Will China ever surpass the US in terms of culture?

ponpokku

Qin shi huang destroyed most of the opposing ideology and political books. Archaeologist are discovering books in well preserved pre qin dynasty graves. Like lost taoist classic 太一生水 that explored the idea of water in cosmic formation instead of gas.

https://baike.baidu.com/item/太一生水/16745487

Some more majority of ancient chinese were illiterate, only the elite and rich can afford the time and money to go to school.

nope, he didnt. he did confiscate the books of other political ideologies. but he kept all the technical books around. esp those on agriculture and medicines.

most of the socalled 'destroyed books' were 'rediscovered' again in western han dynasty. that goes to show the story of him destroying books ish just confucianists smearing.

Keep_Calm

China definitely has a more diverse, varied n interesting culture than USA based on her 5000 years of civilisation compared to US 300+ years of history.

It's not a case of who is better.

ponpokku

U mean China needed the silver to pay for the 30,000 chests of opium the Ang mohs were forcefully importing at gun point?the millions addicts and destitutes?the thousands of opium houses?the economy and productivity that fell off the cliff?

My sources are all Ang moh,Mandarin sucks so I don't read tiong propaganda.

so how cum angmohs can forcefully export opium to china at gun point, and make china pay for it, if the chinese were already technologically advanced and dominating the world?

u just shot urself in the foot.

so based on what calculations ur sources said china was dominating? lol.

jowter

English language belongs to who?the British?English is a Germanic language.

English sure as hell wasn't invented by Americans,cause America were slaves of the British.

One day tiongs will rule the world and the world will be speaking tiong cause the tiongs have all the money.

You'll be in a coffin long before that happens IF ever lmao

frenchbriefs

so how cum angmohs can forcefully export opium to china at gun point, and make china pay for it, if the chinese were already technologically advanced and dominating the world?

The question in u should be asking urself is if the west production and goods were so good why did they have to resort to drugs and violence to fight the imbalance?the British and her friends were no better than Mexican drug cartels.shameless *******s.china had everything the west wanted,and they had nothing.

jeff79

Agreed. I never bought into the whole Chinese advanced civilisation thing.

They were relatively advanced at a time when all other people were either facing some crisis like bubonic plague or haven't civilized themselves yet. Keyword here is "relatively".

But once these people (Europeans and others) pulled up their socks, they not only surpassed in a very short time but also pwned many times over the so-called advanced civilization the Chinese had.

The Chinese who like to look back into their 5000 years with rose tinted glasses and assure themselves they are far superior, will never improve or evolve further.

That was the reason Mao and his henchmen decided to force hard reset of the huge depraved mess that was China and wipe the delusions of grandeur from the Chinese minds, and start from ground zero again.

I dare say that without Mao, China would be slightly better than South America now, probably like Philippines, Vietnam or Cambodia, with Chinese girls brazenly selling their bodies on the streets to Western tourists and Chinese men working as cheap labor everywhere in the world. Actually that's not far from the situation now also LOL. But it would have been much worse.

Should look at culture relic from archaeological dig of ancient elite graves. They were some of the world most advanced artifact when they were made.

Ancient china salt wells were the most advanced and deepest in the world, only surpassed in the late 19th century by the amdk oil wells. They also have natural gas wells and bamboo natural gas pipeline.

https://csegrecorder.com/articles/view/ancient-chinese-drilling

Mancunian2

just have see the chinese banners when you watch EPL, La Liga, Italian Series A, Ligue 1 on tv. 20 years ago, it was unheard of. I went to old trafford in 1995 and I was the only chinese that match day. these days, got chinamen will ask for directions around the stadium

and 20 years ago, at LAX airport or waikiki, Hawaii, people see yellow skin automatically think we are japs. Now all international airports got chinese speaking staff

what does that tell you about the economic and consequent influence the chinese have on the world today?

frenchbriefs

just have see the chinese banners when you watch EPL, La Liga, Italian Series A, Ligue 1 on tv. 20 years ago, it was unheard of. I went to old trafford in 1995 and I was the only chinese that match day. these days, got chinamen will ask for directions around the stadium

and 20 years ago, at LAX airport or waikiki, Hawaii, people see yellow skin automatically think we are japs. Now all international airports got chinese speaking staff

what does that tell you about the economic and consequent influence the chinese have on the world today?

Too many goddam chinks.

When u see Chinese bank advertisement in Australia u know the country is ******.

ponpokku

The question in u should be asking urself is if the west production and goods were so good why did they have to resort to drugs and violence to fight the imbalance?the British and her friends were no better than Mexican drug cartels.shameless *******s.china had everything the west wanted,and they had nothing.

the reason has always been there, china practice protectionism, only allow angmohs to buy from china but not sell to china. so the angmohs were having deficit, not becos their goods were inferior, but they were banned from selling in china becos of chinese policy.

all banned except opium. the chinese needed it as a medicine/drug.

so opium is their only bet to recover from the deficit. and they win the fight against chinese protectionism with this.

once the doors to the chinese empire ish opened, opium became less and less important and other western goods became mainstream. did the 1840 opium war ended up in allowing opium sales in china? it didnt. the whole treaty is about trade not about opium.

so u are, again, basing ur arguments on tiong propagandas, even when u denied.

jeff79

The amdk just happened to encountered weak qing govt and selfish dowager? The amdk musket and volley fire formation were copied from chinese.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volley_fire

ponpokku

The amdk just happened to encountered weak qing govt and selfish dowager? The amdk musket and volley fire formation were copied from chinese.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volley_fire

eh plz lah, any civilisation that knows how to use archery formation will know how to do volley fire. mai 瞎扯蛋 lah lol... :s22::s22:

and how come china dominating the world can have a weak govt? lololol....

u see the angmohs when they dominating the seas and trade, got weak boh?

fatbastardx

eh plz lah, any civilisation that knows how to use archery formation will know how to do volley fire. mai 瞎扯蛋 lah lol... :s22::s22:

and how come china dominating the world can have a weak govt? lololol....

u see the angmohs when they dominating the seas and trade, got weak boh?

That's why I say, the more the Chinese deceive themselves that they were strong and powerful, the more they will stay weak and not evolve or improve.

This has always been a weak point of Chinese. Like to reminisce about good old days and still think they are sibei satki, when others have already surpassed them.

fatbastardx

the reason has always been there, china practice protectionism, only allow angmohs to buy from china but not sell to china. so the angmohs were having deficit, not becos their goods were inferior, but they were banned from selling in china becos of chinese policy.

all banned except opium. the chinese needed it as a medicine/drug.

so opium is their only bet to recover from the deficit. and they win the fight against chinese protectionism with this.

once the doors to the chinese empire ish opened, opium became less and less important and other western goods became mainstream. did the 1840 opium war ended up in allowing opium sales in china? it didnt. the whole treaty is about trade not about opium.

so u are, again, basing ur arguments on tiong propagandas, even when u denied.

And I see a parallel between what you wrote and what's happening today in China vs USA trade imbalance.

Sooner or later the USA will plan and do something wicked and China unfortunately could be destroyed once more. Hope the Xi leadership is wise to this. History always repeats itself.

fsg316

And I see a parallel between what you wrote and what's happening today in China vs USA trade imbalance.

Sooner or later the USA will plan and do something wicked and China unfortunately could be destroyed once more. Hope the Xi leadership is wise to this. History always repeats itself.

De-dollarization.

fatbastardx

Should look at culture relic from archaeological dig of ancient elite graves. They were some of the world most advanced artifact when they were made.

Ancient china salt wells were the most advanced and deepest in the world, only surpassed in the late 19th century by the amdk oil wells. They also have natural gas wells and bamboo natural gas pipeline.

https://csegrecorder.com/articles/view/ancient-chinese-drilling

These weren't disseminated to the public and not made available to the common man to use and innovate.

That's the diff between western civilization and Chinese.

Western will allow common man to use. Soon after using, someone will innovate to make a better product, or even build on it to invent something totally better.

Chinese will guard it jealously, allowing only elite or qualified people to use. The majority of people will never get to touch it or use it or even see it.

This is why Chinese civilization invented and innovated relatively few things as compared to the west.

So when you say ancient China was advanced, it was only the elite society that was advanced. The majority of common people were still poor uneducated peasants bathing once a year and owning only one set of clothing and don't know crap about SMLJ Chinese culture and civilization.

ponpokku

That's why I say, the more the Chinese deceive themselves that they were strong and powerful, the more they will stay weak and not evolve or improve.

This has always been a weak point of Chinese. Like to reminisce about good old days and still think they are sibei satki, when others have already surpassed them.

i oso cannot understand how ppl can relate that far.

the wiki page simply said the chinese records were the earliest about volley fire written down in words. it has no mention of who copied from who. yet some can just cannon and said the angmohs copied...

seriously... :s22::s22:

ponpokku

they just play with oil and food prices lor. the 2 most effective weapon since tiongland got huge pop and needed these.

one example i mentioned many times liao, 2007-2008 the americans decided to put their surplus corn and other beans to biofuel, that yr during CNY the price of pork shot up 3X in china and never really came down.

why? the tiongs depended on american corn to make feedstock for pigs and chicken.

ponpokku

These weren't disseminated to the public and not made available to the common man to use and innovate.

Western will allow common man to use. Soon after using, someone will innovate to make a better product, or even build on it to invent something totally better.

Chinese will guard it jealously, allowing only elite or qualified people to use. The majority of people will never get to touch it or use it or even see it.

This is why Chinese civilization invented and innovated relatively few things as compared to the west.

So when you say ancient China was advanced, it was only the elite society that was advanced. The majority of common people were still poor uneducated peasants bathing once a year and owning only one set of clothing and don't know crap about SMLJ Chinese culture and civilization.

the fundamental difference btw feudal society and centralised govt. the feudal lords support innovations becos they can compete and pwn other feudal lords. when feudal lords formed nations, like british, france, spain, they support their own ppl in innovation in order to compete with others. the kings will give license, permits, exclusive rights and eventually patents, to promote innovation and pte ventures.

the centralised govt in china oso understand that innovation can change the course of history and balance of powers, dominance, etc. thats why they banned/discouraged innovation among its ppl, in case the inventors challenge their rule. they only want sheeps. so they feed them with social studies like confucian ethics, make sure they follow orders. u chut stunt invent things or theories? 妖言惑众, jail u and chop head/rotan.

jeff79

Sama sama for amdk. Clock and pocket watch were handmade luxury toy for elite amdk for few hundred years until the industrial revolution mass production made it affordable. Same for internal combustion cars.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.