View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)
niterider
31-03-2005, 08:39 PM
swop with Aimar :o :s13:
Hahaa... first must ask Aimar Aimai (want or not in hokkien)... :D
younggun__007
31-03-2005, 09:22 PM
Or can go try sign Carlos Tevez and Robinho :D
Can build for the future
iwish
31-03-2005, 09:27 PM
Or can go try sign Carlos Tevez and Robinho :D
Can build for the future
tevez good? have yet to see him play....only keep hearing abt him.....
just give 1 cool defender, 1 real winger, 1 cover for center mid and i am happy for next season...
niterider
31-03-2005, 09:36 PM
tevez good? have yet to see him play....only keep hearing abt him.....
just give 1 cool defender, 1 real winger, 1 cover for center mid and i am happy for next season...
yeah! and also some luck to be free from injury jinx... tat's all i want. Is it too much to ask for??
iwish
31-03-2005, 09:39 PM
yeah! and also some luck to be free from injury jinx... tat's all i want. Is it too much to ask for??
hehe of cos not...
i think that is everyone's wish
Raul7
31-03-2005, 10:07 PM
Hahaa... first must ask Aimar Aimai (want or not in hokkien)... :D
hahahaha..... :s13:
stansays
31-03-2005, 10:37 PM
hahahaha..... :s13:
Wander if Diouf playing or can play?
keltan
31-03-2005, 11:16 PM
Wander if Diouf playing or can play?
dun tink he can play... cos iirc EPL got ruling say players on loan cant play against their own clubs...
remember the famous lua lua from newcastle that always stab his own club? :D
keltan
31-03-2005, 11:19 PM
swap for aimar, vicente and ayala lah...
:D :D :D
**in response to raul7's msg regarding swopping baros with aimar..
keltan
31-03-2005, 11:20 PM
remember the famous lua lua from newcastle that always stab his own club? :D
i think this is a new ruling that came into effect this season...
keltan
31-03-2005, 11:21 PM
RAFA: CISSE MAY BE BACK THIS SEASON
Paul Eaton 31 March 2005
Rafael Benitez today revealed Djibril Cisse's dream of playing again this season may come true after all.
Cisse spoke to Liverpoolfc.tv last week about his hopes of returning ahead of schedule before the end of this season after recovering from a horrific double broken leg injury.
The French ace revealed his dream of playing a part in the Champions League final if the Reds reach Istanbul in late May.
Despite acknowledging those comments were made more in hope than expectation, Cisse will be boosted today by news that his manager now also feels he could yet have a part to play in the conclusion to the Reds' campaign.
"Cisse is now training again with the team. He is doing all the warm-ups and he's kicking the ball again," said Benitez.
"I'm very happy with him. He's running well and doing a lot of hard work with the physios with the ball. Yesterday, he completed a full warm-up.
"After talking with my assistant Paco Ayesteran, who controls the fitness coaching, we no longer believe it's impossible he'll play this season.
"We have to listen carefully to the doctors. We know how much Cisse wants to play, but they will decide for us. But because there are still two months of the season left, we think there is enough time for him.
"Djibril is a very positive person and this is why his recovery has been so good," explained Benitez.
"Whenever we talked to him, he was always joking and talking about playing again soon. He was determined to come back and play and this has helped him get better."
Raul7
31-03-2005, 11:22 PM
hehehe..i was thinking this also :D
keltan
31-03-2005, 11:24 PM
then we have one left sided player, one central defender, one midfielder...
just what we need for next season liaoz...
haha..
Raul7
31-03-2005, 11:27 PM
then we have one left sided player, one central defender, one midfielder...
just what we need for next season liaoz...
haha..
heheheeeeee =:p
SongLongZi
01-04-2005, 12:15 AM
greedy as always....
can add in joaquin too ??
hehe..
SongLongZi
01-04-2005, 12:18 AM
BENITEZ LINKED WITH MOVE FOR MINTAL
Daily Post 31 March 2005
RAFAEL BENITEZ has been linked with a summer move for Slovakia skipper Marek Mintal.
The attacking midfielder has enjoyed an outstanding season in the Bundesliga with Nuremberg, scoring an incredible 21 goals in 26 matches.
Nuremberg would demand around £6m for the 27-year-old after his starring role in their inaugural season back in the German top flight.
That price is beyond Liverpool's valuation, although the Anfield club will continue to monitor Mintal's situation.
wtf....
21 goals from a midfielder??
victorian07
01-04-2005, 12:31 AM
yah..heard of his goalscoring prowess..he on of the top goalscorers..or is he top? not sure..dunno pop up from where one..unheard of b4
keltan
01-04-2005, 12:34 AM
greedy as always....
can add in joaquin too ??
hehe..
joaquin not from valencia leh..
SongLongZi
01-04-2005, 12:36 AM
joaquin not from valencia leh..
bilbao....haha.
Keo_86
01-04-2005, 12:56 AM
if liverpool got this kind of squad next season.....and we are still not challenging for tittle....... :s22: :s27:
stansays
01-04-2005, 12:56 AM
bilbao....haha.
Wah.... Liverpool going to become a LaLiga club soon. :s22:
Ronaldo_7
01-04-2005, 03:30 AM
bilbao....haha.
Joaquin? nt from Real Betis meh?? :s11:
niterider
01-04-2005, 03:42 AM
Joaquin? nt from Real Betis meh?? :s11:
frankly speaking, i dun fancy buying 'stars' now. just some nice decent players wud be good enuff, dun have to be big guns. else we're going to get down under in our finances, bearing in mind the new stadium's gonna cost us a bomb. =:p
AhnNakata7
01-04-2005, 07:56 AM
bilbao....haha.
Real Betis la
T_T
Freemanz
01-04-2005, 11:09 AM
The most important thing is to get commited team players.
frankly speaking, i dun fancy buying 'stars' now. just some nice decent players wud be good enuff, dun have to be big guns. else we're going to get down under in our finances, bearing in mind the new stadium's gonna cost us a bomb. =:p
spinelli
01-04-2005, 02:58 PM
The most important thing is to get commited team players.
some like warnock :s7:
keltan
01-04-2005, 05:26 PM
VALENCIA SET SIGHTS ON SUMMER BID FOR BAROS
Daily Post 01 April 2005
VALENCIA have confirmed they want to take Milan Baros to the Mestalla Stadium this summer.
The Liverpool striker is a leading target for Rafael Benitez's former club after a disappointing season in which they dispensed with his replacement Claudio Ranieri.
Baros has been linked with Valencia for several weeks, prompting his agent Pavel Paska to declare on Tuesday: "There are many teams that have asked for Baros, but I can assure you 100% that of Valencia I know nothing."
But last night both Valencia's sporting director and current coach revealed the Czech Republic star is the man they want to help revitalise their fortunes next season.
"We are looking at possible signings and we are interested in Baros," said director Eduardo Macia.
And Ranieri's temporary replacement, Antonio Lopez, added: "Baros would bring force to our attack and make a great contribution to Valencia."
Baros took his international record to an impressive 18 goals in 27 games in Wednesday's World Cup qualifying win over Andorra. But his Anfield future remains uncertain as Benitez prepares to bring in his own strikeforce this summer.
Liverpool resisted selling the 23-year-old following his Euro 2004 heroics but with Benitez a known admirer of Valencia's Pablo Aimar, Vicente and Mista - who has signed a contract extension with the Spanish champions - a swap deal involving Baros could be on the agenda at the end of the season.
Xabi Alonso, meanwhile, is heading a £33million trio of Anfield talent hoping to return to action for the Premiership and Champions League finale.
The Spanish international is due to return to full training on Monday, three months after breaking his ankle against Chelsea, and could make his comeback against Juventus in Turin on April 13.
Alonso is scheduled to play for the reserves against Leeds at Wrexham next Wednesday, signalling a welcome shift in injury fortunes for Benitez.
And the Liverpool manager could also have long-term absentees Djibril Cisse and Chris Kirkland back before the season's end.
Neither Cisse, who suffered a horrendous double leg fracture at Blackburn last October, or Kirkland, who underwent back surgery in January, are expected to feature in the Premiership again this term. But both players are making quicker-than-expected progress and have not given up hope of featuring in the run-in.
Record £14m signing Cisse last week revealed he may return in May and yesterday Benitez confirmed the striker has a remote chance of completing an incredible recovery.
"I am very happy with Cisse," said Benitez. "He is running well and doing a lot of hard work with the physios and he has now completed a full warm-up.
"We no longer believe it's impossible he'll play again this season. We have to listen carefully to the doctors. We know how much Cisse wants to play, but they will decide for us."
And Kirkland revealed: "I hope to play before the end of this season. It's obviously up to the gaffer when I play but all I can do is get myself back and fit.
"I'm running again but I'm still a couple of weeks away from diving and making saves but I'm hoping to be back in action this season."
keltan
01-04-2005, 05:27 PM
NANDO: IT'S VITAL THAT STEVIE STAYS
Paul Eaton 01 April 2005
Fernando Morientes is keeping his fingers crossed that he is lining up in the same Liverpool team as Steven Gerrard next season.
The Spanish striker, who could make a surprising return from injury to face Bolton tomorrow, insists Liverpool need to keep their skipper at the club to ensure a greater chance of achieving success over the coming years.
Gerrard has stated he will consider his future at the end of the season, and Morientes has spelt out the importance of ending the campaign in style to help make his decision that much easier.
"It is so vital that he stays with us," he said. "We know that if we do well, he will stay as a Liverpool player and that is what we all want.
"Gerrard is the most important player in the Liverpool side. It is difficult to imagine a Liverpool without Gerrard.
"The next season is vitally important to us and we need Steven to be here. All of the players at Anfield want to do well, not just for themselves but because they know a successful Liverpool team will help ensure that Gerrard stays with the club. If we do well, he stays."
Morientes has also revealed the form of Gerrard is often the topic of conversation whenever he speaks with his former team-mates in Madrid.
"I speak a great deal with my old team-mates and the interest in how the Spanish players are doing at Liverpool isn't the only thing they ask about," he added.
"They are always asking about Gerrard and how good he is. Whenever Liverpool are on television in Spain, players and fans alike can see just how important a player he is.
"I get calls from people like Raul. He asks about Gerrard every time he telephones me or I telephone him.
"Like everyone else, he knows that he is a very good player and sees him every week on television."
keltan
01-04-2005, 05:27 PM
HYYPIA: OUR EXPERIENCE CAN WIN THE RACE
Paul Eaton 01 April 2005
Sami Hyypia is hoping Liverpool's experience of fighting for a Champions League place will help them beat Everton in this season's race for fourth.
The two Merseyside clubs are in action again this weekend as Liverpool entertain Bolton while Everton visit West Brom, and Hyypia is remaining confident the Reds will eventually overtake their city rivals as the pressure increases in the battle to claim the final Champions League place.
He told LFC Magazine: "Our experience can help us, but if you are not doing things as a team then experience counts for nothing. It is about pulling together as a team at this stage.
"Yes, we've been here before and know what it takes to get there. I'm quite confident that we'll do it but then Everton have had a great season so far but we are much closer to them now and we will see where we are come May 15.
"I am a bit surprised by Everton's success this season, as I think most people are. But they seem to have a good bunch of players and they are pulling together.
"We can't worry about what they do though. It is crucial for us to remain focused for the final run-in to the season.
"We have usually had a decent finish while I've been here and hopefully this year won't be any different.
"Every game is important between now and the end of the season. We must try and get three points from every one of them. If we don't, then we don't, but it is one thing to focus and another to gain confidence, which comes with winning games."
If Liverpool are to clinch fourth place then Hyypia accepts the consistency of the side must improve over the remaining games.
He added: "We need to work hard to get the consistency right and then I am sure we will be closer to the top of the table.
"I don't know where the inconsistency comes from but I think games such as in Leverkusen where we were very aggressive shows that we can control a game."
keltan
01-04-2005, 05:28 PM
REDS UNDER STRENGTH FOR VITAL CLASH
Sporting Life 01 April 2005
Liverpool face another vital match in their battle for a Champions League place when they meet Bolton in their first game since victory over Everton in the Merseyside derby a fortnight ago.
With the battle for fourth place in the Barclays Premiership showing no signs of letting up, Bolton's visit is as important to the Reds as their last high-profile fixture.
Bolton, who have lost one in nine league games and have no Champions League to distract them, could seriously damage Liverpool's own ambitions at Anfield. Physical and tough to beat, Sam Allardyce's men can spoil the party.
The Bolton boss witnessed Liverpool's win over Everton and the carnage caused to Rafael Benitez's squad through a horrific injury list and was able to leave Anfield with a smile on his face.
Definitely out is midfielder Dietmar Hamann with a twisted knee which will also see him miss the two Juventus ties.
Since that victory over the Toffees Liverpool have had a fortnight to grapple with that injury list.
The good news is that Djimi Traore should be fit to resume at left back, while Luis Garcia has played for Spain and as long as he has no reaction from Wednesday's international with Serbia and Montenegro, he too will be considered free from his ankle problem.
But elsewhere the worries for Benitez are still there. Milan Baros starts a three match ban, Harry Kewell has no chance of being involved because of his protracted groin and back problems while Fernando Morientes is fighting to be involved.
The Spaniard has a chance despite a thigh strain which was initially expected to rule him out for at least a fortnight. The striker is already back in training and said: "The injury is better. I'm not sure whether I will be fit but it's possible.
"I've started running in training and there was no pain. The injury isn't as bad as we thought, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed I can play against Bolton.
"I hope so because I would like to play against my friends Ivan Campo and Fernando Hierro."
With such limited resources, Liverpool could end up with Vladimir Smicer and Luis Garcia up front, or even youngster Anthony Le Tallec, who played for France Under-21s in midweek.
Another option is to use Steven Gerrard in an advanced role, but without Hamann the skipper will be needed to partner Igor Biscan in the heart of midfield, unless Benitez takes the risk of using midweek England Under-21 goalscorer John Welsh in that role.
Kewell would have been the obvious choice in attack had he made any significant progress to his multitude of injury problems.
But since visiting German specialist Doctor Hans Muller-Wolfhart two weeks ago, there has been barely any improvement, although Benitez is moved to say: "I think Harry will play again this season, although it depends on how the new treatment works."
So Benitez, from somewhere, must find a front pairing and midfield foursome capable of upsetting one of the meanest teams in the division. Champions League qualification could rest on the outcome.
chryzh35
01-04-2005, 05:41 PM
liverpool need to bring in a fengshui master or bomoh to buang suay man
like spurs always like half the team injured
elbib00
01-04-2005, 06:11 PM
ooo... so LTA is match fit after all.
nice to hear that
RadEoNic
01-04-2005, 07:16 PM
diouf playing?
younggun__007
01-04-2005, 09:34 PM
Den after bolton muz play juve liaoz.
keltan
01-04-2005, 10:39 PM
me looking forward to the Juve match..
hopefully can see a liverpool vs chelsea semi-final and a liverpool vs Milan final..
haha..
:D
keltan
01-04-2005, 10:40 PM
Good news for pool.. Traore, Warnock, Garcia and Moro can play against Bolton...
-------------
NANDO FIT TO FACE BOLTON
Paul Eaton 01 April 2005
Rafael Benitez has confirmed Fernando Morientes is fit to take his place in the Liverpool attack against Bolton tomorrow.
There were fears the Reds would go into the game without any recognised strikers to call on after Morientes suffered a thigh injury against Everton two weeks ago.
But the Spanish international has made a speedier than expected recovery and, after a final training session at Melwood this morning, he has been passed fit to face Sam Allardyce's side.
Djimi Traore will also return to the squad after recovering from injury and coming through 45 minutes of a reserve game in midweek.
Luis Garcia and Stephen Warnock are also fit after recovering from minor injuries sustained in the derby.
Manager Rafael Benitez said: "It is very pleasing to have these players available because they are very important for us for the rest of the season."
keltan
01-04-2005, 10:40 PM
RAFA'S WARNING TO REDS
Paul Eaton 01 April 2005
Rafael Benitez has told his Liverpool players he won't tolerate a post-international hangover when the Reds take on Bolton tomorrow.
The Liverpool manager has had less than 48 hours to work with his squad after a ten day break for international fixtures, but he's not prepared to use that as an excuse ahead of a vital clash with Sam Allardyce's high flying Wanderers.
Benitez remembers the poor performance his side produced at Birmingham following the last international break, and he wants no repeat of that display this weekend.
"It is always a problem when players come back from international duty because you don't have a lot of time to prepare," said Benitez.
"We will be talking a lot about the lessons from our last international break. We will need to approach the game in the same way as the derby.
"I know that's difficult because a derby is different to other matches, but we must try because this is just as important.
"I've been talking to the players and telling them to forget the Juventus match next week and focus only on beating Bolton."
Liverpool expect to have Fernando Morientes, Luis Garcia and Stephen Warnock fit for the game. Milan Baros and Dietmar Hamann will definitely miss out.
keltan
01-04-2005, 10:42 PM
IT'S MEDALS NOT MONEY DRIVING KOP ACE NANDO
Liverpool Echo 01 April 2005
IN recent years, certain Liverpool signings have stood accused of using a dream move to Anfield as a means of securing early retirement.
While their bank balance has increased, their performances have alarmingly declined.
Securing a transfer to one of the world's most esteemed clubs proved the beginning of the end of their achievements in football rather than the start of a glorious chapter.
Fernando Morientes is adamant he won't fall into the same trap.
One of Europe's most decorated players insists the challenge of assisting in the rebirth of Liverpool is motivated by the pursuit of happiness and medals, not bank notes.
The striker has the documents to prove it. The Liverpool deal he signed in January included a performance-related clause. Having accepted a significant pay cut, part of Morientes' earnings depend on the Reds winning the title.
The 28-year-old says he was tempted by the challenge of joining his manager on what he describes as an enriching journey which, if successful, will give him more satisfaction than had he joined a club where success was guaranteed.
"In years to come people will be more positive towards Rafa Benitez because they will see he accepted the challenge to rebuild Liverpool," says Morientes.
"He was the manager of a great team in Valencia and could have gone to any club he wanted, particularly one where success would come quick. Instead, he chose Liverpool where there is a lot of work to do. That will earn him more respect.
"For me, Benitez will soon be recognised in England as highly as the top three in the Premiership. I don't know Mourinho or Ferguson, but I now know Benitez very well and I'm sure he will be successful in England.
"When you look at the Premiership table today, there are a lot of points between ourselves and Chelsea, but I think it will be possible to be closer next season.
"I don't know how many more players the club will sign and that's a decision for the manager, but I'm sure Liverpool will be stronger. This season has been very difficult for us for a number of reasons,but from this point I know it will get easier."
Morientes ' passionate tribute to the boss could equally be applied to himself as he turned down better offers to join Liverpool.
It also comes after Jose Mourinho's latest barbed comments are repeated to him. According to Mourinho, 'the biggest myth in football is when a manager says he needs time'.
Such boasts are easy for coaches who inherit strong foundations and a blank chequebook. For the rest still awaiting an invitation to Never-neverland, the reality is somewhat different.
"To say no-one needs time is not true," says Morientes. "A new manager and new players always need time. Benitez has just been here a year. After he's been here another four years, everyone will see how far we've come.
"Benitez is completely different to any manager I've worked with. He lives for football.
"Every moment of every day, it's football, football, football with him.
"If you speak to him after training or you talk on the telephone, there is only one subject.
"I've never worked with anyone else like this and I've played under many managers. They would all concentrate on the game and the training, but after that their work was done.
"Rafa is different because he is always thinking and working for the next match. I like this about him and I can see the fans like this, too. I've never seen fans in Spain sing for a manager in the way the Liverpool fans sing for Benitez."
One of the reasons Benitez paid £6.3m for the 28-year-old was a belief Morientes was cut from the same cloth.
The Liverpool boss embarked on a thorough investigation into the players 'mentality', via his contacts in Madrid, to assess if Morientes had the hunger to succeed at Anfield, or would simply move to England for a bumper pay day.
When the negotiations began, any concerns were quickly dispelled.
The star striker, who is already showing the benefits of his weekly English lessons, shrugs off any sense of surprise at the revelation of his performance-related deal.
"I agreed to this because money is not the most important thing in my life," he said.
"What matters to me is being happy. I've played for many years in my career and made a lot of money. Now, all I want is to enjoy my football and be part of a winning team.
"I want the stability I haven't had in my career for a number of years. I enjoyed my time at Madrid, but not the last two years there because all I did was train and not play. I didn't feel happy.
"I didn't play for five months at Madrid before I came, so physically it's harder for me at the start of my Liverpool career.
"Physically, I'm not well. Only by training hard will I be 100 per cent. At the moment, I've shown only 70 per cent of what I can do.
"It may be next season before you see the real me. I need time to adapt, but I'm sure next season it will be a lot easier for me.
"In Spain there is more quality. There's more long ball and physical play here and I have to jump for the ball a lot more, but I like this style. By the start of next season I will be fresh and it will help because I'm playing in every game.
"My family is settled, my two young children have started school, everything in my life is better."
niterider
01-04-2005, 11:15 PM
Good news for pool.. Traore, Warnock, Garcia and Moro can play against Bolton...
-------------
NANDO FIT TO FACE BOLTON
Paul Eaton 01 April 2005
Rafael Benitez has confirmed Fernando Morientes is fit to take his place in the Liverpool attack against Bolton tomorrow.
There were fears the Reds would go into the game without any recognised strikers to call on after Morientes suffered a thigh injury against Everton two weeks ago.
But the Spanish international has made a speedier than expected recovery and, after a final training session at Melwood this morning, he has been passed fit to face Sam Allardyce's side.
Djimi Traore will also return to the squad after recovering from injury and coming through 45 minutes of a reserve game in midweek.
Luis Garcia and Stephen Warnock are also fit after recovering from minor injuries sustained in the derby.
Manager Rafael Benitez said: "It is very pleasing to have these players available because they are very important for us for the rest of the season."
Great news! But i wonder who will RB deploy at
1) Centreback - Hyypia/Pellegrino. Hyypia with the added advantage when it comes to setpcs, Pelle with the on-form advantage from his last 2 games.
2) Leftback - Warnock/Traore.
For me, it's gonna be:
Dudek
Finnan, Carra, Hyypia, Warnock
Nunez, Gerrard, Biscan, Riise
Garcia
Moro
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 12:04 AM
todays Paper Review
Valencia want Liverpool striker Milan Baros and it could help the Reds land Mista, Pablo Aimar or Vicente
Liverpool striker Djibril Cisse could play again this season after recovering from a horrific broken leg
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 12:05 AM
Rafael Benitez has called on referee Steve Bennett to be strong willed during Saturday's visit of Bolton Wanderers to Anfield after voicing his concerns at the visitors' style of play.
Bolton beat Liverpool 1-0 at the Reebok Stadium at the start of the season in August and it was a defeat that was hard to take for the Liverpool manager. Benitez said it was a real welcome to English football for him and the Spanish players.
There was also a controversial decision when Luis Garcia's debut goal was wrongly ruled out for off-side.
Benitez says Bolton have a somewhat unique style of play and can be very difficult to play against when they are allowed to flaunt the rules.
Benitez said: "They always play with the same system and have their way of playing football. I learned a lot about their style when we played them earlier this season and lost 1-0.
"I learned a lot about the new rules and the throw-ins when a player has both feet on the line or just one foot in the air to give them ability to throw it further.
"When they take free-kicks and corner kicks they use two players in front of the goalkeeper but they are not offside. When the centre forward catches your defender with two hands around them and then the defender tries to clear the ball, you have to be careful because it's then a free-kick against you.
"They played with different rules and I learned a lot. The only thing is you want the referee to see the same thing you see this time.
"We know how important a game this is for us. We need to win as we are four points behind Everton and we want to reduce the gap."
SongLongZi
02-04-2005, 12:09 AM
cl is on tue night or wed night??
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 12:11 AM
Xabi Alonso and Djibril Cisse's return to training has given Rafael Benitez and Liverpool a massive boost and you can watch them in action at Melwood today in our exclusive video footage special.
Alonso is kicking a ball again after being out since New Year's Day with a broken ankle while Cisse has been out since September with a broken leg.
When they resume playing again is now up to the manager and how they respond during the training sessions. One thing is for sure though -the sight of Alonso and Cisse back kicking a ball with the first team squad is one to cherish.
sry no video
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 12:12 AM
cl is on tue night or wed night??
duno
channel 5 got live anot???
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 12:34 AM
duno
channel 5 got live anot???
i bet ch 5 wun show
their balls not big enough to admit liverpool vs juve is a big enough match to show on tv
CanIsayNo
02-04-2005, 01:02 AM
i bet ch 5 wun show
their balls not big enough to admit liverpool vs juve is a big enough match to show on tv
nice way to put it.. they might show it... after all it is juventus...
even though liverpool are gonna win big
Raul7
02-04-2005, 01:36 AM
Liverpool will win........... :)
keltan
02-04-2005, 01:38 AM
i bet ch 5 wun show
got ah... iirc i saw an advertisement tt channel 5 will be broadcasting the liverpool vs juve and chelsea vs munich match on 5th and 6th April respectively..
Ronaldo_7
02-04-2005, 01:40 AM
got ah... iirc i saw an advertisement tt channel 5 will be broadcasting the liverpool vs juve and chelsea vs munich match on 5th and 6th April respectively..
i think so bah.. there's a thread here regarding the telecast too ~
keltan
02-04-2005, 01:41 AM
Great news! But i wonder who will RB deploy at
1) Centreback - Hyypia/Pellegrino. Hyypia with the added advantage when it comes to setpcs, Pelle with the on-form advantage from his last 2 games.
2) Leftback - Warnock/Traore.
For me, it's gonna be:
Dudek
Finnan, Carra, Hyypia, Warnock
Nunez, Gerrard, Biscan, Riise
Garcia
Moro
i support the same lineup...
would want hypia to play cos he needs to be in tip top condition when we face juve a few days later..
hisart
02-04-2005, 02:56 AM
i wonder who will play upfront liv has no real striker for the bolton match.??
niterider
02-04-2005, 04:07 AM
i wonder who will play upfront liv has no real striker for the bolton match.??
Moro will play most likely cos he's recovered and RB plans to field him.
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 09:08 AM
CHANNEL 5
05 Apr 2005 (Tue) Liverpool Fc Vs Juventus
06 Apr 2005 (Wed) Chelsea Fc Vs Fc Bayern Munchen
aaaa nv show milian derbies fark!!!
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 09:19 AM
sry i forgot i am pool supporter =:p
daylight
02-04-2005, 10:11 AM
CHANNEL 5
milan derbies see until sian liao.
italian league they played each other, 2 years ago, they played in the semis.
melankholy
02-04-2005, 10:45 AM
diouf playing?
suspended plus on loan so definitely not playing.
Winevil
02-04-2005, 11:06 AM
CHANNEL 5
as long got the liverpool match, good enough... Anyway, just an extra info, the tickets for the Liverpool vs Juventus match was selling like hotcakes.... all snapped up within 30 minutes after they are available for sale....
Two fallen European giants.... who will prevail....
Winevil
Raul7
02-04-2005, 11:34 AM
Valencia have confirmed their interest in Liverpool striker Milan Baros.
Reports earlier this week claimed that the Spanish outfit were pondering making a move for the Czech Republic ace.
Valencia have held a long-term interest in Baros and tried to sign him last summer only for the player to remain at Anfield.
The Che are planning a major overhaul at La Mestalla after a disappointing campaign this term and Baros is believed to be among their top targets.
Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez is believed to be ready to listen to offers for Baros and this has alerted Valencia as well as a number of other clubs.
Valencia director Eduardo Macia admitted the club were keen on signing Baros.
"We are looking at possible signings and we are interested in Baros," said Macia.
Valencia caretaker boss Antonio Lopez also believes Baros would be a valuable addition to the squad.
"Baros can bring force to our attack," said Lopez.
Meanwhile, Benitez has hit out at the tactics of Bolton ahead of the clash between the two sides on Saturday.
Liverpool will be seeking revenge at Anfield after losing the first meeting at The Reebok Stadium and Benitez admitted the style of Bolton's play came as a shock to him.
"I have learned a lot since I arrived here," said Benitez
"Certainly when we played at Bolton earlier in the season I learned about the different rules that you have here for some games compared to what Fifa say for everyone else.
"I learned at Bolton that it is not important if you take throw-ins with one foot in the air or not having both feet behind the line, it is more important to send the ball as far as you can.
"The other thing I learned is that if a centre-forward puts his arms back and holds a defender with both hands you must never hit the elbow of the forward with your nose because it is a free kick against you."
Benitez is confident his side can close the gap on Everton in the race for the UEFA Champions League by taking the spoils against Bolton.
"Bolton play almost the same system as Everton, it is a similar style of football so we will try to produce the performance we showed against Everton in this one too," added Benitez.
"I was confident we would close the gap when it was eight, nine or even 12 points. I am certainly sure we can close it now the gap is only four."
dy_lan
02-04-2005, 12:53 PM
BAROS OUT, MISTA IN?
Rafa Benitez will offer Valencia Milan Baros in exchange for either Vicente, Pablo Aimar or Mista, say various report, as the Liverpool boss looks to his former players to add some attacking guile to his current team. It is no secret that Valencia want to sign Baros, with coach Antonio Lopez saying: "Baros would bring force to our attack and make a great contribution to Valencia."
Raul7
02-04-2005, 12:54 PM
BAROS OUT, MISTA IN?
Rafa Benitez will offer Valencia Milan Baros in exchange for either Vicente, Pablo Aimar or Mista, say various report, as the Liverpool boss looks to his former players to add some attacking guile to his current team. It is no secret that Valencia want to sign Baros, with coach Antonio Lopez saying: "Baros would bring force to our attack and make a great contribution to Valencia."
good to get Aimar n Vincente :)
no mista pleaseeeeeeeeeeee
no no no no no no way way no!!
CHANNEL 5
ok lar, can see how ballack vs lampard, also quite exciting mah. :s12:
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 01:50 PM
when r the return legs?
will b out of sg on the 14th, back on 27th
iwish
02-04-2005, 01:59 PM
when r the return legs?
return leg:
13 Apr, 2005 Juventus Champions League Quarter Final (2) A 19:45
CanIsayNo
02-04-2005, 01:59 PM
when r the return legs?
maybe can watch at wherever you are?
Raul7
02-04-2005, 02:05 PM
hahaha...hell no to him also
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 02:08 PM
return leg:
13 Apr, 2005 Juventus Champions League Quarter Final (2) A 19:45
i'll b at sabah, msia for overseas community trip...oh man
i hope it's a late morning flight....
i hope liverpool will fight for a win tonight, and not trying to save some for juventus match next wk!
win tonight is impt! cannot lose to bolton home and away!
Raul7
02-04-2005, 02:14 PM
i hope liverpool will fight for a win tonight, and not trying to save some for juventus match next wk!
win tonight is impt! cannot lose to bolton home and away!
ya...4th place is impt for Liverpool
keltan
02-04-2005, 05:17 PM
ok lah... mista not bad mah...
but of cos if exchange baros with him bo hwa...
i wun mind Ayala, Vicente, Baraja or Aimar from Valencia!
keltan
02-04-2005, 05:17 PM
HIERRO HAILS NANDO AHEAD OF ANFIELD REUNION
Mark Platt 02 April 2005
Bolton's Fernando Hierro has hailed his former Real Madrid team-mate Fernando Morientes as one of the world's best centre forwards ahead of their reunion at Anfield this afternoon.
Hierro and Morientes were part of the successful Real side that conquered Europe just a few years back but today they'll line up on opposite sides as Liverpool and Bolton do battle for three vital Premiership points.
The veteran Spaniard is relishing the prospect of meeting up with his old pal once again and believes the Reds have acquired a striker of real quality in Nando.
"As far as I am concerned he is probably one of the best centre forwards in the world," claims 37-year old Hierro. "He is extremely strong in aerial play and I am certain that when he has a little more experience behind him in the Premiership he will be triumphant and very successful.
"We have been very good friends for some time and when we were discussing the notion of moving to England to play we talked a lot then and we have remained very good friends."
Hierro has also spoken out in praise of Reds boss Rafael Benitez, another former member of the Bernabeu staff.
"He (Benitez) has many skills and abilities, obviously winning the league in Spain with Valencia was a high point for him and he has done very well in UEFA as well," Hierro adds.
"He is a very high-level manager, known for his work-rate and the seriousness with which he approaches his work. I am sure he is going to set Liverpool up for a very high position in England.
"He is such a hard worker and he is very well integrated into the set-up at Liverpool. He is a manager with success all over him.
"The other aspect to Rafa, apart from the friendliness that everyone refers to, is his work-rate. He is an extremely hard-working man who thinks about football and football issues 24 hours a day."
keltan
02-04-2005, 05:18 PM
RAFA HAS FULL CONFIDENCE IN PELLEGRINO
Steve Hunter 02 April 2005
Rafael Benitez has praised the form of Mauricio Pellegrino who has settled into the team nicely at the heart of the Liverpool defence alongside Jamie Carragher.
Pellegrino has taken the place of Sami Hyypia in the team at the moment and the Liverpool manager says that is justified.
Benitez said: "I always say he is a winner and he works hard in every training session. He is in the team on merit and playing well now. He has the respect of his team-mates which is very important.
"Hyypia hasn't played in the last two games but he is a good professional. We have a lot of games coming up and Pellegrino can't play in the Champions League so all of the players will get games."
With his contract up at the end of the season the player has said he would like to extend that and stay at Anfield and the manager says he will talk to Pellegrino.
Benitez said: "Pellegrino knows that I will talk with him at the end of the season about this but not yet."
keltan
02-04-2005, 05:20 PM
MEMORIA E AMICIZIA - LFC HONOUR THE HEYSEL 39
Mark Platt 01 April 2005
Liverpool Football Club will honour the memory of the 39 victims of Heysel with a number of commemorative gestures in the lead-up to Tuesday night's Champions League tie with Juventus.
This first meeting of the Reds and Juve since that tragic night in Brussels 20 years ago is sure to be an emotive one for all concerned and Liverpoolfc.tv can reveal that after consultation with supporters the following has been arranged with the spirit of friendship and understanding in mind...
A Friendship match between the Liverpool and Juventus fans that will take place at the Academy on Tuesday kicking off at 1.30pm.
A Kop Mosaic featuring the word Amicizia (friendship) alongside a Liver Bird and the respective club colours. This will be displayed in conjunction with a one minute silence prior to kick-off on Tuesday.
Every visiting fan will receive a free four-page brochure in Italian aimed at promoting friendship and understanding between the supporters. The front cover will carry the club crests and words of welcome. Inside there'll be a personal message to the Juve fans from Ian Rush and the split image picture showing him in Liverpool and Juventus kits. On the back will be the words for: We Are Sorry. You'll Never Walk Alone.
Every visiting fan will also receive special wristband in red, white and black with the inscription friendship in both Italian/English.
Commemorative Juve/Liverpool FC scarves and t-shirts are being produced.
The matchday programme is also to be completely re-designed to pick up on the friendship theme. The cover will carry the hand of friendship logo used on the scarf. The teams will be removed from the back page and replaced by an image of the Memoria e Amacizia banner (see below).
A banner carrying the themed In Memoria e Amicizia (In Memory and
Friendship) message will be carried by fans from the Kop to the Juve end prior to kick-off. Phil Neal, Liverpool captain at Heysel in 1985, will help perform this ceremony. The banner will carry the Christian names of the 39 Heysel victims and the symbolic union of the Liverpool Liver Bird and the Juve Zebra.
The Memoria e Amacizia banner was first was first seen at Anfield prior to the Liverpool v Blackburn match in May 1995 (on the 10th anniversary of Heysel) and more recently paraded in front of the Kop during half-time at the derby to a warm round of applause.
The original inspiration for the banner was two Liverpool youth workers, the late Janet Murphy from The Marybone centre, and the late Alf Langley, a founder member of the Football Arts Initiative, who took a youth group to Turin in a non-football related exchange of friendship in the summer of 1989.
It was created to commemorate the tenth anniversary by Peter Carney and fellow members of the FAI, a Merseyside organisation that came together with the Sport Against Racism group in the wake of Hillsborough, and had already been on their own bridge building mission to Turin with the blessing of Liverpool Football Club in 1990.
At the time a lot of people in this city just wanted to reach out and genuinely do what they could to renew friendships, said Peter, an Anfield season-ticket holder and founder member of the Hillsborough Justice campaign.
It's the same sentiment now. Liverpool Football Club just want to extend a warm welcome to Juventus fans, offer their hand in friendship and recognise the hurt.
Raul7
02-04-2005, 05:21 PM
ok lah... mista not bad mah...
but of cos if exchange baros with him bo hwa...
i wun mind Ayala, Vicente, Baraja or Aimar from Valencia!
ya man........ =:p
younggun__007
02-04-2005, 07:20 PM
ya man........ =:p
i oni wan aimar and vicente
baraja and ayala 30s liao...
AhnNakata7
02-04-2005, 09:26 PM
CARSON AND WELSH START, NANDO ON THE BENCH
JMark Platt 02 April 2005
john Welsh will make his first Premiership start this afternoon as Rafael Benitez makes four changes to the team that started the last game against Everton a fortnight ago.
Fresh from scoring for England under-21s in midweek Welsh has been drafted into the Liverpool midfield for the visit of Bolton.
His international colleague Scott Carson also starts - making his Anfield debut, while there is a return from injury for Djimi Traore and a place in the eleven for Antonio Nunez.
Fernando Morientes does not make the team but is among the substitutes.
Team in full: Carson, Finnan, Traore, Carragher, Pellegrino, Welsh, Biscan, Riise, Garcia, Nunez, Gerrard. Subs - Dudek, Hyypia, Smicer, Le Tallec, Morientes.
Raul7
02-04-2005, 09:33 PM
i oni wan aimar and vicente
baraja and ayala 30s liao...
but Ayala quite tough right?
Raul7
02-04-2005, 09:33 PM
CARSON AND WELSH START, NANDO ON THE BENCH
JMark Platt 02 April 2005
john Welsh will make his first Premiership start this afternoon as Rafael Benitez makes four changes to the team that started the last game against Everton a fortnight ago.
Fresh from scoring for England under-21s in midweek Welsh has been drafted into the Liverpool midfield for the visit of Bolton.
His international colleague Scott Carson also starts - making his Anfield debut, while there is a return from injury for Djimi Traore and a place in the eleven for Antonio Nunez.
Fernando Morientes does not make the team but is among the substitutes.
Team in full: Carson, Finnan, Traore, Carragher, Pellegrino, Welsh, Biscan, Riise, Garcia, Nunez, Gerrard. Subs - Dudek, Hyypia, Smicer, Le Tallec, Morientes.
john welsh is good....hope he can be a impact.
tekwe80
02-04-2005, 10:01 PM
who is playing as striker??
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 10:09 PM
i believe finnan RB
pellegrino carragher centreback
traore LB
nunez RMF, welsh biscan CMF, riise LMF
gerrard play behind garcia
garcia striker
4-4-1-1
Freemanz
02-04-2005, 10:13 PM
Lets hope that the guys raise up to the occasion and get the much needed results.
niterider
02-04-2005, 10:50 PM
Can anyone confirm on the formation n position of the players tonight?
iwish
02-04-2005, 10:58 PM
need Nando and LTA in 2nd half.... to give us that little bite in attack
Chao_Monkey
02-04-2005, 11:18 PM
what's the score now?
CanIsayNo
02-04-2005, 11:31 PM
really toothless up front..
iwish
02-04-2005, 11:46 PM
1 - 0!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111
Freemanz
02-04-2005, 11:46 PM
Biscan just score... Pools 1 up
Freemanz
02-04-2005, 11:48 PM
Nolan just kick our keeper .... ()^@$^&*^(*^^$*#$&
Lucky not injuried.
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 11:56 PM
strike of the bogeymen
bogeyman 1 djimi traore assisted bogeyman 2 igor biscan with a cross from the flank
lol
igor biscan become new hero liao
lol
Freemanz
02-04-2005, 11:57 PM
Final Score Pools 1-0 Bolton. 1 pt away from Everton. Played very well today ... esp Finnan with a few save off the line. Well but the surprising thing is Traore cross for Biscan score ... HA HA
PCGamer
02-04-2005, 11:58 PM
Igooooooor!!!!! :s13:
RadEoNic
02-04-2005, 11:59 PM
strike of the biscuit
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
hueman
03-04-2005, 12:00 AM
it's high time for biscan to be hailed .....
IGORIAN BISCUIT!!!!
Mohawks
03-04-2005, 12:02 AM
well done Igor... my 10,000th post is dedicated to YOU!!! http://www.hardwarezone.com/img/forums/styles/hwz/smilies/bounce.gif
well done Liverpool for grinding out a valuable win... it was never gonna be easy without a fully fit striker...
good job.... now rest well for Tuesday's match!! :D
iwish
03-04-2005, 12:07 AM
Final Score Pools 1-0 Bolton. 1 pt away from Everton. Played very well today ... esp Finnan with a few save off the line. Well but the surprising thing is Traore cross for Biscan score ... HA HA
ya....2 unlikely heros
hehe
younggun__007
03-04-2005, 12:09 AM
Phew...relieve manz...
It is by no means pretty but who farking cares
WALK ON!
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 12:19 AM
<----------------------------------
my new hero!
niterider
03-04-2005, 12:20 AM
Hip Hip Hooray!!!
Nice work from the team, especially Carson who did well on his senior debut. Credit to RB for taking a big gamble with the starting lineup & formation. Nonetheless, salutes to Biscan who sent Bolton packing w/o a pt. 1 pt away from Everton, 3 pts further away from Bolton.
Salutes to RB & the Reds, especially the unsung hero REDs' BISCuitAN!
Juve,..here we come!
YNWA!
on the first half of the game...liverpool play abit sluggish....but who cares~~~biscuit come to the rescue the Day~~~ >.<
Freemanz
03-04-2005, 12:26 AM
a win is a win. most importantly is that we have the got 3 pts, getting close to Everton and further away from Bolton.
on the first half of the game...liverpool play abit sluggish....but who cares~~~biscuit come to the rescue the Day~~~ >.<
hope liverpool can keep up this form of winning..wat important is gain max point for everygame...i don mind how they play as long they win it... ^.^ as wat now matter is the points!!
YNWA
finally the traore played some decent football ...
elbib00
03-04-2005, 12:33 AM
superb result. watched the 2nd half. real tough match i shld say.
1 pt off everton now.
hehehe
tml shall keep our finger cross and hope everton drop points ^^ and got all their player injurie = X
<----------------------------------
my new hero!
:s13: :s13: :s13: :s13:
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 12:35 AM
close match... needed a set piece to settle it
there is no way that juve is going to penetrate fortress anfield :D
cheehong83
03-04-2005, 12:37 AM
finally lady luck on our side
yeah~~~~~~~~
tot it's gonna be 0-0 liaoz. :o
Mohawks
03-04-2005, 12:46 AM
close match... needed a set piece to settle it
there is no way that juve is going to penetrate fortress anfield :D
without a fit striker... it was left to set pieces to do the job... the attacking crosses, especially in the first half, seldom found anyone at the end of it
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 12:46 AM
moment of brilliance from traore and biscan
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 12:48 AM
without strikers, it is always a problem
at the end of the day, luis garcia is STILL not an out n out striker
luckily we have a biscuit for a talisman
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 12:48 AM
without a fit striker... it was left to set pieces to do the job... the attacking crosses, especially in the first half, seldom found anyone at the end of it
the bolton defenders are good in the air... and in the 1st half i think we only had riise as the lone striker
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 12:49 AM
well we have baros against juve... but i dont know how he'll fair... inconsistent in the liverpool shirt, but really good in the czech shirt
Aozora
03-04-2005, 12:49 AM
woohoo..... YNWA!!
Keo_86
03-04-2005, 12:54 AM
wah...bolton soooo bold sia.... in their website.....they say..
Bsican score the goal to give liverpool the win in a match that liverpool DESERVED to lose...
they not happy ar??? :s27:
for the first half it really look one sided...if not for the twice online the line save from finna and the miss header from the bolton striker from a corner..in the starting few min...but....That the way i want liverpool to win...hahaha to win even when they play badly >.<
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 01:01 AM
of cos la.. lose already.. of cos they not happy :P but we are the ones laughing at the moment
and while bolton prepare for their next epl match, liverpool will be busy beating juve
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 01:05 AM
we cleared their balls of our lines, but so did they clear our balls of the lines too
so we deserved to lose?1st half maybe, but not the second half
iwish
03-04-2005, 01:09 AM
we cleared their balls of our lines, but so did they clear our balls of the lines too
so we deserved to lose?1st half maybe, but not the second half
actually we only play badly in the first 15-20 mins...after that we r ok....
niterider
03-04-2005, 01:10 AM
Bsican score the goal to give liverpool the win in a match that liverpool DESERVED to lose...
IMHO, Liverpool din really played well. Think there was a lack of good passing. Luckily we had lady luck on our side and our defence stood to the test. However, also not to discount the fact that we came back stronger in the 2nd half. Anyway, cheers for RB again for craving out a all-important 3pts with a much depleted squad to come out tops.
Cheers to u fellow Liverpudians too!!! Come let's rally our REDs to the next big game... Come Juve, welcome to Merseyside... THIS IS ANFIELD! :s12:
hope liverpool can get a two goal win with a clean sheet that will boast them well in the coming game
IMHO, Liverpool din really played well. Think there was a lack of good passing. Luckily we had lady luck on our side and our defence stood to the test. However, also not to discount the fact that we came back stronger in the 2nd half. Anyway, cheers for RB again for craving out a all-important 3pts with a much depleted squad to come out tops.
Cheers to u fellow Liverpudians too!!! Come let's rally our REDs to the next big game... Come Juve, welcome to Merseyside... THIS IS ANFIELD! :s12:
yah, the match was kinda boring, have to admit. :s13:
missing a guy to hold the ball in the central of the park and upfront...baros and haman
would be a different game if they ar in the game in my point of view
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 01:43 AM
i really hope baros wun leave.
gerrard17
03-04-2005, 01:48 AM
thumps up for Carson, looks a real keeper. needs to work on his throwing and punching though. Welsh was ok, if oni he has the quality of Alonso. :D
overall, the most impt thing is the 3 pts, and we're putting real pressure on Everton to win.
thumps up for Carson, looks a real keeper. needs to work on his throwing and punching though. Welsh was ok, if oni he has the quality of Alonso. :D
overall, the most impt thing is the 3 pts, and we're putting real pressure on Everton to win.
it's a good start for welsh, hope to see more of him. :D
spinelli
03-04-2005, 02:08 AM
they can walk the walk,talk the talk,but at the end of the day,they din not score any goal to win any game :s8:
if baros leave...next season may need to struggle again >.< as still now don have a constant striker other den him.....
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:08 AM
if baros leave...next season may need to struggle again >.< as still now don have a constant striker other den him.....
i personally would like baros to stay, but if his heart is no longer with liverpool and he cant understand that he will not be able to start every match when we have 3 top strikers (Moro, Cisse and Baros), i guess it will be better if he leaves... cos his constant "outbursts" will definitely demoralise the team..
in the event he leaves, i believe both Moro and Cisse have the quality in them to shoulder the goal-scoring burdens...
just my 2 cents..
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:10 AM
Glad RB is willing to give the youngsters like welsh, warnock etc a chance...
and we might not have to look far for a long-term replacement for Hamann.. Welsh might just be our man... and he is English and from our academy (suits the upcoming UEFA requirments)..
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:14 AM
finally the traore played some decent football ...
actually he has improved quite a bit liaoz.. and has been playing quite decent football under RB...
but now playing more decent football..
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:14 AM
RAFA PLEASED WITH HARD FOUGHT WIN
Rafael Benitez praised the hard work of his team against Bolton and said he always felt one goal would be enough to win the game.
The Liverpool manager says his players had to dig deep and give it everything they had to get the three crucial points.
Benitez said: "We knew this would be a tough and hard game and I always felt one goal would be enough to win it. I was happy for Igor Biscan to score and he is working very hard. He did a very good job in defence and attacked well also.
"We needed to win this game and now we have reduced the gap. We need to see now what happens when Everton play tomorrow but we will keep fighting right to the end.
"The reason I didn't start with Morientes was he was not completely fit. I wanted to use him for the last 15 minutes which is what we did.
"Jerzy Dudek couldn't play because he felt a groin problem which happened while he was away on international duty and he couldn't kick properly so I didn't want to risk him today. I think he will be okay for the Juventus game."
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:15 AM
To Big SAM: We will show u what a bad side you are when u face a full-strength liverpool squad at anfield... stop eating sour grapes and concentrate on pipping Everton to the fifth spot cos Liverpool is going to get fourth!
Mwhahaha..
-------------------------
BIG SAM: WE SHOULD HAVE WON
Sam Allardyce said he was absolutely gutted his side ended up with nothing after the defeat by Liverpool and felt Bolton should have won the game.
Allardyce felt his side should have put the game beyond Liverpool in the opening 15 minutes of the game.
Allardyce said: "I am absolutely gutted. We should have had this game over and done with in the first 10 to 15 minutes. We created more chances than they did but you get punished if you miss chances.
"I would have been disappointed with a draw and the players in my dressing room can't believe they have lost. I can't remember the last time we came to Anfield and dominated Liverpool which shows you what a good side we are."
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:16 AM
BISCAN TAKES REDS ONE POINT BEHIND BLUES
Paul Eaton 02 April 2005
Liverpool are just one point behind Everton in the race for fourth following a late Igor Biscan header against Bolton at Anfield.
The Croatian struck just five minutes from time from Djimi Traore's deep cross to send Anfield into ecstacy.
It had looked for so long as though the breakthrough was never going to come as Liverpool struggled to break down a stubborn Bolton back line but Biscan, so often criticised during his Reds' career, was in the right place at the right time at the back post to give the Reds a vital win in the race for Champions League football next season.
The result means Liverpool now lie just one point behind Everton ahead of the Blues' visit to the Midlands on Sunday to face West Bromwich Albion.
Liverpool struggled to cope with Bolton's direct style of play in the early stages and almost conceded an opening goal after just five minutes when Steve Finnan somehow headed Stelios' goalbound shot off his own line.
It was the visitors' making all the running early on as the Reds tried to become accustomed to their new team set-up, which saw John Welsh and Igor Biscan in the centre of midfield and Steven Gerrard playing just behind Luis Garcia in attack.
It was Gerrard who went closest to scoring for the home side in the first half when his low drive from a 25 yard free kick was well kept out by Jaaskelainen in the Bolton goal.
Antonio Nunez came close to giving the Reds a dream start to the second half when his well struck shot on the volley from John Arne Riise's deep cross forced the Bolton 'keeper into a smart save at his near post.
Liverpool went even closer after 56 minutes when Riise got on the end of Nunez's cross and saw his low shot from a tight angle scrambled off the line by Bolton defender Ben Haim.
Benitez used all three substitutes during the second half, introducing Anthony Le Tallec, Vladimir Smicer and Fernando Morientes in a bid to find a goal, but as the minutes ticked by it looked like it wasn't going to be the Reds' day.
Then, with the clock showing 85 minutes, Traore dribbled along the goal line before chipping to the far post for Biscan to head home.
Full time: Liverpool 1-0 Bolton
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:21 AM
Wah.. so XL.. We Will definitely Catch U!!!
------------------------------------
Pistone challenge to Toffees chasers
Italian defender Alessandro Pistone has issued a 'catch us if you can' taunt to the clubs desperately chasing Everton in the race for fourth spot in the Premiership.
Everton are being trailed by both Liverpool and Bolton and need to win at West Brom on Sunday to maintain their Champions League dream.
Pistone, who revealed he is in negotiations over a new contract as his current deal runs out in the summer, said: 'I know clubs like Liverpool and Bolton now think they can catch us, sure, but it is all about us and what we do.
'We still have a four-point lead so it is up to the rest to catch us if they can. It is in our hands.
'It is getting closer but we have the advantage. It has been a fantastic season for us until now but it is not finished, we have six weeks left and we must stick together and fight.
'I did not expect to be in this position when we started the season, certainly not trying to become a Champions League team, but we are here, we got points right at the beginning and that gave us belief.
'We had some fine results early on against Manchester United, Manchester City and apart from the first game when we were badly beaten by Arsenal we have done very, very well.
'But there is no pressure, we did not expect to be here and nobody expects us to stay here. We are determined to finish the job. We just have to do it now, we must finish off what we have started.'
On his own future Pistone said: 'I am talking about a new contract. We have not got too far but hopefully I can be part of this team next season as well.'
Everton will run into former player Kevin Campbell at The Hawthorns, the striker having left on a free transfer in January in order to help Albion's relegation battle.
'Kevin has gone there and done well and scored goals. They had a great win at Charlton in their last game and they have played well recently and deserved the points because they are now a good team and doing well,' added Pistone.
'Kevin is a good player and doing his job well so we all know what to expect.'
Pistone accepted West Brom's improvement makes the match more difficult.
'From now on every game is going to be huge because we are trying to achieve something outstanding, but then West Brom are showing form and battling for their position in the Premiership so there is no doubt it will be tough,' he said.
'It is maybe better to play a mid-table team rather than a desperate one away from home but we do have to concentrate on playing our own game.
'It has been difficult to get the derby defeat at Liverpool out of our minds. We did not play as we would have wanted and I think we deserved to lose but now it is gone and we must think of the next one.'
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:24 AM
Everton face WBA tomorrow... It is a tricky time to face relagation battlers.. lets hope WBA can at least grind out a draw against Everton tmr...
Ronaldo_7
03-04-2005, 04:26 AM
hmm.. congrats on the victory.... haiz
keltan
03-04-2005, 04:33 AM
Bolton boss Sam Allardyce was unhappy with the performance of referee Steve Bennett following his side's 1-0 defeat to Liverpool.
Igor Biscan's late goal gave Liverpool a hard-fought victory with Bolton dominating the game for large periods of the game.
Allardyce was unhappy with the performance of Bennett and felt he had been influenced by Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez's call for a strong refereeing performance.
The Spaniard expressed his unhappiness with Bolton's tactics in the first meeting between the sides at The Reebok Stadium in the build-up to the game at Anfield and Allardyce fears Bennett let himself be affected by Benitez.
"I think Steve Bennett was put off by what Rafa Benitez said because it was 19 fouls against us and only five against them," said Allardyce.
"That wasn't a fair reflection of how that game was played - no question about that - so I think he might have read the remarks.
"It's disappointing because we are better than them at the moment. I can take some joy if I am getting managers complaining about the way we play.
"We are just little old Bolton and we are getting as good if not better than them now. It's marvellous stuff and music to my ears.
"It shows I am becoming a better manager than they are."
Allardyce was disappointed to come away from Anfield with nothing to show from their performance.
"When you are on top and dominating which is rarely seen when Bolton play at Anfield it is a massive opportunity to create history for our fans by winning at Anfield, but it didn't happen.
"I was happy with the performance overall and we dominated for long periods.
"The sad thing is that we did not capitalise on that today."
niterider
03-04-2005, 05:10 AM
Bolton boss Sam Allardyce was unhappy with the performance of referee Steve Bennett following his side's 1-0 defeat to Liverpool.
Igor Biscan's late goal gave Liverpool a hard-fought victory with Bolton dominating the game for large periods of the game.
Allardyce was unhappy with the performance of Bennett and felt he had been influenced by Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez's call for a strong refereeing performance.
The Spaniard expressed his unhappiness with Bolton's tactics in the first meeting between the sides at The Reebok Stadium in the build-up to the game at Anfield and Allardyce fears Bennett let himself be affected by Benitez.
"I think Steve Bennett was put off by what Rafa Benitez said because it was 19 fouls against us and only five against them," said Allardyce.
"That wasn't a fair reflection of how that game was played - no question about that - so I think he might have read the remarks.
"It's disappointing because we are better than them at the moment. I can take some joy if I am getting managers complaining about the way we play.
"We are just little old Bolton and we are getting as good if not better than them now. It's marvellous stuff and music to my ears.
"It shows I am becoming a better manager than they are."
Allardyce was disappointed to come away from Anfield with nothing to show from their performance.
"When you are on top and dominating which is rarely seen when Bolton play at Anfield it is a massive opportunity to create history for our fans by winning at Anfield, but it didn't happen.
"I was happy with the performance overall and we dominated for long periods.
"The sad thing is that we did not capitalise on that today."
2 fav words out of my dictionary for them: SORE LOSERS!
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 05:35 AM
wow, everton so happy
obviously they haven't seen who they're up against next after WBA
hm, lets see
i see man u n arsenal, as well as bolton
weeeeee
lets see how many points u stupid blues can drop
Raul7
03-04-2005, 10:53 AM
see...i got faith that Liverpool will win....Congrates guys..... Everton will lose!!!!!!
Wah.. so XL.. We Will definitely Catch U!!!
------------------------------------
Pistone challenge to Toffees chasers
Italian defender Alessandro Pistone has issued a 'catch us if you can' taunt to the clubs desperately chasing Everton in the race for fourth spot in the Premiership.
Everton are being trailed by both Liverpool and Bolton and need to win at West Brom on Sunday to maintain their Champions League dream.
Pistone, who revealed he is in negotiations over a new contract as his current deal runs out in the summer, said: 'I know clubs like Liverpool and Bolton now think they can catch us, sure, but it is all about us and what we do.
'We still have a four-point lead so it is up to the rest to catch us if they can. It is in our hands.
'It is getting closer but we have the advantage. It has been a fantastic season for us until now but it is not finished, we have six weeks left and we must stick together and fight.
'I did not expect to be in this position when we started the season, certainly not trying to become a Champions League team, but we are here, we got points right at the beginning and that gave us belief.
'We had some fine results early on against Manchester United, Manchester City and apart from the first game when we were badly beaten by Arsenal we have done very, very well.
'But there is no pressure, we did not expect to be here and nobody expects us to stay here. We are determined to finish the job. We just have to do it now, we must finish off what we have started.'
On his own future Pistone said: 'I am talking about a new contract. We have not got too far but hopefully I can be part of this team next season as well.'
Everton will run into former player Kevin Campbell at The Hawthorns, the striker having left on a free transfer in January in order to help Albion's relegation battle.
'Kevin has gone there and done well and scored goals. They had a great win at Charlton in their last game and they have played well recently and deserved the points because they are now a good team and doing well,' added Pistone.
'From now on every game is going to be huge because we are trying to achieve something outstanding, but then West Brom are showing form and battling for their position in the Premiership so there is no doubt it will be tough,' he said.
'It is maybe better to play a mid-table team rather than a desperate one away from home but we do have to concentrate on playing our own game.
'It has been difficult to get the derby defeat at Liverpool out of our minds. We did not play as we would have wanted and I think we deserved to lose but now it is gone and we must think of the next one.'
the morale of his rubbish is, 'let's us all see who has the last laugh'.
enuff said. :s13:
Raul7
03-04-2005, 11:04 AM
the morale of his rubbish is, 'let's us all see who has the last laugh'.
enuff said. :s13:
wow...sibei yaya sia........
iwish
03-04-2005, 11:46 AM
RAFA PLEASED WITH HARD FOUGHT WIN
Rafael Benitez praised the hard work of his team against Bolton and said he always felt one goal would be enough to win the game.
The Liverpool manager says his players had to dig deep and give it everything they had to get the three crucial points.
Benitez said: "We knew this would be a tough and hard game and I always felt one goal would be enough to win it. I was happy for Igor Biscan to score and he is working very hard. He did a very good job in defence and attacked well also.
"We needed to win this game and now we have reduced the gap. We need to see now what happens when Everton play tomorrow but we will keep fighting right to the end.
"The reason I didn't start with Morientes was he was not completely fit. I wanted to use him for the last 15 minutes which is what we did.
"Jerzy Dudek couldn't play because he felt a groin problem which happened while he was away on international duty and he couldn't kick properly so I didn't want to risk him today. I think he will be okay for the Juventus game."
wonder y hyppia didnt play.......
3rd time he didnt play.... is it a sign of things or......
Raul7
03-04-2005, 11:47 AM
wonder y hyppia didnt play.......
3rd time he didnt play.... is it a sign of things or......
maybe he is injure ?
niterider
03-04-2005, 01:28 PM
maybe he is injure ?
As mentioned in the following post, RB wants to keep him fresh and free from injuries and cards so he can feature in the CL quarterfinals vs Juve cos Pelle is CL-tied. And since Pelle is currently hitting form with his new partnership with Carra, it's also good to see him cont in his form n games and let Hyypia concentrate on the upcoming CL clash. It's just some tactical action fm RB. Hyypia is not injured or whatsoever =:p
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
RAFA HAS FULL CONFIDENCE IN PELLEGRINO
Steve Hunter 02 April 2005, Liverpoolfc.tv
Rafael Benitez has praised the form of Mauricio Pellegrino who has settled into the team nicely at the heart of the Liverpool defence alongside Jamie Carragher.
Pellegrino has taken the place of Sami Hyypia in the team at the moment and the Liverpool manager says that is justified.
Benitez said: "I always say he is a winner and he works hard in every training session. He is in the team on merit and playing well now. He has the respect of his team-mates which is very important.
"Hyypia hasn't played in the last two games but he is a good professional. We have a lot of games coming up and Pellegrino can't play in the Champions League so all of the players will get games."
With his contract up at the end of the season the player has said he would like to extend that and stay at Anfield and the manager says he will talk to Pellegrino.
Benitez said: "Pellegrino knows that I will talk with him at the end of the season about this but not yet."
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 02:20 PM
fair result to the neutrals would maybe have been a draw... but to us, the current result is fair
SongLongZi
03-04-2005, 02:24 PM
juventus next!!!
well pool give bolton a dose of their own medicine from the 1st game at their own ground.
well that time, pool should have won but for the ref. eh.
ya i notice they always put one man to block the goalie during corners or freekicks.
is this tactic allowed only in EPL? i thought this is really not fair.
stansays
03-04-2005, 04:41 PM
well pool give bolton a dose of their own medicine from the 1st game at their own ground.
well that time, pool should have won but for the ref. eh.
ya i notice they always put one man to block the goalie during corners or freekicks.
is this tactic allowed only in EPL? i thought this is really not fair.
Bolton did fought well with some nervy moments especially after Okacha came on. Liverpool did display some neat passing. Tarore display good overlapping run, welsh started well, Nunez good touches and Carra and Finnan solid defending.
Well Done. And looking forward to Juventus Game. Here we come
Raul7
03-04-2005, 04:50 PM
High morale in Liverpool team liao....they can face Juve.....got faith in them. nothing is impossible
hueman
03-04-2005, 04:56 PM
i must say we were kinda lucky against bolton, but after a season long of multiple injuries, i think it's time we have a fair share of luck. i'm very very pleased that biscan, of all the pple, scored the match winner. i'm very impressed with his touches and his cool headedness, which i admit i could nvr hv expected after his performances for the past seasons.
new cult hero for anfield, biissscccaaannnnn!!!!!
crazynut06
03-04-2005, 05:26 PM
gd job!...
juventus is next...
u'll never walk alone!
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 05:54 PM
liverpool needs a hard and aggressive tackler in midfield... against bolton in the 1st half, liverpool were losing a number of 50-50 challenges...
hamman's absence against juve might prove costly...
RadEoNic
03-04-2005, 05:56 PM
iirc, putting someone to block the keeper during set pieces is not against the rules.
but trying to hold back the keeper, ie, tugging at jersey or sleeve or any physical obstruction like body checking him is a foul
keltan
03-04-2005, 06:58 PM
JUVE DON'T PLAY OUT OF RESPECT FOR POPE
Mark Platt 03 April 2005
Liverpool's forthcoming Champions League opponents Juventus warmed up for Tuesday's quarter-final first leg at Anfield with a weekend free of action due to the sad death of Pope John Paul II.
The Bianconeri were due to play away at Fiorentina but all the scheduled games in Serie A were suspended as a mark of respect.
Juve, however, travel to Merseyside on the back of three successive league wins during the month of March.
Their last outing was a 1-0 victory over Reggina and they currently sit second in the Serie A table with just goal difference separating them from leaders AC Milan.
keltan
03-04-2005, 07:03 PM
liverpool needs a hard and aggressive tackler in midfield... against bolton in the 1st half, liverpool were losing a number of 50-50 challenges...
hamman's absence against juve might prove costly...
with Nunez doing better with every match... Garcia might be the one playing in the hole behind Baros in the Juventus match...
So Gerrard will be able to command the midfield.. and we know how solid Gerrard's tackles are..
Besides, we have welsh, who is proving an able deputy protecting the back four.. really hope he will be our long-term replacement for hamann...
keltan
03-04-2005, 07:04 PM
i must say we were kinda lucky against bolton, but after a season long of multiple injuries, i think it's time we have a fair share of luck. i'm very very pleased that biscan, of all the pple, scored the match winner. i'm very impressed with his touches and his cool headedness, which i admit i could nvr hv expected after his performances for the past seasons.
new cult hero for anfield, biissscccaaannnnn!!!!!
yup.. and i really hope he will get a contract extension.. he will make a valuable squad player...
i dun remember once him complaining not starting matches for pool.. and he trains as hard to keep himself ready when pool needs him...
we really need players like him...
keltan
03-04-2005, 07:05 PM
HERO IGOR: I'M JUST PLEASED WE WON
Mark Platt 03 April 2005
Igor Biscan modestly accepted the plaudits after his later winner sealed a vital victory for Liverpool against Bolton at Anfield on Saturday.
The big Croatian headed home five minutes from time to seal a hard-fought 1-0 win against the Trotters - a result that moves Liverpool to within one point of fourth placed Everton.
The goal was only Biscan's third in a red shirt but instead of basking in the personal glory of his strike the new cult-hero of the Kop was more relieved to have taken all three points.
"It was very important to score but anyone could have scored it," the match-winner told Liverpoolfc.tv afterwards. "We had a corner on the left, Stevie gave it to Djimi who knocked it over. I just found myself in the right spot and fortunately headed it past the keeper.
"I'm just pleased we won. It's a result that puts the pressure on and that was our plan. Before the derby game our intention was to reduce the gap on Everton as much as we can and fourth spot is now in our sights. Confidence is high and anything is possible."
SongLongZi
03-04-2005, 07:20 PM
bring on juventus !!!
AhnNakata7
03-04-2005, 07:31 PM
i feel john welsh nd more time
dun thk he is composed in last nite game
his passing was awful
i remember his shot in the 2nd half
its a good try
maybe more games will help him adopt
as for biscan
oh plz Benitez pls extend his contact
i juz like to see him play
niterider
03-04-2005, 07:55 PM
i feel john welsh nd more time
dun thk he is composed in last nite game
his passing was awful
i remember his shot in the 2nd half
its a good try
maybe more games will help him adopt
as for biscan
oh plz Benitez pls extend his contact
i juz like to see him play
I would like to see RB extend contracts for Biscan, Hamann, Pelle (mebbe for another 1/2 or 1 season).
Keo_86
03-04-2005, 08:09 PM
Importan person on tues midnight match: Gerrard vs Neved???
or is Neved back yet??? :s8:
Raul7
03-04-2005, 08:14 PM
iirc, putting someone to block the keeper during set pieces is not against the rules.
but trying to hold back the keeper, ie, tugging at jersey or sleeve or any physical obstruction like body checking him is a foul
something like what chelsea defender did on the barca goalkeeper?
niterider
03-04-2005, 08:25 PM
Importan person on tues midnight match: Gerrard vs Neved???
or is Neved back yet??? :s8:
IMO, i dun see Gerrard at the man to watch from Liverpool. I have an inkling it's gonna be someone else.
Raul7
03-04-2005, 08:26 PM
IMO, i dun see Gerrard at the man to watch from Liverpool. I have an inkling it's gonna be someone else.
hmm like who???
keltan
03-04-2005, 09:07 PM
haha.. biscan??
Gerrard will still be important... I want to see him back at his best.. his tackles, hard-running, runs from deep, long shots etc will be essential against a resolute Italian defence...
keltan
03-04-2005, 09:08 PM
BOSS CONFIDENT DUDEK WILL FACE JUVE
Mark Platt 03 April 2005
Rafael Benitez is confident Jerzy Dudek will be fit enough to play in Tuesday's Champions League tie against Juventus after the big Pole missed Saturday's 1-0 home defeat of Bolton.
Dudek was on bench as Scott Carson kept a clean sheet on his Anfield debut against the Trotters.
Benitez revealed that the Reds number one was being rested after sustaining an injury while on international duty with Poland in midweek but believes he should be okay to face Juve.
"Jerzy picked up a problem when he was with his national team and we decided to protect him because we cannot afford to lose him for a run of games at this stage of the season," said the boss.
"He has had some problems kicking the ball so we decided to protect him. I will talk to him and the medical staff before Tuesday but I am confident he will be fit to play."
keltan
03-04-2005, 09:09 PM
REMORSEFUL RED ON PEACE MISSION TO ITALY
Mark Platt 03 April 2005
A Liverpool fan jailed following the Heysel Stadium disaster of 1985 has this weekend travelled to Italy in the hope of extending the hand of friendship between the Reds and Juventus by apologising for the role he played in the tragedy.
Ahead of what is bound to be a highly emotional two-legged Champions League tie between the two clubs Terry Wilson, a 38-year old lifeguard from Broadgreen will meet Otello Lorentini, founder of the Association of the Heysel's victims.
Thirty-nine people, including Lorentini's son Roberto, died after rioting on the terraces prior to the ill-fated European Cup Final in Brussels. Twenty-six Liverpool fans were subsequently arrested and Terry was one of the 14 found guilty.
He served nine months of a five year prison sentence but has since rebuilt his life and views the events of two decades ago in a whole new light after becoming a born-again Christian.
With memories of that terrible night now being evoked following the pairing of Liverpool and Juve in this season's Champions League quarter-final Terry is hoping his peace mission to Italy will add further strength to the strong bond that has been forged between the two clubs since that fateful night in the Belgian capital.
"I am really sorry that people died, I really, really am. I'm sorry now, I was sorry when I first heard people had died and I'll always be sorry. The fact that people died because of our reaction and knowing the hurt and suffering their families have had to go through makes me feel gutted," said a remorseful Terry in an interview with Liverpoolfc.tv shortly before leaving for Italy on Friday.
"They are still suffering, more than I'll ever know. For me, it was only nine months out of my life. Once I understood this then it really hit home and I'll do anything I can to help these people.
"A French author is writing a book about the Heysel disaster and it was he who has organised the meeting. He got in touch with me as part of his research and during the conversations we had, he mentioned Mr Lorentini, how his son had died at the game and how his grandson had grew up without a father as a consequence.
"It totally saddened me hearing about it. It was the first time I'd heard aboutan individual case of someone dying at Heysel and how it had affected their family. It was a heart wrenching story and that is only one, there are another 38 just like it.
"The author asked Mr Lorentini if he'd ever be willing to forgive and his reply was that no-one has ever asked. I want to go over there, say I'm sorry for the role I played in the death of his son and ask for his forgiveness.
"Of course, saying sorry will never make up for the loss of a loved one but I just hope that by making the trip I can, in some small way, help the families of the victims by offering them some sort of reconciliation and peace. If they can forgive and that helps them, then it will have been well worth it."
Looking ahead to the first meeting since Heysel of Liverpool and Juventus Terry is praying there will be no repeat of the violence that tarnished the last clash. He hopes it will be an occasion to savour for all concerned and that full respect is shown to the victims.
"The forthcoming two games will bring the bad memories of what happened 20 years ago flooding back," he adds. "Since the two teams were drawn together a lot of people have been asking questions again. I suppose a lot of it has sort of been forgotten about but now everyone is remembering that a game took place and people died.
"Up until this guy approached me about the book he his writing to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the disaster I'd tried not to think about Heysel too much. Then Liverpool and Juventus being drawn together again has brought it home even more.
"The people most affected are the families of the 39 who died and it's important now to show them that we remember. I believe a banner was paraded at the recent derby game, displaying the names of all the victims, and that proves the people of Liverpool haven't forgotten."
keltan
03-04-2005, 09:13 PM
wow, everton so happy
obviously they haven't seen who they're up against next after WBA
hm, lets see
i see man u n arsenal, as well as bolton
weeeeee
lets see how many points u stupid blues can drop
actually right after visiting WBA, they face Crystal Palace at home...
hope they will at least drop some points against these 2 relegation battlers.. and if we can keep up the pressure by beating Man City in our next game, they will be under lots of pressure as they have a more difficult run-in to the end of the season against teams like Man Utd, Newcastle, Arsenal and Bolton etc..
Raul7
03-04-2005, 09:14 PM
haha.. biscan??
Gerrard will still be important... I want to see him back at his best.. his tackles, hard-running, runs from deep, long shots etc will be essential against a resolute Italian defence...
hahahaha.....
Raul7
03-04-2005, 09:14 PM
actually right after visiting WBA, they face Crystal Palace at home...
hope they will at least drop some points against these 2 relegation battlers.. and if we can keep up the pressure by beating Man City in our next game, they will be under lots of pressure as they have a more difficult run-in to the end of the season against teams like Man Utd, Newcastle, Arsenal and Bolton etc..
hope everton will drop pts..... :s13:
CanIsayNo
03-04-2005, 09:40 PM
REMORSEFUL RED ON PEACE MISSION TO ITALY
Mark Platt 03 April 2005
A Liverpool fan jailed following the Heysel Stadium disaster of 1985 has this weekend travelled to Italy in the hope of extending the hand of friendship between the Reds and Juventus by apologising for the role he played in the tragedy.
Ahead of what is bound to be a highly emotional two-legged Champions League tie between the two clubs Terry Wilson, a 38-year old lifeguard from Broadgreen will meet Otello Lorentini, founder of the Association of the Heysel's victims.
He's 38 now? He was only 8 when he was arrested and jailed????
niterider
03-04-2005, 09:55 PM
He's 38 now? He was only 8 when he was arrested and jailed????
Quote from earlier post:
He served nine months of a five year prison sentence but has since rebuilt his life ...
He only served 9mths of a 5yr sentence la... The incident happened abt 20yrs ago, so he was ard 18yrs of age back then :look:
niterider
03-04-2005, 10:00 PM
hmm like who???
Not too sure,...just an inkling. Perharps magic from Garcia?? Or Baros back with his goals-scoring boots to kill Juve in the 1st leg =:p
Raul7
03-04-2005, 10:22 PM
Not too sure,...just an inkling. Perharps magic from Garcia?? Or Baros back with his goals-scoring boots to kill Juve in the 1st leg =:p
Garcia is good counter attack..... :)
keltan
03-04-2005, 11:59 PM
Everton and WBA 0-0 at half time..
hope WBA can hold on for a draw.. or better still sneak a winner...
haha..
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 12:30 AM
woooot gera! 1-0
keltan
04-04-2005, 12:33 AM
WBA SCORE!!!!!
1-0 to WBA!!!!
Song ah...
ethanloi
04-04-2005, 12:34 AM
Yeah! Go go go WBA...
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 12:34 AM
expected them to score... the goal similiar to biscan's
keltan
04-04-2005, 12:35 AM
WBA seem to be playing more confidently after the goal..
hope they can score another one to kill the game... or at least hold on to this precious 3 points...
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 12:39 AM
damn post...
keltan
04-04-2005, 12:40 AM
damn post...
yah loh...
and lucky referee never give penalty siah..
SongLongZi
04-04-2005, 12:47 AM
go WBA go WBA !
keltan
04-04-2005, 12:50 AM
good save by hoult..
looks like its not going to be everton's day..
niterider
04-04-2005, 01:00 AM
WBA SCORE!!!!!
1-0 to WBA!!!!
Song ah...
WBA hold... WBA hold... only 5more mins. hold on.... :s12:
hueman
04-04-2005, 01:03 AM
YES!!!! 1pt behind, let's steamroll over them!!!
keltan
04-04-2005, 01:03 AM
wah everton no backup jersey one??
watson now wearing blue shirt.. lolx
i thnk everton morale shall drop to rock bottom haha and lost all the way >.<
"Pistone challenge to Toffees chasers
'It has been difficult to get the derby defeat at Liverpool out of our minds. We did not play as we would have wanted and I think we deserved to lose but now it is gone and we must think of the next one.'[/QUOTE]
haha today they ar slapping their own face liao...muhahahaah
keltan
04-04-2005, 01:06 AM
i thnk everton morale shall drop to rock bottom haha and lost all the way >.<
hopefully so... i wan pistone to eat his words...
Watch out.. we are just 1 point behind!!!
Now, liverpool must do their work and win Man City in the next EPL match too... Come on reds!!
And the reds go marching on..
Velton
04-04-2005, 01:07 AM
Great! WBA beat Everton!!!
niterider
04-04-2005, 01:15 AM
Great! WBA beat Everton!!!
What more can i say? What more can i ask for? Just one 'S' word... SHIOK ah! :s13:
Let's hope Liverpool and Everton maintain their ongoing form.
Liverpool winning streak since derby :D and Everton losing streak even before derby :s13:
Liverpudians... steady boh??
ahboon_77
04-04-2005, 01:16 AM
YES! only 1 point behind.
We still need everton to draw while we win in order to overtake them.
Now everton is feeling the pressure.
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 01:43 AM
everton still has a tough match against palace... right?
freddlife
04-04-2005, 02:09 AM
fantastic, we getting closer..1 pt...
niterider
04-04-2005, 02:24 AM
This is a very long article, but very nicely written,... much adoring on one of our top performers of the season - King Carra
http://www.thisisanfield.com/columnists0405.php?id=00000094
RadEoNic
04-04-2005, 02:26 AM
eat dirt u blues
may ur moods remain the colour of ur jerseys
:s13: :s13: :s13:
Mohawks
04-04-2005, 02:38 AM
THANK YOU WEST BROM!!! :D
lady luck has shifted to Liverpool.... ermm.. across town to Anfield :D
keltan
04-04-2005, 03:17 AM
haha... i just like the way u say it..
keltan
04-04-2005, 03:18 AM
THANK YOU WEST BROM!!! :D
lady luck has shifted to Liverpool.... ermm.. across town to Anfield :D
and in typical last min fashion.. liverpool is gonna just manage get tt fourth spot..
the momentum is with us...
and may it continue against Juve...
YNWA!
Okane
04-04-2005, 03:42 AM
everton still got man u and arsenal
gohkg
04-04-2005, 06:46 AM
Liverpool also got Tottenham and Arsenal but hope they raise their game for these matches!!!
Beat Juventus at home!!!
niterider
04-04-2005, 07:09 AM
Liverpool also got Tottenham and Arsenal but hope they raise their game for these matches!!!
Beat Juventus at home!!!
I'm abit more 'humble'... let's THRASH Juve at home :D
Raul7
04-04-2005, 07:41 AM
yeah....Everton is going down!!!!!!! ho ho ho......... hahahaha :)
Raul7
04-04-2005, 07:42 AM
I'm abit more 'humble'... let's THRASH Juve at home :D
hahaha...high confidence liao....i like it!!!!! :s13:
Freemanz
04-04-2005, 08:54 AM
Well i think there are many Reds fans turn WBA fans for 90mins yesterday. I, myself is one of them ... LOL
AhnNakata7
04-04-2005, 09:26 AM
Moyes not thinking of CL
David Moyes has played down Everton's goals for this season and refused to berate his side's performance in the defeat at West Brom.
Everton have taken only 11 points from their last 12 games and now only head nearest rivals Liverpool by one point in the battle for the final Champions League spot.
He said: "We have never really been thinking about the Champions League. We've only really been thinking about the best season we possibly can.
"I think we are in a very good position. We are disappointed we didn't get something from the game today but it wasn't for wont of trying or the effort or desire of the players.
"A lack of concentration and a lack of finesse and quality at times didn't allow us to get that goal we deserved. I thought we did well, I was pleased.
"I don't see it just between us and Liverpool (for fourth spot). I think Bolton and Middlesbrough can quite easily reach that position."
Moyes believes Everton could have been awarded a penalty by referee Graham Poll after Gera tugged at the shirt of Tim Cahill.
He said: "Gera did pull Cahill's arm back. Cahill had been booked for a stupid tackle and people know if you dive now you get another card and a sending-off.
"So why would he possibly dive? He does grab his arm. Whether it was hard enough to warrant a penalty kick.....but you can't dispute he grabs his arm."
now don dare tok too much scare later cant get 4 place =(
AhnNakata7
04-04-2005, 09:28 AM
SRY OT a bit it toks abt our god robbie fowler:D
Fowler: Can be great again
Fowler can be great again - Pearce
Manchester City boss Stuart Pearce insisted Robbie Fowler could still recapture his status as one of the most feared goalscorers in the Premiership.
Fowler, who turns 30 next week, was admired as perhaps the best finisher in the English game during his early years at Anfield.
But since moving to Leeds and now City his influence has faded. Having scored 171 goals in 330 matches for Liverpool over nine years, his record has dipped to just 36 in 114 games in four years.
At Charlton on Saturday, however, he was at times majestic.
Not only did he put City 2-1 ahead just before the break with his 10th goal of the season but he laid on chance after chance for his strike partner Jon Macken to miss.
Fowler is not as sprightly as he once was but his fitness and weight both seem to have improved markedly, while his focus was also spot-on.
Pearce now hopes to get the very best out of Fowler once again, especially with Nicolas Anelka having left the club.
"Whether he can break into the England side again, I don't really know. Probably, being realistic, you would say that he can't," said Pearce.
"But in terms of goalscoring, of course he can [recover his status]. We'll keep on putting pressure on him to keep achieving and bettering himself.
"If you play well one week, you've got to want to get better and better. That's what I look for in a character and how I judged myself as a player.
"I think maybe 10 years ago, things came naturally for Robbie and he didn't know exactly how he did it. Like Wayne Rooney maybe, it just worked.
"It's tougher now as the Premiership is quicker and he probably deserves to score one or two more goals but Robbie can finish, there's no doubt about that.
"He might have a lost a yard of zip but haven't we all? He's getting better and better, and he's a key player for this club. If I keep pushing, it'll be beneficial for this team."
Pearce admitted City's training regime under Keegan was not arduous enough, a conclusion he shares the blame for as a coach under the former England boss.
"We've upped the tempo in training and Robbie's been happy with that. He wants to learn and do as well as he possibly can for this club," he added.
"One thing people don't realise is that he's not afraid of work. He'll work when the going gets tough, make no mistake about that.
"I've played against him - I've booted him, he's turned round, looked me in the eye and booted me back - not in the last three weeks, admittedly - but that's a good trait in a player. He's prepared to fight his corner.
"You might say that over the past year or so he needs to have his vision challenged a touch more but since I've been in charge, he's been excellent.
"Robbie is getting the best out of Robbie, not Stuart Pearce. We'll lay a structure on the training pitch and pick a team, but it's got to come from the players."
It will be the performances of those players that may decide whether Pearce keeps the job on a permanent basis, although he is confident about his prospects.
"The way the board and chairman are talking, I think they're looking at Stuart Pearce here for the long run. Not just here for eight or nine games. I think they want me to be in charge of this club and drive it," he concluded.
"I believe that I'm the man for the job and now I, along with the players, have to show that. But I love responsibility.
"I'm happy to take the flak if it doesn't go right, I'm happy to be judged on results and if that's enough to keep me in the job then brilliant. If not, then they must go and get a better man.
AhnNakata7
04-04-2005, 09:31 AM
today's paper review
Liverpool and Spurs are tracking Auxerre's Bonaventure Kalou
Liverpool want to sign £5m-rated Ruben Baraja from Valencia
Valencia have confirmed they want to sign Liverpool striker Milan Baros
Ex-Liverpool idol Ian Rush believes the Reds can upset Juventus in the Champions League quarter-finals.
daylight
04-04-2005, 09:31 AM
Well i think there are many Reds fans turn WBA fans for 90mins yesterday. I, myself is one of them ... LOL
WBA won.
the gap is only down to one point only.
7 matches more to go
finally pool is getting more luck
iwish
04-04-2005, 09:50 AM
YES! only 1 point behind.
We still need everton to draw while we win in order to overtake them.
Now everton is feeling the pressure.
2 things make last nite WBA victory esp sweet
1) Pistone got injure..ok..i nvr curse opposite player to be injure...but who ask him to be so big mouth
2) Everton got all the injury time they need (5 minutes!!!) but didnt even register a single shot
hehehehe
this is going to be a good week :)
elbib00
04-04-2005, 09:59 AM
great wkend.
last burst of fire towards the finish line!!!!
younggun__007
04-04-2005, 10:15 AM
hOSEH!
Always tot Gera is of a different class from his peers in WBA.
And he proved it again:)
1 point behind Everton, and 7 more matches to play
Pls change to the right lane and overtake Everton!
In addition, we'll be playing at home to Juve this wednesday.
A win or a goalless draw is a must if we are to have a realistic chance of making it to the next round.
If goalless draw, the pressure will be on Juve not to concede.
YNWA!
Raul7
04-04-2005, 10:18 AM
today's paper review
Liverpool and Spurs are tracking Auxerre's Bonaventure Kalou
Liverpool want to sign £5m-rated Ruben Baraja from Valencia
Valencia have confirmed they want to sign Liverpool striker Milan Baros
Ex-Liverpool idol Ian Rush believes the Reds can upset Juventus in the Champions League quarter-finals.
Ruben Baraja is good..........
Raul7
04-04-2005, 10:19 AM
hOSEH!
Always tot Gera is of a different class from his peers in WBA.
And he proved it again:)
1 point behind Everton, and 7 more matches to play
Pls change to the right lane and overtake Everton!
In addition, we'll be playing at home to Juve this wednesday.
A win or a goalless draw is a must if we are to have a realistic chance of making it to the next round.
If goalless draw, the pressure will be on Juve not to concede.
YNWA!
die die must overtake themmmmmmmmmm :D
iwish
04-04-2005, 10:21 AM
This is a very long article, but very nicely written,... much adoring on one of our top performers of the season - King Carra
http://www.thisisanfield.com/columnists0405.php?id=00000094
thanks..it is a good read..everyone should read it..
have to admit..i am one of JC doubters when he was moved to center back in the beginning... than when he was moved to right/left back...he won me over with his determination..a player i tot will always be nothing but a squard player..won me over completely..and i was even "Campaigning" for him to start for england at rightback...and I mentioned here b4...if RB is looking for a new center back...i think JC should stay and hyppia should be the one replaced.....
SongLongZi
04-04-2005, 10:26 AM
they still got arsenal and man utd....
stansays
thanks..it is a good read..everyone should read it..
have to admit..i am one of JC doubters when he was moved to center back in the beginning... than when he was moved to right/left back...he won me over with his determination..a player i tot will always be nothing but a squard player..won me over completely..and i was even "Campaigning" for him to start for england at rightback...and I mentioned here b4...if RB is looking for a new center back...i think JC should stay and hyppia should be the one replaced.....
That might be a reason why hypia was bench in the recent games with Pelerrino coming on since he got only a short contract to fulfill.
Raul7
great wkend.
last burst of fire towards the finish line!!!!
yeah man......
Boeing787
04-04-2005, 12:19 PM
We are really lucky this weekend, scrape through a 1-0 victory against unlucky Bolton and Everton losing to WBA 1-0 , we are just only 1 point behind Everton. However, if we carry on playing like this , we will end up losing not only the chance of winning the CL and the CL spot too . What a horrible display in my opinion from the reds, hopefully they play much better then this against Juventus. Juventus are not forgiving unlike Bolton. One mistake , they will punish you, that's for sure.
Just my 2 cents.
niterider
04-04-2005, 12:39 PM
That might be a reason why hypia was bench in the recent games with Pelerrino coming on since he got only a short contract to fulfill.
more so to rest hyypia for the CL clash. Have to protect him from injuries (which is jinxing the team) and also possible cards. Pelle also had a good run of form so he shld continue with the partnership with Carra. But i still missed Hyypia for the past few games when it comes to setpcs. Now that he's well rested, he shld return well for the CL clash. Anyway, we now have 3 on-form centrebacks...so good for RB. :D
niterider
04-04-2005, 12:41 PM
We are really lucky this weekend, scrape through a 1-0 victory against unlucky Bolton and Everton losing to WBA 1-0 , we are just only 1 point behind Everton. However, if we carry on playing like this , we will end up losing not only the chance of winning the CL and the CL spot too . What a horrible display in my opinion from the reds, hopefully they play much better then this against Juventus. Juventus are not forgiving unlike Bolton. One mistake , they will punish you, that's for sure.
Just my 2 cents.
It seems like those involved in the WC qualifying all came back out-of-sorts. Gerrard, Garcia, Riise, ...
RB shld have given them a good post-mortem and hope to see them better for Juve match. :s12:
younggun__007
04-04-2005, 12:50 PM
more so to rest hyypia for the CL clash. Have to protect him from injuries (which is jinxing the team) and also possible cards. Pelle also had a good run of form so he shld continue with the partnership with Carra. But i still missed Hyypia for the past few games when it comes to setpcs. Now that he's well rested, he shld return well for the CL clash. Anyway, we now have 3 on-form centrebacks...so good for RB. :D
dun tink pellegrino did well in the match. his headers and clearance still quite doggy
younggun__007
04-04-2005, 01:00 PM
Although We win...phew...i've a few points to make here
i think our set pieces abit terok in the match.
When i c bolton taking corners and throw-ins, i scared
When i c liverpool taking the set pieces, i bo feeling 1...becoz i dun tink we'll score.
esp corners...a few times we play it short, den no decent cross into the area...either too low or kenna blocked liao
a good team is one that plays good football
a great team is one that plays good football and kio its set pieces well.
also, the movement of the team was atrocious in the 1st half.
seems that the players do not have the slightest understanding of their attacking team mates.
dat's y so many of suppose counter attacks always kenna intercept by the time it raech bolton's half.
the performance and fluidity of the team has not reach a consistent high level yet like matches against arsenal, olym, bayer lever, monaco, and everton
i'll be lying through my teeth if i say i'm not worried for the team in the upcoming CL match against Juve. If play lidat against Juve, sure tiok chop 1.
Amitabha...
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 01:54 PM
2 things make last nite WBA victory esp sweet
1) Pistone got injure..ok..i nvr curse opposite player to be injure...but who ask him to be so big mouth
2) Everton got all the injury time they need (5 minutes!!!) but didnt even register a single shot
hehehehe
this is going to be a good week :)
didn't everton get 7 min of injury time against liverpool? or did i remember wrong?
Didjerama
04-04-2005, 02:01 PM
i think pool is going to have a hard time with juve..no hamann...UNLESS they can get alonso back in time which i dun think so...
cos hamann is the sort of player who can challenge the juve midfield...if you guys notice..the key to juve play is in the middle....their wings are pretty average but their middle of the pitch is fantastic
Okane
04-04-2005, 02:02 PM
Liverpool vs Juventus got show live on channel 5?
Raul7
04-04-2005, 02:04 PM
Liverpool vs Juventus got show live on channel 5?
should be bah....quite big game leh....
iwish
04-04-2005, 02:18 PM
didn't everton get 7 min of injury time against liverpool? or did i remember wrong?
i think they only get 3-4 mins...that why david moyes was complaining not enuff injury time...and insisting his side would have score if they were given another couple more minutes...
cheehong83
04-04-2005, 02:24 PM
good week for liverpool..everton lose and we have lucky win
redstar19
04-04-2005, 02:34 PM
hi guys..
liverpool supporter too.
finger cross for the Juventus match!!!
CanIsayNo
04-04-2005, 02:39 PM
i think they only get 3-4 mins...that why david moyes was complaining not enuff injury time...and insisting his side would have score if they were given another couple more minutes...
ooh okay... anyway, we all know that is bullsh1t
niterider
04-04-2005, 02:45 PM
should be bah....quite big game leh....
Have! Tue night 2.30am on Ch5 loh. Confirmed!
can check MEdiacorp website for programme oso.
iwish
04-04-2005, 03:02 PM
hi guys..
liverpool supporter too.
finger cross for the Juventus match!!!
welcome!!
i got this feeling we will win 2-0...baros will score
hehe :)
Raul7
04-04-2005, 03:02 PM
Have! Tue night 2.30am on Ch5 loh. Confirmed!
can check MEdiacorp website for programme oso.
this is good liao......... :)
Okane
04-04-2005, 04:43 PM
yeh!
can watch liao!
Velton
04-04-2005, 05:49 PM
After so long...I'm still curious. How come the thread starter did not edit the thread title? Anifield..sala leh... :s22:
spinelli
04-04-2005, 06:01 PM
After so long...I'm still curious. How come the thread starter did not edit the thread title? Anifield..sala leh... :s22:
this issue has been raised before.the problem is,it cant be edited :s22:
victorian07
04-04-2005, 06:26 PM
lol...the first post like light years ago liao lor...
may the force be with liverpool in the upcoming encounter with juventus.
NYWA
RadEoNic
04-04-2005, 08:10 PM
it's YNWA...........-_-
omg i still never realize the spelling is wrong. :s13:
anyway heng everton yday dint get any last min draw again!
4th spot coming closer and closer!!
welcome!!
i got this feeling we will win 2-0...baros will score
hehe :)
i think the game will be quite defensive and low scoring ...
hopefully, hopefully jus try not to concede any away goals. :D
redstar19
04-04-2005, 09:18 PM
cool can watch live on TV!!!! :s12:
RadEoNic
04-04-2005, 09:24 PM
1-0 scorelines in favour of us starting from now on is a good idea
Freemanz
04-04-2005, 09:31 PM
as long as we win without concealing a goal, i will be happy.
niterider
04-04-2005, 10:25 PM
A very long article again following a review on Sat's win against Bolton. To read the full story, here it goes... http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N148355050404-1030.htm
THE TORTOISE IS CATCHING THE HARE IN RACE FOR 4TH
Mark Platt 04 April 2005
Like in the classic children's tale, the tortoise is slowly but surely catching up with the hare in what is becoming a truly gripping race for fourth place in the Premiership.
Taking on the role of the shell backed reptile is Liverpool. Slow out of the starting blocks, beset by problems along the way and constantly written off.
On the other side of the track is Everton, in the guise of the long eared mammal. Long-time pace-setters for fourth and a side who, in certain quarters, have already been prematurely declared the winners.
But as the charge of the tortoise gathers pace, the hare suddenly seems to be stalling.
A football season is more reminiscent of marathon rather than a sprint and Liverpool are timing their run to perfection.
keltan
04-04-2005, 10:41 PM
yah man..overconfident hare is going to lose to the tortoise...
mwhahahaha
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.