HWZ Forums

Login Register FAQ Mark Forums Read

Digital TV (DVB T2) Consolidated thread IV

Like Tree51Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 21-03-2017, 12:30 AM   #286
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,104
ANY recommend or model intro?
K2 or K3, but be prepare to replace the provided "heatsink" with real heatsink.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/DVB-T2-MED...RING/425687059
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/HOT-SALE-S...RIAL/469815130
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2017, 03:28 PM   #287
Senior Member
 
LiLAsN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 724
Hi. I just finally changed to using an indoor antenna with a DVB-T2 signal. I managed to find all Singapore channels however the Malaysian TV1 channel is not available. We have always been able to receive that channel though. Can anyone clarify whether that channel is still available or will it be gone at the end of the year when the analogue cable signal is no more?
LiLAsN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2017, 05:45 PM   #288
Master Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2,728
Hi. I just finally changed to using an indoor antenna with a DVB-T2 signal. I managed to find all Singapore channels however the Malaysian TV1 channel is not available. We have always been able to receive that channel though. Can anyone clarify whether that channel is still available or will it be gone at the end of the year when the analogue cable signal is no more?
I believe your TV1 reception was through SCV wall plate which is carried in analogue format. And you didn't receive TV2, did you?

Although TV1 plus other Malaysian channels are now also transmitted in DVB-T2 format, the fact that you cannot see them with the indoor antenna means that the signal is too weak in your location.

Edit: MediaCorp plans to stop its analogue transmission by year end. For Malaysian analogue TV channels, I have come across any news on them.

Last edited by mrsun18; 21-03-2017 at 07:02 PM..
mrsun18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2017, 07:40 PM   #289
Senior Member
 
LiLAsN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 724
I believe your TV1 reception was through SCV wall plate which is carried in analogue format. And you didn't receive TV2, did you?

Although TV1 plus other Malaysian channels are now also transmitted in DVB-T2 format, the fact that you cannot see them with the indoor antenna means that the signal is too weak in your location.

Edit: MediaCorp plans to stop its analogue transmission by year end. For Malaysian analogue TV channels, I have come across any news on them.
Same here. Agreed. Thanks for the information.
LiLAsN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2017, 06:26 PM   #290
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 777
Where can I buy a cheap DVB-T2 box for my TV. thanks

Same here. Agreed. Thanks for the information.
Bright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2017, 06:40 PM   #291
Master Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,989
K2 or K3, but be prepare to replace the provided "heatsink" with real heatsink.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/DVB-T2-MED...RING/425687059
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/HOT-SALE-S...RIAL/469815130
Where can I buy a cheap DVB-T2 box for my TV. thanks
example given. most should cost roughly less than $30.
__________________
Phone: Sony Xperia Z/Z2/Z5P/XZP, Xiaomi Mi 5
Tablet: Sony Xperia Tablet Z/Z3TC LTE
yhw22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2017, 11:03 PM   #292
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 524
Tried manual scan for my channels but get 0 signal level at the broadcast freq. using k2.. not sure changing antenna will help. Any advice?
moron+genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2017, 08:48 AM   #293
Member
 
JustDoLor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 350
For your consideration....
I'll worry if it runs relatively warm since I have 2 such China DVB-T2 boxes that burn out because of the heat. It's either the power supply overheated or the ICs burn out. It happeneppd during warranty of one year and I changed twice, new one still hot. Given up hope and use it infrequently now.
These PRC manufacturer try to cut cost by simply using a small piece of aluminum sheet as the processor heat sink. I'm going to replace this "heat sink" with a proper one for my K2 STB. IIRC, the heat issue in K3 will be worst as the AC to DC step-down transformer is very close to the processor.
JustDoLor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 08:55 AM   #294
Senior Member
 
Windowlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,454
Recently signal from CNA like suddenly lost signal strength On / Off ?
Anybody have such experience,,, I'm using antenna V type direct to my Sony TV with T2 built in..

It happen possibly at time only,,, morning time. I checked the signal and quality is more than 95%.
Windowlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 09:42 AM   #295
Arch-Supremacy Member
 
5star_pundit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11,570
how come all channels are full HD except channel U
5star_pundit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 10:38 AM   #296
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,079
Got signal at living room TV, but no signal at room TV. Placed the antenna near window but no signal, how ah? Low floor room at Queenstown.
hippoheyhey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 10:53 AM   #297
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 544
K2 or K3, but be prepare to replace the provided "heatsink" with real heatsink.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/DVB-T2-MED...RING/425687059
http://list.qoo10.sg/item/HOT-SALE-S...RIAL/469815130
Can anyone confirm if the heatsink in those $100 local set from local distributors is better than the aluminum foil in $30 Chinese unbranded set top boxes?
u0206397 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 11:38 AM   #298
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,104
how come all channels are full HD except channel U
It either Mediacorpse having second thought of retaining this channel or simply dragging their feet in the migration process.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 11:44 AM   #299
Supremacy Member
 
albertlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,104
Can anyone confirm if the heatsink in those $100 local set from local distributors is better than the aluminum foil in $30 Chinese unbranded set top boxes?
These branded STB probably have a warranty sticker pasted on the casing so doubt anyone would open it up just to check and void the warranty in the process. Anyway, just get replacement heatsink from ebay, a few pieces cost less than $2.
albertlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2017, 12:40 PM   #300
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 544
These branded STB probably have a warranty sticker pasted on the casing so doubt anyone would open it up just to check and void the warranty in the process. Anyway, just get replacement heatsink from ebay, a few pieces cost less than $2.
Why the unbranded box makers not make a slightly more expensive one with a properly heatsink?

Just raise price by $1 or $2 and all overheating problems will be gone.
u0206397 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

HardwareZone
Rewards