PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:12 AM
mebbe can hold out for 1-0 wins..

top sides always manage to win 1-0

match ending liaoz...lets tahan for 7 more mins!

gerrard17
29-12-2004, 02:13 AM
back to norm now!!!!

Jordan
29-12-2004, 02:15 AM
solid live commentary at mirc

SongLongZi
29-12-2004, 02:15 AM
5mins left...

dareth
29-12-2004, 02:16 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/fivelive_asx.shtml

listening to live commentary. COOL

Thank You :)

melankholy
AHHH. bloody scary hearing it live!!! TENSION!

SongLongZi
http://www.bbc.co.uk/england/realmedia/live/localradio/solent.ram

live quick !!

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:17 AM

thanks for the link!

cool..

spinelli

say earlier ma!! :D

SongLongZi
hamman in for garcia !! kan cheong !!!!!!!!!

stansays
29-12-2004, 02:18 AM

substitution now! Hamman coming on

keltan
hamann on for garcia..

liverpool to hang on!

elbib00
89mins!!!
come on end the game!!!!!

melankholy

i just found 15 mins left into the game. lol

spinelli
29-12-2004, 02:19 AM
89mins!!!
come on end the game!!!!!

i need one more goal leh.... :o

stansays

Wa loaz.. you listen song song now then share.. ANyway thanks brother! :s13:

SongLongZi
2mins left !!!!!!! hold on pool !!!!!!!!

YNWA !!

crazynut06
http://www.bbc.co.uk/england/realmedia/live/localradio/solent.ram

live quick !!

thx!!!!
:D

dareth
29-12-2004, 02:21 AM
abit ziak su liao..6 men at the back!!

melankholy
i wonder whats the rafa benitez chant lyrics.
rafa benitez (la bam ba tune)
LOL

keltan
Injury time liaoz...

Can we hold on?? Listening to the commentary now... Pool defending like mad..

spinelli
funny...the live commentary is slower than the orc report??!! :eek: :s11:

stansays
29-12-2004, 02:22 AM
thx!!!!

Kan cheong... hear the whistle blow.. 2 mins injury time

stansays
29-12-2004, 02:22 AM
Wah... loaz almost penlty

spinelli
29-12-2004, 02:23 AM
fark!!penalty turned down!!

stansays
Nunez almost score

keltan
1-0!!!!!

We win!!!!!

SongLongZi
yes !!!! 3pts !!! closing up !!

spinelli
full time.1-0,3 points in the bag :D

stansays
Nunez almost score

Ole ole ole...... Liverpool

elbib00
29-12-2004, 02:24 AM
Win!!!!!!!!!!!

keltan
2 down...

2 more to go!!!!!

Bring on chelsea!!!

stansays
Chelsea... here we come

spinelli
full time.1-0,3 points in the bag :D

but i lost money... :o

crazynut06
Kan cheong... hear the whistle blow.. 2 mins injury time

tot they going to score during the injury time.. :s13:

nvm...as long as they win..i'm happie!!1
bring on chelsea next!

royksopp
watch up england, we are crawling back!!!...yes! :s12:

gerrard17
29-12-2004, 02:25 AM
wee.....1 more step into the top 4.

nice to see everton dropping pts, but boro got all 3 pts...

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:25 AM
2.spinelli(will be later as im off at 8pm :s27:)
Upz!!
Anyone else interested?

stansays
29-12-2004, 02:26 AM
wee.....1 more step into the top 4.

nice to see everton dropping pts, but boro got all 3 pts...

Hope MU and Ars drop point too

SongLongZi
last few mins very gan cheong sia....at least we got the 3pts and not conceding any goal..6pts behind everton liao..but then no pt win against soton but draw or lose to chel$ea...we have to beat chel$ea..!!

melankholy
damn boro won...

spinelli
tot they going to score during the injury time.. :s13:

nvm...as long as they win..i'm happie!!1
bring on chelsea next!

we beat both arsenal and newcastle quite comfortably,im quite certain at e very least we wont lose to chesea :s7:

hueman
19 shots, 11 on target, possession 62%
totally dominated the match but won only 1-0.
nevertheless, 3 pts won!

chelsea... here we come!

stansays
watch up england, we are crawling back!!!...yes! :s12:

What talking you? Liverpool here!

spinelli
29-12-2004, 02:28 AM
What talking you? Liverpool here!

he meant the whole of england to watch us...

SongLongZi
29-12-2004, 02:28 AM
time to Zzzzzzzzzzzzz go night pool fans !!!!!

WHIOH A YNWA !!!!!!

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:29 AM
Calling all red fans..those interested to meet up and cheer for our team when we play chelsea on new year!!

Date: 1st Jan
Time: 6p.m (can meet for makan first)
Venue: Penny Black at Boatquay

Those interested, please quote this msg, and leave your names below and PM me your contact numbers. I will try co-ordinating the whole thing:

1. keltan
2. Spinelli

Upz!!! Anyone else interested???

royksopp
29-12-2004, 02:30 AM
when i say england i meant all the english teams...
good win..can sleep comfortably now.. :s12:

spinelli
29-12-2004, 02:30 AM
Upz!!! Anyone else interested???

dont worry keltan,now late aldy.still got till fri for that,will upz whenever there's a need to ;) ,for the time being,nite guys

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:31 AM
NEWS STORY
REDS GO WITH THE FLO AND END 2004 ON A HIGH
Mark Platt 28 December 2004

Liverpool ended 2004 on a high by recording their third successive win in the FA Barclaycard Premiership thanks to a solitary strike from Florent Sinama-Pongolle against Southampton.
Despite looking like they were suffering from a Christmas hangover for much of the first half, the Reds recovered to take the lead on the stroke of half-time and it was enough to claim all three points.

Pongolle's goal was his second in as many matches and means Liverpool end the year well in contention for a coveted top four finish.

With the club in the midst of a demanding festive schedule, Rafael Benitez made four changes to the team that started the convincing 5-0 rout of West Brom on Boxing Day.

Neil Mellor returned to the attack after recovering from tonsillitis, replacing the rested Milan Baros, while the three substitutes at the Hawthorns - Stephen Warnock, Luis Garcia and Xabi Alonso - also took their places in the starting line-up, at the expense of Djimi Traore, Antonio Nunez and Didi Hamann.

While Liverpool took the field high on confidence and looking to chalk up their third straight victory, Southampton made the long trip north with morale seriously dented.

New Saints boss Harry Redknapp was searching for his first win in the St Mary's hot-seat and his team are languishing near the foot of the table following a wretched first half to the season.

Making the visitors' task even more difficult was the omission from their travelling squad of highly-rated striker James Beattie, who is expected to leave the club when transfer window opens on Saturday.

A one-minute silence in memory of the victims of the Asian earthquake was impeccably observed prior to kick-off and the sombre mood inside the stadium continued for most of a low-key opening half.

John Arne Riise tested the keeper as early as the second minute with a low shot after cutting in from the left. Alonso then had a shot deflected behind for a corner and Pongolle fired into the side-netting after being played through on goal by Gerrard.

But this bright start soon waned and the majority of the crowd must have wished they'd have stayed at home and polished off the remainder of the turkey.

Jerzy Dudek didn't have a save to make and the closet Southampton came to threatening his goal was when David Prutton flashed a long-range shot narrowly wide.

Liverpool lost Steve Finnan through injury shortly before the half-hour mark, following a foul by Neil McCann, and as the interval approached the sound of George Sephton's half-time dedications over the Anfield tannoy system seemed more and more appealing.

But as final plans were being made for the half-time dash to the tea bar Pongolle broke the deadlock. It came out of the blue and Redknapp was left tearing his hair out in the director's box at the manner of the goal his team conceded.

Saints striker Dexter Blackstock gave away possession and was punished for his sins. Alonso fed Pongolle with a perfectly thread through ball and the young French striker coolly netted past Antti Niemi with a low right-footed finish.

There was a scare early in the second half when Dudek flapped at a Southampton corner from the left but it was Liverpool who looked more likely to increase their lead.

Pongolle twice spurned opportunities to add to his tally in front of the Kop and a close-range Mellor shot brought a stunning diving save from Niemi.

However, there were more than a few anxious moments in the Liverpool half of the field whenever Southampton pushed forward.

A second goal was needed to ease the nerves of the home fans and only the crossbar denied Riise with a fierce volley with twelve minutes remaining, following a sublime cross-field pass by Gerrard.

Moments later, Niemi came to the visitors' rescue with another fine save when substitute Nunez crossed impressively from the right and Garcia headed towards goal.

For all their efforts Liverpool just couldn?t must a second breakthrough and it was with widespread relief referee Mark Halsey's final whistle was greeted.

This was in no way the most thrilling of afternoon's at Anfield and those who turned up in anticipation of another yuletide goal-fest will have left disappointed.

But three points are three points and with the final ball of 2004 having now been kicked, it's safe to say that the Reds are heading in the right direction.

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:33 AM
dont worry keltan,now late aldy.still got till fri for that,will upz whenever there's a need to ;) ,for the time being,nite guys
okiedokie..

keltan
29-12-2004, 02:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by keltan
Calling all red fans..those interested to meet up and cheer for our team when we play chelsea on new year!!

Those interested, please quote this msg, and leave your names below and PM me your contact numbers. I will try co-ordinating the whole thing:

1. keltan
2. Spinelli

------

Last upz for the night... nite guys..

SongLongZi
29-12-2004, 02:39 AM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)

------

melankholy
29-12-2004, 02:45 AM
does anyone have the audio clip of liverpool fans singing YNWA?
I love it when they sing

Aozora
29-12-2004, 03:06 AM
excellent! will be visiting Liverpool on thurs 30th for the museum and stadium tour....so excited! will try to post some pics here asap! YNWA

melankholy
29-12-2004, 03:08 AM
mind getting me a jersey? :D

Aozora
29-12-2004, 03:13 AM
a jersey costs around 35 pounds....thats around 115 or so singapore dollars..oh besides i bought lotsa things already think my luggage is close to 25 kg...n ive yet to finish buying stuff coz uk is having sales now...hehe

melankholy
29-12-2004, 03:18 AM
might as well buy from la va ni ta. heh.

Aozora
29-12-2004, 03:22 AM
hmmm guess so....stuff is uk is more exp than sg unless theres sales. just hope to see some cool souvenirs from the liverpool shop :D

elbib00
29-12-2004, 09:35 AM
anyone got news on how long finnan will be injured???

poseidon008
29-12-2004, 10:04 AM
excellent! will be visiting Liverpool on thurs 30th for the museum and stadium tour....so excited! will try to post some pics here asap! YNWA
Fwah! Envy you man...too bad i got no time no money to make the trip to anfield...
but i will be going london in feb...mayb go watch arsenal or chelsea matches...den throw lighter at henry or john terry! muahahaha

We are back guys...watch out chelskis...we shall skin you alive on new years day!

stansays
29-12-2004, 12:46 PM
English Premier League:

1) Liverpool vs Chelsea
· Sat 1 Jan @ 8.40pm (LIVE on ESPN)

2) Charlton Athletic vs Arsenal
· Sat 1 Jan @ 10.55pm (LIVE on ESPN)

3) Tottenham Hotspur vs Everton
· Sat 1 Jan @ 10.55pm (LIVE on STAR Sports)

4) Newcastle United vs Birmingham City
· Sun 2 Jan @ 1am (Same Day Telecast on STAR Sports)

5) Middlesbrough vs Manchester United
· Sun 2 Jan @ 1.25am (LIVE on ESPN)

6) Fulham vs Crystal Palace
· Sun 2 Jan @ 6.30am (Same Day Telecast on STAR Sports)

7) Aston Villa vs Blackburn Rovers
· Sun 2 Jan @ 9am (Same Day Telecast on STAR Sports)

8) Bolton Wanderers vs West Bromwich Albion
· Sun 2 Jan @ 12pm (Same Day Telecast on STAR Sports)

9) Manchester City vs Southampton
· Sun 2 Jan @ 3pm (Same Day Telecast on ESPN)

10) Norwich vs Liverpool
· Mon 3 Jan @ 8.40pm (LIVE on ESPN)

11) Crystal Palace vs Aston Villa
· Mon 3 Jan @ 10.55pm (LIVE on ESPN)

12) Blackburn Rovers vs Charlton Athletic
· Mon 3 Jan @ 10.55pm (LIVE on STAR Sports)

13) West Bromwich Albion vs Newcastle United
· Tue 4 Jan @ 3.55am (LIVE on STAR Sports)

14) Arsenal vs Manchester City
· Wed 5 Jan @ 3.30am (LIVE on ESPN)
· Wed 5 Jan @ 9pm (Repeat on ESPN)

15) Chelsea vs Middlesbrough
· Wed 5 Jan @ 6am (Same Day Telecast on ESPN)
· Wed 5 Jan @ 6pm (Repeat on ESPN)

16) Manchester United vs Tottenham Hotspur
· Wed 5 Jan @ 3.55am (LIVE on STAR Sports)
· Wed 5 Jan @ 11pm (Repeat on STAR Sports)

17) Everton vs Portsmouth
· Wed 5 Jan @ 6am (Same Day Telecast on STAR Sports)

18) Southampton vs Fulham
· Thu 6 Jan @ 3.55am (LIVE on STAR Sports)

Tiger Cup 2004 Semifinals:

1) Malaysia vs Indonesia
· Sat 1 Jan @ 7.53pm (LIVE on STAR Sports)

2) Singapore vs Myanmar
· Sun 2 Jan @ 7.23pm (LIVE on STAR Sports)

Italian Serie A:

1) Parma vs Juventus
· Thu 6 Jan @ 9.55pm (LIVE & Exclusive)

2) AC Milan vs Lecce
· Thu 6 Jan @ 9.55pm (LIVE & Exclusive on SuperSports Plus)

3) Livorno vs Inter Milan
· Fri 7 Jan @ 12am (Same Day Telecast on SuperSports Plus)

4) Lazio vs Roma
· Fri 7 Jan @ 3.25am (LIVE & Exclusive)
· Fri 7 Jan @ 10pm (R)

*all matches will be shown on SuperSports unless otherwise stated.
*schedule subject to change.

gerrard17
29-12-2004, 02:10 PM
btw, anyone knows how long finnan will be out?

hope he'll be ready for the chelsea game, or else robben and duff will skin diao alive........

xllms
29-12-2004, 02:46 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms (pending)

niterider
29-12-2004, 03:24 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms (pending)
5. niterider

RadEoNic
29-12-2004, 04:17 PM
i wan to go also...but until wat time?

AhnNakata7
29-12-2004, 04:23 PM
i maybe going
can cfm on sat?:D

keltan
29-12-2004, 04:55 PM
Early match tt day...match will finish by 11...

keltan
29-12-2004, 04:56 PM
i maybe going
can cfm on sat?:D
Can...no problem..

:)

keltan
29-12-2004, 04:57 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms (pending)
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)

keltan
29-12-2004, 05:02 PM
MEDIA WATCH
REPORT: REDS MAKE OFFER FOR AIMAR
Internet Report 29 December 2004

On Valencia's official supporters site this news has appeared: Late on Monday evening, a formal offer for Pablo Aimar from Liverpool FC has arrived at Valencia's office in order to sign the player in January 2005.

This has been confirmed by Valencia official, Agustin Morera. "The offer made by the team coached by Rafa Benitez is formal and firm, and is very much near the 12M Euro mark."

In the next hours, there will be an urgent meeting of the Valencia CF board to speak about this matter, the continuity of Aimar depends exclusively to Ranieri who if guaranteed a similar substitute, Aimar could be leaving Valencia in a matter of hours.

keltan
29-12-2004, 05:03 PM
MEDIA WATCH

On Valencia's official supporters site this news has appeared: Late on Monday evening, a formal offer for Pablo Aimar from Liverpool FC has arrived at Valencia's office in order to sign the player in January 2005.

This has been confirmed by Valencia official, Agustin Morera. "The offer made by the team coached by Rafa Benitez is formal and firm, and is very much near the 12M Euro mark."

In the next hours, there will be an urgent meeting of the Valencia CF board to speak about this matter, the continuity of Aimar depends exclusively to Ranieri who if guaranteed a similar substitute, Aimar could be leaving Valencia in a matter of hours.
Pool are serious!!!!

omg...Aimar coming to Liverpool might jsut be a reality..

keltan
29-12-2004, 05:03 PM
MEDIA WATCH
REDS MAKE BID FOR KEEPER
Liverpool Echo 29 December 2004

Liverpool have made an official bid of £250,000 for Leeds England Under-21 international goalkeeper Scott Carson.

Rafa Benitez wants the highly rated youngster to sign in January as back-up to Jerzy Dudek and Chris Kirkland.

Carson is out of contract in the summer at Elland Road but the cash strapped Yorkshire club are sure to value the 19-year-old higher.

If their bid is accepted Liverpool will increase their fee depending on the number of appearances Carson makes at Anfield.

Aston Villa and Wigan are also trying to snap up the youth international who has become one of the most sought after young keepers in England.

keltan
29-12-2004, 05:05 PM
Morientes!
Aimar!
Carson!

I am drooling liaoz...

Virus
29-12-2004, 05:53 PM
Morientes!
Aimar!
Carson!

I am drooling liaoz...
Hehe if they do come .. wow!
But... where did LFC find the $$? I dont think we have that much $$ to buy Morientes and Aimar .

keltan
29-12-2004, 06:31 PM
Hehe if they do come .. wow!
But... where did LFC find the $$? I dont think we have that much $$ to buy Morientes and Aimar .
dunno...but i have faith in what RB is doing..

and Aimar will be a good addition to any team..

keltan
29-12-2004, 07:08 PM
Carson flattered by interest
by James Pearson - Last Updated 29 Dec 2004
SUNDAY LEAGUE

Scott Carson's advisor has told skysports.com that interest from The Premiership, notably Chelsea, is very flattering for the young Leeds United keeper.

Liverpool and promotion chasing Championship side Wigan Athletic are reportedly vying for the England Under-21 star's services, but have now been joined by The Blues.

Chelsea have one of the most impressive keepers in England's top-flight in new signing Petr Cech, however the club also have some of the brightest talent for the future.

Carson, who is out of contract at Elland Road at the end of the season, rejected Leeds' initial contract proposal and as yet no second and improved offer has been submitted.

"Of course it's flattering for Scott to be linked to such a club as they [Chelsea] are at the moment," said his advisor to skysports.com. "It's very flattering.

"Amongst all the other leading Premiership clubs that have also supposedly expressed interest in Scott - that is flattering.

"And, of course, you have the likes of Wigan who have also had an outstanding season. You have to view each one [club] on its merits."

Meanwhile, Leeds have confirmed they have received a bid from a Premiership club for Carson, but swiftly rejected the offer.

The Whites are now hoping to piece together a new contract for the youngster is a bid to keep him at Elland Road.

"An offer has been made for Scott Carson by a Premiership side," said Morris. "This offer has been turned down by Leeds United.
"The club is speaking to Scott's agent today [Wednesday] in order to offer a new deal for him to stay at Leeds."

keltan
29-12-2004, 07:09 PM
looks like leeds have rejected liverpool's bid??

spinelli
29-12-2004, 09:06 PM

why?got curfew meh?? :D

SongLongZi
29-12-2004, 09:42 PM
MEDIA WATCH

wow!! serious arr..

keltan
29-12-2004, 10:08 PM
wow!! serious arr..
seems to be..

anyway not surprising..since RB is a known admirer of Aimar...

keltan
29-12-2004, 10:20 PM
finnan will almost certainly miss the chelsea match... as he needed 8 stitches to his ankle..

sigh, really hope diao will not be playing right full-back this sat...

heres to hoping henchoz is called back to partner hypia and carragher is pushed to the right!
carragher's tenacity will definitely put off robben a bit...

iwish
29-12-2004, 10:46 PM
liverpool.tv reported that RB expects finnan and baros to be fit for the match.? while waiting for kewell....

CanIsayNo
29-12-2004, 11:21 PM
if those players come in, liverpool sure have to sell some.. and pool still have le tallec coming back

__CcW__
30-12-2004, 12:02 AM
if Aimar comes.. Gerrard would be pushed back and this will affect his turbo-charged attacking runs.. and also Hamann and Biscan butts would be warmer than usual

keltan
30-12-2004, 12:33 AM
biscan is not even getting a chance to warm his butt now...cos for some reason I do not uds, he seems to favour diao..

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 12:40 AM
if those players come in, liverpool sure have to sell some.. and pool still have le tallec coming back

if we really sign aimar...smicer surely gotta go...

keltan
30-12-2004, 12:43 AM
diao too pls..

really cannot stand him liaoz..

and send diouf away FOR GOOD too...

curo
30-12-2004, 01:04 AM
diao too pls..

really cannot stand him liaoz..

and send diouf away FOR GOOD too...

agree w u. juz dun under y RB prefer diao then biscan??

RadEoNic
30-12-2004, 01:15 AM
why?got curfew meh?? :D
no curfew lah...just dun like going home late
btw, i stay west
boon lay somemore
:o

spinelli
30-12-2004, 01:24 AM
no curfew lah...just dun like going home late
btw, i stay west
boon lay somemore
:o

me stay clementi :D

RadEoNic
30-12-2004, 01:25 AM
u got direct bus home, i dun
:crazy:
anyway...saturday....let u ppl noe on friday or something...duno wats on for me on saturday

spinelli
30-12-2004, 01:26 AM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms (pending)
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)

niterider
30-12-2004, 01:57 AM

Me2 in clementi!

chows99
30-12-2004, 02:33 AM
y RB never put igor biscan is that he's injured mah... i thot it was mentioned quite sometime ago ... ?

dy_lan
30-12-2004, 11:42 AM
PELLEGRINO TO POOL
Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez will sign Valencia's Mauricio Pellegrino in January, with the Argentine defender available on a free transfer. Pellegrino is just one of a few Valencia players who have said that they would like to rejoin their former boss in the Premiership. Playmaker Pablo Aimar as well as striker Mista are also keen on the move.

spinelli
30-12-2004, 12:27 PM
Me2 in clementi!

cool.so next time ya happen to see me wearing that top in my avartar,give a shout to me! =:p

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 01:23 PM

i stay end of east.....

RadEoNic
30-12-2004, 01:25 PM
spinelli, can pm me ur no. not?if i last minute going down then i give u a ring?

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:11 PM
y RB never put igor biscan is that he's injured mah... i thot it was mentioned quite sometime ago ... ?
recovered liaoz...

even b4 he was injured, salif diao was still ahead in the pecking order..

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:13 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms (pending)
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:13 PM
spinelli, can pm me ur no. not?if i last minute going down then i give u a ring?
Pm you my number liaoz..

can contact me.. :)

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:20 PM
out of curiousity..

how many here are members of the official SG liverpool fan club?

X18
30-12-2004, 02:21 PM
I am not le..how to join? :D

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:22 PM
Valencia deny Aimar quotes
by Lucas Brown - Last Updated 30 Dec 2004
SUNDAY LEAGUE

Pablo Aimar has denied suggesting he would favour a move to Liverpool - according to Valencia.

Aimar was quoted in the Daily Star as saying that he liked the idea of playing in England with The Reds, but the club have issued a statement suggesting the reports were not accurate.

"The club has been in touch with Aimar, who has said that he has not made any declarations to English newspapers," reads the statement on Valencia's official website.

"Nor has he given any interviews in the past few days."

The Spanish champions also said that quotes from a club spokesman, Agustin Morera, claiming that Valencia had received an offer of €12million for Aimar were also completely false.

The Mestalla outfit explained that the story originally appeared on another website called foroche.com and that they had invented the quotes from Morera.

keltan
30-12-2004, 02:24 PM
I am not le..how to join? :D
details at http://www.liverpoolfanclub.org.sg/

dunno whether worth it anot.. they organise trips to anfield as well... have always wanted to go...but no kaki...

X18
30-12-2004, 02:32 PM
details at http://www.liverpoolfanclub.org.sg/

dunno whether worth it anot.. they organise trips to anfield as well... have always wanted to go...but no kaki...

ohh...this one ah. I posted in this forum b4 le.. :D

keltan
30-12-2004, 03:00 PM
ohh...this one ah. I posted in this forum b4 le.. :D
so are u a member?

X18
30-12-2004, 03:27 PM
so are u a member?
eh..i dunno whether i considered as a member onot? I just registered in order to be able to post in their forum.. :o

keltan
30-12-2004, 04:35 PM
PELLEGRINO TO POOL
Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez will sign Valencia's Mauricio Pellegrino in January, with the Argentine defender available on a free transfer. Pellegrino is just one of a few Valencia players who have said that they would like to rejoin their former boss in the Premiership. Playmaker Pablo Aimar as well as striker Mista are also keen on the move.
Pellegrino is already 33 this yr if i am not wrong.. RB prob bringing him over as backup for hypia and carragher..

But if he is going to bring a 33 yr old to anfield, why wun he give henchoz a chance?

Mebbe after working with Pellegrino at Valencia, RB feels that he is still up to the job.

elbib00
30-12-2004, 05:12 PM
not really keeping track of spanish soccer, so who is this pellegrino guy?
playing as centerback i presume.
defenders have a longer professional lifespan, so at 33 i think its alrite, esp for centerback.
anyway he is a free transfer, so no harm getting.
anyone got any comments on him?

Virus
30-12-2004, 05:14 PM
MORIENTES: I WILL GO TO LIVERPOOL

Fernando Morientes has revealed he has made his mind up to join Liverpool during the January transfer window.

Liverpool are in the market for a striker after losing Djibril Cisse for the season with a broken leg, and Spanish star Morientes has regularly been linked with a move to Anfield.

The Reds have not commented officially on their attempts to bring the Real Madrid ace to Merseyside, but the player himself is ready to dismiss interest from other clubs to join the Rafalution.

"Yes, I am going to England - I have decided," said Morientes. "I will go to Liverpool and for many reasons. The main reason is the coach Rafa Benitez. He is Spanish and knows me perfectly, which is worth a lot for a professional.

"We have asked Real Madrid to make a fast solution and I don't want to expand any further, except to say I am already looking through the English dictionary."

The player's agent Gines Carvajal has admitted Morientes' future is now in the hands of Real Madrid, who will need to agree a fee for the player's sale.

"Everything depends on Real Madrid. I haven't seen anything in writing from Liverpool," said Carvajal.

"I know they spoke with Madrid and the initial amount did not satisfy the president.

"But within the right price frame the feelings of the player will be a priority. That is important."

RadEoNic
30-12-2004, 05:14 PM
recieved ur pm keltan, will call or sms u guys
if i'm going, i would b joining u guys for dinner first

keltan
30-12-2004, 05:16 PM
cool. hope u can make it :)

keltan
30-12-2004, 05:17 PM
not really keeping track of spanish soccer, so who is this pellegrino guy?
playing as centerback i presume.
defenders have a longer professional lifespan, so at 33 i think its alrite, esp for centerback.
anyway he is a free transfer, so no harm getting.
anyone got any comments on him?
yup, no harm..

but henchoz also quite decent... so wondering how come he not in RB's plan.. tt's all.. :)

keltan
30-12-2004, 05:18 PM
MEDIA WATCH
REDKNAPP MOVES FOR CUT PRICE BISCAN
The Guardian 30 December 2004

Southampton have opened talks with Liverpool aimed at signing the Croatian midfielder Igor Biscan after the transfer window opens on Saturday.

Biscan, who has played only a bit-part role since joining the Merseysiders in a £5.5m deal from Dinamo Zagreb four years ago, is out of contract in the summer and will be allowed to leave for a nominal fee. However, he may prefer to consider his options on the continent before committing himself to St Mary's.

The Southampton chairman Rupert Lowe held talks with Liverpool officials after his side's 1-0 defeat at Anfield on Tuesday, with a view to making Biscan Harry Redknapp's first signing for the club. The former Portsmouth manager confirmed that he hoped to bring in "three or four more faces" during January, to be funded by the sale of James Beattie to Aston Villa, Everton or Newcastle.

Biscan has not featured for Liverpool since their Carling Cup quarter-final success at Tottenham early this month. The 26-year-old, who can operate in midfield or defence, has made 95 appearances for the club, scoring twice. He could be joined on the south coast by his Anfield team-mate Stéphane Henchoz, who will also be allowed to leave and has attracted interest from Manchester City.

keltan
30-12-2004, 05:19 PM
NEWS STORY
BOSS READY FOR CHELSEA CHALLENGE
Paul Eaton 30 December 2004

Rafael Benitez insists his Liverpool side can get 2005 off to the perfect start by beating league leaders Chelsea at Anfield.
The Reds go into Saturday's showdown on the back of three consecutive league victories and the boss insists his players can rise to the occasion again against Jose Mourinho's men.

"It is important to win when you know the other teams around you are fighting so hard and winning also," he said.

"This experience will be good for us and help our confidence going into the Chelsea game.

"We will watch the video of the game and then work hard for the next match because we know it will be difficult. It is a long race, we needed to win because Middlesbrough ahead of us also won, so the victory was important for our confidence and I am sure we will be in the top four at the end.

"We have won three on the run, two good performances and one not so good but you have to learn from such situations for the future.

"If you want the supporters to stay behind you then you have to fight all the time, they are fantastic and as long as we play to our best and fight for everything they will be right behind us against Chelsea. "

keltan
30-12-2004, 05:20 PM
NEWS STORY
BOSS READY FOR CHELSEA CHALLENGE
Paul Eaton 30 December 2004

Rafael Benitez insists his Liverpool side can get 2005 off to the perfect start by beating league leaders Chelsea at Anfield.
The Reds go into Saturday's showdown on the back of three consecutive league victories and the boss insists his players can rise to the occasion again against Jose Mourinho's men.

"It is important to win when you know the other teams around you are fighting so hard and winning also," he said.

"This experience will be good for us and help our confidence going into the Chelsea game.

"We will watch the video of the game and then work hard for the next match because we know it will be difficult. It is a long race, we needed to win because Middlesbrough ahead of us also won, so the victory was important for our confidence and I am sure we will be in the top four at the end.

"We have won three on the run, two good performances and one not so good but you have to learn from such situations for the future.

"If you want the supporters to stay behind you then you have to fight all the time, they are fantastic and as long as we play to our best and fight for everything they will be right behind us against Chelsea. "
cant wait to catch Sat's match..

so who else is gonna join us to cheer for the reds???

iwish
30-12-2004, 05:33 PM
wish i can
but got family dinner.....

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 05:46 PM
MORIENTES: I WILL GO TO LIVERPOOL

Fernando Morientes has revealed he has made his mind up to join Liverpool during the January transfer window.

."

hohohohohoho!

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 05:58 PM
Pellegrino is already 33 this yr if i am not wrong.. RB prob bringing him over as backup for hypia and carragher..

But if he is going to bring a 33 yr old to anfield, why wun he give henchoz a chance?

Mebbe after working with Pellegrino at Valencia, RB feels that he is still up to the job.

a no nonsense defender just like carra...too old for my likeing..but if is free should be ok to sign him...

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 05:58 PM

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 05:59 PM
Fernando Morientes insists he has his heart set on a switch to Liverpool.

Liverpool have been long-term suitors of the Real Madrid striker and are believed to have had one bid turned down for the Spain international.

Reds boss Rafa Benitez is in the market for a striker having lost Djibril Cisse to a long-term injury and is almost certain to bring in a new front-man during the January transfer window.

Four English clubs and two French sides are believed to be tracking Morientes, but the player has set his sights on a switch to Anfield.

"Yes, I am going to England - I have decided," said Morientes.

"I will go to Liverpool and for many reasons. The main reason is the coach Rafa Benitez. He is Spanish and knows me perfectly, which is worth a lot for a professional.

"We have asked Real Madrid to make a fast solution and I don't want to expand any further, except to say I am already looking through the English dictionary."

The player's agent Gines Carvajal admitted Morientes' future is down to Real Madrid agreeing a fee for the player after snubbing Liverpool's initial offer.

"Everything depends on Real Madrid. I haven't seen anything in writing from Liverpool," said Carvajal.

"I know they spoke with Madrid and the initial amount did not satisfy the president.

"But within the right price frame the feelings of the player will be a priority. That is important."

spinelli
30-12-2004, 06:00 PM

just realise sat is actually new year!!so i wont be working,but might have plans before that.right now im 85% going.pls we need more ppl

gerrard17
30-12-2004, 08:47 PM
future's looking really bright for liverpool.

btw, i will try to make it there to join in the fun if possible.

been a long time since i watch a game wif reds' mates.

SongLongZi
30-12-2004, 08:48 PM
Liverpool have been dealt a blow with the news that Harry Kewell will be out for at least a month after having an injection in a groin injury.
It is a blow for Liverpool and the player who was coming back to his best form before he picked up the groin injury in the 3-1 win over Newcastle United at Anfield.

Liverpool FC Head of Press Ian Cotton said: "Harry saw a specialist on Wednesday and has received an injection in his groin. He is likely to be out of action between four and five weeks."

not again....

elbib00
31-12-2004, 12:05 AM
oh man. yet another injury to kewell....
sigh

iwish
31-12-2004, 01:52 AM
Liverpool have been dealt a blow with the news that Harry Kewell will be out for at least a month after having an injection in a groin injury.
It is a blow for Liverpool and the player who was coming back to his best form before he picked up the groin injury in the 3-1 win over Newcastle United at Anfield.

Liverpool FC Head of Press Ian Cotton said: "Harry saw a specialist on Wednesday and has received an injection in his groin. He is likely to be out of action between four and five weeks."

not again....
Kewell future at liverpool dont look too gd i think...injury...got some form injure again...if we do sign aimar..he will have serious problem to fight back his place....LM:fight with glacia/riise, 2nd striker: fight with pongolle/aimar/glacia..possible RM: glacia/nunze...and nunze look gd..just need a few matches and i think he can be a decent RM for liverpool..gd cross/feet and is always dangerous attacking corners.

melankholy
31-12-2004, 03:01 AM
i think we wont miss kewell that much. He's always been "absent" everytime he played for us with the exception of the last few matches where you can see hes regaining his form.
Riise is on fire. He should play there on sat.

RickHunterX
31-12-2004, 03:20 AM
Alamak! Give Kewell chance la. We gave up on too many talented players liao. I want see our best players regaining their best form no matter how long it takes.

melankholy
31-12-2004, 03:29 AM
i meant we wont miss kewell for the month hes injured.

Aozora
31-12-2004, 09:36 AM
hey folks im back from the anfield museum and stadium tour :D theres quite a lot of stuff to learn about the stadium eg.

1. the home team players room door is about 1.5 inches shorter than the opponents door to give the psychological effect that the home team players are bigger lol

2. the This Is Anfield sign hung at the dug out was established by Bill Shankly coz supposedly newcastle players were making fun of Liv or something and Bill Shankly wanted to let the opponents know whose ground they are playing on (who is the boss here!? listen up u punks! ;p)

3. There is no jacuzzi or other entertainment related stuff for the players at the stadium coz they are supposed to just fully concentrate on the match ahead and not to have fun

4. The players shirts are hung on the wall according to their positions (gk, midfield, attack).

5. On match day, 60 plus pairs of boots with different studs (depending on the field condition) are placed in the room for player selection. They might wear one pair, step out to test the field and return to change boots according to the field condition

6. A special non slip floor in the players room is supposedly specially designed so that the players obviously won't slip when they r back in the room during half time. Such a floor aint found in the opponents room though lol

7. There is a special 25 seater executive room which can be pre booked but one might have to be on the waiting list for 3 yrs :s22: Fine dining is served and stuff like ps2, volume control (if ppl wish not to listen to the fans zealous cheer) are found in the room too. I think its 3000 pounds or something to book the room... cant remember

8. The match commendator room is actually really small and the commendator would have to climb up a ladder and almost crawl all the way to the room. Well the stadium is pretty old so not much fancy stuff there

9. All the camera equipment on match day are actually tied to a rope and hoisted up using a pulley. Thats really old fashioned lol

10. Young players are actually trained by professionals on dealing with media questions. The interview booth is actually just a 2 faced wall with advertisers logos on it and it is located near the dug out. Its really small but the player or manager stands really close to the wall to create the effect of a bigger room. Young players would have been pretty intimidated by the camera lights, lotsa players managers etc walking around

11. The players actually arrive in a coach to the players entrance and when the coach stops, shutters will surround the coach to protect the players and opponents from attacks etc. Supposedly Alex Fergy got hit by a rotten egg and he complained to the FA lol so the shutters were then installed to prevent such incident from happening hahaha

anyway i will upload pix when im back in sg....till then tata!

X18
31-12-2004, 10:30 AM
hey folks im back from the anfield museum and stadium tour :D theres quite a lot of stuff to learn about the stadium eg.

1. the home team players room door is about 1.5 inches shorter than the opponents door to give the psychological effect that the home team players are bigger lol

2. the This Is Anfield sign hung at the dug out was established by Bill Shankly coz supposedly newcastle players were making fun of Liv or something and Bill Shankly wanted to let the opponents know whose ground they are playing on (who is the boss here!? listen up u punks! ;p)

3. There is no jacuzzi or other entertainment related stuff for the players at the stadium coz they are supposed to just fully concentrate on the match ahead and not to have fun

4. The players shirts are hung on the wall according to their positions (gk, midfield, attack).

5. On match day, 60 plus pairs of boots with different studs (depending on the field condition) are placed in the room for player selection. They might wear one pair, step out to test the field and return to change boots according to the field condition

6. A special non slip floor in the players room is supposedly specially designed so that the players obviously won't slip when they r back in the room during half time. Such a floor aint found in the opponents room though lol

7. There is a special 25 seater executive room which can be pre booked but one might have to be on the waiting list for 3 yrs :s22: Fine dining is served and stuff like ps2, volume control (if ppl wish not to listen to the fans zealous cheer) are found in the room too. I think its 3000 pounds or something to book the room... cant remember

8. The match commendator room is actually really small and the commendator would have to climb up a ladder and almost crawl all the way to the room. Well the stadium is pretty old so not much fancy stuff there

9. All the camera equipment on match day are actually tied to a rope and hoisted up using a pulley. Thats really old fashioned lol

10. Young players are actually trained by professionals on dealing with media questions. The interview booth is actually just a 2 faced wall with advertisers logos on it and it is located near the dug out. Its really small but the player or manager stands really close to the wall to create the effect of a bigger room. Young players would have been pretty intimidated by the camera lights, lotsa players managers etc walking around

11. The players actually arrive in a coach to the players entrance and when the coach stops, shutters will surround the coach to protect the players and opponents from attacks etc. Supposedly Alex Fergy got hit by a rotten egg and he complained to the FA lol so the shutters were then installed to prevent such incident from happening hahaha

anyway i will upload pix when im back in sg....till then tata!

It sounds so cool!!!! I am so envy of u..hope one day I can step into our anfield fortress too!! :)

Looking forward to the pics u will be uploading! :D

dy_lan
31-12-2004, 11:46 AM
I would like to take this chance to wish all pool fans a very happy 2005.
Last but not least, hope tat pool can be the first team to beat chelsea on new years day at Anfield!

Cheers!!!!!!!!!

Mohawks
31-12-2004, 11:51 AM
wow.... so envious....

by the time i go... the new upcoming stadium will probably be old liao .... hahaha :D

thesettingsun
31-12-2004, 01:57 PM
In today's Straits Times, it's reported that the ever-cheeky Mourinho launches his mind games again ahead of the New Year's Day clash between Pool and Chelski.
What does he say this time?
" I was approached by Liverpool first (before Benitez was approached)." He was insinuating that Benitez was (only) Liverpool's second choice to succeed Houllier.
Trust him to say something like that! What a cheeky boy lol. Will be interesting to see if Benitez cares to indulge in Mourinho's favourite past-time.

Mohawks
31-12-2004, 03:09 PM
In today's Straits Times, it's reported that the ever-cheeky Mourinho launches his mind games again ahead of the New Year's Day clash between Pool and Chelski.
What does he say this time?
" I was approached by Liverpool first (before Benitez was approached)." He was insinuating that Benitez was (only) Liverpool's second choice to succeed Houllier.
Trust him to say something like that! What a cheeky boy lol. Will be interesting to see if Benitez cares to indulge in Mourinho's favourite past-time.
RB will just ignore him and check the time on his watch..... again :D

keltan
31-12-2004, 03:29 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)

keltan
31-12-2004, 04:55 PM
MEDIA WATCH
JOSE: LAMPS BETTER THAN STEVIE
ITV 31 December 2004

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has revealed his admiration for Steven Gerrard, but still believe he has a better midfielder in his ranks.

The Blues travel to Anfield to face Liverpool on Saturday where Gerrard will come face-to-face with England team-mate Frank Lampard.

The former West Ham star has again been in inspirational form this season, helping the Londoners to a five-point lead at the top of the table.

Chelsea have been linked with a big-money bid for Gerrard during the January transfer window, but Mourinho insists he already has the best midfielder in the business a Stamford Bridge.

"I think Gerrard is one of the best in the Premiership," he said. "But I don't think he is better than Frank Lampard. My players are always better than others."

That boast will be put under much scrutiny in the white-hot atmosphere of a packed Anfield with Chelsea down to their last 17 players for the trip to Merseyside.

Russian midfielder Alexei Smertin has been struck down with a virus which will also keep him out of the home clash with Middlesbrough next Tuesday.

Left-back Celestine Babayaro is to join Newcastle and Chelsea are still without central defenders Robert Huth (ankle) and Ricardo Carvalho (broken toe) and midfielder Scott Parker (broken foot).

But despite the difficult situation he now faces, Mourinho remains adamant there will be no big signings during the transfer window.

He added: "I think we have been top of the league for eight or nine weeks, so if we can extend that beyond Liverpool and Middlesbrough, we are in a good position.

"We are living a difficult moment right now but don't really need to get players in. If we have the chance to get a player on loan without spending money, a stable and balanced player, we will do it. But there is no pressure.

"At the moment if I wanted to rotate players in the FA Cup or the Carling Cup, I don't have many options. That's why I think if we can get a player, it would be good, but there is no big money to spend."

keltan
31-12-2004, 04:56 PM
MEDIA WATCH
JOSE: LAMPS BETTER THAN STEVIE
ITV 31 December 2004

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has revealed his admiration for Steven Gerrard, but still believe he has a better midfielder in his ranks.

The Blues travel to Anfield to face Liverpool on Saturday where Gerrard will come face-to-face with England team-mate Frank Lampard.

The former West Ham star has again been in inspirational form this season, helping the Londoners to a five-point lead at the top of the table.

Chelsea have been linked with a big-money bid for Gerrard during the January transfer window, but Mourinho insists he already has the best midfielder in the business a Stamford Bridge.

"I think Gerrard is one of the best in the Premiership," he said. "But I don't think he is better than Frank Lampard. My players are always better than others."

That boast will be put under much scrutiny in the white-hot atmosphere of a packed Anfield with Chelsea down to their last 17 players for the trip to Merseyside.

Russian midfielder Alexei Smertin has been struck down with a virus which will also keep him out of the home clash with Middlesbrough next Tuesday.

Left-back Celestine Babayaro is to join Newcastle and Chelsea are still without central defenders Robert Huth (ankle) and Ricardo Carvalho (broken toe) and midfielder Scott Parker (broken foot).

But despite the difficult situation he now faces, Mourinho remains adamant there will be no big signings during the transfer window.

He added: "I think we have been top of the league for eight or nine weeks, so if we can extend that beyond Liverpool and Middlesbrough, we are in a good position.

"We are living a difficult moment right now but don't really need to get players in. If we have the chance to get a player on loan without spending money, a stable and balanced player, we will do it. But there is no pressure.

"At the moment if I wanted to rotate players in the FA Cup or the Carling Cup, I don't have many options. That's why I think if we can get a player, it would be good, but there is no big money to spend."
since lamps is better...make sure u lay your hands of stevie..

CanIsayNo
31-12-2004, 05:48 PM
haha...

10 charsssss

keltan
31-12-2004, 05:55 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)

keltan
31-12-2004, 05:56 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)
Eh if only these few pple going..will u all still b interested in going?

As long as I get to watch the match and support the reds, I dun care... So its all your call..

AhnNakata7
31-12-2004, 08:55 PM
sry brothers
i cant make it on sat
sry...

spinelli
31-12-2004, 10:52 PM
Eh if only these few pple going..will u all still b interested in going?

As long as I get to watch the match and support the reds, I dun care... So its all your call..

i also cant confirm cos i mixed up e dates...haiz...any way guys,who interested in doing volunteer works on sun for those victims??

keltan
31-12-2004, 11:16 PM
i also cant confirm cos i mixed up e dates...haiz...any way guys,who interested in doing volunteer works on sun for those victims??
Wah...then when can u confirm??
Tmr is the big match liaoz...

wad sort of volunteer works? time? venue?

keltan
31-12-2004, 11:17 PM
NEWS STORY
RAFA AIMING TO CELEBRATE NEW YEAR WITH A WIN
Mark Platt 31 December 2004

Rafael Benitez insists he and his players are determined to give Liverpool fans the perfect start to the New Year by beating Chelsea at Anfield.
The Reds go into the game trailing the FA Barclaycard Premiership leaders by 15 points but Benitez is confident his team can upset the odds at Anfield, just like they did against reigning champions Arsenal in November.

"This is a massive game and of equal importance for both Liverpool and Chelsea," says the Liverpool manager. "Chelsea have a good manager and good players but that is not to say they are unbeatable.

"They do have weaknesses. Afterwards I may speak about them but for now we know what they are and we?ll look to capitalise on this.

"We have already beaten Arsenal at home this season when everybody was expecting us to lose and I think we can win against Chelsea, especially at home with our supporters behind us.

"We have given them a happy Christmas and our aim now is to make sure they have a happy New Year as well."

Benitez also dismissed claims by Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho that Frank Lampard is a better player than Steven Gerrard.

He added: "In my opinion, Gerrard is the best. He is a fantastic player who epitomises the spirit we want at this club."

keltan
31-12-2004, 11:18 PM
NEWS STORY
BAROS NOT RECOVERED BUT FINNAN OKAY
Mark Platt 31 December 2004

Milan Baros has been ruled out of Liverpool's New Years Day showdown against Chelsea after failing to shrug off the hamstring injury that forced him to miss Tuesday's victory over Southampton.
It was hoped that the Czech striker would have recovered in time to be recalled for the visit of the league leaders but manager Rafael Benitez has confirmed that Baros will again be sidelined.

He is expected to be fit for the trip to Norwich on Monday.

Steve Finnan has recovered from a leg injury sustained against Southampton and is available for selection.

Benitez, meanwhile, has bemoaned the loss for up to a month of Harry Kewell.

The boss has been delighted with the recent form of the Aussie winger and described his latest groin injury as 'very bad news'.

"Harry has been playing very well lately, scoring goals and providing assists. His level has been gradually improving and this is very bad news," he says.

keltan
31-12-2004, 11:19 PM
Looks like pongolle and mellor will lead attack tmr..

At least we have finnan back..the thought of having diao at right back against robben just gives me shivers down the spine..

__CcW__
31-12-2004, 11:48 PM
how gd is lampard at tackling.. better than gerrard ??

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:20 AM
Liverpool's forgotten man Stephane Henchoz has slammed manager Rafa Benitez over his treatment at Anfield.

Henchoz admits he is going to seek pastures new as soon as possible after becoming a peripheral figure under Benitez.

"I am the king of the outlaws at Liverpool and my time is up at the club," said Henchoz.

"But in my mind, I have already left. As far as they are concerned, I no longer exist.

"There is a minimum level of respect that they should show me but, ever since Rafael Benitez arrived, he has treated me like the lowest a***hole on earth and I will never forgive him for that.

"At present, I am not even in the squad for matches. Instead, I habitually train with the other excluded players.

"If I now leave, it will be as a free agent and Liverpool won't make a single penny from me.

"After what the manager has done to me, I'm not going to give him any presents.

"I need to find a challenge that excites me and a club that really clicks with me."

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:22 AM
Fernando Morientes will wait to speak to new Real Madrid coach Wanderley Luxemburgo before making a decision on his future.

Morientes was quoted on Liverpool's website as suggesting that he would join The Reds imminently because of his respect for manager Rafa Benitez.

However, the player's agent Gines Carvajal denied that Morientes has said such a thing, and insisted that any decision on leaving Real would wait until discussions with the club's new coach Luxemburgo.

"I can state categorically that Fernando has made no such declaration to either Liverpool's website or to an English newspaper," Caravajal told Radio Marca.

"There is a new coach and we will see what he thinks of the squad.

"I do not believe either the president or the club are going to sell a player without speaking with the new coach."

thesettingsun
01-01-2005, 05:21 AM
If Baros is out for tomorrow's match, that will really be a big blow.
I wonder why Benitez treats Henchoz so badly? I think Henchoz was quite okay when he played in the League Cup what.

AhnNakata7
01-01-2005, 10:08 AM

bro
wat kind of volunteer works
i interested to help
pm mi more details?

keltan
01-01-2005, 01:09 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)

X18
01-01-2005, 01:44 PM
We will beat Chelsea tonite..

Lampard is better than Gerrard? what a joke...

spinelli
01-01-2005, 02:23 PM
bro
wat kind of volunteer works
i interested to help
pm mi more details?

im going with a few frens of mine to help out at the sri lanka embassy for the tsunami victimes.just to help sort out the items os that they can ship it out asap.location is at novena sq.time wise yet to comfrim,but most probably around 2-3 pm tmr.

guys,so sorry,i really cant comfirm if im going tonight.i mixed up the dates and my gf is flying back today you see,hope she wont mind going out cos im sure she will be tired and i cant possibly leave her alone after she's just back right...keltan,i got your nbr and if im going down,will sms you ok?very sorry... :o

Keo_86
01-01-2005, 02:36 PM

1. keltan
2. Spinelli
3. SongLongZi (Pending)
4. xllms
5. niterider
6. AhnNakata7 (pending)
7. Radeonic (pending)

hey...penny black is a pub for KOP fans is it??? :s11:

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:44 PM
im going with a few frens of mine to help out at the sri lanka embassy for the tsunami victimes.just to help sort out the items os that they can ship it out asap.location is at novena sq.time wise yet to comfrim,but most probably around 2-3 pm tmr.

guys,so sorry,i really cant comfirm if im going tonight.i mixed up the dates and my gf is flying back today you see,hope she wont mind going out cos im sure she will be tired and i cant possibly leave her alone after she's just back right...keltan,i got your nbr and if im going down,will sms you ok?very sorry... :o
aye..u better come ah..
i also ditch my gf...ask her go play mahjong..

anyway...
call/sms me to confirm asap then..

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:45 PM
hey...penny black is a pub for KOP fans is it??? :s11:
not sure...

Spinelli intro one..then now dun wanna come.. :D
haha

u wanna come along??

X18
01-01-2005, 02:47 PM
not sure...

Spinelli intro one..then now dun wanna come.. :D
haha

u wanna come along??
I think it is. I seen somebody mentioned it b4 in the Singapore official Liverpool forum.

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:48 PM
I think it is. I seen somebody mentioned it b4 in the Singapore official Liverpool forum.
then better..
got more kakis there liaoz...

u leh? wanna come?

X18
01-01-2005, 02:51 PM
then better..
got more kakis there liaoz...

u leh? wanna come?
I would very like to join u guys but i already have a date with my colleagues. :)

I think probably we can try to gather every weekends at a particular place to watch liverpool matches together.. wat u guys think? :D

keltan
01-01-2005, 02:55 PM
I would very like to join u guys but i already have a date with my colleagues. :)

I think probably we can try to gather every weekends at a particular place to watch liverpool matches together.. wat u guys think? :D
date with colleagues to watch da match??

if not dump them for pool! haha..

if got good response to watch pool match every weekend..i dun mind..but tink a bit hard.. mebbe for those bigger matches loh..like against man utd, chelsea, arsenal etc..

elbib00
01-01-2005, 02:57 PM
happy new yr to the bros of the kop!
may we start the new yr with a bang!!!!!

dareth
01-01-2005, 05:34 PM
i think there's live commentary from http://www.bbc.co.uk/liverpool/sport/football/liverpool_fc/index.shtml
for those who are working like me or staying at home and no cable due to whatever reasons.... probably can try this website. Personally, i had not tried before, but i will roam around in search for live commentary. :)

RadEoNic
01-01-2005, 06:31 PM
bah
have to stay home
relatives come visiting, cannot go out
=/

Keo_86
01-01-2005, 06:58 PM
Hope Aimar comes to Liverpool next season!!! I will gladly welcome him!!! Aimar, Alonso,Steven,Kewell, Garcia......OMG!!!!!!!!!! :s31:

Then Liverpool can play 3-5-2 next season...haha.... :s13:

plus come Cisse back......and get Morientes and Baros....and uprising kid, Mellor.....HOO!!!!

WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT THIS "DREAM" TEAM???? I hope all these will come true......

aptget
01-01-2005, 08:08 PM
well, Aimar has reportedly said He Did Not Say He's Going To Liverpool

:(

CanIsayNo
01-01-2005, 08:33 PM
henchoz seems really bitter

RickHunterX
01-01-2005, 09:38 PM
half-time oredy, still 0-0......damn quiet here. All went to the pub izzit?

Anyways.........Baros never play, Alonso kenna injured cannot continue.......we really walking wounded sia

dareth
01-01-2005, 09:41 PM
I'm not able to find but at least bbc radio provide live_text -> http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/l/liverpool/live_text/default.stm

CanIsayNo
01-01-2005, 09:42 PM
obvious penalty... and it's mike riley again

RickHunterX
01-01-2005, 10:48 PM
omg!
1 game stolen from us =.=
2 players lost to injury

need i say more? ARGGGGHHHHH!

elbib00
01-01-2005, 10:59 PM
SOOOO SAAAADDDD!!!!!!
we r dominating n lost to an unlucky goal.
alonso broke his ankle n riise is also down.....

spinelli
01-01-2005, 11:02 PM
aye..u better come ah..
i also ditch my gf...ask her go play mahjong..

anyway...
call/sms me to confirm asap then..

its different this time.normally i ditch gf for pool games.but she just came back from oversea,if i were to do that,abit too much right... :o

yup penny black is sort of pool pub there.so sorry keltan!my fone no more batt so couldnt contact you,thousand apologies!!

paiseh lah all,i suggest end up i never turn up,cos i abit cock,i always tot new year day is sun got it mixed up terribly,we meet next time,i promise :D

Mohawks
01-01-2005, 11:21 PM
Liverpool had 12 players... (+1 from home supporters)

but no fight against Chelsea's 14 players (+3 referees)

grrrrrrrrrrrrr

Mike Riley should be fired... banned from refereeing

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:34 PM
quite a gd atmosphere at penny black..
singing YNWA b4 the game started.. and hearing all the groans and cheers from fellow die-hard supporters was shiok.. :D

but too bad pool lost... and in the end only 3 of us turn up...

*growl* spinelli *growl*
haha..

spinelli
01-01-2005, 11:35 PM
guys,im sure all of us are upset....but lets stop using the ref as an excuse for those loss...no matter what,we lost and thats final.i dun wanna others to say we are sore losers dun we?well,anyway when it comes to decisions,they will even themselves thru the seasons,i hope

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:37 PM
NEWS STORY
COLE STRIKE SINKS UNLUCKY LIVERPOOL
Lee Brown 01 January 2005

An 80th minute goal from Chelsea substitute Joe Cole has condemned Liverpool to their second home defeat of the season, but they deserved so much more.
It is the second time this season Cole has come off the bench and sunk the Reds after he did the same at Stamford Bridge, but Rafa's men
should have been out of sight before he'd even entered the fray.

They were deprived a clear penalty when Tiago handled in the box on 39 minutes and Petr Cech continued his excellent form in the Chelsea goal with some great saves.

This defeat brings to an end of latest unbeaten run, but they can take heart from another spirited performance in which they had
Jose Morinho's men rattled for long periods.

The match was also overshadowed by the loss of Xabi Alonso, who suffered a broken ankle in a first half tackle with Lampard. Yet
more injury woe for Rafa Benitez, who has had no luck in that department.

Reds fans arriving at Anfield hoping for a cure to their heavy heads
Might have been covering their eyes at the sight of Chelsea's teamsheet, which boasted an embarrassment of riches. And in the knowledge that Jose Mourinho's table toppers had conceded just 8 league goals so far this season, they might have expected their hangovers to last a while longer.

That said, Liverpool are not found wanting for quality themselves
and; as they proved in their thrilling defeat of Arsenal here, they can beat anyone at Anfield.

Maybe with the success of that game in mind, Reds boss Rafa Benitez employed the same system of a lone striker, with Steven Gerrard supporting from a five man midfield. And it was Florent Sinama Pongolle who was handed the task of finding the goals to make it four wins on the bounce for Liverpool.

The stakes were high for both teams and that was apparent in a slow opening, but it was the Reds who showed the first signs of cohesion and they pressed Chelsea back.

They soon had their first chance too; and what a chance it was. Petr Cech will have been as surprised as anyone to see Djimi Traore bearing down on him, but he kept Traore's shot out and the ball was smuggled clear.

Chelsea must have been hurt because they swiftly went down the other end and almost took the lead through Robben. It wasn't an unfamiliar sight to see the Dutchman scampering clear of the Reds defence, but Dudek stood his ground and made a vital save when a goal looked inevitable.

Not to be out done, Liverpool quickly attacked again and we saw the games the games 3rd good chance come to nothing as Alonso failed to catch Riise's cross with the goal gaping.

The Reds suffered a blow after 27 minutes when Xabi Alonso had to go off after being fouled by Frank Lampard. The Chelsea man was booked for his crime, but Liverpool's punishment was much more severe as we later learned that Alonso had broken his ankle.

It is wretched luck for Rafa Benitez and Liverpool after their season has been continually blighted by injuries to key men.

And you'd have forgiven them for feeling sorry for themselves when
They were denied a certain penalty after Tiago had handled the ball in the penalty area after 39 minutes. Referee Riley even appeared to put his whistle to his mouth as if to give it and the Kop held it's breath, but he saved his and didn't blow.

It was expected Chelsea couldn't play any worse in the second half than they did in the first and this was found true as early as the 49th minute when Gudjohnsen almost scored.

The Reds were soon back in the ascendency though and they continued to rattle their much vaunted West London rivals. But for all their hard work and pressing, chances were still few and far between.

Luis Garcia and Steven Gerrard came closest to a second half goal
for Liverpool, but in truth the second half didn't live up to the
expectancy generated by the first half.

That was until the introduction of Joe Cole, who followed his winner
at Stamford Bridge with another strike from 18 yards after 80 minutes had been played.

It was not deserved as Chelsea had been somewhat disappoiting given their lofty position.

Liverpool haven't taken any points here, but they will take plenty of credit for another good performance.

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:38 PM
guys,im sure all of us are upset....but lets stop using the ref as an excuse for those loss...no matter what,we lost and thats final.i dun wanna others to say we are sore losers dun we?well,anyway when it comes to decisions,they will even themselves thru the seasons,i hope
yup... RB doesn't use them as excuses..

so what if we have injurries? we will just dig deep into our resources and fight for the points on the table...
thats the old shanky spirit.!

YNWA!

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:39 PM
NEWS STORY
ALONSO BLOW FOR REDS
Lee Brown 01 January 2005

Liverpool's Xabi Alonso has broken his ankle in a tackle with Chelsea's Frank Lampard in the first half of today's Premiership clash at Anfield.
Alonso was replaced by Nunez after 27 minutes, but even he couldn't
have been aware of how bad the injury was as he walked off unaided.

It further adds to the extraordinary injury woe suffered by Rafa Benitez since taking over.

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:42 PM
RAFA'S TRANSFER PLANS IN JANUARY
Steve Hunter 01 January 2005

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez believes to be very busy in the next couple of weeks when the transfer window opens and expects players to arrive as well as leave.
Benitez says he will concentrate on the Chelsea and Norwich games first and then talk transfers.

The Reds manager has been strongly linked with moves for strikers Fernando Morientes, Nicolas Anelka and Valencia playmaker Pablo Aimar, but while not confirming or declaring an interest Benitez's policy is not to talk names until a deal is done. Benitez has also offered the strongest hint yet that Igor Biscan and Stephane Henchoz have played their final games for Liverpool.

Benitez said: "We should have things to report after the Norwich game. We are talking with some players and a lot of agents too.

"It is possible that players will be leaving and arriving. It is a possibility that players like Henchoz and Biscan could be going. Southampton have talked to us because they are interested in some players, but so are a lot of clubs.

"I know there are a lot of players and a lot of big names being linked with us and we are a big club and expect that, but nothing will happen until after the Norwich game on Monday.

"I am concentrating on these two matches and there are a lot of people in the club working on the transfer situations.

"As for the words from Morientes saying nice things about me obviously I am pleased with that. But I must put everything aside to deal with these two games first."

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:43 PM
RAFA'S TRANSFER PLANS IN JANUARY

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez believes to be very busy in the next couple of weeks when the transfer window opens and expects players to arrive as well as leave.
Benitez says he will concentrate on the Chelsea and Norwich games first and then talk transfers.

The Reds manager has been strongly linked with moves for strikers Fernando Morientes, Nicolas Anelka and Valencia playmaker Pablo Aimar, but while not confirming or declaring an interest Benitez's policy is not to talk names until a deal is done. Benitez has also offered the strongest hint yet that Igor Biscan and Stephane Henchoz have played their final games for Liverpool.

Benitez said: "We should have things to report after the Norwich game. We are talking with some players and a lot of agents too.

"It is possible that players will be leaving and arriving. It is a possibility that players like Henchoz and Biscan could be going. Southampton have talked to us because they are interested in some players, but so are a lot of clubs.

"I know there are a lot of players and a lot of big names being linked with us and we are a big club and expect that, but nothing will happen until after the Norwich game on Monday.

"I am concentrating on these two matches and there are a lot of people in the club working on the transfer situations.

"As for the words from Morientes saying nice things about me obviously I am pleased with that. But I must put everything aside to deal with these two games first."
will RB still let biscan go..now that Alonso will be sidelined for some time?

hopefully he wun, unless we see somemore midfield faces coming in... cos i would not want to see Diao playing in the middle of the park for pool...

__CcW__
01-01-2005, 11:43 PM
salure RB for tt.. if i manger, i cfm whine and whine and complain and complain abt injury..

aniway, guess wat GH would come up for excuses ??

keltan
01-01-2005, 11:46 PM
salure RB for tt.. if i manger, i cfm whine and whine and complain and complain abt injury..

"we were unlucky to lose... we should have had a clear penalty but tt decision went aganist us.."

" We were the stronger of both sides thruout the match, and people say tt we defend too much.. but looking at the statistics we definitely had more shots on goal then them"

blahblahblah

niterider
01-01-2005, 11:49 PM
It's a good match from the Reds anyway... though lost to an unlucky goal. Too bad they din grab their chances... but the Blues's keeper oso quite on form. Sigh... 3 points lost, 2 players lost... but hope the Jan transfer will bring good tidings and good fortune. YNWA!!!

niterider
02-01-2005, 12:00 AM
Almost forgot... whoever said Lampard was better than Gerrad, pls say that again. Dunno where your Lampard was thruout the whole match... Gerrad was everywhere. Like what i was saying to Keltan, if only Gerrad could use his hands, he would be found besides Dudek also. Haha... Lampard better than Gerrad?? You're looking for trouble.

RadEoNic
02-01-2005, 12:15 AM
i....got nothing to say
too many wasted chances infront of goal n rotten luck

elbib00
02-01-2005, 12:17 AM
liverpool has been playing well for the past 5-6 games, even the everton game, we wasnt that bad...
onli individual mistakes prevented us from getting maximum pts in some of the games.
i certainly take heart from the recent performances.
btw everton trailing 2-1 to tottemham... lets hope for the best:)

Vecta
02-01-2005, 12:20 AM
take heart, guys.
not the fairest of results,
but we gave the our most passionate fight.
and damn, it was good.

MOURINHO: REDS UNLUCKY TO LOSE (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147302050101-1534.htm)

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has admitted his side were lucky to escape from Anfield with all three points after Joe Cole's second half winner.
The Chelsea sub secured victory for the visitors and robbed the Reds of a share of the spoils which their performance merited.

Mourinho said: "If I was Rafa then I would be very disappointed because Liverpool played well and I think a draw would have been a fair result. They deserved a point and we know we were lucky today.

"In the first half they were better than us but in the second half I thought it was more fifty-fifty. When you are going for the Championship then you need some luck and we had that today.

"We went through a difficult period in the first half when I felt my players lost some emotional control. You can't afford to do that against a team like Liverpool who press, who fight, who challenge and who battle for everything in front of their magnificent crowd.

"We won because of some luck and because of some fine individual performances. Liverpool also had some great individual displays and they worked well as a team.

"I'm pleased to have got the victory but I know Liverpool didn't deserve to lose. I wish them the best for the rest of the year."

xllms
02-01-2005, 12:23 AM
its really unfortunate tat LFC lost..

i missed the game...will watch the game tomorrow

anyway, sorry to keltan cos i couldn't come back to sg in time altho' i have promised keltan tat i will meet u guys for the match...hopefully better luck next time

xllms

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:41 AM
RAFA - ALONSO OUT FOR SIX WEEKS

A disappointed Rafael Benitez says Liverpool will be without the services of midfield playmaker Xabi Alonso for five to six weeks with a broken ankle sustained in the 1-0 defeat by Chelsea.
It is a massive blow for Liverpool and the player who has settled into Premiership life well at Anfield.

Benitez said: "Unfortunately we have lost Xabi for five to six weeks and it is a big blow for us."

When asked after the game if the injury to Alonso will mean he will be searching for a replacement in January Benitez was keeping his cards close to his chest.

Benitez said: "We will see. At this moment I am only concentrating on the next game which is Norwich. We have a good squad so we have players who can come into midfield."

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:42 AM
its really unfortunate tat LFC lost..

i missed the game...will watch the game tomorrow

anyway, sorry to keltan cos i couldn't come back to sg in time altho' i have promised keltan tat i will meet u guys for the match...hopefully better luck next time

xllms
its ok...
cant help it since u were stuck at the airport..

till next time...
YNWA!

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:44 AM
RAFA - ALONSO OUT FOR SIX WEEKS

A disappointed Rafael Benitez says Liverpool will be without the services of midfield playmaker Xabi Alonso for five to six weeks with a broken ankle sustained in the 1-0 defeat by Chelsea.
It is a massive blow for Liverpool and the player who has settled into Premiership life well at Anfield.

Benitez said: "Unfortunately we have lost Xabi for five to six weeks and it is a big blow for us."

When asked after the game if the injury to Alonso will mean he will be searching for a replacement in January Benitez was keeping his cards close to his chest.

Benitez said: "We will see. At this moment I am only concentrating on the next game which is Norwich. We have a good squad so we have players who can come into midfield."
hopefully its not Diao he is referring to when RB says we have players who can come into midfield...

elbib00
02-01-2005, 12:47 AM
take heart, guys.
and damn, it was good.

MOURINHO: REDS UNLUCKY TO LOSE (http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147302050101-1534.htm)

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho has admitted his side were lucky to escape from Anfield with all three points after Joe Cole's second half winner.
The Chelsea sub secured victory for the visitors and robbed the Reds of a share of the spoils which their performance merited.

Mourinho said: "If I was Rafa then I would be very disappointed because Liverpool played well and I think a draw would have been a fair result. They deserved a point and we know we were lucky today.

"In the first half they were better than us but in the second half I thought it was more fifty-fifty. When you are going for the Championship then you need some luck and we had that today.

"We went through a difficult period in the first half when I felt my players lost some emotional control. You can't afford to do that against a team like Liverpool who press, who fight, who challenge and who battle for everything in front of their magnificent crowd.

"We won because of some luck and because of some fine individual performances. Liverpool also had some great individual displays and they worked well as a team.

"I'm pleased to have got the victory but I know Liverpool didn't deserve to lose. I wish them the best for the rest of the year."
respect him for that.

elbib00
02-01-2005, 12:54 AM
take heart, guys.
and damn, it was good.

respect him for that.

RobbieFowler
02-01-2005, 01:15 AM
Arghh ..........
Liverpool played so well and did not even get a point.
Clear penalty not given. WTF ..... if thats not a handball?? what is?? fist ball??
Cock referee. Feel like hantam his bloddy big alien head.

Haiz ...... damn sad.
But we have got ourself to blame too. Wasted so many chances.
We really need to get QUALITY striker.

RickHunterX
02-01-2005, 02:18 AM
ya lor. Praying hard Liverpool can sign Morientes. Even though sinama-pongolle is showing potential, its way too early for him to start a match for the first team. His lay-offs are horrible =.=

Aozora
02-01-2005, 03:54 AM
Arghh ..........
Liverpool played so well and did not even get a point.
Clear penalty not given. WTF ..... if thats not a handball?? what is?? fist ball??
Cock referee. Feel like hantam his bloddy big alien head.

Haiz ...... damn sad.
But we have got ourself to blame too. Wasted so many chances.
We really need to get QUALITY striker.

time to chop mike riley into pieces and throw him into the mersey river :s27:

Jinyu
02-01-2005, 06:57 AM

The referee kayu, the chelsea players purposely did that

Ultimate10002000
02-01-2005, 10:13 AM
I personally believe Liverpool can clinch the fourth place in EPL this season and get european football next season. Winning any silverwares is quite impossible for Liverpool in all angle. Maybe league cup or FA cup got a bit of chance but Chelsea is eyeing them too.

spinelli
02-01-2005, 11:15 AM
quite a gd atmosphere at penny black..
singing YNWA b4 the game started.. and hearing all the groans and cheers from fellow die-hard supporters was shiok.. :D

but too bad pool lost... and in the end only 3 of us turn up...

*growl* spinelli *growl*
haha..

win aldy loh....im as upset and guilty as it is...ya still wanna rub it in.... :o

spinelli
02-01-2005, 11:17 AM
yup... RB doesn't use them as excuses..

so what if we have injurries? we will just dig deep into our resources and fight for the points on the table...
thats the old shanky spirit.!

YNWA!

i have the utmost respect for this guy.he never make excuses.not once since he step into anfield :s7: .anyway i find i kinda of jinx liverpool.whenever i wore the new red jersy,they always lost 1-0 :o :s27:

X18
02-01-2005, 12:20 PM
i have the utmost respect for this guy.he never make excuses.not once since he step into anfield :s7: .anyway i find i kinda of jinx liverpool.whenever i wore the new red jersy,they always lost 1-0 :o :s27:

aiks aiks...next time dun wear ur jersey then :P

Great performance but undeserved result..

I noticed that Garcia always tends to lose possesion easily and his finishing was ........ , we really need a quality striker!!

Gerrard was superb, those who said that lampard is better pls go watch the replay of the game and try to look where was him?

Lost Alonso for 6 weeks was sucks, but I am confident we can cope with it.

Credit to Chelsea though, not playing well but still won, and this is the symptom,pf a champion..

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:47 PM
with everton and middlesbrough also dropping points... we are still in a good position to qualify for the CL spot..

although we lost yesterday, was pleased with the performance of our players..and when a quality finisher arrives in the next week or so, we will march on!

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:48 PM
win aldy loh....im as upset and guilty as it is...ya still wanna rub it in.... :o
its ok lah..
theres always a next time

:)

keltan
02-01-2005, 12:50 PM
aiks aiks...next time dun wear ur jersey then :P

Great performance but undeserved result..

I noticed that Garcia always tends to lose possesion easily and his finishing was ........ , we really need a quality striker!!

Gerrard was superb, those who said that lampard is better pls go watch the replay of the game and try to look where was him?

Lost Alonso for 6 weeks was sucks, but I am confident we can cope with it.

Credit to Chelsea though, not playing well but still won, and this is the symptom,pf a champion..
Got ah...lampard was everywhere.. blasting freekicks into liverpool walls, and giving alonso a ride to the hospital..

hueman
02-01-2005, 12:52 PM
frankly speaking, i'm not too affected by the chelsea match. at least we know what we lack is mostly luck and a really good striker. mourinho himself says that we dun deserve to lose, and we must have done something right for him to eat this humble pie.

no point mouring that match, let's go slaugther norwich and hopefully we'll get really good signings this month...

hueman
02-01-2005, 01:54 PM
anyway, a thought flashd by my mind.......
do you think there's something wrong with the food or any health supplements/nutrients given to the players by the chefs, nutritionists etc?

it seems like our players lacked clacium and bones break easily.....
for the past 2 years we have....
carragher (leg by blackburn's neil)
baros (ankle by blackburn's babbel)
gerrard (metatarsal, man u)
cisse (tibia and fibula by blackburn's McEveley)
and now alonso (ankle by chelsea's lampard)
who broke their bones during a match...

just a thought...

keltan
02-01-2005, 01:55 PM
do you think there's something wrong with the food or any health supplements/nutrients given to the players by the chefs, nutritionists etc?

just a thought...
wah... tts a big thought..

haha

stansays
02-01-2005, 02:10 PM

just a thought...

Blackburn homeground is a jinx to liverpool strikers. Didnt you notice that Cisse, Baros and Carra broke their leg at the exact spot of the right field just outside the box. :s11: Blackmagic-Blackburn?

Mohawks
02-01-2005, 02:19 PM
i have the utmost respect for this guy.he never make excuses.not once since he step into anfield :s7: .anyway i find i kinda of jinx liverpool.whenever i wore the new red jersy,they always lost 1-0 :o :s27:burn it !!! :s13:

blackevil_2000
02-01-2005, 02:26 PM
pool almost beat chelsea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

stansays
02-01-2005, 02:26 PM
I miss the only Liverpool Live game this season due to friends wedding. Did watch the recorded one. A draw should be more of a fair result. Stupid "LAN PA" for his reckless tackle on Alonso. Tarore playing well but need to improve on his passing. Garcia looks tired although his trick do wonders at time. Overal is a good perfomance by Liverpool just that "CRAPPY" goal by Joe Cole. They celebrated like thou they won something big! KNN....

SongLongZi
02-01-2005, 02:29 PM
we really should have won the match...1st was excellent....although 2nd half we look abit tired and lack of ideas upfront..arghhh..both everton and boro were losing too !!!

SongLongZi

SongLongZi

SongLongZi
02-01-2005, 02:33 PM
Rafael Benitez felt Liverpool deserved to beat Chelsea but said the game turned on two things with the non award of a clear penalty and the injury to Xabi Alonso.
The Liverpool manager said the decision not to award a penalty for a clear handball by Tiago was hard to take but refused to criticise the referee Mike Riley.

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho said Liverpool should have had at least one penalty and television evidence proved two should have been given after Florent Sinama-Pongolle was hauled down in the box by William Gallas.

Benitez said: "In my opinion we played very well and controlled the first half. Two things changed the game for me, the injury to Xabi Alonso and the penalty not being given.

"I haven't spoken to the referee about the penalty and I don't like to do that or talk about the referee, but it is clear for all to see on the TV.

"At the end of the game I can only say congratulations and well done to my players for the way we played against one of the best teams in England.

"What we have to do now is keep our confidence and we need to concentrate on the next game which is Norwich on Monday."

SongLongZi
02-01-2005, 06:54 PM
Rafael Benitez has said he needs to spend and add more quality to his squad in the January transfer window if the Reds are to get at least fourth place and qualify for the Champions League.
With Xabi Alonso becoming the latest injury victim during the match against Chelsea and out for six weeks with a broken ankle, Benitez said reinforcements have to be brought in.

The manager has said he wants to concentrate fully on Monday's game at Norwich City and then he will try and sign some players.

Benitez said: "It is important to increase the level of competition in the squad. I'm very happy with the players, but if we have new faces all the players think we need to work harder because they want to play.

"If we do that we have a better possibility of being in the top four. That means more money and more possibilities to be successful. It's like a chain.

"We need to know the finances and try and do the best for the team and club but for us it is important to be in the top four.

"We beed to do some things and I am sure the board and chairman have the same idea."

SongLongZi
02-01-2005, 06:55 PM
Jamie Carragher said he couldn't believe why referee Mike Riley didn't give Liverpool a clear penalty in the defeat by Chelsea and added it was hard to take.
Referee Mike Riley appeared ready to give Liverpool a penalty in the first half when Tiago clearly handled the ball in his own area but for whatever reason the official changed his mind.

Carragher said: "The referee knew he had made a mistake because in the next five minutes he gave us everything.

"He even had the whistle to his lips as though he was going to blow and then gave us nothing. It was very hard to take."

SongLongZi
02-01-2005, 06:56 PM
Rafael Benitez has heaped praise on Sami Hyypia and feels he has been very consistent so far this season at centre half alongside Jamie Carragher.
The Liverpool boss says the performances of Hyypia and Carragher in defence has meant captain Steven Gerrard has a more attacking licence as he doesn't have to worry about defending as much as he used to.

Benitez said: "Sami has been playing very well for us along with Jamie Carragher.

"Sami is good in the air and that is important to us because in England it is crucial to have that ability in your defence. But we also know that to win games you need to score more goals than your opponents.

"That means you need a strong defence as they give you a good base and Sami helps give us that. If we have a team working hard in defence we can give Steven the freedom to attack."

The Reds manager says criticism of a so-called lack of pace with Hyypia is somewhat unfair and says the Finn is a very good reader of the game.

Benitez said: "You can address the problem of pace if you are in the right position.

"Sami is working very hard in terms of tactical work to be in the right place all the time. Sometimes players are not very quick but if they are in the right place they can stop goals."

xllms
02-01-2005, 07:29 PM
I miss the only Liverpool Live game this season due to friends wedding. Did watch the recorded one. A draw should be more of a fair result. Stupid "LAN PA" for his reckless tackle on Alonso. Tarore playing well but need to improve on his passing. Garcia looks tired although his trick do wonders at time. Overal is a good perfomance by Liverpool just that "CRAPPY" goal by Joe Cole. They celebrated like thou they won something big! KNN....

don't be so pissed off la...the reason why they celebrated like this was becos they knew they got more than wat they should deserved in this match...coupled by Mourinho's comments after the match, we do know tat liverpool was the better team, which lost the game unfortunately

jus watched the first half (replay)...and am pleased with the progress the team has made

can't help but feel very happy for the team to have RB as the manager...this guy is top-notch, probably the best in EPL now...even Mourinho's attempt to change the complexion of the game in half-time raise Chelsea's game to the usual dominant level failed to match the authority liverpool stamped in the first half

keep it up, RB!!!

xllms

Aozora
02-01-2005, 08:00 PM

just a thought...

haha now that u mention about food, i remember that the guide during the anfield stadium tour told us that GH used to give the lads 4 power bars that are high in nutrients and sugars during half time... hmmm but i dun think that causes a lack in calcium eh? :D

stansays
02-01-2005, 10:29 PM
don't be so pissed off la...the reason why they celebrated like this was becos they knew they got more than wat they should deserved in this match...coupled by Mourinho's comments after the match, we do know tat liverpool was the better team, which lost the game unfortunately

jus watched the first half (replay)...and am pleased with the progress the team has made

can't help but feel very happy for the team to have RB as the manager...this guy is top-notch, probably the best in EPL now...even Mourinho's attempt to change the complexion of the game in half-time raise Chelsea's game to the usual dominant level failed to match the authority liverpool stamped in the first half

keep it up, RB!!!

xllms

Well... just feeling vex. Liverpool is really Jinx most times. Play good=lost game, Play bad=let opponent create history.

niterider
02-01-2005, 10:44 PM
And the EPL Sibey Suay Award goes to.... Liverpool. LOL

spinelli
03-01-2005, 12:30 AM
haha now that u mention about food, i remember that the guide during the anfield stadium tour told us that GH used to give the lads 4 power bars that are high in nutrients and sugars during half time... hmmm but i dun think that causes a lack in calcium eh? :D

btw aozora,why so long never online?? :s11:

thesettingsun
03-01-2005, 01:15 AM
We are down on our luck but things look good.
We manage to match Chelsea even though we are without our top 2 strikers (Cisse, Baros) and one excellent central midfielder (Alonso) and our first choice left winger (Kewell).
That would be like Chelsea playing without Drogba or Gudjohnssen upfront and without Makelele and Duff in the midfield, or Man Utd without Nistelrooy, Rooney, Giggs and Scholes, or Arsenal without Henry, Bergkamp, Pires and Gilberto.
Furthermore I don't know if it's an off-day for Robben but this is the first time I read in a match report that Robben was 'disappointing'. Any chance that came down to the excellent defending by Traore and Benitez's tactics?
The injuries will make it tough, I think they will make the fight for 4th place a hard one, but we are definitely progressing in the right direction! (No more turning corners incessantly)

keltan
03-01-2005, 01:44 AM
yup...
i cant wait for this whole team to gell together, and for bad luck to go away (in terms of injury)

once they have played together more and understand each other better.. we will definitely be serious challengers for the trophies...

i just sense the good old times coming back soon...

YNWA!

Aozora
03-01-2005, 05:56 AM
btw aozora,why so long never online?? :s11:

im in uk now holidaying mah

poseidon008
03-01-2005, 09:20 AM
I think chelsea players tot they won the European cup or wat sh!t...celebrate until like dat...
I tihnk its becos they tot they were gona loose the match cos pool played very well....
pressed them hard...so much tat chelsea cant even string a few consecutive passes together...
argh..if only we had cisse and baros/morientes/anelka up front....
CHELSEA WOULD TUMBLE!

Well done lads...keep it up liverpool!

iwish
03-01-2005, 10:25 AM
was a bad lost. but lets take heart from the performance and move on
today vs Norwich channel 8:40pm channel 23 :D
trash norwich 5-0 to vent our anger..hehehe

just wondering what do fellow fans feel abt Mourinho's comment that Pool was unlucky to lose and Pool was the hardest match he played thru the season? being polite? mind games vs SAF/Wenger? or truely sincere admiration for Pool?

another thng..i feel v sian that Beattie is going Everton... :(

spinelli
03-01-2005, 10:47 AM
im in uk now holidaying mah

kaoz this i know...but ya been MIA like 6 mths?? :s22:

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:04 AM
I think chelsea players tot they won the European cup or wat sh!t...celebrate until like dat...
I tihnk its becos they tot they were gona loose the match cos pool played very well....
pressed them hard...so much tat chelsea cant even string a few consecutive passes together...
argh..if only we had cisse and baros/morientes/anelka up front....
CHELSEA WOULD TUMBLE!

Well done lads...keep it up liverpool!

wa lanzz...i watched the match again yesterday..damm pek chek sia..1st half chelsea attack only from robben or duff...they really cant string a few passes together..keep passing to duff or robben only..and the tiago arghhhhhh !!!!!!!! really should have won it..

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:04 AM
Never has the case to bring in video evidence to help referee's been so evident at New Year's Day at Anfield when Liverpool were denied two blatant penalties in the 1-0 defeat by Premiership leaders Chelsea.
To win Premiership titles you need a slice of luck along the way to match the class and Chelsea had plenty of lady luck at Anfield. They didn't play well and even their manager Jose Mourinho admitted Liverpool were unlucky, yet they still won and took another massive stride towards winning their first top flight crown since the 1950's.

Now to everyone's favourite subject and that is the discussion about referee's and big decisions turning matches. The previous manager Gerard Houllier in his final season as Anfield boss took that to the extreme and mounted excuse after excuse. It is to Rafa Benitez's credit that he refuses to publically condemn the officials and just give his honest opinion.

The fact is that this season some terrible decisions have gone against Liverpool. The wrongly disallowed Luis Garcia goals against Bolton and Middlesbrough would have turned defeats into at least draws, the blatant handball by Muzzy Izzett against Birmingham at Anfield when no penalty was awarded and he got away scott free. The two goals scored by Manchester United during the 2-1 defeat with the free-kick and corners that never were. People say these decisions are evened up throughout the course of a season but are they?

Mike Riley has given Manchester United eight successive penalties in matches he has officiated at Old Trafford, and the question that has to be asked is would he have turned down the two against Chelsea had they been in Manchester and not Liverpool.

How on earth he didn't give a penalty for a most blatant handball by Tiago remains something of a mystery.

Reds defender Jamie Carragher said: "The referee knew he had made a mistake because in the next five minutes he gave us everything.

"He even had the whistle to his lips as though he was going to blow and then gave us nothing. It was very hard to take."

Riley's explanation that he was going to give a penalty but change his mind because he thought a Liverpool player was going to be fouled shortly afterwards wasa ridiculous assessment and even Sky TV's Andy Gray admitted he was totally bemused by the official's comments.

Players are given suspensions for trial by TV after the event so why does that not apply to referee's as well?

The second incident saw Florent Sinama-Pongolle clearly manhandled in the penalty area by Claude Makelele but that was turned down much to the crowd's disbelief.

The fact that Xabi Alonso left the field with a broken ankle was a bitter pill to swallow also and Liverpool will badly miss the playmaker who has brought so much class to Rafa's Liverpool team.

Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard, who was booked, later apologised for the challenge and even though that is fair enough it doesn't make things easier.

Going into 2005 Rafael Benitez has not had any luck at all with the bad decisions and to cap it all players entering the Melwood treatment room on an all too frequent basis.

Before a ball was kicked Michael Owen stunned Benitez by flying off to Spain to join Real Madrid meaning he didn't have time to get in a replacement. Two months later the club's record signing, not a Benitez capture it must be added, Djibril Cisse's season was over.

Vladimir Smicer hasn't kicked a ball since pre-season, Antonio Nunez was out for two months after being injured in his first training session, then injuries followed to Steven Gerrard, Luis Garcia, Harry Kewell, Chris Kirkland, Milan Baros and now Xabi Alonso have followed suit.

The fact that Liverpool are still in a strong position and came so close to beating potential champions Chelsea speaks volumes for Benitez. The fact that Liverpool more than matches Chelsea has to be taken as a good sign. Liverpool were genuinely unlucky against Chelsea and but for a late goal from substitute Joe Cole, would have got at least a deserved point.

You could make a case that in the second half strikers Luis Garcia and Florent Sinama-Pongolle were too lightweight and got nothing out of the rock solid defenders John Terry and William Gallas. Maybe Neil Mellor, an old fashioned British centre forward, would have been a better bet to give Pongolle some much needed support in the second half and by the time he got on six minutes is not enough time to make an impression.

Liverpool can still make fourth place at the end of the season but having lost seven Premiership games already it is going to take a great deal of effort from the whole squad and the hope that potential new signings can settle quickly and make their mark.

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:05 AM
wa lanzz..all our spainish players have injured this season....EPL too rough...haha...

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:05 AM
Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard has apologised to Xabi Alonso and Liverpool for the tackle which left the Spanish international with a broken ankle.
Lampard was booked for the challenge which puts Alonso out of action for six weeks.

Lampard said: "I'm disappointed because Alonso broke his ankle which is just horrible. I didn't mean to do that at all and I apologise to the player and hope he will back soon."

bwaysaibo
03-01-2005, 11:06 AM
we nearly there, nearly there. nex yr we will win premier league

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:06 AM
Reports in France have claimed that Nicolas Anelka will this week leave Manchester City and return to Anfield.

Anelka never wanted to leave Liverpool in the first place but the striker was forced out of the club by previous manager Gerard Houllier.

Rafael Benitez is an admirer of Anelka and he can also play in the Champions League.

Reports from France are saying that Anelka will sign a four-year contract at Anfield although Manchester City have denied that there is any agreement with Liverpool.

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:07 AM
Liverpool have left a take it or leave it £4 million offer on the table for Real Madrid striker Fernando Morientes.

Liverpool are hoping Madrid, who were holding out for £6 million, will finally crack and agree to do business during this month's transfer window.

Rafael Benitez wants both Morientes and Manchester City's former Anfield striker Nicolas Anelka to boost his side's strikeforce.

fantasy21
03-01-2005, 11:10 AM
even 6million is considered cheap for a player like morientes,, why save the 2 million.

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 11:25 AM
even 6million is considered cheap for a player like morientes,, why save the 2 million.

i think morienties only left 1 yr contract with madrid..and he is 28/29 yo...thats why i think wont pay higher price for him..

gerrard17
03-01-2005, 03:45 PM
really impressed wif Benitez, many have said he's the best manager in EPL, now i'm pretty sure of that.

look how he arrange Liverpool to play against Arsenal, Manu, Newcastle and Chelsea. all big teams, great players but considering we had many injuries prior to these games and how Benitez' tactics actually killed 'em off, he's indeed the best to bring glory back to Anfield.

niterider
03-01-2005, 04:58 PM
I agree. Look at his coolness n the fact that he never shifts blame. Always refrain himself from blaming this and that. Just tell his own team to work harder. I think that's why he attracts the likes of good players. Let's hope for more good news from the Jan Transfer. Way to go RB. YNWA!!!

dy_lan
03-01-2005, 06:57 PM
cant wait to see who will be joining pool this transfer window. exciting.

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 07:34 PM
NEWS STORY
CARRAGHER SLAMS UNDER-FIRE REF RILEY
Mark Platt 03 January 2005
Jamie Carragher has launched a scathing attack on referee Mike Riley and urged the Football Association to prevent him officiating at future big matches.
Carragher was incensed by Riley's controversial decision to deny Liverpool a penalty against Chelsea at Anfield on New Years Day following a clear handball by Tiago.

The fact that the Reds eventually ended up losing a game they dominated only served to compound Carra's anger and he's adamant that Riley's error should not go unpunished.

"If the refs perform well, then they should get the big games," says the passionately spoken Liverpool defender.

"But the fact is that he influenced the outcome of another game by bad decisions. He's the same referee who made big mistakes in the United versus Arsenal game.

"What happened here and at Old Trafford could prove the difference between Arsenal winning and losing the league. Referees must be held more accountable. The FA should look at the referees who are officiating in these big games. This was a really big one and you need to have a top referee.

"Everybody knows how difficult it is for referees and that they don't get action replays but it was a blatant penalty. He was in a great position to see it. We all turned to him straightaway because he was five or six yards away and he'd put his whistle in his mouth. I don't know if he lost his nerve but he just didn't blow."

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 07:35 PM
NEWS STORY
XABI THANKS LAMPARD FOR APOLOGY
Mark Platt 03 January 2005
A deeply disappointed Xabi Alonso has reflected on the tackle by Frank Lampard that will sideline him for at least six weeks and thanked him for making a personal apology.
Alonso suffered a broken ankle following the challenge by Lampard during the first half of Liverpool's New Years day defeat to Chelsea at Anfield.

Early indications are that the Spanish midfielder will be out of action until mid-February at the earliest.

It is a major blow for the club and the player but a philosophical Alonso told Spanish newspaper AS: "I know that things like this happen in football. I am calm, but it's a shame.

"I am disappointed because things were going so well. We were getting better, three wins in a row and after the match against Chelsea, the fixtures were good to climb up the league table.

"It was a hard tackle by Frank Lampard on my set foot. It is known that here the game is played very hard and this time it was my turn. He called me that night to apologise, we talked for a good while. He told me it was not ill intentioned. You thank the gesture."

Alonso, who will stay in Liverpool to begin his rehabilitation, also revealed that the cast on his ankle has been removed and that's he's now wearing a protective boot.

It is not yet known whether surgery is required to heal the break.

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 07:36 PM
The injury sustained by Xabi Alonso against Chelsea on New Years Day will not affect Rafael Benitez's thinking as he prepares to do business in the January transfer market.
Benitez will be without Alonso for up to six weeks after the Spanish midfielder suffered a broken ankle following a challenge by Frank Lampard.

It is a major blow for the Reds boss as he enters a crucial period of the season but he admits he won't be making a knee-jerk swoop to counteract the loss of the influential playmaker.

"Losing Xabi Alonso will not change my thinking in the transfer market. We have a lot of midfield players to cover but I must discover who is fit," says Benitez.

"We will be looking for new players now because it is important we have a competitive squad.

"Our priority at this present moment is Norwich, but after that we must find the players we need."

SongLongZi
03-01-2005, 07:37 PM
hopefully we win against norwich tonight...2-1 to pool..

Tori
03-01-2005, 08:11 PM
oh no...diao is starting....