View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)
spinelli
23-01-2005, 04:59 PM
u even worse
and you are the worst :s13: :s8:
spinelli
23-01-2005, 05:01 PM
pool defence really got a very BIG PROBLEM right now....hai~~~~
as i mentioned before after the man u game.you simply cant change the central pairing overnight just like that.you just can do that.whats more for a player who's new to the league.
silent_espy
23-01-2005, 05:04 PM
Im just afraid hes like josemi. Playing like **** all day long. Its a consolation if we get 4th place now cos im afraid we cant.
melankholy
23-01-2005, 05:07 PM
Im just afraid hes like josemi. Playing like **** all day long. Its a consolation if we get 4th place now cos im afraid we cant.
I hope we can. Must pray everton stumbles and a good run of form for us.
Add must pray, boro, charlton and spurs all somehow lose their remaining matches.
RadEoNic
23-01-2005, 05:22 PM
lose also lose liao
bo bian lah, hope everyone slips up
imo, rafa shd play hyypia n carra first
when there is a 2 goal cushion or something, then let pellegrino play, let him slowly ease in instead of throwing him straight into matches
hueman
23-01-2005, 05:35 PM
lose also lose liao
bo bian lah, hope everyone slips up
imo, rafa shd play hyypia n carra first
when there is a 2 goal cushion or something, then let pellegrino play, let him slowly ease in instead of throwing him straight into matches
agree. in fact most of the new signings should be introduced this way.
dareth
23-01-2005, 05:54 PM
hopfully rafa pair up hyypia n carra in the next match :)
gibson
23-01-2005, 06:16 PM
agree. in fact most of the new signings should be introduced this way.
rafa think too highly of his former player....
niterider
23-01-2005, 07:37 PM
The prob with Liverpool is that too many injuries and that made the team lost it's form of play. Offensive wise, we're improving and it's good news to see Baros working his hearts out with his usual running and stuff. Sinama is also improving with his runs and last night he was one of the better Liverpool players IMO. Morientes is being rushed into the EPL schedule and it's not wise instead of letting him have more time to settle in.
Garcia is ok with his foot work but he needs to know Liverpool's a team that works well only if it performs as a team, unlike Chelsea where u can depend on one-man show. He has to improve on his holding & releasing of the ball though. We're over dependent on Gerrard. We need a capable deputy.
Pellegrino's mistakes are unforgiveable. As a seasoned and experienced centre back, he should perform better than such. His heading is poor and passing is aweful. IMO, dun change something a partnership when it's working well (referring to Carragher-Hyypia). Last night Hyypia overworked cos of Pellegrino and now there's more to worry as he's out injured.
niterider
23-01-2005, 07:41 PM
hopfully rafa pair up hyypia n carra in the next match :)
Think Hyypia is injured. Hamann is suspended after picking 5 yellow cards.
Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 07:41 PM
New players should not be immediately throw into a debut so soon, moreover the players are from Spain and not so used to English Football yet. I think this is one mistake made by Benitez, but of course it is due to the injuries problem the team is facing thats why he did this.
I hope we can. Must pray everton stumbles and a good run of form for us.
Add must pray, boro, charlton and spurs all somehow lose their remaining matches.
you're right bro, but how many times can we do that? 1 or 2 times is okay but not everytime we lose then must start praying, what if everton doesnt lose ....
can't imagine. :s7:
i guess everyone is disappointed, including me. total lost for words, we must try to win all the remaining AWAY games!
gerrard17
23-01-2005, 09:49 PM
i guess everyone is disappointed, including me. total lost for words, we must try to win all the remaining AWAY games!
hard, extemely hard.
our away form are already very awful, together wif our recent run i dunno how are we gonna survive.
Ultimate10002000
23-01-2005, 09:55 PM
Hahaha...praying does not help at all.....but action will
hard, extemely hard.
our away form are already very awful, together wif our recent run i dunno how are we gonna survive.
also bobian, really left with no choice liao .. if they can't win all or most of the away matches, then i think it's very hard to get the 4th spot. Or maybe, we'll get the UEFA spot once again. :s27:
i knew soton will give us a good fight, and they really did. kudos to them.
Hahaha...praying does not help at all.....but action will
haha might as well pray for miracles, tomorrow kewell and alonso will wake up realizing that all their injuries are gone!
spinelli
23-01-2005, 10:20 PM
you're right bro, but how many times can we do that? 1 or 2 times is okay but not everytime we lose then must start praying, what if everton doesnt lose ....
can't imagine. :s7:
we must start winning,not praying now!we have less than 15 games now to save our season.i dun mind not getting that fourth place,but will need to win the CL :s8: :s22:
hahaha..I like ur optimistic thinking! :) yeah let's go ahead n win the CL..lolz.
Seriously I only pray that we can get into CL next season.
P/S: Dunno y yesterday while I was watching the match, just felt like killing somebody..especially Pellegrino. Long Passes: 90% Passing Accuracy: 10% :s22:
CanIsayNo
23-01-2005, 10:44 PM
last season liverpool were playing crappy football... but the others close to them also kept dropping points... therefore can still go into CL...
this season, it's everton... they play bad, but liverpool also will drop points... still got lots of time though
crazynut06
23-01-2005, 11:12 PM
hahaha..I like ur optimistic thinking! :) yeah let's go ahead n win the CL..lolz.
Seriously I only pray that we can get into CL next season.
P/S: Dunno y yesterday while I was watching the match, just felt like killing somebody..especially Pellegrino. Long Passes: 90% Passing Accuracy: 10% :s22:
same tots here...almost wanted to strangle him
stansays
24-01-2005, 12:04 AM
Think Hyypia is injured. Hamann is suspended after picking 5 yellow cards.
He is getting slow anyway. I would rather RB inject new leg like Biscan. Overall, all the players looks lethargic every since after Christmas.
1.Gerard is not playing his commanding role since.
2.Garcia making a fool out of himself always.
3.Risse is loosing steam after his last two goals. Still on cloud nine.
4. Hamman the lag
5. Baros-- No doubt is good and one of the hardworking player. Lost his Zeroing on shooting.
6. Hypia and Carra- Looks clumsy and aimless at times. No command in Central defend role.
7. Butter Finger Dudek
8. Diplomatic RB
9. Nando- Please adapt fast
10. To all Injured players- Pray for your speedy recovery.
11. To all Rookies- Pray for your chances.
12. To Liverpool- Pray that you will recover in no time.
niterider
24-01-2005, 01:11 AM
He is getting slow anyway. I would rather RB inject new leg like Biscan. Overall, all the players looks lethargic every since after Christmas.
1.Gerard is not playing his commanding role since.
*and has been overcommitting himself to death ball situations. Shld have given chance to Riise or Hamann. Lost steam.
2.Garcia making a fool out of himself always.
*I think he's not adapting to wing play.
3.Risse is loosing steam after his last two goals. Still on cloud nine.
*Lost over to shoot or defend. Need focus
4. Hamman the lag
*Credit to him for his running though he's aging.
5. Baros-- No doubt is good and one of the hardworking player. Lost his Zeroing on shooting.
*Maybe can try shooting nearer to goal cos his long range are missing by the inch.
6. Hypia and Carra- Looks clumsy and aimless at times. No command in Central defend role.
*Give them the benefit of the doubt of the arrival of Pellegrino where Carra gotta switch to right back cos Josemi & Finnan injured and Hyypia got a new partner in town.
7. Butter Finger Dudek
*Was doing fine in last match... as usual, his inability to stay focus thruout the match cost us dear.
8. Diplomatic RB
*He has his cool ways of doing things.
9. Nando- Please adapt fast
*Over-pressured to perform.
10. To all Injured players- Pray for your speedy recovery.
*And pray for the physios.
11. To all Rookies- Pray for your chances.
*and make good use of their chances (Warnock didn't)
12. To Liverpool- Pray that you will recover in no time.[/QUOTE]
*And pray that the other 4th placing challengers get stuck in their woes.
gerrard17
24-01-2005, 01:46 AM
actually i think the best Liverpool in that match was Dudek, no pt crying over spilled milk.
guys, dun strangle/kill pelle yet. wait for Josemi to recover and let 'em have a clash of head while challenging for the ball. take 2 players out and we can have Finnan and Carra back in there. :D
niterider
24-01-2005, 02:03 AM
actually i think the best Liverpool in that match was Dudek, no pt crying over spilled milk.
guys, dun strangle/kill pelle yet. wait for Josemi to recover and let 'em have a clash of head while challenging for the ball. take 2 players out and we can have Finnan and Carra back in there. :D
Sinama was good also...
Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 09:08 AM
last season liverpool were playing crappy football... but the others close to them also kept dropping points... therefore can still go into CL...
this season, it's everton... they play bad, but liverpool also will drop points... still got lots of time though
I doubt Everton can last much longer so soon it will be Liverpool to overtake them.
elbib00
24-01-2005, 09:55 AM
its really a sad wkend sia...
as many has said, the centerback partnership shld not be broken, esp when both hyypia n cara r performing so well.
hope this lost to southhamton would be a wakeup call for the team...
edit:wtf! i tried to use C.B(without full stop) as centerback but the forums automatically replaces it with 2 asterix. :s13:
Kiwi8
24-01-2005, 10:49 AM
its really a sad wkend sia...
as many has said, the centerback partnership shld not be broken, esp when both hyypia n cara r performing so well.
hope this lost to southhamton would be a wakeup call for the team...
edit:wtf! i tried to use C.B(without full stop) as centerback but the forums automatically replaces it with 2 asterix. :s13:
Becos the forum assumes all CB are short forms for *ahem*. ;)
SongLongZi
24-01-2005, 11:09 AM
lucky everton also lost...
iwish
24-01-2005, 12:24 PM
another bad lost...when is finnan coming back? need to restore the back 4 asap....
to pull off 4th place...we need a string of gd results in the last 15 games..keeping fingers cross..
Coolsmurf
24-01-2005, 12:26 PM
think benitez had no choice because josemi and finnan are injured...so he had to throw pellegrino in...just utter bad luck on the injuries front...
iwish
24-01-2005, 12:28 PM
i always feel that diouf has a lot to offer IF AND ONLY IF is is well managed. as musch as i feel that he was brilliant for bolton, i dun see him able to gel well with the other lpool players. good thing abt his god performance is that someone might be willing to spend a few millions on him to recover part of the 11mils we paid for him.
diouf is skilful but consistent and temperamental...and not a fav with the fans...i think RB take all this into consideration thats y he off load him...
Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 03:32 PM
Ya i agree with you, i dont see any reasons why Liverpool will need Diouf anymore. Offloading him is the best solution.
melankholy
24-01-2005, 04:15 PM
Ya i agree with you, i dont see any reasons why Liverpool will need Diouf anymore. Offloading him is the best solution.
Does the fact that he cost us $10Mil ring any bells? Besides, hes playing good football and has already apologised. I think he deserves a 2nd chance.
Virus
24-01-2005, 05:52 PM
Does the fact that he cost us $10Mil ring any bells? Besides, hes playing good football and has already apologised. I think he deserves a 2nd chance.
If Liverpool do give him a chance, which position should he play ?
Striker? We have Baros, Morientes, Pongolle, Mellor, and his strikerate isnt that good.
Right winger? We have Nunez, Finnan, and Gracia, plus this is not his supposed position.
From the look of it, I think is the best interest for Liverpool to find a buyer and reclaim some money back from the 10million loss.
ttkkhh88
24-01-2005, 06:48 PM
haiz...what a bad week for liverpool....that pellegrino is so lousy lor....even a team second from bottom(saints) also cannot win.... :s11:
Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 06:55 PM
Erm...consider Diouf joined Liverpool was a wrong move, and there is no need for a 2nd chance as Diouf was given enough chances b4. The 10 million spend on him will be reclaim back by offloading him to another club that wants him. But of course might make loss in a sense...
__CcW__
24-01-2005, 07:35 PM
Liverpool's turbulent season of injuries continues as Sami Hyypia will miss Tuesday's Carling Cup semi-final at Watford after suffering a hip injury.
The Finnish international limped out of Saturday's 2-0 defeat at Southampton but is hoping to be back for the match at Charlton on Tuesday, 1st February.
Hyypia becomes the 11th Liverpool player to be out injured this season and it causes a major selection poser for Rafael Benitez.
It is expected Djimi Traore will come in to partner Mauricio Pellegrino at centre half at Watford with Jamie Carragher continuing at right back.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton said: "Sami had a scan at Melwood on Sunday morning which revealed he has a hip injury. He should be back for the game at Charlton."
YIKES.. carragher at rb?? noo......
hueman
24-01-2005, 07:35 PM
Erm...consider Diouf joined Liverpool was a wrong move, and there is no need for a 2nd chance as Diouf was given enough chances b4. The 10 million spend on him will be reclaim back by offloading him to another club that wants him. But of course might make loss in a sense...
Definitely a loss.
maybe we can recall tallec back ... ?
we need some young legs. :sad:
hueman
24-01-2005, 09:32 PM
IN RAFA WE TRUST ON A DAY OF DEPRESSION
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147599050124-1211.htm
Even the great Liverpool managers are not immune to such a wretched run of results and Liverpudlians need only to look at Bob Paisley's first season in charge of the Reds as a prime example.
The legendary boss endured a run of six successive league games without a win and suffered elimination from both the European Cup Winners Cup and League Cup during a miserable four week spell
If you're still feeling depressed have a think about what happened next? He went onto to become the most successful manager in this club's history.
Keep the faith. In Rafa we trust.
----
I must admit I still trust RB more than GH anytime. I really hope he will deliver soon.
melankholy
24-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Liverpool's turbulent season of injuries continues as Sami Hyypia will miss Tuesday's Carling Cup semi-final at Watford after suffering a hip injury.
The Finnish international limped out of Saturday's 2-0 defeat at Southampton but is hoping to be back for the match at Charlton on Tuesday, 1st February.
Hyypia becomes the 11th Liverpool player to be out injured this season and it causes a major selection poser for Rafael Benitez.
It is expected Djimi Traore will come in to partner Mauricio Pellegrino at centre half at Watford with Jamie Carragher continuing at right back.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton said: "Sami had a scan at Melwood on Sunday morning which revealed he has a hip injury. He should be back for the game at Charlton."
YIKES.. carragher at rb?? noo......
Pellegrino and traore at **>??
DIE
gerrard17
24-01-2005, 09:53 PM
really feeling abit low. nevertheless life goes on, and hopefully they can prove a pt that they are not the worse team in Liverpool's shirt in 4 decades.
mizera
24-01-2005, 10:02 PM
Carragher is a rock at the centre this season, he shouldn't be shifted no matter what the injury situation is me thinks..
iwish
24-01-2005, 10:35 PM
Carragher is a rock at the centre this season, he shouldn't be shifted no matter what the injury situation is me thinks..
i agree...can have make shift right/left back right/left mid but nvr make shift centre back....sigh...i am sure RB knows this..........
Ultimate10002000
24-01-2005, 11:23 PM
Carragher is a smart and flexible player that can almost play in every single position except as a goalie of course. If he is good in the center back position then let him be there permanently and shift other players to other spot lor.
heygal
24-01-2005, 11:33 PM
really feeling abit low. nevertheless life goes on, and hopefully they can prove a pt that they are not the worse team in Liverpool's shirt in 4 decades.
think thats highly unlikely , think no liverpool team ,be it now or furture, will be worst off then souness era. I can even say that , hes the one who bring liverpool fc where we r at.
SongLongZi
25-01-2005, 12:06 AM
me too..hopefully they can quickly back to form..
elbib00
25-01-2005, 12:51 AM
not again.... another injury...
to our centerback somemore!
yup. life goes on n i will keep supporting the reds1!!!!
gerrard17
25-01-2005, 01:58 AM
think thats highly unlikely , think no liverpool team ,be it now or furture, will be worst off then souness era. I can even say that , hes the one who bring liverpool fc where we r at.
haha i din say that. i jus quoted off from the nicely written article off liverpoolfc webby.
SongLongZi
25-01-2005, 02:00 AM
not again.... another injury...
to our centerback somemore!
yup. life goes on n i will keep supporting the reds1!!!!
ynwa...
10char
gerrard17
25-01-2005, 02:04 AM
btw, this' my 10th year as a Liverpool supporter. :)
wondering how long have u guys been following 'em.
niterider
25-01-2005, 03:24 AM
16 years for me.
thesettingsun
25-01-2005, 03:51 AM
I just read some letters sent in by Liverpool fans at football365.com. They sound really pissed with the situation now. I'm posting them here cos some of their comments are quite funny- please read with an open mind or otherwise please ignore them!
Letter 1
Rafa, You've Made A Mess
Sorry Rafa, you can't go on blaming the injury list, this is about coaching, motivation and team selection. We have a forward line that features the top scorer in Euro 2004 and the best striker in last year's Champions League, but our only goal in the last five games has come from Watford's centre-half heading into his own net.
Pellegrino (the defensive 'cover' parachuted in recently) has little positional sense, turns like an oil tanker and was directly involved in both the goals scored against us on Saturday. Frankly, his transfer here smacks entirely of doing an old mate a favour rather than improving the team (a la Josemi). Why on earth is Stevie G having to play 90 minutes when he so obviously isn't fit? He's not contributing anything and is potentially making the injury worse - does he need a red cross floating above his head like on the PS2 so you'll notice?
It wouldn't be as frustrating if there was light visible somewhere, a sense of a plan coming together which would come to fruition when we're back at full strength. Yet the only sense I get is of a manager hopelessly out of his depth and without the first idea of what to do about it (can anyone explain, for example, what problem on Saturday the introduction of Biscan for Hamann was supposed to address?).
We are being outplayed and/or outfought in every area of the field at the moment, and our players look jittery and uncertain. Just like me, they are hoping to win rather than expecting to. Watford tomorrow night has suddenly taken on even greater significance - what will you say if we get turned over gain Rafa? "Oh well, we are still in two competitions?"
Andy Neilson
Letter 2
We're Just Rubbish. Full Stop
The situation at Liverpool is now hopeless. Yes, we lost 2-0 to Southampton. But that was then. That was when Houlier was coming to the end and the board was just waiting to get rid of him. Now we have got Benitez, Morientes, Alonso and Cisse. Admittedly Cisse and Alonso weren't there but still it is pathetic.
It seems that no matter who the manager is, whoever signs, whoever is brought in we are still hopeless and pathetic. We could have Rijkaard or Capello in charge. Ronaldinho, Shevchenko and Stam could be playing for us but we would still be totally hopeless.
Gerrard will leave in the summer and I won't blame him. I would in his situation. And when he does it will be relegation battles for us.
Robert Van Egghen, Orpington
Letter 3
The Luis Garcia Circus
For your readers' convenience, I have carefully analysed Luis Garcia's entire repertoire of skills and distilled them into the following summary:
1. Attempts to flick ball with the outer instep of left foot while executing a half-pirouette.
2. Loses possession.
3. Silly grin on face.
4. Rinse and repeat for remainder of match.
I'll take Diouf (aka Spitting Cobra) over this clown anytime, any day.
Thomas Sim
Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 08:56 AM
Wow...what a serious issue it is all the supporters get really piss off
iwish
25-01-2005, 10:34 AM
16 years for me.
abt 12 years for me...sometimes i think i jinx the team :( they have not won the league since i follow them :(
10 years for me.. :o
I always think I jink the team too.. :o
Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 11:56 AM
Althought i am not really a die hard fan for Liverpool but have followed their news and progress for around 3 years already. Quite like this team but not rooting for it to win EPL. Perhaps 4th spot yes i am rooting for Liverpool to clinch it this season.
liverpool must win ah!!
hopefully can meet man utd in the league cup finals, time for revenge!
fantasy21
25-01-2005, 12:41 PM
Wow...what a serious issue it is all the supporters get really piss off
the loyal followers of the club.
those letters does make sense also, it's good lar .. must give RB some pressure!
duno tonight can win anot, so many injuries ... :sad:
gerrard17
25-01-2005, 01:13 PM
must stick wif em through thick and thin. :D
no prediction, jus crossing my fingers for the game. :o
keltan
25-01-2005, 01:29 PM
RAFA - A WIN WILL MAKE A BIG DIFFERENCE
Steve Hunter 24 January 2005
Rafael Benitez says he knows Liverpool are not playing well at the moment but added he and his players are working as hard as ever to put things right and is in a confident frame of mind ahead of the Watford match.
Benitez says more hard work and effort is needed to put things right and said the players want to please the supporters by getting to Cardiff in the Carling Cup Final.
Benitez said: "In football sometimes you win but sometimes you lose. We are very disappointed and me and the players feel the same as the supporters. We can change the situation and we all have a responsibility to work hard.
"The supporters say 'You'll Never Walk Alone' and we are together and will get through this. When you are not playing well you need to work hard and do the best for the club.
"We have lost the last three games but we have a game straight away to put things right. This is a good chance to get to a cup final and we go into the game with confidence.
"In the first game Watford had two or three good chances but after watching the video of the game I think we controlled the game. We won't go there thinking it will be easy and it will be difficult for us, but as always the idea is to work hard, play well and win."
keltan
25-01-2005, 01:29 PM
RILEY IN CHARGE OF WATFORD GAME
Mike Riley is the referee for Liverpool's Carling Cup semi-final second leg tie at Watford on Tuesday night.
Riley was criticised for his refusal to give Liverpool what appeared to be a blatant penalty in the New Year's Day defeat by Chelsea at Anfield.
The match kicks-off at 7.45pm on Tuesday night and live commentary will be available as always on this website as the Reds take a 1-0 lead to Vicarage Road.
keltan
25-01-2005, 01:30 PM
RILEY IN CHARGE OF WATFORD GAME
Mike Riley is the referee for Liverpool's Carling Cup semi-final second leg tie at Watford on Tuesday night.
Riley was criticised for his refusal to give Liverpool what appeared to be a blatant penalty in the New Year's Day defeat by Chelsea at Anfield.
The match kicks-off at 7.45pm on Tuesday night and live commentary will be available as always on this website as the Reds take a 1-0 lead to Vicarage Road.
hopefully no more bull from this refereee...
hueman
25-01-2005, 01:58 PM
been supporting since 1985 when they were bossing the BIG LEAGUE. never turn back since.
i still rem that time can listen to bbc to get latest news and then always go to my pri sch's reading room to check out the table standing... those were the days... always top few places often topmost. how times changed.
RadEoNic
25-01-2005, 02:10 PM
ive been supporting for close to 10 years...didn't noe much abt the team other than they wear red at that time
lol
gerrard17
25-01-2005, 03:16 PM
lol, those were the days.
thankfully some legends were still playing when i was watching back then - John Barnes, Ian Rush, Robbie Fowler, Mark Wright and co.
Nothing beats Jason McAteer's attitude, someone close to him now in Liverpool's shirt would be Stevie G.
Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 03:44 PM
If Liverpool can get 1 silverware this season is consider to be a good achievement. RB will need more time to improve the whole team.
melankholy
25-01-2005, 04:00 PM
thankfully some legends were still playing when i was watching back then - John Barnes, Ian Rush, Robbie Fowler, Mark Wright and co.
Nothing beats Jason McAteer's attitude, someone close to him now in Liverpool's shirt would be Stevie G.
though i have to admit, stevie's lack of oomph in recent games is a crisis. Could be the injury hes carrying or maybe the anticaption of going to madrid in the summer is getting to him.
Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 04:19 PM
Gerrard has not been trying his best nor put in much effort, i guess his commitment for the club has vapourise together with the poor results coming in.
melankholy
25-01-2005, 04:29 PM
yup. low morale. nothing to play for. etc. thoughts like that can bring any team down. I hope we win watford and can build from then on.
other stuff, hope solari comes to us on a cheap. our midfield needs to beef up. Solari and another CM. Hamann and biscan are liabilities.
elbib00
25-01-2005, 05:01 PM
hamann has been doing quite a good job the past few yrs. biscan hasnt really have the chance to prove himself. labelling them as liabilities is quite harsh i feel
Ultimate10002000
25-01-2005, 05:10 PM
Dont forget Hamann is quite old liaoz yet he is still doing the best for the team. Biscan is a poor fella that wasnt given much chance to play.
melankholy
25-01-2005, 05:23 PM
yup. thats why hamann is now a liability. hes ageing every day and slowing down a lot. he could be a good backup but i think his career is slowing down. biscan, i love that guy but not played a lot, we dont know how "good' he is. Hence, we need to beef up our midfield. Having biscan and hamann as our two main CMs is quite worrying.
i think Rafa should drop Hamann and replace him with a more attacking player..
hueman
25-01-2005, 06:20 PM
Ch22 Wed Morning 03:40 AM-05:38 AM Carling Cup 2004, SF1 (2nd Leg) - Watford vs Liverpool (Live & Exclusive)
fingers crossed
niterider
25-01-2005, 06:24 PM
Right now the prob is not attacking i feel. It's the defence and i feel adding/replacing a defensive midfielder is more impt than opting for a offensive one. Though there's no doubt that we're still lacking a play-maker.
I fully agree that Hamann has been working hard since joining the Reds and no doubt his age is catching up, he still is playing his hearts out. Perharps he's overrun when Stevie's having an off day and thus he's stretched. Biscan is drawing my attention as well. Feels he should have more chances as i'm sure he has something to show us all. Stevie wise could be feeling the strain of rushing back from injury. I think he needs to re-org himself else suffer a burn out as Liverpool is over dependent on him entirely.
I would hope the Reds to win by 2 clear goals tonight. 1 from Baros a must! :)
melankholy
25-01-2005, 06:34 PM
i think defensively we were okay. till pelle arrived and disrupted it. we're still lacking in attack though imho.
we didnt create many chances against soton and have been struggling to score against weaker teams
hueman
25-01-2005, 07:02 PM
yah, this season, we can see biscan doing some nice and niffy moves. nothing like the different clumsy clown he was for the past seasons. hopefully he is a gem in disguise.
niterider
25-01-2005, 07:22 PM
IMO, RB has actually got the winning formula for Liverpool. But he is so unlucky so be hit with injuries after injuries and now he has new arrivals to cater to. I think he's back to the drawing board again, who to pair with who effectively with only who's available for him. When the Reds squad is full and running, i think the train is ready to rollout on the giants. But till then, it's red alert at Anfield.
SongLongZi
25-01-2005, 09:28 PM
afael Benitez has revealed he's held a meeting with his players at Melwood to thrash out the problems which have resulted in three straight defeats.
The Reds have been heavily criticised following losses to Manchester United, Burnley and Southampton but the boss remains confident his players will bounce back - starting tonight at Watford.
He said: "You need to talk sometimes with individuals and sometimes with the team. We needed to talk with the team this time to analyse the situation and to hear what they thought about the situation.
"The players are a fantastic group of professionals and they need to understand our ideas, but we also need to hear what they think about the situation at this moment.
"We've analysed the performance and we know the solution which is, as always, to work harder. We are very disappointed. We understand the supporters and we want to give the best for them.
"Against Southampton, their wingers played better than our wingers, their full backs played better than our full backs, and the manager better than me."
Benitez has refused to blame his players for the club's horrendous week and instead insists that he should be the one receiving the criticism.
He said: "I am the manager and it is my responsibility to decide things. I choose the eleven that start every game. When we play very, very well against Arsenal and Olympiacos, everyone talks very well about me, so when you lose you need to accept that. It's not a problem.
"We accept the critics, but we need to do our job as well as possible. I don't like it, but I accept it. If we win tonight the supporters will be very, very happy. And then if we win against Charlton and Everton lose everything changes again.
"You need to look at the bigger picture. I am here working for the present and for the future."
The Reds will be looking to get back on the winning track at Watford tonight with a place in the Carling Cup final at stake.
He added: "For us it is so important to win this game because there are the possibilities to play in a final. How many players play a final in their life?
"If people think we will go into the game afraid of the criticism we would get if we lost they are wrong. If we win, that's normal because we're Liverpool Football Club. If we lose, we play again next week - you can't think about the criticism."
SongLongZi
25-01-2005, 09:30 PM
Rafael Benitez has revealed he's held a meeting with his players at Melwood to thrash out the problems which have resulted in three straight defeats.
The Reds have been heavily criticised following losses to Manchester United, Burnley and Southampton but the boss remains confident his players will bounce back - starting tonight at Watford.
He said: "You need to talk sometimes with individuals and sometimes with the team. We needed to talk with the team this time to analyse the situation and to hear what they thought about the situation.
"The players are a fantastic group of professionals and they need to understand our ideas, but we also need to hear what they think about the situation at this moment.
"We've analysed the performance and we know the solution which is, as always, to work harder. We are very disappointed. We understand the supporters and we want to give the best for them.
"Against Southampton, their wingers played better than our wingers, their full backs played better than our full backs, and the manager better than me."
Benitez has refused to blame his players for the club's horrendous week and instead insists that he should be the one receiving the criticism.
He said: "I am the manager and it is my responsibility to decide things. I choose the eleven that start every game. When we play very, very well against Arsenal and Olympiacos, everyone talks very well about me, so when you lose you need to accept that. It's not a problem.
"We accept the critics, but we need to do our job as well as possible. I don't like it, but I accept it. If we win tonight the supporters will be very, very happy. And then if we win against Charlton and Everton lose everything changes again.
"You need to look at the bigger picture. I am here working for the present and for the future."
The Reds will be looking to get back on the winning track at Watford tonight with a place in the Carling Cup final at stake.
He added: "For us it is so important to win this game because there are the possibilities to play in a final. How many players play a final in their life?
"If people think we will go into the game afraid of the criticism we would get if we lost they are wrong. If we win, that's normal because we're Liverpool Football Club. If we lose, we play again next week - you can't think about the criticism."
CanIsayNo
25-01-2005, 09:41 PM
IMO, RB has actually got the winning formula for Liverpool. But he is so unlucky so be hit with injuries after injuries and now he has new arrivals to cater to. I think he's back to the drawing board again, who to pair with who effectively with only who's available for him. When the Reds squad is full and running, i think the train is ready to rollout on the giants. But till then, it's red alert at Anfield.
and you would know that... how???
iwish
25-01-2005, 09:41 PM
I would hope the Reds to win by 2 clear goals tonight. 1 from Baros a must! :)
hehe i share the same feeling..win by 2 clear goals
i think the team will answer all the critics tonight and give a gd performance...watch out watford!!!
btw anyone catching the match? i dunno if watching..watch..tml go office seh seh....dont watch..i scare i miss a good red performance...wat tough choice.... but think i will still watch..hahahha
coates
25-01-2005, 11:16 PM
i hope pool can get into the finals.....this is the only chance to land themselves a domestic trophy
spinelli
26-01-2005, 12:30 AM
looks like im e only one watching... :s11:
niterider
26-01-2005, 01:34 AM
looks like im e only one watching... :s11:
u good mah.. got cable tv. i dun... but will still try to stay up to 'watch' haha...
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:30 AM
1-0 to LIverpool!!!!!
Stevie G to the rescue yet again....
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:32 AM
MORIENTES: THE FANS HERE ARE INCREDIBLE
Paul Rogers 25 January 2005
Fernando Morientes has spoken out about football life on Merseyside and although he admits it will take him time to settle, he's already fallen in love with his new club and the fans.
Morientes has yet to play on a winning side for Liverpool, having followed up a home debut loss against Manchester United with another defeat at the hands of Harry Redknapp's Southampton, but he believes that both he and the team will still come good this season.
"I am finding it hard to adapt but I am better now," he said. "It's surprising when you see things you are not used to, such as training without any fans or without the press watching. I am starting to get to know things, my wife is looking for a house and a school for the kids and things are falling into place.
"I love the training ground and of course Anfield - it's true there is a certain magic before, during and after a game. They are new things that attract your attention. I have the advantage that [Rafa] Benitez speaks English well, at least that's how it seems to me. I can understand everything and that is a relief.
"This club is a lot calmer than Real Madrid, where everything gets magnified, and the people in the street are calm. They stop you, but they are very polite and that is good for a footballer. We are a historic club and fifth in the table but that is not a problem. The confidence that you get given here is incredible. When you sign a coach like Benitez it is to let him work with a long-term view and that is what is happening."
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:34 AM
PALACE IN LE TALLEC CHASE
Internet Report 25 January 2005
Palace are thought to have joined a host of clubs chasing Liverpool youngster Anthony Le Tallec, report CrystalPalace.Rivals.Net.
The young Frenchman is currently on loan with Ligue 1 outfit St Etienne but has seen little first team action this season. A return to England is likely with clubs lining up to host his services.
The 20-year-old is capable of playing either in midfield or attack and is regarded as one of the best French prospects for the future.
Also thought to be in the hunt are Norwich, Sunderland and Leeds.
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:35 AM
ALONSO SET TO BE OUT FOR SEASON
Paul Eaton 25 January 2005
Rafael Benitez has confirmed Spanish midfielder Xabi Alonso is likely to miss the rest of the season.
Alonso broke his ankle in a tackle with Frank Lampard during the Reds' clash with Chelsea on New Year's Day and was originally expected to be sidelined for just three months.
But Benitez is now resigned to being without his £10 million midfield star until the beginning of next season.
He said: "In my mind now I think that Xabi will not play again this season.
"After three months, you don't know, some players can come straight back but some players take a lot of time. If Xabi comes back it will be a bonus."
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:35 AM
ENGLISH EYES ON REINA
SKY Sports 25 January 2005
Liverpool and Manchester United are reported to be on the trail of Villarreal goalkeeper Jose Reina.
The custodian is currently rated as the most in-form Spanish keeper in La Liga and, amazingly, has stopped seven of the nine penalties he has faced this season.
He was in fine form again at the weekend during Villarreal's derby win over Valencia, keeping out yet another spot kick.
Liverpool and United have both been scouring the market for a goalkeeper and have been been linked with a host of names.
The Merseysiders were thought to be closing on a deal for Real Madrid reserve Cesar, but swooped instead for Leeds United's Scott Carson last week.
Given Carson's tender years, boss Rafa Benitez might still wish to add further cover due to Jerzy Dudek's shaky form and Chris Kirkland's injury-proneness, and would be likely to turn to the Spanish market once again.
The inconsistency of Roy Carroll and Tim Howard has led to rumours that United are on the lookout for a new number one with Edwin van der Sar, Mark Schwarzer and Sebastien Frey all having been mentioned.
The Red Devils already have a Spanish keeper on their books in the form of Ricardo, and his unproductive time at Old Trafford is likely to leave Sir Alex Ferguson wary about taking a punt on another Spaniard.
However, sources in Spain claim both Premiership clubs have contacted Reina's agent for information on his situation.
The 22-year-old is in his third season at Villarreal having joined from Barcelona, and last season signed a bumper new deal that ties him to El Madrigal until 2012.
His release clause stands at some 12 million, and his father - who acts as his representative - insists any move would be entirely dependant on Villarreal.
"My son has a contract with Villarreal and only the club could negotiate on this matter," Reina Snr stated. "But in life there is always a possible solution."
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:36 AM
ENGLISH EYES ON REINA
SKY Sports 25 January 2005
Liverpool and Manchester United are reported to be on the trail of Villarreal goalkeeper Jose Reina.
The custodian is currently rated as the most in-form Spanish keeper in La Liga and, amazingly, has stopped seven of the nine penalties he has faced this season.
He was in fine form again at the weekend during Villarreal's derby win over Valencia, keeping out yet another spot kick.
Liverpool and United have both been scouring the market for a goalkeeper and have been been linked with a host of names.
The Merseysiders were thought to be closing on a deal for Real Madrid reserve Cesar, but swooped instead for Leeds United's Scott Carson last week.
Given Carson's tender years, boss Rafa Benitez might still wish to add further cover due to Jerzy Dudek's shaky form and Chris Kirkland's injury-proneness, and would be likely to turn to the Spanish market once again.
The inconsistency of Roy Carroll and Tim Howard has led to rumours that United are on the lookout for a new number one with Edwin van der Sar, Mark Schwarzer and Sebastien Frey all having been mentioned.
The Red Devils already have a Spanish keeper on their books in the form of Ricardo, and his unproductive time at Old Trafford is likely to leave Sir Alex Ferguson wary about taking a punt on another Spaniard.
However, sources in Spain claim both Premiership clubs have contacted Reina's agent for information on his situation.
The 22-year-old is in his third season at Villarreal having joined from Barcelona, and last season signed a bumper new deal that ties him to El Madrigal until 2012.
His release clause stands at some 12 million, and his father - who acts as his representative - insists any move would be entirely dependant on Villarreal.
"My son has a contract with Villarreal and only the club could negotiate on this matter," Reina Snr stated. "But in life there is always a possible solution."
hmmm...how come suddenly we are linked with so many GKs?
Carson who has since joined us, Cesar and now him...
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:37 AM
90th Min...
Pool will advance to the next round with a 2-0 aggregate...
both scored by Gerrard..
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:39 AM
Rui Duarte is being linked with a move to England, with Southampton and Liverpool the clubs reportedly keen on the Estoril player.
Benfica had been favourites to snap up the defender and Sochaux have also shown an interest but fresh reports in Portugal are indicating that Saints boss Harry Redknapp and Reds chief Rafa Benitez have joined the chase for his signature.
Estoril president Antonio Figueiredo has already denied that a meeting with Benfica officials was to seal a move for the highly-rated defender.
"He is going abroad," Figueiredo told O Jogo. "But nothing is decided yet."
The Portuguese right back is expected to be on the move this month and developments are likely to occur within the next week or so.
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:41 AM
Game over...
Liverpool to meet either chelski or man utd in the finals..
lets march on to our first domestic trophy of the season... though not as prestigious as the PL or CL.... better then nothing...
we will still support our beloved team thru thick and thin!
YNWA!
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:44 AM
STEVIE TAKES REDS BACK TO CARDIFF
Paul Eaton 25 January 2005
Rafa Benitez will celebrate his first season in charge at Anfield by leading his players out in a major cup final after Steven Gerrard's second half goal gave the Reds a two goal aggregate victory over Watford at Vicarage Road.
The Carling Cup may not have been at the top of Rafa's priorities at the start of the season, but the timing of this victory over the Hornets couldn't have been better as the Reds put their recent troubles behind them to see off the valiant challenge of their Championship opponents.
After three straight defeats the Reds knew another loss tonight would have given their growing army of critics even more ammunition to hurl in their direction but, despite never reaching top gear at Vicarage Road, Benitez's boys produced the kind of gritty performance demanded on nights like this to secure their place in the Cardiff showpiece next month.
It also means the Reds are assured of at least a UEFA Cup place next season - although Benitez will be hoping this result can kick-start Liverpool's Premiership form as they look to close in on the top four and a place in next season's Champions League instead.
It was a night of celebration for the Reds but also one of despair for young striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle who survived just three minutes as a second half substitute before being taken off with what appeared to be a serious ankle injury. The Anfield injury curse looks to have struck again.
The first half was a low key affair with Liverpool always looking the more dangerous of the two teams but Watford, spurred on by a partisan home crowd, always felt they were in the contest when only trailing to Steven Gerrard's goal at Anfield two weeks ago.
Fernando Morientes went closest to breaking the deadlock in the first half with a low shot which was deflected narrowly wide after good link-up play with Steven Gerrard.
Gerrard himself could have netted after running half the length of the field but, just as a shooting opportunity presented itself, he instead opted for a passto Milan Baros at the far post but the Czech ace was crowded out and the opportunity was lost. Gerrard was to make no such mistake in the second half.
Liverpool, despite dominating, were always vulnerable with just a one goal aggregate lead and they survived a nervy moment just before the break when Mike Riley - the official who denied the Reds a clear penalty against Chelsea on New Year's Day - this time gave a dubious decision in our favour when he ruled Mauricio Pellegrino's challenge on Bouazza to be legal when TV replays suggested otherwise.
Baros wasted a golden chance six minutes into the second period when he ran clean through on goal, only to be denied by a last ditch challenge from Watford skipper Neil Cox.
Liverpool defended well against spirited attacks from the home side during the second half and always looked capable of breaking to good effect at the other end.
Morientes almost got a shot in on goal after good play by Gerrard shortly after the hour mark and then Igor Biscan and Mauricio Pellegrino both went close after 70 minutes when Biscan's shot was deflected for a corner and Pellegrino's header from the dead ball delivery was hacked clear by the Watford defence.
Liverpool settled any nerves they may have been feeling 16 minutes from time when Steven Gerrard emerged as the hero once again with a fine right footed finish after good play by Morientes and Riise.
It was a goal which killed off the hopes of Watford and sent the travelling Liverpudlians into ecstasy behind the goal.
"We're all going to Cardiff" sang the joyous fans after Stevie's strike as they looked forward to their sixth final at the stadium in just four years.
It was never a cup tie which got the blood boiling or which saw Liverpool play their best football - but after three straight losses that'll be the last thing on Rafael Benitez's mind.
The result was all that mattered tonight and the Reds did more than enough to secure a place at the Millennium Stadium on February 27 where they will face either Manchester United or Chelsea.
With both teams having done the double over the Reds this season let's hope the sweet smell of revenge is in the air when the Reds face Alex Ferguson's or Jose Mourinho's men in four and a half week's time.
It should be some final!
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:44 AM
Injury jinx strikes Pool again...
Pongolle injured in this clash...
Hmm....
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:48 AM
Hamann is an integral part of this team...
He has been doing his job so effectively...protecting the back 4... and is the link between the defence and midfield too..
Admitted he is getting on in age, so hopefully we have a replacement for him soon...
Mebbe John Welsh will be the one to do so? I was quite impressed with his display in the game against Burnley, even though his senior team-mates paled in comparison...
keltan
26-01-2005, 05:50 AM
Alonso, Cisse out for the season..
Smicer and Kewell should be due back soon...
Hypia, Pongolle, Josemi out of action too...
Hmmmm did i miss out anyone else??
Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 09:01 AM
Injury jinx strikes Pool again...
Pongolle injured in this clash...
Hmm....
Poor Liverpool it seems to me Liverpool always end a match with an injured player.
iwish
26-01-2005, 09:58 AM
hmmm...how come suddenly we are linked with so many GKs?
Carson who has since joined us, Cesar and now him...
Dudek time is up...i wont be surprise if Chris Kirkland is offload too...
GK has to be consistent (good) and injury free..what we have are 2 gd keepers but one is not consistent and the other is too injury prone....
iwish
26-01-2005, 10:02 AM
sigh...overslept...didnt watch the match..
anyhow glad that we r in the final...
i am just curious how was Biscan performance..and according to soccernet we played 4-5-1..so who was playing right wing? i suppose Baros ..and Morientes as the lone striker.
and how idid our old "friend" Riley fared?
keltan
26-01-2005, 10:42 AM
i am just curious how was Biscan performance..and according to soccernet we played 4-5-1..so who was playing right wing? i suppose Baros ..and Morientes as the lone striker.
we played 4-4-2
biscan performance yesterday was better then the one against burnley..
and our fren Riley gave some dubious decisions to our side this time around... prob to make up for his past mistakes...
keltan
26-01-2005, 10:51 AM
RAFA'S CARLING CUP DELIGHT
Mark Platt, at Vicarage Road 25 January 2005
Rafael Benitez basked in the glory of reaching his first English Cup Final and vowed he will do all he can to go on and win the trophy for the fans.
Liverpool secured their place in the Carling Cup Final after a 1-0 win over Watford at Vicarage Road completed a 2-0 aggregate semi-final victory.
Steven Gerrard scored the winning strike that confirmed the Reds' ticket to Cardiff and afterwards a clearly delighted Benitez said: "I am happy to get to my first final.
"We have had a lot of problems and a difficult time but we are working hard and now in a cup final. I am happy for the supporters that they have a cup final to attend and hopefully we will have a cup to give them next month.
"We knew how important this game was for us, the supporters and the club. We played really well as a team and we had a strong mentality throughout the match. Steven Gerrard showed again tonight that he is a key player for us and my idea is to build the team around him."
Liverpool meet either Manchester United or Chelsea in the Cardiff final on February 27.
keltan
26-01-2005, 10:52 AM
FLO BLOW CASTS A SHADOW OVER CUP WIN
Liverpool's joy at reaching the Carling Cup Final has been tempered by a serious injury to Florent Sinama-Pongolle.
The young French striker damaged his cartilage shortly after coming on as a late substitute for Milan Baros in the 1-0 victory over Watford at Vicarage Road.
It is not yet known how long he will be ruled out for but Benitez said: "I will have to talk with the doctor but unfortunately we think it is a very bad injury.
"We have not had the best of luck with injuries of late and this is another blow. We will have to wait and see."
keltan
26-01-2005, 10:53 AM
GERRARD STRIKE ENDS WATFORD HOPES
BBC 25 January 2005
Steven Gerrard scored the only goal as Liverpool beat Watford to seal their place in the Carling Cup final.
Fernando Morientes almost scored after a smart one-two with Gerrard but Neil Cox did superbly to deflect his shot inches wide in the first half.
Gerrard settled a game of few chances with a drilled shot from the edge of the area close to the end.
Heidar Helguson almost pulled a goal back for the home team in the final minutes but headed over from a corner.
Liverpool will now play either Manchester United or Chelsea in the final at the Millennium Stadium.
It was a much improved performance by the visitors after the defeats at Burnley and Southampton provoked much criticism.
Rafael Benitez - criticised for the weakened team he fielded against Burnley in the FA Cup - selected his strongest side.
Gerrard passed a late fitness test on a hamstring injury, while Morientes and Milan Baros both started.
Watford defended manfully throughout and it was 27 minutes before Liverpool came close to scoring.
Morientes and Gerrard unlocked the Watford defence before Cox's superb last-ditch challenge.
Moments earlier a well-worked corner had created space for John Arne Riise but the Norway international scuffed his shot.
Watford did manage to craft a long-range shooting opportunity but Helguson he dragged his shot wide.
Liverpool caught Watford short of numbers in defence but Gerrard - uncertain whether to square the ball or shoot himself - eventually passed between Morientes and Baros - and the chance was gone.
In first-half injury-time Watford finally enjoyed period of pressure and caused the Liverpool defence problems.
Ray Lewington's team appealed for a penalty after Hameur Bouazza went down under a challenge from Steve Finnan but referee Mike Riley waved play on.
And a cross by Jermaine Darlington saw the visitors struggling to clear their lines, but they held on until the break.
Gerrard's precise pass appeared to have put Baros through on goal five minutes into the second-half but Cox made a superb tackle to put the ball out for a corner.
The Liverpool skipper went down after tangling with James Chambers but for the second time in the match the referee was not interested in awarding a penalty.
Morientes weaved through the Hornets defence but saw his shot blocked as Liverpool looked for the decisive goal and Biscan drilled the ball across goal and wide as time ticked down.
But with 13 minutes left Gerrard settled the tie, running across the Hornets backline before placing the ball past Jones and into the bottom corner.
Helguson almost pulled a goal back with a header but could not keep his attempt on target.
keltan
GERRARD LEADS REDS TO FINAL
Team Talk 25 January 2005
Liverpool have reached the Carling Cup final after Steven Gerrard's single goal secured victory at Watford and a 2-0 aggregate semi-final win.
Reds skipper Gerrard charged forward and slotted in a shot across Hornets goalkeeper Paul Jones after 77 minutes of a committed but unspectacular clash at Vicarage Road.
Liverpool will face either Manchester United or Chelsea in the showdown at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on Sunday 27 February. They have lifted the trophy on six previous occasions, most recently in 2003 when they beat United 2-0, and it will be their ninth League Cup final appearance in total.
The first half in Hertfordshire contained little to excite the Vicarage Road crowd of 19,797.
In the 17th minute, John Arne Riise swung the ball in from the left, and it needed a timely header from Jay Demerit to clear, with Fernando Morientes lurking on the six-yard line.
Ten minutes later, Gerrard fed Morientes on the edge of the Hornets box. The former Real Madrid striker got plenty on his shot, but crucially so did a defender and the ball spun just wide of Jones' right-hand post.
The Watford fans were screaming for a penalty when Hameur Bouazza went to ground following Steve Finnan's challenge, but referee Mike Riley was unmoved.
After the restart, it needed a saving tackle from Neil Cox to stop Milan Baros in his tracks as the Czech striker raced into the Watford box after 50 minutes before Morientes sent an ambitious 15-yard bicycle kick over the crossbar.
With 55 minutes gone, Ray Lewington introduced Danny Webber for Bouazza but the Hornets still struggled to create clear-cut chances despite plenty of endeavour.
And it was left to Gerrard to book his side's place in the final with a well-worked goal after 77 minutes.
The England midfielder won the ball in the air, before collecting Riise's quick pass and holding off the Watford defence to slot past Jones into the left corner from the edge of the box.
Heidar Helguson headed over soon after, and the Reds' evening was slightly soured when sub Florent Sinama-Pongolle had to be stretchered off with a knee injury just two minutes after his introduction.
keltan
LIVERPOOL INTO LEAGUE CUP FINAL
Reuters 25 January 2005
Captain Steven Gerrard has sealed Liverpool's place in next month's League Cup final by scoring the decisive goal in their 1-0 victory over second division Watford.
The England midfielder also scored the only goal of Liverpool's 1-0 victory on Tuesday in the first leg of the semi-final two weeks ago at Anfield.
Gerrard scored in the 77th minute with a neat right-foot shot into the corner to round off a resilient display by Liverpool after three successive defeats.
Liverpool will face the winners of Wednesday's match at Old H Trafford between FA Cup holders Manchester United and Premier League leaders Chelsea in the final in Cardiff on February 27. United and Chelsea drew the first leg 0-0.
Liverpool were good value for their win although Watford were left to rue a first-half penalty appeal dismissed by referee Mike Riley.
iwish
26-01-2005, 11:40 AM
we played 4-4-2
biscan performance yesterday was better then the one against burnley..
and our fren Riley gave some dubious decisions to our side this time around... prob to make up for his past mistakes...
thanks...that would mean biscan is playing as right mid? given that the mid are riise, hemann, gerrard, biscan....
spinelli
26-01-2005, 12:33 PM
NEWS STORY
MORIENTES: THE FANS HERE ARE INCREDIBLE
Paul Rogers 25 January 2005
Fernando Morientes has spoken out about football life on Merseyside and although he admits it will take him time to settle, he's already fallen in love with his new club and the fans.
Morientes has yet to play on a winning side for Liverpool, having followed up a home debut loss against Manchester United with another defeat at the hands of Harry Redknapp's Southampton, but he believes that both he and the team will still come good this season.
"I am finding it hard to adapt but I am better now," he said. "It's surprising when you see things you are not used to, such as training without any fans or without the press watching. I am starting to get to know things, my wife is looking for a house and a school for the kids and things are falling into place.
"I love the training ground and of course Anfield - it's true there is a certain magic before, during and after a game. They are new things that attract your attention. I have the advantage that [Rafa] Benitez speaks English well, at least that's how it seems to me. I can understand everything and that is a relief.
"This club is a lot calmer than Real Madrid, where everything gets magnified, and the people in the street are calm. They stop you, but they are very polite and that is good for a footballer. We are a historic club and fifth in the table but that is not a problem. The confidence that you get given here is incredible. When you sign a coach like Benitez it is to let him work with a long-term view and that is what is happening."
phew.for awhile i tot he jinxed us cos after he joined,we lost all our games so far :eek:
haha i woke up at around 4.30am, watched bits and pieces of the game, in my sleepy mode i think i saw finnan, and i was quite surprised and glad lol, althou i did saw traore. :s27: i think baros played right, and suppose gerrard plays as a free role?
we had to wait until quite late into the match before gerrard manages to score ...
yeah man, gotta agree with you! back then jason McAteer was like :s31:
but my favourite is still MCmanananananananananMAN!!! :D
fantasy21
26-01-2005, 12:55 PM
FLO BLOW CASTS A SHADOW OVER CUP WIN
Liverpool's joy at reaching the Carling Cup Final has been tempered by a serious injury to Florent Sinama-Pongolle.
The young French striker damaged his cartilage shortly after coming on as a late substitute for Milan Baros in the 1-0 victory over Watford at Vicarage Road.
It is not yet known how long he will be ruled out for but Benitez said: "I will have to talk with the doctor but unfortunately we think it is a very bad injury.
"We have not had the best of luck with injuries of late and this is another blow. We will have to wait and see."
we seems to have this injury jinx for the past few seasons...
stan2005
26-01-2005, 01:19 PM
hope sinama's injury is not too serious..
i feel that sometimes he can perform really well..
Virus
26-01-2005, 01:24 PM
After watching Liverpool last few performances, I believe we miss Xabi Alonso. I think we didnt realise how he is so important to the team when he is available. He may not be "action-packed" like Gerrard but he do things so quietly, spraying passes that the team now suffers without him.
With him around, a move usually starts from Alonso. Defenders pass to him, ans he lay the passes, long or short, with accuracy. Now when he not available, you can observe that a lot of move starts from a defender. A lot of the direct long balls has been played recently, from Pellegrino and Carragher. We again crept back into the usual long ball from the backline syndrome. Our attack now is not so effective as compared to 2 months ago.
Having now gonna miss Alonso for the rest of the season, I think we really in for a tough fight for 4th spot unless someone can take over the role of keeping the team in shape just like Alonso did.
thesettingsun
26-01-2005, 02:39 PM
We played 4-5-1 last night.
Baros on right wing.
Gerrard in his preferred offensive 'bombing forward' midfield role (which he enjoyed so much he praised Benitez's tactics later- I think this is his favourite position).
Carragher was a real rock at the back and
good to see Finnan back cuz he is so damn steady.
Hamann and Biscan did the dirty work as our twin defensive midfielders, allowing Gerrard to attack without so many defensive responsibilities.
Traore was back at left back and was generally steady, as was
Pellegrino who partnered Carra at the centre.
Riise was left wing.
And of course, Morientes as striker even though Baros drifted into the middle at times.
Generally it was a steady, solid, if somewhat boring performance. But I'll take boring over lousy performances/defeats anytime!
thesettingsun
26-01-2005, 02:43 PM
Guys, I came across this post in the official Liverpool message boards by a certain user name Fowi and I thought it was a pretty interesting read because it gives an insight into Benitez I think few Liverpool fans know, but should know! However it is rather lengthy, so sit back and read through it if you have the time.
First of all, I’ve been meaning to put my opinions into words since new years, but I haven’t had the time to do so, mainly because of the exams. I have been feeling the pain of this hard season as much as any other Liverpool supporter, I have also been posting on regular basis on the MB, engaging in some great discussions along the way. I have exchanged views and opinions with most of you and no matter what people say, our MB is still a great place to come to. I will try here and analyse our transfer policy, the manager, players and our future. It could be a bit longish but I hope you enjoy the reading, and reply.
Before I start, I’d like to tell you just a bit about myself and my so called “football knowledge”. I’m 23 years old and live in Denmark. A few of you know me personally, but most of you don’t (although I’d gladly buy each of you a beer, or any other drink for that matter, anytime). I watch a lot of football. And I mean A LOT. Roughly about 12-15 games a week, even more when Champions League and UEFA is in play. I watch Premier League, La Liga, Seria A, Dutch League, Danish League and from time to time German and French. Its partly because I enjoy football and partly because I’m a football coach. I have coached for almost 5 years now on regular basis, starting with youth football and most recently I have coached a team of players in the age group 14-16. I recently also got my UEFA coaching licence (thanks to those who sent the words of congratulations 2 weeks ago). Now I’m not trying to build myself up here or anything, I just want people who read this to know that I’m not an idiot, nor am I basing my opinions on CM, although I do enjoy the game from time to time.
To make this piece a bit easier to read I’m going to divide it into a few topics, so here it goes:
RAFAEL BENITEZ:
Like majority of the fans I was quite pleased when Houllier left. It was time for him to leave, and though I think the club would have been much better off had he left a year or maybe even two earlier. I really think that we could have challenged for the title had Houllier left the season after he finished 2 nd. All the ingredients were already there at the time. We had a settled defence, two very solid keepers, Gerrard and Hamann at their best and Owen. It was our best chance to push on and certainly that was the time when we needed a new manager to give us that last push. But even though dear old Gérard lost it in the end (mostly cutting corners every week) I give the guy a lot of credit and I regard him as a true red and a manager who gave us many happy moments. I think he has done a decent job at a very difficult club. Inter and Barcelona aside, Liverpool is probably the most difficult club to manage. Very high expectations and very little chance of actually winning anything. Houllier after all won 3 major trophies and brought us close to challenging for the title and I thank him with all my heart for it.
Nevertheless it was time for a change and in came Rafa Benitez. I must say I was in favour of him coming from the moment Houllier left. He always seemed inspired whenever I watched Valencia and next to both O’Neill and Curbishley he was clearly the best choice. Mourinho perhaps? Maybe, who knows. He’s a great manager but would he have been a success at Anfield? Probably, but I still think Benitez was more right for Liverpool at the time. The most important thing was that he really wanted to come to Anfield. After all he left the Spanish champions to come to a club which realistically wouldn’t challenge for major honours this season, who cant give him a huge transfer budget and a club which demands the ultimate success. To me, that is dedication, determination and a will to be at this club.
Second thing, the facts speak for themselves. 3 years at Valencia: 2 Spanish titles and an UEFA Cup trophy. You put that to anybody and they’ll say “this guy is good”. And he is. No doubt about it.
The man is first and foremost a disciplinarian. I remember a funny story when he took over Valencia. Hector Cuper, who was one of the toughest managers in Europe regarding training regimes, had left and the players were really pleased to finally escape such slaughtering in training, but 2 weeks with Benitez had them all in the papers saying how Benitez was even worse. Especially a story popped up saying how Benitez made them run in training wearing breathing masks used when diving. Anybody who has tried this will tell you it’s quite impossible. Its like running in water. Fair play to him, Valencia were the fittest side in Spain, maybe even Europe. That enabled him to put his ideas through to the players. He moulded them into a machine which didnt concede goals but scored plenty and he won the league with ease in his first season. Valencia played a 4-5-1 system with Aimar just behind the main striker. They had Baraja, Albelda, Vicente and Rufete in midfield which was probably the fittest and most hardworking midfield in Europe at the time. Along with having the best keeper in the league (along with a very sold reserve keeper in Balop) and a settled defence pairing of Ayala, Pellegrino and later on Marchena, along with very good full-backs in Curro Torres (looks completely lost now that Rafa has left the club) and Carboni, he had a complete team. He had also discovered Vicente in his first season and started playing him more and more. He gave Albelda and Baraja more playing time after Farinos and Mendieta had left and made them into the best midfield pairing in the league. So even though he inherited a great side he still had work to do. Last year he won the league again, along with the UEFA Cup and became the biggest coaching hero in the history of the club.
So all in all he has done a terrific job at Valencia. Or has he? Well, indeed he has but there are a few negative points about his 3 year spell at Valencia. The first is, in his 2nd season he somehow managed to finish 5th in the league with the same players as the year before. That certainly was not good enough and had that happened at Milan, Juventus or Inter he would have been fired then and there. Valencia board were not that deadly and they got the rewards next year with 2 trophies but that disappointment of finishing 5th hasn’t been forgotten, and people in Valencia still talk about it. And those who watched Valencia last year would agree that they weren’t setting the league alight. In terms of points won and goals scored maybe, but in terms of football displayed on the pitch, not really. Real Madrid were plain funny all year long. People say they fell away at the end of the season but they had been embarrassingly poor all year long relying on penalties and late victories against the poorest teams in the league. Barcelona were also very late in their awakening so it made it somewhat easier for Valencia to win the title as they were the only able side in the league, even though the referees were against them.
The 2nd disappointment was that he didnt get on with the players as much as it seemed (don’t let Aimar’s plea to come to Anfield fool you). Quite a few of them were happy to see him leave the club even though he has been very successful and had made some of them the players that they are today (Vicente, Curo Torres, Baraja, Albelda, Mista and to an extent Aimar). He also got in trouble with the board which again shows that he perhaps is not the easiest man to deal with, although the president isn’t a saint either.
Now regarding his work at Anfield, Rafa clearly needs time to make this his own team. The first season was always going to be difficult and I doubt that Liverpool will challenge for the title next season either but Benitez is the best man to try and turn things around. Well, maybe he isn’t, time will tell. Maybe he only finished the job at Valencia, which was started by Ranieri and almost finished by Cuper. After all, he had all the right players, at the peak of their careers and a club which was hungry for success. It helped too that Barcelona were nowhere to be seen in the league and that Real was beginning to crumble. Maybe all of his work at Valencia is really overrated when you dig deep into the analysis. Time will tell. Right now, we’re happy to have him at Liverpool and he’s happy to be here. He still has a lot to prove in his career as a manager but the signs are encouraging. He’s giving it his all, he’s making mistakes too but so would any other manager on this planet. He deserves his chance and no matter who we brought in instead, it wouldn’t win us the league at the moment. So lets be patient and see what happens.
THE SQUAD:
While Benitez is responsible for the squad and the players, so are the players for their own performances and the sad fact is that this group of individuals isn’t good enough. This doesn’t mean that there are no good players in our team because that’s not true. There are quite a few actually, but compared to the very best in this league, and in Europe, they don’t even come close.
I think, time and again, that wrong players have been brought to this club. Our transfer policy seems to be inept and God knows what our scouts are doing. My philosophy regarding player is simple: Talent comes first. The very first think you look for in a player is talent. Now judging talent isn’t based on seeing how many tricks a player can do, but rather watching him in movement. How he receives the ball, how he passes it on, his basic skill on the ball, and his physical attributes. A player needs to be comfortable on the ball. That has to be the first requirement. You need to see that he wants the ball, that he wants to receive it at any possible moment, and that he’s not afraid of it. He has to look like a football player out there, not like a rugby player who happened to chose the wrong sport as a kid (Josem and to some extent Riise being the examples).
The other thing is his work rate. You need to look at his work rate off the pitch. How he trains and how dedicated he is. But this has to be the 2nd most important thing, not the most important. The coach is responsible for training the player, so he decides how much work the player puts in. You can make a player work hard but you cannot teach him how to play football. You can only bring out what is already there regarding the technical side of a players’ game and work with his mentality. Players cannot be brought in based on how hard they train or how determined they are. Not at this club. Hard work does not win you trophies, it doesn’t even make you avoid relegation. Hard work is just the additional attribute you need. Talent decides where you’re going, and I’m afraid that in the past years players have been brought to this club based on the ethics of hard work, disregarding the basic talent.
Houllier bought some good players in his time. He really did. But the problem is that wrong players were given the chance. Talented senior players were getting sold (Thompson and Litmanen), and talented youngsters weren’t given a chance. Add to that, that some of the players were being seriously hampered by the poor coaching. The coaching staff somehow managed to turn Heskey into a very funny player. It sounds unreal now, but he was one of the most talented strikers around. He was probably the only player in the league with both fantastic strength and equally fantastic pace. For a short time (until they managed to ruin him by letting him fight for meaningless throw ins or running backwards all the way to Hyypia so he can help out in defending, instead of being played as a central striker) he was an extremely dominant player. Great in the air, and fantastic with his back to goal. Look at him now. Just a sad shadow of a man who should have been one of the best of his generation. Biscan is another example of poor coaching. Instead of improving those players, for years now the other limited players have been playing for this club, and they haven’t improved one bit. I’ll make an example. People say that Traore has improved. Lets be honest, the man has been here for years now. He was branded as a promising defender when he arrived. He was strong but prone to errors. Now, 5 years later, he’s still strong and prone to errors. Has he improved? Maybe by 2% but that’s a pretty poor return on 5 years of work. There are many more examples like him. The club decided to rely on players of very poor quality through the years and it has gotten us nowhere. None of them have improved and we still have the same group of players who have actually gone backwards as players because they cant keep up the motivation, which is really their main attribute. If a player has certain amount of talent, after a couple years in the team, he needs to improve at least 10% in his overall game. How many of our players have done so? Only Gerrard, Baros and Carragher ( yes he has) Why? Because they were the ones with the skills to begin with. Time and again we sign the wrong players because the first thing the club looks at, when signing a player, is how much he can run or how good he is in the air. Those are really the attributes that West Bromwich should look at, not Liverpool.
Looking at the positives, I think we have a nucleus of a good team here. Gerrard, Baros, Cisse, Kewell (if managed properly), Alonso, Morientes and Carragher are definitely worth it. I think those are the players that we should build our team around, but our transfer policy has to change. We have to be signing real players who we know can develop into great players. They dont necessarily have to be great players to begin with but the talent has to be there. If we had been doing that since Houllier took over, we would have had a group of players similar to Arsenal’s now. Rafa has taken a gamble on many players he has signed but he had to really. He had to sign 7-8 players and if 3 or 4 of those turn out to be worth it, then its great piece of business. Its almost impossible to get 8 out of 8 correct, mainly because when you sing that many player, you’re usually in a hurry to sign somebody and you dont have the right amount of money available. But he has mostly tried to sing good players and I think he has succeeded . Xabi Alonso is a brilliant player and already one of the best midfielders in the world. Morientes too is a very good striker. Having watched Luis Garcia at least 15 times last year I knew what to expect. I have written before that he’s just a transitional player for us and I still believe so. He’s not good enough to play in a championship winning side but until we find somebody else, he can do a job. Carson looks like a talented keeper and its nice to have him around. So that’s 4 of Rafa´s signings who will probably turn out to be worthwhile. The rest wont. We will of course continue to back Josemi, Nunez and Pellegrino (doesnt mean he’s a bad player, just pretty much a bit too old to make his bow in this leageu) but at the end of the day they’re not good enough to be here and that remains a hard boiled fact.
So where do we go from here? Well, to Cardiff probably, and then home. It has been, and will continue to be, a desperate season for us but we’re in there fighting. I expect this team to be much stronger next season, even though I dont expect us to challenge for the title just yet. We really need some luck with the injuries and we need to sign 3-4 players to make us stronger. There are too many average players in the team, and too many cracks to cover up but we have to take it little by little. But if we are to progress as a team, we need to start buying players who will go straight into our starting 11. I just hope that Rafa signs the right players and that the club wont give me the incentive to write the same critical words 5 years from now.
Original thread at: http://forums.liverpoolfc.tv/Forum3/HTML/405750.html
Didjerama
26-01-2005, 03:25 PM
honestly bros,his sentiment is the same sentiment from most pool fans who have been following the club for long...
he mention cisse as a good player..i think this boy is way too over rated
niterider
26-01-2005, 04:59 PM
honestly bros,his sentiment is the same sentiment from most pool fans who have been following the club for long...
he mention cisse as a good player..i think this boy is way too over rated
I dun quite agree. If u've caught Cisse when he was back in France, u would have notice what he's able to do and how he does it after receiving a ball from the midfield. His goal scoring rate is there. Sad to say, EPL is very much different from other European leagues. I think to be fair to Cisse, he's still in some form of adjusting phase like Morientes. But come again, it's back to the same think... our midfield is still not rock solid (as in feeding the ball to the strikers). Cisse is no Henry of Arsenal but not far. He's like Heskey in the past but was sadly utilised in the wrong manner.
SongLongZi
26-01-2005, 05:22 PM
yeah man, gotta agree with you! back then jason McAteer was like :s31:
but my favourite is still MCmanananananananananMAN!!! :D
john barnes and macca my fav pool player !!!!!
SongLongZi
26-01-2005, 05:22 PM
SongLongZi
26-01-2005, 05:23 PM
Rafael Benitez has challenged his Liverpool players to make the Carling Cup the start of their trophy quest over the next five years.
The Reds will contest the Cup final against either Manchester United or Chelsea at the Millennium Stadium next month after seeing off the challenge of Watford last night.
Benitez is confident he can land a trophy in his first season as Anfield boss, but he insists victory in Cardiff must be just the start of the club's trophy haul under his management.
"It is important to reach a final in your first year and we will go there to win," he said. "Whoever we play we can win the trophy. It is only one game so why not?
"But for me the most important thing is not a trophy in my first season but what we do over the next five years. When the board signed me last summer it was for five years and to win more than the Carling Cup.
"I want to win all the trophies. I am not only thinking about this trophy and being in the top four this season. I want us to improve every day and win every trophy.
"We need to work harder with a clear idea about the future and what to do. I don't know if last night's win will calm things down but in the end we just need to do our job. It's not the people who talk who matter. I prefer to work.
"It took us 31 years to win the title in Valencia. I have a very good board and chairman and they give me confidence which I can give to the players.
"We have Morientes, Gerrard, Alonso, Hamann, Baros, Cisse. That is a lot of good players and a lot of quality and with a bit more luck with injuries this season we would have done better."
SongLongZi
26-01-2005, 05:25 PM
Watford boss Ray Lewington reckons Liverpool's three straight defeats worked against his side during last night's Carling Cup semi-final.
The Reds went into the game on the back of losses to Manchester United, Burnley and Southampton but Lewington believes their desire to get back on the winning track fired them up to make sure there was no slip-up on the road to the Carling Cup final.
"The FA Cup defeat and the poor performance at Southampton made them more determined to do a job tonight," he said.
"I think what it did was concentrate their minds that they had to go through and they changed their systems - but we did not have enough to open them up.
"Fair play to Liverpool, they came today and restricted what we could do. They changed their system and stifled us and they did all the ugly things well," he said.
"They closed us down quickly. We tried hard but we couldn't break them down and we didn't have much of a chance on goal.
"I think they paid us some respect tonight. They played it right and it was frustrating for us but they did the job well."
SongLongZi
26-01-2005, 05:26 PM
Rafael Benitez last night saluted his super skipper after Steven Gerrard fired Liverpool into the Carling Cup final.
Gerrard was again the Reds' hero with a second half winner which took the club to its tenth League Cup final - and their third in the last five years.
"He is a key player," said Benitez. "When he plays well the team plays well.
"He is important for us, and it is our idea to have a strong team around him. That is our idea for the future.
"He has some fitness problems but that is not important for now. We need to be careful with him but we want to play Gerrard in every game if possible.
"I have not been surprised by how good he is. I knew before I came here, but it is even better to watch him in training every day."
iwish
26-01-2005, 05:49 PM
FROM Soccernet.Com
Liverpool eye Bellamy swoop
Outspoken striker Craig Bellamy has signaled the end of his Newcastle United career by refusing to grasp the olive branch offered by manager Graham Souness, but Liverpool are rumored to be ready with a rescue package.
Bellamy refused to apologise for labeling Souness a 'liar' after he claimed the striker had feigned injury to avoid playing out of position - an outburst that cost the 25-year-old an £80,000 fine.
'I won't apologise because I have done nothing wrong,' Bellamy said. 'I know I am not wanted.'
Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez could offer a refuge for the disgruntled Welshman after striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle joined £14million striker Djibril Cisse on a lengthy injury list following Tuesday night's 1-0 Carling Cup win at Watford.
With less then a week left of the transfer window, Liverpool will have to move fast to secure Bellamy's services and are looking for a cut-price deal.
Newcastle would normally value Bellamy in the £10m class, but his furious fall-out with Souness means that the cost will drop.
The Mirror claim the Anfield club would do business at around £4m to £5m in an attempt to add some sparkle to a lacklustre forward line.
what do u guys think....personally i wont want him...no doubt of his speed/skills but no taste
iwish
26-01-2005, 05:54 PM
when i started supporting...Jamie Redknapp is my fav player ..his passing gd man..and i like Rob Jones also..cos tt time was playing right back during sunday kickabout..hahaha..and when Mark Kennedy joined us i was v happy...too bad he didnt get many games and was sold......
niterider
26-01-2005, 05:55 PM
FROM Soccernet.Com
Liverpool eye Bellamy swoop ...
The Mirror claim the Anfield club would do business at around £4m to £5m in an attempt to add some sparkle to a lacklustre forward line.
what do u guys think....personally i wont want him...no doubt of his speed/skills but no taste
Not in my cup of tea either. RB better be sure :)
Coolsmurf
26-01-2005, 06:26 PM
where will bellamy fit in anyway??
elbib00
26-01-2005, 06:34 PM
imagine we got bellemy n recalled diouf back.
we would be the baddest team in EPL or maybe europe!!!
:):D
gerrard17
26-01-2005, 07:18 PM
same here.
i would rather have Mellor than have that bad boy wif us.
oh ya who can forget the 'spices boys' era. :D
RadEoNic
26-01-2005, 07:32 PM
unless RB can reform bellamy into a guai kia...or else i think it's a bad idea to sign him
u nv noe when will he throw a chair at someone right
niterider
26-01-2005, 07:38 PM
unless RB can reform bellamy into a guai kia...or else i think it's a bad idea to sign him
u nv noe when will he throw a chair at someone right
dun have to worry bout him throwing a chair at someone... more worrying is when u buy him over and then he refuses to play according to ur instructions. And furthermore, RB's a disciplined and tough guy who certainly wouldn't entertain a player with such tots.
heygal
26-01-2005, 09:00 PM
not condoning what bellamy has done, but to play under a useless gafter i really do pity him at times, look wheres newcastle now. its obvious souness is not meant to be a manager , he has destroyed the once mighty liverpool. now its newcastle turn.
CanIsayNo
26-01-2005, 09:10 PM
when i started supporting...Jamie Redknapp is my fav player ..his passing gd man..and i like Rob Jones also..cos tt time was playing right back during sunday kickabout..hahaha..and when Mark Kennedy joined us i was v happy...too bad he didnt get many games and was sold......
those were the times... when fowler was still god
CanIsayNo
26-01-2005, 09:11 PM
i hope RB doesnt flop on another signing
melankholy
26-01-2005, 09:15 PM
imagine we got bellemy n recalled diouf back.
we would be the baddest team in EPL or maybe europe!!!
:):D
thatll be nice.
hueman
26-01-2005, 09:40 PM
BELLAMY NOT ANFIELD BOUND
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147632050126-1239.htm
Liverpool have insisted that press speculation linking the Reds with a move for Craig Bellamy is untrue.
Bellamy is out of favour at Newcastle following a well publicised bust-up with boss Graeme Souness and appears to be on his way out of St James Park.
But, despite speculation to the contrary in today's Daily Mirror, the Welsh international is not Anfield bound.
Liverpool spokesman Ian Cotton said: "This story is not true."
hueman
26-01-2005, 09:44 PM
BOSS: WE WANT TO BUILD TEAM AROUND GERRARD
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147626050126-0846.htm
Rafael Benitez last night saluted his super skipper after Steven Gerrard fired Liverpool into the Carling Cup final.
Gerrard was again the Reds' hero with a second half winner which took the club to its tenth League Cup final - and their third in the last five years.
"He is a key player," said Benitez. "When he plays well the team plays well.
"He is important for us, and it is our idea to have a strong team around him. That is our idea for the future.
"He has some fitness problems but that is not important for now. We need to be careful with him but we want to play Gerrard in every game if possible.
"I have not been surprised by how good he is. I knew before I came here, but it is even better to watch him in training every day."
Ultimate10002000
26-01-2005, 11:05 PM
Liverpool does not have that much transfer fund lioaz, dont forget they cough out money just to get Morientes and i dont think they want to spend any more this season on another player. Next i dont think Liverpool need Bellamy, just leave him with Newcastle will do. Liverpool just need to train their younger players harder especially Mellor who is a good sub
hueman
27-01-2005, 12:08 AM
PONGOLLE INJURY FEARS CONFIRMED
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147635050126-1512.htm
Liverpool's injury jinx has struck again with the confirmation that Florent Sinama-Pongolle sustained knee ligament damage during last night's Carling Cup victory at Watford.
The young French striker was only on the field for three minutes before being stretchered off with the injury which is likely to result in a lengthy period out of the game.
Pongolle underwent a scan on Merseyside today which revealed a tear to his left anterior cruciate ligament.
Florent Sinama-Pongolle injuryHe will see a surgeon on Thursday morning, after which the Reds will have a better idea how long he will be out of football for.
The news comes as yet another blow to boss Rafael Benitez who has already had to contend with a crippling injury list during his first season in charge at Anfield.
Pongolle's name can now be added to the list including Xabi Alonso, Milan Baros, Djibril Cisse, Chris Kirkland, Steven Gerrard, Harry Kewell, Vladimir Smicer, Luis Garcia, Antonio Nunez, Steve Finnan and Josemi - all of whom have missed large chunks of the season with various injury problems.
Despite the numerous setbacks, the Reds are still in the Champions League, have a Carling Cup final to look forward to and are still in with a realistic chance of a top four placing at the end of the Premiership season.
--------------
BAD BAD NEWS....
now in CL, we only have baros and mellor to play in front. unless kewell recovers fast. jia lat
melankholy
27-01-2005, 12:33 AM
BUY ANELKA. If not loan bellamy the very LEAST!
we need another cm too!
wahlau. damn suay. maybe next season we have 0 inuries and go on to win the EPL, champs league, carling cup, fa cup.
WOO.
SongLongZi
27-01-2005, 12:43 AM
si bei suay...another injury...
spinelli
27-01-2005, 01:05 AM
where will bellamy fit in anyway??
right wing!! :s13: :s22:
gerrard17
27-01-2005, 01:27 AM
BUY ANELKA. If not loan bellamy the very LEAST!
we need another cm too!
wahlau. damn suay. maybe next season we have 0 inuries and go on to win the EPL, champs league, carling cup, fa cup.
WOO.
cannot leh, anelka is turkey bounded. :(
still have andy johnson :D
cybertech
27-01-2005, 01:37 AM
Just wonder is it the pace of the game that causes all these injury thingy. Beside Liverpool team, many
other clubs also having player sideline for whole season. I don't follow Spain, France or Italy Leagues
and wonder do they also have long term injury players problem.
keltan
27-01-2005, 02:04 AM
LE TALLEC DECISION ON FRIDAY
SKY Sports 26 January 2005
Anthony Le Tallec has confirmed he is cutting short his loan stint with St Etienne in order to return to England.
Three clubs are understood to be keen on signing the Liverpool youngster on a temporary basis - Crystal Palace, Norwich City and Sunderland.
Rafa Benitez also has the option, of course, of keeping the 20-year-old at Anfield, particularly as the injury problems on Merseyside show no sign of letting up.
The Liverpool boss is meeting the player on Friday to make a final decision about his immediate future.
After being used sparingly by St Etienne coach Elie Baup, Le Tallec is disenchanted with life with Les Verts.
"My situation at St Etienne can't last any more," he said.
"I don't know what the coach [Baup] has against me but it is clear he doesn't trust me.
"Since the start of the New Year, I played ten minutes at Nimes and I stayed on the bench three times without playing.
"That is enough. I will go back to England."
Kenshin79
27-01-2005, 02:06 AM
i think one thing is bad luck..
another thing ciould be their nutrition and physical conditioning... are the nutritionist and physio good enough for soccer? are they eating the right thing and doing the correct training to toughen up their bodies?
no disrespect to those professionals doctors, they might be world-class docs, but are they applying the right stuffs for the footballers?
if you look at Arsenal, who arguably plays the fastest passing games in the league, they don't have really have any player who has been out for a long time saved for Pires in recent memory.
If you compare Thierry Henry to Michael Owen (though not a pool now), both players have that speed and acceleration and twisting here & there that are in their games. But Henry plays up to 60 games a year, while Owen could hardly manage 30 games in recent times. Of course we can see that Henry has that natural fitness and good genes, plus he does seems to possess an athlete's powerful body, while Owen looks "smaller". Hence Owen might lack that physical mass for such exertions. However, there were studies that lifestyle and habits do affect how your body can take impacts too.
Even Chelsea players look fit after such a long season, and especially so with their game of fast clamping-down of opponents.
Perhaps Liverpool needs to re-look at how they condition their players?
just providing my personal opinions for discussion, hope no offence
keltan
27-01-2005, 02:08 AM
Celtic have tabled an offer for Liverpool defender Stephane Henchoz, according to the player's agent.
The Swiss international has been told he can leave Liverpool as he does not figure in Rafa Benitez's first team plans.
A number of clubs including Bolton, Manchester City, Southampton and Feyenoord have all expressed an interest in Henchoz.
Celtic are hoping to steal a march on their rivals by luring Henchoz to Parkhead and they have followed up their initial interest with a firm offer for the player.
The player's agent Jorg Vonmatt revealed Celtic have made an offer for Henchoz and he expects the player to make a decision on his future in the next 24 hours.
"Celtic have put forward a proposal and we are now considering it seriously along with the others," Vonmatt told the Daily Record.
"It's taken a long time but Stephane is now in a position to make a decision and he will do that tomorrow afternoon.
'"Time is running out and we want to have everything sorted out as quickly as possible."
keltan
27-01-2005, 02:08 AM
Newcastle United have yet to receive an offer for Craig Bellamy, with Stoke City purported to be the only club to have asked about the Wales international.
Bellamy has no future at St James' Park following his bitter stand-off with manager Graeme Souness, which resulted in him being fined two weeks' wages.
His refusal to apologise for his tirade against Souness appears to have scuppered any prospect Bellamy has of reviving his Tyneside career.
The Magpies are now willing to listen to offers for the striker but have just a week to ship the outspoken attacker out of their squad.
The likes of Liverpool and Aston Villa have been linked with the former Coventry City flyer, while old club Norwich City have already ruled out a move for Bellamy.
Magpies chairman Freddy Shepherd admits he has not had clubs beating a path to his door, with only a tentative loan enquiry, believed to be from Championship club Stoke, being fielded by Newcastle.
"We haven't had a serious offer for him in the last 48 hours," Shepherd told The Journal. "There has been one enquiry with a view to a loan deal but that's it.
"There has not been one major club express any interest in him whatsoever. If something does happen in that respect, then we'll consider the offer or offers.
"But nobody is kicking my door down and the fax machine is quiet. He's damaged his reputation, hopefully not beyond repair."
Shepherd also conceded that Bellamy's attack on Souness at the start of the week, after he was omitted from the defeat at Arsenal, has ensured he has burnt his bridges at St James' Park.
He added: "When Craig said what he said, just where did he think he could go from here?
"Where could he possibly have a better career right now?
"Time is a great healer and if Craig moves on, so be it. But as far as his Newcastle career is concerned, it will be very, very difficult."
keltan
27-01-2005, 02:09 AM
dun tink RB will be interested in players with the bad boys image..
keltan
27-01-2005, 02:11 AM
Just wonder is it the pace of the game that causes all these injury thingy. Beside Liverpool team, many
other clubs also having player sideline for whole season. I don't follow Spain, France or Italy Leagues
and wonder do they also have long term injury players problem.
injuries happen everywhere in professional soccer...
but pool is just extra suay... for the number of injuries occuring throughout the whole season...
niterider
27-01-2005, 02:26 AM
keltan bro, u very busy lately ah? only log in late late in the nites with ur postings all over...
poseidon008
27-01-2005, 09:10 AM
Maybe this year liverpool fan4 tai4 shui4?
Rafa should get some fengshui master to change things around at anfield...
how come so sway one?
Some more its not 1 month injuries...so many injuries are season endings one....
I know liao...we using the bird or stork as club mascot right?
I think bird flu...got the H5N1 virus...dats y all down....
sighz...im low moralez....all good players injured
hueman
27-01-2005, 09:24 AM
Maybe this year liverpool fan4 tai4 shui4?
Rafa should get some fengshui master to change things around at anfield...
how come so sway one?
Some more its not 1 month injuries...so many injuries are season endings one....
I know liao...we using the bird or stork as club mascot right?
I think bird flu...got the H5N1 virus...dats y all down....
sighz...im low moralez....all good players injured
not good ones also injured... ;)
jamstart
27-01-2005, 09:26 AM
Next time should ask the players pray pray first before going out to the field, so many injuries.
keltan
27-01-2005, 10:01 AM
keltan bro, u very busy lately ah? only log in late late in the nites with ur postings all over...
yah loh very busy...
very little sleep.. a lot of work...
haiz..
keltan
27-01-2005, 10:02 AM
It will be Liverpool vs Chelsea at Cardiff...
elbib00
27-01-2005, 10:06 AM
some of the injuries we suffered r freak incidents whereby it cant be prevented through conditioning, ie cisse n alonso. haven seen pongolle's incident yet but from wat i read it seems to be self inflicted from a sharp turn.
dun think the doctors r at fault here, becoz owen/kewell/gerrad all has history of injuries, thereby making them more injury prone when they recovered.
henry nv had an major injury b4, so its not really fair comparing him to owen.
keltan
27-01-2005, 10:07 AM
Pongolle set for 'lengthy' absence
Liverpool`s joy at reaching the Carling Cup final has been overshadowed by the news that striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle could be out for the rest of the season.
The Frenchman was introduced as a substitute towards the end of last night`s 1-0 win at Watford in the semi-final, second leg. However, three minutes later he had to be carried off on a stretcher when his knee gave way as he turned sharply.
The worst fears of the Anfield club were confirmed today following a scan, when it was revealed the 20-year-old had torn his left anterior cruciate ligament, an injury which can take anything up to six months to heal properly.
A statement on the club website, confirmed: 'He will see a surgeon on Thursday morning, after which the Reds will have a better idea how long he will be out of football for.'
The loss of Sinama-Pongolle is yet another injury blow for Rafael Benitez, who is already without the likes of Djibril Cisse, Xabi Alonso, Harry Kewell and Sami Hyypia.
During his first season in charge, the Reds manager has seen plans for team selection hampered by a string of first-choice players being unavailable at one stage or another.
Nevertheless, the Spaniard has still managed to guide his patched-up squad into next month`s Carling Cup final at the Millennium Stadium, where they will play either Manchester United or Chelsea.
Captain Steven Gerrard grabbed the crucial goal late in the second half last night to secure a 2-0 aggregate victory, after Liverpool had restricted the effectiveness of the Coca-Cola Championship side who had already beaten top-flight opposition Southampton and Portsmouth at Vicarage Road during previous rounds.
Despite having seen his men crash out of the FA Cup to Burnley, Benitez still has high hopes of progression in the Champions League, where they will meet Bayer Leverkusen for a place in the last eight.
And the Spaniard also believes Liverpool are still very much in the race to secure fourth spot in the Barclays Premiership, despite currently trailing Merseyside rivals Everton by seven points following successive league defeats.
`We have a very good squad with more confidence now,' he reflected.
`We know that if we play compact as a team, it is very difficult to beat us.
`The board have made a great effort to sign [Fernando] Morientes, we now have him, Gerrard, Didi Hamann, Milan Baros - a lot of good, quality players.
`But we need a little more luck with the injuries.'
With their ability questioned following the defeats to Burnley, Manchester United and then at struggling Southampton last weekend, Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher believes the Carling Cup performances can act as a springboard going into the crucial final few months of the campaign.
`This result has now given everyone something to look forward to in February,' the defender.
`Not only have we got a major final, we've got the Champions League kicking off again around the same time.
`Sometimes, I don't know what people expect.
`The manager's only just arrived. I know we've been inconsistent in the league and I know the manager would like us to have more points.
`But he should be judged much later, not because of one bad week.'
Liverpool are, though, not yet guaranteed a place in Europe next season.
Despite reaching the Carling Cup final, they will only secure a UEFA Cup berth if they win the competition. Were the Reds to lose, and the winners subsequently qualified for the Champions League, the side finishing in sixth place in the Premiership would be awarded their spot instead.
One thing is for certain, though, and that is the Merseysiders will not be making a move for out-of-favour Newcastle striker Craig Bellamy.
The Welshman admits he was a `big Liverpool fan' when growing up, but the club have played down reports he was set for a switch to Anfield.
Liverpool spokesman Ian Cotton said: `This story is not true.'
Keo_86
27-01-2005, 10:56 AM
It will be Liverpool vs Chelsea at Cardiff...
Liverpool to lift the CUP!!!
This match is just like Indo vs Sin.......before the match.....99% will choose Indo to win or even thrash Sin in their Senayan stadium........but surprise......who would predicted Sin would score 3 goals???? Nothing is impossible........like Raddy said.....once 2 teams reach the final......it anyone guess......it will be a 50-50 game.......
and I believe in LIVERPOOL!!!!!!!!
Mohawks
27-01-2005, 11:21 AM
The Pong will be out for up to 6 months.... poor boy
chengsun
27-01-2005, 11:30 AM
seems that liverpool players kena injured very easily, and frequent, is that problem in the physical training team and the medic team? how come so often one? and once injured, often like got to rest for few month or rest of season...
those were the times... when fowler was still god
yahlor wearing the nose thingy, so cool! :D
Liverpool to lift the CUP!!!
This match is just like Indo vs Sin.......before the match.....99% will choose Indo to win or even thrash Sin in their Senayan stadium........but surprise......who would predicted Sin would score 3 goals???? Nothing is impossible........like Raddy said.....once 2 teams reach the final......it anyone guess......it will be a 50-50 game.......
and I believe in LIVERPOOL!!!!!!!!
lol everytime must talk abt local soccer one, :s13:
believe the faith, and i believe morientes will start scoring soon!
too bad this sat FA cup our beloved not in action ... can haf a good rest!
iwish
27-01-2005, 01:05 PM
ya the rest will do the team good...
crazynut06
27-01-2005, 02:50 PM
yahlor wearing the nose thingy, so cool! :D
yeah....i still adore him now :D
niterider
27-01-2005, 02:53 PM
yeah....i still adore him now :D
I adore his goals more than him :D
Mohawks
27-01-2005, 02:57 PM
ya the rest will do the team good...
yup... whole team should take calcium supplement...
and do conditioning exercises
gerrard17
27-01-2005, 02:58 PM
yes, being underdog is gd.
not many chances of us being underdog in a cup final.
Ultimate10002000
27-01-2005, 08:33 PM
Alonso bears no Lampard grudge
Liverpool midfielder Xabi Alonso claims he has not given up hope of playing again this season and insists he does not bear any grudge against Chelsea's Frank Lampard for the tackle which broke his ankle.
Lampard was criticised for the New Year's Day challenge which will see the Spaniard miss the Carling Cup final between the two clubs next month.
Reds boss Rafael Benitez fears that his £10million signing will not play again this season but Alonso is not so sure.
He said: 'I have already started work in the gym and am fulfilling certain goals. I am an optimistic person and want to think that I'll return to play this season.
'It is frustrating to miss out on the Champions League games coming up but I hope we get through so that I have a chance of playing in later rounds.'
Alonso told the club's official website that he does not blame Lampard for his predicament. He added: 'Lampard apologised for the tackle and that is a nice gesture, but it has annoyed me to get this injury at the worst possible moment.'
melankholy
27-01-2005, 09:51 PM
lampard is a twat. i hope he steps on the ball and his knee caves in when chelsea play us at cardiff.
ttkkhh88
27-01-2005, 10:22 PM
haiz...liverpool always so sway one...not this player injured then is that player injured...then even if signing new players dun ensure turing the tide of their injury curse....omg...
stansays
27-01-2005, 10:36 PM
Just wandering whether Liverpool is buying any more players before the window close?
dy_lan
27-01-2005, 10:38 PM
Just wandering whether Liverpool is buying any more players before the window close?
maybe renia or another striker? or maybe aimar?
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:13 PM
maybe renia or another striker? or maybe aimar?
dun tink we have the money for aimar atm...
mebbe another player or 2 will b useful... but i dun tink pool's financial situation will allow that... esp after we have coughed up quite a bit of money for Alonso, Garcia, Morientes etc..
and the only substantial sale we made is Owen...
mebbe Le Tellac will come back and reinforce the midfield... which is quite weakened by the injuries...
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:14 PM
dun tink we have the money for aimar atm...
mebbe another player or 2 will b useful... but i dun tink pool's financial situation will allow that... esp after we have coughed up quite a bit of money for Alonso, Garcia, Morientes etc..
and the only substantial sale we made is Owen...
mebbe Le Tellac will come back and reinforce the midfield... which is quite weakened by the injuries...
oh and kewell and smicer will be due back soon...
smicer already back in training... but dun tink he will be back too soon as he will have to rebuild his fitness after being out for so long... but we definitely can do with some backup...
:D
keltan
FLO TO UNDERGO SURGERY TONIGHT
Paul Eaton 27 January 2005
Florent Sinama-Pongolle will undergo surgery this evening after sustaining cruciate knee ligament damage during the Reds' victory over Watford in midweek.
The young French striker has torn his left anterior cruciate ligament, but only after tonight's operation will the club know for sure how long he will be out of action.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton told us: "Florent has seen a specialist today and following that consultation he will undergo keyhole surgery this evening to assess the extent of the injury.
"After the operation we will have a better idea how long he will be sidelined for."
keltan
REINA FLATTERED BY REDS' LINK
Sporting Life 27 January 2005
Villarreal goalkeeper Pepe Reina has admitted he is "excited" about the prospect of a move to Premiership side Liverpool.
The 22-year-old, who has been in excellent form this season, has been instrumental in his side's charge to seventh in the Primera Liga and the last 32 of the UEFA Cup.
His impressive performances have inevitably led to interest from other clubs in Europe - and Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is thought to be one of the many keen admirers of the former Barcelona goalkeeper.
"Everyone would be excited by the chance of playing for a big club, although I would not say I am at a small club," he said.
"I think they (Liverpool) are building an important project looking to the long term more than the short term. I hope they have a lot of luck.
"There are comments and rumours... but from there to possible truths, there is a long way."
A move for Reina would come as no surprise to the Anfield faithful, who have already seen Benitez swoop for Primera Liga players Xabi Alonso, Luis Garcia, Antonio Nunez, Fernando Morientes, Mauricio Pellegrino and Josemi.
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:15 PM
DUDEK CONFIDENT OF MORE CARDIFF GLORY
Jerzy Dudek is convinced Liverpool can continue their love affair with Cardiff and win a fifth trophy at the Millennium stadium by beating Chelsea in the Carling Cup final.
The clash with Jose Mourinho's men next month will be the sixth final the Reds have played in the Welsh capital - and with one FA Cup, two League Cups and a Community Shield to show for their efforts so far, Dudek believes the experience of playing inside the fabulous stadium will give Liverpool a psychological advantage over the Londoners.
"I have fantastic memories of playing in Cardiff," said Dudek. "I wanted Manchester United to win last night because I remember the last time I played an unlucky game against them at Anfield, we had the right result in Cardiff a few months later.
"But now it's Chelsea, it doesn't matter because anything can happen. Whether it's a small team or a big club, it's always a difficult game. Maybe it's better for us that we are playing a side no-one expects us to beat.
"Everyone is ready in a final. I wouldn't say we are not favourites because we know Cardiff better than any side. It's been a lucky stadium for us. I hope it still will be after February 27."
Dudek was delighted to help the Reds overcome Watford in the semi-final and bring to an end a miserable sequence of results which prompted manager Rafael Benitez to hold a meeting with his players last weekend.
"Everyone was determined to get the right result against Watford by playing with the kind passion the fans expect," said Dudek.
"We have to stick together more than ever when we are being criticised, and the group meeting we had after Southampton was very helpful. When you lose games you have to accept people will say things because the club is used to being in the finals.
"Liverpool has a great history of winning things so there is a demand to win trophies. When that doesn't happen, you expect to be criticised.
"But everyone can see we have improved a lot tactically and the manager needs more time to see the potential in his team. Benitez has given a chance to every player in the squad and he needs much longer than six months to build his own squad."
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:16 PM
MORIENTES SHOWS HE HAS THE ANFIELD WORK ETHIC
Daily Post 27 January 2005
WHILE THE continued excellence of Steven Gerrard drew the plaudits after Liverpool's comfortable passage into the Carling Cup final, it was the performance of another born winner that caught the captain's eye.
Fernando Morientes is still searching for his first real opportunity in a Liverpool shirt following his £6.3million move from Real Madrid, let alone a goal, but at Watford on Tuesday there was increased evidence the wait will not be long.
Though short of match fitness the Spanish international has showed enough awareness and presence around opposition penalty areas to suggest he will prove an astute purchase by Rafael Benitez.
Gerrard already has no doubt that is the case.
The Liverpool skipper appreciated Morientes at even closer quarters at Vicarage Road where he was deployed in an attacking role just behind the 28-year-old, and responded with the only goal of the semi-final.
And he admits: "I think Fernando can help me in terms of goals with his link-up play, but more importantly he will help the team.
"Considering he hasn't played much football since the Champions League final with Monaco last season I think he has done well.
"No disrespect to Neil Mellor and Florent Sinama-Pongolle because they are young lads, learning the game and trying to improve. And when you look at some of the matches this season then they have played huge parts, but I think as soon as we lost (Djibril) Cisse we needed someone who was proven at this level."
Gerrard was quick to hail Morientes on his arrival as the kind of high-calibre signing Liverpool need to make if they are to make up ground on the leading pack.
And everything he has seen from the centre-forward since has confirmed that view.
"If you could name the players you would have wanted the club to buy then Fernando's would have been up there. I am really pleased we have got him and think it is a great buy," he added.
"You can see just by some of the little things he does how good he is. It might just be a pass or the run he makes. I think the fans will really love him.
What has impressed me is that he has won all these medals, but he doesn't play for himself. He is brave and works hard for the team.
"You saw him chasing back in the final minutes against Watford trying to win back the ball.
"When you consider his goals record I think it is only a matter of time before he clicks. I have been impressed so far, he is quality and he is not even fit yet.
"I hope he can make a big difference for us over the coming months because he will score goals."
It is not surprising that Gerrard has been attracted by Morientes's team ethic. According to Ray Lewington, the defeated Watford manager, it is a quality that resonates from the Liverpool captain himself.
"The thing with Gerrard is that he works so hard," said Lewington.
"It is not just about the individual with him, it is about doing it for the team. And when you have an individual like Gerrard you can always score a goal."
The skipper, meanwhile, is now anxious to ensure that Morientes, along with all new Liverpool signings, does not only settle in on the pitch.
Gerrard revealed: "I roomed with Fernando at Watford, so I am getting to know him. He is quite quiet really, no airs or graces about him.
"We have got him involved in the card schools and the lads will be going out for a meal with him and Mauricio Pellegrino and Scott Carson.
"The lads are brilliant for that, he'll have no trouble settling in here. It's a great club."
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:17 PM
i like gerrards last sentence...
"The lads are brilliant for that, he'll have no trouble settling in here. It's a great club."
hehe
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:18 PM
FINNAN: WE NEED OUR SKIPPER TO STAY
Steve Finnan is keeping his fingers crossed that Rafael Benitez is granted his wish to build a Liverpool team for the future around Steven Gerrard.
While Gerrard's Anfield future continues to be the subject of much debate, Finnan is hoping the Reds can enjoy Carling Cup glory this season and enjoy a positive Premiership and Champions League campaign as they bid to persuade Gerrard his future lies on Merseyside.
The Irish defender said: "Steve was the main man for us against Watford and he has now done that a lot for the club. He is such a vital member of the team.
"There has been a lot of speculation about him leaving but I hope he stays and the manager can build a team around him."
Finnan returned from injury in time to help the Reds book their Cup final date with Chelsea and he believes the prospect of playing at the Millennium Stadium will have a positive knock-on effect in their league programme.
"It would be great to win the Cup but we've also got a lot to play for in the Champions League and the Premiership," he added.
"We have to put the Cup final to the back of our mind until next month and concentrate on putting our efforts into the other competitions.
"It was a disappointing week for everyone last week but now that we're through to the final it'll give us a lot of confidence."
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:19 PM
CARRAGHER QUICK TO DEFEND LIVERPOOL'S STUTTERING FORM
The Independent 27 January 2005
Rafael Benitez regards his job as Liverpool manager as easier than being in charge at Valencia - simply because the Spaniard claims his grasp of English is not good enough to be able to read the criticism.
It is an immunity not afforded to some of his players and the defender Jamie Carragher admitted yesterday that they had been surprised by the reaction to their three recent defeats, which included an FA Cup loss at Burnley and, in the Premiership, at Southampton. The first-half performance in the latter was described by the television commentator and former Liverpool central defender, Alan Hansen, as the worst he had seen in the 14 years since he left the club.
The defeats swiftly ended any honeymoon enjoyed by Benitez, and made the victory in Tuesday night's League Cup semi-final second leg against Watford all the more vital. It also gave Carragher the licence to hit back. "I've been in the side for eight years. I know the Southampton game was poor, but I tell you what, I've played in a lot of games like that and some which were even worse," he said in the wake of the unconvincing 2-0 aggregate victory over Watford, a side 17th in the Championship.
Carragher added: "We're fifth in the Premiership, which by Liverpool standards isn't good, but when other big clubs have bad times, I don't see them getting the same stick. Manchester United and Spurs got relegated in the Seventies didn't they? People should bear it in mind that no matter how great your past is, you can have bad periods in football. Sometimes, I don't know what people expect. The manager's only just arrived. I know we've been inconsistent in the League and I know the manager would like us to have more points. But he should be judged much later, not because of one bad week."
Few doubt both Benitez's credentials or his ability to cope. He has also been short of luck with the striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle the latest to be afflicted by injury. He will miss the rest of the season after tearing his anterior cruciate ligament. However, a number of Benitez's signings have not worked, which has addedto the scrutiny while Liverpool have also become ever more dependent on their captain, Steven Gerrard, who scored both goals in the semi-final. His body language, at times, has also betrayed a frustration.
The cup run has provided a significant financial boost - of around £1m - for cash-strapped Watford. Their manager, Ray Lewington, has insisted that the money means he will be able to turn down any bid for either his striker Heidur Helguson or the midfielder Brynjar Gunnarsson. However, Charlton Athletic may test their resolve with a £1m offer for Helguson before the transfer window closes. The Icelandic international has scored 16 times this season and would replace the striker Shaun Bartlett.
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:21 PM
Villarreal goalkeeper Jose Reina says that he would like to sign for Liverpool.
The 22-year-old Spaniard had caught the eye of both Liverpool and Manchester United after some impressive displays in La Liga.
Reina says that he has heard of Liverpool's interest, and would be interested in moving to Anfield, despite no further contact being made.
"Everyone would be excited by the chance of playing for a big club, although I would not say I am at a small club," said Reina.
"I think they (Liverpool) are building an important project looking to the long term more than the short term. I hope they have a lot of luck.
"There are comments and rumours. But from there to possible truths, there is a long way."
Reds boss Rafa Benitez has recently strengthened his goalkeeping department with the addition of Scott Carson from Leeds, and another relatively young keeper seems an unlikely target.
However, Benitez has already shown that he is not afraid to bring in players from Spain, with Xabi Alonso, Luis Garcia, Antonio Nunez, Fernando Morientes, Mauricio Pellegrino and Josemi all joining from La Liga.
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:22 PM
if Reina indeed joins Liverpool... it will look almost certain tt either error-prone Dudek or injury-prone Kirkland will be shown the door...
dun tink pool will keep 4 gd GKs on the payroll...
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:23 PM
Another Madrid "non-galactico" heading for Anfield??
Santiago Solari is getting concerned that Real Madrid have not offered him a new deal.
The Argentine winger's current Real contract expires in the summer but as yet he has not been approached regarding a new deal.
Manchester United and Liverpool have reportedly been interested in Solari, but Real had said that they wanted to keep him in Madrid.
However, Solari is becoming unnerved by the fact that the Spanish giants have yet to approach him about an extension.
"Time goes by and nobody has come to talk to me about what will happen in the future," said Solari.
"Sometimes silence says more than words.
"My contract will expire in four months and there has been silence from the board members until now.
"Sometimes you don't need words to understand what is going on. The club takes care of their business, so I will take care of mine.
"There are things that I have been saying for many years, but not with words, with my performances on the pitch. The club knows what I can give to them."
Solari feels that he should have been offered a new deal by now, considering the years of good service he has put in at El Santiago Bernabeu.
"Some players had their contracts renewed two years before they expire but my case is still up in the air.
"I can think many things about that, but I must be optimistic. There are other reasons for this than just the worst one, but until the referee blows the final whistle the match hasn't ended.
"I have had some very good moments at Real Madrid during these five years. We have won seven titles and played in many other finals.
"I am sure that in the next five months we are going to win another title."
Some reports have suggested that arch rivals Barcelona could also be interested in signing Solari, but he has dismissed these out of hand.
"Barcelona aren't in my plans at the moment.
"What I want right now is to catch up to them because they are seven points ahead of us."
keltan
27-01-2005, 11:24 PM
Liverpool are reportedly in talks with Marseille about cutting short Bruno Cheyrou's loan spell at Stade Velodrome.
Cheyrou is spending the season on loan with l'OM, who have an option to buy the France international in the summer.
But the 26-year-old has yet to cement himself in the Marseille team with eight of his ten Ligue 1 appearances coming as a substitute.
Reports in France are now claiming Reds boss Rafa Benitez is keen to bring Cheyrou back to Anfield to ease his injury crisis.
Benitez has lost a string of players to injury this term, with Florent Sinama-Pongolle the latest to be sidelined.
Injuries to the likes of Xabi Alonso, Harry Kewell and Vladimir Smicer have depleted Benitez's resources in midfield, prompting speculation Cheyrou will be hauled back to Merseyside.
Cheyrou joined The Reds in 2002 but struggled to set The Premiership alight and may grasp his Liverpool lifeline if the purported talks are pushed through.
hueman
28-01-2005, 12:36 AM
REDS NOT LOOKING FOR BRUNO RETURN
http://liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N147651050127-1523.htm
Liverpool have today denied they are seeking to bring Bruno Cheyrou back to Anfield to help ease their injury crisis.
The 26 year old midfielder is currently on a season long loan to Marseille, but reports from France today have suggested Rafael Benitez would like him to return to Anfield to help the Reds over the remainder of the campaign.
However, Liverpool have today responded by insisting they are not looking for the player to make a quick return to the club.
Liverpool spokesman Ian Cotton said: "We are not in discussions with Marseille to cut short Bruno Cheyrou's loan deal."
Cheyrou has made ten appearances for Marseille this season, with eight of them coming as a substitute.
Ultimate10002000
28-01-2005, 08:42 AM
Alonso bears no Lampard grudge
Liverpool midfielder Xabi Alonso claims he has not given up hope of playing again this season and insists he does not bear any grudge against Chelsea's Frank Lampard for the tackle which broke his ankle.
Lampard was criticised for the New Year's Day challenge which will see the Spaniard miss the Carling Cup final between the two clubs next month.
Reds boss Rafael Benitez fears that his £10million signing will not play again this season but Alonso is not so sure.
He said: 'I have already started work in the gym and am fulfilling certain goals. I am an optimistic person and want to think that I'll return to play this season.
'It is frustrating to miss out on the Champions League games coming up but I hope we get through so that I have a chance of playing in later rounds.'
Alonso told the club's official website that he does not blame Lampard for his predicament. He added: 'Lampard apologised for the tackle and that is a nice gesture, but it has annoyed me to get this injury at the worst possible moment.'
stansays
28-01-2005, 09:46 AM
FLO TO UNDERGO SURGERY TONIGHT
Florent Sinama-Pongolle will undergo surgery this evening after sustaining cruciate knee ligament damage during the Reds' victory over Watford in midweek.
The young French striker has torn his left anterior cruciate ligament, but only after tonight's operation will the club know for sure how long he will be out of action.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton told us: "Florent has seen a specialist today and following that consultation he will undergo keyhole surgery this evening to assess the extent of the injury.
"After the operation we will have a better idea how long he will be sidelined for."
I love to see him play and come on as a Sub whenever the opponent is tired. Solely be miss and pray for his speedy recovery.
stansays
28-01-2005, 09:50 AM
Our French connection is as good as gone for now. Will only get to see them next season folks. Sigh....
iwish
28-01-2005, 09:56 AM
Our French connection is as good as gone for now. Will only get to see them next season folks. Sigh....
FROM Soccernet
Le Tallec recalled by Reds
Liverpool striker Anthony Le Tallec is back at the club after a stint on loan with French top-flight side St Etienne.
Frenchman Le Tallec moved to the Stade Geoffroy Guichard last summer in a bid to get regular first-team football but found it hard to win a place in the starting line-up for Les Verts.
In a statement on club website, St Etienne announced: 'Loaned at the start of the season by Liverpool, Anthony Le Tallec has settled his loan contract with ASSE (St Etienne).
'He has returned to his club of origin.'
Le Tallec scored one goal in seven appearances for the once-mighty St Etienne, and will give boss Rafael Benitez another striking option, with Djibril Cisse and Florent Sinama-Pongolle long-term injuries - and the latter due to undergo surgery soon.
Liverpool spokesman Ian Cotton told the club's official website said: 'Florent has seen a specialist today and following that consultation he will undergo keyhole surgery to assess the extent of the injury.
'After the operation we will have a better idea how long he will be sidelined for.'
well..the french connection is not gone totally.. Le Tallec is back :)
iwish
28-01-2005, 09:58 AM
lampard is a twat. i hope he steps on the ball and his knee caves in when chelsea play us at cardiff.
i dont blame lampard for that challenge...we have seen Gerrard gone in worse tackles...it is this type of players we need and want...it is just unfortunate that alonso was caught in that challenge....
hueman
28-01-2005, 10:11 AM
i dont blame lampard for that challenge...we have seen Gerrard gone in worse tackles...it is this type of players we need and want...it is just unfortunate that alonso was caught in that challenge....
yah, sometimes i see gerrard tackle, my heart can jump out. but he is more careful these days. he knows that getting sent off as a captain is very irresponsible to a certain extent.
Keo_86
28-01-2005, 04:47 PM
Hey...anyone know which site can d/l Liverpool athem ringtones for N6100???
I just d/l from the M1 site one....wasted my $$$4 man....not completed one.....I want a full complete one....at least almost complete one lah......
anyone got lobang???
Mohawks
28-01-2005, 05:45 PM
Le Tellac is BACK in Liverpool!!! :D
BionLim
28-01-2005, 05:58 PM
wow.. Thnx for all the liverpool news!!!
Bro keltan, where you find these news??
didnt realise that hardware forums got so many liverpool fans out here!!
Cheers,
Bion
rascalboy
28-01-2005, 06:32 PM
wonder if Luis Gacia will realli leave liverpool at the end of the season......there hv been lots of rumours abt him going back to Spain...will RB sell him?
melankholy
28-01-2005, 08:22 PM
you guys can be all diplomatic if you want, but Lampard is a twat and he took out one of our best players. thats that.
spinelli
28-01-2005, 09:21 PM
Hey...anyone know which site can d/l Liverpool athem ringtones for N6100???
I just d/l from the M1 site one....wasted my $$$4 man....not completed one.....I want a full complete one....at least almost complete one lah......
anyone got lobang???
wow lau.normal ringtone where got full version one.unless mp3 lor
keltan
28-01-2005, 09:38 PM
Le Tellac is BACK in Liverpool!!! :D
hopefully he will boost our midfield... which sadly has been lacking creativity the past few games...
keltan
28-01-2005, 09:42 PM
wonder if Luis Gacia will realli leave liverpool at the end of the season......there hv been lots of rumours abt him going back to Spain...will RB sell him?
dun tink so...
there are lots of rumours churned out... but i dun tink RB will let him go...
anyway, he has been here for less then a season.... so he needs some time to adapt to english soccer...
I personally dun like his fancy flicks which finds no one from the same team,keeps losing ball in midfield and his woeful finishing, but mebbe we shld cut him some slack... and give him some time.. Anyway in some games he looked good...
Ultimate10002000
28-01-2005, 10:17 PM
Reina in Liverpool link
Villarreal goalkeeper Pepe Reina has admitted he is 'excited' about the prospect of a move to Premiership side Liverpool.
The 22-year-old, who has been in excellent form this season, has been instrumental in his side's charge to seventh in the Primera Liga and the last 32 of the UEFA Cup.
His impressive performances have inevitably led to interest from other clubs in Europe - and Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez is thought to be one of the many keen admirers of the former Barcelona goalkeeper.
'Everyone would be excited by the chance of playing for a big club, although I would not say I am at a small club,' he said.
'I think they (Liverpool) are building an important project looking to the long term more than the short term. I hope they have a lot of luck.
'There are comments and rumours... but from there to possible truths, there is a long way.'
A move for Reina would come as no surprise to the Anfield faithful, who have already seen Benitez swoop for Primera Liga players Xabi Alonso, Luis Garcia, Antonio Nunez, Fernando Morientes, Mauricio Pellegrino and Josemi.
stansays
28-01-2005, 11:16 PM
dun tink so...
there are lots of rumours churned out... but i dun tink RB will let him go...
anyway, he has been here for less then a season.... so he needs some time to adapt to english soccer...
I personally dun like his fancy flicks which finds no one from the same team,keeps losing ball in midfield and his woeful finishing, but mebbe we shld cut him some slack... and give him some time.. Anyway in some games he looked good...
Only in some games. 1 out of 10 games maybe. :s13: Loses ball too easily. His trick is not fancy and easily caught by most defenders. Too sloppish or maybe he should cut off his hair to feel lighter.
BionLim
29-01-2005, 12:50 AM
Only in some games. 1 out of 10 games maybe. :s13: Loses ball too easily. His trick is not fancy and easily caught by most defenders. Too sloppish or maybe he should cut off his hair to feel lighter.
Haha, what a suggestion.. cut off his hair.
Anyway, i dont find his tricks fanciful, and he is always caught by defenders and losing the ball to opposing team.. always puts me off..
elbib00
29-01-2005, 01:31 AM
losing the ball is one thing, what angers me most is hes selfishness.
there r many situations where he could lay off the ball to a teammate in a much much better position, yet he chose to shoot from dist.
chows99
29-01-2005, 03:31 AM
yah lor ! Garcia loses the ball too much n he is too light weight for EPL ... although must credit him to always cover back when defending. But he's always selfish at the decisive moments n he's making baros very frustrating when baros hv a better postion to score ... if he doesn't buck up, he gonna go man ... becoz frankly speaking, he's not good enough if we want to be among the elite clubs ... he's at best a squad player.
Liverpool will never walk alone !
niterider
29-01-2005, 08:44 AM
Celtic have completed the signing of Liverpool defender Stephane Henchoz.
The Swiss defender has penned a short-term deal with The Bhoys and will remain until the end of the season.
Henchoz had been a key player under former manager Gerrard Houllier, but has fallen out of favour under new boss Rafa Benitez.
"Stephane Henchoz has ended speculation regarding his immediate future by joining up for Celtic's assault on the SPL title," confirmed a statement on Celtic's official website.
"Henchoz, who had reportedly turned down a move to Alex McLeish's Rangers recently, decided on the move north anyway, but to the east, and not west-end of the city.
"The deal ties up Henchoz until the end of the season."
Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 08:58 AM
It is a good move for Henchoz, it is time for him to go. If not his career will be greatly affected.
fantasy21
29-01-2005, 09:32 AM
It is a good move for Henchoz, it is time for him to go. If not his career will be greatly affected.
good luck lad.. i think he is going to get an SPL title medal there this season. its definitely a good move for him
niterider
29-01-2005, 09:52 AM
Yes,... i would rather he move on and get his matches coming instead of 'rotting' in Liverpool cos it's clear that RB dun need his services. Do appreciate him for his contributions to Liverpool in his years of service. Especially when he was in the squad who did the treble.
Good luck Henchoz!
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:25 AM
BOSS HAPPY TO HAVE LE TALLEC BACK
Paul Eaton 28 January 2005
Rafael Benitez has told Anthony Le Tallec to make the most of his return to Anfield following an unsuccessful loan spell in France.
Le Tallec has completed the formalities of his return to Merseyside after cutting short his time with St Etienne and is now available to help the Reds over the remainder of the campaign.
Le Tallec will wear number 13 at Anfield and will play for the reserves against Aston Villa this weekend.
Benitez said: "We have worked with and talked to St Etienne about bringing Le Tallec back because he is a player I like. He is very good and very skilful.
"Le Tallec wanted to come back and we've been thinking about it for some time. We think it's better for him to be here now. With Flo injured, it makes it even more important for him to return, but we were thinking about this even before he was injured.
"Le Tallec wants to work hard for us, whether he's in the first team or reserves. We don't have a lot of strikers fit so he will have a chance.
"He will get opportunities to play games, for sure. He is another face in the squad and he will give us more possibilities."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:26 AM
NO WEEKEND OFF FOR REDS
The Reds may have no competitive action to enjoy this weekend, but that doesn't mean it's a weekend off for the players.
With a trip to Charlton looming next midweek, manager Rafael Benitez is determined to use the free days over the weekend to work as hard as possible with his sqiad.
He told us: "We had a double session on Friday and we'll have the same on Saturday and then another session on Sunday.
"I said we needed to work as hard as we possibly can in training and this free weekend gives us the opportunity to have some good sessions with the players.
"Of course we'd rather be playing an FA Cup tie this weekend, but the fact we're not doesn't mean it's a weekend off. Not at all. We want to make sure the team are properly prepared for the game at Charlton on Tuesday."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:27 AM
hopefully the extra work on the field can iron some things out...
anything less then a win against charlton and we will be losing our grips on the fourth place spot...
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:29 AM
yah lor ! Garcia loses the ball too much n he is too light weight for EPL ... although must credit him to always cover back when defending. But he's always selfish at the decisive moments n he's making baros very frustrating when baros hv a better postion to score ... if he doesn't buck up, he gonna go man ... becoz frankly speaking, he's not good enough if we want to be among the elite clubs ... he's at best a squad player.
Liverpool will never walk alone !
yah... i also think he will make a good squad player..
he can play anywhere across the midfield, and in the hole behind the forward line... so he will make a good utility player coming off the bench...
but he really needs to improve on his finishing and the art of retaining posession...
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:30 AM
RAFA AMAZED BY ANFIELD INJURY JINX
Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez reflected on the club's latest injury setback and admitted: "I've never known anything like it."
Florent Sinama-Pongolle is the latest member of the Reds' squad to face a lengthy spell on the sidelines after the knee injury he sustained against Watford in midweek.
The young French striker is the TWELFTH player to be rocked by a long term injury blow this season and Benitez admits he can't wait for the bad luck to end.
He said: "It's amazing really. I've never known so many players to get injured in a six month spell. And we're not talking about players being out for just a week either. In some cases we're talking three months, four months, five months, six months.
"It's unfortunate what has happened to Flo because we'll now be without him for the rest of the season."
Despite the injury problems, Benitez refuses to be downhearted and instead insists the players he has available are good enough to do the job this season.
He added: "I never use injuries as an excuse. We just have to work with the players we have now.
"We're a bit short in attack, especially as Morientes can't play in the Champions League. But we have one or two options, including Le Tallec who is coming back from France."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:31 AM
LAMPARD WARY OF GERRARD THREAT
Frank Lampard today admitted he's wary of the threat posed by Steven Gerrard in the Carling Cup final next month.
Chelsea will start the final as favourites following their magnificent season to date, but Lampard is well aware Liverpool will field enough good players on the day to cause them problems.
And he highlights Steven Gerrard as the man the Chelsea players will have to watch most closely if they are to come out on top in Cardiff.
"It's great to get to the final but we are in for a very tough game against Liverpool. They play fantastically well at times and they gave us a really hard time when we played up there earlier in the season.
"They have some great players, Steven Gerrard is on fire at the moment, he's very influential for them and he'll make it very tough for us."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:31 AM
MILAN: NANDO AND I WILL GET THE GOALS
Milan Baros is confident his front line partnership with Fernando Morientes will produce enough goals to see the Reds climb the table over the remainder of the season.
Baros has been instantly impressed by Morientes' work on the training field as he begins to adapt to his new career in the Premiership, and he says it's only a matter of time before he starts banging in the goals for the Reds.
He said: "Already you can tell what an excellent player he is going to be for Liverpool. Of course, you must already be a special player to have won three Champions League medals and everything else he has achieved in his career.
"I think he will prove to be an excellent signing for Liverpool. He is strong, very strong on the ball so he will be able to hold onto it in England but I have already been impressed with the way he brings other people into the game.
"We have seen flashes of his best form in training and it is obvious he is going to fit in well at Liverpool. We want to be challenging higher up the Premiership table and to do that we have to improve our quality.
"Fernando is a player who does that instantly. I'm really looking forward to working together with him at Anfield because I think our partnership will get goals."
Baros has also rejected speculation he could be on his way out of Anfield to Italian outfit Fiorentina.
He added: "I have seen the speculation and I can tell you there is no truth in this story. I have not been contacted by anybody about a move away from Liverpool.
"I am a Liverpool player, I am happy here and I enjoy playing for the fans. That is all that matters. We are still in three competitions and all I think about is making sure we do our best in them."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:35 AM
FLO BACK FOR START OF NEXT SEASON
Liverpool expect young striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle to be fit in time for the start of next season.
Pongolle is definitely sidelined for the remainder of this campaign after suffering cruciate knee ligament damage during the midweek clash at Watford.
He underwent keyhole surgery last night to assess the damage to the knee, after which the Reds revealed they expect him to return at the start of the next campaign.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton told us: "Florent had keyhole surgery yesterday and will undergo reconstructive surgery in approximately two weeks time.
"We expect him to be fit for the start of next season."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:35 AM
FANS DRIVING BENITEZ ON
Liverpool Echo 28 January 2005
NEWSPAPERS? Phone-in shows? Ex-players? Rafa Benitez has swiftly discovered a true barometer of opinion on Merseyside, there is only one reliable source.
"Taxi drivers know best," said the Liverpool manager, reflecting on his first 'rollercoaster' week in the Anfield hotseat.
"One of my staff told me he'd taken three taxi rides during the last few days, and the driver of each told him the same thing. He said the fans know the new manager needs time and they have every confidence the future will be better."
Such reassurance may have been needed much earlier in Benitez's reign than he thought.
Defeats to Burnley and Southampton provoked the Rafalution's first wave of hysteria, with progress into the League Cup Final restoring calm.
Far from being surprised by the erratic responses within a hectic fortnight, Benitez anticipated it.
"I spoke with a friend of mine in Spain today. He said 'first you were having a bad week, now you've had a good week'," said Benitez.
"In football, it's always the same. A lot of people have short memories. When we defeated Arsenal and Olympiakos, everyone was talking about Liverpool playing their best football for a long time.
"After last weekend, it was different. This is a normal reaction.
"The supporters understand we need to be compared to the first year of other managers, not the last year when they have completed a long period of work.
"I'm sure if you look at our record in our first season, it compares favourably even with the first six months of some of the most successful managers in this country. To reach a League Cup final immediately is a good start."
With Liverpool facing current darlings of the chattering classes, Chelsea, next month, Benitez knows not everyone will readily highlight this point.
The contrasting coverage of both club's passage to Wales was noted by the Liverpool boss.
His so-called 'lucky' side progressed with the aid of 'one man', while a perfect Chelsea team swept aside all before them, somehow managing to avoid tripping over Jose Mourinho's halo en route.
It's all so familiar to him. "The big newspapers in Spain are in Madrid and Barcelona, so the other clubs rely on their local newspapers to give them support. It's the same here," said Benitez.
"There are more London newspapers than Liverpool ones, so I prefer to read the ECHO, which is supportive. It's a pity they can't read it in London.
"Just like in Valencia, I know there are always going to be some journalists who don't like my team. We have a saying in Spain which is the same in England: 'Never let the truth get in the way of a good story'. The truth of our situation was not reflected in many of the things I have heard this week.
"Of course I like to hear what people have to say and want to know what they think, but I won't waste my time listening to what everyone says or reading what everyone writes.
"I'm only interested in listening to the people who want the best for Liverpool Football Club, no-one else.
"They are always with us. It is they who motivate us. To me, the most important thing is my players and the supporters.
"Those who criticise us without a proper argument, I won't listen to. I will just concentrate on my job. In the end, if we win, those people who criticise will change their minds and those who've always been with us will be happiest."
So what of the prospect of facing Chelsea in Cardiff? Benitez and Mourinho took over their respective clubs at the same time.
With the Portuguese man's honeymoon threatening to last longer than a golden wedding, how sweet would it be for the Liverpool man to get his hands on silverware before his mega-rich rival?
"Chelsea have a lot of money and you can't compare their progress to us," says Benitez.
"I said before their game with Manchester I had no preference for one team over another.
"Now we have Chelsea and we can start to prepare. We know we are playing a very good team.
"It will be difficult for us, but I'm sure we will make it difficult for them too.
"It's good we have a lot of time before the game. I've never been to the Millennium Stadium before, but I've been told it's fantastic and the atmosphere in the ground is also perfect. I'm looking forward to it."
Benitez says it will make him proud to lead a Liverpool side out at Cardiff so soon into his reign.
"I'm very proud each day I'm Liverpool manager, whether I'm leading the team, signing autographs or meeting the supporters," he said.
"I know to be manager of Liverpool Football Club is very important. There are a lot of people who respect us. It is a privilege for me to be here."
Liverpool are in a final, his injury hit-squad has much needed rest this weekend (even if they'd rather have a game) and the smile is back on the faces of the staff at Melwood.
Apart from that, if a friendly Spanish bloke gets into their cab, taxi drivers across the city know what to say to be assured of a healthy tip.
niterider
29-01-2005, 11:36 AM
Hey bro Kel, copying & pasting from Liverpoolfc.tv ah? *lol...
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:37 AM
Jerzy Dudek says he wanted to face Manchester United in the Carling Cup final, while Antonio Nunez accepts he has not had the best start to his Liverpool career.
Liverpool will face Chelsea in Cardiff to contest the Carling Cup final at the end of February, but Dudek would have preferred to face United.
Dudek played well in Liverpool's 2-0 win over United in the same fixture two years ago, and was hoping for a repeat.
The Polish number one had previously dropped a clanger in a United win at Anfield, and after letting in Wayne Rooney's shot in this year's fixture, he was hoping for a repeat.
"I wanted United to win because I remember the last time I had an unlucky game against them at Anfield, we then had the right result in Cardiff a few months later," said Dudek.
"But now it's Chelsea and maybe it's better for us we are playing a side no one expects us to beat.
"We know Cardiff better than most sides. It's been a lucky stadium for us and I hope it still will be after February 27."
Meanwhile, Spanish winger Antonio Nunez says that Liverpool fans are yet to see him at his best.
Nunez has been the most criticised of Rafa Benitez's Spanish imports, with some distinctly average displays down the right wing.
The 26-year-old says that his early knee injury has not helped his progress, and now hopes that the arrival of former Real Madrid team-mate Fernando Morientes will help his own fortunes.
"I have played to only 60 or 70 per cent of my capability," said Nunez.
"I need to do more of the things I'm good at, like taking the ball past opponents and improving my crossing.
"I know Fernando well from our time together in Madrid and I am excited by his arrival."
"I hope working with him (Morientes) again might bring the best out of my game.
"It is his ability in the air that I am going to enjoy most. He will be good for me - and I hope I will be for him."
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:39 AM
Hey bro Kel, copying & pasting from Liverpoolfc.tv ah? *lol...
yup yup...
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:39 AM
On-loan Rangers defender Gregory Vignal has revealed he will stay at Ibrox until the end of the season at least.
Vignal, who is on a season-long loan from Liverpool, has been linked with a possible move to Marseille.
The full back has rejected Rangers' first offer of a permanent deal at Ibrox as he keeps his options open.
Vignal is likely to leave Liverpool as he does not figure in Rafa Benitez's plans, but the Frenchman admits he is unlikely to move anywhere permanently until the summer.
"I won't move during winter transfer window. I want to terminate the season here, it is wiser," Vignal told French magazine But.
"Leaving would be illogical.
"Rangers didn't make me a new contract offer so far, but they want to keep me."
niterider
29-01-2005, 11:40 AM
yup yup...
good good... so lazy ppl will save their time checking here and there for latest REDS news :)
haha...wat a way to hit high posting and get 'promoted'. keke
keltan
29-01-2005, 11:46 AM
eh u suan-siaoing me ah???
huh? wad 'promoted'..
i hardcore Liverpool fan, no more room for promotion liaoz...
YNWA!
niterider
29-01-2005, 11:55 AM
eh u suan-siaoing me ah???
huh? wad 'promoted'..
i hardcore Liverpool fan, no more room for promotion liaoz...
YNWA!
I referring to the posting level la..."Mr Senior Member". Haha... i just crossed my century mark ma. Any more outings...chio chio... mebbe one of these days we should go Devils Bar wearing our Liverpool jersey... *lol
keltan
29-01-2005, 12:25 PM
Aiyo... only kiddos go bother bout these things leh...
Recently quite busy... mebbe against Everton loh... in March if i not wrong...
Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 05:37 PM
Jerzy Dudek says he wanted to face Manchester United in the Carling Cup final, while Antonio Nunez accepts he has not had the best start to his Liverpool career.
Liverpool will face Chelsea in Cardiff to contest the Carling Cup final at the end of February, but Dudek would have preferred to face United.
Dudek played well in Liverpool's 2-0 win over United in the same fixture two years ago, and was hoping for a repeat.
The Polish number one had previously dropped a clanger in a United win at Anfield, and after letting in Wayne Rooney's shot in this year's fixture, he was hoping for a repeat.
"I wanted United to win because I remember the last time I had an unlucky game against them at Anfield, we then had the right result in Cardiff a few months later," said Dudek.
"But now it's Chelsea and maybe it's better for us we are playing a side no one expects us to beat.
"We know Cardiff better than most sides. It's been a lucky stadium for us and I hope it still will be after February 27."
Meanwhile, Spanish winger Antonio Nunez says that Liverpool fans are yet to see him at his best.
Nunez has been the most criticised of Rafa Benitez's Spanish imports, with some distinctly average displays down the right wing.
The 26-year-old says that his early knee injury has not helped his progress, and now hopes that the arrival of former Real Madrid team-mate Fernando Morientes will help his own fortunes.
"I have played to only 60 or 70 per cent of my capability," said Nunez.
"I need to do more of the things I'm good at, like taking the ball past opponents and improving my crossing.
"I know Fernando well from our time together in Madrid and I am excited by his arrival."
"I hope working with him (Morientes) again might bring the best out of my game.
"It is his ability in the air that I am going to enjoy most. He will be good for me - and I hope I will be for him."
Hope all these players can perform much better at the next Liverpool game.
SongLongZi
29-01-2005, 05:41 PM
FLO BACK FOR START OF NEXT SEASON
Liverpool expect young striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle to be fit in time for the start of next season.
Pongolle is definitely sidelined for the remainder of this campaign after suffering cruciate knee ligament damage during the midweek clash at Watford.
He underwent keyhole surgery last night to assess the damage to the knee, after which the Reds revealed they expect him to return at the start of the next campaign.
Liverpool's Head of Press Ian Cotton told us: "Florent had keyhole surgery yesterday and will undergo reconstructive surgery in approximately two weeks time.
"We expect him to be fit for the start of next season."
haizz....tio injury curse liverpool.
SongLongZi
29-01-2005, 05:44 PM
losing the ball is one thing, what angers me most is hes selfishness.
there r many situations where he could lay off the ball to a teammate in a much much better position, yet he chose to shoot from dist.
arbo..sometimes he should really pass the ball to players in better position but knn he chose to shot!!..wasteful....
spinelli
29-01-2005, 06:17 PM
arbo..sometimes he should really pass the ball to players in better position but knn he chose to shot!!..wasteful....
i just find the technique or our team is very low.we have difficulty in stringing a few decent passes esp. in tight area.my god,we really need to brush up big time.or is it our players arent simply good enuff??
hueman
29-01-2005, 06:39 PM
yup yup...
aiyoh, if so, better include the source URL as well.
few reasons:
- protect urself from being sued
- let the readers know the source (some source r more tabloid than fact)
- give credit to the writer
- and so on and so forth....
keltan
29-01-2005, 06:46 PM
??
dun tink it does not take a genious to find out tt these are from soccer websites...
hueman
29-01-2005, 07:54 PM
??
dun tink it does not take a genious to find out tt these are from soccer websites...
yah, but which sites to be exact?
Ultimate10002000
29-01-2005, 11:40 PM
Simama-Pongolle out until August
Liverpool today officially confirmed they will be without French striker Florent Sinama-Pongolle for the rest of season.
The 20-year-old underwent exploratory surgery yesterday to ascertain how much damage was done to his knee ligaments in the Carling Cup semi-final second leg at Watford earlier in the week.
Club spokesman Ian Cotton said: 'Florent will hopefully be back fit again by the beginning of next season.'
Sinama-Pongolle will now have reconstructive surgery within the next fortnight.
His absence means there is an opportunity for fellow Frenchman Anthony Le Tallec to salvage his Liverpool career.
The pair joined the Anfield club for a combined #6million fee from Le Havre in July 2002 but Le Tallec was loaned back to St Etienne at the beginning of the season. However he has now returned to Anfield to ease the club's injury crisis.
niterider
29-01-2005, 11:41 PM
yah, but which sites to be exact?
I can name a few... bro kel correct me if i'm wrong.
www.skysports.com/skysports/football
www.liverpoolfc.tv
www.soccernet.espn.go.com
i guess bro kel's fav is skysports and liverpoolfc.tc. Am i right? :D
keltan
30-01-2005, 01:43 AM
I can name a few... bro kel correct me if i'm wrong.
www.skysports.com/skysports/football
www.liverpoolfc.tv
www.soccernet.espn.go.com
i guess bro kel's fav is skysports and liverpoolfc.tc. Am i right? :D
spot on..
liverpoolfc cos its official.
skysports cos their news updates are fast...
seldom soccernet, cos by the time their news are up... it is already on Liverpoolfc or skysports.
niterider
30-01-2005, 01:47 AM
Those are my 'must-see' URLs :)
Ya..soccernet news slow...but their livegame stats are better.
Ultimate10002000
30-01-2005, 09:31 AM
Hmm...what about teamtalk.com ? Any comments on this website. I know this site got alot of news of all teams too.
Keo_86
30-01-2005, 11:10 AM
Ask you guys 1 question......why does 25 May 1977 this day means sooooo much for Liverpool???
What happend on that day??? :s11: :s8:
spinelli
30-01-2005, 11:57 AM
Ask you guys 1 question......why does 25 May 1977 this day means sooooo much for Liverpool???
interesting....i only know that season they won the league,european cup and the fa cup.where you saw that date from??
keltan
30-01-2005, 12:15 PM
LE TALLEC AND SMICER RETURN TO ACTION
Steve Hunter, at Villa Park 29 January 2005
Anthony Le Tallec and Vladimir Smicer both made comebacks for Liverpool at Villa Park but it was a day to forget for the Reds who lost 4-0 at Aston Villa on Saturday afternoon.
The scoreline was perhaps a touch harsh as Liverpool played well in the first half but the pace of the two front players, brothers Luke and Stefan Moore was too much for the Reds defence to handle and Zak Whitbread and Danny O'Donnell had a very tough time.
Goalkeeper Scott Carson can not be faulted with any of the goals and in fairness to our recent signing he kept the scoreline down to 4-0 and had a brilliant match.
On the plus side Le Tallec was back after cutting short a loan spell with St Etienne and showing a good attitude to come back and help the Liverpool squad. The talented French Under-21 international has also got rid of the blonde rinse hairstyle. He played the full 90 minutes and worked hard for little reward. Le Tallec played as a lone striker which is not his best position but he showed a good attitude.
Vladimir Smicer appeared after an hour to play just behind Le Tallec in a central role and nearly scored a great goal after coming off the bench, but was denied by a fine save from Villa keeper Stefan Postma. He was understandably way short of fitness but this is a step forward in the right direction for Smicer.
To keep in line with Liverpool's season so far the Reds suffered yet another injury blow before the game with top scorer Neil Mellor ruled out with a knee injury so Darren Potter played just off the lone striker Le Tallec with captain John Welsh and David Mannix in central midfield. Jon Otsemobor played right wing with David Raven at right back.
With Florent Sinama-Pongolle ruled out for the rest of the season and Fernando Morientes not eligible for the Champions League Liverpool will be hoping that Mellor doesn't require an operation that would rule him out for the rest of the campaign.
Liverpool lost 6-1 to Villa Reserves earlier this season in a match that was one to forget for the Reds but Villa have some really talented youngsters and forwards with burning pace.
Zak Whitbread went close for Liverpool after two minutes when he shot just wide from a corner then a minute later John Welsh curled a free-kick just over the bar.
Villa went close two minutes later when former AC Milan defender Martin Laursen sent a powerful header just over the bar from a corner.
Mark Smyth was unlucky for Liverpool after eight minutes when he saw a shot well saved by Stefan Postma after excellent link-up play from Le Tallec.
The French starlet then almost scored what would have been a brilliant goal on 11 minutes and he was really unlucky. Potter picked out Le Tallec who had made a good run to get away from Laursen and from 25-yards out he hit a scorching drive that just cleared the bar.
Villa were then unlucky themselves after 13 minutes when Peter Whittingham rifled a powerful drive just wide after a poor clearance from Welsh, then at the other end Potter fired just off target.
Scott Carson then showed just why he is so highly rated with a brilliant double save to deny Villa on the half hour mark. The pace of Stefan Moore took him past Raven down the left and he was denied by a fine save, then the follow up effort was saved again by Carson and in the resultant scramble Moore saw another effort deflected just over the bar.
Perhaps the best chance for Liverpool arrived after 35 minutes. Otsemobor was having an excellent game on the right wing, taking on defenders and causing problems with his pace and skill. One run took him into the penalty area and set up a great chancefor Smyth who didn't get the best of touches and it was an easy save in the end for Postma.
Two minutes later Villa took the lead and it came from a blistering counter attack, The pace of Luke Moore saw him run clear from the halfway line and he finished superbly past Carson.
It was nearly 2-0 five minutes later when Stefan Moore shot just wide following hesitation from Whitbread.
The home side were threatening with the pace of the two Moore's in attack and after a flowing move Whittingham was all set to make it 2-0 when Warnock got back to make a fantastic tackle inside his own penalty area to clear the danger.
Potter came so close to equalising for Liverpool in first half stoppage time after a great turn and a rasping drive just wide.
Liverpool made a change at half time when Academy right back James Smith came on for Stephen Warnock.
Two minutes after the restart Villa should have made it 2-0 after a superb move but Hitzlsperger, well renowned for his rocket shots blazed over the bar with the goal at his mercy.
After 55 minutes Potter went close for Liverpool with a curled cross that nearly found its way into the net but Postma did well to palm the ball away to safety.
Vladimir Smicer made his comeback for Liverpool on the hour mark when he replaced David Mannix. For Mannix it was his third game in a week and he will have benefited greatly from the games on his way back to full fitness.
Smicer got into his stride quickly and within a minute of coming on almost scored a spectacular goal when he beat two defenders and let fly with a stinging shot from 22-yards-out but Postma was equal to it with a fine save. The Czech Republic international, who last played for the first team in the summer tour of America against Celtic, played in the hole just off lone striker Le Tallec.
It became 2-0 to Villa after 65 minutes when Luke Moore got his second goal of the game, after cutting in from the left and finishing well.
It was then nearly 3-0 three minutes later and should have been. First Carson superbly saved from Paul Green then when the rebound fell to Luke Moore it was an open goal but the hat-trick hunting striker blazed over the bar.
It was 3-0 after 72 minutes when after a goalmouth scramble Jamie Ward fired a low shot into the net giving Carson no chance.
Luke Moore completed his hat-trick two minutes later when his pace took him clean through and he lobbed Carson for 4-0, it was a great finish.
Carson made another good save to keep out a close range effort from substitute Shane Paul, then perhaps the best save of the lot in stoppage time with a spectacular stretching palm over the bar.
Aston Villa Reserves: Postma, O'Connor, Foley (Gardner 54), Laursen, Drobny, Whittingham, Ward, S Moore, L Moore, Green, Hitzlsperger.
Liverpool Reserves: Carson, Raven, Warnock (J Smith 45), O'Donnell, Whitbread, Potter, Otsemobor, Welsh, Le Tallec, Mannix (Smicer 60), Smyth (Foy 73). Subs unused: Luzi, Wilkie.
Referee: A Dewfield.
Liverpoolfc.tv Man of the Match: Scott Cason. The new goalkeeper didn't have a chance with any of the goals and kept the scoreline down to 4-0 with three great saves. Darren Potter and Jon Otsemobor were excellent in the first half but faded after the break.
keltan
30-01-2005, 12:16 PM
Smicer is back!!!
hopefully he can regain his fitness fast and help liverpool's cause for the rest of the season..
niterider
30-01-2005, 12:17 PM
May 25 1977, like May 1 1965, is a date that will forever hold special significance for Liverpudlians. For it was on this balmy night in the Italian capital of Rome that Emlyn Hughes proudly held aloft the gleaming silver trophy that is the European Cup – the greatest prize in club football. Regarded as the greatest day in the history of Liverpool Football Club, then there is no doubt that winning the European Cup for the first time in 1977 was the greatest night.
Check it out here... http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/lfc_story/1977.htm
*see the importance of Liverpoolfc.tv? :D
keltan
30-01-2005, 12:17 PM
NUNEZ: I KNOW I NEED TO IMPROVE
Paul Eaton 29 January 2005
Antonio Nunez accepts he needs to improve to convince the Liverpool fans he is worthy of a first team place at Anfield.
The Spanish midfielder admits he's failed to shine during his early weeks on Merseyside but he remains confident he'll get better and better as the season goes on.
He said: "I don't think Liverpool supporters have seen me at my best yet. I have only ever played to 60 or 70 per cent of what I am capable of. I know I need to do more of the things I'm good at, like taking the ball past opponents and improving my crossing into the box. Those are my strengths and I have to play to them.
"I know I can give more and I know I can be involved more in the game. I don't think it is down to getting to know my team-mates either. I have been here for a long time now and have been playing in the team for two months. I think in that time I have learned what they like to do on the pitch, and where they like the ball. They know the same about me, too.
"What I can say is that I'm much happier with the way the second month has gone. I think I am getting better because I was not very happy with the way I played during the first month. There is still room for improvement. I hope I am happier again after the third month."
keltan
30-01-2005, 12:18 PM
STEVIE TO DECIDE ON FUTURE IN SUMMER
Paul Eaton 29 January 2005
Steven Gerrard has once again stressed he will only consider his Liverpool future at the end of the season.
The Liverpool skipper will once again be the subject of much transfer speculation as the season wears on, with Real Madrid and Chelsea reportedly ready to tempt Gerrard with an offer in the summer.
But for now he is focused only on helping Liverpool enjoy a successful second half of the season, which will hopefully include a Cup triumph in Cardiff.
"Of course it's flattering," he said, when asked about being linked with elite European outfits. "There are some top clubs around Europe showing interest, but I'm at a top club at the moment. I've got a chance of lifting a cup.
"I'm not really thinking about my future at the moment. I'll sit down at the end of the season and assess my future."
keltan
30-01-2005, 12:20 PM
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Everything about liverpool, the team, the staff, the fans, everybody will be so demoralised if our dear stevie G decides to leave us....
I really hope this day does not come.... he is so essential to us...
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.