[Little india riot] different from how TS remembered

blankies

It a stark reminder that we are very ill prepared to handle any crisis even after so many satki riot exercises conducted in Shenton Way.

Law enforcers running from the first sight of trouble.
Haiz....

You are not talking sense. They are over numbered at that point of time.
Make sense to make a tactical retreat.

From what I read, the issue is that they are still ill prepared after massive forces arrived due to poor coordination.
That is the part where it needs rethinking

slowstatic

Got and die lah. Those were regular policeman, you want them to control a whole bunch of rioters ah..
People like you disgust me.

Sent from your backside using GAGT

This is your excuse to justify their cowardice?
Like it or not, this is the expectation of the public for SPF

The same goes for SAF, we are supposed to fight and not run away from the frontline because u are scared or this is the job for the regulars only.

Ppl like u also disgust me, full of excuses

Boeing101

Must seriously warn all policeman they can die but cannot run away from their duty. This is the only reason why we pay them so high!!!

Its an expectation. They must be professionally enough to die for country in need!! No excuse is good enough in lieu!
And nobody force them to be police, if they not willing, the big door outside police station is always widely open for them to leave.
Pls dont be a disgrace to our police force.

slowstatic

You are not talking sense. They are over numbered at that point of time.
Make sense to make a tactical retreat.

From what I read, the issue is that they are still ill prepared after massive forces arrived due to poor coordination.
That is the part where it needs rethinking

You see anyone chasing them from behind?
Retreating tactical is CORRECT, but to be seen running away like that only serve to edge the rioters to be bolder

asiafrenz

QoK1NaB.gif

who are those people running with a lab coat or something? Scientist? Lab Technician? :eek::eek::eek:

_eMuu_

details like how long the SOC police take to arrice at the scene.
swift action? details of what they did is missing.
what were the after actions?
ban on alcohol not mentioned.
cause of riot tie to alcohol not mentioned.

kids have access to youtube.

Sent from eMuu's mobile phone using GAGT

celery511

overman

U got a brain, fellow policeman sinkie aso got brain mah. They r using it to regroup & come back stronger.

If follow ur style is like choose not to use brain leh

Sent from test using GAGT

COI investigation disagrees with you

161. The second phase was critical. The SPF officers decided to hold their positions. This allowed the rioters to pelt them with projectiles, and overturn and set fire to emergency vehicles. The COI believes that the number of active rioters in the second phase was not large, but they had free rein to do whatever they wanted.

162. Riots are dynamic situations which call for a dynamic response. The COI, after reading all the material before it and hearing the oral evidence of the witnesses at the public hearing, finds that there were several lapses in
the actions by the police during the second phase of the riot.

Decision Taken to Hold Position and Not to Arrest Rioters

169. The SPF officers’ decision to await the arrival of the SOC before taking
action was based on the assumption that the SOC would arrive imminently. The officers did not realise that, due to a delay in deployment and traffic congestion, the first SOC forces would take a total of about 50 minutes to arrive from the time the request for activation was made. Had the SOC arrived earlier, the rioters would not have had as much time to cause mayhem.

170. Holding positions at the two ends of the riot area was inadequate to
prevent the free inflow and outflow of rioters, as described earlier. The act of holding a position may also have been perceived by the rioters as inaction, which could have encouraged and emboldened them to carry out more egregious acts.

171. If the SPF officers had set up a command post, they could have used that as a base to move in to arrest as many of the rioters as possible – which was only done later, after the SOC arrived. In the interim, however, video footage showing the riotous crowd cheering at every successful flipping and ignition of an emergency vehicle tells us that the rioters were likely to have been emboldened each time they caused damage to property and faced no immediate consequence. Also, many SPF officers at the scene were in plainclothes. This was not desirable.

172. It was argued by some SPF witnesses that the above measures were not possible because the SPF officers at the scene were outnumbered during this time. The COI, based on its viewing of videos of the riot, especially those of the LTA cameras from the MRT station entrances, is of the view that there were opportunities to intervene and take decisive action. In particular, the COI heard the testimony of two responding officers – Traffic Police officer Sgt Fadli Shaifuddin Bin Mohamed Sani, and APO PC Srisivangkar A/L Subramaniam – who attempted to either charge at groups of rioters or detain them. Neither of these officers was overwhelmed. When DSP Lim was leading a single column down Hampshire Road on foot – comprising just 6 officers – testimony indicated that rioters there “melted away” at the sight of them. Those officers were not overwhelmed either.

173. DAC Lu testified that, at the time when he called DC Raja, he was being
pelted by about 200 rioters. DAC Lu also said that there were 50-60 rioters on his right on Hampshire Road and “hundreds” on his left, including those who were overturning the vehicles and setting them on fire. In his testimony at the public hearing, DAC Lu discussed the 2011 London riots during the COI
hearings, and argued that the police could do nothing if they were outnumbered. The COI is of the view that there were sufficient officers to take action had they been marshalled and directed to do so. The rioters were destroying property and pelting the officers with objects, but the COI does not agree that it was a lifethreatening situation, or that the officers would have been in severe danger had they moved in to stop and arrest the rioters at this time.

https://www.mha.gov.sg/Newsroom/press-releases/Pages/Report-of-the-Committee-of-Inquiry-into-the-Little-India-Riot-on-8-December-2013.aspx

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.