View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)
aa4f4fsd47
22-01-2006, 04:11 PM
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/ryan.jpg
Jimmy Ryan - Midfielder (1st Year). The heartbeat of the side, Jimmy is a very talented player who keeps the team ticking over. Always available for a pass, he’s strong in possession and rarely gives the ball away. Possesses a powerful shot, good vision and a strong work ethic. The Xabi Alonso of the u18 side.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/flynn.jpg
Ryan Flynn - Midfielder (1st Year)Summer signing from Falkirk, Ryan is a neat and tidy midfielder with a good engine. He played well in the tune up game last week against Stoke, and looks to be in pole position to partner Jimmy Ryan in the centre, although he faces competition from Charlie Barnett and Paul Barratt.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/hammill.jpg
Adam Hammill - Winger (2nd Year)Mercurial winger who on his day can be brilliant. One of the most skilful players you’ll ever see, Adam possesses every trick known to man. His weaknesses are his decision making and final ball. If he’s on his game, he’s fantastic to watch. If he isn’t, he’s infuriating. Has impressed for both u18 and reserve sides this season and could be the star of the competition if he’s on song.
aa4f4fsd47
22-01-2006, 04:11 PM
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/idrizaj.jpg
Besian Idrizaj - Winger/Forward (Reserves). Austrian teenager who joined the club in August. Struggled for form initially at reserve level, and hasn’t come to terms yet with the pace of English football. ‘Bez’ scored a brilliant headed goal in the ressies 2-0 away win at Manchester United recently, and will be hoping to build on that.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/frayne.jpg
James Frayne - Forward (2nd Year)‘Frayney’ has been in and out of the u18 side this season, as John Owens has had to juggle his side to give all six of his strikers opportunities to play. Quick, with an eye for goal, Frayne was given the nod to start in the warm up game last week, but faces competition from Michael Nardiello for a starting place on Saturday.
and the rest of the squad. . . .
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/behan.jpg
Stephen Behan - Defender (1st Year)Steady full back who plays mostly on the left despite being right footed. Has been a regular for the u18 side this season, as Stephen Darby has played in the middle most weeks. The inclusion of the Melwood based lads looks to have forced Behan onto the sidelines, but he won’t let the side down should he be needed.
aa4f4fsd47
22-01-2006, 04:12 PM
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/holmes.jpg
Jordan Holmes - Defender (2nd Year)England youth international right back, who played in both youth cup games at Anfield last season, even getting on the scoresheet in the rout of Wealdstone. A very dependable full back who goes about his job with the minimum of fuss and just goes out and gets the job done.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/threlfall.jpg
Robbie Threlfall - Defender (1st Year)Robbie would have been a strong contender for a starting place at left back, but suffered a serious knee injury a couple of months ago. He’s back in training now and is likely to be fit for the next round should the lads go through. Played in both games last year, and nervelessly slotted a penalty in the shoot out with Spurs.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/spearing.jpg
Jay Spearing - Defender (1st Year)Small in stature, big in heart. Reads the game very well, and is a very good footballer. Can play anywhere in defence, and last year played centre midfield in the youth cup games. Sidelined at the moment with a broken leg, but hopes to be back training in January.
aa4f4fsd47
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/barnett.jpg
Charlie Barnett - Midfielder (1st Year)Talented youngster who is having a very good season for the u18s. Charlie can score goals as well as create them, and he will probably be vying with Paul Anderson and Paul Barratt for a place on the right of midfield. Has five goals to his name this season, and he is definitely a player to keep an eye on.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/barratt.jpg
Paul Barratt - Midfielder (2nd Year)Possibly the reds’ best player over the two youth cup games last season, Paul was a regular in the reserve set up last year as well. This year hasn’t been good for him, as the increased numbers in the u18 set up means he has been in and out of the side. His versatility makes him a useful player to have around, and he will probably be amongst the substitutes.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/burns.jpg
Michael Burns - Midfielder (1st Year)Left sided former England schoolboy international, Michael’s pace and sweet left foot give the side good balance when he plays. His opportunities have been limited this season though, and he’s unlikely to dislodge Anderson or Hammill from the side.
aa4f4fsd47
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/wignall.jpg
Ryan Wignall - Midfielder/Forward (1st Year)Versatile youngster who has been very much on the fringes of the u18 side this season. Comfortable in the centre of midfield or as a striker, 'Wiggy' has been mainly used as a substitute this season due to the stern competition for places in attacking areas.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/woodward.jpg
Lee Woodward - Midfielder/Forward (1st Year)Talented player who impressed on the right wing for the u16 side last season, and began this year up front for the u18 side. Picked up an injury early on in the season, and hasn’t yet returned to action.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/nardiello.jpg
Michael Nardiello - Forward (1st Year)Aggressive frontman who arrived at the club in the summer after leaving Manchester United. An England u17 international who is highly rated and has played for the reserves this season. A physical player who is good in the air, and has an eye for goal, he may well even make the starting line up.
aa4f4fsd47
22-01-2006, 04:13 PM
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/lindfield.jpg
Craig Lindfield - Forward (1st Year)Tall, rangy frontman who is the u18 side’s top marksman this season. A good finisher who takes up excellent positions and works very hard for the side. Craig will be competing with Frayne and Nardiello for a starting place.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/pringle.jpg
Jonathon Pringle - Forward (1st Year)Caught the eye last season with some excellent performances for the u16 side, but this year has hardly had a look in as he’s been out injured for most of the season. A strong player, who likes to drop off and play in the hole. Formed a good partnership with Craig Lindfield last season.
http://www.liverpoolway.co.uk/classic/newspictures/putterill.jpg
Ray Putterill - Forward (1st Year)Skilful, livewire frontman who has represented England at schoolboy level. Missed most of last season through injury, and has had problems this term as well. When he has played, he’s looked very useful. Can also play wide on the right.
iwish
22-01-2006, 04:17 PM
thank for the youth team profile...
what i find it interesting is...5/11 of the players were signed...and had reseve team experience....
xllms
22-01-2006, 04:53 PM
i'm interested...kino is selling at $50+
xllms
i've already got mine from kinokuniya ngee ann city...$53.90...still have about 5 copies at the shelves...so far been an interesting and engrossing read
xllms
SongLongZi
22-01-2006, 04:58 PM
i got the stan collymore 's bio...nb inside at least 30% talk about sex, doging,swinging..quite happening..
SongLongZi
22-01-2006, 04:59 PM
crunch match tonight !!!!!!!!!! go liverpool !!!
aa4f4fsd47
22-01-2006, 06:00 PM
i got the stan collymore 's bio...nb inside at least 30% talk about sex, doging,swinging..quite happening..
Wahh.. where you buy de??
crunch match tonight !!!!!!!!!! go liverpool !!!
YNWA!!!
GO GERRARD!!! :D
nestasan
22-01-2006, 08:54 PM
YNWA!!!
liverpool really going back to adidas again?
if so i'll finally get my first jersey since the fowler days... the reebok ones, apart from the 00-01 season, have been largely disappointing...
SongLongZi
22-01-2006, 09:01 PM
Wahh.. where you buy de??
i brought it at kino...not worth the $$$..talk alot about sex..threesome..and yep..he ****ed roy evans's daughter the night after 1995 FA cup final defeat..and he mentioned there was some players politics during his time there..like neil ruddock 'chao keng' john barnes aka digger skipped training..barnes were 1 of the superstars in the 1st team..barnes had more say in the tactics than roy evans ever did...
interesting hur....
SongLongZi
22-01-2006, 09:02 PM
if so i'll finally get my first jersey since the fowler days... the reebok ones, apart from the 00-01 season, have been largely disappointing...
i think adidas company had take over reebok liao....
SongLongZi
22-01-2006, 09:03 PM
YNWA!!!
yeah !!!! go liverpool !!!!!
YNWA !
RadEoNic
22-01-2006, 09:11 PM
i looking for the one with 'crown paints' infront
:(
bwaysaibi
22-01-2006, 09:12 PM
same as u
my last jersey stil has fowler and number9 on it
the print is wearing off due to wearing it too often
but that one was reebok, the white round collar one
lol... if indeed is going to be adidas next season as the picture posted by a fellow bro here
im gonna buy the lot! jersey, home away, tshirt, jacket... :D
Neo_Genesis
22-01-2006, 10:37 PM
same as u
my last jersey stil has fowler and number9 on it
the print is wearing off due to wearing it too often
but that one was reebok, the white round collar one
lol... if indeed is going to be adidas next season as the picture posted by a fellow bro here
im gonna buy the lot! jersey, home away, tshirt, jacket... :D
Wah u very rich hor, can buy so many :) ... i might only buy the home jersey :(
ItWasntMe
22-01-2006, 10:39 PM
the hairstyle of the young lads looks almost the same
malvindo
22-01-2006, 11:39 PM
bro
any 1 can send me link to download YNWA song?
i got but forget to back up when i format my HDD :(
CanIsayNo
22-01-2006, 11:43 PM
the hairstyle of the young lads looks almost the same
maybe because all still schooling? so no choice, cannot have fancy hairstyle
barbell
23-01-2006, 12:53 AM
damn.....everytime I see Garcia or Cisse starts the game, I feel worry.
Garcia is out injured, so that's good. Can someone substitute Cisse too? He has proven me again that he is crap.
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 12:54 AM
cisse cmi sia.....poor poor game so far....
barbell
23-01-2006, 01:26 AM
cisse cmi sia.....poor poor game so far....
Told you guys Cisse is crap. He can't score even when right in front of the net and Van Der Sar is on the ground!
Been watching socer for 25 years...I can't be wrong even when I say Garcia is also crap. And you guys keep defending Garcia. Unbelievable!
Raul7
23-01-2006, 01:42 AM
really dun know what to say about that Cisse........
barbell
23-01-2006, 01:54 AM
really dun know what to say about that Cisse........
Great..Man U score on the last minute. F**k that Cisse.
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 01:58 AM
cisse has been crap ever since he came to liverpool.. if im being honest.. but manure has proven once again that they are definitely one of the luckiest teams..
Ronaldo_7
23-01-2006, 02:00 AM
good game Liverpool.. missing the luck factor..
peace :)
AhHuat
23-01-2006, 02:00 AM
cisse has been crap ever since he came to liverpool.. if im being honest.. but manure has proven once again that they are definitely one of the luckiest teams..
no team can beat chelsea in terms of luckiness
count the number of handballs , deflections they got away
AhHuat
23-01-2006, 02:01 AM
and mind your farking language :
it is manchester united
i can spell liverpool correctly
you dumb fark
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:02 AM
cisse had a very poor poor game...i tot draw were be the result..we had a great spell at the start of 2nd half but nv really threaten van der sar..(beside cisse's effort) and when crouch was subbed our attack lagi jia la...
and ya cisse...head the ball also head half fccked..shoot also shoot half-fccked...eveything half-fccked..even his head also half-****ed...
sigh..feeling lousy tmr...still gotta work.
Grimz79
23-01-2006, 02:05 AM
Played crap, passes went nowhere, terrible...Attacking play was almost non-existent. BAD game!
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:08 AM
sigh...draw were be the fair result for both team..
aa4f4fsd47
23-01-2006, 02:09 AM
i brought it at kino...not worth the $$$..talk alot about sex..threesome..and yep..he ****ed roy evans's daughter the night after 1995 FA cup final defeat..and he mentioned there was some players politics during his time there..like neil ruddock 'chao keng' john barnes aka digger skipped training..barnes were 1 of the superstars in the 1st team..barnes had more say in the tactics than roy evans ever did...
interesting hur....
Is it ? Went to Kino couldnt find the book.
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:12 AM
Is it ? Went to Kino couldnt find the book.
maybe i got the last book? the bio are like for stan collymore to whine, complain and boast his sex romps..not much soccer or liverpool inside.
hiei02
it is manchester united
you dumb fark
i second that.
one of the luckiest teams? dude we just came out of a bad patch.
barbell
Played crap, passes went nowhere, terrible...Attacking play was almost non-existent. BAD game!
I didn't think Pool played badly. It look to me that Pool was the better team until the last 10 minutes especially after Crouch was substituted. Honestly, Rafa shouldn't have taken Crouch out. I know he got a deadleg, but his mere presence stiffles Man U defence.
Take Cisse out and put Nando in would be logical.
But Cisse is really crap. Since the day I saw him in Pool shirt..I knew he was crap.
aa4f4fsd47
23-01-2006, 02:15 AM
Cisse just isnt anywhere near good enough. Talks a good game. But his touch and finishing are very poor. His choices of when to run, shoot, pass, hold the ball, are all poor. We do need someone a lot better up there.
Rafa looks damn fecking dulan and disappointed ! Damn pissed off and Speechless now on tv !
Bye bye to cisse, hopefully he will be gone in 9 days time !
We need a striker ala rooney who can take the ball, run at the defenders and score one on one !
gerrard17
23-01-2006, 02:16 AM
thought liverpool played well. defended well as a unit, close down spaces well and counter attack real quick also.
if not for the let down of cisse we might jus nick a win.
*shakes head*
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:17 AM
cisse...i think he is better off playing in the right wing.
gerrard17
23-01-2006, 02:18 AM
cisse...i think he is better off playing in the right wing.
to be honest i dun think he's even fit to be in the first eleven.
his crossing, dribbling, passing and movement all CMI.
aa4f4fsd47
23-01-2006, 02:18 AM
We lack the firepower and cutting edge ! We need a quality finisher ! Neil Mellor would have done the job for us today before we get a new striker ! Lets just hope Rafa is dulan and will finalise his signing as soon as possible ! Expect a right wing and a striker ! yeahhhhhhh
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:19 AM
Cisse just isnt anywhere near good enough. Talks a good game. But his touch and finishing are very poor. His choices of when to run, shoot, pass, hold the ball, are all poor. We do need someone a lot better up there.
Rafa looks damn fecking dulan and disappointed ! Damn pissed off and Speechless now on tv !
Bye bye to cisse, hopefully he will be gone in 9 days time !
We need a striker ala rooney who can take the ball, run at the defenders and score one on one !
we still need a right attacking midfielder....but our striker only crouch has been scoring(EPL) i think we need a goal scoring striker badly than right mid now...
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:20 AM
to be honest i dun think he's even fit to be in the first eleven.
his crossing, dribbling, passing and movement all CMI.
i gan pua du lan with him sia..head also head half-fuucked....
Major_Bungholio
23-01-2006, 02:21 AM
He should pay more attention to the ball then worry about his hairdo all the time...
I wonder how he do header with that string of dog sh1t running through the middle of his head. :s8:
I wonder is Owen coming back...
Sven said that Owen is not happy playing at Newcastle...
Maybe, RB should poach Arsenal's Thierry instead.. :)
barbell
23-01-2006, 02:24 AM
thought liverpool played well. defended well as a unit, close down spaces well and counter attack real quick also.
if not for the let down of cisse we might jus nick a win.
*shakes head*
It is unforgivable for a striker to balloon that kind of chance. If he is defender, I can still understand.....but come on..you are a EPL striker for god sake!
The problem with Cisse is he doesn't have a good football brain. He got the pace, the physique, but no brains. Garcia on the other hand has brains....but no physique and no good control. Both are crap.
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 02:25 AM
He should pay more attention to the ball then worry about his hairdo all the time...
I wonder how he do header with that string of dog sh1t running through the middle of his head. :s8:
sigh...can exchange anot? haha
CanIsayNo
it is manchester united
you dumb fark
lol don't come into this thread la if wanna scold.. :D
now go celebrate.. this is the only thing this season that manure will be able to shout about
SongLongZi
It is unforgivable for a striker to balloon that kind of chance. If he is defender, I can still understand.....but come on..you are a EPL striker for god sake!
The problem with Cisse is he doesn't have a good football brain. He got the pace, the physique, but no brains. Garcia on the other hand has brains....but no physique and no good control. Both are crap.
maybe rafael should pair them together...
Freemanz
23-01-2006, 02:33 AM
Seriously Cisse need to improve more in order to be still playing for the team ... didn't really see the team spirit in him to really fight for the team. Maybe Pongo should deserved a chance more than he do ... anyway lets move on and hope the team can win the next match against Portsmouth.
barbell
23-01-2006, 02:35 AM
Cisse played well? Come on...did you really watch that game?
He is a striker for goodness sake. Who cares if he set up goals......his job is to score them! Look at the amount of opportunities he had and he couldn't even put one away. The most obvious one is the one where he had a one-on-one with the keeper. Any good strikers would have put that away but for him, his touch was so poor, he gave it to the keeper instead.
Then another one where he kicked it onto the side netting. Any world class striker would have kick it towards the far post because the keeper will definitely block the near post. Owen did this many times, and he always aim for the far post, never the near post. Our good fren Cisse aim for the near post and ended up at the side net.
I always believe that Cisse is just an all hype but no show. Luis Garcia is another guy. Fortunately he didn't play today, or else surely there is no chance for a comeback because he will give away the ball more than he pass the ball. I know both of them had scored before, but other good players would have done the same (given the same timing and opportunity) and probably more.
I dig back my old post that was posted on the 8th of Jan. Then I already said Cisse and Garcia are crap...
But you guys started defending Cisse...
Good la....now you know how much "quality" Cisse has.
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 02:37 AM
not everyone said he was good...
Freemanz
23-01-2006, 02:46 AM
i think most of the ppl prefer to give chance to him and hope for improvement from him. Since he is already here in the team, we should support him as well for the overall of the team.
usjag_18
23-01-2006, 02:48 AM
Told you guys Cisse is crap. He can't score even when right in front of the net and Van Der Sar is on the ground!
Been watching socer for 25 years...I can't be wrong even when I say Garcia is also crap. And you guys keep defending Garcia. Unbelievable!
Hmmm, sorry for interruption... I agreed dat Cisse is a piece of crap, just like Fletcher in Man Utd.... But for Garcia, I think he's the other absolute missing factors in Liverpool tdy... He will b the man dat I fear... He really got dat X-factor in him lor... Why U guys dun like him??? Hw abt doing an exchange with us??? Let U borrow our dear "Fletcher" for awhile, den U noe wad's crappy...
Anyway, I am not here to taunt anyone, so dun haf to flame me...
And oso most importantly, I think watching 25-yrs of soccer doesn't meant that U noe everything....
Different players got different potential..... At least, Garcia got the X-factor to create chances and goals, whereas, Fletcher is not even half of what L.Garcia got....
C'mon guys, cheer up.... Everyone will win and lose... At least, U are still in the top 3... Wad we shld concentrate is to SHOOT Chelsea down!!!! Dun let them fly too high on top of us....
No point beating Man Utd, Arsenal and Liverpool and lose the match to Chelsea, right.... :)
Good game, everyone....
barbell
23-01-2006, 02:50 AM
i think most of the ppl prefer to give chance to him and hope for improvement from him. Since he is already here in the team, we should support him as well for the overall of the team.
I don't like to give myself blind hope. Liverpool is not a training ground. If he needs a training ground, maybe he should start with the conference teams.
Furthermore, he has been with us for quite awhile already. You can tell if a player has the class to be in LFC. If he doesn't, pray and hppe for him also no use. His presence means he is taking away an opportunity for a better player to be in his place.
So no..I am not going to pray and hope and support these crappy players.
barbell
23-01-2006, 02:54 AM
Different players got different potential..... At least, Garcia got the X-factor to create chances and goals, whereas, Fletcher is not even half of what L.Garcia got....
Garcia will give away the ball or lose the ball more than he create chances.
In the first place, you should not compare Fletcher and garcia. They have different roles. And I think Fletcher did pretty well in the 2nd half as a defensive midfielder. He kept Alonso and Gerrard quite quiet.
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 02:56 AM
cisse at times can deliver some nice flicks and crosses.. to be honest i never thought his finishing was ever good
victorian07
23-01-2006, 03:05 AM
sad sad... liverpool played well. controlled the 1st half..limited man u to zilch shots.
but 2nd half Gerrard seemed to take a backseat...running out of steam? abit out of sorts..
i guess everyone was disappointed with Cisse.. Rafa knew it and although he didn't directly said it straight in the post match interview, you know he feels the same too.
barbell
23-01-2006, 03:06 AM
cisse at times can deliver some nice flicks and crosses.. to be honest i never thought his finishing was ever good
Actually. do you guys know why he miss? Because he got a knock earlier before Rio cleared the ball from the line. Then that Cisse immediately went and nurse his knock! He didn't even bother to see where the ball goes. So when Van der sar rebounded the ball to him, he was taken by surprise (because he was busy checking out his legs) and that's why he balloon the ball!
Can you imagine such an attitude?
It is exactly because of such attitude that made me notice him and after following him for awhile, I have to just conclude that he is crap.
usjag_18
23-01-2006, 03:15 AM
Actually. do you guys know why he miss? Because he got a knock earlier before Rio cleared the ball from the line. Then that Cisse immediately went and nurse his knock! He didn't even bother to see where the ball goes. So when Van der sar rebounded the ball to him, he was taken by surprise (because he was busy checking out his legs) and that's why he balloon the ball!
Can you imagine such an attitude?
It is exactly because of such attitude that made me notice him and after following him for awhile, I have to just conclude that he is crap.
huh?? really?? r u sure he went back to nurse his injuries? i didn't see it...
In the first place, you should not compare Fletcher and garcia. They have different roles. And I think Fletcher did pretty well in the 2nd half as a defensive midfielder. He kept Alonso and Gerrard quite quiet.
mebbe Garcia did lose many possession, but one thing for him which is a strong point is he can at least SCORING goals... And the way he creating chances, it makes me feel why cant Fletchy play like him and make me eat my own words....
Seriously, if U watch him play 5 games, out of the 5 games, I can almost tell U every game, he must lost at least 1-2 times of possession to opponents.. Dat's really bad if U cannot score, at least try to create mah.... At least frm the way Garcia playing, he really can create.... Just need a bit of concentration on ball passings....
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 03:45 AM
garcia is like a wildcard
Kenshin79
23-01-2006, 04:01 AM
already mentioned b4 cisse can never be a world class striker like Henry or even Anelka.
his pace not faster than Henry, his control crap, he can't dribble, his finishing is non-existent.
garcia is like wildcard - can be very good, can be very bad.
do agree with usjag that fletcher is worse than garcia lol...
victorian07
23-01-2006, 04:06 AM
cisse is not that bad. but not excellent either. he's a half empty or half-filled bottle if u want. that analogy is the best i can give.
seriously, i'm v disappointed in that miss.. and how he miskicked at the gerrard chance in 1st half. he nv made gd use of his pace.
but let's not forget he did score important goals. UEFA Super Cup against CSKA Moscow was a prime example. trailing.. in my mind i rmb begging Rafa to bring Cisse on.. Yes, Cisse does make an impact. but sadly, i think he's not a big-match player.
gohkg
23-01-2006, 06:30 AM
I think the one laughing and celebrating the most will be Chelsea....if Liverpool win, Liverpool will be much closer to them than ManU...but now...sigh
Hope Gerrard and Co. do not get too demoralised, need to pick themselves up...hope to see another 12 EPL games unbeaten run!
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 07:56 AM
hey barbell, if u wan to slag players off the way u do, i suggest u either
1. change ur name to shebby singh
2. stop being a pool fan
3. get a job with SFA to coach the singapore team
n watching soccer for 25 years dun 'automatically' give u the right to criticise players who u can't even touch the boots of
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 07:59 AM
i noe we're all very sore abt that match, n i was watching with a man u fan who is my friend
both of us can't believe that cisse stabbed the ball over from THAT range when it looks easier to shoot it in
but i must bring ur attention to something. cisse took a big knock n was on the head face down when he suddenly jumped n just reacted to the ball. if u can't even get ur balance right when getting up, it's seriously asking quite alot to take a decent shot when u look like u're half falling n trying to stay up
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 08:13 AM
oh yah, forgot to say
cisse was flagged offside anyway
so even if he score also no use
:s22:
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 08:16 AM
oh yah, forgot to say
he was onside actually..but dunno why the ref gave him offside..
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 08:19 AM
sianz..no mood to work..lol.
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 08:21 AM
he was onside actually..but dunno why the ref gave him offside..
yah...duno lah
so the 'miss' is inconsequential anyway
rbagg10
23-01-2006, 08:58 AM
All this critisms of Cisse are knee jerk reactions....he's just being THE scapegoat for the ****ty feeling loss yesterday....after a while,it will die down.
Did we slang Dudek off after he committed howlers and let FORLAn score?didnt DUDEK won the Champs league wif us last season!
Barbell has his personal comments...i suggest everyone's pissed now and quite frustrated..so forums are ways to let go sum steam....
so i suggest we dont slang or crtitisise each other for anyone who rattle his views on dis satisfaction to liverpool players.iews....
just browse,if u dont fancy his views just pass it off....
chins up,we haf a season ahead.....pool has brought me more joy than sadness for the past year...so this one game wont bring anything other than a ****ty feeling of .................5 minutes
anyway....dont think u guys will agree
but I think ,IMO...luis garcia is badly missed yesterday w/o us realising....reckon he will make a diff if he had come on as a substitute....
like he has done before..his running from deep could have caused some stirs between rio and wes....they were a bit too comfortable with our strikers yesterday....esp rio on cisse........rio was always a step ahead of him.....and rio is NOT a fast def like gallas,he just reads it well
daylight
23-01-2006, 09:10 AM
we can always blamed the ref.
garcia would have made a difference if he was able to play.
moro n cisse are totally off form
Freemanz
23-01-2006, 09:12 AM
Do remember that he do score a lot of important goals for us last season and this season. Soccer is a team game, everyone in the team needs to contribute to the success of the team. We cannot afford have 11 world-class player on field but we need to have 11 hardworking players fighting and trying their best to win the match.
nestasan
23-01-2006, 09:18 AM
sad sad... liverpool played well. controlled the 1st half..limited man u to zilch shots.
but 2nd half Gerrard seemed to take a backseat...running out of steam? abit out of sorts..
i guess everyone was disappointed with Cisse.. Rafa knew it and although he didn't directly said it straight in the post match interview, you know he feels the same too.
seriously, i dont think liverpool played well at all. that can be granted since they're at old trafford, how many teams play well at old trafford anyway, but it just underlies one thing about our current liverpool side: we are a good team, but not a great one.
everyone here is condemning cisse's miss (i think this should probably seal his fate in benitez's mind come the next transfer window in june), but apart from that, how many real chances did we really have? the total shots registered on the stats board showed liverpool rang in more of those, but how many of them were just speculative ones i wonder. man utd had one real chance as well and kudos to them for taking it. in the first half where we supposedly "controlled the game", we were still vulnerable to man utd's quick counters and never looked comfortable in those instances at all. in the second half i think it was fair to say man utd probably had the better play.
the loss aside, one thing that i'd like to see is how the team bounces back from this. i was really glad we came back from behind against the likes of bolton and birmingham this season, but that was still in regulation time. if rafa's men show they can move on from this defeat and continue their progress onwards, that will be the most satisfying element of this season. remember, we didnt bounce back at all after getting knocked 4-1 by chelsea, let's see what we can do now in the face of similar adversity.
go reds...
spinelli
23-01-2006, 09:58 AM
actually before rio's goal i was already thinking we are missing garcia for his creativity.....its so obvious we have no idea in attack at all.our attacking part is the worst,maybe its the pitch,i dunno.But im absolutely gutted to have lost the game and my monday just got worse
padre
23-01-2006, 10:08 AM
One thing that we can take comfort from this match, is that Chelsea drop 2 pts. Even though we did not win, Chelsea lead was cut.
elbib00
23-01-2006, 10:41 AM
seriously, i dont think liverpool played well at all. that can be granted since they're at old trafford, how many teams play well at old trafford anyway, but it just underlies one thing about our current liverpool side: we are a good team, but not a great one.
everyone here is condemning cisse's miss (i think this should probably seal his fate in benitez's mind come the next transfer window in june), but apart from that, how many real chances did we really have? the total shots registered on the stats board showed liverpool rang in more of those, but how many of them were just speculative ones i wonder. man utd had one real chance as well and kudos to them for taking it. in the first half where we supposedly "controlled the game", we were still vulnerable to man utd's quick counters and never looked comfortable in those instances at all. in the second half i think it was fair to say man utd probably had the better play.
the loss aside, one thing that i'd like to see is how the team bounces back from this. i was really glad we came back from behind against the likes of bolton and birmingham this season, but that was still in regulation time. if rafa's men show they can move on from this defeat and continue their progress onwards, that will be the most satisfying element of this season. remember, we didnt bounce back at all after getting knocked 4-1 by chelsea, let's see what we can do now in the face of similar adversity.
go reds...
the fact that manUSA were relegated to playing counter attack at home for most of the game underline our dominance for much of the game. we did play better than them, bar the last 10-15 mins.
turning pt of of the game is when crouch is forced off the pitch. he is the only forward that is able to hold up the ball effectively n play good link up with the midfield. i dun usually slate our players but cisse is shocking today. not only his miss but also he first touch n passing. absolutely horrible.
stinking feeling that our good run has to be ended by manUSA, hope we can bounce back n go on another record breaking run.
Didjerama
23-01-2006, 11:17 AM
the thing im cheese about was rafa towards the middle of second half was lcearly playing for a draw.he pushed sissoko to the right and definitely have told kewell to hang back more often.so far in the last five meetings ,rafa i feel gave too much respect to fergie in all five meetings.the game was ours to take.we had better stats all across the pitch but simply cos rafa chose to play the game in a more conservative manner.even he took kromkamp on to play a more defensive side.
as for cisse,we all know his fate is more or less sealed. poor finishing.and CLEARLY unable to string passes with his team mates. and for sure,we definitely missed the flair and unpredictability of garcia on the pitch.he would have made a huge difference causing havoc to the average evra.
im just dissapointed by the fact that pool approach to this game was very conservative.not the sort of team play u expect from a club that wants to win trophies
victorian07
23-01-2006, 11:42 AM
the thing im cheese about was rafa towards the middle of second half was lcearly playing for a draw.he pushed sissoko to the right and definitely have told kewell to hang back more often.so far in the last five meetings ,rafa i feel gave too much respect to fergie in all five meetings.the game was ours to take.we had better stats all across the pitch but simply cos rafa chose to play the game in a more conservative manner.even he took kromkamp on to play a more defensive side.
as for cisse,we all know his fate is more or less sealed. poor finishing.and CLEARLY unable to string passes with his team mates. and for sure,we definitely missed the flair and unpredictability of garcia on the pitch.he would have made a huge difference causing havoc to the average evra.
im just dissapointed by the fact that pool approach to this game was very conservative.not the sort of team play u expect from a club that wants to win trophies
i sense it too. but i believe Rafa was also wary of the fast breaks and counter attacking threat posed by the pacey Giggs and bulldozing Rooney. in the 2nd half Liverpool look contented to just sit back, pump the long ball up, wait and see.
reminiscent of the Owen-GH days eh? lol..
Cisse really has abit attitude problem. i remember last week against Spurs, got one incident, the referee had already blown the whistle for offside.. but he went on to kick the ball into the crowd (dunno is intentional anot..but seems to be done in a fit of frustration) and then apologized to the Anfield faithful right after.. not exactly something you would do to endear urself to the fans eh?
but i say, dun let him go yet. let him remain on the roster. we still need him.
spinelli
23-01-2006, 12:13 PM
i remember there was a ball where he din bother to chase after it at all and gerrard and alonso chided him for it :s8:
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 12:26 PM
so many times liverpool could've closed van der sar down after some of their defenders would send a backpass.. but hardly anyone bothered to close him down, especially cisse.. i remember at one point where crouch closed van der sar and won a throw in:)
nestasan
23-01-2006, 12:30 PM
the fact that manUSA were relegated to playing counter attack at home for most of the game underline our dominance for much of the game. we did play better than them, bar the last 10-15 mins.
turning pt of of the game is when crouch is forced off the pitch. he is the only forward that is able to hold up the ball effectively n play good link up with the midfield. i dun usually slate our players but cisse is shocking today. not only his miss but also he first touch n passing. absolutely horrible.
stinking feeling that our good run has to be ended by manUSA, hope we can bounce back n go on another record breaking run.
maybe you're right, but dont you feel that somehow, man utd's counters just seem have that greater cutting edge than our dominance on midfield and hopeful prodding passes? i dont know...
but you're right about bouncing back, rafa's guys need to learn to bounce back from defeats and embark on another run, much like what chelsea is doing now after their loss to the same team...
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 12:31 PM
it's like chelsea never lost.. lol anyway im confident liverpool can pip man utd to 2nd spot at least
nestasan
23-01-2006, 12:34 PM
and for sure,we definitely missed the flair and unpredictability of garcia on the pitch.
yup we definitely need some creative play, would be good if it was from garcia, but there were at least 2 occasions when gerrard threaded lovely through passes to cisse, he totally misread one, and toed in an almost non-existent shot for the other.
i think the instances of brilliance was there on the pitch last night, however few there might be, but the required finishing or touch from the front man was just not there.
is it right to say we're expecting another striker at anfield soon?
spinelli
23-01-2006, 12:45 PM
it's like chelsea never lost.. lol anyway im confident liverpool can pip man utd to 2nd spot at least
they din lose anyway =:p
barbell
23-01-2006, 01:09 PM
hey barbell, if u wan to slag players off the way u do, i suggest u either
1. change ur name to shebby singh
2. stop being a pool fan
3. get a job with SFA to coach the singapore team
n watching soccer for 25 years dun 'automatically' give u the right to criticise players who u can't even touch the boots of
Dude, if you don't like what I say about the players, you can don't read it.
You have no right to tell me what to do.
barbell
23-01-2006, 01:13 PM
oh yah, forgot to say
He was flag offside because the lineman thought Kewell actually pass the ball to Cisse. (Linesman tot Cisse was offside, but he actually did not)
But the ball was clearly rebounded off Van Der Sar due to a poor catch. In clear cut cases like this, the ref will usually overule the linesman and award it as a goal (if it goes in)
You cannot be offisde if an opponent pass you the ball.
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 01:25 PM
easy easy...peace ok..
Chin up and move on my fellow reds.. :)
Let's looks forward to the next match against Portsmouth, and of cuz, followed by Arsenal and Chelsea match. I'm sure the lads will definitely bounce back.
YNWA.. :D
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 01:31 PM
Chin up and move on my fellow reds.. :)
Let's looks forward to the next match against Portsmouth, and of cuz, followed by Arsenal and Chelsea match. I'm sure the lads will definitely bounce back.
YNWA.. :D
yeah yeah !!
YNWA ! :s7:
SongLongZi
23-01-2006, 01:41 PM
anyway did you all notice? man utd always score in set pieces against liverpool? from clamly james to now..i think 75% all from header..tactics ar?
bwaysaibi
23-01-2006, 02:09 PM
Hmmm, sorry for interruption... I agreed dat Cisse is a piece of crap, just like Fletcher in Man Utd.... But for Garcia, I think he's the other absolute missing factors in Liverpool tdy... He will b the man dat I fear... He really got dat X-factor in him lor... Why U guys dun like him??? Hw abt doing an exchange with us??? Let U borrow our dear "Fletcher" for awhile, den U noe wad's crappy...
And oso most importantly, I think watching 25-yrs of soccer doesn't meant that U noe everything....
C'mon guys, cheer up.... Everyone will win and lose... At least, U are still in the top 3... Wad we shld concentrate is to SHOOT Chelsea down!!!! Dun let them fly too high on top of us....
No point beating Man Utd, Arsenal and Liverpool and lose the match to Chelsea, right.... :)
Good game, everyone....
good game
if every manc fan is reasonable as u
fair enuff what u said
:)
but im still absolutely gutted...
this is a very hard and bitter pill to swallow
its affecting my working mood today damn badly
bwaysaibi
23-01-2006, 02:14 PM
i didnt get to watch the match,,,, no SCV at my gf place
followed thematch on soccernet gamecast...
went to cook something to eat at 80min come bakc fulltime 1-0
absolutely gutted....
feel so pissed off before i sleep
absolutely hate that feeling
but statistics dun lie
how we play i dun know cos i never see it "live"
but im sure we dominated in terms of possession and chances created
and when i read cisse ballooned 4yards out , i got this sick feeling its not gonna be our day
and i was jusy praying we dun lose
make me feel very very bad
im absolutely sickened.... there no team i hate us losing more to than manu
but nvm good game anyway
although we lost, the signs are promising,
we r pinning manu down at OT... tats a good sign.
although the battle is lost
the war is not!
We will win the war im sure....
YNWA
:)
CanIsayNo
23-01-2006, 02:43 PM
they din lose anyway =:p
er i meant after losing to man u.. chelsea played on like they never lost.. unlike arsenal.. losing their rythm
and btw, bwaysaibi, are all of the bwaysais kind of related?
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 02:54 PM
i have no right to tell u wat to do, but it's obvious that ur comments abt garcia r not well received
so rather than u post n everyone tells u the opposite n u still keep ur thinking, y not u do not post it n say something else instead?
Jardel
23-01-2006, 02:56 PM
how many chance does cisse need?
and how many chance is rafa going to give more
maybe rafa is already scouting for new PACEY striker to replace him
juz that since now nth is attracting him
cisse stays. ZZZZZZZZ. which i feel is another LFC STRIKER BUYING FLOP.
rbagg10
23-01-2006, 03:50 PM
please u all liverpool fans....
Robbie Keane MISSED a sitter before kewell snatch a win for us via a superb volley
CISSE MISSED a sitter and rio stole it..........so how ??got same or not.....spurs fans got give bad jibes to robbie keane or not?
garcia has a love hate relationship with pool fans....
only he can score the volley vs juve,the rebound vs chelsea and the header against anderlecht...
garcia is missed,pool needs a rw and we still are in fight for 2nd place
let the scums gloat.....beating the euro champs made them euro champs??hehhehe oooppppsss forgotten,they out of europe liao...
we playing pompey...hope rafa plays our 2nd string players and get a win....signs of the main players tiring a bit starting to creeeeeeeeeeeep in slowly
victorian07
23-01-2006, 04:18 PM
all right. i think enough's enough.
shouldn't keep dwelling on this match alone.
a defeat is a defeat. there goes our unbeaten streak.. the longest in the league for this campaign so far.
Portsmouth next in FA Cup. it's on the CNY holiday man.. 2am. good.
these are wad holidays are all about man. thaw, play, gamble, watch football, booze. woo.~
Mohawks
23-01-2006, 04:29 PM
He was flag offside because the lineman thought Kewell actually pass the ball to Cisse. (Linesman tot Cisse was offside, but he actually did not)
But the ball was clearly rebounded off Van Der Sar due to a poor catch. In clear cut cases like this, the ref will usually overule the linesman and award it as a goal (if it goes in)
You cannot be offisde if an opponent pass you the ball.
I thought that if Kewell takes a shot while Cisse is offside, and the ball 'bounces' off VDS and end up with Cisse to take a shot, Cisse would be considered offside
same as freekicks... if the freekick goes in direct, then goal, if GK spills it and attacking players who were played offside when the freekick was taken would be consider offside even if they score from the rebound
anyway, once linesman offside flag is up, referees usually won't contest it, which means that even if Cisse scores, it wouldn't have counted (though the final outcome may be different)
Jardel
23-01-2006, 04:51 PM
cisse poor performance is not based on ytd ONLY!!!!!!!!!!!
suddenly i feel that LFC need a real finisher of the ball.
we have crouch/morientes to hold up or knock down ball already
we juz aint scoring freely
gerrard is great as a RW
spinelli
23-01-2006, 04:55 PM
actually what pisses me the most is not the goal itself,or rather the foul that lead to it.just moments before saha dragged the ball past finan i knew it would happened and guess what,our new signing Jan was supposed to be there to double mark but i find his positioning is poor,same for the anticipation...thats why finan is so pissed off.welcom to englisg football Jan...
bwaysaibi
23-01-2006, 04:57 PM
er i meant after losing to man u.. chelsea played on like they never lost.. unlike arsenal.. losing their rythm
and btw, bwaysaibi, are all of the bwaysais kind of related?
me and the others are all diff people
i have bonk and gan's msn
but never see them befores :)
i've already got mine from kinokuniya ngee ann city...$53.90...still have about 5 copies at the shelves...so far been an interesting and engrossing read
xllms
May i know which book did u get ?
victorian07
23-01-2006, 05:33 PM
I thought that if Kewell takes a shot while Cisse is offside, and the ball 'bounces' off VDS and end up with Cisse to take a shot, Cisse would be considered offside
same as freekicks... if the freekick goes in direct, then goal, if GK spills it and attacking players who were played offside when the freekick was taken would be consider offside even if they score from the rebound
anyway, once linesman offside flag is up, referees usually won't contest it, which means that even if Cisse scores, it wouldn't have counted (though the final outcome may be different)
But the thing is, even when Kewell made the shot, Rio Ferdinand played Cisse onside too.
rio was nearer to the goal then cisse was.
koxinga
23-01-2006, 05:36 PM
YNWA, YNWA. Keep the faith. One defeat in 12 matches is not bad liao, and I would prefer not to slag off players on the basis of one match.
usjag_18
23-01-2006, 05:42 PM
:s8: already mentioned b4 cisse can never be a world class striker like Henry or even Anelka.
his pace not faster than Henry, his control crap, he can't dribble, his finishing is non-existent.
garcia is like wildcard - can be very good, can be very bad.
do agree with usjag that fletcher is worse than garcia lol...
So interested in doing an exchange to give us your X-factor player??? lolzzz... =:p
Just be glad dat U got a player like L.Garcia.
As for Cisse, I understand why Liverpool supporters wanna to grill him... If he's Man Utd's player, I will oso feel like grilling him like those Turkey grilling beef.... :mad:
Even as a Man Utd supporter, I oso buey song abt his attitude towards the game... When everyone playing like no tomorrow, he's playing like sh*t.... He & Fletcher can go and report to Sr Alex Ferguson's FLYING shoes together man....
I really haf no idea why SAF & RAFA didn't go and throw their shoes @ these two... Shld throw numerous of shoes @ them until their heads turn as BIG as doremon sia....
Mohawks
23-01-2006, 05:52 PM
But the thing is, even when Kewell made the shot, Rio Ferdinand played Cisse onside too.
rio was nearer to the goal then cisse was.
i know that... i think everyone watching replay knew that...
but if the linesman's flag is up... it's offside!!
that's soccer!!
Mohawks
23-01-2006, 05:56 PM
actually what pisses me the most is not the goal itself,or rather the foul that lead to it.just moments before saha dragged the ball past finan i knew it would happened and guess what,our new signing Jan was supposed to be there to double mark but i find his positioning is poor,same for the anticipation...thats why finan is so pissed off.welcom to englisg football Jan...
yeah.. i also noticed the few time that KompKram came in for the last few minutes, he looks kindof lost... poor positioning... and not really 'actively' involved in the game
the Finann foul was indirectly due to him not agressive enough chasing the ball
Losing is part and parcel of football, I think anyone that watch football can tell us that. Draw still ok but the part I hate most is losing to Man U (You can call me bias or whatever). Anyway at least now we are playing more consistently than last season in EPL than last season, the squad will also take this defeat as a learning experience lah.
spinelli
23-01-2006, 06:00 PM
yeah.. i also noticed the few time that KompKram came in for the last few minutes, he looks kindof lost... poor positioning... and not really 'actively' involved in the game
the Finann foul was indirectly due to him not agressive enough chasing the ball
i really hope he doesnt get the nick "kong cum" soon wor... :look:
Neo_Genesis
23-01-2006, 06:52 PM
i really hope he doesnt get the nick "kong cum" soon wor... :look:
hopefully NOT ... anyway he is still too NEW to EPL so we'll jus have to wait and see :)
Neo_Genesis
23-01-2006, 07:05 PM
I know I am repeating myself but lets FACE IT, OUR STRIKERS SUCKS we are seriously in need of goal poachers not runners or team players for a striker's role. A right sided midfield player is needed too, as soon as Gerrad move to central midfield nobody else is capable to take over ... Sissoko stills needs more time and he is definitely not good at the right side. I agree defeat is part and parcel of soccer but problems should be solved and not ignored till it comes back to haunt you again like what happen yesterday nite. If you dun score you can't win.
Hope the lads can brace themselves as more difficult matches awaits ... YWNA :)
Major_Bungholio
23-01-2006, 07:18 PM
Who are the striker candidates RB can poach, or you like to have join our squad.
For me, I would like:
Owen
Thierry
Ronadinho (this one really gung-ho good, lol)
David Beckham (as RW and crosser)
I feel RB made a BIG mistake not paying that GBP 15m for Owen. It cost our team much more by not having a decent striker.
Save Money, then No Goals for you, RB. :s8:
PS: anyone agrees with me RB is a little stubborn and inflexible?
spinelli
23-01-2006, 08:16 PM
I know I am repeating myself but lets FACE IT, OUR STRIKERS SUCKS we are seriously in need of goal poachers not runners or team players for a striker's role. A right sided midfield player is needed too, as soon as Gerrad move to central midfield nobody else is capable to take over ... Sissoko stills needs more time and he is definitely not good at the right side. I agree defeat is part and parcel of soccer but problems should be solved and not ignored till it comes back to haunt you again like what happen yesterday nite. If you dun score you can't win.
Hope the lads can brace themselves as more difficult matches awaits ... YWNA :)
thats true.and all along i have been saying we lack a player who can dribble well.every top team has at least one.henry for arsenal,giggs for manure,rubben etc for chelski.we really lack flair big time
daylight
23-01-2006, 09:17 PM
Who are the striker candidates RB can poach, or you like to have join our squad.
For me, I would like:
Owen
Thierry
Ronadinho (this one really gung-ho good, lol)
David Beckham (as RW and crosser)
I feel RB made a BIG mistake not paying that GBP 15m for Owen. It cost our team much more by not having a decent striker.
Save Money, then No Goals for you, RB. :s8:
PS: anyone agrees with me RB is a little stubborn and inflexible?
rafa may hav made a mistake by thinking that cisse n moro can do the job for him.
clearly both of them are not playing well enough
stansays
23-01-2006, 09:46 PM
Hi folks, no point crying over that. Life goes on for the team and hope they learnt from here and rebuilt another new history.
younggun__007
23-01-2006, 10:13 PM
There are two types of strikers in each team.
A secondary striker to hold ball or knock down ball, and a primary striker to kios at least 20+ goals per season.
While we have a good targetman in crouch, it seems more and more unlikely that moro and cisse is the type of primary striker we are looking for.
TitanSmall
23-01-2006, 10:16 PM
i missed owen... not tat benitez shld pay 15m for him thou.. not worth.. but i really hope owen will come back.. the poacher we need...
btw crouch was injured tats why he was sub out rite?
gerrard17
23-01-2006, 10:19 PM
i missed owen... not tat benitez shld pay 15m for him thou.. not worth.. but i really hope owen will come back.. the poacher we need...
btw crouch was injured tats why he was sub out rite?
yeah he had a dead leg.
if not he'd have rio for lunch. :D
Tobbie
23-01-2006, 10:19 PM
I though Rafa going for the broke by sending in Kromkamp on the right. Kromkamp can play right mid and can send in better cross to Moro whereas Sissoko is more of defensive right mid?
Anyway rafa is waiting for mark gonzale for the right winger position. Cisse who got a big reputation in France, (IMO) doesn't suit Rafa playing style/plan. Cisse maybe better off to some team where they built around him.
smellybeans
23-01-2006, 10:28 PM
Owen not coming back to pool was our loss, but i don't think paying that amount was justified anyway.
alamak
23-01-2006, 10:38 PM
hey guys.... think quite a few have already because of our recent unbeaten streak think that we are going to win every game already.
com'on... the team is still rebuilding. the 12 match unbeaten streak was wonderful but i guess we have to lose some day. To lose it in injury time sucks... it seems the fatigue is setting in (but not an excuse tho), hope the team will reflect on the last match and get another wonderful unbeaten streak soon. FA cup, CL 1st knockout round to come soon also... :D
YNWA!!!
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 10:39 PM
i thought mark gonzalez is a left winger?
smellybeans
23-01-2006, 10:43 PM
i thought mark gonzalez is a left winger?
He is a left winger IIRC what,why? :s11:
smellybeans
23-01-2006, 10:47 PM
To think i was still harping to my dad that 1 minute of sloppiness could cost liverpool the game :(
hanqiang1011
23-01-2006, 11:03 PM
cisse had a very poor poor game...i tot draw were be the result..we had a great spell at the start of 2nd half but nv really threaten van der sar..(beside cisse's effort) and when crouch was subbed our attack lagi jia la...
and ya cisse...head the ball also head half fccked..shoot also shoot half-fccked...eveything half-fccked..even his head also half-****ed...
sigh..feeling lousy tmr...still gotta work.
Yo,
Me too lousy feeling back at school.
I thought the team played well. But this is the game I think RB mis-readed abit. When Cisse was not doing well, he should have him sub out on the 60th mins. When Morientes came on to sub Crouch, I felt maybe RB should do a double sub. Morientes for Crouch, Sinama for Cisse.
While we kept our fate on Cisse on breaking Man U's defence, he disappointed us. At close range, he missed terribly while he could have tapped the ball in or diving header in, the slightlest touch would have changed the game then. But it was ruled offside eventually when the replay showed it is not. But anyway, to have missed at such a distance isnt really good.
This is one of the games that our forwards werent performing. Maybe it will be a future reference for the upcoming tough games. I think RB will use this game as a reference for his tactics.
Well, this is just my opinion.
Regards :)
smellybeans
23-01-2006, 11:05 PM
Was thinking of that rio ferdinand goal all the time at school today until i had no mood for other stuff.. :(
haiz, still cant beat man utd afterall.
Gonna try again next season. But for now still have 2 games in hand, still can chase for 2nd spot. Cheer up guys! :D
RadEoNic
23-01-2006, 11:16 PM
He is a left winger IIRC what,why? :s11:
Anyway rafa is waiting for mark gonzale for the right winger position. Cisse who got a big reputation in France, (IMO) doesn't suit Rafa playing style/plan. Cisse maybe better off to some team where they built around him.
see? :s11:
Tobbie
23-01-2006, 11:16 PM
i tot mark can play on right wing?
mark/garcia on right
harry/bolo on left
2 player for each position?
I might be wrong tho'
Neo_Genesis
23-01-2006, 11:17 PM
Hi folks, no point crying over that. Life goes on for the team and hope they learnt from here and rebuilt another new history.
We are not crying about the lost but are pointing out the faults in our team which seriously need to be rectify if we are to be contenders for the EPL title. :)
hanqiang1011
23-01-2006, 11:17 PM
I am still wondering how Cisse could scored 20 over goals a season when he was in French league?
I thought he isnt good in header, so he couldnt guess where Crouch (Morientes sometimes) is going to head to set him up. Shebby Singh commented that he somehow looked lost whenever Crouch or LFC player is trying to pass him.
Talked about speed he has it but sadly yesterday he wasnt even chasing the ball hard enough. I have seen Crouch, even Morientes who hadnt touch the ball since he came on trying to win the ball, but Cisse isnt even haress the defenders in some occassions when he can applied pressure on Man U defenders a bit.
All our No.9 of the past were great scorers, but after Fowler, not one proved that.
Anyway, cheer up, all wells will end well.
The team has learnt important lessons after defeats. Dont you all agree?
Neo_Genesis
23-01-2006, 11:21 PM
I am still wondering how Cisse could scored 20 over goals a season when he was in French league?
I thought he isnt good in header, so he couldnt guess where Crouch (Morientes sometimes) is going to head to set him up. Shebby Singh commented that he somehow looked lost whenever Crouch or LFC player is trying to pass him.
Talked about speed he has it but sadly yesterday he wasnt even chasing the ball hard enough. I have seen Crouch, even Morientes who hadnt touch the ball since he came on trying to win the ball, but Cisse isnt even haress the defenders in some occassions when he can applied pressure on Man U defenders a bit.
All our No.9 of the past were great scorers, but after Fowler, not one proved that.
Anyway, cheer up, all wells will end well.
The team has learnt important lessons after defeats. Dont you all agree?
But the problem seems to be already there since day 1 of the EPL ...haiz
hanqiang1011
23-01-2006, 11:24 PM
Good game, everyone....
Well said... Agreed with you... Good game to everyone...
hanqiang1011
23-01-2006, 11:27 PM
I think the one laughing and celebrating the most will be Chelsea....if Liverpool win, Liverpool will be much closer to them than ManU...but now...sigh
Hope Gerrard and Co. do not get too demoralised, need to pick themselves up...hope to see another 12 EPL games unbeaten run!
The Red Army still have 2 games in hand, don't they? If all 6 points are in the bag, there is still chance for the 2nd spot.
Regards
Major_Bungholio
24-01-2006, 12:39 AM
Not signing Owen was really our BIG mistake...cost us BIG TIME.
We have cockanadan strikers who are flaccid and impotent!!
Can't score any goals at all!!! Keep drawing!!! See our performance table??
Defense is excellent and on par with Chelsea's defence performance.
But our goals scores is ABYSMAL to say the least....
I DARE to say we may be on par or near par with Chelsea if we had bought Owen before start of season...that was our downfall this season for not buying Owen back..
GBP15m alot??? We could not score any goals at all for the whole season....is saving GBP15m worth it??
WE COULD HAVE DONE AS WELL AS CHELSEA, ONLY IF WE HAD BOUGHT OWEN.
Owen is true-bred EPL player....all his frens/buddies know him in and out...no learning curve needed to fit into the squad...he got scoring instinct...
Our forwards really need REVAMP manzzzzz..... :s27:
Anyone knows who RB is targeting for new striker....or is he just as stubborn as before?
Let me remind bros here RB had a history of stubbornness that cost him his career in Spain before...he is not really so consistent in his managing skill/performance...this is where I see he has let down Liverpool....the forwards...are totally inept and useless.
Our midfielders, wingers, and even defenders are scoing instead of our strikers.... LOL
Hiazz... I just dun want to rant anymore.
But, GBP15m was well-worth paying for at the start of season for Owen...coz that is what our team REALLY needed to win the premiership this season...instead of lagging so many pts behind Chelsea...
Anyway, I heard rumours that RB has been testing waters to poach Owen over to Pool.
Best if can get Shearer along too, lol :D
barbell
24-01-2006, 01:37 AM
actually didn't you guys notice something? Everytime when some big time strikers come to liverpool, they will become impotent infront of goal. I wonder why.
Heskey is like that, Cisse also like that and now Nando also couldn't score. Crouch took dunno how many matches before scoring. Then best of all, Diouf was crap as a striker for Pool but became good for Bolton. Even score against Pool.
Why huh? they all not use to the food in liverpool is it? Or Pool never provide them girls to score so ended up in front of goal also cannot score?
Major_Bungholio
24-01-2006, 05:38 AM
actually didn't you guys notice something? Everytime when some big time strikers come to liverpool, they will become impotent infront of goal. I wonder why.
Heskey is like that, Cisse also like that and now Nando also couldn't score. Crouch took dunno how many matches before scoring. Then best of all, Diouf was crap as a striker for Pool but became good for Bolton. Even score against Pool.
Why huh? they all not use to the food in liverpool is it? Or Pool never provide them girls to score so ended up in front of goal also cannot score?
hahaz... very true, but sad for Liverpool.
This is also what David Beckham in Real Madrid had said before...to warn others not to join Liverpool.
Anyway, RB should create more incentive for our strikers to score goal.
Like GBP50,000 for each goal scored. GBP10,000 for every player when they win the game.
If money not enough incentive, can make partnership with Sun newspaper to supply some Page 3 girl (like Keeley) for the strikers to ravage in the dressing room (gang bang) :D
rbagg10
24-01-2006, 09:07 AM
one minute of slackness cost us a game
6 minutes of slackness won us the european cup??so which is better?
anyway the OWEN rant is here again......"missed owen,wished he came back,will score 20+ for us......"" and so on.
come on guys....wake up and realise it....Owen didnt want us!...he was after the money...
1.he could have stayed but delayed and made us lose him to madrid for a meagre 8 million
2.expect us to pay back 16 million when he suffered in madrid?
3.we pay for his mistake???a diff of 8 million??
4.he could have reject the barcodes.....and sit in madrid...and let madrid come into ransom...he did it to liverpool why cant he do it on to madrid?
5..so many more..it goes on...bottom line is forget owen this year....if he has a clause of 10-12 million and allow him to come back to pool den its fine...for now its the year ahead!
RadEoNic
24-01-2006, 09:19 AM
one minute of slackness cost us a game
6 minutes of slackness won us the european cup??so which is better?
anyway the OWEN rant is here again......"missed owen,wished he came back,will score 20+ for us......"" and so on.
come on guys....wake up and realise it....Owen didnt want us!...he was after the money...
1.he could have stayed but delayed and made us lose him to madrid for a meagre 8 million
2.expect us to pay back 16 million when he suffered in madrid?
3.we pay for his mistake???a diff of 8 million??
4.he could have reject the barcodes.....and sit in madrid...and let madrid come into ransom...he did it to liverpool why cant he do it on to madrid?
5..so many more..it goes on...bottom line is forget owen this year....if he has a clause of 10-12 million and allow him to come back to pool den its fine...for now its the year ahead!
owen didn't leave for money...
aa4f4fsd47
24-01-2006, 09:30 AM
Feyenoord sign Van Hooijdonk.
Dirk Kuyt? Anyone? Fowler on pay per play contract ? 20k per month ? and 40k per appearance?
Velton
24-01-2006, 09:40 AM
Few days left to end of transfer window. No news of any new signings? We should really get DK...we definitely lack a deadly finisher.
With regards to Cisse, it's not only just the Man U game. We should ship him out. He really has an attitude problem. If you guys notice, he didn't even want to chase after the ball on a few occasions. Part of a striker's job is to harass the opposition defenders when they have the ball deep inside their own half. What did he do? Just stop dead in his tracks. Stevie G was pretty pissed with him.
Taking chances and scoring goals is one thing, work rate and your willingness to slog for the team is a totally different issue.
Freemanz
24-01-2006, 10:20 AM
Not sure why but there seems to be a lot of complains after we lost a match after a good run ...
Velton
24-01-2006, 10:23 AM
Like many of us mentioned, it's not only the last match. If you follow most of Liverpool's matches, it's not difficult to see he does not seem to have the Liverpool fire in him.
Freemanz
24-01-2006, 10:56 AM
Actually my pt is why the rant to get rid of someone and bring should bring Owen back, etc
We did well without him right so why is there a need to say we miss him and need him back ?
RB is building a team and he stress on team work. He didn't really buy Cisse and you all can see that we are not able to recoup much of the amt spend buying him ... since he is here and is contributing to a certain extend so why not give him a try ... isn't it better to try to use him instead of letting someone who cost over 10M to sit on the beach ... we are not some team which have the luxury of having players over $20M sitting on the bench and not playing.
Velton
24-01-2006, 11:04 AM
I don't really advocate bring Owen back. We just need a better finisher, whoever it may be.
Didjerama
24-01-2006, 11:08 AM
16m for one player under pool context is a bit way off...look at st james park,he is now injured and newcastle is going down again.if he had cum to pool,are we goin to lambast owen cos he injured?and even in real,he was injury prone also. both you and i know that owen coming to pool is much like done and over and its time we move on and get another p[layer
usjag_18
24-01-2006, 11:08 AM
I suspect is the atmosphere & stress bah..... Over the other sides, they dun have to be so damn stress, so they can perform... No one @ other clubs are expecting them to perform well whereas Liverpool supporters are expecting them to perform as well as the previous players IMO....
In fact, mebbe they stress themselves too much liao lah.....
OT abit, both my frens who r supporting Liverpool and Man Utd agreed and emphasis that Cisse is too concentrating on his HAIRSTYLES liao.... Dat's y Liverpool fren said CISSE cannot perform so good in England.... =:p
yancm2
24-01-2006, 11:10 AM
Aye, the match is over isn't it. Don't be too down-hearted ya'all Liverpool fans.
We should remain positve and look ahead to be beat Harry Redknapp's men in Fratton Park this coming Monday morning in the FA Cup.
Then we'll face the litmus test against Chelsea (away) and Arsenal (home).
No point being angry or fuming. Wat is over is done. The future lies ahead.
:D
yancm2
24-01-2006, 11:13 AM
UK newspaper quotes taken from LFC.tv
Its a good read.
The Liverpool revival under Rafael Benitez is every bit as real as United's decline over the past few years. This was a gloriously satisfying victory for United, a reminder of the times when they would routinely score late winners at the Stretford End, but the comparisons with the glory days did not go much farther. Time will tell whether a first defeat in 13 Premiership matches has a deflating effect on a Liverpool team entering their most demanding period of the season, but on the balance of play yesterday, it was hard to escape the conclusion that the second-best team in England were the ones wearing white shirts. Liverpool controlled the game throughout, with Steven Gerrard and Mohammed Sissoko dwarfing the relative pygmies in a makeshift home midfield, but were made to pay the price for retreating fatally when the United rally came, largely courtesy of Rooney and Ryan Giggs.
Oliver Kay
The Times
PRIDE OF THE NORTH WEST? Still Liverpool as far as I am concerned. As they did against Chelsea, Manchester United have nicked a fortunate win against a superior team. Short-term elation for them, but for the long haul, Liverpool look a better bet to finish second come the end of the season. With their two matches in hand, they could rise above United sooner rather than later. Rafael Benitez's men will be pig sick at losing, especially in such a cruel way, but they should take comfort from the knowledge that they were better from back to front. Especially in the midfield, where Mohamed Sissoko, Steven Gerrard and Xabi Alonso ran the show. Committed, tough-tackling with a mean streak, they break up the play and ease the pressure on the defence. United's midfield is nowhere near as effective. It also struck me how tall Liverpool's players are. That can only make the team more intimidating.
Tony Cascarino
The Times
This report should say United ambushed their biggest enemy, then declared war on Jose Mourinho's men, marching down the M6 with battle standard raised. Today Liverpool, tomorrow the world. But it didn't feel that way. It looked liker a desperate header from a centre half rescuing the club from creeping mediocrity. It was a result that told a fib. They won the struggle to be regarded as the second best team in England, but failed to win the wider battle for hearts and minds. The few remaining players who still have class of '92 running through them like a stick of rock aren't blind to the drop in standards. When Liverpool's fine run of victories and a draw in 12 Premiership outings was finally stopped, Gary Neville patented a Mancunian haka in front of the visitors' end – grabbing his shorts and kissing his badge like an especially truculent All Black.
Paul Hayward
The Daily Mail
United had been forced to endure far more than Liverpool in just about every respect until the last few minutes of a tense, enthralling but largely uneventful encounter. The European champions had enjoyed the majority of possession, had dominated midfield and created the better of the chances. Sadly for those hoping to see a side put pressure on Chelsea, the wrong side secured victory. Had Liverpool beaten their great rivals and they won their two games in hand, they would have been seven points adrift of the premiership leaders. As it is, and only someone as determined as Gerrard may refuse to except this, the chance to catch Jose Mourinho's side has now gone.
Matt Lawton
Daily Mail
Liverpool can be proud of the way they went about their business. It was a tight game but Liverpool were the better side. United were wounded after their defeat in the derby match last week so for Liverpool to go to Old Trafford and do so well is a great tribute to them. I still think in the general scheme of things Liverpool are in a better position than United, even though they lost yesterday. If you were a Liverpool fan you would be unhappy with the result but happy with the performance and you could see that at the end as United players celebrated as though they had won the Cup final.
Alan Hansen
The Daily Telegraph
Manchester United remain second in the Premiership and the great symbolic shift in the power structure of English football was put on hold, at least until Liverpool play their two games in hand. Meanwhile, Rafael Benitez had to join Jose Mourinho in contemplating the dismantling here of an unbeaten run without having any real evidence to help him understand how it happened. Liverpool should have won this game. For most of it they had more possession, more chances and a little more purpose. This was not a match imprinted with the usual classic qualities of these two snarling sets of rivals. Yet that too might offer a pointer to the way that Benitez is reeling in United and preparing them to take over the mantle of Chelsea's most serious challengers. He is doing it gradually, methodically, without any big, symbolic statements of intent against the other battalions of the Big Four. You left Old Trafford yesterday with the impression that United might only stem the tide of the sea change for a little while longer.
John Dillon
Daily Express
Liverpool were left as frustrated as much as angry because they had held the upper hand for much of the game and squandered the clearest chance of all. But Ferdinand's goal came so late there was no time for Rafa Benitez's side to retrieve their unbeaten league record that had stretched back 12 matches to the defeat at Fulham in October. United were far from convincing but they produced the sweat, passion and determination that was lacking in the Manchester derby defeat. The fact United took 87 minutes to force their first cornerunderlined Liverpool's relative comfort.
Richard Tanner
Daily Express
Liverpool made their hosts suffer in the first half, mostly by doing the simple things with passable efficiency. For long spells United could not even manage that. In the centre of Benitez's midfield, Mohamed Sissoko and Xabi Alonso were producing exactly the combination of strength and deliberation that United lacked. For those 45 minutes the three Glazer brothers, watching from the directors' box, must have been wondering why their new team had no quarterback to direct the play and get the forwards moving. And if the Premiership kept pass-completion statistics, United would surely have been establishing a new all-comers' low for the season.
Richard Williams
The Guardian
In the wider development of United and Liverpool and the struggle to establish themselves as Chelsea's principle challengers - it is impossible not to feel that, for long periods of time in this game, Benitez's team looked far healthier. Wayne Rooney refused to accept that Liverpool had come along to announce that his team had slipped down another rank in the pecking order of English football's aristocracy. That, though might well have been the reality but for United's late strike. The truth was that Liverpool for most of the time did look much more the coherent force. They covered the ground and generally looked the more confident side. Benitez has made extraordinary progress at Anfield but he is still a long way from settling on a strike force of genuine conviction.
Sam Wallace
The independent
Tobbie
24-01-2006, 01:00 PM
We have cockanadan strikers who are flaccid and impotent!!
Can't score any goals at all!!! Keep drawing!!! See our performance table??
Defense is excellent and on par with Chelsea's defence performance.
But our goals scores is ABYSMAL to say the least....
I DARE to say we may be on par or near par with Chelsea if we had bought Owen before start of season...that was our downfall this season for not buying Owen back..
GBP15m alot??? We could not score any goals at all for the whole season....is saving GBP15m worth it??
Owen is true-bred EPL player....all his frens/buddies know him in and out...no learning curve needed to fit into the squad...he got scoring instinct...
Our forwards really need REVAMP manzzzzz..... :s27:
Anyone knows who RB is targeting for new striker....or is he just as stubborn as before?
Let me remind bros here RB had a history of stubbornness that cost him his career in Spain before...he is not really so consistent in his managing skill/performance...this is where I see he has let down Liverpool....the forwards...are totally inept and useless.
Our midfielders, wingers, and even defenders are scoing instead of our strikers.... LOL
Hiazz... I just dun want to rant anymore.
But, GBP15m was well-worth paying for at the start of season for Owen...coz that is what our team REALLY needed to win the premiership this season...instead of lagging so many pts behind Chelsea...
Anyway, I heard rumours that RB has been testing waters to poach Owen over to Pool.
Best if can get Shearer along too, lol :D
My God. Just a lost to Man Utd and now you declare that we need Mikey? Liverpool did crave out 11 wins in a row WITHOUT Mikey.
And seriously speaking, with Liverpool form this season, if not for Chelsea, Liverpool could be so near the top in any other season. With only 2 defeats this season, I couldn't see how much it be worse than any season when Mikey was in the team.
Get a grip.
I seriously veto on Owen. Gimme GOD whom had a red heart instead.
Tobbie
24-01-2006, 01:06 PM
owen didn't leave for money...
Yah. He left for trophies, more striker competition, a bigger club.
jaykay11
24-01-2006, 01:07 PM
Having read the posts here and in LFC forums elsewhere, I think much of the bitterness and frustration steps not just from the fact that we lost to Man U (and in the last minute), but also how expectations have raised after Rafa came around. In the years after winning our last league title, the club was becoming rubbish (Graeme Souness was at one time our manager, WTH). We stumbled in simple matches that could be easily won before. However, Rafa and to a certain extent GH before him, have revitalised the club. Now we have a chance for the top spot ($$$ FC needs to stumble quite a bit though), won the CL last year, got past the group stage this year.
My point is that I wonder if the fans are setting their expectations too high. The unbeaten run will not go on forever. One match lost does not mean the end of the world. We need to look ahead; there is still much to fight for.
"At the end of a storm is a golden sky"
nestasan
24-01-2006, 01:37 PM
My God. Just a lost to Man Utd and now you declare that we need Mikey? Liverpool did crave out 11 wins in a row WITHOUT Mikey.
And seriously speaking, with Liverpool form this season, if not for Chelsea, Liverpool could be so near the top in any other season. With only 2 defeats this season, I couldn't see how much it be worse than any season when Mikey was in the team.
Get a grip.
I seriously veto on Owen. Gimme GOD whom had a red heart instead.
no owen for me either. i thought one of the best things benitez did was to get rid of the scouser connection, and breaking up the senior player cliques (smicer gone, owen not returning, fowler a fond memory not a transfer target). there are good enough strikers which can assume owen's mantle, we just have to be patient for them to be available at the right money.
everyone's saying sell cisse, sell morientes... i agree that they dont look exactly right in the scheme of things at liverpool, but
firstly, benitez doesnt have many other options. he doesnt have much cash to spend on forwards, probably the most expensive of all players on the pitch, and before he buys someone, cisse and morientes will just have to stay.
secondly, whoever benitez brings in, we shouldnt expect him to be a 20-goal striker. simply because, liverpool isnt playing in that manner of everything-to-fowler, everything-to-owen anymore. the strikers, as much as scoring goals, will also have responsibilities to hold off the ball and knock it for others, drifts off to the wings and lets the midfielders be involved. the midfielders will be chipping in from left right and centre. much like it was at valencia, much like it is now at chelsea. we wont have a henry or van nistelrooy, but that doesnt mean we will be any worse off for it,.
Neo_Genesis
24-01-2006, 01:38 PM
Having read the posts here and in LFC forums elsewhere, I think much of the bitterness and frustration steps not just from the fact that we lost to Man U (and in the last minute), but also how expectations have raised after Rafa came around. In the years after winning our last league title, the club was becoming rubbish (Graeme Souness was at one time our manager, WTH). We stumbled in simple matches that could be easily won before. However, Rafa and to a certain extent GH before him, have revitalised the club. Now we have a chance for the top spot ($$$ FC needs to stumble quite a bit though), won the CL last year, got past the group stage this year.
My point is that I wonder if the fans are setting their expectations too high. The unbeaten run will not go on forever. One match lost does not mean the end of the world. We need to look ahead; there is still much to fight for.
Most of the comment here are pointing out a problem and not ranting if u notice,
that is our striking department need to some serious improvment. ;)
I do agree fans generally have rise their expectation but that is due to the fact we are now a more competant team that can win more games and not jus winning by luck :)
Neo_Genesis
24-01-2006, 01:41 PM
no owen for me either. i thought one of the best things benitez did was to get rid of the scouser connection, and breaking up the senior player cliques (smicer gone, owen not returning, fowler a fond memory not a transfer target). there are good enough strikers which can assume owen's mantle, we just have to be patient for them to be available at the right money.
everyone's saying sell cisse, sell morientes... i agree that they dont look exactly right in the scheme of things at liverpool, but
firstly, benitez doesnt have many other options. he doesnt have much cash to spend on forwards, probably the most expensive of all players on the pitch, and before he buys someone, cisse and morientes will just have to stay.
secondly, whoever benitez brings in, we shouldnt expect him to be a 20-goal striker. simply because, liverpool isnt playing in that manner of everything-to-fowler, everything-to-owen anymore. the strikers, as much as scoring goals, will also have responsibilities to hold off the ball and knock it for others, drifts off to the wings and lets the midfielders be involved. the midfielders will be chipping in from left right and centre. much like it was at valencia, much like it is now at chelsea. we wont have a henry or van nistelrooy, but that doesnt mean we will be any worse off for it,.
Imo the problem lies on our strikers needing WAY TOO MANY chances before they can convert one if u compare this to other teams u will know what i meant. :)
spinelli
24-01-2006, 01:43 PM
Most of the comment here are pointing out a problem and not ranting if u notice,
that is our striking department need to some serious improvment. ;)
I do agree fans generally have rise their expectation but that is due to the fact we are now a more competant team that can win more games and not jus winning by luck :)
true.i believe no one here expect thr run to go on forever.we arent intofootball for the first day.we have been complaining about the same problem all these while,its just that the problem becomes magnified after a loss which is to be expected.i long mentioned before we do not have a 20 goals a season striker but SOME of you kept telling me there's cisse who can do the job provided he's given a run.look,there's no hunger in this guy at all!!
victorian07
24-01-2006, 01:45 PM
I kinda agree. but all fans in the world are like this. Wigan is a classic example, initially targeted merely to survive but now the Latics fans do expect their team to win all fixtures at home against teams outside the Big 4. Expectations are raised and they are even bullish about their UEFA Cup qualification chances. I say why not?
With higher expectations indeed do come greater disappointment.
instead of mourning the defeat, we definitely should look on.
and also think back, few years back coming to Old Trafford few pundits will give Liverpool any chance. but this time round, Liverpool were definitely not inferior in any sense.
We've come a long way. 16 years it has been and we shall eagerly anticipate the return of the trophy to Liverpool, hopefully at Anfield still.
nestasan
24-01-2006, 01:47 PM
Imo the problem lies on our strikers needing WAY TOO MANY chances before they can convert one if u compare this to other teams u will know what i meant. :)
actually, apart from cisse who really wastes numerous chances and really should go when benitez finds someone else, our other strikers dont really have all that many good chances for scoring. in fact, i'd think the wastefulness also extends to our midfielders and wingers? :)
maybe the incision and precision is still not there, and when we do get it, i believe we will get many more goals, but a lot of these will also be coming from the midfield players.
Tobbie
24-01-2006, 02:46 PM
Not that Rafa is not interested in buying 20 goals a season but can anyone assure that the striker you guys mention are going to guarantee 20 goals a season? Cisse WAS a 20 goals a season striker which (IMO) flop in Liverpool. Even Owen hasn't hit the halfway mark with his injuries. As much as we like to see henry, van nistelrooy or eto in Liverpool, what riduclous money do Pool have to pay for their services?
Seriously speaking, the signs are all there when Liverpool going on 11 wins run. How many goals are scored by striker during that period? Counch and Momo got a few decent strike rate and a couple of goals chipping in from wingers and midfielders. That how Pool goals is going to come from. At least in this season till the next summer transfer.
Velton
24-01-2006, 02:47 PM
actually, apart from cisse who really wastes numerous chances and really should go when benitez finds someone else, our other strikers dont really have all that many good chances for scoring. in fact, i'd think the wastefulness also extends to our midfielders and wingers? :)
maybe the incision and precision is still not there, and when we do get it, i believe we will get many more goals, but a lot of these will also be coming from the midfield players.
You are right. It applies across to everybody. Stevie G also missed some clear cut chances.
I think what every Liverpool fan wants to see is the pride of wearing the Red shirt and the hunger of playing and winning for Liverpool. Maybe it's me...but I don't really see it in Cisse.
CanIsayNo
24-01-2006, 02:53 PM
You are right. It applies across to everybody. Stevie G also missed some clear cut chances.
I think what every Liverpool fan wants to see is the pride of wearing the Red shirt and the hunger of playing and winning for Liverpool. Maybe it's me...but I don't really see it in Cisse.
Against man u, cisse hardly showed much hunger..
Maybe should hijack walcott from arsenal.. After all, he is a liverpool fan
hanqiang1011
24-01-2006, 04:47 PM
DEFIANT CARRA ISSUES A POSITIVE RALLYING CRY
Mark Platt 23 January 2006
Jamie Carragher is refusing to be too downhearted as the fallout continues from Sunday's disappointing 1-0 defeat to Manchester United.
Instead of dwelling on the late Rio Ferdinand goal that ended Liverpool's 12-game unbeaten run in the Premiership, Carragher insists the future remains brighter at Anfield than it does at Old Trafford.
"Obviously it's very disappointing to lose such a massive game, but we'll take a lot of positives from it," he says defiantly.
"When you look at the bigger picture, you can bet Sir Alex Ferguson would rather be in our position. We've two games in hand and we're still in the Champions League. We're still in the best position to challenge Chelsea and we've still got a chance of winning the top trophies.
"We never had a problem for the whole match until the last minute and overall, the signs bode well for the future.
"All the lads are gutted. We controlled the game, but I look back to 12 months ago when we lost to Southampton and there's a massive difference now to then. We've a lot to be positive about.
"The way they celebrated at the end showed how much it meant to them, particularly when realistically the game was all about second place.
"It's not sour grapes. I'm sure we'd have celebrated in the same way, but it does show they're a lot more worried about us in terms of the league than they have been for a while."
hanqiang1011
24-01-2006, 04:47 PM
DEFIANT CARRA ISSUES A POSITIVE RALLYING CRY
Mark Platt 23 January 2006
Jamie Carragher is refusing to be too downhearted as the fallout continues from Sunday's disappointing 1-0 defeat to Manchester United.
Instead of dwelling on the late Rio Ferdinand goal that ended Liverpool's 12-game unbeaten run in the Premiership, Carragher insists the future remains brighter at Anfield than it does at Old Trafford.
"Obviously it's very disappointing to lose such a massive game, but we'll take a lot of positives from it," he says defiantly.
"When you look at the bigger picture, you can bet Sir Alex Ferguson would rather be in our position. We've two games in hand and we're still in the Champions League. We're still in the best position to challenge Chelsea and we've still got a chance of winning the top trophies.
"We never had a problem for the whole match until the last minute and overall, the signs bode well for the future.
"All the lads are gutted. We controlled the game, but I look back to 12 months ago when we lost to Southampton and there's a massive difference now to then. We've a lot to be positive about.
"The way they celebrated at the end showed how much it meant to them, particularly when realistically the game was all about second place.
"It's not sour grapes. I'm sure we'd have celebrated in the same way, but it does show they're a lot more worried about us in terms of the league than they have been for a while."
bwaysaibi
24-01-2006, 05:06 PM
good one carragher
tats wat u expect from a homegrown lad
he breathes eats and sleeps liverpool!!!
and if he says this we better believe it
im sure we will bounce back against pompey
sacrificial lambs for slaughter???? :o
bwaysaibi
24-01-2006, 05:10 PM
for starters
lets look at valencia tat won the primera liga
liverpool gonna become version2
very likely
i see the similaritys beginning to multiply already!
baraja, albeda, aimar = gerrard, alonso, garcia!
tight defense, doesnt let in many goals exactly the same....
ayala , marchena = hyypia and carragher???
striker who links up play and is tall: carew = crouch???
vicente = kewell???
reina = canizares???
dun blast me if u disagree
im jus thinking out loud :D
Grimz79
24-01-2006, 06:00 PM
Against man u, cisse hardly showed much hunger..
Maybe should hijack walcott from arsenal.. After all, he is a liverpool fan
Nobody can confirm if Walcott is a real Pool fan or not. Besides, Walcott had already stated he wanted to go Arsenal to play alongside Henry, and that's what he's going to do soon. If he was such a big Pool fan would he not have stated he wanted to go only to Pool?
nestasan
24-01-2006, 06:57 PM
Nobody can confirm if Walcott is a real Pool fan or not. Besides, Walcott had already stated he wanted to go Arsenal to play alongside Henry, and that's what he's going to do soon. If he was such a big Pool fan would he not have stated he wanted to go only to Pool?
i'd say let him go to arsenal if he wants to. no point bringing in a player whose heart isnt at the club, and 15mil pounds for a 16 year old playing in the championship league has got to be just too much.
__CcW__
24-01-2006, 08:48 PM
between kuyt and owen.. i tink we shld definately go for kuyt.. kuyt is more of a holding striker and bigger size tt holds the ball for the midfielders to chiong forward.. look at the ex-Valencia and u'll know, big sized "2nd-strikers" like carew and david villa
sinned_82
24-01-2006, 09:40 PM
for those crying out for a new "20-goal a season" striker because we lost ONE game "due to poor finishing and wasted chances", i say jot your memory back and remember that our run of 12 unbeaten matches was not due to superior finishing from our strikers, but a good gameplan and tactical obedience. so please stop whining and saying "what could have been if we had signed who and who..." yes, i agree Cisse's miss was abysmal, and his work rate is questionable, but i still believe he's a good finisher. Anyone rem his goal against Everton? that was quite an exquisite finish. missing an open goal when you are off balance and not expecting the ball does not make him a lousy finisher. now i'm not a Cisse fan, and i won't really miss him if Rafa decides he's not good enuff, but he shouldn't be made a scapegoat for a game we din deserve to lose.
and someone said whats 15m pounds for Owen? we sold him for 8mil, if you rem. u juz dun sell low and buy high. it's basic business sense. and what makes you think he will be that hot-shot striker that will never miss a chance?
ok, thanks for bearing with me. i need to get it off my chest. YNWA.
silent_espy
24-01-2006, 10:13 PM
I think liverpool dont need a 20-goal striker they just need luck lahz. They always let in all the lanjiao goal which dont need skill to score. I think they just unlucky to let in that one, i dont think reina would expect rio ferdinand to head that one in. You dont even need a rio ferdinand to score that goal if theres luck on your side anyone of us tom dick and harry can score that kinda goal if we are just lucky.
younggun__007
24-01-2006, 10:35 PM
for those crying out for a new "20-goal a season" striker because we lost ONE game "due to poor finishing and wasted chances", i say jot your memory back and remember that our run of 12 unbeaten matches was not due to superior finishing from our strikers, but a good gameplan and tactical obedience. so please stop whining and saying "what could have been if we had signed who and who..." yes, i agree Cisse's miss was abysmal, and his work rate is questionable, but i still believe he's a good finisher. Anyone rem his goal against Everton? that was quite an exquisite finish. missing an open goal when you are off balance and not expecting the ball does not make him a lousy finisher. now i'm not a Cisse fan, and i won't really miss him if Rafa decides he's not good enuff, but he shouldn't be made a scapegoat for a game we din deserve to lose.
and someone said whats 15m pounds for Owen? we sold him for 8mil, if you rem. u juz dun sell low and buy high. it's basic business sense. and what makes you think he will be that hot-shot striker that will never miss a chance?
dun know y....whenever I c Cisse with the ball, i don't feel good.
but, seriously, ever since owen leaves, no more 20goals per season striker has graced the reds. Do we have any "god" hidden in the U-18s or reserves?
Bring him up manz. It's good to have a good striker. But it'll be better to have a striker produced within the academy.
Still, i'll stick to wad i said. Cisse ain't good enuff for the 1st team. Squad? ok la...juz pass. :s8:
younggun__007
24-01-2006, 10:37 PM
I think liverpool dont need a 20-goal striker they just need luck lahz. They always let in all the lanjiao goal which dont need skill to score. I think they just unlucky to let in that one, i dont think reina would expect rio ferdinand to head that one in. You dont even need a rio ferdinand to score that goal if theres luck on your side anyone of us tom dick and harry can score that kinda goal if we are just lucky.
but it'll be better to score and maintain a tight backline. Best of both worlds.
i'm may be greedy, but i only wan pool to win :D
CanIsayNo
24-01-2006, 11:01 PM
most of cisse's goals.. not really superb finishing, it's more of he just whack the ball at the goal and the ball somehow hits the back of the net. More often than not, the keeper saves. Most of his shorts are straight at the keeper from what i've seen.
CanIsayNo
24-01-2006, 11:02 PM
between kuyt and owen.. i tink we shld definately go for kuyt.. kuyt is more of a holding striker and bigger size tt holds the ball for the midfielders to chiong forward.. look at the ex-Valencia and u'll know, big sized "2nd-strikers" like carew and david villa
well, crouch is doing that right now.. dont know if RB wants another striker like that... an out and out one or a "sidekick"
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 12:41 AM
I read some of you guys saying the past 11 games Liverpool won by 1 or 2 goals.
But did you noticed how many shots on goals and how many shots on target?
If I am not wrong, most of the past 11 or 12 games each, Liverpool made abt 20 odd shots towards goals and 10 to 14 shots on target. And they scored 1 or 2? I think as a pro striker, you don't need that much chances just to score 1 goal.
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 12:50 AM
I think what Liverpool wants is a proven goal scorer.
Like Owen and Ruud, just pump the ball into the penalty box and let them do the rest.
Even the back of the head also jadi, like the one Owen scored for Newcastle, durinq the one that he scored a hatrick.
Or how Ruud chest the ball, turn the defender and shot the ball to the edge of the goal.
Not just hentam only. Just whack the ball and pray the ball goes into the net.
Sorry for the long story .... just letting go frustration after the last game.
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 01:08 AM
Talking abt "the god" ....
Man City 3 - Man U 1
"The god" scored the last goal. Did he whack the ball? I think he gave a grounder. Beat Van Dee Sar and goes into the bottom right hand corner .
Clinical finish.
Tobbie
25-01-2006, 02:06 AM
I read some of you guys saying the past 11 games Liverpool won by 1 or 2 goals.
But did you noticed how many shots on goals and how many shots on target?
If I am not wrong, most of the past 11 or 12 games each, Liverpool made abt 20 odd shots towards goals and 10 to 14 shots on target. And they scored 1 or 2? I think as a pro striker, you don't need that much chances just to score 1 goal.
i think the 20 odds shots is shared strikers n midfielders n even defenders. in todays game, it hard to get a pro striker whose strike rate is 1 goal per 2~3 strike. usually only when they are on form then they can produce this kind of strike rate.
anyway, the names u mention, ruud and owen. they need lots of chances to score too. what rafa playing is limit all this striker goal scoring chances and create a lot of striking chances for pool. as u bang more shots, most likely when 1 or 2 go in, that it for the game.
like against man utd, ruud got 2 chances, rooney got 2 shots (both on target but didn't score)
against newcastle, shearer n owen got 0 chances at all.
alexis10
25-01-2006, 04:03 AM
I dun understand why people is still talking about owen on this board... he is never a 20 goals man... he also miss a lot chances.. just that we used to depend on him to get goals n the game plan is too pump the ball to him... dun u guys see that we used to be so crap.. just mark owen out of the game n we will not win... now goals seems to come from every position.. so the other team have to work harder to stop us...I dun see cheski having a 20 goal striker.... we just need goals.. not a 20 goals striker who when misfiring mean the team will not win bcos we have no plan B...
Btw i never rated owen as a "world class" player.. he is just lucky to get all those goals one on one.. A striker today is not abt just scoring goals.. He have to bring his TEAMMATES into the game...look at all the top strikers today.. they get tons of assists along with their goals..much as i hate to say this.. rooney IS the best striker for england..
A key pt abt owen is he will always miss 1/3 of a season... look at where he is now.. laying on the treatment table.. out until april... N he have the cheek to say that it is good bcos he will be fresh for the WC... he dun even care abt toons which is struggling atm.. what a selfish player.. u want someone like him in liverpool? If so.. if support another team.. Liverpool is all about team spirit...which Rafa understands from his studying of liverpool history...
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 04:12 AM
For your info.
Man U vs Liverpool
Shots on Goal (Final Score)
7(1) 11(o)
Newcastle vs Liverpool
2(0) 21(2)
Luton vs Liverpool
9(3) 21(5)
Bolton vs Liverpool
12(2) 15(2)
West Brom vs Liverpool
5(0) 27(1)
This one best .... 27 shots but only 1 enters the goals. Alot of wasted chances.
Maybe you right ... Ruud also need alot chances to score ... but wait, isn't he the current top scorer in the premiership?
Owen ... didn't he started playing in the premiership late ..... hmm .... scored 7 already.
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 04:26 AM
I dun understand why people is still talking about owen on this board... he is never a 20 goals man... he also miss a lot chances.. just that we used to depend on him to get goals n the game plan is too pump the ball to him... dun u guys see that we used to be so crap.. just mark owen out of the game n we will not win... now goals seems to come from every position.. so the other team have to work harder to stop us...I dun see cheski having a 20 goal striker.... we just need goals.. not a 20 goals striker who when misfiring mean the team will not win bcos we have no plan B...
Btw i never rated owen as a "world class" player.. he is just lucky to get all those goals one on one.. A striker today is not abt just scoring goals.. He have to bring his TEAMMATES into the game...look at all the top strikers today.. they get tons of assists along with their goals..much as i hate to say this.. rooney IS the best striker for england..
A key pt abt owen is he will always miss 1/3 of a season... look at where he is now.. laying on the treatment table.. out until april... N he have the cheek to say that it is good bcos he will be fresh for the WC... he dun even care abt toons which is struggling atm.. what a selfish player.. u want someone like him in liverpool? If so.. if support another team.. Liverpool is all about team spirit...which Rafa understands from his studying of liverpool history...
I mention Owen and Ruud is b'cos I believe Liverpool need a proven goal scorer. B;cos this is where the problem lies.
I agree ... we need more goals. Depend on Gerrard to score again? Opps ... did I said that like we depend on Gerrard to score?
Err ... but I think the midfielders are scoring more goals .... 17 out of 29 from outside penalty box.
So where do you think the problems lies? What do you think is the solution?
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 04:31 AM
I guess plan b didn't work on Man U last wek.... and we lost.
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 07:59 AM
First of all i would like to point out that Cisse was already termed not good enuff when he start playing this season and not after the defeat. Secondly Cisse did not jus perform badly on sunday nite :s7: . Tthe WORLD CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP is another fine EXAMPLE WHAT WILL HAPPEN DUE TO INCOMPETANT STRIKER. If you have notice, Cheski at quite a few matches may not be performing well but they still WIN due to their striker popping in ONE GOAL with jus ONE CHANCE given.
I strongly believe you would agree with mi if RVN, Henry, Ronney, Eto , Shevcenko, Del Peiro etc is currently Liverpool striker, our chances of winning the EPL would be increase ten-fold. Hope u can understand now ....
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 08:04 AM
Honestly I think you know nothing about soccer.
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 08:12 AM
All Champions in their respective league have striker or strikers with GOOD CONVERSION RATE... that should stop this debate once and for all .. :s7:
For those who think the current strikers in Liverpool is good enuff and if liverpool doesn't solve this striker issue prepare to be second best to Cheski for a long time to come.
Do note that my "solve this striker issue" doesn't neccesary means buying expensive striker, it simply means either we get someone with better conversion rate or make our current strikers able to convert better.
nestasan
25-01-2006, 08:29 AM
go easy lah bro... nobody needs to know everything or even anything sbout soccer to enjoy it, that's the beauty of sport.
Velton
25-01-2006, 09:56 AM
Yeah, we are all supporting the same team and just discussing the possibilities and the players. Don't get so worked up.
Definitely we need a striker that can finish the job, doesn't really need to be a 20mil pound striker. Even a simple no-name striker will do as long as he is clinical. If Mellor can put away 1/3 of the chances the team creates, he will be in my 1st team. We just need a clinical finisher. Rush wasn't really that hoo-haa kind of striker. He just gets the job done. So was Fowler during his early days at Anfield. Then came Owen. Somehow, many feel that there is a "hole" there, and someone needs to "patch" it up.
bwaysaibi
25-01-2006, 10:34 AM
honestly
i dun see rafa getting us another striker soon
well cisse will have until end of this season to prove himself worthy
if not i guess rafa most likely gonna ship him out for $$$ to rebuild
i would have like us to get walcott, saw glimpses of him and yes, its not exaggerating at all to compare him with henry, has the same flair, speed and swagger too. but sinc ehe chose arse then good luck to him
no champs league for him next season? :p
btw regarding whether do we need a 20goal striker
the answer is yes and no
yes. we need a striker who can nick the 1 goal victories for us, convert the half chances which is so vital to turning a game in our advantage, someone who we can depend on for goals.
and imo owen doesnt qualify as a 20goal striker, yes hes good at taking half chances and all
but as correctly pointed out by a fellow bro here, owen doesnt realli link up play well.
we need not st michael, we need GOD. we need a GOD mark2
no.
the disadvantage of having a "20 goal striker" is also oer dependence on them for goals
and these "20 goal strikers" wil lneed alot of service from he MF.
from the current system deplyed by rafa
we can see that we hav a number of players who can get us the goals , garcia, gerrard, kewell, alonso, ,crouch, morientes, even cisse.
the suprise factor is there, from a single dimension team which rely on setpieces and longballs we have become a more diverse team, able to pass short or long , goals coming from any position is a plus definitely. i dun see rafa gonna change the system anyway, maybe minor tweeks here n there, this is about 80% there already i believe.
so after weighing the yes and no
what do u guys think?
barbell
25-01-2006, 10:48 AM
honestly
i dun see rafa getting us another striker soon
well cisse will have until end of this season to prove himself worthy
if not i guess rafa most likely gonna ship him out for $$$ to rebuild
i would have like us to get walcott, saw glimpses of him and yes, its not exaggerating at all to compare him with henry, has the same flair, speed and swagger too. but sinc ehe chose arse then good luck to him
no champs league for him next season? :p
btw regarding whether do we need a 20goal striker
the answer is yes and no
yes. we need a striker who can nick the 1 goal victories for us, convert the half chances which is so vital to turning a game in our advantage, someone who we can depend on for goals.
and imo owen doesnt qualify as a 20goal striker, yes hes good at taking half chances and all
but as correctly pointed out by a fellow bro here, owen doesnt realli link up play well.
we need not st michael, we need GOD. we need a GOD mark2
no.
the disadvantage of having a "20 goal striker" is also oer dependence on them for goals
and these "20 goal strikers" wil lneed alot of service from he MF.
from the current system deplyed by rafa
we can see that we hav a number of players who can get us the goals , garcia, gerrard, kewell, alonso, ,crouch, morientes, even cisse.
the suprise factor is there, from a single dimension team which rely on setpieces and longballs we have become a more diverse team, able to pass short or long , goals coming from any position is a plus definitely. i dun see rafa gonna change the system anyway, maybe minor tweeks here n there, this is about 80% there already i believe.
so after weighing the yes and no
what do u guys think?
I say get Robbie Fowler back.
You can never get a better footballer than one who is grateful to you for trusting him again.
sinned_82
25-01-2006, 11:19 AM
First of all i would like to point out that Cisse was already termed not good enuff when he start playing this season and not after the defeat. Secondly Cisse did not jus perform badly on sunday nite :s7: . Tthe WORLD CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP is another fine EXAMPLE WHAT WILL HAPPEN DUE TO INCOMPETANT STRIKER. If you have notice, Cheski at quite a few matches may not be performing well but they still WIN due to their striker popping in ONE GOAL with jus ONE CHANCE given.
I strongly believe you would agree with mi if RVN, Henry, Ronney, Eto , Shevcenko, Del Peiro etc is currently Liverpool striker, our chances of winning the EPL would be increase ten-fold. Hope u can understand now ....
Pls don't get me wrong, i am not defending Cisse. I'm just using him as an example for the flak some of the supporters have been hurling at him. Yes, i totally agree with you that if any of the above mentioned strikers are playing for us, we may have a better chance. But what makes me uncomfortable is that whenver our strikers, or midfielders or defenders underperform in a match we eventually lose, people will come all gun ablazing calling for their heads and all the "buy who and who to replace who and who". I dun hear them expressing this concern when we do badly but still manage to nick a win.
anyway, ur rite, we should let this rest now and rally behind the team for the matches ahead. :o
Mohawks
25-01-2006, 12:02 PM
both Chelsea and Liverpool are doing well because the goals are coming from many players.... strikers and midfielders....
if the team depends too much on a striker (a la Newcastle), they are screwed when that star striker is injured.
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 12:20 PM
Pls don't get me wrong, i am not defending Cisse. I'm just using him as an example for the flak some of the supporters have been hurling at him. Yes, i totally agree with you that if any of the above mentioned strikers are playing for us, we may have a better chance. But what makes me uncomfortable is that whenver our strikers, or midfielders or defenders underperform in a match we eventually lose, people will come all gun ablazing calling for their heads and all the "buy who and who to replace who and who". I dun hear them expressing this concern when we do badly but still manage to nick a win.
anyway, ur rite, we should let this rest now and rally behind the team for the matches ahead. :o
This I totally agree, we mus rally behind the team through this tough part of the season... You'll Never Rally Alone :)
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 12:23 PM
both Chelsea and Liverpool are doing well because the goals are coming from many players.... strikers and midfielders....
if the team depends too much on a striker (a la Newcastle), they are screwed when that star striker is injured.
I agree with your point, thats why in my opionion we need strikers with better conversion rate not aiming to be top scorer alone ;)
sinned_82
25-01-2006, 12:59 PM
You'll Never Rally Alone :)
haha... sounds like some election warcry for the parties :s22:
hanqiang1011
25-01-2006, 01:02 PM
Yoho all,
It seems that we have a debate here on whether LFC need "A Striker Who Played With His Heart & Soul or A Striker Who Can Score 20 Goals/Season?"
Please too, provide an example of players outside EPL
A Striker or Player Who Played With His Heart & Soul
-hanqiang1011 / KAKA
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
A Striker or Player Who Can Score 20 Goals/Season
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
daylight
25-01-2006, 01:05 PM
I agree with your point, thats why in my opionion we need strikers with better conversion rate not aiming to be top scorer alone ;)
if moro n cisse can start scoring regularly, rafa will be laughing all the way to the EPL title next season.
who cares what players chelsea bring in next season
peregrinus
25-01-2006, 01:05 PM
I never seen Cisse playing for France in the World Cup qualifiers or international friendly. But from my collegues who are France international team fans says Cisse played better when compared to him playing for Liverpool.
True?
nestasan
25-01-2006, 01:13 PM
if rafa wants someone relatively cheap and is already suited to the premiership, i'd say yakubu from middlesborough, 7mil pounds from portsmouth, and wont be very much higher if boro dont have a good season this year.
scores more goals than anyone else (even van nistelrooy) over 3 seasons other than henry, lots of pace, very strong on the ball, and most importantly, from what i see from him at boro, very unselfish and involved in team's play. so many occasions he could have just whacked it in himself but he chose to lay it on for others, only for mendieta and co. to screw it up for him. all that and lousy service from his midfield and he's still one of the top scorers in the league now. if boro do get relegated or end up finishing really low then it really paves the way for benitez to sign him.
but we should just leave it to the manager... in rafa we trust... :)
SongLongZi
25-01-2006, 03:29 PM
i tot rafa should sign yakubu when he was avaliable...too bad boro got him..maybe can try to sign colins john from fulham?..both of them imho looks promising..
SongLongZi
25-01-2006, 03:32 PM
I say get Robbie Fowler back.
You can never get a better footballer than one who is grateful to you for trusting him again.
oh no no no...i think robbie has alr past his prime..no offence..
silent_espy
25-01-2006, 05:00 PM
So if you know so much about soccer why dont you go and take over benitez? Stop going around talking like you're so damn gd at managing and calling out for a 20-goal a season striker. How much do you think he'll cost? We had owen and fowler last time they are both 20 goals a season strikers but we didnt win the premier league back then. Even fernando morientes was a 20 goals a season striker back then but hes not adapting well here just like cisse. Even van nisterooy who kept scoring when he 1st went to man utd has dipped in form. The most important thing in football is teamwork and how the team gells. You want liverpool to be another real madrid? They have many big name strikers there but i dont see them winning the league. I think we should trust benitez and let him mould the squad.
silent_espy
25-01-2006, 05:10 PM
Nobody labelled cisse incompetent when we 1st signed him from auxerre i bet most liverpool fans were celebrating his capture as he was one of the hottest talents in france at that moment. He was really a 20-goals a season striker back then, even man u considered him before they bought saha. Now just cos hes not playing well and hes missing chances everyone wants to slaughter him, what if he went over to man utd instead of pool and started scoring goals? I bet everyone would say "we should've gotten cisse." Morientes too was a big name striker his conversion rate in the primera ligue was quite gd even when he was at monaco he was like a GOD there. We should just give our strikers some more time.
nestasan
25-01-2006, 05:13 PM
A Striker or Player Who Played With His Heart & Soul
-hanqiang1011 / KAKA
-nestasan / Yakubu
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-nestasan / Yakubu
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
barbell
25-01-2006, 05:15 PM
No what..at least for me I never target any players if the team lose or win. From the start till now, I only target Cisse and Garcia. No body else.
Mohawks
25-01-2006, 05:17 PM
well... since you're talking about strikers who can score 20goals /season
-nestasan / Yakubu
-Crouchie
-Cisse
-Morientes
-
-
they CAN score 20 goals...but whether they actually do or not this season is a different story :D
their potential is there, but ultimately the team winning is more important (even if the striker has to track back to help defend)
TitanSmall
25-01-2006, 06:44 PM
okay.. maybe its the frustration of losing to man utd. but frm this match.. our weakness is shown to all.. our striking department.. not tat im asking for cisse morientes or coruch's head to roll.. but if we hav a striker dat juz need one chance to score.. isnt it better? we were all saying owen becoz last summer he really looked like hes coming back and i think its still a possibility..
toking abt linking up play.. i dun think cisse is in anyway better than owen? owen can be non-existence for 80 mins and den suddenly pop up to score one goal.. as someone said.. you dun score you dun win..
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 06:52 PM
So if you know so much about soccer why dont you go and take over benitez? Stop going around talking like you're so damn gd at managing and calling out for a 20-goal a season striker. How much do you think he'll cost? We had owen and fowler last time they are both 20 goals a season strikers but we didnt win the premier league back then. Even fernando morientes was a 20 goals a season striker back then but hes not adapting well here just like cisse. Even van nisterooy who kept scoring when he 1st went to man utd has dipped in form. The most important thing in football is teamwork and how the team gells. You want liverpool to be another real madrid? They have many big name strikers there but i dont see them winning the league. I think we should trust benitez and let him mould the squad.
If u get offended with what i have said earlier, i am sorry to say this is the reason why i said so. Eventhou i hate to agree on this but the way how Ferdinand score is NOT LUCK he did it with good positioning and skill. If i had misunderstand what you are trying to imply then i shall apologized.
I had never mentioned I know everything about soccer jus stating my opinion :) and I have NEVER say we need someone who score 20 goal but a striker with better conversion rate. I agree teamwork is important but i shall repeat again ... IF U DUN SCORE U DUN WIN :)
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 06:54 PM
okay.. maybe its the frustration of losing to man utd. but frm this match.. our weakness is shown to all.. our striking department.. not tat im asking for cisse morientes or coruch's head to roll.. but if we hav a striker dat juz need one chance to score.. isnt it better? we were all saying owen becoz last summer he really looked like hes coming back and i think its still a possibility..
toking abt linking up play.. i dun think cisse is in anyway better than owen? owen can be non-existence for 80 mins and den suddenly pop up to score one goal.. as someone said.. you dun score you dun win..
Finally someone who get the idea ...sigh nobody understand mi :s13:
RadEoNic
25-01-2006, 07:18 PM
actually, i think the reason y our strikers r not banging goals on a daily basis is cos rafa stress alot on teamwork.
he rather the striker lay off the ball for a chance at goal rather than the striker himself take the half chance at goal, unless he really no choice at all like crouch's first goal, when he's all alone up front with no one to lay the ball to
silent_espy
25-01-2006, 07:28 PM
If u get offended with what i have said earlier, i am sorry to say this is the reason why i said so. Eventhou i hate to agree on this but the way how Ferdinand score is NOT LUCK he did it with good positioning and skill. If i had misunderstand what you are trying to imply then i shall apologized.
I had never mentioned I know everything about soccer jus stating my opinion :) and I have NEVER say we need someone who score 20 goal but a striker with better conversion rate. I agree teamwork is important but i shall repeat again ... IF U DUN SCORE U DUN WIN :)
i apologise for the outburst and i agree with u that we must score to win but i think the lads just need more time. Lets look to the portsmouth game to see if we can bounce back :)
__CcW__
25-01-2006, 07:37 PM
football is a team game.. no use to single out 1 player and put all the blame on him.. when a team lose, it's the whole team's fault.. nt just 1 player's fault..
aa4f4fsd47
25-01-2006, 07:37 PM
Liverpool match is over liao lahh.. We got more important matches to follow.
Next up is Portsmouth followed by Arsenal and Chelsea !
Anyway Mark Gonzales permit appeal result will be released today. I hope he will be granted because he has so far impressed all his teammates during training till now.
His agent has been quoted (on Spanish radio) as saying that there is still a chance that he will be granted a work pemit before the transfer deadline.......fingers crossed.
AhHuat
25-01-2006, 08:14 PM
tsk tsk
even wigan's jason roberts posed much more danger to opponent's defense than cisse
Neo_Genesis
25-01-2006, 09:08 PM
i apologise for the outburst and i agree with u that we must score to win but i think the lads just need more time. Lets look to the portsmouth game to see if we can bounce back :)
No problem bro, this only goes to show how much we love our club else we wun be borther with all these debate ;) . I dun think Raf will field our first eleven, the new players and some reserve players should get a chance to start. Good chance for us to see how they actually fair.
Anyway YNWA :)
aa4f4fsd47
25-01-2006, 09:48 PM
http://spaces.msn.com/members/worldcup-es-uk/
Alonso's blog on his route to world cup !
bwaysaibi
25-01-2006, 11:16 PM
actually, i think the reason y our strikers r not banging goals on a daily basis is cos rafa stress alot on teamwork.
he rather the striker lay off the ball for a chance at goal rather than the striker himself take the half chance at goal, unless he really no choice at all like crouch's first goal, when he's all alone up front with no one to lay the ball to
anyone rem last season
drogba was complaining ...sort of
during off season that last season he didnt get to score much becos
mourinho wants him to do defend as well
so actualli u can see
jose and rafa havevery similar approach
pragmatic, efficient, teamwork
victorian07
25-01-2006, 11:26 PM
interesting read.
qwertzy
25-01-2006, 11:54 PM
[QUOTE=Didjerama]
[QUOTE]
nice rhyme....Evra the Average!
qwertzy
26-01-2006, 12:17 AM
totally agree.
We already know the market is unrealistic. Rio Ferdinand cost 30m GBP, Rooney cost 27 GBP. Totally way above market price.
So according to Rafa, we shld never buy these players? If we refuse to compete for world-class players, be prepared to play second fiddles to world-class teams like Man U and Chelsea. Even Wenger is prepared to pay for world-class players sometimes.
Seriously, we are really competing with the likes of Spurs, Aston Villa and Newcastle, who have roughly the same budget as Liverpool. With that in mind, we have already over-achieved. let's not slag our boys too hard yea?
Lastly, its a real pity, coz our team is really solid. Owen is the missing link to a superb team, but rafa is too stubborn to see that. Great that you pointed out his stubborn trait. Now it all makes sense....sigh.
aa4f4fsd47
26-01-2006, 12:20 AM
Reds fail in Gonzalez appeal
Story by Adam Bryant
25 January 2006
Liverpool have failed in their attempts to secure a work permit for Mark Gonzalez.
The Chilean winger will now return to La Liga, on loan to Real Sociedad for the remainder of the season.
Liverpool hope Gonzalez will have secured EU citizenship by May, allowing him to join up with the squad for pre-season.
crazynut06
26-01-2006, 12:29 AM
totally agree.
We already know the market is unrealistic. Rio Ferdinand cost 30m GBP, Rooney cost 27 GBP. Totally way above market price.
So according to Rafa, we shld never buy these players? If we refuse to compete for world-class players, be prepared to play second fiddles to world-class teams like Man U and Chelsea. Even Wenger is prepared to pay for world-class players sometimes.
Seriously, we are really competing with the likes of Spurs, Aston Villa and Newcastle, who have roughly the same budget as Liverpool. With that in mind, we have already over-achieved. let's not slag our boys too hard yea?
Lastly, its a real pity, coz our team is really solid. Owen is the missing link to a superb team, but rafa is too stubborn to see that. Great that you pointed out his stubborn trait. Now it all makes sense....sigh.
i dun think owen is the missing link...y buy him back and see him getting injured all the time?...it's not worth it to sell him 8m and buy back at 17m..tat's crazy...in the first place if he realli love liverpool, he shd not have left the club...during the 12 unbeaten run, not much complain...and oni after 1 defeat...so many start to say cisse...when he scored goals, y din u guys criticise him....soccer is a team game...not a 1 man team....buying owen wun solve the prob....i will prefer to see a liverpool with gd teamwork and play as a team
barbell
26-01-2006, 01:04 AM
tsk tsk
even wigan's jason roberts posed much more danger to opponent's defense than cisse
The problem with Cisse, the way I see it, is not that he doesn't have the skill.
The thing he doesn't have is the will, the hunger, and a good footballing brain.
You can see it from his attitude.
Tobbie
26-01-2006, 01:21 AM
totally agree.
sorrie mate. i have to disagree with you. Owen is not the missing link in my opinon. pool is building a great team. but to buy someone so over priced can only be done by chelsea. like rafa says, pay for the true value of a player. there are far better players than owen which MIGHT come in a cheaper price.
sinned_82
26-01-2006, 01:27 AM
hmm.... seems like a boogey site to me... some fan loves him so much so that he impersonates Xabi? read it with a pinch of salt :s13:
still interesting though...
qwertzy
26-01-2006, 01:34 AM
i dun think owen is the missing link...y buy him back and see him getting injured all the time?...it's not worth it to sell him 8m and buy back at 17m..tat's crazy...in the first place if he realli love liverpool, he shd not have left the club...during the 12 unbeaten run, not much complain...and oni after 1 defeat...so many start to say cisse...when he scored goals, y din u guys criticise him....soccer is a team game...not a 1 man team....buying owen wun solve the prob....i will prefer to see a liverpool with gd teamwork and play as a team
ok...2 separate issues, but somehow linked:
About Owen:
somehow i tink you all confuse the concept of "buying low, selling high" with running a soccer team. That concept is used in businesses where making money is the sole aim, like buying stocks or running a import-export business. Soccer is a much more open-ended business, where the ultimate aim is not about making money, but rather about winning trophies.
For example, when Owen left us for 8m, the business was done deal long ago. When he was available again in summer for 16m, the 8m deal was HISTORY. The fact is a player with the calibre of Owen is around 12m. Newcastle probably overpaid by a few million, such is their desperation for a "messiah". I suspect Liverpool is not willing to pay anything more than 8m back for his services, which i tink, is pure bollocks. No logic watsoever. And if Liverpool had offered 14m, maybe, just maybe, we would succeed. But no, the official stand was, we were not willing to be "cuckolded by real madrid". sentimentality at work...sigh.
About Cisse:
I was one of those fans who were pretty excited at this young talent from Auxerre last time, and similarly disappointed when he delayed his arrival season after season from France. I remembered he scored 2 goals on his home debut against Chelsea, and i tot, hmm, wat a great buy!
But alas, fate intervened with a cruel twist. Cisse broke his legs into 2 pieces. I'm sure everybody's hearts went out to this promising striker who showed tremendous pace and good finishing. When he defied the odds and came back, he actually scored! So all's well that ends well. That was the story of cisse's 04/05 season.
Cisse's 05/06 season took on a twist. Equally cruel, but this time, directed at poor Liverpool supporters who watch the game on telly. The real Cisse showed up. He seemed like someone bereth of footballing brains, and only know how to push the ball up and run after it. How many times do we see him running the ball to touchline and out for a goalkick? And if he actually succeeded in outsprinting the defender, how many times do we see him cross to Row Z?
If being bereft of footballing ideas is forgivable, then at least he should be attacking balls crossed to him. But no! He shrieked away from the ball time and again! Quoting from the most recent game (vs Man U), he turned his head away as the ball came to him. The ball hit the back of his head instead of his forehead, and the ball spun to safety. On the other hand, we see RVN and saha throwing their bodies forward, or stretching their legs to breaking points every time they sense an opportunity. I have never seen Cisse done this before. I don't know why, isszt laziness? or poor anticipation?
Lastly, what made me fuming with exasperation was his fancy backpasses, mostly to a grateful Gary Neville. And broke down an otherwise promising Liverpool in the final third of the field! Uncountable times. Nowadays, when Cisse makes a complete pass to a teammate from 2 yards out, I am happy for him. That's how low my expectation of him is nowadays.
nestasan
26-01-2006, 01:49 AM
totally agree.
yes, according to rafa, we should never buy these players. and i tend to agree with him. we firstly dont have the money like man utd and chelsea to shell out on these players. arsenal has world class players, without doubt, but what were they when they first arrived at highbury? henry, pires, vieira, anelka, and soon to be van persie, fabregas, etc. all of them arrived at a fraction of a price of their worth when they peaked at arsenal. that's what benitez is aiming for, because realistically, that's probably all the money he has to spend. liverpool's board is stingy, mind you, which explains why our record transfer is only 14mil pounds and we have only ever bought 4 players over 10mil pounds (alonso, heskey, cisse, diouf at 10).
even at valencia, benitez has never bought any world class players, he instead made them world class while under his charge (baraja, canizares, vicente, aimar, ayala. mendieta must have wished he had stayed slightly longer). he is likely to do this again here.
Major_Bungholio
26-01-2006, 02:02 AM
I think we should pool our money together, buy some Tongkat Ali for our Fandi Ahmad...and request SIA to fly him to Liverpool to play as striker...free loan from Singapore!! :s13:
Major_Bungholio
26-01-2006, 02:03 AM
And also give Lim Tong Hai to Chelsea as defender...free of charge!!!
Like this combo... Liverpool sure grab the EPL title liaozzzzzzz .......LOL :s13: :s13:
Tobbie
26-01-2006, 03:12 AM
About Owen:
somehow i tink you all confuse the concept of "buying low, selling high" with running a soccer team. That concept is used in businesses where making money is the sole aim, like buying stocks or running a import-export business. Soccer is a much more open-ended business, where the ultimate aim is not about making money, but rather about winning trophies.
For example, when Owen left us for 8m, the business was done deal long ago. When he was available again in summer for 16m, the 8m deal was HISTORY. The fact is a player with the calibre of Owen is around 12m. Newcastle probably overpaid by a few million, such is their desperation for a "messiah". I suspect Liverpool is not willing to pay anything more than 8m back for his services, which i tink, is pure bollocks. No logic watsoever. And if Liverpool had offered 14m, maybe, just maybe, we would succeed. But no, the official stand was, we were not willing to be "cuckolded by real madrid". sentimentality at work...sigh.
Do you think Owen worth 16 million? I personally do not think so. He has not score more than 20 goals a season for Liverpool or Real Madrid for that matter. In fact, not a lot of top clubs think so too. Man Utd & Arsenal (and maybe Chelsea) do not think so too.
Now if you are talking about Henry or Eto. That's totally worth every penny. :D
barbell
26-01-2006, 04:33 AM
About Owen:
Not correct. The ultimate aim is to make money. They do it by winning trophies.
So end of the day the dollars and cents are important. There are salary to pay. There are facilities to maintain. There are new equipments to be purchased. All these cost money. And you need to make money to pay for all these.
Man U is even worse. The are a public traded company. You can even buy their shares. And they have to make money.....if not, who will buy their shares? Anybody will tell you that the sole existment for a public traded company is to make money.
So trophies is just a mean for them to make money. Because of this, you cannot tell them to splash out any amount of money in their bank just to buy someone.
barbell
26-01-2006, 04:34 AM
Do you think Owen worth 16 million? I personally do not think so. He has not score more than 20 goals a season for Liverpool or Real Madrid for that matter. In fact, not a lot of top clubs think so too. Man Utd & Arsenal (and maybe Chelsea) do not think so too.
Now if you are talking about Henry or Eto. That's totally worth every penny. :D
nah..I got a feeling that if Henry or Eto comes to Pool, they will become impotent in front of goal also.
victorian07
26-01-2006, 04:53 AM
Owen definitely not worth 16-17million pounds.
so stop lamenting and keep going abt why Liverpool nv sign Owen. it's just not worth it that's all.
blanket
26-01-2006, 05:40 AM
So end of the day the dollars and cents are important. There are salary to pay. There are facilities to maintain. There are new equipments to be purchased. All these cost money. And you need to make money to pay for all these.
Man U is even worse. The are a public traded company. You can even buy their shares. And they have to make money.....if not, who will buy their shares? Anybody will tell you that the sole existment for a public traded company is to make money.
So trophies is just a mean for them to make money. Because of this, you cannot tell them to splash out any amount of money in their bank just to buy someone.
man u now not listed liao..glazer family bought man u.
nestasan
26-01-2006, 08:52 AM
I think we should pool our money together, buy some Tongkat Ali for our Fandi Ahmad...and request SIA to fly him to Liverpool to play as striker...free loan from Singapore!! :s13:
fandi ahmad dont play play can... :) scored against inter milan in UEFA cup as a teenager when he was at Groningen. In fact Cruyff admired him a lot, and earmarked him as one of the future greats of European football along with Gullit, Rijkaard and van Basten, but he didnt remain in Dutch football. at a recent anniverary gala dinner few years back, he still remembered Fandi even though he's out of the European scene so long ago...
remember last time we used to have english teams like spurs, forest, arsenal play the national team in the 90s? each time they came, their coaching staff always asked about Fandi, but were put off from signing him due to his age at that time already.
singapore soccer's rubbish, but Fandi Ahmad... respect.
aa4f4fsd47
26-01-2006, 09:38 AM
http://tinyurl.com/87oz2
Hamann latest goal against wolves reserves which liverpool won 1-0
From the half way line again !
Velton
26-01-2006, 09:50 AM
The link is down leh. :o
aa4f4fsd47
26-01-2006, 09:52 AM
Just click once, it is a real player file
yourmother
26-01-2006, 10:18 AM
hmm...... virtaul striker style? :s22:
Mohawks
26-01-2006, 10:35 AM
http://tinyurl.com/87oz2
Hamann latest goal against wolves reserves which liverpool won 1-0
From the half way line again !
must be a standard part of Pool's training now... scoring from own half :D
Velton
26-01-2006, 11:09 AM
They can score from anywhere I don't care...as long as into opposition net can oredi. :D Even super deflected shot ala Lampa style also can. =:p
victorian07
26-01-2006, 02:35 PM
wah..the wolves keeper abit not professional lidat siah.. make no attempt to track back at all.
qwertzy
26-01-2006, 10:55 PM
ok. but statistics show that at least 70% of football clubs in britain (scotland, england) expect to lose money, year in, year out. In fact, the only few clubs which have successfully turned football into a profitable enterprise is Manchester United, and to a lesser extent, Liverpool, Spurs, Arsenal.
So, by logical deduction, why would any businessman with making money as the ultimate aim go into such an ailing industry with 70% failure? Why not do something wiser with the $$$? In fact, billionaires like Freddy Shepherd, Alan Sugar, Jack Walker all pay for club finances through their own pockets, out of sheer love for the club and for football. This isn't business at all. Call me naive, but I don't think money is the ultimate goal in the beautiful game.
aa4f4fsd47
26-01-2006, 11:03 PM
Liverpool midfielder Darren Potter has moved to Coca-Cola Championship side Southampton on loan until May 31 2006.
The Republic of Ireland U-21 international last played for the Reds back in October when the club were knocked out of the Carling Cup by Crystal Palace.
Earlier in the season, Potter played in six Champions League ties.
very niao rite? We should have used potter in exchange for Walcott!!!
barbell
27-01-2006, 01:33 AM
ok. but statistics show that at least 70% of football clubs in britain (scotland, england) expect to lose money, year in, year out. In fact, the only few clubs which have successfully turned football into a profitable enterprise is Manchester United, and to a lesser extent, Liverpool, Spurs, Arsenal.
Where did you get the idea that 70% of the football club in Britain is expected to lose money? Do you know what happen if a club keep losing money? They will go into administration and they will become the next Leeds United.
No..they are not expected to lose money. Football is not a charity industry. Get your facts right.
RadEoNic
27-01-2006, 01:44 AM
Where did you get the idea that 70% of the football club in Britain is expected to lose money? Do you know what happen if a club keep losing money? They will go into administration and they will become the next Leeds United.
No..they are not expected to lose money. Football is not a charity industry. Get your facts right.
yah...expected to lose money is abit :s22:
they make it a business by getting the teams to win trophy after trophy, or at least go as far as possible in a competition, cos every match they play, they win money, especially in CL
or at least earn enough to b in the black, not red
qwertzy
27-01-2006, 03:06 AM
actually through reading soccernet articles but can't find it anymore....but there are others. especially scottish league, other than Rangers and Celtic, all others are struggling and losing money. The financial situation is really quite bad and prevalent.
You probably won't make money
“Successful businessmen wouldn’t let expenditure get out of kilter with income, yet in football that is generally the case,” says Charles Barnett, a partner in accountancy firm PKF’s Football Industry Group. “The question is, will football have its time again.”
Former tennis star and owner of Hull City David Lloyd believes it won’t. “Gate receipts should equal player salaries and right now I don’t see how it can work out.” Indeed, two -thirds of clubs expect to make a loss this year, according to ‘Financing Football: Fit for business?’, PKF’s annual survey of football club FDs in England and Scotland. However, evidence suggests clubs are stabilising, with 70% of respondents not increasing their bank facility and not planning to use it in full in the next year.
http://www.growingbusiness.co.uk/YQPTZwdoQdWcCg.html
Here's another.
EPL clubs overall turnover remains the highest in Europe for 2002-2003. Registering a 10% rise to £1.25bn, with predictably Manchester United attracting the highest revenue - £175m - followed by Liverpool and Arsenal (both £104m). But while the top clubs were consolidating their businesses, most clubs struggled to make a pre-tax profit, with only Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Newcastle, Chelsea and Birmingham in the black
http://www.crikey.com.au/articles/2004/06/11-0003.html
Didjerama
27-01-2006, 10:57 AM
michael owen is not worth 16m in my opinion..yes,he scores regularly BUT he gets injured frequently.and having two push and run players is not worth it in one club...even though honestly,i would rather have owen over cisse.
barbell
27-01-2006, 11:32 AM
actually through reading soccernet articles but can't find it anymore....but there are others. especially scottish league, other than Rangers and Celtic, all others are struggling and losing money. The financial situation is really quite bad and prevalent.
You probably won't make money
“Successful businessmen wouldn’t let expenditure get out of kilter with income, yet in football that is generally the case,” says Charles Barnett, a partner in accountancy firm PKF’s Football Industry Group. “The question is, will football have its time again.”
Former tennis star and owner of Hull City David Lloyd believes it won’t. “Gate receipts should equal player salaries and right now I don’t see how it can work out.” Indeed, two -thirds of clubs expect to make a loss this year, according to ‘Financing Football: Fit for business?’, PKF’s annual survey of football club FDs in England and Scotland. However, evidence suggests clubs are stabilising, with 70% of respondents not increasing their bank facility and not planning to use it in full in the next year.
http://www.growingbusiness.co.uk/YQPTZwdoQdWcCg.html
Here's another.
EPL clubs overall turnover remains the highest in Europe for 2002-2003. Registering a 10% rise to £1.25bn, with predictably Manchester United attracting the highest revenue - £175m - followed by Liverpool and Arsenal (both £104m). But while the top clubs were consolidating their businesses, most clubs struggled to make a pre-tax profit, with only Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Newcastle, Chelsea and Birmingham in the black
http://www.crikey.com.au/articles/2004/06/11-0003.html
Yes, most of the smaller clubs are struggling, but they are certainly NOT EXPECTED to be formed to lose money.
If they are, all the paragraphs you have shown above wouldn't have sounded concern.
They are formed to create jobs, to make money for all the people involved in that club by providing an entertainment called football. Unfortunately most of these clubs are not run properly and they will never make it big.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.