PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301

xllms
25-05-2004, 07:04 PM
Originally posted by silent_espy
There are lots of reports that states that jose mourinho's already in the bag and coming to anfield after the CL finals i dunno how accurate are the reports. I would be gutted if liverpool got curbs or mcclaren.

it will be extremely exciting if LFC pinch mourinho under chelsea's nose...LFC will have another arch-enemy next year

xllms

BurnLives
25-05-2004, 08:43 PM
Originally posted by stalker79
i also heard from BBC radio that the european newspaper/reporter are saying mourinho is joing liverpool

Very interesting indeed, for Mourinho, managing Liverpool would present more challenge compared to managing chelsea

tohwk
25-05-2004, 09:15 PM
If LFC wasn't in such a dire situation,I personally would like to GH to see out the last year of his contract. I too,am crtical of his team selection,tactics and player purchases. GH tried changing his tactics in the season gone by,but it was too little too late. But in times gone by,I gradually learnt to respect the man for his dignity and passion for the club. Given the currrent situation the club is in,changes had to come sooner rather than later to improve and challange for major honours again on a consistant basis,with or without GH. Statistics don't lie. We're nearer the to bottom clubs than the top 3. A woeful 30 pts behind the champions arsenal.

"I will always remain a fan of Liverpool Football Club. I'll come here again as a friend and a fan and I will cheer the boys on." Gerard Houllier.

These are the words which we'll remember you by, not your constant excuses. Thank you,Mr Houllier. You'll never walk alone . :)

Virus
25-05-2004, 09:55 PM
Originally posted by stairwaytoheaven
if pool wanna win the league, they should buy back FOWLER, REDKNAPP and MACCA!
Please don't. They suck now. Period.

stairwaytoheaven
25-05-2004, 10:12 PM
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

once a god... always a god. period.

Aozora
25-05-2004, 10:14 PM
Originally posted by silent_espy
There are lots of reports that states that jose mourinho's already in the bag and coming to anfield after the CL finals i dunno how accurate are the reports. I would be gutted if liverpool got curbs or mcclaren.

if thats true, then won't it be an exciting 2004/05 season for Liverpool ;)

spinelli
25-05-2004, 11:55 PM
Originally posted by Virus

Please don't. They suck now. Period.

yeah,maybe jamie,but not fowler pls.his ball control nowadays remind me of heskey!!

i do feel a degree of sadness that g.h is gone...but this is football after all.compared to the sadness when i see pool nowadays,its nothing comparable

xllms
26-05-2004, 12:24 AM
quote:

agree, but this god doesn't choose to perform his miracles on the field anymore!...nor is he a fortune god for LFC

xllms

mizera
26-05-2004, 01:40 AM
quote:

there's only one god in that list, and to me he doesn't need to return and play for us anymore to prove anything, that'll only taint my memory of him.

Mohawks
26-05-2004, 02:01 AM
quote:

nah.... they suck big time nowadays...

no thanks to their bad social habits...
Fowler looks like he's got a paunch... machiam like 3 months pregnant, even if u got all the skill in the world, if you can't reach the ball b4 the opponent, god skill also no use

leonard7
26-05-2004, 02:36 AM
Originally posted by Mohawks

Fowler looks like he's got a paunch... machiam like 3 months pregnant, even if u got all the skill in the world, if you can't reach the ball b4 the opponent, god skill also no use

and i agreed with the fowler part..:laugh:

xllms
26-05-2004, 10:40 AM

fowler drinks too much...for all their skills, they brought themselves to the current state...however i have to admit they r intelligent enough to look beyond their football playing years...they have moved on w their lives by investing heavily in property and doing very well, esp fowler and mcmanaman...so LFC should move on n only remember them as former greats...maybe next time they can be another property magnate and help out at LFC

xllms

leo_llw
26-05-2004, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by spinelli

yeah,maybe jamie,but not fowler pls.his ball control nowadays remind me of heskey!!

i do feel a degree of sadness that g.h is gone...but this is football after all.compared to the sadness when i see pool nowadays,its nothing comparable
why u sad that gh gone? maybe u prefer a few more seasons of mediocrity for Liverpool?

With the kind of players that Liverpool possessed, any above average manager can achieve 4. Liverpool 38 60pts every season.

Souljer
26-05-2004, 11:33 AM
I dun get it. When GH was around, u guys were like kpkb. Now that he's gone, shldn't u pple be glad instead of reminiscing about him?

mizera
26-05-2004, 03:41 PM
Originally posted by Souljer
I dun get it. When GH was around, u guys were like kpkb. Now that he's gone, shldn't u pple be glad instead of reminiscing about him?

I'm definitely glad, but i feel we should have secured a replacement first before sacking GH, like what Real did.

fantasy21
26-05-2004, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by mizera

I'm definitely glad, but i feel we should have secured a replacement first before sacking GH, like what Real did.

This will not be fair to GH,he has his contributions to our club.

Lestat_60
26-05-2004, 05:34 PM
If he play Defensive kinda of football.. the counter attack must be Solid -> Look at Valencia ..

But.. in the days he was in charge.. ..where is the team heading.. what kinda of game he is playing..

xllms
26-05-2004, 05:49 PM
with due respect to GH, the only counter-attacking game worth mentioning in his regime, was the 5-4 victory v alaves, UEFA final

tat was a solid one

xllms

leo_llw
26-05-2004, 06:44 PM
Originally posted by fantasy21

This will not be fair to GH,he has his contributions to our club.
Contributions? U mean 6 cups? U considered European SuperCup and Charity Shield of worthy mention? :laugh:

See wat a Pool fan has to say :

Good Ged Almighty
I can always count on F365 for a great giggle over my coffee in the morning, but usually it comes from Mediawatch. Or the lookalikes. Or the occasional Neville diary. But this morning comes from the Houllier brown-nosers. Yes, I am a Liverpool fan. Yes, I have been so since I was four years old (to spite my Leeds fan tosser of a brother, mwahaha!). And yes, you better believe I'm glad to see the back of the man in the nice red scarf (for it is he.)

I don't think that anyone on the planet disagrees that Gerard seems like a nice bloke. But what people don't seem to realize is that it's not his character that's being called into question, it's his absolute inability to effectively manage a Premiership team.

But OH LORD, he won six trophies during his time here! SAINTS BE PRAISED!! The thing is though, when you discount the League Cup - the trophy that the top six usually disregard as they're too worried about more important prizes such as the title, the FA Cup, and European honours - the Charity Shield (who in their RIGHT MIND counts the f**king Charity Shield as a trophy?!?!) and the European Charity Shield (aka the 'Super Cup'), that leaves us with one FA Cup, and a UEFA Cup.

But that has become a sign of the times at Anfield, isn't it? Finding joy in mediocrity.

Reveling in the glory of a Charity Shield.

Basking in the joy that only a league cup can bring.

Parading fourth place before the fans in triumph.

Now I'm not one of the 'Pool fans who believe we have a divine right to win anything. Certainly not - we have lost our period of dominance, our day in the sun is over, and we should not be granted titles based on our history. But nor should we deserve - or expect - to dine from the scraps that fall from the table of Arsenal, United, and Chelsea.

As if the Houllier standard for results isn't grounds enough for having him shot out of a cannon, let's take a peek here - as those nice bods at F365 were nice (or sadistic) enough to compile a list of the utter, utter tosh that this man has bestowed a red shirt upon. Yep, I will admit, that there are a few players in there that are utter gems. Hyppia, Kirkland, Dudek (he's a decent keeper!!), Kewell... Fair enough. But dear God - have you ever seen anyone spend so much, for so, so little?! Five and a half million squid for Igor Biscan? Five million for Salif Diao!? TEN million for Diouf, based on one goal against France (no less) in the World Cup?!

And you muppets bemoan his departure, for all the good he's done this team? You feel sick at the way he's been treated. You feel that he didn't have the support of the board and he's been stabbed in the back. Well, if you believe that mediocrity deserves reward, and if you feel that the occasional league cup is enough, then please feck off and become a Middlesboro supporter.

Gaz Edmunds, Washington DC (For my sins...)

http://www.football365.com/opinion/mailbox/story_111272.shtml

fantasy21
26-05-2004, 09:36 PM
You are too stressed//.. get a life.
Winning and Losing in part and parcel of a game.. Its not easy to manage a team which had a great history and success behind it in england...how many managers have we changed since 1990?but we still havent get the elusive title. give GH some credit.. he almost lost his life for the game.

xllms
26-05-2004, 10:02 PM
This is what the LFC under GH lacks, esp after the departure of fowler

Put smile back on Reds' faces May 26 2004

Chris Bascombe on the missing ingredient Liverpool will be looking for in their new boss

http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0500liverpoolfc/0100news/tm_objectid=14277129%26method=full%26siteid=50061%26headline=put%2dsmile%2dback%2don%2dreds%2d%2dfaces-name_page.html

mizera
26-05-2004, 10:11 PM
Winning and Losing in part and parcel of a game.. Its not easy to manage a team which had a great history and success behind it in england...how many managers have we changed since 1990?but we still havent get the elusive title. give GH some credit.. he almost lost his life for the game.

His health problem is personal, don't make it sound as though Liverpool FC was the cause of it.

stalker79
26-05-2004, 10:20 PM

His health problem is personal, don't make it sound as though Liverpool FC was the cause of it.
to be honest with u i believe the highly stress job as a manager in a top club like liverpool does take a toil on his health

mizera
26-05-2004, 11:18 PM

to be honest with u i believe the highly stress job as a manager in a top club like liverpool does take a toil on his health

It does, but if he couldn't take it then he shouldn't have been the man for the job.

Anyway, let's cut this out aight, i shan't say anything negative about GH anymore, it's getting stale..

mizera
26-05-2004, 11:22 PM
Was reading about the shortlisted managers, seems like Strachan and Curbishley are included as well.

I know we ain't in any position to get someone like Benitez, but come on...Strachan or Curbishley? Not exactly A-class are they?

spinelli
27-05-2004, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by leo_llw

why u sad that gh gone? maybe u prefer a few more seasons of mediocrity for Liverpool?

With the kind of players that Liverpool possessed, any above average manager can achieve 4. Liverpool 38 60pts every season.

this is what's diff btw a pool fan and the rest.we are compassionate lot.yeah we do wan him to go,in hope of playing better,but we do treasure his contributions,even if it might not be good enuff.now fark off fromt his thread.like the saying goes "dao bu tong,bu xiang wei meng"

spinelli
27-05-2004, 12:04 AM
LIVERPOOL URGED TO SNAP UP ROSICKY
Sporting Life 26 May 2004

Czech star Tomas Rosicky would relish a move to Liverpool, according to his former Borussia Dortmund team-mate Fredi Bobic.

Bobic claims Rosicky, whom he played alongside at the Westfalenstadion in 2001-02, has told him he expects to leave Dortmund and Anfield would be one of his preferred options.

"I played against Tomas recently and after speaking to him after the game, I know he is going to leave Dortmund and take up a new challenge, which he clearly needs," said Bobic, who was this week named in Germany's Euro 2004 squad.

"He definitely needs a new challenge and he mentioned Liverpool as one of his options. That could be a perfect move for him at this point in his career, although I'm sure he won't be short of offers."

Rosicky, a creative midfielder, has endured a painful season with Dortmund, scoring just two goals as Matthias Sammer's side failed to qualify for the Champions League.

The Czech's own season was worse still as he broke his arm, injured his back and was forced to undergo an appendectomy.

But, despite the current uncertainty surrounding Liverpool after Gerard Houllier's departure on Monday, Bobic believes any successor to the Frenchman should move for 23-year-old Rosicky.

"Liverpool are such a great club, with so much history and prestige, and England is the motherland of football," insisted Bobic, who helped to secure Bolton Wanderers' Premiership status during a five-month spell at the Reebok in 2002.

"I think whoever comes in to replace Houllier will be keen to sign Tomas because the new manager will obviously be given money to make new signings.

"Liverpool have got that Champions League spot and playing with the likes of Michael Owen and Steven Gerrard could see Tomas become recognised as a truly world-class player."

:bounce:

spinelli
27-05-2004, 12:06 AM
JOSE: I WANT TO BE REMEMBERED LIKE SHANKLY
Paul Rogers 26 May 2004
Porto's Jose Mourinho tonight leads his side out in the Champions League final but the ambitious Portuguese boss is already dreaming of one day being remembered as a football legend like Bill Shankly and Bob Paisley.
Mourinho led Porto to the title, Portuguese Cup and UEFA Cup last season and having already retained the title this season, today he's preparing for the biggest game of his life against Monaco in the Champions League final.

However, Mourinho is already thinking of his future beyond tonight's match. "My reputation is very important to me," insists the Porto boss. "I want people to remember me as one of the all-time great managers. I want to leave my mark in football history and be remembered like Bill Shankly and Bob Paisley.

"I loved the way Liverpool played in the Seventies and Eighties. I loved Kenny Dalglish, Graeme Souness, Phil Thompson, Ray Clemence and Ian Rush - now I want the same success.

"I won the treble last season with Porto, including the UEFA Cup. Now I've reached a second consecutive European final, as well as winning two successive Portuguese titles. And now here comes our biggest moment against Monaco.

"When my team are involved I don't care about image. Sometimes I make enemies because of my reaction, but when my players are under attack they are my family and I will protect them. When we played Manchester United this season, Alex Ferguson realised for the first time that United had lost their invincibility and I saw fear in his eyes. I think he was very disturbed. Afterwards I told my players, 'He was surprised by our quality. He thought it was easy for them to beat us but we beat them'.

"If I win the European Cup with Porto it will be the biggest success in my career, no matter what I achieve with other clubs in the future. I don't think there are many managers who have won the UEFA Cup and European Cup. That's why I want to win so badly."

If Mourinho does win the Champions League tonight, he'll have already matched one of Bob Paisley's achievements.

ah huh...a hint??=p

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 05:12 AM
I want to stay at Valencia - Benitez
Wednesday May 26 2004

Valencia coach Rafael Benitez has insisted that he intends to stay with the Spanish champions amid speculation linking him to Liverpool.

Although the Anfield board have reportedly put Benitez at the top of their list to take over from Gerard Houllier, who parted company with the club on Monday, the Spanish coach apparently has no interest in the position.

Speaking on Valencia-based Radio Nou, he said: "I am in no hurry to go to Inter Milan, Barcelona or Real Madrid, or any other club. I want to stay at Valencia. It's already a big club."

http://www.football365.com/news/story_111360.shtml

wengwaz
27-05-2004, 06:45 AM

I agree wif you and also feel bad about GH's exit; but, if it's done & over wifl Let's get focused and get back into winnning ways! "First is First, Second is nowhere!". Mediocrity does NOT go well with true Liverpool REDs !!!

I am almost 99% sure that we'll get Jose Mouhrino and that's why Rick Parry is on holiday' cos' he's already done the job in securing him as the next LFC manager.

I say besides not walking alone, we must strive to walk together forth !!!

wengwaz
27-05-2004, 09:40 AM
Originally posted by wengwaz

I agree wif you and also feel bad about GH's exit; but, if it's done & over wifl Let's get focused and get back into winnning ways! "First is First, Second is nowhere!". Mediocrity does NOT go well with true Liverpool REDs !!!

I am almost 99% sure that we'll get Jose Mouhrino and that's why Rick Parry is on holiday' cos' he's already done the job in securing him as the next LFC manager.

I say besides not walking alone, we must strive to walk together forth !!!

Bo liao ...

Gone! Gone! Gone! (http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390000-2004241941,00.html)

stairwaytoheaven
27-05-2004, 12:57 PM
I HOPE THE 1ST THING THE NEW MANAGER DOES ID SACK PHIL THOMPSON... I HATE THE BAR GIRL!

xllms
27-05-2004, 03:52 PM
new news!!!!

http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/04/05/27/SOCCER_Liverpool.html

BurnLives
27-05-2004, 03:55 PM
Fellow Kop bros,

It could really be Rafael coming to Anfield, according to this article (http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,835950,00.html)

spinelli
27-05-2004, 05:06 PM
I HOPE THE 1ST THING THE NEW MANAGER DOES ID SACK PHIL THOMPSON... I HATE THE BAR GIRL!

whats wrong with p.t??we need guys like him who represent liverpool!!

fantasy21
27-05-2004, 05:46 PM

you are right, sammy lee n lan rush too... their passion and commitment to our club is inevitable.

leo_llw
27-05-2004, 06:11 PM

hey grow up....we are not talking abt Alma Mate gathering.... ability counts...

your GH might have achieve things more than Evans or watever, the fact is if he failed to reach the target he should go. No sentiments, only rational thinking.

The clubs needs money to run, the board of directors fork out money to bring success to the club. Not like we fans sit at home and yark in forums.

No success in current climate means no revenue. Simple as that.

Look at Brian Clough. He won 2 Euro Cups for Forest and he still have to go if results falter.

If you are ever in charge of a company or even a department, you would have understand. :rolleyes:

Kiwi8
27-05-2004, 06:50 PM

your GH might have achieve things more than Evans or watever, the fact is if he failed to reach the target he should go. No sentiments, only rational thinking.

The clubs needs money to run, the board of directors fork out money to bring success to the club. Not like we fans sit at home and yark in forums.

Look at Brian Clough. He won 2 Euro Cups for Forest and he still have to go if results falter.

If you are ever in charge of a company or even a department, you would have understand. :rolleyes:

U kong simi? :confused:

spinelli's talking about Phil Thompson, not Gerard Houllier leh. :confused:

stalker79
27-05-2004, 07:03 PM
Jose Mourinho confirmed he is quitting Porto to move into the Premiership and then revealed Chelsea have made him an offer to become their new manager.

Mourinho's Porto beat Monaco 3-0 in the Champions League final on Wednesday but he will pursue his career in England.

"I would really like to accept Chelsea's invitation," said Mourinho.

"It will be decided in the next few days when I tell Porto's management of my intentions but the two clubs have talked," he told Sport TV.

Mourinho is expected to be named as Chelsea's new manager, but he has also been linked with Liverpool.

He added: "One club had a serious conversation with my agent and a small conversation with me. I have given my word to them and I will not change my mind.

"My agent was involved in a few conversations. I want everything to be done right.

"I will speak to the Porto president and I hope he respects my wish to leave.

"There is one club I give my word to and one I would like to go to and this won't change even if I get other situations because we have won the Champions League."

I have given my word to a club and I will not change my mind

Chelsea have yet to announce the fate of their current manager Claudio Ranieri, who met Kenyon and the London club's billionaire owner Roman Abramovich this week.

It seems certain now that the Italian will give way to Mourinho as coach - with Ranieri either leaving altogether or moving into a director of football role.

Kenyon said on Wednesday "the situation should be resolved next week".

Meanwhile Mourinho will leave Porto in the knowledge he made them the first club since Liverpool in 1976 and 1977 to win the Uefa Cup and European Cup in successive years.

"We made history but I have to keep working and try to get success in my next step," said Mourinho.

"This is the best way to finish my career with Porto. In two-and-a-half years we have won everything.

"The club was sleeping a little bit two-and-a-half years ago, and it has woken up very, very well.

"I am very proud in what we did but the time to leave has arrived."

Asked whether Chelsea's spending power was a key factor in his decision, he said: "I think every club has a motivation.

Porto deserved to win as they showed they were the better side - but will their best players be leaving after Euro 2004?

"When you have money to spend you must spend well. When you don't have money to spend you have to go for the formation. The best way is to do both things.

"When clubs decide to change their manager they believe something is not the way to be so I want to work and enjoy my life as a manager.

"I love football and I love to work. The club, the board and supporters must know I go with all my heart and give everything to improve the club.

"I decided I would like to go when I felt in Portugal there was nothing more to win, the challenge was not big enough for me."

indication he's not joining chelski?
:D

Mr_Valentino
28-05-2004, 09:56 AM
Liverpool land Benítez on his own terms

Dominic Fifield
Thursday May 27, 2004
The Guardian

Rafael Benítez will be named as Liverpool's manager next month, swapping his post with Valencia, the Spanish champions, for Merseyside.

Upon moving to Merseyside Benítez will attempt to persuade the Argentinians Roberto Ayala, a highly regarded centre-half, and the playmaker Pablo Aimar, instrumental in two Champions League victories over Liverpool in 2002, to join him in moving from Valencia.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1225691,00.html
-----------------------------------------

If Aimar and Ayala move over to Anfield, we would be a team to watch out for.

If Benitez becomes our manager, we will be title contender next season definitely.

Gooners, Chelski and Man Yoo, be afraid....be very afraid.

darkhalf
28-05-2004, 10:19 AM
lets just hope they dont bring along their diving tactics as well.

i hate divers :mad:

jan175
28-05-2004, 12:07 PM
OT a bit, anyone notice how Aimar looks like Frodo in LOTR, especially his hair..heheh...

xenatrix
28-05-2004, 01:20 PM
the new boss must somehow raise the game of players like diouf, diao, biscan etc.. or ship them out..

leo_llw
28-05-2004, 07:13 PM
most likely the non performers will be shipped out.

You guys got a steal. Benítez is a master tactician and a good organisator, both on the field and off it.

When he took over Valencia in 2001, he dismantled Hector Cuper's team (Gerard to Barca, Mendieta to Lazio, C. López to Lazio, Farinós to Inter, Kily González to Inter, Angloma to retirement) and despite not having much to spend, he brought them 2 titles and a UEFA Cup, on the way besting traditional bigwits like RM and Barca.

As an Arsenal fan, I hope he will not be roping the likes of Aimar, Ayala and Baraja. But with a 70mil debt, Valencia might be forced to sell. :(

With the financial clout of Liverpool, he can surely achieve things maybe not on his first season, and an impact should be felt.

It will be a 4 horse race coming next season. :rolleyes:

xllms
28-05-2004, 07:50 PM
most likely the non performers will be shipped out.

You guys got a steal. Benítez is a master tactician and a good organisator, both on the field and off it.

When he took over Valencia in 2001, he dismantled Hector Cuper's team (Gerard to Barca, Mendieta to Lazio, C. López to Lazio, Farinós to Inter, Kily González to Inter, Angloma to retirement) and despite not having much to spend, he brought them 2 titles and a UEFA Cup, on the way besting traditional bigwits like RM and Barca.

As an Arsenal fan, I hope he will not be roping the likes of Aimar, Ayala and Baraja. But with a 70mil debt, Valencia might be forced to sell. :(

With the financial clout of Liverpool, he can surely achieve things maybe not on his first season, and an impact should be felt.

It will be a 4 horse race coming next season. :rolleyes:

seriously i dun care who he brings in, even if he doesn't bring in anyone, it would be ok...so we can see where LFC fails, was it with GH or the players

one thing i hope he does is if he is able to pluck out more potentials in the reserve team or the academy

its certainly going to be very interesting if Benitez comes and indeed it is going to be a 4 horses race...maybe 5 horse if SBR gets his team going

xllms

heygal
29-05-2004, 06:11 AM
Benitez deal a step closer May 28 2004

By Chris Bascombe, Liverpool Echo

RAFAEL BENITEZ'S switch to Liverpool moved a step closer following a meeting between the Valencia director and the manager's agent.

Talks between Benitez's representative, Manuel Garcia Quillon and main director Manuel Llorente, failed to convince the boss (left) to remain in Spain.

It has been claimed the promise of a new contract and improved relations between Benitez and his board could force an about turn and entice him to stay.

But the terms he'll get at Anfield from next season are far superior to those in Spain.

While Valencia are said to be prepared to offer him a new two- year contract, Liverpool will give him four seasons to return Liverpool to the top of the English and European game.

The wages on Merseyside will also be much more rewarding.

And Liverpool don't need to assure their manager there will be no interference in the recruitment and sale of play-ers as that's a deep-rooted tradition at the club.

Crucially, the Valencia director yesterday warned Benitez the financial conditions at the club will not change next season.

That's believed to be a crucial factor in the 44-year-old's decision. He's become increasingly frustrated with the economic restraints he's working under.

After the meeting in Madrid, his agent Quillon said today: "We spoke to the director yesterday, but there is nothing to say. We have neither advanced, nor backed down. Now it's up to Benitez."

Spanish daily 'Marca' also report today that Llorente was informed of the interest in their manager from European clubs, including Liverpool.

And the club is also at loggerheads over star striker Mista, who is out of contract next season.

Mista wants a five-year deal, but the club are only prepared to sign him for a further four seasons.

Last season, Benitez hit out at the club when they failed to sign his prime target and recruited a player he didn't want.

"I wanted a sofa and they bought me a lampshade," he said.

Meanwhile, Djimi Traore's agent has confirmed he's set for a £1m summer move to West Brom.

Willie McKay said: "As far as I'm concerned he is looking forward to playing for West Brom next season, but there are other clubs interested."

heygal
29-05-2004, 06:17 AM
Benitez deal a step closer May 28 2004

By Chris Bascombe, Liverpool Echo

RAFAEL BENITEZ'S switch to Liverpool moved a step closer following a meeting between the Valencia director and the manager's agent.

Talks between Benitez's representative, Manuel Garcia Quillon and main director Manuel Llorente, failed to convince the boss (left) to remain in Spain.

It has been claimed the promise of a new contract and improved relations between Benitez and his board could force an about turn and entice him to stay.

But the terms he'll get at Anfield from next season are far superior to those in Spain.

While Valencia are said to be prepared to offer him a new two- year contract, Liverpool will give him four seasons to return Liverpool to the top of the English and European game.

The wages on Merseyside will also be much more rewarding.

And Liverpool don't need to assure their manager there will be no interference in the recruitment and sale of play-ers as that's a deep-rooted tradition at the club.

Crucially, the Valencia director yesterday warned Benitez the financial conditions at the club will not change next season.

That's believed to be a crucial factor in the 44-year-old's decision. He's become increasingly frustrated with the economic restraints he's working under.

After the meeting in Madrid, his agent Quillon said today: "We spoke to the director yesterday, but there is nothing to say. We have neither advanced, nor backed down. Now it's up to Benitez."

Spanish daily 'Marca' also report today that Llorente was informed of the interest in their manager from European clubs, including Liverpool.

And the club is also at loggerheads over star striker Mista, who is out of contract next season.

Mista wants a five-year deal, but the club are only prepared to sign him for a further four seasons.

Last season, Benitez hit out at the club when they failed to sign his prime target and recruited a player he didn't want.

"I wanted a sofa and they bought me a lampshade," he said.

Meanwhile, Djimi Traore's agent has confirmed he's set for a £1m summer move to West Brom.

Willie McKay said: "As far as I'm concerned he is looking forward to playing for West Brom next season, but there are other clubs interested."

xllms
29-05-2004, 04:35 PM
check this out

http://www.tribalfootball.com/may/engnews8290504.html

AS Monaco coach Didier Deschamps is being linked with Liverpool.

The Frenchman is suddenly available to the Reds following yesterday's shock appointment by Juventus of Fabio Capello as new coach.

The Sun says Liverpool will move for Monaco manager Didier Deschamps if first-choice Rafael Benitez decides to stay at Valencia.

Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry thought a deal with Benitez was imminent after a whirlwind trip to Spain last week - but Valencia have indicated they are prepared to dig in and fight for their man.

Deschamps, who has transformed Monaco on a shoestring budget, has the added advantage of knowledge of the Premiership after his spell as a midfielder at Chelsea.

xllms
29-05-2004, 04:37 PM
Bayern Munich's Owen Hargreaves has revealed he would like to move to the Premiership, with Liverpool and Arsenal his preferred destinations.

The England midfielder has two years left on his contract in Germany but he is ready to end his stay on the continent.

"Sometimes you just know when it's time to move on and take a new step. The Premiership, in particular, is brilliant and the fans are fantastic and just to be there every week would be a dream for me,'' he told The Guardian.

"Liverpool, with a new manager, will be looking to strengthen their squad. With one or two players they could be a very talented team. The basis is already there with Stevie Gerrard and Michael Owen.

"That would be a great destination for me, and I think I would fit in really well.

"Arsenal are a wonderful team. I'd love to play for them but I just don't know if they need any new players.

"Manchester United are in a bit of a transition and Chelsea have a wad of money to spend on who they want.

"If I had carte blanche to choose I would say I'd be a good fit at Liverpool. But I also feel I'd be a good fit at Arsenal and even at Man United for that matter."

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/News/Story_Page/0,7760,836821,00.html

ItWasntMe
29-05-2004, 06:26 PM
Originally posted by xllms
check this out

http://www.tribalfootball.com/may/engnews8290504.html

AS Monaco coach Didier Deschamps is being linked with Liverpool.

The Frenchman is suddenly available to the Reds following yesterday's shock appointment by Juventus of Fabio Capello as new coach.

The Sun says Liverpool will move for Monaco manager Didier Deschamps if first-choice Rafael Benitez decides to stay at Valencia.

Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry thought a deal with Benitez was imminent after a whirlwind trip to Spain last week - but Valencia have indicated they are prepared to dig in and fight for their man.

Deschamps, who has transformed Monaco on a shoestring budget, has the added advantage of knowledge of the Premiership after his spell as a midfielder at Chelsea.

duh...i thought they wanna someone with proven track records?
so far only the valencia manager is the one which best fits the bill... 2nd followed by Martin o'neill, although the scottish premiership is crap, but celtic performed well in europe...

i prefer martin though...he has the ability to bring the best out of mediocre players...& he makes the players play for the team & one another...

then
29-05-2004, 09:17 PM
Liverpool defender Djimi Traore could be on the verge of a £1million move to Premiership new boys West Brom.

The 24-year-old Frenchman was bought from Laval for £500,000 in 1999 but has struggled to establish himself in the first team.

'Things are being held up because Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry is on holiday but we hope to get things moving soon,' Traore's agent Willie McKay said in The Sun.

'There's been interest from other clubs but we are confident Djimi will sign for West Brom.'

(http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301884&cc=5739)

-------------------------------------------

looks like all our months of cursing and swearing are finally coming to an end. heskey, gh, traore... who's next?

stalker79
29-05-2004, 09:38 PM
diouf, biscan and diao

just 3 more to go!!!:happy:

mizera
30-05-2004, 12:23 AM
Alright, we're actually selling him at a profit? Brilliant! :D

Originally posted by then
Liverpool defender Djimi Traore could be on the verge of a £1million move to Premiership new boys West Brom.

The 24-year-old Frenchman was bought from Laval for £500,000 in 1999 but has struggled to establish himself in the first team.

'Things are being held up because Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry is on holiday but we hope to get things moving soon,' Traore's agent Willie McKay said in The Sun.

'There's been interest from other clubs but we are confident Djimi will sign for West Brom.'

(http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=301884&cc=5739)

-------------------------------------------

looks like all our months of cursing and swearing are finally coming to an end. heskey, gh, traore... who's next?

spinelli
30-05-2004, 01:15 AM

wtf are ta talking about?non pool fans kindly refrain from ****ting in this thread.well,of cos,ya might argue this is an open forum,fine with me

secondly,i can see ya point,but tell ya something in case ya really dunno how football works.even in a company,there are still certain ppl who form the spine of the company.try getting a whole new team,with non-englisg staff,and employ all "top-class" staff and we will see who have the last laugh.beside abilities,passion is impt wherever ya are in the world.

hueman
01-06-2004, 09:58 AM
no posting in this thread for more than 30hrs... weird...

say something guys!

Virus
01-06-2004, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by hueman

say something guys!
We are all anticipating the announcement of our new manager hehe.

Winevil
01-06-2004, 10:56 AM

say something guys!

imagine while waiting for the annoucement, there is a drumroll... Gosh 30 hours of drumroll:laugh: and still drumrolling...

Winevil

jan175
01-06-2004, 11:45 AM

say something guys!

yeah manz...no news last 2 days..the wait is killing me...

heygal
01-06-2004, 12:01 PM
Originally posted by jan175

yeah manz...no news last 2 days..the wait is killing me...

better annouce this week or so , if not have to wait after euro cup i think. sianz

jan175
01-06-2004, 12:57 PM
Football365's End of Season Awards
Wednesday May 26 2004
By Pete Gill

http://www.football365.com/features/f365_features/story_111382.shtml

There was only one real contender for Moment of the Season (Monkey Attacks Horse) but see who makes our Disappointing XI, who are our Flop, Villain and Bargains of the Season. And lots more...

Moment Of The Season
Winner: The apeman jumping on the horse at Old Trafford. Appalling but also appallingly funny.
Runner-Up: Gary Neville's dive against Man Citeh in the FA Cup, followed by tantrum complete with fist-pounding and head-butt. Just tremendous.

Most Memorable Celebration of the Season
Winner: Jose Mourinho sprinting down the Old Trafford touchline as Porto's last-minute equaliser knocked ManYoo out of the Champions League. That's the thing about mind games - you can only win them if your team wins.
Runner-Up: At Tottenham on April 25. Amid scenes of bedlam in the stands, there were cartwheels by one player while another injured himself - to the extent that he had to miss the next match - as he expressed his unrestrained joy by taking on an unassuming advertising hoarding. Surprisingly, the scenes were a tribute to a Tottenham equaliser when only a win would have prevented their arch rivals Arsenal claiming the Premiership title one and a half minutes later at White Hart Lane. What a club.

The Ten Biggest Stories Of 2003/04
Fergie v Magnier.
The Arsenal shove-fest at Old Trafford.
The England players' threatened strike.
Rio Ferdinand's failed drug test.
Becks in Spain (and all that entailed).
The Leicester three.
The Roasters.
Leeds going down and almost going under.
Claudio Ranieri's future at Chelsea.
Arsenal's unbeaten run.

Penalty Miss of the Season
Winner: David Beckham's penalty v Turkey. Too much time with Jonny Wilkinson, David?
Runner-Up: Take your pick from any Michael Owen pass-back.

Most Important Penalty Miss of the Season
Winner: Ruud van Nistelrooy's 91st-minute penalty v Arsenal, 21 September 2003. How different the season may have been if it was three inches lower.
Runner-Up: Alan Shearer v Wolves, 9 May 2004. If successful, a win at either Southampton or Liverpool would then have put Newcastle in the Champions League.

Worst Goalkeeping Blunder of the Season
Winner: Leicester’s Ian Walker v Bolton, 10 February 2004. He's got it. Erm, no he hasn't actually.
Runner-Up: Chelsea's Carlo Cudicini v Arsenal, 18 October 2003.

Comeback of the Season
Winner: West Brom, 3-0 down at West Ham in the first-half, down to ten men...and eventual 4-3 winners, 10 November 2003.
Runner-Up: Man City, 3-0 down at Tottenham at half-time, down to ten men...and eventual 4-3 winners, 4 February 2004.

Match of the Season
Winner: Everton 3 Manchester United 4, February 7 2004.
Runner-Up: Inter Milan 1 Arsenal 5, 25 November 2003.

Goal of the Season
Winner: Thierry Henry v Liverpool, April 9. There's no runner-up because, taking into account its importance as well as his brilliance, nothing else came close.

'The Ship, Ship Hooray' Award for Headlines of the Season
Winner: 'Tosser Smith Arrested'
Runner-Up: 'United Have An Itchy Butt'

The Massive Man Citeh Quotes of the Season
Winner: "I didn't realise what position City were in" - David James explains why he joined the club in January.
Runner-Up: "Robbie was so hammered that when staff sprinkled salt on the back of his hand for a tequila, he snorted it straight up his nose!" – 'An onlooker', as quoted by the News of the World, describes the nocturnal habits of Robbie Fowler

Disappointment of the Season
Winner: Chelsea. Roman's billions failed to win a trophy - even being crowned 'Disappointment of the Season in F365's end-of-season awards doesn't earn silverware - and his millionaires produced some uninspiring low-rent football.
Runner-Up: Newcastle. Failed to progress past qualifying round for the Champions League, failed to make the UEFA Cup their first trophy in 40 years, failed to take the fight for final Champions League spot to the last day of the season. Considering that Gerard Houllier lost his job despite taking fourth, Sir Bobby should count himself fortunate.
Runner-Up to the runner-up: Man Citeh. What happened to that top-six challenge, Keggy?

Disappointing XI of the Season
David Seaman; Glen Johnson, Wes Brown, John O'Shea, Greame Le Saux, Brett Emerton, Gaizka Mendieta, Joe Cole, Steve McManaman, Adrian Mutu, Helder Postiga.

Deserved Better XI of the Season
Antti Nemi; Hermann Hreidarsson, JLloyd Samuel, Jon Woodgate, Kenny Cunningham; Shaun Wright-Philips, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Luis Boa Morte, Alan Smith, Paul Dickov.

Unlikeliest Event of the Season
Winner: Tony Adams, Paul Merson and Dennis Wise all ending it as managers.
Runner-Up: Arsenal completing a 38-match season unbeaten.

Laziest Player of the Season
Winner: Laurent Robert, Newcastle.
Runner-Up: Carlton Cole, Charlton.

Worst Fashion Trend of the Season
The increasing use of hairbands/alice bands by Premiership footballers. Considering the size of their wages, you would have thought that Crespo, Campo and chums could have afforded a mirror.

The Gary Neville Award For Worst Dive of the Season
Winner: Chelsea's Claude Makelele v Marseille.
Runner-Up: ManYoo's Paul Scholes v Chelsea (even he admitted it was rubbish)

Worst Memory of the Season
Winner: Rio Ferdinand. Too busy filling shopping bags to fill a sample bottle.
Runner-Up: Daily Telegraph hack Henry Winter. Just eight months from 'The face of the beautiful game was ravaged with scars and tears yesterday… Arsenal may have worn yellow yesterday but they were tainted with red’ to 'Arsenal give beautiful game new meaning...Arsene Wenger's men have matured into deservedly the best team in the land as well as the most beautiful....Class acts in a class of their own'
Runner-up to the runner-up: Even if none of them ever made it as far as court, the number of front page stories involving Premiership footballers in sex cases still put football's reputation in the dock.

Most Improved Player of the Season
Winner: Kevin Davies, Bolton.
Runner-Up: Frank Lampard, Chelsea

Most Improved XI of the Season
Arsenal's goalkeeper; Ulises de la Cruz, Kolo Toure, Kenny Cunningham, JLloyd Samuel/Olivier Bernard; Shaun Wright-Phillips, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, Edu, Kevin Davies, Juan-Pablo Angel

The Dennis Bergkamp Award for Pass of the Season
Winner: Steven Gerrard, for Liverpool v Newcastle, 15 May 2004.
Runner-Up: Thierry Henry, for Arsenal at Middlesbrough, 24 August 2003.

Dennis Bergkamp's Best Three Passes of the Season
v Fulham at Highbury For Freddie Ljungberg, 30 November 2003.
v Chelsea at Stamford Bridge for Patrick Vieira, 21 February 2004.
v Leicester at Highbury for Patrick Vieira, 15 May 2004.

Worst Strike of the Season
Winner: England players, led by Citizen Neville, ahead of the critical Euro 2004 qualifier in Turkey.
Runner-Up: Jeff Whitley's penalty, 'for' Sunderland v Crystal Palace in the Division One play off semi-final shoot-out.

Inevitability of the Season
Winner: Jesper Gronkjaer overhitting a cross. Jesper Gronkjaer being subsituted.
Runner-Up: Cristiano Ronaldo attempting a step-over.

Revelation of the Season
Winner: Kolo Toure. His switch to centre-half, the brainchild of a "sleepless night" for Arsene Wenger during pre-season was the difference between Arsenal finishing the season unbeaten and blowing the league last season. Discuss.
Runner-Up: Philip Neville. A limited player who excelled when given a limited role in midfield.

Bargain of the Season
£1,250,000 for John Stead. Spending over a million on a Third Division player is definitely an eyebrow-raising risk. It looks quite clever, however, when he then scores the goals that keep the club in the Premiership.

Dubious Bargain of the Season
Alexei Smertin of 'Portsmouth'. Signed for Chelsea on 25 August for £3.5m - within 48 hours the Russia captain had joined Portsmouth on a season-long loan. It stunk.

Loanee of the Season
Winner: Mikael Forssell, scorer of twenty goals in a side befit of creativity. He should have fitted in well at Chelski, then. Unfortunately for Chelsea, though, their best striker was playing for Birmingham last season.
Runner-Up: Jermaine Pennant. A rare bright spark in the Elland Road gloom.

Worst Loanee of the Season
Francis Jeffers. Two years ago, he was supposedly the answer to Arsenal's striker shortage. In August he headed back to his native Merseyside proclaiming a second coming. Ten months and one league goal later, he's not wanted at either Arsenal or Everton and is staring into a footballing abyss.

Fatty of the Season
Winner: Jardel, Bolton. Those jokes about him being unable to run weren't actually jokes.
Runner-Up: Robbie Fowler, Man Citeh. And in any other year, this would have been a clear win for Robbie.

Villain of the Season
Winner: Rob Styles. Never before has one referee produced such bafflement and loathing.
Runner-Up: Peter Kenyon. Being booed by both the ManYoo and Chelsea fans at Old Trafford three weeks ago was a remarkable achievement.

Worst Selection of the Season
Winner: Jeremie Aliadiere for Arsenal in the FA Cup semi-final. Having played 45 minutes previously in 2004 before rupturing his knee ligaments, the youngster was given two reserve outings before pitched into to the FA Cup semi-final against ManYoo. Unfit, unprepared and thus unable, he was replaced after an anonymous 60 minutes with the Treble dream over.
Runner-Up: The three substitutions made by Claudio Ranieri in Chelsea's first-leg Champions League semi-final on the night that the Tinkerman became the Demolition man.

Most Overpaid of the Season
Winner: Peter Reid. Sacked by Leeds with the team bottom of the table after a 6-1 thrashing, Reid augmented his £1.6m pay-off from Sunderland with another £800,000 from the empty Elland Road coffers.
Runner-Up: Winston Bogarde. But as of this month, he'll no longer be picking up those £40,000-a-week wages for training with the youth team five mornings a week. The poor soul.

Flop of the Season
Winner: Kleberson. He won the World Cup, you know.
Runner-Up: And so did Roque Junior. Sadly that wasn't evident either in the five Premiership appearances which Leeds lost to a cumulative scoreline of 22-2 before he left Yorkshire with a £1.2m pay-off to augment his £250,000 wages.

Most Ill-Advised Resting Place For Footballers of the Season
Winner: The Grosvenor House Hotel, London.
Runner-Up: La Manga, Spain.

Romantic of the Season
Winner: David Beckham.
Runner-Up: Sky News' Kay Burley. Her excitement at hearing the Beckham revelations was better than the Rebecca Loos interview itself.

Word of the Season
Winner: 'Roasting'.
Runner-Up: 'Tinkering'.

Least Believable 'Exclusive' Story of the Season
Winner: 'Leeds Alan Smith is dating Dido' - The News of the World.
Runner-Up: 'David O'Leary is heading back to Leeds United' - The Daily Mirror.

BurnLives
01-06-2004, 02:21 PM
Some little updates from teamtalk

Liverpool close in on new manager

http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/21712.jpg

Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry has revealed the club will make an announcement about their new manager in a fortnight.

Parry, on holiday in the Bahamas and not due back until the weekend, said: "There will be an announcement about our new manager in two weeks,"

And that would mean an appointment coinciding with the start of Euro 2004.

Parry added: "Further to that I do not wish to comment on the speculation that is going on at the moment about the position."

The Anfield chief claimed in a radio interview at the weekend the decision on Gerard Houllier's replacement may not be made until mid to late June.

But it would seem Liverpool are closer to sealing a deal than that, which suggests Rafael Benitez may be reviewing his position at Valencia.

The Spaniard is believed to be Liverpool's number one target, but the new Spanish champions are fighting hard to keep him.

A new long-term contract offer has been made and there have been further talks this weekend between Valencia director Manual Llorente and Benitez's agent.

Benitez may well make his decision after Sunday's shareholders' meeting which will decide on next season's transfer budget.
Choose another story...Mourinho in the frame as Chelsea end Ranieri reignTerriers promoted after penalty dramaEngland troops in top shape - ErikssonUnited urged to 'hurry up' over HeinzeNewcastle plan to keep hold of trioJames confident of Euro 2004 successZenden set for second loanBlues closing in on Gray and IzzetBoro play waiting game for new facesBaggies boss set to pen rolling contract

yancm2
01-06-2004, 11:32 PM
Rafa Benitez has turned down Valencia's offer to stay as Valencia's coach and will be leaving the La Liga Champions. He is poised to join LFC.

Lets keep out fingers crossed for the next fortnight when Rick Parry announces the new manager.

There's a chance he may bring with him Ayala and Aimar if he really is named the new LFC manager.

:rolleyes: :bounce:

CanIsayNo
02-06-2004, 12:40 AM
would liverpool be able to afford ayala and aimar even if they are interested to move?

yancm2
02-06-2004, 12:55 AM
Originally posted by CanIsayNo
would liverpool be able to afford ayala and aimar even if they are interested to move?

Well who knows. Valencia is in debt. They may be forced to sell them at a bargain if both players want away.

:)

orca_sea
02-06-2004, 01:24 AM
Originally posted by yancm2
Rafa Benitez has turned down Valencia's offer to stay as Valencia's coach and will be leaving the La Liga Champions. He is poised to join LFC.

Lets keep out fingers crossed for the next fortnight when Rick Parry announces the new manager.

There's a chance he may bring with him Ayala and Aimar if he really is named the new LFC manager.

:rolleyes: :bounce:

Question.. can he speak English?? :confused:

mizera
02-06-2004, 01:27 AM
Originally posted by orca_sea

Question.. can he speak English?? :confused:

yes, he speaks english.

ItWasntMe
02-06-2004, 02:09 AM
Carra's flatulence blamed for Liverpool dressing room split
tribalfootball.com - June 1, 2004

Jamie Carragher's flatulence has been blamed for Liverpool's poor team spirit last season.
Striker Michael Owen told the Mirror: "There's lots of different cultures at Liverpool these days and not everyone finds the things Jamie does so funny. His flatulence, for instance. A few of us laugh, but a few of the foreign players will just... well, growl."

A club insider added: "The Jamie thing shows the divide in the club perfectly. Whenever Jamie lets off all the British lads have a laugh about it - but not the people from France and Africa. They think it is crude and childish. Having Jamie let rip all the time did not help team spirit."

http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englsnews8010604.html

stalker79
02-06-2004, 05:31 PM
still waiting for the appointment of LFC new manager....
anyone bought the new home jersey from queensway yet?
how much?

___jeff
02-06-2004, 08:49 PM
i saw 1 at penisula BS , there is 1 at $80+ and 1 at $109. i dunnoe why there are 2 prices

BurnLives
02-06-2004, 09:52 PM
Originally posted by yancm2

Well who knows. Valencia is in debt. They may be forced to sell them at a bargain if both players want away.

:)

That would be great !! I just hope that Rick Parry does not offer Kenny Dalglish the post , not that I'm biased against Kenny but I would really prefer Rafael Benitez as he got much more experience.

Its time that Liverpool board really get their heads thinking,... Seriously..

Yod8
03-06-2004, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by ___jeff
i saw 1 at penisula BS , there is 1 at $80+ and 1 at $109. i dunnoe why there are 2 prices

eh by the way i saw the new Liverpool Jersey at World Of Sports selling at around 70 or 70+ forget already but remember it's quite cheap ..

Yod8
03-06-2004, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by BurnLives

That would be great !! I just hope that Rick Parry does not offer Kenny Dalglish the post , not that I'm biased against Kenny but I would really prefer Rafael Benitez as he got much more experience.

hmm maybe there will be a influx of spanish players if/after Benitez is appointed

heygal
03-06-2004, 04:11 PM
dont think we can afford too many spanish if any wana come over, unlike french team , they cost too much. but i think one spanish player will be enough , Joaquin!!!!

___jeff
03-06-2004, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by Yod8

eh by the way i saw the new Liverpool Jersey at World Of Sports selling at around 70 or 70+ forget already but remember it's quite cheap ..

i know why , because they are having great singapore sale

spinelli
03-06-2004, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by heygal
dont think we can afford too many spanish if any wana come over, unlike french team , they cost too much. but i think one spanish player will be enough , Joaquin!!!!

he's the one i praying all along for!!plus one more thomas rosicky!!power!!

spinelli
03-06-2004, 07:52 PM
hopefully next season team goes like this :laugh:

owen ciise

kewell gerrard/hamann rosicky smicer/joaquin

riise hypia henchoz/ayala carra/finan

kirkland

Yod8
03-06-2004, 08:02 PM
Originally posted by ___jeff

i know why , because they are having great singapore sale

yeah precisely .. so best option is to buy from WorldOfSports

Aozora
04-06-2004, 12:56 AM

well the board did put some effort into thinking when they booted out GH. =p

spinelli
04-06-2004, 06:40 PM
RAFAEL BENITEZ made an emotional departure from Valencia yesterday to become the new manager of Liverpool.

And the Spanish coach's first signing when he arrives on Merseyside in two weeks will be his former club's goalkeeper Santiago Canizares on a free transfer.

Benitez yesterday invoked a clause in his contract which allows him to leave Valencia after just 15 days' notice, and when that obligation is fulfilled, he will be free to join the Anfield club on a five-year deal worth around £35,000 a week.

His departure from the Spanish champions was clearly a difficult moment for the 44-year-old, who broke down in tears as he announced he would not be signing a new two-year extension to his current deal.

Benitez agreed to join Liverpool more than a week ago, shaking hands with Anfield chairman David Moores on a five-year contract. A tearful Benitez said yesterday: "This is possibly one of the most difficult decisions I've had to make in my sporting life. I am not going to continue.

"The efforts of last season and the physical and psychological effects have made me consider my future.

"I want to thank everyone, the players, the employees and especially the fans for their support."

Benitez then broke down, and had to leave the press conference. It was later discovered the words he was too upset to read were: "I have two daughters, one is a Valencia fan and Valencia will always be in my heart."

The man who steered the club to two Spanish titles in three years will be far less emotional, though, when it comes to business. Canizares, widely regarded as the best keeper in Spain, is on a free transfer this summer and Benitez is determined to snap him up.
Chris Kirkland will be safe despite the arrival of the 33-year-old Spanish keeper who will provide Champions League experience after twice appearing in the final.

But Jerzy Dudek will be offered for sale, with Benitez keen to recoup some cash on the Poland international, to pursue more transfer targets.

Benitez could also return to his former club to make bids for Argentine duo Pablo Aimar and Roberto Ayala, with the Spanish champions forced to sell to reduce a £70million debt.

The loss of Benitez was felt hard at the Mestalla Stadium yesterday, with club skipper David Albelda admitting that Liverpool have got a top class coach.

"Benitez will be remembered for all the titles and medals he won," he said.

"His name will go down in gold letters."

heygal
04-06-2004, 07:03 PM
Just some link to Djibril Cisse clips ----- http://ajauxerre.free.fr/

and his offical site http://www.djib-cisse.com/

xllms
05-06-2004, 02:38 AM

owen ciise

kirkland

i hope liverpool does not lose hamann...if possible adopt a 5 midfielders game...tats when gerrard will be most dangerous

xllms

niv15
06-06-2004, 04:19 PM

owen ciise

kirkland

Joaquin will be a dream come true. Maybe a realistic player could be Andy Van der Meyde on the right. We need another centre back to cover H & H; maybe Mexes (Auxerre) or Metzelder(B.Dortmund). Lastly for Central Mid, Ballack or Rosicky would excellent choices along Gerrard.

jan175
06-06-2004, 04:37 PM
Personally, I feel as long as the new manager can gel the team to play well, who is in the team is not important. It is after all a team sport. Of course, some high calibre players would be good, but if they come and don't gel with the rest or play below standards like before, then it's no use too.

CanIsayNo
06-06-2004, 06:09 PM
Where did the news of benitez joining liverpool come from?

Yod8
06-06-2004, 06:12 PM
Originally posted by niv15

Joaquin will be a dream come true. Maybe a realistic player could be Andy Van der Meyde on the right. We need another centre back to cover H & H; maybe Mexes (Auxerre) or Metzelder(B.Dortmund). Lastly for Central Mid, Ballack or Rosicky would excellent choices along Gerrard.

i think we need more English players :) ..

heygal
07-06-2004, 01:22 AM

i think we need more English players :) ..

english players are ex man. not value for $$ . most are overated anyway. Best is to get them out of our own youth acedamy , dosent cost a cent, but it is always easier said than done.

spinelli
07-06-2004, 08:41 AM
i agree we need english players...but i think with owen,gerrard and carra,i feel we have enuff of a backbone anyway

hueman
07-06-2004, 10:03 AM
[...snipped...]
Chang Beer has a distinctive green elephant on its label. 'Chang' is the Thai word for elephant.

Thanit said Chang Beer remained interested in becoming the shirt sponsor for Everton's neighbours Liverpool, whose kit bears the logo of Danish brewer Carlsberg.

Thailand's billionaire Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra has bid for a stake in Liverpool, and Thanit said last month that any kit sponsorship deal with Chang would depend on the success of the offer.

source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=302439&cc=4716

i think it'll take me quite sometime to see "CHANG" on the Lpool jersey. I dun mind "TIGER" tho. :-)

Mr_Valentino
07-06-2004, 02:23 PM
English Player?

I hear good things about young John Wesh.
Position: Midfielder
Date of Birth: 10/01/1984

He's the captain of Liverpool Reserves. I think he should given a crack at the 1st team.

hueman
07-06-2004, 02:47 PM
he hasn't been impressive in his few senior appearances. hopefully he can prove his reputation this season.

Originally posted by Mr_Valentino
English Player?

I hear good things about young John Wesh.
Position: Midfielder
Date of Birth: 10/01/1984

He's the captain of Liverpool Reserves. I think he should given a crack at the 1st team.

BurnLives
07-06-2004, 04:51 PM
Some more updates from TeamTalk.

DAILY STAR

Rafael Benitez will finalise contract details with Liverpool today before being unveiled as Gerard Houllier's successor in the next 48 hours.

DAILY EXPRESS

Rafael Benitez will finalise talks with Liverpool before being unveiled as Gerard Houllier's successor.

DAILY MAIL

Rafael Benitez will officially take control of Liverpool in the next 48 hours, despite doubts about how much money he will be given to sign players.

Didjerama
07-06-2004, 04:59 PM
i hope to see pablo aimar..the most complete midfielder in the world

CanIsayNo
07-06-2004, 05:40 PM
Why doesn't soccernet have any reports of benitez joining liverpool?

hueman
07-06-2004, 07:23 PM
dun believe anything until it is annouced in http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/ or http://liverpoolfc.tv

Why doesn't soccernet have any reports of benitez joining liverpool?

jan175
07-06-2004, 10:05 PM
he hasn't been impressive in his few senior appearances. hopefully he can prove his reputation this season.

has he played in the first team this season?

hueman
08-06-2004, 12:38 AM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/team/squad/welsh/moreinfo.htm

JOHN WELSH

Captain of Liverpool Reserves, John Welsh is an outstanding young prospect who has been training with the first team squad at Melwood since midway through the 2001/02 season, and is hoping for the first team break he craves.

A boyhood Liverpudlian who hails from Childwall Welsh has been at the club since the age of 10 and has made steady progress through the ranks.

A current England under-21 international Welsh was a pivotal figure in the Liverpool under-19s title triumph in 2000.

His style of play in the centre of midfield as drew comparisons with that of Steven Gerrard and the club have high hopes that he can follow in his footsteps.

After being named among the substitutes for a number of European games Welsh was finally called up to make his first team debut as a second half replacement for Vladimir Smicer in a Worthington Cup fourth round tie at home to Ipswich.

Welsh made his Premiership debut for the Reds as a substitute in the 2-1 Anfield defeat by Arsenal but made just one more appearance for the first team in 2003/04, despite Gerard Houllier insisting he would play at least 15 games.

has he played in the first team this season?

jan175
08-06-2004, 12:49 AM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/team/squad/welsh/moreinfo.htm

JOHN WELSH

Captain of Liverpool Reserves, John Welsh is an outstanding young prospect who has been training with the first team squad at Melwood since midway through the 2001/02 season, and is hoping for the first team break he craves.

A boyhood Liverpudlian who hails from Childwall Welsh has been at the club since the age of 10 and has made steady progress through the ranks.

A current England under-21 international Welsh was a pivotal figure in the Liverpool under-19s title triumph in 2000.

His style of play in the centre of midfield as drew comparisons with that of Steven Gerrard and the club have high hopes that he can follow in his footsteps.

After being named among the substitutes for a number of European games Welsh was finally called up to make his first team debut as a second half replacement for Vladimir Smicer in a Worthington Cup fourth round tie at home to Ipswich.

Welsh made his Premiership debut for the Reds as a substitute in the 2-1 Anfield defeat by Arsenal but made just one more appearance for the first team in 2003/04, despite Gerard Houllier insisting he would play at least 15 games.

ok, thanks. So he was in the first team twice, both times a sub. Not much opportunity given to shine too.

spinelli
08-06-2004, 08:21 AM
he's damn good,at least in my championship manager :D

jan175
08-06-2004, 05:19 PM
he's damn good,at least in my championship manager :D

in mine too. :D

RobbieFowler
09-06-2004, 01:34 AM
Can't wait for the pool to announce that benitez will be pool manager. We wont have to watch boring football anymore. :D

heygal
09-06-2004, 07:09 AM
Originally posted by Satan
Can't wait for the pool to announce that benitez will be pool manager. We wont have to watch boring football anymore. :D

wont be too long liao , its reported that benitez is in talk with parry liao according to his agent. think just need to wait a couple of days more.

BENITEZ TO OPEN REDS TALKS
BBC 08 June 2004

Rafael Benitez is poised to enter talks with Liverpool about the vacant manager's job within the next 48 hours, according to his agent.

Manuel Garcia Quilon, who represents Benitez, insisted no negotiations had so far taken place with Liverpool.

But he told BBC Sport that there would be developments "in the next few days".

Benitez, 44, is serving a notice period after quitting Valencia on 1 June and is favourite to take over at Anfield following Gerard Houllier's sacking.

Benitez has already been replaced at Valencia, by the former Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri.

Other European clubs are reportedly interested in the sought-after Spaniard, who won the Primera Liga title and Uefa Cup with Valencia this season.

But Benitez, who rejected the offer of a two-year deal at the Spanish club, is believed to want to test himself in the Premiership.

Liverpool had been waiting for chief executive Rick Parry to return from holiday to finalise details concerning the appointment of a new manager.

Now that Parry is back on Merseyside, the club are expected to make an announcement shortly on who will replace Houllier.

Benitez is also said to have the backing of Liverpool striker Michael Owen, who has long admired the Spaniard's style of play

malvindo
09-06-2004, 10:14 AM
hmmm, nice news abt Rafa!
i been skip this forum becos crazy GH!!!
so frustrated with GH
but now will hope LFC become tittle challange next few 2 years :angel:

xllms
09-06-2004, 10:38 AM
i can't wait for benitez appointment...if tat happened, EPL will be much more interesting by having some of the finest managers in the world

Arsenal - Arsene Wenger (France)
Man Utd - Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland)
Chelsea - Jose Mourinho (Portugal)
Liverpool - Rafael Benitez (Spain)
Newcastle - Sir Bobby Robson (England)
Spurs - Jacques Santini (France)
Aston Villa - David O'Leary (Rep. of Ireland)

we can expect some interesting games, and of cos, Man Utd & Chelsea will never be the same again...probably exciting things on and OFF the field...hahaha

I hope LFC signs Ferrari, Hargreaves & Eto'o & Benitez can bring out the best in the two young French players

xllms

Mr_Valentino
09-06-2004, 03:40 PM

I really hope our new manager will give more chance to youths in the academy.

We could uncover gems like St Michael or S.G.

The waiting of the announcement of our new manager is killing me. For once, this season is the new managers that are exciting, not the singing of new players.

Imagine that Arsene, Ferguson and Mourinho doing a threesome in mind games. LOL

jan175
09-06-2004, 03:44 PM

I really hope our new manager will give more chance to youths in the academy.

We could uncover gems like St Michael or S.G.

The waiting of the announcement of our new manager is killing me. For once, this season is the new managers that are exciting, not the singing of new players.

Imagine that Arsene, Ferguson and Mourinho doing a threesome in mind games. LOL

Yeah, the wait for the manager announcement is similarly killing me. But it's a good sort of wait. :) I've had to discount my mind from all the rumours floating around. Doesn't help with the already heightened anticipation.

I'm sure you made a typo there and meant 'signing'. I for one wouldnt want to hear any new players singing. ..hehe. ;)

spinelli
09-06-2004, 05:09 PM
i can't wait for benitez appointment...if tat happened, EPL will be much more interesting by having some of the finest managers in the world

Arsenal - Arsene Wenger (France)
Man Utd - Sir Alex Ferguson (Scotland)
Chelsea - Jose Mourinho (Portugal)
Liverpool - Rafael Benitez (Spain)
Newcastle - Sir Bobby Robson (England)
Spurs - Jacques Santini (France)
Aston Villa - David O'Leary (Rep. of Ireland)

we can expect some interesting games, and of cos, Man Utd & Chelsea will never be the same again...probably exciting things on and OFF the field...hahaha

I hope LFC signs Ferrari, Hargreaves & Eto'o & Benitez can bring out the best in the two young French players

xllms

i seriously dun understand how ya can place david o'leary in the same bracket as the rest :rolleyes:

Mr_Valentino
09-06-2004, 06:04 PM
I'm sure you made a typo there and meant 'signing'. I for one wouldnt want to hear any new players singing. ..hehe. ;)

I guess the waiting and the anxiety of our new manager (Benitez) is getting into me.
That why I didn’t check my spelling.

Come to think of it, I seldom check my spelling or grammar. :laugh:

jan175
09-06-2004, 06:10 PM

I guess the waiting and the anxiety of our new manager (Benitez) is getting into me.
That why I didn’t check my spelling.

Come to think of it, I seldom check my spelling or grammar. :laugh:

lol..i'm sure we all feel a sense of excited anticipation...can't wait manz, next season looks very promising ..the last 2 seasons' gloom will hopefully abate with the announcement of the new manager and the new signings...:)

what will make my life complete as a LFC supporter would be a a change of shirt sponsor to a non-alcoholic brand and a change of shirts to either Adidas or Nike. :D

Mohawks
09-06-2004, 06:27 PM
what will make my life complete as a LFC supporter would be a a change of shirt sponsor to a non-alcoholic brand and a change of shirts to either Adidas or Nike. :D
"Super 3-in-1 Coffeemix"
:laugh:

jan175
09-06-2004, 06:30 PM

"Super 3-in-1 Coffeemix"
:laugh:

lol..still wun mind!! :D

xllms
09-06-2004, 11:32 PM

i seriously dun understand how ya can place david o'leary in the same bracket as the rest :rolleyes:

guess its the way i see things, its personal maybe, but one cannot ignore the quality football o'leary brought leeds to euro champion league semi & then brought aston villa back to the level they deserved...

am sure if o'leary is given the chance, he is there to compete in the coming years...no doubt tat he is not as experience, but he has proven to be one of the better ones...time shall tell

i thought with the arrival of mourinho & benitez & santini, o'leady now faces more formidable managers in EPL...we'll see if he stand to the test

xllms

xllms
09-06-2004, 11:35 PM

lol..i'm sure we all feel a sense of excited anticipation...can't wait manz, next season looks very promising ..the last 2 seasons' gloom will hopefully abate with the announcement of the new manager and the new signings...:)

dun think LFC will change sponsor for their jersey, if i am not wrong, they have recently signed another contract w reebok till 2008...hope someone can verify this...as a LFC fan, i am sick of the lousy design from reebok!!!

xllms

hueman
10-06-2004, 12:04 AM
wat to do? leebok n umbro r u.k brands....

dun think LFC will change sponsor for their jersey, if i am not wrong, they have recently signed another contract w reebok till 2008...hope someone can verify this...as a LFC fan, i am sick of the lousy design from reebok!!!

xllms

heygal
10-06-2004, 01:01 AM
Michael Owen today spoke of his determination to re-establish himself as Europe's top striker - ahead of French ace Thierry Henry.
Owen and Henry will go head to head in Portugal on Sunday when England kick off their Euro 2004 campaign against France, and the Liverpool striker admits he has fallen behind the Arsenal star among Europe's elite.

He said: "I have got the utmost respect for Thierry Henry. He has taken striking to a new level. He has added everything to his game.

"He has very few, if any, weaknesses. I don't think there is anyone like him in the world.

"I think anyone would would rather pay to watch Henry ahead of Michael Owen at the moment. But I have got other qualities he might not have. On form, he is the best striker in the world and that puts him ahead of me.

"It comes down to results and his results have been better than mine this year. He has scored more goals and his team won the league. But I am chasing him."

very honest of him to admit he is not among the best. personally dont think he can match up to henry unless he improve his first touch tremendously and can take on players , if not hes just an above agv stirker.

RadEoNic
10-06-2004, 01:50 AM

xllms i dun like reebok too...but no choice
at least it beats having CHANGKA BEER emblazoned in front right?
:laugh: :laugh:

CanIsayNo
10-06-2004, 01:52 AM
So.. Thailand no longer gonna have a stake in LFC?

X18
10-06-2004, 11:35 AM
i think so...they got 2 seats in the board.

spinelli
10-06-2004, 01:40 PM
RUSH: I WOULDN'T SWAP STEVIE FOR ZIDANE
Paul Eaton 09 June 2004
Ian Rush says he wouldn't swap Steven Gerrard for anyone - including French star Zinedine Zidane.
Rush has been in awe of Gerrard's performances for club and country over the past year and he says he would have him in his team ahead of any other player in the world.

He said: "People will think I'm going overboard but I wouldn't swap Stevie for Zidane. That is the biggest compliment I could give Stevie. I'm not saying he is a better player at this stage than Zidane but he is still developing.

"He has made giant strides and there is more to come. Zidane has been the most complete player in Europe for the last five years but, over the past season, I'll stand by the claim that Stevie has been the better player.

"Zidane had an ineffective time of it at Real Madrid by his standards, although I have a lot of respect for all he has achieved.

"But one for one, based on what they did last season, Stevie was far more effective."

Matthew Fam
10-06-2004, 08:26 PM
Same here...... :)

I'll take Umbro anytime. The England jerseys design are getting better and better.

The latest Liverpool Home Jersey is like wearing a normal red tshirt........ No design at all. Think the designer at reebok must be a ManU fan perhaps....... :laugh:

Originally posted by RadEoNic
i dun like reebok too...but no choice

KeyserSoze
11-06-2004, 12:46 AM

what will make my life complete as a LFC supporter would be a a change of shirt sponsor to a non-alcoholic brand

eh ? Not a beer-drinking man ? Not a man ? ASk Milo to support :D imagine pubs selling milo ice now.

heygal
11-06-2004, 12:50 AM
Originally posted by Matthew Fam
Same here...... :)

I'll take Umbro anytime. The England jerseys design are getting better and better.

The latest Liverpool Home Jersey is like wearing a normal red tshirt........ No design at all. Think the designer at reebok must be a ManU fan perhaps....... :laugh:

our admin a pool fan???:D

Aozora
11-06-2004, 01:40 AM
Originally posted by RadEoNic
i dun like reebok too...but no choice

haha thats true. no changka or chang or whatever funny thai beer please. :D

Aozora
11-06-2004, 01:44 AM

lol..still wun mind!! :D

haha or maybe Milo. But somehow it'll give me the impression of it being an S-League shirt... mmm :D

hueman
11-06-2004, 10:40 AM
why must it be beer/beverage leh?

When i 1st watched lpool.. sponsors were:
Crown Paint
Candy
Carlsberg

see the trend??

CHANG is on the way!! hahahah

but i think the 1st sponsor is Hitachi... any lao jiao can verify that???

Originally posted by Aozora

haha or maybe Milo. But somehow it'll give me the impression of it being an S-League shirt... mmm :D

fatherboard
11-06-2004, 11:13 AM

i may not be LFC supporter, but i remember it's hitachi 1st sponser on their shirt.

FB.

BurnLives
11-06-2004, 11:53 AM

Crown Paint
Candy
Carlsberg

see the trend??

I only remember Crown Paint and Candy but nonetheless I'm still waiting for the announcement of the new manager.

jan175
11-06-2004, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by KeyserSoze

eh ? Not a beer-drinking man ? Not a man ? ASk Milo to support :D imagine pubs selling milo ice now.

hmm..beer's not my thing. I prefer hard liquor. :D

wouldnt mind see 'Absolut Vodka' or "Jim Beam' or Jack Daniels' on the LFC shirt...lol. ;)

but beer..beer doesnt cut it with me...heheh.

On a more serious note, the use of a alcoholic brand on the LFC shirt is likely hampering shirt sales and LFC's popularity from going up even higher in the Asia region. The reasons for this being the many cultures and religions in Asia that frown on overt promotion of alcohol.

Some of the older Pool fans in the UK might say that we haven't won a league title since the shirt was changed to Carlsberg...hmm

Yod8
12-06-2004, 03:07 PM
Originally posted by fatherboard

i may not be LFC supporter, but i remember it's hitachi 1st sponser on their shirt.

FB.

wah lao jiao ..:D

orca_sea
12-06-2004, 03:15 PM

Crown Paint
Candy
Carlsberg

see the trend??

So the recent 3 sponsor starts wif "C" then.. then "CHANG" beer qualifys to continue the trend hahahaha :D

hacktic
12-06-2004, 04:43 PM
tmr is start of euro and still NO NEWS! :alien:

Yod8
12-06-2004, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by orca_sea

So the recent 3 sponsor starts wif "C" then.. then "CHANG" beer qualifys to continue the trend hahahaha :D

chang sounds very cheap .......... :alien:

UnSiLeNzEd
13-06-2004, 12:17 PM
Liverpool fan here.....:D

jan175
13-06-2004, 12:45 PM
Originally posted by UnSiLeNzEd
Liverpool fan here.....:D

well well....helloooo there :D

Have u met our resident thread LFC admin Spinelli...he's always putting up LFC news :)

heygal
13-06-2004, 01:56 PM

well well....helloooo there :D

Have u met our resident thread LFC admin Spinelli...he's always putting up LFC news :)

y leh ?? must sign application form huh? lolz:laugh:

jan175
13-06-2004, 09:09 PM

y leh ?? must sign application form huh? lolz:laugh:

no need. FOC & FOA. :D

ItWasntMe
13-06-2004, 10:35 PM
Chelsea to hand Liverpool's Gerrard £125,000-a-week
tribalfootball.com - June 13, 2004

Chelsea will break the bank to land Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard after the European Championships.
Blues owner Roman Abramovich is turning his attentions to Gerrard after having an approach for Juventus midfielder Pavel Nedved turned down by the Czech Republic international.

Abramovich is ready to test Liverpool's resolve with a £30 million offer for the England international and is prepared to make Gerrard the highest paid player in Premiership history with a massive £125,000-a-week contract being drawn up.

http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englisnews2130604.html

stupid Roman & his money tactics...doesnt he understand sometimes money cant make the mare move?

BurnLives
13-06-2004, 10:58 PM
Originally posted by ItWasntMe
Chelsea to hand Liverpool's Gerrard £125,000-a-week
tribalfootball.com - June 13, 2004

Chelsea will break the bank to land Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard after the European Championships.
Blues owner Roman Abramovich is turning his attentions to Gerrard after having an approach for Juventus midfielder Pavel Nedved turned down by the Czech Republic international.

Abramovich is ready to test Liverpool's resolve with a £30 million offer for the England international and is prepared to make Gerrard the highest paid player in Premiership history with a massive £125,000-a-week contract being drawn up.

http://www.tribalfootball.com/june/englisnews2130604.html

stupid Roman & his money tactics...doesnt he understand sometimes money cant make the mare move?

Some more rejections from players might do the trick. Man.. I really hate this Roman guy, as if money can do everything....

heygal
14-06-2004, 12:57 AM
** if liverpool sell him at only 30million, they can 4gt about winning any cup lah . cant even keep our best player

heygal
14-06-2004, 12:59 AM
wah C.B they also censor , they really treat us like kids man. Opps i 4gt HMZ a local forum. haiz so much for freedom. pui

Aozora
14-06-2004, 01:03 AM

chang sounds very cheap .......... :alien:

erm it is cheap ma. if im not wrong, chang is cheaper than carlsberg? heee

jan175
14-06-2004, 01:07 AM

erm it is cheap ma. if im not wrong, chang is cheaper than carlsberg? heee

no no no...no Carlsberg no Chang....NO BEER!!! :alien:

Aozora
14-06-2004, 01:08 AM

Some more rejections from players might do the trick. Man.. I really hate this Roman guy, as if money can do everything....

hmm in a way we can also determine a player's loyalty to the club..whether he is the type that is just concerned about monetary gains or not.
my Chelsea fan friend doesn't fancy roman much neither. it doesn't feel like the old Chelsea with all this restructuring and changes under Roman's charge :slant:

Aozora
14-06-2004, 01:11 AM

no no no...no Carlsberg no Chang....NO BEER!!! :alien:

yes yes yes...oh I know why you put the alien face...coz I never mention your fave Singha beer...lol :D

jan175
14-06-2004, 01:17 AM

yes yes yes...oh I know why you put the alien face...coz I never mention your fave Singha beer...lol :D

:mad:

Aozora
14-06-2004, 01:39 AM

:mad:

:D don't angwee we're all Liverpool fans :D

jan175
14-06-2004, 01:42 AM

:D don't angwee we're all Liverpool fans :D

me wun be angwee as long as you dun associate me with singha beer, or any beer for the matter. ;)

SongLongZi
14-06-2004, 02:21 AM
im still waitting...

hueman
14-06-2004, 09:29 AM
frankly speaking... i'm not so concern abt england's loss to france. i'm worried abt how gerrard will take the howler mistake and not let it affect his next few performances (if he gets to play at all).

Like i've mentioned in a thread in the euro2004 forum, i feel that gerrard's intention was to ease the team's tension n messy emotion at the time he made the backpass. the grave mistake was he never really check before passing. and damn unfortunately, mr henry was loitering there.

let's hope this episode is a blessing in disguise. go stevie go!

Mohawks
14-06-2004, 11:02 AM
frankly speaking... i'm not so concern abt england's loss to france. i'm worried abt how gerrard will take the howler mistake and not let it affect his next few performances (if he gets to play at all).

Like i've mentioned in a thread in the euro2004 forum, i feel that gerrard's intention was to ease the team's tension n messy emotion at the time he made the backpass. the grave mistake was he never really check before passing. and damn unfortunately, mr henry was loitering there.

let's hope this episode is a blessing in disguise. go stevie go!
Heskey's really unnecessary tackle (from behind) is really terrible... the defenders and midfield have more or less covered Zidane's options... tackle him for what?? siao!

As for SG... sigh... he always like to do long passes back to goalie... maybe this will 'wake' him up... furthermore you are talking about a 'weird' Adidas ball that makes it very difficult for long passes (and easy to bounce oddly to hit goalie's nose :D )

and yeah... why wasn't Silvestre sent off as the last man??

oh well... England just have to win the next 2 matches...
if only Biscan't is playing for Croat... it'll be easier for England to win

stalker79
15-06-2004, 10:18 PM
Liverpool to name Benitez

Rafael Benitez is set to be unveiled as the new manager of Liverpool within days, BBC Sport understands.
The 44-year-old is favourite to replace Gerard Houllier, who was sacked in May, but is serving a notice period after quitting Valencia on 1 June.

Last week Manuel Garcia Quilon, who represents Benitez, said no talks with the Reds had so far taken place.

And, although he said there would be developments "in the next few days", there has been no news from Anfield.

Benitez has already been replaced at Valencia, by the former Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri.

Other European clubs were reportedly interested in the sought-after Spaniard, who won the Primera Liga title and Uefa Cup with Valencia this season.

But Benitez, who rejected the offer of a two-year deal at the Spanish club, is believed to want to test himself in the Premiership.

Liverpool had been waiting for chief executive Rick Parry to return from holiday to finalise details concerning the appointment of a new manager.

Now that Parry is back on Merseyside, the club are expected to make an announcement shortly on who will replace Houllier.

And Benitez is also said to have the backing of Liverpool striker Michael Owen, who has long admired the Spaniard's style of play.

Mohawks
16-06-2004, 11:08 AM
Liverpool to name Benitez

Rafael Benitez is set to be unveiled as the new manager of Liverpool within days, BBC Sport understands.
The 44-year-old is favourite to replace Gerard Houllier, who was sacked in May, but is serving a notice period after quitting Valencia on 1 June.

Last week Manuel Garcia Quilon, who represents Benitez, said no talks with the Reds had so far taken place.

And, although he said there would be developments "in the next few days", there has been no news from Anfield.

Other European clubs were reportedly interested in the sought-after Spaniard, who won the Primera Liga title and Uefa Cup with Valencia this season.

And Benitez is also said to have the backing of Liverpool striker Michael Owen, who has long admired the Spaniard's style of play.
expected.... but yeah!! nevertheless :D

mingming2
16-06-2004, 05:28 PM
Benitez expected to sign today Jun 16 2004

Exclusive By Alan Weston Daily Post Staff

RAFAEL BENITEZ was setting the seal on his move to Liverpool Football
Club
during talks in the city last night, the Daily Post can reveal.

Barring any last-minute hitches, the 44-year-old former Valencia coach
(right) is expected to be officially unveiled as Liverpool's 16th
manager
at a news conference today.

The 15 days' notice period Benitez was required to honour, when he
resigned
from his post at Valencia before he was contractually free to take a
new
job, expires today.

Benitez, who led the Spanish club to a league and UEFA Cup double, has
been
top of Liverpool's shopping list since they parted company with Gerard
Houllier at the end of last season.

Last night, he was in talks with Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry
at an
exclusive boutique hotel in the city centre. Parry refused to comment
on
developments and Benitez was being kept away from waiting journalists.

The club is expected to formally confirm the appointment on its website
today, before calling a news conference this afternoon, at which their
new
manager will answer questions about his challenge.

Liverpool will be anxious to maximise the impact of their high-profile
signing, and will not want to wait until tomorrow when England's second
Euro 2004 match against Switzerland would divert much of the attention
from
Benitez.

The Spaniard will be bolstered by yesterday's news that the involvement
of
a Thai music company appears to have put Prime Minister Thaksin
Shinawatra's £60m bid to buy into Liverpool FC firmly back on track.

Much of that money is likely to be handed to Benitez to begin the task
of
rebuilding the club into a team capable of challenging at the summit of
English and European football once again.

His immediate priorities are likely to include securing the services of
England striker Michael Owen on a new contract and trying to halt the
speculation linking Steven Gerrard with a move to Chelsea.

Benitez has already been strongly linked with bringing Valencia
goalkeeper
Jose Canizares with him to Anfield as his first signing.

The appointment of Benitez will end one of the worst-kept secrets in
football, with the club having been confident of getting its man since
before his resignation from Valencia.

It was unclear last night if he would bring his Valencia assistant,
Francisco Ayestaran, with him to Anfield, as he did when leaving
Tenerife
for Valencia.

Such an appointment could affect the future of Liverpool assistant
manager
Phil Thompson, who has not been guaranteed a job under the new manager.

Parry declared at the outset that quality and not nationality would be
the
deciding factor in the search for a new manager.

"We have to determine who is most likely to make us become challengers
again," Parry said after Houllier's departure.

"We'll think British and we'll think foreign, but we'll pick who we
think
is best."

stalker79
16-06-2004, 09:00 PM
2 more hrs to the much awaited news conference:bounce:

jan175
16-06-2004, 09:07 PM

can hardly wait. :D

on a side note, Baros played well for the Czechs last night; his MOM of the match trophy was huge!! Maybe he should bring it to the first team meeting with Benitez and dangle it trophy in front of Owen!!:D

BurnLives
16-06-2004, 09:11 PM
From team Talk

Reds call press conference to unveil new boss Benitez

Liverpool have called a news conference for 3.30pm at Anfield where they are expected to unveil Rafael Benitez as their new manager.

The Spaniard stood down as coach of Valencia after guiding the club to the Primera Liga title and the Uefa Cup last season.

He is expected to be confirmed as Liverpool's new manager on Wednesday afternoon, succeeding Gerard Houllier who was sacked last month.

Benitez had to serve a 15-day notice period following his resignation from Valencia before taking on a new job.

One of Benitez's major tasks this summer will be to persuade Michael Owen to sign a new contract and to fend off reported interest from Chelsea for captain Steven Gerrard.

He is also expected to perform a major overhaul of the Liverpool squad, which has seen the likes of Bruno Cheyrou, Salif Diao, El-Hadji Diouf, Dietmar Hamann and Vladimir Smicer linked with exits.

Mr_Valentino
16-06-2004, 09:19 PM

Know where to catch it 'live'?

leo_llw
16-06-2004, 09:33 PM

can hardly wait. :D

on a side note, Baros played well for the Czechs last night; his MOM of the match trophy was huge!! Maybe he should bring it to the first team meeting with Benitez and dangle it trophy in front of Owen!!:D
if Owen can fetch 20-30 mil, mai tu liao

BurnLives
16-06-2004, 09:53 PM

if Owen can fetch 20-30 mil, mai tu liao

Yup, If i were to be Benitez, i sure sell owen for 20- 30mil. Then sell Smicer, Diao, Diouf, Cheyrou, and possibly Hamann.

Buy Cisse (Confirmed liao)
Sign Kluivert.
Push Neil Mellor to senior squad
Retain Baros
Retain Murphy, Kewell
Retain Hyypia, Henchoz, Carragher, Finnan,

stalker79
16-06-2004, 10:03 PM

Know where to catch it 'live'? http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/

SongLongZi
16-06-2004, 10:16 PM
the wait is finally over!!!

Mohawks
16-06-2004, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by SongLongZi
the wait is finally over!!! 1 more hour :D

Okane
16-06-2004, 10:32 PM
confirm liao
yeh!!!!

stalker79
16-06-2004, 10:32 PM
Rafael Benitez has today been confirmed as the new Liverpool manager. The former Valencia manager follows Gerard Houllier into the Kop hotseat and will take charge of his first game against Celtic on July 26.
Rafael Benitez is the first Spaniard to manage Liverpool and the capture of his services is a shrewd one by the club.

There is no doubting his credentials after leading Valencia to a league and UEFA Cup double in 2004, overcoming the likes of Real Madrid and Barcelona. It was Valencia's second La Liga title in three years under Benitez.

Indeed, in his first season in charge at Valencia he led the club to their first La Liga title for 31 years and quickly became something of a legend amongst the Valencia fans.

Benitez was born in Madrid in April 1960 and during his days as a player had a spell with the mighty Real Madrid. He never played for Real though and spent most of his career in the lower leagues in Spain.

It was his coaching that made him the man he is today. He started out coaching the youngsters at Real Madrid in 1986 and was in charge of their youth team. Unhappy spells in charge of Spanish teams Valladolid and Osasuna followed before he led Second Division side Extremadura to promotion in 1997.

During the 1999/2000 season Benitez took a year out to study coaching methods in Italy and England, which certainly stood him in good stead on his return to management. He studied coaching at Manchester United and Arsenal which certainly gave him a good insight into English football.

He returned as head coach of Second Division side Tenerife in 2000 and a year later was to be the start of a fairytale success story with Valencia. His appointment as successor to Hector Cuper was met with mixed reaction and questioned by fans and pundits alike. However Benitez was to have the last laugh as Valencia won the league title.

The following season was disappointing and like Liverpool, Valencia finished fifth in the league. However they did have a good run in the Champions League and reached the quarter-finals. Liverpool fans will well remember coming up againstValencia in the Champions League and we lost twice, 2-0 at the Mestalla Stadium and 1-0 at Anfield. Many fans and pundits remarked after those games how well Valencia had played and were honest in the fact that Valencia outclassed Liverpool in both matches. Not many argued against that point.

Benitez is something of a perfectionist and is a very technical coach who uses computer technology to monitor his players' diets and physical development. He also has a degree in Physical Education.

SongLongZi
16-06-2004, 10:39 PM
exciting days ahead...!!

yancm2
16-06-2004, 10:54 PM
Woohoo !!!!!

:bounce:

silent_espy
16-06-2004, 11:02 PM
Benitez and cisse are confirmed woohoo exciting days ahead.

spinelli
16-06-2004, 11:42 PM
woo....pls dun let me high and dry...

spinelli
16-06-2004, 11:48 PM
how we need to know which players is coming...and out of cos...:D

SongLongZi
16-06-2004, 11:57 PM
cisse is comfirmed.

heygal
17-06-2004, 12:20 AM
finally

jan175
17-06-2004, 03:03 PM
Things are looking good, looking good *rubs my hands in glee* :D

Now lets see who he brings it. I'm sure there will be 2 good signings at least. :)

Mr_Valentino
17-06-2004, 03:47 PM
When Benitez arrives, he would get the shock of his life when he see Bis-can't and Diao in training.

Didjerama
17-06-2004, 04:20 PM
He should grab some of those players from valencia..pablo aimar to me is the most complete midfielder in the world..he would be a good asset..and baraja would partner well with gerrard and hamann

SongLongZi
17-06-2004, 05:09 PM
aimar and ayala will be good signing..but i hope he will sign a attacking right player..play diouf there is no go..while kewell is much better down the left..hopefully with his spainish connection he can sign some1 like betis sanches joaquin?

hueman
17-06-2004, 07:12 PM
can anyone recall who is the last spaniard (if any) to play for liverpool? think there'll be a flood of spanish players soon.

just like how GH bought in:
Traore, Pangolle, Le tallec, Cheyrou, Vignal, Luzi, Medjani, Diarra

wah... at least 8 frenchies!

not to mention thise non-playing staff.

Aimar will be cool...and I'm a great admirer of Bara"Ha".

spinelli
17-06-2004, 09:42 PM
Originally posted by SongLongZi
aimar and ayala will be good signing..but i hope he will sign a attacking right player..play diouf there is no go..while kewell is much better down the left..hopefully with his spainish connection he can sign some1 like betis sanches joaquin?

i must stress again....joaquin!!:D

stalker79
17-06-2004, 10:21 PM
dont u guys think that benitez looks like houllier?:rolleyes:

fantasy21
17-06-2004, 10:31 PM
a new coach and a new life for liverpool..."breathe".. what a wonderful world....;)

Mohawks
17-06-2004, 10:49 PM
dont u guys think that benitez looks like houllier?:rolleyes:
hahah...... i was thinking the same thing yesterday

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/reuters/20040616/15/1015485656.jpg

stalker79
17-06-2004, 10:56 PM

hahah...... i was thinking the same thing yesterday

http://eur.news1.yimg.com/eur.yimg.com/ng/sp/reuters/20040616/15/1015485656.jpg http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40189000/jpg/_40189707_houlls203.jpg

then
17-06-2004, 11:45 PM
not that alike lah.

just like all chinese looks the same to ang moh...

spinelli
18-06-2004, 12:43 AM
BENITEZ EXCITED BY REDS CHALLENGE
Steve Hunter 17 June 2004
Rafael Benitez says he is excited and proud to be leading Liverpool FC into a new era and added his main objective is to win things.
The new Liverpool manager has revealed he wants to land major prizes with Liverpool and believes everybody at the club needs to want the same thing and be heading in the right direction.

Benitez said: "We need to improve how to do the right things and I need to talk to the players and staff to know how the Premiership mentality is.

"I've noticed the players here fight and have spirit. I've spoken with my friend Steve McClaren and asked him 'how do you obtain this spirit?' He said 'we just have it' but in Spain it is different.

"I hope the players at Liverpool like us think it's possible for us to win more things, but I'm not going to say it will take one, two or three years. The most important thing is to be a team and for every player to know what they have to do on the field.

"It means a lot of hours working with and talking with players - it's what is best for the team that matters not what is best for the player.

"I didn't come here to learn English, I've come to win and I want the players to have the same mentality - if not it's impossible to play against other teams.

"I am a very, very proud man because all the coaches in Spain like to be at the best club. We know Liverpool are one of the most important clubs in the world.

"The feeling when you come here to Anfield and see all the supporters is wonderful for a foreign manager. I know the history of Liverpool Football Club. It is big, wonderful.

"I am young and I want to win a lot of matches and I want to win in the right way. I want the supporters to be proud of the team, of the manager, the players and the club. It is a dream to come to one of the best leagues in the world, one of the best teams."

Benitez says Liverpool are well known to people in Spain and says the club has an outstanding reputation.

Benitez said: "My assistant at Valencia told me when he was younger he wrote letters to Liverpool tellingthem he needed some shirts for his village team. Liverpool sent him the shirts.

"Always when we see the Premiership on TV we see Liverpool and it is wonderful. I hope to be here a long time and this is a big challenge for me."

Benitez also said decisions about his coaching staff will be finalised shortly.

man...im begining to like this guy more and more :D

spinelli
18-06-2004, 12:46 AM
not that alike lah.

true true true :laugh:

heygal
18-06-2004, 01:12 AM
not that alike lah.

aiya look like or dont look like think most of us dont care, he can look exactly like that pusyy AF for all i care, as long as he dont use the same tactic , help us to win the title, thats the most impt part. Winning is in our blood.

Virus
18-06-2004, 08:37 AM
If he can get Vicente, Aimar and Ayala from Valencia will be nice :D

spinelli
18-06-2004, 11:39 PM
one thing about bentiez is that he's a proud man,wont die die stick around if he fail...

stalker69
18-06-2004, 11:44 PM
one thing about bentiez is that he's a proud man,wont die die stick around if he fail...
wasnt that the reason y houllier stay for so long?
proud!!!!
OMG

ItWasntMe
18-06-2004, 11:56 PM
dunno if u all have been reading the news at tribalfootball.com ...
there have been a lot of news on steven gerrard considering his future at liverpool.
& the main chaser is of course Chelsea.

stalker69
19-06-2004, 12:06 AM
Liverpool have parted company with assistant manager Phil Thompson.
Thompson's exit comes following the appointment of Rafael Benitez as Liverpool's new manager after Gerard Houllier was sacked in May.

The 50-year-old became Houllier's right-hand man when the Frenchman took sole charge in November 1998.

"Following talks between Rafael Benitez and Phil it has been decided that Phil will leave the club," chief executive Rick Parry told the club's website.

Thompson has had three spells at Liverpool, having made 477 first-team appearances as a player and a stint as reserve team manager.

Parry added: "All the discussions were conducted in a totally amicable manner and Phil leaves with our very best wishes for the future.

We will obviously be sitting down now with Rafa to discuss his backroom team

Chief executive Rick Parry
"I want to thank Phil for all his hard work over the past six years as he played a major part in the successes we enjoyed during that period.

"We will obviously be sitting down now with Rafa to discuss his backroom team and will make further announcements in due course."

Thompson's departure concludes his second stint as a coach at Anfield.

After leaving the club as a player after the European Cup success of 1984 he returned as reserve team boss two years later.

He enjoyed notable success in that role but was sacked by then manager Graeme Souness in 1992.

Houllier brought him in to help motivate his team after taking sole charge of the club from Roy Evans in 1998.

Winevil
19-06-2004, 09:04 AM
Originally posted by stalker69
Liverpool have parted company with assistant manager Phil Thompson.
Thompson's exit comes following the appointment of Rafael Benitez as Liverpool's new manager after Gerard Houllier was sacked in May.

The 50-year-old became Houllier's right-hand man when the Frenchman took sole charge in November 1998.

"Following talks between Rafael Benitez and Phil it has been decided that Phil will leave the club," chief executive Rick Parry told the club's website.

Thompson has had three spells at Liverpool, having made 477 first-team appearances as a player and a stint as reserve team manager.

Parry added: "All the discussions were conducted in a totally amicable manner and Phil leaves with our very best wishes for the future.

We will obviously be sitting down now with Rafa to discuss his backroom team

Chief executive Rick Parry
"I want to thank Phil for all his hard work over the past six years as he played a major part in the successes we enjoyed during that period.

"We will obviously be sitting down now with Rafa to discuss his backroom team and will make further announcements in due course."

Thompson's departure concludes his second stint as a coach at Anfield.

After leaving the club as a player after the European Cup success of 1984 he returned as reserve team boss two years later.

He enjoyed notable success in that role but was sacked by then manager Graeme Souness in 1992.

Houllier brought him in to help motivate his team after taking sole charge of the club from Roy Evans in 1998.

why? I feel that we should keep him in the backroom to maintain the type of passion exhibits by a typical liverpool team...

Should at least let him stay to coach the reserve and youth teams....

Winevil

gerrard17
19-06-2004, 12:45 PM
sad to see thompo leaving the club.

but, on the other hand it marks the start of a exciting new era for Liverpool. something to look forward to next season

stalker69
19-06-2004, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by gerrard17
sad to see thompo leaving the club.

but, on the other hand it marks the start of a exciting new era for Liverpool. something to look forward to next season
how can u called it start of a new era when the bloody board of directors and chairman is still around!!!!
should have accepted that morgan bid for pool sake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

heygal
19-06-2004, 03:01 PM

how can u called it start of a new era when the bloody board of directors and chairman is still around!!!!
should have accepted that morgan bid for pool sake!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

morgan stake may not necessary be the best option. Its well reported that he wana have some say in the management which isnt a very good idea.

jan175
19-06-2004, 03:07 PM

morgan stake may not necessary be the best option. Its well reported that he wana have some say in the management which isnt a very good idea.

Yup. His investment proposal substantially devalued the existing LFC shares, and would had forced current shareholders to fork out more money to maintain their existing value, failing in which Morgan would stepped in and gained a huge stake at below-market rates.

Still, he's not a bad man, nor has he malicious intents. He is a LFC supporter through and through. But some quarters feel that having him on the board would split it instead of streamline the decision making process. Pros and cons.

CanIsayNo
19-06-2004, 06:37 PM
so much expectations from benitez.. but can he really deliver? i'm afraid he might not be able to meet the standards the fans demand from him, and soon people will be calling for his head

spinelli
19-06-2004, 10:52 PM
hmmm his "proud" is not quite the same as g.h.well,dunno how to describe...

SongLongZi
19-06-2004, 11:16 PM
Rafa club record is very impressive.winning 2 La Liga in 3 season is no easy. and i hope he will do the same for liverpool.

Aozora
20-06-2004, 12:26 AM
Originally posted by ItWasntMe
dunno if u all have been reading the news at tribalfootball.com ...
there have been a lot of news on steven gerrard considering his future at liverpool.
& the main chaser is of course Chelsea.

^^*&%*&%$(%) :mad: CHELSEA :mad: &*^*&^%$&$ :mad: :mad: :mad:

mizera
20-06-2004, 12:45 AM
come on...gerrard and rooney sucks, chelsea should be setting their sights on owen instead damnit, 30 mil to seal the deal, how about it?

jan175
20-06-2004, 12:47 AM

^^*&%*&%$(%) :mad: CHELSEA :mad: &*^*&^%$&$ :mad: :mad: :mad:

your ^^*&%*&%$(%) should be more like #@!!!&SH!T#@!!!* ...hehe

ItWasntMe
20-06-2004, 01:11 AM
latest news is that rafa went to portugal to have secret talks with gerrard to persuade him to stay...

tribalfootball.com

Aozora
20-06-2004, 01:49 AM

your ^^*&%*&%$(%) should be more like #@!!!&SH!T#@!!!* ...hehe

I'll only use "dammit" or "freak" lol :D
Roman sucks. Argh. Dunch take Stevie G away :(

fantasy21
20-06-2004, 03:20 AM
so much expectations from benitez.. but can he really deliver? i'm afraid he might not be able to meet the standards the fans demand from him, and soon people will be calling for his head

relax boy.,t happens everywhere in the world...

hueman
20-06-2004, 05:10 AM
Baros scored a stunning voley while Smicer scored the winner against the dutchies. If only they can repeat their feats for Liverpool.

Looks like Chelski will be eyeing for Baros in the near future!

stalker69
20-06-2004, 02:17 PM
get nedved, rosicky,aimar and ayala for the new season!!!

Mohawks
20-06-2004, 03:59 PM
Baros scored a stunning voley while Smicer scored the winner against the dutchies. If only they can repeat their feats for Liverpool.

Looks like Chelski will be eyeing for Baros in the near future!
Baros goal was just fantastic....unstoppable volley !! :eek:

jan175
20-06-2004, 04:09 PM

Baros goal was just fantastic....unstoppable volley !! :eek:

Yeah man!! Plus Smicer also played quite well, culminating in one good shot saved superably by Van der Sar, and a simple tap-in goal. Made the wait and the sacrifice to stay up to watch totally worth it. :)

I can't wait for the new season to start. A CisseBaros partnership will terrorise most defences..:cool:

spinelli
20-06-2004, 05:46 PM

two thumps up!!!

ItWasntMe
20-06-2004, 06:14 PM
im more concerned about the prospects of losing steven gerrard.
but if the reports are true, we have a capable replacement in john welsh. lets hope S.G. gives liverpool another chance under rafa.

SongLongZi
20-06-2004, 07:18 PM

2nd that!

Mohawks
21-06-2004, 10:59 AM
Straitstimes zhun bo?????

$98M GERRARD FOR CHELSEA

ENGLAND midfielder Steven Gerrard will quit Liverpool for Chelsea in a British record £31-million (S$98.3-million) deal after Euro 2004.

He is going to activate a release agreement he has with chief executive Rick Parry and ask to join Roman Abramovich's super-rich club on a £35-million contract.

Liverpool may take Scott Parker in a player-plus-cash swop deal, reported The Sunday Mirror.

X18
21-06-2004, 11:20 AM
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mohawks
21-06-2004, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by X18
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i think it's another rumour.... coz it's not in Soccernet or other more reliable websites..

anyway in Portugal, agents are not allowed to meet with the players... Eriksson only allow Rafa to meet SG, MO, and JC

Mr_Valentino
21-06-2004, 01:23 PM
There no smoke without a fire and so there's probably some truth to the rumours.

jan175
21-06-2004, 03:33 PM
Straitstimes zhun bo?????

$98M GERRARD FOR CHELSEA

ENGLAND midfielder Steven Gerrard will quit Liverpool for Chelsea in a British record £31-million (S$98.3-million) deal after Euro 2004.

He is going to activate a release agreement he has with chief executive Rick Parry and ask to join Roman Abramovich's super-rich club on a £35-million contract.

Liverpool may take Scott Parker in a player-plus-cash swop deal, reported The Sunday Mirror.

There no smoke without a fire and so there's probably some truth to the rumours.

The article on Gerrard leaving was only reported in one paper in the UK. A lot of (unfounded) transfer rumours are generated by the papers to keep their readers interested and buying.

My bro (who is also a LFC supporter) and I are worried, but we believe Gerrard will give Beneitez a chance. Right now, we don't read too much into any transfer rumours until the ink is dry and he shows up in beside Mourinho holding a Chelsea jersey.

Mr Valentino, the fire is usu started by the tabloids..hehe.

BurnLives
21-06-2004, 03:55 PM
Speaking on Gerrard's stand point, Even if he want to leave, he should join man u instead of chelsea, chelsea is nothing but a real madrid wannabe. everything about money, and its plain stupidity if he should leave right after Benitez's appointment. At least bare min he should give Benitez a year or two. but nonetheless the money gerrard can fetch, Benitez would definitely make good use of it and it would be very interesting indeed to see chelsea falling behind the packs of Arsenal, Man U and of cos LIVERPOOL !!!!!! , will crush Chelsea at both Stamford Bridge and Anfield.

jan175
21-06-2004, 04:06 PM
Speaking on Gerrard's stand point, Even if he want to leave, he should join man u instead of chelsea, chelsea is nothing but a real madrid wannabe. everything about money, and its plain stupidity if he should leave right after Benitez's appointment. At least bare min he should give Benitez a year or two. but nonetheless the money gerrard can fetch, Benitez would definitely make good use of it and it would be very interesting indeed to see chelsea falling behind the packs of Arsenal, Man U and of cos LIVERPOOL !!!!!! , will crush Chelsea at both Stamford Bridge and Anfield.

I agree. He should give Benitez a chance. After all, Gerrard is 24 now and still has many more years in front of him. He can go abroad in 2-3 years and he will still be a year or so short of his prime.

..should he go to Man U..he will forever be villified by LFC supporters. :alien:

Mr_Valentino
21-06-2004, 04:09 PM
Mr Valentino, the fire is usu started by the tabloids..hehe.

I remember the board says even not able to qualify for CL, Howler will be staying. (Howler got boot)
After Benitez resign, he says Liverpool has not approached him.
(Benitez our new manager)

Benitez has been quoted saying "you can have the best players but not the best team. A good player can win one match but a good team can win four, five matches.
If you have a good team you can win more matches and that is what you need to win titles".

Is he refering to S.G?

Last week I felt great when Benitez finally joined us.
This week, I am freaking out.

heygal
21-06-2004, 06:27 PM
Red and White Kop 21 June 2004

I don't doubt that Chelsea want Steven Gerrard (who wouldn't?), and that they are using the media to unsettle him; I do, however, doubt that Stevie G wants to leave Liverpool Football Club.

The questionable nature of such rumours is best summed up by the first report about him leaving, which said Gerrard was unhappy that Liverpool hadn't appointed an English coach (Curbishley), so he was upping sticks... to play for Jose Mourinho! To suggest that Gerrard favoured an English manager is barmy - he's only ever played for Houllier (who he is indebted to) and Eriksson (ditto). Oh, my apologies - I'm forgetting a brief spell under Kevin Keegan's disastrous, directionless stewardship of England. So when the stories start out like that, you know there is some serious straw-clutching going on. Gerrard simply wants to play under a top manager; Benitez fits that bill. His origins matter not.

While there is never any smoke without fire, in this instance I feel it's just Peter Kenyon playing with matches like a naughty schoolboy. And before we panic, let's remember that at Chelsea Kenyon has rarely got his man: Eriksson was the first choice for manager and Wenger was also coveted, and in the last year Henry, Viera, and Walter Samuel have all turned him down. Arsenal, despite being short of cash, said no to the sale of Henry for £50m. Henry didn't want to leave either. We have to hope Gerrard feels as loved as Henry does, and as capable of challenging for honours as Arsenal are.

Gerrard's comments were made at the end of last season. He told Rick Parry he was unhappy - and rightly so (who wasn't unhappy?). Where's the news in that? Who wouldn't be hacked-off with having out-played so many of his own teammates, many of whom didn't appear to be trying? Who wouldn't have had concerns about a manager - however much he liked and respected him - whose tactics appeared confused, and who had bought too many sub-standard players in recent seasons? Gerrard was right to wonder if Houllier was past his best.

What has changed since then?

Lots - quite clearly:

- Heskey, the perennial under-achiever, has been replaced with the most coveted young striker in worldfootball. This is just the first piece of transfer activity. The club means business. It realised that the time had come to be ruthless.

- Rafael Benitez, Valencia's own King Midas, has arrived as our new manager. This is the man who spent next-to-no money in winning the best league in the world not once, but twice in the last three years. Oh, and the Uefa Cup. Now if I was Steven Gerrard, I'd be pretty damn excited about the prospect of working with him. Wouldn't you?

- The finances will be boosted with a massive investment on the horizon: money still from Thailand, but now from a better source, it seems. Of course, it's not the bottomless pit of cash that Abramovich possesses. But it's enough money, if spent wisely. After all, Cisse - 30 goals in France last season - cost the same as Chelsea are paying for a Portuguese full-back.

- Also different from last season is that Liverpool are in the Champions League (qualifier permitting).

The joke is that one newspaper described swapping Anfield for Stamford Bridge as Gerrard's "dream" move. What is there to dream about? Am I missing the point here?

At Liverpool he is the club captain. Captain of the most successful British club ever, no less: domestically, and in Europe (a team still respected and loved worldwide, unlike Chelsea). The team he supported as a boy. His roots are Liverpool Football Club. And now we're being told by journalists that he'll walk away for a big pile of money, when he already earns more than he knows what to do with. Rick Parry said it's not about the money - it's about medals. And with the top players, that is true. But excuse me - how many trophies have Chelsea won lately anyway? Haven't we won four since their last success? If Gerrard wanted to join Arsenal or Man United, I could understand that *to a degree*, as they are "proven" - they have won all the major trophies in the last five years (although no-one whose opinion should betrusted has said he wants to go anywhere ). But Chelsea? They are still just an unproven theory; it's all "what might be". They are still only an experiment - not yet a great football club.

Rafael Benitez has already proved his class over this issue. Yes, he wants Gerrard, and will do all he can to keep him (as will Parry). But he is not worried; Benitez wants to build a team, not a collection of individuals. Gerrard is the perfect central component for that team, providing he wants to play for the club. (And I still believe he does). Gerrard is part of Liverpool's cultural core, in a way he never could be in London. He is both the soul and the heartbeat of our side; not just another expensive adornment to be tossed aside if injury or poor form strikes, or the latest hot property takes their fancy. Liverpool is his home. In every possible sense.

I hope (with all my heart) that it doesn't come to having to sell him; as it will confirm Liverpool FC as a second class footballing institution for the first time in my lifetime. We've been out of the title race and in the doldrums, but we've never had to sell our best player to another English club. If Gerrard wants to leave (for argument's sake), then you can refuse to sell him, but then you have an unhappy player on your books (whose value starts to depreciate). So you sell him and make a lot of money; but you strengthen your opponents in doing so and possibly kiss goodbye the chance of ever overtaking them. Let him go, and it sends worrying signals to the other players. It says you can't compete, and perhaps lack ambition.

If Everton want to sell Wayne Rooney, then, to me at least, that makes sense. They need to rebuild an entire side, and could buy eleven £4m players to do so. Liverpool need only new direction (from Benitez) and three or four new faces at most: but top quality ones, not squad men. Liverpool need to be adding quality, not quantity. The trouble with getting £31 million (add another £40m to make it realistic, in my eyes) is that you could buy six decent players with that money, and none of them improve the first team. (See Diouf, Diao, Cheyrou, et al, when Houllier last had a large amount to invest). And the value of anyone we wanted to buy would double overnight. So while Benitez might be able to fashion a better team with the money, he would also be running the risk of merely bolstering the squad. Look at Man U: while Ronaldo might end up adequately replacing Beckham, it looked for 95% of last season as though they had bought five squad players who weren't up to the task; Ferguson couldn't play all five in Beckham's place. They added depth to the squad - but weakened the side. And Gerrard is twice the player Beckham is.

When a player like Gerrard leaves, he is irreplaceable. You won't find a replacement who is like five players rolled into one. Not only does he do the job of five people, he also works harder for the team than anyone else; he is not a fancy soloist who you might be better off without, for all his skills.

I'm still struggling with the idea that Gerrard is "dreaming" of playing for Chelsea. What does Chelsea Football Club have to offer that we don't, money aside? It is a club with no tradition, and no self-generating finance; if Abramovich got bored and walked away, then the club would implode.

What players do they have that Gerrard would dream of playing alongside? They've made a lot of expensive signings, but no Zidane, no Henry, no Ronaldinho. Would you want to swap Duff for Kewell? Not particularly. Or any of their strikers for Owen? Has any Chelsea player (or target, such as Deco) come even remotely close to playing to the level of Milan Baros during Euro2004?

Have they signed anyone as exciting as Djibril Cisse this summer? I can tell you no, they haven't. Lots of Porto players eager to leave a weak league; to me, Porto were a well-organised team who, like Millwall in the FA Cup,had the breaks which are part of doing well in cup competitions. (Monaco knocked out the better teams, for example; and then Monaco lost their best player, Guily, early in the final). Is Deco quality? Sure. But would you join a club just to play with him? No. Meanwhile Chelsea's training ground in Harlington is a disgrace. The new Anfield will easily overshadow Stamford Bridge.

So maybe it's the manager? Is Mourinho better than Benitez? I'd certainly argue that Valencia played better teams in the Spanish League (the best in the world, in most people's eyes) than Porto met on their way to the Champions League final; and a league is almost 40 games, not 13. If you win one of the big four leagues, you are a quality manager. Do it twice, like Benitez (and with no money as well), and you are proven top quality.

I hope people don't start turning on Steven Gerrard or the board over pure speculation; otherwise it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy: he leaves as he feels unwelcome, when up to then he'd wanted to stay. We should be getting behind him, and not believing any of this; nothing has been said by either him or his agent. Until it has, then we must ignore it all - as hard as it is.

I'll sum up by saying: why would he leave Liverpool at such an exciting time? The answer is: he won't. I'm not 100% sure, of course, but close enough. Gerrard is still young; just 23 when the last season ended. He said he didn't want to be 35 at Liverpool having won none of the major honours. Fair comment, in my eyes. But that's eleven years away. Surely he has to give the new man at least two years of his service? Does he not owe that to himself, the club, and the fans? He will be only 25 at the end of 2005/06. If Liverpool haven't progressed in that time, then he can leave with my (reluctant) blessing.

But not a moment before.

Mohawks
21-06-2004, 10:02 PM
Red and White Kop 21 June 2004

I don't doubt that Chelsea want ... blah blah blah...
will be only 25 at the end of 2005/06. If Liverpool haven't progressed in that time, then he can leave with my (reluctant) blessing.

But not a moment before.
excellent analysis!!!

BurnLives
21-06-2004, 10:41 PM
Heygal: Very well said and I'm impressed by it.

ItWasntMe
21-06-2004, 11:30 PM
wah... long read... can anyone summarise? eyes pain...:laugh:

hueman
22-06-2004, 12:19 AM
I too doubt Gerrard is even thinking of leaving after the appointment of Benitez. Fantastic post by "heygal". How I wish Stevie.G himself can read this. It might help him to clear his hesitation if there's any.

If he really has to go, it has to be in the Spanish or Italian league. Nowhere else. He has not finished his business in EPL, and from what I feel, he is more determined than before to succeed with Liverpool.

hueman
22-06-2004, 12:32 AM
http://www.football365.com/news/premiership_news/story_115645.shtml

Villa have offered Angel a new four-year deal worth £8m but the deal remains unsigned and talks are deadlocked.

Liverpool's new manager Rafael Benitez is a known admirer of Angel having tried to sign him last summer when he was in charge at Valencia.

Speculation is rife that Benitez could be tempted to make a bid to take Angel to Anfield.

jan175
22-06-2004, 12:39 AM
erm..heygal posted the article from The Red and White Kop website. It's written by Paul Tomkins.

http://www.redandwhitekop.com/article.php?id=499554

It's a very astutely written article. My brother brought my attention to it this evening too.

Thanks, heygal for posting it here. Think it will assuage every LFC supporter's fear of losing Gerrard. :)

mizera
23-06-2004, 01:37 AM
Try giving the proper credits when using material other than you own, ;)

But I really agree 100% with the article, except for the Cisse part, cause he's still a relatively unknown figure to me.

heygal
23-06-2004, 12:19 PM
Try giving the proper credits when using material other than you own, ;)

But I really agree 100% with the article, except for the Cisse part, cause he's still a relatively unknown figure to me.

din u see i put the red and white kop june 21 on top of the post??? if u are ignorant about the source doesnt mean u have the right to accuse me dude.

jan175
23-06-2004, 12:22 PM

din u see i put the red and white kop june 21 on top of the post??? if u are ignorant about the source doesnt mean u have the right to accuse me dude.

She did post the source at the topc, but most people missed it I guessed.

Think it was also more of some of the other posters overlooking the source and thinking that it was heygal's own writing that led to this too.

Peace, we are all LFC supporters here. YNWA.

hueman
23-06-2004, 01:46 PM
i think to play safe... put the url instead. no arguments. :)

btw, is heygal a 'she' or a 'he'?

She did post the source at the topc, but most people missed it I guessed.

Think it was also more of some of the other posters overlooking the source and thinking that it was heygal's own writing that led to this too.

Peace, we are all LFC supporters here. YNWA.

spinelli
23-06-2004, 04:58 PM
for shankly's sake lets not fight among our ourselves...this is not like the arsenal thread okay?peace all.anyone who attempt to contribute anything should be greatly appreciated by us,kopites

mizera
23-06-2004, 07:12 PM
I'm going for Aimar, what about you guys.

mizera
23-06-2004, 07:35 PM

Sorry, but you're the one who's ignorant.
The article was written by Paul Tomkins, who happens to be a contributor in the Red and White Kop website, so please give credits to him accordingly.

It's just like this post, without stating clearly who posted the thread, it can be taken as Hardwarezone accused you of being ignorant, when in actual fact it's a member in Hardwarezone forums aka mizera who accused you of being so.

Do you understand the difference?

stalker69
23-06-2004, 07:36 PM
I'm going for Aimar, what about you guys. aimar,rosicky,ayala and nedved

BurnLives
24-06-2004, 01:09 AM
Aimar, Ayala and Kluivert.

AhnNakata7
24-06-2004, 08:06 AM
aimar,rosicky,ayala

aaa
OT: i tot mexes says he will come to lfc if lfc quafiy for champs league?
( i heard wrongly?)

mizera
24-06-2004, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by AhnNakata7
aimar,rosicky,ayala

aaa
OT: i tot mexes says he will come to lfc if lfc quafiy for champs league?
( i heard wrongly?)

No idea man, "misquoted"?
Come on aimar, Liverpool welcomes you with open arms, =p

jan175
24-06-2004, 02:07 PM
I'm personally quite against believing or spreading rumours, because most of them are baseless and usually started by the tabloids.

But there have been strong persistent talk/rumours of Gerrard going for the last couple of days. The Teamtalk.com LFC Your Say page has a whole lot of Liverpool based supporters, some with inside info. 2 posters who had previously given info that GH was going long before he went, posted yesterday that it was a fact that Gerrard is going.

I post their words here.

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/Interactive/Your_Say/0,1558,25,00.html

John (Liverpool)
"Just heard today from a reputable source at Liverpool Football Club that Gerrard is almost certain to leave for Chelsea for £40m (£30 plus player). He is good, but not that good. Just a pity that a Scouser is showing no loyalty to the club, he will never be able to show his face in Merseyside again. This will be the biggest mistake of his career and one he will ultimatley live to regret. The same source told me 3 weeks before Hollier went that he was going, so be prepared that this is reality. "

L-news (Liverpool)
"Sorry guys, I really don't know how to tell you this, but I better just come out and say, even though I'll look like a fool doing so. I've said that it's 99% certain that Gerrard will be here next term, but actually that bloody one percent is a fact now. Gerrard along with Owen was thought to have been persueded to stay by Benitez, but after Kenyon has arrived to Portugal Gerrard has activated a clause. Liverpool had initially rejected an offer of £45M, but Gerrard has a clause in his contract. I don't know the details, but his agent and chelsea's CEO has found an aggrement, and now Gerrard has officially turned his back on LFC. An official anouncement will be made shortly after the europian champiomship. "

Personally, I do not want to believe it, and so do a whole of of other supporters. But we can't deny that everyone's (the club, manager and the player) been keeping mum about it, which hasnt helped the situation. It would have been good is SG himself had come out and said something especially when he was asked that during Euro 2004.

Either he's leaving or he wants to concentrate on Euro 2004 before deciding. Arghhhhh.

Still, IF Gerrard leaves, he is not irreplaceable. Benitez will build a team, with or without him. YNWA.

X18
24-06-2004, 02:55 PM
:(

Mr_Valentino
24-06-2004, 04:14 PM
till, IF Gerrard leaves, he is not irreplaceable. Benitez will build a team, with or without him. YNWA.

Agreed!

After Keegan, we got Dalglish. After Rush, we got Fowler.

There always life after Gerrard. (Assuming he really leaves)

BurnLives
24-06-2004, 05:34 PM
if Gerrard wants to go, SO BE IT ! Liverpool will not die without him.

stalker69
24-06-2004, 05:45 PM
IF gerrard leaves on his own then im fine with it as long as we find world class players to replace him
ayala, aimar,rosicky,nedved

spinelli
24-06-2004, 05:54 PM
we still have milan baros who's in great form for owen,midfielder wise,no worries,i trust our new gaffer :cool:

mizera
25-06-2004, 12:18 AM
No player in this day is irreplaceable, same goes for Gerrard and Owen, in fact I'd rather have Baros as our main striker.

Gerrard can go, if and only if it's his desire to do so and that we are able to get a player as good or even better than him => Duff and Parker? :D

stalker69
25-06-2004, 09:58 PM
if reports from BBC SPORTS are true....we have just lost our captain!:(

RobbieFowler
25-06-2004, 10:22 PM
If SG really leaves, Benitez have to look for a real hardworking player. SG's workrate is really magnificent and irreplaceable. His performance last season is the reason why liverpool is in the champions league. The only play I can think of is Pavel Nedved though I still prefer SG. :(

SongLongZi
25-06-2004, 10:50 PM
no player is irreplaceable..

CanIsayNo
25-06-2004, 11:07 PM
what if benitez chooses not to buy any player? or maybe he may give gerrard's position to biscan... who knows... he might be able to make biscan a world class player

SongLongZi
26-06-2004, 03:10 AM
biscan prefered position actually is centre mid..liverpooland barcelona wanna sign him..but biscan rejected barca cos they wan him to play centre defender.

Mohawks
26-06-2004, 10:01 AM
what if benitez chooses not to buy any player? or maybe he may give gerrard's position to biscan... who knows... he might be able to make biscan a world class player

quick!!... look out your window... a flying pig!!

CanIsayNo
26-06-2004, 07:12 PM
you never know.. benitez might be the right manager to bring out the best in biscan