Let's discuss David Moyes' short reign at Manchester United

Kiwi8

Let's discuss David Moyes' short reign at Manchester United.

Since now we will never get to know whether he will have come good if given time, we will have to depend on our opinions and your opinions.

What do u think?

I feel that his appointment was wrong from the start, and that it would be pointless to give him extra time.

Firstly it's his conservative style of play, totally not suited to the attacking brand of football Man U plays.

Secondly it's his training methods. It must probably appear too outdated and maybe even loathed by his players.

Thirdly it's his failure to motivate men. Although a manager must be given a chance to bring in his own men, a manager is still expected to be able to motivate men that he did not bring in.

amoro123

I dont know professional training methods, how they sign players, tactics ( NBA, American football easier to see tactics).

But this is what I felt about him.

1) Seems aged a lot.
2) PR skill really CMI. Always say wrong thing.
3) Sign Ronney with a huge contract. I dont know who did tat. But if this is NBA, the whole transfer budget so huge, how to tahan, balance the team? Confirm hard to off load him liao. Use him wrong, no use him waste money.
4) This season, I seen a lot of teams able to bypass their midfield with ease even without using long ball. ( Long ball bypass is Tottenham. Two center backs really... )
5) Even his last game. I see on paper, Manu is stronger than Everton leh. Nani pose a great threat. Just tat Rooney.... drift down.

I think he is a bit suay. Burn Everton bridge, trying to low ball for their players. A bit over his head. But hey, got 5 mil it seems leh. Not bad.

Whether to give him time or not... Personally I dunno his tactics or training methods.
But he really able to sign luke shaw and others, change most of the team and give a good training before and after world cup... with no Europe football next season, who knows, might be like liverpool this season.

bryanzzz

Fergie probably wanted someone with good premier league experience, someone whom he personally doesnt have a rift with. TBH i thought he was a good manager at Everton too, but Roberto Martinez showed me who he really was.

Upon appointment, clueless tactics (That fulham games with so much crosses was a giveaway of how technically inept he was), bad transfer decisions (a Mata isnt what he need imo) and a very bad way of handling the media (Obviously you cant tell fans who are used to winning and having the mentality of being the best, that their team aspires to be another team, or their fierce rivals are favorites to win at home ground) began to show the true competence of Moyes.

Was Fergie wrong to choose him? No, i believe none of us would have the foresight to see how bad he actually is. Many Manu supporters themselves were confident of him (Moyes). If anything, this just showed how much of a motivator Fergie was to his players.

But is it all Moyes fault? No, he didnt have a great squad to begin with. Coupled with injuries, its a wonder how he made the team the top of the away table. And there weren't many defenders available in the market as well during Jan for him to rebuild that defense.

And the way United handled his sacking was preety bad. Clearly they were just waiting for the out-of-top-4 clause to be activated before they move in to sack him. The United i knew stood by fergie during Ars/Che dominance and even footed the fine when Fergie shut out bbc.

Ultimately i think the Fans placed much needed pressure on the club's management which caused them to sack Moyes. Its a big club with hungry fans, theres no room for error. I guess fans of top top clubs only want top top managers

Kiwi8

I dont know professional training methods, how they sign players, tactics ( NBA, American football easier to see tactics).

But this is what I felt about him.

1) Seems aged a lot.
2) PR skill really CMI. Always say wrong thing.
3) Sign Ronney with a huge contract. I dont know who did tat. But if this is NBA, the whole transfer budget so huge, how to tahan, balance the team? Confirm hard to off load him liao. Use him wrong, no use him waste money.
4) This season, I seen a lot of teams able to bypass their midfield with ease even without using long ball. ( Long ball bypass is Tottenham. Two center backs really... )
5) Even his last game. I see on paper, Manu is stronger than Everton leh. Nani pose a great threat. Just tat Rooney.... drift down.

I think he is a bit suay. Burn Everton bridge, trying to low ball for their players. A bit over his head. But hey, got 5 mil it seems leh. Not bad.

Whether to give him time or not... Personally I dunno his tactics or training methods.
But he really able to sign luke shaw and others, change most of the team and give a good training before and after world cup... with no Europe football next season, who knows, might be like liverpool this season.

He may be a bit suay, but I think he really lost the plot by even losing the UEFA Champions League place by losing the 4th spot.

Kiwi8

Fergie probably wanted someone with good premier league experience, someone whom he personally doesnt have a rift with. TBH i thought he was a good manager at Everton too, but Roberto Martinez showed me who he really was.

Upon appointment, clueless tactics (That fulham games with so much crosses was a giveaway of how technically inept he was), bad transfer decisions (a Mata isnt what he need imo) and a very bad way of handling the media (Obviously you cant tell fans who are used to winning and having the mentality of being the best, that their team aspires to be another team, or their fierce rivals are favorites to win at home ground) began to show the true competence of Moyes.

Was Fergie wrong to choose him? No, i believe none of us would have the foresight to see how bad he actually is. Many Manu supporters themselves were confident of him (Moyes). If anything, this just showed how much of a motivator Fergie was to his players.

But is it all Moyes fault? No, he didnt have a great squad to begin with. Coupled with injuries, its a wonder how he made the team the top of the away table. And there weren't many defenders available in the market as well during Jan for him to rebuild that defense.

And the way United handled his sacking was preety bad. Clearly they were just waiting for the out-of-top-4 clause to be activated before they move in to sack him. The United i knew stood by fergie during Ars/Che dominance and even footed the fine when Fergie shut out bbc.

Ultimately i think the Fans placed much needed pressure on the club's management which caused them to sack Moyes. Its a big club with hungry fans, theres no room for error. I guess fans of top top clubs only want top top managers

I think sacking him when the club finished outside the top four is reasonable. Last year was champion, this year finished outside of the top four. That's what made the sacking easier too since the sacking payout will be cheaper with the failure to attain 4th place.

bryanzzz

I think sacking him when the club finished outside the top four is reasonable. Last year was champion, this year finished outside of the top four. That's what made the sacking easier too since the sacking payout will be cheaper with the failure to attain 4th place.

Yeah i know its reasonable. Just that it wasnt something i expected from a club like United

I guess its the sorry fate of Managers nowadays regardless who they are with, top club bottom club no difference. You are given very little time to achieve expectations

Kiwi8

Yeah i know its reasonable. Just that it wasnt something i expected from a club like United

I guess its the sorry fate of Managers nowadays regardless who they are with, top club bottom club no difference. You are given very little time to achieve expectations

The problem with Moyes is that he doesn't inspire confidence. That's why he wasn't given extra time. He seems to give out the vibe that even if u give him more time, it's just gonna be similar results or worse, slip into mid-table obscurity.

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
He was at the wrong place at the wrong time. Managing Man Utd is not an easy job, especially when you have to replace a man of magnitude such as that of Alex Ferguson. Most would flounder at first go.

He was responsible for the results ultimately so the sack wasn't much of a surprise. I just thought they could have waited till the end of the season.

But I felt that it wasn't Moyes alone to be held responsible for the poor form, the players should as well. They didn't play as passionately as they should have. Was it due to Moyes inability to motivate them or their disdain for Moyes (as rumors would have it)?

Now it's up to Giggs to steer the ship to stable waters.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Quite harsh I would say about his sacking. And there are reports saying he didn't know he was going to be sacked? Anyway I suspect some players are sick and unhappy with him. Any current Man Utd players giving him the support? I only see ex-players feeling sad for Moyes...???

He should take a gd break before returning to manage a team

Shion

Senior Mentor
Anyway after the sacking, so many rumour appeared. Seems that they are all out to ruin Moyes totally.

Kiwi8

He was at the wrong place at the wrong time. Managing Man Utd is not an easy job, especially when you have to replace a man of magnitude such as that of Alex Ferguson. Most would flounder at first go.

He was responsible for the results ultimately so the sack wasn't much of a surprise. I just thought they could have waited till the end of the season.

But I felt that it wasn't Moyes alone to be held responsible for the poor form, the players should as well. They didn't play as passionately as they should have. Was it due to Moyes inability to motivate them or their disdain for Moyes (as rumors would have it)?

Now it's up to Giggs to steer the ship to stable waters.
I was not surprised that the Everton result was the last straw, since that was the match that confirmed Man U finished outside the UCL places. I think for the owners and management, the minimum that Moyes should have achieved is 4th place. Without trophies or 4th did he really expect to be given more time?

Sure, the players also have their share of the blame, but it is the manager's job to motivate them as he can, or motivate as many of them as he can. The mark of a good manager is also to motivate men that he did not bring in.

bryanzzz

Quite harsh I would say about his sacking. And there are reports saying he didn't know he was going to be sacked? Anyway I suspect some players are sick and unhappy with him. Any current Man Utd players giving him the support? I only see ex-players feeling sad for Moyes...???

He should take a gd break before returning to manage a team

Yeah he was furious with the way it happened.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Just imagine if he leads another team in EPL and they constantly beat or draw with Man Utd...like a slap in the owners and players face

bryanzzz

Just imagine if he leads another team in EPL and they constantly beat or draw with Man Utd...like a slap in the owners and players face

Certainly a slap in the fan's face LMAO.

But definetly not going to happen. If Manu doesnt have Europa next season, and with LVG at the helm they will be in serious contention for a title.

Takechan

Moyes : Players
35 : 65

This is how I felt the blame should be distributed across.

nauhchop

Moyes was never suitable from the start.

He had prior experience to only managing Everton which did not ever qualified for champions league.
So to manage a club which plays close to 60 games a season is very differrnet from managing just a normal primer league team.

And when he inherited MU from ferguson, he also inherited a group of players which played way ages under ferguson. How would these group of players give him any respect when he doesn't come from a top club?

Its like asking an executive to do a director's job. He just didn't had the calibre.

Henabi

Moyes : Players
35 : 65

This is how I felt the blame should be distributed across.

Agree the contrasting performance by the plauerst against BM in UCL vs a BPL game was worlds apart.

Henabi

Moyes was never suitable from the start.

He had prior experience to only managing Everton which did not ever qualified for champions league.
So to manage a club which plays close to 60 games a season is very differrnet from managing just a normal primer league team.

And when he inherited MU from ferguson, he also inherited a group of players which played way ages under ferguson. How would these group of players give him any respect when he doesn't come from a top club?

Its like asking an executive to do a director's job. He just didn't had the calibre.

Imo... the first mistake made was the starting date for David Moyes.
if Moyes started earlier, it might yave been a much different case today.

second error: sacking of many backroom staffs who worked under SAF.
A gradually replacement would yield kuch bettet results compared ti complete replacement

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.