Another rail clip falls from MRT tracks

Old 26-02-2012, 01:09 AM   #1

Another rail clip falls from MRT tracks

Feb 25, 2012

SINGAPORE - A rail clip fell from the viaduct near Clementi MRT Station on Thursday - the second time in four days that a rail clip had fallen off and missed hitting passers-by below.

The latest incident prompted the Land Transport Authority (LTA) yesterday to instruct SMRT to immediately put up temporary safety nets at the two stretches of the viaduct between Dover and Jurong East.

These nets are to be replaced as soon as possible by a wire mesh along the viaduct railings, said an LTA spokesperson in a statement, citing "concern" over the two recent cases of broken rail clips falling off the MRT viaduct.

The wire mesh is to then be progressively extended to other parts of the rail viaduct as required. The LTA has also asked SMRT for a full report about the two incidents.

On Monday, a rail clip fell from the 8m-high train viaduct between Clementi and Jurong stations. There are two clips for every 0.7m interval along each track.

After the first incident, an SMRT spokesperson was quoted as saying that it is "very rare" for a broken clip to drop off and that SMRT has encountered three other incidents in the last four years.

Following Thursday's incident, the LTA and SMRT have met to discuss measures to be implemented and will closely monitor the affected stretches of viaduct in the next few days, said the LTA spokesperson.

And if there is a need, SMRT will adjust the train speeds at these locations to minimise the risk of recurrence.

In a separate statement yesterday, SMRT Train's executive vice-president Khoo Hean Siang said the transport operator would "do a thorough check through the entire system and replace any clips that show signs of wear and tear".

SMRT were scheduled to install the safety nets along the affected areas immediately after services for the day ended yesterday, he said. Over the next few weeks, SMRT would also work with the authorities to install wire meshes along stretches of the viaduct where there is human traffic.

The clip found on Thursday will be sent for a laboratory test to determine the reason for the failure, said Mr Khoo.

He said: "We would like to assure the public that we take a serious view of these recent incidents of broken rail clips, and are putting all available maintenance resources to look into the matter, to ensure that public safety is not compromised and normal train operations can continue smoothly."
Seriously tis is wtf, got $$ to purchase new train & buses but yet no $$ & expertise to change the rail or ensure is function properly instead of depending on cable ties.

Is like risking commuter safety

Last edited by DanielsaN8; 26-02-2012 at 01:13 AM..
DanielsaN8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:12 AM   #2

Soon you will see the whole MRT train drop on the road...
CallMeKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:13 AM   #3

last time when power rail die, they say tracks are good.
Old 26-02-2012, 01:14 AM   #4

Seriously tis is wtf, got $$ to purchase new train & buses but yet no $$ & expertise to change the rail or ensure is function properly instead of depending on cable ties.

Is like taking commuter safety as risk
cos the higher ups are not the ones taking the trains... sinkies lives are cheap... shareholders pockets more important... gotta keep them happy... profit drop abit niah and they made a song and dance about it~~

what ish wrong with SMRT... sho many things going wrong with them~~
Moonnite_Firefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:14 AM   #5

Is like risking commuter safety
Are you ****ing dumb?

Money used to buy train and buses is to improve the current situation which is fuc*ed. Do you still want crowded trains and buses? kena kiap inbetween ahtiongs, ah nehs and pinoys?!

What they need to do is to stop giving out dividends and bonus for CEOs whereby the buses can be funneled to maintenance.
Old 26-02-2012, 01:15 AM   #6

Soon you will see the whole MRT train drop on the road...
I wun be surprised if it does happen

A part of a MRT railway track became dislodged and fell, nearly hitting a passerby on the head, according to The New Paper.

Channel NewsAsia reported that the incident happened near the Jurong East Station on Monday at about 1.20pm.

The rail component that fell off measured about 10cm
Old 26-02-2012, 01:15 AM   #7

One day the train will run off track fly down
fabianlau is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:19 AM   #8

Are you ****ing dumb?

Money used to buy train and buses is to improve the current situation which is fuc*ed. Do you still want crowded trains and buses? kena kiap inbetween ahtiongs, ah nehs and pinoys?!

What they need to do is to stop giving out dividends and bonus for CEOs whereby the buses can be funneled to maintenance.
U is a retard & moron. Do u noe the main issue lies with the rail? Which is having defect & showing age thus disloged? U tink cable ties can do wonder?

So tell me what if u get new train but end of the day is still travelling on the same rail. Are u telling me having new train thus the rail wun disloged?

Pls use ur brain before swearing, god damn it
Old 26-02-2012, 01:27 AM   #9

F ucking moron, chiu tot the train run on road or sea? Is rail & track fyi, dun even have common sense.....before swearing, imagine a train run on it's rail for 10 plus yr every day & moreover with rain & shine, u think the track wun wear off or turn rusty without proper maintenance or upgrade?
Old 26-02-2012, 01:34 AM   #10

train drop down and become this ....

FrOzEnHeLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:36 AM   #11

take tax payer money to buy buses or trains so they can use their fat profits for fat bonuses
Old 26-02-2012, 01:39 AM   #12

at this rate with speed reduction its time to buy a motorised scooter.
Old 26-02-2012, 01:40 AM   #13

Nnb... Major train fault tt time say will check the whole freaking track system for defects... Now this?

Kaoz! Does it meant tt last time 3rd rail prob, so they checked the entire train network for the 3rd rail only??? Not check the tracks throughly as they go!?!?

What is this mickey mouse sheet? One fault check tt fault only?
lonelysolo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:40 AM   #14

tinrina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2012, 01:42 AM   #15

they interview ginas from SP isit ?