View Full Version : What Is DVD-R/W, DVD+R/W & DVD-RAM ?
brianforever
30-08-2004, 12:29 AM
There are 3 different DVD Recording standards, DVD-R/W and DVD+R/W have pretty similiar features and are compatible with many standalone DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs while DVD-RAM has less DVD Player and DVD-ROM compatibility but better recording features.
DVD-R and DVD-RW
DVD-R/W was the first DVD recording format released that was compatible with standalone DVD Players.
DVD-R is a non-rewriteable format and it is compatible with about 93% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD-RW is a rewriteable format and it is compatible with about 80% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD-R/W supports single side 4.37 GB DVDs(called DVD-5) and double sided 8.75 GB DVDs(called DVD-10).
DVD+R and DVD+RW
DVD+R/W has some extra features than DVD-R/W such as lossless linking and both CAV and CLV writing.
DVD+R is a non-rewritable format and it is compatible with about 89% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD+RW is a rewritable format and is compatible with about 79% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD+R/W supports single side 4.37 GB DVDs(called DVD-5) and double side 8.75 GB DVDs(called DVD-10).These formats are supported by the DVD+RW Alliance.
DVD+R DL
DVD+R DL or called DVD+R9 is a Dual Layer writeable DVD+R. The dual layered discs can hold 7.95 GB (called DVD-9) and dual layered double sides 15.9 GB (called dvd-18).
DVD-RAM
DVD-RAM has the best recording features but it is not compatible with most DVD-ROM drives and DVD-Video players. Think more of it as a removable hard disk. DVD-RAM is usually used in some DVD Recorders.
DVD Sizes
The DVD sizes can be a bit confusing. There are basicaly 4 different DVD+-R/W Sizes,
DVD-5, holds around 4 700 000 000 bytes and that is 4.37 GB where 1 kbyte is 1024 bytes. DVD+R/W and DVD-R/W supports this format. Also called Single Sided Single Layered. This is the most common DVD Media, often called 4.7 GB Media.
DVD-10, holds around 9 400 000 000 bytes and that is 8.75 GB. DVD+R/W and DVD-R/W supports this format. Also called Double Sided Single Layered.
DVD-9, holds around 8 540 000 000 bytes and that is 7.95 GB. DVD+R supports this format. Also called Single Sided Dual Layered. This media is called DVD+R9, DVD+R DL or 8.5 GB Media.
DVD-18, holds around 17 080 000 000 bytes and that is 15.9 GB. DVD+R supports this format. Also called Double Sided Dual Layered.
DVD+R/W/DL and DVD-R/W exact sizes
DVD-R/W = 4 706 074 624 bytes ( 4488 MB )
DVD+R/W = 4 700 372 992 bytes ( 4482 MB )
DVD+R DL = 8 547 993 600 bytes ( 8152 MB )
bozq2000
30-08-2004, 01:59 AM
ALL HAIL BRIAN!
(That's half the battle over...now for "How do I convert from DVD to VCD?")
brianforever
30-08-2004, 05:15 AM
Originally posted by bozq2000
ALL HAIL BRIAN!
ALL HAIL bozq2000 Too :D
Astro
30-08-2004, 06:53 AM
i wanna noe de diff too
make it sticky, mods:)
brianforever
30-08-2004, 03:30 PM
Originally posted by bozq2000
"How do I convert from DVD to VCD?"
Was thinking of doing that Too :)
Give me sometime for it, Alright Bro ?:D
Kiwi8
30-08-2004, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by brianforever
There are 3 different DVD Recording standards, DVD-R/W and DVD+R/W have pretty similiar features and are compatible with many standalone DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs while DVD-RAM has less DVD Player and DVD-ROM compatibility but better recording features.
DVD-R and DVD-RW
DVD-R/W was the first DVD recording format released that was compatible with standalone DVD Players.
DVD-R is a non-rewriteable format and it is compatible with about 93% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD-RW is a rewriteable format and it is compatible with about 80% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD-R/W supports single side 4.37 GB DVDs(called DVD-5) and double sided 8.75 GB DVDs(called DVD-10).
DVD+R and DVD+RW
DVD+R/W has some extra features than DVD-R/W such as lossless linking and both CAV and CLV writing.
DVD+R is a non-rewritable format and it is compatible with about 89% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD+RW is a rewritable format and is compatible with about 79% of all DVD Players and most DVD-ROMs.
DVD+R/W supports single side 4.37 GB DVDs(called DVD-5) and double side 8.75 GB DVDs(called DVD-10).These formats are supported by the DVD+RW Alliance.
DVD+R DL
DVD+R DL or called DVD+R9 is a Dual Layer writeable DVD+R. The dual layered discs can hold 7.95 GB (called DVD-9) and dual layered double sides 15.9 GB (called dvd-18).
DVD-RAM
DVD-RAM has the best recording features but it is not compatible with most DVD-ROM drives and DVD-Video players. Think more of it as a removable hard disk. DVD-RAM is usually used in some DVD Recorders.
DVD Sizes
The DVD sizes can be a bit confusing. There are basicaly 4 different DVD+-R/W Sizes,
DVD-5, holds around 4 700 000 000 bytes and that is 4.37 GB where 1 kbyte is 1024 bytes. DVD+R/W and DVD-R/W supports this format. Also called Single Sided Single Layered. This is the most common DVD Media, often called 4.7 GB Media.
DVD-10, holds around 9 400 000 000 bytes and that is 8.75 GB. DVD+R/W and DVD-R/W supports this format. Also called Double Sided Single Layered.
DVD-9, holds around 8 540 000 000 bytes and that is 7.95 GB. DVD+R supports this format. Also called Single Sided Dual Layered. This media is called DVD+R9, DVD+R DL or 8.5 GB Media.
DVD-18, holds around 17 080 000 000 bytes and that is 15.9 GB. DVD+R supports this format. Also called Double Sided Dual Layered.
DVD+R DL = 8 547 993 600 bytes ( 8152 MB ) Very good info!:bounce:
ooops
30-08-2004, 04:10 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif
derekliu
30-08-2004, 05:46 PM
thanx 4 e hard work mod...
can pls make STICKY??
brianforever
30-08-2004, 10:22 PM
Thanks Guys :D
Tsting
31-08-2004, 12:14 PM
nice work mod.
perhaps its only polite to give a little credit to the source?
Original Source (http://www.videohelp.com/dvd)
Of cos, this is only my opinion.
brianforever
31-08-2004, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Tsting
nice work mod.
perhaps its only polite to give a little credit to the source?
Original Source (http://www.videohelp.com/dvd)
Of cos, this is only my opinion.
Yes Videohelp Da Best!
Thanks Videohelp :D
Tsting
31-08-2004, 12:28 PM
Yeah.. tons of good info over there, like :
Video conversions (All formats: DVD to VCD.. etc) (http://www.videohelp.com/convert)
Another good read :
Technical Analysis of why DVD+R is better than DVD-R (http://www.cdfreaks.com/article/113)
and yah.. STICKY THIS! :D
derekliu
01-09-2004, 02:06 PM
:bounce: :bounce:
STICKY STICKY!!!
Silverboi
01-09-2004, 02:44 PM
Thank you Bro brianforever for taking the time to compile this information.
Many would gain from it.
Please make this a sticky!!!!!!
Super
01-09-2004, 04:56 PM
Sticky.
brianforever
01-09-2004, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by Silverboi
Thank you Bro brianforever for taking the time to compile this information.
Many would gain from it.
Please make this a sticky!!!!!!
Was a Great Pleasure Bro :D
Hope many can gain from it , thats all the thanks I need :)
Btw when are u joining us for some serious Gaming Dude ? :D
derekliu
01-09-2004, 07:09 PM
bro...y u nt making tis a STICKY....:(
wait next time i need tis info...
in e end cann find liao..
Silverboi
01-09-2004, 07:26 PM
Hahaha..Games? Me?
Sorry to disappoint you bro, but I don't play games on my PC..even my PS2 is collecting dust..:o
Maybe when I ORD?
HeHz..:laugh:
Silverboi
02-09-2004, 11:44 AM
Bump for sticky:bounce:
spell
03-09-2004, 11:24 PM
Make this sticky !!
支持支持支持支持支持支持支持支持███████████████支持支持支持
支持支持支持支持支持支持支持无██████████████████支持支持
支持支持支持支持支持无████████████████支持支持支持支持支持
支持支持支持支持███████无███支持█████支持支持支持支持支支持
支持无████████████支持支持支持████支持支持支持支持支持支持
无██████████████支持支持支持████支持支持支持支持支持支持
无████████████支持支持支持无███████████支持支持支持
无████████████支持支持支持██████████████支持支持
支持██████████支持支持无██████支持无███████支持支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持无████支持支持支持█████支持支支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持████支持██支持无█████支持支支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持████支持████无█████支持支支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持████支持███支持█████支持支支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持████无████支持█████支持支支持
支持支持支持支持████支持支持███支持████支持█████支持支支持
支持██支持无█████支持支持███支持███支持无█████支持支支持
支持██████████支持支持无██支持██支持支持█████支持支支持
支持无█████████支持支持支持支持███支持支持无████支持支支持
支持支持无███████支持支持支持支持███无████支持支持支持支支持
支持支持支持██████支持支持支持无████支持█████支持支持支支持
支持支持支持支持无███支持支持支持█████支持无███████支持支持
支持支持支持支持支持支持支持支持██████支持支持无██████支持支持
支持支持支持支持支持支持支持无██████支持支持支持███████支支持
支持支持支持支持支 持支持支持█████支持支持支持支持无██████ 支支
支持支持支持支持支持支持无█████支持支持支持支持支持无████支持支持
支持支 持支持支持支持支持███支持支持支持支持支持支持支持无███ 支持支
derekliu
07-09-2004, 03:56 PM
STICKY!!!
Silverboi
21-09-2004, 12:50 AM
Can the mod in charge pls make this a sticky?
Cheers and TIA!
jervislim
14-12-2004, 07:34 AM
Heheh... No need to bump this thread liao. :)
masotime
14-12-2004, 07:50 AM
Thanks to mods too! Which mod??? :D
jervislim
14-12-2004, 08:25 AM
Thanks to mods too! Which mod??? :D
Lancelot I supposed?
:)
Lancelot I supposed?
:)
How you find out ah ?? Anyway thanks to the mod who makes those FAQs threads stickly. :D
colheng
14-12-2004, 10:22 AM
wat if ppl still ask questions w/o reading the stickies? i think will still hv lots of ppl like this... lol
Silverboi
14-12-2004, 10:48 AM
Then I will F them upside down.
Silverboi
14-12-2004, 11:16 AM
:s13: Zui bo....
You see lor..
If I see pple posting questions on these few topics, i sure to tell them to RTFS.
RTFS = Read The F*cking Stickies
raygay27
14-12-2004, 11:18 AM
at last!
but is booktype explained also? :D
You see lor..
If I see pple posting questions on these few topics, i sure to tell them to RTFS.
RTFS = Read The F*cking Stickies
:s13: I see.
RhyannaT
20-12-2004, 06:58 PM
Thank you very much for the great explanations.
My question is: Which format do most DVD-ROM PC games use? Both? I have a DVD+RW/CD-RW drive but cannot load a particular DVD-ROM game. The drive detects a disk present, but shows no files (or hidden files) on the disk.
I have contacted support for both my computer and the game and no one has been able to figure this out. I came across this post/forum thru a Google search and thought MAYBE this could be the answer. If not ... well ... anyone have any ideas? Between game support and comp support, I think we've tried just about everything. Thanks in advance :)
colheng
21-12-2004, 09:24 AM
dvd-rom pc games is dvd-rom lah, they r very diff. from burnable media.
Gian_Png
28-12-2004, 12:07 PM
ALL HAIL BRIAN!
there are softwares to do the convert. have to change the format of files.
Hi
I am using DVD Writer Benq 1620 pro and dvd player Pioneer.
Is it better to use DVD+R or DVD-R or no difference at all ?
jervislim
20-01-2005, 06:32 PM
Hi
I am using DVD Writer Benq 1620 pro and dvd player Pioneer.
Is it better to use DVD+R or DVD-R or no difference at all ?
If using BenQ 1620pro, might as well get +R format discs...cos it burns '+' better.
But well....with the ever improving firmwares, it seems '-' quality is catching up fast. :)
_MoFo_
12-02-2005, 10:36 PM
I just copy one DVD mtv "DVD 9" to another "DVD+R" using my benq1620..
Can DVD+R played on normal TV DVD player ?
colheng
12-02-2005, 11:21 PM
most can with the booktype of dvd-rom
_MoFo_
13-02-2005, 12:38 AM
most can with the booktype of dvd-rom
What "booktype" mean ?
colheng
13-02-2005, 01:03 AM
What "booktype" mean ?
http://www.dvdplusrw.org/Article.asp?mid=0&sid=2&aid=42
zozo123
27-03-2005, 03:57 PM
DVD-R and DVD-RW
DVD+R and DVD+RW
DVD+R DL
DVD-RAM
DVD Sizes
Wow....very good information for new birds like us....
I hv a hard time 2 digest the info,
guess need some times to expose to it
anywhere, thx , bro
LiangZzZ
19-08-2005, 10:54 PM
help... when will DVD+RW 8X ever coming out...
prolink88
20-09-2005, 04:49 PM
where to read more about DVD-18?
YewBoon
20-12-2005, 10:12 AM
i am still abit confused. DVD-RW or DVD+RW and DVD-R/W or DVD+R/W is different?
iMbEst
29-12-2006, 11:01 AM
any recommendation for the writer to deal with these media? especially the DVD+R DL.....
Rakushun
29-12-2006, 11:08 AM
any recommendation for the writer to deal with these media? especially the DVD+R DL.....
almost all writers nowadays can, just visit their site for more info... site like http://www.pioneer.com.sg/storefront/ProductDetail/default.asp?ProductId=325&CatId=,4,55
iMbEst
29-12-2006, 11:38 AM
almost all writers nowadays can, just visit their site for more info... site like http://www.pioneer.com.sg/storefront/ProductDetail/default.asp?ProductId=325&CatId=,4,55
brother, this drive you mention can't write DVD+RW DL leh. only DVD+RW woh. anyway, i'm looking for an external drive, not internal one.
bloodymiko
20-08-2007, 09:33 AM
I am also new to this... also looking for DVD to store some of my data and pictures and videos.... tonnes of them..... kept a copy in my hard disk but just in case the hard disk crash i still have the dvd.... can recommend???
razrblade
29-08-2007, 06:55 PM
hey guys. about all that info on DVD's. Do u need a special dvd drive to play dual layer discs? or can any dvd drive play and burn them? also about double sided discs (dual layer or not) do u burn and play it like a old record where u just turn it over and put it back in the drive to see the other side when playing it in a normal dvd drive? or can normal dvd drives not even play double sided discs?
thanx if u reply
[SIZE=3][FONT=Arial][COLOR=Black]
SNN47
27-11-2007, 09:52 PM
Read should be yes, write not unless supported since DVD-ROM are mostly DL when you have larger FIlms.
Would this size not apply only to the standard sized media not the smaller variation?
Are there sizes really always the same or do different sizes exist like the extended 80 and 90' CD ?
What are the available sizes for DVD-ROM that are pressed from a reference matrix rather then beeing burned.
DVD-RAM as single and double sided media, but the size is always smaller than that of SL DVD+- because DVD-RAM reserve like HDD sectors to replace bad ones.
yuppyjoe@yahoo.com
18-01-2008, 03:05 AM
I am still quite confuse.I recently had gotten a free desktop from starhub.it is stated on the front panel that it has a CD-RW/DVD combo drive. Does this mean that in can't burn DVD'S ?
Dr.Vijay
27-03-2008, 11:29 PM
Correct. It can't burn DVDs, just read them.
It will burn CDs though.
I am still quite confuse.I recently had gotten a free desktop from starhub.it is stated on the front panel that it has a CD-RW/DVD combo drive. Does this mean that in can't burn DVD'S ?
Filopherliferrous
31-03-2008, 03:48 PM
Might wanna upgrade the drive to one that can burn DVDs, they are El cheapo, can be had for roughly $40-$50 Bucks :)
antisaviour
01-04-2009, 10:19 AM
Any DVD RAM 2 compatible writers out there?
Viktoria
16-05-2009, 04:09 AM
ery good information for new birds like us....
I hv a hard time 2 digest the info,
guess need some times to expose to it
anywhere,
rdew43@yahoo.com
07-10-2009, 03:59 PM
after all these years, i finally know what all these mean. thx a lot for the valuable info. are they the same for CDs as well?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.