PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303

gerrard17
19-07-2002, 11:41 PM
Originally posted by verydead

ya, thats y he is a hero...........
score all the stunning goals against all liverpool's most hated enemies.............
man u and everton.

Ya loh,that's y he's so valued by Liverpool.:)

Shingoz
19-07-2002, 11:43 PM
Originally posted by gerrard17

Err but i think he make a better left wing than a left back coz he tends to make careless mistakes when defending. The most obvious/frequent ones will be miskicking the ball and clearing. :D

Would be good if he can secure a place on the left flank~

verydead
19-07-2002, 11:59 PM
Originally posted by Shingoz

Err but i think he make a better left wing than a left back coz he tends to make careless mistakes when defending. The most obvious/frequent ones will be miskicking the ball and clearing. :D

Would be good if he can secure a place on the left flank~

yup, he is always better than a left midfielder than left back.........
when he scored those vital goals, he was playing a midfield role............

but i think after his last season's performance, it wld be diff to keep him out........ and with the arrival of diouf and cheyrou, he might have to be utilised as a left back.........
he isnt as effective as in midfield but nevertheless, he is still derserving of a starting place. he is still ok in a left back role.

shootinstars
20-07-2002, 12:22 AM
Originally posted by Soccerkid
i could still remember his free kick which left barthez grasping for wind:laugh: :laugh:
so fast man the ball when he struck

This Kid has got lots of POWER in his shot....:eek:

shootinstars
20-07-2002, 12:24 AM

Another reason: 'Cheap and Good':)

Shingoz
20-07-2002, 12:30 AM

yup, he is always better than a left midfielder than left back.........
when he scored those vital goals, he was playing a midfield role............

but i think after his last season's performance, it wld be diff to keep him out........ and with the arrival of diouf and cheyrou, he might have to be utilised as a left back.........
he isnt as effective as in midfield but nevertheless, he is still derserving of a starting place. he is still ok in a left back role.
That will be ok if babbel isnt back yet..
If babbel's back..he'll take the right and carragher the left...no place for riise as i can see.... ~

verydead
20-07-2002, 12:34 AM

That will be ok if babbel isnt back yet..
If babbel's back..he'll take the right and carragher the left...no place for riise as i can see.... ~

if babbel is back, maybe, juz maybe, no place for carragher............
carragher is a more stable defender. but not as gd as riise in going forward.........
depends on wat GH wans to do this season. :)

gerrard17
20-07-2002, 12:43 AM

if babbel is back, maybe, juz maybe, no place for carragher............
carragher is a more stable defender. but not as gd as riise in going forward.........
depends on wat GH wans to do this season. :)

Ya,Carragher is really those defensive minded player.Riise on the other hand really likes going forward,so it really depends on GH.

It's unfortunate if either 1 is left out cause both have thier own qualities.

gerrard17
20-07-2002, 12:45 AM
Originally posted by shootinstars

:D

verydead
20-07-2002, 12:56 AM

Ya,Carragher is really those defensive minded player.Riise on the other hand really likes going forward,so it really depends on GH.

It's unfortunate if either 1 is left out cause both have thier own qualities.

yup.

Mr_Valentino
20-07-2002, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by shootinstars

Come 2003-2004 season, we will have another Cheap and Good in the Reds shirts.

The French connection, Pongolle and Le Tallac.:D

hueman
20-07-2002, 10:43 AM
Credit goes to GH and his staff..
they really know how to see the potential in the unknown players...

Originally posted by Mr_Valentino

Come 2003-2004 season, we will have another Cheap and Good in the Reds shirts.

The French connection, Pongolle and Le Tallac.:D

Kiwi8
20-07-2002, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by hueman
Credit goes to GH and his staff..
they really know how to see the potential in the unknown players...

It remains to be seen.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:32 AM
Originally posted by Kiwi8

It remains to be seen.

for 17 yr olds, they are already very gd.
they definately have gd potential...........
and GH has bought them for that.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:37 AM
Ridsdale - Bowyer should sign on Monday

Lee Bowyer should sign for Liverpool on Monday, according to Leeds chairman Peter Ridsdale.

The 25 year old midfielder has been in talks with the Reds throughout the week over a move from Elland Road to Anfield, and Ridsdale is confident the deal will finally go through over the weekend.

He said: "I'm hoping it's going to be completed over the weekend with a view to signing on Monday.

"As far as we're concerned, the deal is done between the two clubs. We've given him a passport out of Leeds and wished him well."

If Bowyer does sign for the Reds on Monday he is likely to jet straight off to join his new team-mates at their training camp in Switzerland.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:38 AM
Reds stars impressed with Pongolle and Le Tallac

Gerard Houllier said he and his players were suitably impressed with the skills of Reds future stars Florent Sinama Pongolle and Anthony Le Tallac, during Liverpool's friendly 1-0 win in Le Havre.

Pongolle and Le Tallac will join Liverpool before the start of the 2003-2004 season and both were in exciting form against the Reds for Le Havre.

Houllier said: "The two strikers Pongolle and Le Tallac did very well and my boys were impressed with them."

Pongolle played the first 45 minutes while Le Tallac played for 65 minutes.

Houllier declared himself satisfied with Liverpool's performance against Le Havre and said: "You have to start somewhere and it was a very good run out for us. Everybody saw some action and the attitude was right.

"We didn't take any risks with Sami Hyypia, Dietmar Hamann and Patrik Berger while Michael Owen will probably start training tomorrow. Jamie Carragher is recovering from a knee operation and is doing well and ahead of schedule. He will be back soon.

"You can't expect everybody to be flying after a World Cup but I'm pleased with our efforts tonight.

"I thought Alou Diarra had a good first half in midfield. It was difficult for him in the second half when he had to play centre half when Vegard Heggem went off, but he did well.

"Bruno Cheyrou's skills and passing were very good and he got a good 45 minute run out and Milan Baros took his goal very well."

The Reds boss said he was delighted to see Markus Babbel playing in the red shirt of Liverpool again, but said it will take time for him to return to full match fitness after a long absence.

Houllier said: "It was very good to have Markus back. He has been out of action almost a year and it will take time for him to get fully match fit, but he's doing well."

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:39 AM
bad news!
i think heggem got injured again........:(

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:45 AM
http://www.koptalk.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=54211

pics of liverpool players during the match.

Mr_Valentino
20-07-2002, 12:03 PM
bad news!
i think heggem got injured again........:(

Unfortunately, he is prone to injury. :(

Even he if fit, can't see him breaking into the first team, really.

verydead
20-07-2002, 12:26 PM

in this current liverpool team. yeah. even if fit, he gotta fight really hard for a place...........
maybe 2 yrs ago, he can.

Mr_Valentino
20-07-2002, 12:34 PM
in this current liverpool team. yeah. even if fit, he gotta fight really hard for a place...........
maybe 2 yrs ago, he can.

I suspect when he fit again, G.H will sell him off.

gerrard17
20-07-2002, 07:48 PM

He's gd,and i missed those runs from him.

Unfortunately,he doesn't really fit into the Liverpool team now.

Soccerkid
20-07-2002, 09:23 PM
liverpool's style had changed quite alot frm mcmanaman's era to now.. we dun play run n dribble anymore.. we play soak n strike.. tts why fowler n heggem they all cant fit into the style..
but i can assure u.. u put fowler into arsenal.. my god..
he can easily be the hottest asset..
as a pool fan.. hope liverpool will play attacking soccer next season.. with diouf.. wow.. excited sia:D

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:48 PM
Diomede rejects Addicks move

Bernard Diomede has turned down the chance to revive his Premiership fortunes with Charlton Athletic.

The Addicks were keen to snap up the French midfielder before the start of the new season, but Diomede has turned down the chance to move to The Valley.

Manager Gerard Houllier confirmed the news in France yesterday, but also insisted that Diomede wouldn't be leaving Liverpool on the cheap.

He said: "The club that will eventually welcome him will have to offer a great deal."

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:51 PM
wah lau, i cant believe that diomede turned down the move. in anfield, his chances are practically zero...........
this guy got no ambition, only wanna recieve his fat salary?

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:52 PM
No injury worries for Vedgy

Vegard Heggem did not pick up an injury during last night's friendly in Le Havre, despite leaving the field midway through the second half.

Heggem was replaced by midfielder Alou Diarra, who had already been substituted at half time, sparking fears that his injury troubles had returned at the start of the new season.

But Liverpool have today told us that it was always the plan to give the Norwegian international a run-out in the second period and to ease him gently back into first team action.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:55 PM
heng man............. although i dun noe if its a cover up.............
it seems werid that liverpool wld use diarra back after he was sub out............ i think it must be unplanned becoz of heggem injury. but liverpool.tv try to make it sound as if its planned.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:55 PM
Diarra loan move a possibility

Liverpool have confirmed that new signing Alou Diarra could spend the coming season on loan to French outfit Le Havre.

The former Bayern Munich midfielder made his first appearance for the Reds last night - against the team he might be playing for over the coming months.

No final decision has yet been taken on whether Diarra will be moving to France, however. That is likely to happen at the end of Liverpool's week long training camp in Switzerland.

"It is a possibility that Diarra might be loaned to Le Havre, but it hasn't officially been decided yet," a club spokesman said.

verydead
20-07-2002, 11:58 PM
i read a rumour that litmanen is going to be given a free transfer after being told that he is surplus to requirement.

but no clubs come in for him yet......... maybe becoz of his salary..........

but on a personal note, i m sad and disapointed that he hasnt been given a fair go.
he is class and one of the most creative players that liverpool has.

verydead
21-07-2002, 12:02 AM
liverpool's style had changed quite alot frm mcmanaman's era to now.. we dun play run n dribble anymore.. we play soak n strike.. tts why fowler n heggem they all cant fit into the style..
but i can assure u.. u put fowler into arsenal.. my god..
he can easily be the hottest asset..
as a pool fan.. hope liverpool will play attacking soccer next season.. with diouf.. wow.. excited sia:D

with diouf, liverpool can still play counter attack...... he suits our style...........

shootinstars
21-07-2002, 12:32 AM
i read a rumour that litmanen is going to be given a free transfer after being told that he is surplus to requirement.

but no clubs come in for him yet......... maybe becoz of his salary..........

but on a personal note, i m sad and disapointed that he hasnt been given a fair go.
he is class and one of the most creative players that liverpool has.

:( :(

Soccerkid
21-07-2002, 10:54 AM
i personally think with a class player like litmanen, he should be given more chances to play in first team

gerrard17
21-07-2002, 11:53 AM
Sad to hear this.:(

Kiwi8
21-07-2002, 11:55 AM
Guys, dun "eat finish no sai to put" lah.....

Rumours are rumours until they're confirmed lah... :rolleyes:

verydead
21-07-2002, 12:24 PM
Litmanen made available on a free

Story by Kop Talk News 20 July 2002

An update from the Kop Talk News Room.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Liverpool have finally 'publicly' announced that Jari Litmanen is available on a free transfer.

Kop Talk and in particular 'The Insider' revealed months ago that his Anfield career was doomed and despite previous interest from Newcastle, nobody as yet has made a formal approach for his services.

http://www.koptalk.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=54229

verydead
21-07-2002, 12:26 PM
Liverpool Finnish Litmanen's Love Affair

Season 2002-03
Author: Neale Graham
Date: 20.7.2002

Liverpool today confirmed the inevitable and announced that Jari Litmanen is surplus to requirements. What a monumental shame. If ever there was a player who deserved more than he got from the club, it’s Jari. His move to the club was apt given his lifelong support of all things Liverpool and so this news must be difficult for him to take. Being told you’re not wanted by any club must hurt but to be told that by the club you’ve loved from childhood must be even more difficult to stomach.

The high regard Jari is held in by Liverpool fans says a lot. Many of us agree that he should have been given far more first-team chances than he got. Jari was the fourth in the collection of strikers Gerard Houllier assembled for the 2001-02 campaign, after injury had curtailed his impressive half-season following his move from Barca in January 2001. But even when Robbie Fowler was shipped out, Jari’s first-team opportunities were restricted to those occasions when Michael Owen’s niggles kept him out of the side. Emile Heskey was, unfortunately, a permanent fixture in the side in spite of his wretched mid-season goalscoring form. Jari, meanwhile, had to watch on helplessly as the team slipped from the top of the league. At the time, a lack of creativity was cited as the reason why Liverpool’s form had slumped; the management seemingly begged to differ, overlooking the club’s most creative individual time after infuriating time.

Even accounting for my undeniable bias towards him, there were times when it appeared clear to almost everyone that Jari’s vision and invention was called for in breaking down stubborn defences. That he remained endlessly bench-bound is scandalous. After the drab 1-1 Merseyside Derby draw in February, the headline above the match report in one of the nationals pithily highlighted Liverpool’s underuse of Jari’s talent: “What a waste.”

It was clear the writing was on the wall when Nicolas Anelka arrived on loan and was getting more starts than Jari. The Finn never complained, taking his limited opportunities with aplomb and acting as the catalyst for a more constructive style of play. With him on the pitch, we started playing football again rather than hoof and charge. While other players were frequently supported publicly by Phil Thompson and Houllier (I’m thinking here of Danny Murphy and Heskey again) in the face of poor performances, Jari was never given any backing in the press by the management. No statements of congratulations, no shows of support and no overdue explanation as to why he was so sparingly used in the team.

OK, Jari is not a modern Liverpool player. I suppose you could argue he doesn’t work hard enough for the team, which is a pre-requisite for a Houllier player, his pace is limited, a key component in a Houllier striker, and he’s over 30. But he is a classic Liverpool player and deservedly so. He’s in the mould of Dalglish or Beardsley, a classy player who’s game is based on technique, touch, passing and guile. That kind of player should always be accommodated to my mind, as they bring an extra dimension to the game. Hard work will get you so far, as will pace and power. But Jari’s gifts should have been put to better use. The bottom line is: whenever he played, he never let us down and there’s very few players you can say that about.

It’s very sad to see him cast off like this. If no other club can afford his wages, he’s likely to rot in our reserves and, as Finland’s greatest ever player, he’s worthy of better treatment than that. I’ll remember what little we saw of Jari in the Red shirt with only the fondest of memories though. He scored 9 goals, many of them important strikes, in 43 games for the club, mostly as a substitute. His goal against Tottenham last September was outstanding and his cameos have been full of drag backs, shimmies and the sort of party tricks that enliven any game. His superb run and goal against Bayer Leverkusen was unbelievable. For a few moments it looked as though he would be the hero, but it was a microcosm of his Anfield career and his hopes, like the rest of us, were dashed. But most of all his fantastic display against Roma at Anfield in March – when he scored one goal, won the free kick that led to the other and put the overrated Francesco Totti firmly in the shade – was Jari Litmanen at his sublime best. It was our best display of the season given the circumstances and the calibre of opposition – and he ran the show. It’s a fitting way to remember the man.

http://www.thisisanfield.com/columnists/archives/00000015.php

verydead
21-07-2002, 12:27 PM
Litmanen given free transfer?

By James Carroll
Date: 20/7/2002

Jari Litmanen has reportedly been told that he can leave Liverpool on a free transfer. Its claimed that the Finnish international striker has been told that he is surplus to requirements at Anfield and may find himself a new club.

However, Litmanen is struggling to find a new club that is willing to match his current deal at Liverpool.

Signed on a free transfer from Barcelona in January 2000, Litmanen has become a firm favourite with Liverpool supporters despite not featuring as much as he perhaps should.

http://www.liverpool.rivals.net/default.asp?sid=890&p=2&stid=8266890

verydead
21-07-2002, 12:29 PM
yes, although this story is still supposedly a rumour............
but it has appeared at so many places........ i fear it there might be some truth in it.
furthermore, over the past 2 seasons, litmanen has not really been used much................. so, if it is true, i wld not be too surprised, but very very disappointed.:( :(

shootinstars
21-07-2002, 12:58 PM
i personally think with a class player like litmanen, he should be given more chances to play in first team

Yah, agree!:(

Tucksoon
21-07-2002, 01:49 PM
Litmanen should stay!!

hartly
21-07-2002, 02:42 PM
His way of play does not fit Liverpool counter attack style. That's why he did not get much playing time.

shootinstars
21-07-2002, 03:54 PM
Originally posted by Tucksoon
Litmanen should stay!!

He can create miracle at certain time. :)

verydead
21-07-2002, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by hartly
His way of play does not fit Liverpool counter attack style. That's why he did not get much playing time.

exactly........... and with the arrival of diouf, he wld not get a look in.

Tucksoon
21-07-2002, 05:45 PM
I feel that although Litmanen has past his prime years, however he is really a magnificant player. His experience, talent, skills and vision is unmatched by any Pools' player. Younger players can learn a lot from him

Pools should keep him :)

verydead
21-07-2002, 06:18 PM
LIVERPOOL TOLD: COUGH UP £15M FOR DUFF

Liverpool have been snubbed in their first attempt to prize Damien Duff away from Blackburn.

Rovers boss Graeme Souness has revealed that his old club had made an enquiry about the Republic of Ireland World Cup star.

Duff is still to sign a new deal at Ewood Park, but even so, Liverpool were given the brush off - and will have to pay around £15million for the 23-year-old.

Souness said: "We have had a telephone call from Liverpool asking if Damien was available. The answer was 'no'.

"But if the price was right we would not be in a position to turn a ridiculous offer down."

The Reds, who are expected to wrap up the £9million signing of Leeds' Lee Bowyer within the next 48 hours, are likely to return with an improved bid for Duff.

verydead
21-07-2002, 06:21 PM
looks like the 'rumours' that duff was going to liverpool had a reason behind them.......... not totally false!!
:bounce: :bounce:

i think liverpool wld welcome him with open arms...........
he hasnt signed a new contact with rovers and might leave on a bosman 2 yrs later

shootinstars
21-07-2002, 06:57 PM
I feel that although Litmanen has past his prime years, however he is really a magnificant player. His experience, talent, skills and vision is unmatched by any Pools' player. Younger players can learn a lot from him

Pools should keep him :)

Yar loh, nothing to loose...:(

Mr_Valentino
21-07-2002, 07:16 PM
Just wondering, Liverpool keep buying and until now no players is sold.

Will our beloved club end in debts just like Leed? :(

Ya, we do need a large squad but imagine the wagers the players is getting.

verydead
21-07-2002, 07:43 PM

ya, thats y i think a few liverpool players might be leaving............soon.

hartly
21-07-2002, 07:51 PM

As long as Liverpool could perform well in the Champion League, then they should not be in any financial difficulties.

verydead
21-07-2002, 08:28 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Reds call off Bowyer deal

Gerard Houllier has pulled out of the deal to bring Leeds midfielder Lee Bowyer to Anfield.

After a week of talks with the 25 year old, Houllier wasn't convinced he was the right player for Liverpool FC.

The Reds issued the following statement on Sunday morning:

"Liverpool Football Club have decided not to go ahead with the proposed transfer of Lee Bowyer for a variety of reasons.

"Manager Gerard Houllier was not convinced the player had either the hunger or desire to play for the club, qualities which are essential for any Liverpool player."

verydead
21-07-2002, 08:28 PM
wah lau!!!! this is the biggest news man!!!
really surprised! dunno wat to say!

Jordan
21-07-2002, 08:32 PM
As a fan, I dun really like Bowyer. And I think many Pool fans are rejoicing in the sense that they dun have to see a person they dun like in a Pool's shirt. Yeahhhhhh.........:bounce: =p

kengbeng
21-07-2002, 08:34 PM
Damn. He should have gone to Pool. :D

Guess now Pool will concentrate on getting Damien Duff who is a better choice in any case.

verydead
21-07-2002, 08:42 PM
now all i can hope for is duff duff duff!!!:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

verydead
21-07-2002, 08:44 PM
Originally posted by Jordan
As a fan, I dun really like Bowyer. And I think many Pool fans are rejoicing in the sense that they dun have to see a person they dun like in a Pool's shirt. Yeahhhhhh.........:bounce: =p

yeah, kenna glad that we didnt sign him if he had a bad attutide...........
wld upset our balance.
he dun deserve to wear the shirt if he isnt fully commited to the anfield cause.

gerrard17
21-07-2002, 09:44 PM
Glad that he wasn't coming afterall.

Actually i prefer Anelka's attitude to his,which IMO is totally bullsh|t.

And now we can concentrate on getting Duff now.

Hamstar
21-07-2002, 09:56 PM
now all i can hope for is duff duff duff!!!:bounce: :bounce:

:mad: :mad: :mad:

why cant Bowyer just go to Liverpool!?!!!

Mr_Valentino
21-07-2002, 10:20 PM
Lee's deal collapsed?

Wow, I thought the deal is more or less confirm already.

To be honest, I was quite happy to hear this news.

Well, he is already a racist and thug player.
Now without hunger or desire to play for Liverpool FC, no wonder G.H drop him.

Now we can fully concentrate in chasing Duff signature. :D

kengbeng
21-07-2002, 10:35 PM
Originally posted by Hamstah

Yup. Would have loved to see Bowyer fighting in the Liverpool dressing room.
hahaha...:evil:

Just joking by the way. But it really happened in a friend's CM game. Bowyer and Owen fighting... :laugh:

Mr_Valentino
21-07-2002, 11:03 PM
Reasons why Bowyer not going to be a Liverpool player.
Here why. :laugh:

1) A signing-on package like 1 million pound that Bowyer owes Leeds United due to his court cases

2) Wants more than the £35,000-a-week personal terms Liverpool have offered.

3) Had either the hunger or desire to play for the club.

4) Deal taking far too long to complete to Houllier liking.

5) Fans revolted (Signing on a racist)

6) Houllier want Duff more.

Lesson learn, the sword of Houllier comes down on the neck of a player not totally committed to the LIVERPOOL cause. :D

gerrard17
21-07-2002, 11:11 PM

I think should be neither.:)

Mr_Valentino
21-07-2002, 11:14 PM
I think should be neither.:)

Copy that:D

Virus
21-07-2002, 11:39 PM
Haha Duff ... here we come :D !
With the "extra" money from the collapse of Bowyer's deal, Liverpool should be able to offer Blackburn a "irresistable price" for Duffy :D.

verydead
21-07-2002, 11:44 PM

hehe. anyway, bowyer and duff play diff positions......

verydead
21-07-2002, 11:48 PM

1) A signing-on package like 1 million pound that Bowyer owes Leeds United due to his court cases

2) Wants more than the £35,000-a-week personal terms Liverpool have offered.

4) Deal taking far too long to complete to Houllier liking.

5) Fans revolted (Signing on a racist)

6) Houllier want Duff more.

Lesson learn, the sword of Houllier comes down on the neck of a player not totally committed to the LIVERPOOL cause. :D

i think money isnt really the issue, neither are the other reasons except: 3) Had neither the hunger or desire to play for the club.

verydead
21-07-2002, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by Virus
Haha Duff ... here we come :D !
With the "extra" money from the collapse of Bowyer's deal, Liverpool should be able to offer Blackburn a "irresistable price" for Duffy :D.

non footballing reasons aside, i think duff is a better player than bowyer..........

Virus
21-07-2002, 11:58 PM

non footballing reasons aside, i think duff is a better player than bowyer..........
Of course. And if Duff really comes to Liverpool, it will solve the troublesome left flank of Liverpool.

verydead
22-07-2002, 12:02 AM

Of course. And if Duff really comes to Liverpool, it will solve the troublesome left flank of Liverpool.

the trouble isnt really left flank, there is riise...... its left back...........

verydead
22-07-2002, 12:27 AM
Ridsdale happy Bowyer still at Elland Road

Leeds chairman Peter Ridsdale said he was delighted with the collapse of Lee Bowyer's proposed move to Liverpool.

Liverpool pulled out of the deal this morning and Ridsdale is more than happy to welcome the controversial midfielder back to Leeds.

Ridsdale said: "I'm delighted Lee is still a Leeds player. I never wanted him to leave."

verydead
22-07-2002, 12:28 AM
ya, lets see if he wld be saying the same next yr when bowyer leaves on a free transfer.........:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Mr_Valentino
22-07-2002, 12:38 AM
ya, lets see if he wld be saying the same next yr when bowyer leaves on a free transfer.........:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

If bowyer leaves on free transfer, he will be :sad:

Winevil
22-07-2002, 08:32 AM

the trouble isnt really left flank, there is riise...... its left back...........

riise is good at the left flank...however he will be better playing left back and doing overlapping runs....with his pace and his power, he will be better doing those "unnoticed' runs up and pack a few surprise power shots at the opponent goal...

Besides, he has said before that he prefer the role as a left back as it gave more room for him to run.....

However with him as left back, and he going up often to support the attack, henchoz will need to be extra careful and most probably he will need to do more covering of the defence area...

But i got to agree, duff is much better than bowyer, in terms of work rate and attitude(in fact in terms of attitude most players are much better than bowyer...heh heh)

Winevil

Winevil
22-07-2002, 08:36 AM

really hope to see duff as a liverpool player....

Liverpool really needs a player like him tat dares to take on the opponent defence...and be successful

yes murphy dares to take on defence but most of the time he will go losing the ball....:laugh:

really excited on the notion of duff waltzing the left flank in a liverpool shirt.....

Winevil

verydead
22-07-2002, 10:52 AM
today, bowyer gave some crap abt wanting to stay at leeds all along...............
maybe he is juz stalling for time............... wanna go on a free transfer next season..........

well, not liverpool's problem anymore.......:)

verydead
22-07-2002, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by Winevil

riise is good at the left flank...however he will be better playing left back and doing overlapping runs....with his pace and his power, he will be better doing those "unnoticed' runs up and pack a few surprise power shots at the opponent goal...

Besides, he has said before that he prefer the role as a left back as it gave more room for him to run.....

However with him as left back, and he going up often to support the attack, henchoz will need to be extra careful and most probably he will need to do more covering of the defence area...

But i got to agree, duff is much better than bowyer, in terms of work rate and attitude(in fact in terms of attitude most players are much better than bowyer...heh heh)

Winevil

riise is quite ok at left back............ no doubt and i agree that his overlapping runs are one of his strengths..........
however, he is not much of a defender................. tend to be not as stable as the likes of carragher......... sometimes his runs leaves the back exposed............
and GH has deployed him in midfield many times to 'cure' this problem without killing riise's natual abilities........

as for him saying that he prefers left back, i m not too sure............coz i thought i read that he prefered left midfield, as did GH.
but anyway, not impt.

verydead
22-07-2002, 11:06 AM

Liverpool really needs a player like him tat dares to take on the opponent defence...and be successful

yes murphy dares to take on defence but most of the time he will go losing the ball....:laugh:

really excited on the notion of duff waltzing the left flank in a liverpool shirt.....

Winevil

imo, murphy shldnt be playing on the left at all............. he is crap at it.

murphy is still quite ok on the right and in the middle.........

however, if duff dun come, many supporters believe that another irish man cld have the potential to be juz as gd............
he is no other than our own young partidge...........:)

Mr_Valentino
22-07-2002, 11:37 AM
today, bowyer gave some crap abt wanting to stay at leeds all along...............
maybe he is juz stalling for time............... wanna go on a free transfer next season..........
well, not liverpool's problem anymore.......:)

He wanted to stay ay Leeds all along?
But will not sign a new contract?

Le Boss rightly observer that Bowyer have not the desire and heart to play for us.
It certainly not our loss.

verydead
22-07-2002, 12:02 PM

He wanted to stay ay Leeds all along?
But will not sign a new contract?

Le Boss rightly observer that Bowyer have not the desire and heart to play for us.
It certainly not our loss.

exactly.. how cld he have wanted to stay all along?
he is juz back tracking coz he is at a dead end...........
full of crap...........

verydead
22-07-2002, 04:41 PM
who thinks that we shld buy rivaldo, now that he is available for free?:D

Magia
22-07-2002, 04:44 PM
I think that is the reason y GH cancel Bowyer deal ... :D

nWo
22-07-2002, 04:49 PM
I think the reason why talks broke down was that Bowyer wanted Liverpool to foot the 1 million pounds to Leed's for his court case bills, which Liverpool was reluctant to, cos' that'll inflate the transfer fee to 10 million pounds - which is too expensive for a player on the final year of his contract.

verydead
22-07-2002, 05:07 PM
its to do with the player's attitude and commitment..........not money...... becoz money was agreed.

nWo
22-07-2002, 05:12 PM
According to what I read, personal terms were never agreed upon, although both clubs agree on the fee.

Tiesto
22-07-2002, 06:03 PM
who thinks that we shld buy rivaldo, now that he is available for free?:D Siao...he will sure cost a bomb one. :D But it is a mouth-watering prospect...if Liverpool were wiling to part with the requisite amount of $$$.

verydead
22-07-2002, 06:11 PM
Originally posted by Tiesto
Siao...he will sure cost a bomb one. :D But it is a mouth-watering prospect...if Liverpool were wiling to part with the requisite amount of $$$.

he wld cost alot in wages lah........... but no transfer fee involved u noe............:D

sky77
22-07-2002, 07:37 PM
midfield in the middle too many for pool as it is...

dun think houllier wanna get him... unless he lets go of murphy...

nWo
22-07-2002, 07:43 PM
He can offload Barmby for a start. Maybe Smicer too?

verydead
22-07-2002, 07:46 PM
Originally posted by nWo
He can offload Barmby for a start. Maybe Smicer too?

smicer will stay............
there is diomede and heggem to start with...........

nWo
22-07-2002, 07:52 PM
Speaking of Heggem, whatever happened to him? He was pretty good.

verydead
22-07-2002, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by nWo
Speaking of Heggem, whatever happened to him? He was pretty good.

in the reserves......

Hamstar
22-07-2002, 08:35 PM

Winevil

hey dudes,

sorry to be the wet blanket around here but DUFFY ain't going anywhere ;)

He'll be leaving with the Rovers squad for the pre season tour in Austria soon :P

verydead
22-07-2002, 08:44 PM

hey dudes,

He'll be leaving with the Rovers squad for the pre season tour in Austria soon :P

hehe............. doesnt matter..... the signs are looking gd!:cool:

Virus
22-07-2002, 09:13 PM

hey dudes,

Haha .. it's ok :) .. as days goes by where Duff didnt sign a new contract with Rovers, the higher the chance Liverpool is gonna get Duff :D

Enjoy the Austria holidays Duffy :p.

gerrard17
22-07-2002, 09:25 PM
Really hope Liverpool can sign Duff,which will provide us wif more width down the flanks.

shootinstars
22-07-2002, 10:53 PM
Really hope Liverpool can sign Duff,which will provide us wif more width down the flanks.

Yeah.....:)

heng32
23-07-2002, 01:00 AM
Really hope Liverpool can sign Duff,which will provide us wif more width down the flanks. Of course Houllier is better than Asslex Ferguson in signing players. Man U spend so much money and in the end third on the table. Nisterooy and veron add up $$$$.

alamak
23-07-2002, 03:13 AM
saw the new home kit? not really nice leh... :laugh:

verydead
23-07-2002, 09:24 AM
Originally posted by alamak
saw the new home kit? not really nice leh... :laugh:

yah. worst than last season's...........

shootinstars
23-07-2002, 10:40 AM
Originally posted by heng32
Of course Houllier is better than Asslex Ferguson in signing players. Man U spend so much money and in the end third on the table. Nisterooy and veron add up $$$$.

Hope he will be healthy through out the season.:)

Mr_Valentino
23-07-2002, 11:15 AM
Of course Houllier is better than Asslex Ferguson in signing players. Man U spend so much money and in the end third on the table. Nisterooy and veron add up $$$$.

Exactly.

Taken from icliverpool

That £30m Rio has been sold for is an interesting figure.
Interesting, because you have to look what last season's best defence in the Premiership cost, and the total amount only comes to around £15m!

That, of course, was Liverpool's, whose success in the past few seasons has been built on the solid foundations of a sound defence.

For that, boss Houllier has to take much credit. While United will be forced to pay megabucks for Ferdinand, the cost of the Reds' back line makes fascinating reading:

Jerzy Dudek ( £ 5m),
Stephane Henchoz (£3.5m)
Sami Hyypia £2.5m (what a cracking bargain),
John Arne Riise (£4.5m) - when he plays left back - Markus Babbel ( free)
Jamie Carragher (acadamy).

It underlines how successful and how wise Houllier has been when it comes to buying. But it's not just about one man, it's about the whole club.

verydead
23-07-2002, 11:32 AM

it's not just about one man, it's about the whole club.

agreed.

Tucksoon
23-07-2002, 12:42 PM

Exactly.

Taken from icliverpool

Interesting, because you have to look what last season's best defence in the Premiership cost, and the total amount only comes to around £15m!

That, of course, was Liverpool's, whose success in the past few seasons has been built on the solid foundations of a sound defence.

For that, boss Houllier has to take much credit. While United will be forced to pay megabucks for Ferdinand, the cost of the Reds' back line makes fascinating reading:

Jerzy Dudek ( £ 5m),
Stephane Henchoz (£3.5m)

It underlines how successful and how wise Houllier has been when it comes to buying. But it's not just about one man, it's about the whole club.

well said

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 03:27 PM
So..when you have the money..just spend it. :D

verydead
23-07-2002, 04:04 PM
So..when you have the money..just spend it. :D

need to be responsible to shareholders u noe..............
how can got money juz spend without jusification?

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 04:09 PM

If they dont agreed with fergie on buying rio they wold have voiced out long time ago mah ~

verydead
23-07-2002, 04:17 PM

If they dont agreed with fergie on buying rio they wold have voiced out long time ago mah ~

shareholders cant voice out lah......... they are not on the board..... only board members can do anything.............. they decide for S/Hs.

S/Hs only get to meet once a yr..........

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 07:16 PM

shareholders cant voice out lah......... they are not on the board..... only board members can do anything.............. they decide for S/Hs.

S/Hs only get to meet once a yr..........
Ok make it board then...

verydead
23-07-2002, 07:26 PM
the board is controlled by chairman. since he got the most shares in the club.
he as the biggest shareholder wanna throw money, wat can the smaller shareholders do?
he as chairman, get 2 sets of income.
1 set is from dividends from the club,
2nd set is from mgt fees he recieves as the chairman.
so if he dun get much from dividends, he still get mgt fees..............which can be even more.
cant u see that there is agency cost involved here?
btw mgt and shareholders?

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 09:15 PM
the board is controlled by chairman. since he got the most shares in the club.
he as the biggest shareholder wanna throw money, wat can the smaller shareholders do?
he as chairman, get 2 sets of income.
1 set is from dividends from the club,
2nd set is from mgt fees he recieves as the chairman.
so if he dun get much from dividends, he still get mgt fees..............which can be even more.
cant u see that there is agency cost involved here?
btw mgt and shareholders?
Err sorry ya point is?

verydead
23-07-2002, 09:19 PM

thats my pt.
:)
all along..................

Shingoz
23-07-2002, 09:24 PM

thats my pt.
all along..................
Err okie okie ~

gerrard17
23-07-2002, 09:40 PM

Exactly.

Taken from icliverpool

Jerzy Dudek ( £ 5m),
Stephane Henchoz (£3.5m)

woot~

heng32
24-07-2002, 03:24 AM
Asslex ferguson is crazy he spent 30 million pounds just for Rio ferdinard. He have to offload some of his players if he want to sign new players. This is stupid.

verydead
24-07-2002, 09:25 AM
Asslex ferguson is crazy he spent 30 million pounds just for Rio ferdinard. He have to offload some of his players if he want to sign new players. This is stupid.

whats new?:laugh:

verydead
24-07-2002, 09:58 AM
Rush: Nobody keeps Liverpool waiting!

Story by Kop Talk News 23 July 2002

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Liverpool legend Ian Rush says Gerard Houllier was right to pull the plug on Lee Bowyer's proposed move to Anfield because nobody keeps the Reds waiting.

"Lee Bowyer paid the inevitable price over the weekend for keeping one of the world's biggest clubs waiting," said Rush.
"His reluctance to finalise a move to Anfield proved his undoing.

"When Liverpool come in for you it should be a straightforward decision.

"Very few players keep Liverpool waiting. The Reds proved with the Nicolas Anelka saga that they are not willing to be messed around.

"If the player was not convinced of the move, then it is unlikely that he would have produced his best form had he become a Liverpool player. For that reason Gerard Houllier was right to pull the plug.

"He needs players with hunger, players with the desire to wear the red shirt with pride.

"There are millions of fans all over the world who would give anything to do that. The least they expect from their heroes is that they feel the same when they take to the pitch on a Saturday afternoon."

BurnLives
24-07-2002, 10:36 AM

people got lotsa money no where to spend mah ? what can u do ?

Tucksoon
24-07-2002, 01:55 PM
Rush: Nobody keeps Liverpool waiting!

Story by Kop Talk News 23 July 2002

Liverpool legend Ian Rush says Gerard Houllier was right to pull the plug on Lee Bowyer's proposed move to Anfield because nobody keeps the Reds waiting.

"Lee Bowyer paid the inevitable price over the weekend for keeping one of the world's biggest clubs waiting," said Rush.
"His reluctance to finalise a move to Anfield proved his undoing.

"When Liverpool come in for you it should be a straightforward decision.

"Very few players keep Liverpool waiting. The Reds proved with the Nicolas Anelka saga that they are not willing to be messed around.

"If the player was not convinced of the move, then it is unlikely that he would have produced his best form had he become a Liverpool player. For that reason Gerard Houllier was right to pull the plug.

"He needs players with hunger, players with the desire to wear the red shirt with pride.

"There are millions of fans all over the world who would give anything to do that. The least they expect from their heroes is that they feel the same when they take to the pitch on a Saturday afternoon."

Rush is absolutely rite :)

Tucksoon
24-07-2002, 01:57 PM
Originally posted by BurnLives

people got lotsa money no where to spend mah ? what can u do ?

donate to charity lor....might bring better luck even....lol

verydead
24-07-2002, 03:59 PM
Key week for Czech mates

Liverpool stars Patrik Berger and Vladimir Smicer will thrash out their Anfield futures at the Reds' training camp in Switzerland this week.

Pavel Paska, the agent who works for both Czech players, is flying into Liverpool's training base for talks with Anfield officials about new contracts on the table for Berger and Smicer.

Berger has been offered a one year extension to his present deal after suffering with injuries over the past 18 months, while Smicer has been offered a three year deal but is likely to want assurances about his part in Gerard Houllier's plans before putting pen to paper.

Of particular interest to both players would be the part they will play if the Reds follow up their initial interest in Blackburn star Damien Duff.

Smicer said: "We are talking this week in Switzerland. That was the arrangement all along and we will see what happens. I want to stay, that's the important thing."

verydead
24-07-2002, 03:59 PM
if duff does join liverpool, most likely smicer is the one to miss out on a starting place.

verydead
24-07-2002, 04:49 PM
Pongolle happy with Anfield choice

Florent-Sinama Pongolle has revealed he had his pick of many of Europe's top clubs before deciding his future was with Liverpool.

Pongolle, who will arrive at Anfield in time for the start of next season, gave a tantalising glimpse of the Reds' future with an excellent performance against Liverpool on Friday, but he admits he could easily be heading to another club next year.

The French youngster said: "There were other clubs. Manchester United, Arsenal, Fulham, Real Madrid and Valencia were all interested.

"But you must not think of just money and keep your feet firmly on the ground."

verydead
24-07-2002, 06:26 PM
Agent claims Reds chasing Fadiga

Senegal World Cup star Khalilou Fadiga could be on his way to Anfield, according to the player's agent.

The Reds have already signed two Senegalese players this summer - El-Hadji Diouf and Salif Diao - and Fadiga could complete the hat-trick if his agent's claims are proved correct.

Fadiga was voted Senegal's best player in the World Cup and Mackay believes the 27 year old midfielder is now ready for a move away from French club Auxerre.

Monaco based Willie Mackay said: "I have been contacted by Liverpool about Fadiga. I have spoken to Gerard Houllier and Rick Parry and they are very interested in him.

"Fadiga's room-mate on international duty is El-Hadji Diouf and he has told him all about Liverpool.

"The player is very keen on a move to England and especially a big club like Liverpool.

"He could do a fantastic job on the left or right side of midfield and could even work down the middle if need be.

"Fadiga is keen to move on as he feels he is at the right age at 27 to do so. He has a personal promise from Guy Roux that he will be allowed to leave if a big club comes in for him and Liverpool are a big club."

Tucksoon
24-07-2002, 06:47 PM
another senegal player?

if so the 3 can dance like during world cup liao :laugh:

Mr_Valentino
24-07-2002, 07:21 PM
I'm more concern about buying so many players from the same African team, Senegal.

Why?

What will happen if all go on internation duty?

shootinstars
24-07-2002, 07:28 PM
another senegal player?

if so the 3 can dance like during world cup liao :laugh:

:rolleyes:

verydead
24-07-2002, 07:32 PM
I'm more concern about buying so many players from the same African team, Senegal.

Why?

What will happen if all go on internation duty?

ya, i m not so sure whether its wise to buy 3 senegal players.......... it might be one too many............
i wldnt mind if they are european..... but african, not too proven in the EPL yet................

verydead
24-07-2002, 07:39 PM
Reds rubbish Fadiga rumours

Senegal World Cup star Khalilou Fadiga is NOT on his way to Anfield, despite what you may have read in this morning's newspapers.

Willie McKay, Fadiga's agent, has claimed that Gerard Houllier is keen to snap up Fadiga before the start of the season from French club Auxerre.

The 27 year old is keen for a move away from Auxerre, but he won't be playing his football at Anfield next season.

Club spokesman Ian Cotton today told Liverpoolfc.tv: "Contrary to speculation in the press today Liverpool Football Club are not interested in signing this player."

verydead
24-07-2002, 07:40 PM
heng man, no buying..........:)

gerrard17
24-07-2002, 07:51 PM
Ya heng,not another senegal player.;)

hartly
24-07-2002, 09:31 PM
Phew.... luckily no buy.... otherwise will be a bad buy for the Pools

Mr_Valentino
25-07-2002, 03:15 AM
Midfielder Vladimir Smicer has agreed a two-year extension to his contract.

Hopefully, he can be more consistence for this season.

Actually, my opinion of him has changed for the better ever since his winning goal against Chelsea.

verydead
25-07-2002, 09:36 AM
Smicer agrees new Anfield deal

Liverpool have today announced that Czech star Vladimir Smicer has agreed to sign an extension to his Anfield contract.

Smicer has held talks with Gerard Houllier at the Reds' training camp in Switzerland and, after being assured that he figures in the manager's future plans, has agreed to put pen to paper on a two year extension.

Club spokesman Ian Cotton told Liverpoolfc.tv: "A new contract, which will tie Vladi to the club for the next three years, has been agreed with the player and he will sign that when he returns from the club's training camp at the end of the week."

verydead
25-07-2002, 09:36 AM
Midfielder Vladimir Smicer has agreed a two-year extension to his contract.

Hopefully, he can be more consistence for this season.

Actually, my opinion of him has changed for the better ever since his winning goal against Chelsea.

he is still very useful for the reds...........:)

shootinstars
25-07-2002, 11:24 AM

Yeah.:)

hueman
25-07-2002, 12:19 PM

if only he can be more consistent....

verydead
25-07-2002, 01:10 PM
Originally posted by hueman

if only he can be more consistent....

i say, play him more in champions league, less in EPL..........

BurnLives
25-07-2002, 01:31 PM
Hopefully Patrik Berger also staying, really miss his thunderous left shot.

verydead
25-07-2002, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by BurnLives
Hopefully Patrik Berger also staying, really miss his thunderous left shot.

nowadays, his shots are to used to shot areoplanes...................

Winevil
25-07-2002, 03:23 PM
Taken from soccernet....

Liverpool in swap bid for Duff
By Alan Nixon

Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier is ready to make a players-plus-cash bid for Blackburn winger Damien Duff.

The Republic of Ireland international has become a priority for Liverpool since the collapse of talks with Lee Bowyer, but Houllier will offer only £12million and the option of a swap.

Liverpool have Blackburn target Djimi Traore to offer in exchange and could throw Stephen Wright or Patrik Berger into the equation.

Blackburn would demand £20m for Duff but are hopeful of keeping him, possibly on a new deal with the option to leave in a year.

Liverpool, who yesterday announced that midfielder Vladimir Smicer has agreed a two-year extension to his contract, have lined up an alternative in Auxerre's £3.5m-rated Senegal international Khalilou Fadiga.

Hooray.......heh heh

winevil

Tucksoon
25-07-2002, 04:00 PM
Taken from soccernet....

Liverpool in swap bid for Duff
By Alan Nixon

Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier is ready to make a players-plus-cash bid for Blackburn winger Damien Duff.

The Republic of Ireland international has become a priority for Liverpool since the collapse of talks with Lee Bowyer, but Houllier will offer only £12million and the option of a swap.

Liverpool have Blackburn target Djimi Traore to offer in exchange and could throw Stephen Wright or Patrik Berger into the equation.

Blackburn would demand £20m for Duff but are hopeful of keeping him, possibly on a new deal with the option to leave in a year.

Liverpool, who yesterday announced that midfielder Vladimir Smicer has agreed a two-year extension to his contract, have lined up an alternative in Auxerre's £3.5m-rated Senegal international Khalilou Fadiga.

Hooray.......heh heh

winevil

mixed reactions from the news....happy that Duff might be joining pools, sad that Stephen Wright or Patrik Berger might be sacrificed

and the Fadiga rumour is true???

Winevil
25-07-2002, 04:06 PM

i think the report meant that fadiga is an alternative to duff if liverpool cannot get duff

winevil

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:20 PM
Blackburn keen to keep Duff

Blackburn have insisted they're "not miles apart" from agreeing new terms with star winger Damien Duff.

Liverpool made an enquiry about Duff's availability last week, but were told he wasn't for sale as Graeme Souness aims to tie his Republic of Ireland international to a new Ewood Park contract.

Souness has since put a £20 million price tag on Duff's head and Blackburn chief executive John Williams is hoping a new deal can be ironed out.

He said: "It is not as though we are encouraging any bids. We want Damien to stay at the club and are still in talks with him and his agent over a new improved deal that will keep him at Ewood Park.

"We want him in a blue and white shirt next season and we're not miles apart."

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:22 PM

mixed reactions from the news....happy that Duff might be joining pools, sad that Stephen Wright or Patrik Berger might be sacrificed

i think most likelt to go in a swap deal is traore............
i dun think liverpool wld like wright go.............
he is showing alot of potential to be the best and a gd back up as well............

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:23 PM

i think the report meant that fadiga is an alternative to duff if liverpool cannot get duff

winevil

i think the fadiga report is a whole load of bull..............
liverpool isnt interested i reckon............

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:27 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=100780&clid=&cpid=&Title=Trotters+plot+Traore+move

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:28 PM
http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=100771&clid=&cpid=&Title=Reds+Emerton+link+resurfaces

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:31 PM
i wldnt mind buy emerton as well................ he is rated quite highly............
but i dun think he is the alternative for duff............. rather, he is the replacement for bowyer.............
he plays on the right wing...............:)

verydead
25-07-2002, 05:50 PM
FADIGA WON'T LET HIS ANFIELD DREAM DIE

Khalilou Fadiga has revealed he has set his heart on becoming the third Senegal World Cup star to move to Liverpool, despite the club's continued denial that they are on his trail.

The midfielder's agent claimed he has been in discussions with the Anfield club after the 27-year-old caught the eye in Korea/Japan.

However, Club spokesman Ian Cotton told the Official Liverpool site: "Contrary to speculation in the press today Liverpool Football Club are not interested in signing this player."

But Fadiga wants to join international team-mates El Hadji Diouf and Salif Diao on Merseyside after they made their respective switches earlier in the summer.

He said: "I have followed Liverpool for many years and am a big fan of players like Michael Owen, Emile Heskey and Dietmar Hamann. They are one of the best teams in the world - of course I would like to play for them.

"Two of my good friends, El Hadji Diouf and Salif Diao, play at the club and I would love to join them there. Also, Gerard Houllier is a very, very good coach."

The 27-year-old revealed that Italian giants Inter Milan were also interested in his signature, but insisted: "For me it is better to go to Liverpool. They play the football I like, have a French coach and I have friends there."

Fadiga is currently has two years left on his contract at Auxerre, but could be available fraction of the £20million Liverpool would have to pay Blackburn for Damien Duff.

The player is understood to have an agreement with coach Guy Roux that he can leave if a big club comes in for him. The French side are likely to let him leave for £5m.

Magia
25-07-2002, 06:39 PM
GH intend to bring the whole Senegal midfield players to Anfied ?? hehe :D

verydead
25-07-2002, 08:25 PM
Originally posted by Magia
GH intend to bring the whole Senegal midfield players to Anfied ?? hehe :D

i think its a one sided affair............. fadiga wan, liverpool dun wan.................:laugh: :laugh:

gerrard17
25-07-2002, 08:52 PM
Great.Liverpool is stepping up the chase on Duff.

Magia
25-07-2002, 10:34 PM

i think its a one sided affair............. fadiga wan, liverpool dun wan.................:laugh: :laugh:

hehe ... well IMHO i think Fadiga is a better player than Diao ... what u guys think?

verydead
25-07-2002, 10:56 PM
Originally posted by Magia

hehe ... well IMHO i think Fadiga is a better player than Diao ... what u guys think?

diff players, diff positions................
diao is a defensive midfielder..................
not a gd comparision............

verydead
25-07-2002, 11:32 PM
Feyenoord prepared to listen to Emerton offers

Feyenoord have reported they have received no bids for reputed Liverpool target Brett Emerton but are willing to listen to offers for the player.

The Australian international right winger has been strongly linked with a move to the Premiership with Liverpool and Leeds being touted as possible contenders for his signature.

However, Feyenoord press officer Fred Blankenmeijer said: "We have not had any contact from any club in England recently or in the last month.

"Of course we would consider any offers and we would talk to any club who were interested, but at this moment in time we have not had any offers for Brett."

verydead
25-07-2002, 11:35 PM
i wld not be surprised if liverpool buys 2 more players this season......... afterall, squad nos 11 and 12 are left vacant delibrately..................
so maybe, emerton for the right plus duff for the left?:D

verydead
25-07-2002, 11:36 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N135810020725-1520.htm

some pics of modern day heros.............:)

verydead
26-07-2002, 10:10 AM
Yes!!!!!!!!!! finally we got duff!!!:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

full story (http://makeashorterlink.com/?I1C021A51)

Winevil
26-07-2002, 10:27 AM
ehhh....cant go to the link....all i see is some beer name called Duff..heh heh......

really we got duff??

winevil

hueman
26-07-2002, 02:46 PM
NOT FUNNY! :mad:
Yes!!!!!!!!!! finally we got duff!!!:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

full story (http://makeashorterlink.com/?I1C021A51)

Mr_Valentino
26-07-2002, 03:50 PM
Talking about Duff, how come no news about him now, eh?

Is Le Boss put off by the price tag of 15 million pound or above?
Or maybe, he is going after Brett Emerton?

If we chase after Emerton signtuare, I rather have Nick Barmy back in the first eleven.

Never see Emerton play before, is he really that good?

verydead
26-07-2002, 04:11 PM
Talking about Duff, how come no news about him now, eh?

Is Le Boss put off by the price tag of 15 million pound or above?
Or maybe, he is going after Brett Emerton?

If we chase after Emerton signtuare, I rather have Nick Barmy back in the first eleven.

Never see Emerton play before, is he really that good?

i have seen emerton play for australia................ very gd...........

verydead
26-07-2002, 04:22 PM
Berger set to sign

Patrik Berger is reportedly ready to follow in the footsteps of Czech colleague Vladimir Smicer and sign a new contract at Anfield.

Smicer agreed a two year extension to his Anfield deal earlier in the week, and all the signs are that Berger will put pen to paper on a one year extension next month.

Berger said: "I've spoken to Houllier about prolonging my contract and sometime in August I should sign a one year extension with an option."

verydead
26-07-2002, 04:22 PM
this means, berger is not included in any swap deal............. he is here to stay.........

verydead
26-07-2002, 04:25 PM
Bowyer unsure of Leeds future

Lee Bowyer admits he still does not know whether he will commit his long-term future to Leeds.
The 25-year-old has one year left on his Elland Road contract and is said to be stalling on the club's offer of a new deal, worth a reported £39,000 a week. The midfielder saw his proposed £9m move to Liverpool collapse last week, after their manager Gerard Houllier accused him of lacking "hunger" and "desire".
His reluctance to commit himself to Leeds saw him placed on the transfer list at the end of last season, and chairman Peter Ridsdale has reiterated his stance that the player will be sold if he does not sign the new deal.
Bowyer said: "I am not going to say yes or no to whether I have ruled out staying.
"I don't know myself what I am going to do. I cannot tell the future. There are a lot of things that can happen between now and next summer."
The former Charlton man suggested that he is far from happy with the treatment he has received from Leeds since being cleared of charges related to an attack on a student outside a Leeds nightclub in January 2000.
"You know why I have not signed," he added. "I have spoken to the manager and the chairman and they know the situation. Things have happened behind closed doors that nobody knows about."
Bowyer says he will continue to give his all for Leeds until his situation becomes clearer, and said: "I go out to give 100% each game I play. The boss knows that, and the supporters and other players know that.
"I have never hidden in games, and I never will do - no matter what sort of situation I am in. So there is no worry that I will be holding back anything.
"I have given my all to the team, the supporters and whoever has been manager. I will carry on doing that for as long as I am at the club."
Bowyer remains unconcerned by Houllier's comments and says he is "delighted" to be back at Leeds.
"That was his own opinion," said Bowyer. "In football in general, I never lack hunger or desire, not for the team I am playing for, even as a kid.
"But at this moment I play for Leeds, not Liverpool, and I believe with hindsight that it is in the best interest of both parties. Now I am back playing with people I love playing with and working with, so I am delighted," Bowyer told the Daily Express.

verydead
26-07-2002, 04:27 PM
another piece of evidence of bowyer's bad attutide and houllier's genius..............
really glad the reds didnt buy this badass.............

gerrard17
26-07-2002, 07:04 PM
So how?

Any update on Duff?

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:50 PM
Dudek's defensive demands

Jerzy Dudek has insisted Liverpool's defence needs to once again be on top form this season if the Reds are to challenge for the Premiership title.

The Polish goalkeeper describes the central defensive pairing of Sami Hyypia and Stephane Henchoz as "the best in the country", but he knows actions need to speak louder than words as Liverpool look to end their long wait for championship glory.

In the second part of our exclusive interview, Dudek told Liverpoolfc.tv: "I've said it before and I will say it again because I firmly believe it, Sami and Stephane are the best in the country.

"They have a good relationship with each other on the pitch and when the unit works well together it makes sure we keep mistakes at a minimum.

"Good defending is always the key to winning games. When you play well and keep a clean sheet it is always easier to keep the result of the match in your hands. That is what we must concentrate on once again this season."

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:51 PM
Heskey signs new Anfield deal

Emile Heskey has signed an extension to his Liverpool contract which will keep him at Anfield until 2005.

The Reds' striker, who has netted 39 goals for the Reds in 123 games since arriving from Leicester City, agreed new terms with the Reds before heading off to the training camp in Switzerland.

With Czech duo Vladimir Smicer and Patrik Berger also close to signing new contracts, Heskey's decision completes a welcome hat-trick for Gerard Houllier as the Reds gear up for the new Premiership campaign.

Houllier said today: "Both Vladimir Smicer and Patrik Berger have agreed to stay and Emile Heskey has already signed.

"These players have been loyal servants to us and I am delighted these matters have been sorted out."

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:53 PM
Gerrard to sit out Wolfsburg friendly
Steven Gerrard will not play against Wolfsburg on Saturday as Reds boss Gerard Houllier bids to preserve his fitness ahead of the new season.
Houllier is keen for his injury-prone midfielder not to pick up any unwanted knocks and has decided not to risk him in the weekend friendly against the German side.
The decision to leave Gerrard out of the clash is only a precaution and he is not thought to have suffered a recurrence of the groin injury that kept him out of this summer's World Cup.
Houllier has confirmed, however, that the rest of his first-team squad will play some part in the game on Saturday, meaning Michael Owen will get a run-out in the fixture.
Owen did not feature in the Reds' first pre-season friendly of the summer last week against Le Havre, but he has been training with the rest of the first-team squad in Switzerland this week ahead of the weekend game at FC Horgen's ground.
Elsewhere, Dietmar Hamann, Patrik Berger and Sami Hyypia, who were also not involved against Le Havre, look likely to play some part and new signing El-Hadji Diouf should get more than the 20 minutes he got last week.
Markus Babbel will be looking to get more match practice under his belt ahead of the new season, although Jamie Carragher will not feature as he is still recovering from a knee injury.
Wolfsburg are sure to provide a tough test for the Reds as they are already well advanced in their pre-season preparations and have already recorded thumping wins over the summer. They kicked off with a 17-1 win over TSV Fortuna Bergfeld, followed that up with a 12-1 thumping of SV Eintracht Ottbergen before putting 20 goals past MTV Furstenberg.

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:56 PM
"These players have been loyal servants to us and I am delighted these matters have been sorted out."

loyalty is a impt trait to play for liverpool....................
bowyer? juz doesnt fit in!

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:57 PM
Club before country for Carragher

Jamie Carragher has revealed he felt obliged to put club before country over the summer in order to be fit for the new Premiership season.
The Liverpool defender decided against going to the World Cup with England and instead stayed at home to have an operation on his knee so he could be fit for the beginning of the season.
He told TEAMtalk: "I think your club has to come before country. They pay your wages.
"England is a bonus so I think Liverpool's my main priority, so I had to be fit for them."
The 24-year-old also admitted he is looking forward to the new campaign and admitted he hopes the arrival of the new players can help spur the Reds on to their first title since 1990.
He added: "There's three or four new players and maybe a couple more to come so I'm looking forward to the new season, we are getting closer and closer in the league and hopefully we'll move up a place this season."

verydead
26-07-2002, 11:59 PM
another example of a fine player with 'the hunger and desire' to play for liverpool!!

good man!:bounce: :bounce:

shootinstars
28-07-2002, 12:19 AM
Club before country for Carragher

Jamie Carragher has revealed he felt obliged to put club before country over the summer in order to be fit for the new Premiership season.
The Liverpool defender decided against going to the World Cup with England and instead stayed at home to have an operation on his knee so he could be fit for the beginning of the season.
He told TEAMtalk: "I think your club has to come before country. They pay your wages.
"England is a bonus so I think Liverpool's my main priority, so I had to be fit for them."
The 24-year-old also admitted he is looking forward to the new campaign and admitted he hopes the arrival of the new players can help spur the Reds on to their first title since 1990.
He added: "There's three or four new players and maybe a couple more to come so I'm looking forward to the new season, we are getting closer and closer in the league and hopefully we'll move up a place this season."

;)

verydead
28-07-2002, 11:17 AM
know whats the name of the Wolfsburg coach ?
................... Wolfgang Wolf.................

haha, what a name............

Mr_Valentino
28-07-2002, 02:03 PM
We wasn't too impressive against Wolfsburg.
Hmm....but then again it only friendly match.

Our next test will be much tougher when they take on Lazio at Anfield.

Soccerkid
28-07-2002, 05:57 PM
its not a first team effort, its played by 23 players.. so dun think will have the usual first team playin togetherh lor...

anyway, anyone bought the new liverpool jersey already? black or red nicer?

Tucksoon
28-07-2002, 06:20 PM
know whats the name of the Wolfsburg coach ?
................... Wolfgang Wolf.................

haha, what a name............

:laugh:

arsene wenger also....first name sounds similar to arsenal

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:22 PM
its not a first team effort, its played by 23 players.. so dun think will have the usual first team playin togetherh lor...

i think black nicer...........
the training shirt not bad...........

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:23 PM
Houllier pleased with Cheyrou display

Gerard Houllier believes the signing of Bruno Cheyrou gives his team plenty of options going forward.

Against Wolfsburg in the second half, Cheyrou played in an experimental role behind the front two strikers of Milan Baros and Emile Heskey, later Neil Mellor. The Frenchman showed some silky skills and displayed his good range of passing.

Houllier said the player was quite critical of himself after the game and the Reds boss admitted that is always a good sign.

Houllier said: "Bruno is very skilful and is a good addition to my squad.

"He said he wasn't very happy with his performance which is a good thing when the player says that.

"I thought El-Hadji Diouf took his goal very well. He scored in a 30 minute each way friendly yesterday and then again tonight. It's always nice to get your first goal."

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:25 PM
We wasn't too impressive against Wolfsburg.
Hmm....but then again it only friendly match.

Our next test will be much tougher when they take on Lazio at Anfield.

our best players....... hyypia, gerrard, carragher, etc did not play...............
plus we r in the early part of preseason............
wolfsburg is already in their advanced stage............

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:26 PM
Skipper set for Lazio return

Sami Hyypia should make his first appearance of Liverpool's pre-season campaign when the Reds take on Lazio at Anfield on Tuesday night.

The Finnish international has missed both warm-up matches so far with a minor ankle knock, but manager Gerard Houllier is confident Hyypia will return for next week's clash with the Serie A giants.

Houllier said: "Sami has been struggling a little bit with his ankle but it's nothing serious and I would think he will be available for the game with Lazio on Tuesday."

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:27 PM
now we all noe why hyypia didnt play................
hopfully his injury is not too serious..............

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:28 PM
Heskey - Injury isn't serious

Emile Heskey has played down fears of an injury scare ahead of the new season by revealing he was substituted as a precaution during Liverpool's 1-1 friendly draw with Wolfsburg.

Heskey, who has recently signed a new Anfield contract, limped off during the Reds' warm-up match in Horgen and was immediately led to the dressing room with the club doctor.

But the big striker was quick to stress that he hadn't taken a serious knock and that he was just erring on the side of caution by coming off.

Heskey told Liverpoolfc.tv: "I feel okay. I just felt my hamstring tighten a bit during the second half and so there was no point taking any risks.

"It's too early to say whether I'll play against Lazio on Tuesday but it's definitely not a serious injury and I should be fine again in a few days

verydead
28-07-2002, 06:30 PM
Houllier satisfied with Wolfsburg performance

Gerard Houllier declared himself more than satisfied with the performance of his players in the 1-1 draw with Wolfsburg in Horgen, Switzerland.

Houllier said the team had enjoyed a good week's training in their Swiss training camp and said his players were looking sharp.

Houllier said: "It was a good game for us. They were a good side and I thought the boys did well.

"Most players got a game under their belts which is very important at this stage apart from a few players with niggles. We have had a good week of training in Switzerland and the boys are looking sharp.

"We haven't risked Sami Hyypia in our first two friendly games. He has a little ankle niggle which we didn't want to risk but he will be OK for the game with Lazio at Anfield on Tuesday.

"The reason Emile Heskey had to come off is he felt a slight hamstring but there are no problems and he should be fine for the Lazio game.

"We didn't risk Vladimir Smicer who had a bit of a niggle but he will be OK for Lazio. We rested Steven Gerrard and Alou Diarra played in a practice game yesterday but got a head injury. It is nothing serious and we didn't want to take any risks. Again he should be OK for the Lazio game.

"It was nice for El-Hadji Diouf to score and he took his goal well. He played in a practice game 30 minutes each way yesterday as well and scored then. It's always nice for a player to get his first goal."

alamak
28-07-2002, 08:15 PM

got black meh?

any pics to show the black one?

Soccerkid
28-07-2002, 10:37 PM
got.. next season home kit red, away kit black, veri cool :D

alamak
29-07-2002, 01:38 AM
got.. next season home kit red, away kit black, veri cool :D

got pic got link??

nv see them wear black b4 leh..... hehe

Virus
29-07-2002, 02:20 AM
got pic got link??

nv see them wear black b4 leh..... hehe
Black is not officially release yet. The official sale of the Black Away jersey will be on 15th August.

Mr_Valentino
29-07-2002, 02:50 AM

Black is not officially release yet. The official sale of the Black Away jersey will be on 15th August.

COOL!:D

Mr_Valentino
29-07-2002, 03:10 AM
our best players....... hyypia, gerrard, carragher, etc did not play...............
plus we r in the early part of preseason............
wolfsburg is already in their advanced stage............

I suppose it called saving the best for last. :D
Lazio, here we come......

alamak
29-07-2002, 11:51 AM
wow.. liverpool in black.. this is a must see!!

shootinstars
29-07-2002, 12:59 PM
wow.. liverpool in black.. this is a must see!!

Been waiting for so long......:(

verydead
29-07-2002, 03:59 PM
Heskey backs Diouf to be Premiership star

Emile Heskey has backed El-Hadji Diouf to be a Premiership sensation this season.

The Senegalese star has already given the Liverpool fans a tantalising glimpse of his talents by playing a starring role for his country in the World Cup and then netting for the Reds against Wolfsburg on Saturday night.

It was Diouf's second strike in two games after scoring in a 5-1 win over a local Swiss side on Friday night, and Heskey is predicting a season of goals for Gerard Houllier's new £10 million man.

Speaking to Liverpoolfc.tv after the 1-1 draw against Wolfsburg, Heskey said: "El-Hadji has been absolutely brilliant. In training he has worked really hard and it's obvious he really enjoys being at Liverpool.

"We knew all about him before he came here because he was one of the best players in the World Cup when Senegal were unlucky not to get to the semi-finals.

"He is more than good enough to be a big star in the Premiership and take the league by storm this year. He's already a really popular guy in the dressing room and we are all hoping he does a great job for us."

verydead
29-07-2002, 04:00 PM
liverpool's away kit..............

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N135840020729-0839.htm

Mr_Valentino
29-07-2002, 04:39 PM
liverpool's away kit..............
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N135840020729-0839.htm

Very nice indeed.

Men in Red at home
&
Men in Black away :D

verydead
29-07-2002, 05:03 PM
Striker thrilled with new deal

Emile Heskey has admitted he never had any hesitation in agreeing to sign an extension to his Liverpool contract.

Heskey put pen to paper on a new three year deal last week, fuelled by the belief that the Reds will continue to challenge for the game's top honours at home and abroad.

The Liverpool striker said: "As soon as I knew the club wanted to sort out a new contract for me I was happy to sign.

"There was never a moment's hesitation in my mind because this is the club I want to play for. Now it has been sorted out and I am really looking forward to the new season."

Heskey, who picked up a minor hamstring injury in the friendly with Wolfsburg over the weekend, said: "We've had a hard week in Switzerland with a lot of tough training sessions. The match against Wolfsburg on Saturday was a good exercise for us but obviously our preparations for the new season step up a gear over the next week when we play Lazio and then go to Madrid. They are games we are all really looking forward to."

verydead
29-07-2002, 05:04 PM
Liverpool signs new Goalkeeper!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=101136&clid=&cpid=&Title=Reds+pounce+for+French+ace

verydead
29-07-2002, 05:06 PM
i dunno how true this is....... since its not been confirmed by liverpool.tv..................

but if its true, surely it means arphexad's time is near and maybe even kirkland's future is in serious doubt!

he is bought to challange for no. 2 spot!

Soccerkid
29-07-2002, 06:19 PM
i tink kirkland will still be no.2 one lor.. we bought him for so much money.. maybe buy him to take over pegguy more believable lar.. but i dun think this news is true leh.. liverpoolfc.tv didnt even talk abt it..

verydead
29-07-2002, 06:28 PM
i tink kirkland will still be no.2 one lor.. we bought him for so much money.. maybe buy him to take over pegguy more believable lar.. but i dun think this news is true leh.. liverpoolfc.tv didnt even talk abt it..

ya.... dunno whether true anot...............
but planetfootball report on it as if its a fact leh...............
he is young........... so maybe its really true........... or unless GH wans 4 keepers............

verydead
29-07-2002, 06:36 PM
Liverpool set for French swoop?

By James Carroll
Date: 29/7/2002

Liverpool are set to sign Monaco goalkeeper Patrice Luzi, according to PlanetFootball.com. It's claimed that the 21-year-old goalkeeper is set to sign on a free transfer with a two-year contract.

Luzi has only ever played once for Monaco, but is expected to challenge Chris Kirkland and Pegguy Arphexad for a place on the bench at Anfield, with Jerzy Dudek remaining as the clubs number one.

Following the departure of Jorgen Nielsen, it was always likely that Gerard Houllier would bring another goalkeeper to the club and, if the report is to be believed, then Luzi will become a Liverpool player shortly after a deal was agreed over the weekend.

He will become Liverpool's fourth signing of the summer, following El-Hadji Diouf, Bruno Cheyrou and Alou Diarra. He will also become the sixth French member of the playing staff.

verydead
29-07-2002, 07:56 PM
Reds set for keeper swoop

Liverpool are set to sign goalkeeper Patrice Luzi from French First Division side Monaco.
The 21-year-old Frenchman, who never made a first-team appearance for Monaco and spent last season on loan at Corsica-based outfit Ajaccio, joined up with the Liverpool squad during their pre-season training camp in Switzerland and did enough to persuade manager Gerard Houllier to include him in his plans.
Luzi is not likely to feature for the first team next season, with Jerzy Dudek and Chris Kirkland firmly established as the top two keepers at the club, but his imminent arrival could cast doubt over the future of Pegguy Arphexad - the current third choice at Anfield.

verydead
29-07-2002, 08:03 PM
emerton soon?

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=101166&cpid=8&title=TRANSFER+TALK+FRUSTRATES+EMERTON

verydead
29-07-2002, 08:06 PM
Reds planning to sign new goalie

Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier is set to sign French goalkeeper Patrice Luzi from Monaco.

The 21 year old 'keeper spent last season on loan with Ajaccio but made just one appearance.

He has never made a first team appearance for Monaco, but the Liverpool boss clearly believes he has a bright future ahead of him.

Luzi was with the Liverpool squad in Switzerland last week and made an appearance during a practise match against a local club side on Friday night.

Liverpool spokesman Ian Cotton said today: "We are planning to sign the player."

verydead
29-07-2002, 08:08 PM
it is confirmed by liverpool....................
they have signed new gk Patrice Luzi.....................
now kirkland and arphexad.............. dunn wat implications for them............

hartly
29-07-2002, 08:53 PM
4 GK might not be very healthy for the club.

alamak
29-07-2002, 09:16 PM

Very nice indeed.

Men in Red at home
&
Men in Black away :D

was a must see.. now a must buy!!

but got to wait for price to drop... hehe

verydead
29-07-2002, 09:26 PM
4 GK might not be very healthy for the club.

i think might sell one away..........

verydead
29-07-2002, 09:32 PM
Baros set for big season

Milan Baros could play a big part in Liverpool's quest for honours this season, according to manager Gerard Houllier.

Houllier has been delighted with the Czech striker's form and fitness during pre-season so far, and he is expecting big things from him over the coming months.

He said: "Milan Baros has come back a completely different player. He has made a dramatic improvement. He is a lot sharper, a lot fitter and has lost a lot of weight in the summer.

"I can understand why people were disappointed with his performances last season. He wasn't producing the form I knew he was capable of, but I think he could play a big part for us this year."

verydead
29-07-2002, 09:35 PM
ahh.......... so now we noe why baros didnt play much last season..... afterall, he is highly rated.................

so it seems that we wasnt fit and was over weight..........

but i m juz excited to see him feature more this season.....:)

verydead
29-07-2002, 09:35 PM
Gerrard sent for thigh scan

Liverpool are confident that Steven Gerrard's thigh injury will not hamper their preparations for the new season.

Gerrard has been ruled out of tomorrow's friendly with Lazio at Anfield after the club decided to send him for a scan on his thigh to ensure the injury was nothing more than a strain.

Manager Gerard Houllier said today: "It's not a big problem for Steven. I don't have a time-scale for his return because we don't know what the scan is going to say. He will be having that later today."

Emile Heskey is also likely to miss the Lazio match with a hamstring injury, but Vladimir Smicer and Sami Hyypia are back in contention after overcoming minor injuries.

verydead
29-07-2002, 09:37 PM
lets juz hope that gerrad and heskey's injuries arent that serious............:(

verydead
29-07-2002, 10:46 PM
Carra set for quick return

Jamie Carragher is on course for a quicker than expected return to the Liverpool team after recovering from knee surgery.

The Liverpool defender saw his World Cup dreams disappear in the summer when he went under the surgeon's knife to cure a long-standing problem, but England's loss is set to be Liverpool's gain as the Reds are now hoping to welcome him back sooner than anticipated.

Manager Gerard Houllier revealed: "Jamie Carragher is making very good progress and I wouldn't be surprised if he was ahead of schedule now.

"At first we thought he would be ready again by mid-September but now we think he could be ready days, if not weeks, before that. He has been doing very well and that's good news for us."

verydead
29-07-2002, 10:55 PM
Boss still in hunt for new players

Gerard Houllier has admitted he is still in the market for new players before the start of the Premiership campaign.

The Reds boss wouldn't talk about specific individuals who have been linked with the club over recent weeks, but he did hint his summer spending isn't yet at an end.

Houllier said: "There has been a lot of speculation linking us with players like Damien Duff, Khalilou Fadiga and Brett Emerton, but it's nothing more than that.

"All I can say is that if players become available who we want, and they are available at the right price, then we will move for them. I would be lying if I said there weren't one or two players I'd like to have before the start of the season.

"But if we don't sign anyone else then I will still be happy. We are at the stage now where we are only interested in high quality because as far as the size of the squad is concerned, we have enough."

verydead
29-07-2002, 10:57 PM
Houllier - Why I'm signing Luzi

Gerard Houllier today insisted his desire to have four goalkeepers on the books at Anfield was his reason for signing Patrice Luzi from Monaco.

The Reds have agreed to take Luzi on a free transfer from French football after he impressed on trial in Switzerland last week and he becomes Houllier's fourth signing of a busy summer.

The manager said: "I want four goalkeepers at the club. Experience says that the top clubs all have four goalkeepers and since Jorgen Nielsen left at the end of last season I always intended to bring somebody else in.

"Patrice Luzi was available on a free transfer from Monaco. He's not ready for the first team yet but we'll work with him and improve him."

Soccerkid
30-07-2002, 12:37 AM

was a must see.. now a must buy!!

but got to wait for price to drop... hehe
anyone noe the price of the jerseys currently? around?:confused: wanna get it soon leh den print Gerrard 17 behind

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:31 PM
GERRARD BLOW MAY SPEED UP DIAO MOVE

07:05 - 30 July 2002

Liverpool manager Gerard Houllier may bring forward the signing of Senegal star Salif Diao if Steven Gerrard's latest injury setback is serious.

Gerrard is having a scan on a thigh problem, having recently recovered from the hernia operation he underwent after pulling out of the World Cup.

Houllier told the Daily Mail: "We will decide what to do after the scan. I don't think it is major.".

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:32 PM
Leeds prepare £4M offer for Liverpool's Barmby
tribalfootball.com - July 30, 2002

Leeds United boss Terry Venables remains keen on Liverpool midfielder Nick Barmby.
Venables worked with Barmby at Tottenham and England and is a big fan of the attacking midfielder.

Liverpool are demanding £4 million for the England international, who has been forced further down the pecking order this summer with the arrivals of Salif Diao and Bruno Cheyrou.

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:33 PM
what do u guys think of barmby?

keep or sell him?

personally, i like the player............ but given the squad we have, he might not be playing much... therefore, i say sell him but not b4 we sell players like heggem and diomede!

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:36 PM
more details of gerrard and diao situation...........

http://www.planetfootball.com/article.asp?id=101251&clid=&cpid=&Title=Diao+on+stand%2Dby+to+cover+for+Gerrard

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:38 PM
Leeds plan £12m raid for Emerton and Barmby

Danny Taylor
Tuesday July 30, 2002
The Guardian

Leeds have begun the task of putting the money from Rio Ferdinand's British-record £30m transfer to Manchester United to good use by preparing an £8m bid for Feyenoord's talented Australian international Brett Emerton.
Although Leeds are under pressure to use most of the Ferdinand money to ease their debts, they have released funds for Terry Venables to recruit players, starting with the 23-year-old Emerton. If their offer is successful they are likely to withdraw their interest in Tottenham's Darren Anderton, another right-sided midfielder but one of advancing years and a history of injuries.

Feyenoord have indicated they want to keep Emerton and they are in their most financially secure position for many years. Emerton is rated as one of the most exciting players in the Dutch league and if Leeds are to take him they may have to increase their offer to nearer £10m, a figure which the chairman Peter Ridsdale would be reluctant to sanction.

Last night there were unconfirmed Dutch reports that Ridsdale is to have talks with his Feyenoord counterpart Jorien van den Herik in Rotterdam this week. Leeds, during David O'Leary's tenure, first made an approach for Emerton towards the end of last season but the clubs could not agree a fee. Now, again, their difference in valuations could prove problematic.

Leeds, however, have been encouraged by the noises emanating from the player's camp and by the apparent cooling of interest on the part of Liverpool and Newcastle .

Venables is also keen to sign Liverpool's Nick Barmby because his ability on the left of midfield would allow Harry Kewell to adopt a more central position. Barmby is available for about £4m.

Robbie Fowler will visit a specialist today about the hip problem that forced him to fly home early from Leeds's tour of Australia and the Far East. However, Venables said yesterday that the injury should not rule the striker out for the start of the season.

Gérard Houllier has made his fifth Liverpool signing of the summer, taking the French goalkeeper Patrice Luzi on a free transfer from Monaco. The 22-year-old will be fourth choice at Anfield.

Middlesbrough are taking their summer spending past £20m after agreeing a fee of about £5 for Aston Villa's midfielder George Boateng.

Coventry have accepted a revised Celtic offer of about £2m for their goalkeeper Marcus Hedman. He is is expected to have a medical today. Celtic's manager Martin O'Neill is also close to completing the signing of Hibernian's defender Ulrik Laursen for a similar fee.

Six Barnsley players will each be fined the maximum two weeks' wages after a late-night drinking session on the club's tour of Scotland. Mitch Ward and Carl Regan are among the six, who were sent home.

verydead
30-07-2002, 02:40 PM
29.7.02 Only Diouf and Cheyrou will feature in first team: GH

Gerard Houllier has indicated that he is still looking to add to his squad - with Blackburn Rovers' Irish international Damien Duff already the subject of two inquiries.

"If the quality we are looking for is available and if the price is right -- then yes, we are interested," said Houllier. "If not, then I am quite happy with the squad I have."

Of his new signings, Houllier says only Diouf and Cheyrou will feature in the first team next season, with the others viewed as players for the future.

"Alou Diarra is a very young player who plays for the French under-20 side," said Houllier. "We may even loan him out to Le Havre in the French League for a season because it would be good for his career and for Liverpool as well."

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:40 PM
Houllier - I'm rested and ready

Gerard Houllier has insisted that a summer of rest and relaxation has ensured he is fighting fit ahead of the new season.

Houllier was forced to miss the World Cup after being advised to stay at home and rest following his heart scare last season, but now the Liverpool manager is ready and waiting for the big kick-off to come around in just a few weeks time.

Houllier said: "I feel much better now. For the first time in 22 years I wasn't able to go to a major football competition and that was a heart-breaking experience for me.

"I was sensible and had a quiet time instead and a bit of a break. As a manager you can never have a total break because there are always things going on but I do feel better and better all the time.

"I was a bit tired after the training camp in Switzerland but that's normal. The players were tired so it's only right that the manager is as well."

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:41 PM
Boss - Everyone will get a chance

Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier has promised that all of his first team squad players will be given a chance to impress over the course of the season.

Houllier admits he is still in the market for "one or two players" and he accepts that some players might want to leave if they feel they are moving further down the Anfield pecking order.

But he promised they will all have an opportunity to show what they can do. Houllier said: "There are a couple more I would like to bring in to reinforce the squad in terms of quality and if that happens some others may have to leave.

"If anyone is not happy I am sure they will be knocking on my door but I can promise them that everybody will be given a chance."

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:42 PM
:bounce: :bounce:

yes!! more squad rotation!

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:43 PM
New duo ready for first team action

Gerard Houllier has confirmed that only two of his four summer signings are ready for first-team action.

The Reds' boss has been busy during the close season securing the services of El-Hadji Diouf, Bruno Cheyrou, Alou Diarra and Patrice Luzi.

But Liverpool fans are only likely to see two of those players in Premiership action over the coming campaign.

Houllier said: "I would say that out of the four only Diouf and Cheyrou are ready for the first team.

"As for the others, we are probably going to send Diarra on loan to Le Havre for a season and Luzi has come here as a young goalkeeper who we are going to work with."

Diouf and Cheyrou will both make their Anfield debuts tonight when the Reds entertain Lazio (8pm).

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:44 PM
Diao could make early arrival

Salif Diao could make an earlier than expected arrival at Anfield if Steven Gerrard's injury proves to be worse than first feared.

Gerrard went for a scan on his thigh injury yesterday and, although the Reds are confident the results won't show anything serious, manager Gerard Houllier has admitted Diao would be brought to the club six months early if necessary.

Houllier said: "I don't think the injury is major but we will wait and see. If it becomes a recurring problem with him, then we will bring in Diao earlier."

Diao is due to join up with his new Liverpool team-mates at the end of the year after the Reds agreed terms with his club Sedan.

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:46 PM
Houllier hails new striking star

Gerard Houllier has admitted that El-Hadji Diouf's brilliant attitude helped secure him a Liverpool contract.

The Reds' boss met with Diouf before the World Cup and it didn't take him long to decide that the Senegalese star was the right man to fill the void left by Nicolas Anelka's departure.

Houllier said: "The thing I liked about the boy was his attitude when we were talking to him. He never once mentioned money. He just said 'give me the chance to play for Liverpool and you won't regret it'. That's how much he wanted to come here.

"I'm pleased we got the deal done before the World Cup because I'm sure his valuation would have gone up after that.

"He has shown in training and in the games so far that he is some player.

"We have pace and power with Michael Owen and Emile Heskey. With El-Hadji you obviously get those qualities but he has the skill with the ball to create something in tight areas and bring in other players."

verydead
30-07-2002, 05:49 PM
compare and contrast anelka, bowyer's attitude with diouf!!

no wonder GH sign him and not bowyer and anelka!!

he consistantly showed that he wld only sign player with the hunger and commitment to be a liverpool player!!:bounce: :bounce:

verydead
30-07-2002, 06:31 PM
Duff price too high for Liverpool?

By Chris McMullan
Date: 30/7/2002

There's been a lot of speculation surrounding Damien Duff and a possible move to Anfield, but it appears that playing legend Graeme Souness has priced the talented Irishman out of the market.

Although Souness has stated that he'd only sell the player if he received 'silly money', many news sources believed it was all talk and Duff would start the 2002-03 campaign with a liverbird upon his chest.

This Sky-Sports report quotes Houllier as playing down the reports especially whilst the price tag is so high:

"There has been a lot of speculation linking us with players like Damien Duff, Khalilou Fadiga and Brett Emerton, but it's nothing more than that.
"All I can say is that if players become available who we want, and they are available at the right price, then we will move for them. I would be lying if I said there weren't one or two players I'd like to have before the start of the season.

"But if we don't sign anyone else then I will still be happy. We are at the stage now where we are only interested in high quality because as far as the size of the squad is concerned, we have enough."

I think the boss is spot on with this one. I'm a big fan of Duff and believe a winger in his mould is just what we need, giving us the option of width. However, £20m is a silly amount for someone who is still relatively unproven at the top club level i.e. no Champions League experience.

True Duff had a great World Cup for Ireland, but so did Phil Babb in 1994 and look how that ended up! I think the £10-£12m mark is a fair price for Duff, possibly £15m if Houllier believes he's the missing piece of the puzzle that will win us the Championship.

As it stands though, it looks like Houllier will have to venture into the european markets to avoid paying an extra £10m just because a player has a British or Irish name . . .

Soccerkid
30-07-2002, 07:40 PM

keep or sell him?

personally, i like the player............ but given the squad we have, he might not be playing much... therefore, i say sell him but not b4 we sell players like heggem and diomede! actually he is a versatile player.. gd to keep in squad... dun give him first team but its useful to have players like him for rotation.. though i remember last season there were a few times when smicer came out frm the bench n scored some goals frm us towards the end of the season

verydead
30-07-2002, 08:06 PM
actually he is a versatile player.. gd to keep in squad... dun give him first team but its useful to have players like him for rotation.. though i remember last season there were a few times when smicer came out frm the bench n scored some goals frm us towards the end of the season

ya..... but we already have in excess of 15 midfielders in the club............ and we need to sell some players.......... otherwise it wld be unmanageable...........
the qn is, if its not going to be him, who then?

Mr_Valentino
30-07-2002, 10:39 PM

keep or sell him?

personally, i like the player............ but given the squad we have, he might not be playing much... therefore, i say sell him but not b4 we sell players like heggem and diomede!

Heggem - Did not feature for the last two seasons. He should be sold as I reckon that he will be injured until end of contract.

Diomede - Should sell. He was sign in 2000. Why was he sign in the first place? Was not played at all neither in the league nor the CL.

As for Barmy, give him another chance if we cannot get Duff.

verydead
31-07-2002, 12:01 AM
Houllier hails Reds' miracle man

Gerard Houllier has described Markus Babbel as Liverpool's miracle man as the Reds' defender prepares for an emotional return to Anfield action tonight.

Babbel, who missed all but two games of last season through illness, will start against Lazio tonight and is sure to receive a hero's ovation from the home fans who thought they may never see the German star in a red shirt again after he contracted Guillan-Barre syndrome last season.

Houllier, who admits Babbel may still be a couple of months away from a regular first team place, said: "It's a tribute to the hard work, dedication and effort Markus has put in that he is playing at this level again.

"He has sent a message to everybody. He is an example. It is a miraculous recovery when you consider it was only last December he was in a wheelchair.

"But knowing the man as I do it was never a doubt he would return. Obviously there were difficult times, but in a way I think what he has been through has cemented the bond between himself and the club.

"For different reasons I can empathise with this. I know there were two or three occasions last season when players and staff visited him when he didn't expect it and it was a very emotional time for him. I think he was close to tears when he realised how much we thought of him.

"All the lads like him very much and he will be like a new signing for us. He's a winner. At every club he has played for he has lifted trophies, although obviously it will take him some time to get back again at his best level.

"I hope tonight he receives the ovation he deserves, and I'm sure he will."

hartly
31-07-2002, 11:00 AM
Well, Babel deserve a standing ovation for what he've been through :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

verydead
31-07-2002, 11:06 AM
Well, Babel deserve a standing ovation for what he've been through :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

yup..... and i certainly hope that he can feature more this season............
he cld be the diff between finishing 2nd and champions........

verydead
31-07-2002, 11:07 AM
http://www.lfc-1.com/pics/pics.asp

pics of liverpool vs lazio............
enjoy!!

verydead
31-07-2002, 11:07 AM
5 pages in total!:)

Mr_Valentino
31-07-2002, 11:19 AM
yup..... and i certainly hope that he can feature more this season............
he cld be the diff between finishing 2nd and champions........

That is true.;)

verydead
31-07-2002, 11:31 AM
cheyrou had a storming game against lazio............:)
hes gd!!

Mr_Valentino
31-07-2002, 11:40 AM
cheyrou had a storming game against lazio............:)
hes gd!!

I had a feeling he will be in the starting eleven when season starts.:D

verydead
31-07-2002, 12:13 PM

I had a feeling he will be in the starting eleven when season starts.:D

i think so too....... juz not sure of his position since he can play anywhere in midfield as well as support striker............

silklee
31-07-2002, 01:38 PM
whats the Liverpool v Lazio match shown on SCV?

verydead
31-07-2002, 01:56 PM
Originally posted by silklee

nope.............. no shown. plus its over already............

Mr_Valentino
31-07-2002, 02:59 PM
Originally posted by silklee

Watch out on the 11/8, for the FA Community Shield.
Against the Gunner.

I think should have 'live' on TV. :D

verydead
31-07-2002, 04:00 PM

Watch out on the 11/8, for the FA Community Shield.
Against the Gunner.

I think should have 'live' on TV. :D

looking forward to that..... hehe...........
liverpool r defending champs!

verydead
31-07-2002, 04:19 PM
Houllier delighted with new stars

Gerard Houllier marvelled at the performances of his new recruits Bruno Cheyrou and El-Hadji Diouf during his side's 1-0 friendly defeat to Lazio.

The Anfield crowd warmed to the skills of Cheyrou and Diouf and Houllier was delighted with their contribution.

Houllier said: "Bruno and El-Hadji showed their quality and they showed they can play for Liverpool.

"The fans took to them and they showed their skills and did some very good things, and both nearly scored."

verydead
31-07-2002, 04:22 PM
Litmanen facing month on sidelines

Finnish star Jari Litmanen is likely to be out of action for two to four weeks after injuring his knee patella.

Reds boss Gerard Houllier said: "Jari has injured his patella and will be out for about two to four weeks.

"Chris Kirkland had a stiff neck and that's why he wasn't involved tonight.

"We didn't risk Emile Heskey's hamstring but he will be back for Madrid. Sami Hyypia played his first game tonight which was good.

"The news on Steven Gerrard is he could be back for the second game in Madrid on Sunday but if not then the Community Shield against Arsenal."

verydead
31-07-2002, 04:25 PM
litmanen doesnt have very gd fortune with injuries man..........:(