What happened to SIM & UniSIM? It has lost its footing over these years.

VinceGan

The ability to use basic common sense, show initiative, and pick up new skills independently with minimal guidance. Let me give you an example. Once, I had to deliver a large quantity of magazines to multiple countries. The intern decided that she would simply call DHL and gave me a quotation for several thousand dollars. I then called up two freight forwarders who told me they could do it by ocean freight for a fraction of the cost. Keep in mind everyone knew delivery was not urgent, so 30 days or so would have been perfectly fine. That's what I mean by basic common sense. Basic competence. They don't understand that helping the company saves helps everyone, not just management.

Not relevant which uni this particular intern came from. It's not about technical skill (broadly speaking). You can learn that on the job. In fact I don't care whether the person has O levels, diploma, or a degree - not indicative of whether they can get the job done in my experience. Nobody on the start up circuit will care (unless you're being hired as a developer or some very specialised job). Whether it's just bad luck, or something more seriously wrong with how things are done at UniSIM, I can't say - just that the ones I've met all seem to be similar to this particular intern.

Common sense? Every individual's perceptions and experiences frames their view of what is "Common sense". I'm sure you yourself came into the industry armed with all the necessary skills and knowledge that is taught to you by your school.

If you are complaining about the lack of initiative that I can understand. It is easier to be told what to do rather than find out what to do after all. Try talking to them and communicate your expectations of them then see if they are receptive. If they still don't improve then it's likely to be their own personality issues. Those few years in school are unlikely to shape a person's personality that much.

On another note, previous workplace culture does matter as well. :s13:

a&w_rootbeerz

and just fyi, dun put unisim and sim ge students together and compare.

1 is for working adults, 1 is for ginna pis.

both groups of students are of very different nature and perhaps different mentality.

Ya that's the thing. TS want to stir but never do research properly. Tio self pwn gao gao. :s13:

o.o123

i tght this universities ish stardee how to be insurance agents???

MiG123

ccb thx TS for reminding me tmr must go back to work!

nyvrem

Sim should move to a cental location to make itself more attractive. Could brand itself as a working adult uni at the heart of the city. Offer more pro family concepts to help students who have kids to take care. More flexible class formats, including online for greater flexibility. If you can't compete directly with nus/ntu, then just reinvent.

Personal opinion nia.

:x

machapple

Sim should move to a cental location to make itself more attractive. Could brand itself as a working adult uni at the heart of the city. Offer more pro family concepts to help students who have kids to take care. More flexible class formats, including online for greater flexibility. If you can't compete directly with nus/ntu, then just reinvent.

Personal opinion nia.

and be trounced by SMU?

a&w_rootbeerz

Well, my experiences may not be representative of all SIM grads, since I've been making my rounds of the start up circuit over the last 2 years.

That being said, the ones I have come across, either:

(a) lack basic common sense
(b) are lazy
(c) lacking in basic technical skill

Sometimes all of the above. Perhaps the ones that get sent to start ups are the lousy ones, not sure. That being said, there are loads of idiots from NUS, NTU and SMU as well, sometimes even worse than SIM. But the bright ones from those unis are really good.

Point is, I think university is useless. Technical skill, if you're smart, can be acquired on the job. Same with street smarts and the rest of it. Don't understand why people pay so much money to get a degree from SIM when it doesn't position them to secure top jobs (or any job at all, sometimes).

Wah you is sim grad but say until liddat :s13:

nyvrem

and be trounced by SMU?

Nothing to be trounced la. Smu is for kids, sim is for adults. It's call reinvention. Each caters to a different crowd. But I guess you won't be able to understand since you can make this type of statement.

a&w_rootbeerz

UniSIM is going to be on-parr with NTU/SMU/NUS.

If you were to look carefully at UniSIM, many teaching faculties, students and graduates are from Governmental organisations. UniSIM is the one and only half private-government institute specially appointed by some Gov't bodies.

Kaplan, MDIS, PSB Academy are forever grouped together. Believe me or not, the "czeng-hoo" clearly does not want to affiliate with them.

What you said about the on-par might be true. Not confirm yet as of now but could well happen.

Back in 1990 when ntu just started, they were unknown. Everyone bash them and say ntu will close down in 2-3 years time due to the increase in the number of polys during that period. And since poly curriculum are somehow similar with ntu standard, people say what's the point of building a new uni.

And when smu started in year 2000, everyone bash them and say the uni is private and only wanna make business opportunity. They even say smu might be a place for dormitory for the foreigners in future and won't last long.

But look at these two unis now. They are well and truly established. As for the two new local unis SIT and UniSIM (SIM excluded), they are currently experiencing what ntu and smu faced many years ago. In future, they will be on par with those two unis. It might just happen.

nyvrem

What you said about the on-par might be true. Not confirm yet as of now but could well happen.

Back in 1990 when ntu just started, they were unknown. Everyone bash them and say ntu will close down in 2-3 years time due to the increase in the number of polys during that period. And since poly curriculum are somehow similar with ntu standard, people say what's the point of building a new uni.

And when smu started in year 2000, everyone bash them and say the uni is private and only wanna make business opportunity. They even say smu might be a place for dormitory for the foreigners in future and won't last long.

But look at these two unis now. They are well and truly established. As for the two new local unis SIT and UniSIM (SIM excluded), they are currently experiencing what ntu and smu faced many years ago. In future, they will be on par with those two unis. It might just happen.

Sim IB spotted !

machapple

Nothing to be trounced la. Smu is for kids, sim is for adults. It's call reinvention. Each caters to a different crowd. But I guess you won't be able to understand since you can make this type of statement.

trounced in terms of the brand name, available resources, programme structure, reputation potential that a business school can offer. lol so in ur opinion gain geographic advantage = reinvention?

btw, both sch's strengths lies in their business courses and they offer essentially the same courses at different grad levels.

anyway, dun see the pt in discussing competition amongst local unis when the real competition lies beyond our small island.

roburn

Ts come back leh. Don't bash and run leh. Since you are talk down to other ppl.. I expect better from u leh

icycold

i wonder whether the unisim people look down on the sim students anot.... do they?

Sever.7

My VP is from SiM and he has local uni grads under him. Your eyes are not open big enough maybe you need to start working in an MNC or foreign bank.

I think you should stop masturbating to this. No fresh local graduate will be vp straight out of school. How many more years of working experience does the vp have? My friend works for a sim boss too so I believe your story.

The local and foreign graduates in his company were curious how a SIM graduate could be the boss. As the story goes when the company was new in Singapore there were very little local graduates applying because Singaporeans prefer brand name companies so this company hired sim graduates.

Today the company has established it's presence and is now able to lure many local and foreign graduates. In that very department my friend is in, all the new hires in the last few years were from local and foreign universities. Is it an elite department? If there could be SIM graduates you can expect it to be a normal department. There are still a few SIM graduates working but they are the old guard so they are more senior and experienced. Are they sweating? Maybe. By looking at the graduates HR now send up and the hiring trends I would be worried too because it shows the company's preference of graduates.

I am not able to comment on the boss' ability since I don't work there although the comments from him are mostly negative. However one thing is certain, HR will always hire local graduates and foreign graduates if they can. There will always be SIM bosses so you can continue masturbating but do consider the other side of the coin, the subordinates will definitely find fault so it is not all rosy.

nyvrem

trounced in terms of the brand name, available resources, programme structure, reputation potential that a business school can offer. lol so in ur opinion gain geographic advantage = reinvention?

btw, both sch's strengths lies in their business courses and they offer essentially the same courses at different grad levels.

anyway, dun see the pt in discussing competition amongst local unis when the real competition lies beyond our small island.

err.. i think you missed the whole point.

:s13::s13::s13:

aiya, no diff la. local U and SIM peepur all same boat huan la.

:s22::s22::s22:

quotient

hi

Ts come back leh. Don't bash and run leh. Since you are talk down to other ppl.. I expect better from u leh

i wonder whether the unisim people look down on the sim students anot.... do they?

and just fyi, dun put unisim and sim ge students together and compare.

1 is for working adults, 1 is for ginna pis.

both groups of students are of very different nature and perhaps different mentality.

The local uni offer the best engineering courses here..... enough said.

i used to belittle pte grads however now that working i realise does not matter u gonna be a worker for the rest of the days till u retire unless u open bz

i do not have a problem against SIM or UniSim students. what i cannot stand is dishonesty. for example a person is doing a degree at UniSim offered by Uni of Wollongong. when this person is asked by others where he's studying at, he says 'uni of Wollongong'. but that is factually incorrect. He should say 'im studying in UniSim for a degree offered by Wollongong'. cos if you stop at 'uni of Wollongong' then you give an impression to others that you're actually studying for a full time degree in Australia! imagine the agony you may put the person through if they were interested in studying in Australia too and wanted to know more but it is only then that you reveal that either you're studying in Clementi or have yet to go to Wollongong cos that only happens at 2.5 year mark, into the degree as part of the cultural immersion phase :eek:

I recently exposed 4 chaps on this forum. prior to this startling revelation I was unaware of this scheme where you can study at UniSim for 2 and a half years and then finish the last 6 months in UK at the uni(for example Manchester) whose degree you're studying towards to.

these 4 chaps were separately dishing out advice to other forum members. take note that nowhere during this period of time did they once reveal honestly and fully that they were only in UK for 6 months as part of the '2.5 years at UniSim and 6 months in UK' route.

although some of the advice they dished out were clearly half-truths I let it slide. but as time went by I began to see a pattern of idiosyncrasy in their posts and I was obliged to probe further. I confronted them with my sharp set of questions and questioning prowess and it all soon began to unravel. the game was up. these 4 blokes had only spent 6 months in UK as part of the finishing lap to what some would say '2.5 years in SG and 6 months in UK' route. So with nowhere to run or hide they did they next best thing. they ganged up together and launched verbal tirades at me.

one user said that I was an elite. another said that the only reason why I could go to UK was cos I or my parents had money. the third said that the only reason why I went to UK was cos I could not make it to the local unis (which means im a failure) and termed my decision to go to UK for my studies as 'backdoor'. (he should try telling that to the 600 SG students who fly to UK every year for their undergraduate studies). the fourth clearly thought that I was none the wiser and ridiculed me for deciding to pursue my course of studies.

and my alleged crime? that I looked down on distance learning students when all I did was point out to them and the general public that you simply are in no position to dish out advice to others on UK or Manchester or elsewhere especially if you were only there for 6 months. if you're stubborn by nature and still choose to dish out advice then clearly put a disclaimed at the top of your post that you only spent or are in UK for 6 months as part of the '2.5 years in UniSim and 6 months in UK' route. that is the right thing to do.

if you're free and want to read more then do a check on my previous posts to get the full picture.

anyways I realized one thing. Birds of the same feathers flock together. To the general public who may be reading this. if you want to pursue a distance learning degree then by all means carry on. its your life and your decision. but please do not overreact like the 4 persons I mentioned above and get all defensive when you feel like someone is attacking you for your choice of doing a DL degree cos that may very well not be the intention of the person asking you those questions.

you need to calm down and ascertain if that is indeed the question. in the incident I cited above, all i asked them was whether they had the right to make claims about UK or Manchester or where ever they were in if they only spent 6 months there. but they went into a fit cos they weren't thinking straight. they immediately thought that I was attacking them for doing a DL degree.

now ask yourself this. why did they overreact and become defensive? there lies the answer.

TehBeng

Here we go again! SIM jiu SIM lohs. But nothing beats buying cert or faking CVs. Example: Yang Yin.

家己人,打死不相干. That's why overrun by people from other places.

Sever.7

i do not have a problem against SIM or UniSim students. what i cannot stand is dishonesty. for example a person is doing a degree at UniSim offered by Uni of Wollongong. when this person is asked by others where he's studying at, he says 'uni of Wollongong'. but that is factually incorrect. He should say 'im studying in UniSim for a degree offered by Wollongong'. cos if you stop at 'uni of Wollongong' then you give an impression to others that you're actually studying for a full time degree in Australia! imagine the agony you may put the person through if they were interested in studying in Australia too and wanted to know more but it is only then that you reveal that either you're studying in Clementi or have yet to go to Wollongong cos that only happens at 2.5 year mark, into the degree as part of the cultural immersion phase :eek:

I recently exposed 4 chaps on this forum. prior to this startling revelation I was unaware of this scheme where you can study at UniSim for 2 and a half years and then finish the last 6 months in UK at the uni(for example Manchester) whose degree you're studying towards to.

these 4 chaps were separately dishing out advice to other forum members. take note that nowhere during this period of time did they once reveal honestly and fully that they were only in UK for 6 months as part of the '2.5 years at UniSim and 6 months in UK' route.

although some of the advice they dished out were clearly half-truths I let it slide. but as time went by I began to see a pattern of idiosyncrasy in their posts and I was obliged to probe further. I confronted them with my sharp set of questions and questioning prowess and it all soon began to unravel. the game was up. these 4 blokes had only spent 6 months in UK as part of the finishing lap to what some would say '2.5 years in SG and 6 months in UK' route. So with nowhere to run or hide they did they next best thing. they ganged up together and launched verbal tirades at me.

one user said that I was an elite. another said that the only reason why I could go to UK was cos I or my parents had money. the third said that the only reason why I went to UK was cos I could not make it to the local unis (which means im a failure) and termed my decision to go to UK for my studies as 'backdoor'. (he should try telling that to the 600 SG students who fly to UK every year for their undergraduate studies). the fourth clearly thought that I was none the wiser and ridiculed me for deciding to pursue my course of studies.

and my alleged crime? that I looked down on distance learning students when all I did was point out to them and the general public that you simply are in no position to dish out advice to others on UK or Manchester or elsewhere especially if you were only there for 6 months. if you're stubborn by nature and still choose to dish out advice then clearly put a disclaimed at the top of your post that you only spent or are in UK for 6 months as part of the '2.5 years in UniSim and 6 months in UK' route. that is the right thing to do.

if you're free and want to read more then do a check on my previous posts to get the full picture.

anyways I realized one thing. Birds of the same feathers flock together. To the general public who may be reading this. if you want to pursue a distance learning degree then by all means carry on. its your life and your decision. but please do not overreact like the 4 persons I mentioned above and get all defensive when you feel like someone is attacking you for your choice of doing a DL degree cos that may very well not be the intention of the person asking you those questions.

you need to calm down and ascertain if that is indeed the question. in the incident I cited above, all i asked them was whether they had the right to make claims about UK or Manchester or where ever they were in if they only spent 6 months there. but they went into a fit cos they weren't thinking straight. they immediately thought that I was attacking them for doing a DL degree.

now ask yourself this. why did they overreact and become defensive? there lies the answer.
Who are these 4 chaps? They must be so sad they have to pretend to be someone they are not. There is nothing wrong with studying in Singapore but to pretend says a lot. In the first place why is there a need to put up a facade if they belong to the same group that say all degrees are the same.

And for a DL graduate to call a foreign graduate 'cannot make it' is just out of this world. Why are these graduates so dumb as to shoot themselves?

There was this person at a party who tried to get into my friends' conversation about their time abroad. When they quizzed him where he stayed he said he forgot. He said it was close by, he walked to class but could not explain the landmarks and the cafes.

Why pretend? Why is there a need to act it out? It is plain silly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.