PDA

View Full Version : DVD testing tools...

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 12:38 PM
Nows seems everyone in Optical forum become Kprobe and Disc Quality testers...lol ok i compile a list for all [noobs] alike
Dun understand how to read graph then go to links to read up and understand...

Before doing any of these test Pls take note of the below :
*Drives must not be on PCI IDE card
*If NForce base board use only WIndows IDE drivers
*use 80 pin IDE cable
*set jumpers correctly
*Power to drive pls do not share it with more than 3 device...
*Last but not least use good media....and dun burn 3 - 4 pcs and conclude no good...any statictician will tell you SAMPLE SIZE too SMALL....not conclusive!!..( FYI I have burnt nearly 40 pcs of DVDs on each my first 3 drives ..makes a total of nearly 100dvds...)
*Make sure your OS drive has more than 5GB of HDD space....when doing burning!!
*Dun Burn data from a USB drive and say Burn time cannot meet...fiak...this simple thing you better know...

*Fiak better read properly which drive can use kprobe which drive can use cdspeed....TDK1616 users...too bad...go buy a BenQ1620 or TDK 1612

Why 4.7 GB is not shown 4.7GB in Nero or Windows
4.7gb stated on the disk actually refers to 4,700,000,000 bytes
BUT in computer terms,
4,700,000,000 bytes divide by 1024 = 4589843.75 kb
4589843.75 kb divide by 1024 = 4482.3 mb
4482.3 mb divide by 1024 = 4.377 gb
Thanks to Shifeng for the above

Alphebatical Order (click link to go to homepage)

CDSpeed : (http://www.cdspeed2000.com)
For BenQ DW1620 drives with firmware B7N9 and above only....
Nero CD-DVD Speed V3.61 released!
Changes
* Create Data Disc: added option to burn Nero image files instead of predefined data
* Added color selection/themes
* Disc Quality test
o added QuickScan function
o improved support for Asus DVD burners
o improved support for AOpen DUW1608/ARR
o improved support for AOpen DVD1648/AAP
o added 12x and 16x speed settings for BenQ DW1620
o added elapsed time in summary screen
* Bitsetting: added DVD+R DL bitsetting for QSI drives
* Small improvements and bug fixes

DVDINFOPro (http://www.dvdinfopro.com/)

Some of the Features in DVDINFOPro V3.00™
New Benq fast Pi/PO scanning for 8x and 16x drives
New DC Erase function for Nu burners restores RW media to brand new
New Colour options for graphs and plotting via colour picker
New DVD+R DL (Double Layer) support added
LG, BENQ, NU, NEC, BTC, Liteon, Micro Advantage bitsetting added

DVDDecrypter (http://www.dvddecrypter.com/index.php?act=changelog)

Change Log DVD Decrypter Ver 3.5.2.0
Added: Support for different/newer types of 'structure protection'
Added: Support for NEC (new style), Plextor and AOpen (use RICOH tab) Bitsetting
Added: Option to not display the dialog box about loading the MDS and not the ISO
Added: Support for running on multimonitor displays
Changed: Burn engine to relieve stress (caused by a fast executing 'While' loop) on the I/O subsystem when doing the 'Lead-In' stage of the burn
Changed: Window snapping so that it snaps on the middle of the screen and not just at the edges
Changed: 'SetWriteParameters' function to attempt to use the drive specified 'link size'. Also changed to hopefully fix some total failures in setting the parameters on certain drives
Changed: Write retries have been reintroduce (old default = 0, new = 20)
Changed: Drag + Drop code enabled / disabled at different times to help prevent some subclassing problems due to ThemeManager - could cause access violations on some PCs when the app is closed
Changed: Added another URL to the 'check for program update' code
Changed: Behaviour of 'Browse' dialog for ISO Write source files. It will now select the nearest folder to the one last selected
Changed: volume label change code to support split image where the backup volume descriptor is at the end of the disc
Fixed: A bug in the 'check for program update' code that could mean 1 failure causes all the retries to fail too
Fixed: UDF volume label changing code to recalculate descriptor CRC + checksum
Fixed: Major slow down on some 'structure protected' discs
Fixed: A problem with some DVDRAM discs, reading them to images and trying to change the volume label

DVD Profiler (http://www.intervocative.com/)

DVD Profiler Version 2.2.0, Build 744 ( November 10, 2003)
Driven by the world's most complete and accurate database of DVD information, DVD Profiler is the best way to track your DVD addiction!

http://images5.theimagehosting.com/dvd_profiler.th.jpg (http://server5.theimagehosting.com/image.php?img=dvd_profiler.jpg)

DVD Shrink (http://www.dvdshrink.org/what.html)
Latest Version - 3.2.0.15
DVD Shrink is software to backup DVD discs. You can use this software in conjunction with DVD burning software of your choice, to make a backup copy of any DVD video disc.
DVD Shrink will also burn your backup DVD, if you have installed the latest version of Nero. You can download a demo version of Nero here. If you already possess alternative burning software and prefer to stick with it, then you can still use DVD Shrink. The output from DVD Shrink can be saved as files on your hard drive, which you can then burn with software of your choice.DVD Shrink is free software. You should never pay for DVD Shrink

Pls do not use this for unauthorise copy of legal disc unless you own it..!!

DVD Player compatable List (http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers)

New!!! Are you searching for DVD Recorders then visit our new www.videohelp.com/dvdrecorders
This list is entirely based from user reports. We have not tested or verified any DVD Player features.
Do you miss any DVD Player? Please then submit new DVD Players here.
What is the difference between DVD-R/W, DVD+R/W? Read our DVD info and the DVD Demystified FAQ

Kprobe (http://forum.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93944)
For LiteOn Based DVD writers only...ex TDK1208 , TDK1612DLB , All Liteon Based DVD writers
Kprobe2 is designed to work only with LiteOn DVD/CD burners.
Any suggestions, bug reports or general discussion are encouraged in this thread.
As before, Kprobe full install will look for ASPI and install it if none exists. However, you now have the option of using the SPTI driver instead of ASPI, and this will be discussed more later.
KPRobe2 can co-exist with Kprobe1, you do not need to uninstall one in order to run the other. They will, by default, install to the same directory.

Basically this are all you need to test test your burn quality.....of course stable system and ide connection is a must must....must not forget Nero....got ppl here still use Nero 5.5 and ask why dvd cannot...kaoz..

Nero (http://www.nero.com/en/index.html)
To have full version pls buy it....it is better...
Nero 6.6.0.5

Version Latest
Bug Fixes
Fixed a DVD 'On the Fly' copy problem
Booktype settings explanation is added in the GUI
Fixed a problem with copying a DVD video over image
Re-encoding of MPEG-1 files to (S)-VCD is improved
Fixed failure to fully erase DVD-RAM
Burning some ASF files caused "Unknown error in the Video MPEG encoder"
Switching to NeroExpress did not close the preview
The save track operation (save as image) did not warn if there was not enough hard disc drive space and no image file was created
Changing the volume creation date caused an error
If an audio CD is created and the source file names are long, the print function can now print all pages

how to have Nero 6 show the writing speed like it used to ?
*RUN REGEDIT
*HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ahead\Nero - Burning Rom\Recorder
*ADD DWORD "ShowSingleRecorderSpeed"
*when you right click and 'modify' "ShowSingleRecorderSpeed"
*from 0 to 1
*Nero then displays the "actual writing speed" when burning

Nero InfoTool

DownloadV2.27. (http://www.cdspeed2000.com/files/NeroInfoTool_227.zip)

Changes

DVD+R Double Layer support
Disc Info: improved DVD support, manufacturer ID, supported write speeds
Improved serial number detection
Small improvements and bug fixes

Windows device clean up courtesy (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/241257/EN-US/) of MACCLIPPER
Device Manager displays only non-Plug and Play devices, drivers, and printers when you click the Show hidden devices command on the View menu to enable it. Devices that are installed but are not currently connected to the computer (such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) device or "ghosted" devices) are not displayed in Device Manager, even when you use the Show hidden devices command

Edit Details :

11 Jan Update Nero 6.6.0.5
10 Jan Update DVD Decrypter V3.5.2.0
28 Dec Update Nero CDSpeed 3.61
24 Dec Update Booktype setting for Nero and DVD Decrypter
19 Dec Update WindowsDevice conflict
14 Dec Update DVD Shrink
13 Dec Update DVD Player List
12 Dec Update DVD Profiler thumbnail
09 Dec Update DVD Profiler
08 Dec Update info on how to show true burning speed in Nero
05 Dec Update Nero Burning ROM 6.6.0.3
02 Dec Update Nero Info Tools V2.27
01 Dec Updated my thoughts in Post#2
30 Nov update I will usee google before asking!!
30 Nov Update drives to use kprobe and cdspeed...anyone ask again i kok your head harder!!
30 Nov Updated some basic tips before doing any of the test
30 Nov Updated drives for kprobe and cdspeed ( base on current writers sold at SITEX 04 )
30 Nov edited links

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 12:48 PM
if using external case for dvd writer..how to check 16x capable or not??

1)goto www.cdspeed2000.com and download cdspeed 3.55
2)unzip and run the exe file
3)slect dvd writer fromt he drop down list
4) insert a cd into your dvd drive and press F6
5) read the value at the bottom right of screen
here shows 18MB/s
http://www.cdspeed2000.com/images/cdspeed99_data.gif

From what I have read, most people are getting:
19 to 20MB/s = USB = 12X
21 to 22MB/s = 1394-Firewire = 12X
23 to 24MB/s+ = Internal IDE = 16X

Booktype Setting in DVD decrytper
Courtesy of Macclipper
Just in case someone needs the info, here's how to set the booktype in this burner using Decrypter (copied from my HWZ post). OK, here goes, self explanatory pics.

Right click on the burner and then proceed. It should be set as such unless you change it again.
http://img97.exs.cx/img97/1714/a4ibooktypeset1.jpg
http://img97.exs.cx/img97/7471/p8ubooktypeset2.jpg

HTH. :)
Booktype Setting in Nero
Courtesy of SEN
Booktype for Nero (http://img119.exs.cx/img119/2761/h0b1.png)

weiwei7
30-11-2004, 12:50 PM
Wat values do i look out for to check if the burn was gd?

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 12:53 PM
aiyo..i provide links...go the the links to read up...and understand from there

wynd
30-11-2004, 01:40 PM
Suggest making this as stickly. Nice infomation. :)
But most likely the mods wont be making it stickly anyway.

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 01:52 PM
so on and off we up this thread lor...

wynd
30-11-2004, 02:10 PM
so on and off we up this thread lor...
:D Thats the only way lor. Funny rite......this forum have mod like not having one. They should either make you, Sen or HP to be the mod instead.

weiwei7
30-11-2004, 03:44 PM
sry could u direct me the link where they talk about the result of the burn. cant seem to find in in the cdspeed webby.

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 03:47 PM
google it pls.....on disc quality

hello8985
30-11-2004, 03:48 PM
sry could u direct me the link where they talk about the result of the burn. cant seem to find in in the cdspeed webby.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93944&perpage=25&pagenumber=1

Aegis
30-11-2004, 04:09 PM
How to interpret the graphs (http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=80545)

edmundyap
30-11-2004, 04:59 PM
Hi , how about the TDK 1616N , can use Kprobe ?

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 05:05 PM
Kprobe
For LiteOn Based DVD writers only...ex TDK1208 , TDK1612DLB , All Liteon Based DVD writers

i kok your head...lol NO!!

hello8985
30-11-2004, 05:06 PM
i kok your head...lol NO!!

:s13: :s13: :s13:

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 05:10 PM
Edit Details :

30 Nov Update drives to use kprobe and cdspeed...anyone ask again i kok your head harder!!
30 Nov Updated drives for kprobe and cdspeed ( base on current writers sold at SITEX 04 )
30 Nov edited links

update details!!!!

jervislim
30-11-2004, 05:34 PM
Nice job eleewhm bro.
:)

Looks like Optical Forum's getting hot since we have a gush of HWZ forumers owning DVD writers now (thanks to the lelong sales @Comex and Sitex. :D)

But let's not forget the Golden Rule No. 1 too.
That is...
Read up and search the forum before posting any questions.
Some of the questions are really unneccessary and answered too many times.

Understand that all of us started as newbies too. Feel free to post your optical drive problems should you can't solve after your countless sweat and efforts. =:p

k,let's all learn from each other here... :)

hello8985
30-11-2004, 05:35 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v99/hello85/google.gif

how about this brothers???

HC72
30-11-2004, 05:35 PM
LOL. Nice effort bro. :D

jervislim
30-11-2004, 05:39 PM

how about this brothers???
Nice one there...
:s13: :s13:

Simple and effective picture to put the strong messenge across.

hello8985
30-11-2004, 05:40 PM
Nice one there...

Simple and effective picture to put the strong messenge across.
:s13: :s13:

i kena this message when i am a junior member.... :o

eleewhm
30-11-2004, 05:43 PM
done lol...

weiwei7
30-11-2004, 05:54 PM
thks for the links!! :)

hello8985
30-11-2004, 05:55 PM
sticky???????????????

HC72
30-11-2004, 06:01 PM
sticky???????????????

You can yell all you want man. Moderators here bo zo kang one.

joystick
30-11-2004, 06:14 PM
What will be the problem if we use the nforce IDE driver?

Thanks.

seller4
30-11-2004, 09:18 PM
Nows seems everyone in Optical forum become Kprobe and Disc Quality testers...lol ok i compile a list for all [noobs] alike
Dun understand how to read graph then go to links to read up and understand...

Before doing any of these test Pls take note of the below :
*Drives must not be on PCI IDE card
*use 80 pin IDE cable
*set jumpers correctly
*Power to drive pls do not share it with more than 3 device...
*Last but not least use good media....and dun burn 3 - 4 pcs and conclude no good...any statictician will tell you SAMPLE SIZE too SMALL....not conclusive!!..( FYI I have burnt nearly 40 pcs of DVDs on each my first 3 drives ..makes a total of nearly 100dvds...)
*Dun Burn data from a USB drive and say Burn time cannot meet...fiak...this simple thing you better know...

*Fiak better read properly which drive can use kprobe which drive can use cdspeed....TDK1616 users...too bad...go buy a BenQ1620 or TDK 1612

Alphebatical Order (click link to go to homepage)

CDSpeed : (http://www.cdspeed2000.com)
For BenQ DW1620 drives with firmware B7N9 and above only....

DVDINFOPro (http://www.dvdinfopro.com/)

Kprobe (http://forum.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=93944)

Basically this are all you need to test test your burn quality.....of course stable system and ide connection is a must must....must not forget Nero....got ppl here still use Nero 5.5 and ask why dvd cannot...kaoz..

Nero (http://www.nero.com/en/index.html)
To have full version pls buy it....it is better...

Edit Details :

30 Nov update I will usee google before asking!!
30 Nov edited links
Excellent info. Special thanks to the threadstarter. :D

Silverboi
30-11-2004, 09:50 PM
waHz..Bro eleewhm steady~!!

hello8985
30-11-2004, 09:54 PM
waHz..Bro eleewhm steady~!!

Steady Pom Pi Pi :s13:

my old old siggy

xplor3r
01-12-2004, 01:21 AM
Thanks, Good Job

eleewhm
01-12-2004, 08:31 AM
upz........................... :s12:

wynd
01-12-2004, 10:43 AM
Up the thread.

Where the hell is the mods..... :s27:
This forums is like without mods....kns....

joystick
01-12-2004, 11:01 AM
What will be the problem if we use the nforce IDE driver?

Thanks.
nobody know?

eleewhm
01-12-2004, 01:12 PM
if benq dr..it will hang when booting if using nforce

dreamer75
01-12-2004, 02:21 PM
one qn...

how does the tools fared when compared against each other?

CD Speed vs DVDINFOpro vs Kprobe?

which shows more accurate results?

eleewhm
01-12-2004, 02:23 PM
to each its own..if you use kprobe try to keep your measurment tool consistent...that is the rule of GR&R...if you know what it means GR&R....

joystick
01-12-2004, 03:44 PM
if benq dr..it will hang when booting if using nforce
thanks for the info.. u da man :p

eleewhm
02-12-2004, 08:02 AM
upzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Exodus79
02-12-2004, 11:29 AM
In the 1st post it was rec that to have Nero 6.6.
My qns is i have Nero Express 6.3(OEM), what difference is there?

eleewhm
02-12-2004, 11:32 AM
that is express you have....no difference...it is just rec to have 6.6....most prefer full not the express version....

Exodus79
02-12-2004, 11:41 AM
that is express you have....no difference...it is just rec to have 6.6....most prefer full not the express version....

Oh yes, one more thing when i check the info of the nero i have, it says Version 6.3.1.10 TDK -- Can this be used on a BenQ1620?

Would this version of nero work with the other tools you guy use(i.e nero CD Speed, DVDinfo Pro etc..)?

Thanks.

elbib00
02-12-2004, 07:28 PM
kprobe onli can be used on liteon writers ah?
but i c u all in other thread can use kprobe to check the PI/PO on tdk1616n... how come?
anyway if kprobe cant be used on tdk1616n, which software shld i use then?

eleewhm
03-12-2004, 08:20 AM
Oh yes, one more thing when i check the info of the nero i have, it says Version 6.3.1.10 TDK -- Can this be used on a BenQ1620?

Would this version of nero work with the other tools you guy use(i.e nero CD Speed, DVDinfo Pro etc..)?

Thanks.

yu try..i think the BenQ drive will be blocked as the nero works only on TDK....

Exodus79
03-12-2004, 09:22 AM
Nevrmind, i managed to get my hands on the 6.6
Thanks. Now i have to figure a how to read the graphs and all those words mean(i.e PF, Jitters..etc..)

fattsheng
03-12-2004, 09:31 PM
Upz... :s12:

wynd
04-12-2004, 06:29 PM
up the thread. :s12:

eleewhm
05-12-2004, 10:07 PM
updated..nero

eleewhm
08-12-2004, 12:28 AM
upz :s12: :s12:

MacClipper
08-12-2004, 12:31 AM
upz :s12: :s12:
wah lao eh, since when you take midnight supper, again seafood ah? :D

eleewhm
08-12-2004, 01:06 AM
lol.....ebi ebi

jervislim
08-12-2004, 01:26 AM
Thanks elee bro for ya help...
:D:D

pat8228
08-12-2004, 08:51 AM
Am a noobie to kprobing and have some questions on Kprobe.

1. When using kprobe to test the quality of a disc, do I use a blank disc or an already burned one?

2. If kprobe testing require the use of a blank disc, will the test actually result in data being burned on the blank and thus rendering it useless (i.e. gotta waste a blank for testing).

3. Tried kprobing a blank Verbatim DVD-R disc amd it keeps on giving me an error and won't proceed.

Appreciate anyone's help and clarification on these. Thanks!

eleewhm
08-12-2004, 09:10 AM
kprobe has to be done on a burnt disc....and only a liteon dvd writer....the current tdk1612 is a lite on oem....

a fully burnt disc would be better ( 4.476 GB of data )...or if you are feeling rich...you can use cdspeed to create a data disc meaning it will fill your disc with useless data...and you can kprobe that disc...

pat8228
08-12-2004, 09:17 AM
kprobe has to be done on a burnt disc....and only a liteon dvd writer....the current tdk1612 is a lite on oem....

a fully burnt disc would be better ( 4.476 GB of data )...or if you are feeling rich...you can use cdspeed to create a data disc meaning it will fill your disc with useless data...and you can kprobe that disc...

Thanks! Will try kprobing my Verbatim DVD-R 2x on the drive. I've wasted 3 discs on this burner! Wonder whether its DOA? I can successfully burn on a DVD-RW though. Any suggestion?

eleewhm
09-12-2004, 03:28 PM
updated ... dvd profiler

wynd
10-12-2004, 09:32 AM
Nice update. Up the thread. :D

eleewhm
12-12-2004, 10:52 PM
updated reports you can do with dvd profiler

http://images5.theimagehosting.com/dvd_profiler.jpg

eleewhm
13-12-2004, 09:15 AM
what brand and model your standalone? Check yours here and see if it can play -R. http://www.videohelp.com/dvdplayers

updated....dvd player list

eleewhm
14-12-2004, 04:54 AM
at least it is a sticky...thank you modds..

eleewhm
24-12-2004, 06:35 AM
24 Dec Update Booktype setting for Nero and DVD Decrypter

eleewhm
11-01-2005, 08:11 AM
updated nero and dvd decrypter

Haman
14-01-2005, 11:34 AM
hihi...hope u guys don mind me asking...will diff nero ver results in different burning speed?..assuming burning conditions were constant...same rig and disc....thanks..

eleewhm
17-01-2005, 08:21 AM
hihi...hope u guys don mind me asking...will diff nero ver results in different burning speed?..assuming burning conditions were constant...same rig and disc....thanks..

hmmm this question is a myth..cause no one can give a definite answer...just like the nero serial thing....ppl are saying that a hacked serial will give a bad burn...but no proof till now...

@haman try using the lastes nero....

Haman
18-01-2005, 07:50 PM
ok..thanks...have tried using the latest nero 6.6.0.5 i think...but when i want to do a direct copy of the dvd..it say failure...i check under disc info..my msi dvdrom detected empty disc...but when i downgraded to 6.3...the disc info stated there's a disc inside with data...and i could do a direct burn with the disc...so what could be wrong?..nero or dvd rom?...btw..i have already done a fresh format of the harddisk...thanks...

junkoman
27-02-2005, 11:24 AM
Ok. This might be stupid but its a newbie question.
What are the proper procedures to do the tests? Cause when I click on Nero CD-DVD speed no screen appears but the harddisk is running. So what must I do insert a DVD first then run the program or what? Must the DVD to be tested be a empty disc or can it be a burnt DVD?
Using Nero 6.3.1.15.
Thanks.

eleewhm
28-02-2005, 08:13 AM
you need to use a BenQ drive for the Disc Quality test....of course the DVD needs to have data first before it can be tested......doh....of course must insert a dvd first lar.....pianz....

do you know how to turn on your PC..??....paiseh just be KL....:P

junkoman
28-02-2005, 10:35 PM
Ok. Thanks. Will try again.
Heehee....paiseh lar......

magneto23
09-03-2005, 10:35 AM

Is this very important for speed? The space is used for buffering issit? Currently i have about 1GB of free space in my OS drive. Would that slow down my burn times by alot?

mercenary_sg
30-03-2005, 11:12 PM
How do i check my disc media is manufactured by which company??
Try Nero CD-DVD speed but to no avail.
Thks

eleewhm
11-04-2005, 02:48 PM
try using dvdinfopro....

btw what dvd writer??..

eleewhm
11-04-2005, 02:49 PM
Is this very important for speed? The space is used for buffering issit? Currently i have about 1GB of free space in my OS drive. Would that slow down my burn times by alot?

not good.....windows swapping speed will be affected...

LiangZzZ
14-08-2005, 12:09 PM
so is there any side effects on your dvd if you have less than 5GB on your OS drive?