Early thoughts for new rig

Gr3yham3

optical drive is useless unless u always use cd/dvd.
installing windows can be done thru usb. u just need another computer to make that usb. the files can be obtained from microsoft.

so if i am using windows 10 on my current rig, i can transfer over to my new rig?

MrMundy

so if i am using windows 10 on my current rig, i can transfer over to my new rig?

can, u need to make the usb installer with ur current com first, and make sure u tie ur license key to ur microsoft account
then on ur new com: use the usb to install windows 10, then activate using ur microsoft account viola

if ur windows is installed on ur SSD, then just plug into the new com and activate again
and make sure u install all the necessary drivers, and uninstall the old ones.
if iirc u can reformat with a tool in windows 10, meaning u plug the old ssd with the windows 10 into the new com, boot up and activate. after that reformat and activate again. this way u don't have to use a usb to install
http://www.laptopmag.com/articles/reset-windows-10-pc

Gr3yham3

can, u need to make the usb installer with ur current com first, and make sure u tie ur license key to ur microsoft account
then on ur new com: use the usb to install windows 10, then activate using ur microsoft account viola

if ur windows is installed on ur SSD, then just plug into the new com and activate again
and make sure u install all the necessary drivers, and uninstall the old ones.
if iirc u can reformat with a tool in windows 10, meaning u plug the old ssd with the windows 10 into the new com, boot up and activate. after that reformat and activate again. this way u don't have to use a usb to install
http://www.laptopmag.com/articles/reset-windows-10-pc

ooo i still stuck on e 'old thinking' that we must install windows all over again.. yes i do have win10 installed on my current rig.. so even with mobo/ram/watever change, e ssd n windows will still update?

as for e serial key, where to find? cause my win10 was upgraded from win7 kind.. its in e control panel?

PS: i see u using e same gfx card as me.. got any sagging problem? i see e card like darn heavy

MrMundy

Once u change mobo ur activation will expire(for those using OEM keys, not sure abt other key), thats why changing the ssd to a new mobo needs activation, other parts change is OK de

Iirc U go to updates and security>activation then u will see sign in with Microsoft account or something

If u can't find just google "link windows 10 license with Microsoft account"

MrMundy

Yeah the gpu does sag a little, I put a piece of lego to support it

Gr3yham3

Once u change mobo ur activation will expire(for those using OEM keys, not sure abt other key), thats why changing the ssd to a new mobo needs activation, other parts change is OK de

Iirc U go to updates and security>activation then u will see sign in with Microsoft account or something

If u can't find just google "link windows 10 license with Microsoft account"

what does this activation need to have to be done properly? serial number n stuff?

so i just set up new rig, migrate ssd over, boot up and activate?

as for e lego,it has to be supported by something also right? where to rest e lego on?

ZrE0_Cha0s

okay after doing some research, this is the shortlist i came up with

1. CPU: i6500 or i6600k - is there a big difference in terms of performance between e 2? or just OCing capability? i might do some OCing if i find that e games i play start running too slowly

2. CPU cooler: corsair h100i or cryorig a40/80 - i want to try using an AIO, but not sure which one is better n whether can fit e casing

3. mainboard: really have no idea.. but i guess i wld prefer something with solid performance, but not those top of e line, $400 kind

4. RAMs: skylake will be DDR4 right? is there a diff in performance between 2666mhz n 3200mhz? will be getting 16GB

5. Storage: i will most likely reuse some of e HDD on my comp like e WD black for mass storage n e samsung 840pro for games.. will a M.2 SSD be much faster for OS drive n games?

6. ODD: dun think i will get one.. my lite-on presently cannot open, so i havent used it for months n have not felt i lost out much. .however, will installing windows be a problem?

7. Casing: Phanteks Evolv ATX / Corsaid 450d / NZXT 440 - these are on my shortlist so far, all seem pretty good, though e phanteks is much more ex

8. PSU: should i reuse my seasonic? already 4 years old i think.. or should i go for an new PSU like EVGA 650w P2?

1. Not much difference just that 1 can oc, another cant.
2. if u have more budget can get cyroig A80. (but also depends on the casing)
3. z series board since u intend to oc. (other features on the board im not sure what u want....)
4. slightly different, but still base on the board u buying (z series can support both speed.)
5. yes u can reuse. m.2 is more usable on people who are doing heavy workload. games and daily normal surfing don't benefit much since normal ssd is more than enough.
6. use usb to install.
7. just choose whichever case u like.
8. nah dun reuse, since everything is new, except hdd and ssd reuse. so just get a new psu, like what u want that evga 650w is more than enough.

ZrE0_Cha0s

what does this activation need to have to be done properly? serial number n stuff?

as for e lego,it has to be supported by something also right? where to rest e lego on?

well if u have link your account, just sign in your acc to use it.

pretty much that's it. just migrate over, but need to reinstall driver.

depends on your case as well. normally will use a stable base build up to a height to prevent it from sags. (but u still have a backplate to support as well, so will be fine.)

Gr3yham3

1. Not much difference just that 1 can oc, another cant.
2. if u have more budget can get cyroig A80. (but also depends on the casing)
3. z series board since u intend to oc. (other features on the board im not sure what u want....)
4. slightly different, but still base on the board u buying (z series can support both speed.)
5. yes u can reuse. m.2 is more usable on people who are doing heavy workload. games and daily normal surfing don't benefit much since normal ssd is more than enough.
6. use usb to install.
7. just choose whichever case u like.
8. nah dun reuse, since everything is new, except hdd and ssd reuse. so just get a new psu, like what u want that evga 650w is more than enough.

1. so e 6500 cannot OC at all? i guess i am leaning towards 6600k since i will be getting AIO
2. read good things about A80.. corsair 450d/phanteks evolv/nzxt 440 all can fit right?
3. sooo many z-series board though... any recommendations?
4. if i get z-series board, will be diff RAMS have performance differences?
5. hmm i will maybe get 1 more new SSD then.. can junk away more of e HDDs
6. ya reading up abt that
7. haha all 3 are good cases though.. first world problems i guess....

hmm so got backplate, even if sag shld be ok? maybe i see e pics i turn paranoid haha

ZrE0_Cha0s

1. so e 6500 cannot OC at all? i guess i am leaning towards 6600k since i will be getting AIO
2. read good things about A80.. corsair 450d/phanteks evolv/nzxt 440 all can fit right?
3. sooo many z-series board though... any recommendations?
4. if i get z-series board, will be diff RAMS have performance differences?
5. hmm i will maybe get 1 more new SSD then.. can junk away more of e HDDs
6. ya reading up abt that
7. haha all 3 are good cases though.. first world problems i guess....

hmm so got backplate, even if sag shld be ok? maybe i see e pics i turn paranoid haha

1. U can still try to OC with 6500 with a asrock board which can allow u to OC non k chip, but how much still depends on the chip. Still it will be better with a 660k.
2. I think should be.
3. Like I say what features u need from mobo beside OC?
4. Depends really, some things benefit much, others not. I can't give u a good ans, like games, some are happy with the boost on ram speed, some like a normal operating speed.
6. If not u go down and have a look and feel about the case.

For sags, only time will tell, but many have made the peraprations to have a support 1st.

MrMundy

activation as in microsoft needs to validate the serial key again if u change mobo. and u are right, set up rig,migrate,boot up and activate.

my psu just nice long enough to put the lego and in turn support the gpu:s13::s13:

Gr3yham3

activation as in microsoft needs to validate the serial key again if u change mobo. and u are right, set up rig,migrate,boot up and activate.

my psu just nice long enough to put the lego and in turn support the gpu:s13::s13:

so i need to note down my serial key? which is the PRODUCT ID?

as for mobo, will e AZRock z170 gaming k6 be overkill? i shld reuse my titanium HD instead of using onboard sound right?

MrMundy

as for mobo, will e AZRock z170 gaming k6 be overkill? i shld reuse my titanium HD instead of using onboard sound right?

no need to write down. u just need to do what i said, link the key to ur microsoft account in the update and security settings, walao eh go google abit la!!! already give u the search terms liao:s22::s22:

hardware wise no comment, but yeah if u have dedicated soundcard just use lo why not

ZrE0_Cha0s

LMAO :s13::s13:

Windows product key =/= product id

u can go online and look for "find my windows product key"

but the software of your sound card still support win10?

I wouldn't say its overkill though, cos for OC, u need to find a board with at least a good vrms and more of it. so that u wont have a lot of issues when oc.

Gr3yham3

LMAO :s13::s13:

Windows product key =/= product id

u can go online and look for "find my windows product key"

but the software of your sound card still support win10?

I wouldn't say its overkill though, cos for OC, u need to find a board with at least a good vrms and more of it. so that u wont have a lot of issues when oc.

paiseh paiseh.. really behind e times liao.. okok

ya i using windows 10 now with e soundcard.. seems ok leh..

i guess if it runs into any problems, i still can fall back on e onboard sound which should not be too bad as well right?

any other boards that u can recommend that is similar or cheaper than e asrock gaming k6 but also quite good for OCing?

as for casing, i think i leaning towards e phanteks.. i see those review videos, wah damn chio e aluminium

Gr3yham3

ok after a couple of days more of research, here is wat i came up with:

1. CPU: 6600k - dun think i will change from this
2. Mobo: MSI z170 gaming pro carbon - so far e reviews quite good, n e price of e board quite reasonable too.. anyone here use this board or similar board? i read that they have e MSI "Steel Armor" PCIe slots that can help with sagging of GPU?
3. RAMs: Gskill Trident Z 3200 Mhz 2x8GB
4. CPU cooler: Cryorig A80
5. PSU: EVGA P2 650W
6. Casing: Phanteks Evolv ATX
7. HDD: Samsung 850EVO 500GB

any thoughts/comments? much appreciated!

MrMundy

PSU and ram can get from amazon during black Friday, damn cheap and for the price u pay locally u can get higher wattage(not really needed but oh wells
The ssd just wait for black Friday to hoot also, u can consider getting a m.2 ssd, small and no need to plug sata power
Ram u can consider getting cheaper 1s.. The speed don't affect performance much unless u are some super professional designer or what I dunno, u can check linustechtips on youtube for the video on comparing ram speeds

MrMundy

BTW if u worry abt ur gpu sagging just get a gpu support from doraemon in the graphics and display bazaar, his nickname is tj52gn or something, but make sure u do ur research and clarify with him if the gpu support can fit into ur case

Got 1 guy never check then buy already want refund because it didn't fit, then come hwz bash the seller, scold him and said things that are personal, so check first before u buy

Gr3yham3

BTW if u worry abt ur gpu sagging just get a gpu support from doraemon in the graphics and display bazaar, his nickname is tj52gn or something, but make sure u do ur research and clarify with him if the gpu support can fit into ur case

Got 1 guy never check then buy already want refund because it didn't fit, then come hwz bash the seller, scold him and said things that are personal, so check first before u buy

ya i know doraemon.. i got stuff from him before.. i will most prob get some of e stuff from him also.. for e gpu, maybe i install everything then see how it goes.. if e sagging is bad n i cannot resolve, then will see whether e gpu support can work

but get from amazon, no warranty, no? if RMA how?

ZrE0_Cha0s

ya i know doraemon.. i got stuff from him before.. i will most prob get some of e stuff from him also.. for e gpu, maybe i install everything then see how it goes.. if e sagging is bad n i cannot resolve, then will see whether e gpu support can work

but get from amazon, no warranty, no? if RMA how?

Well its actually to protect the mobo pci-e from breaking it instead of making the GTX looks slanted :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.