PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:07 AM
yahlor they really produce good youngster!

this one if manage well duno can sell how many millions again :s13:

sell him like another Rooney.... :s13:

hwaa
11-04-2005, 12:07 AM
glen johnson is skilful... but i think he is the weak link of chelsea's defence :D

he's still young, give him more time ..

hwaa
11-04-2005, 12:08 AM
sell him like another Rooney.... :s13:

they sell one rooney can buy many cahills :s13:

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:09 AM
they sell one rooney can buy many cahills :s13:

hahahahaa.......... he former from Div 1 or 2 iirc ?

CanIsayNo
11-04-2005, 12:11 AM
u mean Tim Cahill ?
nope.. james vaughan :p

niterider
11-04-2005, 12:16 AM
Pls la... Liverpool thread talk bout everton?? OMG :D

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:20 AM
Pls la... Liverpool thread talk bout everton?? OMG :D

paiseh.........my fault... everton sucks!!!!!!

CanIsayNo
everton's match concerns liverpool haha... since they are the ones that liverpool have to catch

i still think that everton will slip into 5th

hwaa
lol out of topic liao :s13: :s13:

=:p

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:21 AM
lol out of topic liao :s13: :s13:

=:p

hahaha..all my fault :o

hwaa
11-04-2005, 12:21 AM
everton's match concerns liverpool haha... since they are the ones that liverpool have to catch

i still think that everton will slip into 5th

but first of all, liverpool must really chiong for the 4th spot rather than use the mouth to tok only. :s27:

hwaa
11-04-2005, 12:22 AM
hahaha..all my fault :o
my fault lah, i started posting everton's score ... :s13:

BlueBull
paiseh.........my fault... everton sucks!!!!!!

Liverpool suckier.... haha.....

Raul7
guys lets look forward to the juve game.

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:24 AM

omg...everton fan detected!!!! :look:

BlueBull
11-04-2005, 12:28 AM
omg...everton fan detected!!!! :look:

haha...yeah. since 1983. But no worries. I'm not one of those who goes round cursing other clubs. Well, in the company of like minded fans anyway.

hwaa
11-04-2005, 12:29 AM

relac lah, :s13: :s13:

hope the best will get the 4th spot, be it liverpool,everton, bolton or boro. :)

Raul7
11-04-2005, 12:30 AM
haha...yeah. since 1983. But no worries. I'm not one of those who goes round cursing other clubs. Well, in the company of like minded fans anyway.

hahaa toking abt me liao :o paiseh liao....i take back my words. raul7 sucks then. i'm nt a liverpool supporter... :look:

niterider
11-04-2005, 12:51 AM
Haha... tok bout everton can, but not so much discussions on them and their players loh. let's start worrying bout our next lineup for the return leg vs Juve.

Raul7
11-04-2005, 07:32 AM
Rafa Benitez has left the door ajar for Michael Owen to make a return to Liverpool in the summer.

The diminutive striker has won many fans since moving to Real Madrid, but he has grown frustrated at being asked to play second fiddle to Raul and Ronaldo in the Santiago Bernabeu pecking order.

Owen has a fine goalscoring record in Spain and is set to start against Barcelona on Sunday, but he may well look to move on if he is left a frustrated spectator on the bench between now and the end of the season.

A host of Premiership clubs are monitoring the situation, with Bolton and Newcastle known admirers, and it emerged late last week that Benitez has asked to be kept abreast of developments.

Benitez refused to be draw on Owen on Friday, but he has now admitted that it is possible the striker could run out at Anfield again in the future.

"Owen is a Liverpool supporter and it is always an option for him, and for us, for him to come back," said the Spanish tactician.

"He has the spirit that you need. He loves Liverpool so it is always an option for him to come back."

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 09:27 AM
Well i think even if Owen is back at Liverpool, he might not be the starting 11 as well.

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 09:29 AM
if we can get a quick away goal then i think everything will be just fine.

Haha... tok bout everton can, but not so much discussions on them and their players loh. let's start worrying bout our next lineup for the return leg vs Juve.

hcsiao
11-04-2005, 09:53 AM
Well i think even if Owen is back at Liverpool, he might not be the starting 11 as well.

But if Baros is sold, then Owen got chance to come back. Or else we oredi have Mellor and Pongolle as backup to Cisse and Nando...

ahboon_77
11-04-2005, 09:55 AM
actually Fowler left cos he was was kept out of the first team by houllier's then first choice pairing of owen and heskey...

SGE warned him tt if he wanted a place in the England squad, he has to have first team football... thus fowler left in search of that...

i will have to agree with you on GH perfer pairing of Heskey and Owen. He still the no 1 striker in many of the red hearts.

Personally, i still think GH sell him away rather than him looking for first 11. :look:

well. not much luck at england squad tho' he been in Man City first 11 for some time. =:p

'For those who have a red heart rejoy cos you have seen the GOD'

ahboon_77
11-04-2005, 09:59 AM
But if Baros is sold, then Owen got chance to come back. Or else we oredi have Mellor and Pongolle as backup to Cisse and Nando...

please do not take back owen,
first and foremost, he left anfield on his own accord.
he been delaying his own contract extension and all the while telling liverpoolfc.tv that he going to sign on the paper sooner or later. just when the season is about to get going, he dump red for white. wtf?
he can rot in RM and his place in england taken by defoe for all i care. :s22:

hwaa
11-04-2005, 10:47 AM
if we can get a quick away goal then i think everything will be just fine.

yeah!

CL is our last hope of any silverware.. :D

hwaa
11-04-2005, 10:49 AM
please do not take back owen,
first and foremost, he left anfield on his own accord.
he been delaying his own contract extension and all the while telling liverpoolfc.tv that he going to sign on the paper sooner or later. just when the season is about to get going, he dump red for white. wtf?
he can rot in RM and his place in england taken by defoe for all i care. :s22:

2nd that.

imo what's gone is gone, no point taking him back. we must look ahead and not backwards.
i believe our strikeforce is of good quality already. with cisse + moro, and punggol + mellor as backup, even baros wana leave it's still alright. :D

younggun__007
11-04-2005, 11:39 AM
Owen come back ok la.
I will welcome him back.

But what we need most is width in our midfield.
Both left and right flank.

I will love to see playmakers like aimar or rosicky coming into the side. This way, Gerrard can be tasked to protect the back four at all costs.

RadEoNic
11-04-2005, 11:52 AM
come back then come back lah
but dun demand high wages n act like he's king can liao
he must remember, we have 3 other international world class strikers besides him in moro, cisse n baros

daylight
11-04-2005, 12:29 PM
come back then come back lah
but dun demand high wages n act like he's king can liao
he must remember, we have 3 other international world class strikers besides him in moro, cisse n baros

baros will most like leave at d end of this season.

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:34 PM
CARSON: DID THEY REALLY SING THAT?
Paul Rogers 10 April 2005
Scott Carson today reacted in amazement when he was informed exactly what the Liverpool fans were singing about him at Anfield on Tuesday night as the Reds pulled off a famous victory over Juventus.
The 19-year-old got the nod over the injured Jerzy Dudek to start the biggest game of his career and after an amazing first-half save against Alessandro Del Piero, the home crowd launched into a chorus of 'England, England's No.1'. The former Leeds goalkeeper was so wrapped in the match, he didn't even hear the Kop behind him.

"Did they really sing that?" he asked. "As a goalkeeper, I have always thought to myself: I would love a crowd to sing that to me. But I was concentrating so hard, I didn't hear it. I was disappointed with the goal I conceded but you can't dwell on things like that. If I let things like that bother me, what chance would I have?"

"I have played in Portugal and other countries for England Under-21s but never in front of 50-60,000 people at club level. But if I have to play [on Wednesday], I am confident I can go out there and do my stuff. Before I signed for Liverpool, Chelsea came up to meet Leeds to talk about me. But I would rather have stayed at Leeds than play for Chelsea's reserves. Nights like Tuesday are what I am interested in."

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:34 PM
GERRARD: UNDERDOG TAG SUITS US
Steven Gerrard today admitted that Liverpool can pull off a historic result in Turin on Wednesday even though the rest of football believes that the Reds are already out of their depth at this stage of the Champions League.
Liverpool have been rank outsiders for European glory all season but with the Merseysiders just one draw away from a place in the semi-finals, Gerrard believes there's no reason why they can't pull off a shock result in Italy this week.

"While it was a sickener to concede an away goal, we've got to remember that we would have definitely taken a 2-1 victory if someone had offered it to us before the game. Now we have got to stick together and come up with another big, big performance in Italy. It will take the best performance that a Liverpool team has produced since I have been at the club if we are to reach the semi-final. That's how tough it is going to be in Italy.

"People will look at the away goal Juventus scored but we have just got to be happy that we have given ourselves a big lift by beating one of the best teams in Europe. Let's not forget that Juventus were one of the favourites before a ball had even been kicked.

"We will be the underdogs again but I think we are at our best when we have something to prove. No one outside the club expected us to get even this far so we are playing with very little pressure on us. The manager told us before the first game that we had nothing to lose and we are well capable of upsetting the odds again.

"The key to it could be to score an away goal ourselves. We may be a bit short of strikers at the moment but players like Luis Garcia have come up with some important goals in Europe this season and if we can grab one in the away leg then that would make it very difficult for Juventus."

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:35 PM
RAFA: 4TH MORE IMPORTANT THAN CL RUN
Rafael Benitez last night blamed a lack of experience for his side's inability to hold out for at least a draw against struggling Manchester City and claimed that finishing fourth is more important than a good Champions League run.
While the Liverpool boss obviously arrived in Manchester hoping for the win that would open up a two-point lead over Everton in the race for that final Champions League place, Benitez would have gladly taken a point at the end. It looked like he was about to get his way too until a last-minute strike from Kiki Musampa put paid to that idea.

"You can not afford to lose this kind of game," Benitez claimed afterwards. "Sometimes, when you cannot win, a draw is a good result. We played maybe too wide in the first half. In the second half we started controlling the game with the team more compact. There was a clear chance at the end for Steven Gerrard but then there was a throw-in for us, we lose the ball and concede the goal in the last minute.
"We played too wide and they ran, they worked hard in the first half. We had some chances on the counter attack but we never controlled the game. In the second half there were more opportunities to go into the box. At the end if you don't score maybe you need to draw. We don't maybe have this experience."

Benitez was keen to point out that it was a lack of experience rather than the players having their minds on the game in Turin on Wednesday and even went so far as to insist that finishing fourth is more important to the club than an extended run in the Champions League.

"It is more important for us to finish fourth in the Premiership than it is to do well in the Champions League," he said. "If we play to the level we can, we can still get there but if we do not improve on the mental approach we had today, it will be difficult for us. You want to win every game of course but with our injury problems you need to be clear about what is more important. Even if we won the next game against Juve we could go all the way and maybe lose the final and end up playing in the UEFA Cup.

"Our inconsistency is difficult to explain. At one point we are playing good football and winning, the next we find it really difficult. But I don't think there will be a problem raising the team for Wednesday. Champions League games are different and we will be ready."

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:35 PM
JUVENTUS CONCEDE THREE AT THE WEEKEND
Juventus were forced to come from behind three times in a six-goal thriller away to Fiorentina on Saturday as Liverpool were given renewed hope that scoring against the Italians on Wednesday will not prove an impossible task.
Juve had the opportunity to break away at the top of the table following Milan's earlier 1-1 draw with Brescia but the league leaders had to settle for a single point.
Juventus were not at full strength however as Jonathan Zebina, David Trezeguet, Ciro Ferrara and the suspended Ruben Olivera were out, while Emerson was a late absentee with a muscular problem.

Alessandro Del Piero scored the first for Juventus while two strikes for the ever-dangerous Zlatan Ibrahimovic ensured the visitors left with a point.

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:36 PM
sigh.... will miss Wed nite's match cos of ICT...
Zzzzz...

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:38 PM
relac lah, :s13: :s13:

hope the best will get the 4th spot, be it liverpool,everton, bolton or boro. :)
yah loh... hope the best *erhmm* Liverpool *erhmm* get tt fourth spot..

:D

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:40 PM
I personally would like baros to stay on... but it will not hurt us if he leaves too...

I believe RB has the ability to more then cover for his departure with good buys using the money generated from the baros sale, if there is one..

keltan
11-04-2005, 12:41 PM
hahaa toking abt me liao :o paiseh liao....i take back my words. raul7 sucks then. i'm nt a liverpool supporter... :look:
wah who bully my raul7??

Velton
11-04-2005, 12:58 PM
Just my personal take on rumours take Gerrard sale to Chelsea is confirmed...

Seriously speaking, much as I don't want him to leave Liverpool, if any player who keeps thinking about staying or leaving, I'd rather he leaves. There's no point keeping a player, even a star player, if he's not 100% committed. A player who loves his club so much will not "threaten" about leaving if the club is not doing well. Carra is not a "star" player but if he wants to leave, I'm sure there are dozens of clubs waiting to sign him. Did we ever hear him "threatening" the club? No...never. I'd rather have 11 Carras in my team anytime rather than 11 Gerrards.

We are in the process of re-building. I believe we will definitely be challenging for honours in the near future. Let's give our beloved club some time.

YNWA!!!

crazynut06
11-04-2005, 01:15 PM
seem like they cannot win epl matches after a ucl match...
could they be too tired???

but well..now hope they focus for the next match against juventus...

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 01:40 PM
I agree with u on this. I would rather we have 11 100% committed "nobodies" then 11 not committed "superstar".

Seriously speaking, much as I don't want him to leave Liverpool, if any player who keeps thinking about staying or leaving, I'd rather he leaves. There's no point keeping a player, even a star player, if he's not 100% committed. A player who loves his club so much will not "threaten" about leaving if the club is not doing well. Carra is not a "star" player but if he wants to leave, I'm sure there are dozens of clubs waiting to sign him. Did we ever hear him "threatening" the club? No...never. I'd rather have 11 Carras in my team anytime rather than 11 Gerrards.

YNWA!!!

Raul7
11-04-2005, 01:41 PM
seem like they cannot win epl matches after a ucl match...
could they be too tired???

but well..now hope they focus for the next match against juventus...

yes, lets look forward to next game against Juve

younggun__007
11-04-2005, 01:44 PM
I agree with u on this. I would rather we have 11 100% committed "nobodies" then 11 not committed "superstar".

Agreed. No player is bigger than the team.

Raul7
11-04-2005, 01:47 PM
Agreed. No player is bigger than the team.

yes.agree too!

Winevil
11-04-2005, 01:58 PM
CARSON: DID THEY REALLY SING THAT?
Scott Carson today reacted in amazement when he was informed exactly what the Liverpool fans were singing about him at Anfield on Tuesday night as the Reds pulled off a famous victory over Juventus.
The 19-year-old got the nod over the injured Jerzy Dudek to start the biggest game of his career and after an amazing first-half save against Alessandro Del Piero, the home crowd launched into a chorus of 'England, England's No.1'. The former Leeds goalkeeper was so wrapped in the match, he didn't even hear the Kop behind him.

"Did they really sing that?" he asked. "As a goalkeeper, I have always thought to myself: I would love a crowd to sing that to me. But I was concentrating so hard, I didn't hear it. I was disappointed with the goal I conceded but you can't dwell on things like that. If I let things like that bother me, what chance would I have?"

"I have played in Portugal and other countries for England Under-21s but never in front of 50-60,000 people at club level. But if I have to play [on Wednesday], I am confident I can go out there and do my stuff. Before I signed for Liverpool, Chelsea came up to meet Leeds to talk about me. But I would rather have stayed at Leeds than play for Chelsea's reserves. Nights like Tuesday are what I am interested in."

can imagine his excitement....

Think, a few months ago, he's playing against teams like wigan athletic, and now he's playing against juventus and likes..... What a world's apart.....

Winevil

Didjerama
11-04-2005, 02:59 PM

I WISH.........................

hwaa
11-04-2005, 05:03 PM
I personally would like baros to stay on... but it will not hurt us if he leaves too...

I believe RB has the ability to more then cover for his departure with good buys using the money generated from the baros sale, if there is one..

yes, if we need $$ from transfer then let him go if he wants to go. and let kewell go also. :s27:

Velton
11-04-2005, 06:03 PM
Fark..now we have Gerrard injured..doubtful against Juve... :s8:

stansays
11-04-2005, 06:22 PM

Jinx... When ones up the other goes injure. Black magic?

RadEoNic
11-04-2005, 07:50 PM
sian
just read on liverpoolfc.tv news

Raul7
11-04-2005, 07:55 PM

omg....... jialat...

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 08:42 PM
OFFICIAL: GERRARD OUT OF JUVENTUS MATCH
Paul Rogers 11 April 2005

Steven Gerrard has been ruled out of Liverpool's crucial Champions League quarter-final second leg tie against Juventus on Wednesday night after failing to recover from a groin strain at the weekend.
The Liverpool captain suffered an adductor strain in the final minutes of Liverpool's 1-nil defeat to Manchester City at the City of Manchester Stadium on Saturday and was today ruled out of the trip to Turin by medical staff at the club's Melwood training complex.

A spokesperson for Liverpool Football Club confirmed Gerrard would not travel with the squad to Turin on Tuesday but will stay at Melwood for further treatment. Club doctors are hopeful Gerrard may be able to recover in time to be involved in Liverpool's game against Tottenham at Anfield on Saturday.

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 08:43 PM
RAFA: WE CAN BOUNCE BACK IN TURIN
Mark Platt 11 April 2005

As Liverpool prepare for Wednesday night's massive Champions League clash against Juventus, Rafael Benitez is confident his players can bounce back positively from the disappointing weekend defeat at Manchester City.
Kiki Musampa's late goal condemned the Reds to a morale-shattering Premiership defeat at Eastlands but Benitez believes it will not affect the mentality of his team ahead of the daunting trip to Turin.

"Things will be different in Turin because it's another type of game," says the Anfield boss. "We need to recover the players tomorrow in terms of physical condition and in terms of their confidence.

"I think with us still having two or three days to the game we will be ready. In Champions League games we seem to have the right mentality."

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 08:44 PM
GARCIA LIVING IN DREAMLAND
Paul Rogers 11 April 2005

Liverpool's Champions League hero Luis Garcia believes that while his first year in England is getting better by the week and surpassed all his expectations, next season is the time to judge both himself and this new-look team.
Garcia has notched up ten goals already, including Liverpool's best of the season against Juventus last week, and despite the loss of an away goal to the Italians, believes the Reds can triumph in Turin.

"A lot of teams think we are not good enough to be in quarter-finals of the Champions League or to finish fourth in the Premiership but we are proving people wrong, especially when we play at Anfield," claimed the Liverpool No.10. "We can't think about winning the cup yet, it is far too soon, but we have to be confident. We have proved we can beat anybody on our day, home or away. We did it at Leverkusen so why not in Turin against Juventus?

"We are in a better position than Juve. We don't have to score, they do. That means we can wait and look to counter-attack, look to pinch one."

Although Garcia is reluctant to look beyond Wednesday's showdown in Turin, the midfielder who recently won his first Spanish cap, believes that if the Reds did go on to lift the European Cup in Istanbul, it would send out the best possible message to club captain Steven Gerrard.

"Winning the European Cup would almost certainly persuade Steven not to move," he continued. "There are too many rumours around Steven. I think he has things clear in his mind and I think he wants to stay in Liverpool for a long time. That is the most important thing for all the supporters and the team because he is such an important player for us and he says he wants to stay. He is one of the best players in the world and wants to win trophies, which is natural.

"But he has seen we are building a very good, strong team at Liverpool for next season when we think we will be a real threat. We know we still have a chance of success this season but we can't think of the Champions League final just yet as there is still a long way but we have proved we can beat anyone."

While Gerrard has been Mr Consistent as usual this season, Garcia believes his own form is getting better as he adjusts to the life in the Premiership. After a dream start, the Spaniard's form dipped but with goals now complimenting his link-up play, he finally believes we are starting to the see the real Luis Garcia.

"It has not been easy," he admits. "I started very well but it is difficult to stay at that level. I scored but then afterwards my place wasn't always guaranteed. Now I feel good. I want to play and show people what I can do. Sometimes the people see me and say I am not strong enough to play in the English league. I have tried to show I can play in the league because it is not always about being strong or trying to win everything because there are other facts to the game.

"I know some of the fans haven't taken to me but I am not that kind of player and they have to understand that. There is no point me trying to out-muscle a player who is much heavier than me. I have to adapt, try a trick or find another way to beat them. It was difficult to get used to that when I first came here. I found that if I was elbowed in the head by a player here I would get booked for head butting his elbow.

"I have to find a way to adapt and I have tried to do it quickly but it is my first season and it will take time. I dreamed my first year would go well but I never imagined it would be like this. I have scored goals and played in the first final of my life, against Chelsea in the Carling Cup.

"We are in the quarter-finals of the Champions League in my first year in the competition and I think the whole team would only have thought about trying to finish fourth in the Premiership at the beginning of the season. But this year was always about building. Next season will be different. All the people that arrived this year are settled now and I think we can be a real force next year."

Freemanz
11-04-2005, 08:48 PM
i think we did pretty ok even without GERRARD in Europe. Biscan is performing rather well in European games and maybe we can see alonso back.

daylight
11-04-2005, 09:09 PM
i think we did pretty ok even without GERRARD in Europe. Biscan is performing rather well in European games and maybe we can see alonso back.

alonso only played one reserve game last week.
he is not quite match fit.
hope he last the whole match against juventus.

ahboon_77
11-04-2005, 09:11 PM
No...never. I'd rather have 11 Carras in my team anytime rather than 11 Gerrards.

YNWA!!!

exactly!
if he goes and able to generate 30million for buying of paulo aimer who loves to play for pool.. why not?

__CcW__
11-04-2005, 09:18 PM
the injury curse strikes again for the !^%#@!*&^%#th time this season

younggun__007
11-04-2005, 09:42 PM
I AM NOW 100% CONVINCED THAT IT IS HIGH TIME NOW THAT RICK PARRY, MOORES AND RAFA BENITEZ GO AND CONSULT A FENGSHUI MASTER WHETHER THEIR 8 CHARACTERS GOT CLASHED ANOT! :s27:

cheehong83
11-04-2005, 09:51 PM
Waaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Why!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

melankholy
11-04-2005, 09:53 PM
the pressure will be on juve now that it seems very likely they will overturn us. BUT, as underdogs, we can and will hold our ground to make it through. Liverpool to pull a surprise upset. 1 - 0 to pool or 0 - 0

Raul7
11-04-2005, 10:01 PM
I AM NOW 100% CONVINCED THAT IT IS HIGH TIME NOW THAT RICK PARRY, MOORES AND RAFA BENITEZ GO AND CONSULT A FENGSHUI MASTER WHETHER THEIR 8 CHARACTERS GOT CLASHED ANOT! :s27:

really sibei suay sia......

cheehong83
11-04-2005, 10:51 PM
hope that 11 carragherss turn up tmr at turin

SongLongZi
11-04-2005, 10:54 PM
suay to the max...................

Raul7
11-04-2005, 11:01 PM
Juventus to ask Liverpool about Baros

Juventus will approach Liverpool this week for talks over striker Milan Baros.

When Liverpool visit Turin for their Champions League return-leg, Juve intend to open formal negotiations for the Czech Republic international.

Juve have decided to step up their interest after Valencia president Juan Soler shocked interested clubs by revealing they had been speaking with Baros about next season.

CanIsayNo
11-04-2005, 11:11 PM
no gerrard... hopefully alonso can do something

daylight
11-04-2005, 11:19 PM
really sibei suay sia......

really bad luck.
so many injuries
never ending injuries

spinelli
12-04-2005, 12:15 AM
knn....if we win man city and lost G.H i still feel better...lost the game and him together wow kaoz!! :s27:

CanIsayNo
12-04-2005, 12:51 AM
lost gh??? u mean gerrard? ya.. sucks to lose to man c and gerrard... well if liverpool gets past juve, which i think they will, then its all good :d

elbib00
12-04-2005, 01:02 AM
it is really wtf. the list just goes on n on....

AhHuat
12-04-2005, 02:15 AM
guys relax man.....be positive and optimistic

crazynut06
12-04-2005, 02:23 AM
well...it's a team game...
the rest of the team will just have to step up their game...

keltan
12-04-2005, 06:09 AM
BAROS: WE CAN REACH SEMI-FINAL
Steve Hunter 11 April 2005
Milan Baros returns from a domestic suspension in Turin on Wednesday night determined to help Liverpool reach the semi-finals of the Champions League.
The Czech striker said the first leg performance has given everybody a lot of confidence and he says there is no reason why Liverpool can't score an away goal and beat Juventus.

Baros told Liverpoolfc.tv: "When you beat a side like Juventus your confidence grows. It was great to win that game.

"we had nothing to lose in the first game at Anfield. Everyone spoke about Juventus and how they would go through easily but we just got on with what we had to do and play our football. We are in the last eight now and we have the second leg on Wednesday. We want to reach the semi-finals but there is a long way to go.

"I think we can score a goal in Juventus. We thought 2-0 was a good result but they scored a goal and now we have to go to Turin and try to score a goal. Of course it is going to be difficult but while 2-1 is not the best it is also not the worst result."

keltan
12-04-2005, 06:09 AM
ALONSO POSER FOR BENITEZ
Team Talk 11 April 2005

Steven Gerrard's shock withdrawal from Liverpool's Champions League showdown with Juventus puts Spanish international Xabi Alonso in line for a first-team comeback.

The ??10 million midfielder, signed from Real Sociedad last summer, could be thrust into the cauldron of the Stadio Delle Alpi on Wednesday as Liverpool try to defend a 2-1 first-leg lead against the Italian giants with a semi-final spot at stake and Gerrard sidelined by a groin injury.

Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez left Alonso out of Saturday's disappointing defeat at Manchester City to give him a full three days of extra training with a view to including the 23 year-old in the squad for the trip to Turin.

Benitez had then hoped to use Alonso as a sub, but now with Gerrard ruled out of the trip, the Spaniard could find himself on from the start.

The loss of Gerrard is a big blow to Liverpool, who have seen their entire season disrupted by a succession of serious injuries to major stars.

Now for their biggest European game in 20 years, skipper Gerrard will be left at home to watch the match on TV while the rest of his colleagues jet out to Turin on Tuesday morning.

A club spokesman confirmed Gerrard's absence, saying: "Gerrard will not travel with the squad to Turin on Tuesday but will stay at Melwood for further treatment.

"Club doctors are hopeful Gerrard he may be able to recover in time to be involved in the game against Tottenham at Anfield on Saturday."

Gerrard picked up the injury early on in Saturday's 1-0 defeat by Manchester City and it is hard to imagine a more devastating blow for Benitez to handle.

He will have Milan Baros and Sami Hyypia back in the side, but Fernando Morientes and Mauricio Pellegrino are both cup tied.

Now Gerrard is added to an injury list that reads like a full first team, with Harry Kewell, Chris Kirkland, Djibril Cisse, Dietmar Hamann, Josemi, Florent Sinama-Pongolle and Neil Mellor all injured.

Benitez must also decide whether experienced keeper Jerzy Dudek is fit enough after his hamstring problem to take over from rookie Scott Carson in Turin.

Now Alonso, who was on the bench for the first leg with Juventus last week, has not played since breaking an ankle following a tackle by Frank Lampard when Chelsea won at Anfield on New Year's Day.

And even then Benitez made it very clear that he would only use Alonso "if things were not going very well".

He decided not to risk the midfielder at The City of Manchester Stadium, holding him back for the trip to Italy.

But now the alternatives without Hamann and Gerrard are very slim for the Spanish boss. He is already forced to play Igor Biscan in one central midfield role and John Welsh is certainly not experienced enough to take the other position, so Alonso is the only other choice.

keltan
12-04-2005, 06:10 AM
CAPELLO WARY OF LIVERPOOL SET-PIECES
Mark Platt 11 April 2005
Juventus coach Fabio Capello admits the threat posed by Liverpool from free-kicks is a source of worry for him ahead of the Champions League quarter-final 2nd leg in Turin.
With the Reds leading 2-1 from the first leg Capello has spoken about the size of the task facing his side at the Stadio Delle Alpi on Wednesday.

He says: "Liverpool are an excellent squad that defends with a great deal of attention. They are a really good and strong team. Unfortunately, we are a bit short on height at the moment and they are really dangerous on free kicks."

Capello's Juve warmed up for the visit of Liverpool with a 3-3 draw against bitter rivals Fiorentina at the weekend and he believes the game was ideal preparation.

"The fact we have recovered the result three times has been really important from a psychological level but the character my team showed in the whole match has also been really important," he added

keltan
12-04-2005, 06:10 AM
NEDVED: WE WON'T MAKE SAME MISTAKES AGAIN
Mark Platt 11 April 2005
Pavel Nedved is well aware of what is required from Juventus ahead of the Champions League quarter-final second leg against Liverpool in Turin and insists they will not be making the same mistakes they made at Anfield.
The Reds lead Juve 2-1 from the first leg but Nedved appears to be in a confident frame of mind as he prepares for the second instalment at the Stadio Delle Alpi.

"The first leg match helped us learn an important thing, we have not to sleep in the first part of the match. We must try to score and at the same time be attentive on defence," says the Czech playmaker.

"I've seem them against Manchester City, they lost, it's true, but they suffered the score only at the end of match."

Nedved injured his back in Juve's weekend draw with Fiorentina but is optimistic about his prospects of facing Liverpool on Wednesday.

"I really think I'll be on the pitch. I've been absent for a long time and now it must stop," he adds.

younggun__007
12-04-2005, 01:24 PM
the depth and strength of the squad is down to bare bones liaoz...

stansays
12-04-2005, 01:47 PM
lost gh??? u mean gerrard? ya.. sucks to lose to man c and gerrard... well if liverpool gets past juve, which i think they will, then its all good :d

Dont worry brother! We have the depth to dig under. With Alonso back, I believe RB might risk him since Gerard might recover in time if we qualify for the semis.

Mancity game is history coz we are more worry for CL and knowing that we can win the Champions to earn the auto qualification for next year CL without having to fight for the forth placing in EPL like mad. Leave it to Everton, Boro and others to thrash it out.

Hahahaha...

stansays
12-04-2005, 01:47 PM

Dont worry brother! We have the depth to dig under. With Alonso back, I believe RB might risk him since Gerard might recover in time if we qualify for the semis.

Mancity game is history coz we are more worry for CL and knowing that we can win the Champions to earn the auto qualification for next year CL without having to fight for the forth placing in EPL like mad. Leave it to Everton, Boro and others to thrash it out.

Hahahaha...

RadEoNic
12-04-2005, 02:01 PM
who said that if we win, we gain auto qualification...it depends on FA...

Didjerama
12-04-2005, 03:14 PM
very very tough for liverpool...cos liverpool always ply their strength in the middle where the 2defensive midfielders sit..

now both first chioce defensive midfielders are out...thats leaves with john welsh,biscan and alonso..

the problem is only john welsh is an out-an-out defensive midfielders...

with the wingers still unstable except for riise..i think pool is going to do tons of defending in this game

spinelli
12-04-2005, 03:42 PM
who said that if we win, we gain auto qualification...it depends on FA...

true.but seriously i dun think the FA will be so stupid not to let their own team to defend the title right?? :s8:

daylight
12-04-2005, 05:01 PM
Rafael Benitez today revealed that Djibril Cisse could return to action three months ahead of schedule if the Reds desperately need to score in the later stages of the Champions League tie against Juventus.

__CcW__
12-04-2005, 07:39 PM
RICK PARRY AND CHAIRMAN MOORES(however u spell), PLS SACK THE PHYSIO OR WHOEVER IS IN CHARGE OF MAINTAING THE PLAYERS' FITNESS LEVEL.......

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:03 PM
Liverpool and Bolton will fight it out this summer for Malaga defender/midfielder Juanito.

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:04 PM
RAFA: CISSE IS AN OPTION AGAINST JUVE
Paul Rogers 12 April 2005
Rafael Benitez today revealed that Djibril Cisse could return to action three months ahead of schedule if the Reds desperately need to score in the later stages of the Champions League tie against Juventus.
Click here to watch the full Rafael Benitez press conference from Tuesday morning>>

Speaking at the club's Melwood training complex just moments before boarding the team coach to travel to John Lennon Airport in Speke, Benitez revealed that while Cisse may not be fit after a six-month lay-off due to a broken leg, he'll not only travel with the squad to Italy but could actaully feature in the match at a late stage if Liverpool need to score a goal.

Only two weeks ago, Cisse told liverpoolfc.tv in an exclusive interview that his dream was to return to action in the Champions League final if Liverpool progressed that far. However, now it seems Cisse could be on the bench inside the Stadio Delle Alpi on Wednesday night.

"Cisse is an option maybe towards the end of the game," Benitez told liverpoolfc.tv. "He is not fit because he has not played for six months but he has power, he is very quick and obviously he was the top scorer in France for the last two seasons. We know that if we have a problem, he is a different play who we could call upon.

"He will not start the match, but maybe we will use him in the last 20 minutes or so if we need something different because he is quick and can score goals. He has been saying for a couple of weeks that he is ready, but we have wanted to be careful and make sure he is okay."

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:04 PM
SMICER: TEAM MORE IMPORTANT THAN MY FUTURE
Vladimir Smicer may only have a few months of his Liverpool contract left before he's a free agent but the Czech international has assured supporters that he'll never give less than 100% in a Red shirt.
The 30-year-old has been at Anfield for six years, having been signed from Lens by Gerard Houllier, and whatever the future holds, Smicer insists the team's progress in the Champions League and quest for fourth place are the only pressing matters on his mind.

"I've always tried my best for Liverpool and will continue to do so now," claimed the Liverpool No.11. "These are very exciting times for the club. We have a big challenge to beat Everton to the Champions League spot and the prospect of playing in more Champions League games this season is a big motivation for us all. There is no way I would stop giving my all because I think I may be leaving. I want to play as much as possible."

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:05 PM
LONSO: I'M FIT AND READY TO FACE JUVE
Paul Eaton 12 April 2005
Xabi Alonso has declared himself fit and ready to replace Steven Gerrard in the Liverpool team for tomorrow night's Champions League clash with Juventus.
Gerrard will remain on Merseyside with a groin injury as the Liverpool squad jets off to Turin this morning ahead of their massive test in the Stadio Delle Alpi.

With Dietmar Hamann also unavailable for the game, boss Rafa Benitez must decide whether to select Alonso or John Welsh as Igor Biscan's partner in the centre of the Reds' midfield.

Despite playing only 45 minutes of a reserve game since New Year's Day, Alonso says he's ready for action if selected.

"I am fit, I have had some good training sessions over the weekend and I am ready to play against Juventus if I am required," said Alonso.

"Of course losing Steven Gerrard is a desperate blow but I am ready to play if I am needed.

"I missed the Manchester City game to get extra training sessions in over the weekend and that has allowed me to be prepared for the Champions League game.

"I haven't played for a while but I am fit enough to feature in the game and I am confident I will come through it.

"Even though it is a game of great importance I feel physically ready to play against Juventus. I am fully recuperated and I felt very comfortable with both my game and overall fitness for the reserves last week.

"I can play against Juve and I want to play. I am keen to give my all to help Liverpool reach the semi-final."

And Alonso believes Liverpool can go on to win the competition if they overcome Juventus in Turin tomorrow night.

He added: "Our first leg performance against Juve proved we can beat anybody in Europe.

"If we get through against Juventus I honestly think Liverpool can win the Champions League. Last year Porto did it, so why not Liverpool this year? We have a very good team and are capable of beating any side in Europe."

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:05 PM
STEVIE: THE BOYS CAN WIN WITHOUT ME
Paul Eaton 12 April 2005
Steven Gerrard has backed his Liverpool team-mates to come through the toughest test of their season without him in Turin tomorrow night.
Gerrard admits he's devastated to be ruled out of the Champions League clash with Juventus with a groin injury, but he says there's enough quality in Rafa Benitez's squad to successfully protect their 2-1 first leg lead.

He said: "I am down about the injury but I will be supporting the lads. I am very confident we can get the result we need and get through to the semi-final.

"The lads have already shown this season that they don't miss me and I am confident they can do it again."

AhnNakata7
12-04-2005, 09:08 PM
read sumthing from the liverpoolfc.tv

one person sae he was outside lpools traini ground today gettin autographs and he seen raul (real madrid). he was coming out of the trainin ground in Morientos' car and he had been inside for about 2 hours. i think that every1 should no this before it becomes public he must hav bin havin talks with lpool about a possible move imo.
get in!!!!!!!!1

http://forums.liverpoolfc.tv/Forum15/HTML/014330.html

duno real anot...

daylight
12-04-2005, 09:28 PM
cisse will be travelling to turin.
but he will not start.

Djibril Cisse made a surprise return to the Liverpool squad after he was named in the Reds party for Wednesday's quarter-final clash with Juventus.

hueman
12-04-2005, 09:35 PM
but he will not start.

Djibril Cisse made a surprise return to the Liverpool squad after he was named in the Reds party for Wednesday's quarter-final clash with Juventus.
i would rather not risk him.. he can't afford another injury

CanIsayNo
12-04-2005, 09:38 PM
maybe he's really ready... after all, he's been running for quite a while now... just hope that he doesnt get scared to go in for challenges

iwish
12-04-2005, 09:58 PM

one person sae he was outside lpools traini ground today gettin autographs and he seen raul (real madrid). he was coming out of the trainin ground in Morientos' car and he had been inside for about 2 hours. i think that every1 should no this before it becomes public he must hav bin havin talks with lpool about a possible move imo.
get in!!!!!!!!1

duno real anot...
hmm...i dont fancy raul......

iwish
12-04-2005, 10:04 PM
but he will not start.

hehe the 1st leg we have alonso who havent played a match in 3-4 months on the bench..and we won
this time round..we have cisse..again back after 6 months w/o a match on the bench...hopefully the same result as first leg :)

hmm...do the players happen to return now...or RB had been planning thier returns for CL....ehehehe

daylight
12-04-2005, 10:34 PM
since gerrard is out, alonso will have to start this time.
no more wayang liao

hwaa
12-04-2005, 10:56 PM

get in!!!!!!!!1

duno real anot...
:eek: :eek: :eek:

tat's quite shocking if it's real..

hwaa
12-04-2005, 10:57 PM
cham liao lah, so many injuries!

there's still time, there's still hope!!

pray ah!! gerrard com'on!!!

RadEoNic
12-04-2005, 11:13 PM
:eek: :eek: :eek:

tat's quite shocking if it's real..
i wan to NPNT him leh

SongLongZi
12-04-2005, 11:29 PM
hmm...i dont fancy raul......

solari is better..

melankholy
12-04-2005, 11:41 PM
no thank you. give me owen anytime.

crazynut06
12-04-2005, 11:47 PM
i wan to NPNT him leh

:s13: :s13: go register at that forum...then npnt him lor

stansays
13-04-2005, 01:07 AM

get in!!!!!!!!1

duno real anot...

Wu yar bo! Speculation only lah. Anyway Liverpool need no more Strikers.

Mohawks
13-04-2005, 02:09 AM
Wu yar bo! Speculation only lah. Anyway Liverpool need no more Strikers.
Only if Raul wants his leg broken or something like that :s13:

Ronaldo_7
13-04-2005, 03:02 AM
eh guys.. Djibril Cisse tml coming back huh?? isit true?

CanIsayNo
13-04-2005, 03:51 AM
come on bayern, do a liverpool!!!

Raul7
13-04-2005, 07:26 AM
Only if Raul wants his leg broken or something like that :s13:

:s31: hahahaha.......

Raul7
13-04-2005, 07:27 AM
come on bayern, do a liverpool!!!

haiz........gone case liao.

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 07:59 AM
ANFIELD ATMOSPHERE LEAVES ITALIANS IN AWE
It wasn't just a 2-1 defeat that Juventus left England with last week. It seems many of their players also left with unbelievable memories of the passionate atmosphere inside Anfield.
At the weekend John Aldridge described the atmosphere inside Anfield against Juventus as the best he'd experienced since the Kop became all-seater and it seems that Aldo wasn't the only one who walked out of the ground in awe of what they'd just witnessed off the pitch.

In the press box in the Main Stand, the correspondent for Italy's biggest sports paper Gazzetta dello Sport couldn't believe what he was seeing.

"The fantastic atmosphere at Anfield was like an electric shock for Liverpool's players, who started the match at an astonishing tempo," he wrote. "They seemed unstoppable."

Fabio Capello was equally amazed by the wall of sound generated by the home fans straight after the impeccably observed minute's silence.

"At Anfield, even experienced players can have a bad start because of the excitement of playing in such a stadium," claimed Capello. "We were constrained, almost in a daze at the start. Pushed by their fans, the Liverpool players were extremely motivated and aggressive. They didn't allow us to play in the first half-hour."

On the pitch, the players from Turin were not afraid to admit that the Liverpool supporter's passion had an effect on their performance.

"The way Liverpool fans sing and support the team throughout the game is fantastic," revealed Fabio Cannavaro, the Juventus goalscorer on the night. "They behaved really well and they can be an example to follow, starting with the return leg."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 07:59 AM
RAFA ON THE TRAVELLING REDS IN TURIN
Mark Platt, in Turin 12 April 2005
Rafael Benitez has spoken about the importance of the travelling support Liverpool will have inside the Stade Delle Alpi on Wednesday night.
An estimated 3,000 Liverpudlians will back the Reds as they aim to book a place in the semi-final of the Champions League and the manager fully appreciates their vocal encouragement.

"Our supporters will be with us all through the game. We need them cheering us all the time and we hope they enjoy the game," said Benitez ahead of his team's final training session before the big game against Juventus.

The Liverpool boss is also well aware of the emotive atmosphere surrounding this tie and added: "We have to respect the families of the Heysel victims. Respect and good football is what we want to see."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:00 AM
JUVE STAR RUBBISHES REDS IN TURIN
Juventus star Emerson has launched a scathing attack on Liverpool less than 24 hours before the two teams meet inside the Stadio Delle Alpi in Turin on Wednesday night.
The Brazilian international, speaking to uefa.com, rubbished Liverpool's chances of qualifying for the semi-finals, claimed Juventus were the better team at Anfield, insisted Luis Garcia got lucky with his goal and questioned the quality of the Liverpool squad.

"We were unlucky to lose in England, especially after the performance we produced in the second half," Emerson said. "They scored from a dead-ball situation and with a strike that I can't see Luis Garcia producing again in another 50 attempts. On the other hand, we hit the post, had a goal disallowed and were stopped twice by great saves from their goalkeeper.

"I am sure things will be very different for Liverpool here in Turin. We are planning to give Liverpool a taste of the same medicine we received at Anfield. Juve are one of the world's hardest sides to beat, even more so when we are playing at home, so we don't fear Liverpool. They will regret having let in that Fabio Cannavaro goal in the first leg.

"Lots of people prefer to talk about Juve's defensive skill, either in a good or a bad way, but we have enough people around able to score goals when we need them. We have Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Alessandro Del Piero and Marcelo Zalayeta who can score goals and I fancy my own chances of scoring on Wednesday too. I don't believe Liverpool can keep a clean sheet against us in Turin."

Emerson also stated that without the injured Steven Gerrard, Liverpool have very little else to worry Juve.

"Liverpool do not have a fantastic squad, but in individual terms, Steven Gerrard is an amazing player. He is very intelligent and also deceptively quick. He is their best player by a long way."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:00 AM
DEL PIERO: FANS SHOULD ACCEPT REDS APOLOGY
Alessandro Del Piero, the Juventus captain, has urged his club's supporters to accept Liverpool Football Club's apology over the events that marred the 1985 European Cup final and left 39 supporters dead inside the Heysel Stadium.
While no one connected to either club will forget what happened in Belgium 20 years ago, Del Piero believes that the 'In Memory and Friendship' theme of last Tuesday's emotional night at Anfield has gone a long way to bringing the two sets of supporters closer together.

"The Heysel tragedy is a painful memory that we cannot erase," claimed the legendary Italian striker, "but I believe our fans should have the intelligence and wisdom to accept Liverpool's apology. Liverpool have said sorry and shown their regret and I hope that this sentiment is stronger than bitterness. What happened 20 years ago cannot and must not be forgotten. It's only right that we remember, but above all it should be a lesson for the future."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:01 AM
DUDEK: WE CAN WIN WITHOUT STEVIE
Paul Eaton in Turin 12 April 2005
Jerzy Dudek believes Liverpool can overcome the loss of Steven Gerrard and book their place in the last four of the Champions League.
The Reds will be protecting a 2-1 lead when they kick off against Juventus in the imposing Stadio Delle Alpi, but they will do so without their inspirational skipper who has remained on Merseyside nursing a groin injury.

Manager Rafa Benitez will, however, be able to call on the services of Xabi Alonso for the first time since New Year's Day after he made a successful comeback for the reserves in midweek.

And Dudek says the return of the Reds' ??10 million midfielder could prove to be of massive importance on the night.

"Of course losing Stevie is a big blow because he is a great player and he is our captain. But we have Xabi coming back and that's great news for us," said Dudek ahead of a training session on a rain soaked pitch on Tuesday evening.

"It looks like he might play alongside Igor in the midfield and I'm sure they'll both do well because they have a lot of qualities.

"I believe we can win this tie. We have come here full of confidence after our performance against Juventus last week, particularly in the first half.

"Before that game Juventus were big favourites to win the tie but now we have given ourselves a real chance.

"I remember three years ago when we played the second leg of a Champions League quarter final and didn't make it through. I hope we can do it this time."

Dudek dismissed suggestions that the fact he was made available for the media to speak to means he will replace Scott Carson in the Reds' goal.

"Just because I'm here speaking to you doesn't mean I'll play," said Dudek. "All the players have to do these press conferences at some point.

"I am fit if selected and am here as part of the squad."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:01 AM
BOOKIES WRITE OFF LIVERPOOL CHANCES
Liverpool have it all to do to get a result in the Stadio Delle Alpi and progress to the Champions League semi-final, according to the bookies.
The Reds take a 2-1 lead from the first leg to Turin but will line up without talisman captain Steven Gerrard against a side that has won every one of their home games in Europe this season.

Ladbrokes are odds on at 1/2 about Juve, with the draw 12/5 and an away victory priced at 5/1.

Area Manager Phil Cavanagh said: "Liverpool will be fielding a much changed side from the one that beat Fabio Capello's AS Roma 2-0 in 2001 and make no mistake about it, they have a huge job on. With Steven Gerrard added to the list of big names out of contention, the onus is now on players such as Luis Garcia and Milan Baros to put in a big performance.

"Fans won't thank me for saying it, but they should look to Manchester United for some inspiration. They beat Juve 3-0 in Turin in 2003 after a 2-1 win at home so it can definitely be done."

Garcia, who netted in the first leg and is Liverpool's top scorer in the Champions League with four goals, is excellent value at 10/1 to be the first scorer on Wednesday. Xabi Alonso may return to the Liverpool side to replace Steven Gerrard. The Spaniard is priced at 16/1 to open the scoring.

Benitez has revealed French international Djibril Cisse could return to action three months ahead of schedule if Liverpool are desperate to score in the later stages of the game. The French international is priced at 8/1 to score the last goal.

At 10/11, an Italian club are favourites to win the 2005 Champions League. Ladbrokes price Juve at 11/2 to win the competition and make Liverpool a 9/1 chance.

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:02 AM
JUVE STARS ON WHY THEY FEAR THE REDS
Juventus might have grabbed an away goal at Anfield last week but the defeat to Liverpool hurt more than many of us expected. Today, Fabio Capello and his players have been speaking about why the Reds will be dangerous in Turin.
Mauro Camoranesi on losing his head

"At Anfield I shouted at the rest of the lads. It was the first time I've completely lost my head in a game. I lost my head and we lost the game. I think the winner of this tie will win the Champions League."

Emerson on how much Anfield defeat hurt

"That defeat damaged our pride very deeply. Liverpool caused us a crisis. I couldn't sleep that night because in the bus back from the stadium there was tension in the air and all the boys were pointing the finger of blame at each other."

Fabio Capello on tactics

"Obviously we need a goal but we haven't to be in a panic to get it. Our defence is quick enough but we need to watch out for their counter-attacks. The important thing will be to get a grip of the game in midfield."

Alessandro Del Piero on Liverpool's 'weak' points

"One of their weak points could be our quick passing on the ground, given that they are very good in the air but we have to watch out for the breaks because they can come at you very quickly. In the last round we needed to score twice against Real Madrid to go through and we did it. This time one could be enough. They have a good scoring record away from home though."

Fabio Capello on Liverpool's defence

"Liverpool are an excellent squad that defends with a great deal of attention. They are a really good and strong team. Unfortunately, we are a bit short on height at the moment and they are really dangerous on free kicks."

Pavel Nedved on why Juve won't underestimate the Reds

"The first leg match helped us learn an important thing, we have not to sleep in the first part of the match. We must try to score and at the same time be attentive on defence. I've seem them against Manchester City, they lost, it's true, but they suffered the score only at the end of match."

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:03 AM
RAFA'S CHAMPIONS LEAGUE Q & A
Rafael Benitez on Juventus, Djibril Cisse, Steven Gerrard, Xabi Alonso, Liverpool supporters and why football is nothing like chess...
Click here to watch all of Rafael Benitez's pre-Turin press conference>>

Rafa, it's great news that Djibril Cisse and Xabi Alonso have both travelled to Turin?

"When you have big problems, you need big solutions. We have been trying to recuperate some players for the squad for some weeks now. For this game, OK, we know Djibril Cisse has not played for six months but he is a good player, he's quick, he score goals and he is a possibility. Even forgetting this match and thinking about our next games, it's important to have more good players in the squad."

It's about time you had some good news on the injury front?

"I think in the next few weeks we will see more players either playing or training with the team again. Josemi is close to coming back and also Dietmar Hamann and Harry Kewell. I hope that in maybe two or three weeks, we could see all the squad training again."

Obviously Steven Gerrard hasn't travelled to Turin but how much heart can you take from the fact that you have already performed well in Europe without him?

"Well, everyone knows that Stevie is a key player for us and we were thinking about maybe using him but we knew that it could be a big risk and in the end we decided to leave him behind to work with the physio so he could be ready for the next game. For us it is bad news but we will try to do different things without him."

Are you concerned about Xabi Alonso considering he has only played 45 minutes of Reserve team football?

"We will have to make a decision on Xabi on Wednesday. He can play because there is no problem with his ankle, that is fine, but his problem is that he's not in the physical condition that you need at this level. Against that, we have to weight up the fact that he is an important player, he's a good passer and he can control the game. The decision we need to make is whether he will play the second half or whether he can start the game."

Will the game in Turin be more of a tactical battle than anything else?

"No, I don't think so. I always say that at this level it is about 11 good players playing against 11 good players. Sometimes tactics can win a match, other times it could be a mistake that decides things or even a goal from a set piece. Football is always different. Chess is a tactical battle because it is one player against another but here you have 22 players and a referee and anything can happen."

How important will the first goal be on the night?

"It will be very important if we score it! We are going to Turin to win the match. We will try to be compact in defence and try to score a goal. They will attack, sure, but that will leave us space and maybe we will have more options."

Milan Baros will return for Wednesday night's match after his suspension at the weekend. Has his best form come in Europe this season?

"Milan has played a lot of good games throughout the season both in England and also in the Champions League. I hope that after the game on Wednesday, people say that was his best performance of the season."

Cisse is another option now, isn't he?

"Cisse is an option but only maybe at the end. After six months, he is not fit but he is quick and he was the top scorer in France for the past two seasons. We know that if we have a problem, we can use a different player like Cisse."

Juventus have always been notorious for having a strong defence but you must take heart from the fact that they conceded three at the weekend?

"They conceded two against us in the Champions League and three at the weekend in the league so that is five in two games. That is good news for us."

Was Scott Carson's performance at the weekend another boost after some people blamed him for the away goal Juventus scored at Anfield?

"When we decided to sign Scott, we knew that he could be a good goalkeeper for the future. He is a young boy who is working hard at the club and learning all the time. He is a good goalkeeper and he can play very good games for us."

Although you arrive in Turin with a 2-1 lead, many people believe that you are the underdogs to qualify. Is that how you like it?

"It is good for us that people say these things. When you look at the players they have and the fact that they are playing in the Stadio Delle Alpi, I can see why people say they are the favourite but remember that they were the favourites at Anfield and we won."

With so many injuries, it's going to be a big night for Luis Garcia. How big a role will he have to play on Wednesday night?

"Luis is a talented player who can do very different things. We hope to see the best of Luis in this game against Juventus."

What is your message to the Liverpool supporters travelling to Turin?

"I think it's important to have respect for the opposing supporters but after they must cheer our team as normal. The fans know how important their cheering is for us. We must respect what has happened in the past but this is a football game."

A few weeks ago, you spoke of how you had been watching classic matches from Liverpool glorious European campaigns to give you inspiration. Do you hope that in years to come, people may remember Wednesday's game as another great European night?

"I think people are already talking about the last match against Juventus as one of the best games in Liverpool'shistory and I hope that next week, more people can talk about this match as one of our best away performances. I want to play more than just one more game in Europe this season."

And finally, have you decided who will captain the team in Steven Gerrard's absence?

"Maybe Sami."

zeddie
13-04-2005, 09:20 AM
Liverpool RULES!!! Modest and a team with rich history!!!!!!

zeddie
13-04-2005, 09:21 AM
Carra can be a good captain... very pia!!!!

Keo_86
13-04-2005, 09:35 AM
Juventus star Emerson has launched a scathing attack on Liverpool less than 24 hours before the two teams meet inside the Stadio Delle Alpi in Turin on Wednesday night.
The Brazilian international, speaking to uefa.com, rubbished Liverpool's chances of qualifying for the semi-finals, claimed Juventus were the better team at Anfield, insisted Luis Garcia got lucky with his goal and questioned the quality of the Liverpool squad.

"We were unlucky to lose in England, especially after the performance we produced in the second half," Emerson said. "They scored from a dead-ball situation and with a strike that I can't see Luis Garcia producing again in another 50 attempts. On the other hand, we hit the post, had a goal disallowed and were stopped twice by great saves from their goalkeeper.

"I am sure things will be very different for Liverpool here in Turin. We are planning to give Liverpool a taste of the same medicine we received at Anfield. Juve are one of the world's hardest sides to beat, even more so when we are playing at home, so we don't fear Liverpool. They will regret having let in that Fabio Cannavaro goal in the first leg.

"Lots of people prefer to talk about Juve's defensive skill, either in a good or a bad way, but we have enough people around able to score goals when we need them. We have Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Alessandro Del Piero and Marcelo Zalayeta who can score goals and I fancy my own chances of scoring on Wednesday too. I don't believe Liverpool can keep a clean sheet against us in Turin."

Emerson also stated that without the injured Steven Gerrard, Liverpool have very little else to worry Juve.

"Liverpool do not have a fantastic squad, but in individual terms, Steven Gerrard is an amazing player. He is very intelligent and also deceptively quick. He is their best player by a long way."

WHAT THE **** IS THIS GUY TALKING!!!!! :s27: :mad:

This is really an insult lor! "They scored from a dead-ball situation and with a strike that I can't see Luis Garcia producing again in another 50 attempts"

"I am sure things will be very different for Liverpool here in Turin. We are planning to give Liverpool a taste of the same medicine we received at Anfield."

KNN!!!!Garcia to score again the same goal last week man!!!!! let them see tyco or lucky!! :s27:

daylight
13-04-2005, 10:09 AM
garcia will score again tonite

daylight
13-04-2005, 10:11 AM

WHAT THE **** IS THIS GUY TALKING!!!!! :s27: :mad:

This is really an insult lor! "They scored from a dead-ball situation and with a strike that I can't see Luis Garcia producing again in another 50 attempts"

"I am sure things will be very different for Liverpool here in Turin. We are planning to give Liverpool a taste of the same medicine we received at Anfield."

KNN!!!!Garcia to score again the same goal last week man!!!!! let them see tyco or lucky!! :s27:

juventus players as arrogant some team from london

RadEoNic
13-04-2005, 10:34 AM
emerson must have had his pride totally shattered last week

crazynut06
13-04-2005, 10:53 AM
sigh....
wanna play mind games eh

Raul7
13-04-2005, 11:04 AM
emerson must have had his pride totally shattered last week

hahahaha.....

jamstart
13-04-2005, 11:35 AM
Juventus, just let the horse come, we will take on you!!

RadEoNic
13-04-2005, 11:42 AM
just bring it lah
win or lose, no shame
our third injury team will prolly beat juventus,much less our first team

redstar19
13-04-2005, 11:45 AM
just stay tune to the TV for the match....

jamstart
13-04-2005, 11:46 AM
Even if we lost tonight, it is already a great achievement for the Pool. Never have them to reach this stage with so many injuries.

X18
13-04-2005, 11:52 AM
Go Go Go, liverpool!

YNWA! :)

younggun__007
13-04-2005, 11:54 AM
I have Hope...
Hope Juve get knock out by LIVERPOOL! :s12: :s12: :s12:

spinelli
13-04-2005, 01:22 PM
With hope in your heart,and you will never walk alone :s7:

iwish
13-04-2005, 03:13 PM
hehe i am putting my faith and money on liverpool to win tonight :)
if we can get an early goal........

CanIsayNo
13-04-2005, 03:41 PM
Even if we lost tonight, it is already a great achievement for the Pool. Never have them to reach this stage with so many injuries.
that's not a good way to look at it... it's LIVERPOOL....

juventus is a great club, but no club is greater than LIVERPOOL

Raul7
13-04-2005, 03:41 PM

yes, but i hope they can go thru n kick chelsea out of CL....i got faith in them. they can do it

X18
13-04-2005, 03:45 PM

second that! ;)

Didjerama
13-04-2005, 04:03 PM
its possible but its very very very tough...juventus have always scored at home and teams find it hard to score against them at turin...

and without gerrard,its really tough..

but if RB can pull this off,i think he should be nominated for manager of the year

jamstart
13-04-2005, 05:55 PM
its possible but its very very very tough...juventus have always scored at home and teams find it hard to score against them at turin...

but if RB can pull this off,i think he should be nominated for manager of the year
Not till he wins the CL Cup.....

Raul7
13-04-2005, 06:01 PM

yes man.......

Keo_86
13-04-2005, 06:40 PM
Erm....hey guys.....who sang the oringnal version of You will never walk alone????
I search ares.....what I was like..... :s22: soooo many artist sing that song sia...... :s22:

and erm.......is there a version of this song that only got the vocal voices of the people singing??? without any music one.....just like those chanting inside Anfield.....

if you got this version.....kindly upload it here......I would like to have this version......thank you!!!! :D

bwaysaibi
13-04-2005, 07:13 PM
gerry and the pacemakers

bwaysaibi
13-04-2005, 07:14 PM
When you walk through the storm
Hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark
At the end of the storm
There's a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of the lark

Walk on, through the wind
Walk on, through the rain
Though your dreams be tossed and blown
Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

Walk on, walk on, with hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

InsaneClownPosse
13-04-2005, 07:17 PM
Arsenal fan here wishing LIVERPOOL best of luck !

beat those italian whiners !!!!!!!!!

Come On U Reds !~~~~

http://www.barmyflags.co.uk/flags/20050326192034.jpg

X18
13-04-2005, 07:31 PM

Come On U Reds !~~~~

How sweet of u..:s41: thanks!!
GO GO GO, Reds!!!!!! :D
later must go to bed earlier, if not later cannot wake up to watch the match..lol

stansays
13-04-2005, 08:01 PM

Come On U Reds !~~~~

Thanks will Thrash them! :s13:

hwaa
13-04-2005, 08:03 PM

LIVERPOOL LIVERPOOL LIVERPOOL LIVERPOOL LIVERPOOL!!!!

hwaa
13-04-2005, 08:11 PM
solari is better..

i think solari is so so only ... :D

Raul7
13-04-2005, 08:18 PM

Come On U Reds !~~~~

yeah man.... i'm just a netrual fan...i'm behind Liverpool all the way......... :)

AhnNakata7
13-04-2005, 08:43 PM

Come On U Reds !~~~~

yeah i juz love dis:D:D

Raul7
13-04-2005, 08:51 PM
yeah i juz love dis:D:D

hahahaha...... =:p

younggun__007
13-04-2005, 08:58 PM
天能倒
地能摇
当是。。。

YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE!!!

:D

Keo_86
13-04-2005, 09:16 PM
is there a version of this song that only got the vocal voices of the people singing??? without any music one.....just like those chanting inside Anfield.....

melankholy
13-04-2005, 09:18 PM
i have a version that was recorded while the fans were singing.
A lot of crowd noise though

daylight
13-04-2005, 09:23 PM
go liverpool go

Keo_86
13-04-2005, 09:24 PM
i have a version that was recorded while the fans were singing.
A lot of crowd noise though

it will be kind of you to upload it... :D :o

burger
13-04-2005, 11:01 PM
Erm....hey guys.....who sang the oringnal version of You will never walk alone????
I search ares.....what I was like..... :s22: soooo many artist sing that song sia...... :s22:

and erm.......is there a version of this song that only got the vocal voices of the people singing??? without any music one.....just like those chanting inside Anfield.....

if you got this version.....kindly upload it here......I would like to have this version......thank you!!!! :D

Original song lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein and music by Richard Rodgers from a musical called "Carousel"

It was later made famous by Gerry and the Pacemakers

hwaa
13-04-2005, 11:06 PM
all watching tonight's game?

grrr hope i dun fall aslp again!! :sad:

Keo_86
13-04-2005, 11:34 PM
now I am trying to find just the voices of the fans singing the you'll never walk alone music only....without any music or effect one........machiam like in stadium like that.....any one got??? :s11:

Didjerama
13-04-2005, 11:45 PM
bro,i remembred asking this same thing..the link is somewhere in this thread..why dont you try searching for my post'.....it says something like 'my cd broken''...and someone replied with the link

Keo_86
14-04-2005, 01:52 AM
bro,i remembred asking this same thing..the link is somewhere in this thread..why dont you try searching for my post'.....it says something like 'my cd broken''...and someone replied with the link

"my cd broken"???

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 02:33 AM
Team in full: Dudek, Finnan, Traore, Hyypia (captain), Carragher, Riise, Biscan, Alonso, Nunez, Garcia, Baros. Subs - Carson, Cisse, Smicer, Le Tallec, Warnock, Welsh, Potter.

dareth
14-04-2005, 03:21 AM
the linesman seem to be on our side :)

X18
14-04-2005, 03:33 AM
whew..survived the first half...45 mins to go!!!
Come on, Liverpool! Score one goal and Juve is doomed..haha.. :D

elbib00
14-04-2005, 03:36 AM
yup
veyr peaceful 1st half
hope it continues!

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 03:46 AM
2nd half surely more action... juve will attack more and liverpool will try to get a goal

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 03:47 AM
the linesman seem to be on our side :)
not anymore now that it's 2nd half

dareth
14-04-2005, 03:53 AM
nb..baros just cannot score.. but he score beautilfully for cezch :(

dareth
14-04-2005, 04:18 AM
cisse is in... can he play or not... too risky man :(

Raul7
14-04-2005, 04:34 AM
Liverpool can make it!!!!!!!!!!! lets roar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dareth
14-04-2005, 04:35 AM
liverpool is through!!!!!!

hueman
14-04-2005, 04:46 AM
fantastic effort... other than baros, everyone else played superbly...

hyypia was gigantic, alonso was amazingly fit.. well done lads

xJoker
14-04-2005, 04:46 AM
weeee~~~~~ Reds are through!!!! Well done LADS!!!!!!!!

younggun__007
14-04-2005, 04:47 AM
Hoseh!!!

Ah Ma Down!!!

Now For Lj Mourinho!!!

Shut The Fark Up Mourinho!

Didjerama
14-04-2005, 04:47 AM
all my life i supported liverpool they never made it this far...90 minutes from the final and 180 minutes from the cup...let do it man

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 04:48 AM
superb defending... at the last part juve was desperately trying long balls... doesn't work against liverpool :D

sad... i expected liverpool to score

rascalboy
14-04-2005, 04:50 AM
We r gonna beat Chelsea this time and go to the final and beat Mlian....hahaha

Didjerama
14-04-2005, 04:52 AM
chelsea in two weeks..hopefully we can get hamann and gerrard back by then...i tot igor biscan was the MOM....he received god damn dunno how many tackles and really played well defensively...pool should be ready to offer him a new contract

melankholy
14-04-2005, 04:53 AM
we're looking for blood in the chelsea match!
revenge!

YNWA!
semi finals man!

xJoker
14-04-2005, 04:55 AM
weeee~~~~~ Reds are through!!!! Well done LADS!!!!!!!!

X18
Very well organised and displined performance from the lads!! Superb defending!

I really hope that Hyypia can continue to be first 11 for the rest of the games of this season. Just take a look at how well he marshalled the defence and won everyball in the air.

Salutes to him! Congratulation to all the lads!!!!

YNWA. :)

croc1977
i thinking......
what if really come through??pool win the champ cup...everton get 4th but still miss out champ league...blues will bang balls anot??

elbib00
14-04-2005, 04:56 AM
Yeahh!!!!!!
Semi Finals Here We Come!!!!

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 05:03 AM
and lampard was saying that chelsea can make it to the finals... fat hope...

PCGamer
14-04-2005, 05:06 AM
Keep the fairytale going :D!!!!

AhHuat
14-04-2005, 05:16 AM
congrats pool !!!!

crazynut06
14-04-2005, 05:52 AM
yahoo!!!!!! :D

hcsiao
14-04-2005, 07:20 AM
Very well organised and displined performance from the lads!! Superb defending!

I really hope that Hyypia can continue to be first 11 for the rest of the games of this season. Just take a look at how well he marshalled the defence and won everyball in the air.

Salutes to him! Congratulation to all the lads!!!!

YNWA. :)

But he kan jiong in the last min.. The goalie can get the ball but he kick backwards..Lucky nothing happen.. Baros still cant score even one-on-one... Don know y he can score earlier on.... Hope Cisse can score..

X18
14-04-2005, 07:40 AM
But he kan jiong in the last min.. The goalie can get the ball but he kick backwards..Lucky nothing happen.. Baros still cant score even one-on-one... Don know y he can score earlier on.... Hope Cisse can score..
IMO the keeper reacted too slow. He got no choice to kick backwards coz he can't afford to have any mistake happened to his backline at the very last min.

Baros did a good job in getting past Montero, but his finishing still left very much to be desired..if he scored that goal our job would be much easier.

Overall it was a great performance by the lads. Let's continue to cheer them on and go ahead to defeat the arrogant chelsea in the semi.

YNWA.

Raul7
14-04-2005, 07:45 AM
i salute to Liverpool for going thru to semi........ they can kick chelsea ass....

Raul7
14-04-2005, 07:46 AM
IMO the keeper reacted too slow. He got no choice to kick backwards coz he can't afford to have any mistake happened to his backline at the very last min.

Baros did a good job in getting past Montero, but his finishing still left very much to be desired..if he scored that goal our job would be much easier.

Overall it was a great performance by the lads. Let's continue to cheer them on and go ahead to defeat the arrogant chelsea in the semi.

YNWA.

yes yes, kick chelsea out!!!!! Liverpool can do it. ;)

daylight
14-04-2005, 08:06 AM

alonso can return favour to lampard by sending him packing out

xllms
14-04-2005, 08:19 AM
A jubilant Rafael Benitez has dedicated Liverpool's heroic Champions League triumph over Juventus to the supporters, his staff and everyone who works at the club.
Speaking after the Reds' impressively-earned goalless draw at the Stadio Delle Alpi secured a 2-1 aggregate success and a passage into the last four, Benitez talked of his pride at seeing his side add another famous chapter to Liverpool's rich European history.

"First of all I want to dedicate victory to the fans, to my staff and to the workers of Liverpool Football Club. We have done a good job for them," he declared.

"I am incredibly proud. It is important to be in the semi-final after the year we have had. We know that we are inconsistent but I am delighted to be here.

"I am not surprised at the result because we have been working hard in training. If you'd have seen the sessions you'll know what I mean. We are where we are because we have worked hard for it.

"We tried to keep the ball and play on the counter-attack. Juve are a fantastic team and we knew they would be strong through the middle. It was difficult at times but it worked. It was also nice to see Xabi back and Cisse playing again.

"All the team worked hard though and I don't like to single out individual players. It was a real team effort."

Liverpool now meet Chelsea in an intriguing all-Premiership semi-final clash and although Benitez admitted he thinks the Londoners will be favourites to progress he's confident that the Reds can get through to the final in Istanbul.

"We have confidence in the Champions League," he added. "It will be difficult, we know. And for me they are the favourites but we have nothing to lose. In our last two games against Chelsea we have come close to beating them. Hopefully this time we will."

- Mark Platt, in Turin 13 April 2005
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N148471050413-2232.htm

Kiwi8
14-04-2005, 08:27 AM
all my life i supported liverpool they never made it this far...90 minutes from the final and 180 minutes from the cup...let do it man
Wrong... there are 2 legs in the semifinal but 1 leg in the final, so it should be 180 mins from the final and 270 mins from the cup.

xllms
14-04-2005, 08:34 AM
Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez set his sights on revenge after clinching an all-Premiership Champions League semi-final with Chelsea.

Benitez's injury-hit side went through after a goalless draw against Juventus in Turin gave them a 2-1 aggregate win.

He said: "We have lost three times to Chelsea this season, but we have also almost won three times in two league games and in the Carling Cup final.

"We need to learn from those games and take confidence. I am very proud."

Benitez added: "I am delighted for everyone, and that was a result for our supporters."

Xabi Alonso was outstanding for Liverpool in his first game since 1 January, and Benitez said: "We needed a player who could keep the ball and give good passes, and he had a very good game."

And defender Jamie Carragher also wants revenge against Chelsea, warning: "We'll be desperate to beat them.

"All the games we've played against them have been very tight so hopefully it will go our way."

Carragher added: "We've had a history of being one of the top teams in Europe and getting to the semi-finals of the Champions League is where the club needs to be every season. We need to get into these type of situations.

"Juventus are a top team and we were playing against some top players.

"We knew they would have good chances but I think they had more chances at Anfield, Zlatan Ibrahimovic missed in the first half and then I don't know how Fabio Cannavaro's header stayed out, but besides that we kept them out well.

"You've got to keep it tight. It gives you more belief to get to half-time at 0-0, it's little stages all the time, and in the end we got to the final whistle."

Juventus coach Fabio Capello admitted Liverpool were stubborn opposition.

He said: "Obviously it is a painful defeat, not just for me but for everyone at the club because getting to the end of the Champions League is very important to this club.

"I have to congratulate Rafa, tactically he was clever. He decided to play very defensively but his team followed his plans very well.

"They left us very little room to work in, there was hardly any chances and Liverpool were excellent in the way they played."

Capello added: "It wasn't true what was said prior to this game that Liverpool were weaker than our previous opponents Real Madrid.

"They confirmed they are a very strong team, unbeatable in the air, they deserved to go through because they defended the result they achieved in the opening leg and we did nothing.

"Obviously it is disappointing because to go as far as possible in the Champions League was the objective for both me and the club.

"I did all I could, I put out the team that I considered appropriate but Liverpool defended well. We had no space.

"I think a draw would have been a fair result in both games but I have to congratulate Rafael Benitez, because it's his team that have gone through.

"Had Zlatan Ibrahimovic been able to score in the first half obviously it would have made it much easier."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/europe/4432071.stm

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 08:44 AM
no la coz juv player too close liaoz cannt take chance
later dudek nv come out on time
too risky liaoz mus clear

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 08:46 AM
alonso can return favour to lampard by sending him packing out
ya !!!!
time for him to get a long term injury:D

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 08:52 AM
Move talk nothing to do with me - Owen

Real Madrid striker Michael Owen insists he has nothing to do with the rumours linking him with a return to Liverpool in the summer.

The England striker has scored in his last two games for Madrid, including the 4-2 victory over Barcelona last Sunday.

With 11 league goals from a season in which he has been used predominantly as a substitute, Owen still holds the best goals-per-minute ratio in the Primera Liga.

He denies he has had any problems in his first year in Spain and any input into the persistent transfer talk which has linked him with a return to Liverpool.

"There's never been anything from me," he said.

"I've always said I am happy and I've had a good first year. I've been involved in virtually every game.

"There are people who are talking about my future, but it has not been me."

Owen's record suggests he may have been leading the goalscoring charts had he been given more playing time but the former Liverpool star refused to speculate.

"We'll never know, but you score more goals if you play - and nobody has ever scored a goal from the bench," he said.

"I've not played as much as (leading scorer) Samuel Eto'o and I hope to play more in the future."

Eto'o's goals have helped Barcelona establish themselves at the top of the table and, despite Madrid's weekend win over Barca, Owen believes the title is Barcelona's to lose.

"It's still in Barca's hands, they have a six-point lead and a better goal difference so it only matters what they can do, whether they win the league or not," he added.

"On paper, Barcelona look to have a slightly better few games remaining, but funny things can happen.

"The league's always been in Barcelona's hands and that's still the case. All we can do is win our games but if they win theirs then there's nothing we can do about it."

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 08:53 AM
Arsenal, Liverpool, Everton and Bolton have joined the queue of Premiership clubs chasing Bristol Rovers' teenage striker Scott Sinclair.

Mohawks
14-04-2005, 08:55 AM
well done Liverpool !!! :D

AhnNakata7
14-04-2005, 08:56 AM
Fowler hails Carra
Robbie Fowler has hailed Jamie Carragher as one of The Premiership's best players, and believes the Liverpool defender will be key to The Reds' chances of beating Juventus.

Carragher has been in sparkling form for Rafa Benitez's side this season, but is often the unsung hero of a Liverpool side centred on the dominant presence of club captain Steven Gerrard.

However, with Gerrard set to miss the UEFA Champions League quarter final second leg tie on Wednesday night, former Liverpool striker Fowler has expressed his belief that Carragher will step up to the mantle and prove his class against the Italian giants.

The Bianconeri are currently in contention for the Serie A title and Europe's prestigious prize, although Manchester City striker Fowler believes that Liverpool can progress thanks to the influence of the man he hailed as one of England's finest.

"Steven Gerrard's a great loss but they've got another lad Jamie Carragher and for me I think he's as good as any player in the Premier league at the minute, I think he's that good," Fowler told Sky Sports News.

"Obviously if Jamie gets everyone playing as I'm sure he will do then I think Liverpool have got a great chance.

"Juventus are probably one of the favourites to win the trophy but they beat them at Anfield, this is going to be harder in Turin but I think they are capable of doing it."

Fowler, who made nearly 300 appearances for the Anfield outfit, also pledged his support as Benitez takes his side to what will undoubtedly be an intimidating atmosphere at the Stadio Delle Alpi.

"I think Liverpool are a great side, obviously you always want English clubs to do well in Europe, obviously because I'm from Liverpool and played for them," Fowler continued.

"I want them to progress as far as they can and I hope they do go as far as they can."

If they manage to hold onto their slender 2-1 advantage from the first leg The Reds will face fellow Premiership outfit Chelsea in the semi-finals.

PrinCe_iL
14-04-2005, 09:08 AM
Great defensive work by Liverpool man! :D
Although winning the tie is a little bit of ugly for neutral and juve fans, but it's worth it! :D Both legs proved that Liverpool scored more goals than juventus and also defended better than them! Kudos to Carragher and Hyppia, they have defended exceptionally well!

It was wonderful to see alonso and Cisse (especially) back! Alonson played damn good for a man without a match since New Year. Our dear Cisse is back man! Although lacking match fitness, but he seems destined for big things to come man! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Imagine we have Morientes, Baros & Cisse... Baros on the right wing attack, cisse left wing attack, and morientes and center attack! What a wonderful strikeforce!!!!!!!!!
And for godness sake, don't bring back Owen, we don't need him! :mad:

It's revenge time!!!!!!!!!!! Bring on chelsea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

xllms
14-04-2005, 09:14 AM
seriously i am not sure about the term "ugly"...what Benitez planned was fantastic, to play defensive and prevented them from playing in the italian masters home soil speaks volume...even capello admitted tat Liverpool stifled his team from playing...this is another form of the tactical brilliance of Benitez

if one is to compare on an equal basis, Benitez has made liverpool a team able to play at different ways, and in this case, played a much better game in the classic italian fashion

kudos to the coach, he has sent a few messages across to those who doubted this team n his quality

xllms

Raul7
14-04-2005, 09:20 AM

think he better wait long long cos Liverpool will kick their ass out... ;)

xllms
14-04-2005, 09:23 AM
lets hope gerrard n hamann will be back

would love to see biscan+alonso+hamann midfield combi with cisse or morientes upfront

riise on the left and gerrard on the right

this team will give chelsea a good fight, or even overwhelm them if they apply the correct tactics w plenty of desire to win

xllms

dreamer75
14-04-2005, 09:25 AM
congrats to Liverpool :)

Raul7
14-04-2005, 09:31 AM

would love to see biscan+alonso+hamann midfield combi with cisse or morientes upfront

this team will give chelsea a good fight, or even overwhelm them if they apply the correct tactics w plenty of desire to win

xllms

i cant wait to see this happening also......cheers for Liverpool !!!!! :)

xllms
14-04-2005, 09:33 AM
i cant wait to see this happening also......cheers for Liverpool !!!!! :)

yeah...time to unleash the real Liverpool team

Dudek
Finnan+Carragher+Hyppia+Traore
Gerrard+Alonso+Biscan+Hamann+Riise
Cisse(Morientes)

xllms

crazynut06
14-04-2005, 09:38 AM

xllms

morientes is cup tied for champions league....
and i dun think cisse will start..he's not been playing for so long...
but no matter who re playing...liverpool will give them a gd fight.

Raul7
14-04-2005, 09:47 AM
morientes is cup tied for champions league....
and i dun think cisse will start..he's not been playing for so long...
but no matter who re playing...liverpool will give them a gd fight.

yes, give them as tough as possible.....

yellowsubmarine
14-04-2005, 10:19 AM
Just dropped by to congrat Liverpool! Well done on the advancement!

kahmun7
14-04-2005, 10:19 AM
Oh no..
Liverpool please remember whatever you do, DON'T FIELD GERRARD AGAINST CHELSKI..
skali he score for his future club again...

just kidding yeah... anyway congrats.. and I hope Liverpool will be in the Finals...
good luck..

erm.. Owen weeping yet??

Raul7
14-04-2005, 10:33 AM
can see that got a lot of support from other team fans.cheers for them also :)

younggun__007
14-04-2005, 10:35 AM
No goals last nite...juz the result i wanted.

suffered 2 scares/shocks, 1 in the 1st half, the other in the second. Ibrahimovic was left unmarked as he volley a cross wide. phew...
In the 2nd half, tink traore deflected a header against our own crossbar...den suddenly c the juve players celebrating...the feeling was like "not again"...lucky ref c clearly...phew!

Conclusion: Even with the 2 scares/shocks, the team performed admirably. Notably, hypia, carra, xabi, and baros. u may be surpised y i include baros. he was included simply becoz he ran his heart out for liverpool. dun forget he's holding the line alone and giving montero and cannavaro problems.

Future: Dump Chelski out and Benitez to show the "SHUT UP" sign to LJ More Lim Nio. :s12: :s12: :s12:

Cmon reds! You've come so far....3 more bursts of fire and we are through!

YNWA!!

elbib00
14-04-2005, 10:35 AM
congrats to Liverpool :)
thanx! juve's sacrifice would not account for nothing.
we r getting our key players back at a crucial time!
hopefully we can get alonso, gerrad n cisse fully fit by may 3rd.

Raul7
14-04-2005, 10:43 AM
No goals last nite...juz the result i wanted.

suffered 2 scares/shocks, 1 in the 1st half, the other in the second. Ibrahimovic was left unmarked as he volley a cross wide. phew...
In the 2nd half, tink traore deflected a header against our own crossbar...den suddenly c the juve players celebrating...the feeling was like "not again"...lucky ref c clearly...phew!

Conclusion: Even with the 2 scares/shocks, the team performed admirably. Notably, hypia, carra, xabi, and baros. u may be surpised y i include baros. he was included simply becoz he ran his heart out for liverpool. dun forget he's holding the line alone and giving montero and cannavaro problems.

Future: Dump Chelski out and Benitez to show the "SHUT UP" sign to LJ More Lim Nio. :s12: :s12: :s12:

Cmon reds! You've come so far....3 more bursts of fire and we are through!

YNWA!!

yeah this is good. tell that bloody jose STFU

iwish
14-04-2005, 10:45 AM
hehe...i overslept again =:p ...woke up half time liao...watch the 2nd half...good play by Liverpool...solid at the back..and we had a couple of decent chance as well (Baros, Hyppia header from corner/freekick?)..well done lads! :)

Chelsea next...and we will beat them...i refuse to think of any possibility that our mighty reds will lose again to chelsea... moreover we were luckly in our last 2 games against them..at anfield we should have the penalty, and alonso was injure by lampard, the final was unlucky......

Go Reds Go!

Raul7
14-04-2005, 10:45 AM
thanx! juve's sacrifice would not account for nothing.
we r getting our key players back at a crucial time!
hopefully we can get alonso, gerrad n cisse fully fit by may 3rd.

hope chelsea suffer some injuries when they meet arsenal n man u for their epl games... :evil:

Mohawks
14-04-2005, 10:46 AM

agree... Baros, despite not scoring, has been a menace to the opponents in the past few matches. His runs typically draws 2 players to mark him, leaving holes for others to expliot.

iwish
14-04-2005, 10:51 AM
hmm... btw shouldnt Emerson be send off?
any retaliation (sp?) is a send off offence? he kicked at Biscan after the ball is gone/whistle blew...

i like how juv players are being frustrated..and comiit those silly/rush fouls..it shows we are playing well and not letting them play what they want......hehe :)

iwish
14-04-2005, 10:52 AM
agree... Baros, despite not scoring, has been a menace to the opponents in the past few matches. His runs typically draws 2 players to mark him, leaving holes for others to expliot.
i just surprise that given Baros is fresh and fit (no EPL matches)..he was sub at both matches..... wonder if RB is unhappy with baros performance....maybe i am reading(thinking) too much........

younggun__007
14-04-2005, 11:03 AM
i just surprise that given Baros is fresh and fit (no EPL matches)..he was sub at both matches..... wonder if RB is unhappy with baros performance....maybe i am reading(thinking) too much........

tink he was shagged liao..dat's y benitez took him off and inject fresh legs in cisse.
baros is understandbly shag out...imagine taking on 2 world-class defenders by yrself for more than 70 mins. I'm still convinced that the team has a place for Baros. Hope he'll stay on at Anfield.

xllms
14-04-2005, 11:05 AM
hmm... btw shouldnt Emerson be send off?
any retaliation (sp?) is a send off offence? he kicked at Biscan after the ball is gone/whistle blew...

i like how juv players are being frustrated..and comiit those silly/rush fouls..it shows we are playing well and not letting them play what they want......hehe :)

i think the referee is right not to penalise Emerson, imagine a red card for Juventus player...there will be riot just like in the Milan derby...

xllms

jamstart
14-04-2005, 11:07 AM
Well, I am a pool fan and I certainly wish Pool to win the cup, but due to the recent form of Chelsea, I think they peak at the right time and I believe they will beat us. Hope i am wrong though. GOD bless LIVERPOOL!!

iwish
14-04-2005, 11:17 AM
tink he was shagged liao..dat's y benitez took him off and inject fresh legs in cisse.
baros is understandbly shag out...imagine taking on 2 world-class defenders by yrself for more than 70 mins. I'm still convinced that the team has a place for Baros. Hope he'll stay on at Anfield.
couldnt be as tired as biscan/riise/garcia who had to play in wkend EPL and wkday CL games..... i mean he has one whole week to rest and recharge...and yes against 2 very good defenders...but he is ..ahem..a top striker also...he had played against many top defenders in euro 2004 also...with a shorter rest time....

iwish
14-04-2005, 11:20 AM
i think the referee is right not to penalise Emerson, imagine a red card for Juventus player...there will be riot just like in the Milan derby...

xllms
i really hope that is not the reason y the refree nvr send him off.....imagine if emerson had score last night...............

Mohawks
14-04-2005, 11:56 AM
couldnt be as tired as biscan/riise/garcia who had to play in wkend EPL and wkday CL games..... i mean he has one whole week to rest and recharge...and yes against 2 very good defenders...but he is ..ahem..a top striker also...he had played against many top defenders in euro 2004 also...with a shorter rest time....
can't really compare like that... Baros chases after balls at a much faster pace than midfielders...

anyway RB will not sub LG... given his scoring form in CL matches

xllms
14-04-2005, 12:00 PM
i really hope that is not the reason y the refree nvr send him off.....imagine if emerson had score last night...............

well, of cos if we are to look at the match per se as a soccer game, it will be disastrous for liverpool supporters like us...but there is much more than just the game...i can't imagine having another riot n the loss of lives...tat will cause much more damage to both clubs

well, i'm thankful that the angry juventus supporters were contained and liverpool is thru' to the semis

:)

xllms

Keo_86
14-04-2005, 12:04 PM
We r gonna beat Chelsea this time and go to the final and beat Mlian....hahaha

YEAH!!! WE ARE GOING TO BEAT THE ASS OF CHELSEA!!!! But wait.........what makes you think PSV can't beat AC Milan??? Hee Hee./.... :o :D
I am rooting for all underdog in the semi final!!! GO GO GO!!!!

malvindo
14-04-2005, 12:09 PM
hmmm,
nicely done
have to wait untill the end then sleep
next game, our gerrard, alonso, or even cisse would be got better match practice :)

PCGamer
14-04-2005, 12:12 PM
I want to say this ...

ALONSO IS PURE CLASS ... :D

First match after 3 months of injury and he spray passes like he has never miss a match before!

alamak
14-04-2005, 12:45 PM
i wonder why so many pple condem baros till like that...

haiz... he's running his **** out for the team. yes, have to admit his scoring touch isnt the best these days but can see he's working hard. you try to chase for the ball at his speed for 45 mins and see how? he's creating chances for himself, making runs, holding up the ball for support. tough man, playing alone upfront. hope he get's his form back. long time nv see him score hattrick liao.. hehe

great result!!! time for us to get our revenge against chelsea.

ShaqONeal
14-04-2005, 12:47 PM
congrat to Pool for their impressive run in CL.. thumb up.. thumb up..

spinelli
14-04-2005, 01:02 PM
well, of cos if we are to look at the match per se as a soccer game, it will be disastrous for liverpool supporters like us...but there is much more than just the game...i can't imagine having another riot n the loss of lives...tat will cause much more damage to both clubs

well, i'm thankful that the angry juventus supporters were contained and liverpool is thru' to the semis

:)

xllms

im also thankful that no one got hurt *phew* :)

very well done pool!!you guys have made us so so proud!the feelings is just fantastic that im running out of superlatives to describe them!!

flinchy if you are reading this,we are so "lucky" :s8:

X18
14-04-2005, 01:09 PM
I want to say this ...

First match after 3 months of injury and he spray passes like he has never miss a match before!
Second that! I was really amazed by him.

younggun__007
14-04-2005, 01:28 PM
must buy the 2day's NEWPAPER. i'm going to frame the articles up :D

RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!RAFAAA BENITEZ!!

YOU'LL NEVER EVER WALK ALONE!!
:s12: :s12:

ethanloi
14-04-2005, 01:54 PM
I salute you, Liverpool heros.

Especially the unsung defenders.

You'll never walk alone...

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 02:28 PM
I want to say this ...

he made some superb passes but also overhit some passes... im sure by the time chelsea beckons, alonso will be able to be back at his best

Ronaldo_7
14-04-2005, 02:29 PM
good job liverpool ~ :) good luck against chelsea ~

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 02:30 PM
and italian teams should be banned from european competition for 1 or 2 years... all the recent troubles caused by them

Raul7
14-04-2005, 04:08 PM
and italian teams should be banned from european competition for 1 or 2 years... all the recent troubles caused by them

maybe just ban inter milan

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 04:18 PM
maybe just ban inter milan
what about that roma match when anders frisk kena coined in the head...

Raul7
14-04-2005, 04:27 PM
what about that roma match when anders frisk kena coined in the head...

hmm ok. but dun really need to ban all teams i think. :) Milan n Juve still nt so bad bah...

rVn_mUfC
14-04-2005, 04:48 PM
Congrat all Liverpool fan, great job last nite. Good luck for the rest of the tournament.

hcsiao
14-04-2005, 04:55 PM
can't really compare like that... Baros chases after balls at a much faster pace than midfielders...

anyway RB will not sub LG... given his scoring form in CL matches

RB sub LG by LTA last nite....

cheehong83
14-04-2005, 04:59 PM
HAIL THE RAFALUTION
Shankly Gates 14 April 2005
How do I write a match report with trembling fingers, having had those very digits either over my eyes, in my mouth (in order to bite the nails), or firmly crossed for the duration of the match?
Or, at one brief stage, using those fingers to cover a mouth desperate, through nerves, to eruct the entire birthday cake I had earlier consumed, plus ten shards of fingernail. Many happy returns indeed.

Watching a game like this is akin (I'm guessing) to Chinese water torture. You don't enjoy such matches, you endure them. Fans can only watch four or five of these types of matches a seasons -- any more would be as beneficial for your health as smoking 200 cigarettes a day (while stood on a petrol station forecourt with trousers doused in gasoline).

Over the two legs, the best team won. I could tell that much through the lattice of fingers, even if I initially typed ocer thh twi ligs tha nest ream eon. (So in the circumstances I can rest assured that you will excuse any solecisms tonight). And we made Juventus look ordinary in both matches -- we didn't allow them to play, apart from when we tired in the first leg and their fresh legs, having just had a weekend off, made us pay. Even then, they could only score with the softest of goals. Thank God Scott Carson is smiling his goofy smile tonight.

The Brazilian Emerson (who I was lucky enough to play as part of the Roma side defeated 2-0 by the Reds, in Rome in 2001) said that not only were Juve unlucky to lose the first leg, but that "Liverpool do not have a fantastic squad." He also said there's no way Liverpool could keep a clean sheet in Turin.

To quote Homer Simpson: "D'oh!"

Fabio Capello, his manager back in 2001 and 2002, when the Reds dumped his side out of Europe in consecutive seasons, was more respectful, but must equally hate the site of Liverpool, as his side is once again eliminated by men from Merseyside. His pocket genius, Pavel Nedved, felt the winner of this game would win the tournament. How we all hope he was right.

I may be wrong -- and Post-Match Hysteria is now a recognised medical condition -- but I could have sworn Xabi Alonso (a Liverpool legend in the making, make no doubt) not only played his first match in nearly four months, but excelled, and that Djibril Ciss??, who would not be seen again until August, came on as a sub (the best sight of the season), as the Reds ran out deserved 2-1 aggregate winners. In the second half Liverpool were the better side, and people, for all the patchy league form, must starting taking Rafa Benitez seriously. Imagine what he can do with a fully fit squad -- he has still not had the luxury of picking his strongest team -- and when the players are moulded yet further by his guiding hand, as well as adding in a few new signings here and there?

But the best thing about the whole situation is this: unlike the previous meetings with Chelsea, Rafa's boys can approach the semi-finals as the rank outsiders. After all, Liverpool didn't spend ??278m to get there. Chelsea spent that money in the desperate desire to match some of Liverpool's illustrious history, and are under enormous pressure to win it.

Liverpool have been favourites to go out at every stage of the competition, it has seemed, having been outsiders at one stage to even qualify last season. At this stage Liverpool want to win it, of course, but it's a bonus to have even made it this far. Chelsea, given their league success, and the money spent, simply have to win it.

This is precisely the situation that allowed Chelsea -- who always, but always, failed to beat Arsenal (and had done so already three times last season) -- to upset the apple cart, and dump the Gunners out over two legs in last year's quarter-finals. Chelsea may think they have the Indian sign over us, but whereas the pressure was on us to win at Cardiff (as everyone said it was our only hope of silverware), the pressure will be 100% on Chelsea this time. Every last ounce of it. And maybe the luck will finally be with us: the two penalties we were denied at Anfield, and the oneat Cardiff; the freakish own goal nine minutes from the end of the Carling Cup; and beaten by yet another Chelsea deflected goal on News Year's Day. And how much does Alonso owe Frank "another deflected goal" Lampard a few tears of his own?

The Reds will have no players suspended, and -- touch wood -- will have Steven Gerrard back (assuming he gets selected!), not to mention the imperious Xabi Alonso a few weeks fitter, and Ciss??, who was asked to play from pure memory, perhaps approaching match fitness. For the first time this season we should be facing Chelsea with our best side, but also with added confidence from having overcome the mighty Juventus, as well as Bayer Leverkusen and Monaco: three recent finalists. Plus Deportivo La Coruna, recent semi-finalists on more than one occasion.

It's hard to pick heroes on a night like this. Alonso just about edged it as the star man, with his superb passing and 'unflusterable' composure (as well as shadowing Nedved), but no one let the team down -- not even Milan Baros, who didn't have one of his better nights, but ran and ran, then ran some more. Traore made the fans more nervous than he has all season, but he still won innumerable headers, and played his part. Even Le Tallec, who wasn't even supposed to be back at the club until the summer (how happy is he now?) and Smicer made their marks. Igor continues to look perfectly in place at the highest level, and at the back, the reborn Steve Finnan confirmed his status as the best right back in the country, bar none.

The other two who deserve to be singled out are of course Sami Hyypia -- playing as well as ever -- and Jamie Carragher: limiting Juventus to just one chance each half.It was a great performance from a defensive point of view, with the Reds keeping things tight, and Benitez clearly winning the tactical battle with his mentor. (Pupil becomes teacher). Riise played deeper to allow Traore to tuck inside, as a quasi-centre-back. The major surprise was that as the game opened up in the second half, the Reds had the best chance, and a series of half (and quarter) chances, while Juve's best moment was yet another Canniarvaro header.

It ranks as one of the truly great nights in Liverpool's history, because this time -- unlike in the past -- the Reds were never expected to get anywhere close to the semis. It has also come in the face of some terrible injuries, disrupting Rafa's plans at every turn, so that he has used the whole squad -- every last bit of it -- to take the team this far.

Every single player must have got Champions League minutes under his belt. No wonder the reserves are having an average season -- most of the players have been busy getting the team to the final of the Carling Cup, and playing their part in the amazing run to face Chelsea again, this time in Europe. The big players have stood up and been counted, but the list of heroes includes Welsh, Potter, Warnock, Le Tallec, Sinama-Pongolle, Mellor and Carson. 'One man team' my arse.

The confidence the team takes from this result will immeasurable, but there will be some weary legs against Spurs, who have had the week off. Alonso will surely struggle to rouse his body once the muscles inevitably turn to concrete tomorrow. But our home form remains excellent, in all competitions. Either the Champions League will distract and disrupt our chase for fourth, or it will galvanise the club.

Everything is starting to come together -- in Europe at least -- so perfectly. The returning players will only add to the sense of belief. From a personal point of view, it occurred to me earlier that precisely half my lifetime ago, on this very day in 1988, Liverpool produced what was believed to be the club's finest ever performance, in destroying title-challengers Nottingham Forest 5-0 at Anfield.

Sometimes the best presents are wrapped in Red.

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 05:29 PM
erm who is the writer of that article?

CanIsayNo
14-04-2005, 05:41 PM
hmm ok. but dun really need to ban all teams i think. :) Milan n Juve still nt so bad bah...
juve fans got arrested :p

logoteco1
14-04-2005, 05:48 PM
finnan is simply the best RB in EPL

cheehong83
14-04-2005, 05:55 PM
erm who is the writer of that article?
eh i don't know ..some reporter ..anyway need to concentrate on spurs this saturday liao

gerrard17
14-04-2005, 06:55 PM
finnan is simply the best RB in EPL

yup, bar none, no doubts.

gerrard17
14-04-2005, 06:59 PM
couldn't slp after the match, too excited to. think every single Liverpool fan out there will agree.

lets not look too far, being in the semis itself is already a major achievemet, anything more will be a bonus.

Alonso really looks a legend in the making, in fact i think he's the best in his position anywhere ard. lastly, really touched to see Cisse back in action so fast. hope his pace is still there.

YNWA... :)