depends where u go.. Hokkaido buy purple colour hello kitties for frens who like hello kitty . Me din buy as they dun like . Coz purple colour are unique in Hokkaido not exported out. Only can buy in Hokkaido..
chocolates , some unique key chain etc with their logo pertaining to to their state or city only eg Takayama
Alarm for rapist - sold in Tokyu Hands. Loud and clear
In fact so many things too buy !!

Depending on budgets lah:
1. From Kiyomizudera, loads of charms at reasonable price.
2. Everywhere: SNACKS!!!! Nice packaging
3. Limited edition stuffs in various cities or areas (eg: Crayon Shin Chan wearing Geisha
costumes and LIPSTICKS dancing, from Kyoto) haha... yes I got this for my self
4. Paper fans (ranging from cheap to damn expensive)
5. Capsules spun from machines. Some are really cute and nice
6. NOT RECOMMENDED but can CONSIDER: weird sex toys
And yeah Tohyu Hands has loads of stuffs unique to Japan. Go and check it out
Thanks!
For Hokkaido, i heard that Lavendar essence oil is quite gd too.
Chocolates is definitely Bai Zi Lian Ren![]()
Depending on budgets lah:
3. Limited edition stuffs in various cities or areas (eg: Crayon Shin Chan wearing Geisha
costumes and LIPSTICKS dancing, from Kyoto) haha... yes I got this for my self
And yeah Tohyu Hands has loads of stuffs unique to Japan. Go and check it out
Hmm...
for family, I bought temple charms and other handicraft. japan seems to have very good quality woodcrafts that are not too expensive. fresh and premium green tea from Shizuoka and Uji are also good gifts for older people. dried seafood from hokkaido, kitchen knives from Kochi (Tosa region), knick-knacks from flea markets ($5 vintage prada bag, anyone?)... etc. it's a challenge to meet the luggage weight limit when returning from japan, there's so much stuff i wanna bring back!![]()
where is Kiyomizudera?
the last time i bought charms from shrines, quite ex. but i think they are quite meaningful, great gifts for family members.
for colleagues i usually get snacks... too many colleagues liao, will be expensive if i get something for everyone.
where is Kiyomizudera?
the last time i bought charms from shrines, quite ex. but i think they are quite meaningful, great gifts for family members.
for colleagues i usually get snacks... too many colleagues liao, will be expensive if i get something for everyone.

if u are gg farm tomita for lavender, u can get small scented lavender sachets for hanging on cars or desk.

Hmm...
for family, I bought temple charms and other handicraft. japan seems to have very good quality woodcrafts that are not too expensive. fresh and premium green tea from Shizuoka and Uji are also good gifts for older people. dried seafood from hokkaido, kitchen knives from Kochi (Tosa region), knick-knacks from flea markets ($5 vintage prada bag, anyone?)... etc. it's a challenge to meet the luggage weight limit when returning from japan, there's so much stuff i wanna bring back!![]()
kiyomizu dera is the uber famous temple in tokyo near gion. it has the very famous balcony thing which is "hanging" above the ground
Tokyo BANANA!!!
yes, I rem my first trip to kyoto, I bought a lot of cute small bears at a shop along the way to kiyomizu. Didn't see it anywhere else.Heh thanks.
Those 'limited edition' stuffs can be found everywhere in the city. In shops, airports etc. Even train stations selling them.
banana as in the yellow banana ? what so special about that ?
ooooh , u mean this ?
http://www.tokyobanana.jp/
yea yeah. totally awesome.