PDA

View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 [80] 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303

Velton
31-08-2005, 06:15 PM
:s13: Like that also count meh? I play CM and WE nia. :s22:

bwaysaibi
31-08-2005, 07:04 PM
omfg..... this is not the way to treat a striker who s been scoring since he was here
contrary to general belief, cisse is quite good. although i rate baros better
i think these 2 shd be kept at liverpool, yet one is sold, one is being offered to everyone
wtf r u doing? the management?
this will do the team no good

liverpool have always been poor on and off the field, by their standards and rich history

poor on field: a team with the top trophy count as well as reputation and history in england
yet now onli a second tier team. yes 2nd tier. we r never challenging for the title, just oso rans, always aiming for 4th place. why? because of tactical problems from the coaches ( souness, evans, houllier)
its evident, in mid 90s , we r playing some great short passing football, with a team boasting the likes of fowler, mcmanaman, redknapp, etc, a team rich in liverpool born players, but what we get is only great to watch team with nothing much in trophys to show.
then came houllier , pragmatist at best, confused manager at worst, brought in some great players, hyypia, riise, baros, hamann. nurturing of a certain micheal owen paid dividends. although style of playing is defensively boring but got some trophies, yeah the mini treble, but felt everything about houllier collapsed after his comeback from heart surgery, he seem to have lost the plot from then on and his exit was always gonna be near.
now on the field we r getting abit better than houllier's era, more attacking, results? yeah a champions league trophy is a great start, hope we can build on this, although standard of play has deteriorrated this season, maybe stil havent kick into gear? i hope im right.

yet its the off field battle we always seem to lose out
and this defintiely affect some of the on field performances.
the gerrard saga, the owen saga, just to name a few
not to mention we always seem to make lousy business decisions, over conservative approach to business
yes we saw what happen to leeds, we wa to avoid tat, its right, but where are we?
heading for aston villa direction too? ala milan baros? :D
what an irony
i will say we r still stuggling to compete for the best players
screw the $$$$, arsenal also operate on a similar budget to ours,
yet who they aim for? and who we aim for, yes we wana make most of our money unearthing young talents , thats fully correct, but seems even arsenal is doing that better than us at the moment
so we r neither here nor there
a second tier team on and off the field

sinned_82
31-08-2005, 07:12 PM
I seriously don't think there will be any new players coming in liao... its 12 hours until the deadline (UK time) and 12 hours is just not enuff to agree a fee, do the paper work and complete a medical. Guess we'll have to rely on our current crop of players until at least Jan... :s8:

hwaa
31-08-2005, 07:13 PM
yeah 15mil pounds abit pricey, transfer window closing soon~ :s22:

wonder how is cisse feeling now :o

hwaa
31-08-2005, 07:13 PM
I seriously don't think there will be any new players coming in liao... its 12 hours until the deadline (UK time) and 12 hours is just not enuff to agree a fee, do the paper work and complete a medical. Guess we'll have to rely on our current crop of players until at least Jan... :s8:

haizz, anyway you'll never walk alone. :s22:

thisisanfield
31-08-2005, 07:19 PM
I don't understand why Cisse is even the subject of transfer talks. It's not like there are too many strikers at Liverpool what...if he leaves only left Moro and Crouch as first choice, and Pongolle and Mellor as backup. Like that enuff meh?

Very ironic, given that last season we had no strikers to play sometimes, due to injury, now still want to sell off strikers...weird.

Ya loh, if I'm Cisse I also damn pissed liao, feel so unwanted. What's happening man!?

Tokieda
31-08-2005, 07:22 PM
1215: Simao Sabrosa appears set to join Liverpool from Benfica after the Portuguese Football Federation gave permission for the forward to undergo a medical at Anfield..

from bbc live transfer feed

AhnNakata7
31-08-2005, 08:51 PM
Simao set for Reds switch

Simao Sabrosa is set to join Liverpool from Benfica for £10m after the Portuguese Football Federation gave him permission to take a medical.

The 25-year-old will return to Portugal later on Wednesday to rejoin the national side as they prepare for Saturday's World Cup qualifying game against Luxembourg.

Simao joined Benfica in the summer of 2001 after a two-year spell at Barcelona, with reports suggesting a move would cost Liverpool £10m.

The Portuguese Football Federation announced on their website they have authorised the player to travel to Liverpool for the medical.

The federation said in a statement on Wednesday: "The Benfica forward Simao Sabrosa has been authorised to be temporarily absent from national team training to travel to Liverpool so he can undergo a medical.

"The national team coach (Felipe Scolari) accepted the player's request and it's expected that the Portuguese international will return later this afternoon in time to begin training at 1730.''

Simao came through the Sporting Lisbon youth system before moving to Barcelona in a 10million euros deal in 1999.

After two campaigns in Spain, he returned to his homeland with Benfica, who he helped to win the 2004 Portuguese Cup and last season's Superliga title.

He made his debut for Portugal in 1998 but was not included in the country's Euro 2000 squad and missed the World Cup two years later through injury.

Simao did play for his national team when they hosted Euro 2004 and finished runners-up to Greece.

cybertech
31-08-2005, 08:54 PM
Everyone talking about owen to newcastle united and might come back to haunt us and also help
newcastle united to top four position. But I just wonder can just one man do the magic as owen is
not the type of player that can drop back deep and create chances himself. He need people in the
middle to help provide passes to him. But anyway let just wait and see....

hanqiang1011
31-08-2005, 09:16 PM

Simao Sabrosa is set to join Liverpool from Benfica for £10m after the Portuguese Football Federation gave him permission to take a medical.

The 25-year-old will return to Portugal later on Wednesday to rejoin the national side as they prepare for Saturday's World Cup qualifying game against Luxembourg.

Simao joined Benfica in the summer of 2001 after a two-year spell at Barcelona, with reports suggesting a move would cost Liverpool £10m.

The Portuguese Football Federation announced on their website they have authorised the player to travel to Liverpool for the medical.

The federation said in a statement on Wednesday: "The Benfica forward Simao Sabrosa has been authorised to be temporarily absent from national team training to travel to Liverpool so he can undergo a medical.

"The national team coach (Felipe Scolari) accepted the player's request and it's expected that the Portuguese international will return later this afternoon in time to begin training at 1730.''

Simao came through the Sporting Lisbon youth system before moving to Barcelona in a 10million euros deal in 1999.

After two campaigns in Spain, he returned to his homeland with Benfica, who he helped to win the 2004 Portuguese Cup and last season's Superliga title.

He made his debut for Portugal in 1998 but was not included in the country's Euro 2000 squad and missed the World Cup two years later through injury.

Simao did play for his national team when they hosted Euro 2004 and finished runners-up to Greece.

True or not?

Regards

keltan
31-08-2005, 09:50 PM

10mil a little overpriced eh..

oO2acOo
31-08-2005, 10:07 PM
Simao Goals Vid (http://s38.yousendit.com/e.aspx?id=33JF1OBVECU0P09YJTEZFIP36H )

hwaa
31-08-2005, 10:12 PM
is there still time for a centre back? :s13:

younggun__007
31-08-2005, 10:34 PM
I read about Daniel Bonera. He's good. Proven In FM :D

If these two players arrive, it'll more than make up for owen's snub :)

hwaa
31-08-2005, 10:35 PM
Simao Goals Vid (http://s38.yousendit.com/e.aspx?id=33JF1OBVECU0P09YJTEZFIP36H )

thanks for the clip! seems like for benfica he's mostly on the left side ... but his right foot

is damn solid :s13:

hanqiang1011
31-08-2005, 10:46 PM
THE TRUTH BEHIND OWEN SWITCH
Liverpool Echo 31 August 2005

MICHAEL OWEN sat in his north Wales mansion desperately waiting for the Anfield cavalry to arrive yesterday.

Sadly for him, and thousands of Liverpool supporters desperate to see his return, the Reds were already in the process of retreating from the pursuit of his signature.

Instead, their former striker was dragged, kicking and screaming towards a clause-ridden Newcastle contract.

This was not supposed to be the final scene of the summer's most captivating transfer saga.

Even as Newcastle chairman Freddie Shepherd announced Owen's imminent arrival, the Geordies risked serious embarrassment.

With the St James' Park medical team due to arrive at his north Wales home to complete the formalities, Owen was still waiting for the call from the Anfield hierarchy.

When it came around 11am yesterday morning, the conversation between Owen and Rick Parry confirmed his fears. Liverpool had neither the cash, nor the will, to spend more than £12m to buy him back.

Real Madrid said that wasn't enough while Newcastle's £16m offer was on the table. For Liverpool to sign Owen, he had to publicly reject their offer and reiterate he'd only go to Anfield.

Sending an SOS to Anfield was fine, but without a white flag, surrendering any intention to join Newcastle, it was hopeless.

Sadly, this was a concession Owen felt he couldn't take without a definite assurance his ambition to join Liverpool would be realised.

Liverpool are stunned Owen opted for the Newcastle option given his doubts about the move.

They feel had he held his nerve and flatly rejected a switch North East, Madrid's stance may have softened over the next 24 hours.

When faced with a similar situation a week ago, Milan Baros publicly rebuffed any interest from Lyon and joined Aston Villa for a smaller fee.
Fernando Morientes took the same stance last January when in the wake of Liverpool interest, Newcastle offered more.

Liverpool wanted Owen to repeat Baros and Morientes' tactics. If the Geordies thought they were chasinga lost cause, they'd have to withdraw their bid.

The Reds could then continue negotiations with the Spanish giants in a stronger position. For Liverpool to sign Owen, it had to be a one horse race.

For Owen, the risk was too great. Time was running out. He was told by Madrid there was no prospect of a deal with Liverpool and if he didn't go to Newcastle, he'd be on the sidelines until January.

The shadow of the World Cup loomed large. It seems international ambition overrides a burning desire to return to Anfield and the next six months couldn't be sacrificed.

Owen was determined to maintain contact with Newcastle as a back-up option, but by courting their attention he created a fundamental flaw in Rafael Benitez's plan to get him.

After some horrendous advice, he was even pictured meeting Newcastle officials. Hardly the actions of a man trying to send a signal to Real Madrid he didn't fancy moving to St James' Park..

As Owen strolled around a Northumberland estate on Monday night, he was inadvertently knifing his and Liverpool ' s ambitions through the heart.

Having been set a morning deadline to make his decision, he returned to north Wales resigned to moving to Newcastle.

On Tuesday morning, he was having second thoughts and made a series of frantic phone calls to Anfield officials. Unlike the recent Steven Gerrard case, however, there was nothing Liverpool could do to reassure Owen a u-turn would definitely put him back in a red shirt.

They wanted him to reject Newcastle, but this would only trigger the beginning of more negotiating with Madrid.

Benitez's policy throughout the transfer was based partly on brinkmanship, bluff, and also a test of Owen's much publicised desperation to come home.

The Liverpool boss wasn't convinced by the private messages delivered via friends or journalists.

He demanded a statement from Owen, although when it arrived it hardly dripped with enthusiasm.

Owen's advisors elected to show their client as all things to all men, tellingly citing World Cup ambition above any fervent desire to join Liverpool.

Newcastle's £16m was then instantly made public, deflecting attention from Owen's understated 'come and get me plea' to his former employers.

Madrid refused to negotiate with Liverpool unless they matched Newcastle's offer. The loan deal Liverpool wanted was now out of the question.

As long as Owen rejected Newcastle, the Reds were in the driving seat.

Benitez and Parry met Owen on Monday. There was no clause in a Liverpool contract. Personal terms were not an issue. Difficult negotiations with Madrid were.

Owen was told to reject Newcastle. Instead, he and his advisor Tony Stephens headed north.

For all the sense of deflation at losing a player of Owen's calibre to Newcastle, few will argue the Reds should have matched such a ridiculous offer.

Indeed, the only winners in this saga are Madrid. They've earned 100 per cent profit on a player who wouldn't have played for them this year.

Liverpool have shown their status as European champions hasn't given them the financial muscle to outbid lowly Premiership rivals.

Owen has joined a club against his judgment, despite admitting a week ago he wouldn't do so.

As for Newcastle, they've agreed a strange contract which isn't exactly what it says on the label.

In a year's time, Owen can leave St James' Park for a fee somewhere in the region of what Liverpool were prepared to pay.

The Geordies are laughing now, but they might be celebrating the most expensive loan deal in football history.

Horse Back Cannon.....

thisisanfield
31-08-2005, 10:46 PM
Close the window please! Sick of transfers liao! Who wants to come come lah quickly! :D

hwaa
31-08-2005, 10:47 PM
eh guys looks like it's not official yet, there are rumours saying that benfica might not release simao coz they cant find last min replacement!! :s27:

elbib00
31-08-2005, 11:15 PM
kinda disappointing transfer window for us.
some many players linked with us yet we fail to get them.
really wonder y we let baros leave when we r not all out to get owen.

hanqiang1011
31-08-2005, 11:18 PM
eh guys looks like it's not official yet, there are rumours saying that benfica might not release simao coz they cant find last min replacement!! :s27:

Oh My Goodness,

That is the problem Liverpool always face. Always go for last min transfer rushing here and there, then no one comes becos of this and that!!!

hwaa
31-08-2005, 11:18 PM
sianz it's being reported liao, benfica dun wana release. haiz abit sian liao. to think that simao can play with his left and right ... :o

Freemanz
31-08-2005, 11:44 PM
don't worry we have a good team, time for the players to perform and give 100% or 110% of their effort

RadEoNic
31-08-2005, 11:45 PM
i realised ppl like to play games with us cos..

1. they noe we need the ppl
2. they think we're rich
3. cos we're european champs

drawbacks to winning the euro cup eh?

hwaa
31-08-2005, 11:48 PM
siao one simao passed medical then now they wana raise the price, they think it's funny.

oO2acOo
31-08-2005, 11:52 PM
thanks for the clip! seems like for benfica he's mostly on the left side ... but his right foot

is damn solid :s13:

np..........yea, his pretty good
:)

daylight
31-08-2005, 11:57 PM
siao one simao passed medical then now they wana raise the price, they think it's funny.

rite now in europe, EPL teams have the most manee because of tv rights.
that's why all of them kena hold to ransom by other league teams

hwaa
01-09-2005, 12:00 AM
then guess have to wait for official news.

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 12:02 AM
Portugal international Simao Sabrosa has passed a medical as he closes on a move to Liverpool.

The Benfica winger is expected to join the European champions prior to Wednesday's transfer deadline in a deal worth €15 million (£10 million).

Simao is understood to have agreed personal terms with Liverpool, having been granted permission to leave Portugal's training camp to discuss his switch to Anfield.

The wide man's agent Jorge Baidek has confirmed to skysports.com that the talks are heading towards a positive conclusion.

"Now the operation is very advanced and we wait for a final solution in the next few hours," Baidek told skysports.com.

However, Benfica are thought to be trying to block Simao's move to The Premiership as they are loath to lose the right winger.

Benfica are reportedly trying to change the details of the deal in an attempt to thwart Liverpool's bid to sign the former Barcelona player.

There have been suggestions that Benfica want Djibril Cisse in part exchange but that appears to be an unlikely scenario.

Simao is expected back at the Portug

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=303054&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Simao+passes+medical&channel=football_home

ItWasntMe
01-09-2005, 12:03 AM
i say its time to try our own home-grown youngsters...

who knows if darren potter can make a tromendous improvement on the right wing for us within the months leading to the next transfer window?

young players can only be established & experienced players after they get a good run in the 1st team. look at arsenal. i feel that we're beginning to follow arsenal's policy.

Didjerama
01-09-2005, 12:04 AM
anyway,owen or no owen..we can move on...when we lost macca and fowler,we went on to win the treble...when we lost owen,we went on to win the champs league..sometimes its not abt having stars in the squad but someone who is dying to put on the red jersey for us....well,for owen,its a sad case of a fairy tale went wrong but we just have to move on...i will be sad though if he gets jeers on his return to anfield...for someone who i believe have a character similar to shearer where they are not arrogant and behave well on and off the pitch and let their feet do the talking (though he stabbed us back a year ago), i tink he deserves a certain amt of respect from the KOP end

Velton
01-09-2005, 12:39 AM
I think Owen will join us next season lah. Pretty obvious. Unless now he DL Rick Parry & Rafa liao. :s13:

hwaa
01-09-2005, 12:42 AM
haha still very quiet for liverpool in the last day of the transfer window ...

gohkg
01-09-2005, 06:33 AM
looks like liverpool is played out by other clubs again in the transfer market...how did newcastle get solano?

Hope LFC develops their academy players further for the rw and centre back positions...

daylight
01-09-2005, 08:23 AM
looks like liverpool is played out by other clubs again in the transfer market...how did newcastle get solano?

Hope LFC develops their academy players further for the rw and centre back positions...

nb, everyone thinks just because liverpool is euro champions, so they try to extort manee.
they think liverpool got a lot of manee or they are afraid that liverpool win them all

burger
01-09-2005, 08:33 AM
after so much talk, we got nothing...

hope the current squad performs well till Jan

poseidon008
01-09-2005, 08:50 AM
**** man!
Norby Solano and Owens joins newcastle...den Simao's move collapse due to Benfica asking for more money. In a nutshell, we didnt get any player in the end!
Damn man...we still have to put up with Luis garcia losing stupid balls in the midfield...
When is the next period where transfers are allowed ah?

gohkg
01-09-2005, 08:57 AM
**** man!
Norby Solano and Owens joins newcastle...den Simao's move collapse due to Benfica asking for more money. In a nutshell, we didnt get any player in the end!
Damn man...we still have to put up with Luis garcia losing stupid balls in the midfield...
When is the next period where transfers are allowed ah?

Think its Jan period, hopefully Gonalez (spelling?) will have his permit or euro citizenship then....hope zak whitbeard develop well for centre back position now....

tok_kok
01-09-2005, 09:48 AM
haiz..everyone trying to extort the european champions :s27:

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 09:58 AM
2300: Portsmouth make a third signing with the capture of Salif Diao on a season-long loan from Liverpool.

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 10:02 AM
Arrivals:

Mohamed Sissoko (£5.5m, Valencia)
Boudewjin Zenden (Free Transfer, Middlesbrough)
Mark Gonzales (Winger, Albacete) (Season loan)
Jose Reina (GK, Villareal) (Fee unknown)
Antonio Barragan (RB, Sevilla) (Fee unknown)
Peter Crouch (Striker) (£7m, Southampton)
Jack Hobbs (Defender, Lincoln City)
Godwin Antwi (Defender, Real Zaragoza)
Miquel Roque (Defender, Lleida)
Besian Idrizaj (Attacking midfield, Linzer ASK)
Ramon Calliste (Striker, Manchester United)

Departures:

Bruno Cheyrou (Season loan to Bordeaux, view to permanent move)
Chris Kirkland (Season loan to West Brom)
Aliou Diarra (Lens, £2m)
El Hadji Diouf (Bolton, undisclosed)
Vladimir Smicer (Released, signed for Bordeaux)
Maurico Pellegrino (Released, signed for Alaves)
Igor Biscan (Released, signed for Panathinaikos)
Paul Harrison (Released, training with Chester)
Jon Otsemobor (Released, signed for Rotherham United)
Richie Partridge (Released, signed for Sheffield Wednesday)
Mark Smyth (Released)
Gregory Vignal (Portsmouth)
Antonio Nunez (Celta Vigo)
Anthony Le Tallec (Sunderland, season loan)
John Welsh (Hull, season loan)
Robbie Foy (Wrexham, loan until Jan 31st 2006)
Milan Baros (Aston Villa, £6.5m)

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 10:02 AM
The Youngsters...

Miquel Roque

Miquel Roque, or Miki as he prefers to be known as, joined Liverpool in the summer of 2005 from Spanish second division side Lleida.
Roque was spotted by Liverpool's Chief Scout Paco Herrera and is highly rated as a bright prospect for the future.
He is 17-years of age and can play centre half or central midfield. Roque will be a regular member of the Liverpool Reserve team squad for the 2005/06 season.

Jack Hobbs

Centre half Jack Hobbs became Rafael Benitez's seventh summer signing of 2005 when he signed a three year professional contract on his 17th birthday, August 18th 2005.
Hobbs had a successful trial at Anfield during the summer of 2005 and initially signed a pre-contract agreement with the Anfield club on August 1st from Lincoln City.
He made his Liverpool debut while still at the age of 16 for the reserves in a mini derby against Everton.
Hobbs told Liverpoolfc.tv: ""What a 17th birthday it is for me to sign for Liverpool, and it goes without saying that I will never forget this one! I am absolutely delighted to be at Liverpool, this is a dream come true for me.
"If someone had told me a year ago I would be a Liverpool player now I wouldn't have believed them. This is unbelievable. I'm still pinching myself and it's a real opportunity for me.
"I only made my debut last season for Lincoln's first team against Bristol Rovers and although it was only for three minutes I really enjoyed it.
"Everyone has been friendly. Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher have been great with me. The manager Rafael Benitez has been really nice as well. He's said 'Welcome to Liverpool, good luck and all the best'."

Antonio Barragan

Antonio Barragan is a highly promising young Spanish defender who Rafael Benitez signed from Seville in July 2005.
He made his Liverpool debut in Bulgaria as a substitute in the Champions League third round qualifying win over CSKA Sofia in August 2005.
His capture was viewed as a shrewd one by observers in Spain and Rafa has earmarked him as one for the future.
An attacking right back, Barragan didn't make an appearance for Sevilla's first team, but caught Liverpool's attention with a series of superb displays for their youth side.
At the end of the 2004/05 season he rejected the chance to sign a professional contract in Seville to opt for the new challenge under Benitez at Anfield.

Besian Idrizaj

Idrizaj is 17 and is Austria's current young player of the year, and has signed a two-year deal with the European Champions after recently enjoyed a trial spell at Melwood.
The boyhood Liverpool fan is an attacking midfield and has signed from Linzer ASK in the Austrian league.
Idrizaj is delighted with the move and said: "I have always been a Liverpool fan and it is a dream come true to play for them.
"If you get a chance to go to Liverpool on trial then you have to take it. You cannot ingore a trial with the reigning Champions League winners. I would even have swam across the channel just to take part."

Ramon Calliste

Striker Ramon Calliste, 19, is a Wales Under-21 international and he has signed a one-year deal with Liverpool. He was released by Manchester United at the end of last season and impressed Liverpool during his recent trial spell. Calliste scored for the reserves against Newcastle last week.

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 10:05 AM
Salif DIao has joined Portsmouth for a season loan !

At least something to cheer about though !! hwahwhwahwahawawaaaa

Jardel
01-09-2005, 10:06 AM
tink rafa failed in this august transfer window. all the succcessfully ones are youngsters. so i tink the youngsters would be happy that no big names are signed.

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 10:06 AM
Salif DIao has joined Portsmouth for a season loan !

At least something to cheer about though !! hwahwhwahwahawawaaaa
T_T
and u will see luis keep losing ball in the right wing

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 10:07 AM
The Youngsters...

Miquel Roque

Miquel Roque, or Miki as he prefers to be known as, joined Liverpool in the summer of 2005 from Spanish second division side Lleida.
Roque was spotted by Liverpool's Chief Scout Paco Herrera and is highly rated as a bright prospect for the future.
He is 17-years of age and can play centre half or central midfield. Roque will be a regular member of the Liverpool Reserve team squad for the 2005/06 season.

Jack Hobbs

Centre half Jack Hobbs became Rafael Benitez's seventh summer signing of 2005 when he signed a three year professional contract on his 17th birthday, August 18th 2005.
Hobbs had a successful trial at Anfield during the summer of 2005 and initially signed a pre-contract agreement with the Anfield club on August 1st from Lincoln City.
He made his Liverpool debut while still at the age of 16 for the reserves in a mini derby against Everton.
Hobbs told Liverpoolfc.tv: ""What a 17th birthday it is for me to sign for Liverpool, and it goes without saying that I will never forget this one! I am absolutely delighted to be at Liverpool, this is a dream come true for me.
"If someone had told me a year ago I would be a Liverpool player now I wouldn't have believed them. This is unbelievable. I'm still pinching myself and it's a real opportunity for me.
"I only made my debut last season for Lincoln's first team against Bristol Rovers and although it was only for three minutes I really enjoyed it.
"Everyone has been friendly. Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher have been great with me. The manager Rafael Benitez has been really nice as well. He's said 'Welcome to Liverpool, good luck and all the best'."

Antonio Barragan

Antonio Barragan is a highly promising young Spanish defender who Rafael Benitez signed from Seville in July 2005.
He made his Liverpool debut in Bulgaria as a substitute in the Champions League third round qualifying win over CSKA Sofia in August 2005.
His capture was viewed as a shrewd one by observers in Spain and Rafa has earmarked him as one for the future.
An attacking right back, Barragan didn't make an appearance for Sevilla's first team, but caught Liverpool's attention with a series of superb displays for their youth side.
At the end of the 2004/05 season he rejected the chance to sign a professional contract in Seville to opt for the new challenge under Benitez at Anfield.

Besian Idrizaj

Idrizaj is 17 and is Austria's current young player of the year, and has signed a two-year deal with the European Champions after recently enjoyed a trial spell at Melwood.
The boyhood Liverpool fan is an attacking midfield and has signed from Linzer ASK in the Austrian league.
Idrizaj is delighted with the move and said: "I have always been a Liverpool fan and it is a dream come true to play for them.
"If you get a chance to go to Liverpool on trial then you have to take it. You cannot ingore a trial with the reigning Champions League winners. I would even have swam across the channel just to take part."

Ramon Calliste

Striker Ramon Calliste, 19, is a Wales Under-21 international and he has signed a one-year deal with Liverpool. He was released by Manchester United at the end of last season and impressed Liverpool during his recent trial spell. Calliste scored for the reserves against Newcastle last week.

I believe they will be playing vital roles in the first team till the next transfer window is opened in Jan

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 10:11 AM
At least it gives Darren Potter a chance all our best players have come through the ranks it is the liverpool way.

Rafas success has been based on a good team not by buying star players.

Getting Alonso and Cisse for a full season will be like two new signings.

Reina will stop us dropping some of the silly points we dropped last season.

sinned_82
01-09-2005, 10:16 AM

how did newcastle get all the $$? Jenas, Owen, Solano within the last 3 days... fierce...

anyway, as for the Simao transfer, i think Rafa and the top management can only blame themselves for not sounding him out earlier, instead of waiting till the last min...
Benfica know we despo liao, of coz raise price. They have nuhtin 2 lose...

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 10:16 AM
Sad, Owen, Figo and solano were so close to signing for liverpool. Yet i think it may be the attitude of Rick Parry that allow other clubs to nick them right under our nose.

Lets just wait for the jan transfer window to be opened. Hope by then liverpool is still fighting for the champion.

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 10:19 AM
how did newcastle get all the $$? Jenas, Owen, Solano within the last 3 days... fierce...

anyway, as for the Simao transfer, i think Rafa and the top management can only blame themselves for not sounding him out earlier, instead of waiting till the last min...

Simao is their captain, their player of the year 2005, their top scorer and their fan's favourite.
Benfica fans were very mad over the proposed sale of simao last night. At least Benfica did the right thing of raising the price.
BTW Simao is their current top scorer too even though he plays in the right wing though.

elbib00
01-09-2005, 10:49 AM
seems like the management has screwed up this transfer window...

RB spent the entire off season emphasizing that we needed a C B and a RW. after linking with so many players, we got nobody in the end. from figo->stellios->solano->simao, our efforts seems to he half hearted... newcastle got solano got back for 1.5mil. surely we could match their offer easily and get a stop gap measure for our RW for at least a season. it seems certain that cisse with start loads of games in the right wing again n it pains me to c sucn an exiciting striker playing out of position...

Strikers... at the moment, we have only 3 recognised strikers in the form of nando, cisse and crouch with mellor(injured)/pongolle as backup. we sold baros to a rival club at a cheap price and did not get any replacement. cant believe we did not learnt our lesson from last season injury crisis.

whats worse is that RB kept on hinting that cisse could be offloaded when he didnt even have a chance to prove his worth. he spent most of his time this season either on the bench or playing out of position at the right wing. surely a committed player, as cisse is, doesnt deserve such treatment.

Mohawks
01-09-2005, 11:00 AM

Newcastle sold Jenas... not buy :D

hcsiao
01-09-2005, 11:02 AM
Liverpool management really screwed up..... Don know what to say abt them, especially RP.... Y wait till so late then bid for Simao if they oredi want this guy.... And sell players so early w/o replacement... Worst tell yr player that they will get offloaded if they buy some players..... Don know whether Cisse will be commited or not.... Let's see his performance.....

F4theR
01-09-2005, 11:06 AM
another season of underachievement
hope they prove me wrong la

joe868
01-09-2005, 11:09 AM
i am die hard fan of liverpool.

it has been a very sad decade for all of us with stupid coahes doing stupid things,maybe from what i see is that liverpool needs to bring coches from england and not from overseas because they seem to suck badly,the champions league was good but luck also played a part,if only there was another kenny around ,man what a difference

F4theR
01-09-2005, 11:11 AM
Arrivals:

Boudewjin Zenden (Free Transfer, Middlesbrough)
Jose Reina (GK, Villareal) (Fee unknown)
Peter Crouch (Striker) (£7m, Southampton)

Departures:

Bruno Cheyrou (Season loan to Bordeaux, view to permanent move)
Chris Kirkland (Season loan to West Brom)
Aliou Diarra (Lens, £2m)
El Hadji Diouf (Bolton, undisclosed)
Vladimir Smicer (Released, signed for Bordeaux)
Maurico Pellegrino (Released, signed for Alaves)
Igor Biscan (Released, signed for Panathinaikos)
Paul Harrison (Released, training with Chester)
Jon Otsemobor (Released, signed for Rotherham United)
Richie Partridge (Released, signed for Sheffield Wednesday)
Mark Smyth (Released)
Gregory Vignal (Portsmouth)
Antonio Nunez (Celta Vigo)
Anthony Le Tallec (Sunderland, season loan)
John Welsh (Hull, season loan)
Robbie Foy (Wrexham, loan until Jan 31st 2006)
Milan Baros (Aston Villa, £6.5m)

thought pool win champ league got estimated 30m earn
to be conservative let say their budget is 20m to spend on players
plus the sales of the above players 8.5m is 28.5m

ok player pool buy estimate total is
23.5m
i aga aga reina is 8m, baragan 3m somemore
wwell spend 7m on crouch is alot
see if it pay off onot
gd luck liverpool! :D

ahboon_77
01-09-2005, 11:11 AM
Benfica: Yes, yes. You want to enquire about Simao?
Benfica: He rate about 7mil. He our captain, you know. Very good price.
Benfica: Yes yes. Top scorer, Good left and right foot. Where you calling from?
Benfica: Oh, england. Yes yes yes. Now 31st August, hard to find replacement, we do business around 10 mil.
Benfica: Don't worry. I send him down for medicial. We do business. Neogoiate. You and me, man to man.
Benfica: Ok ok. Negoiate. Installment, loan deal, apperance fee. Can can. No problem. Man to man.
Benfica: Where's the address for medical?
Benfica: Melwood? Where is this place.
Benfica: Oh.. Liverpool. European Champion Liverpool?
Benfica: 13.6 Million Pound. Pay in half now. End of season half. Non-negotiatable.
Benfica: No 10 million. Heard wrongly, long distance call not reliable.
Benfica: Hello? Hello?

AhHuat
01-09-2005, 11:29 AM
LOL the deal collapsed?

better still ! knn this ahmao.....not worth the money spend lah

sinned_82
01-09-2005, 12:48 PM
Newcastle sold Jenas... not buy :D

eh... ya ah... haha sorry... spurs and newcastle these few days transfer so hiong... i'm abit confused liao... =:p

joe868
01-09-2005, 12:48 PM
ya all us can just wait and see what would happen undefinedhttp://www.photoi.org/share/upload/644004512/799959517.jpg (http://www.photoi.org)

iwish
01-09-2005, 01:31 PM
all this transfer problems...I find something comforting..

1) RB is not easily pressure to buy a player he does not want....
2) We are not pressurize to buy players at "chop carrot" price
3) Man utd's 90s success is based on thier youth team, the current arsenal had many exciting youngsters..we got many young talented players in this season..hopefully in a season or 2...they will be the glowing stars

actually i am only puzzle why we couldnt get solano..when newscastle manage to...Villa play us out?? as for Simao..maybe he wasnt our top choice...meaning up till the last few days we r still negotiating with other players...but failed...so last min we tried to get Simao..which Benifica mistake Liverpool FC for Carrot FC..hehe

as for center back...top prority yes...but with Josemi back from injury...RB maybe thinks he is not in that urgent need to press the panic button...

hmm..just sharing my tots on the whole transfer....

malvindo
01-09-2005, 01:38 PM

it has been a very sad decade for all of us with stupid coahes doing stupid things,maybe from what i see is that liverpool needs to bring coches from england and not from overseas because they seem to suck badly,the champions league was good but luck also played a part,if only there was another kenny around ,man what a difference

easy bro
Rafa is great coach, master of tactician!
see Valencia under RB?
but with this lack depth of the team, i am doubt we can make serious challange for Premiership :(
still think need good flank player & DC too
but with current squad we can try youngster, barangan or finnan can fill right flank, at least that is they natural position (wide) but further forward

better used that RB to fill the gap than try Cisse to the right
i think Cisse is Lethal @ center
but our left flank is too much holding the ball (Zenden)
when u played Alonso, u need quick wide man, becos Alonso always open wide area!
i more concern abt DC :(
need at least 3-4 DC for the team, why LFC always gives Loan our player ??? :(

spinelli
01-09-2005, 01:42 PM

3) Man utd's 90s success is based on thier youth team, the current arsenal had many exciting youngsters..we got many young talented players in this season..hopefully in a season or 2...they will be the glowing stars

actually i am only puzzle why we couldnt get solano..when newscastle manage to...Villa play us out?? as for Simao..maybe he wasnt our top choice...meaning up till the last few days we r still negotiating with other players...but failed...so last min we tried to get Simao..which Benifica mistake Liverpool FC for Carrot FC..hehe

as for center back...top prority yes...but with Josemi back from injury...RB maybe thinks he is not in that urgent need to press the panic button...

well.i more or less agree with you bro.we have the money is one thing,to spend it wastefully is quite another.look at G.H's deals.and we have took a long time to clear his junks :s27:
so rather buying in those players and rotting in here and wasting one car park space.i prefer for the time being stick to our youngsters.one thing for sure,im sure they have the hunger :s7:

stansays
01-09-2005, 01:53 PM
LOL the deal collapsed?

better still ! knn this ahmao.....not worth the money spend lah

Good in their league only lah.

stansays
01-09-2005, 01:54 PM
eh... ya ah... haha sorry... spurs and newcastle these few days transfer so hiong... i'm abit confused liao... =:p

They are up for the challenge this season. Looking forward for our next game away to spurs. Good that MIDO is not playing.

malvindo
01-09-2005, 02:01 PM

off course Rafa not easily pressure, but still thinking why we not try some "cheap & good"
signing? i think Rafael Van Der Varrt & Andy Van Der Meyde is cheap signing?
or Emre @ 3.5 m?

we need wide man to full utilize our 3 midfielder!!!
with attacl from the wide, will got plenty of room for 3 midfielder to breach the center @ attack the ball

that RB do @ Valencia, strong midfield (3 like Baraja, Albelda, 1 creative Aimar)
use wide player like Vicente & old Carboni on the left and Rufette & Curro Torres @ the right

1 striker like John Carew or Mista, to hold and attract defender! that's why Valencia got productive midfielder on Aimar & Baraja! Albelda is hold the ball & set the play!
very good game plan!
hope see that on LFC @ 1-2 season :)
just give RB time, i predict he willl make LFC good challanger for tittle 2-3 years from his 1st time, so in 1-2 season, LFC will be most diificult team to breach!

maybe only chealsea now using this gameplan now!

Mr_Valentino
01-09-2005, 02:23 PM

The unfavorable view for the transfer has been quite alarm. Some of you may or may not agreed of Rafa's decisions but one must applaud him for making Liverpool great again.

One years ago, Owen left to pursue a dream. But Rafa achieved at LFC without Owen by winning the holy grail. True, we may not have Owen, but getting him back means we paying RM double for the price we sold him last season? We will be laughing stock of football. We're not stupid.

Rafa rid of all the players not good enough for club even those players who won the CL if he feels its in the best interests of his team as a whole.

Even there no big name signing, there no need to panic. When his Valencia side defied the odds, nobody thought that they stood a chance of winning the Spanish league esp without any super stars, but they did it.

With only 2 games played, people are questioning him? Get behind our manager will you.

hwaa
01-09-2005, 02:27 PM
after so much talk, we got nothing...

hope the current squad performs well till Jan

that's what we can do now sigh, hope cisse dun get forced to play wide too often.

jamstart
01-09-2005, 02:35 PM
For a day if Newcastle vs Liverpool, I will support Newcastle (Owen). Teach Rafa a lesson.

hwaa
01-09-2005, 02:41 PM
i'll ask Carra to break owen's leg!

jamstart
01-09-2005, 02:45 PM
i'll ask Carra to break owen's leg!
You've got a problem? They are good friends lah. Moreover, I think Owen wanna show his pwer to RB. heihei

gohkg
01-09-2005, 03:03 PM
For a day if Newcastle vs Liverpool, I will support Newcastle (Owen). Teach Rafa a lesson.

oh pls, which team is so stupid to buy back a player at a price twice the amount they sold? Newcastle din do that with solano, they bought him back at the same price they sold him...

Do u think real madrid will buy back owen for 34M pounds from newcastle next yr? does not make any sense to do that at all...

hwaa
01-09-2005, 03:05 PM
You've got a problem? They are good friends lah. Moreover, I think Owen wanna show his pwer to RB. heihei

haha, joking lar obviously. =:p

ItWasntMe
01-09-2005, 03:39 PM

so i suppose u're not a liverpool fan, but a fan of owen.

AhnNakata7
01-09-2005, 03:39 PM
is not rafa don wan owen ma
juz dat we are unwilling to buy him back more than 16m
it is a fool or crazy thing to do

hwaa
01-09-2005, 04:03 PM
is not rafa don wan owen ma
juz dat we are unwilling to buy him back more than 16m
it is a fool or crazy thing to do

exactly, how would the rest of the world think .... ?

sell for 8m, 1 season nia and buy back for 16m? cai tao ah?

hanqiang1011
01-09-2005, 04:32 PM
Portugal international Simao Sabrosa has passed a medical as he closes on a move to Liverpool.

The Benfica winger is expected to join the European champions prior to Wednesday's transfer deadline in a deal worth €15 million (£10 million).

Simao is understood to have agreed personal terms with Liverpool, having been granted permission to leave Portugal's training camp to discuss his switch to Anfield.

The wide man's agent Jorge Baidek has confirmed to skysports.com that the talks are heading towards a positive conclusion.

"Now the operation is very advanced and we wait for a final solution in the next few hours," Baidek told skysports.com.

However, Benfica are thought to be trying to block Simao's move to The Premiership as they are loath to lose the right winger.

Benfica are reportedly trying to change the details of the deal in an attempt to thwart Liverpool's bid to sign the former Barcelona player.

There have been suggestions that Benfica want Djibril Cisse in part exchange but that appears to be an unlikely scenario.

Simao is expected back at the Portug

http://skysports.planetfootball.com/list.asp?hlid=303054&CPID=8&CLID=&lid=2&title=Simao+passes+medical&channel=football_home

SIMAO DEAL COLLAPSES
SKY Sports 31 August 2005

Benfica have pulled the plug on Simao Sabrosa's proposed move to Liverpool.

The Portugal international appeared primed to join the European champions after passing a medical earlier on Wednesday.

Simao had been allowed to leave Portugal's training camp to finalise his switch to Anfield, with The Reds due to pay €15 million (£10 million) for the wide man.

But Benfica have backed out of the deal at the 11th hour, to leave Liverpool frustrated in their efforts to bring in a right winger.

The reason for the failure to conclude a deal was a change in Benfica's demands as they wanted €20 million (£13.6 million), while The Reds only went as far as €18 million (£12.3 million).

Benfica were reluctant to lose their captain, despite the enormity of Liverpool's bid, and Simao will now stay in Lisbon.

Simao had returned to the Portuguese squad's training headquarters in the early evening fully expecting the final details of his transfer to Liverpool to be completed.

Instead, Simao will have to concentrate on the upcoming World Cup qualifiers in the knowledge a move to The Premiership has collapsed.

Though the player lamented the failure to complete a move to Merseyside, he accepts Benfica's decision to reject the bid.

"The decision is exclusively Benfica's," said Simao. "An offer from the European champions is enormous for any player.

"This is the best thing for me and now I want to follow my work in Benfica 100 percent with the objective of winning the league and the World Cup in Germany next year."

Benfica are also confident Simao will not be affected by the late collapse of his move, according to the club's sporting director Jose Veiga.

"I am convinced that Simao will not be against us because he is a great professional and he has proved this throughout the years he has played for Benfica," Veiga told the Renascenca radio station.

"He is the captain of this team and knowing the spirit of sacrifice, I know that he will put his soul and body into it in order to help us achieve success."

Liverpool have spent a fruitless summer in pursuit of a new right winger, with Simao's name now added to a list containing Luis Figo, Stelios Giannakopoulos and Nolberto Solano as players Rafa Benitez has missed out on.

hanqiang1011
01-09-2005, 04:34 PM

N salano goes back to Newcastle. Well, we lost in the race to sign all Right Wingers. Anyway, i still hope that Sinama and the young guns are given chance at our right wing position.

Regards

hanqiang1011
01-09-2005, 04:38 PM
tink rafa failed in this august transfer window. all the succcessfully ones are youngsters. so i tink the youngsters would be happy that no big names are signed.

If you look at the depth of our new youngster, they are not bad signings after all. Maybe RB wants a whole new squad after some years down the road. The young signings are all good for us in the future. For the present, we have to keep our faith to the current squad.

Regards

hanqiang1011
01-09-2005, 04:52 PM
Hi Guys,

This is a forum for the Red Heart Liverpool fans.

To all Red Hearts LFC fans: You have the say on everything.

To fans of other clubs and visitors: If you want to come in share your views, it is warmly welcome. But please be polite. We would all be very much appreciated of the eittique of your comments during your visit in our forum.

Thank you.

Regards,
From all Red Heart LFC Fans

elbib00
01-09-2005, 04:52 PM
i just hope now that pongolle or other youth team members have a run at the 1st team RW position. its been proven that garcia cant play at RW and cisse would not be playing to his strengths...

Velton
01-09-2005, 05:14 PM
I believe Rafa will try out Pongolle in RW, rather than always give Garcia the chance.

joe868
01-09-2005, 05:41 PM
The unfavorable view for the transfer has been quite alarm. Some of you may or may not agreed of Rafa's decisions but one must applaud him for making Liverpool great again.

One years ago, Owen left to pursue a dream. But Rafa achieved at LFC without Owen by winning the holy grail. True, we may not have Owen, but getting him back means we paying RM double for the price we sold him last season? We will be laughing stock of football. We're not stupid.

Rafa rid of all the players not good enough for club even those players who won the CL if he feels its in the best interests of his team as a whole.

Even there no big name signing, there no need to panic. When his Valencia side defied the odds, nobody thought that they stood a chance of winning the Spanish league esp without any super stars, but they did it.

With only 2 games played, people are questioning him? Get behind our manager will you.

i am die hard fan no matter what but you have to see what he is doing now is very bad ,look at "man u" that coach gone up and down ,but he is old school and england soccer is different from champions league ,that is why the coaches do better overseas than home ground.it is the same as with singapore soccer ,you can bring "pele" to be our coach but it will not make a difference because of the "feild whether and oppnents",that is why liverpool needs a home coach and away coach because you need to know how to defend your home before going to war overseas

joe868
01-09-2005, 05:46 PM
undefinedWHAT WE NEED IS EPL TO STOP CLUBS LIKE CHELSEA AND EURO CLUBS TO THROW MONEY FOR PLAYERS WHO SHOULD PAID MUCH LESS,BUT WHAT WOULD HAPPEN TO CLUBS IS THAT THEY GET POORER BECAUSE OF THIS NEW CASTLE GOOD CLUB BUT OWEN IS A GOOD PLAYER BUT TOO EX,COULD HAVE TAKEN 3 STRIKERS FROM BRAZIL OR AGENTINA.

joe868
01-09-2005, 05:49 PM
LIVERPOOL NEEDS A GOOD TEAM ,GOOD YOUNG STRIKERS,MID,DEFENCE FROM ENGALAND AND BEYOND.SO THAT THEY CAN GROW UP WITH THE CLUB .

MANAGERS NEED TO SEE FAR ONLY THAN CAN THEY BRING ALL THE CUPS BACK HOME

LIVERPOOL

Mohawks
01-09-2005, 06:17 PM
erm.... Can you type in non-CAPS? with proper punctuations? :D

joe868
01-09-2005, 06:28 PM
done ,cute boy

F4theR
01-09-2005, 07:21 PM
and better spelling too
:D

joe868
01-09-2005, 07:58 PM
done old man

RobbieFowler
01-09-2005, 08:10 PM

Liverpool will be damn ROBERT if we buy owen back at $17mil.

Im glad liverpool din buy him.
I suppose u are a owen fan and not a reds fan.

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 08:15 PM
undefinedWHAT WE NEED IS EPL TO STOP CLUBS LIKE CHELSEA AND EURO CLUBS TO THROW MONEY FOR PLAYERS WHO SHOULD PAID MUCH LESS,BUT WHAT WOULD HAPPEN TO CLUBS IS THAT THEY GET POORER BECAUSE OF THIS NEW CASTLE GOOD CLUB BUT OWEN IS A GOOD PLAYER BUT TOO EX,COULD HAVE TAKEN 3 STRIKERS FROM BRAZIL OR AGENTINA.

Will they have the necessary work permits to play for liverpool ??

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 08:20 PM
LIVERPOOL NEEDS A GOOD TEAM ,GOOD YOUNG STRIKERS,MID,DEFENCE FROM ENGALAND AND BEYOND.SO THAT THEY CAN GROW UP WITH THE CLUB .

MANAGERS NEED TO SEE FAR ONLY THAN CAN THEY BRING ALL THE CUPS BACK HOME

LIVERPOOL

We have new and good young strikers, midfield and defenders for this season.
Sissoko has proven his worth.
Look up for Jack Hobbs, Antonio Barragan and Gonzales !
i wouldnt be surprised the players above will be playing regular football comes christmas.

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 08:28 PM
i am die hard fan no matter what but you have to see what he is doing now is very bad ,look at "man u" that coach gone up and down ,but he is old school and england soccer is different from champions league ,that is why the coaches do better overseas than home ground.it is the same as with singapore soccer ,you can bring "pele" to be our coach but it will not make a difference because of the "feild whether and oppnents",that is why liverpool needs a home coach and away coach because you need to know how to defend your home before going to war overseas

But you have to realise the fact that in Rafa first season, he has to be content with the players bought by Gerard Houllier. He has absolutely no time to clear the rubbish left in the teams. But what have he done with those bunch of rubbish ? He actually won our 5th CL title under his first season with them?? True English football is different from champion league, that is why we have bought Peter crouch, we need player who can hold the ball, who can head the ball and not afraid to stuck in ! Rafa wanted Peter Crouch so badly that he had paid over the hill for him. Saints has raised the asking price so many times but rafa still die die wants him compared to Simao.. Peter Crouch was the first on his shortlist and 7m pound for Peter crouch must be a joke ! If rafa thinks Peter Crouch will improve our chance in EPL, so be in. In Rafa i trust. :s12:

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 08:31 PM

Yes very carrot. All i know Owen is selfish. He puts England ahead of Liverpool. If this year is not a world cup year, i will see himself content with life on the bench in Real Madrid.
Anyway Owen needs 10 chances to score one goal. He is not as pacy as last time. 16m pounds would have gotten better striker than Owen !

joe868
01-09-2005, 08:54 PM
fair what you say makes sense ,we need to give each manager a chance.

what everyone says oven about is true :s7:

hanqiang1011
01-09-2005, 09:32 PM
WE WILL COMPETE
Liverpool Echo 01 September 2005

THERE are those who'll feel Liverpool's hopes of a realistic challenge to the top three ended at midnight last night.

Another day of strenuous negotiating ended with disappointment as top target Simao Sabrosa eluded Rafa Benitez's grasp.

That's put Liverpool's summer outlay back under the spotlight.

Chief Executive Rick Parry today acknowledged the sense of deep disappointment in the red half of Merseyside but insisted the club has invested heavily during the closed season.

Parry insists manager Rafa Benitez is pleased with the improvements made to the squad and Liverpool's failure to add yesterday wasn't due to lack of financial backing, but a combination of circumstances.

"We don't believe it should be all doom and gloom. There isn't a club which hasn't suffered disappointments in the transfer market, so we're no different, " said Parry.

"The big danger, particularly when you ' re approaching the deadline, is you get desperate and do the wrong deal. You have to hold your nerve and we decided not to pursue certain targets in the end yesterday. We have a lot of faith in the players we have.

"We have brought in most of the players we wanted. Let's not forget we've spent £20m to bring in Pepe Reina, Momo Sissoko, Peter Crouch and Bolo Zenden. They are four top players.

"We have spent the same amount we spent in 2002 when we bought just three players, so lack of money has not been an issue here. We also had a deal for Simao which would have taken us well beyond what we'd spent then.

"We've enjoyed a pretty good summer in the transfer market. There's been a substantial outlay.

"If you compare last August to this, we have spent heavily on strikers, as Jamie Carragher has pointed out today.

"We didn't leave things too late because the deals we wanted were completed early during the summer and at that stage we were content we'd achieved four out our four on ourlist of targets. That left us looking for a right midfielder and cover for Jamie Carragher and Sami Hyypia at centre-half.

"I think our problem finding a right midfielder began when Luis Figo decided not to come. Things were progressing well with that deal and we were hopeful. Had he joined us, we wouldn't have been in the situation we were."

The deal for Simao broke down after a hostile reaction to the news in Lisbon. "It's never ideal trying to do business on the last day because things can go wrong and then there's no room to manoeuvre," said Parry.

"Yesterday was a strange day. We had an agreement with Benfica but when the story leaked there was such a strong reaction they felt they couldn't sell. Simao was sitting on a plane waiting to come for his medical, but Benfica called it off. In a way, it was similar to the Steven Gerrard situation here when Chelsea were interested.

"It was disappointing but there is nothing we could do. Had the deal broken down on June 30, perhaps there wouldn't be such doom and gloom because you know there's time to find someone else. That's not the case on deadline day.

"Rafa is philosophical about the situation. He insisted we didn't pay for players who weren't worth the money. We could have signed centre-halves yesterday, but there was no point wasting money for the sake of it.

"He is sure we are better placed to challenge for the top places this season."

There are now fears Liverpool's squad is too thin to challenge for the top three and a Premiership bid is out of the question.

Parry, however, remains upbeat about Liverpool's prospects in the months to come.

"We want to push on from last season and we are still confident we have the players to do it," he said.

"We haven't got 100 per cent of our targets, but which top club in the world ever gets everything it wants. We've done pretty well. It was a strange contrast between European success and disappointment in the Premiership.

"Have we got a better squad to do well in all competitions this season? Rafa's answer to this is yes."

aa4f4fsd47
01-09-2005, 10:26 PM
fair what you say makes sense ,we need to give each manager a chance.

what everyone says oven about is true :s7:

Yes, give Rafa a chance. He will only pay big money for his top targets. Simao and Owen are just his backup targets. I dont see any chance for him to pay BIG money for players that are not his REAL targets. Peter Crouch is his first choice target.
Owen will rue his chance of not playing for liverpool, the European champion.

daylight
01-09-2005, 10:48 PM

RB and rick parry wun be so stupid to be RM big carrot head.

darkhalf
01-09-2005, 10:48 PM
actually glad the transfer window is finally closed. no more speculations, no more rumours. just settle down and move on.

crouch should be back for next game; cisse doesnt have to keep clarifying that he wish to stay, etc, etc.

the current team when played to its potential can match any in epl and euro.

:s7:

keltan
01-09-2005, 11:37 PM
i dun uds why a CL winning manager in his first season needs a chance for us...

he has more then earned it alr... its not ez being a manager, so lets stop criticizing him.... this guy has got lots of tactical acumen, and an eye for the right xfer.

look at the players he signed..
alonso: class
garcia: tend to be classy, but one has to admit is a gd player. i am sure RB will improve his game.
sissoko: already drawing comparisons with viera.
moro: yet to establish himself in the pool team, but he really need no further introducing
crouch: i cant wait to see how he fits into RB's gameplans, and I have a feeling this giraffe will win us games.
reina: good gk. nuff said.

look at the players he transformed:
traore, warnock, biscan (b4 he left) etc.

frankly speaking, we might look as though we are short in depth in the RW and Centerback positions atm, but i have full faith in RB that he will take care of tt with the current squad we have. Who knows end of the season Whitbread becomes another Hypia, Pongolle becomes another Ronaldo, Potter becomes another Rufete etc.

we might not win the EPL this season, but i am confident that this squad under RB will definitely at least bridge the gap between us and the top 3 and give them a run for their money this season...

just my 2 cents.. lets stand united behind our beloved reds..
YNWA!

kill
01-09-2005, 11:49 PM
After reading all the various post, I would like to share the following article which I find is very objective on the all the recent LFC dealings.

regrads,
Paul

You'll never walk alone

http://www.bootroom.org/forum/portal.php?topic_id=6308

A Successful Summer's Rebuilding by Paul Tomkins

The reaction of many Liverpool fans on Wednesday 31st August
confirmed my worst fears: expectations have been raised to
unrealistic heights after Istanbul. Some of the moaning has been
lacking all form of realism.

Frustration is understandable, but abuse of Rafa, Parry, Moores and
co. seems extreme to say the least. Especially in ignorance at what's
gone on behind the scenes.

Now I've started writing for the official LFC website I've been
attempting to take a few weeks' rest (to which I'll hopefully
return), but the events of this week were too much for me to ignore.
I'm under no obligation to toe the club line on anything, for their
site or this. But I do feel the need to stand up for common sense.

I'd like to have seen more quality arrive, but I'm also satisfied
that the squad has been sufficiently improved, and I'm also not
forgetting the return of players who were missing for large chunks of
last season, and who can give us a cutting edge: Gerrard, Alonso,
Cissé, Kewell, Morientes and Sinama-Pongolle. Add those to the team
who finished 5th (if they are fit and in form), and you have the
potential for 20 more points.

Had we bought those five this summer, everyone would be saying we
could win everything in sight. Some have yet to fire, but the talent
is there. In spades.

Champions of Europe

How did becoming European Champions change things? Would Rafa's job
have been any different had the Reds stumbled against Chelsea, or not
revived against AC Milan?

Wasn't the rebuilding task always going to be the same?

Winning the Champions League has raised the cachet of the club; but
it's also added millions to the value of any player we've pursued.
While the coffers are fairly full, the money the club possesses does
not come remotely close to matching the riches of Chelsea. Trying to
do so could result in a Leeds United scenario; over-stretch, and die.

Two key areas weren't strengthened; but other areas were. We need to
assess the squad as it now stands, not how it might otherwise have
been. As well as first team players, a whole raft of promising
youngsters have arrived; Rafa's job is long-term, and that must not
be forgotten after the European success of last season.

The defence has conceded very few goals this season, and none in the
league. Juventus and Chelsea could only breach it once in four
Champions League games at the end of last season (and that goal
should have been dealt with by the promising Carson). Add the hugely
impressive Reina, who starred in La Liga last season, in place of the
erratic Dudek and creaking Kirkland, and you already have more
reliability.

The defence isn't perfect, and while cover was desired there's enough
there for Rafa to work with for the time being. Anyone who thinks
Sami Hyypia has lost his pace needs to watch some old videos: he
never had any in the first place. Meanwhile, Carra has emerged as a
real star, and Finnan an extremely solid right back. Josemi appears
more comfortable at centre-half, and he can easily provide cover.

The lack of a right winger is more of a worry, but the Reds did
everything to secure one: most notably let down by FIFA's absurd
ranking system, whereby Gonzales' Chile were ranked beneath some of
the worst teams in existence (teams who only play other meaningless
teams). Figo was a close call, but opted for the glamourous life of
Milan. Benfica asked too much for Simao.

But it's also a position where Luis Garcia can flourish, cutting
inside on his left foot in the way Pires plays for Arsenal (opposite
side, cutting in on his right foot). He won't hit the byline with
pace to cross, which is a worry, but cutting inside will allow Finnan
to bomb forward, and Finnan's attacking game (and crossing) is better
than we've seen thus far.

Sinama-Pongolle is another whose pace, close control and trickery can
prove useful on the right, and while at times Cissé appears lost
there, he looks explosive and dangerous at others. It's alien to him,
but he can learn. There's enough versatility in the squad to make the
most of things, and let's not forget that Steven Gerrard can be the
best in the world in that position, if Rafa can spare him from his
central berth for a few games until January. (More likely now we have
such quality in the heart of the midfield.)

Taking Stock

The squad as it stands today is what counts. Say the summer had been
quiet, and Sissoko, Reina, Zenden and Crouch all arrived this week?
What if Morientes was signed now, and not in January? –– wouldn't
everyone be far happier, even though the squad would be exactly the
same as it now is?

The squad that won the Champions League has been improved. That's
right: the squad that won the Champions League. So far this season
the Reds have a credible away draw and a home victory, with no goals
conceded. Six games were successfully navigated on the way to the
group stage of the Champions League. Hardly cause for despair.

You'd think we were Newcastle, in the relegation zone having played
twice as many games, and out of Europe.

Gone from Anfield are a number of under-achievers and talented but
erratic players, and in have come a collection of players who have to
be given time, and the benefit of the doubt, but who will surely
offer more in the long term.

Rafa has offloaded the players he didn't feel fitted into his style
of play, and bought ones who might not be glamourous (such as Crouch)
but who offer a better balance to the team. Let's also not forget how
much better we would have been in the league last season had the side
not been beset by injuries, especially those to Alonso, Gerrard and
Cissé.

You may disagree, but Rafa has also bought three players who I
believe will be in his strongest XI. While there will be rotation
(it's his way), injuries, and a number of permutations exploited,
there will also probably be an XI (4-5-1 formation) that features
more often than others.

And this is how I see it: GK Reina, RB Finnan, ** Hyypia, **
Carragher, LB Traore (or Warnock, or Riise –– toss a coin on that
one) –– LW Kewell, CM Alonso, CM Sissoko, Attacking CM Gerrard, RW
Luis Garcia –– CF Crouch.

Hamann, Cissé, Zenden, Morientes, Pongolle and one or two others will
all play a lot of games, but if everyone is fit, that looks like the
team Rafa will opt for.

A sensible approach

I've read comments like: "It was just a few million extra for Simao,
why didn't we just pay it?" (Perhaps I should be looking to sell
copies of "Golden Past, Red Future" to these people for an extra £5,
just to see if they are as casual with their own money?)

What if I told you that season ticket prices are going up by £200,
after a price had been agreed? After all, that's the percentage extra
(33%) that Benfica were looking for. You cannot be held to ransom.
The same applied to Real Madrid's valuation of Michael Owen. The
players who have arrived were bought at the right price, and that's
the only way to work.

Zenden's arrival was trumpeted by many as a canny piece of business
after his excellent season at Boro; a couple of anonymous displays,
and he's written off as a waste of space. That's daft.

Say Sissoko turns out to be the next Vieira, as looks possible?
Vieira was rated at £30m not so long ago. The 'glamour' surrounding
Sissoko at the moment isn't there; in twelve months, he could be
talked about as the brightest young player around. Vieira signed for
Arsenal from AC Milan reserves; Wenger knew his true potential, but I
doubt many Gooners did. It took time to make it look a great bit of
business.

Say Reina turns out to be the next Schmeichel? After all, when
Schmeichel arrived he was a mere nobody. Again, only hindsight can tell.

It's all Ifs, Buts and Maybes, but so what? Unless we sign players
for £30m, what else will we get? If you sign unbridled potential, you
either get them at the right age and the right price, or you pay £20m
+. Rafa has had to catch them before they've fully blossomed; the
same concept as signing Shaun Wright-Phillips in 2002, rather than 2005.

"People are laughing at us," I've been told.

Let them.

Invite them to have a look around our trophy room. Twenty-thousand
turned up at St James' Park to see Newcastle parade their latest
trophy player, and a fine one they've acquired. Liverpool, as a club,
prefer to parade trophies: such as when 500,000 turned up to see the
European Cup weave its way through the streets (it didn't need Owen's
help either, did it?). It didn't need any 'superstar' signings last
year to achieve that. Just very good players.

Call me insane, but I'd much rather have our hierarchy (responsible
for six trophies in four years, plus two European Super Cups) than
Newcastle's. Despite spending a comparable amount of money to the
Reds, they live in Dreamland.

Listen to Freddie Shepherd: "Alan Shearer reminded Michael Owen he
had this same decision a decade ago when he left Blackburn and could
have gone to Manchester United. He chose Newcastle and look what it's
done for him."

So that would be watch on as United won six league titles, a handful
of FA Cups and the Champions League, while Newcastle won, um, err,
sweet FA? I have nothing against Newcastle as such, but let's not be
jealous of them. That's insane!

Newcastle have Michael Owen, but Liverpool have a manager who's
achieved more in the last two years than any other.

cybertech
02-09-2005, 12:01 AM
I believe Rafa will try out Pongolle in RW, rather than always give Garcia the chance.

I think so .. just why can't try out and train up some existing players to play RW. Anyway
RW and LW nowadays need to switch between during the game play. Thought Harry Kewell
had play in RW before and score with his left leg.

younggun__007
02-09-2005, 12:29 AM
After reading all the various post, I would like to share the following article which I find is very objective on the all the recent LFC dealings.

regrads,
Paul

You'll never walk alone

http://www.bootroom.org/forum/portal.php?topic_id=6308

A Successful Summer's Rebuilding by Paul Tomkins

The reaction of many Liverpool fans on Wednesday 31st August
confirmed my worst fears: expectations have been raised to
unrealistic heights after Istanbul. Some of the moaning has been
lacking all form of realism.

Frustration is understandable, but abuse of Rafa, Parry, Moores and
co. seems extreme to say the least. Especially in ignorance at what's
gone on behind the scenes.

Now I've started writing for the official LFC website I've been
attempting to take a few weeks' rest (to which I'll hopefully
return), but the events of this week were too much for me to ignore.
I'm under no obligation to toe the club line on anything, for their
site or this. But I do feel the need to stand up for common sense.

I'd like to have seen more quality arrive, but I'm also satisfied
that the squad has been sufficiently improved, and I'm also not
forgetting the return of players who were missing for large chunks of
last season, and who can give us a cutting edge: Gerrard, Alonso,
Cissé, Kewell, Morientes and Sinama-Pongolle. Add those to the team
who finished 5th (if they are fit and in form), and you have the
potential for 20 more points.

Had we bought those five this summer, everyone would be saying we
could win everything in sight. Some have yet to fire, but the talent
is there. In spades.

Champions of Europe

How did becoming European Champions change things? Would Rafa's job
have been any different had the Reds stumbled against Chelsea, or not
revived against AC Milan?

Wasn't the rebuilding task always going to be the same?

Winning the Champions League has raised the cachet of the club; but
it's also added millions to the value of any player we've pursued.
While the coffers are fairly full, the money the club possesses does
not come remotely close to matching the riches of Chelsea. Trying to
do so could result in a Leeds United scenario; over-stretch, and die.

Two key areas weren't strengthened; but other areas were. We need to
assess the squad as it now stands, not how it might otherwise have
been. As well as first team players, a whole raft of promising
youngsters have arrived; Rafa's job is long-term, and that must not
be forgotten after the European success of last season.

The defence has conceded very few goals this season, and none in the
league. Juventus and Chelsea could only breach it once in four
Champions League games at the end of last season (and that goal
should have been dealt with by the promising Carson). Add the hugely
impressive Reina, who starred in La Liga last season, in place of the
erratic Dudek and creaking Kirkland, and you already have more
reliability.

The defence isn't perfect, and while cover was desired there's enough
there for Rafa to work with for the time being. Anyone who thinks
Sami Hyypia has lost his pace needs to watch some old videos: he
never had any in the first place. Meanwhile, Carra has emerged as a
real star, and Finnan an extremely solid right back. Josemi appears
more comfortable at centre-half, and he can easily provide cover.

The lack of a right winger is more of a worry, but the Reds did
everything to secure one: most notably let down by FIFA's absurd
ranking system, whereby Gonzales' Chile were ranked beneath some of
the worst teams in existence (teams who only play other meaningless
teams). Figo was a close call, but opted for the glamourous life of
Milan. Benfica asked too much for Simao.

But it's also a position where Luis Garcia can flourish, cutting
inside on his left foot in the way Pires plays for Arsenal (opposite
side, cutting in on his right foot). He won't hit the byline with
pace to cross, which is a worry, but cutting inside will allow Finnan
to bomb forward, and Finnan's attacking game (and crossing) is better
than we've seen thus far.

Sinama-Pongolle is another whose pace, close control and trickery can
prove useful on the right, and while at times Cissé appears lost
there, he looks explosive and dangerous at others. It's alien to him,
but he can learn. There's enough versatility in the squad to make the
most of things, and let's not forget that Steven Gerrard can be the
best in the world in that position, if Rafa can spare him from his
central berth for a few games until January. (More likely now we have
such quality in the heart of the midfield.)

Taking Stock

The squad as it stands today is what counts. Say the summer had been
quiet, and Sissoko, Reina, Zenden and Crouch all arrived this week?
What if Morientes was signed now, and not in January? –– wouldn't
everyone be far happier, even though the squad would be exactly the
same as it now is?

The squad that won the Champions League has been improved. That's
right: the squad that won the Champions League. So far this season
the Reds have a credible away draw and a home victory, with no goals
conceded. Six games were successfully navigated on the way to the
group stage of the Champions League. Hardly cause for despair.

You'd think we were Newcastle, in the relegation zone having played
twice as many games, and out of Europe.

Gone from Anfield are a number of under-achievers and talented but
erratic players, and in have come a collection of players who have to
be given time, and the benefit of the doubt, but who will surely
offer more in the long term.

Rafa has offloaded the players he didn't feel fitted into his style
of play, and bought ones who might not be glamourous (such as Crouch)
but who offer a better balance to the team. Let's also not forget how
much better we would have been in the league last season had the side
not been beset by injuries, especially those to Alonso, Gerrard and
Cissé.

You may disagree, but Rafa has also bought three players who I
believe will be in his strongest XI. While there will be rotation
(it's his way), injuries, and a number of permutations exploited,
there will also probably be an XI (4-5-1 formation) that features
more often than others.

And this is how I see it: GK Reina, RB Finnan, ** Hyypia, **
Carragher, LB Traore (or Warnock, or Riise –– toss a coin on that
one) –– LW Kewell, CM Alonso, CM Sissoko, Attacking CM Gerrard, RW
Luis Garcia –– CF Crouch.

Hamann, Cissé, Zenden, Morientes, Pongolle and one or two others will
all play a lot of games, but if everyone is fit, that looks like the
team Rafa will opt for.

A sensible approach

I've read comments like: "It was just a few million extra for Simao,
why didn't we just pay it?" (Perhaps I should be looking to sell
copies of "Golden Past, Red Future" to these people for an extra £5,
just to see if they are as casual with their own money?)

What if I told you that season ticket prices are going up by £200,
after a price had been agreed? After all, that's the percentage extra
(33%) that Benfica were looking for. You cannot be held to ransom.
The same applied to Real Madrid's valuation of Michael Owen. The
players who have arrived were bought at the right price, and that's
the only way to work.

Zenden's arrival was trumpeted by many as a canny piece of business
after his excellent season at Boro; a couple of anonymous displays,
and he's written off as a waste of space. That's daft.

Say Sissoko turns out to be the next Vieira, as looks possible?
Vieira was rated at £30m not so long ago. The 'glamour' surrounding
Sissoko at the moment isn't there; in twelve months, he could be
talked about as the brightest young player around. Vieira signed for
Arsenal from AC Milan reserves; Wenger knew his true potential, but I
doubt many Gooners did. It took time to make it look a great bit of
business.

Say Reina turns out to be the next Schmeichel? After all, when
Schmeichel arrived he was a mere nobody. Again, only hindsight can tell.

It's all Ifs, Buts and Maybes, but so what? Unless we sign players
for £30m, what else will we get? If you sign unbridled potential, you
either get them at the right age and the right price, or you pay £20m
+. Rafa has had to catch them before they've fully blossomed; the
same concept as signing Shaun Wright-Phillips in 2002, rather than 2005.

"People are laughing at us," I've been told.

Let them.

Invite them to have a look around our trophy room. Twenty-thousand
turned up at St James' Park to see Newcastle parade their latest
trophy player, and a fine one they've acquired. Liverpool, as a club,
prefer to parade trophies: such as when 500,000 turned up to see the
European Cup weave its way through the streets (it didn't need Owen's
help either, did it?). It didn't need any 'superstar' signings last
year to achieve that. Just very good players.

Call me insane, but I'd much rather have our hierarchy (responsible
for six trophies in four years, plus two European Super Cups) than
Newcastle's. Despite spending a comparable amount of money to the
Reds, they live in Dreamland.

done for him."

So that would be watch on as United won six league titles, a handful
of FA Cups and the Champions League, while Newcastle won, um, err,
sweet FA? I have nothing against Newcastle as such, but let's not be
jealous of them. That's insane!

Newcastle have Michael Owen, but Liverpool have a manager who's
achieved more in the last two years than any other.

Excellent essay. Rafa's the best signing ever!

SongLongZi
02-09-2005, 12:36 AM

regrads,
Paul

*clap clap *

malvindo
02-09-2005, 02:05 AM
i dun uds why a CL winning manager in his first season needs a chance for us...

he has more then earned it alr... its not ez being a manager, so lets stop criticizing him.... this guy has got lots of tactical acumen, and an eye for the right xfer.

look at the players he signed..
alonso: class
garcia: tend to be classy, but one has to admit is a gd player. i am sure RB will improve his game.
sissoko: already drawing comparisons with viera.
moro: yet to establish himself in the pool team, but he really need no further introducing
crouch: i cant wait to see how he fits into RB's gameplans, and I have a feeling this giraffe will win us games.
reina: good gk. nuff said.

look at the players he transformed:
traore, warnock, biscan (b4 he left) etc.

frankly speaking, we might look as though we are short in depth in the RW and Centerback positions atm, but i have full faith in RB that he will take care of tt with the current squad we have. Who knows end of the season Whitbread becomes another Hypia, Pongolle becomes another Ronaldo, Potter becomes another Rufete etc.

we might not win the EPL this season, but i am confident that this squad under RB will definitely at least bridge the gap between us and the top 3 and give them a run for their money this season...

just my 2 cents.. lets stand united behind our beloved reds..
YNWA!

cannot agree more!
why RB need a chance? he is developing LFC on progress, but since the damage from GH is too deep, RB can't clear the team just in 1 season :(

sinned_82
02-09-2005, 10:16 AM
Gonzalez to wait for loan move

Chile international Mark Gonzalez will move to Liverpool on loan from Albacete as soon as he can get a work permit, according to the Spanish club.

Gonzalez's proposed switch to Anfield collapsed when he was refused a work permit because Chile are ranked outside the top 70 nations by Fifa.

Liverpool are still keen to bring the player to the Premiership, and Albacete have agreed to take the player back until his work permit problem can be resolved.

"The Chilean player will wear the number 12 shirt after reaching an agreement with Liverpool. Mark will play for Albacete until he receives his work permit," read a statement on the Albacete website.

"That could happen on one of two dates - in January or on 30 June."

Gonzalez is currently out injured with knee ligament damage sustained at the end of last season.

rbagg10
02-09-2005, 10:47 AM
Well said Keltan.As much as we want ne wsignings,we must buy quality ones and not quantity.we dont want anymore diaos,diomedes,vignals,cheyrous,pellegrinos,paul stewards,michael thomas,......

having a wold cup winner who does nothing but be on the payroll??.........blargh.....

Rafa has shown that we dont buy squad players,but buy guys who can challenge the first teamers!

u guys wanna add up to the list of the 'diaos & diomedes"??

this could be interesting...

rbagg10
02-09-2005, 10:54 AM
I hav ebeen converted to be an avid reader of Paul Tomkins....any of you guys intend to buy his book?wanna order them together to save on shipment costs?

some of you started to order the jerseys right?still taking orders?any of u buying merchandise like tshirts and training tops?i want to buy also...

i went over to anfield last month and had to really check myself on buying and buying...and I came when the stock was quite low...so a lot of things sold out alreday

rbagg10
02-09-2005, 11:04 AM
just for everyone

cisse official website....

check out his goal whne he did the incredible acrobatic volley...

cheers

http://www.djib-cisse.com/uk/start_h_uk.htm

Mohawks
02-09-2005, 11:36 AM

Chile international Mark Gonzalez will move to Liverpool on loan from Albacete as soon as he can get a work permit, according to the Spanish club.

Gonzalez's proposed switch to Anfield collapsed when he was refused a work permit because Chile are ranked outside the top 70 nations by Fifa.

Liverpool are still keen to bring the player to the Premiership, and Albacete have agreed to take the player back until his work permit problem can be resolved.

"The Chilean player will wear the number 12 shirt after reaching an agreement with Liverpool. Mark will play for Albacete until he receives his work permit," read a statement on the Albacete website.

Gonzalez is currently out injured with knee ligament damage sustained at the end of last season.
he's gonna get married to his Spanish girlfriend..... so there won't be anymore complication in Jan transfer period ;)

elbib00
02-09-2005, 12:52 PM
Well said Keltan.As much as we want ne wsignings,we must buy quality ones and not quantity.we dont want anymore diaos,diomedes,vignals,cheyrous,pellegrinos,paul stewards,michael thomas,......

having a wold cup winner who does nothing but be on the payroll??.........blargh.....

Rafa has shown that we dont buy squad players,but buy guys who can challenge the first teamers!

u guys wanna add up to the list of the 'diaos & diomedes"??

this could be interesting...
as much as i agree with keltan n u, i do think that we shld at least have signed solano n kept baros till we found another replacement.

sinned_82
02-09-2005, 02:48 PM
he's gonna get married to his Spanish girlfriend..... so there won't be anymore complication in Jan transfer period ;)

yeah i heard... shot-gun =:p but the news seem to fade away liao mah...
anyway, how old is he? 20, 21? these foreign players quite havoc ah... :D

Mohawks
02-09-2005, 02:52 PM
yeah i heard... shot-gun =:p but the news seem to fade away liao mah...
anyway, how old is he? 20, 21? these foreign players quite havoc ah... :D
don't think it's shot-gun...

probably more of a 'commercial' marriage...

once married to her, he can get Spanish passport.... Spain is a member of EU, then he can join Liverpool without any workpermit issues ;)

kill
02-09-2005, 04:32 PM
I hav ebeen converted to be an avid reader of Paul Tomkins....any of you guys intend to buy his book?wanna order them together to save on shipment costs?

some of you started to order the jerseys right?still taking orders?any of u buying merchandise like tshirts and training tops?i want to buy also...

i went over to anfield last month and had to really check myself on buying and buying...and I came when the stock was quite low...so a lot of things sold out alreday

If anyone plan to have a mass order on the book, pls count me in.

furyoo
02-09-2005, 06:08 PM
don't think it's shot-gun...

probably more of a 'commercial' marriage...

once married to her, he can get Spanish passport.... Spain is a member of EU, then he can join Liverpool without any workpermit issues ;)
Yeah they've been partners for quite some time.. Look at Liverpool, so many players have children with their girlfriends, few legally married. I think Stevie G is guilty, I know Fowler was till he finally decided to have a marriage ceremony.

Spice Boys Forever.

aa4f4fsd47
02-09-2005, 07:34 PM
It seems Sevilla have been given special dispensation to continue in the transfer market for another month because they "lost Ramos and didn't have time to make replacements"... (no good at links - see Spanish Yahoo)
They can sign anyone - of any nationality - playing in the Spanish.
Apart from the bizareness of how all these rules keep getting changed but whoever, it seems, can be bothered (CHamps Lge biggrin.gif ) ... anyone worried about Gonzalez?
Secondly, anyone who sells, could surely appeal for "bonus" transfer time as they can't replace.. ad infinitum...

ItWasntMe
02-09-2005, 08:25 PM
It seems Sevilla have been given special dispensation to continue in the transfer market for another month because they "lost Ramos and didn't have time to make replacements"... (no good at links - see Spanish Yahoo)
They can sign anyone - of any nationality - playing in the Spanish.
Apart from the bizareness of how all these rules keep getting changed but whoever, it seems, can be bothered (CHamps Lge biggrin.gif ) ... anyone worried about Gonzalez?
Secondly, anyone who sells, could surely appeal for "bonus" transfer time as they can't replace.. ad infinitum...

might as well challenge the EU laws & scrapped the stupid transfer window ruling.

aa4f4fsd47
02-09-2005, 08:34 PM
Real Madrid didn't pay anything for Ramos at all. It is the Ramos family that paid the buy out clause...

Madrid will eventually give them the money though interest free ahhh !!!

See this is how much Sergio Ramos wants to sign for Real Madrid ! Will Owen ever do this to join Liverpool? Consider how much he earned and how much he threatened to leave liverpool on a bosman!

ItWasntMe
02-09-2005, 09:17 PM
his family that rich?

Cool_it
02-09-2005, 10:07 PM

walao.. make me happy only.. i tot the deal has been confirmed, and is only waiting for the work permit.. den straight can come to anfield.. :s27:

hanqiang1011
02-09-2005, 11:42 PM
Guys, Check this out.....

RB: NEW SCOUTING SYSTEM WILL PAY DIVIDENDS
Mark Platt 02 September 2005
Despite failing to bolster his squad on transfer deadline day Rafael Benitez is happy with the new scouting system he's helped put in place at Liverpool and confident the club will soon reap the rewards of these changes.
A revamp of how the Reds' scouting network operates was one of the many tasks Benitez faced following his arrival from Valencia last year and over twelve months into the job he's satisfied with the changes that have been made in this department.

Frank McParland and Paco Herrera now front the club's huge scouting operation and are responsible for co-ordinating the vast array of scouts that are scouring the globe for potential Kop stars of the future.

Benitez regards their role as vital in terms of Liverpool's future and believes the implementation of the new system was a necessity.

"We have changed the entire scouting system and replaced some of the old scouts," Benitez told Liverpoolfc.tv. "We now have scouts working tirelessly on our behalf right around the world and we have situated these in what we believe to be the most important countries.

"This new system we've put in place means they can now submit their reports to us easier and quicker, whether they are in Argentina or in this country. The information they provide us with is very important and could be the first step towards us signing a new player.

"At this early stage we are yet to reap the benefits of these changes. This summer has come too soon for us. The new system has only just been put into place so it has not been easy but maybe when the transfer window opens again we will notice a difference.

"The job of a scout is really important, in fact I'd say it is one of the most important at the club. If you have good scouts then you are one step ahead when it comes to trying to sign up good young players early in their career or established players who are good enough to step straight into the first team.

"It's all about timing and you must get in there before other clubs. The transfer market is very competitive and a lot of the time you are competing with clubs that have a lot more money."

Regards

sinned_82
03-09-2005, 10:15 AM
Real Madrid didn't pay anything for Ramos at all. It is the Ramos family that paid the buy out clause...

Madrid will eventually give them the money though interest free ahhh !!!

See this is how much Sergio Ramos wants to sign for Real Madrid ! Will Owen ever do this to join Liverpool? Consider how much he earned and how much he threatened to leave liverpool on a bosman!

sure anot... its 27M euros right... if his family so rich, Ramos no need to play football liao wor...

joe868
03-09-2005, 11:54 AM
lets all hope we are in the top 4 position this year ,does anyone know where we can can get all the timings-starhub- liverpool games date and time

joe868
03-09-2005, 11:59 AM
winning a game is always good ,but what i miss the good old days when liverpool played good football
ian rush time,sometimes when we watch them play it can be a little boring,i just wish iverpool would be more brave take more chanses,go for every ball and play every game like it was a chamoinship game.

"to play with all the might is better than to play without balls"

bwaysaibi
03-09-2005, 12:05 PM
dun say ian rush era,
spice boys era also playing damn attractive short passing football lor
lol...
realli depends on results or entertainment

nowadays rarely such a team can combine both , esp in epl
have... arsenal lor.. to a certain extent manu oso

but i agree liverpool shd b braver in their approach
can see we are playing too cautious, sometimes i watch matches i been thinking
yes we have improved, but we stil playing somewhat like houllier still the manager
i wonder why
but give rafa some time
to predict wat may happen to the teams style of play look at valencia
im sure rafa will mould liverpool in valencias style
rem valencia beat houllier's liverpool convincingly twice before.... ;)

CanIsayNo
03-09-2005, 04:39 PM
done for him."

hahaha this will be a classic quote... what a joke :s13:

ahboon_77
03-09-2005, 07:04 PM
Hi Liverpool Fans,

To those that want results immediately, I serious doubt so. The squad is still in rebuilding stage. For games against Sunderland and Middlesbrough, half the squad are bought by Rafa and only been in the team for at most 1 season. Give them time. At least we are not worse than Houllier-era squad.

Regardless of what happening for this season, I pretty sure Liverpool future looks bright. Rafa is creating a highly competitive youth squad. Very much like what Arsenal is doing now and Tottenham is trying to create. A team of youth ready to step into the senior team. Let's not forgot Manchester Utd 90s conquering all team. Most of the starting 11s are from the 'class of 92' naming Beckham, Scholes, Phil & Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs (tho' he was drath into the senior squad much early). IIRC, even Robbie Savage is from the 'class' too.

Liverpool time isn't here YET. At least, I can see it coming. In the near future, it could be Tottenham (very good recruiting of youngster), Arsenal (present youth squad almost got into FA cup? 2 season ago?), Manchester Utd (with it expensive teenager in Rooney and Ronaldo).

keltan
03-09-2005, 08:24 PM
as much as i agree with keltan n u, i do think that we shld at least have signed solano n kept baros till we found another replacement.
true to a certain extent.. but we cant put the blame on RB.

Did RB not want to sign a right winger? Is it his fault Solano decides to choose Newcastle in the end, tt Benifica pulled the plug at the last min, tt Figo decided tt Italy was his destination, tt Stelios decides to stay on with Bolton etc??

As for baros, as much as I wanted him to stay on as I felt he is beginning to change, I respect RB's decision. He cant promise Baros first-team football, and it is World Cup year. We have to be fair to baros too, as it might affect his sharpness in june 06.. And not forgetting if baros stays on for another season, his value will drop drastically lioaz as he will be running into the last season of his contract at the end of this season..

Lets look on the bright side of things. If baros dun leave, we might be hampering the progress of youngsters like Pongolle, Mellor and mebbe even Nardiello (he is an exciting young chap with lots of potential)..

elbib00
04-09-2005, 01:21 AM
nah, i m not pointing fingers at RB. its seems more like a cock up from the board... the only thing i dun like what RB has done is his treatment towards cisse. its quite uncalled for.

bwaysaibi
04-09-2005, 01:24 AM
maybe not his fault as well?
but anyway im glad cisse stays
i rather we move forwards than get a player we already sold
gd luck to owen too

keltan
04-09-2005, 03:16 AM
maybe not his fault as well?
but anyway im glad cisse stays
i rather we move forwards than get a player we already sold
gd luck to owen too
yah loh.. i also dun think this is RB's fault.... it is the media at work...

The only thing RB has said abt Cisse is that he will receive lots of offers for him after his showing in the supercup... and that he has rejected a few...

i dun think tt equates to him wanting to sell Cisse. It is the media doing all the speculating that he is to go for owen to return etc.

United_Treble
04-09-2005, 03:20 AM
17 min cisse scored twice for france

Jinyu
04-09-2005, 07:54 AM
17 min cisse scored twice for france
I am glad Cisse is doing good. He will be an asset to liverpool. :)

wanrensg
04-09-2005, 08:03 AM
We have to stick with that RB is the manager and he plans the tactics ..... If Owens do not fit in his plan, then too bad .....

Always hope that the striking partnership of Owen and Cisse will be in Liverpool

stansays
04-09-2005, 09:05 AM
true to a certain extent.. but we cant put the blame on RB.

Did RB not want to sign a right winger? Is it his fault Solano decides to choose Newcastle in the end, tt Benifica pulled the plug at the last min, tt Figo decided tt Italy was his destination, tt Stelios decides to stay on with Bolton etc??

As for baros, as much as I wanted him to stay on as I felt he is beginning to change, I respect RB's decision. He cant promise Baros first-team football, and it is World Cup year. We have to be fair to baros too, as it might affect his sharpness in june 06.. And not forgetting if baros stays on for another season, his value will drop drastically lioaz as he will be running into the last season of his contract at the end of this season..

Lets look on the bright side of things. If baros dun leave, we might be hampering the progress of youngsters like Pongolle, Mellor and mebbe even Nardiello (he is an exciting young chap with lots of potential)..

Yar.. Pongo is back and hope he could provide some support on the wing if RB plays him there. He had the speed but due to match fitness I believe he will still come back strongly. Glad to hear Cisse scored 2 goals for France and it will furhter booster his confident level and looking towards the Spurs game and is gonna be exciting. Spurs is another team to watch our for this season. :yawn:

Winevil
04-09-2005, 09:40 AM
with all the potential transfers collasp, i dun understand why everyone is pointing a blaming finger to RB. I think by far, he is doing a good job in the transfer market, by not getting held ransom by rival clubs and players, and also getting cheap buys which may or may not be a great star in the future. I believe in RB that whatever he sees in a young cheap player, there must be something he has seen in him that we cant.

Winevil

sinned_82
04-09-2005, 11:27 AM
Yar.. Pongo is back and hope he could provide some support on the wing if RB plays him there. He had the speed but due to match fitness I believe he will still come back strongly. Glad to hear Cisse scored 2 goals for France and it will furhter booster his confident level and looking towards the Spurs game and is gonna be exciting. Spurs is another team to watch our for this season. :yawn:

yeap, hope can see much more of Pongolle this season... exciting chap...a joy to watch when taking on player... :)

sinned_82
04-09-2005, 11:29 AM
dun say ian rush era,
spice boys era also playing damn attractive short passing football lor
lol...
realli depends on results or entertainment

nowadays rarely such a team can combine both , esp in epl
have... arsenal lor.. to a certain extent manu oso

but i agree liverpool shd b braver in their approach
can see we are playing too cautious, sometimes i watch matches i been thinking
yes we have improved, but we stil playing somewhat like houllier still the manager
i wonder why
but give rafa some time
to predict wat may happen to the teams style of play look at valencia
im sure rafa will mould liverpool in valencias style
rem valencia beat houllier's liverpool convincingly twice before.... ;)

VALENCIA MKII

AhnNakata7
04-09-2005, 12:46 PM
new CL jersey with new logo
1.ahnnakata7
2.keltan
3.ItWasntMe
4. niterider

new away jersey
1.keltan
2.TitanSmall(2)
3.spinelli(2)
4. niterider
5.iwish

i got one offer from eastofanfield
65 dollars for the new away jersey
Liverpool home jerseys with champions league winners embroidery at S$110
i will try to get the price
shd not a prob

the new cl jersey not out yet
thk we wait for it to come out
then we mass order liaoz
shd be a couple weeks time

Champions of Europe' logo

IS NOT OUT YET
IT IS ONLY USE FOR CL GAMES NOT EPL
SO U CAN ONLY SEE IT IN NEW LIVERPOOL CL JERSEY WHICH IS NOT OUT YET
AS FOR LIVERPOOL AWAY JERSEY NOT SURE
THK THEY WILL REPLACE THE EPL LOGO WIF THE CL LOGO AND THE CHAMPIONS OF EUROPE ON THE SIDE OF THE SHIRT

contact niterider
i going NS on sep 8 don contact me liaoz

latest update(1245 04 sep)

darkhalf
04-09-2005, 01:40 PM
http://www.walkonlfc.com/news/sep05/redson_target.htm

Momo Sissoko, Djibril Cisse and Fernando Morientes all scored while on International duty with their countries tonight.

Sissoko scored Mali's second goal in a 2-0 victory over Congo whilst Cisse scored twice in France's 3-0 win over Faroe Islands.

Fernando Morientes helped Spain record a 2-1 victory in a friendly against Canada.

ItWasntMe
04-09-2005, 01:54 PM
1.ahnnakata7
2.keltan
3.ItWasntMe
4. niterider

new away jersey
1.keltan
2.TitanSmall(2)
3.spinelli(2)
4. niterider
5.iwish

shd not a prob

then we mass order liaoz

IS NOT OUT YET
THK THEY WILL REPLACE THE EPL LOGO WIF THE CL LOGO AND THE CHAMPIONS OF EUROPE ON THE SIDE OF THE SHIRT

contact niterider

thx for the update. gd luck for ur NS.

spinelli
04-09-2005, 03:36 PM
1.ahnnakata7
2.keltan
3.ItWasntMe
4. niterider

new away jersey
1.keltan
2.TitanSmall(2)
3.spinelli(2)
4. niterider
5.iwish

shd not a prob

then we mass order liaoz

IS NOT OUT YET

contact niterider

hey thanks for the findings bro and good luck for ya NS =:p

anyway bro nightrider,let me know in advance when ya are placing the orders yeah?got special request :D

niterider
04-09-2005, 05:12 PM
hey thanks for the findings bro and good luck for ya NS =:p

anyway bro nightrider,let me know in advance when ya are placing the orders yeah?got special request :D
Huh? What 'special request'? I not changi boy okie... :s13:

darkhalf
04-09-2005, 05:19 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N149877050904-0938.htm

Rafael Benitez has hinted that more young players could follow Antonio Barragan into the Liverpool first team squad during the coming season.
Barragan, a close-season signing from Sevilla, is one of several youngsters who form the backbone of a new look Reds reserve side.

At just 17-years of age he became the youngest player to appear for the club under Benitez, when coming on as a second half substitute in the Champions League qualifier away to CSKA Sofia last month.

Fellow new signings Jack Hobbs, Godwin Antwi, Miki Roque, Ramon Calliste and Besian Idrizaj, not to mention the local lads who are coming through the ranks of the Academy, will now be hoping to follow in Barragan's footsteps and the manager has spoken encouragingly about their prospects.

"Maybe they will have similar possibilities," says Benitez, who admits he'll be keeping a keen eye on their progress. "It depends on injuries and themselves. If they play really well then it will be difficult for me to ignore them.

"From what I have seen so far they have done well and worked hard. We have a lot of young players in the reserve team now and it is a little bit light on experience.

"What we are trying to do is prepare a new team that will be packed with quality players and in time we hope these players will be ready for the first team."

-----------------------------

work is in progress, man :D :D :D

elbib00
04-09-2005, 05:50 PM
it might have been posted b4, but i might be forgiven for that since its....
STEVEN GERRARD's TOP 10 GOALS!!!!!!
http://www.footballclips.net/node/1465
enjoy guys!

stansays
04-09-2005, 07:13 PM
http://www.walkonlfc.com/news/sep05/redson_target.htm

Momo Sissoko, Djibril Cisse and Fernando Morientes all scored while on International duty with their countries tonight.

Sissoko scored Mali's second goal in a 2-0 victory over Congo whilst Cisse scored twice in France's 3-0 win over Faroe Islands.

Fernando Morientes helped Spain record a 2-1 victory in a friendly against Canada.

Let their forces combine and score against spurs. May the force be with them!

victorian07
04-09-2005, 09:08 PM
reading all those posts... acty thinking back, Rafa did okay in the transfer dealings i believe.

much of it is played up by the media i believe, talk about cisse leaving all that. and specualtion leading to liverpool failing to sign its desired players like Simao.

Failure:
Rafa said early in pre-season that the aim was to reinforce the squad with a right midfielder and central defender, where the squad is particularly thin in. These 2 positions are without a doubt the areas Liverpool needs more backup in. Kudos to him for recognizing that fact. However, stating his aim but failing to achieve it could have disastrous effects on fans' sentiments. Coupled with free-spending teams Chelsea, Tottenham & Newcastle splashing out the moo-lah for top class or rather decent players i should say, liverpudlians will surely feel disgruntled and disturbed by the fact that Liverpool as the European Champions with such a rich history and huge fan base cannot afford to sign the players it wanted.

A similar case in point will be Arsenal. Wenger promised 2 'world-class' signings but in the end, the only notable player in was Hleb. Is he world class at least for now? We doubt so, but he's impressive to say the least from recent match performances.

This is where RB has failed in.

Victory:
Sissoko and Zenden are key signings IMO, especially the former. The Mali international certainly looks talented and fills the mould of a tenacious and combative DM. Zenden provides an alternative to the injury-prone Kewell, and coming for free, he's good. Reina hasn't really proven his credentials IMO, hasn't really made that many saves, but his communication with the defenders is still suspect. He dashed out in the Super Cup match against CSKA, but failed to stop the opposition from scoring. Maybe he should let tried to allow the defenders to track back quickly instead. Just my opinion.

hanqiang1011
04-09-2005, 09:30 PM
Guys,

Check this out.----->

TRANSFER BAN FOR KOP
Press Report 04 September 2005

LIVERPOOL and Leeds face the threat of a transfer ban for using an unlicensed agent in Harry Kewell's move, reports the News of the World.

FIFA plan to charge both clubs after a full-scale probe into the £5million switch.

And if found guilty they could be banned from any dealing in the next transfer window as well as being hit with hefty fines. Max Sport, a company run by Kewell's manager Bernie Mandic, received £2m from the transfer.

The issue was brought to light during Kewell's libel action against Gary Lineker. The FA had their own inquiry and handed the findings to FIFA.

Earlier this year Arsenal were fined £10,000 after using an unlicensed agent in the signing of Quincy Owusu Abeyie. Their transfer ban was suspended for two years.

The case against Kewell is seen as more serious.

A FIFA spokesman said: "I can confirm we are investigating the matter."

This story has been reproduced from today's media and is not necessarily the position of Liverpool Football Club.

<----- What happen actually? Catch no ball. Heard of this illegal transfer thing at Sportcenter few months ago but not really know the full story. Kewell is under GH's signing, why only now then got problem?

Regards

iwish
04-09-2005, 09:41 PM
like the report mentioned..it is due to the recent libel case against gary lineker..that cause the FA to investigate...i think the law suit is about smth Lineker said when he was a commentor for some match...cant remember...

just hope everything will turn out to be fine...really cant imagine with we are slapped with a transfer ban.....

AhnNakata7
04-09-2005, 09:41 PM
1.ahnnakata7
2.keltan
3.ItWasntMe
4. niterider
5.dy_lan if can get it at $110

new away jersey
1.keltan
2.TitanSmall(2)
3.spinelli(2)
4. niterider
5.iwish

shd not a prob

then we mass order liaoz

IS NOT OUT YET

contact niterider

latest update(2142 04 sep)

iwish
04-09-2005, 09:48 PM
ty Nakata

hmmm...ORD lor...hehehe

AhnNakata7
04-09-2005, 09:49 PM
ty Nakata

hmmm...ORD lor...hehehe

!!!
:o :o

CanIsayNo
04-09-2005, 11:25 PM
actually RB did sign a centre back and a right midfielder... hobbs(ok he's 16 so probably doesn't count) and that idrizaj(he's young but of the age where he might actually play a number of first team games)

sinned_82
05-09-2005, 12:09 AM
Guys,

Check this out.----->

TRANSFER BAN FOR KOP
Press Report 04 September 2005

LIVERPOOL and Leeds face the threat of a transfer ban for using an unlicensed agent in Harry Kewell's move, reports the News of the World.

FIFA plan to charge both clubs after a full-scale probe into the £5million switch.

And if found guilty they could be banned from any dealing in the next transfer window as well as being hit with hefty fines. Max Sport, a company run by Kewell's manager Bernie Mandic, received £2m from the transfer.

The issue was brought to light during Kewell's libel action against Gary Lineker. The FA had their own inquiry and handed the findings to FIFA.

Earlier this year Arsenal were fined £10,000 after using an unlicensed agent in the signing of Quincy Owusu Abeyie. Their transfer ban was suspended for two years.

The case against Kewell is seen as more serious.

A FIFA spokesman said: "I can confirm we are investigating the matter."

This story has been reproduced from today's media and is not necessarily the position of Liverpool Football Club.

<----- What happen actually? Catch no ball. Heard of this illegal transfer thing at Sportcenter few months ago but not really know the full story. Kewell is under GH's signing, why only now then got problem?

Regards

Kinda reminds me of the NKF case; TT Dubai sues SPH, have his ugly details dug up, in turn kena counter-sued... hope it won't have to much of a negative impact on Pool...

spinelli
05-09-2005, 02:45 PM
Huh? What 'special request'? I not changi boy okie... :s13:

oh no la.just add in names and numbers le bro :D

ItWasntMe
05-09-2005, 07:21 PM
oh no la.just add in names and numbers le bro :D

like that i also have 'special' requests...

spinelli
05-09-2005, 07:43 PM
so nakata.just to confirm for this MO.is ya order and collect for us or we get it ourshelves by quoting we are from blab bla to get that price?? :s11:

hanqiang1011
05-09-2005, 09:06 PM
CHILE DEFEAT HITS PLANS TO LAND GONZALEZ
Liverpool Echo 05 September 2005

MARK GONZALEZ'S hopes of an early resolution to his Liverpool work permit woe took another blow over the weekend.

Brazil's 5-0 drubbing of Chile leaves the South American winger sweating on the prospects of his country breaking into the world's top 70.

Chile's FIFA ranking of 73 was cited among the reasons for the Department for Education and Employment preventing Gonzalez moving to Anfield.

Liverpool plan to re-apply in January, but unless their argument is strengthened they may have to wait until next summer before the transfer goes ahead.

Gonzalez, who is still recovering from a cruciate knee injury, has now returned to his Spanish club, Albacete, to continue his rehabilitation.

Liverpool boss Rafa Benitez is still seething with the decision to deny Gonzalez entry into the Premiership, particularly as the left winger will gain Spanish citizenship next summer anyway, allowing him to come to Anfield without a work permit.

Naturally, Benitez wants the player as soon as possible and will be watching Chile's next World Cup qualifiers with interest.

Chile play Columbia on October 8 and Equador on October 12 in games they must win to have any chance of playing in Germany.

Damn it,

Always having reason to denied the work permit. Always "Chu Stunts".

ItWasntMe
05-09-2005, 09:13 PM
so nakata.just to confirm for this MO.is ya order and collect for us or we get it ourshelves by quoting we are from blab bla to get that price?? :s11:

nakata going ns... now its niterider handling...

sinned_82
06-09-2005, 09:55 AM
Soccernet expresses its concern for Rafa's lack of impt signings in the close season:

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=341658&root=england&cc=4716

CanIsayNo
06-09-2005, 01:56 PM
just wondering.. is there something wrong with the liverpool board or something? i remember they rejected the bid from that steve morgan or something.. if it had been accepted, liverpool would've been much richer

and does it seem that he's a bit stingy in the transfer market? not willing to spend a bit more on players.. or maybe it's just rafa?

gohkg
06-09-2005, 02:03 PM
for steve morgan case, i think he wants to buy the shares at a lower price than it is worth and as such the board is opposed to it...and it could turn out to be the same case as man u where the buyer takes up loan to buy a majority share of the club which could turn out bad for the club ultimately.

i think its good to be prudent in spending...why be a carrot to be chopped by other clubs? If you evaluate the player to be of this price, then stick it with this price...dun borrow alot and turn out to be like leeds united...

and liverpool is preparing for building a new stadium which requires a huge sum of money...

Didjerama
07-09-2005, 12:35 AM
just wondering.. is there something wrong with the liverpool board or something? i remember they rejected the bid from that steve morgan or something.. if it had been accepted, liverpool would've been much richer

and does it seem that he's a bit stingy in the transfer market? not willing to spend a bit more on players.. or maybe it's just rafa?

accept the bid from steve morgan..either ur not a pool fan or u dun know the dealings of business...once morgan takes over the club he can do anything with it..richer?maybe..what if morgan man (who once take over has the last say in everything) decided to sell away gerrard so that he can make more money for himself...i tink rick parry and company at this point of time is running the club just damn fine..for u guys info,when rafa just came in,parry took out money from his own pocket just so that he could finance some of the trasnfers..thats what i call a pool fan..u tink morgan will do that..we are not a club to be run by abramowich or the man utd group of family...this is anfield...a club run by and for fans. i will never step into anfield if ever this happens

elbib00
07-09-2005, 09:54 AM
din really know the details of the steve morgan saga, but as far as i remember, he is a hardcore red and wants to help the club by taking over. however he is very old school and prefers english players and players. dun think he would click well with RB though.

skrw105
07-09-2005, 11:42 AM
accept the bid from steve morgan..either ur not a pool fan or u dun know the dealings of business...once morgan takes over the club he can do anything with it..richer?maybe..what if morgan man (who once take over has the last say in everything) decided to sell away gerrard so that he can make more money for himself...i tink rick parry and company at this point of time is running the club just damn fine..for u guys info,when rafa just came in,parry took out money from his own pocket just so that he could finance some of the trasnfers..thats what i call a pool fan..u tink morgan will do that..we are not a club to be run by abramowich or the man utd group of family...this is anfield...a club run by and for fans. i will never step into anfield if ever this happens

think is not rick parry u have mentioned. should be david moores who is the chairman with majority shareholding of lfc.

darkhalf
07-09-2005, 01:20 PM
http://www.thisisanfield.com/?newsid=00000153

Morientes will miss Spain's World Cup qualifier with Serbia and Montenegro after injuring his thigh in training with the Spanish squad on Tuesday.

It is unsure how long he will be out, but initial reports are suggesting that Nando will be sidelined for at least several weeks.

could almost smell the jinx coming back again

morientes now injured
cisse was doubtful for the qualifier against ireland (but should be ok now)
crouch midst of easing back to 1st team

elbib00
07-09-2005, 01:23 PM
it might be wierd for me to say this but this might be good news as RB might be forced to use cisse as a striker now....

victorian07
07-09-2005, 01:47 PM
oh no...right midfield one less alternative..

AhnNakata7
07-09-2005, 03:11 PM
sry ar
i OT
my list i taking to tekong
Handphone, + Extra battery
Coins,
7 Hangers
Pegs
Black tape
Scissors
extra pt
washing power
Black marker
writing pen
Basic toilet use stuff like Tooth brush, paste, shampoo etc etc.
Sandals
Underwears
Swimming google
Shaver.
Nail cutter
Lock - those with keys
insole (my old injury nd to wear)
mediated oil
eno

iziit too much?

no much reply so i post here

elbib00
07-09-2005, 03:23 PM
too long ago liao.dun really remember. anyway dun worry so much, u can always borrow/buy if u forget anything.
good luck in tekong!

iwish
07-09-2005, 03:49 PM
sry ar
i OT
Coins,
7 Hangers
Pegs
Black tape
Scissors
extra pt
washing power
Black marker
writing pen
Sandals
Underwears
Swimming google
Shaver.
Nail cutter
Lock - those with keys
mediated oil
eno

iziit too much?

hmm..alarm clock, black digital watch if u have, 1 toilet roll, snake powder...can only think of this few things...
nakata in PTP or BMT phrase?

AhnNakata7
07-09-2005, 03:51 PM
hmm..alarm clock, black digital watch if u have, 1 toilet roll, snake powder...can only think of this few things...
nakata in PTP or BMT phrase?
ptp
alarm clock i feel others will bring their alarm will wake mi up haha

hwaa
07-09-2005, 04:57 PM
haha no need alarm clock one, those pple in yr bunk are your alarm clock ... :s13:

ItWasntMe
07-09-2005, 05:01 PM
sry ar
i OT
Coins,
7 Hangers
Pegs
Black tape
Scissors
extra pt
washing power
Black marker
writing pen
Sandals
Underwears
Swimming google
Shaver.
Nail cutter
Lock - those with keys
mediated oil
eno

iziit too much?

washing power?? haha... bring more $1 coins in case u get to use the washing machines

sinned_82
07-09-2005, 05:54 PM
sry ar
i OT
Coins,
7 Hangers
Pegs
Black tape
Scissors
extra pt
washing power
Black marker
writing pen
Sandals
Underwears
Swimming google
Shaver.
Nail cutter
Lock - those with keys
mediated oil
eno

iziit too much?

got black tape enuff liao... SAF's universal solution to any problem :s13:

all da best, dun volunteer! =:p

sinned_82
07-09-2005, 05:56 PM
ptp

oh, in that case maybe u wan2 bring 青草油. good for blisters for ur hands after pullups. :D

Jinyu
07-09-2005, 06:24 PM
????is this a liverpool thread lol

AhnNakata7
07-09-2005, 07:11 PM
washing power?? haha... bring more $1 coins in case u get to use the washing machines
zhun bo?
haha i cant fint ans from other places so i post here
sry T_T

victorian07
07-09-2005, 07:19 PM
there's this NS thread in hwz...all ur answers are in there

darkhalf
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N149900050907-1303.htm

Winning the Champions League, as well as eliciting smiles as wide as the Mersey, appears to have caused one or two problems. Expectations have been raised, and Rafa's timeframe for sustained success may have been skewed.

The manager has a plan, but it will take time. The aim this summer was always to rebuild the squad and start to bridge the gap with the leading pack. It required a number of sensible signings; not blowing the budget on one or two star names.

Unfortunately, Gerard Houllier's talk of five-year plans left a lot of sceptics. Years one-to-three of Houllier's sole tenure were, on balance, heading quite nicely towards his ultimate aim. Then it all went pear-shaped, and the longer he stayed in the job the more despair fans foresaw.

Rafa is assembling a squad that can grow up together. He knows he cannot compete with Chelsea or Manchester United in terms of big budget signings, and as such he has to build success on unity, teamwork, and understanding. They take time to develop.

At Valencia he inherited a strong squad, and within ten months of arriving had led them to their first league title for 31 years. Valencia conceded the fewest goals, but they didn't score many (no more than they had to), and were labelled dull by some. The following season was a poor one as Rafa sought to put more of his own stamp on the club.

However, it was Rafa's third season when it all came together perfectly. They won the league with the meanest defence, but this time they scored goals aplenty. They also won the Uefa Cup. He had instant success; but Valencia were not a truly great side until three years into his stewardship. And this was without spending very much money at all. He certainly didn't buy any big star names.

The most important arrivals at Anfield this summer could emerge from the list of relative unknowns. In 1996 no one thought Arsene Wenger had pulled off a masterstroke in signing Patrick Vieira. Meanwhile, everyone thought Alex Ferguson had a sure-fire hit in £28m man Seba Veron. Only one of these players appeased and excited the fans on his arrival.

I could supply dozens more examples of big signings who failed. I could supply dozens more examples of surprise success stories. The same applies in reverse, of course. The ultimate truth is that it's the individual, and how he adapts, that makes all the difference. Not the price tag or the reputation.

I feel this summer's transfer activity was, on balance, a success. Not an unqualified success, given the failure to land targets for two key areas, and also the fact that only time will tell how the players perform, but Rafa's primary aim was to find a new goalkeeper who could become his Cech or Schmeichel, and procure a centre forward who could hold the ball up in all situations and bring the array of attacking midfielders into play.

The other signings, at worst, add strength and depth to a squad that was too thin in 2004/05.

Golden Future

In "Golden Past, Red Future", I dedicate an entire chapter to the youth policy at Anfield, and the need to see an improved scouting system (based on Rafa's own comments in March).Indeed, much of the book is about what Liverpool can do to compete for the title once again, and how different the current challenge is to fifteen or twenty years ago.

It's something I feel passionately about. The footballing landscape has changed beyond recognition in recent years. Man United and Arsenal were not this strong twenty years ago, and there has never been a club with the wealth of Chelsea.

I do not want to see Liverpool cripple itself financially by overspending (who can forget the horror of Leeds?). Chelsea, as well as being obscenely rich, have driven up player prices for all other teams, too. A double whammy. Trying to keep up with their spending is just not possible.

And yet, for all their wealth, Chelsea could not prise away Gerrard. If Liverpool cannot find kids of Gerrard's calibre locally (and let's face it, such quality is thin on the ground everywhere), then the Reds must be first to any boy who comes close, wherever he may be.

The key is to be more clever than the opposition: in terms of discovering and signing players at the right age, and for the right price. (And then in being more tactically astute during each and every match). Scouting is a big part of this process, as Rafa again stated last week. But a good scouting system will not instantly reap dividends or appease impatient fans.

Let's not forget that Rafa won the Champions League with a squad lacking several key players with injuries, thin on quality in certain areas, and with players who were previously ridiculed.

The lack of quality and numbers told in the league, but we all saw for ourselves how the right organisation, motivation and tactical approach can lead to unbelievable highs. If Rafa can mastermind that, then with a consistently fit squad and additions in certain areas (as has happened this summer), he can surely achieve more.

Difficult age

It is imperative to have a youth system comparable to Arsenal's. Wenger has proven a shrewd operator in this regard, playing kids when they are ready, but also aware that they develop at different rates.

When talking about his young French striker, Jeremie Aliadiere, Wenger claimed that the difficult age for player development at a top club is 19-22. By that he meant that the players are too old for the youth team, too good for (or not benefiting by playing in) the reserves, but not yet good enough for the first team - trapped in some kind of nether world, neither here nor there. Loan deals become the only option. And yet the press often see this a sign that a club is prepared to let a player go.

Unlike older pros, who might be tied to long and expensive contracts, clubs very rarely loan out young players they don't rate. They release them, or sell them. The loan is all part of an education.

Alou Diarra improved exponentially in his loan spells in France; in his case, a return to Liverpool was complicated by a desire to be a first team regular, and the formidable strength of the Reds' squad in central midfield. The outcome was a better player, and a sale by the club for a healthy profit.

John Welsh is currently in the same situation: clearly a talented lad, but he (like any other young hopeful) has to prove he's better than who's ahead of him, and in his case that means Gerrard, Alonso, Hamann, and now the younger Sissoko, who won a Spanish championship medal aged 18. Darren Potter, aged 20, is another who has risen above Welsh in the pecking order.

It's survival of the fittest.

Two more promising players are out on loan: Carl Medjani and Anthony Le Tallec. Only time will tell if their loans lead to permanent exits, but it's a chance for them to improve as players in competitive, high-pressure football. Remember: Steven Warnock was not good enough for Liverpool two or three years ago; he only made the grade aged 22, after loan spells at Bradford and Coventry significantly aided his development. Now he's in the England squad.

It seems to me (following Wenger's logic, and the precedents set elsewhere) that 22 is the make-or-break age. If you are not featuring by that age, your future at a top club looks grim. Before that age, and players may suddenly come on in leaps and bounds.

It's rare for 17/18-year-olds to be ready for first team football - they are the exceptions, not the norm. Wayne Rooney was two years younger than Steven Gerrard when he broke through; it doesn't make Gerrard inferior.

I do despair when I see players like Sinama-Pongolle and Anthony Le Tallec written off. They were signed in a hail of publicity aged 16, but let's not lose sight of the fact that we're talking about very good players, still only 20 years of age. Pongolle looked quick, clever and skilful last season, just before injury struck, and had been finally looking like a goal threat. Le Tallec, with less pace to call on, mayneed longer to mature, to make the most of a fine footballing brain.

In many ways the foreign kids have it twice as hard. Not only do they have to make the step-up from youth team or reserve level football, they also have to adapt to the English game and learn a new language, miles away from their families. That cannot be easy. Some are lucky and adapt quickly, but you cannot rule out those who take longer.

Future stars

Antonio Barragan, Jack Hobbs, Godwin Antwi, Miki Roque, Ramon Calliste and Besian Idrizaj: is there a future superstar or two in these names? Could these include the equivalent of Whelan, Rush and Nicol from the early 80s: young players signed without fanfare, bought to spend time in the reserves, and who emerged after a year or two learning the ropes?

Or are the great Reds of 2008 to be found amongst Sinama-Pongolle, Potter, Raven, Whitbread, Medjani et al - i.e. those kids already at the club?

As well as the six summer signings listed above, let's not forget that Momo Sissoko is just 20, as is Mark Gonzalez, should that deal be resurrected. Reina is still very young for a goalkeeper, while Scott Carson only had his 20th birthday this week.

Crucially for Liverpool, nearly all of Rafa's key players are 27 or less. Carragher, Gerrard and Alonso have years ahead of them, and the team unit can develop and bond.

Of course, plenty of promising kids don't make the grade. But it's the few who do, like Steven Gerrard and Jamie Carragher, who can make all the difference.

-----

so quiet lately...

up :s12: :s12: :s12:

ItWasntMe
07-09-2005, 09:20 PM
zhun bo?
haha i cant fint ans from other places so i post here
sry T_T

last time before i went in my fren told me to bring $1 coins for washing machines. nb in the end there was no washing machines. all had to be washed manually. the coins in the end came in good use too, buy drinks from vending machines. haha

freddlife
07-09-2005, 09:27 PM
ptp

hello AhnNakata, going to suffer soon ar.. good luck but enjoy yourself inside...

can forget to bring anything EXCEPT handphone.. can update u liverpool matches n latest news.."wink"...

See you soon here.. remember You'LL Will Never Walk Alone~~~

hanqiang1011
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
INJURED MORIENTES TO MISS SPAIN CLASH
Liverpoolfc.tv 07 September 2005
Liverpool striker Fernando Morientes will today undergo tests after injuring his hamstring in the final training session before Spain face Serbia and Montenegro tonight.
The former Real Madrid man was forced to withdraw from the Spanish squad on Tuesday night after pulling up with a hamstring strain.

Reports from the Spanish camp say it is too early to determine the extent of the damage although initial thoughts are that the Liverpool forward may have torn a muscle. It is not yet known how long the striker could be on the sidelines for but stay tuned to Liverpoolfc.tv for more news on the injury later today.

Oo..... Oh,

One striker injured.

ItWasntMe
08-09-2005, 12:27 AM
there's still crouch.

thesal
08-09-2005, 12:28 AM
cisse also injured... set to miss the next international match

bwaysaibi
08-09-2005, 02:30 AM
now dats when we call on baros
oops
hes with villa....
there u go... luck plays cruel joke on us again

Neo_Genesis
08-09-2005, 08:00 AM
there's this NS thread in hwz...all ur answers are in there

AhnNakata7 post here cause he Liverpool fan mah, then fellow Liverpool fans respond to him with advice can also show that we are truely << You'll Never Walk Alone>> not by going army with him but by giving him advice on this big moment in life... :D

last time before i went in my fren told me to bring $1 coins for washing machines. nb in the end there was no washing machines. all had to be washed manually. the coins in the end came in good use too, buy drinks from vending machines. haha

When i was in army around 4yrs ago there were washing machine dunno which last time you from... =:p

Neo_Genesis
08-09-2005, 08:05 AM
Back to Soccer.. Sian Bad news

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=341806&cc=4716

Reds' striking crisis as Morientes pulls up

Liverpool's failure to re-sign Michael Owen has come back to haunt them with Fernando Morientes now facing several weeks on the sidelines.

The Spaniard's injury, which the Reds claim is a hamstring problem, puts a disgruntled Djibril Cisse firmly in the spotlight.

Cisse complained he was being touted around Europe in the transfer window, but manager Rafael Benitez dismissed those suggestions and now clearly expects him to knuckle down as Liverpool's injury crisis worsens.

Benitez said: 'Cisse knows what he has to do for us, work hard, try to score goals and stay fit all season. And not to let other things distract him.

'The rumours about Cisse were already going around long before we beat CSKA Moscow in the Super Cup last week, and he still managed to score two goals for us that night.'

Now Cisse will get his chance to play as Liverpool's main front man, probably alongside Peter Crouch, ironically the partnership which has so far this term looked Liverpool's most productive.

The height and awkwardness of the former Southampton man complimented the pace and movement of Cisse.

Morientes, whose form has been patchy to say the least this term, has missed Spain's World Cup game with Serbia and Montenegro this week and is out of Liverpool's trip to Tottenham on Saturday - their first Premiership game in three weeks.

Liverpool insist his injury is a hamstring problem, not a thigh strain, and are awaiting scan reports on the seriousness of the problem.

A hamstring strain can take a minimum of three weeks to clear up while a tear will put a player on the sick list for as much as six weeks.

Whatever the final report says, and that is not expected now until tomorrow, Morientes faces a long spell out and that opens the door for Cisse to stake his claim.

It is anything but ideal for Benitez, who during the summer transfer window made some dramatic decisions about his strike force that have already been compromised by Morientes' hamstring injury in training with the Spanish national team this week.

Benitez sold last season's top scorer Milan Baros to Aston Villa, sent youngster Anthony Le Tallec out on a season-long loan to Sunderland that cannot be reversed, and then failed in his bid to bring Owen back to Anfield when Newcastle's club-record bid blew Liverpool out of the transfer negotiations.

New striker Crouch, a £7million signing from Southampton, is at last available again after a hamstring injury and suspension ruled him out of the opening games of the season, but although he will be in the squad at Spurs he is hardly match-fit.

Neil Mellor, a target for Sheffield United before the transfer window shut, is still recovering from a shin operation, while Harry Kewell is likewise not back to fitness after two summer operations on his groin.

Florent Sinama-Pongolle has only just returned to action following his broken leg suffered last February in the Carling Cup at Spurs.

All this brings Cisse firmly into the equation. He suffered an ankle injury for France in the win over the Faroe Islands at the weekend but will now find himself centre stage at Anfield in the coming weeks.

AhnNakata7
08-09-2005, 08:17 AM
AhnNakata7 post here cause he Liverpool fan mah, then fellow Liverpool fans respond to him with advice can also show that we are truely << You'll Never Walk Alone>> not by going army with him but by giving him advice on this big moment in life... :D

When i was in army around 4yrs ago there were washing machine dunno which last time you from... =:p
thx guys
剩下没多少时间 我想唱一首歌给我们祝福 唱完了 我就去Tekong去当兵

When you walk through a storm
Hold your head up high
And don't be afraid of the dark
At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song of a lark

Walk on through the wind
Walk on through the rain
Tho' your dreams be tossed and blown
Walk on, walk on
With hope in your heart
And you'll never walk alone
You'll never walk alone

sry for posting ns things here

iwish
08-09-2005, 09:10 AM
American defender Zak Whitbread is confident that given the chance he can help out Rafael Benitez by providing cover at centre half for Jamie Carragher and Sami Hyypia.
Of course Djimi Traore and Josemi can all provide cover at centre half so the 21-year-old Whitbread is under no illusions as to the size of his task to force his way into the manager's plans, but he does feel he could do an adequate job for Liverpool and repay the faith shown in him by the manager if called upon.

To watch the exclusive interview with Zak click here>>

To sign up for an e-Season Ticket click here>>

Whitbread played the full 90 minutes of Liverpool's Champions League qualifying win over FBK Kaunas at Anfield and earned praise from Benitez for his mature performance alongside Sami Hyypia.

Whitbread told Liverpoolfc.tv: "I have really enjoyed being a part of the first team squad this season and think I could do a decent job for the first team given a chance but I know I have a lot of hard work to do. It's down to me to work hard and impress the manager in training and if I can do that then hopefully I will get a few more chances.

"I am back from injury now and raring to go. I had a small tear in the back of my hamstring. It was a bit stiff at first and then it gradually went into a small tear. I've only been out for about 10 days so it's not too bad and I'm just looking to make some more progress now.

"I mean it is a long season and the manager has said everyone will be involved at some stage. I can only take that as a positive thing but Josemi can play at centre half as well and did well against Sofia in the Champions League. I can only keep playing well and training hard and hopefully get a chance.

"I've enjoyed every minute of every game I've played for the first team. I don't think I've done too bad but I'm still learning and there is a lot more to come from me. It does help playing alongside the likes of Sami and Jamie but I do think that when I'm called upon I can do a job there.

"The manager has given all of the young lads a real confidence boost. There were times a couple of years ago when I was uncertain about my future. As soon as the new manager came in all the young lads felt there was a real opportunity to impress and when you got the chance you had to take it. I know I have still got a lot to prove but I hope my performances for the first team have shown everyone what I can do."

Whitbread says the progress of his good friend Stephen Warnock has been a real inspiration to him and the other young lads at the club, and says you can make real progress if you put the hard work in.

Zak on Warnock inspiration
Stevie is living the dream as he is playing for Liverpool and the next minute he is in the England set-up so we are all made up for him. He is a great example for the rest of the young lads to follow.

"You look at Stevie Warnock who I think is the prime example of someone taking their chance," said Whitbread.

"He is living the dream as he is playing for Liverpool and the next minute he is in the England set-up so we are all made up for him. He is a great example for the rest of the young lads to follow."

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N149909050907-1706.htm
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

actually i will feel v happy if zak manage to get into the first team...dunno leh..after all he spent a few yrs in sg... wonder those that play football with him when he was in sg...what are thier feelings now hor..??? any bros played with him b4? hehehe

AhnNakata7
08-09-2005, 09:15 AM
of cos will happy for him
and also don nd spend $$$ buy a **

iwish
08-09-2005, 09:18 AM
one thing i like abt bringing up a group of young players from youth->reserve->1st team is...

they will have such a good bonding with them...that they will fight/play for each other..and know each other so well..they will know when to cover/pass/etc..

the essence of a great team; teamwork, unity, commitment is there...they may not be excellent players individually but they know how to play as a team..

now can only keep our fingers...and hope RB's young guns can perform better/faster than GH's...

AhnNakata7
08-09-2005, 09:21 AM
i always feel passion wins the game

iwish
08-09-2005, 09:21 AM
of cos will happy for him
and also don nd spend $$$ buy a **
hey nakata, u r still around eh? what time u enlisting?

heheh anyway dont need to worry...PTP phrase quite relax one..and i am sure u will have sufficent time to read newspaper to know abt Liverpool result...hehehe

i wont say will be fun...but will be an interesting and good experience :)

hcsiao
08-09-2005, 10:18 AM

NB Still got washing machines and vending machines/??? I remember 10 yrs ago there r none of them... Even water cooler also don have,,,, U guys really enjoy life in army.......

darkhalf
08-09-2005, 04:25 PM
http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0500liverpoolfc/0100news/tm_objectid=15943847%26method=full%26siteid=50061%26headline=striker%2ds%2dinjury%2dnot%2das%2dbad%2das%2dfeared-name_page.html

LIVERPOOL breathed a sigh of relief last night after learning that Fernando Morientes's injury is not as bad as first feared.

The striker had been thought to be facing several weeks on the sidelines after suffering a hamstring injury while on international duty with Spain.

But a scan yesterday revealed only a slight muscle rupture that could see the Spaniard returning for Liverpool's Premiership encounter against Manchester United a week on Saturday.

Spain national team doctor, Dr Genaro Borras, said: "It's an injury that we estimate will keep him out for between 10 days and a fortnight."

Morientes is however definitely out of tomorrow's trip to Tottenham, as well as Liverpool's Champions League Group G opener against Real Betis next Tuesday.

And his absence is an immediate blow for Rafael Benitez after missing out on Michael Owen in the transfer window.

Benitez could now be forced to throw Peter Crouch straight into the side at White Hart Lane - where the bean-pole frontman spent two years as a trainee back in 1998.

Crouch, Liverpool's £7million summer signing from Southampton, is at last available again after a hamstring injury and suspension ruled him out of the opening games of the season.

The onus will also be on Djibril Cisse to maintain the form that turned the Super Cup final in Liverpool's favour two weeks ago. The 24-year-old suffered an ankle injury for France in the win over the Faroe Islands at the weekend but proved his fitness by playing 15 minutes for France against the Republic of Ireland last night.

Benitez's other striking options are limited. Neil Mellor is recovering from a shin operation, Harry Kewell is not back to fitness, while Florent Sinama-Pongolle has only just returned to action following his broken leg.

mizera
08-09-2005, 04:34 PM
I wonder if we can have our thread title renamed properly by the admins since we've now shifted to an "official" epl forum.

mizera
08-09-2005, 04:34 PM
NB Still got washing machines and vending machines/??? I remember 10 yrs ago there r none of them... Even water cooler also don have,,,, U guys really enjoy life in army.......

can't complain lah bro, those who did it 20 yrs ago would have suffered more **** than you as well don't you think? ;)

sinned_82
08-09-2005, 06:13 PM
I wonder if we can have our thread title renamed properly by the admins since we've now shifted to an "official" epl forum.

heh... but it's been like that for 4 yrs... it has become our identity liao leh... =:p

hcsiao
08-09-2005, 08:41 PM
can't complain lah bro, those who did it 20 yrs ago would have suffered more **** than you as well don't you think? ;)

I think those born in 1970+ suffer from the transition period of army, education, work etc...... I remember during sch time only 2 polys.... Few years later 2 more come out... During that time, I got hard time going into polys coze even ppl can go to JC went to polys, causing many ppl with poor grades kena force out.....

Mohawks
08-09-2005, 10:05 PM
yup... the year after I left NS... IPPT gold became $200, Marksman is $200

mine was $20 and $30....

NS pay like sh!t too

hanqiang1011
08-09-2005, 10:10 PM
BENITEZ: WHEN I SPEND MONEY I ONLY WANT THE BEST
Mark Platt 08 September 2005

Rafael Benitez insists he will never spend money for the sake of it and that he'll only buy players who are good enough to help Liverpool win trophies.
As the Reds prepare for their return to Premiership action this weekend Benitez has explained the reasons why he failed to bolster his squad on transfer deadline day and revealed he has plans to make amends in January.

The boss admits it was frustrating not to bring in at least one more new face but believes the strength in depth of the Liverpool squad is still a lot healthier than it was in May.

"We have three or four months to get through. In January we need to reinforce the squad. We were thinking about a right-winger and centre half, everyone knows that, but when people say we left it until the last minute, that's not true," he says.

"We worked all summer. We never wanted to pay more for a player than his value. We didn't want to sign players we didn't need.

"We tried, but because of circumstances, the clubs wouldn't sell. If a club is willing to sell without a fight, maybe the player isn't good enough. When the club tries hard to keep him, you know you're trying to sign someone of high class.

"Simao is an example, as is Milito and Figo. We watched Simao for a long time, but we were looking at others first because we didn't know if he was available. We decided to try and Benfica said yes. We thought we had control of the situation. Then they changed their mind.

"We also tried to sign centre-backs, but their clubs said no. Clubs think because we've won the Champions League we've got a lot of money. They put a £7m values on players who are no more than prospects.

"If you look at our squad now compared to last May, we've signed very good players and improved. We couldn't find the right players for the right and at centre-half, but because we're European champions, only certain players are good enough to play for us.

"If people want me to buy players to finish in the middle of the table, I can, but I want to win trophies. I will only buy players to do this.

"I have a lot of confidence we will have a better team this year. People may not agree with my decisions, but when I spend a lot of money I want it to be on one of the best players in the world."

OK Guys,

National Service "Once in our time... Two years of our time..."

Now back to Premier League this week. Any thoughts?

Regards

sinned_82
09-09-2005, 10:59 AM
well, this weekend we can see how our squad perform against one of the "form" teams of the moment. Being an away game makes it more interesting.

Spurs have shown they are a young and energetic squad. Our defence, not known for pace, may have trouble keeping their attackers at bay... esp that Defoe. IMO, the midfield battles will determine the result of the match, so i reckon Rafa will again use 4-5-1 to flood the midfield. I won't be surprised if he includes Hamann in the center at the expense of someone else (maybe Luis Garcia?) so as to break up any attacks from their midfield.

well, that's my opinion lah. I predict a draw. :D

ItWasntMe
09-09-2005, 11:17 AM
i think we'll win. Hopefully Crouch can play & perform in this game.

elbib00
09-09-2005, 02:10 PM
crouch isnt fully match fit i guess. hopefully cisse will get to start as a striker even if we r playing 4-5-1, since he is on a row at the moment. his performance at the super cup shld earn him at least a start as a striker. imagine how gutted cisse will be if crouch starts in place of him forward.

spinelli
09-09-2005, 02:17 PM
i think this weekend's game will be a test of our credential of being a title contender.if we win,i think we have every reason to be optimistic for this season despite failing to sign a right winder and ctr back

sinned_82
09-09-2005, 03:33 PM
crouch isnt fully match fit i guess. hopefully cisse will get to start as a striker even if we r playing 4-5-1, since he is on a row at the moment. his performance at the super cup shld earn him at least a start as a striker. imagine how gutted cisse will be if crouch starts in place of him forward.

but it seems that cisse don't play well as lone striker... he needs a foil, hopefully in the form of Crouch...

F4theR
09-09-2005, 04:15 PM
liverpool to win 2-0
maintain their cleansheet

cisse will score one of the goals

hope my gut feeling is correct

hcsiao
09-09-2005, 04:27 PM
well, this weekend we can see how our squad perform against one of the "form" teams of the moment. Being an away game makes it more interesting.

Spurs have shown they are a young and energetic squad. Our defence, not known for pace, may have trouble keeping their attackers at bay... esp that Defoe. IMO, the midfield battles will determine the result of the match, so i reckon Rafa will again use 4-5-1 to flood the midfield. I won't be surprised if he includes Hamann in the center at the expense of someone else (maybe Luis Garcia?) so as to break up any attacks from their midfield.

well, that's my opinion lah. I predict a draw. :D

My prediction to the start 11....

Reina
Josemi, Carra, Hyypia, Warnock
Hamman
garcia, Alonso, Zenden
Gerrard
Cisse

sinned_82
09-09-2005, 05:01 PM
CROUCH FIT AND READY TO EARN HIS SPURS
Mark Platt 09 September 2005

Peter Crouch has declared himself fit and is raring to pull on a Liverpool shirt once again ahead of the weekend Premiership clash against one of his former clubs Tottenham Hotspur at White Hart Lane.
Crouch has been absent from first team duty since injuring his hamstring in the Champions League qualifier against FKB Kaunas back in early August.

But after successfully coming through a reserve team outing at West Brom last week Crouch is ready to spearhead the Reds' attack against the club where he started his career.

"I'm fit again now and raring to go," he told Liverpoolfc.tv in an exclusive interview at Melwood earlier this week. "If selected, this will be my first Premiership game as a Liverpool player and I'm determined to get off to a good start.

"It's going to be a difficult game but we'll go there in a confident frame of mind and hopefully get the right result. It's important we build on the win against Sunderland. We need to get as many points on the board as possible in the early weeks of the season as we've got some crucial games coming up. I'm really looking forward to it."

Crouch was a trainee at White Hart Lane in the late 1990s, before moving on to QPR, Portsmouth, Aston Villa, Norwich and Southampton.

Although he never made the grade at Spurs he has the utmost respect for the club and believes they're moving in the right direction under Martin Jol.

"Tottenham is a good club," he adds. "I started out there as a young lad. Of course, there have been many changes at White Hart Lane since those days, but a few of the old faces are still there, like Ledley King who I know quite well. I believe he should be fit to play on Saturday, so that should be interesting.

"I've played with a lot of Tottenham's other young players for England under-21s and I know how talented they are. They are definitely an improving squad. The manager has bought well during the summer and once they gel I think Spurs could really challenge for honours."

sinned_82
09-09-2005, 05:02 PM
JOL WARY OF GERRARD AND ALONSO THREAT
Mark Platt 09 September 2005

Tottenham boss Martin Jol has singled out Steven Gerrard and Xabi Alonso as the dangermen for Liverpool when White Hart Lane plays host to the European Champions on Saturday.
Jol's Tottenham have been in impressive form in the Premiership this season and despite losing to Chelsea before the international break, the London side are already proving a force to be reckoned with this term.

However, the Dutchman is well aware of the threat posed by the Reds and admits to being a big admirer of the job Rafael Benitez is doing at Anfield.

"It is a big game for us," he says. "We were unfortunate against Chelsea and hopefully we can make up for it against Liverpool. They are a good side - we are going from playing the champions to Champions League winners in two games and it will be difficult.

"If we can play with a lot of confidence, like we did against Chelsea before the sending off, we can do well. With our crowd backing us all the time we have every chance.

"Looking back to the Champions League final in May, I thought it was going to be a disastrous final, maybe the worst for a team ever.

"It was 3-0 and I thought it might be five or six at the end. They came back, I don't think they did anything particularly differently but they had Steven Gerrard and he is a top class player - the best midfielder in England.

"He got going and they took a lot of confidence from his goal and clawed their way back. I think it was one of the best finals we have ever seen.

"Another goalscorer in that game, Xabi Alonso, played against us last year and he is a playmaker and is pretty tough as well. He is a good character and, with the styles Liverpool sometimes play, it can be difficult to cope with him as he is the holding player with Gerrard going forward. He is a good player but we have a lot of good players of our own.

"Gerrard, when you think back to the Middlesbrough game on the opening day of the season, he had three or four chances he made himself. It was still a draw, but he is one we have to watch.

"Liverpool have another piece of silverware now with the Super Cup and Rafa Benitez is doing well for them. The league is different and they know that, they had a difficult season last time but are getting better and better. They have made some good signings and are team who can easily finish in the top three in England."

RadEoNic
09-09-2005, 08:04 PM
wah, rmf is a problem

daylight
09-09-2005, 09:08 PM
tomorrow's game is veri impt, Pool need to get something out of spurs at whitehart lane.
they are one of the inform team this season

freddlife
09-09-2005, 09:50 PM
a improve n consistent performance away from home is what pool fans want to see this season.

X18
10-09-2005, 10:30 AM
New European Shirt!!

http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N149931050909-2350.htm

Woot!!! :D

Winevil
10-09-2005, 11:19 AM
hello fellow reds, want to share with you a video that i take when i was at anfield for Liverpool second round Champions League qualifying match.

The kop was singing the famous You'll never walk alone before the match starts.... I was sitting at the kop and sang together with the koplites, tears welled up in my eyes....

Here is the video that I took... Hope everyone enjoys it... And if you have a chance, please do visit Anfield.... Really a great experience...

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=39YNANUW

Winevil

hwaa
10-09-2005, 12:33 PM

Reina
Hamman
garcia, Alonso, Zenden
Gerrard
Cisse

no riise ah .. cham liao ah he this season ..

Jardel
10-09-2005, 05:44 PM
shld play riise today
since i tink we need to def up more against spurs
so riise would be a better choice for me
and if got freekicks he will be helpful oso

melankholy
10-09-2005, 06:14 PM
id rather have riise there than zenden

Keo_86
10-09-2005, 06:36 PM
hello fellow reds, want to share with you a video that i take when i was at anfield for Liverpool second round Champions League qualifying match.

The kop was singing the famous You'll never walk alone before the match starts.... I was sitting at the kop and sang together with the koplites, tears welled up in my eyes....

Here is the video that I took... Hope everyone enjoys it... And if you have a chance, please do visit Anfield.... Really a great experience...

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=39YNANUW

Winevil

winevill...could you plzzzz upload it on yousendit??? coz I can't d/l anything from megaupload or rapidshare.....:(

always say too much conections.....I really wants to see your clip........

keltan
10-09-2005, 06:48 PM

Reina
Hamman
garcia, Alonso, Zenden
Gerrard
Cisse
i have a feeling crouch will start the game..

stansays
10-09-2005, 07:33 PM
no riise ah .. cham liao ah he this season ..

Sorry folks. Of all left midfielders we have, i would still prefer Kwell if he is fit!. Zenden will be my choice as for now than Risse. Risse dont have much skill except for powerful left foot and most times he cant thread past defenders. I would regard him more of a overlapping leftback.

melankholy
10-09-2005, 07:45 PM
i think riise provides us more attacking power than zenden. so far zenden hasnt done much at left mid and for a game we must win, we need to be attacking from both flanks as our formation will probably be 4-5-1

furyoo
10-09-2005, 08:49 PM
New European Shirt!!

I'm interested in getting this actually, wonder what the price will be and when it'll be available here. The only thing I fear is that we won't be seeing much of this jersey this season (you know what I mean).

victorian07
10-09-2005, 09:05 PM
wow..nice shirt

hocks
10-09-2005, 09:13 PM
Is PPlive showing the Spurs-Liverpool match?

aa4f4fsd47
10-09-2005, 09:35 PM
Reina, Carragher, Warnock, Finnan, Hyypia, Gerrard, Hamann, Riise, Garcia, Cisse, Crouch

POwerful !! liverpool first XI for tonight !
Not our strongest ! But lets hope Crouch makes a difference in tonight away game where we always lost our possession.

:s12: :s12: :s12: :s12:

yancm2
10-09-2005, 09:39 PM
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N149936050910-1411.htm

Peter Crouch will make his expected return from injury to lead the Liverpool line with Djibril Cisse in today's Premiership clash with Tottenham at White Hart Lane.
Rafa has recalled Crouch after he confirmed his recovery from a hamstring injury in a reserve match 10 days ago and he will make his first start for the Reds in the Premiership.

Crouch is joined by Cisse, fresh from scoring for France last weekend, as Liverpool line up 4-4-2. Dietmar Hamann will partner Steven Gerrard in centre of the midfield with Garcia and Riise supporting from the flanks.

Liverpool - Reina, Carragher, Warnock, Finnan, Hyypia, Gerrard, Hamann, Riise, Garcia, Cisse, Crouch. Subs - Traore, Carson, Josemi, Alonso, Sissoko

yancm2
10-09-2005, 09:41 PM
Finally 4-4-2.

Just wat we're waiting for. I bet Crouch will play as a target man.

:)

RadEoNic
10-09-2005, 09:57 PM
i think riise provides us more attacking power than zenden. so far zenden hasnt done much at left mid and for a game we must win, we need to be attacking from both flanks as our formation will probably be 4-5-1
exactly, his crosses from the left seems wayward at times....but today if got crouch, we might b able to get something from those crooked crosses of his

RadEoNic
10-09-2005, 09:58 PM
garcia on the right again?
sure anot?...

daylight
10-09-2005, 10:01 PM
garcia on the right again?
sure anot?...

bo bian liao. not enough right wing player, so he has to play there.
better than wasting cisse to play right midfield

Keo_86
10-09-2005, 10:29 PM
argh...any link to watch it on pplive????

Tobbie
10-09-2005, 10:42 PM
PPlive like don't have.
If anyone know. Please post. Thanks.

daylight
10-09-2005, 10:53 PM
live match showing chelsea vs sunderland.

goaless at half-time

so many goaless score at half-time

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/match?id=184413&cc=4716

RadEoNic
10-09-2005, 11:00 PM
c'mon cisse!
whack 5 into their face tonight!!!

victorian07
10-09-2005, 11:06 PM
hope pool plays better in 2nd half...

Nightsnack
10-09-2005, 11:14 PM
1000 pages! Go Liverpool! I wonder why Alonso is not on

spinelli
10-09-2005, 11:21 PM
i wonder why riise's shot din go in.... :s27:

spinelli
10-09-2005, 11:37 PM
i feel that sissoko is getting more and more important for us as each game he played

Jinyu
10-09-2005, 11:44 PM
Left a few min.....liverpool jiayou pls score

RadEoNic
11-09-2005, 12:01 AM
match end
0-0
zzzzzzz

elbib00
11-09-2005, 12:11 AM
overall good game.
quite unbelieveable that it ended 0-0 with so many chances created.
we din do enough on the right flank again, though garcia had quite a good game i thought.
things look good with crouch in there...

younggun__007
11-09-2005, 12:16 AM
Frustrated wif Cisse today. Nth much except for two moments.
Luks more and mroe likely that he's not the 30 goals a season type of striker we need :(

Stalker_Ultimate
11-09-2005, 12:33 AM
Still can't expect much from Liverpool this season.

Lacks quality.

shikoo
11-09-2005, 01:17 AM
lack of good finishing again.

Anyway. Good to see manyoo 100% record gone also. Whatever is it , When manyoo does not win anything again this season , i am a happy man.

Tobbie
11-09-2005, 01:41 AM
Read the report. Didn't saw the match.
Given the statistics, Liverpool look on par with Tottenham which is a good news. Tottenham is almost the 'complete' team in the EPL. With height(King, Gardner, Rasiak), speed(Defore, Jenas), width(LYP, Aaron Lennon) and aggression (Michael Carrick, Edgar), they seem very good on paper. Not that Liverpool are any lack before given player for player and away from home, Liverpool still managed to chalk up same number of shots on goal.

Until I see the play itself, I say this is consider a good result.

Take heart and continue to build from there.

cutter
11-09-2005, 02:14 AM
Still can't expect much from Liverpool this season.

Lacks quality.

Ya... u top Liverpool fan.

hanqiang1011
11-09-2005, 02:22 AM
New European Shirt!!

Cool..... Very tempted to get one. How much I wonder?

Regards

Jinyu
11-09-2005, 07:28 AM
Read the report. Didn't saw the match.
Given the statistics, Liverpool look on par with Tottenham which is a good news. Tottenham is almost the 'complete' team in the EPL. With height(King, Gardner, Rasiak), speed(Defore, Jenas), width(LYP, Aaron Lennon) and aggression (Michael Carrick, Edgar), they seem very good on paper. Not that Liverpool are any lack before given player for player and away from home, Liverpool still managed to chalk up same number of shots on goal.

Until I see the play itself, I say this is consider a good result.

Take heart and continue to build from there.
yup...consider it is away match. Btw we are the only team that have 0 conceded goals.
I sure Liverpool can do it.

Winevil
11-09-2005, 07:40 AM
winevill...could you plzzzz upload it on yousendit??? coz I can't d/l anything from megaupload or rapidshare.....:(

always say too much conections.....I really wants to see your clip........

hi, think yousendit is down so i couldnt upload it from there.... or maybe it's my computer.... is there anybody who can do the uploading on yousendit?

Winevil