HardwareZone.com on Facebook

Making a house or a home of a yacht or boat in Singapore...

Old 17-06-2012, 06:24 PM   #31

guys i know there is berthing costs and need to be yacht club member etc....but considering all that in place...i still consider it cheaper than buying a flat....flat also have property tax and a lot of other costs...radio/tv lic...garbage removal fees...electricity...internet...water...and on top of that the interest on the loans etc
no, buying a flat is still cheaper. and you don't have to worry about weather.
Old 17-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #32

no, buying a flat is still cheaper. and you don't have to worry about weather.
Weather won't affect the yacht if its alongside

Unless there's a tornado
EatSnakeWarrior is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #33

100k, luxury? *scratches head*

All the sea stuff i have been to (ROM) are not simple. And the costs are mind boggling. Simply travelling to and fro that place is an issue liao unless you drive (with the associated costs which is extremely high for the club).

Too many missing points in the first post....
WussRedXLi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 06:29 PM   #34

cheaper than $1000/mth?
Maaasa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 06:29 PM   #35

Consider this properly

Most marine engines will require fuel, diesel and lubrication oil and bunkers are not cheap...
Luxury yacht you are talking roughly 500k to 1mil minimum

Marina membership about 15 to 25k

Berthjng charges about 380 - 500 monthly

Dry docking or wet berth makes a huge diff in maintenance

Still got licenses to maintain

And yacht equip

It's not cheap
EatSnakeWarrior is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 06:52 PM   #36

If trailer homes were allowed in Singapore, I think it would be a better alternative than yachts. Probably cheaper too.
derrickgoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 08:06 PM   #37

might as well move to malaysia,way cheaper and u dont have to worry about ur house falling apart after 20 years.
frenchbriefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 08:09 PM   #38

er.. got one thing..got letter box or not??? if not letter just throw on yatch?? dun think postman will go find your ship... unless all your address u put your parents one?? np right like this??
parents add also can...po box also can...no issue la
Old 17-06-2012, 08:10 PM   #39

If trailer homes were allowed in Singapore, I think it would be a better alternative than yachts. Probably cheaper too.
where u going to park the trailer?this is singapore leh not america,u think got trailer park to provide running water,electricity and waste disposal?
frenchbriefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 08:14 PM   #40

just wondering.. the yacht will depreciate with time right.. then the house will appreciate more or less...
Old 17-06-2012, 08:53 PM   #41

ppl who get seasick cannot stay...
Old 17-06-2012, 08:59 PM   #42

just wondering.. the yacht will depreciate with time right.. then the house will appreciate more or less...
lol. Bingo. After 20 years, the entire amount you put into your yacht is as good as gone.

After 20 years, you can still get back at least an amount for your house which you might be able to use to finance another house.
Old 17-06-2012, 09:01 PM   #43

Sign on lah, got place to stay, food to eat, clothes to wear. Can save a lot of money leh.
Old 17-06-2012, 09:37 PM   #44

With pap around, hdb cheaper lah 1k can get u a 2 room flat with stove toilet bedroom...
McGraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2012, 09:43 PM   #45

cheaper rates
SAF Yacht Club - Where the Sea Adventure Begins!
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.