Western Digitial External HD

onepiecepop

Reaction score
For some reason, I cannot get to see my HDD in my Computer. However, when I go into the control panel side, the properties state that it is working properly.

Any ideas what is wrong with it? Please advise. Thanks.

Elijahonli

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
check if the disk is formatted to a windows recognizable format in Disk Manager (Under Computer management) .

onepiecepop

Reaction score
paiseh noob here. where is this Computer / Disk management? izzit same as device management?

jtjt00

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
paiseh noob here. where is this Computer / Disk management? izzit same as device management?

Right click on My Computer/This PC and select Manage from the dialog list. Then click on Disk Management under the Storage sub.

onepiecepop

Reaction score
this is what I get. I believe the Disk 1 unallocated is my external HD. What can I do next to recover my data inside or get the hdd working?

35jcltk.png

ZrE0_Cha0s

Arch-Supremacy Member
Reaction score
this is what I get. I believe the Disk 1 unallocated is my external HD. What can I do next to recover my data inside or get the hdd working?

35jcltk.png

since your drive is unallocated, therefore u cant even read or extract data through normal means. as in basically your drive is in RAW system. but is your ext HDD previous a Mac formatted system?

onepiecepop

Reaction score
since your drive is unallocated, therefore u cant even read or extract data through normal means. as in basically your drive is in RAW system. but is your ext HDD previous a Mac formatted system?

previous a Mac formatted system? haha I don't understand this. I just bought the HD from Challenger then plug in straight use, never format or anything before if that is what u mean.

GrimaH

Master Member
Reaction score
Right click on the unallocated volume and format as a simple NTFS volume, and your HDD will show up.

ZrE0_Cha0s

Arch-Supremacy Member