Buying second hand car

myviowner

Hi all, is it a considering concern if the car previously has 5 owners?

The condition etc is rather well.

Its about 8 years old car

Sales man talk will tell you as the buyer that all the previous owners maintained well and wana upgrade so let go this ride.

End of the day, is heng or sway when buying a pre-owned ride. Even salesman can tell you send for car checks....etc

If is a die-die must have ride with one and only available in the market for sale, then go for it lor.
Else, move on to see other rides.

crystal7

Hello all,
I am looking to buy used car, and it will be my first experience.
Apologize if i post in wrong thread.
Can you help me about this question:
* How to check the no of previous owner? Will the car dealer show the record or i have to check with LTA?
* If sent car for inspection to STA or Vicom, usually the dealer will arrange/send and i just wait for the report? How long is the inspection process and can i get the report within same day?
* If buy car, will the dealer provide option to delivering the car to my doorstep instead of myself collect?
Thanks in advance.

Eighty7

Hello all,
* How to check the no of previous owner? Will the car dealer show the record or i have to check with LTA?
* If sent car for inspection to STA or Vicom, usually the dealer will arrange/send and i just wait for the report? How long is the inspection process and can i get the report within same day?
* If buy car, will the dealer provide option to delivering the car to my doorstep instead of myself collect?
Thanks in advance.

The log card will shows the transfer count.

Some dealer offer STA inspection when selling their cars , some require buyer to self pay. It depends

Usually people will self collect rather than get the dealer to send the car over. They need to hand over the car in acceptable condition, being on the road give them additional risk of getting into accidents which they would be liable for . In this case it won’t make sense to deliver unless you have some agreement with them

-nyox-

Hi all, is it a considering concern if the car previously has 5 owners?

The condition etc is rather well.

Its about 8 years old car

If the physical and mechanical checks turns out well, just low ball the dealer. He knows very well a car with 5 previous owners will be very difficult to sell.

You have the bargaining power in such a situation.

mel1888

Hello all,
Thanks in advance.
Frankly if u decide to bring workshop to inspect, best to go to your own workshop. Rating is not everything as issues might still occur. Its always roll of dice for 2nd hands cars, be prepared fork out some money to fix issues after taking over. Most dealers will ignore u after that.

trento

The log card will shows the transfer count.

Some dealer offer STA inspection when selling their cars , some require buyer to self pay. It depends

Usually people will self collect rather than get the dealer to send the car over. They need to hand over the car in acceptable condition, being on the road give them additional risk of getting into accidents which they would be liable for . In this case it won’t make sense to deliver unless you have some agreement with them

if u have a regular mech, send to him. if the car is the rare type, then easy. call those few specialist workshops. they usually have records. i don't recommend STA cos it's not as comprehensive.

But be realistic. it's a used car. if problems are small, it's ok.

If the physical and mechanical checks turns out well, just low ball the dealer. He knows very well a car with 5 previous owners will be very difficult to sell.

You have the bargaining power in such a situation.

for bnb cars, the less owners the better. For supercar, the more owners is not exactly a bad thing. cos each owner tends to spend heaps of money to restore it.

trento

Frankly if u decide to bring workshop to inspect, best to go to your own workshop. Rating is not everything as issues might still occur. Its always roll of dice for 2nd hands cars, be prepared fork out some money to fix issues after taking over. Most dealers will ignore u after that.

the safest bet for used car dealers are those AD used car division. But their price also higher but confirm warranty no problem.

myviowner

Hello all,
Thanks in advance.

1. Ask them to log into One Motoring website and you can see yourself. If they refuse, just walk to the next shop.

2. This is a tricky process, suggest that you arrange yourself using a trusted workshop you used before or frds used before. STA/ Vicom you can skip lah. Worst is that car dealer arranged type inspection to STA/ Vicom.... Alot of frd frd situation and the report will be good de. You know what i mean.:s13:

3. Possible depends on arrangement bah.

gentoro

Coe cars easier to kena lemons compared to parf cars?

U are asking 10yrs car easier to kena lemon compare to less than 10yrs car, right?

Of cos la! Human older get more frail, mechanical parts in car also, older it get more easily spoiled.

NO wonder ur nick is Cai png.

cybertech

Wonder those 2009 Hyundai Avante 1.6A with renew 5 years COE can buy or not. Selling price range 26k to 28k, if not much problem (other than usual wear and tear and maintenance) and can drive for another 5 years.

Konnichiwa

Wonder those 2009 Hyundai Avante 1.6A with renew 5 years COE can buy or not. Selling price range 26k to 28k, if not much problem (other than usual wear and tear and maintenance) and can drive for another 5 years.

If you can afford, new car...
else TMD old car 1001 things can go wrong....

Shutterbox

2009 fit 1.3 or swift 1.3,which one is less likely to give trouble? :(

myviowner

Buying used ride is always a gamble. Just be prepared to set aside $ for the usual wear & tear.
Avante is a proven work horse.

eighthours

1. Ask them to log into One Motoring website and you can see yourself. If they refuse, just walk to the next shop.

2. This is a tricky process, suggest that you arrange yourself using a trusted workshop you used before or frds used before. STA/ Vicom you can skip lah. Worst is that car dealer arranged type inspection to STA/ Vicom.... Alot of frd frd situation and the report will be good de. You know what i mean.:s13:

3. Possible depends on arrangement bah.

Bro I agree with 2. But if they friend friend and have one ready sta/viccom report. And I send to my workshop to check. And there's discrepancy, what can I do?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.