View Full Version : Liverpool Forum (Anfield)
dy_lan
01-10-2001, 09:31 AM
Calling all pool fan,
Pool won their 4th match in the league and it's a great news for all pool fans
Next league match againist leeds...a must win match
but the next match,Liverpool begin their defence of the Worthington Cup against First Division Grimsby Town on Oct 9th
Think is a sure win match...hehe
chat everything about pool here for pool fans!!!!
www.liverpoolfc.tv
silklee
01-10-2001, 10:16 AM
Typical liverpool performance yesterday. Score an early goal, defend like hell and then counterattack. Anyway its 4 clean sheets in a row already.
dy_lan
01-10-2001, 10:45 AM
Here are the 5 upcoming fixtures in the EPL for pool
Saturday, 13 October 2001
League Liverpool v Leeds 3:00pm
Saturday, 20 October 2001
League Leicester v Liverpool 3:00pm
Wednesday, 24 October 2001
League Southampton v Liverpool 8:00pm
Saturday, 27 October 2001
League Charlton v Liverpool 3:00pm
Saturday, 3 November 2001
League Liverpool v Man Utd 3:00pm
zhapchit
01-10-2001, 01:02 PM
Originally posted by silklee
Typical liverpool performance yesterday. Score an early goal, defend like hell and then counterattack. Anyway its 4 clean sheets in a row already.
Well done Fowler. The goal he created for Murphy was superb. Too bad he got one disallowed for offside.
Hui_00100
01-10-2001, 01:08 PM
Can I mention a bit about the performance of Fowler last nite? Hmmm...I think he can & he should perform much better than that..with Litmanen on the bench, raring to go, and Owen's speedy recovery rate, robbie simply has to up his performance. He was somehow *hardworking* in last nite's game but other than running around closing down the defenders, whenever he gets the ball he seems to lose possesion.
He didnt hold the ball well, make any intelligent runs and was often caught offside without timing his run.
But credits to him for the improved performance, not impressive but better than that for the match against Spurs.
Still, he has a lot more to do, juz to stay in the squad.
Hui_00100
01-10-2001, 01:19 PM
Originally posted by zhapchit
Well done Fowler. The goal he created for Murphy was superb. Too bad he got one disallowed for offside.
As i've mention, the disallowed goal was due the fact that he didnt timed his run well, moved juz a foot ahead of the last defender before heskey release the ball.:mad:
All this is down to sharpness so hoped that he can improved it from time to time.
Nice through ball for murphy though, perfectly placed.
dy_lan
01-10-2001, 01:30 PM
Yup! Fowler will improve on his game provided he got the chance to play in the next few matches.... Hope he will get back his old form and stay in the squad....all pool fan dun wish to see him leave the club!
Well done Fowler and keep improving
zhapchit
01-10-2001, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by Hui_00100
As i've mention, the disallowed goal was due the fact that he didnt timed his run well, moved juz a foot ahead of the last defender before heskey release the ball.:mad:
All this is down to sharpness so hoped that he can improved it from time to time.
Nice through ball for murphy though, perfectly placed.
well... from another perspective, Heskey was abit slow in delivering the pass.
Nevermind about that, and even though the goal was disallowed, the finishing was superb.
Hui_00100
01-10-2001, 03:33 PM
Nevermind about that, and even though the goal was disallowed, the finishing was superb.
Thats wat fowler is capable of, but he had to get into those scoring postion more often, or else he cannot do anything with this gift of him.
silklee
01-10-2001, 05:53 PM
Personally I thought Fowler played poorly.
A number of times when the ball was played to him, he could not control it or would allow the defender to nick it off him. He didn’t win any headers either. He looked slow. Even murphy looked like he could outrun him. As for the pass to murphy, it was a simple pass.
Before I get flamed by people from here, I think I should let everyone that I am a big Fowler fan, but IMHO he is not the Fowler of 3 years ago. He needs to improve and fast. Look at it his way. We have Owen, Heskey, Litmanen and Fowler. With that Milan Barros guy coming to liverpool soon and add to that the fact the smicer can play as a striker, the competition for places is really hot.
I don’t know what will happen to Fowler. As much as I don’t like it, if Fowler still doesn’t perform, I think the best for him and Liverpool is for him to move abroad. Liverpool gets the cash (hopefully 15m) and Fowler gets a new start and I can still support him (I cant support him if say he moves to Chelsea, can I?).
dy_lan
01-10-2001, 06:01 PM
Me oso a Big Fowler Fan!!
Tho owen is making the biggest impact over the past two or three years, Fowler will still be my all time fav pool player.
I really dun wanna see him movin to a rival club in EPL, hope he can get back his form soon and stay at the club where he started his career.
princelim
02-10-2001, 01:21 AM
Mmm... not to demoralise but their passes are not gd...
besides, i don't think counterattack + defence like pack sardines will work for matches in the Champion League... (and some EPL teams)
zhapchit
02-10-2001, 06:33 AM
Originally posted by princelim
Mmm... not to demoralise but their passes are not gd...
besides, i don't think counterattack + defence like pack sardines will work for matches in the Champion League... (and some EPL teams)
It will be different depending on which teams they face. Remember how they got the result against Roma :bounce:
couldnt feel much happier
Spunky
02-10-2001, 05:28 PM
It will be different depending on which teams they face. Remember how they got the result against Roma :bounce:
Some people criticised them for the negative play. But to me, I think Houllier put his limited resources to good use and got the result.
I believe Liverpool will be changing their approach throughout the season becoz of injuries and weariness that will set in as the season progresses. It's a matter of time Houllier will play Litmanen & Fowler together. Heskey looks like he need a rest badly with inert 2nd half performance.
We may even see more of Redknapp and McAllister during domestic cup games. Got this feeling that Houllier is saving McAllister for the later part of the season to lead new faces when injuries really set in.
zhapchit
02-10-2001, 06:43 PM
by the way... it should be 'Anfield' not 'Anifield' :bounce:
:D
Hui_00100
03-10-2001, 04:15 PM
Anybody notices that Houllier has a habit of making substitutions only after 15-20 mins of play time left, unless theres an injury. I don't see his point~!!
Why not give some of the bench players a good 30-40 mins of play??
This way, not only are we bringing on some fresh legs and also more or less satisfying players like fowler (before owen was injured), redknapp, smicer, who have to sit on the bench most of time. :confused:
Spunky
03-10-2001, 06:12 PM
Anybody notices that Houllier has a habit of making substitutions only after 15-20 mins of play time left, unless theres an injury. I don't see his point~!!
Why not give some of the bench players a good 30-40 mins of play??
This way, not only are we bringing on some fresh legs and also more or less satisfying players like fowler (before owen was injured), redknapp, smicer, who have to sit on the bench most of time. :confused:
To me, the more obvious is Heskey who looked like he needed some rest in some matches.
zhapchit
03-10-2001, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by Spunky
To me, the more obvious is Heskey who looked like he needed some rest in some matches.
i think it's becos GH likes to use him as defensive cover for corners and free kicks... cos of his aerial capability
Originally posted by dy_lan
Yup! Fowler will improve on his game provided he got the chance to play in the next few matches.... Hope he will get back his old form and stay in the squad....all pool fan dun wish to see him leave the club!
Well done Fowler and keep improving
I am a Fowler fan, but at the way the coach and every one is pressing him, on 1 hand it looks like someone behind the scene wants him to leave badly.... I don't really know whats stopping him though. He's OBVIOUSLY not getting enough games to play, over shadowed by Owen/Heskey. I am NOT surprised if they suddenly buy a solid striker and simply kick Fowler out just like what they did to Westerveld. (I am still pissed at the way they chased wes out ...)
leonghui
07-10-2001, 12:25 AM
Not that I am critical, but I really cannot believe that anyone, much less a Pool fan, would actually CRITICIZE Houllier's substituitions!
If you actually watched matches from last season, you would be able to see that his substituitions are one of the main reasons why we got the treble last season.
How many times, have a Pool substitute came on and scored / created the winning goal. At the very least, the sub would come on for effective tactical reasons, eg, stabilize the midfield/ runout after an injury layoff.
In Houllier's own words, "the modern game is no longer about 11 men, the substitutes play as important a role."
This isn't Championship Manager, where we can rate performances and make subs at half time. Come on, let's give Houllier credit where it's due.
Hui_00100
08-10-2001, 10:42 AM
Originally posted by leonghui
Not that I am critical, but I really cannot believe that anyone, much less a Pool fan, would actually CRITICIZE Houllier's substituitions!
We are not criticizing the boss's decisions. We are merely trying to say that he only bring on his subs with 5-10 mins on the clock, when its obvious that some players are simply not in the game. For eg, the match against spurs, barmby was basically just running around like a lost boy, not contributing to attack nor def, so in a situation like this, i would xpect Houllier to bring on either murphy or smicer so that when we have the possesion, @ least theres another attacking option down the right flank, and also more cover for carragher.
The england match wa s a gd example, barmby(again), was ineffective and by half time Eriksson brought on cole for him(although i was hoping for mcmanaman).
dy_lan
08-10-2001, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by VX1R
I am NOT surprised if they suddenly buy a solid striker and simply kick Fowler out just like what they did to Westerveld. (I am still pissed at the way they chased wes out ...)
If you see the transfer rumours of most soccer website, you will always see liverpool link with other strikers from other club, like today i saw in one of the site saying pool is bidding 37million pounds for Tristan from Depo, think fowler chances of leavin the club is high when they sign another striker, milan baros is coming next month or so. hai~
Next is westerveld, he did a couple of big mistake which cost pool the game...but i dun think GH shld juz kick him out juz like tat, he oso save pool alot of times...
Spunky
08-10-2001, 02:04 PM
Next is westerveld, he did a couple of big mistake which cost pool the game...but i dun think GH shld juz kick him out juz like tat, he oso save pool alot of times...
I think Westerveld is simply 'suay' lah! If it was only Dudek coming to anfield, then there would have been healthy competition for the No.1 slot. But 'suay suay' liverpool was forced to buy both Dudek & Kirkland...
As for Fowler, I think Houllier has no choice but to look for another top-class striker. So far this season, bar that magnificent strike for England, Fowler contributed little.
The reason why Houllier has been successful this far is becoz he was fast to dispose of players who were inconsistent instead of waiting for them to hit form again. The 'wating game' was the mistake of Evan who stuck to his players so faithfully.
Sunwu
08-10-2001, 06:10 PM
Steven Gerard is my star player for the Reds ... watch the his body moves ... very similar to Shevchenko ...
anyway, gentlemen, anyone knows where to get the 'treble VCD'? Thanks ... :)
silklee
08-10-2001, 06:22 PM
If you see the transfer rumours of most soccer website, you will always see liverpool link with other strikers from other club, like today i saw in one of the site saying pool is bidding 37million pounds for Tristan from Depo, think fowler chances of leavin the club is high when they sign another striker, milan baros is coming next month or so. hai~
tristan is good but at 37 million????? anyway i think it is just rumours.
dy_lan
09-10-2001, 09:21 AM
Liverpool make late Tihinen move
Dunno this finnish defender can make it on the big stage or not
Think pool shld buy someone like nesta or cannovaro or other big name defenders...
anyway...sami did very well in liverpool..if he is coming, hope he can do well too!
i feel tat pool really need a center defender.
dy_lan
10-10-2001, 09:03 AM
Oh my god...pool kena knocked out of the league cup 2-1.
tho is not the most important cup but pool shld not lose at home to a lower division club..hai~...really disappointing man
cutter
10-10-2001, 09:21 AM
but the next match,Liverpool begin their defence of the Worthington Cup against First Division Grimsby Town on Oct 9th
Think is a sure win match...hehe
GRIMSBY are THE CHAMPS!! (after all, they beat the 'Treble Winners' in their own Di-Pan right?!?):laugh:
<take cover b4 outraged LiverBirds descend...>:laugh:
Hui_00100
10-10-2001, 12:00 PM
Yar...losing to Grimsby...wat else to say. But houllier did say some positive things about the match. We were by far the more dominating team but thier keeper were juz too gd and we do not have the fire up front to covert our chances(smicer & litmanen started).
But again, hands-up, no excuses for losing to a div1 side.
Juz as houllier said, "just one of those days."
:(
silklee
10-10-2001, 01:07 PM
Yar...losing to Grimsby...wat else to say. But houllier did say some positive things about the match. We were by far the more dominating team but thier keeper were juz too gd and we do not have the fire up front to covert our chances(smicer & litmanen started).
But again, hands-up, no excuses for losing to a div1 side.
Juz as houllier said, "just one of those days."
might be a blessing in disguise. League cup should not be priority this year. the league and the CPL should be given more important and we definitely do not want a fixture pile up like last year.
darthstar
10-10-2001, 01:28 PM
Losing to Grimsby really shows the lack of depth in the liverpool squad and the ineffiencies of players they have....
Houllier better sell of a few players and bring in new ones to bring depth to the current squad if he's hoping for a chance in europe
silklee
10-10-2001, 08:21 PM
i rather we lose against grimsby but win against leeds.
Hui_00100
11-10-2001, 11:39 AM
i rather we lose against grimsby but win against leeds.
Yar but we facing a crisis now...vignal out, henchoz doubtful. Only left Hyypia & Carragher. babbel not going to make it as well. I think shd be playing gerrad at rightback (hes back for the leeds game incase come of u didnt know), hyppia and carragher @ center, riise @ leftback. Or wright might get the right back slot.
But wat a suay time to lose 2 crirtical player, when we are to face the league leaders.
But we shd overcome them i believe.
dy_lan
11-10-2001, 01:26 PM
POOL MUST WIN LEEDS!!!!!!!
silklee
11-10-2001, 01:47 PM
Yar but we facing a crisis now...vignal out, henchoz doubtful. Only left Hyypia & Carragher. babbel not going to make it as well. I think shd be playing gerrad at rightback (hes back for the leeds game incase come of u didnt know), hyppia and carragher @ center, riise @ leftback. Or wright might get the right back slot.
But wat a suay time to lose 2 crirtical player, when we are to face the league leaders.
But we shd overcome them i believe.
crisis? i dont think so. of the, what we believe to be the best 11, only babbel and owen is out. Henchoz should be back soon.
smicer, redknapp, berger and fowler should all be back for the leeds game.
I think we had had worse injuries before. still i think we are missing owen. Hope that Milan Baros guy can come soon.
dy_lan
12-10-2001, 03:56 PM
Prediction for Pool Vs Leeds Match
2-0 to Pool!!!
Hui_00100
12-10-2001, 05:07 PM
i say 1-1...
*fingers crossed*
i say 1-1...
*fingers crossed*
Brain says Liverpool lose 0-2 to Leeds (based on current form)
but my heart says 1-1.
zhapchit
12-10-2001, 05:36 PM
Liverpool 3-1 Leeds
silklee
13-10-2001, 09:11 AM
i think it is imperative to at least get a draw tonight against Leeds. Of course a win would be nice but we must avoid a loss at all cost.
dy_lan
15-10-2001, 09:14 AM
Oh no...now pool is without manager GH...he needed rest, dunno can survive without him for the rest of the games ahead anot.
Hope pool wun do badly....now the form not really beri good...must not get any worse
Hui_00100
15-10-2001, 05:03 PM
Oh no...now pool is without manager GH...he needed rest, dunno can survive without him for the rest of the games ahead anot.
Hope pool wun do badly....now the form not really beri good...must not get any worse
Think he might not return b4 a long while (>1 month). But with Phil Thompson around shd be able to cope lar, unless Fowler try to ram him again~!!:laugh:
Kiwi8
15-10-2001, 05:35 PM
Seems that whenever Liverpool's going to have a string of good results & trophies, it finds itself compounded with problems.
1) Owen's injury
2) Loss to Grimsby
and now
3) Houlier's heart operation
cutter
15-10-2001, 11:05 PM
Poor Houllier... he'll be out of the game for the season at least, and at his age, may decide/be persuaded by family to retire. Souness had his heart op when he was far younger as 'Pool manager in 1992 and so could come back. Johann Cruyff aso was younger than Houllier (age 54) when he was forced to retire from management. With GH's 'body shape', he will take even longer to recover :(
Now Pool forced to hunt for replacement... like S'hampton when Dave Jones forced to fight court case, the replacement will likely become permanent. GH family + doctor will tell him dun play w/health n he has achieved enough at his age anyway. Wonder how bad the effect on team will be... sure will have hard time winning anything... foget abt Premiership...
dy_lan
16-10-2001, 11:10 AM
We'll see how pool will cope without the presence of GH in tmr game againist Dynamo Kiev and is a away game.
Maybe a win will help GH recover sooner...hehe
finger crossed:bounce:
zhapchit
17-10-2001, 08:45 AM
The lads did it. They beat D. Kiev 2-1 away :bounce:
Hui_00100
17-10-2001, 10:54 AM
yeh..but a pity Litmanen didnt get to play again.
Smicer was played behind Heskey instead.
Wondering why, esp after his splendid performance against leeds.
But since they won, i guess the strategy was right then~
Roar on~!! :happy:
dy_lan
17-10-2001, 10:56 AM
Yup..they did it..stevie got the winning goal.
Better chances to get into the second phase liao
Hui_00100
17-10-2001, 06:17 PM
Bring on Leicester~
Backlash possible?? (after the 6-0 thrashing by leeds & the 2-0 loss @ chelsea)
heng32
17-10-2001, 10:05 PM
Liverpool did us proud by beating dynamo Kiev away as their home ground record broken by Liverpool. The only English team first to broke their and even Man U can do it :laugh:
dy_lan
18-10-2001, 08:42 AM
Think pool next match against Les City will be a tough one cos city had quite a few of bad results in the past few games and in tis match against pool at their home ground, they will surely put up a good fight as Pool always dunno y so hard to win City in the past couple of yrs..always draw or lose...
Pool must win tis time round!;)
zhapchit
18-10-2001, 01:33 PM
I hope Fowler will get to play !
dy_lan
19-10-2001, 09:04 AM
I hope Fowler will get to play !
Yup, me hope so too, cos owen will be back soon and fowler must take his chances to prove his worth.....
Prediction for Les Vs Pool
1-3 to Pool
Hui_00100
19-10-2001, 09:23 AM
Yup, me hope so too, cos owen will be back soon and fowler must take his chances to prove his worth.....
Prediction for Les Vs Pool
1-3 to Pool
Hmm...i say we win 2-0. Hope fowler can finally break his goal drought (if he plays).
super45
19-10-2001, 01:32 PM
Nuff say Liverpool to win 4-0
zhapchit
20-10-2001, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by super45
Nuff say Liverpool to win 4-0
same
BurnLives
20-10-2001, 10:20 PM
Now leading 2-0, Fowler and Hyypia leading scoring the goals !!
xgwei
21-10-2001, 12:09 AM
HOORAY TO FOWLER !!
finally finding his mark n scored a wonderful hat trick !!
too bad espn never telecast....
leicester 1 liverpool 4
:D :D :D
super45
21-10-2001, 05:44 AM
Fowler is back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
zhapchit
21-10-2001, 08:05 AM
Originally posted by super45
Fowler is back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bring on Boavista!
Sunwu
21-10-2001, 08:38 AM
Bring on Boavista!
Still, Liverpool's defending needs improvement ...
alamak
21-10-2001, 12:44 PM
really hope fowler gets more matches with owen coming back from injury....... then we'll know if fowler will get back to his best a not.........
Matthew Fam
21-10-2001, 02:45 PM
Fowler definitely need more games, like what Leicester manager said. They lacked a clinical striker, dat's what fowler is famous for. If you replace Fowler on the other side, taking over Ade Akinbiyi position. Maybe Leicester might have won....who knows.
As for the defence, hopefully when Babbel & Henchoz returns. Maybe around next month or so, we can start to see a tighter defence, for now. Hopefully.....
Mr_Valentino
21-10-2001, 06:34 PM
I read up the soccer daily news that Liverpool want to sell Robbie Fowler, valuing him in 10 million pounds. Reportedly Chelsea FC, Leeds.
Wonder how true is that?
gibson
21-10-2001, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by Mr_Valentino
I read up the soccer daily news that Liverpool want to sell Robbie Fowler, valuing him in 10 million pounds. Reportedly Chelsea FC, Leeds.
Wonder how true is that?
No no no...
the God wun be leaving...
dy_lan
22-10-2001, 09:09 AM
YEAH!!
The God - Fowler's hat trick is wat he needed now.....
Hope for More goals from him!
silklee
23-10-2001, 06:24 PM
YEAH!!
The God - Fowler's hat trick is wat he needed now.....
Hope for More goals from him!
the third goal - the volley, was very very nice. clinical.
dy_lan
24-10-2001, 09:28 AM
Prediction Boavista Vs Liverpool game
this game is a hard wan to predict..both teams' form are good over the weekend...and Boavista home ground
but i still felt tat pool will come out top on tis one
pool will win by one goal
hehe
Hui_00100
24-10-2001, 04:11 PM
Same here, 1-0 to us.
zhapchit
24-10-2001, 09:59 PM
Liverpool to win 2-1
dy_lan
25-10-2001, 10:25 AM
Pool draw 1-1 in CL last nite
Murphy scored yet again....4th goal in 6 games
Ask you all pool fan smthing...
what do u all think of dudek performance so far????
i mean ever since he started playin for pool...
I'm still not impressed by the way he played for pool, most of the shots he saved were shooting directly at him. maybe he dun haf much to show...
Hui_00100
25-10-2001, 10:50 AM
Pool draw 1-1 in CL last nite
Murphy scored yet again....4th goal in 6 games
Ask you all pool fan smthing...
what do u all think of dudek performance so far????
i mean ever since he started playin for pool...
I'm still not impressed by the way he played for pool, most of the shots he saved were shooting directly at him. maybe he dun haf much to show...
I think he quite steady mah, not as mistake prone as westerveld. A more "reliable type" rather than a "spectacular type".
Hes very consistent lor, as compared to westerveld. Catches high balls well, made some important saves when he needed to.
U saw his save last nite against Boavista? The one he tipped Silva's header onto the bar in the 1st half..a very acrobatic save.
His agility is always a plus.
So must give him more time to proof himself lar.
Shingoz
25-10-2001, 05:02 PM
Hmm michael owen is now back and is almost certainly to play this weekend. But i dont think he will start the match. Most come in as a substitute. They will have a dortmund match 3 days after that. And that's a must draw match.
Anyone want to guess who'll start up this sat? Now that player rotation is so common. I'll guess it's lit and heskey/fowler? Both have been playing full match and might be tired. Just a wild guess.
hueman
26-10-2001, 12:15 AM
i think we need hyypia more than anyone else. The match against boavista was really quite disappointing. Hope he'll be back against dortmund.
zhapchit
26-10-2001, 06:48 AM
Gerrard too.
dy_lan
26-10-2001, 10:32 AM
tmr's game Charlton Athletic vs Liverpool
i hope to see mike owen and fowler partnership....maybe Litmanen will have a chance too cos maybe they wanna rest owen for the CL next week.
Hope Man U vs Leeds game will end up in a draw and if pool win charlton, den will be in the top two at least...hehe
prediction for tmr's game against Charlton
hope is a repeat of last season's game 4-0 to pool
but i think 3-1 to pool....
Hui_00100
26-10-2001, 11:24 AM
Originally posted by Shingoz
Hmm michael owen is now back and is almost certainly to play this weekend. But i dont think he will start the match. Most come in as a substitute. They will have a dortmund match 3 days after that. And that's a must draw match.
Anyone want to guess who'll start up this sat? Now that player rotation is so common. I'll guess it's lit and heskey/fowler? Both have been playing full match and might be tired. Just a wild guess.
I guess Lit & Fowler will start, really hope Lit can get more games coz whenever he plays, our attack seems to be more lively. Agree??
Shingoz
26-10-2001, 01:48 PM
tmr's game Charlton Athletic vs Liverpool
i hope to see mike owen and fowler partnership....maybe Litmanen will have a chance too cos maybe they wanna rest owen for the CL next week.
Most prob he will not start....at most sub in so that he can practice a few touches. I think they place more importance in the dortmund match. So that match will be heskey and owen. I think.
Shingoz
26-10-2001, 01:48 PM
I guess Lit & Fowler will start, really hope Lit can get more games coz whenever he plays, our attack seems to be more lively. Agree??
YEah! His skillful man. Always manages to get the ball around.
Hui_00100
26-10-2001, 01:55 PM
My prediction for this game....to win 2-0.
Shingoz
26-10-2001, 02:06 PM
Hehe....i dont like tp predict. Soccer is more than just skill and technique, but luck too. :)
Anyway their defense is something to worry though.
Think they will play Henchoz and Carragher in the center, Riise on the left and err Wright on the right? He performed well the previous match as a substitute. Hope he will play this weekend.
Hui_00100
27-10-2001, 11:00 AM
Hehe....i dont like tp predict. Soccer is more than just skill and technique, but luck too. :)
Anyway their defense is something to worry though.
Think they will play Henchoz and Carragher in the center, Riise on the left and err Wright on the right? He performed well the previous match as a substitute. Hope he will play this weekend.
Who u mean by HE? Stephan Wright?
He looks quite promising to me~
starting the match @ right back coz Hyppia is out. :sad:
Shingoz
27-10-2001, 04:40 PM
Who u mean by HE? Stephan Wright?
He looks quite promising to me~
starting the match @ right back coz Hyppia is out. :sad:
Yeah he's always been a bright youngster in the squad.
Though he's not very tall, but he's got the pace.
xgwei
28-10-2001, 09:27 PM
Hooray !! liverpool won 2-0 against charlton !!
Redknapp n OWEN !!!
dy_lan
29-10-2001, 09:01 AM
Hey not bad ley...ur prediction quite accurate....
Hui_00100
29-10-2001, 11:37 AM
Hey not bad ley...ur prediction quite accurate....
Haha...taiko 1 lar...
i didnt know Owen will play, if i know i would have predicted 5-0~!!
dy_lan
29-10-2001, 01:28 PM
Haha...taiko 1 lar...
i didnt know Owen will play, if i know i would have predicted 5-0~!!
yalor..me oso dunno owen will play..tot they will not start with him, can't wait to see owen vs man u defence this week
haha...blanc will have nitemare tat day...hehe
silklee
29-10-2001, 01:32 PM
yalor..me oso dunno owen will play..tot they will not start with him, can't wait to see owen vs man u defence this week
haha...blanc will have nitemare tat day...hehe
but Liverpool's defence also not in very good shape. Actually i thot Charlton should have scored at least once given the no. of chances they had.
I would be happy with a draw against man u.
zhapchit
29-10-2001, 03:42 PM
if fergie sticks with his useless formation it will be a definite win for Liverpool.
Shingoz
29-10-2001, 05:12 PM
but Liverpool's defence also not in very good shape. Actually i thot Charlton should have scored at least once given the no. of chances they had.
I would be happy with a draw against man u.
This would be a good result for both team. :)
Dont benefit leeds too much. :)
Hui_00100
30-10-2001, 11:21 AM
Our defensive cover seems very thin @ the moment. And since Gareth Barry is on transfer list, shall we go all out and get him?
Anyway we always wanted to buy a backup for the 2 SHs (Sami Hyppia & Stephen Henchoz). wat do u think?
Nawoo
30-10-2001, 12:15 PM
Our defensive cover seems very thin @ the moment. And since Gareth Barry is on transfer list, shall we go all out and get him?
Anyway we always wanted to buy a backup for the 2 SHs (Sami Hyppia & Stephen Henchoz). wat do u think?
Hahaha u sound as if u were gerrard houllier asking the liverpool board whether or not to buy gareth barry
dy_lan
30-10-2001, 01:16 PM
i feel pool really need another solid center back...as u all can see....without sami, pool defence really poor cos pool rely too much on him liao....look at the number of headers won by charlton last Sat.... really need someone who can win headers
zhapchit
30-10-2001, 01:32 PM
yah i agree :bounce:
Shingoz
30-10-2001, 02:18 PM
Anyway i thought he's coming backk soon for the sun clash with man utd? And i think he makes a good pair up with henchoz.
zhapchit
31-10-2001, 06:27 AM
Champs League
Liverpool 2-0 Dortmund
Smicer, Wright
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
rayzombie
31-10-2001, 06:39 AM
Liverpool is thru to 2 phase of CLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
HURRAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
dy_lan
31-10-2001, 09:18 AM
Yup
Finally thru to the second phase...
strange tat dor kept crossing low crosses into pool penalty box, tot they wanna high cross to kohler to head??
Overall, pool defence play quite well i must say
Fowler played quite well tho he only came out to play 10 over mins... ALL the bEST in the 2nd phase
silklee
31-10-2001, 10:09 AM
Last night, I think we all saw a tremendously professional performance. There were little slick passing or fanciful attacking. What we saw was tremendous hardwork from everyone, covering for each other, working their socks off, determined defending and rather good finishing.
I really like this idea of putting a wide midfielder to help cover for the fullback when we are up against good wingers or teams that need to win desperately. I think we saw it in 2 different occasions where it was put to extreme good use in recent few months.
First was against Newcastle’s Robert. Carragher was the right back and Murphy was deployed as the right mid to help him curb with the threat.
Last night, Gerard was there to cover for the inexperienced Wright on the right side again, to prevent crosses coming from the wing to the tall Kohler.
Murphy was on the left helping out Riise. If you cant defend the headers by Kohler, just prevent the crosses from coming in.
You might think that this might leave us a bit short in midfield but if you have 2 players, Gerard and Murphy, putting in the 110% amount of workrate throughout the match then I don’t think it is a cause for concern.
I think we would need more of the same against Man U come this Saturday.
Now lets wait and see who we get for group stage 2.
Hui_00100
31-10-2001, 11:06 AM
Yup it was really a great performance from them.
The wholr team worked really hard and denied Dortmund any clear chance on goal (rickens did manage to hit the upright though).
But i think our midfield was the key fo this match and Hamann was my Man-of-the-match. He worked his socks off to great efficiency and his performance was really top class.
Arsene_Wenger
31-10-2001, 11:17 AM
Well Liverpool deserve to win.. they did well
and about the Dortmund striker..the tall tall guy..if im not wrong he is czeh player..he sucksss...he cant run cant dribble..he is basically useless...
anyway Phil Thompson is good !!! he know which player to sub at the right time!!
dy_lan
31-10-2001, 01:45 PM
Phil's tactic really works, look at how many off side dor have?
Six during the first half and altogether more den ten over off sides. this will be frustrating for the dor players.
well done pool
Hope can beat Man U by the same scoreline..or more den tat
hahaha :p
BurnLives
31-10-2001, 01:56 PM
Arghhhhh, can't watch the match as I have to work today.....
alamak
01-11-2001, 05:02 PM
wow.... the team now has really changed for the good... perviously, i would expect them to lose but now they are really capable of winning any team when they're in form.....
WELL DONE!!!
Shingoz
01-11-2001, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by alamak
wow.... the team now has really changed for the good... perviously, i would expect them to lose but now they are really capable of winning any team when they're in form.....
WELL DONE!!!
Hmm has it got anything to do with phil thompson? :alien:
zhapchit
01-11-2001, 09:11 PM
Hmm has it got anything to do with phil thompson? :alien:
it's a collective effort :bounce:
you support both LFC and MUFC ? :eek:
Shingoz
02-11-2001, 12:51 AM
it's a collective effort :bounce:
you support both LFC and MUFC ? :eek:
Hmm oops someone noticed. :o
Errr it's a long story.
Let's just say i like these 2 sides. :)
dy_lan
02-11-2001, 09:28 AM
Hoho
tmr is the Big Match at Anfield where the mighty Reds Vs the evil devils from manchester..haha
the prediction for tat game will be
Pool 2 - Devil 0
Hope for the BEST
silklee
02-11-2001, 10:10 AM
Actually I think it might be good to get real in the second group stage. Real’s game is all about attack and will suit our counter attacking style. And I think we will not play them again until the finals if we are in the same group.
what you all think?
Whitelove
02-11-2001, 10:27 AM
So this week liverpool will be playing against man-u
So what the chances of liverpool winning the match..
Liverpool All the way :angel:
zhapchit
02-11-2001, 10:59 AM
Originally posted by Whitelove
chances ? pretty good! :bounce:
Tiesto
02-11-2001, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by Whitelove
Pool to win 2-1!!! You'll Never Walk Alone!! :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Cheers :D
Hui_00100
02-11-2001, 11:04 AM
MY predicton would be 1-0 to us. Cheers~!! :bounce:
silklee
02-11-2001, 12:49 PM
MY predicton would be 1-0 to us. Cheers~!! :bounce:
i would be happy with a draw just to keep our unbeaten run going.
Whitelove
02-11-2001, 01:03 PM
But i feel like we will win this game cos there are quite lots of main player in man-u who maybe injured...
Really wish to see liverpool win man-u at home ground ...
Just hope all the best
WIN WIN WIN
zhapchit
02-11-2001, 02:02 PM
hoping for a win but i think it will be a draw.. 2-2
alamak
02-11-2001, 09:16 PM
with their form nowadays.... how to think that they would lose to man-u... wow... it's has been a long time since i've the confident to say that WE CAN BEAT MAN U...
zhapchit
02-11-2001, 09:32 PM
hmmz Liverpool drawn into Group B of the Champions League 2nd Round .... it's going to be tough...
Group B
AS Roma
Barcelona
Galatasaray
Liverpool
Shingoz
02-11-2001, 09:35 PM
Now Phil's latest worry is whether to field Wright or Hypia.
What is there to worry imo, i would field hypia if i were him.
zhapchit
02-11-2001, 09:45 PM
Now Phil's latest worry is whether to field Wright or Hypia.
What is there to worry imo, i would field hypia if i were him.
Hyypia is definitely first choice :bounce:
Wright will get his chance eventually
alamak
02-11-2001, 10:47 PM
hmmz Liverpool drawn into Group B of the Champions League 2nd Round .... it's going to be tough...
Group B
AS Roma
Barcelona
Galatasaray
Liverpool
wha...... roma and barca were beaten by us during the route to the uefa cup are in the same grp.... interesting....... haha
Guys i need help here as i do not have scv and i want to watch the game on sunday against Man U anyone know of any pubs that show live football matches or somrthing like that ?
zhapchit
02-11-2001, 11:52 PM
Originally posted by kill
Guys i need help here as i do not have scv and i want to watch the game on sunday against Man U anyone know of any pubs that show live football matches or somrthing like that ?
The Game Pub at Tg Pagar... near Duxton Park..
sh_ang78
03-11-2001, 04:58 PM
Hyypia is definitely first choice :bounce:
Wright will get his chance eventually
Agree with you. Hyypia is the better choice.
As for Wright, let him get more experience first.. got a bright future.
dy_lan
04-11-2001, 02:45 PM
wha...... roma and barca were beaten by us during the route to the uefa cup are in the same grp.... interesting....... haha
Very tough group indeed, now barca is a dfferent team now with new and good striker saviola. Hope pool will get thru.
My pick will be barca and pool getting thru, roma not very gd in europe. so hope i'm rite
Shingoz
04-11-2001, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by sh_ang78
Agree with you. Hyypia is the better choice.
As for Wright, let him get more experience first.. got a bright future.
Haha...why not play henchoz+hypia center, wright right, carragher left then push riise back to the midfield left? :D
Wishful thinking from me....
zhapchit
04-11-2001, 10:12 PM
woohoo 3-1 !
Owen (2), Riise!
Great shot by Riise. Man, I swear he was trying to kill Barthez :D
Beating Man U has become a habit eh? ;)
alamak
04-11-2001, 11:23 PM
hahaha..... another win... this is just too great.... guess GH has indirectly spurred the guys on with his illness.....
BARCA, ROMA and GALA...... come on!!!
hope citytv have more of those live matches... hehe
BurnLives
04-11-2001, 11:25 PM
hahaha..... another win... this is just too great.... guess GH has indirectly spurred the guys on with his illness.....
BARCA, ROMA and GALA...... come on!!!
hope citytv have more of those live matches... hehe
sure have one, Those matches are titanic encounters leh
super45
05-11-2001, 05:37 AM
Beatin Man U is no suprise!!!!
dy_lan
05-11-2001, 09:20 AM
woohoo 3-1 !
Owen (2), Riise!
Great shot by Riise. Man, I swear he was trying to kill Barthez :D
Beating Man U has become a habit eh? ;)
Riise's free kick was really fantastic..one of the best and stunning free kick i've seen.Think any keeper will think twice to stop tat shot, cos might suffer a broker arm or hand Haha.
hope he can score some more and meet his target of 10 goals tis season
Hui_00100
05-11-2001, 10:31 AM
Riise's free kick was really fantastic..one of the best and stunning free kick i've seen.Think any keeper will think twice to stop tat shot, cos might suffer a broker arm or hand Haha.
hope he can score some more and meet his target of 10 goals tis season
Yup...1 of the best strikes for this season so far.
Feels great to see us score from a freekick, after all the "Veron-Beckham, Who is more deadly" issue.
Who the hell cares about the 2 botaks~!??
We've got Riise~!!!
Shingoz
05-11-2001, 02:54 PM
Hmm yeah it's a nice strike.
I belive there'll be more to come.
He stated that he targeted 10 goals as his target this season.
Hope he can get back to the left wing position.
But at the moment it seems that thompson is preparing for the berger return, keep letting him play in the final minutes. Looks like preparing him for a start.
Hui_00100
05-11-2001, 03:39 PM
Hmm yeah it's a nice strike.
I belive there'll be more to come.
He stated that he targeted 10 goals as his target this season.
Hope he can get back to the left wing position.
But at the moment it seems that thompson is preparing for the berger return, keep letting him play in the final minutes. Looks like preparing him for a start.
And Smicer is playing very well @ the moment too. Always willing to take on defenders and pump in nice crosses, made some telling runs last night and unlucky not to score with a good chance when he blast over his shot.
Berger showed some nice touches as well though, can't wait for him to get back to his best~!!
leonghui
06-11-2001, 12:20 AM
Smicer and Hamann, two players that caught a lot of flak in the beginning of their Anfield careers, are certainly showing their class at the moment.
Hamann is IMO, simply superb! I hate to think that we have to face Barce without him. He was the main reason why we could beat Roma in Rome.
Smicer is providing the creative spark that is driving the whole team! (Borrowing a line from CM01/02!) With Stevie G and Mecca currently not in their mindblowing form last season, we certainly need some guile from the middle of the park, Smicer provides that!
I hope to see our Czech connection working in tandem soon. Berger coming into form would mean more creativity, toughness and of course, shooting from the left.
blacklotus
06-11-2001, 12:48 AM
err...I don't think Mecca's with Liverpool anymore. :D Danny Murphy is the workhorse of midfield, imo. Great player. :D
Smicer is providing the creative spark that is driving the whole team! (Borrowing a line from CM01/02!) With Stevie G and Mecca currently not in their mindblowing form last season, we certainly need some guile from the middle of the park, Smicer provides that!
I hope to see our Czech connection working in tandem soon. Berger coming into form would mean more creativity, toughness and of course, shooting from the left.
leonghui
06-11-2001, 08:27 AM
Well, if you keep up with the latest going ons with the team, you will realize that that the Mecca in the team is now Gary Mac.
leonghui
06-11-2001, 08:29 AM
Murphy has been coming along in leaps and bounds. He is the one assigned to the flanks whenever there is a threat from the opposition midfield wide players.
Hamann is the one protecting our defence so well. But kudos to both.
Shingoz
06-11-2001, 01:06 PM
Hmm that could be one problem of Liverpool.
Too much talents to field. :D
Currently, i know of 2 cfm regular in their midfield under Phil.
That is Murphy and Hamann. Gerald maybe.
Then there is Smicer, Berger and Redknapp on a rotation. ( Any idea if our captain will ever be back? )
And when Babbel is back around new year, i wonder where is riiser going to play. *Headache*
Haha....
silklee
06-11-2001, 01:15 PM
Smicer and Hamann, two players that caught a lot of flak in the beginning of their Anfield careers, are certainly showing their class at the moment.
IMHO, Hamann has always been like that. the only difference is that Liverpool is scoring goals. if Liverpool has difficulty scoring *touch wood*, then people might start to criticise that hamann is not offensive and creative enough. That has never been his game though. he is a worker and very sound defensively. offensive wise, he is just above average.
Anyway i always thought that he provides a steadying influence in midfield and he covers the defence very well which i think is the reason why liverpool is so hard to break down.
Shingoz
06-11-2001, 01:20 PM
IMHO, Hamann has always been like that. the only difference is that Liverpool is scoring goals. if Liverpool has difficulty scoring *touch wood*, then people might start to criticise that hamann is not offensive and creative enough. That has never been his game though. he is a worker and very sound defensively. offensive wise, he is just above average.
Anyway i always thought that he provides a steadying influence in midfield and he covers the defence very well which i think is the reason why liverpool is so hard to break down.
Yah his role in the squad is a defensive one.
And i believe he has one of the highest passing rate in Liverpool.
Because most of his passes are short ones. :)
But i believe he has work hard enough to secure the place in the starting eleven.
zhapchit
06-11-2001, 06:04 PM
looks like it won't be easy for Redknapp to get back into the first XI
leonghui
06-11-2001, 11:19 PM
But when Redders do get back to his top form, we could get a player that gives up an added dimension from the middle of the park.
During the charlton game, he was head and shoulders the MOM.
Let's think, Redders on song is a younger, more physical version of Mecca. That might be stretching it a bit but Redders does have the creativity and passing that Hamann lacks. He also have more experience than Stevie G. In short, along with Vlad and Paddy, he's one of our midfielders in his prime.
zhapchit
06-11-2001, 11:42 PM
well... it's looks like there's strength in depth in almost every department. But mebbe the central defence is a bit weak still. Mebbe we need one more signing?
But then again... one of the youngsters might just surprise everyone :)
Shingoz
07-11-2001, 04:18 AM
well... it's looks like there's strength in depth in almost every department. But mebbe the central defence is a bit weak still. Mebbe we need one more signing?
But then again... one of the youngsters might just surprise everyone :) Central defence weak? I thought hypia and henchoz make one of the best combi in the premier league now?
zhapchit
07-11-2001, 07:54 AM
eh think i didnt phrase that properly...
i mean there isn't enough cover for that area.
silklee
07-11-2001, 01:54 PM
eh think i didnt phrase that properly...
i mean there isn't enough cover for that area.
actually i think liverpool has one of the best cover in central defence.
we have
hyppia
henchoz
babbel
carragher
traore
that can play in central defence. babbel is out and traore is on loan but that still leaves us with 3 to play 2. and i am quite sure we can get traore back if there is such a need.
Mr_Valentino
07-11-2001, 03:46 PM
Not forgetting young Stephen Wright.
silklee
07-11-2001, 06:41 PM
Not forgetting young Stephen Wright.
i am not too sure whether he can play center back or not.
Mr_Valentino
07-11-2001, 07:28 PM
Ya, yet to be proven whether he can play center back or not.
Stephen Wright is perhaps the most promising defender among Liverpool's emerging home-grown
talent.
He is much better than Djimi Traore in my book.
Shingoz
07-11-2001, 08:26 PM
Hmm got something to ask you guys.
When babbel is back, he would most probably play on the right.
So Carragher will be shifted back to the left.
So if Berger is back by then, where can our super riise play?
I personally would prefer him to play on the left wing, but i'm sure alot will argue that Berger is just as good, if not better when he's at his peak?
zhapchit
07-11-2001, 09:32 PM
Hmm got something to ask you guys.
When babbel is back, he would most probably play on the right.
So Carragher will be shifted back to the left.
So if Berger is back by then, where can our super riise play?
I personally would prefer him to play on the left wing, but i'm sure alot will argue that Berger is just as good, if not better when he's at his peak?
mebbe Riise and Carragher take turns...
but no worries lah... so many games to play... play against different teams need different kind of players...
rayzombie
08-11-2001, 01:01 AM
Originally posted by cutter
GRIMSBY are THE CHAMPS!! (after all, they beat the 'Treble Winners' in their own Di-Pan right?!?):laugh:
<take cover b4 outraged LiverBirds descend...>:laugh:
A small hiccup & liverpool is now on the way to the trophy......
LIVERPOOL 3 MAN UTD 1
If GRIMSBY dare to come again it would read as
LIVERPOOL 10 GRIMSBY 0.5
Liverpool give them half ball out of pity.
:laugh: :D :laugh:
Shingoz
08-11-2001, 05:21 AM
Originally posted by rayzombie
A small hiccup & liverpool is now on the way to the trophy......
LIVERPOOL 3 MAN UTD 1
LIVERPOOL 10 GRIMSBY 0.5
Dont be so complacent.
assaltus
08-11-2001, 07:57 AM
Originally posted by rayzombie
LIVERPOOL 10 GRIMSBY 0.5
The fact is that Liverpool LOST to Grimsby mate. Face it.
stupid question :
when is this Liverpool / Bayern Munich playing ?
I saw on Channel 23 about it but damn it! they didn't
mention the date, only 3am HK time
I've checked couple of websites but none mentioned
the game/results/fixtures etc
Mr_Valentino
12-11-2001, 11:49 AM
Is there a match between Liverpool vs Bayern Munich?
Maybe it the repeat telecast of the Super-cup.
BTW, Liverpool won, yahOO!
oddly, ESPN did not say it was a REPEAT telecast thats why I am
very curious if there's such a game going ...
can someone verify this, need to plan my weekends ! If Bayern
is playing, I wanna watch "the best of Europe" in Fergie's words
Mr_Valentino
12-11-2001, 01:29 PM
I'm sure, it is not the Champion League cos Liverpool
and Bayern Munich are in different group.
Hopefully both of them can make it the next phase.
Maybe you can check in www.scv.com.sg for SCV TV schedule
silklee
12-11-2001, 03:51 PM
Btw, isn’t Liverpool supposed to play in the World Club Cup against a South American team since they won the European Super Cup? Anyone has any idea when is it?
Mr_Valentino
13-11-2001, 04:36 PM
Liverpool supposed to play in the World Club Cup against a South American team?
Is it?
I have check with Liverpool's offical site web but there is no indication, leh.
Personnal, I don't think so too cos Liverpool's fixture is already very pack,...still got F.A coming soon.
nick_leo
13-11-2001, 04:46 PM
Btw, isn’t Liverpool supposed to play in the World Club Cup against a South American team since they won the European Super Cup? Anyone has any idea when is it?
Nope... only the European Cup Champion, in this case Bayern Munich, will play for the Super Cup and the Toyota Cup.
Bayern will play the winner of the South American Championship, irregardless of whether they won the super cup. Its a cup to decide which is better, europe or south america.
But i presume liverpool would be europe's best bet as compared to bayern....or hehe oliver kahn.
*wink*
silklee
13-11-2001, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by nick_leo
Nope... only the European Cup Champion, in this case Bayern Munich, will play for the Super Cup and the Toyota Cup.
Bayern will play the winner of the South American Championship, irregardless of whether they won the super cup. Its a cup to decide which is better, europe or south america.
But i presume liverpool would be europe's best bet as compared to bayern....or hehe oliver kahn.
*wink*
i thot last time it used to be the winner of the European super Cup (between the cup winners cup winner and the european champions cup winner) and the south american counterpart that will play in the World Club Cup. Since the cup winners cup is history so they play the UEFA cup winner and the champions league winner for the european super cup, so logically the winner should play in the World Club Cup. If not the European super cup play for what. :confused:
BurnLives
14-11-2001, 01:37 AM
Seriously if you see the Liverpool squad now , there are a great depth in it, each position are well covered, quite a lot of them are very versatile players. I'm expecting to see more success along the way. The last season treble is just the beginning of the awaken giant.
silklee
15-11-2001, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by BurnLives
Seriously if you see the Liverpool squad now , there are a great depth in it, each position are well covered, quite a lot of them are very versatile players. I'm expecting to see more success along the way. The last season treble is just the beginning of the awaken giant.
Lets hope you are right.
Shingoz
15-11-2001, 08:37 PM
Hehe...looking forward to sat's match ?
I just know that phil got sacked from the post of reserve manage by souness last time when he's in charge of liverpool lol.
Personal revenge? No says out Phil..haha but....what do you guys think? :p :laugh:
zhapchit
15-11-2001, 09:12 PM
Hehe...looking forward to sat's match ?
I just know that phil got sacked from the post of reserve manage by souness last time when he's in charge of liverpool lol.
Personal revenge? No says out Phil..haha but....what do you guys think? :p :laugh:
Watever it is.. i just hope Liverpool continue it's good run :bounce:
dy_lan
15-11-2001, 10:03 PM
This Sat Match againist BlackBurn
if pool putting a second team, maybe i guess the score will be a narrow one, win by 1 goal or maybe a draw, else should be no problem for pool to win tis match.
Think the match againist Barca is more impt, so i guess will rest important players for tat match :)
hope pool win and go to the top and hope leeds draw or lose the next game :P
zhapchit
15-11-2001, 10:05 PM
This Sat Match againist BlackBurn
if pool putting a second team, maybe i guess the score will be a narrow one, win by 1 goal or maybe a draw, else should be no problem for pool to win tis match.
Think the match againist Barca is more impt, so i guess will rest important players for tat match :)
hope pool win and go to the top and hope leeds draw or lose the next game :P
both matches equally important i think...
given a choice i would rather LFC win the EPL...
but would be good of cos if can win both :D
Hamstar
16-11-2001, 11:29 AM
lots of activity on the Pool board ..... :P
Good luck Pool and am looking very much forward to Sat's clash! :)
:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
zhapchit
16-11-2001, 01:03 PM
Originally posted by Hamstah
lots of activity on the Pool board ..... :P
Good luck Pool and am looking very much forward to Sat's clash! :)
yup hope this match gonna have lotsa actions and goals :D
Xlusionist
16-11-2001, 02:45 PM
Yeah man! :D
Shingoz
16-11-2001, 04:38 PM
Hmm i thought someone mentioned due to the impt midweek match some impt players will not play? Players like owen ?
zhapchit
16-11-2001, 04:53 PM
Hmm i thought someone mentioned due to the impt midweek match some impt players will not play? Players like owen ?
doesnt matter who play
win can liao
silklee
16-11-2001, 06:31 PM
I think there is a fair chance owen will not play the whole match. Just hope we can keep a clean sheet and take it from there.
Hamstar
16-11-2001, 10:43 PM
Hmmm....yeah! Looking forward to see goals from
Dunny :P
Duffy :P
and Dizzy :P
princelim
17-11-2001, 01:17 AM
I think there is a fair chance owen will not play the whole match. Just hope we can keep a clean sheet and take it from there.
Mmm.... I wouldn't agree... I believe Owen will play... at least for 30 mins or so...? Phil Thompson seems to like play all their 4 strikers in a match... by substituting.
Shingoz
17-11-2001, 01:21 AM
Mmm.... I wouldn't agree... I believe Owen will play... at least for 30 mins or so...? Phil Thompson seems to like play all their 4 strikers in a match... by substituting.
Haiz Owen might be "too precious" to be field for testing.
Rem how precious he is?
Haiz all these talks makes him looks "weak" man.
Mr_Valentino
17-11-2001, 11:48 AM
We are going to the top of the table, liao.
YAHOooooo!!!
Sunwu
17-11-2001, 12:53 PM
Do not under-estimate Blackburn Rovers ...
Unbeaten at home so far ...
Held Man Utd (though thanks to beckham's own goal) and trounced West Ham ...
Shingoz
17-11-2001, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by Sunwu
Do not under-estimate Blackburn Rovers ...
Unbeaten at home so far ...
Held Man Utd (though thanks to beckham's own goal) and trounced West Ham ...
Yes, it's going to be an exciting match. :)
BurnLives
17-11-2001, 08:44 PM
Yes, it's going to be an exciting match. :)
Latest scoreline Liverpool 1 Blackburn 0, Owen scored from header
silklee
17-11-2001, 08:53 PM
dont you get the feeling that liverpool is trying to bore Blackburn to death. but as long as we win, i dont care.
BurnLives
17-11-2001, 08:59 PM
dont you get the feeling that liverpool is trying to bore Blackburn to death. but as long as we win, i dont care.
Yeah, getting 3 points is our aim.
heng32
17-11-2001, 09:57 PM
The whole team played like ****. Liverpool doesn't seem want to win and no sense of urgency:mad:
Shingoz
17-11-2001, 10:20 PM
A draw is a good result for both teams.
princelim
18-11-2001, 01:38 AM
I think Blackburn plays with more passion and aggressiveness.
In all, I feel Blackburn should have won. They deserve a little bit more than Reds.
Well, than again, as a Reds' Fan, I am happy for Liverpool.
zhapchit
18-11-2001, 08:08 AM
It must have been a great disappointment for Phil Thompson. But oh well, Liverpool tops the table for now :D
Come on you Reds!
Sunwu
18-11-2001, 12:58 PM
Saving it up for Barcelona?
princelim
18-11-2001, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by Sunwu
Saving it up for Barcelona?
I hope Liverpool don't play like the way they played with Barcelona last season during the UEFA semi-finals. It was simply horrible football + shameful tactics...
Reds, don't disappoint me. Play good decent football against upcoming Barcelona. (Anyway, I think that shameful tactic only work once against Barcelona).
Shingoz
18-11-2001, 04:12 PM
I hope Liverpool don't play like the way they played with Barcelona last season during the UEFA semi-finals. It was simply horrible football + shameful tactics...
Reds, don't disappoint me. Play good decent football against upcoming Barcelona. (Anyway, I think that shameful tactic only work once against Barcelona).
Hmm everyone's saying because liv won them once meaning they have the advantage. Why not think it the other way...because they've lost, they have revenge desires burning in them! :bounce:
Haha..btw i dont think Barca's league performance is good at all now? Well, euro maybe another matter.
zhapchit
18-11-2001, 08:08 PM
why call it shameful tactics? yes it is boring to watch... but at the end of the day... it's the results that matter. No point trying to play 'entertaining' football but winning nothing in the end.
If the opponents aren't able to anything, they are lousy :D
Sunwu
18-11-2001, 08:13 PM
I remember a coach (can't remember if it's Bora) saying this: What is attractive football? Is it losing football? As long as we win, it's attractive football ...
zhapchit
18-11-2001, 08:25 PM
When Blackburn won the League years ago, they were being accused of playing boring football by some. To which Colin Hendry reportedly said, "I was never bored at all".
I don't the fans were bored either :D
Hamstar
19-11-2001, 01:02 AM
yeah .. no what, Rovers plays a very typical english direct game with attacking overlapping full-backs, excellent wingers, great ball winners in the middle and two superb centre forwards! ... 7-1 win vs Norwich, 5 - 0 vs Aston Villa, 7-2 vs Sheff Wed .... ah, the memories and very exciting to watch!!! :)
GK : Flowers
LB : Le Saux
** : C.Hendry
** : H.Berg
RB : J.Kenna
LW : J.Wilcox
CM : T.Sherwood
CM : D.Batty
RW : S.Ripley
ST : C.Sutton
ST : A.Shearer
oops ... this is a pool board! apologies :P ..... and good luck to pool vs Barca! :)
Hamstar
19-11-2001, 01:03 AM
dunnoe why
C B is censored .... weird!!! :confused:
You'll Never Walk Alone:D
zhapchit
19-11-2001, 07:11 AM
top of table! let's hope it stays this way until May :D
Shingoz
19-11-2001, 01:32 PM
top of table! let's hope it stays this way until May :D
Say if they stay this wk for a couple more week, they'll have a GREAT Christmas to celebrate. :)
zhapchit
19-11-2001, 01:51 PM
Say if they stay this wk for a couple more week, they'll have a GREAT Christmas to celebrate. :)
couple more weeks not enuff :D
all the way ! :bounce:
Xlusionist
19-11-2001, 04:19 PM
couple more weeks not enuff :D
all the way ! :bounce:
Yeah stay on top of the table!
alamak
19-11-2001, 08:33 PM
oooo.. entering the crucial pt of the season.....
sh_ang78
19-11-2001, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by LifehOuSe
Yeah stay on top of the table!
SURE CAN! YOU NEVER WALK ALONE TO THE TOP!
ALL THE WAY LIVERPOOL!!!
Shingoz
20-11-2001, 12:02 AM
Originally posted by sh_ang78
YOU NEVER WALK ALONE TO THE TOP!
So you mean they wil lwalk along with lots of competitors along lah? :laugh:
Others i dont care, hope Man Utd can chase up. Hopefully, with a series of good results sharing 1st/2nd with Liverpool.
Hiak hiak. :D
dy_lan
21-11-2001, 09:48 PM
A 1-3 defeat by barca at home is a bad start to the second phase for pool...tot they can at least get a draw but somehow they juz lost the fighting spirit....
Danny Murphy played below par in tat game...shld sub him instead of smicer...hope pool will get better result in the remaining games....Roma is next...aiyooo....hope will at least get a draw....dun lose again...
FINGER CROSSED!!!
zhapchit
21-11-2001, 09:50 PM
yup but first need to beat Sunderland this Sunday.. boost morale abit lah :D
3-0 pool win :laugh:
Mr_Valentino
22-11-2001, 01:47 PM
I think Liverpool should stop playing "soak and counter-attack tactic"
Look at the game at Blackburn, after a goal up, we just sit and defend.
In top-flight football it is never safe to bank on the odd goal.
Final result?
Draw.
It will not get result against like of Barca or Real. M, if Liverpool persists
in playing this way. :danger:
The squad has been celebrated as a good defensive team but I do feel
we are over doing it.
The whole line of midfielders playing in defensive midfield mode. :(
Nobody upfront support Owen and Hesky. :mad:
At least Liverpool early defeat in this stage of Champion League will wake them up.
Hopefully we get to see postive football from Liverpool this Sunday aginst Sunderland.
Will the real Liverpool please stand up.........:( :confused:
abit sotong, so is pool out of champions league yet after getting a slap from barca ?
silklee
23-11-2001, 01:34 PM
A 1-3 defeat by barca at home is a bad start to the second phase for pool...tot they can at least get a draw but somehow they juz lost the fighting spirit....
Danny Murphy played below par in tat game...shld sub him instead of smicer...hope pool will get better result in the remaining games....Roma is next...aiyooo....hope will at least get a draw....dun lose again...
FINGER CROSSED!!!
i think it is already a bonus we are in the second stage. if we do well, additional bonus, if not, it will be invaluable experience.
priority should still be the league.
Shingoz
23-11-2001, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by VX1R
abit sotong, so is pool out of champions league yet after getting a slap from barca ?
Sitll dont know, but we'll see.
They are in a bad group with a bad start.
zhapchit
24-11-2001, 07:02 AM
let's put the bad start to CL behind now.
Prediction for Sunday's match
Liverpool 2-0 Sunderland
super45
24-11-2001, 07:16 AM
Liv 4 sunder 1
dy_lan
24-11-2001, 10:49 AM
Pool 3 - 1 Sun
Mr_Valentino
24-11-2001, 12:24 PM
Liverpool 2 (Owen will get one) vs Sunderland nil
Will maintain top of the table.:laugh:
vincey
24-11-2001, 12:43 PM
is the match home or away?
Shingoz
24-11-2001, 04:19 PM
Liverpool 2 (Owen will get one) vs Sunderland nil
Will maintain top of the table.:laugh:
Hmm i think it's 2-0 too.
It's time Heskey have a goal.
Wonder who can stop Owen's scoring streaks.
Sunwu
24-11-2001, 06:27 PM
Liverpool 3 Sunderland 1
karoon
25-11-2001, 11:03 AM
Liverpool are believed to be preparing a daring £8 million move for Manchester United's disillusioned striker Dwight Yorke.
Yorke: Liverpool link
(GaryMPrior/Allsport)
Secret talks are thought to have taken place within the Anfield hierarchy to hatch a spectacular transfer deal between the Premiership's fiercest rivals.
And Liverpool, without recuperating manager Gerard Houllier until at least January, believe they can raise the cash for Yorke with the departure of £10m Robbie Fowler.
England forward Fowler, 26, once reluctant to leave the club where he is a cult hero, is now desperate to go.
He was recently advised by national team boss Sven Goran Eriksson that he needed regular first-team football to guarantee his place in next summer's World Cup squad.
Shingoz
25-11-2001, 11:34 AM
It's still rumous so far...but i wonder where will fowler want to go?
I believe it'll be another premier team.
cherabin
25-11-2001, 12:42 PM
Originally posted by karoon
Liverpool are believed to be preparing a daring £8 million move for Manchester United's disillusioned striker Dwight Yorke.
Yorke: Liverpool link
(GaryMPrior/Allsport)
Secret talks are thought to have taken place within the Anfield hierarchy to hatch a spectacular transfer deal between the Premiership's fiercest rivals.
And Liverpool, without recuperating manager Gerard Houllier until at least January, believe they can raise the cash for Yorke with the departure of £10m Robbie Fowler.
England forward Fowler, 26, once reluctant to leave the club where he is a cult hero, is now desperate to go.
He was recently advised by national team boss Sven Goran Eriksson that he needed regular first-team football to guarantee his place in next summer's World Cup squad.
First Macca left, now it's going to be Fowler's turn. Wonder who's next...?
heng32
25-11-2001, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by cherabin
First Macca left, now it's going to be Fowler's turn. Wonder who's next...? I have no objections that Fowler is going out. As far as I concerned he is not as sharp as before and it is better that he should seek some other clubs in order to play first team football otherwise his place is in jeopardy when the world cup season start next summer. I feel that the club interest should come first.
Shingoz
25-11-2001, 04:44 PM
Originally posted by heng32
I have no objections that Fowler is going out. As far as I concerned he is not as sharp as before and it is better that he should seek some other clubs in order to play first team football otherwise his place is in jeopardy when the world cup season start next summer. I feel that the club interest should come first.
It's sad to see Liv without Folwer....
And i'm sure he'll move to another premier team, in order to increase his chance of being selected.
I think there'll still be alot of team interested in him.
He just needs a new confidence to motivate him.
princelim
25-11-2001, 04:47 PM
First Macca left, now it's going to be Fowler's turn. Wonder who's next...?
Owen.
zhapchit
25-11-2001, 06:46 PM
Silly rumours.
cherabin
25-11-2001, 06:52 PM
It's sad to see Liv without Folwer....
And i'm sure he'll move to another premier team, in order to increase his chance of being selected.
I think there'll still be alot of team interested in him.
He just needs a new confidence to motivate him.
Yeah i would agree with you. We have seen many cases in which a player's career is being given a new lease of life after playing for a new club. If Fowler really have to leave, then all the best to him.
zhapchit
25-11-2001, 11:55 PM
Yesh! 1-0 win over Sunderland. A pity Hamann got sent off! Gee i think the ref's performance was terrible.
Sunwu
26-11-2001, 12:04 AM
hope that Leeds, Arsenal game will end up in draws ... :bounce:
Anyway liverpool will be on top of the table .
Lets hope that Man U dun win the match against arsenal !
leonghui
26-11-2001, 12:29 AM
GOODNESS! There are dozens of Hamann tackles going on in the Ars-Man U match!
And not a single yellow card! What a great match to witness! Full blooded affair that one, old chaps.
GOODNESS! There are dozens of Hamann tackles going on in the Ars-Man U match!
And not a single yellow card! What a great match to witness! Full blooded affair that one, old chaps.
Well life is not fair !;)
yeah...i thought he won the ball well...........excellent tackle
dy_lan
26-11-2001, 11:29 AM
Yup...still manage to win wif 10 men left on the pitch for pool
and with man u losing to arsenal and leeds draw...now pool will be two points clear on top of the table and with one game in hand too....hahaha.....anyway..beside the red card and losing to barca..it's has been a good week for pool in the epl...:)
Spunky
26-11-2001, 12:38 PM
Yeah i would agree with you. We have seen many cases in which a player's career is being given a new lease of life after playing for a new club. If Fowler really have to leave, then all the best to him.
Makes no sense that 30 yr old Yorke want to be at Anfield where Litnamen is not even on the bench most of the time!
It would be more believable if they report that manu wants Westerveld in their team!
I din watch the Sunderland match but heard the Fowler had a decent half. True? If he doesn't sign anything during the next 3 mths, I m sure he'll be on his way out.
As for Owen, if Liverpool end up with nothing this season, he'll probably go if the money is good (like the 40M pounds quoted)!
cherabin
26-11-2001, 12:56 PM
Makes no sense that 30 yr old Yorke want to be at Anfield where Litnamen is not even on the bench most of the time!
It would be more believable if they report that manu wants Westerveld in their team!
I din watch the Sunderland match but heard the Fowler had a decent half. True? If he doesn't sign anything during the next 3 mths, I m sure he'll be on his way out.
As for Owen, if Liverpool end up with nothing this season, he'll probably go if the money is good (like the 40M pounds quoted)!
Fowler had a really good game yesterday, i should say. Seems that the vintage Fowler is back with his accurate and deadly little flicks and turns.
Both Yorke going to Anfield and Fowler leaving Liverpool are still rumours although the latter is highly possible judging from the way things are progressing till now.
As for Owen leaving, i would say almost IMPOSSIBLE
zhapchit
26-11-2001, 01:49 PM
Fowler leaving? Yorke coming in? Soccernet is crappy. enuff said.
Barthez kinda reminds me of Jamo. :rolleyes:
Shingoz
26-11-2001, 04:40 PM
Hmm i cant find any news on liverpool.tv.
Anyway i suppose fowler being in the starting eleven has alot to do with the rumour?
Think abt this, if he were to go, which club can he go?
Rem his aim is to play RegulaR soccer...
Shingoz
26-11-2001, 04:48 PM
Hmm paiseh, just found out this. :D
Anyway, the fowler thing has always seemed more possible.
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N114224011125-1038.htm
Liverpool have today rubbished reports that they are interested in signing Manchester United's Dwight Yorke.
Yorke has been unable to hold down a first team place at Old Trafford since the arrival of Ruud van Nistelrooy, and several Sunday newspapers have today claimed the United striker is Anfield bound.
But Liverpool club spokesman Ian Cotton said: "It is complete nonsense. We have not made any approach or have any interest in signing Dwight Yorke."
Mr_Valentino
26-11-2001, 05:20 PM
Why would Liverpool want Dwight Yorke. ?
We have already four strikers and understand Baros
is on his way to Anfield.
If Yorke were to join, wow six strikers?
Ha, we will have the greatest depth in Strikers department.
BTW, we already have depth in goalkeepers.
Personnal, I would not want Yorke cos he already past prime time
and he is the kind of players like Cole just waiting for "durian to fell down on them."
Unlike Owen, create/dribble/score no problem
Shingoz
26-11-2001, 07:03 PM
Why would Liverpool want Dwight Yorke. ?
We have already four strikers and understand Baros
is on his way to Anfield.
If Yorke were to join, wow six strikers?
Ha, we will have the greatest depth in Strikers department.
BTW, we already have depth in goalkeepers.
Personnal, I would not want Yorke cos he already past prime time
and he is the kind of players like Cole just waiting for "durian to fell down on them."
Unlike Owen, create/dribble/score no problem
They're saying Liv wants Yorke because Fowler is leaving.
Anyway all these are nothing buy rumours till now.
And for Yorke, he is not the "cole" type if you haven't notice.
He's more of the man behind the striker. He can dribble very well.
More of a Lit type of player, though i would say Lit is much better at that.
mingz
27-11-2001, 11:50 AM
Owen is one person i respect a lot... his skills are superb... his finishing is good... his speed is... wow.... his has been well trained by liverpool and his is one of the top most players around now... but he is not at all proud...
i rem that time when he started being famous... when macca is around... owen stayed in liverpool ... macca left... i cant help but think of a owen having a gratefulness and thankfulness heart... he's good... but he's not proud... his skills and character is good...
liverpool all the way... ~ :)
cheerz ~ loL~ :laugh:
sandcastle
27-11-2001, 11:57 AM
Absolutely rubbish. No one is leaving.
mingz
27-11-2001, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by sandcastle
Absolutely rubbish. No one is leaving.
agreed.
aptget
27-11-2001, 12:20 PM
with so much rumours going on about Fowler moving to Leeds.
I'm just upset to see Fowler move (if ever) He's been a tremendous player. Did you guys see his dribble in Liverpool/Sunderland game ? A little twist and shoot (but missed) but it was superb.
Its just a waste to see him being over-shadowed by Owen and given less chances to play first team than Heskey. gezzz even Henchoz gets to play and he's not even performing up to standard.
silklee
27-11-2001, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by aptget
with so much rumours going on about Fowler moving to Leeds.
I'm just upset to see Fowler move (if ever) He's been a tremendous player. Did you guys see his dribble in Liverpool/Sunderland game ? A little twist and shoot (but missed) but it was superb.
Its just a waste to see him being over-shadowed by Owen and given less chances to play first team than Heskey. gezzz even Henchoz gets to play and he's not even performing up to standard.
the problem is he is not consistent, not scoring enuff and we dont often see him do those wonder tricks and come off with it.
And IMHO, henchoz is one of the best defenders in the league. even if you dont agree, you dont expect to play a one man central defence just to play fowler rite?
just my 2 cents and for discussion.
sandcastle
27-11-2001, 01:24 PM
Fowler is a wonderful player hitting a rough patch. He is a very natural goalscorer. Can score with left or right foot, good at headers.
Spunky
27-11-2001, 05:43 PM
Originally posted by sandcastle
Fowler is a wonderful player hitting a rough patch. He is a very natural goalscorer. Can score with left or right foot, good at headers.
to be frank, i think fowler is a bit rusty in front of goal and also doesn't really play in tune with those in the 1st eleven now. He's not like Owen who would chase down long passes. But sure hope he sign a new contract soon bcoz u can't survive the english season with just 2 good strikers.
as for leeds' interest in him, I doubt very much he'll bother. leeds has kewell, viduka, smith, keane fighting for a place and why shd fowler join in the fray?!
but if he's really going, there's 1 player who shd come over...kevin philips!
he's sharp and have very good goal sense. strike to ball goalward from all sort of positions, somewhat like shearer. a bigger club, esp one with lots of english players will definitely boost his england chance.
Virus
28-11-2001, 12:37 PM
Yeah ... I am thinking along the line of selling Fowler to get Kevin Phillips.
As Philips and Owen are playing the similar style of football, Philips can rotate with Owen as the role of speedy striker better than Fowler.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.