PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302

spinelli
24-07-2004, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by melankholy

What you trying to imply leh. Ive been a supporter for 14yrs. HWZ football forums wasnt invented then for me to post. :o

no no dun get me wrong.what i meant was i dun see those familiar faces thats all =p

spinelli
24-07-2004, 10:44 PM
REDS ANNOUNCE 23 MAN SQUAD FOR TOUR
Paul Eaton 23 July 2004
Rafael Benitez has announced a 23 man squad for Liverpool's three game tour of America and Canada.
The Reds are set to play three matches against Celtic, Porto and Roma as part of the prestitious Champions World series as they step up their preparations for the new Premiership campaign.

Liverpool's Euro 2004 stars, including Michael Owen, Steven Gerrard, Milan Baros and Dietmar Hamann, will all experience their first taste of pre-season action in the States while youngsters Zak Whitbread, Stephen Warnock and Paul Harrison have also been included in the travelling party.

Liverpool's 23 man squad for the tour is:

J Dudek
C Kirkland
P Harrison
S Finnan
J Carragher
S Hyypia
S Henchoz
D Traore
J A Riise
S Warnock
Z Whitbread
S Gerrard
D Hamann
D Murphy
S Diao
I Biscan
A Le Tallec
V Smicer
H Kewell
M Owen
D Cisse
F Sinama Pongolle
M Baros

seriously,diouf is gone....:(

leo_llw
24-07-2004, 10:46 PM
diouf is not even given a number in the coming season....can kiss the 11mil goodbuy ;)

Vecta
24-07-2004, 10:50 PM
Originally posted by leo_llw
diouf is not even given a number in the coming season....can kiss the 11mil goodbuy ;)

The josemi link suggest that he might be going to malaga for a one year loan.
I am certainly hoping RB aint as bad a businessman GH was.
11M's depreciation to 3M is obscene.
Oh well, perhaps the loan will do diouf a world of good.
Come 05/06 season, we'll have a joaquin in EHD. :)

SongLongZi
24-07-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by spinelli
recently im seeing alot of new faces but not those old faces...hmmm....

im a liverpool fan since 92 when they won the FA cup and about to introduce mcmanaman...

SongLongZi
24-07-2004, 11:03 PM

goodbye!!

CanIsayNo
24-07-2004, 11:33 PM
maybe diouf can be better than joaquin

jan175
24-07-2004, 11:49 PM
ooooooo...juicy tidbit..dunno whether true..but still something to think abt ..hehe...

http://www.teamtalk.com/teamtalk/Interactive/Your_Say/0,1558,25,00.html

Mussi (London)
this is what has been going on in the spanish press lately Everyone is talking about a big player joining liverpool. He plays for one of the 2 big teams.(you know what teams) and his agent has DEFINITELY spoken to liverpool all this week for rumours of 7million euros a year. if , as expected, he signs in next 7 days, then arsenal, chelsea and man united will be SCARED of liverpool.LFC are also very certain to sign coloccini of xabi alonso or joaquin. (not both). i don't know when it will happen but that his agent has been speaking with liverpool for 4 days. it is 80% certain the definite ones are coloccini and xabi/joaquin it is not about the position but about the money, RB wants both but can afford one. not in press yet.

Vecta
24-07-2004, 11:58 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305499&cc=4716

THERE YOU GO, GUYS !!!!
THE FIRST SIGNING RB MADE. :D

Tucksoon
25-07-2004, 12:10 AM
Originally posted by Vecta
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=305499&cc=4716

THERE YOU GO, GUYS !!!!
THE FIRST SIGNING RB MADE. :D

He looks a sturdy defender :)

Vecta
25-07-2004, 12:25 AM
Originally posted by jan175
ooooooo...juicy tidbit..dunno whether true..but still something to think abt ..hehe...

Mussi (London)
this is what has been going on in the spanish press lately Everyone is talking about a big player joining liverpool. He plays for one of the 2 big teams.(you know what teams) and his agent has DEFINITELY spoken to liverpool all this week for rumours of 7million euros a year. if , as expected, he signs in next 7 days, then arsenal, chelsea and man united will be SCARED of liverpool.LFC are also very certain to sign coloccini of xabi alonso or joaquin. (not both). i don't know when it will happen but that his agent has been speaking with liverpool for 4 days. it is 80% certain the definite ones are coloccini and xabi/joaquin it is not about the position but about the money, RB wants both but can afford one. not in press yet.

Read this at koptalk as well.
It's a good read, and i try not to be too disbelieving.
Yes, maybe we might pull off a major coup, but the man united, arsenal and chelsea will then be SCARED of us crap is a hilariously awkward statement to make.
Until my reliable sources tell me so, it'll just be a good read. :)

Vecta
25-07-2004, 12:30 AM
Originally posted by Tucksoon

He looks a sturdy defender :)

They all have this weathered look, don't they.
Funny how coloccini doesnt quite.
Oh well, maybe he's still tender. :)

jan175
25-07-2004, 12:32 AM

Read this at koptalk as well.
It's a good read, and i try not to be too disbelieving.
Yes, maybe we might pull off a major coup, but the man united, arsenal and chelsea will then be SCARED of us crap is a hilariously awkward statement to make.
Until my reliable sources tell me so, it'll just be a good read. :)

Yup, i read these with a pinch of salt too. Yeah, the writer did exaggerate that line just a teeny weeny too much..lol.

SongLongZi
25-07-2004, 02:56 AM
exciting times ahead..

X18
25-07-2004, 09:47 AM
SCV supersport channel 22 showing liverpool vs celtic live! at 7.55am on tuesday.

stay tuned! :D

jan175
25-07-2004, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by X18
SCV supersport channel 22 showing liverpool vs celtic live! at 7.55am on tuesday.

stay tuned! :D

think there's a repeat elecast at 10 pm too. :)

___jeff
25-07-2004, 04:44 PM
Some history about Benitez i got from straitstime for your guys

What Benitez has been up to

>Born in Madrid on April 16 , 1960.

>Was a football teacher at Davis University in the United States , a television commentator and a regular speaker at universities and schools.

>Earned a degree in physical education in 1982 and 7 years later , got his national coaching licence.

>Studied coaching techniques in other countries , and spent time in england visiting Arsenal and Manchester United. WWas with Ossie Ardilles at Tottenham.

> Listed as a Real Madrid youth player before joining Parla in Spain's lower divisions. Ended his playing days with Linares in 1986.

>Appointement as successor to Hector Cuper as Valencia coach , winning La Liga in his first season.

>First match in charge of Valencia was against Liverpool - at the Amsterdam tournment in 2001. Liverpool Won.

>Is renowned for attention to detail. Videos and computers play important part in build-up to matches.

>Valencia boasted the best defensive record in La Liga last season , but also scored 71 league goals - only Real Madrid was better.

> Valencia defender david Albelda said: "His name will be remebered in gold letters as one of the best coaches ever."

SongLongZi
26-07-2004, 01:08 AM
Former Chelsea manager Claudio Ranieri has predicted Rafael Benitez will be a major success at Liverpool.
Ranieri has replaced Benitez at Valencia following his departure from Stamford Bridge and he reckons Liverpool fans can look forward to watching a more enjoyable brand of football under their new Spanish boss.

"His teams are like an Italian team; they try to press everywhere, they try to get the ball and go on the counter-attack strongly," he said.

"He did this very well at Valencia and I am sure, although he now has new players, that his philosophy is going to be the same.

"I think that it will be different from Houllier and he will try to press forward more together.

"I don't think he is too defensive. His style worked well at Valencia and he'll prove people wrong."

X18
26-07-2004, 02:13 PM
RAFA REVEALS LE TALLEC CAN GO OUT ON LOAN
Mark Platt, in New Jersey 26 July 2004

Anthony Le Tallec will be allowed to leave Liverpool on loan after Rafael Benitez confirmed that he cannot guarantee the French youngster a regular first team place.
Le Tallec was left out of the Reds 23-man squad that is currently preparing for the new campaign here in America.

His omission will have surprised many fans, coming just days after he was a two-goal marksman in the friendly win at Wrexham.

But speaking to Liverpoolfc.tv at the club's training camp in New Jersey, Benitez revealed: "I talked with him. I wanted him to come here but he said that if there is not going to be many opportunities it might be better if he stayed behind and found a club to join on loan.

"We have four good forwards here. He is only 20-years old and perhaps it is good for him to go elsewhere in order to gain more experience. He is currently back in Liverpool and agents are working on his behalf to find the best club for him.

"If we return home and he still hasn't found a club then I'll be happy for him to stay because I am happy with him. He's a good player and played very well against Wrexham.

"At his age though it's important to play and I understand his decision.

"The idea is, he goes away, plays more games and comes back a better player. If it works out like that it will be good for the player and for the club."

Staying on the subject of possible comings and goings at Anfield the boss also commented on potential new signing Josemi.

He said: "He has not signed for Liverpool and is not our player. This may change but that is the situation as it stands now.

"He's a right sided defender who can play full-back or centre half and I think that is good that he can play in both positions."

When asked about other possible arrivals he refused to give anything away and replied simply: "We'll have to wait and see."

:(

melankholy
26-07-2004, 02:16 PM
why le tallec...
like that the pongolle and le tallec dynamo combo gone la... :(

SongLongZi
26-07-2004, 02:26 PM
Originally posted by X18

sad..

hueman
26-07-2004, 03:25 PM
not that bad lah...

generally, a player goes on loan for 2 reasons...

1. he is not need yet still under contract and no one wants to buy him...

2. he is a good prospect for the future and instead of playing 20% of the games (due to sufficient established players), he is given the opportunity to gain experience at other clubs and come back a better player...

even stevie wonder can see which group le tellac belongs to...

as long as he dun play for a club which might play against lpool... it's not too bad lar...

spinelli
26-07-2004, 06:32 PM
again...speechless....:(

spinelli
26-07-2004, 09:27 PM
CISSE IN BATTLE TO PARTNER OWEN
Paul Eaton 26 July 2004
Djibril Cisse has admitted he faces a massive challenge just to secure a place in Rafael Benitez's Liverpool team.
The Reds broke their transfer record when they signed the French ace from Auxerre over the summer, but Cisse insists he still has a fight on his hands to partner Michael Owen in attack.

"You can't argue with the fact Michael is the number one," said Cisse. "You look at his record and he has played three or four major tournaments for his country, and scored in all of them.

"That is the mark of a truly world-class player, and is the benchmark for all of us. I am really looking forward to working with him, and it's one of the reasons I came to Liverpool.

"I am here to try and prove I am worth that place alongside him. But it will be hard getting that place.

"Milan and Florent are both very good forwards too, and we know it's a fight to see who's going to play alongside Michael. I will give it my best to show I can be Owen's partner."

spinelli
26-07-2004, 09:29 PM
RAFA BENITEZ TALKS TO LIVERPOOLFC.TV
Steve Hunter in New Jersey 26 July 2004
Rafael Benitez gives his thoughts to Liverpoolfc.tv ahead of Liverpool's opening game with Celtic in the Champions World USA tour, in Hartford on Monday night.
Liverpoolfc.tv: Can we expect to see the players who were involved at Euro 2004 take part in their first pre-season match against Celtic?

Rafael Benitez: They will play their first games but perhaps play just for one half. I don't know yet and it depends how they are after training. We have all the squad here in America and I want to see how they do in training. Against Celtic we will see a good Liverpool team but I may make changes during the game.

Liverpoolfc.tv: It may seem early days but do you have a picture in your mind of the team to start the first match?

I have 22 players here with me but not necessarily all first choice. I want to see them in training because we are all together for the first time.

Liverpoolfc.tv: What qualities do you think Liverpool lacked last season that you can perhaps make better?

The players are training well and we have to find a good mentality and play like a team. If we can do that then we will win a lot of matches. The players need a strong mentality. I talk about the future and not the past. I want a winning mentality at Liverpool FC and want the players to understand my ideas.

It was quite noticeable that during the Wrexham game you were up off the bench shouting instructions and you clearly wanted to win the match, even though it was a pre-season friendly?

I always want to win every game I play. If you win a friendly game it is better and is good for confidence. I want a winning mentality and like to win matches and then see what we can do better.

How are you settling in to life in Liverpool?

I'm happy. It's harder for the family, the children and my wife. They have to change and they have left their friends behind in Spain. I need to find a nice house for my family and me. I want to train hard and I need to have a good atmosphere in the club.

Liverpool has a massive fanbase, does that excite you as you set about trying to make the club great again?

Yes. When you talk about the Premiership in Spain people talk about Liverpool. In the last four to five years more people say Manchester United, Arsenal and Chelsea. In the 60's, 70's and 80's it was Liverpool, Liverpool! It's true that Liverpool is the first English team for the Spanish people. A lot of people talk about the Beatles in Spain but it is Liverpool FC they talk about more.

Have you seen much of the city of Liverpool yet?

The other day I was with my wife shopping in the city and we went up to see the cathedral which was very nice. In Valencia I couldn't go out with my wife shopping as we would get people coming up to us all the time. In Liverpool I have found it different. I was with my wife the other day in the Bella Italia Pizza restaurant and there was a knock on the glass window. It was from a little boy who was only about seven. I went out and signed an autograph for him. It was a very nice moment.

Stalker99
27-07-2004, 08:52 AM
pool leading celtic 2-0!!!

X18
27-07-2004, 09:07 AM
good play by pool ni the first half. :D

a lot of passing and movement and solid defensively.

biscan looked like a totally new player!! :eek:

jan175
27-07-2004, 09:12 AM
yupyup..looking good...cant wait to see Cisse. heheh.

Mr_Valentino
27-07-2004, 09:53 AM
Liverpool now 5 goals up.

The giant has woken!

jan175
27-07-2004, 10:00 AM
wooo...Cisse & Murphy combo..2 goals.:D

CanIsayNo
27-07-2004, 10:03 AM
who's in the lineup?

RobbieFowler
27-07-2004, 10:04 AM
5 - 1 is good. but I believe pool got a lot more to offer. Hope RB brings in a right mid that can take on defenses. Good match for pool and the new striker cisse. :)

X18
27-07-2004, 10:04 AM
first half
kirkland
finnan carragher hyypia riise
smicer hamann biscan kewell
owen baros

second half
kirkland
finnan henchoz carragher riise
murphy gerrard diao warnock
cisse pongolle

X18
27-07-2004, 10:06 AM
diao looked awful..kewell was vry ordinary.

however, cisse looked good..should have scored 4 goals!:eek:

CanIsayNo
27-07-2004, 10:10 AM
i believe cisse will be better than drogba... and he costs 10million pounds less

malvindo
27-07-2004, 10:16 AM
yeah,
we are on the right Track :D
much better game plan than GH!
keep up going RB!!
nice 2 c LFC got winning mentality ;)

jan175
27-07-2004, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by X18
diao looked awful..kewell was vry ordinary.

however, cisse looked good..should have scored 4 goals!:eek:

Cisse didn't even looked like he was trying very hard.. :D Class Act definitely.

Diao was awful; looked non-chalant and clumsy.

Kudos to Henchoz for scoring his first ever goal for the club, and with a miscued volley somemore..heheh.

spinelli
27-07-2004, 02:50 PM
Originally posted by X18
diao looked awful..

whats wrong?he's just being himself :rolleyes:

spinelli
27-07-2004, 02:50 PM
heng heng i won both bets on pool cheers,triple occassion !!nice~~~~:D

jan175
27-07-2004, 06:27 PM
I noticed a lot of new people from S'pore posting in the LFC Teamtalk Your Say. Own up, who's started posting there?? :D

RickHunterX
27-07-2004, 07:31 PM
Y dun let le tallec be right midfield? he so versatile can play anywhere in midfield leh

spinelli
27-07-2004, 09:25 PM
Originally posted by RickHunterX
Y dun let le tallec be right midfield? he so versatile can play anywhere in midfield leh

hmm i rather loan him then playing him out of position.seen this lad played before and i find he can be world-class.dun wan another diouf who's played out of position,and we know what happened now :alien:

spinelli
27-07-2004, 09:28 PM
NEWS STORY
CISSE: SCORING FILLED ME WITH JOY
Paul Eaton 27 July 2004
Djibril Cisse reflected on his first goals for Liverpool and admitted: "They filled me with joy."
The French ace notched a second half double as the Reds thrashed Celtic 5-1 in America as Rafael Benitez's impressive start to his Liverpool career continued.

Michael Owen, John Arne Riise and Stephane Henchoz were also on target for the Reds, but it was Cisse who stole the show with a brace of goals.

"It fills me with joy to have scored my first Liverpool goals," said the striker.

"As a forward, you always get confidence when you score goals so it was important for me to do this. When you don't score there is pressure so I'm very happy."

Benitez was happy with the performances of all his strikers and he says he can already see promising signs for the future.

"Cisse scored two goals and could have had two more. It's good for the team because we have a lot of players now who can score," said Benitez.

"It's good Henchoz scored too. People will think it's funny he scored but we need possibilities to score across the team.

"Danny Murphy is a very intelligent player and he immediately knew the right balls for Cisse and gave him good passes. I have told the players Cisse needs a ball to run onto and Murphy understands this well.

"In the second half, Cisse changed position twice and Murphy understood and made the right passes for him to help him score.

"Cisse is just one of a group of four strikers we have and in their way they are all different. All four of them played well. We can look at how each partnership plays together during these games."

spinelli
27-07-2004, 09:31 PM
I noticed a lot of new people from S'pore posting in the LFC Teamtalk Your Say. Own up, who's started posting there?? :D

can post the exact link.too many for me to check thru =p

jan175
27-07-2004, 09:34 PM

can post the exact link.too many for me to check thru =p

:cool:

spinelli
27-07-2004, 10:17 PM

:cool:

cheers :D

Mohawks
27-07-2004, 11:56 PM
did you guys see Henchoz's BIG SMILE :D after his goal

never seen him smile until like that b4 :D

hueman
28-07-2004, 07:42 PM
from the prev 2 matches.. it seems like we have a new signing in biscan huh? hopefully next match, we'll get to see josemi and different partnership up front.

henchoz's goal might give him confidence to fight for his place with josemi and carragher.

i'll love to see carragher score again (in opponents net). it's been a long time man.... his last was an own goal right?

CanIsayNo
28-07-2004, 08:30 PM
i remember that when carra played centre back, he scored quite a number of own goals

spinelli
28-07-2004, 10:13 PM
REDS STUNNED BY BARCA'S CISSE BID
Paul Eaton 28 July 2004
Liverpool chief executive Rick Parry has admitted he is stunned by Barcelona's bid to take Djibril Cisse on a season long loan.
Parry has revealed the Spanish outfit have made representations to Liverpool about the possibility of signing the £14 million striker for next season.

Cisse opened his Liverpool account with two superb goals against Celtic earlier in the week and Parry says there is no way the Reds' new striker will be leaving Anfield.

He said: "There have been strong indications that Barcelona want to take Cisse on loan. The idea of us allowing a player we have spent so much money on to go to Barcelona on loan even before he has kicked a ball for us is just incredible.

"Why on earth would we do that? It is a sign of the times that they can even contemplate such a move for a player we have just spent a record transfer fee on.

"It's incredible, but we have learnt through agents that they are strongly interested in that. What does that tell you about the state of the transfer market when even Barcelona are trying to take players like that on loan? It's crazy."

spinelli
28-07-2004, 10:16 PM
PARRY ON OWEN, CISSE, JOSEMI, RAFA & MORE
Mark Platt in New Jersey 28 July 2004
Anfield Chief Executive Rick Parry speaks exclusively to Liverpoolfc.tv at the Reds' American training camp to update us on all the big stories that currently surround the club.
Liverpoolfc.tv: First of all Rick, regarding the contract situation with Michael Owen, are there any new developments?

No. Bizarrely people seem to have been convinced that the contract was going to be signed out here, which is not the case at all. It's much as before and when there is a positive development we will say so. Talks are ongoing, they are amicable and there is no great concern on our part. We are not trying to force Michael into it and we will get there when we are both ready.

Are you still confident that he will sign?

We are hoping he will sign for sure. It's not about signing at the end of the day, it's more about does Michael want to be at Liverpool? That's the big question. Does he believe, as we do, that things are on the up and we are going to have a good run. That's the key issue. It's not just about putting pen to paper. It's about convincing Michael that we are going to have a good few years ahead of us. Just like with Stevie Gerrard, Michael is ambitious and wants to win trophies, but of course so do we.

You mentioned Stevie there, how big a lift was it for the club that he pledged his future to Liverpool?

It was fantastic, it was the best non-signing that we have ever made. It gave everybody a lift within the club and among the supporters. It was great news.

Djibril Cisse seems to be settling in well?

It still early days but he certainly made a good start. I don't think he is going to score many tap-ins but we have been following him for over three years and have always been aware of his ability and his potential. He scored a lot of goals in France last year and hopefully he can repeat that with us.

What's the situation with Josemi, any more news?

He may be coming out to join us later today. He had his medical on Tuesday and we are just trying to get all the paperwork in order with him and the club. It's kind of more difficult with me here in America and the time difference but he could well be on a plane this afternoon. It should be fine and all being well it will all be finalised soon.

Are there plans for any more signings before the start of the season?

One step at a time. This is the period for Rafa to evaluate the whole squad. We've had one game and there's two more matches to come so it's about taking a balanced view and making sure we get the right signings in the right positions. We are not rushing headlong into everything and we'll see.

In terms of players leaving Liverpool, do you have any news to tell us?

Nothing concrete yet. There has been quite a lot of conversations going on about a number of players mainly regarding loan deals but nothing has been concluded. All being well there will be some developments over the next week or so.

Is it fair to say the players who haven't travelled to America are not in the plans any more?

No, because there are a lot of players who haven't travelled, particularly some of the younger lads that played at Wrexham like Darren Potter, David Raven, John Welsh, Semi (Otsemobor), while Mellor is injured. It makes more sense to travel with a smaller squad as you can only take so many but certainly some of the other players that are not here will be looking to move on.

The Champions League qualifying draw is on Friday. Will you have a representative out in Switzerland?

Yes, we have people out in Switzerland so we'll know who we'll be playing as soon as it happens. We are seeded but you have to be careful because if you end up drawing the team that's top of the second seeds you can end up with tricky opposition. As Newcastle found last season you can't say it's a foregone conclusion. Clearly we would be hopeful of progressing.

What do you make of the impact Rafael Benitez has had on the club since his arrival?

I would say he's introduced a good atmosphere, a different atmosphere because his approach is different. There is a different approach to training which the players seem to be responding to and the players seem to be enjoying it, which is always a good sign for a trip away. The result against Celtic helped and yes there is a huge level of expectation from the fans but it feels good at the moment. We feel quietly confident and the more you see Rafa and the boys working the more you think it was a good appointment.

You seem quite happy with the way things are going, do you have high hopes for the new season?

There is still a lot to do, but yes. We are more than conscious that there is a big, big gap between us and Arsenal and that's not going to get turned around over night, so there will be a huge amount of hard work and commitment on the part of everybody. You don't just click your fingers and suddenly it's right. A degree of patience is going to be required from everybody but what you do feel is we are very much on the right lines. I think we've seen this year that it's not just about money. You look at Greece in the European Championships and the likes of Porto, Monaco, Marseille and, to an extent Valencia. They are by no means the richest names in Europe and Rafa's philosophy is all about building teams. Of course it's about players but it's also about building teams. I think we are moving into the era of the team as opposed to the era of the star and that has to be the way forward. If you don't have the money to compete with Real Madrid and Chelsea, and who does, then you have to approach it slightly differently.

Is the Thai investment deal now finished?

It's pretty quiet on that front. We haven't had any direct discussions for a couple of weeks. It's not necessarily dead but it's quiet.

Is there anything else in terms of investment deals in the pipeline?

As ever we will comment when we have got something else to say.

malvindo
29-07-2004, 10:06 AM
we do have 2 more matches rite?
against which team?? :confused:

Mohawks
29-07-2004, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by malvindo
we do have 2 more matches rite?
against which team?? :confused:
FC Porto (Sat morning)
and AS Roma next week [edit]

SongLongZi
29-07-2004, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by Mohawks
did you guys see Henchoz's BIG SMILE :D after his goal

never seen him smile until like that b4 :D

:laugh: lol..

X18
29-07-2004, 05:43 PM

FC Porto (Sat morning)
and AC Milan next week

AC milan?? i thought is Roma..:confused:

SongLongZi
29-07-2004, 05:58 PM
should be roma.

Mohawks
29-07-2004, 11:10 PM
sorrie... got mixed up with Chelsea match...

it's Liverpool vs FC Porto (Sat 8am)
and Liverpool vs AS Roma (Wed 8am)

jan175
29-07-2004, 11:25 PM
sorrie... got mixed up with Chelsea match...

it's Liverpool vs FC Porto (Sat 8am)
and Liverpool vs AS Roma (Wed 8am)

Mohawks..your son in your avatar pic right? Very cute. I got a cat pic that is very similar. :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v373/jan175/contented.jpg

Aozora
29-07-2004, 11:43 PM
:D
cute cat

btw did anyone just catch the ian rush special on cable tv? :)

Mohawks
30-07-2004, 02:41 AM

Mohawks..your son in your avatar pic right? Very cute. I got a cat pic that is very similar. :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v373/jan175/contented.jpg

Stalker99
30-07-2004, 09:36 PM
uefa champions league qualifying

Graz AK (Austria) v Liverpool

spinelli
31-07-2004, 02:05 AM
Originally posted by Aozora
cute cat

btw did anyone just catch the ian rush special on cable tv? :)

was there??:confused:

hwaa
31-07-2004, 09:09 AM
champion series,

50 mins now, porto 0 - 0 liverpool.

hope liverpool beat them! at least 1-0 !!

X18
31-07-2004, 10:05 AM
lost... :(

the lads were not playing well today, cant even pass the ball around well and we did not have much chances.

the onli positive thing i saw was our captain marvel - gerrard, the only player who live up to expectation in the first half. he was brilliant. but playing him out wide at the right is kinda wasted.

but NEVERMIND. it is better to lose now than to lose in the future. :)

Vecta
31-07-2004, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by hwaa
champion series,

50 mins now, porto 0 - 0 liverpool.

hope liverpool beat them! at least 1-0 !!

lost 1-0, but gave them a good scare come last 5 mins.
Good game, good workout for the players.
zak whitbread did decent. Young, raw but potentially good.
I am happy with what i saw.

Porto aint european cup winners for nothing.
sure they lost deco and carvalho in the post season, but they showed a style of play which saw lotsa possession, effective pass-and-runs and of course, good portuguese flair.

Biscan and henchoz came in the 2nd half, and we began to look more solid at the back, bar the setpiece play which led to the softest of goals to concede.

Sinama seems a lil outta sorts, baros did his fair bit of positive running with the ball, so did cisse and owen. however, it's worrying that no one seems to be able to hold the ball up well upfront. of course the porto players close down on us pretty fast, but we need to keep good possession in the last third of the field to create good offensive chances.

kewell showed more grit than he did playing celtics.
murphy was subdued, diao was his usual clumsy self, but shackled ports's offensive play well enough.
Finnan made effective runs to add offensive width at times.
carragher, always uncompromising and no-nonsense.

porto was class but their diving antics are obscenely irritating.
we lost but we werent bollocks.
i believe RB saw what's there to be learnt from this game.
we will get better. and i am happy. :)

Coolsmurf
31-07-2004, 11:11 AM
tink liverpool was trying out different combis...dun read too much into this...

but really, liverpool lack a holding player up front..

Virus
31-07-2004, 01:21 PM
Benitez is trying out a new 5-3-2 formation. The team looks a bit unfamilar with this new formation. Whitbread abd Warnock in defence is a bit shaky, as expected.

Nonetheless, they still look pretty good for the start of the season.

spinelli
31-07-2004, 01:53 PM
Originally posted by Coolsmurf
tink liverpool was trying out different combis...dun read too much into this...

but really, liverpool lack a holding player up front..

you missing heskey??:eek:

beckz11
31-07-2004, 03:00 PM
lol zak whitbread was in my pri sch
i din't think he was gd then..

melankholy
31-07-2004, 04:26 PM
hmm. a bit of a surprise we lost since the players were all hyped up after beating celtic 5 - 1.

jan175
31-07-2004, 04:56 PM
Just read this on the Teamtalk forum.

Dante L. (Birmingham)
I can't believe JB didnt print my earlier posts, after staying up late to share my excitement with my fellow reds !!! And worse, JB printed the last part of my posts which i'm sure will not make any sense to most. Basically what I said earlier was that a v.good source has informed me that we are going to sign someone v.soon. It's either 2 players OR 1 major big signing. Our problem is cash. But the major signing is what excited me. All i can say is that he's negotiating to take a substantial wage cut and plays for the top 2 teams in La Liga. He's also one of La Liga's experienced stars. No names, but you can take your pick from these lot - Figo,Collocini,Ayala,Aimar,Joaquin,Alonso,Ronaldinho,Miguel Angel,Ronaldo. Also, something to happen on 2/08/04. Stay tuned ! PS : I know my reputation in this forum is at stake but I dont say sh*t unless it's good sh*t...ya'll get my drift ?? ;-)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'll wait for the news if any on Monday. :D

melankholy
31-07-2004, 04:58 PM
Figo maybe?
Fat chance ronaldinho

Virus
31-07-2004, 06:41 PM
if this is true lol, it shld be Figo. Since he is the one who played for 2 top clubs, Real MAdrid and Barcelona.

But this look insane if he signed...

melankholy
31-07-2004, 06:44 PM
ronaldo too. lol. he played for barca right?

Virus
31-07-2004, 06:49 PM
ronaldo too. lol. he played for barca right?
hmm ...totally forgot about him playing for Barcelona b4 he joined Inter Milan.

Well if he signed, it is even more insane :D. Don't think Real will sell him.

melankholy
31-07-2004, 06:55 PM
maybe they will if they manage to land some other striker but i dont think we need him.

spinelli
31-07-2004, 09:07 PM
no more strikers pls...:rolleyes: we need a right winger,if possible plus a try central playmaker pls shankly:D

Virus
31-07-2004, 09:09 PM
no more strikers pls...:rolleyes: we need a right winger,if possible plus a try central playmaker pls shankly:D
Figo seems to fit the bill :P.

spinelli
31-07-2004, 09:30 PM
BENITEZ - I MAY GO INTO THE TRANSFER MARKET
Steve Hunter, in Toronto 31 July 2004
Rafael Benitez said the injury blow to Vladimir Smicer may force him to go into the transfer market and sign a player
With Smicer out for six months after a knee operation Benitez says he may need to go into the transfer market to strengthen his squad ahead of the Champions League qualifier with Austrian champions GAK.

Benitez said: "It's a pity because we had hoped that Vladimir would have only been out for one month but six months is hard. I hope the the player can stay strong and come through and be back with us in six months time."

Asked whether the injury blow will mean Benitez will have to strengthen his squad, the manager said: "We will try and we shall see."

is this good or bad news...

SongLongZi
31-07-2004, 10:57 PM

i gonna agree with you..we need a right winger..

Liverpoolfc
31-07-2004, 11:19 PM
Just a few days ago they just said they have expanded almost the last penny of the transfer budget this season. Now they say going to buy again. Koz......

BENITEZ - I MAY GO INTO THE TRANSFER MARKET
Steve Hunter, in Toronto 31 July 2004
Rafael Benitez said the injury blow to Vladimir Smicer may force him to go into the transfer market and sign a player
With Smicer out for six months after a knee operation Benitez says he may need to go into the transfer market to strengthen his squad ahead of the Champions League qualifier with Austrian champions GAK.

Benitez said: "It's a pity because we had hoped that Vladimir would have only been out for one month but six months is hard. I hope the the player can stay strong and come through and be back with us in six months time."

Asked whether the injury blow will mean Benitez will have to strengthen his squad, the manager said: "We will try and we shall see."

is this good or bad news...

Mohawks
31-07-2004, 11:20 PM
porto was class but their diving antics are obscenely irritating.

yeah.... looks like Porta players attend nightly acting class...

terrible sportsmanship

CanIsayNo
31-07-2004, 11:36 PM
porto just made a fortune recently, thanks to chelsea

jan175
31-07-2004, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by Liverpoolfc
Just a few days ago they just said they have expanded almost the last penny of the transfer budget this season. Now they say going to buy again. Koz......

They might have said that as a ploy to make sure clubs that they are buying from won't inflate transfer fees any more than the market rate.

No point for us to speculate. Lets just look forward to the new seaon.

spinelli
01-08-2004, 12:09 AM
Originally posted by Liverpoolfc

well if pool were to qualify for champs league,we will have at least 20 million pounds...

ItWasntMe
01-08-2004, 01:31 AM
actually smicer's injury might be a blessing in disguise for those liverpool midfield youngsters... IMO what RB said regarding another player purchase to cover smicer is what we are anticipating all along...another midfield signing...preferably a right sided midfielder or winger...

Winevil
01-08-2004, 08:08 AM
Originally posted by ItWasntMe
actually smicer's injury might be a blessing in disguise for those liverpool midfield youngsters... IMO what RB said regarding another player purchase to cover smicer is what we are anticipating all along...another midfield signing...preferably a right sided midfielder or winger...

tat's true... Will that mean Le tallec may not be for loan anymore...

I really afraid tat a loan of Le tallec may eventually become a sale...

IMO, Le Tallec is more talented than pongolle if you have watched him played in the youth championship...

Winevil

SongLongZi
01-08-2004, 02:54 PM
arsenal's manager arsene wenger once say that le tallec is the best youngster in france.and from what i see..he certainly look promising..pool have to keep him..no matter what..and we really have to solve our mid right side problem.we gonna bring in a right winger..

ER
01-08-2004, 06:23 PM
Aimar :o

leo_llw
01-08-2004, 10:19 PM
Originally posted by SongLongZi
arsenal's manager arsene wenger once say that le tallec is the best youngster in france.and from what i see..he certainly look promising..pool have to keep him..no matter what..and we really have to solve our mid right side problem.we gonna bring in a right winger..
hahahaha...do you know Wenger rejected Tallec after a trial with Arsenal before GH snapped him up? :D

SongLongZi
02-08-2004, 02:51 AM

hahahaha...do you know Wenger rejected Tallec after a trial with Arsenal before GH snapped him up? :D

ehh i do not know that.but from soccernet. it say..after having trial with man utd arsenal and liverpool.le tallec and pongolle decided to join liverpool.

fantasy21
02-08-2004, 04:23 PM

ehh i do not know that.but from soccernet. it say..after having trial with man utd arsenal and liverpool.le tallec and pongolle decided to join liverpool.

Both are talented n proven players.especially pongolle..

spinelli
02-08-2004, 04:30 PM
Originally posted by fantasy21

Both are talented n proven players.especially pongolle..

i prefer LT:evil:

Winevil
02-08-2004, 04:37 PM

i prefer LT:evil:

same here...

Winevil

xllms
02-08-2004, 04:44 PM
same here...

xllms

Winevil
02-08-2004, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by xllms
same here...

xllms

talking about le tallec, the super goal he scored in the World Youth Championship for France will come to my mind...

Winevil

then
02-08-2004, 04:56 PM
same here too.

actually pongolle and owen are quite similar in some ways. imho, can release owen and beef up the midfield with the $

SongLongZi
02-08-2004, 06:56 PM
DAMIEN THE TARGET AFTER SMICER BLOW Baros may be sacrificed so Liverpool can lure Blues ace.

LIVERPOOL have made Damien Duff their top target after being forced back into the transfer market.

New boss Rafael Benitez has admitted he will need to sign a wide midfielder following the news this weekend that Vladimir Smicer will be out for up to six months with a cartilage injury.

Duff is the No.1 target for Liverpool but first they will be forced to sell at least one high-profile player to raise the funds required to tempt Chelsea to part with the Irish international.
Milan Baros could fit the bill.

The Czech international was one of the stars of Euro 2004 but is likely to start the season as understudy to Michael Owen and Djibril Cisse.

If Liverpool can get £12m for the Czech striker they will take it.

Benitez will also accept bids over £5m for German international Didi Hamann.

Liverpool were in the running for Duff before the former Blackburn's star's £17m switch to Chelsea a year ago.

Duff is popular with Chelsea fans but the Londoners have signed Dutch international Arjen Robben, who plays in Duff's position. Last season he figured in just 17 Premiership games for Blues. The prospect of Duff joining forces with Owen, Steven Gerrard, Cisse and Harry Kewell will delight Liverpool fans, although some will wonder if Duff and Kewell can be accommodated in the same side.

Benitez revealed yesterday that he is ready to swoop in the market to replace Smicer when he said: "We hoped that Vladimir would have only been out for one month, but six months is hard.

"I hope that the player can stay strong and come through and be back with us in six months' time. Now we shall see what can be done about strengthening the squad.

"We will have to do it. We will have to look at the wide midfield position."

Liverpool now have just 20 senior pros in their first-team squad and it is clear that the new manager will require funds to strengthen as he attempts to turn the club around.

If Liverpool can't offload a player to finance the Duff deal, then they will be forced to look elsewhere with Benitez calling on his Spanish expertise to line up a signing from La Liga. The Liverpool manager is considering a move for Barcelona's Luis Garcia in the light of Smicer's horrific injury, which will signal the end of his Anfield career given that he has just one year left on his contract.

Garcia has emerged as a live target, especially as the Spanish side are ready to let him out on loan for a season.

Benitez is a big admirer of the 23-year-old, who he tried to lure to Valencia.

Garcia spent last season - his first at the Nou Camp since joining from Valladolid - on loan at Atletico Madrid, and was their player of the season.

But despite playing nearly 200 senior games in La Liga, he has failed to get a chance at Barcelona and his options look severely limited again this time.

Barca already have the likes of Ronaldinho, Luis Enrique and Xavi in the squad, and have also signed Deco, Ludovic Guily, and Edmilson.

Benitez is also an admirer of Valencia's Spanish international Vicente, but the relations between his former club and Liverpool are so frosty that a deal is unlikely.

New signing Josemi, the defender brought in from Malaga, is likely to start against Roma tomorrow in the final game of Liverpool's US tour. Liverpool's first game of the season is at Spurs on 14 August.

hwaa
02-08-2004, 07:12 PM
DAMIEN THE TARGET AFTER SMICER BLOW Baros may be sacrificed so Liverpool can lure Blues ace.

LIVERPOOL have made Damien Duff their top target after being forced back into the transfer market.

New boss Rafael Benitez has admitted he will need to sign a wide midfielder following the news this weekend that Vladimir Smicer will be out for up to six months with a cartilage injury.

Duff is the No.1 target for Liverpool but first they will be forced to sell at least one high-profile player to raise the funds required to tempt Chelsea to part with the Irish international.
Milan Baros could fit the bill.

The Czech international was one of the stars of Euro 2004 but is likely to start the season as understudy to Michael Owen and Djibril Cisse.

If Liverpool can get £12m for the Czech striker they will take it.

Benitez will also accept bids over £5m for German international Didi Hamann.

Liverpool were in the running for Duff before the former Blackburn's star's £17m switch to Chelsea a year ago.

Duff is popular with Chelsea fans but the Londoners have signed Dutch international Arjen Robben, who plays in Duff's position. Last season he figured in just 17 Premiership games for Blues. The prospect of Duff joining forces with Owen, Steven Gerrard, Cisse and Harry Kewell will delight Liverpool fans, although some will wonder if Duff and Kewell can be accommodated in the same side.

Benitez revealed yesterday that he is ready to swoop in the market to replace Smicer when he said: "We hoped that Vladimir would have only been out for one month, but six months is hard.

"I hope that the player can stay strong and come through and be back with us in six months' time. Now we shall see what can be done about strengthening the squad.

"We will have to do it. We will have to look at the wide midfield position."

Liverpool now have just 20 senior pros in their first-team squad and it is clear that the new manager will require funds to strengthen as he attempts to turn the club around.

If Liverpool can't offload a player to finance the Duff deal, then they will be forced to look elsewhere with Benitez calling on his Spanish expertise to line up a signing from La Liga. The Liverpool manager is considering a move for Barcelona's Luis Garcia in the light of Smicer's horrific injury, which will signal the end of his Anfield career given that he has just one year left on his contract.

Garcia has emerged as a live target, especially as the Spanish side are ready to let him out on loan for a season.

Benitez is a big admirer of the 23-year-old, who he tried to lure to Valencia.

Garcia spent last season - his first at the Nou Camp since joining from Valladolid - on loan at Atletico Madrid, and was their player of the season.

But despite playing nearly 200 senior games in La Liga, he has failed to get a chance at Barcelona and his options look severely limited again this time.

Barca already have the likes of Ronaldinho, Luis Enrique and Xavi in the squad, and have also signed Deco, Ludovic Guily, and Edmilson.

Benitez is also an admirer of Valencia's Spanish international Vicente, but the relations between his former club and Liverpool are so frosty that a deal is unlikely.

New signing Josemi, the defender brought in from Malaga, is likely to start against Roma tomorrow in the final game of Liverpool's US tour. Liverpool's first game of the season is at Spurs on 14 August.

GET DUFF!!!!!! :bounce:

but don't sell baros! :mad:

hwaa
02-08-2004, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by then
same here too.

actually pongolle and owen are quite similar in some ways. imho, can release owen and beef up the midfield with the $

but owen should be signing liao ...

then
02-08-2004, 07:20 PM

but owen should be signing liao ...

ya lor. never a great fan of him.

maybe rb got plans for him, but rb also indicated that he will not build a team around owen or any player

spinelli
02-08-2004, 09:17 PM
garcia is good!!!!if he's not playing i will not dare to take barca give ball :laugh:

heygal
02-08-2004, 09:50 PM

GET DUFF!!!!!! :bounce:

but don't sell baros! :mad:

baros good meh? dont know y u guys like him so much. poor first touch, poor dribbling and worst of all bloodly selfish , dribble n dribble , die die also wont assist

CanIsayNo
02-08-2004, 11:56 PM
Originally posted by heygal

baros good meh? dont know y u guys like him so much. poor first touch, poor dribbling and worst of all bloodly selfish , dribble n dribble , die die also wont assist
he seems more effective than owen...

spinelli
03-08-2004, 11:19 AM

i dun find that he's selfish and wont assist,never forget how he lay the ball for owen to score against everton last season =p .the way he play is "direct" style,something i do too.trust me,defenders hate this style!then owen?neither here or there knn...:mad: if he has poor dribbling i dunno about owen liao:rolleyes:

spinelli
03-08-2004, 03:26 PM
Liverpool Echo, 2 Aug 2004
Passing is key to Rafa - Riise
By Chris Bascombe, Liverpool Echo

JOHN ARNE RIISE says Liverpool's traditional passing game will make a
welcome return under the management of Rafael Benitez.

The Norwegian defender today offered another insight into the new manager's
philosophy when he said possession football is at the heart of the style he
wants to create at Anfield.

In recent times a more cautious approach won few friends amongst neutrals,
but Riise suspects that will change during the next few months.

"Everything we do in training is about the use of the ball," said the
Norwegian.

"Yes, we have our physical exercises with our running, but for Benitez
training is about telling us how we use and keep the football. The players
like that.

"I definitely think we will play more of a possession game in future. The
manager has made it clear that for us to win more games, we need to keep
the ball.

"Sometimes you can hit the opponents hard on the attack, sometimes you have
to build slowly and keep it at the back, but it's always better for us to
have the ball."

Benitez's impact has already been seen with some attractive play in the
opening tour games against Celtic and Porto.

Riise added: "Everyone will agree that our main aim is to win matches, not
necessarily be considered the most attractive side. But if we do have
success a better style will follow, anyway. "We know we have the talent
within the squad to play much better than we have in the past.

"There's more confidence about the squad now. All of us want to play the
kind of football the fans want to see and I think under Rafa Benitez we can
play some good stuff. There is a real hunger within all the players.

"Every time you get a new manager there is a lot of optimism and I can
understand why the fans back home are excited. I think they're justified to
be so.

"I think we're happy enough with our performances so far. Pre-season is for
experimenting a bit and that's what we did against Porto. We've all been
tried in different positions. I've played left back and left midfield now.
Stevie Gerrard played right midfield on Friday.

"Against Porto we knew it would be very tight, but they took their chance
although even at the end we could have equalised."

With Liverpool in the market for a right midfielder, several players are
now being linked with the club.

Benitez is known to be an admirer of Barcelona's Luis Garcia, who could be
available on loan for a season. No approach has been made for the player yet.

The Reds also continue to be linked with long-term target Damian Duff, but
until the club can raise more cash - either through sales or outside
investment - a formal bid to Chelsea is out of the question.

Liverpool play the final match of the United States tour against Roma tomorrow.

SongLongZi
03-08-2004, 10:41 PM

but i think he direct style of playing is more effective than owen..;)

melankholy
03-08-2004, 10:56 PM
Liverpool vs Roma televised? What time?

xllms
03-08-2004, 11:01 PM
Liverpool vs Roma televised? What time?

4 august 2004 (wed)
7.55am
Chn 22 Super Sports

xllms

melankholy
04-08-2004, 12:56 AM
thanks buddy!

crazynut06
04-08-2004, 02:09 AM

but i think he direct style of playing is more effective than owen..;)

agreed:D

burger
04-08-2004, 09:52 AM
St Etienne have signed Liverpool striker Anthony Le Tallec on a year's loan.

from here (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=306068&cc=4716)

St Etienne director of sport Damien Comolli told club website: 'It's a loan that is sadly without an option to buy.

'The Liverpool directors were inflexible on that point and they know the quality of the player.'

melankholy
04-08-2004, 10:08 AM
Liverpool 2 AS Roma 1
Funny how owen got man of the match.

jan175
04-08-2004, 10:10 AM
Liverpool 2 AS Roma 1
Funny how owen got man of the match.

Yeah, basically didn't feature much, then one chance one goal..man of the match.

melankholy
04-08-2004, 10:14 AM
haha. yeah. zak whitbread didnt look too good. liverpool very sluggish.

jan175
04-08-2004, 10:19 AM
haha. yeah. zak whitbread didnt look too good. liverpool very sluggish.

They looked very tired today. Very little off the ball movement, and general pass and move was missing. On a positive note, Josemi appears promising; macham like a Spanish version of Carragher with his tough tackles, and he seems quite good going forward. Is it me or does he look a little like Faramir from LOTR?

melankholy
04-08-2004, 10:23 AM
Yeah. Josemi really whacked that 17yr old roma player. Cersi?
No idea who faramir is but kinda thought josemi would be bald.

fantasy21
04-08-2004, 10:25 AM
Originally posted by burger

at least he can play regularly or more games there.. gd luck lad...

Virus
04-08-2004, 10:36 AM

Yeah, basically didn't feature much, then one chance one goal..man of the match.
It is the typical Owen perfomance nowadays. Got 1-3 chances and score 1, without doing much the whole match.

But if he can keep scoring, I am happy.

SongLongZi
04-08-2004, 11:11 AM
Originally posted by burger

gd luck..

Ipodman
04-08-2004, 01:17 PM
Can someone comment on Baros's performance today. I really hope he will start the season with Cisse as first choice. Considering Benitez says the first half performance was very good.

Vecta
04-08-2004, 02:17 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N145578040804-0429.htm

Like a phoenix from the flames, he's risen from the ashes to revive a Liverpool career that many thought was coming to an end. The previously much-maligned Igor Biscan gives a rare and exclusive interview to Liverpoolfc.tv.

Igor, from what we've seen of you so far in pre-season you look a completely different player and seem to be enjoying your football a lot more. What would you put this down to'

It's still early days but I feel okay, whether that is down to the new manager or not I don't know. I am playing better though and I hope it can continue.

Would the fact that you have been playing back in the centre of midfield be one of the reasons'

To a certain extent, yes, I suppose so. I do prefer to play in the middle but of course most of the games I played last season were at the back. I would prefer to continue playing in the centre of midfield but the competition for places is strong and I'll have to play very well to compete for a place.

Did your confidence suffer last season as a result of playing at the back, especially when results weren't going well'

Maybe a little bit but that's no excuse. For me it was important to be playing, that was the main thing. The bad thing was we didn't perform as a team. I did everything I could to help the team play better but it wasn't to be.

When results weren't going well you often took the brunt of the fans' frustration, was you aware of this'

Yes I was, but that's not a problem. They were expecting us to challenge for the title and in the end we were only just about good enough to qualify for the Champions League. Myself and the team have to do better if we are to make them happy. We know that.

Do you feel you were made the scapegoat at times by Gerard Houllier'

No, I wouldn't say so, even though it maybe looked that way. That was his decision and I had to respect that. He gave me my chance at Liverpool and I have alot to thank him for. It is part and parcel of football. I enjoyed playing when I was in the team but sometimes you do lose your place, these things happen.

How would you describe your career at Liverpool so far, would you agree that it has not lived up to expectations'

At the beginning it was good but after that I didn't play much for two seasons. That, of course, was frustrating. Last season was okay, in terms of me being in the team. It is the most I have played, but result wise it was disappointing. I think everything I have experienced since I've been here should help me become a better player in the future. It's good for me to have gone through all this and now I am much more experienced.

Are you still enjoying your time here at Liverpool then'

Yes. Now it is better than ever. I've been here for nearly four years now. I've got to know people and I know the place a lot better.

Did you find it difficult to settle at first'

Of course. It takes time for every player to settle when they join a new club, especially when they arrive in a new country. It did take me time to adapt but that is not a problem anymore.

At a lot has been happening at this club since the end of last season, did you feel the time was right for a change in management'

People say the change was necessary but I don't know. It's not my position to say. I had a good relationship with Gerard Houllier. Now I just have to be as professional as I can and get on with my work under the new manager.

What do you make of the new boss'

He's been very good. Training has been hard, but it always is at this stage of pre-season. Time will tell but the early signs are encouraging.

There was a lot of speculation that you would be one of the players following Gerard out of Anfield, did this ever cross your mind'

No, and as far as I am concerned I will stay. There is always going to be speculation and in football you never know what is going to happen, especially before a new season. But I have no intention of leaving. I want to fight for my place at Liverpool under the new manager.

Are you confident of enjoying a successful season'

As I've said I feel okay at the moment. There's a lot of hard work ahead but if I can stay free from injury then yes I am confident.

Do you have a message for the fans'

They are the best fans and I'd like to say to them keep the faith. We will do everything we can this season to be successful and win them some trophies.

melankholy
04-08-2004, 02:20 PM
nice bloke.

Virus
04-08-2004, 05:17 PM
Originally posted by Ipodman
Can someone comment on Baros's performance today. I really hope he will start the season with Cisse as first choice. Considering Benitez says the first half performance was very good.
Not too good. Maybe he did some good off the ball running, but with the ball, he doesn't trouble much.

Judging from the 3 friendly matches, actually Cisse and Pongolle should start :p. Baros and Owen both doesn't impress me that much.

spinelli
04-08-2004, 07:48 PM
did liverpool played with a 4-3-3 formation this mrn??

spinelli
04-08-2004, 10:44 PM
anyway saw the goals.my the first goal:eek: nv seen them play such crisp short pass for ages!!

melankholy
04-08-2004, 10:48 PM
anyway saw the goals.my the first goal:eek: nv seen them play such crisp short pass for ages!!

they didnt play and pass very well for the rest of the game. looked very much like the liverpool of old. still firing longballs with no target and losing posession cheaply.

jan175
04-08-2004, 10:50 PM
did liverpool played with a 4-3-3 formation this mrn??

4-4-2

hueman
05-08-2004, 07:36 AM
LE TALLEC MOVE TO ST ETIENNE CONFIRMED
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N145587040804-1101.htm

St Etienne do not have an option to buy the player once the loan deal ends on June 30 2005

leo_llw
05-08-2004, 08:40 AM
short passes? u must have missed your captain raking those long passes that miscue miserably.....

although RB has instilled a more discipline and organised playing style, it seems that when fatigue or things dun go too well, old habits surfaced. ;)

spinelli
05-08-2004, 09:14 AM

short passes? u must have missed your captain raking those long passes that miscue miserably.....

although RB has instilled a more discipline and organised playing style, it seems that when fatigue or things dun go too bad, old habits surfaced. ;)

well as i have said,i only saw the goals.anyway surely we dun expect RB to chg things overnight do we??

X18
05-08-2004, 09:46 AM

although RB has instilled a more discipline and organised playing style, it seems that when fatigue or things dun go too bad, old habits surfaced. ;)

Did u watch the Roma match yesterday? I dun think Gerrard missed any LONG passes yesterday, unless I was BLIND for the whole match.

anyway, our captain just played 37 minutes..:(.

Ipodman
05-08-2004, 12:55 PM
As the saying goes "old habits die hard".

Looks like Houllier's damage to the club runs deeper than I thought.

they didnt play and pass very well for the rest of the game. looked very much like the liverpool of old. still firing longballs with no target and losing posession cheaply.

Virus
05-08-2004, 01:40 PM
What is more important now is that the team don't look struggling when they are playing. Last season they look like they are struggling playing every match lol.

SongLongZi
05-08-2004, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by hueman
LE TALLEC MOVE TO ST ETIENNE CONFIRMED
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N145587040804-1101.htm

St Etienne do not have an option to buy the player once the loan deal ends on June 30 2005

come back with a bang!!

Mohawks
05-08-2004, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by Virus
What is more important now is that the team don't look struggling when they are playing. Last season they look like they are struggling playing every match lol.
yeah.... especially when they are behind...

the last 2 games when they went behind, woah... immediately played better and attack so much...

melankholy
05-08-2004, 07:26 PM
pongolle looked like ronaldinho...

silent_espy
06-08-2004, 10:26 AM
Pongolle is gd will def be a future star, le tallec is also another gem will only get better. As for biscan, he is a skilfull midfielder i think RB can try using him together with gerrard drop hamann to the bench. Biscan loves to come forward and does possess a gd touch on the ball and can defend when the need arises.

Virus
06-08-2004, 01:43 PM
Originally posted by silent_espy
Pongolle is gd will def be a future star, le tallec is also another gem will only get better. As for biscan, he is a skilfull midfielder i think RB can try using him together with gerrard drop hamann to the bench. Biscan loves to come forward and does possess a gd touch on the ball and can defend when the need arises.
Biscan is more like a Gerrard-type of player. I think he will be used as a backup for Stevie if he happens to get injured.

Didi Harmann is more the anchorman allowing Gerrard/Biscan to roam forward. Diao is the backup for Harmann if he happens to get injured.

leo_llw
06-08-2004, 03:04 PM

well as i have said,i only saw the goals.anyway surely we dun expect RB to chg things overnight do we??
yeah....RB is no doubt a quality coach....you guys finally know how to pick a coach....unlike those goondos at White Hart Lane ;)

Anyway, with Newcastle and United plague by injuries, Arsenal by transfer uncertainty(morale down), you guys got a chance of making a headstart with Chelsea :laugh:

wengwaz
06-08-2004, 05:42 PM
P.Aimar (CM)
I.Biscan (CM )
S.Gerrard (RWM)
H.Kewell (LWM)

The Complete Midfielders' Puzzle ?!?

Tomorrow's Dream Perhaps ...

SongLongZi
06-08-2004, 07:25 PM
BAROS: MY BARCELONA DREAM

The Liverpool striker is looking forward to a new season under new boss Rafael Benitez and, despite all the speculation following his goalscoring exploits at Euro 2004, he says he wants to stay at Anfield and compete for a striking berth along with Michael Owen, Djibril Cisse and Florent Sinama Pongolle.

However, the 23 year old has admitted he would only consider bringing his Liverpool career to an end if Spanish giants Barcelona came calling for his services.

He said: "I always wanted to play in the English league and I had one club, Barcelona. My first dream is done.

"I am happy I can play for Liverpool. It's a big club with great fans. I like everything here. But you can't be with Liverpool for 10 or 12 years. That doesn't happen in football, you change a club and you will leave. Everyone changes a club in his career.

"I wanted to leave in the summer if the manager did not change. I wanted to go, but after I came back there was a new manager and a new situation.

"The manager Rafa Benitez asked me about the future, not about the past. He just asked me what would happen if Barcelona came in. We just spoke like that.

"I don't know what is happening now. I said to the manager if somebody else came in I wanted to stay, but if it was Barcelona it would be nice to go there. I told him when I was a kid it was my dream to play for Barcelona. To move to them would be nice, but if not I will stay here. I will fight for my place and do my best for Liverpool.

"I think Liverpool need more than two strikers. We are going to play so many games. You can't play all the season with two strikers, you need at least four. We will see who is going to play and how the manager is going to change the strikers."

SongLongZi
06-08-2004, 07:26 PM
JOSEMI: RAFA IS NOT DEFENSIVE

New signing Josemi says Liverpool fans can look forward to an exciting brand of football under boss Rafael Benitez.
The Spanish defender knows all about Benitez's reputation from his time with Malaga and he insists there is no way the Reds' new boss will adopt a defensive style of play at Anfield.

"When you look at what he has achieved with Valencia, two league titles and the UEFA Cup in three seasons, he is very highly regarded in Spain for obvious reasons," said the young right back.

"And with the quality of front players we have got here at Liverpool, it is hard to imagine that Liverpool are going to be considered as a defensive unit.

"The manager will obviously concentrate on defending as the base of the side, but I have no doubt he will want us to attack at every opportunity.

"I think he is going to bring some great results here for Liverpool.
The manager is very well known for his tactical knowledge, planning and reactions, he is known in Spain for working very, very hard on things like that.

"I do believe we can make a serious challenge for the title, and it is not just because of the strikers. Liverpool have got quality all over the pitch, not just up front.

"The likes of Sami Hyypia, Steven Gerrard in midfield plus the forwards that we have got, I believe I have joined a club who are going to do good things this season."

SongLongZi
06-08-2004, 07:30 PM
Kewell pledges loyalty to Aussie cause

Liverpool's Harry Kewell has vowed to play for Australia 'anywhere, any place' despite controversy over his loyalty to his homeland.

Kewell suffered persistent ankle problems last season and said he could not make long haul flights to matches because of the injury.

It meant he did not fly to play in a friendly in Venezuela at the height of Liverpool's battle to clinch fourth place in the Premiership.

That caused uproar Down Under and Kewell's attitude to international matches for Australia was questioned.

But Kewell has spent the summer recovering from the injury and having treatment and, having declared himself fully fit for the season, insists he will play for his country when they want him, even if it means 24 flights back home mid-season.

Kewell said: 'I have had a good rest and good treatment over the summer so my ankle is fine now. I have had flak in Australia, but when do I not get flak from Australia?

'It is part and parcel of my situation. I have had those problems for eight years, ever since I came to play in the UK.

'But I still love playing for Australia. I will always be there for them. And that means wherever it is, anywhere.

'If it means going back to Australia, okay. It is my home country and I will go back there for games. It is a bit of a trek but it has got to be done.'

Kewell last played for Australia last season in a friendly match against South Africa played at QPR's Loftus Road ground.

And it could be claimed that he has chosen a perfect time to make such a sweeping promise about future matches because Australia do not have any competitive matches coming up.

They may well play another friendly in the UK during November, but Kewell will not have to prove his promise to fly home to Australia mid-season for some while.

Meanwhile he has also dismissed claims that he could miss the start of the season with a shin injury.

Kewell said: 'I really do not know where that came from, I have had a minor problem but I have not missed a day's training or any of our pre-season matches and I am fully fit and ready for the season.'

He was also unable to shed any light on claims that his former Anfield manager Gerard Houllier could soon be involved with Australian soccer.

The Aussie authorities have been quick to dismiss suggestions that Houllier is being lined up to replace coach Frank Farina.

Kewell said: 'One or two of the boys have mentioned that they had read about it but the players are always the last to know.

'But it would not bother me, Frank Farina is doing a great job and I would expect him to stay in charge of the team.'

Now Kewell is just waiting for the season to start, which for Liverpool means a Champions League third qualifying round first leg away to AK Graz in Austria on Tuesday.

And after spending so many months last term carrying an ankle injury, Kewell cannot wait to get going again.

He said: 'I'm not disappointed with my goals last season, I got into double figures, but they were mainly at the start of the season. I had two seasons in one and later on I did not get many goals and there were problems.

'I was carrying an injury, but it is still no excuse. No player would do that or take it into consideration. But people did not know the situation and I did get criticism, that's the way it goes.'

SongLongZi
06-08-2004, 07:32 PM
New Reds Owen deal is 'getting closer'

Liverpool ace Michael Owen could sign his new contract before the Premiership season kicks off on Saturday week.

The striker has gone on record saying that he is happy at Liverpool because 'the club is in my blood' but the all-important day when he finally puts pen to paper on a new three-year contract is still to come.

But he has returned from Liverpool's US tour insisting that an agreement is a step nearer after meetings were held between the club and his agent Tony Stephens in New York last week.

And crucially, Owen sees the next week as vital in the process which will finally see him put an end to months of speculation.

Owen said: 'There is no rush, but there has been a meeting in New York last week and there will be another one next week.'

That will take place probably without Owen's involvement while he is away with Liverpool in Austria for their Champions League third qualifying round first leg with Graz AK next Tuesday.

But by the time the Premiership starts at Tottenham the following Saturday, Owen could well have given the go-ahead to the deal.

He said: 'People were talking about the talks months ago, before they had even started. And in fact we have only had about four or five meetings.

'And at the moment there is no agreement because I haven't signed anything. But it is getting closer. As I say, there is no rush but it is not a problem. Next week's meeting will iron a few more things out.'

Liverpool will then hope that they can put an end to what is over a year of complicated negotiations. Owen is now in the final year of his contract and will almost certainly sign a new three-year deal on over #80,000 a week.

That would be a second major coup for new boss Rafael Benitez and the Liverpool hierarchy, having seen Steven Gerrard turn down a move to Chelsea this summer and commit himself to Anfield.

SongLongZi
06-08-2004, 09:12 PM
HAPPY HARRY BACK ON THE LEFT

Harry Kewell has revealed he'll become Anfield's wide-boy again this season after being told by Rafael Benitez he'll be playing on the left side of midfield.
Kewell operated in a number of positions under previous boss Gerard Houllier, floating between left and right midfield and even playing up front in some matches.

However, Benitez has stated the Aussie star will be a left sided player this term - and Kewell couldn't be happier with the news.

"The new boss has given me a good idea of where he wants me to play, which is wide on the left - and that's fine by me," he said

"I just have to concentrate on that position now and once I get that straight in my mind I think things will be fine.

"Once you know you have a position it helps, but don't get me wrong. I loved playing up front, I love playing wide on the right or the left. I just love playing.

"It doesn't matter, but if you can just concentrate on the one position it is better.

"You know where you should be at set pieces and things, but in a game things can change and you may have to switch to different positions anyway.

"I started my career on the left, but because we had injuries I played up front and I probably had one of the best seasons of my career up front.

"But it's the boss's team and he decides where everyone plays."

Kewell is hoping a return to his favoured position will see him return to the sort of form which saw his Liverpool career get off to a great start in the first half of last season.

By his own admission, Kewell's form dipped after Christmas but he's now intent on reigniting his Anfield career and establishing himself as a key player in the new manager's plans.

"I'm not disappointed with my goals return," he said. "I scored about 12 goals but I scored them all at the start and it was like two seasons within a season for me.

"In the second half I didn't really get that many and that's what I'm disappointed about. Sure, I was carrying an injury but I don't take that into consideration.

"But I'm fine now. I don't know where that story came from pre-season that I was injured again! I had a bit of a problem with my shin from a kick, but after treatment I was fine.

"I haven't missed one training session or one match pre-season so there's no problem with my fitness.

"Because I had a good rest and treatment over the summer my ankle is all fine now."

spinelli
06-08-2004, 11:03 PM
Originally posted by Virus

Biscan is more like a Gerrard-type of player. I think he will be used as a backup for Stevie if he happens to get injured.

Didi Harmann is more the anchorman allowing Gerrard/Biscan to roam forward. Diao is the backup for Harmann if he happens to get injured.

err i think diao is more like a back-up to whoever is not playing,injured or suspended :rolleyes:

heygal
07-08-2004, 12:14 AM
Originally posted by wengwaz
P.Aimar (CM)
I.Biscan (CM )
S.Gerrard (RWM)
H.Kewell (LWM)

The Complete Midfielders' Puzzle ?!?

Tomorrow's Dream Perhaps ...

stevie is never a right winger , his talent will be wasted there . we have to build the team around him , even to the extend to accomodate for him to flourish to a true world class player.

SongLongZi
07-08-2004, 12:23 AM

stevie is never a right winger , his talent will be wasted there . we have to build the team around him , even to the extend to accomodate for him to flourish to a true world class player.

i agreed with you..he is much better in the centre.

melankholy
07-08-2004, 12:38 AM
for one, i think gerrard would make a good right mid. he plays somewhat like beckham only gerrard can run down opponents and very aggressive in tackling. his long balls are like beckhams too only beckham usually finds his target. he does tend to drift wide also. building a team around a player is never a good idea. see what happened when houllier built around owen; long balls to and fro. If gerrard goes down injured... you'll be in deep trouble

hueman
07-08-2004, 12:40 AM
but building a team around a core player can be very vulnerable.
esp if the player got injured or leave the team. having said that, i'm still an admirer of stevie and hope we can win honours and he can stay for a long long time.

mingming2
08-08-2004, 04:17 PM
Liverpool have accepted an offer in the region of £3 million for midfielder Danny Murphy from Tottenham Hotspur.
The 27-year-old has two years remaining on his present Anfield contract but looks set for a move to pasteurs new with Spurs after Liverpool accepted a bid from the London club.

Charlton Athletic and Everton are also believed to be ready to make a move for Murphy but neither club at this stage have made a bid for the player.

Liverpool FC Head of press Ian Cotton said: "I can confirm that Liverpool have accepted an offer from Tottenham Hotspur for Danny Murphy."

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N145613040808-0905.htm

Mohawks
08-08-2004, 04:29 PM
Originally posted by mingming2
Liverpool have accepted an offer in the region of £3 million for midfielder Danny Murphy from Tottenham Hotspur.
The 27-year-old has two years remaining on his present Anfield contract but looks set for a move to pasteurs new with Spurs after Liverpool accepted a bid from the London club.

Charlton Athletic and Everton are also believed to be ready to make a move for Murphy but neither club at this stage have made a bid for the player.

Liverpool FC Head of press Ian Cotton said: "I can confirm that Liverpool have accepted an offer from Tottenham Hotspur for Danny Murphy."

i like Murphy

jan175
08-08-2004, 04:32 PM
Yeah, Murphy is a not bad squad player.

hmm...his sale and departure could mean Benitez is bringing someone in.

*keeping fingers crossed*

spinelli
08-08-2004, 06:05 PM

i like Murphy

me too...:(

spinelli
08-08-2004, 06:06 PM
WTF.we have almost sold the whole midfield.RB better bring in some new players...or else he's gonna get it from me :mad:

hueman
08-08-2004, 06:25 PM
murphy's good. but he wants at least 40 to 50 1st team games in a season. i dun see him egtting this much. to be fair to him, he gets better chances elsewhere.

now that smicer is injured and murphy could be gone. we desperately need a wide player on the right.

SongLongZi
08-08-2004, 07:01 PM
murphy's good. but he wants at least 40 to 50 1st team games in a season. i dun see him egtting this much. to be fair to him, he gets better chances elsewhere.

now that smicer is injured and murphy could be gone. we desperately need a wide player on the right.

correct.! we seriously need a good wide player on the right now!!!

CanIsayNo
08-08-2004, 07:53 PM
who will replace him?

is there anyone who can replace him at the moment? or does RB have to do some shopping

SongLongZi
08-08-2004, 08:11 PM
joaquin?

RickHunterX
08-08-2004, 09:31 PM
noooo....not murphy!!
~~~~~>_<~~~~~

Virus
08-08-2004, 10:53 PM
Xabi Alonso .... ~pray~ :D

I think Benitez has someone lined up already after Danny's departure....

melankholy
08-08-2004, 11:24 PM
FIGO> HAHA

spinelli
09-08-2004, 12:35 AM
we better have good news within the next 3 days...knn...

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 12:46 AM
WTF.we have almost sold the whole midfield.RB better bring in some new players...or else he's gonna get it from me :mad:
u think you can managed better than him? (not trying to pick a fight here)

The Valencia of 2001 under Hector Cuper were dismantled (Gerard to Barca, Mendieta to Lazio, C. López to Lazio, Farinós to Inter, Kily González to Inter, Angloma to retirement) and he never had much to spent yet won them the title in 2002 against much illustrious opponents such as Barca and Real.

what is offloading Murphy? (granted he is a good squad player)

You guys should trust him....success might takes time but Pool should be in the right track. Imagine if you guys have appointed Santini.... :laugh:

jan175
09-08-2004, 01:06 AM

The Valencia of 2001 under Hector Cuper were dismantled (Gerard to Barca, Mendieta to Lazio, C. López to Lazio, Farinós to Inter, Kily González to Inter, Angloma to retirement) and he never had much to spent yet won them the title in 2002 against much illustrious opponents such as Barca and Real.

You guys should trust him....success might takes time but Pool should be in the right track. Imagine if you guys have appointed Santini.... :laugh:

well said.

I believe Benitez to be the right man for the job. And it's good LFC supporters all over give him that mandate and time to do things his way. I like the way the pool board and manager do thing: keeping the cards close to their chest, and not with trumpets and fanfare. Lets trust in Beni and have faith in him. The wheels seem to be moving in the right direction, slowly but surely. YNWA.

melankholy
09-08-2004, 01:09 AM
i believe in a cartoon, liverpool would be the good guys :D

RickHunterX
09-08-2004, 02:31 AM
i think we r going to miss a lot of penalties again this season >_<

CanIsayNo
09-08-2004, 02:39 AM
i think we r going to miss a lot of penalties again this season >_<
i hope owen stops taking penalties

orca_sea
09-08-2004, 03:24 AM
Originally posted by mingming2

Haiz.. juz a hardworking player on his exit (juz like Man U's Butt) liao.. anyway .. i guess itz Liverpool's loss n some other team's gain..:(

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 10:58 AM

well said.

I believe Benitez to be the right man for the job. And it's good LFC supporters all over give him that mandate and time to do things his way. I like the way the pool board and manager do thing: keeping the cards close to their chest, and not with trumpets and fanfare. Lets trust in Beni and have faith in him. The wheels seem to be moving in the right direction, slowly but surely. YNWA.
I personally is an Arsenal fan....and when Wenger was appointed back then, most of us were wtf...however Wenger had since proved us all wrong.

Give RB sometime man....Liverpool were in the doldrums for a decade now....no harm waiting for a couple of years to see the result right? ;)

spinelli
09-08-2004, 11:20 AM

well i din say i can manage better than him did i??surely i can comment since its a club i support since i was a child??non pool fan pls stop commenting,at least down here :mad:

wengwaz
09-08-2004, 11:23 AM
for one, i think gerrard would make a good right mid. he plays somewhat like beckham only gerrard can run down opponents and very aggressive in tackling. his long balls are like beckhams too only beckham usually finds his target. he does tend to drift wide also. building a team around a player is never a good idea. see what happened when houllier built around owen; long balls to and fro. If gerrard goes down injured... you'll be in deep trouble

Ahh ... good thougts!

Btw, there's a strong rumour goin' on that Owen maybe set to move to a spanish club http://forums.liverpoolfc.tv/Forum3/HTML/312467.html

Anyone care to guess ?

Souljer
09-08-2004, 03:33 PM
U guys shldn't feel so bad abt Murphy going off. If the rumours are to be believed, a much better player is coming in.

http://football.guardian.co.uk/News_Story/0,1563,1279064,00.html
Liverpool will attempt to secure the signing of the Real Sociedad midfielder Xabi Alonso this week after agreeing to sell Danny Murphy to Tottenham Hotspur for £2.5m.
Rafael Benítez was at Goodison Park on Saturday to watch the 22-year-old Spain international play the first half of a 2-2 friendly draw with Everton. The Anfield club will instigate talks today and are ready to offer about £12m for a player who interested Real Madrid this summer and more recently attracted scouts from Arsenal.

Liverpool had originally targeted Alonso, primarily considered a defensive midfielder, to succeed Steven Gerrard when the England international appeared intent on a move to Chelsea. Gerrard's subsequent decision to remain at Anfield briefly cooled Benítez's interest, until now.

Should Liverpool's pursuit prove successful Alonso would become his compatriot's second signing, after the arrival of the defender Josemi, another Spaniard.

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 04:01 PM

well i din say i can manage better than him did i??surely i can comment since its a club i support since i was a child??non pool fan pls stop commenting,at least down here :mad:
well, I thought a long standing Liverpool fan should know better.... :laugh:

anyway good luck on the coming seasons :D

jan175
09-08-2004, 04:29 PM

All the best to Arsenal too in the coming season. Congrats for the win over the Mancs. :D

RickHunterX
09-08-2004, 05:00 PM

I dun see why you should pick on spinelli's comments.

RB's got a good repute and track record......so? That doesnt warrent blind faith in him. Trust is something thats built over time.
Granted managers have to make unpopular decisions for the good of the team, but that doesn't mean we fans can't rant about it. Besides, whos to say it will not turn out a terrible decision in the near future?

Im not picking a fight wif u but i just thought that u made spinelli look bad and he doesnt deserve it

spinelli
09-08-2004, 05:49 PM

RB's got a good repute and track record......so? That doesnt warrent blind faith in him. Trust is something thats built over time.
Granted managers have to make unpopular decisions for the good of the team, but that doesn't mean we fans can't rant about it. Besides, whos to say it will not turn out a terrible decision in the near future?

Im not picking a fight wif u but i just thought that u made spinelli look bad and he doesnt deserve it

thanks bro :D

heygal
09-08-2004, 08:52 PM
i think its pretty obvious here that rafa need to sell b4 he can buy , so he might be left with no other choices. kind of pity that we dont have the resources to keep murphy even though hes nowhere near world class but nonetheless he would have make a capable backup.

leo_llw
09-08-2004, 09:35 PM

hahaha....i stated earlier i didn't meant to pick a fight.

Your fellow pool pal says RB will "get it from him" if RB didn't bring in decent replacements after off-loading Murphy..... who the heck we think we are?

RB is employed by LFC and whatever he do, he is answerable to his employers. Fans can certainly question a decision or can complain abt it pubicly, but "RB better bring in some new players...or else he's gonna get it from me" is too much.

If you say a good repute and track doesn't warrant blind faith from the fans/club, I can agree with you. But such manager who have done it gives you a certain assurrance and greater degree of success unlike if you appoint Brechin manager Dick Campbell.
Dick who? :confused:

Gd Nite :)

mizera
09-08-2004, 09:40 PM
Murphy will be missed, but definitely not on the pitch, there are just too many players out there who do a better job than him.

With regards to penalty kicks, Owen will still be taking them even if spud's around, and if not there's always our new boy Cisse.

Joaquin we may not attract or afford (sad but true), but how about Etxeberria?

hueman
10-08-2004, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by mizera
Murphy will be missed, but definitely not on the pitch, there are just too many players out there who do a better job than him.

With regards to penalty kicks, Owen will still be taking them even if spud's around, and if not there's always our new boy Cisse.

Joaquin we may not attract or afford (sad but true), but how about Etxeberria?

Etxeberria!?!? yea... he is GOOD i must say. tho not young anymore, but i certainly dun mind an old head in this young team.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 12:34 AM
WEST HAM'S CARRICK CLOSE TO LIVERPOOL MOVE
Internet Report 09 August 2004

Danny Murphy's imminent switch to Tottenham Hotspur will see in-demand West Ham midfielder Michael Carrick join Liverpool by the end of the week, reports Having A Ball website.

Murphy's departure will mark the arrival of another England international at Anfield, in the form of West Ham's 22-year-old creative midfielder Michael Carrick.

The Anfield club accepted a bid believed to be in the region of £3million from Spurs for Murphy.

Liverpool's Head of Press, Ian Cotton, revealed at the weekend: "I can confirm that Liverpool have accepted an offer from Tottenham Hotspur for Danny Murphy."

Carrick's availability has seen a scramble for his signature, with Arsenal, Charlton, Spurs, Crystal Palace and Everton all mooted to be interested after Portsmouth's club record £2.5m bid was rejected.

Reports on Merseyside had suggested Carrick was moving closer to an Everton move, although now it emerges that Liverpool could be the midfielder's destination.

Carrick alerted a number of top-flight clubs since refusing to sign a new contract with the Hammers because of his desire to play Premiership football and further his international experience.

Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez sees Carrick as an ideal midfield partner for Steven Gerrard who has committed his long-term future to the Reds, whilst Carrick is dreaming of an Anfield move. He has realised that his chances of regular first-team football at Arsenal are limited.

West Ham - reluctant to see their star man go - are willing to listen to offers for Carrick in the region of £4m, but insist that all derisory bids will be rejected.

RickHunterX
10-08-2004, 12:43 AM
somehow i dun see this to be true as there's no way RB has seen Carrick play b4!

I think Xabi Alonso is the true target......but its a complicated affair. Apparently, Sociedad were ready to sell him to Real but Real wants Vieira now. Meanwhile, Sociedad have already signed a replacement for Xabi. :rolleyes:

spinelli
10-08-2004, 01:00 AM

Etxeberria!?!? yea... he is GOOD i must say. tho not young anymore, but i certainly dun mind an old head in this young team.

yeah we certainly need an old head.rem during the treble season,we had macllister around.look what happened after he's gone?pool's current team is too young IMO

mizera
10-08-2004, 02:29 AM

hmm, think he's only 27? Can lah, still have quite a few more years in him.

spinelli
10-08-2004, 03:12 AM
Graz game a clue to Owen future

Michael Owen's whole Liverpool future will depend on whether he plays in the club's Champions League crunch qualifier in Graz.
It is believed that Liverpool are in the middle of a delicate piece of brinkmanship over the England striker's new contract.

Barcelona are believed to be interested in Owen but are very much aware that if he plays against the Austrian double winners Graz AK his transfer valuation will slump because he will be cup-tied in all UEFA tournaments this season.

Owen has been cagey in recent days about his new contract after 15 months of negotiation.

Last week he implied he was on the brink of signing a new three-year contact that would have given manager Rafael Benitez a major boost as he approached the new Premiership season.

But those talks appear to have hit a snag with the clear implication that Owen is being pressured into signing before the Champions League starts, and that is something his advisors will not allow to happen, with initially Barcelona and possibly also Real Madrid showing interest.

And in Benitez's media conference tonight, he pointedly refused to dispel those fears when given several opportunities to confirm that Owen would be in the starting line-up against Graz.

Benitez said: 'Michael is on my list and he can play, I never name my team but he can play, he is listed.

'It is an important match and we will see then, but I do not want to talk about one player.'

Throughout the day there had been rumours of a problem over the contract negotiations and it had even been suggested that Owen was unwilling to make himself available because of the delicate position he found himself in.

Milan Baros has already been primed to play alongside Djibril Cisse up front for Liverpool in a critical game they dare not lose, with around £13million riding on the result.

The other argument is that Liverpool may also not want to have their young striker cup-tied if his contract negotiations break down completely, and they will be left looking for a deal before the transfer deadline arrives on August 31.

If he plays and then rejects the contract, Liverpool could lose him for nothing next summer with under one year of his contract still to run.

The could also find his valuation slashed either in this transfer window, or even worse, come January.

A player who may be worth £20million could end up being sold for a fraction of that.

But Benitez declined to explain the situation, and added: 'I cannot talk about the future. I have 19 players here in Austria and Michael is on that list.

'I can pick him and if he plays it is because he is the right player for the game. If he does not it is because another player is considered better, nothing more than that.

'I do not name my teams until the day of the game and this team will not be named until 30 minutes before the game.

'I have nothing to say about his contract, I will decide what is my team. He is here with us and can play.'

The new coach's attitude will have done nothing to dispel fears amongst Liverpool fans that all is not well in the club's relationship with one of the best strikers in Europe.

The Spanish coach, who has seen 10 players leave this summer either on loan or free deals, was also in the process of selling Danny Murphy to Tottenham.

The England midfielder, Owen's best pal in the squad and a friend since childhood, was stunned to be told he had no future at the club by Benitez at the weekend.

Benitez said: 'For me it is important for this match that I do not talk about individual players.

'Michael has travelled and I can use him if I want. My job is to pick the best team for this big match which is very, very important to us.

'I will decide during the night my team and formation. All the 19 players here can play.

'I have nothing to say about the contract, I am only talking about whether he plays or does not play, the rest is the future.'

knn i had enuff!!he want to leave ley him!!:mad:

melankholy
10-08-2004, 03:39 AM
sell the dude off!!
buy back anelka.. :D

hueman
10-08-2004, 09:52 AM
Murphy demands kill Spurs transfer
( http://soccernet.espn.go.com/headlinenews?id=306587&cc=4716 )

Tottenham have pulled out of talks to sign Liverpool midfielder Danny Murphy because they could not guarantee him first-team football, according to the north London club.
The England international had been linked with a move to White Hart Lane after falling out of favour under new Reds boss Rafael Benitez.

A statement on Tottenham's official website read: 'As has been widely reported, the club has been in negotiations with Liverpool regarding Danny Murphy.

'We have now withdrawn from these negotiations following a meeting with the player.

'We acknowledge that a guaranteed first-team place was a deciding factor in his decision and wish him well.'

then
10-08-2004, 01:16 PM
just sell off owen lah.

his heart is no longer with the club. must have so many conditions before he stays.

as if he is still at his peak. even at his prime, he is nowhere near fowler's best.

spinelli
10-08-2004, 02:05 PM
just sell off owen lah.

his heart is no longer with the club. must have so many conditions before he stays.

as if he is still at his peak. even at his prime, he is nowhere near fowler's best.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 02:36 PM
just sell off owen lah.

:)

Ipodman
10-08-2004, 03:11 PM
Couldn't agree more:)

just sell off owen lah.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 05:23 PM
Owen 'thinking over move to Real'

LONDON, Aug 10 (Reuters) - Liverpool striker Michael Owen is considering a move to Real Madrid, according to British newspaper reports on Tuesday.

Real are willing to pay £10million in cash for Owen while sending £15million-rated Fernando Morientes or Real Mallorca's Samuel Eto'o to Liverpool in a package deal worth £25million, the reports said.

The Madrid club own a £7million stake in Eto'o and would have to pay Mallorca £8million to conclude the package deal, the newspapers said.

England international Owen's contract at Liverpool runs out at the end of this coming season, when he would be able to leave the club on a free transfer.

Owen told reporters last week he could agree a new contract with the club before the premier league season starts on Aug. 14.

The 24-year-old striker scored 19 goals last season for Liverpool and is in their squad for the Champions League third qualifying round, first leg tie with Graz AK in Austria later on Tuesday.

NHT
10-08-2004, 06:05 PM
agree, very frustrated with him.
RB trying to rebuild the team and prepare for the important match tonight and yet he's trying to upset the team morale :(

call himself a true Liverpudlian n Scouser :confused: but holding the club to ransom?

just sell off owen lah.

samshio
10-08-2004, 06:20 PM
if you notice the news reports, there are no quotes from either owen, liverpool, benetiz, real madrid nor barca.

How true is this piece of news ?

It's probably some speculation by some tabloids.

Owen has quoted that he will most likely sign the contract. So unless something drastic occurs, we'll see won't we.

dy_lan
10-08-2004, 06:20 PM
Hai~
So many pool player unsettled when the season is juz a week away. Hamman, finnan, Murphy, Owen, Baros and of cos diouf all might be leaving pool. So many transfer out and yet so little transfer in. I dun mind selling owen for another striker fast, maybe exchange for morientes(spelling) as part of a deal for owen. Anyway, hope pool can get another mid, preferably right mid and a stirker if owen really goes

crazynut06
10-08-2004, 06:28 PM
just sell off owen lah.

agreed!....
fowler is still my fav anfield player.....

sell owen...his heart is not at liverpool anyway....no use keeping a player who always think of playing for other clubs...
"liverpool is in my blood"....what a joke

CanIsayNo
10-08-2004, 06:49 PM
fowler is "GOD" after all...

his injury wrecked his future, and owen overshadowed him

i think many here, including myself, prefer fowler(at his peak), over owen(at his peak)

melankholy
10-08-2004, 07:10 PM
yup. fowler. what a waste.. :(

RickHunterX
10-08-2004, 07:17 PM
Originally posted by samshio
if you notice the news reports, there are no quotes from either owen, liverpool, benetiz, real madrid nor barca.

How true is this piece of news ?

It's probably some speculation by some tabloids.

Owen has quoted that he will most likely sign the contract. So unless something drastic occurs, we'll see won't we.

He's been saying tat for a year liao.....and still hasn't signed. Enuff said

RickHunterX
10-08-2004, 07:21 PM
Originally posted by CanIsayNo

i think many here, including myself, prefer fowler(at his peak), over owen(at his peak)

Even Keegan cannot bring the best back in him.....he gone case liao :(

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 07:37 PM

really gone case..

melankholy
10-08-2004, 07:38 PM
any idea if liverpool vs GAK will be shown live on cable?
What time and when?

melankholy
10-08-2004, 07:42 PM
btw, you guys bought this seasons jersey?
Wanna ask my aunt bring back from england..

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 07:46 PM
any idea if liverpool vs GAK will be shown live on cable?
What time and when?

i think no live...

melankholy
10-08-2004, 07:55 PM

i think no live...

CanIsayNo
10-08-2004, 08:23 PM
chan 22 showing from 2.40am onwards.. i think

leo_llw
10-08-2004, 08:25 PM

Fowler is lethal....he knows where the goal is no matter where he is on the pitch...

he is intelligent somemore...

but besides injury, he is one lazy bum. refuses to work hard to improve on his gifts, keep down his weight. keep cheong the night life....drink booze, visit prostitute :(

melankholy
10-08-2004, 08:28 PM
just checked. no live telecast.

melankholy
10-08-2004, 08:31 PM
Got live! 2.40am later tonight. Channel 22. everybody tune in!

Stalker99
10-08-2004, 08:42 PM
murphy sold to charlton for $2.5m

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:04 PM
Tuesday, August 10, 2004

Liverpool make bid for Spanish star

Real Sociedad today confirmed they have received a formal approach from Liverpool for Xabi Alonso and that they are prepared to sell the Spain midfielder.
The Basque club announced they had received a bid - thought to be worth £10.7million - in a statement issued after training today.

'Liverpool representatives have been in San Sebastian where they met Real Sociedad executives,' read the statement.

'In the meeting the English representatives showed their interest in signing the player and at the same time the Spanish club expressed an interest in selling the player.'

Xabi Alonso had been linked with Real Madrid but with the Spanish giants apparently keen on Arsenal midfielder Patrick Vieira it now appears as though Liverpool, who today also sold Danny Murphy to Charlton for £2.5million, are in pole position.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:07 PM

noted.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:10 PM
Danny Murphy has completed his 2.5 million move to fellow Premiership club Charlton Athletic ending a seven year association with Liverpool.
Murphy becomes the second player to leave Anfield permanently this summer after Markus Babbel's departure to Germany.

Murphy was signed for Liverpool by Roy Evans from Crewe Alexandra for 2.5 million in 1997 and after 249 appearances for the Reds scoring 44 goals departs for pasteurs new with Charlton.

Charlton manager Alan Curbishley, speaking on the Addicks official website said: "Danny is a player we have been tracking for some time, but he only became available last week.

"We moved in straight away and, although he was publicly linked with other clubs, we were always confident we would sign Danny. The fact he has chosen to come here over a number of other Premiership clubs is an endorsement of what we are trying to achieve at Charlton.

"I also believe the fact that Charlton have signed an England international from one of this country's biggest clubs shows our tactics in the transfer market are paying off.

"We have remained patient and stayed focused on bringing in the type and quality of player we have always felt we needed."

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:16 PM
does any1 know what position Xabi Alonso play in?..from what i he is a defensive midfielder player..can any comfirm this???

CanIsayNo
10-08-2004, 09:22 PM
centre mid from what i know...

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:26 PM

comfirm? i read the starhub cable tv programme guide..no have leh..

melankholy
10-08-2004, 09:37 PM
i got news from #liverpool in IRC. should be legit.

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:40 PM
i got news from #liverpool in IRC. should be legit.

comfirmed got liao..thanks anyway..

___jeff
10-08-2004, 09:47 PM
does any1 know what position Xabi Alonso play in?..from what i he is a defensive midfielder player..can any comfirm this???

defensive central midfielder

i was hoping he will be the replacement of vieira if he were to go

SongLongZi
10-08-2004, 09:52 PM
Originally posted by ___jeff

defensive central midfielder

i was hoping he will be the replacement of vieira if he were to go

is still not too late for arsenal to sign him now..

___jeff
10-08-2004, 10:01 PM
anyway he is highly rated for his skills and workrate at just 21.

jan175
11-08-2004, 12:19 AM
argh...got live match..darn, must sleep first then wake to watch again..sigh.

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 12:34 AM
argh...got live match..darn, must sleep first then wake to watch again..sigh.

after the match i still gotta go back camp..:(

Aozora
11-08-2004, 01:29 AM

after the match i still gotta go back camp..:(

wah so sad siah. haha then hope that Liverpool wins so that you'll go back to camp a happy man then heh

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 02:01 AM
Originally posted by Aozora

wah so sad siah. haha then hope that Liverpool wins so that you'll go back to camp a happy man then heh

actually is 2359 1..but becos of liverpool..i booking b4 0600..cheers.

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 02:43 AM
owen not in the starting 11...sub..

spinelli
11-08-2004, 02:45 AM
hurray=p

then
11-08-2004, 02:47 AM
good, good, good. owen is on the bench

spinelli
11-08-2004, 02:49 AM
imagine finnan as a right winger....

melankholy
11-08-2004, 03:07 AM
basket la.. got reception problem..

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 03:07 AM
breakdown in transmission....:mad:

then
11-08-2004, 03:10 AM
goal !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

melankholy
11-08-2004, 03:11 AM
har? who score? i cant bloody see

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 03:11 AM
1 nil!!!!! steven gerrard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

melankholy
11-08-2004, 03:12 AM
** lar. i cant see~~~

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 03:14 AM
nb...still cant see too....

spinelli
11-08-2004, 03:18 AM
can liao!!knn baros only score for czech sibo:mad:

then
11-08-2004, 03:19 AM
got to make do with soccernet live commentary for the time being

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 03:31 AM
good 1st half for liverpool..passing the ball very well..sami hyypia looking dangerous in set pieces..

spinelli
11-08-2004, 03:32 AM
good 1st half for liverpool..passing the ball very well..sami hyypia looking dangerous in set pieces..

passing very well??ya mean in out own half??

well ast least we still cont to attack after taking the lead ;) but we really need a player with flair,and rea quick

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 03:36 AM

passing very well??ya mean in out own half??

well ast least we still cont to attack after taking the lead ;) but we really need a player with flair,and rea quick

at least no have stray useless long ball passing..

melankholy
11-08-2004, 03:43 AM
hamann really slows things down. :wobble:

SongLongZi
11-08-2004, 04:42 AM
2nil win for liverpool..book in loh..good bye.

Perdedor
11-08-2004, 07:07 AM
Good win. :bounce:
What was their formation?!

Dudek

Josemi, Carragher, Hyypia, Riise

Finnan, Gerrard, Hamann, Kewell

Baros, Cisse

:confused:

jan175
11-08-2004, 07:16 AM
couldn't see the first goal cos of the loss in transmission but the second goal and its buildup were nice. :cool:

melankholy
11-08-2004, 07:21 AM
Originally posted by Perdedor
Good win. :bounce:
What was their formation?!

Dudek

Josemi, Carragher, Hyypia, Riise

Finnan, Gerrard, Hamann, Kewell

Baros, Cisse

:confused:

corrrect

Mohawks
11-08-2004, 08:46 AM
couldn't see the first goal cos of the loss in transmission but the second goal and its buildup were nice. :cool:
was making milk for my elder son at 3:30pm... didn't see anything on TV :rolleyes: :mad:

good that Liverpool won.... yay!

now sell Owen and get on with it

Winevil
11-08-2004, 08:57 AM
I felt that cissie and kewell got good understanding for each other, laying passes for each other on the left side of liverpool's play...

Gerrald was not as active as last season but heck, he nearly got a hat-trick if not for a dis-allowed goals...

Also kudos to the manager for daring to put young players into the fray of action when we are already in the lead...

Winevil