to ply his trade abroad is some way off being fulfilled.
'There has been talk in the media about Real Madrid and Chelsea but there have been no offers for me while I have been at United and if there were I would dismiss them straight away,' he said.
'I can't see myself wanting to go anywhere while we are winning with United and doing well.
'I am enjoying my football. I am enjoying my life where I am living. I don't think I have ever woken up somewhere that is so comfortable since I left London.
'As a kid, I always said I would like to go abroad, not just for the football but for the lifestyle, to see what it is like.
'In the future you never know, your feelings could change, but I don't see myself having a burning desire to go abroad just yet.'
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has already identified Ferdinand as the next United skipper when Roy Keane eventually quits Old Trafford, although the ?9million signing insists he would happily remain in the background if it meant the Red Devils' Irish inspiration continuing his playing career.
Of more far more importance to Ferdinand is being able to add to his medal collection.
A Premiership winner in his first season with United, he recognises the chance of adding another championship medal to his collection is likely to end in failure this season, leaving him with just the FA Cup to play for.
'Winning the league was the highlight of my career so far,' he said.
'As a kid, it is something you always dream about. It's just a great feeling and you need more of it.
'It's sickening watching anyone else win anything. You can't watch the television or read the papers for weeks when another team wins something.'
Ferdinand would already have been the proud owner of an FA Cup winners' medal if it had not been the eight-month ban imposed following his failure to take a drugs test at United's Carrington training ground in September 2003.
For the first time, the player has admitted to his own failure in the affair, apologising to the Red Devils' supporters, but hinting he had been victimised in receiving such a massive punishment - one month more than Adrian Mutu's suspension for actually failing a test.
'I apologise because obviously I wasn't responsible enough (on the day of the test),' he said.
'If that meant missing eight months of football, then obviously I wasn't responsible enough.
'I could go on for ages and ages, but there is stuff which happened before, with other players, and the precedents that were set, and they went beyond them in my case.
'I take it there is some deep lying thing underneath of what happened.'
damn that bloody kenyon....... :s27:
United_Tremble
21-03-2005, 08:52 AM
almos make swee swee zhun predition but rasinski lao-kah when he can score, nvm mu lucky tis time
anywae mu can onli fight for fa cup so sad, hope everi year like tis no win league or champ league 4 them
Ronaldo7
21-03-2005, 11:33 AM
almos make swee swee zhun predition but rasinski lao-kah when he can score, nvm mu lucky tis time
anywae mu can onli fight for fa cup so sad, hope everi year like tis no win league or champ league 4 them
i support you ;)
:s39:
Fulham also lucky they only concede just once, anyway you are just bitter to see us winning, you idiot. :s13:
nakitas
21-03-2005, 11:45 AM
He's my fav player in ManUtd now leh... He's a serious attitude problem, juz like me... :s13:
Ronaldo7
21-03-2005, 11:54 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article/0,,277-1535054,00.html
check out this article about our spending plan
that means we have to sell to buy in the summer.
Also a huge dip in profits will be announced tomorrow, damm it. :s27:
http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1442159,00.html
Ch3tah_39
21-03-2005, 12:04 PM
:s13: :s22: :s13:
Ronaldo_7
21-03-2005, 04:40 PM
damn that bloody kenyon....... :s27:
yeah man.. b****** sia.. tmd..
Ruudboi
21-03-2005, 04:51 PM
Fergie threatens changes
Sir Alex Ferguson has threatened to make changes to his side after Manchester United's lacklustre 1-0 win over Fulham.
Ferguson was in an irritable mood as he summed up the Red Devils' 19th Premiership outing without defeat, in no mood to offer plaudits to players he will not see again until two days before their next league game against Blackburn on 2 April.
"Sixty-seven thousand people come here to watch us play and they are entitled to expect Manchester United to win," grumbled Ferguson.
"Our level of performance is important to this club. We did it at Southampton last week but we need it all the time.
"If our form does not match up to my expectations I will make changes for the semi-final, no question about that."
good for fergie to point that out.. thought the 2nd half was pretty boring.. almost fell asleep but for the last 10 mins.. as the commentators were ranting throughout the match, the final delivery into the box was just not there...haiz...
MatrixFanatic
21-03-2005, 06:24 PM
Ruud should make way for Smith in the next match.
MatrixFanatic
21-03-2005, 06:37 PM
Axe rusty Van
The prospect of Ruud van Nistelrooy losing his Manchester United place because of poor form has been unthinkable during his prolific career at Old Trafford. In that time, the Dutchman has become United's all-time leading European scorer with 36 goals from 39 Champions League appearances and has proven himself among the finest finishers in the world. But if United are not to end the season empty-handed for only the fourth time in 13 years then Sir Alex Ferguson may have to take one of his bravest decisions and drop his leading striker. Van Nistelrooy has now had five-and-a-half games since returning to action after three months out following an Achilles injury but has yet to socre. And his sharpness shows no sign of returning.
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror
kahmun7
21-03-2005, 06:57 PM
Ruud should make way for Smith in the next match.
problem is Smithy ain't that much better either... although I like him, but among Ruud, Rooney, Smithy, Saha, Bellion, I think only Rooney has been scoring consistently recently... I just wonder what we can do to make them free scoring again... If someone should go, please get rid of Saha and keep Smithy.
I think we really need to consider a good crosser of the ball for our next buy...
blackevil_2000
21-03-2005, 07:43 PM
i think smith will have to wait til ruud to leave manUtd
Raul7
21-03-2005, 07:53 PM
i rather see man u sell off saha n bellion....smith is good
AhHuat
21-03-2005, 09:12 PM
fark mans.....david bellion is wat shiat.......shuld sell him off lah....ease the competition for striker place.....saha also lah...knn always take salary but always on treatment table.....
smith is really a steady man loh.....his work rate....his atittude ......is superb.....
ball winning.....the tenacity is there......knn u got see saha and bellion challenge for ball anot?
hope that old man dun make any more farking mistake by selling him. :s7:
want to sell....sell the useless one.....nb
kleberson - wtf he doing now?
saha - injured -.-
bellion - wtf he doing now?
:s8:
Ronaldo7
21-03-2005, 09:29 PM
don't release saha for france to reduce his chance of getting injury :s13:
saha was a panic buy by fergie last summer . since solskjaer is likely to be back next season , i don't mind selling him since he is too injury-pronce and he deserved to be at another club playing regular football :s22:
Raul7
21-03-2005, 09:49 PM
fark mans.....david bellion is wat shiat.......shuld sell him off lah....ease the competition for striker place.....saha also lah...knn always take salary but always on treatment table.....
smith is really a steady man loh.....his work rate....his atittude ......is superb.....
ball winning.....the tenacity is there......knn u got see saha and bellion challenge for ball anot?
hope that old man dun make any more farking mistake by selling him. :s7:
want to sell....sell the useless one.....nb
kleberson - wtf he doing now?
saha - injured -.-
bellion - wtf he doing now?
:s8:
ya the old man biggest mistake was to sell off stammmmmmmm :s27:
usjag_18
22-03-2005, 12:37 AM
ya the old man biggest mistake was to sell off stammmmmmmm :s27:
disagree. If the manager and the player cannot agree on a certain degree of understanding, then no point staying. Moreover, let's STOP whinning about what HAPPEN! Do U think R.Ferdinand will b @ Man UTd if J.Stam still around? And also, does J.Stam made mistakes in Man Utd too. He scored a couple of OWN GOAL too. People just forget his mistakes.
Anyway, dun have to bother what are those players doing when they are clearly injuried & playing for reserves. No point planning now & NO FUTURE. I believe there must be a reason that D.Bellion still around. He's still young.
sell saha and bellion, keep smith and ruud and promote rossi into the first-team.
Ronaldo_7
22-03-2005, 12:41 AM
I believe there must be a reason that D.Bellion still around. He's still young.
yeah.. bellion is same as rooney.. they are for the future...
chengsun
22-03-2005, 12:45 AM
disagree. If the manager and the player cannot agree on a certain degree of understanding, then no point staying. Moreover, let's STOP whinning about what HAPPEN! Do U think R.Ferdinand will b @ Man UTd if J.Stam still around? And also, does J.Stam made mistakes in Man Utd too. He scored a couple of OWN GOAL too. People just forget his mistakes.
Anyway, dun have to bother what are those players doing when they are clearly injuried & playing for reserves. No point planning now & NO FUTURE. I believe there must be a reason that D.Bellion still around. He's still young.
agree with u to a certain level, dun think rio will come if stam still around, rio is actually a replacement of laurent blaunk, whoo was a replacement of stam.
stam did make own goal oso, own goal past schemeichel some more.
stam is good, but he is past tense to us. there is no "if..., then we would have been..." in this world. the world is cruel, u lost u lost, pick it up n fight again.
wat i want man u to improve actually is the transfer negotiation, we always become Cai Tao of other teams, selling players to us at bloody high price. but players we sold, the price not that fanciful also, even stam n beckham, i dun think tat was the good price to sell them 2.
usjag_18
22-03-2005, 12:55 AM
agree with u to a certain level, dun think rio will come if stam still around, rio is actually a replacement of laurent blaunk, whoo was a replacement of stam.
stam did make own goal oso, own goal past schemeichel some more.
stam is good, but he is past tense to us. there is no "if..., then we would have been..." in this world. the world is cruel, u lost u lost, pick it up n fight again.
wat i want man u to improve actually is the transfer negotiation, we always become Cai Tao of other teams, selling players to us at bloody high price. but players we sold, the price not that fanciful also, even stam n beckham, i dun think tat was the good price to sell them 2.
Agree with U, ChengSun, I also think we shld look forward & also look for the future. Expecting some new blood is more important than thinking the past tense. I felt that even for J.Stam, he will be retiring soon too. He already retired from the international scene. In fact, for me, I felt that Neville brothers should also starting to concentrate on clubs lvl of games instead of kept thinking of c'try games. Anyway, P.Neville always being bullied by England fans since he made a mistakes a couple of WCs ago. No bother think of his good, even though I said that, I can only said he did well in defending when his mood is there. Sometimes, his mood just wasn't there. *sigh* Hope that Man Utd's management can do something about wingers and midfield problems. Most important, maybe players shld really concentrating on their passing & crossing.
Hey guys, what do U think of G.Heinze? Sometimes, he really cross very well, but no one is there to continue his good passing. Or sometimes, his crossing is horrible. Hoping he can developed his own style or a little bit like R.Carlos who can be the freekick taker or crossing can be better.
Rgds,
O'
chengsun
22-03-2005, 01:11 AM
Agree with U, ChengSun, I also think we shld look forward & also look for the future. Expecting some new blood is more important than thinking the past tense. I felt that even for J.Stam, he will be retiring soon too. He already retired from the international scene. In fact, for me, I felt that Neville brothers should also starting to concentrate on clubs lvl of games instead of kept thinking of c'try games. Anyway, P.Neville always being bullied by England fans since he made a mistakes a couple of WCs ago. No bother think of his good, even though I said that, I can only said he did well in defending when his mood is there. Sometimes, his mood just wasn't there. *sigh* Hope that Man Utd's management can do something about wingers and midfield problems. Most important, maybe players shld really concentrating on their passing & crossing.
Hey guys, what do U think of G.Heinze? Sometimes, he really cross very well, but no one is there to continue his good passing. Or sometimes, his crossing is horrible. Hoping he can developed his own style or a little bit like R.Carlos who can be the freekick taker or crossing can be better.
Rgds,
O'
hmm, heinze, i dun really expect him to be a dennis irwin or roberto carlos, just do his defensive work well, will do, anyway, do wat a defender can do , n do it well 1st, let the midfielders do wat they need to do n do it well, then make strikers do wat they have to do n do it well, of coz dun forget thee gk lah...
a roberto carlos kind of defender will be a bonus, but do the basic well 1st loh.
gary n phil, maybe gary can still continue, but phil he dun really have much future in england team, at most just n utility man, he din play well at full back, n made some **** out of it before, he do well in DM but there r just too many choices in this position, who he cant fight. n gary, i think he shld ry to guide wes, since wes actually is playing better at right back, than at centre. wes can be a good succesor at right back from gary, he got speed, can mark, can cross (not that good lah), but maybe the positioning not that good. so gary gonna teach him
usjag_18
22-03-2005, 06:23 PM
sell saha and bellion, keep smith and ruud and promote rossi into the first-team.
I agree that D.Bellion didn't really perform himself. But it's also true that he didn't have much chance to play as a striker before. Most of the time he was forced to play as a midfielder when he shld be a striker mainly. As for L.Saha, I dun mind selling him. But I will rather keep him. It's always important to keep a couple of younger player. I think G.Rossi is good but still need time to play more games.
We can't be so unfair to Saha or Bellion. Saha didn't even play more than 50 games for Man Utd, so I guess he needs more time to adapt. We cannot expect every players to perform the moment they are in Man Utd. As for Bellion, he also dun enuff of games and also kept forcing him to play as a midfielder won't be fair to him too. I admit that W.Rooney proved himself, but still he is always playing the position he is more familiar with. So I bet D.Bellion shld be able to prove himself.
Of course, other than G.Rossi, I will also like to see Man Utd spend more $ on youngsters like Joaquin & F.Torres in their abilities, not what chinese saying "Zi BU LIang Li" to fight with the others BIG $ SPENDERS. :s7:
Rgds,
O'
gxelan
22-03-2005, 06:55 PM
actually bellion can leave...we can see he is actually quite a waste of money ...saha is a tack too ex...tink his abilities oni worth somewhat 8 million like tt oni ..nt the 12.25million man utd paid for him ...the thing abt man utd is they dont play their youth team enuff...look at arsenal ..they expose youth players like van persie, flamini to first team actions...and they are doing quite well..tink ma utd shld expose players like rossi to first team action ...
and also ...i realli like to see man utd breaking the banks to sign players like F.torres, joaquin and vincente...its not like they do not have the money ...they have...but i tink they often invest wrongly...like spending too much on saha as what i said above...and also rooney ..dont tink they shld spend 30 million ..mayb around 20-24 million is enuff...and those players touted as keane replacements....like djemba djemba, liam miller, kleberson..they are just excess to the team ..instead of spending little amount of money on many average players....y nt juz spend more money on one very good player ? like getting gattuso ?
usjag_18
22-03-2005, 07:13 PM
actually bellion can leave...we can see he is actually quite a waste of money ...saha is a tack too ex...tink his abilities oni worth somewhat 8 million like tt oni ..nt the 12.25million man utd paid for him ...the thing abt man utd is they dont play their youth team enuff...look at arsenal ..they expose youth players like van persie, flamini to first team actions...and they are doing quite well..tink ma utd shld expose players like rossi to first team action ...
and also ...i realli like to see man utd breaking the banks to sign players like F.torres, joaquin and vincente...its not like they do not have the money ...they have...but i tink they often invest wrongly...like spending too much on saha as what i said above...and also rooney ..dont tink they shld spend 30 million ..mayb around 20-24 million is enuff...and those players touted as keane replacements....like djemba djemba, liam miller, kleberson..they are just excess to the team ..instead of spending little amount of money on many average players....y nt juz spend more money on one very good player ? like getting gattuso ?
If Bellion playing the position Rooney is playing & score goals in every game, will U guys wanna him to go? Does he even have a chance to prove himself? Again, Bellion is a young player. He will be rep. the FUTURE! He needs more chances! And I dun think he's a waste of $, in fact, he's one of the cheapest striker we currently have.
As for $ waste, do U noe what are U saying? Breaking the BANKS to sign players, do U noe what if Torres, Joaquin & Vincente are WRONG BUYINGs too? Who's going to be responsible? Are U sure U wanna 2 see Man Utd @ DEBTS??? They already sold Djemba^2 for ur info, so stop talking about him. As for L.Miller & Kleberson, I think it's really unfair to these 2 players. They dun have enuff of games, dun have enuff of chances, and are injuried by other players most of the time when they are on the field. And in fact, L.Miller & J.Kleberson still got something to prove themselves. In fact, in my opinion, other than G.Heinze, I think J.Kleberson can also be the next person in charge of freekick and good @ crossing. As I felt that they just got the POWER to do so. Their legs are strong enuff to hit the ball and their aiming is not so bad. Just need some training.
Rgds,
O'
Red_herring
22-03-2005, 07:28 PM
Man Utd did break the bank to get Juan Veron when he was THE midfielder from lazio and look what happened. It doesnt mean that breaking the bank to sign quality players will gurantee sucess.
I feel its more about getting the right players to fit their system.
Ronaldo7
22-03-2005, 07:46 PM
the problem with us is that we have been buying players for more than they worth for the past few seasons :s22:
must admit that wenger is one of the best when it comes to buying players but we are a plc afterall :s27:
Raul7
22-03-2005, 07:51 PM
the problem with us is that we have been buying players for more than they worth for the past few seasons :s22:
must admit that wenger is one of the best when it comes to buying players but we are a plc afterall :s27:
ya loh...he really gd at buying players...
Raul7
22-03-2005, 07:53 PM
Man Utd did break the bank to get Juan Veron when he was THE midfielder from lazio and look what happened. It doesnt mean that breaking the bank to sign quality players will gurantee sucess.
I feel its more about getting the right players to fit their system.
veron transfer hw much ah? 28.1 million??? IIRC.... :o
Raul7
22-03-2005, 08:09 PM
Ferguson is sackable, Gill insists
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has turned the heat on Sir Alex Ferguson by insisting the long-serving Red Devils chief 'is sackable'.
Ferguson is not untouchable (JohnWalton/Empics)
Unless Chelsea suffer a dramatic slump in fortunes over the next eight games, United will fail to win the Premier League title in successive seasons for the first time since the competition was formed in 1992.
Having also been dumped out of the Champions League at the first knock-out stage for the second campaign running, Ferguson's position is under more scrutiny than it has been since the dark days of the late 1980s.
The Scot is due to move onto a new rolling one-year contract, which can be terminated at 12 months' notice by either party, in the summer.
With eight league titles, five FA Cups and a European Cup on his Old Trafford CV, it was widely assumed the 63-year-old would be the one who decided when his United career would be terminated.
But while Gill stressed there has never been any suggesting that Ferguson could be shown the door, he admitted no-one at the club is beyond dismissal.
'He is sackable,' Gill told BBC Radio Five Live. 'We live in a very pressurised sport. The pressure will be on next season and we wouldn't want that pressure not to be there.
'But (removing the manager) is not something that has entered our discussions at boardroom level. It would be detrimental to the club to make a knee-jerk reaction for not winning the league for a second season in a row.
'The manager's record is second to none, we still have a chance of winning a major trophy this season in the FA Cup, and we are very positive about the future.'
With half-year profits falling to £12.4million, the United board need to generate greater revenue, placing extra emphasis on the need to finish runners-up this term and secure 30 per cent of the central Champions League pot for English clubs as opposed to the 15 per cent on offer to the side which ends up in third place.
'That could be worth around £2-3million for each stage of the competition,' confirmed finance director Nick Humby. 'We have not given up hope of catching Chelsea yet but if we don't, finishing second is very important.'
Certainly, cash to bring in new players this summer will be strictly limited, with Gill confirming Ferguson was fully in agreement with the decision to spend £27million on Wayne Rooney in August, even though it would wipe out his entire 2005 budget for bringing in new players.
'That was a decision taken in agreement with Sir Alex,' Gill added on Sky Sports News. 'We are very pleased with the composition of the squad, so any funds for new acquisitions will be paid for by disposals.'
Raul7
22-03-2005, 08:10 PM
Carroll set to quit Old Trafford
Manchester United are on the lookout for a new goalkeeper after it was revealed Roy Carroll is set to leave in the summer.
Roy Carroll: To leave United (AlexLivesey/GettyImages)
Northern Ireland goalkeeper Carroll has so far failed to negotiate a new contract at Old Trafford and the club are preparing to find his replacement.
United chief executive David Gill today revealed the club had identified possible replacements should Carroll walk away and leave United with just Tim Howard as an experienced keeper.
'Obviously we would have to sign a goalkeeper if Roy Carroll doesn't re-sign and if we've got a vacancy in that department, we would have to make money available for that,' Gill told BBC Radio Four's Today programme.
'There is no indication to us that he is going to accept our final contract offer in which case he will leave as a free agent on June 30.
'We are not sitting on our hands. We will look at who is available and who could fill his boots.'
chengsun
22-03-2005, 08:20 PM
1st of all, no offence, im not inviting a fight.
but i really feel u r contradicting urself, in 1 hand, u want man u to play YOUNG PLAYERS more often, let them play enough games to gain exposure, on the other hand, u want man u to spend big money to buy BIG PLAYERS. so, BIG PLAYERS come in, who got to make the move? of coz YOUNG PLAYERS.
1st of all, do u know how big is man u squad? go play FM or CM then u will have a feeling. while there are more than 11 1t team players who dun have chance to play regualr games, do u expecting man u to field their YOUNG PLAYERS for games? is this fair to those 1st teamers? n does it make sense that u dun play those players who are getting tens of K pounds per week but let those 500pounds per week players play? just wasting club's money, might as well dun sign those players.
2nd, do u know how small is arsenal 1st team? while edu n gilberto were out, basically they have no more senior central midfielder to team up viera, while we have keane, phil, scholes, fletcher, oshea, kleberson, djemba djemba (before he left) n even fortune sometimes to fill up the central. when berkamp, reyes injured n van persie banned, they left with no known senior striker but henry, even have to team him with ljunberg or the french wingers, forgot his bloody name, n have to field another unknown winger. so u think wenger like to play YOUNG PLAYERS so much? i will say he is bobian.
We are not going to break bank for players anymore espically when we just have a huge drop in profits, spending more big bucks would put us into debts and thats no good for us. :s8:
Man United annouce drop in profits by over 50%
Manchester United's half-year profits have dropped by more than 50%, hit by falling TV income and the cost of buying new players.
It reported pre-tax profits of £12.4m for the six months to 31 January, down from £26.8m a year earlier.
The club said potential buyer Malcolm Glazer was still examining its books.
Chief executive David Gill reiterated the board's view that 300p a share was fair but other parts of the offer made it not in the club's "best interests".
Takeover talk
The board signalled its lack of enthusiasm for the £800m ($1.5bn) takeover approach from Mr Glazer, which has been passionately opposed by fans, saying it was "disruptive to the smooth running of the business".
In an interview with BBC Radio 4's Today programme, Mr Gill said the US tycoon had been given access to the club's books, but added that there had been no new developments.
He repeated the board's point of view that Mr Glazer's suggestion of 300 pence a share "was a fair and reasonable price for the club" but said that the US businessman's proposals involved too much debt and were "not in the best interests of the company".
The club's statement noted that a "challenging first half to the year was made even more difficult by the continued speculation surrounding a possible offer for the company".
TV challenge
On the financial side, TV income was cut following the introduction of a new three-year Premier League contract and also by United's third-place finish in the Premiership last season.
Finishing third reduced its earnings from the European Champions League this season. Revenue from Champions League screenings was £5.8m lower than in the same period a year ago.
However, strong match-day and commercial revenue offset the fall in media earnings, so overall sales were little changed at £91.6m, compared with £92.4m.
United's forays into the transfer market - which included £27m-signing Wayne Rooney along with Alan Smith and Gabriel Heinze - ate into profits.
The signings, together with new contracts for manager Sir Alex Ferguson and striker Ruud van Nistelrooy, pushed the club's wage bill up £5m to £42.7m.
But Mr Gill said the team had been strengthened by the signings and contract extensions and the board's aim was now "to continue to grow the business despite the tougher market conditions".
Mr Gill also admitted that boss Ferguson is not unsackable, but he backed the Scot to turn around the club's fortunes.
"He is sackable, we live in a pressurised sport and that pressure is always there," said Gill.
"But removing Ferguson isn't something we have discussed. It would be detrimental to the club to make a knee-jerk reaction for not winning the league again.
"We have a very strong management team with Sir Alex and Carlos Queiroz."
Money spinners
To improve the club's finances, the board is in talks with "major global companies" about future sponsorship deals, United said.
It hopes to double the number of "platinum" sponsors to eight from August 2006.
It is also expanding the Old Trafford stadium and exploring ways to beef up the earnings from MUTV, the club's home-grown broadcaster.
Sales of Manchester United branded credit cards are doing well, with 50,000 new customers, the company said.
blackevil_2000
22-03-2005, 09:06 PM
sianz now manUtd got so much this kind of thing... just coz 30million is spend on rooney...
this is crap man....
manUtd just need to go to spain get a good gk
go to ISA get a good CD
n go to france to get a good DM
maybe if still got $$ go get a LW but i think giggy still can last a few more year
I am more annoyed by this endless Glazer takeover bid, sorry if it is too evil, but I wish that old b@astard die and leave our club alone. :s27:
Red_herring
22-03-2005, 09:12 PM
veron transfer hw much ah? 28.1 million??? IIRC.... :o
not really sure but it sounds correct to me.
not sure if any of you noticed this, it seems that man utd have a problems getting central midfielders to play their style. not sure cos i dun really watch other leagues but maybe most european teams attack thru the middle, thus a different style while man utd likes to use the width?
they have no problems at all with buying the right type of wingers or strikers.
Fergie not untouchable
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has turned the heat on Sir Alex Ferguson by insisting the long-serving Red Devils chief "is sackable".
Unless Chelsea suffer a dramatic slump in fortunes over the next eight games, United will fail to win the Premier League title in successive seasons for the first time since the competition was formed in 1992.
Having also been dumped out of the Champions League at the first knock-out stage for the second campaign running, Ferguson's position is under more scrutiny than it has been since the dark days of the late 1980s.
The Scot is due to move onto a new rolling one-year contract, which can be terminated at 12 months' notice by either party, in the summer.
With eight league titles, five FA Cups and a European Cup on his Old Trafford CV, it was widely assumed the 63-year-old would be the one who decided when his United career would be terminated.
But while Gill stressed there has never been any suggesting that Ferguson could be shown the door, he admitted no-one at the club is beyond dismissal.
"He is sackable," Gill told BBC Radio Five Live.
"We live in a very pressurised sport. The pressure will be on next season and we wouldn't want that pressure not to be there.
"But (removing the manager) is not something that has entered our discussions at boardroom level. It would be detrimental to the club to make a knee-jerk reaction for not winning the league for a second season in a row.
"The manager's record is second to none, we still have a chance of winning a major trophy this season in the FA Cup, and we are very positive about the future."
With half-year profits falling to £12.4m, the United board need to generate greater revenue, placing extra emphasis on the need to finish runners-up this term and secure 30% of the central Champions League pot for English clubs as opposed to the 15% on offer to the side which ends up in third place.
"That could be worth around £2-3m for each stage of the competition," confirmed finance director Nick Humby.
"We have not given up hope of catching Chelsea yet but if we don't, finishing second is very important."
Certainly, cash to bring in new players this summer will be strictly limited, with Gill confirming Ferguson was fully in agreement with the decision to spend £27m on Wayne Rooney in August, even though it would wipe out his entire 2005 budget for bringing in new players.
"That was a decision taken in agreement with Sir Alex," Gill added on Sky Sports News.
"We are very pleased with the composition of the squad, so any funds for new acquisitions will be paid for by disposals."
The one man Gill is expecting to have to purchase a replacement for is 'keeper Roy Carroll.
The Northern Ireland international has been stalling on signing a new deal after failing to be convinced that Ferguson views him as a long-term number one.
Although the contract offer is still on the table, Gill is now convinced Carroll has decided to look elsewhere in the summer.
Parma's Sebastien Frey and top Premiership keepers Carlo Cudicini, Jussi Jaaskelainen and Mark Schwarzer have all been mentioned as potential targets and Gill confirmed money would be found to bring in a new face should Carroll quit.
"We made Roy an offer, he has not accepted it, so it looks as though he will be leaving," said Gill, who confirmed further discussions with Ryan Giggs, whose contract talks have also hit an impasse, may begin again in the summer.
"If Roy does leave, we will find funds for a replacement."
nakitas
22-03-2005, 11:23 PM
Yup... No one is guaranteed a place anywhere in soccer... U'll have to go when ya time is up... :D
Raul7
22-03-2005, 11:44 PM
Yup... No one is guaranteed a place anywhere in soccer... U'll have to go when ya time is up... :D
hahahaha...ya loh....
Ronaldo_7
23-03-2005, 12:00 AM
If Bellion playing the position Rooney is playing & score goals in every game, will U guys wanna him to go? Does he even have a chance to prove himself? Again, Bellion is a young player. He will be rep. the FUTURE! He needs more chances! And I dun think he's a waste of $, in fact, he's one of the cheapest striker we currently have.
As for $ waste, do U noe what are U saying? Breaking the BANKS to sign players, do U noe what if Torres, Joaquin & Vincente are WRONG BUYINGs too? Who's going to be responsible? Are U sure U wanna 2 see Man Utd @ DEBTS??? They already sold Djemba^2 for ur info, so stop talking about him. As for L.Miller & Kleberson, I think it's really unfair to these 2 players. They dun have enuff of games, dun have enuff of chances, and are injuried by other players most of the time when they are on the field. And in fact, L.Miller & J.Kleberson still got something to prove themselves. In fact, in my opinion, other than G.Heinze, I think J.Kleberson can also be the next person in charge of freekick and good @ crossing. As I felt that they just got the POWER to do so. Their legs are strong enuff to hit the ball and their aiming is not so bad. Just need some training.
Rgds,
O'
hmm.. yea bellion is for the future de.. as for saha.. now not fair to him as his career is being hindered by injuries.. man utd got him that time i think is because he that time hot form bah.. excellent scoring rate.. but he got injuried.. so give him time to get back to where he was.. same to kleberson.. injury woes..
Ronaldo_7
23-03-2005, 12:00 AM
hahahaha...ya loh....
hahaha.. soccer is unpredictable.. can be the boss today.. tml wake up out of job..
Raul7
23-03-2005, 12:02 AM
hahaha.. soccer is unpredictable.. can be the boss today.. tml wake up out of job..
hahaha...scally next day ask u to sweep floor liao :s13:
Ronaldo_7
23-03-2005, 12:03 AM
yup.. he's good in purchasing.. fergie not so good in it.. but he manage to purchase a legend which is our King Cantona :)
Ronaldo_7
23-03-2005, 12:06 AM
I am more annoyed by this endless Glazer takeover bid, sorry if it is too evil, but I wish that old b@astard die and leave our club alone. :s27:
hahaha... where got evil.. not at all man.. he's damn irritating!! :s27:
Raul7
23-03-2005, 12:13 AM
yup.. he's good in purchasing.. fergie not so good in it.. but he manage to purchase a legend which is our King Cantona :)
yes no doubt abt it.... that time, if i'm nt wrong.. the leeds manager asked abt irwin then Sir Alex asked him abt Cantona instead..lmao!!!!!!! :s13: =:p
Ronaldo_7
23-03-2005, 12:49 AM
yes no doubt abt it.... that time, if i'm nt wrong.. the leeds manager asked abt irwin then Sir Alex asked him abt Cantona instead..lmao!!!!!!! :s13: =:p
then in the end cantona go to man utd while irwin stay put.. hahaha :s13:
United says days of huge player wage rises are over
LONDON, March 22 (Reuters) - Manchester United, the world's richest soccer club, has warned players that the days of huge wage rises are over and the club intends to clamp down on costs.
United, which announced a 54 percent drop in interim profits on Tuesday, has failed to reach the Champions League quarter-finals and complained of the uncertainty triggered by U.S billionaire Malcolm Glazer's stalking of the club.
The fall in pretax profits to 12.4 million pounds ($23.6 million) was caused by a sharp decline in television income following a new Premier League broadcasting deal and last season's third place finish which cut Champions League income.
However, wage costs rose to 46.6 percent of turnover (42.7 million) from 40.8 percent at this time last year. This figure is expected to climb above the 50 percent mark which United has set as a ceiling for wage costs.
"Financial discipline is absolutely critical in maintaining the stability and the financial strength of the club," said chairman Roy Gardner in a statement.
"Player wage control remains difficult, particularly with the strong competitive pressures from a small number of rival clubs across Europe."
United's interim results included an wages increase of 2.6 million caused by contract renewals, particularly that of Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy.
The contract of winger Ryan Giggs, the longest-serving player in the current team, is up for renewal at the end of this season. Chief executive David Gill said the Welshman would have to bear in mind the club's desire to keep costs under control.
"We are very confident that we will reach an agreement to extend Ryan's stay at Old Trafford," said Gill.
"We are moving towards a situation of more variable pay where an element of pay (is dependent on) reaching the Champions League group stage."
YOUNGER PLAYERS
Contracts of the younger players would increasingly contain a "performance-based element", he added.
"We are trying to de-risk the wage profile to fit the performance of the club," Gill said. "The days of huge pay rises are not here -- 15-20 percent increases are in the past."
United bought England striker Wayne Rooney for 27 million in August, bringing spending in the past two years to 60 million.
Gill said he did not expect manager Alex Ferguson to buy players in the close season, apart from a goalkeeper to replace Roy Carroll who would almost certainly not sign a new contract.
"We don't need significant expenditure and (Ferguson) is comfortable with that. We have a young squad and it is not the view internally that major surgery is required."
United are second in the Premier League behind runaway leaders Chelsea, whose huge appetite for players now dominates the transfer market, and they are in the FA Cup semi-finals.
Gill said the first instalment of the Rooney transfer, of 11.5 million, had been covered by Lazio's belated payment of the transfer fee for defender Jaap Stam, who moved in 2001.
Gill puts boss story straight
by Mark Buckingham - created on 22 Mar 2005
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=264648&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=Gill+puts+boss+story+straight&channel=Premiership
Manchester United chief executive David Gill has clarified his comments which suggested manager Sir Alex Ferguson is 'sackable'.
Gill had intimated in an interview that the long-serving Scot is not immune from the axe in light of the pressures which come with managing one of football's biggest clubs.
The Red Devils are set to finish a second successive season without the Premiership title and they have also failed to make a significant impact in the UEFA Champions League during the past two campaigns.
But Gill insists this does not mean Ferguson's position is under threat or that there has been talk of the veteran boss being relieved of his duties.
Ferguson starts a new 12-month rolling contract in the summer and Gill is keen to stress that a change at the Old Trafford helm is not on the agenda.
"I was trying to state the obvious but the comments have been portrayed in the wrong way," said Gill.
"There is nothing in our plans about changing the manager. The issue has not even been discussed.
"Who is to say what will happen in three, five or ten years' time but for now we have great plans to work together in the future to ensure the club remains strong as it goes forward.
"Sir Alex will move onto a rolling contract in the summer and he is very comfortable with that.
"He has been enormously successful with Manchester United. His track record is first class and replacing him has never even crossed our minds.
"I just reiterate, this whole issue of Sir Alex's position has never been discussed."
Meanwhile, Gill has suggested the Champions League format for the draw for the knockout stage of the competition should be altered.
Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has already mooted the idea of a seedings system for the last 16 onwards and Gill is also keen to see that introduced to the competition.
"You may say it is a selfish attitude but it cannot be good for Spanish television that no team from Spain reached the last eight and you also have to look at the sponsorship deals going forward," he added.
"At the moment we effectively have a random draw after the group stage, yet when the draw for the group stage is made, each club's co-efficient is used.
"Given it is unlikely we will ever go back to a situation of having two group stages, maybe we should use a system during the knockout phase that also reflects the rankings.
"AC Milan were discussing this before we played them, so it is not a knee-jerk reaction but you could have a situation where the holders were rated number one and they played the 16th ranked team, two versus 15, and so on.
"I don't think there will be any changes for next season but it is an argument being made and I am sure Uefa will look at it."
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.