BTO eligibility

Petrelli_83

Hi guys,

I am facing a potential housing problem and would appreciate any kind advice from experienced forummers.

I am a Singapore citizen (true blue citizen) with a girlfriend who is a foreign national. She will be coming to Singapore on a student visa in July to take up a private childcare diploma (PQAC accredited) for the purpose of finding employment here. I envisage that it would be early 2015 before she graduates and secures employment (if any).

I intend to settle down within the next couple of years but I was told by HDB that I do not qualify for a BTO as they are reserved for Singapore citizens and PRs. I am adverse towards buying resale flats owing to the high COV (which i cannot afford) and absurd prices. My plan is for us to ROM and apply PR for her, so we can be eligible for a BTO. Here comes the dilemma:

1. I'm sure PR will not be granted so easily (as compared to last time). Details on ICA suggest that spouses of a Singapore citizen are eligible but I am more than aware that an additional undisclosed set of conditions apply. Given her existing qualifications which is a Masters degree (from an MOM and MOE recognised university of another country), and my gross monthly income of roughly S$5.3k, what are the odds of her securing a PR here?

2. If she secures employment here by early 2015, and our combined income tips over 8k by the time she gets PR, would i still be eligible for a BTO (e.g. say i write in an appeal)? I'm talking about excesses of between $100-$1000.

Any advice will be deeply appreciated. Thanks.

therat

Singapore citizen (true blue citizen)

Are you sure you are Singapore citizen?

2. If she secures employment here by early 2015, and our combined income tips over 8k by the time she gets PR, would i still be eligible for a BTO (e.g. say i write in an appeal)? I'm talking about excesses of between $100-$1000.

BTO salary cap is 10k not 8k.

spurman

Yeah.
1. Get rom done....(confirm she's the girl for u)
2. Apply pr for her...
3. If approved. To apply bto

Petrelli_83

Are you sure you are Singapore citizen?

BTO salary cap is 10k not 8k.

Paiseh. Long time neber update myself. And yah, true blue singaporean. not one of those stinkers who came here and bought a citizenship, drink martini while we do guard duty for them. (yes, i served NS, if u want to be doubly sure)

Anyone has any experience e.g. came across a case where ROM would grant PR immediately? I know in other countries, once ur a spouse of the citizen, u gain citizenship / PR automatically. Singpaore is different. I heard EP pass holders have an easier time getting a dependent pass versus a Singapore citizen, cos they look at income. Citizenship means nothing much to the ICA.

Plus, if convert PR, must she convert to citizenship eventually? My intention is not to stay in Singapore permanently. After 10-15 years, i will also move out of singapore to another country. If she has to convert to Singapore citizenship, that would complicate things.

ah_cheng1882

Excuse me? U want to buy bto at subsidized prices then sell at high prices and move to other countries? I hope ica bars ur gf from obtaining pr.

Petrelli_83

Excuse me? U want to buy bto at subsidized prices then sell at high prices and move to other countries? I hope ica bars ur gf from obtaining pr.

Your logic is quite flawed.
1. I can't control BTO prices.
2. I need a house to stay in, regardless. Because on the salary this country gives me, i cannot afford to rent.
3. At over 300-400k a month, you CALL THAT SUBSIDIZED???
4. if I am moving to another country, don't i have to sell my house? Or would u rather i keep it in Singapore and rent it out for free income? like those foreigners who invest in private property here? Which do u prefer?

Petrelli_83

Your logic is quite flawed.
1. I can't control BTO prices.
2. I need a house to stay in, regardless. Because on the salary this country gives me, i cannot afford to rent.
3. At over 300-400k a month, you CALL THAT SUBSIDIZED???
4. if I am moving to another country, don't i have to sell my house? Or would u rather i keep it in Singapore and rent it out for free income? like those foreigners who invest in private property here? Which do u prefer?

And to add. If my future wife is singaporean, i would do the same thing. So does it mean if i want to migrate, i shouldn't buy a BTO here? not entitled? what about the 2 years NS i served? U think housing here is cheap? **** you lah.

ah_cheng1882

No point replying when u start to use vulgar language. Really shows your immaturity.

And to add. If my future wife is singaporean, i would do the same thing. So does it mean if i want to migrate, i shouldn't buy a BTO here? not entitled? what about the 2 years NS i served? U think housing here is cheap? **** you lah.

therat

Paiseh. Long time neber update myself. And yah, true blue singaporean. not one of those stinkers who came here and bought a citizenship, drink martini while we do guard duty for them. (yes, i served NS, if u want to be doubly sure)
Ok.. I guess I misread your statement when you said you are true blue singaporean. I thought you refer to your NRIC colour.

Anyone has any experience e.g. came across a case where ROM would grant PR immediately? I know in other countries, once ur a spouse of the citizen, u gain citizenship / PR automatically. Singpaore is different. I heard EP pass holders have an easier time getting a dependent pass versus a Singapore citizen, cos they look at income. Citizenship means nothing much to the ICA.
It use to be easy for spouse of Citizen get their PR fast.
BUT due to some national abuse the system. Hence ICA are very strict on this. Need to wait for 3 yrs... at leaset ICA seem, both of u are serious on the marriage.. Not those buying ticket type.
If your GF can able to apply the PR by her own, this even better.

Plus, if convert PR, must she convert to citizenship eventually? My intention is not to stay in Singapore permanently. After 10-15 years, i will also move out of singapore to another country. If she has to convert to Singapore citizenship, that would complicate things.

Up to you.
Up to her.
No law said she must die die convert to Singaporean.

If Citizen + PR apply HDB.. only can take 1/2 of the CPF grant

When PR convert to Citizen , then HDB will rebate you another 1/2 CPF grant.

Apply BTO need citizen + PR
Foreigner spouse cannot apply BTO

As MOM are increasing the pass limit.
If she only secures WP.
You need MOM approval to get marry

tmfwy

Here's some serious advice which you should ponder.

Settle down with your GF, and assist Singapore with the Total Fertility Rate by bringing forward your plans to have a baby.

You solve alot of problems ( with reference to HDB issues )
a. You will be able to buy a BTO ( with SG baby ), thereby bypassing PR requirement
b. You make both parents happy
c. You show ICA that you and your spouse are serious in making Singapore your home...

From your comments, you expect graduation by 2015.
If you do things the reverse way after making sure, both are the right ones for each other
Marry,
Have baby
Study
Unless either party have issues, the chances of having an additional family member should not be too far off within 2 years.

By this time, she should have graduated.
Apply PR
Apply BTO / SOBF
Get keys
Move in

d3n

Here's some serious advice which you should ponder.

Settle down with your GF, and assist Singapore with the Total Fertility Rate by bringing forward your plans to have a baby.

You solve alot of problems ( with reference to HDB issues )
a. You will be able to buy a BTO ( with SG baby ), thereby bypassing PR requirement
b. You make both parents happy
c. You show ICA that you and your spouse are serious in making Singapore your home...

From your comments, you expect graduation by 2015.
If you do things the reverse way after making sure, both are the right ones for each other
Marry,
Have baby
Study
Unless either party have issues, the chances of having an additional family member should not be too far off within 2 years.

By this time, she should have graduated.
Apply PR
Apply BTO / SOBF
Get keys
Move in

yah ROM and faster make baby =:p

Petrelli_83

Guys,

Thank you for all your kind advices (at least, most of you).
I guess I will try the ROM and PR route. But not the baby route I guess. I do not wish to bring a life into this world for him or her to suffer in Singapore with neither a childhood nor a future to look forward to. Even degree holders in Singapore are finding it difficult to get by in Singapore with high costs of everything with no social safety net. I feel we have regressed back to a feudal society where people are rich by timing and birth (e.g. inherited property, or bought property at right time). This is wrong. I want to go to a place where hardwork still guarantees a decent living with time to spend with family, and Singapore evidently is not that place. I would have left if it weren’t for my parents who cannot adapt overseas. Contrary to the nonsensical BS of some forummer, No, I don’t care a sh** about making any profits from a BTO, I just want a place to stay in with my wife and enjoy some privacy.

michael_thm

Really a ******* idiot. Cna't scold him enough. Must be one of the blind 60.1%.

60.1% is better then those ******* 39.9% who want to milk Singapore for all it has and then leave afterward.

Hmmm... sound familar? Oppss seems like I am describing your situation.

Petrelli_83

60.1% is better then those ******* 39.9% who want to milk Singapore for all it has and then leave afterward.

Hmmm... sound familar? Oppss seems like I am describing your situation.
You mean, "milked by Singapore gahment" for what we have? Try posting the same comment in edmw and see what reactions you will draw.

d3n

Guys,

Thank you for all your kind advices (at least, most of you).
I guess I will try the ROM and PR route. But not the baby route I guess. I do not wish to bring a life into this world for him or her to suffer in Singapore with neither a childhood nor a future to look forward to. Even degree holders in Singapore are finding it difficult to get by in Singapore with high costs of everything with no social safety net. I feel we have regressed back to a feudal society where people are rich by timing and birth (e.g. inherited property, or bought property at right time). This is wrong. I want to go to a place where hardwork still guarantees a decent living with time to spend with family, and Singapore evidently is not that place. I would have left if it weren’t for my parents who cannot adapt overseas. Contrary to the nonsensical BS of some forummer, No, I don’t care a sh** about making any profits from a BTO, I just want a place to stay in with my wife and enjoy some privacy.

actually my situation similar to yours. except that my gf just got her PR... so we will apply for BTO then prior to taking our keys, we will go ROM and do the wedding here in sg and her country.

dun intend to stay in singapore for long too, probably will migrate to Australia when the time comes (like u, i have parents here to take care of).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.