Singapore University of Social Sciences (SUSS)

intime

Looks liks the only university without "university" in its name is SIT. 😁

I do find SIT odd in some ways.
No name change, SIT is still Singapore Institute of Technology.
But their chinese name changed to a university, from 新加坡科技学院 to 新加坡理工大学. :s22:

Shion

Senior Mentor
I do find SIT odd in some ways.
No name change, SIT is still Singapore Institute of Technology.
But their chinese name changed to a university, from 新加坡科技学院 to 新加坡理工大学. :s22:

and NTU is also 理工大学

Shion

Senior Mentor
Just like NTU, the word "technological" inside the school name but their business school outrank NUS

loststeak

For those who are worried please don't be la. The sixth university has to distinguish itself from the others and SUSS is the way to do. Besides likewise, SIT also offer business, cutlinary and other non-Technology related courses.

mpcdude

For those who are worried please don't be la. The sixth university has to distinguish itself from the others and SUSS is the way to do. Besides likewise, SIT also offer business, cutlinary and other non-Technology related courses.
Agreed. NTU also started off as specialisation in engineering. Up to now some people still think NTU only has engineering courses and didn't realise they have NBS, and the fast expanding humanity and social science schools. We should be grateful there is another AU for all the many eager uni applicants. Local unis supported by gov is still more recognised and cheaper than pte ones.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Agreed. NTU also started off as specialisation in engineering. Up to now some people still think NTU only has engineering courses and didn't realise they have NBS, and the fast expanding humanity and social science schools. We should be grateful there is another AU for all the many eager uni applicants. Local unis supported by gov is still more recognised and cheaper than pte ones.

Don't think they won't know about NBS...

eddief4

I just think the timing could have been announced better.

Should have done it perhaps a few months ago where they can market themselves as the 6th local university instead of a few days before uni applications close.

loststeak

I just think the timing could have been announced better.

Should have done it perhaps a few months ago where they can market themselves as the 6th local university instead of a few days before uni applications close.

Agreed. Well we are not sure about the internal workings then.

divasion

they dulan cause the focus not on them mah. school university of business. if like that they cfm happy.

loststeak

Well to all SUSSes, we can define if this University is successful or not. If we are hungry, we make a mark in society, SUSS will become successful.Better said then done.

Oxsianx

they dulan cause the focus not on them mah. school university of business. if like that they cfm happy.

The statement "school university of business. if like that they cfm happy." is a bit bias. I think you were trying to mean 'Singapore University of Business'. No doubt it can make many business graduates/students happy but it doesn't represent the entire population of business students in SUSS. People can look at the name, mock at it, laugh and go but we are the 'ambassadors' of SUSS, finding jobs with our degrees. The abrupt name change took place just merely two days ago and there were already names calling like USS (Universal Studio Singapore), SUSpicious etc. Yes we are 'dulan' but I just think that such thing can be avoided if there were some forms of polls/open discussions to seek advises from all walks of life pertaining to the new naming, new logo, how branding should be carried out for the 6th University; especially with current students and alumni as we are the ones who will be impacted the most.

I believe with a bit more effort, such a controversial name can be avoided. The University belongs to all of us, Social Sciences/Science & Technology/Business/Engineering/Law students. Although they can put emphasis on social sciences but nonetheless, the school does not run social science courses alone to yield such a specialised naming.

I took a look at the SUSS Alumni FB page and saw many uproars with regards to the new name. Moreover, the communication team just merely copy and paste 'model answers' in an attempt to reassure alumni that their old certificate will be recognised and NO new certificate will be reissued. Perhaps they shouldn't be too quick to come to such a conclusion. Ultimately alumni should be offered alternatives for an 1-to-1 exchange of certificates in order to provide proper closure to this issue.

divasion

The statement "school university of business. if like that they cfm happy." is a bit bias. I think you were trying to mean 'Singapore University of Business'. No doubt it can make many business graduates/students happy but it doesn't represent the entire population of business students in SUSS. People can look at the name, mock at it, laugh and go but we are the 'ambassadors' of SUSS, finding jobs with our degrees. The abrupt name change took place just merely two days ago and there were already names calling like USS (Universal Studio Singapore), SUSpicious etc. Yes we are 'dulan' but I just think that such thing can be avoided if there were some forms of polls/open discussions to seek advises from all walks of life pertaining to the new naming, new logo, how branding should be carried out for the 6th University; especially with current students and alumni as we are the ones who will be impacted the most.

I believe with a bit more effort, such a controversial name can be avoided. The University belongs to all of us, Social Sciences/Science & Technology/Business/Engineering/Law students. Although they can put emphasis on social sciences but nonetheless, the school does not run social science courses alone to yield such a specialised naming.

I took a look at the SUSS Alumni FB page and saw many uproars with regards to the new name. Moreover, the communication team just merely copy and paste 'model answers' in an attempt to reassure alumni that their old certificate will be recognised and NO new certificate will be reissued. Perhaps they shouldn't be too quick to come to such a conclusion. Ultimately alumni should be offered alternatives for an 1-to-1 exchange of certificates in order to provide proper closure to this issue.

ya but actually to think of it hor, i think abit not fair that those graduated before unisim change name and become local u are also part of it because this year onwards marking scheme harder and stuff. parttime being graded same as fulltime. They got the so called "easy way" out even though its not their fault.
oh well,its for the common good.

eddief4

Agreed. Well we are not sure about the internal workings then.

I don't know lah. I think it's good they are becoming a local university but at the same time, the execution like rojak.

If it's to attract the latest batch of A level students, it's not going to work because it's so last minute and they still have to get rid of the "SIM perception" that people have.

Probably better off spending a few more months, get everything in order from a name to presentation of their vision going forwards as the next university and building up their brand to attract the next batch of grads from A levels and poly than this sudden change that they haven't had time to change their website, logos etc.

schoolboyz

ya but actually to think of it hor, i think abit not fair that those graduated before unisim change name and become local u are also part of it because this year onwards marking scheme harder and stuff. parttime being graded same as fulltime. They got the so called "easy way" out even though its not their fault.
oh well,its for the common good.

Saw fb SUSS alumni.. Many of them now kpkb cos their certs cfm cannot be reprinted! 😢

divasion

Hard truth
Unisim = SIM = Private
SUSS = MOE = Autonomous

ya,but actually if remain like that,dont let them reprint,i feel its more fair ah since they graduated before suss became local u/harder. They should be placed under the era when sim still "private" but there is the year of graduation right?then should be okay bah

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.