HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread IV

Like Tree308Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2018, 02:10 PM   #1501
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 159
You will have more complication then this. For example, if you want SCV, and do not want Starhub fiber boardband. Then how? Same true goes to Singtel.
Then don't need to watch Starhub if you don't switched to fibre. Like those insisted on using 2G phones, also LL switch to 3G.
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 03:21 PM   #1502
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Try 682MHz.
Hi viv8080, sorry for the late reply and thanks for the info.
Please tell me frequency 682Mhz is for which channel?

Last edited by bumperbee; 11-01-2018 at 03:23 PM..
bumperbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 11:13 PM   #1503
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 203
Just bought a new Philips tv, 50PFT6200/98, which support DVB-C. Do I needs to buy a digital antenna to receive the FTA digital channels via SCV point?? If no, how do go about scanning for the channels??

TIA, noob in this digital tv stuff.
Read the qns raised by Leisure but still blur.
caramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 11:46 PM   #1504
Master Member
 
gregory_choo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,425
Just bought a new Philips tv, 50PFT6200/98, which support DVB-C. Do I needs to buy a digital antenna to receive the FTA digital channels via SCV point?? If no, how do go about scanning for the channels??

TIA, noob in this digital tv stuff.
Read the qns raised by Leisure but still blur.
This model has DVB-C, what you need to do is to plug in the cable from SCV point. See the onscreen instructions to scan the channels

gregory_choo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 09:50 AM   #1505
Senior Member
 
destan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,497
Anyone has run internal trunking coaxial cable thru the feature wall of the TV console for DVB T2 antenna to the window if you are not using any digital set top box?
destan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 11:39 AM   #1506
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 16,220
Then don't need to watch Starhub if you don't switched to fibre. Like those insisted on using 2G phones, also LL switch to 3G.
But cable will be on sunset path. Everyone will have to move to fiber once announced.
cscs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 03:32 PM   #1507
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
Henry Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10,252
But cable will be on sunset path. Everyone will have to move to fiber once announced.
True. My guess is by end of 2019 it will be gone. Now they still allow 12 mths contract.

Last edited by Henry Ng; 13-01-2018 at 03:34 PM..
Henry Ng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 08:44 PM   #1508
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 83
Anyone has run internal trunking coaxial cable thru the feature wall of the TV console for DVB T2 antenna to the window if you are not using any digital set top box?
Yes my is run through the feature wall, however I did not need to place the antennae at the window as the signal is already good not far from the window.
Is there any particular concern you have?
marin3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2018, 09:41 PM   #1509
Senior Member
 
destan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,497
Yes my is run through the feature wall, however I did not need to place the antennae at the window as the signal is already good not far from the window.
Is there any particular concern you have?
I see. Therefore you use the cable thru the feature wall as an antenna? My concern is the the antenna cable too short from the TV to the window to have a good signal.

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT
destan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 07:03 AM   #1510
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 83
I see. Therefore you use the cable thru the feature wall as an antenna? My concern is the the antenna cable too short from the TV to the window to have a good signal.
Now there is just a few things for your information.
I use an extension coaxial cable joined with an adaptor to create the extended length. I was worried that in the event signal goes weak I can simply moves the antennae to the window then.
I also have another device HDMI cable going through the feature wall lobang.
Was happy with the setup then realized that the signal from Channel U HD gets erratic (image freezing, mosaic, no signal .......) only this channel whenever I power up the Xbox HDMI connection.
Tested the direct connection with the antennae cable to TV without going through the lobang and signal was normal again.
Therefore changed the HDMI cable to those with better insulation and ferrite ring at both end (HDMI 2.0) type.
This time signal was stable but gets cut-off intermittently.
Then by chance I touch the coaxial joint adaptor (which is metal) and there was static charges.
Wrapped it with those rubber electrical tape (not plastic type) and problem solved.
Now Channel U HD (highest frequency) signal both stable and strong without any interference.
Hope this helps with your plan on your set up.
marin3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 11:56 AM   #1511
Senior Member
 
destan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,497
Now there is just a few things for your information.
I use an extension coaxial cable joined with an adaptor to create the extended length. I was worried that in the event signal goes weak I can simply moves the antennae to the window then.
I also have another device HDMI cable going through the feature wall lobang.
Was happy with the setup then realized that the signal from Channel U HD gets erratic (image freezing, mosaic, no signal .......) only this channel whenever I power up the Xbox HDMI connection.
Tested the direct connection with the antennae cable to TV without going through the lobang and signal was normal again.
Therefore changed the HDMI cable to those with better insulation and ferrite ring at both end (HDMI 2.0) type.
This time signal was stable but gets cut-off intermittently.
Then by chance I touch the coaxial joint adaptor (which is metal) and there was static charges.
Wrapped it with those rubber electrical tape (not plastic type) and problem solved.
Now Channel U HD (highest frequency) signal both stable and strong without any interference.
Hope this helps with your plan on your set up.
Thanks for your feedback.

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT
destan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2018, 09:25 AM   #1512
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 159
Just get a male to female Belling Lee type cable to extend your indoor antenna cables. The 5V for active antenna also is able to pass through this cable.

dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2018, 01:45 PM   #1513
Senior Member
 
Pearce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,489
Is there any android box with dvb-t2?
Pearce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2018, 11:55 AM   #1514
Senior Member
 
destan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,497
Just get a male to female Belling Lee type cable to extend your indoor antenna cables. The 5V for active antenna also is able to pass through this cable.

Do you have a sample of the indoor active antenna?

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT
destan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2018, 02:34 PM   #1515
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 159
Do you have a sample of the indoor active antenna?

Sent from Samsung SM-N950F using GAGT


Active antennas recommended on DigitalTV.sg website
dexter9898 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On