UOL/RMIT Economics and Finance or UOL Banking and Finance

marsbarsz

Reaction score
Hi all,

Though today is the application deadline for UOL, I have yet to decide which degree to take upon but have finally shortlisted to the 3 choices below. Thus I really hope I can figure it out with your replies!

Brief background about myself:
I graduated with a diploma in business with a GPA of 3.30. I hope to be in a career in investments/finance analyst. I have no A maths background (dont know calculas, differentiation, etc)

My Choices:
1) UOL Economics and Finance
2) RMIT Economics and Finance
3) UOL Banking and Finance

My concerns:
1) I understand that UOL is more prestigious as compared with RMIT, however, UOL is also much more difficult than RMIT. Furthermore, even if I get a UOL degree but with sub-par grades, wont an RMIT degree with good grades be better? Or worse, what if I drop out of UOL (I've heard the drop out rate is quite substantial)

2) Will the finance working industry be more theoretical (like UOL) or more project based (like RMIT).

3) Though I really wish to take the UOL Econs and Fin degree, the modules has additional maths modules which are tougher than UOL Banking and Fin. Is it still advisable for me to take E&F even though I have no A maths background?

4) What is the difference between 'Economics and Finance' and 'Banking and Finance'? Will a Banking and Finance degree still allow me to attain my desired career?

5) Lastly, will I still be able to switch my UOL Economics and Finance degree to a Banking and Finance degree midway since the modules are about the same?

Appreciate replies asap as the deadline is today. Thanks in advance people!

Last edited:

Havok_ex

Reaction score
If your interest is in UOL E&F then you should just go for it. A-math should be a basic for anyone working close to the finance industry. Not sure how you can interpret any graphs at all if you don't know differentiation/integration.

arcanum00

Reaction score