HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

THE BB Q10 thread!

Like Tree98Likes
Share This Page
HardwareZone.com on Facebook
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 31-01-2013, 12:04 PM   #1
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,856
THE BB Q10 thread!




The smaller Q10, largely matches up with the Z10, when it comes to specs. It too uses a 1.5GHz dual-core processor, 2GB of RAM and 16GB of storage. And it shares the same rear facing 8-megapixel shooter and 2-megapixel front-facing camera. The major differentiator between the two handsets is input. Unlike the Z10, the Q10 offers a physical keyboard that the company says is the widest it’s ever produced. Sitting atop the keyboard is a square, 3.1-inch AMOLED touchscreen with a 720720 pixel resolution.
Anyone else here looking forward to the next physical qwerty keyboard like me?????

Realized specs are missing!
  • Processor: Dual-Core 1.5GHz – Snapdragon S4 Plus
  • Display: 3.1”, SuperAMOLED display, 720 x 720 resolution at 360 PPI, Touch On Lens
  • Camera: 8MP rear facing camera, Auto Focus, 5X digital zoom,
  • 1080p HD video recording ・2MP front facing camera, 3X digital zoom,
  • 720p HD video recording
  • Memory: 2GB RAM ・16GB Internal Storage ・Hot Swappable microSD Slot up to 64GB
  • WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n ・2.4/5GHz ・4G Mobile Hotspot
  • GPS: Assisted, Autonomous, and Simultaneous GPS
  • Battery: 2100mAh Removable
  • Sensors: Accelerometer, Magnetometer, Proximity, Gyroscope, Ambient light sensor
  • Connectivity: NFC ・microUSB ・microHDMI-Out ・Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy
  • 4G LTE
  • Dimensions (LxWxD): 119.6mm x 66.8mm x 10.3mm
  • Talk Time / Standby: N/A at this time from BlackBerry as it’s still in testing
Spec added!

Last edited by lunffy; 04-02-2013 at 01:23 PM..
lunffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 12:59 PM   #2
Master Member
 
spheda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,707
me! I hope they allow bis on multi-sim. I got 1 non-cam bb. Intend to get q10 for 2nd phone. Heh.
spheda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 12:59 PM   #3
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
pker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,877
might be. but now prefer. bigger screen hahaha so I pick z10
pker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 01:35 PM   #4
Junior Moderator
 
sCuzzZy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 25,345
Q10 probably have to wait till april.. its a long wait.
__________________
We Once Swore Allegiance To Fight Till We Die, To Stand By United, The Red Flag We Fly.
No one can stop a ticking clock, but the great ones always finds a way to slow it down
sCuzzZy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 01:46 PM   #5
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
pker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,877
easy just hoot z10 and sell when q10. out hahaha
pker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 02:46 PM   #6
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Caulibeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22,372
I'm wondering if the app selection will be limited due to the screen dimension. If yes, I think i'd stick to the Z10. Predictive text is not really a concern for me though, I usually have it off anyway
__________________
The bees are immigrating because foreign talent bees are invading their homes (Spotted on 154th)
Caulibeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 02:46 PM   #7
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,856
me! I hope they allow bis on multi-sim. I got 1 non-cam bb. Intend to get q10 for 2nd phone. Heh.
you mean bis line ah?

might be. but now prefer. bigger screen hahaha so I pick z10
yah loh.... i'm using note now, from 5" to 3.5" gonna take sometime to get used to it ah.... but i'm seriously fedup of touch screen typing.

Q10 probably have to wait till april.. its a long wait.
hehehe no problem, my plan only due in June.
lunffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 02:48 PM   #8
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,856
I'm wondering if the app selection will be limited due to the screen dimension. If yes, I think i'd stick to the Z10. Predictive text is not really a concern for me though, I usually have it off anyway
i don't think app will be an issue.. its just screen size...... somemore bb10 true multitasking might not be that useful on smaller screens loh.. but for that physical keyboard, worth it for me i guess
lunffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 03:05 PM   #9
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Caulibeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22,372
i don't think app will be an issue.. its just screen size...... somemore bb10 true multitasking might not be that useful on smaller screens loh.. but for that physical keyboard, worth it for me i guess
I'm going by the worst case scenario now, that a large number of applications will be coming from port over androids.

Now for the Z10 its ok, cos most android apps are built rectangular in shape

For the Q10 on the other hand, the screen is more squarish, so this is going to be a problem, unless RIM has a brilliant solution to it which they obviously did not address

OR. we'd have apps that are stretched horizontally
__________________
The bees are immigrating because foreign talent bees are invading their homes (Spotted on 154th)
Caulibeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 03:35 PM   #10
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Caulibeam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22,372


hothothothot
__________________
The bees are immigrating because foreign talent bees are invading their homes (Spotted on 154th)
Caulibeam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 03:49 PM   #11
Master Member
 
merry_christmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,487
21st February 2013. Marking on my calendar!
__________________
Mangez Bien, Riez Souvent, Aimez Beaucoup
merry_christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 03:55 PM   #12
High Supremacy Member
 
xtramadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 41,357
Should I say it all out here? Nah :dance:

21feb - z10 launch only. Not for sale.

X or Q 10 only after 2 months at least.
xtramadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 07:50 PM   #13
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
pker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,877
you mean bis line ah?


yah loh.... i'm using note now, from 5" to 3.5" gonna take sometime to get used to it ah.... but i'm seriously fedup of touch screen typing.


hehehe no problem, my plan only due in June.
hahaha from note to bb screen is like a epic down grade aoo. big to aoo small

even I find it hard to accept ip5 screen even it got a epic sharp dpi screen
after converted to android


even z10 I only wanna see the set in person before say yes hahaha
pker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 07:51 PM   #14
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
pker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,877
so I hope after the launch of bb10 os
they might consider. bigger screen format as the OS is quite interesting
pker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 08:11 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 86
I'll be getting Q10 as well! Anyway, i was a bit disappointed by the chipset used in Q10, which is TIOMAP 4470 instead of Snapdragon S4. Snapdragon S4 is more powerful and energy efficient than TIOMAP 4470 (ARM V7s vs ARM V7, 28nm vs 45vm).

Don't understand why they opted for TIOMAP 4470 instead of Snapdragon S4 since S4 has so much more advantage over TIOMAP (phone performance, battery life, graphic processing power and etc.). Any thought?
Chin Ang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On