View Full Version : Manchester United Forum
ralliart_ray
11-09-2001, 03:56 AM
Ok...Lets Keep this thread alive...GLORY GLORY MAN UNITED:D :D
ralliart_ray
11-09-2001, 03:56 AM
Sir Alex Ferguson has a selection headache ahead of Manchester United's Champions League opener against Olympiakos on Wednesday and is ready to rotate his stars again.
tranze
11-09-2001, 05:13 AM
Prediction for MAn vs Olympiakos
1-0
Hopefully they break Olympiakos unbeaten home record.
Freestylers_X
11-09-2001, 09:15 AM
Originally posted by tranze
1-0
1-1 man........It always happens....
Bossman
11-09-2001, 10:46 AM
man u got stars meh....where ?
there's not even a golden boot winner,european player or fifa world player of the year winner...
where's the stars ?:confused:
gibson
11-09-2001, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by Bossman
there's not even a golden boot winner,european player or fifa world player of the year winner...
where's the stars ?:confused: if u want stars, look for it in the sky lah... not in a football team...
ralliart_ray
11-09-2001, 11:08 AM
1-0
cross our fingers......
Clovis
11-09-2001, 12:01 PM
Man Utd will win the match... Man Utd is still the best!!!
kiongteo
11-09-2001, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by Alienz
Man UTD will win..........
I had confident with MAN U.....
:cool: :bounce: ;)
I like ur sig :)
aFTerLiF3
11-09-2001, 01:17 PM
Even the so called team without any stars can outpeform your Seria A teams in ECL last season
Booker_T
11-09-2001, 01:57 PM
seriously i dun see how man u can beat olympiaksos.....
firstly , the greek defence iz rock solid,
secondly, they r almost unbeaten at home ground
thirdly, man u don't really perform well in away games...
true...maybe 0-0 draw..but i m sure manu can get at least one goal
tranze
11-09-2001, 03:25 PM
Hmmm
This time MAN U has Veron......
Their midfield SoliD Man!!!!
All The Way UNIteD!!!!!!
Guyver02
11-09-2001, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by spaniard
seriously i dun see how man u can beat olympiaksos.....
firstly , the greek defence iz rock solid,
secondly, they r almost unbeaten at home ground
thirdly, man u don't really perform well in away games...
Got to agree wif the last point sadly ( 1st 2 I dunno ar.. :P )
ManU Fan
11-09-2001, 06:30 PM
But what had your so called golden boot winner and european player or fifa player won in the past 2 or 3 yrs?????
Only individual performances but no team trophies, another moronic answer, soccer is all about team performances rather than individual performances, I'm sure Ronaldo would like to trade those individual titles for a world cup medal or even a CPL medal.
Dolphin1977
11-09-2001, 06:43 PM
1-0
manu playing an away match lah..
72000 fans will be behind olympiakos....
so dun be surprise if manu onli manage a draw....
My prediction
mu 3 - 1 Olym........
ralliart_ray
11-09-2001, 11:45 PM
OMG....juz watch the EPL highlight...saw Veron performance vs everton.... damn Gd technique.... MANU accquired a soliD mid-fieldeR:D :D
tranze
12-09-2001, 04:53 AM
Yah bAwls.......
Freestylers_X
12-09-2001, 12:42 PM
I am sticking with 1-1 ..........
tranze
12-09-2001, 02:45 PM
I am sticking to 1-0
ralliart_ray
12-09-2001, 02:59 PM
Remember later.... 2.30am CITYTV Olympiakos vs ManU :D :D :D
call off liao. postphoned due to terrorist attack on US New York WTC and Pentagon. :)
ralliart_ray
12-09-2001, 07:52 PM
knn 1 la.....
KongJiaoWei
13-09-2001, 12:25 AM
Even Disney in florida had reopened, bad call.
tranze
13-09-2001, 01:17 AM
ralliart_ray
13-09-2001, 02:18 PM
:D :D :D lets look forward to.......this weekend ba EPL
tranze
13-09-2001, 11:44 PM
Damm UEFA stop so many matches
ralliart_ray
14-09-2001, 12:09 AM
Damm UEFA stop so many matches who is the person in yr avatar?.... look like he learnt jiu yang sheng kong.....
tranze
14-09-2001, 11:22 AM
Hahha
he just boinked 30 gers at a go........
ralliart_ray
14-09-2001, 01:32 PM
Hahha
he just boinked 30 gers at a go........ lol
tranze
15-09-2001, 11:56 PM
sIGH Man u lOSE LiAoOOOoOOOO
bOOOhoooooOOOOOHOOOOOooooooo
:( :( :(
ralliart_ray
16-09-2001, 01:18 AM
haiz....... dont know y newcastle everytime is manU 's jinx 1 leh... Captian Keane should keep his cool man........:( :( :( :(
deepwaters
16-09-2001, 11:02 AM
People are saying that Sir Alex has really let his last season get to him and is making really weird decisions.
The jury is still out on Blanc for Stam, though Blanc is certainly rather slow. If Blanc is meant to improve Wes Brown, then they better get down to it or else Wes Brown's only reputation will be for own goals.
But really it seems Fergie's insistence on using Scholes with van Nistelrooy is nuts. Scholes himself is not comfortable with his new position and is largely ineffective now. Without an effective supporting striker, Ruud is hardly that good enough to waltz through all those defenders himself. If Ferguson stubbornly clings to his choice, Man U may not even get pass the first stage of the Champions' League.
So much for saying they want to win every match, it's hardly a very promising start to the season!
kenalim
16-09-2001, 01:32 PM
Newcastle 4 manchester United 3
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Glory Glory NEWCASTLE United... Glory Glory NEWCASTLE United.
:bounce: :bounce:
Ferguson is not exactly a good tactician... if you get my drift.. :P
Sure he's competent (at least better than Keegan..) but well, he's not Ottmar Hitzfeld. :)
Alienz
16-09-2001, 03:47 PM
I m a Man U fan......
since ferguson sold stam I think he cant made it on the
Champion league.......
Even at the EPL there done badly.......
Always let the opposite side to score the
early goal.....
Can Man U win EPL and the Champion League
before ferguson go????? :confused: :alien: :confused:
ralliart_ray
16-09-2001, 08:02 PM
dont know y............ these days.......manU concede goals so easily........
too complacent?? too lax?? :confused:
lack of concentration?? taking the matches too easily?? :p
barthez not performing well
ralliart_ray
16-09-2001, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by aqf
barthez not performing well haiz...... blanc got kiss his head a not?
ralliart_ray
16-09-2001, 11:29 PM
lets look forward to Next week CPL ....... old trafford ManU vs Lilles.....if i am not wrong
tranze
17-09-2001, 05:26 AM
SIgh.... i feel Very sad......
Anyway
GLORY GLORY MAN UTD!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ralliart_ray
17-09-2001, 11:30 PM
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce: ManU will Bounce Back!
ralliart_ray
18-09-2001, 09:18 PM
:bounce: :rolleyes: :bounce: :rolleyes: :bounce: Watch MANU...performs
Bossman
18-09-2001, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by ralliart_ray
:bounce: :rolleyes: :bounce: :rolleyes: :bounce: Watch MANU...performs
the typical fan who only support man u since 1999.
man u game is now understood and only fellow epl teams that cannot see.
ralliart_ray
18-09-2001, 10:53 PM
DAMN...i added him into my ignore list.......cant see his posts
kenalim
19-09-2001, 02:04 AM
DAMN...i added him into my ignore list.......cant see his posts
LOLZ~
tranze
19-09-2001, 02:22 AM
WAhahhaa
tranze
19-09-2001, 04:42 AM
WAHOOOOO!!!!
MAn u 1 lilie 0
ralliart_ray
19-09-2001, 10:40 AM
Manchester United 1 Lille 0
Manchester United's blushes were saved in the final minute on Tuesday night when David Beckham converted Ruud van Nistelrooy's cross, to deny dogged Lille a shock point at Old Trafford.
ykwatt
21-09-2001, 12:58 PM
No stam, Blanc sure cannot manage one. Fergie shouldnt sell him
Originally posted by ykwatt
agree.blanc not solid enough
darthstar
21-09-2001, 01:09 PM
yar i believe this will be one of fergie's biggest regret after 10years @ man u as manager
ralliart_ray
22-09-2001, 05:28 PM
MANCHESTER, Sep 22 (ZoomSoccer.com) -
Manchester United will be looking to bounce back
from their defeat against Newcastle United when
they welcome Ipswich Town to Old Trafford this
weekend.
United were at the wrong end of a pulsating match at
St James’ Park last weekend, where they eventually
went down to Alan Shearer’s strike in a seven-goal
thriller.
But Sir Alex Ferguson’s side got back to winning ways in midweek when they put up a
workmanlike performance to beat Lille 1-0 in a Champions League group match.
David Beckham’s last minute goal was enough for the Red Devils to lead Group G after
the first round of matches.
Gary Neville (head) is the only injury doubt for the Red Devils, as Andy Cole is back in
contention after recovering from his flu and Ferguson is likely to make a couple of
changes to face Ipswich ahead of next Tuesday's Champions League trip to Spain to
meet Deportivo La Coruna.
Ronny Johnsen, Nicky Butt, Cole, Quinton Fortune and Dwight Yorke are likely to
feature with Laurent Blanc, Juan Sebastian Veron, Ryan Giggs, Ruud van Nistelrooy
and Paul Scholes likely to be given a well-deserved rest.
Ipswich were also in European action in midweek where they were held to a 1-1 home
draw by Torpedo Moscow in the UEFA Cup first round first leg match.
Titus Bramble came to the rescue of the Tractor Boys with a goal five minutes before
the end to salvage the draw and extend Ipswich’s unbeaten home run in Europe to 26
matches.
The young defender, who was guilty of giving the ball away for Torpedo’s opening goal,
atoned for his error by slamming in the equaliser to prevent his side from losing the tie.
The 21-year-old said: "I was disappointed with the first goal but the lads battled back
well. It didn't matter who scored, we just needed one - but one more would have been
good to take to Russia with us.”
"But after seeing what we did tonight I don't see why we can't go there and win. I was
nervous at the start but as the game went on the more confident I got, it was one of the
biggest games of my life."
Alun Armstrong, who suffered a concussion during last weekend’s 1-1 draw with
Blackburn in the league, is unlikely to be risked for this weekend’s match as well.
Spanish Under-21 international Pablo Counago, who had a good game in midweek, is
likely to continue his partnership with Marcus Stewart in attack.
Although Ipswich boss George Burley has the option to switch to a more defensive
4-5-1 formation to try and counter the potent attacking threat posed by United.
Dutchman Martin Reuser is likely to be given the nod to come into the side if Burley
decides to change tactics this weekend, which means that Counago will then have to
settle for a place on the bench.
ralliart_ray
22-09-2001, 11:06 PM
ManU leading 2-0............
ralliart_ray
23-09-2001, 12:11 AM
Full-time Old Trafford
Manchester United 4 - 0 Ipswich Town
Ronny Johnsen (13)
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (20)
Andy Cole (90)
Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (90)
tranze
23-09-2001, 04:29 PM
yipeee
ralliart_ray
23-09-2001, 07:23 PM
yipeee looks like no ManU fans around...........only u n me nia
ralliart_ray
25-09-2001, 10:32 AM
****...Brown injured
ifiron
25-09-2001, 03:59 PM
Yes, a comprehensive win for Man U.............. :) ................ Stay tune for tommorrow morning CL match between Deportivo La Coruna vs Red Devils................ Once again, will Veron make the 50 yards magical pass to The Orange Van ......... to score.... stay tune.....
puzzle
25-09-2001, 04:12 PM
I am a fan of Man Utd!!!!
Think Veron was a gd buy and stam was a bad sale. maybe ferguson was trying to instill discipline in the club but if he had bought thuram in the pre-season then sale of stam at least not so bad but...haiz...then somemore i never understood y ferguson dnt buy another keeper to pressuer barthez...that french keeper is acting very cocky + disorganised defence leads me to think that Man Utd is becoming like tht few yrs back Liverpool when the defence juz cant get things rite...
No offence to liverpools' fans...
ralliart_ray
26-09-2001, 02:57 AM
GO manU gO!~
aFTerLiF3
26-09-2001, 03:24 AM
as i've expected.. United played defensively .... Deportivo has the possesion all the time..
current score is 0-0
aFTerLiF3
26-09-2001, 03:25 AM
YESSSSSSSSSS PAUL SCHOLES SCORED !!! NICE BUILD UP FROM GIGGS !! YES YES YES !!!!!
1-0 !!!!!!!!!!!
hock_jin
26-09-2001, 03:38 AM
well done Paul Scholes ...!!!
man utd defending with the skin of their teeth!!
hock_jin
26-09-2001, 04:35 AM
DEPORTIVO beat MAN UTD 2-1...
aFTerLiF3
26-09-2001, 04:41 AM
Doh.... 2 last minutes goal....
Now i know how the bayern munich fan feels in 98/99 ....
Our defense was doing pretty welll until the first and the second goal.
First goal is neville's fault, other defender are looking for an offside trap.
Can't believe they can let in the second goal... i can see several Deportivo's player in the box walking freely...
anyway, deportivo deserved the 3pts... They punished united severely for using a 'cheap' tactics...
ralliart_ray
26-09-2001, 04:06 PM
*SHUCKs*
puzzle
26-09-2001, 06:58 PM
Since this forum is dedicated to Man Utd fans...have u guys come out with your 1st eleven for the man utd team using your own opinion???
Do u guys think Ferguson shld use 3-5-2 or 3-4-3 since he has such an abundance of talent in midfield and forward postion
ralliart_ray
26-09-2001, 10:51 PM
I tink Fergie should use Yorke/Cole COmbination......
Originally posted by puzzle
Since this forum is dedicated to Man Utd fans...have u guys come out with your 1st eleven for the man utd team using your own opinion???
Do u guys think Ferguson shld use 3-5-2 or 3-4-3 since he has such an abundance of talent in midfield and forward postion
Personally, I would go for the 3-4-1-2.
Blanc-Johnson-Irwin
Beckham-Veron-Keane-Giggs
Yorke
Ole Cole
I go with the X'mas tree .
Irwin - Johnsen - Blanc - Silvestre
Beckham - Keane - Giggs
Scholes - Veron
Cole
Enough defensive cover and yet very
effective on the counter.
ralliart_ray
27-09-2001, 12:51 PM
i prefer MANu use back 4-4-2;) ;) ;)
ralliart_ray
27-09-2001, 06:23 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson is bracing himself for the imminent departure of his greatest ally in Old Trafford's corridors of power. Sir Roland Smith has announced he will finally retire as chairman of Manchester United's plc board in March, almost two years after he should have stepped down. His passing will hardly command the same level of interest among fans as, say, Jaap Stam's exit. *SHuckS*
puzzle
27-09-2001, 06:43 PM
U guys dnt like van Nisterooy???Dnt see u guys puting him to your starting 11
blanc silvestre brown
keane
beckham veron giggs
scholes
Van Nistrooy Ole
ralliart_ray
27-09-2001, 09:15 PM
this weekend manU vs spurs
U guys dnt like van Nisterooy???Dnt see u guys puting him to your starting 11
blanc silvestre brown
keane
beckham veron giggs
scholes
Van Nistrooy Ole
frankly, i don't like van nis. And I dislike Veron too.
Veron is soooo lazy. Never work for the ball. wait for the ball to come to him
puzzle
28-09-2001, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by inix
frankly, i don't like van nis. And I dislike Veron too.
Veron is soooo lazy. Never work for the ball. wait for the ball to come to him
but u cant deny tht if man utd wnts to succed..2 of them r essentials..Although veron waits 4 the ball...he can do wonders if the ball is at his feet
ralliart_ray
28-09-2001, 12:49 AM
I hate GarY
ralliart_ray
28-09-2001, 01:00 AM
EXCLUSIVE ANDY COLE INTERVIEW
ManUtd.com will be conducting a series of exclusive player interviews this season, starting here with Andy Cole.
These interviews will also appear in the club's match programme, the United Review, but rest assured - the full transcripts will always be published here, word for word.
You were the club record signing for three years before Jaap Stam's arrival. Having been there and done it, how do you think Juan Veron will handle the pressure of his price-tag?
It's inflation, isn't it! I think everyone is different, everyone approaches things in different ways. He's a laid-back character, Juan, and he's played in Italy for a few years so he'll be used to the pressure. He'll do fine. I don't think he'll be judged like me though, as he's a midfielder. Centre-forward's a different thing.
What about Ruud?
In his case, he will be judged the same way that I was. Everyone's expecting him to come here and score 40 goals and United to win everything. Playing in the Premiership is entirely different from playing in the Dutch League, so it will take him time to settle in.
You're the club's record goalscorer in the European Cup, but does the fact that there are more games these days take anything away from that?
Yes, you could say that. I'm glad to have achieved such a great feat, but with the games we play now, through no fault of our own – money talks! - it does take a bit away from the competition. You have to play seventeen games to win the competition so it dilutes it a bit.
Playing on a Tuesday doesn't help, either, and neither does that fact that not all the teams in there are champions. You get third-placed teams, and fair enough we won it after finishing runners-up, but it's not the Champions League. They'll have to come up with a new name for it soon.
You signed a new contract in February that will keep you here until you're 34. Does that mean you'll be ending your career here at Old Trafford?
You never know in football. Contracts are a piece of paper and if clubs decide they want to cash in on you, then that's their decision. You get to a certain stage in your career where you want to be playing week in week out and if you're not you find it difficult. You do start to say to yourself, 'I want to be playing so I might have to consider my future.' You never know.
Do you think you and Ruud can play together or are you too similar?
I don't think we are similar at all. We're both direct but that's always been my game. If the manager brings in another direct centre-forward that's up to him, and if we can't play together then we won't. But I don't think I'm a similar player to him in any way.
Are you prepared for another battle for a place up-front then?
It's difficult again, as I need to play as many games as possible. There's a World Cup coming up at the end of this season and it's going to be my last chance to play in one. I'm 29 and I'll be 34 the next time around. With all the young strikers coming through in the country at the moment, by the time I'm 34 I shouldn't be playing for England. If you look at the strikers now, a lot of them will go to the World Cup if we qualify, and the same crop should be going to the next one as well, plus a couple of youngsters.
With Sir Alex retiring at the end of the season, a few overseas managers have been mentioned to succeed him. Would a foreigner be best, or would you prefer to see a British man come in?
I don't think it will make a difference. A lot of fuss was made when Sven Goran Eriksson took over England but now he's won five out of five he's on the crest of a wave. There's the possibility of going to the World Cup, so it's all forgotten.
A foreign manager could come in with different ideas and that could be good, we'll just have to wait and see.
The end of your last season was disrupted with injury and suspension - are you fit and ready for another tough season ahead?
Yes I am. Pre-season is always the toughest part of the year, you've got to try and get yourself as fit and sharp as you can. I think I'm doing OK.
You've had a good break away from football - is it important to get away from it all for a while? How is the charity work in Africa going?
It's good to get away from it all, yes. The charity's still going very strong. I've not been able to get over there recently as time is so short. If you're not playing football in the summer you want to spend as much time with your family as possible. The next thing you know, after four or six weeks, it's back to pre-season. I'll definitely be going out there again soon.
Also away from football, is there any truth in the rumours surrounding your musical comeback?
Ha ha, no. Someone mentioned that to me the other day. I said where did that come from, and they said it was in the newspaper. It was news to me!
You were on loan at Fulham in 1991, and scored four goals in fourteen appearances. Did you ever consider staying there?
At the time I wasn't getting anywhere at Arsenal so I got sent on loan. It was a good experience to go there for three months and get some football. To see them in the Premiership now after all those years is very good.
Craven Cottage must be a very different place now to how it was ten years ago?
It must be! Tigana has brought some great players in. He's like another Vialli, he will attract the top players with his personality and charisma and he plays football in the right way. I think they'll play exactly the same way this season as they played in the First Division last season.
Who do you think their star men will be?
Louis Saha has definitely got what it takes in the Premiership. He did it last year in a difficult division. He's got too much ability to struggle.
At the other end, van der Sar was a strange one but players look at Tigana and hear he's in for them and they think 'What a player he was! Why not?' Players want to work for someone like that. Vialli had the same thing at Chelsea - he hadn't managed anybody but what a great player he was.
I don't think they'll struggle to stay up, I think they'll finish in the top half to be honest.
Andy Cole, in conversation with the Webmaster,
Trafford Training Centre, August 2001.
ralliart_ray
28-09-2001, 01:01 AM
RYAN GIGGS EXCLUSIVE
ManUtd.com are conducting a series of exclusive player interviews this season, continuing here with Ryan Giggs.
These interviews will also appear in the club's match programme, the United Review, but rest assured - the full transcripts will always be published here, word for word.
Ten years on, what do you recall about your debut against Everton?
It's a bit of a blur to be honest, but it felt great, just to be given the chance to play in the first team. I was playing up front when I came on, against some great defenders, so it was a difficult game to start with.
According to the stats, you came on during a spell when Everton scored both of their goals. It must have been a manic introduction to senior football…
It certainly was… and I had a nice scar on my leg for a few weeks afterwards, from Dave Watson. I think that was my welcome to the big boys!
Was it a thrill to play against Kevin Ratcliffe and Neville Southall on your debut, and an honour to later play alongside them for Wales?
It was a dream to play against them. They were both brilliant players, and both were at the peak of their game with Everton. Kevin was one of the quickest defenders around, and Nev was a world class goalkeeper. There were times when he was just unbeatable.
Neville, Peter Schmeichel and Fabien are the best three goalkeepers I've ever seen, so I count myself lucky to have played with all of them.
I noted that Les Sealey was in the side when you made your debut. How will you remember him?
He was a great guy, a real bubbly character, the loud Cockney in the dressing room who loved the jokes and the banter. He hated being chipped in training, though. If anyone chipped him, he'd always threaten to go in!
Les was the club's lucky charm in a way, because in both of his spells at United, we won trophies.
Can you recall if Les gave you any words of encouragement, in the build-up to your debut?
I'm sure he did, he was that sort of person, and I was lucky to have people like Les, Steve Bruce and Bryan Robson around when I first broke into the team.
They used to have a laugh and a joke about my age, take the mickey out of me because I was so young, but I think that helped me to settle in.
You settled in all right! Last month, we celebrated your ten years at United with a testimonial match against Celtic. How much did the event mean to you?
It meant a great deal to me, especially to see so many people turning up. I'm pleased to say everything went very smoothly on the night… well, everything apart from the score!
Could you pick out any specific highlights, perhaps the appearance of Eric Cantona?
Yeah, the atmosphere when Eric came on was great. I phoned him up a couple of weeks before the match and asked him if he'd come over and play some part in it. I think we surprised a few people when he came on, it was great to see him on the pitch again.
How difficult was it to address the crowd at the end?
It was okay, I was just happy that people stayed behind after the game to hear me. People had asked me before hand if I thought I'd be nervous or emotional, but I didn't really know how I'd feel.
Being away in the Far East, I hadn't really been involved in the build-up, and I didn't have much time to think about it because I was concentrating on the tour. I suppose I did get a little bit choked, talking to the crowd.
Apart from a couple of defeats in the mid-Nineties, you've generally had the upper hand against Everton. Are they a team you enjoy playing against?
Yes, I do enjoy playing against them, they've always tried to play the game in the right way. Goodison Park is probably one of my favourite grounds, there's always a good atmosphere there.
I'll always remember the way their fans behaved at Old Trafford after Sir Matt had died. When there's rivalry between clubs, it only takes one idiot to ruin the minute's silence, but the Everton fans were excellent that day.
Did you have a soft spot for Everton when you were a United fan in the Eighties? After all, they seemed to be the only club capable of finishing above Liverpool!
Well, I suppose United and Everton fans have that in common, neither wants to see Liverpool doing well! Looking back, Everton had such a great side in the Eighties with players like Nev, Kevin Ratcliffe, Peter Reid, Andy Gray and Graeme Sharp. It was a quality team and they were very successful, in England and in Europe.
Speaking of Liverpool, does it add extra spice to the Champions League, knowing they're in it for the first time and among the top seeds?
Yes it does, they're very difficult to beat, and it can only be good for English football as well. I think all the British sides should be looking to go through from the first round.
Arsenal and ourselves are very experienced in the Champions League now, Liverpool had the experience of winning trophies last season, and Celtic have a great manager in Martin O'Neill.
Would United against Celtic at Hampden Park be your idea of a dream final?
Now that would be an atmosphere! I'm sure it would make a great final, but there's a long way to go before then.
Denis Irwin has announced that, like the manager, this will be his final season at United. No doubt you'll be sorry to see him go?
Yes of course, he's been around from the start of my United career. Denis is another one of those players who's good to have around for advice, and it's certainly helped me over the years, to play in front of him.
Do you think he's given up on playing at left-back?
I think Denis just realises now it's going to be more and more difficult to play as many games as he'd like to here, because of the competition from Mikael, Gary and Phil. At this point in his career, he'll want to play week in, week out. That's one of the reasons why Teddy left United.
How important is the partnership between a winger and a full-back?
It's very important, you have to be on the same wavelength. Not just when you're going forward, but also when you're tracking back and defending. Whoever plays behind me, whether it's Denis, Mikael, or Phil, we have to communicate and I think I've been lucky with all of them. We've developed a good understanding on the left.
Denis said you just know when it's your time to retire. Do you think you'll realise when it's your turn?
I think so, yes, but hopefully it's a long way off yet. I'll be sad when it comes around, but when it does, I'll just have to remember the good times I've had with United.
So you're not going for a double testimonial in 2011?
Absolutely no chance! I'll be happy if I'm still playing anywhere at 37, never mind playing at United.
Ryan Giggs, in conversation with the Webmaster,
Trafford Training Centre, September 2001.
ralliart_ray
28-09-2001, 01:02 AM
LAURENT BLANC EXCLUSIVE
As ManUtd.com's series of exclusive player interviews continues, we head into Europe for the first time. Lille were the visitors to Old Trafford on Tuesday evening, so we wanted to speak to someone who would know all about "The Dogues". And who knows the delights of French football better than our new arrival, Laurent Blanc?
The Frenchman has not played in the Champions League proper before, but having won the World Cup and European Championships with his country, he shouldn't have too many nerves ahead of kick-off tonight. We sat down in a quiet corner of the Carrington training centre to see how Laurent is settling into life in the North West.
What have been your initial impressions of Manchester and of Manchester United?
Everything is great. I knew the club, the stadium and the city already because I had visited Eric Cantona when he was here. I knew this was a big club, and I knew the city was fantastic. I've got a few friends at the club already - Fabien being the best. He's helped me settle in really quickly.
Has Fabien been showing you around the place, then?
Yes, Fabien has been showing me the sights of Manchester – the city centre and so on. I did get to know a little of the city when I was here with Eric. But in Manchester, the best place for a player to go is Old Trafford!
Another French star, Zinedine Zidane, said that you have joined the biggest club in the world. Do you agree?
Yes, I would agree with that. We know all the best clubs in Europe and definitely Manchester United is one of them. It's an honour for me to be here and play for United.
And what did you think about your debut against Everton?
The team played well. It was a lovely day, the weather was fantastic and there were a lot of people singing and chanting for me and Barthez. And we got the right result, as well. It was great.
I did find it to be quite physical. The football here is more direct than French football. There are a lot of duels between players, lots of contact because it is more direct.
Are you looking forward to being a mentor to our young defenders?
I was a young player myself once, and I used to hate having 'teachers' on the pitch. Age doesn't matter - everybody can bring something to the team, be they 18 or 35. Maybe experience, maybe some skills, or some special talent. You have to make sure that there is understanding between players and if there is, age is irrelevant. It's all about players playing together.
I used to hate older players telling what I should do, what I shouldn't do or just telling me to shut up. At United, everyone can say their own thing - everyone will be able to have a say.
But when a young player has just discovered something, then maybe I can help them as I have been there before and I know the situation. Then I can help them.
European nights at Old Trafford are well known for their superb atmospheres. Are you looking forward to experiencing that?
The Premiership atmosphere is good enough! It gets better than that?! I experienced the Old Trafford atmosphere when I played here with Montpellier in the Cup Winners' Cup a few seasons ago. I remember it well.
The atmosphere could and should be a huge plus for us, that will be a big help. We need the fans to help us in the games and I'm sure they will.
Do you feel there is something missing in your career, as you've never really played in the Champions League before?
I've played two games in the Champions League before – but they were just two qualifying matches so I don't really count them. It's definitely something that has been missing from my career, and that was one of the reasons why I said yes to United when they asked me to join.
I know United will be playing some good games in the Champions League this season, and I will be very honoured to play in these matches for United. I 'm looking forward to it.
What do you think of the current format of the Champions League? Are there too many games?
Yes, but that's true of all football, not just the Champions League. We don't have enough time to rest between matches. They keep asking too much of the players to play on Saturday, Tuesday, Friday, whenever. Before we used to play maybe forty or fifty matches in a season. Now, it's more like eighty. That's too many.
What kind of a team are Lille? What kind of game can we expect?
They are a very good team, they play very well together, in a tight group. They defend as a group and they attack as a group. They defend very well, they're very well organised. They show a lot of solidarity. They played against Parma to reach the Champions League group stage and that was a fantastic game. They are definitely a good team, and they have a great history.
There was no luck involved in their win over Parma, they deserved to win the game because they played very well. They played a stronger game than Parma - a very physical game, they are a strong team. I just hope they don't play too well tonight!
Finally, do you have a message in your own language for the visiting fans tonight?
Je suis tres flatte de rencontre Lille a ce niveau. Bonne chance!
(I am very flattered to be playing Lille at this level. Best of luck!)
Many thanks to Mohamed Targhaoui for help with translation during the interview with Laurent.
Laurent Blanc in conversation with the Webmaster, Carrington 18 September 2001.
ralliart_ray
28-09-2001, 01:02 AM
PAUL SCHOLES EXCLUSIVE
Our series of exclusive interviews with United's star players continues here with Paul Scholes.
In the build-up to United's match against Ipswich, we grabbed a quick word with the midfield dynamo, who first faced the Suffolk club as a youngster seven years ago.
You made your league debut against Ipswich at Portman Road in 1994. What do you remember of the game?
I think I was sub, and I came on when we were getting beaten 2-0. I managed to score a goal and we got it back to 2-2, but then they went up the other end and scored, Sedgley I think it was. It was heartbreaking because we were going for the win after being two-nil down, but unfortunately it didn't work out like that.
How did you find out you were on the bench and how did you feel?
The manager just announced the team and the subs in the dressing room. I was just happy to be a sub. I'd played against Port Vale in the Cup in midweek and scored two, so he decided to put me on the bench on the Saturday. It was great just to be involved with all the major players.
I was nervous, especially as I was just about to go on. I was hoping to do well of course, and thankfully I scored. It was a cross from Roy Keane, and I just managed to get to the front post. It was only a tap-in, really. They all count, though!
You've played there twice since, losing one and drawing one. Is it a hard place to go and play?
Yes, they're a good team, especially at home. It's a tight ground and they play good football. It's a difficult place to go to and get a result. The crowd are on top of you, and they've got good players who play really well. Marcus Stewart will be important for them. He did really well last year, scored a lot of goals and I hope for him that it continues.
They've signed a few for this season too, so I think they'll have a good year.
I was a little bit surprised at how well they did last season. A lot of people expected them to go down, but they proved them wrong and showed what a good team they are.
They're in Europe this season, do you have any words of advice for them?
I think they just have to play their own game. They don't need any advice from me, they know what they're doing so hopefully they'll do well in Europe and go a long way.
Six months after your debut, United took revenge on Ipswich and beat them 9-0. Were you disappointed to miss out on that?
Of course I was, but you can't complain when your team are winning 9-0! I can't remember where I was at the time, if I was in the squad or not - it was a long time ago! But to beat them 9-0 was a great achievement.
Coley scored five and Mark Hughes got two that day. As a striker at that time, did that make you worry for your first team future?
Not really no, as I was only young. The manager always said that he'd give me a chance and he was as good as his word. Then Hughes, Ince and Kanchelskis were all sold and that was a big boost for all the young lads. The next year we were given our first major chances and we managed to win the League, so that wasn't too bad!
Six years later you've come full circle and you're being asked to play upfront again. How do you think that's going?
Not too bad. It could be better, as I've not scored a goal yet. Apart from that, I think everything else has been OK. It's just the goals. Where I've been playing, I've played before and it might turn out to be my best position, I don't know yet. Hopefully time will tell and the goals will come.
With Keane and Veron forming a dream partnership in central midfield, are you going to fight to try and play alongside one of them?
I'm happy to play anywhere, really. I think any midfielder in the world would struggle to get into our midfield at the moment with Roy and Veron. I've just got to be looking to play, wherever it is.
It would be nice to play alongside one of them - they're both world class players at the top of their game. It's going to be difficult to try and get in their and play as they are going to be a great partnership.
David Meek has compared Juan Veron to Eric Cantona. Do you think that's a fair comparison?
I think Juan is better, to be honest. In terms of his all-round game, I think that he'll go on and do more than Eric has done. I'm not sure if he'll have more of an influence on the team, but he's just a better player. Don't get me wrong, Eric was amazing, but I just think that Juan's got a bit more.
He's involved in the game all the time - he can create goals and score goals. He can just do anything.
Do you think he might find some games almost too easy? Everton looked like a stroll in the park.
I think that's how he plays every game. He treats every game the same, and he's a great player and great to watch. People will start coming to United games just to see him, just as they did with Eric.
What about Argentina for the World Cup then?
They will be strong, no doubt about that. They've got a very strong team on paper, with Juan and Crespo and the rest. They're an incredible team. And I think that Juan will probably be the best player going to the World Cup.
What about England's chances? The media had us winning it after the 5-1 win over Germany.
You never know. We've got to get there first, obviously. It will be difficult, but we'll go into it, if we qualify and I get picked, we'll go into it a bit more prepared than we did in the European Championships. I think we'll have a bit more confidence and we've got some better players now.
Was the 5-1 a highlight of your career?
Not really. It was only a qualifier, it wasn't the actual World Cup finals. We've had a lot of big games for United, we've won Leagues and the European Cup. It was good, though.
There's talk of Sven taking over from Sir Alex at the end of the season. Would he do a good job?
I think he'd be great but that's up to the club to decide. He's done a great job for England so far, and I just hope that carries on.
The final qualifier will be played at Old Trafford - that must be an advantage to you and the other United lads in the England squad?
I think so. Playing in front of our home crowd will be great. The other lads who have done that - particularly the Liverpool boys - have said they enjoyed it. Hopefully we'll do the same and get the win we need to qualify.
Just one last thing - Soccer AM on Sky last Saturday morning broadcast a rumour that you're the proud owner of 33 cats. Have you got anything to say on that?
It's not true! I don't know where they get it from! They had Ryan having bannisters with fish in them last year. Absolute rubbish!
Paul Scholes in conversation with the Webmaster, Carrington, 22 September 2001.
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 02:00 PM
:bounce: mANu vS sPURs:bounce:
AyaBrea_
29-09-2001, 02:41 PM
:bounce: mANu vS sPURs:bounce:
:p Man U :p
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 10:23 PM
shucks........ manU down by 1 goal:(
but u cant deny tht if man utd wnts to succed..2 of them r essentials..Although veron waits 4 the ball...he can do wonders if the ball is at his feet
I think veron is important, van nis is not. He is NOT the type of striker united needs. He is not fast, he don't have a good header. the only thing he has is a good shot.
But isn't that something all United strikers have?
Veron can play a bigger part in United, but maybe we can play 4312 instead of 4411. 1 striker is never enuf. Especially when our defence is crap!
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:06 PM
baD........3nil down
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:32 PM
fightbacK plS..................3-2
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:42 PM
wooHoo fightbACK!~
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:46 PM
u know Y i loVe manU...coZ maNu loVes fiGHtbacK!~ even wit 3 goals doWn
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:57 PM
to 3-5............
ralliart_ray
29-09-2001, 11:59 PM
this is waT i caLL footbaLL
paiboi
30-09-2001, 12:04 AM
u know Y i loVe manU...coZ maNu loVes fiGHtbacK!~ even wit 3 goals doWn
For me its the opposite........
no offence.
Gratz manu :)
karoon
30-09-2001, 12:23 AM
i think veron does not make much contribution when man u is down. maybe he too much pressure. only when they winning then you see all his party pieces. party player.
ralliart_ray
30-09-2001, 12:30 AM
yeP
tranze
30-09-2001, 12:49 AM
WOOOOHOOOOOOO
i thoguht man U was so Screwed man......
hengz ah.....
5-3
WOOOHOOOOO!!!!!
Pr0t0type
30-09-2001, 01:31 AM
Man-Utd will not lose to teams like Spurs..
GLORY MAN-UTD GLORY!!!!
aFTerLiF3
30-09-2001, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by Pr0t0type
GLORY MAN-UTD GLORY!!!!
United lost to Spurs twice in the last 2 seasons...
nicious
30-09-2001, 04:09 AM
woohoo....the true champion is back !
there's only 1 united !!!
Originally posted by Pr0t0type
GLORY MAN-UTD GLORY!!!!
spurs is no garbage team. Especially when we don't have a good record against london teams..
ralliart_ray
30-09-2001, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by inix
spurs is no garbage team. Especially when we don't have a good record against london teams.. ;) yep
ralliart_ray
30-09-2001, 09:50 PM
GLORY GLORY GLORY
ralliart_ray
02-10-2001, 11:32 AM
England duties this week:D
ralliart_ray
07-10-2001, 12:00 AM
wOOhOOOOOOooooooooo Beckham, virtually single handed, drags England level....... I lOVE BecKS!!!!!!
Pr0t0type
07-10-2001, 12:31 AM
Yeah! Beckham is the man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(Sorry but I really too impressed by Beckhams performance.) :)
bizkit86
07-10-2001, 12:40 AM
i could nv judge becks properly due to my positive bias towards him
tranze
08-10-2001, 05:49 AM
Becks does have his days
ykwatt
08-10-2001, 10:12 AM
yah yah
Beck saved the day....btw why did sven field Teddy....England got a lot more good strikers
yah yah
Beck saved the day....btw why did sven field Teddy....England got a lot more good strikers
Teddy scored with his first touch of the ball. Wat more u want? :laugh:
Good strikers? Yes, but in-form strikers? Not a lot.
Strikers available:-
Robbie Fowler : Currently out of form and showing poor movement and interest vs Greece. I think he is still having a hangover from one too many tequilas.
Teddy Sheringham : Old but he is still good enough as a substitute. The substitution vs Greece made all the world of difference.
Andy Cole : Say what you like but Cole's form has been good and his attitude to the game was far better than Fowler. With Owen injured, Cole should have been brought on earlier vs Greece.
Kevin Philips : He has a see-saw form this season but is still untested on the international stage.
Marcus Stewart : A good striker but also suffering a slight dip in form for his club.
Emile Heskey : Am I the only one who thinks that Heskey is slowly losing his form? Short of a few runs along the left side, he contributed very little else. His partnership with Fowler isn't exactly working, sad to say.
Chris Sutton : A good striker but his attitude sux. Plain and simple. He should straighten out his attitude first. No man is bigger than his club or country.
IMO, Sutton was never given a chance. :laugh:
ralliart_ray
10-10-2001, 05:06 PM
ECL action tonite
Freestylers_X
10-10-2001, 09:47 PM
2-1 Lose tonight get ready for it ... or 1-1 draw at least
Just telling u man utd fans that the match is against them in terms of odds...
Kueitutu
11-10-2001, 12:39 AM
Originally posted by Freestylers_X
hrmm.... yah... after all the internationals... they may be pretty burnt out... I would say a draw is a pretty good result
tranze
11-10-2001, 04:46 AM
GLORY GLORY UNITED.........................
GLORY GLORY UNited!!!!
MAN U All the WAY!!!
aFTerLiF3
11-10-2001, 04:48 AM
so.. who bet for olympiakos ? :D
hmmm... 2-0 to man utd...
Freestylers_X
11-10-2001, 02:29 PM
Originally posted by stam
hmmm... 2-0 to man utd...
I was wrong since Beck's played... well good result in any case
Alienz
12-10-2001, 12:08 PM
I was wrong since Beck's played... well good result in any case
Beck is on top form..........
:angel: :bounce: :angel:
ralliart_ray
12-10-2001, 05:11 PM
super gd
Freestylers_X
12-10-2001, 07:22 PM
So how the next match what u guy/gals think will be the result
I think scv show live that match vs sunderland
ralliart_ray
12-10-2001, 10:38 PM
manU should win by a goal ba
ralliart_ray
13-10-2001, 03:57 PM
EPL action tonite:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
ralliart_ray
13-10-2001, 11:30 PM
3 goals up cole giggs and an OG
Freestylers_X
13-10-2001, 11:58 PM
About time the "Old school" man Utd appeared back to the winning form
3-1 to the good and third in the table at this time
:D :D
i feel sometimes the second team plays better than the first team...
Nawoo
16-10-2001, 11:18 AM
Alienz is on TOP form!!
PRO!!
Dolphin1977
16-10-2001, 11:33 AM
i feel sometimes the second team plays better than the first team...
haiz...
the second team is play usual 442 formation which mu have
been playing for decade...players know where to move..
with wingers and full back assisting attack....
it's a attacking formation... but prode to counter attack..
the main team is playing 42121 a formation that
the centre mid is covering the defence, cutting off supply for
the opposition striker....organize attack from the back..
with scholes playing behind the lone striker, the lone striker
will hold the ball and open up space for the wingers..
ralliart_ray
16-10-2001, 08:03 PM
WEDs got ECL
ralliart_ray
17-10-2001, 02:18 PM
The top two in the group meet at Old Trafford on Wednesday night and the scenario is very similar for both Man United and Deportivo La Coruna.
United currently lead their Spanish counterparts by one point and are a further point ahead of Lille in third place. Victory for Sir Alex Ferguson's team would not quite guarantee qualification into the second phase, but realistically they would have one foot there. A draw would keep United on top of the group, although things could be even tighter depending on how Lille do in Greece against Olympiakos. Defeat is unthinkable, leaving the Premiership champions off the top and could push them into third.
Deportivo know that a victory at Old Trafford would put them top of the group and in a very strong position for the remainder of the first phase having played arguably the toughest opponents on both occasions. Defeat or a draw could still leave them lying in second place, depending on how Lille fare.
CURRENT FORM:
Man United: (all comps - oldest results first): WWLWWW: Since they went in at half time 3-0 down against Spurs two and a half weeks ago, United have been awesome with ten goals scored and only one conceded, including a superb performance to win 2-0 against Olympiakos last week. A 3-1 win at Sunderland on Saturday saw a number of fringe players take their place in the starting line up and it's a measure of the talent in the squad that they were able to sweep their opponents aside without the likes of Van Nistelrooy, Veron, Beckham, Keane and Barthez! United's only defeat in their last six games came against - Deportivo!
Deportivo: (all comps - oldest results first): WDDWDW: Unlike United, the Spaniards are unbeaten in the CL this season with two draws to go alongside their dramatic last ditch victory over the English side. Currently lying top of the Spanish league, Deportivo have lost just once in eight games this season and are unbeaten in their last five, although United will have noticed that they have only kept a clean sheet once all season! Most recently they recorded a fine 2-1 victory at Zaragoza and beat Barcelona by the same scoreline a week before.
ralliart_ray
18-10-2001, 04:43 AM
waH lan eH...........sickening siA:mad:
ralliart_ray
21-10-2001, 06:59 PM
poor form:mad:
lose lose lose!!! cannot believe it.... man utd is losing every game!!! ahhhhhhhhhhhhh how come!!! 2 home loss in 4 days!!! :(
ralliart_ray
23-10-2001, 06:00 PM
CL Preview: Manchester United V Olympiakos
Manchester United - Olympiakos
10/22/2001. AT STAKE
Manchester United entertain Olympiakos in the penultimate round of matches in their champions league group in a game which could see the end of the road for the Greek’s campaign and propel United into the next stage.
:D :D :D :D :D
silklee
23-10-2001, 06:28 PM
i think cole was also at fault for the loss against bolton. remember the miss in the first half from a rebound after a schole's shot. he rammed it straight at the keeper. he could have simply tapped it in.
ralliart_ray
23-10-2001, 07:07 PM
Originally posted by silklee
i think cole was also at fault for the loss against bolton. remember the miss in the first half from a rebound after a schole's shot. he rammed it straight at the keeper. he could have simply tapped it in. haiz..... cant blame him
lady luck isnt smiling at manU
ralliart_ray
24-10-2001, 02:52 AM
wow...nice cross by giggs
GOALL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OLE OLE~!~!~ u are my solskajer.... my only solskajer!
2-0!! ryan giggs, ryan giggs running down the wings~
RUUD makes up for his penalty miss with the third goal! wonderful result!
tranze
24-10-2001, 04:43 AM
At last!!!!!!!
WOOOHOOOOO:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
ralliart_ray
24-10-2001, 12:19 PM
wEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
cruises into the 2nd round
counterstrike
26-10-2001, 07:53 PM
1-0
The score is 3-0. Yeah. Watch until dead night.
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Shingoz
26-10-2001, 08:05 PM
Forget the past look into the future.
Let's conc on t he Leeds match. :D
Do you guys think they'll field their full squad this sat? :)
I do think so....Strike might be van and cole.
ralliart_ray
26-10-2001, 08:09 PM
where is yorkie?
i miss him leh
Shingoz
26-10-2001, 08:57 PM
where is yorkie?
i miss him leh
Hmm yeah he's a good player.
Only managed to come in as a sub recently. :(
Maybe he will pair Cole.
Then the legendary blackie duo will resurface from the competition. :)
ralliart_ray
27-10-2001, 09:15 AM
Originally posted by Shingoz
Hmm yeah he's a good player.
Only managed to come in as a sub recently. :(
Maybe he will pair Cole.
Then the legendary blackie duo will resurface from the competition. :) woohooo i miss them
ralliart_ray
27-10-2001, 09:16 AM
later manU vs leeds...........clash of the titans...........:D :D :D
damn,, leeds is strong... tonite early start?? 8pm?
ralliart_ray
27-10-2001, 12:29 PM
8 arr...i tot 6.30
Shingoz
27-10-2001, 03:31 PM
Wah got 7pm for 8pm..so which one ?
Shingoz
27-10-2001, 05:13 PM
English Premiere Football League 2001/02, Manchester United Vs Leeds United
27 October 2001 Saturday
06:50 PM ESPN Ch 23
ralliart_ray
27-10-2001, 08:16 PM
HT 0-0
ralliart_ray
27-10-2001, 08:50 PM
phew
Leeds seem to be doing everything right - but Matteo heads a Beckham cross to Giggs at the far post. The Welshman knocks it back across for Solskjaer to deliver an inch-perfect header into the corner beyond Martyn. 1-1!!!
haizz... should have beaten leeds, make them lose their unbeaten record..... haiz!!
Shingoz
28-10-2001, 03:11 AM
Disspointed match. :(
And the robbie keane incident. :mad:
tranze
28-10-2001, 03:12 AM
Disspointed match. :(
And the robbie keane incident. :mad:
yah bawls....
ralliart_ray
29-10-2001, 02:34 PM
poor referee tio banished
would we have won if keane was sent off?
Shingoz
30-10-2001, 12:32 AM
No point talking about it now.
It happens quite frequently in soccer.
Anyway the refree's already punished.
ralliart_ray
30-10-2001, 12:05 PM
if only......
ralliart_ray
30-10-2001, 09:53 PM
GO MANU GO!:D
Shingoz
01-11-2001, 07:40 PM
Hmm good news here, Veron set to play for Man Utd against Liverpool this sunday. He would only go back on monday i suppose.
Liverpool..... hmm... another tough match... haizzz
aFTerLiF3
02-11-2001, 12:23 AM
with the current defensive problem ... i will be happy if we can settle the game for a draw , a win will be nice :)
but then , i guess we will let in some 'easy' goals.
Shingoz
02-11-2001, 12:49 AM
With owen coming back and hypia setting to come back this sunday. It's all bad news for man utd.
Let's just hope ferguson dont play the 4141 or 4411 thingy.
princelim
02-11-2001, 02:13 AM
With owen coming back and hypia setting to come back this sunday. It's all bad news for man utd.
Let's just hope ferguson dont play the 4141 or 4411 thingy.
well, man utd is quite free from injury problems rite... their squad seems adequate to field a strong squad this wk...
besides, man utd had lost and draw in the last 2 premier matches. their shares' prices are dropping to a low level and they will win in order to restore the share prices back by building confidence in the market on their team. and how else better than to beat arch rival liverpool.
Meanwhile, looking forward to the match...
(just an opinion ah... no offence to anyone..)
ralliart_ray
02-11-2001, 03:45 AM
g0 manU g0:D
aFTerLiF3
02-11-2001, 07:29 AM
What i'm afraid is our defensive problem .. Just take a look at some of the goals scored by the opposition , all are easy goals.
damn, they are playing the u score 3 i score 4 method?
aFTerLiF3
02-11-2001, 11:41 PM
we will meet Bayern Munich again !!
Hope we will do better compared to last season !
ralliart_ray
03-11-2001, 11:40 AM
Group A
Bayern Munchen
Nantes
Man United
Boavista
clash of the titans
Freestylers_X
03-11-2001, 12:20 PM
Group A
Bayern Munchen
Nantes
Man United
Boavista
clash of the titans
Damn Lucky I guess to Finish Second in Stage One I Guess Now Its Up to man U to Go for it as I think Ars And Liverfool Will sure get some funky results from the groups there are in
I say just bring it (The rematch vs BM I Mean)
ralliart_ray
04-11-2001, 12:35 AM
I'll never be a manager - Beckham
By Zoomsoccer, 2001-11-03
MANCHESTER, Nov 3 (ZoomSoccer) - David Beckham has stated that he will never become a manager when he retires from playing, because of stress factor that lies within the job.
On the day Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier was released from hospital three weeks after heart surgery, the England captain revealed he will turn his back on a lucrative new career and instead devote his time to discovering new talent.
"I don't want to be a manager or coach. I will have had stress and hassle for the last 20 years so it will be a relief not to," said Beckham ahead of Sunday's clash with Liverpool at Anfield, and added
"I'd just like to see kids playing football and having a laugh. I'd rather put myself into that.
Further, Beckham revealed that he does not need to move to Italy or Spain to prove his worth.
"People can always have their opinions, like to become a great player you've got to go and play in Italy and Spain.
"But for me happiness is more important. It's my decision. If I'm happy in my life and my football at United, then I won't make any changes in it.
"I've had the offers - you see things in the papers about Barcelona, Milan and Madrid and you think about it. But if I'm happy I don't see why I should move anywhere else," Beckham stated.
In the same breath Becks dismissed claims that his wife, Spice Girl, Victoria Beckham, is making the decisions on his future as a footballerat United.
"People will say: 'Oh, it's Victoria who's making the decisions'. But it will never be Victoria who takes me away from United," he said.
aFTerLiF3
04-11-2001, 07:36 AM
about the match again Liverpool
Confirmed not playing
1. Roy Keane
2. Laurent Blanc
3. Ronny Johnsen
Unconfirmed
1. G Neville
2. W. Brown
3. Giggs
We missed some key players , gonna be difficult to beat Pool.
ralliart_ray
04-11-2001, 11:23 AM
aRGhh
watever
g0 MANU g0!~~
Freestylers_X
04-11-2001, 02:34 PM
Crap The defence For Man U Seems To Be Mia for this evening Match ( 7.20Pm Channel 23 ) damn it !!!
A couple of People not playing
:bounce:
Shingoz
04-11-2001, 05:13 PM
Crap The defence For Man U Seems To Be Mia for this evening Match ( 7.20Pm Channel 23 ) damn it !!!
A couple of People not playing
:bounce:
We can only say good luck for the defence.
Anyway hopefully it's at most a 2-2 draw.
swalk21
04-11-2001, 06:13 PM
Al Fayed: I'll sign Beckham
Sunday 04 11 2001
Mohamed Al Fayed says he will buy David Beckham if Jean Tigana wants him.
The Egyptian billionaire has already tried to persuade the Manchester United midfielder, who has 18 months left on his contract, to sign for his club.
He is expected to become the first player to break the £100,000-a-week barrier when he signs a new deal - and Al Fayed insists money will not be a problem.
"If Jean Tigana wants Beckham I'll get him for my manager," Al Fayed told News Of The World.
"David is a good friend of mine - both him and his wife Victoria. They have had a holiday at my home in St Tropez.
"Sometimes when they come here together shopping, we have lunch and I'm always talking with him about playing for us. I tell him he can come shopping and spend all his wages here at my store!
"I'd love to have him play for me if he wants to come. Of course I can afford him, no problem. Beckham is a maestro."
Al Fayed added: "I was coming to watch Fulham when George Best was here.
"I was proud that such a great player came to play for the club I loved. Best was then what Beckham is today.
"And if Best played for Fulham - why not Beckham? If we were good enough for Georgie, we are also good enough for Becks.
ralliart_ray
04-11-2001, 06:49 PM
wow.... rich :D
tranze
04-11-2001, 09:16 PM
sigh lose liao
1-3
tranze
04-11-2001, 09:18 PM
knnnn
no giggs, no keane,no blanc.....
cobra
04-11-2001, 09:32 PM
can't help...but i livepool fan......dun wanna say anythg.....nuff was said in the pitch!!
aFTerLiF3
04-11-2001, 10:02 PM
see ? as i've predicted earlier .. we will let in some "EASY" goals.
Nowadays , scoring against Man United is very easy.
We need someone who can command the defense, just like Schmeichel in 1999.
we only can hope for a better season next yr... we already lost 3 matches while the other challenagers are either once or unbeaten.
tranze
04-11-2001, 11:40 PM
we only can hope for a better season next yr... we already lost 3 matches while the other challenagers are either once or unbeaten.
see after christmas lor
sekali man u power up and win while the rest fumble like the season when ARSENAL was leading all the way if i am not wrong...
IT was SWEET victory
tranze
04-11-2001, 11:50 PM
i seriously think we need to buy another defender
how abt cannavaro?(is i got the spelling rite) hehe
but italians dont go abroad....
:(
cracker
05-11-2001, 12:09 AM
nowaday,,it is much easier to predict who can beat Man Utd than the other way ard......The defence dept had been utterly disappointing; seem the back 4 and the keeper take turn to make mistakes..With the Champion League taking a break to prepare for round 2,,,I hoped Fergie can look ard for a more commanding central defender...Johnsen was doing well till his injury problem...
as for Blanc,,,,he will cause will be more of a threat..
which leave Wes Brown...maybe if he combine with Johnsen,,,magic might occur....
At the rate they r going ,,,,,they might suffer a few more bashing b4 they wake up,,,,remember 6-3 to southampton,,,5-0 to newscastle...5-0 to chelsea,,i think today defeat to liverpool will not drive the msg to Fergie yet.......afterall he is scotish,,
nukeListener
05-11-2001, 12:21 AM
Sighh....defensive mistakes again....Man U has got to wake up!!!
tranze
05-11-2001, 03:49 AM
whats with being scottish???
hehe
can tell?
swalk21
05-11-2001, 11:33 AM
i seriously think we need to buy another defender
how abt cannavaro?(is i got the spelling rite) hehe
but italians dont go abroad....
:(
he prefer ltaly lah there got more bautiful exotic babes to screw
Shingoz
05-11-2001, 02:46 PM
Oh yah something else about the match, butt is suppose to be the defensive midfield and veron the attacking one right. Yet most of the match i see veron hiding behind while butt is infront. Argh...it's so sad to see veron defending there...not coming out to supply goals or have one of those fabulous long shots. :mad:
And chadwick is injured? Dont see in on the bench too. :(
And i somehow feels like we missed the wizardry of giggs alot. :(
Anyway what's gone is gone. Hope ferguson will do some serious changes to the team. He's a good manager, hope he knows what to do. :alien:
ryanseah
05-11-2001, 04:13 PM
More like we missed the commanding presence of Keane...Butt, for all his efforts, somehow just doesn't have the presence of Keano...:sad:
tranze
05-11-2001, 04:22 PM
Remember the season w/o cantonna?
Deja Vu ...............
Hope it wun happen
cracker
05-11-2001, 08:07 PM
Originally posted by ryanseah
More like we missed the commanding presence of Keane...Butt, for all his efforts, somehow just doesn't have the presence of Keano...:sad:
I doubt Keane's presence can prevent the lost.........look at them ...so predictable.......no will to win any loose ball...In fact Fergie had mentioned in soccernet website..some players had been in the squad for too long...
Nowaday...Man Utd seemed to think that they can obercome any deficit within the last quarter of the game....but tat is provided they r aggressive enuff,,,,,
look at the last few matches,,,,,,lifeless against Bolton..Leeds,,,Liverpool.......they seem to have lost the zest...and it does not help if there is a leaking defence or keeper,,,, remember how schemeichel saved against Bergkamp's penalty tat really inspired the team back in 99,,,and also how he single=handedly stop Newscastle in tat classic 96 game ?
so unless the back 5 r tidied up,,,,their interest in any competition will end by Dec...
Freestylers_X
05-11-2001, 09:26 PM
http://www.soccernet.com/england/news/2001/1105/20011105mufcfeatmcgarry.html
Alex Finally Lost It........... and I say its about bloody time that damn defence pack its bags or something
Damn it We need Stam back I tell you ,.:bounce: :rolleyes:
ralliart_ray
06-11-2001, 01:54 AM
so sad..
tranze
06-11-2001, 02:23 AM
Hope that he would shake up the Team
Alienz
06-11-2001, 09:32 AM
Once again MAN U lost 4 - 0 to Arsenal....
ralliart_ray
06-11-2001, 11:33 AM
well... the morale is pretty depleted
Just see the line-up
Starting XI
13. Carroll, Roy
12. Neville, Philip
34. O`Shea, John
Roche, Lee
32. Djordjic, Bojan
28. Stewart, Michael
22. Wallwork, Ronnie
15. Chadwick, Luke
19. Yorke, Dwight
Davis, Jimmy
37. Webber, Danny
Substitutes
van der Gouw, Raimond
Nardiello, Daniel
23. Clegg, Michael
39. Tierney, Paul
Tate, Alan
Alienz
06-11-2001, 12:10 PM
Just see the line-up
Starting XI
13. Carroll, Roy
12. Neville, Philip
34. O`Shea, John
Roche, Lee
32. Djordjic, Bojan
28. Stewart, Michael
22. Wallwork, Ronnie
15. Chadwick, Luke
19. Yorke, Dwight
Davis, Jimmy
37. Webber, Danny
Substitutes
van der Gouw, Raimond
Nardiello, Daniel
23. Clegg, Michael
39. Tierney, Paul
Tate, Alan
Only Neville , chadwick and yorke can made it........
What is Sir Alex thinking?
Shingoz
06-11-2001, 12:52 PM
Only Neville , chadwick and yorke can made it........
What is Sir Alex thinking?
He's not trying to win the cup?
Alienz
06-11-2001, 01:33 PM
He's not trying to win the cup?
ya i oso think he want to concentrate on ELP and Champion League......
Nawoo
06-11-2001, 02:39 PM
ya i oso think he want to concentrate on ELP and Champion League......
ELP??Is it your Alienz league?:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
tranze
06-11-2001, 03:33 PM
Sir alex thinks worthington cup = worthless cup
ralliart_ray
07-11-2001, 02:20 PM
GD LUCK , RED DEVILS:D
Quantong
07-11-2001, 02:44 PM
Hopefully they will have their change of form soon...
its either leeds or liverpool... :(
tranze
08-11-2001, 02:31 AM
:( :( :( :( :(
aFTerLiF3
08-11-2001, 02:50 AM
Its too early to say
aFTerLiF3
08-11-2001, 03:43 AM
Blomqvist will join Everton in 24 hours.
sad , i kinda like him :(
Shingoz
08-11-2001, 05:25 AM
Originally posted by aFTerLiF3
Blomqvist will join Everton in 24 hours.
sad , i kinda like him :(
Hmm i kind of forgotten him already.
But why would Ferguson want to sell a player now.
maybe fergie got giggs already and this swedish winger dun wana play sub anymore.......he is a good player......:(
swalk21
08-11-2001, 10:41 AM
sell him lah , this poor chap got no chance to play when giggs is around . even fortune get to play when giggs is injured
Alienz
08-11-2001, 10:54 AM
I think Ferguson want $$ to buy his defender...
Just like selling Stam to buy Blanc...
Nawoo
08-11-2001, 11:31 AM
I think they should sign ALienz.
His Soccer skills are OUt of This WoRld!
Best unknown player ever
Alienz
08-11-2001, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by Nawoo
I think they should sign ALienz.
His Soccer skills are OUt of This WoRld!
Best unknown player ever
yaya............
you not a MAN U fan and you keep
coming here and said me.........
Y?? no Arsenal Forum for you to
tok abt ar??? :laugh:
Nawoo
08-11-2001, 11:58 AM
This has got nothing to do with Arsenal.Its about u playing for Man utd.
Show them your Out-Of-this-world skills man.Alienz skills
Alienz
08-11-2001, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by Nawoo
This has got nothing to do with Arsenal.Its about u playing for Man utd.
Show them your Out-Of-this-world skills man.Alienz skills
hahaha wat a joke.......
Arsenal win MAN U and now
you come here to disturb MAN U fan..
Shingoz
08-11-2001, 12:16 PM
I think Ferguson want $$ to buy his defender...
Just like selling Stam to buy Blanc...
Hmm i thought blanc is free and he sold stam for 11million?
Anyway i dont think man utd would need to sell player to raise fund?
Alienz
08-11-2001, 02:03 PM
Hmm i thought blanc is free and he sold stam for 11million?
Anyway i dont think man utd would need to sell player to raise fund?
Maybe Ferguson is force by high management
to raise fund.........
Or maybe stam got high paid and Ferguson said that
he will stay on the bench for this season..
wat for paid the $$ for player wif high paid and not playing...
DeepIcE
08-11-2001, 02:09 PM
sigh~
la la la~
tranze
09-11-2001, 04:40 AM
I am very suprised that no 1 mention that Blomqvist is not bonded to any Club
He just trains with MAN U as he was a MAN U player
He wasnt sold cos he did not have any contract so MAN U did not make any money out of him
:)
tranze
09-11-2001, 04:41 AM
Its a free transfer if u see it that way
Freestylers_X
09-11-2001, 09:54 PM
Why U people so fired up over Blomqvist Who never played much games anyway ???
About time he moved on
tranze
09-11-2001, 10:53 PM
Why U people so fired up over Blomqvist Who never played much games anyway ???
About time he moved on
cincerned not fired up
i kinda like blomqvist when he came in
was a good sub for giggs
but too bad he got that injury
aFTerLiF3
09-11-2001, 11:00 PM
we dun have a sub for Ryan Giggs, Fortune really cannot cut it out as Gigg's sub.
Blomqvist, for me, is as good as Giggs.
Dunny
10-11-2001, 07:43 PM
crossing over period is near... be prepared, be patient.
YewBoon
11-11-2001, 08:41 AM
Is paul scholes goin to be alrite?
assaltus
11-11-2001, 11:52 AM
Quote:
"Mikael Silvestre said last night his days at Manchester United could soon be over because veteran Denis Irwin is keeping him out. 'I could be leaving by Christmas,' said the French defender. 'I don't agree with the manager's theories and I am bitter about it.' "
URL: http://www.soccernet.com/europe/news/2001/0904/20011111laziosven.html
Though he is not a great defender, this could add to the list of defence problems Fergie already has.
Maybe Ferguson is force by high management
to raise fund.........
Or maybe stam got high paid and Ferguson said that
he will stay on the bench for this season..
wat for paid the $$ for player wif high paid and not playing...
I though MU richest club on Earth?
Dunny
11-11-2001, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by ISS
I though MU richest club on Earth?
Yup, they are the richest but they are also a PLC... ****.
WE WANT FC, NOT PLC!!!
Shingoz
11-11-2001, 03:53 PM