PDA

View Full Version : Manchester United Forum

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560

OKK77
26-05-2005, 06:10 AM
Congrats to Ruud.... Champions' League Top Scorer!

Oh yes, I almost forgot about that! 2 goals against Lyon and 4 against Prague.

RVN
26-05-2005, 06:13 AM
Glazer just got spoken what intention he has for the club, he answer nothing just a grin and walk away.

We're screwed. He has no idea about us, he can't even answer questions to ''put our minds at rest'' :s27:

cutter
26-05-2005, 06:21 AM
Glazer just got spoken what intention he has for the club, he answer nothing just a grin and walk away.

We're screwed. He has no idea about us, he can't even answer questions to ''put our minds at rest'' :s27:

The family 'expert' is his son mah... Daddy bought the club for junior to play Boss with...

genesis113
26-05-2005, 06:58 AM
Milan just like the image in the mirror for United, empty handed this season.
Hopefully, United will able to bounce back next season.

kahmun7
26-05-2005, 12:10 PM
Milan just like the image in the mirror for United, empty handed this season.
Hopefully, United will able to bounce back next season.
sigh.. yeah... both also my favourite club... both trophyless... :( very very sad week...
very very bad year...

AhHuat
26-05-2005, 12:21 PM
liverpool really have the blessing of having such a solid manager.....rafa benitez...

how i wish manutd can have a manager with that kind of pedigree....

change a match from 3-0 down to a CL title side.....

Yellowfin
26-05-2005, 12:33 PM
I feel happy and sad today.

Happy that an EPL team win the Champion league, sad that I am going to be taunt by my liverpool supporter friends for one whole year.

Liverpool success does show it to Man Utd that a good tactical manager and a team that willing to fight for each other is much more potent than a team with all the highly paid stars that only show their individual skill in a match.

kahmun7
26-05-2005, 12:39 PM
liverpool really have the blessing of having such a solid manager.....rafa benitez...

how i wish manutd can have a manager with that kind of pedigree....

change a match from 3-0 down to a CL title side.....
with fergie hogging the managerial role... sigh.. .I don't think we have such privilege to have such a good manager... I've said it before and I'll say it again.. Benitez is a good manager.. and today he really deserves the cup.

I think I saw somewhere that Martin O Neill has finally resigned his job at Parkhead... I wonder if he finally got tired of waiting for Fergie to step down and join some other club instead... :(

genzox
26-05-2005, 01:29 PM
Come on ..howcome are u so ill informed? O'Neill takes a leave from football bcos of his wife's illness I'm surprised that u say he joined another club.. ridiculous...
Worst of all van der vaart is poised to join Hamburg for 6m euros.. why are united doing anything? omg i'm devastated

kahmun7
26-05-2005, 01:33 PM
Come on ..howcome are u so ill informed? O'Neill takes a leave from football bcos of his wife's illness I'm surprised that u say he joined another club.. ridiculous...
Worst of all van der vaart is poised to join Hamburg for 6m euros.. why are united doing anything? omg i'm devastated
sorry.. was too busy to keep up with news recently.. .just saw some headlines saying O Neill quit...
my mistake for posting without facts.. but I was just "wondering"??? I didn't say it was definite.

genzox
26-05-2005, 01:35 PM
I see.. nvm hope united bounces back next season... I really worried of wat glazer will be doing with this club

MatrixFanatic
26-05-2005, 02:50 PM
Oh yes, I almost forgot about that! 2 goals against Lyon and 4 against Prague.

Yah. That means he wins the Golden Boot? :s22:

Ch3tah_39
26-05-2005, 02:55 PM

i think so.. 7goals in 4 matches!! woo rvn!!

Yellowfin
26-05-2005, 03:00 PM

Yes, he won the Golden Boot award if the table from the url is correct at the times of publish.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/stats/topscorers?league=UEFA.CHAMPIONS&cc=4716

genesis113
26-05-2005, 04:08 PM
sigh.. yeah... both also my favourite club... both trophyless... :( very very sad week...
very very bad year...

complacency costs both teams trophies winning chances.
3-0 up, and conceded 3 afterwards, Milan only themselves to blame.
United lined up second string team to face lower ranking teams, and paid the price.

nakitas
26-05-2005, 04:21 PM
Yes, he won the Golden Boot award if the table from the url is correct at the times of publish.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/stats/topscorers?league=UEFA.CHAMPIONS&cc=4716

Wowo, considering tat tis a troubled season 4 him... He's still able to finish top... Congrats...

Ronaldo7
26-05-2005, 06:33 PM
ruud's european record is frightening :s31:

anyone noticed that the team that beat us in the knockout stage usually advanced to the final of the CL ? :s22:

RuMmYtUb
26-05-2005, 06:42 PM
Yea i agree, our manager should foster the kind of team spirit Everton, Pool are having.. fighting the **** out for each other..

As i mentioned b4, i don't see our team any inferior than Liverpool, in fact we can even complete the double over them.. so this boils down to tactics and fighting spirit a team must have..

And OT abit, Steven G says he will stay.. lol in my heart, they win liao CL he of cos say so.. i wonder what if Milan had won..

RVN
26-05-2005, 07:35 PM
Glazer is going to take full control of the club soon. :s27:

United Board Advises Sale

Manchester United's plc board have advised the club's shareholders to accept Malcolm Glazer's offer.
US tycoon Glazer has acquired over 75 percent of the club's shares following a lengthy battle to assume control and is in a position to take them private.
Glazer's Red Football Limited have indicated in their official document that the intention is to take United into private ownership on June 22, or as soon as is possible after that date.
The American now has full control of the club and with the American set to take them private, the board have advised the remaining shareholders to accept the offer of 300p per share.
The board posted a circular to shareholders saying the control of the company had passed, and there are risks of remaining as a minority shareholder.
"In light of the risks of remaining as a minority shareholder, the board has now unanimously concluded that, unless Manchester United shareholders have strong non-financial reasons for wishing to stay invested in the company, they should accept the offer," said a statement from the club.
Fan group Shareholders United still own a substantial stake and it remains to be seen if they will retain their shares, although they will have no say in the running of the club.

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=280530&cpid=8&CLID=1&lid=&title=UNITED+BOARD+ADVISES+SALE&channel=Premiership

Yellowfin
26-05-2005, 07:47 PM
anyone noticed that the team that beat us in the knockout stage usually advanced to the final of the CL ? :s22:

If I remember correctly, Jose when he is at Porto, he did say that if he beat Man Utd their team have a chance to win the CL. In fact, a few club manager did mention it before.

Correct me if I am wrong.

chengsun
26-05-2005, 09:01 PM
for the past few seasons, those who beat us in the knock out stage all became the winner, except this season, milan went in final though

Swordsman
26-05-2005, 09:03 PM
milan, madrid and porto after beating man u qualify for the finals eventually.. by the way where can i buy offical man u jersey in singapore ?

Ronaldo7
26-05-2005, 09:12 PM
milan, madrid and porto after beating man u qualify for the finals eventually.. by the way where can i buy offical man u jersey in singapore ?

queensway ? :s22:

Swordsman
26-05-2005, 09:16 PM
queensway ? :s22:

with the epl logo too ? and you guys know where is the offical fan club for man u ? tanglin there issit ?

Ronaldo7
26-05-2005, 09:42 PM
with the epl logo too ? and you guys know where is the offical fan club for man u ? tanglin there issit ?

you can request to add on the epl badge too . the offical fan club is at tanglin iirc

RuMmYtUb
26-05-2005, 10:16 PM
Queensway shopping centre and peninsula shopping centre cheapest..

Man Utd store total rip off, i think the price there is a direct conversion of euro/pounds

Raul7
26-05-2005, 11:20 PM

Man Utd store total rip off, i think the price there is a direct conversion of euro/pounds

better dun go man u store...chop people one.

AhHuat
26-05-2005, 11:42 PM
manutd chairman sir roy gardner....going submit his resignation letter.
two other non executives expected to join him also....

read from soccernet......

haiz....

kahmun7
26-05-2005, 11:57 PM
I can't buy jersey de... :sad: when I bought Man Utd centenary jersey in 2001, they were trophyless in 2001/2002... this year I bought Man Utd jersey, and my girlfren bought me AC Milan jersey... both ended up trophyless... I am a jinx ler... :sad:

RVN
26-05-2005, 11:58 PM
manutd chairman sir roy gardner....going submit his resignation letter.
two other non executives expected to join him also....

read from soccernet......

haiz....

Its not a suprise, he has been dead against Glazer take-over, how could he possibly work with someone that you don't like and has no best interest with the club?

Gardner set to resign

Manchester United's chairman Sir Roy Gardner today announced his impending resignation from the board and warned that Malcolm Glazer has failed to provide any assurances over future debt, ticket prices, player transfers and non-interference with team selection.

In a letter to shareholders, Gardner recommends accepting the offer for their shares from Glazer - but only on financial grounds.

The chairman also confirms he and fellow non-executive directors Ian Much and Jim O'Neill are "expected to resign from the board shortly".

But it will be the lack of legally-binding assurances that will concern United fans - control of the club had already passed to the Glazer family whether or not the remaining shareholders accept the 300p per share offer from the American tycoon's Red Football Group.

Gardner's letter says: "The board was aware that an acquisition of Manchester United by Red would be likely to be opposed by some Manchester United shareholders and fans concerned about the future running of the football club.

"During its discussions with Red, the board sought a range of legally-binding protections for the football club, its fans and any minority shareholders, including in relation to future levels of net debt, new player investment and transfers, team selection, Old Trafford, ticket prices and certain minority protections.

"As at the date of this document, no such protections or assurances have been forthcoming."

That means Glazer has failed to offer any assurances to the board about the future of Old Trafford, the size of Sir Alex Ferguson's transfer budget, whether any players will be sold, the possibility of soaring ticket prices and whether United will be lumbered with even more debt than the £570m he has taken on to buy the club.

Gardner confirmed almost two million shares owned by board members - 0.72% of the total - would now be sold to Glazer.

He added: "The board believes that there are risks in remaining as a minority shareholder in Manchester United and that the price offered by Red today may not be realisable in the future.

"In light of these risks, the board has now unanimously concluded that, unless Manchester United shareholders have strong non-financial reasons for wishing to stay invested in the company, they should accept the offer, as the board intends to do in respect of its own beneficial holdings."

Shareholders have until 3pm on 13 June to accept the offer but United fans' groups, horrified at the scale of debt and a predicted sharp rise in admission prices, have continued to mobilise against the Glazer family.

Shareholders United's latest move is to hit the club's sponsors and the group is urging United fans to terminate their existing mobile phone contracts with shirt sponsors Vodafone, and sign up to other networks via a deal with two corporate communications firms which will net their campaign around £60 for each completed switch.

SU vice-chairman Oliver Houston said: "It's a win-win offer. United fans can put the squeeze on the parasitic Glazer whilst at the same time doing something positive by raising money for the 'Phoenix Fund'."

RVN
27-05-2005, 12:08 AM
Deco should shut the **** up, hope Ronaldo don't listen to any of his words.

Deco keen on Barca Ronaldo move

Barcelona midfielder Deco claims that he would like to see Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo play for the Catalan side following reports linking him with Real Madrid.

Ronaldo's form for United has attracted interest from other top sides in Europe including Madrid and Chelsea, but Deco - a colleague of Ronaldo's in the Portugese national team - believes that he would be a welcome addition at the Nou Camp.

"As a friend I wish the best for Cristiano Ronaldo but I would prefer that he did not sign and play for Real Madrid who are our biggest rival," Deco said.

"He is a great player and it would be much better that he plays for us in Barcelona."

OKK77
27-05-2005, 12:12 AM
wah kao. Link to Real Morons, link to Barça. As if we are their feeder club. knn.

smellybeans
27-05-2005, 12:15 AM
Deco is too self conceited...

jujube
27-05-2005, 12:38 AM
Ronaldo = Anakin Skywalker

greycat87
27-05-2005, 12:43 AM
wah kao. Link to Real Morons, link to Barça. As if we are their feeder club. knn.

Well, now you know how Leeds fans felt. :s22:

Ronaldo7
27-05-2005, 10:23 AM
I can't buy jersey de... :sad: when I bought Man Utd centenary jersey in 2001, they were trophyless in 2001/2002... this year I bought Man Utd jersey, and my girlfren bought me AC Milan jersey... both ended up trophyless... I am a jinx ler... :sad:

then buy arsenal , chelsea & liverpool jersey next season loh :evil:

joke aside , i don't think ronaldo will move to another club lah , not next season anyway . hope the board will offer him a better contract than the current one :s8:

MatrixFanatic
27-05-2005, 10:27 AM

I go buy pirated one can? :o :s13:

nakitas
27-05-2005, 10:58 AM
I go buy pirated one can? :o :s13:

Pasar Malam??? :s13:

Raul7
27-05-2005, 11:42 AM

aiyo dun say until like that. i also bought the centenary kit in 2001... that was my last Utd jersey liao... :o

1920_me
27-05-2005, 11:53 AM
i dont think united should go asia this year..i think its better if they stick to europe for their pre-season tour...usually they travel to asia/america they struggle during the season

OKK77
27-05-2005, 11:57 AM
Well, now you know how Leeds fans felt. :s22:

Now, there is a difference. They ARE our feeder club. *ROFL*

Raul7
27-05-2005, 12:01 PM
i dont think united should go asia this year..i think its better if they stick to europe for their pre-season tour...usually they travel to asia/america they struggle during the season

that time Alex blamed the Asia tour in 2001..... :(

kahmun7
27-05-2005, 12:23 PM

joke aside , i don't think ronaldo will move to another club lah , not next season anyway . hope the board will offer him a better contract than the current one :s8:
actually I am contemplating that... :D but me poor man...
if I got lotsa money I sure buy some other jerseys... use as floor mat...

kahmun7
27-05-2005, 12:31 PM
Now, there is a difference. They ARE our feeder club. *ROFL*
I wished West Ham was our feeder club instead...
then we would have gotten Lampard, and Defoe....
then we wouldn't have had such a poor season...

btw.. I just realised something... when you look at players promoted from our own youth academy...
none of them are strikers... our strikers are all brought in from other clubs... Cantona, Solskjaer, Cole, Yorkie, Teddy, RvN, Smithy, Forlan, Saha... all are bought... none of them from our youth academy... wonder if we have a problem training strikers...

usjag_18
27-05-2005, 02:15 PM
I feel happy and sad today.

Happy that an EPL team win the Champion league, sad that I am going to be taunt by my liverpool supporter friends for one whole year.

Liverpool success does show it to Man Utd that a good tactical manager and a team that willing to fight for each other is much more potent than a team with all the highly paid stars that only show their individual skill in a match.

Hey, dun bother with those liverpool supporter frens of urs. Nevertheless, they win the cup, doesn't mean that allow them to taunt us. Afterall, for half of my time supporting Man Utd, I have never taunted Liverpool even for once. So U can just ask them to keep quiet.

And it's true that manager's tactics is v.important. However, let's not forget what Rafael Benitez did in Valencia. He noes tactics and games well in Europe. Whereas, I think British managers are still quite into their own ways of playing. Seriously, if ppl saying Sr Alex Ferguson is wrong in statitics, let's not forget that he's also trying new stuff... (it's just that his new stuffs now working for the players... hehehee.... =:p )
I think mostly like what U said, the team is not willing to fight for one another, they are fighting against the opposite team alone.

Unlike the team in 1998/99, the team is playing as a team whereas, current team is most playing lone-man game. Which is really frustrating me. :s8:

Cheers'
O'

p/s:- Those Liverpool supporters who taunted Man Utd, just let them do it. Seriously, come to think about it, for them to win 5 times in Europe, it's a big accomplish among English clubs. But one thing they definitely lose to us, THEIR SUPPORTERS ALWAYS LEAVE THEM after they short of something. Whereas Man Utd's supporter NEVER LEAVE MAN UTD, except glory hunters.

usjag_18
27-05-2005, 02:18 PM
I wished West Ham was our feeder club instead...
then we would have gotten Lampard, and Defoe....
then we wouldn't have had such a poor season...

btw.. I just realised something... when you look at players promoted from our own youth academy...
none of them are strikers... our strikers are all brought in from other clubs... Cantona, Solskjaer, Cole, Yorkie, Teddy, RvN, Smithy, Forlan, Saha... all are bought... none of them from our youth academy... wonder if we have a problem training strikers...
I think most of the times, Man Utd have more English defenders & midfielders trained in youth team. Maybe that's becos our youngsters (strikers) just cannot make it. It's always easier to train these 2 categories, I guess...

kahmun7
27-05-2005, 02:35 PM
I think most of the times, Man Utd have more English defenders & midfielders trained in youth team. Maybe that's becos our youngsters (strikers) just cannot make it. It's always easier to train these 2 categories, I guess...
well all that going to change next season... Rossi coming up... :evil: though he's technically bought also.. but he trained in our academy right? hope he make a difference next season...

chengsun
27-05-2005, 03:26 PM
is rossi trained in our academy? i dun think right? he trained with our reserves but not academy.
well, all along, Man U is famous for our own groomed defenders and midfielers, if u take a look into history, most of the famous stars from Man U are also defenders and midfielders, except for a few.it is not something good or bad, at least we are able to groom our own players.

while on the other hand, liverpool is quite famous for grooming strikers.

MatrixFanatic
27-05-2005, 06:14 PM
Gardner warning
Malcolm Glazer has given no guarantees he will not sell players or interfere with boss Alex Ferguson’s team selections. Manchester United chairman Sir Roy Gardner announced he would be resigning following the American’s takeover. In a letter to share-holders, Gardner warned: “The board sought a range of legally-binding protections including future levels of debt, player investment and transfers, team selection and ticket prices. As of today no such protections or assurances have been forthcoming.” But Gardner added: “The board believes there are risks in remaining as a minority shareholder and the price offered today may not be realisable in the future. Unless shareholders have non-financial reasons to stay invested, they should accept the offer.” Dermot Desmond, the majority shareholder at Celtic who also had a stake in United, insisted Glazer’s appearance has worked against him. Desmond said: “If he looked like Robert Redford, I’m sure he’d have been far more acceptable. He looks a little bit more like an Irish leprechaun.”
Vikki Orvice, The Sun

Gardner has dig at 'wrecker' Glazer
Angry Sir Roy Gardner has warned that Malcolm Glazer could wreck Manchester United as a football force. In the first public attack on Glazer from any United official, Gardner revealed his fears that the massive debts he has run up to buy the club could have serious implications for Sir Alex Ferguson's team. He hinted it could even lead to the sale of stars like Wayne Rooney, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Rio Ferdinand and Cristiano Ronaldo as Glazer bids to keep his creditors happy. He said: "When a football club is under financial pressure, some of the key assets it can sell are players. And at a time of poor performances such sales are likely to make playing performances worse."
Richard Tanner, Daily Express

usjag_18
27-05-2005, 06:41 PM
is rossi trained in our academy? i dun think right? he trained with our reserves but not academy.
well, all along, Man U is famous for our own groomed defenders and midfielers, if u take a look into history, most of the famous stars from Man U are also defenders and midfielders, except for a few.it is not something good or bad, at least we are able to groom our own players.

while on the other hand, liverpool is quite famous for grooming strikers.

I am not so sure about Liverpool grooming strikers. In fact, in my memory, U can't count Kenny Dalglish or Ian Rush as their youth team bah? Or are they?

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2005, 06:55 PM
aiyo dun say until like that. i also bought the centenary kit in 2001... that was my last Utd jersey liao... :o

I had that centenary jersey with Veron printed :s34:

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2005, 07:00 PM
Hey, dun bother with those liverpool supporter frens of urs. Nevertheless, they win the cup, doesn't mean that allow them to taunt us. Afterall, for half of my time supporting Man Utd, I have never taunted Liverpool even for once. So U can just ask them to keep quiet.

And it's true that manager's tactics is v.important. However, let's not forget what Rafael Benitez did in Valencia. He noes tactics and games well in Europe. Whereas, I think British managers are still quite into their own ways of playing. Seriously, if ppl saying Sr Alex Ferguson is wrong in statitics, let's not forget that he's also trying new stuff... (it's just that his new stuffs now working for the players... hehehee.... =:p )
I think mostly like what U said, the team is not willing to fight for one another, they are fighting against the opposite team alone.

Unlike the team in 1998/99, the team is playing as a team whereas, current team is most playing lone-man game. Which is really frustrating me. :s8:

Cheers'
O'

p/s:- Those Liverpool supporters who taunted Man Utd, just let them do it. Seriously, come to think about it, for them to win 5 times in Europe, it's a big accomplish among English clubs. But one thing they definitely lose to us, THEIR SUPPORTERS ALWAYS LEAVE THEM after they short of something. Whereas Man Utd's supporter NEVER LEAVE MAN UTD, except glory hunters.

Most important Rooney and Ronaldo need to be more team players.. although their individual moments of brilliance are also crucial for match winners

Kakashi82
27-05-2005, 07:51 PM
http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,1778_492149,00.html

Manchester United will now step up their chase for Parma keeper Sebastien Frey after releasing Roy Carroll and Ricardo.

It was widely believed that Northern Ireland stopper Carroll was about to sign a new deal but instead he will be leaving Old Trafford.

He had previously asked Sir Alex Ferguson to guarantee him first-team football for next season - but a series of high-profile blunders in United's poor 2004/05 campaign hindered his chances.

Spanish keeper Ricardo has also been shown the door along with six young professionals.

And that means American Tim Howard is the only senior goalkeeper at United after agreeing a new deal last week.

Ferguson now has some money to play with following Malcolm Glazer's takeover, and will make the acquisition of Frey his number one priority for the summer.

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2005, 08:17 PM
Failure to save penalties sealed the faith for Carroll :(

MatrixFanatic
27-05-2005, 08:20 PM
Bye bye Carroll. :o

Carroll released on a free by United
Northern Ireland goalkeeper Roy Carroll has been released by Manchester United, the club confirmed today.

It was widely believed Carroll was about to sign a new deal but instead he will be leaving Old Trafford.

Spanish goalkeeper Ricardo has also been shown the door along with six young professionals.

It means that Tim Howard is the only senior goalkeeper at United - the American agreed a new deal last week.

Carroll, 27, made 70 appearances for United after arriving from Wigan in July 2001.

He has been allowed to leave despite regaining the jersey from Howard and played in the FA Cup final defeat by Arsenal only last weekend.

The highlight of Carroll's Old Trafford career came towards the end of the 2002/03 season when the Red Devils were closing in on leaders Arsenal for the title.

Fabien Barthez picked up an injury and Carroll stepped up to complete the 10 appearances needed for the first Premiership winners' medal of his career.

Carroll started out at Hull in 1995 and joined Wigan two years later making 170 appearances for the club.

He has been a regular in the Northern Ireland set-up although Birmingham's Maik Taylor is currently seen as number one by manager Lawrie Sanchez.

United have also released Ramon Calliste, Ben Collett, Daniel Nardiello, David Poole, Lee Lawrence and Paul Tierney.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334411&cc=4716

1920_me
27-05-2005, 08:26 PM
he did ok actually...not bad to be a back-up keeper...i am not so sure abt splashing money on a goalkeeper...i rather we spend it else where

RVN
27-05-2005, 08:26 PM
Carroll deserved to go, he made some silly errors for us plus he even demands to have regular first-team action. :s22:

I hope we still have money to buy players inspite of the debts. :o

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2005, 08:37 PM
United have also released Ramon Calliste, Ben Collett, Daniel Nardiello, David Poole, Lee Lawrence and Paul Tierney.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334411&cc=4716

I thought Nardiello and Tierney were hot prospects

RVN
27-05-2005, 08:40 PM

They probably werent up to scratch for Fergies liking.

MatrixFanatic
27-05-2005, 08:45 PM
he did ok actually...not bad to be a back-up keeper...i am not so sure abt splashing money on a goalkeeper...i rather we spend it else where

He's a good keeper, a very good back-up keeper. But he deserves this for the way he demands first-team action.

1920_me
27-05-2005, 08:51 PM
ENGLISH footballer Rio Ferdinand was caught for speeding after overtaking a police patrol car on the highway near Stafford in the UK in January.Now he has been given a 28-day driving ban and fined 1,500 ($4,550), reported British media.

The 26-year-old passed the police car in his high-powered Chrysler C3000 at about 9.45am driving at 169 kmh.The 85,000-a-week Manchester United star was charged with speeding.Ferdinand, from Alderley Edge, Cheshire, entered a guilty plea through his solicitor during a court hearing on 11 May.Sentencing, chairman of the bench Ashley Howells said: 'He is a role model and should be a positive role model for young people in society and this does not give out the right message.'

This is the fourth ban he has been slapped with.The first was for drink-driving in 1997. In 2002 and 2003, he was kicked off the roads again, both times for speeding.

P.S:might be old news..but he certainly needs a pay rise to pay off his fines

Kakashi82
27-05-2005, 08:56 PM
He's a good keeper, a very good back-up keeper. But he deserves this for the way he demands first-team action.

ya I agree he's a good back-up keeper not quite good enough at the highest level. I remember Fergie even regard him as the best no.2 keeper in the world

Swordsman
27-05-2005, 10:21 PM

okie.. the jerseys sell at queensway and penisula is original right. :)

Swordsman
27-05-2005, 10:23 PM
man u is going after frey ?? is frey a good keeper.. i think man u should buy a good replacement for keane and giggs but i wonder how much does SAF has for transfer funds.

RuMmYtUb
27-05-2005, 10:33 PM
okie.. the jerseys sell at queensway and penisula is original right. :)

Yup all authentic :D

MatrixFanatic
27-05-2005, 10:36 PM
Actually by letting Ricardo/Carroll go isn't a good thing because that means must spend $$$ to buy a back-up/No.1 keeper.

Don't know what Fergie thinking mens.

Left-winger and DMC is the main priority!!! :o

Swordsman
27-05-2005, 11:05 PM
yeah and who do you think can replace giggs and keane ?

1920_me
27-05-2005, 11:47 PM
we always want another keane or another giggs..it is almost impossible to do that..i think we should look for good midfielders..and try suit them to a new system..

genesis113
28-05-2005, 12:25 AM
Howard more obedient when he was on the bench.
Is Frey really that good? How abt Newcastle's Given?

Swordsman
28-05-2005, 12:33 AM
get iker casillias instead. :)

croc1977
28-05-2005, 01:00 AM
i rather let howard play as no 1 ....he is gd especially the debut season ...the way he was drop was becos of lack of confident especially during the rio case...he need to built up his confident...
i rather our no 2 is a youth player from man u...
now most important is buy a central def to parnter rio and replacent for keano...soon..,...

once we got a stable backline howard will have confident...that what i believe...

US product gd keepers i think with the likes of keller,fridel...and etc....

Raul7
28-05-2005, 01:06 AM
yeah and who do you think can replace giggs and keane ?

at first, i thought mark van bommel was a good choice to replace roy keane but he signed for barca liao....as for giggs, maybe Van der Varrt?

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 01:55 AM
near tanglin there... my friend buy from there... expensive but they offer name and number printing for free.. epl logo i nt very sure liaoz

Raul7
28-05-2005, 02:02 AM
near tanglin there... my friend buy from there... expensive but they offer name and number printing for free.. epl logo i nt very sure liaoz

at the far end.....

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 02:02 AM
think they scraping the youth system or something

Raul7
28-05-2005, 02:04 AM
think they scraping the youth system or something

think those cannot make it then need to leave

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 02:05 AM
All gd left wingers we've already missed out liao..

1st was Kewell, then Duff, then Ronaldinho, finally Robben..

I wonder who can replace Giggs..

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 02:10 AM
duno last time Utd gt interested in Reyes anot.. but i dun mind him at our club too.. before he join Arsenal that is.. the day i saw the news that he join Arsenal i abit shocked.. cause i sort of like him..

Raul7
28-05-2005, 02:13 AM
duno last time Utd gt interested in Reyes anot.. but i dun mind him at our club too.. before he join Arsenal that is.. the day i saw the news that he join Arsenal i abit shocked.. cause i sort of like him..

nope, during that time only real madrid n arsenal iirc =:p

genesis113
28-05-2005, 02:22 AM

Since CRonaldo can play left, so Juaquim can play right.

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 02:51 AM
nope, during that time only real madrid n arsenal iirc =:p
ok noted .

AhHuat
28-05-2005, 02:52 AM
joaquin?

forget it man
our per season budget is abt 20m thereabout...

his cost will wipe out our 1 season budget.

and anyway , i dun think he will fancy a move here......unless rafa benitez link or he will move to another big spanish team....

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 03:04 AM
Joaquin is really dream on, anyway i prefer Ronaldo settling on the right..
We need a natural left winger..

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 03:06 AM
like u say in the earlier post... we left out on a number of left wingers.. esp robben.. haiz

nakitas
28-05-2005, 08:38 AM
Since CRonaldo can play left, so Juaquim can play right.

Quaresma lah... He n Ronaldo r buddies...

nakitas
28-05-2005, 08:39 AM
like u say in the earlier post... we left out on a number of left wingers.. esp robben.. haiz

I consider Ronaldinho is bigger Haiz~ Compared to Robben lor... :D

RVN
28-05-2005, 09:15 AM
The Sun at it again. :s13:

Fergie in the Buff

By MICHAEL MORGAN and SHAUN CUSTIS

ALEX FERGUSON is poised to launch a £35million bid for Gianluigi Buffon.

The Manchester United boss has made Juventus’ No 1 his top target after ditching calamity keeper Roy Carroll.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005240640,00.html

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 09:29 AM
The Sun at it again. :s13:

Fergie in the Buff

The Manchester United boss has made Juventus’ No 1 his top target after ditching calamity keeper Roy Carroll.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005240640,00.html

20m/year how to spend on 35m Buffon

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 10:25 AM

Frankly the person Fergie COULD have gotten is Xabi Alonso. That time why only Liverpool bid for him? :s27: If he's at Manutd think Roy Keane can retire liao. :o

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 11:07 AM
Frankly the person Fergie COULD have gotten is Xabi Alonso. That time why only Liverpool bid for him? :s27: If he's at Manutd think Roy Keane can retire liao. :o

Precisely.. he's quite hot lor, so gd in Spain i wonder why other clubs, not even the likes of Milan, Real etc bidded for him and in came only Pool? Weird..

Somemore he come by quite cheap, something like 12 - 15m rite? IMO gd $ for his calibre

wawawa
28-05-2005, 11:20 AM
i dun think xabi can fill keane's position well..

cutter
28-05-2005, 11:39 AM

Alonso is attacking midfielder lah... can take over from Scholes not Keano. Right now the danger is the lack of a true leader on the pitch. Rio is the right age and stature but his character is not of the Keano/Robbo mould. Keano gets into trouble for for his pai kia leadership style... Rio just gets into trouble (drugs test, sex scandals, speeding).

If Keano retire then P Neville/Fortune may take his place as DM... but not his influence as Captain.

chengsun
28-05-2005, 11:46 AM
as far as i know, xabi alonso is a DM, not AM, even at liverpool he plays DM and let gerrard to chiong in front also...... not sure from where u know he is AM.

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 11:46 AM
Alonso is attacking midfielder lah... can take over from Scholes not Keano. Right now the danger is the lack of a true leader on the pitch. Rio is the right age and stature but his character is not of the Keano/Robbo mould. Keano gets into trouble for for his pai kia leadership style... Rio just gets into trouble (drugs test, sex scandals, speeding).

If Keano retire then P Neville/Fortune may take his place as DM... but not his influence as Captain.

Ah? I thought Alonso is more of a defensive midfielder? :s11: :o

Edit:I think Chengsun aka Mario has said what I think. :D

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 12:01 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/alonso.jpg (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/alonso.jpg)

He is a true blue world class DMC man.. although he's got gd attacking abilities

chengsun
28-05-2005, 12:03 PM
xabi is good, but if can choose, i will go for baptista...

cutter
28-05-2005, 12:16 PM
as far as i know, xabi alonso is a DM, not AM, even at liverpool he plays DM and let gerrard to chiong in front also...... not sure from where u know he is AM.

Actually he is more a central midfielder who is better as an attacker than as a Keano/Hamann/Vieira type who sits in front of the defence. I watch how footballers play and don't depend on stats from computer games (no offence ah :D ) to tell me about a footballer.

If you want official stats then I use some of the following :D :

http://www.premierleague.com/fapl.rac?command=forwardOnly&nextPage=enPlayerProfile&playerId=212763

http://www.uefa.com/Competitions/UCL/Players/Player=54091/index.html

Raul7
28-05-2005, 12:16 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/alonso.jpg (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v68/RuMmYtUb/alonso.jpg)

He is a true blue world class DMC man.. although he's got gd attacking abilities

yeah man...one of my fav player :) his passing is superb.

Raul7
28-05-2005, 12:17 PM
Man Utd cut loose keepers Ricardo, Carroll
By Ian Ferris - May 28, 2005

Manchester United will now step up their chase for Parma keeper Sebastien Frey after releasing Roy Carroll and Ricardo.

It was widely believed that Northern Ireland stopper Carroll was about to sign a new deal but instead he will be leaving Old Trafford.

He had previously asked Sir Alex Ferguson to guarantee him first-team football for next season - but a series of high-profile blunders in United's poor 2004/05 campaign hindered his chances.

Spanish keeper Ricardo has also been shown the door along with six young professionals.

And that means American Tim Howard is the only senior goalkeeper at United after agreeing a new deal last week.

RVN
28-05-2005, 01:05 PM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is poised to bid £35m for Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon. (The Sun)

Manchester United are set to make a £10m swoop for Tottenham goalkeeper Paul Robinson. (Daily Star)

Sir Alex Ferguson will attempt to lure Shay Given away from Newcastle and make him Manchester United's first-choice keeper. (Daily Mirror)

Raul7
28-05-2005, 01:07 PM
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is poised to bid £35m for Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon. (The Sun)

Manchester United are set to make a £10m swoop for Tottenham goalkeeper Paul Robinson. (Daily Star)

Sir Alex Ferguson will attempt to lure Shay Given away from Newcastle and make him Manchester United's first-choice keeper. (Daily Mirror)

err...don't think Juve will sell Buffon :o Paul Robinson still possible....

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 01:17 PM
Highest possibility is Shay Given.

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 01:42 PM
err...don't think Juve will sell Buffon :o Paul Robinson still possible....

Anyway where got enuff funds for him..

Raul7
28-05-2005, 01:45 PM
Anyway where got enuff funds for him..

ya, i was thinking where the funds is coming from ?

AhHuat
28-05-2005, 01:54 PM
for the past seasons.....gd deals like (nesta to milan) , ( alonso to pool) and many more....

but saf choose to cock eye abt it.....and overspent the money....on the farking rio....30m ?

u noe 30m can buy nesta(at the time he moved to milan) , still got spare change to buy players?

thats really farking sh.it man..... as far as SAF is concerned :

judging player transfer value : 5/10 (for rio case)
judging player transfer future : 0/10 (for jaap stam , beck case )
judging player's adaptability : 0/10 ( for forlan , veron case ..)

as a whole...saf isn't really a shrewd manager who does shrewd signings....
he loves being a cabbage head....let other clubs tock his cabbage head :s8:

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 02:10 PM
for the past seasons.....gd deals like (nesta to milan) , ( alonso to pool) and many more....

but saf choose to cock eye abt it.....and overspent the money....on the farking rio....30m ?

u noe 30m can buy nesta(at the time he moved to milan) , still got spare change to buy players?

Yea tat's sad to say.. in the past SAF might be better, getting deals like Ole, Irwin and Schmeichel etc..

Wenger more shrewd in this area.

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 02:13 PM
I consider Ronaldinho is bigger Haiz~ Compared to Robben lor... :D
haha... i say robben cause he has proven what he can do in the EPL mar ~

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 02:15 PM
Yea tat's sad to say.. in the past SAF might be better, getting deals like Ole, Irwin and Schmeichel etc..

yeah... last time yes.. SAF is better.. that was how King Eric joined us.. but now is Wenger liao.. really good in transfers..

AhHuat
28-05-2005, 02:16 PM
i think since the day peter kenyon left.....the major signings are tweaked by him for chelsea path......thus causing indirect disaster for manutd....

right now...the future of the club is hanging by a thread.....

chengsun
28-05-2005, 02:23 PM

ask yourself, did you say HOORAY, we got a Star World Class Player, when u knew SAF signed riom veron, or forlan, or u said He's going to be a flop in EPL, He's going to be a sucker. What did u think then?
How well can you work and how well can you produce if you are not in good terms with your boss?
It is always easier to 放马后炮.

just my 2 cents

vivre
28-05-2005, 02:25 PM

Come on guys........ SAF's standard has always been there. tried and tested.... Just that in recent seasons, we were managed by a power-hungry, under-zealous director by the name of Peter Kenyon, who cared more about covering his own ass with money.

SAF and his scouts have always been able to judge a player's ability... Just that It takes two hands to clap... three in this case for it takes (1)SAF and his scouts to find the players, (2)the management to fund and negotiate the transfer, and (3)the player's ability to manage the stress of being linked with Man U and ultimately prove his worth when he is in the team. Point 1 has always been fulfilled... Look at the number of quality players we've always been linked with, yet point 2 has not always been fulfilled - Robben, Ronaldinho. Point 3 is very subjective to luck - Look at Forlan who was a flop in Man U and now a success in La Liga.

We shouldn't point the finger at SAF just because of a season with no trophies. Look at his record and all can see what he is all about. In these times of uncertainty, true fans should stand by the club and our precious tried and tested manager.

vivre
28-05-2005, 02:31 PM
ask yourself, did you say HOORAY, we got a Star World Class Player, when u knew SAF signed riom veron, or forlan, or u said He's going to be a flop in EPL, He's going to be a sucker. What did u think then?
How well can you work and how well can you produce if you are not in good terms with your boss?
It is always easier to 放马后炮.

just my 2 cents

I second your opinion! :s7:

kahmun7
28-05-2005, 02:32 PM
hmmm just a thought.. how bout moving Ron to the left.. and use Fletch on the right?
keeper is a no 1 priority... I thought Caroll was reliable.. until I noticed he can't do crap when it comes to saving penalties.. but I don;t think Howard is a good no 1 too... maybe Howard can be backup for whoever is coming in... I hope not Shay Given.. though he is good, at times.. but he is erratic... might as well settle for David James, if wanna get Shay Given... I wouldn't mind Paul Robinson.

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 02:38 PM
It's good for Fletcher to be on the right, because IMO his crossing is the BEST in the midfield area. :s22: Maybe Gary Neville crossing is better. :o

But it seems like Fletcher's favourite position is in the centre.

mediacorpforever
28-05-2005, 02:45 PM
keeper is a no 1 priority... I thought Caroll was reliable.. until I noticed he can't do crap when it comes to saving penalties.. but I don;t think Howard is a good no 1 too... maybe Howard can be backup for whoever is coming in... I hope not Shay Given.. though he is good, at times.. but he is erratic... might as well settle for David James, if wanna get Shay Given... I wouldn't mind Paul Robinson.
For me, i hope its none of the above, I rather we get Sebestian Frey.

chengsun
28-05-2005, 02:45 PM
hmmm just a thought.. how bout moving Ron to the left.. and use Fletch on the right?
i suggested this before, long ago that, moving ron to the left and we signed another right winger, which is easier and more choices in the market.
ron though is not a natural left winger but he can play at the left, he was playing left when figo is still around in portugal team.

wonder how is quaresma doing now.

chengsun
28-05-2005, 02:46 PM
For me, i hope its none of the above, I rather we get Sebestian Frey.
base on the pace frey is progressing, i see him in france team in 2, 3 years time.

AhHuat
28-05-2005, 02:48 PM
base on the pace frey is progressing, i see him in france team in 2, 3 years time.
hmm btw now he how old?

spykid
28-05-2005, 02:51 PM
hmm btw now he how old?

think 23, 24...

cutter
28-05-2005, 04:09 PM

...Cantona, Keano, Yorke (for the Treble season), Sheringham, Pallister, Bruce, Ronaldo (ok it was the players like Keane, Giiggs etc who recommended him), Rooney, Kanchelskies, Ince, Stratchan, Cole (whatever we think, still a 20 goals a season striker for United), Stam, Heinze... oh ya... van Nistelrooy... :D

Wenger? Wiltord (13mil), Jeffers (10+mil), Stepanovs, Richard Wright, Remi Garde, Almunia....

Everyone has good and bad buys.

Ronaldo7
28-05-2005, 04:54 PM
It's good for Fletcher to be on the right, because IMO his crossing is the BEST in the midfield area. :s22: Maybe Gary Neville crossing is better. :o

But it seems like Fletcher's favourite position is in the centre.

keep fletcher in the centre . he didn't really impress on the right :s22:

trax06
28-05-2005, 05:15 PM
i think club scouts should start using FM2005 to scout for players.lol

blackevil_2000
28-05-2005, 05:33 PM
manUtd now not much happening even if there is it is bad.....sad la

mediacorpforever
28-05-2005, 07:50 PM
Arsenal, Chelsea, and Liverpool all finish season on a high, except Man U... Haiz, sad, dunno wat to say.

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 08:12 PM
United in chase for £6million Given

Sir Alex Ferguson will launch a £6million bid to prise Shay Given away from Newcastle and make him Manchester United's first-choice goalkeeper. Fergie has identified Newcastle keeper Given as the man he wants as his new No.1 after United's shock decision to release last week's FA Cup final keeper Roy Carroll on a free transfer. Carroll was shown the Old Trafford exit door after turning down the offer of a new deal. Given has two years left on his contract and United believe the Newcastle board will find it hard to turn down a bid, even though publicly they say he's not for sale. Newcastle chairman Freddy Shepherd made similar assurances to fans over Jonathan Woodgate, only for the defender to join Real Madrid for £13m. United are hoping a deal can be completed by the time they leave for their Far East tour on July 21.
Staff reporter, Daily Mirror

Ronaldo7
28-05-2005, 08:13 PM
Arsenal, Chelsea, and Liverpool all finish season on a high, except Man U... Haiz, sad, dunno wat to say.

keep the faith :)

btw , according to skysports , essien is closer to joining chelsea liao , and the agent didn't mention about us making a move for him :s22:

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=281054&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Blues+head+Essien+chase&channel=Football_Home

Swordsman
28-05-2005, 08:16 PM
what another player is going to chelsea.. chelsea is ruining the beautiful game. looks like got money then can rule soccer nowdays.

RVN
28-05-2005, 08:24 PM
I need a keeper!

SIR Alex Ferguson has made the solution of Manchester United's goalkeeping problem his top summer priority.

The Reds boss is ready to spend the first chunk of new owner Malcolm Glazer's money after showing the Old Trafford exit door to Roy Carroll and third-choice keeper Ricardo yesterday on free transfers.

Northern Ireland international Carroll was understood to be ready to accept the offer of a new three-year contract if he was given an assurance that United would not bring in another experienced goalie during the close season. Clearly, that assurance was not forthcoming.

Carroll's bargaining hand was also weakened by a series of embarrassing gaffes this season - the most spectacular being the goal-that-never-was in the Premiership match against Spurs at Old Trafford in January.

The shock release of Carroll - and the more predictable departure of Spaniard Ricardo - leaves the Reds with only one senior goalkeeper on the books in Tim Howard, who has also developed the unwanted habit of committing costly blunders over the past 12 months.

And Howard's unpredictability will fuel Ferguson's desire to land the consistent goalkeeper he has been seeking since Peter Schmeichel called time on his Old Trafford career six years ago.

Pledged

Up to £25m of an alleged £100m transfer kitty pledged by Glazer could be made available when the American billionaire formally completes his buy-out early next month.

And Fergie is sure to be quick off the mark when the summer transfer-window opens on July 1.

He is expected to test Tottenham's resolve with a bid of up to £10m for Paul Robinson, who has displaced David James as England's No1 since his transfer from Leeds to White Hart Lane.

The Londoners, so far, have insisted that Robinson is not for sale. But a large bid from Fergie could provoke a change of heart in the Spurs boardroom with manager Martin Sol desperate for money to strengthen his senior squad.

If Spurs dig in their heels, Ferguson may well switch his sights to Stamford Bridge and make a similar bid for Chelsea's second-string goalkeeper Carlo Cudicini.

Despite the sky-high wages at Chelsea, Cudicini yearns for regular first-team football and would surely prefer to be battling it out with Howard for the No1 berth at Old Trafford rather than against the unshiftable Petr Cech at Stamford Bridge.

PHIL Neville is facing a club-or-country dilemma as he becomes more and more a bit-part player at Manchester United.

The younger of the Neville brothers is currently in America with the England squad and remains, at the moment, a regular selection for manager Sven-Goran Eriksson.

But while Phil's father and agent Neville Neville insists his son is happy at Old Trafford, others close to the Bury-born midfielder believe he is jeopardising his international career by failing to command a regular berth in Alex Ferguson's senior side.

Last season, Neville was in Ferguson's starting line-up in only 12 of the Reds' 38 Premiership matches. And his only Champions League start was in the meaningless tie against Fenerbahce in December, where Fergie fielded a team of youngsters after already qualifying for the next stage of the tournament.

There was a further blow to Neville's morale only a week ago when he couldn't even make the substitutes' bench for the high- profile encounter against Arsenal in the FA Cup Final.

Adamant

Despite that lack of first-team football, Neville senior is adamant that his 28-year-old son has no intention of following the lead set by his pal Nicky Butt, who quit Old Trafford last summer for a first-team place at Newcastle United.

Neville said: "Alex Ferguson has told Phil that he wants him to stay, and as long as that continues Phil is prepared to remain at United and fight to regain a regular first-team place.

"It was only 12 months ago that Phil signed a five-year contract and he will fulfil that commitment as long as Alex feels he has a part to play at Old Trafford.

"Of course, he is disappointed at his lack of first-team opportunities. Any player would be. But he loves United and he has got absolutely no desire to play for another club."

However, Eric Harrison, the coach of the famous Class of '92 youth team at Old Trafford who moulded the careers of both the Neville brothers, believes Phil will have to reconsider his United future quickly or risk fading out of Eriksson's international set-up.

"There is no question that both the Neville boys live and breathe United," said Harrison. "And Phil would be totally devastated if he was ever forced to leave Old Trafford.

"Up to last season he has played a fair amount of first-team matches, and he's never let his team down. He's a top quality footballer.

"But having to sit out so many matches last season must have churned him up inside because all he wants to do is to play for United. And not even making the bench for the Cup Final must have been like a knife through the heart.

"I think Phil has got a real dilemma on his hands right now. He is proud as a peacock every time he pulls on an England shirt and he definitely doesn't want to leave Old Trafford.

"But he will know that he won't keep getting called up by England if he's only getting the odd first-team outing with his club.

"It would be a massive wrench for him to leave United. Nicky Butt left because he felt his future first-team chances at Old Trafford would be limited.

But he's not looked the same player at Newcastle because, like Phil, he was a one-club man and the move to a strange environment has obviously unsettled him.

"Phil would have to take Nicky's experience into account before he decides where his future lies. Because of his love for United I believe he will stay on at Old Trafford for the time being an try to win back a regular first-team berth.

"But he can't afford to remain an occasional first-team player for any length of time with United if he wants to continue his international career."

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/160/160532_i_need_a_keeper.html

MatrixFanatic
28-05-2005, 08:24 PM

btw , according to skysports , essien is closer to joining chelsea liao , and the agent didn't mention about us making a move for him :s22:

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=281054&cpid=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Blues+head+Essien+chase&channel=Football_Home

Win liao lah. :s27:

RVN
28-05-2005, 08:26 PM

No suprise there, chelsea ruining the transfer market. :s27:

AhHuat
28-05-2005, 09:46 PM
haiz wats new? we always lose out in signing top players

ragnarok95
28-05-2005, 09:48 PM
Whats new now? We dun seem to be getting the players we want.......

cutter
28-05-2005, 10:01 PM
Whats new now? We dun seem to be getting the players we want.......

so much bad news who dare to come to United? Choose Chelsea sure will get top wages from RA and got chance to win things with the Special One, who also known for his buddy-buddy management style with his players... plus London lifestyle is always a better selling point then the more rainy Manchester locale.

Go Man United now have to face risks with Glazer and huge debts... sacully like Leeds or Man City (when they were relegated) when the players are owed wages and sold off against their will to any club to generate cash. SAF is still a better coach to learn from but his hairdryer style may not suit many people.

When Man Utd used to be the world's richest and most profitable club (only a month ago)... people can trust the financial future when dealing with the club. Now after repeated headlines about how bad a financial state Man Utd is and will be in... most people will think twice before commiting into any dealings. Sad to say but this is how unforgiving the marketplace is.

Thanks Glazer.

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 10:36 PM
keep fletcher in the centre . he didn't really impress on the right :s22:
hmmm.. he knows hw to be physical.. see him play in the FA Cup Final... he is quite physical which i feel is a good thing

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 10:37 PM

arghz! lose to chelsea once again... damn it!! :s27:

adam_adam
28-05-2005, 10:40 PM
Glazer is my buddy...do me a favor by messing around with ManU..later he will sian 1/2 and ditch ManU away in a pile of sh1t and mess...lol

YNWA :)

Ronaldo_7
28-05-2005, 10:50 PM
Glazer is my buddy...do me a favor by messing around with ManU..later he will sian 1/2 and ditch ManU away in a pile of sh1t and mess...lol

?????? :s11:

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 10:56 PM
...Cantona, Keano, Yorke (for the Treble season), Sheringham, Pallister, Bruce, Ronaldo (ok it was the players like Keane, Giiggs etc who recommended him), Rooney, Kanchelskies, Ince, Stratchan, Cole (whatever we think, still a 20 goals a season striker for United), Stam, Heinze... oh ya... van Nistelrooy... :D

Wenger? Wiltord (13mil), Jeffers (10+mil), Stepanovs, Richard Wright, Remi Garde, Almunia....

Everyone has good and bad buys.

But they got overmars and vieira plucked out from obsecurity.. even henry.. sold overmars and petit for hellva profit :s7:

RuMmYtUb
28-05-2005, 10:57 PM
Sebastian Frey > Paul Robinson > Shay Given..

hellfire190
28-05-2005, 11:25 PM
Go Man United now have to face risks with Glazer and huge debts... sacully like Leeds or Man City (when they were relegated) when the players are owed wages and sold off against their will to any club to generate cash. SAF is still a better coach to learn from but his hairdryer style may not suit many people.

When Man Utd used to be the world's richest and most profitable club (only a month ago)... people can trust the financial future when dealing with the club. Now after repeated headlines about how bad a financial state Man Utd is and will be in... most people will think twice before commiting into any dealings. Sad to say but this is how unforgiving the marketplace is.

Thanks Glazer.

yup n now man u has to treble their profits to pay off the interest from Glazer's borrowing to buy out Man U. I'd rather have rupert murdoch buying man u successfully the other time round.... but some news wrote tt Glazer's middle son is a man u fan n he'll be in charge of man u.... hope this means man u will get a sizeable transfer kitty to get some good players.... dun wan man u to become leeds!

wilbs
28-05-2005, 11:58 PM
But they got overmars and vieira plucked out from obsecurity.. even henry.. sold overmars and petit for hellva profit :s7:

ya lor... although Overmars was already a star with Euro champs Ajax and cost a "mere" 7.5mil at 1997 prices and Vieira was bought from the "obscurity" of that unknown club AC Milan :D... Henry from that smalltown team Juventus :D...

SAF sold Stam for 5-6mil profit, Becks for 25mil profit, landed Cantona for 1mil, Schmikes for 600k, OGS for peanuts and some monkeys....also overpaid for Rio, Saha, Forlan, Veron...because everyone know Man Utd was the richest club and could demand over mkt price while Arsenal tended to be penny pinchers (until AW somehow splashed 20mil on Reyes)

... let me repeat for him.... everyone has good and bad buys.

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 12:23 AM

you are a farking childish person.

mediacorpforever
29-05-2005, 12:35 AM

Ferguson now has some money to play with following Malcolm Glazer's takeover, and will make the acquisition of Frey his number one priority for the summer.

www.teamtalk.com

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, now the no 1 target is who? Frey or Given?

chengsun
29-05-2005, 12:45 AM
have faith, is our current state more terrible than that time when we kena the munich accident?
we can walk through that period, we will definitely walk through this one.

chengsun
29-05-2005, 12:47 AM
what another player is going to chelsea.. chelsea is ruining the beautiful game. looks like got money then can rule soccer nowdays.
this is a good time that we go back to basic, repeat what we have done 10 years ago when we introduced giggs and the 5 lads into 1st team.
it shld be like that also, we always train n develop ur own lads and these kids tend to be more layal than those u buy back 1

chengsun
29-05-2005, 12:48 AM

yeah, so ur point is? have u finished ur homework? later kena teacher kick ur butt than u know

chengsun
29-05-2005, 12:51 AM
yup n now man u has to treble their profits to pay off the interest from Glazer's borrowing to buy out Man U. I'd rather have rupert murdoch buying man u successfully the other time round.... but some news wrote tt Glazer's middle son is a man u fan n he'll be in charge of man u.... hope this means man u will get a sizeable transfer kitty to get some good players.... dun wan man u to become leeds!
since everyone saying that we have been a carrot head for many teams to chop for many years, so isn't this state a good 1 for us not to be carrot head anymore?
when u got less money, when u are in debt, u will be more careful in ur spending coz u cant afford much mistakes in transfer. so they will do more research, do more observation and be very strict in negotiation.

greycat87
29-05-2005, 12:54 AM
So, now the no 1 target is who? Frey or Given?

I hope its Frey.

mediacorpforever
29-05-2005, 12:59 AM
I'd rather have rupert murdoch buying man u successfully the other time round....
Me too...Comparing the 2 of them, i rather have Murdoch.

trax06
29-05-2005, 02:07 AM
i think all the united faithfully dont understand why someone would want to get into a business which is full of debt just like what Glazer did.he really really need to explain how he is goin to figure this out.he has never been clear most probably he has got nothing up his sleeves.

i just dont get it why someone would want to do something so ludacris as what Glazer did.no clever business man would want to take this daunting task of rebuiliding the finances of the once richest club while its in major ass debt.i cant believe he would put himself in this situation ie hated by many.the bank must be real happy abt the loans they gave to Glazer.

Ronaldo_7
29-05-2005, 03:16 AM
wow.. our Kieran Richardson scored from a curling freekick for his debut appearance for England~ maybe he is the solution to the left flank... he deserves a chance

edit: he scored another at 44th min.. dream debut for him.. certainly made a deep impact on SGE liaoz... :)

cutter
29-05-2005, 03:54 AM
Wah seh... 2 goals from Richardson... man on fire... on course for hat-trick on his debut!

cutter
29-05-2005, 04:06 AM
Bas_tard.... looks like Glazer's target is to exploit us overseas fans instead... higher TV prices will kana the ESPN-SCV package and maybe even make all Man United matchs into pay-per-view like in US boxing etc.... knn now I know i am a direct target for him I'm even more pissed off :s27:

http://www.football365.co.uk/news/story_153592.shtml

Murray urges Glazer not to get greedy
Saturday May 28 2005

Sunderland chairman Bob Murray is warning new Manchester United owner Malcolm Glazer that he may not get things his own way if he attempts to re-negotiate the Barclays Premiership television deal.

The 76-year-old American tycoon is widely expected to make a concerted effort to re-draw the existing collective deal in an attempt to cash in on the Red Devils' popularity around the world. However, Murray is confident there will be strong opposition within boardrooms around the country if United attempt to amass the 14 votes they would need.

"That can be tweaked at least," he admitted when asked about the implications for the television deal. "They might not get everything they want, but they can tweak it. It is the league within a league. We are for one club, one vote. It will be very hard for the 14 clubs to vote for a bigger share for the bigger clubs, so therefore there might be quite a bit of brinkmanship here."

He added: "We are very pro-football clubs. We are not elitist and we are not arrogant. If it was not for the Football League, we would not have a very big team at the moment."

Murray believes Glazer's takeover, although inevitable, will have major implications for the game as a whole.

"The Manchester United deal is a business deal and he has got a totally different agenda to anybody else in the game," said Murray. "But I have got no sympathy for Manchester United supporters because what has happened was inevitable.

"We are going down a very complex route. I think the change of ownership at Manchester United will have an impact on the game, that is inevitable. It is just progress, though, in a sense because Manchester United have nearly been taken over a few times, the last time by Sky.

"The trouble with Manchester United being public is that they have gone to the highest bidder, which is not always the best thing to do."

RVN
29-05-2005, 04:28 AM
This is very scary if that happen, **** you Glazer. :s27:

Fans told to band together at Apollo
Stuart Brennan

MANCHESTER United fans have been warned that Malcolm Glazer's takeover of the club is plunging the club into a "nightmare".

Campaigners against the American tycoon's purchase of the Reds claim that some of United's star names - and even Old Trafford itself - could be put up for sale to pay off the huge debts which have been loaded on to the club.

Now the Not For Sale coalition of supporters groups and fanzines is urging fans to attend a public rally at the Apollo Theatre in Ardwick on Bank Holiday Monday (3pm).

Supporters' fears were heightened this week by plc chairman Sir Roy Gardner's revelation that the United board has repeatedly asked Glazer for assurances that Sir Alex Ferguson's transfer budget will not be cut, that ticket prices will not soar and that debt levels will not reach unsustainable levels.

Glazer has not responded to the request - or the question of the possible sale of the ground - and has pressed ahead with a business plan that the board has in the past described as "aggressive" and "damaging".

Now United supporters opposed to Glazer claim that this week's final offer document has revealed "the full horror" of his plans for the club.

Andy Walsh of the Independent Manchester United Supporters Association will chair the rally at the Apollo and is urging supporters to give their voice to the campaign.

Starved

He said: "We cannot say too much about the detail of Glazer's offer document for legal reasons, but it is fair to say that the whole future of the club is at stake. We face not only the possibility of the team being starved of transfer funds, but of the current stars of the team being put up for sale to pay for Glazer's acquisition.

"His refusal to give any assurances to the board, to the manager or to the supporters, once he takes the club private, shows that.

"United's assets are its players and its ground and under Glazer's plan all of those assets are under threat of sale."

The Not For Sale group will outline its latest strategies for fighting Glazer at Monday's meeting and among those present will be Manchester Central MP and United fan Tony Lloyd, Shareholders United chairman Nick Towle and football business journalist David Conn.

The Not For Sale group is stepping up its boycott of United's sponsors and commercial partners by setting up "teams" of supporters, each of which will have a specific target.

Details of SU's expected legal challenges to Glazer's takeover, and ideas of how ordinary supporters can get involved will also be discussed.

As part of the boycott campaign, a skip will be placed outside the theatre for `Nike amnesty'. Supporters will be asked to dump any clothing or footwear they have which was made by the sportswear giant - United's biggest commercial partner - for re-distribution to Third World charities.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/160/160537_fans_told_to_band_together_at_apollo.html

RVN
29-05-2005, 04:38 AM

W.U.M http://www.redcafe.net/images/smilies/tard.gif

piss off, you jackass.

chengsun
29-05-2005, 09:25 AM
Richardson savours spectacular debut

Kieran Richardson was savouring an 'unbelievable' England debut after his double strike secured a 2-1 friendly win over the USA in Chicago.

Sven enjoys the surroundings at Soldier Field. (PhilCole/GettyImages)

The 20-year-old Manchester United midfielder got his England career off to a spectacular start with a stunning fourth-minute free-kick.

And he took the sting out of a USA fightback when he drove home his second of the night two minutes before the break.

Richardson, whose form during a loan spell with West Bromwich Albion persuaded Sven-Goran Eriksson to hand him an England call-up, told Sky Sports 1: 'To play for my country is a great honour and to score is great. To score in the first four minutes is unbelievable...a great feeling.

'Before the game I was a bit nervous but I scored the (first) goal and went on from there.'

Richardson's night to remember ended in the 59th minute when he limped off to be replaced by Phil Neville.

'I felt a twinge in my hamstring and he (Eriksson) took me off. He did not want to risk anything.'

Eriksson was naturally delighted with Richardson's goalscoring debut but less pleased that several players, including Sol Campbell, suffered jarring injuries on a hard pitch he had asked to be watered.

'For a young player to score two goals was fantastic,'' said Eriksson, of Richardson's exploits, 'and he played well too.

'We practised free-kicks a little bit yesterday and he almost did the same then. Today it (Richardson's free-kick) was fantastic.'

Campbell did not reappear for the second half after suffering a niggle and his Arsenal team-mate Ashley Cole also limped off in the 63rd minute.

'The players are not used to playing on such hard pitches and the injury to Sol Campbell was because of the pitch,'' Eriksson told Sky Sports 1. 'We'll have to wait until tomorrow morning to see if Sol is going to be ready for Tuesday (when England play Colombia in New Jersey).'

England's tour to the USA has been ridiculed in some quarters because of the number of player withdrawals and a defiant Eriksson added: 'We have been criticised for this tour but I think we have shown that friendlies are useful sometimes.

'All the young players involved tonight showed that they wanted to play football. They were very hungry, showed a lot of talent and winning tonight was fantastic for them.'

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=334518&cc=4716

something to cheer of after so much sh|t

chengsun
29-05-2005, 09:26 AM
W.U.M http://www.redcafe.net/images/smilies/tard.gif

piss off, you jackass.
relax dude, I just feel sad for Liverpool to have such fans.
U think this guy got the guts to say this kind of sh|t in front of his fellow Liverpool fans?

ticcan
29-05-2005, 09:46 AM
United face debt meltdown of £1.55 Billion

MALCOLM GLAZER could leave ManchesterUnited with staggering debts of £1.55BILLION after his takeover.

The News of the World has seen the American tycoon's proposals, which reveal huge penalties if he fails to pay back on time the massive £645m he has borrowed.

Glazer has taken on the huge debts after paying £3-a-share to take United off the stock market.

And Nick Towle, chairman of action group Shareholders United, said: "Glazer isn't so much tied up with loan sharks — he's got himself involved with a plague of locusts!

"United chairman Sir Roy Gardner resigned saying Glazer had provided no assurances about future debt levels, transfer funds, non-interference in team selection and so on. Now we see the true horror of it all."

Glazer has borrowed £275m from American hedge funds, which specialise in lending money to risky ventures at high rates of interest.

And there are big penalties if he fails to pay back on time. Towle said: "The total debt could easily reach £1.55bn if Glazer does not hit all his repayment targets.

"That's the big fear for all supporters.

"Glazer has already paid £100m more for United than most experts said it was worth — and now he faces another hidden £105m dealing with the hedge funds alone."

Interest

Glazer has also borrowed £265m from JP Morgan and the interest rises to a staggering 20.1 per cent — or £55m — in 2009.

Football finance expert Simon Banks said: "The takeover documents show incredible borrowing. Hedge funds here, £55m there, a £50m credit facility and £40m allowed for capital expenditure.

"It seems that when United told Glazer to put up or shut up they did so after looking at the international finance market.

"They never imagined he'd borrow so much at such high rates of interest. In turn, Glazer was stuck with all the shares he bought up at £3 a go and had to come up with something.

"He has been forced into extremely high risk areas."

Incredibly, United could accumulate staggering debt of £1.65 BILLION if it all goes horribly wrong for Glazer and he fails to redeem the preferential shares sold to high risk hedge funds for £275m.

Other figures show that the potentially crippling repayment schedule on loans totalling £644m mean that:

* Sir Alex Ferguson could have £25m to spend on players this summer-but after that the cupboard is bare.

* By next May alone the cost of redeeming the staggering £275m worth of preferred securities obtained from three hedge funds could cost the club £105m.

* The cost of repaying the £265m borrowed from J P Morgan will have rocketed to £55m year by 2009.

And all this from a club that this year announced pre-tax profits of just £27.9m after paying dividends of £7m to shareholders.

None of this information was contained in the takeover proposal plan sent to shareholders last week. But closer examination of Glazer's plan have emerged after scrutiny of crucial documents at the London office's of his lawyers Allen & Overy.

The problem with Glazer's hedge fund arrangment is that it will cost him as much as £60m to redeem the preferential shares and another £55m of rolled up interest if, as expected, he moves to reduce this debt after May 2 of next year.

And while repayments to J P Morgan begin with two seperate cheques of £8m in January and July 2006, the percentage of the debt repayment rises to a mighty 20.1 per cent in 2009. The amount increases each year, so by 2009 they'll be paying back a massive £55m a year.

All of which will leave Ferguson with no money in the tranfer kitty after this summer. And should Sir Alex call it a day in a year's time the new Old Trafford boss will be forced to sell before he can buy.

"It's crazy and increases our fears that he may sell and lease back Old Trafford to buy back the preference shares."

Fans are certain to vent their fury at that prospect at a public rally at the Apollo Theatre in Ardwick tomorrow afternoon.

http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/story_pages/sport/sport4.shtml

siao liao, total madness, United are going to be screwed at this rate. :mad: :mad: :mad:

yulee
29-05-2005, 09:52 AM
OMG :eek: :s31: :s31:

Raul7
29-05-2005, 09:53 AM
like that man u going to have a hard time liao....

RVN
29-05-2005, 09:55 AM
deep deep trouble, Glazer is going to f*ck us up no end. :mad:

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 10:08 AM
D-day is coming :(

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 10:13 AM
Chelsea closing in on Essien deal

Mickael Essien's agent claims Chelsea are leading the race to sign the Lyon midfielder after Real Madrid dropped out of the running.

The Ghanaian star is one of the most sought-after players in Europe after another impressive campaign for Les Gones, which culminated in Lyon clinching their fourth successive Ligue 1 title.

And Premiership champions Chelsea, backed by Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich, appear to be in pole position, according to Fabien Piveteau.

He told Spanish sports daily Marca that regulations limiting the number of non-EU players Primera Liga clubs can field have dissuaded Madrid.

'We have spoken with Madrid after they showed an interest in the player but they stated that, at this time, they don't have a place for a non-European.

'Right now he is closer to Chelsea but both clubs have to keep on talking.'

Marca claim Madrid may yet enter the bidding, however, once they know how much Chelsea are asked to pay for the 22-year-old.

Madrid, who missed out on the league title to Barcelona this season, are thought to have earmarked central midfield as one of the areas they have to strengthen this summer.

They signed Thomas Gravesen from Everton in January but a big-name arrival is expected with Patrick Vieira and Steven Gerrard also mentioned as possible targets for the Bernabeu club.

Ok, there goes our target.. no more Keano replacement

yulee
29-05-2005, 10:22 AM
Fergie in the Buff

United’s new owner Malcolm Glazer has promised Fergie a £100m transfer kitty after their barren season.

Ferguson will only be allowed to spend £20m a season over the next

five years and hopes to persuade the Italian giants to accept a down payment then instalments for Buffon.

But Fergie could see striker Ruud van Nistelrooy head for the Old Trafford exit door.

The unhappy Dutch star, who cost £19m four years ago, has had a disastrous season due to injuries and poor form and has decided he needs a new challenge.

Real Madrid have been strongly linked with Van Nistelrooy in the past and could re-activate their interest.

It is possible a swap deal could be arranged which would involve Michael Owen moving to Old Trafford.

Van Nistelrooy, 28, was heavily criticised by United fans for his display in the FA Cup final defeat by Arsenal.

United lost on penalties but he missed at least three good chances and his body language strongly hinted his time was up.

Buffon, 27, is widely regarded as the best in the world in his business and when he joined Juve from Parma four years ago he cost £32.6m — still a world record fee for a keeper.

Whether Juve, who beat rivals AC Milan to land their 28th Serie A title, would be prepared to sell their prize asset is open to debate

mediacorpforever
29-05-2005, 12:20 PM
wow.. our Kieran Richardson scored from a curling freekick for his debut appearance for England~ maybe he is the solution to the left flank... he deserves a chance

edit: he scored another at 44th min.. dream debut for him.. certainly made a deep impact on SGE liaoz... :)
I think he improves by leaps and bounds this season esp. Ever since he was loan to WBA. Hope he becomes a regular player in United's starting 11.

1920_me
29-05-2005, 12:24 PM
are they showing the game anywhere?

RVN
29-05-2005, 12:57 PM
Nike put pressure on United

Global sportswear giant Nike could back out of its sponsorship deal with British football giants Manchester United if the side fails to return to its winning ways, the Sunday Telegraph newspaper in London reported.
Nike has a 303-million-pounds (440-million-euro, 553-million-dollar) sponsorship deal with United, but since the 13-year deal was signed in 2000 -- the year after the team won the European Champions League -- the club's fortunes have waned.

This past season United -- taken over earlier this month by US sports tycoon Malcolm Glazer despite an outcry from diehard fans -- has won no major honours, and finished a distant third in the Premiership.

"Chelsea won the league this year, Arsenal won the FA Cup and Liverpool won the Champions League, so you could argue that Manchester United is only the fourth-best club in England at the moment," Ian Todd, Nike's vice president for sports marketing, was quoted as saying.

He added: "If, for example, Manchester United failed to qualify for the Champions League next season, that might be a problem. We will look very carefully at this situation, as we do with all our sponsorship agreements."

Todd said Nike was due to meet Glazer next month to discuss his strategic vision for the world's most famous football club.

United fans angered by Glazer's takeover have called a rally for Monday in Manchester, northwest England, where Nike and other sponsor products can be surrendered for charity as a gesture of protest.

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 01:31 PM
I think he improves by leaps and bounds this season esp. Ever since he was loan to WBA. Hope he becomes a regular player in United's starting 11.

A permanent answer to filling up Giggs's void ?

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 01:47 PM

MALCOLM GLAZER could leave ManchesterUnited with staggering debts of £1.55BILLION after his takeover.

The News of the World has seen the American tycoon's proposals, which reveal huge penalties if he fails to pay back on time the massive £645m he has borrowed.

Glazer has taken on the huge debts after paying £3-a-share to take United off the stock market.

And Nick Towle, chairman of action group Shareholders United, said: "Glazer isn't so much tied up with loan sharks — he's got himself involved with a plague of locusts!

"United chairman Sir Roy Gardner resigned saying Glazer had provided no assurances about future debt levels, transfer funds, non-interference in team selection and so on. Now we see the true horror of it all."

Glazer has borrowed £275m from American hedge funds, which specialise in lending money to risky ventures at high rates of interest.

And there are big penalties if he fails to pay back on time. Towle said: "The total debt could easily reach £1.55bn if Glazer does not hit all his repayment targets.

"Glazer has already paid £100m more for United than most experts said it was worth — and now he faces another hidden £105m dealing with the hedge funds alone."

Interest

Glazer has also borrowed £265m from JP Morgan and the interest rises to a staggering 20.1 per cent — or £55m — in 2009.

Football finance expert Simon Banks said: "The takeover documents show incredible borrowing. Hedge funds here, £55m there, a £50m credit facility and £40m allowed for capital expenditure.

"It seems that when United told Glazer to put up or shut up they did so after looking at the international finance market.

"They never imagined he'd borrow so much at such high rates of interest. In turn, Glazer was stuck with all the shares he bought up at £3 a go and had to come up with something.

Incredibly, United could accumulate staggering debt of £1.65 BILLION if it all goes horribly wrong for Glazer and he fails to redeem the preferential shares sold to high risk hedge funds for £275m.

Other figures show that the potentially crippling repayment schedule on loans totalling £644m mean that:

* Sir Alex Ferguson could have £25m to spend on players this summer-but after that the cupboard is bare.

* By next May alone the cost of redeeming the staggering £275m worth of preferred securities obtained from three hedge funds could cost the club £105m.

* The cost of repaying the £265m borrowed from J P Morgan will have rocketed to £55m year by 2009.

And all this from a club that this year announced pre-tax profits of just £27.9m after paying dividends of £7m to shareholders.

None of this information was contained in the takeover proposal plan sent to shareholders last week. But closer examination of Glazer's plan have emerged after scrutiny of crucial documents at the London office's of his lawyers Allen & Overy.

The problem with Glazer's hedge fund arrangment is that it will cost him as much as £60m to redeem the preferential shares and another £55m of rolled up interest if, as expected, he moves to reduce this debt after May 2 of next year.

And while repayments to J P Morgan begin with two seperate cheques of £8m in January and July 2006, the percentage of the debt repayment rises to a mighty 20.1 per cent in 2009. The amount increases each year, so by 2009 they'll be paying back a massive £55m a year.

All of which will leave Ferguson with no money in the tranfer kitty after this summer. And should Sir Alex call it a day in a year's time the new Old Trafford boss will be forced to sell before he can buy.

"It's crazy and increases our fears that he may sell and lease back Old Trafford to buy back the preference shares."

Fans are certain to vent their fury at that prospect at a public rally at the Apollo Theatre in Ardwick tomorrow afternoon.

siao liao, total madness, United are going to be screwed at this rate. :mad: :mad: :mad:

what the f is this glazier trying to do ? :mad: he no money then don don buy man u over, borrow money buy man u. he think he roman abrahmovic. now saf only got 20 million tranfer funds...

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 01:49 PM

the next ryan giggs !!!? :s12:

Raul7
29-05-2005, 02:20 PM

maybe be... :)

Raul7
29-05-2005, 02:21 PM
think chelsea is all out to snatch man u targets?

Chelsea closing in on Essien deal
Mickael Essien's agent claims Chelsea are leading the race to sign the Lyon midfielder after Real Madrid dropped out of the running.

The Ghanaian star is one of the most sought-after players in Europe after another impressive campaign for Les Gones, which culminated in Lyon clinching their fourth successive Ligue 1 title.

And Premiership champions Chelsea, backed by Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich, appear to be in pole position, according to Fabien Piveteau.

He told Spanish sports daily Marca that regulations limiting the number of non-EU players Primera Liga clubs can field have dissuaded Madrid.

'We have spoken with Madrid after they showed an interest in the player but they stated that, at this time, they don't have a place for a non-European.

'Right now he is closer to Chelsea but both clubs have to keep on talking.'

Marca claim Madrid may yet enter the bidding, however, once they know how much Chelsea are asked to pay for the 22-year-old.

Madrid, who missed out on the league title to Barcelona this season, are thought to have earmarked central midfield as one of the areas they have to strengthen this summer.

They signed Thomas Gravesen from Everton in January but a big-name arrival is expected with Patrick Vieira and Steven Gerrard also mentioned as possible targets for the Bernabeu club.

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 02:28 PM
barcelona snatch ronlandhino from man u, chelsea snatch robben from man u and now essien.. :s27:

Ronaldo_7
29-05-2005, 02:34 PM
yeah... SAF shld try him out during the tour.. hope he can lend us a helping hand..

Ronaldo_7
29-05-2005, 02:35 PM

Interest

OMG!!! ****ing hell... 1.55BILLION WORTH OF DEBTS!!! :s27:

Ronaldo7
29-05-2005, 02:35 PM
RIP mufc :(

Kakashi82
29-05-2005, 03:51 PM

ya and it seems his set-pieces are more accurate then Giggs.

trax06
29-05-2005, 03:54 PM
i think now the only Man Utd glory i can see is when i play em on FM05.

nakitas
29-05-2005, 03:56 PM
Tis season ManUtd veri suay lor... Like getting frm bad to worse... All t bad things pile in...

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 04:34 PM
i think now the only Man Utd glory i can see is when i play em on FM05.

Ya lor, re-live those glory days, only thru FM :(

trax06
29-05-2005, 04:43 PM
its even more saddening that the supporters are protesting in support.its like the club is down help it.the clubs needs your cash.

greycat87
29-05-2005, 05:35 PM
its even more saddening that the supporters are protesting in support.its like the club is down help it.the clubs needs your cash.

Yah lor, all of us should go get one more United jersey to help United get out of this debt

chyehock
29-05-2005, 05:39 PM
True, we should forget about Glazer taking over now but to help him get over the current hard time. If he failes that means end of MANU thats it. I hope you know what i means.

Yah lor, all of us should go get one more United jersey to help United get out of this debt

RVN
29-05-2005, 06:40 PM
We do not exactly what the debts level are, So many articles stating different things. Can that ****ing cunt at least tell us his plans for our club. :s27:

RVN
29-05-2005, 06:54 PM
more rumours from the sunday papers. :s22:

Manchester United are set to seal a £3m raid for Lyon's Brazilian midfielder Juninho
(NEWS OF THE WORLD)

England's two-goal hero against the USA Kieran Richardson says he will not quit Manchester United
(NEWS OF THE WORLD)

Malcolm Glazer could leave Manchester United with debts of £1.55 billion :s27:
(NEWS OF THE WORLD)

Manchester United defender John O'Shea is a target for Liverpool, while United have added Cameroon international Carlos Kameni to their list of goalkeeper targets
Barcelona and Real Madrid are set to make offers for Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy :o
(PEOPLE)

Manchester United will eye Roma keeper Gianluca Curci this afternoon
(PEOPLE)

Manchester United are to step up their interest in Shakhtar Donetsk keeper Jan Lustuvka
(PEOPLE)

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 07:31 PM
Jan Lustuvka is good at Fm. wonder how good is he in real life.

chengsun
29-05-2005, 07:43 PM
i wonder, usajg has not been here for days... rare case...

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 07:45 PM
maybe he got depression. :s8:

Raul7
29-05-2005, 08:07 PM

ya hor.....wondering where is she also...

Raul7
29-05-2005, 08:08 PM

he ? hahahaha.... :s13:

Ronaldo7
29-05-2005, 08:09 PM

is SHE , not he :s22:

juninho is interesting , but where does he fit in our squad ? :s22:

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 08:12 PM

sorry didn't know is a she.. =:p

Raul7
29-05-2005, 08:14 PM
sorry didn't know is a she.. =:p

hahahaha...is ok man =:p

Ronaldo_7
29-05-2005, 08:39 PM
ya lor.. missing in action already

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 08:55 PM

sekali another Veron then sian :s7:

orca_sea
29-05-2005, 08:58 PM
is SHE , not he :s22: :s22:

Wow didnt know tat man..surprise surprise.. :eek:

RVN
29-05-2005, 10:17 PM
Fortune & £6m to get Given
Newcastle’s Shay Given is the keeper Manchester United want to replace Roy Carroll. A £6million package deal, which could include Old Trafford midfielder Quinton Fortune going to Tyneside, is being discussed. And Given is said to have sold his home in the North East and bought a property in Cheshire.
Paul Hetherington, Daily Star Sunday

United step up keeper chase
Manchester United goalkeeping coach Tony Coton will watch Roma's Gianluca Curci today as Sir Alex Ferguson steps up his search for a new No.1. Coton will watch Roma's final Serie A game of the season against Chievo following some excellent scouting reports. United's only concern is that the 19-year-old lacks the experience to handle the Premiership - and if Coton's opinion is not favourable the Reds will turn to Shakhtar Donetsk's Jan Lastuvka. Ferguson has already enquired about the man who is understudy to Chelsea's Petr Cech in the Czech Republic squad and has been told the asking price is £3million.
Simon Mullock, Sunday Mirror

Sir Alex back for Lastuvka
Manchester United will step up interest in Chelsea star Petr Cech’s international understudy Jan Lastuvka, following the surprise exit of Roy Carroll last week. As we revealed in February, United’s goalkeeping coach Tony Coton is a big fan of the Czech Republic number two, who plays for Shakhtar Donetsk and is valued at around £2.5million.
John Richardson, Sunday Express

Barce & Real step up Ruud interest
Ruud van Nistelrooy wants to sensationally quit Manchester United. The £19million striker is desperate to regain his scoring form so has can lead Holland’s attack in next year’s World Cup finals. Dutch sources claim van Nistelrooy, 28, would move to either Spain or Italy after a season wrecked by injuries and poor form. Barcelona and Real Madrid have bee alerted by van Nistelrooy’s shock decision and he has told pals in Holland that he’s on the verge of asking for a transfer.
Harry Harris, Daily Star Sunday

United nuts for Brazilian
Alex Ferguson will seal a £3million raid for Lyon’s Brazilian play-maker Juninho. The United boss believes he has agreed a deal with the French club for Juninho Pernambucano, 30, who is out of contract next summer. Lyon offered him a new deal and he indicated he would stay – but United’s interest has turned his head.
James Fletcher, News of the World

O’Shea all set for Kop switch
John O’Shea is a shock target for Liverpool. Even though he started the FA Cup Final, the £6million-rated Manchester United defender is finding it increasingly difficult to hold down a regular starting place at Old Trafford. And his task is likely to get tougher this season as Sir Alex Ferguson looks to introduce outstanding young centre-halves Jonathan Spector and Gerard Pique into the first team.
Andy Dunn & Alan Nixon, The People

Get Figo Fergie!
Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson is being urged by his assistant Carlos Queiroz to sign Madrid’s Luis Figo. Figo, 32, has been told he can leave Real on a free transfer this summer – even though he has a year remaining on his current contract at the Bernabeu. Recruiting a player of Figo’s age would go against Fergie’s recent transfer policy. But Queiroz is arguing that an exception should be made for Figo. United’s assistant manager insists, as a free agent, he would be a bargain, even though he would demand at least £70,000 a week on a short-term contract.
Paul Hetherington, Daily Star Sunday

Rio set to sign deal
Rio Ferdinand will end speculation about his Manchester United future by signing a new contract inside the next 14 days. The England defender has come under heavy fire from United for stalling on contract negotiations. However, Ferdinand’s advisors have reached a compromise over a new deal and they expect to announce he will remain at the club for the foreseeable future.
Paul Smith, Sunday Mirror

AhHuat
29-05-2005, 10:19 PM
wtf...so many deals going on........wonder true anot

btw kieran richardson very promising lately......i think manutd shuld recall him back and give him a start

Swordsman
29-05-2005, 10:24 PM
yeah give richardson a chance... fergie should let those promising youngster to prove themselves.

RuMmYtUb
29-05-2005, 10:29 PM
Yea mans, next season i hope we could see more of Richardson, Pique, Rossi and Spector if there's a chance..

Time to produce another class of '92 i hope, since i wonder whether transfer kitty got $ to spend or not..

Now i hope Figo can come over for free, 70k/week for him is ok IMO.

Raul7
29-05-2005, 10:35 PM
Yea mans, next season i hope we could see more of Richardson, Pique, Rossi and Spector if there's a chance..

Time to produce another class of '92 i hope, since i wonder whether transfer kitty got $ to spend or not..

ya, 70k should be ok for figo bah....

Ronaldo_7
29-05-2005, 11:04 PM
time to let in the youngsters

Raul7
29-05-2005, 11:42 PM
time to see Rossi perform....

Raul7
30-05-2005, 12:04 AM
Man Utd has glamorous goalkeeper shopping list
tribalfootball.com - May 29, 2005

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has drawn up a glamorous shortlist of goalkeeping candidates ahead of the summer market.

With only Tim Howard the one recognised senior keeper on the books, Ferguson is expected to spend big to bring in a new No1.

The Times says Fergie has Jussi Jaaskelainen (Bolton), Antti Niemi (Southampton), Francesco Toldo (Inter Milan), Edwin van der Sar (Fulham) and Iker Casillas (Real Madrid) all in his sights.

spykid
30-05-2005, 12:54 AM
Man Utd has glamorous goalkeeper shopping list
tribalfootball.com - May 29, 2005

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has drawn up a glamorous shortlist of goalkeeping candidates ahead of the summer market.

With only Tim Howard the one recognised senior keeper on the books, Ferguson is expected to spend big to bring in a new No1.

The Times says Fergie has Jussi Jaaskelainen (Bolton), Antti Niemi (Southampton), Francesco Toldo (Inter Milan), Edwin van der Sar (Fulham) and Iker Casillas (Real Madrid) all in his sights.

of all the keepers listed, i only like van der sar and casillas... the rest are like errr... not gd enuff?

Raul7
30-05-2005, 12:57 AM
of all the keepers listed, i only like van der sar and casillas... the rest are like errr... not gd enuff?

yeah me too also....

spykid
30-05-2005, 01:03 AM
wow wow kieran our new ryan giggs?

i dun mind van nistelrooy leaving though... rumours has him saying he wants to leave old trafford? 20 million at least... and we must find a suitable replacement for him, like owen for 10 million? then use the other 10 to buy casillas... and get figo on a free... wow 3 ex-madrid players leaving for united? :D

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 01:08 AM
same here... Toldo also can..

chengsun
30-05-2005, 01:12 AM
wow wow kieran our new ryan giggs?

i dun mind van nistelrooy leaving though... rumours has him saying he wants to leave old trafford? 20 million at least... and we must find a suitable replacement for him, like owen for 10 million? then use the other 10 to buy casillas... and get figo on a free... wow 3 ex-madrid players leaving for united? :D
van nistelrooy leaving is an issue. but hell better dun get owen if we still want to play our winger crossing kind of play, how that shorty gonna get the ball?

chengsun
30-05-2005, 01:12 AM
same here... Toldo also can..
toldo is good, dun mind him coming guarding n at the same time guiding tim

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 01:30 AM
toldo is good, dun mind him coming guarding n at the same time guiding tim
yeah.. i dun mind too.. maybe last time shld have bought him over...

spykid
30-05-2005, 01:39 AM
van nistelrooy leaving is an issue. but hell better dun get owen if we still want to play our winger crossing kind of play, how that shorty gonna get the ball?

owen has a great leap in him imo... he's good at headers and he'll inject more pace into our attack... :)

Feador
30-05-2005, 02:06 AM
fergie can consider sebastian frey too..hes not bad

RVN
30-05-2005, 05:17 AM
forlan top-scorer in La Liga and also win the golden boot award. :eek:

MatrixFanatic
30-05-2005, 07:50 AM

Spector most chance to make it. Followed by Rossi.

ragnarok95
30-05-2005, 08:30 AM
Richardson, pique, rossi, spector - the future of manchester united

dredd
30-05-2005, 08:42 AM
ManYoo fans' worst fears are starting to be realised after newspaper reports suggested Malcolm Glazer will limit spending on new players to £25m a year. Having finished the year empty-handed, some heavy investments are needed to ensure they can keep up with the likes of Chelski

http://213.177.198.228/news/story_153665.shtml

sian man....

MatrixFanatic
30-05-2005, 08:52 AM
25 million is a lot lah. If Glazer didn't come into peekture, I think $0 million.

But over the years it seems like Clubs like to suck more money from Manutd. :(

Keeper or DMC is the priority now I guess. Giggs can still play for another year and Richardson might become a first team regular.

jackohy
30-05-2005, 11:12 AM

I think you guys are really hard to please .... you all wan to see more youngster but yet when SAF put in youngster and lose the game ... you all complain he is too complacent, should have put in all the senior or watever and he is getting old ... should sack.

If wan to see the youth rise up in rank, must be patient with SAF. Rome is not built in a single day.

Ruudboi
30-05-2005, 11:13 AM
Regarding the so-called transfer-fund cap... United are pretty much used to spending within that amount of money... United are not really used to splashing out big wads of cash until the last few seasons - therefore there is no need to panic... Anyway United doesn't need to do that much - getting 2-3 solid players (GK and MC), with the influx of the boys from the reserves, will be more than enough...

Raul7
30-05-2005, 11:18 AM
forlan top-scorer in La Liga and also win the golden boot award. :eek:

omfg.....cannot believe man...... :eek: think he is more suitable to slower pace in Liga.

RVN
30-05-2005, 11:31 AM
Damn one of the Cuntis brothers from the sun wrote this it has to be true. :s39:

Van: I'm off

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By SHAUN CUSTIS

RUUD VAN NISTELROOY has told Alex Ferguson he wants to quit Manchester United.

The Dutch striker had a face-to-face meeting with the Old Trafford manager at the end of last week.

Van Nistelrooy, 28, has not formally handed in a transfer request but he wants out after a disastrous season.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2005240788,00.html

Raul7
30-05-2005, 11:53 AM
Damn one of the Cuntis brothers from the sun wrote this it has to be true. :s39:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By SHAUN CUSTIS

The Dutch striker had a face-to-face meeting with the Old Trafford manager at the end of last week.

Van Nistelrooy, 28, has not formally handed in a transfer request but he wants out after a disastrous season.

serious ah???

kahmun7
30-05-2005, 01:55 PM
erm.. I think it's not a question of "how much transfer budget we'll have"... but rather a question of... (and might i add, sad to say) " Who in their right mind would want to join a sinking ship?" Nobody.. well at least nobody big.. is going to join us... competing for players signatures against clubs like Chelsea or Barcelona... we have no chance... even players (Mikel) who had already signed their papers, wanna get out...

We have to rely on our youths and reserves to provide something... Rossi, Spector, Richardson, Pique, Eagles... let's face it, all our hopes will lie on them next season....

RVN
30-05-2005, 02:10 PM
serious ah???

i dont feel surprised if ruud wants to leave but
after the facup final, he publicly said he love here and see out his contract with us before he returen to psv after the existing contract
so why editors from the sun come up with such **** stories like the buffon one. :s22:

cutter
30-05-2005, 04:41 PM
The 25million transfer budget is additional borrowed money from a line of credit from the banks. This means that Glazer is heaping additional debts onto Utd by "providing" this borrowed money. Now you see for yourself which is better... to minimise debt by not spending anymore htrough transfers, or gambling 25 million on another Veron at 25%+ interest rate from Ah Long (based on typical line of credit interest rates).

Good man... macham dot.com style situation... everyone wait for the expanding bubble to burst in massive collapse and bankruptcy... at least the Irish horsetraders and other shareholders who bailed out made a profit. Those people making comparisons to how many businesses also borrow and continue to thrive are turning a blind eye to the fact that few football clubs actually manage to turn a profit. Madrid is immune from rational market forces, unlike English clubs. Wimbledon and other historic clubs have disappeared.

If Man Utd is a business that sells oil or runs a chain of supermarkets or fast food restuarants, then this is possible. But not a football club... that's why the old Man Utd PLC was an unique case among the world's football clubs... now some stubborn opportunist has forced his way in and spoiled the whole show.

No need crystal ball or even a basic A-level in economics... any rational person can see the collapse coming. Any agent worth his salt will advise his client of this eventuality, and ttriple check any contract to ensure they get their cash should there be a collapse within the duration of their contract.

tsetze
30-05-2005, 05:45 PM
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:

Yellowfin
30-05-2005, 06:07 PM
The 25million transfer budget is additional borrowed money from a line of credit from the banks. This means that Glazer is heaping additional debts onto Utd by "providing" this borrowed money. Now you see for yourself which is better... to minimise debt by not spending anymore htrough transfers, or gambling 25 million on another Veron at 25%+ interest rate from Ah Long (based on typical line of credit interest rates).

Good man... macham dot.com style situation... everyone wait for the expanding bubble to burst in massive collapse and bankruptcy... at least the Irish horsetraders and other shareholders who bailed out made a profit. Those people making comparisons to how many businesses also borrow and continue to thrive are turning a blind eye to the fact that few football clubs actually manage to turn a profit. Madrid is immune from rational market forces, unlike English clubs. Wimbledon and other historic clubs have disappeared.

If Man Utd is a business that sells oil or runs a chain of supermarkets or fast food restuarants, then this is possible. But not a football club... that's why the old Man Utd PLC was an unique case among the world's football clubs... now some stubborn opportunist has forced his way in and spoiled the whole show.

No need crystal ball or even a basic A-level in economics... any rational person can see the collapse coming. Any agent worth his salt will advise his client of this eventuality, and ttriple check any contract to ensure they get their cash should there be a collapse within the duration of their contract.

If what all the news say that the debt will be close to 1 billion pound in debt for Manchester United. Then, if the next 2 to 3 years, United didn't generated that amount to pay off the debt.

I guess the collapse of United will be forecoming. Sad isn't it. We just have to pray and wait to see how things unfold in the next two to three years.

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 06:23 PM

By SHAUN CUSTIS

OMG... the sun sux!!! :s27:

RuMmYtUb
30-05-2005, 06:25 PM
Toldo !!! Just get him and Figo for the experience wise..!!!

Buffon and Casillas are impossible targets, and i don't see them leaving their respective clubs, if they were to, an enormous sum would be needed to pry them away considering MUFC always kanna carrot head :(

1920_me
30-05-2005, 06:30 PM
hey parma almost relegated....i think good chance we can get frey

they need a play-off against bologna..they finished 3rd last but were tied on points

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 06:40 PM
hey parma almost relegated....i think good chance we can get frey

they need a play-off against bologna..they finished 3rd last but were tied on points
oh... still gt play off.. i thought they sure go down cause i see goal difference whole lot of difference..

RuMmYtUb
30-05-2005, 06:43 PM
*Cek ark mode* Pls parma go down so can get ur Frey.. :evil:

MatrixFanatic
30-05-2005, 06:45 PM
Richardson head big liao. :eek: :s8:

Play me or sell me Fergie
Kieran Richardson will hold showdown talks with Sir Alex Ferguson to discover if he has to leave Manchester United to pursue his World Cup dream. Richardson's remarkable two-goal England debut ended in frustration with a hamstring injury that rules him out of tomorrow's game with Colombia. But it is the frustration over his role at Old Trafford that will see him - and his father and agent Clyde - demanding showdown talks with Fergie in a bid to find out where he stands. Richardson said: "We've got the World Cup coming up. Hopefully I can play well next season and we will be talking with Sir Alex because I want to stay at the club. But I need regular first-team football."
Martin Lipton, Daily Mirror

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 06:48 PM

Kieran Richardson will hold showdown talks with Sir Alex Ferguson to discover if he has to leave Manchester United to pursue his World Cup dream. Richardson's remarkable two-goal England debut ended in frustration with a hamstring injury that rules him out of tomorrow's game with Colombia. But it is the frustration over his role at Old Trafford that will see him - and his father and agent Clyde - demanding showdown talks with Fergie in a bid to find out where he stands. Richardson said: "We've got the World Cup coming up. Hopefully I can play well next season and we will be talking with Sir Alex because I want to stay at the club. But I need regular first-team football."
haiz... bad news liaoz ~

Raul7
30-05-2005, 07:20 PM

wow....score 2 goals yaya papaya liao....he better scored against teams like brazil then talk again.

United_Treble
30-05-2005, 07:22 PM
*Cek ark mode* Pls parma go down so can get ur Frey.. :evil:
knn selfish idiot, no wonder peo think mu fans r bias, u damn sia suay

chengsun
30-05-2005, 07:23 PM

i wonder, kieran is currently injured in US, how those reporter get this info?

United_Treble
30-05-2005, 07:24 PM
wow....score 2 goals yaya papaya liao....he better scored against teams like brazil then talk again.
of course he yaya papaya, u think so easy scored against usa? no logic for u to say (scored against brazil then talk)

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 07:26 PM
knn selfish idiot, no wonder peo think mu fans r bias, u damn sia suay
he juz kidding what.... relax la ~

United_Treble
30-05-2005, 07:37 PM
he juz kidding what.... relax la ~
hope u wun go real madrid or chelsea

Ronaldo_7
30-05-2005, 07:46 PM
hope u wun go real madrid or chelsea
haha.. thats nt up to me to decide.. i also hope our Cristiano Ronaldo will nt move to anywhere :)

RVN
30-05-2005, 08:39 PM
MANCHESTER United will sell Rio Ferdinand if the England defender refuses to accept their final contract offer.

Reds manager Alex Ferguson does not want to lose the classy centre-back, who he regards as vital in his plan to re-establish the club as the dominant force in English football next season.

But United will sell the £30m signing from Leeds United rather than allow Ferdinand to run down the remaining two years of his current contract and then walk away from Old Trafford on a Bosman free transfer.

United are mystified and disappointed that after months of negotiations Ferdinand has still not signed a new contract extension which is believed to be worth in excess of £100,000 a week to make the England star one of the highest paid players in the Premiership.

That delay in putting pen to paper has fuelled speculation that Ferdinand's agent Pini Zahavi is waiting for the Glazer family to complete their takeover and will then hold talks with Joel Glazer in a bid to secure an even bigger pay hike for his client.

If that is the case then the Reds insist that Zahavi is wasting his time.

The Glazers have publicly pledged not to interfere with team affairs and will continue to allow chief executive David Gill to negotiate and set the salary levels when extending a player's contract.

United revealed that they paid Zahavi a £2m fee for oiling the wheels of Ferdinand's £30m transfer to Old Trafford from Leeds United.

But at the club's last AGM in November, Gill told shareholders that agents would no longer be financially rewarded for renegotiating a contract extension such as the one Ferdinand appears reluctant to sign.

Commission

And that has given rise to suspicion that ``super agent'' Zahavi might now be looking to move Ferdinand on to earn himself another bumper commission.

What United cannot afford to do is to indulge in a game of brinkmanship with Ferdinand and his agent.

The closer the defender gets to the end of his current contract, the more his transfer valuation dwindles.

Other clubs interested in signing the England star will hold back in the knowledge that - at 26 - Ferdinand will become a free agent when his current deal expires.

Said a club source: "If a player has come through the ranks and given loyal service, I don't think anyone would begrudge him taking advantage of the Bosman ruling by running down his contract and leaving on a free transfer.

"But Ferdinand doesn't come into that category. It was only recently that David Gill described Ferdinand as a £30m asset and that's exactly what he is. The club paid that amount of money for him when he was signed from Leeds and it would be financial madness to let a situation develop where he could join another club for nothing."

With two years still to run on his current contract, the Reds could expect to recoup most of their outlay on Ferdinand if he left Old Trafford this summer.

If they wait until this time next year, Ferdinand's value on the transfer market could be halved and delaying his departure any longer than that would reduce his transfer valuation to nothing.

So the warning light for Ferdinand and his agent is flashing: sign your new deal now or risk being sold to the highest bidder when the next transfer window opens in one month's time.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/manchesterunited/s/160/160574_united_will_sell_rio_if_talks_fail.html

His refusal to sign is really taking the piss now

how long does it take to agree to 100k a week? We should sell him for 35m to 40m. :s8:

yulee
30-05-2005, 08:56 PM
Sell Rio Lah! They should have done that long ago - when he got banned 8months for missing his drug test :mad:

wawawa
30-05-2005, 08:58 PM
impossible to get back 30mil le.....20mil manu should be happy already.

RVN
30-05-2005, 09:02 PM
United ready to join Eto'o hunt

by Graeme Bailey - created on 30 May 2005

Catalan sources claim Manchester United are ready to join the race to try and prise Samuel Eto'o away from Barcelona.

Chelsea have had a long-standing interest in the African hit-man, but now United could try to beat their Premiership rivals to the Barca star.

Barca are not looking to sell Eto'o, but they are not completely shutting the door on any prospective deals that the English suitors may put to them.

The Blues are understood to be in the market for two strikers. Porto's Benni McCarthy is thought to be one name high on Jose Mourinho's wish list, but owner Roman Abramovich also wants a big name.

Andrei Shevchenko is believed to be out of their reach, which leaves Adriano and Eto'o. Internazionale are insistent they have no plans to let their prized Brazilian leave, although Chelsea are continuing to make enquiries.

However, Eto'o is a feasible option after he recently made noises about wanting a new bumper pay deal from Barca.

Chelsea want a straight cash deal and are willing to go up to £45 million, but Barca would only accept that if they could use the money elsewhere and their main target Thierry Henry continues to look entrenched at Arsenal.

William Gallas could be added to the deal to smooth things over, as could Hernan Crespo - according to some reports - but this is where it is claimed United hold the trump card in Ruud van Nistelrooy.

English newspaper reports claim the Dutchman is unhappy and that he is considering his Old Trafford future.

With this in mind, a number of Barcelona-based sources are claiming United have already offered their Dutch star in part-exchange for the free-scoring Eto'o.

Van Nistelrooy was very strongly linked to Barca only last year and the chance to link-up with Les Cules coach Frank Rijkaard is likely to be a major draw.

Sir Alex Ferguson knows United cannot live with Chelsea's financial power, but the chance to land one of Europe's most feared strikers - who is aged just 24 - looks too good an opportunity for the Scot not to try.

Eto'o has bagged 28 goals in his first season with Barca and admitted in recent days that you can never rule anything out in football when asked about his future

Source (http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=281534&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=United+ready+to+join+Eto'o+hunt&channel=Football_Home)

usjag_18
30-05-2005, 09:07 PM
Hello brothers...

I am not giving up on Man Utd lah, and who said I am having depression. Lolx... MIA becos I have been doing some catching up with my new DVDs collection, "The Godfather Trilogy", so tat's why I been MIA... LOlx, thanks for all those brothers who are so concern about my MIA. hahaha.... NEver been once I tot of giving up of Man Utd. So dun U guys dare to say that, we all must stand up for Man Utd.

As for the past few days of news, too many for me to catch up with, so I just give my partial comments.

First thing about K.Richardson, I dun think he will be so arrogant lah, he shld noes that he still dun have such standards to say he wanna this or that. Unless he starts to prove himself against every single team in EPL or in Europe he's going to face. Afterall, he's under Capt. Marvel (who's such a humble person), so I dun think he will turns into such an arrogant fool in such a short-term and under the training of B.Robson.

Second thing abt Ruud v.Nistelrooy's leaving. One thing for sure, no players stayed in one club 4ever. Owen leave Liverpool and in the end, Liverpool got into finals and won. Eric Cantona leave Man Utd and Man Utd got treble. What do these all mean? It meant that no club will be crumbled after one player leaves. It's the WHOLE TEAM that counts in the sports games. No matter whether is it basketball, soccer, badminton, hockey, ice-hockey or rugby. If both old hands & youngsters in Man Utd dun wake up & start to unite togther, then Glazer aint going to be the only killer of one of the greatest club in history.

Raul7
30-05-2005, 09:12 PM
Hello brothers...

I am not giving up on Man Utd lah, and who said I am having depression. Lolx... MIA becos I have been doing some catching up with my new DVDs collection, "The Godfather Trilogy", so tat's why I been MIA... LOlx, thanks for all those brothers who are so concern about my MIA. hahaha.... NEver been once I tot of giving up of Man Utd. So dun U guys dare to say that, we all must stand up for Man Utd.

As for the past few days of news, too many for me to catch up with, so I just give my partial comments.

First thing about K.Richardson, I dun think he will be so arrogant lah, he shld noes that he still dun have such standards to say he wanna this or that. Unless he starts to prove himself against every single team in EPL or in Europe he's going to face. Afterall, he's under Capt. Marvel (who's such a humble person), so I dun think he will turns into such an arrogant fool in such a short-term and under the training of B.Robson.

Second thing abt Ruud v.Nistelrooy's leaving. One thing for sure, no players stayed in one club 4ever. Owen leave Liverpool and in the end, Liverpool got into finals and won. Eric Cantona leave Man Utd and Man Utd got treble. What do these all mean? It meant that no club will be crumbled after one player leaves. It's the WHOLE TEAM that counts in the sports games. No matter whether is it basketball, soccer, badminton, hockey, ice-hockey or rugby. If both old hands & youngsters in Man Utd dun wake up & start to unite togther, then Glazer aint going to be the only killer of one of the greatest club in history.

finally you are back! big sis :s13:

usjag_18
30-05-2005, 09:14 PM
finally you are back! big sis :s13:
Yayaya.. hehehee... :)

United_Treble
30-05-2005, 09:21 PM
Hello brothers...

aiya u give up mu oso none our pro, u think less one of u being mu fan will hurt anyone, no way