HELP: My plantar fasciitis recovery progress.

tiger2013

i read an ang moh article yesterday. the night splint will not do stretching for me. just maintain the plantar from tightening during sleep. so that means i have to do stretching myself.

Yes, the splint is just for support only. You need to do the exercises yourself to heal faster. Just tahan for that few months then can slack off liao. And possibly no need the splint.

jericho75

Yes, the splint is just for support only. You need to do the exercises yourself to heal faster. Just tahan for that few months then can slack off liao. And possibly no need the splint.

like that means i misunderstood liao. i thought got the splint no need do stretching liao. i will have to start stretching again.

szeli

walao jericho that time u asked liao now asking again? :s22:

szeli

haven leecover mah.

that time already say liao mah. u need to put in some work to recover faster. just wearing e splint not enough la. stretching n exercises is a MUST.

also u shud wear a recovery slipper when at hm too.

jericho75

that time already say liao mah. u need to put in some work to recover faster. just wearing e splint not enough la. stretching n exercises is a MUST.

also u shud wear a recovery slipper when at hm too.

i thought the night splint will do the stretching so i never stretch myself manually liao. i am wearing crocs at home.

260Wolskel

ts, I have Plantar Facilities for several years!

I wear shoe sole and had injections twice on my right foot and once on my left foot. Injection will only work for several months and after that the pain will come back. And you cannot have more than 2 injections on the same foot because the steroid will thin your blood vessels. So nothing really work before I consulted an Orthopaedic at TTSH. I have wanted shock wave but the Orthopaedic does not recommend because shock wave may or may not work. He suggested I lose some weight. I was pretty unhappy with the consultation and felt he has wasted my money and time as I don't believe I can ever lose weight ( or losing weight may help ).

For some reasons ( other than Plantar Facilities ), I have decided to go on diet and exercise since last Oct. Within 4~5 months, I managed to loss 18kg ( from 82kg to 64kg ). My Plantar Facilities was gone totally!

Hope my experience help!

jericho75

I wear shoe sole and had injections twice on my right foot and once on my left foot. Injection will only work for several months and after that the pain will come back. And you cannot have more than 2 injections on the same foot because the steroid will thin your blood vessels. So nothing really work before I consulted an Orthopaedic at TTSH. I have wanted shock wave but the Orthopaedic does not recommend because shock wave may or may not work. He suggested I lose some weight. I was pretty unhappy with the consultation and felt he has wasted my money and time as I don't believe I can ever lose weight ( or losing weight may help ).

For some reasons ( other than Plantar Facilities ), I have decided to go on diet and exercise since last Oct. Within 4~5 months, I managed to loss 18kg ( from 82kg to 64kg ). My Plantar Facilities was gone totally!

Hope my experience help!

Wow, thanks for the advise. But my current weight is only 66kg nia. :o

mine was actually caused by injuries because of impact on the heels. :(

tiger2013

like that means i misunderstood liao. i thought got the splint no need do stretching liao. i will have to start stretching again.

LOL. Where got such good deal?

You reap what you sow, haha.

By the way, if it still doesn't recover, I strongly recommend that you ask for a referral letter to see a specialist/physiotherapist. I complained of the same problem to GP 3 times for a fairly extended period of time (for more than 3 months) and he subsequently wrote a referral letter to visit specialist because it appears to be serious.

The end result is a much more accurate assessment and diagnosis and targeted treatment. And problem gone in a few months' time. GP and online recommendations may not be as comprehensive and hence take longer to recover or even no improvements at all if you miss minor details. Me thinks this is a few hundred dollars well spent.

You monitor and decide yourself ba...

WhiteAnt

kick scooter kick liao mistakenly kick on the heels. :eek:

:s22: what the.....

Hope my experience help!

Losing weight is the fastest way to curb as your legs cannot support the heavy weight, this is the most basic and most important step. You should have listen to the specialist.

hwz_zx

your is how painful? shockwave therapy no use also?

night splint if ok if u sleep sideway lor.

I tried one session of shockwave therapy before.. the pain during the treatment is worse than the pain from the leg itself :s22:

Cost wise 1 session if I didn't remember wrongly is about $200 for subsidy patient.. that was in 2013.

Wearing splint will relieve the pain temporary and do some minimum stretching while you're aslp. frequent stretching will still be the best and fastest way of recovery other than injection.

I'm still getting it once in a while.. before that I wore night splint on both leg for around 1.5yrs.

jericho75

:s22: what the.....

Losing weight is the fastest way to curb as your legs cannot support the heavy weight, this is the most basic and most important step. You should have listen to the specialist.

really boh hua.

jericho75

I tried one session of shockwave therapy before.. the pain during the treatment is worse than the pain from the leg itself :s22:

Cost wise 1 session if I didn't remember wrongly is about $200 for subsidy patient.. that was in 2013.

Wearing splint will relieve the pain temporary and do some minimum stretching while you're aslp. frequent stretching will still be the best and fastest way of recovery other than injection.

I'm still getting it once in a while.. before that I wore night splint on both leg for around 1.5yrs.

huh. the shockwave will be painful one? i though youtube says no pain? :eek:

hwz_zx

huh. the shockwave will be painful one? i though youtube says no pain? :eek:

I heard it the same treatment use to break kidney stone.

I tried the lowest level. feels like constantly having needle poking on the Achilles

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.