View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
zenvey
22-05-2005, 12:49 AM
The Dick Who Missed Should Be Shot
Scholes did't miss, lahmun saved it.
what kind of fan are you! after what Scholes has done for the club, you want him to be shot over a FA CUP? go support chelsea la damn glory hunter
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 12:50 AM
Should last min sub tim howard in man..
I knew this would happen, it's been all along the whole season, Utd played well and lose.. sums up our season :(
ragnarok95
22-05-2005, 12:50 AM
I always feel that tim is better at saving penlty...
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 12:53 AM
that sums up the season.
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 12:54 AM
did u guys read the newpaper today? last page....
its better for manutd to lose....
its time for them to farking wake up and stop being complacent....
Yellowfin
That is the story of Man Utd for the whole season, somehow the goal didn't come.
Anyway, anyone can miss a penalty or a penalty kick being save. So don't blame it on one player. Blame it on not being lucky to score.
travmufc
arsenal did not win a fa cup, they won a fluke cup lah.
but man u can't score for nuts man. they dun deserve to lose but they also dun deserve to win if they can't score. :s27:
blackevil_2000
22-05-2005, 12:55 AM
i dun think there will be a different... so what if howard is in it never mean that he could save those penlty...it is neither Scholes at wrong he tried his best n thats enough... i noe we hate R.Carroll but neither was he wrong 4 not saving the penlty kick... blame it on not sealing the game early
the whole is at faullt...wish that next year will be a better year...
i am sad too...
kahmun7
22-05-2005, 12:55 AM
sigh... guys... cheer up...
Raul7
22-05-2005, 12:56 AM
i only can say.....man u really suay and arsenal is lucky....
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 12:56 AM
I always feel that tim is better at saving penlty...
I agreed. Did anyone of notice one thing. Whenever there's penalty kick, Roy Carroll will gets very low. He's body just go down easily.
Anyway, seriously, even though we didn't win the cup, I am very happy.
Reasons? Becos finally in the final day, our players played like a team. Seriously, today, it's just Arsenal's lucky day. We missed chances, but those chances are giving warning to others. We will be back in a better form next season.
The Dick Who Missed Should Be Shot
The person who SAID this is a DICK himself.... :s8: No offence. But do U think it's so easy to score a penalty kick? Even the mighty free-kick king, D.Beckham missed penalty kick.
kahmun7
22-05-2005, 12:57 AM
i dun think there will be a different... so what if howard is in it never mean that he could save those penlty...it is neither Scholes at wrong he tried his best n thats enough... i noe we hate R.Carroll but neither was he wrong 4 not saving the penlty kick... blame it on not sealing the game early
the whole is at faullt...wish that next year will be a better year...
i am sad too...
er.. problem is I feel he didn't actually try..
sigh.. .nvm.., let it go..
jamomatt
This game sums up our season perfectly ey? Yet again we failed to kill off a game we totally dominated... :(
AhHuat
my sch coach told me this.....well...i dunno issit superstitious anot la
when taking penalty...after placing ball do not turn ur back against the ball.
scholes did that....and he seemed not confident...
Nonsense_Lord
22-05-2005, 12:58 AM
man u dominated from start to end.....they dun deserve to lose the FA cup.. but too bad arsenal won by luck....
Raul7
22-05-2005, 12:59 AM
I agreed. Did anyone of notice one thing. Whenever there's penalty kick, Roy Carroll will gets very low. He's body just go down easily.
Reasons? Becos finally in the final day, our players played like a team. Seriously, today, it's just Arsenal's lucky day. We missed chances, but those chances are giving warning to others. We will be back in a better form next season.
The person who SAID this is a DICK himself.... :s8: No offence. But do U think it's so easy to score a penalty kick? Even the mighty free-kick king, D.Beckham missed penalty kick.
ya,becks free kick is good but not penalty....
Ronaldo7
22-05-2005, 12:59 AM
lennardseah : knn , NEVER blame a player for missing a penalty , even it's really a bad one . you got to have the courage and go up and take one and you think it's easy ? :s22:
really feel for the team , they played really well tonight , just that luck is not on our side . the stats said it all . feel sad when i saw few our players in tears . better luck next season :)
blackevil_2000
22-05-2005, 01:00 AM
did u guys read the newpaper today? last page....
its better for manutd to lose....
its time for them to farking wake up and stop being complacent....
i agreed the devil r sleeping...after the last year we won epl i think ManUtd r all over
+ somemore the glazer thingy this might be the last club we could ever won
:s27: DEVIL ARE SLEEPING :s27:
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:00 AM
i have nothing to say.....the best team lost.
sounds familiar? its jose mourinho's famous quote...
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:02 AM
Its ok. ManU lost but they held their pride. Everyone who watched the match knew how much Arsenal depended on luck and the keeper to keep their alive......
Totally agreed with U, ISS!
Anyway, guys, cheer up. At least Man Utd players did their best today. AhHuat bro, U shld be happier. At least, we see our players tried their very best.
Being unable to score, it's not really their faults sometimes. Remember, the BALL is ROUND, anything can happened. Not RVN's fault or WR's fault or even CR's faults. Seriously, even Q.Fortune played well today. Everyone played superbly well. Even though I hate to admit this, Carroll also did his best too. He just cannot make it when it comes to penalty kick.
And we are unlucky that Man Utd didn't get the chances to get an early penalty kick. Twice Arsenal players shld be fouled becos of handballs in the penalty box.
So, my conclusion is, our players did played their best games. Other than winning Arsenal in the 4-2 match, this one is totally great game. We didn't lose the match, we lose to FATE.
Raul7
22-05-2005, 01:02 AM
lennardseah : knn , NEVER blame a player for missing a penalty , even it's really a bad one . you got to have the courage and go up and take one and you think it's easy ? :s22:
really feel for the team , they played really well tonight , just that luck is not on our side . the stats said it all . feel sad when i saw few our players in tears . better luck next season :)
ya, i saw Rio in tears.....luck was not on Utd side.
Raul7
22-05-2005, 01:03 AM
Totally agreed with U, ISS!
Anyway, guys, cheer up. At least Man Utd players did their best today. AhHuat bro, U shld be happier. At least, we see our players tried their very best.
Being unable to score, it's not really their faults sometimes. Remember, the BALL is ROUND, anything can happened. Not RVN's fault or WR's fault or even CR's faults. Seriously, even Q.Fortune played well today. Everyone played superbly well. Even though I hate to admit this, Carroll also did his best too. He just cannot make it when it comes to penalty kick.
And we are unlucky that Man Utd didn't get the chances to get an early penalty kick. Twice Arsenal players shld be fouled becos of handballs in the penalty box.
So, my conclusion is, our players did played their best games. Other than winning Arsenal in the 4-2 match, this one is totally great game. We didn't lose the match, we lose to FATE.
and lack of luck also....
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 01:04 AM
Yes i agreed, teamwork was there, only lacked the finishing... very happy to see Rooney working real hard... RvN just left his scoring boots elsewhere.. too long away from matches.. Next season he'll be back :evil:
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:05 AM
my sch coach told me this.....well...i dunno issit superstitious anot la
when taking penalty...after placing ball do not turn ur back against the ball.
scholes did that....and he seemed not confident...
Hahaha.... it's not easy for P.Scholes imo. In the first place, who can really endure the stress. Afterall, this is not an ez season for him or any other players.
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:07 AM
actually....i dun feel bad losing the cup final.
its good time for manutd to be down to earth and not complacent.
and start rebuilding....
ragnarok95
Goals aint flowing in enough....
chengsun
guys, no more "if", "if" wont win us anything.
we dominated but cant score, measn we are still not that good yet.
so it is over, move on.
make sure the theme colour of season 2005-2006 is RED COLOUR, and the DEVILISH RED COLOUR!
oo_lala_cantonah
nuthing is truly fair in life, not to mention in football
but its realli a ****ty way to lose a cup final thru a PK shootout
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:10 AM
ya, i saw Rio in tears.....luck was not on Utd side.
:s13: :s13:
I am glad to see him dropping his tears. Becos if he had scored that goal, he will be the HERO. Den he will be superb demanding. And after this, if he still intends to leave Man Utd, den I think he will not be suitable for Man Utd. Becos afterall, we need someone with determination and able to fight off his fears and conquer it.
Guys, duno why, usually, when Man Utd lose, I will be very unhappy. I knew there are always things that players never do to make it til the end. But 2dae, I am so glad and happy. I know that at least this last game, I see the old & young players are putting their efforts and chances are created from all directions.
Btw, i think Ronaldo is good @ crossing, but the only problem is for free-kick, he just can't seems to find the right place to do it. Anyway, if Real Madrid is really letting Figo off, we shld grab him and let him (Ronaldo) learn under Figo.
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 01:12 AM
actually....i dun feel bad losing the cup final.
its good time for manutd to be down to earth and not complacent.
and start rebuilding....
Totally agrees man butties
nakitas
22-05-2005, 01:13 AM
Sibei suay ah!!! Sigh~~~ When Lady Luck shy away frm ya tis things do happen... Penalty denied, missing chances, clearing of lines...
But then again, ManUtd played one of their best game tnite... Enjoyable 120mins... They showed t spirit, t hunger n even if they turn out runners-up, so what!!! Everyone knows who's t better team... If they r able to treat every match like tis Final next season, t title will b back at Old Trafford... Hope tat tis will b a sign for Old-fool to keep his idea awake n build on a better one next season...
Credits: To Lehmann, he's outstanding...! Rooney n Ronnie too, they make t most out of it, creating chances n taking them... :D
Best FA Final!!!
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:17 AM
Hey guys,
I know, it's even better if I got the prove. But too bad, I heard this news from FM95.8 when I was struggling my life @ my aunt's office. :s8:
The researchers are reasearching what are the usual results for players who are wearing reds and blues. And it happened that most players who are wearing reds during the last Olympic Games, won most of the games.
Reason? BEcos ReD is the colour tt represent the POWER of MEN and DETERMINATION.
:s13: How true is it? I duno. But I guess this is just something those researchers got nothing ebtter to do and say it out.
Btw, guys, I believe a lot of U are glad that the season is ended. So, what's next? AC Milan vs Liverpool. Who are U going to support this time round? For me, I rather AC Milan win the match. Otherwise, it will really looks bad for Man Utd. Afterall, we won over Liverpool twice this season and yet lose to the group they beaten. So guys, let's cheer for Ac Milan? Lolx... Sounds like a bad idea, right? I bet a lot of Liverpool supporters are going to "kill" me if they see me... wahaahhaa...
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 01:18 AM
4-3-3 looks good for Man Utd.. mayB Fergie should try that next season.. gd attacking mobility..
I got a feeling Pool will win, like today lor... unusual things happen.. an undeserving win for Pool :s13:
Ronaldo7
22-05-2005, 01:19 AM
milan for me . why ? see my avatar :s13:
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:19 AM
i like pool to win...becoz i like their manager
RB :o :s34:
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:20 AM
Sibei suay ah!!! Sigh~~~ When Lady Luck shy away frm ya tis things do happen... Penalty denied, missing chances, clearing of lines...
But then again, ManUtd played one of their best game tnite... Enjoyable 120mins... They showed t spirit, t hunger n even if they turn out runners-up, so what!!! Everyone knows who's t better team... If they r able to treat every match like tis Final next season, t title will b back at Old Trafford... Hope tat tis will b a sign for Old-fool to keep his idea awake n build on a better one next season...
Credits: To Lehmann, he's outstanding...! Rooney n Ronnie too, they make t most out of it, creating chances n taking them... :D
Best FA Final!!!
True... This shld be one of the BEST FA FINALs... IMO, credits to every single player, except for J.Reyes. He's a good player. But I think he shld just go back to Spain if he cannot endure the rough game himself but can still played rough.
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 01:22 AM
i like pool to win...becoz i like their manager
RB :o :s34:
wahahhaa... AhHuat bro, U huh... Duno what to say sia... Like the manager is 1 thing, the match itself is another thing.
nakitas
22-05-2005, 01:24 AM
Btw, guys, I believe a lot of U are glad that the season is ended. So, what's next? AC Milan vs Liverpool. Who are U going to support this time round? For me, I rather AC Milan win the match. Otherwise, it will really looks bad for Man Utd. Afterall, we won over Liverpool twice this season and yet lose to the group they beaten. So guys, let's cheer for Ac Milan? Lolx... Sounds like a bad idea, right? I bet a lot of Liverpool supporters are going to "kill" me if they see me... wahaahhaa...
I dnt think we should treat support Milan juz becos they r playing against Liverpool lor... Both r gd teams, gd enuff to make it to t finals... Well, comparing t performance n strength of both teams, i m betting Milan to win tis... But even if Liverpool wins it, i'll juz b as happy lor... :D
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:26 AM
hmm on paper...milan very strong in every position...
hope i can see another PK again.....WEEEEE
song mens.....
nakitas
22-05-2005, 01:29 AM
4-3-3 looks good for Man Utd.. mayB Fergie should try that next season.. gd attacking mobility..
Agree wif tat... Tis formation is indeed veri interesting... Wif Rooney n Ronaldo falling back at times to help t midfield... I think Old fool might wanna test tis further during t Asian tour...
ragnarok95
22-05-2005, 01:30 AM
That is the wrong way of thinking kid!
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:31 AM
yeah....keane look abit out of the sort...after clashing with one player...
i think he is feeling the tireness and old legs.....
Ronaldo_7
22-05-2005, 01:32 AM
haiz... we lost the match.. unlucky.. we were the better team..
crazynut06
22-05-2005, 01:36 AM
man utd played a gd game....created chances but just could not score...it's a pity...
my respect to man utd for the attacking football
=)
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 01:44 AM
Van Nistelrooy plans 2008 PSV return
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=333932&cc=5739
AMSTERDAM, May 21 (Reuters) - Dutch striker Ruud van Nistelrooy says he wants see out his contract at Manchester United but then return to PSV Eindhoven in 2008 to finish his career.
Van Nistelrooy, who will be playing for United in the English FA Cup final in Cardiff on Saturday, said reports that he was unhappy at Old Trafford were nonsense.
'I love to play for Manchester and I will serve out my contract that runs till 2008,' said 28-year-old, who joined United from PSV for 19 million pounds in 2001.
'And if they want me I'd like to return to PSV, that would be perfect.'
United play Arsenal at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday, a last chance for silverware for both clubs.
'United should win more then only the FA Cup,' said Van Nistelrooy.
'We absolutely failed to fulfil expectations and were never really dominant and in that I am also responsible.'
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 01:47 AM
Gan dulan! Damn pissed right now! So fustrating see so many chances go to waste. How many times have i seen this? 8-9 times liao i think. B4 the actually penalty starts, i already knew United will probably lose. Those missed chances would play into the player's mind.
chengsun
22-05-2005, 01:51 AM
Gan dulan! Damn pissed right now! So fustrating see so many chances go to waste. How many times have i seen this? 8-9 times liao i think. B4 the actually penalty starts, i already knew United will probably lose. Those missed chances would play into the player's mind.
so wat u want now? it is over guy, shoot them to death like wat saddam's son did to iraq national player for not winning?
kahmun7
22-05-2005, 01:56 AM
actually, when I see Man Utd missing so many chances.. I sort of expected us to lose... it's just my gut feeling... like so many bore draws that we have when we conquered the game.. but the results show otherwise this season... disappointed I am... but it's over...
I hope we start rebuilding from here.. and cfind some way to come back stronger... I like Rooney's performance tonight...
AC Milan I hope will win on thursday morning.. good luck to them
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 02:00 AM
Glad the nightmare season is over man. Really need a break from football, fustrating football to be exact.
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 02:04 AM
actually, when I see Man Utd missing so many chances.. I sort of expected us to lose... it's just my gut feeling... like so many bore draws that we have when we conquered the game.. but the results show otherwise this season... disappointed I am... but it's over...
I hope we start rebuilding from here.. and cfind some way to come back stronger... I like Rooney's performance tonight...
AC Milan I hope will win on thursday morning.. good luck to them
Haha same sentiments... miss many chances = lose
That's the curse for our season
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 02:06 AM
damn i cant wait for epl actions again soon..... :o
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 02:15 AM
Dunno wat SAF gonna say...
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 02:20 AM
Dunno wat SAF gonna say...
relac la buddys....lets go edmw relac one corner
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 02:21 AM
That is the wrong way of thinking kid!
hahahaa... I noe it's wrong to think that way. But still, I will rather to see an interesting game than a boring game. ANyway, today's 1st half reminds me of 2002's WC. Dun U think Man Utd just like Brazil, kept attacking, whereas Arsenal just like Germany kept keeping the ball to their sides. It's only after 2nd half, they starting to play more offensive.
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 02:22 AM
I feel United missed Beckham, esp wif so many free kicks on the edge of the box. Bring back Beckham i say!
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 02:25 AM
yeah....keane look abit out of the sort...after clashing with one player...
i think he is feeling the tireness and old legs.....
Huat bro, if ur "little bro" got in actions too @ tat v.moment, I think U will also feel out of ur thinking & playing. They got show it on tv what. I think they accidentally film it or purposely show it to see where did he hurt himself.. I think he injuried his groin and his "little bro"... Anyway, he is old what... Tiredness will always follow a sport player no matter how old he is.
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 02:27 AM
Huat bro, if ur "little bro" got in actions too @ tat v.moment, I think U will also feel out of ur thinking & playing. They got show it on tv what. I think they accidentally film it or purposely show it to see where did he hurt himself.. I think he injuried his groin and his "little bro"... Anyway, he is old what... Tiredness will always follow a sport player no matter how old he is.
jiejie....i dunch noe he kena his little didi :s31:
sorrys :o :(
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 02:28 AM
I dnt think we should treat support Milan juz becos they r playing against Liverpool lor... Both r gd teams, gd enuff to make it to t finals... Well, comparing t performance n strength of both teams, i m betting Milan to win tis... But even if Liverpool wins it, i'll juz b as happy lor... :D
Bro, I am not supporting Milan just becos they are playing against Liverpool. Personally, I like AC Milan in the Italian region. It's just that I love Man Utd more than AC Milan and also supporting Man Utd longer.
Lolx, can U guys imagine if AC Milan beat both Liverpoll & Man Utd when their founder (the first founder) is an Englishman? :s13: :s13:
Hahhaa.. IT's just like saying English people "kills" themselves.. lolx...
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 02:30 AM
hahahaa.. I also didn't purposely go and take notice,but the commentators are just too interested in where he hurts himself & hw he gt injuried, so the camera kept facing him and it happened when eh put his hand into there, U noe... Dun wana to further explain.. Sounds a little bit pervert.
Anyway, Huat bro, relieve or not??? I am so happy now.. hahahaa..
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 02:32 AM
Still thinking abt the missed chances, make me sick. felt sorry for Rooney and Ronaldo, work their socks off yet gain nothing.
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 02:33 AM
hahahaa.. I also didn't purposely go and take notice,but the commentators are just too interested in where he hurts himself & hw he gt injuried, so the camera kept facing him and it happened when eh put his hand into there, U noe... Dun wana to further explain.. Sounds a little bit pervert.
Anyway, Huat bro, relieve or not??? I am so happy now.. hahahaa..
yeah....i'm very relieved. can't even slp now :o
u not sleeping yet? :o
usjag_18
22-05-2005, 02:41 AM
Still thinking abt the missed chances, make me sick. felt sorry for Rooney and Ronaldo, work their socks off yet gain nothing.
Tat's the life of playing sports. U win some, U lose some. It's either U win alot or U win nothing. I guess they will be even better next season and coming seasons. As long as Glazer dun destroy Man Utd.
yeah....i'm very relieved. can't even slp now :o
u not sleeping yet? :o
I am going to sleep soon. Tonite will be goodnite and sweet nite to slp man.... Lolx.. :s13: relax urself and go and slp lah...
Upset cannot do anything... Just remember that our players did their best. They never being sorry for themselves. They did all they can. Even though they can even do it better. But this is the best game of all compared to others man for all these years playing against Arsenal.
AhHuat
22-05-2005, 02:44 AM
yeahs.....gd nite jiejie :o
**** day to have lost the final, f*ck. :(
We absolutely out played them, they won because Lehman was on great form today, and carrol couldnt save a penalty to save his fukcing life. :s27:
genesis113
22-05-2005, 03:24 AM
United played this way in so many games this season, then lost or draw at the end, our scoring record was poor. Games against C.Palace, Everton, Blackburn etc., we dominated like today, but just can't score, what's wrong?.
United need rebuild b4 next season.
SAF should learn the lessonsfrom these.
tt32003
22-05-2005, 07:45 AM
**** day to have lost the final, f*ck. :(
We absolutely out played them, they won because Lehman was on great form today, and carrol couldnt save a penalty to save his fukcing life. :s27:
Not Carol's fault.
A keeper is never expected to save a penalty but an outfielf player is expected to score it.
It's the fault of the player who missed the penalty and those who missed all the chances to score in the match.
Totti76
22-05-2005, 08:37 AM
Not Carol's fault.
A keeper is never expected to save a penalty but an outfielf player is expected to score it.
It's the fault of the player who missed the penalty and those who missed all the chances to score in the match.
Well said...actually i think arse player took all 5 pen. really well..
For us..beside Scholes I think Ronaldo was lucky...if GK dive to right he would hv save it too.
Well...I m proud of how Utd played..we were the better team...will be wearing utd jersey today.
It is also not a bad thing that we lost...now we all can look at our players. Who need to move on..who done enough to stay. I feel we really need to change...not just the players...but our style of play...if there is any.
nakitas
22-05-2005, 10:01 AM
YA lor, shouldnt blame anyone during t penalties... Everyone have a 50/50 chance... In or out, save or miss... Aiyah... Happy ManUtd did well, n we know it can liao...
Its another of those days.. the whole Utd team played well but just couldn't deliver the killer goals. Lehmann pulled off at least 3 great saves while Ljungberg cleared off the line... on most other days, just one of these shots ON TARGET would have settled the match.
SAF got his tactics right, stifling the creative Cole-Pires left flank with Brown and Fletcher. Reyes was marked out of most of the match and ended up being sent off in frustration. Bergkamp was also well marshalled, did nothing and was replaced. Arsenal only started to do something when the mobile Ljungberg came on on the right flank... SAF responded tactically by replacing O'Shea with the more mobile and aggressive Fortune... worked well IMO.
I'm actually quite happy with SAF's tactics and the 4-3-3 formation...all players did well... Carroll had a Barthez-Howard moment when he uncharacteristically charged out of the box at Reyes and left the goal gaping...other than that and a good diving free kick save from van Persie, he had little to do.
For the penalties SAF should have replaced him with the far more acrobatic Howard before the end of the match... this is his main mistake IMO. We all know that Carroll is a lousy shot-stopper...on one-on-ones and penalties, sure hk one.
Lehmann should have been MoM... this was his final and he won it single-handedly for Arsenal.... but he is not too popular and being German makes it harder for the locals to vote him above their English Wonder Boy.
Objectively speaking Utd did well...even Scholes' penalty shot was struck with some power...just not perfect enough into the corner to avoid being saved after Lehmann guessed correctly. Other than not subbing in Howard to take the PKs.. SAF's tactics and formation was spot-on.
Now for the main complaint...Utd is USELESS is deadball situations!! Toothless with freekicks, useless with corners... should hire some proper coaches specialising in set-pieces... so many potential deadball opportunities wasted... pekchek!!
United_Treble
22-05-2005, 10:36 AM
rio goal where got off side
United_Treble
22-05-2005, 10:39 AM
haiz... we lost the match.. unlucky.. we were the better team..
we never lost e match, they nv beat us in 90 min or even after extra time, penalties is luck, it doesnt count or determine a team lose or win from that
rio goal where got off side
He was offside (inactive player not interfering with play) when Rooney fired in his drive...by following up in the same move, he made himself active (interfering with play)...automatically making him offside.
Raul7
22-05-2005, 10:57 AM
ya, i saw the replay....... :o
Ronaldo7
22-05-2005, 11:11 AM
end of the season liao .
interesting to see how many players we are going to be linked with :s13:
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=278383&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=FERGIE:+JUST+OURSELVES+TO+BLAME&channel=English_Cups
Fergie: Ourselves to blame
Sir Alex Ferguson believes that Manchester United will be galvanised by FA Cup disappointment, but admitted they only had themselves to blame.
United dominated the FA Cup final, but were beaten on penalties after failing to take their chances.
"Football can be like that," said Ferguson. "We've seen it today and we've experienced it.
"I think I have a very good team and on that kind of form we could beat anyone.
"We're just disappointed. We've missed chances all season so we've only got ourselves to blame.
"After half time we really got our game together."
Ferguson was glowing in his praise of his young players, admitting he thought Wayne Rooney or Cristiano Ronaldo were superb.
"You could have tossed a coin between them for man of the match," added Ferguson.
"There is a great future for these boys and they will be here for a long time, thankfully.
"We've always been galvanised by adversity and we have the character to do that."
Akane_Sakura
22-05-2005, 12:15 PM
i was really glad to c giggs on e bench last nite ~!~!
utd did well enurf w/o him on e pitch
1920_me
22-05-2005, 12:17 PM
ferguson put it well..its been a story of our season..created many chances easily..not finishing them off...then again..i rather lose the fa cup than play like arsenal and win it...it gives us hope for next season and proves that arsenal is the one man team...i doubt even henry could have made that much of a difference
Raul7
22-05-2005, 12:28 PM
i was really glad to c giggs on e bench last nite ~!~!
utd did well enurf w/o him on e pitch
maybe they want to get used to the style that without giggsy
croc1977
22-05-2005, 12:32 PM
I feel United missed Beckham, esp wif so many free kicks on the edge of the box. Bring back Beckham i say!
agree we miss becks alot...no one is specialist in that in this team.,...not even rooney ...
i really hope glazer will bring becks back as rumors cos we really need his free kicks ,corners and crossing...
imaging we got so many fouls outside the box by gunners and taken by becks...
but the problem is how to fill becks if he plaed yesterday...replace flecter??
i won't mind cos if his long direct pass he could have found rooney and ronaldo ...crossing too..
yes this game sums up our season....we have been domiating games but we cannot finnish.....
if glazer want to win fans he have to purchase top class stikers and midfiled to replace keano next season...
a striker with pace and power...a strkier like eto....if he spend $$ buy that i would really kudos to him..
RVN has lost it...his best finishing instict loss...like yesterdsay....
he cannot run or dribble...rooney can play as 2nd striker...
we need an OUT N OUT striker...and eto or at least owen...to finnish it...and becks too...
ralliart_ray
22-05-2005, 02:05 PM
lets look forward to a better EPL, FA and ECL next season.... any new signings/ or rumors yet?
chengsun
22-05-2005, 03:43 PM
I am never a TNP suspporter, once a while will buy a copy to read after a major match day, like what I did today.
Was really amazed, a bit of angry, when I see this kind of article, so-called review, analyst is there in the TNP. The title is "Sell Him!" with the picture of RVN beside it.
But judging from his uninspiring performance in the FA Cup final in Cardiff last night, it won't be long before he loses favour with his manager, SAF.
Ferguson may not buy this, but my suggestion to the Scotsman is to sell the Dutch striker.
If United are to challenge cash-rich Chelsea next season, he has to go for proven goalscorers such as Adriano form Inter-Milan or Barcelona;s Samuel Eto'o.
To be fair to RVN, he has been dogged by injuries this season. Yes, he has 19 goals to his name. But his form since returning to the United line-up in February has been far from prolific. He has only found the net twice in eight Premiership games.
To be very frank and blunt, I am ashamed of this kind of article on a national tabloid, and if United really does this.
His reason is just becasue Ruud din scored more after his back from injury, which was just less than 3 months (or maybe 2 months) till now. And regardless that he scored 17 goals before that! What kind of logic is that? Is this the way to treat 1 of the best strikers in the squad? Just coz of poor form for few months while he has been scoring goals for us for 2 or 3 years or even more? Who will still dare to come to us if this really happened? such a heartless club with no human feeling.
Just half a season scoring 17 goals still not enough? How many did EPL champion's Drogba scored? How many did Pool's individual striker scored? and How many did Raul scored? Aren't them PROVEN STRIKERS?
Does he knows that Adriano was just the same few months back and went through a goal drought before falling injured again now? If not for Cruz and Martins and Recoba and Vieri, Inter would also be in SH|T! And to be honest, Eto'o is the only real striker in Barca squad before Maxi Lopez arrived while we have 4 right from the start of the season!
How many strikers in the world can be like Schvechenko, start scoring from the 1st game after injury like nothing? Can anyone give more examples?
Rubbish! Utter rubbish.
rVn_mUfC
22-05-2005, 04:03 PM
I agree, those media always run a person down when they are in a bad patch, and lick their boot when they r scoring freely.
Ronaldo7
22-05-2005, 04:57 PM
i was laughing when i was reading the article . the reporter really cmi lah . the best part is that he said we should go for proven strikers like adriano and eto . as if both are up for sale and we got the money and what ruud is past his prime lah , give me a break :s13:
RuMmYtUb
22-05-2005, 06:10 PM
Seriously those TNP reporters know nuts about soccer..
i vote for usjag_18 jie jie to fill the void and become the new resident reporter.. her knowledge is much more breathtaking..
leslielai_
22-05-2005, 06:33 PM
i vote for usjag_18 jie jie to fill the void and become the new resident reporter.. her knowledge is much more breathtaking..
Everyone loves the TNP pundits like Edwin, Tze Xiong and Brian. Bet against them and your wallet will be nourished :o
SimpleDude
22-05-2005, 06:50 PM
Exactly their lack of soccer knowledge is damn obvious thats y i dun buy TNP since donkey yrs back. Only waste money manz
Raul7
22-05-2005, 07:11 PM
yeah...lai lai all vote for her...hahahaa :s13:
chengsun
22-05-2005, 07:13 PM
so who exactly is that hanming who wrote that article? any background of him?
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 09:32 PM
Now for the main complaint...Utd is USELESS is deadball situations!! Toothless with freekicks, useless with corners... should hire some proper coaches specialising in set-pieces... so many potential deadball opportunities wasted... pekchek!!
I also agree... Glazer must come out with money to hire the best set pieces specialist coach and best finishing coach. :D
mediacorpforever
22-05-2005, 09:35 PM
Did Joel Glazer attend yesterday's match in Cardiff? I thought i saw him on tv, dunno if it's really him.
Raul7
22-05-2005, 10:36 PM
Did Joel Glazer attend yesterday's match in Cardiff? I thought i saw him on tv, dunno if it's really him.
maybe is him......the cam keep shooting him....
Ronaldo7
22-05-2005, 10:43 PM
don't think is him lah , just a lookalike only .
don't think he got the balls to turn up for any man utd match also :s13:
Raul7
22-05-2005, 10:50 PM
don't think is him lah , just a lookalike only .
don't think he got the balls to turn up for any man utd match also :s13:
hahaha..later tio whacked :s13:
blackevil_2000
22-05-2005, 11:21 PM
this is freaking sianz yesterday lose fa cup now no $$ look 4 player
MatrixFanatic
23-05-2005, 12:07 AM
Haiz so disappointed with the loss. Should have won. Seems like bad luck is still with the team.
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 02:52 AM
I agree, those media always run a person down when they are in a bad patch, and lick their boot when they r scoring freely.
yeah... sibei sian one... :s22:
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 02:53 AM
yeah...lai lai all vote for her...hahahaa :s13:
lai lai... Vote +1 haha ~
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 03:09 AM
Well said...actually i think arse player took all 5 pen. really well..
For us..beside Scholes I think Ronaldo was lucky...if GK dive to right he would hv save it too.
Well...I m proud of how Utd played..we were the better team...will be wearing utd jersey today.
It is also not a bad thing that we lost...now we all can look at our players. Who need to move on..who done enough to stay. I feel we really need to change...not just the players...but our style of play...if there is any.
yeah... the 5 penalties were very well taken.. perhaps they expected this kind of situation and trained during training.. all of them were so high.. hard to save too..
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 03:59 AM
I am never a TNP suspporter, once a while will buy a copy to read after a major match day, like what I did today.
Was really amazed, a bit of angry, when I see this kind of article, so-called review, analyst is there in the TNP. The title is "Sell Him!" with the picture of RVN beside it.
To be very frank and blunt, I am ashamed of this kind of article on a national tabloid, and if United really does this.
His reason is just becasue Ruud din scored more after his back from injury, which was just less than 3 months (or maybe 2 months) till now. And regardless that he scored 17 goals before that! What kind of logic is that? Is this the way to treat 1 of the best strikers in the squad? Just coz of poor form for few months while he has been scoring goals for us for 2 or 3 years or even more? Who will still dare to come to us if this really happened? such a heartless club with no human feeling.
Just half a season scoring 17 goals still not enough? How many did EPL champion's Drogba scored? How many did Pool's individual striker scored? and How many did Raul scored? Aren't them PROVEN STRIKERS?
Does he knows that Adriano was just the same few months back and went through a goal drought before falling injured again now? If not for Cruz and Martins and Recoba and Vieri, Inter would also be in SH|T! And to be honest, Eto'o is the only real striker in Barca squad before Maxi Lopez arrived while we have 4 right from the start of the season!
How many strikers in the world can be like Schvechenko, start scoring from the 1st game after injury like nothing? Can anyone give more examples?
Rubbish! Utter rubbish.
:s13: chengsun bro, relax lah... Dun angry over such idiots. Anyway, who's the reporter tt wrote this article?
TNP sucks up big time, most of their soccer articles are not even research or ntoice by themselves. Usually, they just quoted from some BIG newspapers, like Reuters or BBC. Not only they didn't feel shameful for not able to give good comments, they always give rubbish comments. From Edwin (A Spurs supporter) to the recent, what is that guy's name Tojhan or whatever s.h.i.t!! Is he really a coach of Singapore soccer team or our local clubs' coach b4? Totally rubbish. Always tok nonsense abt their knowledge abt soccer. When it's their clubs winning, then they started to praise their clubs. ONe said he supports Spurs, one said he's a big fan of Liverpool. But what does they really know about these two clubs. Like Tojhan, kept talking nonsense abt how badly Liverpool have done in league games. The problems like they are a brand team that is trying out players and combinations and players got injuries and etc... were NEVER mentioned. And this old man only know how to "quote" others' comments. Shamed on him man...
As for Edwin, even worse, always talk cock last time whenever Man Utd got big game with Spurs. Seriously, even for now, Spurs still doing really superbly bad! Even though they got tons of good players... What are their problems? Did he even tried to mentioned. Is it really Hoddle's fault or the players who are sleeping during important games? Even though I am a MAn Utd craze. But over the years, we can see how many good players Spurs got but why they still get nothing? Is it really becos of bad coaching or becos of no motivation among the players? Never mentioned problems... Only always talking rubbish abt how they think the team should improve this & that... But they all can only think of improvement.. But those improvement got nothing to do with the problems they are really facing....
How they dare to comments on selling RVN??? WTH are they thinking when they are comparing RVN & T.Henry abt who is a better player? One moment said RVN is better than Henry. Den after injuries and left w/o more than 20 goals and they said Man Utd is better off w/o RVN??? What kinda of club will we be if we just sell him away in this sense. It's not as if he's not injuried and still unable to score. Or he's not having problems in adapting in EPL's style. How could they said this? And what does they know about what happened to Adriano until recently? Or Eto'o? Or even Riquelme?
only noe how to talk rubbish, I rather them to talk rubbish to themselves than talking rubbish using the newspaper... TNP = GlORY HUNTER's favourite newspaper! Talk cock king!!! :mad: :mad:
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 04:11 AM
Lolx... In the end, after finish typing this posting, I got angry by myself.. hahahaa.. *sigh*
these reporters are really totally rubbish man.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 04:13 AM
nope, it's not him. definitely not him. becos a lot of supporters outside the stadium waiting to attack him. But i dun think they will be able to attack him even it's him. Heard from one of my frens in UK studying now said that a lot of rumours that J.Glazer & his dad will be having bodyguards w/them all the time whenever they go to UK recent yrs. LOlx.. I guess so too bah... Otherwise, surely will get K-up by those supporters.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 04:17 AM
:s13: :s13: Thank you, Raul7 & Ronaldo7 bros for supporting me.. But seriously, even knowledge cannot make me a good reporter. Lolx... I will be very very very bias person... hehehee... And will get too emotional when it coems to Man Utd... Wah, den surely cannot make a good report man... Must find someone who's cool-headed and understand soccer very much & also must be interested in soccer and not just like TNP, just find some nonsensical ppl talking about soccer when they can't even analysed games and players carefully.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 04:25 AM
a striker with pace and power...a strkier like eto....if he spend $$ buy that i would really kudos to him..
RVN has lost it...his best finishing instict loss...like yesterdsay....
he cannot run or dribble...rooney can play as 2nd striker...
we need an OUT N OUT striker...and eto or at least owen...to finnish it...and becks too...
First of all, I disagree with you when U said RVN lost it. In fact, I saw another side of RVN. A more defensive and hard-man RVN. Instead of always staying in front, he tried to run ahead and try to steal the balls from opponents, even though he didn't do well. And also he tried to dribble the ball, he may not do it as good as Eto'o but important thing is he tried his best. Even for Samuel Eto'o, he may not be able to do it so well w/o good partner. What Eto'o had in Real Mallorca last season and this season @ Barcelona is he got a bunch of good supportive and creative partners and team-mates on the field. What our players lack of is not CREATIVENESS, what they lack is team support also known as team work. But I saw that coming out so strongly yesterday when they against Arsenal, I am so totally ecstatic as this is a team, I hope I can see next season. If they can play so well in this game.
Real up for Ron
Real Madrid last night admitted they want to sign Cristiano Ronaldo. Real boss Vanderlei Luxemburgo is even considering converting the Manchester United winger, 20, into a striker. That would push Michael Owen down the Bernabeu pecking order and could pave the way for a swap deal. Luxemburgo said: "Cristiano is a very strong kid. He plays on the wing, but could play a bit more as a striker. He's a great player. But signings are something we discuss internally. You always have to be careful."
David Harrison, News of the World
Rafa out to Kop O'Shea
John O'Shea is set to become the first player to move from Manchester United to hated rivals Liverpool in more than 40 years. Kop fan O'Shea is a £2.5m target for Rafa Benitez, who wants to do business as soon as possible after Wednesday night's Champions League Final against AC Milan. If the Ireland defender makes the switch, he will be the first player to do so since Phil Chisnall joined Liverpool from United in 1964.
Steve Millar, Daily Star
Stam: My regret over United exit
Jaap Stam has revealed the one major regret that haunts him as he approaches another epic night in his football career. Stam, 32, admitted: "Amid all the success I've had everywhere there is one thing that has always bothered me. It is the way I had to leave Manchester United. After three fantastic years full of success my exit at United was not something to be proud of. The way I left United still hurts me, no matter how many trophies I win."
David Phillips, Sunday Mirror
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 04:34 AM
Real up for Ron
Real Madrid last night admitted they want to sign Cristiano Ronaldo. Real boss Vanderlei Luxemburgo is even considering converting the Manchester United winger, 20, into a striker. That would push Michael Owen down the Bernabeu pecking order and could pave the way for a swap deal. Luxemburgo said: "Cristiano is a very strong kid. He plays on the wing, but could play a bit more as a striker. He's a great player. But signings are something we discuss internally. You always have to be careful."
David Harrison, News of the World
Rafa out to Kop O'Shea
John O'Shea is set to become the first player to move from Manchester United to hated rivals Liverpool in more than 40 years. Kop fan O'Shea is a £2.5m target for Rafa Benitez, who wants to do business as soon as possible after Wednesday night's Champions League Final against AC Milan. If the Ireland defender makes the switch, he will be the first player to do so since Phil Chisnall joined Liverpool from United in 1964.
Steve Millar, Daily Star
Jaap Stam has revealed the one major regret that haunts him as he approaches another epic night in his football career. Stam, 32, admitted: "Amid all the success I've had everywhere there is one thing that has always bothered me. It is the way I had to leave Manchester United. After three fantastic years full of success my exit at United was not something to be proud of. The way I left United still hurts me, no matter how many trophies I win."
Huh??? When did it happens? When did J.O'Shea become a target of Liverpool? :mad:
tell them we do the deal if they trade us Gerrard lol. ;)
from the daily star so it's likely to be bollocks
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 05:08 AM
tell them we do the deal if they trade us Gerrard lol. ;)
from the daily star so it's likely to be bollocks
I rather get someone else other than Stevie Gerrard. Errr... Who else in that team will suit right into our club...
Xabi Alonso another one I would have like. :o
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 05:39 AM
Xabi Alonso another one I would have like. :o
Ya, he's not bad. But I think he will developed even better under RB. Definitely not under Sr Alex Ferguson. But he's not a bad idea. I kinda of like Luis Garcia better even though a lot of ppl criticised about him not able to play well for Liverpool (mostly singapore liverpool supporters), but I still think he really played v.well for them even though he did make a few errors. But who doesn't? Even their beloved capt. Stevie also made silly mistakes.
RuMmYtUb
23-05-2005, 08:42 AM
Hella miss Jaap Stam, imagine now it's Stam-Rio partnership :eek:
chengsun
23-05-2005, 09:43 AM
Lolx... In the end, after finish typing this posting, I got angry by myself.. hahahaa.. *sigh*
these reporters are really totally rubbish man.
in this case, then i would rather TNP took, copy, quote from soccernet or bbc or watever, as least all these are PROVEN ARTICLES, pls stop giving us sh|t from this LimHanMing, who the hell is he?
chengsun
23-05-2005, 09:47 AM
aiyoh pls lah, y keep thinking about the pass? y keep mention "if", "imagine", "i want beck", "stam + rio"?
the thing is if stam is not gone, we won't even bring in rio, the money will be pumped to bring in other players.
nakitas
23-05-2005, 10:31 AM
Ya... T twin towers in defence...
United_Treble
23-05-2005, 10:43 AM
First of all, I disagree with you when U said RVN lost it. In fact, I saw another side of RVN. A more defensive and hard-man RVN. Instead of always staying in front, he tried to run ahead and try to steal the balls from opponents, even though he didn't do well. And also he tried to dribble the ball, he may not do it as good as Eto'o but important thing is he tried his best. Even for Samuel Eto'o, he may not be able to do it so well w/o good partner. What Eto'o had in Real Mallorca last season and this season @ Barcelona is he got a bunch of good supportive and creative partners and team-mates on the field. What our players lack of is not CREATIVENESS, what they lack is team support also known as team work. But I saw that coming out so strongly yesterday when they against Arsenal, I am so totally ecstatic as this is a team, I hope I can see next season. If they can play so well in this game.
why comapre ruud with eto, both played diff style, cant compare
Barcelona president Joan Laporta has made a move for Rio Ferdinand - and Manchester United are tempted to sell for £30m. (Daily Mirror)
:s22:
Ronaldo7
23-05-2005, 11:29 AM
how many matches did rvn played this season and how many goals he scored for us despite all those injuries ?
selling our best striker just doesn't make any sense to me . he is 28 and got a few more good years left in him and i can't wait for ole to be back next season too :evil:
Glazer plans £100m war chest for 4 years
By Nick Harris
23 May 2005
The Glazer family is this week expected to kick-start a public relations initiative aimed at Manchester United fans opposed to their takeover with an open letter from Joel Glazer pledging a four-year, £100m transfer budget.
Joel Glazer, a self-proclaimed "avid" fan, will take on an increasingly prominent role at United, which will become part of the business empire headed by his father, Malcolm, when their £790m takeover is complete.
The family owns just over 76 per cent of the club already and will send out a formal 300p-per-share offer document to the holders of the remaining shares within the next few days. Joel Glazer's open letter is likely to accompany the offer document but, significantly, be separate from it.
The family and its advisors have been at pains during the drafting of the offer document not to make any formal promises. Pledging a £25m-a-year transfer kitty would be too binding in a formal offer document, hence the informal letter.
The offer document is expected to be short on detail about how the family intends to make the necessary huge extra profits from United to repay the £540m they have borrowed to fund the purchase.
There is also likely to be an attempt to argue that the interest repayments will not be as high as the £46m-per-year estimated, with the rationale that one portion of their borrowing - £275m in high-interest "preference shares" - need not be repaid for several years. However, one estimate has suggested that deferring payments could see the Glazer family indebted to the tune of £894m within five years.
The United manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, who is expected to remain at the club, said over the weekend that he has not yet been informed about his transfer budget.
Ferguson is due to hold face-to-face talks with the Glazers soon but negotiations are unlikely until next month at the earliest. "I've not met them yet," he said. "I've only spoken to them on the phone, so it's early days... When we need a player we think can improve us, we try and get him.
"Obviously I'll sit down with the owners and we'll ascertain what the situation regarding that is."
http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/man_united/story.jsp?story=640643
ragnarok95
23-05-2005, 11:37 AM
Sorry for my poor english...
Is it 100 for 4 yrs?
Then each yr only......25?
Ronaldo7
23-05-2005, 11:45 AM
Is it 100 for 4 yrs?
you are right :s22:
spykid
23-05-2005, 11:47 AM
after watching sat's performance, i remain positive about our chances of winning trophies next season, seriously... hope united go bid for owen and also figo, and another centre-back, maybe chivu... sell saha to accomodate owen... fletcher imo is gonna be a major player for us next season... howard remains my no.1... and i'm looking forward to ole returning too...
leslielai_
23-05-2005, 01:05 PM
Oh please.
Owen is crap and will not suit our playing style. Rooney is already an improved and enhanced version of Owen (extra vision, ball control and pace) so why the **** do we need that short ass?
Figo is good ONLY if he comes free or a nominal fee. Saha should be kept at all costs. He has the killer instinct that top strikers have. Give him a chance lah.. Looking forward to Ole returning too.
And 25 million per season? **** off mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
chengsun
23-05-2005, 01:07 PM
u all see the rumours abt oshea? 2.5m to pool? so cheap n he is a pool fans? quite idiotic
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:11 PM
why comapre ruud with eto, both played diff style, cant compare
That's what I am trying to say, they are unable to be compared, the ones that are comparing them is TNP.
RuMmYtUb
23-05-2005, 01:12 PM
25m/year... hmm, i think no more big signings liao..
Fergie must scout properly and unearth gd young players..
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:15 PM
how many matches did rvn played this season and how many goals he scored for us despite all those injuries ?
selling our best striker just doesn't make any sense to me . he is 28 and got a few more good years left in him and i can't wait for ole to be back next season too :evil:
Errrmm.... For an injuried striker, I think he's still very good. Imagine others who are injuried and they will just stayed injuried w/o scoring anything for their clubs. Whereas, RVN scored 8 goals in CL and others for FA Cup & league's games. So he's still doing quite well... If I am not wrong, he already scored abt 15 goals this season even though he's in & out of the games.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:18 PM
Is it 100 for 4 yrs?
tt's why they are bringing in their debts to ask, so that we can buy players cheaply... Anyway, £100m also not too bad lah... But our average $$$ spent on players for the past few yrs are about £150m+ for the past 3yrs. So it's still quite a big difference. Not to mention that w/o DEBTS on hands.
chengsun
23-05-2005, 01:21 PM
rvn scored total 19 goal this season
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:24 PM
25m/year... hmm, i think no more big signings liao..
Fergie must scout properly and unearth gd young players..
Tt's what he's trying to do for the past few yrs. Just think of Giuseppe Rossi, Gerard Pique, Jonathan Spector, David Bellion (though 23yrs old, cannot count as young, but still can be counted as young compared to half of our team currently), Ron-Robert Zieler, Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo and etcc.... Not to mention, Kieran Richardson.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:26 PM
See... Even w/injuries, he still able to score at least 19goals, this is phenomenal, sensational man. How can he be selling away by Man Utd?
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 01:38 PM
Is it 100 for 4 yrs?
Maybe £100 can be get only 1 player in these 5 yrs...
travmufc
23-05-2005, 02:06 PM
i checked soccernet it says 16? with rooney the topscorer at 17 in all competitions.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 02:08 PM
See... Even w/injuries, he still able to score at least 19goals, this is phenomenal, sensational man. How can he be selling away by Man Utd?
erm to be exact, looking at goals in the league, he has 6 goals from 16 starts only. definitely a failure in his standards. :)
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 02:09 PM
That's only for league games if I am not wrong. We are talking about all competitions. The one @ soccernet usually only for league games.
What a picture man!!! Scary English local supporters (Click the image)
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 02:16 PM
erm to be exact, looking at goals in the league, he has 6 goals from 16 starts only. definitely a failure in his standards. :)
A FAILURE??? When A.Cole failed to score important goals in CL, he was treated like KING, when RVN failed to score in league, he's treated like an outcast? Is this fair to a player trying so hard to play well even though he's INJURIED??? In the first place, I think those who criticise him shld try and get injuried themselves and see whether can they score as much goals as he is... Sorry, no offence, I dun meant U. But I find most of the supporters are criticised him due to too many newspaper comments about how he failed to perform and blah blah blah. Seriously, what does reporters nowadays know anything about soccer? 9 out of the 10 newspapers' reporters are always giving nonsense and what abt the No.10 reporter? He's from Singapore, talking not only nonsensical comments, they are mostly COPY-CAT of every seasons.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 02:21 PM
That's only for league games if I am not wrong. We are talking about all competitions. The one @ soccernet usually only for league games.
What a picture man!!! Scary English local supporters (Click the image)
its for all competitions cos its stated clearly there. i dun think RVN would have scored that many this season cos iirc he scored 8 goals in the CL already.
anw, a failure in his own high standards lah. not that we should blame him for that. no matter what views we may all differ in, it has to be agreed this season is a failure for man u in terms of results right?
mediacorpforever
23-05-2005, 02:30 PM
Season over liao. Let's reflect on what is your highlights of United's season?
For me top 5
1) Beating Arsenal ending their 49 match unbeaten run.
2) Rooney scoring a hattrick on his debut.
3) Beating Arsenal at Highbury, ending their title hopes.
4) Rio Ferdinand returns from suspension against Liverpool
5) Van Nistelrooy ending his goal drought by scoring 2 goals against Newcastle in FA Cup semifinal.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 02:35 PM
its for all competitions cos its stated clearly there. i dun think RVN would have scored that many this season cos iirc he scored 8 goals in the CL already.
anw, a failure in his own high standards lah. not that we should blame him for that. no matter what views we may all differ in, it has to be agreed this season is a failure for man u in terms of results right?
Sorry, maybe I didn't get what U meant... But are U trying to say becos of him, Man Utd is a failure just becos of the results? Seriously, if U are out of almost half of the seasons, what can U do to score? By just sitting down on the side bench, do U think he can do anything? And also, if he's not injuried, did he ever missed any goals for Man Utd?
Of cos, it may seems a failure to all of U or most of U, but in another point of view or angle of viewing, this can teach the players a lesson abt being treating smaller teams too lightly or even letting them know how harder they should be playing. Failure is the way to success. Ain't that's why elderly always said “胜败乃兵家常事” or “失败乃成功之母”. Or is it becos we are putting too much hopes on one RVN and forget that we still got Wayne Rooney, Alan Smith & Louis Saha. Oh, let's not even think of Louis Saha when msot of his times are injuries and injuries. But what about Alan Smith and Wayne Rooney? Of course, both Englishmen are good, but maybe not as good as what RVN's doing for the past few seasons. For a player like RVN, who always been scoring more than 20goals, this season may not be one of the best seasons for him afterall he been injuried more than half of the season. Just hope that every single strikers of our clubs will be INJURIES-FREE next season.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 02:42 PM
For me top 5
5) Van Nistelrooy ending his goal drought by scoring 2 goals against Newcastle in FA Cup semifinal.
good: the 2 aresnal wins, rooney debut and his stunning volley vs newcastle.
bad: the 2 chelsea defeat, impotency and glazer's arrival.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 02:46 PM
Sorry, maybe I didn't get what U meant... But are U trying to say becos of him, Man Utd is a failure just becos of the results? Seriously, if U are out of almost half of the seasons, what can U do to score? By just sitting down on the side bench, do U think he can do anything? And also, if he's not injuried, did he ever missed any goals for Man Utd?
ok. i think u are quite sensitive to the word failure. may i change it to disappointment then.
=:p
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 02:46 PM
For me top 5
Whoa, this is really a good idea...
I have about the same thinking as U. But is this goes by ranking or not?
If goes by ranking, for me, it's
1) Beating Arsenal (@ Highbury), ending their title hopes, especially with the score of Arsenal 2- 4 Man Utd and with Man Utd down by 10men.
2) Beating Arsenal ending their 49 match unbeaten run.
3) Gabriel Heinze came back from Olympic and had a phenomenal season for Man Utd even though got injuried @ the end of the season.
4) Wayne Rooney scoring a hattrick on his debut.
5) Our very own, baby-assassin, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, might be out of the games for good. - Why chose this as highlight? Becos he's one of our top players and I find him very motivative by Sr Alex Ferguson no matter who he's facing. Maybe becos he's just a super-sub, so he got as much as stress as other strikers, so with his injuries, we lack of one more strikers who will be a better replacement than Louis Saha in some areas. At least for me, I dun wanna to deny the fact that Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is also a very good crosser and also able to create chances for strikers as he himself is a striker, so he will understand the needs and positions that different strikers will be positioned.
Edit:-
After reminder of travmufc bro, I have to admit something tt I hate to admit. So changing of ranks.
I will combine 1&2 together and put Glazer's arrival as No.2.
So the new ranking is:-
1) Beating Arsenal (@ Highbury), ending their title hopes, especially with the score of Arsenal 2- 4 Man Utd and with Man Utd down by 10men & beating Arsenal ending their 49 match unbeaten run.
2) Arrival of Mr. Malcolm Glazer, the most HATRED man in the hearts of every single Man Utd supporters (maybe not all, but most of us).
3) Gabriel Heinze came back from Olympic and had a phenomenal season for Man Utd even though got injuried @ the end of the season.
4) Wayne Rooney scoring a hattrick on his debut.
5) Our very own, baby-assassin, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, might be out of the games for good.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 02:49 PM
ok. i think u are quite sensitive to the word failure. may i change it to disappointment then.
=:p
hahahaa... true, that's why I am a woman and U are a guy.. lolx... Women are mostly more sensitive. Lolx...
Anyway, it's really true that Glazer's arrival is a highlight, but hate to admit it.. hahaha... =:p
mediacorpforever
23-05-2005, 02:57 PM
But is this goes by ranking or not?
Yap. I still remember Van Nistelrooy on his knees screaming like mad. Sebei songz manz when i think back.
1920_me
23-05-2005, 02:58 PM
we have so much to look forward to..i cant wait for the next season...
mediacorpforever
23-05-2005, 03:06 PM
Do u guys think last week FA Cup final is a classic? Although it's 0-0, but a lot of goalmouth action. Newspaper report also nv mention this as a classic. But i feel it is. Nailbiting stuff.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 03:06 PM
hahahaa... true, that's why I am a woman and U are a guy.. lolx... Women are mostly more sensitive. Lolx...
Anyway, it's really true that Glazer's arrival is a highlight, but hate to admit it.. hahaha... =:p
yah. crap in forum also must use abit of EQ to prevent getting flamed. :)
i got no confidence in this glazer's ability to settle the debts lor. and it also sickens me that man u will end up as a cash cow to some fellow who have no interest in its tradition and history.
travmufc
23-05-2005, 03:08 PM
Do u guys think last week FA Cup final is a classic? Although it's 0-0, but a lot of goalmouth action. Newspaper report also nv mention this as a classic. But i feel it is. Nailbiting stuff.
mabbe its a classic only to us, the man u supporters. its seldom we see arsenal being so significantly dominated by us. we also look like scoring whenever we attack, but too bad luck is not with us.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 03:15 PM
mabbe its a classic only to us, the man u supporters. its seldom we see arsenal being so significantly dominated by us. we also look like scoring whenever we attack, but too bad luck is not with us.
errrm... Good point. Same POV for me, not an overall classic. But maybe a classic for Man Utd supporters.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 03:18 PM
By soccernet's different correspondents.
Source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=333692&cc=4716)
cutieboy86
23-05-2005, 04:52 PM
We can take it
Roy Keane warned the gloom merchants ready to bury Manchester United: We WILL be back. United’s FA Cup final defeat by bitter rivals Arsenal in an agonising penalty shootout left them without a trophy for only the third time in 15 seasons. But Keane, 33, insisted: “Everyone is upset by this but there are some strong characters in our dressing room. The quality is there and I definitely believe we can bounce back from this next season.” Whizkids Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo were two of United’s shining lights as they battered Arsenal in the goalless draw at Cardiff. But Gunners keeper Jens Lehmann saved Paul Scholes’ spot-kick in the shootout — and Patrick Vieira netted the winning penalty to deny United their 12th FA Cup triumph. United boss Alex Ferguson insisted: “Arsenal knew they had got a real battering.”
Shaun Custis, The Sun
Fergie: Two more years
Alex Ferguson will stay at Manchester United for two more years — and then retire for good. Fergie, 63, does not want to work beyond 65 and has relayed his decision to Old Trafford’s board members. The boss will also tell new owner Malcolm Glazer of his plans in a meeting he aims to have in the next fortnight. And this time he will not go back on his decision. Fergie said: "We need to sit down with the new owners and see what the situation is. I haven't met them but I've spoken to them twice on the phone. But I'm going on holiday on June 1 and I'm not changing that - not at my age."
Neil Custis, The Sun
cutieboy86
23-05-2005, 04:52 PM
Roon & Ron Will Be Stronger After Defeat - Keane
Roy Keane has praised the "outstanding" contributions of Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo after United's cruel FA Cup final defeat to Arsenal in Cardiff.
The Gunners eventually took the trophy after the Reds went down 5-4 in a tense penalty shoot-out - the first ever to decide a Cup final - following a goalless 120 minutes of football.
United dominated possession during the match and had the best of the chances thanks largely to the impressive displays by both Ronaldo and Rooney, who was also named Man of the Match.
The two youngsters were understandably distraught after the game, but their captain insists they will be stronger for the experience.
"Ronaldo and Rooney were outstanding and they will be back," Keane told MUTV.
"The young players were very distraught after the game but they will be better for it. We saw from that performance how outstanding they are.
"Our fans expect trophies but the fact is we all share in the glory and we all share the disappointments."
Roy Keane
"Football is about highs and lows and we are all disappointed.
"We played quite well and had plenty of chances but it's about putting the ball in the back of the net and we didn't quite manage it.
"It's small consolation to say we were the better team, created all the chances and dominated.
"I am sure the Arsenal players won't be too bothered about that. They've got the winners' medals and cup. We haven't."
Paul Scholes missed the crucial penalty which handed Arsenal the Cup for the tenth time, but Keane was quick to lend his support to his midfield colleague.
"Paul's penalty was saved but you have to remember the number of times he has saved us," explained the Irishman. "Hopefully, people won't forget that.
"Someone is eventually going to miss a penalty and unfortunately for us it just wasn't meant to be.
"It's just the way it goes; the keeper picked the right side and that was it.
"It's surprising the chances we've had and not scored from this season," he added. "But sometimes it's just not going to be your day. We have to take the lows with us.
"We are Manchester United and it's part of life. Our fans expect trophies but the fact is we all share in the glory and we all share the disappointments."
chengsun
23-05-2005, 05:07 PM
By soccernet's different correspondents.
Source (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/feature?id=333692&cc=4716)
hmmm, this 1 got a bit more depth, better than that one copycat on ST
RuMmYtUb
23-05-2005, 06:28 PM
Ferdinand 'even more hungry' for glory
Tearful Rio Ferdinand has expressed his hunger to make up for Saturday's crushing FA Cup final disappointment by winning more honours with Manchester United.
Like Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo, Ferdinand broke down immediately after Arsenal's penalty shoot-out triumph at the Millennium Stadium.
The £29.3million defender was barely able to comprehend how a game United dominated for so long eventually turned against them, costing him a chance of add to a medal haul that contains just a single winner's gong from the Premiership title-winning campaign two seasons ago.
With his lucrative contract extension still unsigned, Ferdinand has yet to totally convince every United fan that his future remains at Old Trafford.
Yet, he continues to insist the drive to banish the memory of a miserable weekend in South Wales will see him push for glory with his current club.
'I want to win trophies at Manchester United,' confirmed the England star.
'What happened on Saturday will just make me even more hungry to do that.
'We are disappointed not to have achieved what we set out to do, which was to win the FA Cup, but we are confident in our own ability and I am sure we will come back.'
In an individual capacity, Ferdinand could absolve himself of any blame for the loss.
The former Leeds star turned in an immaculate performance at the heart of United's rearguard. He rarely put a foot out of step, kept Dennis Bergkamp and Jose Antonio Reyes quiet and would even have scored his first goal in three seasons with the Red Devils had a linesman's flag not ruled him offside when Jens Lehmann turned a Wayne Rooney piledriver into his path.
Another clean sheet took United's tally to 31 for the season, an incredible effort even in a campaign where Chelsea have set new standards for defensive excellence, and suggests Sir Alex Ferguson should look elsewhere for the reasons why his team have finished empty-handed for the second time in four seasons.
The long-serving Scot will not have to look very far for an alternative suggestion. After scoring just once from 27 attempts at goal against West Brom recently, United did not manage to open their account with 20 efforts in Cardiff.
It is scarcely believable a squad containing Rooney, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Louis Saha and Alan Smith should struggle for goals, yet that is exactly what has happened.
'We played really well but we did not put our chances away. And if you don't score goals, you don't win games,' admitted Ferdinand.
'As I keep saying, consistency wins you league titles. The table does not lie and we have not been as consistent as we would have liked to be.
'In the end, it felt like we got hit by a sucker punch.'
Even if Malcolm Glazer's reported £20million transfer kitty materialises, the United camp will need to hope their scoring nightmare is nothing more than a blip as, with Roy Keane's ageing legs notching another year on the clock, and neither Roy Carroll nor Tim Howard looking quite the answer in goal, Ferguson's squad strengthening plans are more urgent in other departments.
Though the immediate reaction was one of defiance, Ferdinand struggled to find any distinct positives as he reflected on Arsenal's win, other than the responsible manner in which United's supporters controlled their anti-Glazer ire.
'They could easily have approached their protests in a different way but they were very controlled,' said Ferdinand.
'They came to support the team and that was the main thing to do.'
So will Ferdinand sign the contract?
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 06:30 PM
yeah... a true classic for us Man Utd faithfuls though eventually we lost it. but we know in our hearts.. we won it :)
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 06:58 PM
hmmm, this 1 got a bit more depth, better than that one copycat on ST
That's definitely. Afterall, they got professional reporters/correspondents, even though sometimes, these ppl can be lame, but they can really point out the problems and solutions well, except for some times.
Anyway, chengsun bro, which one U agree with? And the other BOB** think of this article?
So will Ferdinand sign the contract?
That's the main point! Good one, Rummytub. ;)
Cheers'
O'
**:- BAND OF BROTHERS for nw until when there's other gals over here. hahaha.... :P
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 06:59 PM
yeah... a true classic for us Man Utd faithfuls though eventually we lost it. but we know in our hearts.. we won it :)
Well said (underline & bold quote), Ron_7 bro. ;) :D
He is no closer to signing not when his agent is demanding insane weekly wages for his client and inviting offers from other clubs. :s27:
Barca want £30m Rio
Barcelona president Joan Laporta has made a move for Rio Ferdinand – and Manchester United are tempted to sell for £30million. The newly-crowned Spanish champions have been encouraged by the England defender’s contract dispute at Old Trafford and the United plc board’s refusal to meet Ferdinand’s massive wage demands. Ferdinand – who has two years left on his current deal – and his agent Pini Zahavi are demanding £125,000 a week :eek: , which would make him the highest-paid defender in the world. The plc board have made it clear that there is no way they will give him that sort of money, which would put him on a much higher level than every other player in the United squad. They would have to consult American tycoon Malcolm Glazer following his takeover before proceeding with any big transfer deals. The board is strongly recommending that they sell if the price is right because they do not want Ferdinand to run his contract down any further. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson made it clear he wanted a decision from Ferdinand on his future before Saturday’s FA Cup final, but that never came. Now Barcelona have made an approach directly to United to try to take advantage of the uncertainty at Old Trafford.
John Cross, Daily Mirror
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 07:14 PM
He is no closer to signing not when his agent is demanding insane weekly wages for his client and inviting offers from other clubs. :s27:
Barca want £30m Rio
Barcelona president Joan Laporta has made a move for Rio Ferdinand – and Manchester United are tempted to sell for £30million. The newly-crowned Spanish champions have been encouraged by the England defender’s contract dispute at Old Trafford and the United plc board’s refusal to meet Ferdinand’s massive wage demands. Ferdinand – who has two years left on his current deal – and his agent Pini Zahavi are demanding £125,000 a week :eek: , which would make him the highest-paid defender in the world. The plc board have made it clear that there is no way they will give him that sort of money, which would put him on a much higher level than every other player in the United squad. They would have to consult American tycoon Malcolm Glazer following his takeover before proceeding with any big transfer deals. The board is strongly recommending that they sell if the price is right because they do not want Ferdinand to run his contract down any further. United boss Sir Alex Ferguson made it clear he wanted a decision from Ferdinand on his future before Saturday’s FA Cup final, but that never came. Now Barcelona have made an approach directly to United to try to take advantage of the uncertainty at Old Trafford.
John Cross, Daily Mirror
Whoa, by paying him £125'000, he become the highest-paid defender arh? Den might as well sell him away @ twice the price what Barca willing to pay. Make them pay @ least £45-60m pounds, otherwise, I think a lot of supporters rather to let him ROT on the bench.....
cutter
23-05-2005, 07:24 PM
Althoug SAF is staying for at least the next 3 years under the new owners, wonder where O'Neill will go after his year-out to look after his wife? Standby to take over from SAF?
http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_153113.shtml
O'Neill looks ready to leave Celts
Monday May 23 2005
Martin O'Neill looks set to announce on Monday morning he will walk away from Celtic after watching his side throw away the Bank of Scotland Premier League title on Sunday.
Family issues had left O'Neill's future in doubt anyway but Rangers' unlikely triumph came thanks to Celtic's collapse, throwing away a 1-0 lead to lose 2-1 to Motherwell. After the match O'Neill refused to discuss his future and insisted the heartbreaking defeat would have no bearing on his decision.
"I have no comment to make on my future. This outcome does not come into my thoughts on my future."
O'Neill admitted the "devastation" in the dressing room was just as painful as it was when they lost the title to Rangers on the final day of the season 2002-2003 season. He said: "We have been up there consistently again every single year since being at the football club. We have either won the championship or been battling for it on the final day of the season.
"But this was as disappointing as 2003 and they are devastated as you might expect but the team will come back."
Rangers' 1-0 win over Hibernian seemed futile and the mood of both the players and fans reflected that. Celtic, meanwhile, looked to be cruising home but after wasting chances to extend their lead, Hoops fan Scott McDonald denied them the title with a late double to snatch victory for Terry Butcher's men.
O'Neill's side meet Dundee United in the Tennent's Scottish Cup final later this month and after that, the former Leicester boss looks likely to take a year out of football to spend time with his wife, who is ill.
The Parkhead chief praised the travelling supporters at Fir Park but did not hide his disappointment as both John Hartson, Craig Bellamy and goalscorer Chris Sutton wasted opportunities.
"We are very disappointed that we lost the game that we should have won easily. We missed about six or seven great chances to make it 2-0 so when it doesn't happen there is always a possibility of what did happen.
"It was one-way traffic in the second half and how we only had one goal to protect, God only knows," said O'Neill, who was gracious in defeat and admitted that Alex McLeish deserved to win his second title in three seasons."
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 07:40 PM
Well said (underline & bold quote), Ron_7 bro. ;) :D
hehe... thanks thanks ~ :D:P
Ronaldo_7
23-05-2005, 07:43 PM
Barca want £30m Rio
John Cross, Daily Mirror
what the hell... 100k still not enough.. nw ask for 125k ? this is getting ridiculous.. gt better players than him also never ask for so much man... :s27:
RuMmYtUb
23-05-2005, 07:56 PM
Whoa, by paying him £125'000, he become the highest-paid defender arh? Den might as well sell him away @ twice the price what Barca willing to pay. Make them pay @ least £45-60m pounds, otherwise, I think a lot of supporters rather to let him ROT on the bench.....
I thought we bought Rio for 30m rite?
So selling him to Barca = no profit..
But his wages demands if reports of his agents are correct, is uh damn high..
Why can't he just settle for 90 or 100k..
I thought we bought Rio for 30m rite?
So selling him to Barca = no profit..
But his wages demands if reports of his agents are correct, is uh damn high..
Why can't he just settle for 90 or 100k..
Because nowdays players have the power to extort more money from our club epsically with those greedy-ass agent backing them up. :s27:
chengsun
23-05-2005, 08:13 PM
well, obviously barca is taking advantage of the situation, but i think 30m is alright and ok to sell. get the 30m and buy another 2, 3 players to strengthen the squad. a general in defence is definitely needed coz we cant rely on wes or silvestry at the centre of defence
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 08:22 PM
well, obviously barca is taking advantage of the situation, but i think 30m is alright and ok to sell. get the 30m and buy another 2, 3 players to strengthen the squad. a general in defence is definitely needed coz we cant rely on wes or silvestry at the centre of defence
£30m is not enuff... Seriously, imagine the time we put on him and the mental support. Even nwdys, in Western countries, U can sue someone for not mentally support U, so I dun see why Man Utd cannot ask more than £30m. Afterall, Barcelona doesn't lack of $$$ now after signing a deal with China.
chengsun
23-05-2005, 08:24 PM
it is not abt money, but the situation. it is something that need to be settled asap, dun drag.
chengsun
23-05-2005, 08:26 PM
That's definitely. Afterall, they got professional reporters/correspondents, even though sometimes, these ppl can be lame, but they can really point out the problems and solutions well, except for some times.
Anyway, chengsun bro, which one U agree with? And the other BOB** think of this article?
well, i agree on all those over all, since i dun watch games a lots, cant comment too much, not professional.
but i dun agree on the manager part, i will choose moyes over bryan.
if u look at the article below, they also quoted the choice from others columnist, quite interesting also
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 08:31 PM
it is not abt money, but the situation. it is something that need to be settled asap, dun drag.
It depends how U see it. Of course, we shldn't have drag the issue. However, our current situation is we need to make all sale of player to be profitable. Afterall, we dun wanna to be drag to the grave even b4 Glazer putting debts into our piggy banks.
chengsun
23-05-2005, 08:40 PM
it is because now under glazer, so i dun care about profit now. when u play dai dee, if u think u high chance to win, so play fierce, big big, but if very low chance to win, so play not to loss much, or even play to draw. same sentiment.
play it fast into the transfer market, dun wait until others sign liao then u can only sigh. "sign" and "sigh" is just 1 alphabet different, but a huge difference. chels sign robben, we sigh.
RuMmYtUb
23-05-2005, 08:52 PM
But another problem will come if we sell Rio for 30m... so what if we've got 30m and no players wanna come to OT ?..
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 09:03 PM
well, i agree on all those over all, since i dun watch games a lots, cant comment too much, not professional.
but i dun agree on the manager part, i will choose moyes over bryan.
if u look at the article below, they also quoted the choice from others columnist, quite interesting also
Oh, I will choose B.Robson over D.Moyes. Firstly, must explain, not becos he used to be a player for Man Utd, so supporting him. The thing is, even though he doesn't have the biggest stars or a strong history like Everton, he still did his best to create a miracle together with his players. He's able to understand his players as well as the game itself. Maybe he's didn't not create a lot of things for WBA, but by letting them stay in EPL, I think he did a better job than G.Mergson and also he proves to be a more flexible manager. For Moyes, he did really badly for the last few games.
usjag_18
23-05-2005, 10:44 PM
Althoug SAF is staying for at least the next 3 years under the new owners, wonder where O'Neill will go after his year-out to look after his wife? Standby to take over from SAF?
I dun think Martin O'Neill will be able to do well for Man Utd as his experience in Euro with Celtic never been fantastic b4. I will like to see someone more experience like Ottmar Hitzfeld to be @ Old Trafford. Another manager will like to see him to lead Man Utd will be Gianluca Vialli. Even though he used to be Chelsea's manager, but I believe he will be totally different if there's any chances for him to become Man Utd's coach. Afterall, he's a very creative and versatile player cum manager. With his creative thinking, I believe that he will be able to bring out a different ways of playing soccer.
blackevil_2000
23-05-2005, 10:59 PM
i feel that SAF can do the job
come on have trust on him!!!!!!1
Raul7
23-05-2005, 11:05 PM
hehe... thanks thanks ~ :D:P
yeah......you the mannnnnnnn :s13:
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 12:00 AM
i feel that SAF can do the job
come on have trust on him!!!!!!1
Not that dun trust him. Just thinking who will be or shld be replacing Sr Alex Ferguson after his retirement.
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 12:13 AM
yeah......you the mannnnnnnn :s13:
YEAH!!! He's the man.... :s13: =:p
Ronaldo7
24-05-2005, 12:35 AM
But another problem will come if we sell Rio for 30m... so what if we've got 30m and no players wanna come to OT ?..
Rio Ferdinand insists that Manchester United's FA Cup final defeat to Arsenal has made him even hungrier for success at Old Trafford.
The England star is still negotiating a new contract with The Red Devils, but Ferdinand has again insisted his future is not in doubt as his thoughts are solely about winning trophies with United.
"I want to win trophies at Manchester United," he said.
"These sorts of setbacks make you come back hungrier and I want to win trophies with United.
"We are disappointed not to have achieved what we set out to do, which was to win the FA Cup, but we are confident in our own ability and I am sure we will come back."
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=278788&plid=2034&clid=1&cpid=
and he is not going to barca
http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=279095&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Barca+reject+Rio+claims&channel=Football_Home
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 01:23 AM
Glazer investment group to delist Manchester United on June 22
Bankers representing US tycoon Malcolm Glazer's investment vehicle, Red Football Limited, announced their intention to delist Manchester United from the London Stock Exchange on June 22.
Glazer has now acquired 76.2 percent of the total issued equity of the famous English Premiership club, enabling him to end United's 14-year stretch as a publicly listed company.
The announcement of his intention to take the world's richest football club private came Monday in an unconditional offer document.
"Red intends to procure that Manchester United makes applications to the United Kingdom Listing Authority for the cancellation of the listing of Manchester United Shares on the Official List and to the London Stock Exchange for the cancellation of trading in Manchester United Shares."
"It is expected that these cancellations will take effect on 22 June 2005, or as soon thereafter as is practicable," the statement added.
Glazer intends to continue repurchasing United shares at the offer price of 300-pence-per-share, which values the club at 790.3 million pounds (1.16 billion euros, 1.47 billion dollars), it added.
Minority shareholders in the club have until 1500 GMT on June 13 to accept Glazer's unconditional offer.
Glazer holds in excess of 75 percent of the club's equity and is therefore now able to de-list the club under stock market rules.
The 76-year-old tycoon, who also owns NFL franchise Tampa Bay Buccaneers, also said he would ask the senior management team to remain with the club and wanted to ensure United's "significant success" would continue.
"The Glazer family are keen supporters of Manchester United and long-term owners of Manchester United shares," Red Football said.
Source1 (http://sg.sports.yahoo.com/050523/1/3so0h.html)
Glazer to delist Man United as soon as June 22
LONDON (Reuters) - U.S. tycoon Malcolm Glazer plans to delist Manchester United as early as June 22 as part of his 790 million pound takeover, his bankers said on Monday.
In a statement, investment bank Rothschild said Glazer planned to apply to the listing authority to cancel Manchester United's listing from the London Stock Exchange, on June 22 "or as soon thereafter as is practicable."
Rothschild made the statement as it posted Glazer's offer document to shareholders, kicking off a timetable for the U.S. financier to close his acquisition of the 15-times English soccer champions.
Glazer already owns 76.2 per cent of United after acquiring a key stake from the club's biggest shareholder and snapping up other shares in a series of deals over the past two weeks.
Shareholders will be able to sell their shares to Glazer until 1300 on June 13, Rothschild said.
Source2 (http://sg.sports.yahoo.com/050523/3/3so04.html)
:s27: :s27: :mad: :mad:
United_Treble
24-05-2005, 01:35 AM
dun post this ga;zer thing here la, meest, plus many mu fan dun like to c his name here, why post and make urslef angry
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 01:35 AM
Glazer files Man Utd offer document
Malcolm Glazer today submitted his formal offer document revealing his takeover plans for Manchester United.
Shareholders now have until June 13 to decide whether or not they wish to offload their stock to the American tycoon.
The United board has 14 days to respond but, as Glazer with a stake in excess of 76% effectively controls the club, it seems inevitable that United chief executive David Gill will recommend the offer to shareholders.
The 76-year-old Tampa Bay Buccaneers owner needs 90% of the remaining United shares in order to force a compulsory purchase of all shares and secure complete ownership of the club.
Glazer borrowed £540million to fund his £790million takeover. Red Football, the working title of Glazer's bid, will receive £275million funding from preferred securities which has not been secured against United's assets, and £265million which will.
Gill has condemned Glazer's business plan as `aggressive' but could stay on to execute it anyway after the American's camp have previously insisted they wanted United's current management team to stay in place.
It has already been established that son Joel will take charge of the Glazer family interest in United but for now they are happy to allow Gill to carry on his normal day-to-day duties.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson revealed after the club's FA Cup final defeat against Arsenal that he had spoken with the Glazers on the phone and is planning a meeting with them when he hopes to establish what money will be available for future signings.
More to follow...
Source3 (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334143&cc=4716)
:s27: :s27:
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 01:36 AM
dun post this ga;zer thing here la, meest, plus many mu fan dun like to c his name here, why post and make urslef angry
It's to notify everyone latest news.
OKK77
24-05-2005, 01:37 AM
Shut up, moron.
OKK77
24-05-2005, 01:38 AM
Don't bother explaining to him. A doofus like him won't understand.
United_Treble
24-05-2005, 01:42 AM
do u noe this new can be seen in many official web, newpapar?
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 01:53 AM
Don't bother explaining to him. A doofus like him won't understand.
Okok, relax, relax, okk bro...
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:12 AM
do u noe this new can be seen in many official web, newpapar?
So? Still it's important that supporters will be able to get news over here.
AshleyRiot
24-05-2005, 06:15 AM
ManYoo fans, read this scary article :s22:
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334143&cc=4716
cracker
24-05-2005, 06:42 AM
Watched the game in the hotel lounge with couple dozen of pple in Malacca.
This is the first time tat MU had dominated almost the entire game in an encounter with Arsenal. The number of misses were unexplainable. We knew there will be only victor when it comes to penalty shootout.
Anyway the season ended with MU empty handed for the second time in 3 yrs !!
time to go back to the drawing block for the summer's overhaul.
Raul7
24-05-2005, 07:24 AM
Barcelona launch £30M raid for Man Utd's Ferdinand
tribalfootball.com - May 23, 2005
Barcelona president Joan Laporta has made a mega move for Manchester United contract rebel Rio Ferdinand.
The Mirror says Barca have been encouraged by the England defender's contract dispute at Old Trafford and the United plc board's refusal to meet Ferdinand's massive wage demands.
Ferdinand - who has two years left on his current deal - and his agent Pini Zahavi are demanding £125,000 a week, which would make him the highest-paid defender in the world.
United boss Sir Alex Ferguson made it clear he wanted a decision from Ferdinand on his future before Saturday's FA Cup final, but that never came.
Now Barcelona - armed with a £30 million offer - have made an approach directly to United to try to take advantage of the uncertainty at Old Trafford.
Raul7
24-05-2005, 07:24 AM
Liverpool move for Man Utd defender O'Shea
John O'Shea is set to become the first player to move from Manchester United to hated rivals Liverpool in more than 40 years.
The Daily Star says Kop fan O'Shea is a £2.5m target for Rafa Benitez, who wants to do business as soon as possible after Wednesday night's Champions League Final against AC Milan.
If the Ireland defender makes the switch, he will be the first player to do so since Phil Chisnall joined Liverpool from United in 1964.
We need a ****ing miracle. How can this acually happen surly there should be some sort of law that stops a succesful business been put into so much debt. Utter madness, over 600m worth of debts to be paid. How are we going to repay it.. :s27:
go to hell Glazer. :mad:
o0KelviN0o
24-05-2005, 07:38 AM
Liverpool move for Man Utd defender O'Shea
John O'Shea is set to become the first player to move from Manchester United to hated rivals Liverpool in more than 40 years.
The Daily Star says Kop fan O'Shea is a £2.5m target for Rafa Benitez, who wants to do business as soon as possible after Wednesday night's Champions League Final against AC Milan.
If the Ireland defender makes the switch, he will be the first player to do so since Phil Chisnall joined Liverpool from United in 1964.
holy molly! :eek:
THE FULL HORROR REVEALED: GLAZER FINANCING (from SU) :mad:
THE FULL HORROR REVEALED: GLAZER'S FINANCING PROPOSALS
THE FULL HORROR REVEALED!
P. O. Box 146, Manchester, M16 8XW
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
EXPLANATION OF GLAZER’S DEBT FINANCING PROPOSALS
as contained in his Circular dated 23 May 2005
THE FULL HORROR REVEALED
Summary
Glazer has taken on up to £921 million of debt, both personal and corporate, to acquire United.
If this debt is allowed to run for at least 7 years, then the accumulated repayment value could reach as high as £1.5 billion.
The debt leveraged on United’s assets could be as much as £700 million within 6 months of closing of the offer.
Servicing that £700 million debt (interest & principal repayments) would average out at approx. £85 million p.a. for the first 7 years, increasing substantially thereafter
Glazer could reduce the debt burden by the sale & leaseback of Old Trafford, which might net him £200 million.
In that case, servicing the debt could still cost the club an estimated £55 million per year, plus the annual OT lease payment.
The offer document contains no detail on how the club might generate enough cash to pay down this debt and no commitments on transfer funds or other key issues for United fans and small shareholders.
Manchester United is in peril as never before. No other football club has ever had a debt burden of this size, and there is no real prospect of clearing this debt for many years to come.
Finance structure
Glazer plans to finance the acquisition of Manchester United as follows:
• £272 million of his own money (all or most of which was borrowed from Commerzbank we hear)
• £275 million of ‘Preferred Securities’ issued to various Hedge Funds by Red Football Ltd (Red). These ‘Prefs’ are basically debt in another form, a type of share which has no vote but a fixed financial return and which are not (initially) secured on the assets of the club. Red has the right to redeem these Prefs at any time, which is likely to happen within 6 months of closing of the offer as they are very expensive to maintain (see below). The redemption value increases hugely as time goes by. Red must also pay a redemption premium to the holders, the Hedge Funds – estimated amount £50 million – we will confirm this when the finance agreements have been inspected). The finance to redeem these Prefs will most likely be secured on the assets of United, ranking in priority behind the Senior Debt (it will probably be classed as ‘Junior Debt’, as it bears more risk than the Senior Debt and will therefore carry a higher interest rate). Glazer does not confirm that this redemption will occur or mention the Junior Debt in his Offer Document, because he does not have to – it will take place after Closing.
• £283.9 million of “Senior Debt” secured on the assets of United. This debt can be drawn down in 5 tranches, bearing different interest rates and maturity dates (some of this debt will go to pay the estimated £50 million + of banking and advisory fees payable by Glazer on this transaction and which will be borne by United)
• £90 million of working capital and capital expenditure facilities – these facilities were not mentioned in the RNS summary offer statement of last week
Total acquisition cost = £920.9 million
Total debt incurred by Glazer’s companies which could (and probably will) be leveraged on the assets of Manchester United = £648.9 million + the cost of the redemption premium on Prefs est. at £50 million = £698.9 million
Interest and Principal payments over first 5 years
Prefs – these incur rolled-up interest at average interest rate of 17%, totalling £48 million per year for 5 years, giving a redemption value after 5 years of £615 million. Rolled-up interest is not immediately payable, it accumulates and is added annually onto the redemption value of the Prefs.
Senior Debt – average interest rate over 5 tranches is £25 million p.a. for the first 5 years, plus a further est. £5 million on the working capital facilities. Add total capital repayments of £12.5 million p.a. for first 5 years, this makes:
£42.5 million per year total amounts payable by United on Senior Debt
Junior Debt (assuming refinancing of £275 million of Prefs + premium of £50 million - £325 million) – more expensive as more risky, so assume average interest rate of 10% p.a., and initial capital repayments of £10 million p.a., this makes:
£42.5 million per year total assumed payable by United on Junior Debt.
Total payments annually required to service the debt in Manchester United:
£85 million
Sale & Leaseback of Old Trafford
The only way Glazer can seriously reduce this level of debt quickly is by sale & leaseback of Old Trafford for an estimated £200 million cash payment into the club.
This would be used, we assume, to redeem the Prefs to replace part of the debt financing, so on this assumption, we can reduce the Junior Debt element in the above calculation to £85 million (£75 million + reduced redemption premium of £10 million). This brings the annual service cost of the Junior Debt, using the same bases as above, to:
£12.5 million +
£42.5 million (Senior Debt)
= £55 million p.a. still required to service the debts under the sale & leaseback scenario.
Conclusion
In order to complete his takeover of United, Malcolm Glazer has taken on 3 levels of debt.
1. Personal or family foundation debt.
To buy his original stake (up to 28.1%) Glazer used his own assets. Everything we know about him tells us that it is not his style to use his own money, and we have been told (on good authority) that the whole of that stake was acquired with borrowed money. Although he is not initially planning to leverage this debt - £272million - against the assets of Manchester United, we can assume that he will expect the borrowing to be repaid by the profits of the club.
2. Senior Debt secured on United’s assets
JP Morgan agreed to lend up to £540million to fund Glazer’s acquisition of the club. However this was contingent on him securing conditional acceptances of 75% of the share capital. Cubic refused to risk giving a conditional acceptance of his offer. They wanted the money up front. Without them he was unable to secure the 75% he needed to trigger the JP Morgan loan.
3. Preferred Securities as bridging finance
In order to buy out Cubic, Glazer was forced to fund the buyout with effectively a bridging loan. This was a very expensive way to fund the purchase of the Cubic stake and the rest of the shares he needed to reach the 75% that would allow him to take the club private and trigger the JP Morgan finance. He did this by issuing what are known as “preferred securities” in Red Football Ltd to various hedge funds. Preferred securities are a particular type of share which confer no voting rights in a company but which attract high interest and when are often secured on the assets of a company, in this case Glazer’s own shares.
At the moment Glazer is claiming in his offer document that the only debt which will immediately be transferred to Manchester United, on his taking the company private, is the £373.9 million to be lent by JP Morgan. This is because the plc Board rejected his first proposal as “over-leveraged”, so he put in place some “debt in drag”, the Preferred Securities. But the cost to him of these Prefs, with their rolled up interest at 17% p.a., is so horrendous that it would only make financial sense if he buys then back as quickly as possible. No sane lender would give him the necessary funds to refinance unless (i) they were paid very large fees for doing so or (ii) there were sufficient United assets left over after JP Morgan’s first priority security ranking. And this refinancing will be expensive too.
A better bet for him is to execute a sale & leaseback of Old Trafford as soon as possible. OT is the only unmonetised asset left at United. This would undoubtedly incur the wrath of all United fans across the world as selling the heritage of the club.
*Notes to editors:
SU is a not-for-profit organisation of United fans holding shares in United for emotional rather than financial reasons and who oppose attempts by Glazer or any other individual or company who wants to acquire Manchester United for profit. SU believes United should be independently owned, with supporters having a significant stake and a real voice in the running of the club. SU membership has risen to over 30,000 members since starting up 5 years ago.
SU is currently a company limited by guarantee, but is about to put a proposal to members to convert into an Industrial & Provident Society registered with and overseen by the Financial Services Authority.
Oliver Houston: 07855 097753
Sean Bones 07743 001164
kahmun7
24-05-2005, 10:27 AM
Hi guys.... long time no come in.. erm.. actually just 2-3 days... been in mourning still...
sigh.. guess our beloved club are really in a sorry state huh... Glazer taking over... trophyless season, Rio's contract still unsigned, maybe selling off O'Shea... sigh... there seems to be no light at the end of this tunnel...
chengsun
24-05-2005, 10:44 AM
dun wait for light, we can light it up!
nakitas
24-05-2005, 11:21 AM
Arh... U need torches??? :s13:
kahmun7
24-05-2005, 11:23 AM
Arh... U need torches??? :s13:
not bright enough ler... :( we need them spotlights... those big big ones used to send bat signals.
okay I'm going OT again.. :P
Yellowfin
24-05-2005, 01:31 PM
With such a huge debt incur by Man Utd suddenly. Let pray hard that Man Utd don't go the road of Leed Utd.
If suddenly, US stock market collapse and whole world interest rate jack up....I dare not imagine what will happen to Man Utd.
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:00 PM
*sigh*
I really dun understand, why dun Glazer just put his debts into Tampa Bay Buccaneers, why come over to England to destroy Man Utd. TOTALLY B-U-L-L-S-H-I-T abt how he been supporting Man Utd. If he really supporting Man Utd, den why come over here and destroy it by giving it so much of debts!!! Does he know that no way can Man Utd earn tons of $$$ for him when we are not even winning any games to earn the $$$. Bl00dy old MF!!!
At first dun feel angry, but now talking abt delist Man Utd as a PLC, it's totally unbearable and making me damn pi55ed off sia....
padixiong
24-05-2005, 02:03 PM
man utd is gone ..
just like that ..
GONE...
destroied by ONE MAN !! haix .!!
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:06 PM
not bright enough ler... :( we need them spotlights... those big big ones used to send bat signals.
okay I'm going OT again.. :P
Need to put the whole lighthouse @ Man Utd den will work out man... *sigh*
Hahaha... But I guess most of us over here are trying to “苦中作乐” but other than this way, I really duno what can we do...
Maybe we can sign up a form and request for some rich people to help out? :s13:
I must be dreaming man....
Ronaldo_7
24-05-2005, 02:12 PM
true that we dun like to see his name but usjag_18 is juz informing us of the latest news.. peace..
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:13 PM
man utd is gone ..
just like that ..
GONE...
destroied by ONE MAN !! haix .!!
We can only just pray hard tt nothing will b worsen....
padixiong
24-05-2005, 02:16 PM
y does that man wan to come and destory man u !! ?? !!
ARRRRRRRRRRR ..............................
Ronaldo_7
24-05-2005, 02:20 PM
hes a hell of an ass**** haiz :s27:
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:21 PM
true that we dun like to see his name but usjag_18 is juz informing us of the latest news.. peace..
No worries, Ron_7 bro. I am fine with this kinda of accusation... Let him do watever he wanna even after my explanation. Anyway, I didn't hear any complaints from others and I find that others are also giving us the latest news abt the MF, Glazer too. So no worries @ all... ;)
Becos he got nothing better to destroy!!! SO he wanna to destroy of one the BIGGEST CLUBS to prove his abilities of being the KING of DREAMs DESTROYER!!!
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 02:25 PM
Nw it makes me feel like going to Old Trafford and take a last look @ Man Utd's dream stadium...
:sad:
Ronaldo_7
24-05-2005, 02:30 PM
haiz... i also wish i can afford to go there one day.. to match a game.. to feel the atmosphere and to see the players in real life... :sad: :(
Ruudboi
24-05-2005, 03:36 PM
Glazer makes final Man Utd offer
Manchester United shareholders have been told they have until Monday, 13 June, to sell their shares to majority owner Malcolm Glazer.
Red Football, acting on behalf of Mr Glazer, currently owns about 76.2% of Manchester United shares.
Mr Glazer's next step will be to delist the club from the London stock market, probably on 22 June "or as soon thereafter as is practicable".
The takeover by the US billionaire has been fiercely resisted by fans.
In total, members of fan group Shareholders United say they own about 15% of the club.
Mr Glazer hopes to secure 90% of the shares he does not yet own, so that the remaining shareholders can be legally compelled to sell.
Shareholders have until 1500 (1400 GMT) on 13 June to take up the 300 pence-per-share offer. After that date, Mr Glazer says, he may not buy their shares any more.
The end is nigh
The end of Manchester United's 14 years as a publicly listed company is bound to come to an end regardless of whether the remaining shareholders sell up.
Mr Glazer had the right to turn the club into a privately-held company ever since he acquired more than 75% of its shares.
The very latest date that Mr Glazer will take the firm private is Thursday, 30 June.
In the offer document, the Glazer family reiterate that they "are keen supporters of Manchester United and long-term owners of Manchester United Shares".
"Red wants to work with current management, players and supporters to ensure that the significant successes enjoyed by Manchester United, both on and off the pitch, continue," the document asserts.
The Glazers promise to give Manchester United "executive directors and senior employees" all their share options in Manchester United straight away.
More than one-third of Mr Glazer's £790m offer for the club is debt secured against United's assets, such as its Old Trafford stadium, while a further £275m comes from loans from three US hedge funds.
Besides his property interests, fish oil business and car safety equipment company, the 76-year-old Mr Glazer also owns an American Football club, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, whose financial and sporting fortunes he turned around, albeit at the cost of higher ticket prices.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/4573617.stm
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 04:08 PM
Manchester United shareholders have been told they have until Monday, 13 June, to sell their shares to majority owner Malcolm Glazer.
Red Football, acting on behalf of Mr Glazer, currently owns about 76.2% of Manchester United shares.
Mr Glazer's next step will be to delist the club from the London stock market, probably on 22 June "or as soon thereafter as is practicable".
In total, members of fan group Shareholders United say they own about 15% of the club.
Mr Glazer hopes to secure 90% of the shares he does not yet own, so that the remaining shareholders can be legally compelled to sell.
Shareholders have until 1500 (1400 GMT) on 13 June to take up the 300 pence-per-share offer. After that date, Mr Glazer says, he may not buy their shares any more.
The end is nigh
The end of Manchester United's 14 years as a publicly listed company is bound to come to an end regardless of whether the remaining shareholders sell up.
Mr Glazer had the right to turn the club into a privately-held company ever since he acquired more than 75% of its shares.
The very latest date that Mr Glazer will take the firm private is Thursday, 30 June.
In the offer document, the Glazer family reiterate that they "are keen supporters of Manchester United and long-term owners of Manchester United Shares".
"Red wants to work with current management, players and supporters to ensure that the significant successes enjoyed by Manchester United, both on and off the pitch, continue," the document asserts.
The Glazers promise to give Manchester United "executive directors and senior employees" all their share options in Manchester United straight away.
More than one-third of Mr Glazer's £790m offer for the club is debt secured against United's assets, such as its Old Trafford stadium, while a further £275m comes from loans from three US hedge funds.
Besides his property interests, fish oil business and car safety equipment company, the 76-year-old Mr Glazer also owns an American Football club, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, whose financial and sporting fortunes he turned around, albeit at the cost of higher ticket prices.
Read my lips, Mr Glazer, GO TO H3LL!!!
Kakashi82
24-05-2005, 05:26 PM
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/159/159862_carroll_close_to_signing_new_reds_deal.html
ROY Carroll is expected to sign a new contract at Manchester United after being given assurances over his future by Sir Alex Ferguson.
It had been anticipated the 27-year-old Northern Ireland goalkeeper would be on his way out of Old Trafford after four seasons at the club.
However, Carroll is now set to sign a three-year contract with his present deal about to run out and he will fight it out for the number one spot with American Tim Howard, who has been given a new deal which will keep him at the club until 2009.
Carroll's agent Francis Martin told the Daily Star: "Roy has spoken with the manager and has been given certain assurances."
Ronaldo_7
24-05-2005, 05:27 PM
The end is nigh
this fat ass is gonna force everyone to sell their shares... damn it.. they will most likely sell as they will turn into nth after June 13.. the tix sure raise liaoz.. knn use Old Trafford for loan.. :s27:
Xtr3me3
24-05-2005, 05:46 PM
glazer givin ferguson 100 million to buy new stars. and if we don't win the league next season with the stars all i can say is bye-bye man u. they be in big trouble with the debt.
trax06
24-05-2005, 05:50 PM
the Sheikh should really plan something crazy now.
MatrixFanatic
24-05-2005, 05:53 PM
Rossi Backed To Make First-Team Breakthrough
Giuseppe Rossi Tipped For First Team
Rossi scored 17 goals in the reserves to win the club's Young Player of the Year award.
Teenage forward Giuseppe Rossi is being tipped to make inroads into United's first team next season after an exciting debut year with the club.
The 18-year-old striker's 17 goals for Ricky Sbragia's young Reserve side helped United win four trophies, an impressive campaign that, in turn, earned the Italian the Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year award.
Rossi made his much-anticipated debut against Crystal Palace in the Carling Cup in November, and secured a second appearance for the club a month later against Arsenal in same competition.
The summer signing from Parma also travelled with United's squad for the Champions League match against Milan.
Although he was not named among the substitutes that night, the experience alone will have initiated a spike in the learning curve of the Italian forward's career.
Former Busby Babe Wilf McGuinness believes Rossi can expect even greater involvement with the first team next season.
"I watched Rossi score a hat-trick in the Reserves' play-off win over Charlton: absolute class," says McGuinness. "He’s got a magic wand of a left foot, and he can use his right to deadly effect as well."
Some superb individual goals in the Reserves induced a buzz of anticipation when he stepped from the Old Trafford substitutes' bench against Palace.
With just five minutes remaining in that match, it was only a fleeting glimpse of the diminutive attacker. He snatched at a volley from the edge of the area, but his intelligent movement was clearly visible even on the evidence of such a brief snapshot of his talent.
But, as with any young player, there is an element of caution in heaping too much praise, and subsequently pressure, on a burgeoning talent.
"He’s developing well," adds Wilf. "But there is no need to get too carried away. You have to put it into perspective. There’s a young lad in the reserve team playing lovely football. That’s the stage he is at in his career and he has to be allowed to develop.
"The Premiership is a very big jump. However, if he keeps playing well at reserve level, that gets noted by the manager and his staff and they will pick the right time for him to make that jump.
"We’re all hoping he gets the opportunities next season," continues Wilf. "I’m sure he will because people think very highly of him at the club.
"And there are other players coming through. It’s not all about Rossi. David Jones has looked a quality player as captain for the Reserves, while Lee Martin has come on a lot this season and Pique has started to shine.
"The reserves have been wonderful this season. It’s a marvellous achievement to win four trophies.
"Congratulations must go to Ricky Sbragia and Brian McClair for the job they have done. More so because we’re not talking about a team of first-team squad players. The focus has been on young players coming through."
Report by Ben Hibbs.
Yellowfin
24-05-2005, 05:53 PM
the Sheikh should really plan something crazy now.
Maybe the Sheikh is waiting to buy Man Utd for 1 pound.
MatrixFanatic
24-05-2005, 05:55 PM
Reckless
Manchester United's financial future looked even more uncertain last night after it emerged that Malcolm Glazer's takeover will be a staggering £110million more expensive than first feared. As United and their supporters look ahead to a crucial summer of team rebuilding after a season without a trophy, Glazer last night finally revealed the full cost of buying Britain's biggest football club. The most shocking fact is that on top of the £570m Glazer has already admitted borrowing to buy United, he has also put into place a further £110m credit facility that he is expecting to use to pay for existing plans to expand Old Trafford and to honour his private promise to hand manager Sir Alex Ferguson substantial transfer funds.
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
Glazer's a Fergie fan
Malcolm Glazer last night confirmed he wants Sir Alex Ferguson to stay in charge of Manchester United after the American submitted his formal takeover plans for the club. "The Glazer family are keen supporters of Manchester United and long-term owners of Manchester United shares," said a spokesman for the Glazer family. We want to work with the current management, players and supporters to ensure that the significant success enjoyed by United, both on and off the pitch, continues. We intend to invite the current senior management team of Manchester United to remain with the company to assist in ensuring future success on and off the pitch." The American tycoon's bankers revealed that Glazer plans to delist United from the Stock Exchange as early as June 22 as part of his £790million takeover.
David McDonnell, Daily Mirror
Joel's Fergie pledge
Joel Glazer will personally inform Sir Alex Ferguson that he wants him to buy new stars for Manchester United to regain lost ground on Chelsea and Arsenal. Joel, who will shortly assume control of Old Trafford, will tell his manager there will be no interference in team affairs. Ferguson will be in sole charge of selecting new players and chief executive David Gill will control the transfer budget of £100m over five years.
Harry Harris, Daily Express
Raul7
24-05-2005, 05:59 PM
haiz... i also wish i can afford to go there one day.. to match a game.. to feel the atmosphere and to see the players in real life... :sad: :(
rem to jio me hor...... :o :s13:
nakitas
24-05-2005, 06:58 PM
Juz go b4 they change t stadium name... A place wif such old tradition, they still dare change it... Pui~
RuMmYtUb
24-05-2005, 07:03 PM
And 100m for 4 yrs expect stars? :s27:
Raul7
24-05-2005, 07:23 PM
Juz go b4 they change t stadium name... A place wif such old tradition, they still dare change it... Pui~
ya loh.....Old Trafford leh....nnb!!!! still want to change name...i'm damn buay song.. :s27:
Raul7
24-05-2005, 07:24 PM
And 100m for 4 yrs expect stars? :s27:
err, thought that time he said 100m for 5 yrs? like that only got 20m to spend..how sia... :s11: :s31:
Raul7
24-05-2005, 07:26 PM
Real Madrid make Man Utd's Ronaldo a summer priority
tribalfootball.com - May 24, 2005
Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo is a top priority signing for Real Madrid.
Real general manager Arrigo Sacchi watched Ronaldo in Saturday's FA Cup final and was bowled over by the Portuguese's performance.
Coach Vanderlei Luxemburgo couldn't watch the final as he was preparing for that evening's Madrid derby against Atletico, but watched a DVD copy on Sunday and was impressed by Ronaldo's display.
Sacchi asked both Luxemburgo and president Florentino Perez last week about the possibility of bringing Ronaldo to Madrid and now can count on the Real coach as a supporter of the proposal.
Real chief Sacchi is well aware that contract talks between Ronaldo and United have been dragging on and he is frustrated by his current £14,000-a-week deal.
just what is real madrid is thinking man???
RuMmYtUb
24-05-2005, 07:58 PM
Utd is in a mess now.. Nothing to say :(
Ronaldo7
24-05-2005, 09:14 PM
Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo is a top priority signing for Real Madrid.
Real general manager Arrigo Sacchi watched Ronaldo in Saturday's FA Cup final and was bowled over by the Portuguese's performance.
Coach Vanderlei Luxemburgo couldn't watch the final as he was preparing for that evening's Madrid derby against Atletico, but watched a DVD copy on Sunday and was impressed by Ronaldo's display.
Sacchi asked both Luxemburgo and president Florentino Perez last week about the possibility of bringing Ronaldo to Madrid and now can count on the Real coach as a supporter of the proposal.
Real chief Sacchi is well aware that contract talks between Ronaldo and United have been dragging on and he is frustrated by his current £14,000-a-week deal.
don't worry , it's from tribalfootball which is as reliable as the sun :s13:
Raul7
24-05-2005, 10:19 PM
don't worry , it's from tribalfootball which is as reliable as the sun :s13:
hahahaha...okok :s13:
Kakashi82
24-05-2005, 11:00 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_487338,00.html
A leading analyst has tried to allay fears that Manchester United under Malcolm Glazer are heading for a financial meltdown similar to Leeds.
The Yorkshire club's debts spiralled to £103m, leading to a fire sale of players and eventual relegation from the Premiership.
Glazer's formal offer document displayed a succession of steepling interest charges taking the approximate overall cost of a £265m loan to a massive £570m.
On top of his loan, the owner of NFL gridiron franchise Tampa Bay Buccaneers has to pay back a bridging loan of £18.9m by March next year and another £90m as a credit and capital expenditure facility.
There is also another £275m in preferred securities - and fans are horrified at the scale of the debt and fear for the club's future.
However Hilary Cook, investment analyst at Barclays Stockbrokers, believes Glazer will look to reschedule the debt over the next 12 months, once he is in full control of the club.
"Before he got full control he wasn't able to borrow very efficiently," she said.
"He did not have that much security to borrow against because until he had control of the company he could not borrow against the assets.
"He has got expensive debt because it is short-term. What you would expect him to do now is reschedule the debt at lower rates over the next year or so to reduce his interest payments.
"Debt is quite normal - it is just that Manchester United have been a company that were run without debt.
"Glazer will be aware of the potential downside of borrowing so much and must have a convincing business plan or people would not have loaned him the money."
She added: "It is all about interest cover in the City.
"What you have to make sure is you have cushion between your trading profits and the costs that go with servicing your debt.
"Football revenues are volatile. You might be in Europe or the Premiership one year but not the next.
"The problem with Leeds was their costs of borrowing were greater than their profits.
"It is not in Glazer's interests to put so much expensive debt in that they cannot afford to trade any more.
"Glazer has other assets he will be able to borrow against if need be.
"The most important thing is that you don't want to be looking over your shoulder and saying 'do we have to sell a player because we have run out of money'.
"It is in his interests that Manchester United remain a global brand. So he is not going to be running the club down."
usjag_18
24-05-2005, 11:28 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_487338,00.html
A leading analyst has tried to allay fears that Manchester United under Malcolm Glazer are heading for a financial meltdown similar to Leeds.
The Yorkshire club's debts spiralled to £103m, leading to a fire sale of players and eventual relegation from the Premiership.
Glazer's formal offer document displayed a succession of steepling interest charges taking the approximate overall cost of a £265m loan to a massive £570m.
On top of his loan, the owner of NFL gridiron franchise Tampa Bay Buccaneers has to pay back a bridging loan of £18.9m by March next year and another £90m as a credit and capital expenditure facility.
There is also another £275m in preferred securities - and fans are horrified at the scale of the debt and fear for the club's future.
However Hilary Cook, investment analyst at Barclays Stockbrokers, believes Glazer will look to reschedule the debt over the next 12 months, once he is in full control of the club.
"Before he got full control he wasn't able to borrow very efficiently," she said.
"He did not have that much security to borrow against because until he had control of the company he could not borrow against the assets.
"He has got expensive debt because it is short-term. What you would expect him to do now is reschedule the debt at lower rates over the next year or so to reduce his interest payments.
"Debt is quite normal - it is just that Manchester United have been a company that were run without debt.
"Glazer will be aware of the potential downside of borrowing so much and must have a convincing business plan or people would not have loaned him the money."
She added: "It is all about interest cover in the City.
"What you have to make sure is you have cushion between your trading profits and the costs that go with servicing your debt.
"Football revenues are volatile. You might be in Europe or the Premiership one year but not the next.
"The problem with Leeds was their costs of borrowing were greater than their profits.
"It is not in Glazer's interests to put so much expensive debt in that they cannot afford to trade any more.
"Glazer has other assets he will be able to borrow against if need be.
"The most important thing is that you don't want to be looking over your shoulder and saying 'do we have to sell a player because we have run out of money'.
"It is in his interests that Manchester United remain a global brand. So he is not going to be running the club down."
It's also true that most companies are in debts. But the thing is when Man Utd under PLC, we never been under any debts.
*sigh*
I also cannot do anything for Man Utd. So only can sit down here to pray hard that they wun do anything like changing the stadium's name!!! Old Trafford is the name for everyone else that noe Man Utd well. Theatre of Dreams cannot be changed!!!
blackevil_2000
25-05-2005, 12:38 AM
so sad later all the star all go then manUtd become lousy team
let hope than what happen to leeds won't happen on us
Ronaldo_7
25-05-2005, 01:12 AM
sure will de... dun worry :D
Raul7
25-05-2005, 07:21 AM
sure will de... dun worry :D
hahahaha... :s13:
Real can get lost!!! Beside he still has 3 more years left in his contract.
cant believe how much in debt we are, and that in just 2 weeks! from the richest to the poorest!
and the fact that he could ruin us in the next couple of years scares me!!! if he ****s united up, then he really must die!!!!! cant believe what he's doing to our club
No justice or sympathy for Manchester United. You work your arse off to be great and all for this to go down the tube because one guy thinks he is the only one to have come up with this vision to make united bigger and put so much debts to our club...
R.I.P Manchester United :s27: :o
Ronaldo_7
25-05-2005, 01:03 PM
Real can get lost!!! Beside he still has 3 more years left in his contract.
yeah man.. they better be out of the way ~!
trax06
25-05-2005, 04:32 PM
Maybe the Sheikh is waiting to buy Man Utd for 1 pound.
by then ManBucs wont be the same.i really hope he got plans up those arabian sleeves.
Totti76
25-05-2005, 04:49 PM
cant believe how much in debt we are, and that in just 2 weeks! from the richest to the poorest!
and the fact that he could ruin us in the next couple of years scares me!!! if he ****s united up, then he really must die!!!!! cant believe what he's doing to our club
No justice or sympathy for Manchester United. You work your arse off to be great and all for this to go down the tube because one guy thinks he is the only one to have come up with this vision to make united bigger and put so much debts to our club...
R.I.P Manchester United :s27: :o
The more i read or think abt Man U debt..the more deep **** we r in. With the debt so well-known now..i wonder who want to come Man U n play for Utd now. The path of Leeds Utd is likely wat we r heading now. DAMN... Wat will happen if Utd goes down...do u think queensway will still sell utd jesery..i guess not. Then utd fans will disappear...n ppl start saying..look at utd fans...jump ship...hai.
There is no more ship..wat u expect "some" utd fans to do. Well actually there is one more ship...Man City..look at their logo. :D
Nah...There will only be one Utd. If we really goes down..then the most no EPL for me...
MatrixFanatic
25-05-2005, 05:46 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon13.gif
Ferdinand will try to squeeze more money out of Glazer
Rio Ferdinand is pinning his hopes on Malcolm Glazer to find the extra cash to solve his Manchester United contract dispute. United's England central defender has rejected a £100,000-a-week offer to extend his Old Trafford contract by three years. But it emerged last night that Ferdinand and his agent Pini Zahavi will seek talks with the Glazer family as soon as the American completes his takeover of United in a few weeks. A source close to Ferdinand told Sportsmail last night that they hope Glazer will see fit to grant the 26-year-old the £120,000-a-week package for which he has been holding out. The source said: "Rio and his agent will meet with Glazer as soon as all this goes through and they hope that he will not have a problem with bridging the small gap that exists between United's offer and Rio's requirement."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
Kakashi82
25-05-2005, 07:00 PM
http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/160/160076_ronaldo_dismisses_real_link.html
MANCHESTER United winger Cristiano Ronaldo has dismissed rumours linking him with Spanish giants Real Madrid.
Speculation is increasing over a possible summer swoop by the Bernabeu side, with manager Wanderly Luxemburgo openly praising the Reds star.
However, Ronaldo, who put in a fine display in Sunday's FA Cup final defeat against Arsenal, insists United are his only focus.
When asked by Spanish newspaper As about the possibility of a move he said: "I don't think so. We are to going to have to see.
"I do not know anything [about Real Madrid's interest]. Those questions have to be directed to my representative Jorge Mendes and not to me.
"Simply, I am integrated into Manchester United and I only think about this club."
After a trophyless season, Ronaldo is keen for the Reds to bounce back next time around and pick up some silverware.
"We lacked luck and to score a goal [against Arsenal]. Manchester were better than Arsenal but justice could not be done.
"But next season, we must continue because we will have the same ambitions and we are going to try to win something."
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon13.gif
Ferdinand will try to squeeze more money out of Glazer
Rio Ferdinand is pinning his hopes on Malcolm Glazer to find the extra cash to solve his Manchester United contract dispute. United's England central defender has rejected a £100,000-a-week offer to extend his Old Trafford contract by three years. But it emerged last night that Ferdinand and his agent Pini Zahavi will seek talks with the Glazer family as soon as the American completes his takeover of United in a few weeks. A source close to Ferdinand told Sportsmail last night that they hope Glazer will see fit to grant the 26-year-old the £120,000-a-week package for which he has been holding out. The source said: "Rio and his agent will meet with Glazer as soon as all this goes through and they hope that he will not have a problem with bridging the small gap that exists between United's offer and Rio's requirement."
Ian Ladyman, Daily Mail
Rio is a greedy f*ck. £100,000 still not enough. :s27:
MatrixFanatic
25-05-2005, 07:09 PM
Utd's casino spells trouble for Glazer
The National Football League have admitted Manchester United's plans to build a casino next to Old Trafford is a 'potential issue' for new owner Malcolm Glazer.
As owner of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Glazer is subject to NFL rules which prohibit an ownership interest in a casino and bars all teams and league personnel from having any promotional arrangements with gambling establishments.
Although American football's governing body is confident the purchase of United itself does not break their regulations on cross-ownership, Old Trafford's joint interest with Las Vegas Sands Corp in building a luxury hotel and casino development could be a problem.
NFL spokesman Greg Aiello, speaking at the league's spring meeting in Washington, said: 'The only potential issue concerns that reported Man U venture with the Las Vegas casino, what that means, and does it have any implications regarding our policies.'
The plans for the Trafford Park side of the stadium have been raised with NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue by Shareholders United, a supporter-investor group opposed to Glazer's takeover which has delivered 76% of the club's shares to the American.
In a statement to Tagliabue, SU's American representative JD Deitch stated: 'Manchester United has more than just a passive relationship with gambling and gaming.
'It is and has been very active in this regard and has plans to become much more active in the future.
'As such, it is our view that these arrangements clearly conflict with Mr Glazer's position as an NFL franchise owner.'
Meanwhile, a leading analyst has tried to allay fears that United under Glazer are heading for financial meltdown similar to Leeds.
The Yorkshire club's debts spiralled to £103million, leading to a fire sale of players and eventual relegation from the Premiership.
Glazer's formal offer document displayed a succession of steepling interest charges, taking the approximate overall cost of a £265million loan to a massive £570million.
On top of his loan he has to pay back a bridging loan of £18.9million by March next year and another £90million as a credit and capital expenditure facility.
There is also another £275million in preferred securities - and fans are horrified at the scale of the debt and fear for the club's future.
However, Hilary Cook, investment analyst at Barclays Stockbrokers, said: 'What you have to make sure is you have a cushion between your trading profits and the costs that go with servicing your debt.
'The problem with Leeds was their costs of borrowing were greater than their profits.
'It is not in Glazer's interests to put so much expensive debt in that they cannot afford to trade any more.'
Meanwhile it was revealed today that Vodafone have held talks with Glazer about their £36million sponsorship contract with Manchester United.
Chief executive Arun Sarin said he met with representatives of Red Football Ltd, Glazer's investment vehicle, about the sponsorship deal which is due to run out in three year's time.
'Obviously when we close a sponsorship, we are mindful of their (the company's) brand and our association with the brand,' Sarun told The Times.
'We have had conversations. We will have to wait and see.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334244&cc=4716
Ronaldo7
25-05-2005, 09:16 PM
Rio is a greedy f*ck. £100,000 still not enough. :s27:
knn . don't know who to blame also . rio ? his agent ? or both ? :mad:
1920_me
25-05-2005, 09:48 PM
it seems figo is unhappy..is there any chance we are gonna bid for him
MatrixFanatic
25-05-2005, 10:24 PM
If Real is okay with 5million and below, I think Manutd should bid for him.
Raul7
25-05-2005, 11:57 PM
err, no need to spend $ and bid for him....he will be leaving real for free :)
chengsun
26-05-2005, 01:11 AM
pay him a bit more, ask quiroz to talk to him, he respect Q a lots
Ronaldo_7
26-05-2005, 01:56 AM
The more i read or think abt Man U debt..the more deep **** we r in. With the debt so well-known now..i wonder who want to come Man U n play for Utd now. The path of Leeds Utd is likely wat we r heading now. DAMN... Wat will happen if Utd goes down...do u think queensway will still sell utd jesery..i guess not. Then utd fans will disappear...n ppl start saying..look at utd fans...jump ship...hai.
There is no more ship..wat u expect "some" utd fans to do. Well actually there is one more ship...Man City..look at their logo. :D
Nah...There will only be one Utd. If we really goes down..then the most no EPL for me...
hmm.. i think the jerseys will still be available for now.. hope we wun follow Leeds.. no offence to Leeds :)... yeah day by day we are sinking into deeper trouble.. really feel sad for MU..
Manchester United lives in my heart.. i die also wun jump ship :)
jumpmanz
26-05-2005, 02:26 AM
fark. malcolm glazer is really a b.a.s.t.a.r.d
chengsun
26-05-2005, 05:59 AM
congratulation to pool
where will we be next season?
cracker
26-05-2005, 06:03 AM
congratulation to pool
where will we be next season?
probably nowhere. :s13: :s13:
cutter
26-05-2005, 06:09 AM
Congrats to Ruud.... Champions' League Top Scorer!
OKK77
26-05-2005, 06:09 AM
Quite nostalgic of our CL final. I couldn't catch it live then. No broadcast in my area. Refused to get any news and watched the encore. Damn, the moment the equaliser came was euphoric.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.