View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)
Mr_Valentino
16-08-2002, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by verydead
nah............. 10m is not a small amt by any means man..............
remember, our club record is juz 11m..............
plus, in this financial mkt................... GH certainly wun be splashing money like water...............
imagine........... we got a super diouf for oni 9.5m ........ wld we really be paying over the odds for duff?
its is reported that GH oni valued duff at 8m some time ago....................
Yup, 10 million is not amount.
I don't think Souness will let go Duff go for 10 millions.
Even he is prepare to offload him at 10 million, will he offer to Liverpool?
Graeme Souness said before he had a unhappy times during his days at Anfield.
Oh yeah, talk about his unhappy times at Liverpool, I was more piss off than him.
I remember how he left……………that right………almost ruin Liverpool.
Mr_Valentino
16-08-2002, 04:42 PM
Fans: It was wrong to sell Wright
Selling Wright is a mistake.
I think so too......
On the other hand we've got GH favorites who can do no wrong, just look at Heskey, Murphy, Xavier. I know he can't support all the players all the time but he can never justify, in my mind, playing Heskey no matter haw badly he plays, and he's been terrible at times, and not playing Jari when he has played well for a game or two. [/B]
Like I said before, IMO I think Heskey is the weakest link of this current team.
Hopefully, I'm wrong.
Waiting for his showdown with Villa....
verydead
16-08-2002, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by Mr_Valentino
Yup, 10 million is not amount.
I don't think Souness will let go Duff go for 10 millions.
Even he is prepare to offload him at 10 million, will he offer to Liverpool?
Graeme Souness said before he had a unhappy times during his days at Anfield.
Oh yeah, talk about his unhappy times at Liverpool, I was more piss off than him.
I remember how he left……………that right………almost ruin Liverpool.
i dun think souness is really in the position to reject if the offer is gd.............. he has to answer to his chairman who in turn has to answer to the stakeholders of the club...............
verydead
16-08-2002, 04:58 PM
Smicer I saved Baros
Aug 16 2002
Report By Paul Walker
CZECH star Vladimir Smicer reckons his words of wisdom probably saved the Liverpool career of young countryman Milan Baros.
The competitive front man, who did not get a look-in when he finally arrived from Banik Ostrava last December for
£3.4million, after a protracted work permit wrangle went to Smicer for help and advice as his dream move began to turn into a nightmare.
Smicer, who has just signed a new three-year contract with the Anfield giants, told Baros to forget all about the fact that he was a rival for a place up front with Michael Owen and Emile Heskey.
Baros has taken the advice to heart and returned for preseason a different player, to the delight of manager Gerard Houllier who has included the youngster prominently in his build-up.
Smicer said: "I have played alongside him a few times in the national team and he did speak to me about his problems, being a fellow countryman.
"He spoke to me after his first six months when he wasn't playing for Liverpool and he was disappointed. He said he would show he was a good player and he would improve.
"My advice to him was to forget how many top players we have at the club, just keep doing his work and try to improve, and he took that advice."
Smicer added: "The competition is the same for all players, but maybe it's easier for me because of my experience and it was tougher for Milan to handle.
"He must understand that he will be playing alongside Michael Owen, Emile Heskey and Steven Gerrard and maybe he wasn't ready for that.
"He knows now it's not important who is in the team and who they are, but how he is playing."
Smicer has seen a change in Baros and that has helped the younger player figure in the club's pre-season.
Smicer added: "He has come back from the summer very fit, he's lost a few kilos and he has shown the manager that he can count on him. He looks very good."
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:00 PM
Seven days of change for Reds
Aug 16 2002
Fanscene By Sam Johnstone
I HATE to start the season with a cliche, so here are two instead: a week's a long time in football, and what a difference a game makes.
They both mean the same thing, though: any optimism I had last week about the new campaign is slowly dissolving away.
Two one-nil defeats and the sale of Stephen Wright to Sunderland have got me wondering if we're doing the right thing.
The Arsenal game was a bit of a dog's dinner, but it was a Cordon Bleu performance next to the Chester game. These are part timers, for God's sake, we should have ripped them apart, but no, we struggled against them. The game may just have been about fitness (and celebrating the tenth anniversary of the Deva stadium), but you'd expect a couple of goals at least.
You would also expect that players like Diao, Cheyrou, Smicer, Berger and the like would want to impress the boss. God help us if that's strength in depth.
Perhaps I'm being a bit harsh here - one or two of the young lads did impress, particularly Stephen Warnock and John Welsh, and young Steve Harkness too. What do you mean, he doesn't play for us anymore?
Welsh and Warnock may be the future for the Reds, but the shock departure of Stephen Wright shows that they are going to be lucky to make it. I can understand Wrighty playing as cover for Markus Babbel, but he was having to fight his way past Jamie Carragher and Abel Xavier (and no doubt Vegard Heggem when he's finally fit).
That must be incredibly demoralising for the lad, particularly when you put in some good solid performances when you do get a game. In my opinion, only Babbel should have been above Wrighty in the right back pecking order: Xavier is a stop-gap, Carragher a centre half, left back, and Heggem injury prone. Still, he's off to save Peter Reid's job, so good luck Wrighty.
With the start of the season come the usual predictions, so here we go: Champions: soft question, but after this week.....no, I'm still going for the Reds. Relegated: Birmingham, West Brom and Sunderland. Top Scorer: Henry. Best Keeper: Jerzy, as he was last season.
Best Alex Ferguson excuse for a poor United performance: Difficult, he's used so many, so it's bound to be something quite outlandish.
Let's say it's something like "The dog ate my midfield" or "I left my goalkeeper on the bus".
Derby results: 3-1 for the Reds at Anfield, with the return going to a 2-2 draw. It wouldn't surprise me if the Bluenoses did alright this season. I hate to say it, but they've got a canny manager, a couple of decent players, and Wayne Rooney!
Soccerkid
16-08-2002, 05:02 PM
Like I said before, IMO I think Heskey is the weakest link of this current team.
Hopefully, I'm wrong.
Waiting for his showdown with Villa.... sort of.. when he is gd, he is really gd in air lor.. a gd target man, but i dun see him as weak link lar.. sometimes we need to play target man, sometimes we just need player like litmanen to support owen
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:06 PM
Graham's Column: It's August - Time To Be An Optimist!
By: Graham Turvey
Published On: 16th August 2002
Published At: 09:41 GMT
Article #: 04
Yup, season’s eve. Just a few weeks after we watched a Brazilian on a wobbly table waving the World Cup, the real stuff is about to start.
Sorry Sven, Michael etc – playing at Ingerlund games is one thing, this is what matters to most of us!
As a Liverpool fan there is only one thing I really want this season – the same thing I’ve been wanting for the last several – the title back. And I do mean THE title – FA Cup Winners, League Cup Winners, UEFA Cup Winners, Champions League Qualifiers, League Runners-Up – not so much titles as subtitles!
Winning the Championship is what teams, and Managers, are judged on. Gerard doesn’t need us to tell him that, he’s said as much himself. He is already a great Liverpool Manager – and that’s a worthy title of it’s own, but I’m sure he won’t feel he has achieved until he wins the League. And then he’ll want the European Cup too.
So will it really happen for us this time? How the hell do I know??
Pre-season hasn’t exactly been scintillating has it? I’ve watched 4 matches live on TV and I’ve not been impressed. But then, that’s what pre-season is about. Those matches, including the limp showing in the Community Shield, are simply building up to putting out the right team to get us 3 points at Villa Park on Sunday.
I’ve got question marks about the new signings – but that’s always the case when they’ve not kicked a ball in a meaningful match. Dioufy, Salif Diao and Bruno Cheyrou, will surely need some time to settle in before they produce their best (memo to all of them – that doesn’t mean a goal each on Sunday wouldn’t be welcome...).
This is one of my worries – will that settling in period undermine our challenge? Well, it shouldn’t, should it? We were close last year, if what we’ve bought in can close that gap, then this could just be enough.
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:35 PM
The Heskey hate factor
By Chris McMullan
Date: 16/8/2002
There are always players in any team who seem to get more than their fair share of negative press from or media or even their own fans. In Liverpool's case, that player also happens to be a regular England International who is rated by all the top managers in the game.
Defenders openly admit that they hate marking Emile Heskey as he's recognised as being 'a bit of a handful'. He's strong, quick, able to challenge even the biggest center-half's in the air and he has a fantastic work rate. So why do some people get on his back?
Well, the biggest criticism of Emile is that he doesn't score enough goals (14 last season), but as he's playing a supporting role to Michael Owen surely how the partnership performs should be taken into consideration? (and Owen isn't short on the goals front!).
Owen today summed up why his partner up-front is a regular for club and country
"He gives us something different. It's probably my job to score the goals whilst Emile will score goals and do other things as well. "He takes it upon himself to do other duties and sacrifices himself for the team in certain ways. Every side needs those kind of players.
"He picks up their biggest man on corners, for instance. He defends well, makes unselfish runs and creates a lot of goals. "Everyone in the team appreciates him and he knows that. As long as your team-mates are behind you then that is the main thing.
"There are always players who will get criticism but people who understand the game will know he is a valuable member of our squad."
All the Heskey haters out there(you know who you are), just remember the next time you give the lad abuse whether it be from the comfort of your armchair or God forbid at the match. On top of disagreeing with the combined footballing knowledge of Gerard Houllier and Sven Goran Eriksson, the European Footballer of Year also thinks you're talking out of your arse!
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:36 PM
Hopefully, I'm wrong.
Waiting for his showdown with Villa....
hopes the abv article is gd counter to anti heskey opinions..............:cool:
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:38 PM
Houllier backs winter break plan
Gerard Houllier has given his support to the proposed Premiership winter break, saying it would help the players physically and mentally.
The FA is due to meet to discuss the proposal of a winter shut-down, following criticism from leading players and Premiership managers about the demands of the domestic game.
And Liverpool manager Houllier has welcomed the idea, saying it would be beneficial for players to rest. Houllier is also against clubs using the break for money-spinning friendlies in far-off destinations.
Houllier said: "The way I would like it to work is to leave the Christmas fixtures alone as it is traditional for people to go to games over the festive season but to have a break from the season around the first week in January.
"Maybe a three-week break, with the players having absolutely no involvement at all in the first week, a total break for them.
"I would like to FA to make sure that no tours would be arranged by clubs during that period of three weeks because that would destroy the purpose of the break.
"In a normal football year you play between 55 and 65 games, added to that you have the international games, about seven or eight, plus friendlies, so a player could be involved in something like 75 games a season.
"I think that possibly even more than the physical side, you need to give players a mental break.
"I think Bob Paisley used to say 'you can massage a muscle but you can't massage a head' so it would be a good idea to give them some time off."
verydead
16-08-2002, 05:42 PM
i think this thread is getting too long............
i m going to open a new liverpool thread for the brand new season!!:D
feel free to continue all liverpool discussions there..............
pls this time, i promise to spell ANFIELD correctly!! :D
cheers!!
wishing al liverpool supporters: may ALL our dreams come tre this season!!
hacktic
16-08-2002, 06:48 PM
this is much original
Mr_Valentino
16-08-2002, 07:06 PM
hopes the abv article is gd counter to anti heskey opinions..............:cool:
:)
Mr_Valentino
16-08-2002, 07:12 PM
i think this thread is getting too long............
i m going to open a new liverpool thread for the brand new season!!:D
feel free to continue all liverpool discussions there..............
pls this time, i promise to spell ANFIELD correctly!! :D
cheers!!
wishing al liverpool supporters: may ALL our dreams come tre this season!!
Come on, stick to this one lah.
Although it long, (Quite long, had to admit) but it got it 'favor', ya ;)
alamak
16-08-2002, 11:28 PM
finally no more notice board....... :laugh:
hacktic
18-08-2002, 03:17 PM
up for the original
hacktic
18-08-2002, 03:49 PM
pls a 4-0!
Kiwi8
18-08-2002, 03:54 PM
Originally posted by hacktic
pls a 4-0!
:confused: :confused:
alamak
18-08-2002, 05:59 PM
think gog to be a close game tonite...
2-1 to the reds.... hehe
coates
18-08-2002, 07:12 PM
2-0 to the reds.
Kiwi8
18-08-2002, 07:19 PM
Originally posted by coates
2-0 to the reds.
Hey.... your cookie system still going on or not?? :confused:
shootinstars
18-08-2002, 11:48 PM
Hooray.....
1-0 good start. Could have been 2 at least:eek:
Winevil
19-08-2002, 12:23 AM
good game even though it is only 1-0...but a win is a win(quote from our ex-national coach PN Sivaji).....
Diouf impress me again...he is by far the best attacking player in the Liverpool team...
Winevil
alamak
19-08-2002, 01:23 AM
yah.. diouf.. very hardworking player.... will be good to see him score soon. :)
nice game but still some defensive lapses...... hope they get better as the season progresses
Mr_Valentino
19-08-2002, 11:52 AM
We had a great game. Great passing, defending, movement and of course attacking.
Last nite performance was really encouraging as I think G.H did the right by starting Diouf instead of Heskey.
I have nothing against him, but look at Diouf, he’s on fire. He runs at, taking on defenders. Brilliantly performance from him.
Dudek, I swear he’s the best keeper in the world, H & H as usual…..solid, Traore settle well
Hamann commanding in midfield. Stevie, he’s everywhere, Danny surprising seem to found extra gear, Riise………my man of the match.
Still I need to voice out, I notice without Heskey we played more of a passing game instead long ball……or is it just me?
Soccerkid
19-08-2002, 01:29 PM
for me, my man of the match is Diouf
Anyway one thing that i am very sure ! This is going to be a very interesting season !:bounce:
alamak
21-08-2002, 08:34 PM
Originally posted by Soccerkid
for me, my man of the match is Diouf
yah.. always running here and there....
hope he proves his worth soon... by banging in some important goals.. :)
Shingoz
22-08-2002, 03:35 PM
Hmm 2 liverpool threads?
This's for discussing while the other is for news?
It sure looks like a newsboard to me. :D
aptget
22-08-2002, 03:43 PM
OH GREAT !!! for a minute I thought there is only ONE Liverpool thread and subjected to spamming. I hope it keeps this way so that verydead can keep posting in the other thread while we can have proper discussion on Liverpool.
I should have been 2-0 to Liverpool, what a waste Owen's penalty caught the keeper's shoelaces ...sigh. Look at his face, the frustration. I have tis feeling Owne will not make the mark this season and may move to another club. Hopefully Spanish club where they can bring out the full potential in him.
alamak
23-08-2002, 09:41 PM
Originally posted by Shingoz
Hmm 2 liverpool threads?
This's for discussing while the other is for news?
It sure looks like a newsboard to me. :D
hehe... same sentiments...
but that thread will overtake in number of posting in no time, from the way it goes.. hehe
but.. same goal.. You'll Never Walk Alone!
coates
23-08-2002, 11:34 PM
next match against soton.
predictions? :D
shootinstars
24-08-2002, 12:19 PM
next match against soton.
predictions? :D
2-0:)
hacktic
24-08-2002, 01:55 PM
:bounce:
alamak
24-08-2002, 02:02 PM
3-0
FLiNcHY
24-08-2002, 05:33 PM
Sorry to bother you guys but i would like to know if you guys even bother to read the news that verydead seeemingly posts every minute of the day?
I can see that the discussions have very much remained in this thread
Keep it up!=p
Kiwi8
24-08-2002, 05:41 PM
Originally posted by FLiNcHY
Sorry to bother you guys but i would like to know if you guys even bother to read the news that verydead seeemingly posts every minute of the day?
I can see that the discussions have very much remained in this thread
Keep it up!=p
:rolleyes:
coates
24-08-2002, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by shootinstars
2-0:)
Originally posted by alamak
3-0
haha.....i see a similarity on the side of southampton's score. :laugh:
btw, i predict a 2-0 win ;)
hopefully owen finally scores and the next one from murphy or diouf. the lad deserves one :bounce:
hacktic
25-08-2002, 12:20 AM
yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3-0
3-0
3-0
stupid westham cant even protect lead...penalty shoot so week old man also can save........hehee
coates
25-08-2002, 12:22 AM
GO REDS! :bounce:
FLiNcHY
25-08-2002, 12:26 AM
Well done reds!
El hadji finally showed his real stuff after dissapointing performances against arsenal and aston villa
2 clean sheets into the new season
Well done!:)
hacktic
25-08-2002, 12:30 AM
Well done reds!
El hadji finally showed his real stuff after dissapointing performances against arsenal and aston villa
Well done!:) it wasnt disappointing at all.. he was ok...
anyway....verydead, y dont u delete your thread........
coates
25-08-2002, 12:32 AM
i dun tink he played that badly in the earlier 2. after all, new players nid time to adjust to english style of play. he's done pretty well actually to score 2 goals in his 3rd match
FLiNcHY
25-08-2002, 12:48 AM
it wasnt disappointing at all.. he was ok...
Yeah but by his standards, he was dissapointing
But when he comes in terms with the premiership pace, he will be on fire
Hope he doesnt destroy arsenal like joe cole did:(
verydead
25-08-2002, 02:47 AM
it wasnt disappointing at all.. he was ok...
hackic, the thread is not meant to compete.......... i post the news there........... so that this forum wld not be congested with news............ and discussion cld take place.......... of coz discussion is also welcomed regarding the piece of news that was reported..........
many fans do not have the time to serve too many news sites so i m consolidating the news there.. on the other hand, if i post them there, pool fans who dun wanna read the news, can juz ignore...........
cheers........:D
verydead
25-08-2002, 02:48 AM
GET READY FOR THE RED REVOLUTION!!
:cool: :bounce: :bounce:
verydead
25-08-2002, 02:51 AM
i dun tink he played that badly in the earlier 2. after all, new players nid time to adjust to english style of play. he's done pretty well actually to score 2 goals in his 3rd match
he was quite amazing actually.........:cool:
Starchball
25-08-2002, 12:15 PM
exactly =)
wacko
29-08-2002, 05:20 AM
Reviving this thread, really hate the other Anfield thread...
Anyway I am a very disappointed man, after having stayed up the whole night to watch the match! 2-2! SHOULD HAVE WON!!!!!!!
Kiwi8
29-08-2002, 06:21 AM
Originally posted by wacko
Reviving this thread, really hate the other Anfield thread...
Anyway I am a very disappointed man, after having stayed up the whole night to watch the match! 2-2! SHOULD HAVE WON!!!!!!!
What to do?? LL lor....... :rolleyes:
RobbieFowler
29-08-2002, 07:05 AM
Watched the match. Reds lacks a lot in creativity. Sigh.....
Quite a boring match I should say.
Hope they improve on that.
Anyway, the other Liverpool tread is very irritating. So many words make my eyes go :rolleyes:
I rather go site by site to read about it.
Can you stop posting all the news?
If any pool fans are really interested, they will search for the news themselves.
No offense verydead.
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 11:25 AM
Upz for the true anfield faithful that stick to the good old thread
verydead
29-08-2002, 11:27 AM
Originally posted by poseidon_61
Anyway, the other Liverpool tread is very irritating. So many words make my eyes go :rolleyes:
If any pool fans are really interested, they will search for the news themselves.
No offense verydead.
no, no offense taken...........
actually, u can go to the website for ur news.............. no obligation to visit the news thread..............
that is juz done for ppl that wan consolidation of news and no need to go to 20 diff sites for their news..............:)
dun wanna read, skip that thread, its fine.............. as for liverpool discussion, can do it here mah.............
if i post the news here, it wld clutter up this thread rite and affect discussion............rite?;)
anyway, i feel this is the best.... ppl that wanna read the news, can go to the news thread.... wanna discuss, can come in here...........:D
i think other pool fans already noe of this......... u scroll up this discussion u wld noe...........
wacko, hope that answers ur query as well..............
verydead
29-08-2002, 11:28 AM
being extra...........
:laugh: :laugh:
verydead
29-08-2002, 11:58 AM
wow............ i think murphy and riise are really on fire this season............
both have already scored 2 each.............
but i think the MOM last nite was hamann............. quite outstanding actually........... but the strikers look very tired.............
coates
29-08-2002, 12:15 PM
verydead
29-08-2002, 12:21 PM
he's an arse fan............
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 12:50 PM
Just doing my part to make sure this orginal thread remains above the imposter:laugh:
verydead
29-08-2002, 12:51 PM
Just doing my part to make sure this orginal thread remains above the imposter:laugh:
ur part? ur part as an arse fan?
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 12:58 PM
Today's newpaper suggested dropping owen
If he really is dropped then who will lead the attack?
Diouf?
baros?
Liverpool's play is built around owen.Defending like mad and hitting on the counterattack although that seems to have changed with diouf coming in
But shades of the old playing style can still be seen
Why the negative play?
If owen is really dropped, then anfield is becoming something of another Arsenal or chelsea
All foreign talent and very little hometown talent on the pitch
verydead
29-08-2002, 01:02 PM
Diouf?
baros?
Liverpool's play is built around owen.Defending like mad and hitting on the counterattack although that seems to have changed with diouf coming in
Why the negative play?
If owen is really dropped, then anfield is becoming something of another Arsenal or chelsea
i thought that u said diouf sucked in the rovers thread?
but i remember u saying that hes gd in here........
swaying with the wind............ hypocrite........
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 02:10 PM
You still won't understand that the only person i'm trying to irritate is you
why would i be a hypocrite about liverpool
I have no problems with liverpool fans nor the club
ONLY YOU
4 liverpool fans have already voiced their disapproval of your stupid thread
Your stubborness reflects your inability to listen to comments from your fellow fans
verydead
29-08-2002, 02:16 PM
You still won't understand that the only person i'm trying to irritate is you
why would i be a hypocrite about liverpool
I have no problems with liverpool fans nor the club
ONLY YOU
4 liverpool fans have already voiced their disapproval of your stupid thread
Your stubborness reflects your inability to listen to comments from your fellow fans
and r u a pool fan?
irritate me? in a rovers thread where i m not even posting in until u made anti diouf comments?
dun try to twist ur words..........
pool fans here are not dumb............ u r trying to play both sides........... praise diouf in here, condemn him in rovers thread.........
we dun need arses in here commenting on liverpool matters...........
We'll Never Walk Alone!!
:bounce: :bounce:
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 02:22 PM
and r u a pool fan?
irritate me? in a rovers thread where i m not even posting in until u made anti diouf comments?
dun try to twist ur words..........
pool fans here are not dumb............ u r trying to play both sides........... praise diouf in here, condemn him in rovers thread.........
we dun need arses in here commenting on liverpool matters...........
We'll Never Walk Alone!!
I give my honest views in this thread, i don't see any liverpool fans asking me to get out or shut up. The only complaints are for you to close your stupid thread:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
verydead
29-08-2002, 02:26 PM
I give my honest views in this thread, i don't see any liverpool fans asking me to get out or shut up. The only complaints are for you to close your stupid thread
oh. so u r honest in here...............
so u were lying to the rovers fans then?
hahahaha
whats new anyway? u are a proven liar............aint i supposed to be on ur ignore list eh?
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 02:30 PM
oh. so u r honest in here...............
so u were lying to the rovers fans then?
hahahaha
whats new anyway? u are a proven liar............aint i supposed to be on ur ignore list eh?
polluting the liverpool thread you are
verydead
29-08-2002, 02:33 PM
polluting the liverpool thread you are
toking abt urself?
with ur 'arse' ideas?
verydead
29-08-2002, 02:38 PM
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Well done reds!
Well done!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
first the pet arse doggie says this in the pool thread...........
quote:
Go rovers!! I know you have the talent to beat pool
cole,jansen,yorke,duff
Such array of striking talent
expose liverpool's overated defense
diouf sucksss....seriously
now the unschooled kid says this is the rovers thread............
Kiwi8
29-08-2002, 02:47 PM
Wah lau.... u 2 still at it ah??
I really give up liao.....:rolleyes:
verydead
29-08-2002, 02:49 PM
who was the MOM for u guys?
for me it has to be hamann.............. he wasnt as effective as last season during the last 2 games...........
but against rovers, i thought that he played well...........
and also while the strikers were not firing last nite,
riise and murphy were on fire!!:bounce: :bounce:
with 2 goals each already!:D
cant wait for babbel and cheyrou though:cool:
verydead
29-08-2002, 03:04 PM
latest rumours report that diomede is leaving finally!!:bounce:
and we are going to sign hassan Sas..........:D :bounce: :bounce:
really remember him bing really impressive during the WC............ hope we really sign him.........:D
verydead
29-08-2002, 03:05 PM
the news links..............
http://www.tribalfootball.com/august/englishnews7290802.html
http://www.tribalfootball.com/august/englnews5290802.html
verydead
29-08-2002, 03:38 PM
liverpool plays boring football
waste of good talent
verydead
29-08-2002, 03:39 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=3951107#post3951107
this fellow is a hypocrite................lame.........
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 03:46 PM
waste of good talent
How wrong is this?
My liverpool supporter friends tell that to me
people in this thread said that abt the game last nite
verydead
29-08-2002, 03:48 PM
waste of good talent
How wrong is this?
My liverpool supporter friends tell that to me
people in this thread said that abt the game last nite
ppl in this thread said it?
prove it!!
hahaha.....
dun put words in ppl's mouth.........
arse!!
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 03:57 PM
Originally posted by poseidon_61
No offense verydead.
Does this ring a bell?
verydead
29-08-2002, 04:03 PM
Does this ring a bell?
he said the match was boring. not liverpool played boring soccer...........
do u noe that a match involves 2 teams?
so u saying rovers also are a boring team?
anyway, if u did not watchg the match urself, then ur comments are juz hear say......... they played attracive gd attacking soccer last nite.............. and rovers did too..............
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 04:39 PM
he said the match was boring. not liverpool played boring soccer...........
do u noe that a match involves 2 teams?
so u saying rovers also are a boring team?
anyway, if u did not watchg the match urself, then ur comments are juz hear say......... they played attracive gd attacking soccer last nite.............. and rovers did too..............
Boring match but not boring soccer?:laugh:
verydead
29-08-2002, 04:45 PM
Boring match but not boring soccer?:laugh:
i think u have a comprehension problem............
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 04:56 PM
shakes head....
he said the match was boring, not liverpool playing boring soccer
If the soccer was boring, how could liverpool play boring soccer?
watever it is, liverpool plays boring soccer
You know it, the fans know it, the press knows it, the whole world knows it
Is it an insult? No. Because they have the talent to play gd football. But wrong tactics
verydead
29-08-2002, 05:01 PM
shakes head....
he said the match was boring, not liverpool playing boring soccer
If the soccer was boring, how could liverpool play boring soccer?
:confused:
i told ya. comprehension problem............
verydead
29-08-2002, 05:04 PM
watever it is, liverpool plays boring soccer
You know it, the fans know it, the press knows it, the whole world knows it
Is it an insult? No. Because they have the talent to play gd football. But wrong tactics
haha......lets see a show of hands from pool. who thinks we play boring soccer...........
no one thinks so except arses.............hahaha
wrong tactics? tactics that helped us score the 3rd most goals in liverpool history and 3rd most pts in the league since WW1?
hahaha............ u noe nothing abt the proud history of the mighty reds...........
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 06:33 PM
haha......lets see a show of hands from pool. who thinks we play boring soccer...........
no one thinks so except arses.............hahaha
wrong tactics? tactics that helped us score the 3rd most goals in liverpool history and 3rd most pts in the league since WW1?
hahaha............ u noe nothing abt the proud history of the mighty reds...........
then you go n study your history better:laugh: :laugh:
then is then
now is now
last time britain was a great empire
verydead
29-08-2002, 06:57 PM
then you go n study your history better:laugh: :laugh:
then is then
now is now
last time britain was a great empire
haha........... told u ya had a comprehension problem.............
haha. last time ur grannie was a virgin.............
FLiNcHY
29-08-2002, 09:07 PM
Diouf?
baros?
Why the negative play?
I would like to bring your attention to this article written by a pool fan at football 365. It reflects on the same concerns that i have once written
"On January 16 1999 a rampant Liverpool side thrashed Southampton 7-1 in a remarkable Premier League match at Anfield. More remarkable than the score line was the list of scorers - Fowler 3, Matteo, Carragher, Owen and Thompson. For all five of them were products of the club's youth policy.
It was hailed as the final vindication of the club's expensive new footballing academy at Kirkby, a sign that locally produced talent was the way forward. And how we applauded it! Gerard Houllier's first season in charge had seen too few of those spiritually uplifting days.
Fast forward three and a half years to August 2002. A year after completing an unprecedented five-trophy haul in a single calendar year the seeds of that locally-powered side lie scattered to the wind. Robbie Fowler, Dominic Matteo and David Thompson have all moved on (as have other 'Anglos' who featured that day - David James, Paul Ince and Jamie Redknapp).
And sadly Steve McManaman, who didn't play against the Saints as he was doubtless very busy preparing his exit visa and arranging the Spanish lessons, is but a distant memory.
Of course the club still boasts an Englishness that remains at odds with many of its Premiership rivals and the prodigious talents of European Footballer of the Year Michael Owen remain at Gerard Houllier's disposal, but am I alone in thinking something's gone a little awry with the club's vision of an English fortress?
"I want to keep an English core to the team," is a statement of intent attributed to Gerard Houllier on more than one occasion in recent months. Furthermore, Monsieur Houllier's English core, we are led to believe, is itself meant to have a distinctly Scouse flavour.
Houllier's committment to the Academy and to the continuing progress of home-based stars like Owen and Carragher, Steven Gerrard, Emile Heskey and Danny Murphy seem to confirm the success of this approach. It's comforting also to see rookie England goalkeeper Chris Kirkland waiting in the wings for his big chance to impress. But in the last few months worrying signs have emerged that all is not as it seems with Liverpool's 'Made in England' tag.
The last six senior players to leave the club have been Robbie Fowler (sold to Leeds), Gary McAllister (Coventry), Nicolas Anelka (Man City), Jamie Redknapp (Spurs), Nick Barmby (Leeds) and Stephen Wright (Sunderland).
Four of those six were Englishmen, two of them local boys who had come up through the ranks. The other two, Anelka and McAlister, for various reasons never had any future at Anfield anyway. The same period has seen the arrival of Milan Baros (Czech Republic), Bruno Cheyrou, Alou Diarra, Patrice Luzi (France) and the Senegalese duo El Hadj Diouf and Salif Diao.
Now there's nothing wrong with the incoming players. They are all first-class stars or emerging talents in their own right and if Houllier's past scouting record is anything to go by they should prove to be big plusses for the club. But where does it leave the next generation of Gerrards, Owens and Carraghers?
Stephen Warnock, John Welsh, Richie Partridge and Neil Mellor could be forgiven for thinking they are flogging a dead horse when it comes to making progress through the club's playing hierarchy. Not only do they have to claw their way past no-hope squad fillers like Bernard Diomede, Igor Biscan, Vegard Heggem and the scandalously underused Jari Litmanen, but they have a new raft of incomers to contend with. All this on top of the usual fringe of foreign first-team wannabees like Gregory Vignal, Djimi Traore, Vladimir Smicer, Patrik Berger and Abel Xavier.
Even the club's ham-fisted attempt at trying to buy English talent (Lee Bowyer) in the summer was an embarrassing and ill-thought out idea that should never have seen the light of day - gaining us few friends in the footballing world.
Reportedly, Houllier is not happy with the quality of the latest batch of kids coming through the ranks of the Academy. The appointment of Hughie McAuley as reserve team coach is obviously an attempt in part to iron out some of the perceived deficiencies. But is it not the case that we'll never really know how good these youngsters are until they are given some sort of chance, any sort of chance, in the first team?
Now I know these guys are far from being the finished articles and I'm not advocating throwing three or four of them into the first team on masse and seeing how they get on but surely they deserve an even break? Steve McManaman (1992), Robbie Fowler (1993) and Michael Owen (1997) were hardly the finished articles either when they were given their debuts.
Going back even further, Ian Rush broke into the first team in the 1979-80 season and played six times in 1980-81 before scoring his first goals for the club in a first round European Cup tie against Finnish part-timers Oulu Paloseura. He never looked back and finished that 80-81 season with 30 goals. Neil Mellor may not be the new Ian Rush, but how will we ever find out?
Foreign stars at Anfield have been a feature of the place since the days of Jan Molby and Bruce Grobbelaar. They have always enhanced the team and added a colour and style to the club. El Hadji Diouf, Bruno Cheyrou and Milan Baros look set to augment the exotic talents already on show in Sami Hyypia, Stephane Henchoz, Jerzy Dudek, John Arne Riise and Dietmar Hamann. We can all recognise and applaud that.
Indeed talent, wherever it hails from, is always welcome at Anfield, but the advantages of having British players in the side is clear for all to see. They understand the demands of the English game and the mentality of the supporters. Locally-born players add another layer of commitment and passion that some foreign players can never fully grasp.
At the moment we still have that core, that English/Scouse heart in the side - but it's quickly coming under siege. That's why the ridiculously cheap sales of Barmby and Wright have been galling to so many of us. There is a balance to be struck between a British versus foreign mentality and style and we are in danger of tipping it too far away from home shores.
Do we want a Chelsea or a Rangers style future of overpaid and uncommitted mercenaries who play when they fancy it or do we want players with ability who will give everything to the red cause?
Gerard Houllier's red revolution continues apace. We can look forward at long last to a realistic title challenge this season and we are eternally grateful to him for that. Three and a half years on from that seven-goal thriller Southampton have just returned to Anfield for another Premier League match, and once again they went home empty handed. This time Liverpool had only four Englishmen in the starting line up and the Saints were undone by an African from Senegal.
It doesn't matter who scores as long as we win of course but Gerard Houllier has told us repeatedly that he recognises the importance of having locally-born players in the team. It's time for him to show us he means it because at the moment his actions in the transfer market seem strangely at odds with his words. "
verydead
30-08-2002, 11:44 AM
litmanen has joined ajax!!
:( :(
hacktic
30-08-2002, 12:42 PM
Murthy, Owen, Heskey, Kirkland, Carragher, Gerrard
alamak
02-09-2002, 01:29 AM
a chance to top the table if they beat newcastle tomororw....
wow.. another thriller tomorrow???
Winevil
02-09-2002, 09:24 AM
haha.... maybe another 4-3 scoreline....of course Liverpool win....
Winevil
coates
02-09-2002, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by Winevil
haha.... maybe another 4-3 scoreline....of course Liverpool win....
Winevil
hey, u remember that scoreline ehh.....i practically jumped out of my seat when pool scored the 4th goal that time.....that was a real thriller match.
pool has good track record against newcastle, hope they dun make blunders.
Winevil
02-09-2002, 06:46 PM
in fact they have that scoreline for two straight season....
the first 4-3 match....Stan Collymore is the one who scored the winner for us...me and my brother screamed so loud that my parents woke up in fright...
Winevil
coates
02-09-2002, 07:12 PM
in fact they have that scoreline for two straight season....
the first 4-3 match....Stan Collymore is the one who scored the winner for us...me and my brother screamed so loud that my parents woke up in fright...
Winevil
haha.....i was the only one screaming, and my dad supports man utd, so when the match is man utd vs liverpool....hahaha, my mum also got qn mark above her head see both our reactions.....
and i remember one weird goal by collymore against blackburn rovers, haha....the ball was practically rolling then it hit some stone or dunno wat, and flew just above tim flowers' head, juz perfect :laugh:
Winevil
02-09-2002, 07:32 PM
haha.....i was the only one screaming, and my dad supports man utd, so when the match is man utd vs liverpool....hahaha, my mum also got qn mark above her head see both our reactions.....
and i remember one weird goal by collymore against blackburn rovers, haha....the ball was practically rolling then it hit some stone or dunno wat, and flew just above tim flowers' head, juz perfect :laugh:
that i remember too...was a long shot attempt and for no reason, the ball just bounced over flowers, who got down into position to collect the ball.....
Winevil
coates
02-09-2002, 07:44 PM
that i remember too...was a long shot attempt and for no reason, the ball just bounced over flowers, who got down into position to collect the ball.....
Winevil
he looked real pitiful after that, i feel sorry for him, but still cheered for the goal scored. even collymore could not believe it.
Winevil
02-09-2002, 07:59 PM
he looked real pitiful after that, i feel sorry for him, but still cheered for the goal scored. even collymore could not believe it.
we will cheered again later...;)
Winevil
coates
02-09-2002, 08:50 PM
we will cheered again later...;)
Winevil
You'll Never Cheer Alone ;)
RobbieFowler
03-09-2002, 04:56 AM
2 - 2 !!!!!!!!!!!!
They need to rest Owen. He has cost the reds 3 pts.
Missed so many chance.
The midfield was fantastic. Newcastle's defence was torn apart.
Oh gosh......we could have won the match in the first half.
vcr03
03-09-2002, 06:16 AM
Hai yah,damn suay everytime last few min equalise
:mad: :mad: :mad:
hartly
03-09-2002, 08:18 AM
Good game, but poor result for the Pools
Kiwi8
03-09-2002, 01:44 PM
Originally posted by vcr03
Hai yah,damn suay everytime last few min equalise
:mad: :mad: :mad:
Where got suay?? The 2 Newcastle goals were not created out of luck.....
Blame it on Owen for missing sitters..... :rolleyes:
coates
03-09-2002, 02:53 PM
sh1t man, 2 mins from FT equalise :mad: :mad: :mad:
Elspectro
03-09-2002, 02:56 PM
and guess what Shearer almost won it for Newcastle if not for the point blank save by Dudek!
shootinstars
03-09-2002, 03:02 PM
We did everthing right except scoring more goals 'earlier'.:mad:
coates
03-09-2002, 04:16 PM
sigh.....there goes my $$$ again :rolleyes:
Originally posted by Kiwi8
Blame it on Owen for missing sitters..... :rolleyes:
By the end of the day who score more win but what happen to the defence ?:confused:
Kiwi8
06-09-2002, 12:56 AM
Originally posted by kill
By the end of the day who score more win but what happen to the defence ?:confused:
True.... the defence went to sleep over the last few minutes....
xiaobuaya
06-09-2002, 02:01 AM
Blame it on Owen for missing sitters..... :rolleyes: yah ..... :(
Winevil
06-09-2002, 10:53 AM
True.... the defence went to sleep over the last few minutes....
but we must give credit to newcastle for the two goals they scored....it's not entirely the fault of liverpool defence....the goals were well taken...
Winevil
coates
06-09-2002, 11:01 AM
yeah, a striker has to have the finishing touch, thats wat makes him a striker.
alamak
08-09-2002, 05:07 PM
owen really going thru a bad patch.....
really hope he gets his confidence and touches back... with a confident owen and the hardworking diouf.... who can stop us!!
hahahaha
aptget
11-09-2002, 12:50 PM
Where aer there NO Liverpool vs Birmingham odds in SingaporePools for 12 Sept 3-AM match ?!?! So Weird
coates
12-09-2002, 08:55 PM
hey guys so quiet ah.....this thread does not belong to page 2!!
come on, altho we drew for the third time, at least we didnt lose, take heart....
Kiwi8
12-09-2002, 08:59 PM
hey guys so quiet ah.....this thread does not belong to page 2!!
come on, altho we drew for the third time, at least we didnt lose, take heart....
Draw at home is a bad result liao...... :rolleyes:
coates
12-09-2002, 09:04 PM
Draw at home is a bad result liao...... :rolleyes:
u really noe how to 'suan' man utd :laugh:
anyway, wats happened has happened....pool siao siao one, sometimes can perform very well against the top teams, other times can lose to even supposedly lousy teams
alamak
14-09-2002, 12:46 AM
one thing proven.. we can score goals but the defence have got to pull up their socks a little.......
Virus
15-09-2002, 05:17 AM
Liverpool got to start gelling up their defence. This year, Liverpool's attack is much much better and is a very good sign. Lets hope that defence start to stop concide goals and with the attack that they have now, beating any opposition is not really hard. the good thing now is that the season is early, and they are not at their peak yet :).
Right now, I still think Arsenal got the best chance to win the Premiership looking from how they play this season. But I got the uncanny feeling that Arsenal reached their peak abit too early even tho Lundberg and Pires are not back yet. Lets pray that they play so well now but fumble at the end due to peaking far too early.
Winevil
15-09-2002, 10:41 AM
Originally posted by alamak
one thing proven.. we can score goals but the defence have got to pull up their socks a little.......
yeah agreed...last year we had seen the "midfield block" tactic so effectively that the defence is so water-tight...
this year seems that the defence is so strained by the opponent pace that it kept concede goals..and there is also a lack of concentration among the central defence
better buck up....but it's still lovely to take three points when our red rival dropped points ;)
Winevil
Kiwi8
15-09-2002, 10:54 AM
Liverpool really kio tio gu sai to take all 3 points..... :rolleyes:
coates
15-09-2002, 08:51 PM
its good that the strikers are bagging the goals for liverpool, but their defence looks shaky.....
kebinu
16-09-2002, 02:56 PM
Liverpool really kio tio gu sai to take all 3 points..... :rolleyes:
y leh?
very tyco ar?
Kiwi8
16-09-2002, 06:35 PM
Originally posted by kebinu
y leh?
very tyco ar?
Liverpool's last goal was scored only within a minute of Bolton's 2nd equalizer......
coates
16-09-2002, 09:22 PM
Liverpool's last goal was scored only within a minute of Bolton's 2nd equalizer......
Seizing the chance ;)
shootinstars
20-09-2002, 11:13 PM
Seizing the chance ;)
Sweat man.......thought going to draw 2-2 again...
:mad:
coates
21-09-2002, 08:16 AM
Originally posted by shootinstars
Sweat man.......thought going to draw 2-2 again...
:mad:
yea, after all the 2-2 scorelines :rolleyes:
yancm2
21-09-2002, 11:59 PM
Final score - Liverpool 2: West Brom 0
Scorers: Baros (55th min) & Riise (91st min).
coates
22-09-2002, 12:01 AM
Baros is becoming the next big thing
yancm2
22-09-2002, 12:02 AM
:D
gerrard17
22-09-2002, 12:42 AM
Baros is becoming the next big thing
Ya,i like this style.
Speaking of Owen,sadly he missed another penalty.
coates
23-09-2002, 09:39 PM
Originally posted by gerrard17
Ya,i like this style.
Speaking of Owen,sadly he missed another penalty.
a pity.
its confidence must hav been dealt a great blow.
gerrard17
23-09-2002, 10:06 PM
a pity.
Hehehe,he's not the only high profile player in EPL to miss from the spot.
Henry and Smith both misses as well.:)
Kiwi8
23-09-2002, 11:22 PM
a pity.
What is this "it"??:confused:
coates
24-09-2002, 12:01 AM
What is this "it"??:confused:
lol....sorry, my brain going kuku...
shd be 'his' ;)
hehehe
29-09-2002, 11:20 AM
upz
Vecta
01-10-2002, 12:33 AM
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson says that his greatest challenge since taking over at Old Trafford was destroying Liverpool's dominance in English football - and he really believes that he's responsible for our past decline.
"My greatest challenge is not what's happening at the moment, my greatest challenge was knocking Liverpool right off their ****ing perch. And you can print that," blasted Ferguson in the Guardian at the weekend
Source (http://www.koptalk.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=66082)
hacktic
06-10-2002, 12:13 AM
:bounce: up
kebinu
06-10-2002, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by Vecta
Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson says that his greatest challenge since taking over at Old Trafford was destroying Liverpool's dominance in English football - and he really believes that he's responsible for our past decline.
"My greatest challenge is not what's happening at the moment, my greatest challenge was knocking Liverpool right off their ****ing perch. And you can print that," blasted Ferguson in the Guardian at the weekend
Source (http://www.koptalk.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=66082)
Then AW can say this liao.
wahhaha... bo liao, from a good club going down the drain is rather common for these kind of clubs, except Real when they have almost unlimited $$, they can juz buy player.. liverpool cannot mah..
hacktic
06-10-2002, 10:47 AM
where is robbie fowler now...leeds injured list?
where is vegard heggem, still nursing injury?
gerrard17
06-10-2002, 01:41 PM
where is robbie fowler now...leeds injured list?
where is vegard heggem, still nursing injury?
Fowler,not too sure.
Ya,Heggem is still nursing his injuries.
kebinu
06-10-2002, 01:53 PM
yar, fowler still injured at leeds
coates
06-10-2002, 11:24 PM
wonder how fowler is gonna fight back to first team.
such an injury that rules a player out of soccer action for a long time isn't good.....both for his health and his assurance of a first team placing.
echeong
07-10-2002, 12:58 AM
1-0 1-0 1-0 1-0 TO THE REDS
Kiwi8
07-10-2002, 01:40 AM
Wah...... Liverpool really kio tio gu sai man...... :eek:
Okane
07-10-2002, 02:10 AM
Wah...... Liverpool really kio tio gu sai man...... :eek:
did u watch the match?
Kiwi .. how come you always say Liverpool kio tio sia .. etc etc
Kiwi8
07-10-2002, 02:34 AM
Originally posted by Okane
did u watch the match?
Yah..... though the goal scored was very good..... it's still in the dying seconds..... hence kio tio..... :rolleyes:
Kiwi8
07-10-2002, 02:35 AM
Originally posted by Xue
Kiwi .. how come you always say Liverpool kio tio sia .. etc etc
It would be the same if it happened to the other clubs lah..... :rolleyes:
blacklotus
07-10-2002, 08:27 AM
It's call PERSERVERANCE. Never ever stop playing until the man in black blows the whistle. :)
We learned this from the GU SAI KING - ManUre. :D
Yah..... though the goal scored was very good..... it's still in the dying seconds..... hence kio tio..... :rolleyes:
hacktic
07-10-2002, 05:19 PM
song ah!!!
coates
07-10-2002, 09:13 PM
woohoo~~~
snatching 3 pts in teh dying minutes of the game.....
wat a rush.....:D
gerrard17
08-10-2002, 12:40 AM
3 pts is 3 pts.
Keep up the form Liverpool.
Kiwi8
08-10-2002, 06:42 AM
Originally posted by blacklotus
It's call PERSERVERANCE. Never ever stop playing until the man in black blows the whistle. :)
We learned this from the GU SAI KING - ManUre. :D
The GU SAI KING has just done it again! 3 goals in the dying minutes against Everton! :eek:
blacklotus
08-10-2002, 12:41 PM
Yup!!!. Lucky for me. I bought ManUre to win at -2.5 goals. :D
3 goals in 4 min. That's why Liverpool must learn from them. :)
The GU SAI KING has just done it again! 3 goals in the dying minutes against Everton! :eek:
gerrard17
08-10-2002, 09:03 PM
3 goals in last 4 min. That's why Liverpool must learn from them. :)
My $$ :angel: within that 4 mins.
Was thinking that comfirm win $$ wif 5 mins left budden Manu overcome that -2.5 goals handicap.:(
coates
08-10-2002, 09:25 PM
3 goals in last 4 min. That's why Liverpool must learn from them. :)
they have this 'never say die' spirit. chiong all the way until final whistle............=p
hacktic
11-10-2002, 08:15 AM
:bounce:
hacktic
13-10-2002, 09:54 AM
all time Liverpool topscorer for england
Michael Owen (1997-present) - 19 goals from 43 caps.
and counting
hacktic
13-10-2002, 09:58 AM
Players who have scored for England while with Liverpool
Michael Owen (1997-present) - 19 goals from 43 caps.
Roger Hunt (1959-70)- 18 goals from 34 caps.
John Barnes (1987-97)- 8 goals from 48 caps.
Kevin Keegan (1971-77)- 7 goals from 28 caps.
Peter Beardsley (1987-91)- 6 goals from 34 caps.
Harry Chambers (1919-28)- 5 goals from 8 caps.
Robbie Fowler (1993-2001)- 5 goals from 21 caps.
Phil Neal (1974-86)- 5 goals from 50 caps.
Emile Heskey (2000-present - 4 goals from 30 caps.
David Johnson (1976-82) - 3 goals from 5 caps.
Ray Kennedy (1974-82)- 3 goals from 17 caps.
Terry McDermott (1974-83) - 3 goals from 25 caps.
Frank Becton (1894-1898)- 2 goals and 1 cap.
Sammy Lee (1977-86)- 2 goals from 14 caps.
Jimmy Melia (1955-64)- 1 goal from 2 caps.
Gordon Hodgson (1925-36)- 1 goal from 3 caps.
Chris Lawler (1962-76) - 1 goal from 4 caps.
Alan A'Court (1952-65)- 1 goal from 5 caps.
Danny Murphy (-present)- 1 goal from 5 caps.
Nick Barmby (2000-2002)- 1 goal from 8 caps.
Steven Gerrard (-present)- 1 goal from 10 caps.
Jamie Redknapp (1992-2002)- 1 goal from 17 caps.
Phil Thompson (1971-83) - 1 goal from 42 caps.
Emlyn Hughes (1966-79)- 1 goal from 59 caps.
hacktic
13-10-2002, 10:01 AM
WTH is robbie fowler?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
what did leeds do to him:D
gerrard17
13-10-2002, 12:22 PM
Oh ya,Owen scored again.
coates
13-10-2002, 09:57 PM
great record breaking feat from Owen :D
hacktic
16-10-2002, 02:06 PM
Manchester United's Roy Keane has been found guilty on two charges of bringing the game into disrepute and banned for five games by the FA.
Keane appeared before the Football Association at Bolton's Reebok Stadium on Tuesday following allegations made in his biography that he made a premeditated attempt to injure Manchester City star Alfie Haaland two seasons ago.
The midfielder was found guilty on both charges, the first of which related to the tackle on Haaland, which the three-man FA disciplinary panel confirmed had been "improperly motivated".
The second arose from Keane's decision to cash in on the tackle by detailing it in his recently released autobiography.
As a result, Keane, who is currently sidelined with a hip injury, has been banned for five games and also fined £150,000, although he does have the right of appeal.
An FA statement read: "Manchester United's Roy Keane has on Tuesday night been found guilty on both counts of misconduct by the FA.
"Keane will receive a five match suspension, commencing on November 4 and a £150,000 fine, both subject to appeal within 14 days."
Keane's ban will rule him out of the Worthington Cup third round clash with Leicester as well as the Manchester derby with City and the crunch encounter with bitter rivals Liverpool on 1 December.
The 31-year-old will return to domestic action against Arsenal the following weekend, but will be available for United's remaining Champions League group games for the duration of his ban.
Ghost-writer Eamon Dunphy and Old Trafford boss Sir Alex Ferguson were both believed to have spoken on Keane's behalf in a hearing which lasted almost seven hours.
yay!!!=p
hacktic
16-10-2002, 02:08 PM
Patrik Berger and Markus Babbel should both feature as Liverpool's reserves travel to Aston Villa on Tuesday night.
Babbel should get another 90 minutes under his belt as he continues his push for the first team and has been tipped by assistant boss Phil Thompson to feature in Gerard Houllier's plans within the next month or so.
Coach Hughie McAuley is also expected to give Czech midfielder Berger a chance to push his own claims and the Reds will be looking to carry on where they left off following last week's 4-0 demolition of Sheffield Wednesday.
A win for Liverpool will take them to the top of the FA Premier Reserve League.
http://www.teamtalk.com/Images/4997.jpg
havent seen berger in first team for a long time :(
hacktic
16-10-2002, 02:09 PM
Liverpool's Chris Kirkland has admitted he loves playing regularly for England but is happy with his substitute's role at Anfield.
The former Coventry star has recovered from a slight neck strain and will be between the sticks at Reading on Tuesday night as David Platt's Under-21 side continue their Euro 2004 qualifying campaign against Macedonia.
Kirkland has seen his first-team appearances severely limited at Liverpool since he joined the club on the same day as Jerzy Dudek last season, with his Polish counterpart's brilliant form establishing him as perhaps the best keeper in the Premiership.
But the 21-year-old is happy to stay in Dudek's shadow for now, although he is delighted to be part of the England set-up.
He said: "I look forward to playing and when I come away with England I've always had that chance. At Liverpool I'm on the bench and I've accepted that but it's good to get away and play some games."
He added: "It's an honour to train with Jerzy and all the Liverpool players. I knew the score when I joined Liverpool and I am happy."
havent seen berger in first team for a long time :(
Yah, i hope he isnt frozen out...shld give him a chance.
coates
16-10-2002, 09:12 PM
Berger is shut out by Riise.
hacktic
17-10-2002, 01:56 PM
Liverpool are reported to be ready to listen for offers for Igor Biscan and Bernard Diomede when the transfer window reopens in January.
The Anfield midfielders have scarcely had a sniff of first-team action over the past couple of seasons and may well be sold in the New Year as the Reds look to cut their massive wage bill.
Biscan has lost his place in the Croatia national side after failing to establish himself in the fiercely competitive Liverpool midfield and will be keen to find regular first-team action elsewhere. Turkish side Galatasaray have been tipped as a possible destination.
Diomede - a World Cup winner with France in 1998 - appears to be even further out of favour with Reds boss Gerard Houllier and is said to be keen on a return to his homeland after reportedly snubbing a move to Charlton in the summer.
hacktic
17-10-2002, 01:57 PM
Future Liverpool players Florent Sinama-Pongolle and Anthony Le Tallec both scored as France Under-21s beat Malta 3-0 on Tuesday.
Sinama-Pongolle got the ball rolling in the 29th minute when he capitalised on an error from the Maltese goalkeeper following Benoit (brother of Bruno) Cheyrou's cross.
Habib Bamogo made it two 10 minutes from time before the Montpellier star teed up Le Tallec in stoppage time for the third.
Liverpool midfielder Alou Diarra - currently on loan at Le Havre - also featured in another comfortable win for Raymond Domenech's side.
hacktic
17-10-2002, 01:58 PM
oh no!!!
Steven Gerrard was carried off injured on a stretcher during England's Euro 2004 qualifier with Macedonia with a hip injury.
Gerrard had already scored a brilliant goal in the game before he was carried off after 53 minutes injured. He stretched for a loose ball and injured his hip.
Straight away he was on the ground and when he was stretchered off the Reds ace was clearly in considerable pain.
Kiwi8
17-10-2002, 02:09 PM
oh no!!!
Steven Gerrard was carried off injured on a stretcher during England's Euro 2004 qualifier with Macedonia with a hip injury.
Gerrard had already scored a brilliant goal in the game before he was carried off after 53 minutes injured. He stretched for a loose ball and injured his hip.
Straight away he was on the ground and when he was stretchered off the Reds ace was clearly in considerable pain.
Oh no!!:eek:
hacktic
19-10-2002, 10:25 AM
Steven Gerrard is definitely out of Liverpool's trip to Leeds on Saturday but Sami Hyypia has been passed fit to play.
Gerrard bruised his hip while in action for England on Wednesday and Reds boss Gerard Houllier has confirmed the midfielder will miss the noon showdown at Elland Road and is also struggling to be fit for Tuesday's Champions League game against Spartak Moscow in Russia.
Houllier said: "It was a blow to the hip muscle but it was not a tear or a strain which is good news.
"Steven has a blood clot on the hip and that restricts his movement. It will take time to disperse and so we will have to wait to see if he can join us for Moscow."
Meanwhile, Hyypia suffered bruised ribs while in action for Finland but has shrugged off the knock and will start at centre-back against Terry Venables' side.
Elsewhere Emile Heskey remains a doubt with the calf injury that forced him to miss England's game against Macedonia in midweek but Stephane Henchoz and Chris Kirkland, however, are both definitely absent.
Patrik Berger is also missing with groin strain but Vladimir Smicer is back in the squad after recovering from a foot injury.
As a result Salif Diao, Milan Baros and El Hadji Diouf could all find themselves thrust back into action while Markus Babbel may make a welcome return to the bench after another reserve outing in midweek.
hacktic
19-10-2002, 10:25 AM
Liverpool goalkeeper Jerzy Dudek has signed a one-year extension to his current contract that will tie him to the club until 2006.
wah so fast sign extension liao
hacktic
19-10-2002, 10:31 AM
some facts:
Liverpool's league record under Gerard Houllier is: Played: 149, Won: 80, Drawn: 35, Lost: 34, Points: 275.
Liverpool's league record against Leeds at Elland Road is: Won: 18, Drawn: 13, Lost: 17, Goals for: 66, Goals against: 65.
and some pools odds hehehe
1X2
LEEDS 3.30
DRAW 3.35
LIVERPOOL 1.90 <-- dropping
hacktic
19-10-2002, 09:03 PM
Leeds 0 Liverpool 1
yeah
but sad to say, was rather disappointed with the performance
hacktic
19-10-2002, 09:25 PM
Liverpool leapfrogged Arsenal into top spot and kept their unbeaten league run intact as Salif Diao's close-range strike saw off Leeds 1-0.
Gerard Houllier's troops travelled to Elland Road for the brunch crunch looking to make it five Premiership wins on the trot, and they seemed in the mood to do just that after dominating the opening 20 minutes of the game.
For all their possession, though, Liverpool failed to threaten Whites keeper Paul Robinson and allowed Terry Venables' hosts to slowly creep back into the match.
England striker Alan Smith got the ball rolling for the home side by jinking past three Reds defenders and firing a deflected shot just inches wide of the upright on 23 minutes.
Anfield keeper Jerzy Dudek then pulled off a terrific save to tip Harry Kewell's looping header over the crossbar, and when the Aussie forward - playing up front with Smith in place of dropped striker Mark Viduka - beat the Pole with another header just before the interval, it rattled the woodwork.
The Reds thumped David O'Leary's Leeds 4-0 in this fixture last season, and found the back of the net once again to break the deadlock on 66 minutes.
Germany midfielder Dietmar Hamann's sliderule pass released Senegal livewire El Hadji Diouf down the left flank, and the striker's cross found his international team-mate Diao, who beat Robinson at his near post with a deft flick.
Michael Owen was then introduced for Milan Baros from the subs' bench as Liverpool looked to wrap up the points, but it was the home team who went closest to scoring late on.
John Arne Riise was robbed of possession on the halfway line and Lee Bowyer set sub Viduka racing down the right flank in acres of space. The Aussie hitman's cross found the lively Kewell, but after cleverly skipping around two defenders he somehow lifted his shot over the crossbar from 10 yards out.
The defeat was Leeds' fifth league reverse under Venables, while Liverpool are now unbeaten in 10 Premiership games and sit top of the pile.
hacktic
19-10-2002, 09:26 PM
Liverpool extended their unbeaten record in this season's Premiership with a crucial and well deserved victory at Leeds United this afternoon.
Summer signing Salif Diao was the hero, netting the only goal of the game after 65 minutes to clinch the points.
In only his second Premiership start Diao came into the team in place of the injured Steven Gerrard and he turned in an impressive performance alongside Didi Hamann in the centre of midfield, which was capped by his winning strike.
Diao was one of four changes to the Reds team that began against Chelsea in their last outing 13 days ago and even without Michael Owen, who started on the bench, Liverpool totally dominated the eearly stages.
The pairing of Milan Baros and El Hadji Diouf in attack posed a constant threat, while Diao and Hamann controlled the midfield with the Sengal star in particular showing showing plenty of appetite for the battle and tremendous strength in the tackle.
But despite forcing a flurry of corners the Reds were unable to make that all-important breakthrough, mainly through a combination of poor finishing, good defending and lucky deflections, and it was the home side who finished the half on top, with ex-Anfield man Nick Barmby heading onto the bar after Harry Kewell had earlier done likewise.
Skipper Sami Hyypia shot over from close-range shortly after the break and Liverpool continued to press forward in numbers as they strived to break the deadlock.
The goal they craved eventually came in the 65th minute and it was a strike made in Senegal. Diouf crossed from the left and it was his compatriot Salif Diao who nipped in at the near post to convert past Robinson.
Leeds should have drawn level five minutes from time after John Arne Riise carelessly gave the ball away in his own half. Viduka then crossed to Kewell and the Aussie looked certain to net in front of the travelling Liverpudlians but much to their delight blazed his shot high over the bar.
It was the best chance the home side could muster and they can have no complaints over this defeat. For the next few hours at least, Liverpool are back on top of the Premiership table, and on the evidence of this performance no-one can begrudge them that.
hacktic
19-10-2002, 09:27 PM
G seems like i'm turning into the other "informer" hahhaa where is he now?
hope arsenal slips up soon
kebinu
19-10-2002, 10:31 PM
Liverpool goalkeeper Jerzy Dudek has signed a one-year extension to his current contract that will tie him to the club until 2006.
wah so fast sign extension liao
double the wage.. of coz must sign to keep him at the club.
kebinu
19-10-2002, 10:33 PM
Leeds 0 Liverpool 1
yeah
1st 20 minute was superb..
tajore had a lot of mistakes though.
coates
19-10-2002, 11:00 PM
riise too. he didnt perform as well as other matches, and he made an error that could have cost liverpool the 3 points
wenguang9
19-10-2002, 11:02 PM
Liverpool plan to trump Arsenal by offering Diomede for Evra
tribalfootball.com - October 19, 2002
Liverpool are ready to trump Arsenal for AS Monaco wing-back Patrice Evra.
The Senegal-born left-back is a target for both Premiership clubs and Liverpool hope to win the youngster's signature by offering ASM French winger Bernard Diomede in part-exchange.
Diomede has struggled at Liverpool over the last 18 months and was linked with a return to France over the summer.
Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier hopes to land 21year-old Evra in January
wenguang9
Munitis: I'm playing for Liverpool contract
Racing Santander winger Pedro Munitis says he is still thinking of moving to Liverpool.
On-loan from Real Madrid, Munitis said, "For me it (Liverpool) is a door that is not closed. I know that they are going to be looking at me at the end of the year and I am going to try to do my best at my current club.
"It all depended on Real, but it was not to be. In any case, things can change when I have more playing minutes at Racing and (Gerard) Houllier can see me in better condition."
wenguang9
Liverpool, Inter watch as Eck admits Rangers may struggle to keep Lovenkrands
Rangers boss Alex McLeish has admitted the club may not be able to hold onto Danish winger Peter Lovenkrands.
New contract talks with Lovenkrands have been on-and-off for most of the year and the exciting attacker has attracted the interest of Liverpool and Inter Milan.
The Gers have been forced to reassess their spending this year and Eck revealed: "We just have to wait and see how the player's form continues and for the financial situation to become clearer.
"I don't think at this juncture we can make any decisions either way regarding contract talks."
He added: "I've not been put under pressure to sell. Like anybody else if someone came to the club and made an offer for a player that was difficult to refuse then I suppose we are in the same position as most of the major clubs across Europe."
hacktic
20-10-2002, 11:22 AM
aye. but Liverpool sitting back after scoring a goal....it was sad.
whatever 3 vital pts won.
blacklotus
20-10-2002, 11:42 AM
3 points is 3 points. Very Well Done, Liverpool!!!
Especially when Arse and ManUre and drop points...:D
Leeds 0 Liverpool 1
yeah
gerrard17
20-10-2002, 11:53 AM
Ya,the back pass gimme a scare.
He had shown a little lack of experience,but still,he had a solid game together wif Hyypia at the back.
Virus
20-10-2002, 02:15 PM
Let's hope Liverpool keep up the momentum.
Seriously, they are not playing as good as they can be and yet they are the frontrunner on top of the league now. If they can perform to their capabilities later in the season as it goes along, EPL champion this season is indeed a possibilty.
hacktic
20-10-2002, 02:32 PM
traore cant match "henchman" henchoz HAHAHA.
everytime he touches the ball, i got this bad feeling... maybe he's still not too exposed
alamak
21-10-2002, 01:18 AM
Originally posted by Virus
Let's hope Liverpool keep up the momentum.
Seriously, they are not playing as good as they can be and yet they are the frontrunner on top of the league now. If they can perform to their capabilities later in the season as it goes along, EPL champion this season is indeed a possibilty.
it's a good sign..... they are still winning with normal performances. once they hit on the accelerator, nothing is impossible.
xmas period..... always a jinx for the Reds... let's hope it'll be a different story this season.
Didjerama
21-10-2002, 06:31 PM
i tink the match is really a test to see if the liverpool side had quality in their depth squad....
no henchoz,heskey,owen,gerrard and many new un-regular boys playing..
my verdict: liverpool has good midfield back-up...but poor finishing strikers amongst its subs...
i tink diouf is capable of playing heskey role of ball-holder..he looks strong on that match and fell a few times onli...but his finishing from the start of the EPL has been poor
baros: if many of you tink he is a star in the making...my verdict is that he's not really a magnificent player..and to be frank he might just be a victim of the media who overhype him..but i reckon him to be a good player if given proper guidance
traore: my pick is for him to remain as a left-back...where he seems to excel...now with babbel back and xavier recovering..he might just lose his place if caragher shifts to his position...
salif diao: IMO,i expected him to be the last person to score...i remembered when houllier bought him,he was expected to play more of a defensive mid rather than an attacking player.one negative thing i notice abt him,he drifts in and out during games...sometimes he luks lost and sometimes he is going in there making crucial tackles...he is my pick to take over hamann spot once hamann leaves
Virus
21-10-2002, 10:52 PM
Originally posted by Didjerama
he is my pick to take over hamann spot once hamann leaves
Hamann will not leave Liverpool. Houllier knows how important he is to the team.
Top notch world class midfielder. He is one of the most important factor why Liverpool is doing so well for the past few seasons. He protects the back 4 so well and make excellent important challenges that the Liverpool look a lot more vunerable in those match without him playing. Together with Hyppia, I rate him as one of the best buy for the club.
He is to Liverpool what Keane and Viera is to Manu and Arsenal, a player to depend on when the chips are down.
hacktic
22-10-2002, 03:13 PM
anyone read FHM australia?
"World of disasters"
BurnLives
22-10-2002, 03:37 PM
anyone read FHM australia?
"World of disasters"
nope, never like to read those mags with such retarded articles.
gerrard17
22-10-2002, 04:47 PM
There's a article in today's newpaper which finally recongised Hamman's worth to the team.
coates
22-10-2002, 09:00 PM
yup, i juz saw it this evening when i came home.
hacktic
23-10-2002, 01:13 AM
Originally posted by BurnLives
nope, never like to read those mags with such retarded articles.
here's what
Reds' fury at FHM article ^top
Liverpool FC say they are "absolutely sickened" by an article in the Australian edition of FHM that has made fun of the Hillsborough disaster.
The article, that appears in the November edition of the Australian version of the mens magazine, featured photographs with captions that have been described as a "disgrace" from the fateful day on 15 April 1989 in which 96 Liverpool fans died.
A Liverpool statement read: "Further to the publication of an article in FHM magazine, Australia (November 2002) regarding the Hillsborough disaster, the club is absolutely sickened to think that anyone could try to find humour in such an appalling tragedy.
"The captions reported to us are nothing short of a disgrace and it is beyond belief that anyone considered them worthy of publication."
FHM Australia's editor John Bastick has issued an apology following the publication which read: "On behalf of FHM Australia, I would like to formally and publicly apologise for the article printed in our November 2002 issue.
"The article was in no way meant to make fun or down play the tragic events of April 15, 1989. In essence our mandate at FHM is not to cast opinion or promote discussion but to simply entertain our readers.
"It is this last point that has been stretched by our treatment of the Hillsborough tragedy as we have acted without sensitivity and in a totally inappropriate manner.
"To the family and friends of those who died in this tragedy, we are truly sorry."
hacktic
23-10-2002, 01:15 AM
1-1 spartak as of now
hacktic
23-10-2002, 07:26 AM
Owen 3 Spartak 1
Owen hattrick! wooHoo!
hacktic
23-10-2002, 07:31 AM
Michael Owen grabbed a hat-trick as Liverpool came from behind to complete a crucial 3-1 Champions League win over Spartak Moscow.
Owen struck once in the first half after Spartak had taken an early lead and then the England ace struck twice in the final 22 minutes to clinch victory.
In a game that was mercifully free of the racist chanting that has marred English teams' European fixtures this season, Spartak took the lead in the 22nd minute when Emile Heskey's weak header back in his box allowed Alaxander Pavlenko to control and move the ball square to Alexander Danishevsky, who moved a yard further goalwards before lashing a shot into the roof of the net.
The lead lasted only six minutes when Owen got his first Champions League goal this season. Jamie Carragher surged down the right into acres of space and lifted a centre into the box where Owen nipped in to head a firm effort low past Maxim Levitsky.
Owen poached his second of the night on 68 minutes when Danny Murphy's free-kick curled in from the left for Sami Hyypia to power in a header which was deflected onto the bar.
The ball bounced down for the Finn to have another stab but it broke to Owen, a yard out, to lash home.
And he completed his hat-trick in the dying minutes, slotting the ball home from Murphy's cross after good work down the left from El-Hadji Diouf.
Other than Danishevsky's goal, Jerzy Dudek was relatively untroubled, although he did well to beat away the Russian's volley just before Owen gave Liverpool the lead.
Milan Baros also missed two gilt-edged chances in the first half for the visitors when his point-blank effort was smothered by Levitsky before he lashed a shot wide after good work by Owen.
Although Liverpool often struggled to come to terms with the tricky pitch and freezing conditions and produced some uncharacteristically sloppy passing at times, manager Gerard Houllier will be delighted to have this crucial win under his belt - the first ever by a British team on Spartak's home turf.
The Reds are now handily-placed in second spot in Group B, three points behind Valencia after their 2-2 draw with Basle.
Tiesto
23-10-2002, 12:11 PM
Great Result! Owen is da man! :bounce:
hacktic
23-10-2002, 05:04 PM
:eek: :eek:
dudek doing a seaman? hehe. Chris kirkland's gonna look elsewhere? hehe
Goalkeeper Jerzy Dudek is ready to commit himself to Liverpool for the rest of his football career after recently extending his contract.
The Poland international last week signed a one-year extension to his current Liverpool contract which will see him remain on Merseyside until 2007.
But the 29-year-old is now keen to follow in the footsteps of his Arsenal counterpart David Seaman and play in the Premiership until he is 39.
He said: "I am now at an age where I am thinking this is where I want to spend the rest of my playing career.
"I am 29 now and I have to think about where I want to be for my last club. I hope to play another ten years for Liverpool.
"David Seaman is playing at a top club and he is 39, I would give anything to be at Liverpool at that age."
hacktic
23-10-2002, 05:06 PM
Glenn Hoddle has insisted his Tottenham team will go to unbeaten Premiership leaders Liverpool "full of belief'' this Saturday.
Spurs climbed to third in the table with a 3-1 win over Bolton at White Hart Lane on Sunday and they face an upcoming run of games which will gauge the progress they have made this season.
Apart from the trip to Anfield, Hoddle's team also face Chelsea and Arsenal in the next few weeks, and according to the manager the team will approach those matches with their confidence high.
"When you win matches and are in a decent position in the league it gives you confidence, and you can go into games with belief,'' said Hoddle.
"You always hope your team has confidence in themselves and total belief when you go into any game.
"We'll go up to Liverpool with that belief. They are a very good side, they are top of the league, and I am already looking forward to it. We need to keep ticking along and keep our level of performance up as high as it can be.
"Ten games have gone and we are in a nice position. There is still a lot of work to be done but we have a lot of talent which has been unavailable and which is coming back slowly and surely. That is a good sign for the club.''
Spurs travel to Merseyside with Stephen Carr and Gus Poyet back in first-team action after injuries, while Darren Anderton, Anthony Gardner and Ledley King have also stepped up their returns for a game which will see Jamie Redknapp make an emotional first return to Anfield.
hacktic
23-10-2002, 05:08 PM
Boss Gerard Houllier has described the last couple of games as being "very emotional" as he looks back over the events of the last 12 months.
Tuesday night's win in Russia saw Liverpool shatter Spartak Moscow's proud record of never having lost at home to an English club in European competition and it came almost a year to the day since they had become the first English side to win at Dynamo Kiev.
On that occasion, Phil Thompson was in charge of the Liverpool team for the first time as Houllier came out of intensive care following his life-saving heart surgery.
And after Tuesday's win Houllier said: "I wanted to do as well as Thommo when he came here without me. Thommo won 2-1 and I have won 3-1 so I have done even better!"
He added: "A year ago I was just out of the intensive care, so the last few days have been something special for me. We have won here when we were 1-0 down and that shows a lot for the future."
hacktic
23-10-2002, 05:08 PM
the next big thing after patrik viera?
Salif Diao admits he is settling in well to life at Anfield and that the Liverpool fans have yet to see the best of him.
The Senegal midfielder turned in another impressive performance for the Reds alongside Didi Hamann at the Dynamo Stadium last night as the Premiership leaders moved a step closer to securing their qualification for the next phase of the Champions League.
He says: "We knew the game would be difficult. The pitch was difficult for both sides but we were very focussed. I have played in similar temperatures before, when I played in France, and it was totally different than playing in the English Premiership.
"I thought we played very well. It was a very good win for us and I enjoyed it. The lads are nice and have helped me settle in well at Liverpool.
"I am part of the squad and want to work hard and give 150 per cent for the team. The fans don't know me yet but I will show my best and try to do well."
hacktic
24-10-2002, 05:39 PM
Manchester United's official website has confirmed what we've all thought for years - Old Trafford fans are absolutely obsessed with what goes on at Anfield.
For some unknown reason and despite the fact that the Premiership season is only 10 games old, ManUtd.com decided to launch a poll to find out if their fans could live with us winning the Premiership.
Rather unsurprisingly over 58% of those who voted insisted that they'd be "distraught" to see Liverpool lift the Premiership trophy in May even if United won the European Champions League.
"Let's hope it doesn't come to that," commented the Manchester United journalist.
Liverpool Football Club play Tottenham Hotspur on Saturday.
HAHA :) =p
kebinu
24-10-2002, 07:46 PM
Manchester United's official website has confirmed what we've all thought for years - Old Trafford fans are absolutely obsessed with what goes on at Anfield.
For some unknown reason and despite the fact that the Premiership season is only 10 games old, ManUtd.com decided to launch a poll to find out if their fans could live with us winning the Premiership.
Rather unsurprisingly over 58% of those who voted insisted that they'd be "distraught" to see Liverpool lift the Premiership trophy in May even if United won the European Champions League.
"Let's hope it doesn't come to that," commented the Manchester United journalist.
well, wish liverpool GL to win EPL.
That's why i dun like most Man U fans, and they say we are biased ! :mad:
Winevil
25-10-2002, 10:48 PM
That's why i dun like most Man U fans, and they say we are biased ! :mad:
take no notice of them... relax....
Let Liverpool take its game at a time... Can win Championship, then it's good for us and celebration time...
Must be modest...afterall we already beat them 5 times in a roll... But then let's not be proud, be modest... Did i tell you we beat them 5 times in a roll... I did? Ok sorry, as i said just now we must be modest, and since we beat them 5 times in a roll...............................
Winevil
blacklotus
26-10-2002, 02:19 AM
Let's make it 8 by the end of this season. :D ALL THE BEST TO LIVERPOOL!!!
Let Liverpool take its game at a time... Can win Championship, then it's good for us and celebration time...
Must be modest...afterall we already beat them 5 times in a roll... But then let's not be proud, be modest... Did i tell you we beat them 5 times in a roll... I did? Ok sorry, as i said just now we must be modest, and since we beat them 5 times in a roll...............................
Winevil
hacktic
26-10-2002, 07:47 AM
wah heskey so generous
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N137274021025-1618.htm
ethanloi
26-10-2002, 10:05 AM
wah heskey so generous
Now that is paying gratitute. 3 cheers to Heskey.
kebinu
26-10-2002, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by ethanloi
Now that is paying gratitute. 3 cheers to Heskey.
i think that amt of $$ is little to him & he can leave a good name for himself..
aha.. good strat.
Winevil
A well taken point !:)
gerrard17
26-10-2002, 02:31 PM
wah heskey so generous
Yin Shui Se Yuan
Kiwi8
26-10-2002, 02:46 PM
Yin Shui Se Yuan
Should be "Yin2 Shui3 Si1 Yuan2"
hacktic
26-10-2002, 05:25 PM
Emile Heskey has admitted his love of Leicester persuaded him to help them in their battle against financial ruin.
The Liverpool striker has donated a six figure sum to the Gary Lineker led consortium, as they search for the £5 million needed to secure the future of the club.
Heskey spent many happy years at Filbert Street before making an £11 million move to Liverpool, and he was only too happy to dig deep into his pockets to help his former club.
He said: "I am a Leicester lad and Leicester gave me my first big chance in football.
"That's something I'll never forget. My family still live in Leicester and I still follow their progress.
"When I read about the trouble they were in, I felt I wanted to do my bit to help them out. I recognise I am in a very fortunate position to be able to help them. I hope they get sorted and get back into the Premiership."
hacktic
26-10-2002, 05:25 PM
Alex Ferguson today insisted Liverpool shouldn't be overlooked as genuine contenders for this season's Premiership crown.
The Manchester United boss can't understand why it is always just his own side and Arsenal who are mooted as potential champions, and he says Gerard Houllier's Liverpool are more than capable of finishing the season on top of the pile.
He said: "It is easy to look at Arsenal all the time and forget Liverpool. But they have shown great consistency, too.
"It is obvious that, if we want to get up there with them, we have to find the consistency we have shown over the past few years.
"Liverpool don't seem to get projected as title winners. It always seems to be Arsenal and ourselves.
"But you can't dismiss Liverpool this time. I think they are genuine title challengers. They are hard to beat. For Gerard Houllier to admit they can win it is unusual. He is usually so low key about it. But recently he has been very positive."
OH NO mind games again.....leading Liverpool to complacency?
Winevil
26-10-2002, 05:52 PM
Alex Ferguson today insisted Liverpool shouldn't be overlooked as genuine contenders for this season's Premiership crown.
The Manchester United boss can't understand why it is always just his own side and Arsenal who are mooted as potential champions, and he says Gerard Houllier's Liverpool are more than capable of finishing the season on top of the pile.
He said: "It is easy to look at Arsenal all the time and forget Liverpool. But they have shown great consistency, too.
"It is obvious that, if we want to get up there with them, we have to find the consistency we have shown over the past few years.
"Liverpool don't seem to get projected as title winners. It always seems to be Arsenal and ourselves.
"But you can't dismiss Liverpool this time. I think they are genuine title challengers. They are hard to beat. For Gerard Houllier to admit they can win it is unusual. He is usually so low key about it. But recently he has been very positive."
OH NO mind games again.....leading Liverpool to complacency?
tat bigmouth knight playing psycho games again....but was surprised he play it so early in the season, unlike many seasons ago when he play mind games in order to play catch up with league leaders, Newcastle and another season against Blackburn....
must be pretty desparate with his current situation...
Winevil
hacktic
26-10-2002, 05:54 PM
hahhaa. stupid fergy. u may be a knight but GH is a scholar leh...hahahaa. who smarter? think twice
gerrard17
26-10-2002, 09:09 PM
Should be "Yin2 Shui3 Si1 Yuan2"
Whatever.
dy_lan
26-10-2002, 10:52 PM
Now Half time againist Spurs is nil nil
Hope pool win or at least a draw to stay undefeated and hope Arsenal dun win...=p
Winevil
27-10-2002, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by dy_lan
Now Half time againist Spurs is nil nil
Hope pool win or at least a draw to stay undefeated and hope Arsenal dun win...=p
ole ole....four points clear...ole ole...
Winevil
gerrard17
27-10-2002, 01:16 AM
Can't wait for Liverpool's next game that's against Valencia.
Time to sink their unbeaten run in Europe this season.:D
Winevil
27-10-2002, 01:24 AM
Can't wait for Liverpool's next game that's against Valencia.
Time to sink their unbeaten run in Europe this season.:D
yeah...these few weeks liverpool seems to be on a warsong... we broke the record of no english team ever won on russian ground...valencia is next....heh heh
Winevil
BurnLives
27-10-2002, 01:27 AM
yeah...these few weeks liverpool seems to be on a warsong... we broke the record of no english team ever won on russian ground...valencia is next....heh heh
Winevil
its about time that glory returns to Anfield
Winevil
27-10-2002, 01:30 AM
Originally posted by BurnLives
its about time that glory returns to Anfield
too long to taste the glory...when we won the treble, pple said it's second fiddle....so best way to prove is do well in Champions League, and get that League champion...
Winevil
Winevil
Hi guys from what i see from the spurs game, Liverpool is not as good as we think they are and they are not as bad as critics write them to be. The morale of the story is luck is an important factor in this game and the Chelsea. Please dun let this few series of wins get to your head , liverppol is by no means unbeatable. I dun wan some liverpool fans to start been arrogent and behaving like the Man u Fans.
YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE.
hacktic
27-10-2002, 07:37 AM
yeah!
Winevil
27-10-2002, 09:30 AM
Hi guys from what i see from the spurs game, Liverpool is not as good as we think they are and they are not as bad as critics write them to be. The morale of the story is luck is an important factor in this game and the Chelsea. Please dun let this few series of wins get to your head , liverppol is by no means unbeatable. I dun wan some liverpool fans to start been arrogent and behaving like the Man u Fans.
YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE.
it's never bad to feel good when your team is taking points even though they are not playing well....yes we know they are not playing well but in taking points when you are not playing well, tat is championship material, look at man u and arsenal in the previous season.....
and by feeling good, it does not mean arrogrant....we are proud that now liverpool is doing well but did we gloat on the misery of others? In fact if there is any, the way i see, it is more targeted to pple who had been critical with Owen & Co. rather than on the rival clubs....
After a whole decade of living in the shadows of the rival clubs, you cant blame the fans being overconfidence with current situation.....
And no, i still dun think the current Pools fans are up to the match of ManU fans' arrgronce.... I have seen much worse during my 17 years of support for Liverpool...
Anyway, Walk On Liverpool, You will never walk alone...
Winevil
ethanloi
27-10-2002, 11:48 AM
Most important is 3 points in the pocket!
gerrard17
27-10-2002, 03:31 PM
too long to taste the glory...when we won the treble, pple said it's second fiddle....so best way to prove is do well in Champions League, and get that League champion...
Winevil
The treble winning season is the best ive seen since i witnessed them winning the Coca-Cola Cup way back in 95.:)
Winevil
27-10-2002, 03:56 PM
The treble winning season is the best ive seen since i witnessed them winning the Coca-Cola Cup way back in 95.:)
yeah.... the best thing was that immediately after tat season, they came to singapore with their trophies....sweet....
btw, when they arrived at the airport, i was there....managed to "bash" through the security wall, to give a big hug both to owen and fowler....heh heh...
Winevil
hacktic
27-10-2002, 04:10 PM
look at the Xmas schedule
dec, 22 Everton
dec, 26 Blackburn Rovers
dec, 29 Arsenal
jan 1 Newcastle utd
Winevil
27-10-2002, 04:24 PM
dec, 22 Everton
dec, 26 Blackburn Rovers
dec, 29 Arsenal
jan 1 Newcastle utd
tough week.....
so tentatively after new year's day, we will know Liverpool's mettle and whether if the team is of championship material....
alamak
27-10-2002, 08:13 PM
still too early to say we will surely win the title but it sure feels good to be on the top!!!
hahaha
gerrard17
27-10-2002, 08:19 PM
yeah.... the best thing was that immediately after tat season, they came to singapore with their trophies....sweet....
btw, when they arrived at the airport, i was there....managed to "bash" through the security wall, to give a big hug both to owen and fowler....heh heh...
Winevil
Oh man,i can understand ur emotions at that time - shiok rite.:D
And the Pools players were friendly enough to sign autographs for fans form wat i read from the newspaper.
So did u get their autographs?
gerrard17
27-10-2002, 08:22 PM
dec, 22 Everton
dec, 26 Blackburn Rovers
dec, 29 Arsenal
jan 1 Newcastle utd
Wow,Liverpool will travel to St. James Park 3 days after meeting Arsenal,not to mention the tough matches on the built up to these.
ethanloi
27-10-2002, 08:40 PM
It's great to see Liverpool showing consistency. Liverpool last season away matches were not good enough. This season, they have improved on away matches. I really hope that Liverpool can win the EPL this season.
coates
27-10-2002, 10:14 PM
in 1999/2000, they were fourth.
in 2000/2001, they were third.
in 2001/2002. they were second.
hopefully in 2002/2002, they will be first.
Winevil
27-10-2002, 10:15 PM
And the Pools players were friendly enough to sign autographs for fans form wat i read from the newspaper.
i got nearly the whole team's signature on my liverpool shirt...tat includes the regular team, team coaches and of course Le Boss.....heh heh
my brother managed to take a shoulder-to-shoulder photograph with Heskey....heskey is big....he look more like a bouncer than a footballer...but he's very obliging and nice...
Winevil
Winevil
27-10-2002, 10:18 PM
The previous time when Liverpool(Rush, Barnes and Co.) came to Singapore(forgot which year, cos that time still a kid), they were playing a friendly match with Arsenal in Kallang stadium...
Tat time I managed to place a hand on John Barnes shoulder and his botak head....heh heh...Imagine, John Barnes....heh heh
Winevil
Didjerama
28-10-2002, 02:54 PM
i tink liverpool still not playing at full gear....maybe there are some dept still trying to werk together,esp at the midfield and front 2...with the addition of new players..
i have yet to see a confirm first 11 so far in any games....good thing:it shows we have good depth in the squad,and the pool playing style this year have varied a lot...bad thing:sometimes u wonder why they cant even string 5 passes together at times,and some new players look lost though...
my pick is that for european games,they shud stick to the basic first 11 they ahd last season...dudek carragher hechoz hyypia xavier(traore).....hamann,riise,murphy,gerrard.....heskey owen..
in champs league,u cant afford to lose balls easily cos the italians/spaniards LOVE to pass ball ard and keep possession...sometimes they just frustrate the opponents...
gerrard17
28-10-2002, 03:24 PM
Hopefully.=p
gerrard17
28-10-2002, 03:27 PM
The previous time when Liverpool(Rush, Barnes and Co.) came to Singapore(forgot which year, cos that time still a kid), they were playing a friendly match with Arsenal in Kallang stadium...
Tat time I managed to place a hand on John Barnes shoulder and his botak head....heh heh...Imagine, John Barnes....heh heh
Winevil
John Barnes' botak head...:laugh:
Was Rob Jones there as well? He was 1 of my fav. players at that time.:)
hacktic
28-10-2002, 07:58 PM
:D ooo nice stats. hahaha
Winevil
28-10-2002, 08:00 PM
John Barnes' botak head...:laugh:
Was Rob Jones there as well? He was 1 of my fav. players at that time.:)
he should be there but i did not take notice....when you are a kid, the obvious players you always look out for are those attacking players, rite?
Winevil
Every liverpools fan hope that will happen this season !
YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE !
ethanloi
29-10-2002, 12:41 AM
he should be there but i did not take notice....when you are a kid, the obvious players you always look out for are those attacking players, rite?
Winevil
John Barnes also attacking player mah! He is an attacking midfielder.
My fav liverpool player in that era.
hacktic
29-10-2002, 06:01 AM
Liverpool have laughed off newspaper reports that they are preparing a new year swoop for former Manchester United defender Jaap Stam.
The Dutch international is reportedly available for transfer from Italian giants Lazio, but Liverpool are definitely not in the market for his services.
Assistant boss Phil Thompson said today: "This story is absolute nonsense."
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.